PDA

View Full Version : Official Singtel Generation MIO Thread

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

pker88
03-02-2007, 02:58 AM
then why not we use another modem?
but i guess we cant since mio is a voice all in one modem?

nofearck
03-02-2007, 10:11 AM
Try restarting the miobox and check if the status of line 1 is working. The line1 light is supposed to be lighted up and green. (not blinking). Pls check all connections. And if you are able to tell your current configuration, it will be great. (as in how all the devices are connected).
bro, thankz anyway.. i managed to get it done wif the help of Dracula83's posting in post 185.. i went back to figure out and when the Help desk called back, i told him bout the looping method, he said exactly correct.. thankz!!!!

BTW, wad is the max speed u all get for the 3mb BB ?

outer92
04-02-2007, 02:21 PM
my fiends side the effect is REAL bad lor
i feels like lag or echo flying around when i speaks
quite bad lor
i already told my friend to call them to fix it soon
u r paying for this kind of service rofl

when the tech came to fix for him his MIO on the morning is work fine for the surfing
but after he go back and my friend off it
and come back at nite from work and ON it his IE crashed and kept on crashing even reset PC
and only firefox works surfing
i was like ROFL its not suppose to be

try connect your digital phone set direct to your modem phone port . direct to your modem phone port .dont use p1 or p2 adaper . dont have echo flying around.

MadKnight
04-02-2007, 06:59 PM
Yes. I email the malifax support team. But they were saying voice has priority over other data. However, I doubt so. When my BT goes up to as much as 200 connections, phones cant get in. But well, I can still live with it coz I dont BT much.if that the case then bt should not have any problem, because voice have priority mar. It make no logic sense at all if download bt then router over work and cause the phone to lag..

ongzihao
04-02-2007, 07:39 PM
bro, thankz anyway.. i managed to get it done wif the help of Dracula83's posting in post 185.. i went back to figure out and when the Help desk called back, i told him bout the looping method, he said exactly correct.. thankz!!!!

BTW, wad is the max speed u all get for the 3mb BB ?
I am still getting what I expect at 10M.

ongzihao
04-02-2007, 07:41 PM
if that the case then bt should not have any problem, because voice have priority mar. It make no logic sense at all if download bt then router over work and cause the phone to lag..
This is what I observed and the effect can be reproduced. I dont really trust what they say about giving priority to Voice, thus asking any1 having the same sympton.

jornado
08-02-2007, 08:49 PM
anyone knows how i can disable the 2Wire firewall given with the MIO plan?? setting it to DMZplus mode or opening the ports doesnt help. play wc3 here, other users cannot connect to my game leh. i hav disabled all the software firewalls...

outer92
08-02-2007, 08:58 PM
anyone knows how i can disable the 2Wire firewall given with the MIO plan?? setting it to DMZplus mode or opening the ports doesnt help. play wc3 here, other users cannot connect to my game leh. i hav disabled all the software firewalls...

To open ports in the HomePortal firewall for a hosted application follow these steps:

- Browse to http://gateway.2wire.net
- Click on "Home Network" at the top of the page
- Select the Computer you want to "host" an application on in the list of Network Devices
- Click on Edit Firewall Settings, you will need to enter your HomePortal System Password to proceed.
- Select the computer you want to host the port in the drop-down list under Step 1
- Select the application you desire to be hosted on the computer under step 2 and click on it with one left click
- Click on Add

If the application you are trying to host is not listed follow these directions:

- See if you can update the application list by clicking the 'Update Application List' button. If the application still isn't listed, click on "Add a new user-defined application"
- Type in an Application Name (to identify it to you)
- Select the appropriate protocol TCP and UDP
- Put in the desired port range For warcraft 3 ( TCP: 6112 To: 6119 AND UDP :6112 To 6119)
- Set your protocol timeout (usually left with the defaults)
- If default leave blank
- Click on Add
- Repeat for multiple ports if necessary.
- When finished, click 'Done'.

nofearck
10-02-2007, 01:16 PM
hi... wanna ask regarding the BT d/ling, i'm using utorrent and i had forwarded the necessary port, but the /l speed still ard 3-4 only.. anyone can help?? Btw, i'm using the Mio box..

dralf
10-02-2007, 02:50 PM
To open ports in the HomePortal firewall for a hosted application follow these steps:

when (DMZplus mode) is on, all unassigned firewall ports are opened for that computer.. still need to forward port meh?

dralf
10-02-2007, 02:52 PM
ppl with router usually cant host game, and the mio modem got router...
u got follow the below instructions also? :o

Note: Once DMZplus mode is selected and you click DONE, the system will issue a new IP address to the selected computer. The computer must be set to DHCP mode to receive the new IP address from the system, and you must reboot the computer. If you are changing DMZplus mode from one computer to another computer, you must reboot both computers.

wgwi
10-02-2007, 06:32 PM
Can I use fax machine with MIO box?

outer92
11-02-2007, 12:04 AM
Can I use fax machine with MIO box?

Does mio Voice support faxing? Will the fax call be charged?

Yes, mio Voice can support fax. Local fax calls are free. However, should the fax call is made to an overseas number, the usual IDD charges will apply.

CrossOver
11-02-2007, 11:03 AM
I just contracted my MIO plan yesterday.. They will come on the 6th of March to fix them.. Quite long a wait ah.. The salesgirl says the contract will start from 5th March and the bill will come 2 weeks later..

So just wan to ask U guys about something that confuses me.. I sign up a new HP line for the MIO plan, and was told that i have to pay the subscription one month from now since the MIO has not been activated yet.. Is it true? And that means i still have to pay for my existing broadband and house line until the MIO plan is activated right?

jornado
11-02-2007, 07:57 PM
I just contracted my MIO plan yesterday.. They will come on the 6th of March to fix them.. Quite long a wait ah.. The salesgirl says the contract will start from 5th March and the bill will come 2 weeks later..

So just wan to ask U guys about something that confuses me.. I sign up a new HP line for the MIO plan, and was told that i have to pay the subscription one month from now since the MIO has not been activated yet.. Is it true? And that means i still have to pay for my existing broadband and house line until the MIO plan is activated right?
would like to know e ans to ur qn oso. jus contracted e MIO plan today.

in addition, jus like to check. mus e MIO box be connected to e wall socket directly? right now, my 2Wire modem is connected by a telephone wire extension. wonder if i'm able to do tat for the MIO box as well...

xl8080
11-02-2007, 09:29 PM
can...u can do tt...as long as there is a telephone wire link from the MIO box to the wall can le...though i jus hate installing MIOs...

omega_
12-02-2007, 10:02 AM
would like to know e ans to ur qn oso. jus contracted e MIO plan today.

in addition, jus like to check. mus e MIO box be connected to e wall socket directly? right now, my 2Wire modem is connected by a telephone wire extension. wonder if i'm able to do tat for the MIO box as well...
http://home.singtel.com/mio/mio_plan_terms.html

Service Activation of mio Plan
The term of the mio Plan will commence on the date on which the last Service in the mio Plan is activated (“Contract Start Date”), in the following manner:

i) if the Customer’s activation date of the SingTel Mobile Service occurs before the Contract Start Date, he/she will enjoy free subscription and bundled mobile minutes and sms for the period between such activation date and the Contract Start Date.

ii) if the Customer’s activation date of the SingNet BroadBand Service occurs before the Contract Start Date, the Customer will enjoy free subscription for the period between such activation date and the Contract Start Date.

iii) if the Customer’s activation date of the SingTel Telephone Service occurs before the Contract Start Date, the Customer will enjoy free subscription for the period between such activation date and the Contract Start Date.

machocheng
12-02-2007, 01:47 PM
I am thinking of signing up, and have a couple of questions (have been receiving inconsistent answers from promoters/helpline).

1) Can I continue to use non-singtel discounted IDD services (e.g. 1511, etc) with mio voice?

2) Is there anyway to retain the analog service without paying the $25/quarter fee? One of the promoters said that I only need to pay for usage, which is inconsistent with what others said so far.

1) Yes, u can still use the 15xx services with mio voice.

2) Retain analog services meaning retaining your DEL line with exisitng VASes or having existing VASes on mioVoice?

CrossOver
14-02-2007, 10:33 PM
When they come and set up the MIO box.. Will a wireless card for the PC be provided as well..?? Or have to get our own?

outer92
14-02-2007, 10:48 PM
When they come and set up the MIO box.. Will a wireless card for the PC be provided as well..?? Or have to get our own?

Only come with mio box wireless modem. not incude wireless card.

CrossOver
14-02-2007, 11:07 PM
Oooh.. Any card to recommend??

pengzhi
15-02-2007, 04:12 PM
listen to so comment -.- thinking could i sign or not. as..
example.

playing dota..

if mum using phone will lag? as in lag in phone or game or both .

hm.. think of sign up too . hope to hear any good side? not all bad pls .LOL.

althought i know it cheap and saving.

shamuslee
16-02-2007, 03:34 PM
ask ar. does the internet speed have link with MIO voice.

like mayb use 10MBPS the voice clearer etc.

pls advice.

stiener
17-02-2007, 12:17 PM
Hi everyone,

Having a major headache after installing MIO in my gf's home. The selling point of MIO is indeed very attractive to me. Once the MIO was connected, her Wiscom cordless phone doesn't ring despite someone calling. Called the technical help desk but the problem is still unresolved.

Only managed to go online using my laptop for a couple of minutes and then went dead.

The MIO box d/c very frequently...alot more than my home's 2wire 2700hg. Don't understand why it is happening.

Furthermore, I only get to realised that phoneline cannot be used when MIO d/c. Although I knew how the technology works for MIO but I asked sales personel what was the difference between the 'Analogue' and 'MIO voice'. The answer that I've got was 'its almost the same except that the house phone will be dead if there is a power failure'. Though that there was some 'breakthrough' in technology in MIO that maintains the line even if the internet is down. I believe 'power failure' and 'Internet down' is two distinctively different issues. I have suggested them to train their staff to know what are they selling to the customer.

Anybody notice the change in the dailtone when calling?

It is similar to the tone of call waiting or auto roaming.

I believe that someone might have overlook on preparing the public of the change. 100% of those friends who called my gf's home yesterday claims that the line was busy or engaged. Only when they called the mobilephone, then they realised that it was the new tone for MIO users. They should at least try to inform everyone that the tone is normal.

My gf has already decided to switch back to the 'analog' line.

I believe that the cables will have to be replaced like what 'SCV' did when they targeted the mass public to sign up for cable TV. I supposed we can observe how their service have progress over the years.

If SCV can do it, I believe so can Xingtell.

Will be going to check MIO out later and hoping to work something out.

Happy New Year to all,
Nick

pengzhi
19-02-2007, 01:08 PM
Hi everyone,

Having a major headache after installing MIO in my gf's home. The selling point of MIO is indeed very attractive to me. Once the MIO was connected, her Wiscom cordless phone doesn't ring despite someone calling. Called the technical help desk but the problem is still unresolved.

Only managed to go online using my laptop for a couple of minutes and then went dead.

The MIO box d/c very frequently...alot more than my home's 2wire 2700hg. Don't understand why it is happening.

Furthermore, I only get to realised that phoneline cannot be used when MIO d/c. Although I knew how the technology works for MIO but I asked sales personel what was the difference between the 'Analogue' and 'MIO voice'. The answer that I've got was 'its almost the same except that the house phone will be dead if there is a power failure'. Though that there was some 'breakthrough' in technology in MIO that maintains the line even if the internet is down. I believe 'power failure' and 'Internet down' is two distinctively different issues. I have suggested them to train their staff to know what are they selling to the customer.

Anybody notice the change in the dailtone when calling?

It is similar to the tone of call waiting or auto roaming.

I believe that someone might have overlook on preparing the public of the change. 100% of those friends who called my gf's home yesterday claims that the line was busy or engaged. Only when they called the mobilephone, then they realised that it was the new tone for MIO users. They should at least try to inform everyone that the tone is normal.

My gf has already decided to switch back to the 'analog' line.

I believe that the cables will have to be replaced like what 'SCV' did when they targeted the mass public to sign up for cable TV. I supposed we can observe how their service have progress over the years.

If SCV can do it, I believe so can Xingtell.

Will be going to check MIO out later and hoping to work something out.

Happy New Year to all,
Nicki might later going to sign ... after listen. >.< scare le. maybe can try out ba.

as what i know is the price attractive... pls update more about ur currently mio .

to let us know more ^^thank

MrBean007
19-02-2007, 05:18 PM
now stilll no issues with the mio.. ppl call in oni ask me r u in overseas all my friends are able to call in..

danxiaogui86
19-02-2007, 07:35 PM
Guys, if i disabled the routing capability of this mio box. can i still use the the digital voice?

h030831
20-02-2007, 09:59 AM
now stilll no issues with the mio.. ppl call in oni ask me r u in overseas all my friends are able to call in..Have my Mio installed on 12th Feb. Only take 15 mins with the installer as info from this forum prepare me to anticipate possible problem eg getting the Mio iD for the home phone, was on SNBB 1500 before with some DC every few days, now on SNBB 10Mbps with no DC so far.
Do not have any delay with ringing my home phone so no one notice or make comment about overseas call type delay. Connect my DECT phone base to the gateway.
One important difference is that I have the wireless option on the Mio gateway turn off as I do not use it at all.
All the above is with BT going on at all times. So far up to 480 kB/s is the max speed I have observe.
Just want to share my own personal experience with MIO so far. thanks.

H030831

micromousez
20-02-2007, 10:47 AM
erm, i heard from one of my friend he say tht e ringing tone sound like line busy tone when calling, tht y ppl thought e line is busy although it is not...

stiener
21-02-2007, 01:00 PM
I have bought a new DECT phone and it solves the ringtone problem.At least we will know if someone is calling. It will be good for them to highlight that MIO only support DECT cordless phones.

The service officer noticed an unusal d/c by checking the history throughout the day. They will send a linesman to check the phone line out tomorrow. MIO is connected directly to the main outlet within a 2 meters distance.

Despite the problems that have been caused but I am still supportive of MIO as long as they work a more stable system.

One very strange thing is that the technician wasn't able to install 2WIRE to the desktop reason being he does not have the driver. Isn't it funny when they ask how many PC that we need the technician to install? Do they expect us to connect everything via wireless. My 10Mbps setup comes with the CD Wizard which is very helpful.

I would suggest those who is having a stable network at home wait for MIO to stablize first before signing up.

I will also be coming here often hoping someone else come up with more solutions.

Happy Lunar New Year to all,
Nick

gundamz
21-02-2007, 02:58 PM
like that must buy DECT phone.. = $$ ..

stiener
21-02-2007, 04:10 PM
Yup...I doubt they mentioned that only DECT cordless phones support MIO while we signed up...

Giant selling Alcatel DECT cordless phone at SGD38.00(CNY promo) don't know if it is still available. Low stock when I bought it on CNY eve.

Nick

alexuslee
21-02-2007, 04:57 PM
So far only read all the problems with MIO, but I am also aware people who have no problems with MIO won't come up here and post as well.

Was thinking of signing for the MIO but things seemed so unstable. Whats the general advice? Sign up now or maybe wait for another month first?

kitaeshi
21-02-2007, 09:54 PM
if u seldom use home telephone, mio is for you. pretty hard to configure the home telephone. and many user in the forum encounter problems mostly on this issue.

stiener
22-02-2007, 09:53 AM
Well...its really up to the you to decide whether to sign up MIO. You might not even encounter any of the problems mentioned here,who knows.

All the problems that we have post is just to keep new subscribers known to the potiential problems and possible solutions. A very good way if you would like to learn more about networking related knowledge.

Nick

stiener
22-02-2007, 01:32 PM
My gf just received the letter from Singnet that contains the Userid and Password. Her scheduled instalation was 15Feb. The letter was generated on the 15Feb and Singpost processed the mail dated 17Feb. I supposed the mail was kept with Singpost waiting to be delivered after CNY.

On top of that they sent 2 copies on the same day. Maybe they thought it can speed up the delivery :s13: .

If they think it can reach us on the same day of post, then they might as well keep it until we terminate in the future.

So remember to call the sales and general hotline to inform them that you did not receive your password at least 2 days prior to instalation date(keep in mind of any p.h or weekends in between).

Nick

shigehiro
23-02-2007, 11:38 AM
Have read the pro and cons of MIO in this thread...

What you are raving and discussing about is more about digital telephone line.

How's about the broadband internet connection? Any problem so far encountered with the speed of internet?
Well oh well, I am subscribing to MIO 3 Mbps, and waiting for installation in the early of March...

Now I am using Max Online, I hope MIO is also as stable as MOL in term of internet connection line and speed...

Any views on the above are welcome....

Thankss

kao
23-02-2007, 11:56 AM
Singnet is using ADSL for their BB. BB is already few years old for our ISP so the technology is very stable. One thing to note is that ADSL depends on phone line. So unless you are staying in a very undeveloped place, the line should be run optimally . :)

stiener
23-02-2007, 04:57 PM
The linesman came down to check the phone lines. He stayed for an hour an spotted no DC so he concluded that there was nothing wrong with the lines. Just as he was about to leave, thank god a DC occured and he found the source of the problem. The socket was old and he replaced it for free. Still monitoring, no DC at the moment and internet connection is smooth.

When I first signed up in June last year for 10Mbps, DC is quite frequent. Lately, I could hardly experience any DC. The router was on throughout CNY with no DC. The situation seems to be improving.

Nick

outer92
27-02-2007, 06:45 PM
singtel mio alert tone have change back to nomal tone sound alert.when you call your home number.

CrossOver
28-02-2007, 12:40 AM
Yo guys.. The installation ppl will be coming on 6March and i still have not buy a wireless adapter.. Any PCI or USB wireless card/adaptor recommended??

ins4n3
28-02-2007, 08:12 PM
Guys, i wanna ask. is the MIO box change-able.? i intend to chnage to a Linksys wireless router as i see around this 2wire modem is lyk cannot make it one.

dralf
28-02-2007, 08:36 PM
Yo guys.. The installation ppl will be coming on 6March and i still have not buy a wireless adapter.. Any PCI or USB wireless card/adaptor recommended??
if u put ur mio box near the pc, u can just use ethernet or usb to connect.

dralf
28-02-2007, 08:44 PM
singtel mio alert tone have change back to nomal tone sound alert.when you call your home number.
finally... they fixed the prob liao.
shouldn't have roll out the plan when the tone prob isn't fixed...
poor tech guy... tio gan by my father beri jialat :s22:

CrossOver
28-02-2007, 10:30 PM
Eeeer.. No one got wireless card to recommend for the MIO ah??? Ask two time liao also no one keen to help with any recommendation

lazikat0707
01-03-2007, 05:08 PM
USB type is good, Buffalo or Dlink also can.

ifmsg
02-03-2007, 12:18 PM
Bought a AZTECH USB wireless 125Mb.. very stable and good and cheap.. also have tried a Linksys WUSB54G .. stable and good..

machocheng
03-03-2007, 05:55 PM
No, there's no dependency on the internet speed for MIO voice as there's a certain bandwidth reserved for it, irregardless of the total bandwidth used.

ask ar. does the internet speed have link with MIO voice.

like mayb use 10MBPS the voice clearer etc.

pls advice.

machocheng
03-03-2007, 06:03 PM
Echo is present even in traditional telephony networks, just that the delay is not significant enough to detect it. One thing to check, do u have parallel line running in your home? Thanx.

anyone on mio voice
got this echo like voice when u speaks?
its feels like mio voice is not tuned right yet
sounds like a lags when u speaks to it mio voice

jufryras
05-03-2007, 06:28 PM
I mean all my home phones (total 4) are connected to the phone socket. but to be able to use all 4. all need to connect to the modem. but the modem is in my room. mean need to route the cable to connect to my modem? why can't they connect it to the home phone socket?

It can be done...you can do a loopback from the Mioo Box...

jufryras
05-03-2007, 06:51 PM
All talk about the plan...Anybody try about the port forwarding....Seems that it can't port forward port 80 ... have anybody had any sucess on this.

CrossOver
06-03-2007, 09:48 PM
Yo.. Finally got mine fix today.. Very fast ah he fix.. But like so in a hurry might as well i fix my own.. Leave my place a mess.. But tats not the issue.. The issue is, im using a usb wireless adapter.. Of all the wireless i am able to detect in the entire block, only mine is not showing.. Wat could be the problem?? My HP can detect the MIO box wireless..

keat84
07-03-2007, 08:14 PM
How to link the mio plan with my DI524 routeR? need to change to cross cable?

CrossOver
08-03-2007, 01:11 AM
Now my MIO is a lil bit more stable.. Only in the sense of getting connected.. Now my wireless can connect upon boot up of my comp.. Have yet to test is uTorrent but port forward has been done but do not know whether successful or not.. Very unstable part so far is surfing the web especially when trying to access HWZ.. Always cant find server even though connected.. This can be quite frustrating if im the impatience type.. Next is not knowing whether im still getting 1.5mbps or the contracted one of 10mbps.. Will try to tolerate a few more days, if server unavailable persistent or unable to connect to my access point, will need to bring this up already.. And im using wireless usb adapter placed directly beside the MIO box.. The irony of able to detect other 2Wire at different storey and not yours..

expression
08-03-2007, 02:34 AM
got mine fixed today... works pretty smoothly so far. mine is the 3Mbps plan

bangkern
08-03-2007, 03:53 PM
Yo.. Finally got mine fix today.. Very fast ah he fix.. But like so in a hurry might as well i fix my own.. Leave my place a mess.. But tats not the issue.. The issue is, im using a usb wireless adapter.. Of all the wireless i am able to detect in the entire block, only mine is not showing.. Wat could be the problem?? My HP can detect the MIO box wireless..

Wireless card cannot detect hidden AP?

CrossOver
09-03-2007, 12:13 AM
Hmmm... Dun think my AP is hidden.. N my block got many supporter of MIO.. Many 2WIRE AP ah... HAHA.. Now seems to be ok.. It automatically grab my AP.. Surfing still ok.. Just tat im still googling to find out how to determine ur actual bandwidth...

albertlee
09-03-2007, 01:59 PM
Any previous MOL user who have switched over to Mio? I want to hear your comment/view. TIA.

ScorpFire
09-03-2007, 05:10 PM
hey what is ur d/l speed when use IDM with MIO 3mbps

ongkmeng
09-03-2007, 05:59 PM
i intended to sign up basic SNBB (512Mb @$33 for 1 year) and digital voice ($10) .... Is this possible ? Will I be gettting the MIO box for this combination ?

happening
09-03-2007, 08:58 PM
i intended to sign up basic SNBB (512Mb @$33 for 1 year) and digital voice ($10) .... Is this possible ? Will I be gettting the MIO box for this combination ?
It comes with it. check out their website: http://home.singtel.com/mio/mio_voice_plans_snbb.html

ice888
11-03-2007, 06:13 PM
I've just signed up for the mio 10MBps plan and they are coming over for on site installation in 2 days' time. I'm already using a WRT54G for my home setup, so I'm wondering if there's anyway I can put the linksys router to good use after the mio box takes over its place. Any advice? Use it as repeater? Or is it better if I set the mio box to bridge mode?

hesperus
11-03-2007, 09:49 PM
I heard MIO mobile is now S$15 per month, after the first 3 months... Is MIO mobile part of the MIO plan package? If not, if I were t sign up for the MIO plan, does it mean I have to pay another $15 for the MIO Mobile?

outer92
11-03-2007, 09:53 PM
I heard MIO mobile is now S$15 per month, after the first 3 months... Is MIO mobile part of the MIO plan package? If not, if I were t sign up for the MIO plan, does it mean I have to pay another $15 for the MIO Mobile?
mio plan dont come with mio mobile

hesperus
11-03-2007, 11:03 PM
so this means i have to pay $15 after the 3 months then... hmm...

ryanljh
12-03-2007, 01:55 AM
Hmmm... Dun think my AP is hidden.. N my block got many supporter of MIO.. Many 2WIRE AP ah... HAHA.. Now seems to be ok.. It automatically grab my AP.. Surfing still ok.. Just tat im still googling to find out how to determine ur actual bandwidth...

http://www.singnet.com/technical/helptools

http://www.speedtest.net

interguy
12-03-2007, 05:33 PM
Currently using D-Link DSL-G604T modem cum wireless router. Serviceman going to fix the 2wire 2700HGV mio box soon. What can I do with the DSL-G604t? Is the Mio box WPA secured? How can I use the 2 together?

pengzhi
12-03-2007, 08:06 PM
sian . mine mio plan . mar 20 den the person come up .

btw some question to ask.

1. what thing need to make sure that the person come up make all the thing

2. what thing to check b4 the man go .

3.anyone bad or good comment?

khooht
12-03-2007, 10:30 PM
got my MIO 3M plan done up today.
The calling home ring tone is as per normal, unlike what had been mentioned of the oversea tone. However, b4 the setup the home tel lines were totally down. Call in could hear the ringing, but home ppls never rec'd any call nor could call out. Servicemen said it was normal, that why he was here to do the config.
So far room PC was wired and my laptop was wireless. Both can surf at the same time without DC since 3pm.
Rest all working well. Going to keep laptop on till morning sees got DC...cheers.

ryanljh
13-03-2007, 12:25 AM
sian . mine mio plan . mar 20 den the person come up .

btw some question to ask.

1. what thing need to make sure that the person come up make all the thing

2. what thing to check b4 the man go .

3.anyone bad or good comment?

1) the location that the mio box is located must have a phone point and a power point.

1a) Get your singnet broadband password and mio system ID ready. You should have received them by post from singnet.

2) check that you can call in and call out using your mio box and it is sharp and clear before he perform a loopback for you(loopback is basically looping the digital signal back into your analog circuit so that the rest of your phone point (eg master's room) can be used.) Note that loopback is not perfect, most will encountered some sort of echo and feedback. This can't be help unless you rewire your house internal phone circuit. This can be overcome by using dect phone.

2a) Check that you are getting the bandwidth you paid for. (eg 3Mbps, 10Mbps)

3) If you are not keeping your analog line and depending on how efficient singtel is, your analog line will be cut off the night before or before your appointment time.

ryanljh
13-03-2007, 12:40 AM
Currently using D-Link DSL-G604T modem cum wireless router. Serviceman going to fix the 2wire 2700HGV mio box soon. What can I do with the DSL-G604t? Is the Mio box WPA secured? How can I use the 2 together?

You can continue to use your D-Link DSL-G604T modem cum wireless router. Using RJ45, connect one end to mio box and one end to the lan (NOT WAN) port of your D-Link, disable dhcp on your D-Link and set D-Link and mio box to different wireless channel.

The mio box is default wep 64bit, but wpa is available.

interguy
13-03-2007, 01:50 PM
You can continue to use your D-Link DSL-G604T modem cum wireless router. Using RJ45, connect one end to mio box and one end to the lan (NOT WAN) port of your D-Link, disable dhcp on your D-Link and set D-Link and mio box to different wireless channel.

The mio box is default wep 64bit, but wpa is available.
Thank you but is there any reason in doing so? By doing so, the D-link cannot be use in distributing IP to my wireless laptops and only the mio box can do so. Am I right?

dxzqthief
14-03-2007, 12:09 AM
hey guys, i also have a D-Link DSL-G604T wireless modem cum router. I was wondering if i can use my current modem to tap for wireless signal from the mio modem after the person has set up the mio modem. This is because most likely i will want the mio modem to be set up in the living room so that it is closer to my DECT phone set and i hope that the PC in my room can detect the wireless signal using my current D-Link.

ryanljh
14-03-2007, 12:47 AM
Thank you but is there any reason in doing so? By doing so, the D-link cannot be use in distributing IP to my wireless laptops and only the mio box can do so. Am I right?

You are right, I did this for a 3 storey bungalow to expand the coverage and in your case I don't think is applicable.

Try this, it may work. Setup only voice on your mio box, disable dhcp on mio box and connect mio box to your d-link modem, this way your d-link is doing the job of distributing the IP address.

ryanljh
14-03-2007, 12:54 AM
hey guys, i also have a D-Link DSL-G604T wireless modem cum router. I was wondering if i can use my current modem to tap for wireless signal from the mio modem after the person has set up the mio modem. This is because most likely i will want the mio modem to be set up in the living room so that it is closer to my DECT phone set and i hope that the PC in my room can detect the wireless signal using my current D-Link.

No, you can't use your existing modem to tap for wireless signal from the mio modem. Unless your house is extremely big, the mio modem wireless should be able to provide adequate coverage for your house.

dxzqthief
14-03-2007, 01:46 AM
No, you can't use your existing modem to tap for wireless signal from the mio modem. Unless your house is extremely big, the mio modem wireless should be able to provide adequate coverage for your house.haha this is because my desktop dun have a wireless adapter so i was wondering how i can go online w/o connecting the mio box to my desktop.
Haiz looks like my d-link can keep one corner already lol

shamuslee
14-03-2007, 08:55 AM
i just got my mIO installed yesterday.

Peace_X
14-03-2007, 08:58 AM
Is it possible to set the MIO router as bridge mode and let my dlink gaming router do most of the processing?

I bought the gaming router for its ability to handle lots of concurrent connection and QoS, so i dont want the MIO router to be the bottleneck.

dxzqthief
15-03-2007, 11:05 AM
i juz signed up for the 68 bucks mio plan BUT i hv to wait go w/o internet for 14days before they activate my mio :(

sianzz. anyway i can get internet connection at home?

shamuslee
15-03-2007, 07:27 PM
hur?? how u post this?

shamuslee
15-03-2007, 07:27 PM
Is it possible to set the MIO router as bridge mode and let my dlink gaming router do most of the processing?

I bought the gaming router for its ability to handle lots of concurrent connection and QoS, so i dont want the MIO router to be the bottleneck.
just connenct the ethernet fm mIO to ur modem lor

luna09
15-03-2007, 10:56 PM
For mio Voice only(not together with mio plan), is it true that retaining the Analogue Fixed Line would require to pay additional $8/mth?

Tks in adv (:

shamuslee
16-03-2007, 12:37 AM
For mio Voice only(not together with mio plan), is it true that retaining the Analogue Fixed Line would require to pay additional $8/mth?

Tks in adv (:
yes

10chars

dxzqthief
16-03-2007, 12:39 PM
hur?? how u post this?lol next week start lahh
haiz.

shamuslee
16-03-2007, 12:41 PM
lol next week start lahh
haiz.
poor things. life without internet is horrible. :(

dxzqthief
16-03-2007, 03:56 PM
poor things. life without internet is horrible. :(precisely! think i hv to go sch everyday or something. Is there anyway to tell them to speed up the process? haha

Desaturated
17-03-2007, 10:39 AM
hi guys i just got my mio box today with SB3500 plan... may i know how to forward port for my utorrent? i try using the "Add a new user-defined application" in the getaway firewall setting, but i dunno how it works... things like port range and stuff... may i know where to get the port range for utorrent?

btw this is the 1st time i using wireless connection... so quite blur in all this

coolman7
17-03-2007, 05:24 PM
Does anyone knows what is the price of the MIO box? if it fails after the 1 year warrantly,how much to replaces? If this this is to be turn on 24 hrs a day, I doubt it can last long. And without it, you have no telephone, so die die must get replacement.

ahjoe100
17-03-2007, 07:23 PM
actuallyi tot of signing this mio all in one plan thingy since my mol contract jus finish, but after reading this thread, seems like alot of ppl still have problems with mio. basically i tink its the bandwidth issues that cause the phone problems especially at night when the traffic is high.

maybe some things is best left seperated.. like internet, phone line kept seperated.

outer92
17-03-2007, 07:27 PM
actuallyi tot of signing this mio all in one plan thingy since my mol contract jus finish, but after reading this thread, seems like alot of ppl still have problems with mio. basically i tink its the bandwidth issues that cause the phone problems especially at night when the traffic is high.

maybe some things is best left seperated.. like internet, phone line kept seperated.

i dont have any problem when i use mio digital phone and surf net together .so far so good .

danxiaogui86
17-03-2007, 07:49 PM
i dont have any problem when i use mio digital phone and surf net together .so far so good .

did u pair it with d-link 4300?

outer92
17-03-2007, 08:01 PM
did u pair it with d-link 4300?
never try before

danxiaogui86
17-03-2007, 08:09 PM
icic. did u try to pair it with any router and use tat in bridge mode b4?

outer92
17-03-2007, 08:28 PM
icic. did u try to pair it with any router and use tat in bridge mode b4?
never pair with any router before

passer123
18-03-2007, 10:43 AM
Hey guys! Had mio installed on thurs but have been getting speed of 5Mbps even though I signed up for the 10 Mbps one...I arranged for the technician to come down on thursday for a line check..Meanwhile, is there anything I can do to improve the speed? Thanks!

danxiaogui86
18-03-2007, 08:04 PM
those with 2700hgv-2, did ur wireless transmit power manage to go above 6?

outer92
18-03-2007, 08:57 PM
those with 2700hgv-2, did ur wireless transmit power manage to go above 6?

i dont understand what do you mean wireless transmit power manage to go above 6?

laihuattan
18-03-2007, 11:11 PM
Just switched from Starhub to MIO (3MB). Find that the speed of surfing oversea sites is FASTER though the former claimed to have a download speed of 65,000. Duno know why.

Have to thank starhub and HP for failing to deliver my laptop after more than 2 months. I cancelled the contract and MIO plan rolled out in time to help me save more with no loss in speed at all--in fact faster. Lol!

Digital voice works well too and have not experience any problem. But I find that the modem is a bit hot, is there anyway to put it to standby mode like Motorola modem?

I am really happy with MIO. hehe!

expression
19-03-2007, 12:07 AM
Just switched from Starhub to MIO (3MB). Find that the speed of surfing oversea sites is FASTER though the former claimed to have a download speed of 65,000. Duno know why.

Have to thank starhub and HP for failing to deliver my laptop after more than 2 months. I cancelled the contract and MIO plan rolled out in time to help me save more with no loss in speed at all--in fact faster. Lol!

Digital voice works well too and have not experience any problem. But I find that the modem is a bit hot, is there anyway to put it to standby mode like Motorola modem?

I am really happy with MIO. hehe!
welcome to the club! hehe
My MIO box is not hot though...

arsene
19-03-2007, 10:46 AM
I just had MIO installed at my home yesterday with minimum fuss. The broadband is working and the digital voice line too.

However when I asked the technician to set my Nokia E65 to access VOIP, he told me he doesn't know how to do it. Can anyone here help me with the SIP settings to enable me to use the VOIP for outgoing calls thru my mobile at home and at Wireless Singnet hotspots?

outer92
19-03-2007, 07:48 PM
I just had MIO installed at my home yesterday with minimum fuss. The broadband is working and the digital voice line too.

However when I asked the technician to set my Nokia E65 to access VOIP, he told me he doesn't know how to do it. Can anyone here help me with the SIP settings to enable me to use the VOIP for outgoing calls thru my mobile at home and at Wireless Singnet hotspots?

do you subscribe mio mobile? call 1626 to send you nokia applicationto your handset.
mio plan dont come with mio mobile

osmond19
19-03-2007, 11:40 PM
some questions to clarify,,, as i went to hello shop to enquiry.

The guy over at the counter told me when you signed up with MIO plan, u will be given 3 choices to choose for the MIO voice. Either MIO voice digital or analog or both digital and analog.

For juz pure digital, you can only connect one telephone to the mio box and only one telephone is able to enjoy the digital voice and your analog will be total cancelled. so if you have more than one telephone connecting to another telephone socket, all those phones wont be able to use.

If wish to retain your analog and forgo the digital, everything will be same as normal. However, charges will still apply if u makes call out.

Lastly, if u wish to enjoy both digital and voice, u will still have to continue to pay for your 3 mthly subscription fee of $25 for your analog and that is to say that you will have 2 different home number.

Hmm... is the above correct?

Actually, I tot of signing up MIO plan as to replace the analog line to digital while not sacrifing the rest of the phones connecting in different part of the hse of the sockets. And also to replace my MOL to singnet ASDL.

Seems like juz signing up a 1 yr singnet broadband a better choice than MIO plan?

kaiallard
20-03-2007, 02:51 PM
i am on the mio plan. box just came in 2 hours ago. only problem is my laptop cant access the internet wirelessly, but 3 different nokia internet phones can do so. shame on the laptop... but wired is ok. i will ask for help in main forum!

wgwi
21-03-2007, 04:58 PM
If you have more than one Caller ID phone at home and using MIO box, with Singtel's default installation, the CLI function on the phone direct connected to MIO box does not work.

Anybody has this problem?

ryanljh
21-03-2007, 05:21 PM
some questions to clarify,,, as i went to hello shop to enquiry.

The guy over at the counter told me when you signed up with MIO plan, u will be given 3 choices to choose for the MIO voice. Either MIO voice digital or analog or both digital and analog.
Correct.

For juz pure digital, you can only connect one telephone to the mio box and only one telephone is able to enjoy the digital voice and your analog will be total cancelled. so if you have more than one telephone connecting to another telephone socket, all those phones wont be able to use.
Not correct, the technician installing the mio box will do a loopback (looping the digital signal back into your existing phone circuit) so that the rest of the phone socket can be use and depending on how your existing line are wired up, you may or may not experience feedback and echo.

If wish to retain your analog and forgo the digital, everything will be same as normal. However, charges will still apply if u makes call out.
Correct.

Lastly, if u wish to enjoy both digital and voice, u will still have to continue to pay for your 3 mthly subscription fee of $25 for your analog and that is to say that you will have 2 different home number.
Correct. But ask yourself why do you need to have two numbers in the house? If phone is important to you, retain the analog line.

Hmm... is the above correct?
Some correct and some not correct, see above.

Actually, I tot of signing up MIO plan as to replace the analog line to digital while not sacrifing the rest of the phones connecting in different part of the hse of the sockets. And also to replace my MOL to singnet ASDL.

1) Are there a lot of people in the house using the analog line? Yes, keep analog.

2) Are there any old folks in the house? Yes, keep analog.

3) What is the main aim of replacing the analog line with a digital line? Save cost? Do remember that there will be another cost if the loopback doesn't work for your existing phone circuit and you will have to get dect phone that support multiple wireless handsets or engage line contractor to rewire your existing phone circuit to make it mio friendly. $$

Seems like juz signing up a 1 yr singnet broadband a better choice than MIO plan?
Depending on your answers to the questions above, yes and no.

ryanljh
21-03-2007, 05:25 PM
Does anyone knows what is the price of the MIO box? if it fails after the 1 year warrantly,how much to replaces? If this this is to be turn on 24 hrs a day, I doubt it can last long. And without it, you have no telephone, so die die must get replacement.

Price if I am not mistaken is $128. Note that the warranty for the mio box is 2 years and not 1 year.

ryanljh
21-03-2007, 05:28 PM
If you have more than one Caller ID phone at home and using MIO box, with Singtel's default installation, the CLI function on the phone direct connected to MIO box does not work.

Does the CLI function on the phone directly connected to the mio box works if your other phone doesn't have Caller ID function or there is only 1 phone with CLI function connected directly to the mio box?

ryanljh
21-03-2007, 05:32 PM
i am on the mio plan. box just came in 2 hours ago. only problem is my laptop cant access the internet wirelessly, but 3 different nokia internet phones can do so. shame on the laptop... but wired is ok. i will ask for help in main forum!

Do PM me if you need help regarding your laptop unable to access the internet wirelessly.

wgwi
21-03-2007, 06:49 PM
Does the CLI function on the phone directly connected to the mio box works if your other phone doesn't have Caller ID function or there is only 1 phone with CLI function connected directly to the mio box?
In my case, both phone has CLI function. When I take out the loop back line, the CLI on direct connect phone works, as long as I plug in the loop back cord into the micro-filter, then only the phone in other room can show CLI. BTW, both phone still can make/receive calls in either case.

wgwi
21-03-2007, 07:10 PM
Another interesting find out: If you run a sip application in you PC behind the MIO box, it make cause the mio voice line lose incoming call. in my case I run VoipStunt in my PC, the Voipstunt was working fine, but after I shutdown my PC, I noticed that when I call my mio voice line, I still hear a normal ring tone, but the phone does not really ring, further more, if I pick up the phone, I can still make out going call!
Problem can only be restored after power on/off my mio box.

Be careful to run sip service in you PC with mio box!!! You may even notice this incoming call failure if you are not try it yourself. very dangerous! you may miss up important incoming call!

outer92
21-03-2007, 07:45 PM
Another interesting find out: If you run a sip application in you PC behind the MIO box, it make cause the mio voice line lose incoming call. in my case I run VoipStunt in my PC, the Voipstunt was working fine, but after I shutdown my PC, I noticed that when I call my mio voice line, I still hear a normal ring tone, but the phone does not really ring, further more, if I pick up the phone, I can still make out going call!

Be careful to run sip service in you PC with mio box!!! You may even notice this incoming call failure if you are not try it yourself. very dangerous! you may miss up important incoming call!

i dont have any problem when i run another sip application, still can use mio voice

outer92
21-03-2007, 08:00 PM

i dont have any problem when i connect my dect handset direct to mio modem, called id working.

expression
21-03-2007, 08:35 PM

Btw, i'm using Linksys cordless skype phone CIT 400. There's ringing tone on Skype incoming calls but no sound when receiving landline calls. the indicator of the phone did show that there's a incoming landline with caller ID but just no sound.

I have not tested the linksys with another phone line and i have not tested the line with another phone though.

do you think it has got something to do with my MIO box? i dont think i'm running any SIP on my macbook...

wgwi
21-03-2007, 08:53 PM
i dont have any problem when i connect my dect handset direct to mio modem, called id working.
If you are only connect one phone to the mio box and does not loop back to the mirco-filter, then CLI will works fine.
Have you tryed to connect the loopback cord to micro-filter?(Singtel installer did this for me)

wgwi
21-03-2007, 09:39 PM
The MIO box comes with 2 digital phone line, one is used by mio voice, the other one is not used. anybody knows if we can config the 2nd port to use another sip service? e.g sipphone or other similar voip service?

outer92
21-03-2007, 09:43 PM
If you are only connect one phone to the mio box and does not loop back to the mirco-filter, then CLI will works fine.
Have you tryed to connect the loopback cord to micro-filter?(Singtel installer did this for me)

http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1536727

yes ! friend i have try loopback before , still dont have any problem , CALLER ID work fine.
i dont like to loopback becuae have echo flying around . i takeout p1 and p2. , i use dect handset to connect direct to mio box modem

wgwi
21-03-2007, 10:47 PM
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1536727

yes ! friend i have try loopback before , still dont have any problem , CALLER ID work fine.
i dont like to loopback becuae have echo flying around . i takeout p1 and p2. , i use dect handset to connect direct to mio box modem
Seems my problem is unique. :s11: or maybe has to pay$$ to get DECT phones.

osmond19
21-03-2007, 10:53 PM
bro a million for clearing my doubt.

Just one more thing, is there any way to test out my existing phone circuit to see if it's mio friendly b4 I sign up to mio plan?

Correct.

Not correct, the technician installing the mio box will do a loopback (looping the digital signal back into your existing phone circuit) so that the rest of the phone socket can be use and depending on how your existing line are wired up, you may or may not experience feedback and echo.

Correct.

Correct. But ask yourself why do you need to have two numbers in the house? If phone is important to you, retain the analog line.

Some correct and some not correct, see above.

1) Are there a lot of people in the house using the analog line? Yes, keep analog.

2) Are there any old folks in the house? Yes, keep analog.

3) What is the main aim of replacing the analog line with a digital line? Save cost? Do remember that there will be another cost if the loopback doesn't work for your existing phone circuit and you will have to get dect phone that support multiple wireless handsets or engage line contractor to rewire your existing phone circuit to make it mio friendly. $$

Depending on your answers to the questions above, yes and no.

jornado
22-03-2007, 02:30 PM
MIO user here too..

This doesnt happens all the time, but after some time of usage, there wud be not alert ringtone when ppl calls my hse. Has to reset the modem to fix the problem. Is this normal?? Or ixt a bug?

expression
22-03-2007, 02:37 PM
MIO user here too..

This doesnt happens all the time, but after some time of usage, there wud be not alert ringtone when ppl calls my hse. Has to reset the modem to fix the problem. Is this normal?? Or ixt a bug?
what phone are u using?

wgwi
22-03-2007, 08:59 PM
MIO user here too..

This happen to me once. I was thought it is because I was using another SIP application from my PC, be just tried again, it seems has nothing to with SIP application, so, it must be Singtel's system has some intermittent problem.

outer92
22-03-2007, 09:46 PM
This happen to me once. I was thought it is because I was using another SIP application from my PC, be just tried again, it seems has nothing to with SIP application, so, it must be Singtel's system has some intermittent problem.

if this happen , call singnet to check your adsl line or maybe is mio modem fault

ryanljh
23-03-2007, 01:04 AM
bro a million for clearing my doubt.

Just one more thing, is there any way to test out my existing phone circuit to see if it's mio friendly b4 I sign up to mio plan?
Not that I know of. Do you know how the phone circuit is wired up in your house?

ryanljh
23-03-2007, 01:08 AM
MIO user here too..

Too early to tell whether is that a bug but it certainly is a problem as something resetting the modem may not work and you have to called singtel to reset at their side.

osmond19
23-03-2007, 09:55 AM
Not that I know of. Do you know how the phone circuit is wired up in your house?
not really. but my hse is more than 15 over yrs... chances of being mio friendly is lower???

passer123
23-03-2007, 11:08 PM
Anyone can help me? I have alot of interference when using my home phone connected to mio box..any way to make the interference disappear? (like when using analogue line) Any help appreciated..thanks!

wgwi
23-03-2007, 11:55 PM
Anyone can help me? I have alot of interference when using my home phone connected to mio box..any way to make the interference disappear? (like when using analogue line) Any help appreciated..thanks!
Are you mean strong ehco? I have same problem too.
Tried re-do the connection and it is much better now. This method works in my home, now the sound quality is much better, but still far worse than a analogue line.

Here is how it works:

1. take 2 micro-filter.(Singtel gives you a lot)
2. connect cord of 2nd micro-filter to the "DSL/HPNA" port of 1st micro-filter
3. connect the 1st micro-filter to the wall-socket
4. connect the "DSL/HPNA" port of the 2nd micro-filter to mio box's "Phone line" port
5. take out the two spliters conneect to "Telephone" port at the back of mio box.
6. connect "Telephone" port of the mio box to the "phone" port of 1st micro-filter.(loop back, so all your phones in other room works)
7. connect your telephone set to the "phone" port of the 2nd micro-filter.

This method also makes caller id function work in all my phones. priviously, CLI function on the phone connect to the mio box does not work if I use the loop back link.

please try and post back the result here!

passer123
24-03-2007, 11:13 AM
Ok tried that..not much improvement..guess I havta live with it! The interference in not echo, more like some buzzing, static sound..if I get a DECT phone, will i get any improvements? thanks!

jornado
24-03-2007, 01:33 PM
i'm using e Siemens $55 phone that was on offer with the MIO plan. Using another wired phone too. Both didnt ring...

expression
24-03-2007, 02:25 PM
but can pick up the call eventhough not ringing?

desolated
24-03-2007, 04:18 PM
Are you mean strong ehco? I have same problem too.
Tried re-do the connection and it is much better now. This method works in my home, now the sound quality is much better, but still far worse than a analogue line.

Here is how it works:

1. take 2 micro-filter.(Singtel gives you a lot)
2. connect cord of 2nd micro-filter to the "DSL/HPNA" port of 1st micro-filter
3. connect thye 1st micro-filter to the wall-socket
4. connect the "DSL/HPNA" port of the 2nd micro-filter mio box's "phone line" port
5. take out the two spliter conneect to "Telephone" port of the mio box.
6. connect "Telephone" port of the mio box to the "phone" port of 1st micro-filter.(loop back, so all your phones in other room works)
7. connect your telephone set to the "phone" port of the 2nd micro-filter.

This method also makes caller id function works in all my phones. priviously, CLI function on the phone connect to the mio box does not work if I use the loop back link.

please try and post back the result here!

bro i'm facing a problem regarding loopback, when i connect a line from P1's splitter back to the microfilter 1, i get a number busy.

face the same problem when it's connected via it's default manner using only 1 microfilter.

my home phone only rings when the loopback line is not connected.

asked the two guys which came down to fix up my mio about the problem and they told me that my internal telephone wiring doesn't have enough "strength" thus the loopback failing.

any ideas?

desolated
24-03-2007, 04:22 PM
The technician will perform a loopback(looping the digital signal back into your existing phone circuit) and depending on how your existing phone circuit is wired up, you may or may not need to get buy a phone that can support multiple wireless handsets. No harm testing out the loopback first, if the echo and feedback is too bad, you can:

1) Get line contractor to rewire your existing phone circuit to make it mio friendly. $$

2) Get dect phone that can support multiple wireless handsets. $$

Yes, there are quite lot of people that are getting good voice quality on mio but are now posting in the forum.

juz read a post by ryanljh, think this solves my problem above...

juz hoping to hear whether there are any other alternatives

wgwi
24-03-2007, 06:51 PM
bro i'm facing a problem regarding loopback, when i connect a line from P1's splitter back to the microfilter 1, i get a number busy.

face the same problem when it's connected via it's default manner using only 1 microfilter.

my home phone only rings when the loopback line is not connected.

asked the two guys which came down to fix up my mio about the problem and they told me that my internal telephone wiring doesn't have enough "strength" thus the loopback failing.

any ideas?
looks like a faulty micro-filter. why not try to use another two micro-filter chain together and toglle the loopbak link between micro-filter 1 & 2.

pengzhi
24-03-2007, 07:19 PM
woo. finally i using mio ^_^ hm.. just abit worry about on it... whole 24 hour . or i rather say on it 2 year ?=x abit worry. but i alway off it.. when around 1am . den on later around at morning. lol since midnight house phone don normally ring. to play safe. scare later spoil

danxiaogui86
24-03-2007, 10:48 PM
woo. finally i using mio ^_^ hm.. just abit worry about on it... whole 24 hour . or i rather say on it 2 year ?=x abit worry. but i alway off it.. when around 1am . den on later around at morning. lol since midnight house phone don normally ring. to play safe. scare later spoil

dun worry bro. the modem come with 2 year warranty instead of 1 for normal 2700.

ryanljh
25-03-2007, 02:37 AM
Do you have any interferences when you use your home phone and connect directly to the mio box(no loopback)? If this is not even clear, loopback will just make it worst. Try those phone points in the living room and you should have no problem as those are usually the main phone point before they are branch(tapped) out to other rooms.

ryanljh
25-03-2007, 02:49 AM
i'm using e Siemens $55 phone that was on offer with the MIO plan. Using another wired phone too. Both didnt ring...
This is a symptom of not being able to call in, it may seems like the normal ringing tone but the phone will not ring. Call mio hot line and get them to settle for you.

outer92
25-03-2007, 08:21 AM

take out p1 and p2 adapter , use dect digital handset base to connect direct to your mio modem. sound quality is much better.dont have any strong ehco flying aound your ear.this is waht i do.

tremor
25-03-2007, 11:07 PM
i just signed up for mio plan $68/mth plus $15 for 10mbps, the CSO told me i am getting 2 wire, is this better or the mio box? Can I request to get mio box instead?

outer92
25-03-2007, 11:10 PM
i just signed up for mio plan $68/mth plus $15 for 10mbps, the CSO told me i am getting 2 wire, is this better or the mio box? Can I request to get mio box instead?
2 wire 2700HGV-2 also know as mio box.

pengzhi
25-03-2007, 11:26 PM
dun worry bro. the modem come with 2 year warranty instead of 1 for normal 2700.
hm.. abit worry. as i heard even got warrantly we need to bring down don know where? hm.. nvm .

oh ya. but hp using wifi msn . is free to use it right. scare later they charge .. per message-.-

outer92
25-03-2007, 11:59 PM
hm.. abit worry. as i heard even got warrantly we need to bring down don know where? hm.. nvm .

oh ya. but hp using wifi msn . is free to use it right. scare later they charge .. per message-.-

2 wire service centre
Malifax Technologies Pte Ltd
76 playfair road LHK2 buliding #06-03 singapore 367996
support hotline: 62875033
support email :support@malifax.com.sg

metamorph8
26-03-2007, 11:22 AM
so, if the 2Wire is set to bridge mode you'll lose the VOIP right?

but if it's set to DMZ it's not as good as bridge mode.

tremor
26-03-2007, 02:54 PM
2 wire 2700HGV-2 also know as mio box.
then that chio chio white color box leh? bruff people one har, i heard 2 wire a lot of problems, like that I ish self-pwn by getting myself into trouble.

StanII
26-03-2007, 04:30 PM
then that chio chio white color box leh? bruff people one har, i heard 2 wire a lot of problems, like that I ish self-pwn by getting myself into trouble.
i also tot inititally i had the white box, then came this mio box. i sian diao.

liangtam
26-03-2007, 04:59 PM
The mio not white in colour ah?

crayon_shinchan
26-03-2007, 05:36 PM
my laptop still haven;t come

ryanljh
26-03-2007, 06:11 PM
my laptop still haven;t come
Your laptop will only come on the day of your installation.

outer92
26-03-2007, 06:26 PM
The mio not white in colour ah?

mio box is not in white colour , see my Signature below

crayon_shinchan
26-03-2007, 07:02 PM
Your laptop will only come on the day of your installation.
i had install,one mths ago le

liangtam
26-03-2007, 08:45 PM
mio box is not in white colour , see my Signature below
I thot its white in colour as shown on the website :o

CrossOver
26-03-2007, 11:18 PM
Its not white.. Its silverish and black.. Just like outer92 signature..

tremor
27-03-2007, 11:23 AM
sian liao lah.. so actually if we dun use the 2 wire can use any commerically available wireless routers for MIO plan or not?

ryanljh
27-03-2007, 11:25 AM
i had install,one mths ago le

Have you called 1610 and ask about it?

crayon_shinchan
27-03-2007, 02:32 PM
Have you called 1610 and ask about it?
i had called 2times ,they call me wait wor

EviLHeLLLivE
28-03-2007, 01:56 AM
Anyone knows how to set up on win2k & linux system? The install man don't even know how to set up through usb connection...

I had to do all the work myself, set up internet, get phone working... Call mio support put on hold for 1/2 hr then line auto cut. Call general CSO say give me answer in 1 hr time but that was 8 hrs ago...

Super pissed off with their service... Totally want to dishonor the contract right now...

EviLHeLLLivE
28-03-2007, 02:13 AM
Anyone ever pissed off until cancel contract? I fell like doing that man...

Singaporen
28-03-2007, 09:33 AM
You guys got the MIO box (2wire 2700HGV) driver software?

The man who installed the MIO box for me yesterday brought along his thumbdrive which contain the driver software. At first, I didn't thought of saving the driver software until he left about an hour ago. I might need the software if I were to reformat my computer.

Who is kind enough to send me the driver software?

ryanljh
28-03-2007, 09:59 AM
You guys got the MIO box (2wire 2700HGV) driver software?

The man who installed the MIO box for me yesterday brought along his thumbdrive which contain the driver software. At first, I didn't thought of saving the driver software until he left about an hour ago. I might need the software if I were to reformat my computer.

Who is kind enough to send me the driver software?
You wont need the driver unless you are using usb to connect to the mio box but you can get it here. http://www.2wire.com/pages/drvrs/twusb1405.exe

ryanljh
28-03-2007, 11:21 AM
Anyone knows how to set up on win2k & linux system? The install man don't even know how to set up through usb connection...

I had to do all the work myself, set up internet, get phone working... Call mio support put on hold for 1/2 hr then line auto cut. Call general CSO say give me answer in 1 hr time but that was 8 hrs ago...

Super pissed off with their service... Totally want to dishonor the contract right now...
Use the provided blue usb cable and connect the mio box to your PC and install the driver, CD use to be provided but now you have to download yourself. You can get it here.

http://www.2wire.com/pages/drvrs/twusb1405.exe

There should not be any problem installing for win2k but I dont think there is any driver for linux if you are using usb.

tremor
29-03-2007, 08:22 AM
sian liao lah.. so actually if we dun use the 2 wire can use any commerically available wireless routers for MIO plan or not?
anybody know? Mio can support commercial wireless router? dun wan the mio box

expression
29-03-2007, 09:05 AM
anybody know? Mio can support commercial wireless router? dun wan the mio box

i think this topic has been discussed before in this thread

pengzhi
29-03-2007, 07:19 PM
hm.. anyone find that this mio box kinda lag. when..

i on my bitcomet.. + surf net only.. the surf net SUPER SLOW. zz even msn lagged.

anyone also feel that so ?

EviLHeLLLivE
31-03-2007, 02:10 PM
Use the provided blue usb cable and connect the mio box to your PC and install the driver, CD use to be provided but now you have to download yourself. You can get it here.

http://www.2wire.com/pages/drvrs/twusb1405.exe

There should not be any problem installing for win2k but I dont think there is any driver for linux if you are using usb.Tried that but sadly it doesn't work. I'm wondering if there's some problems with the usb driver since it was meant for 1000 series gateway & it also has not been updated since 2002.

snowystorm
02-04-2007, 08:33 PM
Anyone ever pissed off until cancel contract? I fell like doing that man...

same here too.. the mio tech support really suxs to the core.. havent seen any service worse than Singtel mio tech support.

but so much problems from it tt drag more than 2 months still not resolved...

Since Feb, contract take effect and they send guy down to set up the mio box and settings.. but installation guy cant hook up the house phone with the mio box.. claim tt sales side didnt give right order, so their tech side cant do it.. asked me to contact sales myself and resolve it..

called sales and sales said tt they dunno the technical stuff.. ask me call tech support.. and kept pushing between sales and tech support...

funny part is when i asked them to liaise with each other, they said they cant do it... and now tt my house phone is still down.. i have to call them on my mobile and wait 30mins on average and not even guaranteed get thru..

now everytime i hear the on hold music from their tech support, just made me flare up.. really pissed with their serivce.. i am comtemplating terminating the service and go for starhub hub rewards bundle instead...

so far, the tech guy already came down 3 times.. all 3 times, the guy came down clueless.. and apparently, they have no records of wat's the problems or remarks from the previous investigations..

everytime they come down, i have to repeat the problem from start coz apparently, they dun have ANY RECORDS of wat's going on.. nor do they have records of the calls i have made to voice out my problems... really made me wonder if they outsourced their mio helpdesk to pulau ubin or dunno which rural area sia..

and after they said they dunno wat's going on, they only said they go back and check and get back to me.. and never did.. really sick of going thru the whole cycle over and over again...

for those thinking of getting mio, if u really thinking mio is a good package, better think twice before getting it..

ScorpFire
02-04-2007, 08:57 PM
yeap mate, i thought twice and rejected mio

outer92
02-04-2007, 09:11 PM
so, if the 2Wire is set to bridge mode you'll lose the VOIP right?

but if it's set to DMZ it's not as good as bridge mode.

yes! you will lose all functionality of the unit, including VoIP

bloodymiko
09-04-2007, 03:10 PM
can i ask if 3Mbps speed is slow? or is it normal? will it take very long to load the page for web site?

bizcon
09-04-2007, 03:17 PM
it depends. if u are moderate downloaders....it should be okie.

For loading of website, there is alot of factors.
1. Local hosted sites is faster than overseas.
2. The load of the hosting server.

For normal broadband usage, there should not be a big difference when loading page. But for downloaders like Bitorrent, the bandwidth matters.

Just my 2cents!

tparry
09-04-2007, 04:47 PM
can i ask if 3Mbps speed is slow? or is it normal? will it take very long to load the page for web site?

As far as browsing goes, 512kbit is just as good as 3MBit. I guess you young people cant remember far back enough to the days of 56kbit modems. You could play half-life on the internet without any lag. Now you're talking about 3000kbit!

3MBit is more than fast enough to browse websites, stream video from youtube etc.
If youre going to flood your download/upload speed with torrents, then your remaining bandwidth for browsing will be affected and hence take much longer to load.
If you are downloading torrents, configure your torrent application to only use 70% of your bandwidth. Theres alot of overheads when transferring data with mass peers.

kyo171
09-04-2007, 05:56 PM
i have encountered bad service from the mio package i recentl subscribed too, refer to my post

http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1536727&page=2

bloodymiko
09-04-2007, 06:05 PM
As far as browsing goes, 512kbit is just as good as 3MBit. I guess you young people cant remember far back enough to the days of 56kbit modems. You could play half-life on the internet without any lag. Now you're talking about 3000kbit!

3MBit is more than fast enough to browse websites, stream video from youtube etc.
If youre going to flood your download/upload speed with torrents, then your remaining bandwidth for browsing will be affected and hence take much longer to load.
If you are downloading torrents, configure your torrent application to only use 70% of your bandwidth. Theres alot of overheads when transferring data with mass peers.

for ur info, i am not that young la... i was one of those who used the dial up 56k modem donkey years back too.... but those were the old hey dayz.... coz i am used to using the faster speed of the new technology so my concern is that if the singtel MIO speed is slower then i might be irritated by it....

outer92
09-04-2007, 09:11 PM
SingTel's Generation mio customers call for better service

Three months after it was first launched on Jan 8, technical glitches continue to hound subscribers of SingTel's Generation mio, the telco's next-generation communications technology for the masses.

Their gripes range from disrupted residential telephone lines and Internet connection failures to customer service issues.

The Consumers Association of Singapore has received nine complaints about mio and more than half of these were related to technical issues.

But despite such hiccups, the telco says it is committed to providing quality service to its customers.

Out of the more than 10,000 subscribers to Generation mio, less than 1 per cent still face technical problems, said SingTel.

Consumers were particularly miffed when their residential phone lines were disrupted. Mr Razali Abdullah, a realtor, had to put up with two days of downtime on his residential phone service.

"Everyone started calling my mobile phone to see if I was all right because this had never happened to me before," he told Today. "I have an elderly mother at home, so the residential phone is the only line of communication I have with her. I actually had to scream at them to get things done."

The suite of services, delivered through a single device called a mio box, is touted to offer Internet connectivity, cheaper Internet-based voice calls and a tightly-integrated mobile phone service. The basic plan starts at $68 per month.

But in the event of a power failure, the box will not work.

Ms Catherine Ang, a homemaker, had to wait three weeks before the installation could be done at her house.

When the day finally arrived, she found SingTel had sent the technician to her old address — even when she had updated her particulars with the company.

Another week passed before the service was finally up and running.

In a past response to the media, SingTel had attributed the long wait for the service to the "better-than-expected" demand.

However, some customers today are still experiencing technical problems.

A string of seven service technicians visited Ms Priscilla Yeo's house over a month-long period before the problems she had with the residential phone line and broadband connection could be resolved.

However, the private tutor said there are still intermittent disruptions to both services.

Customers such as Mr Abdullah question why technical issues had not been resolved before the service launch.

In a meeting with Today, a SingTel spokesman said Generation mio had gone through three months of testing before the launch.

When signing up, customers had also been told to expect disruptions not just to Internet access but also to phone connectivity.

External factors also affect the reliability of the service, said SingTel.

Customised wiring set-ups for residential phone lines may affect mio services, and subscribers with multiple phone outlets were especially susceptible to such problems.

The telco also advises consumers to use residential telephones that have been certified by the Infocomm Development Authority of Singapore. The IDA sticker means it adheres to certain technical standards. Otherwise, certain functions, such as Caller ID, may not work.

For those who experience disruption of both residential and broadband connections, SingTel is considering options such as deactivating the existing residential phone service only when the mio services are running successfully. The catch is that doing so will increase the costs for the subscriber.

The telco said that in the move to new communications technology, customers should expect some disruptions along the way while it fixes unexpected bugs.

The company also said the number of operators at its call centres have been "optimised" to reduce waiting time, and it is monitoring customer feedback.

Subscribers can also look forward to more features later in the year, especially in the areas of content and personalisation. - /sh

Dial for help: Subscribers who have queries about Generation mio can contact SingTel’s corporate communications manager Tricia Lee at 6838 3065 or email

tricialee@singtel.com

CrossOver
09-04-2007, 10:13 PM
Yo outer92.. U dun have any problems right with MIO...?? I am one of those unaffected one.. Very stable liao... Heng... If house phone cannot get tru, so far once.. Restart the box can liao..

laihuattan
09-04-2007, 10:19 PM
I'm a very a long time MaxOnline User recently switched to MIO, as far as my experience goes... SNBB 3MB is no diff from MaxOnline although SH has a much higher speed.

I enjoyed faster speed when watching You tube, using torrent, surfing foreign sites. maxonline lag a lot and you tube don't even steam realtime... I'm really happy with 3MB MIO plan.

outer92
09-04-2007, 10:27 PM
Yo outer92.. U dun have any problems right with MIO...?? I am one of those unaffected one.. Very stable liao... Heng... If house phone cannot get tru, so far once.. Restart the box can liao..

i dont have any problem with mio voice . very stable. in case my 2wire modem spoilt , i still have spare modem. :yawn:

dxzqthief
10-04-2007, 05:43 PM
i have no problems with MIO :)
juz set up yesterday and the technician was very friendly too!
help me set up my other phone scokets too so tt i can use it or else only one socket can be used only.

felime
10-04-2007, 06:15 PM
same here. i have no problems with mio. internet running well and mio voice digitally clear and no echoes.

sumako
11-04-2007, 06:44 PM
anyone know how to enable DMZplus for all comp thats connected to the MIO box?

http://img92.imageshack.us/img92/5648/untitledwd1.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

laihuattan
12-04-2007, 12:52 AM
Is the wireless network on MIO modem secure and had default password and ID on? I'm not using wireless but the light keeps blinking indicating there is some activity going on.

Can I just disable the wireless network... and if I wanted to set up the password.. how do I do it? thanks

outer92
12-04-2007, 03:06 AM
Is the wireless network on MIO modem secure and had default password and ID on? I'm not using wireless but the light keeps blinking indicating there is some activity going on.

Can I just disable the wireless network... and if I wanted to set up the password.. how do I do it? thanks
its at the serial no barcode, but in the middle 10 digit number.
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y87/outer95/Clipboard01.jpg

disable wireless netword , log in to http://192.168.1.254
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y87/outer95/Clipboard02.jpg

outer92
12-04-2007, 06:49 PM
anyone know how to enable DMZplus for all comp thats connected to the MIO box?

You can only enable one computer at a time when using DMZ plus mode unless you have static IPs. The reason for this is that when a computer is placed into DMZ Plus mode it is assigned the WAN (internet side) IP address. If you only have one WAN IP address you can only have one computer in DMZ Plus mode, if you have 2 then you may have 2 computers in DMZ Plus mode and so on.

sumako
15-04-2007, 08:12 PM
will this connection work for MIO plan with MIO voice?

2700HGV-2 (disable router) > Dlink DIR-655 > comp

for the above setup, will my MIO voice and internet work? :o

outer92
15-04-2007, 08:17 PM
will this connection work for MIO plan with MIO voice?

2700HGV-2 (disable router) > Dlink DIR-655 (disable router for 2700HGV-2) > comp

for the above setup, will my MIO voice and internet work? :o

if you set to bridge mode, you will lose all functionality of the unit, including VoIP

sumako
15-04-2007, 09:01 PM
if you set to bridge mode, you will lose all functionality of the unit, including VoIPomg...then is there any 3 party device to replace this 2700HGV-2 while my VoIP still works?

this 2700HGV-2 cmi de. im using 10mbps plan and loading photo from oversea website is lagging very hell. :(

guile
16-04-2007, 04:56 AM
Am i right to say if you are intending to use your own router, or plan to get the new wireless N routers, it is best to retain your analogue lines and just pay for usage because you lose Mio voice if Mio box is set to bridge mode?

Another thing, is it possible to test Mio voice digital to see if the wiring in your hosue is parallel first and if its not, change back to analogue line and just pay for outgoing usage?

outer92
16-04-2007, 06:44 AM
omg...then is there any 3 party device to replace this 2700HGV-2 while my VoIP still works?

this 2700HGV-2 cmi de. im using 10mbps plan and loading photo from oversea website is lagging very hell. :(

Phone: (+65) 6774 6233
http://www.dlink.com.sg/images/products/DVG-1120/DVG-1120_main.gif
http://www.dlink.com.sg/images/products/DVG-1120/DVG-1120_diagram.jpg

Product Features:
• Support QoS to Guarantee Voice Quality
• Two Voice Ports for Use with Standard Home Phones

Product Description:
The DVG-1120 is a VoIP Gateway equipped with two standard phone ports, one lifeline voice port for fail-over to standard phone services, one WAN Fast Ethernet 10/100BaseTX Port, and one LAN Fast Ethernet 10/100BaseTX Port.

With the integration of both voice and data, the DVG-1120 offers Small-to-Medium-Size Businesses (SMB) the ability to route data information into one end-to-end network solution. In addition to standard residential gateway data services, end-users are enabled with low-cost long-distance calling, faxing, and a host of advanced services including DVG-1120-to-Phone, Phone-to-DVG-1120, and DVG-1120-to-DVG-1120.

The DVG-1120 is compatible with xDSL and Cable-Modem Broadband service providers with built-in support for with DHCP Client, MAC Address Cloning, PPPoE, and multiple auto-provisioning methods.

The DVG-1120 has been tested with most major VoIP Softswitch vendors' Call Management systems. Devices such as the DVG-1120 require a Call Management system to function. These services are offered independently of D-Link, but are only required if user would like to use voice features of the DVG-1120.

For Internet connection sharing in your home the DVG-1120 offers support for up to 32 IP devices. Services offered to the internal home network are DHCP Server, Network Address Translation (NAT), and IPSEC pass-thru. Because the DVG-1120 shares your single ISP IP address, it masks the local users' IP addresses from the outside world, preventing intruders and hackers from gaining access to network resources, data files or personal information.

The DVG-1120 has voice support that includes hardware based Quality of Service (QoS), voice compression (popular voice CODECs G.711-G.729e), echo cancellation, dynamic latency (jitter) buffers, silence suppression, and comfort noise generation.

The DVG-1120 features can be remotely configured using the convenient and secure Web-based Interface. For diagnostics features, the DVG-1120 has management-at-a-glance LEDs on the front panel, and over 100 real-time statistics.

See how this product fits into your network solutionClick here to see Success Stories from actual D-Link customersFree Tech Support Monday to Friday, 6am to 6pm PST

dxzqthief
16-04-2007, 08:55 AM
my mio has been working well so far but then there is a slight problem.

The situation is as follow:
when im using my internet (ethernet connection) and my sis is using the internet too (wireless connection), the modem will sometimes DC when shes using wireless to stream youtube or other applications tt requires high bandwidth. However, when im using it alone to stream youtube thru ethernet connection nothing will happen.

jornado
16-04-2007, 11:46 PM
so how do we solve the echo problem? call them down and rewire the line? DECT phone user here..

sumako
17-04-2007, 01:46 AM
Phone: (+65) 6774 6233
http://www.dlink.com.sg/images/products/DVG-1120/DVG-1120_main.gif
http://www.dlink.com.sg/images/products/DVG-1120/DVG-1120_diagram.jpg

Product Features:
• Support QoS to Guarantee Voice Quality
• Two Voice Ports for Use with Standard Home Phones

Product Description:
The DVG-1120 is a VoIP Gateway equipped with two standard phone ports, one lifeline voice port for fail-over to standard phone services, one WAN Fast Ethernet 10/100BaseTX Port, and one LAN Fast Ethernet 10/100BaseTX Port.

With the integration of both voice and data, the DVG-1120 offers Small-to-Medium-Size Businesses (SMB) the ability to route data information into one end-to-end network solution. In addition to standard residential gateway data services, end-users are enabled with low-cost long-distance calling, faxing, and a host of advanced services including DVG-1120-to-Phone, Phone-to-DVG-1120, and DVG-1120-to-DVG-1120.

The DVG-1120 is compatible with xDSL and Cable-Modem Broadband service providers with built-in support for with DHCP Client, MAC Address Cloning, PPPoE, and multiple auto-provisioning methods.

The DVG-1120 has been tested with most major VoIP Softswitch vendors' Call Management systems. Devices such as the DVG-1120 require a Call Management system to function. These services are offered independently of D-Link, but are only required if user would like to use voice features of the DVG-1120.

For Internet connection sharing in your home the DVG-1120 offers support for up to 32 IP devices. Services offered to the internal home network are DHCP Server, Network Address Translation (NAT), and IPSEC pass-thru. Because the DVG-1120 shares your single ISP IP address, it masks the local users' IP addresses from the outside world, preventing intruders and hackers from gaining access to network resources, data files or personal information.

The DVG-1120 has voice support that includes hardware based Quality of Service (QoS), voice compression (popular voice CODECs G.711-G.729e), echo cancellation, dynamic latency (jitter) buffers, silence suppression, and comfort noise generation.

The DVG-1120 features can be remotely configured using the convenient and secure Web-based Interface. For diagnostics features, the DVG-1120 has management-at-a-glance LEDs on the front panel, and over 100 real-time statistics.

See how this product fits into your network solutionClick here to see Success Stories from actual D-Link customersFree Tech Support Monday to Friday, 6am to 6pm PSTthanks pal!!!!!!!!!!

this is definitely what i had been looking for for the past 2 weeks. :D

outer92
17-04-2007, 06:17 AM
so how do we solve the echo problem? call them down and rewire the line? DECT phone user here..

try this ! take out P1P2 adapter and normal adapter from your mio modem and connect your dect phone direct to mio modem .

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y87/outer95/Clipboard04.jpg

guesswho80
17-04-2007, 10:09 AM
try this ! take out P1P2 adapter and normal adapter from your mio modem and connect your dect phone direct to mio modem .

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y87/outer95/Clipboard04.jpgHow abt I need to connect up more telephones using the two telephone outlets in my house? How do I connect up to prevent the echo sound at my caller end?

outer92
17-04-2007, 08:08 PM
How abt I need to connect up more telephones using the two telephone outlets in my house? How do I connect up to prevent the echo sound at my caller end?
if you still want to use every room phone socket , still have echo sound . call singtel for rewire your phone socket or just buy dect phone will do.

nickwh
18-04-2007, 12:51 AM
if you still want to use every room phone socket , still have echo sound . call singtel for rewire your phone socket or just buy dect phone will do.

Does this mean that DECT phones will resolve all problems of echo heard by callers to our home number which is powered by MIO Voice?

If DECT phone is the solution then it'd be rather costly for me coz i have 4 telephone outlets in the home.....hmmm.

outer92
18-04-2007, 06:03 AM
Does this mean that DECT phones will resolve all problems of echo heard by callers to our home number which is powered by MIO Voice?

If DECT phone is the solution then it'd be rather costly for me coz i have 4 telephone outlets in the home.....hmmm.

for my case i use dect phone , i dont have any echo flying around,test first before buy dect phone, use analog phone connect to mio modem and testing

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y87/outer95/Clipboard04.jpg

crx84
18-04-2007, 10:08 PM
any bro here own a pda? i was using linksys modem router previously and i use my pda and check email sometimes when my desktop isn't switch on. but after changing to mio i can't get my pda to connect at all? why is it so?

kaiallard
01-05-2007, 06:56 PM
my 2wire hg2700 has no stand so i must lie lie down flat... the installer guy did not bring it.

Y_Shun
01-05-2007, 07:59 PM
my 2wire hg2700 has no stand so i must lie lie down flat... the installer guy did not bring it.it shld be inside the box one ma...how can say never bring...

DevilChris
03-05-2007, 02:21 PM
Hi all,

may i know when the technician come to install the mio box, what should i take note of? Also does the MIO BOX 2700HGV comes with microfilter? if yes how many is there? ( enough of telco tai ji so must make sure they do everything next week when they come)

Thanks

hx
03-05-2007, 02:43 PM
Hi all,

may i know when the technician come to install the mio box, what should i take note of? Also does the MIO BOX 2700HGV comes with microfilter? if yes how many is there? ( enough of telco tai ji so must make sure they do everything next week when they come)

Thanks

test ur internet can work, wireless, and most impt all the telephones can work. They come with lots of microfilters (4 i think)

paperclipxx
03-05-2007, 03:52 PM
MIO sucks. I got caught with it and got to live in pain for next couple of months. I dont get the speed quoted, but "bonuses" of frequent disconnect. Morever, I can only go online using IE only, my dear Firefox was dead since converting to Mio.

Given choice again, I will get an ISP other than Singnet or Starhub.

desolated
03-05-2007, 04:30 PM
MIO sucks. I got caught with it and got to live in pain for next couple of months. I dont get the speed quoted, but "bonuses" of frequent disconnect. Morever, I can only go online using IE only, my dear Firefox was dead since converting to Mio.

sounds more like a s/w problem then MIO?

try using another browser like opera? or get a fresh install of firefox..

fre3dom85
17-05-2007, 03:40 PM
so now is there still quite alot of prob since launch?? i want to change leh, any yishun user here???

Geforce3
17-05-2007, 06:48 PM

sounds more like a software problem for the firefox and a line problem

paperclipxx
18-05-2007, 11:29 AM
Thanks guys.
I got the problem partially solved... I mean the connection is still inconsistent, but less frequent.
Painfully I format the HD and re-installed everything anew. Firefox is working now.

bloodymiko
18-05-2007, 11:40 AM
I know that one can only sign up for singtel MIO plan at any hello! Stores, Teleshop, SingTel Exclusive Retailers and via mio Hotline.... but what if the model i want is not available at the shop then how to sign up?

anyone experience this before? or what do i need to do? and how do i know which shops are singtel exclusive retailers? what abt those handphone shops which got the singtel sign board in their shops are considered singtel exclusive retailers???

liangtam
18-05-2007, 07:25 PM
Which particular model are you refering to?
If it is with regards to internet or Mio voice services, then there is only the Mio box - 2Wire Homeportal 2700HGV available.

Mobile phone wise, can always call up and enquire.

bloodymiko
21-05-2007, 03:31 PM
Which particular model are you refering to?
If it is with regards to internet or Mio voice services, then there is only the Mio box - 2Wire Homeportal 2700HGV available.

Mobile phone wise, can always call up and enquire.

if they dont have the particular model i want then how?? can go where else to find??? can get the MIO box from hello shop then go outisde shops to get the phone? but all under the same package MIO?

kelvinloh
24-05-2007, 09:42 PM
Is the digital voice of MIO able to support IVR? meaning can i use those cheap calling card with local number but calling overseas number? does it work on MIO? thanks

mr_voodoo
24-05-2007, 10:08 PM
Is the digital voice of MIO able to support IVR? meaning can i use those cheap calling card with local number but calling overseas number? does it work on MIO? thanksof coz it shud work...coz to the system it thinks you are calling local number,,

OdualO
25-05-2007, 07:18 PM
Does anyone know how to turn off the MIO box firewall? My azureus keep getting firewalled by it even after selecting DMZplus mode

deadsoul79
25-06-2007, 12:27 PM
i got a few questions to ask leh.

1) Currently i do not have any BB connection with Singnet nor Fixed line from Singtel. But i do have a 12 month contract with Singtel Mobile under the iTwo Plus Plan.

Singtel webby mentioned if i were to get a supplementary line, the subcription is 50% off for classic, premium 700/1500 and 10% for those Free incoming plans right ?

lets say i go sign up for the mio plan now...i apply for a new mobile line on the spot...

is it possible to CONVERT my exisiting mobile line to a supplementary line and enjoy the discounts then ?

2) Currently, I am using MOL Ultimate connection (30mbps) from Starfugs. Which SNBB speed is equivalent or faster than my current connection ?

3) Can Mio work with macs ???

Thanks in adv.

~WindzStriker~
06-07-2007, 05:40 PM
now now now...

i was on the verge of getting MIO liao until i came to Hardwarezone and read all those bad reviews seems like 90% r bad abt MIO...mayb the singtel ppl shld see these, see wad they gt to say...

anyway after reading abt MIO reviews, i decide not to get it liao, wads the point of saving like say $30 den call them come service which need $ too

outer92
06-07-2007, 07:12 PM
Does anyone know how to turn off the MIO box firewall? My azureus keep getting firewalled by it even after selecting DMZplus mode

you have to do portforward for azureus portforward link (http://www.portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/2wire/2700HG-V2/Azureus.htm)

expression
06-07-2007, 11:07 PM
now now now...

i was on the verge of getting MIO liao until i came to Hardwarezone and read all those bad reviews seems like 90% r bad abt MIO...mayb the singtel ppl shld see these, see wad they gt to say...

anyway after reading abt MIO reviews, i decide not to get it liao, wads the point of saving like say $30 den call them come service which need $ too

good move there

shsoh
13-07-2007, 09:36 AM
Ok I have enough of Mio. So many hung-ups and intermittent disconnections esp. after 11pm everyday when it is good as dead. I'm going to terminate my Mio once the contract is over. Perhaps I should even apply for it now.

paperclipxx
13-07-2007, 12:39 PM
Same here... got to continue to suffer for at least 18 months. Sob.

expression
13-07-2007, 01:05 PM
few yrs ago i had a lot of problem with pacnet... and it took more than 6 months for them to resolve my frequent disconnection issue. i did not pay my bills for many months until they resolved my problem. after they resolved the issue, they waived all outstanding bills which is quite a lot of $$$

gino
13-07-2007, 02:48 PM
I've had numerous hangs on the 2WIRE modem since the first day of MIO usage. 3 visits from Singtel and numerous conversations with them seem to have allowed a light at the end of the tunnel. While the first 2 visits were a total waste of time (nothing done in the first visit and only a physical change of the modem during the second), the 3rd visit from a senior tech seem to have pointed the fault to a corroded phone point in my home.

As we know, DSL connections are extremely sensitive to the distance to CO and the quality of the line itself. I was previously getting a throughput far lower than the one I have paid for and frequent disconnects/hang-ups. I swopped out one of the phone points in my home for the corroded one and that brought my bandwidth to about 8.5mbps which seems to be more acceptable.

That didn't quite eliminate the problem altogether as we had a few more disconnects/hang-ups after. We then had Singtel call us up and assured us that they recognize the problem and are actively fixing it. Since then, we have been ok for a week running now.

So guys, you may want to check the infrastructure in your home for starters if you are still interested to salvage the situation.

gino
13-07-2007, 02:54 PM
I've had numerous hangs on the 2WIRE modem since the first day of MIO usage. 3 visits from Singtel and numerous conversations with them seem to have allowed a light at the end of the tunnel. While the first 2 visits were a total waste of time (nothing done in the first visit and only a physical change of the modem during the second), the 3rd visit from a senior tech seem to have pointed the fault to a corroded phone point in my home.

As we know, DSL connections are extremely sensitive to the distance to CO and the quality of the line itself. I was previously getting a throughput far lower than the one I have paid for and frequent disconnects/hang-ups. I swopped out one of the phone points in my home for the corroded one and that brought my bandwidth to about 8.5mbps which seems to be more acceptable.

That didn't quite eliminate the problem altogether as we had a few more disconnects/hang-ups after. We then had Singtel call us up and assured us that they recognize the problem and are actively fixing it. Since then, we have been ok for a week running now.

So guys, you may want to check the infrastructure in your home for starters if you are still interested to salvage the situation.

flymypretty
13-07-2007, 03:47 PM

So how much have you been charged so far for the tech's service?

gino
14-07-2007, 03:49 PM
Not a single cent. They have all been free service. In fact, I had 3 weeks of my subscription fee taken off all in all for the trouble I have gone through.

Disclaimer: I don't work for Singtel nor any affiliated organization of Singtel. For the record, I'm still pretty unhappy about the inconvenience I have gone through to get it fixed. I'm only relieved that I don't have to go through more of it now that the connection is stable.

BlueDragon82
14-07-2007, 06:35 PM
Hi all,recently I just sign up Mio. But sometimes when ppl call to my house , the line will be cut off , when the person call 2nd time then I will be able to ans to call ? Anyone got this problem ?

~WindzStriker~
18-07-2007, 02:19 AM
Hi all,recently I just sign up Mio. But sometimes when ppl call to my house , the line will be cut off , when the person call 2nd time then I will be able to ans to call ? Anyone got this problem ?

hmm u just made a bad choice...lucky when i was abt to signed, so nearly, i decide to come to the forum to research abt Mio...just look at the numbersssssss of negative remarks, lucky i nv take up Mio

ongzihao
18-07-2007, 12:13 PM
To those mio users out there,

A few questions if you still suffer from the 2wire hanging. The main cause is they probably changed something backend (said the few technicians that came to my place). For myself, am the first few who got it installed. Only have problem recently (almost 2 mths if I never recall wrongly).

So I think it is resolved for my case. Here are the questions/advice:
1. Have you upgraded the firmware to the latest one provided by SNBB (Singnet Broadband)?
2. If after a firmware upgrade still persist, have you asked them to change you a new modem?
3. If after a new modem, the problem still persist, is heat generetion an issue for you? (It is for my case, though it may not be the cause but still the heat is enough to cook an egg especially I run it 24hrs and high traffic. I installed a blow fan over the box)
4. If after installing a fan over the miobox, the problem still persist, ask them to send their team of technicians down to check it out.

The above assumed that all other problems like bad phone line (physical), failure to install microfilters in all the phone sockets etc are not in the problem equation.

boonchunt
18-07-2007, 03:09 PM
so, should we take up mio? Still hesitating.... some no problems with it, but some do... is it worth to wait for singtel to solve the problem? I mainly need mio for broadband only, don't actually need the phone line, mobile etc.

in btw, can we connect Fon router to mio? sorry, a bit lost.

~WindzStriker~
18-07-2007, 03:44 PM
so, should we take up mio? Still hesitating.... some no problems with it, but some do... is it worth to wait for singtel to solve the problem? I mainly need mio for broadband only, don't actually need the phone line, mobile etc.

in btw, can we connect Fon router to mio? sorry, a bit lost.

u onli need for BB ?? den might as well get the seprate BB plans ???

ongzihao
18-07-2007, 05:13 PM
Yap agreed. Might as well get just the BB plan. Unless you are tempted by the deal by all the incentives by signing up with mio e.g. saving up to $50 or more for all 3 services, free incoming and etc. (Don't wanna list all just in case people think I am from Singtel, haha)

Yes, you can connect router to MIO. Put it to bridge mode and disable DHCP.

dUStyEX99
21-07-2007, 12:52 PM
hi everyone i am new here... i also use mio for a few months... i think MIO is really bad... i also i also gt a few vists by the technician... feq. dc, phone cannot use... there is my share of the MIO experience... am i the only one or is everyone affected... the mio download really slow... i facing high in games and long loading time for web pages... i was using singnet 3.5mpbs before signing up mio(10mbps)... y this speed is worse than the 3.5mpbs...

yourong
21-07-2007, 05:03 PM
hmm, ive got a question....i'm currently on Singnet bb(3mbps) and everything is going well.Will i have all these d/c problems or slow internet speed when i sign up with Mio?

Boner
15-08-2007, 05:54 PM
sounds bad.
My current contract with singnet is ending soon. I am still thinking of with provider to go to.
HUBSTATION or MIO.
Any advise?

ongzihao
15-08-2007, 08:11 PM
All in all the use of the 2wire is a bad move. The cause of problem in many. Anyway, all the problems can be solved. Mine recovered from the state of service disruption after a few steps I have done posted earlier.

xfiles_wolvie
16-08-2007, 11:44 AM

got microfilter/potsplitter?

deadsoul79
16-08-2007, 10:00 PM
wah so bad ah the MIO thingy. On 2nd thought i think i will stay with starhub MOL liao. no d/c no nothing. so problem free. =:p

anch1ang
17-08-2007, 09:35 AM
Nowadays my mio 10 mbit speed so slow... like snail crawling..
anyone facing the same problem?

Tradingeyes
17-08-2007, 11:57 AM
Those currently using starhub MOL and complaining about slow speeds should look at this thread and appreciate the connection you are having. :)

Chervelle
26-08-2007, 03:54 PM
is it true that mio has problems for houses with more than 1phone?

i have 4 phones in my house... all in different rooms... will the line quality be affected?

DJ_LuV
26-08-2007, 04:08 PM
is it true that mio has problems for houses with more than 1phone?

i have 4 phones in my house... all in different rooms... will the line quality be affected?No problem for me. I have 6 telephones in seperate rooms but all using one line..only...haha..Just make sure you have micro filters for all. :)

Fish_I_Am
28-08-2007, 11:20 AM
hey anyone know how to configure the modem(2700HGV-2) to connect wif nintendo DS wifi? coz last time when i change WEP open to WEP shared it can connect liao.. now suddenly cannot T_T

leogeo
01-09-2007, 09:50 AM
All in all the use of the 2wire is a bad move. The cause of problem in many. Anyway, all the problems can be solved. Mine recovered from the state of service disruption after a few steps I have done posted earlier.but signing up with mio = u have to use the 2wire modem rite?

wonderwall
02-09-2007, 10:09 PM
i have signed up for MIO.

One question to ask. I have 3 phone sockets in my house under the same line. The one in my living room would be use to connect to the MIO box. Can i still use the 2 phone sockets in other rooms to dial?

The person is coming to set up in 2 days time. What are the things to look out for?

Appreciate current MIO user advice.

seng2
03-09-2007, 04:00 PM
err...anyone know the password for accessing the 192.168.1.254/mdc page?

outer92
03-09-2007, 07:00 PM
err...anyone know the password for accessing the 192.168.1.254/mdc page?
password : 2wire

seng2
03-09-2007, 07:57 PM
password : 2wire
thanks:) Now just hope that i can get it to work with my linksys 54G

wonderwall
04-09-2007, 07:31 PM
i have signed up for MIO.

One question to ask. I have 3 phone sockets in my house under the same line. The one in my living room would be use to connect to the MIO box. Can i still use the 2 phone sockets in other rooms to dial?

The person is coming to set up in 2 days time. What are the things to look out for?

Appreciate current MIO user advice.

any advice?

DJ_LuV
04-09-2007, 08:08 PM
any advice?Depends on what you requested for when you applied for it. If you are going to convert to mio voice, there are two options...

1) can only use the one from the modem and the rest of the sockets will be dead
2) Can ask the technician to do a loopback from the modem to the socket so that the rest of the sockets can use mio voice too. However depending on the phone line layout of your house it may not work.

For me...I told them I don't want mio voice and i want to keep my analog line. Specifically asked them if the $25/quarter that I always pay for my analog line will be waived and they said yes. They said it will be under the mio plan.

icekachang72
05-09-2007, 02:56 PM
Depends on what you requested for when you applied for it. If you are going to convert to mio voice, there are two options...

1) can only use the one from the modem and the rest of the sockets will be dead
2) Can ask the technician to do a loopback from the modem to the socket so that the rest of the sockets can use mio voice too. However depending on the phone line layout of your house it may not work.

For me...I told them I don't want mio voice and i want to keep my analog line. Specifically asked them if the $25/quarter that I always pay for my analog line will be waived and they said yes. They said it will be under the mio plan.
I'm also considering signing up mio plan. I was told that in order for the rest of the phone points to work, a loop-back need to be done at no cost.

As for analog line, the advantage of it is we still can make/pick up call whenever there is a black out or when the modem is down. But need to pay for outgoing calls.

DJ_LuV
05-09-2007, 03:02 PM
I'm also considering signing up mio plan. I was told that in order for the rest of the phone points to work, a loop-back need to be done at no cost.

As for analog line, the advantage of it is we still can make/pick up call whenever there is a black out or when the modem is down. But need to pay for outgoing calls.you can not have mio voice at all but instead retain your analog line at no extra cost. (The $25/quarter you are pay for your analog line will also be waived)...so think of it as an "exchange" between mio voice and the analog line.

I will recommend you stay with analog line also....the only disadvantage is that you do not have free outgoing call..

wonderwall
05-09-2007, 03:34 PM
the person just came and setup the MIO thingy..

it looks good so far..i dont have echo on the telephone or so..
all phone sockets are working fine...

hopefully it stays this way :|

now how do i activate the miss call thingy?
if there is a miss call i want it to sms my phone..any help?

josephkjc
06-09-2007, 11:20 AM
Hi all,
Considering to sign up for MIO, despite reading so many problems with it.
Read that upgrading of HP only increases the mobile contract.
So like to ask if the following is correct...

For 24 mth contract (new Singtel users or <3 mths left of mobile & SNBB contracts)
1. During sign up :
MIO: 24mth contract left, Mobile also 24mth contract left

2. After 12mths, upgrade HP:
MIO: 12mth contract left, Mobile is 12mth left + additional 12mth contract

3. After another 12mths, upgrade HP:
MIO: 0mth contract left, Mobile is 12mth left + additional 12mth contract

For 30mth contract (<12 mths left of mobile & SNBB contracts)
1. During sign up :
MIO: 30mth contract left, Mobile also 30mth contract left

2. After 18mths, upgrade HP:
MIO: 12mth contract left, Mobile is 12mth left + additional 12mth contract

3. After another 12mths, upgrade HP:
MIO: 0mth contract left, Mobile is 12mth left + additional 12mth contract