PDA

View Full Version : Singapore's Worst Job Agencies

Pages : [1] 2 3

pledge88
22-06-2006, 01:47 PM
Singapore's Worst Job Agencies

(1) XcelLink Pte Ltd - Consultants not serious and giggle during interview , let candidates make wasted trips to their office , stuck up attitude

(2) Advent Resource Consultancy Pte. Ltd - Consultants very rude when calling candidates on the phone , attitude problems , lecture candidates on the phone , hurried interview with candidates at their office , not sincere

(3) Recruit Express Pte Ltd - Consultants let candidates make wasted trips to their office , cater only to candidates with high qualifications

(4) Kelly Services Pte Ltd - Consultants let candidates make wasted trips to their office , stuck up attitude , Look down on candidates with low qualifications

(5) Drake International (S) Ltd - Consultants unsincere , call candidates down to their office for lectures instead of offering candidates a job

(6) Adecco - Consultants unsincere , cheats , Cater only to candidates with high qualifications

(7) GMP Recruitment Service - Consultants with stuck up attitude , Look down on candidates with low qualifications

(8) People Search Pte Ltd - Consultants unsincere , let candidates make wasted trips to their office

(9) P J Human Resources Pte Ltd - Small job agency which hires inexperience foreigners as consultants , Boss with stuck up attitude , very choosy in selecting candidates

(10) ST Recruitment Centre - Consultants unsincere , stuck up attitude , take it or leave it attitude

(11) Simply Better Employment Services - Consultants using aggressive methods to get candidates to take up jobs that don't suit them , kept calling up and pester candidates on the phone

(12) Tempserv Personnel Services - Called candidates up in a lazy manner , take it or leave it atittude

(13) ACHIEVE CAREER CONSULTANT PTE LTD - Act Sophisicated , Stuck up atittude , look down on candidates with low qualifications

This is what I experience with all these job agencies

Hope anyone can also put up their own list of worst Spore job agencies

addict951
22-06-2006, 01:55 PM
Recruit Express is No. 1 on my 'Worst' list, followed by Adecco.

lincoln_wang
22-06-2006, 02:04 PM
So which job agency would be good?

pledge88
22-06-2006, 02:11 PM
got to go experience yerself

vinyong
22-06-2006, 02:13 PM
Wow... Singapore people sucks and it's not world first class ... this is the fact

bryanster
22-06-2006, 03:06 PM
Recruit Express, the one in taka? mm their interview room very small also~

Skyline34_
22-06-2006, 03:10 PM
can add another to the list?? Savage Man Media - agency that delays ur wage with lame excuses and keeps mum about incentive schemes which u're supposed to receive

Seifer28
22-06-2006, 03:33 PM
ani1 has ani idea which agency offers the job of a mobile fone roadshow promoter????

coz im looking for such a job n i dunno which agency offers such a job....

vinyong
22-06-2006, 03:54 PM
Ya... me also

ryoliang81
22-06-2006, 03:55 PM
Also post some good job agency leh. Cannot just complain, if good must praise also.

pledge88
22-06-2006, 04:00 PM
Recruit Express offer the most handphone promoters job but lousy agency

ani1 has ani idea which agency offers the job of a mobile fone roadshow promoter????

coz im looking for such a job n i dunno which agency offers such a job....

BKsianZZ
22-06-2006, 05:33 PM
job agency sucks one la... better if buy newspaper find job

reimina
22-06-2006, 06:17 PM
Just tell the consultant you are NOT going down for interview FOR FUN! Don't WASTE MY TIME!!! :s27:

yosans
22-06-2006, 06:33 PM
dun go thru agencies best...........

xkliber
22-06-2006, 08:11 PM
Wah.Kelly and Recruit is in it?
I always find them for job help since after O level

But are ther any good 1s?

Kakashi82
22-06-2006, 08:37 PM
had bad experience wif Recruit Express too, the branch at Taka...
supposed to have an interview at 3 pm, but made me wait for 30 to 40 mins... at first I thought the consultant was busy or wat but end up she went for high tea wif her colleagues... :s27:

Xiaosa
22-06-2006, 08:51 PM
RE cannot make it want..... Consultants can bomb my phone whole day. Obviously Im doing something eg with customers or infront of manager or in a meeting. I got like 10 missed calls from recruit express on a day. Canno get me, send sms or email lah. Really nothing to say lor

Manpower, many years back when I still freshie . Becos I got walking problem, the consultant outright ask whats wrong with your leg. Now got 5 years of exp with good academic / technical certs, they offer me a 1 yr contract for an it job with bank. I ask them go eat ****..

I never like re becos their IT consultants simply have no knowledge of IT. Ask many illogical qns. Eg . My previous job was from 00-01. She got the cheek to ask me if I got administer windows 2003 server during that job. WTF . BAck to the future ah.

RE also got one consultant who called me abt a job. in my cv also got quote expected salary. She then try to press the price down by 15 percent . So basically only 5-10 percent increment. After haggling for a few mins, I told her straight forward, I not interested anymore. She ji tao nothing to say.

One bad trait with most agencies is that consultants dont read ur resume. No proper job matching. Call you up and ask a thousand and one qns , when all information is on the CV. Post fake adverts to gather resumes...

tellim
22-06-2006, 09:33 PM
btw, how does the threadstarter noe that agencies look down on low qualification...unless u r the one experiencing the insult?

well, kelly once asked me to go for an interview for an 'o' level position!! im a grad btw. ok i went for the interview and i asked for career prospect (which i noe the post doesnt offer that since it an 'o' level post)...so in the end, coy feedback i have high expectation and my agent said i said something wrong??!! wth? what's wrong w asking for prospect? im looking for career, not job.

tellim
22-06-2006, 09:34 PM
for what i noe, agencies mostly offer entry level jobs and very popular for coys seeking temps/part time staff.

if u wan a good career, u need to apply thru Recruits paper and w experience...no experience no choice...u have to start from entry level...

yosans
22-06-2006, 09:43 PM
ur fault nt find ur own kind job...

siandiao
22-06-2006, 10:07 PM
which job agencies r good den? i mean, recommend some good ones leh

pledge88
22-06-2006, 10:25 PM
I been down to kelly , adecco , gmp few times and the consultants tend to choose those candidates which are U grads or are holding high post before for interview first

btw, how does the threadstarter noe that agencies look down on low qualification...unless u r the one experiencing the insult?

well, kelly once asked me to go for an interview for an 'o' level position!! im a grad btw. ok i went for the interview and i asked for career prospect (which i noe the post doesnt offer that since it an 'o' level post)...so in the end, coy feedback i have high expectation and my agent said i said something wrong??!! wth? what's wrong w asking for prospect? im looking for career, not job.

Xiaosa
22-06-2006, 10:28 PM
As them go jiak sai lah. I wouldnt have went down if i knw the position is lousy

PsyNidE
22-06-2006, 11:35 PM
I tot Xcellink is an outsourcing company & not recruitment firm?

pledge88
23-06-2006, 09:12 AM
yes , the consultants there are like **** ..........

I tot Xcellink is an outsourcing company & not recruitment firm?

isaac_koh
23-06-2006, 11:28 AM
I am not sure whether you all will like this agency called "Speed." They seems good to me and my friends. They provide fast service and you do not need to go down to their office. I have got my past 3 jobs from them. If you interested, pm me lor.. then i give you more info...

SimpleDude
23-06-2006, 01:07 PM
Something which I have to comment about Recruit Express. They seem to give jobs(temp) to candidates who apply on the day when they receive the jobs. Meaning if you applied the day before or eons ago they tend to overlook u. Then if not enuf ppl to meet quoto they ask the candidates selected to intro their frens to do. This is the part I dun like about them. They said they will inform you if theres suitable job but no one calls in the end. Once my fren called to ask me if I want to work for promoter job cos that day he went to RE then got job vancancy knn the week before I went for interview they nv call me ... like that I go early interview for fug...

ct2005
23-06-2006, 02:33 PM
Thatz International,
another crappy agency. Went for interview which technically, i think, i have almost 80% of the job criteria. But after few weeks no calls or any updates from them. Not even a hoot....

GMP,
provides lots of admin jobs. Sometimes IT jobs, they put on adverts as 'admin jobs' just to lower the hourly rate!

Kelly IT,
ok...a bit so-so...it actually depends on which consultants that you encounter. If the consultants are good and concern type, most probably you'll get the job...coz they'll try to update you of other openings if you happen to not get the position that you applied.

Anyway, later, going for another job agency at Adecco and will see what happens....ciao!

p.s - Been 1.3 years looking around for full-time jobs and currently still unemployed. Degree + 8 yrs of web/IT experiences.

tellim
23-06-2006, 07:36 PM
Thatz International,
another crappy agency. Went for interview which technically, i think, i have almost 80% of the job criteria. But after few weeks no calls or any updates from them. Not even a hoot....

GMP,
provides lots of admin jobs. Sometimes IT jobs, they put on adverts as 'admin jobs' just to lower the hourly rate!

Kelly IT,
ok...a bit so-so...it actually depends on which consultants that you encounter. If the consultants are good and concern type, most probably you'll get the job...coz they'll try to update you of other openings if you happen to not get the position that you applied.

Anyway, later, going for another job agency at Adecco and will see what happens....ciao!

p.s - Been 1.3 years looking around for full-time jobs and currently still unemployed. Degree + 8 yrs of web/IT experiences.

woah .. im IT grad doing sales customer service job...1800 basic but work 6 days and 7 days AL....tot of quiting this job but now...im having a second thought.

G_Zola
24-06-2006, 09:18 AM
Can I know how the agencies earn money? Commmission from our salaries or what? Like to hear some advice. Thanks

joblizz
24-06-2006, 12:15 PM
Can I know how the agencies earn money? Commmission from our salaries or what? Like to hear some advice. Thanks
Pardon me if I am wrong.
From what I know most job agencies will charge as much as 80% of your first month pay as a "introducing fees" (full time). That is why they try to send the most ideal candidates for interview. From the same job, there may be more than one agencies send ppl for interview...so Sending those with higher qualification stand better chance for them to get the job.
btw I am currently start this jobsite www.joblizz.com for jobseekers to search and find job for free, also get invite by our advertiser directly thru mobilephone or email.

vbhelper
24-06-2006, 01:19 PM
Thatz International,

GMP,

Kelly IT,

omg, u scaring me. I'm studying IT degree now.
u have a degree + 8yrs experience still can't find a job after 1.3ys?

PsyNidE
24-06-2006, 02:36 PM
da commision is normally between da agency & da company .. they wont take ur salary monthly.Frm wat i noe .. since da agency find da job 4u & if u resign within 6mths wrking with da company dat u wrk 4 ... da agency will ask u 2 compensate them 1 mth salary.

chengsun
24-06-2006, 03:19 PM
what i understand is, basiacally got 2 kinds of employment, fultime perm directly by the company, in this case the company and the agency reach agreement on how much the service fee will be, normally 1 month of the employee pay. the fee will not come out from the employee, and most employer who engages will not be so cheapo, but they do have aclause that if the successful candidate never work for a minimum period, be it 3 months or 6 months, then the candidate has to compensate, that's why most of them will clearly tell you this before you sign anthing, or even they arrange u to go for interview. if u cannot commit to the minimum period, why shld they waste the time on you?

2nd kind is those contract basis, can be full or part time. this kind of employment, the company dun pay u directly, but they agree with the agency an hourly rate, say $10/hr, then the agency go find candidate, but take a cut from the rate, and offers the candidate maybe $7. so this kind of employment, the employee normally will need to sign the log book to clock the hr everyday they work. this is a way for company to reduce their payroll, and claim this amount into expences, a way to reduce their company tax.

this is only what i know, think there are other kinds also.

G_Zola
24-06-2006, 05:55 PM
Thanks all for contributing cos i have a mentality that, for instance a 1500 salary a month is actually worth about 2000 a month and the discrepancy has been taken as commission.

From what chengsun has said, I have a better understanding of the kinds of employment available.Thanks again

chengsun
24-06-2006, 06:33 PM
Thanks all for contributing cos i have a mentality that, for instance a 1500 salary a month is actually worth about 2000 a month and the discrepancy has been taken as commission.

From what chengsun has said, I have a better understanding of the kinds of employment available.Thanks again
if the company pay u direct, and give u payslip direct, then it is the case that is what the company is paying u

X3no
24-06-2006, 08:26 PM
GMP good if you want to work in IT MNCs such as HP.

Xiaosa
25-06-2006, 12:05 PM
that will be for gmp outsourcing , the outsource arm for GMP . Client is HP I guess. I applied for a job from them. Their advert clearly said Permanent and central location. When she called, turned out to be 1 yr contract and have to rotate around a number of clients. So guess what, I told her to go fly kite. So never trust agencies' advertisements.

Same goes for RE. Advert say central, suddenly pop out say North. Immediately, I know which coy liao. Rejected on the spot

tomicaguy
25-06-2006, 12:08 PM
Recruit Express no go for me.

Too aggressive, called and demanded me to come down for an interview within 2 hours. (Jurong East Branch)

WTF.

Ah_Lupz
25-06-2006, 02:00 PM
RE cannot make it want..... Consultants can bomb my phone whole day. Obviously Im doing something eg with customers or infront of manager or in a meeting. I got like 10 missed calls from recruit express on a day. Canno get me, send sms or email lah. Really nothing to say lor

Manpower, many years back when I still freshie . Becos I got walking problem, the consultant outright ask whats wrong with your leg. Now got 5 years of exp with good academic / technical certs, they offer me a 1 yr contract for an it job with bank. I ask them go eat ****..

I never like re becos their IT consultants simply have no knowledge of IT. Ask many illogical qns. Eg . My previous job was from 00-01. She got the cheek to ask me if I got administer windows 2003 server during that job. WTF . BAck to the future ah.

RE also got one consultant who called me abt a job. in my cv also got quote expected salary. She then try to press the price down by 15 percent . So basically only 5-10 percent increment. After haggling for a few mins, I told her straight forward, I not interested anymore. She ji tao nothing to say.

One bad trait with most agencies is that consultants dont read ur resume. No proper job matching. Call you up and ask a thousand and one qns , when all information is on the CV. Post fake adverts to gather resumes...

becoz some of the consultants are also new graduates and part-timers...

caltex88
26-06-2006, 08:52 AM
dis 1 is good.....www.kingsforce.com

colin2000
29-06-2006, 09:07 PM
Hi all,

I have been waiting for someone to start a thread on this topic cuz I have my own bad experience.. as recent as last week. To add to the list above - Thatz International.

Not going to mention the idiot's name here but this guy, so called director of this small-fry job agency, is very unprofessional and rude.. not only does he not know the client's job description well, he also wastes the candidates time by by misleading candidates into a false hope that they fit the job requirement. He does not follow up with the candidate and it is the candidate who got to keep calling him for status update. Pure fxxk up. When I told him off that he does not know how to do things properly, he give the excuse that not everything is 100% accurate and even threathen me saying that he knows alot of people in the industry and can make things difficult for me. Very stuck up fellow.

And the other ones like People Search and Kelly Services I totally agree - complete waste of time. The so-called Recruitement Consultants there are bloody stuck up, don't have industry knowledge, bimbotic and darn rude... when I went for an interview there, the lady who interviewed me was so condescending in her tone and look down on my current drawn salary and kept talking about her own job achievements...

Sorry to say that the level of quality of these so-called job agencies in SG is lousy. These idiots all think it is still an emplyer's market now... the tide will soon turn.

colin2000
29-06-2006, 09:17 PM
Oh man.. i totally agree with you... Thatz International is a farked up... unprofessional and basically treat the jobseeker like some commodity.. and they have this stupid rule that you have to stay in the company that hire u for at least 6 months or else your pay is forfeited...

Vitaall
30-06-2006, 09:01 AM
Recruit Express no go for me.

Too aggressive, called and demanded me to come down for an interview within 2 hours. (Jurong East Branch)

WTF.
the same happened to me from RE, but i happen to be on leave that day so ok for me. but just think about it this way, if you have a potential customer asking you to meet them within 2 hours, would you make time for it................it's just "how bad do you want it?"

Vitaall
30-06-2006, 09:09 AM
Oh man.. i totally agree with you... Thatz International is a farked up... unprofessional and basically treat the jobseeker like some commodity.. and they have this stupid rule that you have to stay in the company that hire u for at least 6 months or else your pay is forfeited...
take it easy, I don't think it's a stupid rule . I am sure the hiring company pay them a fee to recruit, and I am also quite sure that there is a condiiton that the right candidate is selected, and probably one of the few ways to judge that is for the new hire to stay in the company for a while, or else all recruiters will just find any Tom, dick or Harry to take up the job just to earn the fee.

It's not nice to be tied down, but I feel it's a fair condition.

colin2000
30-06-2006, 11:26 AM
Yes, agreed with you. I also understand that the employer would not want to just hire anyone willy-nilly and then this person can't do the job and quit before the probation period ends.. ah well, i guess this is the market now.. it's like this and i guess we have to keep on searching til we find the right fit. But one thing I do know, it is best to do job search by oneself instead of relying on unscrupulous recruiters in this current job climate.

Xiaosa
30-06-2006, 07:47 PM
Please take note that employment is a two way thing. The company is evaluating u, and u are also evaluating the company. So the 6 mth rules gives an unfair adv for agencies and companies. So does that mean if the company fires u b4e 6 mth , u get compensated as well. I dun think so.. So guys dun agree to such despicable rules

Anarchy
30-06-2006, 10:11 PM
Yeah strongly agree with Xiaosa. Look at all IT contract's terms nowaday, they have the rights to terminate you by giving 1 month notice.

Its so hard to find a perm IT job. Sigh... outsource and outsource.

violator
01-07-2006, 09:02 AM

Hi Colin

I remember that i went to the company yrs ago at Neil Road, guess what, he spent 10 mins reading all certs and transcripts. Later on he will tell your strength and weakness. Do you encountered this? He is the 1st person i know, who have the time to go thru your certs rather talking to you on the job scope. He will tell you asking more than 10% increment from your last drawn pay is too much

MyChemicalRomance
01-07-2006, 04:23 PM
so what are the good agencies ?

Mayhem69
01-07-2006, 06:05 PM
agency waste time la... knn

got 1 time duno what agency located at pennisular plaza near City Hall mrt. i apply TEMP job..ccb.. got clause say must pay compensation to agency if i leave within 1 month.. fark u la...TEMP job also dare demand such cheesepie

Mayhem69
01-07-2006, 06:10 PM
i tell u guys... since this govt is ultra pro employers and anti-worker's rights.. these ccb companies and job agencies can list down all sort of CCB clause in their contract.. thanks to blessing from govt

so hope u all scan their contract b4 u sign :)

Xiaosa
02-07-2006, 03:06 AM
Hi Colin

I remember that i went to the company yrs ago at Neil Road, guess what, he spent 10 mins reading all certs and transcripts. Later on he will tell your strength and weakness. Do you encountered this? He is the 1st person i know, who have the time to go thru your certs rather talking to you on the job scope. He will tell you asking more than 10% increment from your last drawn pay is too much

Hey I think you have been taken for a ride liao lah. Obviously he is trying to press down on ur expected salary. How can anyone tell u ur strengths/ weaknesses by jus tlooking at ur certs and transcripts. Kena conned liao lah.

A normal company will have to go thru 2-3 rds of interviews to decide whether the person is
suitable a not. This person spent 10 mins then know liao. Ask him go jiak sai lah

colin2000
02-07-2006, 08:04 PM
Yeah.. agreed with Mayhem and Xiaosa... these recruitment agencies have a free run and therefore, they can just whack anything they see fit.. it's scary. Dunno what is real and what is fake..

Yeah Xiaosa, i also went to this idiot's office in Neil Road many years ago.. small little run down shack.. oh well, he works in this kinda office still dare to threathen me.. what a joke. anyways, as jobseekers, we should not allow ourselves to be belittled by these b@st@rds..

Guess im not the only one being given the run-around by these nasty agencies.

ThorH83
03-07-2006, 01:24 AM
Personally I don't like agency too much. They like to ask you to come down for an interview, than they schedule you when they are about to end thier day or during thier lunch time, than I have to wait! I managed to clinch a job with them than I have to endure late payments!

Ask them about why the pay check is delay, they just give me BS answer! Now I don't care much about job agency though! One thing I like to do is, when they call you up for an interview or hey say they have an opening ask them, which company has opening and just email or send your resume direct to the company bypassing the agency mention!

This is not ethical, but hey if the agency can give full of craps I decide to at least gain something from the crap they show to me! :)

ThuGx__
03-07-2006, 02:08 AM
agreed.recruit express always gif false hope.post got 10 postions available immed.went there interview say within one week will haf gd news.one month later still say same thing :(
best if find job is lobang

theoldman
04-07-2006, 02:56 AM
but i think recruitment agency is gd when u need those temp jobs cos i think they got many kang tao, if wanna look for a gd perm job can try depositing yr resume to the company HR loh. tat time i tried to deposit mine to an mnc, few days later they really called sial

direbmem
04-07-2006, 06:50 AM
Wah.Kelly and Recruit is in it?
I always find them for job help since after O level

But are ther any good 1s?
seems like u got a good exp. with them...

virgoriangur
04-07-2006, 09:18 AM
hmm....after looking at what you guys write ....lol recruit express look so horrible gosh...one of their staff just called me to go for an interview tomorrow morning which she says that it will last for 15 minutes....wonder shall i go for it anots ~Lols~ :s11:

violator
04-07-2006, 05:14 PM
Hi All

Just wasted my 1 day leave by attending a interview session with Singapore's Worst Job Agencies (The No #1 ). Make me waiting 40 mins, the place is so ulu at PSA building and have to wait thru a long and dark carpark. Make you do tests on lotus notes, customer handling etc. Lastly have to do a 3 tests on customers calling scenerios from home and office. Told me it is a 8-5pm job, but wast old to support till 11pm after attending the interview. Totally wasted my time and effort as this company had no confidence its own candidates.

derrickgoh
04-07-2006, 08:41 PM
IMO going to a job agency is a waste of time. You'll have better luck seaching the papers yourself.

theoldman
04-07-2006, 10:23 PM
today i accompany my fren go recruit express, then i ask the consultant can let me fill in the form too anot.. wanted to try my luck. i said i wan part time or temp
wah she straight away offer me one job, to distribute newspaper at mrt station i think, work 7am - 9am. pay $5.50 haaaa wah seh 1 day earn $11 nia
but she say is near my house.. mayb i consider

vinyong
04-07-2006, 10:45 PM
Not bad lar.... if it's near your place, it's fine and no need to worry traveling fee

simontay78
06-07-2006, 12:33 AM
Who need job agencies....haa

Since 1st July 2006...emailcashpro had started for Singaporeans to earn $ by reading advertising emails. Join FREE!! (http://www.emailcashpro.com/?r=simontay78) At NO COST...
I had personally checked on the company and found out they are truly registered Singapore company in the Lion City.... See my Forum Post (http://egcsg.proboards102.com/index.cgi?board=planfuture&action=display&thread=1152066879)

The company is registered as Easttech Pte Ltd (http://www.emailcashpro.com/contact.php?source=&r=simontay78)

29 JUN 06 - MRT also have their banner!! :s7:

sn0wkiss_me
11-07-2006, 10:56 PM
Hi all..

well i do experienced so job agency giving me attitude probs too..

recruit express is top of the list doesn't surprise me as their ads are really are glued together and have no interest in really finding suitable jobs for their candidates...

as for achieve consultants, they do really acted very high class...and they can be so "high class" until they don't give a damn about anything towards their candidates and they even reply me with short and cocky msg...

well...thats my experiences and hope it will be useful to all of ya

vinyong
11-07-2006, 11:08 PM
Seriously... there are some jobs that i wish to apply... but they always say O level, A Level or Diploma... wonder could I apply?

Dimitric
12-07-2006, 09:35 PM
Seriously... there are some jobs that i wish to apply... but they always say O level, A Level or Diploma... wonder could I apply?
u shd jus apply. u never know what will happen if u applied. u will know NOTHING will happen if u dun apply. ;)

vinyong
12-07-2006, 09:38 PM
=) Yes i did however, but no reply

duotiga
12-07-2006, 11:19 PM
they are selecting you not just you selecting them.....rember is a 2 way

Rushifaa
12-07-2006, 11:45 PM
they are selecting you not just you selecting them.....rember is a 2 wayThat's why you need to work on your resume.
You must give them some reason on your resume for them to consider you and actually gives you an interview...

Try not to boast in your resume.
Make an honest aspect with your strong points let them have a benefit of a doubt and decide to interview you.

If you are hardcore enough go call them and talk to them.
Impress them on the phone to get your interview.

serious_sam
13-07-2006, 10:26 AM
Job agencies only look for ppl with high qualification~

They are bad!!!

insomic
14-07-2006, 04:55 AM
har? u all want job still wanna complain..... seriously, if u guys dun wanna do, everyone else will want. Any lousy job in this world, confirm got someone wanna do one. IMO if u wanna get a job u have to be humble not matter what kinda nonsense u get, if not u will forever be complaining and still not get a job.

AJ_Style
15-07-2006, 12:58 AM
alot of consultant are like that one lah.. got one i ask him give me feedback if my interview dun go through with the company he agree say no problem.... until now still no news.

Got one say he will help me send resume to 2 diff companies... but after i never get thru 1st one he nvr send to ther other.. in the end i go direct to the other n get the job.

they always wanted to act people oriented but once they deem you no use to them they discard u and move on liaoz despite what they say during interviews just to get u to go for interviews.

AJ_Style
15-07-2006, 12:59 AM
what will help u ask .. will help u fight for this n that is all sh*t....

Rushifaa
15-07-2006, 01:56 PM
No one can really help you but yourself.
If you are young try to get a degree.
If you are old late 30s or older, must likely you have to accept any underpaid job possible unless you are very qualified.

vinyong
15-07-2006, 06:06 PM
Tell u all lar... normally going to interview... they finish interview u and ask u go outside to wait... then who knows they tear the paper they had wrote and say "If u been selected, we will call u" lol... they already tear the paper they wrote about u or form that u had wrote then how they submit to the HR to see if can pass or not... lol... sad lar... they all work this way

vinyong
15-07-2006, 06:07 PM
They see low standard cert... Please F. off... but in the way of Tearing paper not in form of u becoz they want to keep their bowl... so they ask u to go outside to wait... then in their room... TEAR ... and ask u to go off in a better way... So, this is how they work.

Rushifaa
15-07-2006, 09:47 PM
They see low standard cert... Please F. off... but in the way of Tearing paper not in form of u becoz they want to keep their bowl... so they ask u to go outside to wait... then in their room... TEAR ... and ask u to go off in a better way... So, this is how they work.Try lower paying jobs like retail sales or something that pay you by hour basis.
Honestly you can't get anywhere far with a NITEC.
Work and save money.
And then use the money for Business or further studies.

Hare and Turtle race.
Hare wins early because he is more qualifed and highly educated.
He works and climb the coporate ladder untill where he can't climb anymore and thus goes to sleep.

The Turtle may be less qualified and lowly educated but he never give up continue to climb slolwly.
The turtle save money and starts his own business and do his investment wisely. Over the years the turtle finally surpass the Hare with his own business getting stable being profitable and his investment giving him extra money.

And thus in the end the Turtle wins.

Bill Gates/Microsoft
Micheal Dell/Dell
Steve Jobs/Apple

Above are all dropouts.

Even our Creative Mr Sim Diploma only.

Being better educated and more qualify only helps you in the short run.
In the long run it's up to yourself.

As for my advice to you Vinyong.
Since you have an interest in Cooking.
Go work under a restarant or something and learn the ropes.
If you put in enough effort a pay of over 5k isn't uncommon.
Give yourself a few years.
When you are good enough maybe become a Hawker to earn more money.
And you when you have enough you can try opening a restaurant.

Honestly, learning to cook and being a good cook is a more stable job.
Confirm people will hire a good cook.

Try considering it.

vinyong
15-07-2006, 10:28 PM
hey wait a min....
when i go for interview, they didnt even ask me how much i want. lol
it's all just talking and talking...

richiegal
16-07-2006, 12:16 PM
Try lower paying jobs like retail sales or something that pay you by hour basis.
Honestly you can't get anywhere far with a NITEC.
Work and save money.
And then use the money for Business or further studies.

Hare and Turtle race.
Hare wins early because he is more qualifed and highly educated.
He works and climb the coporate ladder untill where he can't climb anymore and thus goes to sleep.

The Turtle may be less qualified and lowly educated but he never give up continue to climb slolwly.
The turtle save money and starts his own business and do his investment wisely. Over the years the turtle finally surpass the Hare with his own business getting stable being profitable and his investment giving him extra money.

And thus in the end the Turtle wins.

Bill Gates/Microsoft
Micheal Dell/Dell
Steve Jobs/Apple

Above are all dropouts.

Even our Creative Mr Sim Diploma only.

Being better educated and more qualify only helps you in the short run.
In the long run it's up to yourself.

As for my advice to you Vinyong.
Since you have an interest in Cooking.
Go work under a restarant or something and learn the ropes.
If you put in enough effort a pay of over 5k isn't uncommon.
Give yourself a few years.
When you are good enough maybe become a Hawker to earn more money.
And you when you have enough you can try opening a restaurant.

Honestly, learning to cook and being a good cook is a more stable job.
Confirm people will hire a good cook.

Try considering it.

go SHATEC and study... since u like this line...

and seriously... being a deg grad is really no big deal lor... and u tink those agency give a damn??? nopez lor... hate looking for jobs under agency... but sad to say tat its hard to apply direct to a big bank be it local or foreign... cos banks like hsbc n citibank have tied-up agents! sianz!

PsyNidE
16-07-2006, 01:39 PM
hey wait a min....
when i go for interview, they didnt even ask me how much i want. lol
it's all just talking and talking...
nowadays 1st round of interview they wont talk abt pay package coz there'll alwayz be a nxt round !!!

optimus_prime888
16-07-2006, 02:17 PM
in fact, for me, no mention of pay even for 2nd or 3rd interview. It is up to the interviewers to decide on the pay package and for one to decide whether to accept it or not. There can be some negotiation though, but who knows, it may jeopardise your chances of getting the job. Also, it may not be wise to breach this topic unless the interviewers start it first..

ct2005
17-07-2006, 11:52 AM
Yes, scary but it's the truth.

Quote: 'Anyway, later, going for another job agency at Adecco and will see what happens....ciao!'

Remember, I went to ADECCO and we talked almost 1.5hrs. Next wk, a guy from London(another recruiter) called.(Tele-interview)

Now, almost 2weeks already, still no reply. ADECCO mentioned it's paperwork issues.
Duh...now I waiting and waiting...

vinyong
17-07-2006, 12:18 PM
hai... job agency are always like that =(

Dimitric
17-07-2006, 11:25 PM
Yes, scary but it's the truth.

Quote: 'Anyway, later, going for another job agency at Adecco and will see what happens....ciao!'

Remember, I went to ADECCO and we talked almost 1.5hrs. Next wk, a guy from London(another recruiter) called.(Tele-interview)

Now, almost 2weeks already, still no reply. ADECCO mentioned it's paperwork issues.
Duh...now I waiting and waiting...
I think u shd start looking for others instead of waiting. I've fallen into all this waiting game tricks by those HR before n i realised my mistakes. Not to give u cold water of cos as they may get back to u, but it's safer to keep on the job search.
FYI the guy has not replied to me after i have faxed over my pay slip n verbally agreed to the terms. I guess its since march till now. make it worst, it's not from any agency but the MNC itself :) so don't assume MNCs or SMEs may not try the same thing!

vinyong
17-07-2006, 11:32 PM
Got something to ask those find job by agency...
Today, someone from job agency called me as I applied for a job yesterday.
He told me he had seen my resume and will email back to me once he submit to the company.
Does this mean I got any chance to get the job or normally they say this but nothing happen?

And those apply for what you had learned b4 in school... eg: eletronics...
if you happen long time never touch or learn anything related to it but happen to apply for the job related to this, would the company teach you what to do first then you go on doing? As for me, I learn electrical, score good in it... but happen that almost 2 yrs now that I didnt study electrical but more of Networking... Boardband...I still have the electrical books with me but would it help?

Dimitric
17-07-2006, 11:39 PM
Got something to ask those find job by agency...
Today, someone from job agency called me as I applied for a job yesterday.
He told me he had seen my resume and will email back to me once he submit to the company.
Does this mean I got any chance to get the job or normally they say this but nothing happen?

And those apply for what you had learned b4 in school... eg: eletronics...
if you happen long time never touch or learn anything related to it but happen to apply for the job related to this, would the company teach you what to do first then you go on doing? As for me, I learn electrical, score good in it... but happen that almost 2 yrs now that I didnt study electrical but more of Networking... Boardband...I still have the electrical books with me but would it help?
this really depends on the agency, on how well they promote u. In my case, out of 10 such cases, I only got 1 called back.

as for what you learnt, my 1st job was totally unrelated to what i'm doing now too. I believe u shd read up more for refreshment, and be more confident in promoting yourself if u r able to get the interview. Its best not to say the killer word "dunno". Results of cos do play a critical part when it comes to when u do not have relevant experience. Hope it helps ;)

vinyong
18-07-2006, 02:06 PM
Guys... may I ask... would you contact the job agency again after you had applied the job from them?
I applied job two days ago and yesterday they called me saying that they will email me the detail soon. So I am wondering if I got to call them to ask if my rate of success in that job is it high or when having interview?

chengsun
18-07-2006, 02:22 PM
why do u wanna ask this? it is just showing ur lack of confidence in urself.
arent u suppoed to do ur best in every opportunity given, every attempt? r u going to do less if u were told that the chance is not high? or not going for the interview at all?

y let all this unnecessary info distract u?

vinyong
18-07-2006, 02:31 PM
Well... I had sent so many resumes to job agency or company... only a few that reply and some reply saying they will contact me back but dont know when...love those jobs that i applied for but dont know how the chance like. That's why i tot to send email to the job agency to double check.

Entropy
18-07-2006, 02:59 PM
Instead of complaining all day... get a simple job like flyer distribution while you are waiting for proper employment.

mrjack
31-07-2006, 07:46 PM
hi guys, let me add in one more agency to the list.

this time it is ITCAN.

basically this agency is run by indian nationals who have converted to sgporens few years ago.

although they smile a lot to their job applicants, they will not let you get off their clutches so easily once contract is signed.

according to the employment terms/conditions and practices act, an employee has the right to choose to tender even though his contract is still running by giving notice period to his employer. by doing so, the employee has not in any way and bit, violated the contract.

when i tender my resignation this morning, they gave all sort of excuses saying i cannot resign within my 1 year of contract. they went on saying all agencies in sg have this practice. I have been to countless of agencies and ITCAN is the first to give such a misleading information to me.

They basically disallow me to leave when I have the rights to! why? because they make you work and take most of your pay!

I'm going to contact the ministry of manpower tmr and see what they have to say about this. I know someone said mom is pro-employer and anit-employee but i'm going to take my chances and if things don't turn out the way it should be, then I can, with a clear conscience say FUG you SINKAPORE!

And to those who wish to know how much comission is taken from your salary, it is 1/2 your pay..at least this is true for some agencies.

My ex-colleague is paid 1500 per month and guess who much the client company is paying his agent? Yes, 3000.

chengsun
31-07-2006, 08:12 PM
hi guys, let me add in one more agency to the list.

this time it is ITCAN.

basically this agency is run by indian nationals who have converted to sgporens few years ago.

although they smile a lot to their job applicants, they will not let you get off their clutches so easily once contract is signed.

according to the employment terms/conditions and practices act, an employee has the right to choose to tender even though his contract is still running by giving notice period to his employer. by doing so, the employee has not in any way and bit, violated the contract.

when i tender my resignation this morning, they gave all sort of excuses saying i cannot resign within my 1 year of contract. they went on saying all agencies in sg have this practice. I have been to countless of agencies and ITCAN is the first to give such a misleading information to me.

They basically disallow me to leave when I have the rights to!

I'm going to contact the ministry of manpower tmr and see what they have to say about this. I know someone said mom is pro-employer and anit-employee but i'm going to take my chances and if things don't turn out the way it should be, then I can, with a clear conscience say FUG you SINKAPORE!

And to those who wish to know how much comission is taken from your salary, it is 1/2 your pay..at least this is true for some agencies.

My ex-colleague is paid 1500 per month and guess who much the client company is paying his agent? Yes, 3000.
in ur case, this is outsource staff, headcount not under the employer, but the agency. and, it is not necessary JUST 1/2.
my fren's co outsource 2 stuff to a customer, my fren is drawing 1.5 or at most 1.6K, the other guy at most 2K, guess how much the customer paying the co? 4K per head.

water88
01-08-2006, 09:03 AM
I am not sure whether you all will like this agency called "Speed." They seems good to me and my friends. They provide fast service and you do not need to go down to their office. I have got my past 3 jobs from them. If you interested, pm me lor.. then i give you more info...
Any website? Pls provide more info.

oOgA84
01-08-2006, 08:44 PM
wah..i see those companies stated... i now havin 2nd thoughts on sendin my resume to those companies thru jobstreet.. :/

mrjack
01-08-2006, 10:07 PM
wah..i see those companies stated... i now havin 2nd thoughts on sendin my resume to those companies thru jobstreet.. :/
just make sure that they are paying you for what you are worthed.. dont let them treat you like a cheap labour.

narutoking
01-08-2006, 10:18 PM
Guys, is jobdb.com gone or down?

Kakashi82
01-08-2006, 10:29 PM
Guys, is jobdb.com gone or down?

no problem for me

alex666
08-08-2006, 03:51 PM
Is it true that you have to pay the agents % of ur pay if u quit the job before confirmation? What is the normal %?

Kakashi82
08-08-2006, 06:45 PM
Is it true that you have to pay the agents % of ur pay if u quit the job before confirmation? What is the normal %?

it really depends on the contract, so read carefully before u sign anything with the agency

oOgA84
10-08-2006, 02:11 PM
just make sure that they are paying you for what you are worthed.. dont let them treat you like a cheap labour.so wat is basic salary range that one be paid for a it support personnel with 0 work exp (internship counts?? since i have it support exp in internship nia:P )

any idea ?

sorry for askin noobish questions..cos i am very wary of job agencies after see so much hate posts in this thread :X

oOgA84
10-08-2006, 02:28 PM
juz to add on...anyone heard of mass powers services ? it si a recruitment company... is it good

Rushifaa
10-08-2006, 03:23 PM
so wat is basic salary range that one be paid for a it support personnel with 0 work exp (internship counts?? since i have it support exp in internship nia:P )

any idea ?

sorry for askin noobish questions..cos i am very wary of job agencies after see so much hate posts in this thread :XSee what the Gov are paying for fresh people...
For IT Fresh Grad without any exp the gov is paying around $1500 per month...
5 day week work 08:30 - 1800 usually...

You may want to try jobline at
http://www.jobline.com.sg/

So far I never read a complain about them in this forum yet...
And a few people are using them and recommanding them...

Even MINDEF use their service...

narutoking
10-08-2006, 04:58 PM
Hi guys,

After days, i had went for a few more interview again.
Today, just went to one of the job agency for interview...
However, they told me to wait for news to see if the company want to interview me or not.
As I went there to fill up the form, interviewed by both consultant and their manager. Wonder anyone got this before where u go job agency for interview got interviewed by manager?
Any idea how long do you think got to know the outcome for 2nd interview normally?

All these interviews I went is by jobsdb one but every interview i went, I love to talk already... but chances arent there yet.

windroar
13-08-2006, 04:25 PM
Must say recruit suxpress are totally time wasters, avoid sending resumes to them. All agents are salespple, as salesman they earn commission from ur job, some turn unscrupulous. Anyway there are good agents also lah... try to be humble and polite.. at least pretend.. pple see u song will help u... just think.. they have thousands of candidates and wont hesitate to approach another... remember.. they wont suffer if they dun find u a job, they only suffer if they didnt find the companies an employee... so we are the cost function and thus dispensable, while the companies are the profit functions that they wont fail to disappoint..... so... LPPL... tahan first.. esp fresh grads... wait till nxt time u managerial level, then u tekan the agencies... heh heh

narutoking
13-08-2006, 05:32 PM
Thanks =)
I am going interview tomorrow again with recruit express but it's so hard to get pass 1st interview to 2nd interview?

narutoking
13-08-2006, 05:34 PM
Oh yes, what is PATIENT CARE ASSISTANT about as I am going interview for it by this agency. lol...
Anyone got any idea?

Rushifaa
13-08-2006, 09:33 PM
Sounds like a Nurse like job...
Maybe take care of old people or retarded people...?

PsyNidE
13-08-2006, 10:14 PM
Oh yes, what is PATIENT CARE ASSISTANT about as I am going interview for it by this agency. lol...
Anyone got any idea?
u assist da nurses to feed da bedridden patients,serve them meals,help 2 bathe da patients ... etc etc .. u will wrk either in hospitals or care centre.

narutoking
13-08-2006, 10:39 PM
Oh ok... but is there any feature for this type of job and normally how the pay like?

minssy
14-08-2006, 04:55 PM
wah.. interesting topic.... here is my 2 cents worth..

1) Perm posts - the company will pay a fee to the agency to get the candidate in.. this $$ is not deducted from your pay as its an extra budget from the company. how agencies work is that you need to stay with that company for a minmum number of months... it can be 2 - 6 mths.. u gotta read the application/declaration form before u sign.

2) Temp posts - Yes agencies get a cut. If you are paid $6/hr, most prob the billing to the company is about $9. u think the agencies earn $3 per hour? nah. some of it is for CPF, SDF & insurance... but then again, $6 is the normal pay out for temps.. (dun talk abt IT or specialised jobs lah).

3) Contract posts - About the senario of the guy getting $1500 and the company paying the agency $3000, that is seriously too much. BUT then again, you can calcuate the agency's profit directly. if your pay is $1500, the mandatory cost to the company is only $240, so that means the agency earns $1260 from there. if its a one time thing then its an ok market rate. if its every month, then the company is dumb to pay the agency $3000 a mth... kekeke..

it takes 2 hands to clap, yah some agencies sucks and are aggressive... but some candidates requirements are really too ridiculous and they are too picky...

minssy
14-08-2006, 04:57 PM
Oh ok... but is there any feature for this type of job and normally how the pay like?

admin/nursing related jobs in the clinic or hospital BUT non direct nursing duties.. basically its a lower level of jobs compared to staff nurses.. pay range normally $1500 or so..

are you a boy or girl btw? kekekekke

narutoking
14-08-2006, 05:28 PM
wah.. interesting topic.... here is my 2 cents worth..

1) Perm posts - the company will pay a fee to the agency to get the candidate in.. this $$ is not deducted from your pay as its an extra budget from the company. how agencies work is that you need to stay with that company for a minmum number of months... it can be 2 - 6 mths.. u gotta read the application/declaration form before u sign.

2) Temp posts - Yes agencies get a cut. If you are paid $6/hr, most prob the billing to the company is about $9. u think the agencies earn $3 per hour? nah. some of it is for CPF, SDF & insurance... but then again, $6 is the normal pay out for temps.. (dun talk abt IT or specialised jobs lah).

3) Contract posts - About the senario of the guy getting $1500 and the company paying the agency $3000, that is seriously too much. BUT then again, you can calcuate the agency's profit directly. if your pay is $1500, the mandatory cost to the company is only $240, so that means the agency earns $1260 from there. if its a one time thing then its an ok market rate. if its every month, then the company is dumb to pay the agency $3000 a mth... kekeke..

it takes 2 hands to clap, yah some agencies sucks and are aggressive... but some candidates requirements are really too ridiculous and they are too picky...
Well said =) I love these informations you gave. Some tot I am picky, however, I kept going for interviews these days. My asking price are really low and I accept most jobs. However, today I went to one of the agency at raffles place, sad thing is, what I apply for is not asked, but asking me to go for temp job. Does this always happen? I went down becoz I love the job I apply for but why they keep forcing me to take temp admin job =)

Also, anyone got any idea what does Junior Customer Services Co-ordinator do? I am going for interview tomorrow so I ask before hand so that when they ask me, I could still answer. Saw this in newspaper one which I apply for and good that I am going for interview =) Even it's far, Airport, but I will still go. Just to check what they do so that I know if I could do it or not. Thanks in advance.

narutoking
14-08-2006, 05:29 PM
admin/nursing related jobs in the clinic or hospital BUT non direct nursing duties.. basically its a lower level of jobs compared to staff nurses.. pay range normally $1500 or so..

are you a boy or girl btw? kekekekke
Me a guy lor... so I give this job up as it does sound more like gal gal sort of job. Later people tot I gay. LOL.

minssy
14-08-2006, 05:43 PM
Well said =) I love these informations you gave. Some tot I am picky, however, I kept going for interviews these days. My asking price are really low and I accept most jobs. However, today I went to one of the agency at raffles place, sad thing is, what I apply for is not asked, but asking me to go for temp job. Does this always happen? I went down becoz I love the job I apply for but why they keep forcing me to take temp admin job =)

Also, anyone got any idea what does Junior Customer Services Co-ordinator do? I am going for interview tomorrow so I ask before hand so that when they ask me, I could still answer. Saw this in newspaper one which I apply for and good that I am going for interview =) Even it's far, Airport, but I will still go. Just to check what they do so that I know if I could do it or not. Thanks in advance.

haahhha! yah lor. in the first place i dunnoe how come you were asked to go for the interview leh... kekeke..

junior CS coordinator ah? means those $1200 - $1400 range of cust service one lor.. must see the job scope leh.. but sounds like those that coordinate between office internal depts (such as sales, shipping etc) and of cos the customers.. then you may also have to answer to customers queries so that means that you will be trained in the products offered...

hhhmmm, i am quite curious to know why you said that you are being forced to do temp admin job.. u free u PM me lah :)

narutoking
14-08-2006, 06:02 PM
haahhha! yah lor. in the first place i dunnoe how come you were asked to go for the interview leh... kekeke..

junior CS coordinator ah? means those $1200 - $1400 range of cust service one lor.. must see the job scope leh.. but sounds like those that coordinate between office internal depts (such as sales, shipping etc) and of cos the customers.. then you may also have to answer to customers queries so that means that you will be trained in the products offered...

hhhmmm, i am quite curious to know why you said that you are being forced to do temp admin job.. u free u PM me lah :)

Hi there. Well... I am asked to go for the interview becoz I tell them I am interested in that job but I dont know what they do since I saw that they asking for O/N level ma... so why not try to apply then ask? Well... I dont know it's gal gal job lar. If not, I wouldnt even ask to go for interview. Well... as for junior CS coorinator, I saw it on newspaper one and apply for it, since they also say, O/N level and no exper. needed. So they called me to go for interview tml at around airport area. Far is fine but dont know I can do or not. Is it Admin job or more of sales or those answering of calls? Since I know what sort of jobs I am more interested in, I dont mind tech. job but I always injure one... who or which company wish to get people who always injure? lol... my injure are like from minor ones (got cut, bleeding) to major ones (Fall down from height) lol... However, I still enjoy it. Since it's part of learning stage.

I am shortlisted to the company itself for this junior CS coorinator. I am very happy. That's why I wish to know more about it. HeHe...

narutoking
14-08-2006, 06:16 PM
Oh yes, I say being force to go temp admin is becoz no matter how I told that agent from recruit express that I am interested in the job I applied for then she say, aiyo, if u want can but hor, it's very troublesome becoz u need to go for 2nd interview with the company. Why not go for admin since only 3 mths and no need to worry about the 2nd interview as we can right away give you the contract to sign. I was like errr.... what can I do??? The hr rate is not that good also I think.

SrYgonic
15-08-2006, 02:21 PM
Like that I don't understand why so many companies go through agencies..

Firstly must pay the agency money when can advertise online yourself...

I mean its not that troublesome to post an ad in the newspaper right.Somemore you get to interview the candidate yourself and see if he/she is really what you're looking for.

Secondly the agency may just want the money and not provide you with a suitable candidate.

Like that the employee also benefit. Lets say you go through agency and pay $9 to the agency every hour. The candidate gets paid $6 an hour... he do what he think is worth 6/per hour worth of work. You
hire yourself and you pay the candidate $8 per hour. He more happy as its over the market rate. He more willing to work extra for you. You save $1 per hour too...

That's just my thinking working temporary in a company through an agency. Actually most of my previous jobs is through agencies... Cause look online. Mostly agencies post there.

narutoking
15-08-2006, 04:12 PM

I mean its not that troublesome to post an ad in the newspaper right.Somemore you get to interview the candidate yourself and see if he/she is really what you're looking for.

Secondly the agency may just want the money and not provide you with a suitable candidate.

Like that the employee also benefit. Lets say you go through agency and pay $9 to the agency every hour. The candidate gets paid $6 an hour... he do what he think is worth 6/per hour worth of work. You
hire yourself and you pay the candidate $8 per hour. He more happy as its over the market rate. He more willing to work extra for you. You save $1 per hour too...

That's just my thinking working temporary in a company through an agency. Actually most of my previous jobs is through agencies... Cause look online. Mostly agencies post there.
Yes, totally agree with you but dont understand why it's so hard to get contact with company but job agency themself could solve it without any problem. Hai.... Jobsdb etc mostly agency one... so how?

minssy
15-08-2006, 05:04 PM
hi narutoking,

give it a try first lor. i like your attitude - at least you are trying....

RE is only keen in filling up the positions.. they dun care one...

go for the Customer service interview and update us leh :)

minssy
15-08-2006, 05:10 PM
hi SrYgonic,

my comments are below:

my comments: u pay money to get things done...

my comments: yes its not troublesome but most would rather pay agency so that they do not have to waste time to look for candidates. its very tedious ya know :)

my comments: if not suitable, why are there so many agencies around in singapore providing this service?

my comments: u pay agency and the agency will pay the salary, pay CPF, pay insurance, pay SDF. you do yourself, its freaking troublesome.

narutoking
15-08-2006, 05:16 PM
hi narutoking,

give it a try first lor. i like your attitude - at least you are trying....

RE is only keen in filling up the positions.. they dun care one...

go for the Customer service interview and update us leh :)

Thanks. Yes, I did what I should do already... be it calling or email them... went for interview and no outcome... I want to go for the Customer Service interview which they told me yesterday that the interview is today but they refuse to let me go... they keep asking me to go the one they intro me. They say, isnt it troublesome to go for 2nd interview when u dont even know you can get it or not, why not accept the offer which we give you now with bond of 3 mths ready. Just sign and you ready for work... I was like.... I dont even know the job scope at first and ask me to accept. lol...

Seriously.... I had done what I can do.... what else they want?? Worst of all, I tried to contact the company themself in newspaper or jobsdb etc.... non reply... only by agency then they reply... =(

Wonder who got Retail or Customer Service job lobang?? I dont mind giving you some pay for intro me once success.... no point going to RE when they dont even care to help me....

Today I saw an ads which I wanted most but cant apply....
It's job in Comics Connection, they want 2 yrs exp. in retail ... =(

Everyday I am doing the same stuff again and again... hoping there is job ....

rECKleSSfElla
15-08-2006, 07:07 PM
Thanks. Yes, I did what I should do already... be it calling or email them... went for interview and no outcome... I want to go for the Customer Service interview which they told me yesterday that the interview is today but they refuse to let me go... they keep asking me to go the one they intro me. They say, isnt it troublesome to go for 2nd interview when u dont even know you can get it or not, why not accept the offer which we give you now with bond of 3 mths ready. Just sign and you ready for work... I was like.... I dont even know the job scope at first and ask me to accept. lol...

Seriously.... I had done what I can do.... what else they want?? Worst of all, I tried to contact the company themself in newspaper or jobsdb etc.... non reply... only by agency then they reply... =(

Wonder who got Retail or Customer Service job lobang?? I dont mind giving you some pay for intro me once success.... no point going to RE when they dont even care to help me....

Today I saw an ads which I wanted most but cant apply....
It's job in Comics Connection, they want 2 yrs exp. in retail ... =(

Everyday I am doing the same stuff again and again... hoping there is job ....dude i noticed u have been in these forums asking time n again for ppl to intro u jobs but u said u had gone for many interviews wif job agencies n still is not able to secure a job. apparently u are afraid the job agencies would mislead u. so have u ever thought of going to those direct walk-in interviews? u hoped someone can intro u a retail job then i really do suggest u get ur arse off the couch n take a walk down any shopping center in orchard or suntec.

last wkend i was at suntec city n on my last count there were 4-5 shops hiring retail assistants. no use waiting n hoping here that somebody would offer u a job. remember u are not some hot shot employee who can earn millions for the company n everyone else is dying to head hunt u. u claimed that the job agencies have no intention of helping u but from wat i see noone else is gonna help u if u ain't gonna help urself 1st.

narutoking
15-08-2006, 07:15 PM
Well... whatever u like to say, I am helping myself already. If no one want to help me, so be it.

narutoking
15-08-2006, 07:15 PM
Btw, you never know if one could really help company to earn money or not. If company themself dont try, they never know.

rECKleSSfElla
15-08-2006, 07:30 PM
Well... whatever u like to say, I am helping myself already. If no one want to help me, so be it.lol......since u are already resigned to the fate that u would not be able to get help here then just stop begging for help here! apparently ur rep is so notorious ard here. u said u are already helping urself? so wat have u done? how many resumes have u sent n how many interviews have u gone to? prolly 1 or 2 interviews at certain job agencies n already u have concluded that they have no interest in helping u look for a job. if tis is the best n hardest u have tried then i do suggest u go buy toto n hope u strike so u wouldnt ever have to work or pray jobs will drop from the sky or grow on trees somedays.

retail n customer service jobs are aplenty in the market. either u are being too picky or u are just not serious abt commiting urself to a job. lastly one word of advise n its not meant to be an insult, do try to improve on ur vocab n grammar b4 u go try out for a customer service job.......from the way u type sometimes i really do have difficulty understanding wat u are trying to imply. i really do hope tis is not the way u talk.

chengsun
15-08-2006, 07:53 PM
i tot someone said never come back here, the 2nd time, yet he is here for the 3rd time. obviously he is not serious at what he said, from his mouth?

u tot running a business so easy? so much space for people to go in and TRY? please do not ever say the word TRY when u r in interview, it only shows that u r only there to TRY but not committed. U have the time to TRy but not the company, they have work, business to run, have cost to pay, no time for u to TRY.

narutoking
15-08-2006, 08:01 PM
Hai... I dont come here to argue with people like you =)
If you wish to argue, go else where. Thanks.

Let me remind you, THIS IS MY OWN THREAD, SO IF YOU NOT HAPPY, GO AWAY. DONT POST IN HERE.
Thanks.

liberty_ong
15-08-2006, 08:08 PM
i think company save more den just the advert.
they eventually still need to interview their shortlist candidates but I believe they can do away with tax for big companies. In the eyes of account mayb headcount can be counted as expenses or something else. Lookin in the bigger picture , they can save their own a/c dept a big hassle when comin to payroll as I believe agency pays their own temps. For people who think agency consultant are not helpful come to think of it.. if u have a pool of 50 candidates and everyone expect u to provide a very personalize service can u handle? Not forgetting the consultant still have admin duties and have to liaise with company employing u. I am not speakin in defend of anyone. I’m just looking at the big picture.. any comment are welcome

narutoking
15-08-2006, 08:30 PM
Ok... =)
Under the Bank, Finance Advisor I know "selling" products like: how to save money for 10 yrs etc but .... online Advisor "sell" what sort of products? Anyone know?

Asking as I am going for the interview tomorrow under another agency. Btw, I didnt apply for it. It's the agent told me it's urgent job, so as me to go for interview with her first.

Need to know what sort of products to sell as I used to sell household products etc, it's not the same for sure.

rECKleSSfElla
15-08-2006, 09:15 PM

Let me remind you, THIS IS MY OWN THREAD, SO IF YOU NOT HAPPY, GO AWAY. DONT POST IN HERE.
Thanks.
wow...when in hell did tis thread become ur personal chit chat thread? n have any of us started an arguement here? that is unless u deemed any of our comments abt u offensive. anyway we are just stating the truth. i dunnoe how old u are but seriously ur state of mind really needs some maturing. everyday we get to see u update us on which agency or how many interviews u went today....seriously i dun think anybody here is interested abt that.

one day u say u are interviewing for a job in sales n nxt day is a job in customer service.......n now u are into banking n financial advicing......dude u cant even make up ur mind as to which area is ur strength n where u wanna put ur focus n commitment on......basically u are just job hunting blindly n in hope somehow u can hit the jackpot n get a job. u expect to find a job tis way? even if some company do hire u i pity them cuz wat they just hired is someone who is not gonna commit n give them 100% in terms of ability n productivity. n pls do drop the "I didnt apply for the job. its the agency who asked me to go for the interview" shat....stop thinking u are so big fark n indisposable. to the job agency u are nothing but another avearge joe needing them to help u get a job.

last thing...do us, do the job agencies, do ur potential employers n most importantly do urself a favour.....sort urself out big time n just grow up. job hunting blindly will get u nowhere.

narutoking
15-08-2006, 09:19 PM
Ok Ok enough of all these. Thanks.

windroar
15-08-2006, 09:49 PM
seriously from wat the recruit express agent tell u... it prove that they really sux. they just want to earn your money quickly rather than getting u of the job u want... they have no ethics at all, or simply inhuman. anyone stupid would fall into their trap and accept the stupid temp admin job and waste their life working for some stupid admin temp, yet get their 30% of their hourly pay eaten by the agent.... this kind of agent who leeches money at the expense of other pple's youth and future will be one of those who die young.... if u are one of these farkers and reading this u better beware... if i were u i would leave immediately and give fark-off stare just like wat i did to an RE agent before who tricked me to go down and offered me another sh!t job instead.......

u want retail is very simple, presume u good in computers why not go simlim or funan walk a few rounds walk in every shop and self intro... thats the aggressive way that sales jobs need anyway.. i did that when i was young... these kinda sales job will have low basic pay, but if u really can sell, u will get a high commission and after adding all up, u may be getting a lot , but most impt u learn and gain exp which will build up ur future.

narutoking
15-08-2006, 10:04 PM
Yes, Agree with you. I used to do sales jobs for years becoz that's the only way to earn a lot if ones good in it... As we all know, even u having Degree now, that does not mean you can earn a lot right now. Every job can make one success but however, Sales does prove that, if one willing to fight for the target, one can earn more than those directors out there.

As for retail job, yes, I will go down to some shopping centre to look around. As tml, I will be going down dont know what agency again but located at international plaza... Job : Online Advisor which I didnt apply for it... just that the agent told me about it, so I tot of asking around if anyone know about it. I heard of direct sales job under bank which promote credit cards etc but not online advisor... she told me she will tell me more about it tml but i want to find out more before hand.

oOgA84
16-08-2006, 01:58 PM
gonna try RE mayb tis friday.. but with the intro of a camp mate i know to a specific personnel in RE... lol..

will see wat kind of hell is it since so many ppl stated so much bad reasons for it :p

theoldman
16-08-2006, 02:27 PM
yo yo!
i think recruit express nowadays do hav some jobs leh, they did call my hp but everytime i'm sleeping. so far the temp jobs they offer ok lah, pay range like $5.50 - $7 an hour. full time i'm not sure cos me only luking for part time work

narutoking mayb next time they call me again n i cant work i intro the job to u ok!

narutoking
16-08-2006, 02:44 PM
Cool... sure... funny is they never ask me about sales job lol...

theoldman
16-08-2006, 02:48 PM
eh by the way wanna ask u or any1 out there, got any lobang for part time work? like 4 hrs a day or work 1 - 2 full days a week kind??
i know its difficult to get la

chiatlard
16-08-2006, 03:26 PM
sounds like a weekend job to me..

theoldman
16-08-2006, 06:08 PM
oh nono, weekdays also can. weekdays better

u hav lobang ma?

PsyNidE
16-08-2006, 07:17 PM
eh by the way wanna ask u or any1 out there, got any lobang for part time work? like 4 hrs a day or work 1 - 2 full days a week kind??
i know its difficult to get la
actually i noe such a lobang.Mon-Thurs u wrk 4pm-8pm & Sat u wrk 8.30-5pm. $9 per hr.Its a factory job along Jln Ahmad Ibrahim.Im unsure tho if they still need part-time ppl.Pm me 4 da contact no.

chengsun
16-08-2006, 08:39 PM

Thanks.
i got to admit that i do this on purpose. but if my eyes did not do me wrong, this thread is started by pledge88

narutoking
16-08-2006, 09:09 PM
at last someone say he did this on purpose.... anyway, for whatever reason, OBEY the rules here or at least OBEY the owner of this forum and owner of this thread. Dont act like a child arguing with people. Thanks.

theoldman
16-08-2006, 09:28 PM
actually i noe such a lobang.Mon-Thurs u wrk 4pm-8pm & Sat u wrk 8.30-5pm. $9 per hr.Its a factory job along Jln Ahmad Ibrahim.Im unsure tho if they still need part-time ppl.Pm me 4 da contact no.
wow psynide fantastic! but unfortunately my work is at night also ah.. starts from 4pm also, so i guess i cannot commit to it. but thanks for yr kind intro anyway!

rAcEr
17-08-2006, 01:53 AM
narutoking...a gentle reminder that this is not ur personal jobsearch diary or ur own blog.

u post day-in-day-out about ur jobsearching experience with a whole lot of unnecessary details that im not sure if they are really beneficial to the jobseekers here.

at the end of it all, e forumers lose their patience wif u and the vicious cycle starts all over again.

if narutoking != vinyong, i take back my words n apologize.

rECKleSSfElla
17-08-2006, 06:46 AM
at last someone say he did this on purpose.... anyway, for whatever reason, OBEY the rules here or at least OBEY the owner of this forum and owner of this thread. Dont act like a child arguing with people. Thanks.apparently u are so dense that u cant even realise the person that chengsun is talking abt is none other than u........stop being in such a state of denial or selective viewing n only see wat u wanna see.......

narutoking
17-08-2006, 02:06 PM
no time to argue with you gals

oOgA84
17-08-2006, 02:24 PM
mm..guys relax.. :)

narutoking
17-08-2006, 04:24 PM
mm..guys relax.. :)
Ya... I am a guy and in the very first place, i never start the argue with them =)
Anyway, only gals like to argue. I just do what I could and leave them arguing.

Le_coq
17-08-2006, 05:33 PM
Ya... I am a guy and in the very first place, i never start the argue with them =)

well at least gals have jobs wahhahahaha :s13:

narutoking
17-08-2006, 05:37 PM
lol.... gals at cute ma sure get job

RenZero
17-08-2006, 05:41 PM
My exp is most of job agency sucks... better buy a newspaper or apply direct.

narutoking
17-08-2006, 06:01 PM
Agree... moreover, go to agency they give u any job and u do, they get pay also... Now I check newspaper often then going jobsdb or whatsoever.

rAcEr
17-08-2006, 06:03 PM

its quite entertaining seeing HIS replies :)

narutoking
17-08-2006, 06:47 PM
thanks =)
I am glad I could entertain people like u.
Oh, busy now...

oOgA84
17-08-2006, 08:08 PM
i was wondering..there is no harm in goin thru various job agencies right ? becos..after all..u still have the rights to say no to their offers... am i right to say so ?

narutoking
17-08-2006, 08:21 PM
yes but if they force u to accept how? like the one i had with recruit express... eg: u had told them u interested in so and so but they give u a job eg: cleaner... u can say no of coz but they keep saying, no point going to 2nd interview as it's so troublesome, why not accept the one we had right now and u can do right away. Remember, 3 mths cannot quit...
Then worst of all, sms and scold people. Is this how job agent behave?

Ah_Lupz
17-08-2006, 09:14 PM
actually, with the help of agencies, they help you to push for an interview asap, which you may end up going for an interview very fast...If you submit your resume directly, you may end up waiting for their HR to call, which you may end up waiting in vain...

the good point is that you can get the agent from the job agencies to help you to check whether you have successfully hired or not...

However, agencies often forget about you if you reject the job offer or can't get the job...think that's the bad point about them

narutoking
17-08-2006, 10:29 PM
Ya.... they just sux blood

oOgA84
17-08-2006, 10:59 PM
ic....i gonna giv RE a try.. and experience the kind of hell u mentioned ;)

narutoking
17-08-2006, 11:24 PM
Sure... in the end, dont cry ok. LOL

liberty_ong
18-08-2006, 05:04 AM
yes but if they force u to accept how? like the one i had with recruit express... eg: u had told them u interested in so and so but they give u a job eg: cleaner... u can say no of coz but they keep saying, no point going to 2nd interview as it's so troublesome, why not accept the one we had right now and u can do right away. Remember, 3 mths cannot quit...
Then worst of all, sms and scold people. Is this how job agent behave?

how can they force u?
my experience recently show that RE really help a lot..
the agent keep callin me on her choice of job avail and follow up very promptly
my 1st call back when she left me a miss call, she can remb my voice 2 week after my interview wif her. so went for a interview and found the job. above enuff to prove the degree of service she have... well.. i think i m very choosy as i reject a lot of them in the end finally got one suitable and start work on monday..

narutoking, r u sure the agent scold u? or u juz being sensitive.... ifrom yr description seem impossible to recommend such cleaner job unless u nv prove yr worthiness..

narutoking
18-08-2006, 05:44 AM
Confirm scolding me.... the words I send to other friends of mine too say that. Anyway, it's depending on luck I believe.

narutoking
18-08-2006, 05:45 AM
btw, I am using example job like cleaner. I never say I get job as cleaner ok?
If so, I would go and die better.

PS: I am not looking down on cleaner but at my age and with my cert. There is no way to become one yet. However, cleaners are someone we should look up to becoz without them, we will never get a clean country. If you think they are someone low class, think about it, if without them, who is going to clean the "dirty" singapore? Dont u guys know, some singaporean just dont understand how they behave, they can throw rubbish on the floor, mrt etc...

liberty_ong
18-08-2006, 06:14 AM
btw, I am using example job like cleaner. I never say I get job as cleaner ok?
If so, I would go and die better.

PS: I am not looking down on cleaner but at my age and with my cert. There is no way to become one yet. However, cleaners are someone we should look up to becoz without them, we will never get a clean country. If you think they are someone low class, think about it, if without them, who is going to clean the "dirty" singapore? Dont u guys know, some singaporean just dont understand how they behave, they can throw rubbish on the floor, mrt etc...
can it be u over expect the pay or position?
if u got the cert y dont try to go thru newpaper, we all know agency act as a middle men so we cannot expect a very high pay mayb u can get the consultant name out so to warn other job seeker of such consultant ard..agree wif u cleaner are oso human life form but the way u express in the description from my point of view, contain a certain degree in degrading cleaner as a low form job. anyway can i know yr qualification and wat kind of job u lookin for? so ppl outta can judge for themself or even help to keep a look out? luck might play a part but she only help me arrange a interview. i believe it more of yr ability. nx time in other not to degrade job mayb u can say the consultant found a CEO position but u juz wanna be a normal admin staff.. lol..

oOgA84
18-08-2006, 09:59 AM
when an agency tell u that ur salary will be at this amt......has it been subjected to cpf yet ? or havent?

Rushifaa
18-08-2006, 10:40 AM
when an agency tell u that ur salary will be at this amt......has it been subjected to cpf yet ? or havent?of course haven't lah...
eg. if they say $1500 that means $1200 only with 20% $300 going to CPF...
Your Recruit Express offer you how much...?
You must also consider the pay/hour to know if you are underpaid or not...

oOgA84
18-08-2006, 10:55 AM
hmm....icic... ..RE i havent go yet...mayb later on..

the one i got is jobline.....their stated amt on the website was like 1.6k...end up when the personnel call me.....told me there was a change in their expected salary to 1.3... ..

i was like..uhhhh...

narutoking
18-08-2006, 12:04 PM
lol... they are like this one... got one agent put 6 mths bonuses per yr for the job i applied then end up interview with the company, they told me 1 to 2 mths bonues only. lol.

Rushifaa
18-08-2006, 04:03 PM
hmm....icic... ..RE i havent go yet...mayb later on..

the one i got is jobline.....their stated amt on the website was like 1.6k...end up when the personnel call me.....told me there was a change in their expected salary to 1.3... ..

i was like..uhhhh...Yeah I apply for that too..
Apparently that one was a mistake...
$1300 monthly not the 1600-1800 they put...
Joblines got a lot of mistake...

Most likely they will call you alot ask you if you interested in those 12h job paying 1400-1800... Pay per hour quite low unless you get the max 1800 so no really worth it I would say...

liberty_ong
18-08-2006, 05:17 PM
lol... they are like this one... got one agent put 6 mths bonuses per yr for the job i applied then end up interview with the company, they told me 1 to 2 mths bonues only. lol.
haha.. nowadyas even gov sector nv offer 6mth bonuse , unless u r from finance sector and u r high performer den i would say, possible! any common folk like us cannot expect such high bonus. nothing offensive its jus how we management of expectation. advert are to attract money making tools like us for recruiter so they are not wrong even to misrepresent the salary stated in the advert.as i say agency is there to save us trouble on finding job so there is a price to pay..
nx time DIY is the best as u get wat u see..
cheers

Rushifaa
18-08-2006, 06:58 PM
haha.. nowadyas even gov sector nv offer 6mth bonuse , unless u r from finance sector and u r high performer den i would say, possible! any common folk like us cannot expect such high bonus. nothing offensive its jus how we management of expectation. advert are to attract money making tools like us for recruiter so they are not wrong even to misrepresent the salary stated in the advert.as i say agency is there to save us trouble on finding job so there is a price to pay..
nx time DIY is the best as u get wat u see..
cheersJoin NKF during Durai's era lor...
His 10 to 12 months of Bonus...
Gok Chok Tong's wife say liao, peanuts only...

narutoking
18-08-2006, 07:12 PM
lol
if you guys read newspaper for job, there is an ads very cute one... somehow related to peanuts with monkeys then got banana also. LOL... cant remember when it is... but i read already know it's somehow related.

narutoking
18-08-2006, 07:13 PM
Anyway, sorry to add on, my dad last time work in SIA, he told me, they used to give 6 to 7 mths bonuses even u low class but nowadays dont becoz u know why.... bad time... so normally 1 to 2 mths the max.

liberty_ong
18-08-2006, 08:14 PM
Join NKF during Durai's era lor...
His 10 to 12 months of Bonus...
Gok Chok Tong's wife say liao, peanuts only...
ya.. thus he subjected to the Aduit by ACRA.. haha as u say is last time so ?? can u travel back in time to find work? wat i mean is nowadys when got company give AWS is good enuff..prehards it has become a habit to use bad time as an excuse to save operational cost..

narutoking remb wat i have requested from u? yr qualification , expected pay and position u looking for ytd?? hope u can reply so ppl outta know wat u lookin for

Rushifaa
18-08-2006, 08:54 PM
Anyway, sorry to add on, my dad last time work in SIA, he told me, they used to give 6 to 7 mths bonuses even u low class but nowadays dont becoz u know why.... bad time... so normally 1 to 2 mths the max.Yes SIA used to 6 months bonus..
Now no more liao because Osama 911 affected the airline business...

narutoking
18-08-2006, 10:35 PM
Ya... worst... remember 2003? A lot of people in SIA been kick off.
So, my dad told me, now working in SIA is worst than before. Sometimes, one person do two person job. If you think you can work, go ahead. But think about it, if you guys read newspaper before, young singaporean most of them would not choose to work shift if possible.

mao_mao_lian_sg
22-08-2006, 12:35 PM
i think the director of that sux agency is called Simon Lee something? i went down to their lao ya office for an interview last thur. all goes well and he still tell me to prepare for the coming interview with his client (obviously is hinting i got chance lah). and guess what, he tell me today "Unfortunately, the position is closed already". what craps..only 2 days nia and the position so fast closed liao? wah they are so efficient hor...

waste my time and effort...give empty hopes only...:s27:

Hi all,

I have been waiting for someone to start a thread on this topic cuz I have my own bad experience.. as recent as last week. To add to the list above - Thatz International.

Not going to mention the idiot's name here but this guy, so called director of this small-fry job agency, is very unprofessional and rude.. not only does he not know the client's job description well, he also wastes the candidates time by by misleading candidates into a false hope that they fit the job requirement. He does not follow up with the candidate and it is the candidate who got to keep calling him for status update. Pure fxxk up. When I told him off that he does not know how to do things properly, he give the excuse that not everything is 100% accurate and even threathen me saying that he knows alot of people in the industry and can make things difficult for me. Very stuck up fellow.

And the other ones like People Search and Kelly Services I totally agree - complete waste of time. The so-called Recruitement Consultants there are bloody stuck up, don't have industry knowledge, bimbotic and darn rude... when I went for an interview there, the lady who interviewed me was so condescending in her tone and look down on my current drawn salary and kept talking about her own job achievements...

Sorry to say that the level of quality of these so-called job agencies in SG is lousy. These idiots all think it is still an emplyer's market now... the tide will soon turn.

narutoking
22-08-2006, 04:37 PM
It's like that one. Like that day I went down for interview with Starhub after passing 1st interview with Recruit Express and got some hope to work in Starhub but guess what the HR in starhub told me? It's totally different from what Recruit Express agent told me.

Recruit Express Agent told me:
Earning is $1.5k, 3 different shift work, temp 9 mths contract....

Starhub HR told me:
Earning is $900, temp 6mths fixed shift of 7pm to 12pm.

Why are they making hope for us when it came out to become empty promisses?

Kakashi82
22-08-2006, 04:40 PM
It's like that one. Like that day I went down for interview with Starhub after passing 1st interview with Recruit Express and got some hope to work in Starhub but guess what the HR in starhub told me? It's totally different from what Recruit Express agent told me.

Starhub HR told me:

nv clarify with the agent?

narutoking
22-08-2006, 05:19 PM
nv clarify with the agent?
Yes, I did after the 2nd interview with Starhub HR.
She told me it's like that one.

liberty_ong
22-08-2006, 07:52 PM

Starhub HR told me:

narutoking thta the position of CCC at $9 per hr
i used to work as 1 on adverage i earn 1.8 per mth and once 2.5k
for u 5hr per day 5day week and $ 900 u think not enuff?
u can earn up to 1.5k if u work OT+shift+transport
this is one highest paid temp avail outta
RE nv tell u the gross for part time unless u ask ,normally they will tell only the hourly rate for part time
lol.. i'm glad u nv take up the offer bcoz i'm a starhub customer
i strongly felt there is something wrong with u somwhere

narutoking
22-08-2006, 08:02 PM
RE nv tell u the gross for part time unless u ask ,normally they will tell only the hourly rate for part time
No... I know but HR Stuff told me, it's fixed... 7pm to 12am... that's all... but I need is Full Time one... not just doing part time

narutoking
22-08-2006, 08:03 PM
U know what? agent told me is full time u see.... and got 3 different shift... but end up... it's fixed ... how on earth am i able to go on for my pt study?

liberty_ong
22-08-2006, 08:08 PM
cannot b they are always in need of ppl. the reason i quit is bcoz u are force to do OT and my recent interview is they need more ccc .. anyway in another thread u say u found a job so now what u mean?
haha.. anyway me being a viewer are attracted to write up something to u and this prove ? everyone comment!! hahaha

narutoking
22-08-2006, 08:09 PM
Anyway, I bet you dont even get what I am trying to say man. If agent say thing that just want you to go for the interview, why is there a need to lie? Come on man. I know that is enough for sure but if someone need full time job why would they end up getting fixed pt job???? GET IT NOW? Please think. Dont blind typing.

narutoking
22-08-2006, 08:11 PM
cannot b they are always in need of ppl. the reason i quit is bcoz u are force to do OT and my recent interview is they need more ccc .. anyway in another thread u say u found a job so now what u mean?
haha.. anyway me being a viewer are attracted to write up something to u and this prove ? everyone comment!! hahahaU WANT TO BET? I CAN PROVE WHAT I SAY COZ I GOT THE NAME CARD OF THAT INTERVIEWER. HE TOLD ME THERE IS CURRENTLY NO PLACE FOR FULL TIMER. THAT'S WHAT HE TOLD ME. MAY I ASK U WHEN U QUIT? DONT U KNOW THINGS CAN CHANGE FAST?

liberty_ong
22-08-2006, 08:15 PM
U WANT TO BET? I CAN PROVE WHAT I SAY COZ I GOT THE NAME CARD OF THAT INTERVIEWER. HE TOLD ME THERE IS CURRENTLY NO PLACE FOR FULL TIMER. THAT'S WHAT HE TOLD ME. MAY I ASK U WHEN U QUIT? DONT U KNOW THINGS CAN CHANGE FAST?
see for yr self how many full time position

http://asp.starhub.com/joinus/index.asp#results

i cannot reveal my info to u..
i wont post something i not sure oso..

so how much u wanna bet??

ohh forget u got a job rite?? ya these position wont interest u too LOL hahahaha

narutoking
22-08-2006, 08:27 PM
Hey, May I ask u... which department u went to? Coz mine is Cable TV. It's totally different ok?

narutoking
22-08-2006, 08:29 PM
I bet u dont cry man. Guys, I will give people that can be trusted to call HR stuff to check. I dont scare becoz that's the informations they gave me. So why would I scare people like this guy =) I am honest with what I say. If I lie, God will end me right away. I am christian btw. DOnt believe, check with Govt.

liberty_ong
22-08-2006, 08:44 PM
lol ask govt to verify if u are christian or starhub cheat u?
mayb god is in a better position to advice
well at this current point is i have the fact at hand and you?
i can even say some MNC want to employ me as a CEO that pay me $5/hr but i got no prove!!
so show prove then we will talk!! ppl can str8 go website check and prove u r wrong!!
anyway u got a job rite?? hahaha so g l a d for "u" lol wahahahahahha

narutoking
22-08-2006, 08:58 PM
Ok Ok Enough... I let u win... since I am the one that went to the interview and that's what he told me. Too bad, I didnt rec. it down. If not, u sure lose till u cry. Ok Enough of your talk.

liberty_ong
22-08-2006, 09:18 PM
yawnz anyway how abt the bet? lol...
christian dont lie rite?
since u let me win so i can name the bet and claim the prize?
haha how to lose when i got the supporting fact?? anyway hope i dont have a chance for me to counter u as u got yrself a JOB lol..

Le_coq
22-08-2006, 10:33 PM

Starhub HR told me:

u sure the shift work RE told u is 5hr shift anot...
5 hrs per day earning 900 a month isn't little leh...
the 3 diff shift RE telling u abt confirm more than 5hrs per day loh....

do the starhub nite shift one can take up a day job somemore....

liberty_ong
22-08-2006, 10:58 PM
ya.. they call this part time team..
5Hx$9x5Dx4W = 900 wat
its is possible.. no doubt

rAcEr
22-08-2006, 11:12 PM
9 bucks an hour is very attractive lah. got transport provided home after 12am? if have then its really gd.

liberty_ong
22-08-2006, 11:14 PM
ya u can claim taxi
off day OT at 1.5
restday OT at 2

narutoking
23-08-2006, 01:27 AM
yes can claim taxi as that place bus only 91 and worst of all, sat or dont know when after 6pm dont have. cant really remember but i remember is that timing. Pay is real good I agree but problem is interviewer told me only doing fixed 7pm to 12am.

Liberty, do you think working is monday to sunday or sat?
Coz the one I went is Cable Tv where customers facing any problem in tech. will call in.
More over, I dont think will get this job due to some reason like eg: He ask me do I know about things like vcr, tv etc which mean in tech. repair.

Anyway, it just few days ago. =)
He told me, since I had study more of boardband etc... why I didnt apply for maxonline since that is more related to what I had study. However, I cant apply for any post in Starhub as I had agree with job agency not to do so, If i still remember in the form i had sign.

I know starhub need people but i cant apply for other post. The one I interviewed for seriously, no idea on tech. on cable tv unless I tot is more of account, plan etc related.

liberty_ong
23-08-2006, 02:42 AM
so can u suggest how all CCC go back home after mid night?? ton of taxi will flock in my friend..taxi uncle know their shift pattern and dont ask me how they know..
u will rotate wif other team on different off day
eg team 1 workin 12356 den team 2 work 12457
the above is just an example
b4 interviews, next time pls make sure u read up some product knowledge, company profile and job scope . here u telling us a joke?? try to implies u go for interview for a wrong job?

go read up business law on RESTRAINT OF TRADE!! well u say u got a job so dont need to apply!!!

haha now u agree *hub need ppl?? dont make me blur pls!! yr stand do change fast!! act of God?? u told me Christian dont lie??

narutoking
23-08-2006, 05:15 AM
nvm... talk to u like talking to monkey. Talk to u nicely u act like big f.

narutoking
23-08-2006, 05:18 AM
I dont need to argue with u.
I told u once and for all.
I know what all these job scope and if u dont fu.k know what i am trying to say, that's too bad.
From now, I will not post any reply to u.
No point talking to someone that act as if he know every f. thing.
No point argue with u, if u want, go argue with my interviewer. He is the one that give me all these informations. Not happy still? Then go and die lor. Anyway, dont play god. Thanks.

liberty_ong
23-08-2006, 07:07 AM
the reason i talk in this pattern is bcoz u r hostile in yr reply previously
so to prove u wrong, i use my style so no offence but to clarify thing wif ppl reading. i nv act as if i know everything but the fact is my statement make sense so prove me wrong if i say rubbish. i am telling the truth unlike some minor population.
lol.. some ppl nv contribute any truth and start to deflame ppl.
ohh i am happy when i see u getting agitated so can't die yet.. LOL christian ?? if i play god i think u have to call me father.. anyway i will still cont to upkeep the accuracy of yr reply, i mean if u state the wrong thing should accept comment but not to counter wif bet . so fact find b4 storying telling.. Cheers and sorry if i really upset u.. i'll try to tone down my hash respond

Le_coq
23-08-2006, 09:03 AM
ya u can claim taxi
off day OT at 1.5
restday OT at 2

oh tis one ah, my fren do b4, din noe it is starhub...
not bad wat, my fren's 8 hr shift can earn abt 80-90 bucks on a normal day....
go home can take taxi so transport also cut to 1/2

think if do maths properly will noe that tis job pays well...
knowledge wise my fren dunno anything also, anyhow smoke customer one :s13:

narutoking
23-08-2006, 11:40 AM
But mine is deal with hardward tech. cable tv.
Cannot smoke people one. Anyway, I also know the pay is good coz agent told me. $9/hr who dont want. But as I say, mine is offer the shift fixed at 7pm to 12pm. That's all...
Dont ask me why but that's what interviewer told me. But he never tell me is monday to sat or sun.

Le_coq
23-08-2006, 07:11 PM
But mine is deal with hardward tech. cable tv.
Cannot smoke people one. Anyway, I also know the pay is good coz agent told me. $9/hr who dont want. But as I say, mine is offer the shift fixed at 7pm to 12pm. That's all...
Dont ask me why but that's what interviewer told me. But he never tell me is monday to sat or sun.

relax relax, not saaying tat u are lying / wat jus tat my fren is in a different shift tat's all, i would take 2 jobs if i were u, take tis job 1st then another 8-5 or 9-6 job, plenty of $$ , abit tiring but tat's wat everyone's been thru isn't it.. :yawn:

when u have enuff or the day job is stable then can quit tis nite shift job, better than now no income at all...

narutoking
23-08-2006, 07:14 PM
Sorry, typo error.... it's 7pm to 12am. not 7pm to 12pm.
If getting another job sure not enough rest. 9 to 6pm then 7pm to 12am...

theoldman
23-08-2006, 07:37 PM
omg narutoking, u r working the same workplace as me! lol

u work AOS building?

narutoking
23-08-2006, 07:59 PM
huh? same? lol... ya AOS building ... sat or sunday or when bus stop no come after 6pm or something?

theoldman
23-08-2006, 08:09 PM
wad a coincidence, hehe

weekday 91 last bus 8pm, sat is 6pm
sunday 91 no service

u work as customer service is it?

Le_coq
23-08-2006, 08:16 PM
Sorry, typo error.... it's 7pm to 12am. not 7pm to 12pm.
If getting another job sure not enough rest. 9 to 6pm then 7pm to 12am...

well depends on your determination i guess, i used to work like that for abt a year plus to get $$$ for sch fees....

theoldman
23-08-2006, 08:33 PM
oh, by the way wats a CCC stand for?
well, if u want to concentrate on yr studies then $900 shld b enough ba

liberty_ong
23-08-2006, 08:51 PM
customer care consultant = ccc

pledge88
05-09-2006, 04:25 PM
at last someone say he did this on purpose.... anyway, for whatever reason, OBEY the rules here or at least OBEY the owner of this forum and owner of this thread. Dont act like a child arguing with people. Thanks.

Yes Ladies and Gentlemen , I started this thread because I wanted to warned people how the job agencies behave and worked so calm down with the arguement .

Let me shared with you my most recent bad experience with this big and well known job agency called - Adecco

A consultant called me oneday and say she like to offered me an administrative job with an well known foreign bank - ABN Amro Bank , so I ask her whats the job scope like ?
She only verbally told me is I will be doing General Administrative work for $6.50 per hour and 5 days work week for 1 month , so I thought its a good catch , so I send her my resume to pass it to the bank person incharge to look at and at the same day I was told to go down to adecco to sign the contract and start work the next day .

On the contract says that the position Im working is called temporary .
The contract only mentioned the person who is incharge of me at the bank , working hours , rate per hour and I would quit this job I have to serve a 2 weeks of notice if not I have to compensate Adecco for the 1 month period .

As the adecco consultant is so sincere then after reading the contract I sign on the spot .
I went to work on the first day at the bank then to my surprised my job is doing keying in of datas of the all the credit cards applicants into the in house system , and theres a quota
of 50 applications to meet everyday , I know that I will not be able to take up such boring job as I have done it before and I feel Im being cheated on signing up for this job but anyway I just go through this job for the first whole day .

The very next day I called the adecco consultant and ask her why the job scope she told me about is totally different from the work Im doing and she started to give me excuses and I told her I make up my mind not to continued with the job and even ask her wether I need to compensate to job agency ? and she promptly reply me that I do not need to compensate anything to the agency and she will resolve this matter with the bank person incharge . I was relieve after hearing this .

But after 3 days , a college of the adecco consultant called me and say that the bank person incharge sms them that I need to serve 2 weeks of notice with the bank if not I have to compensate the bank , I feel confused after being told about this and I told her that I have not sign any contract with the bank , I only sign a contract with Adecco so why do I have to compensate the bank now since the adecco consultant told me that I no need to compensate anything and I told her I will not pay anything to either parties and I have not even ask for my 1 day of pay working with the bank and told her if the bank want to sue me then go ahead and do so . Now Im still waiting for the addecco consultant to update me of the outcome .

Please everyone here must be careful of such doings by these job adencies , you got to read the contract carefully before you sign on it and ask all necessary questions about the job scope of the jobs that they are offering to you .

chengsun
05-09-2006, 05:26 PM
Great, at least you show me that you are not that kid.
Bad experience, but I tot addecco specialise more in Japs kind of job?

rAcEr
05-09-2006, 05:57 PM
ehm. i feel that adecco has e right to make u work for 2 more weeks, regardless of what the consultant told u. this is becos u signed the contract with them and this is what it is stated.

besides, "data entry" is definitely considered part of "general admin" work.

tough luck, kenna cheated by the consultant. haiz

rabbitpiglet88
05-09-2006, 09:18 PM
Yes Ladies and Gentlemen , I started this thread because I wanted to warned people how the job agencies behave and worked so calm down with the arguement .

Let me shared with you my most recent bad experience with this big and well known job agency called - Adecco

A consultant called me oneday and say she like to offered me an administrative job with an well known foreign bank - ABN Amro Bank , so I ask her whats the job scope like ?
She only verbally told me is I will be doing General Administrative work for $6.50 per hour and 5 days work week for 1 month , so I thought its a good catch , so I send her my resume to pass it to the bank person incharge to look at and at the same day I was told to go down to adecco to sign the contract and start work the next day .

On the contract says that the position Im working is called temporary .
The contract only mentioned the person who is incharge of me at the bank , working hours , rate per hour and I would quit this job I have to serve a 2 weeks of notice if not I have to compensate Adecco for the 1 month period .

As the adecco consultant is so sincere then after reading the contract I sign on the spot .
I went to work on the first day at the bank then to my surprised my job is doing keying in of datas of the all the credit cards applicants into the in house system , and theres a quota
of 50 applications to meet everyday , I know that I will not be able to take up such boring job as I have done it before and I feel Im being cheated on signing up for this job but anyway I just go through this job for the first whole day .

The very next day I called the adecco consultant and ask her why the job scope she told me about is totally different from the work Im doing and she started to give me excuses and I told her I make up my mind not to continued with the job and even ask her wether I need to compensate to job agency ? and she promptly reply me that I do not need to compensate anything to the agency and she will resolve this matter with the bank person incharge . I was relieve after hearing this .

But after 3 days , a college of the adecco consultant called me and say that the bank person incharge sms them that I need to serve 2 weeks of notice with the bank if not I have to compensate the bank , I feel confused after being told about this and I told her that I have not sign any contract with the bank , I only sign a contract with Adecco so why do I have to compensate the bank now since the adecco consultant told me that I no need to compensate anything and I told her I will not pay anything to either parties and I have not even ask for my 1 day of pay working with the bank and told her if the bank want to sue me then go ahead and do so . Now Im still waiting for the addecco consultant to update me of the outcome .

Please everyone here must be careful of such doings by these job adencies , you got to read the contract carefully before you sign on it and ask all necessary questions about the job scope of the jobs that they are offering to you .
Yes, Agree with you. Dont understand why those job agent do such thing just to meet their sales quota. Just like what happen to me with other agency.

pledge88
06-09-2006, 10:59 PM
Thanks , u too can share your bad experience here in this thread

Yes, Agree with you. Dont understand why those job agent do such thing just to meet their sales quota. Just like what happen to me with other agency.

rabbitpiglet88
07-09-2006, 01:43 AM
Thanks , u too can share your bad experience here in this thread
Ok... this happen with Recruit Express agency at Jurong East.
Which I went there for my very first interview with one of the agent there which they posted the job ads somewhere I forgotten where and I sent them my resume. When I reach there before the time given to me, I fill in the form they gave me and after filling up of the form, I asked for the agent I am having appointment with and they told me, she is not around as she having lunch. So I wait... and after the given timing + 30 mins... at last, she is back.... so I am happy waiting since the job I applied for is what I looking for, she asked me to go to the interview room for interview and fill in the company form... took me 1hr ++ just for this interview ... this is not that importance but what the agent say is so different from what the company told me. Agent told me that it's 8 to 5.30pm job, 5 days a week, Fresh grad. can apply as training provided... I am so happy about it even the pay is real low... I told her, in life, as long as u happy with what u r doing, even it's low pay, it's fine... so I look forward for the company interview... after days.... I am so happy to go down for interview with the company...when in the interview, the interviewers told me, timing is not fixed... sometimes 24 hrs... pay remain the same low... and they say one thing which I am worry of... They dont look for fresh grad. as they worry that they might not able to do the job well. ... during the interview, they told me, u will be working in danger areas where those "bombing" stuffs are etc... they ask me if I dont mind.... after talking for so long... only thing is everything is find but only can i do the job a not, it's 4 yrs long contract ... so they worry for those fresh grad. and me too worry if I cant do it how? Training is minor as they need those got exp. type not fresh ones... so I go there is a waste trip...

What I trying to say so far is, is it all agents told us job scope etc different from company interviewers? If so, I think it's best to find job ourself but after all, going to job agent would be still faster than apply ourself ... what u think?

Rushifaa
07-09-2006, 09:50 AM
kaoz...
low pay...
4 year contract...
24h shift no OT pay...
Don't want fresh grad...
Good luck to this company...

Clarence80
07-09-2006, 01:33 PM
hmm so are there any "still okay" agencies out there?

doink24
07-09-2006, 04:30 PM
so hows the job environment ar?? cause i also looking for job after i ord...but one thing is Jan i'll b studying @ SIM. But the timetable a bit #$@#$ one day 3 hrs, only need to go for 3 days....so dunno can work wad also..

rabbitpiglet88
07-09-2006, 06:23 PM
can try work as customer services operator ... think it's good for those study SIM etc..

doink24
08-09-2006, 12:42 AM
hmm issit customer care consultant???

rabbitpiglet88
08-09-2006, 01:39 AM
hmm... customer services operator ... where they answer incoming calls... hear some earning quite a lot.

doink24
08-09-2006, 08:18 AM
hmm think its the same bah....can ani one verify???

liberty_ong
08-09-2006, 10:15 PM
hmm think its the same bah....can ani one verify???

ya.. call center env are quite well paid..
mayb due to reason eg. graveyard hrs , call vol.
choosing a good company is also impt to determine the pay
o level ard 1.5-1.6 gross.
but i dont see much career prospect in this field

rabbitpiglet88
08-09-2006, 10:20 PM
well... about career prospect i am not sure but however, heard from my sis that one of her friend in citibank also study full time SIM... meaning
Full time work + Full time study... she earning $3K++ a mth... think abt it... it's gd money.

doink24
08-09-2006, 11:17 PM
can werk liddat meh?? care further elaborate??

rabbitpiglet88
08-09-2006, 11:28 PM
can one... as their working hrs is different ... maybe she told them she is study full time in SIM ... which I believe SIM study days unlike poly or nus etc ... SIm study days is 3 days each week right? Then as long as u able to work 5 days each week = full time ma... so maybe she work nite to morning then go school etc... think of it, if I were her, I will do the same... $3K++ a mth worth it

liberty_ong
08-09-2006, 11:30 PM
i heard sim got full time at night so tat explain her case.. or if day time juz find night shift lor ...i think
prospect as in agent range btw 100-300 depends...
den team manager or watever take care of btw 10-20 agent den snr manager take care of 5 manager and lastly mayb the head of dept take care of snr manager
in the case of 200 agent tat will make up 20 manager 4 snr manager 1 head of dept
so its like 200 ppl fighting for 25 mgmt post..if the company dont practice internal promotion chance r slimmer.. whereas a dept in office env seems to me there is a higher chance of promotion
but 1 interesting fact is turnover rate for call center r high mayb due to typical singaporean cannot handle its kind..

doink24
09-09-2006, 10:49 AM
yeah true....lol maybe when i get mi pink ic (in one mths time), i go apply for starhub care consultant le, say maybe can do nite shift one lei...lol

rabbitpiglet88
09-09-2006, 11:44 AM
yes, can also... it's $9/hr.. not easy to get that much per hr job... so go for it. =)

liberty_ong
09-09-2006, 01:17 PM
haha.. i mean they are not offering 9/hr for nothing
p/t i think still ok lar..
i came accross call center job offered to me at 15 per hr
so its like ther are better pay job..
mayb use its as an experience den if got better offer den grab..
ever wonder y they seems to be hiring consultant ever mth.. haha

rabbitpiglet88
09-09-2006, 09:28 PM
yep =) if study full time and want to do part time, then go for it.

pledge88
04-10-2006, 12:41 PM
I wonder if there is any recruit consultants reading this thread , hope I can also let those recruit agencies read about this thread and let them know what we candidates have to say and feel about their services

rabbitpiglet88
04-10-2006, 01:23 PM
well... there are some recruit agents in here but cant remember their nick... but there are

luckyboi
15-06-2007, 10:38 PM
Singapore's Worst Job Agencies

(1) XcelLink Pte Ltd - Consultants not serious and giggle during interview , let candidates make wasted trips to their office , stuck up attitude

(2) Advent Resource Consultancy Pte. Ltd - Consultants very rude when calling candidates on the phone , attitude problems , lecture candidates on the phone , hurried interview with candidates at their office , not sincere

(3) Recruit Express Pte Ltd - Consultants let candidates make wasted trips to their office , cater only to candidates with high qualifications

(4) Kelly Services Pte Ltd - Consultants let candidates make wasted trips to their office , stuck up attitude , Look down on candidates with low qualifications

(5) Drake International (S) Ltd - Consultants unsincere , call candidates down to their office for lectures instead of offering candidates a job

(6) Adecco - Consultants unsincere , cheats , Cater only to candidates with high qualifications

(7) GMP Recruitment Service - Consultants with stuck up attitude , Look down on candidates with low qualifications

(8) People Search Pte Ltd - Consultants unsincere , let candidates make wasted trips to their office

(9) P J Human Resources Pte Ltd - Small job agency which hires inexperience foreigners as consultants , Boss with stuck up attitude , very choosy in selecting candidates

(10) ST Recruitment Centre - Consultants unsincere , stuck up attitude , take it or leave it attitude

(11) Simply Better Employment Services - Consultants using aggressive methods to get candidates to take up jobs that don't suit them , kept calling up and pester candidates on the phone

(12) Tempserv Personnel Services - Called candidates up in a lazy manner , take it or leave it atittude

(13) ACHIEVE CAREER CONSULTANT PTE LTD - Act Sophisicated , Stuck up atittude , look down on candidates with low qualifications

This is what I experience with all these job agencies

Hope anyone can also put up their own list of worst Spore job agencies
basically u had listed all the major job agencies in singapore alreaady... so conclusion => there isn't any "customer service" in singapore...

iamalwaysin
15-06-2007, 10:40 PM
i tink Tempserv and Achieve Career are okay...basically have done several jobs with them...but one thing i got to comment..Recruit Express is really....sigh..nothing to say, keep making ppl go down for nothing

StL_Jx3n
16-06-2007, 12:50 AM
Ok, since this is a thread on Recruitment/Placement Agencies, i'll let u guys for some insights. NOTE: I've tried to read all the posts but am too tired to read ALL, so pls pardon me if anyone has posted what I'm gonna post.

Agencies are helping companies to source for suitable/matching candidates for any positions they might have. Usually, companies which rely fully on agencies seldom advertise, thus, they will depend on agencies to help them fulfill their opened positions. BUT, there are still some companies which use agencies as a benchmark for candidates as well, this cant be helped... industry practice i guess.

Consultants work on commission, this is reason why they could be aggressive. Sometimes, even if they feel that you are suitable, even after viewing your resume and interviewed you, and have helped you amended your CV, and sent over to the companies, the latter might even find you not suitable. Reasons can vary. E.g. they have demographic preferences which were not made known to consultants. Consultants might not follow up with you on the status bcoz they deal with alot of candidates everyday! They where got so free call each and everyone? Even then, it is their job to do so. But remember, no one is perfect.

As for the commission or recruitment fee wise, i think someone has highlighted it. As for the attitude of the consultants, yes I do agree some are arrogant. They probably deal with too many professionals until they got too sick and tired to carry on upholding their professional image. Just like Customer Services personnels sick of complaining customers per se.

Lets talk about candidates then. Some are really asking for too much or are too indecisive. Consultants have targets to fulfill. Although as much as they would like to give career advices, some dont even want to listen or are not convinced. Of coz, there are exceptions. It depends on who is serving you and how you behave in the interview room.

My advice to job seekers are; Don't give up hope on sending your resumes to agencies, even those in the top 10 list. Yes, i agree luck plays an important role in landing you a suitable job. But first, please write your resume properly! Make it very precise what kind of job or career advancement you are looking at. Open your options to contract or temp jobs if they suit your future career path. Please include ALL particulars, preferences and write your resume as detailed as possible, but not every single ass details like what is your previous company's hierachy like lah! But it is good to describe a little about your previous company's background though. Agencies have tons of jobs available that other companies do not. Build a good relationship with a responsible consultant and he/she might be able to help you along the way.

Agencies NEED to see (interview) you 1st before they can send you to your prospective employers. This is one of their policy and if they omit this portion, why is there even a need to do 1st level screening of candidates which the companies are paying for? Of coz, some agencies tend to skip this part to speed up the process, but this will only apply to jobs which do not require outlook presentation, body language skills and external comms skills. This is entirely up to the discretion of the agency though.

During your interview with the agency, DO NOT accept ANY job they recommend. Ensure that you are firm in your career path and see if the advices they gave are in accordance to your expected career path. If it is not, the consultant is not qualified to speak to you. Thus, do not take up ANY job or feel obliged. Remember, be as firm as possible, in a diplomatic manner of coz! Try to ask as many details as possible over the phone 1st before agreeing on an interview, so as not to waste your time. If the consultant is not cooperative enough, same thing, dont waste your time on him/her.

Most agencies do not have very comprehensive database system. Therefore, do not be surprised if you registered with them in year 2002 and your resume is being overlooked in year 2004, this is especially so for temp or contract positions as these positions require speedy fulfillment. Therefore, it is not possible for consultants to check their database for old resumes. They will rather advertise or ask for referrals from their candidates.

As for why companies are relying on agencies and not advertise themselves, imagine the amount of resumes they will receive in a day! It can go up to 200/day for a general position like Administration Assistant!! Also, if you do the math, hiring an in-house recruiter is much more expensive than outsourcing to an agency.

FYI, i was a consultant before, and I'm in HR now. No doubt it is impossible to highlight all issues here, I'll be glad to answer any queries pertaining to doubts on agencies.

May I also reiterate that I do not support Recruitment/Placement Agencies entirely, or am siding with any parties. The one thing everyone have to know is, getting the right job is never an easy task. HOWEVER, do you even know what is your ideal job?? Ask yourself this question first and look towards the light at the end of the tunnel.

I hope I have answered all or if not, most of the doubts you may have. PMs will be entertained if you ask sensible questions... hahaha!

p/s: Im cannot say im an expert in this field, but with my experience, i guess i can help one way or another... hopefully!

StL_Jx3n
16-06-2007, 01:00 AM
Btw, I was here coz I placed a job ad here for an IT position and I got good responses. Even better than advertising on JobsDB. Hahaha... happened to browse thru this thread and hopefully enlightened anyone. Cheers!

rAcEr
16-06-2007, 01:56 AM
very enlightening and good post...thumbs up!

As candidates, we have to empathise with the recruitment consultants as well...

StL_Jx3n
16-06-2007, 02:26 PM
very enlightening and good post...thumbs up!

As candidates, we have to empathise with the recruitment consultants as well...
Thank you!

Also to add, some agencies specialize in specific industries or specific target groups. If you walk-in to an agency, please be sure that they specialize in your area of interest. Some consultants specialize in high-end positions only, and if you suay suay kena interviewed by them, of coz they will think you are a waste of their time.

Therefore, if you still feel that agencies might be able to land you a suitable job(and may I emphasize again that agencies really do have tons of jobs available, be it at different branches or with different consultants), talk to any consultants and ask them specifically if they specializes in your area of interest or otherwise, who and where to go to optimize your interview session.

One benefit of getting help from a consultant is that he/she knows how to psycho potential employers in getting you that job you want. Or they have access to other companies on good lobang.

I would also like to clarify that not every consultants or agencies are interested only with candidates with high qualifications. There are still jobs that only require GCE or Diploma holders. Trust me, there are some employers who only go for Dip and NOT Deg holders. The key here is, did you enter the right agency? Did you speak to the correct consultant? If necessary, speak to them over the telephone to find out more 1st before going down to meet them. Your visit might be a pleasant and fulfilling one... :s13:

Gd luck!

arigatoast
16-06-2007, 03:09 PM
yeah true....lol maybe when i get mi pink ic (in one mths time), i go apply for starhub care consultant le, say maybe can do nite shift one lei...lolhi, how to go abt applying that job ar?

uni_user
16-06-2007, 11:00 PM
FYI, i was a consultant before, and I'm in HR now.

are you from CAXXXRTXXXX ? now in wesr area ?

ARC quite good.. i gt de job offer but i rejected

xcellink.. my worse experience.

khenwooi
16-06-2007, 11:34 PM
is there normally CPF for those 1 / 2 mth promoters??

buaysaikum
16-06-2007, 11:58 PM

xcellink hahah,,,,,.... you once worked for them?

StL_Jx3n
17-06-2007, 12:57 AM

Nope, wasn't from there. Mine was a local SME set-up.

StL_Jx3n
17-06-2007, 01:00 AM
is there normally CPF for those 1 / 2 mth promoters??
Usually no. Salary is too little for CPF contribution.

Iron_Maiden
18-06-2007, 05:59 PM
Better dont go to agent. They earn a lot from u. No point going to agent.

StL_Jx3n
18-06-2007, 10:10 PM
Better dont go to agent. They earn a lot from u. No point going to agent.
I think someone has mentioned before on how agencies earn their living. Recruitment Fee are charged to Employers on a one-time basis for permanent placement and contract placement which pays candidates on a monthly-figure basis.

If you are working on a temp/contract assignment on an hourly basis, companies will pay the agency S$10.00/hour and the agency in turn pays you S$7.00/hour. Considering an O-Level Customer Service position, S$7.00/hour is considered fair market rate. The S$3.00 difference is considered as recruitment fee paid by the company to the agency, of course, other factors like CPF are also paid. Please also bear in mind that agencies will pay you first, then they chase payment from the employers. They are taking a bad-debt risk here.

If your reason for not going to an agency is due to how much agencies are earning, then may I ask who in the right mind will provide FREE business/service?

In any case, job seekers are still at liberty to choose how they seek for that ideal job. And I also emphasized that I'm not siding with either party and if you do the math, there is really no harm approaching agencies for job assistance.

Like every businesses/ service providers, there are black sheeps around and if you think their service sucks, post your comment freely on this forum. *Just my 2-cent worth*