View Full Version : fonera router in S'pore
zoneguard
22-12-2006, 10:57 AM
Got this for free except for the shipping. Already got root access via ssh.
http://img228.imageshack.us/img228/8318/fonerakk5.th.jpg
seowbin
22-12-2006, 10:59 AM
wah... quite cute :D
free wor? how come so good? how much the shipping?
zoneguard
22-12-2006, 11:04 AM
around S$30. Was registered with fon.com and they sent me a promotion code for Christmas.
Jimny
22-12-2006, 11:09 AM
Very interesting concept !! must share must share ;)
alanchia67
22-12-2006, 11:09 AM
i noticed singapore doesnt have a wide foneros coverage (or any at all).
bangky
22-12-2006, 11:10 AM
i noticed singapore doesnt have a wide foneros coverage (or any at all).
la fonera is for the free wifi thing right?..... dun think they brought the concept to SG leh..
TS, is it still the wrt54g?
zoneguard
22-12-2006, 11:11 AM
They ship to certain countries (USA and most Europe countries, Asia has Japan,HK etc) only but I use my VPost account to reship to S'pore.
zoneguard
22-12-2006, 11:13 AM
My set is not the WRT54G though you can flash FON firmware into a WRT54G.
bangky
22-12-2006, 11:14 AM
My set is not the WRT54G though you can flash FON firmware into a WRT54G.
oh.. :(..
btw just wondering if you could take a closer shot or perhaps let us know if this is an oem router?.. thanks
zoneguard
22-12-2006, 11:17 AM
It is a OEM router. Custom Design from FON. Closest cousin is http://www.meraki.net/mini.html
SamuelGoh21
22-12-2006, 03:14 PM
Normally there is a catch for FON as you need to share out the wireless to a mesh to act as Hotspot for others..:)
zoneguard
22-12-2006, 10:28 PM
I'm not operating it normally :P
sooch
23-12-2006, 01:36 AM
soon soon this FON router will take SG by storm. :D
http://en.fon.com/skypefon/
quekky
23-12-2006, 12:10 PM
how to get 1 free? I dun mind sharing my internet as long as i can get 11g :D
zoneguard
23-12-2006, 12:16 PM
I don't know what criteria they use to pick people to give free foneras. Anyway it's not launched in S'pore yet.
quekky
23-12-2006, 12:24 PM
I don't know what criteria they use to pick people to give free foneras. Anyway it's not launched in S'pore yet.
when u click on "fonera get fonera" link, do u have any free fon to give? if yes dun mind sending me 1. mail at quekky dot com
zoneguard
23-12-2006, 01:34 PM
I don't qualify for this as I never registered my router with FON.com.
ykeen
24-12-2006, 09:32 PM
when u click on "fonera get fonera" link, do u have any free fon to give? if yes dun mind sending me 1. mail at quekky dot com
done, sent you an invite.
zoneguard, so lucky how come u got the free new fonera? this new la fonera also able to flash to other firmware?
hehe, I ordered and paid US$5 + US$8 (shipping to USA) for the previous WRT54GS router on Fon firmware back in July. and had to ship it back using vpost. Anyway, the router currently is offline, I lazy to plug in now.. although I got USD 13.97 in my piggy bank... think very difficult to accumulate US$30 to be able to cash out... :D
Merry X'mas to all!
richneo
24-12-2006, 10:22 PM
anymore invite i ish also interested leh.. =(
ykeen
24-12-2006, 11:10 PM
anymore invite i ish also interested leh.. =(
richard dot neo at gmail dot com
Hohoho.. Merry X'mas...! :D
richneo
24-12-2006, 11:14 PM
Hohoho.. Merry X'mas...! :D
thnx!
Merry Xmas!!!
liangtam
25-12-2006, 12:34 AM
<this same hwz nick> @ pacific.net.sg
I wan!
Got number of invitational limits or what?
richneo
25-12-2006, 01:07 AM
hacking the fonera to allow ssh!
http://www.scorpiontek.org/portal/content/view/85/36/1/4/
quekky
25-12-2006, 01:39 AM
thanks ykeen and merry christmas!
I have just ordered mine
richneo
25-12-2006, 01:45 AM
thanks ykeen and merry christmas!
I have just ordered mine
me too hehe should be arriving around 3 weeks later
XyberMessiah
25-12-2006, 09:03 AM
done, sent you an invite.
zoneguard, so lucky how come u got the free new fonera? this new la fonera also able to flash to other firmware?
hehe, I ordered and paid US$5 + US$8 (shipping to USA) for the previous WRT54GS router on Fon firmware back in July. and had to ship it back using vpost. Anyway, the router currently is offline, I lazy to plug in now.. although I got USD 13.97 in my piggy bank... think very difficult to accumulate US$30 to be able to cash out... :D
Merry X'mas to all!
Dude, could u send me an invite too?
beautifulnoize<@>gmail<dot>com
tingsters
25-12-2006, 10:22 AM
who can send me an invite ? :D
tingsters@hotmail.com
can send me an invitation too?
ming_20@yahoo.com
ykeen
26-12-2006, 02:11 AM
Got only 3 invites, last one went to liangtam..
Well, hopefully some one else also got invite to give, else gotta wait till these 3 guys registered their fonera, then i got more invites to give? :P
http://i77.photobucket.com/albums/j48/devipv6/fonera.jpg
Happy boxing day everyone! ;)
liangtam
26-12-2006, 02:40 AM
Got only 3 invites, last one went to liangtam..
Thanks. Now going co-ordinate together ship by same vPost a/c can save base charges.
seowbin
26-12-2006, 06:20 AM
vpost sucks :s13:
i wanna ship speakers, they say dangerous items, end up wasting my $$$
richneo
26-12-2006, 08:51 AM
Starting December 21st Foneros in Europe and the USA can invite their friends to join FON and receive a free La Fonera! If you have an active Access Point you are eligible to participate in our Fonero Gets Fonero campaign.
Martin Varsavsky, founder and CEO of FON, regards the "Fonero gets Fonero" campaign as a gift to the Community:
"It is Christmas time and we want to thank our loyal FONeros and reward their trust and commitment by offering them the opportunity to give new community members a Christmas present. At the same time, it is they who decide which friends they most want to surf with. In this way, they enlarge the community with FONspots in sought-after locations."
Its easy and your friends get a La Fonera mailed to them free!
Click here for details!
Update: In Europe you will receive 1 invite at a time. When your friend activates La Fonera your next invite will appear!
hangyong
26-12-2006, 09:00 AM
please send me the invites....
<nick at HWZ>@filmgrain.com
richneo
26-12-2006, 09:58 AM
Various Apologies
I apologize for the high shipping charges we have to some European countries. We are working on reducing those.
I apologize to all of those who want to be FONeros in Asia and still canīt get the routers for $5/5. What happened is that we alocated a certain amount of routers to Asia, started selling them in Korea and sold so many that we simply ran out. My apologies and do expect social routers in many places in Asia subsidized by FON as soon as Accton, our manufacturing partners, can deliver them which I estimate will be in mid August.
Source: http://english.martinvarsavsky.net/2006/06/
ykeen
26-12-2006, 12:05 PM
Yes they were manufactured by Accton, as it was announced previously:
http://english.martinvarsavsky.net/fon/after-the-fon-social-router-comes-the-fon-downloader.html
http://www.cbronline.com/article_news.asp?guid=BE55194E-9DBE-4B0D-B340-8A7F5EDC2DD0
richneo
26-12-2006, 12:10 PM
the next version of fonera might include usb port and supports BT download
zoneguard
02-01-2007, 09:06 PM
my fonera is now running OpenWrt kamikaze edition, see details at http://wiki.openwrt.org/OpenWrtDocs/Hardware/Fon/Fonera
richneo
02-01-2007, 09:20 PM
i just activated fon and sent invite to shadowandy yesterdae
shadowandy
02-01-2007, 09:35 PM
ish lub u dip dip for that.
my fonera is now running OpenWrt kamikaze edition, see details at http://wiki.openwrt.org/OpenWrtDocs/Hardware/Fon/Fonera
this is even better!
richneo
02-01-2007, 09:38 PM
ish lub u dip dip for that.
this is even better!
just wat u wan openwrt hahaha
shadowandy
02-01-2007, 09:54 PM
just wat u wan openwrt hahaha
yeah!! perfect small router for misc stuffs. *grin*
quekky
02-01-2007, 10:03 PM
nice, openwrt :D
shadowandy
02-01-2007, 10:47 PM
nice, openwrt :D
kamikaze branch though. Think will put a fair bit of users off as it is all console configuration. Or does x-wrt supports kamikaze branch as well?
richneo
03-01-2007, 12:15 AM
sorry for the poor quality pic
took this pic when i opened 1 access point sometime ago
http://img363.imageshack.us/img363/648/image021yi7.jpg
looks like the fon router hor?
the above is inside the below
http://img503.imageshack.us/img503/6591/image025rv2.jpg
Accton is the mother company of SMC
quekky
03-01-2007, 12:34 AM
looks like exactly the same. what's that small plate on the right that's connected to the other wlan?
richneo
03-01-2007, 12:39 AM
sorry for the poor quality pic
took this pic when i opened 1 access point sometime ago
http://img363.imageshack.us/img363/648/image021yi7.jpg
http://static.flickr.com/115/261623403_68ce802126.jpg
wah really looks the same but 1 support SuperG 108mbps while Fon oni supports 54mbps maybe the chipis different
richneo
03-01-2007, 12:45 AM
looks like exactly the same. what's that small plate on the right that's connected to the other wlan?
thats the patch antenna
they patent it as "butterfly antenna" as printed on the pcb itself
ykeen
05-01-2007, 02:30 PM
richneo so fast already received the fonera ah?
how izzit, fun? :D hmm...
richneo
05-01-2007, 02:33 PM
richneo so fast already received the fonera ah?
how izzit, fun? :D hmm...
havent received leh..
waiting for delivery next week
bricked my wrt54g while trying to revert back to dd-wrt f/w from fon f/w
but managed to unbrick
quekky
05-01-2007, 06:13 PM
u activate using your wrt54g? should have help me activate also, then got more invites to pass around. my package in US side vpost already, waiting for shipping
richneo
05-01-2007, 06:25 PM
u activate using your wrt54g? should have help me activate also, then got more invites to pass around. my package in US side vpost already, waiting for shipping
lol mine should be arriving next week
nah bricked my wrt54g once dun wanna flash to fon again and brick again
shadowandy
05-01-2007, 08:21 PM
lol mine should be arriving next week
nah bricked my wrt54g once dun wanna flash to fon again and brick again
nD chants *openwrt openwrt*, skip the *dd-wrt dd-wrt*
shadowandy
05-01-2007, 08:51 PM
Anyway,
Table of Hardware for OpenWRT (http://wiki.openwrt.org/TableOfHardware#line-172). I'm luving it!
quekky
06-01-2007, 01:40 AM
ya, saw it, waiting for package only. now thinking what to do with it, maybe i'll just run it as a AP 1st
shadowandy
06-01-2007, 11:05 AM
need to find interesting stuffs to do with it. :/
richneo
06-01-2007, 02:49 PM
need to find interesting stuffs to do with it. :/
waiting for u leh..
shadowandy
06-01-2007, 03:29 PM
waiting for u leh..
Maybe this fon will do the job of what my 2nd WRT54GS suppose to do. *evil grin*
liangtam
07-01-2007, 12:08 AM
Maybe this fon will do the job of what my 2nd WRT54GS suppose to do. *evil grin*
shadowandy korkor, ish can do huat with the fon for moi? :o
shadowandy
07-01-2007, 12:19 PM
shadowandy korkor, ish can do huat with the fon for moi? :o
I think it is time for your to search for miau or psybnc for kamikaze. lolx
zoneguard
11-01-2007, 12:27 PM
dd-wrt has been ported to the fonera
torxxx
11-01-2007, 11:24 PM
do send me an invite if possible too! i'll register it so u can get more invites!
deyang.chanATgmail.com
shadowandy
11-01-2007, 11:33 PM
dd-wrt has been ported to the fonera
Sounds good. But is the ipkg working? Or is it as buggy as the one in V23 sp2?
repsoi
12-01-2007, 01:34 AM
Can gimme a invite? repsoi@yahoo.com
BamBam
12-01-2007, 08:03 AM
Don't you think the router look like this one?
http://www.smc.com/index.cfm?event=viewProduct&localeCode=EN_CAN&cid=1&scid=&pid=1588
shadowandy
12-01-2007, 09:54 AM
http://www.smc.com/index.cfm?event=viewProduct&localeCode=EN_CAN&cid=1&scid=&pid=1588
richneo has mentioned that it is identical or resembles a router from SMC in earlier pages
cdo_saturday
12-01-2007, 10:14 AM
Please send me an invite too if possible.
adrian6sg at yahoo dot com dot sg
richneo
12-01-2007, 12:19 PM
lai liaoz lai liaoz
http://img246.imageshack.us/img246/3325/fonfs0.jpg
shadowandy
12-01-2007, 12:36 PM
ah.... mine still at US side. So richneo. Please try out dd-wrt or kamikaze on it. lolx
richneo
12-01-2007, 12:53 PM
ah.... mine still at US side. So richneo. Please try out dd-wrt or kamikaze on it. lolx
i no hab jtag.. =(
shadowandy
12-01-2007, 12:54 PM
i no hab jtag.. =(
check out openwrt forum, there is a method to flash without serial cable.
richneo
12-01-2007, 12:57 PM
picty picty
http://img475.imageshack.us/img475/2/1jv6.jpg
http://img246.imageshack.us/img246/9971/2nf4.jpg
http://img475.imageshack.us/img475/3979/3bk5.jpg
richneo
12-01-2007, 12:57 PM
check out openwrt forum, there is a method to flash without serial cable.
dun wanch... i wait for urs haha urs should be arriving next week lol
quekky
12-01-2007, 01:59 PM
u order 2? mine not here yet... should be next week
hangyong
12-01-2007, 02:02 PM
the routers have to pay one right???
richneo
12-01-2007, 02:07 PM
the routers have to pay one right???
fonera gets fonera program the routers is free but have to pay for shipment from usa to singapore else its free in the usa
have to be cautious about who u invite cos if u send invite and the person dun take up, u will loose your invite.
new invite wun come if the person u invite dun activate it
hangyong
12-01-2007, 02:09 PM
fonera gets fonera program the routers is free but have to pay for shipment from usa to singapore else its free in the usa
have to be cautious about who u invite cos if u send invite and the person dun take up, u will loose your invite.
new invite wun come if the person u invite dun activate it
oh.. send me one...
richneo
12-01-2007, 02:12 PM
oh.. send me one...
have to wait for shadowandy to receive and activate liaoz hehehe cos i sent him my oni invite
i think ykeen should have new invite liaoz cos ive activated mine for the invite he sent me ^^
hangyong
12-01-2007, 02:15 PM
have to wait for shadowandy to receive and activate liaoz hehehe cos i sent him my oni invite
i think ykeen should have new invite liaoz cos ive activated mine for the invite he sent me ^^
ok... I would wanna share my connection man... at least then I can use wireless overseas
richneo
12-01-2007, 02:16 PM
ok... I would wanna share my connection man... at least then I can use wireless overseas
sure no prob i will send u my invite when shadowandy activated his ^^
cdo_saturday
12-01-2007, 02:27 PM
richneo,
Can you please send me an invite too when you have available invites?
I have a question. Is it possible to connect the FON router WAN PORT to one of the 4 LAN points in a normal home router?
richneo
12-01-2007, 02:31 PM
richneo,
Can you please send me an invite too when you have available invites?
I have a question. Is it possible to connect the FON router WAN PORT to one of the 4 LAN points in a normal home router?
sure if i have invites i will announce here
and no problem connecting the fon wan port to ur existing home router
it will just be nat behind nat
cdo_saturday
12-01-2007, 02:34 PM
sure if i have invites i will announce here
and no problem connecting the fon wan port to ur existing home router
it will just be nat behind nat
Then I guess that method will probably boost the wifi signals. Thanks in advance! :)
richneo
12-01-2007, 06:57 PM
just enabled ssh on fon
root@OpenWrt:/proc# cat cpuinfo
system type : Atheros AR531X_COBRA
processor : 0
cpu model : MIPS 4KEc V6.4
BogoMIPS : 183.50
wait instruction : yes
microsecond timers : yes
tlb_entries : 16
extra interrupt vector : yes
hardware watchpoint : no
VCED exceptions : not available
VCEI exceptions : not available
root@OpenWrt:/proc#
root@OpenWrt:/proc# free
total used free shared buffers
Mem: 14256 10760 3496 0 1160
Swap: 0 0 0
Total: 14256 10760 3496
root@OpenWrt:/proc#
Filesystem 1k-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
none 7128 28 7100 0% /tmp
/dev/mtdblock/2 5568 324 5244 6% /jffs
/ 1536 1536 0 100% /
richneo
12-01-2007, 08:22 PM
nah its the same pcb as SMC WEBT-G
refer to my earlier pages.
i think they using diff atheros chipset that explains why smc one is 108mbps and fon is 54mbps
but they have 1 thing in common.
its hot
shadowandy
12-01-2007, 08:58 PM
sakali I forgot to activate then I flash the router liao. Must jot it down somewhere. :s13:
weizhou14
12-01-2007, 10:12 PM
Hiya, Can you invite to me too! Weizhou14@yahoo.com.sg! Thanks Man...!!!!
weizhou14
12-01-2007, 10:24 PM
Erm, But how is the connection speed?? is it better ?
shadowandy
12-01-2007, 10:34 PM
Erm, But how is the connection speed?? is it better ?
erm... the what router are u using to compare against this fon wireless router?
weizhou14
12-01-2007, 10:36 PM
I using WAG54G Wireless-G. Which 1 will they have better performance?
zoneguard
12-01-2007, 11:56 PM
http://img171.imageshack.us/img171/2923/ddwrtgz0.th.jpg (http://img171.imageshack.us/my.php?image=ddwrtgz0.jpg)
richneo
14-01-2007, 05:18 PM
http://img169.imageshack.us/img169/7818/fonsn6.jpg
1 invite has been sent to hangyong
left 1 invite. keeping it for cdo_saturday
cdo_saturday can u confirm you wants it? else i give up to other ppl.
hangyong
14-01-2007, 05:28 PM
yo, need to pay for the router leh...
even the confirmation email says I need to pay...
richneo
14-01-2007, 05:33 PM
yo, need to pay for the router leh...
even the confirmation email says I need to pay...
no lar just click the link with the promo code there
enter the fon shop and u can see its 0 dollars and cents
richneo
14-01-2007, 05:36 PM
did u see something similiar to this?
Hi ,
I am Keen, and I would like to invite you to join the FON Community. I am already a FONero so I can offer a friend a free FON WiFi router, called La Fonera.
All you need to do is install the La Fonera WiFi router and share some WiFi with the FON Community. In exchange, you get free access to any other FON Access Point (FONspot) anywhere in the world. You can consult the FON Maps to find the locations of tens of thousands of FONspots worldwide where Foneros connect for free.
Yoyo , Merry X\'mas & get your La Fonera router! ;) Best wishes from ykeen@HWZ
Register here and get your La Fonera completely free including free shipping.
(https://www.fon.com/fgf.php?country=us&language=en&voucher=093650450995099)
Thanks,
The FON Team
http://img169.imageshack.us/img169/1817/freezn1.jpg
Zerocool
14-01-2007, 05:42 PM
anyone got invites to share?? want to try fon... looks interesting
bobbyleong
14-01-2007, 05:47 PM
Hi. Invite me too. bobbyleong@gmail.com
Would love to try out FON.
Thanks.
hangyong
14-01-2007, 05:48 PM
no lar just click the link with the promo code there
enter the fon shop and u can see its 0 dollars and cents
now ok... I re-clicked the link for registration and its now ok... foc
richneo
14-01-2007, 06:03 PM
ok enjoy ^^
shadowandy
14-01-2007, 06:19 PM
remember to get vpost usa if you don't have one.
hangyong
14-01-2007, 06:34 PM
remember to get vpost usa if you don't have one.
no worries, using vpost usa and vpost japan for a while now...
cdo_saturday
14-01-2007, 10:50 PM
Yes bro I would like to have it. Sorry for the late reply. :) Thanks!
richneo
14-01-2007, 11:14 PM
done. all invites sent
Ritzy
14-01-2007, 11:36 PM
w4rri0r83 @ hotmail.com
can?
cdo_saturday
15-01-2007, 01:27 PM
I looked through "my barrio fon" and saw many fon zones in Singapore! Not sure if it's accurate. :)
shadowandy
15-01-2007, 02:13 PM
I looked through "my barrio fon" and saw many fon zones in Singapore! Not sure if it's accurate. :)
I also saw many fon zones. Perhaps instead of "Not sure if it's accurate", it might/could be "Not sure if it is running".
I am still waiting for developers to release fon sharing as a package. So that after flashing to openwrt (kamikaze) or dd-wrt, I will still be able to run fon sharing.
cdo_saturday
15-01-2007, 02:18 PM
I also saw many fon zones. Perhaps instead of "Not sure if it's accurate", it might/could be "Not sure if it is running".
I am still waiting for developers to release fon sharing as a package. So that after flashing to openwrt (kamikaze) or dd-wrt, I will still be able to run fon sharing.
Yah ok :D.And If i'm not wrong, those zones are prolly the address which the fonners entered into the fields.
As for flashing the routers, it'll take me some time to read up and see how to go about it.
shadowandy
15-01-2007, 02:58 PM
Yah ok :D.And If i'm not wrong, those zones are prolly the address which the fonners entered into the fields.
As for flashing the routers, it'll take me some time to read up and see how to go about it.
Well, there are a few ways to go about flashing the router. Serial, JTAG, SSH. But SSH way doesn't seem to have a 100% success rate due to the difference in the firmware version (before going to other 3rd party firmware).
On dd-wrt site, there is documentation for flashing the fonera using the Serial cable method. But of cos using no additional tool appeals much better. Building/Getting a Serial cable could be quite a troublesome thing to do.
quekky
16-01-2007, 11:03 AM
got a 0.7.0 r2, easy :D
richneo
16-01-2007, 12:40 PM
got a 0.7.0 r2, easy :D
from the box is 7.0 r2?
i think mine is 7.0 r4
liangtam
16-01-2007, 12:51 PM
Gotton my set :D Peekture time.
http://www.gmeow.com/fon1.jpg
http://www.gmeow.com/fon2.jpg
Comes with 2 sticker, think useful for people running retail businesses. Quick Installation guide (QIG) CD, power brick which requires an socket adapter for use(thankfully it is 100~240V), main unit as well as flat network cable :love:
quekky
16-01-2007, 02:15 PM
wanted to retain fon firmware after opening telnet in redboot, but too bad flashing redboot means gotta reflash the firmware, so i might as well throw in dd-wrt
can send me an invitation too?
anglo_1129@yahoo.com.sg
Elfman84
16-01-2007, 06:53 PM
i would love to have the invites too
tangym@singnet.com.sg
Zerocool
16-01-2007, 07:20 PM
hope people share thier connection with the fon community after getting the invites :)
richneo
16-01-2007, 07:24 PM
this is a friendly reminder.
This router is free but YOU HAVE TO PAY FOR SHIPPING FROM USA TO SINGAPORE
Shipment cost about $30
This is just a 1 port router. which means its purely used as a wifi router and not a wired router (referring to default firmware)
i hope ppl dun see its free den just wan to take den realise nid to pay for shipping and waste the invite
Zerocool
16-01-2007, 07:34 PM
like what richneo said, for those who intend to get this to act as your router (thinking it is free) i suggest getting a 2nd hand router that have LAN port etc... Not worth the price to pay for shipping. So ask for invites with caution.
sooch
16-01-2007, 11:42 PM
wat abt tech support?
shadowandy
17-01-2007, 09:03 AM
wat abt tech support?
http://en.fon.com/support/support
quekky
17-01-2007, 10:52 AM
$30 AP. speed is around 18mbps, faster than the planex AP in office
http://img71.imageshack.us/img71/1839/dsc00721mg3.jpg
WLAN led not working though...
I have 2 more invites, condition: you have to register your fon and come back here to give out your invites. Please request only if you really want to play with it, else just go and find a 2nd hand router
richneo
17-01-2007, 11:08 AM
$30 AP. speed is around 18mbps, faster than the planex AP in office
http://img71.imageshack.us/img71/1839/dsc00721mg3.jpg
WLAN led not working though...
I have 2 more invites, condition: you have to register your fon and come back here to give out your invites. Please request only if you really want to play with it, else just go and find a 2nd hand router
quekky u flashed using jtag?
quekky
17-01-2007, 11:27 AM
using normal lan cable, here's how i flash:
1) connect lan cable to laptop, enable ssh
2) connect fon to internet, laptop wifi connect to FON_AP, register fon
fon will update to 7.1r2, but ssh still running
3) http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/La_Fonera_Flashing
i use putty instead of telnet
richneo
17-01-2007, 11:34 AM
using normal lan cable, here's how i flash:
1) connect lan cable to laptop, enable ssh
2) connect fon to internet, laptop wifi connect to FON_AP, register fon
fon will update to 7.1r2, but ssh still running
3) http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/La_Fonera_Flashing
i use putty instead of telnet
yar i also wanted to try that method until i saw the reverting back to fon method which is a feat for me
quekky
17-01-2007, 11:45 AM
it's not that hard, there are fon firmwares floating around if you dun wish to cut off the 1st 512 bytes. not sure if pressing the reset button will flash it back
richneo
17-01-2007, 11:53 AM
it's not that hard, there are fon firmwares floating around if you dun wish to cut off the 1st 512 bytes. not sure if pressing the reset button will flash it back
. ^^
richneo
17-01-2007, 02:16 PM
done.. using dd-wrt v24 16th jan built on fon
spell
17-01-2007, 05:21 PM
Stumbled upon this thread by chance. I got one of this fon router last year Nov foc from an aquaintance (http://james.seng.sg/), I believe he had given all out.
Have 1 invite in my fon page, will give to someone who can fulfill the condition set by quekky:
you have to register your fon and come back here to give out your invites. Please request only if you really want to play with it, else just go and find a 2nd hand router.
YOU HAVE TO PAY FOR SHIPPING FROM USA TO SINGAPORE
Shipment cost about $30 using VPost.
ykeen
17-01-2007, 06:06 PM
Interesting you got it from James Seng, I do visit his blog sometimes since 3-4yrs ago.. :)
shadowandy
17-01-2007, 06:32 PM
done.. using dd-wrt v24 16th jan built on fon
is the ipkg working or broken?
richneo
17-01-2007, 07:39 PM
is the ipkg working or broken?
its broken lol
spell
18-01-2007, 09:43 AM
Interesting you got it from James Seng, I do visit his blog sometimes since 3-4yrs ago.. :)
I visit his blog for leisure reading :) I had given out my invite to Scuderia since he first one to contact me, after he register, I'll come back here to give out invites again =:p
wiShfulStone
18-01-2007, 10:06 AM
So it's essentially a free router that you can flash in order to prevent it from sharing the connection with others but only to your own computers??
shadowandy
18-01-2007, 12:17 PM
So it's essentially a free router that you can flash in order to prevent it from sharing the connection with others but only to your own computers??
Free router but you need to pay for the shipping cost. Yes you can flash it to prevent it from sharing your connection with others but that is not really recommended.
Scuderia
18-01-2007, 12:41 PM
I visit his blog for leisure reading :) I had given out my invite to Scuderia since he first one to contact me, after he register, I'll come back here to give out invites again =:p
Thank you, spell. Just completed the online registration to get my free fon. Will be shipping to me via vPOST. Once I have received it and successfully registered it on the fon network, I will let you guys know, so that you all can get more invites for others. Cheers.
richneo
18-01-2007, 01:17 PM
lol there is no stopping people from sharing their internet access even after flashing the firmware too.
the idea about fon is to share internet
i think no matter wat f/w it uses, as long as the wifi is shared, the spirit of fon is still there
wiShfulStone
18-01-2007, 09:10 PM
Nice, but once people start bting thru your network, thats not nice liao. But aren't you contradicting post 133?
richneo
18-01-2007, 09:16 PM
Nice, but once people start bting thru your network, thats not nice liao. But aren't you contradicting post 133?
in wat way is it contradicting?
shadowandy
18-01-2007, 09:36 PM
That is why should keep the fon firmware on. As it requires user authentication inorder to use. If user were to BT thru the network and got into legal problems, logs from fon side would come into play.
richneo
18-01-2007, 09:42 PM
That is why should keep the fon firmware on. As it requires user authentication inorder to use. If user were to BT thru the network and got into legal problems, logs from fon side would come into play.
thats true.
and oni registered users can log on to ur fon to surf and their logon is logged with fon
spell
19-01-2007, 09:43 AM
Why would someone want to do that, as it defeats the purpose of fon. That person should just spend the $30 bucks buying a 2nd hand wireless router wwith lan ports & more functionality.
Theoden
19-01-2007, 10:59 AM
can i get an invite please.
darren2708 at yahoo dot com
thanks a bunch. ")
quekky
19-01-2007, 12:10 PM
can i get an invite please.
darren2708 at yahoo dot com
thanks a bunch. ")
sent u, remember to register it
richneo
19-01-2007, 12:29 PM
for those that wanna try dd-wrt on the fon, use f/w build 1.17 and above
from 1.17 onwards u can use webflash for any newer dd-wrt firmware
Theoden
19-01-2007, 01:38 PM
sent u, remember to register it
thank kew bery muchie! :D
richneo
31-01-2007, 09:00 PM
bro hurry up leh lol
hangyong oready activated his fon liaoz lol
hangyong
31-01-2007, 09:21 PM
questions:
1. I selected to be a bill when registering... can change to linus?
2. is it possible for me to use one of the channels as a repeater and another channel to be the AP for public access?? In that way, I do not have to plug any cables (other than power) to the router.
richneo
31-01-2007, 09:27 PM
questions:
1. I selected to be a bill when registering... can change to linus?
2. is it possible for me to use one of the channels as a repeater and another channel to be the AP for public access?? In that way, I do not have to plug any cables (other than power) to the router.
yup u can change to bill, linus or etc in ur fon pages configure ur la fonera or personalize ur la fonera thingy in the http://www.fon.com
u have to set up WDS using dd-wrt liaoz
den check thru the forums in dd-wrt to set up chillispot for fon
exact details i not really sure
shadowandy
31-01-2007, 10:42 PM
bro hurry up leh lol
hangyong oready activated his fon liaoz lol
my brother slow leh. lolx. used his vpost
quekky
31-01-2007, 10:49 PM
vpost only need 1-2 week mah, unless your bro havne't pay
richneo
31-01-2007, 11:12 PM
bro u flashed with 0130 version of ddwrt yet?
ur wlan led working already?
shadowandy
31-01-2007, 11:14 PM
he was busy and missed the vpost message. lolx nvm lah. not in a hurry to use the fon too and busy schedule now don't really have time to toy with router.
cdo_saturday
31-01-2007, 11:25 PM
Hi bros,
My FON router is here!
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v195/cdo_saturday/forum/DSC04088.jpg
I can't play much with it yet as I'm rushing my assignments. Realised my laptop don't have the WPA encryption option to connect to MyPlace. Maybe it's somewhere but I've yet to discover it. Nevertheless, I'll register it now so that the invite by Richneo will be opened up. Thanks Richneo! :)
richneo
31-01-2007, 11:29 PM
Hi bros,
My FON router is here!
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v195/cdo_saturday/forum/DSC04088.jpg
I can't play much with it yet as I'm rushing my assignments. Realised my laptop don't have the WPA encryption option to connect to MyPlace. Maybe it's somewhere but I've yet to discover it. Nevertheless, I'll register it now so that the invite by Richneo will be opened up. Thanks Richneo! :)
wah... make me wanna send invite to myself again...
i always like the feeling of opening up new toys
this time got to consolidate the shipment so can ship 1 time and save on the base charge
cdo_saturday
31-01-2007, 11:34 PM
wah... make me wanna send invite to myself again...
i always like the feeling of opening up new toys
this time got to consolidate the shipment so can ship 1 time and save on the base charge
Yup, so excited when I saw it sitting on the sofa when i got home just now! Yeah I agree that the next few recipients should consolidate and share the shipping charges. $12.99... wooooo :D
cdo_saturday
31-01-2007, 11:35 PM
ok registered! Bro, your invites should have reset by now. I also have invites to share :)
richneo
31-01-2007, 11:35 PM
ok registered! Bro, your invites should have reset by now. I also have invites to share :)
remember to set ur location to usa so u got 3 invites
cdo_saturday
31-01-2007, 11:40 PM
remember to set ur location to usa so u got 3 invites
Er.. no leh, I put my location as my real home and I have 3 too.
Sigh, my notebook's Wireless manager (LG IP Operator) does not have WPA, can't connect to MyPlace. Prolly have to use window's itself.
Will play again some other time cos got to get back to school work. Deadline's Monday. :o
Have fun!
weiyang76
31-01-2007, 11:53 PM
btw, how would we share our wireless if our firmware is ddwrt (since the functions under ddwrt doesnt allow us to allocate bandwidth) like fonera's default OS do.
liangtam
01-02-2007, 12:02 AM
I bricked my fon :sad:
richneo
01-02-2007, 12:04 AM
I bricked my fon :sad:
its my paper weight now hehehe
quekky
01-02-2007, 12:10 AM
bro u flashed with 0130 version of ddwrt yet?
ur wlan led working already?
haven't yet, too lazy to dig out my lan cable to reflash from 0113 :p
I'm now running as an AP extending my st570 (meaning no NAT, only doing br0), wonder if i can get the ddns to work. I'm not sure if I can run br0 and chillispot (NAT) at the same time or not
I'm out of invites, gotta wait for my friends to receive and register their fons
JPadPro
01-02-2007, 12:43 AM
Can Invite me ? Thanks in advance
xplosiera at yahoo dot com.
:)
hangyong
01-02-2007, 08:43 AM
for those that wanna try dd-wrt on the fon, use f/w build 1.17 and above
from 1.17 onwards u can use webflash for any newer dd-wrt firmware
eh, at dd-wrt.com it says v17, is that v1.17 you are talking about?
SpeedZy
01-02-2007, 11:28 AM
hihi, can I have an invite pls?
s_p_e_e_d_z_y at yahoo dot com
coppermine
01-02-2007, 12:58 PM
can i have one invite also ? coppermine@myrealbox.com Many thanks.
richneo
01-02-2007, 06:02 PM
eh, at dd-wrt.com it says v17, is that v1.17 you are talking about?
bro yar the ver17 im referring to is 1.17
its actually the day and month eg 1.17 means 17th Jan
now latest is 31st Jan aka 1.31
just flash with 1.31 directly via ssh method
cdo_saturday
01-02-2007, 07:37 PM
Can Invite me ? Thanks in advance
xplosiera at yahoo dot com.
:)
sorry bro, i tried to invite ur email addy but got a note stating "Your friend is probably already a Fonero. Please, verify the email address or send the invitation to another friend who is not yet a member of the FON Community."
cdo_saturday
01-02-2007, 07:39 PM
hihi, can I have an invite pls?
s_p_e_e_d_z_y at yahoo dot com
hmm, this address also gave the same error. Is it my side or someone could have sent you the invite liao?
cdo_saturday
01-02-2007, 07:41 PM
can i have one invite also ? coppermine@myrealbox.com Many thanks.
kaoz, your addy too. Bros, can you verify if you've already received an invite? Else I will check what exactly is wrong at my side.
jittery
01-02-2007, 10:45 PM
can i have an invite too?? meteorii@hotmail.com
thks.
calvinmcl
02-02-2007, 12:01 AM
Hi
Appreciate if I could have an invite too.
My email is calvinmcl@yahoo.com
Thanks a lot!
liangtam
02-02-2007, 01:21 AM
Please note again for all those wanting to get the fon router, you have to ship it from USA, which can cost you roughly about SGD$24-35+ depending on the charges and misc...
calvinmcl
02-02-2007, 06:26 AM
Please note again for all those wanting to get the fon router, you have to ship it from USA, which can cost you roughly about SGD$24-35+ depending on the charges and misc...
Thanks for the reminder!
Rgds!
coppermine
02-02-2007, 06:54 AM
kaoz, your addy too. Bros, can you verify if you've already received an invite? Else I will check what exactly is wrong at my side.
bro, i've not received anything. thanks. first timer also. maybe can send to bbqoinky@gmail.com ?
cdo_saturday
02-02-2007, 07:52 AM
hello jpadpro, coppermine,
I tried again but got the same error. I'm suspecting that the invite failed because I didn't log onto the FON network via the FON router to send the invites. Can richneo confirm this?
richneo
02-02-2007, 11:50 AM
i just tried
i got these error as well
Fonero Gets Fonero
Sorry, but we could not deliver your invitation
alert Your friend is probably already a Fonero. Please, verify the email address or send the invitation to another friend who is not yet a member of the FON Community.
SpeedZy
02-02-2007, 04:53 PM
hmm, this address also gave the same error. Is it my side or someone could have sent you the invite liao?
hmm. weird..... I didn't receive any invite...
s_p_e_e_d_z_y@yahoo.com
ykeen
02-02-2007, 06:03 PM
For those using vpost... I was searching for a discount code the other day... but didnt find any, but after I made payment, i found 1 code thats not reported to be expired yet... duh
Here's the code, although I have not tested it, i believe should work? This was found using good old google for "vpost discount code" ;)
10% Discount PromoCode for vPost, unlimited use till 28 Feb.
(072AM2Z)
richneo
02-02-2007, 06:10 PM
wah piang eh if oni i noe this code den i would save additional $3 lol
i think fon indirectly stop the free router liaoz
i tried to send invite to other email accounts and etc but failed
quekky
03-02-2007, 02:04 AM
think the code was out only after we ordered our fon, i was trying to search for the code when i ordered but the nearest 1 expired 31 dec
SpeedZy
04-02-2007, 12:24 PM
wah piang eh if oni i noe this code den i would save additional $3 lol
i think fon indirectly stop the free router liaoz
i tried to send invite to other email accounts and etc but failed
ahhhhhhhhhh ....... :(
richneo
04-02-2007, 12:33 PM
think the code was out only after we ordered our fon, i was trying to search for the code when i ordered but the nearest 1 expired 31 dec
wah wasted
me and liangtam ordered before 31st dec
steventay
05-02-2007, 12:14 AM
can i have it too... please email me at steven @ cellgroup . org
richneo
05-02-2007, 12:46 AM
Fonero Gets Fonero
alert Your friend is probably already a Fonero. Please, verify the email address or send the invitation to another friend who is not yet a member of the FON Community.
qqspot
05-02-2007, 06:58 AM
I did not know Fon is so intresting in Singapore. I saw Fon everywhere when i was in Hong Kong last Dec 2006.
I could buy a Fon Router from Hong Kong around SG$42-45 after shipping. Why wait for invites! I going to buy one before tomorrow and arrival on Chinese New Year.
More people lower the shipping cost and more cheaper lah!
I will start the Ball rolling by MO this!!
May i know who want to get a Fon Router? Please kindly PM me with your Contact numbers.
1) qqspot
qqspot
05-02-2007, 07:00 AM
http://farm1.static.flickr.com/121/286659491_779a4aa5eb.jpg
Conform Fon router by SMC Network they are the sponser!!
richneo
05-02-2007, 08:40 AM
http://farm1.static.flickr.com/121/286659491_779a4aa5eb.jpg
Conform Fon router by SMC Network they are the sponser!!
oready mention many times that FON is by Accton which is the mother company of SMc liaoz mah
smc wanna launch their worldwide program with their skype phone
cdo_saturday
06-02-2007, 07:57 AM
I am so tempted to try this! I've never flashed a router with 3rd party apps before. Erm, so far any way to save a bricked FON? Just in case.. :o
cdo_saturday
06-02-2007, 08:26 AM
Digital Life dated 6/2/07, Pg 16 talks about FON. :)
liangtam
06-02-2007, 12:32 PM
Can mention what article wrote?
liangtam
06-02-2007, 12:34 PM
I am so tempted to try this! I've never flashed a router with 3rd party apps before. Erm, so far any way to save a bricked FON? Just in case.. :o
RS232 connector...
richneo
06-02-2007, 12:53 PM
Can mention what article wrote?
mention about ah seng ordered 20 sets of fon and give out on his blog
den got 1 ntu student got 1 set from him
article also wrote about starhub contacted by fon for some aliasing while singtel say fon din contact them and singtel even mentioned that its against user policy to resell the services
jittery
06-02-2007, 03:58 PM
so how to get this router??
interested in playing with this.
richneo
06-02-2007, 04:09 PM
heheh start a new thread in this forum, post out loud that there are poeple who wants to try the fon router.
anyway its not free. either u buy at ard $40 or pay for shipping at around $30
hopefully the guys at fon and smc will see it and do something
as long as there are demand and market, no reasons why they dun offer hehehe
i like to highlight again that there is no free lunch cos u still have to pay for shipping some how..
jittery
06-02-2007, 05:02 PM
heheh start a new thread in this forum, post out loud that there are poeple who wants to try the fon router.
i like to highlight again that there is no free lunch cos u still have to pay for shipping some how..
i dun mind pay shipping for $30, wana try the router.
how do i go about getting it??seemed like need invite issit?
richneo
06-02-2007, 05:09 PM
i dun mind pay shipping for $30, wana try the router.
how do i go about getting it??seemed like need invite issit?
u got any other email i try inviting?
all the emails listed above i tried inviting but failed
i have 2 invites cannot be sent
and... singapore has more then 20 fon users in singapore..
the digital life report figure is too little hehehe
richneo
06-02-2007, 05:38 PM
still cannot work
Fonero Gets Fonero
richneo
06-02-2007, 05:44 PM
Hi
can you invite me for the fon router.
I have vpost account to received the fon router.
my email: hanneng@gmail.com
thanks
hanneng
Fonero Gets Fonero
richneo
06-02-2007, 06:18 PM
Bro i think Fon stopped the free invite without delaring it.
i tried all ur emails but cannot work.
You can remove ur emails on top to avoid receiving spams
steventay
06-02-2007, 09:08 PM
oh really... no more free invite...
i also see that can download the firmware to a compatible router, you can also download the FON firmware and install it into your router yourself. The FON firmware has different versions depending on the Linksys or Buffalo router that you use. Here you can download the FON firmware for Linksys WRT54G (pre-v5), WRT54GL, WRT54GS and WRT54GSv4, or for Buffalo WZR-RS-G54, WHR-HP-54, and WHR-G54S.
https://en.fon.com/downloads/downloads.php
jittery
06-02-2007, 09:19 PM
Bro i think Fon stopped the free invite without delaring it.
i tried all ur emails but cannot work.
You can remove ur emails on top to avoid receiving spams
thks for ur effort...too bad cant get a new toy to play with..ha
richneo
06-02-2007, 09:24 PM
thks for ur effort...too bad cant get a new toy to play with..ha
heh cdo, hangyong and shadowandy happened to be the last 3 person i managed to invite
Scuderia
06-02-2007, 10:40 PM
Think their system is smart enough to realise there are too many shipments to a particular address (vpost) and may have flagged your accounts for abuse.
richneo
06-02-2007, 10:46 PM
no wor..
at the point of invite u oni nid to key in email address so basically they wun noe where u gonna ship it until u order it from the system after invitation has been sent
thermal
06-02-2007, 10:55 PM
any one can invite me to fon ?
shadowandy
06-02-2007, 10:58 PM
any one can invite me to fon ?
please read the few posts before yours.
Scuderia
06-02-2007, 11:04 PM
no wor..
at the point of invite u oni nid to key in email address so basically they wun noe where u gonna ship it until u order it from the system after invitation has been sent
They may have noticed that all your previous invites involve deliveries all sent to a particular address (vpost), and may have flagged it, that's why the new invite don't work any more. Just my hypothesis.
steventay
06-02-2007, 11:30 PM
oh really... no more free invite...
i also see that can download the firmware to a compatible router, you can also download the FON firmware and install it into your router yourself. The FON firmware has different versions depending on the Linksys or Buffalo router that you use. Here you can download the FON firmware for Linksys WRT54G (pre-v5), WRT54GL, WRT54GS and WRT54GSv4, or for Buffalo WZR-RS-G54, WHR-HP-54, and WHR-G54S.
https://en.fon.com/downloads/downloads.php
is it easy to flash the firmware... anyone know how...
cdo_saturday
07-02-2007, 08:04 AM
RS232 connector...
meaning from a RS232 -> RJ45 head since the router only has 1 port? If i'm not wrong, it's a customised cable?
cdo_saturday
07-02-2007, 08:05 AM
still cannot work
Fonero Gets Fonero
I tried it again with JPadPro's email yesterday but still can't. Haiz...
shadowandy
07-02-2007, 09:15 AM
meaning from a RS232 -> RJ45 head since the router only has 1 port? If i'm not wrong, it's a customised cable?
You would need to open up the router and connect to the pins inside directly using the rs232 to ttl convertor .. (http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/2007/01/la_fonera_router_communication.html)
steventay
07-02-2007, 12:48 PM
is it easy to flash the firmware... anyone know how...
anyone can answer
richneo
07-02-2007, 12:51 PM
anyone can answer
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/La_Fonera_Flashing
1 of our bro bricked his
JPadPro
07-02-2007, 01:19 PM
I tried it again with JPadPro's email yesterday but still can't. Haiz...
:sad: :sad: Oh well, never mind then, nonetheless, thanks for the effort. :D
richneo
07-02-2007, 01:32 PM
Thanks to the article on Digital Life yesterday, I received numerous email inquiries about me giving away FONs. If you come to here looking for FON, I am sorry to inform you that that was a few months back and I don't have any FON left. However, I might be able to get some more later but it will cost me money. So if you don't mind paying for it, drop me an email at james@seng.sg and I will add you to the list.
from james.seng.sg
so bros if u really interested in getting 1, email ah seng and be prepared to pay for it. around $30 to $46 at his email james@seng.sg
richneo
07-02-2007, 01:44 PM
We are REALLY sorry USA!
I just came back from the Fon party, itīs 3am in Madrid (our one year birthday party was wild) and I find out that our servers sunk due to ENORMOUS demand for Foneras from the States. This is because many blogs linked to our offer that we were giving them away for free for our birthday. We know that thousands of people who tried to get the foneras got rejected by our site. We apologize. We just never had so much demand in our history as a company and we were simply not ready to take so many orders per hour. We were not really able to add capacity tonight in Madrid but now so many people got rejected and gave up that the ones who come in are getting through and are getting their foneras. I feel bad about this cause itīs unfair, those who came first did not get them and those who come now do. Donīt know how to fix that. But now itīs working fine.
http://english.martinvarsavsky.net/fon/we-are-really-sorry-usa.html
although martin claims can work but i just tried still cannot work.
Free fons even without invites
We Turn One And You Get Your Free Fonera!
If you live in USA and want to join FON, today is your lucky day. Today is FONīs birthday numero uno and if you click here you donīt pay NADA to get your Fonera (FONīs wifi router). We already have 18,000 Foneras ordered in the States and we are on our way to becoming the largest WiFi network America.
We already are the largest WiFi network in many countries including Japan, Germany, Spain, Sweden, France, Italy and other countries that you may want to visit and roam for free. You can check out in our maps to see if there are other FONeros in your town.
Join FON and stop begging for WiFi. Share some extra bandwidth at home and roam the world for free. FON is the secure way to build a global WiFi network. If you are not a DSL or Cable customer pls do not order a Fonera, first call your local DSL or Cable company to sign up for broadband and then sign up for FON.
http://www.fon.com/1yearold/
qqspot
07-02-2007, 01:57 PM
mention about ah seng ordered 20 sets of fon and give out on his blog
den got 1 ntu student got 1 set from him
article also wrote about starhub contacted by fon for some aliasing while singtel say fon din contact them and singtel even mentioned that its against user policy to resell the servicesWah piang, singtel!!
Not to say some ISP do not allow to do fon also!!
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FON
qqspot
07-02-2007, 02:09 PM
i like to highlight again that there is no free lunch cos u still have to pay for shipping some how..Since there demand here. Please kindly also register on fon maps if you have one aready.
I am bringing them in and will arrival after chinese new year.
If you are intrested please kindly PM ME with you contact number.
Chinese New Year Promo
S$43 each!!
http://forums.vr-zone.com/showthread.php?t=127193
FREE SHIPPING!!
richneo
07-02-2007, 02:12 PM
For those bros who followed this link to get the free fon http://www.fon.com/1yearold/
please remember to consolidate ur orders for vpost to reduce shipping rate
consolidated shipment for each fon cost around $25 will be cheaper if more people consolidate and use the vpost 10% discount coupon
cheaper den ordering from hong kong
richneo
07-02-2007, 02:43 PM
Have a vpost account ready, register for a fon account at http://www.fon.com
Access this link http://www.fon.com/1yearold/ and click on the free fon on the right and follow the below 4 simple steps
Step 1
http://img501.imageshack.us/img501/3641/step1dh1.jpg
After u check out, you will be prompt to enter ur shipping address. Enter the vpost address you have.
Step 2
http://img518.imageshack.us/img518/1403/step2no0.jpg
Confirm your orders
Step 3
http://img518.imageshack.us/img518/1245/step3ig1.jpg
Select payment method in a form of a promise
Step 4
http://img518.imageshack.us/img518/8765/step4lo1.jpg
Receive invoice and submit to vpost for matching
cdo_saturday
07-02-2007, 02:54 PM
wow bro, u ordered another one? I wonder how will the FON network perform in Singapore..
richneo
07-02-2007, 02:55 PM
wow bro, u ordered another one? I wonder how will the FON network perform in Singapore..
i try out see can work or not mah.. din noe really can work wor...
who wanna consolidate shipment with me?
i see ppl ordering from hongkong at $4x
so im offering a cheaper alternative for the benefit of the brothers here and vrzone lor
cdo_saturday
07-02-2007, 03:10 PM
hahaha.. ok. That is if they read the whole thread cos' the good stuffs on this page.
I think i'll make do with my one now. Hope you'll get more pple to consolidate the shipment. let me ask ard my classmates and colleagues. Do you have a deadline for the shipment?
richneo
07-02-2007, 03:15 PM
hahaha.. ok. That is if they read the whole thread cos' the good stuffs on this page.
I think i'll make do with my one now. Hope you'll get more pple to consolidate the shipment. let me ask ard my classmates and colleagues. Do you have a deadline for the shipment?
only have dateline for the free fon cos oni 10k sets are given away in usa and its running out fast
qqspot
07-02-2007, 03:24 PM
Fon Network are still not very demand as not much people know this in Singapore.
Thank to Digital Life from ST.
I was at the FON Party last year and saw how it work and magzines had reviewed them.
You can actually do a 10 dbi gain antenna added to it according to overseas source.
I am selling them, if there more people orders also price for me selling them will confirm cheaper.
I was introduce FON by one of the magazine and as my friend one day when i was in overseas. It turn out to be everywhere in Korea!!
http://blog.fon.com/kr/
cdo_saturday
07-02-2007, 03:25 PM
only have dateline for the free fon cos oni 10k sets are given away in usa and its running out fast
Ok to consolidate shipment, go thru your Vpost ID too?
richneo
07-02-2007, 03:27 PM
some source from smc tell me fon is going to be a big hit in hongkong too together with their skype wifi phone
shadowandy
07-02-2007, 05:02 PM
Fon Fon Fon! Wah, richneo getting another one ah? hmmm I scanned (http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/2007/02/la_fonera_in_singapore.html) the digital life article.
richneo
07-02-2007, 06:04 PM
Fon Fon Fon! Wah, richneo getting another one ah? hmmm I scanned (http://www.shadowandy.net/_html/archives/2007/02/la_fonera_in_singapore.html) the digital life article.
no intention of getting it actually but i tried the 1 year anniversary thing and it works so its on its way to vpost.
shadowandy
07-02-2007, 06:13 PM
no intention of getting it actually but i tried the 1 year anniversary thing and it works so its on its way to vpost.
Extra one for hacking? So you mailing liangtam's fon over to me?
richneo
07-02-2007, 06:19 PM
Extra one for hacking? So you mailing liangtam's fon over to me?
maybe meeting him this fri or sat to pass to him
u wanna come meet us also?
my extra one? maybe pass to my other friend for testing i oready registered 3 fons in my location liaoz
quekky
07-02-2007, 07:21 PM
u got so many fons?
should i order 1 more... hmm...
richneo
07-02-2007, 07:24 PM
u got so many fons?
should i order 1 more... hmm...
oni 1 fonera and 2 wrt54g flashed to fonera firmware but got 1 bricked after flashing fon firmware on wrt54g running so many days still nobody access my fon hehe but maybe cos im a bill
shadowandy and liangtam noes about it and i dun wish to tok about the current situation of the bricked wrt54g heheeh :D
i seriopusly think there are more then 20 fon users in singapore as opposed to wat digital life has reported.
that reporter dun surf hwz i think
alex22
07-02-2007, 07:37 PM
oni 1 fonera and 2 wrt54g flashed to fonera firmware but got 1 bricked after flashing fon firmware on wrt54g running so many days still nobody access my fon hehe but maybe cos im a bill
shadowandy and liangtam noes about it and i dun wish to tok about the current situation of the bricked wrt54g heheeh :D
i seriopusly think there are more then 20 fon users in singapore as opposed to wat digital life has reported.
that reporter dun surf hwz i think
they dont really surf hwz. they OWN HWZ...
richneo
07-02-2007, 07:42 PM
they dont really surf hwz. they OWN HWZ...
lol its like some home owner never visit certain area of their house
shadowandy
07-02-2007, 08:06 PM
lol its like some home owner never visit certain area of their house
erm then the home should be the size of ancient palaces. lol
richneo
07-02-2007, 08:06 PM
hehehehehehe
mr_voodoo
07-02-2007, 08:09 PM
wah guys, i want to join in the bandwagon but all the posts are confusing me haha...
maybe someone can start new thread, so tt all can order together or something ?
thanks bros..
aCidz
07-02-2007, 09:05 PM
It definitely looks more than 20 according to http://maps.fon.com/
jittery
07-02-2007, 09:06 PM
i've ordered mine already..how long it takes to ship over?
richneo
07-02-2007, 09:52 PM
i've ordered mine already..how long it takes to ship over?
around 3 to 6 weeks
mine took 3 weeks previously
think now they having bdae promo might take long baz
cdo_saturday
07-02-2007, 11:10 PM
It definitely looks more than 20 according to http://maps.fon.com/
But I noticed most of the orange dots indicate a range of blocks (eg, Bt Batok 111 - 119) or a particular landmark while those green ones look more 'active' and can show the personalised homepage. I'm wondering if those orange dots signify some other wifi hotspots and not Fon. :s11:
quekky
07-02-2007, 11:13 PM
mine took 1 week
hope my colleague's can come soon, he ordered last week. else i can't combine my other things with his
richneo
07-02-2007, 11:14 PM
But I noticed most of the orange dots indicate a range of blocks (eg, Bt Batok 111 - 119) or a particular landmark while those green ones look more 'active' and can show the personalised homepage. I'm wondering if those orange dots signify some other wifi hotspots and not Fon. :s11:
mine got big blob and dot but i cannot distinguish the colour
and someof the dot ran out of place i put hehe
cdo_saturday
07-02-2007, 11:21 PM
mine got big blob and dot but i cannot distinguish the colour
and someof the dot ran out of place i put hehe
The blob looks green to me though :D and the color looks like -> :s12:
Mine was initially out of place according to the map. It was several streets away so I used the [map] and clicked on it manually. hehehehe.
richneo
07-02-2007, 11:26 PM
The blob looks green to me though :D and the color looks like -> :s12:
Mine was initially out of place according to the map. It was several streets away so I used the [map] and clicked on it manually. hehehehe.
i key in my zip code to search and it ends up in some funny country hehehe
so i search manually from singapore within
jittery
08-02-2007, 09:15 AM
possible to flash ddwrt firmware and still have the fon functionality of being a hotspot?
richneo
08-02-2007, 11:31 AM
possible to flash ddwrt firmware and still have the fon functionality of being a hotspot?
yeap.
follow dd-wrt wiki there is a guide.
im doing that too and my fon is still listed in the maps
shadowandy
08-02-2007, 09:18 PM
My Fon is unusually slow. My bro made a call to VPost to enquire on the status of the router. Guess what? There has been miscommunications within VPost, and my Fon is still at US side. DOT. No wonder it is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO slow.
hangyong
08-02-2007, 09:48 PM
yeap.
follow dd-wrt wiki there is a guide.
im doing that too and my fon is still listed in the maps
brother, dd-wrt can firmware can be flashed onto the fon without using the funny cable??
can do it directly through the web interface on the fon?
the fon is still default...
shadowandy
08-02-2007, 09:59 PM
brother, dd-wrt can firmware can be flashed onto the fon without using the funny cable??
can do it directly through the web interface on the fon?
the fon is still default...
erm.. you can do it if you can ssh into the router. for the older firmware there is the code injection trick to enable ssh. you can try searching for the new injection code for the newer firmware.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.