View Full Version : D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Router - Product Info
Pages :
[
3]
ecperez
31-12-2007, 08:21 PM
Just bought this DLink Router I've upgraded the firmware to 1.11 (2007/12/05) A2, so far its okay and I notice it is very fast compare to my old Linksys WRT54G.
takuma
31-12-2007, 09:17 PM
that comparison is almost like comparing a Lamborghini to a Toyota Altis. LOL. :P
Asakura
01-02-2008, 09:22 AM
Yes
*10 char*
meaning? sorry i don't quite get it.
i need to get a 10/100/1000 card?
cpuer
01-02-2008, 09:26 AM
meaning? sorry i don't quite get it.
i need to get a 10/100/1000 card?
he was confirming what you asked. meaning cat5e should pair up with a matching Gigabit NIC.
Asakura
02-02-2008, 11:24 AM
oops i actually meant to ask, which gigabit nic is recommended to go with the router..
vernon_wmk
20-02-2008, 08:57 AM
Anybody using hardware revision A3 and firmware 1.11, and encountered problems with Securespot?
Story: Bought the DIR655 yest (A3, 1.10WW) and tested that it's fine, can access admin webpage, can access internet. Itchy fingers downloaded the 1.11 firmware and flashed the router.
After flashing (and reboot), managed to access the admin page. However when I try to access internet pages, the browsers (IE and firefox) keep popping up with a Securespot page, asking me to register and manage the devices, stating that it's a trial.
Tried registering, and then disabling all the access controls that they have defined. No-go. Still cannot access internet, browser will immediately direct to the securespot page no matter what URL I enter.
Out of desperation, hit the reset button on the router. After reboot, finally I can access the internet through the browsers without the securespot thingy.
Wondering if anybody hit similar issues with hardware A3 and 1.11 firmware.
Archetype
20-02-2008, 09:14 AM
Anybody using hardware revision A3 and firmware 1.11, and encountered problems with Securespot?
Story: Bought the DIR655 yest (A3, 1.10WW) and tested that it's fine, can access admin webpage, can access internet. Itchy fingers downloaded the 1.11 firmware and flashed the router.
After flashing (and reboot), managed to access the admin page. However when I try to access internet pages, the browsers (IE and firefox) keep popping up with a Securespot page, asking me to register and manage the devices, stating that it's a trial.
Tried registering, and then disabling all the access controls that they have defined. No-go. Still cannot access internet, browser will immediately direct to the securespot page no matter what URL I enter.
Out of desperation, hit the reset button on the router. After reboot, finally I can access the internet through the browsers without the securespot thingy.
May i know how much is this wireless router, i wanted to replace my current 2wire adsl modem/router which is crap
cpuer
20-02-2008, 09:17 AM
May i know how much is this wireless router, i wanted to replace my current 2wire adsl modem/router which is crap
around $199
Archetype
20-02-2008, 09:29 AM
around $199
Thanks. I would like to check if this is possible. Am i able to configure my 2wire 2700HG-D ads modem/router to bridge mode and then hook it to DIR655 to do routing and connecting pc/laptop wirelessly. Anyone know how is the signal strength of this wireless router? As the router will be in the bedroom, and i have 1 pc in the bomb shelter(with the doors open) and 1 pc in the living room.
cpuer
20-02-2008, 12:02 PM
Thanks. I would like to check if this is possible. Am i able to configure my 2wire 2700HG-D ads modem/router to bridge mode and then hook it to DIR655 to do routing and connecting pc/laptop wirelessly. Anyone know how is the signal strength of this wireless router? As the router will be in the bedroom, and i have 1 pc in the bomb shelter(with the doors open) and 1 pc in the living room.
Search this forum on setting the 2wire to bridge mode.
the DIR655 is one of the best around, but every house is built differently and your walls and type of the walls will affect signal quite significantly.
But if currently your 2wire can reach all your working area in the house, I dont think DIR655 will do less.
Asakura
20-02-2008, 12:08 PM
around $199
simlim lvl5, didnt take note of the shopname. but ya. that was the price i saw ytd.
Archetype
20-02-2008, 02:09 PM
simlim lvl5, didnt take note of the shopname. but ya. that was the price i saw ytd.
Thanks a lot. I will probably drop by on sunday to take a look. I am looking forward to change it. The 2wire is really getting on my nerves with its frequent dc. :s22:
cpuer
20-02-2008, 03:10 PM
Thanks a lot. I will probably drop by on sunday to take a look. I am looking forward to change it. The 2wire is really getting on my nerves with its frequent dc. :s22:
have you gone through the routine of troubleshooting it? Flashing it to the latest firmware? making sure u are using the least crowded channel? and also check on your desktop/notebook adapter?
Line check by Singtel? Microfilters? To all you know, it may not even a 2wire problem, so better confirm before buying any new equipment.
Archetype
20-02-2008, 03:35 PM
have you gone through the routine of troubleshooting it? Flashing it to the latest firmware? making sure u are using the least crowded channel? and also check on your desktop/notebook adapter?
Line check by Singtel? Microfilters? To all you know, it may not even a 2wire problem, so better confirm before buying any new equipment.
Its running on the latest firmware as of now and the connectivity issue is the wireless connection between the different computers to the router, not the internet connection. I have yet to try changing the channel though, i would change it tonight and see if the situation improves. I just hope that its the Windows wireless zero configuration that is causing the problem. 1 small question, how do i determine if the channel that i am on is crowded? i'm quite new to router and stuff.
cpuer
20-02-2008, 04:01 PM
Its running on the latest firmware as of now and the connectivity issue is the wireless connection between the different computers to the router, not the internet connection. I have yet to try changing the channel though, i would change it tonight and see if the situation improves. I just hope that its the Windows wireless zero configuration that is causing the problem. 1 small question, how do i determine if the channel that i am on is crowded? i'm quite new to router and stuff.
Use only 1,6 or 11. Most routers are defaulted to ch 6, so ch 6 is usually the most crowded.
Use netstumbler to check.
http://www.netstumbler.com/downloads/
have you updated the drivers of the individual pc/nb wireless adapter too? Also make sure that the usb power saving mode is off(if you use an usb adapter)
ycon1028
20-02-2008, 04:21 PM
i think i saw this router at the creative shop at plaza singapura lvl. 4. they are selling it for s$175 and the dgl-4300 gaming router for s$180(?)..
Archetype
20-02-2008, 05:35 PM
i think i saw this router at the creative shop at plaza singapura lvl. 4. they are selling it for s$175 and the dgl-4300 gaming router for s$180(?)..
i thought the DIR-655 should be more expensive than the gaming router. haha not very sure
Asakura
21-02-2008, 12:28 PM
that's odd. hw come the wireless version is cheaper.
Archetype
21-02-2008, 04:43 PM
I am going to PS later. Guess i will just go check it out. Today went to challenger it is 199 without any member discount:eek:. It would be nice its really selling @ 175.
ideatalk
21-02-2008, 08:22 PM
u mean creative shop sell DLink router? Cant find at their website leh
leinad
21-02-2008, 08:34 PM
Challenger also sells it for $199, so if you want to pay by credit card, that's an option (they don't charge extra.)
/Dan
Asakura
21-02-2008, 08:56 PM
its not creative shop. not challenger.
yes its at PS.
selling at 175.
24bucks cheaper then sim lim.
shop is pacific city.
ycon1028
21-02-2008, 09:24 PM
its not creative shop. not challenger.
yes its at PS.
selling at 175.
24bucks cheaper then sim lim.
shop is pacific city.
:D oh ya!! thats it..the shop that sell lots of macs and accesories for ipod..
glacieraze
21-02-2008, 09:43 PM
i think the dir655 look better with longer and black antenna :s12:
http://www.imghype.com/data/363d96ff48dir655.jpg :P... and i added the colourfeet(black) one below so as to lift it up .. dun wan place it vertical cuz not nice :x... and the stand is being used by my linksys am300 :s22:
richneo
21-02-2008, 10:38 PM
:D oh ya!! thats it..the shop that sell lots of macs and accesories for ipod..
oic pacific city is good
oldturtle
22-02-2008, 12:14 AM
i'm also looking to change to this router, after my linksys WRT54G v7 keeps d/c on me, both wired n wireless on maxonline, but no d/c when direct to modem!
anywaes, wanna ask: can it b used with my linksys WUSB54G wireless adapters? shouldn't have problems rite..
Asakura
22-02-2008, 07:34 AM
how much would cat5e cables cost?
and a 10/100/1000 ethernet card..
richneo
22-02-2008, 07:41 AM
how much would cat5e cables cost?
and a 10/100/1000 ethernet card..
how long of a cat5e cable u nid?
a gigabit lan card cost around 30ish
CyberMew
22-02-2008, 10:42 AM
i thought it cost 165 or 169 sometime ago? btw last day to buy this router is 29feb...
i wanted to get this some time ago cos router i tot it died but not, so nv get. now left 7 days le... need get one within next week asap
so cheapest now in sls where?
Asakura
22-02-2008, 11:41 AM
y last day to buy is 29feb
read back page 35 for ur qns.
spyder79
22-02-2008, 11:50 AM
later after work.. i'm going to PS to see
leinad
22-02-2008, 12:34 PM
y last day to buy is 29feb
read back page 35 for ur qns.
Think this should answer it. :)
http://img.skitch.com/20080222-xjssw9i1kfphewcjw94i6165bk.jpg
/Dan
CyberMew
22-02-2008, 12:49 PM
199 ar... seems like it rose back... crap... any other shop at simlimsquare selling at cheaper price like 179?
and the link i went to see is http://dlink.com.sg/support/warranty.asp. you can also see the message at product registration.
ac3knight
22-02-2008, 12:49 PM
most new motherboards nowadays have built-in gigabit lan, and cat 5e cables are pretty standard too
chrisirhc
22-02-2008, 02:23 PM
Just curious, anyone using a Mac with this router? Just need to check before I go ahead and spend on it. :)
CyberMew
22-02-2008, 02:39 PM
hey, next thurs/fri (28feb and 29feb) got another it fair right... hopefully this time cheaper or with freebies, then can get it by then. unless sls already got cheaper price.
ycon1028
22-02-2008, 02:48 PM
199 ar... seems like it rose back... crap... any other shop at simlimsquare selling at cheaper price like 179?
and the link i went to see is http://dlink.com.sg/support/warranty.asp. you can also see the message at product registration.
bro, flip to page 35 and read....:s22:
hey, next thurs/fri (28feb and 29feb) got another it fair right... hopefully this time cheaper or with freebies, then can get it by then. unless sls already got cheaper price.
wrong bro... the next IT fair will be at march 6 - 9 at suntec city .. and again go back to page 35.. :D
CyberMew
22-02-2008, 04:57 PM
seems like i might be making a trip down to the shop at lvl 5 plazasing if there is no other place that sells it at less than $175 Wobble
all sorts of payment methods allowed at fixed 175 yea?
saragota
22-02-2008, 07:53 PM
Does the DIR-655 support 3rd party firmware like those DD-WRT,
cpuer
22-02-2008, 07:58 PM
Does the DIR-655 support 3rd party firmware like those DD-WRT,
No. Checkout this list for DD-WRT supportable routers:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices
saragota
22-02-2008, 08:54 PM
No. Checkout this list for DD-WRT supportable list:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices
Sigh, Targeting this gigabit router but no 3rd party firmware support.
richneo
22-02-2008, 09:15 PM
this router is the best
you dun nid to do anything to it
siegeholler
22-02-2008, 09:24 PM
yes i can vouch for it. been using it since july last yr. rocks! haha bt, surfing, gaming all great
liangtam
22-02-2008, 10:17 PM
3rd party f/w is not always better leh.
Sometimes theres even more bugs that you would have thought.
spyder79
22-02-2008, 11:47 PM
pacific city out of stock.. coming in next week ....
richneo
22-02-2008, 11:53 PM
lol they must be wondering how come suddenly ppl flock to their stores to buy dir-655 ahahah
Asakura
23-02-2008, 12:01 AM
seems like i might be making a trip down to the shop at lvl 5 plazasing if there is no other place that sells it at less than $175 Wobble
all sorts of payment methods allowed at fixed 175 yea?
i bought with my citibank card ytd at pacific city plaza sing.
no extra charges.
try their other outlet at marina square and IMM
leinad
23-02-2008, 12:06 AM
Just curious, anyone using a Mac with this router? Just need to check before I go ahead and spend on it. :)
I am. :)
No issues with it. My MBP is connected to it via 802.11n. (There were problems with a DIR-635 from reports.)
/Dan
spyder79
23-02-2008, 12:07 AM
i bought with my citibank card ytd at pacific city plaza sing.
no extra charges.
try their other outlet at marina square and IMM
i already ask their staff to call n check on the spot.. all 3 branch no stock.. next week then have...
CyberMew
23-02-2008, 01:27 AM
wah you save us a trip down... thank you so much... hopefullly next week still got stock.. where you get the shop information anyway?
Archetype
23-02-2008, 11:37 AM
i already ask their staff to call n check on the spot.. all 3 branch no stock.. next week then have...
I guess Asakura bought the last set hahahaha. i went to the shop @ 7 on thur, i was told they just sold their last set. Spyder, could you post in here once the stock is here? i just manage to set my 2wire to bridge mode hehehe its time to get the router.
Asakura
23-02-2008, 11:46 AM
oops, haha..
but wow. i didnt expect a place like PS to be selling something 20odd cheaper then sls
Asakura
23-02-2008, 12:32 PM
how long of a cat5e cable u nid?
a gigabit lan card cost around 30ish
the ones provided are usually abt 1m and are not cat5e rite? den i guess i need 1m x2
liangtam
23-02-2008, 12:53 PM
the ones provided are usually abt 1m and are not cat5e rite? den i guess i need 1m x2
It is cat5e
richneo
23-02-2008, 01:05 PM
the cables are around 1.5m
u nid 2?
u wan pm me ur address? i think i can mail u if i can find some spare in my store room
or u can come collect from me at seng kang in evening but i wun go home so early and the money u pay for transport can buy u the cables outside already
Asakura
23-02-2008, 01:28 PM
sorry kinda noob.
cuz when i look at the box,
its says cat 5 ethernet cable, so tis means cat5e?
i'll need 1 then if tats the case.
as for the adapter, its best to buy D-Link DGE-530T for compatibility issues or anyone will do??
thanks richneo! u the best man!
liangtam thks for the helpful info
saragota
23-02-2008, 07:16 PM
yes i can vouch for it. been using it since july last yr. rocks! haha bt, surfing, gaming all great
Confirm this is really good? Will it be overload if BT and web browsing is used. Where is the best price I can get?
I using Linksys WRT54G fw: HyperWRT 2.1b1 +tofu13.
richneo
23-02-2008, 07:53 PM
Confirm this is really good? Will it be overload if BT and web browsing is used. Where is the best price I can get?
c'mon dir-655 is the best router. wats BT to 655? :D
liangtam
23-02-2008, 08:07 PM
told u liao leh, 3rd party f/w ish not eberything...
saragota
23-02-2008, 08:20 PM
Aiya, at least give some examples. Last year just upgraded my NIC to Dlink DGE-530T, Dlink DGS-1008 Gigabit, only waiting for my router to be changed.
jaloon
23-02-2008, 08:37 PM
Frankly speaking third-party firmware will ensure updates are available. Right now it appears that firmware development for this router is dead, and for it being a high-end product this doesnt really feel good. To be fair this is also true for many other "closed" routers. (FYI I also use this router)
Firmware wise I believe DDWRT has some things that I like (ie no reboots while saving settings, uPnP table, easier to configure basic settings). This router also might have issues with downstream saturation affecting web browsing which I didnt have previously with DDWRT.
liangtam
23-02-2008, 09:00 PM
Frankly speaking third-party firmware will ensure updates are available. Right now it appears that firmware development for this router is dead, and for it being a high-end product this doesnt really feel good. To be fair this is also true for many other "closed" routers. (FYI I also use this router)
Firmware wise I believe DDWRT has some things that I like (ie no reboots while saving settings, uPnP table, easier to configure basic settings). This router also might have issues with downstream saturation affecting web browsing which I didnt have previously with DDWRT.
Don't understang what you're trying to bring across leh. As much as you'd like to say that theres updates from 3rd party writers, have u also came to realised that 3rd party f/w are simply 'broken' as it was even if u update it 3 times, 5 etc and so on??
Closed routers cannot be generalised simply because it's "closed" leh. No doubt some cheaper models have poor support, esp from smaller players. Some of the models are actually not buggy at all in the sense that f/w updates are not required unless there is a need.
(FYI I also use this router)
This router also might have issues with downstream saturation affecting web browsing which I didnt have previously with DDWRT.
Shot in the foot?
There's no 3rd party f/w for a well coded high performance product like DIR655.
Unless you're talking about a diff model???
jaloon
23-02-2008, 09:13 PM
Don't understang what you're trying to bring across leh. As much as you'd like to say that theres updates from 3rd party writers, have u also came to realised that 3rd party f/w are simply 'broken' as it was even if u update it 3 times, 5 etc and so on??
Closed routers cannot be generalised simply because it's "closed" leh. No doubt some cheaper models have poor support, esp from smaller players. Some of the models are actually not buggy at all in the sense that f/w updates are not required unless there is a need.I agree with you only if the router is meant for "basic usage". For more advance features (ie DynDNS, VPN endpoint), some routers are simply not well coded well enough for such uses. To say that flashing it 3+ time with 3rd party firmware means its broken is simply foolish. As with most third-party firmwares, releases are stable and beta / alpha releases are when you will get new features and also potentially bugs. However, it is also in this case that bugfixes can be achieved quicker as compared to vendor-built firmwares. Case in point is the reboots required when saving settings with the DIR655, this type of reboot should not even be present in the high-end routers (ala the patched firmwre is even worse than the earlier firmware, and there appears to be no fix / new firmwares anytime soon).
Shot in the foot?
There's no 3rd party f/w for a well coded high performance product like DIR655.
Unless you're talking about a diff model???
Not sure what you are talking about, but I am talking about my experience with the DIR655. This part is not related to the third-party firmware, but the problems with the current firmware of the DIR655.
cpuer
23-02-2008, 09:47 PM
IMHO, manufacturers first and foremost must provide distinctions to their products through hw and fw. They need to do it to differentiate their products from the competitors and also their own products range. They could be building one generic pca and have them differentiated with fw. Or leverage as much components as possible and using fw to provide the targeted feature sets. This is the easiest way for them to have products differentiations. So for router A that is destined to be their high end router, they will turn on all the features, whereas product B being a mid range, they will hide away some features.
3rd party fw is unshackled(maybe exclude DD-WRT) in a sense that they don't have a marketing dept telling them what to turn on what what not to turn on. They just give you what they can possibly do on a router that they work on. It is true that 3rd party is always in WIP, the developers is always exploring what they can do to their codes. Sometimes what they do works, sometimes don't, if it's broken, usually it is quickly corrected. 3rd part fw if is in GPL, the source codes are inspected by many like minded developers or expert users. This i feel is a virtuous cycle.
It's something like M$ and Linux really. One is a closed sourced all in house development model, another is a free for all Linux wild child open sourced development. Both have their strengths and weaknesses and both have a place in the market place. I last heard Windows is still dominating the desktop OS market, but linux has carved out its niche of servers.
Just my own observation.:)
liangtam
23-02-2008, 09:59 PM
I agree with you only if the router is meant for "basic usage".
I don't agree at all... DIR655 can handle more than, in ur terms, "basic usage". In fact, there is no qualm about it being better than the Linksys WRT54GL with any fanciful firmware.
It is as good as saying a p1 PC installed from the closed source Windows OS switched to Linux can perform faster by zillions. NOT possible! In fact, h/w limitation is still the same.
For more advance features (ie DynDNS, VPN endpoint), some routers are simply not well coded well enough for such uses.
Contrary to ur claims, most router supports DDNS nowadays, maybe with exception to the 2Wire series where it was disabled.
To say that flashing it 3+ time with 3rd party firmware means its broken is simply foolish. As with most third-party firmwares, releases are stable and beta / alpha releases are when you will get new features and also potentially bugs. However, it is also in this case that bugfixes can be achieved quicker as compared to vendor-built firmwares.
The fact does not change, even if it is a stable release does not have to mean it is not 'broken' in some ways. "Ensuring updates available(from time to time)" as per claimed by you is one thing, more patches that has little change, even in 3rd party f/w is another.
In fact, I have even encountered a PPPoE bug with a specific 3rd party f/w provider where it was being acknowledged but took nearly 2 mth before an update was available(and not announced), talk about it being 'fast'. Geez.
In some way, it is not as fast as how a brand company writers can dish out from time to time either.
Case in point is the reboots required when saving settings with the DIR655, this type of reboot should not even be present in the high-end routers (ala the patched firmwre is even worse than the earlier firmware, and there appears to be no fix / new firmwares anytime soon).
This I agree with you very much, It would be good for all. AFAIK, change of port forwarding setting etc in default f/w is not required for reboot :)
Not sure what you are talking about, but I am talking about my experience with the DIR655. This part is not related to the third-party firmware, but the problems with the current firmware of the DIR655.
Ok, misinterpretation. So lemme get it right. You're saying that web browsing was affected when downstream(you meant upstream instead?) was saturated as compared to a differrent model running 3rd party.
Sound like placebo effect instead??
BTW, have you done any concise test to prove the same amt of b/w is applied to each unit resulting in web browsing issue?
If not, how do you base your claim?
Selective report by saying, 50KB downstream does not affect a dd-wrt running unit while a 1MB/s downstream does to a brand name, withholding the b/w load?
liangtam
23-02-2008, 10:09 PM
IMHO, manufacturers first and foremost must provide distinctions to their products through hw and fw. They need to do it to differentiate their products from the competitors and also their own products range. They could be building one generic pca and have them differentiated with fw. Or leverage as much components as possible and using fw to provide the targeted feature sets. This is the easiest way for them to have products differentiations. So for router A that is destined to be their high end router, they will turn on all the features, whereas product B being a mid range, they will hide away some features.
You meant hardware load performance/capacity instead?
Its like pay fewer buck for a non 3G phone, lots for one.
You cant write something where a non 3G phone can have video call where the components does not allow so. Same as routers.
3rd party fw is unshackled(maybe exclude DD-WRT) in a sense that they don't have a marketing dept telling them what to turn on what what not to turn on. They just give you what they can possibly do on a router that they work on. It is true that 3rd party is always in WIP, the developers is always exploring what they can do to their codes. Sometimes what they do works, sometimes don't, if it's broken, usually it is quickly corrected. 3rd part fw if is in GPL, the source codes are inspected by many like minded developers or expert users. This i feel is a virtuous cycle.
There are quite fewer writers/developers for routers f/w than software on the x86 platform leh. Part of the code can be forked, but ultimately, more efforts are still needed, which is not the case yet. So, anyone wan help develop OpenWRT further instead?
It's something like M$ and Linux really. One is a closed sourced all in house development model, another is a free for all Linux wild child open sourced development. Both have their strengths and weaknesses and both have a place in the market place. I last heard Windows is still dominating the desktop OS market, but linux has carved out its niche of servers.
Needs more exposure by ppl :D
jaloon
23-02-2008, 10:39 PM
I don't agree at all... DIR655 can handle more than, in ur terms, "basic usage". In fact, there is no qualm about it being better than the Linksys WRT54GL with any fanciful firmware.
It is as good as saying a p1 PC installed from the closed source Windows OS switched to Linux can perform faster by zillions. NOT possible! In fact, h/w limitation is still the same.Faster yes, but not better when it comes to features like USB NAS, VPN stuff.
Back to the point. Firmware development for this model is shaky and appears to have stalled despite its high-end status.
Ok, misinterpretation. So lemme get it right. You're saying that web browsing was affected when downstream(you meant upstream instead?) was saturated as compared to a differrent model running 3rd party.
Sound like placebo effect instead??
BTW, have you done any concise test to prove the same amt of b/w is applied to each unit resulting in web browsing issue?
If not, how do you base your claim?
Selective report by saying, 50KB downstream does not affect a dd-wrt running unit while a 1MB/s downstream does to a brand name, withholding the b/w load?
No former testing, but with the bandwidth caps from DDWRT, surfing is made better as opposed to the DIR655 without the ability to cap downstream speeds. This is from past experiences with the DDWRT router, and is not likely to be placebo effect.
It is true that slowing down the download of data will slow the acknowledgments of that data in a TCP/IP connection, and will therefore slow down (eventually) the transmission of data from the remote. However, this is not a function of QoS. This is a function of TCP/IP. And it will not solve contentions between VoIP and other data, since VoIP data still doesn't get priority. You CAN help this out by limiting your bandwidth to downloading applications if theiy support it, but this is throttling and not setting priorities.
richneo
23-02-2008, 10:49 PM
http://www.dlink.com/products/support.asp?pid=530&sec=0#firmware
they seem to be updating their firmware frequent to me...
jaloon
23-02-2008, 11:07 PM
they seem to be updating their firmware frequent to me...
However, annoying bugs are still not fixed with the past few releases? I would call them maintenance releases though, not development releases. They can do better with Statistics, add VPN features, add further QoS options, uPnP web interfaces, USB support for stuff, fix stuff.
richneo
23-02-2008, 11:13 PM
However, annoying bugs are still not fixed with the past few releases? I would call them maintenance releases though, not development releases. They can do better with Statistics, add VPN features, add further QoS options, uPnP web interfaces, USB support for stuff, fix stuff.
these dun look like bug fixing to me. its like asking for extra features
i wonder what kind of bugs u received? im happily BTing away on my 655 now
leinad
23-02-2008, 11:22 PM
These aren't bug fixes at all.. They are additional features.
/Dan
Asakura
24-02-2008, 02:27 PM
i need a gigabit adapter..
shld i get the D-Link DGE-530T?
Archetype
24-02-2008, 06:05 PM
i need a gigabit adapter..
shld i get the D-Link DGE-530T?
Hi Asakura,
i would like to check with you is the signal strength good for your wireless connection? my laptop in the living rm only receiving up to 20++% of the signal. 1 more question, i connected my desktop directly to the router via cable frm the box, however i saw its only connected @ 10MBps. Is this normal? as i am using a gig lan card for that desktop
Adam80
24-02-2008, 06:38 PM
need a wireless router for my upcoming ps3..
where can i get this router or DGL 4300??
Asakura
24-02-2008, 06:40 PM
hm. for my desktop. it shows 1.0 Gbps
as for my laptop. signal shows excellent/very good, laptop is 802.11b
no issues of signal. except that i don't know how to use the software network magic to let my laptop auto connect to the connection..
Asakura
24-02-2008, 06:42 PM
need a wireless router for my upcoming ps3..
where can i get this router or DGL 4300??
sls has both if im nt wrong.
but if u wan, can wait till nxt wk when pacific city restocks.
they selling much cheaper den sls.
Adam80
24-02-2008, 08:29 PM
http://www.shopping.sg/content/vouchers-for-grabs-at-pacific-city/
u mean this place???
Archetype
24-02-2008, 08:55 PM
hm. for my desktop. it shows 1.0 Gbps
as for my laptop. signal shows excellent/very good, laptop is 802.11b
no issues of signal. except that i don't know how to use the software network magic to let my laptop auto connect to the connection..
Hi are you using both cat 5 cable to connect 1. modem -> router and 2. router -> pc. coz for my case.. i am only using cat 5 cable to connect frm router to pc. as for modem to router i am using the normal cable. do i need to get other cat 5 cable to link up my modem and router? pls advice.
As for the wireless setting i am using WPA mode (WPA or WPA2) Cipher mode: TKIP and AES, but when i tries connect to the router through my laptop (WINXP) it will alway prompt 'Windows was unable to find a certificate to log you on to the network 'mySSID''. i also tried it on my macbook its fine. Anyone have the same problem as me ?
Asakura
24-02-2008, 09:46 PM
Hi are you using both cat 5 cable to connect 1. modem -> router and 2. router -> pc. coz for my case.. i am only using cat 5 cable to connect frm router to pc. as for modem to router i am using the normal cable? so i need to get other cat 5 cable to link up my modem and router pls advice.
modem>router=cat5e
router>pc=cat5
what do u see at the properties at your local area connection? does ur speed shows 1.o Gbps
http://www.shopping.sg/content/vouchers-for-grabs-at-pacific-city/
u mean this place???
yep. but pls read back the past few pages of these threads.
Archetype
24-02-2008, 09:54 PM
modem>router=cat5e
router>pc=cat5
what do u see at the properties at your local area connection? does ur speed shows 1.o Gbps
yep. but pls read back the past few pages of these threads.
nope mine shows 10MBps. so i guess i gotta buy 1 more cat 5e straight cable? coz from pc to router i am using the one provided in the box. May i ask do u encounter my issue, sorry i just updated my post regarding the certificate issue.
Wardenised
24-02-2008, 09:59 PM
Hi guys, sry to ask a noob question here. But may i noe y when i am downloading through http or ftp (not BT), my web surfing will lag and not responding.
May i noe how can i fix this problem? I post this question here cause im using this router so i hope u guys can help me with it.
Thanks in advance. Also sorry if this has been posted many times.
liangtam
24-02-2008, 10:03 PM
Any bg activity?
Slow host/ISP?
would like to check will there be problem with Intel Pro/Wireless 3945ABG(compaq laptop V3136TU ) if i get this DIR-655
richneo
24-02-2008, 10:45 PM
would like to check will there be problem with Intel Pro/Wireless 3945ABG(compaq laptop V3136TU ) if i get this DIR-655
im using 3945ABG on dir-655 to post this now and been online since this morning
great! thanks ! :s12:
Archetype
24-02-2008, 10:53 PM
Hi richneo, may i ask u regarding the type of cable to use to hook up my modem to router and from router to pc. Must both cable be cat 5e straight cable for me to get the 1GBps. Coz currently i am using a normal cable to connect my modem to router, and as for my router to pc i am using the 1 provided which i believe its a cat 5 e cable. Checked the speed on my pc its only 10MBps. Thanks in advance :)
richneo
24-02-2008, 11:00 PM
Hi richneo, may i ask u regarding the type of cable to use to hook up my modem to router and from router to pc. Must both cable be cat 5e straight cable for me to get the 1GBps. Coz currently i am using a normal cable to connect my modem to router, and as for my router to pc i am using the 1 provided which i believe its a cat 5 e cable. Checked the speed on my pc its only 10MBps. Thanks in advance :)
im also using the one supplied by the box
just make sure u auto
different adaptors have different ways to set. consult your user manual
http://img299.imageshack.us/img299/1071/autodp7.jpg
Archetype
24-02-2008, 11:57 PM
im also using the one supplied by the box
just make sure u auto
different adaptors have different ways to set. consult your user manual
http://img299.imageshack.us/img299/1071/autodp7.jpg
Thanks. But as for the cable from modem to router, is cat 5e cable required. coz if its require i guess i will go get it tmr. haha
richneo
25-02-2008, 12:04 AM
Thanks. But as for the cable from modem to router, is cat 5e cable required. coz if its require i guess i will go get it tmr. haha
u not on mol ultimate using sb6100 rite?
if not, cat 5 is enuff liaoz lar
Wardenised
25-02-2008, 01:14 AM
Any bg activity?
Slow host/ISP?
no background activity , cause web-surfing will be laggy/not responding only when im downloading stuffs thru http/ftp
liangtam
25-02-2008, 01:31 AM
no background activity , cause web-surfing will be laggy/not responding only when im downloading stuffs thru http/ftp
TCP/IP EventID4226?
Archetype
25-02-2008, 08:54 AM
u not on mol ultimate using sb6100 rite?
if not, cat 5 is enuff liaoz lar
I am using singnet bb. Running on 2wire 2700HG-D brigde mode, hooked up to dir655
richneo
25-02-2008, 09:01 AM
I am using singnet bb. Running on 2wire 2700HG-D brigde mode, hooked up to dir655
cat 5 cable enuff
anyway cat5e dun cost much also
Wardenised
25-02-2008, 09:42 AM
TCP/IP EventID4226?'
errr i changed it to 50 already... is it not enough or too much?
Asakura
25-02-2008, 10:52 AM
nope mine shows 10MBps. so i guess i gotta buy 1 more cat 5e straight cable? coz from pc to router i am using the one provided in the box. May i ask do u encounter my issue, sorry i just updated my post regarding the certificate issue.
nope i don't. doesnt seems to be a cable issue. :D
Archetype
25-02-2008, 11:02 AM
nope i don't. doesnt seems to be a cable issue. :D
Thanks. i shall go and check my lan card settings later. :D
fujin
25-02-2008, 12:52 PM
i hav a problem on this router.. i can't seem to get connected even after rebooting the router/pc. problem was only resolved when i reset router. i only did WPA and mac filter on the conneciton. and i was getting ip add of 169.254.. all the time..
thinking its my pc having problem, i tried on 2 diff pcs, same problem . but when i did a direct conn to the cable modem, i was able to get the connection..
Any advise is appreciate.
thanks.
cpuer
25-02-2008, 12:54 PM
i hav a problem on this router.. i can't seem to get connected even after rebooting the router/pc. problem was only resolved when i reset router. i only did WPA and mac filter on the conneciton. and i was getting ip add of 169.254.. all the time..
thinking its my pc having problem, i tried on 2 diff pcs, same problem . but when i did a direct conn to the cable modem, i was able to get the connection..
Any advise is appreciate.
thanks.
can you connect without any security settings in the router?
fujin
25-02-2008, 01:44 PM
Hi
yes, that is affirmative
when i set the security, all wrking fine.. till of coz, i shut down my pc, switch of my cm/router
any idea guysz?
cpuer
25-02-2008, 03:34 PM
Hi
yes, that is affirmative
when i set the security, all wrking fine.. till of coz, i shut down my pc, switch of my cm/router
any idea guysz?
quite a weird problem. maybe you want to flash it to the latest firmware? sorry i am not of much help to you.
takuma
25-02-2008, 03:37 PM
maybe you would like to double check on the mac address which you keyed in?
fujin
25-02-2008, 04:13 PM
but i'm using wired connection, not wless..
vernon_wmk
25-02-2008, 04:48 PM
dir655's mac filter affect both wired and wireless. So for 1 PC if you are accessing by both wired and wireless, remember to add the mac address for both interfaces into the list.
CyberMew
25-02-2008, 05:08 PM
any update on the stock in pacific city outlets?
spyder79
25-02-2008, 05:21 PM
Last Sept PC show the router was sold at $159... maybe we should wait for another 10 day for it
richneo
25-02-2008, 06:05 PM
Last Sept PC show the router was sold at $159... maybe we should wait for another 10 day for it
starbuy for the first 15 or 30 u mean?
CyberMew
25-02-2008, 06:38 PM
spyder79, cannot wait anymore le, if buy later than 29feb, there will be no hardware replacement at all if applicable...
i wonder how many pacific city restock for the router... in hundreds or in tens
so isit safe to update the firmware from Firmware Version: 1.10WW to 1.11SH ?
spyder79
25-02-2008, 09:08 PM
just called pacific city plaza sing.. stock only coming end of the week
CyberMew
25-02-2008, 09:12 PM
wah if coming by fri maybe still can make it. otherwise if their end=sat/sun gg liao
http://www.yellowpages.com.sg/newiyp/wp/wpdetailsearch.do?applicationInd=wp&sortGroup=0&searchCriteria=Pacific+City+%28Asia+Pacific%29+Pte+Ltd&subscriberName=Pacific+City+%28Asia+Pacific%29+Pte+Ltd&productType=EIB&searchType=36&idsNo=1691278&address=6+Raffles
found their phone numbers here .. now so late, maybe tomorrow i go call their imm branch or marinasq branch see how..
Archetype
25-02-2008, 11:23 PM
so isit safe to update the firmware from Firmware Version: 1.10WW to 1.11SH ?
i had flashed the firmware 1.11SH so far so good no problem. However i am having problem with windows laptop/desktop that try to connect to the router wirelessly if i set the security mode to WPA-personal, and WPA mode: WPA2 only. All of them will not connect except my macbook. Anyone facing this problem too?
Another question, will different security mode affects the quality of the signal? This is my observation, when i am using security mode : WPA or WPA2, the signal for my mac will be very good constantly >=90%, but my windows laptop/desktop signal will be very unstable (looking @ the signal % in the wireless status page). I also tried WEP, both windows and mac have average signal %, my mac no longer has the >=90% signal constantly. :s11:
leinad
25-02-2008, 11:29 PM
i had flashed the firmware 1.11SH so far so good no problem. However i am having problem with windows laptop/desktop that try to connect to the router wirelessly if i set the security mode to WPA-personal, and WPA mode: WPA2 only. All of them will not connect except my macbook. Anyone facing this problem too?
Another question, will different security mode affects the quality of the signal? This is my observation, when i am using security mode : WPA or WPA2, the signal for my mac will be very good constantly >=90%, but my windows laptop/desktop signal will be very unstable (looking @ the signal % in the wireless status page). I also tried WEP, both windows and mac have average signal %, my mac no longer has the >=90% signal constantly. :s11:
You'll need to apply the security patch manually to get WPA2 support. Windows XP, even at SP2, does not support WPA2 out of the box.
OS X had it since 10.3, I believe.
/Dan
no such problem with my laptop . using WPA-personal mode
spyder79
26-02-2008, 01:28 PM
I just called Pacific City @ PS , the router just came in , price @ $179 !!
i rather wait for the IT show, as Dlink confirmed will be there
http://www.itshow.com.sg/
liangtam
26-02-2008, 01:32 PM
I just called Pacific City @ PS , the router just came in , price @ $179 !!
i rather wait for the IT show, as Dlink confirmed will be there
http://www.itshow.com.sg/
Wait for IT show, no ratified N replacement if firmware update is not possible.
CyberMew
26-02-2008, 01:39 PM
i also just called omg... 179 sia rose by $4.. wa.. anyway the other outlets dont have stock, only the one at plaza sing.
if u want u can call to reserve... the woman say left 5-6 pieces
spyder79, dont wait for itshow, later you cannot get it change . see this thread http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1875151
spyder79
26-02-2008, 01:44 PM
Wait for IT show, no ratified N replacement if firmware update is not possible.
oic... thank u bro liangtam n cybermew... i will go down now to get it
vernon_wmk
26-02-2008, 01:54 PM
Hmm, just realise that the firmware I use and (encountered problem with securepoint), is 1.11 for A3 only (or so it was said that time I downloaded from DLink's site).
Seems that the version is no longer listed there and only the 1.11SH is there. Since the router appears stable now, wondering if I should wait for the next release, or re-flash to 1.11SH
liangtam
26-02-2008, 04:21 PM
pacific city hasnt raise price much, maybe they still dunno y yet, lol...
spyder79
26-02-2008, 04:54 PM
guys ,
i just got the router from the pacific city at PS.. left abt 3-4 unit only
i ask y the change of price to $179.. the lady told me tat the cost of the router increased for this batch.
so they priced it at $179...
any diff with DIR 655 n DIR 655/E ?
Archetype
26-02-2008, 05:10 PM
guys ,
i just got the router from the pacific city at PS.. left abt 3-4 unit only
i ask y the change of price to $179.. the lady told me tat the cost of the router increased for this batch.
so they priced it at $179...
any diff with DIR 655 n DIR 655/E ?
There is a 655/E? never heard anything abt it
liangtam
26-02-2008, 05:10 PM
Think its just a prefix code to identify region of unit for shipment?
spyder79
26-02-2008, 05:25 PM
oic.. okie..
i got the firmware 1.02
richneo
26-02-2008, 06:10 PM
just to indicate which type of power adaptor to include baz
CyberMew
26-02-2008, 08:02 PM
where u see the dir-655E one? I also just bought from there at 3.40pm i think. i see the box it says h/w is A2 and f/w is 1.02. eh seems very old as there is A3 already? why still sell A2 one?
The girl also told me actually the price is 189 but they still sell at 179. i ask is it last week is 175 they say ya.. lol crap... 179 i can buy 1-2 months ago in sls..zz
anyway, the cd included got use one or not? if no use i just setup the hardware and later then update firmware before touching the stuff inside the admin page.
btw, keep receipt will do right? or need online register/keep box? the machine itself got the details right?
hlyagami
26-02-2008, 08:25 PM
wohooo pacific city left 2 more on shelf.... kin snatch ah~!~!.. just bought 1 anyway. go to sls and ask whether they can reduce price to 179. they uncle knn say cannot reduce liao but u can pay using credit card or nets. I tiew him back "of course lah at least 20 dollar net profit confirm can use credit card." lolZ
fast siah. heh guess most buyer r from hwz
spyder79
26-02-2008, 08:56 PM
where u see the dir-655E one? I also just bought from there at 3.40pm i think. i see the box it says h/w is A2 and f/w is 1.02. eh seems very old as there is A3 already? why still sell A2 one?
The girl also told me actually the price is 189 but they still sell at 179. i ask is it last week is 175 they say ya.. lol crap... 179 i can buy 1-2 months ago in sls..zz
anyway, the cd included got use one or not? if no use i just setup the hardware and later then update firmware before touching the stuff inside the admin page.
btw, keep receipt will do right? or need online register/keep box? the machine itself got the details right?
saw it on one of the pricelist.. i still thought got diff.. sorrie abt the mixed up.
i got mine ard 1420hr, i even got a iphone usb cable for $20...
CyberMew
26-02-2008, 10:51 PM
read the online manual, it says on the last page
Warranty
11 Year
also note that they change is drop the operating temp. by 15dc to 40dc...
and also they removed the Safety & Emissions: CE seems bad
eh, they gave me a |_| plastic thing and a small packet. what are those for what? i also heard from the manual they will give you some stickers but why i dont have?
liangtam
26-02-2008, 11:16 PM
read the online manual, it says on the last page
Warranty
11 Year
also note that they change is drop the operating temp. by 15dc to 40dc...
and also they removed the Safety & Emissions: CE seems bad
eh, they gave me a |_| plastic thing and a small packet. what are those for what? i also heard from the manual they will give you some stickers but why i dont have?
???
Warranty is 11 years for europe i think, true lifetime here.
Operating temp is known to be the ideal condition ma. Even if you stuff the unit up to 55dC, it also won't damage the equipment.
As much as how most manufacturer likes to write, it is for fun of writing only.
CE? :s22:
CyberMew
26-02-2008, 11:43 PM
ic.. thanks for clearing that up..
now i dunno need install the cd or not..like useless..
and no one knows whats the 2 items for? the big black plastic and the small packet? no manual to indiciate what they are for leh
liangtam
26-02-2008, 11:46 PM
CD can throw
You sure you got a brand new set not?
Usually theres a book or slip of paper for a new product to tell you what content is available in the box.
The black plastic is act as a stander for you to position the router vertically.
chaicka
27-02-2008, 12:27 AM
???
Operating temp is known to be the ideal condition ma. Even if you stuff the unit up to 55dC, it also won't damage the equipment.
As much as how most manufacturer likes to write, it is for fun of writing only.
It's not for fun of writing only. Operating Temperature is the temperature that the components have been tested to be still functioning normally under. Operating beyond those temperatures may result in abnormal behavior of the components, thus the overall functionality of the equipment.
Eg. SpeedTouch v6 series, several known issues of the equipment unable to operate normally when the environmental temperature hits 40 degree celcius (happened in Australia).
Also, all these documented specifications are legal binding, and the manufacturer is liable should the device be unable to operate normally within these temperatures.
There is a whole chunk of knowledge on this if you study engineering diploma (not sure if BSc includes or not) courses. I know I studied it in Mechanical Engineering.
CyberMew
27-02-2008, 12:35 AM
oh looks so unsafe. then small packet is? like for me to mount wall like that..
ya brand new..got a slip but like useless x.x nv teach what is what(like the plastic) and how to install etc
hlyagami
27-02-2008, 12:41 AM
hmmm should i get cat 6 cable? :D
hlyagami
27-02-2008, 12:44 AM
oh looks so unsafe. then small packet is? like for me to mount wall like that..
ya brand new..got a slip but like useless x.x nv teach what is what(like the plastic) and how to install etc
there is one sticker with ma chiam like 4 button right? that is to stick under ur router as a spare. e rest is for mounting on the wall
liangtam
27-02-2008, 12:50 AM
Some of the equipment can already cook itself for running a short 15min time, esp modems, lol.
If hardware is really crap, i think its better to throw and buy new one already.
mystix
27-02-2008, 07:31 PM
i just bought this baby but I'm using a mac.
Do i need to install anything? because the package has a warning that says STOP! Insert cd and run wizard first. But the cd is only for windows.
The thing doesnt even comes with a manual.
siegeholler
27-02-2008, 08:24 PM
you can download the pdf manual from the dlink website
mystix
27-02-2008, 08:32 PM
yup did that...reading thru it now.
man i didn't know dlink wanted to save cost so much! :s22:
cpuer
27-02-2008, 08:32 PM
i just bought this baby but I'm using a mac.
Do i need to install anything? because the package has a warning that says STOP! Insert cd and run wizard first. But the cd is only for windows.
The thing doesnt even comes with a manual.
no need any cd. just log into the router set up page via your browser. I believe there's a setup wizard there too. It's OS agnostic.
liangtam
28-02-2008, 12:17 AM
Said liao ma, CD can throw.
mystix
28-02-2008, 01:06 AM
help..
I tested my connection with this (on cable) and I am only getting
http://www.speedtest.net/result/239545608.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
as compared to 8k with direct connection. (i'm on MOL express)
I think something is wrong here, how come my speed is halfed!
Must be something wrong with the router settings, any1 got this prob before?
I'm using hardware version A3 and firmware 1.10 (default)
liangtam
28-02-2008, 03:46 AM
Read ur other thread.
What is the result from SH utility site?
richneo
28-02-2008, 09:15 AM
help..
I tested my connection with this (on cable) and I am only getting
http://www.speedtest.net/result/239545608.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
as compared to 8k with direct connection. (i'm on MOL express)
I think something is wrong here, how come my speed is halfed!
Must be something wrong with the router settings, any1 got this prob before?
I'm using hardware version A3 and firmware 1.10 (default)
disable QOS on dir-655 for a start
mystix
28-02-2008, 10:05 AM
Wah i'm getting more and more headaches.
For some reason now my mac cannot access internet even though i can go to the dlink admin page.
So i went to test my father's windows notebook.
For speedtest result i get
http://www.speedtest.net/result/239738236.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Then i went to starhub utilities. The results were erratic. Always different results.
Sometimes i get as low as 15 Mbps, sometimes as high as 56 Mbps.
Turning off QOS also same.
Dunno what i did last night, the mac connection very unstable. When i first run out of the box and configure the settings, my surfing cannot.. so i off modem and router and try again then can liao. But i get the 4000+ kb/s result in speedtest on the mac.
Then i went to flash the firmware to 1.11 and test doesn't seem to have any difference. So i went to flash back to 1.10 and went to sleep.
This morning the mac cannot surf liao. But the pc can.
zzz.... y am i the only one with so many probs with this router. haizz
mystix
28-02-2008, 10:29 AM
update:
i switched to wireless connection on the mac and i was able to surf. The speedtest result was still ard 4k kb/s.
Then i tried to switch back to cable still cannot.
Any mac users here can help me out? for mac there's not much settings to tweak (that i know of).
I went to network preferences and saw that for the ethernet connection i was assigned a ip by the dhcp server. So seems to be connected, just that cannot surf.
update: 12pm
I flashed the firmware back to 1.11 and now i can surf thru cable connection.
But still getting 4k speeds.
liangtam
28-02-2008, 01:06 PM
Can you hook direct to modem and run http://utilities.starhub.com?
leinad
28-02-2008, 01:17 PM
Just posting my stats on my MacBook Pro. SNBB 10Mbps plan, and running Double-NAT. :o
http://www.speedtest.net/result/239783550.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
/Dan
mystix
28-02-2008, 03:26 PM
how much is an cat 6 or a cat 5e cable selling nowadays?
feel like ripping all the cables and start rewiring again...sianz.
leinad
28-02-2008, 03:43 PM
I think it's better to send in the modem to test it first. If you're getting bad speeds with the Windows box, chances are it's faulty.
/Dan
mystix
28-02-2008, 10:09 PM
Hi all, just want to find out how many of you here have 'traffic shaping' turned off? (or you don't need to turn it off also can hit max speed?)
I realized that it was that setting that was causing all these problems.
CyberMew
28-02-2008, 10:26 PM
hi, where did you see that?
liangtam
28-02-2008, 10:33 PM
Hi all, just want to find out how many of you here have 'traffic shaping' turned off? (or you don't need to turn it off also can hit max speed?)
I realized that it was that setting that was causing all these problems.
Still waiting for the result when u hook direct to modem.
benyap90
28-02-2008, 10:44 PM
hey..my dir 655 spolit leh..hw? i lost my recipe i think is the fuse in the wire problem....go where to repair ah?
mystix
28-02-2008, 10:45 PM
Under advance settings, QOS engine, 'Enable traffic shaping'
initially i just turned off 'enable QOS engine', but that didn't seem to change anything.
Then just now at my friend's house i tested my router with his modem, and he advised me to try turning that off, and it helped.
liangtam
28-02-2008, 10:49 PM
hey..my dir 655 spolit leh..hw? i lost my recipe i think is the fuse in the wire problem....go where to repair ah?
Go down dlink service center lor, at jurong east there.
benyap90
28-02-2008, 10:59 PM
sianz....if the plug spoilt, about hw much ah..sianz
mystix
28-02-2008, 11:01 PM
i think i also sending in mine to check whether really got prob.
Whats the diff between the one at funan and jurong east?
Can i just go funan...jurong east abit far..i live tampines. :s22:
leinad
29-02-2008, 12:43 AM
Bring your receipt down with you. Head down to Funan's PCPro. :)
It should be a 1-to-1.
/Dan
Asakura
29-02-2008, 07:24 AM
hm..i keep getting disconnection...
richneo
29-02-2008, 08:40 AM
u can just go funan but they will not check for you.
so in case the problem is not with the router, changing a new one might not solve ur problem.
cpuer
29-02-2008, 08:58 AM
sianz....if the plug spoilt, about hw much ah..sianz
About $35 for an original Dlink adapter.
Archetype
29-02-2008, 09:04 AM
There is also 1 issue that i have observed. If i off my router and on it again, it will take awhile (approx. 5min) for me to get an internet connection (keep refreshing the device info under status page). After that i realised that the internet connection speed is quite slow , i am only able to download at <10kbps. So what i did was i disconnect and reconnect again (under device info in the status page). After which i was able to download at 1MBps, tested the speed on windows and apple website. The speed was similar for both sites. May i know how can i can solve this problem without reconnecting manually. The above scenario was tested wired connection to the router.
Here is some information on my ISP and how i hooked up the router. i am using Singnet broadband 10Mbps plan, using 2wire 2700HG-D(bridge mode) which make it run only as a modem. Then i connect a cable from 2700HG-D to the Internet port of DIR-655.
At the moment, i have turned on mac address filtering and set the 802.11 mode to 802.11g only, transmission rate to Best (Automatic) and security mode to WPA-Personal, WPA mode to WPA2 only and the cipher type to AES.
I have also send this enquiry to Dlink support, still waiting for their reply. Anyone here having the same issue as me ? :look:
AttentioN
29-02-2008, 09:46 AM
There is also 1 issue that i have observed. If i off my router and on it again, it will take awhile (approx. 5min) for me to get an internet connection (keep refreshing the device info under status page). After that i realised that the internet connection speed is quite slow , i am only able to download at <10kbps. So what i did was i disconnect and reconnect again (under device info in the status page). After which i was able to download at 1MBps, tested the speed on windows and apple website. The speed was similar for both sites. May i know how can i can solve this problem without reconnecting manually. The above scenario was tested wired connection to the router.
Here is some information on my ISP and how i hooked up the router. i am using Singnet broadband 10Mbps plan, using 2wire 2700HG-D(bridge mode) which make it run only as a modem. Then i connect a cable from 2700HG-D to the Internet port of DIR-655.
At the moment, i have turned on mac address filtering and set the 802.11 mode to 802.11g only, transmission rate to Best (Automatic) and security mode to WPA-Personal, WPA mode to WPA2 only and the cipher type to AES.
I have also send this enquiry to Dlink support, still waiting for their reply. Anyone here having the same issue as me ? :look:
Im not sure if this would help.
Do not enter any login details in your 2wire modem. All details should be entered in the router config page.
What i did last time was to enter details on both device. The result? disconnection every few days. Now no more problems.
=)
Archetype
29-02-2008, 09:53 AM
Im not sure if this would help.
Do not enter any login details in your 2wire modem. All details should be entered in the router config page.
What i did last time was to enter details on both device. The result? disconnection every few days. Now no more problems.
=)
i don't think i have configure any login details on my 2wire modem. After i set the connection mode to Direct IP, all the login details is automatically cleared.
CyberMew
29-02-2008, 02:06 PM
this router can adjust signal strength or not?
Archetype
29-02-2008, 02:12 PM
I only know you are able to set the transmission power. default shld be highest. It shld be under the advance wireless tab.
richneo
29-02-2008, 02:40 PM
yes you can
but oni 3 options for u to adjust to. High, Medium and Low :s34: :D
liangtam
29-02-2008, 02:49 PM
i don't think i have configure any login details on my 2wire modem. After i set the connection mode to Direct IP, all the login details is automatically cleared.
I know why.
Since you turn off the router, it is an improper PPPoE termination, and thus subjected to the 5-8min timeout issues that comes with it.
Archetype
29-02-2008, 03:33 PM
I know why.
Since you turn off the router, it is an improper PPPoE termination, and thus subjected to the 5-8min timeout issues that comes with it.
ohh okay.. i just got a reply from dlink, they didnt really explain why my download speed differ so much that i will need to reconnect my isp manually to solve the speed problem.
Btw i feel like changing my wireless card (intel(R) PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network Connection) on my laptop. For some reason, it is especially unstable as compared to macbook using the wireless connection on the same location. Is it due to the fact that i am using WZC? cannot be right? Can someone recommend me a good 802.11N wireless card/adapter that is compatible with DIR-655? As i do not know which to get, DWA-643 or DWA-645 or DWA-140? :s11:
liangtam
29-02-2008, 03:40 PM
Speed issues ish likely ISP side on some occassion ba. Maybe they dun wan to bring it directly across as it does not sound nice like they wan push taiji.
You try hook direct to modem, establish PPPoE with WinXP inbuilt PPPoE dialer and see lor, if still the same, you prolly dun even nid change the 2200bg bah.
Archetype
29-02-2008, 03:54 PM
Speed issues ish likely ISP side on some occassion ba. Maybe they dun wan to bring it directly across as it does not sound nice like they wan push taiji.
You try hook direct to modem, establish PPPoE with WinXP inbuilt PPPoE dialer and see lor, if still the same, you prolly dun even nid change the 2200bg bah.
okay i will try the direct pppoe connection from xp. As for the reason why i wanted to change the 2200bg is becoz.. at first the speed will be quite good 54Mbps but it will slowly drop and eventually hit 1Mbps. hahaha and it hardly bounce back. Tested the location on mac, the speed is more or less consistant. The 2200bg is already set to highest under the power management. i got 2 laptop having the 2200bg card.. both of them having the same problem as described.
CyberMew
29-02-2008, 04:32 PM
thanks for the replies.. seems liek by default its already on full strength lol still feel abit weak though
E_DEAD
29-02-2008, 08:10 PM
anyone encounter Wireless signal poor cause i living in a 5rm flat i tired to hook-up my sis lappy (IBM 802.11g) to my DIR 655 Distance (Head to End) e signal read from e lappy was 40 - 50% but froom the Dlink homeportal read as 70 - 90% but i felt e speed is slow ... :s27:
any idea to config or replace e antena ?
OR install a DLINK Outdoor 2.4GHz High Gain Directional Conner Antenna (http://www.dlink.com.sg/products/dlhome.asp?sec=0&cid=1&pid=452)
http://global.dlink.com.sg/site_images/products/ANT24-2100/ANT24-2100_main.gif
Asakura
01-03-2008, 09:59 AM
same problem to my laptop which is also using the 802.11b/g
signal is alwis gd when i have the connection but it will disconnect after awhile.
rite nw theres no connection at all. i can detect it even if i put it nxt to my router.
chaicka
01-03-2008, 02:44 PM
okay i will try the direct pppoe connection from xp. As for the reason why i wanted to change the 2200bg is becoz.. at first the speed will be quite good 54Mbps but it will slowly drop and eventually hit 1Mbps. hahaha and it hardly bounce back. Tested the location on mac, the speed is more or less consistant. The 2200bg is already set to highest under the power management. i got 2 laptop having the 2200bg card.. both of them having the same problem as described.
Have u check out the latest Intel available driver for the 2200BG?
chaicka
01-03-2008, 02:47 PM
anyone encounter Wireless signal poor cause i living in a 5rm flat i tired to hook-up my sis lappy (IBM 802.11g) to my DIR 655 Distance (Head to End) e signal read from e lappy was 40 - 50% but froom the Dlink homeportal read as 70 - 90% but i felt e speed is slow ... :s27:
any idea to config or replace e antena ?
OR install a DLINK Outdoor 2.4GHz High Gain Directional Conner Antenna (http://www.dlink.com.sg/products/dlhome.asp?sec=0&cid=1&pid=452)
http://global.dlink.com.sg/site_images/products/ANT24-2100/ANT24-2100_main.gif
I stay in an EA...no signal issue except some blindspots within corners of the house. Check how u place your router, where is the position of the router in ur house, etc...It's more about placement than the device itself. This DIR-655 is the first wireless AP/router that is able to provide such good coverage for me, better than 4300 despite being able to connect and access from one end of the EA to the other end, signal strength of 4300 not as strong as 655.
siegeholler
01-03-2008, 03:02 PM
is everyone using the 1.11 firmware? any significant improvements or issues?
Solkarnar
01-03-2008, 04:26 PM
No problems for me, im running 1.11 and my router's been up for 2 weeks under heavy torrenting.
richneo
01-03-2008, 05:10 PM
mine have been up since day 1 i bought last year
hlyagami
01-03-2008, 10:43 PM
tsk tsk tsk my router just hang this early morning........ :(
misato
01-03-2008, 10:49 PM
just a question to all those who bought the DIR-655 router recently. Can you check what is your Hardware revision number? Today i went SLS and i notice a new package with a blue intel centrino logo on it which bare hardware rev A3. I wonder if this is the hardware compatible version with the final N standards.
hlyagami
02-03-2008, 12:40 AM
just a question to all those who bought the DIR-655 router recently. Can you check what is your Hardware revision number? Today i went SLS and i notice a new package with a blue intel centrino logo on it which bare hardware rev A3. I wonder if this is the hardware compatible version with the final N standards.
mine is A2.
anyway ask u all a few questions
1) Did your DIR-655 constantly updated with the latest time? mine doesn't seems to
2) My router hang 2 time liao... dunno what happen.
3) I often received such msg in my log... I do a testing that I never bt or gaming and i receive such message in my log:
[INFO] Sun Mar 02 00:40:06 2008 Allowed configuration authentication by IP address 192.168.1.114
[INFO] Sun Mar 02 00:39:38 2008 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 221.222.28.139:22859 to 218.186.16.247:45682
[INFO] Sun Mar 02 00:39:29 2008 Above message repeated 1 times
[INFO] Sun Mar 02 00:39:21 2008 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 76.181.122.202:5889 to 218.186.16.247:45682
[INFO] Sun Mar 02 00:39:14 2008 Above message repeated 1 times
[INFO] Sun Mar 02 00:37:09 2008 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 220.161.5.69:16719 to 218.186.16.247:45682
[INFO] Sun Mar 02 00:36:39 2008 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 41.235.120.209:10423 to 218.186.16.247:45682
[INFO] Sun Mar 02 00:34:30 2008 Stored configuration to non-volatile memory
[INFO] Sat Mar 01 23:24:05 2008 Blocked incoming ICMP packet (ICMP type 8) from 91.5.187.49 to 218.186.16.247
[INFO] Sat Mar 01 23:24:03 2008 Above message repeated 1 times
[INFO] Sat Mar 01 23:23:59 2008 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 24.64.169.132:4201 to 218.186.16.247:1027
[INFO] Sat Mar 01 23:23:59 2008 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 24.64.169.132:4201 to 218.186.16.247:1026
[INFO] Sat Mar 01 23:23:59 2008 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 24.64.169.132:4201 to 218.186.16.247:1028
[INFO] Sat Mar 01 23:23:55 2008 Log viewed by IP address 192.168.1.114
[INFO] Sat Mar 01 23:23:45 2008 Blocked incoming ICMP packet (ICMP type 8) from 84.232.37.31 to 218.186.16.247
what happen ah?
Deavenger
02-03-2008, 09:23 AM
dlink dir 655.. sad to say is not as stable as it seems.. mine also hangs too.. i think i may get back a smc router this pc show...smc is a real rock solid router...too bad alot of ppl thinks otherwise cos of its name... and design...
i had loads of problem since getting this d link.. it doesnt seem to work well with intel 4695 agn....I have been playing around with the configuration.. and may have found the problem... as long as i disable the wireless n on my notebook.. it doesnt hang anymore....i transfered data for a few hours last night very very stable...
so now i feel quite shortchange.. using a notebook with n capabilities and a dlink 655 wireless n .. but i have to disable the n to get it to work...
cpuer
02-03-2008, 09:26 AM
dlink dir 655.. sad to say is not as stable as it seems.. mine also hangs too.. i think i may get back a smc router this pc show...smc is a real rock solid router...too bad alot of ppl thinks otherwise cos of its name... and design...
i had loads of problem since getting this d link.. it doesnt seem to work well with intel 4695 agn....I have been playing around with the configuration.. and may have found the problem... as long as i disable the wireless n on my notebook.. it doesnt hang anymore....i transfered data for a few hours last night very very stable...
so now i feel quite shortchange.. using a notebook with n capabilities and a dlink 655 wireless n .. but i have to disable the n to get it to work...
Your hw version is A2?
Deavenger
02-03-2008, 10:23 AM
A3........................
liangtam
02-03-2008, 01:45 PM
3) I often received such msg in my log... I do a testing that I never bt or gaming and i receive such message in my log:
[INFO] Sun Mar 02 00:40:06 2008 Allowed configuration authentication by IP address 192.168.1.114
[INFO] Sun Mar 02 00:39:38 2008 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 221.222.28.139:22859 to 218.186.16.247:45682
[INFO] Sun Mar 02 00:39:21 2008 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 76.181.122.202:5889 to 218.186.16.247:45682
[INFO] Sun Mar 02 00:37:09 2008 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 220.161.5.69:16719 to 218.186.16.247:45682
[INFO] Sun Mar 02 00:36:39 2008 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 41.235.120.209:10423 to 218.186.16.247:45682
[INFO] Sat Mar 01 23:24:05 2008 Blocked incoming ICMP packet (ICMP type 8) from 91.5.187.49 to 218.186.16.247
[INFO] Sat Mar 01 23:23:59 2008 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 24.64.169.132:4201 to 218.186.16.247:1027
[INFO] Sat Mar 01 23:23:59 2008 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 24.64.169.132:4201 to 218.186.16.247:1026
[INFO] Sat Mar 01 23:23:59 2008 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 24.64.169.132:4201 to 218.186.16.247:1028
[INFO] Sat Mar 01 23:23:45 2008 Blocked incoming ICMP packet (ICMP type 8) from 84.232.37.31 to 218.186.16.247
what happen ah?
You rly sure you have not use BT(even if u had closed it)? The port seems constant, which can be caused by an active application requiring external connection.
liangtam
02-03-2008, 01:47 PM
A3........................
Got SMC booth from the IT Show 2008 Preview article at the left. Can go buy.
Deavenger
02-03-2008, 02:10 PM
Got SMC booth from the IT Show 2008 Preview article at the left. Can go buy.
Yup .. will look forward to it.....
CyberMew
02-03-2008, 05:16 PM
how would u know if router hang? mine A2 no problems so far leh... .veryhappy not much problems except for my windows vista network problem
richneo
02-03-2008, 06:22 PM
Yup .. will look forward to it.....
wish u all the best bro
SMC N router gigabit version is using the same N wireless as DIR-655 from atheros. which is also used for many of the other N routers out there
Techno Pride
02-03-2008, 07:47 PM
mine is A2.
anyway ask u all a few questions
1) Did your DIR-655 constantly updated with the latest time? mine doesn't seems to
2) My router hang 2 time liao... dunno what happen.
what happen ah?
ports 102x are Messenger Service spam (http://www.spywareguide.com/txt_messengerspam.php). Nothng to worry about since your router's blocking them.
dunno bout the other ports.
chaicka
02-03-2008, 08:46 PM
You may want to upgrade to the latest Intel driver package, think should be ver 11.5.x. Earlier on when 655 just came out, there were issues too but after Intel released new drivers, it resolves the problem.
There was an announcement months ago on collaboration between Intel & OEMs like D-Link, NetGear, etc (LinkSys was not in that list at time of announcement) to ensure better compatibility of the products.
hlyagami
02-03-2008, 09:05 PM
You rly sure you have not use BT(even if u had closed it)? The port seems constant, which can be caused by an active application requiring external connection.
no.. my bt port is not even those...
CyberMew
02-03-2008, 09:20 PM
1 question. my desktop connected via ethernet, and so is my laptop. but however the laptop cannot see my files that i am sharing unless it is connected via wireless leh. how come wired cannot but wireless can ar?
and i see the time in the router seems to slow by 1day+... router hang and unhang ar? lol
also hor, why the hell it will auto disconnect all my computers at a certain time one? i have to login and click on renew... why like that one? my linksys no such thing one leh is forever connected to internet
hanhanz
03-03-2008, 10:59 PM
Does anybody know whether connecting using DHCP or PPPOE is better? What do u guys connect with?
Deavenger
04-03-2008, 12:47 AM
wish u all the best bro
SMC N router gigabit version is using the same N wireless as DIR-655 from atheros. which is also used for many of the other N routers out there
oil, then better keep the d_link. don't waste money.
Deavenger
04-03-2008, 12:49 AM
You may want to upgrade to the latest Intel driver package, think should be ver 11.5.x. Earlier on when 655 just came out, there were issues too but after Intel released new drivers, it resolves the problem.
There was an announcement months ago on collaboration between Intel & OEMs like D-Link, NetGear, etc (LinkSys was not in that list at time of announcement) to ensure better compatibility of the products.
i downloaded the latest and installed it but it seem the installation keep failing. every time i uninstall old driver and install the new driver, it keeps showing the old drivers again.
richneo
04-03-2008, 09:22 AM
Does anybody know whether connecting using DHCP or PPPOE is better? What do u guys connect with?
depends on ur isp mah
u cant use ppoe on starhub cable
richneo
04-03-2008, 09:23 AM
i downloaded the latest and installed it but it seem the installation keep failing. every time i uninstall old driver and install the new driver, it keeps showing the old drivers again.
:s8: :look:
so effectively said u still haven't "upgraded" your drivers to the latest one rite?
cpuer
04-03-2008, 09:52 AM
Dont know if this guide can help you rid the old drivers:
http://www.tech-recipes.com/windows_installation_tips504.html
CyberMew
08-03-2008, 03:01 AM
eh, why i forward port like totally useless. i forwarded for example 12345, yet it does not open (tested with websites and seen by speed of torrent). then by luck, utorrent generated some random port which i tested and it is opened (i was like wth it's not possible).
so can someone please tell me why? how to check if all other ports (that's not in used) are open or not?
Asakura
08-03-2008, 01:15 PM
hmm
i bought the dge-530t adapter..
how do i maximize/or at least optimize my connection?
liangtam
08-03-2008, 02:48 PM
Some common ports like 12345,80 can be blocked by ISP which may be due to abuse or used by virus for its activity.
makkasu
09-03-2008, 03:48 AM
Hi everyone. I keen on getting this router. Its selling $229 with $20 ntuc voucher. Is the price ok? or can i get a better price else where? Thanks inadvance.
cpuer
09-03-2008, 08:07 AM
Hi everyone. I keen on getting this router. Its selling $229 with $20 ntuc voucher. Is the price ok? or can i get a better price else where? Thanks inadvance.
Challenger selling it for 199, without NTUC voucher but with members rewards.
Asakura
10-03-2008, 09:18 AM
hi guys
is it normal for you local area connection to show millions of bytes sent/received ??
richneo
10-03-2008, 10:11 AM
hi guys
is it normal for you local area connection to show millions of bytes sent/received ??
1 million of byte is around 1 gigabyte
assuming 1 million bytes = 1000000 bytes = 1000000 / 1024 / 1024 = 0.953 gigabyte
i can reach few gigabytes easily if torrent and acccess my NAS
weibchen
10-03-2008, 10:13 AM
is it me or 1.11 firmware is faster?
Or is it SH problem..at night its so slow and i can't read stuff in the us..zz
liangtam
10-03-2008, 11:32 AM
Its prolly the green pipe la.
ideatalk
11-03-2008, 04:28 PM
seem like the present DIR 655 version still have some problem somewhere. maybe I wait for the finalised N version b4 buying. Any idea when the finalized N will be out?
liangtam
11-03-2008, 04:31 PM
Problem is usually on external device nia, which is not controllable.
Generally, the pricing that you pay, is actually more for the performance of the unit.
cpuer
11-03-2008, 04:35 PM
seem like the present DIR 655 version still have some problem somewhere. maybe I wait for the finalised N version b4 buying. Any idea when the finalized N will be out?
around June 2009.
leinad
11-03-2008, 06:17 PM
can my wireless g connect to the wireless N if its in the 900m range of the wireless N?
There are many factors that determine range. You can have your laptop 10M away, but if you encased your router in a box with a 3M thick wall of metal, chances are, you won't get anything.
is DIR-655 DRAFT N still?
seem like the present DIR 655 version still have some problem somewhere. maybe I wait for the finalised N version b4 buying. Any idea when the finalized N will be out?around June 2009.
and how much is the current cheapest pricing for DIR-655 & what is the contact for PSingapura no?
Cheapest, that depends on others. You'll have to shop around. Other prices were also posted. Contact number of the shop was posted earlier in the thread, I think.
The fact that you asked a question that was answered 30 mins before you, as quoted, goes to show you didn't read. :s8: Do read posted information before asking.
/Dan
PS: I noticed MarineX conveniently deleted his post which I was replying to. :s8:
Asakura
11-03-2008, 07:46 PM
read from page 1 of thread.
Asakura
11-03-2008, 09:32 PM
he did.
and he repost his qns again. haha
MarineX
12-03-2008, 05:42 PM
DIR-655 doesnt allow my Nokia E series(all of it) to connect to it, is there a way to do it with 802.11 Mode b,g,n and not with G only?
it seems that i can get it to connect w B & G only and not with Mixed. Anyone have got any idea on how to fix |t?
and w regards to PS: I noticed MarineX conveniently deleted his post which I was replying to. no point keeping it there as i search by my username to come straight to this page to save my convenient sake. if that offended you, do let me noe - i will leave it there for you.
glacieraze
12-03-2008, 08:23 PM
DIR-655 doesnt allow my Nokia E series(all of it) to connect to it, is there a way to do it with 802.11 Mode b,g,n and not with G only?
it seems that i can get it to connect w B & G only and not with Mixed. Anyone have got any idea on how to fix |t?
and w regards to PS: I noticed MarineX conveniently deleted his post which I was replying to. no point keeping it there as i search by my username to come straight to this page to save my convenient sake. if that offended you, do let me noe - i will leave it there for you.
http://www.imghype.com/data/b8dc7ccadduntitled.JPG
MarineX
12-03-2008, 08:32 PM
http://www.imghype.com/data/b8dc7ccadduntitled.JPG
ok, thanks for it. BUT IT is not helping me, coz my QUESTION IS NOT HOW TO CHANGE THE ROUTER CONFIGURATION TO B,G,N IS HOW TO LET MY NOKIA WIFI HP SERIES TO WORK WITH B,G,N MODE AND NOT WITH B & G ONLY?
DoAsInfinity
12-03-2008, 08:40 PM
hey guys, i need some help with dir 655 + singnet 10mb
1) I tried to bridge modem with http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1576697
2) and setting the pppoe http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1614207
but does not seem to work, any help is appreciated
glacieraze
12-03-2008, 10:08 PM
ok, thanks for it. BUT IT is not helping me, coz my QUESTION IS NOT HOW TO CHANGE THE ROUTER CONFIGURATION TO B,G,N IS HOW TO LET MY NOKIA WIFI HP SERIES TO WORK WITH B,G,N MODE AND NOT WITH B & G ONLY?
Your Nokia Wifi only support B & G mode so N mode is not possible.
MarineX
12-03-2008, 11:14 PM
Your Nokia Wifi only support B & G mode so N mode is not possible.
yes i know about that but if that's the case - why is notebooks with wireless a,b,g supported can coexist with b,g,n mode for router's configuration and not my mobile?
glacieraze
13-03-2008, 12:05 AM
yes i know about that but if that's the case - why is notebooks with wireless a,b,g supported can coexist with b,g,n mode for router's configuration and not my mobile?
I don't really understand your question as it is not clear.
But I think you mean why mixed mode b,g,n for router's configuration can support notebooks with wireless a, b, g? When a notebook states can support wireless a,b,g it doesn't mean it can only support mixed mode in b,g,n. It only uses one mode at a single time, they don't use the 3 modes together at one time. Therefore, notebooks with wireless a,b,g can coexist with b,g,n mode as only one mode are being used at one time, not all three of them...
Asakura
13-03-2008, 12:10 AM
in more simple terms
i think he meant tat
when he set the 802.11 mode to "Mixed 802.11n, 802.11g and 802.11b"
his notebook cld connect. but not his mobile.
when set to "Mixed 802.11g and 802.11b", his mobile can connect.
Asakura
13-03-2008, 12:12 AM
1 million of byte is around 1 gigabyte
assuming 1 million bytes = 1000000 bytes = 1000000 / 1024 / 1024 = 0.953 gigabyte
i can reach few gigabytes easily if torrent and acccess my NAS
hey bro
thks again.
sorry i missed out on 1 sentence,
and that is
my received reached 2,000,000++, and my send reached 800,000++ in few secs after i am connected.
meaning i disable and enable, the counter resets but it reach millions in secs.
so i was askin, is this norm?
glacieraze
13-03-2008, 12:15 AM
in more simple terms
i think he meant tat
Oh... lol...
Erm... MarineX u use which security mode? WPA2, WPA or WPE? Some mobile phones cannot support WPA2 and WPA.
MarineX
13-03-2008, 12:15 AM
in more simple terms
i think he meant tat
nice, you get what i meant, sorry i was eating during that time while typing.
MarineX
13-03-2008, 12:17 AM
Oh... lol...
Erm... MarineX u use which security mode? WPA2, WPA or WPE? Some mobile phones cannot support WPA2 and WPA.
me? WEP. thou my fone supports WPA, i've tried em all but still its not working.
its still back to square that my fone can only connect to when i set the router to B & G mode and not B, G & N mode.
Compared to Linksys(Linksys router is adapter that is hot), whereas this DLink router is the warm one.
DoAsInfinity
13-03-2008, 07:25 AM
hey guys, i need some help with dir 655 + singnet 10mb
1) I tried to bridge modem with http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1576697
2) and setting the pppoe http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1614207
but does not seem to work, any help is appreciated
up, anyone pls? no prob with starhub previously
cpuer
13-03-2008, 08:53 AM
up, anyone pls? no prob with starhub previously
can explain more on what isn't working?
DoAsInfinity
13-03-2008, 09:03 AM
there's a gateway connection in Network connections, but the internet is always disabled despite enabling
not sure what's wrong.
no light at 2wire 2700hgv "internet"
MarineX
13-03-2008, 03:59 PM
there's a gateway connection in Network connections, but the internet is always disabled despite enabling
not sure what's wrong.
no light at 2wire 2700hgv "internet"
think something is wrong with your 2wire modem? does direct connection works without all the bridging and sorts?
DoAsInfinity
13-03-2008, 04:46 PM
think something is wrong with your 2wire modem? does direct connection works without all the bridging and sorts?
yes, direct connection works fine.
http://i27.tinypic.com/153uqkw.jpg
http://i28.tinypic.com/qxp8x1.jpg PPPOE settings
http://i29.tinypic.com/f4iwbl.jpg
http://i27.tinypic.com/2u97rj4.jpg
http://i28.tinypic.com/5lumps.jpg ip
MarineX
13-03-2008, 10:54 PM
yes, direct connection works fine.
http://i27.tinypic.com/153uqkw.jpg
http://i28.tinypic.com/qxp8x1.jpg PPPOE settings
http://i29.tinypic.com/f4iwbl.jpg
http://i27.tinypic.com/2u97rj4.jpg
http://i28.tinypic.com/5lumps.jpg ip
1. try bridging without any security
2. try connecting 2WIRE w/o bridge(direct connection to DIR-655) w rj45 connection
does it work?
liangtam
13-03-2008, 11:15 PM
Screenshot of 2Wire mdc config page pls?
DoAsInfinity
13-03-2008, 11:38 PM
which config?
hlyagami
14-03-2008, 08:16 AM
Anyone know why my router keep hanging occasionally/ I cant access e router page. this is my log.. tks
[INFO] Tue Mar 04 00:11:59 2008 Allowed configuration authentication by IP address 192.168.1.101
[INFO] Tue Mar 04 00:11:53 2008 Gateway remote administration enabled on port: 8080
[INFO] Tue Mar 04 00:11:53 2008 Starting WAN Services
[INFO] Tue Mar 04 00:11:53 2008 WAN interface speed measurement completed. Upstream speed is 260 kbps
[INFO] Tue Mar 04 00:11:31 2008 Estimating speed of WAN interface
[INFO] Tue Mar 04 00:11:31 2008 WAN interface is up. Connection to Internet established with IP Address 218.186.21.117 and default gateway 218.186.16.1
[INFO] Tue Mar 04 00:11:31 2008 Obtained IP Address using DHCP. IP address is 218.186.21.117
[INFO] Tue Mar 04 00:11:30 2008 WAN interface is down
[INFO] Tue Mar 04 00:11:30 2008 Lost lease on IP Address
[INFO] Tue Mar 04 00:11:08 2008 Estimating speed of WAN interface
[INFO] Tue Mar 04 00:11:08 2008 WAN interface is up. Connection to Internet established with IP Address 192.168.100.2 and default gateway 0.0.0.0
[INFO] Tue Mar 04 00:11:08 2008 Obtained IP Address using DHCP. IP address is 192.168.100.2
[INFO] Tue Mar 04 00:11:06 2008 Bringing up WAN using DHCP
[INFO] Tue Mar 04 00:11:06 2008 WAN interface cable has been connected
[INFO] Tue Mar 04 00:11:06 2008 Starting DHCP server
[INFO] Tue Mar 04 00:11:03 2008 WAN interface cable has been disconnected
[INFO] Tue Mar 04 00:10:58 2008 Bringing up WAN using DHCP
[INFO] Tue Mar 04 00:10:58 2008 WAN interface cable has been connected
[INFO] Tue Mar 04 00:10:58 2008 LAN interface is up
[INFO] Tue Mar 04 00:10:58 2008 LAN Ethernet Carrier Detected
[INFO] Tue Mar 04 00:10:57 2008 Device initialized
[WARN] Tue Mar 04 00:10:57 2008 gw_wireless_schedule init
[INFO] Tue Mar 04 00:10:57 2008 Wireless Link is up
[INFO] Tue Mar 04 00:10:56 2008 Unlock AP setup
[INFO] Tue Mar 04 00:10:56 2008 No Internet access policy is in effect. Unrestricted Internet access allowed to everyone
[INFO] Thu Jan 01 08:00:00 1970 Loaded configuration from non-volatile memory
liangtam
14-03-2008, 09:32 AM
which config?
Those pages/fields as per required for bridging purpose.
DoAsInfinity
14-03-2008, 09:35 AM
Those pages/fields as per required for bridging purpose.
ok, will post it tonight.
btw is rj45 the normal Ethernet cable?? i'm using the one provided by dir655 (sry for noob question)
DoAsInfinity
14-03-2008, 11:42 PM
1. try bridging without any security
2. try connecting 2WIRE w/o bridge(direct connection to DIR-655) w rj45 connection
does it work?
bro, does not work
http://i32.tinypic.com/nmgfau.jpg
Screenshot of 2Wire mdc config page pls?
the screenshots
http://i28.tinypic.com/293kcon.jpg
http://i32.tinypic.com/258tm2o.jpg
liangtam
15-03-2008, 12:06 AM
The 2Wire is in bridge mode already. Hook the utp network cable from any single port of the 2Wire to the WAN/Internet port of your router.
Pls show us the status page on the dlink after u have done the above step.
MarineX
15-03-2008, 12:07 AM
bro, does not work
http://i32.tinypic.com/nmgfau.jpg
the screenshots
http://i28.tinypic.com/293kcon.jpg
http://i32.tinypic.com/258tm2o.jpg
2WIRE(MODEM) > BRIDGE > DIR655(ROUTER)?
that should be the correct way i presume
but based on your ss, it seems that you are entering it as pppoe? shldnt u be using static ip instead?
*side note: Bridge mode is currently only available in firmware versions 1.03 and 1.04 only. <- i wonder how true is this. Seems like the DIR-655 is not what it seems it is as some claimed? arrrrghz
DoAsInfinity
15-03-2008, 10:03 AM
The 2Wire is in bridge mode already. Hook the utp network cable from any single port of the 2Wire to the WAN/Internet port of your router.
Pls show us the status page on the dlink after u have done the above step.
bro, the ss of the log, seems like the dlink unable to connect to 2wire??
http://i26.tinypic.com/1etphu.jpg
@MarineX , i downgraded the firmware to 1.03 also cannot =.=
MarineX
15-03-2008, 11:51 AM
bro, the ss of the log, seems like the dlink unable to connect to 2wire??
http://i26.tinypic.com/1etphu.jpg
@MarineX , i downgraded the firmware to 1.03 also cannot =.=
http://www.imghype.com/data/82596eca27dlink%20dir-655.JPG
Try the above to find the page.
Setup > Network Settings > WAN PORT MODE: Bridge
able to config that and tryout your bridge again?
DoAsInfinity
15-03-2008, 12:53 PM
hey bro, i have that option
http://i32.tinypic.com/2ec0iom.jpg
but what do i key in for the default gateway?
liangtam
15-03-2008, 02:04 PM
The WAN Port - bridge is to make the router became purely a switch and an AP, duhz.
liangtam
15-03-2008, 02:07 PM
Try another way to test if the 2Wire is allowing bridge.
Hook to PC, use Windows to create a PPPoE dialout profile, use it to connect.
DoAsInfinity
15-03-2008, 04:01 PM
Try another way to test if the 2Wire is allowing bridge.
Hook to PC, use Windows to create a PPPoE dialout profile, use it to connect.
unable to dial through..
E_DEAD
16-03-2008, 12:38 AM
Any one encunter DIR-655 wireless signal very loh even i play my friend or my sis lappy inside e same room round 3 feet way from e router e signal only 3 bar ...
Configure Setting shown below !
Ver. Firmware Version: 1.11SH
Wireless Network Settings
Enable Wireless : Always
Wireless Network Name : Dlink Wi-Fi
802.11 Mode : Mixed 802.11n, 802.11g and 802.11b
Enable Auto Channel Scan : Tick
Wireless Channel: 2.437 GHz - CH 6
Transmission Rate : Best (automatic) (Mbit/s)
Channel Width : Auto 20/40 MHz
Visibility Status : Visible Invisible
Advanced Wireless Settings
Transmit Power : High
beacon Period: 100
RTS Threshold: 2346
Fragmentation Threshold: 2346
DTIM Interval: 1
802.11d Enable: Blank
WLan Partition: Blank
WMM Enable: Blank
Shot GI: Tick
wat cause it ?
any config need to be done ?
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.