View Full Version : D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Router - Product Info
Pages :
[
4]
cpuer
16-03-2008, 08:26 AM
Firstly, change the channel to 1 or 11.See if that will help.
E_DEAD
16-03-2008, 10:16 PM
How if changing chan it still dun help ?:s11:
cpuer
16-03-2008, 10:59 PM
How if changing chan it still dun help ?:s11:
make sure you have an unique SSID too.
E_DEAD
16-03-2008, 11:49 PM
unique SSID ... ? what tat need to config .?
E_DEAD
17-03-2008, 01:23 AM
there one Square button on top/Right side wat tat button for ?:s11:
takuma
17-03-2008, 10:10 AM
there one Square button on top/Right side wat tat button for ?:s11:
not sure what its for. but according to the pix from smallnetbuilder.com, nothing is connected to it
liangtam
17-03-2008, 10:19 AM
Some wifi security thingy?
TheGhost
17-03-2008, 01:10 PM
A question, currently using 1.05 firmware, I can skip 1.10 and update to 1.11 without any problems right ?
mONK_87
17-03-2008, 02:06 PM
Anyone using this router with PCI card???
I am using a cheapo Netgear WG311V3 PCI card.
It will take sometime to get connected when recover from hibernate.Sometime it get connected quite fast once window booted up.
Thinking of changing a better card.It seem like the Dlink N PCI card cause $1xx and above...
Any recommendation??
E_DEAD
19-03-2008, 12:42 AM
changin of channel it really didn't help must from 6% to 40+% less than 50 overall if just 2 beam of wall around 8 meter away from e router ...
any recommendation >
v0dka
20-03-2008, 11:32 AM
just to check.. the waranty for this router or dlink is 1 yr or lifetime?
http://www.dlink.com/products/resource.asp?pid=530&rid=2027&sec=0
their site say 1 yr but i come across some dlink router saying it lifetime?
Archetype
20-03-2008, 11:37 AM
just to check.. the waranty for this router or dlink is 1 yr or lifetime?
http://www.dlink.com/products/resource.asp?pid=530&rid=2027&sec=0
their site say 1 yr but i come across some dlink router saying it lifetime?
Check out the small print below.
* 1-Year Warranty available only in the U.S.A and Canada.
you should check it out from sg site. From what i know its a lifetime warranty. :D
leinad
20-03-2008, 01:01 PM
For those with warranty queries, check out this Dlink SG web site (http://www.dlink.com.sg/support/warranty.asp).
2 points to bring up:
DRAFT N PRODUCT REPLACEMENT ANNOUNCEMENT
Hardware replacement of Draft-N routers (from Draft-N to ratified 802.11n) in the event that firmware upgrade is unavailable, is only valid for Draft-N products purchased before 29th Feb 2008
* Lifetime Warranty
The lifetime warranty is valid only for the life of the product cycle meaning that it is limited by the end of the product life cycle when the product is obsolete (phased-out of production). This warranty will expire after 5 years from the date of obsolescence.
/Dan
simpleton
01-04-2008, 07:53 PM
Just to ask you experts out there. I main wanna buy this router for my gaming. Just wondering is it compatible with psp, ps3 and nds?
v0dka
01-04-2008, 08:24 PM
Hi guys, gotten this router abt 1 - 2 weeks back. recently my 655 keep on getting hang when i'm on BT. saw a few butties here having the same problems. anyone know what happenng?
mine is A03 firmware i think is 1.10.
liangtam
01-04-2008, 10:02 PM
Just to ask you experts out there. I main wanna buy this router for my gaming. Just wondering is it compatible with psp, ps3 and nds?
Any router is compatible what.
liangtam
01-04-2008, 10:03 PM
Hi guys, gotten this router abt 1 - 2 weeks back. recently my 655 keep on getting hang when i'm on BT. saw a few butties here having the same problems. anyone know what happenng?
mine is A03 firmware i think is 1.10.
Your sure is not ur OS stack issue instead?
v0dka
01-04-2008, 10:24 PM
Your sure is not ur OS stack issue instead?
i not sure. :s11:
what is OS stack issue?
When i on my BT, after awhile my dlink software will keep pompting l'm disconnected and reconnected to internet. after some pompts of repeating the connection thingy, my router will hang. i have to restart it to run internet again. :(
any way to check OS stack and how to?
liangtam
01-04-2008, 10:30 PM
Shld be ur PC problem :s11::s11:
More explanatory needed reh...
v0dka
01-04-2008, 10:55 PM
Shld be ur PC problem :s11::s11:
More explanatory needed reh...
but then my laptop also cannot access net wor. :s11:
pker88
02-04-2008, 01:25 AM
compare his DIR655 VS DGL4300 dlink whicn is better
as in ethernet
wirelss sure DIR655 wins as it on N mode i bet?
liangtam
02-04-2008, 01:32 AM
compare his DIR655 VS DGL4300 dlink whicn is better
as in ethernet
wirelss sure DIR655 wins as it on N mode i bet?
655 still.
pker88
02-04-2008, 02:07 AM
how come 655 still wins ?
not because of the USB? and the 11N?
leinad
02-04-2008, 08:15 AM
The Ubicom processor on the 655 is newer and more powerful, I believe.
/Dan
lawrence90
02-04-2008, 10:25 AM
wah
how come got DIR 655 thread but no DIR 615 thread? :o
terry84
02-04-2008, 10:49 AM
because DIR 655 is hot topic now and current selling in SLS.
liangtam
02-04-2008, 12:41 PM
Becos those ppl who got do homework will realise they're not just paying for the sake of having a 'N' ma.
frankman
08-04-2008, 10:50 AM
Hi to All,
Yesterday just went over funan dlink service centre and overheard something regarding using dir-655 with maxonline need a special firmware. When I asked the staff for more information, they don't want to explain much and say you have to pay for this firmware if you are using maxonline. Anyone know what is this firmware all about?
liangtam
08-04-2008, 11:08 AM
since when was there a need to pay for a firmware?
richneo
08-04-2008, 11:28 AM
yar lor since when u need to pay for a firmware.
unless its the usa securespot firmware which is under closed beta test now.
frankman
08-04-2008, 11:35 AM
You got to check with them, I also understand since when we need to pay for firmware and according to them this is for starhub maxonline user. their phone number is 63383854. I don't think they are so stupid to say this right.
richneo
08-04-2008, 11:45 AM
You got to check with them, I also understand since when we need to pay for firmware and according to them this is for starhub maxonline user. their phone number is 63383854. I don't think they are so stupid to say this right.
all can be downloaded for free here mah
http://www.dlink.com.sg/starhub/
next time u just write down his name and launch a complain on him lor
stoopidbin
09-04-2008, 09:04 PM
hmm.. i been using dir 655 with maxonline....
i called starhub and check wats the difference between the official 1.11 firmware and the starhub 1.11SH firmware.
They gave me a lame answer.... It is just for identification purposes as in which are bundled under starhub deals.
Anyone knows whether there are performance difference?
liangtam
09-04-2008, 10:22 PM
You try riao ish let us know??
stoopidbin
10-04-2008, 02:14 PM
hmm i lazy to upgrade firmware :(
anyone who tested?
10-04-2008, 11:28 PM
dont see any big difference as far as I see .. I am using 1.11SH. ANyway ... it is free download even from Singapore Dlink website. and it is publicly stated there.
siegeholler
11-04-2008, 01:04 PM
are most of you leaving it on 24/7? does it consume a lot of power?
coolstardy
13-04-2008, 06:18 PM
erm guys is there a DMZ function for the DIR-655??? I can't seem to locate it can someone kindly help me?
liangtam
13-04-2008, 06:22 PM
erm guys is there a DMZ function for the DIR-655??? I can't seem to locate it can someone kindly help me?
Every router have it.
Its under firewall setting.
coolstardy
13-04-2008, 07:01 PM
ar.. found it. Thanks for the help bro..
Gr3yham3
19-04-2008, 07:52 PM
Okay i bought this router 2 days ago after hearing and reading good thing about it online through reviews and forums. But, after happily installing my router, i realised that the wireless signal is BAD. I cannot connect from my room, nor my brother's room. The router is situated in my eldest bro's room upstairs.
Yes, i know that router signals are usually poor when the router is placed upstairs, but then my old Linksys 54GS, though having less than average signals, at least allowed me to connect to it. So, how come a newer, draft-N router has less coverage/worse signal than a G-router? Could it be a hardware fault?
Oh my adapters are wireless-G ones. Will getting draft-N wireless adapters help ?
Any help would be much much appreciated!
MarineX
19-04-2008, 09:54 PM
Okay i bought this router 2 days ago after hearing and reading good thing about it online through reviews and forums. But, after happily installing my router, i realised that the wireless signal is BAD. I cannot connect from my room, nor my brother's room. The router is situated in my eldest bro's room upstairs.
Yes, i know that router signals are usually poor when the router is placed upstairs, but then my old Linksys 54GS, though having less than average signals, at least allowed me to connect to it. So, how come a newer, draft-N router has less coverage/worse signal than a G-router? Could it be a hardware fault?
Oh my adapters are wireless-G ones. Will getting draft-N wireless adapters help ?
Any help would be much much appreciated!
if i were you i wuld bring the router for servicing. my router hv got no such issues from 1 end to the other end in my 5room flat. no line of sight with 4 bars at least.
sad but true, i am not using any draft-n compatible adapters.
Gr3yham3
19-04-2008, 10:54 PM
hmm.. okie.. but are u using any WEP or WPA? cause i heard that it drops the signal lots.. also, is there anyone here who has the router upstairs? if i am not wrong a floor is dampens the signal more than a wall
liangtam
19-04-2008, 11:56 PM
Are you placing the router at the EXACT place compared to ur previous Linksys? Is the wifi output pwr set to max already?
Gr3yham3
20-04-2008, 11:14 AM
yep.. exactly the same position. There's only 3 options for the output right?mine's set to high already. Will turning off WEP/WPA help? And is there any 3rd party firmware that is better than the current 1.11SH version?
MarineX
20-04-2008, 12:12 PM
yep.. exactly the same position. There's only 3 options for the output right?mine's set to high already. Will turning off WEP/WPA help? And is there any 3rd party firmware that is better than the current 1.11SH version?
dlink firmware is already very good. try changing your channel?
wep/wpa doesnt affect much i reckoned.
if disabling encryption too doesnt help, go to the svc center ba.
Gr3yham3
20-04-2008, 12:32 PM
hmm.. alrighty. tks for all the info.. will test out the router somemore before going down to scv centre.. anyone can tell me where the place is and whether there is any hassle bringing the routher for servicing or swapping for a another one? Receipt and what other stuff needed to be brought along?
richneo
20-04-2008, 12:41 PM
hmm.. alrighty. tks for all the info.. will test out the router somemore before going down to scv centre.. anyone can tell me where the place is and whether there is any hassle bringing the routher for servicing or swapping for a another one? Receipt and what other stuff needed to be brought along?
http://www.dlink.com.sg/support/
Gr3yham3
20-04-2008, 07:40 PM
tks for the link.. sorry if i sound repetitive but does anyone here have the dir-655 upstairs instead of on the same floor? wanna see how are others signals like
opera5
20-04-2008, 11:00 PM
hi a few questions, is it a good choice to pair up this router with the 2wire 2700HGV-2 ? is the HGV-2 able to set as 'bridge' mode?
chaicka
21-04-2008, 01:21 PM
tks for the link.. sorry if i sound repetitive but does anyone here have the dir-655 upstairs instead of on the same floor? wanna see how are others signals like
If u wanna cover multi-floors, then the antennas need to be correctly positioned too.
Gr3yham3
21-04-2008, 02:48 PM
okay.. so how are the antennas supposed to be positioned then?
liangtam
21-04-2008, 02:59 PM
hi a few questions, is it a good choice to pair up this router with the 2wire 2700HGV-2 ? is the HGV-2 able to set as 'bridge' mode?
Why notch?
21-04-2008, 03:27 PM
WPA/WEP dont affect the signal. It could be incomptability of the network adapter with the Dlink. I believe you still using the Linksys adapter?
WEP/WPA affect the actual throughput.
Draft-N has better coverage if you are using also Draft-N Adapter. If using the normal G-Mode, the coverage in fact the same as any other G-Mode Wireless and no increased in coverage.
Position of the router antenna is important. Note that the Dlink router is using 2.5 dbi which is slightly weaker as compare to DGL-4300 which is using 5dbi antenna.
Channel setting is also important but if you have set it to Dlink Draft-N mode. Channel will be Fixed.
If you do not have Draft-N adapter, then you can try lower to G-Mode and check the signal strength again.
PS: I am selling my Dlink Draft-N USB adapter in ebay as I gotta myself a PCIe instead.
http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=120250146031
bluey010
21-04-2008, 09:10 PM
Which modem should I pair for SNBB for fast wireless internet connection?
Thanks.
cpuer
21-04-2008, 09:14 PM
Thanks.
Linksys AM300 $49
Gr3yham3
22-04-2008, 02:40 AM
hmm.. alrighty.. tks fer e suggestions..
liangtam
22-04-2008, 10:57 AM
Thanks.
You can buy ST536 from ppl or get it from SingNet.
victory_loh
22-04-2008, 06:45 PM
what is the cheapest price for DIR-655? how come it cost $200+ at SLS where people say it cost $179?
liangtam
22-04-2008, 08:04 PM
179 is special rate. Not alot shop retailing this rate already.
feeler
28-04-2008, 02:35 PM
can teach me how to setup Qos for world of warcraft using this router?
liangtam
28-04-2008, 03:19 PM
can teach me how to setup Qos for world of warcraft using thos router?
Thos? Thomson speedtouch??
You shld call Thos solutions for an answer leh.
feeler
28-04-2008, 05:14 PM
Thos? Thomson speedtouch??
You shld call Thos solutions for an answer leh.
sorry i meant "this" instead of "thos" :s22:
unfinished07
02-05-2008, 10:17 AM
anyone using this router having probs logging into WOW?
after i changed to this D-link 655 from the linksys router, i can't log in anymore.
are there any special settings to connect to WOW for this router?
aaur4man
02-05-2008, 10:22 AM
http://www.portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/Dlink/DIR-655/World_of_Warcraft.htm
unfinished07
02-05-2008, 10:33 AM
i already port forward 3724, still cannot.
must i use static gateway? the configurations are damn blur, how do i get computer's default gateway?
and the DNS? where to get it? must call up starhub to get it? i'm on SH maxonline.
cpuer
02-05-2008, 12:34 PM
must i use static gateway? the configurations are damn blur, how do i get computer's default gateway?
and the DNS? where to get it? must call up starhub to get it? i'm on SH maxonline.
The DNS of Starhub is inside this link:
http://www.starhub.com/portal/site/Online/menuitem.935dac8c897c3fb7eaaf3b608324a5a0/?vgnextoid=f136c9e5bdfef010VgnVCM100000464114acRCRD#top
MarineX
02-05-2008, 12:37 PM
did u select forward application or port forwarding?
unfinished07
02-05-2008, 12:57 PM
The DNS of Starhub is inside this link:
http://www.starhub.com/portal/site/Online/menuitem.935dac8c897c3fb7eaaf3b608324a5a0/?vgnextoid=f136c9e5bdfef010VgnVCM100000464114acRCRD#top
thanks, but aiyah, i forgot to mention i'm using macintosh. i'll search around the starhub website to see if they have any configurations for macintosh
unfinished07
02-05-2008, 12:59 PM
did u select forward application or port forwarding?
i used port forwarding, inside the router, at the advanced -> port forwarding.
i chose that and forwarded the default ports.
i also checked a few more checkboxes and forwarded other ports that was not included in the default.
unfinished07
02-05-2008, 02:48 PM
oh yah, sorry for the noob question, what is default gateway? i need to input that to set static ip, right?
SpinNaker
02-05-2008, 03:06 PM
default gateway would b IP address of ur router...
unfinished07
02-05-2008, 03:18 PM
default gateway would b IP address of ur router...
ok thanks, i'll try that.
hmm........no one having the same problems using this router with WOW?
by the way, would getting a new modem solve the problem? i was already thinking of getting a new modem anyway
SpinNaker
02-05-2008, 03:27 PM
if u can get your hands on 1, w/o paying a cent... y not? :D
i'm using tis router too... but I don't play WoW... *grin*
coolstardy
11-05-2008, 02:25 PM
hey guys do any of you have problem hooking up to the wifi of the DIR-655 with yur PDA? Crap im having a big load of problem connecting and detecting it.
chaicka
11-05-2008, 05:25 PM
hey guys do any of you have problem hooking up to the wifi of the DIR-655 with yur PDA? Crap im having a big load of problem connecting and detecting it.
It may be configuration.
I had similar issue with my blackberry initially too, until I patched the blackberry software and also fine-tune configurations (on both BB and 655), now there is no more connection keeps dropping issue or unable to detect the Wi-Fi network issue.
MarineX
11-05-2008, 11:20 PM
select mixed 802.11g and 802.11b <- it will work but not with 802.11n, 802.11g and 802.11b
try it, it might helps.
i believe its compatible issue with your PDA.
cyhchong
01-06-2008, 11:00 AM
Just found out that 1.11SH is for A1 hardware. After flashing from 1.10WW to 1.11SH, I have dc issues. However, if you guys are adventurous, you can use a 1.11EA firmware from Taiwan written for A3 hardware. That should solve the probs like hanging, rebooting etc. Check it out.
http://www.dlinktw.com.tw/support/download_view_get.asp?sno=MSBPLO&RelType=Firmware&ModelSno=NRENFO&HWsno=BFKDJI
Use it at your own risk though...
WPA/WEP dont affect the signal. It could be incomptability of the network adapter with the Dlink. I believe you still using the Linksys adapter?
WEP/WPA affect the actual throughput.
Draft-N has better coverage if you are using also Draft-N Adapter. If using the normal G-Mode, the coverage in fact the same as any other G-Mode Wireless and no increased in coverage.
Position of the router antenna is important. Note that the Dlink router is using 2.5 dbi which is slightly weaker as compare to DGL-4300 which is using 5dbi antenna.
Channel setting is also important but if you have set it to Dlink Draft-N mode. Channel will be Fixed.
If you do not have Draft-N adapter, then you can try lower to G-Mode and check the signal strength again.
PS: I am selling my Dlink Draft-N USB adapter in ebay as I gotta myself a PCIe instead.
http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=120250146031
richneo
01-06-2008, 11:41 AM
Just found out that 1.11SH is for A1 hardware. After flashing from 1.10WW to 1.11SH, I have dc issues. However, if you guys are adventurous, you can use a 1.11EA firmware from Taiwan written for A3 hardware. That should solve the probs like hanging, rebooting etc. Check it out.
http://www.dlinktw.com.tw/support/download_view_get.asp?sno=MSBPLO&RelType=Firmware&ModelSno=NRENFO&HWsno=BFKDJI
Use it at your own risk though...
hi!
thnx for your wild speculations.
1.11Sh is not only for A1 hardware.
Its for A1 to A3 and starhub is giving free A3 with 1.11SH firmware shipped.
iirc the only difference in Sh firmware and none SH fimrware is just the multicast enabled by default to support ivew thats all.
:)
forgot to mention.. hardware A1 is only sold in USA with green led instead of blue.
in singapore we can only find A2 (very few in sls now) and A3 (almost every where) (these with blue led)
cyhchong
01-06-2008, 12:05 PM
Thanks for the info. Actually it was not speculation, I did have DC issues and hanging issues with 1.11SH. I have to revert to the 1.10 after. However, the Taiwanese version did solve my problems. No DC, no hanging etc. Where can I download 1.11SH that Starhub is shipping specifically for A3 hardware? Appreciate if you can advise. I did download the 1.11SH from dlink.com.sg and it is for A1 hardware unfortunately. Thanks in advance.
hi!
thnx for your wild speculations.
1.11Sh is not only for A1 hardware.
Its for A1 to A3 and starhub is giving free A3 with 1.11SH firmware shipped.
iirc the only difference in Sh firmware and none SH fimrware is just the multicast enabled by default to support ivew thats all.
:)
forgot to mention.. hardware A1 is only sold in USA with green led instead of blue.
in singapore we can only find A2 (very few in sls now) and A3 (almost every where) (these with blue led)
richneo
01-06-2008, 12:33 PM
Thanks for the info. Actually it was not speculation, I did have DC issues and hanging issues with 1.11SH. I have to revert to the 1.10 after. However, the Taiwanese version did solve my problems. No DC, no hanging etc. Where can I download 1.11SH that Starhub is shipping specifically for A3 hardware? Appreciate if you can advise. I did download the 1.11SH from dlink.com.sg and it is for A1 hardware unfortunately. Thanks in advance.
like i mention just now, there is not such thing as 1.11SH is for A1 only. 1.11SH works for both A2 and A3 which is sold in Singapore
Makes no sense because Singapore does not sell A1 version which is already replaced by A2 and A3..
1.11SH firmware is basically just 1.11 firmware which is the same as around the world except that it had multicast enabled by default.
So if you find that 1.11 firmware from other website solve your problems, it might be due to coincidence or enable multicast is giving you problems.
thats about all.. keke so u can stop speculating about A1 and A3 liaoz :D
sorry if i am abit blunt hehe but its better to bring the correct message across rather then spreading wrong information :s34:
liangtam
01-06-2008, 02:15 PM
The code from TW and SG for the same revision is the same, u can use a CRC checker for the non Starhub version.
cyhchong
01-06-2008, 03:16 PM
Thanks. I also want clarity. Basically, the naming convention on the D-Link SG website implies that the firmware is for "A1" hardware unless of course it is put there for fun then I have nothing to say:
http://global.dlink.com.sg/site_support/DIR-655/Firmware/DIR655A1_V111SHB00.bin
comparing that to D-Link Taiwan which stipulates "A3"... once again unless it is put there for no reason:
http://www.dlinktw.com.tw/temp/dk2Support_Firmware/632/DIR655A3_FW111EAB06.bin
If it is hardware independent, there should not be any indication referencing to hardware revision at all. It is confusing, just wanna be crystal clear.
like i mention just now, there is not such thing as 1.11SH is for A1 only. 1.11SH works for both A2 and A3 which is sold in Singapore
Makes no sense because Singapore does not sell A1 version which is already replaced by A2 and A3..
1.11SH firmware is basically just 1.11 firmware which is the same as around the world except that it had multicast enabled by default.
So if you find that 1.11 firmware from other website solve your problems, it might be due to coincidence or enable multicast is giving you problems.
thats about all.. keke so u can stop speculating about A1 and A3 liaoz :D
sorry if i am abit blunt hehe but its better to bring the correct message across rather then spreading wrong information :s34:
bangky
01-06-2008, 03:33 PM
cyhchong, not sure what kind of disconnection issues you're having there - perhaps you could provide more detailed information on that by checking your router logs.
Anw in retrospect, I used to have disconnection issues with a hw. rev. A3 router repeatedly booting itself with an "AP (access point) crash" indicated in the logs. Changing to an unoccupied radio channel solved the problem.
liangtam
01-06-2008, 03:50 PM
Don't think too much, just flash. D-Link will replace with lifetime wrty also ma.
BTW, the website did says A3
http://www.dlink.com.sg/Starhub/downloads.asp
Asakura
06-06-2008, 12:38 PM
thks richneo bro
disable QoS did help. but it was down to my network adapter's settings
kinda not very user friendly.
had to set the duplex, buffer and all sorts of stuff before its able to be normal.
last tested was 30000 dwnload, 150 upload
CyberMew
06-06-2008, 06:58 PM
is a2 inferior to a3? cos i got the a2 one.. i tot newer=betteR? :/
liangtam
06-06-2008, 07:11 PM
is a2 inferior to a3? cos i got the a2 one.. i tot newer=betteR? :/
think ish better
however, not applies eberytime tho, rike the wrt54g
EVO13
07-06-2008, 11:42 AM
My 655 just dead... where i can send for servicing?
I lost my receipt
CarteBlanche
07-06-2008, 11:49 AM
I lost my receipt
Sorry to hear about your plight, check this link out for more info http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?p=29330998 Receipt-wise i think better go call them to find out. Good luck dude!
richneo
07-06-2008, 11:53 AM
I lost my receipt
Support News / Announcement
With effect from 9th June 2008, D-Link Service Centre will be relocated from The Synergy Building to the following address :
D-Link Service Centre
18 Boon Lay Way, Tradehub 21 Unit 10-138, Singapore 609966
Service Center Hotline : (65) 6774 6233 [Press 3]
24x7 Technical Support Hotline : (65) 6622 9355
Operating Hours : Monday - Friday (9am to 6pm)
SBS bus no. alighting at the doorstep of TradeHub 21 : SBS Bus No. 52, 99, 105, 188
Visit Google Map for driving direction. Free parking.
To be eligible for an exchange at D-Link's appointed Authorised RMA Centre such as PCPro Computer Services, you need to fulfil the following requirement :
You MUST produce a LOCAL receipt / Proof of Purchase
Equipment MUST NOT be physically damaged
Serial Number MUST be legible
IMPORTANT
* If any of the above is not fulfilled, it will be rejected by D-Link Authorised RMA Centre and you may visit D-Link’s Service Center should you need to do a replacement.
* In order to service or to replace your product in a timely manner, always call our service center to check or to make a reservation before visiting the service center.
http://www.dlink.com.sg/support/supportnews.asp
receipt lost go to their service center at trade hub
cpuer
07-06-2008, 12:05 PM
Support News / Announcement
With effect from 9th June 2008, D-Link Service Centre will be relocated from The Synergy Building to the following address :
D-Link Service Centre
18 Boon Lay Way, Tradehub 21 Unit 10-138, Singapore 609966
Service Center Hotline : (65) 6774 6233 [Press 3]
24x7 Technical Support Hotline : (65) 6622 9355
Operating Hours : Monday - Friday (9am to 6pm)
SBS bus no. alighting at the doorstep of TradeHub 21 : SBS Bus No. 52, 99, 105, 188
Visit Google Map for driving direction. Free parking.
To be eligible for an exchange at D-Link's appointed Authorised RMA Centre such as PCPro Computer Services, you need to fulfil the following requirement :
You MUST produce a LOCAL receipt / Proof of Purchase
Equipment MUST NOT be physically damaged
Serial Number MUST be legible
IMPORTANT
* If any of the above is not fulfilled, it will be rejected by D-Link Authorised RMA Centre and you may visit D-Link’s Service Center should you need to do a replacement.
* In order to service or to replace your product in a timely manner, always call our service center to check or to make a reservation before visiting the service center.
http://www.dlink.com.sg/support/supportnews.asp
receipt lost go to their service center at trade hub
http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?msa=0&msid=104785091687993769960.00044e45a5fc986e41e92
richneo
07-06-2008, 01:44 PM
yar 1 bus stop away from their old service center
Asakura
07-06-2008, 03:47 PM
Something seems wierd now,
i went to speedtest,
i got this
http://www.speedtest.net/result/280989483.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/280990910.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
everything starts almost immediately, until the upload part, it takes about 40secs-1min to start
i can't enter webs like google gmail yahoo and quite a few sg sites
i have no problem with hotmail soccernet and alot of other webs outside sg
everything is so perfectly fine, just that i'm kinda like stuck with surfing in only certain webs, not that they do not load, smth lk...
gmail.com will load, but when it changes to mail.google.com, it stops completely.
i don't know what seems to be the problem, even when i'm viewing the router's page, it takes very long to load..i'm on 1.11sh
richneo
07-06-2008, 03:53 PM
ur ping time reply of 102ms might suggest to me that u haave some background apps running and using ur connection
if there are no other cmoputer switched on in ur network, ensure that ur wireless is secured and do a netstat -a to see if wat background apps is running
Asakura
07-06-2008, 08:56 PM
i see alot of TIME WAIT
anyway the biggest problem is that websites like yahoo google i can't enter...gmail....zzzz
its getting sick
i dun think its my router. cuz now im directly connected to the connection...
richneo
07-06-2008, 09:01 PM
i see alot of TIME WAIT
anyway the biggest problem is that websites like yahoo google i can't enter...gmail....zzzz
its getting sick
i dun think its my router. cuz now im directly connected to the connection...
bro try a netstat -a and post here
Asakura
07-06-2008, 09:11 PM
ok er..in cmd rite? the result is VERY VERY long...
TCP home-desktop:58011 209.133.121.112.available.above.net:38873 ESTAB
LISHED
TCP home-desktop:58011 209.133.121.190.available.above.net:50545 ESTAB
LISHED
TCP home-desktop:58011 209.133.122.30.available.above.net:44655 ESTABL
ISHED
TCP home-desktop:58011 209.133.122.133.available.above.net:40349 ESTAB
LISHED
TCP home-desktop:58011 209.133.122.204.available.above.net:34099 ESTAB
LISHED
TCP home-desktop:58011 217.202.126.207:3766 ESTABLISHED
TCP home-desktop:58011 bb219-74-40-98.singnet.com.sg:1888 ESTABLISHED
TCP home-desktop:58011 88.196.78.222.broad.np.fj.dynamic.163data.com.cn
:1792 ESTABLISHED
TCP home-desktop:58011 61.213.78.222.broad.np.fj.dynamic.163data.com.cn
:4855 ESTABLISHED
TCP home-desktop:58011 74.61.216.222.broad.nn.gx.dynamic.163data.com.cn
:2160 ESTABLISHED
TCP home-desktop:1188 home-desktop:0 LISTENING
TCP home-desktop:2548 localhost:30606 TIME_WAIT
TCP home-desktop:2567 localhost:30606 TIME_WAIT
TCP home-desktop:2570 localhost:30606 TIME_WAIT
TCP home-desktop:2588 localhost:30606 TIME_WAIT
TCP home-desktop:2591 localhost:30606 TIME_WAIT
this is part of the results. its toooooo long to post
i realised if i change a network adapter. i can go into gmail. i can delete mails and stuff..BUT i can't read any mail at all...hais
liangtam
07-06-2008, 09:16 PM
this is part of the results. its toooooo long to post
i realised if i change a network adapter. i can go into gmail. i can delete mails and stuff..BUT i can't read any mail at all...hais
u must post everything
netstat -ab is preferable, but very much longer
To help u, try " netstat -ab >> C:\output.txt "
You can copy from the txt file then
liangtam
07-06-2008, 09:19 PM
As far as above result are of concern, you're running P2P. Which will provide an unfair result.
Asakura
07-06-2008, 09:30 PM
Active Connections
Proto Local Address Foreign Address State PID
TCP home-desktop:epmap home-desktop:0 LISTENING 1388
c:\windows\system32\WS2_32.dll
C:\WINDOWS\system32\RPCRT4.dll
c:\windows\system32\rpcss.dll
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
-- unknown component(s) --
[svchost.exe]
TCP home-desktop:microsoft-ds home-desktop:0 LISTENING 4
[System]
TCP home-desktop:netbios-ssn home-desktop:0 LISTENING 4
[System]
TCP home-desktop:netbios-ssn home-desktop:0 LISTENING 4
[System]
TCP home-desktop:1313 home-desktop:0 LISTENING 2448
[alg.exe]
TCP home-desktop:8012 home-desktop:0 LISTENING 996
[Explorer.EXE]
TCP home-desktop:30606 home-desktop:0 LISTENING 988
[ekrn.exe]
TCP home-desktop:2105 localhost:2106 ESTABLISHED 192
[firefox.exe]
TCP home-desktop:2106 localhost:2105 ESTABLISHED 192
[firefox.exe]
TCP home-desktop:2140 localhost:2141 ESTABLISHED 192
[firefox.exe]
TCP home-desktop:2141 localhost:2140 ESTABLISHED 192
[firefox.exe]
TCP home-desktop:2937 localhost:8012 ESTABLISHED 192
[firefox.exe]
TCP home-desktop:8012 localhost:2937 ESTABLISHED 996
[Explorer.EXE]
TCP home-desktop:1038 ppp121-44-208-210.lns1.hba1.internode.on.net:44369 FIN_WAIT_1 1488
[System]
TCP home-desktop:58011 41.226.162.106:2432 FIN_WAIT_1 1488
[System]
TCP home-desktop:58011 60.174.158.64:2727 FIN_WAIT_1 1488
[System]
TCP home-desktop:58011 60.174.158.64:2341 FIN_WAIT_1 1488
[System]
TCP home-desktop:58011 60.174.158.64:2917 FIN_WAIT_1 1488
[System]
TCP home-desktop:58011 c-67-163-69-66.hsd1.il.comcast.net:1555 FIN_WAIT_1 1488
[System]
TCP home-desktop:58011 cm46.kappa99.maxonline.com.sg:2405 FIN_WAIT_2 1488
[System]
TCP home-desktop:58011 pool-72-82-4-51.prvdri.east.verizon.net:50596 FIN_WAIT_2 1488
[System]
TCP home-desktop:58011 140.154.165.220.broad.lc.yn.dynamic.163data.com.cn:1954 FIN_WAIT_2 1488
[System]
TCP home-desktop:2383 localhost:30606 CLOSE_WAIT 996
[Explorer.EXE]
TCP home-desktop:2938 localhost:30606 CLOSE_WAIT 996
[Explorer.EXE]
TCP home-desktop:8012 localhost:2382 CLOSE_WAIT 996
[Explorer.EXE]
TCP home-desktop:58011 host103-100-dynamic.17-87-r.retail.telecomitalia.it:4408 LAST_ACK 1488
[System]
TCP home-desktop:1041 CPE001c10081d60-CM0017ee637616.cpe.net.cable.rogers.com:50838 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:1052 a229.ADSL.MELITA.net.mt:30163 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:1053 adsl-129-199.dynamic.panet.co.yu:31629 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:1061 82-44-17-11.cable.ubr04.croy.blueyonder.co.uk:48746 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:1062 host86-149-10-159.range86-149.btcentralplus.com:47574 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:1073 host222-53-dynamic.21-79-r.retail.telecomitalia.it:40033 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:1076 host120-167-dynamic.1-87-r.retail.telecomitalia.it:40586 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:1083 h152017.upc-h.chello.nl:23607 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:1098 61.213.78.222.broad.np.fj.dynamic.163data.com.cn:7011 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:1110 140-109-229-149.adsl.sinica.edu.tw:25882 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:1118 52-128-21-190.adsl.tie.cl:50699 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:1126 host81-157-92-197.range81-157.btcentralplus.com:19572 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:1140 host182-253-dynamic.36-79-r.retail.telecomitalia.it:12577 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:1148 ppp-98-50.32-151.iol.it:61965 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:1159 athedsl-92062.home.otenet.gr:37149 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:1160 213.196.66.60:25811 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:1161 host225-65-dynamic.182-80-r.retail.telecomitalia.it:4662 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:1168 c79-160.i07-20.onvol.net:nntp TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:3215 tc-in-f127.google.com:http TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:3226 tc-in-f127.google.com:http TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:3229 web2.hardwarezone.com:http TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:3231 207.211.21.16:http TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:3270 207.211.21.16:http TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:3272 207.211.21.16:http TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:3283 sfo-agg-n28.panthercdn.com:http TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:3339 sfo-agg-n28.panthercdn.com:http TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:3343 207.211.21.16:http TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:3354 207.211.21.16:http TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 38.100.25.136:33085 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 38.100.135.216:35167 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 38.100.135.66:57201 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 ppp-58-9-5-4.revip2.asianet.co.th:1095 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 60.174.158.64:3112 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 host-62-10-65-198.cust-adsl.tiscali.it:1314 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 host197-121-dynamic.0-79-r.retail.telecomitalia.it:4158 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 81.193.73.102:50952 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 83-103-90-52.ip.fastwebnet.it:13593 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 gw-lt-s1.bt.ktu.lt:60690 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 254.25.222.87.dynamic.jazztel.es:23850 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 tha68-1-88-163-12-172.fbx.proxad.net:2456 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 ppp-88-217-98-200.dynamic.mnet-online.de:2592 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 AGrenoble-156-1-69-116.w90-41.abo.wanadoo.fr:1094 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 159.223.190.90.dyn.estpak.ee:50219 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 cust-159-26.on3.ontelecoms.gr:2627 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 122.224.166.159:2679 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 20119127137.user.veloxzone.com.br:2544 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 209.66.117.221.available.above.net:42406 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 209.66.117.174.available.above.net:51738 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 209.66.117.246.available.above.net:50648 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 209.66.117.166.available.above.net:49276 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 209.66.117.232.available.above.net:36338 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 209.133.122.165.available.above.net:52058 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 209.133.121.202.available.above.net:56283 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 209.133.122.82.available.above.net:36414 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 209.133.122.204.available.above.net:47640 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 209.133.121.28.available.above.net:35384 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 209.133.121.53.available.above.net:38959 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 209.133.121.229.available.above.net:46054 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 209.133.122.72.available.above.net:40832 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 209.133.121.96.available.above.net:53113 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 209.133.121.198.available.above.net:32989 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 209.133.121.230.available.above.net:39987 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 209.133.122.81.available.above.net:55834 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 209.133.121.112.available.above.net:60748 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 bl3-236-211.dsl.telepac.pt:56659 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:58011 217.199.133.122:4846 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:3197 localhost:30606 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:3216 localhost:30606 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:3222 localhost:30606 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:3225 localhost:30606 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:3228 localhost:30606 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:3230 localhost:30606 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:3255 localhost:30606 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:3271 localhost:30606 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:3282 localhost:30606 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:3338 localhost:30606 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:3341 localhost:30606 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:3344 localhost:30606 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:8012 localhost:3281 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:8012 localhost:3227 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:8012 localhost:3337 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:8012 localhost:3217 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:8012 localhost:3214 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:8012 localhost:3342 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:8012 localhost:3198 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:8012 localhost:3224 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:8012 localhost:3175 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:8012 localhost:3254 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:8012 localhost:3196 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:8012 localhost:3269 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:8012 localhost:3171 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:8012 localhost:3340 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:8012 localhost:3220 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:30606 localhost:3219 TIME_WAIT 0
TCP home-desktop:30606 localhost:3181 TIME_WAIT 0
UDP home-desktop:isakmp *:* 1148
[lsass.exe]
UDP home-desktop:2160 *:* 1932
C:\WINDOWS\system32\mswsock.dll
c:\windows\system32\DNSAPI.dll
c:\windows\system32\dnsrslvr.dll
[svchost.exe]
UDP home-desktop:microsoft-ds *:* 4
[System]
UDP home-desktop:4500 *:* 1148
[lsass.exe]
UDP home-desktop:1025 *:* 1932
C:\WINDOWS\system32\mswsock.dll
c:\windows\system32\DNSAPI.dll
c:\windows\system32\dnsrslvr.dll
-- unknown component(s) --
[svchost.exe]
UDP home-desktop:1314 *:* 1480
[MsnMsgr.Exe]
UDP home-desktop:netbios-dgm *:* 4
[System]
UDP home-desktop:netbios-ns *:* 4
[System]
UDP home-desktop:15614 *:* 1480
[MsnMsgr.Exe]
UDP home-desktop:ntp *:* 1844
c:\windows\system32\w32time.dll
ntdll.dll
C:\WINDOWS\system32\kernel32.dll
[svchost.exe]
UDP home-desktop:8190 *:* 1480
[MsnMsgr.Exe]
ntdll.dll
[svchost.exe]
UDP home-desktop:netbios-ns *:* 4
[System]
UDP home-desktop:netbios-dgm *:* 4
[System]
ntdll.dll
[svchost.exe]
richneo
07-06-2008, 09:33 PM
As far as above result are of concern, you're running P2P. Which will provide an unfair result.
yar can see he has background apps running
maybe that exlpains his abit higher then normal ping response of 10X instad of 2x
Asakura
07-06-2008, 09:45 PM
hmmmm
i duno wad are those app actually...
other den my anti virus, and msn..
wad's most impt is my surfing problem..lol
in hwz, i got no problem during peak hrs. its still so smooth..but i cant even enter a web like google.
liangtam
07-06-2008, 09:57 PM
looks more rike chiur PC is already compromised riao...
Asakura
07-06-2008, 10:14 PM
huh? meaning? :S
sorry very noob
richneo
07-06-2008, 10:22 PM
try googling lsass.exe
Asakura
07-06-2008, 10:26 PM
lol
cant go google at all haha
sry i mean i can load up www.google.com
but the search will not work
yahoo as well
liangtam
07-06-2008, 10:31 PM
lol
cant go google at all haha
sry i mean i can load up www.google.com
but the search will not work
yahoo as well
the more and more it sounds like u got ur OS infected.
Asakura
07-06-2008, 10:38 PM
Yaa
most likely is my OS, cuz another problem i see here is that
my Automatic Update cannot be turned on.
it keeps saying its off
when its alr on..
and my explorer.exe keeps on hang...
i think i better do a repair or reinstall be4 i come back again
Asakura
07-06-2008, 10:56 PM
i got my fren to google it for me..
some say its a virus
some say even thou its sort of virus but shldnt delete...
and tis file seems to exist in alot of systems...
Asakura
07-06-2008, 11:34 PM
the more and more it sounds like u got ur OS infected.
but the funny thing is
i change network adapter
i can go into google and use it
and same goes to yahoo and gmail.
zzzz
goenitz33
08-06-2008, 11:06 PM
just like to check
today at Challenger i saw 2 exact DIR655 in different packaging.
any difference ?
1 in a smaller box like those normal routers & 1 in a premium bigger box o.o
besides packaging no difference right?
richneo
08-06-2008, 11:10 PM
just like to check
today at Challenger i saw 2 exact DIR655 in different packaging.
any difference ?
1 in a smaller box like those normal routers & 1 in a premium bigger box o.o
besides packaging no difference right?
smaller box i think is hardware A3 bigger one if im not wrong is A2
could be wrong.. check wat it write on the serial number on the box
ayushinx
27-06-2008, 01:17 AM
my dir-655 is weirdly slow.. any idea? basically i replaced it with my old befw11sv4. my new dir655 always disconnects me somehow :S
cpuer
27-06-2008, 08:30 AM
my dir-655 is weirdly slow.. any idea? basically i replaced it with my old befw11sv4. my new dir655 always disconnects me somehow :S
try to update the router and the adpter drivers, change the channel around in the router.
Desmond_
29-06-2008, 08:39 AM
btw the current cheapest is still $219? Thank
suppin
01-07-2008, 09:12 PM
Hi all,
I am considering on getting this router, and from what I gathered, I will need to have a separate modem to connect to right? (I'm on SNBB) If so, is the Thomson ST536v6 good enough to provide a good BT connection with this router? Thanks!
kivine
01-07-2008, 09:31 PM
guys, a qn.
how many NAS can i attached to this 655?
liangtam
01-07-2008, 09:34 PM
as many as u like???
kivine
01-07-2008, 09:57 PM
as many as u like???
sure bo? Is it limited by the amount of LAN ports which is 4 on the 655 ?
liangtam
01-07-2008, 10:24 PM
sure bo? Is it limited by the amount of LAN ports which is 4 on the 655 ?
Nope.
NAS is afterall a computer equipment that has its own OS, RAM.
kivine
01-07-2008, 10:40 PM
let's assume i have 5 dlink-323-NAS. how could i connect all 5 to the router?
shadowandy
01-07-2008, 10:56 PM
get a switch (gigabit preferred), and hook up them up. I bought a gigabit switch (http://www.shadowandy.net/2008/06/some-pictures-of-dgs-1008d.htm) so that i could attach more devices to the DIR-655
liangtam
01-07-2008, 10:57 PM
Oh, thats easy
DIR655 <--> Switch <--> DNS-323
Let me make another example
DIR655 <--> 5p Switch <--> 5p Switch <--> 5p Switch <--> 5p Switch <--> DNS323
You can keep expanding and cascade actually.
The latter example will give you a NET gain of: (4-1)+(5-2)+(5-2)+(5-2)+(5-1) = 16 usable port.
A single switch with more ports is better actually if you are in intention of upgrading in near future
kivine
02-07-2008, 12:42 AM
will this cause a certain lag due to an additional hardware?
Let's say w/o a switch, the max i could connect is 4 NAS?
liangtam
02-07-2008, 01:10 AM
will this cause a certain lag due to an additional hardware?
Let's say w/o a switch, the max i could connect is 4 NAS?
Its on the LAN segment leh, communication time negligible.
Max 4 by wired means w/o switch yes.
kivine
02-07-2008, 10:39 AM
alrighty, thanks linagtam and shadowandy.
suppin
02-07-2008, 01:21 PM
can anyone advise if the ST536V6 is good enough to provide stable BT performance with this modem?
richneo
02-07-2008, 02:51 PM
set ST536 to bridge mode
should be very stable
sAxman_Returns
14-08-2008, 06:34 PM
the price is still very high deneh.....
ry0suk1
15-08-2008, 12:10 AM
saxman dont dig out a threat so long ago man...
where is the threat u post ?
sAxman_Returns
15-08-2008, 12:21 AM
er...how long is long? i dunno if it's sold leh....what threat you talking about?
ry0suk1
15-08-2008, 12:24 AM
02-07-2008 last posted 1month+ liao lo...
recently saw quite a number of yr thread..
sold? u mean this router sold out?
sAxman_Returns
15-08-2008, 01:10 AM
oh sorry, got mixed up with another thread.
This product is still selling what? only dig 1 month+ old thread leh...3 years thread I also dig one, 1 month is nothing lar...aiyo....
it's still better than me create another new thread right?
galliano
15-08-2008, 11:56 AM
Any idea how much 655 will be @ Comex soon? Must queue up again?
Side-track: does it support HomePlug connections? QoS?
ry0suk1
15-08-2008, 03:23 PM
comex for this well known router, should cost no less then 190... lol
+ some freebies
Dir655 QOS is awarded one
MarineX
15-08-2008, 09:02 PM
Any idea how much 655 will be @ Comex soon? Must queue up again?
Side-track: does it support HomePlug connections? QoS?
yes it does for the above both mentioned(side-track).
djcoolmax
15-08-2008, 11:57 PM
the 655 is much better then my prev (LinksysWRT54G). more stable, Gigabit LAN (esp useful when connected to DNS323).
Price has come down already.. should be around $200 range.
Vulpix
16-08-2008, 12:43 AM
I want 855...
MarineX
16-08-2008, 07:34 AM
I want 855...
me too.. hahas.
richneo
16-08-2008, 09:29 AM
me too.. hahas.
me three..
sAxman_Returns
16-08-2008, 09:38 AM
sell your 655 to me lar hookay?
MarineX
16-08-2008, 09:54 AM
sell your 655 to me lar hookay?
will, if 855 launches.
Bieffe
17-08-2008, 05:14 PM
USB behind is for what us? Print Server?
richneo
17-08-2008, 05:21 PM
USB behind is for what us? Print Server?
WCN .
Bieffe
17-08-2008, 05:59 PM
Then for DNS behind router should point to the IP of the router right?
But this fellow say otherwise wor
http://www.portforward.com/networking/static-vista.htm
What mentioned there is not when we are behind a router ya?
richneo
17-08-2008, 06:18 PM
point to ip of router also will be relayed by the router to ur isp assigned dns
unless u specifically wan to use dns belonging to another isp
Bieffe
22-08-2008, 01:30 AM
D-Link Wireless N Promotion. Trade in any Router and get $40 off instantly with any Wireless N routers purchased. (DIR-615 and DIR-655)
Secure your wireless network with just a press of the button with Wireless Protected Setup (WPS)
IEEE802.11n provides Wireless throughput up to 300mbps
Supports WPA and WPA2
Comex 2008 Offer
Promotion: TBA
Price: TBA
BUT I JUST THREW AWAY MY OLD ROUTER!
OT alittle Linksys just announced DUAL-N band router
http://www.coolgadgetszone.com/2008/07/03/computer/peripherals/cisco-announces-wrt610n-simultaneous-dual-n-band-router/
Will this beat DLink 655?
liangtam
22-08-2008, 03:06 AM
throw away, so wasteful...
see lor, u value overall performance or just for the dual band feature
Bieffe
22-08-2008, 02:39 PM
But dual band should improve overall performace right and Linksys also have their own traffic mgt chip in this new router 610. Just wondering can Linksys new traffic mgt beat Dlink's traffic mgt which so far get good reviews.
Besides i not confident of the Linksys no antena design. I suspect in open area those with exposed antenna sure better. This is also one reason why i may not be getting a Linksys.
Is not working any more so keep for what.....see already sians.....besides this is my 2nd SMC with problem that just Kaput for dunno why.
liangtam
22-08-2008, 03:47 PM
u shld gibe it to me :D
dual band one thing, main processor and subcomponent chip another, then how much u can get off qos chip oso nid test.
In short, read concise review, such as this: http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/content/view/30530/96/
Bieffe
22-08-2008, 03:51 PM
u shld gibe it to me :D
dual band one thing, main processor and subcomponent chip another, then how much u can get off qos chip oso nid test.
In short, read concise review, such as this: http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/content/view/30530/96/
Solid webby for the review. Also the Linksys got base 1000 for the WAN port.
tin.man789
24-08-2008, 08:29 PM
Hey guys. I got the DIR 655 thats attached to the ST 536v6 modem (unbridged cause i can't seem to put it on bridge mode). Somehow, the signal strength of the DIR 655 is rather weak. I got one neighbour downstairs/upstairs, his signal strength is damn strong as compared to my DIR 655. currently the DIR655 is in my room and signal is strong but when i go to living room, the signal is like damn weak. Weaker than my downstairs/upstairs neighbour whose signal is strong wherever i go (in my house) :p
Can anyone help me? cause now my father asking me to buy another router if i can't fix the weak signal.
Btw, a bit off topic, but whenever i try to put the ST 536 to bridge mode, during the configuration process, it tells me that i need to shutdown comp to finish up the configuration but when i restart the PC, nothin happens and the modem just remains the same.
chaicka
24-08-2008, 08:46 PM
Hey guys. I got the DIR 655 thats attached to the ST 536v6 modem (unbridged cause i can't seem to put it on bridge mode). Somehow, the signal strength of the DIR 655 is rather weak. I got one neighbour downstairs/upstairs, his signal strength is damn strong as compared to my DIR 655. currently the DIR655 is in my room and signal is strong but when i go to living room, the signal is like damn weak. Weaker than my downstairs/upstairs neighbour whose signal is strong wherever i go (in my house) :p
Can anyone help me? cause now my father asking me to buy another router if i can't fix the weak signal.
Btw, a bit off topic, but whenever i try to put the ST 536 to bridge mode, during the configuration process, it tells me that i need to shutdown comp to finish up the configuration but when i restart the PC, nothin happens and the modem just remains the same.
First of all, if you place the DIR-655 in your room and the room happens to be further away from the living room, while the neighbour's router is place nearer to your living room, of coz the signal would be stronger than yours. To make matter worst, some inconsiderate ignorant consumers upgrade the antenna of their wireless router/AP and thus, their signals interfer with their neighbours' WLAN.
Next, the antenna of your DIR-655, the position of it, distance from the wall, etc all contributes to the signal strength.
So, unless you tackle the root cause of the problem, else change almost any wireless router won't solve the problem.
Just to let you know, I stay in HDB EA and so far, among all the wireless routers I have used before (all stock antenna), DIR-655 has the most strongest signal and coverage.
sAxman_Returns
24-08-2008, 08:51 PM
aiya, just whack a stronger antenna lor, signals strength war!!!! later all tio cancer.....:s22:
tin.man789
24-08-2008, 09:08 PM
I'd say the living room is at most 10m away from my room. Even in my parents bedroom where its just about 5 meters away, the signal isn't great. On the other hand... my neighbour's signal is strong like hell everywhere in my house. Thats the weird thing. I tried in the kitchen, balcony and my brother's room, all got my neighbour's signal. Although some places its just 2 bars out of 4/5 bars, the internet speed speed is still fast. btw, my neighbour doesn't use any form of security...
in that case, say if i were to go with Saxman_returns words, how do i go about increasing my signal strength?
thanks for the reply btw
chaicka
24-08-2008, 09:39 PM
I'd say the living room is at most 10m away from my room. Even in my parents bedroom where its just about 5 meters away, the signal isn't great. On the other hand... my neighbour's signal is strong like hell everywhere in my house. Thats the weird thing. I tried in the kitchen, balcony and my brother's room, all got my neighbour's signal. Although some places its just 2 bars out of 4/5 bars, the internet speed speed is still fast. btw, my neighbour doesn't use any form of security...
in that case, say if i were to go with Saxman_returns words, how do i go about increasing my signal strength?
thanks for the reply btw
All have been said in my post...how you position the 655, the antenna. All plays a part in signal strength. Still no good then upgrade the 3 antennas to more powerful ones but it doesn't do much - juz transmit at higher signal and probably increase coverage but the client adapters still do not increase in transmission power/ability.
If the signal strength is so much of importance to your dad than actual performance, then do the above.
djcoolmax
25-08-2008, 11:24 AM
aiya, just whack a stronger antenna lor, signals strength war!!!! later all tio cancer.....:s22:
Erm.. there's no solid proof that RF signals cause cancer loh.... however...Smoking has and yet.. alot of people still smoke. :s31:
albertchng
25-08-2008, 12:20 PM
Create a directonal dish & place behind your antenna, point to whichever room your wireless client is in for maximum coverage.
sAxman_Returns
25-08-2008, 12:31 PM
well, i tell you, even you have the solid proof about excess exposure of RF signals casing cancel, people will still continue using it :s22:
galliano
25-08-2008, 05:30 PM
well, i tell you, even you have the solid proof about excess exposure of RF signals casing cancel, people will still continue using it :s22:
I do not think that anyone will forego wireless .. currently and in the future.
But then, switching to wireless N is an entirely different thing. :s8:
tin.man789
25-08-2008, 06:31 PM
All have been said in my post...how you position the 655, the antenna. All plays a part in signal strength. Still no good then upgrade the 3 antennas to more powerful ones but it doesn't do much - juz transmit at higher signal and probably increase coverage but the client adapters still do not increase in transmission power/ability.
If the signal strength is so much of importance to your dad than actual performance, then do the above.
Thing is, the performance is very much affected. I've switched the DIR655 to the living room but now it basically gives me the same problem of having bad signal in my room. Sometimes cannot even detect the DIR655 network. However, my neighbour's one is still going strong no matter where i go. Regarding the changing of antennas, is there a specific D-link branded Antenna i should go for?
sAxman_Returns
25-08-2008, 08:02 PM
why did you ask your neighbour about his set up? it could be his signal intefering yours.....
galliano
26-08-2008, 09:29 AM
Thing is, the performance is very much affected. I've switched the DIR655 to the living room but now it basically gives me the same problem of having bad signal in my room. Sometimes cannot even detect the DIR655 network. However, my neighbour's one is still going strong no matter where i go. Regarding the changing of antennas, is there a specific D-link branded Antenna i should go for?
Gd question. But normally for g/b routers, i think can go for any brand.
Ask you, wireless N routers can change antenna?... Hmm.. :s11: Sorry, i do not know much about N routers also.
liangtam
26-08-2008, 10:45 AM
Depends on model, even some g oso cannot change because the manufacturer integrate it with the plastic casing.
halocast
26-08-2008, 10:54 AM
wonder got any promo this time round for comex :)
liangtam
26-08-2008, 11:34 AM
just 2 days from now, shld be out soon
abstractthoughts
26-08-2008, 11:45 AM
Create a directonal dish & place behind your antenna, point to whichever room your wireless client is in for maximum coverage.
oh?? something new i learn today.
Bieffe
26-08-2008, 04:25 PM
wonder got any promo this time round for comex :)
See my previous post....there is a promo.
But needs trade in leh.
Bieffe
26-08-2008, 04:27 PM
why did you ask your neighbour about his set up? it could be his signal intefering yours.....
Well said change to location to higher up and then change the channel or bandwidth.
sAxman_Returns
26-08-2008, 06:13 PM
But needs trade in leh.
can post the link? trade in is fine :D
galliano
26-08-2008, 06:53 PM
But needs trade in leh.
Dude!! Link where?! :s12:
liangtam
26-08-2008, 07:06 PM
its listed on hwz comex article ma
albertchng
26-08-2008, 08:36 PM
Saw a 2nd hand 655 at Marketplace going for $100, dont know can buy or not? New one how much har?
ToriQQ
26-08-2008, 09:18 PM
starhub got redemption promo
sAxman_Returns
27-08-2008, 12:14 AM
where is da link?!!!!
Vulpix
28-08-2008, 10:41 PM
I just got the router after queueing for an hour... 159 I guess not so bad for just waiting around for a friend? :D
danxiaogui86
28-08-2008, 11:50 PM
anyone want the router? selling brand new from comex. pm me.!
Veron4
29-08-2008, 02:58 AM
hi guys, how to set Qos for utorrent so that i can easily surf web without having the page unable to load...
sAxman_Returns
29-08-2008, 03:24 AM
anyone want the router? selling brand new from comex. pm me.!
PM sent :D
Bieffe
30-08-2008, 01:11 AM
There is a CD inside the box...say install before connecting 655. WHat they have in the CD do we need to install it at all?
No benefit right?
liangtam
30-08-2008, 01:39 AM
CD can throw
MarineX
30-08-2008, 07:45 AM
agree, ethernet n wireless never require CD 1.
Veron4
30-08-2008, 03:15 PM
hi guys, since bought this router, my torrent is very slow even though the port is open correctly?
any ideas wat to fix this problem?
Vulpix
30-08-2008, 03:30 PM
hi guys, since bought this router, my torrent is very slow even though the port is open correctly?
any ideas wat to fix this problem?
Yah, change ISP. :s13: If you are on starsuck, it's normal.
galliano
30-08-2008, 03:57 PM
Yah, change ISP. :s13: If you are on starsuck, it's normal.
Did you change your settings? I guess in the end, is all about the tweaks.
Bieffe
30-08-2008, 04:20 PM
CD can throw
OK CD throw away....:s16:
Vulpix
30-08-2008, 04:36 PM
Yeah, tried a lot of tweaks but speeds are still terrible.
Bieffe
30-08-2008, 06:11 PM
Guys having problem my XP laptop cannot connect to the wireless. Is it due to WPA2 issue? Not supported by my b wireless on my XP notebook? There i see WEP and WPA and WPA-PSK only with authetication ATKP or AES. NO WPA2 leh. IS this my problem?
Guyver
30-08-2008, 06:17 PM
Guys having problem my XP laptop cannot connect to the wireless. Is it due to WPA2 issue? Not supported by my b wireless on my XP notebook? There i see WEP and WPA and WPA-PSK only with authetication ATKP or AES. NO WPA2 leh. IS this my problem?
need to configure ur laptop? . cuz laptop dun have the ability to support tat security feature.. ?
i using the same router . pretty gd :D
Veron4
30-08-2008, 08:03 PM
setting is the same as b4...
Veron4
30-08-2008, 08:04 PM
Yeah, tried a lot of tweaks but speeds are still terrible.
so can i presume currently it is SH at fault?
MarineX
30-08-2008, 09:22 PM
impossible its working fine with me for Windows XP on g my B only works well in mode of WPA/WPA2.
11b can only work well with WPA. WPA2 known for compatibility issues. Set as WPA and WPA2 if required.
yes, likely ba. unless someone can come out with the tweaks and stop saying theirs can soar and not showing the necessary tweaks.
my shub premium in e past can dl at 1398KB/s now only at most 200kb/s. pathetic. And that is like about a mth ago that i've experience such speeds le.
Bieffe
30-08-2008, 10:54 PM
impossible its working fine with me for Windows XP on g my B only works well in mode of WPA/WPA2.
11b can only work well with WPA. WPA2 known for compatibility issues. Set as WPA and WPA2 if required.
yes, likely ba. unless someone can come out with the tweaks and stop saying theirs can soar and not showing the necessary tweaks.
my shub premium in e past can dl at 1398KB/s now only at most 200kb/s. pathetic. And that is like about a mth ago that i've experience such speeds le.
So ur XP is on b wireless and working with WPA2?
Or urs is XP with g wireless working with WPA2? or is it both need to set to WPA to work? I already make mine WPA or WPA2 auto.....still can't connect....so need to use WPA only lah?
MY error message is "Windows is unable to find a certificate to log you on the the network"...always vailidating.
liangtam
31-08-2008, 12:02 AM
So ur XP is on b wireless and working with WPA2?
Or urs is XP with g wireless working with WPA2? or is it both need to set to WPA to work? I already make mine WPA or WPA2 auto.....still can't connect....so need to use WPA only lah?
MY error message is "Windows is unable to find a certificate to log you on the the network"...always vailidating.
Oh, this one I know.
Disable WCN
Vulpix
31-08-2008, 12:04 AM
That's the only conclusion I can come up with. I directly connected my starhub cable to my computer, and it was moving at like 3-4kb/s for a torrent I was trying. Took it out, plugged in my BBOM from Singtel, and suddenly the torrent shot up to 40-50kb/s. I can't think of anything else to blame.
My router is the DIR-655, so should be no problem?
Bieffe
31-08-2008, 01:02 AM
Oh, this one I know.
Disable WCN
Can teach me how to do it?
liangtam
31-08-2008, 02:50 AM
its somewhere in the menu only ma
MarineX
31-08-2008, 07:47 AM
Can teach me how to do it?
Gateway > Advanced > WI-FI Protected Setup
Bieffe
31-08-2008, 04:04 PM
Gateway > Advanced > WI-FI Protected SetupSorry these options can be found on XP itself from network connections or the router side? Network protected setup then select what ah? Thanks.
Bieffe
31-08-2008, 04:18 PM
its somewhere in the menu only maYou mean the CD ah?Screen thru the whole manual also dun have something abt disabling WCN nei.
liangtam
31-08-2008, 05:54 PM
Oops, sorry of the typo. It is WPS instead of WCN.
See MarineX steps
sAxman_Returns
31-08-2008, 07:13 PM
any idea how much does it cost now? may rush down last min to hoot a unit :s22:
liangtam
31-08-2008, 08:01 PM
This sort of small thingy wont drop price one.
Bieffe
31-08-2008, 08:08 PM
Oops, sorry of the typo. It is WPS instead of WCN.
See MarineX stepsLooking at the manual still cannot find WPS wor.....This is in the router setup right?
OK I went to Fujitsu webby and DL the driver for my wireless. Re installed the dame thing and disable the untiliy and select windows utiltiy and re-boot and finally connected. Check back the driver version, yes the driver has been rolled back to a older version.
ANyway Dlink help is as follows:
Step 1. Right click on the Icon of the Single Computer monitor on the lower right hand corner of your screen and right click, view available wireless
network.
Step 2. You will see a list of available wireless networks in your area..
Click Change Advanced Settings.
Step 3. Go to the Wireless Networks Section, click the under Preferred Network, Click Properties.
Step 4. Go to Authentication, untick the Enable IEEE802.1X box.
Step 5. Click Ok to on all the windows.
Step 6. Double check your settings again making sure that this box is not checked.
Step 7. Restart your computer.
Step 8. Try again to connect to your network.
What you should do on the router
=============================================
Step 1 Connect Your PC (Laptop) to the Router (Port 1,2,3,4 either one of them) using Network cable.
Step 2 Launch your IE (Internet explorer) and key in 192.168.0.1 in the address column and press enter.
Step 3 Enter your Username: admin and no password (if it is default) click on Log in
Step 4 At this point You will see a D-Link DIR-615/655 configuration page, click on ADVANCED > WI-FI PROTECTED SETUP.
Step 5 Please try to untick "Enable" at "Wi-Fi Protected Setup" category.
Step 6 Please click "Save Settings".
Step 7 Please click TOOLS > SYSTEM and press "Reboot The Device" at bottom side of the page.
Step 8 try to reconnect to your wireless network after the rebooting.
richardyuen
01-09-2008, 12:25 AM
Hi Bro & Sis,
I'm newbie in HardwareZone and Router products. I used to owend a ProLink Router and it works fine for me. And I just brought this D-Link DIR-655 as many of you guys give a number of good feedbacks. And I'm here to ask all bro and sis sme questions. I'm totally new to router so I hope you all can alighten me:o
1) I have install my router and link my ethernet to my both pc, they work fine. But, on my laptop there is a problem, the connect is as per normal, but at first it shows limits connection. After that I try to manaually key in IP, now the limits connection is off but there are no connection to the internet. On the Activity, under Sent there are some data, but Received there are nothing. So what should I do?
2) As both my internet speed always shows 100.0Mbps and my laptop shows 54Mbps. I'm using Starhub Maxonline Express. How and what can I do to make full use of the internet speed? This is my speedtest.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/316340106.png
3) When I download using bittorret, and there are few seeds but my downloading speed always like hit only 50kb/s. What can I do to increase the download speed?
Thanks for reading. And will wait for all the bro and sis replies.
Cheers
Yuen
liangtam
01-09-2008, 12:45 AM
Told u to follow MarineX steps liao mah.
The older adapter with no WPS support will keep mentioning the certificate thingy, especially if u went to press the side button since it will be fully activated.
liangtam
01-09-2008, 12:49 AM
1) For the laptop, pls remove any IP entry and allow the DHCP to assign instead. If you cannot get an assignment, it means there is a communication problem. Ensure the wireless encryption key is correct, WPA is recommended.
2) MOL Express is 8000. You're getting more than what u're suppose to.
3) Ensure green ticks at the bottom of BT client
Bieffe
01-09-2008, 02:00 AM
Told u to follow MarineX steps liao mah.
The older adapter with no WPS support will keep mentioning the certificate thingy, especially if u went to press the side button since it will be fully activated.But those setups are located where? The Dlink setup page or XP connections setup?
richardyuen
01-09-2008, 02:01 AM
Questions Back
1) Where do I check the wireless encryption key is correct? I heard that my lappy does not support WPA.
2) Does speedtest really helps? But some other website like download seems slow. Maple client can reach 500kb/s. Megaupload is about 80kb/s. Am I fully using or can I make it more faster in anyway?
4) What are the differents between high end and a low end router?
liangtam
01-09-2008, 02:10 AM
But those setups are located where? The Dlink setup page or XP connections setup?
Is it really that difficult to follow the 123 steps by MarineX?? :s22:
liangtam
01-09-2008, 02:15 AM
http://i33.tinypic.com/33bfgqt.jpg
MarineX
01-09-2008, 07:54 AM
Is it really that difficult to follow the 123 steps by MarineX?? :s22:
LOL.. unless he tell me he doesnt know what's a gateway.
shadowandy
01-09-2008, 10:46 AM
http://i33.tinypic.com/33bfgqt.jpg
Trust me, there are times even when idiot proof guides don't work. Somebody related to me that there are people who can't follow instructions that are accompanied by screenshots and detailed instructions.
leinad
01-09-2008, 11:05 AM
Trust me, there are times even when idiot proof guides don't work. Somebody related to me that there are people who can't follow instructions that are accompanied by screenshots and detailed instructions.
I can attest to that... Tried helping this person in Apple Clinic with step-by-step screenshot guides (coupled with arrow markers and all) and this person still refused to read. :s22:
To be fair, such people are few and far between. Let''s not assume the worst of everyone. :)
/Dan
albertchng
01-09-2008, 11:21 AM
Sorry these options can be found on XP itself from network connections or the router side? Network protected setup then select what ah? Thanks.
@ Bieffe... Some of us refer ROUTER as GATEWAY. If you do a IPCONFIG at Command Prompt, you will see a Default Gateway which usually the IP Address of your ROUTER.
shadowandy
01-09-2008, 12:34 PM
I can attest to that... Tried helping this person in Apple Clinic with step-by-step screenshot guides (coupled with arrow markers and all) and this person still refused to read. :s22:
To be fair, such people are few and far between. Let''s not assume the worst of everyone. :)
/Dan
Some of them are much worst! Blame that you are teaching the wrong thing if they follow the steps wrongly!
leonaheidern
01-09-2008, 12:34 PM
Erm how do I set QOS for utorrent and newsleecher
Lets say my NewsGroups is using SSL Port 563 can I do the following?
FOR QOS Settings
Name : Internet
Priority : 1
Protocol : 6(TCP)
Local IP RANGE 192.168.0.1 - 192.168.0.11
Remote IP Range : 0.0.0.0 - 255.255.255.0
Local Port Range : 80 - 80
Remote Port Range : 0 - 65535
Name : Utorrent
Priority : 254
Protocol : 257(Both)
Local Port Range : 32655 - 32655
Name : NewsGroups
Priority : 255
Protocol : 257(Both)
Local Port Range : 563 - 563
Thank you for your replies. My Fathers laptop in the other room using the DWA-140 keep getting disconnected whenever i turn the newsgroups and for high download speed. The newgroups has 20 simultaneous connections
I'm using starhub maxonline express(8000). and a Motorola SB5100 Modem.
ralph79
01-09-2008, 01:36 PM
Found 1.12SH on their Dlink's FTP site.
Anyone wanna test it out?
ftp://203.126.164.142/download/DIR-655/1.12SH
richardyuen
01-09-2008, 01:45 PM
Hi liangtam,
Thanks for your help. My lappy at last can connect.
But my question 2 & 4 unslove.
2) Does speedtest really helps? But some other website like download seems slow. Maple client can reach 500kb/s. Megaupload is about 80kb/s. Am I fully using or can I make it more faster in anyway?
4) What are the differents between high end and a low end router?
Cheers,
Yuen
MarineX
01-09-2008, 02:08 PM
Found 1.12SH on their Dlink's FTP site.
Anyone wanna test it out?
ftp://203.126.164.142/download/DIR-655/1.12SH
i m using it.. nothing seems significant.
converse2010
01-09-2008, 06:29 PM
Hmmm D-Link released 1.20 firmware already jus few days ago..
liangtam
01-09-2008, 06:29 PM
2) In some way, speedtest.net is accurate for Singapore server. If you wan to test download from Asiasoft, use a download manager and leech from different servers. bayou.asiasoft.net is sometimes overloaded anyway.
4) What do u think between a Pentium 2 n a Pentium 4?
bernwong
01-09-2008, 10:19 PM
Hi guys,
Need help! I upgraded from a linksys wrtg54 router to dir 655. My setup is a desktop PC connected to the router via a lan cable while my laptop uses wireless. Previously I share a Public folder between my PC and laptop and there is no problem accessing the folder.
After I changed to the DIR 655, my laptop could not see the public folder and vice versa. When I do a ping (either PC or Laptop using the correct IP address, they give me a 'destination host is unreachable' error. It is not my firewall setting as I have configured it correctly to see the addresses. I also uninstalled it to try without firewall and the same problem occurs.
I played with the router settings: disabled QOS, firewall, WISH etc but to no avail. Now here's the funny part, when I connect my laptop to the router via a LAN cable, they could immediately see each other's public folder (and I did'nt even have to configure my firewall to allow access even though the IP address is different - should I be worried?)
Anyone has any ideas what could be wrong? I already called dlink tech support and all they could offer was to reconfigure my folder sharing pointing me to microsoft's instructions on the web. Sheesh.
tks,
bernard
chaicka
01-09-2008, 10:44 PM
Hmmm D-Link released 1.20 firmware already jus few days ago..
Firmware v1.20 New Feature - Guest Zone
Extracted from Help for Guest Zone:
Guest Zone Selection
The selection helps you to define the Guest Zone scale.
Enable Guest Zone
Specifies whether the Guest Zone will be enabled or disabled.
Wireless Network Name
Provide a name for Guest Zone wireless network.
Enable Routing Between Zones
Use this section to enable routing between Host Zone and Guest Zone, Guest clients can not access Host clients' data without enable the function.
chaicka
01-09-2008, 10:48 PM
Hi guys,
Need help! I upgraded from a linksys wrtg54 router to dir 655. My setup is a desktop PC connected to the router via a lan cable while my laptop uses wireless. Previously I share a Public folder between my PC and laptop and there is no problem accessing the folder.
After I changed to the DIR 655, my laptop could not see the public folder and vice versa. When I do a ping (either PC or Laptop using the correct IP address, they give me a 'destination host is unreachable' error. It is not my firewall setting as I have configured it correctly to see the addresses. I also uninstalled it to try without firewall and the same problem occurs.
I played with the router settings: disabled QOS, firewall, WISH etc but to no avail. Now here's the funny part, when I connect my laptop to the router via a LAN cable, they could immediately see each other's public folder (and I did'nt even have to configure my firewall to allow access even though the IP address is different - should I be worried?)
Anyone has any ideas what could be wrong? I already called dlink tech support and all they could offer was to reconfigure my folder sharing pointing me to microsoft's instructions on the web. Sheesh.
tks,
bernard
What is the firmware version?
Is the option "WLAN Partition" enabled or disabled?
bernwong
01-09-2008, 10:55 PM
My firmware is v1.20 but v1.11SH gives the same problem. WLAN Partition is disabled. I tried enable just now but still the same problem.
tks,
bernard
liangtam
02-09-2008, 12:10 AM
Partitioning should be disabled.
Bieffe
02-09-2008, 01:59 AM
@ Bieffe... Some of us refer ROUTER as GATEWAY. If you do a IPCONFIG at Command Prompt, you will see a Default Gateway which usually the IP Address of your ROUTER.
Aiyo this is the part I didn't understand so sorry. Thanks for all the nice ppl who are helping. Is the continuous dedications of the nice forumers here that this FORum is the best and most informative.
I salute these selfless contributers!!!!:s12:
Bieffe
02-09-2008, 02:03 AM
http://i33.tinypic.com/33bfgqt.jpgJUst uncheck "Enable" right?
Does this lower the overall sercurity of the WLAN?
1. Go to router setup page
2. Look for the advance tab
3. On the right bottom u will see Wi-Fi protected setup, click on it
4. Uncheck "Enable"
5. Save settings and exit
What is WPS or Wi-Fi protected setup?
http://www.wi-fi.org/wifi-protected-setup
bernwong
02-09-2008, 09:47 AM
I think I narrowed down the problem. When I use the ping under the tools section, I actually can ping the IP address of my laptop. But when I try using the host name, it gives me an error saying host name is unresolved. When I ping from dos prompt, I will get destination host unreachable. So it seems it is a host name resolving issue? How can I fix it?
tks,
bernard
albertchng
02-09-2008, 10:46 AM
I think I narrowed down the problem. When I use the ping under the tools section, I actually can ping the IP address of my laptop. But when I try using the host name, it gives me an error saying host name is unresolved. When I ping from dos prompt, I will get destination host unreachable. So it seems it is a host name resolving issue? How can I fix it?
tks,
bernard
Can ping IP but cannot resolve domain name, you got specify correct DNS entries in your TCP/IP Properties?
If you run "nslookup www.singnet.com.sg" in command prompt, what you get in return?
HungryPillow
02-09-2008, 11:22 AM
Anyone update to 1.20 firmware yet? I want to update but it says it's only meant for North American markets and if I upgrade it will void my warranty...
bernwong
02-09-2008, 11:47 AM
Can ping IP but cannot resolve domain name, you got specify correct DNS entries in your TCP/IP Properties?
If you run "nslookup www.singnet.com.sg" in command prompt, what you get in return?
I get the following:
DNS request timed out.
timeout was 2 seconds.
Server: UnKnown
Address: 192.168.0.1
Non-authoritative answer:
Name: www.singnet.com.sg
Address: 165.21.74.59
converse2010
02-09-2008, 12:03 PM
Firmware v1.20 New Feature - Guest Zone
Extracted from Help for Guest Zone:
Guest Zone Selection
The selection helps you to define the Guest Zone scale.
Enable Guest Zone
Specifies whether the Guest Zone will be enabled or disabled.
Wireless Network Name
Provide a name for Guest Zone wireless network.
Enable Routing Between Zones
Use this section to enable routing between Host Zone and Guest Zone, Guest clients can not access Host clients' data without enable the function.
Some ppl reported that this 1.20 has got problem loading back the config files..
Is it true ?
albertchng
02-09-2008, 12:25 PM
I get the following:
DNS request timed out.
timeout was 2 seconds.
Server: UnKnown
Address: 192.168.0.1
Non-authoritative answer:
Name: www.singnet.com.sg
Address: 165.21.74.59
You can surf net or not?
Your nslookup is ok lah, can resolve www.singnet.com.sg to 165.21.74.59...
bernwong
02-09-2008, 12:36 PM
You can surf net or not?
Your nslookup is ok lah, can resolve www.singnet.com.sg to 165.21.74.59...
yes, that's the funny part, my laptop can connect to internet without problems using the wireless. Its just that they are unable to see each other in the LAN and so unable to see each other's public folder. But when I use an ethernet connection, they can see each other. Seems like some routing is not done correctly. Can it be a hardware fault? The strange thing is, the pc connected to the router, using the ping tool in the router admin page, I cannot resolve the host when I ping itself. But using its own IP address, it works. When I ping in the dos prompt, both ip address and host name works.
albertchng
02-09-2008, 02:17 PM
Laptops cannot see each other in the LAN, try turn off your windows firewall.
From router usually is not able to ping host name of your laptops, unless your router got host file to resolve host name to IP.
bernwong
02-09-2008, 03:07 PM
Laptops cannot see each other in the LAN, try turn off your windows firewall.
From router usually is not able to ping host name of your laptops, unless your router got host file to resolve host name to IP.
yes, already tried turning off firewall still the same. The ping is on the desktop (connected through cable) to the router. The router cannot ping the name of the desktop too although in dos windows it can. Also added in the host name in lmhost.sam but still no go. Once I connect the laptop using lan cable, they can see each other and ping each other. Really scratch head liao. I give up liao. Cannot share folder at least still can surf net.
MarineX
02-09-2008, 04:15 PM
yes, already tried turning off firewall still the same. The ping is on the desktop (connected through cable) to the router. The router cannot ping the name of the desktop too although in dos windows it can. Also added in the host name in lmhost.sam but still no go. Once I connect the laptop using lan cable, they can see each other and ping each other. Really scratch head liao. I give up liao. Cannot share folder at least still can surf net.
wierd. im not having the problem you are having.
hmm..
same workgrp? <- is this the case?
but i tink that's not possible as ur pc failed to ping each other.
ArEtE
02-09-2008, 04:40 PM
Hi can u put the host name and ip into
C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc\host instead of the Imhost.sam and try again.
in the format of
ip hostname
example
192.168.1.1 myComputer
albertchng
02-09-2008, 05:06 PM
Both wired connection, can see each other, can ping each other.
1 wired 1 wireless, cannot see each other, cannot ping each other???
bernwong
02-09-2008, 09:26 PM
yup its a mystery. I also put the entry into the host file and yes they are the same workgroup but still no use. Previously, using linksys router, no such problem. The funny thing is 2 wired connections to router can ping, one wireless then cannot. I think it may really be a hardware problem as using the system check ping tool also cannot resolve host name of itself while command prompt ping has no such issue. really suay.
denizeny
17-09-2008, 09:11 PM
yes, that's the funny part, my laptop can connect to internet without problems using the wireless. Its just that they are unable to see each other in the LAN and so unable to see each other's public folder. But when I use an ethernet connection, they can see each other. Seems like some routing is not done correctly. Can it be a hardware fault? The strange thing is, the pc connected to the router, using the ping tool in the router admin page, I cannot resolve the host when I ping itself. But using its own IP address, it works. When I ping in the dos prompt, both ip address and host name works.
hi is your router in public AP mode? this makes every wireless cnxn a virtual soloist.
denizeny
19-09-2008, 02:40 PM
this router still got a lot of problems ah?
anyone selling? :D
albertchng
19-09-2008, 02:45 PM
Nice try... Suggest you try Marketplace.:s13:
Bieffe
19-09-2008, 08:19 PM
yup its a mystery. I also put the entry into the host file and yes they are the same workgroup but still no use. Previously, using linksys router, no such problem. The funny thing is 2 wired connections to router can ping, one wireless then cannot. I think it may really be a hardware problem as using the system check ping tool also cannot resolve host name of itself while command prompt ping has no such issue. really suay.
You try to run in DMZ first....sometimes it will work....if it does mean is the sercurity settings issue.
Bieffe
19-09-2008, 08:22 PM
Not so problem lah...is not a bad router....serious can buy....signal is good.
chaicka
19-09-2008, 09:46 PM
Have you tried to disable the 'WLAN Partition' option?
Mclaren84
22-09-2008, 06:57 AM
Check out these 2 settings under Network Settings
NetBIOS Advertisement
Check this box to allow the DHCP Server to offer NetBIOS configuration settings to the LAN hosts. NetBIOS allow LAN hosts to discover all other computers within the network, e.g. within Network Neighbourhood.
Learn NetBIOS information from WAN
If NetBIOS advertisement is swicthed on, switching this setting on causes WINS information to be learned from the WAN side, if available. Turn this setting off to configure manually.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.