PDA

View Full Version : Exotic forum featured in today's Sunday Times!

DigDub
10-09-2006, 12:25 PM
=:p

http://img241.imageshack.us/img241/3300/100d0844pd7.jpg

Jhyun
10-09-2006, 12:29 PM
IDA sekali take action......ban imports....

cos no one wants to use local phones....

pacific2000
10-09-2006, 12:30 PM
haha....hwz will become more popular now

DigDub
10-09-2006, 12:34 PM
IDA sekali take action......ban imports....

cos no one wants to use local phones....
got mentioned in the article that ida will not take action for those who import for personal use. will only take action against those who import and resale for mass market. :)

cookies_n_cream
10-09-2006, 12:36 PM
ppl later read liao start hunting down for the phones...

sliver0503
10-09-2006, 12:37 PM
acc i posted this thing discussion under exotic lounge as i dun wan to create any more new threads le and some of the guys hav given their tots abt it but since we hav the article posted up le so ha ha..

i will jus copy and paste my tots here as i think its food for tot.

"think more pple will dive into the pool of the exotic users in spore?
considering:

1) 903sh no more in production le
2) 904T and 803T later batch not gg to hav unlock
3) 904sh and 705sh still locked (hk sx633 can use le)
4) softbank gg to slowly take over vodafone (mayb they might enhance the hp security for 'lockness' of the phone)
5) of cos there are many many other exotic hp and exotic brands out there(i open this to the floor)...

wan to hear yr opinion on tis, anyone??

footnote: just wan to hear yr comment and i totally understand its a free market out there and anyone can do/buy watever they wan and i hav nothing against tat. ^^ "

Helbreath
10-09-2006, 12:44 PM
i feel they should have posted a few pictures of 903sh etc...

DigDub
10-09-2006, 12:45 PM
i personally feel the article will not make more people go buy exotic phones, due to the lack of support from the telcos and warranty, which i suspect is what most singaporeans look for as important buy factors when buying electronic products.

XcoldstarX
10-09-2006, 12:49 PM
i personally feel the article will not make more people go buy exotic phones, due to the lack of support from the telcos and warranty, which i suspect is what most singaporeans look for as important buy factors when buying electronic products.

Agreed. But we exotic phone users took the plunge of getting this phones. Well, this is the price to pay if you want a phone that's unique......I mean like come on, how many times will people go wow on a K800i as compared to your 903SH? When I went out with my friends at orchard, quite a number of people have enquired me about the phone already.

Elections
10-09-2006, 12:54 PM
is a plot..tactics from local biggest telecom lah..u know who is the boss lor :s34:

I agreed with DigDub... comments. , most singaporeans I know they rather buy things come with warrenty and support from techincal faults.

rather go to buy extoics phones whereby spoil have to sent back to jap , + need to wait for sometimes.

next have to find reilable dealers to repair ...lor

ongksj
10-09-2006, 12:54 PM
i din know sg also got so many pple interested in exotic phone till i see the sunday times. i tot only a handfull of them :)

icyboi4eva
10-09-2006, 01:11 PM
wil ida take actions against those 'sellers' in here?
if so 904sh is gone case :D

DigDub
10-09-2006, 01:13 PM
wil ida take actions against those 'sellers' in here?
if so 904sh is gone case :D
i think ida will only catch those who import them for mass sale, as in import in bulk and resell them to shops like an import/export business. dun think they will catch those 'hobbyists' like us. =:P

DigDub
10-09-2006, 01:21 PM
the local phones kenna suaned until siao. :s22: =:p

Jhyun
10-09-2006, 01:22 PM
then ppl like kuro n getacc tio liao????

anyway exotic phones isnt limited to juz Sharp n Toshiba....
still got alot to play with out there... :D

DigDub
10-09-2006, 01:22 PM
so, who is leonard tan here? :flash:

stanleyj
10-09-2006, 01:25 PM
i think ida will only catch those who import them for mass sale, as in import in bulk and resell them to shops like an import/export business. dun think they will catch those 'hobbyists' like us. =:P
in legal language, more than 2 is a problem....but we better hush for our friends like kuro & getz....sake....

ayahiro
10-09-2006, 01:31 PM
haha N93... closest to japan phone market ah? i think... they are still far away compare to all technologies and features provided.. haha... they are exp jus because they are NOKIA!!!

XcoldstarX
10-09-2006, 01:42 PM
in legal language, more than 2 is a problem....but we better hush for our friends like kuro & getz....sake....

but both of them don't sell them to shops....they sell to us, hobbyists

Lesbian_Behkan_
10-09-2006, 01:48 PM
haha N93... closest to japan phone market ah? i think... they are still far away compare to all technologies and features provided.. haha... they are exp jus because they are NOKIA!!!
I saw the dummy fone of N93~can use as hammer.

Helbreath
10-09-2006, 01:49 PM
Ya Mr Tan plz own up now....... :s13: :s13:

cookies_n_cream
10-09-2006, 01:56 PM
haha, his the lucky 1 who was interviewed..

Ahkunkun
10-09-2006, 02:02 PM
wow, now so many people interested in exotic phone liao, i see so many pics posted from 903sh i oso feel gian liao... too bad i just buy N73, if not can buy this liao... btw can tell me whats the price if i import a 903sh?

Helbreath
10-09-2006, 02:27 PM
wow, now so many people interested in exotic phone liao, i see so many pics posted from 903sh i oso feel gian liao... too bad i just buy N73, if not can buy this liao... btw can tell me whats the price if i import a 903sh?

it is already discontinued and new 903sh are now very rare in the market.

red_devilz
10-09-2006, 02:57 PM
true ... but it did mention tht exotic phones from japan are of better quality and do not break down so easily compared to local phones...

surf around the nokia SE, samsung and PPC threads and u will see tonnes of ppl ranting about service centres and the number of times they have to change their phones for a brand new set ( think 6280 and k800i ) and not to mention the many serious software bugs tht are prevalent in those phones ...
so for me, i'll still prefer to use exotics not because they are unique but because they are more hassle free than mainstream mobiles...

~~bolly bolly

ongksj
10-09-2006, 03:07 PM
true ... but it did mention tht exotic phones from japan are of better quality and do not break down so easily compared to local phones...

surf around the nokia SE, samsung and PPC threads and u will see tonnes of ppl ranting about service centres and the number of times they have to change their phones for a brand new set ( think 6280 and k800i ) and not to mention the many serious software bugs tht are prevalent in those phones ...
so for me, i'll still prefer to use exotics not because they are unique but because they are more hassle free than mainstream mobiles...

~~bolly bolly
true, i bought my SE k600i in late feb, and already the 3rd replacement set i am using now. my v801sa, so far so good. ard 2yrs le.

Lesbian_Behkan_
10-09-2006, 03:08 PM

~~bolly bolly
Yes jippun made quality ish so diff from those fones made in china or taiwan,thailand etc~

DigDub
10-09-2006, 03:10 PM

~~bolly bolly
hmm... i do think that telco support is quite important as well, such as the 3g settings and compatibility of online services. the proportion of reports of breakdowns is related to the popularity of handsets as well. since locally there is no service center for exotic phones, so there will be no complaints about service centers. faults are also proportional, since more phones will have higher reports of breakdowns.

red_devilz
10-09-2006, 03:12 PM
Yes jippun made quality ish so diff from those fones made in china or taiwan,thailand etc~ya lor...the only possible way to spoil your 903sh is to break it or sth...sofeware bugs also nvm...small ones can live with it...major ones go to kuro or getz reflash alr can le.... better than being at the mercy of the so-called ''care-centres'' of mainstream phones...wa kiao ehx, make u come then go come then go, say they change this change tht, but in my opinion, only one thing nv change, and tht is the defect in the phone.... :s27:

~~bolly bolly

red_devilz
10-09-2006, 03:13 PM
true, i bought my SE k600i in late feb, and already the 3rd replacement set i am using now. my v801sa, so far so good. ard 2yrs le.

not to be a fan boy la....but jap stuffs the quality os really different from others...the QC is much stricter and they place alot of emphasis on details...

~~bolly bolly

DigDub
10-09-2006, 03:18 PM
hmm..not to suan or anything, but i remember so far seeing 2-3 903sh with camera breakdowns. :)

Raffles88
10-09-2006, 03:25 PM
see my bottom picture. :D

red_devilz
10-09-2006, 03:29 PM
see my bottom picture. :D

haha...how did it break ?

~~bolly bolly

red_devilz
10-09-2006, 03:33 PM
hmm..not to suan or anything, but i remember so far seeing 2-3 903sh with camera breakdowns. :)

true la...I'm not saying tht exotic phones are perfect la....but the frequency of these problems are certainly lesser than those of mainstream phones ma... my personal opinion la...

might be because alot of ppl using mainstream phones hence leading to the misconception tht mainstream phones are more problematic ?

~~bolly bolly

Raffles88
10-09-2006, 03:40 PM
mainstream phone i drop,never mind got service center.exotic phone i drop,never mind i pay $$$ and time to wait for it.which 1 hurts more? :s11:

XcoldstarX
10-09-2006, 03:42 PM
true la...I'm not saying tht exotic phones are perfect la....but the frequency of these problems are certainly lesser than those of mainstream phones ma... my personal opinion la...

might be because alot of ppl using mainstream phones hence leading to the misconception tht mainstream phones are more problematic ?

~~bolly bolly

actually before i bought the 903sh, i wanted to buy N80...then i see....manual focus, poor durability slider keypad, made in china....

at the same time, esppy showed me his 903sh.....then i told my dad.....he told me that 903sh was a better choice....made in japan....so that was how i ended with my 903sh

wiShfulStone
10-09-2006, 03:50 PM
903sh becoming not so exotic already.

DigDub
10-09-2006, 03:55 PM

~~bolly bolly
i think its a case of proportion. :) also, more quantity usually means lesser quality. :)

red_devilz
10-09-2006, 04:20 PM
i think its a case of proportion. :) also, more quantity usually means lesser quality. :)

yala...in tht case , is the claim : japan-made = better quality, justified >?

~~bolly bolly

DigDub
10-09-2006, 04:22 PM
yala...in tht case , is the claim : japan-made = better quality, justified >?

~~bolly bolly
usually so, cos they have a higher standard of QA. thats why people still buy parallel import jap made honda Fit rather than thailand made local distributed honda Jazz. :)

Da_Vinci
10-09-2006, 05:05 PM
kudos to all exotic users.LOL.we had made a fame for ourselves:)

XcoldstarX
10-09-2006, 05:23 PM
kudos to all exotic users.LOL.we had made a fame for ourselves:)

this won't take place without the help of kuro and getacc and other dealers!

Helbreath
10-09-2006, 05:36 PM
Btw who can identify the five phones in the picture... None of them look familiar le..... :s22:

Lesbian_Behkan_
10-09-2006, 05:48 PM
usually so, cos they have a higher standard of QA. thats why people still buy parallel import jap made honda Fit rather than thailand made local distributed honda Jazz. :)
Yea~jus like those made in japan nissan sunnies~~now no more riaos~

babystitch
10-09-2006, 06:02 PM
Song wywy~~~~having a 903sh now makes me feel so song wywy~I even gotch the vodafone leather pouch as collectible in it's original packing unused,including the lcd display ZTC-J01 and a brand new unused original sharp batt~here GPGT!
http://serv1.imagehigh.com/imgss/3843601_06-09-10_17-54.jpg

sweee~~~~~~~

neuromanticx
10-09-2006, 06:07 PM
Its a free market, nothing wrong with selling exotic phones. Don't you just hate those phones that have a silly sticker with "IDA approved' on it?

What does IDA know about handphones? Can exotic handphone cause a power line outtage to the telecommunications line? Can the phones do something that will disrupt the political, social, etc framework of singapore?

Why is there isn't a IDA for cars so that exotic cars cannot be imported and sold in singapore?

About warranty - if you are talking about japanese phones, they are usually well contructed and manufactured and quality is as good as the high-end Sony ericssion and nokia phones, and much better than those from samsung, etc So warranty u may hardly need it. Besides phone get obsolete very fast, what u have is nothing special tomorrow...so most people tend have a new phone about every 2 years or so.

Mel :)

stanleyj
10-09-2006, 06:15 PM
Btw who can identify the five phones in the picture... None of them look familiar le..... :s22:
yeah that's why i said the journalist did not do homework...should have the pictures of the 903SH and all us guys and gals....
contact us and we can pose with phone.....ha ha ha

cookies_n_cream
10-09-2006, 06:16 PM
yea vari true... some sell their phones jus a few mths..

XcoldstarX
10-09-2006, 06:38 PM

1. NTT DoCoMo SIMPRE L
2. NTT DoCoMo F881iES
3. NTT DoCoMo F702iD
4. NTT DoCoMo N702iD
5. NTT DoCoMo D702i

WTF? ALL NTT DoCoMo phones? Not even a single one is from Vodafone one

sliver0503
10-09-2006, 06:42 PM
ha.. and the article talked abt 903sh as his example....
think the journalist anyhow whack lor...
think his editor burning his butt for his article submission when he was searching for suitable pic for his article..
ha..
but tks to him at least hwz exotic forum is famous le..

DigDub
10-09-2006, 06:45 PM
Its a free market, nothing wrong with selling exotic phones. Don't you just hate those phones that have a silly sticker with "IDA approved' on it?

What does IDA know about handphones? Can exotic handphone cause a power line outtage to the telecommunications line? Can the phones do something that will disrupt the political, social, etc framework of singapore?

Why is there isn't a IDA for cars so that exotic cars cannot be imported and sold in singapore?

About warranty - if you are talking about japanese phones, they are usually well contructed and manufactured and quality is as good as the high-end Sony ericssion and nokia phones, and much better than those from samsung, etc So warranty u may hardly need it. Besides phone get obsolete very fast, what u have is nothing special tomorrow...so most people tend have a new phone about every 2 years or so.

Mel :)
ida definitely knows more about the comms network in sg than you do. ;)

XcoldstarX
10-09-2006, 06:46 PM
he should have used 903sh and 904t picture at the very least lo.......but seriously, who can identify the 1st phone? dunno what phone issit....i searched the whole NTT DoCoMo website cannot find

XcoldstarX
10-09-2006, 06:47 PM
Managed to ID the 1st phone......

NTT DoCoMo Simpure L

kakaBoBo
10-09-2006, 07:45 PM
903sh becoming not so exotic already.

should stop pushing 903sh liao else not exotic anymore.
should push 904sh or 705sh and hope unlock come sooner.

LianZixuan
10-09-2006, 07:47 PM
cool lor lololol

KsHiNN
10-09-2006, 11:37 PM
im glad im still holding my 903sh !!!! hahah... they should have shown 903 pic in the papers ... tat way we will have aura!

gaoxing84
10-09-2006, 11:50 PM
wah. they liddat we die le. later people buy exotic. sian.
sad to n93 is still far away frm 903sh

theory_87
11-09-2006, 12:19 AM

Mel :)think u r crapping too much...

KsHiNN
11-09-2006, 12:23 AM
wah. they liddat we die le. later people buy exotic. sian.
sad to n93 is still far away frm 903sh
haha come to think of it... n93 and 903sh... the both name got "9" and "3".. will there be a N94 tat will be competing with 904sh.... hahaha.. even there is.... sure lose lar... Nokia TV cannot compare with Sharp TV.... AQUOS leh!!!!

gaoxing84
11-09-2006, 12:26 AM
haha. that neuro guys knows nth about jap fones.

gaoxing84
11-09-2006, 12:27 AM
haha come to think of it... n93 and 903sh... the both name got "9" and "3".. will there be a N94 tat will be competing with 904sh.... hahaha.. even there is.... sure lose lar... Nokia TV cannot compare with Sharp TV.... AQUOS leh!!!!
haha. wad if nokia xialan ask sony bravia to help LOL

red_devilz
11-09-2006, 08:25 AM
haha. wad if nokia xialan ask sony bravia to help LOL

siao la bro...sony will help nokia ? SE and nokia arch rivals lehx :s8:

~~bolly bolly

Da_Vinci
11-09-2006, 10:39 AM
the world will end,if we see se and nokia co operate and have the golden handshake:)

Haonan
12-09-2006, 05:47 AM
the world will end,if we see se and nokia co operate and have the golden handshake:)

That day will never come, trust me. :)

At the most, Nokia is only gonna outsource their parts for their handsets from other manufacturers, that's all. Merging of companies is highly unlikely, after what Sony and Ericsson has done back in 2001, with their joint-venture in mobile businesses.

toematoe
12-09-2006, 07:28 AM
actually the person who wrote this article should go buy this book call "best gear" August edition
which has 2006 phone from all service provider in Japan

here is the nice pic of ithttp://geek.toematoe.com/pix/hppic/06-09-12_07-25.jpg

current most popular phone are
vodafone 703sh, au w41h, docomo f901i in terms of 1st placement. if you can find a copy and if you read jap :P it a pretty nice gadget mag.

C32B
12-09-2006, 02:41 PM
still feel we shouldnt be so loud about our phones as it might threaten our interest.......and our dealers...otherwise more difficult to get new phones....more wannabies and posers would want to get.....

renjin
12-09-2006, 03:26 PM

erm.. i think its there to show that the phone can work in singapore. actually to protect consumer. if the phone cannot pass IDA, it means it is working in a frequency that singapore doesn't support (jap/US phone). so at least people like my mom who know nuts about handphone will know what to look out for and not get rip off by some dealer trying to sell her a nice looking US phone that wouldnt even work here.....

its call LTA? :s13::s13::s13:

neuromanticx
23-09-2006, 02:15 AM
ida definitely knows more about the comms network in sg than you do. ;)IDA will definitely not know more than me about the latest, advanced and state of the art comms services and networks in other countries. ;)

Sad to say Singapore is a laggard when compared to other innovative countries by as far as 1-2 years in the comms services and network. (^_^)

Sometimes, you wonder that without IDA, you might even see much innovation in the comms space in SG...(how I wish, don't you all). And for all the basic comms network to drive a country, I am sure IDA does a good job and would know about the SG market better than I do. But don't you think we need innovation to propel us to stand shoulder to shoulder with the movers and shakers? :)

neuromanticx
23-09-2006, 02:33 AM
erm.. i think its there to show that the phone can work in singapore. actually to protect consumer. if the phone cannot pass IDA, it means it is working in a frequency that singapore doesn't support (jap/US phone). so at least people like my mom who know nuts about handphone will know what to look out for and not get rip off by some dealer trying to sell her a nice looking US phone that wouldnt even work here.....
...If that's the sole purpose of IDA, that's great and I do need that sort of protection as well. Ya...I can't stand being ripped off, don't we. What's else does IDA do? Let's see... blueprinting, roadmapping the comms development in SG...hmm...while stifling innovation through regulation...oh, how we - exotic phone users want to keep owning more exotic phones and use those cool features that come with it :D

theory_87
23-09-2006, 02:40 AM
IDA will definitely not know more than me about the latest, advanced and state of the art comms services and networks in other countries. ;)

Sad to say Singapore is a laggard when compared to other innovative countries by as far as 1-2 years in the comms services and network. (^_^)

Sometimes, you wonder that without IDA, you might even see much innovation in the comms space in SG...(how I wish, don't you all). And for all the basic comms network to drive a country, I am sure IDA does a good job and would know about the SG market better than I do. But don't you think we need innovation to propel us to stand shoulder to shoulder with the movers and shakers? :)ya... u noe the most... gov agency noe the least... :s8:

neuromanticx
23-09-2006, 03:14 AM
haha. that neuro guys knows nth about jap fones.LOL, enjoy your phones. ;)

hippo_kia
19-03-2009, 04:31 PM
Someone please tell me, what is IDA doing?? I don't even notice that paper/logo/etc on my phone( Phone that sold by the telco)

If overseas set could not work, then those country roaming phone become a trash when they step into this country.

Now out there, sale of tri-Quad band phone are selling..

Everything want type approve..