View Full Version : NAS-01G Gigabit SOHO NAS
nightstalker2
10-02-2007, 01:56 AM
i haven't really explored the NAS yet (just got it today), but you mean that the NAS is actually a linux box?
hmm... if so, then there's hope!
Lucky123
10-02-2007, 09:49 AM
If BT does not work or not working properly, then no point getting this NAS. Will be seeking Buffalo ones instead..... :o
nightstalker2
10-02-2007, 11:48 AM
it's runs but very slowly. It's probably some configuration issue. Some of the folks here have also reported running BT successfully, although I don't know if they are in SG.
History
10-02-2007, 02:23 PM
If BT does not work or not working properly, then no point getting this NAS. Will be seeking Buffalo ones instead..... :o
Yeah i am running torrentflux on my planex now. It is the same software which buffalo normally used.
Speed wise ~10kB/sec. Therefore even if u buy buffalo it does not guarantee BT will run well.
Vulpix
10-02-2007, 09:27 PM
Which is the easiest NAS to use? I'm interested in getting one...
History
10-02-2007, 10:06 PM
Planex i guess. Kuro requires some linux knowledge.
Planex is out of the box, click click click then can use already
Lucky123
13-02-2007, 12:20 PM
List price by distributor is $199. So don't get conned to buying at higher price. :)
albertlee
13-02-2007, 08:46 PM
Finally, managed to get Debian install into this box. Now running TorrentFlux with speed > 20KB.
History
13-02-2007, 08:59 PM
Finally, managed to get Debian install into this box. Now running TorrentFlux with speed > 20KB.
Haha I also install debian with torrentflux. You patched to bit tornado 3.18 for encryption? Mine ran for a day then seems to hang, now i gave up as it seems to slow down the whole NAS.
Currently my box running itune server, apache, mysql, php, xoops and a photo gallery on the NAS's linux system(not on debian).
Photo gallery seems a bit slow but workable. Maybe next i will run a blog site in it for fun. :s13:
Cool toy.
albertlee
13-02-2007, 09:18 PM
I'm still using TF v2.1, haven't got the time to upgrade to v2.3. Not interested in Itune server, Xoops or Photo Gallery. My main objective is to get BT to work as it should.
BTW, do you know how to gain access to the default PCI web admin?
History
13-02-2007, 09:39 PM
When u telnet in do the following.
killall httpd
httpd -p 8080&
After this ur old web admin will be at http://nas-01g:8080/
BTW torrentflux UI looks cooler than the uldonkey right?
History
13-02-2007, 09:45 PM
Oh i just remember something.
Actually it is better to run the apache on other port and planex admin at default 80.
There will be some error in planex web admin if run at other port. The error is very minor just that after doing some setting the page will not forward properly.
albertlee
13-02-2007, 10:55 PM
Thanks buddy for the info.
Totally agreed with you, MLDonkey suck big time. How to upgrade to TF v2.3?
So far, I got good speed with private site.
History
13-02-2007, 11:13 PM
Upgrade i not too sure as i did a fresh install from a clean debian image.
I guess u have to check torrentflux for detail on how to upgrade the old db to new db(if there is some changes)
Maybe u want to upgrade bittornado only instead. Easier also just need to replace existing tornado folder will do. Even torrentflux 2.3 dont come with bittornado 3.18, have to update ownself.
How urs bt speed? Can hit over 100k?
albertlee
14-02-2007, 11:46 AM
BT 3.18 is still experimental, so may pass on this and try 3.17 instead.
Yes, can hit > 120K on a single torrent with 4 other running concurrently.
History, any other package worth looking into?
History
14-02-2007, 12:19 PM
Most linux package can be installed depending on ur own needs.
Like smtp, pop, webmail, phpsqladmin, cvs, vpn, ssh,....
Almost anything under the sun can be install only to be limited by the CPU and memory requirement.
albertlee
16-02-2007, 05:16 PM
Currently my box running itune server, apache, mysql, php, xoops and a photo gallery on the NAS's linux system(not on debian).
Can you care to elaborate on how you able to do this?
Lucky123
16-02-2007, 11:39 PM
Planex came up with a new model NAS-01G750 which houses a 750GB SATA HDD. It is also sold without the HDD but will accept SATA HDD. Sounds good to invest on a SATA model. :)
gosh, this is good news.
any idea how much it cost?
History
21-02-2007, 09:23 AM
Can you care to elaborate on how you able to do this?
The box itself is running linux so u can download those tarball of application u need and untar in it directly.
Take a look at your current backdoor. See how it start the telnetd service. To automatically start the service on restart, u need to insert some extra lines to start it just like how telnetd is started.
Have fun. If anything goes wrong just hit the reset. No worry. :D
albertlee
21-02-2007, 03:02 PM
The box itself is running linux so u can download those tarball of application u need and untar in it directly.
Take a look at your current backdoor. See how it start the telnetd service. To automatically start the service on restart, u need to insert some extra lines to start it just like how telnetd is started.
Have fun. If anything goes wrong just hit the reset. No worry. :D
Bros, I wish you could be more specific as I'm not familiar with Linux.
What I'm interested to know is how you manage to setup all these services w/o Debian and where to install it to? Share folder?
PM me to discuss. TIA.
History
23-02-2007, 11:33 AM
Selling off my Planex box currently. Anyone interested can refer to this thread
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1544086
History
23-02-2007, 11:53 AM
Bros, I wish you could be more specific as I'm not familiar with Linux.
What I'm interested to know is how you manage to setup all these services w/o Debian and where to install it to? Share folder?
PM me to discuss. TIA.
U can put the tar file in any folder u like, it does not matter as it is just like a zip file in windows that u have to unzip/untar.
But unlike windows where after u unzip u simply click setup.exe or install.exe, in linux is not so straight forward unless someone has package for u.
Since Planex is using some strip down version of linux, u have to download a tar file and untar to any folder of ur choice. From there on, u can read the guide of the application u are installing. Normally they will indicate what kind of file to copy to what directory.
For example to setup an itune server, copying of certain files to /etc/ is critical as it is the default place the application will read its configuration. Of course u can specify any other directory. Ultimately it all depends on the application u are installing.
Using debian is much easier as a simple command of "apt-get install xyz_application" will complete everything or most thing.
I am not a expert in linux too. In fact this is the first or second time i am touching it.
Hope it helps u in any way.
Lucky123
23-02-2007, 01:08 PM
Selling off my Planex box currently. Anyone interested can refer to this thread
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1544086
Wah so fast selling ? I just got mine... =:p
History
23-02-2007, 01:15 PM
Savaged a P4 machine which can house lots more harddisk and run VM. More flexible.
But in term of stability NAS is better. Never need to reboot at all. Requires less maintainance.
Lucky123
23-02-2007, 01:24 PM
U can put the tar file in any folder u like, it does not matter as it is just like a zip file in windows that u have to unzip/untar.
But unlike windows where after u unzip u simply click setup.exe or install.exe, in linux is not so straight forward unless someone has package for u.
Since Planex is using some strip down version of linux, u have to download a tar file and untar to any folder of ur choice. From there on, u can read the guide of the application u are installing. Normally they will indicate what kind of file to copy to what directory.
For example to setup an itune server, copying of certain files to /etc/ is critical as it is the default place the application will read its configuration. Of course u can specify any other directory. Ultimately it all depends on the application u are installing.
Using debian is much easier as a simple command of "apt-get install xyz_application" will complete everything or most thing.
I am not a expert in linux too. In fact this is the first or second time i am touching it.
Hope it helps u in any way.
If this is the case, can we say just install eg. TF v2.3 into it and able to get it to work ?
:)
History
23-02-2007, 01:35 PM
Should be ok but there is some dependence
TF => Bit tornado => Python => a compiler.
So either u have to install a compiler to compile python for PowerPC or u pre compile it outside first and put it in.
Lucky123
24-02-2007, 11:01 AM
So either u have to install a compiler to compile python for PowerPC or u pre compile it outside first and put it in.
I think I will probably give it a miss. Probably wait for firmware update to improve on the BT. I believe the reason for the pathetic BT performance is lack of encryption. Currently using Sancho to manage the BT. This program is so much friendlier and advanced than the crappy one from Planex. Can make alot of adjustment to the BT on this program but still not able to optimise. :s27:
albertlee
24-02-2007, 02:42 PM
Don't forget TF need Apache and MySQL to work. The Debian image have the necessary compiler and provided you have a box running PPC, it would not be possible to compile it outside. Even the MLDonkey (MD) provided by PCI is compiled in a Kuro box!
I think I will probably give it a miss. Probably wait for firmware update to improve on the BT. I believe the reason for the pathetic BT performance is lack of encryption. Currently using Sancho to manage the BT. This program is so much friendlier and advanced than the crappy one from Planex. Can make alot of adjustment to the BT on this program but still not able to optimise.
Don't think the poor performance of MD is due to lack of encryption. I believed this version (v2.7.7) is flawed. The version 0.3.17 in BitTornado do not have encryption and yet I can hit >200K !!!
I have attempt to compile the latest MLDonkey (v2.8.3) but the compiled file doesn't work, not sure what is the reason. :s11:
History
24-02-2007, 03:54 PM
Don't forget TF need Apache and MySQL to work. The Debian image have the necessary compiler and provided you have a box running PPC, it would not be possible to compile it outside. Even the MLDonkey (MD) provided by PCI is compiled in a Kuro box!
Apache and MySQL in planex's OS is not a problem. I already have a copy running of them running with XOOPS and photo gallery
albertlee
24-02-2007, 04:18 PM
Apache and MySQL in planex's OS is not a problem. I already have a copy running of them running with XOOPS and photo gallery
I know that, was trying to point out that TF need both of these to work. And if one need to compile MLDonkey it need to be in PPC platform, compiling it on Intel platform will not work on NAS box.
dead_duck
24-02-2007, 05:33 PM
any one manage to get a 500G HD working on this PCI NAS?
Lucky123
25-02-2007, 11:01 AM
any one manage to get a 500G HD working on this PCI NAS?
Mine is running on a 500 GB hitachi HDD.
albertlee
25-02-2007, 11:59 AM
Mine is running on a 500 GB hitachi HDD.
Oh man, mine is only half of your :s27:
mak888
25-02-2007, 04:30 PM
Hi.
Anyone know how to reset the settings of MLDonkey on the NAS 01G? I can't access the MLDonkey webpage anymore. 192.168.1.100:4080.
I've tried 1) Restore Factory Settings 2) Removing Share folder 3) Disabling and re-enabling P2P.
Is there away to fix this issue without formatting the hard disk? I've got too much data inside.
Any suggestions???
CHeers! :s12:
Lucky123
25-02-2007, 05:24 PM
Hi.
Anyone know how to reset the settings of MLDonkey on the NAS 01G? I can't access the MLDonkey webpage anymore. 192.168.1.100:4800.
I've tried 1) Restore Factory Settings 2) Removing Share folder 3) Disabling and re-enabling P2P.
Is there away to fix this issue without formatting the hard disk? I've got too much data inside.
Any suggestions???
CHeers! :s12:
Tried restarting ?
mak888
25-02-2007, 05:56 PM
Tried restarting ?
Yep, tried many times...
Lucky123
25-02-2007, 05:57 PM
Yep, tried many times...
After resetting to factory default, did you update the firmware again ?
btw, the port is 4080 right ? Not 4800.
AsusEpoxy
25-02-2007, 08:26 PM
there's a way...u add file until the NAS hdd is 100% full...den u restart,it will be unable to load the preferences and will default back to original one...found dis out by accident few days ago
mak888
25-02-2007, 10:23 PM
there's a way...u add file until the NAS hdd is 100% full...den u restart,it will be unable to load the preferences and will default back to original one...found dis out by accident few days ago
Thanks for the tip. Well, I've got a 500GB hdd and I've only got 200GB of data in it. It's gonna take ages to fill it up. Any other suggestion?
Cheers!
albertlee
25-02-2007, 10:27 PM
@mak888, try the following:
1. Disabled BitTorrent
2. Reload "ntx_libra.tgz" and restart NAS
3. Re-enabled BitTorrent
Lucky123
25-02-2007, 11:54 PM
Damn......now my turn not able to access the MLdonkey.......wahpiang..
Sancho also cannot access saying "Core not found" Siao liao lor.... :s27:
History
26-02-2007, 08:13 AM
MLDonkey CMI loh, the whole ui give ppl a buggy feeling.
At least with sancho is feels slightly better.
majere2sg
26-02-2007, 09:10 AM
Just got a NAS-01G a few days ago. upgraded to the Nov Firmware, MLdonkey download range from 10-100k+ so far... Saw from the earlier post that able to install debian into the NAS-01G, i also go into the link to another chinese forum, saw that by typing exit, the debian will be gone? if so what is the purpose of installing debian and running it only when u are inside the telnet session ? :s11:
History
26-02-2007, 09:44 AM
Just got a NAS-01G a few days ago. upgraded to the Nov Firmware, MLdonkey download range from 10-100k+ so far... Saw from the earlier post that able to install debian into the NAS-01G, i also go into the link to another chinese forum, saw that by typing exit, the debian will be gone? if so what is the purpose of installing debian and running it only when u are inside the telnet session ? :s11:
It is not gone. Service running in there should still be available.
As to ur PM. The version of MySQL, apache,... all can use what u like. Just make sure what u download is for powerPC.
Easier still the chinese forum u visited has packaged a mysql, apache,... for planex os. put it into ur share folder and it will unzip itself and run.
History
26-02-2007, 10:03 AM
BTW i am selling off my Planex NAS-01G.
Anyone interested can pm me.
majere2sg
26-02-2007, 10:25 AM
It is not gone. Service running in there should still be available.
As to ur PM. The version of MySQL, apache,... all can use what u like. Just make sure what u download is for powerPC.
Easier still the chinese forum u visited has packaged a mysql, apache,... for planex os. put it into ur share folder and it will unzip itself and run.
oic.. coz i downloaded a package of mysql for powerpc yesterday. unzipped it in /mnt/user/local/ folder, did the sym link to /mnt/usr/local/mysql.. try to run the mysql_install_db script.. getting error like ./bin/mysqlld not found etc.. but i have already add the path to /mnt/user/local/mysql/bin and i am running the script at /mnt/user/local/mysql using scripts/mysql_install_db .. wondering what is wrong..
:s11:
even when i am trying to run mysqlld at /mnt/usr/local/mysql/bin, it also tells me the file not found. I did a ls and the file is there.. could it be the binary of mysqlld which i downloaded is not meant for NAS-01G OS ?
albertlee
26-02-2007, 03:49 PM
Encountered the same problem as majere2sg, able to compile and run the latest MLDonkey in Debian but cannot work when exit from Bash shell. Any Linux expert able to throw some light?
Lucky123
26-02-2007, 10:40 PM
sianz....did a format to solve the problem.. :s27:
mak888
27-02-2007, 09:34 PM
sianz....did a format to solve the problem.. :s27:
Hi Lucky123,
Any chance of you zipping up your MLDonkey folder and passing it to me. It can save me the hassle of formatting my drive... (Add MLDonkey to you shares and then you can see all the files inside).
Or anyone else out there willing to help...
Cheers!
albertlee
27-02-2007, 11:38 PM
Bro mak888, did you try my method or not? You can simply download the ntx_libra.tgz file from PCI site, it contains all the files needed to run MLDonkey.
BTW, there is no need to reformat to get MLDonkey to work.
wlchew
01-03-2007, 01:12 AM
Hi Everyone,
Just purchased a NAS-01, I have followed this thread to configure and upgraded to v2.00 and uPNP.
done with Sancho..insert the seed but it seem like never able to connect to any donkey/BT server.
I have open my old router(SMC)
TCP 6882
TCP 4662
UDP 4666
TCP 9642
UDP 9642
after running for one day..no action at all.
any advise that I have miss-out something here?
Please advise..thanks in advance.
albertlee
01-03-2007, 01:38 AM
Bro wlchew, my advice is to dump MLDonkey completely and switch to TorrentFlux. Got very good speed (> 500KB) on a private site. :)
LOL, you joined on July 2000 and this is your first post :s13:
majere2sg
01-03-2007, 09:18 AM
Bro wlchew, my advice is to dump MLDonkey completely and switch to TorrentFlux. Got very good speed (> 500KB) on a private site. :)
Any advise on steps to set up TorrentFlux ? Do we need to install debian and get it running first ? Thanks.
History
01-03-2007, 09:28 AM
Any advise on steps to set up TorrentFlux ? Do we need to install debian and get it running first ? Thanks.
Yes, with debian it would be very much easier.
wlchew
01-03-2007, 11:24 AM
Thanks Bro! but my question is..MLDonkey being slow(my impression) should able to "connect" to BT/ed2k server right..but after one day,..no action from all 3 seeds..and I wonder is there something wrong with my old smc (I am able to download BT/ed2k before with PC) so, there should be not problem. I have restart the NAS a few time..no response.
what I have done :
1) DMZ to the NAS(xxx.xxx.2.100)[NAS]
2) open most of the port as stated.
3) I am behind another FW (xxx.xxx.3.3)[my pc], I uses Sancho to dump my seed into NAS.
But, seems like SanCho nor the NAS is unable to connect to BT/ed2k server..i am puzzle!
PS: why my 1st post..becos..no problem until now with NAS.. :s13:
wlchew
01-03-2007, 11:30 AM
Yes, with debian it would be very much easier.
Bro, mind if you can provide me the link or a simple impromptu to debian. I have ZERO knowledge in Linux..so..it is an alien to me.. ;)
and, is it normal for MLdonkey with NO connection at all after one day or actually, my FW can having problem??( I have reboot both my FW/NAS n-times..) I am stuck with it now..
Lucky123
01-03-2007, 12:15 PM
Bro, mind if you can provide me the link or a simple impromptu to debian. I have ZERO knowledge in Linux..so..it is an alien to me.. ;)
and, is it normal for MLdonkey with NO connection at all after one day or actually, my FW can having problem??( I have reboot both my FW/NAS n-times..) I am stuck with it now..
Maybe our kind bro albertlee or history can list down the steps here on installing debian and followed by torrentflux ? Some of us have problem going through the chinese site and understand their description. Since both of you guys have succeeded and pretty much experts in managing the NAS, your help will be greatly appreciated.... :D
Lucky123
01-03-2007, 12:21 PM
Hi Lucky123,
Any chance of you zipping up your MLDonkey folder and passing it to me. It can save me the hassle of formatting my drive... (Add MLDonkey to you shares and then you can see all the files inside).
Or anyone else out there willing to help...
Cheers!
I have some problem with my MLdonkey. There appears a same folder in the main folder and each folder carries another folder....causing an infinite loop of folders. I have to reformat the HDD to solve this problem and at the moment I wouldn't want to mess with the system again until I am very sure what I am doing will not cause any more problem. I know nuts of linux so dare not take the risk. Sorry bro... :)
wlchew
01-03-2007, 01:00 PM
hi Bro Luck123,
so your NAS can start downloading rite? I dun even see it "moving" after 48hrs.. :s11:
what could be the problem?? Firewall(FW) is DMZ and all 6882,4662,etc... are all open to NAS(IP)...I am puzzle now..
any advise and suggestion?Btw, I am using Cable-modem :D is that the cause?
albertlee
01-03-2007, 04:30 PM
Maybe our kind bro albertlee or history can list down the steps here on installing debian and followed by torrentflux ? Some of us have problem going through the chinese site and understand their description. Since both of you guys have succeeded and pretty much experts in managing the NAS, your help will be greatly appreciated.... :D
Man, you think I'm good in chinese, I failed my 2nd language during school days but watching Mediacorp and Taiwan drama serial help me to improve ;)
Anyway, jokes aside. Will list down the steps once I have more time to spare. I'm still trying to figure out how to get LAMP to work outside of Debian env.
I have some problem with my MLdonkey. There appears a same folder in the main folder and each folder carries another folder....causing an infinite loop of folders. I have to reformat the HDD to solve this problem and at the moment I wouldn't want to mess with the system again until I am very sure what I am doing will not cause any more problem. I know nuts of linux so dare not take the risk.
If you screwed up on MLDonkey, just telnet into NAS and remove all files in /mnt folder, there is no need to reformat. After which, reload back the ntx_libra.tgz file and restart NAS.
I already got tons of stuff on the HD and wouldn't want to go thru the trouble of backing up my data and restore it everytime MLDonkey cronked up.
Bro wlchew, have you tried assigning different port number for BT? The default range 688x is normally blocked by ISP.
wlchew
01-03-2007, 08:53 PM
Bro wlchew, have you tried assigning different port number for BT? The default range 688x is normally blocked by ISP.
can I just change the port 688x to say 6511 via Sancho or I need to amend the NAS via telnet (as I mentioned b4..I am ZERO with linux).. do how I go amount it?
thanks. :s22:
Lucky123
01-03-2007, 09:01 PM
can I just change the port 688x to say 6511 via Sancho or I need to amend the NAS via telnet (as I mentioned b4..I am ZERO with linux).. do how I go amount it?
You can do everything on the Sancho. :)
Lucky123
01-03-2007, 09:04 PM
Man, you think I'm good in chinese, I failed my 2nd language during school days but watching Mediacorp and Taiwan drama serial help me to improve ;)
Anyway, jokes aside. Will list down the steps once I have more time to spare. I'm still trying to figure out how to get LAMP to work outside of Debian env.
If you screwed up on MLDonkey, just telnet into NAS and remove all files in /mnt folder, there is no need to reformat. After which, reload back the ntx_libra.tgz file and restart NAS.
I already got tons of stuff on the HD and wouldn't want to go thru the trouble of backing up my data and restore it everytime MLDonkey cronked up.
I went in but do not know the commands. I can't list, change directory or see anything thus I do not know which directory I am currently on. Only command which seems to make sense is "exit"...:)
btw, I am using the built-in microsoft telnet.
majere2sg
01-03-2007, 09:07 PM
I went in but do not know the commands. I can't list, change directory or see anything thus I do not know which directory I am currently on. Only command which seems to make sense is "exit"...:)
btw, I am using the built-in microsoft telnet.
ls for listing files in the current directory
pwd to see the current directory
cp for copy
mkdir for make directory.
maybe u like to search for linux commands and will know more :s7:
albertlee
01-03-2007, 09:21 PM
Just test out MLDonkey again by changing the BT port to 6xxxx and set port forwarding on router. Speed was average, around 30KB.
albertlee
01-03-2007, 09:33 PM
ls for listing files in the current directory
pwd to see the current directory
cp for copy
mkdir for make directory.
maybe u like to search for linux commands and will know more :s7:
That's right. Anyway, this box run on Busybox and has a small subset of Linux command set. All the available command is in /bin, /sbin and /mnt directory. Just do a "ls -l" to list the content.
Some useful commands are:
ps -ef (list all running process)
ifconfig (show network interface)
reboot (reboot NAS box)
free (show memory usage)
df (show diskspace usage)
vi (text editor)
kill / killall (terminate running process)
mak888
01-03-2007, 10:08 PM
Bro mak888, did you try my method or not? You can simply download the ntx_libra.tgz file from PCI site, it contains all the files needed to run MLDonkey.
BTW, there is no need to reformat to get MLDonkey to work.
Thanks for the advice, but I've already tried that and it doesn't work. What i'll try to do is extract the data from the compressed file and manually fix it.
Will update later with the result.
mak888
01-03-2007, 11:39 PM
Thanks for the advice, but I've already tried that and it doesn't work. What i'll try to do is extract the data from the compressed file and manually fix it.
Will update later with the result.
Failed!!
Help!! Any other suggestion on how to fix it without reformatting my hard drive! I've emailed Planex support last week and I've yet to get an answer on this issue (just an email saying they are looking into this issue).
Cheers!
albertlee
02-03-2007, 12:05 AM
Failed!!
Help!! Any other suggestion on how to fix it without reformatting my hard drive! I've emailed Planex support last week and I've yet to get an answer on this issue (just an email saying they are looking into this issue).
Cheers!
Actually, what was the problem? Cannot start MLDonkey?
Okay, reload the firmware first before following the steps I have mentioned in my earlier thread. This should work as I have faced the same problem before.
BTW, PCI support sux big time :s27:
wlchew
02-03-2007, 12:28 AM
Just test out MLDonkey again by changing the BT port to 6xxxx and set port forwarding on router. Speed was average, around 30KB.
Thanks. But I still having problem... no traffic flow... seem like even I DMZ it still not working.
How can I change the port, huh?? I am lost here.. I have tried to change the port using sancho.
I change from 6882 to 6511 and 6881 to 6512. Is it correct??
after that, I reboot my NAS and reconnect using Sancho...it reported error and refuse to let me in again.
I have since reload the 'ntx_libra.tgz' ...so what should I do next? Back to original default again ..not moving ..Please advise..I tried hours the last 3 days..trying to play with it but no lucky...
All experts,..please show me the light ..my unit is sitting there doing nothing. :o
wlchew
02-03-2007, 12:51 AM
I have re-format my NAS again due to the error reported by Sancho that unable to connect to 'core'
Now, I am back to NEW Setup.. Please advise me how to get start... Million Thanks..I am lost!
albertlee
02-03-2007, 01:41 AM
I have re-format my NAS again due to the error reported by Sancho that unable to connect to 'core'
Now, I am back to NEW Setup.. Please advise me how to get start... Million Thanks..I am lost!
In Sancho, just change the followings:
Tools -> Preferences -> Networks (unselect all except enable_bittorrent)
Tools -> Preferences -> Networks -> BitTorrent (change BT-client_port from 6882 to anything from 40000 to 65535; eg. 60000)
Do port-forwarding for the port# you used above in your router. That's all.
wlchew
02-03-2007, 01:51 AM
Tools -> Preferences -> Networks -> BitTorrent (change BT-client_port from 6882 to anything from 40000 to 65535; eg. 60000)
Do port-forwarding for the port# you used above in your router. That's all.
Million Thanks to you, Bro.
I just managed to have a taste of getting the download with port 6882 only 32k..but at least..started..phew! :s13: (Happy Man, now!)
I will take your advise. but if I also have ED2K to download..enabling Bittorrent alone will do? any other network that I need to enable as well?
You really save my day..BIG THANK YOU and the rest here... ;)
albertlee
02-03-2007, 02:05 AM
Million Thanks to you, Bro.
I just managed to have a taste of getting the download with port 6882 only 32k..but at least..started..phew! :s13: (Happy Man, now!)
I will take your advise. but if I also have ED2K to download..enabling Bittorrent alone will do? any other network that I need to enable as well?
You really save my day..BIG THANK YOU and the rest here... ;)
So, you didn't change the port# ?
Just enable the type of network service you need to use otherwise use up resources.
Don't mention man, just sharing what I know.
albertlee
02-03-2007, 02:08 AM
Just download MLDonkey 2.8.1 and doing some testing. Will post the result later, badly in need of sleep.
wlchew
02-03-2007, 02:30 AM
So, you didn't change the port# ?
Just enable the type of network service you need to use otherwise use up resources.
Don't mention man, just sharing what I know.
Ya. I have done with 6882.
I have paused ALL and changed the port to 4xxxx. do I need to reboot the NAS after I entered it in Sancho? I have since resume without reboot and it seems works fine..but the newly entered link got no action...I will leave it alone..and see how (pls correct me if I am wrong somewhere..Thanks again) ;) I also need some sleep..sleepless 3 nite..now can sleep now..
I only have 3 BT-Server connected. is it normal? the rest is either BLOCKED or not connected. clicking it seems no use.. :s22: ..pardon me..novice is like that.. :s13:
speed is quite decent..IMO..
albertlee
02-03-2007, 11:59 AM
Some tweaking tips to speed-up this baby.
Under Bandwidth:
max_upload_slot: 3
max_opened_connections: 500
Don't set the max_hard_upload_rate < 10 else the max_hard_download_rate will default to 20 or less, we want the download rate to be 0 (unlimited).
Also if your Internet upload speed is 256Kbps, try not to have more than 3 active torrent since the upload rate is already set at 10KB, you will surely max out your upload bandwidth!!
Happy BTing...
wlchew
02-03-2007, 03:07 PM
Under Bandwidth:
Don't set the max_hard_upload_rate < 10 else the max_hard_download_rate will default to 20 or less, we want the download rate to be 0 (unlimited).
Also if your Internet upload speed is 256Kbps, try not to have more than 3 active torrent since the upload rate is already set at 10KB, you will surely max out your upload bandwidth!!
Happy BTing...
Wow..you are the man!!!... I have Avg 120-130kb Sancho reported from the Statistic screen.
Impressive!!!
very interesting now... :s12:
Thanks for the Tweaking tips =:p
wlchew
02-03-2007, 03:26 PM
Btw, I have also trying to pull ED2K files...any particular port or tweak that I have to take note??
I am using port#4662 for donkey(ed2k??)..is it correct?
want to try ED2K too.. =:p
stalejive
02-03-2007, 08:14 PM
what's the latest price for this nas ? and where currently have stocks for it ?
albertlee
02-03-2007, 09:16 PM
Btw, I have also trying to pull ED2K files...any particular port or tweak that I have to take note??
I am using port#4662 for donkey(ed2k??)..is it correct?
want to try ED2K too.. =:p
Bro, I'm not that familiar with EDonkey, so can't help. Why don't you just port-forward this port# and test it out. Do post your result here.
albertlee
02-03-2007, 09:19 PM
what's the latest price for this nas ? and where currently have stocks for it ?
Saw the PCI ads in Computer Times selling at $199. Challenger price is around $189 but most likely limited or no stock. Would advice waiting until IT Show as it was selling at $179 at the last computer show.
wlchew
02-03-2007, 11:33 PM
Bro, I'm not that familiar with EDonkey, so can't help. Why don't you just port-forward this port# and test it out. Do post your result here.
Ok. Will check it and see how the result. =:p
albertlee
07-03-2007, 10:09 AM
I have managed to compile a working copy of MLDonkey 2.8.3 and will put it up for download as tarball if there is sufficient requests.
wlchew
07-03-2007, 12:22 PM
I have managed to compile a working copy of MLDonkey 2.8.3 and will put it up for download as tarball if there is sufficient requests.
Is it difficult for me to upload it? I know nuts about linux..if you have a "Step-by-Step" guide will be Great!!! Thanks :s12: :D
albertlee
07-03-2007, 12:42 PM
Is it difficult for me to upload it? I know nuts about linux..if you have a "Step-by-Step" guide will be Great!!! Thanks :s12: :D
No Linux knowledge require. Basically, I intend to create the same "ntx_libra.tgz" package with the updated MLDonkey version, so it just a matter of using the webadmin to update. I'm just too lazy to proceed with this task unless there is a demand for it. ;)
wlchew
07-03-2007, 01:29 PM
No Linux knowledge require. Basically, I intend to create the same "ntx_libra.tgz" package with the updated MLDonkey version, so it just a matter of using the webadmin to update. I'm just too lazy to proceed with this task unless there is a demand for it. ;)
Oh..Thanks...Can I "Demand" it?.. =:p
Joke aside,...the new version will boost more speed to the seed?
I am getting only ard 30-65kb average...will that help? no success with ED2K seed yet as I have "many" BT in queue :D ..so, got to wait for it turn.. :s8:
so far download ard 5GB file liao..still growing..
Lucky123
07-03-2007, 09:52 PM
Please do bro!!! Thanks a million first. Have you tried it ? Any improvement ? :)
Lucky123
07-03-2007, 09:53 PM
Oh..Thanks...Can I "Demand" it?.. =:p
Joke aside,...the new version will boost more speed to the seed?
I am getting only ard 30-65kb average...will that help? no success with ED2K seed yet as I have "many" BT in queue :D ..so, got to wait for it turn.. :s8:
so far download ard 5GB file liao..still growing..
Which ISP you using ? Mine on maxonline......either crawling or non existent at all.....
wlchew
09-03-2007, 12:19 AM
Which ISP you using ? Mine on maxonline......either crawling or non existent at all.....
Mine on MOL too =:p ..IMO, it depends on timing..like 2am..the bandwidth can draw quite high. :D Office hour also fast as many people never use and surf the net..
wlchew
09-03-2007, 12:20 AM
Saw the PCI ads in Computer Times selling at $199. Challenger price is around $189 but most likely limited or no stock. Would advice waiting until IT Show as it was selling at $179 at the last computer show.
PCI is NOT offering anything on NAS...
Lucky123
09-03-2007, 12:38 PM
Mine on MOL too =:p ..IMO, it depends on timing..like 2am..the bandwidth can draw quite high. :D Office hour also fast as many people never use and surf the net..
You are using all default settings and programs right ?
albertlee
09-03-2007, 01:17 PM
PCI is NOT offering anything on NAS...
Yup, was surprised they are not promoting NAS product this time round. :s11:
albertlee
09-03-2007, 01:21 PM
You are using all default settings and programs right ?
Default settings, CMI lah. See my earlier posting on tweaking. :D
albertlee
09-03-2007, 01:24 PM
Regarding upgrading to MLD 2.8.3, give me some more time to do testing, after which I will packaged it up and PM you guys where to download from. Only those who request will get it.
wlchew
09-03-2007, 11:00 PM
Yup, was surprised they are not promoting NAS product this time round. :s11:
Well, asked them b4 the show and was told that they want to focus on Wireless stuff.
If you observed, they also never offer the Bt-14 series..as BT Download router(w/o wireless). It is even more power than NAS-01G as it claimed can access 10 Seed continuously(according to their website).
Btw, any tips how to tweak NAS-01G or Sancho to get more than 5 Seed??
Cheers.
albertlee
10-03-2007, 12:41 AM
Well, asked them b4 the show and was told that they want to focus on Wireless stuff.
If you observed, they also never offer the Bt-14 series..as BT Download router(w/o wireless). It is even more power than NAS-01G as it claimed can access 10 Seed continuously(according to their website).
Btw, any tips how to tweak NAS-01G or Sancho to get more than 5 Seed??
Cheers.
You meant running more than 5 active torrent, it is possible at least on TF. I was running like 10 active torrent at one stage. Be prepared to see a lot of network/disk activity.
I think just set max_concurrent_downloads in MLD to whatever value should do the trick.
BTW, seems like MLD client are not accepted by certain tracker. Have you encounter before?
wlchew
11-03-2007, 02:15 AM
You meant running more than 5 active torrent, it is possible at least on TF. I was running like 10 active torrent at one stage. Be prepared to see a lot of network/disk activity.
I think just set max_concurrent_downloads in MLD to whatever value should do the trick.
BTW, seems like MLD client are not accepted by certain tracker. Have you encounter before?
No sir!..I have not encounter it yet. I was told it used to have "chinese-character" issue but was resolved with v2.00. Heard that they are translating the v2.20 into english soon.. hopefully, the official release is not too far from now.. :D
albertlee
11-03-2007, 09:24 AM
No sir!..I have not encounter it yet. I was told it used to have "chinese-character" issue but was resolved with v2.00. Heard that they are translating the v2.20 into english soon.. hopefully, the official release is not too far from now.. :D
Hopefully, they don't include the old MLD version (2.7.7) like they did for the Japanese version otherwise it is damn bloody useless!
Lucky123
12-03-2007, 11:04 AM
Tried run a BT file with the MLdonkey this morning and shocked! :s31:
http://img145.imageshack.us/img145/6845/sancho2am9.jpg
Lucky123
12-03-2007, 11:17 AM
One question.....how to stop the uploading process when you decide to stop seeding ? Cannot find any buttons or command to stop the process. :s11:
albertlee
12-03-2007, 12:15 PM
Tried run a BT file with the MLdonkey this morning and shocked!
Count yourself lucky to meet 'super-seeder', this are user with fast upload speed!!
One question.....how to stop the uploading process when you decide to stop seeding ? Cannot find any buttons or command to stop the process.
Right-click on torrent and select 'Pause'.
Lucky123
12-03-2007, 12:47 PM
Count yourself lucky to meet 'super-seeder', this are user with fast upload speed!!
Right-click on torrent and select 'Pause'.
I mean when I fully downloaded the file and it disappeared from the download window. But the upload window still showing uploaders and there is no torrent shown. There is no file to right click so how to stop the whole process ?
Mondayblues
12-03-2007, 03:25 PM
try removing the whole file from the folder
i did that and the upload stopped
wlchew
13-03-2007, 10:38 AM
Tried run a BT file with the MLdonkey this morning and shocked! :s31:
Wow..your SEED is from Superserver... :s12: ..
my highest is only about 100kb...generally varies from 5kb-100kb+... Avg between 25kb-65kb.
You are so lucky!! :D
albertlee
13-03-2007, 10:44 AM
The highest I hit is around 550KB on a private site. I'm on MOL Express plan.
FortKnox
14-03-2007, 03:20 AM
Only those who request will get it.May i have a copy/link please.
My ratio is so low it can be without being kicked. Need to be able to seed.
Please!!
Lucky123
14-03-2007, 10:31 AM
try removing the whole file from the folder
i did that and the upload stopped
Thanks...it works.. :)
ConfusedChimp
14-03-2007, 07:40 PM
Hello everybody.
I recently bought a NAS-01G, and I am having some troubles. So far I've managed to run Sancho and start some BT downloads, but not without problems. Downloads take a lot of time to start, and check out this capture:
http://img95.imageshack.us/img95/5223/sanchona9.png
Actually that torrent has more than 150 seeders and I can download it using utorrent at nearly 100kbps. However, the speed achieved with the 01G is horrible, not to mention the small quantity of seeders reflected. I also don't know how to delete the canceled downloads. I think I have all the required ports open, but maybe I am missing something. Any idea? Which ports should be redirected? I bought it just for torrent dowloads, but right now I am not very happy with it.
Thanks!
albertlee
14-03-2007, 11:29 PM
@ConfusedChimp, have you gone thru the tweak posted by me?
One possibility is that MLD is not an accepted BT client on some of the tracker site, especially private one.
ConfusedChimp
14-03-2007, 11:43 PM
Now that you mention it, that could be a possibility. I'll try with a public tracker. As for the tweaking guide, I think I have everything right.
Thanks!
albertlee
15-03-2007, 01:22 AM
Another possibility is that the current version of MLD do not support PE (protocol encryption).
After testing MLD 2.8.3, I'm not really happy with the result, getting a max of about 40KB leeching a popular anime. Also realized that this client don't even have option to completely stop the upload process of incomplete torrent.
Anyway, those interested in testing this version, please PM me your email address.
albertlee
15-03-2007, 03:14 PM
Those who have PM me regarding MLD 2.8.3, I will send it out to you either this evening the latest by Friday night.
albertlee
15-03-2007, 08:05 PM
Package send.
FortKnox
17-03-2007, 07:03 AM
Thanks for the update, good work!
Works like a charm....except......it doesnt continue seeding when files are downloaded.
Why? Any idea? Anyone!!
/Marcus
Architeuthis
17-03-2007, 06:52 PM
Thanks Albertlee. Tried 2.8.3 and so far works fine..no problems with it as yet..able to download at decent speeds of 100k plus
albertlee
17-03-2007, 09:30 PM
Noticed the on going discussion abt MLD2.8.3 and the Planex NAS-01G. Can i check with u if this BT client works well for all torrents? Any issue with particular trackers or DHT? If it works fine, i'm wondering if this client works with my Qnap TS-101 since i believed u have oompiled it for the embedded PowerPC processor? Is there any pre-requisites for running MLD, such as PHP and MYSQL? Thanks!
I got this PM from thewiseone, thought I should post it here so that other can learn.
Mldonkey will work well as long as it's not banned by the tracker where the torrent originate from. I have not work with Qnap before so can't tell you whether it will work for that box. What Linux is this box running on?
Mldonkey is a standalone BT client and does not require PHP or MySQL to work.
albertlee
17-03-2007, 09:55 PM
Please include your email address in your PM if you want a copy else there is no way for me to send it you!
thewiseone
17-03-2007, 10:54 PM
I got this PM from thewiseone, thought I should post it here so that other can learn.
Mldonkey will work well as long as it's not banned by the tracker where the torrent originate from. I have not work with Qnap before so can't tell you whether it will work for that box. What Linux is this box running on?
Mldonkey is a standalone BT client and does not require PHP or MySQL to work.
I believe the Qnap is using Linux kernel 2.6, although possibly with many packages not installed. As such, i've not been successful in getting Torrentflux to run on it. Hence, was looking at other compatible alternative(s) that is easier to install.
albertlee
18-03-2007, 01:15 AM
I believe the Qnap is using Linux kernel 2.6, although possibly with many packages not installed. As such, i've not been successful in getting Torrentflux to run on it. Hence, was looking at other compatible alternative(s) that is easier to install.
This version of MLD was compiled to run under the default Bourne shell (sh) for the NAS-01G box so unless the Qnap support this, MLD would not work.
Anyway, I will send you a copy to test out. I assumed you are familar with basic Linux commands so will not go into details in my email.
Access to MLD is either thru the web browser at port 4080 or using a 3rd party s/w called Sancho. Remember to create a directory (mldonkey) for MLD as it will create a bunch of .ini files.
albertlee
19-03-2007, 05:27 PM
I will be sending out the package again this evening for those who have PM me recently. Kindly ensure that your email address is valid as I will not entertain request for resend. Thank you.
Note: For the record, this package consist of the latest Mldonkey version 2.8.3, it is NOT a firmware upgrade and I don't work for PCI. :s7:
mengchyi
19-03-2007, 11:14 PM
Just try MLD2.8.3 from Albert. It just keep my uncompleted downloads (BT)
without any surprise. Download speed is better and more stable then
Thanks Albert.
albertlee
20-03-2007, 10:05 PM
I failed to understand why there are people who PM me asking for Sancho when it is easily available from the Internet!
Google is your best friend.
Architeuthis
21-03-2007, 03:47 PM
I think those experiencing slow download really need to check the settins of ML donkey.
Personally I set the Listening and tracking ports between 40000 - 65535. Some torrent sites block port 6881 - 7000.
wlchew
21-03-2007, 09:46 PM
I think those experiencing slow download really need to check the settins of ML donkey.
Personally I set the Listening and tracking ports between 40000 - 65535. Some torrent sites block port 6881 - 7000.
Can I just change the BT Tracking ports using Sancho?
my ML donkey is working fine now with 6881. Just want to confirm that..
Lucky123
21-03-2007, 11:32 PM
Can I just change the BT Tracking ports using Sancho?
my ML donkey is working fine now with 6881. Just want to confirm that..
Can. :) :)
wlchew
22-03-2007, 12:17 PM
Can. :) :)
Do I need to reboot (cause, I am still downloadng half-way...)will it reset my "Q"?
thanks.
Architeuthis
22-03-2007, 01:38 PM
Yeah it will reset your queue.
Anyway don't matter cos if you don't have prb with port 6881, than any port between 40000 - 65535 will be just as fine if not better.
Just remember to to set your port forwarding.
oxyrite
25-03-2007, 01:42 AM
hihi, hope you guys dont mine answering some of my queries.
compairing to Buffalo Linkstation, Planex and kurobox.
1) which of the unit is better in feature.
2) whats the prices for them ah.
3) any guides on howto get the best BT speeds and performance for them. those mostly i can find are for kurobox. wat abt planex unit.
4) any interesting modifications can be made to planex unit say printserver etc.... best if got guides
4) anyone is releasing theirs?
thanks buddies :d
Alpha85
29-03-2007, 03:01 PM
anyone try using HDD bigger than 500gb?
or is 500gb the max?
Andrew_Ng
29-03-2007, 06:39 PM
anyone try using HDD bigger than 500gb?
or is 500gb the max?Max HDD supported is 1TB!!
http://www.pcidirect.com.tw/en/?pg=4&faqID=1
Lucky123
29-03-2007, 07:09 PM
But is there a 1 TB parallel ide HDD in the first place ? :s8:
scasi
30-03-2007, 02:36 AM
means it support anything lower then 1tb? what other product can do that har??
scasi
30-03-2007, 02:37 AM
i see the box at the shop, the usb can use for print server le.. sell at 18X at sim lim 5th floor
kentstefan
30-03-2007, 08:45 PM
Thank you Albert, for the MLD 2.8.3! You are the Greatest! :D
Let me inform you all about my story and NAS-01G. I upgraded from Planex v2.00 and MLD 2.7.7 and it worked perfect. Not any problems at all.
I had as maximum DL 500Kb speed, but with Albert’s version DL is reached over 720Kb. Average speed used to be 30-40Kb and now it is about 100-120Kb. (all depending on how many seeders there are!)
However there are changes inside MLD and 2.8.3, and this is that Gnutella/Gnutella2, Kademilia and other versions of Downloads has been removed. Maybe they are no longer “alive” and I do not use them. I am only interested in BT and would like to see this part even more developed.
I would most of all like to see, a webshell with some other BT-program only and then even faster and more reliable program then what MLD is.
Problems that remains with 2.8.3: A downloaded bittorrent is only shared as long as the torrent is downloaded. When finished, the torrent disappears from the shares and can not be shared with others any longer. Big problem for the people who need to higher their ratio on some BT-sites!
albertlee
30-03-2007, 09:07 PM
Max HDD supported is 1TB!!
http://www.pcidirect.com.tw/en/?pg=4&faqID=1
Andrew, does this apply to existing NAS-01g box? I do agreed with Lucky123, has it been tested to work at 1TB since this type of drive is not even available in the market yet!
albertlee
30-03-2007, 09:37 PM
Thank you Albert, for the MLD 2.8.3! You are the Greatest! :D
Let me inform you all about my story and NAS-01G. I upgraded from Planex v2.00 and MLD 2.7.7 and it worked perfect. Not any problems at all.
I had as maximum DL 500Kb speed, but with Albert’s version DL is reached over 720Kb. Average speed used to be 30-40Kb and now it is about 100-120Kb. (all depending on how many seeders there are!)
Great to hear that, you are only a handful who really bother to feedback. I will keep you in mind and will inform you when there is a new MLD release. BTW, what type of broadband services are you using?
However there are changes inside MLD and 2.8.3, and this is that Gnutella/Gnutella2, Kademilia and other versions of Downloads has been removed. Maybe they are no longer “alive” and I do not use them. I am only interested in BT and would like to see this part even more developed.
Gnutella, Gnutella2 and Fasttrack support was disabled when I compiled this version as it is still experimental.
I would most of all like to see, a webshell with some other BT-program only and then even faster and more reliable program then what MLD is.
I know the Japanese firmware release uses another BT client called Transmisson. Torrentflux is another one but require Apache, MySQL and PHP to work. The underlying BT client is BitTornado.
Problems that remains with 2.8.3: A downloaded bittorrent is only shared as long as the torrent is downloaded. When finished, the torrent disappears from the shares and can not be shared with others any longer. Big problem for the people who need to higher their ratio on some BT-sites!
Have you try this? http://mldonkey.sourceforge.net/SeedBitTorrents.en
kentstefan
30-03-2007, 10:45 PM
Hi Albert!
Your suggestions works fine, and I would be very glad if you could tell me when updates are avaliable! :)
BTW, what type of broadband services are you using?
I am using cable Internet - 8MB DL / 1 MB UL and is always connected!
Gnutella, Gnutella2 and Fasttrack support was disabled when I compiled this version as it is still experimental.
For me it is alright if they do not show up. I do not use them and as you says... they are only experimental.
I know the Japanese firmware release uses another BT client called Transmisson. Torrentflux is another one but require Apache, MySQL and PHP to work. The underlying BT client is BitTornado.
Now we are talking... This is what I like! ;)
Transmission... is that not the BT-client that BitTorrent Inc. has created for BT-routers? Like Planex use in their BLW-HPMM-U modell for exampel?
I would very much like to see in the end from Planex a true BT-client inside the NAS-01G, because this is what people (and me) is using. No difficult stuff with commands, only a windows-based program or DOS like program that works more easy and userfiendly.
Have you try this? http://mldonkey.sourceforge.net/SeedBitTorrents.en
No, that was news for me... and the system works. However not enough to be a uploader again.
On this special website I becomes visiable and that I am sharing a file. But no one fetch anything from me and my ratio will not be any better.
User Connectable Uploaded Upspeed Downloaded Downspeed Ratio --- Completed Checked UserAgent
XXXX Yes 0.00 kB 0 B/s 0.00 kB 0 B/s --- 100.00% 16:27:15 MLDonkey/2.8.3
So this is a workaround and mayby okey for most people, but in 'other' BT-sites is not a success.
Wooupss...!!! No, now I was removed from the NAS-01G. This workarond is only working a few minuts and then is goes back to "downloaded" status and is no longer sharing this file!
- sad!!! :sad:
albertlee
08-04-2007, 05:29 PM
Kindly post all request for MLD update at this email address: nas01g.support@gmail.com
Latest MLDonkey 2.8.4 is out. Only those who bother to post their feedback here will get it on request.
I will continue to send out MLD 2.8.3 on request. Please do not PM me. Thank you.
Xperts
08-04-2007, 09:09 PM
Hi Albert,
Many thanks to your kind help on the advice offered.
I have successfully load up the MLD 2.8.3. At present, I have yet felt the tremedous speed flow from it. But believe i may have gotten some settings done wrongly.
Still doing trials and errors. Will post further feedback again!
Advantage of 2.8.3:
Administrator Security.
Bandwidth Loadscreen is much smoother for sure.
Will appreciate if any buds can advice me on settings.
Thanks!
Xperts
08-04-2007, 09:17 PM
Hi all,
Wonder if anyone know wat type of memory module the NAS-01G is using?
Anyone attempt to modify it before?
trichard
09-04-2007, 07:11 AM
Hi to all .
So in conclusion , the NAS BT portion support encryption ?
thewiseone
09-04-2007, 08:52 AM
Not at this moment.
trichard
09-04-2007, 10:08 AM
Hi albertlee
Can send me 2.8.3 to my email trichard68@yahoo.com ?
trichard
09-04-2007, 10:10 AM
After reading thru the thread twice , I think I will pick up the NAS later ... hopfully chellenger @ United Sq hav a unit for me ....
But I still worried......lunix is very new to me .... sancho / Flextorrent all those stuff I also not sure how can I install it ... debian also not sure wat is that ....
I will try to learn along teh way .
trichard
09-04-2007, 11:12 AM
Challenger is $199 ..... just check today .
albertlee
09-04-2007, 12:52 PM
Hi albertlee
Can send me 2.8.3 to my email trichard68@yahoo.com ?
Oh man! Please read my earlier posting regarding this.
albertlee
09-04-2007, 12:53 PM
After reading thru the thread twice , I think I will pick up the NAS later ... hopfully chellenger @ United Sq hav a unit for me ....
But I still worried......lunix is very new to me .... sancho / Flextorrent all those stuff I also not sure how can I install it ... debian also not sure wat is that ....
I will try to learn along teh way .
You dun have to learn all this stuff if your primary objective is to BT. MLD is good enough.
albertlee
09-04-2007, 12:55 PM
Challenger is $199 ..... just check today .
Was selling at $189 when I brought mine. :)
Xperts
09-04-2007, 01:44 PM
Hi Albert,
I am still facing download speed at 3kbps to a max of 20kbps.
As shared by your kind advice, I have make changes to my port fowarding for respective applications in my router.
NAS BT Port: Change from 6882(default) to 50002
In router, i hook the port to static ip 192.168.x.103 for BT
In NAS, I change the port from 6882 to 50002 using the web console.
The same applies for BT tracking port.
Sancho Console:
In router, i hook the port required (20216) to NAS IP.
The speed is still pretty unacceptable. I was thinking it maybe due to the torrent tracker that I use.
Therefore my questions are,
Is there a need to increase the number of connected servers? If so, how do we do it, I have tried updating the servers.met file however it does not appear in the connected server list.
Is there any specific BT link which you can offer for pure testing purposes?
Are there any other settings which I may have left out?
Really need help on this.. Many thanks!
albertlee
09-04-2007, 02:00 PM
@Xperts, have you done the following tweaking?
Do port-forwarding for the port# you used above in your router.
More tweaking:
Under Bandwidth
Note: Don't set the max_hard_upload_rate < 10 else the max_hard_download_rate will default to 20 or less, we want the download rate to be 0 (unlimited).
Just google for any anime site with many peers to perform testing.
trichard
09-04-2007, 02:10 PM
Hi
I Got read leh ...
It say " Kindly post all request for MLD update at this email address: nas01g.support@gmail.com
Latest MLDonkey 2.8.4 is out. Only those who bother to post their feedback here will get it on request.
I will continue to send out MLD 2.8.3 on request. Please do not PM me. Thank you. "
So I ask lor ...
Oh man! Please read my earlier posting regarding this.
Xperts
09-04-2007, 02:41 PM
Hmm the speed is still low after i tried ur suggestions.
What can be the cause of the reason?
albertlee
09-04-2007, 02:49 PM
Hi
I Got read leh ...
It say " Kindly post all request for MLD update at this email address: nas01g.support@gmail.com
I will continue to send out MLD 2.8.3 on request. Please do not PM me. Thank you. "
So I ask lor ...
Why are you still posting your request here? Use the mentioned email address!
albertlee
09-04-2007, 02:50 PM
Hmm the speed is still low after i tried ur suggestions.
What can be the cause of the reason?
Email me the URL link of the test torrent.
Xperts
09-04-2007, 03:23 PM
Link Sent........ Thanks
trichard
09-04-2007, 10:12 PM
Why are you still posting your request here? Use the mentioned email address!
Ok thanks...... I saw the email address look like a direct support from Planex ...
So I read as
1. Kindly post all request for MLD update at this email address: nas01g.support@gmail.com <---- Contact direct from Planex ? Maybe I dont contact them, first ba....
2. I will continue to send out MLD 2.8.3 on request. ( I suppose to leave my email ? )
3. Please do not PM me. <--- I did that .
Sorry my bad ...
trichard
09-04-2007, 11:14 PM
Anyway .... I just bought mine at Bell .... $190 ....
Seem like after bell ...only Fuwell ahav stock @ $209..
Chax / SS all out of stock ...
albertlee
09-04-2007, 11:25 PM
@trichard, package send.
Also send to another 2 (you know who you are) that requested thru email.
trichard
09-04-2007, 11:48 PM
Thnaks !..................
Xperts
10-04-2007, 12:16 AM
Hi Albert,
Just wondering if you have time to test my link yet?
Xperts
10-04-2007, 10:47 AM
Hi albert,
I have left my NAS running for 2nd day, til now, avg speed remains at 2kbp/s
wlchew
10-04-2007, 12:12 PM
Hi albert,
I have left my NAS running for 2nd day, til now, avg speed remains at 2kbp/s
tat is very slow..my avg is ard 35kbit/sec...using MOL lowest plan.
Please check and follow albert's tips in previous thread on how to tune your NAS..I have benefited a lot from there... :s12: .. ;)
Btw, Albert..i have not started with the ML2.8.3 yet due to my heavy workload..and worries that changes may cost me more time to fix (if I miss out something)..will let my project complete 1st b4 trying..anyway..thanks. =:p
Xperts
10-04-2007, 12:13 PM
Anyone who can help me ?
Xperts
10-04-2007, 12:15 PM
tat is very slow..my avg is ard 35kbit/sec...using MOL lowest plan.
Please check and follow albert's tips in previous thread on how to tune your NAS..I have benefited a lot from there... :s12: .. ;)
Btw, Albert..i have not started with the ML2.8.3 yet due to my heavy workload..and worries that changes may cost me more time to fix (if I miss out something)..will let my project complete 1st b4 trying..anyway..thanks. =:p
Hello,
Is this the thread or is there another thread on NAS-01G on tweaking specifically ?
Xperts
10-04-2007, 12:54 PM
Was defaulting my NAS and now cant access my NAS thru WEB console at all.
draco76x
10-04-2007, 03:06 PM
Just some enquiry to find out from you guys:
1) Does NAS-01G compatiable to Windows Vista?? Thought of
buying on but afraid that can't work with Vista.
2) Can NAS-01G download torrent & emule at the sametime??
If yes, will the download speed slow as both are 2 different program
although they are P2P??
3) Is it really when downloading, I no need to switch on my PC just let
NAS-01G run by itself after configure??
Hope you guys can help me on this, thanks.
Rgds
albertlee
10-04-2007, 03:12 PM
Hi Albert,
Just wondering if you have time to test my link yet?
Will reply you via email. BTW, the torrent you send me belong to a private site.
albertlee
10-04-2007, 03:20 PM
Was defaulting my NAS and now cant access my NAS thru WEB console at all.
Look like some of the ini file(s) might be screwed up. What you can do is to delete all the ini file in mldonkey folder and reload the "ntx_libra.tgz" file.
albertlee
10-04-2007, 03:28 PM
1) Does NAS-01G compatiable to Windows Vista?? Thought of
buying on but afraid that can't work with Vista.
This is a standalone box and should work with all Windows OS version.
2) Can NAS-01G download torrent & emule at the sametime??
If yes, will the download speed slow as both are 2 different program
although they are P2P??
I believed it can work concurrently. Those who have tried it can comment on this. As for download speed, this is very subjective depending on a number of factors.
3) Is it really when downloading, I no need to switch on my PC just let
NAS-01G run by itself after configure??
As mentioned earlier, this box is just like a scale-down PC with limited processor and memory running on Linux.
thewiseone
10-04-2007, 03:36 PM
Qs for existing NAS-01G owners. Does the case fan operates non-stop as long as the box is switched on? How loud is the built-in fan? At a distance of say 5ft, is it audible? For those who has owned it for a period, does it get louder in time? Thanks!
albertlee
10-04-2007, 04:03 PM
Qs for existing NAS-01G owners. Does the case fan operates non-stop as long as the box is switched on? How loud is the built-in fan? At a distance of say 5ft, is it audible? For those who has owned it for a period, does it get louder in time? Thanks!
Yes, it supposed to work that way. As for the noise level, it's pretty quiet to me. It's the HDD that making all the noise especially during the night. As with all moving parts, it subjected to wear and tear and will deteriote with time. But it can be easily replaceable.
trichard
10-04-2007, 05:47 PM
Yes, it supposed to work that way. As for the noise level, it's pretty quiet to me. It's the HDD that making all the noise especially during the night. As with all moving parts, it subjected to wear and tear and will deteriote with time. But it can be easily replaceable.
During nite issit reallly noisy ?.....
It is next to my bed only....got to test it tonite .......:s13:
draco76x
10-04-2007, 06:18 PM
This is a standalone box and should work with all Windows OS version.
I believed it can work concurrently. Those who have tried it can comment on this. As for download speed, this is very subjective depending on a number of factors.
As mentioned earlier, this box is just like a scale-down PC with limited processor and memory running on Linux.Thanks for the reply, btw, does it come with harddisk or have to buy separately??
:s11:
trichard
10-04-2007, 06:47 PM
buy seperate ...
Xperts
10-04-2007, 08:21 PM
Look like some of the ini file(s) might be screwed up. What you can do is to delete all the ini file in mldonkey folder and reload the "ntx_libra.tgz" file.
Hello albert,
how do i access to the mldonkey folder?
i have tried the following and all failed.
1. format harddisk
2. hard reset (holding more than 15 secs, waiting a min to reboot)
3. reloading the ntx_libra.tgz file
albertlee
10-04-2007, 09:47 PM
Hello albert,
how do i access to the mldonkey folder?
i have tried the following and all failed.
1. format harddisk
2. hard reset (holding more than 15 secs, waiting a min to reboot)
3. reloading the ntx_libra.tgz file
That's strange, if you have reformat the HD and reload the file, everything should be back to normal.
The last thing to try is to reload the firmware, reboot, reload ntx_libra.tgz file and reboot.
Xperts
10-04-2007, 10:26 PM
That's strange, if you have reformat the HD and reload the file, everything should be back to normal.
The last thing to try is to reload the firmware, reboot, reload ntx_libra.tgz file and reboot.
Using Sancho, the error msg was core not found.
Using Telnet on port 4001, your IP was *** refused.
Using Web console, your IP was ^&* refused.
BTW, for formating do I need to do a clean format with Windows first before letting the config menu format it?
Xperts
10-04-2007, 10:38 PM
I have also tried reloading the firmware.
Steps taken was:
Disabled Torrent.
1, Update Firmware (NAS-01G_Firmware_Eng_V2.00_11-15-2006)
2. Reboot NAS in softmode
3. Update uPNP file (ntx_libra)
Enabled Torrent.
Is there really no other means ?
I am currently trying to scan for an open port to access this thing.. sigh
Xperts
10-04-2007, 11:13 PM
Okay, Albert your files saved my NAS..
PLenty of thanks, otherwise i gotta make a trip to IOI and that will be time wasting..
All solved and good.
mak888
10-04-2007, 11:27 PM
I've been running mine since Sept last year, so around 6 month or so, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, nearly non stop downloading since I've bought it. Anyway my fan started quietly but became noisy after 2 months... I just left it like that but after a month the noise went away!! (Self fixing!!! :) ) BTW I've got a 500GB Seagate inside.
mak888
11-04-2007, 12:02 AM
Kindly post all request for MLD update at this email address: nas01g.support@gmail.com
I will continue to send out MLD 2.8.3 on request. Please do not PM me. Thank you.
Thanks Albertlee for the 2.8.3 version. It was easy to install and it's working without any problems at all!
Performance wise haven't notice much improvement over the stock 2.7.7 version but overall the Web UI seems more responsive. Not sure if that's a bit pychological though! :s22:
Any chance of 2.8.4 build?? It looks like a lot has gone into the new version. http://cvs.savannah.gnu.org/viewcvs/mldonkey/mldonkey/distrib/ChangeLog?view=markup
Xperts
11-04-2007, 12:37 AM
I have a question for those who are able to get blazing speed for BT.
How long do you need to wait before the BT speed is obtain?
Which public torrent have you used for testing preference to share with me?
Thanks
trichard
11-04-2007, 01:23 AM
Under Bandwidth:
Happy BTing...
Hi
I have successsful install MLD from the package u send to me .....
How to apply these setting ?.... must use sancho?
trichard
11-04-2007, 01:29 AM
Ok I have install sancho ..... the login is the same as the NAS login right ?
it say invlid login.....anyone know why ?
trichard
11-04-2007, 07:16 AM
I did a few try....... sancho just dont allow me to connect to the NAS..... I tested using web broswer it is ok with password addrdd...
thewiseone
11-04-2007, 07:40 AM
Ok guys, thanks for the feedback about the noise level. This is a concern for me as i've experienced many devices with built in fan (eg disk enclosures) which gets louder over time. Its often due to the use of sleeve bearing fans, which has significantly lower MTBF compared to ball bearing fans. The dust built up makes matter worse.
I've been running mine since Sept last year, so around 6 month or so, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, nearly non stop downloading since I've bought it. Anyway my fan started quietly but became noisy after 2 months... I just left it like that but after a month the noise went away!! (Self fixing!!! :) ) BTW I've got a 500GB Seagate inside.
trichard
11-04-2007, 09:58 AM
Ok guys, thanks for the feedback about the noise level. This is a concern for me as i've experienced many devices with built in fan (eg disk enclosures) which gets louder over time. Its often due to the use of sleeve bearing fans, which has significantly lower MTBF compared to ball bearing fans. The dust built up makes matter worse.
It is not noisy ..... quite ok my wife never complain ....:s13:
anyway can always open can clean dust la ............. the fan can be seen easily ...
Xperts
11-04-2007, 10:20 AM
Hmmm, just outta curiousity, with Sancho or web console, how do we see the health of the torrent?
Under the source of Sancho, when there is 23(4) <-- what does this means?
Have complete tweaking with all the rest at default settings, no luck with speed yet!!!
albertlee
11-04-2007, 12:12 PM
Any chance of 2.8.4 build?? It looks like a lot has gone into the new version. http://cvs.savannah.gnu.org/viewcvs/mldonkey/mldonkey/distrib/ChangeLog?view=markup
This version is still not ready for deployment yet. I will add you to the list and you will get it when it's ready. ;)
albertlee
11-04-2007, 12:40 PM
Under the source of Sancho, when there is 23(4) <-- what does this means?
23 refer to the number of peers in the swarm
4 refer to the number of peers connected to you
Correct me if I'm wrong.
Xperts
11-04-2007, 03:07 PM
23 refer to the number of peers in the swarm
4 refer to the number of peers connected to you
Correct me if I'm wrong.
Albert, you got any website to recommend to tweak the core of NAS to enable MySQl and PHP for web hosting?
thewiseone
11-04-2007, 03:22 PM
Knock yrself out here! :-) http://www.mobile01.com/topicdetail.php?f=174&t=249502&p=1
Xperts
11-04-2007, 10:39 PM
Albert,
As promised, here is my feedback.
I manage to see tremedous improvement with the NAS download speed even with some private sites.
Will not post any screenshots since it is more of a testing basis.
Will wait for your next launch 2.8.4!
Thanks and good work!
draco76x
12-04-2007, 06:49 PM
Hey,
Saw Challenger at Simei sell $209, if member is $199.
Any recommendation where to find NAS-01G cheaper
than Challenger?? :s11:
AsusEpoxy
12-04-2007, 07:25 PM
Carrefour Suntec i saw 2 sets left selling at $179
trichard
12-04-2007, 10:28 PM
To Albert and AsusE
Need some advice here....
I have problem when ever I off the NAS or reboot it via the menu .... The next bootup the MLD die off ( Sancho say no core and IE say Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage
anyone know wat did I did wrongly ?
trichard
13-04-2007, 10:31 AM
I just did a few round of testing ... by reformat HD , reload firmware ... and MLD is running ...
I also did a few reboot to check that MLD is running ... which confirm it is ok and never die. .
Next I launch sancho to edit the MLD port forwarding and other setting... exit sancho ... and reboot....
MLD will die after that .......
Sancho will kill MLD meh ?
I think I need to try flextorrent liao ....
albertlee
13-04-2007, 01:13 PM
Sancho is just a GUI interface to manage MLD, you must have 'screwed-up' the configuration which prevent MLD from running.
What is 'flextorrent', got such a client meh? Never heard of it!
trichard
13-04-2007, 04:23 PM
Pai say ....torrentflux.....
Xperts
13-04-2007, 05:16 PM
To Albert and AsusE
Need some advice here....
I have problem when ever I off the NAS or reboot it via the menu .... The next bootup the MLD die off ( Sancho say no core and IE say Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage
anyone know wat did I did wrongly ?
Yo bro,
Don't think your core is burnt like mine.
If you can still get your core after rebooting NAS then your core is intact.
Maybe you should use the web console interface, I am using it more than Sanchos now. :P
Have fun!
trichard
13-04-2007, 05:46 PM
Yo bro,
Don't think your core is burnt like mine.
If you can still get your core after rebooting NAS then your core is intact.
Maybe you should use the web console interface, I am using it more than Sanchos now. :P
Have fun!
Yo ..... console interface cannot set port forwarding leh ....
I manage to install telet function into the NAS liao......:s13:...the passsword is all/all ....deem cock......:D
Xperts
13-04-2007, 07:44 PM
Yo ..... console interface cannot set port forwarding leh ....
I manage to install telet function into the NAS liao......:s13:...the passsword is all/all ....deem cock......:D
Haha.. you wanna do port forward for sancho console?
How come?
AsusEpoxy
13-04-2007, 09:38 PM
I just did a few round of testing ... by reformat HD , reload firmware ... and MLD is running ...
I also did a few reboot to check that MLD is running ... which confirm it is ok and never die. .
Next I launch sancho to edit the MLD port forwarding and other setting... exit sancho ... and reboot....
MLD will die after that .......
Sancho will kill MLD meh ?
I think I need to try flextorrent liao ....
uncle, i think ur config somewhere wrong leh, how come your MLD always die? is your space full? if left less than 200mb will auto die one...sancho is just a frontend only...simply put,its just a more user friendly way to access you NAS....
trichard
14-04-2007, 01:38 AM
I found out the causes liao...
When MLD download...u reset the NAs....error will come liao ...
Sigh...... how to install torrentflux ?
draco76x
15-04-2007, 11:22 AM
Hey,
Anybody runs BT & emule download concurrently?? :s11:
How is the speed??
Rgds
trichard
15-04-2007, 01:07 PM
Hey,
Anybody runs BT & emule download concurrently?? :s11:
How is the speed??
Rgds
I have successfully install debian and also bittona ..
Now my NAS main page is apache .....
How can I go to bitorndo page now ?
thewiseone
15-04-2007, 05:31 PM
Xperts, i'm also getting crappy torrent speeds. Albert/Xperts, what settings did u change to get the speed improvement?
Albert,
As promised, here is my feedback.
I manage to see tremedous improvement with the NAS download speed even with some private sites.
Will not post any screenshots since it is more of a testing basis.
Will wait for your next launch 2.8.4!
Thanks and good work!
Sk8te
15-04-2007, 06:21 PM
Hi Everyone,
Just want to ask a quick question. When I install Linux Debian into the NAS, when I do a hard reset, will I get back to my factory defaults? Or does it flash the on board memory so if I screw it up, there is no way to revert back to default and start again?
Anyways I just bougt this NAS from SLS for $185 at the gigabyte stall in the corner at the 6th floor.. but need to nego a bit with the person there. Paid in cash.. and loving it!!
albertlee
15-04-2007, 06:46 PM
Please DO NOT PM me regarding MLD or NAS-01G as you will not get a reply from me. Send your email request for MLD at nas01g.support@gmail.com, all other question should be posted here, that's the whole purpose of this topic.
The latest version of MLD is 2.8.4 which will be released soon to a selected few. Any request for the 'latest' MLD will receive version 2.8.3. However this 'new' version has all the option enabled which is different from the initial release in which FastTrack, Gnutella & Gnutella2 are disabled.
trichard
15-04-2007, 11:11 PM
Update ...
I have completed installation of debain and also bit torrnado ver 0.318 ...
Running it instead of the crap MLD liao ....
Hope can tune it well ...
Myu screen shot ..
http://img380.imageshack.us/img380/7324/seezy3.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
trichard
16-04-2007, 07:22 AM
Hi
Any expert in btdownloadcurses.py able to share the knowledge of wat option to use for speed download ?????
Thanks !
thewiseone
16-04-2007, 10:42 AM
The NAS MLD needs a bit of tweaking actually. Performance is still a far cry from PC based clients like uTorrent. It appears to take a bit of time to be up to speed. With 2 torrents d/ling, managed to get around 110 KB/sec on my Qnap. This is a whole lot better than the built in client, That should be termed crappy.
albertlee
16-04-2007, 11:46 AM
Agreed with thewiseone. Initially, I got crappy speed with MLD but after tweaking around managed to obtain good speed. Need more feedback from those who had very good DL speed.
Anyway, MLD 2.8.4 is ready for deployment, will be sending out soon. ;-)
ahmadm
16-04-2007, 01:20 PM
Guys .... very interesting thread .... any idea where I can get one ... exact location is much appreciated.
Andrew_Ng
16-04-2007, 03:24 PM
Guys .... very interesting thread .... any idea where I can get one ... exact location is much appreciated.Hi Ahmadm,
If you're going down today, you may find it @ Videopro 4th floor/Challenger Funan/Skylet @ $199.
If tomorrow, Kao Yap, Bell , AJVW , Alphawave.
Cheers.
Andrew_Ng
16-04-2007, 03:28 PM
Hi guys,
I'm thinking of organizing a competition for NAS-01G end users.
The objective is to be able to tweak the NAS to the max based on download speed with screen shot as proof. I was wondering if anyone here would be keen on this. Of course, prize will be given to the best tweaker.
Prizes and rules and regulations would be finalized in time to come.
Cheers. Appreciate your support and feedback.
ahmadm
16-04-2007, 03:31 PM
Hi Ahmadm,
If you're going down today, you may find it @ Videopro 4th floor/Challenger Funan/Skylet @ $199.
If tomorrow, Kao Yap, Bell , AJVW , Alphawave.
Cheers.
Thanks Andrew .... Cheers!
albertlee
16-04-2007, 04:15 PM
Hi guys,
I'm thinking of organizing a competition for NAS-01G end users.
The objective is to be able to tweak the NAS to the max based on download speed with screen shot as proof. I was wondering if anyone here would be keen on this. Of course, prize will be given to the best tweaker.
Prizes and rules and regulations would be finalized in time to come.
Cheers. Appreciate your support and feedback.
Screen shot can be doctored. Not to mention, download speed is very subjective, those with higher broadband connection will surely have better result. How to ensure a fair competition?
Also depending on the prizes. :s13:
trichard
16-04-2007, 04:21 PM
Agreed with albert .... :s13:
Perhap can have competition is how this NAS can be modify to ... eg install torrentflux , bitordno with encryotion etc ..
Then see who can moodify the thing to some wonderful toy ....:s13:
By the way .... it is a good toy to learn abt Linux ......cheer !...
I still tryin to tune Bitorando with encrytion ....:(
thewiseone
16-04-2007, 05:38 PM
Its not easy to judge simply on download speeds. Bittorrent has so many variables involved thats its difficult to pass a fair judgement.
trichard, hows the performance with bitornado 0.3.18? Any performance gains over MLD? Anyone tried Torrentflux on their NAS?
trichard
16-04-2007, 06:17 PM
Its not easy to judge simply on download speeds. Bittorrent has so many variables involved thats its difficult to pass a fair judgement.
trichard, hows the performance with bitornado 0.3.18? Any performance gains over MLD? Anyone tried Torrentflux on their NAS?
4 time faster which I think I still have some tuning to done esp at the command line ...
I am able to download guessx3 show at 25-30K where in MLD I only get 5-8K ....:mad:
Still I think it can be better ............so many switch ....:(
Usage: btdownloadcurses.py <global options>
Arguments are:
--max_uploads <arg>
the maximum number of uploads to allow at once. (defaults to 7)
--keepalive_interval <arg>
number of seconds to pause between sending keepalives (defaults to 120.0)
--download_slice_size <arg>
How many bytes to query for per request. (defaults to 16384)
--upload_unit_size <arg>
when limiting upload rate, how many bytes to send at a time (defaults to 1460
)
--request_backlog <arg>
maximum number of requests to keep in a single pipe at once. (defaults to 10)
--max_message_length <arg>
maximum length prefix encoding you'll accept over the wire - larger values get the
connection dropped. (defaults to 8388608)
--ip <arg>
ip to report you have to the tracker. (defaults to '')
--minport <arg>
minimum port to listen on, counts up if unavailable (defaults to 10000)
--maxport <arg>
maximum port to listen on (defaults to 60000)
--random_port <arg>
whether to choose randomly inside the port range instead of counting up linea
rly
(defaults to 1)
--responsefile <arg>
file the server response was stored in, alternative to url (defaults to '')
--url <arg>
url to get file from, alternative to responsefile (defaults to '')
--crypto_allowed <arg>
whether to allow the client to accept encrypted connections (defaults to 0)
--crypto_only <arg>
whether to only create or allow encrypted connections (defaults to 0)
--crypto_stealth <arg>
whether to prevent all non-encrypted connection attempts; will result in an e
ffectively
firewalled state on older trackers (defaults to 0)
--selector_enabled <arg>
whether to enable the file selector and fast resume function (defaults to 1)
--expire_cache_data <arg>
the number of days after which you wish to expire old cache data (0 = disable
d) (defaults
to 10)
--priority <arg>
a list of file priorities separated by commas, must be one per file, 0 = high
est, 1 =
normal, 2 = lowest, -1 = download disabled (defaults to '')
--saveas <arg>
local file name to save the file as, null indicates query user (defaults to '
')
--timeout <arg>
time to wait between closing sockets which nothing has been received on (defa
ults to
300.0)
--timeout_check_interval <arg>
time to wait between checking if any connections have timed out (defaults to
60.0)
--max_slice_length <arg>
maximum length slice to send to peers, larger requests are ignored (defaults
to 131072)
--max_rate_period <arg>
maximum amount of time to guess the current rate estimate represents (default
s to 20.0)
--bind <arg>
comma-separated list of ips/hostnames to bind to locally (defaults to '')
--ipv6_enabled <arg>
allow the client to connect to peers via IPv6 (defaults to 0)
--ipv6_binds_v4 <arg>
set if an IPv6 server socket won't also field IPv4 connections (defaults to 0
)
--upnp_nat_access <arg>
attempt to autoconfigure a UPnP router to forward a server port (0 = disabled
, 1 = mode 1
[fast], 2 = mode 2 [slow]) (defaults to 1)
--upload_rate_fudge <arg>
time equivalent of writing to kernel-level TCP buffer, for rate adjustment (d
efaults to
5.0)
--tcp_ack_fudge <arg>
how much TCP ACK download overhead to add to upload rate calculations (0 = di
sabled)
(defaults to 0.029999999999999999)
--display_interval <arg>
time between updates of displayed information (defaults to 0.5)
--rerequest_interval <arg>
time to wait between requesting more peers (defaults to 300)
--min_peers <arg>
minimum number of peers to not do rerequesting (defaults to 20)
--http_timeout <arg>
number of seconds to wait before assuming that an http connection has timed o
ut (defaults
to 60)
--max_initiate <arg>
number of peers at which to stop initiating new connections (defaults to 40)
--check_hashes <arg>
whether to check hashes on disk (defaults to 1)
--max_upload_rate <arg>
maximum kB/s to upload at (0 = no limit, -1 = automatic) (defaults to 0)
--max_download_rate <arg>
maximum kB/s to download at (0 = no limit) (defaults to 0)
--alloc_type <arg>
allocation type (may be normal, background, pre-allocate or sparse) (defaults
to
'normal')
--alloc_rate <arg>
rate (in MiB/s) to allocate space at using background allocation (defaults to
2.0)
--buffer_reads <arg>
whether to buffer disk reads (defaults to 1)
--write_buffer_size <arg>
the maximum amount of space to use for buffering disk writes (in megabytes, 0
= disabled)
(defaults to 4)
--breakup_seed_bitfield <arg>
sends an incomplete bitfield and then fills with have messages, in order to g
et around
stupid ISP manipulation (defaults to 1)
--snub_time <arg>
seconds to wait for data to come in over a connection before assuming it's
semi-permanently choked (defaults to 30.0)
--spew <arg>
whether to display diagnostic info to stdout (defaults to 0)
--rarest_first_cutoff <arg>
number of downloads at which to switch from random to rarest first (defaults
to 2)
--rarest_first_priority_cutoff <arg>
the number of peers which need to have a piece before other partials take pri
ority over
rarest first (defaults to 5)
--min_uploads <arg>
the number of uploads to fill out to with extra optimistic unchokes (defaults
to 4)
--max_files_open <arg>
the maximum number of files to keep open at a time, 0 means no limit (default
s to 50)
--round_robin_period <arg>
the number of seconds between the client's switching upload targets (defaults
to 30)
--super_seeder <arg>
whether to use special upload-efficiency-maximizing routines (only for dedica
ted seeds)
(defaults to 0)
--security <arg>
whether to enable extra security features intended to prevent abuse (defaults
to 1)
--max_connections <arg>
the absolute maximum number of peers to connect with (0 = no limit) (defaults
to 0)
--auto_kick <arg>
whether to allow the client to automatically kick/ban peers that send bad dat
a (defaults
to 1)
--double_check <arg>
whether to double-check data being written to the disk for errors (may increa
se CPU load)
(defaults to 1)
--triple_check <arg>
whether to thoroughly check data being written to the disk (may slow disk acc
ess)
(defaults to 0)
--lock_files <arg>
whether to lock files the client is working with (defaults to 1)
--lock_while_reading <arg>
whether to lock access to files being read (defaults to 0)
--auto_flush <arg>
minutes between automatic flushes to disk (0 = disabled) (defaults to 0)
--dedicated_seed_id <arg>
code to send to tracker identifying as a dedicated seed (defaults to '')
Xperts
16-04-2007, 08:05 PM
Xperts, i'm also getting crappy torrent speeds. Albert/Xperts, what settings did u change to get the speed improvement?
Hi fellow buds,
I follow Albert's recommendation for settings.
Upload speed: 10
Download speed: 0
Max Connections: 500
The rest I leave it at default. Not all torrent can achieve that blazing speed. For me, I notice a sudden jump when i put max_concurrent_torrent set at 2.
But due to testing, I did not wait to see how fast it complete the file, so no comments on that.
Will wait for Albert's 2.8.4 for better improvements.
Hope to see:
UDP tracker
Protocol Encryption
Torrent Health
kentstefan
16-04-2007, 08:12 PM
I really like Andrew_Ng suggestion on a competition to tweak the NAS-01G into faster speed.
But the MLDonkey program have major limitations in BitTorrents and I would like to see what trichard is writing about. To see another client inside the Linux shell.
Anyone who have replaced the MLD program and found a well working program instead of MLD? Something that is quite simple to install and to start up - because not all have greate knowledge in Linux OS. My self certenly do not have it...
Thanks! :)
Xperts
16-04-2007, 08:20 PM
I really like Andrew_Ng suggestion on a competition to tweak the NAS-01G into faster speed.
But the MLDonkey program have major limitations in BitTorrents and I would like to see what trichard is writing about. To see another client inside the Linux shell.
Anyone who have replaced the MLD program and found a well working program instead of MLD? Something that is quite simple to install and to start up - because not all have greate knowledge in Linux OS. My self certenly do not have it...
Thanks! :)
Haha, you are not alone.
I have zero knowledge with debian, manage to install it. Will be studying the steps to understand more before committing into other applications.
thewiseone
16-04-2007, 08:22 PM
If you read the online doc, its mentioned that for optimum performance (believe they were referring to edonkey), max connections should be 924. Anyhow, i'm already using an upload speed of 25. One thing about MLD is the somewhat inconsistent performance. You can be getting blazing speeds and all of a sudden, the speed drops down to a crawling pace.
As for 2.8.4, dont get your hopes too high. I'm using 2.8.4, didnt notice any speed difference between 2.8.3 and 2.8.4 for torrents.
albert : I vaguely recalled that you have tried torrentflux before or was I mistaken? How is its performance on a NAS?
Hi fellow buds,
I follow Albert's recommendation for settings.
Upload speed: 10
Download speed: 0
Max Connections: 500
The rest I leave it at default. Not all torrent can achieve that blazing speed. For me, I notice a sudden jump when i put max_concurrent_torrent set at 2.
But due to testing, I did not wait to see how fast it complete the file, so no comments on that.
Hope to see:
UDP tracker
Protocol Encryption
Torrent Health
albertlee
16-04-2007, 08:29 PM
Hope to see:
UDP tracker
Protocol Encryption
Torrent Health
Unfortunately, MLD still do not support PE. Refer here (http://mldonkey.sourceforge.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=4679) for a list of changes in this release.
You will receive this package very soon.
Xperts
16-04-2007, 08:34 PM
If you read the online doc, its mentioned that for optimum performance (believe they were referring to edonkey), max connections should be 924. Anyhow, i'm already using an upload speed of 25. One thing about MLD is the somewhat inconsistent performance. You can be getting blazing speeds and all of a sudden, the speed drops down to a crawling pace.
As for 2.8.4, dont get your hopes too high. I'm using 2.8.4, didnt notice any speed difference between 2.8.3 and 2.8.4 for torrents.
albert : I vaguely recalled that you have tried torrentflux before or was I mistaken? How is its performance on a NAS?
Yes it is true. The download speed is uncertain, I notice that as well. I tried doing some search on trackers and rewriting torrents files to enable more trackers.
I think one potential reason why 2.8.3 is still at present is largely due to the following:
1.UDP Port
2.Incompatibility with common torrent protocol
I notice as well having more than 40 peers connected to me for dling, however most of them are idle. I use one of the feature in MLD to reject these peers but it doesnt seems to work well.
On reasking for threshold function, it has also its own limitations.
Any other observations to share?
Maybe we can push through better connection with more heads. Haha
Pardon my ignorance, I am not a guru.
albertlee
16-04-2007, 08:40 PM
Beside MLD, there are alternative BT client like rtorrent, transmission and bittornado that can run on this box. The problem is it require additional 'layer' like Debian shell to run and this had to be setup manually via telnet or SSH. And all this require knowledge on Linux OS.
I have setup Torrentflux (TF) before but it has it limitation as stated earlier. I have since switched over to MLD as TF do not support unicode filename.
Xperts
16-04-2007, 08:41 PM
I will look forward to this improvement.
5749: BT: recognize more BT client types (orbit)
Hope i got it right that orbit is the nickname of the person who help to intergrate the 2.8.4.
albertlee
16-04-2007, 08:49 PM
I vaguely recalled that you have tried torrentflux before or was I mistaken? How is its performance on a NAS?
Torrentflux is just a web interface for bittornado. I do get good speed using this as compared to MLD. One important point to take note of is that MLD is a banned client in most site and it doesn't support DHT which is a reason why the speed is crappy.
Xperts
16-04-2007, 08:51 PM
Torrentflux is just a web interface for bittornado. I do get good speed using this as compared to MLD. One important point to take note of is that MLD is a banned client in most site and it doesn't support DHT which is a reason why the speed is crappy.
Albert,
Just outta curiosity, if MLD is a banned client, will that means we get very few peers connected to us for that particular torrent?
How about those torrent that we have many peers but most of which are idling cases?
albertlee
16-04-2007, 09:02 PM
Albert,
Just outta curiosity, if MLD is a banned client, will that means we get very few peers connected to us for that particular torrent?
How about those torrent that we have many peers but most of which are idling cases?
When I said 'banned client', I'm refering to private site, public site may not have this issue. When a client is banned, it can't even connect to the tracker and any of the peers.
However, there is a option in MLD that can report itself as another client to the tracker. Try changing the BT-user_agent to "uTorrent/1610" and let me know if it made any different.
BTW, MLD 2.8.4 already send out.
kentstefan
16-04-2007, 09:32 PM
AlbertLee...
Noticed your mail for a minute ago and 2.8.4 is installed... and works just fine.
I had some truobles starting MLD and :4080 and had to restart NAS-01G several times!
My old password to MLD was the same, and as i see my settings remains as they were before upgrading to 2.8.4
All of a sudden MLD deamon started up. Files that were inside before the upgrade hade a speed at 24Kbit/s, now my Sancho informs med that speed is D:369,05 for exaxly the same files...!
As Borat would say: NICE! ;)
Albert, You are my HERO! :s12:
THANK YOU!
thewiseone
16-04-2007, 09:37 PM
Yes, being a banned client most certainly makes the situation worse. As for the DHT, i'm not so sure about it being a contributing factor for the slow speed on our NAS. If u have uTorrent installed on your PC, try disabling DHT and PE and monitor the performance. U'll be surprised that the difference is not significant.
You mentioned that Torrentflux does not support unicode filename. Since its just an interface for BitTornado, can i assume that BitTornado will have the same issue?Its most certainly a drawback especially for non-english torrents. :s27:
albertlee
16-04-2007, 09:47 PM
Yes, being a banned client most certainly makes the situation worse. As for the DHT, i'm not so sure about it being a contributing factor for the slow speed on our NAS. If u have uTorrent installed on your PC, try disabling DHT and PE and monitor the performance. U'll be surprised that the difference is not significant.
You mentioned that Torrentflux does not support unicode filename. Since its just an interface for BitTornado, can i assume that BitTornado will have the same issue?Its most certainly a drawback especially for non-english torrents. :s27:
Without DHT does have a impact on the overall performance. Just imagine this, if MLD is banned, the tracker you are trying to connect to will reject you completely and w/o DHT, there is no way to connect to other peers that have the torrent you are trying to leech. Of course, DHT and PE is not significant in private site as it is mostly disabled.
Yes, the end result is all the unicode filename is gone!
ReadLessMoreTV
16-04-2007, 09:58 PM
AlbertLee...
Noticed your mail for a minute ago and 2.8.4 is installed... and works just fine.
I had some truobles starting MLD and :4080 and had to restart NAS-01G several times!
My old password to MLD was the same, and as i see my settings remains as they were before upgrading to 2.8.4
All of a sudden MLD deamon started up. Files that were inside before the upgrade hade a speed at 24Kbit/s, now my Sancho informs med that speed is D:369,05 for exaxly the same files...!
As Borat would say: NICE! ;)
Albert, You are my HERO! :s12:
THANK YOU!
Do you mean that you're getting 370kbps now and basically you use albert's "tutorial?
kentstefan
16-04-2007, 11:14 PM
Do you mean that you're getting 370kbps now and basically you use albert's "tutorial?
Yes and no. I had MLD 2.8.3 that Albert gave me a week ago, and updated to MLD2.8.4
I have cabel Internet DL8/UP1 Mbits/s
With 2.8.3 the speed was about DL 300Kbit/s and it is hard to say that 2.8.4 is faster. All depending on who is sharing on the other side. But the speed did increase alot with 2.8.3 (2.8.4) from original MLD 2.7.7.
I do not have any special settings that have been mentioned in previous typing below, and use BT and Donkey.
The only change i have done is tracker port to 50127/50128, otherwise nothing at all...
Andrew_Ng
17-04-2007, 09:45 AM
@albertlee/trichard/thewiseone,
Thanks for the feedback.
I'm currently still drafting the winning criterion. Some of it will include
1) Modification being done.
2) How the NAS has assisted the end user?
3) Participation in this thread.
4) Name a single feature that should be included in the next/current version.
You all don't jump the gun hor.. tsk tsk.
Xperts
17-04-2007, 10:21 AM
Tried different settings for 2.8.4,
Not much difference that I can notice.
albertlee
17-04-2007, 10:32 AM
Have you guys manage to get MLD to work on private site? Another area which I had yet to explore is seeding torrent. Pls comment if you have done this before.
thewiseone
17-04-2007, 10:46 AM
Hi Andrew,
I think the part of modification being done is a bit tricky. Many of these NAS boxes have their own linux distribution setup, basically almost crippling it from tampering. Case in point, the Qnap. You cant simply install std linux packages and expect it to run. There are many missing libraries, structures, etc. Worse of all, the stupid OS is running in RAM, thereby making any changes non permanent in the next bootup. You can only run user installed apps in a build environment. So my point is, short of replacing the entire flash ROM kernal, its going to be a pain in the ass to mod. Doing that...eh will obviously void manufacturer's warranty. I dont think Convergent encourages such actions will it?
Speaking of mods, IMO, the ideal candidate NAS should be Kurobox Pro (http://www.geekstuff4u.com/product_info.php?manufacturers_id=&products_id=498) (the recently released model with 400Mhz ARM processor, 128Mb RAM, expandable RAM, etc.) . This box is designed for end user tweaking. You can install your own linux and tweak to your hearts content. Perhaps Convergent can consider bringing in this unit, offer the unit at an affordable price and setup a contest based on this unit. It will be a fairer competition since all participants are having the same hardware.
@albertlee/trichard/thewiseone,
Thanks for the feedback.
I'm currently still drafting the winning criterion. Some of it will include
1) Modification being done.
2) How the NAS has assisted the end user?
3) Participation in this thread.
4) Name a single feature that should be included in the next/current version.
You all don't jump the gun hor.. tsk tsk.
Xperts
17-04-2007, 11:47 AM
Have you guys manage to get MLD to work on private site? Another area which I had yet to explore is seeding torrent. Pls comment if you have done this before.
Hmm, I have yet tested with a private torrent.
But will find one to try for an hr.
Post up comments later in the evening. Ciaos.
Xperts
17-04-2007, 02:28 PM
Have tried with private torrent.
Here is my feedback,
Running 3 private torrents - Ok
Avg Speed Per Torrents - 4/5kb/s
Running 1 private torrents- Ok
Avg Speed Per Torrents -20kb/s
Hmm, I am not good at seeding, maybe some others can try. Ciaos.
Lucky123
17-04-2007, 06:40 PM
Wow, 2.8.4 is out huh ? :) Anyway still running in 2.8.3. So far so good (ave. performance)just the issue of seeding problem. Sigh, why no encryption yet ?
thewiseone
17-04-2007, 06:48 PM
Check with those running NAS MLD on the following:
1) Does yr torrent continue seeding after download completion? MLD 2.8.4 seems to
2) Is there a way to stop seeding apart from
a) removing the file from the share directory
b) killing the mlnet core
3) Does yr harddisk go into standby when MLD is running, even when its idle w/o any upload/download taking place?
kentstefan
17-04-2007, 10:06 PM
1) Does yr torrent continue seeding after download completion? MLD 2.8.4 seems to
Yes, this is a diffrence from 2.8.3. MLD 2.8.4 continues to seed after download has finished.
On a private tracker it works fine. If the tracker has not cloased MLDonkey from accessing the site. MLD is not that common used yet! ;)
joystick
17-04-2007, 11:21 PM
Hello,
I have set the NAS's admin password
I have set a password for the share folder
I have set a password for the mldonkey webpage
you think is a good idea to put the box in DMZ?
What more should I do?
Xperts
18-04-2007, 12:24 AM
I just experience some problem with the NAS-01G after reboot.
The core cannot be access after the reboot, wonder if anyone experience the same issue?
Have flashed back to 2.7.7 now.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.