PDA

View Full Version : M1 boardband User Thread

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9

iMbEst
25-02-2007, 11:42 AM
Is it true that I cannot use Skype with this?

unless M1 blocks it, you can use anything that runs...

Unclemun
25-02-2007, 02:30 PM
unless M1 blocks it, you can use anything that runs...

tested it on the cheapest plan. Can use but encountered dropped carrier after about 10 minutes. Using it on my pda.

iMbEst
25-02-2007, 05:34 PM
tested it on the cheapest plan. Can use but encountered dropped carrier after about 10 minutes. Using it on my pda.

simi application? skype? or BT?

ckjo23
27-02-2007, 11:50 AM
Hi, sign up yest, USB modem having problem with the VMC Lite on my SH free lappy (XP Media Center Ed). Downloaded full version VMC, things seem to be ok now. Tested on my Samsung X20 (XP Pro), no problem at all, PnP well. Any guys facing the same situation?

Looked through the threads and saw someone mentioning about flashing of the USB modem. Possible? Any links?

Kyururu
27-02-2007, 02:52 PM
my SH lappy has the same problem too; need the full ver to work. tested my PC with VMC lite and it works fine.

flashed the usb modem but looks no different to me. if you wan to try flashing, contact M1 and they'll send u a link for the firmware upgrade. the previous link they gave me is down.

croc1977
27-02-2007, 04:49 PM
Sorry guys, I have a question...

The last I read about M1 Broadband is that it is not 'exactly' unlimited as the small print on their website says that there's a 2GB bandwidth limit?
Exceeding it will be chargeable...
I've tried reading the last few pages of this thread and nothing is mentioned about the bandwidth limit...

So I would appreciate it if you guys can enlighten me as to whether M1 Broadband is indeed UNLIMITED...
If so, I may consider subscribing to their service...
i also consider subscribing

but i worried i can surf more than 2gb...anybody kana penalty this for this b4?

zx
28-02-2007, 11:46 AM
The USB modem's software has issues with Win XP media edition. I called up the M1 helpdesk and they advised me to download the software for the PC card, and right now it is working perfectly. Used the modem during the CNY period and the speed is decent, quite fast actually. But I am a little concerned because I used about 150mb a day, so I will definitely exceed their supposed 2GB limit. Heng I dun use it daily :D

defn
28-02-2007, 12:33 PM
I see, because I read somewhere in their terms and conditions that they explicitly mentioned you cannot use VOIP with M1 Broadband. Well anyway, I might considering subscribing when E90 comes out :D

iMbEst
28-02-2007, 02:03 PM
I see, because I read somewhere in their terms and conditions that they explicitly mentioned you cannot use VOIP with M1 Broadband. Well anyway, I might considering subscribing when E90 comes out :D

huh? cannot use VoIP meh?

Kyururu
28-02-2007, 03:43 PM
my speed is so sucky today i can hardly surf any site decently. using 384kbps. my usage for this month nv even reach 500mb. i'm more concerned about the stability than the 2gb limitation.

magix
28-02-2007, 03:48 PM
FYI

http://img237.imageshack.us/img237/5161/m1bbny0.jpg

iMbEst
28-02-2007, 03:52 PM
changed liao, limited to 5GB per month.

magix
28-02-2007, 03:52 PM
Another shot

http://img243.imageshack.us/img243/6567/m1bb2ta3.jpg

magix
28-02-2007, 03:55 PM
changed liao, limited to 5GB per month.

5GB where got enough man! then 10gb subjected to suspend your service. Wah where got ISP like tat.

Bieffe
02-03-2007, 04:24 PM
So anyone has a vaild link to the firmware flash for the USB Haiwei modem?

Bieffe
02-03-2007, 04:31 PM
This type of ISP keep changing the terms and condition. Is very scary. Suddenly they can become very limted and sometimes broadband.

n0d3
02-03-2007, 05:47 PM
Contractual period is what? 6 months?

dantok
02-03-2007, 05:52 PM
What the ****? We use broadband. They can suspend one meh? We sign contract cause unlimited, this is in breach of contracts. Btw. I figured out how to make the M1 Broadband SUPER SUPER FAST =) Interested? PM ME =)

liangtam
02-03-2007, 06:45 PM
Much better than previously which claims Unlimited but inside 'Fair use' policy got 2GB clause ma

iMbEst
02-03-2007, 07:26 PM
So anyone has a vaild link to the firmware flash for the USB Haiwei modem?

hey, SIC leh!!!!!! got the firmware for PCMCIA card or not? I ish going to subscribe to the PCMCIA card leh.

:s12: :s12:

so the previous 3G @ 56kbps plan is gone liao is it? last time 56kbps they ish set 2GB nia. then I asked them, can use the model 24 hours? that guy said the modem may burnt..... :s22:

nova_nebula
02-03-2007, 09:08 PM
like that at least Sinknet and Studhub Unlimited is really Unlimited, not like M1 Unlimited means got limit one.

xBlackHawkx
03-03-2007, 10:55 AM
M1 broadband is getting ridiculous... i just hope i can break contract if i can..

Bieffe
03-03-2007, 11:15 AM
I think somebody should write to the press and demand that M1 remove the word unlimited in their add. Fair use policy and 5Gb limit is simply...bullying us.

Once minimum contract of 6mths end...likely I will switch.

dantok
03-03-2007, 11:19 AM
I agree, something has to be done. Alot of people are getting pissed off.

Bieffe
03-03-2007, 11:32 AM
What the ****? We use broadband. They can suspend one meh? We sign contract cause unlimited, this is in breach of contracts. Btw. I figured out how to make the M1 Broadband SUPER SUPER FAST =) Interested? PM ME =)
Tried to PM u but u box is full so can u come here or PM me instead to share ur tricks?

iMbEst
03-03-2007, 12:03 PM
like that at least Sinknet and Studhub Unlimited is really Unlimited, not like M1 Unlimited means got limit one.

hello, how can you compare HSDPA broadband with ADSL/cable broadband?? M1 is the only player in the market now, so you cannot complain, take it or leave it lah. Wait til Singnet and Starhub come out HSDPA broadband then say lah, by the time, competition will be strong....

but I'm just afraid that they all pakat together and jerk up the price, just like those petrol companies like that.....sibeh sianz.....

dun 得寸进尺 lah, with the price of $22, i think it's very good liao.....if we can hack it to full 3.6Mbps, that's even better! So, mai hum mai hum, opps, i meant, mai hiam......

weeguy
03-03-2007, 12:26 PM
I think somebody should write to the press and demand that M1 remove the word unlimited in their add. Fair use policy and 5Gb limit is simply...bullying us.

M1 has a two-page spread in the Straits Times today (Saturday). No mention of the word "unlimited" in the advertisement.

vinlloyd
03-03-2007, 02:23 PM

your inbox is full, dun mind pm me on e tweaking
tq

iMbEst
03-03-2007, 02:33 PM
i doubt they will come out an unlimited plan as the network is shared with mobile customers too. maybe $100 per month like they launched the very first GPRS plan? but even with $100 that time, it's also capped at 2GB too.

ccarol90
03-03-2007, 02:56 PM

This 5GB policy only begins in april. the unlimited wording is removed iirc.

my company users have only managed to hit a max of 3+gb....no more.

ccarol90
03-03-2007, 02:57 PM
hello, how can you compare HSDPA broadband with ADSL/cable broadband?? M1 is the only player in the market now, so you cannot complain, take it or leave it lah. Wait til Singnet and Starhub come out HSDPA broadband then say lah, by the time, competition will be strong....

but I'm just afraid that they all pakat together and jerk up the price, just like those petrol companies like that.....sibeh sianz.....

dun 得寸进尺 lah, with the price of $22, i think it's very good liao.....if we can hack it to full 3.6Mbps, that's even better! So, mai hum mai hum, opps, i meant, mai hiam......
i doubt it's possible to hack it.... it's not like your cable modem hacking the upload cap.
it's a download cap... and usually that is enforced at the backend.

ccarol90
03-03-2007, 03:02 PM
i doubt they will come out an unlimited plan as the network is shared with mobile customers too. maybe $100 per month like they launched the very first GPRS plan? but even with $100 that time, it's also capped at 2GB too.
yeah, we were using that all the way. never really worried about the 2gb cos hey, work requirements were not so heavy on data transmission unlike today, a few years down the road/.

we moved from their GPRS unlimited (with cost cap) to 3g and now to the HSDPA versions. more efficient speeds better since company is moving almost everything into soft versions... sigh.

iMbEst
03-03-2007, 03:37 PM
i doubt it's possible to hack it.... it's not like your cable modem hacking the upload cap.
it's a download cap... and usually that is enforced at the backend.

i think 50% correct, coz the backend also need to work well with the modem what? If they hack the modem, there maybe something which they can bypass the backend. Anyway, i believe 魔高一丈, unless they dun want to take me in as their customer :D I'm planning to subscribe more than 100lines u know? :D

Sambuca78
03-03-2007, 07:09 PM
Today M1 Broadband is slow again.... :(

magix
03-03-2007, 11:37 PM
your inbox is full, dun mind pm me on e tweaking
tq

Any respond from him yet?

vinlloyd
03-03-2007, 11:49 PM
Any respond from him yet?

nope, not yet

iMbEst
04-03-2007, 12:02 AM
is he a hoax?

goukiakuma
04-03-2007, 01:09 AM
i also interest to know...

osirisis
04-03-2007, 08:45 AM
newbie here.
Btw, is it possible for someone to "hijak" the modem that is personalised to you? basically how does M1 know how much u surf? tks.

YorYor
04-03-2007, 10:15 AM
Like how does SingTel know how long you talked on the phone? SIM Card = Mobile Number = Traceable = Loggable?

magix
04-03-2007, 10:25 AM
nope, not yet

Okie thanks.

Is really kind of sian 1/2 that the service is nor longer unlimited and it making people feeling tat M1 BB are for people who are in the move instead of replacing their current ADSL/Cable.

Their $22 plan is good for people who dun need high speed.

ViperKnight
07-03-2007, 01:05 AM
So anyone have the firmware for the usb yet? Please let me know so I can host the file...

xBlackHawkx
07-03-2007, 07:55 AM
i wanna know too..mine is buggy and always crashes

iMbEst
07-03-2007, 10:16 AM
newbie here.
Btw, is it possible for someone to "hijak" the modem that is personalised to you? basically how does M1 know how much u surf? tks.

all transactions are tracked, as detailed as possible, or in technical, we called, as atomic as possible :D

you simi pariah pattern they also know one.

sultandingodile
18-03-2007, 01:50 PM
Just got my M1BB yesterday, sharing my experience.

Upfront u have to pay $26.25 to pay for the new sim card. The M1 staff was clear and even went so far as to tell me that the modems aren't supported by Vista (of course most stuff arent...)

Quite fast and easy to set up and connect.

But excruciatingly slow so far, dunno whether its cos the signal is weak (1-2bars out of 5), my location is bad (i live in TPayoh) or the service is just slow.

Here is the speedtest.net result:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/100785832.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Downloading MSN messenger: 17.2mb file @ 5kb/s on avg

It takes too long to load a 30 sec video from Youtube (the Mac vs Vista ads)

They promise 1.8mbs, but this is more like 56k modem speeds....
I did expect the service to be slow, but not that slow! Hope they improve on it...

Haven't had time to set up my Outlook/Thunderbird yet, and will go get really mobile with my laptop to see if speeds improve...keep u guys posted.

shotz
18-03-2007, 03:12 PM
which device did u opt for ?
usb or pc card ?

sultandingodile
18-03-2007, 03:36 PM
usb or pc card ?pc card, if wanna swap to usb, must pay 20 bucks, vice versa. Irrepairable damage will cost $350 to get a brand new one, if parts broken, ie antenna break, will cost $20 to repair.

the software it comes in allows you to send sms from ur pc.

here is the M1 FAQ regarding their service:
http://www.m1.com.sg/broadband/faqs.htm

osirisis
18-03-2007, 05:39 PM
all transactions are tracked, as detailed as possible, or in technical, we called, as atomic as possible :D

you simi pariah pattern they also know one.

i see. than it must be a fake lah.. cos i heard from frens fren selling such thingy said direct from OEM manufacture leh.... :s13:

thongjy
19-03-2007, 01:06 PM
Okie thanks.

Is really kind of sian 1/2 that the service is nor longer unlimited and it making people feeling tat M1 BB are for people who are in the move instead of replacing their current ADSL/Cable.

Their $22 plan is good for people who dun need high speed.
but is their $22 plan almost same as 56k modem speed?

ry0suk1
19-03-2007, 01:45 PM
yup its very very slow.. during peak hr. its d/c everytime even show connected.. and drop below the speed of 56k modem!!

mosmos
19-03-2007, 01:55 PM
usb or pc card ?
i would recommend pc card.

Last wk, i had juz subscribe another 1 with usb modem and this time is 1800k.

To my horror, same place same location same laptop, usb modem can only manage ard 70kb, while the pc card on 384k can achieve more than 100kb. :crazy:

guess i am going to send them an email reminder :(

mosmos
19-03-2007, 01:58 PM
yup its very very slow.. during peak hr. its d/c everytime even show connected.. and drop below the speed of 56k modem!!
i think it's depends on yr location. :)

i have no problem with that using pc card, but usb modem is problematic :(

ry0suk1
19-03-2007, 02:14 PM
yup alot ppl says the pc card is better then the usb modem..

YorYor
19-03-2007, 05:07 PM
I have to disagree that the USB modem is problematic.
Only once in a while do I have the system not detecting the USB. So far since I started using in mid-Feb, this has only happened twice. A reboot will always resolve it.
Otherwise, power on, boot into Win2K and the modem starts connecting.
During office hours, I'm still getting anything from 15KB-45KB/sec when updating my various Ubuntu systems.
On a 56K, download speeds are at an average of 4-5KB/sec.
Using VMCLite software, it showd 4-bar signal strength in my office. So there goes.

ooneguy
19-03-2007, 05:12 PM
ok - we have mix responses with regards to the usb or pc card device. now, are there anyone whom is able to use either the usb or pc card device on a linux system?

YorYor
19-03-2007, 07:01 PM
From what I've read, it's a bit of a hassle. If you're using Ubuntu / Debian, go to Ubuntu forums and do a search.
It's probably not going to be very much different for other distros, but you'll need to be familiar with the underlying file structure to know where to apply the differences.
I haven't tried it myself, cause I like the monitoring of usage available in the sofware, now that the 5GB limit is going to get implemented soon.
And I don't have the time to try to get this to work, followed by configuring my fileserver into a router, and then making sure dhcpd works properly.
Good luck, if you are able to get it work, contribute a howto!

e398fan
20-03-2007, 11:32 AM
just checking, if I were to sign up for the BB1.8mbps plan and I use it only at Home in Bukit Panjang area, would I get up to 1.8mbps or less then 512kbps ?

Checking before I sign up

iMbEst
20-03-2007, 12:28 PM
why do you all want to pay so much for 1.8? the 384 one is more than enough right?

anfield22
20-03-2007, 04:20 PM
just to bring this to the attention of all m1BBers who may be using vista,

as it is already mentioned by the m1 staff if you were to enquire, the m1 broadband devices are not vista compatible. with all due respect, the m1 staff do not know jack****. but in all fairness, they are not vodafone staff, and this is a vodafone issue.

there are 2 components in play for the m1bb devices, one is the firmware and the other is the software. so far the reason for vista incompatibility is due to the software (VMC/VMC Lite) being incompatible with windows vista.

*however* vodafone has already released an updated version of VMC which can be downloaded at http://www.business.vodafone.com/site/bus/public/enuk/p_vista.jsp

this version VMC will only work for the PC Card version of the broadband device. this means that the pc card can work with this software on vista. if i had known this earlier i would have gotten the pc card instead of the USB.

for those using the huawei e220 usb modem, a new, vista-compatible version of VMC Lite is in the works. its is not out yet, but from what i have read from vodafone reps in foreign forums, the BETA version is already out.

i demand that m1 sort this thing out and make it fair for vista users. most new systems are preloaded with vista. its not like we have a choice. there is already something developed, and m1 should liase with vodafone to solve this problem rather than adopting a buat bodoh or bochup attitude, by just saying vista no support, i dunno when, i dunno how

anfield22
20-03-2007, 04:23 PM
oh yeah, and can a m1 pc card user confirm whether it can work?

SingaporeMyHome
20-03-2007, 04:41 PM
I recently upgrade the speed from 384 to 1.8M. How do I know their differences as both when connected indicates a connection speed of 3.6M at the connection icon at the bottom tray.

Although I am using 1.8M, i noted that the surfing speed is damn slow, what must i do. Thanks

iMbEst
20-03-2007, 05:32 PM
why did you upgrade? they haven't upgraded their base station 100% yet leh.

btw, i somebody mentioned he got cracked firmware to push the speed of the modem to its limit, is it a hoax???

ckpay
21-03-2007, 05:54 PM
is e M1 BB stable now?? stil getting 0kbps during 8pm-2am??

chiamtj
22-03-2007, 12:00 AM
No, M1BB still sloooow in the evening. I recently downgraded from 1.8M to 384K. No point paying for non-existent speed. Now waiting for my contract to end.

iMbEst
22-03-2007, 12:35 AM
i hope they can lauch a 128kbps plan, $5/month, i sure sign up one! :D

SingaporeMyHome
22-03-2007, 12:59 PM
how do we know we are connected to 384 or 1.8kbps. All the time my connection speed reads 3.6M irregardless whether i subscribe 384 or 1.8m

iMbEst
22-03-2007, 02:02 PM
you go download a big file and time the interval needed lor

Arucard
22-03-2007, 02:12 PM
I cancel my m1 bb after 2 month usage.cannot make it, i call up to complain then i cancel , this cannot replace fixed line or cable for sure , only if u outside , then this is for you. regret signing up

ckpay
22-03-2007, 02:36 PM
premature termination will have penalty, right?

iMbEst
22-03-2007, 02:56 PM
I cancel my m1 bb after 2 month usage.cannot make it, i call up to complain then i cancel , this cannot replace fixed line or cable for sure , only if u outside , then this is for you. regret signing up

it was never meant for such replacement what?

YorYor
22-03-2007, 09:28 PM
Sigh, users falling trap to advertising gimmicks and seeing the word "broadband" sets their own expectations.
Well, good for us who are using it as what we are expecting it to be, when all these users finish their contract and decide not to continue.
Anyway, those who are thinking of cancellation, read the fine print at the back of the contract. Mine says something along the lines of "penalty if users cancel within 3 months of signing up".
But they may just make you pay up to 6 months, so might as well continue. ;p

Shinji_U
23-03-2007, 03:05 PM
So how's the M1 Broadband thingy? My Dell XPS M1210 comes with a builtin Vodafone WWAN and a SIM Card slot at the battery compartment bay, was wondering how is the performance of this M1 Broadband for emailing, telnet, SSH, RDC etc...

seowbin
23-03-2007, 03:27 PM
So how's the M1 Broadband thingy? My Dell XPS M1210 comes with a builtin Vodafone WWAN and a SIM Card slot at the battery compartment bay, was wondering how is the performance of this M1 Broadband for emailing, telnet, SSH, RDC etc...
can lar can la.. no problem :D

hahaha....... most of the time, quite fast and good

i'm using $22 plan nia, i always RDP to my home server too :s34:

e-mailing so far nv try, use web one nia......
SSH/telnet should be decent but min ping rate is 180ms and above......so u can feel the difference :s13:

seowbin
23-03-2007, 03:27 PM
i hope they can lauch a 128kbps plan, $5/month, i sure sign up one! :D
if they give free, u sure queue overnight too right?

Shinji_U
23-03-2007, 04:01 PM
can lar can la.. no problem :D

hahaha....... most of the time, quite fast and good

i'm using $22 plan nia, i always RDP to my home server too :s34:

e-mailing so far nv try, use web one nia......
SSH/telnet should be decent but min ping rate is 180ms and above......so u can feel the difference :s13:
Si pai kia... you also using ah? Hmmm... never tried with my XPs vodafone one, not sure if it work, next time meet you take urs and try... :D

iMbEst
23-03-2007, 04:15 PM
if they give free, u sure queue overnight too right?

if they give free, why still need to Q? :s22:

seowbin
23-03-2007, 04:24 PM
Si pai kia... you also using ah? Hmmm... never tried with my XPs vodafone one, not sure if it work, next time meet you take urs and try... :D
i going tw tonight liao.....

wo ai tai mei , tai mei ai wo :s13:

after 14 apr then back in sg, in the main while, i pass to richneo (hwz nick) for 1 mth... :P

Shinji_U
23-03-2007, 04:36 PM
i going tw tonight liao.....

wo ai tai mei , tai mei ai wo :s13:

after 14 apr then back in sg, in the main while, i pass to richneo (hwz nick) for 1 mth... :P

NNBZ...

:(

seowbin
23-03-2007, 04:39 PM
NNBZ...

:(
why wor? :s34:

dun sad dun sad :s13:

Shinji_U
23-03-2007, 04:45 PM
why wor? :s34:

dun sad dun sad :s13:
You go long pia ba... haa haaa....

BTW you go TW do what? Can help me buy stuff from TW 7-11?

:D

cstanhwz
23-03-2007, 10:33 PM
Hi guys,

Anyway to create our own dialer in XP instead of installing the software from the CD? Using the GT Max (PCMCIA) modem...

Thanks...

iMbEst
24-03-2007, 09:43 AM
without the vodaphone program, you can also dial in what?

me going Japan tomorrow yeah!

croc1977
24-03-2007, 04:10 PM
i just subscribe last thur...
for mi ok leh. now in my in law place in sengkang surfing hwz.1-2 bar but ok...leh..

mai hiam can already.

cstanhwz
24-03-2007, 09:46 PM
Using M1 broadband to surf and post this message now.

Surfing still can... Surprisingly.

Tried to download itune, download speed about 4.5kBps. So a bit like 56k dial up when downloading.

So surfing is ok, download not so good...

Using 384kbps plan... Quite satisfied with it, at the moment. For surfing that is.

anfield22
25-03-2007, 09:59 AM
i hope m1 will improve their infrastructure by the time the first batch of subscribers reach the 6 month mark. if not they will lose alot of customers. and those who subscribed later will suffer

i can't even get a dark blue light now. its always light blue, with occassional flashes of dark blue (but with no noticeable speed increase). its as though it has gotten worse in these 2 weeks. me living in siglap

iMbEst
25-03-2007, 10:09 AM
i'm wondering how come you guys never tested the signal or ask for the signal feedback b4 subscribing? can you just cancel the subscription without penalty if the area you're staying is having super weak coverage?

anfield22
25-03-2007, 10:20 AM
i admit i didn't test the signal in my area, but at the moment it is 3 bar. it is 3 bar most of the time. but even at 3 bar, the light is sometimes light blue, sometimes dark blue. i cannot understand why

iMbEst
25-03-2007, 10:46 AM
cancel lah, tell them the signal is unacceptable.

wait for other provider to come in, i think quite soon liao....

anfield22
26-03-2007, 12:17 AM
can just kpkb and cancel meh?

anyone managed to successfully terminate early without paying penalty?

now i am perma light blue. max speed 178Kbps (kilobit). sian cannot tahan. i sign up for free wireless@sg thru my handphone. gonna try when i go out. looks like im going back to snbb with my d ick in my hand one i end this m1 nonsense. starhub installation and what not too expensive

xyzabcxx
26-03-2007, 10:30 AM
Anfield, how many months of contract left? Are you on the $22 plan?

Kyururu
26-03-2007, 01:19 PM
i admit i didn't test the signal in my area, but at the moment it is 3 bar. it is 3 bar most of the time. but even at 3 bar, the light is sometimes light blue, sometimes dark blue. i cannot understand why
light blue means 3G+ connection, dark blue means 3G. at least u nv get a green light - GPRS connection, which i've been experiencing frequently.

anfield22
26-03-2007, 08:08 PM
actually now i am getting a constant blue light... when i am disconnected.

some more it doesn't say im disconnected on the dashboard. the modem happily show the blue light, and the dashboard still says im connected, but i am d/c from msn messenger and i cannot surf website. fantastic

xyzabcxx: i just signed up lol. but within 2 or 3 weeks it has been getting worse. within first week it was strong, then got weaker, now alot of dropouts. yeah 22 dollar plan. m1 allows downgrade without penalty for a reason.

i wouldn't accept green man. has anyone successfully terminated contract due to weak coverage? anyway even if can end contract, we still lost money when we paid for sim card upfront.

Arucard
26-03-2007, 08:14 PM
premature termination will have penalty, right?
no ley , m1 still want to do business with me one lah , if they charge me for penalty , i next time not going use m1 any service anymore, they surely dont want this to happen one , they admit its their fault , lol

Arucard
26-03-2007, 08:15 PM
can just kpkb and cancel meh?

anyone managed to successfully terminate early without paying penalty?

now i am perma light blue. max speed 178Kbps (kilobit). sian cannot tahan. i sign up for free wireless@sg thru my handphone. gonna try when i go out. looks like im going back to snbb with my d ick in my hand one i end this m1 nonsense. starhub installation and what not too expensive

me , i terminate liao , no penalty, they somemore ask me want to keep the line or not :s13:

anfield22
26-03-2007, 08:39 PM
me , i terminate liao , no penalty, they somemore ask me want to keep the line or not :s13:
wah heroic. you just told them you wanna terminate? did u complain or sth? how long were u a subscriber?

I JUST GOT DROPPED OUT AGAIN. KENA FAKE BLUE LIGHT

Kyururu
27-03-2007, 01:43 AM
i keep getting connection drop out also; 5bars signal also kena instable connection. i'm quite sure it's not a coverage problem

xyzabcxx
27-03-2007, 10:18 AM
Anyone using the M1 BB service near Cantonment Road area? I will like to signup but need to have some feedback first.

quiezd
27-03-2007, 11:47 AM
I just subscribe for the 385kbps. Speed is slightly better than 56k modem, but in term of portability, can't complaint about it.

Do you folk use the inbuilt s/w to monitoring the speed? My average fluctuate between 0-100k usually.

On the last Sunday morning at about 4am, it spike up to 400++kbps, considering i subscribe 384k and fluctuate between 0-300++kbps. My guess is those voice and sms congestion is not there.

Kyururu
27-03-2007, 02:02 PM
I just subscribe for the 385kbps. Speed is slightly better than 56k modem, but in term of portability, can't complaint about it.

Do you folk use the inbuilt s/w to monitoring the speed? My average fluctuate between 0-100k usually.

On the last Sunday morning at about 4am, it spike up to 400++kbps, considering i subscribe 384k and fluctuate between 0-300++kbps. My guess is those voice and sms congestion is not there.
I do use it to monitor the speed. esp when a particular website was taking a long time to load, the vodafone will show me 0kbps data flow, and usually in this case i'll disconnect and reconnect again to bring back the data activity, though it doesn't work everytime.

david_dino
29-03-2007, 12:20 AM
:DHello Everyone,

Anyone frustrated :s27:with their M1 384kb BB service & not using the equipment? I am looking to loan or rent idle M1 384kb BB equipment do a 1 week trial first.

I have been considering signing up M1’s 384kb BB plan for sometime. But after reading this forum, especially some below-par performance, I decided to KIV & look for a trial first.

If it is a FOC 1 week loan, I will collect & return to owner/subscriber's location. If it is a 1 week rental, preferred dealing place is NEL NE14, Hougang MRT.

Please sms me at 91919096 anytime.

Thanks for reading.

David.

:)

Arucard
29-03-2007, 11:11 AM
wah heroic. you just told them you wanna terminate? did u complain or sth? how long were u a subscriber?

I JUST GOT DROPPED OUT AGAIN. KENA FAKE BLUE LIGHT

around 2 months only, i call twice before that to complain about the signal bar, i only get 1 bar in my area, call 2 times no respound from them , then i call them say i want to terminate like that only.

ckpay
29-03-2007, 11:49 AM
now another ISP is coming out their plan. Qmax.
not sure e 'quality' but there is alternative in e market now. :)

cybertai
30-03-2007, 08:57 AM
been using M1 BB 1.8 close to a months already... speed wise is good .. definatly slower then my 12000 cable at home ... but just nice for office use (emails, msn, friendster, hwz)

I'm using the wireless router + pccard version ... 5 people using at one time... (split cost mah =p)

Never had DC before ... but yesterday at 5pm while going back, faced no internet conection at all.. dono whats the problem .. just shut down the modem and went back,.. logged in this morning and all is working fine ...

all in all good so far ... hope more isp comes up with better plans/services... :)

anfield22
30-03-2007, 09:51 AM
that happens to me alot. if its not 3G+ and only the dark blue light, most likely you cannot surf at all. even though it says you are connected. yesterday i could not surf at all. after using it for less than an hour with pretty good speeds, that problem happened to me. and i also faced frequent disconnections. i am gonna cancel soon. i am disappointed that i ended up paying for sim card registration, and i will have to come out some more money to switch isp. overall a bad experience.

Kyururu
31-03-2007, 01:17 AM
complained to M1 by sending em an email through their website. they decided to waive 1 mth subscription for me. this is the 2nd time i emailed em about my connection and also the 2nd time they waived my bill.

those who face similar problem do bring it forward to their attention or u'll just going to pay ur bills blindly for something tat doesn't work like they should.

jaloon
31-03-2007, 08:44 AM
Tried out their 3.6Mbps at the M1 shop yesterday at West Mall.

M1 website took long to load.

Speedtest SG server. 500+ms ping. around 100Kbps only.

Flamerboy
31-03-2007, 11:11 AM
very disappointed with m1 broadband. ever since tuesday i got the modem til today i been calling them up everyday 3 to 4 times each day. very slow speed, as slow as 5 mins to load yahoo.com.sg. cannot even access their m1 website. got signal but no data transfer.
very unstable network.
very sick of calling them and got back the reply is they will look into the matter.

anfield22
01-04-2007, 01:39 PM
why never tried cancelling? unsuccessful? i think that is unacceptable lah, you're better off not having the service at all than going through so much s hit

zulowen
01-04-2007, 02:46 PM
Need help on M1 broadband. I tot of applying the M1 Broadband 384 for 22/mth. this is a present i like to give my gf. She do not have any Internet connection at home. So i tot of presenting to her the M1 Broadband for her Intel Pentium 3 800mhz laptop. Running Windows XP SP2. I found out she only use the net for blogging,Frendster,msn messenger and email. A bit of downloading but not so much. Is the M1 BB 384 suitable for her? Or should i get the M1 BB 1.8? Thnks..:)

heaveboy
01-04-2007, 03:10 PM
i think the lower end plan should fit her current usage pattern

mosmos
01-04-2007, 05:23 PM
Need help on M1 broadband. I tot of applying the M1 Broadband 384 for 22/mth. this is a present i like to give my gf. She do not have any Internet connection at home. So i tot of presenting to her the M1 Broadband for her Intel Pentium 3 800mhz laptop. Running Windows XP SP2. I found out she only use the net for blogging,Frendster,msn messenger and email. A bit of downloading but not so much. Is the M1 BB 384 suitable for her? Or should i get the M1 BB 1.8? Thnks..:)
no point of getting 1.8 one. For my experience, the speed will nvr reach there or half of that. Get the pc card if available, for her laptop.

Let her try 384k 1st, see how's the speed/connection at her place. After that then upgrade. :)

zulowen
01-04-2007, 06:25 PM
no point of getting 1.8 one. For my experience, the speed will nvr reach there or half of that. Get the pc card if available, for her laptop.

Let her try 384k 1st, see how's the speed/connection at her place. After that then upgrade. :)
hmm..thnks for the advice. ya, i think i shld let her try the 384 first. Btw, sing the USB device or the PC Card is better? Is the PC Card free for rental? I tot only the USB device is free for rental? thnks.

iMbEst
02-04-2007, 12:25 AM
now another ISP is coming out their plan. Qmax.
not sure e 'quality' but there is alternative in e market now. :)

Qmax is not using HSDPA and from our review previously, it is worse than M1. Qmax is under wimax plan, there are many providers so you can't get full islandwide coverage.

ngweimin
02-04-2007, 12:31 AM
Qmax has been pretty good since I subscribed to it. The speed is as promised in the plan and the connection is stable. Too bad it's limited to only areas with coverage.

iMbEst
02-04-2007, 12:50 AM
frankly speaking, if different providers do not allow sharing of network among themselves FOC, Wimax is purely a joke in the telco history in SG. Unless you're looking for a cheaper fixed line alternatives, as it doesn't have the 5GB limit.

ngweimin
02-04-2007, 07:22 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/107523387.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

This is for my Qmax 512kb link. Can anyone share their M1 stats?

deadsoul79
02-04-2007, 09:52 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/107559275.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

this is M1 bb, 1.8mbps

chiamtj
02-04-2007, 10:08 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/107562422.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

M1 BB - 384K at 10 am on Monday morning.
Weekend speed must divide by 2. At night must divide by 4. :)

iMbEst
02-04-2007, 10:23 AM
besides not having islandwide coverage, Qmax has long contract commitments too......

Arucard
02-04-2007, 10:42 AM
Qmax is not using HSDPA and from our review previously, it is worse than M1. Qmax is under wimax plan, there are many providers so you can't get full islandwide coverage.
Im now using Qmax, u will be surpise even with 30% to 40% signal strenght still can get stable connections, no regret signing up , but of course not as mobility as m1 hsdpa

ngweimin
02-04-2007, 10:58 AM
At least Qmax is giving 2 months free after 12 months contract. I think Starhub/Singtel is the worst. Lock you in but no discounts. No point having the freebies as most of the time they're gimmicks unless you really need it e.g. TV, Wireless router.

iMbEst
02-04-2007, 11:02 AM
well, that really depends on where you're located at. Unfortunately for all the needed areas I am located at, has very bad or no Qmax signal. Well, WiMax is supposed to travel further than HSDPA if I am not wrong. read it somewhere.....

mosmos
02-04-2007, 01:10 PM
hmm..thnks for the advice. ya, i think i shld let her try the 384 first. Btw, sing the USB device or the PC Card is better? Is the PC Card free for rental? I tot only the USB device is free for rental? thnks.
PC card and usb modem is free of rental :)

my experience is pc card for laptop. No messy cable, no unsightly next to laptop. :)

anfield22
05-04-2007, 05:25 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/107559275.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

this is M1 bb, 1.8mbps
faster speeds, nowhere near 1.8M though, but just look at the awful latency

im thinking of switching to pc card or wireless router (which has a pc card in it), cos the usb device is really damn laggy. those occasions where i cant connect for whatever rubbish reason i need to plug and unplug, the whole process can be a real drag

iMbEst
05-04-2007, 06:00 PM
i thought somebody said there is hack about tapping to its full speed, not sure if it's a hoax....

fatsonado
05-04-2007, 10:27 PM
My M1 broadband cannot use msn messager. Anyone know how to configure it? Thks...

YorYor
05-04-2007, 10:52 PM
Shouldn't be. In my office, my staff's PC hosting the M1BB device has it shared via ICS, and both of us are connected on MSN for as long as the M1BB network/device doesn't crap up.

fatsonado
06-04-2007, 12:12 AM
The connection trouble shoot didnt tick on the wireless. anyone can help?

ditchdoggy
06-04-2007, 04:04 PM
iam thinking of signing up for m1 bb, cause i need the access at the office to monitor stock prices etc. are there any other services that offer island wide wireless? i read bout qmax but it is a lot more expensive.

i just wonder how much is 5G worth for surfing only. cause they said they will give up to 10g of which 5g is chargable, but if u hit beyond 10g then the connection can be suspended

ditchdoggy
06-04-2007, 04:05 PM
one more point. i called them. they said compaq laptops may have issue if its on vista. but anything win2k and up and below vista has no known issues. hmm..

YorYor
06-04-2007, 05:09 PM
Read earlier posts to see how someone got his fingers burned using M1BB for stocks&shares related activities.
M1BB has an average latency of about half a second, sometimes a few seconds in terms of reaction when you click on a link / refresh etc.
Couple that with stocks&shares websites which have even more delays, you better think twice before depending on M1BB for this purpose.
There have been past cases, so if you do decide to go ahead, it's your own call,

ditchdoggy
06-04-2007, 05:40 PM
hmm thanks for your opinion. well i dont intend to speculate but need to monitor prices to see when i can go in. missed out on a few chances during opening prices.. arrrgh.

at the same time can use it for my own personal use. but primary reason to look at the rates.

i was hoping for other opinions but seems like there isnt much :(

seriously for faster response people shd just call the broker who will give a confirmation rather than do it online and wait for an acknowledgement. but thats for another topic hehe.

ryantey
07-04-2007, 12:49 AM
Hello. I just wonder how the M1 Broadband 384 KBPS and 1.8MBPS is performing. Is it stable enough? I am poly student and I need internet desperately. Now, I am looking for other alternatives besides Singnet and Starhub. 5GB per month, is it very hard to be not exceeding this "psychological" marks??

iMbEst
07-04-2007, 01:41 AM
then dun get HSDPA, just get a damn fixed line connection will do. Your school got connection, your just need to get 1 at home, as a student, why do you need HSDPA? dun be a joke lah aiyo. Wireless@SG is everywhere what?

ryantey
07-04-2007, 12:49 PM
then dun get HSDPA, just get a damn fixed line connection will do. Your school got connection, your just need to get 1 at home, as a student, why do you need HSDPA? dun be a joke lah aiyo. Wireless@SG is everywhere what?
However, I am a foreign student and currently rent a room in Admiralty area. It will get lots of trouble if I sign up those Singnet Mio or starhub maxonline plan, especially the telephone line problems with the house owner. As a result, I consider the M1 Broadband as it is wireless and less trouble caused.

iMbEst
07-04-2007, 06:01 PM
well, you can always ask around and pay your neighbor for wireless access, I am sure that is the easiest way out. Admiralty got mcdonalds what?

ryantey
07-04-2007, 07:17 PM
Mcdonalds' internet connection is extremely slow. Also, it is quite inconvenient to go to Mcdonalds for internet access. If I cannot subscribe Singnet and Maxonline, M1 Broadband, i think, is the only way for me. T_T.

YorYor
07-04-2007, 09:32 PM
ryantey, based on your situation, yes, M1BB is indeed one solution for you. Contract is only 6 months long anyway, and the cost is low enough to shrug off and say "oh well, too bad" if you find that it is unacceptable and hasn't improved much at the end of the contract. Much lower monetary risk than a 24-month contract for landed ADSL.

iMbEst
08-04-2007, 12:19 AM
i still suggest you test out the connection signal at your area first, sekali it's worse than mcdonald's then you're just wasting your time and $$$ only.

cstanhwz
08-04-2007, 10:23 AM
However, I am a foreign student and currently rent a room in Admiralty area. It will get lots of trouble if I sign up those Singnet Mio or starhub maxonline plan, especially the telephone line problems with the house owner. As a result, I consider the M1 Broadband as it is wireless and less trouble caused.
I don't think you will find M1 broadband suitable for your normal daily useage

It is too unstable for that. There are instance where your download will stop and a few seconds later, continue.

Downloading is too slow too.

If you are not a heavy user, then maybe ok. Checking your email once in a while and do some surfing.

Otherwise, you will be frustrated with the service.

That's my take. It's ok for me as I only use it on the move to check email and surf a bit when bored. Using 384kbps plan.

CrossOver
08-04-2007, 05:10 PM
I wanna recommend my uncle to M1 broadband using the mobile connect usb modem.. Mainly for his kids to access the net for school uses.. And also so he can monitor their internet usage as and when.. My only question is, is the plan unlimited?? Cos i see theres a free data bundle of 5GB but dun quite understand.. Is it limited to only 5GB of data surfing/download then the excess we have to pay?

iMbEst
08-04-2007, 06:58 PM
he can't monitor if they take out the modem and connect to other PC.

CrossOver
08-04-2007, 09:23 PM
Monitor as in control the number of hours of internet usage.. It be quite useful.. When they need to use internet, they have to go through their father first.. Thus i recommend the M1 to my uncle.. N is it unlimited??

iMbEst
08-04-2007, 11:44 PM
it's not unlimited, but limited to 5GB download + upload data.

well, as long as there is wifi adapter in the PC, they can always tap into neighbours' network what?

unless you want them to subscribe 1 PC card or USB modem for each PC?

mosmos
09-04-2007, 12:34 PM
it's not unlimited, but limited to 5GB download + upload data.

well, as long as there is wifi adapter in the PC, they can always tap into neighbours' network what?

unless you want them to subscribe 1 PC card or USB modem for each PC?
pls don't recommend illegal methods :(

If his children only use emails and surf some websites for schoolwork, should be more than enough. :)

YorYor
09-04-2007, 12:56 PM
Yup, so unethical for someone like you who is supposedly working in a big corporation.
For M1BB, if he wants to restrict their usage, he can always disconnect the USB modem and lock it up once the children have hit their quota.
It's not unlimited, there's a 5GB cap (10GB if you don't mind paying the extras) but it should be more than enough to surf the net, check emails, visit educational sites or do e-homework.
The latency and the throughput is too low to game properly, so that's one bandwidth-eater out of the way.

iMbEst
09-04-2007, 01:49 PM
pls don't recommend illegal methods :(

If his children only use emails and surf some websites for schoolwork, should be more than enough. :)

what I meant was, M1BB cannot allow him to monitor or control his children.

a simple USB wifi adapter is available for as low as $10, what can he stop his children from tapping into others wifi

it's not about ethical, it's about practical. M1BB is not a practical solution at all!

YorYor
09-04-2007, 03:14 PM
Practical or not depends on which angle you're looking from.
What is not be practical to you may not necessarily be for others.
And judging by his requirements, at least 2 of us feel that it is probably the optimal solution considering the monetary outlay.
Not everyone has 200 BTs running all the time, nor have incoming emails every 5 seconds, nor have 10,000 websites to follow-up on everyday.

Anyway, up to CrossOver to read our opinions and decide on behalf of his uncle.
$22 per month risk for only 6 months is not very serious damage. In this aspect, it is easier to upgrade than to downgrade, especially since ADSL/Cable = 24 months contract (unless you don't take the freebies). But you'll need to buy the modem =~ $100 up front.

No matter, M1BB has shown to be the best example of "one man's meat is another man's poison".

iMbEst
09-04-2007, 05:09 PM
there are 2nd hand modem available everywhere, so that's not a big issue, I dun see any reason to sign up any contract too. I myself also have no contract for mobile plan too. it's better to be more careful rather than sorry later......6 months contract is 1 thing, the overused charges is another BIG thing...

anfield22
10-04-2007, 10:47 AM
ok ladies and gentlemen how do i connect to limewire or ares on the usb modem... is there any way to open the ports? i think i was able to dl stuff from limewire and bitcomet before reformatting my com (due to trojan horse) :s27:

now i cant even connect

layzibum22
14-04-2007, 03:06 AM
Me just joined the M1BB brigade...

Tomorrow would get my hands on the data card... :)

Maserati
21-04-2007, 05:10 AM
Anyone experience that M1 BB cannot connect at Friday 20Apr afternoon around 5pm?
Mine is the USB modem indicating something like "You must be in Vodafone network ..." although I am on M1 3G network with 4 bars signal. Is it the firmware prob as I've subscribe in Jan?

Philen
21-04-2007, 11:03 AM
Yup, think the network was down.

Other users gave their feedback here:
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1590572

Maserati
23-04-2007, 06:29 AM
Seems that this service is rather diasppointing in the day it is OK buy at night it is worst than a 56k.
Would have canceled it on the first day ,if not for the portability.

magix
23-04-2007, 07:49 AM
Singtel just ended their HSDPA trial. Maybe would be rolling out the service soon.

iMbEst
23-04-2007, 08:51 AM
got people tried the singtel one? any feedback so far?

Maserati
25-04-2007, 03:07 AM
It is good to hear that ST is going to implement HSDPA service. If they could tie up a package with their SNBB that would be ideal

magix
25-04-2007, 10:15 AM
got people tried the singtel one? any feedback so far?

Trial their HSDPA once (due to trial is in City area), Maybe because users are limited during trial. The surfing seems to be more responsive. M1 is enter a url wait for a few seconds then page start loading...

MPH
25-04-2007, 01:09 PM
So is the M1 broadband service up ? :s22:

Sambuca78
28-04-2007, 01:24 PM
The free data bundle included in your Broadband Plan is limited to 5 GB each month, inclusive of downloading and uploading of any content. Thereafter, the charge will be S$4 per GB in blocks of 1 GB for data use up to 10 GB. M1 reserves the right to suspend or terminate customer's Broadband service should the total usage exceed 10GB per month.

Knn... i alway thot the 5gb limit is for downloading. :mad:

So is 2.5gb limit for each dl n ul?

or dl + ul = 5gb?

YorYor
28-04-2007, 03:38 PM
Total 5GB...
Actually the excess usage charges are not expensive.
$4 per GB, if exceed by 5GB = $20.
I'm on the 384 plan which is $22 per month. So, it's like paying for 5GB usage upfront. Very reasonable I think. Those on higher plans actually "reduce" your cost per GB if you stretch your usage to include the excess. ;p

ViperKnight
28-04-2007, 08:15 PM
Just when I thought I can finally get a new usb unit changed.... The problem come back again after a few days of usage... "Sim not ready"... =( I just got it change like last week...

kaisoon
28-04-2007, 11:43 PM
I just got mine.

What's the firmware version of your Vodafone USB modem. (aka Huawei E220)
Where to download the latest version?

I heard that user should be able to select the prefered network and stuffs, not avail on mine.

ViperKnight
29-04-2007, 05:47 PM
kaisoon. It's not a firmware.

It's just the client program. GT-Max-7.05. Download from M1 Broadband website.
Look under PCMCIA section.

iMbEst
29-04-2007, 08:52 PM
so far anybody manage to hack the modem to push it to the limit?

kaisoon
29-04-2007, 10:40 PM
There is a firmware in the E220. Wondering if thre's a latest update.

and there's a software for the E220.

Is the PCMCIA software workable for the USB modem?

Btw, I noticed that the download is extremely slow, only hit max 70kbps sometimes.
Signal strength fot the M1 3G is just 1 bar short of the max.

anfield22
30-04-2007, 01:02 AM
http://img444.imageshack.us/img444/4025/vistans4.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

i am getting frustrated. the vodafone website doesnt provide an email address for me to kpkb

Mobile_Crazy
30-04-2007, 10:53 AM
The M1 hauwei usb thing is not compatitble with the vista versions. Called the m1. They told that it wld be ready by next week. (hope). Some more they told me to go down to their cust ser to ugrade or something like that.

iMbEst
30-04-2007, 01:31 PM
http://img444.imageshack.us/img444/4025/vistans4.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

i am getting frustrated. the vodafone website doesnt provide an email address for me to kpkb

email for what? they simply treat it as spam mail and delete them. why not giving them a call?

liuqiming
01-05-2007, 10:30 PM
helping my friend to ask...can i install it on windows xp chinese version? when i tried to install it, it says error 1324-the folder "my document" contains an invalid character... any help is much appreciated.. thanks..tried remove all the files in "my documents" but still the same...look at the help file..didn't language support does not include chinese...but the modem is made by a china company

yukita
06-05-2007, 01:07 AM
currently can support vista already with firmware update.
just sign a basic 384... speed quite good. but havent try further...
but update norton antivirus. the download speed can reach max of 400 with avg 300kb.
tomorrow will try more....

odiseus
06-05-2007, 03:18 AM
anybody know where to buy 3G broadband router like linksys wrt54g3g here and how much? I saw the picture at m1 web

YorYor
06-05-2007, 12:49 PM
I thought I saw one of the shops seling... $300++.
Available on eBay too.
Bot worth it if you ask me, better off renting from them.
That kind of price you can rent the router for 2 years +.
By then price may have dropped or something.

mosmos
21-05-2007, 12:21 PM
http://img502.imageshack.us/img502/4523/scan0001pv8.jpg

tanfwc
21-05-2007, 01:33 PM
anyone taking up this offer?

kennyg1969
21-05-2007, 03:43 PM
anyone taking up this offer?
Brother, 18 months contract that will tie you down for that mp3 player that worth S$208? Think not

YorYor
21-05-2007, 04:06 PM
Yup, not worth it man. I rubbished it the moment I got the flyer.
If it's 6 months contract worth considering. For 18 months? They can dream on.
At their mercy if they choose to increase the price again, or reduce the usage allocation etc.

Philen
22-05-2007, 12:31 AM
anyone taking up this offer?Sign 18 mths for something worth $200? You must be kidding....

I think Singnet and Starhub people almost died laughing...

magix
22-05-2007, 12:36 AM
yah lor not really worth sign up 18 months for that free mp3 player. Actually if they allow the $22 plan get free mp3 i don't mind sign 18 months since i would be using them. But upgrade to 1.8m plab for mp3 is useless. 5GB download only on all the plans.

YorYor
22-05-2007, 12:54 AM
Even if they allow the 384 plan to sign up, it's not worth it. I'm guessing they want to tie people down now, in case SingTel starts offering the same service within the next few months and a price war ensues. Then those who are on this contract will curse and swear lor.
Considering the cost price of the MP3 is likely to be in the region of 80-100, it's like 3 months off for the 1.8Mbps only.

Anyway, once SingTel starts offering, be sure prices will spiral downwards and better value will come along. Perhaps something fairer to the users, especially that bit about data usage.

anfield22
22-05-2007, 01:49 AM
samsung k3 1GB worth $208?

i bought a samsung k3 2GB from challenger, price $218, bought at $208 cos of challenger member discount. i still have the box with the price tag. if i'm wrong you can call me a liar

M1 TRYING TO SMOKE US AGAIN??

Desmond_
22-05-2007, 02:10 AM
18 month so long???? now no more 6 month contract ar?

Maserati
22-05-2007, 06:38 AM
I think not no 6 mth contract but to encourage current subscribers to change to 1.8 or higher plan and tie them dow for 1.5 yrs.
Just give Mp3 player then you have to pay them at least 70% more for 18 mths Y not.
After you've signed up and find it is still quite slow during peak hours and they say we will try out best to resolve the problems :)

If not for the portablilty I think many of you will have switched rite?

Pullme
22-05-2007, 04:00 PM
Hi, anyone having connection probs with the M1 BB these couple of days?
Mine keep getting disconnected after every few mins and is rather unstable.

Maserati
22-05-2007, 06:41 PM
Mine quite OK but just surfing web page so not sure of the speed

goukiakuma
22-05-2007, 06:57 PM
the speed seems not badz nowadays after countless complain,

i subscribed 1.5mbps one :o

6.50pm at mohd sultan area.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/129387462.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Philen
22-05-2007, 07:08 PM
the speed seems not badz nowadays after countless complain,
I think why the speed is improving is because most of the first batch that signed in December are starting to terminate their services since the 6 month contract expired. Less people using simply means more bandwidth to go around.

Bottomline is that M1 got more subscribers than their system can cope.

yukita
23-05-2007, 11:42 PM
these 2 days speed really slow.... after disconnecting, can run for awhile after that disconnected. now running on gprs hahaha....

11:41 Holland area

goukiakuma
24-05-2007, 04:45 PM
everyone post the speedtest.net result

result today

http://www.speedtest.net/result/130323670.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Pullme
25-05-2007, 11:44 AM
argghhhh
its extremely bad this week
keep getting disconnected and v slow
instant messengers dun work too
anybody facing the same probs?
in CBD

addict951
25-05-2007, 11:49 AM
Any buttie here regretted signing up for this?
I think it's very very wols.
Thankfully I only signed the cheapest and thankfully only 6 months

YorYor
25-05-2007, 01:56 PM
Not for me. Happily using it still, for basic office usage, it's more than sufficient.
It's a great product if you can see beyond the marketing talk, understand the underlying technology and its limitations, and pitch your expectations accordingly. The only fault I have with M1 is how they tried to over-glorify this service, resulting in high expectations that the product can't match up to.

Kyururu
25-05-2007, 02:41 PM
the thing tat i hate the most is whenever the light suddenly turns green from blue, which means it switched to GPRS connection, and den my speakers and earphones will start beeping non stop. it's really irritating esp when u're listening to mp3s

fcsega
25-05-2007, 03:39 PM
does PCMCIA device load faster then the USB one during startup? Now using the USB devive and i find the loading time is very long... any PCMCIA user can comment on that??

street
25-05-2007, 04:02 PM
I am using the old PCMCIA card which only support 384 kbps. Startup time usually a few sec.

hotlink
29-05-2007, 03:52 PM
M1 BB stable already?
I thinking to apply it..

mosmos
29-05-2007, 08:28 PM
does PCMCIA device load faster then the USB one during startup? Now using the USB devive and i find the loading time is very long... any PCMCIA user can comment on that??
tried both before~

pc card no loading issue.

i regret changing to usb one.

mosmos
29-05-2007, 08:29 PM
M1 BB stable already?
I thinking to apply it..
i have no problem using in tuas.

Maserati
30-05-2007, 07:15 AM
I think Singtel has rolled out their 3.5G on yesterday's (29May) ST advertisement. Will they tie a new plan with the current boradband?

YorYor
30-05-2007, 10:12 AM
Hmmm... http://home.singtel.com/news_centre/news_releases/2007_05_24.asp
With 512kbps, 10GB of data, that's better than M1's. Price slightly higher, at $31.50 vs $22.00.
BUT BUT BUT, their excess charges at at $1.75 per MB, whereas M1's is $4 per GB. Oh-so-typical SingTel.

SingTel has some way to go yet... North Zone coverage first by June, island-wide by Dec.
Wanna see how M1 reacts to try and retain their existing customers who are still satisfied with their service so far.

halocast
30-05-2007, 10:23 AM
i still think singnet one no fight yet.. wait until islandwide coverage.. then can toks :D

MPH
30-05-2007, 11:53 AM
And M1 offers a lower subcription plan of $22 per month for 384K.

Mobile_Crazy
30-05-2007, 01:25 PM
I'm also using the VMC. WANT TO ASK YOU WHTHER YOU EXPERINCE ANY RESTARTING OF YOUR SYSTEM WHEN YOU CLICK DOWNLOAD OF ANYTHING, FOR WINDOWS VISTA?
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1622838

btw I'm on the 384kpbs plan.

bigbuffalo
02-06-2007, 05:14 PM
Just applied for 384 plan together with the data card. Load up is within seconds and so far it has been good. With a 3G+ connection download speed reached 373kbps and upload speed reached 327kbps at speedtest.net. Was at Yishun area when tested.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/134354113.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

bigbuffalo
05-06-2007, 11:05 AM
Anybody know where to get the Option GT Max data card external antenna or any recommendations for a compatible antenna?

Franzz
05-06-2007, 08:14 PM
M1 BB users, how do I fix the settings for the network?

I find 3G very unstable, cutting off quite frequent. And whereas the GPRS have never gave me any problem before.

Anyway to set it?

Franzz
05-06-2007, 10:06 PM
for the bump. :)

alwayschampion
06-06-2007, 01:02 AM
There is a setting for it to run at 3G whenever there is 3G and hop to GPRS when necessary. This process is transparent provided you set this settings/

omar
06-06-2007, 03:25 AM
Dear fellow experts out there,

Pardon me if this topic has been discussed but I couldn't search anywhere on this...

I was and still am the Huawei USB modem and it has since served me well.

My question is, if I travel to Malaysia for example, will I be able to insert a Malaysian Sim-card and configure the Huawei so that I can use it over there without roaming on M1's simcard?

I have read a foreign magazine on configuring the Huawei E220, but seems the M1/Vodaphone's Huawei firmware is different then the Huawei which are available in the open market overseas.

I need your experts' opinions on this

Thanx!

alanchia67
06-06-2007, 09:36 AM
M1's vodaphone huawei modem is locked down to M1 only, thus the firmware is different.

rty
06-06-2007, 11:00 AM
I understand M1 doesn't provide Linux support on the Vodafone modem but I read over the internet that some people managed to make it work until Linux. Does anyone here manage to try making it work with Linux (Ubuntu, OpenSuse, etc)? I am thinking of changing my old Fujitsu laptop (P5060) to Linux but needs to make sure that this M1 Vodafone model will work. (I have both old VMCC PCMCIA and USB Vodafone Huawei modems)

ibernz
08-06-2007, 01:59 PM

Got a question here... A little OT but i think it is still relevant.
Anyone using M1 BB to play DOTA?

Somehow the program does not recognise the internet connection from the USB Device.
Need expert advise on this please.

Maserati
08-06-2007, 09:36 PM

Got a question here... A little OT but i think it is still relevant.
Anyone using M1 BB to play DOTA?

Somehow the program does not recognise the internet connection from the USB Device.
Need expert advise on this please.

I don't play DOTA but I believe M1BB ping time is long therefore not suitable for DOTA.

ibernz
08-06-2007, 11:42 PM
hmmm...

but i personally feel that m1bb response is much faster than SHBB.

Just a little curious mah..

Anyone else got an idea on this?

addict951
08-06-2007, 11:57 PM
can yall help me with my problem? Thanks *frustrated*
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1611054

seowbin
09-06-2007, 07:50 AM
M1's vodaphone huawei modem is locked down to M1 only, thus the firmware is different.
o.. ya hor...

i reflashed mine to generic huawei firmware over at my thread...

hehe... maybe can login to other network :s34:
since over that interface need to manually do all the setting :s13:

l2008l
15-06-2007, 09:35 AM
it's really crawling :s13: :s22:

alamin2
21-06-2007, 10:54 PM
i keep getting this stupid error message saying not configured or already in use when i just plug it in on my dad's comp. dads laptop and my laptop all dont work. all 3 get teh same error message. really pissed off.

for the last 3 days i subscribed, only managed to use it ONCE .

defn
22-06-2007, 01:11 AM
I heard this one cannot skype and MSN. Is it true? Thinking of getting for my E90 when it comes out. TIA

alamin2
22-06-2007, 01:16 AM
no problems using msn.

finally can connect... wtf man

alanchia67
22-06-2007, 01:22 PM
those on m1 bb, can post your hsdpa network speed test result using www.speedtest.net?

i've posted mine on Singtel Broadband on Mobile below
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showpost.php?p=24254770&postcount=73

gemini17
22-06-2007, 01:51 PM
I have used M1BB to play Company of Heroes .... ping is at 140mS

gemini17
22-06-2007, 02:09 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/143791521.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

gemini17
22-06-2007, 02:11 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/143792218.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

gemini17
22-06-2007, 02:15 PM
BTW ... I am on the 384 plan .... as you all can see ... M1BB speed is not constant cos it is shared bandwidth but I managed to play COH smoothly with my friend (in Singapore) and he is using SH MOL.

I have had problems with M1 BB but the customer service officer listen more attentively than Singnet.

All I can say is that, users of the the 384 plan need to manage expectations.

Anyone here who is on the 1.8Mbps plan?

Care to share your experience?

alanchia67
22-06-2007, 03:37 PM
actually hsdpa is shared band width. if i am not wrong, the system prioritize those handheld hsdpa devices with strong signal to get hold of the hsdpa burst first.

richneo
22-06-2007, 04:23 PM
bro i think hsdpa is based on w-cdma which also has time slots

so i think not really based on signal priority as the time has been splitted equally

alanchia67
22-06-2007, 04:30 PM
hi bro, there is a hsdpa priority queue, and is prioritize based on signal strength.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HSDPA
The HS-DSCH downlink channel is shared between users using channel-dependent scheduling to take advantage of favourable channel conditions to make best use of available radio conditions. Each user device periodically transmits (as often as 500 times per second) an indication of the downlink signal quality. The Node B uses this information received from all user devices to decide which users will be sent data on the next 2 ms frame and, for each user, how much data should be attempted. More data can be sent to users which report high downlink signal quality.

richneo
22-06-2007, 04:38 PM
hi bro, there is a hsdpa priority queue, and is prioritize based on signal strength.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HSDPA
The HS-DSCH downlink channel is shared between users using channel-dependent scheduling to take advantage of favourable channel conditions to make best use of available radio conditions. Each user device periodically transmits (as often as 500 times per second) an indication of the downlink signal quality. The Node B uses this information received from all user devices to decide which users will be sent data on the next 2 ms frame and, for each user, how much data should be attempted. More data can be sent to users which report high downlink signal quality.
oh.........

okie i come down now.

u reached yet?

goukiakuma
22-06-2007, 05:23 PM
I posted before, i was on M1BB 1.8mbps plan

http://www.speedtest.net/result/143837281.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

:s22: :s22:

alanchia67
23-06-2007, 12:15 AM
how come the uplink is slower than singtel's hsdpa, even when your downlink is faster (1.8Mbps plan)?

the other 2 post above for m1 bb is also in the 3xx range for uplink.

goukiakuma
23-06-2007, 12:48 AM
how come the uplink is slower than singtel's hsdpa, even when your downlink is faster (1.8Mbps plan)?

the other 2 post above for m1 bb is also in the 3xx range for uplink.

not sure, that the stats i took. i took a few before, you may go back to previous few page to check..
:o

quekky
07-07-2007, 12:06 AM
M1BB got new plans? I think i saw this month newsletter got limited 5MB access at a very very cheap price

bighorn
13-07-2007, 04:16 PM
Anyone knows how to change my ip address?

YorYor
13-07-2007, 04:18 PM
Disconnect and reconnect?

bighorn
13-07-2007, 04:27 PM
Disconnect and reconnect?

I tried this many times but the ip remained unchanged. Any other ways?

YorYor
13-07-2007, 04:47 PM
Disconnect, unplug, plug in and connect also same?
Then I not sure liao, last resort to try ipconfig /release and ipconfig /renew
Still doesn't work means the timeout at the receiver's side is quite high.

bighorn
17-07-2007, 02:39 AM
Disconnect, unplug, plug in and connect also same?
Then I not sure liao, last resort to try ipconfig /release and ipconfig /renew
Still doesn't work means the timeout at the receiver's side is quite high.

Try but faill :s22:

iMbEst
17-07-2007, 11:07 AM
what's the promo now huh? they are trying to persuade me in getting this toy with free registration and free SIM card woh......

muscin
17-07-2007, 11:54 PM
I'm thinking of taking up, which outlet made that offer to you?

what's the promo now huh? they are trying to persuade me in getting this toy with free registration and free SIM card woh......

pb
22-07-2007, 05:14 PM
upz. I'm using thinking of signing up! How to get the free SIM offer?

stelgn
22-07-2007, 08:46 PM
384kbps plan using data card, Mobile connect version 9.xxx

Tested on: Sunday 8pm
Area: North

http://www.speedtest.net/result/158454975.png

stelgn
23-07-2007, 10:19 AM
384kbps plan using data card, Mobile connect version 9.xx

Tested on: Monday 10am
Area: CBD, Cityhall, Indoor

http://www.speedtest.net/result/158723229.png

edwmghost
23-07-2007, 03:03 PM
How do we know how much data we have used?

magix
23-07-2007, 04:00 PM
How do we know how much data we have used?

Login Miworld to check.

Franzz
24-07-2007, 11:10 PM
M1 BB getting bad.

Recently lots of disconnection! Only last month I was praising it. :(

miketan7
25-07-2007, 03:03 AM
they now having student offer for less than 20 bucks i think.

FireWood
28-07-2007, 11:35 AM
I install the modem on windows 2000 pc and encounter reboot every time I press the connect button. I install in other windows 2000 pc also has the same problem, so it is not the pc problem but the windows 2000 problem? Please Help!
Thanks.

http://www.tickjob.com/attachments/month_0707/m1_qXUklV8RSwE6.gif

YorYor
28-07-2007, 12:28 PM
Something has to be wrong with your Windows 2K. Are you on SP4? I've configured my staff's PC to use Internet Connection Sharing on Windows 2K SP4, and it's perfectly ok.

FireWood
28-07-2007, 12:41 PM
Yes, it is SP4 as shown in the system screen shot. I also have all the latest security update. The strange thing is that not only one pc, other pc running win2k also have the same problem. I do not do any other setting, just standalone usage.