View Full Version : Proposal Ring
tech_oasis
20-10-2006, 08:13 AM
Anyone getting one soon?
So many in the market don't know which to choose. GoldHeart and Lee Hwa is my choice now.
Budget around 1k
patryn33
20-10-2006, 09:36 AM
some ppl like Soo Kee - have Brilliant Rose.
just walk in the those shops and check out!
4Cs, value can varies quite a lot.
all the best in your hunt!
congrads in advance!
ter_03_80
20-10-2006, 03:28 PM
can 1k get a decent proposal ring?i'm also getting one soon.
Xcstacy
20-10-2006, 04:22 PM
Lucky for u all that u able to set budget. My empress dowager already tell me what she expects for the proposal ring liao... :sad:
tech_oasis
21-10-2006, 07:34 AM
not too bad too
no need to crack your brains on what to buy :P
For one k, dun worry about the other Cs. Just go for Carat...aka size.
epigram
21-10-2006, 08:50 AM
yes, it's possible. most important is for your future wife to be happy.
cueball1981
21-10-2006, 10:18 AM
1k.. mmm maybe push it up a little.. kinda hard to get ard .3 carat at that price.. color may not be impt non cut but clarity is..
get at least a 30 pointer so u get a gia cert
justarius
22-10-2006, 09:57 PM
1k can... try to catch the shops when they having big sale, like 50% off kind. The Singapore Jewel Fest is now on, you might want to go check out the prices 'cos I remember seeing some shops showing 50% off. For $1k you wouldn't be able to get the branded stuff, aka Destinee or Brilliant Rose, but it's very possible to get a GIA stone.
I've been shopping around since last month, finally decided to go to this place call Fairy's Inc at Delfi Orchard, where you get to choose the stone and design your own setting. It's a bit more expensive than the normal shops though, for the same price, I could have gotten a better spec'd diamond, but I decided that it was impt that the ring is unique.
Xcstacy
23-10-2006, 11:50 AM
not too bad too
no need to crack your brains on what to buy :P
I really wish I can see it your way.. The budget I need to set aside for what she wants is 7K!! OMG!!
I need to rob a bank liao... :bandit:
MrWeiWei
23-10-2006, 11:59 AM
I really wish I can see it your way.. The budget I need to set aside for what she wants is 7K!! OMG!!
tiffany & co ar? get within budget lor..... no point diamond ring big big but struggle to survive.....
no offence hope u understand the message i trying to say......
Xcstacy
23-10-2006, 01:30 PM
tiffany & co ar? get within budget lor..... no point diamond ring big big but struggle to survive.....
no offence hope u understand the message i trying to say......
Dun worry. None taken.
Initially, she wanted tiffany & co as the base criteria. Now, she gave in abit after seeing her colleague buying a .5 carat diamond for over $11k, yet not of any fantastic color and clarity. She now wants Lazare diamonds (Larry) ard .6 carats. Well, dunno isit lucky for me...
MrWeiWei
23-10-2006, 03:45 PM
Dun worry. None taken.
Initially, she wanted tiffany & co as the base criteria. Now, she gave in abit after seeing her colleague buying a .5 carat diamond for over $11k, yet not of any fantastic color and clarity. She now wants Lazare diamonds (Larry) ard .6 carats. Well, dunno isit lucky for me...
haha.... tell her u wan me or u wan the diamond ring :P..... just joking hehe
Xcstacy
23-10-2006, 04:21 PM
haha.... tell her u wan me or u wan the diamond ring :P..... just joking hehe
After knowing her for so long, she will say she wants me, GIVING her the diamond! :D
tech_oasis
23-10-2006, 04:49 PM
omg!
Thats a big budget you got there! I guess we will be shopping at different places
Xcstacy
23-10-2006, 05:06 PM
omg!
Thats a big budget you got there! I guess we will be shopping at different places
Yah loh.. spend half my savings on the ring, den need to find other source to cover the rest of wedding.
I think you're spending far too much on your engagement ring. Why not buy her a reasonable ring, and then upgrade later on? I hate to say this, but if she is insisting on an expensive ring even though she knows your financial situation, you better be prepared for a long haul in your married life together. I have seen many young couples marriage on the rocks because of differences in expectation financially.
Maybe you think you are being 'loving' or a good husband by pandering to her. I think that if you make silly financial decisions, you are being a lousy husband as you need to think about your future together instead of just 'kamikaze' style on your financial situation.
Some BASIC questions which should hv been addressed before marriage.
Will you have joint account? Will you be saving together?
Are you expecting to take loan for wedding, reno? Have you calculated how you are going to service the loans?
Where do you expect to stay? HDB, private, landed? Is she happy with HDB for the forseeable future or is there intention to upgrade.
Kids in 1 year, 5 years?
Are you planning to buy a car? Will you be paying for the car entirely for loan and running costs?
Is she expecting an allowance from you?
Is she expecting a particular lifestyle of dining out, shopping, holidays? Can you afford to give her the life she is expecting? If you find it hard to tell, at her friends...you can tell a lot about a person's values from the people they associate with.
Not that I'm cursing you, but I think its very silly to get married without considering all these very basic issues. If you think its awkward to talk about these issues, I have to say that your marriage will be off to a rocky start even before it begins. My apologies if this doesn't apply to you, but this happens so frequently that it frightens me.
patryn33
23-10-2006, 08:01 PM
Wow.. spend so much on engagement ring.. $7-10K
wedding ring leh? another $7K?
so much peer pressure.
I must agree must consider many things..
in fact other come ahead of the big ring, so big ring but inside empty empty...hmm.. show very generous!
salvation
23-10-2006, 08:55 PM
After engagement ring comes the wedding ring.
After wedding ring comes the suffering. :crazy:
Xcstacy
23-10-2006, 09:49 PM
I think you're spending far too much on your engagement ring. Why not buy her a reasonable ring, and then upgrade later on? I hate to say this, but if she is insisting on an expensive ring even though she knows your financial situation, you better be prepared for a long haul in your married life together. I have seen many young couples marriage on the rocks because of differences in expectation financially.
Maybe you think you are being 'loving' or a good husband by pandering to her. I think that if you make silly financial decisions, you are being a lousy husband as you need to think about your future together instead of just 'kamikaze' style on your financial situation.
Some BASIC questions which should hv been addressed before marriage.
Will you have joint account? Will you be saving together?
Are you expecting to take loan for wedding, reno? Have you calculated how you are going to service the loans?
Where do you expect to stay? HDB, private, landed? Is she happy with HDB for the forseeable future or is there intention to upgrade.
Kids in 1 year, 5 years?
Are you planning to buy a car? Will you be paying for the car entirely for loan and running costs?
Is she expecting an allowance from you?
Is she expecting a particular lifestyle of dining out, shopping, holidays? Can you afford to give her the life she is expecting? If you find it hard to tell, at her friends...you can tell a lot about a person's values from the people they associate with.
Not that I'm cursing you, but I think its very silly to get married without considering all these very basic issues. If you think its awkward to talk about these issues, I have to say that your marriage will be off to a rocky start even before it begins. My apologies if this doesn't apply to you, but this happens so frequently that it frightens me.
Hi, Thanks for your advices.. In fact, I have thought of most of the pts before, and we (me and gf) have discussed several times on these.
First of all, need to indicate that I am not in my twenties but just crossed the thirty mark and I am currently servicing a HDB flat and a car. That sort of settle the accomodation and transportation issue.
Second, my gf isn't actually that particular with the wedding itself. We will just be having a reception for the wedding day, simple one. She only emphasize on the 2 rings and honeymoon, and we are saving together for the latter.
We will do a simple reno for the flat, where we will be contributing on both our ends.
After which, we will each have our fair share of contribution to the life beyond.
She is not so unreasonable, which I mentioned she is willing to forgo her tiffany ring for something less, knowing my financial status.
Her requirements seems high initially, but seriously think of it and working out some plans, still do-able... I just want to give her something she really wants, and that is the least I can do to make her happy...
:)
Okay..glad to hear you're being sensible. A bit worried about why you have 14k savings when you're past 30, but let's move on w the diamond ring.
I was also one of those who researched like mad for diamond rings. I learnt about the various 'Cs', and learnt that one of the most important C is actually cut. The branded premium diamonds like hearts and arrows, destinee and lazare is actually because these are very well cut diamonds. It is expensive to have a well cut diamond because you have a lot of wastage to cut a diamond properly.
If you want to go for size and quality, I recommend a good lazare. Because its lazare, the cutting will be good.Wait for Larry's sale and u can get a sub 50 pointer with a good color and clarity. (Price jumps at these 'magic numbers'). If you want a half carat stone, go for a .49 or .48. Similarly, if you want a 1 carat, go for a .95 to .99.
But for me, after thinking very carefully, I think the purpose of an engagement ring, whether it is 1k or 100k, is about romance and a symbol of something precious.
So I chose a small 30 pointer Tiffany & Co engagement ring, but D Colour and VVS1 (Tiffany dun categorise their stones IF or F so this is the highest clarity you can get from Tiffany) for about $6.5k. Some people think that size is important but for me, a perfect small stone is better than a large flawed stone.
It is definitely small but my wife doesn't care. Some of wife's colleagues have commented that her ring is very small, but when they find out its a Tiffany ring, it suddenly looks more impressive...:)
patryn33
23-10-2006, 11:02 PM
So I chose a small 30 pointer Tiffany & Co engagement ring, but D Colour and VVS1 (Tiffany dun categorise their stones IF or F so this is the highest clarity you can get from Tiffany) for about $6.5k. Some people think that size is important but for me, a perfect small stone is better than a large flawed stone.
Tiffany & Co in general or in SG?
As I am find IF or F in States. of course price go up!
if U want the Arglye diamonds they also can get as long as U have the $$$.
lenney
24-10-2006, 12:44 AM
Okay..glad to hear you're being sensible. A bit worried about why you have 14k savings when you're past 30,
Maybe he already spent on housing and car. But left $7k for reno, wedding, honeymoon and etc is unthinkable. Unless parents and other family members will help. Possible expenses are .........
Short term one off expenses :
1. Reno + furnishings --> ??
2. Wedding package --> ??
3. Gold + all the traditional expenses --> ??
4. Wedding ring -- > ??
5. Engagement + wedding reception --> ??
6. Honeymoon -- > ??
I think the above easily few tens of k.
Long term monthly expenses :
1. House hold - 500 (Bills + groceries + ??)
2. Car - 1000
3. Baby - 800 or more each (baby care + milk powder + diaper + medical)
4. Personal - ?? (Tax, insurance, shopping, holiday, entertainment, etc)
5. Parents' allowance - ??
6. Domestic helper - 500
And the list can goes on. 2 kids + a car and a maid means 3 to 4k a month ..... setting up a family is all $$ and $$ can make the relationship very tense.
yanbros
24-10-2006, 08:31 AM
Its a question of how much you're going to scrifice to pay for the proposal ring. I got mine $5k from Lazare. That was when i was only earning $600 / mth during my attacment. I had to save up for about 8 months. That's to show my love for her. She didn't requested anything big or grand or whatever. But i think at the end of the day, its up to you.
s3ng_s3ng
24-10-2006, 10:01 AM
But remember the Suffer-ring is free ;)
patryn33
24-10-2006, 10:19 AM
Its a question of how much you're going to scrifice to pay for the proposal ring. I got mine $5k from Lazare. That was when i was only earning $600 / mth during my attacment. I had to save up for about 8 months. That's to show my love for her. She didn't requested anything big or grand or whatever. But i think at the end of the day, its up to you.power! And to say T&C suggested 3X your monthly income..
U 8X your mthly income!
if U were making $2K, 8X will be more power!
Diablo
24-10-2006, 10:21 AM
7K!! I am lucky that my gf is considerate and nice to not ask for the sky.
Ended up payin abt 3k for a 43pointer, D/VVS2 with zen setting @ goldheart.
When I was in T&Co, those sales 席北鸟。show me the face like i cannot afford. :s27:
So I decided to give the money to someone else.
To me, the issue is not really the 'one time cost'. 7k or 10k, can earn back.
It is the expectation which I am worried about. If she expects an expensive ring now even though she knows he can't afford, then what else is there? Holidays to Europe? Upgrade to condo? Is she caught up in a race with her friends and colleagues who you are expected to pay for?
My wife never asked for anything, which is why I thought I would get something nice for her. But if she specify the size, colour and brand, I will feel like a bit of the romance and surprise is lost.
In Singapore get married already so business like. Dun u think buying her a ring to 'surprise' her and propose loses all meaning when she chooses her own ring?
bigcatblue
24-10-2006, 07:10 PM
hahaha i stumbled upon this thread. i refuse to get a diamond ring. i called it blood diamond. saw the plights of those mining the stone and decided i would never get a diamond ring.
the whole diamond thing is a damn good marketing. try trading in that diamond back.
i too was also at tiffany's but the service is crap. is a pity, i had a considerable budget, dont ask.
i decided to take the business elsewhere.
still thinking what to replace diamond, anyway is too common a stone.
hahaha i stumbled upon this thread. i refuse to get a diamond ring. i called it blood diamond. saw the plights of those mining the stone and decided i would never get a diamond ring.
the whole diamond thing is a damn good marketing. try trading in that diamond back.
i too was also at tiffany's but the service is crap. is a pity, i had a considerable budget, dont ask.
i decided to take the business elsewhere.
still thinking what to replace diamond, anyway is too common a stone.
Why give stone - if your hope is to trade any piece of jewellery in for some trade in value, I think you'll be in for a nasty surprise. If your hope is to retain value, give ang pao or buy her some blue chip stocks lor...
patryn33
24-10-2006, 08:11 PM
Why give stone - if your hope is to trade any piece of jewellery in for some trade in value, I think you'll be in for a nasty surprise. If your hope is to retain value, give ang pao or buy her some blue chip stocks lor...if there is ever a war, ang poa or blue chip stocks can retain value better than Gold or what? or everything no value?
if no war, ladies like to show, ang poa or blue chips stocks how to show.. frame it and wear around the neck?
dizzydevil
24-10-2006, 11:07 PM
spend more on proposal ring, then make do with wedding band. this is wat i think cos when gals nite out, all they see is each other diamonds.. have to give ur wife some face also mah..
bought mine at soo kee close to 3k for brilliant rose design n diamond ard 0.5carat.. its worth it..
Xcstacy
25-10-2006, 08:58 AM
Okay..glad to hear you're being sensible. A bit worried about why you have 14k savings when you're past 30, but let's move on w the diamond ring.
Oops, sorry to cause a misunderstanding. When I say spend half of my savings on the ring, its just a figure of speech. In fact, after spending on the ring, my savings are still manageable on most of the things.. :)
Xcstacy
25-10-2006, 09:01 AM
spend more on proposal ring, then make do with wedding band. this is wat i think cos when gals nite out, all they see is each other diamonds.. have to give ur wife some face also mah..
Yah, agree with you on this point. Must help her to reduce some peer pressure when I can't help her reduce her work pressure. :D
Xcstacy
25-10-2006, 09:11 AM
To me, the issue is not really the 'one time cost'. 7k or 10k, can earn back.
It is the expectation which I am worried about. If she expects an expensive ring now even though she knows he can't afford, then what else is there? Holidays to Europe? Upgrade to condo? Is she caught up in a race with her friends and colleagues who you are expected to pay for?
My wife never asked for anything, which is why I thought I would get something nice for her. But if she specify the size, colour and brand, I will feel like a bit of the romance and surprise is lost.
In Singapore get married already so business like. Dun u think buying her a ring to 'surprise' her and propose loses all meaning when she chooses her own ring?
Although I would be reluctant to part with my money when the time comes, I do agree with you that the money can be earned back. Initially, I have the same thinking as you... There would be no element of surprise if she chooses her own ring.. However, if I spend a huge amt on something she dun really like, den also jialat. So, have to give and take a bit loh.. Anyway, after some observation, I am sure she will help to moderate when choosing the ring...
Ring-- $7k, her joy-- Priceless.. :D
epigram
27-10-2006, 10:14 PM
the larry's annual sale is on 15 Nov to 31 Dec. so this is an opportunity for those who are waiting for larry's sale to get your dream lazare.
elovechat
29-10-2006, 01:26 AM
may i say my view from a woman's standpoint?
we want to look good in front of everyone in a materialistic point of view. if gals were to get a small stone from the guys, it really shows the insignificance of marriage. in short, we want face.
how i get my stone from my husband? he didn't propose to me. typical chin-na man. so no surprises. we went to a lot of shops to look. but none suits my taste. in the end, i custom make my ring. at that time, the price had went up. he paid for that. all well below S$500. It's a .6 carat, 20k. wanted 22k but the goldsmith refused to make coz gold is too soft to hold the stone.
during the 1st day of work after my ROM, i didn't wear the stone that he gave me. i wore my mum's wedding ring. she had passed away so the ring is an inheritant. it's a 1 carat. not until 2 weeks then i slowly introduce my wedding ring. everyone was 'impressed' at the 1 carat diamond. i felt gd. everyday i wore my mum's ring at work then when my husband fetched me from work, i changed back to my ring. i m sure when my husband see this post, he'll be very sad. so whenever possible, i'll wear the ring he gave me.
there'll be lots of women out there who'll not be like me. whom will appreciate whatever their husbands gave them. i m still trying. believe me, i m still stalling my chinese wedding coz his parents refused to give me the 4 gold pieces (四点金 ) as i m not a teochew. my husband is still brainwashing me.
Wzierbovsky
29-10-2006, 08:17 PM
Here's my take.
From the get go, I wanted to surprised my wife with the engagement. Quite a few couples these days don't even bother with that. In order for the man to satisfy (pacify?) or at least not risk her displeasure at the engagement ring, many just do a verbal engagement first then afterwards go to the jewellery shops to buy the ring she wants.
One of the things my wife was thrilled about was that the engagement and ring was a total surprise to her. I made an educated guess on her finger width and got it right without necessary alterations, and chose the kind of stone and setting she'd always hoped for too. Spent around $2.4K on it and from a jeweller that is a relative of my sis-in-law, so got a really good quality stone at nearly trade prices.
For the poster above who shared a woman's point of view: what she said is in sync with my perceptions. I don't know is it true to say if "most" women feel the same way about wanting a stone they can show off to others about, but from casual observation and conversations, many women do "expect" certain qualities in the stone and setting. If Xcstacy has already discussed this at length with his fiancee and she's fine with what he's getting, that's fantastic - but I urge that he be really cautious about this and make sure she's not privately unhappy or anything like this.
Also, it's one thing to say that your fiancee and yourself want just a simple reception and be done with it. In practice, it's your parents and especially your future in-laws who will have a huge say in this. You had better walk through any decisions that deviate from the norm with them. Again, for parents it's a matter of face (my wife made that clear enough when we argued about the size of our banquet).
And talking about expectations: because of our differences in work schedules, we couldn't take our honeymoon immediately after our wedding. For me, it was a matter of reality: our funds didn't allow for it, let alone timing too. And for that, I got some grief from her. For her, the honeymoon immediately is one of the *must* have items for the wedding, and it took a lot of convincing that we just couldn't have it immediately.
elovechat
30-10-2006, 01:21 AM
honeymoon .... it sounds strange to me. perhaps we have cohabited for a long time and gone on several trips together. a trip after wedding doesn't sound exciting to me. i know he won't have the money to splurge on trips so i can't ask for resort villas in Maldives or Mauritius. that is what i call REAL honeymoon.
anyway, it doesn't matter to me whether i go on a honeymoon. i rather go diving in exotic places and indulge in my own programmes with my friends since he doesn't dive.
Hi all, thanks for all the different perspectives. Dun mind i deviate from the ring a lil. How do you guys know that she's the one? Does the fact that i am asking means she's not?
Thanks in advance :s11:
elovechat
30-10-2006, 04:21 PM
it's a feeling which both of us knew instantly. i know my husband since i was 11 years old. but were never together until 26 years old. definitely, i brace myself for anything worst that may happen.
百世修来同船渡,千载修得共枕眠
It takes hundreds of reincarnations to bring two persons to ride on the same boat;
it takes a thousand eons to bring two persons to share the same pillow.
It is fate and 'yuan fen' that brings two persons together, value an encounter and treasure a relationship.
we want to look good in front of everyone in a materialistic point of view. if gals were to get a small stone from the guys, it really shows the insignificance of marriage. in short, we want face.
how i get my stone from my husband? he didn't propose to me. typical chin-na man. so no surprises. we went to a lot of shops to look. but none suits my taste. in the end, i custom make my ring. at that time, the price had went up. he paid for that. all well below S$500. It's a .6 carat, 20k. wanted 22k but the goldsmith refused to make coz gold is too soft to hold the stone.
during the 1st day of work after my ROM, i didn't wear the stone that he gave me. i wore my mum's wedding ring. she had passed away so the ring is an inheritant. it's a 1 carat. not until 2 weeks then i slowly introduce my wedding ring. everyone was 'impressed' at the 1 carat diamond. i felt gd. everyday i wore my mum's ring at work then when my husband fetched me from work, i changed back to my ring. i m sure when my husband see this post, he'll be very sad. so whenever possible, i'll wear the ring he gave me.
there'll be lots of women out there who'll not be like me. whom will appreciate whatever their husbands gave them. i m still trying. believe me, i m still stalling my chinese wedding coz his parents refused to give me the 4 gold pieces (四点金 ) as i m not a teochew. my husband is still brainwashing me.
You bought a .6 carat ring in a gold setting for less than S$500??
Hi all, thanks for all the different perspectives. Dun mind i deviate from the ring a lil. How do you guys know that she's the one? Does the fact that i am asking means she's not?
Thanks in advance :s11:
This is far too broad a subject for me to handle, but just want to point out a problem with the question 'is she the one'. The problem with this is that it suggests that if you correctly choose 'the one', your marriage will be happy and will last till death do you part. And of course, it logically follows that if you choose 'the wrong one', you will end up in divorce. If you have this kind of thinking, it implies that after you get married, u dun need to do anything extra in your life as you have already chosen the 'right one'. If you run into problems, instead of dealing with the problems together, you will have the thinking like 'oh s**t, i chose the wrong one'.
The truth is, getting married is only step 1 in a life long process. Every day after you get married, you must make the conscious decision to love, respect, support and communicate with each other. You must be sure that you are ready to do this, whatever happens. You must be sure that your partner is ready and willing to do this for you.
This doesn't mean that you should just marry any person out there and try to make it work, but I guess since you're asking the question, you already have someone in mind.
epigram
31-10-2006, 10:41 PM
You bought a .6 carat ring in a gold setting for less than S$500??
or is it 0.06 carat?
This is far too broad a subject for me to handle, but just want to point out a problem with the question 'is she the one'. The problem with this is that it suggests that if you correctly choose 'the one', your marriage will be happy and will last till death do you part. And of course, it logically follows that if you choose 'the wrong one', you will end up in divorce. If you have this kind of thinking, it implies that after you get married, u dun need to do anything extra in your life as you have already chosen the 'right one'. If you run into problems, instead of dealing with the problems together, you will have the thinking like 'oh s**t, i chose the wrong one'.
The truth is, getting married is only step 1 in a life long process. Every day after you get married, you must make the conscious decision to love, respect, support and communicate with each other. You must be sure that you are ready to do this, whatever happens. You must be sure that your partner is ready and willing to do this for you.
This doesn't mean that you should just marry any person out there and try to make it work, but I guess since you're asking the question, you already have someone in mind.
Hi Blah, thanks for your thought provoking input. Never really did see it that way, i mean of course i wont expect things to be smooth sailing and just kick back after marriage. Guess I should be asking myself do i really see myself living together with her and also accepting her as she is now rather then trying to change her....... Sheez relationship is tough! :s27:
elovechat
01-11-2006, 02:24 AM
or is it 0.06 carat?huh? how to see?
elovechat
01-11-2006, 02:26 AM
You bought a .6 carat ring in a gold setting for less than S$500??me buy? nope. my husband did. the goldsmith is my cousin. we made it in malaysia.
elovechat
01-11-2006, 02:28 AM
Hi Blah, thanks for your thought provoking input. Never really did see it that way, i mean of course i wont expect things to be smooth sailing and just kick back after marriage. Guess I should be asking myself do i really see myself living together with her and also accepting her as she is now rather then trying to change her....... Sheez relationship is tough! :s27:hv u thought of marriage consultation?
patryn33
01-11-2006, 04:06 AM
me buy? nope. my husband did. the goldsmith is my cousin. we made it in malaysia.so good deal still! 0.6ct ring in malaysia just $500!
The $500 include the stone or just the labor and gold?
epigram
01-11-2006, 08:56 AM
huh? how to see?
0.06 carat will be like a speck of sand. 0.6 carat will be maybe like grape seed size. alternatively, you can check your diamond certificate.
caratE
02-11-2006, 01:56 PM
the larry's annual sale is on 15 Nov to 31 Dec. so this is an opportunity for those who are waiting for larry's sale to get your dream lazare.
Hello epigram... Are you positive on Larry having a sale on the 15th of November? I am currently planning to buy my gf a proposal ring and so far, the best feeling i got is from Larry's shop. The feeling that i am not being robbed or somthing like that compared to when i went out of shops like LW, SK, S**K**, GH and the likes. Its just my gut feel. The salesperson quoted me:
1. ideal cut (i think it is th 57facets), 0.40cts, G, VS1 = 3900
2. ideal cut 0.35cts, D, VS2 = 3500
This is the cost of diamond only. The salesman will charge me 600 for the 6 claw setting.
do you think its a good buy??? I wanted a not so expensive proposal ring and get an expensive wedding band. Im no expert to this but i would love to hear opinions from you guys... Please Help...
Thanks
justarius
02-11-2006, 10:53 PM
Hello epigram... Are you positive on Larry having a sale on the 15th of November? I am currently planning to buy my gf a proposal ring and so far, the best feeling i got is from Larry's shop. The feeling that i am not being robbed or somthing like that compared to when i went out of shops like LW, SK, S**K**, GH and the likes. Its just my gut feel. The salesperson quoted me:
This is the cost of diamond only. The salesman will charge me 600 for the 6 claw setting.
do you think its a good buy??? I wanted a not so expensive proposal ring and get an expensive wedding band. Im no expert to this but i would love to hear opinions from you guys... Please Help...
Thanks
Sounds about right for an ideal cut, cos you do really pay a premium for the cut. For the same price as you are paying, you could have gotten a much bigger stone with better specs but the final decision is up to you. :-)
epigram
02-11-2006, 11:43 PM
Thanks
am positive. received a mailer from them as an ex-customer about the sale. the preview sale for ex-customers starts 13 nov. the general sale starts 15 nov.
#1 - larger, worse colour, better clarity. #2 - smaller, best colour, lower clarity. at the sizes you are contemplating, clarity isn't very obvious. colour slightly more. i would go for #2.
i assume these are lazare. is that price inclusive of ring setting?
i think it's better to spend more upfront on the proposal and less on wedding band. a timeless wedding band need only be a simple ring. no point having a wedding band with multiple small diamonds. you might as well save that to get a bigger proposal ring.
epigram
02-11-2006, 11:49 PM
Sounds about right for an ideal cut, cos you do really pay a premium for the cut. For the same price as you are paying, you could have gotten a much bigger stone with better specs but the final decision is up to you. :-)
an alternative is to buy GIA diamonds but ask to see their certificate. take down the vital stats, table proportion, angles etc. and plug the figures into the holloway cut adviser to see if the diamond is an ideal cut (even though it does not have an ideal cut certificate). that way you can get an ideal cut at non-ideal cut prices.
for example, the 0.8 lazare i bought could have gotten a 1.0 gia ideal.
caratE
03-11-2006, 07:31 AM
Thanks guys!!! (justarius & epigram) :)
I appreciate it so much man!:s7:
epigram - yes the price includes the setting.
Yesterday i was in orchard and went inside the Larry's at Paragon. I went to Larry's Ngee Ann previously. Anyway, The salesman quoted me on a ideal cut 0.32ct G VS1 w/ setting (18K white gold)= S$3149.00. Its quite near my price range also but willing to extend if its really a good buy.
He adviced me that the setting would be an 18K white gold but i asked for a 6 clawed. I also asked for platinum but he assured me that the 18K whilte gold will be in a good quality to hold the diamond in tact. He said it is much better if i invest more on the diamond rather than the setting, to which i kind of agree in the end.
One last thing, how come the discount for the regular day and the annual sale is the same? how much would be the discount on their annual sale?
Please advice me more, ill be buying the ring by 18th of November... Hopefully...
Other than Larry's Lazare... anymore diamond u want me to check?
caratE
03-11-2006, 07:37 AM
Epigram...
I havent thought much on the wedding bands yet...though i think we both have to wear it compared to the proposal ring...LOL...so ill invest more on it.... (i think) but i'll look for you next year for the wedding band advice.... LOL...
I forgot to tell u, the salesman in Larry's showed me their GIA cert. diamond but i said i prefer the Lazare diamond. I dont know i think i fell in love with it as well when i saw it first...LOL... so id buy it to give to my gf so id love her more...hehe...
epigram
03-11-2006, 08:12 AM
good luck with the purchase!
not sure if the normal day discount same as the annual sale discount - but purchases during annual sale let you enter into their lucky draw. top prize is a 1.27 lazare.
tech_oasis
12-11-2006, 04:36 PM
Going to adjust by budget up to 2k :)
Any recommendations of where to go and what to buy.
Been reading around. Looking for a vs2, 0.49 carot, cut unsure yet guess ideal cut is out of the pic for that price right round brilliant or princess cut?
patryn33
13-11-2006, 06:25 AM
Been reading around. Looking for a vs2, 0.49 carot, cut unsure yet guess ideal cut is out of the pic for that price right round brilliant or princess cut?$2K budget and want a 0.49ct, VS2, CUT and Color?
I find www.mondera.com or Bluenile a "pretty good guide to guage" SG price.
take Bluenile 0.32ct G VS1 w/ setting (18K white gold) is US$900+ or around SG$1500.
caratE
13-11-2006, 07:19 AM
Been reading around. Looking for a vs2, 0.49 carot, cut unsure yet guess ideal cut is out of the pic for that price right round brilliant or princess cut?Good morning tech,
i think most jewelry stores now are on sale man, u may find what u want. I checked SooKee last friday and they have a 50% off on their GIA diamond rings. If you are looking for half carat stone, i think the closes they have is 0.42. thats sookee in jurong east.
If you are unsure of the cut.. check stores like sookee, sk, goldheart, lee wha... at least to see and check the cut if u like (57 facets, 66 facets, 70++...etc.) at least you would know what you like if u see it for yourself.
BTW... is this for a proposal ring or buying it for yourself?
patryn33
13-11-2006, 09:48 AM
If you are unsure of the cut.. check stores like sookee, sk, goldheart, lee wha... at least to see and check the cut if u like (57 facets, 66 facets, 150 etc.) at least you would know what you like if u see it for yourself.
wow.. did not know there is this 150 facets cut.
seen this ideal 88 cut
http://www.daysjewelers.com/diamond_ideal88.cfm
increasing the facets increase the "fire" if it ideal cut. I compared the 57/58 facet and the 66 facets hard to tell the difference. maybe 150 will be super!
caratE
13-11-2006, 10:02 AM
what? where is the 150 facets? i dont find it in my previous message...
qinzheng
13-11-2006, 11:35 AM
need so help from you guys.... around 1.5~1.8K buget, how big of ring can i get? and currently which is the cheapest place or recommanded place i can get? is dimond industrial cheaper then goldheart, sookee etc? TIA
epigram
13-11-2006, 09:09 PM
regarding the 50% sales, it's basically because the sticker price is very high. 1 carat, E, VS, has been in the $12-14k range depending on whether IGI or GIA for the past 2 years. except that now, with 50%, the sticker price is $24-26k
tech_oasis
14-11-2006, 07:12 AM
Anyone bought from Bluenile site? Seems pretty reputable. Sent an email regarding few questions, been a day but still no reply so kinda concern about the service.
This is big ticket purchase so will like to be safe :)
IT's a proposal ring
patryn33
14-11-2006, 08:17 AM
Anyone bought from Bluenile site? Seems pretty reputable. Sent an email regarding few questions, been a day but still no reply so kinda concern about the service.
This is big ticket purchase so will like to be safe :)
IT's a proposal ringI did not get from bluenile... but from mondera.
the are more reputable (great collector of gems) and they do international orders.
Don't think Bluenile do International orders out of USA, Canada and UK.
epigram
14-11-2006, 06:04 PM
wow. bluenile is cheap! their AGS diamonds are almost half price compared to singapore!! wish i knew about this web site earlier!!
tech_oasis
14-11-2006, 09:53 PM
Check with bluenile. No delivery to singapore :(
Hi patrynn,
Were you happy with your purchase? Much cheaper compared to singapore. Anyone tried purchasing diamonds and then setting ring size here in sg. Worried ring will not fit :)
Forgot to add. Did you have to pay tax for it?
Cheers
batdow
14-11-2006, 10:37 PM
need so help from you guys.... around 1.5~1.8K buget, how big of ring can i get? and currently which is the cheapest place or recommanded place i can get? is dimond industrial cheaper then goldheart, sookee etc? TIA
definitely less than a 0.5 carat... but still something! :)
patryn33
14-11-2006, 11:01 PM
Check with bluenile. No delivery to singapore :(
Hi patrynn,
Were you happy with your purchase? Much cheaper compared to singapore. Anyone tried purchasing diamonds and then setting ring size here in sg. Worried ring will not fit :)
Forgot to add. Did you have to pay tax for it?
CheersMondera and Bluenile price very close.
much cheaper compare to SG. I did not pay tax, maybe lucky?
Ring size, go T&C and find out then order loh..
qinzheng
16-11-2006, 12:02 PM
definitely less than a 0.5 carat... but still something! :)
which is the prefered place to buy it?
batdow
16-11-2006, 12:05 PM
which is the prefered place to buy it?
any jewellery shop in town can lah...
qinzheng
16-11-2006, 12:52 PM
any jewellery shop in town can lah...
due to tight buget.. i need to get 0.3~0.4... hope to get a vaule for money 1......coz over spend on wedding package n dinner.... anyway idea on average which sell cheaper? sookee, leehua, gold heat or diamond industries....is it adviseable to buy from taka jewellery?
pico43
16-11-2006, 03:27 PM
Take a look here for the answers to all your questions... :)
http://www.proposalring.com/
qinzheng
16-11-2006, 11:48 PM
Take a look here for the answers to all your questions... :)
http://www.proposalring.com/
thanks alot :D
batdow
17-11-2006, 12:01 AM
due to tight buget.. i need to get 0.3~0.4... hope to get a vaule for money 1......coz over spend on wedding package n dinner.... anyway idea on average which sell cheaper? sookee, leehua, gold heat or diamond industries....is it adviseable to buy from taka jewellery?
oops.. not taka pls.
Chlorpheniramine
17-11-2006, 01:40 AM
Doesn't make much difference where you buy it from. Just browse around at all these shops and pick one you think is best for you. Don't listen to sales pitches about all the fancy names and cuts - if it looks fine to you, it's good enough.
Once you look past the fancy advertisements, a diamond is just an overrated, overpriced and undersized rock.
qinzheng
17-11-2006, 11:08 AM
thanks for all the advises. i will go ring searching for the next 2 days...
qinzheng
17-11-2006, 11:09 AM
Doesn't make much difference where you buy it from. Just browse around at all these shops and pick one you think is best for you. Don't listen to sales pitches about all the fancy names and cuts - if it looks fine to you, it's good enough.
Once you look past the fancy advertisements, a diamond is just an overrated, overpriced and undersized rock.
"a diamond is just an overrated, overpriced and undersized rock." 101% agree :s13:
Unless you're the woman who has to wear it and come under the scrutiny of all her girlfriends....heh.......even then it is not the dollar value of the rock but the emotional value of it to the couple. That is the significance.
qinzheng
22-11-2006, 12:07 PM
Unless you're the woman who has to wear it and come under the scrutiny of all her girlfriends....heh.......even then it is not the dollar value of the rock but the emotional value of it to the couple. That is the significance.
:D i brought a .30 ring from Sookee..... for around $1200 last weekend... was a very beautifully cut diamond. with exellent cut on the GIA cert.
epigram
22-11-2006, 09:26 PM
congrats on a good buy!
Chlorpheniramine
27-11-2006, 03:06 AM
Cubic zirconia would be a perfectly acceptable substitute if the emotional value actually mattered. Let's face it, the dollar value is really paramount. It speaks volumes that a husband's worth has to be defined by the bride and her girlfriends through the value of a diamond ring.
According to wikipedia: "In Western culture, diamonds are the traditional emblem of fearlessness and virtue, but have also often associated with power, wealth, crime and misfortune. Today, diamonds are used to symbolize eternity and love, being often seen adorning engagement rings and sometimes wedding rings as well. The popularity of this modern tradition can be traced directly to the marketing campaigns of De Beers, starting in 1938. Prior to the De Beers marketing campaign, engagement rings had no one particular stone associated with them..."
Basically, it's all a marketing gimmick to make you part with your cash.
patryn33
29-11-2006, 01:44 AM
Cubic zirconia would be a perfectly acceptable substitute if the emotional value actually mattered. Let's face it, the dollar value is really paramount. It speaks volumes that a husband's worth has to be defined by the bride and her girlfriends through the value of a diamond ring.
According to wikipedia: "In Western culture, diamonds are the traditional emblem of fearlessness and virtue, but have also often associated with power, wealth, crime and misfortune. Today, diamonds are used to symbolize eternity and love, being often seen adorning engagement rings and sometimes wedding rings as well. The popularity of this modern tradition can be traced directly to the marketing campaigns of De Beers, starting in 1938. Prior to the De Beers marketing campaign, engagement rings had no one particular stone associated with them..."
Basically, it's all a marketing gimmick to make you part with your cash.in that case, if your spouse buy into those gimmick and peer pressure. Are U not going to part with your cash and part with her instead?
these days tons of marketing gimmick.. cars, clothes, food, electronic goods, even services. U must be a wise person to see thru all that!
wind79
29-11-2006, 08:08 PM
I just got a quote from LeeHwa for a Destinee ring (E/VS2/.4C) for $4000. Is that a good buy? They don't seems to allow me to bargain the price, but it meets my budget of $4000 though.
Very troubled now...
:(
qinzheng
30-11-2006, 12:54 PM
I just got a quote from LeeHwa for a Destinee ring (E/VS2/.4C) for $4000. Is that a good buy? They don't seems to allow me to bargain the price, but it meets my budget of $4000 though.
Very troubled now...
so expsenive haha... no need to buy destinee lah.....i just brought a excellent cut diamond from sookee think is D colour or E and VS1 or VVS, (.3C) for 1200. the value of the ring is also retain for 2 yrs. after 2 yrs is 80%. then u can change a new ring 2 yrs then just top up mah...whaha....just 35% more then the current ring, then u can get a brand new n bigger 1.
if u big so expensive 1, ie. 4K the next time u upgarde u need to get 1 @ least 5.4K and top up 1.4K
alvinaloy
30-11-2006, 02:33 PM
Very troubled now...
I think I'd rather buy Tiffany for that price.
wind79
30-11-2006, 07:03 PM
I think I'd rather buy Tiffany for that price.
Only $4000 buy from Tiffany? I think only enough for diamond dust...
epigram
30-11-2006, 07:51 PM
Very troubled now...
there is one stone I saw at SooKee at Raffles Place. GIA, E, VS2, 0.52C for $3000. it scores an amazing 0.6 using Holloway Cut Adviser. but I'm a bit tight on cash now so cannot buy as Christmas present.
alvinaloy
01-12-2006, 01:42 AM
Only $4000 buy from Tiffany? I think only enough for diamond dust...
I bought proposal ring for think maximum $2500 from Tiffany. Give it a try. They've got excellent service and would ask you for your budget (and won't look down on you like some branded shops), then recommend accordingly. They'll even teach you how to look at those statistics on a diamind.
I went to the one in Takashimaya last time and was pretty nervous about it. But the sales assistant was very nice and helpful. Even gave me some freebies when I went back to get my wedding bands ;)
voip007
01-12-2006, 02:08 AM
I bought proposal ring for think maximum $2500 from Tiffany. What sort of ring did you get? Mind sharing the details?
alvinaloy
01-12-2006, 02:25 AM
Oooohh... Apologies. I went to dig out my old receipt and found that it costs more than what I had quoted. Pai seh :s34:
Paid $3900 for it. Round Brilliant. H/VVS1/0.3C in platinum ring.
Again, my apologies for misquoting. Really didn't remember paying that much... :(
wind79
01-12-2006, 05:45 PM
Oooohh... Apologies. I went to dig out my old receipt and found that it costs more than what I had quoted. Pai seh :s34:
Paid $3900 for it. Round Brilliant. H/VVS1/0.3C in platinum ring.
Again, my apologies for misquoting. Really didn't remember paying that much... :(
Thanks man, I might want to give Tiffany a look then.
But doesn't the Color seems a bit off for H?
alvinaloy
01-12-2006, 10:32 PM
I don't really see a difference between E and H actually. But I valued clarity over colour, hence VVS1. Folks might think that Tiffany is not as worth it as local brands, but IMO, nothing beats whipping out that blue bag and impressing the heck outta your other half with their diamond ring :)
patryn33
02-12-2006, 08:07 PM
I don't really see a difference between E and H actually. But I valued clarity over colour, hence VVS1. Folks might think that Tiffany is not as worth it as local brands, but IMO, nothing beats whipping out that blue bag and impressing the heck outta your other half with their diamond ring :)I also cannot tell the difference between D,E,F,G,H.
don't think anyone can tell the difference between VVS1 and VVS2 with naked eye.
voip007
02-12-2006, 08:22 PM
I also cannot tell the difference between D,E,F,G,H.
don't think anyone can tell the difference between VVS1 and VVS2 with naked eye.
What about carat? The average difference in measurement for a 0.3c and 0.5c princess cut seems very insignificance to me, Length and Wide difference are usually in the 0.3 to 0.5mm range. Is it really worth getting a 0.5 rather than a 0.3? In real life how big is the difference between the two in size?
The cost jump between the two sizes are quite a bit, if there isn't really any difference in size detectable by the eyes than I rather get a 0.3.
patryn33
02-12-2006, 09:01 PM
What about carat? The average difference in measurement for a 0.3c and 0.5c princess cut seems very insignificance to me, Length and Wide difference are usually in the 0.3 to 0.5mm range. Is it really worth getting a 0.5 rather than a 0.3? In real life how big is the difference between the two in size?
The cost jump between the two sizes are quite a bit, if there isn't really any difference in size detectable by the eyes than I rather get a 0.3.0.3ct and 0.5ct, difference is insignificant but detectable.
ppl ask your spouse how big, seem like Xct but then she say no lah.. just 0.3ct..
if X is a big number how she feel, if X is a small number how she feel.
epigram
03-12-2006, 12:18 AM
differences in colour and size are detectable if stones are placed side by side. for example, girl friends comparing rings. clarity is difficult to compare visually unless you are comparing with SI1, SI2 stones.
voip007
03-12-2006, 12:59 AM
0.3ct and 0.5ct, difference is insignificant but detectable.
ppl ask your spouse how big, seem like Xct but then she say no lah.. just 0.3ct..
if X is a big number how she feel, if X is a small number how she feel.I'm undecisive about which of the two to take, would like to hear some comments from you guys.
Both are Princess cut.
Price difference between the two is about $570.
Both are GIA certified.
Weight: 0.57 Carat (with medium blue Fluorescence)
Cut Grade: Premium
Color Grade: F
Clarity Grade: VS1
Weight: 0.38 Carat
Color Grade: D
Clarity Grade: VVS2
wind79
03-12-2006, 01:27 AM
I'm undecisive about which of the two to take, would like to hear some comments from you guys.
Both are Princess cut.
Both are GIA certified.
Weight: 0.57 Carat
My choice will definitely be the .57C diamond. F color grade and VS1 should be undetectable with an untrained eye. The carat size however, makes the obvious difference. It will depends on individual budget though.
voip007
03-12-2006, 01:42 AM
My choice will definitely be the .57C diamond. F color grade and VS1 should be undetectable with an untrained eye. The carat size however, makes the obvious difference. It will depends on individual budget though.Forgot to mention the .57C has medium blue fluorescence. Would you still chose the .57c if the clarity goes down to VS2 instead of VS1?
Atelier
03-12-2006, 07:35 AM
Personally I wouldn't go for diamonds with fluorescence in them...especially for the better-coloured diamonds (ie. H and better)...as it'll make the diamond appear milky and lower its value as well.
What's your budget like and whereabouts have you been looking for your diamond?
Perhaps you can check out this online dealer in US
www.jamesallen.com
Seems pretty good to me...there's a H&A diamond on there that might suit your requirements...
http://www.jamesallen.com/diamond.asp?cid=53&item=981035
Shape: Round
Carat weight: 0.52
Cut: Hearts & Arrows Ideal
Color: E
Clarity: VVS2
Certificate: AGS
Depth: 60.2%
Table: 56.1%
Polish: Ideal
Symmetry: Ideal
Girdle: Thin to medium
Culet: None
Fluorescence: Neglible
Measurements: 5.22*5.26*3.15
Crown Angle: 34.4°
Crown %: 15.00
Pavillion Angle: 40.7°
Pavillion %: 42.80
I think it returns a HCA score of 0.8 (wich is excellent IMO)...good luck!
I'm also looking for proposal ring leh...
Ard $3k to $5k budget.
I breifly know the 4Cs and what to look out for, but not too sure with my budget what i can get here...
ANy specific outlets to recommend?
I'm undecisive about which of the two to take, would like to hear some comments from you guys.
Both are Princess cut.
Both are GIA certified.
Weight: 0.57 Carat (with medium blue Fluorescence)
Wat's the price for each of these?
wind79
03-12-2006, 07:17 PM
Forgot to mention the .57C has medium blue fluorescence. Would you still chose the .57c if the clarity goes down to VS2 instead of VS1?
The VS2 part should be alright, but the Medium fluorescence is a deal breaker. The fluorescence will be easily detected if the girls compare their diamonds with each other, which is something they will definitely do... Try to find something else that is more suitable?
patryn33
04-12-2006, 03:46 AM
Perhaps you can check out this online dealer in US
www.jamesallen.com (http://www.jamesallen.com)
U bought from them b4?
Atelier
04-12-2006, 06:39 AM
Not yet but I will be coz I intend to pop the question sometime in March/Apr 07...
Was initially skeptical about dealing with online diamond dealers but I was recommended by my future bro-in-law who married my gf's sister last year...the engagement ring he got for her was pretty impressive...0.71 Carat H&A, E Colour, VVS2 Clarity for about US$3,500...plus an additional US$500 for the setting.
So in total I think he paid approx. US$4000 (S$6000-6500?) but I feel it's money well spent lah...well it has to be coz he got the gal mah!
patryn33
04-12-2006, 07:13 AM
Not yet but I will be coz I intend to pop the question sometime in March/Apr 07...
Was initially skeptical about dealing with online diamond dealers but I was recommended by my future bro-in-law who married my gf's sister last year...the engagement ring he got for her was pretty impressive...0.71 Carat H&A, E Colour, VVS2 Clarity for about US$3,500...plus an additional US$500 for the setting.
So in total I think he paid approx. US$4000 (S$6000-6500?) but I feel it's money well spent lah...well it has to be coz he got the gal mah!I never tried the above dealer, but I have tried www.mondera.com as I felt they are better establish.
Atelier
04-12-2006, 08:40 AM
I looked at Mondera as well...but felt that James Allen provided just that bit more information on its website...plus the fact that my bro-in-law has dealt with JamesAllen before sort of sealed the deal for me...but I'm keeping my eye out on Mondera as well for a good quality 0.70ct stone at a decent price...
epigram
04-12-2006, 08:51 AM
The VS2 part should be alright, but the Medium fluorescence is a deal breaker. The fluorescence will be easily detected if the girls compare their diamonds with each other, which is something they will definitely do... Try to find something else that is more suitable?
agree that fluorescence is a deal breaker. if she clubs, her diamond will glow in the dark - because of the UV light.
voip007
05-12-2006, 04:50 AM
I looked at Mondera as well...but felt that James Allen provided just that bit more information on its website...plus the fact that my bro-in-law has dealt with JamesAllen before sort of sealed the deal for me...but I'm keeping my eye out on Mondera as well for a good quality 0.70ct stone at a decent price...The 3d model and pictures are very helpful with Live help on the JA website.
Prices of diamonds between JA and Modena are pretty similar I thought but JA has a lot more ring settings than Modena, whats more JA has sizes up to 12 that requires no additional resizing fees while Modena's til size 7 or 8 and if you need to resize above that size, they require quite a hefty fee of ~USD$100 depending on material of the ring. That bit had me puzzled, as I checked with both site's customer service as a guage I used the same ring found on both sites, Modena replied it would cost about usd$100 to resize a gold setting to a bigger size but JA has the same resized size on its sizing selection at no extra charges as confirmed by the customer service personnel stating their pretty flexible on sizes. Does either one sound shady? Why the big difference in sizing charge?
The other difference between the two is that JA charges USD$100 for international delivery, while Modena has free delivery but if you require any custom work or resizing done to Modena's ring, they don't accept returns while JA does since it has sizes throughout and also has the buyback and upgrade plan where they pay 80 to 90% to buy back the diamond from you or to upgrade. All info obtained from their websites.
I was initially looking at Modena but had a look at JA and found a lot more ring designs at better prices and some rings at modena are more expensive compared to other sites with the same ring.
Not sure if one is more branded than the other though since both are online dealers.
So is one more branded than the other? Does brand name really matter since we are already dealing with online dealers?
voip007
05-12-2006, 04:52 AM
Wat's the price for each of these?Can't really remember, about SGD$1400 to 1800 I think.
voip007
05-12-2006, 05:03 AM
agree that fluorescence is a deal breaker. if she clubs, her diamond will glow in the dark - because of the UV light.Yeah no wonder that .57 was slightly on the low end of the price range.
Atelier
05-12-2006, 06:30 AM
I don't think there would be huge difference in terms of branding between JA & Mondera ring settings unless you are looking at the Designer's Collection...
If you are only looking the Classic (Normal) ring settings...most of them should be machine moulded so there shouldn't be a big difference...
One of the reasons I'm looking at JA is also becoz of the wider variety of rings on offer as my gf is not a big fan of the classic prong settings...I think the flushed setting might be better suited to her tastes...it can be found on pages 2 & 3 of JA's Classic Solitaire Ring Collections (White Gold & Platimun only)...i think the price is US$650 for 18K White Gold and US$1100 for Platinum.
patryn33
05-12-2006, 06:44 AM
The 3d model and pictures are very helpful with Live help on the JA website.
Prices of diamonds between JA and Modena are pretty similar I thought but JA has a lot more ring settings than Modena, whats more JA has sizes up to 12 that requires no additional resizing fees while Modena's til size 7 or 8 and if you need to resize above that size, they require quite a hefty fee of ~USD$100 depending on material of the ring. That bit had me puzzled, as I checked with both site's customer service as a guage I used the same ring found on both sites, Modena replied it would cost about usd$100 to resize a gold setting to a bigger size but JA has the same resized size on its sizing selection at no extra charges as confirmed by the customer service personnel stating their pretty flexible on sizes. Does either one sound shady? Why the big difference in sizing charge?
The other difference between the two is that JA charges USD$100 for international delivery, while Modena has free delivery but if you require any custom work or resizing done to Modena's ring, they don't accept returns while JA does since it has sizes throughout and also has the buyback and upgrade plan where they pay 80 to 90% to buy back the diamond from you or to upgrade. All info obtained from their websites.
I was initially looking at Modena but had a look at JA and found a lot more ring designs at better prices and some rings at modena are more expensive compared to other sites with the same ring.
Not sure if one is more branded than the other though since both are online dealers.
So is one more branded than the other? Does brand name really matter since we are already dealing with online dealers?hmm. did not know about these about JA. maybe will try them in the future if I am getting a pendant.
Last time I got from Mondera as they have US$200 off coupon. Perhaps they getting popular prices not as competitive as b4.
Resize now need fee from Mondera? last time no need if it don't fit within 30 days and did not remove tag just return and get new size. But will U send back to resize after X time, I believe U need to bear the cost of shipping round trip even resizing is free. might as well do it locally.
As for sizes, I doubt many ppl in Singapore have ring size of 8 and beyond. Even with T&C most of their Celebration rings are up to size 8.
don't really think brand mean anything at this pt.
so what Mondera's Mouawad family is richer and GIA campus is named after them. Don't think anyone care.
voip007
06-12-2006, 06:58 AM
Just so you guys know, remember to ask JA what metal is the setting on the ring. As it can be either white gold or platinum as its not stated on JA's site . If its white gold, its better to upgrade to platinum which cost around an additional US$75. Modena's ring settings material are all stated on its site and most of it are platinum as their ring selection is very limited.
JA's main strength against Modena is its wide selection of ring settings and sizing. Otherwise both are comparable. The free delivery of Modena evens out JA's us$100 delivery charges if you need Modena to resize the ring before delivery, as resizing at Modena cost about us$100 as well.€ depending on the material type and amount used.
Loose diamonds at both sites are pretty similar except I noticed that JA has Ideal cut for princess-cut whereas Modena's princess-cut consists of only Premium cut, don't think its the difference in classification as both sites uses H&A (Billiant Round only) -> Ideal -> Premium -> VG -> G classifications. Modena states that its Ideal cut is only applicable to Brilliant round...
If you are able to find your preferred ring setting at Modena without requiring resizing, then getting it from Modena will save you us$100.
DaVinci2
06-12-2006, 06:05 PM
Hi voip007 and Atelier,
When you get diamonds from US dealer, is GST payable?
Caatz23
07-12-2006, 04:40 PM
Dear All,
If you are looking for any jewelleries, be it wedding rings, 4 dian
jin, diamonds, precious gems, jade, gold, white gold etc, please feel
free to contact me.
A brief introduction of my business. We are a family business running
in Singapore. We are locals. We do custom made wedding rings of all
diamond size. We provide certs for diamonds too. So need not worry
that have you bought a fake one. Because in my upper generations till
now, we do jewelleries for big brands. (Pardon me for not able to
reveal these brands due contract law). We design, we do, we sell to
them. They sell to the public. Next it came to my generation; we wish
to do our own collection. And sell the products ourselves. Because of
no rental shops as a burden, we are able to provide more value
products to customer. I would say it will be cheaper than the market
price at least for 20-30%. We have experience (Shi Fu) to manufacture
these precious jewelleries. If you are not satisfied with the design,
size, shine etc we can alter according to your needs. Normally we do
our business through word of mouth. We strive to be the largest custom
made jeweler maker in SG. Hope to get your support and hope to help
the public to save money on unwanted costs that tag along with
branding and advertising. Trust me. Every shop is making up to
150-200% of profit for any products that you buy. So why waste money
on all these and you still can get a valuable product? If you have a
particular design in mind, let me know. My designers will make it
happen for you.
If you are interested in making an unique wedding ring that are owned
by only the two of you, wait no longer. PM me and I can bring you to
my factory in UBI to chose, consult my designers etc.
I belive in long term business relationship with my customers, they
will always come back cause our products is good. Please feel free to
PM me for enquires, quotation etc.
Look forward in hearing from you!
Thanks,
Dan
sasay1980
10-12-2006, 11:06 PM
I am interested in the Brilliant Rose 0.25c D VS2 at ard 2.5k.
Anyone knows how much staff discount can a sookee staff gets? 30%
rvf79
16-12-2006, 03:33 AM
i saw the tiffany setting.... veri nice............ even it's veri plain... but look outstanding!!!
wonder how much does it cost?
sasay1980
17-12-2006, 12:46 AM
When is the best time to buy brilliant rose? and the best discount you got for brilliant rose?
can't to advice?
currently the promotion is 5% plus 5% seems abit low.
does CNY got better promo?
sasay1980
17-12-2006, 02:24 AM
Can we trust the spec of the diamond for brilliant rose?
some F VS2 diamond look more yellowish than other F VS2 diamond of the same size?
do you think this is common? what do i need to check when buying diamond? just trust the spec will do?
Sookee should be quite reputable right?
Singlet
18-12-2006, 08:49 PM
i am on neither sides of any jewellers in singapore.
but some info for brilliant rose..
they are not perfect cut diamonds but modified round.
cut in USA. +30pts then got GIA cert or else is in-house cert which is the common practice.
itz facets is either 65/66, so if u choose a rose, get 1 which specify culet to be pointed.
brilliance of diamond is affected by no. of facets.. more the better brilliance.
too much will complicate n confuse light reflections..
basically under close distance view from diamond top shows a rose pattern.
basically if itz a GIA cert, itz GIA reputation at stake.
for F color doesnt mean 1 precise color tinge, theres higher F n lower F but itz printed F only, F is F.. keke.
if u think some look different, itz mite be the brillance of diamond @ diff spot/angle playing tricks.
things to check.. see if diamond is properly secured in claws.. if theres any laser inscription imprinted, CHECKED before buying.
mite advise u to check out other available modeified round cut in singapore for more comparision.
Good luck
redno
24-12-2006, 08:05 PM
I must say that destinee diamond are very bright and sparkling... btw have anyone tried the diamond industry at Paya lebar rd?
ralfale
25-12-2006, 12:48 PM
Looking at bluenile's prices and specs, local jewellery seems so overpriced.
redno
25-12-2006, 02:36 PM
Looking at bluenile's prices and specs, local jewellery seems so overpriced.
Is bluenile a recongised company? Anyone tried buying from them?
ralfale
25-12-2006, 06:18 PM
I looked through a few online retailers, whiteflash, mondera, bluenile... bluenile offers the most good quality diamonds. Just go for their signature diamionds. Apprantly they are the biggest online diamond retailers. But personallly I've never bought anything from them before ... maybe will buy it soon and ask my US friend bring back for me. However, they dont ship to singapore ;) Only Mondera and whiteflash offer shipping back to SG. My friend bought from whiteflash before.
redno
25-12-2006, 09:16 PM
I am also buying soon... just wonder as long as the diamond are ideal cut with triple ideal spec, they are qualified as destinee diamond, right?
ralfale
25-12-2006, 10:41 PM
I am also buying soon... just wonder as long as the diamond are ideal cut with triple ideal spec, they are qualified as destinee diamond, right?
U r talking abt AGS cert triple zero?
Destinee diamonds are really nice .. but they are highly priced too
hlzq4
25-12-2006, 11:48 PM
itz facets is either 65/66, so if u choose a rose, get 1 which specify culet to be pointed.
brilliance of diamond is affected by no. of facets.. more the better brilliance.
too much will complicate n confuse light reflections..
basically under close distance view from diamond top shows a rose pattern.
mite advise u to check out other available modeified round cut in singapore for more comparision.
Good luck
Hi, mind explaining what it means by specifying the "culet to be pointed"?
also, what other round cuts are there around ?
I am also looking around for a ring and would like more info.
thanks!!
redno
26-12-2006, 12:18 AM
U r talking abt AGS cert triple zero?
Destinee diamonds are really nice .. but they are highly priced too
Can I safely say that AGS cert triple zero diamond falls into Destinee series?
redno
26-12-2006, 12:20 AM
Hi, mind explaining what it means by specifying the "culet to be pointed"?
also, what other round cuts are there around ?
I am also looking around for a ring and would like more info.
thanks!!
culet is the the sharp point of the bottom of diamond.
Refer to the diagram in this link:http://www.ideal-scope.com/hca.asp
Usually the culet is preferred not to be flat as light will leak and not as brilliant as it would be if it is sharp pointed.
Round cut - What others? hmm... not so sure about that
redno
26-12-2006, 12:22 AM
Anyone had buying diamond ring from overseas experience? Care to share the procedure and its outcome? I had saw one guys -kelvin's website and he had shared his.. just want to find out more other personal experience.
ralfale
26-12-2006, 01:10 AM
Can I safely say that AGS cert triple zero diamond falls into Destinee series?
Actually I cannot recall Destinee diamonds specs. I dont sell them :D
But from what i compared with other brands, destinee seems to be more shiny than the rest. But like i stressed, they are expensive too. If you are feeling rich, and dun want to be so troubled with choosing a stone, by all means get a destinee. You cant go wrong with that :P
hlzq4
26-12-2006, 01:58 PM
Actually I cannot recall Destinee diamonds specs. I dont sell them :D
But from what i compared with other brands, destinee seems to be more shiny than the rest. But like i stressed, they are expensive too. If you are feeling rich, and dun want to be so troubled with choosing a stone, by all means get a destinee. You cant go wrong with that :P
A destinee ring costs how much in this case, say a 0.30? Any idea?
wind79
27-12-2006, 04:31 PM
I just bought a destinee ring from leehwa. Its 0.32 Carat, VVS1, G color with IDEAL cut and no florescence. It costs me slightly above 3.5k after the discount (includes GST). The box for the ring is quite nice, looks very professional and the sales staff are also very friendly. I told them i wanted something around 3.5k budget and they gave me quite a lot of suggestions. They even have a very professional card holder to hold the AGS certificate for the diamond. Overall I am quite impressed with the quality of service from LeeHwa.
(I do admit that I am paying additional for the branding of DESTINEE, and I will most likely be able to get a stone with similar specs at a lower price elsewhere...)
redno
28-12-2006, 11:40 PM
I just bought a destinee ring from leehwa. Its 0.32 Carat, VVS1, G color with IDEAL cut and no florescence. It costs me slightly above 3.5k after the discount (includes GST). The box for the ring is quite nice, looks very professional and the sales staff are also very friendly. I told them i wanted something around 3.5k budget and they gave me quite a lot of suggestions. They even have a very professional card holder to hold the AGS certificate for the diamond. Overall I am quite impressed with the quality of service from LeeHwa.
(I do admit that I am paying additional for the branding of DESTINEE, and I will most likely be able to get a stone with similar specs at a lower price elsewhere...)
Yup, destinee are a class over the normals...I went to look through their cert... yup, Destinee uses AGSL triple zero diamond. Cos fo their ideal cut, polish, and symmtrey, they shine better than others.
I would say that Destinee brand name does not guarantee a good diamond. I was at Wisma last Thursday. They are selling me this 0.47c E VVS2. $4900+. In this case, this is very near to hald a carat size. FOr those who did research in this area, you would know the cost ratio between sub-half-carat and half-carat.. so for that price it is very worth... but after looking at the cert... then I realise that no wonder so cheap... cos right smack at the center, there is a cloud defect at the CENTER of the diamond... this will affect the brilliance of the diamond significantly lor.. at the end I did not buy, and another pperson bought it that night...
Anyway, I want to highlight - MUST look at the cet before buying diamond. It says alot about the qaulity of the diamond.. since it is expensive, due care must be place in.
hlzq4
31-12-2006, 09:19 PM
Hi guys. Anyone bought from Whiteflash before? or any other online stores? care to share your experience, as well as things to look out for?
Thanks.
redno
02-01-2007, 12:26 AM
Hi guys. Anyone bought from Whiteflash before? or any other online stores? care to share your experience, as well as things to look out for?
Thanks.
Just checked.. their shop offer very good princess cut diamond.. triple ideal, quite good deals.. example:
0.526 ct F VVS1 A Cut Above Princess
Report: AGS
. Shape: A Cut Above Princess
. Carat: 0.526
. Depth %: 75.3
. Table %: 69.3
. Crown Angle: 43
. Crown %: 12.7
. Pavilion Angle: 40.3
. Pavilion %: 59.4
. Girdle: Thin to Medium
. Measurements: 4.33-4.34X3.27
. Light Performance: 0
. Polish: Ideal
. Symmetry: Ideal
. Culet: Pointed
. Fluorescence: Negligible
It is only $1,745.00 USD!!
http://www.whiteflash.com/aca_princess/A-Cut-Above-Princess-cut-diamond-159857.htm
But too bad no round brillant cut of triple ideal kinds..
redno
02-01-2007, 12:33 AM
Oo.. got one 0.7C.. out of my budget..
http://www.whiteflash.com/hearts_arrows/A-Cut-Above-H-A-cut-diamond-191602.htm#
0.735 ct F VVS1 A Cut Above H&A
$4,680.00 USD
I ran thru their VS1 items.. alot of inclusions at the center..thier VVS1 is quite good.those inclusions are at the extreme sides.
Have anyone tried bluenile? I have saw the one in there... but no overseas shipping lor... sian...
hlzq4
02-01-2007, 02:14 AM
so anyone knows what the procedures are, and the things to look out for when ordering from those overseas vendors? please kindly share and advice please.
ya, they have nice diamonds which are not as expensive as over here.
Singlet
08-01-2007, 02:13 AM
i supposed the procedures will be pretty standard..
they will need ur credit card number, security pin, billing address, etcetc
more impt is the after sales service they are providing, scince it is not in sg, u mite wanna noe what kinna service they can provide for u if anything happens to the diamond..
pay close attention if theres any courier charges.. luxury taxes... etctec.
ask them for the full detailed explanation for the ring to reach u...
u mite be a slightly troublesome customer to them, but itz only understandable cos they are doing a online service.
erin50
09-01-2007, 04:26 PM
Thanks.
Just email them. Whiteflash.com and Goodoldgold.com are the only 2 online retailers that I personally recommend. Goodoldgold is more expensive but more thourough. Even if they don't have the diamond with the specifications you want, just email them. They can do a search through database and find one similar stone of your budget. Both these retailors are reliable and fast. Goodoldgold actually has a brick and mortar store in US. Both retailors have been in the business for a long time.
You don't need VVS1. SI2 as long as eye clean is good enough cos when in setting, naked eye cannot see the inclusion. So don't be obsessed with the inclusions.
Get a diamond with at least a colour G. The whiter the diamond, the larger it appears.
Expect to fork out another 15% on top of sale price to include FEDEX, bank transfer fees. If you are uncomfortable paying large amount of money via credit card, then use the credit card only for purposes of 'booking' the diamond, if not request only bank transfer. POSB and DBS are able to bank transfer as long as you have an account there.
patryn33
10-01-2007, 01:53 AM
Just email them. Whiteflash.com and Goodoldgold.com are the only 2 online retailers that I personally recommend. Goodoldgold is more expensive but more thourough. Even if they don't have the diamond with the specifications you want, just email them. They can do a search through database and find one similar stone of your budget. Both these retailors are reliable and fast. Goodoldgold actually has a brick and mortar store in US. Both retailors have been in the business for a long time.
U bought from Goodoldgold b4? service good?
whiteflash, JamesAllen and Mondera websites are neat.
erin50
10-01-2007, 01:33 PM
U bought from Goodoldgold b4? service good?
whiteflash, JamesAllen and Mondera websites are neat.
Nearly. Goodoldgold provides the best range of testing and displays all resultson the web. Should be the most thorough, if you understand them, that is.
redno
14-01-2007, 09:44 PM
Nearly. Goodoldgold provides the best range of testing and displays all resultson the web. Should be the most thorough, if you understand them, that is.
So in the end you bought from a local retailer or overseas online retailer?
redno
14-01-2007, 09:45 PM
Seems to be the diamond price is on the rise liao.. the price seems abit more ex than Dec pricing.. Can anyone confirm?
kkh83
14-01-2007, 09:57 PM
anyone of you looking for a solitaire?it's from goldheart celestial series.bought last year late sept.never wore it before.i'm selling it for 3k.retail price is 5k.
Alpha_Hippo
15-01-2007, 09:44 AM
my gf had set a budget of less than 500 for a engagement ring for me. I know she is being kind on my wallet on the ring part as she prefers to splurge it on reno instead.
johanjr
15-01-2007, 12:28 PM
my gf had set a budget of less than 500 for a engagement ring for me. I know she is being kind on my wallet on the ring part as she prefers to splurge it on reno instead.
lucky u =:p
erin50
15-01-2007, 05:43 PM
So in the end you bought from a local retailer or overseas online retailer?
I bought some jewellery from both local and overseas. Whiteflash is the latest overseas retailer I've used.
iluvlatte
15-01-2007, 08:42 PM
I am not really that particular on brand although i wished he would give a Tiffany. =:p
But do not want him to feel to the strain. But I love Soo Kee brillant rose , looks elegant and dazzling.
Singlet
16-01-2007, 11:59 PM
brillant rose??
maybe u shld check out goldheart's celestial diamond or gabrielle diamond from Charlotte Atelier...
more facets has better brillance.. but too much may look too confusing n light rays get too messy.
would like to emphasis again that the level of brillance attain is not affected by the facets but rather the CUT of it. you can have 500 facets but it just wont shine if the cut is Poor.
to the end of the day, the ONLY IDEAL cut is a 57 facets round brillant cut. no more no less no other shape.
iluvlatte
17-01-2007, 11:48 PM
Charlotte Atelier is elegant, one of my favourite !
It seems you are an expert,you working in jewellery line?
erin50
18-01-2007, 11:50 AM
There's a fair bit of trade-off you need to consider. For the same price, you might be getting a lower grade and slightly more inclusions or a smaller diamond, when shopping for a Gabrielle diamond at Charlotte Atelier. You are of course paying for more facets expertly cut by a craftman probably very very skilled. You get more small flashes of brilliance and that appears to be a bigger diamond that it actually is.
Facet counting is as much a marketing strategy as a skill on the craftsman, don't be too obsessed by it. The nature of the cut and how the facets are arranged are more important.
That said, if I were to ONLY choose between Celeste and Gabrielle, I will pick Gabrielle. Reason is of course the Celeste, being a 73-cut is not as recognized - checkout the certification from Goldheart. If I recall correctly, it should be EGL which is less stringent. On the other hand, the Gabrielle is a 105-cut proposed by Gabi Tolkowsky and also based on the original facet pattern of the Tolkowsky Ideal-cut. So you get an additional 40 facets at the pavilion and 8 more at the crown on top of the basic 57-facet diamond.
On the subject of Tiffany, it's all about marketing, clever branding, lots of advertisement and that turquois box.
Singlet
18-01-2007, 05:54 PM
erm, yes i am in the jewelery industry, but i do not wish to take sides of any brandings. will keep my comments n advices in the neutral POV, but pls don sue me if my advice or information is wrong..
let me retify 1 point, Celestial diamonds will be certified by the GIA while Gabrielle will be by DPL, someone from Charlotte Atelier tells me that DPL is more stringent. (note: >0.3 ct of all diamond cut will be a in-house cert, AS FAR AS I KNOW)
i will always like to tell people that there will be no such things as the best suitable cut for a diamond but theres a cut of the diamond u will love best...
may it be a 57/58, 65/66, 73, 88, 105, 200+ facets.. u might not like all of them, each cuts have their own characteristics.
Strictly only my personal view, considering only the brillance factor, i think i will prefer a more facets cut on a big rock. but if my rock is rather a small one.. theres no need to get high numbered facets cut.
BUT, if i am only to get a small rock for someone SPECIAL, i will want a special cut, a cut that i love.
HAHA.. talking abt tiffany, itz all abt the blue box.
thatguynokes
20-01-2007, 02:09 PM
erm, yes i am in the jewelery industry, but i do not wish to take sides of any brandings. will keep my comments n advices in the neutral POV, but pls don sue me if my advice or information is wrong..
let me retify 1 point, Celestial diamonds will be certified by the GIA while Gabrielle will be by EGL, someone from Charlotte Atelier tells me that EGL is more stringent. (note: >0.3 ct of all diamond cut will be a in-house cert, AS FAR AS I KNOW)
i will always like to tell people that there will be no such things as the best suitable cut for a diamond but theres a cut of the diamond u will love best...
may it be a 57/58, 65/66, 73, 88, 105, 200+ facets.. u might not like all of them, each cuts have their own characteristics.
Strictly only my personal view, considering only the brillance factor, i think i will prefer a more facets cut on a big rock. but if my rock is rather a small one.. theres no need to get high numbered facets cut.
BUT, if i am only to get a small rock for someone SPECIAL, i will want a special cut, a cut that i love.
HAHA.. talking abt tiffany, itz all abt the blue box.
Nope, the Gabrielle is not graded by EGL, but by DiamantPrufLabor (DPL), a German lab. For every purchase for a Gabrielle, it will come with a DPL cert and a authencity cert signed by Gabi Tolkowsky himself..
Singlet
20-01-2007, 04:53 PM
THX for saving the day...
i know EGL is a less regconised insitution compare to GIA, i just couldnt remember abt DPL..
sry for my mistake.
erin50
21-01-2007, 02:25 PM
I concur with Singlet about Tiffanies....LOL
Regarding more facets on a big stone, can you elaborate further? How big is "big"? I last heard the price premium of Gabrielle diamond over a similar-spec'ed one is about 30-40%.
Regarding the "stringency" of certifications, there are many many controversies. As far as I'm concerned, AGS000 is far more restrictive than the GIA Ideal Cut. EGL is generally less stingent, as I have read.
Singlet
21-01-2007, 07:18 PM
haha.. how big a diamonds usually based on each individual.
try holding a normal 57,58 1ct diamond n see if the brillance is enuff for you.
if it is NOT enuff, then 1ct is a big rock to you..
if it is enuff, try holding a 1.5ct and see if you like the brillance.
thats how i see it. kekeke
how much value will cut affect the cost of diamonds i cannot determine cos theres too many cutters, institutions...
e.g. if we are talking abt belgium cutters, cost of CUT will be relatively higher than indian cutters.
AGS is a department spilt of from GIA which so far only certify round n square diamonds n thus they have much more req. of from a diamond.
iluvlatte
21-01-2007, 10:26 PM
brillant rose??
maybe u shld check out goldheart's celestial diamond or gabrielle diamond from Charlotte Atelier...
more facets has better brillance.. but too much may look too confusing n light rays get too messy.
would like to emphasis again that the level of brillance attain is not affected by the facets but rather the CUT of it. you can have 500 facets but it just wont shine if the cut is Poor.
to the end of the day, the ONLY IDEAL cut is a 57 facets round brillant cut. no more no less no other shape.
Just went to Charlotte Atelier today, yes, the gabrielle diamond is really enchanting.
Singlet
21-01-2007, 10:56 PM
haha.. buy it !!
erin50
24-01-2007, 11:30 AM
there's also something abt buying a diamond in a nicely decorated boutique...ambience. :D
iluvlatte
27-01-2007, 09:54 AM
there's also something abt buying a diamond in a nicely decorated boutique...ambience. :DYeah, the ambience is very important. Sort of more or less will determines your choice. Under different ambience or should I say lighting, the diamond on your finger looks great.
Of course, price too. =:p
ralfale
01-02-2007, 01:53 PM
Anyone knows how much tax is charge for such overseas delivery into singapore?
acchhhoooo
02-02-2007, 03:15 PM
Helloz... anyone checked out the destinee 10 diamonds?? think it has slightly more facets than the normal round cut....
also, I read about this idealscope thing in proposalring.com... would I need one??? where can get??
ralfale
05-02-2007, 09:13 AM
Dont think you can buy the idealscope machine .. its not meant for consumer purchase.
But the H&A viewer you can get it for every purchase of diamond in SG and overseas, subject to their terms and condition
ralfale
05-02-2007, 09:19 AM
Hi guys, I've some observations and questions
GoldHeart got celestial series 73 facets cut, Sookee got brilliant rose series extra 8 cut from normal 56 facets
Do you guys think the extra facets really helps? I was looking at celestial stones yesterday, it seems to me that with
so many facets on the stones, the fire in the stone increases. However, the broad white flashes seems to lessen.
Any expert advice here?
Compared to usual hearts & arrow cut, those special cuts offered by our local stores really offers extra shine?
I was told these cut are not found in other countries. True? Are these cut recognised internationally in the first place?
Singlet
05-02-2007, 05:01 PM
ralfale, pls ask for more advices regarding the tax with ur jeweller, they will tend to be able to give u more advices.. it is not nice to speak openly here to teach anyone how to avoid tax..
destinee 10 is got 71 facets. also the world's first 10 h&a diamond.
i've mentioned already, the total brillance u get from diamond is affected by the cut.
best cut willl be ideal, next is excellence, next is i forgot le. then the very very good etcetc.
the more facets, smaller the faces n so the white flashes decreases.
but overall the shine of the diamond addds up to give u the brillance,
eyes don play tricks in this diamond cutting, trust ur eyes is most important.
not everyone will like the fancy cut.
other countries definately have fancy cut, but 57 facet h&a cut is still preffered becos it is the only ideal cut. classic.
and as long as these diamond comes with a international cert from a reputable institution, sure it is recongised.
if i m not wrong, take a look at tiffany, ha. they are a foreign jeweller n yes they have like more than 2 fancy cuts offered.
thatguynokes
05-02-2007, 10:59 PM
Helloz... anyone checked out the destinee 10 diamonds?? think it has slightly more facets than the normal round cut....
also, I read about this idealscope thing in proposalring.com... would I need one??? where can get??
You can mail order a idealscope from www.ideal-scope.com Cost around 60 bucks with shipping the last time I checked, for a beginner scope.. It's useful for looking at a H&A, not so much if you are looking at fancy cuts.
acchhhoooo
06-02-2007, 12:37 AM
You can mail order a idealscope from www.ideal-scope.com Cost around 60 bucks with shipping the last time I checked, for a beginner scope.. It's useful for looking at a H&A, not so much if you are looking at fancy cuts.
yupz.. saw it on the web... but i thought the ideal scope should be able to be used for any type of diamonds and cuts?? after all, it is to see the color of the reds right??
not really into fancy cuts.... anyway, those are usually more of the "branded" diamonds so cost more... not sure if I would like to pay a premium for them.... what do you guyz think?
oh yah... i was just browsing around... saw a couple of diamonds that I was quite keen on.. specs quite good... but i wanted to take down the dimensions of the cut to try on the holloway cut advisor, the sales person said not allowed... is that true for you guyz as well??
thatguynokes
06-02-2007, 04:47 PM
Fancy cuts, most of the time, have more than 57 facets as compared to the Ideal cut. So, the diamonds is typically cut deeper to accomodate the extra facets, which are usually found on the pavilion. So a deeper-cut diamond will definately show more white than pink when viewed under the ideal scope right? That's what i mean when I say the Ideal Scope is more suitable to view H&As rather than fancy cut. You can use it at the same time to check on the arrows alignment and symmetry of the H&A.
Different strokes for different folks.. :) Some people like the extra facets and the brand name of a fancy cut, while others like Hearts and Arrows.. It's a personal preference here.
The specs of the diamond should be listed on the lab report itself, so just tell the SA you want to see the cert and quietly take down the numbers lor.. No need to tell them you are going run the numbers through HCA lah.. ;) (IF they know HCA in the first place!!)
Anyway, there's a debate on the usefulness of HCA as a buying tool. Long story there, but you can read up a bit http://www.dbof.com/why-the-hca-does-not-work.htm (here)
Singlet
07-02-2007, 02:00 AM
for anyone who don bother abt
wads the classic cut,
wads the most popular cut,
wads the most sought after,
or what the best cut that is believed to be.
pls judge using your own naked eye.
see the diamond as it is using ur own eye.
it will not play trick.. what u see if what u get.
acchhhoooo
07-02-2007, 02:01 PM
Fancy cuts, most of the time, have more than 57 facets as compared to the Ideal cut. So, the diamonds is typically cut deeper to accomodate the extra facets, which are usually found on the pavilion. So a deeper-cut diamond will definately show more white than pink when viewed under the ideal scope right? That's what i mean when I say the Ideal Scope is more suitable to view H&As rather than fancy cut. You can use it at the same time to check on the arrows alignment and symmetry of the H&A.
Different strokes for different folks.. :) Some people like the extra facets and the brand name of a fancy cut, while others like Hearts and Arrows.. It's a personal preference here.
The specs of the diamond should be listed on the lab report itself, so just tell the SA you want to see the cert and quietly take down the numbers lor.. No need to tell them you are going run the numbers through HCA lah.. ;) (IF they know HCA in the first place!!)
Anyway, there's a debate on the usefulness of HCA as a buying tool. Long story there, but you can read up a bit http://www.dbof.com/why-the-hca-does-not-work.htm (here)
i see... thanks for the explaination... just wondering... the effect of the ideal scope is to show up the reds... while i was at lee hwa, i was using the scope... it shows the diamond in blues and whites... does that suffice?? or must it be reds??
haha.. i will take note of that... i wanted to get the specs the other time... but she said she will help me copy down so i thought no need... kekez... then later on i realised all she was copying was the cut, clarity, color and carat... chey... kekez... then i wanted to take down the specs... she dun let me liaoz... now i know better... :s13:
thatguynokes
07-02-2007, 11:10 PM
Dude, the thingy you used at Lee Hwa is NOT an Ideal Scope!!! :s13: It's just a Hearts & Arrows viewer.. You use that ONLY to see the arrows alignment and symmetry, so as to confirm it's a real H&A or not.. You can't check for light leakage using the H&A viewer at all..
The only time you can get hold of the specs is when you actually see the lab cert of the diamond. If the SA is just copying info from the small little price tag, then forget it, you'll never
get to know the total depth, crown angle, pavillion angle blah blah blah...
Anyway, even though it's termed "Hearts & Arrows", iit's almost impossible to see any hearts at all in those jewellery chain shops nowadays cos 99% of their diamonds are already mounted on settings. How to see pavillion view?? :s8:
Here's the 5 thousand bucks question..What if the hearts alignment are totally out?? You might probably never get to see it under normal circumstances.. :s11:
That's why I looked at my stone unmounted before getting the jeweller to set it.. But I didn't get a H&A so the reason why I checked the stone unmounted with a loupe is more for inspecting the inclusions and facets symmetry.. :D
ralfale
10-02-2007, 07:47 PM
I have just bought my diamond from GoodOldGold.com .... quite satisfied with my buy .. comes completed with GIA and GEMEX cert, as well as 3rd party apprisal .. also include H&A viewer and 10x magnifying scope.
The stone took only 3 work days to arrive ... via Fedex. Took my stone to do the setting ... the shop owner has verify for me its a real diamond and also a very good one. :D
acchhhoooo
12-02-2007, 12:10 AM
Dude, the thingy you used at Lee Hwa is NOT an Ideal Scope!!! :s13: It's just a Hearts & Arrows viewer.. You use that ONLY to see the arrows alignment and symmetry, so as to confirm it's a real H&A or not.. You can't check for light leakage using the H&A viewer at all..
The only time you can get hold of the specs is when you actually see the lab cert of the diamond. If the SA is just copying info from the small little price tag, then forget it, you'll never
get to know the total depth, crown angle, pavillion angle blah blah blah...
Anyway, even though it's termed "Hearts & Arrows", iit's almost impossible to see any hearts at all in those jewellery chain shops nowadays cos 99% of their diamonds are already mounted on settings. How to see pavillion view?? :s8:
Here's the 5 thousand bucks question..What if the hearts alignment are totally out?? You might probably never get to see it under normal circumstances.. :s11:
That's why I looked at my stone unmounted before getting the jeweller to set it.. But I didn't get a H&A so the reason why I checked the stone unmounted with a loupe is more for inspecting the inclusions and facets symmetry.. :D
ok.. i see.... I was at sookee... they have something called a firescope... i assume that is also to view the H&A design....
loose diamonds.. where you go find?? i tried to ask lee hwa but they say they only carry loose diamonds in sizes that are 0.7 and above if i remember correctly....
i dun want to get such a huge rock for my gf.... it would look very weird on her small hands... thinking a 0.3 to 0.45 would be nice enough size...
acchhhoooo
12-02-2007, 12:13 AM
I have just bought my diamond from GoodOldGold.com .... quite satisfied with my buy .. comes completed with GIA and GEMEX cert, as well as 3rd party apprisal .. also include H&A viewer and 10x magnifying scope.
The stone took only 3 work days to arrive ... via Fedex. Took my stone to do the setting ... the shop owner has verify for me its a real diamond and also a very good one. :D
congrats.. thats great... i am rather tempted to get from goodoldgold and other online diamond dealers as well but having to pay in full at one shot is something that i would like to avoid which is why i am thinking of getting from local retailers so that can pay via 0% interest installment plan.... this way... my budget can be more flexible....
StephenTan_1
12-02-2007, 02:40 AM
let me retify 1 point, Celestial diamonds will be certified by the GIA while Gabrielle will be by DPL, someone from Charlotte Atelier tells me that DPL is more stringent. (note: >0.3 ct of all diamond cut will be a in-house cert, AS FAR AS I KNOW)
Edited... Hello,
First of all, I am Stephen Tan from Charlotte Atelier. I know that alarm bells will ring, but let me reassure you that I will try to be as neutral as possible in this forum.
I would like to thank some of the forum posters for the nice comments about Gabrielle Diamonds and Charlotte Atelier.
Next, I would like to clarify on the certification issue...
Gabrielle Diamonds are certified with Diamant PrufLabor (DPL) certificates for diamonds over 0.40ct. DPL certificates use HRD grading rules, and include a clause taking full responsibility for correct grading.
Now, this is a very powerful clause, considering that most other certificates (GIA included) typically add disclaimers.
Typically, Gabrielle Diamonds sourced directly from Gabi Tolkowsky's atelier to Charlotte Atelier in Singapore have DPL certificates.
Note that it is not unusual for smaller diamonds 0.30ct and below not to be fully certified for various reasons. However, ALL Gabrielle diamonds of ALL sizes come with a personalized certificate from Gabi Tolkowsky certifying its authenticity. Charlotte Atelier does not use in-house certificates for Gabrielle diamonds.
In addition, we also offer, for selected diamonds above 0.30ct, a Gemprint certificate. This is a very special certificate from Gemprint Corporation (http://www.gemprint.com/) that is the world's most sophisticated diamond identification and registration system.
Every diamond has its own light signature. Gemprint uses a laser capture the unique sparkle pattern of each diamond and registers this image in its database. The owner receives a Gemprint certificate showing the sparkle pattern along with a detailed description of the stone. Please visit www.gemprint.com (http://www.gemprint.com/) for more information on how this works.
In addition, Gabi has created a way to create unique music from the unique light signature of each diamond, called Diamond Melody. The light signature of each Gabrielle diamond is converted into music using mathematical algorithms. You can see your diamond, touch your diamond and listen to your diamond music. Diamond Melody CD is available with Gabrielle diamonds which have the Gemprint certificates.
Another thing to clarify... about number of facets.
Gabi did not set out to create a magic number of facets. The 105-facet Gabrielle cut was developed from Gabi's experience in facetting 2 of the world's largest diamonds: the 273-carat Centenary (D-colour flawless - valued US$100 Million, and took 3 years to facet) and the 545-carat Golden Jubilee (the world's largest facetted diamond - presented to the Thai King Bhumibol in his 50th Anniversary). Gabi took the original ideal-cut parameters and enhanced it with 48 extra facets to create an extremely sparkly diamond cut.
I hope that this helps clarify the certification questions, and stand ready to answer any further questions you may have.
Best regards,
Stephen Tan
Charlotte Atelier
StephenTan_1
12-02-2007, 02:47 AM
Hi guys, I've some observations and questions
GoldHeart got celestial series 73 facets cut, Sookee got brilliant rose series extra 8 cut from normal 56 facets
Do you guys think the extra facets really helps? I was looking at celestial stones yesterday, it seems to me that with
so many facets on the stones, the fire in the stone increases. However, the broad white flashes seems to lessen.
Any expert advice here?
Compared to usual hearts & arrow cut, those special cuts offered by our local stores really offers extra shine?
I was told these cut are not found in other countries. True? Are these cut recognised internationally in the first place?
First, it is important to note that having more facets does not automatically mean the diamond is more sparkly. For example, there is a 144-faceted diamond that did not do well because it added nothing to the beauty of the diamond.
What is important is the placement of the additional facets. If the facets are placed without regard to the "journey of light", as Gabi Tolkowsky says, than they do not add value to the diamond.
The hearts & arrow phenomenon was started by Gabi Tolkowsky's son, Jean Paul Tolkowsky, in Japan almost 10 years ago. However, they are merely a refinement of the ideal-cut parameters developed by Gabi's great-Uncle Marcel Tolkowsky in the year 1919.
Hope to have added a little clarity to the facet discussion...
Best regards,
Stephen Tan
Charlotte Atelier
StephenTan_1
12-02-2007, 09:40 AM
for anyone who don bother abt
wads the classic cut,
wads the most popular cut,
wads the most sought after,
or what the best cut that is believed to be.
pls judge using your own naked eye.
see the diamond as it is using ur own eye.
it will not play trick.. what u see if what u get.
Singlet,
This is excellent advice, and I agree with it totally.
There are many diamonds out there with good numbers, and not all of them look good to the eye. Also, different people perceive different diamonds differently.
At the end of the day, you (or your girlfriend/wife) will be the one looking the diamond all day. If it doesn't look good, no ideal parameters on a certificate will make it look any better.
My 2 cents worth...
Best regards,
Stephen Tan
Charlotte Atelier
StephenTan_1
12-02-2007, 09:49 AM
haha.. how big a diamonds usually based on each individual.
Edited...
AGS is a department spilt of from GIA which so far only certify round n square diamonds n thus they have much more req. of from a diamond.
Hi Singlet,
Actually, AGS stands for American Gem Society (which is an association of certain jewellers in the US), and they are not "split" from GIA.
Whereas GIA is a neutral grading lab (and not-for-profit), the AGS cannot be said to be truly neutral, since they are affiliated to an industry association.
Best regards,
Stephen Tan
Charlotte Atelier
thatguynokes
12-02-2007, 11:24 PM
ok.. i see.... I was at sookee... they have something called a firescope... i assume that is also to view the H&A design....
loose diamonds.. where you go find?? i tried to ask lee hwa but they say they only carry loose diamonds in sizes that are 0.7 and above if i remember correctly....
i dun want to get such a huge rock for my gf.... it would look very weird on her small hands... thinking a 0.3 to 0.45 would be nice enough size...
Yeah, the firescope is just another H&A viewer..
Dude, a diamond is never TOO big.. :s13: Just ask your gf.. Trust me, it will shrink!! (Not physically, but mentally) :D
I got my rock from Charlotte Atelier, the Gabrielle diamond.. Didn't expect to see the boss-man Stephen himself here though.. ;)
Singlet
13-02-2007, 12:06 AM
To StephenTan_1,
Thanks for correcting me about the AGS thingy.
my knowledge is very limited as i am still a greenhorn in this trade.
StephenTan_1
13-02-2007, 12:14 AM
Dude, a diamond is never TOO big.. :s13: Just ask your gf.. Trust me, it will shrink!! (Not physically, but mentally) :D
I got my rock from Charlotte Atelier, the Gabrielle diamond.. Didn't expect to see the boss-man Stephen himself here though.. ;)Hi there thatguynokes,
Thank you for your support! :)
Well, I just saw a few questions here, and thought I could contribute a little to the discussion.
Cheers!
Stephen Tan
Charlotte Atelier
ralfale
13-02-2007, 01:19 PM
Its always nice to have someone in the trade to provide us with more info.
Thank you Stephen ;)
StephenTan_1
13-02-2007, 01:26 PM
Ralfale, you are welcome. If you have any questions, just shoot...
acchhhoooo
13-02-2007, 02:32 PM
I got my rock from Charlotte Atelier, the Gabrielle diamond.. Didn't expect to see the boss-man Stephen himself here though.. ;)
haha... i guess it is so for most girls.... thank God my girl really don't mind the size... but for those who does, to be honest, I think it really does look weird to wear a rock that is so big when the finger is so slender... nice to show off... but really ugly if you ask me... :p
thatguynokes
13-02-2007, 09:42 PM
haha... i guess it is so for most girls.... thank God my girl really don't mind the size... but for those who does, to be honest, I think it really does look weird to wear a rock that is so big when the finger is so slender... nice to show off... but really ugly if you ask me... :p
My gal has small fingers too.. ;) ;) What's your gal's ring size? Then we can see whether the diamond is too big or not.. :s22:
acchhhoooo
14-02-2007, 10:23 AM
[QUOTE=thatguynokes]My gal has small fingers too.. What's your gal's ring size? Then we can see whether the diamond is too big or not.. QUOTE]
haha... ok ok... differing views here... so no point arguing... I really appreciate your advise... I don't know your gf but i know mine and what she really likes :)
she has her rocks but she does not wear them cos they are too big for her liking... =:p anyway, i am thinking of at least a 0.3 to 0.45carat size so i am not sure if you consider that small.... :)
btw, what did you get for your gf? oh yah... and guyz.. any creative way of finding out a girl's actual ring size... my gf does not wear any rings... :(
StephenTan_1
14-02-2007, 03:03 PM
Hi acchhhooo,
You could take a string and measure the circumference of her finger. However, this would be a sure way of tipping her off to your intention.
Actually, I think it is better you just buy a ring (without worrying about size first, since most stores stock rings in common sizes), and then alter it after letting her try it on.
This would be better than altering the ring size (and possibly getting it wrong) and then altering it yet again. This would lead to metal fatigue, and which is why we do not recommend repeated ring alterations.
Any reputable jewelry store would be happy to re-size the ring for you if required.
Best regards,
Stephen Tan
Charlotte Atelier
thatguynokes
14-02-2007, 11:47 PM
My gal's ring size is really small, a 6.5.. When we go to jewellery shops, it's tough to try rings out cos most of the time the rings are standard average size 10 or 12, and that way too big for her.. :s13: So figuring that anything too big would look "vulgar" on her, I got her a 0.52ct Gabrielle. That's my excuse anyway...
acchhhoooo
15-02-2007, 10:05 AM
My gal's ring size is really small, a 6.5.. When we go to jewellery shops, it's tough to try rings out cos most of the time the rings are standard average size 10 or 12, and that way too big for her.. :s13: So figuring that anything too big would look "vulgar" on her, I got her a 0.52ct Gabrielle. That's my excuse anyway...
wow... your girl fingers really small... so how does the 0.52ct look on her? must be really lovely... :)
curious though... what size did she want actually? keke
thatguynokes
15-02-2007, 01:08 PM
wow... your girl fingers really small... so how does the 0.52ct look on her? must be really lovely... :)
Well, I would imagine it would be nice on her, cos I haven't actually given it to her yet.. :s13: She was expecting something around 0.30ct to 0.40ct
acchhhoooo
15-02-2007, 03:11 PM
Well, I would imagine it would be nice on her, cos I haven't actually given it to her yet.. :s13: She was expecting something around 0.30ct to 0.40ct
ooh... she'll be in for a nice surprise..... :D
mastermember
22-02-2007, 11:00 PM
Oo.. got one 0.7C.. out of my budget..
http://www.whiteflash.com/hearts_arrows/A-Cut-Above-H-A-cut-diamond-191602.htm#
0.735 ct F VVS1 A Cut Above H&A
$4,680.00 USD
I ran thru their VS1 items.. alot of inclusions at the center..thier VVS1 is quite good.those inclusions are at the extreme sides.
Have anyone tried bluenile? I have saw the one in there... but no overseas shipping lor... sian...
Hihi....
may i know where to check to see if there are inclusion(defects) on a diamond? If from onlne stores, we check the cert/specs online is it? But I usually dont see any info on inclusion leh... Or is it named differently?
Pls advise
TaLLKeV
12-03-2007, 01:30 PM
Check the cert, under clarity grade. If it's from GIA, ya can visit their website if you have the cert number.
sKeLeToN
12-03-2007, 11:08 PM
Interested to get the Destinee...does anyone happen to know itz price range? Juz a rough guide would do...thanks in advance!
Singlet
13-03-2007, 01:50 AM
honestly speaking, it will be most wise to do price checking of any laimonds from the retailers themselves.
Interested to get the Destinee...does anyone happen to know itz price range? Juz a rough guide would do...thanks in advance!
3k+ onwards for a reasonable quality one.
wind79
13-03-2007, 10:15 AM
I got mine for $3.7k, managed to get a 20% discount after the UOB credit card promotion.
TaLLKeV
13-03-2007, 11:42 AM
I got mine for $3.7k, managed to get a 20% discount after the UOB credit card promotion.
What's the grading for that diamond? Am considering to buy a loose diamond then get it fitted on a ring, but not sure if it's worth it.
sunkist
13-03-2007, 04:59 PM
hi guys in hwz.com. I am also looking into a ring which hopefully will <3k mark. i find quite a few at 50pointers range. The other "factors" are in either excllent or V.good range. Color from EFG..
Wonder if it a good buy..
Anyone know of eclarity.com.sg
how is this?
regards.
ralfale
16-03-2007, 12:12 AM
hi guys in hwz.com. I am also looking into a ring which hopefully will <3k mark. i find quite a few at 50pointers range. The other "factors" are in either excllent or V.good range. Color from EFG..
Wonder if it a good buy..
Anyone know of eclarity.com.sg
how is this?
regards.
My priority is always insist on a excellent H&A symmetry cut, followed by color and clarity.
And of course, use your eyes to see :s7:
sunkist
16-03-2007, 02:20 PM
now, after i went to PS (US site), i think i will like to order online. wonder if it a good idea..
o0KelviN0o
16-03-2007, 02:27 PM
what size?
sunkist
18-03-2007, 05:23 PM
ags000 f vs1 0.46 - $2300. loose diamond. ok?
farkthesystem
24-03-2007, 12:25 PM
Man I So Don't Get This Thread...
I've bought diamonds and still do for my wife, but never to show off to others. It was always between the 2 of us, and you definitely don't have to spend above 1k for a ring that would make her happy. All this talk about giving your gf face is crap. If she needs a 7k diamond ring to feel superior to her friends , then I don't see how she's ready for a marriage.
Singlet
24-03-2007, 05:14 PM
err.. when in this thread did we had the slightest intention abt giving face , or giving big diamond to be happy n even superiority of anyone whom is given a 7k diamond ring?
but rather they are all discussing abt if the diamond they are getting is a good choice n yearns for more advices...
if you think it is redundunt to talk abt diamonds... then don't, we never force you to.
sry i just had to comment this...
farkthesystem
24-03-2007, 07:42 PM
err.. when in this thread did we had the slightest intention abt giving face , or giving big diamond to be happy n even superiority of anyone whom is given a 7k diamond ring?
but rather they are all discussing abt if the diamond they are getting is a good choice n yearns for more advices...
if you think it is redundunt to talk abt diamonds... then don't, we never force you to.
I started reading from page 1 and got so turned off by page 3 I posted the above. I never said its redundant to talk about diamonds. Pls don't shoot with your eyes closed.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dizzydevil
QUOTE=Xcstacy
Yah, agree with you on this point. Must help her to reduce some peer pressure when I can't help her reduce her work pressure. :D
QUOTE=elovechat
sunkist
24-03-2007, 11:01 PM
wat the big deal.. we are all human.. pressure is sure one of the stuff we facing. be true. ready or not... is not detemine just by want or dun wan a diamond to show off :D
cheers!
farkthesystem
25-03-2007, 04:27 AM
wat the big deal.. we are all human.. pressure is sure one of the stuff we facing. be true. ready or not... is not detemine just by want or dun wan a diamond to show off :D
cheers!
Yes true. But it does say a lot about the frame of mind a person is in and how they will cope with married life.
Cress_knightness
25-03-2007, 12:36 PM
Man I So Don't Get This Thread...
I've bought diamonds and still do for my wife, but never to show off to others. It was always between the 2 of us, and you definitely don't have to spend above 1k for a ring that would make her happy. All this talk about giving your gf face is crap. If she needs a 7k diamond ring to feel superior to her friends , then I don't see how she's ready for a marriage.
Maybe the ppl here are thinking more of if they can sell off the diamond rings in
case of a divorce at higher prices if the diamonds has better certification or
quality ??? ...
=:p :look:
Cress_knightness
25-03-2007, 12:38 PM
Just go in to any reputable jewellery shops and get the one that caught your
fancy if you are buying a diamond that is less than 10k ...
Unless you are buying something that is a few carat or cost more than 50k and
above, then maybe one should do some homework ...
:look:
redno
25-03-2007, 12:54 PM
Hihi....
may i know where to check to see if there are inclusion(defects) on a diamond? If from onlne stores, we check the cert/specs online is it? But I usually dont see any info on inclusion leh... Or is it named differently?
Pls advise
You can usually download the cert from the website to see the diamond defects.. A good way to start is the www.bluenile.com
sunkist
25-03-2007, 04:28 PM
Yes true. But it does say a lot about the frame of mind a person is in and how they will cope with married life.
ppl built differently loh. can't expect ppl to function the same.
some ppl like 2% increment on gst. most doesnt
but it not the most who can make the decision.
So conlusion, despite u are the majority. u might not be the truth to everything.
erin50
27-03-2007, 04:54 PM
Just go in to any reputable jewellery shops and get the one that caught your
fancy if you are buying a diamond that is less than 10k ...
Unless you are buying something that is a few carat or cost more than 50k and
above, then maybe one should do some homework ...
:look:
pure rubbish...it's still a lot of money to buy a diamond, however small. As a buyer, you need to know what you are getting for that amount of money. Unless of course you are Cress_knightness or you are very rich or both (I left out one other possibility here :o ). And how do you define 'reputable'? Caveat emptor.
Cress_knightness
27-03-2007, 07:46 PM
pure rubbish...it's still a lot of money to buy a diamond, however small. As a buyer, you need to know what you are getting for that amount of money. Unless of course you are Cress_knightness or you are very rich or both (I left out one other possibility here :o ). And how do you define 'reputable'? Caveat emptor.
Well ... if one got brains, one wouldnt be buying diamonds at all ( perhaps
for those giantic ones that rich ppl buy and pass down from generation to
generation ) ... How good can those diamonds be if its selling at 5k today and
having a 50% or even more discount the following week ??? :s8: ... All those
talking about the 4 Cs doesnt really apply to small diamonds ...
Anyway, buy whatever that makes one happy ... :s21:
alegna_t13
28-03-2007, 03:41 PM
I do know of people who got a big artificial diamond as a proposal ring cos the ger want to save money for the guy but yet want a big rock.
So far have not heard bout them being exposed yet.
http://www.diamondssuck.com/
FangsDK
29-03-2007, 11:55 AM
Well ... if one got brains, one wouldnt be buying diamonds at all ( perhaps
for those giantic ones that rich ppl buy and pass down from generation to
generation ) ... How good can those diamonds be if its selling at 5k today and
having a 50% or even more discount the following week ??? :s8: ... All those
talking about the 4 Cs doesnt really apply to small diamonds ...
Anyway, buy whatever that makes one happy ... :s21: LOL you must be a single poor thing :D
What brings you to this thread anyway if u're not interested in diamond rings? LOL :s22:
kettler
29-03-2007, 12:37 PM
ish big diamond or small diamond........................................................
ish real diamond or fake diamond........................................................
so nong ish can make all those stewpig char bohs happi ish a goot diamond........
:s22: :s13: :D
exxondus
29-03-2007, 04:21 PM
0.52 is small? lol....for a finger size of 6.5, think its v v big hahaha
so many rich guys lol
hlzq4
21-04-2007, 07:17 PM
Hi ralfale, mind if you share where you took your diamond to do the setting and how much it cost? Aren't you worried about the security issue?
hlzq4
21-04-2007, 07:22 PM
ish big diamond or small diamond........................................................
ish real diamond or fake diamond........................................................
so nong ish can make all those stewpig char bohs happi ish a goot diamond........
:s22: :s13: :D
Even when you know that you are getting a fake for your fiancee as a wedding ring, although she doesn't know anything? Not too sincere imho...
sunkist
22-04-2007, 09:13 AM
- edited -
hlzq4
27-04-2007, 12:28 AM
accordingly to SK for setting, they can do for you at around 250. for 18k white gold.
i am intended to get a 0.46 carat for gf. cos it less than a 0.5 but much cheaper.
:D
can't really see the diff :d
so $250 includes the ring itself and the setting cost??
exxondus
27-04-2007, 09:35 AM
ya man, 0.5 is the magic number...once hit, the price jumps by a lot..:S
sunkist
27-04-2007, 10:07 AM
my friend in diamond forums tell me there a shop in lucky plaza (18k white gold) have ready ring to set @ $180.
Just choose the design and u can get back the diamond in around 2hr time.
hlzq4
28-04-2007, 04:40 PM
my friend in diamond forums tell me there a shop in lucky plaza (18k white gold) have ready ring to set @ $180.
Just choose the design and u can get back the diamond in around 2hr time.
but i am worried is that any chance that hmmm...your diamond might not be your original one? ie. swapped??
sunkist
29-04-2007, 08:28 AM
so when it came over.
exam it carefully. using the serial no on the gridle vs ur certificate..
or the flaws on the diamond.
do an appriasal ( <$150) is also quite worth it :D
exxondus
29-04-2007, 10:49 AM
make sure u always check the diamond they helped u to set on the spot..
if its different from your cert, call mata loh!!
hlzq4
30-04-2007, 01:44 PM
but checking the serial on the spot quite hard leh...the serial no. can be seen only through approx. 5-10x magnification leh. so how to check on the spot??? also, can't they argue that this is the diamond you send in before mounting? I know this might sound far fetched but actually these are my concerns which actually stopped me from buying loose diamond and getting them mounted here. Therefore, instead, I just asked Whiteflash to mount the diamond for me after I chose the diamond I wanted. I just asked them not to block the serial no. so that I can match the serial no. against my cert.
GoodestBoy
06-05-2007, 12:26 PM
Anyone spends more than 10K getting a proposal ring? Share with us leh..
Fly3r35
07-05-2007, 08:05 PM
Anyone knows where to make custom made rings??
surfers_
07-05-2007, 11:15 PM
Quite easy, just walk into Tiffany or Bvlgari store. $10,000 can't even get you more than 0.5 carat of a good quality diamond. :s13:
mastermember
12-05-2007, 10:17 PM
Any upcoming diamonds sale ?
Also have some questions regarding diamonds....
Is Destinee a brand unique to Lee Hwa just as Brilliant Rose is to Soo Kee and Celestial is to Goldheart?
sunkist
15-05-2007, 12:09 PM
brilliant rose is pretty unqine.
As for Leehwa's destinee. it is a AGS000 H&A cut.
exxondus
15-05-2007, 01:08 PM
Any upcoming diamonds sale ?
Also have some questions regarding diamonds....
Is Destinee a brand unique to Lee Hwa just as Brilliant Rose is to Soo Kee and Celestial is to Goldheart?yup, that is correct. Its like their trademark diamond cut.
masschaoz
15-05-2007, 01:24 PM
lazare 0.72.. abt $12k.....
sunkist
15-05-2007, 02:06 PM
destinee is like truelove of SK
they are all AGS000 cut and h&A
mastermember
15-05-2007, 07:14 PM
Woah..... thanks for the confirmation guys... Looks like brilliant rose is the one for her.....
sunkist
16-05-2007, 11:31 AM
i will recommend AGS triple 000 certificate's H&A!
exxondus
16-05-2007, 04:06 PM
i bought a destinee and its great..but pricely..but well, its for my future wife so its ok with me
domkorf
16-05-2007, 06:56 PM
Wah how pricey is pricey? LoL
Hmm i am actually sorta looking for 1 too. Love the Destinee range. Anyone knows how much their ring cost for 0.3 or 0.4c?
exxondus
16-05-2007, 11:58 PM
0.3 is abt 3k if u looking at the destinee range. (how much in 3k range will depend on ur clarity and also color. but their min color is G for destinee. so still quite colorless but my advise is go for D,E, F only).
If you looking at Destinee10 range, 0.3 will be about 6k?
domkorf
17-05-2007, 06:58 AM
Wah 3k...ok thanks very much exxondus, now gotta start working out my savings..LoL
OR i wait for their sales...hehehe can get 30% off gd aredy. =)
exxondus
17-05-2007, 10:21 AM
for their house cuts, destinee for lee hwa, brillant rose for soo kee, celetial for goldheart, etc. they usually only give up to 10 percent even during GSS. so i think 30 percent is really quite impossible lol..
unless u look at those normal cut diamonds then 50 percent also possible :)
domkorf
17-05-2007, 08:37 PM
for their house cuts, destinee for lee hwa, brillant rose for soo kee, celetial for goldheart, etc. they usually only give up to 10 percent even during GSS. so i think 30 percent is really quite impossible lol..
Sigh.....dang no chance ah like that =(
Ok then must save more, thanks again for the heads up exxondus! Appreciate it
exxondus
17-05-2007, 09:27 PM
no prob, cos i did a lot of research b4 getting one hee hee...
mastermember
17-05-2007, 10:28 PM
Anybody knows how much for a 0.4 carat Brilliant Rose?
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.