View Full Version : D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Router - Product Info
Pages :
[
5]
chaicka
22-09-2008, 07:36 AM
Check out these 2 settings under Network Settings
NetBIOS Advertisement
Check this box to allow the DHCP Server to offer NetBIOS configuration settings to the LAN hosts. NetBIOS allow LAN hosts to discover all other computers within the network, e.g. within Network Neighbourhood.
Learn NetBIOS information from WAN
If NetBIOS advertisement is swicthed on, switching this setting on causes WINS information to be learned from the WAN side, if available. Turn this setting off to configure manually.
TS, check what Mclaren84 mentioned. Most likely one of this setting may have impact. For me, it doesn't impact me since I running WINS. For most users, there won't be WINS so need NetBIOS.
bernwong
22-09-2008, 06:50 PM
Tried already all the suggested settings. Still the same. The main thing that led me to think the router has some problem is that it cannot ping my pc connected via lan cable using the tools/system check ping. My pc name is wkc-pc and when I ping this it says unresolved host name. When I ping under dos prompt in windows, it has no problem. Tks for all the help. Other than this, the router is fast and stable.
chaicka
22-09-2008, 07:06 PM
Tried already all the suggested settings. Still the same. The main thing that led me to think the router has some problem is that it cannot ping my pc connected via lan cable using the tools/system check ping. My pc name is wkc-pc and when I ping this it says unresolved host name. When I ping under dos prompt in windows, it has no problem. Tks for all the help. Other than this, the router is fast and stable.
how about ping using ip address instead of hostname from the router?
bernwong
22-09-2008, 08:33 PM
that's the funny part. It can ping if I use the ip address.
chaicka
22-09-2008, 08:44 PM
that's the funny part. It can ping if I use the ip address.
Hostname cannot resolve means NetBIOS issue, it's been blocked or dropped somewhere. Since the ping was done from router to PC (connected via wired port of router), it is either the PC or the router dropping/blocking the NetBIOS packets.
Just curious. Have you copy down the configurations and reset it back to factory defaults and reconfigure it all from fresh (do not use save configuration file method)?
bernwong
22-09-2008, 09:11 PM
yes, I have reset it back to factory defaults and reconfigured from scratch. Even tried different firmware versions.
Noroto
23-09-2008, 12:31 AM
I just bought this router, hardware version A3, firmware version 1.11SH.
Anyone having problem with DynDNS?
I can't connect.
This is the Log entry: "Error updating dynamic DNS entry: unknown return code. Please check configuration. Disabling DynDNS"
NoM2005
23-09-2008, 05:43 AM
I just bought this router, hardware version A3, firmware version 1.11SH.
Anyone having problem with DynDNS?
I can't connect.
This is the Log entry: "Error updating dynamic DNS entry: unknown return code. Please check configuration. Disabling DynDNS"
Yes... This seems to be the only thing that's not working
I even tried using the free DlinkDNS registration, it just
refused to connect everytime... :(
I managed to connect only once, but when I rebooted the
router - its gone...
Without this, I'll probably give this device a miss as I
need the DDNS for my servers... I hope Dlink can resolve
this problem...
Noroto
23-09-2008, 08:51 AM
Yes... This seems to be the only thing that's not working
I even tried using the free DlinkDNS registration, it just
refused to connect everytime... :(
I managed to connect only once, but when I rebooted the
router - its gone...
Without this, I'll probably give this device a miss as I
need the DDNS for my servers... I hope Dlink can resolve
this problem...
Thanks. I using the DynDNS software to update my IP. Hope they can resolve it asap
Fooklee
23-09-2008, 09:00 AM
Anyone try changing the stock 3 db anttennas to 7db anttennas? any improvement in range? Just a question, May I know how you position the direction of your antennas so that we can obtain the maximum rangs in a 3th level house.
Please advise
NoM2005
23-09-2008, 11:48 AM
Thanks. I using the DynDNS software to update my IP. Hope they can resolve it asap
I experimented with different settings and I found that this one works.
Also the setting is saved and after reboot it is still set as indicated.
In the 'Server Address' - just enter - DynDNS.org
Do not use the selection menu on the right of this setting
http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o185/Nom2005/dlink655_dyndns.jpg
ahs3ng
23-09-2008, 05:09 PM
hows gaming experience on this baby?
Noroto
23-09-2008, 10:47 PM
I experimented with different settings and I found that this one works.
Also the setting is saved and after reboot it is still set as indicated.
In the 'Server Address' - just enter - DynDNS.org
Do not use the selection menu on the right of this setting
http://i120.photobucket.com/albums/o185/Nom2005/dlink655_dyndns.jpg
Thanks alot! It works!
denizeny
26-09-2008, 10:24 AM
hi did anyone get the intel 4965agn to work in full 11n with this? The blue logo supposed to g'tee that it does...
danxiaogui86
26-09-2008, 10:40 AM
new 1.21 beta firmware is out. and it bring the USB port alive. can be use for USB Thumbdrive and 3G Adapter, i think it te huawei modem.
richneo
26-09-2008, 10:43 AM
i read the list some where in dlink beta forum from usa
it supports dwm-652 and e220
hmmm usually if it supports e220, it might support e270 too
great now i can connect my external hdd to my dir-655
danxiaogui86
26-09-2008, 11:01 AM
hehe, yeah. but i still haven try the shareport software. i heard it something like sharepoint from microsoft.
liangtam
26-09-2008, 11:12 AM
where to dl?
danxiaogui86
26-09-2008, 11:21 AM
Download 1.21 Beta (ftp://ftp.dlink.com/Gateway/dir655/Firmware/dir655_firmware_121b05_beta_nosecurespot.zip)
jaloon
26-09-2008, 11:29 AM
Actually there are more...
Forums
http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r21152313-DIR655-New-firmwares-121b04-and-121b05nosecurespot
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=2357.0
Firmware
1.21b - http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=2353.0
1.20b - http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=2054.0
Shareport (For using the USB port for NAS)
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=2393.0
liangtam
26-09-2008, 12:52 PM
http://i37.tinypic.com/35229ol.jpg
Bieffe
26-09-2008, 03:53 PM
steady lah so fast updated....let u more pro ppl test the firmware first before I flash mine...kekek
leinad
26-09-2008, 04:10 PM
I've just flashed it. So far so good. I continue to be impressed by the DIR-655. :)
And I now have an idea how to render internet access to my "2nd home" using the USB adaptor and Starhub's free unlimited 3G data... Time to buy another DIR-655.
/Dan
danxiaogui86
26-09-2008, 04:20 PM
I've just flashed it. So far so good. I continue to be impressed by the DIR-655. :)
And I now have an idea how to render internet access to my "2nd home" using the USB adaptor and Starhub's free unlimited 3G data... Time to buy another DIR-655.
/Dan
Ur ideas sound interesting. reveal more? :P
leinad
26-09-2008, 04:31 PM
Ur ideas sound interesting. reveal more? :P
liangtam's #1021 shows it already. ;)
http://i37.tinypic.com/35229ol.jpg
Basically, just sign up for Starhub's Plus plan, and then attach the USB modem to the router in the "2nd home", then power it on whenever I'm there, so I can get legitimate internet access.
Append: There are already hardware routers out there that do routing for USB 3G modems, but those are expensive and not really cost efficient. This DIR-655 one looks promising, in the sense that the router can easily be re-used.
/Dan
danxiaogui86
26-09-2008, 04:39 PM
oooo. i tot ur 2nd home is at next door. so u wanna bridge it with it or something. lol!
leinad
26-09-2008, 04:52 PM
Nope. I'm actually thinking on behalf of my gf... She and her bro stay with her aunt over the weekend. Aunt has no internet access. The nearest free internet is Wireless@SG at the library, 10 mins away... And often, it's hard to get an IP address cos there're too many people.
So yeah. It's really a 2nd home in a completely different part of the island.
The other thing I'm thinking about now is whether the DIR-655 can be adequately powered by a car's cigarette lighter socket. That would open up a lot of interesting possibilities.
Or how about Load Balancing? Though Load Balancing Starhub landline with Starhub 3G doesn't make much sense. :o
/Dan
liangtam
26-09-2008, 07:10 PM
Do you already have a E170/270?
PS: above was done with the more known and widely supported e220
liangtam
26-09-2008, 07:16 PM
I shown this to dxg earlier in the afternoon, will post here also.
http://i35.tinypic.com/140yyp3.jpg
Read 38-40mbps
Write 30mbps
This program will look familiar to some with cheapo USB NAS by other manufacturer/brand model. It ish propriety tho
leinad
26-09-2008, 07:42 PM
Do you already have a E170/270?
PS: above was done with the more known and widely supported e220
I have the E220. :)
/Dan
Vulpix
26-09-2008, 10:08 PM
Oh found it, nevermind.
edit: This is awesome. Now I can print via my router!
chaicka
27-09-2008, 12:47 AM
hi did anyone get the intel 4965agn to work in full 11n with this? The blue logo supposed to g'tee that it does...
What do u mean by full 11n? 300Mbps?
The issue is with Intel 4965AGN not supporting 40 channel width.
chaicka
27-09-2008, 12:50 AM
/Dan
That's what I call an excellent ROI product.
leinad
27-09-2008, 01:00 AM
That's what I call an excellent ROI product.
Yep. :) Plus it's much much cheaper and more capable than the other 3G/USB routers in the market...
/Dan
chaicka
27-09-2008, 01:05 AM
Yep. :) Plus it's much much cheaper and more capable than the other 3G/USB routers in the market...
/Dan
Bingo.
And the key point I wanted to say is 'vendor attitude towards consumers' investment worthiness'.
Unlike another vendor, L who portrait the attitude of hit and run, total disregards consumers' investment worthiness, sell a product for a while, release <3 firmwares, then announce EOL when the firmware bugs ain't even fixed, not to mention no new features.
How often u see a product selling for 2-3 years still got development of firmware to improve performance, fixes bugs and also to introduce more useful features to impress the consumers and increase the ROI of the product.
liangtam
27-09-2008, 01:32 AM
A cheap usb router with 3rd party even cheaper for 3G mah
Myu~sun
29-09-2008, 09:43 PM
just gotten this router ... do i have to send the warranty card ? i got this @ $155 with the starhub voucher ... the reciept that they given me no date no nothing wor .. only say 655 ... price $155 ~ =.=" how ar ?
liangtam
29-09-2008, 09:52 PM
got warranty card one meh?
or u mean the thin piece of paper at the back of the booklet?
no nid send in, lifetime wrty anyway.
Myu~sun
29-09-2008, 10:46 PM
oo okok ty ~ ^.^
SatelliteM200
30-09-2008, 09:53 PM
just gotten this router ... do i have to send the warranty card ? i got this @ $155 with the starhub voucher ... the reciept that they given me no date no nothing wor .. only say 655 ... price $155 ~ =.=" how ar ?
i also got the same router with starhub voucher... just go d-link website and registered online lor
richneo
30-09-2008, 11:17 PM
okie i just tried e220 with it
its very cool...
liangtam
30-09-2008, 11:26 PM
http://i37.tinypic.com/12226gx.jpg
its connected for 3 days liao :)
Vulpix
01-10-2008, 12:31 AM
It's seriously very stable so far for me as well. This firmware is awesome.
chaicka
01-10-2008, 07:55 AM
http://i37.tinypic.com/12226gx.jpg
its connected for 3 days liao :)
Hmmm, the official 1.21 was just released on 30th Sept, how u run it for 3 days? :D
The official is based on which beta? I know of beta 05 which is non-securespot.
chaicka
01-10-2008, 08:21 AM
Firmware v1.21 Bug List:
System:
1. Unstable - Wireless is being restarted on the router whenever I click to save any settings.
[INFO] Sat Jan 31 10:50:08 2004 Above message repeated 1 times
[INFO] Sat Jan 31 10:50:08 2004 Wireless link is up
[INFO] Sat Jan 31 10:49:45 2004 Stored configuration to non-volatile memory
[INFO] Sat Jan 31 10:49:44 2004 Wireless link is down
[INFO] Sat Jan 31 10:49:44 2004 Wireless restart
[INFO] Sat Jan 31 10:49:44 2004 Disconnect all stations
[INFO] Sat Jan 31 10:49:44 2004 guest: Unlock AP setup
[INFO] Sat Jan 31 10:49:44 2004 primary: Unlock AP setup
Web GUI:
1. Advanced menu
- When the 'Port Forwarding' navigation menu (on the left) is selected, the 'SecureSpot' navigation menu option will disappear. Selecting any other navigation menu will bring back the 'SecureSpot' navigation menu option.
chaicka
01-10-2008, 09:38 AM
Juz finished multiple approach on getting firmware v1.21 to stabilize on my DIR-655 but failed.
The wireless module of DIR-655 would just drop off and restart itself whenever saving settings and sometimes even with just adding values such as inbound filter rules.
Even tried reset to factory defaults, just plain setup from scratch to my environment is a pain. Even clicking of save settings result in DWA-142 losing wireless connection which is due to the wireless module of DIR-655 restarting (based on the logs).
Revert back to firmware 1.20 and everything stabilize.
ralph79
01-10-2008, 12:38 PM
Tried it with Huawei E169. Doesn't seem to be able to work.
liangtam
01-10-2008, 01:30 PM
Hmmm, the official 1.21 was just released on 30th Sept, how u run it for 3 days? :D
The official is based on which beta? I know of beta 05 which is non-securespot.
1.21(/b04) with securespot was originally release about a week ago, just that they pulled it off the site. The one I'm running is 1.21b05 taken from their forum.
Since I do not have a b04, I cant checksum the current file to see if its the same.
Oh and anyway, Im sure the page says it will dc people off if u change wifi settings
liangtam
01-10-2008, 01:33 PM
Tried it with Huawei E169. Doesn't seem to be able to work.
Look at the logs, see if the modem was ever detected in the first place. Modem detection is based on devid.
Anyway, it probably meant that the code for 3G modem is not really updated at the moment
chaicka
01-10-2008, 01:58 PM
1.21(/b04) with securespot was originally release about a week ago, just that they pulled it off the site. The one I'm running is 1.21b05 taken from their forum.
Since I do not have a b04, I cant checksum the current file to see if its the same.
Oh and anyway, Im sure the page says it will dc people off if u change wifi settings
It's not just WiFi settings. It's any settings. Normally, when you make a settings change, it will save and then prompt if u want to reboot now or reboot later. But with this v1.21 (official released 30th Sept) firmware, it will drop off the wireless the moment u click on save settings.
danxiaogui86
01-10-2008, 02:17 PM
It's not just WiFi settings. It's any settings. Normally, when you make a settings change, it will save and then prompt if u want to reboot now or reboot later. But with this v1.21 (official released 30th Sept) firmware, it will drop off the wireless the moment u click on save settings.
the wireless u experiencing also have onm 1.21b05. cause i'm expericing tat also.
richneo
02-10-2008, 09:29 AM
D-Link networks routers' USB ports
Posted by Dong Ngo 1 comment
o Digg
o Del.icio.us
o Reddit
o Facebook
o Google
o Newsvine
o Yahoo! Bookmarks
o Twitter
o Stumbleupon
* Print
I reviewed D-Link's DIR-855 wireless router recently, and complained that it didn't offer NAS or print-serving capability. On Wednesday, the company fixed that by introducing the Xtreme N Dual Band Gigabit DIR-825.
(Credit: D-Link)
Like the DIR-855, the DIR-825 is a true dual-band gigabit router, meaning it can spontaneously offer Wireless-N signals in both 2.4GHz and 5GHz frequencies. The DIR-825, however, comes with SharePort technology, which allows for turning the USB port of the router into a virtual-network USB port that supports external hard drives for NAS functionality and other USB devices, such as printers.
The new router also features D-Link's HDFuel technology, and belongs to D-Link's green family of routers. The former optimizes the wireless bandwidth for HD content, while the latter means the power used for the router's wireless signal and wired-network ports are adjustable (either automatically or manually) to conserve energy.
The best news is that SharePort, as well as other technologies mentioned above, are going to be made available this week via a firmware update to certain existing D-Link USB Wireless-N routers, including the DIR-628, the DIR-655, the DIR-855, and the DGL-4500. If you are the owner of one of these, remember to update the router's firmware.
The new Xtreme N Dual Band Gigabit DIR-825 is available now for an estimated $200.
http://news.cnet.com/8301-17938_105-10055679-1.html?part=rss&subj=Crave
Zangestu
04-10-2008, 06:44 PM
richneo bro, need ur advice. read thru the review, it seems that 825 is better than 655
should i bu 825 instead of 655?
thanks for the help
danxiaogui86
04-10-2008, 07:04 PM
825 is not gigabit lan
MarineX
04-10-2008, 07:18 PM
825 is not gigabit lan
825 - $200 SGD or US ?
richneo
04-10-2008, 07:39 PM
I would rank there in my preference. DIR-855, DIR-825 followed by DIR-655. DIR-825 is almost identical to DIR-855 except for the lcd and different switch chipset. But both are gigabit.
richneo
04-10-2008, 07:40 PM
By the way DIR-8250 is not available in singapore. Don't know need to wait how long.
danxiaogui86
04-10-2008, 07:58 PM
huh? richneo, i tot u told me it not gigabit? or was it a different model?
richneo
04-10-2008, 08:07 PM
huh? richneo, i tot u told me it not gigabit? or was it a different model?
the one i saw in guanghua was 628 wor
switchable dual band
danxiaogui86
04-10-2008, 08:22 PM
ooooooo, pai seh. mix up. thanks for the clarification. :D
SatelliteM200
04-10-2008, 08:24 PM
825 - $200 SGD or US ?
should be in greenback... the link will bring you to uncle sam states
Zangestu
06-10-2008, 08:58 AM
thanks for the advice bros. guess i will go and get myself a dir-655. thanks for the help
Noroto
06-10-2008, 10:29 PM
Anyone know when will the 1.21 offical firmware be out in Asia for Hardware A3?
liangtam
06-10-2008, 10:34 PM
its the same
Cyberboy128
06-10-2008, 11:04 PM
Anyone upgraded to 1.21 and enabled SecureSpot 2.0?
How does it work? Any requirments for installation on client end?
I am looking at SecureSpot for SPI firewall features.
chaicka
06-10-2008, 11:53 PM
Anyone upgraded to 1.21 and enabled SecureSpot 2.0?
How does it work? Any requirments for installation on client end?
I am looking at SecureSpot for SPI firewall features.
I have reverted back to v1.20 as v1.21 is not stable (in my opinion). The wireless keeps restart and drop off the connected clients whenever anything in the GUI is changed and clicked 'save settings', or in some menus, clicked 'add' would trigger the same behavior.
Thus, unable to feedback on the SecureSpot 2.0 function/feature. However, you may want to check out the documentation on SecureSpot. SecureSpot is a subscription-based service which automatically expires after 30 days of trial, and a paid-subscription is required to continue.
Check this out -> http://www.support.dlink.com/faq/view.asp?prod_id=2943&question=SecureSpot
Applies to DIR-655 firmware 1.21's SecureSpot too.
New bug found for firmware v1.20:
- The Guest Zone cannot be configured to a different schedule from the Host Zone.
chaicka
07-10-2008, 12:21 AM
the wireless u experiencing also have onm 1.21b05. cause i'm expericing tat also.
Gosh, looks like it's due to the base codes in 1.21.
Btw, the official released v1.21 (dated 30th Sep) is actually the same code of v1.21b04.
Farish
07-10-2008, 09:57 AM
Mine is the opposite, FW1.20 always restarts the wireless connection after every save/edit but FW1.21 is stable.
danxiaogui86
07-10-2008, 10:23 AM
Gosh, looks like it's due to the base codes in 1.21.
Btw, the official released v1.21 (dated 30th Sep) is actually the same code of v1.21b04.
yeah, i'm still using the b05 cause it the same as the official release except without secure spot which i do not need at all.
leinad
07-10-2008, 10:35 AM
I'm also on 1.21. Seems more stable than 1.20.
/Dan
richneo
07-10-2008, 10:42 AM
im on 1.21 beta without securespot
so far so good.
my mol got higher upload speed too so its double blessing for me for the time being
liangtam
07-10-2008, 08:48 PM
i prefer 1.11
wiShfulStone
07-10-2008, 09:56 PM
I've got a question regarding jumbo frames. If lets say I've got PC <gigabit wired to> 655 <wifi g> Laptop. Will enabling jumbo frames help reduce cpu usage on the PC side for large file transfers to the laptop? Would the jumbo frames reach the 655 and then get fragmented there onwards over wifi or will the whole thing just not work with jumbo frames?
I don't really care about the transfer speeds, I'm just hoping to reduce cpu usage on a old pc :)
chaicka
07-10-2008, 10:18 PM
I've got a question regarding jumbo frames. If lets say I've got PC <gigabit wired to> 655 <wifi g> Laptop. Will enabling jumbo frames help reduce cpu usage on the PC side for large file transfers to the laptop? Would the jumbo frames reach the 655 and then get fragmented there onwards over wifi or will the whole thing just not work with jumbo frames?
I don't really care about the transfer speeds, I'm just hoping to reduce cpu usage on a old pc :)
Getting a better NIC would reduce the CPU utilization.
Example: Intel or Broadcom server-class NICs as the chipset will take the load off the CPU.
chaicka
07-10-2008, 10:19 PM
Mine is the opposite, FW1.20 always restarts the wireless connection after every save/edit but FW1.21 is stable.
h/w version?
wiShfulStone
07-10-2008, 10:27 PM
Getting a better NIC would reduce the CPU utilization.
Example: Intel or Broadcom server-class NICs as the chipset will take the load off the CPU.
http://www.ictcompany.com/products/Broadcom/bcm5721.jpg
This kinda stuff? The pricing is wayy :s22:
chaicka
07-10-2008, 10:52 PM
http://www.ictcompany.com/products/Broadcom/bcm5721.jpg
This kinda stuff? The pricing is wayy :s22:
一分钱,一分货...
chaicka
07-10-2008, 10:54 PM
im on 1.21 beta without securespot
so far so good.
my mol got higher upload speed too so its double blessing for me for the time being
Upgraded to v1.21 b05 non-securespot. Solid stable, the wireless client performance also got a boost and it's constantly at 300mbps rate instead of the previous fluctuates once-a-while.
The official released v1.21 (dated 30th Sept) really CMI.
richneo
07-10-2008, 10:55 PM
Upgraded to v1.21 b05 non-securespot. Solid stable, the wireless client performance also got a boost and it's constantly at 300mbps rate instead of the previous fluctuates once-a-while.
yar hehe im using that
richneo
07-10-2008, 10:56 PM
File:dir655_firmware_121.zip 1426 KB 9/30/2008 7:20:00 PM
File:dir655_firmware_121_no_securespot.zip 1378 KB 10/6/2008 4:10:00 PM
no securespot just released a final released wor
but seems like that are the same
chaicka
08-10-2008, 01:33 AM
main site doesn't list the non-securespot firmware while the support site listed it.
danxiaogui86
08-10-2008, 10:07 AM
Haha, thinking is it because of securespot 2 hindering the performance?
chaicka
08-10-2008, 02:38 PM
no idea...there must be some difference in the 2 edition of firmwares besides the obvious securespot.
I don't think securespot feature itself can cause such major hiccups of save settings or even adding values/rules/etc would result in wireless module of the router to restart.
What worries me is the QC prior to official release of firmwares. D-Link has done a good job so far, with no major bugs with official released firmwares until now, this v1.21 with securespot simply CMI and should never have gotten signed off and leaving the developers' room.
Farish
08-10-2008, 07:21 PM
h/w version?
h/w version: A3
f/w Version: 1.21
Farish
08-10-2008, 07:29 PM
Thanks for that tip! Going to run without securespot V1.21 :) :s12:
Farish
08-10-2008, 07:59 PM
I dunt seem to be able to update DDNS ever since from fw1.20.
Error in log file:
Error updating dynamic DNS entry: unknown return code. Please check configuration. Disabling DynDNS
Anyone have any ideas?
Thanks!
>> Found the solution! use dyndns.org as the server name instead of www.dyndns.com and it works like a charm!
silverstone
12-10-2008, 05:25 PM
I have reverted back to v1.20 as v1.21 is not stable (in my opinion). The wireless keeps restart and drop off the connected clients whenever anything in the GUI is changed and clicked 'save settings', or in some menus, clicked 'add' would trigger the same behavior.
Thus, unable to feedback on the SecureSpot 2.0 function/feature. However, you may want to check out the documentation on SecureSpot. SecureSpot is a subscription-based service which automatically expires after 30 days of trial, and a paid-subscription is required to continue.
Check this out -> http://www.support.dlink.com/faq/view.asp?prod_id=2943&question=SecureSpot
Applies to DIR-655 firmware 1.21's SecureSpot too.
New bug found for firmware v1.20:
- The Guest Zone cannot be configured to a different schedule from the Host Zone.
Hi guys, i also encounter this problem with V1.21, then now my wireless adapter ( d-link DWA 547) has disconnected, cant reconnect back?
wat should i do guys :s11:
EDIT: now my wireless adapter has reconnect back liao. tried a few firmware just now, V1.21, V1.20, n V1.11SH from d-link.sg. all have da same problem, disconnecting da wireless connection whenever i clicked on save settings.
chaicka
12-10-2008, 09:42 PM
Hi guys, i also encounter this problem with V1.21, then now my wireless adapter ( d-link DWA 547) has disconnected, cant reconnect back?
wat should i do guys :s11:
EDIT: now my wireless adapter has reconnect back liao. tried a few firmware just now, V1.21, V1.20, n V1.11SH from d-link.sg. all have da same problem, disconnecting da wireless connection whenever i clicked on save settings.
I am no longer encountering the problem after using the =ftp://ftp.dlink.com/Gateway/dir655/Firmware/dir655_firmware_121_no_securespot.zip]v1.21 without securespot firmware.
Ref: ftp://ftp.dlink.com/Gateway/dir655/Firmware/dir655_firmware_121_no_securespot.zip
Here is what I did:
1. Save configuration.
2. Flash to new v1.21 without securespot firmware.
3. Connect using DWA-142 client adapter.
4. Access the web GUI.
5. Click restore to factory default & reboot.
6. Test stability of the wireless connection by performing some basic configuration and click save settings. Confirm no more abnormal restart of wireless module of router (check the logs).
7. Upload the configuration back.
If upload the old configuration back causes the instability again. Then would require to restore to factory default and then re-setup from scratch as the configuration saved may contain securespot or other settings that causes instability.
See if this procedure helps.:)
The v1.21 without securespot firmware is working great. In fact, I see improvement in wireless connection as it now always default to 40MHz channel width and thus, 802.11n enabled client adapters will most likely stick to 300mbps most of the time unless distance or interference does not allow it to stay in 300mbps speed.
chaicka
12-10-2008, 09:43 PM
I think so coz based on the testing I performed, it is only the v1.21 with securespot firmware that is causing the weird behavior of restarting of wireless module of the router.
I have no need for securespot, thus flashed the v1.21 without securespot firmware and has been stable since, not to mention improved wireless performance using DWA-142 adapter.
silverstone
12-10-2008, 11:47 PM
6. Test stability of the wireless connection by performing some basic configuration and click save settings. Confirm no more abnormal restart of wireless module of router (check the logs)..
Hi dude, wat do u mean by test stability of the wireless connection by performing some basic configuration?
how do i go abt doing that ?
chaicka
13-10-2008, 12:44 AM
Hi dude, wat do u mean by test stability of the wireless connection by performing some basic configuration?
how do i go abt doing that ?
Go make some settings like wireless, network, etc and each section, save the settings. See if the issue of wireless module in router restart (thus causing wireless connections to drop) or not.
This is to confirm that the flash of firmware and the factory default configuration is working fine and that the issue is not reoccurring.
flashed to 1.21 without securespot. so far so good had some trouble with port forwarding but it was resolved after reset to factory and setting up again.
much better than 1.11SH more stats available.
chaicka
13-10-2008, 03:51 AM
flashed to 1.21 without securespot. so far so good had some trouble with port forwarding but it was resolved after reset to factory and setting up again.
much better than 1.11SH more stats available.
Juz curious. What do u mean more stats?
as far as i can remember on 1.11SH under status there wasnt as much info on the wireless network. same goes for the wireless tab.
shadowandy
13-10-2008, 02:55 PM
I'm having problem with the dynamic dns on the 1.21 no securespot firmware. In the logs it keeps updating my dyndns entry to ip address 127.0.0.1
Mon Oct 13 14:55:55 2008 Successfully updated dynamic DNS entry for <address> good 127.0.0.1
PPkiller
13-10-2008, 07:01 PM
anyone able to get their shareport working with a wireless connection? i'm having problem getting the share port program working on a wireless laptop... wired connection works perfect thought....
silverstone
13-10-2008, 08:31 PM
Go make some settings like wireless, network, etc and each section, save the settings. See if the issue of wireless module in router restart (thus causing wireless connections to drop) or not.
This is to confirm that the flash of firmware and the factory default configuration is working fine and that the issue is not reoccurring.
hey dude, thanks for yr explanation, will try yr method n update here if its sill stable or not...
liangtam
13-10-2008, 08:44 PM
Wheres the DIR-825? :(
elo~ eugene. it wont be here... at least not near moment i suppose
anyone able to get their shareport working with a wireless connection? i'm having problem getting the share port program working on a wireless laptop... wired connection works perfect thought....
can the shareport prog detect ur device at all??
OMG lah. I want something that does dual broadcast 2.4/5GHz simutaneously. This kinda thing will pass IDA not? Have to order from Amazon liao. :(
liangtam
13-10-2008, 09:37 PM
the linksys lor...
PPkiller
14-10-2008, 12:39 AM
elo~ eugene. it wont be here... at least not near moment i suppose
can the shareport prog detect ur device at all??
now i have to change my comments... it work once for wired connection.. now totally zero.. :(
silverstone
14-10-2008, 01:31 AM
I am no longer encountering the problem after using the =ftp://ftp.dlink.com/Gateway/dir655/Firmware/dir655_firmware_121_no_securespot.zip]v1.21 without securespot firmware.
Ref: ftp://ftp.dlink.com/Gateway/dir655/Firmware/dir655_firmware_121_no_securespot.zip
Here is what I did:
1. Save configuration.
2. Flash to new v1.21 without securespot firmware.
3. Connect using DWA-142 client adapter.
4. Access the web GUI.
5. Click restore to factory default & reboot.
6. Test stability of the wireless connection by performing some basic configuration and click save settings. Confirm no more abnormal restart of wireless module of router (check the logs).
7. Upload the configuration back.
If upload the old configuration back causes the instability again. Then would require to restore to factory default and then re-setup from scratch as the configuration saved may contain securespot or other settings that causes instability.
See if this procedure helps.:)
The v1.21 without securespot firmware is working great. In fact, I see improvement in wireless connection as it now always default to 40MHz channel width and thus, 802.11n enabled client adapters will most likely stick to 300mbps most of the time unless distance or interference does not allow it to stay in 300mbps speed.
haiz dude, unfortunately, i tried all yr method, still cannot solve it man... :( aft i flashed to v1.21, i restore to factory default n reboot, n set up my configuration all over from scratch, but still couldnt solve it...
til now, my DWA 547 wireless cant connect back to da network liao...
chaicka
14-10-2008, 02:15 AM
haiz dude, unfortunately, i tried all yr method, still cannot solve it man... :( aft i flashed to v1.21, i restore to factory default n reboot, n set up my configuration all over from scratch, but still couldnt solve it...
You have the logs to post here?
Flash back to v1.20 result in the same behavior?
richneo
14-10-2008, 06:28 AM
make sure you do not set automatic channel scanning and do not set to channel 12 or 13
PPkiller
14-10-2008, 03:59 PM
i have a media pc that will go to sleep every 5 mins of inactivity and relies on Wakeup-On-Lan to power up when there's network access to the media pc.
With the 1.21 firmware.. it always pop up right back after going to sleep... downgrade to 1.11 and the issue is gone..
looks like the new firmware is constantly scanning for stuff.. which keep powering up my media pc when ever it went to sleep mode..
danxiaogui86
14-10-2008, 04:13 PM
lol! wah, like if my pc put wake on lan. always will be waking up liao. >.<
richneo
14-10-2008, 05:02 PM
i have a media pc that will go to sleep every 5 mins of inactivity and relies on Wakeup-On-Lan to power up when there's network access to the media pc.
With the 1.21 firmware.. it always pop up right back after going to sleep... downgrade to 1.11 and the issue is gone..
looks like the new firmware is constantly scanning for stuff.. which keep powering up my media pc when ever it went to sleep mode..
if im not wrong, the new firmware is constantly broadcasting the status of the usb on dir-655 to the network
PPkiller
14-10-2008, 06:52 PM
i changed it to the 3rd option(can't remember the name. but it's not the network USB anymore)... it's still the same..
silverstone
14-10-2008, 07:12 PM
You have the logs to post here?
Flash back to v1.20 result in the same behavior?
hey dude, i've tried v1.20, v1.21 n v1.11SH from d-link SG, also da same behaviour.
make sure you do not set automatic channel scanning and do not set to channel 12 or 13
Hi dude, i just tried yr solution, its still da same...
silverstone
14-10-2008, 07:43 PM
heres my SS of my router log:
http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii168/Silverstone86/Misc%20Screenshot/Untitled-2.jpg
http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii168/Silverstone86/Misc%20Screenshot/Untitled1.jpg
litesaint
14-10-2008, 10:38 PM
Hi guys,
Quick question. Hope you guys could help me. I was all the time running at 1Gbps with my PC LAN card connected to the DIR-655 till recently to my shock it became 100Mbps.
May I know how to fix this? I have upgraded my Intel Pro/1000 PM Gigabit network adapter driver but it did not help. I am not sure how and why it could happen. Is there something wrong with the router unable to support 1Gbps Lan connection anymore.
Hope you guys out there could give me some ideas to fix this problem.
Thanks!
shadowandy
14-10-2008, 10:59 PM
Hi guys,
Quick question. Hope you guys could help me. I was all the time running at 1Gbps with my PC LAN card connected to the DIR-655 till recently to my shock it became 100Mbps.
May I know how to fix this? I have upgraded my Intel Pro/1000 PM Gigabit network adapter driver but it did not help. I am not sure how and why it could happen. Is there something wrong with the router unable to support 1Gbps Lan connection anymore.
Thanks!
Try changing ethernet cable, or change port on the dir-655
chaicka
14-10-2008, 11:17 PM
Hi guys,
Thanks!
Check ur Intel properties too. You may have accidentally set the properties to 100mbps. Try to set to auto, if it doesn't work, try to set to 1000mbps if the option is available.
silverstone
15-10-2008, 01:07 AM
any solution guys :s11:
silverstone
15-10-2008, 01:44 AM
sian ah... :s27: now my wireless adapter is connected, but cant surf net sia...
haiz, this firmware is super unstable for me... anyone has got any idea where can i dl back da default firmware anot? think is v1.01 or v1.03?
richneo
15-10-2008, 06:38 AM
haiz, this firmware is super unstable for me... anyone has got any idea where can i dl back da default firmware anot? think is v1.01 or v1.03?
here
http://tsd.dlink.com.tw/temp/PMD/585/DIR655_FW1.03WB07.bin
http://tsd.dlink.com.tw
chaicka
15-10-2008, 04:09 PM
I may have it on my home file server.
chaicka
15-10-2008, 10:07 PM
I may have it on my home file server.
Here is the firmware v1.03
http://www.sendspace.com/file/pujyjw
Here is the firmware v1.02
http://www.sendspace.com/file/9l6esi
albertchng
15-10-2008, 11:46 PM
bro, you using DIR-655?
chaicka
15-10-2008, 11:54 PM
bro, you using DIR-655?
one of my routers... :D
liangtam
16-10-2008, 12:29 AM
bro, you using DIR-655?
its kinda obvious when you know who's the starter of this thread right? :)
its the best consumer router on the market since it was released a year ago.
silverstone
16-10-2008, 12:34 AM
here
http://tsd.dlink.com.tw/temp/PMD/585/DIR655_FW1.03WB07.bin
http://tsd.dlink.com.tw
thanks guys for da link... ;) will try it during da wk end as i dun have much time during wk days...
albertchng
16-10-2008, 11:06 AM
its kinda obvious when you know who's the starter of this thread right? :)
its the best consumer router on the market since it was released a year ago.
paiseh lah... bro liangtam, i'm living under a piece of rock these few years.:s13:
silverstone
16-10-2008, 09:11 PM
hey guys, just wanna ask, wat channel do u guys mostly use? or rather which is da best channel ?
liangtam
16-10-2008, 09:17 PM
there is no best channel wor, see ur environment bah
silverstone
16-10-2008, 09:20 PM
oh i see... thanks for da info. ;)
chaicka
17-10-2008, 07:31 AM
hey guys, just wanna ask, wat channel do u guys mostly use? or rather which is da best channel ?
The better channel to use is only known after you study the surrounding environment that you are located (WLAN are everywhere eg. easily 30 of them around my house) and also understanding your own needs (where ur wireless router is positioned, where ur wireless clients are).
It is only with the above information gathered then would you be able to determine which channel is the least intrusive to your place and then use that channel.
It does not necessary means must be channel 1, 6, 11 though they are non-overlapping frequencies. If all the WLAN around u all crowd on these channels and having strong signals in your place, then use least popular channels though must overlap 1 of the frequency with another channel, it may still perform very well for your place.
silverstone
18-10-2008, 01:33 AM
The better channel to use is only known after you study the surrounding environment that you are located (WLAN are everywhere eg. easily 30 of them around my house) and also understanding your own needs (where ur wireless router is positioned, where ur wireless clients are).
It is only with the above information gathered then would you be able to determine which channel is the least intrusive to your place and then use that channel.
It does not necessary means must be channel 1, 6, 11 though they are non-overlapping frequencies. If all the WLAN around u all crowd on these channels and having strong signals in your place, then use least popular channels though must overlap 1 of the frequency with another channel, it may still perform very well for your place.
i see... thanks for da explanation dude... ;)
silverstone
18-10-2008, 01:53 AM
a small update:
i couldnt flash back to v1.02 n v1.03 given by richneo bro n chaicka bro... tried v1.05 from d-link.com.sg, also cannot...
in da end, tried v1.10 from d-link.com, but still face da problem whereby i change some settings n click on save setting, da wireless connection will be dropped.
but then, compared to v1.21, aft da wireless connection has drop, its easier to reconnect back, unlike with v1.21, takes a very long time to reconnect back ( can take up to 1hr to reconnect back ).
attached below is da SS on why i cant update to v1.02/v1.03:
http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii168/Silverstone86/Misc%20Screenshot/dlink.jpg
silverstone
18-10-2008, 03:37 AM
tried 1.11 yet?
yup, tried 1.11SH from d-link.com.sg, still da same behaviour.
silverstone
19-10-2008, 01:16 AM
sian... with V1.10, its still kinda unstable for me. just now, though my wireless connection is connected, but unable to surf net with my wireless adapter (d-link DWA-547).
why is it so ah? if i've known earlier, i will not update my firmware liao...
chaicka
19-10-2008, 01:31 AM
sian... with V1.10, its still kinda unstable for me. just now, though my wireless connection is connected, but unable to surf net with my wireless adapter (d-link DWA-547).
why is it so ah? if i've known earlier, i will not update my firmware liao...
Firmware v1.11 (non-SH):
http://www.sendspace.com/file/m5pob1
Reset to Factory Default (use both web GUI and the hard reset button) before flashing to v1.11.
See if it helps, else may need to RMA.
silverstone
19-10-2008, 01:35 AM
erm, dude, any idea as to why my wireless adapter/router is so unstable? kind of tried almost every firmware except v1.02 n v1.03.
chaicka
19-10-2008, 01:56 AM
erm, dude, any idea as to why my wireless adapter/router is so unstable? kind of tried almost every firmware except v1.02 n v1.03.
No idea... I have exhausted all possible methods I can think of, which doesn't seem to work for you.
For me, I only had problem with the v1.21 w/securespot firmware. All other firmwares work fine for me.
tried another router? the modem itself no problem?
silverstone
19-10-2008, 02:37 AM
No idea... I have exhausted all possible methods I can think of, which doesn't seem to work for you.
For me, I only had problem with the v1.21 w/securespot firmware. All other firmwares work fine for me.
i see... thanks for yr help though, really appreciate it. ;)
silverstone
19-10-2008, 02:38 AM
tried another router? the modem itself no problem?
yup, da modem is workin fine, no problem at all. using maxonline premium w/ motorola SB5101.
chaicka
19-10-2008, 09:12 AM
i see... thanks for yr help though, really appreciate it. ;)
I think it's time to send it for RMA.
In personal opinion, D-Link really screw it by releasing that screwed up v1.21 with securespot firmware. I seriously have no idea how the hell it passed through QAT & UAT and reach public official release status.
richneo
19-10-2008, 09:40 AM
iirc, securespot is a product sold in usa only and thus the firmware 1.21 with securespot is released in the usa
chaicka
19-10-2008, 11:15 AM
iirc, securespot is a product sold in usa only and thus the firmware 1.21 with securespot is released in the usa
if the h/w is the same across markets, then the firmware doesn't matter if it's with or without securespot. Thus, US users would be facing the same bugginess of this firmware.
richneo
19-10-2008, 11:18 AM
if the h/w is the same across markets, then the firmware doesn't matter if it's with or without securespot. Thus, US users would be facing the same bugginess of this firmware.
meaning to say that other countries who does not wan to have securespot added in made a good choice
silverstone
19-10-2008, 01:05 PM
I think it's time to send it for RMA.
In personal opinion, D-Link really screw it by releasing that screwed up v1.21 with securespot firmware. I seriously have no idea how the hell it passed through QAT & UAT and reach public official release status.
hmm if i gonna RMA, wat should i tell them? just say da new firmware is unstable, flashing it back to older version of da firmware does not helps too...?
ascdf13
19-10-2008, 01:05 PM
qns to ask how long is the warranty period for dlink wireless router?
silverstone
19-10-2008, 01:13 PM
qns to ask how long is the warranty period for dlink wireless router?
lifetime warranty, unless it EOL.
jaloon
19-10-2008, 01:38 PM
lifetime warranty, unless it EOL.
Only for SG and select regions.
liangtam
19-10-2008, 07:26 PM
hmm if i gonna RMA, wat should i tell them? just say da new firmware is unstable, flashing it back to older version of da firmware does not helps too...?
hmm, it just me, but i really do think somethings wrong with ur pc tho.
u tried the wireless adapter on another pc yet?
anyway, u can still rma even after its EOL, just say wifi intermitten and cannot connect ba, this should describe decently
silverstone
19-10-2008, 07:37 PM
hmm, it just me, but i really do think somethings wrong with ur pc tho.
u tried the wireless adapter on another pc yet?
anyway, u can still rma even after its EOL, just say wifi intermitten and cannot connect ba, this should describe decently
i see... nv try da wireless adapter on another pc though, but prior to updating to v1.21, my router/wireless adapter dun have this weird behaviour.
now, tried almost every firmware also got this behaviour...
silverstone
19-10-2008, 07:43 PM
erm... suddenly i got an idea, lets say if 1 of my friend were to come to my house n connect to my router, then i log in to router hm page n edit something, n click on save setting.
if my friend wireless connection nv disconnect, but my own wireless adapter disconnect, can i condude that my wireless adapter is faulty?
i thought lifetime warranty means product lifetime once it eol warranty is over. only those bought towards the cutoff date will get maybe 1 year or something.
richneo
19-10-2008, 08:06 PM
i thought lifetime warranty means product lifetime once it eol warranty is over. only those bought towards the cutoff date will get maybe 1 year or something.
d-link is eol + 5 years
dont ask me how they track your warranty.
ask them when u have a chance to rma
limster
20-10-2008, 04:01 PM
hi, just got dir-55, fw 1.20ww
how do i enable jumbo frames on the router? doesn't seem to me an option in the router menu. my pc network interfaces both have jumbo frames enabled.
i don't think jumbo frames is working because when i do ping -f -l 4088 192.168.xxx from one PC to the other, it cannot accept this packet size says packet needs to be fragmented (this ping test was from smallnetbuilder.net)
or is there any other way to check if jumbo frames is working?
thanks!
furyasca
20-10-2008, 06:15 PM
new firmware out on dlink sg website for dir 655
anyone know of it does the same things as the 1.21 firmware?
i dont see a 1.13 ver. in the us ftp site (ftp://ftp.dlink.com/Gateway/dir655/Firmware/) either.
Version Description Date File
1.13SH Added VOD support 10/20/2008 http://www.dlink.com.sg/support/Support_download.asp?idsupport=559
PPkiller
20-10-2008, 07:37 PM
wat's VOD ? Video on Damand? :S
silverstone
22-10-2008, 12:07 AM
hmm just yesterday, tested with my friend's laptop, also da same behaviour... when changed setting n clicked on save setting, both my friend's laptop n my own wireless connection was disconnected...
looks like i've to make a trip down for rma liao... :(
mtech88
22-10-2008, 02:31 AM
new firmware out on dlink sg website for dir 655
anyone know of it does the same things as the 1.21 firmware?
i dont see a 1.13 ver. in the us ftp site (ftp://ftp.dlink.com/Gateway/dir655/Firmware/) either.
Version Description Date File
1.13SH Added VOD support 10/20/2008 http://www.dlink.com.sg/support/Support_download.asp?idsupport=559
OK, I tested out the 1.13SH. Seems to be an old version. The firmware date is 01 Aug 08. It does not have SharePort. Also no Guest Zone.
Finally decided to go for 1.21 version (I got it from upgrade of 1.20 from TW site. Version is DIR655A4_FW121B08.bin even though my hardware is A3)
Seems to be working so far.
liangtam
22-10-2008, 03:08 PM
only 1.21 got shareport
chaicka
23-10-2008, 08:12 PM
hmm just yesterday, tested with my friend's laptop, also da same behaviour... when changed setting n clicked on save setting, both my friend's laptop n my own wireless connection was disconnected...
looks like i've to make a trip down for rma liao... :(
SilverStone, you may want to post your findings here:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=2658.0
Looks like globally there are users hitting the same issue of wireless on router restarting itself.
silverstone
23-10-2008, 09:18 PM
SilverStone, you may want to post your findings here:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=2658.0
Looks like globally there are users hitting the same issue of wireless on router restarting itself.
if thats da case, do i need to rma? cause im thinkin of going down to funan branch tomorrow to rma...
chaicka
23-10-2008, 10:06 PM
Still proceed to RMA bah...at least u get a working set first.
Providing feedback in the forum will help D-Link sort out the root cause and probably prevent such issue in future releases.
silverstone
23-10-2008, 10:10 PM
i see... ok then, i shall proceed to funan tomorrow.
anyway, thanks for yr patience n help these few wks though... ;)
silverstone
24-10-2008, 07:22 PM
hmm just came back from RMA... went to da main d-link branch @ tradehub 21 instead cause funan branch doesnt have stock for RMA.
guys, i check with u ah? will changing da 802.11 mode, Wireless Channel, n channel width cause da wireless connection to disconnect/drop off? cause according to da pple at d-link (tradehub21), doing so will cause da wireless connection to drop off, they said its normal.
cause previously, bro chaicka asked me to like aft flashing it to v1.21 w/o securespot, reset to factory default, then go n change some basic network/wireless setting. then click 'save setting', see whether my wireless connection will be dropped off anot... but i only changed ' 802.11 mode, Wireless Channel, n channel width' n click on save setting, so it was disconnected.
silverstone
24-10-2008, 07:25 PM
til now, aft rma, im still facing da wirless connection being drop off problem... so i would like to check with u guys if changing da 802.11 mode, Wireless Channel, n channel width will cause da wireless connection to disconnect anot...
cause all along, da only changes i made n click on save setting was da 802.11 mode, Wireless Channel, n channel width nia... nothing else...
on a side note, d-link flash my router firmware to v1.12.
chaicka
24-10-2008, 08:31 PM
til now, aft rma, im still facing da wirless connection being drop off problem... so i would like to check with u guys if changing da 802.11 mode, Wireless Channel, n channel width will cause da wireless connection to disconnect anot...
cause all along, da only changes i made n click on save setting was da 802.11 mode, Wireless Channel, n channel width nia... nothing else...
on a side note, d-link flash my router firmware to v1.12.
Ya, changing wireless settings will cause wireless module to restart. It's my fault to have given lousy example of settings to change. So sorry.
Changing network settings should not. I just tested and it does not drop the wireless and the log oso indicate the wireless module didn't restart.
Try changing other settings under the Advanced tab.
The bug I mentioned happens at any menu, once click save settings, the wireless module just restart and it's indicated in the logs.
silverstone
24-10-2008, 08:38 PM
Ya, changing wireless settings will cause wireless module to restart. It's my fault to have given lousy example of settings to change. So sorry.
Changing network settings should not. I just tested and it does not drop the wireless and the log oso indicate the wireless module didn't restart.
Try changing other settings under the Advanced tab.
The bug I mentioned happens at any menu, once click save settings, the wireless module just restart and it's indicated in the logs.
hey dude, dun like that say, u have helped me a lot man... its ok. ;)
oh btw, think previously when i just bought this router, i did change da wireless setting n click on save setting, dun have da impression of da wireless connection being drop off leh...
n btw, think my router default firmware is v1.10, thats why i couldnt flash to v1.02/v1.03.
pardon for my n00bness man... :o
silverstone
24-10-2008, 08:40 PM
hmm so if i were to test now, wat should i change under network settings to test its stability ?
EDIT: just now when i rma rite, didnt reset my router to factory default setting, so is it ok?
chaicka
24-10-2008, 09:12 PM
hmm so if i were to test now, wat should i change under network settings to test its stability ?
EDIT: just now when i rma rite, didnt reset my router to factory default setting, so is it ok?
I changed the DHCP IP Address range and click save settings.
silverstone
24-10-2008, 09:19 PM
erm... so for da last 3 num of da IP rite, i can just enter any num rite? like say 250 ?
chaicka
24-10-2008, 09:21 PM
erm... so for da last 3 num of da IP rite, i can just enter any num rite? like say 250 ?
Yes. Click Save Settings and it should not cause the wireless connection to drop.
silverstone
24-10-2008, 09:24 PM
i see... ok, will try it later n update here...
Bieffe
24-10-2008, 09:32 PM
Did not read all your previous post. Sometimes is the driver for the wireless adaptor that is giving problem. May lappy also keep disconnecting etc....finally changed the driver and solved the problem.
silverstone
24-10-2008, 09:48 PM
hmm think my wireless adapter's driver is latest ba ... not quite sure though...
danxiaogui86
24-10-2008, 09:50 PM
Hi, as for wireless dropping, can u try setting a static ip address to ur wireless mac address? that what i been doing :D
silverstone
24-10-2008, 09:53 PM
Hi, as for wireless dropping, can u try setting a static ip address to ur wireless mac address? that what i been doing :D
erm... how do i go abt doing this? pai seh eh, n00b here...
danxiaogui86
24-10-2008, 11:00 PM
erm... how do i go abt doing this? pai seh eh, n00b here...
setup/network settings then u reserve the ip.
silverstone
25-10-2008, 07:39 PM
Yes. Click Save Settings and it should not cause the wireless connection to drop.
just an update: with v1.12, my wireless connection didnt drop off aft changing settings under network.
silverstone
25-10-2008, 07:52 PM
setup/network settings then u reserve the ip.
done this method liao... didnt encounter any disconnect w/ static IP n w/o.
but hey guys, can i check with u, does static IP affect downloading of stuff when using bitcomet, emule etc ?
cause aft setting static IP for my wireless connection, my dl speed for emule is quite slow, regardless of downloading using wireless or wired.
b4 setting static IP for my wireless connection, i can get roughly a download speed of around 168kb/s for my wired connection. but aft setting static IP, im getting like around 18kb/s for my wired connection.
i did port forwarding b4 setting static IP for my wireless connection.
danxiaogui86
25-10-2008, 09:20 PM
static ip dun really affect ur download.
silverstone
25-10-2008, 10:44 PM
hey dude, r u also using this router? if so can i check with u, under port forwarding rite, there is a box on da left, wats that ah? do i have to tick or leave it untick?
silverstone
26-10-2008, 03:14 AM
erm... dunno if i should post it here anot... just now encounter a weird problem.
on my wired pc, i couldnt access hwz forum at all, but i could access other website like google, yahoo, livescore.com etc...
whereas on my 2nd desktop, which is running on wireless connection, can access hwz forum...
any ideas guys?
limster
26-10-2008, 11:21 AM
i have a dir-655, just flashed to 1.13. Realised that for wireless disconnecting it's a common problem. Check your dir-655 log's to see whether you get the 'received deauthentication' messages.
Google "received deauthentication dlink" to see... doesn't seem to have any known solution except trying all the various firmware until you get one that has no problem.... or go back to using WEP instead of WPA
silverstone
26-10-2008, 02:07 PM
i have a dir-655, just flashed to 1.13. Realised that for wireless disconnecting it's a common problem. Check your dir-655 log's to see whether you get the 'received deauthentication' messages.
Google "received deauthentication dlink" to see... doesn't seem to have any known solution except trying all the various firmware until you get one that has no problem.... or go back to using WEP instead of WPA
ya, i saw da ' received deauthentication ' msg too... but then as confirm by bro chaicka, changing da wireless setting will cause da wireless connection to drop off...
so i follow his method, went to network n change some setting, then click on save settings, didnt enounter any disconnection on my wireless connection.
n btw, my firmware is v1.12, d-link service ctr flashed it for me de...
danxiaogui86
26-10-2008, 03:00 PM
hey dude, r u also using this router? if so can i check with u, under port forwarding rite, there is a box on da left, wats that ah? do i have to tick or leave it untick?
tick, if not tick mean not active.
silverstone
26-10-2008, 03:15 PM
tick, if not tick mean not active.
oh ok, noted with thanks. ;)
silverstone
26-10-2008, 05:00 PM
erm... dunno if i should post it here anot... just now encounter a weird problem.
on my wired pc, i couldnt access hwz forum at all, but i could access other website like google, yahoo, livescore.com etc...
whereas on my 2nd desktop, which is running on wireless connection, can access hwz forum...
any ideas guys?
sorry guys, have to up my ques regarding on this... need help urgently.
just now encounter it again... :(
kkh83
27-10-2008, 06:48 PM
what is vod stand for in version 1.13sh
Bieffe
27-10-2008, 09:21 PM
what is vod stand for in version 1.13shVIDEO ON DEMAND duh.
kkh83
28-10-2008, 10:47 AM
any problem in this new firmware?
nanochan1
28-10-2008, 02:54 PM
Hi every1,
wan 2 ask wad's e waitin time in total for an entire RMA takes?
eg, e que, e registration, e waitin time 2 get ur product change - hw lon does it takes in total?
e 1-2-1 xchange - e xchange unit is a refurbished set or NEW one?
my DIR-655 n DWA-140 hvin lot of problem - wan 2 get it change.
Poka0206
28-10-2008, 03:06 PM
Anyone has encountered this problem? After flashing to 1.21, with and without secureport (both), my "save setting" would not worked after a while. Meaning, right after flashing to 1.21, I can make changes to the various setting and saved it. After a while of use, if I make some changes to the setting again, the "save setting" button when pressed, would not saved the new settings.
Normally, my Wi-Fi is off. I will only ON it when I need Wi-Fi. Thus, for this case, I cannot ON and OFF the Wi-Fi as I liked, cos I can't saved the changes. No problem when I was using 1.11SH, and since it was no a big problem, I never bother to flash back to 1.11SH and verify again.
Just wondering if anyone see this problem?
phuque99
28-10-2008, 03:22 PM
Hi every1,
eg, e que, e registration, e waitin time 2 get ur product change - hw lon does it takes in total?
Need to RMA the keyboard as well? :D
liangtam
28-10-2008, 04:32 PM
try resetting ur browser cache
nanochan1
28-10-2008, 06:35 PM
Hi every1,
any1 can help me on dis?
chaicka
28-10-2008, 06:50 PM
Anyone has encountered this problem? After flashing to 1.21, with and without secureport (both), my "save setting" would not worked after a while. Meaning, right after flashing to 1.21, I can make changes to the various setting and saved it. After a while of use, if I make some changes to the setting again, the "save setting" button when pressed, would not saved the new settings.
Normally, my Wi-Fi is off. I will only ON it when I need Wi-Fi. Thus, for this case, I cannot ON and OFF the Wi-Fi as I liked, cos I can't saved the changes. No problem when I was using 1.11SH, and since it was no a big problem, I never bother to flash back to 1.11SH and verify again.
Just wondering if anyone see this problem?
I dun have this issue with the 1.21 non-securespot firmware. Probably you may want to try to note down all settings, then reset to factory default, reconfigure (without importing config file) it. See if the issue still occurs.
For me, I imported old config file (saved from v1.20 firmware) with the non-securespot 1.21 firmware and it works fine.
Just avoid the securespot 1.21 firmware. So far quite alot of pple hit issue with it.
liangtam
28-10-2008, 07:48 PM
any1 can help me on dis?
u go down u know liao mah
nanochan1
28-10-2008, 10:07 PM
u go down u know liao mah
hi, i truly appreciate tt u replied but u r nt helpin. thx anw
liangtam
28-10-2008, 10:26 PM
You have to go down no matter what if you're truly looking for RMAing ur stuff, so why not help urself in this case?
phuque99
28-10-2008, 11:55 PM
You have to go down no matter what if you're truly looking for RMAing ur stuff, so why not help urself in this case?
Kinda obvious the person is looking for free handout and doesn't accept your answer because its not "free" and effort is required to get the actual answer (even though that's really the real answer) :D
danxiaogui86
29-10-2008, 12:27 AM
i think ur adapter and router is fine. user problem? did u try flash to latest firmware?
silverstone
29-10-2008, 12:46 AM
i think ur adapter and router is fine. user problem? did u try flash to latest firmware?
bro, who u referring to :s11:
Poka0206
29-10-2008, 10:06 AM
I dun have this issue with the 1.21 non-securespot firmware. Probably you may want to try to note down all settings, then reset to factory default, reconfigure (without importing config file) it. See if the issue still occurs.
For me, I imported old config file (saved from v1.20 firmware) with the non-securespot 1.21 firmware and it works fine.
Just avoid the securespot 1.21 firmware. So far quite alot of pple hit issue with it.
I did reset to factory default after flashing to 1.21 and reconfigure, but still the same. Since my firmware is now 1.21 with securespot, maybe will try again flashing it to without securespot and see how. But my previous attemp on using without securespot is still with the same problem.
Thanks and regards.
leinad
29-10-2008, 10:13 AM
I did reset to factory default after flashing to 1.21 and reconfigure, but still the same. Since my firmware is now 1.21 with securespot, maybe will try again flashing it to without securespot and see how. But my previous attemp on using without securespot is still with the same problem.
Thanks and regards.
The no-securespot firmware is much better.
/Dan
liangtam
29-10-2008, 03:23 PM
1.21 is not recommended for practical day to day use. Unless you're ok with it. 1.11 is better
danxiaogui86
29-10-2008, 04:29 PM
1.21 is not recommended for practical day to day use. Unless you're ok with it. 1.11 is better
me day to day use 1.21 leh. no problem.
xiaodon03
31-10-2008, 02:41 PM
On this Dir-655 there is a usb input port.
If i connect a portable harddisk to the router, can it support the BT to download without switching on my pc?
liangtam
31-10-2008, 02:59 PM
no
*10 char*
silverstone
01-11-2008, 12:04 AM
hey guys, check with u all ah, i've done port forwarding on my dir 655, but how come my DL speed is still so slow ah?
using uTorrent n eMule...
silverstone
01-11-2008, 01:04 AM
any ideas guys?
pai seh to up my ques again guys, cause still cannot solve it.
anyway, both my wired n wireless pc r using firefox, but i realised that when i encounter this problem on my wired pc, it seems that IE7 can surf hwz.
tried to uninstall FF3 n reinstall back, but still doesnt solve it. :(
leinad
01-11-2008, 01:18 AM
Anyone knows where to get a power adaptor for the DIR-655 cheap?
/Dan
liangtam
01-11-2008, 01:22 AM
d-rink ror, go lie to them adapter spoil
coolstardy
01-11-2008, 10:16 AM
Hey guys i've got a prob with my wifi on my Nokia E51 is not able to connect to my DIR-655 even when i set wireless to G and N it just says no internet unable to connect. Any idea why is it this way?
TopGun
01-11-2008, 02:02 PM
Hey guys i've got a prob with my wifi on my Nokia E51 is not able to connect to my DIR-655 even when i set wireless to G and N it just says no internet unable to connect. Any idea why is it this way?
Set it to G only and try.
kotori
04-11-2008, 12:38 PM
i have made up my mind to upgrade my wrt54g to a dir-655, but before i do so, got a question for fellow 655 pros
im currently torrenting on a wrt54g at 200 connections -> 4 torrents @ 50 connection each, any much higher and the router will disconnect and what not.. , since 615 is a much better router, i guess it can take more connections? how many connections do you guys recommend/set for the BT client before the dir-655 dc?
read through all 80 pages but cant seem to find any info regarding this~
thanks in advance :)
oh.. i almost forgot about this;
suppose im on singnet and im behind a 2wire router (as bridge mode?), will the 2wire router limit the number of connections the 615 can take?
djcoolmax
04-11-2008, 01:59 PM
using 1.21 daily with heavy BTs.. no problem.
djcoolmax
04-11-2008, 02:00 PM
hey guys, check with u all ah, i've done port forwarding on my dir 655, but how come my DL speed is still so slow ah?
using uTorrent n eMule...
having a good router does not necessarily mean fast BT. You need to have right settings on PC as well as the right ISP and the right connection plan.
SpinNaker
05-11-2008, 10:45 AM
having a good router does not necessarily mean fast BT. You need to have right settings on PC as well as the right ISP and the right connection plan.
+ your seeds must also be fast...
phuque99
05-11-2008, 10:54 AM
Lol, getting free stuff online also kpkb must have SLA on speed.
SoSongkc
09-11-2008, 11:45 PM
bro, who u referring to :s11:
Hi guys,
I just change my router to DIR-655, however, i encounter this strange problem,
Signal on my wireless is excellent (full bar), however my speed is like 5.5Mbps only (normally is at least 54Mbps...). It is very slow, somtimes, don't even connect to internet...
Can anyone advise what the resolution? :s11:
Thks in advance!
phuque99
09-11-2008, 11:57 PM
Hi guys,
Signal on my wireless is excellent (full bar), however my speed is like 5.5Mbps only (normally is at least 54Mbps...). It is very slow, somtimes, don't even connect to internet...
Thks in advance!
Call D-Link 24x7 support at 6501 4200!! Good stuff, they'll help you.
chaicka
10-11-2008, 09:20 AM
Hi guys,
Thks in advance!
Share with us more information then we can assist.
1. What's the firmware version?
2. What is the wireless settings?
any additional information would be useful.
SoSongkc
10-11-2008, 10:55 PM
Share with us more information then we can assist.
1. What's the firmware version?
2. What is the wireless settings?
any additional information would be useful.
1. firmware: 1.10WW
2. Enable Wireless: always
802.11 Mode: Miixed 802.11n,802.11g and 802.11b
Enable Auto Channel Scan : "tick"
Wireless channel: 2.347 GHz - Ch6
Transmission Rate : Best (automatic)
Channel Width : 20Mhz
chaicka
10-11-2008, 10:59 PM
1. firmware: 1.10WW
2. Enable Wireless: always
802.11 Mode: Miixed 802.11n,802.11g and 802.11b
Enable Auto Channel Scan : "tick"
Wireless channel: 2.347 GHz - Ch6
Channel Width : 20Mhz
Your setup is not optimized, thus poor performance.
phuque99
10-11-2008, 11:03 PM
Ch 6 is most crowded. Almost all router defaults there so you might be fighting same frequency with neighbours. Don't run mix if possible. stick to g only or n only.
SatelliteM200
11-11-2008, 08:50 PM
what is the best set-up ? can elaborate ?
MarineX
11-11-2008, 08:55 PM
what is the best set-up ? can elaborate ?
Enable Wireless: always
802.11 Mode: Miixed 802.11n,802.11g
Enable Auto Channel Scan : uncheck
Wireless channel: 2.462 GHz - Ch11
Channel Width : 20/40Mhz
SoSongkc
12-11-2008, 05:04 PM
can i ask what is the optimized setup?
SoSongkc
12-11-2008, 05:07 PM
Enable Wireless: always
802.11 Mode: Miixed 802.11n,802.11g
Enable Auto Channel Scan : uncheck
Wireless channel: 2.462 GHz - Ch11
Channel Width : 20/40Mhz
Thanks, I will try and revert back.
Can i ask why channel 11 is the best setting ar?
SoSongkc
13-11-2008, 11:24 AM
Hi guys,
I am using SNBB 3Mbps
Anyone using Speedtouch 536 modem and connect DIR-655 router?
How do you configure the router setting? I set it to DHCP so so that it can work.
If i configure to PPPOe, it will not work. is it normal?
leinad
13-11-2008, 02:47 PM
Thanks, I will try and revert back.
Can i ask why channel 11 is the best setting ar?
It's not merely Ch11, but just about any unused channel. If you have users using ch11 in your area, it won't help either... Just use a wireless scan tool to see what channels are in use around you - that always helps.
/Dan
SatelliteM200
13-11-2008, 09:02 PM
Hi guys,
I am using SNBB 3Mbps
Anyone using Speedtouch 536 modem and connect DIR-655 router?
How do you configure the router setting? I set it to DHCP so so that it can work.
If i configure to PPPOe, it will not work. is it normal?
me too... whenever I try to set to PPPOe, no internet connection.
SoSongkc
14-11-2008, 09:33 AM
Hi guys,
my problem still exist after using the configuration, using channel 11, mix mode (20/40Mhz), my wireless signal is excellent, but my connection dropped to 1Mbps when I am my room.
Currently, I am placing my router in my living room. the distance between my router to my room is less than 15 feet.
Is there any remedy on this? Btw, I am using ST536 and manage to set it bridge mode, and using PPPoe connection, using the router to configure.
I am using Intel5100 wireless adapter for my notebook
Anyone can advise how to resolve this problem?
SoSongkc
14-11-2008, 09:38 AM
me too... whenever I try to set to PPPOe, no internet connection.
you can try to set to bridge using this guide http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1511654
Been a Dlink supporter since 802.11b router. Currently using a DGL-4300.
Thinking of getting this router now that I have a notebook that supports Draft N.
But this model is almost 2 years old. Is it still worth getting? Don't want to buy already then 3 months later new model launched.
Was hoping for the DGL-4500 but it doesn't seem to be coming to Singapore.
Then heard about the DIR-855 but is doesn't appear to be launched yet.
richneo
15-11-2008, 08:56 PM
dunno this comex show will sell dir-855 or not
but 855 really rox
http://img119.imageshack.us/img119/9287/xmasjd2.jpg
universe
15-11-2008, 09:11 PM
It's not merely Ch11, but just about any unused channel. If you have users using ch11 in your area, it won't help either... Just use a wireless scan tool to see what channels are in use around you - that always helps.
/Dan
best channel is 1,6,11. something to do with least interference with other channels
of course, must see your area, which channel is used. if everyone uses channel 11, channel 1 or 6 would be better
liangtam
15-11-2008, 09:15 PM
fwah, new toys again
*poison*
Desmond_
15-11-2008, 09:43 PM
wah..... how much 855? :o
phuque99
15-11-2008, 10:23 PM
DIR855 expensive with the heow oled display. Hope they'll launch the DIR825 instead that should rival Linksys' dual band N router.
richneo
15-11-2008, 10:38 PM
yes
the price of 825 is about half of 855 according to dlinkshop.com
There's always Linksys and other brands that will moderate the price. I like Dlink does not mean I am not price sensitive.
I suppose I'll wait till launch of the 825/855 then. I can live without the OLED. A router/switch is not something meant to be seen anyway.
richneo
15-11-2008, 11:53 PM
825 is supposed to be the cheaper version of 855 without the oled.. but i have no idea why they forgo the 3rd antenna
liangtam
16-11-2008, 12:01 AM
IMO ah, no point going for dual band.
Not at this moment, since those performance u can already get with DIR655 nia. except 5GHz.
richneo
16-11-2008, 12:06 AM
going for N in 5ghz also not bad
http://img73.imageshack.us/img73/2675/5ghz1ne6.png
chaicka
16-11-2008, 02:49 AM
FYI: 5GHz band has a downside - the coverage would be much smaller and has poorer wall penetration.
richneo
16-11-2008, 09:31 AM
bro no leh..
higher the frequency, better the penetration power but shorter the distance
5ghz penetrate wall better than 2.4ghz but range wise 2.4ghz can travel further.
chaicka
16-11-2008, 10:48 AM
bro no leh..
higher the frequency, better the penetration power but shorter the distance
5ghz penetrate wall better than 2.4ghz but range wise 2.4ghz can travel further.
Thanks for the correction. :)
sine_morbo
18-11-2008, 08:16 PM
Hi all,
I'm unable to find a list containing the supported 3G USB modems. I intend to use the DIR-655 with a Huawei E270 (vodafone E272). I found a post here (http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies.cfm?t=1067247&r=17142515#r17142515) stating it works with E220. Does anyone know about the compatibility with the E272? Is there any official info on this?
Thanks!
phuque99
18-11-2008, 08:18 PM
Call dlink directly. They are pretty responsive.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.