View Full Version : M1 boardband User Thread
Pages :
[
6]
ironman4672
09-06-2008, 07:57 PM
dun bother with the d/l and u/l speed. what is impt is the ping.. at 450ms. that is **** siah...
jump to sh or st bah when ur contract is up
yup, exactly, speed test showed good so good, is the speed of surfing really that good... can obviously tell from the ping result... only beh kan ppl will insist that the beh kan service the beh kan ppl is using is good.....;);););)
raijinshou
10-06-2008, 03:34 AM
anyone tried using m1 BB for BT? hehe.. thinking of subscribing to this to get back my BT since starfug blocked BT traffic... :s16:
I am M1 user.
Anything that involve many connection like torrenting, multiple connection downloading, or browsing many sites at once will cause disconnection.
Never use M1 for torrenting. At first, never apply for M1 broadband. It sucks.
ironman4672
10-06-2008, 03:37 AM
I am M1 user.
Anything that involve many connection like torrenting, multiple connection downloading, or browsing many sites at once will cause disconnection.
haha yaya... ust dun understand why ppl still insist to proceed although they know that they are going to a hell....:D:D:D:D
only one beh kan user nomoreliaola will be happy saying that he is satisfied with his beh kan mobile broadband.....
leaving_footsteps
10-06-2008, 08:52 AM
dun bother with the d/l and u/l speed. what is impt is the ping.. at 450ms. that is **** siah...
jump to sh or st bah when ur contract is up
Not promoting any telcos here.
However, I have to say ping test is not indicative for web surfing and downloads. It's more for real time applications such as online gaming. Sustained throughput is more important here.
Take my ADSL2+ connection as example, the ping sucks at 500ms-600ms. It's a wired connection for goodness sake. (Wireless connections are known to have higher latency.) However, when it comes down to web surfing and downloads, I am pretty pleased. Comparing that to MOL (which I used previously), the ping is somehow slightly better, but webs urfing and downloads suffered.
liangtam
10-06-2008, 02:36 PM
wifi only adds a marginal of less than 5ms, generally only 1-2
nightwolf75
11-06-2008, 06:13 PM
I am M1 user.
thanks, man! :D
lets hope tomorrow there's some offers for SNBB... i need my torrents... :s27:
FireHobbit
15-06-2008, 12:27 AM
no good news for m1...
mistersoh
15-06-2008, 09:52 PM
no good news for m1...
haiz... :s27:
FireHobbit
15-06-2008, 11:26 PM
they may end up like pacnet
protoss_knight
16-06-2008, 12:04 AM
Any users who have switched from M1 Mobile Broadband to Starhub .
Staying at East Side , sometimes surfing halfway it'll just hang ( unable to surf net ) and need to wait for few minutes or else need to disconnect or to restart .
Sometimes veli tulan one coz after soo long it doesn't improves much .
How is starhub ? Any noticable improvements ?
TIA
zh3ng82
16-06-2008, 12:28 AM
Can any bros verify if this is normal?
My friend is using M1 Broadband 1000. Her area is Telok Blangah Area.
But she gets this speed.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/284331360.png
botoguy
16-06-2008, 02:56 AM
wah... like that pathetic leh..
Exposure
16-06-2008, 10:38 AM
Any users who have switched from M1 Mobile Broadband to Starhub .
Staying at East Side , sometimes surfing halfway it'll just hang ( unable to surf net ) and need to wait for few minutes or else need to disconnect or to restart .
Sometimes veli tulan one coz after soo long it doesn't improves much .
How is starhub ? Any noticable improvements ?
TIA
i am yet to find out tonite.
just signed up a 2Mbps mobile bb from sh, cancelling my m1 bb as contract expires in july.
:D
media2368
23-06-2008, 07:08 PM
i am yet to find out tonite.
just signed up a 2Mbps mobile bb from sh, cancelling my m1 bb as contract expires in july.
:D
So am I. Fired M1 Broadband:s27:. I will signed up 2Mbps mobile bb from sh today.
dk2000
23-06-2008, 11:02 PM
m1 is really terrile... try using it in the m1 shop... u will understand why
haha one time I got disconnected from the mobile broadband in the shop for 10mins.
Chai_Latte
23-06-2008, 11:39 PM
I don't understand why I am getting acceptable service from M1 BB but most others here are not.
Yes, I flashed the modem, so those who flashed it still having problems?
I was on the train a few times last week (mostly around 9am up to 11.30am) and running M1 BB from Boon Lay till City Hall and getting speed better than those others posted here recently...
The best was when my train pass by Buona Vista... never fail to go above 500KB/s dl speed :D
Underground, it switches to GPRS mode but the surfing experience is still at a "moving along" pace.
BTW, I am on Mac OS X 10.4.11 using flashed e220 modem running on Huawei mobile connect (not the M1 Vodafone one)
Nonetheless, I still won't recommend getting M1 BB service because of the effort needed to make it swift... it should be fast "out of the box".
Those of you who are stuck with it, either with their new 2yrs contract old the old 3/6 mth contract, then it is time to quit whining and do some DIY...
Please note that the flashing thingy can brick your modem if not done correctly... and check with M1 TOS and decide if you want to go against it, if applicable.
FireHobbit
24-06-2008, 09:29 AM
how do you flash your modem?
Exposure
24-06-2008, 09:33 AM
my contract ends next month .. and i am so happy ! :s12:
raijinshou
24-06-2008, 07:08 PM
I don't understand why I am getting acceptable service from M1 BB but most others here are not.
Yes, I flashed the modem, so those who flashed it still having problems?
I was on the train a few times last week (mostly around 9am up to 11.30am) and running M1 BB from Boon Lay till City Hall and getting speed better than those others posted here recently...
The best was when my train pass by Buona Vista... never fail to go above 500KB/s dl speed :D
Underground, it switches to GPRS mode but the surfing experience is still at a "moving along" pace.
BTW, I am on Mac OS X 10.4.11 using flashed e220 modem running on Huawei mobile connect (not the M1 Vodafone one)
Nonetheless, I still won't recommend getting M1 BB service because of the effort needed to make it swift... it should be fast "out of the box".
Those of you who are stuck with it, either with their new 2yrs contract old the old 3/6 mth contract, then it is time to quit whining and do some DIY...
Please note that the flashing thingy can brick your modem if not done correctly... and check with M1 TOS and decide if you want to go against it, if applicable.
Since this modem from M1 is rental, is it ok for us to flash it?
I just wonder this thing.
I wish to flash as well, but this situation lead me to no where.
Chai_Latte
24-06-2008, 10:13 PM
Since this modem from M1 is rental, is it ok for us to flash it?
I just wonder this thing.
I wish to flash as well, but this situation lead me to no where.
Well, it depends on how you talk when you return it :s13:
It shouldn't be much of a problem since all you do is bring back to its original state. As long as it is still useable, it should be ok.
I got a few script thought up to explain myself when the time comes... be creative.
Although, those on 2 yrs plan, I'm sure a higher number of people will return spoilt modem.
How exactly I flash it, I can't remember... I was searching online for the tuts and following reliable instructions.
It was fairly easy as far as I can remember...
Guyver
24-06-2008, 10:31 PM
think singtel one is best.. but mthly ex. 1 yr contract though. 2nd is starhub . since some of u guys say the network is better den m1
FireHobbit
24-06-2008, 10:34 PM
haha.. Share on how you flash your modem lei.. Since m1 and starhub also use hua wei infrastructure for hspa..
Guyver
24-06-2008, 10:38 PM
got sell the device on the market ?
cuz i using the x61 for singnet bb mobile.
Chai_Latte
24-06-2008, 11:31 PM
haha.. Share on how you flash your modem lei.. Since m1 and starhub also use hua wei infrastructure for hspa..
Haha... I would love to share how I did it if I can remember exactly how. It was done over 5-6months ago.
All I did was search online for the terms "flash huawei e220 modem" (or something along that line) and follow instructions from some website.
Also, the flashing on my part was specific to Mac OS X because I think there was a file I need to download from Huawei site itself which is divided into different OS.
Google is your friend, my man ;)
FireHobbit
25-06-2008, 07:33 AM
what is the main difference that is modified? Haha..
imanon
26-06-2008, 10:25 PM
just patched firmware from 11.110.01.03.00
to m1's v11b268 11.117.06.00.100
now can:
support up to 7.2Mbps,
work after coming out of hibernate.
but still cannot:
work after stand by,
work after dvd dupe.
anyone tried huawei's firmware 11.002.03.16.03.B266
(dated Mar 2008)?
raijinshou
27-06-2008, 10:49 AM
You mean we can flash the firmware, then before returning to m1, we flash back the original firmware which can be downloaded from m1 site? Quite some trick... might wanna try it soon.
junkai21
29-06-2008, 02:14 PM
lousy m1broadband. I Lost the simcard and i went to M1shop yesterday. I was told that i can upgrade to 2mbps as i was previously using 1meg. But tie down to 1year contract. I agreed and signed the contract.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/289775058.png
JUST TESTED
Awhile ago
http://www.speedtest.net/result/289774056.png
DO WE DESERVE BETTER????
ironman4672
29-06-2008, 06:26 PM
lousy m1broadband. I Lost the simcard and i went to M1shop yesterday. I was told that i can upgrade to 2mbps as i was previously using 1meg. But tie down to 1year contract. I agreed and signed the contract.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/289775058.png
JUST TESTED
Awhile ago
http://www.speedtest.net/result/289774056.png
DO WE DESERVE BETTER????
Are u using dial up? :D:D:D:D
Guyver
29-06-2008, 06:35 PM
wtf... so jialat ar ?
seowbin
29-06-2008, 06:53 PM
You mean we can flash the firmware, then before returning to m1, we flash back the original firmware which can be downloaded from m1 site? Quite some trick... might wanna try it soon.
flash liao, return with huawei firmware, no ppl will care one also
last year dec, i return once my 6 mth is up.. the person don't even check is it in working condition or not.. just sign the thingy and go off
ckpay
29-06-2008, 11:51 PM
flash firmware got help meh?
tis BB sucks lah. even im on 1M plan, but e speed is worst tt modem dialup... pissed!!!
ironman4672
29-06-2008, 11:57 PM
i heard that they are going to launch fixed line broadband? is this news true? :s7::s7::s7::s7::s7::s7:
raijinshou
30-06-2008, 12:24 PM
there is a trick. u can flash. before return, just download the vodafone firmware from m1 and reflash with their firmware back. then ok already
FireHobbit
30-06-2008, 07:09 PM
if fixed bb... they need more advice on how the other two telco do it man... not easy to enter his market
ironman4672
30-06-2008, 07:24 PM
if fixed bb... they need more advice on how the other two telco do it man... not easy to enter his market
wah firehobit u got how many mobile broadband in total oh... seems like u are having all.....:D:D:D:D:D
yohanssen
30-06-2008, 07:46 PM
did m1 do something today to the network ? lol suddenly faster ..perplexing hahahahahah http://www.speedtest.net/result/290176319.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
ironman4672
01-07-2008, 02:05 AM
did m1 do something today to the network ? lol suddenly faster ..perplexing hahahahahah http://www.speedtest.net/result/290176319.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
becos all existing users jump ship to other telco liao mah... that's why u are faster now.....;););););)
Big Bad Wolf
01-07-2008, 03:41 AM
just for fun
http://www.speedtest.net/result/290351098.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
raijinshou
01-07-2008, 03:42 AM
lately m1 become faster. But the matter of disconnection when making many connection still there. no way to use torrent. not to mention the ping is still damn high...
singtel is still better choice. my roommate use it, damn stable and torrenting is fast. he can play dota with no lag, since the ping is low... sad m1 play dota sure kicked..
rurru1
01-07-2008, 10:27 AM
hi.. i've just signed up m1 broadband 1000.. 1Mbps .. last night my VMCLite icon shows my speed is 56+ Kbps and now is at 72 Mbps..
Isn't is supposed to be 1Mbps??
anyway the surfing speed was horrible last night.. anyone using this plan too??
ironman4672
01-07-2008, 11:04 AM
hi.. i've just signed up m1 broadband 1000.. 1Mbps .. last night my VMCLite icon shows my speed is 56+ Kbps and now is at 72 Mbps..
Isn't is supposed to be 1Mbps??
anyway the surfing speed was horrible last night.. anyone using this plan too??
haha another silly guy chose to go to hell.....:D:D:D:D:D
rurru1
01-07-2008, 11:54 AM
no choice.. i need to get the cheapest plan .. :(
those who are using broadband 1000 pls share with me your experience, surfing was super slow! any ways to make it faster~~~???
raijinshou
02-07-2008, 03:23 AM
CHEAPEST PLAN?
Singtel is CHEAPER, FASTER, MORE STABLE, AND OVERALL BETTER.
Why Singtel is so:
1. Modem free... Singtel give you, you dont want? =.=
2. Price is the same...
You take M1 because of the $11/m? OMG...
You can simply add another $8 to Singtel to get the free-modem package...
Welcome to M1 suxband...
NEW INFO: Starting yesterday, tuesday, M1 seemed to be implementing new feature. It is called "download xx MB and you download will be disconnected". So for you downloader who download from source that cant be resumed, enjoy the disconnection... like me lol...
Faster yet disconnect your download.. I dont think it's worth the money... No wonder M1 suddenly faster... Coz many people's downloads are disconnected...
ironman4672
02-07-2008, 07:53 AM
CHEAPEST PLAN?
Singtel is CHEAPER, FASTER, MORE STABLE, AND OVERALL BETTER.
Why Singtel is so:
1. Modem free... Singtel give you, you dont want? =.=
2. Price is the same...
You take M1 because of the $11/m? OMG...
You can simply add another $8 to Singtel to get the free-modem package...
Welcome to M1 suxband...
NEW INFO: Starting yesterday, tuesday, M1 seemed to be implementing new feature. It is called "download xx MB and you download will be disconnected". So for you downloader who download from source that cant be resumed, enjoy the disconnection... like me lol...
Faster yet disconnect your download.. I dont think it's worth the money... No wonder M1 suddenly faster... Coz many people's downloads are disconnected...
haha, it's ok for them la... since they nvr see the hell before, let them experience... cmi ppl use cmi services...;););););)
sAxman_Returns
02-07-2008, 04:02 PM
but starhub/singtel all need to sign contract right?
ironman4672
02-07-2008, 04:09 PM
U tot mx no need meh it's just that 6 mths if u never take up any promotion. If u do take up promotion like 50 percent off etc the contract is 24 mths never mind if u choose to take up mx u dun complain the speed here.:p
sAxman_Returns
02-07-2008, 05:50 PM
24 months? i thought 12 months only?
FireHobbit
02-07-2008, 07:39 PM
who newly start their m1 service... same leh try at m1 shop today
kfchai
05-07-2008, 06:26 PM
m1 is putting all the effort to improve their traffic monitoring and content blocking technique... as well as the stupid image resolution optimizing.... they are interested in your privacy.
hmm.... watchout what you'd posted here... m1 is likely to see it and know who you are :p
if you wish to bypass M1 proxy.. try Tor
http://www.torproject.org/
I use it most of the time, no blur image, no stupid network errror page, encrypted contents and faster browsing (sometime, if you got the fast relays)
FireHobbit
05-07-2008, 07:29 PM
but i really hope M1 look into his backbone infrasturcuture network
virtualsaturn
06-07-2008, 06:57 PM
I have a Lenovo x61s bought from USA comes with the Cingular built in broadband where i can place the sim card direct to the laptop and has a built in antenna on the side of the LCD. Do you know if it will work if i was to purchase the singtel mobile broadband plan and use it with the laptop? Your help would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.
raijinshou
07-07-2008, 06:14 AM
It will work. You can simply bring your notebook to Singtel shop and try it directly. Since you don't need the free modem, I would suggest you to try the service first by taking the shortest plan "Basic Plan" which is only 3-months contract. If you satisfied, you can apply for longer plan with free modem (which u can sold or use it urself).
http://home.singtel.com/bbmobile/HS_promotions.htm
sAxman_Returns
07-07-2008, 10:30 AM
It will work. You can simply bring your notebook to Singtel shop and try it directly. Since you don't need the free modem, I would suggest you to try the service first by taking the shortest plan "Basic Plan" which is only 3-months contract. If you satisfied, you can apply for longer plan with free modem (which u can sold or use it urself).
http://home.singtel.com/bbmobile/HS_promotions.htm
not unlimited plan leh....:s22:
sAxman_Returns
07-07-2008, 10:39 AM
m1 is putting all the effort to improve their traffic monitoring and content blocking technique... as well as the stupid image resolution optimizing.... they are interested in your privacy.
hmm.... watchout what you'd posted here... m1 is likely to see it and know who you are :p
if you wish to bypass M1 proxy.. try Tor
http://www.torproject.org/
I use it most of the time, no blur image, no stupid network errror page, encrypted contents and faster browsing (sometime, if you got the fast relays)
is this applicable to to SCV network too?
FireHobbit
07-07-2008, 11:11 AM
try first and see if it work then commit will be a better idea.. to me..
kfchai
08-07-2008, 12:26 AM
is this applicable to to SCV network too?
If privacy:
yes, ISP reserved the rights to analyze your web traffics... I have no idea how 'well' they are doing that, maybe someone can share M1's privacy policy.... or starhub, singtel....
If Tor:
ya... but the main point I use it just wanna get rid of the blur images as well as avoid the traffic analysis... however have to sacrifice some convenience... like speed and some inconsistent http session (bcos you're highly anonymous in the tor network)
wkender
08-07-2008, 08:01 AM
Do post your experience with this service.
Cheers!
Just switched from M1 bb to bbom singnet yesterday. Plugged my new E169 into lappy and something like installation setup took place. I was unable to connect since singnet cus svc told me that my connection will only take effect sometime around this evening.
So I removed my E169 and plugged in my M1 E220, and strangely the surfing speed sped up tremendously. Surfing became a breeze which I'm now using it for this posting.
I do not know if something that was installed from the E169 modem has something to do with the improvement of surfing speed for my E220. Very strange indeed.
Been with M1 for the past 6 months. Sad to say that experience was frustratingly disappointed. It's connection is unreliable and unproductive even with simple task like checking emails. I will be returning my M1 modem today. I felt con for the pass 6 months for paying $22/month and surfing at worst than 56kbp narrowband. It was more like the ancient 14.4kbps !
ironman4672
08-07-2008, 08:31 AM
Just switched from M1 bb to bbom singnet yesterday. Plugged my new E169 into lappy and something like installation setup took place. I was unable to connect since singnet cus svc told me that my connection will only take effect sometime around this evening.
So I removed my E169 and plugged in my M1 E220, and strangely the surfing speed sped up tremendously. Surfing became a breeze which I'm now using it for this posting.
I do not know if something that was installed from the E169 modem has something to do with the improvement of surfing speed for my E220. Very strange indeed.
Been with M1 for the past 6 months. Sad to say that experience was frustratingly disappointed. It's connection is unreliable and unproductive even with simple task like checking emails. I will be returning my M1 modem today. I felt con for the pass 6 months for paying $22/month and surfing at worst than 56kbp narrowband. It was more like the ancient 14.4kbps !
please la.. u are surfing in the morning le... while all the ppl in ur area at this time either go to work or still sleeping, as no one is using the network, of course it is fast la... i dun think it has anything to do with the modem......:s8::s8::s8::s8::s8::s8:
wkender
08-07-2008, 08:35 AM
please la.. u are surfing in the morning le... while all the ppl in ur area at this time either go to work or still sleeping, as no one is using the network, of course it is fast la... i dun think it has anything to do with the modem......:s8::s8::s8::s8::s8::s8:
Indeed I'm surfing in the morning and I do it daily, and nothing like this has happened B4.
ironman4672
08-07-2008, 08:36 AM
besides, u are subscribing to singtel what plan? 1mbps one? under 6 mths free promo?;);););)
wkender
08-07-2008, 08:45 AM
took up the 1mbps on 12mths contract at $15+.
sAxman_Returns
08-07-2008, 09:29 AM
If privacy:
yes, ISP reserved the rights to analyze your web traffics... I have no idea how 'well' they are doing that, maybe someone can share M1's privacy policy.... or starhub, singtel....
If Tor:
ya... but the main point I use it just wanna get rid of the blur images as well as avoid the traffic analysis... however have to sacrifice some convenience... like speed and some inconsistent http session (bcos you're highly anonymous in the tor network)
I dun quite get it. why is there a "blur" image? I thought by installing all these could speed up the traffic coz we bypass the ISP proxy, isn't it?
ironman4672
08-07-2008, 02:06 PM
took up the 1mbps on 12mths contract at $15+.
then u missed the better deal, becos previous is 50% discount 11++ per mth, now 30% only......;);););)
perry
08-07-2008, 03:10 PM
i am using Dell D420 with XP and E170. My system not able to detect the E170 as a USB storage thus, cannot setup the necessary driver and software. I believe it could be due to the company notebook that block installation from CD-Rom. Anyone know what can be done?
By the way, the error code
Windows cannot load the device driver for this hardware. The driver may be corrupted or missing. (Code 39)
wkender
08-07-2008, 03:53 PM
then u missed the better deal, becos previous is 50% discount 11++ per mth, now 30% only......;);););)
I don't mind paying a bit more if connection is reliable and stable to access my emails and surf the internet. I'm not a heavy downloader, so don't need superfast connections. As I mentioned about connecting my M1 this morning after installation setup of my E169.... I've been surfing on m1 network till now since morning and the stability of the connection is unbelievable.:D
I'm glad I made the switch.:s12: It's something to do with the installation setup, I believe...
Signing out now. Going down to IMM to return the E220 to M1 shop.
Will try to connect to Singnet on my E169 when I get back this evening. Nice chatting with you.
askh52
09-07-2008, 11:08 AM
Actually, i got the same problem(using E169+m1 now) for E220. I realise when too hot, the modem auto dc in a strange(got send, no receive) way and must dc/remove device. Super troublesome for me.. Now using E169+m1 having a better(ping still sucky though) speed...
askh52
09-07-2008, 11:17 AM
omg... am I dreaming?
http://www.speedtest.net/result/293839003.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Now consider non-peak hour... maybe try again tonight... pls.. DON'T use m1 and slow down my speed. Thanks
http://www.speedtest.net/result/293844062.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
sAxman_Returns
09-07-2008, 11:38 AM
actually speedtest doesn't mean everything. I always have great results on my surfliteFREE, but the actual performance can be quite dissapointing sometimes.....
wkender
09-07-2008, 09:42 PM
Actually, i got the same problem(using E169+m1 now) for E220. I realise when too hot, the modem auto dc in a strange(got send, no receive) way and must dc/remove device. Super troublesome for me.. Now using E169+m1 having a better(ping still sucky though) speed...
I was slightly better off. Just closed and relaunch e220. Didn't have to remove device though. Don't think the heat was an issue. I was surfing with the e220 the whole day yesterday with no problems before returning it to M1 in the evening.
wkender
09-07-2008, 09:49 PM
actually speedtest doesn't mean everything. I always have great results on my surfliteFREE, but the actual performance can be quite dissapointing sometimes.....
Have to agree with you on that. I've speedtested other PC (other BB connection), which got only 300+ download and 300+ upload, but surfing experience was comparable with any fast BB.
askh52
09-07-2008, 11:26 PM
I was slightly better off. Just closed and relaunch e220. Didn't have to remove device though. Don't think the heat was an issue. I was surfing with the e220 the whole day yesterday with no problems before returning it to M1 in the evening.
under what condition?
I can have whole day working... provided I put it under air con
maxcava19
09-07-2008, 11:33 PM
omg... am I dreaming?
http://www.speedtest.net/result/293839003.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Now consider non-peak hour... maybe try again tonight... pls.. DON'T use m1 and slow down my speed. Thanks
http://www.speedtest.net/result/293844062.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
hai ai..M1 speed up for a while,make pple shiok for a while..then back to poor speed..Well,Better sign up$11 plus per mth,and use it as spare bb on mobile when surfing outside..Broadband on mobile aint that good than a fixed one due ur riding on the mobile 3.5G network.Mobile doesnt mean stable..its a freedom with speed suck,sharing...im a ex m1 BB user..now a maxonline surflite customer.very happy..no heart pain....
ironman4672
10-07-2008, 03:32 AM
hai ai..M1 speed up for a while,make pple shiok for a while..then back to poor speed..Well,Better sign up$11 plus per mth,and use it as spare bb on mobile when surfing outside..Broadband on mobile aint that good than a fixed one due ur riding on the mobile 3.5G network.Mobile doesnt mean stable..its a freedom with speed suck,sharing...im a ex m1 BB user..now a maxonline surflite customer.very happy..no heart pain....
nah, becos u nvr try singtel one before... u cannot compare mx one with singtel one at all.... they are one sky one earth......;);););););) u make this comment, becos u have been using the mx cmi broadband all the time... and of course with that, u use whatever band u also will feel much better.....
raijinshou
10-07-2008, 04:43 AM
Currently using my roommate Singtel Mobile... damn nice torrent hit 200 KB/s.
When he hasnt sleep, I use my M1. Yeah:
1. Disconnect many times. Thanks m1.
2. Torrent means "welcome back, disconnect"
3. Unstable, keep dying connection, I can see from Orbit Download Manager log... so many disconnected and connected again. Luckily resumably.
Since Singtel shows just fine, means nothing wrong with my computer. M1 DO SUX.
Joshua_0718
10-07-2008, 03:14 PM
I just signed up for the m1 broadband v2000. The 'unlimited' data is it really unlimited? Or they still capped with 2GB as stated at the 1st page?
Sorry, I don't know anything about Singapore BB, as I am foreigner.
FireHobbit
10-07-2008, 04:12 PM
wasteint people money i guess...
Exposure
10-07-2008, 04:15 PM
I just signed up for the m1 broadband v2000. The 'unlimited' data is it really unlimited? Or they still capped with 2GB as stated at the 1st page?
Sorry, I don't know anything about Singapore BB, as I am foreigner.
is yours 6mths contract ? better get out asap...i was in your shoes before, i switched to starhub mobile broadband and life is so much better.
wkender
10-07-2008, 08:38 PM
under what condition?
I can have whole day working... provided I put it under air con
both aircon(office) and non aircon(at home) enviroment, also will get dc very often and hang. Will need to close vodafone then relaunch it again to connect :mad:.
Joshua_0718
11-07-2008, 11:09 AM
is yours 6mths contract ? better get out asap...i was in your shoes before, i switched to starhub mobile broadband and life is so much better.
Yes, 6 months contract. Before I subscribe this M1 broadband, I already knew it is HSPDA 3G and won't be as good as Singtel and Starhub. Don't have the option to choose except M1 due to reason like my house TV port don't have the starhub connection port, don't know what the hell is that.
Btw, I have moved to a new house and the tv port could be support starhub. Of course, i will get out from this package once it is done.
FireHobbit
11-07-2008, 11:42 AM
all is HSPA
ironman4672
11-07-2008, 12:29 PM
Yes, 6 months contract. Before I subscribe this M1 broadband, I already knew it is HSPDA 3G and won't be as good as Singtel and Starhub. Don't have the option to choose except M1 due to reason like my house TV port don't have the starhub connection port, don't know what the hell is that.
Btw, I have moved to a new house and the tv port could be support starhub. Of course, i will get out from this package once it is done.
what u mean, u dun have the option, starhub and singtel has come out with the broadband mobile long time ago... u can choose these two what....;);););)
Exposure
11-07-2008, 02:47 PM
hi fren, to use maxonline, u can now do so my having mobile broadband, use slot in the usb wireless modem and connection will be done, there is no need for a cable port unless u are going for fixed wired maxonline and cable tv services.
canreallywork
12-07-2008, 04:55 PM
Hi everyone!
The really cool looking USB stick wireless HSUPA modem : Huawei / Vodafone E172 is available! Its having upload speed of max 2Mbps and download speed of max 7.2Mbps! If you're looking for your own personal piece of equipment thus giving you the real freedom to choose service provider email me! My email : canreallywork@yahoo.com
calvin;)
FireHobbit
13-07-2008, 12:53 AM
sign singtel and get the free modem more worth it
Big Bad Wolf
13-07-2008, 01:57 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/295364435.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
back to slow days.
raijinshou
13-07-2008, 03:30 AM
disconnect every single seconds. Cant even sign in MSN. Coz when connection, the connection is disconnected. Thanks M1. I love you until I want to destroy the world together with you.
FireHobbit
13-07-2008, 04:00 PM
m1 is sometime get faster for a while but does not last...
chusoon
13-07-2008, 05:46 PM
any one feel diffucult upload file to serve through ftp client?
i faced very diffcultly to upload file to my server even a small file, 5-10k php file. I need fail more than 10 second or more to complete the upload.
i have try for other broadband service like starthub, even use wireless@sg, it do not have this problem.
any one can help?
thanks a lot.
ironman4672
13-07-2008, 07:33 PM
i faced very diffcultly to upload file to my server even a small file, 5-10k php file. I need fail more than 10 second or more to complete the upload.
i have try for other broadband service like starthub, even use wireless@sg, it do not have this problem.
any one can help?
thanks a lot.
no solution at all... prob is not at client side.... whatever u do also will not solve the prob.... just bear with ur own wronged choice.....;););););)
chusoon
13-07-2008, 11:22 PM
no solution at all... prob is not at client side.... whatever u do also will not solve the prob.... just bear with ur own wronged choice.....;););););)
one month to suffer......
think suit to starhub mobile....any comment? i stay at bedok south.
askh52
14-07-2008, 07:39 PM
any one can help?
thanks a lot.
Dunno, I also got same problem. The connect cut itself when running upload test @ speedtest.net
M3t4lz0n3
15-07-2008, 03:18 AM
Just got back from work and just checking out my M1 1mbps plan :D, will be worst on peak hours as you all know...-_-!
http://www.speedtest.net/result/296109225.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Ping from Singnet.
Reply from 165.21.103.210: bytes=32 time=89ms TTL=58
Reply from 165.21.103.210: bytes=32 time=92ms TTL=58
Reply from 165.21.103.210: bytes=32 time=91ms TTL=58
Ping from Qala.
Reply from 210.193.3.9: bytes=32 time=96ms TTL=121
Reply from 210.193.3.9: bytes=32 time=95ms TTL=121
Reply from 210.193.3.9: bytes=32 time=94ms TTL=121
Note: Woodland User here near RP
rurru1
15-07-2008, 11:22 PM
hihi, im a new user of the 1Mbps plan.. unable to sign in to Msn at night time.. and when checking email (hotmail..) it takes forever to sign in, sometimes the page wont even load? and checking 1 email can take up to 15min??
is this normal? why so slow.. singtel 1Mbps plan so much faster~~~ sigh..
n most of the times my connection shows 50. something kbps only!!!
raijinshou
16-07-2008, 03:48 AM
m1 user?
Welcome to hell.
Comment: You should never apply for m1. Choose singtel or starhub. Those 2 rocks. M1 sux.
wkender
16-07-2008, 12:59 PM
hihi, im a new user of the 1Mbps plan.. unable to sign in to Msn at night time.. and when checking email (hotmail..) it takes forever to sign in, sometimes the page wont even load? and checking 1 email can take up to 15min??
is this normal? why so slow.. singtel 1Mbps plan so much faster~~~ sigh..
n most of the times my connection shows 50. something kbps only!!!
This is very NORMAL - applicable to M1 ONLY...:o
ahray18
21-07-2008, 08:44 PM
am i right to say that the only attractive part for the m1 and starhub mobile boardband is that they offered unlimited usage while singtel is capped at 50GB,after that u need to pay for what u use?
mushalin
22-07-2008, 02:53 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/295364435.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
back to slow days.
i tried the speedtest.net as well
managed to get 2254kbps download and 324kbps upload.think thats quite good for mobility.
raijinshou
22-07-2008, 02:59 PM
and I'm not sure most people can spend all the 50GB, unless you do downloading for 24/7.
ahray18
22-07-2008, 11:36 PM
and I'm not sure most people can spend all the 50GB, unless you do downloading for 24/7.
not sure how much 50GB can do but i guess it is always safer to use unlimited right?..
ironman4672
23-07-2008, 12:37 AM
i have no prob hitting the 50GB... in fact normally i used up all the limit in 1/3 of the mth.... so normally after 1/3 i usually left myself with only 1-2GB usage for surfing purpose only....
and i can tell u, u no need to download 24/7.... also can hit the limit... u just need to download abt 8 hrs per day.... less than half mth can finish liao.....;););););)
ironman4672
23-07-2008, 12:39 AM
not sure how much 50GB can do but i guess it is always safer to use unlimited right?..
yes, if u really do a lot of download.... better to use unlimited one... i am on 1mbps plan only, i use abt average 8 hrs per day... less than half mth, i can finish the 50GB quota......lucky i didn't subscribe 2mbps or 3.6mbps plan... else less than 1 week can finish liao.....;););););)
ahray18
23-07-2008, 01:00 AM
yes, if u really do a lot of download.... better to use unlimited one... i am on 1mbps plan only, i use abt average 8 hrs per day... less than half mth, i can finish the 50GB quota......lucky i didn't subscribe 2mbps or 3.6mbps plan... else less than 1 week can finish liao.....;););););)
thanks for your input..u're using the singtel one?
ironman4672
23-07-2008, 03:00 AM
thanks for your input..u're using the singtel one?
yes, using singtel bbom 1mbps plan @ 11++ per mth since march IT show... but 50GB is totally not enough for me.... intend to sign up another 1mbps plan during the past PC show one... but end up thinking sooner or later the extra 50GB also will not be enough for me also... so that's why considering signing up the starhub 2mbps plan maxmobile surflite instead..... 19++ per mth but unlimited......;););););)
raijinshou
23-07-2008, 03:47 AM
I would rather having "stable connection but 50GB only" (Singtel) rather than "unstable keep disconnecting sucks speed somemore eventhough unlimited" (M1).
You can try M1 if you want. Just don't regret it later on. I agreed with ironman about applying starhub for unlimited, since it's definitely better than M1.
ironman4672
23-07-2008, 03:52 AM
I would rather having "stable connection but 50GB only" (Singtel) rather than "unstable keep disconnecting sucks speed somemore eventhough unlimited" (M1).
You can try M1 if you want. Just don't regret it later on. I agreed with ironman about applying starhub for unlimited, since it's definitely better than M1.
yup, even there is only two telco left singtel and m1, i would rather suffer from the limit than the slow speed....:D:D:D:D
i am so far happy with singtel bbom.... speed wise is ok..
now i am going to sign up starhub 2mbps maxmobile surflite to compliment my usage...:D:D:D
raijinshou
23-07-2008, 04:06 AM
Please share story about starhub. No reliable complete story of starhub BBOM here. Only "good singtel" and "**** m1" around. hehe... When u will sign up? Can add u in msn or any messenger (pm is better)? Wish to have the update as soon as possible ^^ Coz I will dump m1 soon (2 months left of contracts), so I will change. Have singtel as choice but singtel have proxy (cant port forward torrent), so if starhub better, why not. hehe
ironman4672
23-07-2008, 04:11 AM
Please share story about starhub. No reliable complete story of starhub BBOM here. Only "good singtel" and "**** m1" around. hehe... When u will sign up? Can add u in msn or any messenger (pm is better)? Wish to have the update as soon as possible ^^ Coz I will dump m1 soon (2 months left of contracts), so I will change. Have singtel as choice but singtel have proxy (cant port forward torrent), so if starhub better, why not. hehe
i still haven't sign up for maxmobile yet.... ya... not many review on maxmobile users yet.... i planned to sign up during the coming comex... becos i dun want to pay for the sim card and registration fee which cost nearly $50... i remembered last pc show.. these fee are waived... hopefully it will be the same for this time round.....
for bt singtel bbom can hit very high speed without much special settings.....i can hit up to 100k at nite and morning time no prob.....just that peak hr the speed slow down a lot especially from 8pm-1am.....other than these timing the speed for bt is fine....
what u mean cannot port forward torrent? it does not need to do port forwarding what... u are not using router... it is just like normal direct connection without router....
raijinshou
23-07-2008, 04:30 AM
i mean the direct connection. remote connection cant be made. can see from red mark in utorrent. it should be green if remote can be done
Just subscribed to M1 Broadband 1000 today...
Installation of the USB modem went smoothly on my WinXP laptop...
I don't know why the connection's at 7.2mbps though, isn't it supposed to be at 1mbps?
Anyway, loaded a few websites, both local and overseas, speed is definitely acceptable (to me at least) for mobile broadband... In fact, it's pretty speedy...
Usage as of now is at my residence, will try it out at my work place soon...
My experience with it so far has been rather pleasant...
Hopefully it'll continue to be so... :)
By the way, registration and SIM fees are waived...
ironman4672
23-07-2008, 04:48 PM
Just subscribed to M1 Broadband 1000 today...
Installation of the USB modem went smoothly on my WinXP laptop...
I don't know why the connection's at 7.2mbps though, isn't it supposed to be at 1mbps?
Anyway, loaded a few websites, both local and overseas, speed is definitely acceptable (to me at least) for mobile broadband... In fact, it's pretty speedy...
Usage as of now is at my residence, will try it out at my work place soon...
My experience with it so far has been rather pleasant...
Hopefully it'll continue to be so... :)
By the way, registration and SIM fees are waived...
but u got no free modem.....;);););););)
Doesn't matter...
Even if I decide to switch to another operator, they'll most probably be bundling the data plan with a modem as well...
No point having several modems lying around, unless you're into collecting them... ;)
raijinshou
23-07-2008, 08:15 PM
browsing never mean for speed only. realize the ping as well (the time u enter the URL and the page is out).
7.2 Mbps is the speed between modem and computer, not from the ISP. If it's the speed, LAN user would be more than happy to have 1 Gbps connection.
Btw try to do torrenting to make your m1 auto disconnect lol
Welcome to hell btw. I'm quite sure you will be facing "sh1tty connection" soon enough.
browsing never mean for speed only. realize the ping as well (the time u enter the URL and the page is out).
7.2 Mbps is the speed between modem and computer, not from the ISP. If it's the speed, LAN user would be more than happy to have 1 Gbps connection.
Btw try to do torrenting to make your m1 auto disconnect lol
Welcome to hell btw. I'm quite sure you will be facing "sh1tty connection" soon enough.
I see...
Numbers aside, surfing speed has been decent so far...
It's basically for casual surfing while I'm outside, not intending to use it for Torrent...
So even if it does disconnect while torrent-ing, I'm not affected...
As for shi|tty connection, thanks for the heads up...
I'll realize it soon enough if it's indeed the case...
ironman4672
23-07-2008, 08:35 PM
Doesn't matter...
Even if I decide to switch to another operator, they'll most probably be bundling the data plan with a modem as well...
No point having several modems lying around, unless you're into collecting them... ;)
good for u then... enjoy ur stay in hell.....:D:D:D:D:D:D
ironman4672
23-07-2008, 08:37 PM
I see...
Numbers aside, surfing speed has been decent so far...
It's basically for casual surfing while I'm outside, not intending to use it for Torrent...
So even if it does disconnect while torrent-ing, I'm not affected...
As for shi|tty connection, thanks for the heads up...
I'll realize it soon enough if it's indeed the case...
it's ok raijinshou (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/member.php?u=292261), he happy can liao.... just dun come back here and complain ok already haha.....:D:D:D:D:D:D
good for u then... enjoy ur stay in hell.....:D:D:D:D:D:D
Appreciate your well wishes...
it's ok raijinshou, he happy can liao.... just dun come back here and complain ok already haha.....
Not to worry, not in front of you at least...
FireHobbit
25-07-2008, 08:36 PM
alot of people are regertting.. seem like hope M1 people see these prob and improve..
wkender
26-07-2008, 10:01 PM
alot of people are regertting.. seem like hope M1 people see these prob and improve..
Sure they did. Didn't you notice that it has pulled out it's mobile bb advert from ST since last week end ? All the Ads splashed over several pages of Straits Times(26/7) are for mobile phones only.
ironman4672
27-07-2008, 01:39 AM
Sure they did. Didn't you notice that it has pulled out it's mobile bb advert from ST since last week end ? All the Ads splashed over several pages of Straits Times(26/7) are for mobile phones only.
they are the first who comes with this, but again they are losing out and way behind other telcos.....;);););););)
dk2000
01-08-2008, 01:40 AM
do u d/l a lot of stuffs? i can barely hit 50gb with my mol connection
rurru1
03-08-2008, 02:01 AM
anyone else experienced this??? im using m1 broadband 1Mbps plan, but connection is only 53.6Kbps.. most of the time when i load hotmail and yahoo websites, my firefox brings me to a page which says unable to load.. or page not found. i have to refresh several times and wait like there's no tomorrow for the page to load. why is this so??
raijinshou
03-08-2008, 09:36 AM
Yeah almost everyone experienced it. This is what is very well-knows as "unstable connection".
ironman4672
03-08-2008, 06:04 PM
anyone else experienced this??? im using m1 broadband 1Mbps plan, but connection is only 53.6Kbps.. most of the time when i load hotmail and yahoo websites, my firefox brings me to a page which says unable to load.. or page not found. i have to refresh several times and wait like there's no tomorrow for the page to load. why is this so??
good luck to u for entering hell..haha.... hopefully u are not signing the 2 years hell contract haha.....:s7::s7::s7::s7::s7:
otacon
04-08-2008, 09:59 AM
this question might have popped up before, but i dun know use wat keyword to search for answer.
M1 BB cannot use on mobile phone?
FireHobbit
05-08-2008, 06:16 PM
m1 bb can use on phone... i tried le
raijinshou
07-08-2008, 12:23 AM
Update:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/305666669.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Has been like this since last 2 days. Amazing...
otacon
07-08-2008, 01:08 AM
m1 bb can use on phone... i tried le
wah lau, then i asked the m1 shop and called their customer service, all said cannot.
tandws
07-08-2008, 08:13 PM
Hi tandws ,
Mine also similar to you , sometimes get disconnected . Need to disconnect & wait for a while before reconnect again . If still fails , will need to reboot again .
Any better device/telco to recommend ?
TQ
Hi protoss_knight, sorry for the late replies as I've been waiting for past 3 mths for M1 to resolve this issue or that's what they told me. They asked for my location(Telok Blangah area) & where I'm using the M1 BB and they will look into it. They offered me a 50% discount to monitor the speed situation for 3 mths; they even told me PCMCIA modem is more reliable than USB modem
-one from M1 ever reverted to me. Their customer service is good, but as I told them, it's not able to fit my simple needs of surfing without getting disconnected. It's not a matter of discount or pricing if the M1 BB does not even work properly in the first place
My suggestion is to try Singnet mobile. Depending where you are, and don't have too high an expectations and you won't be dissapointed. I can't comment on Singnet BB as experience is quite subjective.
FireHobbit
08-08-2008, 02:28 AM
u put the sim card into the phone and use the normal gprs and 3g settings for M1..
the phone must be 3.5g or 3g
imanon
09-08-2008, 12:29 AM
Mine also similar to you , sometimes get disconnected . Need to disconnect & wait for a while before reconnect again . If still fails , will need to reboot again .
it's not able to fit my simple needs of surfing without getting disconnected.
maybe u can try this keepalive utility to help stay connected
http://mixnot.110mb.com/
also, instead of rebooting,
u can close vmc lite at bottom taskbar,
disable huawei modem at device manager
then re enable modem
start vmc lite
otacon
09-08-2008, 09:24 AM
u put the sim card into the phone and use the normal gprs and 3g settings for M1..
the phone must be 3.5g or 3g
so it's a separate sim card right? i want it to be the same as my voice sim card.
rurru1
12-08-2008, 12:10 PM
hi.. in the Vodafone Mobile Connect Lite window.. in the Settings option, there's 1 which says Network Preference (2G only, 3G only, 3G preferred)
which option do you guys choose? how come mine is always auto-connected to 2 G..
mrleech
14-08-2008, 09:32 AM
If its for home surfing, perhaps can consider the new M1 fixed BB. They "rent" the bandwidth from Starhub.
Still thinking if its good to do so. I already got 2 M1 mobile BB. Drop 1 to get the fixed one?
byzantin3
18-08-2008, 06:23 PM
hi.. in the Vodafone Mobile Connect Lite window.. in the Settings option, there's 1 which says Network Preference (2G only, 3G only, 3G preferred)
which option do you guys choose? how come mine is always auto-connected to 2 G..
I'll kdo the 3G. it is really faster and in terms of cost, it willl eventually come out to be lower.
Chai_Latte
24-08-2008, 12:18 PM
If its for home surfing, perhaps can consider the new M1 fixed BB. They "rent" the bandwidth from Starhub.
Still thinking if its good to do so. I already got 2 M1 mobile BB. Drop 1 to get the fixed one?
If you are getting the fixed one, please do a review in this section :D
weibchen
02-09-2008, 05:00 PM
just started to use m1 mobile bb.
connection is fast granted but apparently towards the evening my connection is unstable.
But when its fast it can hit 300kb/s, then it acts up and loses connection quite turblant..
felali
03-09-2008, 02:04 AM
Just started M1FBB today.
Its a little strange...
1) www.speedtest.net and www.speedtest.sg were unable to get a correct fix on my IP. The ip address listed on the speed sites recognized my ip as 202.65.xxx.xxx, where in fact it was 119.56.xxx.xxx (under windows LAN status, and from whatismyip.com)
2) Usenet seems to be able to max the alloted bandwidth (10mbps plan, roughly 1200+ kilobytes per second), but http browsing seems quite often to be a little slow on all sorts of sites. Even Wikipedia articles can take a while to load, and when page loaded/rendered halfway, seems to take very long to complete loading. Now at off-peak (2am), loads fine. Forgot to try starhub.com.sg site during laggy periods.
weibchen
03-09-2008, 02:15 AM
hows p2p transfer over msn?
Mine is like farking slow.
so it's a separate sim card right? i want it to be the same as my voice sim card.
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2076798
Cissiboy
08-09-2008, 10:13 PM
http://img148.imageshack.us/img148/2486/speedtestnetan4.th.jpg (http://img148.imageshack.us/my.php?image=speedtestnetan4.jpg)
http://img247.imageshack.us/img247/6631/speedtestsguv0.th.jpg (http://img247.imageshack.us/my.php?image=speedtestsguv0.jpg)
so far so quite good
p2p seems to be filtered..
sometimes beri slow browsing during evening, but downloading via http always good
I need help to configure router with cable modem ! HELP ME
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?p=32242332
Cissiboy
08-09-2008, 10:30 PM
Just started M1FBB today.
Its a little strange...
1) www.speedtest.net and www.speedtest.sg were unable to get a correct fix on my IP. The ip address listed on the speed sites recognized my ip as 202.65.xxx.xxx, where in fact it was 119.56.xxx.xxx (under windows LAN status, and from whatismyip.com)
2) Usenet seems to be able to max the alloted bandwidth (10mbps plan, roughly 1200+ kilobytes per second), but http browsing seems quite often to be a little slow on all sorts of sites. Even Wikipedia articles can take a while to load, and when page loaded/rendered halfway, seems to take very long to complete loading. Now at off-peak (2am), loads fine. Forgot to try starhub.com.sg site during laggy periods.
same same here
michaelwks
09-09-2008, 09:36 AM
now M1 star a cable model (fixed plan) like Starhub. Anyone sign for this plan? Compare which is good?
junkai21
09-09-2008, 11:58 AM
u can surf usingGPRS on ur phone using m1 bb simcard. Slow like hell only nia. Anyway, M1 BB SUCKS! I regretted signing up for it. I just called their customer center to complain the slow speed. They say they are majour upgrading their network.
michaelwks
09-09-2008, 09:27 PM
anyway same answer. upgrading their network.
Cissiboy
12-09-2008, 11:21 PM
so far so good..i'm not stressing it intensively but it is good
I'm in Pasir Ris and I'm using special dns from a project in Italy
http://speed.io/pics/1117/3335/speed.io.png
I'm connected in wireless to the router which is forwarding cable modem
Not bad not bad
PS: Download via http always over 1MB/s !!!
Think recently everyone jump to ST and Starhub.
M1 BB seems to be more stable then before. Has anyone feel that?
Cissiboy
17-09-2008, 04:58 PM
i'm quite satisfied..sometimes..esp when heavy raining..beri slow..but USUALLY not so bad
shokbakgoc
17-09-2008, 05:31 PM
Think recently everyone jump to ST and Starhub.
M1 BB seems to be more stable then before. Has anyone feel that?
goody, moi wan to jump back. moi wan cheapest plan, din c at their website. wait for tis weekend c got promotion or nt :D
I using the following Mobile BB
Singtel and M1.
I try on two locations
1: Interational Plaza (office)
2: Bt Batok Centre (home)
Singtel BB:
1: Interational Plaza (office) - Many time drop to GRPS mode. When in HSDPA connection slow and many time must disconnect and connect to resume surfing
2: Bt Batok Centre (home) - Depends on mood. Sometime faster but most of the time bad! Connect dead! Must keep disconnect and reconnect.
*6 month ago connect on both location is good a lot better then M1. Now is bad! Use 9 months liao.
M1 BB:
1: Interational Plaza (office) - So far faster then Singtel. I have yet to face d.c and reconnect issue like before! Still monitoring.
2: Bt Batok Centre (home) - Afternoon before 6pm connection is average good and usable. Once evening become 56k. Max 3 - 8K speed.
*use for 4 days.
shokbakgoc
20-09-2008, 10:52 AM
Agree ST BBOM getting worse & worse... tink too many people jump on board. when moi first signed up ST, could connect for hrs & hrs & surf like no end (even on cheapest plan). nw kenna disconnected/connection dead every 5 mins or so :mad:
brucewaynebm
25-09-2008, 03:21 PM
I am using this M1 in the Lavendar area. I get disconnected almost every 5 minutes. So Piss..... Called M1 they said they are upgrading the mobile network island wide. Frequent disconnects are expected especially in areas they are doing the upgrading. M1 say the upgrade will be completed in end Oct 08.
Did anyone also face the same problem? Is this also the same excuse u are getting from M1?
:(
oceanx2k
26-09-2008, 11:20 AM
Bought the M1 BB 2M 2 yrs package on 23 SEP =_=||
tested on 23 SEP around 11-12midnight
the latency is ~500+ from newton area....
speed? errr either didnt even make it to speed test page
or when it did, i got about 100kb down and 17kb up
will try it again today tho... =x
26 SEP around 10-11am
today tested it near kaki bukit area... near eunos techlink building
speed was ok ish...
1000~1500kbs down... and 200~350kbs up (avg of about 3-5 tests)
well at least now it is working!
but i suspect is because less ppl are using the m1 BB in this area,
hence lower latency 200~300ms
anyways... during peak hours (esp weekends).... even starhub 100mbs plan can't sustain good speed on gaming or downloads...
so far... m1 BB is good enough for the ppl on the go i think... but don't count on it!! quite useful if need to receive emails on the go... need to be out of office and roaming around singapore... going to areas with absolutely no free wireless (tuas, changi bases, etc...) it's not for gaming that's for sure, due to the high latency...
=============================================================
Test Log for those who are interested:
Kaki Bukit area, near Eunos Techlink building
the last one is not by me... perhaps someone else who tested the speed in July
9/26/2008 6:54 AM GMT 116.197.195.77 1244 kb/s 244 kb/s 241 ms Singapore ~ 50 mi Close
9/26/2008 6:54 AM GMT 116.197.195.77 897 kb/s 261 kb/s 211 ms Singapore ~ 50 mi Open
9/26/2008 3:27 AM GMT 116.197.195.77 1623 kb/s 263 kb/s 207 ms Singapore ~ 50 mi Close
9/26/2008 3:26 AM GMT 116.197.195.77 1443 kb/s 230 kb/s 264 ms Singapore ~ 50 mi Open
9/26/2008 3:24 AM GMT 116.197.195.77 1380 kb/s 298 kb/s
9/26/2008 2:55 AM GMT 116.197.195.77 1000 kb/s 241 kb/s 235 ms Singapore ~ 50 mi Open
9/26/2008 2:52 AM GMT 116.197.195.77 1503 kb/s 329 kb/s 248 ms
3/7/2008 6:43 AM GMT 116.197.195.77 507 kb/s 246 kb/s 304 ms
zkwonz
29-09-2008, 02:31 PM
if i use 3g+, are there any additional charges? is it part of the unlimited package?
i keep getting the 53.6 kbps speed but i can connect to 3g+ network manually. will there be additional charges? i'm on the lowest priced M1 mobile bb plan now.
czheyuan
30-09-2008, 02:08 AM
if i use 3g+, are there any additional charges? is it part of the unlimited package?
i keep getting the 53.6 kbps speed but i can connect to 3g+ network manually. will there be additional charges? i'm on the lowest priced M1 mobile bb plan now.
Nope no additional charges... no matter whether u on 2G, 3G or 3.5G it doesn't matter... :s13:
zkwonz
30-09-2008, 08:44 AM
oh ok thanks. was kinda worried when i kept switching between networks.. but the 2g speed is horrendously slow.
crapp0
30-09-2008, 10:19 AM
Hows the reception at yishun area since i'm interested in signing up for the mobile broadband plan.
Bond388
01-10-2008, 03:45 PM
Hi all...
my ST BB contract is ending this mth. I m looking at M1 mobile BB V plans (2 Mpbs)
with this HuaweiE960 router at S$19.36, 2 yrs contract. Looks good and got
free incoming calls and local charge to some other countries.
http://m1.com.sg/M1/site/M1Corp/menuitem.e2f30a2a1a1860b609b422103f2000a0/?vgnextoid=c489d559f110b110VgnVCM100000695a230aRCRD
Appreciate feedbacks about this BB (connecting speed...etc...)....or should i contuine ST?? Thanks.
Cheers
Hi all...
my ST BB contract is ending this mth. I m looking at M1 mobile BB V plans (2 Mpbs)
with this HuaweiE960 router at S$19.36, 2 yrs contract. Looks good and got
free incoming calls and local charge to some other countries.
http://m1.com.sg/M1/site/M1Corp/menuitem.e2f30a2a1a1860b609b422103f2000a0/?vgnextoid=c489d559f110b110VgnVCM100000695a230aRCRD
Appreciate feedbacks about this BB (connecting speed...etc...)....or should i contuine ST?? Thanks.
Cheers
One thing to note, that Huawei is not given to you for free as part of the promotional package. It's rented out to you, i.e. they will take it back once your contract ends.
tool1234
20-10-2008, 12:43 PM
One thing to note, that Huawei is not given to you for free as part of the promotional package. It's rented out to you, i.e. they will take it back once your contract ends.
They only take back when you request to end the service. Once the contract expires you still use it for free rental.
Today using m1 broadband feels like a breeze..hmm..hope this stays on =)))
whaleshark87
20-10-2008, 03:45 PM
Day is fast, evening time sucks like hell.
khalid_alig
24-10-2008, 02:33 PM
I have this 2 GB connection with Huawei USB modem..... it's danm unstable and speed sucks in evening....better get a dial up connection.
crayon_shinchan
24-10-2008, 06:08 PM
anyone knw the modem itself got any command line to send SMS?
varadero23
29-10-2008, 10:08 AM
guys how is m1 mobil broadband now? think of signing up
sin77
29-10-2008, 11:19 AM
consumers get pwned. We keep changing telco, but speed always get choked.
kirium
29-10-2008, 07:10 PM
my 6mths M1 mobile BB contract just expired...connection seems to be more stable in Oct 08 though I had my fair share of frustrations in the past.
read alot abt choppy singtel mobile BB....is starhub mobile BB more stable? Or are they all the same?
conquer001
30-10-2008, 03:35 PM
Just signed up today and tested the speed at my home, which is at Bukit Panjang. Here's the result from http://www.speedtest.net/
http://www.speedtest.net/result/347222208.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
I'll be posting another result soon from a visit to Singapore Discovery Centre tomorrow, notably Jurong.
magix
30-10-2008, 05:24 PM
Starhub mobile BB does have some issue once awhile. One common problem my friend and I facing now is
surf halfway the modem tio remove from windows itself. Confirm is not USB chipset faulty, Virus or PC not enough power.
Anyone face the same issue?
sadboy
31-10-2008, 02:38 PM
A test on my friend M1bb in town.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/347759556.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Not bad speed for a 1mbps plan.
Cissiboy
31-10-2008, 02:57 PM
last 2 nights beri beri slow..
conquer001
02-11-2008, 01:06 PM
Here's another from Bukit Batok Central, MacDonald's. Technically, it's somewhere on the west side.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/348811295.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
conquer001
03-11-2008, 07:48 AM
Not bad, over at Singapore Discovery Centre.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/349221887.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
jams001
05-11-2008, 10:53 PM
great post is that wonderful very cool stuff:s12:
Starting Business Blog (http://www.starting-business.org.uk/index.php?q=starting-business-blog):s12:
sim21
05-11-2008, 11:18 PM
Hey guys i got a siutation which i hope any of you could help me.
My computer is connected to a router. A data server and a modem is connected on to this router.
When i plug in my M1 BB, my computer seem to have problem connecting to the router and the BB at the same time.
Is there anyway i could set my connection. To router is for intranet and M1 BB for internet ?
Thanks.
sadboy
06-11-2008, 10:04 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/351036667.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Just test 1 min ago at Anson Center (near M hotel)
sadboy
06-11-2008, 10:06 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/351037428.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Another test. Look ok?
conquer001
06-11-2008, 11:54 AM
The speeds looks very decent. Good job in sharing the information, my friend.
leonaheidern
06-11-2008, 01:42 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/351102843.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
In PSA Building now. Pretty good speeds to my office Server via VPN even at night. better than my starhub fixed bb mol express
sadboy
06-11-2008, 02:45 PM
As for me during nite near westmall (bt batok) the speed at night was quite slow! As for city look good.
Anyway I am using Starhub E270 instead of their modem.
varadero23
09-11-2008, 10:37 AM
so can we say that most telecom MOBILE broadband is good for day use,evening till nite is bad
conquer001
10-11-2008, 07:44 AM
so can we say that most telecom MOBILE broadband is good for day use,evening till nite is bad
That's a negative, varadero. The physical aspects of mobile broadband is such that, it all depends on the area in which you're in. If you're living in an area that is not considered a hotspot, like perhaps a shopping centre, a public attraction, or even within the vicinity of CBD or the popular districts, chances are that the connection wouldn't be great.
You should then consider a land-based broadband instead.
conquer001
10-11-2008, 09:45 AM
Yikes! I'm back at SDC and here's the result!
http://www.speedtest.net/result/353216702.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Must be the weather. something that one should look out for.
My would be from Singtel 1mpbs plan. Upload faster then my download
http://www.speedtest.net/result/353225170.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
FireHobbit
14-11-2008, 10:00 AM
m1 like still lagging behind the two telco
archish
15-11-2008, 01:16 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/356262477.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
M1 rocks!!! =:p
conquer001
15-11-2008, 01:50 PM
Dude, where are you getting the reading from?
archish
15-11-2008, 05:40 PM
near outram park/chinatown
Wow real soild Connection u got.
archish
17-11-2008, 12:29 AM
Wow real soild Connection u got.
danks!!! :D
zencro
18-11-2008, 03:25 PM
:o
http://www.speedtest.net/result/357878127.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
jams001
21-11-2008, 10:36 PM
not bad your speed is good great,busby seo test (http://pinayspeak.com/pinaytest/),.!maybe someday i will post my speed test for my internet :s12:
dk2000
26-11-2008, 08:57 PM
:o
http://www.speedtest.net/result/357878127.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
is this ur mobile broadband speed?
lee_kent
01-12-2008, 12:17 PM
guys how is m1 mobil broadband now? think of signing up
If you want to sign up with M1, i seriously dont recommend. I dont want to see another victim to fall into their stupid service. I cant surf at all from evening till midnight, get a bloody slow speed during the day. I dont know what to do with it. M1 REALLY SUCKS!!!!
I am so regret to sign up with them, plew !!!!
Below is their reply after my complaint. Bascially is telling you this is not theirs problem,Sucker. I vow never to support them again.
Dear Mr Lee
Thank you for your e-mail of 16 September 2008. Mr Lee, we thank you for your feedback pertaining to the speed of M1 Broadband. As our Broadband service is a shared network, any overload to the network resources will adversely affect the usage experience of all users. Thus, there may be some Broadband users who will experience slower Internet connectivity compared to other users within the same vicinity, especially during peak hours.
You may also wish to note that the speed you experience is determined bya combination of factors such as coverage, location, network traffic andthe type of data being transmitted. We assure you that we have been actively expanding our Broadband network. We expect to minimise any congestion or connectivity issues upon completing the enhancement works. We seek your patience and understanding in this matter.
pkchukiss
02-12-2008, 09:02 AM
Hmmm they can give any excuses they want, but if you are not getting the service you want, haven't the service provider breached the contractual agreement with you? We consumers shouldn't need to suffer because of the ISP's incompetence.
It's like buying a mobile phone touted by the seller as a new mobile phone, and the thing comes looking as if it were dropped in a toilet bowl.
leaving_footsteps
02-12-2008, 05:39 PM
If you want to sign up with M1, i seriously dont recommend. I dont want to see another victim to fall into their stupid service. I cant surf at all from evening till midnight, get a bloody slow speed during the day. I dont know what to do with it. M1 REALLY SUCKS!!!!
I am so regret to sign up with them, plew !!!!
Below is their reply after my complaint. Bascially is telling you this is not theirs problem,Sucker. I vow never to support them again.
Dear Mr Lee
Thank you for your e-mail of 16 September 2008. Mr Lee, we thank you for your feedback pertaining to the speed of M1 Broadband. As our Broadband service is a shared network, any overload to the network resources will adversely affect the usage experience of all users. Thus, there may be some Broadband users who will experience slower Internet connectivity compared to other users within the same vicinity, especially during peak hours.
You may also wish to note that the speed you experience is determined bya combination of factors such as coverage, location, network traffic andthe type of data being transmitted. We assure you that we have been actively expanding our Broadband network. We expect to minimise any congestion or connectivity issues upon completing the enhancement works. We seek your patience and understanding in this matter.
That's kind of outdated.
How about showing us your current test results?
zoslim
03-12-2008, 12:57 AM
infact my m1 mbb lately the speed not bad. quite fast leh. i using the 1mps only.
czheyuan
03-12-2008, 01:09 AM
infact my m1 mbb lately the speed not bad. quite fast leh. i using the 1mps only.
Yeah, no longer hear negative feedbacks about slow m1 mobile broadband speed from my frenz who are using... only positive feedbacks, even for traditional peak hours which is the 9pm-1am killer...
felali
04-12-2008, 12:48 AM
Yeah i have nothing much to complain about M1BB, other than my usenet not maxing the 10mbps during that 9pm-1am window... Heh
In fact, BT seems a bit faster with m1bb compared to starhub. But everyone's experiences are likely to vary...
Nvm, out of point, juz realized this thread is on M1 mobile bb, not fixed. Heh
chanz86
04-12-2008, 01:37 PM
guys, since on this topic.. any1 using M1 fixed line at home??
my starhub line ending & not considering to re-contract.. need feedback on M1's fixed boardband..
dk2000
04-12-2008, 01:53 PM
new m1 broadband speed?
http://i37.tinypic.com/219ubu1.jpg
raijinshou
04-12-2008, 03:14 PM
the upload speed is amazing on the most expensive one.
czheyuan
05-12-2008, 12:43 AM
Yup yup they jux boosted their upload speeds two days ago.. :s13:
archish
09-12-2008, 02:59 PM
That's kind of outdated.
How about showing us your current test results?
mine is very bad lately...can hardly browse :(
I complained so many times but no change...they say they will check and get back but they never get back...
archish
09-12-2008, 07:41 PM
Yup yup they jux boosted their upload speeds two days ago.. :s13:
any idea when exactly they increased?
I am still getting 384kbps max on my uploads.....when i get that is :s13:
czheyuan
10-12-2008, 12:11 AM
any idea when exactly they increased?
I am still getting 384kbps max on my uploads.....when i get that is :s13:
hmm jux a few days ago bah... maybe u can try restarting modem or something see if got change anot lo.. ;)
Andy_lim
10-12-2008, 10:54 AM
dun ever use m1 fixed line. u will vomit blood.
kenloonglow
10-12-2008, 11:32 AM
Give reason leh...:s11:
lynn09
10-12-2008, 01:30 PM
My friend using also said that..:s13:
Cissiboy
11-12-2008, 10:31 AM
situation is worse than 2 months ago now..
M1 fixed bband 10 MBps in Pasir Ris..from 10.30pm to midnight (when I need it !) usually fakkin slow
weibchen
14-12-2008, 03:18 AM
intermittent outage, i'm paying for 30meg down but my best speedtest results is only 1.5 meg max.
Had a network engineer have a look at it and he has reported the same, so its on their side.
I've told the CSO that i'm not going to pay a single cent until they rectify the problem or they can just terminate my line..damn fed up with their service.
Cissiboy
19-12-2008, 09:40 AM
wanna share this with you..