PDA

View Full Version : NAS-01G Gigabit SOHO NAS

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7

chriscel
08-07-2006, 02:56 PM
Just saw this NAS selling in Challenage @ $18X.00.

Price reasonable.

http://www.planex.net/product/nas/nas-01g.htm

http://img220.imageshack.us/img220/7931/nas01g8on.gif

riconeo
10-07-2006, 11:27 AM
the spec is really good. wonder how's the durability?

does SLS sells it?

Twinsen
10-07-2006, 01:29 PM
Even got BT support.. looks very good at only $18x... Syncology and QNAP ones cost more than $370... main difference is this one is on PATA, the other 2 is on SATA

riconeo
10-07-2006, 02:23 PM
ya. Wonder how's the speed for BT.

riconeo
10-07-2006, 02:58 PM
Received an email reply from the sales rep.
Below is the price and location of the product.

The NAS-01G is retailing at $199 & is avaliable at AJVW, Chamoxa & Mediapro
located at Sim Lim SQ 5fl.

SNAG
10-07-2006, 04:39 PM
This looks good..

Just to check, can the print server support 2 printers?
EDIT: The manual indicated that it can only support 1 printer..

riconeo
10-07-2006, 05:34 PM
i'm more interested in the BT support. Wonder how's the BT DL speed.

riconeo
10-07-2006, 05:48 PM
Just saw this NAS selling in Challenage @ $18X.00.

Price reasonable.

http://www.planex.net/product/nas/nas-01g.htm

http://img220.imageshack.us/img220/7931/nas01g8on.gif

is the $18X.00 member's price at challenger

thewiseone
10-07-2006, 06:03 PM
Only supports 2 torrents at any one time but thats still fine if its torrent performance is as quick as the PC's. Would appreciate if anyone with this device can provide some feedback here.

chriscel
10-07-2006, 08:03 PM
is the $18X.00 member's price at challenger

$189 is the normal retail price. I just got one. Tested 2 days with an old 15 GB harddisk. The photo station built-in HTML generator is buggy. The rest is OK for me as a home user. It's is better than the vgear landisk.

ngbc
10-07-2006, 10:20 PM
Hi Chriscel,
1. Does every client accessing it require to install a driver just like Netdisk?
2. Can 2 pc accessing the same file at the same time?

Thanks for sharinh these info.

thewiseone
10-07-2006, 11:08 PM
Chriscel, have you tested its torrent performance? How is it?

Desmond_
10-07-2006, 11:56 PM
the price look attractive...

riconeo
11-07-2006, 11:20 AM
looks like everyone is bombarding chriscel with questions. haha

chriscel
11-07-2006, 07:49 PM
Hi Chriscel,
1. Does every client accessing it require to install a driver just like Netdisk?
2. Can 2 pc accessing the same file at the same time?

Thanks for sharinh these info.
1 )
:) No diver is required. Once install properly. It will show up in the "My Network Places". Access will be base on the user ID profile.
I have problem access it for the first 5 min. Do not know what wrong. Not enough experience in HW & SW configuration.

2 )
:) Sure it's work. It's a network drive.

Regards,

chriscel
11-07-2006, 07:56 PM
Chriscel, have you tested its torrent performance? How is it?

Sorry, I don't use it.

Torrent perform is base on the source & target performance of the ISP. Moreover you can only have 2 share files at one time.

P2P. I though, it was illegal to share.

Regards,

thewiseone
11-07-2006, 08:46 PM
P2P is NOT ILLEGAL, sharing of copyrighted material is. P2P performance, apart from network, also depends on the BT client.

chriscel
12-07-2006, 02:40 AM
P2P is NOT ILLEGAL, sharing of copyrighted material is. P2P performance, apart from network, also depends on the BT client.

You are right. Can recommand a site which i can perform a BT client test?

Did not find any client configuration ? any help ?

Regards
:D :D

thewiseone
12-07-2006, 08:26 AM
For a start, you can try here for linux : http://linuxtracker.org/index.php.

Client configuration? Are you referring to your NAS-01G? Suggest you check your user manual (its documented), just set a single port number and make sure you forward that port number to your NAS at your router.

noz
13-07-2006, 05:35 AM
Ok..
so the file format is EXT3.
So let say if the thing spoilt and urgently I need to access the HDD data, I cannot plug into a windows machine to retreive them right?

Or am I mistaken?
Coz this thing looks quite impressive. Anyway I have a 200GB SATA HDD and resides in my PC. I do not use my PC that often unless play game. The HDD mostly contained shared data, and everytime I got to power up my PC just to get the data. So this might seems to be a good solution for me.

echeong
13-07-2006, 08:58 AM
errr...
the housing only takes ide drives

ngbc
13-07-2006, 09:52 AM
There's this driver called Ext2 IFS For Windows (http://www.fs-driver.org/faq.html) which support read and write to files and directories of volumes with the Ext2 or Ext3 file system. I've not tried it, may be those who did can comment.

Twinsen
13-07-2006, 12:49 PM
A number of the NAS available out there is on the Linux OS, that is why the disk is in EXT3 format. So far, I have not seen any windows OS NAS in this price range. Theoritically, you should be able to mount the disk on any linux OS as well. But then again that is theory.. Maybe Chriscel can try :p

chriscel
13-07-2006, 06:52 PM
For a start, you can try here for linux : http://linuxtracker.org/index.php.

Client configuration? Are you referring to your NAS-01G? Suggest you check your user manual (its documented), just set a single port number and make sure you forward that port number to your NAS at your router.

The BT is horrible. Buggy. I didn't even manage to perform a download. The page alway turn blank. Should wait for a fix.

Regards,

chriscel
13-07-2006, 06:58 PM
A number of the NAS available out there is on the Linux OS, that is why the disk is in EXT3 format. So far, I have not seen any windows OS NAS in this price range. Theoritically, you should be able to mount the disk on any linux OS as well. But then again that is theory.. Maybe Chriscel can try :p

More problem for ext3 format.

If I just perform a "Map network drive", I can access the filesystem.

But if I use the "My network place", I have error that say somthing like "multiple login not allow for the same ID". But I'm the only one login at the moment.

Regards,

thewiseone
13-07-2006, 08:52 PM
The BT is horrible. Buggy. I didn't even manage to perform a download. The page alway turn blank. Should wait for a fix.

Regards,

Sorry to hear that. Seems like there's some bugs to be fixed for this NAS. Its not uncommon for new models, guess you just have to be patient for the fixes.

Sticker
13-07-2006, 11:38 PM
I got one from Challenger today. Think is $185...

I only need the shared storage and print server. Both work fine. Quite happy with it.. Spent quite a bit of time initially..

It has built in web server. Its capability well beyond my expectation. I never realise it supports java/vb script and css. Good for people who wants to learn html. Of course no php, asp...

Still exploring...

chriscel
14-07-2006, 04:12 PM
I got one from Challenger today. Think is $185...

I only need the shared storage and print server. Both work fine. Quite happy with it.. Spent quite a bit of time initially..

It has built in web server. Its capability well beyond my expectation. I never realise it supports java/vb script and css. Good for people who wants to learn html. Of course no php, asp...

Still exploring...
Do you have problem with the Photo station ? it's does not generate the HTML correctly.

I have to use ACSEE Pro for the task.

Regards,

chriscel
14-07-2006, 04:13 PM
Sorry to hear that. Seems like there's some bugs to be fixed for this NAS. Its not uncommon for new models, guess you just have to be patient for the fixes.

It's OK with me as long as the WEB server is working.

Regards,

gabng
14-07-2006, 05:50 PM
This looks good..

Just to check, can the print server support 2 printers?
EDIT: The manual indicated that it can only support 1 printer..

NAS-01G only support 1 USB printer, the other USB port u can attach flash thumb drives.

gabng
14-07-2006, 06:06 PM
ya. Wonder how's the speed for BT.

http://i97.photobucket.com/albums/l217/gabng/P2P_BTspeed.jpg

riconeo
14-07-2006, 06:12 PM
gabng: speed is zero huh? BTW perhaps u would like to censor part of the torrent that u r downloading.

gabng
14-07-2006, 06:15 PM
bro, speed is not Zero la ... it's still trying to get from active seeders ma. If no seeders are active of cos cannot download lor.

riconeo
14-07-2006, 06:27 PM
ic. perhaps u try downloading some anime like "naruto" to check the BT speed loh. btw.. censor your torrent name lah.. cos it's 'ermm' hm..'''

chriscel
15-07-2006, 02:23 AM
More problem for ext3 format.

If I just perform a "Map network drive", I can access the filesystem.

But if I use the "My network place", I have error that say somthing like "multiple login not allow for the same ID". But I'm the only one login at the moment.

Regards,

Solved my access filesystem problem. Accidently disable the user "all".

http://img465.imageshack.us/img465/629/user3dl.jpg

RT
17-07-2006, 12:48 AM
Anyone can update on whether BT is working for this device?

Thanks.

Sticker
18-07-2006, 12:07 AM
Do you have problem with the Photo station ? it's does not generate the HTML correctly.

I have to use ACSEE Pro for the task.

Regards,
Have not tried that yet.... may be this weekend...

I only used it for print server and shared HDD... so far so good... on for last few days.. still working...

limster
19-07-2006, 01:31 PM
What is the file transfer speed like to and from this device?

chriscel
20-07-2006, 01:46 AM

Some screen shot during test.
http://img467.imageshack.us/img467/3701/nas01gsb5.jpg
http://img467.imageshack.us/img467/305/nas01g1kt6.jpg

Haha :D

chriscel
20-07-2006, 01:47 AM
http://img447.imageshack.us/img447/5065/nas01g2wj8.jpg
http://img447.imageshack.us/img447/6760/nas01g3gy0.jpg
Haha

SakeSushi
20-07-2006, 10:57 AM
30MB/s = 240Mbps rite?

is the speed transfer acceptable for it? as i interested in getting 1 to store all my animes.. and stream thru the NAS

btw hw many BT slots are there

chriscel
20-07-2006, 03:04 PM
30MB/s = 240Mbps rite?

is the speed transfer acceptable for it? as i interested in getting 1 to store all my animes.. and stream thru the NAS

btw hw many BT slots are there

The more accurate reading should be about 93 Mbits/s.

My setup is a PCI dual gga intel network card teamed as 1 and connect to DLINK giga switch.

2 BT slots which I can't seem to get it working. Sorry, No experience in BT.

Regards,
:s11:

xplor3r
21-07-2006, 12:08 PM
looks like everyone is bombarding chriscel with questions. haha

1 more question

Best way to backup the data in the is NAS is to attach a external HD via usb and do copy and paste over (the data to the external HD)?

kevinlaikf
21-07-2006, 05:23 PM
I owned one Synology USB station, I am thinking of an upgrade.

Is the PCi NAS's FTP server and Web server required the harddisk to be in EXT3 format to use?
My current Synology FTP server only work if my disks is formatted in EXT3.

chriscel
21-07-2006, 07:16 PM

Is the PCi NAS's FTP server and Web server required the harddisk to be in EXT3 format to use?
Yes.

http://img93.imageshack.us/img93/4151/snag0000cj2.jpg

Cheer.

chriscel
21-07-2006, 07:41 PM
1 more question

Best way to backup the data in the is NAS is to attach a external HD via usb and do copy and paste over (the data to the external HD)?

I find it not to easy as the attach of a external HD via USB needed a number of step for this product. Thus I do not use this method. But I find the software "EZIP NAS backup" that come with it quite simple & useful.

Cheer.

More Information on the NAS-01G (http://www.planex.net/download/nas/nas-01g.htm)

Twinsen
22-07-2006, 01:01 AM
Most of such NAS device is running Linux. Therefore the file system is EXT3.

chriscel
22-07-2006, 04:31 PM
Media PRo is selling @ S$249. Price went up ?

albertlee
22-07-2006, 11:41 PM
Media PRo is selling @ S$249. Price went up ?

:s31: That's $60 more than what Challenger is selling.

xplor3r
24-07-2006, 03:20 PM
Bought it at Challenger. Still figuring out how to make the connection (local network).
Followed the setting in the User's Manual provided and key in the necessary IP address, not forgetting the to the password also provided in the manual. Setup Completed.

Not too difficult for newbie like me.. :yawn:

chriscel
24-07-2006, 03:47 PM
Bought it at Challenger. Still figuring out how to make the connection (local network).
Followed the setting in the User's Manual provided and key in the necessary IP address, not forgetting the to the password also provided in the manual. Setup Completed.

Not too difficult for newbie like me.. :yawn:

No need to follow the procedure provided. Very confusing. To setup, just use the IE and put addess as "NAS-01G". From there than you can disable to DHCP of the nas01g and input a static IP.

Regards,

starbugs
24-07-2006, 09:46 PM
I find it not to easy as the attach of a external HD via USB needed a number of step for this product. Thus I do not use this method. But I find the software "EZIP NAS backup" that come with it quite simple & useful.

Cheer.

More Information on the NAS-01G (http://www.planex.net/download/nas/nas-01g.htm)

Hi, so can you just connect a cross cable between rt45 ports in the nas and the pc to transfer files? ie not using router?

xplor3r
26-07-2006, 01:35 PM
Help needed...
I have setup my NAS and now 2 desktop can access the NAS.

But I can't get my notebook on wireless network to access the NAS, anyone knows how?
Installed NAS-Utility PNMD, did a scan and rescan for the NAS but can't detect. I can see the notebook shared folders and files in other computers, just can't detect NAS.

Anyone knows have access the NAS with wireless network?

chriscel
26-07-2006, 05:13 PM
Help needed...
I have setup my NAS and now 2 desktop can access the NAS.

But I can't get my notebook on wireless network to access the NAS, anyone knows how?
Installed NAS-Utility PNMD, did a scan and rescan for the NAS but can't detect. I can see the notebook shared folders and files in other computers, just can't detect NAS.

Anyone knows have access the NAS with wireless network?

I did not experience this problem.
May be check you software firewall.
Access NAS-01G via IE to see you can connect. http://NAS-01G .
=:p

chriscel
26-07-2006, 05:22 PM
Hi, so can you just connect a cross cable between rt45 ports in the nas and the pc to transfer files? ie not using router?
Why would you want to do that ?
:s8:

riconeo
27-07-2006, 04:18 PM
Why would you want to do that ?
:s8:

Maybe he wants to utilise the gigabit connection. As passing through the router (mostly 100mps), the file transfer will not be gigabit.

xplor3r
27-07-2006, 09:27 PM
I did not experience this problem.
May be check you software firewall.
Access NAS-01G via IE to see you can connect. http://NAS-01G .
=:p

The link you provide above didn't work ley..
I login my wireless router's setup and enter IP address of NAS in DMZ so that my firewall will allow it to access the network, still can't detect.. I am using a SMC wireless barricade.

chriscel
28-07-2006, 01:17 AM
The link you provide above didn't work ley..
I login my wireless router's setup and enter IP address of NAS in DMZ so that my firewall will allow it to access the network, still can't detect.. I am using a SMC wireless barricade.

1) Check if your in the same workgroup in the host name setting in the NAS.
2) Show me the IP address setting in NAS.
3) Ping the IP address of the NAS.

xplor3r
28-07-2006, 03:32 PM
1) Check if your in the same workgroup in the host name setting in the NAS.
2) Show me the IP address setting in NAS.
3) Ping the IP address of the NAS.

Okie, i have overlook workgroup. Have change the workgroup name to Workgroup for both NAS and my notebook...will still need to do some setup on my routers firewall or other setting.. IP address PM you liao.

chriscel
28-07-2006, 07:34 PM
Okie, i have overlook workgroup. Have change the workgroup name to Workgroup for both NAS and my notebook...will still need to do some setup on my routers firewall or other setting.. IP address PM you liao.

I wonder why you need to do firewall setup on the router.
You should be able to access it now.

Cheer.

xplor3r
30-07-2006, 01:48 AM
I wonder why you need to do firewall setup on the router.
You should be able to access it now.

Cheer.

:s12:
Connected!
I disable firewall... and it works

simz
21-08-2006, 02:04 PM
Can anyone help me answer 2 questions.
1. Is there a hard disk spin down when idle function. Really important when running bt 24/7.
2. Will they be coming up with a SATA version soon?

chriscel
21-08-2006, 04:23 PM
Can anyone help me answer 2 questions.
1. Is there a hard disk spin down when idle function. Really important when running bt 24/7.
2. Will they be coming up with a SATA version soon?

1 ) There is a spin down when idle function. But the fan is still running 24/7 and is lousy.

2 ) No idea.

Fredro
05-09-2006, 03:24 PM
I'm a Swedish user and I also have bought this NAS!

Everything works fine with it (some minor problems...) but the one thing I have'nt got to work is the Torrent function.

I have redirected a couple of ports in my router to the ip-of the NAS but whenever I add a torrent-file it just just ends up queued. I have tried the same torrents on my PC and they work just fine.
Anyone that have had this problem and solved it? Suggestions?

AsusEpoxy
08-09-2006, 02:18 PM
just got this NAS yesterday...so far so good. set port forwarding in my router for ftp to the nas...now can start sharing seafood with my group of frens. :D

zniter81
08-09-2006, 08:09 PM
when i was about to buy NAS-01g, i found DS-106e.
it also a NAS and come with the same features as NAS-01g + PHP and MYsql.
and it was great.

albertlee
08-09-2006, 09:05 PM
when i was about to buy NAS-01g, i found DS-106e.
it also a NAS and come with the same features as NAS-01g + PHP and MYsql.
and it was great.

How much did you pay for the DS-106e?

zniter81
08-09-2006, 09:09 PM
How much did you pay for the DS-106e?i paid abt 370+
actual mount can't remember

albertlee
08-09-2006, 09:21 PM
i paid abt 370+
actual mount can't remember

I presumed the NAS come with harddisk else it not worth it. BTW, what's the capacity and where you purchase from?

zniter81
08-09-2006, 09:33 PM
I presumed the NAS come with harddisk else it not worth it. BTW, what's the capacity and where you purchase from?hi i bought it together wif a seagate 320GB hdd.
i bought at simlim storage studio.

albertlee
08-09-2006, 09:38 PM
hi i bought it together wif a seagate 320GB hdd.
i bought at simlim storage studio.

Wow, that meant this cost more than NAS-01G, assuming the HDD cost $168 and you paid $370 in total.

zniter81
08-09-2006, 09:53 PM
Wow, that meant this cost more than NAS-01G, assuming the HDD cost $168 and you paid $370 in total.indeed it is more expensive than NAS-01G.
comparing the features,

ds-106e supports php mysql and more concurrent torrent download. ds-106e support up to 2 external hdd using usb and e-sata

the php and mysql is really a PLUS features. worth the money!

albertlee
08-09-2006, 10:03 PM
@zniter81, I'm more interested in the BT performance, could you post the result here when you have the chance? I believed NAS-01G can only support 2 active torrent, any idea what is the limit for DS-106E?

zniter81
08-09-2006, 10:24 PM
@zniter81, I'm more interested in the BT performance, could you post the result here when you have the chance? I believed NAS-01G can only support 2 active torrent, any idea what is the limit for DS-106E?i'm surprise with the test! 10 concurrent torrent.
i'm using my nas to host this pix so if u dun see this pix mean i may have off the nas or nas is busy.
http://getlost.kicks-ass.net:8080/torrenttest.jpg

AsusEpoxy
09-09-2006, 02:17 PM
BT for the Nas01G very buggy, couldn't get it to start at all

jasmond
13-09-2006, 01:19 PM
im having trouble with e NAS-01G.. i've already copied some media files over and tried opening them. there's nothing wrong with it at first glance. then after i restart the NAS-01G, the HDD ACT LED will stay on ( NOT blink ) for a minute or two whenever i try to access e folders inside and my explorer window will hang there for a while before i get in. does it always lag on the first few accesses after a restart? :s11:

Marill
13-09-2006, 05:35 PM
the HDD will spin down to save power, save HDD if no activity for a period of time.

so what happen is the HDD was spin down so it needs some time to spin up again b4 you can access the data, which is what's happening.

OR could be your windows is trying to read the directory structure before showing you in explorer so this one is done over the network reading so it's gonna be slow anyways.

AsusEpoxy
13-09-2006, 06:04 PM
anyone using this NAS having any success with the BT feature?

jasmond
13-09-2006, 07:42 PM
the HDD will spin down to save power, save HDD if no activity for a period of time.

so what happen is the HDD was spin down so it needs some time to spin up again b4 you can access the data, which is what's happening.

OR could be your windows is trying to read the directory structure before showing you in explorer so this one is done over the network reading so it's gonna be slow anyways.

yea i can see all the files after a while but when i try to do file transfers back to my PC the transfer doesnt move a single bit.

Marill
13-09-2006, 09:57 PM
i think you need to tuen it on and wait for a while for things to settle... coz perhaps your PC and the NAS is both trying to negotiate as to who will be the "Master Browser" in the network.

Wait a few minutes for them to settle the election of the master browser, then use the NAS.

This will happen only when you just turn on the NAS... after that just leve the NAS on 24/7 or something...

jasmond
15-09-2006, 06:38 PM
i think you need to tuen it on and wait for a while for things to settle... coz perhaps your PC and the NAS is both trying to negotiate as to who will be the "Master Browser" in the network.

Wait a few minutes for them to settle the election of the master browser, then use the NAS.

This will happen only when you just turn on the NAS... after that just leve the NAS on 24/7 or something...

the problem wasnt due to the NAS starting up its server.. the problem came AFTER it starts up. its online and running, but i cant access. lol. anyway i brought it down to PLANEX yesterday and it seems that theres no problem with my set at all. juz curious thou.. did u delete the original user settings? i'm wondering if that might cause the problems i had

Fredro
15-09-2006, 09:30 PM
anyone using this NAS having any success with the BT feature?
I'm wondering the same thing. Has anyone here got BT to work with the NAS-01G?
All my torrents end up queued...

Marill
15-09-2006, 10:14 PM
what you mean delete my orig settings? I set it up with the settings that will work whit my network lor...

if let's say I turn off my PC and then turn on again then try to access it with windows my netwrk places, it will take sometime to find it and browse... like i dunno... 10 seconds? During this time if you try to immediately access some directories it will give problem.

The problem is not the NAS but rather the way the windows network works...

when you turn on PC, both the NAS and the PC will want to be the master browser for the network, so they need to take some time for the PC and the NAS to communicate and hold elections to elect the master browser before you can access with no problems.

Especially when you set users with password to access the directory, better wiait a while (after you tun on your NAS OR after you just turn on your PC) wait a while b4 accessing the NAS, since during this time when they holding elections and you try to access then it's not very stable.

the bt doesn't work (but it doesn't support the bt encryption anyways, so it's useless)

puregreentea
18-09-2006, 05:20 PM
BT works btw.

I've managed to download "pink pant*" ... But somehow there's download only... no upload.

Also, I've set my router to forward the port to my NAS. Also, dun use the default port number.

BTW, anyone manage to get chinese characters onto the NAS? I've already the codepage on the management screen but I get garbage everytime I copy file with chinese characters.

I got winxp chinese version as well as English but same results leh. Got suggestion?

AsusEpoxy
18-09-2006, 06:13 PM
BT works btw.

I've managed to download "pink pant*" ... But somehow there's download only... no upload.

Also, I've set my router to forward the port to my NAS. Also, dun use the default port number.

BTW, anyone manage to get chinese characters onto the NAS? I've already the codepage on the management screen but I get garbage everytime I copy file with chinese characters.

I got winxp chinese version as well as English but same results leh. Got suggestion?

how did u get BT to work?

Fredro
18-09-2006, 07:08 PM
I got BT working!

For me it was installing UPnP that did the trick. The manual says its on the CD-Rom but it's not. I downloaded the file from the Swedish retailer's website.
http://www.planex.net/driver/nas/NAS-01G/ntx_libra.tgz

Good luck!

puregreentea
19-09-2006, 12:16 AM
hmm.. i can't really remember. But I'm quite sure that i didn't install the printer driver until much later.

BT is defaulted as disabled. I just switch it to enable. Then I dump the .torrent files into "Share" and click "Add" button from the "download configuration" tab. The rest is in the manual.

The main problem I face is the buggy "download configuration" tab. Try firefox if you see a blank screen. I've tried with IE. It works ok sometimes... not sure if it has something to do with SP1 / SP2. (I tried on a couple of PC you see...)

AsusEpoxy
19-09-2006, 09:42 AM
I got BT working!

For me it was installing UPnP that did the trick. The manual says its on the CD-Rom but it's not. I downloaded the file from the Swedish retailer's website.

Good luck!

Thanks! BT now works!
but this thing is really quite buggy, now i couldn't mount any usb hdd...anyone having success mounting USB hdd?

puregreentea
19-09-2006, 10:12 AM
you need to format the usb hdd to ext3 too.

Go "USB" tab and format it. It'll give you a new folder with defaulted USB1-1.

Julian Chia
20-09-2006, 12:53 AM
This is Gigabit but did anyone tried using it with Jumbo Frame? Frame size 9K and above. Increases LAN transport in GbE by 30%.

limster
20-09-2006, 04:15 PM
This is Gigabit but did anyone tried using it with Jumbo Frame? Frame size 9K and above. Increases LAN transport in GbE by 30%.

From the Planex website itself and even the box packagaing, the NAS-01G doesn't support Jumbo Frames. Any link to show that the NAS-01G supports jumbo frames?

The vrzone review shows a max thoroughput of 12Mb/s (max not average) using GbE, way below the usual GbE thoroughput of 25+Mb/s. Can other users who have measured GbE thoroughput comment?

Marill
20-09-2006, 04:31 PM
From the Planex website itself and even the box packagaing, the NAS-01G doesn't support Jumbo Frames. Any link to show that the NAS-01G supports jumbo frames?
from the web gui you can select jumbo frames enable or disable.

limster
20-09-2006, 07:26 PM
from the web gui you can select jumbo frames enable or disable.

thanks for the info. hope someone can report on whether 12mb/s is 'normal' for the product... seems on the low side

kevinlaikf
21-09-2006, 04:32 PM
is Challenger still selling this NAS at the cheapest price in town for $18x? or there is new location selling cheaper?

puregreentea
22-09-2006, 10:36 AM
is Challenger still selling this NAS at the cheapest price in town for $18x? or there is new location selling cheaper?
Last time round i got it for 175 at costronic.. 2weeks ago i think

AsusEpoxy
22-09-2006, 12:16 PM
you need to format the usb hdd to ext3 too.

Go "USB" tab and format it. It'll give you a new folder with defaulted USB1-1.

can help me out on this? it only sees the usb drive and the only format option available to me is FAT16.....

puregreentea
22-09-2006, 03:08 PM
can help me out on this? it only sees the usb drive and the only format option available to me is FAT16.....
once you plug in the usd drive into NAS-01G USB port, can you see the hdd in the "Details" tab under "USB" category?

If yes, click on the "Disk setup" tab. You'll see the a "format" button. Click that and voila... it's in EXT3 format (and your previous data is of course gone). You should then be able to see the external HDD as a new folder called "USB1-1" (or something like that).

To change the name, go to the "Folder" tab under "Disk" category and rename it just like the other folders.

----
After writing all this, I just refer to the manual again (pg 90) .... the picture does show a FAT16. So you MIGHT be able to use FAT16... Then again, if you follow the steps given, you're suppose to format the HDD..... anyway, it's all too late for me :P

Proximus
07-10-2006, 01:16 AM
I got BT working!

Good luck!

I had installed the ntx_libra.tgz file but the BT speed is terrible. Btw, I had did the necessary port-forwarding in my router and i use another port than 2107. Can to share your BT settings on your NAS-01G?

AsusEpoxy
07-10-2006, 01:39 AM
do note that if you connect usb drive to the NAS, you need 1 with a compatiible chipset.It recognise my prolific one, but can't mount it.....only can mount another one which it stated as unknown chipset

asswor
07-10-2006, 01:36 PM
well tested mine and it works fine on a USB to IDE device.. I use it with a Maxtor casing it keeps detecting it but yeah does not allow me to map the drive on my PC. Though it is able to use the disk for p2p..

leinad
21-10-2006, 01:37 PM
Apologies for digging up this thread 2 weeks later, but has anyone actually tried connecting a Mac to it? I know it says it's mac compatible - but so do a lot of devices out there, and I know it's not all true.

Does performance over SMB take a massive hit?

/Dan

Marill
22-10-2006, 01:51 AM
you should be able to connect a MAC to it.. the filesystem is EXT3 and not NTFS so should be no probem, moreover the sharing is provided by samba server. It also runs as a ftp server.

not sure about SMB performance... i've not really measured it much, but transferring over 800MB of stuff is pretty zippy over the network.

Theoden
23-10-2006, 01:46 PM
I have some questions regarding NAS-01G, I hope the current owners can help to answer them.

-are u able to add BT jobs remotely?(for example adding a new BT job from office when the NAS is at home)

-are u able to access the NAS remotely(from office)

-are there software upgrades available?

thanks!

AsusEpoxy
24-10-2006, 12:08 AM
I have some questions regarding NAS-01G, I hope the current owners can help to answer them.

-are u able to add BT jobs remotely?(for example adding a new BT job from office when the NAS is at home)

-are u able to access the NAS remotely(from office)

-are there software upgrades available?

thanks!

I've tried port forwarding for http requests for my router to point to the NAS but to no avail.
But ftp to it totally no prob.
I can access from office in a 3rd party kind of way.....i use my office PC to remotely control my home PC which in turns control the NAS...

John Koh
24-10-2006, 07:30 AM
Hi Guy, is there any software to make NAS-01G accept chinese font (file name). All my chinese mp3 after copy to NAS-01G become "$#@" file. Thank

leinad
24-10-2006, 08:35 AM
Hi Guy, is there any software to make NAS-01G accept chinese font (file name). All my chinese mp3 after copy to NAS-01G become "$#@" file. Thank
Are the filenames encoded in Unicode?

Linux should be Unicode capable.

/Dan

albertlee
24-10-2006, 01:02 PM
I've tried port forwarding for http requests for my router to point to the NAS but to no avail.
But ftp to it totally no prob.
I can access from office in a 3rd party kind of way.....i use my office PC to remotely control my home PC which in turns control the NAS...

So there is no remote web admin for this box?

riconeo
25-10-2006, 09:01 PM
i'm selling the Qnap TS 101. Perhaps u guys would like to take a look as well. :)

http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1438675

Marill
26-10-2006, 02:05 AM
there is web admin for it... you can't access it probably you're putting the NAS behind a NAT so cannot access from outside. You can configure your NAT to translate requests outside the nework to map to your web admin ip address and port and you should be able to access it.

sAxman_Returns
26-10-2006, 12:28 PM
sounds good!

Theoden
26-10-2006, 01:01 PM
why didnt any of u guys try putting the nas in a dmz zone?

AsusEpoxy
26-10-2006, 02:25 PM
why didnt any of u guys try putting the nas in a dmz zone?

I've put my NAS in DMZ, plus also set porting forwarding for http port 80 and ftp 20-21 in my router to the NAS as well.

At home i can access the web console even if i type outside address for eg
http://218.123.146.2 (assuming its the ip add assigned to my cable modem)

however in office if i type that, then cannot leh...however ftp works ok from office though...

Any comments?

Theoden
26-10-2006, 05:51 PM
so strange wor.
have u got experience setting up IIS or apache on ur pc for webhosting?
if u have done that, it shudnt be too hard for the nas as well.
maybe i shud get a nas to work at home.
i hate to on my computer while i'm at work.
but if on the nas only, its got to be sweet.

wait a min, what isp are u using?

AsusEpoxy
26-10-2006, 07:56 PM
so strange wor.
have u got experience setting up IIS or apache on ur pc for webhosting?
if u have done that, it shudnt be too hard for the nas as well.
maybe i shud get a nas to work at home.
i hate to on my computer while i'm at work.
but if on the nas only, its got to be sweet.

wait a min, what isp are u using?

i'm on MOL

Marill
26-10-2006, 11:00 PM
starhub is blocking access to port 80..... try to configure map another uncommon port to your NAS's port 80.

seankyh
26-10-2006, 11:12 PM
Plugged in my FAT32 formtted harddisk to it just now. Reads it no problem suhweeet!!!!

Only thing is when tranferring files from my portable hard disk to the NAS, it copies to my computer first then to the NAS. A bit stoopid but there you go.

AsusEpoxy
29-10-2006, 12:17 AM
starhub is blocking access to port 80..... try to configure map another uncommon port to your NAS's port 80.

can advise more details on how to do that?

puregreentea
30-10-2006, 02:30 PM
Hi Guy, is there any software to make NAS-01G accept chinese font (file name). All my chinese mp3 after copy to NAS-01G become "$#@" file. ThankIt has bug in the current uPnP version (either that or it's the firmware).

Wait for the ver2 and it's perfect!

BTW, new version is using MLDonkey for the p2p features. Max 5 downloads. Accepts ed2k :) ... loves it now! ( would love more if max download = unlimited :))

AsusEpoxy
30-10-2006, 02:39 PM
u mean version 2 of the NAS(meaning a replacement model) or its firmware?

puregreentea
30-10-2006, 02:41 PM
u mean version 2 of the NAS(meaning a replacement model) or its firmware?
My bad... firmware upgrade to v2.

AsusEpoxy
30-10-2006, 02:49 PM
no probs! finally new firmware! the v1 is really buggy! Where can I download this v2?

puregreentea
31-10-2006, 12:14 AM
no probs! finally new firmware! the v1 is really buggy! Where can I download this v2?Firmware v2:
<Link remove>

My NAS, P2P and P2P admin pages after upgrade:
http://photos.yousendit.com/albums/73B0A0908181C1078546CC292D4D103B (http://photos.yousendit.com/albums/73B0A0908181C1078546CC292D4D103B)

More p2p pics (sweet!):
http://photos.yousendit.com/albums/A94986E6DA069E392C60D4E06D3D2467 (http://photos.yousendit.com/albums/A94986E6DA069E392C60D4E06D3D2467)

Disclaimer: I'm not responsible for the updates/failure/etc. Upgrade at your own risk.

p/s: I R noob.. dunno how to upload pic on forum and lazy to RTFM.. sorry.

Marill
31-10-2006, 02:31 AM
Virus Trojan alert! The firmware v2 that you posted contains LootSeek trojan virus as reported by norton. Everyone else, pls do not download!

puregreentea
31-10-2006, 09:48 AM
Virus Trojan alert! The firmware v2 that you posted contains LootSeek trojan virus as reported by norton. Everyone else, pls do not download!argh... which file was it? The setup file? my scan don't show anything. I only updated firmware and Up2p file so no need to run that.

Or was it the firmware itself? If so, can tell me how you check that? By tracing the network traffic?

Edit: Sorry..... setup.exe indeed has trojan. Please don't execute the setup.exe !!!! But the rest is ok... either that, wait for the offical release.

However, if anyone else who updated the firmware and tried out the P2P. Please advise on this simple question: er... where the downloaded file goes to? According to the text, it's suppose to be share/p2p/files or directory... but it's not there leh.

Proximus
31-10-2006, 10:07 AM
What is the setup.exe for? I thought only the firmware load for NAS-01G and the ntx_libra.tgz is needed.

puregreentea
31-10-2006, 10:10 AM
What is the setup.exe for? I thought only the firmware load for NAS-01G and the ntx_libra.tgz is needed.
Guess it was not supposed to be anything. As you mentioned, only the firmware and tgz files is required. Anyway, I uploaded the same files without the setup.exe here:

http://download.yousendit.com/1D65077904DFDAC6 (http://download.yousendit.com/1D65077904DFDAC6)

Proximus
31-10-2006, 10:25 AM
Guess it was not supposed to be anything. As you mentioned, only the firmware and tgz files is required. Anyway, I uploaded the same files without the setup.exe here:

http://download.yousendit.com/1D65077904DFDAC6 (http://download.yousendit.com/1D65077904DFDAC6)

Yes, the setup.exe is not needed as I had upgrade mine last night after an email from planex techsupport. Btw, the MLDonkey do not seems to be user friendly and it is pack with features which i do not know what are they... I'm a newbie in BT...... =:p

Marill
31-10-2006, 10:55 AM
sorry, i couldnt tell coz notron reports the zipped file has it and then proceeded to immediately delete the file.

anyways without the setp.exe it should be fine! :)

AsusEpoxy
31-10-2006, 11:07 AM

thanks for the effort man, ur doing all the owners a great service. (minus the infected files) :D

John Koh
31-10-2006, 05:27 PM
Funny my NAS-01G cannot upgrade. Error message said: "New firmware's is not suitable with this system". My current version "V1.00(05-19-2006)" Anyone has the same problem ?

puregreentea
01-11-2006, 03:02 PM
Yes, the setup.exe is not needed as I had upgrade mine last night after an email from planex techsupport. Btw, the MLDonkey do not seems to be user friendly and it is pack with features which i do not know what are they... I'm a newbie in BT...... I'm playing with the new P2P... pretty cool since MLDonkey is quite fully functional.

Undocumentated P2P features of NAS-01G firmware 2:

1. Unlimited (?) Max number of concurrent downloads ... I've sent mine to 12 is still ok. Limited by your bandwidth/wish/hope/imagination I guess.

2. By default, supports both edonkey and BitTorrent network. But you can enable Overnet, Gnutella, Gnutella2 (i think), FastTrack, Kad Network, maybe others.... dunno much abt the other network.

3. Change the P2P port. It's default to 6882 (?) for BT and 4886 (?) for
eDonkey. (Sorry cannot remember the exact port offhand)

4. Many other minor settings.

Minus point:
1. Very techie. Lots of typing. Command line searches. But for simple P2P, easy enough.
2. Download location is currently stated as Share/p2p/incoming/files and Share/p2p/incoming/directory.
For eDonkey downloads, it's actually mldonkey/incoming/files (you got to add a new folder called "mldonkey" first)
Didn't test out the BT download thot.

Plus point:
1. Basically a "cheap computer" with P2P features.... not that cheap actually considering that this "computer" cannot do much else :)

2. Upgradable? Most likey since you can see the contents of mldonkey

Lastly, to config the P2P:
Type vo or voo in the top right corner of the p2p page (located at http://192.168.1.xxx:4080 )

See mldonkey.sourceforge.net for details of the available commands.

Enjoy!

Kyushinro
02-11-2006, 07:04 AM
official update available liao
http://www.planex.net/download/nas/nas-01g.htm

Theoden
02-11-2006, 02:12 PM
Hi guys,
can anyone tell me if this NAS is picky over the HDD in them.
So far, I only know they accept IDE HDD, and no more than 300GB.
How about the cache? Does it take 2m, 8m, 16m?
thanks!

albertlee
02-11-2006, 09:14 PM
Hi guys,
can anyone tell me if this NAS is picky over the HDD in them.
So far, I only know they accept IDE HDD, and no more than 300GB.
How about the cache? Does it take 2m, 8m, 16m?
thanks!

Where did you get this info from? From what I know most external HD enclosure can handle disc capacity of up to 400GB. HDD cache size does not really matter other than affecting the overall drive performance.

Kyushinro
02-11-2006, 11:05 PM
anyone using this with a hitachi 7k250 250gb drive? Its keeps saying there are no HD present, even after setting it to master.

Theoden
02-11-2006, 11:26 PM
Where did you get this info from? From what I know most external HD enclosure can handle disc capacity of up to 400GB. HDD cache size does not really matter other than affecting the overall drive performance.

Yup its 400GB, I read wrongly. paiseh
where can i get this baby and how much?

albertlee
03-11-2006, 12:06 AM
Yup its 400GB, I read wrongly. paiseh
where can i get this baby and how much?

NAS-01G is available in Challenger. There is only a few units left when I was there about 3 wks ago.

Pls post here if anyone know of other places selling this box.

puregreentea
03-11-2006, 02:22 AM
NAS-01G is available in Challenger. There is only a few units left when I was there about 3 wks ago.

Pls post here if anyone know of other places selling this box.
simlim no more meh? Last time round it's abt 180. (abt 1mth ago).

Theoden
03-11-2006, 08:40 AM
where in simlim got sell?
i went to mediapro, but he say no more and tried to intro me some other brand. blah...

puregreentea
03-11-2006, 10:06 AM
where in simlim got sell?
i went to mediapro, but he say no more and tried to intro me some other brand. blah...
It has been a 2 weeks since I been to simlim.. so I don;t know which shop is have it. Last time, I got mine at Costronic but I believe Storage Studio still have (but abit more pricey)

leinad
03-11-2006, 10:23 AM
I believe, in a few pages back, it was highlighted that Challenger Funan sold it cheaper than any other shop in Sim Lim.

In any case, I've finally gotten my Synology DS106e.

/Dan

Theoden
03-11-2006, 10:28 AM
Hey dan, can u share with me what made u choose ds106 compared to nas-01g?

Another question for current NAS-01G users.
Is the NAS hot? Is the NAS noisy?

leinad
03-11-2006, 10:36 AM
Hey dan, can u share with me what made u choose ds106 compared to nas-01g?
Oh sure.

I already had a 300GB SATA-II drive sitting around. (It was from my former PC that I retired when I switched to my MacBook Pro. So rather than have to buy a new HDD, I decided to get a NAS that supported SATA instead.

Also, the Synology had a few features that appealed to me, Apache, MySQL and PhP built-in (without hacking) would be key for me. As well as the fact that the vendor (Synology) actually had Mac installation and utilities - which speaks for it's own comprehensiveness/throughness.

I've also found that Synology did not leave their old products behind - they've just released new firmware and added a lot of features to their older DS101 series, to bring them pretty much up to scratch with their current DS106 series.

Given the pretty good reviews all over the Internet by reputable vendors, it was not a difficult decision to make - for me at least.

/Dan

PS: I do not work for them. Just thought it was pretty nice of them, overall.

Theoden
03-11-2006, 10:52 AM
I see, thanks for sharing.
Its nice to have PHP + MYSQL, But I dont know if its too high a price to pay for the DS-106E.
My Main concerns for a NAS is BT and able to access the console thru WAN.
Able to use SATA HDD is a plus, but I think I think if it uses IDE HDD I'm ok with it too.
I think I better consider NAS-01G, do you have a better recommendation upon knowing my requirements?

NAS01-G($189) + 250GB HDD($130) = $319

compared to

HD-HG250LAN + 250GB HDD = $327

leinad
03-11-2006, 11:01 AM
I see, thanks for sharing.
Its nice to have PHP + MYSQL, But I dont know if its too high a price to pay for the DS-106E.
My Main concerns for a NAS is BT and able to access the console thru WAN.
Able to use SATA HDD is a plus, but I think I think if it uses IDE HDD I'm ok with it too.
I think I better consider NAS-01G, do you have a better recommendation upon knowing my requirements?

NAS01-G($189) + 250GB HDD($130) = $319

compared to

HD-HG250LAN + 250GB HDD = $327
I would go with the Buffalo. From reviews, they have a very good performance, even better than the Synology.

I agree the price was a major deterrent, which made me think really hard. But I figured that I probably could not get very much from the sale of my 300GB hard drive, so I might as well fork out that little bit more.

And it's got such a pretty white box! :D

/Dan

Theoden
03-11-2006, 11:06 AM
thanks for ur recommendation.
i think i'll do more reading up. :(

leinad
03-11-2006, 11:15 AM
Just search for reviews. IIRC, Storage Studio's site has the benchmark graphs posted. I think I saw it there when I was searching for NASes myself.

Anyway, I suppose what matters is, you'll have to convince yourself that your purchase is best - no one else can do it for you. :) I personally dislike that part myself, though.. Heh.. A lot of research just to buy 1 product, like not very worth it.

Good luck!

/Dan

AsusEpoxy
03-11-2006, 02:36 PM
can anyone advise on how to access the NAS admin page through WAN?

Theoden
03-11-2006, 03:03 PM
You got the NAS, but cannot access it thru WAN?
Have you tried using VNC to access ur home computer when u are in office?

puregreentea
03-11-2006, 03:34 PM
can anyone advise on how to access the NAS admin page through WAN?
Try port forward 80 to your NAS IP. See if it works.

Theoden
03-11-2006, 03:38 PM
Hi puregreentea,

are u able to access ur nas thru wan?

AsusEpoxy
03-11-2006, 05:23 PM
You got the NAS, but cannot access it thru WAN?
Have you tried using VNC to access ur home computer when u are in office?

i can access using remote access to home computer, but tt does not make sense anymore...cos the main purpose of it is to consume less power than home pc and yet can do BT and ftp....

AsusEpoxy
03-11-2006, 05:27 PM
Try port forward 80 to your NAS IP. See if it works.

tried that already, doesn't work.
My setup is as follows:

NAS-01G in DMZ
port forward 20 and 21 for FTP (can access)
port forward http requests to port 80 (cannot access)

thing is if i type in http://XXX.XXX.X.X (assuming the XX is my IP allocated by ISP) on my home PC, i can access the admin page. If i do the same thing from office, cannot.

An earlier explanation by 1 of the bros here say that starhub block port 80 requests to their residential MOL lines.

puregreentea
03-11-2006, 05:50 PM
Hi puregreentea,

are u able to access ur nas thru wan?
I dun use the "Fat green pipe" so I can access my nas thru WAN.

puregreentea
03-11-2006, 05:56 PM
tried that already, doesn't work.
My setup is as follows:

NAS-01G in DMZ
port forward 20 and 21 for FTP (can access)
port forward http requests to port 80 (cannot access)

thing is if i type in http://XXX.XXX.X.X (http://xxx.xxx.x.x/) (assuming the XX is my IP allocated by ISP) on my home PC, i can access the admin page. If i do the same thing from office, cannot.

An earlier explanation by 1 of the bros here say that starhub block port 80 requests to their residential MOL lines.
I tot you can forward your ISP port xx (anything but 21or 80) to NAS port 80 ? Sorry.. forgot if this is possible... I've only setup once... only to play-play my NAS (1mth ago!)... got pple catching P2P you know so my NAS only on at night....

albertlee
03-11-2006, 07:56 PM
Went to Challenger today only to find out that it is out-of-stock. According to the sales staff, have to wait for another 2wks.

Fuwell (Funan) is also selling this box but at a higher price of $218.

Kyushinro
03-11-2006, 08:24 PM
there are around 5 of them (I think) at challenger tampines. Its doing a clearance too, $175 for members. Non-members $189.

puregreentea
04-11-2006, 12:19 AM
I tot you can forward your ISP port xx (anything but 21or 80) to NAS port 80 ? Sorry.. forgot if this is possible... I've only setup once... only to play-play my NAS (1mth ago!)... got pple catching P2P you know so my NAS only on at night....
confirm liao... my cheapo 2wire wireless router can forward my ISP port to internal network port 80... i can access the NAS admin from WAN without using ISP port 80.

btw, why you need to access NAS admin? If just for P2P, you can just use the default port 4080 to manage the links.

AsusEpoxy
04-11-2006, 07:37 AM
how did u test ur wan?u vpn from office to test?

echeong
04-11-2006, 03:39 PM

I'm using a 500gb in this, so capacity wise no issue

AsusEpoxy
05-11-2006, 06:24 PM
just upgraded to firmware v 2, seems that BT has become really slow....any users have any idea how to optimise it with the command based interface? Always get the message "DNS resolution does not work" when i check the BT status.... would appreciate if any fellow owners could help me out....

austin2
05-11-2006, 06:49 PM
Hi guys,

Does this N.A.S support DDns ??? or else how to get up to date ..IP address ???

austin2
05-11-2006, 07:36 PM
is it posibble to install linux DDNS client in this device ???

leinad
05-11-2006, 09:52 PM
Why not just use a router with DDNS?

/Dan

Theoden
05-11-2006, 11:09 PM
which router got ddns?
pls advise. :)

leinad
05-11-2006, 11:20 PM
WRT54G had it, last I remembered.

I'm using my ST585. It has DDNS.

/Dan

austin2
06-11-2006, 12:22 AM
i had linksys router ... can some guide me how to used the |DDNS on linksys to point to this NAS.

leinad
06-11-2006, 08:07 AM
DynDNS isn't to point to the NAS. It's to synchronise with a DDNS provider and provide a means of allocating a fixed host to a Dynamic IP.

You do your port forwarding to your NAS, or simply just put it in DMZ.

/Dan

AsusEpoxy
06-11-2006, 12:03 PM
after finish dl files thru bt, shared/p2p/files is empty! the files should be there right? Does anyone know why this is happening?

Theoden
06-11-2006, 04:32 PM
I think it was mentioned somewhere that the files are in incoming folder.

AsusEpoxy
06-11-2006, 05:48 PM
but i do not have any "incoming folder" :(

scasi
10-11-2006, 01:17 PM
BT download router
http://www.planex.net/product/wireless/blw-hpmm-u.htm
http://www.planex.co.jp/product/router/bittorrent/
http://www.planex.co.jp/product/router/blw-hpmm-u.shtml

And ITune Server that can plug directly to the router?
http://www.planex.co.jp/product/router/itunes_svr/

Just asking, not selling

Asphodeli
10-11-2006, 02:15 PM
Can this NAS run Azureus?

puregreentea
10-11-2006, 04:05 PM
after finish dl files thru bt, shared/p2p/files is empty! the files should be there right? Does anyone know why this is happening?
add a new folder called "mldonkey".

The downloaded files will be in mldonkey/incoming/files or directory

the mldonkey folder will be full of barang-barang (mldonkey files) so please dun delete thing hor. Also, this shared folder must be shared again everytime you switch off the NAS. I believe it's the config that's making the downloaded files go to the mldonkey directory but haven't got time to tweak it yet.

puregreentea
10-11-2006, 04:13 PM
Can this NAS run Azureus?
Technically yes I think.

If you download the latest Character Set & UPnP (the .tgz file), you can see that it contains the directory for mldonkey. Just replace all files with Azureus and make sure your executable file is also called mldonkey

Then again.. I not that curoius to test this out :) ... I can live with the mldonkey command lines and it make me feel that i'm technically savvy ... :)

puregreentea
10-11-2006, 04:27 PM
BT download router
http://www.planex.net/product/wireless/blw-hpmm-u.htm
http://www.planex.co.jp/product/router/bittorrent/
http://www.planex.co.jp/product/router/blw-hpmm-u.shtml

And ITune Server that can plug directly to the router?
http://www.planex.co.jp/product/router/itunes_svr/

Just asking, not selling
Nice! You can do the same now too with NAS + wireless bridge.

puregreentea
10-11-2006, 04:36 PM
just upgraded to firmware v 2, seems that BT has become really slow....any users have any idea how to optimise it with the command based interface? Always get the message "DNS resolution does not work" when i check the BT status.... would appreciate if any fellow owners could help me out....
did you use a fixed IP for your NAS? I have the same error message but I bochap since it's downloading is ok.

Also, how to know if the BT is considered slow? I always think it's limited by the bandwidth as well as number of pple sharing the file. Is there a test for this?

kayaroti
20-11-2006, 11:55 AM

Just got myself this NAS together with a Seagate 320GB 7200.10 HDD.
Upgraded to Version 2 firmware and also found that the BT is slow to almost crawling, comparing to PC. Wonder if anyone has solved the BT problem.

savagevamp
20-11-2006, 12:55 PM
I know how to tweak the BT for the NAS using a Maxtor 200GB, but somehow my NAS doesn't want recognise the my Seagate 320GB 7200.10 HDD (set Master/Single pin)

Eh Kayaroti, can i check with u with model number for this Seagate hdd are u using and its pin config.

For you info, i manage to get my BT d/l at abt 150kb/s for popular torrent.

Also anyone knows the where to send in for warrenty?

kayaroti
20-11-2006, 03:16 PM
Hi savage,

I have no problem with the Seagate drive. In fact I am surprise that it is fully formatted in less than 10 min. It is shown as 314GB on the status page.

The model no. is on the faceplate of the HDD right ? Will need to check it when I am home.

How did you configure to get such a speed ?

My router (WRT54GS) is set to forward port 6882 to my NAS-01G which is on static IP.
Is there any other port to open or step to improve the speed. Pls share.

Not sure where to send the warranty card also. It is in chinese, may be for Taiwan.

savagevamp
20-11-2006, 10:02 PM
Qulte a lot of items to adjust for the BT.....can do more than 5 concurrent d/ls that for u sure and dun use the 6880 to 6889 range......it seem to always cause a lot of slow downs....and change the theme for more easy useage of the BT.....Found where the service center is.....at IOI Plaza, mention in Planex webby....seem like my NAS got problem

kayaroti
20-11-2006, 11:24 PM

How to go about changing the port of BT and Theme ?

My Seagate drive
S/N: 9QF026GA
ST3320620A
P/N: 9BJ04G - 305
FIRMWARE: 3.AAD
DATE CODE: 07121

savagevamp
21-11-2006, 08:54 AM
Thanks for the info, mine is also the same model.....I think my NAS got problem....Sending in for Warrenty.......Anyway that is pretty advance settings to deal with.....but to kick off.....u must type "voo" in the command line inferface, then u see a lot of options......Kayaroti please check ur pm..

kayaroti
21-11-2006, 09:00 AM
I have set the port from 6881/6882 to 4001/4002 as below and forwarded the ports from my router to the NAS. Till now still sluggish even if the BT is one of the most popular one. Anyone can help ?

Port Setting
gui_bind_addr 0.0.0.0
telnet_bind_addr 0.0.0.0
http_bind_addr 0.0.0.0
chat_bind_addr 0.0.0.0
client_bind_addr 0.0.0.0
gui_port 4001
telnet_port 4000
http_port 4080
chat_port 4002
http_realm MLdonkey
allowed_ips 127.0.0.1

Client settings
client_name mxbcpe
client_ip 127.0.0.1
force_client_ip falsetrue false
run_as_user
run_as_useruid 0
max_upload_slots 5
dynamic_slots falsetrue false
max_hard_upload_rate 10
max_hard_download_rate 50
max_opened_connections 200
max_indirect_connections 30
max_connections_per_second 5
max_concurrent_downloads 50

File Setting
previewer mldonkey_previewer
temp_directory temp
hdd_temp_minfree 50
hdd_temp_stop_core truefalse false
hdd_coredir_minfree 50
hdd_coredir_stop_core truefalse true
hdd_send_warning_interval 1
file_started_cmd
file_completed_cmd
allow_browse_share 1
auto_commit truefalse true
pause_new_downloads falsetrue false
create_dir_mask 755
create_file_sparse truefalse true
log_file mlnet.log
log_file_size 2
log_size 300

Net settings
enable_overnet falsetrue false
enable_kademlia falsetrue false
enable_donkey truefalse false
enable_bittorrent truefalse false
enable_fasttrack falsetrue false
enable_gnutella falsetrue false
enable_gnutella2 falsetrue false
enable_fileTP truefalse true
tcpip_packet_size 40
mtu_packet_size 1500
minimal_packet_size 600
ip_blocking
ip_blocking_descriptions falsetrue false
ip_blocking_countries
ip_blocking_countries_block falsetrue false

kayaroti
21-11-2006, 09:08 AM
Btw, file transfer speed between NAS and PC has improved after I hard reset (off/on) the NAS.
It can write about 1GB in 3min ... not really that fast probably bcos I am on Fast Ethernet and not Gigabit.

savagevamp
21-11-2006, 05:21 PM
Hi kayaroti,

change to the following and try

Client settings
client_name mxbcpe
client_ip 127.0.0.1
force_client_ip falsetrue false
run_as_user
run_as_useruid 0
max_upload_slots 5
dynamic_slots falsetrue false
max_hard_upload_rate 10
max_hard_download_rate 0 (unlimited)
max_opened_connections 300
max_indirect_connections 60
max_connections_per_second 20 (can't remember the limit)
max_concurrent_downloads 10

But make sure ur router can take it...DD-WRT firmware on MOL?.......so far i can even remotely control my BT and Nas and my local transfer speed is about 12mb/s on a gigabit network. HAppy tweaking....its fun isn't it.

kayaroti
21-11-2006, 05:52 PM
Thanks Savage. I will try it tonight.

No DD-WRT, stock firmware. You remote control via ssh tunnelling or simply port forwarding ?

Hmmm.... saw that we can backup/upload Nas-01G config file and the backup config has a password file with root crypt password in place. .... looks like possible way to hack this NAS.

savagevamp
21-11-2006, 06:12 PM
Basically the whole of thisas is a copy of kurobox....and i am not too surprise.....the hardware nearly looks the same

kayaroti
24-11-2006, 04:33 PM
I have no luck on my mldonkey - it is a slow "ass" (as in donkey). Manage to connect to many peers but only max 1 KB/s dl. Traded in for Challenger Voucher instead. Thanks for all the help Savage.

Looking for another less nasty NAS now or wait for better firmware.

kayaroti
25-11-2006, 12:27 PM
Just upgraded my WRT to DD-WRT. I have set Max port to 1024. BT looks good and can hit >100K more consistently.

savagevamp
26-11-2006, 10:59 PM
Just upgraded my WRT to DD-WRT. I have set Max port to 1024. BT looks good and can hit >100K more consistently.

Great to hear that.....DD-WRT really works wonders with BTing....somemore it doesn't hang on u.....Enjoy......If u set ur QOS properly....i think it will do more wonder....

langy
28-11-2006, 05:34 PM
hi, may i know how many concurrent users can access the NAS?
The manual states 5 samba users and 5 FTP- does this means only 5 users in the network can access at any one time?

Elfen85
29-11-2006, 12:14 PM
i want to get this ...where is it selling still?...or anyone will to sell theirs??

kayaroti
29-11-2006, 02:55 PM
Hi Elfen85,

No more in Challenger at Vivocity but saw some in Storage Studio in SLS #04.

Do you intend to use for BT ? if so do you know of anyone else who had successfully use BT on this beside Savagevamp ? I am reconsidering this NAS if I there are more ppl who had success in using BT on this otherwise I probably will pay more for some other NAS.

AsusEpoxy
29-11-2006, 03:14 PM
i using BT on this...had alot of difficulties with this NAS at 1st..but now everything smooth sailing...

savagevamp
29-11-2006, 04:08 PM
Hi Elfen85,

No more in Challenger at Vivocity but saw some in Storage Studio in SLS #04.

Do you intend to use for BT ? if so do you know of anyone else who had successfully use BT on this beside Savagevamp ? I am reconsidering this NAS if I there are more ppl who had success in using BT on this otherwise I probably will pay more for some other NAS.

Hmmm...Planex Service juz call me.....getting back my nas soon......after that i will digg around for stuffs that works with kurobox......as i found prove that the bt software in this Planex Nas is ripped off from kurobox......I will try to upgrade the bt software in the NAS then see is it better.

kayaroti
29-11-2006, 06:20 PM
i using BT on this...had alot of difficulties with this NAS at 1st..but now everything smooth sailing...
Hi AsusEpoxy,

any special tweaky you did to your NAS or mldonkey ? What speed you get on average for BTing ?

I kind suspect it could be due to my Linksys router. Now I have upgraded to DD-WRT but the NAS has been returned and I am contemplating buying back but hesistant that I may face the same problem all over again ...

AsusEpoxy
29-11-2006, 09:28 PM
this NAS requires some technical knowledge and LOTs of patience...i've gotten speeds of more than 100kbs for popular BTs...so i guess its ok with me. 1 thing i found out is tt i now have to reset my planex router close to once every 2 weeks...think could be due to the NAS

kayaroti
30-11-2006, 12:10 AM
Hi AsusEpoxy,

Thanks. Will you be able to go into some detail ? I am not too techie but i am able to follow insturction such as those for upgrading to dd-wrt for my router. So long as there is no need to tweak code and recompile code ... should be alright for me.

albertlee
03-12-2006, 11:59 PM
For some reason, I can't access to the P2P webpage at port 4080. Does anyone faced this problem and have a workaround?

AsusEpoxy
04-12-2006, 09:41 AM
Hi AsusEpoxy,

Thanks. Will you be able to go into some detail ? I am not too techie but i am able to follow insturction such as those for upgrading to dd-wrt for my router. So long as there is no need to tweak code and recompile code ... should be alright for me.

what kinda help do u need? would be happy to...after all the bros here helped me when too

Tech
04-12-2006, 11:41 AM
For some reason, I can't access to the P2P webpage at port 4080. Does anyone faced this problem and have a workaround?

Hi I think you would need to set the P2P for bitorrent to be false first, then delete the shared folders for WEB and SHARED, reset the NAS to defaults in Maintainence. Reboot the NAS.

After that check the status see if UPnP and Printer is installed.

After that enable the bittorrent and u should see the status of bittorrent.

albertlee
04-12-2006, 02:40 PM
Hi I think you would need to set the P2P for bitorrent to be false first, then delete the shared folders for WEB and SHARED, reset the NAS to defaults in Maintainence. Reboot the NAS.

After that check the status see if UPnP and Printer is installed.

After that enable the bittorrent and u should see the status of bittorrent.

Tried already but still the same result! :s27:

The status of "UPnP and Printer" shown as "No". Any other suggestion?

AsusEpoxy
04-12-2006, 03:00 PM
Tried already but still the same result! :s27:

The status of "UPnP and Printer" shown as "No". Any other suggestion?

where u live? if u live near BP, i can try to help you.

Tech
04-12-2006, 03:52 PM
U would need to install the .tgz file in the updated firmware.

1) Set the P2P setting, > Bittorrent setting to FALSE.
2) Check the WEB options drop down call MLDonkey. Should NOT have that. If have jump to step 10.
3) If don't have download the firmware update from the website and extract the file, one of them is .web extension, the other is .tgz extension.
4) update the firmware using the web extension. use a soft reset in the maintenance manu.
5) update the UPnP using the .tgz file.
6) reset the NAS.
7) Enable the P2P bitTorrent setting.
8) Check if the WEB option under the drop down have MLDonkey. You should have it now. :)

10) My step 10 would be to format my harddisk. Last resort

albertlee
04-12-2006, 03:59 PM
where u live? if u live near BP, i can try to help you.

BP as in Bukit Panjang? I stayed in Jurong.

kayaroti
04-12-2006, 06:54 PM
I faced the same problem when my itchy fingers type in "kill" command in mldonkey command field for the purpose of shutting down mldonkey gracefully as per docu.... after that mldonkey refused to be resurrected no matter how i try. At the end I have to format the hdd in PC and start from scratch.

gabng
08-12-2006, 02:25 PM
hi guys,
was just browsing when i saw this thread, and planex just release a new firmware.
http://www.planex.net/download/nas/nas-01g.htm

Seems to have solve some bugs. I am able to view the downloded files in \\Nas-01g\share\p2p\edonkey\files

kayaroti
10-12-2006, 12:14 AM
Hi Savage,

for DD-WRT port forwarding, the application field should key in as mldonkey or mlnet or just * ?

albertlee
10-12-2006, 12:53 AM
Hi Savage,

for DD-WRT port forwarding, the application field should key in as mldonkey or mlnet or just * ?

Can enter anything in this field. Example: BT

kayaroti
11-12-2006, 10:37 PM
Thanks. So it is more like a remark field than real application name.

savagevamp
11-12-2006, 10:58 PM
Juz got back from my overseas trip........yup its more of a remark field.

So far I can get everything running properly, including remote access to the NAS and the BT function.....and shocking thing.....it hit the speed of 340 to 360kb/s stable for bt.....

gutlink28
12-12-2006, 08:31 AM
Do you think any chance that they will include BT encryption in the future? Seriously thinking of buying one though...

albertlee
13-12-2006, 12:13 AM
New firmware version - V 2.00 (11-15-2006) available for download:
http://www.planex.net/driver/nas/NAS-01G/NAS-01G_FW_v2.00(11-15-2006)_Eng.zip

Support Donkey seed, eMule seed.

thk
06-01-2007, 07:33 PM
Refer to following link (in chinese)
http://www.mobile01.com/topicdetail.php?f=174&t=249502&p=1

Most important part would be the port forwarding instructions:

edonkey TCP 4662
edonkey1 UDP 4666

kad TCP 9642
kad1 UDP 9642

BitTorrent TCP 6882

It work for me :)

** Forgot to mention, I have already update it to the latest firmware 2.00 (11-15-2006) cheer..

starbugs
06-01-2007, 09:48 PM
Where still selling and at what price?

crash76
07-01-2007, 01:17 AM
I bought my NAS-01G last week and I am having very slow BT speeds (<5Kb/s) on my MOL 6000. I had did the appropriate port-forwarding on my WRT54G router (on DD-WRT V.24). I am not using the default port of 6882.

Can the users of this NAS-01G share their success stories on tweaking the box for better BT speeds.

Thanks!

hanneng
30-01-2007, 05:08 PM
I saw Carrefour Suntec is selling NAS-01G at $179 today.

SakeSushi
01-02-2007, 12:16 AM
I saw Carrefour Suntec is selling NAS-01G at $179 today.
its amazingly cheap! seems like IT show prices

Andrew_Ng
01-02-2007, 12:30 AM
Juz got back from my overseas trip........yup its more of a remark field.

So far I can get everything running properly, including remote access to the NAS and the BT function.....and shocking thing.....it hit the speed of 340 to 360kb/s stable for bt.....Glad that you're happy with the NAS xD

Any bugs that you may encounter can PM me and if it's feasible I'd push it for the next firmware roll out.

albertlee
01-02-2007, 12:48 AM
Glad that you're happy with the NAS xD

Any bugs that you may encounter can PM me and if it's feasible I'd push it for the next firmware roll out.

Yes please, especially new version of MLDonkey 2.8.2. BTW, is it possible to have other BT client on this box? I have no success with BT since day one! :s11:

Andrew_Ng
01-02-2007, 09:20 AM
Yes please, especially new version of MLDonkey 2.8.2. BTW, is it possible to have other BT client on this box? I have no success with BT since day one! :s11:
What problems do you have? Have you check those norms like port forwarding etc? Did you use a good file DL like maplesea?

Andrew_Ng
01-02-2007, 12:39 PM
BTW, pls refer to the NAS-01G FAQ http://www.pcidirect.com.tw/en/?pg=4&faqcateID=10

MichaelTan
01-02-2007, 02:02 PM
Do you think any chance that they will include BT encryption in the future? Seriously thinking of buying one though...
they are talking to utorrent/Bittorrent Corp for the utorrent implementation of the encryption.

Smart74
01-02-2007, 03:44 PM
may i know this have media server?

albertlee
01-02-2007, 08:02 PM
What problems do you have? Have you check those norms like port forwarding etc? Did you use a good file DL like maplesea?

The problem I have is that nothing or very little data get downloaded. It seems like no peer can connect to me. I have tried leeching a number of different torrent, some with many seeders.

I have already tried Port-forwarding on port# 6882 and other port#. Also tried putting the NAS on DMZ with the same result.

FYI, I have already upgraded to the latest firmware.

albertlee
01-02-2007, 08:02 PM
BTW, pls refer to the NAS-01G FAQ http://www.pcidirect.com.tw/en/?pg=4&faqcateID=10

Already done that, no use!

History
05-02-2007, 08:41 AM
Why do ppl choose NAS-01G over KuroBox?
Feature wise they are about the same but kuro has more flexibility though more ex.

Any other reason.

BTW where can i still find NAS-01G? MediaPro seems to have taken it off their pricelist. Now only SS seems to have it but more ex ($229)

albertlee
05-02-2007, 05:20 PM
Why do ppl choose NAS-01G over KuroBox?
Feature wise they are about the same but kuro has more flexibility though more ex.

Any other reason.

BTW where can i still find NAS-01G? MediaPro seems to have taken it off their pricelist. Now only SS seems to have it but more ex ($229)

Simple reason, price! NAS-01G cost around $179.

Challenger @Funan is out-of-stock. Saw 1 unit at Fuwell (Funan) selling above $200.

History
05-02-2007, 05:58 PM
Simple reason, price! NAS-01G cost around $179.

Challenger @Funan is out-of-stock. Saw 1 unit at Fuwell (Funan) selling above $200.

Hmm how about places like south asia computer? If no one checked before i might drop by and see. If confirm out of stock then maybe i will wait a bit

albertlee
05-02-2007, 06:37 PM
Hmm how about places like south asia computer? If no one checked before i might drop by and see. If confirm out of stock then maybe i will wait a bit

The last time I was there, didn't see any PCI product. Check out at other Challenger store or wait for IT Shows.

Andrew_Ng
05-02-2007, 08:33 PM
The last time I was there, didn't see any PCI product. Check out at other Challenger store or wait for IT Shows.You can check it out at Storage Studio. I'm sure they have it. They are not named STORAGE for no reason tsk tsk.

History
05-02-2007, 11:16 PM
It is still listed on Storage studio price list just that it cost $229.
If challenger sells at $189, I will be a bit heart pain to pay so much more.

albertlee
06-02-2007, 11:32 AM
You can check it out at Storage Studio. I'm sure they have it. They are not named STORAGE for no reason tsk tsk.

I already got mine from Challenger, was pointing out to History that South Asia don't carry PCI product. Anyway, prices at SS is not attractive.

History
08-02-2007, 09:59 AM
I already got mine from Challenger, was pointing out to History that South Asia don't carry PCI product. Anyway, prices at SS is not attractive.

Thankz bro. I got it from Simlim already. Attractive pricing hehe.

As a NAS it is working great now. Web server, ftp and photo station all working except photo station takes a bloody long time to gen the thumbnail.

As for BT it is a no go. I still dont know it is due to encryption not supported or my setting is wrong. Torrent files i have tried can download on desktop at 200-300K but NAS is 0K the whole night.

I have tried changing to higher port in the 30000+ range but still the same. Going to try out some other torrent file like openoffice.

albertlee
08-02-2007, 01:35 PM
History, how much did you pay?

Regarding BT, I have no luck as well! :s27:

zeahrs
08-02-2007, 05:41 PM
hi,

I bought NAS-01G (Japanese web UI) in Japan but I cannot upgrade the firmware, I did click the browse button and point the firmware file path (D:\NAS-01G****.web) but when I click the update button a pop-up error appear and says in Japanse "Fairu no pasu o nyuuryoku shiite kudasai" means in english "Please input the file path". At first I thought it was the IE or OS language and I tried using a pure Japanese OS and IE but still the error pops-up. I contacted Planex support both English and Japanese tech support but I'm very disappointed with there support because a month had passed and still I didn't received any reply. Is there another way to update the firmware without using web update? Thanks

zeahrs

dead_duck
10-02-2007, 12:01 AM
It is still listed on Storage studio price list just that it cost $229.
If challenger sells at $189, I will be a bit heart pain to pay so much more.

I bought the last piece today. after that they up the price to $209. asked the staff afterwards. was told they price it wrongly

History
10-02-2007, 12:51 AM
Have fun with it.
Currently I running/trying debian on it.
If anyone is interested can check out kurobox's wiki on debian. Just download them can work one.

albertlee
10-02-2007, 12:59 AM
Have fun with it.
Currently I running/trying debian on it.
If anyone is interested can check out kurobox's wiki on debian. Just download them can work one.

Which NAS are you refering to?

nightstalker2
10-02-2007, 01:15 AM

I really need help with the BT function. I am on MOL.

It's really really slow, even with port forwarding enabled.
I tested it with some high peer count torrent and I cannot even connect to more than 2-3 peers at any time.

Plus, where do incoming files go to? I am really puzzled.
It's p2p/directories? or p2p/incoming? I don't have a p2p/incoming directory by default.

regards,

History
10-02-2007, 01:18 AM
Which NAS are you refering to?

Planex NAS-01G.

Currently i am using image from here http://www.kurobox.com/sylver/debian/debian-sarge-2.6.17.1-mh1_kuro-box-20060623.tgz

History
10-02-2007, 01:19 AM

I really need help with the BT function. I am on MOL.

It's really really slow, even with port forwarding enabled.
I tested it with some high peer count torrent and I cannot even connect to more than 2-3 peers at any time.

Plus, where do incoming files go to? I am really puzzled.
It's p2p/directories? or p2p/incoming? I don't have a p2p/incoming directory by default.

regards,

Forget it. It is a no go on my side too.
Same torrent run on desktop and NAS. NAS stuck at 0 for whole day. Desktop finish at 200+KB/sec

albertlee
10-02-2007, 01:23 AM
Planex NAS-01G.

Did not know this box support 3rd firmware. Will the warranty be void as a result?

Please post the URL as I would really like to try alternative firmware. MLDonkey really sux!

TIA.

nightstalker2
10-02-2007, 01:27 AM
I read somewhere that all I need to do is to create a mldonkey directory (at the root) and all the files inside will appear and that really happened!

Anybody tried replacing the files inside with a newer version of MLdonkey?

History
10-02-2007, 01:29 AM
Detail of NAS-01G at the link below
http://www.mobile01.com/topicdetail.php?f=174&t=249502&p=1
This link was posted by another HWZ member earlier.

nightstalker2
10-02-2007, 01:30 AM
there are two sets of 2.0 firmware on the website.
Which version are you folks running on?

Gosh, if the BT cannot work, it sort of defeats the whole purpose why I bought this NAS in the first place!

History
10-02-2007, 01:35 AM
Get the Latest one

As for BT i feel it is due to encryption.

Maybe u would want to try torrentflux instead.
Then patch its bittornado to 3.18 which supports encryption

nightstalker2
10-02-2007, 01:49 AM
you mean upgrade the mldonkey in the NAS to something else?
any pointers on how to do that?

History
10-02-2007, 01:53 AM
you mean upgrade the mldonkey in the NAS to something else?
any pointers on how to do that?

I would like to help u too but i am a newbies in linux.

Finally weekend is here and i finally found some time to try things out. As of now i am trying to install torrentflux.
Already installed LAMP => Linux Apache MySql PHP already. Took me quite some time.