PDA

View Full Version : D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Router - Product Info

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8]

MarineX
06-06-2009, 04:04 PM
Hi i have doubts to clarify before getting this router.

Does the share port utility support Mac?

If i plug in a external harddisk to share, what is the transfer speed like? On par with connecting straight to computer?

Thanks in advance. :)

Mac i have no clue.

no, it depends on your interface used for the connection between your router and computer.

nothing is on par as..

Computer to HDD

vs

Computer to Router to HDD to Router to Computer.

even when communicating with your friends via the latter method.. it still takes more time to process thru. Its like how a middle-man works. :)

twosix
06-06-2009, 06:26 PM
Hi i have doubts to clarify before getting this router.

Does the share port utility support Mac?

If i plug in a external harddisk to share, what is the transfer speed like? On par with connecting straight to computer?

Thanks in advance. :)

I think there is mention of shareport in this review: http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/content/view/30726/96/

misato
06-06-2009, 10:36 PM
Indirectly related to this router...

For those using the DWA-556 Wireless N card, do download the latest Atheros WHQL driver for AR5008 chipset, verison is 7.7.0.259. This is by far the driver with the most throughput i have seen. My previous highest is average of 30-35mbps when transfering from 2 PC with DWA-556. The new record is 50-55mbps on the same setting and location, the only change is in the driver. From LAN -> DWA-566, the previous highest was 65-68mbps, now it has gone up to 75-80mbps.

This test is done using a D-Link DAP-1353 AP that has a 100mbps ethernet link, so i believe DIR-655/855 users will be able to achive better LAN->WLAN results when using this driver set.

http://www.atheros.cz/download.php?atheros=AR5008&system=1

DuffyX
07-06-2009, 10:26 AM
Mac i have no clue.

no, it depends on your interface used for the connection between your router and computer.

nothing is on par as..

Computer to HDD

vs

Computer to Router to HDD to Router to Computer.

even when communicating with your friends via the latter method.. it still takes more time to process thru. Its like how a middle-man works. :)

Thanks MarineX. I intend to hook my external harddisk to share in the network wirelessly. I do not know the speed of the file transfer. I know it will be slower but would it be so unbearable that i should abandon this idea and get a NAS instead?

MarineX
07-06-2009, 03:09 PM
Thanks MarineX. I intend to hook my external harddisk to share in the network wirelessly. I do not know the speed of the file transfer. I know it will be slower but would it be so unbearable that i should abandon this idea and get a NAS instead?

Nope it wldnt. i got around 12-17mbps r/w thou.

Compared to the direct connection of between 20-25mbps r/w.

**above is what i got from my WD 160GB 2.5" HDD**

My NAS is much slower with wireless thou w 1-10mbps r/w

but

it will be 25-30mbps r/w w cat6 cable gigabit connection.

**that's what i got from my DNS343**

DuffyX
10-06-2009, 10:19 AM

but

Thanks MarineX. Think i will get one tomorrow. :)

jingwei
10-06-2009, 03:34 PM

but

How is the HD streaming for 655? If i need to stream video larger than 10gb, will the video lag? Or should I get the 855 instead for HD streaming? Want to know whether it is worth to get 655 instead of 855.

MarineX
10-06-2009, 03:59 PM
How is the HD streaming for 655? If i need to stream video larger than 10gb, will the video lag? Or should I get the 855 instead for HD streaming? Want to know whether it is worth to get 655 instead of 855.

hmm.. my 655 works fine. no latency.

jingwei
10-06-2009, 04:20 PM
hmm.. my 655 works fine. no latency.
What is the file size that you stream?

What is the max file size we can stream so that it does not lag?

DuffyX
10-06-2009, 04:59 PM

Me also thinking whether wanna top up the DIR855 or not. In dilemma which to get. :s13:

IDZetc
10-06-2009, 07:39 PM
Me also thinking whether wanna top up the DIR855 or not. In dilemma which to get. :s13:
Well, streaming on my 655 had occasional lags (probably due to interferences from cordless phones and other neighbouring wifi networks)... the 855 is much better on the 5GHz channel. At least for me.

twosix
10-06-2009, 07:52 PM
DIR-855 is over priced. One can get 2 DIR-655 for the price of 1 DIR-855.

tfkmueh
11-06-2009, 12:50 AM
DIR-855 is over priced. One can get 2 DIR-655 for the price of 1 DIR-855.
not anymore pc show dir-855 goes for $199 lol...

MarineX
11-06-2009, 02:04 AM
not anymore pc show dir-855 goes for $199 lol...

that is applicable for the first 30 ONLY. please don't post stuffs like that - its misleading.

dirtysock
11-06-2009, 03:02 AM
Wah, the price damn attractive for tml, $139 for first 30th, if I didn't have something on tml morning, I would chiong down and get 1 liao.

tfkmueh
11-06-2009, 05:16 PM
ya lah, but still u got chance to buy it for $199 mah.

anyway gotten my DIR-655 le, tempted to wait for DIR-855 at $199 but friday no time to go down.

St1ckMan
12-06-2009, 11:34 AM
can anyone tell me, wat does the button on the right hand side of the router do?
Cant seem to find an answer on the manual...

Also, any tips or trick for this router to share?

liangtam
12-06-2009, 11:45 AM
WPS
*10 char*

takeshi_umuro
12-06-2009, 12:16 PM
hi all,

just to share I've tested the router with a E170 mobile BB dongle and it's tested working. Cheers

alantcy
12-06-2009, 02:35 PM
Hi all,

May I know how is the DIR-655 able to connect to a Singnet DSL point?

Does the Rj11 connector work with the Rj45 WAN port at the back?

I'm currently using a 2wire that provides a domain suffix .2wire.gateway.net,
will using the DIR-655 give me another domain suffix?

Sorry if these have been answered before :)

tfkmueh
12-06-2009, 03:49 PM
Hi all,

May I know how is the DIR-655 able to connect to a Singnet DSL point?

Does the Rj11 connector work with the Rj45 WAN port at the back?

I'm currently using a 2wire that provides a domain suffix .2wire.gateway.net,
will using the DIR-655 give me another domain suffix?

Sorry if these have been answered before :)
to connect to ADSL u need a modem + router combo, which can be separately or a modem+router ADSL modem router.

same like a broadband, where u need a cable modem & then connect it to a router.

so the DIR-655 can be use in 2 ways, being a router or being an access point, that is if u already have an ADSL modem router, & in one network there can only be one router.

alantcy
12-06-2009, 04:23 PM
to connect to ADSL u need a modem + router combo, which can be separately or a modem+router ADSL modem router.

same like a broadband, where u need a cable modem & then connect it to a router.

so the DIR-655 can be use in 2 ways, being a router or being an access point, that is if u already have an ADSL modem router, & in one network there can only be one router.

What if I just want to replace my 2Wire? Is it possible?
I'm thinking of buying this because of the Gigabit LAN switch.
But looking at the specs, seems like it only provides RJ45 for the WAN port at the back.

tfkmueh
12-06-2009, 04:44 PM
What if I just want to replace my 2Wire? Is it possible?
I'm thinking of buying this because of the Gigabit LAN switch.
But looking at the specs, seems like it only provides RJ45 for the WAN port at the back.
okay 1st describe the 2wire equipment that u have, model no. or anything...

what is you current setup? from jack from the wall, using RJ11 u connect it to the 2wire or another equipment?

like i said if ur 2wire is a modem+router then u need to use it, ADD in DIR-655 to make it into a wireless N network, by way of setting the 2wire modem+router into a bridge & DIR-655 becoming a router, OR just make DIR-655 into an access point only.

takeshi_umuro
12-06-2009, 07:03 PM
for those whom can detect the huawei usb dongle but could not connect you might wanna try these steps:

1. use your dongle on your pc and get the following details by going to your starhub/singtel access application
- APN
- Access Number

2. Go to DIR655 3G USB adapter configuration and add in APN and access number into relevant fields and reboot

It should work after this. This is quite peculiar to starhub as the APN name and access number changes as you go to different location and DIR655 only holds one access nos.

Cheers

alantcy
12-06-2009, 09:08 PM
okay 1st describe the 2wire equipment that u have, model no. or anything...

what is you current setup? from jack from the wall, using RJ11 u connect it to the 2wire or another equipment?

like i said if ur 2wire is a modem+router then u need to use it, ADD in DIR-655 to make it into a wireless N network, by way of setting the 2wire modem+router into a bridge & DIR-655 becoming a router, OR just make DIR-655 into an access point only.

I am using the 2wire 2701HGV-E which is a modem/router with wireless G.
This is the default issue for most of singnet broadband users, and i plug it
onto DSL enabled phoneline to the wall.

I won't be mixing the 2 devices together. Just want a gigabit switch and something that can cover more deadspots around the house.

liangtam
12-06-2009, 10:24 PM
for those whom can detect the huawei usb dongle but could not connect you might wanna try these steps:

1. use your dongle on your pc and get the following details by going to your starhub/singtel access application
- APN
- Access Number

2. Go to DIR655 3G USB adapter configuration and add in APN and access number into relevant fields and reboot

It should work after this. This is quite peculiar to starhub as the APN name and access number changes as you go to different location and DIR655 only holds one access nos.

Cheers

Access number is always *99#
APN for singtel is e-ideas/internet, starhub is shwap/shwapint/shinternet

You can get all these relevant information from the telco easily, because these settings are fixed. You bring it to anywhere in SG the APN will remain, else by connecting the modem to PC directly, it wont connect elsewhere either.

liangtam
12-06-2009, 10:27 PM

I won't be mixing the 2 devices together. Just want a gigabit switch and something that can cover more deadspots around the house.

You're free to:

1) Run double routing(NOT adviced)
2) Set 2Wire to gateway mode, DIR-655 to become a plain jane gigabit switch + AP device
3) Set 2Wire to bridge mode, DIR-655 handles all connection and wireless.(mio Voice/TV will not work without a workaround)

takeshi_umuro
13-06-2009, 01:36 AM
Access number is always *99#
APN for singtel is e-ideas/internet, starhub is shwap/shwapint/shinternet

You can get all these relevant information from the telco easily, because these settings are fixed. You bring it to anywhere in SG the APN will remain, else by connecting the modem to PC directly, it wont connect elsewhere either.

thanks for the info but however i realised that my dir655 does not change the info automatically unlike the access software so i tot it would be good to share this info in case someone could not get it to work. The software will detect but not dir655 esp when i tested at another location where the apn is shinternet then i went home the apn changed to shwap. Even the access nos seems to change from *99***1# and *99#

tfkmueh
13-06-2009, 01:43 AM

hmm then with the setup, u need the 2wire modem+router, add in DIR-655 as a router, set the modem+router to bridge mode, effectively changing your wireless network to N & there only should be 1 wireless network.

also is the area you want to be filled is HDB or Landed property with multiple lvl?

one thing i not sure & nvr tried b4 is making the DIR-655 into an Access point/repeater, where it is supposedly cover your dead spot, u might want 2 try this setup, though imho its a waste of hardware.

St1ckMan
13-06-2009, 11:33 AM
Hey guys,

It seemed like tat I am experincing some problems with the 655. Whenever I switch off the router for more than 1 day, the router will not be able to connect to the internet until I switch it off and on again.

I reflash the 1.21WW firmware but this problem still persist.

Can anyone please help me? I will be enlisting on Monday and there will be no one left at home to fix the problem.

regards

St1ckMan
13-06-2009, 11:36 AM
Or shld I download the 1.21 firmware from the US instead of Singapore?

K|muRa^84
13-06-2009, 12:41 PM
sorry im a ubernoob at router settings

is it possible for everything to work WITHOUT enabling the DHCP server option ??

cpuer
13-06-2009, 12:44 PM
sorry im a ubernoob at router settings

is it possible for everything to work WITHOUT enabling the DHCP server option ??

they usually have built in wizards. it shouldn't be that difficult.

St1ckMan
13-06-2009, 12:48 PM
Er... Can anyone help?

Thanks in advance

liangtam
13-06-2009, 01:56 PM
thanks for the info but however i realised that my dir655 does not change the info automatically unlike the access software so i tot it would be good to share this info in case someone could not get it to work. The software will detect but not dir655 esp when i tested at another location where the apn is shinternet then i went home the apn changed to shwap. Even the access nos seems to change from *99***1# and *99#

The software does not change the APN either.
You bring the same laptop to that location and try again

Pokémon
13-06-2009, 02:21 PM
3) Set 2Wire to bridge mode, DIR-655 handles all connection and wireless.(mio Voice/TV will not work without a workaround)

Is the workaround complicated?

Wondering where I can find info on that. Thanks.

Edit: Asking in particular to MioTV.

St1ckMan
13-06-2009, 03:18 PM
Erm... No one encountering the same problem?

I call Dlink and they told me tt they will call me back due to high volume of phonecalls.

liangtam
13-06-2009, 04:27 PM

Edit: Asking in particular to MioTV.

??
I thot u know already?

takeshi_umuro
13-06-2009, 05:26 PM
The software does not change the APN either.
You bring the same laptop to that location and try again

sure? tried the location this morning.... APN name changed again. One in central sg and one in east sg

St1ckMan
13-06-2009, 06:22 PM
Dlink called back but dont really offer me a solution. They told be either to reload the firmware again or worse come to worse, RMA it...

MarineX
13-06-2009, 09:47 PM
Dlink called back but dont really offer me a solution. They told be either to reload the firmware again or worse come to worse, RMA it...

oooo... ya, i reckoned as well.

St1ckMan
13-06-2009, 10:21 PM
oooo... ya, i reckoned as well.

Lol... So yes. Shld I flash it to the US firmware or shld I just stick to the one I haf?

I m leaving for NS this Monday n no one @ home will be able to cope wif such a problem. If u know wat i mean lah...

liangtam
13-06-2009, 10:26 PM
sure? tried the location this morning.... APN name changed again. One in central sg and one in east sg

Yes. U using different installed modem/PC is it?
Older f/w/dashboard gives you old APN.

Newer dashboard sets shinternet as defaults, provides external accessible IP add

Pokémon
13-06-2009, 10:48 PM
??
I thot u know already?

Nope, coz never had the chance to play around with MIO related stuffs.

MarineX
13-06-2009, 11:08 PM
Lol... So yes. Shld I flash it to the US firmware or shld I just stick to the one I haf?

I m leaving for NS this Monday n no one @ home will be able to cope wif such a problem. If u know wat i mean lah...

yup, i truly understand. that's why re-flashing the firmware is e best bet to test and in chance it might come around to solve your issue.

jingwei
13-06-2009, 11:48 PM

To connect my 655 to Starhub cable modem ethernet port, what ethernet cable i need? Straight or crossover? What about connecting from the 655 to my laptop? Straight or crossover?

MarineX
13-06-2009, 11:55 PM

To connect my 655 to Starhub cable modem ethernet port, what ethernet cable i need? Straight or crossover? What about connecting from the 655 to my laptop? Straight or crossover?

these days stil matter meh? The device will handle it by itself automatically... by default its straight. provided its PC to PC.

Kiwi8
13-06-2009, 11:55 PM

Probably all straight will do, although crossover cables will still work. It doesn't matter nowadays, due to the ports having auto sensing ability.

liangtam
14-06-2009, 12:46 AM
Probably all straight will do, although crossover cables will still work. It doesn't matter nowadays, due to the ports having auto sensing ability.

Auto sensing is the rate
auto mdi-x is the term

jingwei
14-06-2009, 01:08 AM
Auto sensing is the rate
auto mdi-x is the term

Before auto mdi-x came out, to connect router to cable modem ethernet port is using straight cables, right? And router to laptop is also straight cable right? Just curious about the actual correct connection . Thanks for the reply.

liangtam
14-06-2009, 02:13 AM
is this some sort of school question instead?
it dosn't matter at all since many many eons liao leh

cross* straight

dirtysock
14-06-2009, 03:25 AM
Hmm, how come when I tried to portforward using the port stated in utorrent, my download drops to single digit. But when I undo the portfoward(meaning back to default settings), my speed return back to normal. Any ideas why?

Thanks

Computron
14-06-2009, 05:50 PM
Hmm, how come when I tried to portforward using the port stated in utorrent, my download drops to single digit. But when I undo the portfoward(meaning back to default settings), my speed return back to normal. Any ideas why?

Thanks

(on 1.21 firmware)
Using Application Rules at this moment. Speed normal.
Did tried using PortForwarding for few months, speed is normal too.
Using application rules cause want router to stop the packet if possible.

St1ckMan
15-06-2009, 09:46 AM
When i reflashed the firmware it seemed to solve the router not connecting problem. After 2 days, the problem came back...

Pokémon
16-06-2009, 10:38 AM

Asking in particular to MioTV.

Could anybody advise in this? Tried searching already, but not easy to filter to the correct thread and info.

Thanks!

Gilch2
17-06-2009, 09:59 PM
my dgl 4300 seems to be havin problem... considering an upgrade
is the 655 recommended to replace 4300?

using it for bt n online gaming

tfkmueh
17-06-2009, 10:28 PM
my dgl 4300 seems to be havin problem... considering an upgrade
is the 655 recommended to replace 4300?

using it for bt n online gaming
i give DIR-655 my thumbs up, but cant compare with DGL 4300 so no comparison.

currently shared with 4 comps, mixture of G & N adapters, since i put it online, 11 of June, after buy from PC show 1 hour deal, i nvr need to reset it & so far my signal strength pretty stable by way of checking the icon at corner of windows.

the last 2 routers i used is Linksys WRT54G & DLink 673+.

clitang
18-06-2009, 12:12 PM
I am using firmaware 1.21. Has anyone try upgrade to ver 1.31 which is listed on the Dlink US web site?

Is is ok to upgrade the firmware version from Dlilnk Web Site.

Thank you

the_gryffindor
18-06-2009, 02:33 PM

I'm very new to these kind of routers. What are some settings I need to change to ensure the best speed?

1) Enable 'N' but suffer from poor range?
2) The further my laptop is from the router, the slower the speed?
3) Port forwarding?

twosix
18-06-2009, 02:51 PM

I'm very new to these kind of routers. What are some settings I need to change to ensure the best speed?

1) Enable 'N' but suffer from poor range?
2) The further my laptop is from the router, the slower the speed?
3) Port forwarding?

There is mixed mode B/G/N, and if you do not use N, then set it to G.

tfkmueh
18-06-2009, 11:09 PM
1) currently N is the widest/longest radius network of all the a/b/g/n wireless network, u cannot enable N in a Wireless N router, but u can set it as N ONLY wireless router, meaning adapter using other e.g. a/b/g cant connect to the router.

2)yes, basically the further u goes, the weaker the signal which translate to slower transfer speed.

3)port forwarding is done to ensure that the program use the specified port number & that port number only or another way of looking at it is that leaving a port open so that program using it can transfer normally & yes it is faster speed compared to firewalled port.

the_gryffindor
19-06-2009, 01:36 AM
So meaning, if my adapter is the DWA160 (a dual band adapter), I should ensure that my router uses only the 'N' band for optimal speed?

tfkmueh
20-06-2009, 09:07 AM
So meaning, if my adapter is the DWA160 (a dual band adapter), I should ensure that my router uses only the 'N' band for optimal speed?
the 1st priority should ensure that your router have the dual band, e.g. 5gHz.

reason is that almost all the routers are 2.4 range, so even if u set it as N, which technically optimized ur signal strength, but there many router operating on your set 2.4 range, your signal may have 2 much interference.

so by setting it at 5, u ensure less interference & does not matter if its a mixture of a/b/g/n as in 5 range is less interference than 2.4 range.

ianlim_88
02-07-2009, 01:49 PM
Anyone had update frimware to 1.31 or 1.32beta? Any issue so far encountered with the latest 1.3x firmware? I am using the A02 version hardware and intend to update if no issue encounter so far. Thank you.

02-07-2009, 02:00 PM
Comparing the DGL-4300. The key difference is the Wireless plus the USB ports (Shareport) and some other bell and whistle (like 2nd Zone for wireless)

Otherwise .. it is very little difference between the both. I changed from 4300 to 655 due to the Draft-N use (I stream files from my study to Living. But if you have all cable-up .... or lesser use of large file transfer between client. Then 4300 is good also... or even any other router.

Since I have all wired up.. now my PCI-e Draft N Dlink card is useless... Gigabit is still faster..

I am wondering if any folks have tried the latest firmware?

xxhellinvaderxx
02-07-2009, 02:17 PM
Comparing the DGL-4300. The key difference is the Wireless plus the USB ports (Shareport) and some other bell and whistle (like 2nd Zone for wireless)

Otherwise .. it is very little difference between the both. I changed from 4300 to 655 due to the Draft-N use (I stream files from my study to Living. But if you have all cable-up .... or lesser use of large file transfer between client. Then 4300 is good also... or even any other router.

Since I have all wired up.. now my PCI-e Draft N Dlink card is useless... Gigabit is still faster..

I am wondering if any folks have tried the latest firmware?

Hi, just wondering, if you are using the PCIE, what is the top speed that you had attain via wireless using Draft N?

mrwirus
05-07-2009, 11:24 AM
I've just bought a DIR-655 last PC show.. Everything is going fine.. Until when I want to try and tweak it to my liking..

Has anyone successfully configured the Auto Channel Scan with Win7 PC? I've got a S10-2 which is running on Win7 and it cant seem to detect the network when auto channel scan is enabled.. However, when I use the SplashTop quickstart OS.. I could detect the wireless network..

If anyone has found a way to configure it.. Pls tell me thanks alot..

liangtam
05-07-2009, 11:53 AM
Auto channel scan?
It means ur wifi adapter is set not to connect to channel 12-14.

mrwirus
05-07-2009, 12:01 PM
oh? then theres no way to configure it?

chriscel
29-07-2009, 07:20 PM
Anyone try the new firmware 1.32 build03?

ftp://ftp.dlink.com/Gateway/dir655/Firmware/dir655_firmware_132NA.zip

liangtam
29-07-2009, 10:58 PM
Firmware: 1.32NA
Date: 07/20/09

1. Fix when disable DHCP server and enable DHCP server, LAN PC cannot get IP.
2. Fix using wireless client to configure Access Control rules, cause DUT reboot.
3. Fix UPnP bug.
4. Disable CAPTCHA by default
5. Fixed QRS issue, can´t set up wireless setting.
6. Fixed Router DHCP IP range issue.
7. Fixed WPS UI Show Error warning message.
8. Fix potential security leak with CAPTCHA.
9. Fix USB LED issue about Shareport.
10. Fix Shareport HP932C with Wins 7 issue
11. Fix if set more than 8 Trigger or Firewall port in Application Rules. It will show Warning message.
12. Fix bug: When QRS set wan type of rt to DHCP, the rt will not set Primary and second DNS.

Note: This firmware does not allow downgrading to pre-1.3x.

Read the changelog lah...

MarineX
30-07-2009, 01:22 AM
Firmware: 1.32NA
Date: 07/20/09

1. Fix when disable DHCP server and enable DHCP server, LAN PC cannot get IP.
2. Fix using wireless client to configure Access Control rules, cause DUT reboot.
3. Fix UPnP bug.
4. Disable CAPTCHA by default
5. Fixed QRS issue, can´t set up wireless setting.
6. Fixed Router DHCP IP range issue.
7. Fixed WPS UI Show Error warning message.
8. Fix potential security leak with CAPTCHA.
9. Fix USB LED issue about Shareport.
10. Fix Shareport HP932C with Wins 7 issue
11. Fix if set more than 8 Trigger or Firewall port in Application Rules. It will show Warning message.
12. Fix bug: When QRS set wan type of rt to DHCP, the rt will not set Primary and second DNS.

Note: This firmware does not allow downgrading to pre-1.3x.

Read the changelog lah...

oh man.. i was hoping that it supports more range of BBoM devices.

30-07-2009, 01:37 AM
Hi, just wondering, if you are using the PCIE, what is the top speed that you had attain via wireless using Draft N?

Paiseh .... I cannot rem the throughput testing I have done before. If I compare Draft-N of USB (the round USB Adapter) versus PCI-E Draft-N which is both Dlink. I think I gain at least 30 to 40% better throughput.

I believe that the throughput is better as USB is the real bottleneck with high overhead versus PCI-E version.

But then ... after I laid my cables (punching hole thru my wall in the process) to my living room. the PCI-E is render useless and I am trying to sell it.

wedgehammer
30-07-2009, 10:45 AM
just want to confirm before i buy this router, the access control/parent control feature is intact right? cos dunno if they disable for certain markets like singapore, T.I.A.

djcoolmax
31-07-2009, 11:03 AM
just want to confirm before i buy this router, the access control/parent control feature is intact right? cos dunno if they disable for certain markets like singapore, T.I.A.

The Singapore site still has v1.21 as the latest firmware. You can always update to v1.32NA version and it works well. I did it and the features you are looking for is there... i.e. Parental Controls.

wedgehammer
31-07-2009, 11:48 AM
The Singapore site still has v1.21 as the latest firmware. You can always update to v1.32NA version and it works well. I did it and the features you are looking for is there... i.e. Parental Controls.

cool, thanks bro! looks like ill be going with this router

MgGuGu
05-08-2009, 09:35 AM
I bought the 655 yesterday and having problem with wlan since then. Firmware is 1.21; wlan config'd to use WPA2-Personal TKIP or AES, n/g/b mixed mode. Wlan works fine when there's no security (i.e. w/o WPA2) but when I enable WPA2, wlan starts restarting every 1minutes. :s22:

Any ideas? :)

richneo
05-08-2009, 09:57 AM
I bought the 655 yesterday and having problem with wlan since then. Firmware is 1.21; wlan config'd to use WPA2-Personal TKIP or AES, n/g/b mixed mode. Wlan works fine when there's no security (i.e. w/o WPA2) but when I enable WPA2, wlan starts restarting every 1minutes. :s22:

Any ideas? :)
update ur wireless adaptor drivers and troubleshoot your wireless adaptor

MgGuGu
05-08-2009, 10:02 AM
Oh .. i meant the wlan on 655 itself; not on my laptop. =)

I guess wlan on my laptop shld not be the problem as well coz i've been using it to access my friend's 11n network.

richneo
05-08-2009, 10:12 AM
Oh .. i meant the wlan on 655 itself; not on my laptop. =)

I guess wlan on my laptop shld not be the problem as well coz i've been using it to access my friend's 11n network.
check the router log to see what happens.

if the router keeps rebooting or wat den rma your router

MgGuGu
05-08-2009, 10:47 AM
Ya .. 655 seems to switching its wlan on n off again and again.

Usually i'm seeing entries like,
>> Wireless restart
>> All Wireless shutdown
>> Disconnect all stations
>> Wireless restart
>> Wireless is down
>> Wireless is up
>> WLAN: Wireless system with MAC address bla:bla:bla associated, secured and linked.

The problem is that 655 will behave like this for around 4 hours straight then it acts normal for a while (around a hour or two); after that goes back to the wlan restart madness. =.='

Maybe I should just RMA it. Bought from MediaPro SLS yesterday; will they accept back or I need to ring up dlink??

MarineX
05-08-2009, 11:20 AM
Ya .. 655 seems to switching its wlan on n off again and again.

Usually i'm seeing entries like,
>> Wireless restart
>> All Wireless shutdown
>> Disconnect all stations
>> Wireless restart
>> Wireless is down
>> Wireless is up
>> WLAN: Wireless system with MAC address bla:bla:bla associated, secured and linked.

The problem is that 655 will behave like this for around 4 hours straight then it acts normal for a while (around a hour or two); after that goes back to the wlan restart madness. =.='

Maybe I should just RMA it. Bought from MediaPro SLS yesterday; will they accept back or I need to ring up dlink??

they will. no worries.

MgGuGu
05-08-2009, 11:31 AM
Great! I'll got SLS in the evening and talk with them.

Just hijacking the thread for awhile, any good AP with 11n and gigabit port?? =)

MarineX
05-08-2009, 11:43 AM
Great! I'll got SLS in the evening and talk with them.

Just hijacking the thread for awhile, any good AP with 11n and gigabit port?? =)

nono, don't have to.. i would advise u to go to e service centre.

good ap, 11n w gigabit port ? ain't u having e DIR-655? is good enough :)

MgGuGu
05-08-2009, 11:53 AM
Erm .. so I need to go to this place??
PC Pro Computer Services

109 North Bridge Road
#05-41 Funan The Digitalife Mall
Singapore 179097

I still have to extend some more coverage in the place i'm living. Dir655 actually kinda disappointed me. =(
So I'm thinking if I can't stand this anymore, get another one, maybe a linksys 610N.

MarineX
05-08-2009, 12:04 PM
Erm .. so I need to go to this place??
PC Pro Computer Services

109 North Bridge Road
#05-41 Funan The Digitalife Mall
Singapore 179097

I still have to extend some more coverage in the place i'm living. Dir655 actually kinda disappointed me. =(
So I'm thinking if I can't stand this anymore, get another one, maybe a linksys 610N.

If dir-655 cant lead to ur xpectations, u w not be happy w linksys 610N - its worst.

nope, go the one at jurong if possible.

And besides, if your coverage is being blocked by tons of wall partitions in between. No commercial router will work well for you.

05-08-2009, 09:28 PM
If dir-655 cant lead to ur xpectations, u w not be happy w linksys 610N - its worst.

nope, go the one at jurong if possible.

And besides, if your coverage is being blocked by tons of wall partitions in between. No commercial router will work well for you.

think I agree with MarineX. If there are just too many thick or even many wall. No wireless technology will help. Signal strength will get weaken as it pass thru wall.

Other possible Suggestion.

1. Change the Dlink antenna to higher dbi. but then typical not recommended to have higher than 7dbi and etc. (may not be good for health)

2. Use Powerline Ethernet + AP to extend the coverage.

Please note wireless is not a foolproof networking solution. it will not do wonders. In fact if nearby got metallic cabinet, wall plate or whatever. it weaken the signal further.

liangtam
06-08-2009, 09:44 AM
The low xmit power from your common brands wont be able to fry your ballz, so don't worry =:p

ahmadm
09-08-2009, 02:06 PM
Hi All ...

Need help with configuring this router with Starhub BB.
Do I select Dynamic .... and if I do that ... do I need to punch in the DNS IP Address .... and where can I get the IP address. Please advice.

Thanks in advance.

nod32fan
09-08-2009, 03:47 PM
are the dlink dir 655s that you can buy now all A4 version?

MarineX
09-08-2009, 05:04 PM
Hi All ...

Do I select Dynamic .... and if I do that ... do I need to punch in the DNS IP Address .... and where can I get the IP address. Please advice.

Thanks in advance.

nahz, just select Dynamic will do :) dns n ip address etc will be filled up by the modem automatically :)

MarineX
09-08-2009, 05:05 PM
are the dlink dir 655s that you can buy now all A4 version?

likely yes.

ahmadm
09-08-2009, 06:39 PM
Hi All ...

Thanks in advance.

Bro ... I got it from a friend .... Hardware Version: A1/A2 and Firmware Version: 1.21

Back to the DNS .... I had it manually setup ... select Dynamic IP (DHCP), leaving the DNS blank ... but I cannot surf. Reboot router and modem .... and check status ... the primary and secondary DNS is 0.0.0.0.

Called SH ... asked for DNS IP Address and customer care consultant does not know the address and insist that the IP address is assign automatically. Call another time ... talk to another consultant ... he said the DNS address is confidential.

Appreciate your help.

Thanks.

liangtam
09-08-2009, 06:57 PM
Make sure wire is hooked from modem to router's Internet port first.

Turn off BOTH device.
Turn on modem, wait 1 minute
Turn on router.

DNS address is not confidential for sure, it is required for internet surfing and resolution aspects to work. Go screw the staff if necessary.

ahmadm
09-08-2009, 08:29 PM
Bro ... did as suggested, still no go.
Maybe, need to reset to factory default ... I will try this later.

Meanwhile, I get a DNS IP from the mobile broadband connection and had it put manually into the router ... it works fine for now.

Thanks.

Yeah ... SH is keeping the DNS IP confidential .... that is a joke .... no more breath to argue with these unmotivated people.

wilflare
09-08-2009, 08:58 PM
just got this router today and there's two issues.
firstly... my local area network connection screen suddenly from 1gbps to 100 mbps speed (anyone know why the switch?) my mobo has a gigabit port

secondly... the router label and the router net menu reflects different mac addresses....

using maxonline premium

MarineX
09-08-2009, 09:28 PM
just got this router today and there's two issues.
firstly... my local area network connection screen suddenly from 1gbps to 100 mbps speed (anyone know why the switch?) my mobo has a gigabit port

secondly... the router label and the router net menu reflects different mac addresses....

using maxonline premium

check your configurations on both your network card and router whether if its selected as 100mbps only.

router net menu and mac address different? erm.. did you see and mistook the mac address of the wireless card and wired nic card?

wilflare
09-08-2009, 09:31 PM
don't think so.
for my own wired nic card i checked using ipconfig/all
the router's mac i checked under the router menu... it's only the last number different from the box/router label.

i'll look at the settings again..
was working at 1GBPS suddenly changed to 100MBPS...

wilflare
09-08-2009, 09:34 PM
already regarding the 1GBPS is because i set my router to 100MBPS full duplex instead of 1.0GBPS (too used to the previous setting ^^)

wilflare
09-08-2009, 11:00 PM
for the different mac addresses
is it possible or due to it being
e.g, wireless aspect of router one address
wired aspect of router another adddress?

galliano
10-08-2009, 01:19 AM
Problem solved.

sbkoh
14-08-2009, 09:41 PM
1.30EA_B04 firmware (EA=East Asia?) available at dlink taiwan download page. Sorry I not enough priv to post link. This version does not turn off 3G dongle support but I have not tried it myself.

djcoolmax
16-08-2009, 11:56 AM
1.30EA_B04 firmware (EA=East Asia?) available at dlink taiwan download page. Sorry I not enough priv to post link. This version does not turn off 3G dongle support but I have not tried it myself.

post the link as text and we join it up together... haha

sbkoh
16-08-2009, 05:31 PM
www dlinktw com tw /support/download_view.asp?ModelSno=JNJJMK&HWsno=MQNOFT

radon
06-09-2009, 07:48 PM
http://www.dlink.com.sg/support/support_detail.asp?idProduct=23

Ver 3 firmware for A4

mrwirus
06-09-2009, 08:01 PM
whats the improvement of this firmware.. What's A4 version? Can anyone clarify for me?

And if I update a firmware will all my settings be erased or nothing will change? Can I restore back the settings with the old settings I backup?

sbkoh
07-09-2009, 12:40 AM
http://www.dlink.com.sg/support/support_detail.asp?idProduct=23

Ver 3 firmware for A4

Updated to this firmware. No problems encountered. Need to restore settings after update. Not sure what improvements though.

chaicka
08-09-2009, 08:21 AM
whats the improvement of this firmware.. What's A4 version? Can anyone clarify for me?

And if I update a firmware will all my settings be erased or nothing will change? Can I restore back the settings with the old settings I backup?

A4 is the hardware revision number. Anyway, the D-Link SG site did states can be use for A2,A3 as well.

The actual firmware filename seems to suggest it's based on v1.30b02 firmware, thus quite old firmware for the v1.3x series.

ipVersion(Date): 7.6.1b0124 (2009, Jul 07)
ipOS SDK Version: ???

Do take note (though I cannot confirm at this point of time): Once upgrade to v1.3x series firmware, it may not be downgradable to v1.2x series firmware.

LocalGod
12-09-2009, 04:09 PM
oh sh1t, i purchased dir655 in hope to extend my wireless network but now realised that it doest not support WDS! even my older linksys can do WDS!

richneo
12-09-2009, 04:50 PM
oh sh1t, i purchased dir655 in hope to extend my wireless network but now realised that it doest not support WDS! even my older linksys can do WDS!
u mean 3rd party firmware on your linksys can do and not the default firmware rite?

liangtam
12-09-2009, 04:53 PM
WDS isn't a good solution oso ah.
Implementing it can onli use WEP and halved b/w rate

arsenal7
13-09-2009, 12:02 AM
Hope someone has an answer for this....

Just notice that there is a new firmware for the 655...Version 1.30
Before I go on and happily flash the router, does this version disable the 3G modem function? I know other regions, the version disables the use of 3G so wanna check first.

Thanks....

richneo
13-09-2009, 01:46 AM
Hope someone has an answer for this....

Just notice that there is a new firmware for the 655...Version 1.30
Before I go on and happily flash the router, does this version disable the 3G modem function? I know other regions, the version disables the use of 3G so wanna check first.

Thanks....
there is still 3g modem support in 1.30 sea firmware downlaoded from www.dlink.com.sg

the usa one removed support

what modem u using anyway?

arsenal7
13-09-2009, 05:05 PM
there is still 3g modem support in 1.30 sea firmware downlaoded from www.dlink.com.sg

the usa one removed support

what modem u using anyway?

Using the Starhub modem 626...Dunno can work but I will try. Thanks for the info.,...

lamesensei
13-09-2009, 06:09 PM
hi i just hooted a a4 version of 655 from comex, any advice should i upgrade to 1.30 on dlink.com.sg/1.32na on dlink.com or stick to the default 1.21ww firmware?

edit: okay im having serious gaming issues, random ping spikes from 10ms to xxxxping with lots of choke at intervals. (esp in tf2). dota on garena is fine except for 1 or 2 very small spikes. have not tried bnet.

using 1.21ww
mixed g and n mode (adapter is dwa-110 g, have brother using laptop intel 5100n)
channel 1 (alot of 2wirechannel6)
20mhz
wpa/wpa2 tkip/aes mode

wmm enabled
short gi enabled.
extra protection disabled.

spi disabled.

qos engine and wish rules in place
utorrent tcp and udp at 255 and background(low)
steam games udp ports 27000 to 27015 priority 80 and voice (high)

need serious opinion on what is wrong and should i change firmware

richneo
13-09-2009, 08:02 PM
Using the Starhub modem 626...Dunno can work but I will try. Thanks for the info.,...
dont think this modem can be supported

LocalGod
13-09-2009, 11:53 PM
try channel 3?

LocalGod
13-09-2009, 11:58 PM
one question. is it possible to type \\COMPUTERNAME in file manager to access that computer's shared folder directly... instead of typing ip address?

i had 'reserve' the ip address to all the computers but when i ping all the COMPUTERNAME, it gives me the same ip address...

lamesensei
14-09-2009, 12:33 AM
ur computer have to activate file sharing also ~.~ and it is cfm + chop not a wireless channel problem. and channel 3 has interference from channel 6

lamesensei
14-09-2009, 04:08 AM
apparently after some testing wireless g clients will tio own regardless whether there is an N or g client connected... (possibly switch clients affect too). upgrading to 1.30ww seem to have reduce the amount of packet drops though...

arsenal7
14-09-2009, 10:04 AM
dont think this modem can be supported

U are right man...:( Any idea what modem I can get?

leinad
14-09-2009, 12:54 PM
Looks like this Router is now N-certified.

/Dan

nickorx
14-09-2009, 10:36 PM
help ='( noob here. i just bought this router but dunno how to connect it. i am using starhub maxonline with sb5100 modem. help pls. using wireless and my modem is way far from my pC.

arsenal7
14-09-2009, 10:45 PM
help ='( noob here. i just bought this router but dunno how to connect it. i am using starhub maxonline with sb5100 modem. help pls. using wireless and my modem is way far from my pC.

Bro....Before u do wireless, plug wired first and follow the instructions on the manual for quick setup...After that then do wireless...

SteveAu
14-09-2009, 11:16 PM

/Dan

so it is now N-certified so do i need to do a firmware update? will it have ny impact if i nv upate?

SteveAu
14-09-2009, 11:21 PM

/Dan

so it is now N-certified so do i need to do a firmware update? will it have ny impact if i nv upate?

nickorx
15-09-2009, 04:58 PM
ok i have just set up the router. what settings should i choose for wireless for optimised speed? cause right now my speed seems same to my previous wrt54g and also the signal strength

lamesensei
15-09-2009, 05:21 PM
if ur adapter nver change of cuz the speed is teh same.

nickorx
15-09-2009, 05:29 PM
i changed to DWA655 but apparently cannot connect properly to it. it records the connection as G however when i use linksys G adapter it records as N and connects better.

lamesensei
15-09-2009, 06:15 PM
try uncheck auto channel scan set channel to 1 9 or 11 then try n only mode?

arsenal7
15-09-2009, 06:22 PM
i changed to DWA655 but apparently cannot connect properly to it. it records the connection as G however when i use linksys G adapter it records as N and connects better.

U mean the DWA 645? Well, that one maybe u need special config for your wireless...My DWA 643 needed a special setup on my 655 to get it working at N standard...Go and google on it, I recall finding it in some forum and it worked after that...

nickorx
15-09-2009, 06:37 PM
i cannot use N only mode as there are other G users in my network. opps typed wrong number shld be DWA-556

halocast
21-09-2009, 09:39 PM
already regarding the 1GBPS is because i set my router to 100MBPS full duplex instead of 1.0GBPS (too used to the previous setting ^^)

hi may i know where u change this setting? ?????

halocast
21-09-2009, 10:03 PM
any ideas how to change the duplex mode on the lan ports?

pinpong
24-09-2009, 04:23 PM
i need help people.

I don't know why how come i unable to scan my ssid ?

My laptop able to scan it but the others laptop in my home unable..

Last time able too but suddenly i can't seem to scan from the other laptops.

I have check it is not set to invisble.

Help~

pinpong
24-09-2009, 04:51 PM
problem solve...lol

kns..i set auto channel scan..
i think some of the devices unable to scan other channels...

so i wan to ask now is

if i set ch 3 will it affect the bandwidth?

aaur4man
24-09-2009, 04:59 PM
different channels have different output power. also dependant on other devices in the vicinity,

set one which u feel has the best connection.

Sendoh82
05-10-2009, 12:06 AM
how many years warranty liaoz har? think i lost my receipt.

recently abit sot sot.

MarineX
05-10-2009, 01:29 AM
how many years warranty liaoz har? think i lost my receipt.

recently abit sot sot.

lifetime. :s12:

Sendoh82
05-10-2009, 01:39 AM
lifetime. :s12:

like that jia lat dunno whether they accept

silverstone
05-10-2009, 02:06 AM
like that jia lat dunno whether they accept

i not sure abt da funan branch, but boon lay way branch will take in w/o asking for receipt.

Sendoh82
05-10-2009, 03:17 AM
i not sure abt da funan branch, but boon lay way branch will take in w/o asking for receipt.

awwww okok i go there. thanks thanks

Qball
10-11-2009, 10:08 AM
hi
anyone have issues with 1.32NA firmware making the router to perform badly?

i tried turning off QOS, SPI, shareport but still having lag in AION even when there is no torrents running in the background.

I tried reflashing again and restore to factory defaults and setting up the router manually. still the same. sigh

currently using back my old WRT54G with tomato firmware and there is no lag in AION even when there are torrents running.