PDA

View Full Version : wireless@sg - ur verdict so far

gobolugu
04-12-2006, 04:06 PM
tried out at HDB hub days ago - the strength quite weak, cut off while logging on.. quite fast lah

now at Raffless Place.. same thing like at HDB Hub.. cut off once but still ok.. the signal low (1 bar) as well

deskoh91
04-12-2006, 04:18 PM
currently at Jurong West Community Library. the signal is good enough (3 bars) but the service is dead slow that even 56k is not this slow, seriously.

Yuichi
04-12-2006, 04:31 PM
yup tried at bishan lib.

signal was good but surfing was kinda slow.

calvin44
04-12-2006, 04:48 PM
I wanted to try out at Woodlands Regional Library, was at level 1 near the cafe area. Got full bar signal, can get connected to Wireless@SG... but when i start my firefox or ie... the login page does not display thus I can't surf the web.. Tried setting to auto detect proxy or direct connect to internet also does not work? Any one koes why?

limyouliang
04-12-2006, 05:02 PM
free one mah... what u guys expect....

Technospaz
04-12-2006, 05:05 PM
Can't seem to locate the signal. Was in Raffles Place today but got nothing. Will try again later. I think LYL is right... it's free... can't expect too much.

lbcben
04-12-2006, 05:41 PM
Wireless connection is indeed WORKING....

All of us are connected under 1 roof on WIRELESS LAN--> WIFI SG WLAN...BUT not wireless internet surfing..

=:p

gobolugu
04-12-2006, 06:05 PM
Can't seem to locate the signal. Was in Raffles Place today but got nothing. Will try again later. I think LYL is right...
I tried out sending the first mag of this thread right outside raffles plc mrt stn, near to change alley and oub bldg.. as mentioned was cut off suddenly after connected.. then evrything is normal.. now using mac wifi :p instead

richneo
04-12-2006, 07:00 PM
tried at Tampines Mall speed very slow and always kena dc eventhough got 4 to 5 bars

tried at funan todae speed ish fast got 1.5mbpsa and was provided by TCC using pacnet

maybe funan wireless@sg havent configure properly i no nid to login can surf at 1.5mbps liaoz

multi
04-12-2006, 07:22 PM
Was at Whitesand shopping ctr (Pasir Ris), no DC at all, signal at 4 bar....use Skype to call friend in Malaysia, talk for 20mins, no DC also.... :)

mosmos
04-12-2006, 07:53 PM
tried at Tampines Mall speed very slow and always kena dc eventhough got 4 to 5 bars

tried at funan todae speed ish fast got 1.5mbpsa and was provided by TCC using pacnet

maybe funan wireless@sg havent configure properly i no nid to login can surf at 1.5mbps liaoz

funan ish free for funan shoppers, not wireless@sg

richneo
04-12-2006, 08:00 PM
funan ish free for funan shoppers, not wireless@sg
the SSID i connect is wireless@sg and Access-Icell tried both but Access-Icell is down cannot obtain ip

been there done that

liangtam
04-12-2006, 08:03 PM
I went funan just now use Wireless@SG oso leh, so far theirs is PacNet. My bedok area still no iCell networks up yet leh, cannot try if nid login for others or not implemented yet.
PacNet 1500k connection.

DesmondChng
04-12-2006, 09:53 PM
Woodlands Library so far so good

miltongoh
04-12-2006, 10:46 PM
Try @ Tan Tock Seng hospital. Relatively good! :)

ziggyy
04-12-2006, 10:56 PM
Tried at Sun Plaza, Library & Macdonald.... so slow...

ab_cat
04-12-2006, 11:30 PM
town area is very slow. tried @ Esplanade. 512k mah, cannot expect much.

stevensee
04-12-2006, 11:46 PM
I wonder what those paying singnet for better speed also using Wireless@SG are getting. In the first place, the login page taking year to download and keep DC.

richneo
04-12-2006, 11:57 PM
I wonder what those paying singnet for better speed also using Wireless@SG are getting. In the first place, the login page taking year to download and keep DC.
wah vargin post

anyway if the area not provided by singtel, they also cannot get 1mbit and will be 512k

miltongoh
05-12-2006, 06:54 AM
But the area is like designated by IDA leh. So isn't it like Shared between Singtel/Qala/iCell and many many more....

chaicka
05-12-2006, 08:47 AM
But the area is like designated by IDA leh. So isn't it like Shared between Singtel/Qala/iCell and many many more....
It's divided into zones, juz like how the schools are divided into zones and each provider takes one or more zone(s).

I think SingTel is North, iCell is East. Qmax dunno. Oh, there is no Qala in the scene, Qmax IS NOT Qala.

master_audio
05-12-2006, 10:17 AM
Qmax is West.

liangtam
05-12-2006, 10:53 AM
It's divided into zones, juz like how the schools are divided into zones and each provider takes one or more zone(s).

I think SingTel is North, iCell is East. Qmax dunno. Oh, there is no Qala in the scene, Qmax IS NOT Qala.
Qmax is Qala's subsidiary, its the same.
Some Wireless@SG hotspots are powered by PacNet connection :D

chaicka
05-12-2006, 10:57 AM
Qmax is Qala's subsidiary, its the same.
Some Wireless@SG hotspots are powered by PacNet connection :D
Qmax is not a wholly-owned subsidiary, but instead, it's a joint venture between Qala and Creative. Thus, it's a different entity in business/accounting terms.

History
05-12-2006, 11:57 AM
Tried at Sun Plaza, Library & Macdonald.... so slow...

Slow is no that bad but is it usable? Does it d/c often.

cssee
05-12-2006, 01:09 PM
wah vargin post

anyway if the area not provided by singtel, they also cannot get 1mbit and will be 512k

My friend is a subscriber and surf the same starbuck everyday. Now, he is very pissed. Pay $$$ cannot login!!! poor guy.

SamuelGoh21
05-12-2006, 01:56 PM
So far the best speed I have still under iCell Network. Tried a few Singnet on Sunday and its slow to no webpage found.. :(

liangtam
05-12-2006, 02:00 PM
So far the best speed I have still under iCell Network. Tried a few Singnet on Sunday and its slow to no webpage found.. :(
Wireless@SG on funan better =:p
1500kbit speed :D

iCell = skynetglobal. WOLS

mobiquitous
05-12-2006, 06:47 PM
So far Macs in Funan is good!

mrkiasu
05-12-2006, 08:16 PM
was at Blk 362 woodlands, can access but super slow, its worse than 56K, I strongly believe their AP cant handle the load.I was using Senao SUB-362 EXT with 2 dbi antenna to reach from that distance, got 3 bar.

azixerina
05-12-2006, 09:20 PM
was at WL library today...so sssssslow... the feeling is worse than 56k.

downloading email is a pain. surfing is out of qns, more like limping.

gobolugu
05-12-2006, 11:02 PM
anymore feedback on this free service??.. noticed the stretch from Orchard to Suntec area and heading towrds Bugis, Kg Gelam area and Little Indian - formed a huge "wireless"plot for this service - any user surf and walk around??

otacon
05-12-2006, 11:18 PM
so who is going to subscribe to m1 broadband if got this free wireless@sg thingy?

BuShuang
05-12-2006, 11:25 PM
so who is going to subscribe to m1 broadband if got this free wireless@sg thingy?
not everyone gonna hangout at the wireless zones all the time mah... for M1's HSDPA, as long as u got mobile network coverage, u can hook on...

Somemore it can go up to 3.6Mbps at the moment and will be upgraded to max speed of 14.4Mbps end 2007. So it really depends on how much u want an internet connection while on the move and how much u value speed.

gobolugu
05-12-2006, 11:49 PM
So it really depends on how much u want an internet connection while on the move and how much u value speed.as for me so long.. it works while inside the hotspot ish ok liao.. though, i would prefer more spots like these near my place.. BTW, does this "wireless @SG" reminds you all of those "callzone" phone era??

otacon
06-12-2006, 12:07 AM
not everyone gonna hangout at the wireless zones all the time mah... for M1's HSDPA, as long as u got mobile network coverage, u can hook on...

Somemore it can go up to 3.6Mbps at the moment and will be upgraded to max speed of 14.4Mbps end 2007. So it really depends on how much u want an internet connection while on the move and how much u value speed.
u mean wireless@sg is not totally islandwide? only certain areas got wireless?

liangtam
06-12-2006, 12:23 AM
Go Funan use, 1500K connection :D But pls go to the RIGHT place
Location of Wireless@SG availability is listed on iDA's website. I am wondering, if this service will die down after 3 years becos not alot would pay for such service.

apengrg
06-12-2006, 12:44 AM
Was at Raffle pl and tried logging on. Walau! so bloody slow. Reading 1 email already pain in the arse :s22:

chaicka
06-12-2006, 01:44 AM

HSDPA will not be cheap...it may be volume based rate.

chaicka
06-12-2006, 01:45 AM
as for me so long.. it works while inside the hotspot ish ok liao.. though, i would prefer more spots like these near my place.. BTW, does this "wireless @SG" reminds you all of those "callzone" phone era??
Wow...u around long enuf to know the CallZone thingy har...:D
Ya, hope it does not suffer the same fate as CallZone.

BuShuang
06-12-2006, 01:55 AM
u mean wireless@sg is not totally islandwide? only certain areas got wireless?
I think our gov's intention is to make it islandwide but at the moment its still restricted to certain zones spread all over the island. Its free for the 1st 3yrs nia cos when its free, u can't complain much when its slow... hehehe

Can refer to IDA's website to chk out the different zones :)

BuShuang
06-12-2006, 01:57 AM
HSDPA will not be cheap...it may be volume based rate.
I dun think any of the telcos will make it volume based cos no one will subscribe like tat. Currently, wat i heard is that M1's HSDPA has a 2GB fair usage policy... So i guess it shld not be used for intensive d/ling loh... Other than that, shld be more than sufficient for your general usage.

chaicka
06-12-2006, 02:30 AM
I think our gov's intention is to make it islandwide but at the moment its still restricted to certain zones spread all over the island. Its free for the 1st 3yrs nia cos when its free, u can't complain much when its slow... hehehe

Can refer to IDA's website to chk out the different zones :)
It will never be islandwide coverage like as in mobile phone coverage. Period.

chaicka
06-12-2006, 02:31 AM
I dun think any of the telcos will make it volume based cos no one will subscribe like tat. Currently, wat i heard is that M1's HSDPA has a 2GB fair usage policy... So i guess it shld not be used for intensive d/ling loh... Other than that, shld be more than sufficient for your general usage.
2GB is still volume base...it's juz how the marketing gimicks "paint" the picture to deceive consumers...

pker88
06-12-2006, 02:35 AM
ya lor its like 3G capped at 1GB so its stil another mkt gimmek
not TRUE unlimited
but i am curious if u dont DL alot and u just surf wil u exeed 2GB or 1GB?
just curious since u cant check your data usage when u surfing on phone only when u logoff u can tell how much u have access

chaicka
06-12-2006, 03:16 AM
Yes, 1GB or 2GB, it's easily reached in current day context.

In fact, all I need to hit that volume is juz one day's worth of work to be done remotely via whatever wireless connection, be it HSDPA or GPRS or Wireless@SG.

gobolugu
06-12-2006, 06:49 AM
Ya, hope it does not suffer the same fate as CallZone... it was a hi-end stuff during my ITE days.. still remember it was not wasy to own a pager then but a classmate of me carried tis phone and the best part was - he also need to carry a guide along -just to tell where the CALLZONE area were ...:D

But of course, "wireless @SG" is an ambitious [lan let's hope it work also afforable once start charging.. :P

otacon
06-12-2006, 09:49 AM
.. it was a hi-end stuff during my ITE days.. still remember it was not wasy to own a pager then but a classmate of me carried tis phone and the best part was - he also need to carry a guide along -just to tell where the CALLZONE area were ...:D

But of course, "wireless @SG" is an ambitious [lan let's hope it work also afforable once start charging.. :P
from this sentence, i c that u r older than me. :D
during my ITE days, i got ericsson 388 n always send messages to my first gf on her pager

BuShuang
06-12-2006, 01:22 PM
ya lor its like 3G capped at 1GB so its stil another mkt gimmek
not TRUE unlimited
but i am curious if u dont DL alot and u just surf wil u exeed 2GB or 1GB?
just curious since u cant check your data usage when u surfing on phone only when u logoff u can tell how much u have access
I think the program u have to install have a counter to tell u roughly how much u used liao... Anyway... This is wireless@sg thread... not M1 Broadband thread... we going OT liao :s13:

lobo76
06-12-2006, 01:25 PM
can i ask how many memory a First person shooter game will use up? anyone knows?

BuShuang
06-12-2006, 01:25 PM
It will never be islandwide coverage like as in mobile phone coverage. Period.
yah loh... if only it can... Its gonna be hard laying down the infrastructure... that's y 3yrs free usage mah... but at least its heading at the right direction... more feedback on the wireless quality leh... i planning to get a wifi capable phone soon if it works well :D

SamuelGoh21
06-12-2006, 03:35 PM
Here is an easy way to register iCellnetwork wireless@sg by SMS.
After you finish, it will send you the username and password in about 2min by SMS.
Cheers... :)

SMS: 96342355

<IC> <email address> <Name as in IC>

example of text:

S1234567A samuelgoh21@yahoo.com Samuel goh

gobolugu
06-12-2006, 03:58 PM
I ish registered my "wireless@sg" using Singnet account. should be able to log on to any "wireless@sg" hotspot, even those not of singnet, right?? any problem encountered so far??

gobolugu
06-12-2006, 04:00 PM
Here is an easy way to register iCellnetwork wireless@sg by SMS.
After you finish, it will send you the username and password in about 2min by SMS.
Cheers... :)

SMS: 96342355

<IC> <email address> <Name as in IC>

example of text:

S1234567A samuelgoh21@yahoo.com Samuel goh
sounds ez man.. anyone got more than one "wireless@sg" account?? (i.e: one is "ICell" and one is eg"singnet")

ProKakashi88
06-12-2006, 04:07 PM

chewit
06-12-2006, 04:32 PM

Today, I have tried accessing the WIRELESS@SG at the Bukit Merah Location.
http://www.ida.gov.sg/idaweb/doc/download/I3929/Bukit_Merah.pdf

Unfortunately, many locations cannot pick up any router except infront of Blk 117 and the library itself. The signal is weak and low. =(

I am using a linksys PCMCIA 54g card and a Compaq Laptop. I tried from several points such as at blk 163, infront of touch community, blk 161, near the bus interchange and outside the Post Office.

Wondering why IDA publish those maps and boundary when I tried within one it doesn't work...

Curious???

liangtam
06-12-2006, 05:03 PM

Today, I have tried accessing the WIRELESS@SG at the Bukit Merah Location.
http://www.ida.gov.sg/idaweb/doc/download/I3929/Bukit_Merah.pdf

Unfortunately, many locations cannot pick up any router except infront of Blk 117 and the library itself. The signal is weak and low. =(

I am using a linksys PCMCIA 54g card and a Compaq Laptop. I tried from several points such as at blk 163, infront of touch community, blk 161, near the bus interchange and outside the Post Office.

Wondering why IDA publish those maps and boundary when I tried within one it doesn't work...

Curious???
Must wait for more AP to be placed up lor.
My here oso dun have signal

Lamwm
06-12-2006, 05:06 PM
Connected to wireless@sg at Plaza Singapore now. Sending out this post. It is slow but bearable.

This morning at United square starbuck, damn fast, download several Mb of material and finish clearing all my office E-mail. The good thing about this starbuck, got power point, call plug in and not worry of battery flat.

gobolugu
06-12-2006, 05:17 PM

Curious???
but if u c the map given by IDA, one would wonder why the boundaries are marked out based on the roads surrounded the coverage areas.. doesn't make sense right, thought the range should be something like in "circle" form right?

mobiquitous
06-12-2006, 05:29 PM
Ya, hope it does not suffer the same fate as CallZone.
CallZone was different becoz the devices were limited. Unlike the availability of Wi-Fi enabled devices now............

equiox1
06-12-2006, 05:35 PM
I am at raffles place now. The signal and strengh is good and fast. :) thumbs up

gobolugu
06-12-2006, 05:40 PM
I am at raffles place now. The signal and strengh is good and fast. :) thumbs upwhich part of raffles place? so far got only ONE bar right outside the mrt Stn

PFG
06-12-2006, 05:48 PM
I was at China Square Central this afternoon, as I had to wait 1½hrs for an appointment...
I yanked out my laptop, happily searched for the available wireless connections available and was so delighted to see Wireless@SG to be amongst the list...
Just to note, this is my first time accessing Wireless@SG...

Oh by the way, I've signed up with QMax for the service...
So, I launched my browser, selected a random URL and the login page for Wireless@SG was loaded...
I was stunned still when I couldn't find QMax in the drop down list of service operators!
There was SingNet, Pacnet and a whole lot of other operators but not QMax! Couldn't spot iCell as well...
My countless attempts trying everything I could to login with QMax's ID failed...
So I thought, since I'm able to access SingNet's site (it's a SingNet hotspot), I'd register for a SingNet account for Wireless@SG...
After the registration is complete then I was told that the account will be activated the next working day... :s27:
So much for wanting to surf the net while waiting for my appointment...

I thought we only have to register with one service operator and we can use it regardless which service operator's hotspot we're at?
Then what's up with this incident that I've experienced today?
Probably there're still things I don't know about the service and I'll be grateful if anyone can enlighten me on the situation cause probably I'm doing something wrong without even knowing...

mobiquitous
06-12-2006, 06:04 PM
I ish registered my "wireless@sg" using Singnet account. should be able to log on to any "wireless@sg" hotspot, even those not of singnet, right?? any problem encountered so far??
Yup you are correct!

Nakedtoes
06-12-2006, 06:11 PM
Tried in jurong point cannot make it... Mc is better

pker88
06-12-2006, 06:14 PM
i think for wirelesSG we need more time for them to fix in more AP and bandwidth lor
its suppose to be next jan07 to be out too but hey relase earlier too so i expect some hiccups lor

u pay for what u get lor nothing is FOC in SG

blueutopia
06-12-2006, 07:01 PM
what are the name of the networks?

i tried with my friend's laptop at wheelock place and vivocity. a lot of networks from the neighbouring shops but no wireless@sg :(

shoelace
06-12-2006, 08:14 PM
I tried at woodland library today from 1+ to 4 pm ah. The receive signal is good but the speed slow like 56k or worse. I register with icell ah. Initially i got problem with my password then i call them to reset. They say the wireless @ SG still in like "trial" period so the server cant reset password. Then LL use my gf ic number to register again...

freakZ
06-12-2006, 09:54 PM
Hi all,

I have placed the link to this sticky thread : All Wireless related threads here (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1251221)

Thanks.

gobolugu
08-12-2006, 01:24 PM
update from Bishan J8.. tested at the corner beside "subway".. signal strength damn weak !!! by Qmax.. if l remember correctly.. will test out at other spot of the bldg in days to come.. stay tune :)

bryan09
08-12-2006, 01:31 PM
When you register with Singnet, they said you have to wait 24 hours before activation. After 24 hours, do get any SMS from them?

chingfai
08-12-2006, 02:08 PM
I signed up at the Creative sale some weeks ago. Nothing from them yet. How disappointing. Anyone suffering the same fate?

terry1
08-12-2006, 02:50 PM
may i ask, how you know ?! is it in the papers ?

Diavonex
08-12-2006, 02:53 PM
http://home.singtel.com/wirelessSG/faq.pdf

zankenny
08-12-2006, 03:39 PM
Was in Buona Vista area this morning, able to login with both iCell and Qmax accounts.
However, after about half hour, the connection became unstable and was DC a few times. Eventually, I can't even get connected. :s27:

liangtam
08-12-2006, 07:20 PM
may i ask, how you know ?! is it in the papers ?
iDA's and some provider's website.

chaicka
09-12-2006, 12:26 AM
Juz wondering, would we be seeing this around our landscape (eg. mounted on lamp posts) :D

http://www.cisco.com/image/jpeg/en/us/guest/products/ps5861/c1122/cdccont_0900aecd800f3d48.jpg

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps5861/index.html

liangtam
09-12-2006, 12:40 AM
Juz wondering, would we be seeing this around our landscape (eg. mounted on lamp posts) :D

Got quite a few Cisco Linksys around leh
So far I think this is true for hotspot running on PacNet or iCell connection.

chaicka
09-12-2006, 12:43 AM
Got quite a few Cisco Linksys around leh
So far I think this is true for hotspot running on PacNet or iCell connection.
LinkSys is used by iCell? Think SamuelGoh mentioned one (1) of the three (3) operators is using LinkSys.

Dun be surprised if the Wireless@SG operated by this operator is inferior to other Wireless@SG operated by other two (2) operators...

Performance do boils down to what hardware is being deployed too...(and other factors as well).

Btw, iCell oso outsource some of their wireless deployment works to external vendors too...and some of these external smaller-scale vendors may not have proper know-hows to perform proper deployments, sizing, etc...;)

liangtam
09-12-2006, 12:50 AM
LinkSys is used by iCell? Think SamuelGoh mentioned one (1) of the three (3) operators is using LinkSys.

Dun be surprised if the Wireless@SG operated by this operator is inferior to other Wireless@SG operated by other two (2) operators...

Performance do boils down to what hardware is being deployed too...(and other factors as well).

Btw, iCell oso outsource some of their wireless deployment works to external vendors too...and some of these external smaller-scale vendors may not have proper know-hows to perform proper deployments, sizing, etc...;)
Yar, SamuelGoh was talking about how gd iCell was when it was WOLS. :s13:

So far haven go other area test test. I know the one at Funan by iDA( instead I suppose ) runs on a Linksys as well. Maybe with 3rd party ahem.

shamuslee
09-12-2006, 01:39 PM
ask, Wireless@SG only can detect at outside like that place. for example. Woodlands rite. inside causeway point can detect anot?

liangtam
09-12-2006, 02:12 PM
ask, Wireless@SG only can detect at outside like that place. for example. Woodlands rite. inside causeway point can detect anot?
If they deploy AP inside the mall as well.

xd3vilx
09-12-2006, 02:37 PM
I tried to use at Jurong East Entertainment Center. Got 2 bar but cannot connect. But neveraless, went to McDonald to use internet instead.

sysgeek88
09-12-2006, 03:07 PM
I tried to use at Jurong East Entertainment Center. Got 2 bar but cannot connect. But neveraless, went to McDonald to use internet instead.

I tried it out at JE library on Friday afternoon and was able to connect but not w/o problem. The initial location I was in (level 2, near escalator) couldn't obtain ip address. Got to shift to another location (IT & Computer book) but have to enter my password like 3-4 times before getting connected. The ISP there is Singtel and the password I have is from Qmax. Does anyone faced this problem?

Anyway, connection speed was quite speedy even thought the signal strength is only 2 bars. Download AVG Free and got an average of 80KBps which is much faster than 512Kbps!

confused
09-12-2006, 03:20 PM
Huh? The JE library one is by Icell. I know cos I was just there a few days ago. Walking around like a zombie trying to locate the transmitter. It's actually at the cafe downstairs. The signal is strongest over there.

There's two ISP there. One is Singtel, which you have to pay, the other is Wireless@SG by Icell.

So far, all the libraries I have been to in the West is by Icell.

Oh yah, one thing I noticed is that Wireless@SG does not allow you to logon to Https websites.

sysgeek88
09-12-2006, 04:50 PM
Huh? The JE library one is by Icell. I know cos I was just there a few days ago. Walking around like a zombie trying to locate the transmitter. It's actually at the cafe downstairs. The signal is strongest over there.

There's two ISP there. One is Singtel, which you have to pay, the other is Wireless@SG by Icell.

So far, all the libraries I have been to in the West is by Icell.

Oh yah, one thing I noticed is that Wireless@SG does not allow you to logon to Https websites.

Well, the login page was from Singtel and it definitely Wireless@SG.

gobolugu
09-12-2006, 07:28 PM
was at bishan J8.. really "dulan" man.. connect but very the slow man.. using Icell (not qmax, sorry for the error)

confused
09-12-2006, 09:26 PM
Well, the login page was from Singtel and it definitely Wireless@SG.

Well think you better check again. Cos Singtel logon is for paying customers ONLY.

The Icell provides wireless@sg coverage for the Western region.

miltongoh
09-12-2006, 09:27 PM
I always see iCell page hor then from there I can choose whether QMAX, iCell or Singtel.

sysgeek88
09-12-2006, 09:39 PM
Well think you better check again. Cos Singtel logon is for paying customers ONLY.

First of all, I don't have Singtel pay account. Secondly, I associate my laptop with Wireless@SG network. And lastly, one can always choose the login account from the list of ISP, in my case is Qmax.

Do you think Singtel would allow those using free account to access their pay service?

master_audio
09-12-2006, 11:25 PM
I thought iCell provide coverage for the EAST, no?

quekky
09-12-2006, 11:32 PM
singtel covers some west side too http://home.singtel.com/upload_hub/consumer/wsz.htm
i think they just reuse their previous outdoor wireless access points

confused
10-12-2006, 12:18 AM
I thought iCell provide coverage for the EAST, no?

You can go read yourself.

http://www.icellnetwork.com/where.htm

Thrrp
11-12-2006, 11:02 PM
I wanted to try out at Woodlands Regional Library, was at level 1 near the cafe area. Got full bar signal, can get connected to Wireless@SG... but when i start my firefox or ie... the login page does not display thus I can't surf the web.. Tried setting to auto detect proxy or direct connect to internet also does not work? Any one koes why?
Same problem as calvin44. I was at NLB West Mall just now. Tried ground floor Information Counter, no difference. Full bars connected to wireless@SG. Exclamation mark next to wireless status icon. Message says limited connection. Open browser, no log in page. Can't be that IE7 cannot work, right? Anyone out there managed to log in using IE7?

otacon
12-12-2006, 05:30 PM
i m totally noobs abt Wireless@SG. I tried to log in at parkway, found Wireless@SG SSID but when i tried to log in, cannot leh. I signed up for Singtel Wireless@SG, do i still need to sign for Qmax n iCELL?

Diavonex
12-12-2006, 05:32 PM
You only need to sign-up with one operator.

bangky
12-12-2006, 05:42 PM

http://www.cisco.com/image/jpeg/en/us/guest/products/ps5861/c1122/cdccont_0900aecd800f3d48.jpg

maybe not 1300, but 1500 series, cos singtel implementing cisco aironet's meshing in certain area.

http://newsroom.cisco.com/dlls/global/asiapac/news/2006/pr_11-29.html?sid=BAC-NewsWire

freeworld2000
12-12-2006, 07:13 PM
Tried at CCK Lot1 library with both PDA and Laptop today morning and afternoon.

Can see Wireless@SG ssid but can't get the logon page at all!!!
Anyone face same problem?

otacon
12-12-2006, 08:31 PM
Tried at CCK Lot1 library with both PDA and Laptop today morning and afternoon.

Can see Wireless@SG ssid but can't get the logon page at all!!!
Anyone face same problem?
me also facing this problem this afternoon. then i saw singnet SSID, do i connect to singnet SSID or Wireless@SG SSID? both does not allow me to connect

chaicka
13-12-2006, 01:41 AM
maybe not 1300, but 1500 series, cos singtel implementing cisco aironet's meshing in certain area.

http://newsroom.cisco.com/dlls/global/asiapac/news/2006/pr_11-29.html?sid=BAC-NewsWire

Thanks for the heads-up...:D
Guess what I heard is true...:D

chaicka
13-12-2006, 01:44 AM
SingTel To Deploy Cisco Wireless Mesh Network in the North Region of Singapore

SINGAPORE - November 29, 2006 - Singapore Telecommunications Limited (SingTel) will be deploying a wireless fidelity (Wi-Fi) mesh network from Cisco® in the North region of Singapore. SingTel's proposal to deliver seamless public-access wireless broadband services was accepted by the Infocomm Development Authority of Singapore (IDA). The project is part of the Singapore government's Wireless@SG initiative to extend the broadband experience for its citizens outside of homes and offices to virtually every part of the country. SingTel's wholly owned subsidiary NCS, a Cisco Certified Gold Partner, is managing the implementation of the network.

SingTel aims to deploy more than 2,400 hotspots by May 2007. In Wi-Fi mesh networks, many of the access points are not physically connected to a wired network. The access points create a mesh that routes back to the network. This configuration enables SingTel to provide broadband-based services to a large area where no wired network is available. With the Cisco Unified Wireless Network, which includes a broad range of wireless devices and centralized management components, SingTel can also manage both their indoor and outdoor Wi-Fi hotspots centrally, reducing management costs and complexities.

"The SingTel, NCS and Cisco collaboration will draw on the strengths of each of the parties. SingTel's experience and commitment, NCS' expertise and Cisco's technology leadership are a strong combination that will help enable high-quality Wi-Fi services for our customers," said Allen Lew, CEO of SingTel (Singapore). "We selected Cisco's Wi-Fi mesh technology because it delivers performance and reliability while being highly scalable and easy to deploy. The solution uses well-established standards and offers a substantially reduced risk, cost and time to market."

In the first phase of the Wi-Fi network rollout, Cisco Aironet® 1500 Series lightweight outdoor mesh access points will be attached to city buildings and streetlights to provide four square miles of coverage. To reduce management costs and centralize network monitoring, SingTel will use Cisco 4400 Series Wireless LAN Controllers and the Cisco Wireless Control System.

The unique Cisco Adaptive Wireless Path Protocol provides the key intelligence for effectively running Cisco Wi-Fi mesh networks. Just as routers serve as traffic-management systems for wired networks, so the Cisco Aironet 1500 Series access points use sophisticated mathematical algorithms to decide the optimal ways to route traffic from access point to access point and back to the main wired network. The protocol helps traffic avoid congested nodes, offering Wi-Fi networks a "self-healing" capability. This is where Cisco's routing expertise comes into play. Just as with wired networks, the quality of a Wi-Fi mesh network boils down to the ability of the equipment to route traffic intelligently, efficiently and dependably.

"This project further deepens Cisco's relationship with SingTel and gives us an opportunity to continue to develop our contribution to the Singapore government's iN2015 (Intelligent Nation 2015) masterplan. Wi-Fi mesh networks are ideal for Wireless@SG deployments because they are easy to deploy and maintain. Many of our municipality and city council customers from around the world cite low costs, central management, multiband wireless device support, security and breadth of service as the main benefits of Wi-Fi mesh networks. This enables them to provide their citizens with the platform to extend their life's experience on the human network anytime, anywhere," said Craig Gledhill, Cisco's managing director for Singapore and Brunei.

leinad
13-12-2006, 02:04 AM
Nice... Wireless-mesh technologies.

More no-fly-zones for birds, I guess. :s13:

/Dan

liangtam
13-12-2006, 02:16 AM
Was wondering, just how many wireless connection can a Cisco handle at a single time

jeff79
13-12-2006, 02:58 AM
Noob at the wireless@sg thing, but i got charged for usage.

I registered the wireless@sg with singtel using my singnet account. but after a few day still didnt receive the sms for the userid and password.

I tried to login to the wireless service in Hougang mall using my singnet id and password. connect to "access icell" ssid It show the icell (wireless@sg) login page and can log in.

Then I went to bishan library on another day. Can only find singtel and nbl ssid. I saw in the singtel wireless@sg faq that the singtel wireless hotspot is now free. Login through the singtel hotspot.

Now I saw in my singnet connection usage summary, I'm billed for using the SingNet Outdoor Wireless Surf ( Pay As You Use ) 12cts/min for 30min at hougang mall, 1hrs 9min at bishan library. Total $11.88

Any singnet user also got charged for usage?

Is the singtel wireless@sg userid and password same as the singnet account?

leinad
13-12-2006, 03:02 AM

I registered the wireless@sg with singtel using my singnet account. but after a few day still didnt receive the sms for the userid and password.

I tried to login to the wireless service in Hougang mall using my singnet id and password. connect to "access icell" ssid It show the icell (wireless@sg) login page and can log in.

Then I went to bishan library on another day. Can only find singtel and nbl ssid. I saw in the singtel wireless@sg faq that the singtel wireless hotspot is now free. Login through the singtel hotspot.

Now I saw in my singnet connection usage summary, I'm billed for using the SingNet Outdoor Wireless Surf ( Pay As You Use ) 12cts/min for 30min at hougang mall, 1hrs 9min at bishan library. Total $11.88

Hmm.. I suppose contact Singnet for clarification.

I have been subscribing to OWS for a couple of months (>1 year, really) and haven't been bothering about any charges.

/Dan

liangtam
13-12-2006, 03:23 AM
When is the date that u actually use the service in the library?
If I not wrong, SingTel customer gets 1Mbit connection instead for the paid service. I guess thats not what u intend in the first place?
Give them a call.

jeff79
13-12-2006, 07:11 PM
When is the date that u actually use the service in the library?
If I not wrong, SingTel customer gets 1Mbit connection instead for the paid service. I guess thats not what u intend in the first place?
Give them a call.
I sign up for the free service on 1 dec. first login on 4 dec, then on 6 dec. I didnt get the 1mbit speed. Got disconnected a few time, in the end cannot even get to login page and gave up

Singnet general enquire only from 8am to 6pm :s27: , have to call them tommorrow during office hours.

koko123
18-12-2006, 06:59 AM
Anyone try out 512K Wireless@SG at bishan ?
Notice only the SSID SingTel or NLB is there .
How come no Wireless@SG SSID ?

coppermine
18-12-2006, 07:10 AM
How come no Wireless@SG SSID ?

Should have. Everytime i go to the outlet there always used wireless@SG to do my work.

gobolugu
20-12-2006, 01:21 PM
changi airport got the wireless@sg network??

gobolugu
20-12-2006, 01:23 PM
How come no Wireless@SG SSID ? dunno bluff or what.. just right outside the bus stop of Bishan MRT stn (near the 7-11), also cant detect wireless@sg signal, despite being inside covered area!! hmm.. strange siah

cloud77
20-12-2006, 02:31 PM
I am using Wireless@SG now at Woodlands Central library ground floor. Signal strength is 4 barand connection speed is a 11Mbs (network). Internet surfing speed cap at abou 38 to 40Kb/s. I using it to post this as well :)

droogie
20-12-2006, 02:36 PM
I can't even log on from inside Jurong East Library... :(

Signal very weak, even sitting at the cafe inside, and when finally can tap onto the network, I cannot log into the iCell network.

Gives me an error.

Hope it will sort out with time...

I tried using both my work laptop, as well as my E61. Both cannot log on.

Sambuca78
20-12-2006, 02:51 PM
I tried at esplanade library. very gd... :)

Neclord
20-12-2006, 03:28 PM
Surfing in BK at pearl centre (chinatown) was fast.

fflover2004
20-12-2006, 05:51 PM
I can't even log on from inside Jurong East Library... :(

Signal very weak, even sitting at the cafe inside, and when finally can tap onto the network, I cannot log into the iCell network.

Gives me an error.

Hope it will sort out with time...

I tried using both my work laptop, as well as my E61. Both cannot log on.

strange, i was at second floor using the wirless@sg on 18/12. the speed was fast. i managed to get max speed for downloading via B*(just testing out).

Jurong west library at the cafe is also fast too, maybe because no one is using?

Both AP are under Singtel.

overall i'm quite happy with it.

droogie
21-12-2006, 12:03 PM
strange, i was at second floor using the wirless@sg on 18/12. the speed was fast. i managed to get max speed for downloading via B*(just testing out).

Jurong west library at the cafe is also fast too, maybe because no one is using?

Both AP are under Singtel.

overall i'm quite happy with it.

Update: Last nite I could log on to Wireless@SG with work laptop at Funan. Tried my E61, cannot. :s27:

Will try JE Lib again soon.

Random bugs! :s8:

Blate
21-12-2006, 07:14 PM
Half hr ago tried connecting from Sengkang Library, get 3 bar signal, but can't get connected, can't get IP. In the end I went to Sengkang CC to surf. :(

koko123
21-12-2006, 08:34 PM
Should have. Everytime i go to the outlet there always used wireless@SG to do my work.

Which floor and area u go to at Bishan NLB ?
I go to the 3rd floor slient reading room at the corner .
The SingTel SSID network there very weak .

gobolugu
22-12-2006, 12:45 PM
(location: ground level, near escalators, using Dopod 838 pro)
pretty chiat lat leh.. was connect at one point using ICELL but later cut off while sign in, then move abit into singnet hotspot.. also same thing.. now out the Mac.. using their instead.. still not stable loh

injun
22-12-2006, 12:46 PM
not bad at CCk library. iCell provider.

gobolugu
22-12-2006, 02:52 PM
anyone tried open spaces like pasir ris park[heard it's covered too]

koko123
23-12-2006, 12:06 PM
Check with SingTel 1610 .
Singnet SSID for Free 512K Wireless@SG at Bishan Library ( North region )is SingTel .
Anyway the iCell SSID at Toa Payoh Library is Wireless@SG .

Wat abt other places ? Any difference in SSID?

Some location at Bishan has weak signal .
I found 1 good location at 3rd floor

koko123
23-12-2006, 12:18 PM
Anyyway , any procedure to logout from Wireless@SG ?

leinad
23-12-2006, 12:21 PM
IMHO, Singnet should not allow W@SG users to use the "singtel" SSID. That should be reserved for paying customers.

/Dan

koko123
23-12-2006, 03:08 PM
IMHO, Singnet should not allow W@SG users to use the "singtel" SSID. That should be reserved for paying customers.

/Dan

Anyway , tey say they going to change singtel to wireless@sg.
Now no more Outdoor wireless surf . Its only Wireless@SG Plus or
Wireless@SG Lite .

freezy1977
23-12-2006, 03:32 PM
one word... SUCKS

koko123
24-12-2006, 07:12 AM

U settle yr billing issue ? wat tey say ?
Wen I call on 22-12-06 , SingTel 1610 said I can use the SSID SingTel for Free Wireless@SG 512K . Then used the usual singnet password n id from my bb at home .
Anyway mine was converted from free Outdoor Wireless Surf 1M to Wireless@SG 512K , so no need to wait for any password or userid b4 used .
Is it possible that u r bill bcos u login without any conversion from Outdoor Wireless Surf or
with the User ID and password not ready for Wireless 512K yet ?

leinad
24-12-2006, 08:36 AM
Wireless@SG Lite .
They probably can't use the Wireless@SG SSID in areas they don't have a license for. (Yes, it has been demarcated to zones).

We shall see. But right now, I feel that the paying customers should be given a right to the ID. There's only so many IPs you can get via DHCP. If it's flooded with the non-paying customers, then the paying customers have no way to get on and enjoy their paid-for service. I believe we have a right to carry on enjoying the service, especially since it's a clear differentiation in service grades due to the very presence of billing.

/Dan

gobolugu
24-12-2006, 10:36 AM
Check with SingTel 1610 .
Singnet SSID for Free 512K Wireless@SG at Bishan Library ( North region )is SingTel .
Anyway the iCell SSID at Toa Payoh Library is Wireless@SG .

Wat abt other places ? Any difference in SSID?

Some location at Bishan has weak signal .
I found 1 good location at 3rd floorwah.. no wonder cant detected "wireless@sg" SSID at Bishan Library.. so it's "Singtel" dat is the "wireless@sg" SSID afterall lah..

been using the NLB in-hse wifi - very weak and hard to log on :(

but the ICELL SSID at toa Payoh library is "thumbs up".

.. all connection using Dopod 838pro

gobolugu
24-12-2006, 10:39 AM
Wireless@SG Lite ...wha so many variaties... "plus" and "lite".. confused man :(

rango
24-12-2006, 02:19 PM
anything free is always lousy... :s27: ...give up...use gprs faster....but pay until ba$ls...drop...

koko123
24-12-2006, 02:36 PM
..wha so many variaties... "plus" and "lite".. confused man :(

Wireless@SG Plus is 1M must pay $10 plus ( Last time call Outdoor Wireless Surf )

Wireless@SG Lite is 512K Free .

SingTel said North area also include Bishan Lib .
But I cant find it in their 365 Surf zone list .
IDA List also cant find .

Anyway u see tis once u key service provider , userid n password at Wireless@SG logon page .

http://img148.imageshack.us/img148/4213/stelle8.jpg

saigonblack
24-12-2006, 04:47 PM
I tried connecting at MOS burger at J8. 1st time i tried, signal is very good, BUT took me half an hour to even successfully log in even thought prior to that i have already registered.

2nd time, same place, after trying to 30mins, im unable to log in successfully even though signal is good.

gobolugu
24-12-2006, 06:49 PM
I tried connecting at MOS burger at J8. 1st time i tried, signal is very good, BUT took me half an hour to even successfully log in even thought prior to that i have already registered.

2nd time, same place, after trying to 30mins, im unable to log in successfully even though signal is good.wah so J8 can't really make it man.. as told before.. tried at near "subway".. pretty lag as well

gobolugu
25-12-2006, 03:32 PM
testing out at velocity, using singnet hotspot

guess here's the trick.. while using this "wireless" on ppc or pda.. stay on a stationary position..just like using lappy as it doesn't move abt freely despite claiming wide coverage area..

Seals
25-12-2006, 03:59 PM
u try at ur hse

gobolugu
25-12-2006, 04:13 PM
u try at ur hse
my home not covered.. anyway.. I don't think outdoor areas unless near to those bldgs are covered, not like those claimed in the coverage maps.. now try out at toa payoh bus interchange (outside mrt entrance).. using singnet hotspot

koko123
25-12-2006, 10:43 PM
Is is correct dat the current WirelessSG hotspot r mostly in building or near to it
base on the catchment area ?
If base on the Catchment Area , Bishan Library is under Nothern Region by SingTel rite ?

C below :

http://www.ida.gov.sg/doc/Programmes/Programmes_Level3/Wireless%20Broadband%20market%20Development/WBMD_Call_for_Collaboration_Public_Document_Annex_C_-_Primary_Catchment_Areas_v1.0.pdf

gobolugu
30-12-2006, 08:06 PM
at Paulaner München, opp. suntec.. using singnet hotspot.. stable .. probably at downtown area

koko123
01-01-2007, 11:20 AM
Wireless@SG on funan better =:p
1500kbit speed :D

iCell = skynetglobal. WOLS

U mean icell is not Wireless@SG SSID ?

liangtam
01-01-2007, 01:15 PM
iCell man the skynetglobal's AP as well

seizure_
01-01-2007, 01:28 PM
does Wireless@SG accept connections from devices besides laptops? I can't seem to connect to the network using a PSP

purpleflock
01-01-2007, 02:01 PM
does Wireless@SG accept connections from devices besides laptops? I can't seem to connect to the network using a PSP
You can get access from any Wifi enabled device.
Tried on a PDA and notebook.
The signal exists (2 to 3 bars) but can't get about fast.
Got disconnected about 6 times in half hour of use.

Sticking to "I'm lovin' it"...

pohu
01-01-2007, 10:17 PM
my fren encountered the same prob with his PSP.. took him quite a while before he able to log on at Mac.. but he yet to try at Wireless@SG.. and he didn't meddle with his settings just "wait and see" approach..

TerTan
03-01-2007, 02:05 PM
I just want to clear my doubt. Am I only restricted to signing up with only ONE of the three Wireless@SG operators or can I actually sign up with ALL three of them? Based on what I have read or heard, each of the three Wireless@SG operators actually provide wireless connection for different areas of Singapore. So if let’s say I sign up with SingTel, it does not guarantee that I will be able to have free wireless Internet unless SingTel does provide for that area?

sunsetbay
07-01-2007, 11:17 AM

it works on my PSP, speed wise is reasonable fast, much faster than when using at Mac. :s22:

http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1475899

sunsetbay
07-01-2007, 11:26 AM
my experience with iCell, better than i expected. good enough for surfing net, checking email. viewing youtube takes longer to load. can't complain much since its free.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/68353687.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/3243/icellspeedtest01xa1.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

tested at tamp mall rooftop garden.

:s22:

gobolugu
07-01-2007, 01:53 PM
I just want to clear my doubt. Am I only restricted to signing up with only ONE of the three Wireless@SG operators or can I actually sign up with ALL three of them? Based on what I have read or heard, each of the three Wireless@SG operators actually provide wireless connection for different areas of Singapore. So if let’s say I sign up with SingTel, it does not guarantee that I will be able to have free wireless Internet unless SingTel does provide for that area?
is ok lah.. i initially sign up for singnet cos l'm a singnet BB user but later sign up the Qmax acct and been loggin in various place .. no problemo :)

twoday
08-01-2007, 09:36 PM
used wireless@sg at AMK library yesterday. surfing speed was good enough for me.

using skynetglobal at mcdonald's now... so much slower.

jeff79
14-01-2007, 01:22 AM

About the charges, I not billed for the charges.

I just received my singnet bill, it not listed. Most likely singnet did not update the billing system.

Kiddream
21-01-2007, 12:32 AM
hey have a question for u all...i sign up for qmax...then today i tried locating access points...found icell,wireless@sg,skyglobal....then for wireless@sg...does it work for both singtel and qmax accounts? and how to log into mcdonald's network?

ab_cat
21-01-2007, 12:57 AM
to log into mcdonald network, find the ssid skynetglobal IIRC and connect it, once u open ur browser eg. IE, it will prompt u to the login page, enter ur email and some other info then u can just login and u r connected. dun close the main window unless u wanna log out.

Kiddream
21-01-2007, 01:06 AM
so just enter my own email? thats all? there for the wireless@sg ssid...iszzit under singtel or qmax? or iszzit i choose wireless@sg...then either icell,qmax or singtel account can log in?

maoxi
21-01-2007, 03:39 PM
Locate and tap the Wireless@SG SSID, open browser, Login using any iCell, Qmax or Singtel account/password.

Then surf.

That's it.

The 3 operators are sorta "code-sharing" although provider coverage on different location (west, east and central...) You can see the default logo "Qmax" if you are connecting in West area... and same for Singnet (central+north?) and iCell (East)

ab_cat
22-01-2007, 01:12 AM
so just enter my own email? thats all? there for the wireless@sg ssid...iszzit under singtel or qmax? or iszzit i choose wireless@sg...then either icell,qmax or singtel account can log in?
yea, the mcdonald network is easy 2 connect, once u open up ur ie, skip the flash intro and input some details like email and tick the checkbox then u r connected. for wireless@sg I think u nid 2 select ur provider then login with the login details of ur isp or the username and password given to u when u reg icell or other network.

stan1976
29-01-2007, 12:45 PM
Is anyone getting any Qmax signals in Tiong Bahru near the market and Tiong Bahru Community Centre? I can't seem to detect any signals at all.

pker88
30-01-2007, 04:24 AM
still got any updat4es to wireless@sg?

when i passed by NLB i saw some tech mounting some hotspot device on a lamppost
:s31:

Bieffe
27-04-2007, 11:02 PM
Dunno Wireless SG better than M1 broadband or not?

ab_cat
28-04-2007, 02:06 AM
Dunno Wireless SG better than M1 broadband or not?
wireless @ sg is like free for 3 yrs but m1 nid 2 pay but m1 like no nid 2 look for access point..

revenant
28-04-2007, 11:02 AM
wireless @ sg is like free for 3 yrs but m1 nid 2 pay but m1 like no nid 2 look for access point..

But for M1Broadband it only have free 5GB Bundle?

ab_cat
28-04-2007, 02:17 PM
But for M1Broadband it only have free 5GB Bundle?
I think so ba cos I check the m1 broadband web and it seems all 3 plan only have 5GB free data bundle.

Bieffe
28-04-2007, 11:18 PM
I think so ba cos I check the m1 broadband web and it seems all 3 plan only have 5GB free data bundle.
How abt stability and speed?

ab_cat
29-04-2007, 07:05 AM
nt really sure but u can check out this thread (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1473792).

anch1ang
30-04-2007, 03:44 PM
how to change the password?

my password bloody 1. hard to remember.

wiShfulStone
30-04-2007, 05:23 PM

Why remember, put into a .txt file on your desktop

ab_cat
30-04-2007, 08:29 PM

if urs is icellnetwork, go to this (http://www.icellnetwork.com/corp/index.htm) site click update profile and login to change ur password.

GenesisX
30-04-2007, 09:03 PM
So far i always logon using Singnet account when divert to the logon webpage.

So far so good, try it in Macdonald, KFC, Library, AMK Hub, Orchid Country Club, Takashimaya and a few other places using a Dell AXIM X50V Pocket PC. :)

anch1ang
01-05-2007, 01:18 AM
if urs is icellnetwork, go to this (http://www.icellnetwork.com/corp/index.htm) site click update profile and login to change ur password.i'm using singtel mobile :(
9xxxxx@stm

when i login, i can't found any link to change password.
anyone ?

liangtam
01-05-2007, 02:01 AM
STM syncs with the |:)EAS portal login.

Evolution86
05-05-2007, 11:04 AM
hi, sorry ppl , din know where to post this, i cant connect to Wireless@SG when i tried to yesterday. i'm using N80 . any other configurations i need to set other than scan for wireless n connect to it?

fanfreddy
05-05-2007, 11:47 AM
Hi, nowaday alots of IT specialist in SG so slow down is expected. Handphone, laptops etc is much useful tools for connection. I also try out Lot One library that day, really slow in connection and log off few times, so power off and shopping is better.

GenesisX
05-05-2007, 12:40 PM
Hi, nowaday alots of IT specialist in SG so slow down is expected. Handphone, laptops etc is much useful tools for connection. I also try out Lot One library that day, really slow in connection and log off few times, so power off and shopping is better.

Yup...totally agree with you. Once my friend try using laptop to download the AVG installation file using Wireles@sg, maximum speed only about 45Kb/s.....:(

ab_cat
05-05-2007, 01:25 PM
512 K ma, wat u guys expect. can hit 45Kb/s quite a lot liao.. last time my snbb 512k is around 50-60kb/s.

wiShfulStone
05-05-2007, 09:16 PM
Ya, my 512K last time also can hit 55-60+ one. The only plan that I've managed to get advertised speeds all the time :P

Bieffe
25-05-2007, 12:35 AM
How come I cannot get the login page?
What setting should my IE be?
I can see wireless@SG can connect then they say accuiring IP then they say connected then when i launch IE....I get the default page by IE when there is no connection present.

Is it my setting problem?

rvnrooron84
04-08-2007, 11:39 PM
Anybody tried connecting to NLB wireless network?

Its very slow and keeps DCing..

tualobang
05-08-2007, 12:23 AM
i've tried searching for the elusive wireless@sg ssid, and fail to find it in most places.

surest bet is to go to MC D :)

also, signing on is another challenge......

how come the spread of wireless@sg is not spreading like wildfire?

leinad
05-08-2007, 12:35 AM
i've tried searching for the elusive wireless@sg ssid, and fail to find it in most places.

surest bet is to go to MC D :)

also, signing on is another challenge......

how come the spread of wireless@sg is not spreading like wildfire?
Site owners do not want to adopt, for fear of privacy and other concerns. I've heard some reject on the basis of utility bills too. (?)

/Dan

liangtam
05-08-2007, 01:24 AM
There are quite a lot of places with Wireless@SG currently, just that most of the time signal is weak. Sometime must look around and see if u can spot where they deploy the AP.

wherehouse
05-08-2007, 02:22 PM
the signal strength is super low... sucks power a lot faster to hold signal.
sianz.

but hard to locate the AP

mitchbom
09-08-2007, 05:24 PM
This wireless@SG... well i tried it twice, one of the place is at post office hq at paya lebar. strength wise, not bad..

my only complain for wireless@SG is, why the F**** are those more popular places/impt places not under wireless@SG coverage? one such place is changi airport... if want to surf in changi airport. haf to use starhub and pay... :( :sad: :mad:

liangtam
09-08-2007, 05:40 PM
Got agreement with Starhub liao ma, of cos not lor.

CPTMiller
20-08-2007, 12:16 PM
I thought Changi Airport should have the wirelesssg?

This wireless@SG... well i tried it twice, one of the place is at post office hq at paya lebar. strength wise, not bad..

my only complain for wireless@SG is, why the F**** are those more popular places/impt places not under wireless@SG coverage? one such place is changi airport... if want to surf in changi airport. haf to use starhub and pay... :( :sad: :mad:

CPTMiller
20-08-2007, 12:23 PM
It not stable even in main NLB.
Sometimes it got disconnected every 20 mins.

gobolugu
21-08-2007, 07:20 AM
my only complain for wireless@SG is, why the F**** are those more popular places/impt places not under wireless@SG coverage? one such place is changi airport... if want to surf in changi airport. haf to use starhub and pay... :( :sad: :mad: thought's free?? i log on at J8 many times w/o incur costs as they sent out a letter loooong ago say they are not charging.. correct me if i'm wrong :)

ab_cat
21-08-2007, 11:40 AM
thought's free?? i log on at J8 many times w/o incur costs as they sent out a letter loooong ago say they are not charging.. correct me if i'm wrong :)
Wireless@SG is free.. unless u sign up for the enhanced service, faster speed, u nid 2 pay IIRC.

skysim71
21-08-2007, 03:18 PM
I thought Changi Airport should have the wirelesssg?

Ya I was at Woodlands Checkpoint and was unable to detect wirelesssg???

How come har?

I thought all government should be the first onr to plant it le????

trying to call out using skype but unable to do so :(

albertchng
21-08-2007, 05:22 PM
good thing not cheap, cheap thing not good.

u dont know what is a Pay And Pay society?

xxhellinvaderxx
21-08-2007, 05:30 PM
intermittent disconnect

CPTMiller
24-08-2007, 06:14 PM
PAP??? :s31:

good thing not cheap, cheap thing not good.

u dont know what is a Pay And Pay society?

pohu
27-09-2007, 08:21 PM
Wireless@ SG.. when the Free period gonna end??

liangtam
27-09-2007, 10:50 PM
Wireless@ SG.. when the Free period gonna end??
End of 2009?

pkchukiss
29-09-2007, 11:15 AM
I just realised that the Woodlands Checkpoint itself is covered, but isn't it one of the weirdest places to set up APs first? I mean, you can't even linger in the area, so how would laptop users manage to use the wireless connection there?

corerevival
22-10-2007, 08:29 PM
hi im using wireless@sg at white sands now, not very good leh. signal strength is very good but i keep on having problem opening pages on hwz. i also had to login about 3 times before i can start surfing, then halfway it will get log out and i have to log in again.

summore, this is the third time im typing this msg! cos keep on having a "page cannot b displayed" error then my msg is lost...

chercm
22-10-2007, 08:50 PM
hi im using wireless@sg at white sands now, not very good leh. signal strength is very good but i keep on having problem opening pages on hwz. i also had to login about 3 times before i can start surfing, then halfway it will get log out and i have to log in again.

summore, this is the third time im typing this msg! cos keep on having a "page cannot b displayed" error then my msg is lost...

i was there in the afternoon , login to Singtel and the speed was fantastic :D :D

seowbin
22-10-2007, 11:55 PM
free and good...

nothing to complain

xgwei
23-10-2007, 12:05 AM
any1 tried using psp to login to wireless@sg ? i tried @ mcdonalds n starbucks, both cannot...

furious_888
26-02-2008, 11:45 PM
any one tried sim lim sq ?been using for days always get good or excellent but when using ie ,it says no page found last time was ok but now me and my friends lappy cant liao

liangtam
26-02-2008, 11:58 PM
SLS gotch Wireless@SG meh?

ohmygod1986
27-02-2008, 07:08 PM
any1 tried using psp to login to wireless@sg ? i tried @ mcdonalds n starbucks, both cannot...

PSP is working fine for Wireless@SG , i got no idea for mac and others :s12::s12::s12:

cscs3
27-02-2008, 08:29 PM
tried out at HDB hub days ago - the strength quite weak, cut off while logging on.. quite fast lah

now at Raffless Place.. same thing like at HDB Hub.. cut off once but still ok.. the signal low (1 bar) as well

Only works well at places like Mac. Signal level is low at most places. Disappointed.

cscs3
27-02-2008, 08:31 PM

At least in the basement food center.

info_guy
27-02-2008, 08:33 PM
been using it for months at park lane, paradiz centre, rochor beancurd.

speed was more than enough for surfing. download speeds were around 25-40kbps.

liangtam
28-02-2008, 12:16 AM
At least in the basement food center.

Long long ago its by qala but nid pay.

hoosdathu
28-02-2008, 01:51 AM
bedok nlb there can't detect these few days... sianz...

GrimaH
28-02-2008, 04:40 AM
It not stable even in main NLB.
Sometimes it got disconnected every 20 mins.

wireless@sg logged me out every 15 minutes.
10 of those minutes were spent pulling my hair out because the page wasn't responding.

idiort
28-02-2008, 06:30 AM
sometime quite slow lehz.. but for light surfing,better than nothing..

hello8985
28-02-2008, 07:34 AM
so fast so good but problems is getting frequent log out and till now still unable to get a singtel account wor

trigoz
28-02-2008, 03:57 PM

Yup its available throughout the building. In fact you can still tap on to the net from the main entrance facing the road junction of the Rochor canal

arcturuz
02-04-2008, 06:53 PM
the new Playground @ Bigsplash got wireless@sg?

anyone test b4 liao?

liangtam
02-04-2008, 07:02 PM
the new Playground @ Bigsplash got wireless@sg?

anyone test b4 liao?

Fastfood Outlet KFC
902 East Coast Parkway Blk D,
#01-01, 449874 Playground@ Big Splash
Marine Parade
QMax

arcturuz
02-04-2008, 08:24 PM
Fastfood Outlet KFC
902 East Coast Parkway Blk D,
#01-01, 449874 Playground@ Big Splash
Marine Parade
QMax

ohh.. thanks

I was at Starbucks last night, just 100m outside of KFC, no wifi signal... next time I go nearer the KFC try again

liangtam
02-04-2008, 08:32 PM
Qmax signal ish always weak eberytime i try, u might even need to sit inside.

Ratix0
02-04-2008, 09:21 PM
It varies depends on the place you are...

And no, Bars =/= Speed. Seems like many users confused that. More bars means better signal strength, but you can have max signal but the speed is still very slow... The bars is only a representative of how strong is the connection between your device and the router(s).

Anyhow try using in Bugis NLB... Its the fastest connection I've experienced thus far. It is VERY fast for web surfing compared to everywhere else.

And thus far, I've been able to connect with my Wifi Devices, my E61 and DS.

AlvinDj
05-05-2008, 10:53 AM
Is there a thread whereby there's a list of latest updated hotspots on wireless@sg and also powerpoints available ?

idiort
05-05-2008, 01:55 PM
i use at bk at liat towers there,can die.. every 5-10 mins dc then have to log in.. damn lag,slow... can die.

i been using at united square,not sure if its wireless sg but no need login,its united square free wireless,sibeh solid... strong signals,no dc at all and faster than wireless sg...

haylui
05-05-2008, 01:59 PM
not yet detect any sign in bedok le....

liangtam
05-05-2008, 02:54 PM
bedok int ish fully covered by iCell

idiort
05-05-2008, 03:02 PM
bedok mac got mah...

chicardo
08-05-2008, 04:10 PM
I'm working on a simple app on iPhone using Jiggy Runtime which lets you save your username and password. And with a click it automatically logs you into the Wireless@SG WiFi connection. It's working most of the time now (mainly on Singtel and iCell Networks), just need more testing for QMax Networks before I launch it.

Keep a lookout for it

Cheers,
Wilson Chicardo

abstractthoughts
09-05-2008, 08:51 AM
wireless sg is a joke. most times i cant get signal or i get the signal but i cant log on because my userid and password are wrong (when i know they are correct).

leaving_footsteps
09-05-2008, 09:10 AM
It is very slow and unstable for me.

Inix
09-05-2008, 03:29 PM
Wireless@SG? More like NoWireless@SG lor.. It seldom (if ever) worked when I wanted, and is so screwed up, that I've basically given up. Even trying to login is a hassle.

It used to not work with Firefox, but now it does. But across that, the WIFI gets cut away, my WIFI gets roamed into another "compatible yet unauthorised" connection which means I need to re-logon. The speed is pretty fast most of the time when it works, but I would rather they cut down the speed to say 256K but have it work properly...

liangtam
09-05-2008, 04:09 PM
wireless sg is a joke. most times i cant get signal or i get the signal but i cant log on because my userid and password are wrong (when i know they are correct).

You might have chosen the wrong profile login.

idiort
09-05-2008, 04:13 PM
it always dc for me.. always have to log in.. damn irritating.. it sucks..

liangtam
09-05-2008, 09:49 PM
Disconnection issue is mostly wireless adapter on laptop side instead.

Usually the problem with Wireless@SG lies that the DHCP pool is full or that the equipment is overloaded.

Openroad
14-06-2008, 01:11 AM
It depends on where you are. The wireless sg at bugis NLB was quite fast though >.<" There's powerpoints there too. To me the speed is impressive... Compared to my house broadband =.=

mistersoh
15-06-2008, 10:15 PM
me also get disconnected... :yawn:

B1gB3rt
09-07-2008, 03:24 PM
I am new to using Wireless@SG, does the service provider play a part in whether you get a good connection and decent bandwidth?

idiort
09-07-2008, 04:08 PM
sucks like hell at centrepoint.. i wanted to post this but always dc so i gave up and went home to post... haha

Gh05t_1986
27-09-2008, 07:25 PM
so far my experience... it haven't not suck once.

can't even login... instead of doing work, u spend half an hour trying to convince the system ur password is correct.

very poor speed... i think 56k faster.. lol

intermittent connection... keep disconnecting and need to reconnect..argh...

Verdict: The team behind this project should be fired. And they should go back to school.

Dexter_ng
27-09-2008, 07:37 PM
hahaha! u all try wireless@sg in the hospital ward b4?

Damn good connection. I can even do video streaming there. very fast and good. I always spend my hospitalise stay surfing the net. Free Power + Free internet. Cos the whole ward i think only I 1 person bring laptop. The rest of the ppl around my ward are mostly old old ah pek!! Damn shiok! but when I try to surf in those common area like foodcourt etc, it seems laggy.

just_surfing
18-11-2008, 02:13 PM
I am new to using Wireless@SG, does the service provider play a part in whether you get a good connection and decent bandwidth?
For the free account, you get 512kbps (shared) irrespective of which service-provider you choose..

just_surfing
18-11-2008, 02:16 PM
I want to know whether Wireless Plus 3000 (the 3MBPS payable plan from Singnet) is only available at Wireless@SG sites or is available at home too?

Thanks

albertchng
18-11-2008, 02:44 PM
I want to know whether Wireless Plus 3000 (the 3MBPS payable plan from Singnet) is only available at Wireless@SG sites or is available at home too?

Thanks

Try 1610 for answer. :yawn:

idiort
18-11-2008, 03:34 PM
shud be only at wirelesssg places lahz

Jian19
15-12-2008, 01:03 PM
Have tried 3 diff login server while using this wirelesssg thing

Singtel - Smooth and can surf easily, cant really watch utube DC mi once every 20-30mins
Qmax - Sort of crappy to me at times,cant watch utube DC me once every 10mins
Icell - The best within this 3, can download at constant 50-60kbps for files through direct downloads, can watch utube or steaming clips, only required me to relogin every 2 hours

:D :D

albertchng
15-12-2008, 01:07 PM
Have tried 3 diff login server while using this wirelesssg thing

Singtel - Smooth and can surf easily, cant really watch utube DC mi once every 20-30mins
Qmax - Sort of crappy to me at times,cant watch utube DC me once every 10mins
Icell - The best within this 3, can download at constant 50-60kbps for files through direct downloads, can watch utube or steaming clips, only required me to relogin every 2 hours

:D :D

Thanks for the head up BUT do you realize that this thread is 2 years old?

idiort
15-12-2008, 06:39 PM
lol.. old thread indeed

Jian19
16-12-2008, 10:18 AM
Thanks for the head up BUT do you realize that this thread is 2 years old?

yea

only recently i use it more often :D

thermal
21-12-2008, 01:49 PM
I live opp Jurong Point. I use repeater and I can use free with speedtest of Downlaod 512k and upload 240k.

idiort
22-12-2008, 02:28 AM
wah free wir5eles... so u got internet at home> lol

Rooney10
12-08-2009, 11:54 AM
sorry for digging this thread. just wondering whether with M1 can i register for free wireless@sg? went to ida website only got singtel there?

idiort
12-08-2009, 12:41 PM
can.......

Rooney10
12-08-2009, 01:41 PM
how do i register for a wireless@sg account for M1? its free right? tried googling ard not much success. thanks for any help mate.

czheyuan
12-08-2009, 01:46 PM
how do i register for a wireless@sg account for M1? its free right? tried googling ard not much success. thanks for any help mate.

Wireless@SG is only managed by 3 operators namely Singtel, QMax and iCell.. So if want to get an account, need to sign up with any of these operators. Can just go their websites to signup.. Qmax and iCell have quite simplistic signup procedures..

liangtam
12-08-2009, 01:53 PM
All signup page are the same lah, duhz...

Starhub got oso. But you can inter-use a qmax account on their AP.