PDA

View Full Version : Below $100 Logitech WebCam

jq75
09-10-2006, 02:05 PM
Which model to get.?..
cos i got those 30-40bucks and it make me look like a indian on the screen... :s7:

koohansen
09-10-2006, 02:45 PM
Which model to get.?..
cos i got those 30-40bucks and it make me look like a indian on the screen... :s7:

:s13: ... erm sensetive words used :o ..
Logitech Quick Cam IM @$65 ..
or up ur budget a bit more.. and get a CCD webcam.. confirm u look white again.. :s13:
Creative CCD.. if i'm nt wrong.. $110+ can get liao

jq75
09-10-2006, 08:27 PM
or up ur budget a bit more.. and get a CCD webcam.. confirm u look white again.. :s13:

u used this cam?

koohansen
09-10-2006, 08:55 PM
u used this cam?

got 2 pieces for a friend.. so far happy user... i using Creative NX Ultra CCD Cam.
if u r using it in low light enviroment... best to get a webcam with CCD sensor.. but "$$$$"

ColinYip
09-10-2006, 08:57 PM
Forget abt all other webcams. Use the SMC webcam...aard 80 bucks..u get a 1.3 CCD lens!!!!

Logitech OEM somemore..i think next weeks should have stocks.:)

koohansen
09-10-2006, 08:59 PM
Forget abt all other webcams. Use the SMC webcam...aard 80 bucks..u get a 1.3 CCD lens!!!!

hmm warranty hw long ?

ColinYip
09-10-2006, 09:02 PM
hmm warranty hw long ?

1 year........but this one the clarity is the best for the price by a long long long way

ankl3br3aker
09-10-2006, 10:10 PM
how come is 80+?

tomicaguy
09-10-2006, 11:10 PM
if u r using it in low light enviroment... best to get a webcam with CCD sensor.. but "$$$$"That is a good advice. Average webcams do not work well at all in these environments, be it Logitech or Creative.

But I will choose Creative anytime than Logitech.

PatchAdam
10-10-2006, 12:39 AM
how come is 80+?

it is a logitech cam actually...the logitech is selling higher than 80 if i am nt wrong....
smc bundled it with some software of its own....
:)

jq75
10-10-2006, 10:41 AM

gotta check it out...

DeMoLiTiOn
10-10-2006, 11:33 AM

Hi Colin, do you have the model of the SMC webcam? :s12:

Reiji1987
27-10-2006, 10:24 PM
of your budget i think you can try Logitech Quickcam IM and The STX webcam, a promoter show me the quality at level 4 skylet and i think they are quite reasonable for their price :)

thaddeus
27-10-2006, 10:44 PM
using the STX. great webcam. :)

Sambuca78
15-12-2006, 07:05 PM
Hi Colin, do you have the model of the SMC webcam? :s12:

I just bot the SMC VM100k for a fren at $79, i think most of the place selling the same price. Me open n test test before i give to my fren. :D

the case and the webcam itself is labelled as logitech, not SMC.

http://i.i.com.com/cnwk.1d/sc/20584240-2-300-overview-1.gif

clarity is gd, but i think it is just 640 * 480, not 1.3mp when using it as a webcam, take pic maybe...

however, when i test using netmeeting, the resolution is just 160 *240 when i view it in 100%. Maybe i dunno how to set it to 640 * 480 by default.

Slightly lag, but still ok... not sure issit due to USB1.1 interface.

Overall, i think is value for $$$. :)

Tucksoon
15-12-2006, 08:41 PM
Paiseh hijack this thread since I'm also hunting for a webcam. 2 questions:

1. Those with built-in mic, how's the sound quality?

2. If I'm concern of the sound quality (I want to play with podcasting), is it advisable to get a seperate headset mic and webcam? Or a higher end combo webcam with mic will lessen cables running around? TIA.

Tucksoon
15-12-2006, 09:57 PM
Also,

3. Logitech or Creative in terms of image and sound quality?

ckling
15-12-2006, 11:19 PM
oh please...i used this Logitech Quick Cam IM is lousier than the those no brand webcam with 6 LED light one....bought it at sitex $15 each nia
logitech one so dark.

domkorf
16-12-2006, 10:34 AM
Sorry where to get the STX? At how much...thanks.

P.S: hot bout the quickcam Fusion or ultra vision? Looks cool..

Tucksoon
17-12-2006, 06:24 PM
Sorry where to get the STX? At how much...thanks.

P.S: hot bout the quickcam Fusion or ultra vision? Looks cool..

The STX can get from any good IT store.

The high end ones cost above $100. The ultra vision is $200+ IIRC.

jenggojinggo
17-12-2006, 06:35 PM
you r such a rascist *******. hehe.

thaddeus
17-12-2006, 06:44 PM
you r such a rascist *******. hehe.
+1 for ban.

anyway, i have the STX, it's currently collecting dust, but it's no doubt a good value webcam for that price.

Khenith
17-12-2006, 06:54 PM
I just bot the SMC VM100k for a fren at $79, i think most of the place selling the same price. Me open n test test before i give to my fren. :D

the case and the webcam itself is labelled as logitech, not SMC.

http://i.i.com.com/cnwk.1d/sc/20584240-2-300-overview-1.gif

clarity is gd, but i think it is just 640 * 480, not 1.3mp when using it as a webcam, take pic maybe...

however, when i test using netmeeting, the resolution is just 160 *240 when i view it in 100%. Maybe i dunno how to set it to 640 * 480 by default.

Slightly lag, but still ok... not sure issit due to USB1.1 interface.

Overall, i think is value for $$$. :)

tis one, can make ur face become like a shark on screen?
i cant seem to be able to find any info on the net leh...

Sambuca78
17-12-2006, 07:18 PM
tis one, can make ur face become like a shark on screen?
i cant seem to be able to find any info on the net leh...

ya... u wanna to be a buaya? :s13:

No much info in the net, i search also... but u can easily find it @ SLS. Some sell $79, some sell $85.

frag0316
18-12-2006, 02:01 AM
i have been thinking of getting a new webcam as well, last time i used was a old creative refurbished webcam model.

Just wanna know what the best deal out there now for webcam.
Shd i get
1) Creative?
2) Logitech?
3) SMC?

I feel some webcam costs $100++ which is ridiculous to pay for. any adviec?

Sambuca78
18-12-2006, 09:16 AM
i have been thinking of getting a new webcam as well, last time i used was a old creative refurbished webcam model.

Just wanna know what the best deal out there now for webcam.
Shd i get
1) Creative?
2) Logitech?
3) SMC?

I feel some webcam costs $100++ which is ridiculous to pay for. any adviec?

I think the SMC one quite worth it, cos where can u find a webcam wif CCD sensor below 100 buck?

Hmnn... i did saw some phillips CCD webcam below $100, but is kinda rare... :)

Khenith
18-12-2006, 10:13 AM
ya... u wanna to be a buaya? :s13:

No much info in the net, i search also... but u can easily find it @ SLS. Some sell $79, some sell $85.

confirm this one can be shark face? u bought and test out le...?
not buaya lar... but sometimes u noe, u make video calls, u wanna be annoymous mah =:p

Sambuca78
18-12-2006, 11:09 AM
confirm this one can be shark face? u bought and test out le...?
not buaya lar... but sometimes u noe, u make video calls, u wanna be annoymous mah =:p

U wanna to use the shark face to be annoymous? lol... :s13:

MichaelTan
18-12-2006, 11:56 AM
SMCVM100K is a ... lol... Logitech product CCD. How to get a CCD product this price???/ LOL! hurry, this one is finishing stock, it is no more after we finish. available at bell, fuwell, pk computer funan, live powerhub parco, palm venture, AJVW Electronic Shop 3rd flor SLS, Vivid Imaging 5th floor sls, Hardware Place 6th flor sls, Mediapro 5th flor sls, Courts ...

rainelor
18-12-2006, 12:42 PM
unfortunately this webcam is only for laptop.IIRC :look:

Sambuca78
18-12-2006, 01:32 PM
unfortunately this webcam is only for laptop.IIRC :look:

No lah... u can hook it on ur LCD also... :)

Khenith
18-12-2006, 05:24 PM
SMCVM100K is a ... lol... Logitech product CCD. How to get a CCD product this price???/ LOL! hurry, this one is finishing stock, it is no more after we finish. available at bell, fuwell, pk computer funan, live powerhub parco, palm venture, AJVW Electronic Shop 3rd flor SLS, Vivid Imaging 5th floor sls, Hardware Place 6th flor sls, Mediapro 5th flor sls, Courts ...

hello michael, can just confirm with u that this model, if u install the logitech software, can use a cartoon character as ur face?

Khenith
18-12-2006, 05:25 PM
hello michael, can just confirm with u that this model, if u install the logitech software, can use a cartoon character as ur face?

and do u shrink wrap these cams before passing over to the dealers?

Khenith
18-12-2006, 10:44 PM
upzZZzz 10 char

DiegoM10
18-12-2006, 11:54 PM
Outta this shops, which shop sells cheapest? :)
And who covers the warranty? which distro? how many yrs warranty?

rainelor
19-12-2006, 03:17 AM
No lah... u can hook it on ur LCD also... :)

Hohoho..thx for the info..mayb i go buy one

To add to this thread, theres a CCD webcam by vgear tat retails ard 90...saw the demo at sitex...mayb u guys wanna check it out

thaddeus
19-12-2006, 07:38 AM
Outta this shops, which shop sells cheapest? :)
And who covers the warranty? which distro? how many yrs warranty?
obviously this is covered by Convergent. ;)

Sambuca78
19-12-2006, 09:04 AM
and do u shrink wrap these cams before passing over to the dealers?

The package is shrink wrap, but however the set casing tat i got like got some scratches, maybe i suay loh... :(

Khenith
19-12-2006, 12:47 PM

upz for michael to answer my question =:p
and merry christmas to you too

MichaelTan
19-12-2006, 02:26 PM

I really dunno bro...

icyfirey
19-12-2006, 02:34 PM
is the logitech websphere cam any good? it looks cool.

Khenith
19-12-2006, 02:41 PM
I really dunno bro...

:s11: :s11: :s11: arh... okay nvm i await the reply from a consumer then...

Sambuca78
21-12-2006, 01:20 AM
I saw the same SMC webcam @ parkway BEST sellin @ $79 also. Shrink wrapped. :)

Khenith
21-12-2006, 02:05 AM
I saw the same SMC webcam @ parkway BEST sellin @ $79 also. Shrink wrapped. :)
sigh but from my "research"
this camera's software is 33 mb
while those models with the one's where u can change ur face into a cartoon character is 75mb
zZz... dono why but i like tis feature beri much.. :)
guess i will get one with LEDs then =:p ... its either mid range price with great and new features, or rock bottom prices with entry level features for me...

SMC VM100k's software
http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/downloads/software/SG/EN,CRID=1794,contentid=6024

QuickCam® for Notebooks Pro's software
http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/downloads/software/SG/EN,CRID=1794,contentid=11023

Sambuca78
21-12-2006, 09:25 AM
sigh but from my "research"
this camera's software is 33 mb
while those models with the one's where u can change ur face into a cartoon character is 75mb
zZz... dono why but i like tis feature beri much.. :)
guess i will get one with LEDs then =:p ... its either mid range price with great and new features, or rock bottom prices with entry level features for me...

SMC VM100k's software
http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/downloads/software/SG/EN,CRID=1794,contentid=6024

QuickCam® for Notebooks Pro's software
http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/downloads/software/SG/EN,CRID=1794,contentid=11023

No no... both are QuickCam® for Notebooks Pro

This is QuickCam® for Notebooks Pro (Old Version) aka SMC VM100k
http://www.logitech.com/lang/images/0/816.gif

This is QuickCam® for Notebooks Pro (New Version)
http://www.logitech.com/lang/images/0/7689.jpg

frag0316
02-01-2007, 10:18 PM
so does this SMC VM100k got that "animated face" feature available?

frag0316
02-01-2007, 10:26 PM
can anyone advise? i m planning to get one by tis week

delson_tan
02-01-2007, 10:33 PM
At least wait for replies lar.

You still got like 4 - 5 days before the week ends, 8 mins and you bump liao... ZzZZz

zhaoweijie
02-01-2007, 11:51 PM
Ok here is my experience.

If you want a good webcam, you got to get those with CCD sensor. Else, you need to get those with solid softwares that could compensate for low light conditions.

So far I have used these, and I would grade it the order of the good to poor:-

1.Creative Live! Cam Voice (with built in mic) $169
2.Microsoft Lifecam VX-6000 (With built in mic) $149
3.Logitech Quickcam Fusion (with built in mic) $142

Suprisingly, Creative higher ends webcams are the best in terms of sound and picture quality.

Microsoft webcams are not bad too. Simple and easy to use. But the mic is slightly soft, so you need to crank up the mic volume. But quality wise, not very good, does not give you the feel of what you had paid for. Creative and Logitech are still the best in terms of built quality.

Logitech makes good webcams but their software sucks to the core. The RightLight technology is as good as not having it, because it does not compensate for low lights condition, instead it make it worst. Getting the lastest software does not help either.

The built quality of Logitechs are good. I suggest that if you really want to get Logitech webcams, don't use the RightLight technology. Manual adjust the settings yourself. However, the RightSound technology is good. Sound wise is not bad.

All the above 3 webcams have face tracking that works well.

All are tested with the cams mounted on the same location and room conditions. :D

frag0316
03-01-2007, 12:14 AM
hahaha..thanks alot. But can advise something approx$80~ range? ie VM100k
My budget intent to be less than $90

zhaoweijie
03-01-2007, 12:47 AM
hahaha..thanks alot. But can advise something approx$80~ range? ie VM100k
My budget intent to be less than $90

Oh...hahaha. My fault for not reading properly :D

In this case, I recommend :-

1. SMC VM100K
2. Creative Live! Cam Video IM Pro
3. Microsoft LifeCam VX-3000

Sambuca78
03-01-2007, 09:41 AM
Saw the cheapest SMC cam at the electronic store located at bugis junction level 3... $75. :)

speedknight
03-01-2007, 10:40 AM
actualy below $100 i recommand vgear

sunsetbay
03-01-2007, 04:42 PM
Which model to get.?..

get those webcam with LED lights. my $18 webcam can work under zero lighting condition. =:p

Sambuca78
03-01-2007, 05:29 PM
get those webcam with LED lights. my $18 webcam can work under zero lighting condition. =:p

very bright leh... need to wear sunglass liao... :s7:

WheelOftime
03-02-2007, 11:50 AM
check out Vgear CCD http://vgear.com/products/list.asp?ProdID=AMVG1-010-068
and Vgear AutoFocus(ard 90 in sls) lens http://vgear.com/products/list.asp?ProdID=AMVG1-010-076-G

human_shieldz
11-02-2007, 11:33 PM

http://www.logitech.com/lang/images/0/7689.jpgIs the New version one using CCD or CMOS? I got a Quickcam pro 5000 which use CCD and the Quickcam pro Fusion (new version with Rightlight2). Let me tell u honestly the Quickcam Pro 5000 thrashed the fusion in terms of image sharpness which goes to show the CMOS sensors sux to the core. I couldn't resist the fusion cos it look so nice lol, but the image quality is really fuzzy. If the QuickCam® for Notebooks Pro uses CCD then i'm getting it and giving away my Quickcam pro 5000. Another thing, the Rightlight 2 is hopeless, either that or the CMOS sensor doesn't work well with it cos my whole face is dark but my background was bright. The Quickcam Pro 5000 is actually a fantastic cam in terms of quality but it just didn't look as sexy as the Fusion :P

human_shieldz
12-02-2007, 12:07 AM

http://www.logitech.com/lang/images/0/7689.jpgIs the New version one using CCD or CMOS? I got a Quickcam pro 5000 which use CCD and the Quickcam pro Fusion (new version with Rightlight2). Let me tell u honestly the Quickcam Pro 5000 thrashed the fusion in terms of image sharpness which goes to show the CMOS sensors sux to the core. I couldn't resist the fusion cos it look so nice lol, but the image quality is really fuzzy. If the QuickCam® for Notebooks Pro uses CCD then i'm getting it and giving away my Quickcam pro 5000. Another thing, the Rightlight 2 is hopeless, either that or the CMOS sensor doesn't work well with it cos my whole face is dark but my background was bright. The Quickcam Pro 5000 is actually a fantastic cam in terms of quality but it just didn't look as sexy as the Fusion :P

lyknah
12-02-2007, 12:15 AM
Logitech Quickcam Pro 5000 is a good choice. I was at Challenger recently and near to the counter where they sell those thumb drive, they have use a few brands of webcam for their display and the sharpest image is still Quickcam Pro 5000.

Tempted to buy, but is holding back because of the price of between $129~$139.

human_shieldz
12-02-2007, 12:21 AM
Logitech Quickcam Pro 5000 is a good choice. I was at Challenger recently and near to the counter where they sell those thumb drive, they have use a few brands of webcam for their display and the sharpest image is still Quickcam Pro 5000.

Tempted to buy, but is holding back because of the price of between $129~$139.heya u wanna buy? I might wanna sell maybe around $80. I bought it in 2006 for $136. But i'm not sure if i still have the box. However, i've given away the headset that came with it so now its only the webcam left.

Mankul
12-02-2007, 12:36 AM
Anyone has any feedbacks on the Logitech SPHERE? :D :D :D

human_shieldz
12-02-2007, 12:42 AM
Anyone has any feedbacks on the Logitech SPHERE? :D :D :DIs sphere the one with the motor inside? heard its damm noisy. Then when the motor move there's static on the image, so people just stop using it. Think like that no point buying it liao lol

apathetica
10-08-2007, 11:38 PM
Any recommendation for a cam with mic to record lectures?

adrianlee
21-09-2007, 09:11 AM
Lai lai anymore webcam to recommend?
a) below $100
b) below $200

haiping
22-09-2007, 06:06 PM
Philips SPC900NC Webcam

http://img72.imageshack.us/img72/7241/simgtos46172253694f22abve1.th.jpg (http://img72.imageshack.us/my.php?image=simgtos46172253694f22abve1.jpg)

^geek^
27-06-2008, 02:55 PM
http://www.hardwarezone.com/news/view.php?id=2950&cid=7

found this article on HWZ

botoguy
28-06-2008, 05:26 PM
anyone got good and reasonable webcam below sgd50? is the creative vista cam good?

erwinrommel
28-06-2008, 09:06 PM
anyone got good and reasonable webcam below sgd50? is the creative vista cam good?

If your budget is that low, then I suggest you go to Creative stores at either Marina or PS, then go and see for yourself those webcams that fit in your budget. Creative webcams are more value for money.

botoguy
28-06-2008, 09:31 PM
If your budget is that low, then I suggest you go to Creative stores at either Marina or PS, then go and see for yourself those webcams that fit in your budget. Creative webcams are more value for money.

but is the cheapest vista webcam good enough for webcam-ing?

erwinrommel
29-06-2008, 12:09 AM
but is the cheapest vista webcam good enough for webcam-ing?

You just go and see the demonstration and trust your eyes. For me, the fps is good, no stuttering, but the color is not that sharp as compared to others.

botoguy
29-06-2008, 12:53 AM
thanks for the words, think i will just go for the creative cheapest one afterall i just using for msn purpose...

TiOnGSquare
11-07-2008, 07:41 PM
creative ones i go read the site dun have state those "produce the best possible image, even in dim or backlighted situations." like logitech ones?