View Full Version : M1 boardband User Thread
Pages :
[
2]
YorYor
13-01-2007, 12:26 AM
Well, it's a different transmission medium. More easily subjected to transmission interference, so can't expect something too amazing I guess. Even speaking on phone can hear interference mah... and digital over analogue cannot tolerate errors.
But since it's USB device, they should make it transmit more power... anyone tried it with the router? Maybe that device can pump out stronger signals compared to other small devices.
magix
13-01-2007, 12:36 AM
Well, it's a different transmission medium. More easily subjected to transmission interference, so can't expect something too amazing I guess. Even speaking on phone can hear interference mah... and digital over analogue cannot tolerate errors.
But since it's USB device, they should make it transmit more power... anyone tried it with the router? Maybe that device can pump out stronger signals compared to other small devices.
Yah I understands the media is over the AIR! Therefore is not as solid as cable and copper line. But this service has room to improve.
xBlackHawkx
15-01-2007, 01:02 AM
hi..i signed up my broadband today...it was kinda lag even at middle of the night...i hope m1 can improve their speed asap! :(
repsoi
15-01-2007, 01:50 AM
This is a screenshot of the upload and download around midnight. been using for 1 month plus and i confirm pass the 2GB but no calls as yet and the first bill also no mention of excess usage. keeping my thumba crossed, btw i using the 384kbps
http://img402.imageshack.us/img402/7016/midnitevk4.th.jpg (http://img402.imageshack.us/my.php?image=midnitevk4.jpg)
koko123
15-01-2007, 08:03 AM
No need to test liao lah . :D
yaf123
15-01-2007, 08:26 AM
This is a screenshot of the upload and download around midnight. been using for 1 month plus and i confirm pass the 2GB but no calls as yet and the first bill also no mention of excess usage. keeping my thumba crossed, btw i using the 384kbps
http://img402.imageshack.us/img402/7016/midnitevk4.th.jpg (http://img402.imageshack.us/my.php?image=midnitevk4.jpg)
U must be a very patient guy, how can u reached 2G with only 384kbps plan. The connection is very very slow even on 1.8Mbps plan. M1 better wake up before it lose more customer...
tym733
15-01-2007, 09:55 AM
Any news or alternative to this M1 boardband? Am using 384 now if hv better of better value for money no mind changing.
iMbEst
15-01-2007, 10:00 AM
singtel and starhub's HSDPA lor.
Sambuca78
15-01-2007, 10:49 AM
singtel and starhub's HSDPA lor.
ST n SH still testing leh...
ry0suk1
15-01-2007, 11:01 AM
btw u go to vodafone website in us u will see SH in their list already.. but only M1 have the official right to let ppl use...
ry0suk1
15-01-2007, 11:17 AM
Yr pic damn fake loh.. where is yr MB beside yr 144.74?? edit oso dunno how to edit.. u using 384kbps connection not using 3.8mbps connection le..i give u a max 20kbps download the most u can reach 72mb for 1 hr non stop d/l at 20kbps u sure u can reach 20kbps all the way?
xBlackHawkx
15-01-2007, 06:07 PM
M1 needs to buck up on their services before SH n ST launches their 3G broadband and they will lose more customers...
Kyururu
15-01-2007, 06:20 PM
Subscribed to M1 BB few days ago. horrible speed. wireless@sg is 100 times faster, although it'll log me out every 30mins.
Bieffe
18-01-2007, 12:23 AM
Just got into this M1 BB thing. Didn't know abt the 2Gb limit. Anyway I don't use until so heavy so should be ok.
Tried for abt 30mins. Reception and respond is quite OK. But don't do anything that is from overseas. The speed can die! Anyway I'm on the $22 plan.
I tried going to MSN.com.....10mins and the page still not loaded. Speedtest.com quite fast abt 45s but i cannot run test maybe becos is 3G?
Will test further and give my 2cents here.
ViperKnight
18-01-2007, 12:46 AM
Check with you guys... How long does your USB device take to be detected and launch VMC Lite software? Mine took almost 5 to 8 minutes... =/
Anyone experiencing faster timing?
Using Acer TM4151LMi Laptop here...
ry0suk1
18-01-2007, 08:49 AM
jus plug in install set to startup programme plug in the hardware before switch on yr computer. u can use immediatly when u got into window!! and update yr software from voodafone us!!
Bieffe
18-01-2007, 11:30 PM
jus plug in install set to startup programme plug in the hardware before switch on yr computer. u can use immediatly when u got into window!! and update yr software from voodafone us!!
U mean plug in then power ON?
Yes with my lappy ON. I plug in it take abt 2mins or so to start.
May i get the link to update pls?
Bieffe
18-01-2007, 11:44 PM
Can u ppl use MSN messanger with this connection?
Also can u do speed test?
ViperKnight
18-01-2007, 11:59 PM
ry0suk1,
Would you be kinda enough to provide us the url too? I've look through vodafone website and can't find anything... :o
ViperKnight
19-01-2007, 12:13 AM
Found a link from vodafone australia
latest Vodafone Mobile Connect software for PC laptops (45.3mb)
www.vodafone.com.au/business/bussol/vmc/VMC_PC_7.030004.zip
Not sure if this the same one ry0suk1 mentioned... Will download and try... meanwhile hunting again...
ViperKnight
19-01-2007, 12:46 AM
Cool! VMC version 7!!! Nice interface.... =D
Can even configure to load with windows startup =D
Thanks ry0suk1 for the hint =D
iMbEst
19-01-2007, 01:10 AM
do you think it can work well with WinXP Embedded?
Kyururu
19-01-2007, 01:17 AM
M1 site has a direct download for VMC v7.05 - http://m1.com.sg/broadband/software/GT_Max_v7-05.zip
ry0suk1
19-01-2007, 09:14 AM
Cool! VMC version 7!!! Nice interface.... =D
Can even configure to load with windows startup =D
Thanks ry0suk1 for the hint =D
Try to use the shortest usb.. :P
ry0suk1
19-01-2007, 09:19 AM
kyururu where u get the link from how come i find the whole website cant see the link?
YorYor
19-01-2007, 02:37 PM
So how's the connection like these few days? Still lagged like mad?
Bieffe
19-01-2007, 03:33 PM
M1 site has a direct download for VMC v7.05 - http://m1.com.sg/broadband/software/GT_Max_v7-05.zip
The download very slow.
And now M1 display 236.8Kbps only!!
DL at 3.5Kb/sec!!!
ry0suk1
19-01-2007, 04:24 PM
this few days worst then the starting.. 1 days d/c 12times record.. need restart com to get the connection back "ABIT" after some short time will d/c again.. or totally cannot surf while still connected..
just now give them a call f them, ask then what happen this month connection keep on lagging like hell, then they say they will look into the matter.. worst signal i ever get 1/5 at open air..
YorYor
19-01-2007, 05:13 PM
Hmmm... so it's as bad as 56K. Hmmm...
Kyururu
19-01-2007, 06:22 PM
kyururu where u get the link from how come i find the whole website cant see the link?
Initially my VMC lite couldn't detect my usb modem. so i called up M1 and ask and they emailed me the link to d/l VMC 7.05
yaf123
19-01-2007, 06:34 PM
But we pay BB $$$ leh, they should honour their promise.
power_cat_1
19-01-2007, 06:37 PM
NO! is worst than that is like singtel first generation 14.4k without graphic type
Bieffe
19-01-2007, 11:40 PM
Actually not so bad lah....surely better than 56k modem.
But overseas site is bad. I will no say like 56k...but is not BB "feeling" for sure.
Could it be a setting in IE that we are getting it wrong?
Bieffe
19-01-2007, 11:41 PM
this few days worst then the starting.. 1 days d/c 12times record.. need restart com to get the connection back "ABIT" after some short time will d/c again.. or totally cannot surf while still connected..
just now give them a call f them, ask then what happen this month connection keep on lagging like hell, then they say they will look into the matter.. worst signal i ever get 1/5 at open air..
Which driver u using the latest or the old version supplied?
This is sometimes the reason.
Bieffe
19-01-2007, 11:42 PM
The download very slow.
And now M1 display 236.8Kbps only!!
DL at 3.5Kb/sec!!!
Wonder why now the display is 236.8Kbps....just 2 days ago stil showing 3.2Mbps wor.
YorYor
19-01-2007, 11:56 PM
Hmmm, sorry a few more questions. Really don't want to sign 6 month contract without finding out more.
1. Are disconnections frequent? Can reliably transfer data for at least 15 - 30 minutes before disconnecting/dying off (even though appearing to be connected)?
2. Can the connection be shared via Internet Connection Sharing in WinXP? I know modem connections can...
Thanks in advance to whoever takes the trouble to answer me.
ry0suk1
20-01-2007, 01:50 AM
Hmmm, sorry a few more questions. Really don't want to sign 6 month contract without finding out more.
1. Are disconnections frequent? Can reliably transfer data for at least 15 - 30 minutes before disconnecting/dying off (even though appearing to be connected)?
2. Can the connection be shared via Internet Connection Sharing in WinXP? I know modem connections can...
Thanks in advance to whoever takes the trouble to answer me.
Hmmm.. 15 - 30min 1 big lag 1 - 2hr connection die off but still connected..
what u mean internet connection sharing in xp? u cant switch user for wat i know. u can get the rounter for up to 2 or 3 connection.. but u will be more likely to d/c more. connection is share already, and u wanna share more with jus 1 sim card.
nite time and morning still can surf abit.. after 10am totally lag out...
ry0suk1
20-01-2007, 01:53 AM
GUYs take notes, the connection M1 is offering is shared connection, 384, 1800, 3600 connection is share..
YorYor
20-01-2007, 02:17 AM
Hmmm.. 15 - 30min 1 big lag 1 - 2hr connection die off but still connected..
what u mean internet connection sharing in xp? u cant switch user for wat i know. u can get the rounter for up to 2 or 3 connection.. but u will be more likely to d/c more. connection is share already, and u wanna share more with jus 1 sim card.
nite time and morning still can surf abit.. after 10am totally lag out...
ry0suk1, thanks for your advice.
Ah... after 10am lag means? Just very slow or completely can't connect?
Hmmm, that makes me worried, cause it's for office use. Want to stop using 56K cause the telephone toll charges are not cost efficient. Not willing to splash the cash on getting tied down for a 24 month broadband contract.
Sigh. Really must go down and trial it for myself to see what kind of speed I get when connecting to my server... and during office hours at that.
So now they say it's shared connection in order to justify the terrible speeds?
Kyururu
20-01-2007, 04:11 AM
it's an intermittent thing. Sometimes u press enter and a site loads immediately. while sometimes a site can take 5-10mins to load, or in worse cases it won't even load. quite frustrating as i always have to look at the network connection icon at the system tray to check whether it's blinking or not. if it's not, den tat means the page will either take quite sometime to load, or nv will.
ry0suk1
20-01-2007, 08:53 AM
what office working u are using it for.. i advice dont get it before their improve.. maybe u can look for other internet service.. singnet got a good promotion that time i got no idea no still have it anot.. i think the name call biz office. if u dun wan to waste more money, it better for u to continue to use the 56k.. at least it wun dc so much. and now the d/l speed i having makes no different from 56k..
Kyururu yr internet explorer got cookies and history store inside yr computer so it load up faster............. u try clear yr internet cookies and history and temp files u will see all is the same!
SerSiTiv
20-01-2007, 05:04 PM
AS more and more users get on I think that the feasibility of continuing with the account is low. I mean e-mail and stuff still seems okay to me. Youtube cannot even give me a proper stream, just part of the video and then it just cuts me off. Hmm..
Bieffe
21-01-2007, 12:51 AM
This version sucks.
The icon cannot even be displayed on my Compaq laptop.
The voda icon no matter how even after changing my wallpaper will not be displayed correctly.
I keep seeing a grey sq only. And the file is much larger.
I will stick to the lite version for now.
Kyururu
21-01-2007, 02:00 AM
Did u uninstall the lite ver b4 installing the new 1?
anyway i've sent a complaint to M1 rgd the unstable connection. a cso called me this morning and said they're trying their best to resolve the connection issue by feb. meanwhile they'll waive my current mth's bill.
Kyururu
21-01-2007, 02:05 AM
what office working u are using it for.. i advice dont get it before their improve.. maybe u can look for other internet service.. singnet got a good promotion that time i got no idea no still have it anot.. i think the name call biz office. if u dun wan to waste more money, it better for u to continue to use the 56k.. at least it wun dc so much. and now the d/l speed i having makes no different from 56k..
Kyururu yr internet explorer got cookies and history store inside yr computer so it load up faster............. u try clear yr internet cookies and history and temp files u will see all is the same!
I've tried d/ling files too. sometimes the speed can suddenly boast up to 50+ KB/s, den halfway through the d/l will stop and drop down to 0, den up again, den down.
YorYor
21-01-2007, 02:19 AM
anyway i've sent a complaint to M1 rgd the unstable connection. a cso called me this morning and said they're trying their best to resolve the connection issue by feb. meanwhile they'll waive my current mth's bill.
Wah so good ah. Then worth it to sign up and keep calling to complain lor. ;p
Typical office use would be checking emails, uploading files via FTP, downloading datasheets from the internet (few MB at max), MSN.
Downloading files still ok, cause can use download managers to handle, so not a major problem. Only thing is email... but well, it can't be that worse off than 56K. Eh, 56K can work out to be damn ex. Whether using those unlimited plans or even starhub SFF, the damn telephone toll charges work out to be over $150 per month. So 56K equivalent M1BB is only a fraction of the cost lor.
YorYor
21-01-2007, 02:30 AM
Hmmm, can anyone help me try this out?
ry0suk1
21-01-2007, 08:32 AM
why not u get the router from them.. they got a linksys 3g router.. singnet biz office $99 only i think.. free email 500mb storage 512k boardband.. still got alot more but i forgot already..
YorYor
21-01-2007, 09:23 AM
Because either the router/SNBB means I cannot bring the device around.
Hopefully can share via ICS and can bring the device around on certain on-the-road service calls.
I know SNBB is $99 only... but to a small company, every cent counts. Like I said, spend $99 to download emails and datasheets... no point. I just want something that is slightly better than 56K.
Why pay them the premium that they are charging just because it's a business? I don't subscribe to such nonsense policies. So if M1 has such an offering and doesn't distinguish between home/business users, why not?
As long as M1 doesn't treat this M1BB like their CDMA offering many years ago, in which they simply decided to drop it, then it can only get better. M1 is just a reseller of Vodafone's product, and Vodafone looks serious enough to have implemented it in so many countries.
ry0suk1
21-01-2007, 12:41 PM
M1 boardband price is half the price of the real vodafone price.. u can go see vodafone website.. i think deal to the price cut.. m1 will not give all the customer any good.. if u say for emails and datesheets jus continue to use 56k? their service now is worse then 56k.. since u are already spending more then 150 a month on toll why not the 99 dollar is much cheaper..
shotz
21-01-2007, 01:45 PM
so, how's the connection speed now wif any M1 Broadband ?
has their engineers/techs done anything to improve the lags ?
YorYor
21-01-2007, 01:52 PM
There are many reasons. Main thing is, I don't subscribe to high charges just for business users, because that translates to higher prices for consumers in the end. And a 24 month contract is no good. I see broadband offerings getting better before the end of the year, either in terms of pricing or in terms of bandwidth. Unless really no choice, otherwise I'm ready to evaluate alternatives such as M1BB.
Aiyah, end of the day, someone just help me see if the option to share the M1BB connection is available or not? As long as you can go to the properties page and the sharing option is checkable, then it should be possible.
ry0suk1
21-01-2007, 02:17 PM
then call m1 and ask faster... 1627 gogogo
iMbEst
22-01-2007, 02:06 AM
why not u get the router from them.. they got a linksys 3g router.. singnet biz office $99 only i think.. free email 500mb storage 512k boardband.. still got alot more but i forgot already..
the $99 ish what laide? HSDPA too? I thought singtel only covers orchard area so far?
YorYor
22-01-2007, 02:23 AM
the $99 ish what laide? HSDPA too? I thought singtel only covers orchard area so far?
Nope, normal tel-line ADSL.
iMbEst
22-01-2007, 10:05 AM
gosh, then dun post here lah, we are talking about mobility broadband leh....how can you compare rabbit to tortoise?
YorYor
22-01-2007, 10:29 AM
He brought up the subject because I was talking about using it in an office environment. Anyway, it's not like I don't know how to do my Math. Any user can share whether the "share this connection" Internet Connection Sharing option is available when you use the USB modem in WinXP?
fxtrek
22-01-2007, 11:44 AM
even if this is technically possible,the current speed (we do not know when/how M1 is going to improve on it) is too unstable and too slow for use in business setting.
Really not worth the trouble of going through what users of M1BB had gone through or the more you are using for business setting.Save abit of money but open a can of slow worms.
Ultimately,you have a choice.
iMbEst
22-01-2007, 11:56 AM
i think it still depends on the location bah. YorYor, why not you call up M1 and find out? I dun think there should be any restriction. They also have the Wireless router for you to share the connection too, at $10 extra per month.
Sambuca78
22-01-2007, 11:58 AM
He brought up the subject because I was talking about using it in an office environment. Anyway, it's not like I don't know how to do my Math. Any user can share whether the "share this connection" Internet Connection Sharing option is available when you use the USB modem in WinXP?
let the PC tat connect to the USB modem be the gateway loh...
i think u can share the internet via connecting a router to the PC. or just share using crosscable if there is only 2 PCs...
hypzon
22-01-2007, 12:47 PM
i think it still depends on the location bah. YorYor, why not you call up M1 and find out? I dun think there should be any restriction. They also have the Wireless router for you to share the connection too, at $10 extra per month.
Anyone used it for online trading so far? I'd like to see if it's feasible as a short-term solution when I'm moving house.
JoieDeVivre
22-01-2007, 01:15 PM
i don't know about the performance myself, but my friend just successfully got his contract fully terminated after 2 months of use and no penalty charges. His case to M1 was he is not going to pay a single cent for something that does not work. Seems like it can be quite bad for some locations.
iMbEst
22-01-2007, 02:53 PM
just asked my friend who is using this M1BB. he said all the places he went happen to have very good reception, so far it's really damn good (according to him). This connection is a dial-up connection thus it can't be shared through bridging. The only way to share it is to pay $10 extra to rent their 3.5G wifi router or you use cross cable lor.
YorYor
22-01-2007, 03:00 PM
I will go to M1 shop to test it myself.
Seems like no one here knows how to check whether can do ICS. If it appears as a dial-up connection, then it should work. No need for bridging and what not. Just ICS, ensure no other DHCP running, and all others get IP via DHCP.
I don't want the router because it then doesn't become mobile. I want the option to bring it along sometimes.
iMbest, which areas do your friend frequent? Would be good to have a reference.
YorYor
22-01-2007, 03:02 PM
Suggest you don't do time-critical activities over this for now. Read the earlier posts and you will find a disgruntled user who suffered some losses due to M1BB.
iMbEst
22-01-2007, 04:22 PM
I will go to M1 shop to test it myself.
Seems like no one here knows how to check whether can do ICS. If it appears as a dial-up connection, then it should work. No need for bridging and what not. Just ICS, ensure no other DHCP running, and all others get IP via DHCP.
I don't want the router because it then doesn't become mobile. I want the option to bring it along sometimes.
iMbest, which areas do your friend frequent? Would be good to have a reference.
he's working at Raffles Place, staying at hougang and the further he tested the point was at Republic Poly. all these 3 location got damn good reception. I suspect the whole stretch of JB beach area could get pretty good reception too! lol!
not sure about ICS, are you having a super mobile office that house more than 1 employees? I dun quite get what you're trying to do hehe....you share only when you're station at somewhere physically what, so the router should serve well mah.
hypzon
22-01-2007, 04:24 PM
Suggest you don't do time-critical activities over this for now. Read the earlier posts and you will find a disgruntled user who suffered some losses due to M1BB.
Not say time-critical, but more for shares trading, so the connection needs to be up and good; fast download is not the main criteria.
YorYor
22-01-2007, 08:59 PM
he's working at Raffles Place, staying at hougang and the further he tested the point was at Republic Poly. all these 3 location got damn good reception. I suspect the whole stretch of JB beach area could get pretty good reception too! lol!
not sure about ICS, are you having a super mobile office that house more than 1 employees? I dun quite get what you're trying to do hehe....you share only when you're station at somewhere physically what, so the router should serve well mah.
No... sometimes I stay in office, and sometimes I'm on the move. I may not always need mobile connection, but it would be a good option to keep on hand. This is the super major advantage compared to conventional landed ADSL. That's why I'm still keen to check M1BB out. Since speed is not a major concern for me, the price and the mobility are coming up tops on the list.
iMbest, share connection in office by default (leave it plugged in there), bring it along with me when I go outstation from the office. How difficult can this concept be?
Somebody mentioned Wireless@SG, but that's only for "central" areas.
YorYor
22-01-2007, 09:00 PM
Not say time-critical, but more for shares trading, so the connection needs to be up and good; fast download is not the main criteria.
hypzon, far as I can tell from the experiences of the users, M1BB won't be able to guarantee that. I find it wierd that you say shares trading is not time-critical. You don't know if you're viewing updated info, nor will you know if your click to say "sell" gets transmitted 30 seconds later and getting the acknowledgment instantaneously vs transmitted instantaneously but you only get the acknowledgment page 30 seconds later.
I hope you can tell the difference apart.
tphan
22-01-2007, 09:05 PM
TAKE NOTE:
I have tried using the SIM card in my E61. The same intermittence problem still exist. Sometimes it works but when plugs into the USB Modem, the SIM card does not work any more. So there seem to be that the SIM card is pre-programmed for USB Modem use only.
This proved that although it is a SIM card it does not works for both PC and SmartPhone(PDA) use. TOO BAD. Thought I can use for both so as to be MOBILE.
I may not subscribe to the plan. Too much complain on the connection issue.
iMbEst
22-01-2007, 11:22 PM
No... sometimes I stay in office, and sometimes I'm on the move. I may not always need mobile connection, but it would be a good option to keep on hand. This is the super major advantage compared to conventional landed ADSL. That's why I'm still keen to check M1BB out. Since speed is not a major concern for me, the price and the mobility are coming up tops on the list.
iMbest, share connection in office by default (leave it plugged in there), bring it along with me when I go outstation from the office. How difficult can this concept be?
Somebody mentioned Wireless@SG, but that's only for "central" areas.
if you're only sharing the internet connection in the fixed location office, the 3.5G wireless router with $10 extra is more than enough for you what?
wireless@SG? ask them go fly kite!
YorYor
23-01-2007, 12:01 AM
if you're only sharing the internet connection in the fixed location office, the 3.5G wireless router with $10 extra is more than enough for you what?
wireless@SG? ask them go fly kite!
Aiyoh, I just said I want the option to bring it along with me on some of my out-of-office trips. Laptop already bulky and heavy enough, I don't want to be carrying a router along.
hypzon
23-01-2007, 06:36 AM
hypzon, far as I can tell from the experiences of the users, M1BB won't be able to guarantee that. I find it wierd that you say shares trading is not time-critical. You don't know if you're viewing updated info, nor will you know if your click to say "sell" gets transmitted 30 seconds later and getting the acknowledgment instantaneously vs transmitted instantaneously but you only get the acknowledgment page 30 seconds later.
I hope you can tell the difference apart.
Hi YorYor,
Thanks for enlightening me.
What I wanted to convey was that even at 56k speeds, if the M1 connection can be sustained, then stuff like streaming quotes should be acceptable.
Anyway, I was exploring options for an unwired new house.
coffeerain
23-01-2007, 05:20 PM
yesterday i send complaint e-mail to M1 abt the bad connection speed and they reply me that they will improve.
This morning i call to terminate and they said i need to pay around sgd1000 cos i took this M1BB 3 weeks ago only.
so fustrated that i said "fuxx up" service and they politely ask me to be gentleman and don use such word lah! In the end I get one month fee waive.
So go ahead to complain to them and at least get one month fee waive and give them pressure.
prashant_0877
23-01-2007, 05:24 PM
I am the latest casualty by M1. Subscribed 384 kbps broadband 3 days back. For the past 2 days I rarerly find any connection speed other than 0 kbps. If I ever get a working connection somehow, it doesnt last more than 3-4 min. Needless to say that the connection speed in such a case is pathetically low, around 20 kbps. It cant be a location issue as I stay in Chinatown.
I should have checked this thread earlier or should have atleast seen a demo before subscribing. Their customer care has given 1 month fee waiver but judging by the fact that this has been a persistant problem for over a month, I dont think it will be resolved very soon.
I am frustated beyond limits. I would just love to terminate it and get my money back.
Maserati
23-01-2007, 10:24 PM
Well I understand from the feedback about M1BB is slow. I thought how slow can it be? 56K ? Seem disappointing for me I've sub. for 3 weeks. They claim that it should be using to surfing and email.
Email: I always use outlook to D\L my mails. Normally 500kB ,max 1.5 mB each time. But using it, 2hrs can even complete the d\l. You must be thinking I am joking. Every time I try it d\l after <200kb it hangs and then outlook says "time out".
Surfing:Yesterday and today it can hardly be used. yahoo.com can take me 45 sec to 1 min to see the page and certain site gives you the error page(needs to reload) . I don't think it is "surfing" as I am "drowning"
I'm using the usb modem. The reception shows 4 bars so I don't think reception is the problem.
The light is always switch between light blue to dark blue. Dak blue >90% of the time. I guess M1BB shouldn't be used for Emails and surfing as I can't perform any of them.
magix
23-01-2007, 11:08 PM
yesterday i send complaint e-mail to M1 abt the bad connection speed and they reply me that they will improve.
This morning i call to terminate and they said i need to pay around sgd1000 cos i took this M1BB 3 weeks ago only.
so fustrated that i said "fuxx up" service and they politely ask me to be gentleman and don use such word lah! In the end I get one month fee waive.
So go ahead to complain to them and at least get one month fee waive and give them pressure.
Pls lah! You sure you need to pay $1000 that much to terminate? I remember the Contract require us to pay but not $1000 lay.
iMbEst
23-01-2007, 11:30 PM
WAH, so it was you who I was talking to!!! :mad: now I want to scold you back!
go FLlCK SPIDER! :mad:
iMbEst
23-01-2007, 11:33 PM
Aiyoh, I just said I want the option to bring it along with me on some of my out-of-office trips. Laptop already bulky and heavy enough, I don't want to be carrying a router along.
you can always put in the SIM card back to the router when you're at office, take out the SIM card and use the USB receiver mah.....cannot meh?
YorYor
24-01-2007, 12:36 AM
Eh, isn't M1's policy for 1 subscriber to have only 1 device? You mean I can rent the router on top of using the USB receiver for free?
Wahaha... CSO meets disgruntled customer ah.
coffeerain
24-01-2007, 09:32 AM
WAH, so it was you who I was talking to!!! :mad: now I want to scold you back!
go FLlCK SPIDER! :mad:
u work at M1? Then u should be shame of ur company product liao but i just think u r nonsense with out of nothing want to scold some ppl. Don't pertend u work at M1 lah!
If so free then go to find some real spider and play around.
I called M1 Shop yesterday to enquire about the broadband promotions and they informed me that the Linksys 3G router is out of stock. The CSO asked me to call at the end of the month.
I checked both Singtel and Starhub webpages, but none seems to have a similar service ie 3G broadband router. Does that mean M1 is the first to use such a technology in SG?
coffeerain
24-01-2007, 09:44 AM
Pls lah! You sure you need to pay $1000 that much to terminate? I remember the Contract require us to pay but not $1000 lay.
I am sure abt that cos that M1 C/S told me that. May be that is the way to drag ppl keep subscribe his product and buy time to solve the bad reception issue fast.
By the way, right now i using this M1BB with satisfy speed on this time slot but once afternoon and night time then is will be jam again as all working ppl & student back home start to surf net.
leaving_footsteps
24-01-2007, 09:50 AM
I am sure abt that cos that M1 C/S told me that. May be that is the way to drag ppl keep subscribe his product and buy time to solve the bad reception issue fast.
By the way, right now i using this M1BB with satisfy speed on this time slot but once afternoon and night time then is will be jam again as all working ppl & student back home start to surf net.
$1000 is ridiculous.
I am quite positive you made this up.
magix
24-01-2007, 10:01 AM
I called M1 Shop yesterday to enquire about the broadband promotions and they informed me that the Linksys 3G router is out of stock. The CSO asked me to call at the end of the month.
I checked both Singtel and Starhub webpages, but none seems to have a similar service ie 3G broadband router. Does that mean M1 is the first to use such a technology in SG?
Yep, M1 first in SG to have this service. Singtel I know now in Trial liao. not too sure about Starhub.
iMbEst
24-01-2007, 10:08 AM
Eh, isn't M1's policy for 1 subscriber to have only 1 device? You mean I can rent the router on top of using the USB receiver for free?
Wahaha... CSO meets disgruntled customer ah.
the USB receiver is covered in your $22 subscription. the $10 extra is additional top up for additional router mah, do correct me if i'm wrong.
I read somewhere one, it gives you the flexibility of being mobile, at the same time, share the connection when you're back to home/office.
Yep, M1 first in SG to have this service. Singtel I know now in Trial liao. not too sure about Starhub.
Thanks for the confirmation :)
chiamtj
24-01-2007, 02:26 PM
TAKE NOTE:
I have tried using the SIM card in my E61. The same intermittence problem still exist. Sometimes it works but when plugs into the USB Modem, the SIM card does not work any more. So there seem to be that the SIM card is pre-programmed for USB Modem use only.
This proved that although it is a SIM card it does not works for both PC and SmartPhone(PDA) use. TOO BAD. Thought I can use for both so as to be MOBILE.
I may not subscribe to the plan. Too much complain on the connection issue.
You can use the SIM card in both your phone and USB modem. I plugged mine into my K610i and configured it as a bluetooth modem. That way, I can surf the using my PDA or notebook. But either way, it's still damn slow...
I think the problem is that M1 has very limited overseas bandwidth. When I VPN into my Singapore office network using the M1BB, I can access the net at quite reasonable speeds through the VPN tunnel. But once I'm out of the VPN, overseas sites slow to a crawl.
Kyururu
24-01-2007, 04:35 PM
can some1 using M1 BB help me check your external ip at http://www.ipchicken.com/
is it in the range of 202.65.242.25x and 202.65.241.25x?
iMbEst
24-01-2007, 04:46 PM
how's the upload speed? I'm more concerning about local upload, eg, FTP.
magix
24-01-2007, 05:27 PM
Even surfing with a Mobile phone is already facing problem liao! Can't even load website. Just hung there... I think is really getting bad.
coffeerain
24-01-2007, 06:21 PM
bro & sis,
I double confirm with M1 abt the treminate M1BB b4 six monthes bond is sgd110 not as i claim b4 that around sgd1100.
Sorry for that extra "0"confusion and wrong info.:o
anyway still slow in connection speed and not encourage ppl take up this plan right now. if still not improve later, I will jump ship after 6 month.
iMbEst
24-01-2007, 06:42 PM
can help me try uploading to local servers? what's the speed like? as promised 128kbps?
seowbin
24-01-2007, 06:44 PM
can help me try uploading to local servers? what's the speed like? as promised 128kbps?
why u ask so much qn den still bo get? :s13:
edmw too much is it? tio scolding liao :P
Kyururu
24-01-2007, 06:53 PM
Much higher. my 384k plan can have max u/l speed as high as max d/l. but the issue now is not how high can my speed reach, but how constant can it be maintained at.
iMbEst
24-01-2007, 11:23 PM
why u ask so much qn den still bo get? :s13:
edmw too much is it? tio scolding liao :P
tio what scolding? it's still under planning stage, not even evaluation :D
Bieffe
25-01-2007, 12:13 PM
anyway i've sent a complaint to M1 rgd the unstable connection. a cso called me this morning and said they're trying their best to resolve the connection issue by feb. meanwhile they'll waive my current mth's bill.Yes i did uninstall 1st. Even the icon of Vodaphone doesn't show properly!
Also the lite version connection seems faster.
Blackant
30-01-2007, 02:47 AM
I am using their 1800 kbps plan, and find it very slow during peak hours too. :(
Anyway, I upgrade the software as provided here, the interface looks more cool... :yawn:
Sambuca78
30-01-2007, 09:53 AM
now still no improvement... :mad:
After 10pm is worst than 56k... :mad:
iMbEst
30-01-2007, 10:12 AM
manage to dig a free trial from M1 :D let's see how's it...
ask you all hoh, those using the 3.5G Linksys router one, does it has RJ45 port or die die must use wireless connection?
YorYor
30-01-2007, 10:40 AM
Go Google for the specs of the router lah. It is normal WRT54G router, just added in the PCMCIA slot for the VMC.
How'd you dig a free trial? For how long?
iMbEst
30-01-2007, 10:53 AM
got a special arrangement with M1 corporate team. cannot reveal sorry ah hehe...coz we are buying big bulk from them, must try first b4 committing mah.
i only get to see this:
http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Satellite?c=L_Product_C2&childpagename=US%2FLayout&cid=1160093298732&pagename=Linksys%2FCommon%2FVisitorWrapper
is it the same as the m1 one? coz I thought M1 doesn't have RJ45, but this one have woh.
YorYor
30-01-2007, 11:05 AM
Your Google skills level 1 only is it? ;p
http://www.cnet.com.au/wireless/routers/0,239028898,240060942,00.htm
iMbEst
30-01-2007, 11:13 AM
m1 states that their router only allows 5 wifi users, but never state if it has RJ45 ports. there is no model number mentioned leh.
okay, thanks for the link, so it has 4 ports like normal router too :)
yah, my google skill is still not as solid as you guys :D
wow! $300 for this router alone??? think it makes more sense to rent from M1 man....
YorYor
30-01-2007, 11:15 AM
Have. You never read the router specs in the broadband devices section.
Ask them to give you free trial for router also lor.
iMbEst
30-01-2007, 11:19 AM
so yoryor, have you already got it liao?
YorYor
30-01-2007, 11:34 AM
Not yet. Likely to get lah... it's affordable enough to try out without too much of an impact.
Think terminating phone lines within this week, so will go try it out Thursday or Friday.
iMbEst
30-01-2007, 03:38 PM
why would terminating phone lines affecting your subscription to BB?
anyway, just got the white toy, connect liao nothing happened, need to install any application for it to work huh?
Kyururu
30-01-2007, 05:40 PM
it suppose to auto install VMC lite into ur system when it's connect for the 1st time
iMbEst
30-01-2007, 06:53 PM
auto install? then how to check if it's connected?
i only see blue light blinking
iMbEst
30-01-2007, 08:00 PM
http://img216.imageshack.us/img216/4581/untitledcy2.png
:D:D:D
Saline
30-01-2007, 10:43 PM
anyone tested this broadband near woodlands industrial park E?
if so hows the coverage like?
zhangjm
31-01-2007, 10:04 AM
Sigh. this M1BB is really ridiculous. I tried surfing while on the MRT and found out there's no 3G network underground. When I emerged from Tiong Bahru, I finally got a 3G signal, and by the time I reached my destination, i.e. Clementi, I only managed to open Soccernet and Yahoo homepage. Half the time I was checking if the connection is actually active... Haven't even started browsing yet. GG... was already so frustrated by then I lost all mood to even try again anymore... I bought the 384k plan but I think they registered it as 0.384bps. so much for mobility...
iMbEst
31-01-2007, 10:10 AM
MRT is moving too fast lah.......aiyo.....
zhangjm
31-01-2007, 11:00 AM
fast also cannot be faster than signal right. it's like your making a phone/video call on the move. if it's 384k like they said, u shouldn't even feel any lag while in btw while cell switching. why are you standing up for them? dun tell me u actually get good bandwidth out of it... :S
iMbEst
31-01-2007, 11:09 AM
you didn't see my screen capture above? :D but that's only for day 1......we are conducting more intensive testing now......
well, it's something like 5-6 years ago, while starhub just started their business, the GSM signal is also quite weak mah.....
btw, any idea what's the radiation level for both the PCMCIA card and Hwawei USB receiver? I am very scared kena cancer because of this leh.....
Kyururu
31-01-2007, 01:51 PM
not sure how much radiation is there. but when i'm connected to M1 BB the computer speakers will keep on beeping non stop.
chiamtj
31-01-2007, 02:10 PM
not sure how much radiation is there. but when i'm connected to M1 BB the computer speakers will keep on beeping non stop.
If you hear your speakers beeping, you're stuck in 2G mode which is 56Kbps. Green light on the Huawei USB adapter = 2G, blue light = 3G (384kbps), light blue = 3G+
Mine kena stuck in 2G mode before. Had to go to M1 shop to replace USB modem.
Bieffe
01-02-2007, 12:56 AM
This is not the lite version right?
BuShuang
01-02-2007, 01:06 AM
Sigh. this M1BB is really ridiculous. I tried surfing while on the MRT and found out there's no 3G network underground. When I emerged from Tiong Bahru, I finally got a 3G signal, and by the time I reached my destination, i.e. Clementi, I only managed to open Soccernet and Yahoo homepage. Half the time I was checking if the connection is actually active... Haven't even started browsing yet. GG... was already so frustrated by then I lost all mood to even try again anymore... I bought the 384k plan but I think they registered it as 0.384bps. so much for mobility...
are u a user of 3G phone? if i'm not wrong... all 3 telcos don't have 3G coverage at most if not all underground MRT stations yet... so your comment wasn't exactly shocking when i read it. i noticed that i always lose my 3G coverage when I'm underground :s7:
iMbEst
01-02-2007, 01:23 AM
This is not the lite version right?
what's the main difference between the lite version and this heavy version?
chiamtj, i think my trial set got many different colors, like that means what huh? why need to change the modem leh?
Kyururu
01-02-2007, 09:58 AM
tat's the full version of VMC. it fixed the bug of some users who had previously experienced problems with the VMC lite unable to detect the usb modem. Also bcuz it's full ver it has additional functions. (like sms?) The only gd thing about VMC lite is it autolaunches whenever u connect ur usb modem
saungthamar
01-02-2007, 09:59 AM
how and where can i download this heavy version software ?..
Kyururu
01-02-2007, 10:38 AM
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showpost.php?p=22044518&postcount=273
iMbEst
01-02-2007, 10:47 AM
http://m1.com.sg/broadband/software/GT_Max_v7-05.zip
i noticed something, they dun report the right data usage!!! if I keep on switching computers with the same modem, the usage is always being reset one!
YorYor
01-02-2007, 10:53 AM
So iMbest, what's your appraisal of M1BB? Your use is mainly in a stationary place like office or on the move?
zhangjm
01-02-2007, 11:04 AM
are u a user of 3G phone? if i'm not wrong... all 3 telcos don't have 3G coverage at most if not all underground MRT stations yet... so your comment wasn't exactly shocking when i read it. i noticed that i always lose my 3G coverage when I'm underground :s7:
yeah i am. never noticed 3g's not available underground mrt until m1bb. anyway even if i set the connection preference to 3g prefered, still can't connect at all. can't think of a reason why they can't provide mrt 3g underground? like wtf???
now i have a good reason to avoid picking up a video call from my wife who wanna check where i am. just tell her i'm at some random underground mrt... :S
BTW regarding the screenshot hitting 600+kbs. i use the same version as you and i can see mine hitting 100% (i.e. 384k) as well. but only for like like 1/2 sec, or the moment of the short burst transfer. 99% of the time it's worse than a 56k modem. should use the task manager network connections monitor, more accurate.
YorYor
01-02-2007, 11:19 AM
Because the transmission medium of mobile signals is AIR. Lead and other high density solids (which are present in building infrastructures) weaken/prevent signals from passing through. Especially underground, where the infrastructure has to be especially strong. For analogue calls, it's ok for signals to be distorted/contain noise. Unfortunately, in the world of binary, there are no 1/2s and 1/4s.
You are probably receiving packets along the way, but because of CRC checks or whatever other checks are in force, the packets are being dropped and not registered as data received.
Add to the fact that there are certain stations covering certain areas, and when you move from one coverage area to the next, there's to be handing over etc.
iMbEst
01-02-2007, 11:31 AM
haven't tested things on the move yet. so far it's quite okay, but sometimes quite slow also. As I said, my concern is upload speed, not download speed :D
will go around the island for more intensive testing and post FR here :D
Kyururu
01-02-2007, 11:40 AM
i noticed something, they dun report the right data usage!!! if I keep on switching computers with the same modem, the usage is always being reset one!
the usage record isn't stored in the modem. it saves into the VMC installed on individual pc.
chiamtj
01-02-2007, 12:31 PM
what's the main difference between the lite version and this heavy version?
chiamtj, i think my trial set got many different colors, like that means what huh? why need to change the modem leh?
My USB modem was stuck in 2G mode. It could not get into 3G or 3G+ mode. Went to M1 shop to complain and after testing, they said it was faulty and gave me a new set.
iMbEst
01-02-2007, 01:36 PM
so far I haven't hit the highest speed yet.
Bieffe
01-02-2007, 05:50 PM
Actually i can use my 3G mobile phone for the same purpose right no need to use this Vodafone modem right?
chemist
01-02-2007, 07:11 PM
i couldnt connect into any mirc servers...
anyone any ideas?
zhangjm
01-02-2007, 09:27 PM
Actually i can use my 3G mobile phone for the same purpose right no need to use this Vodafone modem right?
i think you need at least a 3g phone that support HSPDA to get the full potential. correct me if i'm wrong. some very new laptops and handphones have, and many upcoming models too.
i'll go n try it when i'm free too. but change sim card very troublesome... :S the call/sms charges for your m1bb sim is quite ex, so definitely can't use it as a main line. wonder if any providers will offer it together with a calling package in future. that'll be great for those smart phone users with built-in hspda.
iMbEst
01-02-2007, 09:45 PM
huh? the HSDPA SIM by M1 can make calls and SMSes one meh? i doubt so leh, it doesn't have a phone number what.
zhangjm
01-02-2007, 10:03 PM
Read the contract that you signed with M1.
seowbin
01-02-2007, 10:46 PM
huh? the HSDPA SIM by M1 can make calls and SMSes one meh? i doubt so leh, it doesn't have a phone number what.
zhangjm
01-02-2007, 11:05 PM
:s13: how long did u take to think of that reply? I took 15min to think of my 1 liner. :s13:
iMbEst
02-02-2007, 12:04 AM
Read the contract that you signed with M1.
sign what contract? mine is a trial set hoh.
repsoi
02-02-2007, 01:34 AM
Hi , guys , The M1 broadband modem software cannot work under microsoft vista, just for you guys to take note
Kyururu
02-02-2007, 02:38 AM
i couldnt connect into any mirc servers...
anyone any ideas?
if u're toking about galaxynet, yes, there r some issues with M1 bb and sometimes u'll get klined by the server when u try to connect.
From wat i heard from the irc operators, apparently some ppl using M1 BB were spamming in galaxynet, thus getting auto-glined and affected other M1 BB users who were using the same ip. the gline will last for 12hrs and within this 12hrs users who r currently using tat ip willl not be able to connect.
In case u dunno, the external ip is shared among M1 BB users, meaning another user can be concurrently using the same ip as urs, unlike starhub mol and singnet bb, which gives an unique ip to every user.
I've tried reconnecting my vmc continuously to check how many diff ips i can renew to. eventually i found out tat from day 1 using M1, i've been cycling through 4 ips only - 202.65.242.252, 202.65.242.253, 202.65.243.252, 202.65.243.253.
i'm not sure every single user is sharing these 4 ips or not. can u guys check ur ip at http://www.ipchicken.com and c whether it's diff from the 4 ips mentioned above?
JPadPro
02-02-2007, 02:48 AM
Nothing to do with M1BB.
www.ipchicken.com does not reflect the correct WAN IP for me.
www.whatismyip.com correctly reflect my WAN IP.
:)
Kyururu
02-02-2007, 10:13 AM
Nothing to do with M1BB.
www.ipchicken.com does not reflect the correct WAN IP for me.
www.whatismyip.com correctly reflect my WAN IP.
:)
both returns same ip for me.
caltex88
02-02-2007, 10:30 AM
Hi , guys , The M1 broadband modem software cannot work under microsoft vista, just for you guys to take note
wah realii???
Kegler
02-02-2007, 11:26 AM
anyone m1 BB stucked at 2G and cannot go back to 3G ?
im getting 236.8kbps only.... shessh
iMbEst
02-02-2007, 11:38 AM
hey 236.8kbps is quite alright menz!
Kegler
02-02-2007, 11:42 AM
hey 236.8kbps is quite alright menz!
but 2G.... i can't get over to 3G
iMbEst
02-02-2007, 11:57 AM
got such thing as 2G one meh? it's either GPRS or HSDPA what? GPRS ish only 56kbps right?
there is an option to choose both mode or either 1 mode. I ish set to HSDPA only.
Kyururu
02-02-2007, 12:05 PM
i also sometimes got into 2G when 3G signal went down to 1 bar
iMbEst
02-02-2007, 12:07 PM
what is 2G actually?
btw, can we actually SMS people using this toy? can make calls also? what's the charges like?
zhangjm
02-02-2007, 12:10 PM
The G just stands for generation. 2G (2nd generation) = TDMA/CDMA based networks, i.e. GSM. Why don't you just do a google for it before asking questions that's equivalent to shooting yourself in the face.
A good article to read will be http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/3G.
I saw that you posted the screenshot of the VMC. I hope you saw the SMS & MMS button too 'coz it's pretty big.
You can also find the M1 charges on their website, under T&C.
L2G...
chemist
02-02-2007, 01:12 PM
if u're toking about galaxynet, yes, there r some issues with M1 bb and sometimes u'll get klined by the server when u try to connect.
From wat i heard from the irc operators, apparently some ppl using M1 BB were spamming in galaxynet, thus getting auto-glined and affected other M1 BB users who were using the same ip. the gline will last for 12hrs and within this 12hrs users who r currently using tat ip willl not be able to connect.
In case u dunno, the external ip is shared among M1 BB users, meaning another user can be concurrently using the same ip as urs, unlike starhub mol and singnet bb, which gives an unique ip to every user.
I've tried reconnecting my vmc continuously to check how many diff ips i can renew to. eventually i found out tat from day 1 using M1, i've been cycling through 4 ips only - 202.65.242.252, 202.65.242.253, 202.65.243.252, 202.65.243.253.
i'm not sure every single user is sharing these 4 ips or not. can u guys check ur ip at http://www.ipchicken.com and c whether it's diff from the 4 ips mentioned above?
thanks alot ^^
iMbEst
02-02-2007, 01:31 PM
The G just stands for generation. 2G (2nd generation) = TDMA/CDMA based networks, i.e. GSM. Why don't you just do a google for it before asking questions that's equivalent to shooting yourself in the face.
A good article to read will be http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/3G.
I saw that you posted the screenshot of the VMC. I hope you saw the SMS & MMS button too 'coz it's pretty big.
You can also find the M1 charges on their website, under T&C.
L2G...
thanks for the info :D think my network got problem, m1 website kena banned.....ebay was banned too...dunno why.
but I know about GSM, the reason why I asked about the "2G" was because I only got GPRS and 3G 2 options only. how come you guys got "2G" one?
chiamtj
02-02-2007, 01:36 PM
anyone m1 BB stucked at 2G and cannot go back to 3G ?
im getting 236.8kbps only.... shessh
Happened to me also. Take your modem down to M1 Shop for testing. They replaced mine after testing. Modem was stuck in 2G (56Kbps) mode.
chiamtj
02-02-2007, 01:45 PM
2G = GPRS mode (56Kbps mode but VMC icon will show as 236.8Kbps).
In VMC lite software, it shows as 2G but in the full Vodafone Mobile Connect software, it shows as GPRS/EDGE, which is technically, 2.5G. Just to confuse everyone some more .. :)
iMbEst
02-02-2007, 01:58 PM
oh i see....i was using the full version one, that's why lah.
Kegler
02-02-2007, 03:25 PM
but initailly my vodafone lite is showing 3.6mbps
only this week onwards become 284kbps :s11:
i just d/l the full version.... same 284 nia....
bombzaway
02-02-2007, 06:40 PM
has anybody tried using msn or any other chatting service with this broadband? how is your experience?
Slow at night.I find 384kbps plan and 1.8Mbps no difference.
mosmos
02-02-2007, 10:43 PM
has anybody tried using msn or any other chatting service with this broadband? how is your experience?
msn and icq no problem. Btw i am using trillian. :)
Blackant
02-02-2007, 11:25 PM
It is slow down to a crawl now. :(
Seriously wouldn't recommend it to anyone who wish to find alternative to Singnet and MOL. It is just not worth it.
Bieffe
02-02-2007, 11:25 PM
No problem can use. But connect may take long.
But occassionally the connection like dead. Connected by nothing in nothing out.
Maserati
03-02-2007, 09:46 AM
I think the gateway they are using is a bit strange. For example yesterday I was monitoring the COE bid . Using M1 I can't even get a view of the bid at 3pm after 5 mins. I thought maybe the server is rather busy. So I tried using my singtel 56k at least I can load the page and see the bid within 30sec.
ry0suk1
03-02-2007, 10:19 AM
Just dont get this F service with nothing good at all..
Bieffe
03-02-2007, 10:58 AM
It is slow down to a crawl now. :(
Seriously wouldn't recommend it to anyone who wish to find alternative to Singnet and MOL. It is just not worth it.
I agree is not an alternative to broadband. If just better than nothing. Is like a case of best of the worst. But of u thinking of dropping ur current MOL or ADSL for this then u will really be disappointed.
Bieffe
03-02-2007, 11:17 AM
Happened to me also. Take your modem down to M1 Shop for testing. They replaced mine after testing. Modem was stuck in 2G (56Kbps) mode.
Actually how u know is modem spoilt?
Is it due to weak signal? I was also wondering if I'm on 3G then signal drop will it auto switch to 2G and vice versa?
Went u say cannot get to 3G....u mean when u view network also cannot see? When i view network i see many like those from Singtel, Starhub etc usually of 2G and 3G. But when I select M1 3G after trying VCM will tell me unable to connect. Did u guys face this? But when I look at my mobilephone there is no/weak 3G signal also....could this be the cause?
So I not sure is modem or just the signal...cos just yesterday I was using 3G signal. :s11:
Bieffe
03-02-2007, 11:25 AM
Just as i finished my post above I got 3G liao!! But 1 bar only!
ViperKnight
03-02-2007, 12:52 PM
Hmmm... Coverage within buildings are although 3G or 3G+ with 3bar... But the lenancy ping to m1 was about 1700++ms, 40% of the times are timeout...
But when out in the open air, 3G/3G+ even at 3bar or 4bar. Lenancy will be around 200++ms to 400++ms... only occasion timeout, maybe due to station switch over...
Have tried download 36mb eve-online client patch, outdoor download at 46kb/s, completed download in 13minutes, but indoor shows about 7 hours download time and even experience lost of connection/timeout... Give out after 3 tries to download indoor.... (-.-#)
Anyone experience this issue?
Bieffe
03-02-2007, 01:14 PM
Hmmm... Coverage within buildings are although 3G or 3G+ with 3bar... But the lenancy ping to m1 was about 1700++ms, 40% of the times are timeout...
But when out in the open air, 3G/3G+ even at 3bar or 4bar. Lenancy will be around 200++ms to 400++ms... only occasion timeout, maybe due to station switch over...
Have tried download 36mb eve-online client patch, outdoor download at 46kb/s, completed download in 13minutes, but indoor shows about 7 hours download time and even experience lost of connection/timeout... Give out after 3 tries to download indoor.... (-.-#)
Anyone experience this issue?
Yes I experience this too. But some indoor places have antenna so is not always true. But regardless of signal....the connect can be erractic. I too encounter frequent DC when DL or streaming.....infAct streaming is quite impossible.
iMbEst
03-02-2007, 08:00 PM
wah, like that shall buy the 3G wireless router and place it at the windows liao menz......remember to tie it, or else drop to the ground hit people's head no good.... :s22:
Sorry guys, I have a question...
The last I read about M1 Broadband is that it is not 'exactly' unlimited as the small print on their website says that there's a 2GB bandwidth limit?
Exceeding it will be chargeable...
I've tried reading the last few pages of this thread and nothing is mentioned about the bandwidth limit...
So I would appreciate it if you guys can enlighten me as to whether M1 Broadband is indeed UNLIMITED...
If so, I may consider subscribing to their service...
xBlackHawkx
03-02-2007, 10:06 PM
I heard that can update the firmware of the vodafone mobile modem right? Anyone knows whats the link for the patch?
iMbEst
03-02-2007, 11:02 PM
PFG, M1 reserved the right to charge you the surcharge beyond 2GB usage. Didn't you see the charges involved in their website?
It's just that currently, their priority is to improve the network, they are more than happy if you guys are able to download more stuff menz....
Bieffe
04-02-2007, 01:25 AM
I heard that can update the firmware of the vodafone mobile modem right? Anyone knows whats the link for the patch?
iMbEst
04-02-2007, 10:53 AM
er..this is the full version mah, ish not patch right?
4xtemujin
04-02-2007, 11:09 AM
There is only GSM/2G repeater in the MRT tunnel right now and not 3G/HSDPA repeater.
HTH.
xBlackHawkx
04-02-2007, 01:05 PM
oh..thanks alot :)
PFG, M1 reserved the right to charge you the surcharge beyond 2GB usage. Didn't you see the charges involved in their website?
It's just that currently, their priority is to improve the network, they are more than happy if you guys are able to download more stuff menz....
I am aware that the charges for exceeding the 2GB usage is at $0.01 per KB in blocks of 10KB...
That's the reason why I'm thinking that this isn't exactly an unlimited broadband service after all...
I believe there's a debate previously about this, so I'm not going into that debate again...
Just that I'm a tad disappointed that despite having the bandwidth caps, in hopes to improve their network, people are still experiencing slowdowns...
Like all newly launched service in Singapore, probably more time has to be given for them to iron out the problems...
But personally, I'm really keen in signing up for the service, but the 2GB bandwidth caps is truly a turn-off...
iMbEst
04-02-2007, 08:46 PM
what's so turned off? nobody get charged so far, there is no debate. Before they can truly make the broadband stable, they have no extra resources to track the 2GB as most people are under utilizing it.
come on, $22/month, what are you expecting?
ry0suk1
05-02-2007, 01:12 AM
For those who are getting it..
Good points:
Can surf everywhere that got coverage.
Extra portable
Bad points:
Low Speed depending on location and time.
D/C everytime.
Stay connected but cant surf.
Ports all Block.
Never use for:
Gaming.
Large file d/l.
Loading large emails.
Msn chatting on peak.
Stock exchange.
Business trading.
So far can think of this only!
Kyururu
05-02-2007, 10:00 AM
For those who wan to upgrade firmware for the usb modem, email M1 and they'll give u the link. wks ago they uploaded it to yousendit.com but the link expired.
ViperKnight
11-02-2007, 11:54 AM
eh... Anyone happen to have downloaded firmware update for the USB modem? can pm me if you have it?
Anyway... recently being seems "SIM CARD NOT READY" error... think the USB modem problem/sim card problem... Called the customer service support... they also said there's quite number of user having this problem... Anyone having this problem?
Went down to paragon yesterday but it's too freaking packed... maybe I'll go down on monday morning or tuesday morning when it's just open...
mosmos
11-02-2007, 11:56 AM
eh... Anyone happen to have downloaded firmware update for the USB modem? can pm me if you have it?
Anyway... recently being seems "SIM CARD NOT READY" error... think the USB modem problem/sim card problem... Called the customer service support... they also said there's quite number of user having this problem... Anyone having this problem?
Went down to paragon yesterday but it's too freaking packed... maybe I'll go down on monday morning or tuesday morning when it's just open...
go to IMM branch. Not a single queue :)
btw, i am using pc card, no such problem :)
iMbEst
11-02-2007, 12:38 PM
i think the modem is also not meant for 24/7 one leh....must get the PCMCIA card + 3G router.
shotz
11-02-2007, 12:52 PM
go to IMM branch. Not a single queue :)
btw, i am using pc card, no such problem :)
how's the speed like, based on using pc card ?
iMbEst
11-02-2007, 01:15 PM
I'm also thinking of getting the PC Card. USB one seems very weak, any idea who OEM the PCMCIA card? the USB modem is from Huawei....i think it's not meant for 24/7 one lah.
mosmos
11-02-2007, 05:52 PM
how's the speed like, based on using pc card ?
the speed same as those mention using usb.
I only got 2 bar using in office at tuas. Sometimes spped exceed the 384k, sometimes no data, just click refresh will solve the problem. But after 4-4.30pm, the speed is quite slow but still better than 56k modem. I think it's more of the 3G reception problem at M1 side.
1 thing i don't like is that the pc-card feels quite hot after several hrs of use :(
mosmos
11-02-2007, 05:52 PM
I'm also thinking of getting the PC Card. USB one seems very weak, any idea who OEM the PCMCIA card? the USB modem is from Huawei....i think it's not meant for 24/7 one lah.
The antenna not much use. I only got 2 bar in tuas. :)
I thought it's by option? It's made in ireland.
radon
11-02-2007, 07:18 PM
The pcmcia card i get is from manufactured by OPTION Wireless Technology.
iMbEst
11-02-2007, 07:36 PM
anybody try running it 24/7?
magix
12-02-2007, 03:38 PM
anybody try running it 24/7?
Don't think it can run 24 x 7. Every morning 1AM i can't login. Anyone facing this problem? Woodland area.
iMbEst
12-02-2007, 04:02 PM
can't M1 modem login itself? what about those using the linksys 3G router + PC card?
mosmos
12-02-2007, 08:30 PM
can't M1 modem login itself? what about those using the linksys 3G router + PC card?
what do you meant by login by itself?
If you want auto-dial, you can disable the auto-startup of vodafone software.
And set the internet option -> always dial the default connection -> 3G(default). :)
YorYor
13-02-2007, 12:00 AM
Completed office shifting, just subscribed to the 384 for trial.
Will share my opinions and findings after I've completed setting up my office network.
At 8+ from their outlet in Tampines Mall, the HTTP connection to my own server in Expan looks ok.
If it can maintain that for most parts of the day, I'll be happy liao.
ry0suk1
13-02-2007, 12:23 AM
wish u good luck yoryor. signal below 3 bar is bad..
Anyone guys can we sway the usb with the pcm card?
YorYor
13-02-2007, 12:46 AM
Thanks. Hope it'll be ok in the target area.
If you want to, gotta pay a fee of $10 for device change...
magix
13-02-2007, 02:40 AM
seems like the lower speed plan is more stable. Where the 1.8 and 3.6 has a lot of problem.
radon
13-02-2007, 08:53 AM
Thanks. Hope it'll be ok in the target area.
If you want to, gotta pay a fee of $10 for device change...
it's not $10. I pay $20 for the swap.
YorYor
13-02-2007, 06:25 PM
Is it $20? I remember hearing the CS guy telling me it was $10. Anyway, first day of using it, fairly happy.
Am on the 384 plan... and it was fairly reliable and consistent for me. 4-bar signal in my office area (Aljunied), and I was getting download speeds of about 20KB/s from most sites that I was visiting (Microsoft downloads, HP downloads, Canon SG, ECS Taiwan).
Only thing I noticed is that after rebooting, sometimes it won't detect the USB modem and fail to auto-connect. Anyone else noticed this? Might be an installation problem I guess, try reinstalling if it persists.
Will also try a FTP transfer to see what the burst & average transfer rates are going to be like.
etegration
13-02-2007, 07:26 PM
anything for Vista?
ooneguy
13-02-2007, 09:44 PM
hi there,
is anyone on the thread running this USB or PC card device on a Linux machine?
otherwise, could the owners of these please post the exact make and model so that i can run a check ... many thanks.
went to the M1 site and as usual, nothing is being mentioned of Linux and i don't even want to bother and call - coz i'm pretty sure that i will get the same "oh, linux ... err ... not supported" kind of answer.
ps - considering getting the $22 per month plan for checking emails and stuff but my notebook's running linux :P
YorYor
13-02-2007, 10:42 PM
I plan to try one of these days, but not at the moment, too many things to settle.
Go to Google and you'll find reports on users elsewhere trying to use VMC in Linux, mainly Debian and Fedora.
ooneguy
13-02-2007, 11:00 PM
apparently there has been some success from what I gather from google. just wanted to see if any kind soul could provide me with the exact make+model so that i can track and see if its the same ... being checking around my KAKIS as well but apparently none of them has this - else I thought I could borrow theirs for a few days and run some tests :P
AsteroidS
14-02-2007, 12:50 AM
i wonder where can get the mini-card... i using starhub compaq laptop, the expresscard slot is smaller de... the m1 one cant slot in fully...
iMbEst
14-02-2007, 01:22 AM
why not pay $10 more for the 3G wifi router and you can forget about all these funny workaround?
I'm interested in the mini card too, coz it shall be able to sustain 24/7/365 :D I need to use this on my IPC menz....
YorYor
14-02-2007, 09:55 AM
I don't think the router is very portable at all.
ksat90
14-02-2007, 11:35 AM
I just got my M1BB a few weeks ago. At first i signed up for the 384kbps plan. It was quite ok, speeds around 20-30, sometimes 40 kbps (kilobytes, not kilobits). After a while, seeing that the 1.8mbps was only for 38, i upgraded to it.
They told me it was fixed by day end, but then i didn't see any speed difference, only after a few days the speeds went slightly up to around 50, 60-ish.
The 384kbps plan is much more stable as the speeds go around 20 to 30 kbps but the 1.8mbps plan fluctuates a lot... if i dl some files from download.com, the speeds could range from 3kbps to 90+kbps. I think I rather switch back to the 384 plan than the 1800 plan cos it seriously isn't that worth it.
I also experienced some problems with the usb plug. It often disconnects itself from my computer. Then, I have to unplug it and replug it and wait about 2-3 mins b4 it can be detected again. Anyone experienced this? Also, the VMC lite seems very laggy...
iMbEst
14-02-2007, 12:27 PM
The 3G router is not portal at all, but it's "portable" to the extend where you have a power source(battery instead of DC Power supply?). The key is, does ooneguy is using his linux notebook on the go? or just at a fix location.
ksat90, you shall just stick to 384kbps as they are still upgrading the infrastructure. why pay more when it's only available at certain spots? so far, the 384kbps seems to be the most promising onez....
magix
14-02-2007, 12:27 PM
I just got my M1BB a few weeks ago. At first i signed up for the 384kbps plan. It was quite ok, speeds around 20-30, sometimes 40 kbps (kilobytes, not kilobits). After a while, seeing that the 1.8mbps was only for 38, i upgraded to it.
They told me it was fixed by day end, but then i didn't see any speed difference, only after a few days the speeds went slightly up to around 50, 60-ish.
The 384kbps plan is much more stable as the speeds go around 20 to 30 kbps but the 1.8mbps plan fluctuates a lot... if i dl some files from download.com, the speeds could range from 3kbps to 90+kbps. I think I rather switch back to the 384 plan than the 1800 plan cos it seriously isn't that worth it.
I also experienced some problems with the usb plug. It often disconnects itself from my computer. Then, I have to unplug it and replug it and wait about 2-3 mins b4 it can be detected again. Anyone experienced this? Also, the VMC lite seems very laggy...
I agree with you. The 384 plan speed is much more stable. Where the 1.8mbps plan which I use to have fluctuates a lot. Sometimes It just stop loading the page half way. Had to disconnect and reconnect back.
So far VMC seems ok. But I am trying out my connect on Options globersurfer ICON.
YorYor
14-02-2007, 01:27 PM
Hmmm, guess I luckily made the right choice going with the 384 then?
Who's tried the full VMC? Any more pointers about the pros and cons of VMC vs VMC Lite?
ksat90
14-02-2007, 03:30 PM
Anyone knows whether they charge if you downgrade a plan?
iMbEst
14-02-2007, 04:00 PM
call them and ask lah. then post here :D
WooHoo
14-02-2007, 07:31 PM
anything for Vista?
Today when down to m1 shop, to get the broadband. But when home with disappointment, as the guy at the counter said can't support vista.
dragos
14-02-2007, 08:44 PM
Hmmm, guess I luckily made the right choice going with the 384 then?
Who's tried the full VMC? Any more pointers about the pros and cons of VMC vs VMC Lite?
the lite version takes a while to detect the modem...
Cyberboy128
14-02-2007, 09:04 PM
Today when down to m1 shop, to get the broadband. But when home with disappointment, as the guy at the counter said can't support vista.
I am using the PCMCIA card with Vista, and Yes, it is supported.
Of course you cannot use the XP drivers or drivers provided in CD, get the Vista drivers here:-
http://www.business.vodafone.com/site/bus/public/enuk/support/10_productsupport/general/microsoft/vista/10_datacards/p_upgradevista.jsp
Wolfaro
14-02-2007, 10:01 PM
just kpkb to them.....hopefully they waive off 1mth for u
iMbEst
14-02-2007, 10:54 PM
just kpkb to them.....hopefully they waive off 1mth for u
that's not very nice if you do it because you are cheapskate but not because of their infrastructure services.
YorYor
14-02-2007, 10:56 PM
the lite version takes a while to detect the modem...
So the full version is better?
WooHoo
15-02-2007, 01:11 AM
I am using the PCMCIA card with Vista, and Yes, it is supported.
Of course you cannot use the XP drivers or drivers provided in CD, get the Vista drivers here:-
http://www.business.vodafone.com/site/bus/public/enuk/support/10_productsupport/general/microsoft/vista/10_datacards/p_upgradevista.jsp
Oww.. guess i'm out of luck again. As my laptop only have express card slot. USB Modem vista driver still not availiable :( Btw can request from M1 a Novatel 3G Broadband Express Card(XU870)?
iMbEst
15-02-2007, 01:58 AM
what's the difference between PCMCIA and express card slot? express card slot smaller?
WooHoo
15-02-2007, 02:13 AM
what's the difference between PCMCIA and express card slot? express card slot smaller?
Hmm the shape looks different: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ExpressCard
iMbEst
15-02-2007, 02:15 AM
OMG, didn't notice this, not sure if my X60 is using PCMCIA or Express Card leh....jialat.
YorYor
15-02-2007, 11:52 AM
Ok, a screenshot as promised for others who are still undecided.
390kbps (48.75KB/sec) download rate
http://img184.imageshack.us/img184/4956/vmczn2.th.jpg (http://img184.imageshack.us/my.php?image=vmczn2.jpg)
39KB/sec upload rate
http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/9978/vmcftpfh9.th.jpg (http://img254.imageshack.us/my.php?image=vmcftpfh9.jpg)
384 plan is good enough for me at the moment, until I hear more reports of the 1.8 being stable. However, do note that I'm getting 4-bar signal in my office area, so that might have helped loads.
15-02-2007, 03:56 PM
If i want to get the Router type, how it works? Must combine with the USB type or the router and plug in Sim card and plug into the USB port?
iMbEst
15-02-2007, 04:45 PM
Router has a PCMCIA slot for you to slot in the PC Card with SIM card inside.
btw, do you guys get the Huawei usb modem in a nice nice red color box? got 3 types of USB cables one, the L shape, the short one and the long long USB cable.
ksat90
15-02-2007, 06:09 PM
Yup...
Anyways, I tried using the modem without using VMC Lite or VMC. I just went to the network connections then use the dial-up method and got it working. I haven't really tested it, but downloads and surfing seems faster now. Could it be that the VMC program also uses a bit of bandwidth?
xBlackHawkx
15-02-2007, 11:05 PM
Anyone had this problem whereby you have to unplug your modem in order to boot up to windows. Otherwise it will freeze at the boot screen until i unplug the modem.
iMbEst
16-02-2007, 01:50 AM
no such boot up issue leh.
SoulEraser
16-02-2007, 04:59 AM
@ BlackHawk: happened to my wireless router before. just plug in that router into another desktop or laptop and let them detect the modem. then plug back into the problematic computer.
happens when u give your pc a hard reset when the router is processing something, hence causing the conflict at bootup, resulting in a freeze up.
hope it helped you.
Wolfaro
16-02-2007, 08:46 AM
that's not very nice if you do it because you are cheapskate but not because of their infrastructure services.
the 1.8mbps was ok till the 3rd wave of subscriber came in...
even m1 acknowledge the problem, below are the email. So i call in and they automatically offer a 1mth waiver for my case...
Dear Mr XXX,
Thank you for your e-mail of 4 February 2007.
Mr XXX, we appreciate your feedback pertaining to the speed of M1 Broadband. Due to overwhelming response from customers to M1 Broadband service, we are experiencing slow Internet connectivity.
Nevertheless, M1 is fully aware of the issues and currently working on resolving them as soon as possible. We seek your patience and understanding in this matter. You may wish to note that the speed you will experience is determined by a combination of factors such as coverage, location, network traffic and the type of data being transmitted.
iMbEst
16-02-2007, 10:51 AM
3rd wave? got multiple wave meh? how you know which wave is which wave? :D
Wolfaro
16-02-2007, 11:55 AM
3rd wave? got multiple wave meh? how you know which wave is which wave? :D
ur time is like 3rd wave liao..
1st wave is the early dec 1st bunch one lor...
Saline
16-02-2007, 06:03 PM
I've read on the website that we could loan either 1 of the devices, which should I go for? the normal white USB modem or the slim sized card sized modem? I'm using the starhub free notebook..
xBlackHawkx
17-02-2007, 11:08 AM
@ BlackHawk: happened to my wireless router before. just plug in that router into another desktop or laptop and let them detect the modem. then plug back into the problematic computer.
happens when u give your pc a hard reset when the router is processing something, hence causing the conflict at bootup, resulting in a freeze up.
hope it helped you.
Even though i did a safe reset, it still freezes until i unplug the modem. Thats wierd...
Maserati
17-02-2007, 06:01 PM
Even though i did a safe reset, it still freezes until i unplug the modem. Thats wierd...
Yah I encounter similar problem with one of my PC. If I plug in the usb modem b4 windoze is full loaded up, the mouse and k/b cannot response. So i have to plug in only after windozes is loaded and Harddisk is not running much. I seldom use the PC so didn't bother. but I believe you can find it quite annoying if you forget to remove your modem b4 you switch on your PC.
chintio
17-02-2007, 09:28 PM
I've read on the website that we could loan either 1 of the devices, which should I go for? the normal white USB modem or the slim sized card sized modem? I'm using the starhub free notebook..
Take the usb. So if u need to use it on ur desktop, its easier.
magix
21-02-2007, 10:10 AM
Take the usb. So if u need to use it on ur desktop, its easier.
I think the usb modem is best lah! desktop and laptop all can use. During CNY the BB speed is very slow! Wonder what actually happen.
iMbEst
21-02-2007, 10:29 AM
if you have the 3G router, simi sai also can use, be it RJ45 or Wifi :D
YorYor
21-02-2007, 02:22 PM
Yeap. I suspect the mobile phone usage crowded out the stations. Was able to connect, but can't even ping their DNS servers reliably, resulting in an inability to resolve domain names. Even pinging my own servers' IPs were like 1 reply in 20 pings.
All the "Gong Xi Fa Cai" and what joke CNY greetings flying all over the place, station can't switch fast enough I'm guessing. But good that today immediately all ok.
Either they were doing maintenance (which was a bad call) or it was really a case of being overloaded and not able to cope.
etegration
21-02-2007, 04:46 PM
anyone got this M1 BB to work with Vista?
seowbin
22-02-2007, 10:10 AM
if you have the 3G router, simi sai also can use, be it RJ45 or Wifi :D
hi 4ever 0 post count junior member :D
iMbEst
22-02-2007, 11:04 AM
FOREVER 0 POST COUNT??! WHAT COCK YOU TALKING WOH?
seowbin
22-02-2007, 03:23 PM
FOREVER 0 POST COUNT??! WHAT COCK YOU TALKING WOH?
tot u going to be 4ever 0 post count liao :s13:
post more in edmw ;)
iMbEst
22-02-2007, 05:05 PM
I was trying to get negative post count lah, that's why you keep on seeing Zeroes...
hesperus
24-02-2007, 04:26 PM
by right, it is 20 dollars... but the cso told me that she will waive the downgrade charge if i want to downgrade in future - in case i find the BB1800 not worth the money..
anytime
24-02-2007, 05:08 PM
i just subscribed to $22 plan. right now connected to a 3.6mbps connection. guess they have not tweak the setting yet. so far, i find that connection is good. reasonable for ppl like me who need a mobile connection.
2G may be too little. i stream a lot of data daily and 56k news. thus, dunno if it will hit 2G in less than a month. so, only day time i will use mobile connect, night time go for my snbb.
$22 cannot complain... 6 months later will just terminate if no good.
YorYor
25-02-2007, 10:08 AM
I think the VMC Lite will always show 3.6Mbps, but your actual data transfer will be throttled accordingly.
Anyway, like you said, for $22, can't complain. :)
I'm a fairly satisfied user to date.
magix
25-02-2007, 10:49 AM
I think the VMC Lite will always show 3.6Mbps, but your actual data transfer will be throttled accordingly.
Anyway, like you said, for $22, can't complain. :)
I'm a fairly satisfied user to date.
I try to $22 and the $38 plan. The speed for $22 plan is a lot more stable. The $38 is like try luck. Either damn fast or damn slow.
Is it true that I cannot use Skype with this?
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.