View Full Version : D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Router - Product Info
Pages :
[
6]
sine_morbo
18-11-2008, 08:41 PM
I already contacted my local d-link support (Hungary) in email, but there is no response... I'm about to contact the US support. Meanwhile, do you know if there are different models in US and Europe (is the same firmware going to work for all DIR-655 instances)?
liangtam
18-11-2008, 09:01 PM
v1.21 works for ALL 3 revision, period.
E270 works in 1.21
richneo
18-11-2008, 09:02 PM
Hi all,
I'm unable to find a list containing the supported 3G USB modems. I intend to use the DIR-655 with a Huawei E270 (vodafone E272). I found a post here (http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies.cfm?t=1067247&r=17142515#r17142515) stating it works with E220. Does anyone know about the compatibility with the E272? Is there any official info on this?
Thanks!
contact the technical support of where-ever you download the firmware from
sine_morbo
18-11-2008, 09:05 PM
As I was digging the forums for the E270 compatibility, I found the "Shareport for Mac" request. This made me think that I maybe misunderstood how Shareport works.
Here is what I thought: plugging my 3G USB modem into the router enables the 3G internet connection for all connected clients (for example my VoIP phone). So does it work like this? Or is it more like a "port distribution over ethernet" so that every client has to run the driver for the USB devices?
Thanks once more.
richneo
18-11-2008, 09:11 PM
As I was digging the forums for the E270 compatibility, I found the "Shareport for Mac" request. This made me think that I maybe misunderstood how Shareport works.
Here is what I thought: plugging my 3G USB modem into the router enables the 3G internet connection for all connected clients (for example my VoIP phone). So does it work like this? Or is it more like a "port distribution over ethernet" so that every client has to run the driver for the USB devices?
Thanks once more.
USB port on DIR-655 enables 3 functions..
1. WCN windows connect now for configuring ur wifi thru thumbdrive
2. 3G Connection. Enables u to share 3G modem connection
3. Share port. Enales u to share usb storage or printers
sine_morbo
19-11-2008, 12:25 AM
That's good news!
"2. 3G Connection. Enables u to share 3G modem connection"
By this you mean the clients won't feel the difference (apart of course the speed difference) if the router uses ADSL or 3G connection. And in case of using the 3G net, no driver is needed from the side of the connected clients.
This is the normal behavior I was hoping: you plug in your 3G modem, the router manages it, the internet connection gets shared and the way the internet connection is established (DSL or 3G) is hidden from the clients.
If this is how it works, this is what I need!:)
richneo
19-11-2008, 06:59 AM
That's good news!
"2. 3G Connection. Enables u to share 3G modem connection"
By this you mean the clients won't feel the difference (apart of course the speed difference) if the router uses ADSL or 3G connection. And in case of using the 3G net, no driver is needed from the side of the connected clients.
This is the normal behavior I was hoping: you plug in your 3G modem, the router manages it, the internet connection gets shared and the way the internet connection is established (DSL or 3G) is hidden from the clients.
If this is how it works, this is what I need!:)
Yes. This is what it is.
kivine
19-11-2008, 09:49 AM
just a qn, then how does the router knows what apn we using/ like whether we use SH/M1/Singtel?
MarineX
19-11-2008, 01:15 PM
just a qn, then how does the router knows what apn we using/ like whether we use SH/M1/Singtel?
that is the job of your modem, isnt it?
liangtam
19-11-2008, 02:35 PM
Thats not the job of the modem, its for the operator to provide the information and customers, to punch in the information in config.
what if you had both the 3g usb and a wan at the same time?
richneo
19-11-2008, 04:54 PM
what if you had both the 3g usb and a wan at the same time?
then u can only have either the 3g or rj45 wan active at anytime at your discretion with a setting inside the gui
linuxlover
19-11-2008, 06:31 PM
Wow...thats is indeed Great News !
D-Link Router, Way to go !!!
Can save a lot as compare to a 3G Router which sell outside at least S$300+ without WAN connection even..
Wah...so now can use as a Printer-server?
But how to configure?
The New Firmware has a New Option to detect and add the printer and Set?
liangtam
19-11-2008, 06:41 PM
SharePort is a propriety s/w, so no interactions with linux(yet).
3G router ex cos of the Cardbus and volume of prod/sale, although it dosn't rly cost much in terms of BOM.
Bieffe
19-11-2008, 09:29 PM
Which version of the FW allows these functions?
richneo
20-11-2008, 07:40 AM
Wow...thats is indeed Great News !
D-Link Router, Way to go !!!
Can save a lot as compare to a 3G Router which sell outside at least S$300+ without WAN connection even..
Wah...so now can use as a Printer-server?
But how to configure?
The New Firmware has a New Option to detect and add the printer and Set?
Nothing to configure and set for printer. Connect the printer to the router and it will appear to your computer as if its connected directly to your computer via usb.
tormont
20-11-2008, 09:20 AM
Belkin has a new router N+ F5D8235-4.... Wanting to buy a router... is Dir-655 better or this new belkin router better?
phuque99
20-11-2008, 10:13 AM
I don't think anyone here will buy two, compare and spoon feed you answer. Read online reviews, and sites like smallnetworkbuilder.com to decide.
richneo
20-11-2008, 10:30 AM
Belkin has a new router N+ F5D8235-4.... Wanting to buy a router... is Dir-655 better or this new belkin router better?
At a Glance
Product - Belkin N+ Wireless Router (F5D8235-4)
- Belkin N+ Wireless USB Network Adapter (F5D8055 v1)
Summary Single-band Draft 2.0 802.11n router with gigabit switch based on Ralink chipset
Pros
• Gigabit switch supports Jumbo Frames
• Guest access w/ captive web portal and AP modes
• Network sharing of USB flash or hard drive
Cons
• Basic routing feature set
• No control of file sharing feature
• Very slow file sharing
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/content/view/30634/96/
Closing Thoughts
In all, the Belkin N+ is a nice little draft 11n router with a unique combination of features. But at around $110 as I write this, it's really too expensive to be called an "entry level" draft 11n router, which is generally how I classify two-antenna draft 11n routers.
For actually less money, you can currently pick up a D-Link DIR-655, Linksys WRT350N (while supplies last) or Linksys WRT310N, all of which have gigabit switches. Of the three, the WRT350N is the only other that can share a USB drive. But file sharing performance is so slow, I don't think that is worth influencing your selection.
The Plus' key differentiator is its captive-portal guest access, which can be quite handy for small offices, cafes, B&B's and other hospitality uses. None of the other products have it and maybe that (plus the gigabit ports) is why Belkin has priced the Plus relatively high.
If Belkin had included a radio with better range and street-priced around $70 - $80, then the Plus would get a real thumbs up. But as it is, it's really a pay-your-money-and-make-your choice proposition and, unfortunately, that's what you'll have to do.
sine_morbo
20-11-2008, 08:39 PM
Again about using a 3g modem with the DIR-655:
The local d-link support informed me that the local operators' 3G connection parameters are not included in the current firmware so I have to wait probably 1-2 month until they get hardcoded into the next release. Do you guys now about a way to hack the connection data into the firmware, or there's no way to use a provider that's not listed by default?
richneo
20-11-2008, 09:39 PM
Haven't tested with an actual 3g connection but i think you can insert the apn yourself.
liangtam
20-11-2008, 09:47 PM
parameters :s11:
if its the modem detection, theres nothing u can do
however, if its the setting of your mobile service, u can refer to the software config and throw relevant setting inside router
sine_morbo
24-11-2008, 08:25 PM
You mean this is a legal possibility, not hacking? Than I wonder why my local support guy told me that this is impossible and I have to wait months for the firmware upgrade to arrive...
djcoolmax
24-11-2008, 08:35 PM
Again about using a 3g modem with the DIR-655:
The local d-link support informed me that the local operators' 3G connection parameters are not included in the current firmware so I have to wait probably 1-2 month until they get hardcoded into the next release. Do you guys now about a way to hack the connection data into the firmware, or there's no way to use a provider that's not listed by default?
So not true. It's in the version I have installed. Choose country and the 3 local providers are there to choose!
Sorry to side track here but is having dropped packets on the WAN side normal? I got about 100ish packets on both the TX and RX side, my DGL-4300 had been up for about 5 days.
stevenliew
24-11-2008, 09:49 PM
How much is this router now ??? and issit easy to install???
Lucky123
24-11-2008, 10:51 PM
How much is this router now ??? and issit easy to install???
Around $21x ~$22x or you can redeem from Starhub rewards program. Redeemed mine few days ago and setup was a breeze. Now with this new router, I have converted my 4300 to a gigabit switch. :)
novatliz
24-11-2008, 10:59 PM
which modem do you guys recommend to be use with this router? intend to replace my 2wire
stevenliew
24-11-2008, 11:11 PM
Around $21x ~$22x or you can redeem from Starhub rewards program. Redeemed mine few days ago and setup was a breeze. Now with this new router, I have converted my 4300 to a gigabit switch. :)
still so ex ar???
zz was thinking if around 180 I get it......
redeem with how much points???
this router can connect to the cabled modem from starhub MOL hor??
liangtam
24-11-2008, 11:15 PM
u using which mol plan?
all router can connect to the modem, no prob
stevenliew
24-11-2008, 11:20 PM
I on MOL 12 mpbs one....
The router price still so high ar???
novatliz
24-11-2008, 11:36 PM
still so ex ar???
zz was thinking if around 180 I get it......
redeem with how much points???
this router can connect to the cabled modem from starhub MOL hor??
http://img.skitch.com/20081124-x1dpwy4nxap9xiangpg5xbde45.jpg
liangtam
24-11-2008, 11:39 PM
12mbps onli mah, ani brand oso can.
655 the best tho, but its rly exp.
see sitex gotch promo notch lor
ry0suk1
24-11-2008, 11:59 PM
get 655 u wont regret
stevenliew
25-11-2008, 12:05 AM
12mbps onli mah, ani brand oso can.
655 the best tho, but its rly exp.
see sitex gotch promo notch lor
I want best mah....
sian , might not be able to make it to sitex....
sitex start at wat time ar???
Need to work on weekends leh.....:s27:
liangtam
25-11-2008, 12:24 AM
this thurs mah
stevenliew
25-11-2008, 12:38 AM
this thurs mah
Wah sian...I working from tuesday to sunday one.....
3-11 ZZZ:s27:
where can get good deal for this router also???
MarineX
25-11-2008, 07:52 AM
Wah sian...I working from tuesday to sunday one.....
3-11 ZZZ:s27:
where can get good deal for this router also???
Sitex, last day - last comex its gg for 179 or lesser.
stevenliew
25-11-2008, 01:38 PM
really ar?!
Omg la.....
cannot make it there la sunday.....:(
It is already under $200 in most shops. Sitex should be lower than $179. Else not quite worth it.
SteveAu
25-11-2008, 08:45 PM
guys is it good for using for dling bT?
stevenliew
26-11-2008, 12:05 AM
woot saturday get no pay leave , nabei lose 80 dollar but nvm!!!
can go get my dir 655 liao woohoo
liangtam
26-11-2008, 12:30 AM
$80/day is high liao wor
stevenliew
26-11-2008, 01:09 AM
No la....
is lost the allowance 40 dollar plus 45 liddat pay.....
zzz.......
djsadist
26-11-2008, 01:24 AM
Wah that an attractive for this superb router... This will be on on my top 10 list... :s12: Nearly redeem from starhub...
MarineX
26-11-2008, 08:37 AM
Wah that an attractive for this superb router... This will be on on my top 10 list... :s12: Nearly redeem from starhub...
oh note, that doesnt applies to DLINK booth. is those external 3rd party vendors that will be retailing at that price. not Dlink booth itself.
and you can do it w/o any trade in.
liangtam
26-11-2008, 01:59 PM
Notch on ur top 3 list ma :s11:
DIR-655 is still $189. That's like $8 cheaper than Challenger... :(
Or if you bother $139 on Friday 6:30pm
richneo
26-11-2008, 11:41 PM
http://www.dlink.com.sg/img/DIR655-banner.jpg
acidcrash
26-11-2008, 11:49 PM
Does the shareport support usb hub?
TheKid
26-11-2008, 11:59 PM
Bought it last IT fair, no regrets. Looks awesome too :(
stevenliew
27-11-2008, 12:07 AM
At sitex with the price of 229 good buy????
or other place better???
djsadist
27-11-2008, 01:51 AM
oh note, that doesnt applies to DLINK booth. is those external 3rd party vendors that will be retailing at that price. not Dlink booth itself.
and you can do it w/o any trade in.
Thanks for the tip. Then i can skip D-link booth liao... Go those vendors section look see.
DIR-655 is still $189. That's like $8 cheaper than Challenger... :(
Or if you bother $139 on Friday 6:30pm
Ya la... Till now still find Sitex's deal not attractive ler... Proberly need to wait for our bros report tmr... Anyway who can bother to be there on Fri 6.30pm for the $139 deal. 6pm then knock off. Anyway only 30 sets for the $139 deal, waste time... If $39 i will take 1/2 leave.. :s13:
richneo
27-11-2008, 07:32 AM
Does the shareport support usb hub?
can. i've tried
but u have to make sure ur usb hub can be externally powered so that the usb devices can get enuff power to function properly in the first place
Farish
27-11-2008, 11:40 AM
Any idea if they are gonna introduce the DIR-855? Dual-Band N!
DIR-855 too expensive IMO, I think the DIR-825 is more reasonably priced.
Thanks for the tip. Then i can skip D-link booth liao... Go those vendors section look see.
Ya la... Till now still find Sitex's deal not attractive ler... Proberly need to wait for our bros report tmr... Anyway who can bother to be there on Fri 6.30pm for the $139 deal. 6pm then knock off. Anyway only 30 sets for the $139 deal, waste time... If $39 i will take 1/2 leave.. :s13:
hmm i 1 2 get this router but too bad.. every1 been saying sitex no good offer..
liangtam
28-11-2008, 12:30 AM
dir-655 at $140(-$1) is very worth
oo $140? where?
MarineX
28-11-2008, 08:43 AM
oo $140? where?
Sitex my friend. at 630pm only today.
Francis85
28-11-2008, 08:55 AM
Any reviews of this router for bukit timah hill hiking or not.........
phuque99
28-11-2008, 09:01 AM
Can hike with this router? Carry car battery along?
richneo
28-11-2008, 09:03 AM
C'mon. Climbing hills is just tip of an ice berg this monster is capable of doing.
xxhellinvaderxx
28-11-2008, 09:26 AM
Asked the person at DLink, funan, they said that it will released next year mid. or late 2009
[QUOTE=MarineX;33999022]Sitex my friend. at 630pm only today.[/QU
only 30 sets leh.. By the time i reach expo already sold out liao.. Gg dw sls to check the price later.. Wanted to do a trade in but ppl in here said trade in price is e same as sls..
richneo
28-11-2008, 09:49 AM
Asked the person at DLink, funan, they said that it will released next year mid. or late 2009
totally different from what i heard from them.
they were saying early next year
leinad
28-11-2008, 10:24 AM
For those interested, Dlink Singapore has officially released the 1.21 firmware on their website.
Am not gonna flash mine, but I'm curious as to whether they disabled the annoying "SecureSpot" feature in the local firmware.
/Dan
richneo
28-11-2008, 10:27 AM
iirc SecureSpot is only for USA and i've flashed the 1.21 from D-Link SG website and it does not have the SecureSport
leinad
28-11-2008, 10:40 AM
iirc SecureSpot is only for USA and i've flashed the 1.21 from D-Link SG website and it does not have the SecureSport
Thanks for letting me know.. :)
/Dan
starsandstripes
28-11-2008, 10:53 AM
Hey guys, I'm gonna receive a wireless modem from Singnet with my new 10mbps plan. However, i'm thinking of getting Dlink DIR 655 instead. Is it any good or does it make any difference? 2-3 Laptops would be gaming, surfing and whatnots at the same time. Please help, Thanks!
leinad
28-11-2008, 12:41 PM
Hey guys, I'm gonna receive a wireless modem from Singnet with my new 10mbps plan. However, i'm thinking of getting Dlink DIR 655 instead. Is it any good or does it make any difference? 2-3 Laptops would be gaming, surfing and whatnots at the same time. Please help, Thanks!
That would depend on whether your laptops are *all* 802.11n enabled. If there are any 802.11g or slower, then it'll go at the slowest rate.
But personally, the DIR-655 is powerful even for 802.11g - it's just that overall wireless network throughput drops when you connect a slower device.
/Dan
starsandstripes
28-11-2008, 01:02 PM
Hey Dan, pm'ed you.
acidcrash
28-11-2008, 09:23 PM
can. i've tried
but u have to make sure ur usb hub can be externally powered so that the usb devices can get enuff power to function properly in the first place
yep ok thanks..my usb devices have their own power supply so it shouldn't be a problem..
galliano
29-11-2008, 10:05 AM
Just joined the 655 club last night. Got abit thrown back by the huge options available in the "text-heavy" web config. :s13: Only thing i did was upgrade the firmware (from the SG site) and started using.
So far, despite the fact that I'm still running on 802.11g only, reception has improved. Not too bad .. does not get hot easily. Gonna try doing some P-forwarding later and see if BT improves.. :s8:
Francis85
29-11-2008, 10:20 AM
Did not managed to get at 139 sianz.............. hope that today got some more offers...... now is like clearing stock HW ver 3 leh ver 4 coming out soon so maybe they wanna clear stock.........
liangtam
29-11-2008, 12:08 PM
version 3? version 4?
Desmond_
29-11-2008, 04:56 PM
version 3? version 4?
Version A3 or A4? think that is wat he mean...
nangka1
29-11-2008, 07:40 PM
Haven't tested with an actual 3g connection but i think you can insert the apn yourself.
work prefect with my starhub E170. Not problems at all.
richneo
29-11-2008, 08:32 PM
work prefect with my starhub E170. Not problems at all.
Thats great to hear!
Francis85
29-11-2008, 09:55 PM
Version A3 or A4? think that is wat he mean...
yes A3 for me now......hooted liao......... but then port forward liao still crawling leh.......
leinad
30-11-2008, 12:06 AM
Okay... Just a dumb question, but it's an idea I believe a lot of people would be interested to take up.
How much power does a car Cigarette Lighter really produce? Can it power a DIR-655? ;) I know it's 12V or 6V.. But I can't find the current details.
/Dan
Pr0t0type
30-11-2008, 01:55 AM
Guys, am i able to restore my backup settings (v1.20) after I flashed to v1.21 firmware. Any conflicts? Thx.
shadowandy
30-11-2008, 10:20 AM
Okay... Just a dumb question, but it's an idea I believe a lot of people would be interested to take up.
How much power does a car Cigarette Lighter really produce? Can it power a DIR-655? ;) I know it's 12V or 6V.. But I can't find the current details.
/Dan
It is 12 volt. Powering a 655 wouldn't be a problem. You wanna do up 3G + wireless in your car? -_-.
krazyman
30-11-2008, 10:36 AM
/Dan
Current rating for the cigarette lighter should be around 15A, more than enough for most electronics devices. You can confirm by checking the fuse used.
epilau
30-11-2008, 12:51 PM
I have bought a DIR-655 from the EXPO fair yesterday. Somehow I couldn't manage to successfully setup the router as compared to my old router - BUFFALO.
Can someone kindly enlighten me on how I should go along with this?
When I try to install the driver, it always give out an error message.
Thanks.
cpuer
30-11-2008, 01:00 PM
I have bought a DIR-655 from the EXPO fair yesterday. Somehow I couldn't manage to successfully setup the router as compared to my old router - BUFFALO.
Can someone kindly enlighten me on how I should go along with this?
When I try to install the driver, it always give out an error message.
Thanks.
what driver are you referring to?
and which buffalo that you are retiring?
epilau
30-11-2008, 01:35 PM
My old router, BUFFALO is WHR - G54S
I simply replaced the new router with my old router connection by running the given setup CD.
CD Version is : XTREME N GIGABIT ROUTER Ver. 1.10.
cpuer
30-11-2008, 01:43 PM
My old router, BUFFALO is WHR - G54S
I simply replaced the new router with my old router connection by running the given setup CD.
CD Version is : XTREME N GIGABIT ROUTER Ver. 1.10.
dont use those cds provided, it normally confuses you more than it can help. Just poke the reset hole at the back of the router and enter its web gui and set it up manually.
BTW, have you flashed the WHR-G54S to a 3rd party fw yet?
epilau
30-11-2008, 04:49 PM
dont use those cds provided, it normally confuses you more than it can help. Just poke the reset hole at the back of the router and enter its web gui and set it up manually.
BTW, have you flashed the WHR-G54S to a 3rd party fw yet?
You are right.
I got it.
Thanks for your guidance.
junialum
30-11-2008, 06:48 PM
Bought my DLink DIR 655 yesterday at SITEX. Very happy with it. Works smooth and fast. (CD Setup is crap btw, just install manually)
I noticed that DLink Singapore has released the Firmware update 1.21 and am curious to know if I should be upgrading my router's firmware to 1.21. My current router firmware is 1.10WW, 2007/09/21.
Are there any issues with the latest firmware?
In addition, the notes on the site say that 1.21 brings in Added SharePort Technology (Share resources such as Printer and Storage via USB). Does this mean that I can plug my USB printer into the USB port on the router and share printer access on the network?
Thank you for your time.
Farish
30-11-2008, 07:01 PM
Are there any differences between DLink Singapore's 1.21 to the US's Version? (Comparing both FW without SecureSpot of course) Thanks!
Success
30-11-2008, 07:33 PM
what is the latest price now at sitex?
spanish support. the local dl shows up as 1.21WW
forevervincent21
30-11-2008, 08:17 PM
Bought my DLink DIR 655 yesterday at SITEX. Very happy with it. Works smooth and fast. (CD Setup is crap btw, just install manually)
I noticed that DLink Singapore has released the Firmware update 1.21 and am curious to know if I should be upgrading my router's firmware to 1.21. My current router firmware is 1.10WW, 2007/09/21.
Are there any issues with the latest firmware?
In addition, the notes on the site say that 1.21 brings in Added SharePort Technology (Share resources such as Printer and Storage via USB). Does this mean that I can plug my USB printer into the USB port on the router and share printer access on the network?
Thank you for your time.
btw, is it possible to put a usb hub and share more than one usb device?
Francis85
30-11-2008, 09:08 PM
Using this router now...... but getting slow speeds on BT leh........ did portforwarding also set up static ip liao according to www.portforward.com......... what did I do wrong.........
parn09
30-11-2008, 10:21 PM
I also just bought the router..and having problems with BT speed..
Also..i have noticed that the router keep logging this message
[INFO] Sun Nov 30 22:11:20 2008 Blocked outgoing ICMP packet (ICMP type 3) from 192.168.1.55 to 202.156.1.68
[INFO] Sun Nov 30 22:11:17 2008 Blocked outgoing ICMP packet (ICMP type 3) from 192.168.1.55 to 218.186.1.88
202.156.1.68 is starhub primary dns and 218.186.1.88 is secondary...
any one can advice is there something wrong with this?
liangtam
30-11-2008, 10:29 PM
btw, is it possible to put a usb hub and share more than one usb device?
Of course :)
I also just bought the router..and having problems with BT speed..
Also..i have noticed that the router keep logging this message
[INFO] Sun Nov 30 22:11:20 2008 Blocked outgoing ICMP packet (ICMP type 3) from 192.168.1.55 to 202.156.1.68
[INFO] Sun Nov 30 22:11:17 2008 Blocked outgoing ICMP packet (ICMP type 3) from 192.168.1.55 to 218.186.1.88
202.156.1.68 is starhub primary dns and 218.186.1.88 is secondary...
any one can advice is there something wrong with this?
Router only handles traffic mah, ultimately speed of torrent is dependent on the health of torrent, peers n ISP....
Lucky123
01-12-2008, 12:02 AM
What the hell......after updating firmware 1.21, tried to restore saved configuration file and it says some values not found. Sad, now got to update manually.....:s27:
liangtam
01-12-2008, 12:19 AM
Not alot of config to set oso mah, unless u have alot of portforwarded fields used previously lor
parn09
01-12-2008, 12:47 AM
Router only handles traffic mah, ultimately speed of torrent is dependent on the health of torrent, peers n ISP....
oh..so the blocking of the icmp thing..is nothing one ah?
sorry noob here ><
liangtam
01-12-2008, 01:17 AM
Tat i got no idea
Dosn't matter when it works
junialum
01-12-2008, 01:25 AM
I've installed the Firmware 1.21 update from the Singapore Dlink site and it works well.
To use the SharePoint technology, each computer must run the following Dlink software to ensure the computer can read the USB device plugged into the router.
http://www.dlink.com.sg/support/Support_download.asp?idsupport=594
forevervincent21
01-12-2008, 10:24 AM
thank you! do you have this router? mind sharing how you utilise this router (the network setup)?
Kiwi8
01-12-2008, 05:02 PM
I would like to ask if this DIR-655 supports WDS bridging or normal wireless bridging?
Thanks in advance.
albertchng
01-12-2008, 05:04 PM
kiwi8 mei mei so chim!
Kiwi8
01-12-2008, 05:09 PM
kiwi8 mei mei so chim!
Not chim not chim!
Ok I give an example.
Is it possible for a DIR-655 to be wirelessly connected to another DIR-655 via wireless bridging or WDS?
albertchng
01-12-2008, 05:23 PM
kiwi8 mei mei, i not sure about DIR-655, better PM ask bro chaika, he sexpert in DIR-655 lah.
liangtam
01-12-2008, 05:25 PM
Not chim not chim!
Ok I give an example.
Is it possible for a DIR-655 to be wirelessly connected to another DIR-655 via wireless bridging or WDS?
huai ish kiwi zehzeh so cleber huans, write until welly cheem still :s22: :o
As for the ans, nope* :)
leinad
01-12-2008, 06:12 PM
No WDS on the DIR-655. But there's possibly no need for WDS on the 655 if you're using only 802.11n devices because of the extended range, which would you benefit from only if all devices are in n-only mode.
I have a friend's setup like this - went from one Linksys + Repeater setup to an all-n setup.
/Dan
richneo
01-12-2008, 06:13 PM
or.. to get DAP-1353 to do wds with dir-655?
Kiwi8
01-12-2008, 08:49 PM
No WDS on the DIR-655. But there's possibly no need for WDS on the 655 if you're using only 802.11n devices because of the extended range, which would you benefit from only if all devices are in n-only mode.
I have a friend's setup like this - went from one Linksys + Repeater setup to an all-n setup.
/Dan
Well, sometimes WDS is good if DIR-655 is able to connect wirelessly with another DIR-655. The other end of the DIR-655 can support wired clients that share the bandwidth of wireless N, without having to buy 4 wireless N adapters for each of the clients.
leinad
01-12-2008, 08:55 PM
Well, sometimes WDS is good if DIR-655 is able to connect wirelessly with another DIR-655. The other end of the DIR-655 can support wired clients that share the bandwidth of wireless N, without having to buy 4 wireless N adapters for each of the clients.
But WDS halves the available bandwidth. Which kinda defeats the purpose of it all in the first place.
Laptops nowadays come with 802.11n standard, so that's food for thought.
/Dan
Kiwi8
01-12-2008, 08:59 PM
But WDS halves the available bandwidth.
/Dan
There is a common misconception that all WDS connections halves bandwidth. It does, but only when there are additional hops involved.
For example, if one computer connected via Ethernet to a DIR-655 is communicating with another computer connected via Ethernet to another DIR-655, which is wirelessly connected to the first DIR-655, there is no additional hop. and the two computers are just communicating at wireless N speeds.
leinad
01-12-2008, 09:02 PM
There is a common misconception that all WDS connections halves bandwidth. It does, but only when there are additional hops involved.
For example, if one computer connected via Ethernet to a DIR-655 is communicating with another computer connected via Ethernet to another DIR-655, which is wirelessly connected to the first DIR-655, there is no additional hop. and the two computers are just communicating at wireless N speeds.
It isn't exactly a misconception. But your purpose is to connect the devices to the DIR-655 on the WDS'd 655, which is the additional hop.
Also, "Dynamically assigned and rotated encryption keys are not supported in a WDS connection. This means that Wi-Fi Protected Access (WPA) and other dynamic key assignment technology may not be used. Static WEP keys only may be used in a WDS connection, including any STAs that associate to a WDS repeating AP."
That above taken from SmallNetBuilder. Perhaps you could peruse the document here (http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=24308&Itemid=98=).
/Dan
Francis85
01-12-2008, 10:23 PM
This router not bad wireless can be detected 2 floors down and up........ but my port forwarding done liao....... bukit timah till slow leh....... ports open leh.......
Kiwi8
01-12-2008, 10:47 PM
It isn't exactly a misconception. But your purpose is to connect the devices to the DIR-655 on the WDS'd 655, which is the additional hop.
Also, "Dynamically assigned and rotated encryption keys are not supported in a WDS connection. This means that Wi-Fi Protected Access (WPA) and other dynamic key assignment technology may not be used. Static WEP keys only may be used in a WDS connection, including any STAs that associate to a WDS repeating AP."
That above taken from SmallNetBuilder. Perhaps you could peruse the document here (http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=24308&Itemid=98=).
/Dan
I have not read that article yet, but that article is dated 2004 already. Many things have changed already.
For one, WPA can now be supported in a WDS network.
As for your first paragraph, that is not an additional hop. An example of an additional hop, taking from my previous example, would be a laptop having a wireless N adapter which is connecting to the first DIR-655's AP, communicating with a PC connected via Ethernet to the second DIR-655, which is linked wirelessly to the first DIR-655. In this case, data has to be transmitted two times, which explains the halving of the bandwidth, but not in my first example.
leinad
01-12-2008, 10:58 PM
I have not read that article yet, but that article is dated 2004 already. Many things have changed already.
For one, WPA can now be supported in a WDS network.
As for your first paragraph, that is not an additional hop. An example of an additional hop, taking from my previous example, would be a laptop having a wireless N adapter which is connecting to the first DIR-655's AP, communicating with a PC connected via Ethernet to the second DIR-655, which is linked wirelessly to the first DIR-655. In this case, data has to be transmitted two times, which explains the halving of the bandwidth, but not in my first example.
You missed the points.
1) WPA in WDS is not standardized - so this is subject to change. It's still waiting on the outcome of 802.11s. Current implementations of WPA on WDS are really just hacks. When you factor in that WPA has already been (semi-)broken, and most people are going on to WPA2 with AES, then you'll find that you're gonna have to use dated security algorithms just to support your implementation.
2) The quoted article did state "dynamic", not "static". Corporations require dynamic. But again, it's a hacked protocol.
3) I assumed you would have terminals connected to the first router, either wirelessly or via cabled connection. After all, most people have laptops and if you configure it right, both APs will have the same SSIDs anyway - meaning there's a fair chance you will fall back to 50% bandwidth allocation very quickly. The laptops won't "choose" the APs to connect to.
Personally, I'd just go with the adaptors instead of buying 2 routers. It reduces overall complication.
/Dan
Kiwi8
01-12-2008, 11:00 PM
You missed the points.
1) WPA in WDS is not standardized - so this is subject to change. It's still waiting on the outcome of 802.11s. Current implementations of WPA on WDS are really just hacks.
2) The quoted article did state "dynamic", not "static". Corporations require dynamic. But again, it's a hacked protocol.
3) I assumed you would have terminals connected to the first router, either wirelessly or via cabled connection. After all, most people have laptops and if you configure it right, both APs will have the same SSIDs anyway - meaning there's a fair chance you will fall back to 50% bandwidth allocation very quickly.
Personally, I'd just go with the adaptors instead of buying 2 routers. It reduces overall complication.
/Dan
Your points are right this time, but not the previous ones. ;)
leinad
01-12-2008, 11:01 PM
Your points are right this time, but not the previous ones. ;)
They are if you factored in the stated assumption in pt3 that a wireless client will realistically connect to either AP and therefore automatically halve your bandwidth.
/Dan
PS: The article may be dated 2004, but nothing has really officially changed on this issue. They are still too busy ratifying 802.11n
Kiwi8
01-12-2008, 11:05 PM
They are if you factored in the stated assumption in pt3 that a wireless client will realistically connect to either AP and therefore automatically halve your bandwidth.
/Dan
PS: The article may be dated 2004, but nothing has really officially changed on this issue. They are still too busy ratifying 802.11n
No lah... normally I will set the second router to only be in WDS mode, so that it will not be an AP for wireless adapters. It is the first router that will be in AP+WDS mode.
leinad
01-12-2008, 11:18 PM
No lah... normally I will set the second router to only be in WDS mode, so that it will not be an AP for wireless adapters. It is the first router that will be in AP+WDS mode.
Ah, so you meant to use it as a wireless bridge instead of a wireless repeater - the latter is the more common implementation.
It's definitely doable, but it's still one too many potential problems. If I had a choice, I would not go that way at all.
/Dan
liangtam
01-12-2008, 11:21 PM
wa, mod. vs mod.
moi grabs popcorn first :D
leinad
01-12-2008, 11:27 PM
wa, mod. vs mod.
Siao.. who's fighting? :P
You're the regular here and not helping. Tsk tsk.
/Dan
liangtam
01-12-2008, 11:37 PM
Siao.. who's fighting? :P
You're the regular here and not helping. Tsk tsk.
/Dan
Oh noes, mod notch happy riao :eek:
Dunch bends moi pl0x :o:s34:
Francis85
02-12-2008, 01:34 PM
Wah sianz....... This router port forward liao...... but torrent speed still slow leh.......
Kiwi8
02-12-2008, 01:45 PM
Ah, so you meant to use it as a wireless bridge instead of a wireless repeater - the latter is the more common implementation.
It's definitely doable, but it's still one too many potential problems. If I had a choice, I would not go that way at all.
/Dan
Yah... sorry for causing the confusion.
Anyway, my last point is that not only in WDS will bandwidth be halved. Even if normal cases where laptops connect to the router using wireless adapters, file transfer between the laptops will still have halved bandwidth, if the laptop's adapters are connecting to the router and not to each other. ;)
Kiwi8
02-12-2008, 01:45 PM
wa, mod. vs mod.
U can keep your pop corn liao. :D
liangtam
02-12-2008, 04:43 PM
U can keep your pop corn liao. :D
moi ish finish eating riao reh :o
Spongy
02-12-2008, 05:02 PM
Wah sianz....... This router port forward liao...... but torrent speed still slow leh.......
I have the same problem as you, very slow speed and my PS3, which is about 10 metres away and a few walls in-between has difficulty connecting to it. I have replaced my 655 and gotten myself a 825 instead, pairing it with 1522 as a bridge for my PS3 and media player. The speed has improved at least 2 times. =:p
Maybe should have gotten the 855 instead, but will cost almost double of my 825.
liangtam
02-12-2008, 05:12 PM
where u get 825?
zhengkit
02-12-2008, 05:25 PM
where u get 825?
Ya, interested to know also.
Sidetrack abit: Any significant difference between the 3 antenna 855 and the 2 antenna 825? Noting that they are both labeled xtreme n devices.
Spongy
02-12-2008, 06:03 PM
Got them from US. Dunno much about the difference in the antennas but guess that 3 should be better than 2. Unless you want to sponsor me on the 855, I can definitely test them out for you. :p
I read those user reviews for 825, 855 and 4500 and found that for that price and performance point, 825 is good enough for me.
Francis85
02-12-2008, 09:02 PM
I have the same problem as you, very slow speed and my PS3, which is about 10 metres away and a few walls in-between has difficulty connecting to it. I have replaced my 655 and gotten myself a 825 instead, pairing it with 1522 as a bridge for my PS3 and media player. The speed has improved at least 2 times. =:p
Maybe should have gotten the 855 instead, but will cost almost double of my 825.
Maybe will import a 825 in to play play....... coz banned in sg........
Farish
02-12-2008, 11:15 PM
Maybe will import a 825 in to play play....... coz banned in sg........
Banned? or not imported by DLINK Singapore yet? Im interested in getting either the 825 or 855 too.
xxhellinvaderxx
02-12-2008, 11:31 PM
Banned? or not imported by DLINK Singapore yet? Im interested in getting either the 825 or 855 too.
Did tried asking the DLink authorised service centre located at funan. They said 825 will be coming but 855 might not.
And it will be coming next year mid. date is approx.
gibson7
03-12-2008, 04:34 AM
i think my 655 is dead liao.
can't connect via it after many tries.
Francis85
03-12-2008, 07:38 AM
i think my 655 is dead liao.
can't connect via it after many tries.
Go RMA it lifetime warranty....... that's why I brought DIR 655......
leinad
03-12-2008, 08:03 AM
Not exactly lifetime replacement anymore, though. The newer purchased units do not qualify for the hardware exchange in the event of the ratification of the 802.11n standard.
/Dan
Spongy
03-12-2008, 09:46 AM
Not exactly lifetime replacement anymore, though. The newer purchased units do not qualify for the hardware exchange in the event of the ratification of the 802.11n standard.
/Dan
That's the reason why I am still keeping my old 655 in the hope that I can exchange for a new one. :s13:
Francis85
03-12-2008, 10:07 AM
/Dan
I will sure complaint one, brought it at sitex, kept the broucher also, written down there lifetime warranty..........:s13::s13::s13:
leinad
03-12-2008, 10:27 AM
I will sure complaint one, brought it at sitex, kept the broucher also, written down there lifetime warranty..........:s13::s13::s13:
It's lifetime warranty, but it does not qualify for a hardware exchange should the final 802.11n standard require a hardware change (which from the looks of it, would be likely since the 5Ghz band is being touted).
The news here (http://www.dlink.com.sg/support/supportnews.asp).
http://img.skitch.com/20081203-8ipkysskp6rb8inu2sh2iigbn4.jpg
/Dan
Francis85
03-12-2008, 10:33 AM
It's lifetime warranty, but it does not qualify for a hardware exchange should the final 802.11n standard require a hardware change (which from the looks of it, would be likely since the 5Ghz band is being touted).
/Dan
Thanks bro...... the DIR 655 not too bad....... wireless can reach up to my house outside full bars all the way, wonder how it does with three 5db lossless antenna............hehehehehhehehehe.......... waiting for my friend to pass to me........
albertchng
03-12-2008, 10:50 AM
wow... everyone using DIR 655, if ditching 2wire, can i have it for free? :o
leinad
03-12-2008, 10:55 AM
wow... everyone using DIR 655, if ditching 2wire, can i have it for free? :o
I'm not ditching the 2wire. Need it for MIO Voice.
I'm waiting for Singtel to announce they have a new solution to MIO Voice, then maybe I'll ditch the 2wire and go back to my trusty SpeedTouch ST585.
/Dan
mikengtw
03-12-2008, 12:12 PM
Count me in just brought my Dlink DIR 655 , very good I loving it running on
my notebook in Wireless "N" class than fast ..
liangtam
03-12-2008, 03:00 PM
I'm not ditching the 2wire. Need it for MIO Voice.
I'm waiting for Singtel to announce they have a new solution to MIO Voice, then maybe I'll ditch the 2wire and go back to my trusty SpeedTouch ST585.
/Dan
you tried the alt method yet?
ps: pls dunch bends moi for eating popcorn n watching show in forums. :o
for anything else, ish can call my no.
leinad
03-12-2008, 03:33 PM
you tried the alt method yet?
ps: pls dunch bends moi for eating popcorn n watching show in forums. :o
for anything else, ish can call my no.
No la.. I'm not the kind to ban people for no apparent reason.. Besides, mods cannot ban. :s13:
Anyway, I tried - it worked for a couple of hours and then went down... Was not as intuitive, so I gave up - too much hassle to get it to work well.
Luckily I borrowed the Dlink VoIP adaptor from a friend for the test.
I believe some static routes for MIO Voice were predefined in the MIO Box - just that we don't have access to the config. :(
/Dan
PS: I lost your no liao. Changed phone and it didn't migrate. Can always ask you elsewhere. ;)
liangtam
03-12-2008, 03:46 PM
No la.. I'm not the kind to ban people for no apparent reason.. Besides, mods cannot ban. :s13:
Oh noes! Dunch gibe moi infractions pt pl0x. Altho moi ish welly interested in sexchanging wib hwz teddy bear :o
i was jus jking. huai so serious :)
Anyway, I tried - it worked for a couple of hours and then went down... Was not as intuitive, so I gave up - too much hassle to get it to work well.
likely the connection drop off due to router instead. Can be ironed out one i suppose.
PS: I lost your no liao. Changed phone and it didn't migrate. Can always ask you elsewhere. ;)
its on my siggy.
Kiwi8
03-12-2008, 03:53 PM
Wah so it means those who bought the DIR-655 after 29 Feb 2008 do not get the hardware upgrade. Not very good riao... :(
albertchng
03-12-2008, 04:27 PM
Luckily I borrowed the Dlink VoIP adaptor from a friend for the test.
I believe some static routes for MIO Voice were predefined in the MIO Box - just that we don't have access to the config. :(
/Dan
Only admin can ban?
i tot the static route page in 2wire/mdc can see mioVoice bridge config, maybe i'm wrong... :s34:
liangtam
03-12-2008, 05:02 PM
Wah so it means those who bought the DIR-655 after 29 Feb 2008 do not get the hardware upgrade. Not very good riao... :(
Yup, thats right.
Actually, this proves early adopters for IT technologies are not usually the ones that loses out.
leinad
03-12-2008, 05:18 PM
Only admin can ban?
i tot the static route page in 2wire/mdc can see mioVoice bridge config, maybe i'm wrong... :s34:
Only snr. mods and admins can ban.
Can see some settings, but when I tried to re-add, nothing really happened.. But to be fair, since I only had a couple of hours with the Dlink VoIP adaptor, I rushed it.
/Dan
mikengtw
03-12-2008, 05:22 PM
Hi.. user I need your help me to setup my DIR 655 with my DNS-323 , I am
having problem of connecting with my DNS. I got a ADSL model is a Speedtouch 536,
which I have follow the details on how to setup the FTP server . But it seen not able
to connect with my DNS-323.
Everything have been done I key in the dyndns.com details ,which is I still not sure
where I lost something to do ? Care to help me ..which I need your help thanks.
PS: I have set up the virtual server under the DIR 655 to forward the ip address to
my DNS-323 , but it looks like not connect at all here is the part I am lost ..so could
you help me where I may forgotten to key in anything ...
liangtam
03-12-2008, 05:26 PM
Hi.. user I need your help me to setup my DIR 655 with my DNS-323 , I am
having problem of connecting with my DNS. I got a ADSL model is a Speedtouch 536,
which I have follow the details on how to setup the FTP server . But it seen not able
to connect with my DNS-323.
Everything have been done I key in the dyndns.com details ,which is I still not sure
where I lost something to do ? Care to help me ..which I need your help thanks.
PS: I have set up the virtual server under the DIR 655 to forward the ip address to
my DNS-323 , but it looks like not connect at all here is the part I am lost ..so could
you help me where I may forgotten to key in anything ...
You mind being specific with the problem you're having?
From what I understand, you're probably talking about FTP connection halfway cut off right?
You may wan refer to andy's blog on method to set in passive mode, cos the NAS by default consideration was more for LAN access
gibson7
03-12-2008, 07:38 PM
/Dan
That's the reason why I am still keeping my old 655 in the hope that I can exchange for a new one. :s13:
/Dan
i don't need to RMA liao. woohoo.
unplugged the whole thing and left it for the whole day disconnected.
just reached home and reconnect it. and whalla!
it resurrected itself.
mikengtw
04-12-2008, 12:59 PM
You mind being specific with the problem you're having?
From what I understand, you're probably talking about FTP connection halfway cut off right?
You may wan refer to andy's blog on method to set in passive mode, cos the NAS by default consideration was more for LAN access
Hi..
Sorry to trouble you again for not giving much details what happen,
I just brought this new Dlink DIR-655 . The only problem was that I
try to connect from my office to my own home FTP server that is DNS-323.
It won't login to my FTP server it keep on telling me could not
connect to the server..???
What I have done was that I set everything follow the manual on
the setting Virtual server in DIR 655 to port forward my ip address
to my DNS-323. Everything was tested on my home pc with the networks
setup was running fine, I even double check the website for the
DynDNS.com that is working on the ip host address was in pair with
my DIR-655.
That why I am asking for your help as I am lost what to do next,
as this is most puzzle me how come won't work. By the way my ADSL
modem is a SpeedTouch 536. So anyone out there can you help me out
..thank you.
PS:Can you give me where is Andy blog..link ? Thanks
liangtam
04-12-2008, 01:27 PM
This is the prob of DNS-323's FTPd instead.
Wierd issue, Decide to post here since one end is DIR-655. Bought it 3 days ago during Sitex.
Connect as follows:
DIR-655 LAN port <--> DGL-4300 LAN port. (effectively using DGL-4300 as an AP and GE switch)
The cable I used is a 20m Cat5 low profile cable (instead of Cat5e or Cat6).
Each end cannot ping the other side.
Same issue when I connect DIR-655 LAN port to DGS-1005D GE Switch LAN port.
Problem goes away when I used my old DES-1005D FE Switch.
First time I encounter this. Though I shared it and perhaps some guru can explain
Hi..
Sorry to trouble you again for not giving much details what happen,
I just brought this new Dlink DIR-655 . The only problem was that I
try to connect from my office to my own home FTP server that is DNS-323.
It won't login to my FTP server it keep on telling me could not
connect to the server..???
What I have done was that I set everything follow the manual on
the setting Virtual server in DIR 655 to port forward my ip address
to my DNS-323. Everything was tested on my home pc with the networks
setup was running fine, I even double check the website for the
DynDNS.com that is working on the ip host address was in pair with
my DIR-655.
That why I am asking for your help as I am lost what to do next,
as this is most puzzle me how come won't work. By the way my ADSL
modem is a SpeedTouch 536. So anyone out there can you help me out
..thank you.
PS:Can you give me where is Andy blog..link ? Thanks
Can you check your log file in your DIR-655, is there some error about out of range blah blah blah.
If that is the case, disable SPI mode in your DIR-655 firewall setting and try again
ice_xtreame
04-12-2008, 03:00 PM
Dear people, i wasn't trying to be a spoiler.
May i ask what is so special abt this router? Aft looking at its datasheet i still couldnt figure out any unique feature abt this router diff from other draft-n routers? Can anyone explain to me?
And also, have anyone tried functioning printer or external hdd on this router thru its usb port?
leinad
04-12-2008, 03:29 PM
Dear people, i wasn't trying to be a spoiler.
May i ask what is so special abt this router? Aft looking at its datasheet i still couldnt figure out any unique feature abt this router diff from other draft-n routers? Can anyone explain to me?
And also, have anyone tried functioning printer or external hdd on this router thru its usb port?
The QoS engine - it's much more powerful than any other consumer grade router with "QoS" functionality. When I switched to it while in SNBB 3Mbps from the WRT54G with 3rd party firmware, the performance difference was very noticeable.
Also, the fact that it now works with 3G USB modems and HDDs/Printers, that makes it that much more attractive.
/Dan
ice_xtreame
04-12-2008, 03:49 PM
Marvellous! In the past when i browse thru their webby the router only seemed to offer WCN for its usb port. Now aft looking at it again i've decided to switch to this fantastic router. Thx for ur info!
Kiwi8
04-12-2008, 03:53 PM
But the only deterrent is that they do not offer hardware upgrades to those who buy this router since 29 Feb 2008. This is not good when Wireless N will be finalised.
only_lonely
04-12-2008, 04:10 PM
is that dual band?
how much?
kennyg1969
04-12-2008, 04:48 PM
is that dual band?
how much?
Nope . Not dual band. I think it cost about $220 plus or there about
liangtam
04-12-2008, 05:00 PM
But the only deterrent is that they do not offer hardware upgrades to those who buy this router since 29 Feb 2008. This is not good when Wireless N will be finalised.
It might not be finalised that sooner then u think
Besides, even ASUS ends its upgrade programme early.
bwchua
04-12-2008, 06:15 PM
I am using a D-Link DIR-655 Router and would like to know the settings on the router such that I can rtsp to my wireless IP camera from the Internet. I already have DDNS setup and can http to a webserver on my internal network. From my internal network, I can rtsp://192.168.0.6/3gpp to see the video from my camera. Would like to know which settings to set on the DIR-655 such that I can rtsp to my DDNS domainname and reach my camera.
The manual mentions:-
Port trigger: 554 (if you have changed the RTSP port on your camera, use that number here)
Ports to open: 6970-6990
Thanks.
liangtam
04-12-2008, 06:20 PM
Why so troublesome? Just access ur cam direct n skip the httpd
hlyagami
08-12-2008, 02:39 PM
any1 tried conect E169 wif this dir-655? e router can detect the modem but it seems that the router cannot command the modem to connect.
liangtam
08-12-2008, 02:46 PM
Can detect(see status) means can command one
For SingTel(since e169) APN: internet
Shawn^
08-12-2008, 03:18 PM
Yup it's an amazing router.
ON MOL Ultimate.
Via wireless (full signal strength, router on 1.21, default settings)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/369120927.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Via wired (router on 1.21, default settings)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/369122267.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
I called D-Link and even they couldn't explain it.
So I'm going all the way down to their service center in boon lay
hlyagami
08-12-2008, 03:51 PM
Can detect(see status) means can command one
For SingTel(since e169) APN: internet
erm.. I using the singtel e169 modem but i insert starhub sim card.
if i not wrong the apn is shinternet. the dialup i follow the bbom setting which is *99# and i use chap only. I tried to connect. It refuse to let me connect (ie: same screen, nothing happen).
I tried the pap and chap automatic setting.. it still the same.. hmm why?
liangtam
08-12-2008, 04:16 PM
ensure the modem is blinking green(iirc) when connected. tis tells u it has authenticaed n auto connected to the gsm netwwork. if not, reinsert ur sim
Shawn^
08-12-2008, 04:24 PM
Downloading vista sp1 from microsoft wired @ 3.8 ~ 4.5MB/s. not bad given its a public holiday.
via wireless, 200-300kbps.
Spongy
09-12-2008, 04:07 PM
I am using a D-Link DIR-655 Router and would like to know the settings on the router such that I can rtsp to my wireless IP camera from the Internet. I already have DDNS setup and can http to a webserver on my internal network. From my internal network, I can rtsp://192.168.0.6/3gpp to see the video from my camera. Would like to know which settings to set on the DIR-655 such that I can rtsp to my DDNS domainname and reach my camera.
The manual mentions:-
Port trigger: 554 (if you have changed the RTSP port on your camera, use that number here)
Ports to open: 6970-6990
Thanks.
You will need to set up virtual server for your ip camera with the port to "open" in your router for port 80, for example, and port 554. After that, your will need to type "rtsp://192........./ep-live.3gp" to access from your hp.
For me, I have to specify "proxy port number" as 554 under "connection" - "proxy", leaving "proxy" blank on my Nokia N95. I spent 3 days, 3 nights and 8 calls with dlink customer support figuring out how to set up my DCS 5220 before it became operational. :D I have figured out the "proxy" settings on my own.
drinkcokenow
10-12-2008, 12:22 PM
Just got the router @ 189 sls.
Feature wise, still can't beat the *wrt firmwares. I miss my *wrt firmware.
Things i missed
* support for multiple ssid
* vpn server
liangtam
10-12-2008, 03:30 PM
There are some things even with *wrt, u cannot do at all one.
So its give n take.
critical888
10-12-2008, 11:49 PM
sorry where do i get this router at 189 at sls, which shop? thanks
Things i missed
* vpn server
leinad
11-12-2008, 09:58 AM
Things i missed
* vpn server
I believe you can have 2 SSIDs, one as the Guest Zone.
/Dan
SiaoAngMoh
11-12-2008, 09:25 PM
Hey guys.... need some help.
I'm running 1.21WW on A3 rev hardware. When I try to set up items under the port forward, I select the app, my IP etc and TCP/UTP ranges. I check the box to the left of this, and then save settings. When I do this, the connection to the router resets, I'm back at the admin login page. I log in, go to the port forwarding section, and there is nothing saved in the link? Any ideas what's wrong? I'm connected via wired by the way.
Francis85
11-12-2008, 09:36 PM
Hey guys.... need some help.
I'm running 1.21WW on A3 rev hardware. When I try to set up items under the port forward, I select the app, my IP etc and TCP/UTP ranges. I check the box to the left of this, and then save settings. When I do this, the connection to the router resets, I'm back at the admin login page. I log in, go to the port forwarding section, and there is nothing saved in the link? Any ideas what's wrong? I'm connected via wired by the way.
Mine no problems leh.......
SiaoAngMoh
11-12-2008, 09:57 PM
Ok, just saw on Dlinks forums. I've reset the router at the back, working now. Funny. Anyways thanks for the reply.
Francis85
11-12-2008, 10:16 PM
Wah sianz does turning off and on the router shorten the lifespan......
phuque99
12-12-2008, 12:34 AM
Wah sianz does turning off and on the router shorten the lifespan......
Old one don't go, new one don't come :D
cdo_saturday
12-12-2008, 09:31 AM
The QoS engine - it's much more powerful than any other consumer grade router with "QoS" functionality. When I switched to it while in SNBB 3Mbps from the WRT54G with 3rd party firmware, the performance difference was very noticeable.
Also, the fact that it now works with 3G USB modems and HDDs/Printers, that makes it that much more attractive.
/Dan
Hi Dan,
where did u read about the support for 3G USB modems? I only saw the support for USB Storage and printers on Dlinks main page.
I assume the 3G USB modem refers to those BBOM modems by the telcos? If that is really support, I will really consider this router too!
leinad
12-12-2008, 09:38 AM
Hi Dan,
where did u read about the support for 3G USB modems? I only saw the support for USB Storage and printers on Dlinks main page.
I assume the 3G USB modem refers to those BBOM modems by the telcos? If that is really support, I will really consider this router too!
Hey. :)
It's a feature with the v1.21 firmware. If you scroll back a few pages, liangtam should have a screenshot of his 3G implementation working. :)
/Dan
cdo_saturday
12-12-2008, 10:25 AM
Hey. :)
It's a feature with the v1.21 firmware. If you scroll back a few pages, liangtam should have a screenshot of his 3G implementation working. :)
/Dan
Thanks Dan. Found on pg 21! Steady...
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=32601371&postcount=1021
My 624+ 's intermittent auto restarts is driving my crazy :s22:
richneo
12-12-2008, 10:32 AM
Thanks Dan. Found on pg 21! Steady...
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=32601371&postcount=1021
My 624+ 's intermittent auto restarts is driving my crazy :s22:
wah u still using di-624+ ah..
cdo_saturday
12-12-2008, 10:33 AM
wah u still using di-624+ ah..
sensitive leh :(
anyway, I have a 524 handover by a relative but the power brick is not original one. It's those oem brick. And the router is "made in china", that could be the reason why the power brick is oem. Tried the 524 before and my computer auto restarted twice. don't know why and haven't got time to troubleshoot.
I noticed my 624+ runs on 5V power and the 524 is 7.5V. funny.
Ok back to the topic, my 624+ still restarts on its own. Richneo, any idae I wonder if I RMA it this time, what will they give me? The previous RMA >2yrs ago had them giving me another 624+ power brick.
leinad
12-12-2008, 10:44 AM
anyway, I have a 524 handover by a relative but the power brick is not original one. It's those oem brick. And the router is "made in china", that could be the reason why the power brick is oem. Tried the 524 before and my computer auto restarted twice. don't know why and haven't got time to troubleshoot.
Ok back to the topic, my 624+ still restarts on its own. Richneo, any idae I wonder if I RMA it this time, what will they give me? The previous RMA >2yrs ago had them giving me another 624+ power brick.
I'm guessing the 300. :)
/Dan
richneo
12-12-2008, 10:58 AM
ehhehe they will give u dir-300
dun think u nid to bring power adaptor to rma ur di-624+ baz
cdo_saturday
12-12-2008, 11:10 AM
ehhehe they will give u dir-300
dun think u nid to bring power adaptor to rma ur di-624+ baz
I'm guessing the 300. :)
/Dan
steady. Get rid of one 624+ first. Now is waiting for dlink tech support to get back to me :D
GamerZ
15-12-2008, 01:14 AM
DIR-655 is much cheaper in Taiwan, I wonder if their warrenty is international
richneo
15-12-2008, 01:19 AM
DIR-655 is much cheaper in Taiwan, I wonder if their warrenty is international
nope hehe and i think oni singapore and malaysia got lifetime warranty
I think no more lifetime warranty liao.
richneo
15-12-2008, 05:26 PM
I think no more lifetime warranty liao.
its still printed lifetime warranty on their brochures during the sitex earlier this month
liangtam
15-12-2008, 06:02 PM
If dun have u will see ppl start ranting on forum liao
Francis85
15-12-2008, 06:26 PM
If no more lifetime warranty, I sure call them make noise coz I ask the sales they told me lifetime warranty then I hoot 1............
Hey guys,
I just installed my DIR655 and got it up and running. Flashed the 1.21B11 firmware from Dlink.sg and everything seemed fine.
Problems only occurred when I was trying set up port forwarding.
I am on Maxonline Premium, running SBG1000i. I have disabled NAT on the SBG1000i. Forwarded the ports as per normal but still no go.
Called in to tech support and was asked to flash in 1.21B06 firmware. Fiddled with the settings a little but still no go, the only way to get the ports open is to add the PC in DMZ.
Guys any idea what is going on? Please shed some light as this is driving me nuts.
Thank you.
AaronZzZ
17-12-2008, 11:42 PM
Hey guys,
I just installed my DIR655 and got it up and running. Flashed the 1.21B11 firmware from Dlink.sg and everything seemed fine.
Problems only occurred when I was trying set up port forwarding.
I am on Maxonline Premium, running SBG1000i. I have disabled NAT on the SBG1000i. Forwarded the ports as per normal but still no go.
Called in to tech support and was asked to flash in 1.21B06 firmware. Fiddled with the settings a little but still no go, the only way to get the ports open is to add the PC in DMZ.
Guys any idea what is going on? Please shed some light as this is driving me nuts.
Thank you.
What problems you encountered ? We have the same setup but I haven't tried forwarding ports on my DIR-655.(Just installed also haha) My firmware is 1.11EA though.
liangtam
18-12-2008, 12:18 AM
SBG1000 ish shld throw.
I dont know why this is happening, but after fiddling with the settings in the SBG1000 and disabling the DMZ in DIR655, port forwards seem to work again.
Thanks guys
AaronZzZ
18-12-2008, 12:30 AM
SBG1000 ish shld throw.
Chiu ish got pm!
burnz
27-12-2008, 11:38 AM
i just updated the firmware to 1.21 and tried to connect my huawei E220 3G modem to the usb port. selected my ISP Singapore/M1 and used the default settings to connect.
the modem shows a solid light blue indicator, meaning i have managed to establish a connection. router status page also shows an IP address has been obtained for the 3G modem connection.
but the problem is none of my computers connected to the network are able to access internet. any idea??
did not change any other default settings on the router after the firmware upgrade was flashed.
Success
05-01-2009, 03:08 PM
Some rooms in my house cannot get good signal.
I am on MaxOnline Ultimate. Using the old Linksys WRT54G.
If I change to this router but don't use/buy N adapters, will the signal strength improve?
Francis85
05-01-2009, 03:19 PM
Some rooms in my house cannot get good signal.
I am on MaxOnline Ultimate. Using the old Linksys WRT54G.
If I change to this router but don't use/buy N adapters, will the signal strength improve?
Maybe can try adjusting the antennas of your old router....... For me using the DIR 655 also can detect even outside of flat full bar and also 2 floors down.........
Success
05-01-2009, 03:36 PM
Maybe can try adjusting the antennas of your old router....... For me using the DIR 655 also can detect even outside of flat full bar and also 2 floors down.........
Thanks, will the effect be the same if I don't buy the N adapters?
A few users at home, will cost a lot if I buy N adapters for all.
leinad
05-01-2009, 03:40 PM
The speed and range gains come when you move to an all-N network. If you look at it as an investment and divide it by the time you're going to use it, I think it's worthwhile.
/Dan
Success
05-01-2009, 03:45 PM
But at the moment, I just want to increase signal strength for those rooms not getting good signal. Will changing just the router help?
leinad
05-01-2009, 04:16 PM
But at the moment, I just want to increase signal strength for those rooms not getting good signal. Will changing just the router help?
It might. The WRT54G isn't known for its range, even with 3rd party firmware.
/Dan
Success
05-01-2009, 04:24 PM
Thanks, any recommendation on which shop to buy from?
Any shop offering good price now?
bykte
05-01-2009, 05:39 PM
Thanks, any recommendation on which shop to buy from?
Any shop offering good price now?
Check out the price guides. Compare prices. There you have it.
Success
05-01-2009, 05:42 PM
thanks for the reminder bro.
Success
06-01-2009, 10:30 PM
Can those of you on MaxOnline and using Dlink 655 confirm that you do not get the "Connection Interrupted" problem which many Starhub users are facing for more than 4 weeks?
I want to change my WRT54G to Dlink655 to hopefully solve this problem.
"Connection Interrupted
The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading.
The network link was interrupted while negotiating a connection.
Please try again."
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2105163
MarineX
06-01-2009, 10:54 PM
Even if you switch to DIR-655 you will also face the same issue.
Cause I'm using DIR-655 and I'm facing the same problem.
Even hotmail takes years to load.
Problem doesnt lies with router. I've tested it with WRT54GS, same issue.
Scuderia
06-01-2009, 10:55 PM
Can those of you on MaxOnline and using Dlink 655 confirm that you do not get the "Connection Interrupted" problem which many Starhub users are facing for more than 4 weeks?
"Connection Interrupted
Please try again."
This is StarHub's transparent proxy problem. Nothing to do with router.
Francis85
07-01-2009, 08:27 AM
"Connection Interrupted
Please try again."
Coz u not deluxe member very slow to load, other webby no problems right.
xxhellinvaderxx
07-01-2009, 08:36 AM
"Connection Interrupted
Please try again."
I supposed that was starhub problem. Because, I'm a deluxe member, sometimes, I'm also experiencing that problem, besides, i'm using DIR-655 too.
Success
07-01-2009, 10:09 AM
Coz u not deluxe member very slow to load, other webby no problems right.
No, other websites also the same problem.
Francis85
07-01-2009, 10:19 AM
No, other websites also the same problem.
Hm....... Like that got encounter the same problems on other computers just to make sure is not your computer and is confirm is your isp........
Success
07-01-2009, 10:22 AM
yes, I checked with Firefox and IE, on XP and Vista, and on 4 different notebooks. All getting the same problem for the past 4 weeks.
If you see this thread, you will know the extend of the problem.
MarineX
07-01-2009, 11:37 PM
Francis85 no offenses.. but the issue 100% lies with ISP and not the users.
Francis85
08-01-2009, 06:36 AM
Francis85 no offenses.. but the issue 100% lies with ISP and not the users.
Also got cases PEKBAC MAH...........
Success
08-01-2009, 10:06 AM
Before you suggest that it's user fault, let me remind you that there are more than 250 posts in the thread http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2105163 and users of different OS, Routers, SH plans all getting the same error everyday for more than 4 weeks.
leinad
08-01-2009, 10:18 AM
It's a Starhub problem la. I have a main SNBB account at home and a Hubstation. Tested with both since I could.
My gf's home is also running SH, and I'm there often enough.
/Dan
Success
08-01-2009, 07:31 PM
guys, i just bought the router but i didn't buy the N adapter. 1 question.
I sit next to the router. If i connect direct with rj45 cable, am i right to say i will get the maximum speed, even better than with N adapter? Thank you.
shadowandy
08-01-2009, 07:49 PM
I sit next to the router. If i connect direct with rj45 cable, am i right to say i will get the maximum speed, even better than with N adapter? Thank you.
Assuming your computer is gigabit enabled, then theoretically yes.
Francis85
08-01-2009, 08:00 PM
Yes..... Provided your motherboard is giga enable......
sky37
08-01-2009, 08:13 PM
And you don't connect with RJ45 cable. I believe that's a phone cable.
If your MB is gigabit-enabled, you'll need a Cat6 ethernet cable to enjoy maximum performance.
Else, probably Cat5e cable would do.
Francis85
08-01-2009, 08:39 PM
If your MB is gigabit-enabled, you'll need a Cat6 ethernet cable to enjoy maximum performance.
using cat 6 now..... AMP Net Connect........
numzkull
08-01-2009, 08:40 PM
RJ45 is an ethernet cable. Phone cable is RJ11
Francis85
08-01-2009, 08:59 PM
I believe that people can see what is phone cable and what is cat 5 and 6 cable one is 2 pairs and the other is 4 pairs...... also got people using cat 5 or 6 for tel cable also....... but seldom.....
Success
08-01-2009, 09:20 PM
my mb does not support 1000mbit. But i did get the cat6 cables instead of cat5e. RJ45 is the plug head.
liangtam
08-01-2009, 09:26 PM
my mb does not support 1000mbit. But i did get the cat6 cables instead of cat5e. RJ45 is the plug head.
Then no. draft n wifi will have chance of hitting higher throughput rates compared to wired. cat5, 5e or 6 is negligible in this case since u dun have a Ge port
Francis85
08-01-2009, 09:56 PM
Lucky for me using giga lan and having a wireless N notebook.......
Success
08-01-2009, 10:22 PM
Since my mb hardware does not support 1000mbit, will getting the N adapter help? How about getting a 1000mbit expresscard to use with the cable? Thank you.
Success
09-01-2009, 02:03 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/386467222.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
speedtest via cable. on MOL Ultimate
liangtam
09-01-2009, 02:24 AM
got such xpresscard meh? sounds like waste of marnee
change laptop time :)
Success
09-01-2009, 02:26 AM
http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCatProductPage.process?Product_Id=277569
http://www.google.com/search?q=gigabit+expresscard
Success
09-01-2009, 03:00 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/386504386.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
waiwaisan
09-01-2009, 08:45 AM
Dear all,
I have a problem that my other computers and laptops cannot connect to my router D-Link 655.
I just upgrade my starhub plan to maxonline ultimate plan, (old plan is maxonline suftlite).
And now my problem is only one laptop can access and connect to my D-Link 655, and other computers can see my SSID (with a full signal) but connecting fail, whatever i set it as WEP/ WPA-PSK, or set to non-security key, also cannot connect.
Can anyone help me to solve this problem. Thanks.
(Sorry for poor English)
Best Regards.
Success
09-01-2009, 12:37 PM
Is the performance of DWA-140 Rangebooster N USB Adapter the same as DWA-643 Notebook ExpressCard?
I may need to get DWA140 for one of the older notebook w/o expresscard slot.
Which N adapter are you guys using?
richneo
09-01-2009, 01:50 PM
Is the performance of DWA-140 Rangebooster N USB Adapter the same as DWA-643 Notebook ExpressCard?
I may need to get DWA140 for one of the older notebook w/o expresscard slot.
Which N adapter are you guys using?
performance for express card is better in my case.
Success
09-01-2009, 03:07 PM
there are people who said that both adapters will only produce 54 Mb through put with Vista 64 system. true?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductReview.aspx?Item=N82E16839127004
misato
09-01-2009, 10:54 PM
What is the best price for the DIR-655 now? I heard challanger is offering @ 199 for members, wonder if any SLS shop is able to offer at that price a not.
Kiwi8
10-01-2009, 12:06 AM
Somehow I'm not keen on buying this DIR-655 at the moment as since Feb 2008 they have stopped the policy of allowing hardware changes in the event wireless N gets ratified. Those who bought before Feb 2008 are having a good deal.
ice_xtreame
10-01-2009, 12:18 AM
What is the best price for the DIR-655 now? I heard challanger is offering @ 199 for members, wonder if any SLS shop is able to offer at that price a not.
If you have 900 Hub Rewards points, just add on $155 and u can get the router from starhub!
Success
10-01-2009, 12:30 AM
Bought the DWA140 for one of the older notebook at home.
Signal strength at the location last time was low or very low.
Now, can hit 216 Mbps and signal strength on average is Good, to Very Good, sometimes Low. Shiok manz...
How to ensure more constant Speed and Signal?
Already set to WPA2 and 20/40Mhz.
I am going to get 2 expresscard for other notebooks. Abit expensive. I bought the DIR655 for $199, Challenger member price.
The adapters cost almost the price of the router. DWA140 cost me $120. Expresscard will cost about $150 each. Anywhere has better pricing for the expresscard?
liangtam
10-01-2009, 12:50 AM
Somehow I'm not keen on buying this DIR-655 at the moment as since Feb 2008 they have stopped the policy of allowing hardware changes in the event wireless N gets ratified. Those who bought before Feb 2008 are having a good deal.
if u use mol ultimate with sb6100, you'll have to buy it. the only BUTS are top-line of Netgear and top-line of SMC.
There are still many redeeming qualities to it. Such as(but not limited to) the much improved draft N performance, gb switch, lifetime wrty etc. Of cos, such qualities less the last one mention is available for other 2 brands as well.
If you need the performance, why not get it instead?
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.