PDA

View Full Version : fonera router in S'pore

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6

jookhai
05-03-2007, 07:40 AM
Finally got mine too......but was unable to connect to MyPlace.........Try changing WPA/WPA2 as well as the encryption (TKIP/AES). I had a similar problem with my laptop's Intel Proset Wireless until I changed it to WPA2-AES.

jookhai
05-03-2007, 07:41 AM
so is it using sma or tnc connector for the antenna?Watch out for the connector type especially if you are buying those outdoor high gain antennas. It's RP-SMA (reversed polarity SMA). Anything that doesn't fit this and you will have to search for an adaptor, so do check the packaging first before you buy.

VivoCity
05-03-2007, 11:44 AM
Try changing WPA/WPA2 as well as the encryption (TKIP/AES). I had a similar problem with my laptop's Intel Proset Wireless until I changed it to WPA2-AES.
Hey Thanks for reply.....where can I change this setting? Do I visit my singnet under Configure the Wireless Network>Wireless Security?
At the Authentication: there are only the following:
WEP-OPEN
WEP-SHARED
WPA-PSK
WPA-PSK & WPA2-PSK
WPA2-PSK
I cant find a WPA2-AES there

I know I sounds stupid but this is where I learn from nice pple like you hope U will bare with my ignorant.... Well thanks for reading & reply too

jookhai
05-03-2007, 07:16 PM
Hey Thanks for reply.....where can I change this setting? Do I visit my singnet under Configure the Wireless Network>Wireless Security?
At the Authentication: there are only the following:
WEP-OPEN
WEP-SHARED
WPA-PSK
WPA-PSK & WPA2-PSK
WPA2-PSK
I cant find a WPA2-AES there

I know I sounds stupid but this is where I learn from nice pple like you hope U will bare with my ignorant.... Well thanks for reading & reply tooYou do not need to care about the settings on the 2WIRE. In fact, I assume your La Fonera is connected directly to your 2WIRE using a straight-through LAN cable - APs generally cannot connect to APs, so don't try to link both up wirelessly without a game adapter/bridge or third-party firmware.

It is advised to disable the wireless interface on your 2WIRE (to save power as well as reduce the risk of hackers/moochers since the La Fonera broadcasts a public and a private signal), then configure the WPA/WPA2 settings on your laptops/PCs/PSP etc. The 10-digit WPA/WPA2 key code that you will be prompted for is the serial number of your La Fonera. Do NOT ever release this code - it is private, your personal WPA PIN.

Also, do take note that not all Wi-Fi devices can support WPA/WPA2. Check if everything you intend to connect to MyPlace (especially smart phones, PSP, game consoles) are WPA/WPA2 compatible. Then choose the appropriate standard to use - WPA2 if everything supports it, else WPA or as a last resort, the easily crackable WEP.

outer92
05-03-2007, 07:35 PM
http://img404.imageshack.us/img404/5385/uobew9.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Scuderia
05-03-2007, 08:02 PM
The 051F7DW promotion code has ended on 28th February 2006.

outer92
05-03-2007, 08:13 PM
The 051F7DW promotion code has ended on 28th February 2006.

NEW promotion! still use old code (Promotion end 15 may 2007)

http://img221.imageshack.us/img221/3884/oub1mr2.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

s_11777
06-03-2007, 10:16 AM
Now can buy FON router @ coming IT SHOW. You can check at their website www.fon.sg

shadowandy
06-03-2007, 11:09 AM
Now can buy FON router @ coming IT SHOW. You can check at their website www.fon.sg

The reason why people still get from overseas is because it is cheaper when they consolidate and order.

Scuderia
06-03-2007, 03:53 PM
I'm wondering what default firmware those @ coming IT SHOW will be.
0.7.1-2??? :-(

Also curious to know what is the official stand the local ISPs with regard to FON being used on their network, now that it is officially launched in Singapore.

steventay
06-03-2007, 04:20 PM
can't the firmware be downgrade?

richneo
06-03-2007, 06:30 PM
0.7.1-2??? :-(

Also curious to know what is the official stand the local ISPs with regard to FON being used on their network, now that it is officially launched in Singapore.
ISP Contracts and FON, Should You Worry?

http://english.martinvarsavsky.net/fon/isp-contracts-and-fon-should-you-worry.html#more

in another article, fon's founder wrote the below which address the issue of ppl doing something illegal on your wireless.

I have same sentiments as him. dun join fon if you have concerns ^^

# 17

Michael,

as I said repeatedly Fon keeps records that show that if any illegal activity happens on a line it is NOT the responsibility of the Fonero. We have over 100,000 foneras connected, we get 20K more every month around the world and we have not had a single problem like this, not one.

But I see that a few people around the world are obsessed about this issue and keep writing about it. My answer, please do not join Fon, we don´t want people who will lose sleep over this, we want happy foneros.

Posted by: Martín Varsavsky at February 27, 2007 03:27 PM

jookhai
06-03-2007, 06:54 PM
0.7.1-2??? :-(The firmware that came with my La Fonera router collected from Skydio (the distributor for FON in Singapore) was 0.7.1 r2. Don't worry about firmware - just do not turn off your La Fonera during the first 5 minutes whenever you power it up, and it will download any new firmware. Such firmware will be automatically flashed in, while configuration settings will be updated/remain.

jookhai
06-03-2007, 07:00 PM
Is anyone experiencing problems with setting the position of your social router in the configuration page? I can't find any "Save Changes" button and the Google Map places my position right in the middle of Tampines Road.

If anyone else is experiencing this too, kindly help to fire off bug reports.

Please don't tell me to install Firefox. It doesn't update/uninstall clean and that screwed my PC.

liangtam
06-03-2007, 09:59 PM
IF you're having issues with Firefox, it must have mean that you have a corrupted copy.

shadowandy
07-03-2007, 11:15 PM
http://img236.imageshack.us/img236/5739/fonsgandusdifftl2.jpg (http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/tech/la_fonera/)

Made a trip down to Skydio earlier on to collect the FON. Well the difference is in the power adaptor that is included. Local flavor uses the 3 pin header while the one we got from US is using the 2 pin flat.

outer92
07-03-2007, 11:38 PM
http://img236.imageshack.us/img236/5739/fonsgandusdifftl2.jpg (http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/tech/la_fonera/)

Made a trip down to Skydio earlier on to collect the FON. Well the difference is in the power adaptor that is included. Local flavor uses the 3 pin header while the one we got from US is using the 2 pin flat.

you buy router from Skydio ?

shadowandy
07-03-2007, 11:46 PM
you buy router from Skydio ?

There was an event earlier on conducted here to give 3 free FON to forum members. Took part in it. :) If you wish to have the power brick and don't wish to wait. You can consider getting from Skydio. I wrote about My trip down to Skydio (http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/2007/03/trip_to_skydio.html)

jookhai
07-03-2007, 11:50 PM
Beware of the power supply adaptor that comes with the local La Fonera ... It's not electrically isolated and you may get a mild electric shock if you touch the contacts of the DC plug.

If you have a test pen at home, test it and you'll see the indicator glow. Most DVE brand SMPS adaptors give this problem.

liangtam
08-03-2007, 02:40 AM
I don't know where you see the DVE brand, but my adapter didn't give me that feeling I got from an old Acer laptop external cd rom drive with DVE brand adapter tho.

Then again, i find the 2pin design much better than those regular 2 circle header found from most other adapter and electrical device, at least the contacts are stable when connect in with a multiplug.

zoneguard
08-03-2007, 10:53 AM
There are 2 versions of the US 2-pin adapters. The newer one comes with ferrite core.

shadowandy
08-03-2007, 10:10 PM
There are 2 versions of the US 2-pin adapters. The newer one comes with ferrite core.

I see.

Just an update. Got the FON up and running. Was walking along the void deck with my N80, managed to pick up my FON signal. :s13:. Running on the standard 18 dBm

root@OpenWrt:~# iwconfig | grep Tx-Power
lo no wireless extensions.
eth0 no wireless extensions.
wifi0 no wireless extensions.
tun0 no wireless extensions.
Bit Rate:0 kb/s Tx-Power:18 dBm Sensitivity=0/3

richneo
08-03-2007, 11:19 PM
I see.

Just an update. Got the FON up and running. Was walking along the void deck with my N80, managed to pick up my FON signal. :s13:. Running on the standard 18 dBm

root@OpenWrt:~# iwconfig | grep Tx-Power
lo no wireless extensions.
eth0 no wireless extensions.
wifi0 no wireless extensions.
tun0 no wireless extensions.

hehe wanna mo 8 dbi antenna? lol

i very happy with the one dayellowduckie mo for us

steventay
08-03-2007, 11:28 PM
i still waiting for the FON to arrive in vpostusa.... so long...

We have received 0 new item(s) in U.S.A/Japan. ;(

so i can get a 5dbi SNA antenna during the IT show tomorrow....

shadowandy
08-03-2007, 11:49 PM
hehe wanna mo 8 dbi antenna? lol

i very happy with the one dayellowduckie mo for us

erm. I don't wish to die young. :|

richneo
08-03-2007, 11:51 PM
erm. I don't wish to die young. :|
im very young and i dun look like my age..

have to reduce power liaoz

shadowandy
09-03-2007, 12:22 AM
im very young and i dun look like my age..

have to reduce power liaoz

root@OpenWrt:~# iwlist ath0 tx
ath0 8 available transmit-powers :
0 dBm (1 mW)
6 dBm (3 mW)
8 dBm (6 mW)
10 dBm (10 mW)
12 dBm (15 mW)
14 dBm (25 mW)
16 dBm (39 mW)
18 dBm (63 mW)
Current Tx-Power:18 dBm (63 mW)

root@OpenWrt:~# iwconfig ath0 txpower 10

Maybe will slow down your process of aging :X

outer92
09-03-2007, 12:23 AM
i still waiting for the FON to arrive in vpostusa.... so long...

We have received 0 new item(s) in U.S.A/Japan. ;(

so i can get a 5dbi SNA antenna during the IT show tomorrow....

take 12 day to arrivie at USA vpost Shipping Centre

richneo
09-03-2007, 12:27 AM
root@OpenWrt:~# iwlist ath0 tx
0 dBm (1 mW)
6 dBm (3 mW)
8 dBm (6 mW)
10 dBm (10 mW)
12 dBm (15 mW)
14 dBm (25 mW)
16 dBm (39 mW)
18 dBm (63 mW)
Current Tx-Power:18 dBm (63 mW)

root@OpenWrt:~# iwconfig ath0 txpower 10

Maybe will slow down your process of aging :X
holy shyt... under web configuration it shows 16dbm in putty.. it shows otherwise

~ # iwlist ath0 tx
0 dBm (1 mW)
7 dBm (5 mW)
11 dBm (12 mW)
15 dBm (31 mW)
19 dBm (79 mW)
23 dBm (199 mW)
27 dBm (501 mW)
31 dBm (1258 mW)
Current Tx-Power=31 dBm (1258 mW)

Maximum Power: 1258 mW

richneo
09-03-2007, 12:28 AM
take 12 day to arrivie at USA vpost Shipping Centre
i still got 2 package havent arrive yet

been more then a month

shadowandy
09-03-2007, 12:36 AM
holy shyt... under web configuration it shows 16dbm in putty.. it shows otherwise

cough... dd-wrt is bugged... cough cough.

richneo
09-03-2007, 12:40 AM
cough... dd-wrt is bugged... cough cough.
kaoz..

31dbm plus 8dbi antenna = 8W of power!!!!

no wonder my hair is getting lesser...

kidding

outer92
09-03-2007, 01:06 AM
i still got 2 package havent arrive yet

been more then a month

i order 7 package , my two package less than 12 day arrivie at USA VPOST .

still waiting for 5 more to go

richneo
09-03-2007, 01:07 AM
heh i still wonder if the last 2 package mia...

the first 4 arrived pretty quick too while the last 2 waited 3x over days

outer92
09-03-2007, 01:29 AM
i hope my 5set router arrivie on time before they find out all ship to singapore

quekky
09-03-2007, 07:43 AM
31 dBm!

hmm, my signal not that strong leh, kichten drop to 2 bar liao

richneo
09-03-2007, 10:32 AM
31 dBm!

hmm, my signal not that strong leh, kichten drop to 2 bar liao
heh no lar i think its a mistake in the console hehe

cos within same room as fon oni can get 80% signal even thou with 8dbi antenna

but my fon is really really very hot sia ^^

richneo
09-03-2007, 10:57 AM
hehehe youtube video of fon in hongkong.

very creative of them to call linus 零老师 and bill as 标叔叔 lol

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=igqxaqwsz-g&mode=related&search=

its in cantonese thou

shadowandy
09-03-2007, 11:50 AM
_______ ________ __
| |.-----.-----.-----.| | | |.----.| |_
| - || _ | -__| || | | || _|| _|
|_______|| __|_____|__|__||________||__| |____|
|__| W I R E L E S S F R E E D O M
KAMIKAZE (bleeding edge, r6511) -------------------
* 10 oz Vodka Shake well with ice and strain
* 10 oz Triple sec mixture into 10 shot glasses.
* 10 oz lime juice Salute!
---------------------------------------------------

Firmware OpenWrt Kamikaze - With X-Wrt Extensions r6511
Kernel Linux 2.6.19.2 #2 Sun Mar 4 22:01:24 CET 2007
MAC ##:##:##:##:##:##
Device unidentified
Board Atheros AR2315
Username root

Web mgt. console Webif2
Version r2801

EK9
09-03-2007, 02:05 PM
hey guys I got this external antenna from ebay.
but cannot work. the connectors not same....doesnt work on my pci wireless card.
anyuse for that antenna?
i wan to throw away leow. :o

its sma male connector.

Scuderia
09-03-2007, 08:22 PM
Currently using ddwrt on my Fon. Any guide out there to flash the Fon from ddwrt to Open WRT Kamikaze?

richneo
09-03-2007, 09:05 PM
Currently using ddwrt on my Fon. Any guide out there to flash the Fon from ddwrt to Open WRT Kamikaze?
here can refer to shadowandy's blog

http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/tech/la_fonera/

Scuderia
09-03-2007, 09:28 PM
here can refer to shadowandy's blog

http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/tech/la_fonera/
Thanks. Since I already have ddwrt, I assume I can start from Step 3 onwards?

richneo
09-03-2007, 09:35 PM
Thanks. Since I already have ddwrt, I assume I can start from Step 3 onwards?
yup ur redboot is oready there so can proceed with step 3 but remember to set up tftp server

shadowandy
10-03-2007, 02:52 AM

do proceed with caution, to configure openwrt kamikaze is not solely thru x-wrt interface. some of the configurations cannot be done thru webif and need you to manually go to edit the files in "/etc/config"

steventay
10-03-2007, 07:45 AM
hi, anyone have any spare wireless router to loan (wireless B is ok) .... i still waiting for my FON router....

i might not want to wait for the FON router in US shipment... and just buy locally...

too long to wait and i need it urgently as my singnet is terminate Mar 17 and i will apply Starhub maxonline without contract and my existing router (adsl wireless router all in one) cannot use.

please reply me by tonight as i will be going IT show tomorrow and get it....

thank you....

richneo
10-03-2007, 11:58 AM
if u are going to IT show and buy it, why still nid to loan?

Scuderia
10-03-2007, 12:08 PM
do proceed with caution, to configure openwrt kamikaze is not solely thru x-wrt interface. some of the configurations cannot be done thru webif and need you to manually go to edit the files in "/etc/config"
Thanks for the caution. I read about that too. Some times CLI is easier than the webif.

richneo
10-03-2007, 12:20 PM
Thanks for the caution. I read about that too. Some times CLI is easier than the webif.
how? succeed liaoz?

shadowandy
10-03-2007, 12:34 PM

indeed, at least kamikaze runs on config file rather than nvram settings. Makes editing alot easier. Still waiting for time to explore how to config chilispot correctly for fon, since i have got fon to compare with le.

steventay
10-03-2007, 01:07 PM
if u are going to IT show and buy it, why still nid to loan?

i have not go yet.

going to IT show on Sunday afternoon....

hope to get a loan wireless router.....

richneo
10-03-2007, 01:08 PM
all my fon is out. =(

hope the new owners enjoy their fon..

i still have 2 fon havent arrive

richneo
10-03-2007, 01:08 PM
i have not go yet.

going to IT show on Sunday afternoon....

hope to get a loan wireless router.....
if u going to buy tomolo, why loan?

steventay
10-03-2007, 01:25 PM
if u going to buy tomolo, why loan?

i mean if i can loan any type of wireless router... than i no need to buy the FON at IT show.. i can wait for it to arrive.

cause i need it by next week....as i will terminate singnet on mar 17.

liangtam
10-03-2007, 01:28 PM
If the La Fonera from US dosn't arrive at vPost there, there you'll still need to buy one afterall.

richneo
10-03-2007, 01:34 PM
i mean if i can loan any type of wireless router... than i no need to buy the FON at IT show.. i can wait for it to arrive.

so if u buy fon tomolo and fon arrived at vpost usa, wun u have 2 fons?

im going to face that scenario very soon.

steventay
10-03-2007, 01:36 PM
if i get thre FON router from IT show ... can i dont want the FON from US?

i thought only need to wait 2 week... to ship to singapore

richneo
10-03-2007, 01:52 PM
if i get thre FON router from IT show ... can i dont want the FON from US?

i thought only need to wait 2 week... to ship to singapore
when fon arrives at usa, even if u dun wan it, vpost will ship to singapore after 3 days without reply from you.

and if u dun pay up, holding charge will apply at $10 per item for every week after 14 days

no harm emailing vpost to ask them if they can discard your package.

imho, is a very irresponsible thing to do and sooner or later fon might ban all vpost address

and you will be wasting 1 of my invite permanently unless you activate ur account using the new fon u bought in singapore

shipment from usa to singapore is less den 8 days.

shipment from fon to vpost is another issue

Scuderia
10-03-2007, 01:58 PM
how? succeed liaoz?
No time to explore it this week. Probably next weekend.

steventay
10-03-2007, 02:03 PM
that why i hope to loan a wireless router... wireless B also can.

and then i can wait for the FON to arrive.

anyone have any to spare to loan me.....

thank you..

Scuderia
10-03-2007, 02:07 PM

I have 2 Fon. The old one I have flashed to ddwrt, and the other just received haven't touch.

Okay, since Fon is all about spirit of sharing. I give you my Fon which just arrived this week, then when your one arrive you give me yours.

PM me your contact and I get back to you.

shadowandy
10-03-2007, 02:16 PM
I have 2 Fon. The old one I have flashed to ddwrt, and the other just received haven't touch.

Okay, since Fon is all about spirit of sharing. I give you my Fon which just arrived this week, then when your one arrive you give me yours.

kudos bro!

Anyway flashing to openwrt is same as flashing to dd. A full flashing job takes around half an hour including setting up of haserl and webif package.

richneo
10-03-2007, 02:19 PM

wah...

this kind of ppl extinct liaoz...

steventay
10-03-2007, 02:23 PM
thank you very much to share your FON.

outer92
10-03-2007, 03:08 PM
my third set fon router have just arrivied at VPOSTUSA shipping centre , still waitng another 4set before ship to singapore

steventay
10-03-2007, 11:44 PM
woh... so many... how did u have so many

richneo
11-03-2007, 12:00 AM
my third set fon router have just arrivied at VPOSTUSA shipping centre , still waitng another 4set before ship to singapore
bro when is the date u ordered?

outer92
11-03-2007, 12:17 AM
woh... so many... how did u have so many

use diff email address

get free fon router from here http://www.fon.com/en/promos/fonbucks

steventay
11-03-2007, 12:18 AM
i order mine on Mar 3, when will it arrive to vpostusa?

outer92
11-03-2007, 12:45 AM
bro when is the date u ordered?
order on 1/3/2007

outer92
11-03-2007, 12:48 AM
i order mine on Mar 3, when will it arrive to vpostusa?

14/03/2007 , less than 12 day to arrive at usavpost

richneo
11-03-2007, 01:00 AM
order on 1/3/2007
sad..

we ordered before 16th feb

2 really mia liaoz

outer92
11-03-2007, 01:34 AM
sad..

we ordered before 16th feb

2 really mia liaoz

email to fon

http://img403.imageshack.us/img403/2464/emailcx0.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

liangtam
11-03-2007, 01:47 AM
Which email address? I emailed to shop@fon.com no responce leh.

outer92
11-03-2007, 02:03 AM
Which email address? I emailed to shop@fon.com no responce leh.

http://www.fon.com/en/support/contact

Webbyboy
11-03-2007, 02:10 AM
richneo can give me an invite? thanks check PM

liangtam
11-03-2007, 02:13 AM
You don't need an invite to get the La Fonera, here (http://www.fon.com/en/promos/fonbucks)

richneo
11-03-2007, 02:16 AM
my pm has been spammed.....

yar u dun nid invites to get it.

just follow thru liangtam's link

mosmos
11-03-2007, 02:17 AM
You don't need an invite to get the La Fonera, here (http://www.fon.com/en/promos/fonbucks)
it's not working now, when you click the link in the website :(

hope the promo is not over.

outer92
11-03-2007, 02:21 AM
it's not working now, when you click the link in the website :(

hope the promo is not over.

link is working

mosmos
11-03-2007, 02:22 AM
link is working
do you get an error msg after clicking this???
https://shop.fon.com/FonShop/shop/US/DirectUS?voucher=614249339250883

liangtam
11-03-2007, 02:23 AM
http://shop.fon.com not working, maybe go sleep liao can work again :)

outer92
11-03-2007, 02:26 AM
do you get an error msg after clicking this???
https://shop.fon.com/FonShop/shop/US/DirectUS?voucher=614249339250883

yes , We're sorry, but an error has occurred while trying to process your request. Please return to the FON Shop main page and try placing your order again.

but promotion end on 31.3.2007

n6a2wh6k
11-03-2007, 03:34 AM
i get an error also. WTF. SCAM?

richneo
11-03-2007, 03:54 AM
i get an error also. WTF. SCAM?
what scam can it be when they are giving free routers?

many of us oready got it

Webbyboy
11-03-2007, 04:04 AM

many of us oready got it

yeah it's not scam but too bad their link is not working anymore :s27:

outer92
11-03-2007, 07:18 AM
some error at fon website . is working again ! get your free fon router here (http://www.fon.com/en/promos/fonbucks) the promotion is not over yet

Special Offer for La Fonera for free (shipping cost and sales tax included)

This Special Offer is valid until Saturday, March 31st, 2007 and limited to 10000 units and to people that register or are already registered as Foneros. This Offer is limited to one router per user and shipping address who are residents of the USA and live above or next to a StarBucks or any other coffee shop, cafe or restaurant. You will not be eligible for this Offer if you have previously purchased a subsidised La Fonera at www.fon.com.

Once FON has confirmation that you have registered as a member of our Community, we will send you the La Fonera for free (shipping costs and sales tax are included). Once you have received your La Fonera, your will be required to install the La Fonera and maintain it activated within the FON Community. If for any reason you are not able to do so, we ask that you kindly pass the La Fonera onto a friend who wants to share WiFi as a Fonero.

FON will publish your location on the FON maps that highlight the FON Community’s Access Points. Your personal data will be handled in accordance with the FON Privacy and Data Protection Policy that you will accept or have accepted when registering with FON. The FON Privacy and Data Protection Policy complies with the Spanish Organic Act 15/1999 entitled the Personal Data Protection Law and the UK Protection Act 1998, their corresponding regulations and other relevant legislation.

On our website www.fon.com you can find all of the necessary information for installation and registration of your La Fonera

chercm
11-03-2007, 07:58 AM
i just ordered mine

Quest
11-03-2007, 10:19 AM

many of us oready got it

ya...my friends & i total got 4 Fon router, manage to flash it yesterday~ :D

fusetrip
11-03-2007, 07:23 PM
Do you keep it running 24/7 throughout?

richneo
11-03-2007, 07:29 PM
ya...my friends & i total got 4 Fon router, manage to flash it yesterday~ :D
ur shipping is so cheap.

mine cost $14.38 per package excluding base charge

kishore2k4
11-03-2007, 07:54 PM
Anyone who got more than one Fonera willing to sell me one. I already got a La Fonera from the IT Show and would like to get one more for trying out some stuff but don't want to pay 40 bucks again.

outer92
11-03-2007, 08:34 PM
ur shipping is so cheap.

mine cost $14.38 per package excluding base charge

my $13.49 per set excluding base charge

richneo
11-03-2007, 08:42 PM
my $13.49 per set excluding base charge
lol they charge me 100g heavier in terms of volumetric weight

Days old: 6
(23/02/2007) Router (Chargeable Weight: 1.6kg) (Weight: 1.6 kg) 1 (USD) 1.00 (SGD) 14.38

liangtam
11-03-2007, 09:13 PM
Well, Fon dosn't even intend to ship out of US in the first place. Be glad that you don't even have to pay any shipping to vPost or other people.

You seems like trying to +1 on the other hand......

richneo
11-03-2007, 09:15 PM
wah must pay????? for shipping arrghhhhh
thnx for ur 1 liner post reply.

maybe u like to read first before posting comments like "i get an error also. WTF. SCAM?"

or "wah must pay????? for shipping arrghhhhh"

outer92
11-03-2007, 09:21 PM
lol they charge me 100g heavier in terms of volumetric weight

Days old: 6
(23/02/2007) Router (Chargeable Weight: 1.6kg) (Weight: 1.6 kg) 1(SGD)14.38
set arrivied
VS00159
Router (Chargeable Weight: 1.5kg) (Weight: 1.5 kg) (SGD) 13.49

VS0016
router (Chargeable Weight: 1.5kg) (Weight: 1.5 kg) (SGD) 13.48

VS0016

liangtam
11-03-2007, 09:36 PM
Your shipping rate so cheap for each unit.....

richneo
11-03-2007, 09:36 PM
set arrivied
VS00159
Router (Chargeable Weight: 1.5kg) (Weight: 1.5 kg) (SGD) 13.49

VS0016

VS0016
so sad..

2 of my package 1 month liaoz still din come..

xiaoarc
11-03-2007, 10:44 PM
anyone know where to get one? really regret never get at the IT show..

liangtam
11-03-2007, 10:52 PM
Order from Skydio at fon.sg lor

xiaoarc
11-03-2007, 11:00 PM
hmm..but what u all talking about shipping from us and getting it for free? i kinda confused.

liangtam
11-03-2007, 11:30 PM
Where got free? You have to pay for shipping, and there is no guarantee you'll get a unit even after ordering from US. Buy from skydio can get immediately.

steventay
12-03-2007, 01:09 AM
u can choose to order from fon.sg

http://www.fon.sg/index.php?option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=29&vmcchk=1

richneo
12-03-2007, 01:16 AM
u can choose to order from fon.sg

http://www.fon.sg/index.php?option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=29&vmcchk=1
u collected your fon?

when activating? my fon status shows that u have not activated yet.

steventay
12-03-2007, 10:03 AM
hi,

i have not activate maxonline servcies yet.

going to do this week.

Cloudiax
12-03-2007, 01:22 PM
Skydio Asia Pte Ltd

7 Temasek Boulevard
#12-05
Suntec Tower One
Singapore 038987
Singapore

Tel: 63360056
Fax: 63364057

Monday - Friday: 9AM - 6PM
Saturday: 9AM - 1PM
Sunday and Public Holiday: Close

NOTE: Skydio Asia Pte Ltd will be shifting its office to the following address with effect from April.

20 Ayer Rajah Crescent
#08-16
Singapore 139964
Singapore

Webbyboy
12-03-2007, 05:05 PM
Mine $13.48

outer92
12-03-2007, 06:47 PM
i just received email from vpost,my fourth set fon router have just arrivied at VPOSTUSA shipping centre , still 3 set more to go :s12:

AS1
12-03-2007, 06:57 PM
Skydio Asia Pte Ltd

7 Temasek Boulevard
#12-05
Suntec Tower One
Singapore 038987
Singapore

Tel: 63360056
Fax: 63364057

Monday - Friday: 9AM - 6PM
Saturday: 9AM - 1PM
Sunday and Public Holiday: Close

NOTE: Skydio Asia Pte Ltd will be shifting its office to the following address with effect from April.

20 Ayer Rajah Crescent
#08-16
Singapore 139964
Singapore
damn....if need to rma must go all the way to Ayer Rajah Crescent..

Whats the warranty for Fon routers?

shadowandy
12-03-2007, 07:53 PM
damn....if need to rma must go all the way to Ayer Rajah Crescent..

Whats the warranty for Fon routers?

From what I see on the box, 2 years limited warranty. Regarding warranty for FON in Singapore, would need to clarify with Skydio.

For bricked sets, then I don't know le.

steventay
12-03-2007, 08:54 PM
i just received email from vpost,my fourth set fon router have just arrivied at VPOSTUSA shipping centre , still 3 set more to go :s12:

lol

mine so slow

Kucha
12-03-2007, 10:14 PM
can send me an invite also? joachim4@pacific.net.sg

outer92
12-03-2007, 10:28 PM
can send me an invite also? joachim4@pacific.net.sg

get your free fon router here (http://www.fon.com/en/promos/fonbucks)

quekky
12-03-2007, 10:35 PM
ordered in jan:
Dimension : 46X32X8 cm, 2.0kg
Actual Weight : 0.9kg
Weight : : 2.0kg
Weight Charge :SGD$ 17.98

ordered in feb for my collegue:
Dimension : 27X19X12 cm, 1.0kg
Actual Weight : 0.7kg
Weight : : 1.0kg
Weight Charge :SGD$ 8.99

:(

richneo
12-03-2007, 11:19 PM
ordered in jan:
Dimension : 46X32X8 cm, 2.0kg
Actual Weight : 0.9kg
Weight : : 2.0kg
Weight Charge :SGD$ 17.98

ordered in feb for my collegue:
Dimension : 27X19X12 cm, 1.0kg
Actual Weight : 0.7kg
Weight : : 1.0kg
Weight Charge :SGD$ 8.99

:(
wah so cheap!!!

bro ours reaching?

quekky
12-03-2007, 11:48 PM
still need to add base charge leh

ours got 1 dunno go where, waiting for it. this time round i think is either 1.5kg or 2kg

richneo
12-03-2007, 11:58 PM
nice. this time round confirm oni 1.5kg and occasional lighter package cos fon lack of the 1.5kg box and uses the smaller one although abit tight ^^

saw it on forum somewhere

quekky
13-03-2007, 12:01 AM
i rather they just use newspaper wrap, maybe can get 0.5kg :s13:

richneo
13-03-2007, 12:07 AM
lol yar lor

the fedex box they use can easily store 2.5 boxes of fon ah lol

liangtam
13-03-2007, 12:33 AM
Whose Fon haven arrive yet ah? Mind telling the last few invoice number to see whose?

steventay
13-03-2007, 12:48 AM
u can use this to get free router...

http://www.fon.com/en/promos/fonbucks

Cloudiax
13-03-2007, 05:10 AM
From what I see on the box, 2 years limited warranty. Regarding warranty for FON in Singapore, would need to clarify with Skydio.

For bricked sets, then I don't know le.Yup. Local sets comes with 2 years 1-to-1 exchange.

Need to show the receipt to claim the warranty. :)

lamaray
13-03-2007, 10:10 AM
hmmmmz... so if i were to ship it over and like spoil, then i have to send it back to like where? haha~

Scuderia
13-03-2007, 11:03 AM
For beginners who want to try DD-WRT on their FON. The following blog has a very clear step-by-step walk through on how to flash your Fon. It is the easiest one page walk through Fon flashing guide I've seen so far.
http://blog.codedchaos.com/?p=31

Cloudiax
13-03-2007, 02:13 PM
hmmmmz... so if i were to ship it over and like spoil, then i have to send it back to like where? haha~Back to USA lor.

That's why it is better to buy local sets. :)

Scuderia
13-03-2007, 04:12 PM
hmmmmz... so if i were to ship it over and like spoil, then i have to send it back to like where? haha~
Ask for new invites from members and ship another one over. More cost effective than shipping to the US and back.

liangtam
13-03-2007, 04:50 PM
The previous person who have shared you his invitation will not regain it back!

Scuderia
13-03-2007, 05:56 PM
It is important to always register and activate the Fon upon receiving a unit. Otherwise, the person who share the invite will not regain back. Can always apply a new account using an alternate email like what some one in this thread did.

This also apply to those who are thinking of flashing the Fon. Activate the Fon before doing any thing else. By activating and registering your account will also change your status from Alien to Linus or Bill.

iphoting
13-03-2007, 06:05 PM
It is important to always register and activate the Fon upon receiving a unit. Otherwise, the person who share the invite will not regain back. Can always apply a new account using an alternate email like what some one in this thread did.

This also apply to those who are thinking of flashing the Fon. Activate the Fon before doing any thing else. By activating and registering your account will also change your status from Alien to Linus or Bill.
Yes, that will be common courtesy to people who sent you the invite.

richneo
13-03-2007, 06:16 PM

now u noe why i anxious about steventay activating the fon u passed to him?

i worry my invite -1 permanently...

hope he really does activate as promise =x

steventay
13-03-2007, 06:29 PM
i will... i going to starhub tonight to activate the maxonline .....

richneo
13-03-2007, 06:42 PM
i will... i going to starhub tonight to activate the maxonline .....

:D :D :D :s34:

welcome to the family

Scuderia
13-03-2007, 07:13 PM
now u noe why i anxious about steventay activating the fon u passed to him?

i worry my invite -1 permanently...

hope he really does activate as promise =x
The Fon I passed to him has already been pre-activated by me. :)
He should activate the one that's being sent to him from the US, when it finally arrive.

richneo
13-03-2007, 07:20 PM
The Fon I passed to him has already been pre-activated by me. :)
He should activate the one that's being sent to him from the US, when it finally arrive.
ah.... its no longer a bergin... =p

Scuderia
13-03-2007, 07:21 PM
ah.... its no longer a bergin... =p
I don't want mine to -1 like what you mentioned previously. So I activated before passing the package to him.

jase07
13-03-2007, 08:05 PM
can send me an invite? i'll activated for sure.

Jase07@yahoo.com

outer92
13-03-2007, 08:32 PM
can send me an invite? i'll activated for sure.

Jase07@yahoo.com

you can get free router...

http://www.fon.com/en/promos/fonbucks

quekky
13-03-2007, 09:33 PM
mine already -1, coz the code i sent to my friend doesn't work

and i think the other guy didnt activate his fon, so i only left with 1 invites (which i'm waiting for it to arrive)

richneo
13-03-2007, 09:42 PM
drastic measure will be..

send last invite to myself den activate the one queeky sending me so the new account will get 3 invites

oh yar for all members who activate their fon, will get invites.

1 if u put singapore address 3 if u put location as usa

bardevil
13-03-2007, 10:52 PM
Hey can anyone help guide a total computer idiot in connecting my Fon. I wired the white cable to my Flexisurf modem. Only "My Place" network is being detected. tried to connect but it cant work. I tried setting the IP address on the local area network but still cant work. I had register myself on the website. I am now at a total loss. Skydio ppl did not reply to me with the ans.

Can anyone guide me step by step to it pls. your help is gr8 ly appreciated. thks. my email is bar_tender_devil@yahoo.com

richneo
13-03-2007, 11:00 PM
the manual inside the la fonera is a good place to start

do read it.

steventay
13-03-2007, 11:01 PM
For beginners who want to try DD-WRT on their FON. The following blog has a very clear step-by-step walk through on how to flash your Fon. It is the easiest one page walk through Fon flashing guide I've seen so far.
http://blog.codedchaos.com/?p=31

this guide is for 0.7.1 r1....

what about 0.7.1 r2 ? wonder what firmware will the FON router be which i order... still no news....

bardevil
13-03-2007, 11:21 PM
Hey Bros out there i have prob connecting the router to the network of my flexisurf modem. I had tried all recommended ways in the booklet still cant work eg setting IP address. I cant detect the public Fon_ network. There is only "My Place" network. can anyone guide me thru. really appreciate it. my email is bar_tender_devil@yahoo.com Thks!!!

Cloudiax
13-03-2007, 11:43 PM
Why you need to detect the public Fon_ network?

I thought you should be using the "My Place" network?

liangtam
13-03-2007, 11:48 PM
You cannot share a near 'useless' Flexisurf FREE connection. You will never see the Fon SSID appearing unless it can 'call home' to Fon.

Scuderia
14-03-2007, 02:22 AM
this guide is for 0.7.1 r1....

what about 0.7.1 r2 ? wonder what firmware will the FON router be which i order... still no news....
SSH enabling codes have not been released yet for 0.7.1 r2.
http://stefans.datenbruch.de/lafonera/

It will be released shortly, since FON shipping with 0.7.1 r2 firmware are appearing now.

quekky
14-03-2007, 07:51 AM

It will be released shortly, since FON shipping with 0.7.1 r2 firmware are appearing now.
looks chim, luckily he setup the server for us already

lamaray
14-03-2007, 09:22 AM
there is like a tendency for either network to appear first... i also encountered this problem.. try rebooting the router if all else fails... button at the bottom of the router

lamaray
14-03-2007, 09:53 AM
im sorry im really a noob, but how do u actually start hacking the router? how do u inject the codes in? using what software and all?

richneo
14-03-2007, 11:38 AM
im sorry im really a noob, but how do u actually start hacking the router? how do u inject the codes in? using what software and all?
let me help you to help yourself

http://bingobommel.blogspot.com/2006/11/hacking-la-fonera-part-ii.html

do a hard reset to ur fon before doing it.

remove lan cables from fon, press and hold the reset button for around 30 secs

richneo
14-03-2007, 11:39 AM

release liaoz hehehe

http://stefans.datenbruch.de/lafonera/#kolofonium

Scuderia
14-03-2007, 11:55 AM
looks chim, luckily he setup the server for us already
Yeh. Just set up a small dns server to resolve "radius01.fon.com" to his spoofed address "88.198.165.155" and you are done. He's already done all the hard work.

richneo
14-03-2007, 12:03 PM
Yeh. Just set up a small dns server to resolve "radius01.fon.com" to his spoofed address "88.198.165.155" and you are done. He's already done all the hard work.
no nid to set up ur own dns server mah

he oready set up for us.

just set "88.198.165.155" as the primary dns server for ur connection can liaoz

it will resolve "radius01.fon.com" to "kolofonium.datenbruch.de"

iphoting
14-03-2007, 12:12 PM
there is like a tendency for either network to appear first... i also encountered this problem.. try rebooting the router if all else fails... button at the bottom of the router
Actually, it's a form of status display.

Private SSID shown means that the router is up and running.

Public SSID shown means that the router is up and running and there's a working internet connection.

iphoting
14-03-2007, 12:13 PM

he oready set up for us.

Thinking about it, how permanent is this?

Scuderia
14-03-2007, 12:18 PM

he oready set up for us.

Yes. For those connecting the Fon to router can just change the primary DNS in the router. But must remember to change back after you are done since all other dns requests will not be accepted.

richneo
14-03-2007, 12:19 PM
Thinking about it, how permanent is this?
dun ask me, ask ocbc..

kidding ask the hackers lor

Quest
14-03-2007, 01:15 PM

he oready set up for us.

wao liao...so much easier this method.. :s7:

yahgoo
14-03-2007, 05:15 PM
anyone ordering the fonbucks? I dun have vpost. Can i lom pang the shipment?

Cloudiax
14-03-2007, 05:31 PM
anyone ordering the fonbucks? I dun have vpost. Can i lom pang the shipment?You can lompang mine if you want.

outer92
15-03-2007, 07:08 AM
just received email from vpost,my fIfth set fon router have just arrivied at VPOSTUSA shipping centre , another 2 set more to go.

steventay
15-03-2007, 09:48 AM
my set arrive in vpostusa.... weight is 1.5kg

EK9
15-03-2007, 10:36 AM
Can I ask something about vpost?
when u put the address to be sent to. how to put?
my vpost address is like

NAME VPXXXXXX
xxxx xxxx xxx street
c/o xxxxxx xx
Compton, California xxxxx
Tel: (xxx)-xxxxxx

euforia
15-03-2007, 11:12 AM
Anyone can order for me too ?

mosmos
15-03-2007, 11:21 AM
my set arrive in vpostusa.... weight is 1.5kg
mine arrived today.....but is 1.7kg :(

steventay
15-03-2007, 11:42 AM

i have total 2 sets. both are 1.5kg...

agitator
15-03-2007, 12:31 PM
By flashing the fon to DD wrt it can work as a repeater ?

Anyone can help me flash ?

Willing to pay

liangtam
15-03-2007, 12:57 PM
Available modes with ddwrt.
http://img339.imageshack.us/img339/7336/wmodeoq9.jpg

How much you willing pay? Maybe someone will hook you up :)

agitator
15-03-2007, 01:20 PM
Quote me a price ?

steventay
15-03-2007, 03:03 PM
i may also want....

Cloudiax
15-03-2007, 03:19 PM
What DD WRT does?

EK9
15-03-2007, 03:51 PM
Can I ask something about vpost?
when u put the address to be sent to. how to put?
my vpost address is like

NAME VPXXXXXX
xxxx xxxx xxx street
c/o xxxxxx xx
Compton, California xxxxx
Tel: (xxx)-xxxxxx

can help please?

yahgoo
15-03-2007, 03:59 PM
Cloudiax, DD-WRT enhances routers like Fon with many features e.g. wireless repeater. Check it out here
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/What_is_DD-WRT%3F

I want to lom pang your vpost shipment. What should i provide?

Cloudiax
15-03-2007, 04:30 PM
So does flashing FON with DD-WRT voids its warranty?

If you want to lom pang my vPOST, you can use the USA address I have provided. It will take some time before it reach the vPOST USA office and from there, they will ship it back to SG.

EK9
15-03-2007, 04:36 PM
Can I tom pang also? :o

Cloudiax
15-03-2007, 04:45 PM
Can I tom pang also? :oI PM you the address liaoz. I will PM you again regarding the payments for the vPOST after your router has reached.

:)

qqspot
15-03-2007, 04:53 PM
My 6 set of FON router arrive from Hong Kong today...

Time to mod the fonera liao...

Cloudiax
15-03-2007, 04:57 PM
How you order from HK instead?

qqspot
15-03-2007, 05:50 PM
How you order from HK instead?Is fast and easy, just call my friend to buy for me or i will buy in Hong Kong when i am on business trip.

Then shipped it back or bring it back anytime i want or when i want ar...

Much cheaper if you buy them in lots...

shadowandy
15-03-2007, 06:14 PM
Is fast and easy, just call my friend to buy for me or i will buy in Hong Kong when i am on business trip.

Then shipped it back or bring it back anytime i want or when i want ar...

Much cheaper if you buy them in lots...

lol. how was ur free fon contest earlier on? who is the lucky dude for the contest?

shadowandy
15-03-2007, 06:15 PM
So does flashing FON with DD-WRT voids its warranty?

If you want to lom pang my vPOST, you can use the USA address I have provided. It will take some time before it reach the vPOST USA office and from there, they will ship it back to SG.

From the german blog of fon, flashing to other firmwares does void the warranty. But if you can flash it back, then they wouldn't know. But the thing is, if you can flash back to fon firmware, why the need for warranty? Unless you bricked it thru upgrading to fon firmwares (which I doubt).

shadowandy
15-03-2007, 06:17 PM
release liaoz hehehe

http://stefans.datenbruch.de/lafonera/#kolofonium

lol. a neat trick to use chillispot config to start dropbear.

liangtam
15-03-2007, 06:26 PM
Voids warranty or not, sending the device back to USA cost money.

Cloudiax
15-03-2007, 06:48 PM
Voids warranty or not, sending the device back to USA cost money.I'm talking about local set. Haha.

richneo
15-03-2007, 07:07 PM
after 4 email to fon, they finally replied with my fedex tracking number and according to the tracking number, my package is already delivered on the 16th feb.

now where did my 2 package to.....

calling up vpost tomolo

agitator
15-03-2007, 07:22 PM
By flashing the fon to DD wrt it can work as a repeater ?

Anyone can help me flash ?

Willing to pay

any1 can help?

cksim99
15-03-2007, 07:28 PM
can someone send me an invite, Please. Thanks, cksim@yahoo.com

shadowandy
15-03-2007, 07:28 PM
any1 can help?

cannot guarantee that it can work as repeater (although the webif of dd-wrt suggest that it is possible). Where do you live? If you want to pay for the postage to and fro then I might be able to help you flash.

Cloudiax
15-03-2007, 07:29 PM
can someone send me an invite, Please. Thanks, cksim@yahoo.comJust visit http://www.fon.com/en/promos/fonbucks

agitator
15-03-2007, 07:39 PM
cannot guarantee that it can work as repeater (although the webif of dd-wrt suggest that it is possible). Where do you live? If you want to pay for the postage to and fro then I might be able to help you flash.

Thank you !!

Willing to bring it to u, me stay near upper serangoon ^^ :s12:

Flanky
15-03-2007, 07:51 PM
can i also lom pang the vpost shipping?
anyone willing to share, can pm me your vpost address?
thanks

outer92
15-03-2007, 07:52 PM

my fifth fon router set arrive in vpostusa : 28cmx19cmx19cm weight is 1.7kg
i have sent email to complain! dimension not accurate.

Cloudiax
15-03-2007, 07:57 PM
I am curious.

Will FON be wondering why is there so many people requesting the routers to the same location?

richneo
15-03-2007, 08:14 PM
I am curious.

Will FON be wondering why is there so many people requesting the routers to the same location?
yes.

they oready noticed that.

just a matter of time before they ban our vpost address if we get out of hand and all received start flashing ddwrt and stop sharing their internet

shadowandy
15-03-2007, 09:14 PM
yes.

just a matter of time before they ban our vpost address if we get out of hand and all received start flashing ddwrt and stop sharing their internet

Yeah. I don't recommend flashing to other firmwares (openwrt kamikaze/dd-wrt) unless it is a spare and you have another device (from Linksys or Asus) running the FON firmware to share your connection.

No doubt it is free (but you have to pay for the shipping cost which varies). But consider only using VPost for 1 FON. It cost around SGD$30. And you still need to spend the time to understand how to flash to dd-wrt (which you need to hack to enabled the ssh, flash redboot settings, set up tftp server for flashing). Must as well spend $50 more to get a cheap WRT54GL which has an additional 4 port switch, dual antenna (although FON has got two but one is not attached), higher dbi antenna and boost higher transmission power. Best of all, flashing to dd-wrt/openwrt is less problematic.

So IF you are getting FON to flash it to dd-wrt just to FOLLOW what the group here is doing. Forget it and get a wrt54gl instead.

Of cos people may say that they are setting up a small, configurable, flexible ethernet-to-wireless bridge. But then think of it, it is still unethical if you are getting the FON free. (The only cost you are paying for is the shipping cost which fon doesn't earn).

At the end of the day, if you still wish to get a FON and flashing to other firmwares. Get it locally. At least you paid for it (money goes to fon side instead of vpost).

iphoting
15-03-2007, 09:16 PM
yes.

I think they wouldn't mind as long as the routers get registered and are sharing internet connection.

qqspot
15-03-2007, 09:23 PM
lol. how was ur free fon contest earlier on? who is the lucky dude for the contest?dunno ler nobody intrested. End up let richneo (member.php?u=3122) run the contest.

i will be give away some free FON also stay tune.

qqspot
15-03-2007, 09:26 PM
can i also lom pang the vpost shipping?
anyone willing to share, can pm me your vpost address?
thanksCHeck your PM

qqspot
15-03-2007, 09:30 PM
If FON USA ban your vpost address.
I will be there to help you guys, ship from Hong Kong Unlimited supply!!
Still the same price S$30 each. More cheaper then IT Show 2007 of S$39 each.

Will be giving away some also...

iphoting
15-03-2007, 09:31 PM
If FON USA ban your vpost address.
I will be there to help you guys, ship from Hong Kong Unlimited supply!!
Still the same price S$30 each. More cheaper then IT Show 2007 of S$39 each.

Hmm... How did you get around the regulation of 1 router per IC?

shadowandy
15-03-2007, 09:35 PM

Don't everytime say say only leh. Will only add to your bad track record.

richneo
15-03-2007, 10:08 PM
dunno ler nobody intrested. End up let richneo (member.php?u=3122) run the contest.

dunt say until like im the bad person here leh

fon founder link me to fon.sg and they approached me some to give away in this forum.

if other forum not snatching for stocks, i believe there will be more given to members in this community

get urs at $30, i rather ppl get from fon.sg with local warranty some more.

moreover, if u are sincere in giving away, u can still do it concurrently.

richneo
15-03-2007, 10:15 PM
Don't everytime say say only leh. Will only add to your bad track record.
thats what i think also.

ppl surf hwzone and vrzone and qqspot has bad reputation in vrzone and he likes sending pm to question ppl in vrzone

maybe its now time for him to put his words into actions to regain public confidence.

let us await the lucky winners to receive his fonera.

richneo
15-03-2007, 10:25 PM
I think they wouldn't mind as long as the routers get registered and are sharing internet connection.
i oready mention that in wat u quotted me

liangtam
15-03-2007, 10:26 PM
dunno ler nobody intrested. End up let richneo (member.php?u=3122) run the contest.

Its irony for you to post that statement and then use my photo in VR Zone to do sale of La Fonera leh. No winner announced even. I don't think you have any single set with you in the first place at all - for giveaway or for sale, whatever.

Cloudiax
15-03-2007, 10:46 PM
LOLOL!!

Just a NATO.

richneo
15-03-2007, 11:03 PM
LOLOL!!

Just a NATO.
careful wat u say hor

u dun wan to receive pm from him asking why u wanna doubt him

tidus792
15-03-2007, 11:09 PM
I agree with what shawdowandy has to say.
I would like to ask why are some users ordering in excess of 5 routers for themselves? Are these people hoarding the routers because it's free?
Isn't this contradictory to what FON is about? Sharing Internet access to as many people as possible?

shadowandy
15-03-2007, 11:18 PM
LOLOL!!

Just a NATO.

qqspot! Don't let Cloudix brand you as a NATO! Give FON to the participant (other than urself) for the competition (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showpost.php?p=22383422&postcount=301) you held! :X

richneo
15-03-2007, 11:19 PM
i recommend buying from fon.sg instead

got local warranty

maybe they consolidate the shipping?

eg i consolidated 6 3 for cdo (and his colleague) 1 for myself 1 for liangtam and 1 for dxg but 2 packages miaed..

not sure about others liangtam, shadowandy and i does have unmodified fonera in the movement

cdo_saturday
16-03-2007, 09:51 AM
i recommend buying from fon.sg instead

got local warranty

maybe they consolidate the shipping?

eg i consolidated 6 3 for cdo (and his colleague) 1 for myself 1 for liangtam and 1 for dxg but 2 packages miaed..

not sure about others liangtam, shadowandy and i does have unmodified fonera in the movement
heard my name :D
My FONs still unmod oso cos' of school work datelines but I will do something about it in May after exams! =:p

outer92
16-03-2007, 10:03 AM
my fon router still original unmod, still sharing my network at hougang :s12:

richneo
16-03-2007, 10:28 AM
my fon router still original unmod, still sharing my network at hougang :s12:
wah bro haha i see fon in ur abatar

which area u stay ah? i pop by someday ^^

richneo
16-03-2007, 10:29 AM
heard my name :D
My FONs still unmod oso cos' of school work datelines but I will do something about it in May after exams! =:p
wah bro u also schooling ah

i tot u working liaoz

outer92
16-03-2007, 10:34 AM
wah bro haha i see fon in ur abatar

which area u stay ah? i pop by someday ^^

AT BLK 693

cdo_saturday
16-03-2007, 10:45 AM
wah bro u also schooling ah

i tot u working liaoz
yesh, half half :o

richneo
16-03-2007, 10:53 AM
AT BLK 693
wah... walking distance

qqspot
16-03-2007, 11:58 AM
dunt say until like im the bad person here leh

fon founder link me to fon.sg and they approached me some to give away in this forum.
if other forum not snatching for stocks, i believe there will be more given to members in this community
get urs at $30, i rather ppl get from fon.sg with local warranty some more.
moreover, if u are sincere in giving away, u can still do it concurrently.No worries, i dun mean you are a bad person. Is good to make some FON movment in Singapore. As Singapore are almost 6months behind them other countries i saw.

I can Parallel Import Unlimited Supply from Hong Kong at S$30 each.
OR
You can go to www.fon.sg (http://www.fon.sg/index.php?option=com_virtuemart&page=shop.browse&category_id=1&Itemid=29) to buy for S$39 + warranty.
http://www.fonhk.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/01/1459e92de23e72.jpg
I going to play my part to make some FON movment also in Singapore.
I will PM you again regard about the FON give away, so stay tune guys...

qqspot
16-03-2007, 12:09 PM
Its irony for you to post that statement and then use my photo in VR Zone to do sale of La Fonera leh. No winner announced even. I don't think you have any single set with you in the first place at all - for giveaway or for sale, whatever.If you really think i am not telling you the truth!!
Please kindly drop me a PM with your contact number.

I will contact you personally and Give You A Free La Fonera Router!!
I am really sorry i had used your photos on vrzone, i had sold my camera at that point of time.

liangtam
16-03-2007, 12:13 PM

My first La Fonera modded with dd-wrt
http://img361.imageshack.us/img361/8630/fon2ln7.jpg

My 2nd set in Fon movement
http://img361.imageshack.us/img361/8941/fon1jx0.jpg

I already have two units. Thank you very much. :s8:
Hmm, then again, any set for me to giveaway as well?

cdo_saturday
16-03-2007, 12:16 PM

My first La Fonera modded with dd-wrt
http://img361.imageshack.us/img361/8630/fon2ln7.jpg

My 2nd set in Fon movement
http://img361.imageshack.us/img361/8941/fon1jx0.jpg

I already have two units. Thank you very much. :s8:
Hmm, then again, any set for me to giveaway as well?
Pictures never fail to fascinate me! :love:

qqspot
16-03-2007, 12:17 PM
wah... walking distance
outer92 & richneo stay at Hougang??

If yes we can start FON movement at Hougang.

richneo
16-03-2007, 12:29 PM
outer92 & richneo stay at Hougang??

If yes we can start FON movement at Hougang.

wow

you are also staying in hougang?

i just sent u an sms. lets meet up some day

liangtam
16-03-2007, 12:34 PM
Pictures never fail to fascinate me! :love:
Ok, here's one more. I had it prepared but didn't post only :)
http://img251.imageshack.us/img251/8584/fon3dp7.jpg
I placed my 5dBi DGL-4300 antenna on it. Altho I still prefer the all whitish look :love:

qqspot
16-03-2007, 12:35 PM
richneo see you in Hougang Central, Hougang Mall tomorrow ar okay?

steventay
16-03-2007, 12:44 PM
Ok, here's one more. I had it prepared but didn't post only :)
http://img251.imageshack.us/img251/8584/fon3dp7.jpg
I placed my 5dBi DGL-4300 antenna on it. Altho I still prefer the all whitish look :love:

i am also using the dlink 5dBi antenna.

seem that using the FON router it is slower than direct connect to the cable modem.

will do more testing this weekend....

Cloudiax
16-03-2007, 12:51 PM
Wah!!

Everyone lives at Hougang.

Anyone for the WEST?

lamaray
16-03-2007, 12:52 PM
alright la. which part of hougang are u guys on? im in hougang st 11. can find me on the map. lol. going to personalise it soon! =D

richneo
16-03-2007, 12:53 PM
wah now everyone showing their set up liaoz ah

the default 2dbi antenna on fon and fon's low power cannot transmit signal wide enuff to serve fon';s movement well

http://img466.imageshack.us/img466/2221/8dbixz0.jpg

im using 8dbi antenna. MO at $18 from dayellowduckie

jookhai has got a more powerful 9 dbi antenna from planex cost ard $42 :s31:

richneo
16-03-2007, 12:54 PM
alright la. which part of hougang are u guys on? im in hougang st 11. can find me on the map. lol. going to personalise it soon! =D
lol all the hougang kias start showing up liaoz

steventay
16-03-2007, 12:56 PM
wah now everyone showing their set up liaoz ah

the default 2dbi antenna on fon and fon's low power cannot transmit signal wide enuff to serve fon';s movement well

http://img466.imageshack.us/img466/2221/8dbixz0.jpg

im using 8dbi antenna. MO at $18 from dayellowduckie

jookhai has got a more powerful 9 dbi antenna from planex cost ard $42 :s31:

i also have a planex 8 dbi antenna not use yet...

steventay
16-03-2007, 12:59 PM
i am using starhub...

currently using SBV5120i VOICE CABLE MODEM as maxonline...

i also have unuse SB5100i CABLE MODEM

is it better to split the digital voice modem and maxonline seperately....

outer92
16-03-2007, 01:01 PM
wa!! fon movement at hougang :s12:

lamaray
16-03-2007, 01:04 PM
steventay..

confirm slower than direct connect to modem mah.. i mean got 2 networks.. private and public wo. then minimum sharing rate is 512kbps..

then with all the lost packets and all.. confirm will slower one since this is not one of those mimo wireless router.. 1 antenna nia. haha

but the concept behind this whole thing is quite nice :)

according to skydio, they managed to sell 200+ routers over the IT show.. and i really think its very encouraging that the FON movement is going somewhere in sunny singapore! =D

Rasputin99
16-03-2007, 01:08 PM
2 questions on Fon and the Fon router :

1) I noticed that the Fon router is rather compact and small, is it the smallest wireless G router around?

2) Is Fon going to come up with an alternative router that has lan ports or other features? From what I read somewhere it is going to be like that $35 SMC wireless router with Lan ports????

steventay
16-03-2007, 01:09 PM
where to find this then minimum sharing rate is 512kbps?

i am currently using a loan FON router from richneo

shadowandy
16-03-2007, 01:18 PM
If you really think i am not telling you the truth!!
Please kindly drop me a PM with your contact number.

I will contact you personally and Give You A Free La Fonera Router!!
I am really sorry i had used your photos on vrzone, i had sold my camera at that point of time.

Thought you will give the one who participated in the competition. LOL

Cloudiax
16-03-2007, 01:19 PM
steventay..

confirm slower than direct connect to modem mah.. i mean got 2 networks.. private and public wo. then minimum sharing rate is 512kbps..

then with all the lost packets and all.. confirm will slower one since this is not one of those mimo wireless router.. 1 antenna nia. haha

but the concept behind this whole thing is quite nice :)

according to skydio, they managed to sell 200+ routers over the IT show.. and i really think its very encouraging that the FON movement is going somewhere in sunny singapore! =DI worked for Skydio during the IT Show.

Personally, I felt that most Singaporeans do not like the idea of sharing their internet connection. Most felt that the Wireless@SG movement is sufficient. However, those only cover selected areas, FON will be able to cover the rest of the uncovered areas. Furthermore, Wireless@SG is only FREE for 3 years.

Cloudiax
16-03-2007, 01:21 PM
2 questions on Fon and the Fon router :

1) I noticed that the Fon router is rather compact and small, is it the smallest wireless G router around?

2) Is Fon going to come up with an alternative router that has lan ports or other features? From what I read somewhere it is going to be like that $35 SMC wireless router with Lan ports????Correction. It should be Wireless B/G router. :D

lamaray
16-03-2007, 01:21 PM
Ras i dont really think so.. after all, Fon is all about wi-fi community, if they provide ports i dun really see a point. like machiam contradicting their statement leh~ where did u see that report?

steven the minimum sharing rate thing can be found when u logon to fon.com... the default sharing rate is unlimited. haha~ maybe thats why u feel its slow...

shadowandy
16-03-2007, 01:22 PM
Wah!!

Everyone lives at Hougang.

Anyone for the WEST?

I am in the WEST.:P I hope is considered west. lOLx

outer92
16-03-2007, 01:23 PM
where to find this then minimum sharing rate is 512kbps?

i am currently using a loan FON router from richneo

Cloudiax
16-03-2007, 01:24 PM
I am in the WEST.:P I hope is considered west. lOLxI stay in CCK. :o

How about you?

lamaray
16-03-2007, 01:25 PM
actually if you have any question maybe can go to fon.sg... they also have a forum there.. haha

richneo
16-03-2007, 01:29 PM
I worked for Skydio during the IT Show.

Personally, I felt that most Singaporeans do not like the idea of sharing their internet connection. Most felt that the Wireless@SG movement is sufficient. However, those only cover selected areas, FON will be able to cover the rest of the uncovered areas. Furthermore, Wireless@SG is only FREE for 3 years.
lol i was waiting for u to say that u worked for skydio hehe

too bad im really busy else would have met up with the guys at skydio

i foresee myself traveling very often in the near future. thus i joined the movement hoping i can get wireless at overseas

shadowandy
16-03-2007, 01:31 PM
I stay in CCK. :o

How about you?

BB. :P .....

Cloudiax
16-03-2007, 01:32 PM
lol i was waiting for u to say that u worked for skydio hehe

too bad im really busy else would have met up with the guys at skydio

i foresee myself traveling very often in the near future. thus i joined the movement hoping i can get wireless at overseasI shy what. =:p

Anyway, I only worked as a promoter. So, not really a big deal. :D

Cloudiax
16-03-2007, 01:33 PM
BB. :P .....Wah. Steady.

They Hougang movement, we WESTERN AREAS movement. On bo? LOL!!

bardevil
16-03-2007, 01:55 PM
You cannot share a near 'useless' Flexisurf FREE connection. You will never see the Fon SSID appearing unless it can 'call home' to Fon.

it not a matter of sharing now but i cant even use the router? anyway in which I can connect to it 1st ???
:s11: