View Full Version : M1 boardband User Thread
Pages :
[
8]
czheyuan
12-06-2009, 01:58 PM
I'm using M1 1mbps bbom vas for abt a month. Using my hp as a modem connected to my lappy. My connection is TERRIBLE. I have never got a HSPDA 3.5G signal ever since i apply for this bbom. Loading page abit slow, sometimes can't even load. It's like 56k more then 1mbps. Initially i thought maybe this plan is cheap, so don't expect much of it. Till 1 day, i tried with my friend's singtel 1mbps bbom vas, using my hp as a modem. Surprisingly, i got a HSPDA 3.5G signal & surfing net was relatively faster compared to my current m1. Feel puzzled, same specs but different performance, i call up m1 to check, after transfering me here & there, they gave me a very dissppointing answer. They said they will investigate, which they have not get back to me yet. Lucky i didn't sign 2 year for the bbom. So i'm not sure do i want to switching over to singtel, as i'm with m1 for so many years. Do any bros encounter same connection problem as me? Do give me some feedback & suggestion. Thanks.
Hmm I highly suspect it could be due to location or some technical issue as I do have several friends using M1 1Mbps mobile BB and all have said it's stable and good. That is why you don't really hear people complaining of M1 mobile BB nowadays even though M1 has about same number of mobile BB subscribers as ST.
ST is definitely a no-no for mobile BB as you can see from the various threads here on how lousy it is..
Probably you can try your M1 mobile VAS at other locations, especially town.. See if problem still persists.. If it does, most prob is your sim card or some other technical issues liao..
MADABOUTYOU
12-06-2009, 04:44 PM
Just wondering if I sign up for FBB 100Mbps and MBB 2Mbps, can I get further multi-line discount as I also have M1 mobile. :s11: Any idea can also terminate my Starhub Premium at the adjacent booth. :s22: So that I can save one trip to their service centre, hehe.
Forgot to ask: For Mobile BB is it get the dongle there and straightaway can surf liao, no need to wait. Must make sure before terminate SH because M1 FBB will take couple of days to activate and cancelling SH is one day only. Must time properly or else no internet can die one, you know.
czheyuan
13-06-2009, 01:48 AM
Just wondering if I sign up for FBB 100Mbps and MBB 2Mbps, can I get further multi-line discount as I also have M1 mobile. :s11: Any idea can also terminate my Starhub Premium at the adjacent booth. :s22: So that I can save one trip to their service centre, hehe.
Forgot to ask: For Mobile BB is it get the dongle there and straightaway can surf liao, no need to wait. Must make sure before terminate SH because M1 FBB will take couple of days to activate and cancelling SH is one day only. Must time properly or else no internet can die one, you know.
M1 FBB is not considered a mobile line lo so can't enjoy multi-line discount... BUT your MBB 2Mbps IS part of multi-line discount.. So in this case including your M1 mobile you have 2 lines.. Can consider getting another M1 mobile or MBB line lo to start enjoying 25% discount.. Or bundle with friends or family using M1 under one NRIC =)
Yup for M1 mobile BB when you sign up go home can use liao the dongle.. I signed up in March at IT Show go home straightaway could use even though M1 says will take 1 working day to activate..
mjboon
14-06-2009, 01:58 AM
Subscribed M1 BBoM at PC Fair with 50% discount :)
And, here is the comparison between Singtel BBoM and M1 BBoM speed test @ AMK3 using same laptop
http://www.speedtest.net/result/495094845.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/495096751.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
SGXnewbie
14-06-2009, 09:26 AM
it quite diff from my case. ever since the pc show kicks in. my loan from classmate device start to slow breakdown. i am at east and is not able to get decent surfing speed since friday till today.
surfing timing ranging from 8am and 11pm. from what i observe is like <10KB/s speed.
not too sure whether cheap = good.
anyone in the east can review or anyone experience slow in spd as well?
czheyuan
14-06-2009, 11:25 AM
it quite diff from my case. ever since the pc show kicks in. my loan from classmate device start to slow breakdown. i am at east and is not able to get decent surfing speed since friday till today.
surfing timing ranging from 8am and 11pm. from what i observe is like <10KB/s speed.
not too sure whether cheap = good.
anyone in the east can review or anyone experience slow in spd as well?
Hmm i'm staying in the east near marine parade... speed is not bad leh even during peak hours.. There was 2 wks recently when speed slowed down cuz m1 doing upgrading of network.. Maybe now at your side lo..
SGXnewbie
14-06-2009, 04:59 PM
if so... then make sense.. now due to work... i am at the west side... speed wise is better.
Initally thought cos be due to m1 network too heavy due to pc show.
joelchan
15-06-2009, 03:16 PM
2 Mbps , 3pm
http://www.speedtest.net/result/495986187.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
adriancobra
15-06-2009, 04:26 PM
Just got my Huawei USB modem aka Vodafone Mobile connect modem from M1. Wah quite a handful of people sign up and try the service.
http://img176.imageshack.us/img176/7384/m1usbrl0.jpg
Sign up 1.8M connection and i think is better then the 3G speed. But still not good for gaming.
Nice, is the SIM card also free?
czheyuan
15-06-2009, 07:33 PM
Nice, is the SIM card also free?
Yup sim card + registration was free too over the weekend... Not sure if it is still free now..
hwmook
15-06-2009, 09:32 PM
My M1 mobile boardband 1mbps plan is quite good. just got it yesterday for $11.21 per month. Its able to provide the advertised speed 24/7 from yesterday till today.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/496152068.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Its very stable, used for hours with no disconnection or drop in signals. The speed is always 1mbps/512kbps for most of the time, only drop slightly during peak like shown above. Latency is always less than 100ms. Its so much better than starhub mobile boardband. I test my bro's starhub mobile boardband, latency more than 200ms. 2mbps can only get near that speed during offpeak. less than 1mbps during peak. Upload is only around 260kbps. No fight for M1 mobile boardband, its damn good even though its damn cheap.
hwmook
15-06-2009, 09:38 PM
straightaway get and surf for M1.
MADABOUTYOU
15-06-2009, 09:45 PM
Walao oi, shiok man. I used my M1 2 Mbps MBB to watch youtube clip, smooth as silk, no stopping for buffering. First time in 2 years youtube got no interruption. :s12: Same clip (2.09 min) using SH 12 Mbps FBB, it stop 58 times for buffering, :(. Really cannot make it man. I think no need to wait for my FBB to activate, can go and cancel SH tomorrow liao.
Don't know how reliable is speedtest. Run my MBB 3 times reading 1.53, 0.27, 0.26 only whereas SH test was 17.68, 15.57 and 16.60. But the above youtube test is completely opposite result. 2 Mbps smooth, 12 Mbps kns.
Just saw a pop-up vodafone connect message saying ' the volume limit for 3G has been reached. The current total is 97329KB.' What is this, just ignore, right?
Btw do we need to send the warranty card for the usb modem?
Can't wait for my 100 Mbps FBB to get activated............................
zero7090
15-06-2009, 09:47 PM
Hi, anyone know if i can use both SH and M1 broadband line for my house ?
MADABOUTYOU
15-06-2009, 10:07 PM
Hi zero7090, I think you can refer to this thread started by TopGun. Should be same case as you, cheers.:D
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2398159
czheyuan
15-06-2009, 11:42 PM
Just saw a pop-up vodafone connect message saying ' the volume limit for 3G has been reached. The current total is 97329KB.' What is this, just ignore, right?
Btw do we need to send the warranty card for the usb modem?
Can't wait for my 100 Mbps FBB to get activated............................
For this volume limit, just go to Settings -> Usage -> Limits.. Choose time limit and enter a super large number like 500 can liao.. Lols.. So basically means if you reaching 500hrs within this month they'll warn you lo.. Useful only if there's time or data limit, but since for M1 it's unlimited usage, it isn't really useful.. Lols :s13:
Nope warranty card just keep can liao.. No need send de.. =)
MADABOUTYOU
16-06-2009, 12:11 AM
Ya, czheyuan thanks, I already figure out the settings thing. The default was 100 Mb and the connection stops once it reach this figure. 2nd day only and already enjoying the M1 experience. Hopefully they can maintain the standard even with additional customers signing up.
crapp0
16-06-2009, 10:40 AM
Anybody have slow connections during peak hour at braddell area?
Coz i using m1 4mb plan and damn its slow, want 2 watch youtube video also have 2 wait buffer and the speedtest say my connection around 512k.
If i complain 2 m1, do you think they can resolve the prob since my signal strenght is quite good at 4 bars.
Previously i was staying at yishun, eventhough the signal str wasnt that good, at least i had a somewhat stable connection, but at bradell everything just went downhill.
zero7090
16-06-2009, 04:06 PM
Hi zero7090, I think you can refer to this thread started by TopGun. Should be same case as you, cheers.:D
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2398159
Thx for reply. So basicaly it's possible right.
But will the sh infractrure able to handle both line dl and up at the same time? Since my intention for is m1 for torrent and upload my project while sh use for download, web and so on
joelchan
16-06-2009, 05:13 PM
2 Mbps, 4pm
http://www.speedtest.net/result/496772440.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
czheyuan
16-06-2009, 08:22 PM
Thx for reply. So basicaly it's possible right.
But will the sh infractrure able to handle both line dl and up at the same time? Since my intention for is m1 for torrent and upload my project while sh use for download, web and so on
Yup it's possible... Cuz both internet access run individually... It's recognised by the MAC ID of your individual cable modem rather than cable point...
Can refer here to the M1 Fixed Line BB thread for more details lo:
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2324116&page=22
xd3vilx
17-06-2009, 01:04 PM
1mpbs 1pm
http://www.speedtest.net/result/497485171.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
nicholas89
18-06-2009, 08:20 PM
Hi guys, just sharing with you guys my bb speed. 100 mpbs, 8pm
http://www.speedtest.net/result/498482854.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
czheyuan
18-06-2009, 08:45 PM
Wow gd speed! :D can't wait to sign up for M1 FBB =)
sadboy
19-06-2009, 10:05 AM
Wow good speed u got for 100mbps
YorYor
19-06-2009, 12:49 PM
Network in Aljunied/Macpherson area today is quite bad... can get 10-30seconds periods without activity one, even though download is in progress.
Averaging 2KB/sec over 30s just now... sian.
Then a burst of about 3mins worth of 100KB/sec... then everything crawl again.
jhansolo
19-06-2009, 01:39 PM
Subscribed M1 BBoM at PC Fair with 50% discount :)
And, here is the comparison between Singtel BBoM and M1 BBoM speed test @ AMK3 using same laptop
http://www.speedtest.net/result/495094845.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/495096751.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
I second that ... just jump ship from Singtel and really not much regrets so far. Just that at times, in CBD area I get disconnected.
Singtel have a very stable connection, but there are so many pockets of time that my speed is at zero.
Cheap? Singtel offered me the same price when I called to cancel.
czheyuan
19-06-2009, 11:01 PM
I second that ... just jump ship from Singtel and really not much regrets so far. Just that at times, in CBD area I get disconnected.
Singtel have a very stable connection, but there are so many pockets of time that my speed is at zero.
Cheap? Singtel offered me the same price when I called to cancel.
Yeah Singtel doesn't really have gd promos for mobile BB and their data limit of 30GB for 1mbps has caused a few ppl paying monstrous bills sia...
My 1mbps M1 mobile BB now, supposedly peak hr: :D
http://www.speedtest.net/result/499355763.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
CrackBerry
20-06-2009, 10:12 AM
Hmm I'm using M1 1mbps Mobile BB in the east and some other friends also using it in places such as Bukit Panjang, Bukit Batok, Eunos and comments were positive..
AMK I'm not too sure.. One thing's confirmed is that M1 mobile BB has really improved a lot compared to last year.. Now PC Show at 50% off at $11.21 only.. Cheap! =)
Is that a 2 year contract?
Went to m1 site , the rates are showing $15+
czheyuan
20-06-2009, 11:36 AM
Is that a 2 year contract?
Went to m1 site , the rates are showing $15+
Yup M1 mobile BB contracts all at 2 yr contracts for the free USB stick..
The 50% off at $11.21 was during PC Show... Now is 30% lo at $15.69.. Still can qualify for up to 35% additional multi-line saver discount though... That's why I'm paying only $7+/mth now.. Lols :s13:
11.30am on 1mbps:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/499760219.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
jhansolo
22-06-2009, 01:05 PM
Yeah Singtel doesn't really have gd promos for mobile BB and their data limit of 30GB for 1mbps has caused a few ppl paying monstrous bills sia...
My 1mbps M1 mobile BB now, supposedly peak hr: :D
http://www.speedtest.net/result/499355763.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
I don't have a problem with the cap as my usage is far below that, just troubled with the connection I'm getting in CBD. The CS tells me to move to another location.
Too bad ... singtel lost a small customer.
czheyuan
22-06-2009, 01:50 PM
I don't have a problem with the cap as my usage is far below that, just troubled with the connection I'm getting in CBD. The CS tells me to move to another location.
Too bad ... singtel lost a small customer.
oh so you with M1 now?
YorYor
22-06-2009, 03:42 PM
I thought ST's coverage in CBD was very good.
Anyway, they are all overselling, chances are that some may oversell by a greater ratio for the lesser plans.
buibui_hippo
23-06-2009, 01:50 PM
1mbps, 1:45 pm
http://www.speedtest.net/result/501821419.png
crapp0
23-06-2009, 05:11 PM
Just recently complained to M1 customer technical support and the person told me that they currently are in the midst of upgrading their network capacity and that it would be complete by end of july.
Supposedly the apparent lack of sufficient bandwidth would be solved. Is customer support bsing me?
liangtam
23-06-2009, 05:19 PM
Just recently complained to M1 customer technical support and the person told me that they currently are in the midst of upgrading their network capacity and that it would be complete by end of july.
Supposedly the apparent lack of sufficient bandwidth would be solved. Is customer support bsing me?
I thot alot of M1 Cable laying have been done last yr.
crapp0
23-06-2009, 05:25 PM
I thot alot of M1 Cable laying have been done last yr.
That was what i though too. Donno why my area consistently slow net speed. Eventhough my signal strength is "very good".
Should i call customer support again to ask them 2 clarify?
czheyuan
23-06-2009, 07:53 PM
That was what i though too. Donno why my area consistently slow net speed. Eventhough my signal strength is "very good".
Should i call customer support again to ask them 2 clarify?
Nope the M1 cabling has not been completed yet.. It's scheduled to end by this yr lo..
Tt time when M1 was upgrading my side, I had slow connections and occasional dc for abt 2-3 wks.. After tt superb speed liao... But if your side consistently like tt, maybe you gt area specific issues... I suggest you email M1 instead of call.. Emailing allows M1 a few days grace to check up more thoroughly on the issue and seek the relevant people for help before getting back to you lo.. That's what I usually do to get a more appropriate and preferable reply..
dijian
24-06-2009, 09:43 AM
Anyone know anything about the 6 months commitment thing for the 24months mobile BB contract ?
Does it mean if I cancel after 6 months theres no penalty ?
czheyuan
24-06-2009, 01:54 PM
Anyone know anything about the 6 months commitment thing for the 24months mobile BB contract ?
Does it mean if I cancel after 6 months theres no penalty ?
The 6 mths service commitment applies if you don't sign the 24 mths contract.. Otherwise, penalty still applies if terminate b4 24 mths lo..
crapp0
24-06-2009, 04:44 PM
Nope the M1 cabling has not been completed yet.. It's scheduled to end by this yr lo..
Tt time when M1 was upgrading my side, I had slow connections and occasional dc for abt 2-3 wks.. After tt superb speed liao... But if your side consistently like tt, maybe you gt area specific issues... I suggest you email M1 instead of call.. Emailing allows M1 a few days grace to check up more thoroughly on the issue and seek the relevant people for help before getting back to you lo.. That's what I usually do to get a more appropriate and preferable reply..
May i know the e-mail address since i cant seem to find it on their webiste for technical support.
czheyuan
24-06-2009, 05:58 PM
May i know the e-mail address since i cant seem to find it on their webiste for technical support.
On the M1 home page, just scroll down to the bottom and there's a "Contact Us" option for you to select lo
westside_lch
25-06-2009, 09:32 PM
Upper Bt timah 2mbps http://www.speedtest.net/result/502631423.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Smooth for youtube and lan gaming like Garena (dota)! awesome stuff
Asus80
26-06-2009, 05:17 AM
sembawang M1 2mbps mobile BB gd speed & less latency ping 50ms-90ms
http://www.speedtest.net/result/503900162.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
jhansolo
29-06-2009, 03:45 PM
I thought ST's coverage in CBD was very good.
Anyway, they are all overselling, chances are that some may oversell by a greater ratio for the lesser plans.
Yes they are generally good outside. Just my office inside the upper floor of a building it is bad, complained to Singtel CS they asked me to move to the window. Really, I don't need to call someone to hear that.
I spend $18 on the pre-paid to try out M1 on the coverage, before I committed and really I have no problems in my office, home in Buangkok and a few of the places I frequent.
Asus80
01-07-2009, 09:42 PM
M1 2mbps mobile BB tested @ Blk56 Commonwealth drive
http://www.speedtest.net/result/507770550.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
chyoli
02-07-2009, 03:18 PM
M1 mobile broadband(MBB) seemed better than previous. Any one using M1 MBB near Ang Mo Kio ave 3? Would like to apply M1 MBB since my starhub MBB slow till ~0kb during peak hour.
jhansolo
02-07-2009, 05:53 PM
I was under the block of flats near to AMK hub ... the connection is as good as it can get.
czheyuan
02-07-2009, 08:13 PM
M1 mobile broadband(MBB) seemed better than previous. Any one using M1 MBB near Ang Mo Kio ave 3? Would like to apply M1 MBB since my starhub MBB slow till ~0kb during peak hour.
Yup M1 Mobile BB is solidly good at most places nowadays even during peak hours.. :D
crapp0
03-07-2009, 11:41 AM
Yup M1 Mobile BB is solidly good at most places nowadays even during peak hours.. :D
Too bad my area is slow and unstable. At night its so slow i actually have 2 wait for youtube to load videos and there arent in HQ.
So far i tested using speedtest.net, i get around 0.33-0.75mb at around 9pm. And thats one a 4MB line.
czheyuan
03-07-2009, 11:45 AM
Too bad my area is slow and unstable. At night its so slow i actually have 2 wait for youtube to load videos and there arent in HQ.
So far i tested using speedtest.net, i get around 0.33-0.75mb at around 9pm. And thats one a 4MB line.
Yup it's normal to get such speeds during peak. Most importantly is whether you still can surf webpages or not lo.. For video may sometimes lag abit during peak hrs for sure de. At least can load webpages smoothly n quickly will be ideal =)
That's why recommended to sign no more than 2Mbps for mobile BB lo..
liangtam
03-07-2009, 11:54 AM
1Mbps will do liao...
czheyuan
03-07-2009, 03:31 PM
M1 1Mbps mobile BB 3.30pm at Katong:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/509160300.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
joelchan
03-07-2009, 05:16 PM
5pm, bras Basar
http://www.speedtest.net/result/509201576.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
halocast
03-07-2009, 05:22 PM
i apply for the m1 bb sim card..
now using on e51.. fast.. but sian.. cannot make phone calls... :( abo normal surcharges applies.. :(
then now must carry two phones.. :(
westside_lch
03-07-2009, 06:48 PM
just tested! 2mpbs mbb. Dont be jealous!:D
http://www.speedtest.net/result/509250054.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
czheyuan
03-07-2009, 07:15 PM
i apply for the m1 bb sim card..
now using on e51.. fast.. but sian.. cannot make phone calls... :( abo normal surcharges applies.. :(
then now must carry two phones.. :(
Oh how come nv apply Sunsurf plans for your mobile line instead? Cuz of the data bundle for m1 bb sim ar?
halocast
04-07-2009, 09:29 AM
not realli.
cause i not sure if the sunsurf plans can work with joikuspot or not.. if not i apply liao.. also the data bundle 1gb is not enough..
i one month about 2gb.. :(
virenque
05-07-2009, 04:37 PM
Hi, I would like is anyone on the 1Mbps plan was given the K3715 modem? I was told for 1Mbps and 2 Mbps, I will get the K3565-Z modem and the K3715 is for 4Mbps and 7.2Mbps
czheyuan
05-07-2009, 07:43 PM
Hi, I would like is anyone on the 1Mbps plan was given the K3715 modem? I was told for 1Mbps and 2 Mbps, I will get the K3565-Z modem and the K3715 is for 4Mbps and 7.2Mbps
Yup correct... K3565-Z for 1 and 2Mbps whereas K3715 for 4 and 7.2mbps..
Apparently, those who applied for 1 and 2mbps during PC Show period in June also got K3715...
virenque
06-07-2009, 01:39 PM
Yup correct... K3565-Z for 1 and 2Mbps whereas K3715 for 4 and 7.2mbps..
Apparently, those who applied for 1 and 2mbps during PC Show period in June also got K3715...
Any difference between the 2?
czheyuan
06-07-2009, 01:51 PM
Any difference between the 2?
K3565-Z supports only up to 3.6Mbps download speed and 386kbps upload speed lo.. K3715 supports up to 7.2mbps download..
xJuzagalx
06-07-2009, 02:01 PM
the max data bundle of 2GB still apply?
i am tinking of changing my internet broadband n sign up moblie bb is M1 gd?
westside_lch
06-07-2009, 07:26 PM
no la, there's no cap. M1 all internet is unlimited
czheyuan
06-07-2009, 08:01 PM
Yup M1 mobile BB is gd.. M1 has no data limit.. It's unlimited... :D
virenque
06-07-2009, 08:36 PM
K3565-Z supports only up to 3.6Mbps download speed and 386kbps upload speed lo.. K3715 supports up to 7.2mbps download..
386kbps, but the max upload is 512kbps. Does this affect overall performance?
YorYor
06-07-2009, 08:42 PM
Be sure you know very well what that decision will mean.
M1BB is better than before, but not quite there in terms of reliability, and very importantly, latency.
It's really useful when you need internet on the go, or like in my case, use it in lieu of the ridiculously priced business broadband plans (which is why I'm not too bothered by the performance during the night peak hours).
But if it's for home use, you're really better off taking a low end plan if you just want to save some money.
Go rent a Hubstation if you have Starhub TV - it's only $8 and you get 1Mbps, and you get the added benefits of using the Hubstation.
xJuzagalx
07-07-2009, 05:24 PM
hi thanks for ur suggestion. but i am nt starhub user. currently sign on to mio plan.
hmm i need it for gaming n surfing outside hmm like bt merah area, kallang ....
Coverage n spd is impt to me..
YorYor
07-07-2009, 05:47 PM
Gaming? As long as it's not dependent on latency... on M1BB it's an average of 80-120ms to local sites...
czheyuan
07-07-2009, 05:48 PM
hi thanks for ur suggestion. but i am nt starhub user. currently sign on to mio plan.
Hmm gaming on mobile BB is not recommended bah... But for normal surfing should be okie lo.. Mobile BB more of a supplement rather than replacement for home fixed BB bah..
wherehouse
07-07-2009, 11:07 PM
coverage and speed is important to you... then forget mobile.
camp at macdonalds for wireless@sg pls.
czheyuan
07-07-2009, 11:55 PM
M1 1mbps mobile BB 11.50pm:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/512114333.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Innocast
08-07-2009, 04:32 AM
Be sure you know very well what that decision will mean.
M1BB is better than before, but not quite there in terms of reliability, and very importantly, latency.
It's really useful when you need internet on the go, or like in my case, use it in lieu of the ridiculously priced business broadband plans (which is why I'm not too bothered by the performance during the night peak hours).
But if it's for home use, you're really better off taking a low end plan if you just want to save some money.
Go rent a Hubstation if you have Starhub TV - it's only $8 and you get 1Mbps, and you get the added benefits of using the Hubstation.
the free 1mbps is until end of this year only.....;););););););)
YorYor
08-07-2009, 11:14 AM
Well, got a feeling they'd be extending. Otherwise, if only M1 would bundle their internet offerings with the multi-line saver... wahahaha... confirm switch my mobile line over together as well.
Reedsco
08-07-2009, 12:48 PM
I am confused.. Are you all talking about M1 fixed broadband or mobile broadband.. of cos mobile cannot compare to other internet provider fixed broadband la
Reedsco
08-07-2009, 12:52 PM
Hi sorry I'm new
Will someone advise me whether I should get m1 100MBps or 30MBps fixed broadband? They are so damn cheap compare to SH I am using now... Plus I have to pay 81 bucks for a 12MBps SH plan. If m1 and SH is the same stuff, can someone tell me if I should get it?
The customer service at SH doesnt help me anyway, at times, when I load a website, the website dont even load at all after a few minutes..
BTW I live near Bukit panjang, if that helps..
liangtam
08-07-2009, 12:58 PM
You have to try it to know for it yourself de.
czheyuan
08-07-2009, 01:43 PM
Hi sorry I'm new
Will someone advise me whether I should get m1 100MBps or 30MBps fixed broadband? They are so damn cheap compare to SH I am using now... Plus I have to pay 81 bucks for a 12MBps SH plan. If m1 and SH is the same stuff, can someone tell me if I should get it?
The customer service at SH doesnt help me anyway, at times, when I load a website, the website dont even load at all after a few minutes..
BTW I live near Bukit panjang, if that helps..
Yup M1 FBB is much more cheaper than SH.. Whether to get 30Mbps or 100Mbps depends on your needs and budget lo..
M1 and SH goes thru the same cable infrastructure but traffic still routes thru their own servers..
Reedsco
08-07-2009, 02:21 PM
I mean in that case, I should expect the same quality of speed from M1 compare to SH, but of cos I dont mean the same quality of service as M1 is new in the industry...
Yup M1 FBB is much more cheaper than SH.. Whether to get 30Mbps or 100Mbps depends on your needs and budget lo..
M1 and SH goes thru the same cable infrastructure but traffic still routes thru their own servers..
czheyuan
08-07-2009, 05:50 PM
I mean in that case, I should expect the same quality of speed from M1 compare to SH, but of cos I dont mean the same quality of service as M1 is new in the industry...
Yup the quality should be at least on par lo... Though M1 relatively new to FBB (only almost 1 yr), but their mobile BB already existent for a few yrs liao... M1 CEO did say that having this FBB is to prepare their staff and servers ready for the fibre optic network.. So should be able to maintain a certain level of standard..
Can refer to the M1 Fixed Line Broadband to see the users comments on M1 FBB lo..
tropiccana
11-07-2009, 10:51 PM
hi there,
i stay at boon keng near mrt here, planning to sign m1 mbb. anyone in boonkeng here using m1 mbb mind to share ur experience and also the connection speed??
thx alot!!
BernardATK
12-07-2009, 06:47 PM
Potong Pasir area very good signal.
czheyuan
12-07-2009, 09:21 PM
Hmm katong area signal also very good =)
YorYor
13-07-2009, 02:48 PM
Anyone else in Aljunied experiencing the typical Monday blues for M1BB?
Edit: 1655, still the same after 8 hours. Hope tomorrow'll be better.
jhansolo
14-07-2009, 03:34 PM
hi there,
i stay at boon keng near mrt here, planning to sign m1 mbb. anyone in boonkeng here using m1 mbb mind to share ur experience and also the connection speed??
thx alot!!
I was on the bus surfing ... did not note the signal strength ... but I was still on line.
localbus
14-07-2009, 04:10 PM
hi.. anyone using M1 at AMK area ? is the speed ok at nite ? let sy for 2MBps ? i know it will not be good.. but give me 70% i am happy..
terminating the singtel soon... cos only get 5% of what they promise...
Thanks..
Asus80
15-07-2009, 02:30 AM
hi.. anyone using M1 at AMK area ? is the speed ok at nite ? let sy for 2MBps ? i know it will not be good.. but give me 70% i am happy..
terminating the singtel soon... cos only get 5% of what they promise...
Thanks..
which parts amk
localbus
15-07-2009, 03:25 PM
which parts amk
ave 1, 3 and 10....
Thanks...
last year use M1.. but terminated after 3 months... cannot make.. not sure bout now..
efreelancer
15-07-2009, 04:07 PM
Anyone tried the 7.2 Mobile broadband? Im staying in Yew Tee. Looking at the mobile 7.2Mbps. But afraid that the speed may not be consistent.
Anyway can suspend temporarily the service if going overseas?
dreamer75
15-07-2009, 04:13 PM
many pple have comment gd speed with M1 mobile BB that comes with the new stick.
im gonna try it once my ST mobile BB doesnt have $11.21.
localbus
15-07-2009, 05:09 PM
Anyone tried the 7.2 Mobile broadband? Im staying in Yew Tee. Looking at the mobile 7.2Mbps. But afraid that the speed may not be consistent.
Anyway can suspend temporarily the service if going overseas?
what do u mean by suspend ? its a monthly subscription....
maybe u like to try the prepaid...
Limestone
16-07-2009, 11:47 AM
hi there,
thx alot!!
I'm staying near boon Keng MRT. Now assessing M1 mobile BB speed... so far so good.. i get about 2-3Mbps in the evenings.
biting
16-07-2009, 10:11 PM
Anybody tried clementi ave 3? ST seems very slow in clementi.
hsm1user
19-07-2009, 02:29 AM
hi everyone, i had been using m1 mobile bb for about 1 year and i have 1 more year to go b4 the contract ends, i find that this thread is interesting so i decided to join in, the 1st few days i gt m1 mobile bb, i was super disappointed, but recently their speed had improved alot. I am starting to plan nw what to get when my contract ends, i hope get feedbacks on m1 fixed broadband. :yawn:
eddief4
19-07-2009, 07:33 AM
How is their FBB in the toa payoh area? Any bros from toa payoh tried it yet?
Also, since it uses starhub's model, does that mean if you have starhub cable access point and the like, you won't need to install M1's cable point? Noob here so appreciate the help :D
leaving_footsteps
19-07-2009, 08:46 AM
Don't need to install another cable point. There is a fixed broadband thread http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2324116
Mostly good comments.
czheyuan
19-07-2009, 01:33 PM
Yup don't have to install another cable pt lo.. M1 FBB goes thru the same SH Cable Point de...
Indeed, M1 mobile BB improved a lot especially this yr... Can't see any peak hour period nowadays.. Lols..
McGraw
19-07-2009, 11:10 PM
I'm back ! :D
anyone here staying around yishun central ?
How was your M1 bbom performance ?
Recently spotted a plan called broadband V 2mbps
free incoming calls and unlimited data bundles for $27.10 only.
Singtel bbom 2mbps priced around $22, plus you need a voice plan and total will add up about 40-50 bucks, not worth the money imo.
hsm1user
20-07-2009, 12:48 AM
i live at yishun ave 5, near yishun mrt =)
hsm1user
20-07-2009, 12:54 AM
as i had mentioned, the first few days when i use the service, i hardly can surf, ping go as high as 700+, speed as low as 300kbps. Since the june holiday onwards, m1 mobile bb improved, i m sure many can see the difference, nw i can get as low as 70+ ping, speed up 2.23 mbps from a v 2mbps plan, the speed is almost the same the wholeday round, how i noe cause i surf net very often, and i upload videos to youtube everyday. at most the speed around peak hour goes untill 1.34mbps+ which is acceptable, i might continue to stay in m1 when my contract ends cause they shown alot improvement, hope this helps you =) feel free to ask any questions
czheyuan
20-07-2009, 01:25 AM
I'm back ! :D
anyone here staying around yishun central ?
How was your M1 bbom performance ?
Recently spotted a plan called broadband V 2mbps
free incoming calls and unlimited data bundles for $27.10 only.
Singtel bbom 2mbps priced around $22, plus you need a voice plan and total will add up about 40-50 bucks, not worth the money imo.
But do take note Singtel BBOM comes with 50GB limit..
Yup the M1 broadband V 2mbps does come with the free incoming calls and outgoing calls at $0.08/min.. But this plan does not come with USB stick, only with the 3G Huawei Router.. So can plug any home phone inside lo..
localbus
20-07-2009, 09:52 AM
Tested the pre paid.. for M1 BBOM.... hmm.. i think can fight with SingTel... :) the same slowness....
westside_lch
20-07-2009, 09:37 PM
Tested the pre paid.. for M1 BBOM.... hmm.. i think can fight with SingTel... :) the same slowness....
u joke la, spend 18bucks to get a 3day prepaid service, worst still, spent hundred over to get their prepaid broadband kit.
Might as well go sign up for a 6 mth short term contract, cheaper and more steady
localbus
20-07-2009, 11:51 PM
u joke la, spend 18bucks to get a 3day prepaid service, worst still, spent hundred over to get their prepaid broadband kit.
Might as well go sign up for a 6 mth short term contract, cheaper and more steady
hmm.. whats wrong with testing it ? i have the modems...
now lucky that i didn;t sign up... :)
if sign up will end up like SingTel... stuck... call the sky no respond.. call the floor.. also no respond..
hsm1user
24-07-2009, 12:26 AM
i got a speed of dl 1.80mbps ul 0.33mbps , Yishun Ave 5, 12.15am
On a 2mbps vplan, huawei e960 router
** Need suggestions **
I dunno whether i shld switch to the fixed broadband as i need i to make a choice whether to switch to other company like starhub n singtel, i wan to stay in m1 bt i m scared tat the speed will me disappointing again, i saw a thread that says the fixed broadband of m1 is good, i need some suggestions, thank you :):):)
czheyuan
24-07-2009, 12:44 AM
i got a speed of dl 1.80mbps ul 0.33mbps , Yishun Ave 5, 12.15am
On a 2mbps vplan, huawei e960 router
** Need suggestions **
I dunno whether i shld switch to the fixed broadband as i need i to make a choice whether to switch to other company like starhub n singtel, i wan to stay in m1 bt i m scared tat the speed will me disappointing again, i saw a thread that says the fixed broadband of m1 is good, i need some suggestions, thank you :):):)
M1 fixed BB prices very competitive at $40 for 10Mbps... So can consider lo... or you can try out their 6 months fixed BB contract see if it works for you lo.. Can always switch if it doesn't perform up to your expectations since contract so short nia.. Lols..
catzombie
24-07-2009, 11:47 AM
glad i found this thread. i have been looking around but cant find answers but i am sure pple here must have experiment with some of the combinations.
i've recently subscribe to the mobile phone data plan with M1, the cheapest $5 /month. the max charge is $36.38 if over shoot my data limit.
i am have 2 sim cards and 2 phones so 1 for phone and another for internet connection. as the data plan on phone is 7.2mbps [but i'm not sure of the upload speed], i wonder if i can get a vodaphone stick say the k3715 and use this sim card [a phone sim card] and surf the net on my macbook?
i know the k3715 alone sells pretty high at $325 and it's free if u subscribe to the higher mbb plans. i am looking around for 2nd hand or maybe a third party modem stick which supports up to 7.2mbps.
i called m1 an they say i cant use the phone sim card with data plan on the modem stick, i think it's not true but like to clarify if i will only be charged $36.38 max, and extra $5 i think for a 2nd sim card, it's still cheaper than the 7,2mbps mbb subscription.
anyone can help?
czheyuan
24-07-2009, 05:36 PM
i've recently subscribe to the mobile phone data plan with M1, the cheapest $5 /month. the max charge is $36.38 if over shoot my data limit.
i am have 2 sim cards and 2 phones so 1 for phone and another for internet connection. as the data plan on phone is 7.2mbps [but i'm not sure of the upload speed], i wonder if i can get a vodaphone stick say the k3715 and use this sim card [a phone sim card] and surf the net on my macbook?
i know the k3715 alone sells pretty high at $325 and it's free if u subscribe to the higher mbb plans. i am looking around for 2nd hand or maybe a third party modem stick which supports up to 7.2mbps.
i called m1 an they say i cant use the phone sim card with data plan on the modem stick, i think it's not true but like to clarify if i will only be charged $36.38 max, and extra $5 i think for a 2nd sim card, it's still cheaper than the 7,2mbps mbb subscription.
anyone can help?
You should be able to use the sim card with data plan on the modem stick, since for mobile BB sim card, calling functions are also available..
This way of subscribing to the 7.2Mbps plan may not be cheaper as you can get 50% off the 7.2Mbps mobile BB plan at IT Shows (becomes $34+) + there's multi-line saver discount for that too.. With free K3715Z modem..
YorYor
24-07-2009, 09:24 PM
It'd do you some good to read at least 10-20 pages back. One of the most repeated point is, there is no point. No point in getting 7.2Mbps when 2Mbps is the best value for money with the current setup. Remember the golden rule - it's always easier to upgrade than to downgrade.
Numbers look nice but I think $ in the pocket looks nicer. Add in real world performance and you'll be even more glad that you didn't go for 7.2Mbps, however nice the number may sound. Because you'd be hard pressed to even get 1 min of that speed. In an entire year.
Go sign up for the 2Mbps plan and get the device free if you take a 2 year contract. If you can wait, wait for the next whatever Show and cross your fingers they'd do the 50% promo again.
On the other hand, if you eat abalone for breakfast, then please go ahead and contribute to M1 the capital they need to further improve their servers and network equipment.
Poshua
31-07-2009, 04:00 AM
Anyone using 100mbps and how's the speed?
tropiccana
01-08-2009, 12:00 AM
I'm staying near boon Keng MRT. Now assessing M1 mobile BB speed... so far so good.. i get about 2-3Mbps in the evenings.
thx..2molo i go to sign 1...anyone know bout thier fix bb?? customer service say nid use wat "star hub" box to connect instead of telephone line. what taht mean?
YorYor
01-08-2009, 03:31 AM
The white box that is used to connect the TV/set-top box to get Starhub's CableTV, or the regular MediaCorp channels.
czheyuan
01-08-2009, 07:04 PM
Anyone using 100mbps and how's the speed?
Refer to the M1 Fixed Line Broadband thread lo... Basically, comments all very good..
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2324116
czheyuan
01-08-2009, 07:05 PM
thx..2molo i go to sign 1...anyone know bout thier fix bb?? customer service say nid use wat "star hub" box to connect instead of telephone line. what taht mean?
It's basically the Starhub cable pt on your wall lo.. So the cable from the modem will be plugged into this wall socket.. Like what YorYor said, is where you receive your TV signals lo..
cis2910
03-08-2009, 04:03 PM
I just got the 4mbps M1 BB last week, was given K3715.
The speed test from speedtest. net shows the downloading speed is between 3.7 to 4.1mbps, but I notice when I'm downloading, I couldn't surf web at the sametime (cannot be conected error) and if I pause the downloading, plus refresh the web, the web will display properly.
Tested on 2 notebooks with same result but no issue if using 1mbps M1 BB, does anyone have experience the same?
YorYor
03-08-2009, 05:42 PM
It's usually down the DNS...
Sometimes, it takes a few 3-5 seconds pauses + refreshing before the DNS server replies.
Which is very annoying sometimes.
If the DNS server is working/responding fine, then you'll find that you can download and surf at the same time without problems.
lunatic_tokyo
04-08-2009, 02:12 PM
Hi ppl,
I am wondering if M1 boardband will be a better choice over singnet boardband. Need some advice or ur personal experience with M1 BB and ur previous BB provider.
I had been a singnet 10Mbps for the past 3yrs, this few months having serious laggy issue while trying to connect to simple webbie eg: facebook(FB), hardwarezone or even yahoo news. I am running 2 lappies on the same time, both serving facebook.
Wonder if there is some problems with singnet.
Is there any better recommendation for switching of boardband provider. I had been a Starhub user before singnet.
sg_lala
05-08-2009, 11:29 PM
Have get quite postive feedback on M1 Fix BB service in this forums. So far quite a lot people switch from Starhub cable to M1 cable Fix BB services.
As for mobile i tink all provide has room to improve bah
McGraw
07-08-2009, 09:26 PM
how does the router work ? ._.
router connect to the home line then computer connect to the router ?
then the sim card put inside handphone ? ? :s11::(
babystitch
08-08-2009, 02:01 AM
need some help... am using a mac and k3565z from m1
i noticed that if u install and use the bb stick on a windows laptop, it has the vodafone connect and vodafone sms icon... but on the mac, it only has the vodafone connect icon!
how do i get the vodafone sms icon on a mac? anyone knows?
help pls!
crapp0
13-08-2009, 11:42 AM
I am currently using the 4MB MOBB and i have called their technical support twice and e-mailed them though their websites twice and they said that they are currently looking into my matter which is slow download speed eventhough my signal bar strength is usually around 3-4 bars so i know its their network in my particular area which is affected. After twice calling and e-mailing them, they promised me that they would at least call me back to update me but that been nearly a month now.
Coz i've tried it in my office and i can get full speeds or at least 2MB, at home i get around 512kbps.
Whats the next step that i should do?
YorYor
13-08-2009, 01:38 PM
Keep complaining and ask for waiver of fees or give you a no-penalty downgrade, if your main usage is at home. Nothing else you can do about it until M1 completes its supposed upgrade(s).
crapp0
13-08-2009, 02:19 PM
My main usage is usually at home after i get back from work.
Damn depressing i want 2 go youtube, check my facebook or e-mail very often the line not stable. Gotta refresh multiple times then ok.
YorYor
13-08-2009, 03:17 PM
Either keep your fingers crossed and hope they'll improve, or do what I suggested and try to get downgraded so that you won't be wasting too much money.
2Mbps is probably the highest you should subscribe, at the moment.
Take the difference to subscribe some landed broadband instead.
Eventually, the mobile network will be good enough to support consistent and reliable connections, except for latency. But how soon/long remains an unknown.
towtan
14-08-2009, 03:54 PM
My main usage is usually at home after i get back from work.
Damn depressing i want 2 go youtube, check my facebook or e-mail very often the line not stable. Gotta refresh multiple times then ok.
Didn't you know that the submarine cable was cutoff a few days ago due to typhoon in Taiwan ? All overseas traffic is impacted and I don't think they have fully restored the service yet.
crapp0
14-08-2009, 04:16 PM
Didn't you know that the submarine cable was cutoff a few days ago due to typhoon in Taiwan ? All overseas traffic is impacted and I don't think they have fully restored the service yet.
Only recently did i know the news. But the again the slow speeds that i encounter has been haunting me since June.
Plus it affects the area which i stay near braddell mrt station.
I oledi contacted them today and they told me that my area is under investigation and hopefully will be upggraded to a bigger bandwidth capacity, unfortunately, the m1 support person said that it could be anywhere from 3-6months depending on their network upgrading plan.
She mentioned that they upgraded the ang mo kio area, i have a few colleagues staying at that area and they told me that they have seen improved speeds as well as connectivity in that area for the past 2 months.
YorYor
14-08-2009, 09:19 PM
So, have to wait lor. Press them for details on when your area would be upgraded so that at least you have something to look forward to.
dead_duck
16-08-2009, 12:19 AM
I am using M1 Mobile BB service. I am on the 1M service. using it in town at river valley area. I find it slow. very laggy even when I just go to normal webistes no downloading....
And I ha may problem getting connections. somtime tell me PPP connection cannot setup. only after many tries I get authenticated.....
Apparatus
20-08-2009, 05:38 PM
OK, post here since got no reply from the other thread
Anyone having problem downloading a file of 100MB or more from RS and hotfile? It always says "Server time out" or something like that? For small file sizes it's ok. This happens quite sometimes back. It happens with or without using a download manager.
Previously I do not have such a problem in downloading large file sizes from the mentioned sites. Is M1 blocking downloading of large file size?
I'm using the 1Mbps plan. If indeed M1 is controlling large file size download then there's no point to subscribe to the 7.2Mbps plan
czheyuan
20-08-2009, 09:05 PM
Nope M1 doesn't seem to be blocking such large files. I have downloaded files more than 100MB, including torrent, but no problem.. Did not download from those sites you mentioned though..
one-third
21-08-2009, 09:38 PM
i'm thinking of subscribing to broadband on mobile.
i live in west,so i don't know which one to subscribe.
m1 bbom price plans looks attractive and i'm considering to take 1mbps plan on a 2 year contract.
however,i'm afraid that the speed are not consistent and sluggish.
anyone who use bbom here can recommend me the cheapest and reliable one?
thanks.
YorYor
21-08-2009, 10:16 PM
Think it'd be better to state your neighbourhood and hope there are current users around to give you some feedback. It's not as if M1 has only 5 base stations, one for each cardinals and one for central.
mccmmm
21-08-2009, 10:57 PM
Guys wait for the coming pc show there's promotion
Apparatus
25-08-2009, 05:26 PM
OK, it's confirmed that M1 is blocking the download of large file size (say 100MB or more) from sites such as RS and hotfile because I do not have probelm downloading a file of size 18MB from RS. Also, I faced no problem when downloading a 100MB file size from another site.
Anybody like to share his finding? I wonder whether to subscribe the 7.2 Mbps MBB now?
:s8:
jeffreywyt
27-08-2009, 01:33 AM
How many I will post before I post a link to one off member that need link? thanks in helping.
Apparatus
28-08-2009, 02:53 PM
Hi!
Finally, I found the solution to the problem "Connection to the server was reset" resulting in the inabilityto download large files size of even 50MB or more from RS and hotfile sites. It's NOT M1 problem lah.
For Windows XP:
Click on Start
Click on Run
Type in cmd
Click on OK
Type in netsh winsock reset
(Please note there are spaces between the netsh and winsock and reset)
Press ENTER
Restart your computer
After performing the above I've downloaded a 400MB file from hotfile and a 200MB file from RS without problem. So now can subscribe to M1's 7.2Mbps MBB liao :D
santaboi
29-08-2009, 12:01 AM
m1 users mind doing a traceroute to 174.132.243.146 and paste it here thanks
BlueBoy
30-08-2009, 08:27 AM
m1 users mind doing a traceroute to 174.132.243.146 and paste it here thanks
Tracing route to 92.f3.84ae.static.theplanet.com [174.132.243.146]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
1 4 ms 3 ms 3 ms 192.168.1.1
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 3541 ms 99 ms 99 ms 172.31.250.9
4 98 ms 119 ms 119 ms 202.65.244.57
5 97 ms 119 ms 119 ms 202.65.244.15
6 98 ms 119 ms 129 ms 172.16.255.1
7 116 ms 129 ms 119 ms 29266.6ntp01.cu.reach.com [202.126.173.241]
8 128 ms 139 ms 139 ms i-1-0.6ntp-core01.bi.reach.com [202.84.180.141]
9 347 ms 359 ms 359 ms i-5-2-0.ulco-core01.bx.reach.com [202.84.143.253
]
10 367 ms 379 ms 379 ms i-2-1.ultt-core01.bi.reach.com [202.84.140.98]
11 408 ms 409 ms 389 ms ge-2-1-0.mpr1.lhr2.uk.above.net [195.66.224.76]
12 376 ms 369 ms 379 ms so-0-1-0.mpr1.dca2.us.above.net [64.125.27.57]
13 388 ms 381 ms 377 ms ge-2-0-0.mpr3.iah1.us.above.net [64.125.25.114]
14 376 ms 378 ms 380 ms xe-0-1-0.er1.iah1.us.above.net [64.125.28.5]
15 348 ms 359 ms 359 ms 209.66.99.94.available.above.net [209.66.99.94]
16 337 ms 359 ms 360 ms po2.car03.hstntx1.theplanet.com [207.218.245.10]
17 337 ms 349 ms 369 ms 92.f3.84ae.static.theplanet.com [174.132.243.146
]
Trace complete.
Innocast
30-08-2009, 08:28 AM
anyone in tamp using m1 mobile bb one? how is the speed? going to sign up during comex..................;););)
santaboi
30-08-2009, 01:15 PM
1 4 ms 3 ms 3 ms 192.168.1.1
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 3541 ms 99 ms 99 ms 172.31.250.9
4 98 ms 119 ms 119 ms 202.65.244.57
5 97 ms 119 ms 119 ms 202.65.244.15
6 98 ms 119 ms 129 ms 172.16.255.1
7 116 ms 129 ms 119 ms 29266.6ntp01.cu.reach.com [202.126.173.241]
8 128 ms 139 ms 139 ms i-1-0.6ntp-core01.bi.reach.com [202.84.180.141]
9 347 ms 359 ms 359 ms i-5-2-0.ulco-core01.bx.reach.com [202.84.143.253
]
10 367 ms 379 ms 379 ms i-2-1.ultt-core01.bi.reach.com [202.84.140.98]
11 408 ms 409 ms 389 ms ge-2-1-0.mpr1.lhr2.uk.above.net [195.66.224.76]
12 376 ms 369 ms 379 ms so-0-1-0.mpr1.dca2.us.above.net [64.125.27.57]
13 388 ms 381 ms 377 ms ge-2-0-0.mpr3.iah1.us.above.net [64.125.25.114]
14 376 ms 378 ms 380 ms xe-0-1-0.er1.iah1.us.above.net [64.125.28.5]
15 348 ms 359 ms 359 ms 209.66.99.94.available.above.net [209.66.99.94]
16 337 ms 359 ms 360 ms po2.car03.hstntx1.theplanet.com [207.218.245.10]
17 337 ms 349 ms 369 ms 92.f3.84ae.static.theplanet.com [174.132.243.146
]
Trace complete.
thanks..
1 97 ms 99 ms 101 ms 10.208.2.98
2 99 ms 99 ms 99 ms 10.208.8.2
3 117 ms 120 ms 99 ms 10.208.8.151
4 98 ms 99 ms 99 ms 124.155.195.2
5 96 ms 99 ms 101 ms 203.116.22.194
6 100 ms 99 ms 99 ms 61.8.235.34
7 116 ms 97 ms 101 ms 203.117.35.69
8 100 ms 97 ms 101 ms 203.117.34.14
9 98 ms 118 ms 120 ms sin1-starhub-1.sin.seabone.net [213.144.176.57]
10 377 ms 378 ms 380 ms pal17-sin1-racc1.pal.seabone.net [195.22.197.144
]
11 398 ms 378 ms 400 ms mil50-pal17-racc5.pal.seabone.net [195.22.197.14
7]
12 378 ms 378 ms 380 ms fra52-mil50-racc2.fra.seabone.net [195.22.211.20
8]
13 378 ms 378 ms 378 ms decix-fra52-racc4.fra.seabone.net [195.22.211.19
3]
14 357 ms 359 ms 359 ms ge-11-2-3.mpr1.fra4.de.above.net [64.125.14.17]
15 397 ms 400 ms 400 ms xe-1-1-0.mpr1.cdg12.fr.above.net [64.125.24.6]
16 379 ms 378 ms 380 ms xe-4-0-0.mpr1.lhr3.uk.above.net [64.125.31.249]
17 398 ms 400 ms 398 ms so-5-3-0.mpr1.lhr2.uk.above.net [64.125.24.13]
18 436 ms 398 ms 400 ms so-1-1-0.mpr1.dca2.us.above.net [64.125.31.186]
19 398 ms 380 ms 398 ms ge-2-0-0.mpr3.iah1.us.above.net [64.125.25.114]
20 377 ms 380 ms 378 ms xe-1-1-0.er1.iah1.above.net [64.125.26.222]
21 376 ms 380 ms 359 ms 209.66.99.94.available.above.net [209.66.99.94]
22 357 ms 359 ms 359 ms po2.car03.hstntx1.theplanet.com [207.218.245.10]
23 360 ms 359 ms 359 ms 92.f3.84ae.static.theplanet.com [174.132.243.146
]
Trace complete.
mun_hoe
02-09-2009, 11:08 PM
i've just subscribed to M1 mobile BB, and so far set the modem to only detect 3G network....cos it will auto detect GPRS as it has the strongest signal...but too slow to surf....and kinda slow to detect 3G network, signal quality quite low (in my house). yet to test outdoors further.
czheyuan
03-09-2009, 01:49 AM
i've just subscribed to M1 mobile BB, and so far set the modem to only detect 3G network....cos it will auto detect GPRS as it has the strongest signal...but too slow to surf....and kinda slow to detect 3G network, signal quality quite low (in my house). yet to test outdoors further.
House structure does affect the signal strength.. So maybe you can move the modem about to see which area has a stronger reception... But however, 1-2 bars of 3G signal can also achieve max speed liao.. signal strength not equivalent to speed..
So as long as it's connected on 3G network, will be good liao..
xd3vilx
03-09-2009, 02:03 AM
very pleased with my m1 mb. living in jurong west. 1mpbs, got a max out bandwidth. not bad i would say.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/554929811.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
mun_hoe
03-09-2009, 10:11 PM
i've tested the M1 MBB at my office, signal strength was excellent, speed is not consistent and there's sudden lag spikes and timeouts....so after 24hrs, i've decided to cancel my M1 MBB service. hopped onto ST BBOM 2000 service at 50% off for 24mths.....only managed to test it at home, signal strength was not excellent, but i could get consistent fast speed with no timeouts.....
mun_hoe
04-09-2009, 10:07 PM
tested Singtel BBOM for 24hrs, home signal strength less than 40%, office near excellent strength. didn't experience lags when surfing facebook, hwz forums. no timeouts and errors. :D
YorYor
04-09-2009, 10:29 PM
M1BB is now at least 80% of the reliability of BBoM when I last used it.
BBoM's reputation has dipped slightly, though I still believe a product doesn't turn bad overnight.
One thing's for sure, M1BB has done well to recover some of its reputation, and I hope they continue to do so.
Best thing they can do next? Give everyone a 50% speed boost. Hahaha...
mun_hoe
04-09-2009, 11:22 PM
M1BB is now at least 80% of the reliability of BBoM when I last used it.
BBoM's reputation has dipped slightly, though I still believe a product doesn't turn bad overnight.
One thing's for sure, M1BB has done well to recover some of its reputation, and I hope they continue to do so.
Best thing they can do next? Give everyone a 50% speed boost. Hahaha...
but M1 just takes overnight to piss me off that i decided to cancel it ;)
YorYor
05-09-2009, 12:16 AM
It's more of a location issue... try bring your BBoM to some areas known for poor SingTel coverage and you'd experience the same thing.
Just like how some old estates have bad performance with ADSL due to ageing tel lines.
mun_hoe
05-09-2009, 12:39 AM
It's more of a location issue... try bring your BBoM to some areas known for poor SingTel coverage and you'd experience the same thing.
Just like how some old estates have bad performance with ADSL due to ageing tel lines.
if you've read my feedback in previous posting, even though in my office, full signal strength, M1BB also gets disconnections and slow loadings whereas it's smooth sailing on ST BBOM.....no doubt i agree it's location based, but can't be different locations also give same results rite?
czheyuan
05-09-2009, 10:52 AM
if you've read my feedback in previous posting, even though in my office, full signal strength, M1BB also gets disconnections and slow loadings whereas it's smooth sailing on ST BBOM.....no doubt i agree it's location based, but can't be different locations also give same results rite?
Oh well... Now rarely there's someone complaining about M1 mobile BB other than can't concurrently surf smoothly while on heavy BT.. I even tried surfing on M1 1Mbps mobile BB with only one bar signal in office and it works perfectly fine and fast..
So probably you are unlucky?
http://www.speedtest.net/result/557059987.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
mun_hoe
05-09-2009, 11:35 AM
Oh well... Now rarely there's someone complaining about M1 mobile BB other than can't concurrently surf smoothly while on heavy BT.. I even tried surfing on M1 1Mbps mobile BB with only one bar signal in office and it works perfectly fine and fast..
So probably you are unlucky?
http://www.speedtest.net/result/557059987.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
on some occasions i was able to hit this numbers on M1, but then once i load up facebook, hwz forums with some picture intensive threads :o the loading can be quite erratic and bad with timeouts, only few attempts to refresh it was able to load all images successfully and it's not without some patience. i've never encountered this problem with ST BBOM. :)
czheyuan
05-09-2009, 01:22 PM
on some occasions i was able to hit this numbers on M1, but then once i load up facebook, hwz forums with some picture intensive threads :o the loading can be quite erratic and bad with timeouts, only few attempts to refresh it was able to load all images successfully and it's not without some patience. i've never encountered this problem with ST BBOM. :)
Hmm I think this issue you facing would most probably be the multiple windows issue.. If there are few windows opened and loaded concurrently, there may be loading problem... But if you only surf 1-2 window at a time, the speed is superb..
mun_hoe
05-09-2009, 04:10 PM
Hmm I think this issue you facing would most probably be the multiple windows issue.. If there are few windows opened and loaded concurrently, there may be loading problem... But if you only surf 1-2 window at a time, the speed is superb..
well.....maybe, but it's my habit of opening 5-9 tabs. but all's good when i'm with singtel bbom :)
YorYor
05-09-2009, 07:20 PM
That I do agree, M1BB does have problems when there is too much activity.
And the problem always seems to be hanging on one of the many image proxies which M1 puts in place. Think those proxy servers aren't good enough - want to save on bandwidth by deploying proxies, then better put good servers there.
So in the end, sometimes I simply tunnel everything through a SSH proxy.
travelmate_king
09-09-2009, 11:52 AM
very pleased with my m1 mb. living in jurong west. 1mpbs, got a max out bandwidth. not bad i would say.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/554929811.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
I stay in Jurong West, 1 block away from Pioneer MRT and have been using 2Mbps plan for 7 months. Does anyone notice dramatic slowness around 5PM to 11PM? I think it's been like this for last few months. I'm not a BT guy and also not a download geek, i just simply using it for browsing! Even loading 1 single site could take forever around that time :s22:
Suprisingly, it performs very well in the morning all the way till 5PM.. sigh :s11:
bornfree
09-09-2009, 03:42 PM
Anyone using M1 Fixed Broadband is Jurong West? How is the speed like?
dreamer75
10-09-2009, 04:06 PM
can some1 using M1 Mobile BB do a speed test at http://www.speedtest.net
post the result here. tks ;)
ThuGx__
10-09-2009, 10:05 PM
Hi all,
i intend to suscribe to m1 mbb.may i check any users in holland area here the speed?
Asus80
11-09-2009, 06:17 AM
M1 2Mbps Mobile BB Sembawang area
http://www.speedtest.net/result/561974771.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
JAson1980
11-09-2009, 09:30 AM
i just signed up for the MIFI yesterday. 7.2mbps.
download abt 3Mb/s
Upload abt 0.33Mbps also.
li0nhearts
11-09-2009, 10:27 PM
i just signed up for the MIFI yesterday. 7.2mbps.
download abt 3Mb/s
Upload abt 0.33Mbps also.
Why is the speed so sucky?
you dont get what you pay for.
Having second thoughts now.:s11:
czheyuan
11-09-2009, 11:34 PM
Mobile BB best to sign up at most 2Mbps... Expectations should be lower for mobile BB de... Can go beyond 2Mbps not bad liao lo..
liangtam
12-09-2009, 12:29 AM
3Mbps orly welly gootch riao
3.5-5Mbps is already like 大海捞针.
Anything else to 7.2Mbps is near impossible.
Your expectation is rly downright wrong
BlueBoy
12-09-2009, 07:46 AM
Mobile BB best to sign up at most 2Mbps... Expectations should be lower for mobile BB de... Can go beyond 2Mbps not bad liao lo..
I think Mifi plans don't have 2Mbps. :(
li0nhearts
12-09-2009, 10:33 AM
3Mbps orly welly gootch riao
Your expectation is rly downright wrong
HAHA. then so in other words we are not getting what we pay what.
I just feel it that way. Not my expectation. Is M1 advertised it is a 7.2 mbps plan
So ppl buy its because wanna get the speed right. you wouldnt buy a 7.2 mbps plan knowing that it cant hit the max, because liangtam said 3Mbps orly welly gootch riao
No offense dude.
czheyuan
12-09-2009, 11:42 AM
I just feel it that way. Not my expectation. Is M1 advertised it is a 7.2 mbps plan
So ppl buy its because wanna get the speed right. you wouldnt buy a 7.2 mbps plan knowing that it cant hit the max, because liangtam said 3Mbps orly welly gootch riao
No offense dude.
It's a technological issue rather than telco issue. If everything is perfect such as good weather and no obstruction, yup can reach 7.2Mbps... But in life, not everything is perfect lo.. lols..
I think Mifi plans don't have 2Mbps. :(
Yup, so the best you can go is 4Mbps... Which is at least "easier" to achieve than 7.2Mbps speed..
liangtam
12-09-2009, 12:04 PM
So ppl buy its because wanna get the speed right. you wouldnt buy a 7.2 mbps plan knowing that it cant hit the max,
Yar, all along if you see forum post you know get the lowest speed plan can liao mah.
7.2Mbps is the max PHY rate.
You have to consider overhead and transmission losses.
This means minus to your throughput rate, even if there are 0 user less you at the point of time. If you factor in the misc, 7.2Mbps is definitely used.
But of course, the above is still a best-case scenario. In a way, they're not lying to you that you can get the above rate, provided the conditions are met, which in practice can be hardly achieve without any luck
Ever wonder how Fast ethernet and wireless n claims 100Mbps and 300Mbps respectively, why in use, does not provide you at that rate? Same goes.
Devilsire
12-09-2009, 01:30 PM
any reviews on m1 mobile bb (2/4/7.2mb plans) in YCK / AMK will be greatly appreciated :D
richson132
12-09-2009, 01:50 PM
How can i get m1 broadband v plans + usb modem ??
czheyuan
12-09-2009, 01:54 PM
How can i get m1 broadband v plans + usb modem ??
The M1 broadband V plans only give free rental of huawei 3G router lo... No USB modem is issued..
richson132
12-09-2009, 02:12 PM
thx for the info
at least they give someting for free eventhough it is only for rent.
I thought i will need to buy one ....
The M1 broadband V plans only give free rental of huawei 3G router lo... No USB modem is issued..
li0nhearts
12-09-2009, 03:01 PM
Yar, all along if you see forum post you know get the lowest speed plan can liao mah.
7.2Mbps is the max PHY rate.
You have to consider overhead and transmission losses.
This means minus to your throughput rate, even if there are 0 user less you at the point of time. If you factor in the misc, 7.2Mbps is definitely used.
But of course, the above is still a best-case scenario. In a way, they're not lying to you that you can get the above rate, provided the conditions are met, which in practice can be hardly achieve without any luck
Ever wonder how Fast ethernet and wireless n claims 100Mbps and 300Mbps respectively, why in use, does not provide you at that rate? Same goes.
I see. True. Though i dont understand what you trying to say.
But i get the rough idea.Not a networking expert here.:D
peaceout
SuperDecker
13-09-2009, 02:40 PM
Just got the M1 mobile bb, 1mbps at Hougang area
http://www.speedtest.net/result/563848291.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Unclemun
13-09-2009, 10:35 PM
I got the 7.2Mbps plan. Using a notebook, I was able to get 5.0+ on two consecutive tests at around 6pm today around Commonwealth.
czheyuan
13-09-2009, 10:51 PM
I got the 7.2Mbps plan. Using a notebook, I was able to get 5.0+ on two consecutive tests at around 6pm today around Commonwealth.
Wow that's very good speed for mobile BB! Hope it stays constant at that speed or even improve for ya! ;)
liangtam
13-09-2009, 11:16 PM
Cos commonwealth ish older estates mah
whacker
16-09-2009, 10:39 AM
Yeah!
http://www.speedtest.net/result/566339416.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Office @ Alexandra
darkphate
16-09-2009, 08:45 PM
i am only getting 0.7 - 1.6mbps
I am using 4mb plan -.-
and the modem is very hot as well...
any bros can tell me how to get faster speed?
McGraw
16-09-2009, 09:41 PM
for those who are using M1 BBM anyone encounter connection reseted or error in loading page while surfing the webpages ?
McGraw
16-09-2009, 09:42 PM
I am using 4mb plan -.-
Call them up screw them ;)
Asus80
17-09-2009, 03:59 AM
M1 2Mbps plan this few day slow down & error in loading page , Connection Interrupted must refresh 6 to 10 time :s27:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/567012245.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
BernardATK
17-09-2009, 10:08 AM
for those who are using M1 BBM anyone encounter connection reseted or error in loading page while surfing the webpages ?
No. Very smooth connection.
Alkanes
17-09-2009, 12:11 PM
Anybody knows if I have the starhub home broadband, can I still apply for M1 fixed broadband?
Is it possible to have 2 cable modems on the same tv point using splitter?
Thanks!!
liangtam
17-09-2009, 12:39 PM
Of cos can
YorYor
17-09-2009, 03:14 PM
Cos commonwealth ish older estates mah
What has an older estate got to do with better connection speeds, especially for mobile broadband?
Less people using handphones there so the stations less crowded?
liangtam
17-09-2009, 03:21 PM
What has an older estate got to do with better connection speeds, especially for mobile broadband?
Less people using handphones there so the stations less crowded?
yup
*10 char*
saggydog
18-09-2009, 12:29 AM
My M1 4m MobileBB via MiFI wireless connection @ 18:40 hrs
http://www.speedtest.net/result/567502751.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
YorYor
18-09-2009, 01:54 AM
saggydog, location?
darkphate
18-09-2009, 10:35 AM
omg saggydog.. i sign up for 4mbps oso.. but the highest speed i got is 2mbsp and upload 0.3mbps..
I stay near AMK hub... if I call up and complain wat will they do ?
saggydog
18-09-2009, 06:04 PM
omg saggydog.. i sign up for 4mbps oso.. but the highest speed i got is 2mbsp and upload 0.3mbps..
I stay near AMK hub... if I call up and complain wat will they do ?
I have just done another test 18:00Hrs
my Location is Hougang Ave 9
I have been using SH 7.2M the last time but only able to get 3-4 M connection.
So I decided to switch to M1 4 M plan pay less
http://www.speedtest.net/result/568387298.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
crapp0
18-09-2009, 06:27 PM
I am staying in braddell area which is very old indeed and the speeds i get are pathetic, even after numerous calls and e-mail.
I still havent gotten a satisfied response from them on my speed woes.
Usually my speedtest speeds are around 700-900kbps eventhough i am on a 4MB line plus worse still is the fact that if i try to download some video streaming files, M1 seems to throttle my download since it starts pretty fast but then drops to the point of 0 kbps.
But if i were to restart my video download program aka miro, i get back full speed but then again it drops off.
YorYor
22-09-2009, 10:40 AM
Anyone using their Voice plans? How's the voice quality?
czheyuan
22-09-2009, 03:38 PM
Anyone using their Voice plans? How's the voice quality?
Voice plans? as in those mobile plans like Sunsaver? Yup quality is good lo.. Most cost savings too =:p
YorYor
23-09-2009, 04:29 PM
No no, the Mobile Broadband V plans... where you get make voicecalls as well.
I believe it's VoIP... wonder what's the quality like.
Anyway, anyone felt sluggishness when surfing the web today? It was fine in the morning, then in the afternoon after a bit of slowdown, surfing webpage became ultra slow. Every visit to a page would lead to at least 5-10 seconds of "Waiting for <site>..." before the page loaded.
In the end had to do SSH tunnel to get proper page loads.
ahgirl01
02-10-2009, 05:21 PM
so in conclusion the M1 boardband is quite lousy? doesnt deliver?
it's not dedicated right
czheyuan
02-10-2009, 05:54 PM
so in conclusion the M1 boardband is quite lousy? doesnt deliver?
it's not dedicated right
You are referring to mobile or fixed broadband? The fixed broadband quality is real good.. Mobile broadband is good too as long as you do not surf more than 1-2 tabs/windows simultaneously..
ahgirl01
02-10-2009, 05:58 PM
You are referring to mobile or fixed broadband? The fixed broadband quality is real good.. Mobile broadband is good too as long as you do not surf more than 1-2 tabs/windows simultaneously..
apologies for not being specific. yes i'm referring to fixed boardband for home. it's good? but some posts here seem to suggest it's not up to speed?
Tsting
02-10-2009, 06:41 PM
Question:
I'm a little confused.
I see that most of you suscribe to the M1 Mobile Broadband.
Is this speed faster then the SunSurf VAS (value Added Service, together with voice plan) ?
SunSurf VAS can get up to 7.2 Mbps.... capped at $36.xx per month
at $16++ with no contract for 1 gb
2nd Question:
Possible to buy any of those USB sticks like vodafone's or huawei's off the shelf, and plug in a M1 mobile sim card with SunSurf VAS activated, and use directly?
czheyuan
02-10-2009, 06:55 PM
apologies for not being specific. yes i'm referring to fixed boardband for home. it's good? but some posts here seem to suggest it's not up to speed?
This thread was initially created for the M1 mobile broadband (Termed "M1 broadband" as M1 didn't have fixed broadband that time) when it was initially launched 2-3 yrs back... So the comments were for mobile broadband lo... The comments for Fixed BB are under the thread "M1 Fixed Broadband"
czheyuan
02-10-2009, 06:58 PM
Question:
I'm a little confused.
I see that most of you suscribe to the M1 Mobile Broadband.
Is this speed faster then the SunSurf VAS (value Added Service, together with voice plan) ?
SunSurf VAS can get up to 7.2 Mbps.... capped at $36.xx per month
at $16++ with no contract for 1 gb
2nd Question:
Possible to buy any of those USB sticks like vodafone's or huawei's off the shelf, and plug in a M1 mobile sim card with SunSurf VAS activated, and use directly?
M1 mobile BB has several speed such as 1mbps, 2mbps etc... Depends on what plans you subscribe to and all have unlimited usage..
Sunsurf is a standard 7.2mbps downlink speed but not unlimited usage... But has price cap of $36. Btw, there's promo for 1GB at $9.95 for 2 yrs contract..
Yup you can buy those USB sticks and put in the M1 mobile sim with Sunsurf VAS.. But not worth it mah... Cheaper to get the mobile BB plans with free USB modems..
Tsting
02-10-2009, 08:48 PM
Yup you can buy those USB sticks and put in the M1 mobile sim with Sunsurf VAS.. But not worth it mah... Cheaper to get the mobile BB plans with free USB modems....
Thanks for the info.
I'm just thinking that because I do not need to use laptop that much whilst outside
Just using the handphone mainly
.... but when I do use a laptop to access the internet... speed is preferred.. hehe.
Can sign up for the multi-sim option from M1.
Could I just trouble anyone to point me to any link or location I can purchase such a USB stick? Outside of the M1shop.
The vodafone stick costs like $328
Just need a rough price indication.
If really cost too much might just use the phone as modem le
Thanks !
YorYor
02-10-2009, 09:31 PM
Typical prices are around $70 - 100 depending on the age of the stick.
Why not just use a data cable to your phone? Rather than have to power off and lose mobile connectivity.
wh1t35m1th
03-10-2009, 01:36 PM
my M1 bb is getting picky!!!
it wont open a number of web..
hwz is one of them (im running on other network now), facebook oso cant, channelnewsasia oso cant...
but the rest lyk google....
twitter is running smoothly...
gonna call their CS soon...
vicgray
05-10-2009, 01:47 AM
Just got mine. 6-month contract, 1Mbps for $22+
Expensive, but don't wanna get tied with the contract first.
Speed wise is bad. Have to keep refreshing the pages. Flash won't load smoothly. Youtube streaming sometimes is slow, sometimes it's fast...
McGraw
05-10-2009, 05:27 AM
1 thing i don't understand...really....
I can get good results at speedtest.net.
but the problem is that whenever i tried to download a large file like 400mb, after downloading halfway the connection terminates itself ? :s11:
Even for browsing, I cannot load the jpeg fully...
Called M1 4 times but still no solutions.
They told me to off Antivirus, firewall, set IE security to medium, turn off wifi/bluetooth, everything I've done, but I can't download a single file...
Anyone has any solutions ?
I had no problem on BT...can achieve full speed
I use singtel BBoM no problem at all.
Confirm the problem lies with M1 but they die die don't want to admit.
mccmmm
05-10-2009, 10:47 AM
but the problem is that whenever i tried to download a large file like 400mb, after downloading halfway the connection terminates itself ? :s11:
They told me to off Antivirus, firewall, set IE security to medium, turn off wifi/bluetooth, everything I've done, but I can't download a single file...
Right is M1 fault,all signal or network were receive full service if you are in an open space or at high rise building.Those have slow speed or DL problems with huge file mainly stay at low rise or their surrounding have many higher building as blockage.
You can try go to the highest level and test it by downloading a 100mb file.
titank
05-10-2009, 12:19 PM
The speed of 1 mbps is not very good for upload file.
Trying to attach a file in the yahoo email where for almost 1 hour still not successful.
ANyone know how can M1 do about it?
Apparatus
05-10-2009, 12:38 PM
Try this
1) In IE go to TOOLS à OPTIONS àBROWSING HISTORY and DELETE EVERYTHING
2) Clean system using registry cleaners
3) Click START à RUN à CMD à Type in netsh winsock reset
4) Reset the PC
FYI, certain sites suffer from this problem but some others don't. I know because I'm a M1 user
Also, some firewalls (the older ones) limit the download speed. By disabling it or 'Allow All' will enable full download speed
:D
JuNz-V
05-10-2009, 11:09 PM
Hi all,
my plan is 4mbps m1 mobile bb.. subscribed during COMEX 2009..
my speed as below @ bukit merah view, 11.00pm:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/583559123.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
i believe its slow, any advice from experts here?
markBM
07-10-2009, 01:40 AM
Right is M1 fault,all signal or network were receive full service if you are in an open space or at high rise building.Those have slow speed or DL problems with huge file mainly stay at low rise or their surrounding have many higher building as blockage.
You can try go to the highest level and test it by downloading a 100mb file.
You are right,did as you said.I think M1 have planting of antenna problems .
:s12:
Ah_Will
09-10-2009, 11:51 AM
my vodafone will non stop dc leh... how ar...
the DL still will become 0 mbps now and then, and i gotta disconnect and re-connect again.. irritating sia
missotah
10-10-2009, 08:51 PM
Just got mine. 6-month contract, 1Mbps for $22+
Expensive, but don't wanna get tied with the contract first.
Speed wise is bad. Have to keep refreshing the pages. Flash won't load smoothly. Youtube streaming sometimes is slow, sometimes it's fast...
which area you stay?
missotah
11-10-2009, 09:40 AM
hi all, after i install the sim card into my hp. how to use the hp as modem ah?
missotah
11-10-2009, 07:34 PM
just gotten my 2mps mbb
area: cck, living room
http://www.speedtest.net/result/588977707.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/588982603.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
using another laptop and in room
http://www.speedtest.net/result/589042172.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/589044745.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
confused
11-10-2009, 10:06 PM
This thread is very funny, not only does it confuse people between mobile and fixed BB, but it also spelt wrongly hahah. boardband.. :s13:
missotah
11-10-2009, 11:42 PM
it is good for people who think of getting m1 mbb to see this thread. for me i read thru be4 i decide to get. running on reasonable speed now also input my extra microsd into the slot so that i can use it to save some files.
btw.. anyone find the modem E1550 lanyad hole very weird. how to find a standard lanyard to go in and to not block the cap. lol....
weibchen
11-10-2009, 11:45 PM
I just realize that this thread should change the typo lol.
boardband
czheyuan
11-10-2009, 11:53 PM
I just realize that this thread should change the typo lol.
boardband
Hahah yeah lo... Some more it has been running for 130+ pgs liao...
missotah
12-10-2009, 12:12 AM
last time topic cannot edit, now can edit a not? :D
missotah
13-10-2009, 09:14 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/590865985.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
sergiogiogio
14-10-2009, 09:29 AM
Hello guys
I recently signed up for "V 2mbps" plan. Speed wise I'm OK, it seems fast enough in the areas I went (CBD, Clementi). However I can't seem to make SIP calls from my phone (N95) using sunsurf connection and my voip provider (voipbuster). I can register but can't make calls (no ring tone can be heard and after 50-60s the phone says "Connection time out"). The phone has no issues making SIP calls over wifi so I guess my settings are correct. Do you know if M1 specifically blocked SIP/VOIP over 3G with their plan? I asked them as I took up the plan, they said no, it should work, but you never know.
Thanks in advance for your feedback.
sergiogiogio
Protagonist
14-10-2009, 10:41 PM
Hey guys, I just subscribed to m1 mobile broadband, 1mbps plan for 6 months. But I couldn't connect to the M1 network somehow.
When I run the vodafone program, the main screen states "Network name unavailable". Tried reinstalling the software 2x and yet can't connect at all. The sim card is okay cos I checked with a normal phone. Called up m1 hotline and they tried to rectify but to no avail. If it can't work with another com, den I guess I have to call up their technical hotline which is only open from 9am-9pm.
Anyone encountered same issues and managed to work out a solution?
westside_lch
14-10-2009, 10:49 PM
Hey guys, I just subscribed to m1 mobile broadband, 1mbps plan for 6 months. But I couldn't connect to the M1 network somehow.
When I run the vodafone program, the main screen states "Network name unavailable". Tried reinstalling the software 2x and yet can't connect at all. The sim card is okay cos I checked with a normal phone. Called up m1 hotline and they tried to rectify but to no avail. If it can't work with another com, den I guess I have to call up their technical hotline which is only open from 9am-9pm.
Anyone encountered same issues and managed to work out a solution?
Approach their service centre for help. or go down to m1 paragon for free assistance.
RSKeisuke
18-10-2009, 11:29 PM
anyone on snow leopard using huawei e1550 dongle? any problems?
idone2u
22-10-2009, 08:36 PM
I am using 4mb plan -.-
I am very fed-up with M1BB at 4MPS... getting sometimes less than 1MPS in Bishan....
I think there is something wrong here....
I complained a lot to M1 since I got it at COMEX and they are "looking" into the situation according to the manager....
One thing though, their service 1627 is good... don;t have to wait for half hour to get to talk to someone. and they will get back to you.... but the problem still not solve....
YorYor
22-10-2009, 11:36 PM
Keep complaining until you get a waiver of fees lor...
galant22
23-10-2009, 08:47 AM
i got my 7.2mbps at a march pc show when they offered 50% off.
since then, i've been getting crap speeds of barely 2mbps even at 2am
been complaining to them since and here's what they've offered me so far...
waived 1 mth off initially when i first complained... and say will look into the problem
after a while, tell me will make improvement to the signal in the area and give me $10 off for the next 3mths in the meantime
after improvement done, my signal STILL NO IMPROVEMENT... continue to complain
i threatened to terminate and report to CASE and fight my penalty fees in small claims court
i demanded a line cancellation or line downgrade to 2mbps, both they refused...
finally, they decided to offer me $10 off my bill for the rest of my contract
:)
imanon
26-10-2009, 11:43 AM
any1 notice m1 embed extra script in all html?
/scripts/imgreload.js
hanazawa
26-10-2009, 05:39 PM
the 45% off plans when closes?
czheyuan
26-10-2009, 08:43 PM
the 45% off plans when closes?
It has been for many months liao. Guess it's permanent.
missotah
27-10-2009, 12:04 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/603232214.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
haha crazy today so fast.
czheyuan
27-10-2009, 12:32 AM
haha crazy today so fast.
Gd for you! =D
touchme
27-10-2009, 03:31 AM
YorYor:No no, the Mobile Broadband V plans... where you get make voicecalls as well.
I believe it's VoIP... wonder what's the quality like?
M1 BBV plan is VOIP on voice meh?...I thot it's BB with VAS normal-voice connection?
Which mean if I discon. data connection, I can still recv voice call & SMS. i shd think it's not becos' it's not 3-series mobile no.
anyone pls clarify.
czheyuan
27-10-2009, 10:32 AM
M1 BBV plan is VOIP on voice meh?...I thot it's BB with VAS normal-voice connection?
Which mean if I discon. data connection, I can still recv voice call & SMS. i shd think it's not becos' it's not 3-series mobile no.
anyone pls clarify.
It's on normal GSM connection... Just like your mobile..
YorYor
27-10-2009, 12:03 PM
Ah, now that sounds like something for me to consider. As long as it's not VOIP. My parents' home phone line changed to mio package and the line became VOIP line. Horrible 1sec echo lags.
touchme
27-10-2009, 04:10 PM
Ah, now that sounds like something for me to consider. As long as it's not VOIP. My parents' home phone line changed to mio package and the line became VOIP line. Horrible 1sec echo lags.
Doesn't sound suitable for your parents, unless they surf, still 8 cts/min talk, cf 0.8-1.6 cts/mins 5-10 times more. You better of with a Singtel traditional analogue line.
mio VOIP really not good, for 2 years (past) have cross lines, coming from Indian Spain and South America. ST asked us to monitor and give report: dialled no./ time/intended destination to them to diagnose..Xiao!!..work for them free? back to analogue , no pay $80 (mar09), for fax reliability. SH DV fax not reliable.
Hot2002
31-10-2009, 01:36 AM
My K3565-Z works with Starhub sim. Don't have SingTel sim to test...
hi, can share how do u that?
I have the M1 vodafone K3565-Z, the vodafone software is locked, so I downloaded the ZTE software instead but had problem getting it to work with M1 SIM card
YorYor
31-10-2009, 04:45 AM
Just create a manual dial-up networking connection after you have installed the initial drivers for Windows to recognise it as a Huawei 3G USB modem.
Number to dial is *99#.
Hot2002
01-11-2009, 11:29 PM
Just create a manual dial-up networking connection after you have installed the initial drivers for Windows to recognise it as a Huawei 3G USB modem.
Number to dial is *99#.
k3565-z is a ZTE modem, not huawei
yes, i have already tried create a dial-up connection with the dial number of *99# but still can't connect. called the technical support and was told to configure the following parameters as well, but still failed..........:(
apn: sunsurf
username: 65
password: user123
YorYor
02-11-2009, 12:04 AM
Well, if you're using it with M1 SIM, then just use the built-in vodafone software.
If you're using it with any other telco's SIM, then you need to use that telco's APN. sunsurf is M1's APN.
mvp1985
03-11-2009, 10:39 PM
Erm.. sorry to ask tat where is the page/file/website tat post all the diff area of usage and problem of the M1 MBB in here huh ??? Last 1-2weeks I saw it and then now MIA liao...
sorry for the trouble :s8:
YorYor
04-11-2009, 02:36 AM
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2494567
wh1t35m1th
07-11-2009, 12:03 AM
somehow my M1 BB freaking sluggish today..
really going nutz....
doctorweb
09-11-2009, 07:03 PM
:s12::s12:$%$%:s12:
If you're using it with any other telco's SIM, then you need to use that telco's APN. sunsurf is M1's APN.
flaveur
09-11-2009, 09:13 PM
my 1mbp plan on M1 has been crawling all day ...
http://www.speedtest.net/result/617035494.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
IamWIA
11-11-2009, 11:09 PM
eh...m1 10mbps price drop?
mine was at $43.50 for 2 yrs plan. now is $43.50 for 6 months, and $40.60 for 2yrs??? tmd...lugi about $72 sia..
czheyuan
11-11-2009, 11:44 PM
eh...m1 10mbps price drop?
mine was at $43.50 for 2 yrs plan. now is $43.50 for 6 months, and $40.60 for 2yrs??? tmd...lugi about $72 sia..
Yeah M1 dropped prices for quite a few months already.
YorYor
12-11-2009, 12:11 AM
The daytime stability has improved a bit recently in the area where I use it most often (Aljunied). If it can get to the point where the problems occur only once or twice at most per month, I'll prob be wanting to upgrade to the 2Mbps voice plan. Wonder whether they'll allow me to upgrade and just extend the contractual period.
Might move my Starhub mobile line over as well.
How does the integrated voice and broadband solution work? Two sim cards? Or what? Needs VMCC and then rent that Huawei Router?
liangtam
12-11-2009, 12:42 AM
V plan?
The router has a built in ATA function for VoIP calls.
czheyuan
12-11-2009, 01:11 AM
The daytime stability has improved a bit recently in the area where I use it most often (Aljunied). If it can get to the point where the problems occur only once or twice at most per month, I'll prob be wanting to upgrade to the 2Mbps voice plan. Wonder whether they'll allow me to upgrade and just extend the contractual period.
Might move my Starhub mobile line over as well.
How does the integrated voice and broadband solution work? Two sim cards? Or what? Needs VMCC and then rent that Huawei Router?
Yup for my area the M1 1mbps, somehow I can open multiple windows/tabs w/o anymore connection error liao for the past 1+ wk... My friend living at Haig Road also enjoying this.. Maybe they did something to the network... Hopefully it sustains.. Yoryor also can open multiple tabs?
For M1, can upgrade during contractual period de if I not wrong.. As long as it's a higher plan..
Just like for my M1 Fixed Broadband, even though I'm on 2 yrs promo price contract, I'm still eligible to sign a free device (eg laptop) contract when there's one..
Your Starhub mobile line can add on to your mobile lines to enjoy the multi-line saver lo..
The M1 V plans is the integrated voice and BB solution. Only one sim card... Used it before last yr when M1 mobile BB still wasn't very gd.. Yup need to rent the Huawei router..
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.