PDA

View Full Version : fonera router in S'pore

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6]

liangtam
23-05-2007, 02:16 PM
The La Fonera utilizes the Atheros chip. Cheap implementation and gd ma.
Can run Netstumbler to see how it performs, in terms of wifi output.

steventay
23-05-2007, 02:19 PM
how is it compare to if i replace it with a 5 or 8 dbi dlink antenna.

jookhai
23-05-2007, 09:11 PM
how is it compare to if i replace it with a 5 or 8 dbi dlink antenna.The antenna must have a Reverse Polarity SMA (RPSMA) connector. The D-Link antennas are passive antennas, which means that they do not amplify the Wi-Fi signal but only concentrate it in a specific direction.

The use of a dipole (rod-like) antenna will increase the operating distance in the horizontal plane, but create "holes" of poor reception above and below it. This kind of antenna is not suitable for use where multi-floor reception is required.

A patch antenna (flat, squarish type) focuses the wireless signal in a specific direction and is used to deliver the Wi-Fi signal to a specific area. D-Link carries both dipole and patch antennas, so choose whichever you need.

Personally, I feel that the La Fonera's default antenna can be left as-is unless you are trying to serve a large, single floor area; in that case you will need a dipole. You may also want to consider the La Fontenna patch antenna that will be launched by Fon in around a week's time.

TiOnGSquare
23-05-2007, 09:31 PM
those interested in fon see my signature =D

jittery
25-05-2007, 05:31 PM
http://img157.imageshack.us/img157/4851/fonusbqe8.jpg

total cost around $5....

$0.80 for the dc adaptor from chamoxa and $4.xx for transport :s34:

i know im dumb.. should have bought a few more head when im there....

i going down later sim lim, what is the exact power adaptor to buy huh?
what is the size huh? 2.5mm huh?

jookhai
25-05-2007, 06:00 PM
what is the size huh? 2.5mm huh?ID 2.5mm, OD 5.5mm. You can go to Unicell at Level 2 of Sim Lim Square and purchase it, it's called 5.5X2.5 DC plug.

It's quite cheap, just a few cents - I purchased 2 of them last week for my La Solara project starting in 2 weeks' time ...

EK9
28-05-2007, 02:56 PM
Anyone knows if I can do this with dd-fon router?

connect fon via lan cable to wired router's switchport.
and use fon as an AP.

richneo
28-05-2007, 03:02 PM
yes you can

EK9
28-05-2007, 03:48 PM
can advise?
the ip of the fon is fixed at 192.168.1.1, and I cant change it.
Do i need to set my main router's ip to another value?

cdo_saturday
29-05-2007, 08:11 AM
ID 2.5mm, OD 5.5mm. You can go to Unicell at Level 2 of Sim Lim Square and purchase it, it's called 5.5X2.5 DC plug.

It's quite cheap, just a few cents - I purchased 2 of them last week for my La Solara project starting in 2 weeks' time ...

Bro, the adaptors by unicell is L-shaped right? I noticed the tail of the plug (to USB) is a female. I was wondering how to use cos' it looks more like a convertor to me (one side female, one side male dc). I looked through the racks and all were the same. I asked the shopkeeper, she also showed me the same thing. But she was very helpful, so I bought a car usb charger instead =:p

The one at chamoxa looks pretty ok. It's non L-shaped (straight), can unscrew and solder the + - and screw back type.

richneo
29-05-2007, 09:15 AM
Bro, the adaptors by unicell is L-shaped right? I noticed the tail of the plug (to USB) is a female. I was wondering how to use cos' it looks more like a convertor to me (one side female, one side male dc). I looked through the racks and all were the same. I asked the shopkeeper, she also showed me the same thing. But she was very helpful, so I bought a car usb charger instead =:p

The one at chamoxa looks pretty ok. It's non L-shaped (straight), can unscrew and solder the + - and screw back type.
wah so lich... dribe kar liaoz

i still taking train :s34:

cdo_saturday
29-05-2007, 09:33 AM

i still taking train :s34:
bro, not my kar wor :D

i bought the charger to charge the D810 for my honeymoon/roadtrip as I don't think the D810 battery can last so long with gps. Tomolo going off and will be back 2 weeks later liao :o

richneo
29-05-2007, 09:35 AM
bro, not my kar wor :D

i bought the charger to charge the D810 for my honeymoon/roadtrip as I don't think the D810 battery can last so long with gps. Tomolo going off and will be back 2 weeks later liao :o
wah... honeymoon..

i just completed my studies nia...

sorry for OT

jookhai
29-05-2007, 09:52 AM

The one at chamoxa looks pretty ok. It's non L-shaped (straight), can unscrew and solder the + - and screw back type.I was referring to another type of DC plug which Unicell stocks - it's not L-shaped and comes with 2 prongs originally meant to plug into multi-voltage adaptors. You can solder wires onto those prongs, but heat-shrink will probably be necessary to insulate the joint from accidental short-circuiting.

I will take a photograph of it and post tonight.

jookhai
29-05-2007, 03:12 PM
This is the 5.5×2.5 DC plug that you can get at Unicell ...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v616/jookhai/dcPlug-640.jpg

jookhai
29-05-2007, 03:29 PM

i still taking train :s34:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lich :evil: :evil: :evil:

cdo_saturday
29-05-2007, 03:41 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lich :evil: :evil: :evil:
hahaha.. go wiki somemore :s13:

cdo_saturday
29-05-2007, 03:46 PM
This is the 5.5×2.5 DC plug that you can get at Unicell ...

image removed
wah looks like fork. The closest I saw wasn't 2 pins poking out but 2 or 3 holes to insert the wires. Jookhai, u soldered the + - wires on the pins and heat shrunk the connectors? Like this i will require 2 mini rubber tubes to cover the pins.

lichneo :D ,
did u ask chamoxa for the measurements of the adaptors or u brought the router there to test test? i must be doubly sure man! i oni know the inside pin is + the outside is - :o

jookhai
29-05-2007, 05:51 PM
wah looks like fork. The closest I saw wasn't 2 pins poking out but 2 or 3 holes to insert the wires. Jookhai, u soldered the + - wires on the pins and heat shrunk the connectors? Like this i will require 2 mini rubber tubes to cover the pins.

lichneo :D ,
did u ask chamoxa for the measurements of the adaptors or u brought the router there to test test? i must be doubly sure man! i oni know the inside pin is + the outside is - :oYes, you are right on both instances. You will require the heatshrink tubing, and the inside pin is the +ve terminal.

5.5 mm outer diameter and 2.5 mm inner diameter is the right size that fits snugly, and is thus most resistant to vibrations (e.g. due to a tug of the cable).

quekky
29-05-2007, 11:51 PM
rip out some rams from a spoilt printer, dunno can use or not

lichneo your exams finish liao free to do the mod right?

richneo
29-05-2007, 11:57 PM
rip out some rams from a spoilt printer, dunno can use or not

lichneo your exams finish liao free to do the mod right?
wow!!!

waiting for u nia!! hehehe

doing on weekend ah? lol shadowandy going overseas i think

shadowandy
29-05-2007, 11:59 PM
wah wah.. when i back from overseas lah!

quekky, check if the ram got the correct number of bits and banks. lolx

quekky
30-05-2007, 12:11 AM
samsung K4S281632C and K4S641632F

there are 4 chips and it writes 64MB there, erm... i think like dat only 16MB

ot: lich u collected your wlan from chaicka already?

richneo
30-05-2007, 12:13 AM
samsung K4S281632C and K4S641632F

there are 4 chips and it writes 64MB there, erm... i think like dat only 16MB

ot: lich u collected your wlan from chaicka already?
yar collected liaoz :s34:

quekky
30-05-2007, 12:14 AM
yar collected liaoz :s34:
alamak forget to ask u to help me collect also

jittery
30-05-2007, 12:55 AM
can do a quick check? is the pin numbering correct?

http://img71.imageshack.us/img71/7158/dsc00091yc4.th.jpg (http://img71.imageshack.us/my.php?image=dsc00091yc4.jpg)

sorry for the lousy picture

if cant see, i interpret:

most bottom right pin to be Vcc
beside the Vcc is gnd
2 pins above gnd is tx
1 pin above tx is rx

dunno the Vcc pin correct or not.

shadowandy
30-05-2007, 01:27 AM
http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/2007/01/la_fonera_router_communication.html

jittery
30-05-2007, 09:30 AM
http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/2007/01/la_fonera_router_communication.html

yo, cannot open leh..

The page cannot be displayed
The page you are looking for is currently unavailable. The Web site might be experiencing technical difficulties, or you may need to adjust your browser settings.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Please try the following:

Click the Refresh button, or try again later.

If you typed the page address in the Address bar, make sure that it is spelled correctly.

To check your connection settings, click the Tools menu, and then click Internet Options. On the Connections tab, click Settings. The settings should match those provided by your local area network (LAN) administrator or Internet service provider (ISP).
See if your Internet connection settings are being detected. You can set Microsoft Windows to examine your network and automatically discover network connection settings (if your network administrator has enabled this setting).
Click the Tools menu, and then click Internet Options.
On the Connections tab, click LAN Settings.
Select Automatically detect settings, and then click OK.
Some sites require 128-bit connection security. Click the Help menu and then click About Internet Explorer to determine what strength security you have installed.
If you are trying to reach a secure site, make sure your Security settings can support it. Click the Tools menu, and then click Internet Options. On the Advanced tab, scroll to the Security section and check settings for SSL 2.0, SSL 3.0, TLS 1.0, PCT 1.0.
Click the Back button to try another link.

Cannot find server or DNS Error
Internet Explorer

shadowandy
30-05-2007, 11:18 AM
Now should be up, the web server at www.orynet.com crashed.

Hello,
the engineers try to install something when the web server crashed. We are working on the issue now. Sorry for the troubles.

Regards,
Jerry

jittery
30-05-2007, 12:22 PM
Now should be up, the web server at www.orynet.com crashed.

thks for the help....afraid that i mess up the pins..hehe..

jittery
30-05-2007, 09:29 PM
i tried building the serial cable liao...seemed correct since i can echo what i send from hyper terminal...
but then connect to fon got some output, but rubbish one leh...wat did i messed up huh?

cdo_saturday
12-06-2007, 06:44 PM
Hola Fonero,

Did you know that our Community has reached 400,000 members? That’s good news for all of us! And there’s even more good news!

We have launched the La Fontenna, a directional antenna that sends your FON WiFi signal further, boosting the coverage of the FON Community by up to five times and improving your WiFi experience.

We want to involve you in the good news by offering you the new La Fontenna for just $/€ 2 plus shipping costs! (Regular price $/€19,95 + shipping costs).
But no more vpost address :sad:

richneo
12-06-2007, 08:31 PM
But no more vpost address :sad:
buttie u tried vpost address yet?

i was trying out my promo code until the fon shop went down

jookhai
12-06-2007, 09:03 PM
Hola Fonero,

Did you know that our Community has reached 400,000 members? That’s good news for all of us! And there’s even more good news!

We have launched the La Fontenna, a directional antenna that sends your FON WiFi signal further, boosting the coverage of the FON Community by up to five times and improving your WiFi (showthread.php?p=24092180&highlight=fonera#) experience.

We want to involve you in the good news by offering you the new La Fontenna for just $/€ 2 plus shipping costs! (Regular price $/€19,95 + shipping costs).You got the e-mail inviting you to purchase the La Fontenna for $2? :s31:

Anyway, FON has announced that very soon (or it could be in effect already right now) new FONeros who sign up an account as an Alien, will get a 15-minutes free trial period ... A great way to improve the FON service, but also a possible channel for abuse ...

richneo
12-06-2007, 09:05 PM
okie just paid for the US$2 fontenna

steventay
12-06-2007, 10:54 PM
what about the shipping charges...

Get La Fontenna for just $/€ 2 and Reach Further with Your WiFi Inbox

i see it say...
We want to involve you in the good news by offering you the new La Fontenna for just $/€ 2 plus shipping costs! (Regular price $/€19,95 + shipping costs).

cdo_saturday
13-06-2007, 05:08 PM
You got the e-mail inviting you to purchase the La Fontenna for $2? :s31:

Anyway, FON has announced that very soon (or it could be in effect already right now) new FONeros who sign up an account as an Alien, will get a 15-minutes free trial period ... A great way to improve the FON service, but also a possible channel for abuse ...
Yes bro. It's in the email. They sent 2 emails to me, both within a short period. The first email was about the 15min trial. The 2nd email mentioned the 2buck fontenna.

cdo_saturday
13-06-2007, 05:09 PM
buttie u tried vpost address yet?

i was trying out my promo code until the fon shop went down
No i haven't tried it yet :o

richneo
Yes bro. It's in the email. They sent 2 emails to me, both within a short period. The first email was about the 15min trial. The 2nd email mentioned the 2buck fontenna.
bro u wanna consolidate address?

i oready mailed vpost my invoice

cdo_saturday
okie just paid for the US$2 fontenna
with Vpost? Wana share shipping again? :D

cdo_saturday
13-06-2007, 05:11 PM
bro u wanna consolidate address?

i oready mailed vpost my invoice
yesh! how come so zhun our posts. :s13:

cdo_saturday
13-06-2007, 05:13 PM
Sorry bro. Abit busy at work now cos' I just transferred to a new dept. Tonight i will do up the order as I do not have my promo code email with me now. Catch up with u later tonight! Thanks! :D :D

richneo
13-06-2007, 05:15 PM
Sorry bro. Abit busy at work now cos' I just transferred to a new dept. Tonight i will do up the order as I do not have my promo code email with me now. Catch up with u later tonight! Thanks! :D :D
no prob

just email me the invoice when u have ordered baz.

u still ahve my email rite?

steventay
13-06-2007, 05:22 PM
i also want.. 2 sets

cdo_saturday
13-06-2007, 09:23 PM
no prob

just email me the invoice when u have ordered baz.

u still ahve my email rite?
gotch gotch. i just got home. gona do it now :)

benjaminyeo
13-06-2007, 09:55 PM
man.. i just got the offer too. can join the shipping too?

steventay
13-06-2007, 10:14 PM
man.. i just got the offer too. can join the shipping too?
can i join?

steventay
13-06-2007, 10:16 PM
it say US$2 + US$5 for shipping..

steventay
18-06-2007, 09:57 PM
how can i convert a FON router to dd-wrt firmware, i think my FON is either 0.7.1 r2 or 0.7.1 r3.

please help.

Scuderia
18-06-2007, 10:12 PM
Follow the instructions at http://stefans.datenbruch.de/lafonera/#kolofonium to gain SSH access.
Next, perform the flashing as documented in http://www.i-hacked.com/content/view/250/42/.

steventay
18-06-2007, 10:31 PM
i have a faulty power plug for FON router... how can i get replacement. mine set is from US...

if not, how to make one..

liangtam
18-06-2007, 10:39 PM
Buy one lor. 5V 2A

steventay
18-06-2007, 10:43 PM
from where.. how much ... where can cheap?

steventay
18-06-2007, 10:46 PM
Follow the instructions at http://stefans.datenbruch.de/lafonera/#kolofonium to gain SSH access.
Next, perform the flashing as documented in http://www.i-hacked.com/content/view/250/42/.

another way on how to install XTRadius, i do not have Debian system.

how to do it in windows?

Scuderia
18-06-2007, 10:52 PM
another way on how to install XTRadius, i do not have Debian system.

how to do it in windows?
If you've read carefully, the difficult job has already been done by them already. You just need to go into the web interface and set the DNS server of your La Fonera to the IP address 88.198.165.155.

steventay
18-06-2007, 11:06 PM
i manage to find an old power adapter for iomega zip.. which can use.. it is a 5V 1A.. seem to work..

steventay
18-06-2007, 11:09 PM
If you've read carefully, the difficult job has already been done by them already. You just need to go into the web interface and set the DNS server of your La Fonera to the IP address 88.198.165.155.

how to set the DNS server of the FON... thru the web. http://192.168.10.1

i cannot see any place for DNS..

also what about FON router for firmware..0.7.1 r1

Scuderia
18-06-2007, 11:15 PM
how to set the DNS server of the FON... thru the web. http://192.168.10.1

i cannot see any place for DNS..

also what about FON router for firmware..0.7.1 r1
If you;ve explore carefully, you'll find it when you set your wan to static ip instead of dhcp.
0.7.1 r1 just follow the steps in http://www.i-hacked.com/content/view/250/42/ in it's entirety.

steventay
19-06-2007, 01:44 AM
HELP HELP....
http://www.i-hacked.com/content/view/250/42/

i have do till this step

"fis create -r 0x80041000 -e 0x80041000 -l 0x000E0000 vmlinux.bin.l7"

then it disconnect and then timeout...

i reboot the FON router, it able to ping and then timeout.. why is it so...

liangtam
19-06-2007, 02:31 AM
You need reboot the Fon Router and telnet in again within 10 seconds to redo the fis create step
In the event that you had a bad flash, you need to use the serial method or ask shadowandy for help.

Please also use the putty client instead for telnet.

steventay
19-06-2007, 07:26 AM
still cannot.... shadowandy can HELP me....

thank you....

richneo
19-06-2007, 09:28 AM
FON debricking service

Accidentally bricked your FON router while flashing to 3rd party firmwares like DD-WRT or OpenWRT (Kamikaze)?

Can't enable the dropbear (SSH daemon) on the FON router?

Don't know the procedure to flash FON router to 3rd party firmwares?

Need help in flashing FON router back to its original firmware?

I might be able to help. Send the FON router to me for the above mentioned services and I will send back the FON router through postage as well.

http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/2007/04/fon_debricking_service.html

mcmxii
19-06-2007, 09:51 AM
HELP HELP....
http://www.i-hacked.com/content/view/250/42/

i have do till this step

"fis create -r 0x80041000 -e 0x80041000 -l 0x000E0000 vmlinux.bin.l7"

then it disconnect and then timeout...

i reboot the FON router, it able to ping andye then timeout.. why is it so...

did u use cross cable a not

steventay
19-06-2007, 10:12 AM
i use cross cable

steventay
19-06-2007, 12:10 PM
i have managed to recover it...

now it is running DDWRT.

can DDWRT can use as AP client?

what is the different between DD-WRT and OpenWRT ?

ab_cat
19-06-2007, 12:52 PM
i have managed to recover it...

now it is running DDWRT.

can DDWRT can use as AP client?

what is the different between DD-WRT and OpenWRT ?
DD-WRT can be set in AP mode.
different between DD-WRT and OpenWRT (http://dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=89296&sid=141027faf23028d03abf548ff2ef660b)

richneo
25-06-2007, 11:49 AM
2nd fontenna arrived in USA vpost office

left 2 more...

steventay
25-06-2007, 12:03 PM
now the FON router is no more free... is it

steventay
25-06-2007, 12:04 PM

left 2 more...

can i still order the fontenna under your address?

cdo_saturday
25-06-2007, 12:53 PM

left 2 more...
that's fast. my bill also fast. i received by bill statement liao :s22:

steventay
25-06-2007, 12:58 PM
i want to order.. what shipping address should i use?

richneo
25-06-2007, 02:03 PM
that's fast. my bill also fast. i received by bill statement liao :s22:
i still waiting for my credit card to be approved :s34:

steventay
25-06-2007, 02:19 PM
richneo,

can i ship to your address too? can pm me?

thank you.

cdo_saturday
25-06-2007, 02:21 PM
i still waiting for my credit card to be approved :s34:
dont worry bro, i believe nowadays it's even easier to get ur applications approved. :D
Depending on the banks u choose, there are some 4-letter banks which approve applications quite readily. :)

edit: grammar/vocab/punctuation/whatever =:p

richneo
25-06-2007, 02:30 PM
dont worry bro, i believe nowadays it's even easier to get ur applications approved. :D
Depending on the banks u choose, there are some 4-letter banks which approve applications quite readily. :)

edit: grammar/vocab/punctuation/whatever =:p
yar lor i also applied for the 4-letter one leh..

i fax them 3 times and they tell me never received..

i emailed them also say never receive...

den end up i mailed them and now no news whether approved or not

richneo
25-06-2007, 02:30 PM
richneo,

can i ship to your address too? can pm me?

thank you.
u are 2 weeks late

cant let u join now cos our fontenna has already arrived

steventay
25-06-2007, 03:11 PM
oh sad...

anyone else ordering, can count me in...

cdo_saturday
25-06-2007, 03:24 PM
yar lor i also applied for the 4-letter one leh..

i fax them 3 times and they tell me never received..

i emailed them also say never receive...

den end up i mailed them and now no news whether approved or not
wah, they must be shooting arrows all over the department! :s13:

richneo
12-07-2007, 04:27 PM
fontenna is here!

steventay
12-07-2007, 06:03 PM
lol.............

cdo_saturday
12-07-2007, 10:26 PM
Finally after much procrastination, I finally made my own usb power cable for the fon. tomolo then try to see if it works... :D

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v195/cdo_saturday/forum/IMG_2931.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v195/cdo_saturday/forum/IMG_2933.jpg

cdo_saturday
12-07-2007, 10:28 PM
Green and white unused. Red and Black for +ve and -ve respectively. Hopefully my usb cable's + and - is correct or else.... :o

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v195/cdo_saturday/forum/IMG_2939.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v195/cdo_saturday/forum/IMG_2940.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v195/cdo_saturday/forum/IMG_2942.jpg

richneo
12-07-2007, 10:30 PM
show pic of ur fontenna and.... ur blue car leh :s34:

cdo_saturday
13-07-2007, 06:34 AM
show pic of ur fontenna and.... ur blue car leh :s34:
bro u oso got the fontenna too mah. I no time take pic now le.. going to work. maybe tonite when i come home and no one else has posted yet :D. and as for the blue thingy, u so fast from level 5 rch level 2 liao ah? :s11: :s13:

richneo
13-07-2007, 07:06 AM
bro u oso got the fontenna too mah. I no time take pic now le.. going to work. maybe tonite when i come home and no one else has posted yet :D. and as for the blue thingy, u so fast from level 5 rch level 2 liao ah? :s11: :s13:
i waiting for lift to go level 5 at level 2 mah den i see the thing inside the blue thingy with u :s34: hahaha

cdo_saturday
13-07-2007, 08:00 AM
i waiting for lift to go level 5 at level 2 mah den i see the thing inside the blue thingy with u :s34: hahaha
oh! No wonder. But I'm only a part time right-side user. The blue thingy.... belongs to my FIL :o

cdo_saturday
13-07-2007, 08:05 AM
heng the fon powered by usb is working. :s12:

richneo
13-07-2007, 08:55 AM
heng the fon powered by usb is working. :s12:
yeah.. my fon has been powered bu usb for months already

cdo_saturday
14-07-2007, 08:04 PM
temporary wall mounting
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v195/cdo_saturday/forum/IMG_2989.jpg

compare size with ezlink
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v195/cdo_saturday/forum/IMG_2994.jpg

richneo
14-07-2007, 08:20 PM
temporary wall mounting
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v195/cdo_saturday/forum/IMG_2989.jpg

compare size with ezlink
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v195/cdo_saturday/forum/IMG_2994.jpg
hmmm wat router is that?

blue color one

liangtam
14-07-2007, 08:41 PM
looks like a aztech to me...

cdo_saturday
14-07-2007, 08:50 PM
liangtam is right, it's aztech but it's a modem for fax :D

liangtam
14-07-2007, 08:59 PM
ish a 56k modem right? looks just like my cousin dialup modem.

richneo
14-07-2007, 09:18 PM
liangtam is right, it's aztech but it's a modem for fax :D
lol paiseh im swakoo..

din use dailup modem for ages still stucked with my motorola 28.8kbps

cdo_saturday
15-07-2007, 02:04 AM
it's quite antique liao but at least it's still usable. I have a USR which I have difficulties installing :(

TiOnGSquare
30-07-2007, 05:55 PM
juz nw i try to upgrade my dd-wrt firmware ver of my fon..i tik the flashing process was interrupted, and nw i cant access to my fon config page at all. the lights still blinking but juz cant get it work anymore, any idea how to "revival" it?

richneo
30-07-2007, 07:57 PM
juz nw i try to upgrade my dd-wrt firmware ver of my fon..i tik the flashing process was interrupted, and nw i cant access to my fon config page at all. the lights still blinking but juz cant get it work anymore, any idea how to "revival" it?

TiOnGSquare
30-07-2007, 10:59 PM

thx for the link man! actually juz nw manage to get into the redboot using telnet, flashed it again..seems successful but still cant get into the config page..and its not shown in my wireless site survey.

cdo_saturday
10-09-2007, 08:17 AM
Is skydio still the sg distro for FON? I received a PM asking how to get FON in SG. I was about to recommend skydio when i realised i cannot find the webby =:p

liangtam
10-09-2007, 11:40 AM
www.fon.sg lor, but they bought down the content.

Sausage
10-09-2007, 01:04 PM
just got one second hand and I'm wondering if it's possible to set it up without a router at all. Is there any way to do a wired first time config?

I got it preflashed with dd-wrt, and can't seen to connect with my Dell x51V. Not sure of the settings I need at all... do I use open/shared/WPA access, and what is the authentication key?

liangtam
10-09-2007, 01:39 PM
The La Fonera in ddwrt is functioning as a Wireless router by default already what.

Sausage
10-09-2007, 02:37 PM
but I would like to get into it through my non-wireless enabled desktop to configure the settings. Any way to do this without a wireless router?

quekky
25-12-2007, 10:26 PM
Merry Christmas!

everyone's fon still working i hope :D

http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a220/quekky/fon-uptime-20071225.png

richneo
25-12-2007, 10:32 PM
Merry Christmas!

everyone's fon still working i hope :D

http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a220/quekky/fon-uptime-20071225.png
merry xmas..

running openwrt leh

steventay
25-12-2007, 11:46 PM
can ddwrt run fon?

i have 2 fon router... one is ddwrt and one is orginal fon firmware

cdo_saturday
26-12-2007, 07:54 AM
but I would like to get into it through my non-wireless enabled desktop to configure the settings. Any way to do this without a wireless router?

I'm assuming u meant accessing the FON (flashed with ddwrt) via ethernet?

U need to set ur computer IP and gateway to the following. Search for the keywords "Once it finishes" without the quotes.

http://uselesshacks.com/?p=23

steventay
26-12-2007, 09:10 AM
how to make the ddwrt able to link to FON..

liangtam
04-01-2008, 08:23 PM
Just received 3 new fons :D

http://i8.tinypic.com/82stci1.jpg

outer92
04-01-2008, 08:57 PM
Just received 3 new fons :D

http://i8.tinypic.com/82stci1.jpg

buy or free??

liangtam
04-01-2008, 09:04 PM
buy or free??

flee :D
Paid vPost quite an amount tho.

ab_cat
04-01-2008, 09:39 PM
still got free 1 again liao ar? btw, this version should be the 1 with more ports rite?

TiOnGSquare
04-01-2008, 09:39 PM
i tik i still got save a backup of the ddwrt client config(as a wireless lan client), upload later

liangtam
04-01-2008, 09:42 PM
still got free 1 again liao ar? btw, this version should be the 1 with more ports rite?

No. The free 3 units is only available to a limited amount of people by email during early december who has already had a fon spot. The criteria for getting it is unknown.

This one is La Fonera v1. Additional LAN port is v2 already

steventay
04-01-2008, 10:01 PM
is it with 2 LAN port.... how to get free....

ab_cat
05-01-2008, 03:25 PM
No. The free 3 units is only available to a limited amount of people by email during early december who has already had a fon spot. The criteria for getting it is unknown.

This one is La Fonera v1. Additional LAN port is v2 already
Oic, thx for the info :-)

mosmos
05-01-2008, 05:49 PM

:eek: you so lucky.

liangtam
05-01-2008, 05:53 PM
:eek: you so lucky.

Shipping to SG ish sexpensibe.

Anyone wans buy my nearly flee fon?? :s34:

steventay
05-01-2008, 10:36 PM
how much.... will u flash to ddwrt?

marcnggc
16-01-2008, 10:35 AM
Uppzz :s12:

My FON still not in used yet !!!
Must find time to do lah :D

liangtam
16-01-2008, 01:18 PM
Uppzz :s12:

My FON still not in used yet !!!
Must find time to do lah :D

Register and tie it to your la fonera can already what.

blosomchaos
19-01-2008, 01:30 PM
erm guys.. so is la fonera still available at skydio? i wanna get 1 too. seems like skydio doesnt show anything related to la fonera

liangtam
19-01-2008, 01:31 PM
call them up?

blosomchaos
19-01-2008, 01:42 PM
well, it's until 1pm today. so can't call them.

Techno Pride
04-03-2008, 05:02 PM
I saw this La Fonera 2100 brand new for SGD$28. Is good deal? But need to ship from overseas. Hmm.

steventay
04-03-2008, 05:45 PM
is it the new model which 2 LAN port?

Techno Pride
04-03-2008, 06:11 PM
Nope. The new one is 2201+

ab_cat
04-03-2008, 11:59 PM
IT Show 2008 got Fonera?

ordico
04-04-2008, 03:49 PM
Was looking around for a budget router n came across this thread. Called skydio jus now, guy over the phone told me they do sell the fon. SGD40+(fon) n SGD6+(speed post). Issit worth it? He told me it's the fon with only one WAN. I assume it's fon version 1. thinking of buying it for lan for data exchange during class.

dinux
04-04-2008, 06:03 PM
I have one from lucky draw. Brand new. Anyone interested. planetsg@gmail.com

richneo
04-04-2008, 06:08 PM
Was looking around for a budget router n came across this thread. Called skydio jus now, guy over the phone told me they do sell the fon. SGD40+(fon) n SGD6+(speed post). Issit worth it? He told me it's the fon with only one WAN. I assume it's fon version 1. thinking of buying it for lan for data exchange during class.
thats more than $46 for a pure wireless router only

not really worth it in my opinion

perhaps u can order from play-asia at twenty plus instead

hearad from liangtam got free shipment

ordico
05-04-2008, 02:29 AM
play asia is a little slow... almost 3 wks...
but looking at the cost... buy liao... will make it my project of the mth.... get la fonera n flash with dd wrt.. then use in class to swipe lecturer's notes when he's teaching... hehee n also diy the usb power... btw, anyone noe of a site which teach u how to use multimeter? i got no idea how to work that thing....

liangtam
05-04-2008, 02:49 AM
multimeter :s11:
for wat??

Techno Pride
05-04-2008, 09:33 PM
play asia is a little slow... almost 3 wks...
but looking at the cost... buy liao... will make it my project of the mth.... get la fonera n flash with dd wrt.. then use in class to swipe lecturer's notes when he's teaching... hehee n also diy the usb power... btw, anyone noe of a site which teach u how to use multimeter? i got no idea how to work that thing....

it's more like 1.5 weeks rather than 3.

ordico
09-04-2008, 01:24 AM
multimeter :s11:
for wat??

to test which wire for usb is positive lo... jus in case mah... scarely made in china dun care red or black... :eek:can use can liao...:eek:

it's more like 1.5 weeks rather than 3.

yah... abt 10 days... but up to 3 wks la...:D btw, it became out of stock after i ordered... dunno when play asia gonna hav stock again(luckily my order is already shipped)...

anyone still using wcg200? cannot set tried setting primary dns (for kolofonium) n in the end... cannot even connect to internet... had to set back to "Obtain IP Address Automatically (DHCP)"

liangtam
09-04-2008, 01:58 AM
most of the institutes orly got wirelessAP ma, no nid buy fon...

ordico
09-04-2008, 04:45 PM
mine is private part time.. no campus one.... doing this as mini project to learn stuff at the same time. I think it would be good to have a spare router lying around...

ordico
19-04-2008, 01:27 AM
My fon finally arrived today... but i bricked it on the first step!! Set the ip for HFS... sian.... not it doesn't hav the wlan light liao...

wanna debrick but dun hav serial port on my mobo.... sian x2... anyone noe of any usb to serial links? or DIY..?

liangtam
19-04-2008, 01:59 AM
You poke it can get back not? There are two things you nid confirm now

1) Whether if the SSH hack has been enabled
2) Whether if RedBoot is still accessible...

So you bought from Skydio or play-asia?

ordico
19-04-2008, 02:26 AM
bought from play asia. SSH enabled but redboot not enabled...

bricked after:

cd /tmp
wget http://169.254.255.2/openwrt-ar531x-2.4-vmlinux-CAMICIA.lzma
mtd -e vmlinux.bin.l7 write openwrt-ar531x-2.4-vmlinux-CAMICIA.lzma vmlinux.bin.l7
reboot

guess hav to go by serial...
but i dun hav serial... thinking of buying a nokia DKU-2 or CA-42 (http://www.nslu2-linux.org/wiki/HowTo/AddASerialPort) to "usb to ttl"? n mod using connectors...

Correction:
DKU-2 is wrong.. the correct cale is DKU-5

liangtam
19-04-2008, 02:54 AM
Errm, you tried downloading from a link that does not exist?

liangtam
19-04-2008, 03:04 AM
the command was supposedly wget http://fonera.info/camicia/openwrt-ar531x-2.4-vmlinux-CAMICIA.lzma

You may wan to list out the output from telnet, the mtd command is used to wipe the flash chip and can cause irreversible dmg if it has done in on redboot.

ordico
19-04-2008, 09:19 AM
Errm, you tried downloading from a link that does not exist?

yep...

i did not set the ip of the HFS to 169.254.255.2. It was at 5.xxx.xxx.xxx (hamachi i think)
so the wget did not work... n after that i reboot n it's like tt ever since:s16:.

as redboot not enabled, cannot debrick through telnet (also dunno how to telnet =:p).

gonna go simlim n see if i can get a nokia data cable to mod.

Techno Pride
19-04-2008, 11:37 AM
www.smartworldtech.net Nokia CA42 (IL40083821)

X X X X X
X W B X O

White
Blue
Orange

ordico
19-04-2008, 01:00 PM
www.smartworldtech.net Nokia CA42 (IL40083821)

X X X X X
X W B X O

White
Blue
Orange

er... can't find in smart world's e-store leh

gonna go to shop near to work check out the price of CA 42... n go simlim later to get connectors..

richneo
19-04-2008, 01:58 PM
pm shadowandy

he provides unbricking service

ordico
19-04-2008, 02:21 PM
pm shadowandy

he provides unbricking service

Aiya.. I'll try first. If i can succeed, may be can also offer debricking service for charity :eek::eek:

Techno Pride
19-04-2008, 09:22 PM
er... can't find in smart world's e-store leh

gonna go to shop near to work check out the price of CA 42... n go simlim later to get connectors..

You've to email the shop owner. It costs less than $10 and straight into your mailbox. Saves you the hassle of looking for it.

Guest_User
19-04-2008, 11:07 PM
less than $10 for a fonera router??????

ordico
19-04-2008, 11:17 PM
You've to email the shop owner. It costs less than $10 and straight into your mailbox. Saves you the hassle of looking for it.

Aiyah.... jus saw ur post....

went sim lim to buy the DKU-2 cable... n realised i needed DKU-5!!! wah piang... wasted $24!!:eek:

nvm... will go back tomoro to exchange for something.:D

However, did manage to mod a usb cable power adapter... for the fonera... :D

Guest_User
19-04-2008, 11:22 PM
so is it true that i can get the fon for just $10?

liangtam
19-04-2008, 11:54 PM
Which shop u went to get a USB to DC input connector?

Who will sell the useful fon for just merely $10???

ordico
20-04-2008, 12:23 AM
Which shop u went to get a USB to DC input connector?

not usb to DC... I just bought the cylindrical dc adapter/head/connector at UT (ultimax) on Simlim sq lvl3 I actually just bought the one that is the closest to wat i thing is as I asked the girls where to get OD 5.5 ID 2.5 n that were very rude with the answers.. very impatient.. ask a bit more they dun even look at you.. and just answer.. dun hav..

so i tikam tikam but the ID 2.5 (u can't find anywhere that says ID 2.5 n OD 5.5) loh...

I also wanted to buy a multimeter... but the attitude damn bad... ask them to recommend... they say all is there n call me jus choose... (the sales girl n lady boos same answer...) sian.. nonetheless the connector is Approx $1.80+. I think chamoxa also hav but they already close shop when i reach...

I also bought 2 usb cable for $2 each (one extra in case i screw up) for the pwr by usb mod.

will go chamoxa tomoro to look look when i go to return DKU-2 cable.

Techno Pride
20-04-2008, 04:02 AM
less than $10 for a fonera router??????

$10 for the Nokia data cable.

Techno Pride
20-04-2008, 04:04 AM
Aiyah.... jus saw ur post....

went sim lim to buy the DKU-2 cable... n realised i needed DKU-5!!! wah piang... wasted $24!!:eek:

nvm... will go back tomoro to exchange for something.:D

However, did manage to mod a usb cable power adapter... for the fonera... :D

$24 for the DKU2 is a very bad price. Yahoo auctions have them for ~$12 or less when I last checked. The auctions are great for getting cheapo accessories.

this the one you want. $9 including postal fee. Just email him directly.
http://sg.auctions.yahoo.com/sg/i:Brand%20New%20Compatible%20CA-42%20Data%20Cable%206800%206810%207200:247463254

ordico
20-04-2008, 03:14 PM
$24 for the DKU2 is a very bad price. Yahoo auctions have them for ~$12 or less when I last checked. The auctions are great for getting cheapo accessories.

this the one you want. $9 including postal fee. Just email him directly.
http://sg.auctions.yahoo.com/sg/i:Brand%20New%20Compatible%20CA-42%20Data%20Cable%206800%206810%207200:247463254

Yea...bad price... so that's y i gonna get from smart world n go back simlim to change the cable for something else. Hopefully i can change to something i wan. :s8:

I've called smartworld n they've replied with the price... They still haven reply my sms on how to pay him.

Theoden
20-04-2008, 03:14 PM
my fonera router antenna broke from the pcb.
anyone know where i can get the cable with sma connecter to solder back?

liangtam
20-04-2008, 03:22 PM
cannot solder back ur existing one meh

ordico
20-04-2008, 10:12 PM
when simlim tower to look for jumper cables, connectors for the serial attachment to fonera.
As almost all shops at the top lvl is closed, went around looking for the parts i want.

As usual, met a few shops with lousy service where when I describe to them the component I'm looking for, they say they don't sell. And when I ask them if they know what I'm talking about, they say they dunno and if they dunno, they dun sell. Guess the part I'm looking for is too cheap...

So I went shop by shop and came to Space Electronics at B1 Simlim Tower the sales girl there was more helpful as the pic I took for using my HP is crappy (no macro function - I was looking for a componet rather small) she thought about it and show me a few of which she thinks are possible.

And YES! I found what I was looking for. I was looking for the connector at the end of a jumper cable. They dun sell the connector by itself so I bought the jumper cable (cheap. $1.5/set - 2 wires connected to a connector). They also sell the DC 2.5mm cylindrical connector @ $1.50 (cheaper then UT @ SLS) BTW, the open mon to sun n close at 7pm

So next stop, SLS to return DKU-2. At sls I exchange my DKU-2 and went chamoxa to check out the price of the DC 2.5mm cylindrical connector and guess wat... it's only priced at $0.80!!

So ppl, for the usb power cable mod for fonera, please proceed to chamoxa.

ordico
20-04-2008, 10:14 PM
my fonera router antenna broke from the pcb.
anyone know where i can get the cable with sma connecter to solder back?

cannot solder back ur existing one meh

Er... i think he meant the whole thing broke off with part of the part still on the pcb.. Mabe hav to desolder n use new part.

richneo
20-04-2008, 10:23 PM
when simlim tower to look for jumper cables, connectors for the serial attachment to fonera.
As almost all shops at the top lvl is closed, went around looking for the parts i want.

As usual, met a few shops with lousy service where when I describe to them the component I'm looking for, they say they don't sell. And when I ask them if they know what I'm talking about, they say they dunno and if they dunno, they dun sell. Guess the part I'm looking for is too cheap...

So I went shop by shop and came to Space Electronics at B1 Simlim Tower the sales girl there was more helpful as the pic I took for using my HP is crappy (no macro function - I was looking for a componet rather small) she thought about it and show me a few of which she thinks are possible.

And YES! I found what I was looking for. I was looking for the connector at the end of a jumper cable. They dun sell the connector by itself so I bought the jumper cable (cheap. $1.5/set - 2 wires connected to a connector). They also sell the DC 2.5mm cylindrical connector @ $1.50 (cheaper then UT @ SLS) BTW, the open mon to sun n close at 7pm

So next stop, SLS to return DKU-2. At sls I exchange my DKU-2 and went chamoxa to check out the price of the DC 2.5mm cylindrical connector and guess wat... it's only priced at $0.80!!

So ppl, for the usb power cable mod for fonera, please proceed to chamoxa.
chamoxa increase price laioz ah?

cos i paid $0.50 each and i bought around 4 last time

Theoden
07-05-2008, 01:24 PM
Er... i think he meant the whole thing broke off with part of the part still on the pcb.. Mabe hav to desolder n use new part.

Ya man...
You are right.
I need to de-solder and solder a new part.
But I cant find the cable needed.

Techno Pride
15-05-2008, 12:59 AM
believe it or not, I just received this email from vpost. The thing has been sitting there for 1 year...

Dear Mr xxx

Mr x,sorry for the intrusion of your precious time.Perhaps due to your hectic schedule,youmay have overlooked your package from fon.com which contain router,has been sitting in vPost warehouse for quite sometimes.

We sincerely want you to get hold pf your item that you had purchased.If you wish to do so,vPost is willingly waiving off the holding fees for you.

Please reply the soonest or call me,Exxx at 6546xxxx for queries.As I have to make the necessary arrangement to waive off the holding fees.

Thank you for your understanding and co-operation.Have a nice day.Looking forward for your reply.

Regards

Exxx

vPost Customer Officer

theoryjack
09-06-2008, 03:32 AM
hi, tried to follow the posts in this thread but too many liao.. anyone know what is the cheapest method of laying hands on a fonera in sg now? ie. send to mail proxy address then get it shipped to sg, or buy from sls / some forummer?

liangtam
09-06-2008, 01:23 PM
hi, tried to follow the posts in this thread but too many liao.. anyone know what is the cheapest method of laying hands on a fonera in sg now? ie. send to mail proxy address then get it shipped to sg, or buy from sls / some forummer?

skydio
*10 char*

theoryjack
10-06-2008, 12:06 AM
skydio
*10 char*
is that a forummer nick or shop name?

liangtam
10-06-2008, 12:19 AM
is that a forummer nick or shop name?

http://www.skydio.com/

theoryjack
10-06-2008, 01:34 AM
http://www.skydio.com/
been to the site, but i don see any related links..? seems like this is a site for domain hosting ?

liangtam
10-06-2008, 01:46 AM
been to the site, but i don see any related links..? seems like this is a site for domain hosting ?

u have to email them about ur interest to buy

ordico
18-06-2008, 11:36 PM
his should have been posted long time ago.

I've managed to debrick my fon on Sunday 27 Apr (Woah... Almost 6 Weeks Ago!) using CA42 bought from Smart-World (see previous post (http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=29521230&postcount=1396)) I DIY my own usb to serial cable. As it is some pirated CA42 cable, the colour of the wire makes no sense to the tutorials online n hav to diy agar agar trial n error but nonetheless I managed to debrick n flash to dd-wrt. At the same time, I also modded a usb pwr cable. Woot!

Anyone interested in getting their FON debricked, pls PM me, I'll do it for free but postage u pay. :D:D

Pics Below

http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk168/ordico/Fonera/connectors.jpg
Connectors bought from Simlim Towers Top Floor

http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk168/ordico/Fonera/finished.jpg
Modded CA42

http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk168/ordico/Fonera/PluggedIn.jpg
Connection to FON

http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk168/ordico/Fonera/success2.gif
Debrick Success!!:D:D

http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk168/ordico/Fonera/yay.gif
DDWRT Success!!:D:D

VivoCity
03-07-2008, 05:57 PM
wat is the ultimate purpose for doing all this? Care to share?

steventay
08-11-2008, 11:18 PM
mine is using FON2100A/B/C
Firmware: DD-WRT v24 Beta (06/10/07) std

how to upgrade to the latest version, is there any easy way?

so anyone has the new Fon with 2 ethernet port?

coxmod
17-03-2009, 10:49 PM
Hello there,

I have a broadband connection at my parents' which is hardly used. Anyone has an extra fon router to spare or selling cheaply?

Thanks!

liangtam
17-03-2009, 10:57 PM
Hello there,

I have a broadband connection at my parents' which is hardly used. Anyone has an extra fon router to spare or selling cheaply?

Thanks!
http://shop.hk.fon.com/scripts/payment/sf_window.cgi?lang=us&errorcode=0

Get someone order from HK for u.

coxmod
19-03-2009, 09:25 AM
Wow! Still need to order from HK somemore? Thanks anyway

richneo
19-03-2009, 10:42 AM
i have 3 pieces of brand new fonera in box sealed unopened

im selling at $20 let me know if u are interested

mun_hoe
19-03-2009, 11:23 AM

i'll take 1 set, cant pm you bro.......pls clear your inbox :(

richneo
19-03-2009, 11:30 AM
i'll take 1 set, cant pm you bro.......pls clear your inbox :(
yar just cleared

mun_hoe
19-03-2009, 11:35 AM
yar just cleared

sent u pm, btw wats the router model? links? :o

richneo
19-03-2009, 12:03 PM
la fonera 2100

http://img475.imageshack.us/img475/2/1jv6.jpg

http://img246.imageshack.us/img246/9971/2nf4.jpg

http://img475.imageshack.us/img475/3979/3bk5.jpg

coxmod
19-03-2009, 01:03 PM

I take one too! :) Btw, can I use it together with my existing router?

mun_hoe
19-03-2009, 01:35 PM
la fonera 2100

thanks for the effort bro :D

umpimp
20-03-2009, 04:25 AM

anymore left ? if yes count me in :s34:

dexxter
20-03-2009, 04:46 AM
i am also interested :( please sms me if any1 selling 98788993 thanks!!

coxmod
26-03-2009, 09:34 AM
Hello richneo,

Tried to pm you but your mailbox is full. Just checking is the deal still on? :)

Thanks and regards.

mun_hoe
26-03-2009, 09:43 AM
Hello richneo,

Tried to pm you but your mailbox is full. Just checking is the deal still on? :)

Thanks and regards.

he's overseas for this week, might be back by tmr i guess cos he's arranged deal with me on weekend :)

liangtam
26-03-2009, 09:46 AM
actually, why the sudden interest to get the la fonera?

LocalGod
26-03-2009, 09:50 AM
is this very light? i think it's good to use it in overseas hotel whereby there is only ethernet cable

mun_hoe
26-03-2009, 09:59 AM
is this very light? i think it's good to use it in overseas hotel whereby there is only ethernet cable

think that's roughly a bit bigger than the size of a palm.....beats better than bringing around my unused bulky linksys b router for overseas trip

richneo
26-03-2009, 10:29 AM
he's overseas for this week, might be back by tmr i guess cos he's arranged deal with me on weekend :)
yes i will be back this sat late nite

sorry for the delay

mun_hoe
26-03-2009, 10:57 AM

sorry for the delay

no worries ;)

LocalGod
26-03-2009, 10:58 AM
cool...anyone selling this? i need it for hotel that do not have wifi

coxmod
16-04-2009, 02:56 PM

sorry for the delay

Neo, still waiting for your response in pm. Let me know if you still have any fon router for sale. Thanks!

kimyong
16-04-2009, 05:30 PM
I'll take one if you still have any spare. I can self-collect.

Please let me know via PM. Thanks.

ordico
21-04-2009, 03:52 PM
Interested in getting my hands on a Fonera 2. with umts support. Hmm.. Can plugin BBOM n share da luv. Any one has any lobang?

coxmod
23-04-2009, 04:20 PM
I finally got a fon router from a friend. Haven't set it up but just want to check whether it allows mac address access? I don't seem to find it on the manual.

Thanks!

richneo
24-04-2009, 09:43 AM
Dear Fonero:

I just wanted you to know that the Fonera 2.0 WiFi router is launched! When
Wired heard the news they said, "...this is fantastic, exactly what a
router should be doing." Cory Doctorow from BoingBoing said the Fonera 2.0
is "...a router far more featured than the most expensive access point you
can get in the shops, costing a fraction of the price and based on entirely
free firmware."

What is the Fonera 2.0? Other than a social router that allows you to
share some bandwidth with other Foneros and roam the world for free,
it is a router that downloads your torrents, your files from
RapidShare, Megaupload, and that uploads your videos to Youtube, your
pictures to Facebook, Picasa, or Flickr all on its own. You can
do all these tasks in a simpler, more environmental fashion. Let your
Fonera 2.0 do the file transfer while your PC does more important stuff, is
turned off, or is away from home with you.

If you have any recommendations on new features that you would like to see
in the Fonera 2.0 or are a developer and would like to write more apps
do not hesitate to write to me. You may order your Fonera 2.0 here.

Enjoy,

Martin Varsavsky
Chief Fonero

ordico
24-04-2009, 03:44 PM
Dear Fonero:

I just wanted you to know that the Fonera 2.0 WiFi router is launched! When

You may order your Fonera 2.0 here.

Enjoy,

Martin Varsavsky
Chief Fonero

Wee...
Went to their webby, it's 49.95 Euro leh... That's Almost $120 :(

It's available on EURO nations only.. :(

Sadness

tidus792
24-04-2009, 05:32 PM
Although the router has many promises, it hardly comes cheap.

Is there anything special about this router's hardware? I suspect that the firmware features that they're offering today can be found in other free firmware as well.

liangtam
24-04-2009, 11:04 PM
Although the router has many promises, it hardly comes cheap.

Is there anything special about this router's hardware? I suspect that the firmware features that they're offering today can be found in other free firmware as well.
Hardware many oem company can copy from each other what. nowadays so easy.

personally, imo, its way too exp, but the fon is price that way because of ease of use mah. which other firmware, free or not, got give u the simplicity from WebUI?

ordico
25-04-2009, 12:30 PM
for fornera 1.0, i got it at 19.99 which was very cheap. how come for 2.0 so ex... i tot they using opensource technology so should be much cheaper.. sadness...

Techno Pride
10-07-2009, 06:43 PM
Modified Redboot for very fast router startup

This Redboot collection contains RAM and ROM images for varios phy and ram as well as flash configurations.
for devices with Realtek phys you should use the kendin image which is universal for single port phys

the images are optimized for very fast startup and decompression of the kernel image. the embedded lzma decoder was modified as well
as the system startup code.
additionally this redboot itself is now compressed with lzma which decreases the size to less than 64 kb
to enter the redboot console, you must now press the reset button (if you push it longer than 5 seconds, it will reset the dd-wrt configuration then enters then redboot too)
More info (http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=39087&start=630)
Download (http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads/others/redboot_collection/images_default/redboot_ap51_16M_8M_kendin.rom)

Copy this file with scp to your /tmp folder within the device and type
mtd -f write /tmp/redboot_ap51_16M_8M_kendin.rom RedBoot

now its installed and available on next reboot. per default it will still enter redboot for boot procedure. to make it even faster do
nvram set resetbutton_enable=0
nvram commit
and reboot. then redboot will only be started if you trigger the reset button the on backside, otherwise it directly boots dd-wrt

(I've tried the flash with a FON2100F and it works. Didn't try disabling te reset button, coz it's already fast enough)

HeeroYuy84
08-08-2009, 05:43 PM
now still have? wad is it about?