View Full Version : D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Router - Product Info
Pages :
[
7]
Kiwi8
10-01-2009, 07:07 AM
if u use mol ultimate with sb6100, you'll have to buy it. the only BUTS are top-line of Netgear and top-line of SMC.
There are still many redeeming qualities to it. Such as(but not limited to) the much improved draft N performance, gb switch, lifetime wrty etc. Of cos, such qualities less the last one mention is available for other 2 brands as well.
If you need the performance, why not get it instead?
Yes I understand that we have little choice if we are using MOL Ultimate. :o
richneo
10-01-2009, 10:22 AM
Somehow I'm not keen on buying this DIR-655 at the moment as since Feb 2008 they have stopped the policy of allowing hardware changes in the event wireless N gets ratified. Those who bought before Feb 2008 are having a good deal.
but dir-655 comes with life time warranty wor
perhaps in the event of break down, they might replace with a ratified n router when its released?
misato
10-01-2009, 11:10 AM
Somehow I'm not keen on buying this DIR-655 at the moment as since Feb 2008 they have stopped the policy of allowing hardware changes in the event wireless N gets ratified. Those who bought before Feb 2008 are having a good deal.
I have seen those DIR-655 offered at challanger. They are all the newer A3 revision.
So i guess its already an upgraded version that will be able to take foreseeable "N" standard revision with just firmware upgrades. It is however guessing on my part thou.
Fact is, G speed is no longer enough for today Bandwidth intensive internet use after you throw in encryption, for example, Singnet 10mbps will use up all of a 54G+WPA available downstream which is around 10mbps effective. If you were to use the same setup to access LAN resources or backup to NAS, you will take ages to complete your task. Streaming of HD contents will easily requires at least 10mbps for most downloadable x264 video encoded at 720p. Those insane bluray rips will take no less then 20mbps constant bandwidth to stream.
Thus, given today application bandwidth requirements, moving on even to Draft N standards isnt really that bad a idea, as there isn't any other cheaper alternative without needing extra wire to provide that kind of speed for most HDB users.
Anyway, i'm going down to SLS to do some field survey. Hopefully i can find a good offer that is not listed in the online pricelist from hwz and vr-zone.
misato
10-01-2009, 11:21 AM
Bought the DWA140 for one of the older notebook at home.
Signal strength at the location last time was low or very low.
Now, can hit 216 Mbps and signal strength on average is Good, to Very Good, sometimes Low. Shiok manz...
How to ensure more constant Speed and Signal?
Already set to WPA2 and 20/40Mhz.
I am going to get 2 expresscard for other notebooks. Abit expensive. I bought the DIR655 for $199, Challenger member price.
The adapters cost almost the price of the router. DWA140 cost me $120. Expresscard will cost about $150 each. Anywhere has better pricing for the expresscard?
Signal strength is very dependent on your environment interference. For example, 2.4GHz Dect are one common cause of poor signal for wireless user. Overcrowding of 2.4GHz application is also common causes (meaning when you scan for your AP when trying to connect, you notice alot of other entries).
There is a saying that goes "the guy with the bigger guns usually win". This is also quite true to a certain extend in wireless technology where the guns refers to the antenna used. However, antenna too have their own constrain, for example, the higher gain (dbi) an onmi-directional antenna is, the bigger the blind spots gets as well. From my experiences, 5dbi seems to gives the better coverage and gain for 5rm HDB out of my set of 1dbi/3dbi/5dbi/7dbi/12dbi antenna.
Success
10-01-2009, 12:42 PM
thanks,
should turn off WISH? I read somewhere that switching it off help to stablise the speed. I tried it, seems to work.
DOMHO7
10-01-2009, 12:53 PM
Hi anyone using Dir655 with Singtel bb. Is the configuration easy to set. Tks. :)
Francis85
10-01-2009, 01:31 PM
Hi anyone using Dir655 with Singtel bb. Is the configuration easy to set. Tks. :)
Using it now bridge my 2WIRE modem cum router with it.......
novatliz
10-01-2009, 03:29 PM
if go fully on the N networks, will those devices still using G adapter can still tap onto the N networks?
danxiaogui86
10-01-2009, 04:00 PM
if go fully on the N networks, will those devices still using G adapter can still tap onto the N networks?
Let me rephase. If u set ur router to N only. ur G cannot connect. there a option to set to N and G . so u got no problem with ur g adapter.
liangtam
10-01-2009, 04:05 PM
Yes I understand that we have little choice if we are using MOL Ultimate. :o
You may need it even with few mbps, not just the ultimate plan
novatliz
10-01-2009, 06:29 PM
there a option to set to N and G .
ic. there is such option available for dir 655. wonderful!
thank you
misato
10-01-2009, 07:25 PM
back from SLS. notable mention is that mediamart at 6 floor is selling DIR-655 rev A3 at $199
kennyg1969
10-01-2009, 08:05 PM
back from SLS. notable mention is that media martat 6 floor is selling DIR-655 rev A3 at $199
Nice..rev A3 is green certified :)
richneo
10-01-2009, 11:15 PM
the one that starhub gives is also A3 green
misato
10-01-2009, 11:59 PM
green is good.
Just wondering who is using the A3 revision now. Is it any better then the older A2?
Success
11-01-2009, 12:17 AM
what green?
MarineX
11-01-2009, 12:37 AM
green is good.
Just wondering who is using the A3 revision now. Is it any better then the older A2?
im using with 1.21 FW. the only drawback with the firmware is that i can't view the wireless connection in the router config page with this firmware.
kennyg1969
11-01-2009, 07:16 AM
what green?
http://www.dlink.com/corporate/environment/dlink-green-ethernet/
richneo
11-01-2009, 08:58 AM
what green?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Green_Ethernet
richneo
11-01-2009, 08:59 AM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Green_Ethernet
Green Wi-Fi
D-Link's award-winning Xtreme N™ line of Wi-Fi Internet routers include Green Ethernet™ technology to decrease energy costs by reducing power consumption without sacrificing performance. The routers also feature Wi-Fi scheduling that allows customers to easily program when the Wi-Fi radio signals are turned on and off to further save energy consumption. Routers incorporating the Green technology are the Xtreme N Gigabit Router (DIR-655), Xtreme N Duo™ Media Router (DIR-855), Xtreme N Dual Band Gigabit Router (DIR-825) and the Xtreme N Gaming Router (DGL-4500).
Success
11-01-2009, 11:49 AM
Thanks.
My 655 is A3 also. Now my network is fully N. Just bought 2 more dwa643 yesterday. Cost me $155 each. The entire conversion to N for my home cost me $629.
My notebook is showing constant 300Mbps with Signal Strength Very Good to Excellent.
richneo
11-01-2009, 12:34 PM
Thanks.
My 655 is A3 also. Now my network is fully N. Just bought 2 more dwa643 yesterday. Cost me $155 each. The entire conversion to N for my home cost me $629.
My notebook is showing constant 300Mbps with Signal Strength Very Good to Excellent.
一分钱,一分货
dwa-643 is better den usb n adaptors imo
hj_dragon
16-01-2009, 11:39 PM
so far only can achieve with newly install
My 655 is A3, 1.11SH Firmware.
http://img525.imageshack.us/img525/969/speedtestkd0.jpg
have change the region and time to Singapore/KL.
Is it a need to upgrade the firmware for better signal/speed?
How to do it?
richneo
17-01-2009, 08:19 AM
so far only can achieve with newly install
My 655 is A3, 1.11SH Firmware.
http://img525.imageshack.us/img525/969/speedtestkd0.jpg
have change the region and time to Singapore/KL.
Is it a need to upgrade the firmware for better signal/speed?
How to do it?
use http://www.speedtest.net
and choose singapore
hj_dragon
17-01-2009, 02:06 PM
[/IMG]use http://www.speedtest.net
and choose singapore
why my upload so less
http://www.speedtest.net/result/391981636.png
richneo
17-01-2009, 04:37 PM
[/IMG]
why my upload so less
http://www.speedtest.net/result/391981636.png
close whatever programs u are using
make sure no one is using ur internet access
make sure ur ping speed is lowered to around 20ms and see ur speed
btw wats ur plan?
mol ultimate?
http://www.speedtest.net/result/392024146.png
jupiter
17-01-2009, 06:44 PM
want to buy this dir-655 using starhub point. how you guy check from packing
if its HW rev A3?
Francis85
17-01-2009, 06:51 PM
if its HW rev A3?
The barcode sticker there.............
richneo
17-01-2009, 07:08 PM
you might not be able to find hardware a2 now unless the shop got old stocks
starhub only ships a3 and above
liangtam
17-01-2009, 07:25 PM
does it matters if its A2 or 3? Only the casing seems different.
richneo
17-01-2009, 07:32 PM
can help save a little bit of money with a3 :s34:
tnk001
17-01-2009, 09:30 PM
if its HW rev A3?
I just redeemed a 655 with my points :s13: Yeah, it's A3!
leinad
18-01-2009, 01:04 AM
A3 helps keep your bills a bit lower. ;) It's greener.
/Dan
kennyg1969
18-01-2009, 07:44 AM
A3 helps keep your bills a bit lower. ;) It's greener.
/Dan
Yeah.. help to lower your electricity bills. Time to help your family save costs especially if forumers are not the one paying the bills.
Molely
18-01-2009, 11:46 AM
sorry ah bros,
can help me in this???
i just bought the DIR-655, i can connect to all my other wireless adapters in my home
but i simply cannot connect my laptop to the router? anybody can help?
my laptop is the free starhub laptop using Broadcom wireless adapter one. it can detect a lot of networks in my area but not my own network. werid...
richneo
18-01-2009, 12:23 PM
sorry ah bros,
can help me in this???
i just bought the DIR-655, i can connect to all my other wireless adapters in my home
but i simply cannot connect my laptop to the router? anybody can help?
my laptop is the free starhub laptop using Broadcom wireless adapter one. it can detect a lot of networks in my area but not my own network. werid...
change the channel from 1 to 11
in case the channel is 12 or 13 ur broadcom might not be able to see
Molely
18-01-2009, 12:38 PM
thanks richneo bro
it works. i never knew the channel will affect the broadcom adapter
thanks a lot.
richneo
18-01-2009, 12:51 PM
thanks richneo bro
it works. i never knew the channel will affect the broadcom adapter
thanks a lot.
actually it doesnt affect broadcom..
its just that USA spports 11 channel while asia support 13 channels and if u are using usa drivers for ur broadcom adaptors, u can only see 11 channels
GamerZ
29-01-2009, 11:20 PM
Any idea what is the cheapest DIR-655 now cost? I saw it at $219 at JP
misato
29-01-2009, 11:36 PM
Any idea what is the cheapest DIR-655 now cost? I saw it at $219 at JP
$199 @ SLS Mediamart.
GamerZ
29-01-2009, 11:49 PM
Thanks, hopefully IT Show will be cheaper than last Sitex.
hj_dragon
29-01-2009, 11:52 PM
[QUOTE=richneo;35115480]close whatever programs u are using
make sure no one is using ur internet access
make sure ur ping speed is lowered to around 20ms and see ur speed
btw wats ur plan?
mol ultimate? quote]
My plan MOL premium, How to get ping speed lowered to around 20ms.
Tested a few times over 40 plus to 50 plus.
Upload/download speed similiar previous I am having no much changes.
The Dir 655, the silver convering for the port very fragile easy comes off, not solid enough
when you plug and unplug the cable.
jase07
30-01-2009, 12:18 AM
I just redeemed a 655 with my points :s13: Yeah, it's A3!
how to redeem??? and need how many pts?
ice_xtreame
30-01-2009, 12:37 AM
how to redeem??? and need how many pts?
Aren't you aware about Hub Rewards Points given out on every month stated on behind your bill.
The number of points you get on every month correspond to the balance in your monthly bill (1 point per dollar on bill).
You can redeem the points through starhub.com via Hub ID.
http://www.starhub.com/portal/site/Rewards/menuitem.edffb352439473b7eaaf3b608324a5a0/?vgnextoid=3cad1840a0e3c010VgnVCM10000038425a0aRCRD
It requires 6750 points for full redemption and 900 points + $155 w/GST for partial redemption.
GamerZ
30-01-2009, 09:11 PM
Currently 655 is based on Draft N 2.0, but when N is officially announced later (December 2009) in the year, will a firmware upgrade make it compatible with N?
liangtam
30-01-2009, 09:19 PM
Theres no saying whether if it will be compatible with ratified N specs.
leinad
30-01-2009, 09:19 PM
Currently 655 is based on Draft N 2.0, but when N is officially announced later (December 2009) in the year, will a firmware upgrade make it compatible with N?
If the final N requires both 2.4 and 5Ghz bands, then definitely no. There are signs of the 5Ghz band being a requirement, but so far nothing's confirmed.
However, units bought before Feb 2008 qualify for a hardware exchange in the event of the standard ratification requiring a hardware change. Those after, tough luck. =:p
/Dan
GamerZ
30-01-2009, 09:37 PM
Theres no saying whether if it will be compatible with ratified N specs.
If the final N requires both 2.4 and 5Ghz bands, then definitely no. There are signs of the 5Ghz band being a requirement, but so far nothing's confirmed.
However, units bought before Feb 2008 qualify for a hardware exchange in the event of the standard ratification requiring a hardware change. Those after, tough luck. =:p
/Dan
Wha, waiting for IT Show 2009 =(
EDIT: I just happen to click Page 51 of this thread and happen to saw that =(
yx2000
01-02-2009, 01:29 AM
$199 @ SLS Mediamart.
Is it still that price? I see Media mart price show $219.
misato
01-02-2009, 10:53 AM
Is it still that price? I see Media mart price show $219.
Maybe they haven't update the price list yet. I got the price verbally from the shop assistant.
lyk13
05-02-2009, 08:03 PM
Hi all,
I'm currently planning to switch out my WRT54G for Dir-655 due to the fact that WRT54G isn't stable and keeps DC-ing -_-
I would like to know, if one has means through Starhub's reward system, is it the best alternative from paying full cash to get the router? Currently in the market from what I read and see in some pricelists, the price for the router is still >$200 or probably just below $200.
Do advise, I'm currently not on Ultimate, just Premium.
novatliz
05-02-2009, 11:53 PM
Hi all,
I'm currently planning to switch out my WRT54G for Dir-655 due to the fact that WRT54G isn't stable and keeps DC-ing -_-
I would like to know, if one has means through Starhub's reward system, is it the best alternative from paying full cash to get the router? Currently in the market from what I read and see in some pricelists, the price for the router is still >$200 or probably just below $200.
Most shops in funan are retailing at $199.
Umm... if only i'm able to redeem my starhub points for the router...i will go for it.
lyk13
06-02-2009, 01:27 AM
Most shops in funan are retailing at $199.
Umm... if only i'm able to redeem my starhub points for the router...i will go for it.
If I had to use the points, I can only settle for partial redemption...full is...too much...:P
liangtam
06-02-2009, 03:09 PM
don't settle for half redemption.
GamerZ
06-02-2009, 06:02 PM
Hi all,
I also changing from WRT54G to DIR-655, but if you can wait, wait till 12th March, there is an IT Show there, prices should be the same judging from Sitex 2008 but it has some promotions like limited to 30 people for a special price if not it lets you get a Wireless N USB Adpater for quite cheap.
douche
07-02-2009, 03:52 PM
how many devices via wireless can this support?
just got this hoping for a definite improvement over wireless g... but seems like i have more problems than before...
sometimes i can get internet via wired but not wireless... settings change require router reboot...
sometimes no internet connection at all...
fustrating
douche
07-02-2009, 03:52 PM
oh btw, for N adapter, get belkin... $76 nia... cheapest adapter at simlim
parn09
07-02-2009, 11:30 PM
hmm...is belkin adapter good?
anyone can recommend a wireless n adapter to go with dir-655?
richneo
08-02-2009, 02:08 AM
belkin is famous
famous for paying people money to write fake good reviews about their products
kennyg1969
08-02-2009, 07:50 AM
hmm...is belkin adapter good?
anyone can recommend a wireless n adapter to go with dir-655?
why you never consider dlink n adaptor?
MarineX
08-02-2009, 08:51 AM
my dlink n adapter performs worst den my intel wirelss N. sian 1/2 - and i've changed it at dlink for more den 3times.
douche
08-02-2009, 10:23 AM
becos expensive :)
parn09
08-02-2009, 02:15 PM
hmm...so dlink n adaptor is no good? =[.
any other ones for recommendation?
liangtam
08-02-2009, 02:22 PM
my dlink n adapter performs worst den my intel wirelss N. sian 1/2 - and i've changed it at dlink for more den 3times.
you must have forgotton to update the drivers...
I always use DWA-140 with Ralink RT2870 and other makes to do testing. Generally can hit 100+mbit/s
parn09
08-02-2009, 02:46 PM
I always use DWA-140 with Ralink RT2870 and other makes to do testing. Generally can hit 100+mbit/s
Hmm..for desktop should i get DWA-140 or DWA-552?
MarineX
08-02-2009, 04:08 PM
update drivers? I did everything i can even with updates not only from RALINK oso from DLINK itself. its simply cmi.
1st time to dlink center - changed due to slow transfer rate 100-900kb/s only.
2nd time to dlink center - intermittent connection
3rd time to dlink center - intermittent connection
its connected at 300mbps - my connection is as below...
DIR-655 > DNS323
> wireless to DWA-140(connected at 300mbps) - tsf rate is only like 2-5MB/s
> intel wireless N 5100(connected at 150mbps) - tsf rate is between 5-9MB/s
I've tried any and every possible issue even with my router settings.. still its transferring at a speed where i can barely accept.
Any more effective solutions ?
liangtam
08-02-2009, 04:34 PM
use the latest driver from ralink website.
dir655 f/w must be 1.11 above with no or only wpa2 encryption.
MarineX
08-02-2009, 05:51 PM
use the latest driver from ralink website.
dir655 f/w must be 1.11 above with no or only wpa2 encryption.
im using right now. with DIR-655 F/W at 1.21. I've tried from 1.11 to 1.12 to 1.13 to 1.21 i believes the problem doesnt lies with the router and yes, i am on WPA 2 encryption only.
liangtam
08-02-2009, 06:09 PM
any chances ur usb controller having problems itself? its not unusual whether if ur pc is diy or branded actually. u can use some ext usb mechanical hdd drive to do power draw vs transfer rate as a comparison. of course, the drive should not have 2 usb head to half the total power draw and external Vcc in.
btw, 7-9MB/s is unrealistic, if not impossible to really hit. Afterall, the intel does not accept the secondary channel for its draft product.
MarineX
08-02-2009, 06:18 PM
any chances ur usb controller having problems itself? its not unusual whether if ur pc is diy or branded actually. u can use some ext usb mechanical hdd drive to do power draw vs transfer rate as a comparison. of course, the drive should not have 2 usb head to half the total power draw and external Vcc in.
btw, 7-9MB/s is unrealistic, if not impossible to really hit. Afterall, the intel does not accept the secondary channel for its draft product.
/
well, that's what i have for my intel. erm, unlikely is the usb controller having an issue. i have tried it on 4 of the computers i have at home. all posting the same result from the adapter. And 5-9mb/s for both of my intel(2 x Centrino2 notebook) is a result based on my FTP send from dns-323 or thru vista.
parn09
10-02-2009, 12:32 PM
I've just bought the wireless adapter DWA-556 yesterday.
However to my horror , the drivers on the disc/dlink website for Vista 64 are faulty. However , I've managed to find the chipset drivers for the adapter and install on vista successfully.
Then, i've managed to connect to my router , but not the internet. Somehow , when i do /ipconfig on command prompt , the wireless network connection doesn't show up at all!.
And the dlink technical support ppl are rather poor. All they did was give me links to download drivers , which i could not install at all.
liangtam
10-02-2009, 12:44 PM
Hmm, it is quite rare for people to buy internal wifi adapters due to the disadvantage.
Anyway, the wireless adapter must be enabled first, else your os may be corrupted
cdo_saturday
10-02-2009, 12:49 PM
And the dlink technical support ppl are rather poor. All they did was give me links to download drivers , which i could not install at all.
I've corresponded with 2 tech supports and their answers are "copy and paste" :s7:
parn09
10-02-2009, 02:22 PM
yea, i think my $139 fly liao.
sigh. should have bought a wifi usb adapter instead.
p.s. even my laoya netgear adapter installs on vista 64 w/o problems -_-
Do huawei e169 support by this router
misato
10-02-2009, 04:10 PM
yea, i think my $139 fly liao.
sigh. should have bought a wifi usb adapter instead.
p.s. even my laoya netgear adapter installs on vista 64 w/o problems -_-
I'm using the DWA-556 on Vista Ent x64. SP1. No issue.
Try use the offical driver from D-Link UK as singapore ones is quite outdated.
ftp://ftp.dlink.co.uk/wireless/dwa-556/
The version I'm using now, ftp://ftp.dlink.co.uk/wireless/dwa-556/DWA-556-2.00b08.zip
parn09
10-02-2009, 04:59 PM
hmm..ya they did give me this link too..but the drivers refuse to install.
is it possible that my whole vista networking stack is corrupted?
its very weird that my wireless network connection appears in windows but not when i do /ipconfig.
misato
10-02-2009, 09:08 PM
hmm..ya they did give me this link too..but the drivers refuse to install.
is it possible that my whole vista networking stack is corrupted?
its very weird that my wireless network connection appears in windows but not when i do /ipconfig.
May i know how did you install?
For me, i extract the files into a directory, start device manager, select that adapater and open its properties, update driver from there.
parn09
11-02-2009, 01:59 PM
I've also installed through the device manager.
Anyway , i've finally got it working. Did a system restore and it works fine.
However i couldn't get the driver to install from the link given -> the ftp one.
Had to install it from the latest Atheros generic drivers for DWA-556.
kotori
16-02-2009, 01:54 AM
hi guys, just got a 655 to replace my aging wrt54g. direct connection has been great, never felt anything like this on my 54g, however, my wireless connections are all kaput. since it was working fine on the 54g, i can only assume it's a setting problem on my 655. need some pros help :) please bare with me since im quite a network noob.
current setting
MOL modem -> 655 -> direct PC1
-> wireless to PC2 (dlink USB wireless adaptor)
-> wireless to laptop
- PC1 is on static ip, doing some port forwarding. wireless on laptop is flaky, often disconnecting or not connected at all. PC2 stability is much worse.
here's the list of things i've tried to far (or observed) to solve the disconnecting issue
- i tried changing the channels for the 655. tired 11,7,6,3 then 1. it may work for one day, then back to the same problem on the next. cant tell if the channel is at fault here
- was on WPA2 and WPA, switched to WPA only
- to take only wireless b and g connections
- set static IPs for PC2 and laptop. (however i've read static ip is of no use if 655 is on DHCP server)
- QOS disabled
- WISH just disabled (does QOS and WISH help?)
- wireless adaptor showing good signal strength
- my ipod touch seems to be doing fine
another thing i've noted is that the even when the taskbar shows the fail icon, windows wireless utility actually shows that im connected to the network. i tried reconnecting and it'd show that it's acquiring a new network address then it just stops and the taskbar shows the fail icon again. rinse and repeat
im almost pulling my hair off trying to solve the wireless thinggy. almost 3 nights of up to 2am tweaking. please help :) and thanks in advance!
liangtam
16-02-2009, 02:07 AM
ur description abit vague leh, cant understand what is running at the back(ground)
MarineX
16-02-2009, 07:52 AM
hi guys, just got a 655 to replace my aging wrt54g. direct connection has been great, never felt anything like this on my 54g, however, my wireless connections are all kaput. since it was working fine on the 54g, i can only assume it's a setting problem on my 655. need some pros help :) please bare with me since im quite a network noob.
current setting
MOL modem -> 655 -> direct PC1
-> wireless to PC2 (dlink USB wireless adaptor)
-> wireless to laptop
- PC1 is on static ip, doing some port forwarding. wireless on laptop is flaky, often disconnecting or not connected at all. PC2 stability is much worse.
here's the list of things i've tried to far (or observed) to solve the disconnecting issue
- i tried changing the channels for the 655. tired 11,7,6,3 then 1. it may work for one day, then back to the same problem on the next. cant tell if the channel is at fault here
- was on WPA2 and WPA, switched to WPA only
- to take only wireless b and g connections
- set static IPs for PC2 and laptop. (however i've read static ip is of no use if 655 is on DHCP server)
- QOS disabled
- WISH just disabled (does QOS and WISH help?)
- wireless adaptor showing good signal strength
- my ipod touch seems to be doing fine
another thing i've noted is that the even when the taskbar shows the fail icon, windows wireless utility actually shows that im connected to the network. i tried reconnecting and it'd show that it's acquiring a new network address then it just stops and the taskbar shows the fail icon again. rinse and repeat
im almost pulling my hair off trying to solve the wireless thinggy. almost 3 nights of up to 2am tweaking. please help :) and thanks in advance!
extremely vague.
If your ipod touch is doing fine then wouldnt the problem lies with the computer?
Anyway with set static IPs for PC2 and laptop. (however i've read static ip is of no use if 655 is on DHCP server) - this is wrong. where did you attempt your static IP at? From TCP/IP of the respective PC or via the Router itself?
Would recommend doing it from the Router itself. Disable auto channel scan for your case and test it out with channel 11. since you have configured to WPA, use the following cipher: TKIP and AES.
head to advanced > advanced wireless > uncheck everything especially extra wireless protection.
Wi-FI protected wizard > uncheck everything there.
try it and tell us the results. thanks :)
kotori
16-02-2009, 10:26 PM
=:p sorry! i thought i was helping by listing as much as i could, guess i didnt. anyway, my ipod touch, PC2 and laptop were all working fine when it was on the wrt54g, it's just that the PC2 and laptop having wireless problems now.
what i've done so far: i'm on WPA with TKIP and AES cipher. i've disabled auto channel scan and i'm on channel 11 now. done the unchecks bro MarineX recommended.
where did you attempt your static IP at? From TCP/IP of the respective PC or via the Router itself?
i entered it in both TCP/IP of the PC2 and in the DHCP Reservations List of the router. noob question but DHCP Reservation List = Static IP list? will try setting it from the router ONLY. gonna empty the TCP/IP settings in the PC2
http://i175.photobucket.com/albums/w131/ayumised/3-1.jpg
and my disconnection problems. with pictures (taken from PC2)
http://i175.photobucket.com/albums/w131/ayumised/untitled.jpg
it's takes very long to acquire the network address and when it does get done, it shows the limited connectivity thingy. cannot access to any webpages.
http://i175.photobucket.com/albums/w131/ayumised/untitled123.jpg
the unchecks
http://i175.photobucket.com/albums/w131/ayumised/4.jpg
liangtam
16-02-2009, 11:12 PM
Show the Dynamic DHCP list, wifi config page, status-wireless and status-log page.
salivaman
16-02-2009, 11:48 PM
going to buy this soon...i do a lot of bittorrenting and occasionally gaming, is it that worth to pay such high price for this router?
kotori
16-02-2009, 11:58 PM
http://i175.photobucket.com/albums/w131/ayumised/a.jpg
http://i175.photobucket.com/albums/w131/ayumised/b.jpg
http://i175.photobucket.com/albums/w131/ayumised/c.jpg
and the log
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:12:14 2009 Log viewed by IP address 192.168.0.101
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:11:22 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 74.216.41.159:65364 to 218.186.154.32:42015 as PSH:ACK received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:11:12 2009 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 88.0.41.161:29850 to 218.186.154.32:29850
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:11:12 2009 Above message repeated 1 times
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:10:54 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 117.47.20.18:10142 to 218.186.154.32:42015 as RST received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:10:46 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 117.47.20.18:10088 to 218.186.154.32:42015 as RST received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:10:34 2009 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 207.46.48.150:3544 to 218.186.154.32:9163
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:10:31 2009 Above message repeated 1 times
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:10:31 2009 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 71.201.141.130:59332 to 218.186.154.32:9163
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:10:30 2009 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 207.46.48.150:3544 to 218.186.154.32:9163
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:10:21 2009 Above message repeated 3 times
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:10:21 2009 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 71.201.141.130:59332 to 218.186.154.32:9163
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:10:18 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 74.216.41.159:65364 to 218.186.154.32:42015 as PSH:ACK received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:10:00 2009 Blocked incoming ICMP packet (ICMP type 8) from 213.254.73.143 to 218.186.154.32
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:09:58 2009 Above message repeated 1 times
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:09:14 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 74.216.41.159:65364 to 218.186.154.32:42015 as PSH:ACK received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:09:07 2009 Blocked incoming TCP connection request from 119.146.221.29:6000 to 218.186.154.32:8080
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:08:10 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 74.216.41.159:65364 to 218.186.154.32:42015 as PSH:ACK received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:07:52 2009 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 66.188.120.54:10228 to 218.186.154.32:10228
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:07:51 2009 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 88.0.41.161:29850 to 218.186.154.32:29850
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:07:47 2009 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 66.188.120.54:10228 to 218.186.154.32:10228
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:07:05 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 74.216.41.159:65364 to 218.186.154.32:42015 as PSH:ACK received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:07:04 2009 Log viewed by IP address 192.168.0.101
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:06:55 2009 Skynet: Wireless system with MAC address 001B11068163 disconnected for reason: Received Deauthentication
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:06:50 2009 Skynet: Wireless system with MAC address 001B11068163 associated
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:06:50 2009 Above message repeated 1 times
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:06:50 2009 Skynet: Wireless system with MAC address 001B11068163 disconnected for reason: Received Deauthentication
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:06:45 2009 Skynet: Wireless system with MAC address 001B11068163 associated
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:06:45 2009 Above message repeated 1 times
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:06:45 2009 Skynet: Wireless system with MAC address 001B11068163 disconnected for reason: Received Deauthentication
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:06:40 2009 Skynet: Wireless system with MAC address 001B11068163 associated
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:06:40 2009 Above message repeated 1 times
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:06:33 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 74.216.41.159:65364 to 218.186.154.32:42015 as PSH:ACK received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:06:27 2009 Skynet: Wireless system with MAC address 001B11068163 disconnected for reason: Received Deauthentication
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:06:02 2009 Log viewed by IP address 192.168.0.101
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:05:57 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 74.216.13.125:65364 to 218.186.154.32:42015 as PSH:ACK received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:05:53 2009 Above message repeated 2 times
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:05:20 2009 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 88.0.41.161:29850 to 218.186.154.32:29850
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:04:55 2009 Above message repeated 1 times
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:04:25 2009 Blocked incoming ICMP error message (ICMP type 3) from 83.55.215.163 to 218.186.154.32 as there is no UDP session active between 218.186.154.32:42015 and 192.168.1.36:53496
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:04:08 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 74.216.13.227:63838 to 218.186.154.32:42015 as RST:PSH:ACK received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:03:04 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 74.216.13.227:63838 to 218.186.154.32:42015 as PSH:ACK received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:02:56 2009 Allowed configuration authentication by IP address 192.168.0.101
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:02:41 2009 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 66.188.120.54:10228 to 218.186.154.32:10228
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:02:11 2009 Blocked incoming ICMP error message (ICMP type 3) from 208.33.234.106 to 218.186.154.32 as there is no UDP session active between 218.186.154.32:42015 and 192.168.1.104:25884
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:02:00 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 74.216.13.227:63838 to 218.186.154.32:42015 as PSH:ACK received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:01:55 2009 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 88.0.41.161:29850 to 218.186.154.32:29850
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:01:51 2009 Blocked incoming ICMP error message (ICMP type 3) from 208.33.234.106 to 218.186.154.32 as there is no TCP connection active between 218.186.154.32:3314 and 192.168.1.104:25884
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:01:40 2009 Above message repeated 1 times
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:01:25 2009 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 88.0.41.161:29850 to 218.186.154.32:29850
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:01:25 2009 Above message repeated 1 times
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:01:16 2009 Blocked incoming ICMP error message (ICMP type 3) from 221.87.24.2 to 218.186.154.32 as there is no TCP connection active between 218.186.154.32:3283 and 192.168.11.3:59876
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:01:07 2009 Above message repeated 2 times
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:00:55 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 74.216.13.227:63838 to 218.186.154.32:42015 as PSH:ACK received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:00:34 2009 Blocked incoming TCP connection request from 219.74.15.91:1804 to 218.186.154.32:3259
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:00:33 2009 UPnP added entry 255.255.255.255 <-> 218.186.154.32:30412 <-> 192.168.0.101:3259 TCP timeout:-1 'msnmsgr (192.168.0.101:3259) 30412 TCP'
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:00:33 2009 UPnP deleted entry 255.255.255.255 <-> 218.186.154.32:62418 TCP
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 01:00:33 2009 UPnP added entry 255.255.255.255 <-> 218.186.154.32:62418 <-> 192.168.0.101:4670 TCP timeout:-1 'msnmsgr (192.168.0.101:4670) 62418 TCP'
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:59:51 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 74.216.13.227:63838 to 218.186.154.32:42015 as PSH:ACK received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:58:54 2009 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 88.0.41.161:29850 to 218.186.154.32:29850
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:58:47 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 74.216.13.227:63838 to 218.186.154.32:42015 as PSH:ACK received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:58:27 2009 Blocked incoming ICMP error message (ICMP type 3) from 221.87.24.2 to 218.186.154.32 as there is no TCP connection active between 218.186.154.32:3127 and 192.168.11.3:59876
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:57:43 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 74.216.13.227:63838 to 218.186.154.32:42015 as PSH:ACK received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:57:39 2009 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 88.0.41.161:29850 to 218.186.154.32:29850
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:57:36 2009 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 66.188.120.54:10228 to 218.186.154.32:10228
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:57:21 2009 Above message repeated 1 times
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:57:08 2009 Blocked incoming TCP connection request from 58.8.34.222:14212 to 218.186.154.32:12129
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:57:03 2009 Above message repeated 1 times
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:56:44 2009 Blocked incoming ICMP error message (ICMP type 3) from 221.87.24.2 to 218.186.154.32 as there is no TCP connection active between 218.186.154.32:3034 and 192.168.11.3:59876
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:56:39 2009 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 60.15.177.169:53558 to 218.186.154.32:1026
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:56:39 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 74.216.13.227:63838 to 218.186.154.32:42015 as PSH:ACK received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:56:37 2009 Dropped packet from 169.254.95.238 to 169.254.255.255 (IP protocol 17) as unable to create new session
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:56:07 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 74.216.13.227:63838 to 218.186.154.32:42015 as PSH:ACK received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:56:06 2009 Blocked incoming ICMP error message (ICMP type 3) from 218.102.85.78 to 218.186.154.32 as there is no TCP connection active between 218.186.154.32:2968 and 192.168.11.7:26150
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:56:04 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 123.195.255.76:64091 to 218.186.154.32:42015 as FIN:ACK received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:56:00 2009 Blocked incoming ICMP error message (ICMP type 3) from 218.102.85.78 to 218.186.154.32 as there is no TCP connection active between 218.186.154.32:2968 and 192.168.11.7:26150
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:55:57 2009 Above message repeated 1 times
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:55:48 2009 Blocked incoming TCP connection request from 119.122.132.66:3343 to 218.186.154.32:12129
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:55:42 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 74.216.13.227:63838 to 218.186.154.32:42015 as PSH:ACK received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:55:40 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 123.195.255.76:62819 to 218.186.154.32:42015 as FIN:ACK received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:55:39 2009 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 88.0.41.161:29850 to 218.186.154.32:29850
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:55:39 2009 Blocked incoming TCP connection request from 119.122.132.66:3343 to 218.186.154.32:12129
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:55:30 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 74.216.13.227:63838 to 218.186.154.32:42015 as PSH:ACK received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:55:25 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 61.90.255.68:4000 to 218.186.154.32:2692 as FIN:ACK received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:55:24 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 74.216.13.227:63838 to 218.186.154.32:42015 as PSH:ACK received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:55:20 2009 Above message repeated 2 times
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:55:16 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 124.155.222.18:80 to 218.186.154.32:51304 as RST received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:54:56 2009 Blocked incoming TCP connection request from 58.8.34.222:13823 to 218.186.154.32:12129
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:54:47 2009 Above message repeated 2 times
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:54:33 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 124.155.222.18:80 to 218.186.154.32:51280 as RST received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:54:00 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 218.250.30.53:1285 to 218.186.154.32:42015 as ACK received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:53:59 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 124.155.222.18:80 to 218.186.154.32:51284 as RST received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:53:53 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 124.155.222.18:80 to 218.186.154.32:51242 as RST received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:53:53 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 124.155.222.18:80 to 218.186.154.32:51240 as RST received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:53:49 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 61.90.255.68:4000 to 218.186.154.32:2692 as FIN:ACK received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:53:30 2009 Skynet: Wireless system with MAC address 001CBFA7096D disconnected for reason: Received Deauthentication
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:53:29 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 74.216.4.127:62177 to 218.186.154.32:42015 as RST:PSH:ACK received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:53:25 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 124.155.222.18:80 to 218.186.154.32:51254 as RST received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:53:18 2009 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 218.186.1.88:53 to 218.186.154.32:53025
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:53:18 2009 Above message repeated 1 times
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:53:18 2009 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 218.186.1.88:53 to 218.186.154.32:61432
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:53:18 2009 Above message repeated 2 times
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:53:18 2009 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 218.186.1.88:53 to 218.186.154.32:59758
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:53:18 2009 Above message repeated 2 times
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:53:17 2009 Blocked incoming TCP connection request from 58.8.34.222:13368 to 218.186.154.32:12129
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:53:14 2009 Blocked incoming ICMP error message (ICMP type 3) from 68.203.158.90 to 218.186.154.32 as there is no UDP session active between 218.186.154.32:42015 and 192.168.1.102:59685
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:53:11 2009 Blocked incoming TCP connection request from 58.8.34.222:13368 to 218.186.154.32:12129
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:53:08 2009 Above message repeated 1 times
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:52:54 2009 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 202.156.1.68:53 to 218.186.154.32:53025
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:52:54 2009 Above message repeated 2 times
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:52:35 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 124.155.222.18:80 to 218.186.154.32:51264 as RST received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:52:29 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 124.155.222.18:80 to 218.186.154.32:51216 as RST received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:52:25 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 74.216.4.127:62177 to 218.186.154.32:42015 as PSH:ACK received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:52:23 2009 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 88.0.41.161:29850 to 218.186.154.32:29850
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:52:15 2009 Blocked incoming TCP packet from 124.155.222.18:80 to 218.186.154.32:51115 as RST received but there is no active connection
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:52:12 2009 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 202.156.1.68:53 to 218.186.154.32:52060
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:52:12 2009 Above message repeated 2 times
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:52:12 2009 Blocked incoming UDP packet from 202.156.1.78:53 to 218.186.154.32:52060
[INFO] Wed Feb 11 00:52:12 2009 Above message repeated 2 times
liangtam
17-02-2009, 12:10 AM
remove n install back the drivers, if u have time, try the copy on ralink site.
You have a copy of netstumbler, at the minimum u could show us which channel is crowded right? although a poll reviews which channel is less crowded, you must know any form of inteference will not show up, this includes but not limited to, some cordless phone, bluetooth, microwave
kotori
17-02-2009, 12:34 AM
yeah, i've tried using netstumbler when i first ran into problems thinking it might be channel overcrowding, but doesnt seem like it
http://i175.photobucket.com/albums/w131/ayumised/12.jpg
speaking of wireless, PC2 is sitting in front of a wireless logitech keyboard and mouse. house has one cordless phone. funny thing is, the laptop, which my sis is currently using now, seems to be much much more stable tonight. if it helps, the laptop is running on vista and is sitting right in front of PC2.
do i need to reinstall drivers for the router or the wireless usb adaptor or both?
sorry, but erm.. what exactly am i looking for in the ralink site? >.< sry noob here
richneo
17-02-2009, 06:27 AM
change your encryption to wpa tkip only and try see if it helps
mobycane
17-02-2009, 04:36 PM
Hi all
Presently, I'm using the current BB: Pacnet Cable -> Motorola Cable -> DIR-655 -> 1 x desktop + 1 x notebook + 1 x DNS 323.
Going to switch to Singnet 8mbps this friday, please advise what should I do??
1) Use the given 2701 HGV(pass-through) -> DIR-655 -> ... OR
2) recommend a good and compatible ADSL modem -> DIR-655
chaicka
17-02-2009, 11:06 PM
kotori,
ur clients all using Windows Wireless Configuration? For me, clients perform not as good but once switch to use wireless adapter's included config tool, it behaves and performs better.
kotori
18-02-2009, 12:03 AM
thanks for all the help so far :)
updates:
change your encryption to wpa tkip only and try see if it helps
changed it earlier in the evening when i got back from work, PC2 still having the same problem. logs keep showing the same auth deauth issue.
ur clients all using Windows Wireless Configuration?
yes, both the vista laptop and PC2 using windows wireless config. i will delete and reinstall the dlink usb adaptor driver and wireless utility program. will post updates again.
AND ZOMG
just as im outside trying out what chaicka recommend, i just felt i should try switching the usb port, and omfg.. it's working! will monitor the connection.. but so far 1st stable internet connection since getting the 655 last monday. damn my noobness la! many thanks again for all the help =:p
mobycane
02-03-2009, 09:50 PM
Hi all
Presently, I'm using the current BB: Pacnet Cable -> Motorola Cable -> DIR-655 -> 1 x desktop + 1 x notebook + 1 x DNS 323.
Going to switch to Singnet 8mbps this friday, please advise what should I do??
1) Use the given 2701 HGV(pass-through) -> DIR-655 -> ... OR
2) recommend a good and compatible ADSL modem -> DIR-655
Hi, I have received the ST536v6 modem from Singnet for my new 8mbps plan.
Tried to linkup to my DIR 655 but failed. It showed connected but somehow I just cant seem to access the internet.
I have also set the ST536 to bridge mode according to Divonex's instructions.
Would appreciate greatly if any help is given!!
http://i612.photobucket.com/albums/tt205/mobycane/statusmenu.jpg
http://i612.photobucket.com/albums/tt205/mobycane/setupmenu.jpg
http://i612.photobucket.com/albums/tt205/mobycane/QOS.jpg
http://i612.photobucket.com/albums/tt205/mobycane/portforward.jpg
http://i612.photobucket.com/albums/tt205/mobycane/networkmenu2.jpg
http://i612.photobucket.com/albums/tt205/mobycane/networkmenu1.jpg
http://i612.photobucket.com/albums/tt205/mobycane/ipconfig.jpg
http://i612.photobucket.com/albums/tt205/mobycane/firewall.jpg
p.s. screenshots to follow shortly...
liangtam
03-03-2009, 01:02 AM
all pc cant surf or what? shows connected at status page, shld be fine tho
mobycane
03-03-2009, 12:23 PM
those tat are connected to the router shows not being able to surf ....
thats wat puzzle me too, it shows connected but somehow I just cant surf!! :(
Is there any configuration needed for the browser? Currently, I'm using IE7 and FF3.
Thanks!
MarineX
03-03-2009, 12:41 PM
those tat are connected to the router shows not being able to surf ....
thats wat puzzle me too, it shows connected but somehow I just cant surf!! :(
Is there any configuration needed for the browser? Currently, I'm using IE7 and FF3.
Thanks!
connected = yr devices is connected to the router. that doesn't implies that you are being connected to your modem/internet.
reconnect mode: on demand
username: username@singnet
UDP Endpoint Filtering: Address Restricted
TCP Endpoint Filtering: Port And Address Restricted
not sure if e above will work or not. worth a try. As i did the above for my friend instead. :)
liangtam
03-03-2009, 02:04 PM
dont use 1.21.
Try 1.11 instead.
mobycane
04-03-2009, 10:47 AM
MarineX: Tried that... still the same
Liangtam: Downgraded to 1.11, but still the same ...
I removed the Dlink 655 and connect the ST536v6 directly to my desktop but it seems I can't access the internet too! arghh......
I have already changed the 'bridge mode' to the "Basic - Routed PPP" mode under the ST536, is this correct?
mobycane
04-03-2009, 09:42 PM
Upz for help, greatly appreciated!
liangtam
04-03-2009, 11:28 PM
set a pppoe dial profile in windows, set modem to bridge, then connect
phoby
06-03-2009, 10:56 AM
HI guys i just bought this router to go with my sb6100 starhub motorola . Is there any settings i need to configure to obtain the maximum speed possible ?
liangtam
06-03-2009, 11:00 AM
turn off QoS
phoby
06-03-2009, 11:06 AM
turn off QoS
Is this to me ?
liangtam
06-03-2009, 11:08 AM
of cos
*10 char*
phoby
06-03-2009, 02:52 PM
Can you explain to me what does the qoS does ? is there anymore settings that i should do ?
Btw how do i check if my onboard lan support gigalan ? Lost my mobo book and box. Possible to check through device manager ?
mong736
06-03-2009, 03:16 PM
Upz for help, greatly appreciated!
proxy server disabled???
wohouboy
06-03-2009, 03:23 PM
turn off QoS
wah bro will this really help? what will it benefit? LAN transfers also? I've been running QoS since i got the router nearly 2 years ago, thought the speed berri goot liao :P
liangtam
06-03-2009, 03:30 PM
Device manager can see nic properties. MOL ult upstream not specific, hence hard to hit max/burst rate if running qos
phoby
06-03-2009, 03:59 PM
i mean where to look for and what it will states if its running on gigalan ?
silverstone
06-03-2009, 04:25 PM
i mean where to look for and what it will states if its running on gigalan ?
if u r looking at device manager, it will state something like "realtek bla bla bla PCIe gigabit ethernet controller" .
phoby
06-03-2009, 05:48 PM
mine is nvidia nforce networking controller
btw on turning off the qos i got some questions
Under the Qos tab heres some option
WAN TRAFFIC SHAPPING
Enable Traffic Shapping
Automatic upload Speed
All checked
Qos engine setup
Enable Qos Engine
Automatic Classification
Dynamic Fragmentation
All checked
So which do option do i uncheck and the measured uplink speed is 6843kbps do i need to manually change it ?
lamesensei
07-03-2009, 12:42 AM
just untick enable traffic shapping and save then its off le
wohouboy
07-03-2009, 07:02 AM
just untick enable traffic shapping and save then its off le
so it's really better without the QoS??
richneo
07-03-2009, 08:50 AM
so it's really better without the QoS??
not true...
its just that if u set ur qos upstream speed low, ur download speed will be greatly impacted
especially so if u set the qos to auto detect ur upload.. knowing starhub's inconsistency in the advertised upload and download, the auto uplink speed might be wrongly detected and will affect your overall internet speed
Automatic Uplink Speed :
Measured Uplink Speed : Not Estimated
phoby
09-03-2009, 12:30 AM
mine is nvidia nforce networking controller
From mobo msi7260 does it support gigalan ?
chercm
09-03-2009, 05:44 AM
any one knows whether is there any offers in this pc show ?
MarineX
09-03-2009, 09:38 AM
any one knows whether is there any offers in this pc show ?
will have, but not released yet.
phoby
09-03-2009, 11:09 AM
Hi guys does mine support gigalan ? Single LAN supports 10/100/1000 Fast Ethernet by nForce 550
leinad
09-03-2009, 11:35 AM
Hi guys does mine support gigalan ? Single LAN supports 10/100/1000 Fast Ethernet by nForce 550
1000 = Gigabit. :)
/Dan
iCuteCube
10-03-2009, 12:56 AM
yup 1000 means gigabit liao lo.. normal de is only running at 100mbps.
Even wired connection, set Qos will be the best solution, bw will be reserved for you :D
lyk13
12-03-2009, 08:41 PM
Hi guys, just got this router today from the $139 D-Link offer at PC Show.
Tips for newb? =X
Alphas
12-03-2009, 08:51 PM
i am having some problem with DIR655 and 2wire 270HGV, set the 2wire to bridge mode, and type in username and password into DIR655. Cannot connect, confirm username and password is correct. What else do I need to do to the DIR655
RSKeisuke
12-03-2009, 08:56 PM
i'm presently using dlink DIR-300 with my MOL express connection. will changing my router to DIR-655 make any improvement to my wireless connection?
phuque99
12-03-2009, 09:03 PM
you compare your wireless speed spec for both, divide the numbers with two for both, that's your improvement bah, assuming you also get wireless N compatible adapter.
MarineX
12-03-2009, 09:42 PM
Hi guys, just got this router today from the $139 D-Link offer at PC Show.
Tips for newb? =X
show off - - -
mambo31
12-03-2009, 10:04 PM
I also got my DIR-655 at $139....ha ha
I was no.6 in queue...
Hope this router doesn't disconnect so frequently like my old netgear router...
On a side note, does anyone know where I can download the software for Macintosh?
leinad
12-03-2009, 10:16 PM
I was no.6 in queue...
On a side note, does anyone know where I can download the software for Macintosh?
No need for software.. Just point Safari to the router IP and configure from within.
The router software discs are usually to be thrown away. ;) The exception is the AEBS since there's no web-based configuration tool for that.
/Dan
mambo31
12-03-2009, 10:21 PM
Thanks for the reply.
Managed to set-up the router smoothly...
Cheerio!!
lamesensei
12-03-2009, 10:22 PM
is it still selling @ 139 or is that only the offer price(first 30 or something)? is dir 825 available?
liangtam
12-03-2009, 10:33 PM
139 is only starbuy mah
no 825.
lookout for the 855 tmr evening
lamesensei
12-03-2009, 10:36 PM
139 is only starbuy mah
no 825.
lookout for the 855 tmr evening
starbuy is all days? or time base or lol... i can only go on sunday. =(
Alphas
12-03-2009, 10:56 PM
finally got the connection up, had to disable PVC search in 270HGV definately. However the dynamic DNS with dyndns does not work at all with FW 1.21
lyk13
13-03-2009, 01:36 AM
show off - - -
Like that call show off? =.="
I was no.6 in queue...
Oh hi Mr. last guy to be able to have your back or shoulder against the Dlink 'wall'...the uncle behind you suay lor, U-shape start to turn le...LOL...I'm no.16, right in front of the star buy plaque...kaoz...ppl keep staring at the plaque I have to move my head behind abit...>.<
Got that lady that keep taking pic and filming, also had to siam her for her to video/pic...=.=
starbuy is all days? or time base or lol... i can only go on sunday. =(
Only Thurs and Fri. 1pm and 6.30pm. Usually before that queue 30 reach le.
Yeah I also decided to get this router due to WRT54GL keep dc-ing...dulanz.
Anyway guys, recommended to upgrade firmware to latest? Latest on starhub site is 1.13, dlink is 1.21 I think?
richneo
13-03-2009, 09:32 AM
Like that call show off? =.="
Oh hi Mr. last guy to be able to have your back or shoulder against the Dlink 'wall'...the uncle behind you suay lor, U-shape start to turn le...LOL...I'm no.16, right in front of the star buy plaque...kaoz...ppl keep staring at the plaque I have to move my head behind abit...>.<
Got that lady that keep taking pic and filming, also had to siam her for her to video/pic...=.=
Only Thurs and Fri. 1pm and 6.30pm. Usually before that queue 30 reach le.
Yeah I also decided to get this router due to WRT54GL keep dc-ing...dulanz.
Anyway guys, recommended to upgrade firmware to latest? Latest on starhub site is 1.13, dlink is 1.21 I think?
there is firmware 1.21 in dlink.com.sg website for shareport for u to share your usb hdd, printers, scanners and etc
sevensomerset
13-03-2009, 10:47 AM
hi, can ask if DIR-655 at S$179 still good to get at IT SHOW?
for desktop, is PCI client better or USB client better ah?
my house DI-624+ is making me sian 1/2 coz on/off will disconnect.
yes, i even got disconnect even using the ethernet port of DI-524+!
leinad
13-03-2009, 12:17 PM
my house DI-524+ is making me sian 1/2 coz on/off will disconnect.
That's a decent price, considering most of us paid anything from $199-229 for that router.
As for the desktop, I personally prefer a USB dongle cos it's more reusable, but that means you have to sacrifice one USB port. If you have a free port to spare, then go with the USB client.
/Dan
liangtam
13-03-2009, 12:29 PM
theres no 524+
cdo_saturday
13-03-2009, 12:47 PM
you got disconnected because the router rebooted is it? you can observe the router when u lose connection; the router leds start to blink as though it is initializing. Can try to log a call with dlink technical support and get it rma-ed.
Yeah I also want to know if $179 is still a good buy. IMHO, it is because it's retailing ~ $199 at SLS if i'm not wrong.
sevensomerset
13-03-2009, 03:21 PM
so USB client is ok for long time BTing?
Coz don't want it disconnect when let PC ON for BT for long night...
safilo923
13-03-2009, 09:13 PM
i want to ask all the DIR-655 users here,
anybody using singnet bb on this router?
i bought a D-Link DSL 2542B and DIR 655 to replace the 2Wire modem.
but i cannot get it to go online. The internet led is not ON in the DSL2542B, i am trying to bridge it.
any help?
danxiaogui86
13-03-2009, 10:51 PM
good bye brother of dir 655. i'm moving to 885 liao :X
hlyagami
13-03-2009, 11:20 PM
dun like that leh... we are once e owner of 655. w/o 655, we wont buy 855 :D
danxiaogui86
13-03-2009, 11:22 PM
dun like that leh... we are once e owner of 655. w/o 655, we wont buy 855 :D
haha~ 655 is very good. it never disapoint me at all. reason going over 855 is the chio OLED screen and the dual band~
liangtam
13-03-2009, 11:34 PM
i want to ask all the DIR-655 users here,
anybody using singnet bb on this router?
i bought a D-Link DSL 2542B and DIR 655 to replace the 2Wire modem.
but i cannot get it to go online. The internet led is not ON in the DSL2542B, i am trying to bridge it.
any help?
use the modem to connect in first. if cant connect, check ur settings.
if can connect, move to next step bridge to router.
safilo923
13-03-2009, 11:43 PM
can connect only if i specify the proxy server in IE or FF. Both times when it is connected either in router or modem.
if dont specify it will generate an auto message that shows how to setup the 2wire modem.(i am nt connected to a 2wire modem, i am using the dlink dsl-2542b)
ajax_84
13-03-2009, 11:43 PM
my house DI-624+ is making me sian 1/2 coz on/off will disconnect.
get it on the last day if u want.. i remember during dec show, it was selling $189 (starbuy same at $139) and last day original price dropped $20 to $169..
ajax_84
13-03-2009, 11:44 PM
u meant 855 ba haha
safilo923
13-03-2009, 11:44 PM
haha~ 655 is very good. it never disapoint me at all. reason going over 855 is the chio OLED screen and the dual band~
how did u manage to use the 2wire to get it running with 655? i was using 2700HG, followed the instructions from 2wire website, but also still cannot surf net.
sevensomerset
13-03-2009, 11:58 PM
hi, can ask is DLINK router better to pair with DLINK client?
Which client is good ah? USB/PCI?
my big concern is BT, will BT for whole night while sleeping... so cannot have D/C problem one...
Thanks.
liangtam
14-03-2009, 12:05 AM
can connect only if i specify the proxy server in IE or FF. Both times when it is connected either in router or modem.
if dont specify it will generate an auto message that shows how to setup the 2wire modem.(i am nt connected to a 2wire modem, i am using the dlink dsl-2542b)
user problem liao
username@singnet, not username alone.
mambo31
14-03-2009, 12:34 AM
Haha...u noticed me...hehe..
Stood there 'supporting' the Dlink wall for almost an hour man...scared wall fall down...haha..
Dlink should have given me the router for helping them 'support' their wall...
Were u the one wf your gf so lovey dovey?? ;)
liangtam
14-03-2009, 12:44 AM
the fake wall will fall de mah?
mambo31
14-03-2009, 01:13 AM
it's just a figure of speech la...
Reminds me of my NS days where they tekan us....
pkchukiss
14-03-2009, 11:30 AM
Help help! The wall is falling!
kelvinskk
14-03-2009, 08:36 PM
If i get the DIR-655 and a N-based USB receiver, while the rest of the PCs in my home uses the G-based USB receiver, will there be any issues?
Can N and G be run simultaneously on the DIR-655?
richneo
14-03-2009, 08:38 PM
If i get the DIR-655 and a N-based USB receiver, while the rest of the PCs in my home uses the G-based USB receiver, will there be any issues?
Can N and G be run simultaneously on the DIR-655?
the N will connect at 300mbps the g will connect at 54mbps
simultaneously
kelvinskk
14-03-2009, 08:42 PM
simultaneously
Thank bro.. How about the frequency band which N & G uses for the DIR-655? I've read that the DIR-855 supports dual band. What's the difference between the DIR-655 and DIR-855?
richneo
14-03-2009, 08:46 PM
N and G uses 2.4
655 operates in 2.4
855 operates in 2.4 and 5ghz
universe
14-03-2009, 10:32 PM
N and G uses 2.4
655 operates in 2.4
855 operates in 2.4 and 5ghz
best is coupled 855 with dwa160 for full dual band usage
though 160 not available in sg yet
richneo
14-03-2009, 11:04 PM
best is coupled 855 with dwa160 for full dual band usage
though 160 not available in sg yet
bro
dwa-160 is sold in it show
sevensomerset
14-03-2009, 11:36 PM
hi, is dir655 gt network printer function?
Is it like i plug my printer usb port to the dir655 then can work?
Got compatible printer list?
bayside
14-03-2009, 11:37 PM
hi guys sorry if i am lazy, would like to ask what is the stable firmware for 655 bought it since last year and haven't update firmware yet. Thanks
liangtam
14-03-2009, 11:41 PM
*10 char*
bayside
14-03-2009, 11:45 PM
*10 char*
bro liangtam the 1.11 is from dlink website or 3rd party one?
MarineX
14-03-2009, 11:50 PM
hi, is dir655 gt network printer function?
Is it like i plug my printer usb port to the dir655 then can work?
Got compatible printer list?
negative, you need to have the correct
1. firmware for your router
2. sharepoint
3. sharepoint installed to the computer(s) required.
bro liangtam the 1.11 is from dlink website or 3rd party one?
i believe he meant the original firmware from DLINK. Dlink original fw is extremely good.
sevensomerset
15-03-2009, 05:57 AM
but the "promition flyer" said can ley...
the SharePort thingy...
they bluff ppl?
so no bros use the function ah?
dun wan2 ask those promoter there, they usually noobs wan...
richneo
15-03-2009, 09:38 AM
but the "promition flyer" said can ley...
the SharePort thingy...
they bluff ppl?
so no bros use the function ah?
dun wan2 ask those promoter there, they usually noobs wan...
shareport can share your printer, scanner and external storage via usb connected to dir-655/855 by installing shareport utility for every computer that intend to share the printer, scanners or harddisk
im very sure their flyer did not say it has network printer function.
sevensomerset
15-03-2009, 10:03 AM
K... Can share printer can oredi... I think i use the wrong term... Network printer is gt more features izzit...
MarineX
15-03-2009, 11:48 AM
K... Can share printer can oredi... I think i use the wrong term... Network printer is gt more features izzit...
a network printer has got a network card of its own, thus all u nid is to connect it to a router either wireless and wired(depending on which network card it supports for the printer) and everyone will be able to see it.
Thus if you only have a USB Printer and wanted to share across network, Dlink DIR-655 allows one to achieve that by connecting your USB printer to the back of its Router's usb point and share it out substituting the required need of a ethernet/wireless capability of your printer and permits the router to do the job on its behalf of a missing network device on your printer.
tuanbf
15-03-2009, 12:17 PM
simultaneously
bro can you help me to identify why my macbook pro connects to my DIR-655 at 130mbps only, instead of 300mbps?
I heard that for 2.4GHz, 130Mbp is the max u can fork out?
richneo
15-03-2009, 12:25 PM
bro can you help me to identify why my macbook pro connects to my DIR-655 at 130mbps only, instead of 300mbps?
I heard that for 2.4GHz, 130Mbp is the max u can fork out?
intel wireless lock their wireless adaptor to 20mhz for 2.4ghz N thus limiting it to 130mbps
i never use mac before and i dunno if mac locks theirs to 20mhz as well
perhaps u have to read ur mac book's datsheet or manual
coyote
15-03-2009, 12:29 PM
Can one plug a M1/Starhub/Singtel mobile broadband usb modem into the USB port & share the mobile broadband to the entire home network?
richneo
15-03-2009, 12:43 PM
http://img25.imageshack.us/img25/3788/3g1.png
http://img25.imageshack.us/img25/9549/3g2.png
MarineX
15-03-2009, 12:44 PM
Can one plug a M1/Starhub/Singtel mobile broadband usb modem into the USB port & share the mobile broadband to the entire home network?
yes, firmware have to be 1.21 and above..
sevensomerset
15-03-2009, 01:52 PM
yo, any bros using THUNDER5 as BT client?
I used my DIR-624+ to set my PC into DMZ also getting crap speed...
This one ok or not? need what setting ah.... thanks .
CyberTron
16-03-2009, 01:50 AM
Does anyone have a list of 3g usb modems supported? I got a huawei E169 from singnet bbom, and it does not seem to work...
chercm
16-03-2009, 08:09 AM
does the shareport work with the HP AIO printers?
MarineX
16-03-2009, 11:24 AM
does the shareport work with the HP AIO printers?
it should work with any USB devices. But whether the features of your AIO printers can be fully utilized is a different story.
richneo
16-03-2009, 11:45 AM
all printers / harddisk connected to dir-655 shareport should function as if it is directly connected to your computer via usb
guys, if the status led did not blind or went out, does that mean the router is dead. i cant seem to get any reply from the router.
but the router is alive after i did a reset for it. but after a short while, it went dead again.
can anyone help me out on this problem? thanks.
Asakura
18-03-2009, 12:37 AM
can some1 help? i got a 256ping in speedtest. omfg? lol is there any settings i shld take note of? lol omg it was so sudden
Alphas
19-03-2009, 09:46 PM
it is now possible to connect a usb hub to DIR655. Allow ur usb printer,scanner and storage devices to connect to the shareport one at a time, in firmware 1.22
liangtam
19-03-2009, 09:56 PM
1.21 i already connected a usb hub and few device to it le...
shock2890
19-03-2009, 11:09 PM
I've got a problem. I just recently upgraded to the Dlink xtreme N gigabit router and I can get a connection fine through wireless to my laptop, DVR and some of the wired computer. However there is one computer that I am having problems with, it is kind of an older computer but it still has a pentium 4 processor and is running XP, I don't see why this would happen if all my other computers and DVR are running fine, but hopefully you guys can help!
thanks,
shock2890
richneo
19-03-2009, 11:16 PM
perhaps for a start it might be useful to state what is the problem ur old computer faced
shock2890
19-03-2009, 11:49 PM
My old computer never had a problem connecting through my old router, it is when I hooked up this new router that it had a problem connecting to the internet. Like I said everything else in my house that is hooked up to the internet/cable works (other ethernet wired computers, wireless laptop and DVR). I just don't understand why the switch of routers would make my other computer not able to accsess the internet.
thanks,
shock2890
liangtam
19-03-2009, 11:53 PM
Tried another cable?
How about changing the network card of that PC?
Well, since your above description could not explain where the problem lies, then the above 2 suggestion is in basic form that you could try out first.
shock2890
20-03-2009, 12:17 AM
Alright well I don't think my network card is bad because it worked just this morning before I switched routers and changing cables doesn't work either. I know the problem lies in the machine itself because everything else around the machine works. AND once it is connect to the internet, it says that it is connected but I have no internet accsess... hope that narrows it down some!
Thanks,
shock2890
liangtam
20-03-2009, 12:20 AM
Oh, like this. Then it is either your OS problem, your TCP/IP stack, Winsock, application problem etc. Else this can also be due to, virus, trojan/botnet etc.
Another possibilities is due to your TCP/IP setting, or the NIC somehow does not want to work at gigabit rate(yesteryear gb nic has alot problem)
shock2890
20-03-2009, 12:43 AM
I will run a virus scan to see if that is the problem, if not how would I change my TCP/IP setting and what do I need to change them to? AND what exactly is the TCP/IP stack and Winsock?
krazyman
20-03-2009, 07:28 AM
Run ipconfig /all on this old PC and also on a working PC and post details here. Could it be the 2 routers are on different subnet and you've static IP on the old PC?
IDZetc
20-03-2009, 09:57 AM
I will run a virus scan to see if that is the problem, if not how would I change my TCP/IP setting and what do I need to change them to? AND what exactly is the TCP/IP stack and Winsock?
have you tried switching the connection to other port on ur router?
tuanbf
20-03-2009, 11:04 AM
make sure your old computer is using DHCP setting to acquire the IP automatically. There might be a case that your old computer is using static IP, so it can't get through the new router.
koiphone
27-03-2009, 10:00 PM
Managed have the settings for the E170 (Starhub Maxmobile) but still having problems connecting.
http://i282.photobucket.com/albums/kk276/koiphone/DIR-655/3Gusbsettings.jpg
http://i282.photobucket.com/albums/kk276/koiphone/DIR-655/Logs.jpg
http://i282.photobucket.com/albums/kk276/koiphone/DIR-655/statuspg.jpg
I wonder what went wrong? Anyone can help?
asalva
28-03-2009, 06:40 AM
Dear co-owners of DIR-655:
How do I block access for one PC (ie. one MAC address) to Windows Live Messenger using the Dir-655 router?
Thanks
Asakura
29-03-2009, 12:22 AM
using router to block msn?
eh sry
any reviews of the firmware 1.21 ??
liangtam
29-03-2009, 01:07 AM
using router to block msn?
eh sry
any reviews of the firmware 1.21 ??
Already got 1.22 beta liao leh...
Anyway, u try ownself will know le mah
koiphone
29-03-2009, 03:47 PM
Is this version DIR655A4_FW121B11Beta02.bin the best at the moment? Especially for it to use with 3G USB adapter.
WhiteFox
29-03-2009, 10:12 PM
Using the Shareport utility, I can plug in a USB drive into the router and access it's content through LAN?
richneo
29-03-2009, 10:56 PM
yes .
WhiteFox
29-03-2009, 11:07 PM
where do I get the username n pw for the downloads?
Asakura
29-03-2009, 11:33 PM
i'm on mol premium.
my ping
LOL
http://www.speedtest.net/result/439895155.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
coranyge
05-04-2009, 11:46 PM
ccb. f*king disappointed with this router.
got it from ITSHOW a month ago. used 6hours only and it broke down (no power) got a brand new replacement from the show.
now the replacement set also broke down (no power again)
DLINK QC so jialat??? no wonder they selling it at $179 during the show :mad:
xxhellinvaderxx
05-04-2009, 11:52 PM
got it from ITSHOW a month ago. used 6hours only and it broke down (no power) got a brand new replacement from the show.
wah..then u must be very unlucky. My set running 24/7 didn't switch off no problem leh..
MarineX
06-04-2009, 12:46 AM
then maybe i think the problem lies with your house appliances not the router issue. how can 2 of the same product where people did not complain about such issue before and it happens twice in a row to urs?
the next time u changed it do try a different power socket and see if the same thing occurs or not.
iCuteCube
06-04-2009, 03:17 AM
wah..then u must be very unlucky. My set running 24/7 didn't switch off no problem leh..
wah so jialat, sorry bro, but I will also say you really sway?
or can I say your house so special that without a surge protector and network protector any router you use also easy to spoil?
By the way belkin is selling surge + network protector :)
2 of my friends running 655 24/7 also no problem, pretty stable router, but the gigabit performance is a turn off, not really that fast.. but in terms of basic router function should not have a problem, you gonna check what is faulty? The power adapter? or the router? or hardware? or what problem?
IDZetc
06-04-2009, 11:37 AM
wah so jialat, sorry bro, but I will also say you really sway?
or can I say your house so special that without a surge protector and network protector any router you use also easy to spoil?
By the way belkin is selling surge + network protector :)
2 of my friends running 655 24/7 also no problem, pretty stable router, but the gigabit performance is a turn off, not really that fast.. but in terms of basic router function should not have a problem, you gonna check what is faulty? The power adapter? or the router? or hardware? or what problem?
gigabit performance also depends on the hardware of the clients that are connected to it.
anyway, what's the performance on yours like?
xxhellinvaderxx
06-04-2009, 11:42 AM
I thought gigabit performance have to depends on how fast your hdd can go?
richneo
06-04-2009, 12:13 PM
i dont see any issues with gigabit performance for DIR-655 which can render user experience "turn off"
DIR-655 performs close to 1000 mbps performance
http://img17.imageshack.us/img17/272/dir655gig.png
How to know the throughput? So far I can barely hit 20MB/s 16-18MB/s is the norm. While is it faster than 100mbps, it is not exactly near 1Gbps.
What is the best way to test? 2 Computers?
danxiaogui86
06-04-2009, 02:06 PM
The speed between computer(wired) to computer(wireless) cannot get u 1gbps. It depend on the medium and the file u send.
Alphas
06-04-2009, 11:05 PM
How to know the throughput? So far I can barely hit 20MB/s 16-18MB/s is the norm. While is it faster than 100mbps, it is not exactly near 1Gbps.
What is the best way to test? 2 Computers?
Ur HDD is the bottleneck, try IxChariot
radon
26-04-2009, 12:26 AM
anyone try out firmware ver 1.3 beta already?
http://support.dlink.com/products/view.asp?productid=DIR%2D655
Firmware: 1.30 (Beta)
Date: 04/14/09
1. Fix DHCP server issue.
2. Modify the turn from "Network USB" to "Shareport" in the option of "My USB Type is:"
3. Add Advanced DNS Service feature.
4. Add SecureSpot 2.0
5. Remove the 3G from GUI
6. Fix LLTD wrong icon in Vista.
7. Fix reboot issue when connecting to Internet
8. Add Graphical authentication to log-in page.
9. Removed 802.11b
10. This firmware can not downgraded to previous versions.
11. Guest Zone disable SharePort support (USB spec v1.05)
12. New SharePort support PC/Mac (Requires Utility Installed on PC or Mac to work)
13. Router time is not reset when factory reset.
14. Fix schedule end time error.
madgoh
26-04-2009, 09:58 AM
The change log mention that :
5. Remove the 3G from GUI
Does it mean that we cannot use the 3G USB stick to connect to internet?
misato
26-04-2009, 10:23 AM
Strongly suggest not to flash this version of the firmware as 802.11b support is removed.
This means alot of legacy device that uses 802.11b like PSP, NDS, older PDA will not able to connect to this router.
Computron
27-04-2009, 04:27 PM
yea, my dir-655 running 24/7 . no issues for 6 months...
Kiwi8
27-04-2009, 04:39 PM
I am toying with the idea of fully redeeming this router from my StarHub rewards points. Worth it?
richneo
27-04-2009, 04:54 PM
wah full redemption of 10125 points?
4100 points can redeem 1 month of mol free
more worth it to redeem 2 months of mol ult free with 8200 points i feel
liangtam
27-04-2009, 05:04 PM
10125 points!? :eek:
kiwi zehzeh so lich~ :o
Vulpix
30-04-2009, 01:54 AM
Final 1.31 firmware is out, with shareport 1.10. Works great, and Shareport is finally stable when sharing with some printers.
richneo
30-04-2009, 10:16 AM
warning....
for those who wants to use 3G with dir-655 do not flash to 1.31 for the time being
1.31us removed 3G support
wait for other version before flashing
leinad
30-04-2009, 10:40 AM
Found the Changelog:
DIR-655 Firmware Release Notes
=========================================
Firmware: 1.31
Date: 04/28/09
1. New SharePort support PC/Mac (Requires New Utility Installed on PC or Mac to work)
2. Add SecureSpot 2.0
3. Add Graphical authentication to log-in page.
4. Fix DHCP server issue.
5. Modify the turn from "Network USB" to "SharePort" in the option of "My USB Type is:"
6. Add Advanced DNS Service feature.
7. Remove the 3G from GUI
8. Fix LLTD wrong icon in Vista.
9. Fix reboot issue when connecting to Internet
10. Fix if set more than 8 Trigger or Firewall port in Application Rules, it will show warning message.
11. Fix bug: When QRS set wan type of rt to DHCP, the rt will not set Primary and second DNS.
12. This firmware can not be downgraded to previous versions.
13. Guest Zone disable SharePort support (USB spec v1.05)
14. Router time is not reset when factory reset.
15. Fix schedule end time error.
Note: This firmware does not allow downgrading to pre-1.3x. Please save your configuration file before the upgrade. After the upgrade, please reset to factory default, then upload the configuration file image.
===
Note the bold print... It should be serious enough for those who want to use 3G USB on their DIR-655 routers.
/Dan
MarineX
30-04-2009, 11:07 AM
Found the Changelog:
DIR-655 Firmware Release Notes
=========================================
Firmware: 1.31
Date: 04/28/09
1. New SharePort support PC/Mac (Requires New Utility Installed on PC or Mac to work)
2. Add SecureSpot 2.0
3. Add Graphical authentication to log-in page.
4. Fix DHCP server issue.
5. Modify the turn from "Network USB" to "SharePort" in the option of "My USB Type is:"
6. Add Advanced DNS Service feature.
7. Remove the 3G from GUI
8. Fix LLTD wrong icon in Vista.
9. Fix reboot issue when connecting to Internet
10. Fix if set more than 8 Trigger or Firewall port in Application Rules, it will show warning message.
11. Fix bug: When QRS set wan type of rt to DHCP, the rt will not set Primary and second DNS.
12. This firmware can not be downgraded to previous versions.
13. Guest Zone disable SharePort support (USB spec v1.05)
14. Router time is not reset when factory reset.
15. Fix schedule end time error.
Note: This firmware does not allow downgrading to pre-1.3x. Please save your configuration file before the upgrade. After the upgrade, please reset to factory default, then upload the configuration file image.
===
Note the bold print... It should be serious enough for those who want to use 3G USB on their DIR-655 routers.
/Dan
why would they wants to remove that feature?
richneo
30-04-2009, 11:11 AM
why would they wants to remove that feature?
because the new firmware uses new kernel as they say which prevent it from downgrading to older kernel
chaozhouzi
22-05-2009, 10:42 PM
Just bought the DLink DIR 655. Couldn't connect to internet on my 3nos. mac. No problem at all with my 2 PC. Tried manual setting on ethernet, airport then switched to DHCP but none of the setup works. Called their tech support 3 times and each time was told somebody will call me but never did. Called at 1840h today, now already 2226h and still no call from them. Note that my first call in the early afternoon, someone tried to guide me through the very same setup that I had already tried myself.
What is the point of a so called great product if their tech support is so screwy. I am going back to the shop to exchange for either a Linksys or Belkin router. Preferably Linksys as I had gone through 3 nos. of their products and had called Linksys tech support 3 times and got great guidance and friendly service from them. The tech even gave me a power adapter FOC when I went down to their office with my defective one even though it is out of warranty. (it was a EOL product).
Really really regretted getting the DLink but it was cheap at that time. ($169). Note that today is my fourth unhappy encounter with this screwy and unhelpful Dlink tech support. Should have learnt my lesson. :mad:
dirtysock
23-05-2009, 09:03 PM
If my main usage is BT, gaming on pc, laptop, ps3 and online streaming; would this be a good router to get? :o
MarineX
24-05-2009, 04:08 PM
Just bought the DLink DIR 655. Couldn't connect to internet on my 3nos. mac. No problem at all with my 2 PC. Tried manual setting on ethernet, airport then switched to DHCP but none of the setup works. Called their tech support 3 times and each time was told somebody will call me but never did. Called at 1840h today, now already 2226h and still no call from them. Note that my first call in the early afternoon, someone tried to guide me through the very same setup that I had already tried myself.
What is the point of a so called great product if their tech support is so screwy. I am going back to the shop to exchange for either a Linksys or Belkin router. Preferably Linksys as I had gone through 3 nos. of their products and had called Linksys tech support 3 times and got great guidance and friendly service from them. The tech even gave me a power adapter FOC when I went down to their office with my defective one even though it is out of warranty. (it was a EOL product).
Really really regretted getting the DLink but it was cheap at that time. ($169). Note that today is my fourth unhappy encounter with this screwy and unhelpful Dlink tech support. Should have learnt my lesson. :mad:
hmm.. i dont have such issues... well yes - linksys might be great in their service but i don't really think they devices meet the mark after giving them so many chances..
back-to-back it still depends on which aspect you are really looking out for...
for your MAC - if you are using wireless.. kindly try it using WPA/WPA2 instead of WEP.
Godzila
28-05-2009, 02:16 AM
hi gurus ,
can i ask if its possible to connect/access an IP camera via internet and a DNS as a server to a website at the same time on this router. would like some help in this area as to how its done . thanks in advance
MarineX
28-05-2009, 07:57 AM
hi gurus ,
can i ask if its possible to connect/access an IP camera via internet and a DNS as a server to a website at the same time on this router. would like some help in this area as to how its done . thanks in advance
yes it can be done - easiest method make use of the DDNS features in the router itself.
siegeholler
28-05-2009, 09:07 AM
If my main usage is BT, gaming on pc, laptop, ps3 and online streaming; would this be a good router to get? :o
yeah ive been using this since jun 07.. same usage as u too - xbox gaming, 1 desktop, 3 laptops, all on wireless.. works great
cstanhwz
28-05-2009, 09:07 AM
Just bought this unit yesterday. Hardware version is A4, firmware is 1.21WW.
Anyone know the difference between hardware A4 and A3?
One thing is I noticed that when I connect the Lan cable to my PC's built in Gbit network port, only shows 100mbps. Maybe should change the lan cable and try again.
TIA.
richneo
28-05-2009, 09:42 AM
Just bought this unit yesterday. Hardware version is A4, firmware is 1.21WW.
Anyone know the difference between hardware A4 and A3?
One thing is I noticed that when I connect the Lan cable to my PC's built in Gbit network port, only shows 100mbps. Maybe should change the lan cable and try again.
TIA.
Figure 3 shows the A4 version board. The radio has been integrated into the main board and uses a more recent Atheros chipset consisting of and Atheros AR9160 BB/MAC and AR9103 2.4 GHz 3x3 MIMO radio. I removed the ceramic heatsink pads and confirmed that the Ubicom IP5160U was still used as the router SoC. Lifting the pad on the larger device, however, showed that a Realtek RTL8366SR Gigabit switch was now used instead of the Vitesse device.
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/content/view/30726/96/
cstanhwz
28-05-2009, 10:44 AM
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/content/view/30726/96/
Thanks. :)
Godzila
28-05-2009, 11:33 AM
yes it can be done - easiest method make use of the DDNS features in the router itself.
thanks for the prompt reply .
i have configured the ip camera using ddns . as for the dns , can the router take another ddns address ??
pls advise how to ?
thanks again
MarineX
28-05-2009, 05:21 PM
thanks for the prompt reply .
i have configured the ip camera using ddns . as for the dns , can the router take another ddns address ??
pls advise how to ?
thanks again
eh... i would advise you to use ur router DDNS instead and allow you camera to ride on top of it - instead of using the DDNS on the camera.
the DDNS on the router will allow the remote viewing of the camera w/o an issue as long as you get your ports correct...
eg.
camera port number is 80
ddns at router is abc.ddns.com
thus to remote view ur camera = abc.ddns.com:80
and any other further remote peripherals can be set with accordance to the corresponding port address...
and take note.. no duplicate of the same port number or it might have conflicts.
DDNS if you config it on both the router and camera - 1 will be automatically log out. Thus it defeats the purpose.
MarineX
28-05-2009, 05:22 PM
yeah ive been using this since jun 07.. same usage as u too - xbox gaming, 1 desktop, 3 laptops, all on wireless.. works great
hahas.. my wireless doesnt work too great even when its beside each other.
Range was good... but speed not so.
cstanhwz
29-05-2009, 09:27 PM
Ermm...sorry if this had been asked before, tried to search but did not get the answers.
Which wireless n PCI/PCIe adaptor (that can be purchased in S'pore) is best match with the DIR-655?
In terms of stability and performamce?
TIA.
liangtam
29-05-2009, 10:54 PM
Internal wifi client are not recommended, since its behind the chassis.
cstanhwz
29-05-2009, 11:22 PM
Internal wifi client are not recommended, since its behind the chassis.
Hi liangtam, thanks for the feedback.
I generally prefer internal PCI/PCIe adaptor.
Using one g model now with an external antenna with cable that connect to the g adaptor.
Belkin has one model that has the same feature http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCatProductPage.process?Product_Id=273535 . But not sure if the Belkin is good with the DIR-655.
Or should I get the Dlink DWA-556.
Any users of DIR-655, if you have any experience with these model please comment
TIA.
Angelztearx
04-06-2009, 01:14 AM
Hi Gods of Wireless Networking,
I seek your help in this matter of greatest importance. I am but a simple noob and will require ur help in resolving my network problem, since I have upgraded my home network to be completely wireless N but am still having problems.
Got a DIR-655 and a DWA-556 for my desktop, but the problem now is when I check thru my router, it says that my desktop connects to the router with an 11g connection. When I change the settings on the router to broadcast only in N mode, the DWA-556 set does not allow me to connect to the network! Windows comes up with the lame excuse that my hardware isn't able to connect to an N network, when I got the DWA-556 fixed in there. My driver version is updated to 7.6.1.204 for the DWA-556, but only 1.11SH for the DIR-655.
Any help would be appreciated to help push my connection to Wireless n!
MarineX
04-06-2009, 03:09 AM
Hi Gods of Wireless Networking,
I seek your help in this matter of greatest importance. I am but a simple noob and will require ur help in resolving my network problem, since I have upgraded my home network to be completely wireless N but am still having problems.
Got a DIR-655 and a DWA-556 for my desktop, but the problem now is when I check thru my router, it says that my desktop connects to the router with an 11g connection. When I change the settings on the router to broadcast only in N mode, the DWA-556 set does not allow me to connect to the network! Windows comes up with the lame excuse that my hardware isn't able to connect to an N network, when I got the DWA-556 fixed in there. My driver version is updated to 7.6.1.204 for the DWA-556, but only 1.11SH for the DIR-655.
Any help would be appreciated to help push my connection to Wireless n!
try setting ur security for your Wireless to wpa, wpa2 or both in your router and connect using the new password and authentication type. - wireless N only works w that.
that's e best i can aid with given that the amount of configurations isnt detailed.
Angelztearx
04-06-2009, 08:28 PM
It's enough, managed to solve the problem already, partially due to your solution and I think I juz din patch the router firmware. Thanks marinex.
siao_ahchun
05-06-2009, 10:01 AM
Can the 655 support 5 computers at once without weak signal problems?
4 room flat :P
liangtam
05-06-2009, 10:06 AM
any router oso can
MarineX
05-06-2009, 12:04 PM
any router can be done BUT - it depends on the location of where you are about to place it.
siao_ahchun
05-06-2009, 08:53 PM
But currently I'm using Dlink DI-524.
Signal strength very jialat T_T
My laptop is directly about 5 metres away from the router and I still get frequent disconnections. (wireless)
Thats why I really wanted to get a router with very strong signal :P
Bieffe
05-06-2009, 09:43 PM
But currently I'm using Dlink DI-524.
Signal strength very jialat T_T
My laptop is directly about 5 metres away from the router and I still get frequent disconnections. (wireless)
Thats why I really wanted to get a router with very strong signal :PI reckon is more like driver problem or some other devices such as DECT phone or someone near u uses the same channel. So change the channel and undate ur drivers should improve.
I over at my neighbours house also can get more than 4 bars on my laptop using G onli nei.
siao_ahchun
06-06-2009, 12:02 AM
I reckon is more like driver problem or some other devices such as DECT phone or someone near u uses the same channel. So change the channel and undate ur drivers should improve.
I over at my neighbours house also can get more than 4 bars on my laptop using G onli nei.
I guess the only way is to relocate the router for me :(
Got a DECT phone in the middle of my house.. :s22:
Thanks for the reply btw :D
DuffyX
06-06-2009, 01:06 PM
Hi i have doubts to clarify before getting this router.
Does the share port utility support Mac?
If i plug in a external harddisk to share, what is the transfer speed like? On par with connecting straight to computer?
Thanks in advance. :)
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.