View Full Version : M1 boardband User Thread
Pages :
[
1]
magix
06-12-2006, 04:22 PM
Just got my Huawei USB modem aka Vodafone Mobile connect modem from M1. Wah quite a handful of people sign up and try the service.
http://img176.imageshack.us/img176/7384/m1usbrl0.jpg
Sign up 1.8M connection and i think is better then the 3G speed. But still not good for gaming.
andrewlj
06-12-2006, 04:24 PM
Just got my Huawei USB modem aka Vodafone Mobile connect modem from M1. Wah quite a handful of people sign up and try the service.
Sign up 1.8M connection and i think is better then the 3G speed. But still not good for gaming.
just for info, what they explain / what u understand bout their 2GB limit, which is chargable at $1/MB after exceed???
or what does "fair" means?
or u dun know bout it at all?? which will be worst.. and better call them out to find out..
if u are agreeable with the 2GB limit, then its ok.. thx
just trying to find out how M1 is spreading the info, and weather they are misleading cust.. thx
adukaz
06-12-2006, 04:25 PM
Do post your experience with this service.
Cheers!
magix
06-12-2006, 04:25 PM
tracer to yahoo.com.sg
Tracing route to rc.yahoo.akadns.net [66.94.234.13]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
1 497 ms 361 ms 447 ms 172.16.21.9
2 379 ms 231 ms 262 ms unknown.net.reach.com [202.79.92.254]
3 712 ms 579 ms 493 ms 202.65.247.53
4 285 ms 476 ms 449 ms unknown.net.reach.com [202.126.173.237]
5 250 ms 316 ms 403 ms i-2-1.ntp-core02.net.reach.com [202.84.180.153]
6 317 ms 353 ms 189 ms i-3-2.hht-core03.net.reach.com [202.84.144.133]
7 * 371 ms 402 ms i-6-0.paix-core01.net.reach.com [202.84.140.125]
8 368 ms 468 ms 350 ms i-3-3.paix05.net.reach.com [202.84.251.94]
9 698 ms 679 ms 419 ms yahoo.paix05.net.reach.com [134.159.63.22]
10 478 ms 389 ms 460 ms ge-4-0-0-p441.msr1.scd.yahoo.com [216.115.106.20
3]
11 338 ms 664 ms 369 ms ten-2-3-bas2.scd.yahoo.com [66.218.82.223]
12 744 ms 575 ms 620 ms w2.rc.vip.scd.yahoo.com [66.94.234.13]
magix
06-12-2006, 04:27 PM
just for info, what they explain / what u understand bout their 2GB limit, which is chargable at $1/MB after exceed???
or what does "fair" means?
or u dun know bout it at all?? which will be worst.. and better call them out to find out..
if u are agreeable with the 2GB limit, then its ok.. thx
just trying to find out how M1 is spreading the info, and weather they are misleading cust.. thx
Yah bro I know.. Their unlimited is fake. Before I go I already know is 2GB. But so far I (office sim) use more then 1GB (their old plan) no action or letter was send to me. Still charging me the same thing.
One thing M1 BB cannot replace MOL. In fact MOL is faster then M1 BB. Or maybe SNBB 1.5 is faster then M1 BB. But I nv expect much from them also.
Yah I will monitor their billing.
andrewlj
06-12-2006, 04:30 PM
Yah bro I know.. Their unlimited is fake. Before I go I already know is 2GB. But so far I (office sim) use more then 1GB (their old plan) no action or letter was send to me. Still charging me the same thing.
One thing M1 BB cannot replace MOL. In fact MOL is faster then M1 BB. Or maybe SNBB 1.5 is faster then M1 BB. But I nv expect much from them also.
Yah I will monitor their billing.
kk thx for info
liangtam
06-12-2006, 04:38 PM
tracer to yahoo.com.sg
Tracing route to rc.yahoo.akadns.net [66.94.234.13]
1 497 ms 361 ms 447 ms 172.16.21.9
2 379 ms 231 ms 262 ms unknown.net.reach.com [202.79.92.254]
3 712 ms 579 ms 493 ms 202.65.247.53
4 285 ms 476 ms 449 ms unknown.net.reach.com [202.126.173.237]
5 250 ms 316 ms 403 ms i-2-1.ntp-core02.net.reach.com [202.84.180.153]
6 317 ms 353 ms 189 ms i-3-2.hht-core03.net.reach.com [202.84.144.133]
7 * 371 ms 402 ms i-6-0.paix-core01.net.reach.com [202.84.140.125]
8 368 ms 468 ms 350 ms i-3-3.paix05.net.reach.com [202.84.251.94]
9 698 ms 679 ms 419 ms yahoo.paix05.net.reach.com [134.159.63.22]
10 478 ms 389 ms 460 ms ge-4-0-0-p441.msr1.scd.yahoo.com [216.115.106.20
3]
11 338 ms 664 ms 369 ms ten-2-3-bas2.scd.yahoo.com [66.218.82.223]
12 744 ms 575 ms 620 ms w2.rc.vip.scd.yahoo.com [66.94.234.13]
Yahoo SG not hosted locally, try trace to any of local ISP?
Not bad, 2nd hop already connected to Reach-HK
magix
06-12-2006, 04:45 PM
Yahoo SG not hosted locally, try trace to any of local ISP?
Not bad, 2nd hop already connected to Reach-HK
Yah. But we SG ppl surf overseas more ma! Anyway
Qala:
Tracing route to www.qala.com.sg [210.193.3.8]
1 120 ms 146 ms 109 ms 172.16.21.9
2 347 ms 179 ms 243 ms unknown.net.reach.com [202.79.92.254]
3 321 ms 179 ms 115 ms unknown.net.reach.com [202.126.173.229]
4 178 ms 231 ms 208 ms unknown.net.reach.com [202.126.173.202]
5 187 ms 162 ms 243 ms vlan11-alpha012.qala.com.sg [203.211.159.12]
6 271 ms 561 ms 455 ms qala.com.sg [210.193.3.8]
Trace complete.
Starhub internet:
Tracing route to siweb.starhub.net.sg [203.117.1.102]
1 141 ms * 174 ms 172.16.21.9
2 * 195 ms 105 ms unknown.net.reach.com [202.79.92.254]
3 297 ms 186 ms 312 ms unknown.net.reach.com [202.126.173.229]
4 921 ms 519 ms 319 ms i-2-0.ntp-core01.net.reach.com [202.84.180.141]
5 378 ms 339 ms 226 ms i-5-15.tmhstcbr01.net.reach.com [202.84.140.173]
6 417 ms 410 ms 199 ms i-1-2.tmhstcar01.net.reach.com [202.84.153.174]
7 233 ms * 336 ms unknown.net.reach.com [134.159.129.222]
8 196 ms 239 ms * vlan905-cat6ts1-rsm2.starhub.net.sg [203.118.3.1
31]
9 264 ms 216 ms 439 ms 203.118.3.25
10 228 ms 209 ms 379 ms 203.117.1.102
Trace complete.
magix
06-12-2006, 04:46 PM
I believe if you are hardcore downloading user. 2GB FP you must be extra careful.
Just by checking email and surfing net. I hit 27MB already.
http://img98.imageshack.us/img98/8025/softwareex2.jpg
felime
06-12-2006, 04:56 PM
alrite to those who are using the M1 broadband service, don't forget to share with ur fellowmates here abt your first M1 broadband bill whether they got charge u for exceeding their fair usage policy of 2GB cap if u have exceeded and best is scan ur bill for all eyes to see.
leaving_footsteps
06-12-2006, 05:08 PM
How's the surfing experience? Smooth?
magix
06-12-2006, 05:13 PM
How's the surfing experience? Smooth?
Not too sure how M1 get network setup! I always see 2nd hop of the route at reach.com.
Seems like limited direct connection to ISP / DC here.
Download file from fileaxis I getting download speed of 20+KB/Sec.
http://img100.imageshack.us/img100/6044/fileaxisyi3.jpg
leaving_footsteps
06-12-2006, 05:16 PM
Reach probably has a transit switch or something here I guess.
20+kb/s quite slow leh. But I guess it's for the mobility.
limpoop
06-12-2006, 05:28 PM
Do you know if the Vodafone Mobile connect modem supports USB 1.0 used on older laptop?
Have you tested ftp'ing from a local site and what is the speed in KB/sec?
Do you pay the $22 fees at the beginning or end of every month and is there a contract period like Singnet?
Thanks!
felime
06-12-2006, 06:40 PM
here's a link for everyone to see 2 different links of terms & conditions of M1 Broadband Terms & Conditions and 1 Link for M1 Broadband Frequently Asked Questions:
M1 Broadband Terms & Conditions Link 1 never state Fair Use Policy:
http://m1.com.sg/M1/site/M1Corp/menuitem.e2f30a2a1a1860b609b422103f2000a0/?vgnextoid=edc2e6dff1b1f010VgnVCM100000695a230aRCRD
M1 Broadband Terms & Conditions Link 2 state Fair Use Policy:
Click on the bottom left for the terms & conditions.
www.m1.com.sg/broadband
http://img244.imageshack.us/img244/7799/m1sucks2ao9.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
M1 Broadband Frequently Asked Questions Link:
http://www.m1.com.sg/broadband/faqs.htm
outer92
06-12-2006, 07:05 PM
anyone use m1 broadband plan to play online dota game ? any laging? thank
starnet
06-12-2006, 07:51 PM
anyone use m1 broadband plan to play online dota game ? any laging? thank
People just realise there is a Quota of 2GB Cap(Optional by ISP to charge you)
so now ...the plan is no longer 100% unlimited....Fxx them for cheating
Regards
tortoise18
06-12-2006, 08:16 PM
OMG.. was thinking of dropping by M1 just now to apply le.. lucky sia..
ginlee
06-12-2006, 08:55 PM
Hi guys, I reviewed the speed of the M1 service last week. Can check out my article in The New Paper
http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/tech/story/0,4136,118483,00.html?
miltongoh
06-12-2006, 09:04 PM
Just signed up for the 1800 plan, will not expect much out from it. As long as it have good speed to my servers in Singapore/Hong Kong/USA then it will be good. Normally will be downloading mails and accessing remotely to the servers.
Will post my review on it! :)
limpoop
06-12-2006, 09:20 PM
Just signed up for the 1800 plan, will not expect much out from it. As long as it have good speed to my servers in Singapore/Hong Kong/USA then it will be good. Normally will be downloading mails and accessing remotely to the servers.
Will post my review on it! :)
Hi, how much is the total monthly bill for 1800 plan? Do you pay nett $38, or $38 + $5 SIM card and is GST included?
Thanks
ccmheoa
06-12-2006, 09:24 PM
your review didn't mentioned about the actual plan details, did you know that you cannot have a Voice Plan and the M1 Broadband plan together? I asked about buying a Dopod 838Pro to use with the M1 Broadband and Suntalk 800 voice plan, M1 says CANNOT, if i use the M1 Broadband Plan with the phone, all voices calls are charged normally!!!!! wah piang aye...
end up now i'm just using the 384kbps plan with a usb modem..... :s11:
and info for all MAC users, the connection utility does not have a data counter, whereas the PC version have.....what if i exceed 2GB? very scared lei... :s31:
seowbin
06-12-2006, 09:31 PM
relax leh. for the past 4 to 5 mths i'm paying 68 for the unlimited plan, even i exceed 2gb, m1 nv charge me extra. don't kpkb till machiam they cheat ur family money.
but if 22, maybe they wanna start charging extra? since it's really so cheap!
jaloon
06-12-2006, 09:49 PM
Really though of using it to play games on the move... But the routes doesnt seem good. 250+ms for local connection is a bit extreme...
And... the fair use policy really is a sore point.
ccmheoa
06-12-2006, 09:52 PM
Not too sure how M1 get network setup! I always see 2nd hop of the route at reach.com.
Seems like limited direct connection to ISP / DC here.
Download file from fileaxis I getting download speed of 20+KB/Sec.
http://img100.imageshack.us/img100/6044/fileaxisyi3.jpg
hmmm i'm on 384kbps plan, and i can dowload at about 15Kbps...
seowbin
06-12-2006, 10:21 PM
if u all wanna maximize dl speed, use getright or other download manager, max can reach around 45kb/s with my m600i hp...
but still must depend on ur location also.. some place, can reach around 30+kb/s nia
starnet
06-12-2006, 10:56 PM
I don't think this is KPKP, you paid $68 for wat you get, with that "Fair Policy" there, you will never know...and have to use the "Unlimited Plan" with Fear..., I think people wont KPKB if they state the clause or * on their Unlimited Promo.
Using Unlimited plan with the fear of being charged extra....not all can accept wat.
At least this thread made known to those who intend to sign up...so is up to them...
relax leh. for the past 4 to 5 mths i'm paying 68 for the unlimited plan, even i exceed 2gb, m1 nv charge me extra. don't kpkb till machiam they cheat ur family money.
but if 22, maybe they wanna start charging extra? since it's really so cheap!
seowbin
06-12-2006, 11:09 PM
so many threads say they so stupid go and sign up liao den realise, come here and kpkb...
how come sign up liao den realise.
not read forums here liao den sign up...
human are all damn funny one leh............
miltongoh
06-12-2006, 11:17 PM
Hi, how much is the total monthly bill for 1800 plan? Do you pay nett $38, or $38 + $5 SIM card and is GST included?
Thanks
No payment needed because I used one of my voice line and convert it to the data plan since I am not using it anymore.
It stated on the brochure that it is $38 NETT which is inclusive of GST liao... No SIM CARD CHARGE AND $10 REGISTRATION FEE because I am entitled to FREE exchange from 2G SIM Card to 3G SIM Card.
miltongoh
06-12-2006, 11:18 PM
People who complained is really funny loh in some senses. Read before you sign mah. Like me, I know there is a 2GB but if you abide to the rule and try to keep it within control. Why worry right? You sign up this for a purpose, else go for the free Wireless@SG! :)
Stalker_Ultimate
06-12-2006, 11:37 PM
I'm still on MOL 4000 without any contract.
But I still want to kpkb about M1 advertising their HSDPA broadband as "unlimited" when its actually limited by certain terms and conditions.
Due to this limitation, M1 broadband is not attractive to me.
It's attractive only to people who surf a lot on the go but seldom download anything.
BuShuang
07-12-2006, 12:21 AM
I'm still on MOL 4000 without any contract.
But I still want to kpkb about M1 advertising their HSDPA broadband as "unlimited" when its actually limited by certain terms and conditions.
Due to this limitation, M1 broadband is not attractive to me.
It's attractive only to people who surf a lot on the go but seldom download anything.Aiya... Singaporeans are all inborn with the ability to complain lah... We are the among worst group of customers in the world :s13:
Seowbin... No one visit ur thread... I help u advertise :D
All who want to kpkb pls visit here (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1474046)
markcwlim
07-12-2006, 12:40 AM
hi all, just want to share my frustrations today at the imm m1 shop when i was so excited that I could pick one up and start using rightaway....that was until the guy looked at my driving license, and told me no NRIC no go.
yups, he said that for those who have lost their NRIC, the only way for me to sign up would be to bring a copy of the lost police report, and a receipt from ICA (at kallang) saying that I have applied for a replacement IC.
I suggested what about passport? and a recent phone bill which shows my current address? but still not good enough.
I'm like a starhub customer who is already sold on their BB plan and doesn't even mind the 2GB fair use policy thingy....I'm basically dying to give them money to sign up, but i can't - at least not until i make that extra trip to the ICA building and get a receipt for replacement IC.
Anyway I searched my house upside down and managed to find an older but invalidated (hole-punched) NRIC (primary school picture). I will give it a try again tomorrow together with my passport, color photocopies of my lost NRIC, current phone bill, police report AND driving license all together. We'll see if they still say no. stay tuned...
(ps keeping my fingers crossed. to be fair, a policy is a policy and it was good that their staff stuck by it. I guess this policy is to prevent terrorists from purchasing prepaid sim cards...but i'm not trying to buy a prepaid voice sim card leh...)
tiongchauheng
07-12-2006, 01:49 AM
no nric of course cannot sign plan lah, you go to singtel or starhub also the same one. its to prevent any fraud.
for those people who kpkb on the slow speeds or watever 2gb restrictions, this plan is meant for mobility and convenience and definitely not suited for gaming or downloading so why comparing with mol which is a FIXED LINE CONNECTION.
the 2gb restrictions according to what i ask will apply if you use your broadband plan for illegal activities or misuse, so if you into downloading videos, movies or anything thats not legal better beware
andrewlj
07-12-2006, 02:39 AM
the 2gb restrictions according to what i ask will apply if you use your broadband plan for illegal activities or misuse, so if you into downloading videos, movies or anything thats not legal better beware
so every item on the internet has a label telling the d/ler whether they are legal or not??
World of Warcraft is legal to d/l even through internet, but how many ppl know that??
and how do ppl know if WoW is legal, is other games also legal??
if u use 10GB on legal stuff, then accidentally d/l an illegal mp3??
CSO can talk all they want, BLACK & WHITE said they charge $0.01/kb after 2gb.
and also y 2 gb??
meaning everyone is allowed to d/l 2gb of illegal stuff monthly?? how nice of them!!
so as long as user d/l less than 2gb of illegal content, M dun care rite?? They supporting piracy??
tiongchauheng
07-12-2006, 02:59 AM
well.... i think they have their guidelines on their so call fair usage thingy lah
you bang chair throw table here also no use
yaf123
07-12-2006, 08:24 AM
Anyone try skype?
apathetica
07-12-2006, 09:11 AM
Went to M1shop to test yesterday. The IP address dished out is a 172.22.x.x range. Sianz I thought will be getting public IP then can run some form of service :s27:
hotlink
07-12-2006, 11:20 AM
Oh no... it's mean we will get private IP? like that everything u did or even your PC files also open to M1...
markcwlim
07-12-2006, 01:42 PM
ok, the imm m1 guy today was a bit more helpful. he is only a temp staff, but he knows more about customer service than the perm staff it seems. at my suggestion, he was at least more than willing to try checking the system whether my lost nric report was already updated in the system (i made police report last night). unfortunately it was. too bad, have to go to ICA now to get nric replacement receipt then can sign up for m1 bb as new line subscription.
seems that I was too quick to make the police report. I should have waited just ONE more day, since I have a photocopy of my lost IC, I could have used that to sign up today, and then make the report tomorrow and everything would be fine and dandy. Too bad, I thought with a copy of the police report it would help me prove that my IC is genuine...in the end backfired. Sigh, just not fated...
miltongoh
07-12-2006, 04:01 PM
ok, the imm m1 guy today was a bit more helpful. he is only a temp staff, but he knows more about customer service than the perm staff it seems. at my suggestion, he was at least more than willing to try checking the system whether my lost nric report was already updated in the system (i made police report last night). unfortunately it was. too bad, have to go to ICA now to get nric replacement receipt then can sign up for m1 bb as new line subscription.
seems that I was too quick to make the police report. I should have waited just ONE more day, since I have a photocopy of my lost IC, I could have used that to sign up today, and then make the report tomorrow and everything would be fine and dandy. Too bad, I thought with a copy of the police report it would help me prove that my IC is genuine...in the end backfired. Sigh, just not fated...
Why for the rush? Why can't you wait till your NRIC is done then you sign up for the broadband? Is it that important to have the internet than your NRIC? IMO.
Can see that spend time go down make police report, go down M1 try again but you don't want to go ICA to get the receipt etc. IMO. *NO OFFENDS*
leaving_footsteps
07-12-2006, 04:14 PM
IMO I feel that a Passport is a better proof of identity than NRIC. Oh well.
andrewlj
07-12-2006, 04:26 PM
well.... i think they have their guidelines on their so call fair usage thingy lah
you bang chair throw table here also no use
not banging table, just that if they have guideline, then tell us mah...
then we know what can do what cannot...
now they didnt state, so if the manager this month happy, ppl over use dun charge, then next month he buay song, then charge everyone??
do business cannot like this mah, cannot say i sell u this car, if i happy this mth installment $1000, next month i not happy u pay up full amount....
andrewlj
07-12-2006, 07:41 PM
oops repost
pbeyondp
07-12-2006, 09:40 PM
THere is no 2gig limit
If u guys are worry, just call M1 customer service to ask.
If still worry, call 3 5 10 times
u'll feel assured that the 2gig thing is just for protecting their own interest.
BuShuang
08-12-2006, 12:28 AM
Hope this thread won't become another complaint thread... those who wanna complain go other threads can?
I wan to read genuine fdback on the quality of svc here leh... Planning to get one probably early next yr see how everything goes... So many ppl scared of the fair usage policy... Wanna see who kena liao...
$38 for convenience is cheap in my opinion... Somemore only 6mths contract... Use liao not shiok can just cancel mah... Hai...
wherehouse
08-12-2006, 02:28 AM
Hope this thread won't become another complaint thread... those who wanna complain go other threads can?
I wan to read genuine fdback on the quality of svc here leh... Planning to get one probably early next yr see how everything goes... So many ppl scared of the fair usage policy... Wanna see who kena liao...
$38 for convenience is cheap in my opinion... Somemore only 6mths contract... Use liao not shiok can just cancel mah... Hai...
yes please complain more... it's a national pastime. since we cant talk politics, so we have to direct our energy elsewhere... no babies too please - they are too ex.
we more only complain abt babies and childcare probably hahahah~
yaf123
08-12-2006, 08:53 AM
Anyone signed up for 1.8Kbps plan? Is the speed fast enough?
leaving_footsteps
08-12-2006, 09:50 AM
$38 for convenience is cheap in my opinion... Somemore only 6mths contract... Use liao not shiok can just cancel mah... Hai...Complains are alright I feel. But the way the complain is done is important. Some here sounded like M1 killed their families or what. Very immature.
ccarol90
08-12-2006, 04:44 PM
hi all, just want to share my frustrations today at the imm m1 shop when i was so excited that I could pick one up and start using rightaway....that was until the guy looked at my driving license, and told me no NRIC no go.
yups, he said that for those who have lost their NRIC, the only way for me to sign up would be to bring a copy of the lost police report, and a receipt from ICA (at kallang) saying that I have applied for a replacement IC.
I suggested what about passport? and a recent phone bill which shows my current address? but still not good enough.
I'm like a starhub customer who is already sold on their BB plan and doesn't even mind the 2GB fair use policy thingy....I'm basically dying to give them money to sign up, but i can't - at least not until i make that extra trip to the ICA building and get a receipt for replacement IC.
Anyway I searched my house upside down and managed to find an older but invalidated (hole-punched) NRIC (primary school picture). I will give it a try again tomorrow together with my passport, color photocopies of my lost NRIC, current phone bill, police report AND driving license all together. We'll see if they still say no. stay tuned...
(ps keeping my fingers crossed. to be fair, a policy is a policy and it was good that their staff stuck by it. I guess this policy is to prevent terrorists from purchasing prepaid sim cards...but i'm not trying to buy a prepaid voice sim card leh...)
I bet you are rejected by the time I post.
ccarol90
08-12-2006, 04:46 PM
Oh no... it's mean we will get private IP? like that everything u did or even your PC files also open to M1...
Well, all your ISPs do host transparent proxies. So you are not a free bird either.
So what is it with the address range that bothers you?
Or would you want to have a VPN to go with that?
ccarol90
08-12-2006, 04:48 PM
Complains are alright I feel. But the way the complain is done is important. Some here sounded like M1 killed their families or what. Very immature.
Don't Singaporeans have to be validated by some ministers or some VIP to be mature enough for a lot of things in this country?
I vaguely remember someone mentioning that we were not mature enough to have casinos and bartop dancing but we are still not mature enough to chew gum to date.
So maybe the time is not here yet for our maturity "upgrade"
Wolfaro
08-12-2006, 06:35 PM
just got my modem... why my connection speed show 3.6mbps?
i subscribe to 1.8m one leh...
felime
08-12-2006, 06:40 PM
frm wat i understand the USB modem can support up to 3.6mbps .. but ur speed will be configurated to watever plans u have opted for.
ccarol90
08-12-2006, 09:17 PM
frm wat i understand the USB modem can support up to 3.6mbps .. but ur speed will be configurated to watever plans u have opted for.
It's a bit like the MOL modem isn't it? It can do 30mbits (at their best plan now) but I'm only getting 4mbits out of it cos I only subscribed to that much.
Well, as long as there is coverage on 3G, the situation seems very tolerable.
BuShuang
08-12-2006, 09:26 PM
can i chk how do u find it so far huh? Connection stable? I dun wan those "now u see it, now u dun" type of connection leh... :s13:
miltongoh
08-12-2006, 09:42 PM
That's the link from the client (THE USB MODEM) to the universal network servers connection. The maximum it can hit.
miltongoh
08-12-2006, 09:43 PM
can i chk how do u find it so far huh? Connection stable? I dun wan those "now u see it, now u dun" type of connection leh... :s13:
the connection is kinda stable, but I still quite dislike the USB Modem, I still think i want the PCM one... but dunno whether can change anot leh...
the connection is not bad but slower. but good enough for on the run. :)
remember, it will improve one day!
DailyRoutine
08-12-2006, 09:52 PM
hey guys...i'm intending to sign up for the service soon....but heard there is an ExpressCard version of this VodafoneUSB Modem.
any idea when its goin to be available?
richneo
08-12-2006, 10:00 PM
hey guys...i'm intending to sign up for the service soon....but heard there is an ExpressCard version of this VodafoneUSB Modem.
lol
u should be more informed den most of us here mah..
ur post like abit wayang leh
magix
08-12-2006, 10:25 PM
I think 6 month contact and $38 a month can try lah. No harm ma! Only need to pay SIM CARD Fee.
miltongoh
08-12-2006, 10:28 PM
Check it out @ M! shop?
kimseong
08-12-2006, 10:45 PM
Here is 1 express card hardware, maybe there are others
http://www.option.be/products/globetrotter_expresscard72.shtml
The PC card distributed by M1 is from the same vendor. (GT Max card)
DailyRoutine
08-12-2006, 10:46 PM
Check it out @ M! shop?
hehe...have tried chkin m1shop website. they dun seem to have it.
but i just tot about the OS support. wonder will there be a firmware upgrade to use on Windows Vista. cos heard from someone mentioned the USB modem is not supported for Vista.
ccarol90
08-12-2006, 10:50 PM
but i just tot about the OS support. wonder will there be a firmware upgrade to use on Windows Vista. cos heard from someone mentioned the USB modem is not supported for Vista.
Have to wait for Huawei/Option or Vodafone to bring out drivers... Hooray for Mac users... USB FTW
voiceoflove
09-12-2006, 12:38 AM
can u help me ping www.maplesea.com (http://www.maplesea.com) on ur M1 1.8mbps pls ty
hangyong
09-12-2006, 10:51 AM
Finally got my HuaWei USB modem delivered.
Tried it last night, and I was truly disappointed.
I can hardly get any speed faster than 60+kbps, which is not much better than a 56k dial up, and worst of all, it keeps getting "time-out" on webpages I went to.
This morning, tried again, and tried to ftp to Singnet, getting a 10MB file, and hey, I cam hit close to 360kbps!
This tells me that the M1 APN is badly saturated in the west, and they better do something about it....
or someone in NTU (or just in the west zone) is having one hell of a time doing funny things...
DailyRoutine
09-12-2006, 11:46 AM
Finally got my HuaWei USB modem delivered.
Tried it last night, and I was truly disappointed.
I can hardly get any speed faster than 60+kbps, which is not much better than a 56k dial up, and worst of all, it keeps getting "time-out" on webpages I went to.
This morning, tried again, and tried to ftp to Singnet, getting a 10MB file, and hey, I cam hit close to 360kbps!
This tells me that the M1 APN is badly saturated in the west, and they better do something about it....
or someone in NTU (or just in the west zone) is having one hell of a time doing funny things...which plan did u sign up for? the 384 one? if can hit 360kbps, considered not bad dee...
hangyong
09-12-2006, 12:10 PM
which plan did u sign up for? the 384 one? if can hit 360kbps, considered not bad dee...
yup, 384 one.
I am not complaining that much about the speed. I mean in the morning, everything is fine. But the APN gets congested in the day, and that brings the speed down to about 56k speed.
its either the APN has too many connections (due to too many users), or too many connections (due to BT creating too many connections).
cyberian
09-12-2006, 12:22 PM
yup, 384 one.
I am not complaining that much about the speed. I mean in the morning, everything is fine. But the APN gets congested in the day, and that brings the speed down to about 56k speed.
its either the APN has too many connections (due to too many users), or too many connections (due to BT creating too many connections).
What is APN and BT? What is it for?
:s11:
Slivester
09-12-2006, 12:47 PM
APN: Access point name, it identifies an external network that is accessible from your device.
BT: Bittorrent.
miltongoh
09-12-2006, 01:10 PM
I believe as long as VISTA gets stable, there will definitely fireware and drivers for the necessary devices reckon that many people will go for Vista if there is a REAL need for it. :)
miltongoh
09-12-2006, 01:14 PM
yup, 384 one.
I am using the 1.8Mbps one... I feel that the connection sometimes breaks off and connection lost. haha. but it is okay since i am on the run, hope it does not happen that often.
kennyg1969
09-12-2006, 08:00 PM
I am using the 1.8Mbps one... I feel that the connection sometimes breaks off and connection lost. haha. but it is okay since i am on the run, hope it does not happen that often.
Sama Sama.. At times, it is fast and slow when i really need the juice when I vpn back to office... I hope it will improve over the time
miltongoh
09-12-2006, 09:23 PM
Sama Sama.. At times, it is fast and slow when i really need the juice when I vpn back to office... I hope it will improve over the time
haha. high five! ^5! :)
andrewlj
10-12-2006, 02:51 PM
i just got this M1 BB also, but my notebook got problem, installed the vofa program, then it tells me that no mobile device found, then restart, will randoml get the following result:
Can Connect to Internet (till now only 2 times)
Cannot Connect Due to device in use or not configure properly (most of the time)
Cannot detect Mobile Device (2nd Most of the time)
Detect and install the modem / HDD / cdrom (sometime)
abnormalities noted:
Under device manager, only 1 modem installed, but under Phone & Modem, can see 2.
Fact : Device Working, Sim Card Working, New ACER notebook bought from SiteX
any help? or encounter same problem??
delete and reinstalled the device and/or program a lot of times...e
then 2nd part, i connect to my PC, np, can connect, but it take 20 sec to load HWZ, Normal for u guys??
daredino
10-12-2006, 03:18 PM
Well we will see how other ISP can do things better. from what i know, next month which is next year 2007 Jan, Starhub should be offering 3.5G data plan too, and of course 100Mbps MOL. just.... keep your finger cross.
miltongoh
10-12-2006, 03:45 PM
i just got this M1 BB also, but my notebook got problem, installed the vofa program, then it tells me that no mobile device found, then restart, will randoml get the following result:
Cannot Connect Due to device in use or not configure properly (most of the time)
abnormalities noted:
Under device manager, only 1 modem installed, but under Phone & Modem, can see 2.
then 2nd part, i connect to my PC, np, can connect, but it take 20 sec to load HWZ, Normal for u guys??
I don't have this kind of problem leh. But just that whenever I plug the USB Device in, it takes some time to detect it.
miltongoh
10-12-2006, 03:45 PM
Well we will see how other ISP can do things better. from what i know, next month which is next year 2007 Jan, Starhub should be offering 3.5G data plan too, and of course 100Mbps MOL. just.... keep your finger cross.
Well, then there will be another bunch of people will test on SH one and if it determines that SH or ST one is better, after my 6 months contract with M1, I will head down to the better one. :D
repsoi
11-12-2006, 03:04 AM
i been using the M1 sunsurf unlimited for a few months with their VMCC card, always exceed 5-6GB but never charge b4 or receive any calls from their ppl.
comtt74
11-12-2006, 11:51 AM
abnormalities noted:
Greetings!
From what I know, the VMCC has compatibility issues with ACER notebook.
You may want to check with ACER for solution.
Thank you and best regards.
ccarol90
11-12-2006, 08:08 PM
Greetings!
From what I know, the VMCC has compatibility issues with ACER notebook.
You may want to check with ACER for solution.
Thank you and best regards.
Is it limited to a specific range?
One of my guys is using a C300 I think (old acer touchscreen) fine with the old VMCC card all the while.
He's not changing to the hsdpa one because management decided for a longer depreciation.
Speeds have been reported to be spotty in some areas and say that they have called M1 to feedback on the signal power.
In some HDB areas, the speed is horrible.
Is it some stupid residential user leeching or something? Does anyone experience this in HDB areas?
I subscribed to 1.8mbps plan, using PCMCIA card. The speed I get most of the time at home (Simei) is like using dial-up. Is that what you guys are experiencing? Or is the USB one faster?
The only time I feel fast, about 1mbps is about 6.30am (same place, Simei). Maybe no one is using the 3G network.
Don't think it can ever replace home broadband like MOL, SNBB.
BuShuang
11-12-2006, 09:31 PM
Hmmm... dunno if given 6mths period, will we see improvement?
Right now, at home and office have internet connection... only when outside dun have unless in wireless zone... tempted to fill up the gap by taking the 1.8mbps plan but so far reviews seem quite bad leh... Any users hit more than 500kbps so far?
kennyg1969
11-12-2006, 09:43 PM
I dunno if I hit 500 on my 1.8 bb but i beats the hell of me finding a hotspot in some ulu place
BuShuang
11-12-2006, 10:05 PM
Hmmm... True though... but if its those 56k dial up modem speed... I think my life will be shortened out of exasperation...
Then again... Finding a hotspot when u need the connection desperately also shortens my lifespan...
If they can incorporate this into my existing subscription, then next yr when more HSDPA phone models launch will be perfect...
oscar33
11-12-2006, 11:32 PM
abnormalities noted:
Confirmed that it has compatibility issues with both Compaq & Acer laptop. My friend using a Compaq laptop experienced similar problem as urs. Bring to M1 for troubleshooting and was told of the compatiability issues known for these two brands. At the end, they voided his contract and allow him to cancel the plan.
dantok
12-12-2006, 12:39 AM
maybe i should consider getting them to void my plan, the thing is pretty cool. can surf in the taxi. however. bloody slow sia. zzzzz i managed to hit 50kb/s other than that, the latency is horrible!
gundamz
12-12-2006, 12:43 AM
i been using the M1 sunsurf unlimited for a few months with their VMCC card, always exceed 5-6GB but never charge b4 or receive any calls from their ppl.
maybe they pile up the bills and send you at one go. lol. *just joking*
u80242
12-12-2006, 12:44 AM
speed is confirmed very slow...i signed up 384k, something like i go back to the 56k dial up time many years ago, time fly back...hehe
Even at the first few hours, i'm able to connectat 3.6m (before they cap my speed according to plan), browsing is also slow, guess i will just terminate it after 6 month.
DailyRoutine
12-12-2006, 07:32 AM
Confirmed that it has compatibility issues with both Compaq & Acer laptop. My friend using a Compaq laptop experienced similar problem as urs. Bring to M1 for troubleshooting and was told of the compatiability issues known for these two brands. At the end, they voided his contract and allow him to cancel the plan.Just curious...i'm using a Compaq laptop. The compatibility issues is with the USB modem or the PCMCIA card? or both devices also cant work on Compaq and Acer laptops?
cstanhwz
12-12-2006, 08:20 AM
Just curious...i'm using a Compaq laptop. The compatibility issues is with the USB modem or the PCMCIA card? or both devices also cant work on Compaq and Acer laptops?Is your laptop using ATI chipset? Or is it a Centrino model?
yaf123
12-12-2006, 08:48 AM
speed is confirmed very slow...i signed up 384k, something like i go back to the 56k dial up time many years ago, time fly back...hehe
Even at the first few hours, i'm able to connectat 3.6m (before they cap my speed according to plan), browsing is also slow, guess i will just terminate it after 6 month.
Me too, . The speed is very very slow. I am always getting timeout during browsing. I will not hesitate to terminate this plan after 6 month if M1 is not working anything to improve this.
BTW, I am on 1.8Mbps plan....SIAN...
miltongoh
12-12-2006, 08:53 AM
I am on the 1.8Mbps plan and for the past 2 days when I surf, the speed is okay, no timeout. :) Will continue to monitor it. :P
ccarol90
12-12-2006, 04:30 PM
I subscribed to 1.8mbps plan, using PCMCIA card. The speed I get most of the time at home (Simei) is like using dial-up. Is that what you guys are experiencing? Or is the USB one faster?
The only time I feel fast, about 1mbps is about 6.30am (same place, Simei). Maybe no one is using the 3G network.
Don't think it can ever replace home broadband like MOL, SNBB.
I don't understand why you take this up when you stay at home most of the time.
Is it because it is cheap and offers you unwired ability?
Take up MOL instead, and sign up for their wireless@sg with qmax as well. Who knows, you may be able to leech bandwidth from the nearby MRT area.
But that would create another problem of what you would do with your MOL payments since you can get free bandwidth.
Sigh
oscar33
13-12-2006, 01:05 AM
Its wif the USB modem. Not sure whether it apply to the PCMCIA card. The laptop is running on Core 2 duo.
darkromeo
13-12-2006, 01:53 AM
Hi just got the PCMIA pc card from m1 today, but failed to connect with my IBM T41
After installation of the vodaphone mobile connect software to my ibm laptop t41, encounter the 2 error when trying to connect using the sim card
1. while attempting to connect, an error with the number 50 occurred, error 0x00000032
2. while attempting to connect, an error with the number 6 occurred, error 0x00000006
can advise
thanks!
Already tried 2 x laptop same model, failed..
and tried remove and re-install..no help
Philen
13-12-2006, 09:12 AM
Take up MOL instead, and sign up for their wireless@sg with qmax as well. Who knows, you may be able to leech bandwidth from the nearby MRT area.
But that would create another problem of what you would do with your MOL payments since you can get free bandwidth.
SighHi,
I am another one who use this service 80% of the time at home, and 20% on the move.
Of course, the main reason is the mobility. But it appears now that I am paying $38 (I've signed up the 1800 plan) for only 20%, since it is IMPOSSIBLE to use this service at all during the evening peak period. I'm getting speed averaging 20Kbps, which makes it IMPOSSIBLE to access the content rich pages (which means the majority of webpages these days).
I have been testing the speed since I started using this service, and the fastest I got is 417Kbps (that's at 5am after the first day). The average I am getting now is 20Kbps during peak period, 150Kbps during the ghost hours, and 100Kbps most of the time.
I probably would not have signed up for M1 if I had known that their speed is this ridiculous. This simply is not broadband. While $38 for unlimited 3G is relatively cheap, but like I say, for me it's only 20%. Not worth it.
I mean, why pay $38 for a 1800Kbps plan when I am not even getting speed near to the 384Kbps for $22? Does M1 take me for a big sucker?
I initially thought I could always terminate the service after 6mths if it is not up to mark. It is very obvious it is not up to mark after 6 days of using it.
I am seriously thinking of looking into legal means to void the contract, on the grounds of misleading advertisement/claims.
M1 is advertising it as Unlimited Broadband.
Most of us now know that (1) it is not unlimited, and IMHO, (2) it is not broadband.
M1 is offering 384Kbps for $22, 1800Kbps for $38, and 3600Kbps for $68. I signed a contract for 1800Kbps and am paying $38. I now only get 20-100Kbps. Rubbish. Absolutely misleading claims by M1.
In conclusion, M1 Broadband is NOT broadband - hence one cannot use this service to substitute SH/SN's services. At most, it is a "premier" wireless plan (free Wireless@SG at certain locations, pay more, and you get it whole of Singapore).
wakeup2asmile
13-12-2006, 10:02 AM
Same here. signed up for the 384k plan but was only getting 56k speed. Den changed to the 1.8m plan. Well speed increase by 2 times. Getting 100 to 200k on avg during peak but nowhere near 1.8m. Using the usb device
goukiakuma
13-12-2006, 10:20 AM
I also feel the speed is slow recently.. I mean I am using normal 3G network, and I am the frequent surfer, the speed is very very slow recently during peak hour. And I can see my N70 has a very weird icon on the 3G bar....
legacyppc
13-12-2006, 11:54 AM
I am happy with my 384 service, so far no complain. Everything running well. Not too much concern of the speed, just using it for mobility purposes. Good enough for my personal usage.
Cheesypoofs
13-12-2006, 12:04 PM
MOL is so expensive. SingNet very cheap nowadays! 512kbps for only $29.95.
yaf123
13-12-2006, 01:01 PM
I am another one who use this service 80% of the time at home, and 20% on the move.
Of course, the main reason is the mobility. But it appears now that I am paying $38 (I've signed up the 1800 plan) for only 20%, since it is IMPOSSIBLE to use this service at all during the evening peak period. I'm getting speed averaging 20Kbps, which makes it IMPOSSIBLE to access the content rich pages (which means the majority of webpages these days).
I have been testing the speed since I started using this service, and the fastest I got is 417Kbps (that's at 5am after the first day). The average I am getting now is 20Kbps during peak period, 150Kbps during the ghost hours, and 100Kbps most of the time.
I probably would not have signed up for M1 if I had known that their speed is this ridiculous. This simply is not broadband. While $38 for unlimited 3G is relatively cheap, but like I say, for me it's only 20%. Not worth it.
I mean, why pay $38 for a 1800Kbps plan when I am not even getting speed near to the 384Kbps for $22? Does M1 take me for a big sucker?
I initially thought I could always terminate the service after 6mths if it is not up to mark. It is very obvious it is not up to mark after 6 days of using it.
I am seriously thinking of looking into legal means to void the contract, on the grounds of misleading advertisement/claims.
Most of us now know that (1) it is not unlimited, and IMHO, (2) it is not broadband.
M1 is offering 384Kbps for $22, 1800Kbps for $38, and 3600Kbps for $68. I signed a contract for 1800Kbps and am paying $38. I now only get 20-100Kbps. Rubbish. Absolutely misleading claims by M1.
In conclusion, M1 Broadband is NOT broadband - hence one cannot use this service to substitute SH/SN's services. At most, it is a "premier" wireless plan (free Wireless@SG at certain locations, pay more, and you get it whole of Singapore).
At least I know I am not the only one suffering this. M1 is too much.
I am experiencing the same situation as u. Most of the web page simply don load at all at all time. Please let me know if u can get them to void the contract.
yaf123
13-12-2006, 01:04 PM
I also feel the speed is slow recently.. I mean I am using normal 3G network, and I am the frequent surfer, the speed is very very slow recently during peak hour. And I can see my N70 has a very weird icon on the 3G bar....
M1 broaband is not only verys low during peak hr, it even so at midnight time. I tried that 1130pm last night, at last, I decide to shut down my laptop and sleep instead staring at the blank screen waiting for the web page to appear....
Maybe M1 can only work under the SUN...
becomesexymen
13-12-2006, 01:29 PM
hi to all,
i have been using M1's VMCC months before they launched their new 3 levels of Broadband.
On the old plan (there's only one), it was up to 384kbps. I assure you, most of the time, it was able to hit that speed.
Now? I have upgraded to their 1.8Mbps... horrible speeds.
Rubber Band is now everywhere.. (Rubber Band is sometimes fast sometimes slow...)
Pretty helpless if we just discuss here and nothing is being highlighted to their management.
If you need to provide feedback, here's the link:
http://csfeedback.m1.com.sg/
I also have been using the M1 VMCC unlimited ($68) a month. I guess the speed is also determined by how strong the 3G signal in the area. Some areas such as the picnic area at Upper Peirce Reservoir only has GPRS signal, then the surfing speed would be unbearable. For me, I don't really care about the speed though since I use it only as a backup to my Starhub MOL and for travelling purpose. I do online stock trading etc so I need to go online as and when it is necessary. Today my Starhub MOL at home is down, so I am glad I have this M1 VMCC plan as a backup.
seowbin
13-12-2006, 05:24 PM
sian, out of stock liao...... usb modem :sad:
damn buay song, make me wait for 'offer' letter but i never recieve anything, now out of stock !! !@$!@$
nvm, e-mail m1 kpkb liao... like their customer service can e-mail to kpkb :D
peacepc
13-12-2006, 05:28 PM
Today my Starhub MOL at home is down, so I am glad I have this M1 VMCC plan as a backup.
I dont understand, I thought Starhub is forever on. I am having trouble with the red player frequent disconnection and thinking of getting either Starhub or M1. What is the use of a smart red player when it keeps disappearing?
I have been using SCV/Starhub since 2000 and was quite happy with it. Only starting a month ago I got this frequent disconnections. Today it is down again. I have been calling them and was told that there's an outage in my area. One time, even one of their engineers said the problem was with my old Terayon modem. I don't mind buying a new one (cost about $100) but I want them to be sure that the problem is indeed with my modem. My Starhub digital voice is also down. Luckily I didn't cancel my Singtel phone line.
Sigh
I don't stay at home most of the time. I just wanted to test it out immediately when I reach home. That was my feedback on the speed for 1st time use.
Since it claims it can go 1.8mbps, tot of replacing my MOL. Looks like not possible.
Tried out at SingPost at Paya Lebar, Telepark at Science Park. Speed is not so predictable. You will see the speed ranging from xxxbps to xxxkpbs. Never reach above 384kps though I am using 1.8mbps plan. Not sure those with 384kpbs will get even lower speed.
I use it mainly to check emails, checking some websites. Still bearable. The best thing about this is really convenience.....don't need to look for hot spots. So, this is really good for people on the move. People who need to get connected wherever they are.
AsteroidS
13-12-2006, 11:48 PM
may i know if can surf in a moving bus without disruption? thx.
koko123
14-12-2006, 08:15 AM
I had tried out the 3.6GB BB on a M1 shop laptop .
But the loading of the M1 BB web page is very much slower than my
1.5GB BB I had using Wi-Fi .
Anyone got same problem ?
becomesexymen
14-12-2006, 03:38 PM
yes, it's very very slow... more like RubberBand then called a BroadBand service.
I am on 1.8Mbps plan, average is like 200Kbps - 300kbps.. already feedback to M1. EVERY SINGLE one of my friend on this HSDPA by M1 is experiencing similar problem (regardless of card or USB modem).
To feedback and help them improve, here is the link :-)
http://csfeedback.m1.com.sg/
hotlink
14-12-2006, 04:50 PM
I also tested the speed at M1 shop... 3.8mbps is like 56kbps
Then I ask about the 2Gb limit things.. Salesgirl just quiet and smile...
give body answer like "Apply if u want to use, else u can go out"
weird
For those who are using the USB connection device, are you able to choose your connection type, either GPRS, 3G or M1 Broadband? I wonder if someone subscribed at a higher speed plan, but got connected in GPRS "speed"....
I got this in the FAQ...
5. How fast is M1 Broadband?
With the M1 Broadband 3.6Mbps network, you will experience peak speeds of up to 3.6Mbps.
The speed you will experience is determined by a combination of factors. Most important is which network you have connected to. Your device is capable of connecting to several networks, the speeds of which are:
• M1 Broadband - Up to max 3.6Mbps download
• 3G - Up to max 384Kbps download
• GPRS - Up to max 56Kbps download
edwgigi
14-12-2006, 05:39 PM
I can surf very fast on my N80, than on on lappy.
koko123
14-12-2006, 10:14 PM
Any 1 c this ?
http://digital.asiaone.com.sg/news/20061213_002.html
Anyway check with the M1 Shop 2day . No more device for loan .
U can reserved the device for loan . wen stock come next month dan sign up plan n loan device .
Is M1 BB similar to Cable BB where it work by sharing bandwidth ?
Is the slow speed affected by too many ppl surfing ?
Hope dose ppl using the M1 BB can share info .
yaf123
15-12-2006, 12:34 PM
Any 1 c this ?
http://digital.asiaone.com.sg/news/20061213_002.html
Anyway check with the M1 Shop 2day . No more device for loan .
U can reserved the device for loan . wen stock come next month dan sign up plan n loan device .
Is M1 BB similar to Cable BB where it work by sharing bandwidth ?
Is the slow speed affected by too many ppl surfing ?
Hope dose ppl using the M1 BB can share info .
I am subsriber of 1.8Mbps plan. The speed is very very slow even though in the midnight. I don think slow speed is due to too many ppl surfing, most probably due to M1 network performance is not up to standard yet.
mulderang
15-12-2006, 03:41 PM
Correct me if i am wrong ADS on newspaper are an invitation to treat...........not a contract terms...........
My experience is not so bad. I did achieve 1mbps during early moring 6.30am. Other times, the speed is really not predictable. Sometimes, it is crawling. Looking at the vodafone software, sometimes it is at xxxbps, not even 1kbps. But it may shoot up to a few hundreds kbps in the next few seconds.
I use it mainly for emails. Downloading pop/imap emails is fine. Slow, but no disconnection. Surfing the web is, depends. If speed in hundres of kbps, not too bad. Once it drop to dialup speed 56k or below, you wonder it is broadband.
The strong plus point till now is MOBILE. Can use it anywhere.
JRider
16-12-2006, 12:23 PM
New Laptop don't come with PCMCIA card slot, how? Use USB modem?
media2368
18-12-2006, 02:13 PM
Seriously, this is worst broadband I ever come across.
I can compared this with Singtel Magix 256kbps which no longer exist and it is far more better than the 384kbps.
When M1 Broadband connected, it show 3.6 Mbps but the downloading speed is only 3-6kbps...Let me quote an example...when I visited amazon.com...it take 1 min+ or more to show the complete page..
Worst thing if you found a few link that you interest you and try to open few pages....it will take times to load...and some pages even said problem loading page...and then you have to refresh to load them...
I think it is more like a dial-up connection..
ONE MORE THING to note: when M1 broadband connected, you can see connection speed of download and upload. The download speed show much higher visually but the actual download speed is only 3-6kbps. Example: I use IE to download a file which is about 5mb. The M1 broadband connection interface show 37~60kbps for downloading but the IE show 3~6kbps (in fact it hardly reached 6kbps, the most 5.5kbps). Now, maybe you will say the IE does not show the correct download speed but it is sample in calculation....The file took 18~20 mins to complete the download..if the download speed is 20kbps (for minimum), it will only take less than 6 mins to complete the download.
To me, M1 "Broadband" is NOT A TRUE BROADBAND. IT IS CRAPPED!
I also noticed the actual amount of data you downloaded is much lower than what it displayed in the usage. So if they limit the 2GB, your actual downloaded information is less than 2GB. So disappointed!
douglas_lee_sg
18-12-2006, 05:23 PM
Hi guy,
While me reading through the faqs of M1 boradband...
Refer to the attachment....
http://img301.imageshack.us/img301/4697/speedag2.gif (http://imageshack.us)
http://www.m1.com.sg/broadband/faqs.htm#m1
Hope the above attachment will explain to others,
abt the speed of the M1 boardband...?
Next time, read 1st the faqs & Term & condition,
b4 signing up anything.....!!
legacyppc
18-12-2006, 05:27 PM
So, sign up the 384k lor...
zoolover
19-12-2006, 01:02 AM
Hi everyone,
I signed up for the $22 plan. The speed from 7am-2am is about 30kbps. Very unstable connection. Many times, I got 0-9 kbps then the famous IE error screen came up. Super x1000 SLOW..... don't know if it has something to do with the Network Virus?
After few days, I receive FREE Network Virus each time I connect to M1 Broadband Network - "MS04-011 LSASS EXPLOIT". My Firewall will intercept it and the Internet Traffic wil be halted. Must reset to get connected again. This thing happens every 15-30 mins when get connected to M1 BB. The source of this network virus is IP address: 172.22.X.X Whose IP address is this? Any clue?
I have been connected to MOL for many months, my firewall has never intercepted such Network Virus before. I think it has something to do with their Network Security Management. Starhub has more experience providing BB service. May be....
Feedback to M1 many times about speed and virus........... but still getting them.......
Anyone got the similar FREE GIFT - NWV from M1?
Regards.
quekky
19-12-2006, 01:17 AM
just now try my collegue's M1, downloading email at 5kBps, so slow... download a simple email takes so many minutes...
hotlink
19-12-2006, 10:02 AM
Hi everyone,
I signed up for the $22 plan. The speed from 7am-2am is about 30kbps. Very unstable connection. Many times, I got 0-9 kbps then the famous IE error screen came up. Super x1000 SLOW..... don't know if it has something to do with the Network Virus?
After few days, I receive FREE Network Virus each time I connect to M1 Broadband Network - "MS04-011 LSASS EXPLOIT". My Firewall will intercept it and the Internet Traffic wil be halted. Must reset to get connected again. This thing happens every 15-30 mins when get connected to M1 BB. The source of this network virus is IP address: 172.22.X.X Whose IP address is this? Any clue?
I have been connected to MOL for many months, my firewall has never intercepted such Network Virus before. I think it has something to do with their Network Security Management. Starhub has more experience providing BB service. May be....
Feedback to M1 many times about speed and virus........... but still getting them.......
Anyone got the similar FREE GIFT - NWV from M1?
Regards.M1 BB is giving you a LAN IP, its mean other M1 BB users PC virus transfer to also can.. you virus transfer to other users also can...
M1 BB = everyone staying in a 3 room flat.
SH BB = everyone staying in a 18 floor building
ST BB = everyone staying in a bungalow but only got 1 door exit
We wait WiMax from QMax.. everyone is staying in a Island.. hehehe
media2368
19-12-2006, 05:48 PM
Hi guy,
While me reading through the faqs of M1 boradband...
Refer to the attachment....
http://img301.imageshack.us/img301/4697/speedag2.gif (http://imageshack.us)
http://www.m1.com.sg/broadband/faqs.htm#m1
Hope the above attachment will explain to others,
abt the speed of the M1 boardband...?
Next time, read 1st the faqs & Term & condition,
b4 signing up anything.....!!
Well, I don't really expect 100% download/upload speed from M1. How about 10% speed of 384kbps which is 38kbps ..I think my expectation is very low..BUT M1 IS GIVING US FAR LESS THAN THAT....SIGHED!!!
andrewlj
19-12-2006, 06:05 PM
ONE MORE THING to note: when M1 broadband connected, you can see connection speed of download and upload. The download speed show much higher visually but the actual download speed is only 3-6kbps. Example: I use IE to download a file which is about 5mb. The M1 broadband connection interface show 37~60kbps for downloading but the IE show 3~6kbps (in fact it hardly reached 6kbps, the most 5.5kbps). Now, maybe you will say the IE does not show the correct download speed but it is sample in calculation....The file took 18~20 mins to complete the download..if the download speed is 20kbps (for minimum), it will only take less than 6 mins to complete the download.
i think this is due o the fact that data are transmitted wirelessly, thus a string od data, because of the range / interferance, will always have error, then the computer will ask for for the data to be resend, thus u might just want to d/l a 1 GB file, but by the time the file gets over completely without error, u might have used up the 2 GB bandwidth.. lol
hesperus
19-12-2006, 10:20 PM
** below is quoted from Straits Times Forum Website...
http://straitstimes.asiaone.com/portal/site/STI/menuitem.c2aef3d65baca16abb31f610a06310a0/?vgnextoid=7532758920e39010VgnVCM1000000a35010aRCRD&vgnextfmt=vgnartid:449558521069f010VgnVCM100000430a0a0aRCRD
M1 to review broadband service's Fair Use Policy
I REFER to the article, 'M1's limit on 'unlimited' broadband plan upsets users' (ST, Dec 9).
M1's Fair Use Policy was introduced in April to prevent unreasonable data usage by a small group on the shared mobile network that may impact adversely on the usage experience of the majority of customers. We see it as a means to manage the network more effectively and efficiently for the benefit of all customers.
However, in view of the feedback we have received from our customers since the launch of the M1 broadband service and taking into account the changing nature of Internet usage, we will be reviewing this policy to better align it with the requirements of the Internet world.
Being a nascent service, we would also want to monitor general usage and traffic patterns before making a decision.
Pending the completion of the review, we are pleased to inform readers that we have not imposed additional charges on any of the customers who have used beyond 2GB.
Regarding Voice Over Internet Protocol (VOIP), we would like to clarify that while VOIP is not supported on the M1 broadband service at this stage, it has neither been banned nor blocked.
Chua Swee Kiat
General Manager
Corporate Communications, M1
hoosdathu
19-12-2006, 11:05 PM
whew... luckily never jumped on the 'pirate ship' :p
zoolover
20-12-2006, 02:46 AM
Not only the speed is ding dong between 0-1 kbps during the day time, the Network Virus is also very sickening.
MOL Starhub has no such happenings. Why? The speed is so much faster. MOL should deliver more network viruses to users. But, so far none.
The slow M1 BB network can deliver Network Virus. Are they greenhorn in Network Security? Or they are using cheap anti virus software?
Any clue?
legacyppc
20-12-2006, 08:56 AM
Not only the speed is ding dong between 0-1 kbps during the day time, the Network Virus is also very sickening.
MOL Starhub has no such happenings. Why? The speed is so much faster. MOL should deliver more network viruses to users. But, so far none.
The slow M1 BB network can deliver Network Virus. Are they greenhorn in Network Security? Or they are using cheap anti virus software?
Any clue?
Never encounter of such 'Virus' prompt at all. Is it your own system? Do a thorough scan.... Maybe your 'INTELLIGENT' virus knows how to hide from MOL and cannot hide from M1BB?
media2368
20-12-2006, 04:15 PM
Never encounter of such 'Virus' prompt at all. Is it your own system? Do a thorough scan.... Maybe your 'INTELLIGENT' virus knows how to hide from MOL and cannot hide from M1BB?
Hi Legacyppc,
I read from the other thread that M1 has waived your subscription fees for this month. I am just curious which area are you staying?
Me at Sembawang which M1 BB speed is slow.
Recently, I get a more acceptable speed, 100-300kbps. Occasionally hit 1mbps. I thought M1 has improved the network. Didn't know many of you still get such a bad speed.
I have not gotten any virus problem.
Unclemun
20-12-2006, 10:41 PM
Just got about 200 ~ 300 kbps on the 384kbps plan. Wife used it to surf local webpages etc. I tried some common websites. Feels reasonable.
Shammaker
20-12-2006, 10:48 PM
any idea what is the max upload speed that you all got?
FireHobbit
20-12-2006, 11:30 PM
How is the experience lastely? anyone using in jur west area? :s12: :s12:
Philen
20-12-2006, 11:45 PM
Dao, Unclemun,
So lucky can get such speed. Mind telling me where you guys live? What about the rest?
I'm in Sengkang. Since day one, I am getting about 10-20kbps in the evening peak hours. Cannot even surf at all.:mad:
After one week of complaining, today I managed to get 80-90kbps (not sure if it is because M1 did some improvement work).
However, I'm on the 1800 plan. Not even getting anywhere near 10% of the speed I am "supposed to be getting". :mad:
M1... CMI.
zoolover
21-12-2006, 01:09 AM
Hi
This Network virus MS04-11 LASS Exploit is an external network virus trying to attack my system. While posting this reply, I kenna 2 attacks within few mins. After the attacks, the speed will ding dong btw 0-1kbps.
May be some M1 competitors signed up as customers and are releasing this network virus to mess up the speed.
Its the Firewall that block the entry of this network virus. Something from outside, not within my system.
Any clue? SH MOL network does not allow users to pass around viruses? How? What is LAN in M1 BB? Qmax is using WiMAX? need a special modem also.
zoolover
21-12-2006, 01:13 AM
BTW,
The USB Modem also interfere with my Digital TV. I cannot receive TV Modem if the modem for M1 BB is in operation.
With MOL wifi to my notebook, I still can watch Digital TV on
Ratix0
21-12-2006, 01:39 AM
Don't bash me here, Im working for M1 promoting their broadband...
From my own experience with their test machines, speeds have improved compared to last week to now...
From what I was told, too many people jump to m1bb liao, so cannot tahan. They upgrading the system and stuff, its already evident starting from this week... Last week I use at the test there, speeds like 20kbps at best?
Now is like can go to like 500kbps at some times, constantly, or 200-300 other times. Hardly get the speed I have last week. Been told its still in progress, so look out for better speed improvement next week.
And if you realised, the first few posts of users, never complain about speed problem... Becuase back then the server still not overloaded....
Ratix0
21-12-2006, 01:45 AM
Anyhow, now if u subscribe to 384 speed, you'll get ur normal 384 speed usage. but if you're on higher plan, wait for the further upgrades, now speed go, even on 1.8mbps, to normal 384 speeds only...
Just wait next week, should be much better.
BTW zooguy, seems like you're the only one who has the "virus" thing... High chance ur system kena virus from somewhere else then when M1bb access through will trigger or something... No other reports of such virus leh.
yaf123
21-12-2006, 08:16 AM
Dao, Unclemun,
So lucky can get such speed. Mind telling me where you guys live? What about the rest?
I'm in Sengkang. Since day one, I am getting about 10-20kbps in the evening peak hours. Cannot even surf at all.:mad:
After one week of complaining, today I managed to get 80-90kbps (not sure if it is because M1 did some improvement work).
However, I'm on the 1800 plan. Not even getting anywhere near 10% of the speed I am "supposed to be getting". :mad:
M1... CMI.
I am also on 1800 plan and experiencing the same situation as u...
What M1 is doing? It seem like those complain got more speed leh... I think I am going to complain more liao..
yaf123
21-12-2006, 08:21 AM
Anyhow, now if u subscribe to 384 speed, you'll get ur normal 384 speed usage. but if you're on higher plan, wait for the further upgrades, now speed go, even on 1.8mbps, to normal 384 speeds only...
Just wait next week, should be much better.
BTW zooguy, seems like you're the only one who has the "virus" thing... High chance ur system kena virus from somewhere else then when M1bb access through will trigger or something... No other reports of such virus leh.
Still want me to wait???? M1 should have work faster lah. That is too much, M1 simply takes our $$$ and doing nothing to improve the performance level....
BTW, why chose to upgrade 384 first, I though 1800 plan user should be give priority. We pay more and receive crappy service. That is truely unfair to us.
Since my first day of using the M1BB, my firewall has been blocking intrusion from 172.22.xxx.xxx. The intrusion is rated as medium and high.
Ratix0
21-12-2006, 09:38 AM
Still want me to wait???? M1 should have work faster lah. That is too much, M1 simply takes our $$$ and doing nothing to improve the performance level....
BTW, why chose to upgrade 384 first, I though 1800 plan user should be give priority. We pay more and receive crappy service. That is truely unfair to us.
Its not upgrading 384 service or anything, they're already upgrading ALL the services, just that the max speed it goes is around 384 at the current moment. They don't pick and choose which service to upgrade.
And that put urself in m1 shoes la, u think this kind of problem click ur fingers can solve liao ah?
Ratix0
21-12-2006, 09:38 AM
Eh. Okay then <_<. Lol i'll go ask my superior about the virus thingie.
Anyhow, just to clarify, initially, I find the service sucks ass too. Until monday when I acctually feel improvement in the speed.
Shammaker
21-12-2006, 09:57 AM
Ratix0.
What is the real life max upload speed for the 384 service?
hangyong
21-12-2006, 11:04 AM
M1 is doing their job.... the connection is more stable now.... I can hitting above 400k and averaging about 200~300k, and I am on 384k plan
http://norulez.dyndns.org/forumpics/m1.jpg
Ratix0
21-12-2006, 11:34 AM
Max upload cap for all 3 services are 384...
Reality wise, never really strained the upload so I can't confirm, since I only browse website at work <_<.
media2368
21-12-2006, 12:26 PM
Today I surf with M1 BB in the morning 7am-830am...Speed wise...it seems improved...but it didn't hit 384kbps, it hit average 215kbps...though it doesn't reach the target but I am satisfied and I see M1 is doing their best to solve the problem.
I hope it can improve further...to be more stable in speed.
By the way, have you guys receive the BILL from M1?
I though the BILL should come after 1 month of usuage but I got it in a week time...
I hope M1 can be more efficiency in their service, rather than billing.
Anyway, I will constantly monitor the broadband speed before I make the payment.
tanfwc
21-12-2006, 04:44 PM
Yes, the broadband speed is indeed improving...I can hit at the higher speed now and loading of website is no problem now :D
Unclemun
21-12-2006, 05:07 PM
Dao, Unclemun,
M1... CMI.
Hey Philen, am at Queenstown. Near city = better? Maybe M1 monitoring the status and will do the necessary to get the bandwidth up.
u80242
21-12-2006, 05:50 PM
i'm on 384, sadly i'm only able to connect to 2G GPRS network at 236kbps,
and surfing is very difficult......when i try to connect to 3G, not allowed. maybe 3G signal at woodlands is weak?
anyway made complaint to M1, told they will have a test at my block.
devil1158
21-12-2006, 05:54 PM
Ratix0.
What is the real life max upload speed for the 384 service?
Why are u so concern abt the max upload speed?? (curious)
usually ppl ask more abt the max download speed...
Wolfaro
21-12-2006, 06:06 PM
speed really improve i guess...
surfing hwz now with m1 bb 1800 plan with no problem.......
Ithanium
21-12-2006, 06:34 PM
I am using 1.8Mbps for my office, very happy to know that they have improved the speed and stability of the connection. I could achieve an average of 500Kbps for download!
http://img238.imageshack.us/img238/4593/capturega5.th.jpg (http://img238.imageshack.us/my.php?image=capturega5.jpg)
Unclemun
21-12-2006, 07:00 PM
tried to dl from youtube. Maxed at 384kbps. M1 has delivered as promised. "Up to"
Dao, Unclemun,
M1... CMI.
I stay at the east, Simei. But I seldom use at home now. The initial trial at home was bad. So, reverted to MOL.
Was using in many places like Tampines, Science Park Road. All not too bad, 100-300kbps range. Now writing at Bugus, intercontinental Hotel, did reach 1mbps. Never really reach 1.8mbps. But it is good enough to surf web, forum, emails. Not sure about video though.
zoolover
22-12-2006, 01:58 AM
Since my first day of using the M1BB, my firewall has been blocking intrusion from 172.22.xxx.xxx. The intrusion is rated as medium and high.
Hi all,
Someone is spreading another new network virus: "MS05-039 Plug & Play Remote Exploit" from source: 172.22.1.82
"MS04-11 LSASS Exploit" also from 172.22.1.82
Who is 172.22.1.82? M1 HQ server? or another user? Can he/she be traced?
Why there is no such problem with SH MOL? Only M1 BB got this special presents? Or the enemy is trying to sabotage M1 network?
Thanks.
BuShuang
22-12-2006, 03:40 AM
Nice to see improvement from some of the recent posters... Hmmm... now seems to be a more appropriate time to sign up :D
What's this virus thing all abt huh? So scary... Must make sure my notebook's anti virus is fully secured... Can trace how it originated? :s12:
good thing if M1 is improving as mentioned by users here. can anyone tried video conference with thie M1 BB using the lowest plan? :o
koko123
22-12-2006, 07:42 AM
I still using ADSL BB . I tin the 3.5G improvement is still too slow .
If need to share bandwidth at 1.8Mbps speed n no VOIP , I wont sign up .
Looks like we can only depend on Wi-fi or Wi-Max as a more stable
n long term uasge , at least for 2007 for maximum outdoor usage .
Indoor Usage is Cable or ADSL .
3.5G maybe is for small group who need them for business usage .
devil1158
22-12-2006, 09:12 AM
I still using ADSL BB . I tin the 3.5G improvement is still too slow .
If need to share bandwidth at 1.8Mbps speed n no VOIP , I wont sign up .
Looks like we can only depend on Wi-fi or Wi-Max as a more stable
n long term uasge , at least for 2007 for maximum outdoor usage .
Indoor Usage is Cable or ADSL .
3.5G maybe is for small group who need them for business usage .
i thought Wi- max is more like hot spot in some housing estate only, not whole singapore. :s11:
M1 3.5G is more like connection on the move as long as u got mobile coverage u can use
Hi all,
Someone is spreading another new network virus: "MS05-039 Plug & Play Remote Exploit" from source: 172.22.1.82
"MS04-11 LSASS Exploit" also from 172.22.1.82
Who is 172.22.1.82? M1 HQ server? or another user? Can he/she be traced?
Why there is no such problem with SH MOL? Only M1 BB got this special presents? Or the enemy is trying to sabotage M1 network?
Thanks.
I had the same attack from 172.22.1.82 and it is rated HIGH risk from my firewall. Luckily my firewall can block it.
dakl2000
22-12-2006, 09:18 AM
Perhaps those on M1BB can highlight this so called viral attack to M1 and let's hear from them then.
Nice to see improvement from some of the recent posters... Hmmm... now seems to be a more appropriate time to sign up :D
What's this virus thing all abt huh? So scary... Must make sure my notebook's anti virus is fully secured... Can trace how it originated? :s12:
I think we should not be too happy with the speed improvement. I've run speedtest and it is at about 1/3 of the 384mbs speed. The surfing is acceptable, but, sometime in january, when their stock has arrived, more ppl will sign up and history might repeat again. sian. AND the 2GB limit is still a pain.
This is the result of the speedtest of different time
21 Dec 2006, 5pm
Trial 1 - 109.90kbps (www.2wire.com/bandwidth/initialmeter.php)
Trail 2 - 138.2kbs (http://www.bandwidthplace.com/speedtest/)
21 Dec 2006, 9.30pm
Trial 1 - 109.50kbps (www.2wire.com/bandwidth/initialmeter.php)
Trial 2 - 103.5kbps (http://www.bandwidthplace.com/speedtest/)
22 Dec 2006 12.50am
Trial 1 - 82.50kbps (www.2wire.com/bandwidth/initialmeter.php)
Trial 2 - 77.6kbps (http://www.bandwidthplace.com/speedtest/)
leaving_footsteps
22-12-2006, 09:29 AM
I also heard from my friend who lives in sengkang saying the download speeds has increased and stability improved.
LanPaJiao
22-12-2006, 09:30 AM
I just terminated my M1 BB, blasted them and throw the Set back into their face.
Knn, give me 1 month free i also dowan.
The bloody 1.8mbps behave like a 56kbps modem. Cost me 5k of loss when trading online while on the move.
I seriously think they should remove the 1.8 MBPS or 384kbps if they cant fulfill their promise. Should put in their advertisement "equivalent to 56kpbs modem" more appropriate.
**** it.
devil1158
22-12-2006, 09:35 AM
I just terminated my M1 BB, blasted them and throw the Set back into their face.
Knn, give me 1 month free i also dowan.
The bloody 1.8mbps behave like a 56kbps modem. Cost me 5k of loss when trading online while on the move.
I seriously think they should remove the 1.8 MBPS or 384kbps if they cant fulfill their promise. Should put in their advertisement "equivalent to 56kpbs modem" more appropriate.
**** it.
Sad to hear abt ur lost..
since u know that time the speed is slow y did u still use it to see ur STOCKS
stick to fixed line bah
leaving_footsteps
22-12-2006, 09:42 AM
Getting a leased line with 99.9% SLA is more suitable for him.
ry0suk1
22-12-2006, 10:31 AM
This Few Days i do notice that the small improvement by them. surfing no longer take so long(Use to be slower then 56k) now can view quite fast..
Done the speed test:
22DEC 10:26am
268.90kbps (www.2wire.com/bandwidth/initialmeter.php (http://www.2wire.com/bandwidth/initialmeter.php))
148.2kbps (http://www.bandwidthplace.com/speedtest/)
With
Signal of 3/5
tuck_meng
22-12-2006, 03:04 PM
I also heard from my friend who lives in sengkang saying the download speeds has increased and stability improved.
Can you ask your friend how's the 3.5G signal strength in SengKang? I stay in that area too and planning to get this M1 Broadband. Thanks.
LanPaJiao
22-12-2006, 04:22 PM
Sad to hear abt ur lost..
since u know that time the speed is slow y did u still use it to see ur STOCKS
stick to fixed line bah
I m not a techkie, so i tot it should be acceptable. But it is ridiculously SLOW. And i did not exit the market in time to avoid the losses. I was really MAD. I should have stick to my home Maxonline or the Poems stations. But i was running around that day.
Tough luck.
koko123
22-12-2006, 09:48 PM
i thought Wi- max is more like hot spot in some housing estate only, not whole singapore. :s11:
M1 3.5G is more like connection on the move as long as u got mobile coverage u can use
The 3.5G must at least match the speed stability of cable n adsl .
If not it is not worth to go for high speed plan of more than 1M .
And without speed stability , it is not for ppl who intend to use it as computer for multi-uasge .
Abderus
23-12-2006, 12:54 AM
i signed up for the 1.8mbps and so far i have got speeds of around 40kbps. seriously it is the worst broadband service i have tired so far. singtel and pacnet have both given me a pleasent time without any complain as they both have promise to provide the speed indicated on their plan.
M1 is absolutely terrible. i am even able to receive speed of 0kbps during both peak and off peak hours. they are only trying to prove that they are still new and not yet able to provide what they promised. all this will only helps to further worsen their name and kick them out of the broadband market.
for those of you out there who are considering, please do not put ur name down. u will regret it for sure. i'm gonna end the contract once the 6 mths is up and there will be many who will follow.
i just wish that m1 will do something to make sure this is not a flop. if they wana retain their costumers, they better be doing something good and fast.
btw i have never hit 384kbps. NEVER
devil1158
23-12-2006, 10:48 AM
i signed up for the 1.8mbps and so far i have got speeds of around 40kbps. seriously it is the worst broadband service i have tired so far. singtel and pacnet have both given me a pleasent time without any complain as they both have promise to provide the speed indicated on their plan.
M1 is absolutely terrible. i am even able to receive speed of 0kbps during both peak and off peak hours. they are only trying to prove that they are still new and not yet able to provide what they promised. all this will only helps to further worsen their name and kick them out of the broadband market.
for those of you out there who are considering, please do not put ur name down. u will regret it for sure. i'm gonna end the contract once the 6 mths is up and there will be many who will follow.
i just wish that m1 will do something to make sure this is not a flop. if they wana retain their costumers, they better be doing something good and fast.
have u been using recently?? its surfing speed have improve since wed..
MGeaR356
23-12-2006, 11:35 AM
just to enquire..
I understand that it is not possible to have M1 like normal suntalk free incoming call plans + m1 BB in a single same number sim card rite?
or there is changes already?
LanPaJiao
23-12-2006, 11:36 AM
Hey, I BLASTED them after losing 5k in trading and TERMINATE the stupid contract right there and then,.....and they agree to waive the Penalty....which i said i will NEVER pay a single cents.
This is done in view of the fact that they still gave me 1 month FREE usage due to my earlier complaint...
I told them i m not KEEN in freebies. I rather they fulfill their part of the contract by giving us wat they claim...which is UNLIMITED broadband and 1.8 Mbps speed.
Stupid M1.
zoolover
23-12-2006, 01:31 PM
I had the same attack from 172.22.1.82 and it is rated HIGH risk from my firewall. Luckily my firewall can block it.
Have feedback to M1 many times about the viruses. So far, they have been very quiet. They just said no one has ever complained about the viruses.
More new strains of viruses (network) are spreading in the M1 BB network, my system intercepted 2 types only. Howabout those our firewall cannot detect? Wow, dangerous..... siah....
The source of these attacks are: 172.22.x.x; whose IP addresses are those? I think they are related to M1.
Looks like M1 is 'green horn' in network administration, particularly in security. Must send the staff for courses in Network Security.
Starhub Maxonline - so far no such attacks in the past 2 years.
Anyone can advise?
Has anyone receive any bill from M1 stating the data usage per month?I actually know of one company reselling for mobile broadband but did not have the fair use policy.
ReyonLocksley
23-12-2006, 04:13 PM
Seem like the speed is getting better
yaf123
23-12-2006, 05:02 PM
Ya loh. Seem like M1 really work hard to improve the speed. BUT they will need to work harder in order to keep customer after 6 month later.
Abderus
23-12-2006, 05:16 PM
plz lah. im using it now and the speed is still the same i duno wat is M1 trying to. i called them today to complain abt it. they say they are doing something, but sadly i dont see much improvement. i got my set on the 9 dec. so i believe that i'm one of the 1st few user. i just feel that they are not yet ready to enter the market.
can all those ppl who are getting 3 digit speed tell me if you did anything. i never got a chance to get such speed for more that 5 sec. going online has been a burden and total waste of time with M1.
ngweimin
23-12-2006, 06:50 PM
Has anyone got the broadband router by LinkSys from M1? I'm peeved by the fact they charge a rental of $10.50/mth for it. They should give an option to buy it (since it can be used as a standalone broadband router) as I find that the rental fee is pretty high. Does anyone know if the set can be purchased elsewhere and be used with the M1 PCMCIA 3G card?
kennyg1969
23-12-2006, 08:04 PM
just to enquire..
I understand that it is not possible to have M1 like normal suntalk free incoming call plans + m1 BB in a single same number sim card rite?
or there is changes already?
No change in that...
primera_p12
24-12-2006, 12:04 AM
2 weeks ago, I've checked with Mediapro, they're selling it at around $330.
ngweimin
24-12-2006, 12:23 AM
You are correct. Just checked Mediapro's pricelist and it is indeed $330. Thus in order to make it worthwhile buying one you would have to use it for 2 yrs and 8 months.
I am very keen to switch from MOL6000 to M1 but I find the difference in price not so great.
MOL 6000
$56/pm after Hub Club discount
M1
$38+$10.50= $48.50/pm
Not to mention I will incur higher charges for my other Starhub services since I'm not a Hubber anymore due to unsubscribing from MOL.
Clearly, the advantages of M1 are total mobility but stability is still a concern.
devil1158
25-12-2006, 11:28 PM
so quiet...
So hows the network now??
not much diff from I last updated. it wasn't as bad as first signed up < 100kbps most of the time. Now, it is almost btween 50kbps to 300 kbps (i'm on 1.8mpbs). Occassionally, jump to 1mpbs, or above 500kpbs. But not often.
In general, bearable when you need to get online. But to be really 'broadband', i really hope i can have >500kbps most of the time.
Philen
26-12-2006, 10:08 AM
The average speed tested is about 100-150kbps. Why I use "average" is because the speed is really very unstable. I once did 3 tests immediately one after another, and I got something like 80, 250, 150kbps.
Overall now quite okay for me (since I am only using 256kbps in the office). Cannot really feel the difference, which may mean that they are still not up to the mark - don't forget it's 256 vs 1800.
In conclusion, I believed M1 jumped the gun and launched their 384 service when they were not ready. But they made up for it with their "rectification works" (at least in most parts of Singapore). I guess they are still NOT ready now for their 1800 service, since it was mentioned that the max speed expected is still 384kbps. But it was decent of them to waived 1 month's subscription for those affected by the slow speed.
Anyway, still got another 5 months to monitor their services... My options are still open.
zoolover
26-12-2006, 11:25 PM
Has anyone got the broadband router by LinkSys from M1? I'm peeved by the fact they charge a rental of $10.50/mth for it. They should give an option to buy it (since it can be used as a standalone broadband router) as I find that the rental fee is pretty high. Does anyone know if the set can be purchased elsewhere and be used with the M1 PCMCIA 3G card?
Read from the review that PCMCIA card will be phased out soon. To be replaced by Expresscard. Linksys could be coming out with a router that takes Data-SIM card. Pluging the SIM card into the PCMCIA card and pluging in the PCMCIA card into the Linksys Router is a little bit strange.
A rounter that takes SIM card is better. SIM card can be slided out easily from the USB modem. If that slides in easily into the new router. Perfect!
Expresscard version of the Huawei modem coming soon. Just wait a little while.
Philen
26-12-2006, 11:26 PM
Looks like I've spoken too soon....
The speed is crawling again this evening... last check about 50kbps. Anyone else getting this crap?
Can't even surf decently. I very frustrated now - I better shut down before I smash my laptop. #%@*&!!! M1 will probably make my life shorter if I stay with them...
Perhaps M1 is signing up more subscribers faster than their "rectification" work?
Ratix0
26-12-2006, 11:40 PM
Acctually its not sliding in the PC card into the Router. Just the data card that comes with the PC card into the router.
zoolover
03-01-2007, 12:28 AM
The speed is still very slow at 0-20 kbps today. M1 takes in more users? New modems have arrived? Back to early Dec 2006 speed. Pek Chek very pek chek.... Pay so much for less than 56k dial up speed.
What a joke! This is really a joke! Surf until you give up automatically! Fair Use Policy can be removed........ because no one would have the patience to accumulate 2Gb.... hahahahaa
Ratix0
03-01-2007, 01:05 AM
Quite slow lately, I realised too... The week before christmas best la, the speed VERY VERY fast. I happy when using...
Now slow down again -_-. And yar taking in new users liao. Lol funny things happen when people kiasu reserve all over... Then call them like 5-6 times becuase they reserve like 20 times? Then they kpkp. =_=
Wolfaro
03-01-2007, 01:38 AM
seriously speed was ok even one 01.01.2007... started to slow down since 02.01.2007..
I do feel the speed went slower. As expected, the previous improvement done my M1 was not sufficient when the new stock arrived.
RobVanDam
03-01-2007, 10:15 AM
hey any of you have same problem cannot even access Youtube or Gmail ??
radon
03-01-2007, 10:48 AM
yes, i agree that the speed is much slower. Got problem accessing mail & even google.com
RobVanDam
03-01-2007, 11:08 AM
Aarrghh M1!!!!! eh i read somewhere that they are saying they are using HSDPA? is the current batch of Broadband which uses the Huawei White modem HSDPA ??
leaving_footsteps
03-01-2007, 11:09 AM
That's the same for my other ISPs. I think the cable break is still affecting ISPs badly. Especially since business users are back. Wait a 2 or 3 weeks see how things go.
legacyppc
03-01-2007, 11:49 AM
Looks like my M1 - 384 is also crawling now....
seowbin
03-01-2007, 02:08 PM
me using the 2 head usb now den can work
i got the white one leh.. just got it a few days ago...
i use the 1 header one like not enough power, always self dc on this comp, on my laptop ok wor....
seowbin
03-01-2007, 07:30 PM
think just now after i commented ok den i realise i can't surf net at all to oversea webby besides hwz :sad:
can't login msn also , having high packet losses
legacyppc
04-01-2007, 10:43 AM
Speed has been pretty bad in Jan 07 for the last few days, very inconsistent. Sometime cannot even get online. I think it is overloaded with customer as their equipement cannot substain the take up rate. Quite disappointed...
chiamtj
04-01-2007, 03:29 PM
My connection seems to be stuck in 2G mode. Cannot even connect to 3G service anymore. Error message says I'm not allowed to connect to 3G network! M1 say their engineer now investigating.
YorYor
04-01-2007, 04:29 PM
Anyone using this in their office? Thinking of evaluting this for 6 months before deciding whether to continue using this or taking up a standard ADSL for my new office (which is double the cost).
Taking the 1.8Mbps plan with the router would only be $48.50 per month, compared to $98 for the SingNet BizWeb Smartoffice.
Would be using it purely for surfing the web, downloading emails, downloading Linux updates etc.
My new office is in Aljunied. I'm sure this would be better than 56K dial-up (which is what I'm using), but more affordable than ADSL (SingNet $98, Starhub $118).
Ratix0
04-01-2007, 11:42 PM
Haha, don't think its wise to take up at the moment though. Too many users getting on, too many new users when their system still not ready. But m1bb still rather promising, since I've experienced times when the speed is good for net surfing, matches my current singnet 3.5 at home's speed.
YorYor
05-01-2007, 10:13 AM
Hmmm... what times are those? No use if it's only in the wee hours. ;p
Anyway, can someone share with me the breakdown in cost? I'm not a M1 user, so means I have to buy/rent a SIM card from them as well...
limpoop
05-01-2007, 06:18 PM
Went down to M1 Paragon today around 3pm and tested the M1 BB (dont know the speed but the laptop was using the white USB modem), here are my results:
-Loal sites like HWZ, Singtel, M1, DBS, GV etc.. speed was slow, GV took about 4mins to load
-Overseas like CNN, BBC, APPLE, ABC, M$, IBM etc.. super slow (some took 10mins to load)
-Ping time to singnet was around 200ms (packet loss nearly 15%)
-Ping time to USA (like Redhat and Dell) was 600ms (packet loss almost 30%)
-Downloaded some files from ftp.dell.com, speed was around 0.7 to 1KB/sec
-Unable to watch any videos fom CNN, youtube, apple etc..
I think I will give it a miss...
Sambuca78
05-01-2007, 06:43 PM
Went down to M1 Paragon today around 3pm and tested the M1 BB (dont know the speed but the laptop was using the white USB modem), here are my results:
-Loal sites like HWZ, Singtel, M1, DBS, GV etc.. speed was slow, GV took about 4mins to load
-Overseas like CNN, BBC, APPLE, ABC, M$, IBM etc.. super slow (some took 10mins to load)
i just got mine from bugis M1 this afternoon. I think surfing local sites is ok, oversea sites kinda slow... Not sure is it relate to the earthquake tat y oversea is slow...
http://img405.imageshack.us/img405/9403/m1bbon1.png
The screenshow is taken when i click quote to ur msg... btw, i m using 384k... :)
peacepc
05-01-2007, 07:50 PM
i just got mine from bugis M1 this afternoon. I think surfing local sites is ok, oversea sites kinda slow... Not sure is it relate to the earthquake tat y oversea is slow...
Were you told it is unlimited? And did they recommend which area to take the higher speed? I understand not all of Singapore has higher speed, so it is not economical to pay more when you can only access lower speed.
Sambuca78
06-01-2007, 05:51 PM
Were you told it is unlimited? And did they recommend which area to take the higher speed? I understand not all of Singapore has higher speed, so it is not economical to pay more when you can only access lower speed.
i know is not real unlimited, but ok lah since i just surfing... :)
http://www.m1.com.sg/broadband/faqs.htm
5. How fast is M1 Broadband?
With the M1 Broadband 3.6Mbps network, you will experience peak speeds of up to 3.6Mbps.
The speed you will experience is determined by a combination of factors. Most important is which network you have connected to. Your device is capable of connecting to several networks, the speeds of which are:
• M1 Broadband - Up to max 3.6Mbps download
• 3G - Up to max 384Kbps download
• GPRS - Up to max 56Kbps download
* Speeds may vary depending on coverage, location, network traffic and the type of data being transmitted.
6. Is M1 Broadband available everywhere?
Yes. M1 Broadband service is available everywhere in Singapore offering speeds of up to 3.6Mbps at Central Business District and up to 1.8Mbps island-wide.
dreamer_toons
06-01-2007, 10:03 PM
Quite confusing....so it it limited (cap at 2gb) or unlimited.
Thought some time ago, m1 actually said it was unlimited, with no cap....
Anyone can confirm?
LanPaJiao
06-01-2007, 11:24 PM
YOU SHOULD, I LOST 5000 IN TRADING BECOS OF THIS PIECE OF JUNK THAT PROMISE 1.8Mbps but in the end only 56kbps!
YorYor
07-01-2007, 10:10 AM
So for non-time-critical usage, it would probably suffice? So it is equivalent to 56kbps with the possibility of something better?
Anyone tried using it in Linux?
Anyone staying in Aljunied area willing to come to office area for one day for me to trial things out? I don't mind paying you a token $5 or $10 for the trouble. Preferrably someone with the 1.8Mbps plan...
I can also pick up the device from you in the morning and return it to you in the afternoon.
devil1158
07-01-2007, 03:35 PM
YOU SHOULD, I LOST 5000 IN TRADING BECOS OF THIS PIECE OF JUNK THAT PROMISE 1.8Mbps but in the end only 56kbps!
Pls lah u know the thing is slow that time still use it to see shares :s11:
stick to fixed line better or call ur broker(correct spelling??)....
how many times u wan to tell the world u lost $5k
Pls stop using capped words its irrating..
peacepc
07-01-2007, 03:40 PM
I would like to check with those in Jurong East and Bukit Batok area - how is the speed? thinking of signing up tomorrow - thanks.
Ratix0
08-01-2007, 12:14 AM
Hmmm... what times are those? No use if it's only in the wee hours. ;p
Anyway, can someone share with me the breakdown in cost? I'm not a M1 user, so means I have to buy/rent a SIM card from them as well...
The week before christmas. The speed was great. As fast as my 3.5mbps at home.
wah lan today i went down to m1 shop at tampines mall
i tried surfing soccernet using their laptop at the entrance
CMI the page takes ages to load and i had to refresh quite a few times
tamago_
08-01-2007, 07:26 PM
Anyone using this in their office? Thinking of evaluting this for 6 months before deciding whether to continue using this or taking up a standard ADSL for my new office (which is double the cost).
Taking the 1.8Mbps plan with the router would only be $48.50 per month, compared to $98 for the SingNet BizWeb Smartoffice.
Would be using it purely for surfing the web, downloading emails, downloading Linux updates etc.
My new office is in Aljunied. I'm sure this would be better than 56K dial-up (which is what I'm using), but more affordable than ADSL (SingNet $98, Starhub $118).
i'm on starhub adsl business (yes, starhub+adsl) and it is really great. dun waste time with M1 and get no connectivity in the end.... somemore, i can foresee u'll never be able to get ur .iso linux updates thru such a connection speed.... :(
YorYor
08-01-2007, 09:58 PM
i'm on starhub adsl business (yes, starhub+adsl) and it is really great. dun waste time with M1 and get no connectivity in the end.... somemore, i can foresee u'll never be able to get ur .iso linux updates thru such a connection speed.... :(
Nah, wouldn't bother downloading ISO via that if it's unstable. Main use is really checking email, some FTP activity, apt updates, MSN etc. Well, I suppose everything comes at a price. Will see how it progresses by the time I move to my new office. I wonder if M1's free delivery comes with a test-on-the-spot-satisfaction guarantee.
One reluctance is also the requirement for a 24 month contract tie-down... I foresee business broadband getting priced more reasonably in time to come, so trying out M1 for 6 months was something I could live with. I've survived on 56kbps for more than 1 year liao, so if it's comparable, I won't be suffering too much. ;p
Sambuca78
08-01-2007, 10:50 PM
Since yest the M1 BB is ****ing slow and accelerate also very slow!!! Now i finally understand y so many ppl tu lan liao... :mad:
Ratix0
08-01-2007, 10:52 PM
Yar now I also don't think its great becuase its not keeping up with the speed its expanding its userbase...
seowbin
08-01-2007, 10:57 PM
only surfing hwz is good
i go oversea webby, damn slow
i remote to my remote server can vomit blood
msn cannot login !! arhhhhh... must complain liao
Sambuca78
09-01-2007, 09:02 AM
only surfing hwz is good
i go oversea webby, damn slow
i remote to my remote server can vomit blood
msn cannot login !! arhhhhh... must complain liao
Where to complain? :mad:
Arucard
09-01-2007, 02:51 PM
very slow , buay tahan , must complain or not? i using the 1.8mbps one
fxtrek
09-01-2007, 03:03 PM
just go ahead and complain.call 1627 and complain to the CSO.
real slowed speed for the past week.complained liao and they said due to taiwan earthquakes.
sigh,what to do?
limpoop
09-01-2007, 03:44 PM
I think M1's BB infra is not ready for so many new users, it was just like TechNet when it was first started many years ago.
Before you signup, shuld walk doen to M1 shop and try first.
Sambuca78
09-01-2007, 03:44 PM
just go ahead and complain.call 1627 and complain to the CSO.
real slowed speed for the past week.complained liao and they said due to taiwan earthquakes.
sigh,what to do?
No leh... before sunday evening still ok, surf local sites like HWZ quite fast, only oversea is slow. But now is local sites also slow... :mad:
The_Davis
09-01-2007, 04:08 PM
anyone received their first month bills?
fxtrek
09-01-2007, 04:29 PM
yes,paid up liao
The_Davis
10-01-2007, 12:22 AM
anything mentioned about the 2gb limit?
iMbEst
10-01-2007, 01:55 PM
i think M1 never expect the response to be so good, and how can you expect good connection when it's not even having the same coverage of GSM network? I dun see people complaining about their poor GSM connectivity here, I think most gina here needs to change their mindset.
To me, $22 for 384kbps is very good liao man, those people keep on complaining are just taking things for granted. U know some people in the world still use modem at 56kbps? I do know people in SG still stucked with 36kbps one....
anyway, would this HSDPA thingy connect by itself? or everytime we have to go select which network we need to join?
seowbin & pbeyondp, so far you haven't received any bill for exceeding the 2GB right? do they have the right to reserve the right to back charge you in the future?
Sambuca78
10-01-2007, 02:15 PM
i think M1 never expect the response to be so good, and how can you expect good connection when it's not even having the same coverage of GSM network? I dun see people complaining about their poor GSM connectivity here, I think most gina here needs to change their mindset.
To me, $22 for 384kbps is very good liao man, those people keep on complaining are just taking things from granted. U know some people in the world still use modem at 56kbps? I do know people in SG still stucked with 36kbps one....
anyway, would this HSDPA thingy connect by itself? or everytime we have to go select which network we need to join?
seowbin & pbeyondp, so far you haven't received any bill for exceeding the 2GB right? do they have the right to reserve the right to back charge you in the future?
no leh... i using 384kbps, n was satified wif the local site speed but oversea still slow.Then until sunday evening local sites also lag liao... :(
seowbin
10-01-2007, 02:24 PM
To me, $22 for 384kbps is very good liao man, those people keep on complaining are just taking things from granted. U know some people in the world still use modem at 56kbps? I do know people in SG still stucked with 36kbps one....
bo tio but the problem is recently i can't even surf oversea webby properly
back in the olden days when i'm paying $68 no such problem.... knn.....
i ping to my oversea server high lag + connection pingtime out.....
my friend usnig singtel unlimited one also nv kanna like me..... his bill lagi power always 4 to 5gb.. :s13:
m1 nv show usage level one.......
iMbEst
10-01-2007, 03:23 PM
how come you guys not scared about the surcharge for exceeding 2GB one? I dun mind slower speed but I really scared I upload too much data to my servers....
Ratix0
10-01-2007, 04:26 PM
AFAIK, the 2 GB thingie is mainly a safety net for M1... Its not everyone who exceed 2GB = kena.
Its more like how Singtel and Starhub sends warning letter if they find that u are dling "coughcough" stuff a lot, for m1, they can choose to terminate your line, or charge u 1 cent per kb after 2GB.
Normally, for normal usage(not heavy dling), not charged after 2GB. Will give the users a call to check stuff out before carrying any actions.
So, its quite ghey ppl spread nonsense saying over 2GB = confirm charge.
media2368
10-01-2007, 06:13 PM
no leh... i using 384kbps, n was satified wif the local site speed but oversea still slow.Then until sunday evening local sites also lag liao... :(
me also leh...using 384kbps plan...the speed is Kan Na Sai...though I get my 1st month bill waived but still very unhappy at current stage...sighed! :o
iMbEst
10-01-2007, 07:32 PM
AFAIK, the 2 GB thingie is mainly a safety net for M1... Its not everyone who exceed 2GB = kena.
Its more like how Singtel and Starhub sends warning letter if they find that u are dling "coughcough" stuff a lot, for m1, they can choose to terminate your line, or charge u 1 cent per kb after 2GB.
Normally, for normal usage(not heavy dling), not charged after 2GB. Will give the users a call to check stuff out before carrying any actions.
So, its quite ghey ppl spread nonsense saying over 2GB = confirm charge.
my concern is not about the download but upload, I'm sure I will definitely upload more than 2GB every month.....if that's the case...let's see how bah.
DotDotDotZ
10-01-2007, 09:32 PM
Hi, I guess M1 broadband definitely have rooms for improvement. I am on the 384kbps plan.
Surfing the web at night during peak hours are slow. Loading speed of 1 webpage can take around 2 to 3 mins.
Sometimes the connection can be very laggy. I guess today I have experience the worst lag ever since I subscribe to this broadband
Taken at around 8.45pm today:
C:\DOCUME~1\USER>ping -t www.hardwarezone.com (http://www.hardwarezone.com/)
Pinging hardwarezone.com [202.79.222.13] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 202.79.222.13: bytes=32 time=4055ms TTL=119
Reply from 202.79.222.13: bytes=32 time=3849ms TTL=119
Reply from 202.79.222.13: bytes=32 time=4018ms TTL=119
Reply from 202.79.222.13: bytes=32 time=3469ms TTL=119
Reply from 202.79.222.13: bytes=32 time=3381ms TTL=119
Reply from 202.79.222.13: bytes=32 time=3588ms TTL=119
Reply from 202.79.222.13: bytes=32 time=3368ms TTL=119
Reply from 202.79.222.13: bytes=32 time=3789ms TTL=119
Ping statistics for 202.79.222.13:
Packets: Sent = 8, Received = 8, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 3368ms, Maximum = 4055ms, Average = 3689ms
Control-C
^C
C:\DOCUME~1\USER>
C:\DOCUME~1\USER>tracert www.hardwarezone.com (http://www.hardwarezone.com/)
Tracing route to hardwarezone.com [202.79.222.13]
1 4034 ms 4079 ms 4279 ms 172.16.21.9
2 4060 ms 4078 ms 3728 ms unknown.net.reach.com [202.79.92.254]
3 3848 ms 3339 ms 3149 ms unknown.net.reach.com [202.126.173.229]
4 3347 ms 3389 ms 3140 ms i-2-0.ntp-core01.net.reach.com [202.84.180.141]
5 3278 ms 3410 ms 2987 ms i-5-15.tmhstcbr01.net.reach.com [202.84.140.173]
6 2717 ms 2876 ms 2988 ms g1_3-tmh01.net.reach.com [202.84.153.186]
7 3377 ms 3459 ms 3450 ms unknown.net.reach.com [134.159.129.102]
8 3215 ms 3000 ms 3349 ms pc2-an-ats-int01.starhub.net.sg [203.118.3.212]
9 3037 ms 2829 ms 3139 ms 203.116.9.78
10 2928 ms 2939 ms 3039 ms 202.79.210.186
11 3058 ms 3629 ms 3499 ms 202.79.222.13
Trace complete.
Usually when the connection is laggy, the max ping I get is around 900ms to 1500ms on local websites. When the connection is not laggy, I usually get around 300ms+ on local websites. Is the common among other M1 broadband users?
Download speed wise, downloading from local website is fast, at around 20 to 40KB/s.
I terminated my home broadband to subscribe for M1 broadband. Maybe I made a wrong choice or maybe I did not make a wrong choice. Hope that M1 broadband doesn't disappoint me further. :)
Wolfaro
10-01-2007, 10:04 PM
Hi, I guess M1 broadband definitely have rooms for improvement. I am on the 384kbps plan.
Surfing the web at night during peak hours are slow. Loading speed of 1 webpage can take around 2 to 3 mins.
Sometimes the connection can be very laggy. I guess today I have experience the worst lag ever since I subscribe to this broadband
Taken at around 8.45pm today:
C:\DOCUME~1\USER>ping -t www.hardwarezone.com (http://www.hardwarezone.com/)
Pinging hardwarezone.com [202.79.222.13] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 202.79.222.13: bytes=32 time=4055ms TTL=119
Reply from 202.79.222.13: bytes=32 time=3849ms TTL=119
Reply from 202.79.222.13: bytes=32 time=4018ms TTL=119
Reply from 202.79.222.13: bytes=32 time=3469ms TTL=119
Reply from 202.79.222.13: bytes=32 time=3381ms TTL=119
Reply from 202.79.222.13: bytes=32 time=3588ms TTL=119
Reply from 202.79.222.13: bytes=32 time=3368ms TTL=119
Reply from 202.79.222.13: bytes=32 time=3789ms TTL=119
Ping statistics for 202.79.222.13:
Packets: Sent = 8, Received = 8, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Minimum = 3368ms, Maximum = 4055ms, Average = 3689ms
Control-C
^C
C:\DOCUME~1\USER>
C:\DOCUME~1\USER>tracert www.hardwarezone.com (http://www.hardwarezone.com/)
Tracing route to hardwarezone.com [202.79.222.13]
1 4034 ms 4079 ms 4279 ms 172.16.21.9
2 4060 ms 4078 ms 3728 ms unknown.net.reach.com [202.79.92.254]
3 3848 ms 3339 ms 3149 ms unknown.net.reach.com [202.126.173.229]
4 3347 ms 3389 ms 3140 ms i-2-0.ntp-core01.net.reach.com [202.84.180.141]
5 3278 ms 3410 ms 2987 ms i-5-15.tmhstcbr01.net.reach.com [202.84.140.173]
6 2717 ms 2876 ms 2988 ms g1_3-tmh01.net.reach.com [202.84.153.186]
7 3377 ms 3459 ms 3450 ms unknown.net.reach.com [134.159.129.102]
8 3215 ms 3000 ms 3349 ms pc2-an-ats-int01.starhub.net.sg [203.118.3.212]
9 3037 ms 2829 ms 3139 ms 203.116.9.78
10 2928 ms 2939 ms 3039 ms 202.79.210.186
11 3058 ms 3629 ms 3499 ms 202.79.222.13
Trace complete.
Usually when the connection is laggy, the max ping I get is around 900ms to 1500ms on local websites. When the connection is not laggy, I usually get around 300ms+ on local websites. Is the common among other M1 broadband users?
Download speed wise, downloading from local website is fast, at around 20 to 40KB/s.
I terminated my home broadband to subscribe for M1 broadband. Maybe I made a wrong choice or maybe I did not make a wrong choice. Hope that M1 broadband doesn't disappoint me further. :)
hardwarezone server lag even if i on MOL 12K
Twilight
10-01-2007, 10:14 PM
Just got my broadband USB device..
So happy try to configure it..
Man!! Took me 30 mins to configure it.. The VMC Lite hanged and read thru some docu.
Instruct me to go M1 Site to download the latest version..
Browse here and browse there. DARM! WTF is the software.. Dont see any link to download it.
Call up 1627... Please hold........... for 45 mins! @!$!@%#@!% Finally someone pick up ..
Verified this and that.. and lastly say I'm sorry.. I cannot help you.. Technical dept is closed for the day.. %@!#%@#^$#^$#$# Give them a good one after I hear that.. Asked me to wait another 15 mins and finally give me the link to download....
Download the file and install it.. SIM Card cannot detect! WTF.. try to put the sim card into a phone and No problem leh.. try it back again and play around with this and that FINALLY got it working after 1.5hrs! (Maybe I no skill)
Hit connect and MY GOD! Took 3 mins to load up HWZ!.
Try speedtest.net and it took 10 mins!
WA!!! I'm not going to pay for suchs service man.. going to call them up and ask them wat they are doing... If worst come to worst go to CASE and complain.. Dont give me the crap say the cable break lah... as Local site also take so long.....
So anyone want to join with me together to complain? :s22:
ctrlplusf5
11-01-2007, 12:38 AM
The week before christmas. The speed was great. As fast as my 3.5mbps at home.
hey guys, is the internet jam you guys are currently facing has something to do with the hengchun quake? i know local isproviders have re-routed international sites to other cables.
any tracert report to www.paypal.com (http://www.paypal.com)
that is a US hosted site and i wonder what route is M1 using after the quakes.
magix
12-01-2007, 10:14 PM
The speed seems to get slower then before! Most of the time I am on 3G instead of 3.5G network. Anybody in Bt Batok area facing this problem?
Sambuca78
12-01-2007, 11:16 PM
Area : East
Reception : 4bars
Network : 3G+
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping www.google.com -t
Pinging www.l.google.com [66.249.89.99] with 32 bytes of data:
Request timed out.
Reply from 66.249.89.99: bytes=32 time=446ms TTL=240
Request timed out.
Reply from 66.249.89.99: bytes=32 time=376ms TTL=240
Reply from 66.249.89.99: bytes=32 time=385ms TTL=240
Reply from 66.249.89.99: bytes=32 time=404ms TTL=240
Reply from 66.249.89.99: bytes=32 time=363ms TTL=240
Request timed out.
Reply from 66.249.89.99: bytes=32 time=387ms TTL=240
Reply from 66.249.89.99: bytes=32 time=376ms TTL=240
Reply from 66.249.89.99: bytes=32 time=395ms TTL=240
Reply from 66.249.89.99: bytes=32 time=464ms TTL=240
Reply from 66.249.89.99: bytes=32 time=373ms TTL=240
Request timed out.
Reply from 66.249.89.99: bytes=32 time=599ms TTL=240
Reply from 66.249.89.99: bytes=32 time=896ms TTL=240
Reply from 66.249.89.99: bytes=32 time=361ms TTL=240
Reply from 66.249.89.99: bytes=32 time=369ms TTL=240
Reply from 66.249.89.99: bytes=32 time=367ms TTL=240
Reply from 66.249.89.99: bytes=32 time=374ms TTL=240
Reply from 66.249.89.99: bytes=32 time=371ms TTL=240
Ping statistics for 66.249.89.99:
Packets: Sent = 22, Received = 17, Lost = 5 (22% loss),
Minimum = 361ms, Maximum = 896ms, Average = 429ms
Ya... Sibei slow... i think got many lost packets... :mad:
magix
13-01-2007, 12:07 AM
Area : East
Reception : 4bars
Network : 3G+
Ya... Sibei slow... i think got many lost packets... :mad:
Yah! Facing a lot MSN issue problem. Message all didn't reach my friend. And I think is really not up to standard. Didn't expect service like Singnet or Starhub since M1 is new in this business. But at least connection has to be stable!
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.