PDA

View Full Version : M1 boardband User Thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9

sin77
20-01-2008, 01:43 PM
M1 simply cmi

BlackTribal
22-01-2008, 03:06 PM
Posting now from Orchard - Cuscaden area.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/225085070.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Funny that I have yet to encounter the DCs u guys are mentioning abt, well perhaps 2 or 3 times VMC error so far. Signed up 3 mths back, think its quite okay so far.

FireHobbit
26-01-2008, 10:43 AM
where u using from all these while? what device u using with? all this is a consrant and also most impt area near city or cbd are better..

trytogetit
26-01-2008, 05:40 PM
interesting thread
still trying to get know this mobile broadband thing

eugehet
26-01-2008, 07:18 PM
Do guys have installation of driver problem?
Btw my boss used it, look pretty stable

skipbeat
04-02-2008, 11:06 PM
Just got mine today. 1.8mbps plan. I feel like stabbing myself for signing up before checking the feedback from hwz. ZZZ. I think my dial-up from donkey years ago was even faster than this. Salesman still had the cheek to tell me, "Of course, very fast".

http://www.speedtest.net/result/230326654.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Simei area btw.

wherehouse
04-02-2008, 11:38 PM
Just got mine today. 1.8mbps plan. I feel like stabbing myself for signing up before checking the feedback from hwz. ZZZ. I think my dial-up from donkey years ago was even faster than this. Salesman still had the cheek to tell me, "Of course, very fast".

http://www.speedtest.net/result/230326654.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Simei area btw.
dude, u using as fixedline replacement?

pettypoh
05-02-2008, 12:00 AM
decided no need talk so much already .. tmrw go return modem and cancel the account ... waste time sign up, waste time trying to fix, waste time return ... total waste of time ... IDA should really step in and do something about M1

wherehouse
05-02-2008, 12:07 AM
decided no need talk so much already .. tmrw go return modem and cancel the account ... waste time sign up, waste time trying to fix, waste time return ... total waste of time ... IDA should really step in and do something about M1
lol... wasted there is no govt body that can do anything about pple who expect too much (ie- cheap n green fixline replacement, use till got smoke come out then song) from a mobile svs.

otherwise its a excellent mobile patch... except last year got a few times their svs outage a few times, have to take them up on that!!!

but funny why never chose singtel BBOM leh? I stuck on this plan cos i last time have a contract for a line... they allow me to convert

jerm19
05-02-2008, 10:03 PM
"Ericsson to Enhance the Mobile Backbone Capacity of M1 of Singapore with Microwave and Optical Transmission Technology

Ericsson today announced that it has won a two-phase turnkey contract to implement microwave and optical transmission solutions for M1, one of Singapore's leading mobile communications providers. The project will vastly enhance the capacity of M1's mobile network backbone to meet the current and anticipated traffic increase in their mobile network resulting from an uptake of the operator's mobile broadband services.

Under the agreement, Ericsson is to supply, implement and maintain full turnkey microwave and optical transmission solutions that allow optimization on both network and sites - acting as the backhaul of M1's wireless broadband and cellular traffic - thereby resulting in a more robust and cost-effective network.

The transmission portfolio, comprising of Ericsson's MINI-LINK solutions, Optical MultiService Metro-Edge (OMS) platform and the ServiceOn management system, is expected to rollout in early part of 2008 and will involve several hundred sites across Singapore.
The two-phased project will focus on expanding the capacity of these 600 sites and fully utilizing backhaul speeds, thereby improving performance of M1's transmission network.

Ericsson's MINI-LINK portfolio can be optimized for simple installation with a compact, capacity agile outdoor unit. New base stations or interfaces can be added to the backhaul network configuration in a matter of minutes, thus minimizing maintenance and upgrade costs.
Neil Montefiore, M1's Chief Executive Officer says, "This announcement marks a significant milestone for M1 as we are now more self-sufficient in network ownership. We have chosen Ericsson as their microwave transmission solution provides us with a platform for flexible, scalable and cost-effective network expansion and management, in addition to helping us meet the emerging challenges of next-generation networks (NGNs)."

Ann Emilson, President and Country Manager of Ericsson Singapore says: "Today's announcement underlines the trust and confidence M1 has in Ericsson's proven technology and our commitment to deliver quality services. We are honored to help M1 meet its goal of being an innovative mobile communications service provider that is constantly seeking ways to offer superior user experience to its subscribers."
The contract also further cements Ericsson's leading position in converged metro and access transport networks and leadership in the short haul microwave market. About 450 customers all over the world have chosen the MINI-LINK solution and Ericsson has a market share of more than 40 percent of the short haul microwave market."

wherehouse
05-02-2008, 10:04 PM
City area, Raffles Place - Coffee Club. NOW. LOL.....

http://i31.tinypic.com/28c0bp4.jpg

http://www.speedtest.net/result/230727902.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

wherehouse
05-02-2008, 10:08 PM
"Ericsson to Enhance the Mobile Backbone Capacity of M1 of Singapore with Microwave and Optical Transmission Technology

Ericsson today announced that it has won a two-phase turnkey contract to implement microwave and optical transmission solutions for M1, one of Singapore's leading mobile communications providers. The project will vastly enhance the capacity of M1's mobile network backbone to meet the current and anticipated traffic increase in their mobile network resulting from an uptake of the operator's mobile broadband services.

Under the agreement, Ericsson is to supply, implement and maintain full turnkey microwave and optical transmission solutions that allow optimization on both network and sites - acting as the backhaul of M1's wireless broadband and cellular traffic - thereby resulting in a more robust and cost-effective network.

The transmission portfolio, comprising of Ericsson's MINI-LINK solutions, Optical MultiService Metro-Edge (OMS) platform and the ServiceOn management system, is expected to rollout in early part of 2008 and will involve several hundred sites across Singapore.
The two-phased project will focus on expanding the capacity of these 600 sites and fully utilizing backhaul speeds, thereby improving performance of M1's transmission network.

Ericsson's MINI-LINK portfolio can be optimized for simple installation with a compact, capacity agile outdoor unit. New base stations or interfaces can be added to the backhaul network configuration in a matter of minutes, thus minimizing maintenance and upgrade costs.
Neil Montefiore, M1's Chief Executive Officer says, "This announcement marks a significant milestone for M1 as we are now more self-sufficient in network ownership. We have chosen Ericsson as their microwave transmission solution provides us with a platform for flexible, scalable and cost-effective network expansion and management, in addition to helping us meet the emerging challenges of next-generation networks (NGNs)."

Ann Emilson, President and Country Manager of Ericsson Singapore says: "Today's announcement underlines the trust and confidence M1 has in Ericsson's proven technology and our commitment to deliver quality services. We are honored to help M1 meet its goal of being an innovative mobile communications service provider that is constantly seeking ways to offer superior user experience to its subscribers."
The contract also further cements Ericsson's leading position in converged metro and access transport networks and leadership in the short haul microwave market. About 450 customers all over the world have chosen the MINI-LINK solution and Ericsson has a market share of more than 40 percent of the short haul microwave market."
wah microwave backhaul.. they forsaking singtel!!!

microwave signal can hack anot? but still some locations the coverage still is very cmi like in tuas south...

skipbeat
05-02-2008, 11:00 PM
dude, u using as fixedline replacement?

yeah. singnet contract ended so i decided to try something else since i was pretty pissed about singnet cheating my money. i've been using my m1 mobile plan forever so it's like a loyalty thing.

oh wells. if things don't go well after a month, i'll drop them a nice email to ask for a discount as compensation (we're in sg after all) for my disappointment.

sin77
06-02-2008, 08:26 AM
m1 abit late to announce this.
I cancelled my mobile bb and mobile phone line just because of their bad network for internet.
If i knew earlier, i might have stayed.

FireHobbit
06-02-2008, 03:12 PM
any improvement lately.. seem like good responce from those in city only..

jAix_sg
06-02-2008, 03:45 PM
Now M1 broadband is unlimited leh!!

skipbeat
06-02-2008, 11:10 PM
Today not bad. At least better than my first day. Everyone went out for reunion dinner?

http://www.speedtest.net/result/231168686.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

FireHobbit
07-02-2008, 01:54 AM
maybe.. where is u locations?

wherehouse
07-02-2008, 10:41 AM
maybe.. where is u locations?
maybe all the china / foreign worker / student left singapore so less congestion - less pple watching online tv and downloading...

haha oh no i'm a xenophobe today

FireHobbit
07-02-2008, 11:43 AM
haha.. u using which part of singapore?

Singapore21
07-02-2008, 11:23 PM
maybe all the china / foreign worker / student left singapore so less congestion - less pple watching online tv and downloading...

haha oh no i'm a xenophobe today
excellent analysis...!

so net congestion is inversely related to the congestion at the causeway too?

FireHobbit
08-02-2008, 12:59 AM
haha.. true... alot of people using lately..

wherehouse
08-02-2008, 10:50 AM
excellent analysis...!

so net congestion is inversely related to the congestion at the causeway too?

point of entry not only causeway...

NOT LIKE YOU ALL DUNNO RIGHT, NOW SO MANY "NEW SINGAPOREANS" WE ALL LIVE TOGETHER SO HAPPILY RITE!!!!

FireHobbit
16-02-2008, 01:25 AM
haha.. now network is back to slow slow... http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q132/TLC_Designs/SMILIES/class.gif

winternights
18-02-2008, 03:00 PM
anyone here using M1 BB with the Huawei E960, I face alot of disconnection using that modem.. ugh.. any help to prevent that?

Soomp!
18-02-2008, 06:43 PM
I wonder is it worth to sign up M1 Mobile broadband plan.

my Singnet BB contract expiring in a mth time.

heard that now M1 BB plan has got unlimited data limit

Free incoming call , 8 cents outgoing call/min

& of cause it is mobile, u can take it everywhere u wan.

I wonder if this service has got stable connection
something u wun get DC..
so we can game in peace ..

Soomp!
18-02-2008, 06:43 PM
anyone here using M1 BB with the Huawei E960, I face alot of disconnection using that modem.. ugh.. any help to prevent that?
sad to hear this man..
wonder if i wanna sign up..

lblwk1
19-02-2008, 02:06 PM
Hi Guys, anyone out there can help?
I have subscribe M1 mobile BB and has a Huawei E220, wondering is the Huawei E220 work with singtel SIM card? If it work, how to do it?
Thanks guys

passion81
21-02-2008, 03:01 PM
The Huawei modem is rented to u and has to be returned to M1 right?
The Huawei modem is sim locked (like the iphone) and only can be used with M1 sim cards unless u can unlock it somehow.
But the best way is to have a trial!

winternights
21-02-2008, 03:42 PM
anyone herer using the linksys 3g modem issit better connection using that device?

babylon78
21-02-2008, 04:09 PM
about 2 months not on it... no use at all.. slow like hell.. contract ended and return it.. they refund to me $4+ LOL

FireHobbit
24-02-2008, 01:05 AM
the huawei router seem good... http://friendsforever.foren-city.de/images/smiles/a084.gif

localbus
18-03-2008, 11:06 AM
about 2 months not on it... no use at all.. slow like hell.. contract ended and return it.. they refund to me $4+ LOL

Still have 3 months to terminate... they should refund more cos of the stupid speed.. !!

slow like hell is the word !

FireHobbit
23-03-2008, 11:21 AM
who here goign to jump ship to SH or ST after your contract end?

wherehouse
23-03-2008, 07:09 PM
Still have 3 months to terminate... they should refund more cos of the stupid speed.. !!

slow like hell is the word !

http://www.speedtest.net/result/249890428.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
512 plan.. very slow indeed???
I'm usually outdoors. It's alrite.

localbus
23-03-2008, 09:49 PM
using 1.8 plan. Can't imagine if its 512. Anyway. Already sign up singtel today. Got the samsung modem. Can't wait to jump ship.

FireHobbit
24-03-2008, 12:41 AM
m1 is really not stable... the connection is like sometime just hang...

tan8888
01-04-2008, 01:56 PM
M1BB is suck....
since day 1 i sign up with this stupid M1BB, i regret it....
it has cause my blood level go up each time i use it for past 2 months...
called the customer service and technical support, but useless... no improvement at all..

finally decided to put it in "fridge", and never used for 1 month liao, email to M1 (via M1 website) the problem and ask for waiver of early termination penalty, but still the standard reply "our technical people will look into this, and will contract you"... but already more than 3 weeks, still nobody called me.

can anyone give me any M1 manager email id, so that i can complain to the manager directly.
Thanks

joanne00
02-04-2008, 03:15 AM
haha keep calling 1627 and irritate them. u're customer. always right.

limce1
02-04-2008, 08:06 AM
**** ! Should have read this thread before signing up. My singtel dial-up just gave up its ghost on April Fool's day, and I was forced to seek a broadband plan. I went to Sun Plaza, tot of signing up the Singnet 1Mb plan, but the shop there (even tho listed on the Singtel web) says "in a couple of weeks time, then can reg broadband". Stupid ! So, an M1 shop just below, and say can connect straight away, also the 512 plan just 6 months contract, grab la. Aiyo, really vomit air (blood also no more !). Even slower than my dial-up last time. I kept connecting for the past half hour, then only manage to come in here to complain !

Anyway, I'm using this Hua wei E220, seems that everytime I switch on my pc, it cannot detect, must unplug/plug the usb port, then it come on, is it like this ?

And, (I also posted another thread, but no one answer yet), there is a usage limit to set, how high to set ?
What connection, manaul or auto, should I set ?

yi_shiang
02-04-2008, 09:07 AM
And, (I also posted another thread, but no one answer yet), there is a usage limit to set, how high to set ?
What connection, manaul or auto, should I set ?

There is no usage limit. Now ish Unlimited one. Back in Nov/Dec is limit to 5GB per Month.

Ah-Pin-Kor
02-04-2008, 11:25 AM
I oredi give up on the M1 BB (512k plan), even though I still have a few more months contract.
The performance is just not consistent. When it gets slow, it's even slower than dial-up !
Sometimes, you have to disconnect and reconnect back.
:s27:

s330063
02-04-2008, 11:31 AM
i have changed from m1 to singtel, great difference, no disconnection problem and also speed rather consistent

tan8888
02-04-2008, 05:08 PM
There is no usage limit. Now ish Unlimited one. Back in Nov/Dec is limit to 5GB per Month.

of course give you unlimited usage la... because you can't even connect properly, how to hit the usage limit, even 1GB per month also can't hit...

mistersoh
02-04-2008, 09:52 PM
terrible.. terrible...

I was about to sign up sometime ago.. until i started reading this forum..

It seems, it's really so terrible!! :slant:

wherehouse
03-04-2008, 03:03 AM
lol... i duno man, what are your usage intentions?
Outdoor serves me fine most of the time.... although sometimes their network suddenly can have outage one... quite screw up.

other than that, seems generally ok leh. i'm light user only for checking text-based information...

tehpengboi
03-04-2008, 03:49 AM
Hey guys, I need some help here.
Can the M1 mobile internet subscribers who are paying for their own monthly subscription send me a private msg pls.
I have questions to ask.
Thanks thanks!!!M

joanne00
03-04-2008, 10:58 AM
what qtn u wanna ask?

harvardsch
03-04-2008, 11:15 AM
moi also 1.8Mpbs user... i think it's very dependent on what time u use... think everyone is trying to abuse the unlimited data bundle lah... but i think i will jump ship soon.

wherehouse
03-04-2008, 01:34 PM
Hey guys, I need some help here.
Can the M1 mobile internet subscribers who are paying for their own monthly subscription send me a private msg pls.
I have questions to ask.
Thanks thanks!!!M
ask here lar.
i pay by citibank credit card got points earn from the bill... and then

MPH
03-04-2008, 02:48 PM
lol... i duno man, what are your usage intentions?
Outdoor serves me fine most of the time.... although sometimes their network suddenly can have outage one... quite screw up.

other than that, seems generally ok leh. i'm light user only for checking text-based information...

Which provider are you using ?

chanbri
06-04-2008, 05:23 AM
hahaha. take a look at how slow my connection is. am on 512kbps plan.
gonna jump ship to singtel.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/255666322.png (http://www.speedtest.net)http://www.speedtest.net/result/255666322.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

chanbri
06-04-2008, 05:25 AM
but that was with some backgroup downloading.

here is with no other internet activity aside from speedtest.net

http://www.speedtest.net/result/255667252.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

chanbri
06-04-2008, 05:28 AM
an another one.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/255667966.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

looks ok. but in reality. downling file can be slow.
this result is early morning one when M1 seems pretty fast. but during night. i get DC every few hours.
and speedtests are slower too.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/255667966.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

FireHobbit
06-04-2008, 09:37 AM
their service like no improvement

tanjhj
06-04-2008, 04:32 PM
Switch to singtel lah. it is like a jump from hell to heaven. M! CMI

magix
06-04-2008, 05:41 PM
Switch to singtel lah. it is like a jump from hell to heaven. M! CMI

Yah different a lot man from M1 to Singel/Starhub

FireHobbit
06-04-2008, 05:49 PM
me switch from m1 to starhub... alot alot of difference... serving on phone to laptop alot of differences...

localbus
06-04-2008, 11:46 PM
i jump from M1 to singtel.. but its like hell to hell... wonder if i need to go to starhub for another hell ?

Apex
06-04-2008, 11:48 PM
i jump from M1 to singtel.. but its like hell to hell... wonder if i need to go to starhub for another hell ?

I just try ST. The speed is a lot more better then M1. Speed for 3.5G BB can nv hit the max

joanne00
07-04-2008, 12:30 AM
M1 is just not the provider to look for in terms of broadband

wherehouse
07-04-2008, 01:48 AM
yes of course. it's singapore!

I dunno why u all seem to have so many gripes. wat/where/how are you all using these services?!?!?!

wherehouse
07-04-2008, 01:49 AM
I just try ST. The speed is a lot more better then M1. Speed for 3.5G BB can nv hit the max

yes yes.. ST BBOM is really better. less congested!

starch1990
07-04-2008, 07:22 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/256230640.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

just tested at Vivocity inside a shop storeroom

edit: am on the cheapest plan

FireHobbit
12-04-2008, 10:47 AM
central area are betetr seem like it...

mistersoh
12-04-2008, 12:28 PM
central area are betetr seem like it...

then the other areas how ?

Cannot Make It... :look:

FireHobbit
12-04-2008, 01:10 PM
yea... i agree... CMI

Apex
12-04-2008, 07:46 PM
too bad man. I feel m1 has good equipment just network sucks. I miss the wireless router!

FireHobbit
12-04-2008, 11:55 PM
now they have the huawei router...

joanne00
13-04-2008, 10:28 AM
starhub has the huawei stick too lol

FireHobbit
13-04-2008, 10:54 AM
starhub one is really not bad...

mistersoh
13-04-2008, 07:19 PM
starhub has the huawei stick too lol

wah! keeping up with the trend.. :s12:

FireHobbit
13-04-2008, 11:33 PM
all using huawei brand by all three telco

FireHobbit
14-04-2008, 02:18 PM
huawei seem to be more stable in hspa service here in Singapore..http://img231.imageshack.us/img231/9114/7211512zm.gif

mistersoh
20-04-2008, 05:31 PM
huawei seem to be more stable in hspa service here in Singapore..http://img231.imageshack.us/img231/9114/7211512zm.gif

arnor...
i agree...

brothers, do you think this M1 broadband will get better ?
as in network and speed...

FireHobbit
20-04-2008, 06:06 PM
don think so.. m1 quite stubborn on themselves de

mistersoh
20-04-2008, 07:36 PM
they are losing a lot of customers...

WJY
21-04-2008, 01:20 PM
one question is M1bb faster than wirless@sg? me intend to sign up the 512kbps plan and get 35% off all my subscription plan.

FireHobbit
21-04-2008, 08:30 PM
not really true... onyl singtel and starhub is faster then m1 and wireless@sg

WJY
21-04-2008, 08:56 PM
not really true... onyl singtel and starhub is faster then m1 and wireless@sg

so M1 or wireless@sg faster?

FireHobbit
22-04-2008, 09:50 AM
wireless@faster...

leaving_footsteps
22-04-2008, 10:39 AM
Wireless@SG slower.

leaving_footsteps
22-04-2008, 10:40 AM
arnor...
i agree...

brothers, do you think this M1 broadband will get better ?
as in network and speed...

M1 upgrading their entire mobile network from what I know. Nokia-Siemens is out. Huawei is in.

WJY
22-04-2008, 11:35 AM
wah confusing leh 1 say faster the other slower.................................................

FireHobbit
22-04-2008, 01:19 PM
when will the system be up? wait for very long time le.. u see those customer now..

FireHobbit
22-04-2008, 01:19 PM
alot of customer is hoping over to other company like ST and SH lehttp://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v319/tankexmortis/Smileys/th_93c18967.gif

mistersoh
23-04-2008, 12:16 AM
when will the system be up? wait for very long time le.. u see those customer now..

think they better do it before June comes, with the Full Mobile Number Portability and might see a lot of people jumping ship..

:s22:

mistersoh
23-04-2008, 12:17 AM
M1 upgrading their entire mobile network from what I know. Nokia-Siemens is out. Huawei is in.

really ah ?

hope they roll out some new devices... and make network better!! :s12:

maxcava19
23-04-2008, 04:47 PM
M1 cmi ah.cannot tahan already,gonna jump to starhub cheapest broadband at home..M1,goodbye to u.starhub 2mbps,here i come!

singchyun
25-04-2008, 01:03 AM
really ah ?

hope they roll out some new devices... and make network better!! :s12:

The system is already up! M1 Broadband is now serving out lower-quality images in order to reduce network traffic. If you're using M1 Broadband, you would have noticed most of the images on your web pages are blurred.

Chai_Latte
25-04-2008, 02:35 AM
The system is already up! M1 Broadband is now serving out lower-quality images in order to reduce network traffic. If you're using M1 Broadband, you would have noticed most of the images on your web pages are blurred.

Yeah, seems like the system got upgraded... much, much faster now :D

My Huawei modem was on GPRS mode (green light) for quite some time just now and I thought "what the heellll....."

Then it switched back to HSPDA (cyan light) and everything was fast... I can play youtube videos without pausing it first to load!

I can't detect any blurry image.... can you show me where to test for this, if any?

I'm on the $38 plan.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/263510836.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

askh52
25-04-2008, 09:43 AM
Hi, same plan($38), test @ 09:40
http://www.speedtest.net/result/263656928.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Any1 can tell me 1.8down/?up

leaving_footsteps
25-04-2008, 10:02 AM
Anyway, from what I know, by the end of this year, M1 network will be faster. Top speed will hit 14.4Mbps. But of course, I doubt that can be hit in practice.

liangtam
25-04-2008, 02:05 PM
Anyway, from what I know, by the end of this year, M1 network will be faster. Top speed will hit 14.4Mbps. But of course, I doubt that can be hit in practice.

gimmick. unless they rly solve their upstream issue, starhub ish still better :)

vinlloyd
25-04-2008, 04:55 PM

can any 1 confirm this piece of info?

FireHobbit
25-04-2008, 06:04 PM
the finally wokr up? anyone see a great improvemnt?

mistersoh
25-04-2008, 08:29 PM
really ah !!!!?!?!?!? :eek:

where you got the info... ?

askh52
25-04-2008, 08:45 PM

I heard this since 1st day sign up M1BB

gimmick. unless they rly solve their upstream issue, starhub ish still better :)

upstream issue? got meh?

the finally wokr up? anyone see a great improvemnt?

not at all, seems like the ping getting worst

Chai_Latte
25-04-2008, 10:21 PM
can any 1 confirm this piece of info?

Well, last night I documented my experience of what seems to be in the midst of M1 "upgrading" in my post below.

After that I am able to watch, uninterrupted, any 10 minutes video on youtube without needing to let it load at least halfway.

Surfing webpages also had improve... hardly getting any page "stuck" like before... at least things are moving along and more tolerable.

Although, I cannot confirm whether any actual system upgrading had been done... but surfing, streaming and downloading is so much better than before for me.

singchyun
25-04-2008, 11:53 PM
really ah !!!!?!?!?!? :eek:

where you got the info... ?

More than 3 people have posted online that they are facing the same blurry image problem:

http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?messageID=7098592
http://www.sitepoint.com/forums/showthread.php?t=545045
http://anchorvale.wordpress.com/2008/04/24/is-m1-broadband-injecting-javascript-into-my-web-pages/#comments

vinlloyd
26-04-2008, 12:58 AM
More than 3 people have posted online that they are facing the same blurry image problem:

http://anchorvale.wordpress.com/2008/04/24/is-m1-broadband-injecting-javascript-into-my-web-pages/#comments

Well, last night I documented my experience of what seems to be in the midst of M1 "upgrading" in my post below.

After that I am able to watch, uninterrupted, any 10 minutes video on youtube without needing to let it load at least halfway.

Surfing webpages also had improve... hardly getting any page "stuck" like before... at least things are moving along and more tolerable.

Although, I cannot confirm whether any actual system upgrading had been done... but surfing, streaming and downloading is so much better than before for me.

m1 is so lame

i did a test @ this website http://www.engadget.com/ (or any website tat is pic intensive), click view on any pic and u can c tat e website will start wif 'http://172.31.254.***/' followed by the actual address, true enough, put ur mouse over the pic for a few secs, the actual non reduced pic will refresh

the way they r doin thgs, will oni make them lose more customer
no wonder my firefox script block is goin haywire, all my blocked ads etc all appear, thot my firefox corrupted, keep tryin here n there all e same haiz

tis 'feature' seems to happen if u r on GPRS/3G, if ur r on 3.5G ur website will load normally

mistersoh
26-04-2008, 11:30 AM

thank you, bro !

and, M1, this is stupid... :s16:

magix
26-04-2008, 01:46 PM
might as well don't load pix. Then mouse over then pix appear

FireHobbit
26-04-2008, 05:11 PM
scare waste overload their system.. what a way to make consumer think is faster.. might as well don load image...

vinlloyd
26-04-2008, 10:26 PM
http://youdeservebetter.sg/

time 2 post feedback
put so nicely, will listen to customer

wkokhoe
26-04-2008, 11:07 PM
Anyone can elp on this before i had to bring the modem and lappy to M1 Paragon SC. After reinstall my Win Vista, my modem had work abnormally. It able to connect to internet but only last for less than 2 minutes, then its turn to local and no internet connection, and the light keep on blinking even the icon in taskbar still show connected. Also the Vodafone client program also show connected but not able to surf internet at all, anyone can help?:s11:

mistersoh
26-04-2008, 11:44 PM

time 2 post feedback

Done!

=)

Brothers, all post feedback! hahaha

liangtam
27-04-2008, 01:41 AM

time 2 post feedback

Think they just depicted themself in the advertisement, lol...

osirisis
27-04-2008, 08:56 AM

is the feedback official? cos i dun see a link via M1.com.sg?

sorry, juz saw it! i was looking at m1 shop online... blur blur.

vinlloyd
27-04-2008, 11:27 AM
Done!

=)

Brothers, all post feedback! hahaha

lets wait n c do they mean wat they said

Chai_Latte
27-04-2008, 04:52 PM

Think I spoke too soon.... past 2 days the experience is back to being craptastic :s27:

I think that day was just a test and they have not rolled it out yet....

mosmos
29-04-2008, 09:56 AM
http://m1.com.sg/broadband/m1bb.htm

http://i27.tinypic.com/28i6ybt.jpg

pb
29-04-2008, 01:21 PM
posted my feedback too! :s22:

sadboy
29-04-2008, 01:24 PM

Wah old plan cannot hit the speed liao. Now still up the speed. Getting more and more like SH MOL patten liao.

vinlloyd
29-04-2008, 02:48 PM
they should up e speed n up their contract duration, else 6mths down e road, all will still run
cos their speed really cannot make it
with their new feature, even worst

last time was always disconnect, once inawhile need to reconnect, if lucky, will connect without issue for 5hrs+
speed slow nvr mind, can wait
disconnect nvr mind, can reconnect
but now they put e new feature of reducing website pic quality, haiz

Chai_Latte
29-04-2008, 05:04 PM
they should up e speed n up their contract duration, else 6mths down e road, all will still run

last time was always disconnect, once inawhile need to reconnect, if lucky, will connect without issue for 5hrs+

I was confuse why other people get blurry image but I didn't.

I usually use Safari on OS X, but few days ago I fire up Firefox and saw what you guys mean.

So the problem is browser specific?

vinlloyd
29-04-2008, 06:28 PM

I usually use Safari on OS X, but few days ago I fire up Firefox and saw what you guys mean.

I use both avant n firefox, both give me issue, nvr try IE
but wat i did mentioned/encounter b4 is tat if ur connection is really gd, constant @ 3.5G/HSDPA, u might not have tat blur image issue
but if ur connection in 3G/GPRS, then 100% blur image

osirisis
29-04-2008, 09:15 PM
I beri sad with M1 liao.. sitting outside MRT station (not moving) M1 disconnect many times else not moving.. frustrated use Wireless@sg immediate result! no disconnection..

mistersoh
29-04-2008, 11:39 PM

Wah!
Whats the difference between 1.8Mbps and 2Mbps ?? :s11:

can they really hit this ?? :look:

wherehouse
30-04-2008, 01:46 AM
lousy marketing... cant even be consistent, still dare to up the speed numbers.

maybe its their bandwidth conservation proxy that degrades images by 20% so they can claim more bandwidth available

askh52
30-04-2008, 11:34 AM

No, I try Safari for XP, Opera, IE, all same result. Also can some1 confirm on the m1 when surf on hardwarezone, you see NO image?

I also feel the same thing, after "upgrade", my modem keep on disconnecting

lousy marketing... cant even be consistent, still dare to up the speed numbers.

maybe its their bandwidth conservation proxy that degrades images by 20% so they can claim more bandwidth available

"compression" goes up to 30%(saw a 3xKB pic to 8KB), but problem also comes in. When u try downloading from websites that asks for image verification(like BADONGO), the page will non-stop loading due to the picture cache from different ip address...

askh52
30-04-2008, 12:33 PM
.... upgrade to a new firmware i can see back the "low quality" pic in hardwarezone
but, they still cannot reach 2mbps
http://www.speedtest.net/result/265600886.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

imanon
30-04-2008, 05:39 PM
// ==UserScript==
// @name m1ImgFix
// @namespace me
// @description m1 bb blur image fix for greasemonkey script (firefox) or user script (ie7pro)
// @include *
// ==/UserScript==

/*
disclaimer: no warranty or support provided. use at your own risk.
version history:
v 0.2:
bug #1 solved.
v 0.1:
initial alpha release.
bugs:
#1: mouseover img will result in broken img (nguncompressednguncompressed).
*/

//disable(rename) m1 mouseover fn
//to prevent nguncompressednguncompressed
window.addEventListener(
'load',
function() {
document.body.innerHTML.replace(
/\bfunction ir_c\(event\)/i
,'function old_ir_c(event)');
},
true);

//rename all img src to correct non blur img
window.setTimeout(
function() {
for(i=0 ; i<document.images.length; i++) {
sImg=document.images[i].src;
if( sImg.match(/^mhtml:/i) ) {
mp=sImg.search('!');
if( mp!=-1 ) {
sImg=sImg.substring(mp+1);
} //mp
} //mhtml

if( sImg.match(/\.(gif|jpg|jpeg)$/i) ) {
document.images[i].src=sImg+'nguncompressed';
} //img ext
}; //for i
} //fn
, 1000);

askh52
30-04-2008, 08:23 PM
// ==UserScript==
// @name m1ImgFix.......

can help test in badango? I don't have firefox to test

mistersoh
30-04-2008, 09:24 PM
.... upgrade to a new firmware i can see back the "low quality" pic in hardwarezone
but, they still cannot reach 2mbps
http://www.speedtest.net/result/265600886.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

erm... i think this is the 1st time i see this kind of speed... :s11:

askh52
30-04-2008, 09:40 PM

huh? why? too slow?

mistersoh
30-04-2008, 11:49 PM
huh? why? too slow?

nah...
i see its often show 3 digits for download...

askh52
01-05-2008, 02:24 AM
nah...
i see its often show 3 digits for download...

increase 0.2 Mbps, so you add 200kbps lor... around there la..

tanjhj
01-05-2008, 03:36 AM

no point see speed actually, actual performance always much much lower. m1 still the worst among the 3 telco for bbom

askh52
01-05-2008, 12:24 PM
no point see speed actually, actual performance always much much lower. m1 still the worst among the 3 telco for bbom

ya, m1bb i only able to get 80~100kb for downloads in microsoft:s16:

raijinshou
01-05-2008, 01:34 PM
How I install this script to greasemonkey firefox?

Can anyone explain the step? I have just install greasemonkey. I find no option such as browse script like IE7Pro.

BiG_FisH
01-05-2008, 10:38 PM
hmm i just took this up...have yet to test it out yet.

took the 1Mbps plan btw

Chai_Latte
02-05-2008, 03:04 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/265456611.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

But I got some tricks up my sleeve to get that kinda speed with their $38plan.

First I flashed the firmware... that alone will boost the speed.

Then I do this

http://www.instructables.com/files/deriv/FDJ/RFZP/F0HPZCGH/FDJRFZPF0HPZCGH.MEDIUM.jpg

That is not the pic on my setup, but you'll get the idea...

Instruction can be found here http://www.instructables.com/id/Wifi-Signal-Strainer-WokFi/

I'm thinking of making a smaller flat one for use outdoors.

raijinshou
03-05-2008, 03:12 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/265456611.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

But I got some tricks up my sleeve to get that kinda speed with their $38plan.

First I flashed the firmware... that alone will boost the speed.

Then I do this

http://www.instructables.com/files/deriv/FDJ/RFZP/F0HPZCGH/FDJRFZPF0HPZCGH.MEDIUM.jpg

That is not the pic on my setup, but you'll get the idea...

Instruction can be found here http://www.instructables.com/id/Wifi-Signal-Strainer-WokFi/

I'm thinking of making a smaller flat one for use outdoors.

Are u using the M1 HSDPA Modem?

How u flash it if I may know?

I love the speed u get. I cant get that fast even on the $38 plan aka 2 Mbps.

I get mostly 100 KB/s which means only 800kbps.

tanjhj
03-05-2008, 03:18 AM
even flash firmware, the bottleneck will be still there for actual surfing..

liangtam
03-05-2008, 03:41 AM
Sounds like placebo effect
Ish M1 signal so weak in first place? dun think so...

If get <90% signal, u put noodle wok oso useless, becos peak liao.

Chai_Latte
03-05-2008, 05:57 AM
Are u using the M1 HSDPA Modem?

How u flash it if I may know?

I love the speed u get. I cant get that fast even on the $38 plan aka 2 Mbps.

I get mostly 100 KB/s which means only 800kbps.

Yeap, using M1 HSDPA Modem.

You have to search G to learn how to flash it... I'm not sure if posting how-to flash will incure the wrath of the mods in here :D

even flash firmware, the bottleneck will be still there for actual surfing..

Before flashing early this year, my speednet test can only hit 300 to 400kpbs. Immediately after flash it jumps to 700+kbps.

Sounds like placebo effect
Ish M1 signal so weak in first place? dun think so...

If get <90% signal, u put noodle wok oso useless, becos peak liao.

Have you try it?

Without dat strainer wok thingy, I usually can wait more than 1 minute or even as long as 5mins to get a single damn page to load.

After 5min i will give up, quit, unplug usb, replug, curse, pray and continue surfing :P

With wok, 5 second lag at start den page load in 10 to 15 seconds.

Works like a charm day, night, peak, off peak.

All I can say, it is definately more tolerable... now I just need to make a smaller flatter version for outdoor use ;)

imanon
03-05-2008, 12:14 PM
How I install this script to greasemonkey firefox?

Can anyone explain the step? I have just install greasemonkey. I find no option such as browse script like IE7Pro.

m1 bb blur image fix v0.03

for greasemonkey users:
http://www.badongo.com/file/9153791

for ie7pro users:
http://www.badongo.com/file/9153792

uninstall previous version of this script (if any).
drag downloaded file and drop in web browser window to install.

raijinshou
03-05-2008, 04:28 PM
I found that now only certain browsers are affected.

I have been trying with: IE7, Firefox 2.0.0.14, Flock 1.1.1, Opera 9.27

Take the image in this site as sample: http://www.tipandtrick.net/2008/download-oo-unerase-v2-with-free-license-serial-number/

And here are the results from image property:
IE 7
http://img170.imageshack.us/img170/2330/ie7qc4.jpg

Firefox 2.0.0.14
http://img214.imageshack.us/img214/9140/firefox20014zw6.jpg

Opera 9.27
http://img337.imageshack.us/img337/8337/opera927cz9.jpg

Flock 1.1.3
http://img181.imageshack.us/img181/8528/flock113ye1.jpg

--------------
I take conclusion that M1 "blur" image using some useragent mechanism.
IE and Mozilla useragent seems to be in their "blur" list (Firefox and Flock are similir, Mozilla useragent).

I dont know why Opera useragent is out from this.

To verify this conclusion, I change Firefox useragent in about:config into Opera, and the image is loaded as the same as Opera. This is the best workaround I can find that will make Captcha works, but it has big drawback that some site will failed partially or completely in loading (using Opera useragent in Firefox will make quickreply of HWZ forum unusable).

Btw now seems there is no more blur image. But the M1 re-route image still annoys me. It make captcha failed completely. They are idiots!

askh52
03-05-2008, 04:51 PM
I found that now only certain browsers are affected.

I have been trying with: IE7, Firefox 2.0.0.14, Flock 1.1.1, Opera 9.27

Take the image in this site as sample: http://www.tipandtrick.net/2008/download-oo-unerase-v2-with-free-license-serial-number/

First, i got same problem in opera 9.27(but identify as IE, maybe the root cause) Safari, IE, (dun have FF).
Second, wat is captcha? I was facing the same issue with Badango, but seems like they somehow manage to fix it

Update: I found out only identify as opera will solve the loading pic issue...
Opera can have low quality pic if you want... try to surf hardwarezone with opera identify as IE and identify as Opera

raijinshou
03-05-2008, 09:51 PM
As I said, if u use useragent "opera", no blur image.
If u use useragent "IE" or "mozilla" (can be set in opera setting and other browser setting too), it will be blurred.

For unknown reason, useragent "opera" is not in M1 list of "blurring".

Captcha is the code u type in certain site for registering or downloading (preventing bot). Badango uses on for downloading afaik.

For opera user, stick opera useragent to "opera". the page will load without M1 intervering.

i0ri86
04-05-2008, 06:15 PM
Anyone using dis Broadband to play online games like Counter-strike or MMO at home or outside? Will it lag? Or get disconnected often?

summers
04-05-2008, 06:25 PM
Anyone using dis Broadband to play online games like Counter-strike or MMO at home or outside? Will it lag? Or get disconnected often?

You're kidding, right? So many pages about M1's lousy service, yet you can still ask us this? :s22:

i0ri86
04-05-2008, 07:13 PM
You're kidding, right? So many pages about M1's lousy service, yet you can still ask us this? :s22:

I do know someone from other forum saying dat he is actually playing online games using dis bbom (512kbps), which did not lag, so i tod i could look for more users who r using dis bbom to play online game for more comments. Well, no harm asking right?

liangtam
04-05-2008, 07:24 PM
I do know someone from other forum saying dat he is actually playing online games using dis bbom (512kbps), which did not lag, so i tod i could look for more users who r using dis bbom to play online game for more comments. Well, no harm asking right?

if its bbom, its not m1.

askh52
04-05-2008, 10:01 PM

CS? forget it, you need below 60ms ping to play with acceptable speed...
For MMORPG, should be no problem, like WOW, average ping is arn 100-200

Anyway, BBoM is from Singnet

i0ri86
04-05-2008, 10:45 PM
o sry, my mistake. I tod m1 is oso bbom. :s11: hehe. Thanks for da info anyway. :)

FireHobbit
05-05-2008, 12:55 AM
m1 lag like siao... cannot play games lehttp://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v319/tankexmortis/Smileys/th_Silly_avatar_by_Dicx.gif

raijinshou
05-05-2008, 04:06 AM
Check this site for M1 SpeedTest. It is like **** and sux.

a picture for m1:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/267203301.png

Please dont apply for M1. U r just wasting ur money.

i0ri86
05-05-2008, 12:18 PM
Lol! Tod would be better if M1 upgraded speeds, but still like sh!t. Thanks for da info guys. Appreciate it. :s41:

Chai_Latte
06-05-2008, 10:09 AM
Check this site for M1 SpeedTest. It is like **** and sux.

a picture for m1:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/267203301.png

Please dont apply for M1. U r just wasting ur money.

Damn... that is like paying for NO service at all :s27:

Let us flood STOMP with crappy M1BB data.

Although mine zhng until quite fast, think should be no problem reverting it back to its original useless state.

layzibum22
06-05-2008, 11:28 AM
My first test on my 1mbps M1BB plan... using a Nokia N82 connecting to my desktop...

http://www.speedtest.net/result/267874785.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

layzibum22
06-05-2008, 11:30 AM
My 2nd test...

http://www.speedtest.net/result/267875562.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

layzibum22
06-05-2008, 06:18 PM
I just tried my fren's singnet mobile broadband 512 on my n82... the overall surfing experience on my n82 seems faster den on my 1mbps m1bb...

But I feel M1's wap website is had more content and more user frenly... Singtel seems like a standard webpage...

Singtel one cannot do any voice call, M1 can(chargable).

Both can do smses which is chargable also.

media2368
07-05-2008, 01:01 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/268081413.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

So far this is the best I can get.

Techno Pride
07-05-2008, 02:31 AM
My boss went out and got M1 mobile broadband for the office without consulting me. He thought it was cheaper than ST business broadband and it's "unlimited" as well. -_-"

now i'm worrying about the data usage. Has anyone gotten warnings or terminated for exceeding bandwidth cap, if any?

raijinshou
07-05-2008, 10:06 AM
M1 has no limit data access. It's unlimited

tanjhj
07-05-2008, 12:40 PM
I just tried my fren's singnet mobile broadband 512 on my n82... the overall surfing experience on my n82 seems faster den on my 1mbps m1bb...

But I feel M1's wap website is had more content and more user frenly... Singtel seems like a standard webpage...

Singtel one cannot do any voice call, M1 can(chargable).

Both can do smses which is chargable also.

hello, website where got use. it is the actually surfing experience that caounts. ST customer service is better than M! and also faster surfing than m1.

most importantly the 50gb cap is not an issue as u can almost impossble to reach that. a;so you will recieved sms from ST when u reach 25gb 40gb data used.

tanjhj
07-05-2008, 12:42 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/268081413.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

So far this is the best I can get.

down look at the speed. look at the m1 infrastrature cant imagine if it go oversea site...

see my 512kb from singnet test on 2.41pm peak hour. non peak hour can get double that speed and half the ping. surf net even faster than my mol 12mb plan!!

that speak alot

http://www.speedtest.net/result/268338618.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/268339752.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/268340031.png

limyouliang
07-05-2008, 03:55 PM
may i know if can surf in a moving bus without disruption? thx.

alex22
08-05-2008, 02:13 AM
down look at the speed. look at the m1 infrastrature cant imagine if it go oversea site...

see my 512kb from singnet test on 2.41pm peak hour. non peak hour can get double that speed and half the ping. surf net even faster than my mol 12mb plan!!

that speak alot

http://www.speedtest.net/result/268338618.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/268339752.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/268340031.png
wah your singnet 512 can get 912kbps.... joon bo
off peak still double that speed somemore. u sure u subscribing to 512 BBOM anot?

pb
08-05-2008, 09:19 AM
So far everyone who jump from M1 to Singnet BBOM has feedback better speed?

M1 is getting suckier by the day man....

tanjhj
08-05-2008, 09:22 AM
wah your singnet 512 can get 912kbps.... joon bo
off peak still double that speed somemore. u sure u subscribing to 512 BBOM anot?

ah yoh i bluff for what, i can even play wow or dota leh. in fact i get 512kb 1st becoz i can always upgrade anytime i like mah. but u cannot downgrade leh. dumb..

now 512kb is more than enough for me coz i dun need to download much. most download done at home pc.

all in all, M1 sux even if they gif free upgrade to 1 mb, it cant beat ST in speed or Price. ST ish $11 per month for 512kb only!

Why i say m1 sux? becoz even go to their bugis m1 shop to test their BBOM also they lag. I tested ST BBOM during the packed Expo on sun eve yet the speed is damn good... what u think?

This is my MOL line. Even my 512kb BBOM is faster than it in surfing and loading youtube...FYI i am on wireless router

http://www.speedtest.net/result/268700854.png

tanjhj
08-05-2008, 09:35 AM
this morning ST 512kb BBOM test 9.32am

http://www.speedtest.net/result/268701849.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/268702215.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/268702473.png

as u can see the speed is not very consistent but i am happy with it so far. what u expect for $11 per month 12 months contract at 9am peak hour testing?

http://img384.imageshack.us/img384/9669/14911114qi2.jpg

Techno Pride
08-05-2008, 11:38 AM
M1 has no limit data access. It's unlimited

thanks. I saw that they used to have a 2GB cap (from 1st page of this thread), but M1 removed that clause recently. Hope that's really the case.

Forseti
08-05-2008, 12:18 PM
Hi all!
Just to add my experience.
I did not test the speeds but having just changed to singtel bbom 512 using today.
I can clearly attest that singtel 512 is faster and more stable than M1 1mb (which I was still using till yest)

Should have made the change way earlier man!!

Ok, tt's all

tanjhj
08-05-2008, 01:03 PM
i am gaming with my singtel 512k it. so far ok lah... DOTA has no problem. WOW abit lag. CS cant...

tanjhj
08-05-2008, 01:07 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/268752339.png

http://www.speedtest.net/result/268752881.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/268753243.png

tested as on 1.o6 pm.. as u can see. ST always exceed 512kb,, wahahaha

Gaming DOTA with it.. no problem

FYI i havent even flash the firmware for my USB dongle yet..

Forseti
08-05-2008, 03:30 PM
Bro, can share with me how to flash firmware?
Appreciate it

pb
09-05-2008, 12:06 AM
Just past midnight...
http://www.speedtest.net/result/268930240.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/268931039.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/268932221.png

upload so fast?

pb
09-05-2008, 12:19 AM
Hmm... suddenly so good? I'm on the cheapest plan.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/268934635.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/268935215.png
http://www.speedtest.net/result/268935786.png

tanjhj
09-05-2008, 03:05 AM
Singnet 512kb plan at 2am.. so far so good. consistent thruout the day. played dota the whole day and nite and no DC at all. impressive..

http://www.speedtest.net/result/269000051.png

http://www.speedtest.net/result/269000730.png

http://www.speedtest.net/result/269001115.png

tanjhj
09-05-2008, 03:11 AM
now testing oversea site namely LA

http://www.speedtest.net/result/269001972.png

http://www.speedtest.net/result/269002732.png

tanjhj
09-05-2008, 03:17 AM
Sydney

http://www.speedtest.net/result/269005181.png

HK

http://www.speedtest.net/result/269005896.png

singchyun
13-05-2008, 12:44 AM
Time now is 12:44am. M1 is crawling.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/270443145.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

mistersoh
13-05-2008, 12:46 AM
No improvement...

:(

tanjhj
13-05-2008, 02:31 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/270487190.pnghttp://www.speedtest.net/result/270488179.png

my singnet 512 @ 2.30 am no improvement but consistently good thruout

pb
13-05-2008, 08:37 AM
Anyone knows why upload is so high for M1?

FireHobbit
13-05-2008, 09:03 AM
the firmware modififying can apply for starhub huawei e270?

askh52
13-05-2008, 09:08 AM

dunno, but i think upload speed is >384kbps... my torrent upload highest 50KB

FireHobbit
13-05-2008, 09:09 AM
some area is really good... but most area is really terrible...

singchyun
13-05-2008, 10:51 AM
I did some simple experiments. For Firefox/Flock users, you need to remove all mentions of "Firefox" in your user-agent string in order to bypass M1's meddling. For instance, I changed my browser's user-agent string from

"Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1.14) Gecko/20080414 Firefox/2.0.0.14 Flock/1.1.2"

to

"Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1.14) Gecko/2008051203 Flock/1.1.2"

Now I can see clear images. But the flipside is that a small number of web sites such as Facebook Chat are not able to recognize my browser anymore. Majority of websites such as Gmail, Google, HWZ forums still works fine. ( I can still manage to post this reply :) )

It's a fine balancing act to choose a user-agent string that skips M1's detection and yet is informative enough for the real web sites to detect your browser type.

Resources:

How to know what's your current user-agent string: http://whatsmyuseragent.com
How to change your user-agent string: http://johnbokma.com/mexit/2004/04/24/changinguseragent.htmlAs I said, if u use useragent "opera", no blur image.
If u use useragent "IE" or "mozilla" (can be set in opera setting and other browser setting too), it will be blurred.

For unknown reason, useragent "opera" is not in M1 list of "blurring".

Captcha is the code u type in certain site for registering or downloading (preventing bot). Badango uses on for downloading afaik.

For opera user, stick opera useragent to "opera". the page will load without M1 intervering.

media2368
14-05-2008, 12:15 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/270854943.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

So far the best.

tanjhj
14-05-2008, 12:44 AM
Dun think M1 allows VOIP, i think only Singnet allows...

I did some simple experiments. For Firefox/Flock users, you need to remove all mentions of "Firefox" in your user-agent string in order to bypass M1's meddling. For instance, I changed my browser's user-agent string from

"Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1.14) Gecko/20080414 Firefox/2.0.0.14 Flock/1.1.2"

to

"Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1.14) Gecko/2008051203 Flock/1.1.2"

Now I can see clear images. But the flipside is that a small number of web sites such as Facebook Chat are not able to recognize my browser anymore. Majority of websites such as Gmail, Google, HWZ forums still works fine. ( I can still manage to post this reply :) )

It's a fine balancing act to choose a user-agent string that skips M1's detection and yet is informative enough for the real web sites to detect your browser type.

Resources:

How to know what's your current user-agent string: http://whatsmyuseragent.com
How to change your user-agent string: http://johnbokma.com/mexit/2004/04/24/changinguseragent.html

FireHobbit
14-05-2008, 12:52 PM
starhub also allow... voip

sadboy
14-05-2008, 01:55 PM
M1 seems to lose out the market share even they are the first to release 3G BB in SG.

FireHobbit
14-05-2008, 02:06 PM
but they did not do anything to improve their service...

chicardo
14-05-2008, 05:33 PM
I've been using their service for 6 months. Alot of disconnection more than 3-4 times within an hour. Cannot do any decent downloads with such a crappy connection. Called them a number of times (7-8 times) to complaint about their poor service.

They even tried to reduce JPEG quality images to save bandwidth which I told the customer service it's a stupid idea.

Google Talk disconnection every 5 minutes today. Called them and they gave me the same reply "I will get my technical department to investigate". So my verdict for M1 Mobile Broadband is it is "CRAP!". I gave up waiting for them to get their act together. Terminated my subscription today.

FireHobbit
14-05-2008, 10:56 PM
what u change to?

chicardo
15-05-2008, 09:17 AM
Changing to Starhub Mobile Broadband besides the new 170E is cute.

FireHobbit
15-05-2008, 09:21 AM
what speed?

singchyun
16-05-2008, 10:17 AM
Hi Chicardo, do keep us here posted on your satisfaction level of your new Starhub mobile broadband. Will be useful for those of us here who are looking for better alternatives to replace our M1 broadband.

Changing to Starhub Mobile Broadband besides the new 170E is cute.

Th3Keeper
16-05-2008, 11:42 AM
M1 now the prices so cheap. Got 50% off for 2000 and 3000 plans...

osirisis
16-05-2008, 02:03 PM

i dun think its cheap but competitive bah.

askh52
16-05-2008, 03:56 PM

worst, 2 year contract
can't they spend more money on bandwidth? Also stop locking their device?

FireHobbit
16-05-2008, 04:53 PM
i feel that also too.. me a happy singtel and starhub customer... http://img215.echo.cx/img215/5241/bouncingsmilie33nk5wp.gif

botoguy
18-05-2008, 02:02 AM
worst, 2 year contract
can't they spend more money on bandwidth? Also stop locking their device?

wah, i tot so good so cheap.. yuan lai got 2 yrs contract de ar?

ironman4672
18-05-2008, 03:31 AM

they claims the upload speed is 384kbps what......

FireHobbit
18-05-2008, 10:34 AM
rubbish service... IMO

tanjhj
18-05-2008, 04:26 PM
who cares about their claimed. just like Starhub. claimed the big fat pipe. knn like big fat chocked artery that need wurgery. my singtel bbom is faster than my sh mol12000 on surfing. just go with the trusted, less likely to go wrong.

ironman4672
18-05-2008, 08:12 PM
who cares about their claimed. just like Starhub. claimed the big fat pipe. knn like big fat chocked artery that need wurgery. my singtel bbom is faster than my sh mol12000 on surfing. just go with the trusted, less likely to go wrong.

haha u stupid what.... subscribe mol express is already not worth for the money... u even subscribe ultimate... super stupid sia... then u complain now also no use... and it makes urself look even more uglier becos u are the one who made the choice....:s7::s7::s7::s7:

montykoh191
19-05-2008, 11:01 PM
Hi all,
I would also like to share my awful experience subscribing to m1 broadband.

For the past 6 months on this plan, I experienced one of the most horrible internet surfing experience. I am not getting 3G connection and I was told replace my SIM card only after I filed an online complaint. Then I am getting 3G but the download speed only averages 20-40 kb/s, this is like a few KByte/sec. I cannot even access Yahoo SG and asiaone.

The most interesting part is the technical support, they claim that my notebook ( which I just bought) is the root of the issue and insist that I bring it down to show any M1 staff. When I told them that I tried on 3 notebooks and still get the same results, the technical support then advises me not to subscribe this service.

I was mad and rushed off to M1 to terminate after waiting for 6 painful month. I would not recommend anyone to sign this up unless this serves as a backup ( which makes a lousy backup).

This service totally unreliable and if you go to any M1 shop to give it a try, you will most probably experience the broadband not working too. I tried 3 times already.

Probably there are lucky people too there, but for me, I will never go near M1 broadband.

Just sharing my experience.

: )

ironman4672
19-05-2008, 11:04 PM
Hi all,

For the past 6 months on this plan, I experienced one of the most horrible internet surfing experience. I am not getting 3G connection and I was told replace my SIM card only after I filed an online complaint. Then I am getting 3G but the download speed only averages 20-40 kb/s, this is like a few KByte/sec. I cannot even access Yahoo SG and asiaone.

The most interesting part is the technical support, they claim that my notebook ( which I just bought) is the root of the issue and insist that I bring it down to show any M1 staff. When I told them that I tried on 3 notebooks and still get the same results, the technical support then advises me not to subscribe this service.

I was mad and rushed off to M1 to terminate after waiting for 6 painful month. I would not recommend anyone to sign this up unless this serves as a backup ( which makes a lousy backup).

This service totally unreliable and if you go to any M1 shop to give it a try, you will most probably experience the broadband not working too. I tried 3 times already.

Probably there are lucky people too there, but for me, I will never go near M1 broadband.

i think u are not only the unlucky one.... there are tons of complaints previously from other users...

good to move on...

osirisis
20-05-2008, 08:53 AM
Hi all,

Me try their online services at their shops, all either not working well or shutdown.

FireHobbit
24-05-2008, 11:07 PM
terrible M1... always not up to standard..

imanon
25-05-2008, 04:18 PM
step 1: block images with 172.31.254.24*
http://i307.photobucket.com/albums/nn316/mix86not/firefoxBlockImg-1.png

step 2: replace with actual image
install greasemonkey addon from http://www.greasespot.net/
download script from http://www.badongo.com/file/9559344
uninstall previous version of this script and m1bbBlurImgfix (if any).
drag script(file) and drop in firefox window to install.

if image still blur, toggle nguncompressed
http://i307.photobucket.com/albums/nn316/mix86not/nguncompressed.png

singchyun
27-05-2008, 11:42 AM
Now that we know M1 broadband is so unreliable, which of the other two mobile broadbands - Singnet and Starhub - is the better choice? I'm thinking of terminating my M1 broadband and looking for better alternatives.

street
27-05-2008, 02:23 PM
Now that we know M1 broadband is so unreliable, which of the other two mobile broadbands - Singnet and Starhub - is the better choice? I'm thinking of terminating my M1 broadband and looking for better alternatives.

Unreliable? Look at those threads which complains abt singhell or starbug MBB.

This is a forum which only ppl file for complains. I have an old school vodafone card which hv a limit of 384 kb/s which seldom fail me for the last 2 years.

I am not a fanboy of M1, I cancelled my M1 mobile plan after 8 years of relationship. But for mobile BB no one can claim the king thats for sure. IMHO, the one who offer short contract wins. I also believe hardware makes a different. Thats the reason I don't change to that damn usb modem to achieve what so call 1000 kb/s. (Post via M1BB)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/276374206.png

FireHobbit
30-05-2008, 06:28 PM
m1 is really terrile... try using it in the m1 shop... u will understand why

ironman4672
31-05-2008, 07:21 PM
m1 is really terrile... try using it in the m1 shop... u will understand why

yup, i tried it at the m1 shop today.... i think the speed is seriously sucks.... i try to surf www.yahoo.com, guess how long does it take to return the page? more than 15 secs..... just a simple yahoo home page it will take so long, can imagine how is the speed for other website.... or even download....;););)

askh52
31-05-2008, 10:12 PM
yup, i tried it at the m1 shop today.... i think the speed is seriously sucks.... i try to surf www.yahoo.com, guess how long does it take to return the page? more than 15 secs..... just a simple yahoo home page it will take so long, can imagine how is the speed for other website.... or even download....;););)

hahah, although surfing is slow, but u will be amaze by download speed....:D

tanjhj
31-05-2008, 10:59 PM
haha u stupid what.... subscribe mol express is already not worth for the money... u even subscribe ultimate... super stupid sia... then u complain now also no use... and it makes urself look even more uglier becos u are the one who made the choice....:s7::s7::s7::s7:

u than stupid. mine is mol 1200 not ultimate. anyway contracy over soon so will switch definately..

ironman4672
01-06-2008, 12:25 AM
u than stupid. mine is mol 1200 not ultimate. anyway contracy over soon so will switch definately..

do u think i care what u subscribe? ;);););)

FireHobbit
01-06-2008, 11:13 AM
why even their m1 shop they don bother to do smthing abt it...

ironman4672
01-06-2008, 11:52 AM

that's the reason why they are ranking last in singapore rite....;);););)

liangtam
01-06-2008, 02:19 PM

hayhKXu99iw

nomoreliaola
01-06-2008, 02:49 PM
this is mine

http://www.speedtest.net/result/278398823.png

considered goot or not :s11:

askh52
01-06-2008, 05:03 PM
this is mine

cannot see, speedtest down?

nomoreliaola
01-06-2008, 05:47 PM
cannot see, speedtest down?

:s11: can le.... hmmmm

tanjhj
01-06-2008, 05:49 PM
do u think i care what u subscribe? ;);););)

who cares abt what rude ppl like u think, never intended for you in the 1st plc . it is u who replied .. dumb

nomoreliaola
01-06-2008, 05:54 PM
http://img142.imageshack.us/img142/3914/278398823je4.pngagain :(

FireHobbit
02-06-2008, 01:26 AM
whcih location?

nomoreliaola
02-06-2008, 09:11 PM
cbd area :)

mosmos
02-06-2008, 10:57 PM
http://img142.imageshack.us/img142/3914/278398823je4.pngagain :(

try test overseas server such as usa. :o

FireHobbit
03-06-2008, 12:56 AM
cbd seem good ba...

jastan
03-06-2008, 03:02 PM
I just terminated mine...lolx...

FireHobbit
03-06-2008, 03:20 PM
u change to what plan or telco?http://img215.echo.cx/img215/5241/bouncingsmilie33nk5wp.gif

nomoreliaola
04-06-2008, 12:48 AM
try test overseas server such as usa. :o

as of midnite :)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/279353747.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

nomoreliaola
04-06-2008, 12:50 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/279354644.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

local server, i am very happy with my M1 MOBB

tanjhj
04-06-2008, 03:56 AM
this is mine

dun bother with the d/l and u/l speed. what is impt is the ping.. at 450ms. that is **** siah...

jump to sh or st bah when ur contract is up

askh52
04-06-2008, 10:56 AM
dun know why his ping so high
http://www.speedtest.net/result/279588775.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

jastan
04-06-2008, 12:35 PM
u change to what plan or telco?http://img215.echo.cx/img215/5241/bouncingsmilie33nk5wp.gif

singtel 512k...using samsung. so far, avg 500kbps...:D

Apex
04-06-2008, 11:09 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/279786571.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

WOW speed very close to Starhub BB liao

http://www.imageox.com/graphic/thumbs/275193-STARHUB-th.jpeg (http://www.imageox.com/share/275193-STARHUB.jpeg)

FireHobbit
07-06-2008, 12:50 PM
m1 is time to wake up... before people all jump ship

Chai_Latte
09-06-2008, 05:20 AM
I just saw that M1 slashed their Broadband 2000 and 3600 plans by 50%.

Buuuuuttttt..... scroll down to the fine print... if I understand correctly, they will tie you down with a 24 months contract!

I wonder if they automatically switch us to their 50% off plan without our permission?....

I don't want to be tied down to a 24 months contract... I'm very eager to see my next billing statement.

nightwolf75
09-06-2008, 09:25 AM
anyone tried using m1 BB for BT? hehe.. thinking of subscribing to this to get back my BT since starfug blocked BT traffic... :s16:

liangtam
09-06-2008, 01:20 PM
anyone tried using m1 BB for BT? hehe.. thinking of subscribing to this to get back my BT since starfug blocked BT traffic... :s16:

Got block meh? I thot all along like tis...

m1 got 50% oso no use nia, modem not free

ironman4672
09-06-2008, 04:12 PM

i think m1 is the most bohua one among all telco... no free modem... price is normal... not very impressive.... then line quality is not very good....below standard....;););) i think surfing using m1 bb is already very painful, not even talking abt BT la....

JivBunny
09-06-2008, 05:21 PM
2 weeks ago, I gotten the M1BB 1Mbps - Surfing was totally unbearable because I used to be on MOL12k. After a while, i got used to the sucky service by M1BB and it has become tolerable..........

Until my company decided to give me Singnet Mobilebroadband 512.

And seriously...........Singnet Mobile BB 512 PWNED M1BB 1000 TOTALLY. KNOCKED FLAT.

Singnet Mobile BB was fast fast fast fast and not much lag. Similiar to surfing broadband.

M1BB was so painful.....PLUS THE STUPID PICTURES ARE ALL NOT CLEAR.

Too bad i am still stuck with M1 till ard Nov. THEY SUX !!!!!

mrleech
09-06-2008, 05:27 PM
M1 is going to do a upgrade soon. Dunno if it will help.
Got my wavier, so no bother to me.

ironman4672
09-06-2008, 05:36 PM
2 weeks ago, I gotten the M1BB 1Mbps - Surfing was totally unbearable because I used to be on MOL12k. After a while, i got used to the sucky service by M1BB and it has become tolerable..........

Until my company decided to give me Singnet Mobilebroadband 512.

And seriously...........Singnet Mobile BB 512 PWNED M1BB 1000 TOTALLY. KNOCKED FLAT.

Singnet Mobile BB was fast fast fast fast and not much lag. Similiar to surfing broadband.

M1BB was so painful.....PLUS THE STUPID PICTURES ARE ALL NOT CLEAR.

Too bad i am still stuck with M1 till ard Nov. THEY SUX !!!!!

you are still bounded with the contract with m1? poor thing...... ;);););)

ironman4672
09-06-2008, 05:36 PM
M1 is going to do a upgrade soon. Dunno if it will help.
Got my wavier, so no bother to me.

waiver? what sort of waiver??;););)

JivBunny
09-06-2008, 05:37 PM
I am not expecting lightning speed.
But most of the time, it is crawling.......

In fact i thought M1 have the better deal.

Until I knew that the Singnet Mobile BB 512 which my company gave me cost like only $12/mth x 1 year + the modem is free.

JivBunny
09-06-2008, 05:39 PM
you are still bounded with the contract with m1? poor thing...... ;);););)
Not so bad la,

I didnt know my company was so nice to give me a Singnet Mobile BB with the new laptop.

Anyway, at least someone is paying for me the other mobile BB.

:)

But M1BB really sux. Think I will pass to my wife to use it ;)

liangtam
09-06-2008, 05:49 PM
so the modem remains property of company or become urs liao?

ironman4672
09-06-2008, 05:53 PM
I am not expecting lightning speed.
But most of the time, it is crawling.......

In fact i thought M1 have the better deal.

Until I knew that the Singnet Mobile BB 512 which my company gave me cost like only $12/mth x 1 year + the modem is free.

if u think that m1 is more value for money then u are totally wrong, the winner should be singtel especially for their 6mths free promo....;);););)

ironman4672
09-06-2008, 05:55 PM
Not so bad la,

I didnt know my company was so nice to give me a Singnet Mobile BB with the new laptop.

Anyway, at least someone is paying for me the other mobile BB.

:)

But M1BB really sux. Think I will pass to my wife to use it ;)

u seriously think that ur company gives u the mobile bb is good? u should think twice... the company gives u that becos they expect u to work even when u are at home or outside....haha ;);) u are just thinking too simple already....haha

JivBunny
09-06-2008, 07:05 PM
u seriously think that ur company gives u the mobile bb is good? u should think twice... the company gives u that becos they expect u to work even when u are at home or outside....haha ;);) u are just thinking too simple already....haha

Its not my first job nor my first day at work. Of course when all these are given, I know the consequences. :D

But it is within my job nature that requires me to be on standby what and they have asso given me a blackberry on that account.

I did feedback the inconvenience that when I need to open attachements on the go, it can be quite troublesome on the bb. Guess thats why they gave me the mobile bb.

Maybe I should whine about my laptop heavy, and hope that they give me the HP Mini Notebook, since they replace my T2300 Core Duo laptop with a T8300 C2D after i complained the old one is too slow. ;)

JivBunny
09-06-2008, 07:09 PM
if u think that m1 is more value for money then u are totally wrong, the winner should be singtel especially for their 6mths free promo....;);););)
Ya la, i was half toying with the idea to get M1 or Singnet then......

But I didnt know that it was 50% off and Singnet have the 50GB limit.

Now i know why M1 took the cap off.......cos at the rate their M1BB is working, i probably take years to hit 50Gb.

ironman4672
09-06-2008, 07:54 PM
Ya la, i was half toying with the idea to get M1 or Singnet then......

But I didnt know that it was 50% off and Singnet have the 50GB limit.

Now i know why M1 took the cap off.......cos at the rate their M1BB is working, i probably take years to hit 50Gb.

singtel bbom, ya, got 50GB limit, but for my case, 512kbps plan only when u are downloading at least 10 hrs and above continuously then u can probably hit 50GB limit...

ur second line is exactly matches what i think.... i one mth continuously download then can hit 50GB limit... if i use m1, like u said, probably i use for one year i also may not hit the limit... so in the end, the limit does it really matter? Or speed is more important? I think the ans is pretty obvious.....;);););)