PDA

View Full Version : Try this speed test

Pages : 1 [2]

esmund
01-01-2008, 06:06 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/217278871.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

zer0ne
01-01-2008, 06:36 PM
Looks like Starhub Ultimate reduces their upload speed to their stated 2mbit liao. Used to hit more than 2.5mbit last time.:spin:

threeone
01-01-2008, 07:59 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/217296121.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

AT_HWZ
01-01-2008, 08:20 PM
Damn! Still stuck under the old speed. Sucks!:s27:

newcell
01-01-2008, 08:34 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/217301636.png (http://www.speedtest.net)w/router

junhui98
01-01-2008, 08:43 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/217303291.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

MOL 12Mbps

elantrahatch
01-01-2008, 09:34 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/217311887.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

MOL Premium

squishyx
01-01-2008, 10:32 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/217315355.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Maxonline 12mb

shanhao
02-01-2008, 04:01 AM
PacNet ADSL 512K

Download: 538 kb/s

Upload: 158 kb/s

Server: Singapore

Ping: 46 ms

Distance: ~50 mi

dk2000
03-01-2008, 12:42 AM
mol premium

http://www.speedtest.net/result/217658246.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/217658589.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

blackgenius007
03-01-2008, 12:51 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/217662356.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

SINGTEL BBoM 1.8Mbps

It is the direct to singapore server, sure in full speed lah.. the overseas server/undersea cable cant get this speed on surfing the website...damn slow man..

http://www.speedtest.net/result/217664282.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

nofearck
03-01-2008, 12:54 AM
SNBB 3 MB

http://www.speedtest.net/result/217663656.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Nicky198u
03-01-2008, 03:12 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/217713427.png

Snbb 10mbs

Big Daddy
06-01-2008, 12:52 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/218986194.png

MOE 8Mbps

liquidthots
06-01-2008, 04:55 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/219020097.png

MOL express......

so wat does this thread say..... SNBB lower download is it realy worst than SH so called higher download speed when it comes to BT???

Thinking of jumping ship over to SNBB

Neoorigin
06-01-2008, 10:38 PM
currently on SNBB:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/219066717.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

ultragt
07-01-2008, 12:08 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/219120957.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

I on MOL Express, and so far this is highest speed I'm getting.

Still using the super old modem Motorola SB3100.

Anyone getting higher speed than mine using same modem :s11:

jtjt00
07-01-2008, 07:20 AM
SNBB 10Mbps

http://www.speedtest.net/result/219255587.png

jtjt00
07-01-2008, 07:28 AM
SNBB 10Mbps

http://www.speedtest.net/result/219257659.png

jtjt00
07-01-2008, 07:31 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/219120957.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

I on MOL Express, and so far this is highest speed I'm getting.

Still using the super old modem Motorola SB3100.

Anyone getting higher speed than mine using same modem :s11:
Power cycle your cable modem, MOL Express has been upgraded from 6M to 8N.

NightWish_
07-01-2008, 08:52 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/219275661.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

ultragt
07-01-2008, 07:06 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/219373856.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Yes, i did several power cycles to my modem, even plug out/in the power cord.

My location is QW.

Haiz, dunno wat is bottlenecking my speed.....

chunlianghere
07-01-2008, 11:37 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/219435423.png

Singnet 6Mbps

Puntero
08-01-2008, 12:48 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/219469106.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

STarhub 12mbps

bradputt
08-01-2008, 01:05 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/219475018.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

SNBB 10Mbps

francis_plp
19-01-2008, 02:33 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/223956543.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Utterly disgusted!!! This is what I'm getting?!?!

My current set-up:

1) SH's MaxOnline ULTIMATE
2) Motorola SB6100i [DOCSIS 3.0] Cable Modem (Just bought!!)
3) Linksys WRT54GC Wireless Router (Just reconnected to (2) & connected to my PC via LAN Cable)
4) Using PC (Pentium C2D) to take the Speedtest...

Now I'm only connected at 10 Mbps [seen from the "Local Area Connection Status" Window] (via LAN) to the Internet, worse than Wireless of 54 Mbps?!?

Is there something wrong with my set-up? Previously able to be connected at 1 Gbps when connecting my Cable Modem to the same PC previously... why the drastic drop now? Anyone can advise? [Thought I should expect at least 100 Mbps if connected to Internet via LAN cable??]
Previously can be connected

kaiserneb
19-01-2008, 04:45 PM
Francsis, the 6100 has a 1Gbps port and you connect it to a router that supports up to 100Mbps, obviously you won't get good speeds.

Try hooking up directly to a laptop with a 1G ethernet interface.

rc79
20-01-2008, 08:12 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/224262559.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Starhub MOL Premium.

XxInNOutxX
20-01-2008, 09:36 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/224279848.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

SNBB 10mbps

Asakura
20-01-2008, 09:50 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/224283231.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
MOL12k
on 2nd test
http://www.speedtest.net/result/224283413.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Asakura
20-01-2008, 09:51 AM
Francsis, the 6100 has a 1Gbps port and you connect it to a router that supports up to 100Mbps, obviously you won't get good speeds.

lol.......

francis_plp
20-01-2008, 03:21 PM

Thanks kaiserneb for your reply... If u were to look closely at my post, I do know that I should not be expecting 1 Gbps since I'm using a 100 Mbps wireless router & I'd previously gotten 1 Gbps when I directly connected the 6100 to my PC via LAN...

My concern is more of why I'm only getting 10 Mbps where I thought I should be expecting at least 100 Mbps when I use a 'G' Router... It's like being eaten up 90% of the bandwidth... :s11:

jtjt00
20-01-2008, 03:27 PM
SNBB 10Mbps

http://www.speedtest.net/result/224335371.png

chesterqw
20-01-2008, 03:34 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/224336280.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

12Mbps plan starhub.

had better during weekDAYS...

weekend slower :(

larrylaw5
20-01-2008, 04:08 PM
MOL express

http://www.speedtest.net/result/224341129.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

ideatalk
21-01-2008, 02:17 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/224673980.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
SH premium plan

MIVEC525
22-02-2008, 11:52 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/237532112.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

pclum
23-02-2008, 09:11 AM
my company using business singnet 512, download is 326 kps and upload is 203, BTW, my house using MOL premium, 12M, but I do not feel that the MOL is 24 time faster than my company internet connection, sometime I feel my company speed is almost as fast as my home one. Is there any different in Business BB and home BB witht the same BB speed?

[img]http://www.flickr.com/photos/11528967@N03/2284274939/[\img]

zuoom
23-02-2008, 09:32 AM
that's the latency issue you are experiencing.

pretty normal.

try to download big files like 100MB, and the bigger bandwidth plan will be faster overall. though the initial click might take a little longer.

pclum
23-02-2008, 09:57 AM
that's the latency issue you are experiencing.

pretty normal.

try to download big files like 100MB, and the bigger bandwidth plan will be faster overall. though the initial click might take a little longer.

Do u mean that the speed of business BB and the home BB is the same if with the same speed?

seanteo87
28-02-2008, 12:43 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/239537059.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Starhub Ultimate Plan with SB6100 + Dir-655 router -___-

if got chance i will try it on direct connection

Ivan Chia
10-03-2008, 05:45 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/244424015.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Been consisitent for the past few days.
MaxOnline Ultimate with Motorola SBV5121 Voice Modem.

transworld
10-03-2008, 05:59 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/244427808.png

Using premium plan thru Dlink DIR-655.

JiaJiaLoveU
10-03-2008, 06:22 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/244433389.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
use singnet 512Kbps BB on Mobile...... it seems 2kbps more....... haha

longdi
10-03-2008, 06:26 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/244434681.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Singnet 5mpb plan

waikiki6969
10-03-2008, 07:11 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/244440038.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

I dont think the test is accurate.. i'm on starhub 2 mbps plan.. can't even surf youtube without lag and I'm getting over 8k download speed..

Did a test on the Network Magic result is 260kps download and 214 upload.. can anyone pls help...

btw, i'm using D-Link router DIR 300 (54mbps)

alanwoo
07-10-2008, 08:05 PM
I dont think the test is accurate.. i'm on starhub 2 mbps plan.. can't even surf youtube without lag and I'm getting over 8k download speed..

The speedtest.net or speedtest.sg is a Singapore test server thus you will be able to hit 8K download speed, while youtube server likely to be in hosted US. Once the traffic go out to the public internet, Starhub have no control on the network performance.

I think in future, broadband service provider may need to clarify this part, if not, consumer will always misunderstand.

For example: If you sign up a 6Mbps Max online, this is only means from your modem to Starhub network is a 6Mbps line. Starhub have no way to guarantee from your modem to anypart of the world is 6Mbps.

The other speed factor is the server, if the server side limit the connection speed for each user to 1Mbps, then even you have 6Mbps max online, you still get 1Mbps speed.

If you happen to connect to a busy youtube server, you may get slow speed. (** youtube is not just run on a single server, its run on a server farm, although the URL is www.youtube.com but in fact it landed on difference server everytime you access it)

Hope this clarify the speed performance on broadband internet rely on end-to-end (both end) to have the same speed.

Alan

FroztSpectre
07-10-2008, 08:31 PM
From Speedtest.sg
Download Speed: 19365 kbps (2420.6 KB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed: 620 kbps (77.5 KB/sec transfer rate)

From Speedtest.net
http://www.speedtest.net/result/335044504.png

On Singnet 8mbps plan =X

nangka1
07-10-2008, 09:05 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/335057156.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

jtjt00
07-10-2008, 10:28 PM
From Speedtest.sg
Download Speed: 19365 kbps (2420.6 KB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed: 620 kbps (77.5 KB/sec transfer rate)

From Speedtest.net
http://www.speedtest.net/result/335044504.png

On Singnet 8mbps plan =X
Are you using Kaspersky Internet Security or Avira AntiVir Premium? Both of the security suites can affect broadband speed!

hello8985
07-10-2008, 11:18 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/335120473.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

liangtam
07-10-2008, 11:33 PM

The speedtest.net or speedtest.sg is a Singapore test server thus you will be able to hit 8K download speed, while youtube server likely to be in hosted US. Once the traffic go out to the public internet, Starhub have no control on the network performance.
ave the same speed.

Alan

Correct.
However, you failed to realise something important as well, because youtube videos are hosted on a farm, it has been mirrored to a local google's server.
Same goes for the cds for veoh, in this case, llnw.

EddyVlad
08-10-2008, 12:48 AM
My wireless adapter sucks. :s27:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/335169092.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

EddyVlad
08-10-2008, 12:57 AM
This one is direct cable to my router. Another PC.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/335172848.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

liangtam
08-10-2008, 01:30 AM
Result don't seems correct

chemohead2922
11-10-2008, 04:16 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/336918593.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

faithsilence
11-10-2008, 01:27 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/337087854.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

chunlianghere
11-10-2008, 03:40 PM
Result don't seems correct
his line is fibre ba... tink he is one of the residential in condo.

whaleshark87
11-10-2008, 06:57 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/337178120.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

EddyVlad
13-10-2008, 04:23 PM
his line is fibre ba... tink he is one of the residential in condo.

Yeap. I'm on FTTH (Fibre To The Home).
Theoretically I'm supposed to get 100mbps (Local) and 25/50mbps (International) but seems like I lost more than 20mbps in the local test. Fibre optics are known not to have any interference. Therefore I think the lost bandwidth must've been at the exchange or the test server itself. But still, I'm happy with my speed. :)

liangtam
13-10-2008, 09:05 PM
The server cannot give u a full 100mbps chunk one

dk2000
14-10-2008, 01:13 AM
Yeap. I'm on FTTH (Fibre To The Home).
Theoretically I'm supposed to get 100mbps (Local) and 25/50mbps (International) but seems like I lost more than 20mbps in the local test. Fibre optics are known not to have any interference. Therefore I think the lost bandwidth must've been at the exchange or the test server itself. But still, I'm happy with my speed. :)

where did u sign up for FTTH?

EddyVlad
14-10-2008, 12:09 PM
where did u sign up for FTTH?

You can't sign up for FTTH at the moment. Currently it is on trial. My dad is a Singtel technician so he's chosen to go for the trial. The HD tv channels, phone and internet are all free but we have to fill up feedback form every week to feedback on internet connection, tv quality, phone quality and the efficiency of the technical and helpdesk personnel. So if I feedback that the helpdesk personnel sucks, they're screwed. :s13:

Good eh... :)

mata_hippo
14-10-2008, 01:02 PM
You can't sign up for FTTH at the moment. Currently it is on trial. My dad is a Singtel technician so he's chosen to go for the trial. The HD tv channels, phone and internet are all free but we have to fill up feedback form every week to feedback on internet connection, tv quality, phone quality and the efficiency of the technical and helpdesk personnel. So if I feedback that the helpdesk personnel sucks, they're screwed. :s13:

Good eh... :)

wa so shiok :eek:

but the speed is damn good right?

gaming/downloading/etc.

liangtam
14-10-2008, 01:59 PM
so its not the condo in the earlier trial?

slqslq
14-10-2008, 04:11 PM
Anyone living near Tampines Central, facing a 5.5mbps average speed on speedtest.net for MO Express plans. I am using SB5100 modem with TCP/IP tweaked according to speedguide. Still I am facing the 5.5mbps average on speedtest.net, tested for 1 week day/night.

Really pissed. Considering to switch over to Singnet BB after my plan ends next year. Since singnet got the next Gen broadband thingy also.

liangtam
15-10-2008, 12:23 AM
hooked direct to modem yet?

tanfwc
15-10-2008, 11:50 AM
Correct.
However, you failed to realise something important as well, because youtube videos are hosted on a farm, it has been mirrored to a local google's server.
Same goes for the cds for veoh, in this case, llnw.

I have to said you are wrong on this. Google does not mirror youtube in Singapore at all. Let me show you some data to support my claims.

3 IP records responded when I do a dig on the DNS record.
;; ANSWER SECTION:
youtube.com. 149 IN A 208.65.153.238
youtube.com. 149 IN A 208.65.153.251
youtube.com. 149 IN A 208.117.236.69

[tanfwc:/root]# tracepath 208.65.153.238
1: 192.168.0.7 (192.168.0.7) 0.217ms pmtu 1500
1: WRT54GL (192.168.0.1) 2.053ms
2: 116.87.220.1 (116.87.220.1) 29.622ms
3: 172.20.51.129 (172.20.51.129) 15.379ms
4: 172.26.51.1 (172.26.51.1) 11.657ms
5: 172.20.7.22 (172.20.7.22) 20.385ms
6: 172.20.7.70 (172.20.7.70) 14.063ms
7: 203.116.250.213 (203.116.250.213) asymm 9 20.521ms
8: tenGe-1-1-an-ats-int10.starhub.net.sg (203.118.3.176) 158.549ms
9: 74.125.51.73 (74.125.51.73) asymm 8 19.227ms
10: 209.85.254.166 (209.85.254.166) asymm 9 18.127ms
11: 209.85.241.172 (209.85.241.172) asymm 9 96.473ms
12: 216.239.47.237 (216.239.47.237) asymm 10 199.200ms
13: 216.239.47.185 (216.239.47.185) asymm 12 192.177ms
14: 216.239.46.195 (216.239.46.195) asymm 13 193.549ms
15: 209.85.250.78 (209.85.250.78) asymm 13 194.739ms
16: 216.239.46.195 (216.239.46.195) asymm 13 189.731ms
17: no reply
18: youtube.com (208.65.153.238) asymm 16 195.761ms reached
Resume: pmtu 1500 hops 18 back 16

Based on the ms, I believe hop 11 is already in international sea.

liangtam
15-10-2008, 01:45 PM
I have to said you are wrong on this. Google does not mirror youtube in Singapore at all. Let me show you some data to support my claims.

3 IP records responded when I do a dig on the DNS record.

Based on the ms, I believe hop 11 is already in international sea.

Why don't you try refute my claim on Veoh also? :)

Here, let me proof to you CDN does not applies to everything

Most content provider usually get rid of the b/w intensive materials on their site, in the case of video provider, it must be the video itself. For a game publisher, it must be the game setup and patches of course, more than just the website

If you're interested to read the benefits, heres the link: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Content_Delivery_Network

Now, back to proving my statement above, I will let a picture i screenshot speak for itself
http://i33.tinypic.com/308fryo.jpg

In case you wan to see for it yourself, here is the video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F_MfkhOgQ8M

And oh, please don't forget to use a local dns as resolver :)
(PS: Video longer than certain minutes are then cache in google's mirror)

tanfwc
15-10-2008, 02:15 PM
Sorry, I thought you are referring to Youtube main website. As for the video, yes, I know they are using CDN.

tfkmueh
17-11-2008, 11:10 AM
wah, am using 12Mbps Premium plan & this all i get lol...

http://www.speedtest.net/result/357238484.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

2MB? got any1 using the 8Mbps service?

tionghan2004
17-11-2008, 01:19 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/357270753.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
hmm i stay jurong..
on MOL 8

FroztSpectre
17-11-2008, 04:15 PM
My latest one.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/357314437.png

I think my father signed up for 8mbps or 10mbps only.

siron
17-11-2008, 04:28 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/357317432.png

Signed up 10Mbps activation on the 20th Nov. Shall see the diff then!

system8921
21-02-2009, 09:36 PM
Welcome DAN, we welcome your VIRGIN posting.

Shoot more!

LOL!! virgin posting..