PDA

View Full Version : Newcastle United - Toontalk

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 [89] 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109

TrueBeliever_jh
04-11-2007, 12:40 AM
wat the fish....!!

76' Newcastle U. [1 - 4] Portsmouth
8' [0 - 1] N. Pamarot
9' [0 - 2] B. Mwaruwari
11' [0 - 3] J. Utaka
15' [1 - 3] S. Campbell (o.g.)
70' [1 - 4] N. Kranjcar
there goes our undefeated home record...

in style..

hmm.. seems liked other clubs have improved more than ours.. maybe we might be fighting relegation in the next few seasons..

rannjiaolang
04-11-2007, 12:42 AM

in style..

hmm.. seems liked other clubs have improved more than ours.. maybe we might be fighting relegation in the next few seasons..
must stop buying french defenders. cacapa is proving to be another boumsong in the making.

i looked at the way we play, to be honest it was terrible. all 3 goals in the first half were weak goals to concede. cacapa is overrated.

KWSW
04-11-2007, 12:42 AM
2 defeats in a row leh... if they were outskilled and outclassed in terms of player I am ok. But sloppy defending, lacking of fighting spirit and so on is what really ticks me off...

dreamer75
04-11-2007, 12:44 AM

in style..

has to be worst match of the season so far :s27:

rannjiaolang
04-11-2007, 12:52 AM
now we start to think

there isn't much diff in hiring big sam and firing glenn is there? :s13:

Coolsmurf
04-11-2007, 12:59 AM
!#$$^@$%@!$%!$%!@$

UTTER PIECE OF C-R-A-P

hoon_ki
04-11-2007, 01:22 AM
atrocious performance from the lads tonite... we made portsmouth look good sia... sigh sighz

_bEar_
04-11-2007, 01:34 AM
Newcastle United signed Capaca on a free transfer in July 2007 following the expiry of his deal which French champions Lyon.
The Brazilian central defender had been an integral member of the Lyon squad which won six consecutive titles and was their captain for five years.

He began his career in his homeland with Atlético Mineiro before moving to Lyon in 2000.

The player had won the award for the best defender in the league, the Bola de Prata, in 1999.

Capaca had won three caps for Brazil prior to his move to the Premier League.

Capaca made his Newcastle debut as a last minute substitute for Geremi in a 0-0 draw at home to Aston Villa - the 1000th player to represent the Magpies. His first start came in the 2-0 Carling Cup win over Barnsley at St James' Park.

His leadership skills and experience were qualities new Newcastle boss Sam Allardyce was desperate to add to a defence which had been creaking for years.

Allardyce said: 'Claudio is a quality player. When we signed him, because he was on a free, everybody wondered who he was. But he is probably one of the most decorated players at this club.

'He has probably won more at Lyon than most players here - five titles on the trot and captain of the club, and he has played in the Champions League.

'That means he is a very experienced and high-quality defender who we hope will now begin to show those qualities with Newcastle United.'

dreamer75
04-11-2007, 01:40 AM
atrocious performance from the lads tonite... we made portsmouth look good sia... sigh sighz

did we under-estimated them???

SecretZone
04-11-2007, 02:27 AM
rozy should had been back in ** since reading game.. dunno what BS thinking..

totally surprise the whole defence collapsed...

next week away to sunderland.. -.- cant imagine we lose to them leh...

TrueBeliever_jh
04-11-2007, 02:44 AM
rozy should had been back in ** since reading game.. dunno what BS thinking..

totally surprise the whole defence collapsed...

next week away to sunderland.. -.- cant imagine we lose to them leh...
well.. after this one.. guessed everyone have prepared for the worst liaoz..

:(

dbchoong
04-11-2007, 08:35 AM
1-4 at St James Park.. if beaten by Arsenal, Man U... can understand. But Pompey?! :s27:

Natsairda
04-11-2007, 10:25 AM
cacapa is old liao,if he versus those very fast paced strikers,its good game to him.He has the boumsong shadow.

SecretZone
04-11-2007, 01:18 PM
i think next week defenders should be

taylor-faye-rozy-enrique

cacapa yet to get use to BPL pace

studmufn
04-11-2007, 01:40 PM
what happened to newcastle man? i was so sick of watching them aimlessly pupm long balls that i switched over to the chelsea match. much more exciting, skillful passing, determination..

dreamer75
04-11-2007, 01:56 PM
Newcastle manager Sam Allardyce had said in his programme notes that he believed Portsmouth would give his side their toughest home game of the season so far, a measure of how far Redknapp's team have come over the past 18 months. How right he was. Three goals within the space of three minutes left Newcastle dead and buried before the quarter-hour mark had been reached.

'We lost the game in the shortest period of time ever, the first 12 minutes,' said the Newcastle manager. 'When you go one-nil down you make sure that you don't go two, and unfortunately through basic errors and the lack of defending situations correctly we've gifted Portsmouth two more goals. From there on, even though we had a spirited comeback and created some opportunities and made David James show what a good goalkeeper he is, it's too much too late.'

dreamer75
04-11-2007, 01:57 PM
something wrong with our tactics??? but defence is so so so poor

revenant
04-11-2007, 02:27 PM
Video highlights http://collinyeo.blogspot.com/2007/11/newcastle-united-1-4-portsmouth.html]here

Cacapa beaten twice, 2nd one looks a bit like pushing.

Anyway, 3 goals leaked due to our Centre Backs.

KWSW
04-11-2007, 07:56 PM
i think next week defenders should be

taylor-faye-rozy-enrique

cacapa yet to get use to BPL pace

why not faye-taylor-rozy-enrique?

just curious... always tot faye was wbr

SecretZone
05-11-2007, 01:28 AM
faye not D.M, C.B?

taylor deserve a place in the first XI

colster
05-11-2007, 08:25 AM
1-4 at St James Park.. if beaten by Arsenal, Man U... can understand. But Pompey?! :s27:

Hey pompey look impressive this season harry has a dam good team from defence, midfield. and upfront. They have a mix of young and experienced players mainly at the back with James, Cambell, Distan, lauren and it shows they dont let a lot pass em these days. :s8:

yellowsubmarine
05-11-2007, 10:16 AM
Hey pompey look impressive this season harry has a dam good team from defence, midfield. and upfront. They have a mix of young and experienced players mainly at the back with James, Cambell, Distan, lauren and it shows they dont let a lot pass em these days. :s8:

I agree with ya. Pompey is a very solid team this season. Their African players are damn big yet quick and skillful.

Even Rovers lost to them at home this season. :(

o0SpaceY0o
05-11-2007, 11:23 PM
glory glory man united! lol.......

Denieruson
06-11-2007, 12:23 AM
ups & downs of newcastle...used to it..

KWSW
06-11-2007, 01:53 AM

wrong place lah... lols...

ups & downs of newcastle...used to it..

anything but a middle table position again...

I agree with ya. Pompey is a very solid team this season. Their African players are damn big yet quick and skillful.

Even Rovers lost to them at home this season. :(

Was about to say haha when the african cup comes GG... then i remember how many the toons also have...

rannjiaolang
06-11-2007, 05:10 AM
:s27: :s27:

hoon_ki
06-11-2007, 11:25 AM
Was about to say haha when the african cup comes GG... then i remember how many the toons also have...
not alot oso lah.. martins, beye, faye and babayaro (who cares abt him anyway).. guess we'll be missing martins the most..

o0SpaceY0o
06-11-2007, 09:14 PM
wrong place lah... lols...

anything but a middle table position again...

hahaha correct place...since i am a newcastle fan....i am jsut mocking newcastle over their ****ty performance on saturday :s13:

dreamer75
08-11-2007, 01:21 PM
Newcastle chairman Chris Mort insists Sam Allardyce's position on Tyneside is not under threat.

The Magpies boss has come under pressure for the first time since his arrival at St James's Park following successive Premier League defeats to Reading and Sunday's 4-1 home defeat to Portsmouth.

But Mort says Allardyce is part of Newcastle's long-term plans and the board would not make any rash decisions by getting rid of the former Bolton boss.

Mort told the Newcastle Journal: "We are like any supporter, we lurch from one result to the next and we are affected by each game and how well we do.

"But from our perspective we have to take a more long-term to medium-term view. We are not going to leap to any rash decisions.

"We are not going to entertain stories like the one we had on Sunday saying that we were going to get rid of Sam because we have lost two games on the trot. We're not going to get into that type of mindset.

"We have a much more long-term view about building the club over a prolonged period of time so that the club can compete at a higher level. That is going to take time, but on and off the field we feel the club is moving in the right direction."

Mort also stressed owner Mike Ashley would not be pressurised into sacking Allardyce because of a couple of poor results.

He added: "I think the Premier League, generally this season, seems to be more short-term inclined. There seems to be a real short-term thinking in the football business, which we want to resist.

"We absolutely want to hear what fans have to say, but we still take a medium and a long-term view, and we will not be swayed from that by two defeats on the trot, no matter how disappointing they may be.

"Chopping and changing managers here hasn't worked and the success stories at other clubs are usually connected with longevity.

"I think we always had a sense that his club has an intense reaction to what happens on the pitch week to week. We have a club that has a massive following and the team and the club is a massive part of people's lives in this part of the world.

"Because of that, there does tend to be a bigger swing in emotions. One minute it is full of optimism and we are going to qualify for the Champions League, then you lose two games and it's, 'Right, who's going to be the next manager?' The swings are incredible."

martinweng
08-11-2007, 01:29 PM
it seems that no manager in the world is good enough for newcastle utd. we forever remains so difficult to handle.

SecretZone
08-11-2007, 07:57 PM
Rome isnt build in a day.. this season is to slowly build up the team, i think top 8 finish is a realistic target.

dreamer75
08-11-2007, 08:10 PM
Newcastle are ready to up the ante to land Juan Roman Riquelme this winter, according to a report in The Sun.

Newcastle Keen On Riquelme - Report

The play-maker has been frozen out of the Villarreal first team ever since falling out with coach Manuel Pellegrini a year ago.

An effort was made to sell him this summer after he returned following his loan spell with Boca Juniors, but nothing materialized due to the lack of a club which satisfied both the Riquelme and Villarreal.

He will most certainly be offloaded this winter, as club president Fernando Roig confirmed a few weeks back: “I think that the situation is going to be solved in December.”

A report in The Sun suggests that Newcastle are keen on landing him, with Sam Allardyce wanting to build his attack around the Argentine.

Big Sam is ready to convince the player by guaranteeing him first team action, and a bid in the region of 12 million euros is expected to be enough to convince Villarreal.

Fluminese are another club that have been linked with Riquelme.

dreamer75
08-11-2007, 08:14 PM
Newcastle United are said to be targeting Russia captain Andrei Arshavin with an £8million January bid.

Newcastle Preparing Bid For Arshavin?

The man who has captained Russia to the brink of Euro 2008 qualification, Andrei Arshavin, is a target for English Premier League side Newcastle United according to English media reports.

Magpies' manager Sam Allardyce is understood to be a big fan of 26-year-old Arshavin.

And with Russia's domestic season ending this weekend, a Newcastle move for the Zenit St Petersburg forward (who can also play in midfield) could be well-timed.

Arshavin has indicated that he could be interested in a new challenge, particularly if Zenit win the Russian title.

Zenit go into the final round of games leading Spartak Moscow by two points at the top of Russia's Premier-Liga. Zenit have 58 points from 29 games, Spartak 56 from 29.

Named Russian Footballer of the Year in 2006, the hard-working but technically gifted Arshavin is highly regarded for his pace, vision and the quality of his pasing.

He has played well over 200 League games for Zenit, scoring more than 50 goals, and has also scored 11 goals in 25 matches for Zenit in the Uefa Cup.

dreamer75
08-11-2007, 08:14 PM
Steve Harper has had a meeting with Newcastle United manager Sam Allardyce after being dropped from the first-team.

Harper Holds Talks With Allardyce, Plays Down Newcastle 'Crisis'

Newcastle United goalkeeper Steve Harper had been given a run in the side this season because of Shay Given’s injuries, lost his place again following the Irish international’s return to fitness.

Harper, who has been a Newcastle servant since 1993-94, although he did not make his first-team debut until the 1998-99 season, admits he sought a showdown with Allardyce after being dropped so that he could make his feelings known to the boss.

"I thought my first six games of the season went pretty well and when the manager put Shay back in I went to see him," Harper told The Daily Mirror.

"We discussed it and I got my feelings across.”

After losing to Reading and Portsmouth, Newcastle's season is suddenly looking fragile, but Harper is too ong in the tooth to be panicking or talking about a crisis at the club.

"I've been at Newcastle a long time and know how it works," he said.

"Ten days ago we had statistically the best start in 11 years and everyone was thinking 'three points at Reading is two points a game - top-six form or top-four even'.

"Two very, very disappointing performances later and it's crisis time. That's Newcastle United. We have to put the last two games to bed. We have to put on a performance for us, the manager, the fans.

"It's a rollercoaster. This is the way it is here. It's either everything is rosy or it's crisis time. There's never any middle ground.

"We're either qualifying for Europe or the manager is under pressure. Come Saturday if we've won everything will be rosy again. I can't even think about losing the game."

daveaha
09-11-2007, 09:52 AM
Dear Lads & Lasses,

1. LIVE MATCH GATHERING: *Normality is restored

NEWCASTLE UNITED v SUNDERLAND (a)
Saturday, 10 November - gathering 8pm onwards (kick off 8.45 pm).

Venue: Lot Stock & Barrel Pub, 30 Seah Street
Map: www.streetdirectory.com/asia_travel/travel/travel.php?travel_id=1&travel_site=13465

North East derby, an EARLY Saturday match, its LIVE!
Pints from $7.50 to $9.00, Coke's $5.50.
Don't miss this derby thriller, its time to bounce back & thump the mackems!

2. LOCAL MATCH: NUFC.SG v INTER PAINTS - Sunday 11th November 3.00pm

Venue: Telok Kurau Secondary School (near Eunos/Kembangan MRT)
Map: www.streetdirectory.com/asia_travel/travel/travel_id_9032/travel_site_63859

Team assemble 2.30pm, Kick Off is 3.00pm sharp, all welcome to join.. an opportunity to see our local lads in action in black & white.

HOWAY THE LADS - hope to see you on Saturday & Sunday!

Happy Deepavali!

NUFC.SG

TrueBeliever_jh
09-11-2007, 08:10 PM
against the mackems..

have not lost for 2 decades... well.. good luck to our boys. and we are targetting 2 midfielders?? we got enough midfielders already right? unless we offloading at least 2-3.. or else.. we will have to play 1-7-2 suicide soccer again..:s22:

KWSW
09-11-2007, 08:35 PM
against the mackems..

have not lost for 2 decades... well.. good luck to our boys. and we are targetting 2 midfielders?? we got enough midfielders already right? unless we offloading at least 2-3.. or else.. we will have to play 1-7-2 suicide soccer again..:s22:

so did portsmouth right? havent beaten the toons at home before... well I honestly dunno how things will go tmr... i even got a feeling might not win... of cos i would love to be proven wrong... either way i will be watching the match...

o0SpaceY0o
09-11-2007, 09:07 PM
will heads roll if we lose the match tml??? hahahaha

TrueBeliever_jh
09-11-2007, 09:24 PM
will heads roll if we lose the match tml??? hahahaha
not yet.. 2 wins 2 losts is our recent record home/away

not alarming yet.. we will wait and see.. Big Sam also commented that at least 3-5 seasons are needed... so I dun expect our side to be liked Chelsea.. first season with Jose win the title liaoz..

but still.. abit sad.. we dun have the correct combi in all areas.. defense, midfield and attack.. Duff should be coming back this month or so.. more headaches

KWSW
09-11-2007, 11:25 PM
actually with duff back it might be better. currently other then zoggy and milner, no other wingers... sure smith and emre did play on the right and left mid but i dun see them as wingers...

abit of competition will be good for zoggy... just that milner still the only right winger...

Denieruson
10-11-2007, 12:23 AM
actually with duff back it might be better. currently other then zoggy and milner, no other wingers... sure smith and emre did play on the right and left mid but i dun see them as wingers...

abit of competition will be good for zoggy... just that milner still the only right winger...
having milner isnt enough...we need another stable right winger...along with a attacking midfielder...though im happy tat troublesome dyer is gone...(he used to be my fav. player)...we need someone with pace to attack..someone like deco...someone....

TrueBeliever_jh
10-11-2007, 01:22 AM
Toon owner to sit with away fans at derby

Newcastle's millionaire owner will join his club's fans in the away end at Sunderland tomorrow because he wants to wear his black and white shirt.

Click here
Mike Ashley will forego the pleasures of the directors' box at the Stadium of Light and join the 3,000 travelling Newcastle fans, because he did not want to cause problems for the hosts by wearing his top among the red and white supporters.

Much has been made during the build-up to the Wear-Tyne derby as to whether Ashley would wear his black and white shirt, which has striker Alan Smith's name on the back, for the game.

The sports retail entrepreneur likes to show his affinity to the Newcastle fans by wearing the same replica shirts that helped make his fortune.

His Sunderland counterpart Niall Quinn said he did not mind what Ashley wore, but there were concerns from police and club officials that some supporters would find it an inflammatory gesture in a game which is one of British football's most passionate.

Newcastle chairman Chris Mort said today: 'Niall understands Mike wants to wear his black and white shirt for this game more than any other, but does not want to cause anyone at Sunderland any problems.

'As a result, Mike has decided to watch tomorrow's game with our fans behind the goal.'

Ashley was once thought of as a recluse, but since he bought the club he has repeatedly appeared in the directors' box wearing his team's kit.

Earlier this year he was initially refused entry to a Newcastle nightclub because he was wearing the black and white stripes, until a senior member of staff recognised the multi-millionaire and let him in.

He bought everyone in the club a drink and tipped the staff heavily.

The Blu Bambu club changed its policy, so now customers can wear football tops, as long as they can prove they own the club.

:s31::s31::s31:

dreamer75
10-11-2007, 02:54 AM
Sam Allardyce appears to have been severely rattled by recent speculation that his job as Newcastle United manager may be in jeopardy and has accused the media of "****-stirring". When asked yesterday if he felt under pressure, Allardyce, whose side have lost their last two games, including Saturday's 4-1 defeat by Portsmouth at St James' Park, replied: "You mean the crap press I get.

"You mean the speculative stuff that is written to try and make your life difficult. It's probably more volatile and more unacceptable than I expected here.You don't speculate about someone taking over someone else's job when you lose two games."

Article continues
That was a reference to a Sunday newspaper story suggesting that Mike Ashley and Chris Mort, Newcastle's owner and chairman, were keen to replace Allardyce with Blackburn Rovers' manager, Mark Hughes.

Although Mort later poured scorn on that report, describing it as ludicrous, Allardyce, who faces a tough test in tomorrow's Tyne-Wear derby against Sunderland at the Stadium of Light, admitted: "I know if I don't get results huge pressure will be put on Mike and Chris, let alone on me."

The former Bolton manager, who has yet to win over a section of Newcastle's fans which remains underwhelmed by his preferred direct style of play, blames headline-chasing journalists for creating such stress. "It's started by the media - they train the public how to react," he said. "I'm hardly happy about it but it goes with the territory."

As, it seems, do impatience and fickleness. Although the former Sunderland centre-half arrived only in the summer and has recruited virtually an entire team of new players, there is a craving for immediate success on Tyneside. But Allardyce, who only last month presided over Newcastle's best beginning to a season for a decade, cautioned: "I still think it will take me three to five years to get this club where I want it to be.

"This club hasn't had any sustained success for 50 years and fundamental things need to be put in place. I think the difficulty at the moment lies with everyone being so new. I don't think anyone realises that when you change so much it is difficult to get things right overnight."

It took Allardyce a few years to turn Bolton into European contenders and he insisted that his present travails were "nothing like" as bad as "the dark days" when Wanderers were struggling at the foot of the Premier League and once went 10 games without a win. Moreover he fully intends to confound his present doubters. "I haven't been sacked since 1995 at Blackpool," he said, "and I don't want to be sacked again."

dreamer75
10-11-2007, 02:57 AM
Striker Mark Viduka will return to the Newcastle squad for Saturday's derby trip to Sunderland in the Premier League (kick-off 12.45pm). The 32-year-old will resume after four games on the sidelines with a calf problem, although defender Claudio Cacapa is a doubt with a knee injury and Nicky Butt is suspended for the clash at the Stadium of Light after reaching five bookings for the season.

Shay Given is out with a groin problem and Celestine Babayaro's return has been delayed by a back injury, while Damien Duff (ankle) and Stephen Carr (hamstring) are still working their way back to full fitness.

Newcastle (from): Harper, Forster, Beye, Enrique, Rozehnal, Taylor, Cacapa, Faye, Milner, Geremi, Emre, N'Zogbia, Barton, Smith, Pattison, Owen, Viduka, Martins, Ameobi.

dreamer75
10-11-2007, 02:58 AM
Newcastle striker Michael Owen has set his heart on more derby success after his taste of glory in Spain's big showdown.

The 27-year-old, who learnt his trade amid the passion of the city rivalry between Liverpool and Everton, will get his first taste of the Tyne-Wear derby on Saturday when he runs out to face Sunderland at the Stadium of Light.

Owen was injured for the 3-2 win at St James' Park and the 4-1 victory on Wearside two seasons ago, but has fond memories of at least one of his encounters with Barcelona during his year with Real Madrid.

He said: "We won 4-2 at home, and we lost 3-2 away.

"The scorers' chart on the 4-2 win at home was fantastic. It was Ronaldo, (Zinedine) Zidane, Raul and Owen, and then Ronaldinho and (Samuel) Eto'o for Barcelona - so that's five great players!

"All derbies are obviously different, and that in a way isn't a derby. It's just two successful teams - they are miles apart.

"But they call it El Derby or El Clásico, and it's a fantastic occasion.

"Every derby is different, whether it's Liverpool v Everton or Newcastle v Sunderland.

"I have never played in a Newcastle v Sunderland derby, and I am looking forward to sampling this one."

Owen could be partnered for the first time since September 23 by Mark Viduka after the 32-year-old Australian finally shook off a troublesome calf injury.

Newcastle have not lost on Wearside since April 1980, and that is a record they would dearly love to preserve this weekend after last Saturday's disastrous 4-1 home defeat by Portsmouth.

Defender Steven Taylor will hope to retain his place in a defence which was torn apart by Pompey, and as one of the few locals in the squad - he was born in Greenwich, but brought up in Whitley Bay - he knows exactly what is at stake.

Taylor said: "Every Geordie looks forward to the derby games. It's a massive game for me, the fans and everyone associated with the club.

"It's a game we have really got to win. It means so much to the whole of Newcastle.

"I am desperate to play, but the manager makes the decision.

"If I am not playing, it will be like someone punching me in the face - that's how much pain I will be in.

"But all players should feel like that, and there is that much competition for places, no-one's place is safe. You have got to perform to keep your place."

Magpies boss Sam Allardyce faces a series of difficult decisions after a week during which chairman Chris Mort was forced to deny reports that Blackburn's Mark Hughes was being lined up as a replacement for the 52-year-old.

The man himself, however, was not fazed.

Allardyce said: "That's life and I have lived with that for the last 16 or 17 years that I have been a manager.

"It has, of course, got worse as the years have gone on, so I do not expect it to get any better if we lose football matches."

Owner Mike Ashley will have the perfect opportunity to gauge the views of the club's fans this weekend after deciding to wear his black and white shirt at the Stadium of Light after all, but to do so among the travelling supporters rather than in his seat in the directors' box.

Mort said: "(Sunderland chairman) Niall (Quinn) understands that Mike wants to wear his black and white shirt for this game more than any other, but at the same time, he does not want to cause anyone at Sunderland any problems for doing so.

"As a result, Mike has decided to watch tomorrow's game in with our fans behind the goal, and he is very much looking forward to doing so."

dreamer75
10-11-2007, 03:00 AM
we could see a Own + Viduka partnership.

revenant
10-11-2007, 08:12 PM
Hey big match is approaching!

I'm watching using the link below but currently not able to see anything yet.

http://4.livefooty.doctor-serv.com/sat10.11/Sunderland_Newcastle.html

I came across this link but not sure which channel shows the match.

http://www.worldtvpc.com/live/

anyone know of any other link that can watch?

KWSW
10-11-2007, 08:31 PM
woot time to go watch the match liaos... come on Toons... some good news would be great after 2 defeats

KWSW
10-11-2007, 09:57 PM
here we go again.... 1-0 to sunderland... records are meant to be broken... against the toons... sad... i gave up going out with close friends for this? kaoz...

KWSW
10-11-2007, 10:13 PM
GOAL... nice shot by milner... haha

hoon_ki
10-11-2007, 10:15 PM
terrific goal! i didnt even noe it was a goal n was already startin to curse milner for the lousy cross.. =P

KWSW
10-11-2007, 10:19 PM
terrific goal! i didnt even noe it was a goal n was already startin to curse milner for the lousy cross.. =P

maybe it was a lousy cross... but it made a good goal... hehe :D

TrueBeliever_jh
10-11-2007, 10:44 PM
1-1 FT score..

there is a change in formation or is it jus me? we went out with 3 defenders? Roz+Talyor+Faye

i didnt watch this match.. hows the match everyone?

KWSW
10-11-2007, 10:46 PM
1-1 FT score..

there is a change in formation or is it jus me? we went out with 3 defenders? Roz+Talyor+Faye

zoggy played left wing back...

hoon_ki
10-11-2007, 11:46 PM
1-1 FT score..

we were lucky to get a draw.. sunderland was better in almost every aspect..

SecretZone
10-11-2007, 11:59 PM
i tink big sam until now still dunno which player suit with position best... owen seem out of sort again

o0SpaceY0o
11-11-2007, 12:20 AM
Joined the lads @ Lot Stock n Barrel Pub earlier today...atmosphere was great...but Newcastle play like sh|te. !st hlaf was rubbish...keep pumping long ball up to no avail...defense was in five and sixes only Faye was concentrating the rest of the def in no man's land and Sunderland goal...Higginbotham got a free header and GOAL. 1 nil up for Sh|terland.

2nd half at last they woke up and try to play football...which is keep the ball on the ground and results in a goal...which was a fluke one of coz...and throughout the whole match Newcastle players got close down very fast by the sh|ters and we allow them plenty of space to roam around our half.

Disappointing match...2 points dropped instead of 1 point gain. :s27:

dreamer75
11-11-2007, 12:22 AM
disappointing 1-1 draw.

rannjiaolang
11-11-2007, 08:28 AM
tyco goal by milner :s13:

anyway newcastle play their best by keeping the ball on the ground instead of doing meaningless aerial crosses

i tot faye was the best player and harper came in second. i see that barton was coming back to his best? whipping in wicked crosses and wicked tackles :s13:

Tyer
11-11-2007, 09:32 AM
In general, I feel what was our better departments become really bad this season. It is the midfield. No width, no much creativity, just athletics. That's all. Strikers are not moving into the channels. I remember during pre-Bobby Robson era, Shearer was on his way down. Until Bobson told him to work the channels, the whole team played better and goals came back for both Newcastle and Shearer.

SecretZone
11-11-2007, 10:13 AM
someone have to tell BS tat zog is a left winger and smith sux in midfield... zog and milner on wing would have given us more attack options

TrueBeliever_jh
11-11-2007, 11:50 AM
someone have to tell BS tat zog is a left winger and smith sux in midfield... zog and milner on wing would have given us more attack options
sadly he is not listening to this..

anyway.. yesterday night Owen captained the team. I was thinking was that the reason for his low form now? i would much preferred ppl liked Butt or Barton to hold the captaincy in place of Geremi.. wat you guys say?

revenant
11-11-2007, 12:20 PM
Joined the lads @ Lot Stock n Barrel Pub earlier today...atmosphere was great...

haha you really went ah? Alone?

How was it compared to the 1st time we went with f4 on my car at boat quay?

steffan7
11-11-2007, 01:36 PM
Wat a letdown score again... We can do better the next round..

revenant
11-11-2007, 03:29 PM
Check out the goals here (http://collinyeo.blogspot.com/2007/11/sunderland-1-1-newcastle-united_11.html).

o0SpaceY0o
11-11-2007, 03:44 PM
haha you really went ah? Alone?

How was it compared to the 1st time we went with f4 on my car at boat quay?
i went with bernard~ :P....i think ytd was too quiet for us...coz when the 1st goal went in we got silence by the sunderland fans there...until we got the score to 1-1 den we started to sing n curse :P

revenant
11-11-2007, 04:07 PM
i went with bernard~ :P....i think ytd was too quiet for us...coz when the 1st goal went in we got silence by the sunderland fans there...until we got the score to 1-1 den we started to sing n curse :P

wah sunderland fans also there huh?

o0SpaceY0o
11-11-2007, 05:01 PM
wah sunderland fans also there huh?
ya...they were sitted directly behind me :s7: lolso u know how i felt when the 1st goal went in :s13:

rannjiaolang
11-11-2007, 09:42 PM
they actually exist in sg? :s31:

o0SpaceY0o
11-11-2007, 10:36 PM
they actually exist in sg? :s31:
hahahaha :s13: there are black sheep everywhere...so not surprising....lol :s13:

o0SpaceY0o
12-11-2007, 04:33 PM
you are not a loser if you lose; you are only a loser if you quit.

Toon Toon OLE OLE.

dreamer75
12-11-2007, 04:49 PM
Louise Taylor at the Stadium of Light
Monday November 12, 2007
The Guardian

Fear of failure is frequently a bigger motivator than lust for glory. It certainly seems to have been the driving force behind Sam Allardyce's tactics on Wearside where Alan Smith was deployed as the deepest sitting of holding midfielders and, with Newcastle United's manager unwilling to risk fielding three strikers at once, a taut-faced Michael Owen found himself replaced by Obafemi Martins seven minutes from time.

"It was very, very important indeed not to lose; we couldn't afford to lose, this means we haven't allowed things to escalate," insisted Allardyce, who will be waiting to hear from the Football Association after they yesterday confirmed that they will examine Joey Barton's groin-high tackle on Dickson Etuhu which went unpunished by the referee Martin Atkinson.

Article continues
Barton could face a three-match ban if the FA deem retrospective punishment neccessary. The loss of the midfielder would be a further blow to Allardyce, whose stuttering team had been defeated in their previous two games and were fortunate to avoid a third reverse here.

That cannot have been lost on either Owen, who received precious little service and will be contemplating a bleak professional horizon should England fail to qualify for Euro 2008, or Mike Ashley.

Informed he would not be welcome in Sunderland's directors' box wearing his hallmark black and white striped replica shirt, Newcastle's increasingly eccentric, and populist, owner elected to mix with his public instead. Sitting with the away fans congregated behind a goal, Ashley can hardly have failed to pick up the vibe that the Toon Army are disgruntled with a style of play that involves the ball spending inordinate amounts of time in the air.

Judging by their collective body language, Newcastle's players do not appear thrilled by Allardyce's vision either and Owen might suddenly find the prospect of a move to Manchester City rather attractive.

Allardyce's job security was called into question last week and, despite public declarations of "long-term support" from Chris Mort, the chairman, Newcastle's manager seemed a little insecure after his side floundered in the face of a high tempo Sunderland who played the superior football and created a litany of chances.

Having emphasised that this is "a more impatient Premier League than ever before" Allardyce reminded everyone that "four Premier League managers have already been sacked this season". Tellingly, when asked if his was a particularly impatient club he replied: "Not when we're winning."

Considering that, a third of the way into the season, Newcastle are in a position from which Uefa Cup qualification is eminently possible, it may seem that they are less fragile than advertised but James Milner hinted at a different story.

"After last week when we didn't have a great result [a 4-1 defeat at home to Portsmouth] we could easily have caved in here," admitted Milner, who ensured Newcastle did not fold by scoring a somewhat flukey equaliser, his cross-shot - much more cross than shot - confounding a culpable Craig Gordon.

The manner of that concession summed up Sunderland's recent misfortune. "We're sick of hearing people say 'but you played well'," admitted the impressive Danny Higginbotham whose header from Grant Leadbitter's cross gave Sunderland a deserved lead. "Our performance today warranted a win. This doesn't feel anything like a relegation team and, although things haven't gone our way in recent weeks, confidence is still high. But we've got to start turning 'unlucky' into wins."

As Allardyce acknowledged, Keane's principal problem is a goal shortage. "The one thing Sunderland lack is cutting-edge finishing," reflected Newcastle's manager. Although the excellent Kenwyne Jones boasts four goals in seven games since signing from Southampton, no other Sunderland player is remotely prolific.

While Michael Chopra admittedly posed his old Newcastle pals a host of problems and struck the woodwork, a more incisive poacher playing off Jones could have registered a hat-trick.

Which rather begged the question as to why the visiting manager was so cautious, deploying the disappointing Smith in an extremely limited role as, at times, virtually a fifth defender? "He was showing us respect," replied Keane, half smiling.

Maybe Allardyce - particularly if he wants to keep Owen happy - could do with watching a few vidoes of Kevin Keegan's Newcastle before pondering a notice Keane has pinned up in Sunderland's dressing room. It includes the lines: "You've got think high to rise; you've got to be sure of yourself before you can ever win a prize," and "If you dare not, you don't ... "

Man of the match Kenwyne Jones

"A very difficult customer to handle," was Sam Allardyce's description of the former Southampton centre forward

Best Moment When he helped create Sunderland's goal by forcing David Rozehnal into conceding the corner which prefaced Danny Higginbotham heading home

Hua_Hui
12-11-2007, 04:56 PM
wtf!
spacey u watch soccer 1 ah :eek:

o0SpaceY0o
12-11-2007, 05:15 PM
wtf!
spacey u watch soccer 1 ah :eek:
hahaha i oso shocked u come here n post...i newcastle supporter since primary sch leh :s7:

rannjiaolang
12-11-2007, 06:26 PM
guess who's this cute man? :D

http://www.nufc.com/2007-08images/2007-11-10ashley-l.jpg

Natsairda
12-11-2007, 06:33 PM
mike ashley lor

dreamer75
12-11-2007, 08:56 PM
guess who's this cute man? :D

http://www.nufc.com/2007-08images/2007-11-10ashley-l.jpg

still can laugh ah? :s13: :s13:

SecretZone
13-11-2007, 12:01 AM
next game will be very tough... against liverpool.. hope owen can score against them!! :D

aqf
17-11-2007, 11:09 AM
Owen injured again

Denieruson
17-11-2007, 01:18 PM
Owen injured again
yes! time for martins to show his worth...

rannjiaolang
17-11-2007, 05:05 PM
Owen injured again
can someone sell him? seriously, i've lost patience with him

o0SpaceY0o
17-11-2007, 06:05 PM
http://nufcblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/11/peter-crouch-1.jpg
:s13: :s13:

revenant
17-11-2007, 06:39 PM
wtf where you got that from?

si bei ugly

o0SpaceY0o
17-11-2007, 07:32 PM
wtf where you got that from?

si bei ugly
http://nufcblog.com/

TrueBeliever_jh
17-11-2007, 09:31 PM
sianz.. but its alright since geremi got problem finding his place in the starting XI.. tat shall force Big Sam to reshuffle his ideas and set the captaincy again..

sigh.. i am beginning to miss Alan Shearer :sad:

Liverpool have decided to sell Peter Crouch to the highest bidder in January, and that will start a scramble for the hugely under-rated Liverpool striker.

While we have no idea whether Big Sam rates Crouch, he causes so much trouble with high balls in the opposition penalty area, that we think he could be a good acquisition for Newcastle. wtf.. we linked to him again?

and latest news is that our boy is out for 4-6 weeks (again)..

man jus when i thought he is done and over with his injuries.. damn it.. another bed riddened season for Owen.. :s27:

hope Martins dun get his weak legs in front of goals again during Liverpool's match..

revenant
17-11-2007, 09:52 PM
Check out this video (http://collinyeo.blogspot.com/2007/11/always-look-on-bright-side-of-life.html) haha

dreamer75
21-11-2007, 07:57 PM
Sachin Nakrani
Wednesday November 21, 2007
The Guardian

Joey Barton has given his support to England ahead of tonight's game against Croatia only months after the Newcastle United midfielder was quoted as saying that players here put too much emphasis on representing the national side.

Barton has one international cap to his name, as a substitute in the 1-0 friendly defeat to Spain in February, and looked to have blown his chances of adding to that tally. But Barton says he was misquoted and wants to remain in contention for a place in Steve McClaren's side. "They [the press] asked me just after I'd been out for 11 weeks with a broken foot and was playing my fourth game for Newcastle reserves if I wanted to play for England. I never said I didn't want to play for England, instead I said my first goal was to get fit and be in the Newcastle side," he said. "If I'm not playing for Newcastle then I've got no chance of playing for England.

Article continues
"If I get back to the level that I'm happy with and England reach Euro 2008, then there is a big incentive for fringe players like myself to work that bit harder and be deemed good enough by the coaching staff to be involved in the championships."

Barton, close to full fitness, is confident his dream of playing in Austria and Switzerland next summer can be fulfilled. He said: "Some people have said we don't deserve to qualify but if you qualify, you qualify. End of story." McClaren may be able to watch Barton in action on Saturday when Newcastle entertain Liverpool.

dreamer75
21-11-2007, 08:01 PM
Simon Williams
Tuesday November 20, 2007
The Guardian

Newcastle United's irritation at watching Michael Owen pick up yet another injury on international duty was eased yesterday with the news they can expect to receive about £500,000 from the Football Association in compensation.

Owen tore a thigh muscle in England's 1-0 win over Austria on Friday and could be out for six weeks, but Newcastle should receive enough money from the FA's new insurance policy to cover the bulk of his £110,000-a-week wages.

The policy was agreed by the FA because of Owen's nine-month absence after rupturing knee ligaments at last year's World Cup and spiralling Premier League wages. It came into force for England's match in Russia last month and gives clubs who lose a player through international injury up to £50,000 a week for the first two weeks. That increases to up to £100,000 a week for those on the sidelines longer.

dreamer75
21-11-2007, 08:04 PM
Louise Taylor
Wednesday November 21, 2007
The Guardian

Michael Owen was in Munich yesterday where he received advice on repairing his damaged thigh from Dr Hans-Wilhelm Müller-Wohlfahrt. The Newcastle United and England striker sustained the injury during last Friday's international friendly in Austria and has visited Wohlfahrt, long seen as a pioneer in the treatment of sports injuries at Bayern Munich, in the hope that he may be able to return to firstteam action before the New Year.

Sam Allardyce, Newcastle's manager, has said he fears Owen will be sidelined for six weeks, rather than the four initially forecast but the striker hopes the trip will accelerate his convalescence.

Article continues
"We've sent Michael to Germany to see Dr Wohlfahrt in a bid to speed up his recovery," said Allardyce yesterday, when it was also revealed that a member of Newcastle's medical team accompanied Owen on England duty last week and was in Vienna when the striker was stricken by the latest in a long line of injuries. Shay Given, the Newcastle and Ireland goalkeeper who has recently suffered groin complaints, was also joined by a member of club's medical support staff when the Republic played Wales in Cardiff last weekend.

dreamer75
21-11-2007, 08:09 PM
Big match coming....cant afford to lose this sat!

TrueBeliever_jh
21-11-2007, 10:07 PM
Big match coming....cant afford to lose this sat!
cant afford to lose?

i will say our best is to pull off a draw.. thats the best we can do now.. of course.. maybe without Owen.. the team might looks a bit different

dreamer75
22-11-2007, 09:30 AM
cant afford to lose?

i will say our best is to pull off a draw.. thats the best we can do now.. of course.. maybe without Owen.. the team might looks a bit different

trying to be positive, try to get a draw mah.

aqf
22-11-2007, 09:44 AM
No Taylor, no Faye. Both injured

daveaha
22-11-2007, 11:10 AM
EARLY LIVE MATCH GATHERING:

NEWCASTLE UNITED v LIVERPOOL (H)
Saturday, 24 November - gathering 8pm onwards (kick off 8.45 pm).

Map: www.streetdirectory.com/asia_travel/travel/travel.php?travel_id=1&travel_site=13465

Calling all Singapore Magpies.. Its Newcastle United versus Liverpool LIVE at St James park. From history, this encounter normally turns out to be a classic match, so join us for this EARLY Saturday LIVE match gathering to cheers the lads ! Pints from $7.50 to $9.00, Coke's $5.50.Don't miss this exciting gathering !

So get your Black & White shirt on, and JOIN US!
Let Singapore's L'pool fans see NUFC shirts everywhere enroute to LSB on Saturday night!

Lets fly the Toon flag!

HTL!

KWSW
22-11-2007, 11:24 AM
Duff back in training after long lay-off

Newcastle winger Damien Duff has returned to full training after almost seven months out following a serious foot injury.

The 28-year-old last appeared for the Magpies at Portsmouth in April when he suffered what seemed to be a minor knock.

However, the injury was far more serious than first appeared - and it was feared his career could be under threat.

The Republic of Ireland international has had two operations but is now on course to return.

Magpies boss Sam Allardyce told his club's official website: 'It's great to see Damien back in training. He is just starting to join in with the players, and there will be a period of time when he gets used to training on a day-to-day basis.

'He'll have to get used to the physical contact first of all, and from there we'll take it into a reserve match. We hope we'll have him back to the sort of level we know he can play at as quickly as possible.

'We're looking forward to having him back in the first-team squad, because Damien is a player of undoubted class who can play a big part for us this season.'

Duff has managed just 20 league appearances for the Magpies since his £5million transfer from Chelsea in July last year.

From : Soccernet (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=483818&campaign=rss&source=soccernet&cc=4716)

Well lets hope he will return to form soon. Having 2 left wingers is always better then only having 1... :o

TrueBeliever_jh
23-11-2007, 08:33 AM
Well lets hope he will return to form soon. Having 2 left wingers is always better then only having 1... :o
sigh.. he is finally making a comeback.. abit behind the schedule..

another headache for Big Sam..

daveaha
23-11-2007, 03:17 PM
EARLY LIVE MATCH GATHERING:

Calling all Singapore Magpies.. Its Newcastle United versus Liverpool LIVE at St James park. From history, this encounter normally turns out to be a classic match, so join us for this EARLY Saturday LIVE match gathering to cheers the lads ! Pints from $7.50 to $9.00, Coke's $5.50.Don't miss this exciting gathering !

So get your Black & White shirt on, and JOIN US!
Let Singapore's L'pool fans see NUFC shirts everywhere enroute to LSB on Saturday night!

Lets fly the Toon flag!

HTL!

Reminder reminder...

JOIN US !

Kilrach
23-11-2007, 05:20 PM
Is SCV showing? Doesn't say so in the programme guide...

Tyer
23-11-2007, 05:26 PM
Surely will show, IMO. Since it is early kickoff.

Kilrach
23-11-2007, 05:31 PM
Programme guide shows that they are airing scottish premier leagues matches :s22:

Tyer
23-11-2007, 05:36 PM
BPL 07/08: Newcastle United Vs Liverpool (Live & Exclusive)
08:40 PM - 10:45 PM My Alerts

It is showing on the online version of telescope.

daveaha
23-11-2007, 07:55 PM
Reminder reminder...

JOIN US !

We're gathering to watch the game, so it'll be definitely live on Ch 27. We've done our homework too...

Anyway,
Join us ! Why you want to watch alone on Saturday night ? Feel the atmosphere in the pub where you can watch together with the fellow magpie fans.

COME ON NEWCASTLE !! !!
TOON TOON !!

KWSW
24-11-2007, 09:34 PM
lol open goal also miss

revenant
24-11-2007, 09:37 PM
lol open goal also miss

No eyes see sia, whats happening to Newcastle?

Ronaldo_7
24-11-2007, 09:39 PM
what is Given thinking sia ?

KWSW
24-11-2007, 09:45 PM
No eyes see sia, whats happening to Newcastle?

as usual, the defence cmi then pool player looks like going for one on one then given comes out and the pool striker shoots but did not go in...

something like that lah...

Anyway I think newcastle needs to lose a few more matches to wake up their idea... maybe I have grown really disappointed with them or maybe I should just go its normal for them... haiz... sorry had a bad few past days :o

KWSW
24-11-2007, 09:51 PM
2-0... GG already lah... home ground somemore... horrible...

KWSW
24-11-2007, 10:12 PM
3-0 now.... shld make it 4-0 later... what are the toons doing lah

hoon_ki
24-11-2007, 10:13 PM
3-0 liao.. GG... give up watchin already...

KWSW
24-11-2007, 10:40 PM
another saturday night wasted...

Coolsmurf
24-11-2007, 10:42 PM
he has clearly lost it! it's painful watching!

rannjiaolang
24-11-2007, 10:45 PM
Here are some questions that I would like to pose to my fellow newcastle fans after playing liverpool:

1) Were we playing at St. James Park?
2) How many corners did we get?
3) Can someone explain to me why milner was brought in at the expense of zoggy?
4) Are we any better under sam allardyce than under glenn roeder?

revenant
24-11-2007, 11:03 PM
Here are some questions that I would like to pose to my fellow newcastle fans after playing liverpool:

1) Yes we are.
2) Can't remember, none?
3) Only Big Sam has the answer.
4) SBR anytime.

rannjiaolang
24-11-2007, 11:09 PM
Match Stats
Newcastle Liverpool
Shots (on Goal) 6(2) 17(11)
Fouls 13 11
Corner Kicks 0 8
Offsides 5 1
Time of Possession 39% 61%
Yellow Cards 3 1
Saves 5 1

rannjiaolang
24-11-2007, 11:14 PM
Newcastle 0-3 Liverpool

Sam Allardyce was plunged deeper into crisis as sorry Newcastle were humiliated 3-0 at home by Liverpool.

For the second game on the trot at St James' Park, the Magpies were taken apart by the visitors, and only Shay Given and good fortune prevented Rafael Benitez's men from bettering Portsmouth's 4-1 scoreline three weeks earlier.

Steven Gerrard, who was booed by the home fans for his part in England's Euro 2008 failure in midweek, opened the scoring with a 28th-minute piledriver and after the hugely impressive Fernando Torres hit the post on the stroke of half-time, Dirk Kuyt made it 2-0 within 60 seconds of the restart.

Substitute Ryan Babel capitalised on the mayhem in Newcastle's defence to make it 3-0 with 24 minutes remaining as the home fans chanted ``You don't know what you are doing'' and ``Big Sam for England''.

Allardyce's team were simply woeful and the fury with which the final whistle was greeted by a crowd of 52,307 after they failed to muster a single shot on target will not have gone unnoticed by grim-faced owner Mike Ashley.

By contrast Benitez, who has found himself at odds with owners Tom Hicks and George Gillett, was able to wear the satisfied smile of a man who had seen his team do all he had asked of them.

Allardyce rose on Saturday morning to read of apparent unrest in his dressing room, but that was nothing compared to the boos which greeted his players as they left the field after a desperately poor opening 45 minutes.

In truth, it could have been much worse, with Torres having squandered the chance to double the Reds' lead in the final minute of the half after Kuyt had turned Charles N'Zogbia's kamikaze header into his path.

Given looked to have misjudged his sprint towards the ball, but managed to make a vital block, and he got his reward when the Spaniard picked up the loose ball and fired against the foot of the post with the goal at his mercy.

Newcastle were able to offer next to nothing in reply, with Alan Smith's dipping 38th-minute volley, which dropped just wide, their only effort of any note.

More worryingly, the 3-5-2 system adopted by Allardyce in the face of a defensive injury crisis looked alien to his players, who found themselves repeatedly out-numbered as Liverpool simply passed the ball around them.

Strikers Mark Viduka and Obafemi Martins were painfully isolated, with nominal wide men Geremi and N'Zogbia struggling to make anything of the sporadic possession they received.

Indeed, the biggest cheer of the afternoon to that point came when the first contestant in the half-time hit-the-crossbar challenge produced the most accurate ball of the day from a man in a black and white shirt to connect with the woodwork at the first attempt.

If the Magpies had escaped at the end of the first half, they were not to be so fortunate at the beginning of the second after Habib Beye was forced to concede a 46th-minute corner.

Sami Hyypia managed to get a flick on Gerrard's ball in at the near post and Kuyt bundled it home from close range to make it 2-0.

Allardyce did little to improve the mood at St James' when he replaced Emre with Joey Barton after 51 minutes with his side labouring.

Beye had to get in a block to deny Harry Kewell on 54 minutes after Torres had found space on the right and although Smith volleyed high over at the end of a rare Magpies attack a minute later, there were cheers when James Milner emerged from the dug-out to warm up.

Milner duly arrived with 59 minutes gone, but Allardyce's decision to replace N'Zogbia was greeted with incredulity.

Newcastle were in complete disarray and after Torres had twice gone close, substitute Babel finally made them pay when he exchanged passes with Gerrard to fire home a third goal after 66 minutes.

Torres was tormenting the home defence and should really have added his name to the scoresheet, firing wide after 68 minutes with just the helpless Given to beat and then seeing another effort blocked by the Irishman seconds later.

Babel sent a stinging shot across Given's goal after 73 minutes and then laid a fourth on a plate for Kuyt, only to see the Dutchman scuff his effort straight at the goalkeeper.

The final whistle came as a merciful release for Newcastle.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/report?id=219732&cc=4716

i just love the way we were being described, especially in bold

hoon_ki
24-11-2007, 11:16 PM

1) unfortunately, we were.. that's 7 goals conceded in the past 2 home games...

2) at HT it was 0.. not sure at FT cuz i stopped watchin after 60mins

3) cuz he die die muz play smith & butt

4) was better, but the teams we played were weaker.. after this match not sure if we're still any better

rannjiaolang
24-11-2007, 11:25 PM
1) unfortunately, we were.. that's 7 goals conceded in the past 2 home games...

2) at HT it was 0.. not sure at FT cuz i stopped watchin after 60mins

3) cuz he die die muz play smith & butt

4) was better, but the teams we played were weaker.. after this match not sure if we're still any better
at full time it was still 0 :s13:

SecretZone
25-11-2007, 01:03 AM
i leave my judgement of big sam till the end of season..

we went thru a horrible last season, hopefully is not a repeated case this season too

IMO, if we can finish top 10 this season, is aleady consider "good"

dreamer75
25-11-2007, 01:20 AM
no eyes see.

think we shld evaluate big sam at mid season.

dreamer75
25-11-2007, 01:23 AM
Sticking religiously to an ugly long-ball game will only gain you support if you win, as Sam Allardyce is discovering

Louise Taylor
November 24, 2007 2:56 PM

A new advertising sign has appeared above the Gallowgate End. It reads 'SportsDirect.com' - Mike Ashley's leisurewear retail company - and, quite frankly, looks horribly cheap and nasty. Newcastle's new owner may enjoy playing a 'man of the people' role in his black and white striped replica shirt but Ashley clearly lacks aesthetic sense.

Unfortunately Sam Allardyce's growing army of critics feel much the same about Newcastle's manager with his tactics rather sniffily regarded as thoroughly tacky by many St James' Park regulars. Indeed where several teams arguably over-pass their way through midfield, Newcastle seem to under-pass at present, sometimes neglecting to use the central conduit as a means of joining up defence and attack. Such an approach is all very well if your team is winning every week but managers who opt for route one and start losing tend to be dead men walking - which is what Allardyce looked early this afternoon after this ignominious defeat.

Quite apart from Newcastle's guile free game-plan, the home players' body language suggested they were not playing for their manager. In marked contrast, Liverpool's team appeared to be re-grouping behind their manager, Rafa Benítez a man presently at loggerheads with the club's American owners over transfer funding. If Steven Gerrard and co really disliked Benítez this might have been the time to undermine the great rotator, to preface a path for his departure from Anfield but, on this evidence, that theory is light years away from the reality.

Allied to a newly tough training regime, Newcastle's rudimentary style explains why murmurings of unrest have begun to be audible from Allardyce's dressing room where the default mode of many players remains pass and move. Examples of Newcastle's new found directness were epitomised by Jose Enrique - and small wonder they called him 'The Bull' in Spain - whose long, lofted, balls from left back sporadically troubled Steve Finnan and Jamie Carragher but, all too often, were easily second guessed by Rafa Benítez's backline.

Rumour has it that Michael Owen - absent through injury here - does not relish receiving balls at throat height. Equally, when the similarly diminutive Obafemi Martins was the subject of a whopping punt towards the corner flag from Nicky Butt - and what on earth was he doing on the right of midfield? - the Nigerian looked suitably disillusioned at chasing such a lost cause.

The point of playing the percentages, of course, is the presumption that you might get lucky on the second ball and Alan Smith very nearly did that courtesy of a shot which whistled just wide after David Rozehnal's boot upfield eluded Mark Viduka in the air but fell kindly for Allardyce's favourite midfielder. Otherwise Benitez's tactic of deploying the little used Lucas Leiva as a deep lying holding midfielder, screening his back four - surely yet another instance of the syndrome identified as 'sweeper creep' by Harry Pearson in the Guardian last week - offered Liverpool a generally pretty successful bulwark against the home artillery.

Newcastle though were somewhat less menacing than the abuse initially directed at Steven Gerrard, presumably a reaction to last Wednesday's events with England at Wembley. Entirely predictably, Gerrard shut them up with his stunning opener and, by the time Dirk Kuyt doubled Liverpool's advantage, Geordie fans had re-directed their ire towards those much closer to Tyneside: namely the man standing in the home technical area. Tellingly Allardyce's decision to replace Emre - by some distance Newcastle's most creative midfielder - with the recently under-achieving Joey Barton was greeted by widespread booing, gladly amplified by Liverpool's by now gleeful travelling support.

If Barton is not that popular with Newcastle fans, James Milner is admired by the fans for the industry of his wing play so the jeering that accompanied the England Under-21 international's entrance at the expense of Charles N'Zogbia was all about Allardyce. The subtext is that, like Emre, N'Zogbia is a rare creative force in this increasingly robotic team.

Shortly afterwards the Liverpool fans started singing "He's got a big fat head" in reference to Allardyce - by now looking somewhat shaken - and their Newcastle counterparts applauded enthusiastically. Soon Ryan Babbel made it three - and Allardyce was surely regretting his recent, dismissive comments about Benítez in Zoo magazine. After Torres missed a sitter - yet another - Allardyce had abuse poured on him when he ventured into the technical area. Then, even worse, came ironic choruses of "Big Sam for England."

Liverpool, of course, always had revenge on their agenda after a few roughings up by Allardyce's old Bolton team but they can never have envisaged that exacting it would prove so easy.

Meanwhile Allardyce does not even have the buffer of Freddy Shepherd - Newcastle's former chairman and the stock target of supporter discontent ahead of the sackings of Graeme Souness and Glenn Roeder - to deflect the flak presently coming his way.

Clearly canny, Ashley has ensured he is, instead, a popular hero after wearing his shirt in the away end at Sunderland two weeks ago and, along with Newcastle's chairman Chris Mort, buying numerous drinks for fans on nights out in Bigg Market and quayside bars.

Right now though, Allardyce would probably fear for his safety were he to venture into Blue Bamboo or Buffalo Joes.

TrueBeliever_jh
25-11-2007, 01:23 AM
another disastrous Sat night... at home somemore..

this match shows the class between us and the top 4.. hope we wont get relagated within this few seasons.. by the looks of other clubs.. they have improved more than us in this few seasons while we are kinda staying still or going backwards..

anyway.. i will still support the club if we get relagated.

revenant
25-11-2007, 10:41 AM
Goals here (http://collinyeo.blogspot.com/2007/11/newcastle-unite-0-3-liverpool.html).

Kilrach
25-11-2007, 11:02 AM
"New players, new manager, new owner, old problems"

GetFuzzy
25-11-2007, 11:19 AM
We should have gotten Sven Goran Eriksson instead. Just look at Manchester City now. ._.

revenant
25-11-2007, 11:47 AM
We should have gotten Sven Goran Eriksson instead. Just look at Manchester City now. ._.

You never knows.....

Natsairda
25-11-2007, 12:20 PM
long ball tactics doesn't work for newcastle, think big sam gonna change his tactics,seem like the opponent defenders cleared every long ball pumped to them

KWSW
25-11-2007, 12:37 PM
Smith and Butt are good players... but also must consider the team you are playing and their positions.

Milner to replace Zoggy was stupid. I was hoping to see them play on both wings but looked what happened.

Really ah I dunno what is going on. And dun tell me the players have no skill... they have... but their skills are not made used of properly...

TrueBeliever_jh
25-11-2007, 12:44 PM
Chants of "You don't know what you're doing" and "Allardyce for England" echoed around the ground as our season went from bad to worse.

from nufc.com

rannjiaolang
25-11-2007, 01:58 PM
sack big sam now. i'm sorry but he's lost the plot :mad:

o0SpaceY0o
25-11-2007, 04:15 PM
pathetic, woeful and disgusting

VirusAceDJ
25-11-2007, 04:29 PM
I dun like the way we are playing rite now, the formation never works well and subs made on sat nite was rubbish, all 3 of them i dare say. I believe Sam made a mistake in bringing defenders from other league, we need premierleague exp players i.e. hypia,oshea,etc...

I believe we should show more patience in Sam for now, even though it seems that he can't wait to be shown the exit door ATM.

And btw i tink we should jus change the team name to Newcastle FC, cos.....the players don't seemed UNITED the least bit, even though most of them are new to the team, but surely they have played enough games to have some understanding? And everyone single one of them seems tat they are trying to outplay their own team mates. Well IMO, we should stick smith and martins up front, milner on the right, zoby on the left and butt with emre in the centre. As for defence, i give up for now. lol

dreamer75
25-11-2007, 04:51 PM
What an absolute shambles.

Most Newcastle fans would put James Milner down first on the team sheet but Allardyce knows better and we play the first half with absolutely no creativity even though we have a strike partnership of Martins and Viduka.

Even then, we only bring Milner on when we have gone another goal down and…..what a surprise……..Allardyce brings off N’Zogbia to make way for him so any chance of attacking using both wings has gone. The really annoying thing being that Allardyce had probably done it to annoy the fans who were baiting him rather than with any semblance of tactics in mind.

Players heads had already dropped anyway and with no leadership on or off the pitch the final result was as expected, the score line probably not even as bad as it could have been if Liverpool had realised that a cricket score was possible.

I know it happens to us every season but I do believe that his time will soon be up.

dreamer75
25-11-2007, 04:52 PM
Next match : Blackburn Rovers vs Newcastle United

No chance!!
A defeat is on the cards! :s22:

Prove me wrong, lads!

SecretZone
25-11-2007, 05:42 PM
midfield use to be our strongest department, but yet this season, it seem the worst, many games are actually won in midfield..

zog and milner are the onli true winger we have, yet BS dont wan play them together

Kilrach
25-11-2007, 07:27 PM
Hopefully Duff comes back soon and we'll have a real left winger.

steffan7
25-11-2007, 09:46 PM
Disappointing defense.. We should be able to recover 3 points the next game..

TrueBeliever_jh
25-11-2007, 10:30 PM
Hopefully Duff comes back soon and we'll have a real left winger.
Duff coming back might not be a good thing since unker Sam will probably try to figure out our best midfield combinations..

and when he is figuring it out.. we will probably lose the game.. letting Solano go seems to be a big mistake now..

hoon_ki
26-11-2007, 01:53 PM
midfield use to be our strongest department, but yet this season, it seem the worst, many games are actually won in midfield..

zog and milner are the onli true winger we have, yet BS dont wan play them together
our midfield has been totally bypassed most of the time this season.. every ball is whacked upfield lookin for viduka..

SecretZone
26-11-2007, 02:05 PM
Duff coming back might not be a good thing since unker Sam will probably try to figure out our best midfield combinations..

and when he is figuring it out.. we will probably lose the game.. letting Solano go seems to be a big mistake now..

i think he thought soccer is played between striker and defender onli la :s13:

midfield is juz to make up the numbers, so he chin cai put 4 in to fill the gaps!!

SecretZone
26-11-2007, 02:07 PM
our midfield has been totally bypassed most of the time this season.. every ball is whacked upfield lookin for viduka..

gone were the days where we attack so nicely down flanks with gillespie and ginola! :(

with shearer and ferdinand scoring goals like nobody business!

our team really CMI to play long ball.. and from the look of it, never will

Denieruson
26-11-2007, 03:08 PM
tis is wat my boss told me this morning...." i tot i saw 6yr olds little school boys playing against Liverpool om saturday..."

KWSW
26-11-2007, 05:07 PM
tis is wat my boss told me this morning...." i tot i saw 6yr olds little school boys playing against Liverpool om saturday..."

ouch pain sia... haiz...

Denieruson
26-11-2007, 05:53 PM
ouch pain sia... haiz...
actually wanted to wear our black white jersey out today....tink again...dun dare...wait plp laugh...

SecretZone
26-11-2007, 06:31 PM
actually wanted to wear our black white jersey out today....tink again...dun dare...wait plp laugh...
wan laugh, laugh lor, i wear with pride! :s7: NUFC forever

KWSW
26-11-2007, 07:37 PM
i think hor wearing on match day is safer...

well not that i dun support the club... i am starting not to support the manager...

To me losing is ok if they tried their best... but thats not the case... even I have no idea what the subs were about...

Denieruson
26-11-2007, 09:32 PM
i agree wat they say...the job @ england international point is as diff as @ newcastle...expectations super high

daveaha
29-11-2007, 03:19 PM
LIVE MATCH GATHERING:

NEWCASTLE UNITED v BLACKBURN ROVERS (A)
Saturday, 1 December - gathering 10pm onwards (kick off 11pm).

A chance to get a result and get our season moving again - all NUFC players have something to prove in this match, so join us for this Saturday LIVE match gathering to cheers the lads!
Pints from $7.50 to $9.00, Coke's $5.50.
Rovers fans are expected to be there too, so don't miss this important pre xmas gathering!

KWSW
30-11-2007, 01:57 AM
ok i expected to be flamed over this comment but I will say it. I am bloody sianz out this whole week liaos. And if they put up a disappointing performance(note performance and not final score) again that makes 3 in a row and I am not going to waste my time to watch another match until they start showing that they are not a small middle table club(not again I did not mention winning).

daveaha
30-11-2007, 12:14 PM
ok i expected to be flamed over this comment but I will say it. I am bloody sianz out this whole week liaos. And if they put up a disappointing performance(note performance and not final score) again that makes 3 in a row and I am not going to waste my time to watch another match until they start showing that they are not a small middle table club(not again I did not mention winning).

Well, it's quite normal for the fans to feel EXTREMELY DISSAPOINTED by the result and performance. If they're not, then sumthing is wrong with them.

However, as a true fan, you have to always be loyal to the club, and behind the club...

So... do join us and cheers the lads on !

hoon_ki
30-11-2007, 03:14 PM
that's wat i told myself since the portsmouth match but i ended up watchin the sunderland derby n the pool match as well haha... i guess juz lower our expectations a little for this season ba...

TrueBeliever_jh
30-11-2007, 06:59 PM
yah.. gib unker sam a couple more seasons.. he also admitted success doesnt come quick

newcastle is like typical england squad.. on papers pretty good.. but boring soccer..

rannjiaolang
30-11-2007, 07:40 PM
but u ish rook at man city i can't help but cry when i rook at newcastle

daveaha
01-12-2007, 12:26 AM
from NUFC,com :

Premiership:
Support your team

Newcastle will have the backing of around 6,000 fans at Ewood Park on Saturday - with confirmation that those without tickets will be able to pay on the turnstiles at the Darwen End (£20 adults).

If you're turning out, let's try and restore some of our tattered reputation for being supporters - supplying vocal encouragement to the team - buying a ticket is only part of the deal.

We can still have pride in the shirt - even if other parties are less committed. And reacting negatively from the terraces merely gives the players a get-out clause about negative vibes etc.

Should that not be on your agenda, may we suggest snapping up tickets for Aladdin at the Theatre Royal or Sleeping Beauty at the Tyne Theatre - where you can boo or hiss to your heart's delight, along with other children...

KWSW
01-12-2007, 01:15 AM
the interesting thing is that i have already made plans for tmr... i will be @ home in front of the tv... people say I have no social life... staying home on saturday evenings when the rest should be partying. Well yeah I got church in the morning on sunday so I dun like to stay out late... but that doesn't mean I cant watch soccer on saturday nights...

Please dun let me down again... then again part of me says good game... but the other half still hopes for something better...

Sounds like a trying bgr doesn't it... nope its not... its just a Newcastle fan's weekend plan...

ok that din make a lot of sense as its past 1am and I just cleared my work... got sch in the morning but the match is all I can think of...

HTL :D

hoon_ki
01-12-2007, 11:34 PM
omg the deft little chip frm martins to smith has gotta be the best piece of football played in the recent wks!

KWSW
01-12-2007, 11:48 PM
omg the deft little chip frm martins to smith has gotta be the best piece of football played in the recent wks!

yup it is a rather encouraging first half... :)

revenant
01-12-2007, 11:59 PM
yup it is a rather encouraging first half... :)

Its a typical Newcastle performance every year.

Entertaining but no results.

KWSW
02-12-2007, 12:07 AM
GOAL by martins

KWSW
02-12-2007, 12:14 AM
1 - 1... sianz...

KWSW
02-12-2007, 12:28 AM
2 - 1 to black burn

o0SpaceY0o
02-12-2007, 12:42 AM
YOU CANT DEFEND A LEAD...YOU DONT KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING!

o0SpaceY0o
02-12-2007, 12:57 AM
you dont know what you're doing...

TrueBeliever_jh
02-12-2007, 01:02 AM
we let in 3 goals again

but the stats say we got more possession and shots which is a rare thing

S Carr got injured again??? he sub in in the first half and tio subbed out in the second:s22:

o0SpaceY0o
02-12-2007, 01:07 AM
we let in 3 goals again

but the stats say we got more possession and shots which is a rare thing

S Carr got injured again??? he sub in in the first half and tio subbed out in the second:s22:
i think is tactical sub...defder for an attker

TrueBeliever_jh
02-12-2007, 01:10 AM
i think is tactical sub...defder for an attker
then he should bring down another def that has played for longer period:s22:

o0SpaceY0o
02-12-2007, 01:19 AM
then he should bring down another def that has played for longer period:s22:
thats y the fans are singing....you dont know what you are doing.....you dont know what you are doing.....you dont know what you are doing.....

KWSW
02-12-2007, 01:20 AM
the last goal was terrible... haiz... and i dun even dare to think of the next game... haiz... and double haiz...

o0SpaceY0o
02-12-2007, 01:22 AM
the last goal was terrible... haiz... and i dun even dare to think of the next game... haiz... and double haiz...
VS who ah?

TrueBeliever_jh
02-12-2007, 01:32 AM
VS who ah?
Arsenal.. LoLz

think next gameweek i going to get a couple of arsenal players for my fantasy league

o0SpaceY0o
02-12-2007, 01:52 AM
Arsenal.. LoLz

think next gameweek i going to get a couple of arsenal players for my fantasy league
kns...good game. relegate better lah :s27:

ranjiaolangg
02-12-2007, 06:43 AM
sack big sam for the win!

o0SpaceY0o
02-12-2007, 11:03 AM
Bring the Special ONE here FTW~

xOxMxGx
02-12-2007, 11:28 AM

seriously do the toons fans really think this is the solution? sacking one after another? every manager that goes have found stopping the leak behind a problem. what u guys need is definitely not a new manager but rather more compose zai defenders.

manager is not superman and do everything. its the players thats playing the match and if they play like sh1t what can the manager do?

i watched ytd game and look at the defence. lots of panic every now and then until become primary school defending where all gather around the ball trying to clear.

i feel the jan window will be impt if big sam can bring a good defender. maybe ask tips from mark hughes how he found nelsen and samba so cheap yet good. even the warnock is playing every game with his life.

SecretZone
02-12-2007, 02:42 PM
i think we play much better yesterday, at least i dun see as much long ball, midfield are doing quite alot of work, but finishing let us down, we could have extend the lead before they equalise.

ranjiaolangg
02-12-2007, 02:44 PM
seriously do the toons fans really think this is the solution? sacking one after another? every manager that goes have found stopping the leak behind a problem. what u guys need is definitely not a new manager but rather more compose zai defenders.

manager is not superman and do everything. its the players thats playing the match and if they play like sh1t what can the manager do?

i watched ytd game and look at the defence. lots of panic every now and then until become primary school defending where all gather around the ball trying to clear.

i feel the jan window will be impt if big sam can bring a good defender. maybe ask tips from mark hughes how he found nelsen and samba so cheap yet good. even the warnock is playing every game with his life.
well...

Kilrach
02-12-2007, 07:39 PM
It was actually a good performance by 1/2 the team yesterday, namely Smith, Martins, Viduka, Milner etc. Butt, Geremi and Rozenhal were abysmal. I don't understand why Geremi is our set piece taker when others like Milner or Barton are much better choices.

That being said, I didn't feel as gutted because we actually had a very good performance and attitude. We need to keep this up.

To be fair, the scoreline flattered Blackburn.

KWSW
02-12-2007, 11:25 PM
i must say that today I saw 2 guys wearing the newcastle jersey at sitex... my respects to them even after losing last night :)

dreamer75
03-12-2007, 12:43 AM
As i had predicted a defeat...

daveaha
03-12-2007, 09:37 PM
i must say that today I saw 2 guys wearing the newcastle jersey at sitex... my respects to them even after losing last night :)

I wore the 3rd jersey on Sitex...

KWSW
04-12-2007, 02:24 AM
I wore the 3rd jersey on Sitex...

nope wasn't u i think... iirc it was the first one... :o

GetFuzzy
04-12-2007, 11:58 PM
We are up with Arsenal next. :)

TrueBeliever_jh
05-12-2007, 05:45 AM
so many news saying our players are unhappy with our manager...

then Given and Harper came out to post a press release that there is no such things..

why the hell everyone wan our manager to be sacked? its not even half way down the season (well.. almost)
jus take it easy man... we are not England.. we dun have special players in our club anymore.. so give our manager some time

Hua_Hui
05-12-2007, 09:54 AM
newcastle having sacked manager after manager.. does not seem to improve at all.
i feel it's not the manager's problem lor. just like derby, it boils down to player quality(not manager).. but the magpies do have some quality in them so it remains a mystery to why they screwed up so much.

SecretZone
05-12-2007, 10:23 AM
tonite vs arsenal.. gogogo lads, give us a surprise :s22:

dreamer75
05-12-2007, 11:57 AM
tonite vs arsenal.. gogogo lads, give us a surprise :s22:

bro...i hope we can forced a draw..

SecretZone
05-12-2007, 05:38 PM
yeh, hope so, hmm dunno i should stay up to watch ornot ... 4.45 tokyo time then kick off >_<

KWSW
06-12-2007, 02:52 AM
go toons... sorry i can stay up any longer... been benching the new card the whole night... super tired... and may you break arsenal's winning streak :)

Tyer
06-12-2007, 04:38 AM
0-1 at Half Time. Not the best of results, but overall, the performance was pretty good. All working hard and giving the Gunners something to worry about.

hoon_ki
06-12-2007, 04:42 AM
0-1 at Half Time. Not the best of results, but overall, the performance was pretty good. All working hard and giving the Gunners something to worry about.

yeah i'm liking the performance so far even though we're a goal down.. let's hope the lads continue playing like this in 2nd half...

Tyer
06-12-2007, 04:47 AM
Ya. We have to work on the performance first then the result will come. Next 4-5 games are winnable too.

TrueBeliever_jh
06-12-2007, 05:33 AM
1-1 le... hope no last min hiccups

SecretZone
06-12-2007, 05:41 AM
very exciting match! 1 of our best performance this season, hope we continue to play like this every week!

hoon_ki
06-12-2007, 05:43 AM
final score 1-1... fine performance frm the lads esp the first 15mins of the 2nd half.. if only every wk we put up a display like today...

ranjiaolangg
06-12-2007, 05:45 AM
4 consecutive corners from us

arsenal can't wait to get the game over and done with :D

TrueBeliever_jh
06-12-2007, 05:46 AM
wooohoo! even though its a not a win.. i am glad gotten the point. it might be a start of a good run..

wonder whos our next match up

SecretZone
06-12-2007, 05:49 AM
next match home to brimingham, should be a game to win!

HTL :D

SecretZone
06-12-2007, 05:52 AM
fixture for this month

Sat. 8 15:00 UK Newcastle v Birmingham St James' Park English Premier League
Sat. 15 17:15 UK Fulham v Newcastle Craven Cottage English Premier League
Sun. 23 14:00 UK Newcastle v Derby St James' Park English Premier League
Wed. 26 15:00 UK Wigan v Newcastle The JJB Stadium English Premier League
Sat. 29 15:00 UK Chelsea v Newcastle Stamford Bridge English Premier League

next 4 match are all team below us.. must win!!

TrueBeliever_jh
06-12-2007, 06:01 AM
fixture for this month

Sat. 8 15:00 UK Newcastle v Birmingham St James' Park English Premier League
Sat. 15 17:15 UK Fulham v Newcastle Craven Cottage English Premier League
Sun. 23 14:00 UK Newcastle v Derby St James' Park English Premier League
Wed. 26 15:00 UK Wigan v Newcastle The JJB Stadium English Premier League
Sat. 29 15:00 UK Chelsea v Newcastle Stamford Bridge English Premier League

next 4 match are all team below us.. must win!!
yes.. time to pick up those lost pts from our last few games

dreamer75
06-12-2007, 10:10 AM
yeh, hope so, hmm dunno i should stay up to watch ornot ... 4.45 tokyo time then kick off >_<

swee lah...1-1....

s taylor...i love u :love:

KWSW
06-12-2007, 10:45 AM
wah liaos should have stayed up... :(

Tyer
06-12-2007, 10:55 AM
I watched the whole game. Lots of Passion for sure. If got repeat, must watch.

Natsairda
06-12-2007, 11:09 AM
great match,wat can i say,1 point is the thing that we need to turn our fortune around in our next few games.

andy81
06-12-2007, 11:23 AM
Finally saw some spirit in Newcastle for the last 2 games.
This is what we see from Newcastle. Lots of passion and spirit. Fighting for everything.
BRING ON BRIMINGHAM!

hoon_ki
06-12-2007, 11:28 AM

it was definitely worth stayin up to watch :D we actually kept arsenal defending most of the time in the 2nd half! i was expectin to be overrun by them sia..

the next 4 games are winnable.. 10 pts out of 12 would definitely bring some smiles back to tyneside =:p

dreamer75
06-12-2007, 11:34 AM
Sam Allardyce need not fear for his job if Newcastle play like they did against Arsenal more often
Lawrence Donegan
December 6, 2007 12:39 AM

Fate and the fixture list could have been crueller to Sam Allardyce, but only if Newcastle's manager had walked into this cauldron last night to find himself confronted by pallbearers. Instead he was greeted by Arsène Wenger's Arsenal: elegant, athletic and, on recent form, as depressingly definitive for the condemned man as any funeral party.

Yet if the best team in the land had come to the north-east to perform the last rites on Big Sam's era, they returned to London chastened by a Newcastle performance that was everything the club's embattled manager, fidgety chairman and demanding fans could have wished for, even if the 1-1 scoreline - a travesty on the balance of play over 90 minutes - was not.

"I would have said at the start that a draw might have felt like a win, but as it turned out I don't think we got what we deserved," Allardyce said afterwards, fighting hard to inject a little regret into a night that lifted everyone's spirits on Tyneside, and none more than his own.

He was kidding no one. At the very least he knows will be around a little longer at St James' park after this result. Indeed, if he can coax performances from his players to match last night's effort he will be around a lot longer. He can take comfort, too, from the throaty roars of a packed stadium that accompanied a pulsating match and followed his players up into the tunnel at the end. As he said: "I love it when 52,000 fans cheer us. That's why I do this job."

Indeed, for a city supposedly in ferment over his alleged failings as a manager the pre-match mood inside the ground was a giddy mixture of optimism and enthusiasm, with a capacity crowd apparently intent on proving that, for all its mood swings, its defining characteristic is loyalty. Even the club's eccentric owner, Mike Ashley, his black and white shirt partly covered by his cashmere coat, was on hand to show support for his manager, abandoning his usual position among friends to take a seat next to Allardyce high in the main stand.

The pair exchanged pleasantries as the sides went through the pre-match formalities - a gesture no doubt intended for the photographers below. Yet when the public relations work was done and the referee, Mike Dean, blew his whistle it did not take long for the entente cordial between manager and critics to meet its first challenge - three minutes in fact.

Arsenal's opening goal, like most of their goals these days, was one for the memory box, with Emmanuel Adebayor gathering Emmanuel Eboué's cross on his chest before volleying superbly past Shay Given. Not even in his worst moments can Allardyce have imagined that his so-called night of destiny would begin so abjectly and if he was caught by the TV cameras apparently mouthing an expletive then who could blame him?

To the credit of his players, or at least the majority of them, they responded with spirit and no little intent. For the first time in a long time Arsenal were harried out of their usual poetry into more fitful prose as Newcastle denied them time on the ball. The crowd, no doubt surprised by this unexpected turn of events, was immediately re-energised and urged the home side forward, forging chance after chance of their own. A one-goal deficit at half-time was the very least Newcastle deserved over the opening 45 minutes and the ovation the players received as they headed back inside to hear Allardyce's half-time words was genuine and deserved.

Yet Newcastle do not find themselves in such dire straits without cause, and all this good work was leavened, inevitably, with the clumsy and downright stupid. Defensively, Steven Taylor and David Rozehnal were exposed time and again by the pace of Adebayor and Tomas Rosicky. This does not buy them membership to an exclusive club, of course, but what are we to make of Alan Smith and Joey Barton, two supposed team leaders who, on the evidence of the first 45 minutes, appear to confuse aimless running with effort and pointless fouling with commitment?

Presumably, Allardyce did what he is paid to do in the dressing room and had a word with both players; they certainly returned after the interval with a more intelligent purpose. Barton, in particular, looked like the creative player he is supposed to be as tried to find a way through the Arsenal defence, behind which Manuel Almunia had an outstanding game.

Yet for all his brilliance the Spaniard could do nothing to deny Newcastle their just reward and when Taylor slotted home from 12 yards on the hour mark it was hardly unexpected, even though the identity of the scorer was. Allardyce, by now in his usual second-half position by the dug-out, looked as shocked, as relieved, as delighted as those in the stands - a euphoria which lasted to the final whistle. The trick now will be to make it last to the end of the season and into those beyond that.

KWSW
06-12-2007, 12:23 PM
it was definitely worth stayin up to watch :D we actually kept arsenal defending most of the time in the 2nd half! i was expectin to be overrun by them sia..

the next 4 games are winnable.. 10 pts out of 12 would definitely bring some smiles back to tyneside =:p

I choose to blame all those people at HWC who keep asking me to bench the GeCube HD3870 and push it to the max :s22:

haha jking... but its good to know they played well :)

hoon_ki
06-12-2007, 02:51 PM
haha for ur n the guys who missed it:

http://www.humsurfer.com/view/newcastle-vs-arsenal-11-goal-highlights-05122007

Hua_Hui
06-12-2007, 04:42 PM
here's my prediction:

united will certainly beat brums this weekend :)

daveaha
06-12-2007, 04:55 PM
The 12th man on the field :

http://www.nufc.premiumtv.co.uk/javaImages/98/69/0,,10278~2910616,00.gif

The fans, believe it or not, makes a difference.

Doesn't matter where you are, at St. James, Stawberry, Shearer's, or Lot Stock and Barrel, your support IS NEEDED.

So... have you play your part in this club ?

SecretZone
06-12-2007, 05:46 PM

haha i woke up to watch.. abit sian when arsenal score early goal.. but our fighting spirit was superb! never seen before this season. hope we can produce this kind of spirit everyweek! HTL

Wryer
06-12-2007, 06:13 PM
Credits to the Toons. Fantastic spirit and atmosphere.

I've always love the St James atmosphere. Its electric. OT and Anfield pales when St James is in full voice. No doubt about that, and its not an overstatement.

This is the kinda matches I hope I was there.

Kudos.

TrueBeliever_jh
07-12-2007, 07:59 PM
haha for ur n the guys who missed it:

http://www.humsurfer.com/view/newcastle-vs-arsenal-11-goal-highlights-05122007
thanx for the videos

Steven Taylor ran past the camera:s13:

GetFuzzy
08-12-2007, 10:54 PM
Our win is coming!

Kilrach
08-12-2007, 10:55 PM
Streaming on which channel? :s22:

o0SpaceY0o
08-12-2007, 11:12 PM
11' Newcastle U. 0 - 1 Birmingham C.

Kilrach
08-12-2007, 11:14 PM
Deja Vu :s22:

TrueBeliever_jh
08-12-2007, 11:15 PM
here we go again:s22:

maybe the last match.. BS is the bogey manager for Arsenal..

SecretZone
08-12-2007, 11:16 PM
typical us >_>

how hope we will have the same fighting spirit again

TrueBeliever_jh
08-12-2007, 11:42 PM
come back liaoz..

1-1 through Martins' penalty..

come on!!!!

SecretZone
08-12-2007, 11:42 PM
yeh !! 1-1

great fighting spirit so far.. fighting for every ball, bombarding opponent goal

TrueBeliever_jh
08-12-2007, 11:44 PM
walua.. 31st min Viduka for Butt..

oh noes.. Butt injured is it???

Smiths move down for midfield position i think.. or else our midfield is really thin unless Zogbia move back to midfield

Kilrach
08-12-2007, 11:50 PM
Missed lots of good chances :(

SecretZone
08-12-2007, 11:51 PM
should be smith go midfield.. we damn suay.. so many shots nearly go in

TrueBeliever_jh
09-12-2007, 12:45 AM
sianz... still 1-1
:(

o0SpaceY0o
09-12-2007, 12:51 AM
2-1 liao...

o0SpaceY0o
09-12-2007, 12:52 AM
1st goal for beye...2-1 to new...

TrueBeliever_jh
09-12-2007, 12:53 AM
Beye!!!! maiden goal for us!!!!

wooohoo!!

o0SpaceY0o
09-12-2007, 12:55 AM
emre cross from corner...beye headed in....phew

SecretZone
09-12-2007, 12:55 AM
after all the chance we have.. a deserving goal :D

GetFuzzy
09-12-2007, 12:57 AM
2-1 FT! Hooray!

o0SpaceY0o
09-12-2007, 12:57 AM
tonight all the home teams won...

FT Aston Villa 1 - 3 Portsmouth
FT Chelsea 2 - 0 Sunderland
FT Everton 3 - 0 Fulham
FT Manchester U. 4 - 1 Derby County
FT Newcastle U. 2 - 1 Birmingham C.

aqf
09-12-2007, 01:01 AM
Well done Beye. Won the corner all by himself, rally the crowd then score the winner.

ranjiaolangg
09-12-2007, 01:02 AM
1st half performance was great, although rozehnal did a cacapa, the goal conceded was crap :mad:

for all the chances we had in the first half, we could not score from open play

2nd half was utter crap, pumping aimless long balls again to our hapless strikers

i can assure u that had beye not scored in the dying minutes, big sam is screwed big time

all i can say is, this team cannot defend. pls forget abt keeping any clean sheets in the future.

o0SpaceY0o
09-12-2007, 01:03 AM
again uncle sam tactics was......o.0. nth much to say

ranjiaolangg
09-12-2007, 01:11 AM
again uncle sam tactics was......o.0. nth much to say

he heng only this time playing against a weak team like birmingham

this kind of negative tactics won't buy him much time one

TrueBeliever_jh
09-12-2007, 01:15 AM
aiya... defending is not newcastle stuffs.. from King Kev time.. i jus wan the goals from our side.. tats more important..

revenant
09-12-2007, 09:38 AM
Goals here.

http://collinyeo.blogspot.com/2007/12/newcastle-united-2-1-birmingham-city.html

TrueBeliever_jh
09-12-2007, 11:09 AM
Goals here.

http://collinyeo.blogspot.com/2007/12/newcastle-united-2-1-birmingham-city.html
wah thanx man..

really got a lot of wasted chance.. the gk did good..

KWSW
09-12-2007, 02:58 PM
either way its good for team's confidence to win last night... :o

BoyWithBigToy
09-12-2007, 03:03 PM
finally a win to ease sam's pressure

shawntyq
09-12-2007, 03:48 PM
hi buttie may i know where to buy newcastle fc jacket?

black colour with white strips on the sleeve?

Sorry for Offtopic :o

rahul49
09-12-2007, 04:28 PM
I think Sam will turn Newcastle into another Bolton. A functional team but not attractive. He is concentrating on player fitness and work ethic, instead of any individual brilliance. Given enough time he will be successfull enough. Of course he wont win the league or vie for Champions League spot...but will take them to UEFA cup.

KWSW
09-12-2007, 04:41 PM
UEFA cup is not bad for starters...

rahul49
09-12-2007, 05:04 PM
Rumour on BBC :s22:

A Singaporean business consortium is interested in buying Newcastle for £200m from owner Mike Ashley just six months after he took over the club (Express).

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/gossip_and_transfers/7134981.stm

Rappelz
09-12-2007, 05:24 PM
wah... temasek?

TrueBeliever_jh
09-12-2007, 05:31 PM

if that is so.. hope that guy is a magpie fan.. not some bugger that jus wanna do business..

why the hell since MA took over us.. so many other parties are interested? they didnt know that we are so deep in debts meh?:s22:

dreamer75
09-12-2007, 08:17 PM
great to see that we won :)

dreamer75
09-12-2007, 08:18 PM

dont think its true.

KWSW
10-12-2007, 02:56 AM
as a newcastle fan i am praying it wun come through...

feitz
10-12-2007, 01:58 PM
i believe too... Sam has the ability to bring us to UEFA level.