PDA

View Full Version : fonera router in S'pore

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6

richneo
08-02-2007, 10:02 PM
brother, dd-wrt can firmware can be flashed onto the fon without using the funny cable??

can do it directly through the web interface on the fon?

the fon is still default...
bro reset ur fon to revert to the shipment firmware in ur fon

den follow the flashing guide in ddwrt wiki pages and enable ssh and den flash with ddwrt

richneo
08-02-2007, 10:04 PM
erm.. you can do it if you can ssh into the router. for the older firmware there is the code injection trick to enable ssh. you can try searching for the new injection code for the newer firmware.
hehehe how come pay liaoz still stucked there?

will our consolidated orders come faster den urs?

hehehe

shadowandy
08-02-2007, 10:29 PM
hehehe how come pay liaoz still stucked there?

will our consolidated orders come faster den urs?

hehehe

shrugs. when comes to this type of stuffs, it tends to have hiccups at least for me. accept fate, but then also good, busy with coding. :|

cdo_saturday
09-02-2007, 12:43 PM
I read from the korea blog (actually i looked at the pictures) that the router can be accessed via 192.168.10.1? I can't seem to access it. Is it because my FON is behind my Dlink router (Nat behind Nat)?

And is there a way to check (maybe a router admin page) if there are users connected to my FON? I happened to be home looking at my fon and the WLAN led has been flashing intermittedly for quite sometime liao. From my experience, this only happens when i (or other users) connect to it. The INTERNET led also flashing sometimes. Me abit kaypo leh, want to see if pple are actually connecting. :o

Just have this feeling some bros here will tell me I need to flash it with 3rd party fw in order to ans my qn :D

shadowandy
09-02-2007, 12:51 PM
I read from the korea blog (actually i looked at the pictures) that the router can be accessed via 192.168.10.1? I can't seem to access it. Is it because my FON is behind my Dlink router (Nat behind Nat)?

And is there a way to check (maybe a router admin page) if there are users connected to my FON? I happened to be home looking at my fon and the WLAN led has been flashing intermittedly for quite sometime liao. From my experience, this only happens when i (or other users) connect to it. The INTERNET led also flashing sometimes. Me abit kaypo leh, want to see if pple are actually connecting. :o

Just have this feeling some bros here will tell me I need to flash it with 3rd party fw in order to ans my qn :D

erm... try to enable ssh and ssh in? run netstat and see connections? or check the dhcp leases by erm.. cat /tmp/dhcp.leases

hangyong
09-02-2007, 01:27 PM

you need to connect via wirelessly to the fon to use that, else, unless your routing is set properly, you will not be able to access it from other points. IP address already in different range liao.

you can see who is accessing it from the fon webpage also.

liangtam
09-02-2007, 01:47 PM
erm... try to enable ssh and ssh in? run netstat and see connections? or check the dhcp leases by erm.. cat /tmp/dhcp.leases
nD bro ah, sell me ur RS232 TTL connector :o

cdo_saturday
09-02-2007, 03:12 PM
:s22: quite technical terms :D I'll go find out more and try when I have the time! Thanks! =:p

cdo_saturday
09-02-2007, 03:14 PM
you need to connect via wirelessly to the fon to use that, else, unless your routing is set properly, you will not be able to access it from other points. IP address already in different range liao.

you can see who is accessing it from the fon webpage also.
I tried connecting to it via the public ssid but can't. I haven't accessed MyPlace cos' it's using WPA. I guess I need to connect to MyPlace in order to access that?

As for the fon Webpage, it doesn't provide real time info. Think they update it every now and then only.

richneo
09-02-2007, 03:21 PM
I tried connecting to it via the public ssid but can't. I haven't accessed MyPlace cos' it's using WPA. I guess I need to connect to MyPlace in order to access that?

As for the fon Webpage, it doesn't provide real time info. Think they update it every now and then only.
yup 192.168.10.1 is via myplace which is only accessible via the wpa network

jittery
09-02-2007, 05:18 PM
anyone can tell me the power input of the fon router?? i read tat its 5V, dunno whether can use usb to power the thing or not..

cdo_saturday
09-02-2007, 05:38 PM
yup 192.168.10.1 is via myplace which is only accessible via the wpa network
shucks. thanks bro!

cdo_saturday
09-02-2007, 05:41 PM
anyone can tell me the power input of the fon router?? i read tat its 5V, dunno whether can use usb to power the thing or not..
Maybe the other bros can help. me still at work, don't have it with me :)

richneo
09-02-2007, 06:39 PM
its rated 5V 2A

similiar to dlink's pocket router dwl-g730ap which uses usb as well

jittery
09-02-2007, 09:05 PM
its rated 5V 2A

similiar to dlink's pocket router dwl-g730ap which uses usb as well

haiz, that means i cant mod a usb power to it, since usb only 500mA

sugiggs
09-02-2007, 11:07 PM
I saw the article in Digital Life...

Any invitation left for me??

same_as_HWZ_nick@gmail.com :D :D

liangtam
09-02-2007, 11:14 PM

Start reading this thread deep and dun ask for any invites!

richneo
09-02-2007, 11:15 PM

kindly read post #216 and #220

qqspot
10-02-2007, 12:37 AM
you can mod the dbi gain outdoor wifi wifi antenna

http://www.google.com.sg/search?aq=t&oq=wi+fi+an&hl=en&client=firefox-a&rls=org.mozilla%3Aen-US%3Aofficial&hs=ZnD&q=wifi+antenna&btnG=Search&meta=

sugiggs
10-02-2007, 02:43 AM
kindly read post #216 and #220
Ordered :D Can't wait to play with it... :D

danxiaogui86
10-02-2007, 02:21 PM
anyone wanna get together and share shipping?

richneo
10-02-2007, 02:23 PM
i have consolidated 5 shipment under me so far

danxiaogui86
10-02-2007, 02:26 PM
i have consolidated 5 shipment under me so far

Bro. can u add me in msn? my nick @ hotmail.com. i wanna share the shipping with u guys. :)

VivoCity
10-02-2007, 02:45 PM
Anyone want me to share shipping please count me in............Please invites me godfrey_how@hotmail.com

VivoCity
10-02-2007, 03:31 PM
Have a vpost account ready, register for a fon account at http://www.fon.com (http://www.fon.com/)

Access this link http://www.fon.com/1yearold/ and click on the free fon on the right and follow the below 4 simple steps

Step 1
http://img501.imageshack.us/img501/3641/step1dh1.jpg

After u check out, you will be prompt to enter ur shipping address. Enter the vpost address you have.

Step 2
http://img518.imageshack.us/img518/1403/step2no0.jpg

Confirm your orders

Step 3
http://img518.imageshack.us/img518/1245/step3ig1.jpg

Select payment method in a form of a promise

Step 4
http://img518.imageshack.us/img518/8765/step4lo1.jpg

Receive invoice and submit to vpost for matchingIn the Step 2 Pic, there is a Country listing there but I cant find Singapore Only got HongKong, Taiwan, Japan, HongKong again then Korea ........Do I just leave it as United States? If I do that, then when I proceed further to fill the Sending Address, I was unable to put Singapore Address.....please advise

richneo
10-02-2007, 03:39 PM
In the Step 2 Pic, there is a Country listing there but I cant find Singapore Only got HongKong & Japan Korea but was represented by a === sign Is there a Singapore in there?........Do I just leave it as United States? If I do that, then when I proceed further to fill the Sending Address, I was unable to put Singapore Address.....please advise
pls note the free fon is oni for united states...

vpostusa should be ur anwser to ur question

VivoCity
10-02-2007, 03:42 PM
pls note the free fon is oni for united states...

vpostusa should be ur anwser to ur question
So i just put my VpostUSA address on the Mailing as well as sending address?
Thanks for reply

richneo
10-02-2007, 03:43 PM
So i just put my VpostUSA address on the Mailing as well as sending address?
Thanks for reply
yup .

VivoCity
10-02-2007, 03:55 PM
yup .
Hi richneo thanks for the advise.....I have just completed the order, what shall I do now? What must I do to get Vpost involve? As in sending to me in Singapore & payment? Please help

richneo
10-02-2007, 03:58 PM
after u complete ur deal in fon,

send ur fon invoice to vpostusa@vpost.com.sg

for further info read up on vpost website

VivoCity
10-02-2007, 04:07 PM
after u complete ur deal in fon,

send ur fon invoice to vpostusa@vpost.com.sg

for further info read up on vpost website
Hey Thanks I just realise the details are all in the Vpost site...............

qqspot
11-02-2007, 10:00 AM
Happy Chinese New Year to Fon in Singapore!!
To Share the FON network in Singapore!!
I have decide to GIVE AWAY 1 FREE FON!!

Let celebrate FON by kicking off a game.
Let play a fon game, whoever got the 0219 posted on his nick will get it.
No double posting please.
Only 1 post per nick, no cheating please. fair Game please
I not selling anything, dun have to worry. I am giving away FREE FON lah!!
This is a game, whoever won this game in this thread, win a FON.
02 19 = Feb 19, 2007

#Contest will close on 28 Feb 2007
Please kindly post your nick now!!
Sorry if i may miss your nick and not able to view this thread every single day!!

qqspot
11-02-2007, 10:04 AM
Let me start off with this game....

I WANT A FREE FON Contest!!

1) qqspot
2)
3)
4)
5)
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)
0219) WINNER of the FON Contest.

Will notify via PM, claim at the nearest MRT around town area.
* Dun worry, is brand new seal boxed FON.
* I got to much FON on my store room and so i decide to run a contest to give away 1 of them for FREE!! Just to celebrate Chinese New Year lah!!

shadowandy
11-02-2007, 10:35 AM
okie lah support ggspot.

I take part in the free fon contest. Although your rules abit erm. People who post early means wont be 1902 liaox. Cos cannot double post.

qqspot
11-02-2007, 10:48 AM
okie lah support ggspot.

I take part in the free fon contest. Although your rules abit erm. People who post early means wont be 1902 liaox. Cos cannot double post.Since you said like that rules had REVAMP to chinese Date instead!!

02 19 = Feb 19

So 219 post for now. Do you want to game this game?

shadowandy
11-02-2007, 11:02 AM
haha oke. let others have the chance to be the 219th person. Let me be the 2nd on the list!

qqspot
11-02-2007, 06:49 PM

1) qqspot
2) shadowandy
3)
4)
5)
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)

* I got to much FON on my store room and so i decide to run a contest to give away 1 of them for FREE!! Just to celebrate Chinese New Year lah!!

richneo
11-02-2007, 06:56 PM
how many sets u bring from hongkong?

richneo
11-02-2007, 07:59 PM
from another forum

yes. basically, he's a scammer who's attempting to come back to scam others. I might consider reporting this case to the police soon.

http://forums.vr-zone.com/showthread.php?t=127193

shadowandy
11-02-2007, 08:27 PM
lol.. as long as he keep his promise to give the 219th forumer the fon then I am pretty alright with it.

richneo
11-02-2007, 08:29 PM
lol.. as long as he keep his promise to give the 219th forumer the fon then I am pretty alright with it.
heh lets just hope the #219th is not any newbie account created hehehe

cdo_saturday
12-02-2007, 12:45 AM
When I power up my FON router, it will cause my Dlink router to restart itself. Somehow resembles the self reboot when I apply some settings on the Dlink. Did any bros encounter this? I think it won't affect Linksys routers, just a wild guess :)

richneo
12-02-2007, 12:51 AM
When I power up my FON router, it will cause my Dlink router to restart itself. Somehow resembles the self reboot when I apply some settings on the Dlink. Did any bros encounter this? I think it won't affect Linksys routers, just a wild guess :)
wat model?

im using dgl-4300 and dir-635 and wrt54g currently inside my room. with fon but din encounter anything weird

cdo_saturday
12-02-2007, 01:20 AM
DL 624+. Strange... I think my problem of router auto-reboot is back! years back, I encountered the router reboot when my router is connected to a PC (wired) and laptop (wireless). Then it stopped. Now it seems like it's back, intermittently. The reboot of my 624 with FON doesn't happen all the time also. geez.. :s22:

liangtam
12-02-2007, 01:37 AM
Adapter / mains issue?

qqspot
12-02-2007, 05:25 AM
[QUOTE=richneo]from another forum

Look down here that was not me. I gone to Kong Hong & Korea every month for business trip. I saw how fon work and been to fon parties in Korea last year.

My intends are clear, I GOING AWAY A FREE FON. I PROMISE. Internet is about sharing info, P2P, emails and etc.

I just want to share the joy of chinese new year & celebrate FON in Singapore, That why i will give away on the 219 nick on the game!!
Please kindly be fair game & contest to others.
Winner of #219 nick do not need to pay me anything at all, i repeat again I giving it FREE to celebrate chinese new year & celebrate FON in Singapore.

02 19 = Feb 19
2nd day of chinese new year... (that what stands for)

qqspot
12-02-2007, 05:31 AM
how many sets u bring from hongkong?It just happen i alway on business trip or my gf coming back from Hong Kong.
That why i bought and bring back Singapore and share the joy with you guys.

Somethings in Singapore do not sell, cannot find or very expansive (Shipping Charges). I just tong pa to bring back, that all....

qqspot
12-02-2007, 05:32 AM
lol.. as long as he keep his promise to give the 219th forumer the fon then I am pretty alright with it.I will keep my promise, dun worry...

qqspot
12-02-2007, 05:34 AM
cdo_saturday, might be firmware or interal IP address conflict?

qqspot
12-02-2007, 05:35 AM

1) qqspot
2) shadowandy
3)
4)
5)
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)

quekky
12-02-2007, 08:07 AM
the new wwdrt supposed to fixed the wlan led, but i havnt update yet :p

cdo_saturday
12-02-2007, 08:21 AM
Adapter / mains issue?
Adapter changed at dlink a couple of years back. As for mains, I'm not sure but felt that it's quite unlikely because it only happens to my dlink routers. Both also happened to be 624+. Nvm lah, if this conks out, my next router will be linksys liao. :D

cdo_saturday
12-02-2007, 08:26 AM
cdo_saturday, might be firmware or interal IP address conflict?
hi qq,
oredi using latest f/w liao. As for IP conflict, unlikely cos' I've set dhcp to assign ip to the mac id of the FON. Thanks :)

cdo_saturday
12-02-2007, 08:27 AM
bro, the f/w so powerful ah? I've always tot the LED problem is h/w problem. :o

richneo
12-02-2007, 12:16 PM
yar bro i tried last week

the wled is working now and i realised the wireless signal rate was increased from 70 ~ 80 plus to 9x now even thou the fon is sitting next to my dir-635

richneo
12-02-2007, 12:17 PM
bro, the f/w so powerful ah? I've always tot the LED problem is h/w problem. :o
bro when u give up on dlink can dump me urs? hehehe

i can rma it to get di524 which pwnz wrt54g v5 and above anytime

liangtam
12-02-2007, 12:24 PM
The adapter is sensitive say when I connect it to a multiplug, some of those cheapos at times will have sparks coming out. Now its working fine when connected directly into mains. It does have an effect though, even if the adapter is new/exchanged.

richneo
12-02-2007, 12:43 PM

1) qqspot
2) shadowandy
3)
4)
5)
6)
7)
8)
9)
10)

qqspot thnx for your pm

maybe u would like to arrange a date when you are giving it out den the rest of us turn up

good for the others also since i have to pass them their fon also

can consider it as a submini fon outing

Scuderia
12-02-2007, 02:42 PM
I visit his blog for leisure reading :) I had given out my invite to Scuderia since he first one to contact me, after he register, I'll come back here to give out invites again =:p
I have already got my hands on the Fon and have been trying it out for a week. So far so good. Comparable in performance to most mid-range wireless routers. Wan throughput seems to max out at 15Mbps. Have yet to try ddwrt.

As promised I will give out my 1 invite, but it seems that Fon is running their 1st anniversary promotion @ http://www.fon.com/1yearold/. So PM me only after their promotion end.

richneo
12-02-2007, 03:22 PM
I have already got my hands on the Fon and have been trying it out for a week. So far so good. Comparable in performance to most mid-range wireless routers. Wan throughput seems to max out at 15Mbps. Have yet to try ddwrt.

As promised I will give out my 1 invite, but it seems that Fon is running their 1st anniversary promotion @ http://www.fon.com/1yearold/. So PM me only after their promotion end.
change ur country in ur profile to USA and see if u can get 3 invites.

so far my invites dun work.. perhaps u might like to try..

and yar the wan to lan troughput is abit low using chariott i get around 12 to 14mbps max while doing actual downlaod with flash get or dap to maple or auditionsea i can oni get 6mbps thou...

qqspot
12-02-2007, 03:30 PM
richneo, lets see who the winner on the 28 Feb as the contest due date is!
Then we decide if we could go fon outing with prize presention....

richneo
12-02-2007, 03:41 PM
yar lor no harm making new friends

its been a long while since ibnc had outing

oh yar must wait for my shipment to arrive first

quekky
12-02-2007, 04:27 PM
wah good, hope i can get better bandwidth for wireless to wired, currently only getting 20+mbps

richneo
12-02-2007, 04:32 PM
wah good, hope i can get better bandwidth for wireless to wired, currently only getting 20+mbps
wah u can get so good ah..no matter how i try it just dun get more higher den 14mbps

quekky
12-02-2007, 06:08 PM
wah u can get so good ah..no matter how i try it just dun get more higher den 14mbps
not downloading from internet, more of copying files (winxp to winxp) from my desktop to laptop (wireless). I'm running basic bridge mode on my fon, nothing else running inside, as in I'm using my fon like an AP

qqspot
12-02-2007, 09:19 PM
cdo_saturday, get linksys lah they are better routers.

quekky
12-02-2007, 11:47 PM
upgraded to 0209, still 20mbps. i think the processor too slow to go faster

richneo
14-02-2007, 07:48 PM
hmmm fon website just got update a lil..

the fonera get fonera invitation page got show the invite status of those u invitied

chiamtj
14-02-2007, 08:11 PM
In case anyone's interested, here is the link to Gizmodo that describes how to hack the FON router.

http://gizmodo.com/gadgets/gadgets/hacking-the-fon-wifi-router-236400.php

cdo_saturday
14-02-2007, 11:46 PM
bro when u give up on dlink can dump me urs? hehehe

i can rma it to get di524 which pwnz wrt54g v5 and above anytime

hahaha! sure sure! :s13:

richneo
16-02-2007, 09:50 PM
Just an update.

I am currently in talk with Fon and might be getting some Fon's to be given away in this forum.

Negotiations are on the way. Hope everything goes well, then I will published the informations when approved.

mosmos
16-02-2007, 09:55 PM
Just an update.

I am currently in talk with Fon and might be getting some Fon's to be given away in this forum.

Negotiations are on the way. Hope everything goes well, then I will published the informations when approved.
thnaks in advance :D

jittery
16-02-2007, 09:57 PM
my fon is received at US side already, waiting for shipment...how does the consolidation of items of VPOSTUSA works? i have another fon invoice awaiting delivery to vpostUSA..

richneo
16-02-2007, 10:10 PM
my fon is received at US side already, waiting for shipment...how does the consolidation of items of VPOSTUSA works? i have another fon invoice awaiting delivery to vpostUSA..
how many days apart was ur invoices?

if not too long u can proceed to shiping den delay few days before you make payment so that the other shipment can arrive

richneo
16-02-2007, 10:11 PM
thnaks in advance :D
dun think the fon would be just given away like that

i think there will be an agreement form to sign to undertake that you have to share the connection

talks still going. not details yet

jittery
16-02-2007, 11:05 PM
how many days apart was ur invoices?

if not too long u can proceed to shiping den delay few days before you make payment so that the other shipment can arrive

not too long, only a day apart..hope fon would be quick in delivering.. :)

richneo
16-02-2007, 11:09 PM
not too long, only a day apart..hope fon would be quick in delivering.. :)
heh my side oni 1 arrived

the rest havent arrive also hehe but its about 3 days apart for the last invoice

ykeen
17-02-2007, 12:24 AM
Just an update.

Was about to suggest to you to talk to martin like the portugal guy, to get sets delivered to Singapore, that way better than having to pay vpost..haha

Looks like it will be very interesting, but too late for me... already ordered, gotta go via vpost already... :D

richneo
17-02-2007, 01:47 AM
Was about to suggest to you to talk to martin like the portugal guy, to get sets delivered to Singapore, that way better than having to pay vpost..haha

Looks like it will be very interesting, but too late for me... already ordered, gotta go via vpost already... :D
bro, u consolidated with vivocity?

i noticed this time the volumetric weight is 0.5kg lighter then the last shipment cos the dimension for the package is smaller.

able to save a few more bucks here and there

ykeen
17-02-2007, 04:13 PM
no la, my fren also ordering, so just hike on his. hehe.

richneo
17-02-2007, 04:17 PM
no la, my fren also ordering, so just hike on his. hehe.
bro check pm thnx

outer92
17-02-2007, 04:35 PM

hi! ykeep, how much you pay for shipment to singapore by vpost?

ykeen
17-02-2007, 05:35 PM
I paid around $30+ lor, if using the discount code maybe 30 or less

You can check www.vpost.com.sg on the charges also... ;)

richneo
17-02-2007, 05:37 PM
hehe this time round the shipment for vpost can be cheaper den $16 hehe

shadowandy
17-02-2007, 09:19 PM

Bro check out Who is using your FON Social Router? (http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/2007/02/sharing_your_la_fonera.html)

quekky
17-02-2007, 09:30 PM
this time only $22 after adding the base charge, somemore got 10% discount code :(

richneo
17-02-2007, 09:47 PM
this time only $22 after adding the base charge, somemore got 10% discount code :(
paid oready? so fast

i have to wait till the remaining 5 package to arrive before i can make payment with discount coupon but price most likely around $16 or less

shadowandy
17-02-2007, 11:29 PM
Just incase anybody is interested.

http://img186.imageshack.us/img186/856/lafoneraserial05if0.jpg (http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/2007/02/la_fonera_thru_serial.html)

Hynix Chipset.

http://img63.imageshack.us/img63/9668/lafoneraserialsmalleb7.gif (http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/2007/02/la_fonera_thru_serial.html)

cdo_saturday
18-02-2007, 02:00 AM
Bro check out Who is using your FON Social Router? (http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/2007/02/sharing_your_la_fonera.html)
Thanks bro. Nice page you have. But apparently the "who's using your fon" at the fon website isn't zhun one. There were times where I connected to my own AP but the page doesn't reflect it. And also the status isn't real time. Need to wait a while for it to update.

cdo_saturday
18-02-2007, 02:05 AM
Just an update.

wah seh bro, looks like you're doing the forumers in hwz a very big favour man!

Lastexile
18-02-2007, 03:04 AM
do i have a share :P?

by the way, kudos to your effort

cdo_saturday
18-02-2007, 03:08 AM
Upz for those who are interested. Not sure if the giveaway has reached it's limit.

Free fons even without invites

We Turn One And You Get Your Free Fonera!

If you live in USA and want to join FON, today is your lucky day. Today is FON´s birthday numero uno and if you click here you don´t pay NADA to get your Fonera (FON´s wifi router). We already have 18,000 Foneras ordered in the States and we are on our way to becoming the largest WiFi network America.

We already are the largest WiFi network in many countries including Japan, Germany, Spain, Sweden, France, Italy and other countries that you may want to visit and roam for free. You can check out in our maps to see if there are other FONeros in your town.

Join FON and stop begging for WiFi. Share some extra bandwidth at home and roam the world for free. FON is the secure way to build a global WiFi network. If you are not a DSL or Cable customer pls do not order a Fonera, first call your local DSL or Cable company to sign up for broadband and then sign up for FON.

http://www.fon.com/1yearold/

richneo
18-02-2007, 09:47 AM
Happy New Year to all!

A thread has been started to give out fonera here

http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1540261

Zerocool
18-02-2007, 05:02 PM
richneo so is the SG giveaway confirm on? Cos if not will get from US and ship via vpost liao... intending to get it for quite sometime liao...

richneo
18-02-2007, 05:05 PM
richneo so is the SG giveaway confirm on? Cos if not will get from US and ship via vpost liao... intending to get it for quite sometime liao...
it will be limited stocks for giveaway

if u wan to order from the states, its advisable for u to consolidate the shipments with other users

quekky
18-02-2007, 10:56 PM
paid oready? so fast

i have to wait till the remaining 5 package to arrive before i can make payment with discount coupon but price most likely around $16 or less
order 1 for my collegue, add in my vista shipping just right 13 days in between processing the vista and receiving the fon :p

let's see what version it comes with this time

outer92
19-02-2007, 09:15 AM
i already order from usa fon ,take when to arrive at vpost usa?

misato
19-02-2007, 09:39 AM
Just incase anybody is interested.

http://img186.imageshack.us/img186/856/lafoneraserial05if0.jpg (http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/2007/02/la_fonera_thru_serial.html)

Hynix Chipset.

http://img63.imageshack.us/img63/9668/lafoneraserialsmalleb7.gif (http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/2007/02/la_fonera_thru_serial.html)
Hynix chipset? isnt that the DRAM memory rather?

shadowandy
19-02-2007, 10:19 AM
Hynix chipset? isnt that the DRAM memory rather?

erm .. I always thought chipset and chips are the same (http://www.google.com.sg/search?q=define%3Achipset&btnG=Search). Memory chips = set of transistors? lolx. nvm

jittery
19-02-2007, 10:51 AM
issit possible to restrict the bandwidth taken up by fon? or allow only outgoing port 80 traffic out?

richneo
19-02-2007, 10:56 AM
issit possible to restrict the bandwidth taken up by fon? or allow only outgoing port 80 traffic out?
can restrict but minimum is 512k

http://img390.imageshack.us/img390/8295/lafonerabandwidthdq3.gif

quekky
19-02-2007, 10:58 AM
erm .. I always thought chipset and chips are the same (http://www.google.com.sg/search?q=define%3Achipset&btnG=Search). Memory chips = set of transistors? lolx. nvm
the main chip is under the heatsink, the silver thingy

shadowandy
19-02-2007, 11:07 AM
the main chip is under the heatsink, the silver thingy

yeah I know that. But why in RAMs used for PC, those similar chips are called chipsets, while in FON/router case it is not called chipset and is called DRAM chip and certainly not DRAM memory cos it sounds weird - "Dynamic Random Accessed Memory memory". :s13:

chiamtj
19-02-2007, 12:26 PM
I just received my email from VPost. My free Fonera has arrived at VPost USA address! Hope to get my hands on it in a week's time.

quekky
19-02-2007, 12:32 PM
yeah I know that. But why in RAMs used for PC, those similar chips are called chipsets, while in FON/router case it is not called chipset and is called DRAM chip and certainly not DRAM memory cos it sounds weird - "Dynamic Random Accessed Memory memory". :s13:
A chipset is a group of integrated circuits ("chips") that are designed to work together, and are usually marketed as a single product. In computing, the term chipset is commonly used to refer to the specialized motherboard chips on a computer or expansion card.

so 1 call it chip, 2 or more call chipset(s) :s11:

anyway i prefer potato chips :p

shadowandy
19-02-2007, 12:51 PM
so 1 call it chip, 2 or more call chipset(s) :s11:

anyway i prefer potato chips :p

Definitions of chipset on the Web:

* The chip or chips on a motherboard containing various functions supporting the CPU.
www.micro2000uk.co.uk/hardware_glossary.htm

there are quite a few definition.

jittery
19-02-2007, 10:22 PM
can restrict but minimum is 512k

http://img390.imageshack.us/img390/8295/lafonerabandwidthdq3.gif

cannot restrict only port 80 outgoing?

richneo
19-02-2007, 10:44 PM
cannot restrict only port 80 outgoing?
hehe to do that, i think u nid to enable ssh and start from there hehehe

can consult shadowandy liaoz he has a blog section on fon hehe

quekky
19-02-2007, 10:57 PM
after hacking into ssh, just edit the iptables to allow port 80 for that particular interface and the next rule will be block everything for that interface

Scuderia
19-02-2007, 11:33 PM
http://english.martinvarsavsky.net/fon_new_year.jpg
http://english.martinvarsavsky.net/fon/happy-new-year-to-all-chinese-foneros.html

thermal
21-02-2007, 09:43 AM
I have 2 package in vpost.
but first one is 30x24x7cm and charge 0.8kg
2nd one is 31x24x9cm and charge 1.1 kg.
the different is 0.3kg which is about $2.70.
anyone have different size when vpost charge you?
Vpost alway anyhow charge us,
FYI
I was overcharge on my shipping charge once.
when I received my item and I measure my box, I got *24cm X 18cm X 10cm.*
But I was charge *35cm X 28cm X 10cm. 1.6kg*
after I made complain then they refund me back $8.09.

iphoting
21-02-2007, 06:58 PM
FYI
HMm... vpost got your package already?!
When did u place your Fon router order?

thermal
21-02-2007, 07:47 PM
HMm... vpost got your package already?!
When did u place your Fon router order?
8/2/07
thanks

sugiggs
21-02-2007, 11:23 PM
my fon already arrived at USA... How to share shipping between HWZers??

outer92
21-02-2007, 11:25 PM
FYI

how much did vpost charge you incude everything send to singapore?

liangtam
21-02-2007, 11:37 PM
my fon already arrived at USA... How to share shipping between HWZers??
IF under the shipment name provided to FON is already your name and your vPost number, there is NO way you can share shipping cost, unless someone is going to ship into your account now, and mind you, 14 days wait, vPost will charge u some money.

thermal
22-02-2007, 09:25 AM
how much did vpost charge you incude everything send to singapore?
about $27 including 10% discount.

steventay
22-02-2007, 06:06 PM
I would like one please as well. installed at home

thermal
22-02-2007, 10:16 PM
you can use this discount code to pay vpostusa.
10% Discount PromoCode for vPost, unlimited use till 28 Feb.
(072AM2Z)

richneo
22-02-2007, 10:45 PM
GOSH.....

I really wonder how they mesaure the size..

i have 6 packages, 3 were received at US and all 3 have diff sizes and diff cost..

outer92
22-02-2007, 11:11 PM
GOSH.....

I really wonder how they mesaure the size..

i have 6 packages, 3 were received at US and all 3 have diff sizes and diff cost..

when did you place your router order?

richneo
22-02-2007, 11:25 PM
when did you place your router order?
before cny

JPadPro
22-02-2007, 11:42 PM
i pay 28.27. :sad for the fon router to be shipped over -.-.
Tio tok?

richneo
22-02-2007, 11:46 PM
i pay 28.27. :sad for the fon router to be shipped over -.-.
Tio tok?
find 3 person to split shipment roeady less den $20 for shipment den add in vpot 10% discount can get a further ~$2 bucks off

steventay
23-02-2007, 11:41 AM
I would like one please as well. installed at home

count me in whoever want to order online.... so the FON router can do seperate VPN for public and private.. so there will be 2 SSID is it ?

richneo
23-02-2007, 12:31 PM
fon's 1 year anniversary free fon promo is over

here comes the "do you live near starbucks promo"

http://www.fon.com/en/promos/fonbucks

cdo_saturday
23-02-2007, 02:34 PM

Green logo! nice sia :love:

richneo
23-02-2007, 02:49 PM
Green logo! nice sia :love:
lol u dun mention i also din realise its starbuck's theme hor? and the antenna seems abit diff from the one we had

bro the shipping charges are jia pa lang... all package has different shipment fees but im quite positive that u will not be disappointed

cdo_saturday
23-02-2007, 02:56 PM
lol u dun mention i also din realise its starbuck's theme hor? and the antenna seems abit diff from the one we had

bro the shipping charges are jia pa lang... all package has different shipment fees but im quite positive that u will not be disappointed

Antenna not very clear leh.. but the green logo makes the FON look like a collector's item! Got orange, got green, later got red and then blue.. woooo so chio! :s22:

As for the shipping charges, nvm bah. I'm sure it will still be lesser than what we paid initially. :D

steventay
24-02-2007, 01:07 AM

can i order this free one?

cdo_saturday
24-02-2007, 01:18 AM
can i order this free one?
I'm quite sure u can. The ordering method is the same -> Shipping address == your Vpost address. Not sure if the router will be starbucked FON or the original FON :)

quekky
24-02-2007, 09:53 AM
t&c: u must be living near a coffeeshop and u did not ordered a subsidis fon before

I wonder if vpost is near any coffeeshop

richneo
24-02-2007, 10:01 AM
t&c: u must be living near a coffeeshop and u did not ordered a subsidis fon before

I wonder if vpost is near any coffeeshop
heh actually i think fon already noe all singaporeans are using vpost.

i think i mention it to him in my email before

richneo
24-02-2007, 11:19 AM
Antenna not very clear leh.. but the green logo makes the FON look like a collector's item! Got orange, got green, later got red and then blue.. woooo so chio! :s22:

As for the shipping charges, nvm bah. I'm sure it will still be lesser than what we paid initially. :D
# 3

Hi!

The colour of the fon in the poster looks nice and very starbucks like series.

will the shipped fonera be the same as the one in the pic or will it be like the ordinary foneras shipped so far?

Regards

Posted by: Someone at February 23, 2007 04:37 PM
# 4

Same color as the Fonera now, sorry…

Posted by: Martin Varsavsky at February 23, 2007 09:26 PM

cdo_saturday
24-02-2007, 11:28 AM
# 3

Hi!

will the shipped fonera be the same as the one in the pic or will it be like the ordinary foneras shipped so far?

Regards

# 4

:s13: btw bro, should the shipment rch sg next week, i can only mit up on weekends cos' got ICT.

shadowandy
24-02-2007, 11:33 AM
# 3

Hi!

Regards

# 4

Oh, that is pretty sad. :(

cdo_saturday
24-02-2007, 11:36 AM
was casual browsing at the fon board, can boost the FON signals with these equip. So ex sia.
http://www.confero24.com/product_info.php?cPath=75&products_id=164

richneo
24-02-2007, 11:49 AM
:s13: btw bro, should the shipment rch sg next week, i can only mit up on weekends cos' got ICT.
yo bro doubt can reach singapore next week

left 2 more package before i make payment and delivery takes 5 to 8 days after payment =(

this time shipment might cost only 50% of our previous one hehehe

richneo
24-02-2007, 11:51 AM
Oh, that is pretty sad. :(
hehehe shadowandy has a nice blog on fon..

can consult him if you guys got any questions or problems regarding firmware hehe

shadowandy
24-02-2007, 12:05 PM
hehehe shadowandy has a nice blog on fon..

can consult him if you guys got any questions or problems regarding firmware hehe

The latest build of x-wrt fixes the graphs problems

http://img179.imageshack.us/img179/3594/foneraopenwrt01smallgs1.gif (http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/2007/02/openwrt_kamikaze_with_xwrt_on.html)

http://img182.imageshack.us/img182/8453/foneraopenwrt03smallga5.gif (http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/2007/02/openwrt_kamikaze_with_xwrt_on.html)

So just do a

ipkg install ftp://ftp.berlios.de/pub/xwrt/kamikaze/atheros-2.6/webif_latest.ipk -force-reinstall

richneo
24-02-2007, 12:08 PM

http://img179.imageshack.us/img179/3594/foneraopenwrt01smallgs1.gif (http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/2007/02/openwrt_kamikaze_with_xwrt_on.html)

http://img182.imageshack.us/img182/8453/foneraopenwrt03smallga5.gif (http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/2007/02/openwrt_kamikaze_with_xwrt_on.html)

So just do a

ipkg install ftp://ftp.berlios.de/pub/xwrt/kamikaze/atheros-2.6/webif_latest.ipk -force-reinstall

bro my openwrt cant ping out let..

ping to main router can...

shadowandy
24-02-2007, 12:22 PM
bro my openwrt cant ping out let..

ping to main router can...

lol try to solve it later. The information on wireless bridge settings over WPA is not alot. Another point is, take note of your DNS settings. Not sure if it is because it is unresolved hence cannot ping out.

add the "option dns <dns server ip>" in your /etc/config/network and see if it works

richneo
24-02-2007, 12:23 PM
lol try to solve it later. The information on wireless bridge settings over WPA is not alot. Another point is, take note of your DNS settings. Not sure if it is because it is unresolved hence cannot ping out.

add the "option dns <dns server ip>" in your /etc/config/network and see if it works
cant even ping 165.21.83.88 or some other ip =(

and ur msn not online =(

shadowandy
24-02-2007, 12:30 PM
cant even ping 165.21.83.88 or some other ip =(

and ur msn not online =(

studying lah, monday test. preparing the case for monday now. lolx. later later, sounds like the routing table got problem

richneo
24-02-2007, 12:34 PM
studying lah, monday test. preparing the case for monday now. lolx. later later, sounds like the routing table got problem
lol its trying to access out via eth0

and my wan ip is in ath0

after setting dns in eth0, it can resolve ip liaoz but pinging still fails hahaha yar i think routing might be wrong liaoz

richneo
24-02-2007, 12:51 PM
lol its trying to access out via eth0

and my wan ip is in ath0

after setting dns in eth0, it can resolve ip liaoz but pinging still fails hahaha yar i think routing might be wrong liaoz

yay solved liaoz i specify the route and gao tim liaoz

shadowandy
24-02-2007, 01:18 PM
yay solved liaoz i specify the route and gao tim liaoz

Wah! Good. Will grab the steps from you. Not bad ah, wireless bridge over WEP working. Time to work on WPA-supplicant. to make wireless bridge over WPA work!

Anyway, remember to upgrade x-wrt.

richneo
24-02-2007, 01:21 PM
Wah! Good. Will grab the steps from you. Not bad ah, wireless bridge over WEP working. Time to work on WPA-supplicant. to make wireless bridge over WPA work!

Anyway, remember to upgrade x-wrt.
yar upgrade liaoz but graph cant work in ie7 and some pages cant work in ff ehhe have to use both browsers

shadowandy
24-02-2007, 01:28 PM
yar upgrade liaoz but graph cant work in ie7 and some pages cant work in ff ehhe have to use both browsers

The response header for some page were not well written hence firefox interpreted them as plaintext instead of html content. The problem is more jialat in the previous version, that is why my screenies are using IE6.

oh ya, try installing wiviz. The package is available. do a ipkg update if wiviz package is not shown.

root@OpenWrt:~# ipkg list | grep wiviz
wiviz - 1.0-1 - Wireless Network Visualization

But, I have not tested. Anyway what is your free ram now? Still much higher than FON running on dd-wrt?

richneo
24-02-2007, 01:53 PM
The response header for some page were not well written hence firefox interpreted them as plaintext instead of html content. The problem is more jialat in the previous version, that is why my screenies are using IE6.

oh ya, try installing wiviz. The package is available. do a ipkg update if wiviz package is not shown.

root@OpenWrt:~# ipkg list | grep wiviz
wiviz - 1.0-1 - Wireless Network Visualization

But, I have not tested. Anyway what is your free ram now? Still much higher than FON running on dd-wrt?
lol i go install the wpa supplicant and after rebooting, all my network settings is wiped out.

lucky got save the steps in notepad and manually keyed in all the settings again

http://img176.imageshack.us/img176/8163/ramso2.jpg

wiviz installed but seems like cant work.. its scanning but not plotting

quekky
28-02-2007, 06:13 PM
2 more invites, anyone want them?

richneo
28-02-2007, 07:07 PM
3 more here hehehe not sure if the invite can start working already or not

quekky
01-03-2007, 12:04 PM
the invites working, can send out. I'm "MO"ing 3 more, anyone wanna tag along?

strange, this time round this unit having problem flashing. i can't go into the web interface

steventay
01-03-2007, 09:28 PM
i want invite...

taysteven @ gmail.com

richneo
01-03-2007, 09:33 PM
the invites working, can send out. I'm "MO"ing 3 more, anyone wanna tag along?

strange, this time round this unit having problem flashing. i can't go into the web interface
which batch is it?

outer92
01-03-2007, 09:58 PM
my fon com router have arrived

http://img174.imageshack.us/img174/4104/fonxl7.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

hesperus
01-03-2007, 10:17 PM
i wan an invite too..

hesperus dot jo at gmail dot com

richneo
01-03-2007, 10:24 PM
my fon com router have arrived

http://img174.imageshack.us/img174/4104/fonxl7.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
bro u just received this email todae?

got 2 of my package havent arrived in usa yet also

outer92
01-03-2007, 10:32 PM
bro u just received this email todae?

got 2 of my package havent arrived in usa yet also

yes! just receivied my email in the evening

quekky
01-03-2007, 10:51 PM
which batch is it?
Jan batch, the version was 7.0r2.

I did the same as my previous unit, enable ssh then connect to internet, after that I flash with ddwrt. Tried 0209,0226,0228 all not working. My tftp says the unit got a dhcp request and ack, but no port is open

Maybe need to borrow the cable from andy to see what's wrong

richneo
01-03-2007, 11:01 PM
Jan batch, the version was 7.0r2.

I did the same as my previous unit, enable ssh then connect to internet, after that I flash with ddwrt. Tried 0209,0226,0228 all not working. My tftp says the unit got a dhcp request and ack, but no port is open

Maybe need to borrow the cable from andy to see what's wrong
hope i dun encounter it.. andy is a busy man

amen...

quekky
01-03-2007, 11:09 PM
I'm out of invites. 1 more strange fonomenon, the invite i sent to my friend in jan can't work now, invalid promo code :s11: gotta waste 1 more invite for him

steventay
01-03-2007, 11:15 PM
i want invite...

taysteven @ gmail.com

i have not receive the invite...

please send me taysteven @ gmail.com

thank you.

benjaminyeo
01-03-2007, 11:27 PM
Not sure if anyone here still has invites.
If yes, please send me one @ the _ nzg at hot mail com
Will appreciate it. :D

ab_cat
02-03-2007, 12:32 AM
I also interested, if still gt pls pm me or I will pm u :)

richneo
02-03-2007, 12:46 AM
vpost cost around $25 to $30 and takes weeks to ship.

if you guys are really interested in it and dun wish to wait for weeks before receiving it, can visit fon.sg and order.

the power adaptor is also suitable for local use without using 2 pin convertor

outer92
02-03-2007, 04:43 AM
total payment from vpost
http://img46.imageshack.us/img46/8074/paymentef1.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
still waiting for one more package before make payment

jittery
02-03-2007, 10:33 AM

So just do a

cannot install webif leh.

root@OpenWrt:/# ipkg install ftp://ftp.berlios.de/pub/xwrt/kamikaze/atheros-2.6/webif_latest.ipk
Downloading ftp://ftp.berlios.de/pub/xwrt/kamikaze/atheros-2.6/webif_latest.ipk
ipkg: unexpected end of file
ipkg: short read

wireless oso not working.
when i flash to openwrt, the last command 'exec' hanged. I leave it run 3 hrs still hanged there. normal?
packages currently installed.anything wrong?

root@OpenWrt:/# ipkg status
Package: base-files-atheros-2.6
Version: 8-6315
Architecture: mips

Package: bridge
Version: 1.0.6-1

Package: busybox
Version: 1.4.1-1

Package: dnsmasq
Version: 2.35-1

Package: dropbear
Version: 0.48.1-1

Package: haserl
Version: 0.8.0-1

Package: hostapd
Version: 0.5.7-1
Depends: libopenssl

Package: iptables
Version: 1.3.5-1

Package: kernel
Version: 2.6.19.2-atheros-1

Package: kmod-ipt-nathelper
Depends: kernel (=2.6.19.2-atheros-1)

Package: kmod-madwifi
Version: 2.6.19.2+0.9.2.1-atheros-1
Depends: kernel (=2.6.19.2-atheros-1), wireless-tools

Package: kmod-ppp
Depends: kernel (=2.6.19.2-atheros-1)

Package: kmod-pppoe
Depends: kernel (=2.6.19.2-atheros-1), kmod-ppp

Package: libgcc
Version: 4.1.1-8

Package: libopenssl
Version: 0.9.8d-1
Depends: zlib

Package: mtd
Version: 5

Package: ppp
Version: 2.4.3-7
Depends: kmod-ppp

Package: ppp-mod-pppoe
Version: 2.4.3-7
Depends: ppp, kmod-pppoe

Package: uclibc
Version: 0.9.28-8

Package: wireless-tools
Version: 28-1

Package: wpa-supplicant
Version: 0.5.7-1
Depends: libopenssl
Installed-Time: 946685904

Package: zlib
Version: 1.2.3-3

shadowandy
02-03-2007, 10:49 AM
cannot install webif leh.

root@OpenWrt:/# ipkg install ftp://ftp.berlios.de/pub/xwrt/kamikaze/atheros-2.6/webif_latest.ipk
Downloading ftp://ftp.berlios.de/pub/xwrt/kamikaze/atheros-2.6/webif_latest.ipk
ipkg: unexpected end of file
ipkg: short read

wireless oso not working.
when i flash to openwrt, the last command 'exec' hanged. I leave it run 3 hrs still hanged there. normal?
packages currently installed.anything wrong?

Did you flash your set wrongly? Both mine and richneo's set loaded the kernel correctly after executing 'exec'. And which version of openwrt are you using?

perhaps you would want to list your wireless config in /etc/config/ and results of iwconfig for others to help you.

jittery
02-03-2007, 11:07 AM
what i see when i ssh in

KAMIKAZE (bleeding edge, r6315) -------------------
* 10 oz Vodka Shake well with ice and strain
* 10 oz Triple sec mixture into 10 shot glasses.
* 10 oz lime juice Salute!
---------------------------------------------------

not sure if wireless working now since im at work.

jittery
02-03-2007, 11:11 AM
iwconfig

root OpenWrt : ~# iwconfig
eth0 no wireless extensions.

lo no wireless extensions.

br-lan no wireless extensions.

wifi0 no wireless extensions.

ath0 IEEE 802.11g ESSID:"OpenWrt" Nickname:""
Mode : Master Frequency : 2.432 GHz Access Point: 00 : 18 : 84 : 15 : DB : F9
Bit Rate : 0 kb/s Tx-Power : 18 dBm Sensitivity=0/3
Retry:off RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:**** - **** - **** - **** - **** -E568-FABB-5D62 [3] Security mode:open
Power Management: off
Link Quality = 0/94 Signal level = -95 dBm Noise level = -95 dBm
Rx invalid nwid : 8 Rx invalid crypt : 0 Rx invalid frag : 0
Tx excessive retries : 0 Invalid misc : 0 Missed beacon : 0

jittery
02-03-2007, 11:12 AM
/etc/config/wireless

config wifi-device wifi0
option type atheros
option channel 5

config wifi-iface
option device wifi0
option network lan
option mode ap
option ssid OpenWrt
option hidden 0
option encryption psk2
option key *******

macintosh
02-03-2007, 02:28 PM
Any more invites left? if still gt pls pm me or I will pm u

quekky
02-03-2007, 03:33 PM
hope i dun encounter it.. andy is a busy man

amen...
stupid me, i set tftp go assign 192.168.1.1, clash with the wifi ip :s45:

VivoCity
03-03-2007, 12:20 AM
just got mine...........set it up but was unable to connect to Private(MyPlace) FON_AD can access & surf the net ans all.....how come like tat?

sugiggs
03-03-2007, 02:12 AM
wahhhh looks like will be a lot of technical fun of setting this router..

I just received it yesterday. I will start playing with it on monday.. Wish me luck hahahaha

richneo
03-03-2007, 12:38 PM
1 of the developer of fon releases scripts on how to turn ur original la fonera into repeater or ap

http://www.blogin.it/fonera4.php

http://img100.imageshack.us/img100/4808/statuspage1qy7.jpg

richneo
03-03-2007, 01:16 PM
4 / 6 arrived

http://img484.imageshack.us/img484/3985/arrivedvw0.jpg

starch1990
03-03-2007, 03:35 PM
anyone got spare FOn routers to sell?

outer92
03-03-2007, 04:03 PM
anyone got spare FOn routers to sell?

you can get free http://www.fon.com/en/promos/fonbucks

ab_cat
03-03-2007, 05:12 PM
nid to live near starbucks and coffee shops? anyone nvr live near tat and apply?

ab_cat
03-03-2007, 05:19 PM
btw, y when I check out, the shipping address doesn't have SG? is it must link with vpost thingy tat I think I see some thread gt mentioned b4 and btw how many free fon router can I get as it seems like I can change the quantity.

steventay
03-03-2007, 07:11 PM
i also want....

iphoting
03-03-2007, 07:58 PM
btw, y when I check out, the shipping address doesn't have SG? is it must link with vpost thingy tat I think I see some thread gt mentioned b4 and btw how many free fon router can I get as it seems like I can change the quantity.
Only 1 and yes, vpost is the easiest way.

steventay
03-03-2007, 08:31 PM
hear during the IT show it is also selling is it?

which is cheaper?

iphoting
03-03-2007, 08:33 PM
hear during the IT show it is also selling is it?

which is cheaper?
Of course free from USA + vpost cheaper.

In SG, it's S$40+.

richneo
03-03-2007, 09:08 PM
if wanna buy it now without having to wait weeks for vpost to come and wanted to have local power adaptor without the need to use 2 pin convertor and wan to have local 2 years warranty, buy from fon.sg or during it show

steventay
03-03-2007, 09:08 PM
Of course free from USA + vpost cheaper.

In SG, it's S$40+.

i also want free invite...

my email is taysteven @ gmail.com

richneo
03-03-2007, 09:11 PM
i also want free invite...

my email is taysteven @ gmail.com
if for any reasons, by now u still fails to see some of the post, you can refer to post #432 above or ...
the below is for ur benefit

http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showpost.php?p=22651650&postcount=432

steventay
03-03-2007, 09:19 PM
if for any reasons, by now u still fails to see some of the post, you can refer to post #432 above or ...
the below is for ur benefit

http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showpost.php?p=22651650&postcount=432

i do not stay near Starbucks or coffeeshop

richneo
03-03-2007, 09:20 PM
i do not stay near Starbucks or coffeeshop
=X

yar not good to lie about staying near starbucks

please check ur email for invites

steventay
03-03-2007, 09:29 PM
=X

yar not good to lie about staying near starbucks

please check ur email for invites

thank you.

how do i check out to vpost...

enter the vpostusa address?

how will the vpost billing me... UOB have 12% discount on vpostusa...

how to use it...

iphoting
03-03-2007, 09:34 PM
thank you.

how to use it...
Yah, put vpostusa addr. Later when package arrive there, press generate bill and you can key in the promo codes and select payment method, etc.

richneo
03-03-2007, 09:35 PM
thank you.

how to use it...
log on to ur vpost to see ur vpost address

just enter vpost address into ur fon shipment address

any quries, call vpost

steventay
03-03-2007, 09:38 PM
vpostusa give me 2 address..

should i use the California or Oregon

vpost give me name as

BXXX KXXXX Steven VPxxxx

what should i enter in first name and last name

richneo
03-03-2007, 09:41 PM
vpostusa give me 2 address..

should i use the California or Oregon
up to you..

u never accept my invite?

Your friend's email STATUS
@gmail.com) Pending

steventay
03-03-2007, 09:44 PM
up to you..

u never accept my invite?

Your friend's email STATUS
Steven Tay (xxx@gmail.com) Pending

i have click the invite, now in the checkout...

not sure what to enter...

i have pm u my number.. can call me.

steventay
03-03-2007, 10:18 PM
Hi richard, please delete my email address on the forum you post.. or seperate with space like the one i did.

http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showpost.php?p=22655056&postcount=448

thank you.

ab_cat
04-03-2007, 12:01 AM
Only 1 and yes, vpost is the easiest way.
oh ok, but I live not near starbucks of coffee shop too. Can I have invite too or I just proceed on?

outer92
04-03-2007, 12:09 AM
oh ok, but I live not near starbucks of coffee shop too. Can I have invite too or I just proceed on?

just proceed

ab_cat
04-03-2007, 12:18 AM
just proceed
lolx, thx :) but I would like to know the process on vpost as I gt 1 account but I seldom use that for posting like this, I have 2 USA address sounds cool~

So how can I do it? will it post straight away to my house or I nid 2 go Post Office take?

outer92
04-03-2007, 07:43 AM
lolx, thx :) but I would like to know the process on vpost as I gt 1 account but I seldom use that for posting like this, I have 2 USA address sounds cool~

So how can I do it? will it post straight away to my house or I nid 2 go Post Office take?

use one of the USA vpost address into ur fon shipment address.

will sent direct to your home address.

outer92
04-03-2007, 11:05 AM
anyone have vpost Promotion Code to share?

quekky
04-03-2007, 12:34 PM
thank you.

how to use it...
where u saw got 12% for uob?

richneo
04-03-2007, 12:43 PM
where u saw got 12% for uob?
heheh bro u also got uob card ah.. hehe i forsee cheaper shipment for 5 package hehe yeah.....

steventay
04-03-2007, 01:22 PM
heheh bro u also got uob card ah.. hehe i forsee cheaper shipment for 5 package hehe yeah.....

yes. i have UOB card...

i only order 1 fon router as i only have 1 free invite..

don't understand what you mean by shipment for 5 package....

richneo
04-03-2007, 01:23 PM
yes. i have UOB card...

i only order 1 fon router as i only have 1 free invite..

don't understand what you mean by shipment for 5 package....
bro i quote quekky hehe not quote you hehe

that statement was directed to him hehe

steventay
04-03-2007, 01:58 PM
can the antena be change....

i see it is a Omni-Directional detachable antenna (2dBi).....

quekky
04-03-2007, 01:58 PM
steventay, can share how to get the 12% for uob card? i can't find it on uob site

richneo
04-03-2007, 02:00 PM
can the antena be change....

i see it is a Omni-Directional detachable antenna (2dBi).....
can...

im using a 7dbi on it

7dbi antenna was a MO by yellowrubberduckie awhile back

ab_cat
04-03-2007, 02:03 PM
use one of the USA vpost address into ur fon shipment address.

will sent direct to your home address.
Thx alot :)

steventay
04-03-2007, 02:04 PM
so does it mean i can order more than 1 Fon router...

richneo
04-03-2007, 02:07 PM
so does it mean i can order more than 1 Fon router...
if u have received more invites using different email account or are staying "near" starbucks like ab_cat, u can also proceed to order fonbucks free fon den consolidate shipment to urself

steventay
04-03-2007, 02:09 PM
i do not receive more invites... or stay near starbuck..., can i order?

will they know...

can 1 email receive more than 1 invite....

outer92
04-03-2007, 02:12 PM

will they know...

you still can order

steventay
04-03-2007, 02:13 PM
you still can order

u mean order even i did not stay near Starbucks

richneo
04-03-2007, 02:16 PM
wah just found 20% discount code for UOB CC holder but...

expires 28th Feb

discount code: 051F7DW

=(

richneo
04-03-2007, 02:18 PM

will they know...

1 email can oni redeem 1 free fon

if you email has been used to redeem before, after u check out at the fon shop, the cost will be reflected as USD$39.95

quekky
04-03-2007, 02:19 PM
i know that.... too late, my previous order only 10% discount.

now i found 10% for 1st time signup, or $10 off discount. waiting for steventay to post his 12% code

richneo
04-03-2007, 02:19 PM
just a note...

fon.com and fon.sg reads this forum, this thread...

steventay
04-03-2007, 02:20 PM
i just receive this email from UOB

subject: ADV: UOB Credit Cards - UOB @ IT Show 2007

Great Savings with vPost

Exclusively for UOB Credit Cardmembers:

• 12% off shipping charges at vPOSTUSA and vPOSTJAPAN

Having problems with getting items you've purchased from the US and Japan delivered to Singapore? If you buy from US or Japan merchants who accept Singapore Credit Cards, vPOST can ship them right to your doorstep via their vPOSTUSA and vPOSTJAPAN shipping centres.

Shop the world at www.vpost.com.sg with your UOB Credit Card today!

Terms and conditions apply.

richneo
04-03-2007, 02:22 PM
i know that.... too late, my previous order only 10% discount.

now i found 10% for 1st time signup, or $10 off discount. waiting for steventay to post his 12% code
bro..

i just realised i received that email as well and dumped it..

luckily its still in my trash folder.

i forwarded the email to ur email liaoz..

thnx hehe

steventay
04-03-2007, 02:24 PM
1 email can oni redeem 1 free fon

if you email has been used to redeem before, after u check out at the fon shop, the cost will be reflected as USD$39.95

what if someone apply several email address and get the fon router free, is it possible..

richneo
04-03-2007, 02:27 PM
what if someone apply several email address and get the fon router free, is it possible..
yes highly possible

but it wun be long before fon finds out all foneras is shipped to the same address..

lets hope fon wun ban vpost address once and for all

steventay
04-03-2007, 02:37 PM
hi,

so if i have 2 Fon router... can i pass it to someone to activate it...

how do i activate it?

steventay
04-03-2007, 02:42 PM
can...

im using a 7dbi on it

7dbi antenna was a MO by yellowrubberduckie awhile back

how did you do it?

please tell me ... thank you.

richneo
04-03-2007, 02:43 PM
hi,

so if i have 2 Fon router... can i pass it to someone to activate it...

how do i activate it?
just connect it to internet and u login to the fon router

remember to activate the fon i invited you

else i will loose 1 invite cos the invite i send u will be incomplete until u activate it

richneo
04-03-2007, 02:44 PM
how did you do it?

please tell me ... thank you.
just unscrew the antenna and screw on a higher gain antenna

dlink usually sell 5dbi antenna during it show, pc show at around $10 to $13

not sure if this it show still have or not

steventay
04-03-2007, 02:46 PM
just connect it to internet and u login to the fon router

remember to activate the fon i invited you

else i will loose 1 invite cos the invite i send u will be incomplete until u activate it

how to login to the fon router.... using what id?

richneo
04-03-2007, 02:49 PM
just read the manual in the box when it arrives

the username is ur fon email and the password is the one u set for the fon account

hesperus
04-03-2007, 02:53 PM
bro..

thnx hehe
hi.. would u mind posting the promo code here?

richneo
04-03-2007, 02:53 PM
hi.. would u mind posting the promo code here?
there is no code

just pay using ur uob credit card and i supposed the discount will be deducted

steventay
04-03-2007, 02:58 PM

do u mean just get any dlink antenna will do.. is it all the same..

what is the model no that you use for the dlink 7dbi?

quekky
04-03-2007, 03:08 PM
bro..

thnx hehe
got it. hmm, uob didn't send me this newsletter. anyway thinking can combine the promo codes together or not, if can then -$10 + 10% + 12% :P

quekky
04-03-2007, 03:09 PM
the package will come with a book. just follow the instructions inside, fon even provide print-screen for u to follow

richneo
04-03-2007, 03:15 PM
got it. hmm, uob didn't send me this newsletter. anyway thinking can combine the promo codes together or not, if can then -$10 + 10% + 12% :P
wah u got so many code ah.. got -$10, 10% and 12%

i think can oni use 1 code cos there is oni 1 field

i think -$10 more worth it since 10% is only around $8

richneo
04-03-2007, 03:16 PM

what is the model no that you use for the dlink 7dbi?
not neccessary dlink antenna.

wait till your fon comes first before worrying about those issues

quekky
04-03-2007, 03:24 PM
wah u got so many code ah.. got -$10, 10% and 12%

i think can oni use 1 code cos there is oni 1 field

i think -$10 more worth it since 10% is only around $8
i let my colleague decide, he's the 1 paying for us

PROMO CODE : 05175TA
expires 31/07/05
$10 off shipping charges

10%: 0628QQJ
1 time usage for new signups only.
Valid till 30 Jun 07

amazing what google can find

richneo
04-03-2007, 03:40 PM
i let my colleague decide, he's the 1 paying for us

PROMO CODE : 05175TA
expires 31/07/05
$10 off shipping charges

10%: 0628QQJ
1 time usage for new signups only.
Valid till 30 Jun 07

amazing what google can find
=( i think the $10 one expire liaoz

quekky
04-03-2007, 05:36 PM
ops, didn't see the year properly :p i thought is may 2007

Zerocool
04-03-2007, 08:45 PM
just a question, does this Fon router support PPOE authentication? If so may pass i set to my friend for him to share...

iphoting
04-03-2007, 08:46 PM
just a question, does this Fon router support PPOE authentication? If so may pass i set to my friend for him to share...
Yes, it does. You'll need to configure it directly through the web interface though.

qqspot
04-03-2007, 10:12 PM
hi.. would u mind posting the promo code here? Actually, vpost promo code is over ended at 28 Feb 2007. If you are lucky you can get a 1st timer promo code.

http://www.vpost.com.sg/promo/uob/faq.html

jookhai
04-03-2007, 11:21 PM

what is the model no that you use for the dlink 7dbi?Just tested out the La Fonera with a +10dbi high-gain antenna from Planex Communications (refer: http://www.planex.net/product/wireless/ant-in-10-b.htm). The antenna was bought at SLS for $42.

Before installing the +10dbi antenna, there was no reception when my laptop was brought 3 storeys away from my HDB apartment. With the antenna installed, reception was present even at the void deck. The signal level in the surrounding blocks was reported to be poor; adaptive rate selection resulted in a 1 Mbps rate being selected with Intel Proset Wireless 802.11g.

However, the connection was stable when tested using web radio streaming from Yes 93.3 and by loading YouTube videos with cacheless refreshing (Ctrl+F5). Dropped connections occured only in the typical dead spots (e.g. corners of staircase landings, near metal doors) and at void decks.

Looks like the La Fonera's transmit power is too low to effectively serve a neighbourhood ...

richneo
04-03-2007, 11:32 PM
Just tested out the La Fonera with a +10dbi high-gain antenna from Planex Communications (refer: http://www.planex.net/product/wireless/ant-in-10-b.htm). The antenna was bought at SLS for $42.

Before installing the +10dbi antenna, there was no reception when my laptop was brought 3 storeys away from my HDB apartment. With the antenna installed, reception was present even at the void deck. The signal level in the surrounding blocks was reported to be poor; adaptive rate selection resulted in a 1 Mbps rate being selected with Intel Proset Wireless 802.11g.

However, the connection was stable when tested using web radio streaming from Yes 93.3 and by loading YouTube videos with cacheless refreshing (Ctrl+F5). Dropped connections occured only in the typical dead spots (e.g. corners of staircase landings, near metal doors) and at void decks.

Looks like the La Fonera's transmit power is too low to effectively serve a neighbourhood ...
u collected ur fon liaoz?

heh careful dun get mistaken to be smoochers under void decks

richneo
04-03-2007, 11:42 PM
OT

read in somewhere fonera might ship with High Gain Antenna in future

jookhai
04-03-2007, 11:44 PM
u collected ur fon liaoz?

heh careful dun get mistaken to be moochers under void decksYes I collected mine yesterday ... I was running Network Stumbler on my laptop to display the SNR graph of my FON Public AP, not surfing YouTube or downloading torrents - but people in my neighbourhood still give laptop users at HDB blocks that suspicious look.

VivoCity
05-03-2007, 12:29 AM
Finally got mine too......but was uable to connect to MyPlace.........

steventay
05-03-2007, 12:51 AM

so is it using sna or tnc connector for the antenna?

liangtam
05-03-2007, 02:13 AM
SMA lor, mentioned on some sites liao ma