PDA

View Full Version : D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Router - Product Info

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8

hangyong
20-05-2007, 12:30 AM
I got a problem with my DIR-655 router , it seems that once a while when i power up the router refused to provide connectivity to my PC, the PC side will show my LAN got limited connectivity. When this happen i have to unplug the router power and plug back again, this always solve the problem, anyone have similar problem like me. I have flashed to firmware 1.03 already. My modem is a Motorola SB5100.

I have a friend who has this problem after flashing to 1.03. But on 1.02, all is ok. He is using the 5100 modem as well. NIC is onboard Marvell on Asus P4P800 Delux.

toshiro_sg
20-05-2007, 06:43 AM
I have a friend who has this problem after flashing to 1.03. But on 1.02, all is ok. He is using the 5100 modem as well. NIC is onboard Marvell on Asus P4P800 Delux.

my MB is the p5W-DH deluxe and i think mine NIC onboard also Marvell Yukon also. Seems like either the Marvell or Dlink got problem. Anymore people have this same NIC chipset and same problem?

richneo
20-05-2007, 10:05 AM
im using p4p800 se with marvell yukon gig

655 on 1.02 or 1.03 also no problem

hangyong
20-05-2007, 01:35 PM
im using p4p800 se with marvell yukon gig

655 on 1.02 or 1.03 also no problem

did you set static IP or DHCP?

my friend using it on wired with DHCP, always cannot connect until power off and on the 655.

I even reflashed it for him and testing at my place, all ok.

Go to his place... same problem.

One thing to note, is that the problem comes only when the PC is left alone for a while, i.e. it goes into standby, and then brought back to life.

flash back to 1.02, all ok.

richneo
20-05-2007, 01:48 PM
DHCP

only my ip cam and nas is set static

I don't off my computer even when im going out

chaicka
20-05-2007, 11:53 PM

my friend using it on wired with DHCP, always cannot connect until power off and on the 655.

One thing to note, is that the problem comes only when the PC is left alone for a while, i.e. it goes into standby, and then brought back to life.

I dun have issue with PC going into standby and wakes up later...but my PC is quite old though, using Nvidia's nForce NIC.

chaicka
20-05-2007, 11:55 PM
well if i have to issue a ipconfig /renew everytime this happen then become very troublesome. My 4300 used to have this problem but eventually goes away after firmware 1.8 , seems like Dlink got some problem. Well i flash the 655 to 1.03 1st thing out of the box. Have tried the repair function in windows but no good.
Interesting...let's see if we can narrow down the root cause of the issue.
Too bad I got no board wif ur NIC chipset to test it with...

Wanna check out if there is a newer driver for ur NIC? Sometimes, it's the NIC issue. Seen such problem before wif NICs, and usually resolved with driver upgrade. Maybe u can give it a try.

toshiro_sg
21-05-2007, 09:13 PM

Wanna check out if there is a newer driver for ur NIC? Sometimes, it's the NIC issue. Seen such problem before wif NICs, and usually resolved with driver upgrade. Maybe u can give it a try.

ok...i have update thee latest nic driver from Marvell...lets see if it comes back again. Thanks for the advise!

WhiteShadows
21-05-2007, 11:13 PM
Hello everyone, finally bought this router today! :o
Anyway, is there any other features I should I take note and make full use of? Or just connect it like a router and use it as per normal is enough? Still very new to network related stuff. Hope you guys could enlighten me on this. :)

afoongwl215
22-05-2007, 10:22 AM
white shadow.. are u planing to connect it to a 2wire router? can u guide me if u are?

toshiro_sg
22-05-2007, 09:19 PM

same thing after updating my MB bios and nic card driver now even worst, everytime i boot up sure cannot get IP. Have even do factory default reset for the router. The performance of the router is fantastic just this nagging issue.

rty
22-05-2007, 10:39 PM
same thing after updating my MB bios and nic card driver now even worst, everytime i boot up sure cannot get IP. Have even do factory default reset for the router. The performance of the router is fantastic just this nagging issue.

Try to disable your XP firewall first and reboot. See if it helps.

chaicka
23-05-2007, 01:29 AM
If u have spare PC or laptop, does it occurs on that system as well?
If u have spare network cable, swap it and see if it helps.
Swap to another port on the router and see if it helps.
Check the settings, "Always broadcast: (compatibility for some DHCP Clients)" in the DIR-655 Network Settings page is enabled, see if it helps. If not, then disable it and see if it helps.

As richneo mentioned, it does not happen on his so I doubt it's a compatibility issue.

chaicka
23-05-2007, 02:12 AM

Hangyong, ur friend running Vista?
Check this out -> http://support.microsoft.com/kb/933872

toshiro_sg
24-05-2007, 03:09 PM
If u have spare PC or laptop, does it occurs on that system as well?
If u have spare network cable, swap it and see if it helps.
Swap to another port on the router and see if it helps.
Check the settings, "Always broadcast: (compatibility for some DHCP Clients)" in the DIR-655 Network Settings page is enabled, see if it helps. If not, then disable it and see if it helps.

As richneo mentioned, it does not happen on his so I doubt it's a compatibility issue.

same thing happen after trying your method. I got 2 different PC (including mine) also cannot grab IP upon 1st powerup and bootup. Sian.....

IDZetc
24-05-2007, 11:24 PM
same thing happen after trying your method. I got 2 different PC (including mine) also cannot grab IP upon 1st powerup and bootup. Sian.....
Call up D-Link or bring it down to their service centre to test?

Moogle Stiltzkin
27-05-2007, 12:02 PM
I need some advise how to setup my dir-655 router to handle torrent ?

Portforwarding, port triggering, qos and anything else related.

I am using Xunlei currently.

Please use the emulator for the configurations and post the screenshot for me please.

http://support.dlink.com/Emulators/dir655/login.html

Shinji_U
27-05-2007, 12:14 PM
I need some advise how to setup my dir-655 router to handle torrent ?

Portforwarding, port triggering, qos and anything else related.

I am using Xunlei currently.

Please use the emulator for the configurations and post the screenshot for me please.

http://support.dlink.com/Emulators/dir655/login.html
I only setup a port forwarding for my BT port, using utorrent...

That's the only setting I did for my BT and it works great...

richneo
27-05-2007, 12:26 PM
I only setup a port forwarding for my BT port, using utorrent...

That's the only setting I did for my BT and it works great...
mine also

Moogle Stiltzkin
28-05-2007, 02:24 PM
Ok i ask someone at lowyat.net about how to configure this router for Xunlei which is a torrent client that bypasses our tmnut torrent throttling :x so below is the guide .... any opinions ?

you should make TCP & UDP the same port on bt client and forwarding to make things easier

http://img72.imageshack.us/img72/8686/portty4.th.gif (http://img72.imageshack.us/my.php?image=portty4.gif)

most ISP in the world already throttle port 6881-6889, try to forward other port like 43k++

you can QOS your HTTP priority, but you have to set it up first

http://img72.imageshack.us/img72/9471/qosor0.th.gif (http://img72.imageshack.us/my.php?image=qosor0.gif)

im not sure the priority numbering are measure (like "1" the 1st or some router "255" the 1st, mine the reverse way) rclxub.gif
you can add other port for QOS

im not sure port triggering is for, so i dont use it blush.gif

also, dont make max connection way too much, or it will hang up the router
even 200 max connection sometimes hangs some routers sweat.gif

then, you can test you forwarded port at:
http://www.utorrent.com/testport.php?port=<forwardedportnumber>
if it still red, try to run bt first, then test again, it should be green

PS: i've tested how secure my router is over at GRC using Shields Up. this are my results :]

http://www.grc.com/default.htm

http://img508.imageshack.us/img508/2744/mysecurepcsu3.th.jpg (http://img508.imageshack.us/my.php?image=mysecurepcsu3.jpg)

toshiro_sg
28-05-2007, 03:00 PM
I have done a experiment on my previous problem regarding my PC can't grab an IP when 1st power up modem and DIR-655. What i did was to turn on the SB5100 modem then when the modem is fully powerup with green LEDs then i power up my DIR-655 and then my PC well my PC can grab IP and no limited connection msg appears. So I need advise as to whether its my SB5100 is the problem or the DIR-655 is the problem. RIght now if I on the power, both modem and router will be powered at the same time and never did once i manage to grab any IP if i don't disconnect the power of DIR-655 and then power it up again.

Advise appreciated.

chaicka
28-05-2007, 05:01 PM
I have done a experiment on my previous problem regarding my PC can't grab an IP when 1st power up modem and DIR-655. What i did was to turn on the SB5100 modem then when the modem is fully powerup with green LEDs then i power up my DIR-655 and then my PC well my PC can grab IP and no limited connection msg appears. So I need advise as to whether its my SB5100 is the problem or the DIR-655 is the problem. RIght now if I on the power, both modem and router will be powered at the same time and never did once i manage to grab any IP if i don't disconnect the power of DIR-655 and then power it up again.

Advise appreciated.
I think I can explain the situation better now. But it is no means my conclusion whether it's a fault of DIR-655 or not. That will have to come from D-Link developers.

1. In Cable service, it is commonly known that CM needs to be power up first, then power up the router (wireless/wired). It is due to the CM being a DHCP client, needing values to be assigned by the SCV DHCP server - public ip address, dns server(s), gateway ip address, etc.

2. Since the dhcp server on ur 655 (to serve ur internal PCs/laptops) is dependent on the Cable Modem for Gateway IP Address & DNS Server(s) IP Address values, before it can dish out to ur PCs, it is naturally that when both the CM & 655 is powered on together, the 655 is unable to successfully connect to CM and grab the necessary values it needs.

toshiro_sg
28-05-2007, 05:10 PM
I think I can explain the situation better now. But it is no means my conclusion whether it's a fault of DIR-655 or not. That will have to come from D-Link developers.

1. In Cable service, it is commonly known that CM needs to be power up first, then power up the router (wireless/wired). It is due to the CM being a DHCP client, needing values to be assigned by the SCV DHCP server - public ip address, dns server(s), gateway ip address, etc.

2. Since the dhcp server on ur 655 (to serve ur internal PCs/laptops) is dependent on the Cable Modem for Gateway IP Address & DNS Server(s) IP Address values, before it can dish out to ur PCs, it is naturally that when both the CM & 655 is powered on together, the 655 is unable to successfully connect to CM and grab the necessary values it needs.

But doesn't Dlink router do a repoll of the CM for IP info? Its kind of strange that such intelligent router doesn't do the intelligent sensing of the CM IP info , i don't remember i got this problem with linksys routers WRT series. I was almost going to get a new SB5120 hoping it will solve this problem lol

Scuderia
28-05-2007, 05:13 PM

I think I can explain it based on the CM point of view.

All current Motorola CMs will boot up with a power up default IP of 192.168.100.1. The DHCP server in the CMs will kick in and assign your DIR-655 with a private IP in the range of 192.168.100.xxx. This is before any information is downloaded from StarHub's DHCP server. Once a public ip has been assigned to your CM by StarHub's DHCP server, it will reassign the public IP to your DIR-655. I think the fault is with the DIR-655 not able to grab this newly reassigned IP. All this happens in less than 30 seconds.

chaicka
28-05-2007, 05:22 PM
I think the fault is with the DIR-655 not able to grab this newly reassigned IP. All this happens in less than 30 seconds.

May or may not, since the user (toshiro_sg) was not able to lease an ip from DIR-655, I doubt he connect to the DIR-655 to check the settings/status at that point of CM reassign new WAN ip to DIR-655.

Unless the user can set static ip on PC or laptop, and monitor each step of the whole connection process, then we can conclude if it's really CM reassign new IP to 655, 655 unable to grab it.

Or what I suspected, the DHCP server on 655 was unable to recognise change in dhcp configuration (Gateway IP, DNS Server(s), etc) and thus unable to perform its dhcp server tasks to serve the internal PCs/laptops.

richneo
28-05-2007, 05:23 PM
the 192.168.100.1 lease time is 10 seconds

anyway i dun have any problems with 6 desktop and 2 laptops connected to dir-655 with wrt54g converted into a switch

maybe can check firewall of the desktop instead

Scuderia
28-05-2007, 05:28 PM
Or what I suspected, the DHCP server on 655 was unable to recognise change in dhcp configuration (Gateway IP, DNS Server(s), etc) and thus unable to perform its dhcp server tasks to serve the internal PCs/laptops.
This is quite likely. Some routers do have this problem. That's why it is recommended that one power up the CM to a ready state 1st before switching on the router.

Scuderia
28-05-2007, 05:36 PM
the 192.168.100.1 lease time is 10 seconds
It really depends on how long it takes for the CM to be "online". For Motorola CMs, the last known downstream and upstream frequencies are stored, and it just take seconds to synchronise with the CMTS, 10 seconds is more than sufficient. However, there are cases where the signal is weak, and the CMs might initiate a frequency rescan. This may take up to 10 minutes for the CM to come online.

chaicka
28-05-2007, 06:02 PM
This is quite likely. Some routers do have this problem. That's why it is recommended that one power up the CM to a ready state 1st before switching on the router.
I know WRT54G oso has this problem...even with latest firmware (done upgrade for fren), still the same. Die die need to power up CM first, then router, else, it gives hell of problems.

chaicka
28-05-2007, 06:04 PM
It really depends on how long it takes for the CM to be "online". For Motorola CMs, the last known downstream and upstream frequencies are stored, and it just take seconds to synchronise with the CMTS, 10 seconds is more than sufficient. However, there are cases where the signal is weak, and the CMs might initiate a frequency rescan. This may take up to 10 minutes for the CM to come online.
I doubt any router (SOHO class at least) will continuously try to grab ip for 10 minutes. Even good SOHO class ones oso dun keep trying for that long. This is a security design too, least open to DoS attacks.

wiShfulStone
28-05-2007, 06:04 PM
My Dlink 634M doesn't have this problem, I usually turn on both at the same time and it works. The router takes about 4 seconds to be ready and the motorola cm takes about 8 seconds.

chaicka
28-05-2007, 06:08 PM
My Dlink 634M doesn't have this problem, I usually turn on both at the same time and it works. The router takes about 4 seconds to be ready and the motorola cm takes about 8 seconds.

I think we need Richie to perform a full diagnostic. I got no cable service to test on.

Could be somehow, toshiro_sg Cable service is behaving diff from others.

Like mentioned, it could be due to long time required for the CM to be ready, thus the 655 oso dun wait tat long. If urs oso need 5 mins for CM to be 'ready', think ur 634 oso will hv encounter similar prob, coz afterall, the firmware (dhcp services) of 634 and 655 shld be similar, if not, the same.

richneo
28-05-2007, 07:47 PM
i dont know if im lucky or suay

i just cant seem to get any of those problems experienced

Moogle Stiltzkin
28-05-2007, 07:57 PM
Oh guys, i just wanted to report that the only con i found for d-link dir-655 is the cd installation.

It doesn't work....

It asks you to be connected to the internet, but if your router doesn't have the isp info username/password how are you suppose to get connected ? D-link over looked this -_-;

So i got a fix around this, i then logon to the router manually using internet explorer and added the isp details ( imho when you run the cd it should prompt you for the info to setup internet connection .,.. )

All is well.... or not ? Actually before i had set the internet connection, i upgraded to the new firmware 1.0.3 then factory restart it.

And when internet is working and i ran the cd, it then says my firmware/device was not recognised !!!!! They don't even recognise their own product !! like wtf.

Kinda makes the cd to setup a network easily such a joke since it does the opposite, and you can't use it in the end.

So, i setup my router using the browser all done.

To get my pcs on my network connected together, i then used "NETWORK MAGIC". Just install onto all my pcs then it connected them all to the same network. Sharing files, internet, can also play lan games together. I even tested it by playing online on the same server together with my bro.

So the summary of my review is, installation was a bitch but performance wise it's excellent :]

wiShfulStone
28-05-2007, 08:06 PM
Oh guys, i just wanted to report that the only con i found for d-link dir-655 is the cd installation.

It doesn't work....

It asks you to be connected to the internet, but if your router doesn't have the isp info username/password how are you suppose to get connected ? D-link over looked this -_-;

So i got a fix around this, i then logon to the router manually using internet explorer and added the isp details ( imho when you run the cd it should prompt you for the info to setup internet connection .,.. )

All is well.... or not ? Actually before i had set the internet connection, i upgraded to the new firmware 1.0.3 then factory restart it.

And when internet is working and i ran the cd, it then says my firmware/device was not recognised !!!!! They don't even recognise their own product !! like wtf.

Kinda makes the cd to setup a network easily such a joke since it does the opposite, and you can't use it in the end.

So, i setup my router using the browser all done.

To get my pcs on my network connected together, i then used "NETWORK MAGIC". Just install onto all my pcs then it connected them all to the same network. Sharing files, internet, can also play lan games together. I even tested it by playing online on the same server together with my bro.

So the summary of my review is, installation was a bitch but performance wise it's excellent :]
Nowadays the cd that come with routers is for show only, no one uses them

liangtam
29-05-2007, 12:25 AM
CD can throw. *Almost* no one reads the manual inside it also

Moogle Stiltzkin
29-05-2007, 09:56 AM
Oh i have a question.

How do i port forward say counter strike for both of my pcs ?

I followed the guide at www.portofrward.com

added cs port forwarding for my pc. However when i try to do the same for my other pc next door using same port, but changed the name cauz u cannot have duplicate entry, it says cannot.

But why then have it so you only can portforward those specific ports to just only 1 ip ?

I don't quite understand, can somebody please advise :s22:

Also is there any good third party firmware for this router ? I saw Tomato firmware and i liked the network bandwidth graph log :D

toshiro_sg
29-05-2007, 10:56 AM

my CM time to ready is about 12-15 secs

toshiro_sg
29-05-2007, 11:00 AM
I think we need Richie to perform a full diagnostic. I got no cable service to test on.

Could be somehow, toshiro_sg Cable service is behaving diff from others.

Like mentioned, it could be due to long time required for the CM to be ready, thus the 655 oso dun wait tat long. If urs oso need 5 mins for CM to be 'ready', think ur 634 oso will hv encounter similar prob, coz afterall, the firmware (dhcp services) of 634 and 655 shld be similar, if not, the same.

Well are we talking about SB5100 CM in my case or does those folks who don't have problem have a diff modem like the Motorola VE modem SB5120? I was hoping that the new VE modem can solve this problem i have coz I can do a full redemption of the VE modem using starhub reward pts. Is the spec different from SB5100 vs SB5120?

IDZetc
29-05-2007, 11:56 AM
Oh i have a question.

How do i port forward say counter strike for both of my pcs ?

I followed the guide at www.portofrward.com

added cs port forwarding for my pc. However when i try to do the same for my other pc next door using same port, but changed the name cauz u cannot have duplicate entry, it says cannot.

But why then have it so you only can portforward those specific ports to just only 1 ip ?

I don't quite understand, can somebody please advise :s22:

Also is there any good third party firmware for this router ? I saw Tomato firmware and i liked the network bandwidth graph log :D
you can't portforward the same port no. to 2 or more PCs on your LAN.
A port can only be used by 1 program at a time.

Scuderia
29-05-2007, 12:23 PM
This is a DIR-655 thread. Those with CM issues please post new threads, and I will try to help.

Moogle Stiltzkin
29-05-2007, 05:27 PM
you can't portforward the same port no. to 2 or more PCs on your LAN.
A port can only be used by 1 program at a time.

Ah i see. Cauz i notice when my torrent is downloading on Xunlei, the other pc cannot use that port as well. So i put another port.

But Counter Strike uses the same port.

So why port forward ? Because i tried playing cs same time on both pc online and it works. PC 1 has portforwarding, PC 2 doesn't. Any point to port forwarding ?

As far as i know you need to portforward to host game :x and for torrent to download.

liangtam
29-05-2007, 05:35 PM
IF you don't host the CS game, you don't need to p/f

Moogle Stiltzkin
29-05-2007, 07:08 PM
Yeah but say if i suddenly one day felt like hosting cs on both pcs at same time. What then :d ?

Hm any third party firmware for the dir-655 ? Tomato network monitoring looks kewl :D

wiShfulStone
29-05-2007, 07:55 PM
Play cs over lan I think no need pf, I don't and I still can host, no dmz or upnp either.

n0v1cE
09-06-2007, 09:12 AM
anyone care to do a mo for this modem?

davidtxd
09-06-2007, 09:14 AM
noted, nice info.

http://allmoneysense.blogspot.com (http://allmoneysense.blogspot.com/)

=>

wiShfulStone
09-06-2007, 10:39 AM
noted, nice info.

http://allmoneysense.blogspot.com (http://allmoneysense.blogspot.com/)

=>
You're spamming you blog in almost every post..lol

Heard of a signature?

cpuer
09-06-2007, 11:05 AM
anyone care to do a mo for this modem?
MO? It's on sales in SLS. And it's a router.

n0v1cE
09-06-2007, 11:19 AM
yeah i know it is on sales in sls and it is a router... but mo = mass order?

cpuer
09-06-2007, 11:23 AM
sorry, pls ignore me, as i dint understand your post. :)

richneo
09-06-2007, 11:23 AM
MO from where?

consolidate orders and buy from 1 retail shop in sls and hope they give u few dollars discount?

no point getting it from overseas since only singapore and only a few SEA countries has unlimited lifetime warranty for it. and among these unlimited lifetime warranty countries, singapore is selling the cheapest already.

no point trying to do a // from overseas since the serial number can be tracked and no warranty might be given

Shinji_U
09-06-2007, 11:51 AM
MO? I'm selling them for $240, MO cheaper?

:S

richneo
09-06-2007, 12:12 PM
MO? I'm selling them for $240, MO cheaper?

:S
shop reopening promo still not over ah

misato
09-06-2007, 01:08 PM
lol.. i guess the other clause to the promo is "while stock lasts"
but @ 240... its still the best buy no less.

richneo
09-06-2007, 01:20 PM
lol.. i guess the other clause to the promo is "while stock lasts"
but @ 240... its still the best buy no less.
no doubt the cheapest so far

xfinite
09-06-2007, 02:24 PM
Need advise from users of 655.

Is this product compatible with Fujitsu laptop wireless - Atheros ?

Cant seem to be able to connect to the router.

vnowos
27-06-2007, 10:16 AM
I have upgraded my dir-655 to 1.0.3 from 1.0.2 and the router no longer can get its WAN DHCP IP address and DNS. I have done a downgrade to 1.0.2 and it works fine.
I have done this twice, each time the result is the same. DHCP is not working on the WAN side of the router.

I have a case open with D-LINK.

Vic

richneo
27-06-2007, 10:25 AM
thousands of ppl have tried that with no problems

are u using cable? did u remember to reboot cable modem together with dir-655 after flashing with new firmware?

chrislzh
27-06-2007, 11:39 AM
hi.. I have decided to get the 655, can anyone pm me or tell me where can I get it at sim lim for the best price.

quanfatt
27-06-2007, 12:38 PM
i also upgraded mmy firmwware to 1.0.3 no problem so far very good.
try power off both router and modem after upgrade for about 5 mins .
then power on modem followed by router.
try see if it helps.

I have upgraded my dir-655 to 1.0.3 from 1.0.2 and the router no longer can get its WAN DHCP IP address and DNS. I have done a downgrade to 1.0.2 and it works fine.
I have done this twice, each time the result is the same. DHCP is not working on the WAN side of the router.

I have a case open with D-LINK.

Vic

richneo
27-06-2007, 02:12 PM
hi.. I have decided to get the 655, can anyone pm me or tell me where can I get it at sim lim for the best price.
sls 6th lvl mediamart $240

vnowos
30-06-2007, 12:57 PM
I pwrd down for 5 min. both the mot cm sb5120 and the dir-655. I got the same result. The WAN side DHCP does not come up. When I downgrade to 1.0.2 it works fine. One item I noticed. On the router the hw version is A2, but the browser says A1? I'm not sure if this could be a problem. I will update the status after I talk to D-Link. Their first level tech support did not know anything about the problem. I have upgraded now six time and downgraded six time with the same result each time. There is something odd going on with the rel. 1.0.3 code regarding Dynamic DHCP on the WAN interface. I have tried it with udp unicasting off and on, no difference. The odd thing is that the H/W revision is A1 in the upper right corner of the browser interface,

Firmware Version: 1.02
Hardware Version: A1
Product Page: DIR-655

ON the device the H/W version is listed as A2.

Vic

richneo
30-06-2007, 01:09 PM
look at it again in firmware 1.03

major difference between hardware a1 and a2 is... the green led and the blue led -__-"

vnowos
30-06-2007, 01:36 PM
in the browser it is showing A1 the LED are blue

The tech support person told me that the 1.0.3 version has a bug related to wan dhcp and that they are working to fix the problem. I was told to keep going back to where I purchased the router till I get the A2 version.

richneo
30-06-2007, 01:40 PM
if ur hardware wrote A2, IT IS A2

vnowos
30-06-2007, 01:41 PM
what about the browser?
It is showing A1

richneo
30-06-2007, 01:49 PM
what about the browser?
It is showing A1
see post count #314 in case u do selective reading

http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showpost.php?p=24408200&postcount=314

i think dlink must have anticipated annoying users who nag about why firmware shows A1 when hardware is A2 thus they do some comestic changes to the web gui to show A1 and A2

http://i8.tinypic.com/6c5llax.jpg

richneo
30-06-2007, 01:52 PM
in the browser it is showing A1 the LED are blue

The tech support person told me that the 1.0.3 version has a bug related to wan dhcp and that they are working to fix the problem. I was told to keep going back to where I purchased the router till I get the A2 version.

any idea which tech support person u contacted?

as far as i know there are no such problems in firmware 1.03 other then the user itself let alone going back to where u buy it and keep swapping router to connect and see hardware A2 in firmware 1.02 which is not possible

vnowos
30-06-2007, 02:04 PM
I do not think it is anoying users, how about confused users, if the h/w is A2 the browser should reflect this. OR give me full access to the router, ssh or serial, I do not need the browser, command line is fine.
I just want correct information vs. ???

The tech support person could not tell me if ver2 is on the outside of the box it is A2, he just said that it should be A2, this is their second tier tech support. He said the browser should be A2 for a A2 box.

They are working on the DHCP problem and it may come out in a month or so.
My take on this is that their QC is horrible. I am not impressed with the tech support at all.
They do not return e-mails, I sent to messages and I did not get any replys, not even a ak that they will get back by e-mail.

Can you tell me what are the major benefits of running 1.0.3?

vnowos
30-06-2007, 02:12 PM
I upgraded the router to 1.0.3 six times (not working). Got the same result each time. Downgraded six times to 1.0.2 (working state). In the log data for the 1.0.2 I see the DHCP conversation.

INFO] Tue Jun 26 00:58:35 2007 Obtained IP Address using DHCP. IP address is x.x.x.x

In the rel 1.0.3 I do not get anything at all, nothing in the log section, showing that the router is trying to do anything with dhcp.

richneo
30-06-2007, 02:13 PM
for your benefit again.

the firmware used in a1 and a2 is the same

thus i think they add in the words A2 in the webpages inside firmware 1.03

if u feel annoyed over seeing A1 in the browser, flash with firmware 1.03

if you have problems with firmware 1.03, and believe its a problem on the router, go back to the shop to exchange for a new one or go to dlink service center at ibp to check

else no use harping on why your browser shows A1 when your hardware shows A2

its something like u buy a core 2 duo computer and install windows 98 and then you complain why u dun see xp or vista inside while using windows 98

vnowos
30-06-2007, 02:21 PM
the DHCP is more important to me, if 1.0.3 supports new wireless standards, I would like to have it working. So I will most likely have to wait till 1.0.4 for the DHCP fix.

richneo
30-06-2007, 02:24 PM
the DHCP is more important to me, if 1.0.3 supports new wireless standards, I would like to have it working. So I will most likely have to wait till 1.0.4 for the DHCP fix.
where do u stay?

if u stay nearby i dun mind going over to see :s34:

vnowos
19-07-2007, 09:20 AM
I loaded 1.0.4 firmware, and have the same problem with WAN DHCP. I think this is a indication of QC software development and testing at D-Link, I have returned the router for a full refund. I installed a Netgear WNR834B. I have had no problems so far with the Netgear. I am going to install a PC card this week from Netgear to see how well it works with Vista (we will see). The D-Link PCI 802.11n card did not work with Vista. This was my second major issue with D-Link and 802.11n.

richneo
19-07-2007, 09:55 AM
hmmm sounds like a user issue

btw firmware 1.04 is not launched in singapore

im using dwa-645 in vista business and dwa-547 in vista ultimate desktop din encounter any problems

siegeholler
19-07-2007, 10:35 AM
im thinking of getting the dwa-645 to improve my thinkpads connection/range when using the dir-655.. is it worth it? also, how much is the price roughly? thks!

siegeholler
19-07-2007, 08:46 PM
any opinions?

vnowos
20-07-2007, 10:38 AM
I was using DWA-552 with Vista home premium. With serious problems, I did not get any help from D-link’s Tech support at all (essentially useless waste of time).

I did install a very cheap 802.11G card with the Vista machine and it worked fine with the DIR-655. This not the point though. I wanted a 802.11n card in my new Vista machine!

This is interesting that you are jumping into a user issue? I am a CCIE with over 25 years in network experience? I started in the networking industry working with beta Cisco routers. When did you get started in this industry? I am starting to suspect you are on D-Link’s payroll.

seowbin
20-07-2007, 12:05 PM
wah seh.. here got another CCIE :o

25 yrs of network experience = u started setup BBS arh? by now u are in 40s liao? maybe ppl roughly can find out who are u sia... :s13:

singapore ccie limited and most of them know each other i think, too bad me not one of them .. too young to know u all liao... no $ to take lab...

liangtam
20-07-2007, 01:33 PM
Hmm, since you like to apply Cisco and CCIE stuff in against the D-Link DWA552(is there a relation in the first place, or u trying boast??), how come u did not get the el cheapo Cisco-Linksys instead.

seowbin
20-07-2007, 05:36 PM
alamak... this one i can help him answer....

being a CCIE, CCNP or CCNA doesn't means must be hardcore cisco supporter leh...

i ish huawei, fortinet, cisco.....anything that can earn $$$'s supporter :P

but definitely not linksys, dlink those end-user's supporter.. cause if deploy earn not much $, for own use still ok ...

but new toy if limit to only 1 company will have limited choice, somemore cisco like to go for long testing with big coy ... etc one... especially for IPv6 mpls vpn, etc...

chaicka
22-07-2007, 09:42 PM
I was using DWA-552 with Vista home premium. With serious problems, I did not get any help from D-link’s Tech support at all (essentially useless waste of time).

I did install a very cheap 802.11G card with the Vista machine and it worked fine with the DIR-655. This not the point though. I wanted a 802.11n card in my new Vista machine!

This is interesting that you are jumping into a user issue? I am a CCIE with over 25 years in network experience? I started in the networking industry working with beta Cisco routers. When did you get started in this industry? I am starting to suspect you are on D-Link’s payroll.

No offense, but u are an CCIE or ex-CCIE? Juz curious coz I have not yet come across a CCIE who keeps re-certifying continuously for 25 years. Dun forget, CCIE expires...so once expired, it's not "I am a CCIE..." but instead, should be "I am an ex-CCIE...".

seowbin
22-07-2007, 10:01 PM
25 yrs ago no CCIE lar

think the track number start around early 90s... testing on RIP and maybe IGRP nia :s13:
can test for 2 days liao i think... 1st day bwang, 2nd day can slack at home already

heard from a #2xxx holder i think... forget liao, some zharbor in cisco during my attachment :P

BizMinor
22-07-2007, 10:32 PM
lol oic.. so its a typical case of ppl trying to defame D-Link products

hehe i wonder if he is on competitor's payroll lol :D

converse2010
25-07-2007, 11:37 PM
lol oic.. so its a typical case of ppl trying to defame D-Link products

hehe i wonder if he is on competitor's payroll lol :D
Hey guys, sorry to dig up this thread. I saw that my router web page that there is this v1.04 firmware ready to download.

There should not be any problem in using the new v1.04 firmware right ?

richneo
25-07-2007, 11:47 PM
iirc danxiaogui mentioned, in firmware 1.04 u cant disable SPI else u will be unable to surf net

danxiaogui86
26-07-2007, 12:30 AM
iirc danxiaogui mentioned, in firmware 1.04 u cant disable SPI else u will be unable to surf net

yup yup yup :) it a bug. should be resolved in 1.05 since dlink know abt it already. this router is solid but somehow pickie on wireless cards, those with 2200bg please forget abt this router or change the wireless cards. i got a hard time with 2200bg.

converse2010
26-07-2007, 03:01 PM
yup yup yup :) it a bug. should be resolved in 1.05 since dlink know abt it already. this router is solid but somehow pickie on wireless cards, those with 2200bg please forget abt this router or change the wireless cards. i got a hard time with 2200bg.
err wat's SPI ?

EVO13
26-07-2007, 03:20 PM
firewall setting...

siegeholler
26-07-2007, 03:40 PM

im using with a thinkpad 2200bg intel, seems ok leh

danxiaogui86
26-07-2007, 03:47 PM
im using with a thinkpad 2200bg intel, seems ok leh

which driver version? does the speed drop from 54 to 45 and so on?

siegeholler
26-07-2007, 04:03 PM
9.0.4.36.. thats the latest for my centrino adapter. yup it does drop to 36 but surfing and bt is still v fast so no complaints

danxiaogui86
26-07-2007, 04:49 PM
9.0.4.36.. thats the latest for my centrino adapter. yup it does drop to 36 but surfing and bt is still v fast so no complaints

Hrm, for me it disconnect. and it say wat dun have cert to log me in.

converse2010
26-07-2007, 05:15 PM
Hrm, for me it disconnect. and it say wat dun have cert to log me in.
Oh ya, this cert thingy, i got the same prob on my Broadcom chip.

But no disconnections :)

converse2010
26-07-2007, 05:15 PM
firewall setting...
care to explain more ?

Kinda noob in network stuff :o

siegeholler
26-07-2007, 05:36 PM
Oh ya, this cert thingy, i got the same prob on my Broadcom chip.

But no disconnections :)

same here, i get the cert, but no dcs

mcalel
26-07-2007, 06:08 PM
I Have just upgrade to MaxOnline Ultimate.Using a DGL-4300 do i need to upgrade to DIR-655 to reach the max speed of the cable? if i use ethernet will it be the same as wireless?

danxiaogui86
26-07-2007, 06:35 PM
care to explain more ?

Kinda noob in network stuff :o

Google have ur answer. :)

siegeholler
26-07-2007, 07:10 PM
I Have just upgrade to MaxOnline Ultimate.Using a DGL-4300 do i need to upgrade to DIR-655 to reach the max speed of the cable? if i use ethernet will it be the same as wireless?

nope dont need to upgrade, 4300 shld suffice

vnowos
27-07-2007, 12:02 PM
I used the latest version of Wireshark to analyze the DHCP Discover process on the WAN port of the 1.0.2 and 1.0.4 code. I have found that under 1.0.2 code the DIR-655 sends out the DHCP Discover and gets the DHCP offer from the Mot Cable SB5120, then the DIR-655 sends out a DHCP request and receives a DHCP ACK. WAN is fine.

Under the 1.0.4 code the DIR-655 sends out a DHCP Discover and gets a the DHCP offer from the SB5120, then the DIR-655 does not send out a DHCP request, it send a another DHCP Discover, the SB5120 sends out a DHCP offer, there is never a DHCP request from the DIR-655, which would lead to a DHCP ACK from the SB5120. Failed.

There is a problem with the code. D-link needs to fix this problem. By the way I am just a user of the product. I think this board is infected with people who might be on D-link's payroll. It's to bad that this board can not be a objective place to talk about real issues with a product which has problems.

By the way the Netgear wireless router had problems in mixed mode, performance was very bad. So I am giving the D-Link a second chance. I saw that the 1.0.5 is coming, I hope they fix the problem with DHCP in 1.0.5. Right now I am on 1.0.2.

liangtam
27-07-2007, 03:55 PM
I used the latest version of Wireshark to analyze the DHCP Discover process on the WAN port of the 1.0.2 and 1.0.4 code. I have found that under 1.0.2 code the DIR-655 sends out the DHCP Discover and gets the DHCP offer from the Mot Cable SB5120, then the DIR-655 sends out a DHCP request and receives a DHCP ACK. WAN is fine.

Under the 1.0.4 code the DIR-655 sends out a DHCP Discover and gets a the DHCP offer from the SB5120, then the DIR-655 does not send out a DHCP request, it send a another DHCP Discover, the SB5120 sends out a DHCP offer, there is never a DHCP request from the DIR-655, which would lead to a DHCP ACK from the SB5120. Failed.

There is a problem with the code. D-link needs to fix this problem. By the way I am just a user of the product. I think this board is infected with people who might be on D-link's payroll. It's to bad that this board can not be a objective place to talk about real issues with a product which has problems.

By the way the Netgear wireless router had problems in mixed mode, performance was very bad. So I am giving the D-Link a second chance. I saw that the 1.0.5 is coming, I hope they fix the problem with DHCP in 1.0.5. Right now I am on 1.0.2.
Please kindly refer to the above post and comment back with regards to your 'CCIE' certification.
You look boasting to me. Any picture to your cert?

http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/content/view/30087/96/

Reviews aside, you don't expect a new released product to be bug free right? The same goes for even the renowned Cisco Linksys or any other brand leh.

PS: I am just a student, got proof to substantiate

Shinji_U
27-07-2007, 03:58 PM
Please kindly refer to the above post and comment back with regards to your 'CCIE' certification.
You look boasting to me. Any picture to your cert?

http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/content/view/30087/96/

Reviews aside, you don't expect a new released product to be bug free right? The same goes for even the renowned Cisco Linksys or any other brand leh.

PS: I am just a student, got proof to substantiate
Cisco Certification can be access via Cisco US website, no need picture to verify, if need be I can access and retrieve it.

:D

Shinji_U
27-07-2007, 04:42 PM

I've deployed the DIR-655 with desktops equipped with DWA-556 installed with Vista Business, laptop, XPS M1210 with Intel WiFi Link 4965AGN installed with Vista Business.

Never had issues, once configured all good to go, till date, no complains from customer apart from some starhub Internet issues. One router to cover his entire bungalow, including his pool outside.

I don't have any Cisco certification, I can get it to work, how come?

~_~

richneo
27-07-2007, 04:51 PM
I've deployed the DIR-655 with desktops equipped with DWA-556 installed with Vista Business, laptop, XPS M1210 with Intel WiFi Link 4965AGN installed with Vista Business.

Never had issues, once configured all good to go, til ldate, no complains from customer apart from some starhub Internet issues. Customer happily using wireless in his bungalow, exceptional coverage including his pool.

I don't have any Cisco certification, I can get it to work, how come?

~_~
u sure u not on dlink pay roll? :s34:

asking on behalf of you know who... lord voldermolt :D

Shinji_U
27-07-2007, 04:54 PM
u sure u not on dlink pay roll? :s34:

asking on behalf of you know who... lord voldermolt :D
I'm on my own pay roll, I sure hope D-Link disti gives me better price since I keep pushing their DIR-655.

I also sell ASUS routers, but their range not as good as D-Links...

I've been pushing DIR-655 to my customers who live in bungalows cause of the exceptional range of Wireless N.

richneo
27-07-2007, 04:57 PM
I'm on my own pay roll, I sure hope D-Link disti gives me better price since I keep pushing their DIR-655.

I also sell ASUS routers, but their range not as good as D-Links...

I've been pushing DIR-655 to my customers who live in bungalows cause of the exceptional range of Wireless N.
i went to visit u on wed leh but cant find any dir655 on shelve =(

Shinji_U
27-07-2007, 05:01 PM
i went to visit u on wed leh but cant find any dir655 on shelve =(
You came on Wednesday?

Didn't see you... How come... :(

Who are you?? :(

Anyway new stocks came yesterday... :s22:

Shinji_U
27-07-2007, 05:09 PM
You came on Wednesday?

Anyway I'm swtiching to DIR-655 myself, presently using DGL-4300.

My Dell XPS M1210 has already been equipped with Intel WiFi Link 4965AGN, tested at my customer's place with his DIR-655, super good and fast speed.

Waiting for a kind forumer to help me mod my sister's HP V3135TU laptop BIOS to disable the wireless lock cause I ordered a Intel WiFi Link 4965AGN and an additional antenna for her laptop to go N as well.

What's left is my desktop and my dad's desktop which is still on Super G 108MBps, going to buy 2 DWA-556 together with the DIR-655.

Then my home wireless network upgrade will be finalized.

From Super G 108Mbps networks to N.

Have been using wireless networking for so long, going back to wired network, I will die... I hate cables...

richneo
27-07-2007, 05:23 PM
You came on Wednesday?

cos i go in to see 655 mah not see u and i dunno who u look like :s34:

Shinji_U
27-07-2007, 05:34 PM
cos i go in to see 655 mah not see u and i dunno who u look like :s34:
You no good la... come also never say... say got coffee drink ma... :D

richneo
27-07-2007, 05:36 PM
You no good la... come also never say... say got coffee drink ma... :D
got..

next monday? maybe meet misato also

hangyong
27-07-2007, 10:39 PM
brother brothers.... please hear me out.

If you guys still remember, I did mention that I have some problems with the DIR-655 with MOL SB5120?

what vnowos might be credible, at least the no ack part.

when I revert back to 1.02 or earlier, no problem, once I gointo 1.03, I am stuck... not tried1.04 yet though.

Shinji_U
27-07-2007, 11:12 PM
brother brothers.... please hear me out.

If you guys still remember, I did mention that I have some problems with the DIR-655 with MOL SB5120?

what vnowos might be credible, at least the no ack part.

when I revert back to 1.02 or earlier, no problem, once I gointo 1.03, I am stuck... not tried1.04 yet though.
Maybe its an issue with only SB5100? I've deployed many DIR-655, to Singnet and Starhub users alike, never had any issues so far except with certain aironet cards.

hangyong
27-07-2007, 11:44 PM
Maybe its an issue with only SB5100? I've deployed many DIR-655, to Singnet and Starhub users alike, never had any issues so far except with certain aironet cards.

yeah, I have tried the same modem on Singnet's network. Be it with ST585 or the 2Wire, absolutely no problems.

But once the router is brought back to my friend's place, it simply dun work.

What I mean by dun work is this:

1. The PCs connected to the 655 will suddenly be unable to connect to the Internet. Ping no reply and all.

2. Power cycle the 655, it works!

3. After some time, the problem comes again...

and this is only happening to the SB5120.

However, Richneo said his got no problem, and he using the SB5120 also.

richneo
27-07-2007, 11:49 PM
yeah, I have tried the same modem on Singnet's network. Be it with ST585 or the 2Wire, absolutely no problems.

But once the router is brought back to my friend's place, it simply dun work.

What I mean by dun work is this:

1. The PCs connected to the 655 will suddenly be unable to connect to the Internet. Ping no reply and all.

2. Power cycle the 655, it works!

3. After some time, the problem comes again...

and this is only happening to the SB5120.

However, Richneo said his got no problem, and he using the SB5120 also.
nope i am using SB5101i

Shinji_U
27-07-2007, 11:56 PM
nope i am using SB5101i
Ah, that explains, prolly its SB5120 that is having the problem and NOT DIR-655?

hangyong
28-07-2007, 12:00 AM
Ah, that explains, prolly its SB5120 that is having the problem and NOT DIR-655?

well, probably... but why v1.02 no prob?

it sure is interesting to see things like these happening...

chrislzh
28-07-2007, 12:04 AM
hi.. can anyone guide me how to open port on the 655 for asuzenus d/l?

converse2010
28-07-2007, 11:11 AM
hi.. can anyone guide me how to open port on the 655 for asuzenus d/l?
hey guys, jus now i tried to use my Asus G1s to connect to my DIR-655 using jus 802.11n, it cant seems to be connect ?

Shinji_U
28-07-2007, 11:38 AM
hey guys, jus now i tried to use my Asus G1s to connect to my DIR-655 using jus 802.11n, it cant seems to be connect ?
Does your G1s comes with the Intel WiFi Link 4965AGN? Its optional, the standard config comes with 3945ABG.

chaicka
29-07-2007, 11:02 PM
Update the Intel driver to a newer version, preferably v11.1.1.x or later, and also, update the DIR-655 to at least firmware 1.03 to ensure better compatibility and stability between the combination. Firmware 1.02 or earlier has problem with Intel 3945ABG chipset.

converse2010
29-07-2007, 11:26 PM
Does your G1s comes with the Intel WiFi Link 4965AGN? Its optional, the standard config comes with 3945ABG.
yes, mine is 4965AGN... trying to update my 4965AGN's driver. cos my DiR-655 firmware is already at 1.03 :)

converse2010
29-07-2007, 11:40 PM
okay.. updated my 4965AGN to latest 11.1.1.11 but still cant connect to my DIR-655 when i set mode to 802.11n only ?

chaicka
29-07-2007, 11:44 PM
okay.. updated my 4965AGN to latest 11.1.1.11 but still cant connect to my DIR-655 when i set mode to 802.11n only ?
Hmmm, dun have a 4965AGN to try. But generally, DIR-655 v1.03 or v1.04 should work well with newer Intel chipsets (wif newer drivers)

converse2010
30-07-2007, 05:41 PM
dunno why also... it jus cannot connect to my DIR-655. and i dun have other Wireless N device to test..

Desmond_
04-08-2007, 03:18 AM
btw which shop is currently selling the cheapest? i saw fuwell selling at $188? :(

Shinji_U
04-08-2007, 08:48 AM
Just yesterday I went back to my friend's house and used his DIR-655, as he has wireless b devices around the max speed I can connect at is 144MBps.

Using v1.04, Starhub MaxOnline, throughout the connection no issues or whatever was found, didn't really do any tests since I'm there to play Xbox 360... Haha...

Shinji_U
04-08-2007, 08:49 AM
btw which shop is currently selling the cheapest? i saw fuwell selling at $188? :(
Woa... $188 is a very very good buy!! Below cost!! Quickly go buy and then re-sell, sure can earn alot one!

Desmond_
04-08-2007, 10:41 AM
Woa... $188 is a very very good buy!! Below cost!! Quickly go buy and then re-sell, sure can earn alot one!

issit? then i think i saw the wrong model :s22:

chaicka
04-08-2007, 12:05 PM
Just yesterday I went back to my friend's house and used his DIR-655, as he has wireless b devices around the max speed I can connect at is 144MBps.

Wow...144MBps...faster than any of the lease lines...even faster than 802.11n. :s13: or even faster than what MaxOnline Ultimate can offer (100mbps).

Using v1.04, Starhub MaxOnline, throughout the connection no issues or whatever was found, didn't really do any tests since I'm there to play Xbox 360... Haha...

Shinji_U
04-08-2007, 12:34 PM
Wow...144MBps...faster than any of the lease lines...even faster than 802.11n. :s13: or even faster than what MaxOnline Ultimate can offer (100mbps).
Whaa haaa, you caught me there.. typo.. its 144Mbps... whhaa haaa... :D

chaicka
04-08-2007, 01:02 PM
Whaa haaa, you caught me there.. typo.. its 144Mbps... whhaa haaa... :D
hmmm, 802.11b devices connect at 144mbps? Or u mean ur 4965ABN client is able to connect to DIR-655 at 144mbps?

Shinji_U
04-08-2007, 01:08 PM
hmmm, 802.11b devices connect at 144mbps? Or u mean ur 4965ABN client is able to connect to DIR-655 at 144mbps?
My 4965AGN la... wireless B where can connect at that kind of speed...

Cyberboy128
04-08-2007, 01:13 PM
Best result I have so far :s22:

MaxOnline Ultimate - connection via Wireless N

http://www.speedtest.net/result/164657825.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

MaxOnline Ultimate
Motorola SB6100i
Dlink DIR-655 (running mixed mode - G & N)
Dlink DWA-645

chaicka
04-08-2007, 03:53 PM
My 4965AGN la... wireless B where can connect at that kind of speed...
Hmmm, ok...so that 4965ABN chipset still not performing well. It shld be able to connect at a higher rate than 144mbps.

Shinji_U
04-08-2007, 04:49 PM
Hmmm, ok...so that 4965ABN chipset still not performing well. It shld be able to connect at a higher rate than 144mbps.
Its because my friend has wireless b devices connected... so the max speed for N is only at 144Mbps...

tech010101
09-08-2007, 12:48 AM
I don't like Dlink, adaptor always burn

jsmr86
10-08-2007, 03:46 AM
hmm.. do u think this router will cost much cheaper at the upcoming IT fair?? as opposed to buying it at sim lim now..

hangyong
10-08-2007, 08:02 AM
I don't like Dlink, adaptor always burn

seriously.... I use D-Link also... and non of the adaptors, including everything else I have at home, has never burnt... other than a fujitsu laptop adaptor...

more likely your home (or whichever location you used it) power supply not stable or ELCB not good...

masotime
10-08-2007, 08:47 AM
hmm.. do u think this router will cost much cheaper at the upcoming IT fair?? as opposed to buying it at sim lim now..

Mediamart is having a sale on the DIR-655 :) - $245, here's a link @ VR (http://forums.vr-zone.com/showthread.php?p=4067677#post4067677). Mediamart generally seems to have very good prices on the DIR-655....

EVO13
10-08-2007, 11:46 AM
Firmware 1.05 is out...
¤ Implimented Yahoo Wdiget Support.
¤ Added Website Blocking Feature.
¤ Added Wireless Broadcast Schedule.

chaicka
12-08-2007, 11:35 PM
Firmware 1.05 is out...
¤ Implimented Yahoo Wdiget Support.
¤ Added Website Blocking Feature.
¤ Added Wireless Broadcast Schedule.
Link to firmware v1.05:
http://www.dlink.com/products/support.asp?pid=530&sec=0#firmware

mwwk
13-08-2007, 04:17 PM
just wondering any of you guy tried accessing to starhub iview with this router? think only router which have the multicast filter that can be disabled can access the iview. just want to confirm with you guy about before i change my current 3com wireless router.

Cyberboy128
13-08-2007, 06:29 PM
just wondering any of you guy tried accessing to starhub iview with this router? think only router which have the multicast filter that can be disabled can access the iview. just want to confirm with you guy about before i change my current 3com wireless router.

iview works fine.

mONK_87
13-08-2007, 07:18 PM
Anyone has this router connected to linksys am300 adsl modem???

I hope this 2 combination doesnt give me problem like 2wire+ linksys

Success
18-09-2007, 06:42 PM
How much does the usb adapter for DIR-655 cost?

Success
19-09-2007, 12:52 AM
http://www.dlink.com.sg/products/category.asp?cid=1

Qns:

1. Need Vista? XP can?

2. Any requirement on the motherboard to use N wireless?

3. Using laptop, no ExpressCard. Which adapter to use, or is recommended?

Use Notebook Adapter or USB adapter?

I am thinking of using an external USB adapter. My rational is that using an external USB adapter cause lesser heat build up for the laptop.

So, DWA-142 RangeBooster N 650 USB Adapter?
http://www.dlink.com.sg/products/dlhome.asp?sec=0&cid=1&pid=499

cpuer
19-09-2007, 08:35 AM
http://www.dlink.com.sg/products/category.asp?cid=1

Qns:

1. Need Vista? XP can?

2. Any requirement on the motherboard to use N wireless?

3. Using laptop, no ExpressCard. Which adapter to use, or is recommended?

Use Notebook Adapter or USB adapter?

I am thinking of using an external USB adapter. My rational is that using an external USB adapter cause lesser heat build up for the laptop.

So, DWA-142 RangeBooster N 650 USB Adapter?
http://www.dlink.com.sg/products/dlhome.asp?sec=0&cid=1&pid=499
You can use DWA-142, but it is not matched with DIR655 as DIR655 is the extreme N series. Currently there's seems no eXtreme N usb adapter yet. Only has pci and pc card versions.

So getting DWA-643 is the best fit for your notebook.

http://www.dlink.com.sg/products/dlhome.asp?sec=0&cid=1&pid=603

Success
19-09-2007, 12:15 PM
thanks, wasted no usb adapter for extreme N.

And, their pci card is in expresscard format.

http://dlink.com.sg/products/dlhome.asp?sec=0&cid=1&pid=603

My laptop no expresscard slot.

I want to replace my Linksys G adapter, and use N router and adapters.

What adapter are you guys using for this DI6-655?

richneo
19-09-2007, 02:04 PM
DWA-142 with dir-655

its not a concern for ppl using xtreme N adaptor or rangebooster n 650 adaptor since both are using the same wireless chipset for the adaptors

Success
19-09-2007, 02:22 PM
Thanks.

Better to use the DWA-645 PCMCIA Adapter or DWA-142 USB Adapter?

http://dlink.com.sg/products/dlhome.asp?sec=0&cid=1&pid=492

I just called their technical helpline. One knowledgeable tech guy took my call.

I ask if using USB adapter is better because I thought USB adapter cause lesser heat build up to the laptop since it's external. But he say PCMCIA is better as USB need to draw power from motherboard.

PCMCIA better, true?

richneo
19-09-2007, 02:26 PM
Thanks.

Better to use the DWA-645 PCMCIA Adapter or DWA-142 USB Adapter?

http://dlink.com.sg/products/dlhome.asp?sec=0&cid=1&pid=492

I just called their technical helpline. One knowledgeable tech guy took my call.

I ask if using USB adapter is better because I thought USB adapter cause lesser heat build up to the laptop since it's external. But he say PCMCIA is better as USB need to draw power from motherboard.

PCMCIA better, true?
heh usb or pcmcia or even pci, still tape power from the computer :s34:

Success
19-09-2007, 02:32 PM
ya, that's what I think also.

He mentioned that PCMCIA is direct, and for some users, their pc power supply to the usb adapter not stable so these people encounter some problem.

Success
19-09-2007, 03:07 PM
http://www.amazon.com/Xtreme-Wireless-Cardbus-adapter-802-11N/dp/B000LO8Z48/ref=pd_bbs_2/102-4864800-7728151?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1190185429&sr=8-2

Weird, Amazon is selling this DWA-652 Xtreme N pccard adapter.

But local Dlink site don't have this model.

IDZetc
13-10-2007, 02:31 PM
Link to firmware v1.05:
anyone tried using 1.05?
for some reason, the router automatically terminates my PPoE session every few minutes whenever the amount of connections when d/l-ing using bit torrent is very large.
Reverted back 1.04 and the disconnection issue stops.

Quinz
22-10-2007, 09:55 AM
Does this router support SNMP?

holocast
22-10-2007, 10:25 AM
anyone tried using 1.05?
for some reason, the router automatically terminates my PPoE session every few minutes whenever the amount of connections when d/l-ing using bit torrent is very large.
Reverted back 1.04 and the disconnection issue stops.

is there no way to change the number of connections? :s11:

Quinz
23-10-2007, 09:04 AM
Can anyone enlighten me?
Thank you.

Does this router support SNMP?

chaicka
28-10-2007, 11:33 PM
Latest Firmware: v1.10 dated 25th Oct 2007

AttentioN
29-10-2007, 02:02 AM
Many have reported issues with v1.05 firmware and had reverted back to v1.03. I wonder if those issues were resolved in v1.10...

AttentioN
29-10-2007, 02:13 AM
I have a question on DIR655 QOS for http protocol.

Whenever i have HTTP downloads,eg downloading game demo at almost max speed, my web browsing which is also HTTP crawls to a halt.. How then should i set QOS for this kind of situation?

from dslreports.com/forum, the default for web browsing and email is at 129.

TIA. :)

chercm
29-10-2007, 02:36 PM
hope the upcoming pc show Dlink will have discount for this guy

DoAsInfinity
29-10-2007, 07:21 PM
hi guys i need some help, i can't seem to get gd speed with bt (utorrent)

http://i21.tinypic.com/qxjksx.jpg

i've done port forwarding, static ip for pc.
version 1.05
starhub 6k

chaicka
29-10-2007, 11:00 PM
Latest Firmware: v1.10 dated 25th Oct 2007

Juz upgraded to version 1.10...cannot tell what's the difference except the change in the Check Firmware UI.

liangtam
29-10-2007, 11:19 PM
hi guys i need some help, i can't seem to get gd speed with bt (utorrent)

http://i21.tinypic.com/qxjksx.jpg

i've done port forwarding, static ip for pc.
version 1.05
starhub 6k
What ish ur color indicator at the status bar at bottom of window? What ISP and plan?

DoAsInfinity
29-10-2007, 11:27 PM
What ish ur color indicator at the status bar at bottom of window? What ISP and plan?

green, DHT 244 nodes
MaxOnline Express

CyberMew
30-10-2007, 02:44 PM
eh just wondering ar, we buy here in sg, shouldnt we go to the sg website and get the firmware? cos it says it might spoilt the router if we using usa firmware to upgrade leh...

and also hor, if i buy from the us, still got lifetime warranty here? also can i change for a real N when it is public? how does it work? i thinking of buying this because got lifetime warranty and can change to a real wireless-N when it comes out... right?

also, it is draftN 2.0 right?

hangyong
30-10-2007, 02:48 PM
eh just wondering ar, we buy here in sg, shouldnt we go to the sg website and get the firmware? cos it says it might spoilt the router if we using usa firmware to upgrade leh...

and also hor, if i buy from the us, still got lifetime warranty here? also can i change for a real N when it is public? how does it work? i thinking of buying this because got lifetime warranty and can change to a real wireless-N when it comes out... right?

serial number range is different from country to country.... so they can recognise the location of purchase just by the serial number...

so its unlikely that the lifetime warranty will be honoured since its not bought in Singapore and backed by D-Link Singapore's lifetime warranty.

firmware wise, as long as the hardware version is the same, there should not be any problems where you download it from.

CyberMew
30-10-2007, 02:54 PM
thanks for the fast reply! then i think i just get from here and update from usa website the firmware.. $209 at 6th floor right.. going to get my father to buy it lol

AttentioN
30-10-2007, 03:40 PM
thanks for the fast reply! then i think i just get from here and update from usa website the firmware.. $209 at 6th floor right.. going to get my father to buy it lol
Price went up? not $199 any more?

Pokémon
30-10-2007, 04:47 PM
A no. of shops at SLS are selling at $209 by the way.

DoAsInfinity
30-10-2007, 04:54 PM
lv 6 still @ $199.. bought the last set on sat.

Pokémon
30-10-2007, 05:01 PM
lv 6 still @ $199.. bought the last set on sat.

Which shop is it exactly huh?

DoAsInfinity
30-10-2007, 05:25 PM
Media M@rt

Pokémon
30-10-2007, 05:31 PM
Media M@rt

Thanks for the info. ;)

hlyagami
30-10-2007, 05:33 PM
mpc selling $199 also.. but u must ask for 199 discount. they sure give u

AttentioN
30-10-2007, 07:26 PM
I've updated to v1.10. nothing special as yet. Maybe not yet discovered? :s22:

Pokémon
31-10-2007, 12:59 PM
mpc selling $199 also.. but u must ask for 199 discount. they sure give u

Actually I did go there yesterday during my hunt, asked for discount, but best they were willing to give was $206...

Ended up buying at Laser for $199, one and only piece I could find, but not sure if it's really the last one.

Anyway, Media Mart will restock next week, still at $199 according to the guy who served me.

Pokémon
31-10-2007, 01:01 PM
By the way, does anyone know where I could get the power adapter for the DIR-655, and how much would that be?

liangtam
31-10-2007, 01:14 PM
By the way, does anyone know where I could get the power adapter for the DIR-655, and how much would that be?
Get one from SLS/SLT lor? The voltage and current output from AC/DC transformer correct can liao, as well as the input head diammeter.

richneo
31-10-2007, 01:24 PM
where u stay?

i have a spare 12v power adaptor for dir-655

u wan collect from me?

Pokémon
31-10-2007, 02:02 PM
where u stay?

i have a spare 12v power adaptor for dir-655

u wan collect from me?

Really? How much would that be?

I stay near SLS.

richneo
31-10-2007, 02:15 PM
Really? How much would that be?

I stay near SLS.
that will cost a cup of kopi?

nah kidding

tomolo afternoon u free?

i might go sls or slt

Pokémon
31-10-2007, 04:33 PM
that will cost a cup of kopi?

nah kidding

tomolo afternoon u free?

i might go sls or slt

Yes, I'm free tomorrow afternoon.

I would hope you could still accept a small token sum though. :s12:

richneo
31-10-2007, 08:25 PM
Yes, I'm free tomorrow afternoon.

I would hope you could still accept a small token sum though. :s12:
bro can make it on friday instead?

i forgot i have classes tomolo and ends very late =(

saj282
02-11-2007, 01:19 AM
Hi Bros,

Can advise how many wireless connections does DIR-655 support?

Also, does it work with wireless networked printers?

Thanks!!!

Pokémon
03-11-2007, 12:12 AM
bro can make it on friday instead?

Thanks a lot Richard! :s12:

I was expecting only one power adapter from you, but it ended up that you gave me two, and they seem to be brand new wor.

richneo
03-11-2007, 09:37 AM
Thanks a lot Richard! :s12:

I was expecting only one power adapter from you, but it ended up that you gave me two, and they seem to be brand new wor.
oni 1 is new lar hehe the other one i used before but cos i ordered some routers direct from usa and the pin is different so i dun mind giving u it as spare lor ^.^

AttentioN
03-11-2007, 04:00 PM
Been using v1.10 for a while. I notice terrible WLAN performance. Terrible. dlink wireless page report transfer rate for each client to be abt 1Mbps to 5Mbps. signal is atrocious. Less then 10%. Is this isolated case or what? im going to revert back to 1.05. Been getting signal % of around 80 most of the time with 1.05.

danxiaogui86
03-11-2007, 05:51 PM
anyone interested in this router can let me know :)

AttentioN
03-11-2007, 06:32 PM
anyone interested in this router can let me know :)
What you mean? good price?

danxiaogui86
03-11-2007, 06:33 PM
What you mean? good price?

Nope, selling my brand new one :)

chaicka
04-11-2007, 09:39 PM
Been using v1.10 for a while. I notice terrible WLAN performance. Terrible. dlink wireless page report transfer rate for each client to be abt 1Mbps to 5Mbps. signal is atrocious. Less then 10%. Is this isolated case or what? im going to revert back to 1.05. Been getting signal % of around 80 most of the time with 1.05.

Strange...I dun get the same kind of behavior with v1.10 firmware. But I could be wrong since at most, I have 3 wireless client operating on this router concurrently. The rest of my wireless cam and other wireless devices operate on another router (diff channels though).

richneo
10-11-2007, 08:18 PM
http://img451.imageshack.us/img451/3160/buttej8.jpg (http://www.hardwaregeeks.com/articles.php?action=show&showarticle=549)

http://www.hardwaregeeks.com/articles.php?action=show&showarticle=549

13-11-2007, 02:01 AM
lol.. i'm having trouble with this router leh..

Pengsp
14-11-2007, 08:24 AM
Great product, great speed, great design, great strength, sorry, it is not very stable. After about 1 day, the connection is lost & have to turn off & on again, apart from stability, no other complaints.

hangyong
14-11-2007, 08:44 AM
Great product, great speed, great design, great strength, sorry, it is not very stable. After about 1 day, the connection is lost & have to turn off & on again, apart from stability, no other complaints.

which part of the connection is lost?

Internet? Wireless??

using it for more than 6mths... no issues at all.

Quinz
14-11-2007, 09:43 AM
Is is possible to monitor the individual bandwidth consumption of the devices (wired or wireless) that is connected to this router?

hangyong
14-11-2007, 10:37 AM
Is is possible to monitor the individual bandwidth consumption of the devices (wired or wireless) that is connected to this router?

not via the router's interface, IMA

richneo
14-11-2007, 11:20 AM
i have dir-655 running since day 1 its sold in singapore

other den me updating its firmware, it din even hung or rebooted or lost any connections yet

danxiaogui86
14-11-2007, 01:45 PM
hehe. sold off my 655. waiting for 4500. hope the it can be use with 2200bg.

14-11-2007, 03:30 PM
i got a big problem with this dir655... i cannot surf net while i climb bukit timah..

worse.. i cannot send my friends stuff.. irc/msn both also cannot..

richneo
14-11-2007, 03:41 PM
no such problems in my case as usua

remember NOT to clog ur upstream.

using mol premiun

another 1 of the many good reviews

http://www.futurelooks.com/d-link-dir-655-xtreme-n-gigabit-router-review/

14-11-2007, 03:48 PM
even if i turn off bt.. i cannot send anything over msn/irc..

richneo
14-11-2007, 03:48 PM
some other reviews on this router

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2704,2112780,00.asp

http://thecelebritycafe.com/guide/1437.html

richneo
14-11-2007, 03:49 PM
even if i turn off bt.. i cannot send anything over msn/irc..
den its obvious either u have a lemon set or a lemon modem with a lemon connection

14-11-2007, 03:51 PM
den its obvious either u have a lemon set or a lemon modem with a lemon connection
lol.. sorry.. but wad u mean by lemon? :s13:

richneo
14-11-2007, 03:57 PM
lol.. sorry.. but wad u mean by lemon? :s13:
hehe means sour experience lor

call up their tech support see if they can help you narrow ur problems to see if its ur computer thats having issues baz.

posting here i doubt can help you, in case that scaXX guy who works in another brand comes in and bad mouth again ehheeh

14-11-2007, 04:01 PM
hehe means sour experience lor

call up their tech support see if they can help you narrow ur problems to see if its ur computer thats having issues baz.

posting here i doubt can help you, in case that scaXX guy who works in another brand comes in and bad mouth again ehheeh
lol.. ok~

i'll try calling their tech support.. hehe.. i think the router's pretty cool even with all these happening.. lol..

Pengsp
14-11-2007, 09:08 PM
which part of the connection is lost?

Internet? Wireless??

using it for more than 6mths... no issues at all.

had internet lost cos when connected wired also lost. I tried the 1.10b firmware & even worst. now back to 1.10 and seem to be more stable than 1.10b but often last only about 1 day, never stay on for 24x7 like my previous few modems. Now combined with AM300 even worst. Even AM300 lost or 655 lost, but impressed with speed & strength of this Dir655.

If other people stable, then may be mine could be isolated case then. Will try to tweak more & see how it go.

chaicka
15-11-2007, 01:37 AM
had internet lost cos when connected wired also lost. I tried the 1.10b firmware & even worst. now back to 1.10 and seem to be more stable than 1.10b but often last only about 1 day, never stay on for 24x7 like my previous few modems. Now combined with AM300 even worst. Even AM300 lost or 655 lost, but impressed with speed & strength of this Dir655.

If other people stable, then may be mine could be isolated case then. Will try to tweak more & see how it go.

Strange. I am on firmware 1.10 (not aware of a 1.10b firmware, is it available on DLink site?) and it has been stable even with 2-3 concurrent systems (Intel 3945ABG, D-Link DWA-142) connected wirelessly. Furthermore, I am connecting back to office via VPN and it works great. No lost of connection nor performance degradation when other systems are connected.

However, my entire home network infrastructure may be very much different from yours. Basically, it's like this:

[internet (SingTel Magix PremiumSurf)] <---> Cisco 2621 with ADSL WIC <---> Cisco 2924XM <---> D-Link DIR-655 <---> multiple wireless connected systems (PCs & Laptops & IP Cam)

AttentioN
15-11-2007, 08:15 AM
Strange...I dun get the same kind of behavior with v1.10 firmware. But I could be wrong since at most, I have 3 wireless client operating on this router concurrently. The rest of my wireless cam and other wireless devices operate on another router (diff channels though).
Very strange..im back to 1.05 now and it works good. :)

Pengsp
15-11-2007, 09:45 PM
Chaika, I found 1.10b from forum, not sure whether it was DSLreport. It was for EU but once google I found the ftp link from SG site. It address some encapsulation issue with some ISP not following standard-nothing much, now back with 1.10. May be will back to 1.04 if situation not improve.

My set up was just a simple:

Singnet--->AM300----->Dir 655----->wired pc/ wireless laptop

Pokémon
19-11-2007, 12:08 PM
Hmm... My friend was saying that he will have disconnection problem after a while for both his notebooks on wireless. Once disconnected, the wireless will not connect back, and the Intel Profile indicates that profile is not available.

It's using firmware 1.10 which I setup and updated the router for him.

Looks like I'll have to update it to 1.05 for now, unless someone can confirm if 1.10b (or any newer) is stable.

Scuderia
19-11-2007, 01:56 PM
Hmm... My friend was saying that he will have disconnection problem after a while for both his notebooks on wireless. Once disconnected, the wireless will not connect back, and the Intel Profile indicates that profile is not available.

It's using firmware 1.10 which I setup and updated the router for him.

Looks like I'll have to update it to 1.05 for now, unless someone can confirm if 1.10b (or any newer) is stable.
This symptom has been reported and documented previously, especially with Intel Centrino notebooks on 3945ABG and 4965AGN wifi chipsets, pairing with a DIR-655.

The loss of connection for 3945ABG seems to be solved since FW1.05. For 4965AGN, you have to live with it since DIR-655 is out of spec with the draft 802.11n working group. The issue is documented in the following post.
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showpost.php?p=26328703&postcount=19

4965AGN on ProSet 11.5.0.0 offers better stability with the "Fat Channel Intolerant" option enabled, but at the expense of link bandwidth when operating in draft 802.11n environment.

Pokémon
19-11-2007, 02:50 PM
Thanks for the info, Scuderia.

My friend's notebooks are using 3945ABG. If base on what you mentioned about the firmware, 1.10 is more updated than 1.05, and should already not show up such problem? The wireless driver versions are 11.1.1.0 if I'm not wrong.

I shall try updating them to 11.5.0.0 and see how it goes. By the way, doing a search, I saw some discussions about the firmware 1.11EU, and some hardware revision being 'upgraded' to from A2 to A3 after updating with it. Not sure if I should give it a shot.

Pengsp
20-11-2007, 05:53 PM
update to 1.10eu does not change the hardware from A2 to A3 & I did not see any improvement. Now off my DIR-655 for a week already.

bangky
29-11-2007, 11:36 PM
hi all, just to check.

are the only wifi compatibility problems for this with the intel 4965AGN chipset? are there any compatibility problems with the wifi chips in nokia phones?

thanks in advance.

benyap90
02-12-2007, 12:40 AM
hey..i seems unalbe to connect to internet using DOR-655 router, i am using the motorola SB6100I cable modem. I was also unable to connect to the internet using a SMC router...who knows wat is the problem? please can anyone who noes tell me..THANKS

shadowandy
02-12-2007, 12:50 AM
hey..i seems unalbe to connect to internet using DOR-655 router, i am using the motorola SB6100I cable modem. I was also unable to connect to the internet using a SMC router...who knows wat is the problem? please can anyone who noes tell me..THANKS

1) Power off both the modem and the DIR-655.
2) Power on both of them.

shadowandy
02-12-2007, 12:52 AM
hi all, just to check.

are the only wifi compatibility problems for this with the intel 4965AGN chipset? are there any compatibility problems with the wifi chips in nokia phones?

thanks in advance.

I am using my N80 with DIR-655. No problem with N800 with DIR-655 too. Hope it helps.

benyap90
02-12-2007, 03:41 AM
i can connect to my DIR-655 with wi-fi protection...sianz...when i disable it , only then i can connect 2 e web.

bangky
02-12-2007, 07:20 AM
I am using my N80 with DIR-655. No problem with N800 with DIR-655 too. Hope it helps.

that's great. thanks for update.

btw, noticed that SITEX is selling HW rev. A3, any problems with that so far?

I hope it's not like another WRT54Gv5 (ppl here should know what that means) :(

richneo
02-12-2007, 09:20 AM
that's great. thanks for update.

btw, noticed that SITEX is selling HW rev. A3, any problems with that so far?

I hope it's not like another WRT54Gv5 (ppl here should know what that means) :(
hehehe nope

no matter wat revision, its still a ubicom :s34:

CkJie05
02-12-2007, 12:22 PM
I got a question, how do i know that my Dir 655 and dwa 140 is working under draft n ?

I checked my adaptor adhoc wireless mode and it doesn't have the draft n option, only wireless-b and mixed b/g.

bangky
02-12-2007, 01:20 PM
hehehe nope

no matter wat revision, its still a ubicom :s34:

well. that's good to hear. :look:

rinni
03-12-2007, 09:48 AM
my bad, my bad =:p

Quinz
06-12-2007, 08:23 AM
Just bought the DIR-655 from Sitex. The hardware version is A3 now, and the firmware is 1.11WW.

Yesterday i notice something strange, i was letting my comp downloading thru p2p for awhile (~1 hr). Just as i start surfing (started firefox) i notice the download/upload suddenly drop to zero and after the first few webpage firefox also couldn't connect to any webpage. I wonder if there is any diagnostic page (like 2wire) that i can see if the router just did a reboot by itself?

bangky
06-12-2007, 08:29 AM
Just bought the DIR-655 from Sitex. The hardware version is A3 now, and the firmware is 1.11WW.

Yesterday i notice something strange, i was letting my comp downloading thru p2p for awhile (~1 hr). Just as i start surfing (started firefox) i notice the download/upload suddenly drop to zero and after the first few webpage firefox also couldn't connect to any webpage. I wonder if there is any diagnostic page (like 2wire) that i can see if the router just did a reboot by itself?

check the status page (should be the first page you see after you log in)
look for the connection uptime.

Quinz
06-12-2007, 09:24 AM
Thanks for the info. Any idea why the sudden reboot of the router?

richneo
06-12-2007, 09:25 AM
Thanks for the info. Any idea why the sudden reboot of the router?
dun jump into conclusion first

see the log to see wats the issue first :s34:

aptget
06-12-2007, 10:41 AM
stoopid question, does the DI655 cover 802.11abg ?

liangtam
06-12-2007, 11:32 AM
No, the DIR655 does not support 5Ghz band, so no a. However a abg client will be able connect in

aptget
06-12-2007, 03:42 PM
Liangtam, not sure what you mean by 5Ghz band not supported but a abg client is able to connect to to it...

just got my tabletPC and before I buy either DI635 or DI655, just want to make sure
my laptop can be used with it.

chaicka
06-12-2007, 03:45 PM
Liangtam, not sure what you mean by 5Ghz band not supported but a abg client is able to connect to to it...

just got my tabletPC and before I buy either DI635 or DI655, just want to make sure
my laptop can be used with it.

What Liangtam meant is that DIR-655 is supports only 2.4GHz, thus supports 802.11bgn but does not support 802.11a.

bangky
06-12-2007, 05:18 PM

what wireless encryption (if any) are you using?

Quinz
07-12-2007, 08:40 AM
dun jump into conclusion first

see the log to see wats the issue first :s34:

Ok. It happened again last night, i was doing p2p around 800+kBps and suddenly it drop to near zero and got back up but this time only hover around 100 kBps. I couldn't confirm for sure from the status page that it had reboot cause wasn't around when it happen, but it sure looks like it. So most logical explanation would be either my p2p setting too aggressive or the isp is throttling.

BTW, my DIR-655 is connected to Speedtouch 536v6 modem (Bridge mode). Can i still access the setup for the modem?

bangky
07-12-2007, 11:06 AM
please update what wireless encryption you are using.

Scuderia
07-12-2007, 11:14 AM
Ok. It happened again last night, i was doing p2p around 800+kBps and suddenly it drop to near zero and got back up but this time only hover around 100 kBps. I couldn't confirm for sure from the status page that it had reboot cause wasn't around when it happen, but it sure looks like it. So most logical explanation would be either my p2p setting too aggressive or the isp is throttling.

BTW, my DIR-655 is connected to Speedtouch 536v6 modem (Bridge mode). Can i still access the setup for the modem?
Are you using a wireless connection with the DIR-655? It could be that your wireless connection has temporarily lost connection to the DIR-655. Check the router log for detail. I had experienced that with both Intel 3945ABG and Intel 4965AGN based notebooks.

Quinz
07-12-2007, 12:48 PM
Ah sorry, forgot to say, it is wired connection, not wireless.
Anyone know how to access the speedtouch 536v6 setup page thru dir-655?

liangtam
07-12-2007, 06:57 PM
Ah sorry, forgot to say, it is wired connection, not wireless.
Anyone know how to access the speedtouch 536v6 setup page thru dir-655?

Possible when in non/half-bridge mode ONLY.

xfinite
08-12-2007, 03:29 PM
Recently after upgrade of firmware to 1.10, the ping I get from speedtest.net is avg around 25-27ms

But previously on firmware 1.04 I am getting ping of 12-15ms.

Has this gotta do with the firmware upgrade or has Starhub connection to speedtest.net (Singapore server) changed?

Thanks in advance.

lordie
10-12-2007, 12:39 PM
i am a dir 655 an dlink n00b

usually using linkesys stuff. qns how do i set-up QoS like my prev linksys.

i set up p2p, torrent to bulk and than run web, mail and other stuff as top priority how do i get and do up the set-up for that on the dir 655? any idea? suggestions?

thanks in advance ;p

Nicky198u
10-12-2007, 02:27 PM
Should i use cat5 or cat5e cable to connect the router to my ethernet port?

any difference?

lordie
10-12-2007, 05:06 PM
cat5e is better

Nicky198u
10-12-2007, 05:34 PM
cat5e is better

but my ethernet card only supports 10/100, cat5e wont make a difference unless i change my card right?

EVO13
12-12-2007, 10:07 AM
When my BT is on the whole network snail like hell...
How can i tweak my 655 setting on firmware 1.10.

liangtam
12-12-2007, 11:45 AM
but my ethernet card only supports 10/100, cat5e wont make a difference unless i change my card right?

Yes
*10 char*

Nicky198u
12-12-2007, 12:22 PM
Yes
*10 char*

alright, maybe changing my mobo next week to Gigabyte GA-P31-DS3L Intel P31 LGA775, anyone got lobang at sls?