PDA

View Full Version : [REL] Royale Remixed Theme by oddbasket

Pages : [1] 2

oddbasket
29-11-2006, 02:16 PM
Disclaimer: The work done here is neither by a professional nor for profit, please do not redistribute commercially.

Royale Remixed Theme by oddbasket
Final Version: 1.47

(Royale Remixed desktop screenshot)
http://img150.imageshack.us/img150/6904/rremixedscreenff9.jpg

Past screenshots, refer here (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?p=20884845#post20884845)

Uxtheme patch required because it's been edited, download Uni-Patcher 2.1 (http://www.portraitofakite.com/downloads/uxtheme/uxtheme.zip) or Multi-patcher 5.5 (http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/OS-Enhancements/UXTheme-MultiPatcher.shtml)

If you like it, bump the thread and share it, don't be selfish.

Updated 4th Nov, 2007: *New*
Compiled changes and updated to Version 1.47

Download Royale Remixed Theme v1.47 Final (2.45mb): (Windows Installer)
deviantART (http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/44294818/) (32bit Installer) Mirror (http://www.jacen.per.sg/blog/files/Royale_Remixed_by_oddbasket.rar) (Hosted by atlanticus)
http://www.softpedia.com/awards/softpedia_download_big.gif (http://www.softpedia.com/get/Desktop-Enhancements/Themes/Royale-Noir-Theme.shtml) http://www.softpedia.com/awards/softpedia_games_award3_rb.gif http://www.softpedia.com/images/spyward/softpedia_free_award_f.gif
Download (http://www.mediafire.com/?eltb5xhv5c3) (x64 Installer)

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

More Royale Noir Customisation ie Logon/Logoff etc. Refer to this post by AC81 Link (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showpost.php?p=21459103&postcount=55)

Royale Noir Logon: By AlexNL (http://www.themexp.org/preview.php?mid=169653&type=login&view=&page=&cat=&name=Royale+Noir+English.zip)

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

oddbasket
29-11-2006, 02:16 PM
Frequently Asked Questions:
---------------------------

Q: Help! There's so many files here, which one do I download?
A: The only essential file to get the theme is Royale Remixed Theme v1.46 Final windows installer. After this has been installed, you can choose to download and install any of the following patches under 'For Royale Noir colour scheme only'. Installing any one of the patch will overwrite any previously installed patch, so it's a mutually exclusive scenario.

Q: After installing the theme, my desktop only display the classic windows?
A: Because this is not an official desktop theme made by Microsoft, a modified uxtheme.dll system file is needed to use this theme. Simply follow the link provided (or here (http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/OS-Enhancements/UXTheme-MultiPatcher.shtml)) to download the Uxtheme Multi-Patcher 5.0 or Universal Theme Patcher 2.1 (here (http://www.portraitofakite.com/downloads/uxtheme/uxtheme.zip)), run it and follow the instructions to guide you through the process.

Q: I get an error message while installing Uxtheme Multi-patcher saying Windows NT setup files are detected in c:\windows\i386?
A: There are 2 reasons for this, the first, you didn't read the instruction carefully telling you not to insert your windows CD when prompted. The second, your OEM system comes with system files backed up in windows\i386 folder. This folder acts as the windows CD when system files need to be copied over, it is non-essential for the operation of the system. Renaming it or moving it someplace else ie burning onto a CD etc, should enable you to patch your uxtheme.dll.

Q: I can't patch uxtheme using the patchers?
A: If none of the patchers work for you, then you have to replace uxtheme.dll manually. Refer to this link (http://themes.belchfire.net/index.php?showtopic=9001) for instructions and downloads of various uxtheme.dll for your windows XP version.

Q: I can't install the theme on my x64 machine?
A: There are 2 installers provided, one for 32bit machines and another for x64. Download the one labelled '(x64 Installer)'.

Q: I can't install the theme on my 32bit machine?
A: Refer to the question above.

Q: I've patched my uxtheme.dll using the Multi-patcher on my x64 machine but it still displays the windows classic desktop?
A: If you are running Windows XP x64, you need to patch 2 uxtheme.dll. Refer to the instructions in this post (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showpost.php?p=21289348&postcount=10).

Q: I've installed the theme but I get an error message telling me my themes service is not running?
A: You need to enable the themes service, note that Windows Server 2003 has the themes service turned off by default. Follow the same instructions for both Windows XP and Server 2003 in the link here (http://www.petri.co.il/enable_themes_on_windows_2003.htm).

Q: After applying the skin, the program MATLAB quits on error at startup?
A: MATLAB seems to have issues with drawing the MATLAB desktop with unsigned Windows themes. Here is a workaround:
Make MATLAB run in Windows 2000 compatibility mode. To do so:

1. In the Windows desktop, select Start.
2. Navigate to the MATLAB application.
3. Right-click MATLAB shortcut and select Properties.
4. Select the Compatibility tab, select the Run this program in
compatibility mode for: check box, and then select Windows 2000

cuterabbit
29-11-2006, 04:27 PM
it doesn't work on xp x64.can u make it compatible with x64?

oddbasket
29-11-2006, 04:45 PM
it doesn't work on xp x64.can u make it compatible with x64?
Ok, try this, rename 'Royale Remixed.msstyles' to 'Luna.msstyles' in "%windir%\Resources\themes\Royale Remixed\" and edit the 'Royale Remixed,theme', this line
[VisualStyles]
Path=%ResourceDir%\Themes\Royale Remixed\Royale Remixed.msstyles
to
[VisualStyles]
Path=%ResourceDir%\Themes\Royale Remixed\Luna.msstyles
then run 'Royale Remixed.cmd' again.

Raytrace
29-11-2006, 05:09 PM
Loving the Royale Zune!

thanks oddbasket!

cuterabbit
29-11-2006, 05:17 PM
Ok, try this, rename 'Royale Remixed.msstyles' to 'Luna.msstyles' in "%windir%\Resources\themes\Royale Remixed\" and edit the 'Royale Remixed,theme', this line

to

then run 'Royale Remixed.cmd' again.

error loading theme.
is not a valid theme.

oddbasket
29-11-2006, 05:42 PM
you have patched uxtheme right? try clicking on the .msstyles directly to see if it works.

cuterabbit
29-11-2006, 06:05 PM
you have patched uxtheme right? try clicking on the .msstyles directly to see if it works.

yes patched with version 5.0.
only the wallpaper works.the visual style becomes classic style after applying.

http://serv2.imagehigh.com/imgss/4497003_Screenshot - 11_29_2006 , 6_07_26 PM.jpg

multi
29-11-2006, 06:27 PM
It works! Thanks! :)

oddbasket
29-11-2006, 06:29 PM
x64 need 2 uxtheme.dlls patched. Download this (http://www.planetamd64.com/index.php?act=Attach&type=post&id=1238), and open the zip file. You will see they need to go into \system32 and SysWOW64\ respectively.

(for those that have tried to unlock themes by downloading hacked uxtheme.dll and misinstalled or installed versions that are not for your SPECIFIC operating system.. make SURE the hacked version you download matches the version numbers of your current uxtheme.dll's)

the fix:
1. replace all instances of your original uxtheme.dll's
(ie: in windows xp x64 you have uxtheme.dll in ..\system32\ (apprx 495kb) but there is a smaller and different version of uxtheme.dll in ..\sysWOW64. (apprx 210kb). )

OR

2. download the APPROPRIATE version number for your OS-type of the hacked uxtheme.dll (or uxtheme.dll's depending on OS type), boot into safe mode.. RENAME each instance of uxtheme.dll to uxtheme.bak BEFORE copying the hacked .dll into the folder.

---------------

this uxtheme.dll x64 pack worked for me.. notice the two different dll sizes.. Download (http://www.planetamd64.com/index.php?act=A...ost&id=1238)

hopefully this will help some people who happened to have these errors... as did i.. and it fixed them :)

Source (http://www.planetamd64.com/lofiversion/index.php/t24063.html)

cuterabbit
29-11-2006, 07:10 PM
x64 need 2 uxtheme.dlls patched. Download this (http://www.planetamd64.com/index.php?act=Attach&type=post&id=1238), and open the zip file. You will see they need to go into \system32 and SysWOW64\ respectively.

Source (http://www.planetamd64.com/lofiversion/index.php/t24063.html)

many thanks.it works perfectly. :s12:

quekky
30-11-2006, 10:09 AM
thanks for your effort

anyway to release a version where the start button is fully black?

oddbasket
30-11-2006, 10:27 AM
thanks for your effort

anyway to release a version where the start button is fully black?
how would you like it? black for both noir and zune? with dark or white menus for both?

quekky
30-11-2006, 10:49 AM
i only use noir, with dark menu. similar to 1.32 bb

Tokieda
30-11-2006, 11:17 AM
i use ie7 cannot download frmo filelodge, use mozilla ff then can...is it just me?

quekky
30-11-2006, 11:47 AM
http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/585/wifitk9.th.jpg (http://img227.imageshack.us/my.php?image=wifitk9.jpg)

under the "network tasks", "related task", it's blue background inside grey background

atlanticus
30-11-2006, 01:15 PM
Mirrors updated. Refer to first post for the latest updates. :)

hikaru99
30-11-2006, 05:37 PM
Nice Opera theme to use with the Zune theme.
http://my.opera.com/community/customize/skins/info/?id=5733

CKtalon
01-12-2006, 04:05 AM
Nice Opera theme to use with the Zune theme.
http://my.opera.com/community/customize/skins/info/?id=5733
playboy theme? :s22: :s13:

trichard
02-12-2006, 11:00 AM
Which addon still must have in order to change the start menu to the windows icon?

MacClipper
02-12-2006, 11:41 AM
Tried it out, very nice job indeed.

Any plans to add fancy buttons for minimise/restore/close? Looks a bit plain to keep the default Windows version with this theme.

trichard
02-12-2006, 12:34 PM
Will it happen that one day ..... Aero effect in as well ?.....:s13:

Richass
02-12-2006, 11:33 PM
wa.. nice sia.. if got other pattern one post here also, let's enjoy it together

Constant
04-12-2006, 01:19 AM
Nice Theme... I am using it now!!! :s12:

But I face a funny problem... I cannot seem to get my MATLAB 7.0.4 to even load when in this theme.
After I change back to the orginal Windows Theme, the problem was able to load and run...
Any solution for this? :s22:

Even my Microsoft Visual C++ was working fine... hmmm :s8:

oddbasket
04-12-2006, 11:12 AM
Which addon still must have in order to change the start menu to the windows icon?
Don't have addon leh... must edit manually one.
Will it happen that one day ..... Aero effect in as well ?.....:s13:
:eek:
eh... i only doing this for fun, not expert leh... can try Glass2K program

oddbasket
04-12-2006, 11:13 AM
http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/585/wifitk9.th.jpg (http://img227.imageshack.us/my.php?image=wifitk9.jpg)

under the "network tasks", "related task", it's blue background inside grey background
Updated to 1.41 with the issues you raised fixed, plus the black start and black menu you requested on the 1st post.

Hopefully this is tha last update, but if there's any bugs you find just post them here, I'll still try to fix them if I can but I'm hoping I've got them all already.

oddbasket
04-12-2006, 11:14 AM
Tried it out, very nice job indeed.

Any plans to add fancy buttons for minimise/restore/close? Looks a bit plain to keep the default Windows version with this theme.
But change liao no longer look like Royale leh... maybe I can try make new theme if only it didn't take so much time and work :s13:

oddbasket
04-12-2006, 11:33 AM
Nice Theme... I am using it now!!! :s12:

But I face a funny problem... I cannot seem to get my MATLAB 7.0.4 to even load when in this theme.
After I change back to the orginal Windows Theme, the problem was able to load and run...
Any solution for this? :s22:

Even my Microsoft Visual C++ was working fine... hmmm :s8:
I don't have MATLAB, anyone having probs cannot run programs while using the theme?

atlanticus
04-12-2006, 11:58 AM
Updated to 1.41 with the issues you raised fixed, plus the black start and black menu you requested on the 1st post.

Hopefully this is tha last update, but if there's any bugs you find just post them here, I'll still try to fix them if I can but I'm hoping I've got them all already.Haha.. I finally ditched my *mountains* for this 1.41 version for a change!!!!

Great! ;)

CSS_Towlie
04-12-2006, 11:32 PM
Just wondering is there anyway to get the Turn off computer Prompt to match your theme?
http://img95.imageshack.us/img95/4719/turnoffwq5.jpg

Constant
04-12-2006, 11:42 PM
I don't have MATLAB, anyone having probs cannot run programs while using the theme?

Ok. No problem... NVM...

oddbasket
07-12-2006, 09:19 AM
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v204/oddbasket/explorerbar.jpg

I think the Explorer bar update in v1.41 looked pretty kickass so I added a screenshot

(for those who haven't noticed :) )

beehive3783
07-12-2006, 09:35 PM
Bro oddbasket.. I'm at a loss as to how to integrate Segoe UI into your theme.. I opened the file using reshack and I found the 3 ini files but inside I only see hex and more hex.. I suck at hex so wonder if you could offer anymore help? Thanks..

atlanticus
08-12-2006, 12:51 AM
Just finished installing the current 1.42 version. When choosing between Royal Noir and Royale Zune in Display Properties/Color scheme, the difference is obvious! The former's feel is more natural. Seriously, I don't know what else I was hoping for you to add. ;)

oddbasket
08-12-2006, 09:00 AM
Bro oddbasket.. I'm at a loss as to how to integrate Segoe UI into your theme.. I opened the file using reshack and I found the 3 ini files but inside I only see hex and more hex.. I suck at hex so wonder if you could offer anymore help? Thanks..
I recommend you use PE Explorer instead so you can directly edit the ini files, just replace the Fonts=Tahoma, 8 to Fonts=Sogoe UI, 8 and Fonts=Tahoma, 8, Bold to Fonts=Sogoe UI Bold, 8 etc...

You need the fonts Segoe UI and Segoe UI Bold in your windows\fonts\ folder, if you don't have let me know or google. It's not allowed to host these fonts.

I've done the nomal size version of Royale Noir scheme to Segoe UI for you:
Download (http://www.filelodge.com/files/room48/1382654/Private%20Files/RR_Sogoe_UI.rar)

Anyone else who wants it, feel free to download as well. :)

oddbasket
08-12-2006, 09:03 AM
My mod is now hosted on deviantART as well, 1020 downloads in the 1st 24hrs. :s12:

beehive3783
08-12-2006, 02:34 PM
I recommend you use PE Explorer instead so you can directly edit the ini files, just replace the Fonts=Tahoma, 8 to Fonts=Sogoe UI, 8 and Fonts=Tahoma, 8, Bold to Fonts=Sogoe UI Bold, 8 etc...

You need the fonts Segoe UI and Segoe UI Bold in your windows\fonts\ folder, if you don't have let me know or google. It's not allowed to host these fonts.

I've done the nomal size version of Royale Noir scheme to Segoe UI for you:
Download (http://www.filelodge.com/files/room48/1382654/Private%20Files/RR_Sogoe_UI.rar)

Anyone else who wants it, feel free to download as well. :)
I do have the fonts.. thank you very much..

Kindovic
08-12-2006, 05:06 PM
i require the segoe bold....
thanks

oddbasket
08-12-2006, 05:31 PM
i require the segoe bold....
thanks
check ur pm

Kindovic
08-12-2006, 05:41 PM
thks for ur prompt reply....
really appreciate tat!!

oddbasket
09-12-2006, 11:51 AM
While waiting for some files to be encoded last night, I did the largefonts and extralargefonts to Segoe UI for Royale Noir and fixed a graphic bug in Royale Zune. This time I left the tooltips in Tahoma because you can barely read anything in Segoe UI.

Download (http://www.filelodge.com/files/room48/1382654/Private%20Files/RR_142_Segoe_UI.rar)

atlanticus
10-12-2006, 01:48 AM
You can start calling it Royale Noir *Total Transformation Pack*! Just joking, don't do that...! :P

I tried both the Black Menu Patch and the Segoe UI Patch, and here is a comparison:

http://tkfiles.storage.msn.com/x1pN1mp8dKYgTFSa--T9_xdIo2ehktVaVpznt0ttfhi1Qo3R3JeTV8Gc164dViKXOmPa48kUR-jp77kqL4FOu_Vj6oyEdLkD2w90hsu5YCL_LWj3ZRxCBQmAA

I still prefer the Start Menu on the left as it is less glaring and the texts just felt more natural. The Segoe fonts in English (ignoring the foreign characters) look a bit clumped up and indistinct. I tried turning on cleartype and later large fonts but, it still doesn't look nice. When I was using vista rc2, I didn't notice that big a difference until now... :s39:

oddbasket
10-12-2006, 07:21 AM
Yea, Tahoma is the most legible font and Segoe UI is really to taste. Best is the tooltips example I mentioned earlier, I can barely read anything. The only place it does look nice is in the title bar/caption title.

Korean words look microscopic, lol, but it doesn't seem to affect Chinse characters on my pc though.

oddbasket
10-12-2006, 10:20 AM
Updated a minor bugfix, not enough to warrant a version change. Dam M$ and their sloppy work on the themes...

Royale Zune:
------------
-Fixed: Windows buttons have no transparency.

oddbasket
10-12-2006, 10:28 AM
Just wondering is there anyway to get the Turn off computer Prompt to match your theme?
http://img95.imageshack.us/img95/4719/turnoffwq5.jpg
Now how did I miss this post? Last post on page 2, I must have thought that the only new post was the one on page 3, sorry CSS_Towlie.

The logoff is not part of the VS, its in msgina.dll, just a few bitmaps to edit that's all. :)

quekky
10-12-2006, 12:14 PM
Yea, Tahoma is the most legible font and Segoe UI is really to taste. Best is the tooltips example I mentioned earlier, I can barely read anything. The only place it does look nice is in the title bar/caption title.

Korean words look microscopic, lol, but it doesn't seem to affect Chinse characters on my pc though.
i use display properties to change my title bar to Segoe, since i prefer everything black =:p I think it looks more "vista" when i turn on antialiasing

oddbasket
11-12-2006, 12:20 PM
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v204/oddbasket/shutdown.jpg

(Backup your original msgina.dll first before replacing)
Download Royale Noir Shutdown UI:
Download (http://www.filelodge.com/files/room48/1382654/Private%20Files/Noir_Shutdown.rar)

beehive3783
11-12-2006, 02:46 PM
I believe the next step for this Theme pack would be an uninstaller?

EDIT: Ok nvm.. I think I was high on crack just now..

icmixx
11-12-2006, 09:09 PM
Hands down this is one of the best pieces of work I have seen , well done

oddbasket
11-12-2006, 09:54 PM
Hands down this is one of the best pieces of work I have seen , well done
Thanks, icmixx! :)

oddbasket
11-12-2006, 09:59 PM
I believe the next step for this Theme pack would be an uninstaller?

EDIT: Ok nvm.. I think I was high on crack just now..
Well, here's a Windows Installer Package then, with uninstall option. Cleaner files because there's no longer need for the batch and reg files, as it's handled by the installer. Only thing is the free version doesn't allow me to add custom action so you need to manually open 'Display Properties' to set the theme.

Royale Remixed Theme MSI Installer (2.8mb):
Download (http://www.filelodge.com/files/room48/1382654/Private%20Files/RR_msi.rar)

a1v1n_
12-12-2006, 07:41 AM
great work! thanks oddbasket! :D

oddbasket
12-12-2006, 09:42 AM
great work! thanks oddbasket! :D
Thanks, bro! :)

oddbasket
12-12-2006, 09:49 AM
OK, after messing with the MSI the entire night... :yawn:..... I've finally got the VBscripts right and it now works just like an official M$ theme installer. Same link to download in 1st post.

What it does:
-Install to default themes folder
-Loads the Royale Remixed theme in Display properties after install. (So just click 'OK' to apply)
-Uninstall every single file.
-Opens 'Display Properties' and loads default 'Windows XP' theme after uninstall. (Again, 'OK' to apply)

Install M$'s official Zune theme if you don'e believe me. Exactly the same! Try it! :D

For now, the custom patches still work and gets uninstalled except for the extra batch file that's no longer necessary. Will update later when I'm free. :)

AC81
12-12-2006, 10:29 AM

Download (http://www.filelodge.com/files/room48/1382654/Private%20Files/Noir_Shutdown.rar)

Good Job bro :D , thank

hehe ,,,i use your Royale Noir Shutdown to make a Royale Noir Log Off....hope u don't mind :)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Edited

Royale Noir Log Off

http://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r120/ac81/Logoffscreen.jpg

Download Royale Noir Log off :
Download Mirror 1 (http://www.mediafire.com/?0zgmtugkjln) -> checked 160107 Link working
Download Mirror 2 (http://savefile.com/files/416159) -> checked 160107 Link working
Download Mirror 3 (http://www.filelodge.com/files/room52/1489199/shell32.rar) -> File Lodge is currently down for maintenance

use "Replacer" to to replce the shell32.dll in C:\WINDOWS\system32
(Backup original shell32.dll first)

* Download Replacer Here (http://www3.telus.net/_/replacer/)
=========================

Change Login screen

use "Replacer" to replace Logonui.exe in C:\WINDOWS\system32
to change the Login screen
(Backup original Logonui.exe first)

http://www.themexp.org/listings.php?type=login&view=date&page=2

..think that make "Royale Remixed Theme by oddbasket" to the mix power

-----------------------------------------
To change back to Default Logoff or Login

replace ( Original ) back in C:\WINDOWS\system32 to Restore Default Blue color log

*incase u didn't backup these are the Default original backup from winxp pro ver
Download original Logonui.exe (http://www.mediafire.com/?cy0gnfzq00j) for Login
Download original shell32.dll (http://www.mediafire.com/?azyomwi0kgc) for Logoff
Download original msgina.dll (http://www.mediafire.com/?ammmlvnnivv) for Shutdown

Download Mirror for all the file above (http://savefile.com/projects/1067985)

imacbie
12-12-2006, 11:30 AM
mmh.. noobie here ah. i just switched frm mac to pc :D
ok so using this theme on XP2. i should

1. install the Uxtheme patch
2. Use the Theme's windows installer
3. Then install the Segoe UI font version if i wan the font yah?

imacbie
12-12-2006, 11:47 AM
bah .. no way i could make the UXtheme patch to work

oddbasket
12-12-2006, 11:52 AM
Good Job bro :D , thank

hehe ,,,i use your Royale Noir Shutdown to make a Royale Noir Log off....hope u don't mind :)
http://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r120/ac81/Logoffscreen.jpg

Download Royale Noir Log off Here (http://www.filelodge.com/files/room52/1489199/shell32.rar)

use "Replacer" to to replce the shell32.dll in C:\WINDOWS\system32

u know where to change to make that screen before u come into the desktop and the screen just before your com power off ?
No prob, bro. :)

I'm quoting Vishal Gupta from MSFN forums:
%windir%\System32\NToskrnl.exe : To change the Boot screen

%windir%\System32\Logonui.exe : To change Login Screen

%windir%\System32\MSgina.dll : To change the text & background of Shutdown dialog box

%windir%\System32\Shell32.dll : A lot of things, like Progress dialog box (copying, deleting, etc.), Run dialog box, Context menu items, and many other things (As much as u'll go thru the items, u'll know what I'm talking about)

%windir%\System32\Sysdm.cpl : To change the System Properties window look

%windir%\System32\Winlogon.exe : To change the text, which u see in Login Screen, like applying user settings, logginf off, shutting down, etc.

%windir%\Explorer.exe : To change Start button text, Programs Menu text (like Programs, Favorites, Documents, etc.)

%windir%\System32\browselc.dll : To change the Menu names in Windows Explorer as well as Internet Explorer

oddbasket
12-12-2006, 11:54 AM
mmh.. noobie here ah. i just switched frm mac to pc :D
ok so using this theme on XP2. i should

1. install the Uxtheme patch
2. Use the Theme's windows installer
3. Then install the Segoe UI font version if i wan the font yah?
That is correct.

bah .. no way i could make the UXtheme patch to work
What's the problem?

AC81
12-12-2006, 11:55 AM
[QUOTE=oddbasket]QUOTE]

thank :) , edited post #55

ya now from log in until log off ...all Royale Noir

gomaish
12-12-2006, 12:34 PM
I couldn't get this working.. I tried the installer version. It replaces everything else except the theme itself. Now I'm with classic mode. It is because I had prior installation of original Noir/Zune? Anyway how do I uninstall it?

oddbasket
12-12-2006, 01:07 PM
[QUOTE=oddbasket]QUOTE]

thank :) , edited post #55

ya now from log in until log off ...all Royale Noir
lol... Royale Noir fanatic :s13:

I'll put a link to your post #55 in my 1st post! :D

oddbasket
12-12-2006, 01:08 PM
I couldn't get this working.. I tried the installer version. It replaces everything else except the theme itself. Now I'm with classic mode. It is because I had prior installation of original Noir/Zune? Anyway how do I uninstall it?
have you installed the uxtheme patch?

oddbasket
12-12-2006, 01:16 PM
Custom patches updated! :D

They're still SFX as there's no reason for MSI packages, thus maintaining smaller file sizes. :)

oddbasket
12-12-2006, 01:56 PM
x64 installer up, not sure if it works... http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v204/oddbasket/_unpoof__by_cthom06.gif

imacbie
12-12-2006, 02:07 PM
What's the problem?

it keeps saying about the i386 folder.
and windows NT disc whereas i dun have it.

http://img83.imageshack.us/img83/2484/erroryg6.jpg

mesteele101
12-12-2006, 03:11 PM
Absolutly a great theme. Thanks for the new 'Noir_Shutdown'. I would also like to see a 'Noir_Logoff'.

Thanks...

oddbasket
12-12-2006, 04:35 PM
it keeps saying about the i386 folder.
and windows NT disc whereas i dun have it.

http://img83.imageshack.us/img83/2484/erroryg6.jpg
Navigate to \windows\i386, delete, rename, move, burn to cd the i386 folder. Of course, the latter 3 options recommended. The i386 folder is a backup of windows system files and not necessary for it's operation. Usually OEM systems will have it.

oddbasket
12-12-2006, 04:38 PM
Absolutly a great theme. Thanks for the new 'Noir_Shutdown'. I would also like to see a 'Noir_Logoff'.

Thanks...
Refer to this post: Link (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showpost.php?p=21459103&postcount=55)
It's actually just a page in front from here.:)
Thanks for the appreciation!

atlanticus
12-12-2006, 05:49 PM
OK, after messing with the MSI the entire night... :yawn:..... I've finally got the VBscripts right and it now works just like an official M$ theme installer.You're *high on crack* too! :s13:

As an end user, I'm only too happy to see the developments coming along since. I think all these new patches will also blend in for notebooks which are greyish in color. Nice! :)

oddbasket
12-12-2006, 06:46 PM
You're *high on crack* too! :s13:

As an end user, I'm only too happy to see the developments coming along since. I think all these new patches will also blend in for notebooks which are greyish in color. Nice! :)
haha... :s13: all my work is done during the night and uploaded the next morning. Haven't spent a night staring at codes and such since my poly days rushing out last minute projects, LOL!

An end user? Guess that officially make me a one man developer, support cum troubleshooter? LOL!

But seriously, this IS the final step. You get a complete package for this VS now, even an installer with an uninstall. There's nothing more to do, even the menu highlights look nicer now. :)

gomaish
12-12-2006, 08:58 PM
have you installed the uxtheme patch?
Hah ok installed it. Working now! Thanks! I suggest you provide a compiled FAQ. :)

imacbie
12-12-2006, 09:22 PM
no way it would work.
downloaded style xp .. and it works the 1st time. w/o the UXtheme patch.

oddbasket
12-12-2006, 09:55 PM
no way it would work.
downloaded style xp .. and it works the 1st time. w/o the UXtheme patch.
It's a system folder, you may have to change the name and uncheck the read only property. If you hadn't tried it, I still recommend burning to a cd and deleting it, as long as you have your windows xp cd, you don't need it.

oddbasket
12-12-2006, 09:57 PM
Hah ok installed it. Working now! Thanks! I suggest you provide a compiled FAQ. :)
Good idea! Was too lazy to type a few paragraphs of words. Done, refer to post #2. :)

beehive3783
13-12-2006, 05:00 AM
haha... :s13: all my work is done during the night and uploaded the next morning. Haven't spent a night staring at codes and such since my poly days rushing out last minute projects, LOL!

An end user? Guess that officially make me a one man developer, support cum troubleshooter? LOL!

But seriously, this IS the final step. You get a complete package for this VS now, even an installer with an uninstall. There's nothing more to do, even the menu highlights look nicer now. :)
Thanks for all the efforts.. Well done!

oddbasket
13-12-2006, 09:53 AM
Thanks for all the efforts.. Well done!
Thanks, bro. I enjoyed making it as well. :)

multi
13-12-2006, 12:16 PM
Hi oddbasket,

Many thanks for your effort. I have the v1.41 but according to your instruction to upgrade to vi.43, we need to uninstall v1.41 before installing v1.43. Please guide of how to delete v1.41, sorry for the trouble, thanks. :)

oddbasket
13-12-2006, 12:45 PM
Hi oddbasket,

Many thanks for your effort. I have the v1.41 but according to your instruction to upgrade to vi.43, we need to uninstall v1.41 before installing v1.43. Please guide of how to delete v1.41, sorry for the trouble, thanks. :)
Switch to another theme 1st.
Browse to windows\resources\themes and delete the following:
Royale Remixed.cmd
Royale Remixed.theme
Royale Remixed Folder

multi
13-12-2006, 01:29 PM
Switch to another theme 1st.
Browse to windows\resources\themes and delete the following:
Royale Remixed.cmd
Royale Remixed.theme
Royale Remixed Folder

Done, Thank you so much oddbasket....you're the best. :)

oddbasket
13-12-2006, 04:38 PM
Done, Thank you so much oddbasket....you're the best. :)
No prob! But I updated the installer again with new registry entries. Nothing else is changed.

What the new installer now adds extra is a 'Windows Aero' mouse cursor scheme and 'Windows Vista' sound scheme to control panel ie. they're no longer tied to the 'Royale Remixed' theme.

*Currently FileLodge is under maintenence, so it's only available on deviantART (http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/44294818/) and atlanticus' mirror (http://www.jacen.per.sg/blog/files/Royale_Remixed_by_oddbasket.rar).

CSS_Towlie
13-12-2006, 11:13 PM

Thanks alot Oddbasket, sorry so long for the thanks to come, but I've been away.

CSS_Towlie
14-12-2006, 12:27 AM
Oddbasket and AC81,

I just wanted to thank both of you for great work, Oddbasket's Royal Noir Remixed and Shut down Prompt, and AC81's Logon and shut down Screen. I couldn't be happier with this this complete make over of windows. It adds new life to Xp, and thats awesome since I don't Plan on upgrading to vista untell all its been out atleast a year, you know give the hardware time to really take advantage of it, and for Microsoft to fix any bugs and come out with service Pack 1.

OK heres the big Question-

Is it possibe for you guys to work together to create one Package that does both of your modifications in one install, Not sure if its even possible. But would make life a little easier durring the next install. Maybe even add options at the begining of the install on what parts people want, Like the Black start menu.

Maybe its asking to much, but it would make installing all this much easier.
So Far I've put Oddbaskets Royale Noir on atleast 12 of my friends Computers, and I'm sure soon as they see the new stuff from AC81, they will want that too.

AC81
14-12-2006, 04:29 AM
that sound like a big job... somthing like "Vista Icon Pack v3 System Patch"

i only can make a bit of adjustment using "移花接木":evil: from what oddbasket make
( 移花接木 = Shift flower connect wood ) =.=" Very Powerfull Ang Moh.. haha :s13:

Credits will go to oddbasket for the hard work he done from the start. :)
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/images/icons/icon14.gif

oddbasket
14-12-2006, 08:48 AM
@CSS_Towlie: There's an idea, but let's hold off on that one for the moment. It's perfectly possible to do though but currently I'm concerned about size and the freeware I'm using doesn't do high compression. Right now it stands at 3mb for a theme which is just about right, any larger would probably deter people from downloading.

I'm not inclined to include the dlls in the installer since tastes differ. Some dlls eg shell32.dll controls more than a few features and people may already have their own customisation ie run dialog etc. We all know how few people actually bother to read installation notes, so I don't want people cursing me after finding out their customisations were wiped out after installing my theme. So the installer stays strictly theme only since it's standalone and non mutually exclusive. :)

Tchaikovsky_
14-12-2006, 12:53 PM
hi , i cant seem to able to dl the shutdown ui
the link not working ?

oddbasket
14-12-2006, 12:57 PM
pm me ur email. filelodge is down.

zjllee
14-12-2006, 02:49 PM
You are good! Thanks for making this wonderful theme.

oddbasket
14-12-2006, 03:46 PM
You are good! Thanks for making this wonderful theme.
No prob! :)

et3rnity84
14-12-2006, 03:53 PM
hmm any websites to browse all these xp themes?

oddbasket
14-12-2006, 04:39 PM
hmm any websites to browse all these xp themes?
wrong thread. use the search function.

oddbasket
14-12-2006, 10:04 PM
Updated all download links to myDataBus file hosting, very fast downloads with no downtime problems (I hope).

oddbasket
15-12-2006, 12:42 PM
Seems no one noticed the logon logoff sound is still winxp, even though so many ppl download. =:p

I only noticed it while streamlining the package, since my pc is set to autologin 1 user only. It's fixed and updated now and using LZH high compression for smaller size. :s7:

oddbasket
15-12-2006, 01:59 PM
The direct links seem to lose the file extension(?). add ".rar" to the files you downloaded... wonder what's wrong with the file hosting.

Kindovic
15-12-2006, 05:13 PM
the sound system a bit soft...
so u guys might want to use audacity to modify it....

oddbasket
15-12-2006, 06:02 PM
the sound system a bit soft...
so u guys might want to use audacity to modify it....

is anyone else have problem with soft sound? that's a good suggestion, Kindovic. for me, the sound is ok at my normal volume.

imacbie
15-12-2006, 06:21 PM
i also feel the sound abit soft ..
if i turned a bit louder.. (speaker volume)

then later 4get bout it and play music ... i will kena scared by the volume :D

oddbasket
15-12-2006, 06:51 PM
i also feel the sound abit soft ..
if i turned a bit louder.. (speaker volume)

then later 4get bout it and play music ... i will kena scared by the volume :D
after your post, i checked my volume settings. sys vol at 50%, WMP vol at 30%. :s13:

no wonder i never realised it. anyway, the files not encoded by me, but do you guys want to increase the vol in the installer for future installs?

imacbie
15-12-2006, 07:04 PM
after your post, i checked my volume settings. sys vol at 50%, WMP vol at 30%. :s13:

no wonder i never realised it. anyway, the files not encoded by me, but do you guys want to increase the vol in the installer for future installs?
if can = best ..
if cannot also i doubt anyonw wld mind ;)

oddbasket
15-12-2006, 07:10 PM
if can = best ..
if cannot also i doubt anyonw wld mind ;)
I try to do it, I don't mind. But maybe sunday, need to do some xmas shopping tomorrow. :s8:

imacbie
15-12-2006, 08:00 PM
I try to do it, I don't mind. But maybe sunday, need to do some xmas shopping tomorrow. :s8:
thunuuuuuuuuuuunk yooooooooooou in advance then :D !!

oddbasket
16-12-2006, 09:01 AM
Kindovic, is there an audio cleanup function in audacity?

oddbasket
16-12-2006, 09:46 AM
I did this sample with wave studio, louder and cleaner with no distortion. I think it's a good volume, try it out and let me know if it's ok.

Windows_Vista_Startup_Sample.rar (http://www.mydatabus.com/public/oddbasket/z/Windows_Vista_Startup_Sample.rar)

a1v1n_
16-12-2006, 12:10 PM
http://img219.imageshack.us/img219/3893/cliplv6.png
after installing, this pops up. any idea what's wrong?

oddbasket
16-12-2006, 06:26 PM
Read how to enable the themes service and set it to auto here (http://www.petri.co.il/enable_themes_on_windows_2003.htm)

imacbie
16-12-2006, 07:03 PM
I did this sample with wave studio, louder and cleaner with no distortion. I think it's a good volume, try it out and let me know if it's ok.

Windows_Vista_Startup_Sample.rar (http://www.mydatabus.com/public/oddbasket/z/Windows_Vista_Startup_Sample.rar)
ok bah .. my system vol. is set to about 65%
its quite clear

oddbasket
16-12-2006, 09:43 PM
Made all sounds louder except low batt, critical batt and critical stop because tried those and almost got a heart attack when error message appeared.... :s22:

Uploaded to 1st post ;)

atlanticus
17-12-2006, 03:06 AM
Seems no one noticed the logon logoff sound is still winxp, even though so many ppl download. =:pI never notice too! :o

Only put on headphone if I need to listen to songs.. lol

a1v1n_
17-12-2006, 08:19 AM
Read how to enable the themes service and set it to auto here (http://www.petri.co.il/enable_themes_on_windows_2003.htm)
alright, will give it a try when i'm on my laptop. thanks! :)

a1v1n_
17-12-2006, 10:44 AM
back to update, managed to get everything up.
great job. thanks!

imacbie
17-12-2006, 11:35 AM
gracias again!!

AC81
17-12-2006, 03:10 PM
is it just happen to me only ? getting errors when extracting the 14th Dec, 2006 Updated

--------mydatabus--------
Winrar 3.62
! C:\Documents and Settings\ac81\Desktop\Royale_Remixed_.rar: The archive is either in unknown format or damaged

Winzip 10
Error: " C:\Documents and Settings\ac81\Desktop\Royale_Remixed_.rar" is not a valid RAR file.

--------Mirror atlanticus --------
Winrar 3.62
! C:\Documents and Settings\ac81\Desktop\Royale_Remixed_by_oddbasket.rar: CRC failed in Royale Remixed.msi. The file is corrupt

Winzip 10
Extracting file: C:\Documents and Settings\ac81\Desktop\Royale_Remixed_by_oddbasket.rar
Extracting to "C:\Documents and Settings\ac81\Desktop\Royale_Remixed_by_oddbasket\"
Use Path: yes Overlay Files: no
Extracting Royale Remixed.msi Error: CRC mismatch in file "Royale Remixed.msi" in the archive "C:\Documents and Settings\ac81\Desktop\Royale_Remixed_by_oddbasket.rar"

oddbasket
17-12-2006, 10:54 PM
AC81, try downloading again from my link or deviantART.

Updated to Version 1.44
-------------------------
-Changed to Windows Installer Package for easy installation and uninstallation.
-VB scripted to auto load and unload theme to 'Display properties'.
-Added separate 'Windows Vista' sound scheme and 'Windows Aero' cursor scheme to 'Control Panel'.
-Fixed: Incorrect Logon and Logoff sounds.
-Streamlined installation package to smaller filesize using high compression.

Royale Noir:
------------
-Added continuous WMP11 blue progressbar.

Royale Zune:
------------
-Fixed: Caption title text too small.
-Fixed: Unoptimized bitmaps causing shellstyle to be double the file size.

oddbasket
18-12-2006, 08:43 AM
Checked all links, myDataBus, deviantART, atlanticus', all working... no patches yet

(Update 1.44 Progress Bar)
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v204/oddbasket/progressbar.jpg

AC81
18-12-2006, 01:54 PM
AC81, try downloading again from my link or deviantART.

Updated to Version 1.44
-------------------------
-Changed to Windows Installer Package for easy installation and uninstallation.
-VB scripted to auto load and unload theme to 'Display properties'.
-Added separate 'Windows Vista' sound scheme and 'Windows Aero' cursor scheme to 'Control Panel'.
-Fixed: Incorrect Logon and Logoff sounds.
-Streamlined installation package to smaller filesize using high compression.

Royale Noir:
------------

Royale Zune:
------------
-Fixed: Caption title text too small.
-Fixed: Unoptimized bitmaps causing shellstyle to be double the file size.

tyty :D

*confirm + chop , link working + extracting ok at 1.53pm :D

gomaish
18-12-2006, 02:28 PM
lol ur latest installer got pic of JubJub.. so random ;)

a1v1n_
18-12-2006, 04:28 PM
the deviantart link doesn't work just in case you need to know. :)
tried a minute ago.

oddbasket
18-12-2006, 06:26 PM
Thanks bro! Uploaded the file again to devianART. :)

oddbasket
19-12-2006, 11:18 AM
For fans of just the Zune theme, fazedreality made some color choices.
http://tn3-2.deviantart.com/fs6/300W/i/2006/352/5/9/Zune_Fixed_by_fazedreality.jpg
Link (http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/44934523/)

oddbasket
21-12-2006, 08:50 AM
New files v1.45 up, no more further updates(?), my PE Explorer expires in 3days, any bugs let me know before than. :)

ahsanfarhan22
21-12-2006, 08:51 AM
Hi, it might be a basic question but I don't know what to do with the file after I downloaded it. Everytime I click on it a pop-up asks me what program to use to open the .rar file.
Can anyone please tell me the basic steps to download this 'royale noir remixed' theme. I really want it.

oddbasket
21-12-2006, 09:45 AM
Hi, it might be a basic question but I don't know what to do with the file after I downloaded it. Everytime I click on it a pop-up asks me what program to use to open the .rar file.
Can anyone please tell me the basic steps to download this 'royale noir remixed' theme. I really want it.
Download 7-zip (http://www.7-zip.org/) to open the .rar compressed files. Extract the installer and run it to install the theme.

oddbasket
21-12-2006, 09:47 AM
Updated the Segoe UI fonts patch as well before I say goodbye to this theme. :)

oddbasket
21-12-2006, 09:29 PM
Sorry, the 15 people who downloaded the SegoeUI patch today may want to redownload, the caption font text wasn't changed previously...

atlanticus
22-12-2006, 03:25 AM
Great work, pal! I really appreciate your effort! Was waiting patiently for RR_Patch_1_45_blb.. kekeke. That's my favourite :D

oddbasket
22-12-2006, 09:09 AM
Great work, pal! I really appreciate your effort! Was waiting patiently for RR_Patch_1_45_blb.. kekeke. That's my favourite :D
Thanks, bro! It's time this theme came to an end. :)

quekky
22-12-2006, 11:54 AM
thanks oddbasket, now i need to figure out how to mix segoe with patch_bb

multi
22-12-2006, 01:34 PM
Hi oddbasket,

I hve installed your v1.45 Theme in one of my other computer, everything went smoothly except the Taskbar both upper and lower remain grey or in xp color scheme instead of black. The 3 Royale color scheme is not at the appearance setting. What do you is the causes? Thank you.

imacbie
22-12-2006, 07:09 PM
bro, how come u never rename the Theme name??
under the theme list it still shows Media center edition 2006 o.O

technoglitz87
23-12-2006, 02:31 AM
gosh...kudos to an amazing effort! thanks bro..

oddbasket
23-12-2006, 10:50 AM
thanks oddbasket, now i need to figure out how to mix segoe with patch_bb
use the SegoeUI pack.
edit the 3 *noir.ini files under [StartMenu::Toolbar], TextColor = 0 0 0
and replace 2 bitmaps from the bb, StartGroupBackground.bmp and StartGroupSeperator.bmp

oddbasket
23-12-2006, 10:51 AM
Hi oddbasket,

I hve installed your v1.45 Theme in one of my other computer, everything went smoothly except the Taskbar both upper and lower remain grey or in xp color scheme instead of black. The 3 Royale color scheme is not at the appearance setting. What do you is the causes? Thank you.
any screen shot? have you read the mini FAQ in post #2?

oddbasket
23-12-2006, 10:54 AM
bro, how come u never rename the Theme name??
under the theme list it still shows Media center edition 2006 o.O
wanted to use 'Royale Remixed' but people will probably like 'Media Center Edition 2006' better since the original Royale theme was called 'Media Center Edition 2005'. Gives it an official feel, don't you think?

imacbie
23-12-2006, 12:33 PM
wanted to use 'Royale Remixed' but people will probably like 'Media Center Edition 2006' better since the original Royale theme was called 'Media Center Edition 2005'. Gives it an official feel, don't you think?
ah i see .. o.O .. hmm ...
i'd prefer the remixed title :D

just me tho

a1v1n_
23-12-2006, 10:53 PM
when i type ctrl+alt+del, this is what i see.
just wanna point out that u probably missed this part.
i am currently using version 1.45. sorry for the blur pic.
http://img80.imageshack.us/img80/8767/23122006567fn6.jpg

oddbasket
24-12-2006, 10:50 AM
http://img80.imageshack.us/img80/8767/23122006567fn6.jpg
when logoff, windows unloads the VS and loads back Luna as default, can't be helped.

quekky
24-12-2006, 11:06 AM
mine ok leh

a1v1n_
25-12-2006, 09:05 PM
when logoff, windows unloads the VS and loads back Luna as default, can't be helped.
no problem, just thot you may have missed it.

SnowGoose
28-12-2006, 06:44 AM
Hello my problem is about installing Uxtheme Multipatcher, when i try to install it, progress bar freeze and i got an windows error message: NTVDM.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience ,send it or don't
there's something wrong with runnning 16-bit applications on my system, when i try to run command.com i got the same error after few seconds
I've tried to copy new autoexe, config.nt files and command.com but there is no results, help me cos theme is really great (got it in notebook) and i have no more idead what to do :(

Cheers

oddbasket
28-12-2006, 09:18 AM
Hello my problem is about installing Uxtheme Multipatcher, when i try to install it, progress bar freeze and i got an windows error message: NTVDM.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience ,send it or don't
there's something wrong with runnning 16-bit applications on my system, when i try to run command.com i got the same error after few seconds
I've tried to copy new autoexe, config.nt files and command.com but there is no results, help me cos theme is really great (got it in notebook) and i have no more idead what to do :(

Cheers
You copied the files from your windows cd?
Have you read these?
M$ supprt article (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314106)
Ntvdm troubleshooting (https://www.bvu.edu/LiveTime/WebObjects/LiveTime.woa/wa/ArticleView;jsessionid=B89ABDF2A9B44E931ADB832775403B5E?kbaId=30)

alternatively, you can patch uxtheme manually, refer here (http://themes.belchfire.net/index.php?showtopic=9001)

SnowGoose
28-12-2006, 05:56 PM
thanks for your reply oddbasket, I'll try to patch uxtheme.dll manually using this guide, but later, now i'm at work ;(

greetings

BTW. Great work, on notebook everything looks fine especially with this https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/3941/ Firefox Theme ;)

Outcast
29-12-2006, 06:59 PM
http://img80.imageshack.us/img80/8767/23122006567fn6.jpgDownload and install Tweak UI (http://download.microsoft.com/download/f/c/a/fca6767b-9ed9-45a6-b352-839afb2a2679/TweakUiPowertoySetup.exe), a PowerToy for Windows XP. Start the program, navigate to 'Logon' -> 'Settings'. Check all the boxes that you want and click 'Copy Now' and then 'Apply' or 'Ok'. Restart Windows and you will get the theme as for the Classic Logon/Login and Windows Security Windows (Ctrl+Alt+Del).

imacbie
29-12-2006, 07:14 PM
mate ... any idea hw to remove the word "Start" from the start menu ??

http://img405.imageshack.us/img405/2024/screenhunter001pb6.jpg

oddbasket
29-12-2006, 09:41 PM
mate ... any idea hw to remove the word "Start" from the start menu ??

http://img405.imageshack.us/img405/2024/screenhunter001pb6.jpg

you need to edit the ini files in the msstyles for the text to size '1' and change textcolor to background color to hide it.

imacbie
29-12-2006, 10:43 PM
okiex gam sia

oddbasket
30-12-2006, 09:26 PM
Just sharing what may be, take a look!

deviantART (http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/45555260/)

Pierre86
30-12-2006, 10:19 PM
Just sharing what may be, take a look!

deviantART (http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/45555260/)
Is that xp or vista? :D

gomaish
30-12-2006, 11:06 PM
C:\Documents and Settings\Tang Kong Sing\Desktop\Remixed\Media Centre Edition 2006.tmp

tio sexposed!

oddbasket
31-12-2006, 08:50 AM
Is that xp or vista? :D
Windows XP

oddbasket
31-12-2006, 08:51 AM
C:\Documents and Settings\Tang Kong Sing\Desktop\Remixed\Media Centre Edition 2006.tmp

tio sexposed!
lol.. does it matter? People know me by Constin Tang or Adam Tang

lyk13
31-12-2006, 01:44 PM
Thanks oddbasket and your peers with this theme. It works for me. :)

Kindovic
31-12-2006, 04:36 PM

tio sexposed!
wats wrong by showing his real name here??

gomaish
31-12-2006, 06:29 PM
wats wrong by showing his real name here??
nothing wrong. just telling that he left something behind in the theme file

Jozsef
31-12-2006, 11:42 PM
This is a fantastic gift. (Felt compelled to register to say that.) Thank you for all your work and happy new year.

oddbasket
01-01-2007, 09:44 AM
Thanks oddbasket and your peers with this theme. It works for me. :)

This is a fantastic gift. (Felt compelled to register to say that.) Thank you for all your work and happy new year.

Thanks guys! and happy new year! :)

oddbasket
01-01-2007, 09:46 AM
Here's a treat for all, my WMP11 VS, currently in beta and only startpanel and taskbar done. Will be up for 2 days. Take a look and enjoy! Happy New YEAR~!! :D

http://img325.imageshack.us/img325/5288/desktopcm4.th.jpg (http://img325.imageshack.us/my.php?image=desktopcm4.jpg)

WMP11 beta (http://www.mydatabus.com/public/oddbasket/z/WMP11beta.rar)

lyk13
01-01-2007, 04:44 PM
Here's a treat for all, my WMP11 VS, currently in beta and only startpanel and taskbar done. Will be up for 2 days. Take a look and enjoy! Happy New YEAR~!! :D

http://img325.imageshack.us/img325/5288/desktopcm4.th.jpg (http://img325.imageshack.us/my.php?image=desktopcm4.jpg)

WMP11 beta (http://www.mydatabus.com/public/oddbasket/z/WMP11beta.rar)
I saw this theme previewed somewhere through some links on the previous page...nice work!

P.S That Sam n Max wallpaper, looks awfully familliar. I bought the game days ago, completed part 1 in a few hrs, think I recall seeing that wallpaper scene somewhere...refresh my memory...lolz!

Pierre86
01-01-2007, 04:59 PM
Windows XP
How you change the start to the vista logo?

lyk13
01-01-2007, 09:50 PM
BTW, oddbasket, is it the norm for the sounds of the vista to be a tad soft? I know you have a louder version, but I did not want to uninstall and reinstall that version. Any workaround?

ch0c0b0
01-01-2007, 10:28 PM
oddbasket can u upload the 32bits installer again, it has expired.

oddbasket
02-01-2007, 02:50 PM
How you change the start to the vista logo?
just replace the graphic and hide the text. u interested in making a theme as well? :D

oddbasket
02-01-2007, 02:51 PM
BTW, oddbasket, is it the norm for the sounds of the vista to be a tad soft? I know you have a louder version, but I did not want to uninstall and reinstall that version. Any workaround?
just try the LS version, no other choice so I reencoded them all.

oddbasket
02-01-2007, 02:52 PM
oddbasket can u upload the 32bits installer again, it has expired.
all links should be working now.

oddbasket
02-01-2007, 03:08 PM
Tomorrow I should be uploading a pre release beta version, check my post then.

http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/4862/desktoppa8.th.jpg (http://img407.imageshack.us/my.php?image=desktoppa8.jpg)

Pierre86
02-01-2007, 03:49 PM
just replace the graphic and hide the text. u interested in making a theme as well? :D
Where to get the graphic and how to replace it and hide the text? :s13:

Kindovic
02-01-2007, 04:18 PM
u can download the LS version.... then extract the files to C:\WINDOWS\Resources\Themes\Royale Remixed\Sounds

lyk13
02-01-2007, 07:42 PM
u can download the LS version.... then extract the files to C:\WINDOWS\Resources\Themes\Royale Remixed\Sounds
Oh yeah...hmm, ok will consider it if the sound irks me.

Antioch18
06-01-2007, 02:21 AM
Is it possible to get the black background patch for the CLASSIC start menu?

Appreciate it.

oddbasket
09-01-2007, 01:25 PM
Version 1.46:
-------------
-Re-encoded Vista sounds to louder volume without static or distortion.
-Updated Sound scheme entries.
-Fixed: Unavailable cursor transparency issue.
-Fixed: Noir and Zune shellstyles User Account colors mismatched.

AC81
11-01-2007, 08:36 AM
.......upz :D

oddbasket
11-01-2007, 12:21 PM
Thanks again for the :s12:, bro :D

RojRamsey
12-01-2007, 05:36 AM

I've just recently gotten into styles and after MUCH evaluation have come to the resounding conclusion that many style creators focus on "prettiness" without giving a single thought to actual usability. This style is a landmark exception. It is the singularly most impressive style I have encountered after trying literally over a hundred efforts. There is not a single element that I can find issue with; all integrate smoothly and all enhance usability to an exceptional degree while still maintaining a cohesive and well-balanced sense of style.

That's rare.

I'd like to extend my sincere thanks to its creator and anyone who helped with it.

I do have one request:

Would it be possible to take Royale Noir and make a VERY black "Graphite" version of it? High contrast is of especial importance to me (I have lately been beset with vision issues, hence the increased awareness of usability and interface niceties) and apart from that, I think smooth black a la the current smooth slate would provide an exceptional experience.

I hope my request will not be considered heretical and I apologise in advance if it is.

Thanks again...

oddbasket
12-01-2007, 01:54 PM
Graphite color? as in black and silver? Leave me a pm with your email and I may get to it if I have time but no promises yet, that way you don't have to keep checking here.

oddbasket
12-01-2007, 01:57 PM
All files updated 12th Jan, 2007
Theme: v1.46 additional fix: Small inactive caption too dark and mismatched.
Patches: Updated to reflect changes in v1.46.

RojRamsey
12-01-2007, 07:34 PM
Graphite color? as in black and silver? Leave me a pm with your email and I may get to it if I have time but no promises yet, that way you don't have to keep checking here.Thanks very much for replying, and yes I'll send you a PM.

As to the changes, no, nothing so esoteric as black and silver. :) There is a skin on Deviantart called Graphite by KR5769 which illustrates the kind of black that I'm trying to describe:

http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/45686092/?&q=graphite+zune&qh=boost%3Apopular+age_sigma%3A24h+age_scale%3A5

It pretty much matches the Aero skin for Desktop Sidebar:

http://www.desktopsidebar.com/ffdetails.php?id=63

Thanks again...

trekker27
12-01-2007, 08:25 PM

I just installed 1.46 and can confirm that MATLAB's java-based GUI refuses to run with your theme pack. I am not so sure for the original zune theme, but I had no problems with the original royale theme. I am currently running MATLAB's r2006a.

Interestingly, if I run matlab with XP's default theme, then change theme, there is no complaint and the matlab window looks okay.

Specifically the MATLAB desktop refuses to start returning some java swing error. I can run MATLAB if i tell it not to run the MATLAB desktop.

any ideas why this might be the case? I can post the error returned by MATLAB if necessary.

oddbasket
12-01-2007, 09:35 PM
MATLAB seems to have a history with unsigned themes, something to do with drawing of MATLAB desktop.

Workaround:
Alternatively, change the properties of the MATLAB executable to run
in Windows 2000 mode. To do so

1. In the Windows desktop, select Start.
2. Navigate to the MATLAB application.
3. Right-click MATLAB and select Properties.
4. Select the Compatibility tab, select the Run this program in
compatibility mode for: check box, and then select Windows 2000

If that doesn't work, try updating Java runtime environment, if you hadn't already. There's mention of DEP exclusion for MATLAB in this thread (http://www.edaboard.com/ftopic82728.html), if it helps. Last resort, change back to a signed theme when working with MATLAB.

trekker27
12-01-2007, 10:04 PM
MATLAB seems to have a history with unsigned themes, something to do with drawing of MATLAB desktop.

Workaround:

If that doesn't work, try updating Java runtime environment, if you hadn't already. There's mention of DEP exclusion for MATLAB in this thread (http://www.edaboard.com/ftopic82728.html), if it helps. Last resort, change back to a signed theme when working with MATLAB.

Thanks! The quoted workaround works. The DEP exclusion isn't applicable to me since my system doesn't have DEP support. The error described there is different anyway. And just to keep things complete, my Java Runtime is pretty up to date. Java 5 Update 8. 10 recently came out though.

oddbasket
14-01-2007, 08:55 AM
The inevitable(?) finally happened... Royale Remixed v1.46 got passed off as the original Royale Noir 1.46 by someone... :s22:

Was alerted to this by a thread in Neowin which links to this entry on winAddons (http://www.winaddons.com/royal-noir-146/), and hosted as freeware on Softpedia (http://www.softpedia.com/get/Desktop-Enhancements/Themes/Royale-Noir-Theme.shtml)

Will this theme succeed Royale as the most downloaded theme by end users? :yawn:

quekky
14-01-2007, 12:21 PM
lolx

didnt mention that patching is needed, i think a lot of people will ask how come not working

oddbasket
14-01-2007, 03:27 PM
lolx

didnt mention that patching is needed, i think a lot of people will ask how come not working
Yup, and the 1st of countless forum posts to come regarding the supposed 'official' Royale Noir theme not working has already surfaced. And I expect M$ tech support to receive some surprising emails about this 'bug'. :P

You can't really blame M$ for not finishing the theme since it wasn't released officially, nor the demand for this theme. I just hope that M$ becoming aware of this theme doesn't end up with me having to remove it from the internet.

atlanticus
16-01-2007, 03:02 AM
Your theme is called Royale Remixed, even in the setup file downloaded from them! OMG! :s31:

At least, Softpedia named the developer as "Microsoft & oddbasket" although the screenshots provided are inaccurate. You are linked to Microsoft, regardless of your intent to call it M$ all the time. :D

oddbasket
16-01-2007, 08:17 AM
Your theme is called Royale Remixed, even in the setup file downloaded from them! OMG! :s31:

At least, Softpedia named the developer as "Microsoft & oddbasket" although the screenshots provided are inaccurate. You are linked to Microsoft, regardless of your intent to call it M$ all the time. :D
Hehe.. note the 'Later edit' in bold. But whatever it is.. it got me a Softpedia 5/5 Pick award. And that really made me laugh out loud.

edit: How does the 1st post look now with thw softpedia pick award? I think it looks lame... I can't stop laughing whenever I look at it. :s13:

PS: Oh boy.. I really shouldn't have mention that M$ messed up on the extremely buggy Zune theme. Now I'm quoted for the whole world to see. :s31:

AC81
16-01-2007, 10:21 AM
Hehe.. note the 'Later edit' in bold. But whatever it is.. it got me a Softpedia 5/5 Pick award. And that really made me laugh out loud.

edit: How does the 1st post look now with thw softpedia pick award? I think it looks lame... I can't stop laughing whenever I look at it. :s13:

PS: Oh boy.. I really shouldn't have mention that M$ messed up on the extremely buggy Zune theme. Now I'm quoted for the whole world to see. :s31:

"Softpedia 5/5 Pick award" congrat bro :s13:

lolx u just mention it :D

oddbasket
16-01-2007, 12:01 PM
"Softpedia 5/5 Pick award" congrat bro :s13:

lolx u just mention it :D
It seems like a fluke though since someone else uploaded my theme as the 'original' one. I still get fits thinking about it. :s13:

atlanticus
16-01-2007, 01:58 PM
Shall let everyone here enjoy the sight :D

http://img477.imageshack.us/img477/5553/royaleremixedoa0.jpg

5/5 Softpedia Pick Award!
33,208 Downloads!
100% Free, No Spyware, No Adware, No Viruses!
Microsoft & oddbasket Co-Developer!

Wo! :s12:

PS: Tech Support: Who ah? =P

AC81
16-01-2007, 02:02 PM
It seems like a fluke though since someone else uploaded my theme as the 'original' one. I still get fits thinking about it. :s13:

your is way much better than the 'original' one :s13:

oddbasket
16-01-2007, 06:20 PM
PS: Tech Support: Who ah? =P

You lor.. I shall post on softpedia your blog address. =:p

your is way much better than the 'original' one :s13:
Aiyo.. paiseh ah... :s34:

atlanticus
17-01-2007, 03:27 AM
You lor.. I shall post on softpedia your blog address.:s16: :s16:你家大门在哪里,我的漆准备好了:s16: :s16:

oddbasket
17-01-2007, 09:19 AM
s16:你家大门在哪里,我的漆准备好了:s16:
joking lar... :s13:

atlanticus
17-01-2007, 11:52 AM
Your first post is excellent. I see all the certifications up. ;)

nought
18-01-2007, 10:54 AM
hi guys~ i seem to be having problem downloading the Shutdown UI. seems like the website's down for maintainance!! Download Royale Noir Shutdown UI: (Backup original msgina.dll first) and also can explain how and what do you mean by backup original msgina.dll first? any kind souls can help??
TIA !!!
p.s. sorry cos i'm not very well-versed in this field

weRpweRp
19-01-2007, 04:51 AM
The latest installer update 1.46 changes the font...

How do I change it back to the default windows font?

AC81
19-01-2007, 06:45 AM
hi guys~ i seem to be having problem downloading the Shutdown UI. seems like the website's down for maintainance!! Download Royale Noir Shutdown UI: (Backup original msgina.dll first) and also can explain how and what do you mean by backup original msgina.dll first? any kind souls can help??
TIA !!!
p.s. sorry cos i'm not very well-versed in this field

have uploaded to another host for u :)
Download Royale Noir Shutdown UI (http://www.savefile.com/files/423800)

backup original msgina.dll first = copy the file "original msgina.dll"
in your C:\WINDOWS\system32 to an folder or anyplace u want

coz if later u want change back to the Default one , u need the "original msgina.dll"

PS: now 6.45am Tech Support still sleeping :s22:

oddbasket
19-01-2007, 08:14 AM
The latest installer update 1.46 changes the font...

How do I change it back to the default windows font?
It does? I tried it and it's the defualt font, Tahoma.(?)

oddbasket
19-01-2007, 08:16 AM
PS: now 6.45am Tech Support still sleeping :s22:
But you the helpdesk never sleeps :s13:

nought
19-01-2007, 01:15 PM
hi AC81 thanks for putting the file up!! got it!! hey by the way after downloading the .rar file, can guide me along the way to installing it?? cos after opening the .rar file and double clickin on msgina.dll out pops a window with gibberish text?? i guess im wrong !!!
can guide me along the way?? many thanks
p.s had copied the original msgina.dll into another folder elsewhere. Thanks

AC81
19-01-2007, 02:43 PM
hi AC81 thanks for putting the file up!! got it!! hey by the way after downloading the .rar file, can guide me along the way to installing it?? cos after opening the .rar file and double clickin on msgina.dll out pops a window with gibberish text?? i guess im wrong !!!
can guide me along the way?? many thanks
p.s had copied the original msgina.dll into another folder elsewhere. Thanks

after unzip/extract ->

use "Replacer" to to replce the msgina.dll in C:\WINDOWS\system32

http://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r120/ac81/Replacer01.png

http://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r120/ac81/Replacer02.png

-> Y and press enter

-> press any key to quit

->done, now reboot pc

nought
19-01-2007, 04:39 PM
thanks AC 81 .. many thanks!!

spidey36
19-01-2007, 10:41 PM
Hi oddbasket, thanks for ur wonderful theme, but is it possible to do a thin taskbar version as well?

oddbasket
20-01-2007, 05:25 PM
Hi oddbasket, thanks for ur wonderful theme, but is it possible to do a thin taskbar version as well?
No, but you could do it, just change some values and it's done. There's a thread in Neowin that teaches that, i recall.

spidey36
20-01-2007, 11:30 PM
No, but you could do it, just change some values and it's done. There's a thread in Neowin that teaches that, i recall.

Thanks shall check it out

basic84
22-01-2007, 09:42 PM
I have a problem.

I have patch it, but now, the startmenu is allways in classic mode.
It dosent matter what theme Im using.

I have Service pack 1, does that have something to do with it?
And no I dont have x64.

The Royal theme works execept the startmenu.

Edit, I have tryed both Universal UXTheme Patcher v2.1 and UXTheme Multi-Patcher 5.0 with out sucess.

Dark_Templar
24-01-2007, 09:33 PM
After installing my cusors doesnt seem to change the rest works right....

oddbasket
25-01-2007, 01:02 PM
Download Royale Remixed VS Lite (http://www.gigasize.com/get.php/320639/Royale_Remixed_Lite.rar). Other than the VS, all other components are superceded by my XP Vista Pack (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1516323) which has the best versions of the Aero cursors and Vista RTM sound scheme you can find on the internet. ;)

atlanticus
29-01-2007, 04:52 PM
My C: Drive icon in explorer is missing. Is there a way to recover it?

Btw, I just installed both packs and this combo shiok! :D

atlanticus
29-01-2007, 05:03 PM
I just tried a solution from Kelly's Korner using your OSdrive icon. Hope it works! :)

AC81
30-01-2007, 05:56 PM
*Passby :s12:

RojRamsey
31-01-2007, 09:51 AM
Is the sound scheme for this work of art available separately?

melvinchay
31-01-2007, 10:23 PM
upss for you bro

oddbasket
02-02-2007, 02:23 PM
Is the sound scheme for this work of art available separately?
It should be, it's the unofficial vista sounds, credits tp the author: HERE (http://www.winmatrix.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=9623)

upss for you bro
Thanks bro!

nonamesg
03-02-2007, 05:31 PM
Great work OB !

1 :s12: for you.

Btw, is there a Log In that blend very well with this Royale Remix to recommend ?

predsrtkit
05-02-2007, 01:26 AM
This theme isn't working for me. I don't think I'm on x64, from what I've read from Dave Kelly. I've gotten rid of all traces of any previous version of Royale Noir and Zune. I'm not sure what's up; I'm pretty bad at computer,

oddbasket
05-02-2007, 08:38 AM
This theme isn't working for me. I don't think I'm on x64, from what I've read from Dave Kelly. I've gotten rid of all traces of any previous version of Royale Noir and Zune. I'm not sure what's up; I'm pretty bad at computer,
Have you patched your uxtheme.dll? If not do so, instructions in the post #2 of this thread as well as further troubleshooting FAQ that may solve your problem.

ralliart12
06-02-2007, 02:27 AM
A quick qn: if I decided I will NOT be reverting to any of your previous themes anymore & stick with Royale Remixed, may I just delete those entire FOLDERS, i.e. Royale Noir, OB WMP 11, etc & just keep the single folder, 'Royale Remixed'? Deleting the rest will not cause any funny system conflicts/abnormalties right?

http://www.geocities.com/ralliart12/themes.gif

Btw, as shown in the selected areas, how come my minimized/maximised windows taskbar ain't the new blue, but still the black shade frm the 1.32 Royale? Anyway to fix this?

& I really like ur other theme, WMP11(esp. its log off & turn off com button style), but its start menu/btn ain't black, is it POSSIBLE to use that theme, then patch it with the black start menu+btn patch meant for the Royale theme to work around?

Hendrick2448
09-02-2007, 06:41 AM
Thanks for the theme. I added it to my desktop and my laptop, and I even got one of my friends to use it.

ralliart12- It's that blue color when it wants you attention. The best example I can think of is Trillian (Multi-Client Instant Messanger). When I get a new message, it flashes that color to let me know I have a new message.

I was wondering if you by chance had an icon for "My Music" and "My Pictures"? I like the My Documents image, but it doesn't look correctly with the other two still the old image. I know how to change the icon, however, I need the icons made. (I'm horrible in graphics.)

oddbasket
10-02-2007, 11:01 AM
Thanks for the theme. I added it to my desktop and my laptop, and I even got one of my friends to use it.

ralliart12- It's that blue color when it wants you attention. The best example I can think of is Trillian (Multi-Client Instant Messanger). When I get a new message, it flashes that color to let me know I have a new message.

I was wondering if you by chance had an icon for "My Music" and "My Pictures"? I like the My Documents image, but it doesn't look correctly with the other two still the old image. I know how to change the icon, however, I need the icons made. (I'm horrible in graphics.)
Chsck kudesnick's blogspot (http://kudesnick.blogspot.com/) for his Vista Icon Pack ST or Pack 3 for all the Vista icons.

oddbasket
10-02-2007, 11:44 AM
I will no longer answer questions related to my past mods or spend my time in the forums as being hospitalised for the 1st time made me realise I need to spend my time away from the pc and step out in the sun to live a life I've been missing. All the IT knowledge in the world couldn't help me when I'm lying on the hospital bed. Requests by PMs may not get replied to or get delayed responses. :)

multi
11-02-2007, 12:16 AM
I will no longer answer questions related to my past mods or spend my time in the forums as being hospitalised for the 1st time made me realise I need to spend my time away from the pc and step out in the sun to live a life I've been missing. All the IT knowledge in the world couldn't help me when I'm lying on the hospital bed. Requests by PMs may not get replied to or get delayed responses. :)

Many thanks for your past effort. Wishing you Good health and Early Recovery... :)

provolino
12-02-2007, 05:54 AM
I will no longer answer questions related to my past mods or spend my time in the forums as being hospitalised for the 1st time made me realise I need to spend my time away from the pc and step out in the sun to live a life I've been missing. All the IT knowledge in the world couldn't help me when I'm lying on the hospital bed. Requests by PMs may not get replied to or get delayed responses. :)Really sad to read this :(

I had several suggestions about your theme to improve it, hope you'll keep working on it even if you decided to spend less time on mods ;)

for example: I'd like to replace start button with the vista orb like in your wmp11 theme... can you do that in next 1.47 version or explain how to make by myself?

provolino
27-02-2007, 02:21 PM
anyone there? :P

oddbasket
01-03-2007, 11:08 AM
anyone there? :P
I'm not going to put in the start orb, provolino. How about I walk you through the steps to replace it?

Firstly, download the trial of PE Explorer (http://www.heaventools.com/download.htm), and get my latest OB WMP11 (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?p=21797768), updated 1st Mar 2007.

Have both RR and WMP11 installed (You might want to copy both .msstyles to a same folder to make things easier).
Load OB WMP11.msstyles in PE Explorer and go to the Resource Viewer/Editor (this is where you do everything).
Extract from under the Bitmap folder WMP11_STARTBUTTON_BMP, right-click and select 'Save Resource As...'
Now go under the Textfile folder and from NORMALWMP11_INI, copy the whole section for [Start::Button] into notepad.

Finishing, just load Royale Remixed.msstyles and replace ROYALE_STARTBUTTON_BMP,
NOIR_STARTBUTTON_BMP, ZUNE_STARTBUTTON_BMP with WMP11_STARTBUTTON_BMP.
And replace the [Start::Button] section in every INI file under Textfile with the one in notepad except for THEMES_INI.

Jam3s_9
02-03-2007, 12:24 AM
Thanks oddbasket for them steps. I have been able to complete them steps and it has worked great. The button has been replaced but there is one problem I am hoping you could help me with. When I try to run the start menu background Patch, it installs and the patch works but the modified start button changes back. Is there anyway to intergrate the patch so I can still keep the custom button and if so could you explain how please?

Thanks

Toturisc
06-03-2007, 01:45 AM
hw cum i apply the the Black menu background patch but nothing happen? my menu background still white...

wpaez1
07-03-2007, 05:27 AM
I've just installed the royale noir theme 4 days, and was loving it but when I tried to open a java application and login the login, about button display weren't there just the text, but still I could make the login but after that it disappears and showed nothing (it was supposed to show the application).
I returned to use the default windows xp theme and tried to login and everything was displayed ok. After that, while logged in with the application, I changed back to royale noir, and it only displayed the parts where the mouse pointer passes by and nothing else.
Any hint on what to do?

Thanks.

PwnStar
13-03-2007, 06:42 PM
im on xp64 bit and whenever i click the installer (yes i got the 64bit one) it opens a txt file instead? i did the same thing on my 32bit system and it worked fine. anyone know whats causing it do do this?

Alecos
14-03-2007, 07:45 PM
Hi! I installed your theme but I have a strange problem.... the icon for Internet Explorer animation downloads remain the same...

here is a grab...

http://www.alecos.it/files/Royale_Remixed_IE.png

How to fix this problem?
PS: the menu remains white instead black... why?
--
Kind Regards.
Alessandro Marinuzzi [Alecos]

schismzgz
06-04-2007, 08:08 AM
Hi:

First of all I want say I love this theme, I used the official Zune theme but this is way better without the annoying orange.

There is one thing I miss though, and that's the official theme font, which is smaller. Is there any way to use that font along with the Zune scheme?

Thanks.

RojRamsey
06-04-2007, 08:20 AM
upss for you broupss? Ya lost me...

Infernos_Blaze
24-04-2007, 05:42 AM
Could anyone explain to me how I could use the Segoe UI font and the black start button? Only one of the patches work at a time. Any help is appreciated.

PostalDude83
10-05-2007, 01:29 AM
Hi all!

This theme wont work for me :(

I succesfully applied uxtheme patch in safe mode.
After I installed this theme, I tried to apply it on Themes tab.

But I got an error message that themes/Luna.theme cannot be loaded, or something like that,
New sounds are applied, but the visual theme not.

Please, help me, I want this theme.

PostalDude83
10-05-2007, 02:29 PM
Ok. I think i found the answer for my problem:
I'm using a non english version of XP.

(I applied the uxtheme patch on my english XP sp2 installed in VmWare Workstation. And after that I applied successfully this new theme in this guest operating system.)

wiShfulStone
10-05-2007, 10:21 PM
Just curious, how come it names itself as MCE2006?

http://img515.imageshack.us/img515/933/untitledmk8.jpg

ArielAleXCo
22-05-2007, 02:00 PM
Loving the Royale Zune!

thanks oddbasket!
I also do love royal zune... but one problem that i´ve noticed is in "diference from" royal noir is that the buttons (accept, aplay, etc) only have a yellow glow. and they do not change to any other color but yellow.

is there a way to make it blue-silver .... or blue-darkblue or something??

also ive noticed there is a Black start button patch for noir... but not for zune. =(

RojRamsey
01-06-2007, 06:25 AM
This style will not apply if Extra Large fonts are selected. Actually, it would be great if you produced a version that dropped the passe Royale Blue and utterly hideous orange Zune substyles and just kept the remixed Royale Noir.

Bobby417919
11-06-2007, 05:05 AM
I installed the Royale Remix on my Virtual PC and it works great. But when I went to in stall it on my PC its not working. I did do the uxtheme.dll patch and still it is not working. Maybe I did the patch wrong? It is reverting to the old Start Meun. I did have the Zune Theme installed at the time but have sence uninstalled it as I thought it might have been the cause of the problem, and tryed to reinstall Royale Remix with no luck.

Can some one please help?

Bobby417919
11-06-2007, 08:04 AM
Never mind, I used "Replacer" to replace the patch .dll file. Works :s12:

Phate89
01-08-2007, 02:29 AM
For some reason even after i Installed and applied the uxtheme patch, when i restart it still starts up as the classic windows theme and I'd have to change it manually

Can anyone help me on what I might be doing wrong because I am sure getting tired of changing my theme manually every time I reboot.

Thanks

oddbasket
01-08-2007, 05:43 PM
Sounds like uxtheme not properly patched, might want to do it again, read the instructions carefully. Do other unsigned themes have the same symptoms?

Phate89
02-08-2007, 12:14 AM
Sounds like uxtheme not properly patched, might want to do it again, read the instructions carefully. Do other unsigned themes have the same symptoms?

I've reinstalled the uxtheme universal patcher 2.1 numerous times, but it just wont fix.

I've also tried to replay my uxtheme file manually, and it still doesn't work

Any help would be appreciated

oddbasket
02-08-2007, 07:48 AM
tried the multi-patcher instead?
http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/OS-Enhancements/UXTheme-MultiPatcher.shtml

Phate89
03-08-2007, 12:13 AM
tried the multi-patcher instead?
http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/OS-Enhancements/UXTheme-MultiPatcher.shtml
I ran that, and after finishing it and restarting i tried to change my theme to the royal nuir and it says " The visual styles could not be applied. The service did not respond to the start or control request in a timely fashion"

Am I doing something wrong? After running the multi-patcher is there something else i'm supposed to do?

[EDIT] Okay, i found out what i did wrong, i didn't have my themes service running started thats why.

Now I'm trying to replace my uxtheme.dll files in the sys32 and SysWOW64, i replaced my uxtheme in the sys32 but i can't find the syswow64 folder

any help?

[EDIT AGAIN ] Okay, well i don't know whats going on but now im getting an error message saying " C:\WINDows\System32\uxtheme.dll is not a valid windows image"

Phate89
03-08-2007, 03:15 AM
When i try to save Royale Nuir as my main theme in my display properties, it says royale nuir but when i click apply it still applies the classic windows theme and won't recognize royale nuir, so the only way I can apply royale nuir is doing it manually through my themes folder

oddbasket
03-08-2007, 03:04 PM
did the following occur when you run multi-patcher?

Q: I get an error message while installing Uxtheme Multi-patcher saying Windows NT setup files are detected in c:\windows\i386?
A: There are 2 reasons for this, the first, you didn't read the instruction carefully telling you not to insert your windows CD when prompted. The second, your OEM system comes with system files backed up in windows\i386 folder. This folder acts as the windows CD when system files need to be copied over, it is non-essential for the operation of the system. Renaming it or moving it someplace else ie burning onto a CD etc, should enable you to patch your uxtheme.dll.

you only need to replace syswow64 if you are on 64bit xp.

provolino
03-08-2007, 04:12 PM
I'm not going to put in the start orb, provolino. How about I walk you through the steps to replace it?

Firstly, download the trial of PE Explorer (http://www.heaventools.com/download.htm), and get my latest OB WMP11 (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?p=21797768), updated 1st Mar 2007.

Have both RR and WMP11 installed (You might want to copy both .msstyles to a same folder to make things easier).
Load OB WMP11.msstyles in PE Explorer and go to the Resource Viewer/Editor (this is where you do everything).
Extract from under the Bitmap folder WMP11_STARTBUTTON_BMP, right-click and select 'Save Resource As...'
Now go under the Textfile folder and from NORMALWMP11_INI, copy the whole section for [Start::Button] into notepad.

Finishing, just load Royale Remixed.msstyles and replace ROYALE_STARTBUTTON_BMP,
NOIR_STARTBUTTON_BMP, ZUNE_STARTBUTTON_BMP with WMP11_STARTBUTTON_BMP.
And replace the [Start::Button] section in every INI file under Textfile with the one in notepad except for THEMES_INI.Thanks oddbasket :)

I followed your steps and I was able to replace standard start button with orb one :D

Just a little problem:
the orb button is not centered correctly and a part of it is cut out :(
same orb in the WMP11 theme is ok so I think there is something more to change... am I right? ;)
I checked some other "vista transformation pack" and they put a starrrt orb identical to vista (with borders out of the bar... how do they do that?)

P.S.
Can you also give me the instructions to replace "log off" and "turn off" to use ones from WMP11 (possibily without the text on the right)?

Thanks again

Phate89
04-08-2007, 02:52 AM
did the following occur when you run multi-patcher?

you only need to replace syswow64 if you are on 64bit xp.

Okay then, then ever after i replaced my uxtheme.dll file in sys32 is the computer still starting up to the classic windows theme?

chenyaopeng
04-08-2007, 08:09 AM
good work oddbasket! keep it up! cool job!

cruser921
24-08-2007, 01:27 PM
Hi there my them came pre installed on my computer from a used computer store how do i tell what version i have? were is folder for it located is there a whey to tell in there thanks.

oddbasket
24-08-2007, 03:23 PM
Hi there my them came pre installed on my computer from a used computer store how do i tell what version i have? were is folder for it located is there a whey to tell in there thanks.
wha... preinstalled? the version doesn't show anywhere on the files except inside of it, u need pe explorer (http://www.heaventools.com/) to open up the .msstyle file and check the themes_ini file inside the TEXTFILE folder.

but if u are certain it is my theme, there should be a readme.txt with a version number inside C:\WINDOWS\Resources\Themes\Royale Remixed

cruser921
25-08-2007, 08:24 AM
ok seams mine is latest Royale Remixed Theme v1.46 Final i like it allot so cool glad somone installed it on this comp before i got it otherwise i would never seen it. one question i use difrent landscaping pictures will that afect the them at all.