View Full Version : Official Singtel Generation MIO Thread
josephkjc
06-09-2007, 11:22 AM
the person just came and setup the MIO thingy..
it looks good so far..i dont have echo on the telephone or so..
all phone sockets are working fine...
hopefully it stays this way :|
now how do i activate the miss call thingy?
if there is a miss call i want it to sms my phone..any help?
Hummm... you mean if there is a miss call to your house number, you can get an SMS on your HP?
Is this a 3mth free VAS or permernent free service?
wonderwall
06-09-2007, 07:24 PM
Hummm... you mean if there is a miss call to your house number, you can get an SMS on your HP?
i think this is a permanant service..
the 3month VAS did not state this.
but i can't confirm this.
Chaotic
08-09-2007, 11:58 AM
the past 6 months, i'm having problems with mio with the fixed line like disconnection/echos/one sided phone call. i have technicians come down 5-6 times already. any one else have such problems?
josephkjc
10-09-2007, 10:43 AM
I got a reply from Singtel. Its a permernent free service.
If there is a miss call to your house number, an sms is sent to the HP. BUT it does not show what is the caller's number. Only indicates a miss call.
josephkjc
10-09-2007, 10:45 AM
I was also informed that upgrading of mobile while will mean recontracting the MIO plan, its not only Mobile plan.
thiamhui
10-09-2007, 11:00 AM
I got a reply from Singtel. Its a permernent free service.
If there is a miss call to your house number, an sms is sent to the HP. BUT it does not show what is the caller's number. Only indicates a miss call.Hmm... The SMS I received got show caller's number...
"You received a call on your mio Voice from XXXXXXXX. This service is brought to you free by SingTel mio Service."
josephkjc
10-09-2007, 04:21 PM
Hmm... The SMS I received got show caller's number...
"You received a call on your mio Voice from XXXXXXXX. This service is brought to you free by SingTel mio Service."
:s11: maybe the person is not sure of this service
fiery_dragon89
12-09-2007, 11:10 PM
anybody suscribed to the MioTV yet?
icekachang72
13-09-2007, 04:19 PM
I was also informed that upgrading of mobile while will mean recontracting the MIO plan, its not only Mobile plan.
Past 2 weeks, I have been getting calls from Singnet to re-contract for my SNBB and also offer me Mio plan which I'm eligible. However, I still ponder whether the price will reduce after you sign up these contract which will tie you for the next 24 months ... I share my experience ..
Back in October 2005 when I signed up singnet1500@ $59.90, the 24 months contract entitles me a free 5 months of subscription. Barely 4 months into the contract, they reduce the price to $49.90 and subsequently $39.90 few months later ... that makes me bang balls ... even deducting the 5 months free subscriptions, i still lost out with the $39.90 plan in total ...
Will Mio plan also follow this kind of changes ... now at $69.29 (basic), scarly they drop to $59.90 in December, then those sign up recently will really #X@*&%^ !!!
padixiong
20-09-2007, 01:41 PM
mus I use the MIO plan modem given by them ?
or can I use my own ?
padixiong
21-09-2007, 09:54 AM
mus I use the MIO plan modem given by them ?
or can I use my own ?
hmm..
DJ_LuV
21-09-2007, 12:58 PM
hmm..
Depends on what you subscribed to. If it's surely broadband then can use any adsl2 modem... If you have services like mio voice then cannot must use the modem that came with it.
padixiong
21-09-2007, 07:08 PM
Depends on what you subscribed to. If it's surely broadband then can use any adsl2 modem... If you have services like mio voice then cannot must use the modem that came with it.
how to check ? cos is my mum subscribe de ..LOL..
anybody suscribed to the MioTV yet?
I do. wandering how to access the management page of the Ruckus VF2811 Wireless access point came with MioTV.
Anybody has idea?
DJ_LuV
23-09-2007, 04:06 PM
how to check ? cos is my mum subscribe de ..LOL..Are you using any phone (not the phone line from the socket) which plugs into the mio modem? heh....if not means you are not using mio voice.
drpanda
24-09-2007, 01:22 PM
anyone know where to access the mioTV remote DVR webpage? Asked mioTV staff they also don tknow
fitzz82
24-09-2007, 02:02 PM
anyone know where to access the mioTV remote DVR webpage? Asked mioTV staff they also don tknow
dun tink its up for public yet... but it works. :s13:
drpanda
25-09-2007, 02:21 AM
dun tink its up for public yet... but it works. :s13:it works? you have the link for it? can let me try? i want to remote record my TV show. :D
fitzz82
25-09-2007, 08:43 AM
hehehehehe
josephkjc
27-09-2007, 04:15 PM
%$@#&**%^$#(%*@
Singtel got special phone price for K810i for MIO plan sign ups!
Bought 2 weeks back at a higher price
blackburn1
27-09-2007, 05:17 PM
http://www.xtremeplace.com/yabbse/index.php?topic=46365.msg350724#msg350724
http://sausage.ath.cx/images/equatorhd1.jpg
http://sausage.ath.cx/images/equatorhd2.jpg
http://sausage.ath.cx/images/equatorhd3.jpg
Just got my Mio yesterday..Everything is fine tho. With 3Mbps, I can get the D/L speed about 200kB - 250kB. But the speed is like roller coaster, once it hit 250+, it will go all the way back down to 100kB and go up again. With SpeedTouch Wireless Router, I could hit 300kB+ all the time.
smsct
28-09-2007, 05:33 PM
Just got my Mio yesterday..Everything is fine tho. With 3Mbps, I can get the D/L speed about 200kB - 250kB. But the speed is like roller coaster, once it hit 250+, it will go all the way back down to 100kB and go up again. With SpeedTouch Wireless Router, I could hit 300kB+ all the time.
What BT client are you using ? Wired or wireless ?
using utorrent...Both SpeedTouch and 2Wire Speeds are on Wireless
steamywoks
29-09-2007, 01:28 AM
Miotv with recording function is heaven sent. Never have recording been so easy, just select the programme in the online guide and press record. For everyday recording of programme at a fixed time, the setting is once off. Recorded prog are all in the list, no sweat, child's play, fantastic ! No degradation of pic or sound quality, worth every cent paying for the recording function.
deadsoul79
01-10-2007, 12:38 AM
is it possible just to change my own adsl2 modem ?
I can always dun use the Mio Voice even it comes free...i jus need the internet connection and the HP line nia
steamywoks
01-10-2007, 01:19 AM
I need clarification from those using mio voice through their 2wire modem.
Is the phone connected to the phone port has a normal dial tone when u pick up the handset ?
As any phone can be plugged into the phone port, does this mean that the analog signal of the phone is converted in the modem and travels as voice over IP ?
If the above are yes,
I was thinking of splitting the single port signal from the modem phone port into a 4 port for 4 phones at different locations in the house. I am currently using a device to connect my analog line for 4 phones, all would ring and whichever is used will cause the remaining to be unusable.
SSnag
01-10-2007, 12:43 PM
i suppose miovoice dialtone sounds more like pabx tone compare to the analog tone
u can split as much as u wan from the phone port. do note quality might suffer, try to use 2pin rj11 instead of 4pin
josephkjc
01-10-2007, 02:28 PM
I just got mine installed on saturday
Is the phone connected to the phone port has a normal dial tone when u pick up the handset ? I need to check back home
As any phone can be plugged into the phone port, does this mean that the analog signal of the phone is converted in the modem and travels as voice over IP ? Yes
If the above are yes,
I was thinking of splitting the single port signal from the modem phone port into a 4 port for 4 phones at different locations in the house. I am currently using a device to connect my analog line for 4 phones, all would ring and whichever is used will cause the remaining to be unusable.
Don't you have phone jacks in other parts of the house?
The technician did a loopback for my house. The modem is in my studyroom and I can connect phones in all rooms of my house.
steamywoks
01-10-2007, 11:13 PM
Is the phone connected to the phone port has a normal dial tone when u pick up the handset ?
As any phone can be plugged into the phone port, does this mean that the analog signal of the phone is converted in the modem and travels as voice over IP ?
If the above are yes,
My ADSL line comes into my house, the 2 wires screwed to the screws of the phone wall jack. The 2 screws now have another cable to feed to the modem powering the miotv. The phone wall jack has a microfilter and a phone cable is connected. This phone cable actually goes to a splitter box to split the signal to 4 cables, these cables are already in use and runs to diff locations for the house. For my case, when the phone rings, all 4 phones are able to receive the call, whichever in use will cut the rest off.
As this is obvious to all that I am now on analog service and not on mio voice. I want to sign up for mio voice, and this mean that I need to feed the junction box with the 2 wire signals coming from the phone port of the modem, I am not sure if I am right ?????..........
I intend to sign up for mio voice so that I can stop paying the the rental of $25 dollars for 3 mths and also on usage charge using the analog line. I just need people to confirm that I can actually send the phone line to my this junction box......... I am a DIY person, never believe in paying for telco wiring in the house, all DIY so far, no problems with the ADSL line for miotv and using the same line for analog voice service.
specialist83
24-10-2007, 10:02 AM
Questions:
1) Is the Mio TV n Mio Box 2 seperate items? (Forgot to check when i was at the roadshow)
2) If Yes to Question 1, must they die die be side by side each other or can they be seperated? (as in mio tv in the living room while mio box in my study room - without any cabling required to n from these 2 boxes to each other)
Am asking these questions cos my mio installation is coming this friday. And IF they can be seperated from each other, i'll be able to put the mio box in my study room, connecting it thru direct cable to my computer. But IF they die die must be tgt in the living room den bo bian i'll have to get a wireless card for my old pc, wasting yet another $40 to $50 bucks.
Hope to get some help..!
alanchia67
24-10-2007, 10:09 AM
if you want miotv, what happens is that one port from the 2wire wireless router will be dedicated for miotv data. this data will be relayed to the miotv set top box.
how you connect between the 2wire and the stb depends on the location of these two. you have several choices:
1) direct connection using ethernet cable - regardless of distance. but you need to lay the cable between them.
2) bridging using homeplug - the homeplug is a bridge between ethernet and powerline. using a pair of homeplug, one near to 2wire (and connected using a short ethernet cable), the other near the stb (again connected using a short ethernet cable), the powerline in the house now forms a network for the 2 devices.
3) bridging using wireless - singtel used to provide a pair of ruckuss wireless bridge (i think they may still do this). instead of relying on powerline, the connection between them is via wifi.
you have to pay to get ruckuss/homeplug solution (known as wire-free solution).
see here
http://mio.singtel.com/miotv/about_getting-started.asp
http://mio.singtel.com/miotv/faqs.asp
if you choose option 1, the wiring will be held to the wall with wall nails and covered with PVC casing. and wiring is provided at no extra costs.
specialist83
24-10-2007, 10:27 AM
tis is an awesomely fast fast response...thx a lot for the advise..! tink i must call singtel to check out how much will they be charging for the ruckuss/homeplug solution liao...
if it cost more than 50 for the solution den i guess it'll be better for me to juz get myself a linksys wireless g usb adaptor for my pc will do...
but like to hear some opinions from current users...which option will be the best n most recommended?
alanchia67
24-10-2007, 10:45 AM
if it cost more than 50 for the solution den i guess it'll be better for me to juz get myself a linksys wireless g usb adaptor for my pc will do...
you mean you want to use use usb wifi adapter for miotv? it doesnt work that way.
specialist83
24-10-2007, 04:15 PM
no la...wat i meant was i'll use the wireless usb adaptor on my pc to gain wireless access to the mio box...since my pc is in the study room...
and for the mio tv...it'll be just side by side the mio box in the living room...connecting by direct cable...
however just tot of one more question: if i were to ask them to set up the wire-free solution now...n let's say i'll be moving house in abt 2 years time...can the rj45 be reused at the new location? (DIY) or muz they re set up everything n charge me a fee again...
alanchia67
24-10-2007, 05:14 PM
moving house = relocated adsl line. there will be admin charges.
kusion
27-10-2007, 08:40 AM
i intend to sign up mio plan. i understand that singtel provide free installation setup if i subscribe for the mio tv. i would like to ask
1) six mth later, i cancel my mio tv, is there a change in installation setup since i return my DVR
2) are there any hidden charges or problem i will face if i cancel this mio tv.
thks
alanchia67
27-10-2007, 10:04 AM
if you sign up mio plan, you must choose a new handset.
Hollud
18-12-2007, 04:59 PM
Just had the technician come over and set-up the box. Took about a hour or so. Everything's up and running like a charm. Mum used the telephone (on MIO Voice) to call the customer service people about trying to get my living room phone socket working so that I can put the MIO box next to the MIO TV box (lots of boxes, yeah?).
Speed test!
http://www.speedtest.net/result/213162318.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Hollud
20-12-2007, 07:25 PM
Photographs of the MIO TV box vs. the StarHub HubStation box.
http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e291/Hollud/IMG_2985.jpg
http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e291/Hollud/IMG_2986.jpg
http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e291/Hollud/IMG_2987.jpg
http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e291/Hollud/IMG_2995.jpg
Hollud
20-12-2007, 07:26 PM
http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e291/Hollud/IMG_2996.jpg
http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e291/Hollud/IMG_2997.jpg
waitforyou
21-12-2007, 01:43 PM
just installed mio today. how to go about configuring to hit your speed? tks
Hollud
21-12-2007, 03:12 PM
just installed mio today. how to go about configuring to hit your speed? tks
I believe you would be referring to BT, yes?
The tricky thing with the 2WIRE router/modem is that it does not support UPNP. You have to manually configure the firewall to get the best speeds available to you.
You can try http://www.portforward.com/ for more information.
waitforyou
21-12-2007, 07:53 PM
I believe you would be referring to BT, yes?
The tricky thing with the 2WIRE router/modem is that it does not support UPNP. You have to manually configure the firewall to get the best speeds available to you.
You can try http://www.portforward.com/ for more information.
I followed the instruction but still don't hit the old speed. do I have to shut down and restart the modem?
liangtam
21-12-2007, 10:27 PM
Wa, lich!!!
Gotch hubstation :o
How much ish recording function of miotv?
technoglitz87
21-12-2007, 11:56 PM
one question to ask guys..if i have that mio thing plugged in, can i have my own modem working in my room while the mio thing in the living room?
Hollud
22-12-2007, 12:26 AM
I followed the instruction but still don't hit the old speed. do I have to shut down and restart the modem?
No. I think you might not be able to reach the speeds that you might have gotten in the past. You need to make sure that your BT program isn't randomising the ports else all that configuring would have gone to waste.
Make sure you've set it to just one port and leave it at that.
Otherwise, the only other way is to connect your old router to your MIO box. That requires a bit more technical handling. So unless you're not too familiar with all them settings, it would be best to be patient with what speeds you've got right now.
Wa, lich!!!
Gotch hubstation :o
How much ish recording function of miotv?
$10.70 per month. Unfortunately, you need to tell them that you want the DVR feature because it isn't available in the box that they will supply you. If you want DVR functionality, they will have to supply you another box.
leogeo
22-12-2007, 12:41 AM
i haf problems with my msn ever since i started using the miobox
it keeps dcing
any ideas?
Hollud
22-12-2007, 12:43 AM
one question to ask guys..if i have that mio thing plugged in, can i have my own modem working in my room while the mio thing in the living room?
Technically, the MIO box is just another DSL modem. And just like all other DSL modems, you will run into problems if you try to plug more than one modem into the wall. So it may not be a good idea if you want to plug in more than one modem.
Wireless will do fine in this case. Or there are other solutions, such at the HomePlug network adaptors from Aztech. Depends on what your usage requirements anyway.
technoglitz87
22-12-2007, 02:28 AM
wah liddat die leh..the miotv nids the miobox rite...my living room nids it for miotv..while i want to run through lan in my room..how sia..die.
Hollud
22-12-2007, 04:14 AM
wah liddat die leh..the miotv nids the miobox rite...my living room nids it for miotv..while i want to run through lan in my room..how sia..die.
Yes, the MIO TV box does need a direct connect to the MIO box for it to work smoothly.
An option you could take into consideration is the HomePlug offered by Aztech (otherwise known as PowerLine, or other such terminology coined by network manufacturers). Buy a pair of these and you can use your home's power supply as a form of LAN. That way, you get the benefits of LAN speeds without the messy LAN wiring.
But do bear in mind that cost can be a factor, especially when choosing the higher speed version of such products. A pair of fast ones (about 180 - 200 Mbps) can set you back about $200+.
technoglitz87
22-12-2007, 07:45 PM
one last question...can request dun use their miobox as modem but use my own modem for my broadband? or die die mus use?
leogeo
22-12-2007, 10:51 PM
one last question...can request dun use their miobox as modem but use my own modem for my broadband? or die die mus use?if i'm not wrong, die die must use
alanchia67
23-12-2007, 12:16 AM
one last question...can request dun use their miobox as modem but use my own modem for my broadband? or die die mus use?
if w/o miotv, you have plenty of choices.
Hollud
23-12-2007, 12:23 AM
Unless you opted to have your phone line converted to MIO Voice (digital), then you must use the MIO Box. This is because your phone has to be connected to the MIO Box as your phone signal is now done digitally.
If you opted to keep your analogue line (a.k.a. plugging directly into the wall), then you can feel free to shove the MIO Box to one side and use your standard modem and router. Although do bear in mind that if you are using one of the higher speed plans, you will need an ADSL2+ compatible modem.
alanchia67
23-12-2007, 01:03 AM
it was discussed before, you can use other voip adapter for mio voice.
waitforyou
23-12-2007, 03:04 AM
No. I think you might not be able to reach the speeds that you might have gotten in the past. You need to make sure that your BT program isn't randomising the ports else all that configuring would have gone to waste.
Make sure you've set it to just one port and leave it at that.
Otherwise, the only other way is to connect your old router to your MIO box. That requires a bit more technical handling. So unless you're not too familiar with all them settings, it would be best to be patient with what speeds you've got right now.
Thanks for the advice, guess I will stick with what I have and wait for miraculous:s22:
starkarat
05-01-2008, 04:11 PM
anyone knows if i were to take up 10Mbps as part the of mio plan...will i be eligible for this promo (http://www.rewardslink.com.sg/singnet.html)?
alanchia67
05-01-2008, 04:17 PM
anyone knows if i were to take up 10Mbps as part the of mio plan...will i be eligible for this promo (http://www.rewardslink.com.sg/singnet.html)?
definitely not. mio plan is already a discounted plan (ie no 'freebies').
starkarat
05-01-2008, 04:18 PM
damn.
but thanks for the quick reply anyway.
Nyquist
05-01-2008, 07:26 PM
Hi, I'm currently a MOBB subscriber @ 12mbps, decided to change to mio 8mbps plan cuz its cheaper. I do understand that there will be people coming over to my place to install stuff, are there anything that i need to change in my tcp/ip? cuz i do understand that cable and adsl are 2 different things. Cable does not use proxy whereas DSL uses proxy? So are there anything that i need to configure? Also i'm using the d Link Dir-655 router, Any changes need to be made to the router?
Hollud
05-01-2008, 09:41 PM
Hi, I'm currently a MOBB subscriber @ 12mbps, decided to change to mio 8mbps plan cuz its cheaper. I do understand that there will be people coming over to my place to install stuff, are there anything that i need to change in my tcp/ip? cuz i do understand that cable and adsl are 2 different things. Cable does not use proxy whereas DSL uses proxy? So are there anything that i need to configure? Also i'm using the d Link Dir-655 router, Any changes need to be made to the router?
Unless you're using a USB modem, you don't need to configure the proxy for your computer. It will be automatically configured by the router.
If you are signing up with MIO, you will be getting the MIO router/modem as part of the package. Chances are you will have to configure the MIO router/modem to work together with your D-Link router if you want to continue to use it. There is a way to do it, but it will take a bit of poking around the configuration pages of each router.
Nyquist
05-01-2008, 11:46 PM
Unless you're using a USB modem, you don't need to configure the proxy for your computer. It will be automatically configured by the router.
If you are signing up with MIO, you will be getting the MIO router/modem as part of the package. Chances are you will have to configure the MIO router/modem to work together with your D-Link router if you want to continue to use it. There is a way to do it, but it will take a bit of poking around the configuration pages of each router.
Wow. Won't that be abit of a hassle den? :s11:
applefreak
06-01-2008, 12:15 AM
MIO provides an integrated modem so you won't need a router
unless your home is quite big and you are far away from the modem :)
Nyquist
06-01-2008, 03:49 PM
MIO provides an integrated modem so you won't need a router
unless your home is quite big and you are far away from the modem :)
But i just bought the router :s7: i heard can use the mio's router as a bridge? how does that work?
Francis85
06-01-2008, 04:01 PM
yes you can but you need to pay more ask HELLO shop people.....
alice9
11-01-2008, 12:35 AM
HELP....my mio voice call can't call out...is my 1st day using and got problems.......zzzzzz got dc dunno how many times too
Francis85
11-01-2008, 06:24 AM
HELP....my mio voice call can't call out...is my 1st day using and got problems.......zzzzzz got dc dunno how many times too
Try calling up singtel i suspect that the exchange haven do their job or your modem is faulty.....
guards80
13-01-2008, 11:25 AM
hi guys i wan to ask something... if i buy a dect phone then i connect back as normal to the wall socket.. dun wan use mio box. so can i possible to make call?
Francis85
13-01-2008, 01:39 PM
hi guys i wan to ask something... if i buy a dect phone then i connect back as normal to the wall socket.. dun wan use mio box. so can i possible to make call?
If u are on voice the voice will come out from modem liao no use plug into wall sockets no tone must be behind modem.....
Revenent
20-01-2008, 08:21 PM
I have to Motorola Singtel MIO and after powering it on for one day during the date of installation, it now fails to power up. The standby light is on but no matter what i press it cannot power on. Is it faulty? If it is do i have to oay for it to get it replaced? It still under the 6mth trial....
syihabuddin
11-02-2008, 04:57 PM
you can plug your phone directly to the wall socket, provided that you have done a loopback, and have a microfilter installed on that socket you wish to put your dect phone on.
sachiel
13-02-2008, 01:00 AM
Just installed MIO TV on Tuesday due to their free 6 months promo.
I tried using speedtouch 536v6 router to connect but MIO box doesn't seem to register its signal. Any other settings I must do?
Thanks.
alanchia67
13-02-2008, 09:11 AM
remote dvr is working now. give it a try!
http://mio.singtel.com/miotv/promotion27.asp
alanchia67
13-02-2008, 09:18 AM
Just installed MIO TV on Tuesday due to their free 6 months promo.
I tried using speedtouch 536v6 router to connect but MIO box doesn't seem to register its signal. Any other settings I must do?
Thanks.
please check is vpi/vci, default singnet is 0/100. i cant remember exactly, have you tried changing to 1/100 or 2/100?
sachiel
13-02-2008, 10:43 AM
please check is vpi/vci, default singnet is 0/100. i cant remember exactly, have you tried changing to 1/100 or 2/100?
How to change this setting? I cant seem to find the option in the configuration page.
At the setup option, only 2 options available. 1. Routed PPPoE 0/100, 2. Bridge
alanchia67
13-02-2008, 11:55 AM
not sure are you aware, 'just follow law' is now free in vod.
seowbin
02-03-2008, 10:06 PM
wah...39 pages long thread
kind of lazy to go thru everything.. can expert here enlighten me regarding the mobile plan
1) Am i still able to sign 2yrs plan for my mobile plan? Do i need to pay additional bucks?
2) Am i still able to sign 2yrs plan for singtel BB plan to enjoy those 10mbps freebies? If so, do i need to pay additional bucks?
koreanlover
06-03-2008, 07:53 PM
I subscribed to Mio Plan (Mio Voice, TV, Mobile Line and Broadband) recently.
Sometimes I have problems accessing Internet through my browser.
I think it is caused by by brother using BT.
However, after he closes BT, I still cant access Internet for a long while.
Can I solve this problem by using the 2wire modem in bridge mode , then use my Linksys WRT54G with QoS using DD-WRT ?
I used the WRT54G with Starhub before I switched to the Mio plan.
My BT speeds are able to reach much faster speeds with SNBB (8 Mbps), as compared with Starhub (12Mbps).
Elspeth
06-03-2008, 10:22 PM
singtel mio bb still need to use microfilter guys? to attach to phone line
considering its a digital line and not analog anymore... will affect frequency?
alanchia67
06-03-2008, 11:11 PM
if there's no miovoice, you dont need microfilter (i guess). but if you have miovoice, you'll inject the analog signal back into the dsl digital line so that your phone sockets can be used. in this case, i'll say microfilter is required.
anyway, no harm trying with and without the microfilter for other phone sockets. you'll know the result from the statistics collected.
Elspeth
08-03-2008, 02:06 AM
how to tell from the statistics?
Elspeth
08-03-2008, 02:09 AM
sometimes my download spds drop to as low as 4mbps when tv is on ... using the mio setup topbox...
y is this so? download spds unstable can't maintain at 10mb as that's what i subscribed to... upload spds up to 600kbps onli... by rite shld be 1mbps upload rate rite?
Elspeth
08-03-2008, 01:36 PM
------------------
(http://www.bitscreens.com/public/viewer.php?file=0fep8xj33m28njwa8ohz.jpg)
[IMG]http://www.bitscreens.com/public/files/fwcbfk7skuqh1zdhopl9_thumb.jpg (http://www.bitscreens.com/public/viewer.php?file=fwcbfk7skuqh1zdhopl9.jpg)
(http://www.bitscreens.com/public/viewer.php?file=r88ufowtcj2cb6yf126s.jpg)
[IMG]http://www.bitscreens.com/public/files/r88ufowtcj2cb6yf126s_thumb.jpg (http://www.bitscreens.com/public/viewer.php?file=r88ufowtcj2cb6yf126s.jpg)
http://www.bitscreens.com/public/files/0fep8xj33m28njwa8ohz_thumb.jpg (http://www.bitscreens.com/public/viewer.php?file=0fep8xj33m28njwa8ohz.jpg)
[img=http://www.bitscreens.com/public/files/fwcbfk7skuqh1zdhopl9_thumb.jpg] (http://www.bitscreens.com/public/viewer.php?file=fwcbfk7skuqh1zdhopl9.jpg)
------------
So I've posted the line stats and diag... what does it show? any whre that's out of the norm?
supperking
13-05-2008, 10:12 PM
i've got connectivity problems ever since my mio box (the modem) got connected to the mio tv box (the one used to view mio tv). my internet as well as my residential phone just get disconnected intermittently, and can happen as frequent as once per 20minutes. this happens even though i've tried to disconnect the mio tv box and use it as just a modem. the weird thing is that the lights on the mio box are all still there (including internet and phone) but it's not getting any data sent.
i dunno what could be the problem because i've never got any connectivity issues with my mio box before that, as long as the mio box is switched on 24/7. my usual download speed goes up to 300kb/s but when the issue occurs is slowly goes down to 0kb/s, but instead of getting disconnected, it then stays at 0kb/s for a while and then start increasing again. but now my speed does not even go up to more than 80kb/s. (i'm using a 3 megabit connection).
can anyone help me with the problem? i will like to know the basic connection for just making my internet and residential phones work. (i'm not using any router so the modem is connected to my com directly, but there seems to be more than enough wires and 2wire devices connected behind. and all my phones are connected to the filter.)
liangtam
14-05-2008, 12:34 AM
Does mioTV gets disrupted? If not, likely your PC problem.
Hollud
14-05-2008, 08:20 PM
can anyone help me with the problem? i will like to know the basic connection for just making my internet and residential phones work. (i'm not using any router so the modem is connected to my com directly, but there seems to be more than enough wires and 2wire devices connected behind. and all my phones are connected to the filter.)
Filter? That would mean you're still hanging on to your old, analogue telephone line, yes?
Simply put, just make sure all your sockets have microfilters EXCEPT the one that your 2WIRE box is connected to. It's best to use a new telephone cable instead of the one that you've been using for donkey years with your 2WIRE.
I haven't had much problem on my end with MIO Voice. Being directly connected to the 2WIRE box, does that mean you're connected via Ethernet? How about your wireless users in your home?
You can try restarting the 2WIRE box from the control panel. If you're savvy with poking around the user interface, just give the box a restart and see how it goes. I give my box a restart every now and then just to keep things fresh.
Make sure you're not set to auto-disconnect or anything. It's best to remain connected all the time, since there is an option within the 2WIRE configuration page to set how long you want to stay connected.
gt_5454
06-06-2008, 01:17 PM
Hi guys.... My Singnet contract is due for renewal soon... and I am thinking of applying for the MIO plan which includes home phone, mobile and broadband...
Heard that when it was 1st launched, there were a lot of complaints about instability issues , hang and stuff.... Can the current users advise me whether is it reasonably stable now after so long? And any tips for me? like I remembered someone telling me not to opt for the digital voice but choose to reatain my analouge line instead? any pros and cons for that? thanks in advance
oyebto
06-06-2008, 02:39 PM
i realli think combining miotv and mio plan is a bad idea. the bandwidth is crazy.
andyqkw
06-06-2008, 11:17 PM
i realli think combining miotv and mio plan is a bad idea. the bandwidth is crazy.
I've subscribe to both mio and mioTV any they do not act crazy on me.
gt_5454
07-06-2008, 07:26 AM
any other comments ? I don't need mio tv ... only need internet and residential line
oyebto
07-06-2008, 08:31 AM
any other comments ? I don't need mio tv ... only need internet and residential line
den MIO is definitely for u. do prepare to get a wireless router in case though. :) but the savings still cant be compared.
gt_5454
07-06-2008, 05:18 PM
den MIO is definitely for u. do prepare to get a wireless router in case though. :) but the savings still cant be compared.
Thanks for your comments... why do I need to get a wireless router? Does MIO comes with one? Is it stable? heard lots of complaints about the 2wire last time... nowadays like less complaints...Is it more stable now or people give up already?
gnome
13-06-2008, 01:39 AM
Hi, need to increase the range of the white mio box (not certain which model) as my room is quite far from the location of the mio box.
any router to recmd?
jus plug and play?
do i need to set the mio box to "bridge mode"?
using miovoice as well..
thanks.
tidalstorm
16-06-2008, 01:19 AM
got 1 query here:
I am on SNBB 10mpbs plan (still under contract with 12 mths remaining).... Wanted to go MIO plan (3mpbs). I understand I can sign the MIO plan (30 mths contract) cos of my SNBB still under contract.... Do I need to pay penalty for jumping 10mbps to 3mbps MIO plan?
Thanks.
SweetObscurity
16-06-2008, 03:24 PM
I have a few questions to ask but too lazy to scroll through 12 pages for the answers, so I'm sorry if its a repeated question.
I signed up for MIOTV (kinda regretted since i haven't heard any pros but cons) and they are going to give me a free modem which is MIOTV compatible. My broadband isn't under MIO plan, so i was wondering if i could use my old modem to run the internet and the new modem to run the MIOTV?
Cos i dun want my broadband to go bonkers if MIOTV got screwed.
Hope someone can answer me soon cos im thinking of getting MIO voice and if everything have to run on the same modem chances are I'd give it a miss.
Also is MIO really that bad? They said the programs are really boring and all. Just hope there are shows like discovery channel and nat geo
aiyoyo
16-06-2008, 08:21 PM
got 1 query here:
I am on SNBB 10mpbs plan (still under contract with 12 mths remaining).... Wanted to go MIO plan (3mpbs). I understand I can sign the MIO plan (30 mths contract) cos of my SNBB still under contract.... Do I need to pay penalty for jumping 10mbps to 3mbps MIO plan?
Thanks.
I downgraded my SNBB 10mpbs plan, with 12 months remaining, to MIO plan 3mpbs. No penalty, but first MIO plan contract is 30 months instead of 24 months. Can re-contract MIO plan again after 18 months.
aiyoyo
16-06-2008, 08:24 PM
Hi, need to increase the range of the white mio box (not certain which model) as my room is quite far from the location of the mio box.
any router to recmd?
jus plug and play?
do i need to set the mio box to "bridge mode"?
using miovoice as well..
thanks.
Try to log into your Mio box. I think I saw one setting which can increase the transmitting power of the wifi.
Francis85
16-06-2008, 08:31 PM
I have a few questions to ask but too lazy to scroll through 12 pages for the answers, so I'm sorry if its a repeated question.
I signed up for MIOTV (kinda regretted since i haven't heard any pros but cons) and they are going to give me a free modem which is MIOTV compatible. My broadband isn't under MIO plan, so i was wondering if i could use my old modem to run the internet and the new modem to run the MIOTV?
Cos i dun want my broadband to go bonkers if MIOTV got screwed.
Hope someone can answer me soon cos im thinking of getting MIO voice and if everything have to run on the same modem chances are I'd give it a miss.
Also is MIO really that bad? They said the programs are really boring and all. Just hope there are shows like discovery channel and nat geo
Mio Voice all run on the same 2WIRE 2701 HGV-E modem, also need to on it all the time as telephone now going through modem, as well as MIO TV also on the same modem, as for using 2 modem at the same time, it is a no go as one ADSL number can only support one modem, you might be given a Speedtouch 536 modem if u are a singnet user then u are using the USB port liao coz ethernet going to be taken up by MIO TV, if is 2WIRE then no problems as got 4 ports for ethernet and can use wireless as well.
Francis85
16-06-2008, 08:32 PM
Try to log into your Mio box. I think I saw one setting which can increase the transmitting power of the wifi.
Try changing your wireless channel.....
Francis85
16-06-2008, 08:34 PM
Hi guys.... My Singnet contract is due for renewal soon... and I am thinking of applying for the MIO plan which includes home phone, mobile and broadband...
Heard that when it was 1st launched, there were a lot of complaints about instability issues , hang and stuff.... Can the current users advise me whether is it reasonably stable now after so long? And any tips for me? like I remembered someone telling me not to opt for the digital voice but choose to reatain my analouge line instead? any pros and cons for that? thanks in advance
Digital voice is good as can make unlimited calls in/out, but need to on modem all the time cannot off, analogue is can off the modem but u cannot make unlimited calls.
tidalstorm
16-06-2008, 08:48 PM
I downgraded my SNBB 10mpbs plan, with 12 months remaining, to MIO plan 3mpbs. No penalty, but first MIO plan contract is 30 months instead of 24 months. Can re-contract MIO plan again after 18 months.
thanks for the response... I called up MIO CSO, apparently, I cannot take up MIO plan as they say the I got a lappy from my SNBB 10mbps promo.... I only can get MIO plan when my SNBB contract is less than 3 mths.....
Anyone can confirm? as sometimes CSO also buay zhun wan...
thanks
aiyoyo
16-06-2008, 09:05 PM
thanks for the response... I called up MIO CSO, apparently, I cannot take up MIO plan as they say the I got a lappy from my SNBB 10mbps promo.... I only can get MIO plan when my SNBB contract is less than 3 mths.....
Anyone can confirm? as sometimes CSO also buay zhun wan...
thanks
Try calling the Mio hotline at 18005556000 during office hours.
In my case, I got the Sony 32" LCD TV, and still managed to downgrade from SNBB 10mbps to Mio Plan 3mbps 12 months early.
According to Mio Plan FAQ at http://home.singtel.com/mio/mio_plan_faqs.html
Q. I am an existing SingTel Mobile and SingNet customer. Can I change my existing plans to mio Plan?
A. Yes, as long as the remaining services have less than 12 months remaining contract, and you will have to sign up for a SingTel Fixed Line.
oyebto
16-06-2008, 09:13 PM
Thanks for your comments... why do I need to get a wireless router? Does MIO comes with one? Is it stable? heard lots of complaints about the 2wire last time... nowadays like less complaints...Is it more stable now or people give up already?
dun think they give up..theres a plan wad haha. i known ppl using another wiressless router even though the mio box have wireless cause they sae more stable.. but for my case, the mio box is stable enough so no need for so many devices.
dunkinpunk
16-06-2008, 09:23 PM
Hey i am quite nooby at all this wireless stuff and need u guys to enlighten me. If i buy a new computer and its too far to be connected by wire, and i have a mio set up box how do i enable it on my other computer such that it is able to get a connection from the mio set up box.lik all the wireless stuff.
tidalstorm
17-06-2008, 12:29 AM
Try calling the Mio hotline at 18005556000 during office hours.
In my case, I got the Sony 32" LCD TV, and still managed to downgrade from SNBB 10mbps to Mio Plan 3mbps 12 months early.
According to Mio Plan FAQ at http://home.singtel.com/mio/mio_plan_faqs.html
thanks for the response...Good for you... I did call up the MIO hotline but got this answer.... Thing is, the CSO also dunno so she asked me to wait while she go check with someone and ended up telling me I cannot take up MIO plan as I got a lappy fr 10mbps snbb...
Anyway, who here dun take the freebies when sign up 10mbps snbb? Dun think there are many out there.... :s22:
Will call again later this week and see if I get a different answer..... Unless I kena the same CSO loh...:s8:
luckykenzo
26-06-2008, 03:52 PM
hi all,
my mio contract is ending soon.
need advice as to recontract the mio plan, or split the mobile and broadband back to separate contracts to get more goodies.
now my mio is about 65 per month. split into 3mbps and classic plan is still about 65 bux.
the only thing is i get the fixed line nia.
thanx in advance.
layzibum22
26-06-2008, 07:41 PM
Any mio users encounter hamachi connection problems?
liangtam
26-06-2008, 07:44 PM
hamachi prob does not applies just to mio
leezihao
10-07-2008, 03:30 PM
I bet most of the regular users have seen this post upteen times, but seemingly there is no answer to this question.
Can any kind soul please clarify whether there are still anymore outstanding issues with the mio box, because most of the forum that I visited is pretty outdated and the response to the mio box during the initial introduction wasn't all that good.
This is the most up to date forum i have seen so far but there seems to be no more complaint abt the mio box with residential line, internet connection prob. The trouble only sets in if one subscribe to mio tv as well??
So anyone got any comments to say about the service of the mio plan (good or bad) will be greatly appreciated. :D
newbie1983
13-07-2008, 05:57 PM
I have been having very bad signal quality with the mio 2wire box wireless network. Is it significantly better if I use a 3rd party router? such as dlink, linksys or netgear? thanks
ramdick
15-07-2008, 05:49 AM
I have a landline broadband contract to end in 1 months time.
I will contract a new Singtel mobile line soon.
My house has a regular fixed line telephone.
I will probably sign a MIO plan for the savings.
Question : Can i retain my broadband setup, on a ST536 modem. Can i retain my regular fixed line home phone? Or i MUST switch over to a MIO box. I have no intention of using the MIO box for any TV programs. In effect, can i just sign up a MIO plan & sell off the MIO modem ?
jas1701
15-07-2008, 10:54 AM
I have a landline broadband contract to end in 1 months time.
I will contract a new Singtel mobile line soon.
My house has a regular fixed line telephone.
I will probably sign a MIO plan for the savings.
Question : Can i retain my broadband setup, on a ST536 modem. Can i retain my regular fixed line home phone? Or i MUST switch over to a MIO box. I have no intention of using the MIO box for any TV programs. In effect, can i just sign up a MIO plan & sell off the MIO modem ?
You cant retain your ST modem. The MIO box will consist your fixed line and wireless modem. MIO status by now shld be very stable liao compare to when it was initially launch. My in-law so far had been using it and never encounter any problem till date.
1 disadvantage is when power trip or the MIO box faulty, Internet and fixed line connection will be down. Power trip still not so bad but when the box is faulty, quite troublesome as you have to call them down or bring it to their service center.
If together with MIO TV, might encounter problem on the lagging.
stanny
15-07-2008, 11:01 AM
Hi all, quick one. My landlord has Singtel broadband, I think it's on the MIO plan cause the modem is from MIO. The wireless modem has been striked by lightning. What should I do? Buy new ADSL2 wireless modem or is there somewhere I can get it replaced for free?
Hollud
15-07-2008, 02:57 PM
If together with MIO TV, might encounter problem on the lagging.
Actually, I have MIO TV, which I use to watch HD5 during nice movies on Sunday evenings.
Overall, surfing experience is not impacted during the use of MIO TV. It may take a hit if you use bandwidth intensive applications (e.g. torrents, video streaming, etc.). However, I haven't encountered any problems so far...
... except for the occasional stuttering on HD5. But it's every now and then and doesn't affect the viewing experience.
jas1701
15-07-2008, 02:58 PM
Hi all, quick one. My landlord has Singtel broadband, I think it's on the MIO plan cause the modem is from MIO. The wireless modem has been striked by lightning. What should I do? Buy new ADSL2 wireless modem or is there somewhere I can get it replaced for free?
If it is within 1 yr, is still under warranty. Have to call Singtel and arrange for the tech to come down with a replacement set.
halth
15-07-2008, 06:15 PM
Would just like to check if anyone still has a problem with MioVoice?
I've done a loopback as instructed by the Singtel Tech but the incessant buzzing noise on all the phones are still there and am driving me nuts.
Thus, I am thinking of getting a refund on the MioVoice. Has anyone dones this before?
outer92
15-07-2008, 10:40 PM
I've done a loopback as instructed by the Singtel Tech but the incessant buzzing noise on all the phones are still there and am driving me nuts.
Thus, I am thinking of getting a refund on the MioVoice. Has anyone dones this before?
you will have to get dect phone that support multiple wireless handsets or engage line contractor to rewire your existing phone circuit . will solve your buzzing noise or echo problem.
neo1xavier
12-09-2008, 06:08 PM
Can i use SpeedTouch modem with MIO plan ?
if I retain the old Analouge Voice (NOT changing to Digital Mio Voice)
erwinrommel
12-09-2008, 10:38 PM
You need a DECT phone to reduce the echo issues. A DECT phone is very clear when I use Mio Voice to make local phone calls.
BTW, I see many people here flaming Mio Plan. I just want to add, I have 0 issues with them ever since day one of signing up, and I have recently recontracted (brings down the price from $77.50 to $63.80 for 8Mbps + i-one plus + Mio Voice) during Comex to get a Nokia E51 phone free.
In fact, my Mio plan has been so stable and cost-efficient that quite a number of my friends, colleagues and relatives actually came to my place and see how it works, before sinning up the Mio plan themselves!
liangtam
13-09-2008, 12:19 AM
The problem lies partly in the 'loopback'
saha-med
14-09-2008, 12:52 AM
hey guys i just wanna know...the singnet website says the 3mbps plan comes with an ethernet modem & also come with free miotv installation plus rental. So issit the mio box they give as the free ethernet modem???
Francis85
14-09-2008, 08:22 AM
hey guys i just wanna know...the singnet website says the 3mbps plan comes with an ethernet modem & also come with free miotv installation plus rental. So issit the mio box they give as the free ethernet modem???
Nope ethernet modem is the Speedtouch 536V6 modem....... Integrated wireless modem then is mio box......
Francis85
14-09-2008, 08:24 AM
The problem lies partly in the 'loopback'
Microfilter looping got problems, unless you have split looping like me, I did that for all my installations last time........ so far 0 or very little problems, problems is due to user internal wiring kanna shorted......
saha-med
14-09-2008, 08:34 AM
so if i opt for only ethernet modem...i cant use tv and pc at the same time??? only if i buy a router right?
Francis85
14-09-2008, 08:50 AM
so if i opt for only ethernet modem...i cant use tv and pc at the same time??? only if i buy a router right?
Nope on ethernet modem, is like that ethernet port goes for MIO TV, then USB port will be for internet, also some brothers here have try to connect to a switch for MIO TV and it works this way can surf and watch TV at the same time, using ethernet port on switch instead of USB port.......
liangtam
14-09-2008, 11:20 AM
what ish split looping? using outer pair wiring of tel line ah?
Francis85
14-09-2008, 11:35 AM
what ish split looping? using outer pair wiring of tel line ah?
Blue Orange Voice Signal, Brown Green spare pair for DSL lor, u also technician mah should know......
liangtam
14-09-2008, 11:46 AM
Blue Orange Voice Signal, Brown Green spare pair for DSL lor, u also technician mah should know......
err, no, i no work for singtel or any of its subcontractor wor.
i ish onli a user :)
Francis85
14-09-2008, 12:00 PM
err, no, i no work for singtel or any of its subcontractor wor.
i ish onli a user :)
sorry mistaken u for albert.......
mac_oasis
15-09-2008, 12:42 AM
Hi Bros,
I have just sub to 10mbps Mio plan, how can i disable the router function on the 2wire modem and use my existing Dlink DIR655 ??
mac_oasis
15-09-2008, 06:06 PM
Hi Bros,
I have just sub to 10mbps Mio plan, how can i disable the router function on the 2wire modem and use my existing Dlink DIR655 ??
Any advice on this?
neo1xavier
22-09-2008, 01:50 AM
any bros on Mio plan,
yet able to surf using SpeedTouch modem
(NOT the Mio Digital Voice device)
Can share how's your experience ?
Thanks 8)
gv122184
22-09-2008, 10:46 AM
is there hidden charge?
smeowly
02-11-2008, 10:10 PM
hi, can anyone using mio advise whether it's worth-it signing up for it?
there are so many complaints on the internet but mostly from 2007... has singtel ironed all the problem out yet?
have been using starhub for the past 10 years since they were known as cyberway, but feel like switching as mio plan seems a lot cheaper!
tkdguru
03-11-2008, 11:32 AM
hi, can anyone using mio advise whether it's worth-it signing up for it?
there are so many complaints on the internet but mostly from 2007... has singtel ironed all the problem out yet?
have been using starhub for the past 10 years since they were known as cyberway, but feel like switching as mio plan seems a lot cheaper!
now the cheapest i think is $55+ for the 3-in-1, im gonna recontract mine soon. the cost saving i believe is mostly from the digital voice, take the cost as internet and hp services. my house not a lot of phone calls also so no pt paying nearly $10+ for landline every mth.
smeowly
03-11-2008, 11:53 AM
now the cheapest i think is $55+ for the 3-in-1, im gonna recontract mine soon. the cost saving i believe is mostly from the digital voice, take the cost as internet and hp services. my house not a lot of phone calls also so no pt paying nearly $10+ for landline every mth.
hi, so u didn't have very many problems with your internet connection? i heard it's very slow and keeps dc... yrs?
Arthurasr
10-11-2008, 01:55 AM
Just found out that the $100 off mobile phones for recontract has been quietly terminated as of saturday.
Was planning to recontract and get a new phone when this happened!
andyqkw
10-11-2008, 07:52 AM
On MIO's lowest end plan and have no issue on it been slow or DC...
lockks
10-11-2008, 08:16 AM
Just found out that the $100 off mobile phones for recontract has been quietly terminated as of saturday.
same here. & they didnt give free wireless modem or something. Wasted....strange singtel
cstanhwz
11-11-2008, 01:18 PM
Sat's plan is different from the usual. It is Mio TV + SNBB + home line. Therefore no S$100 discount.
The usual MIO plan is ST Mobile + SNBB = home line. This one got S$100.
But just call 18005556000 to clarify lah.
mlwang
11-11-2008, 02:30 PM
I think Sat Mio Home plan is very beneficial for those who have exisiting BB contract more more than 3 months, but less than 12 months, and are paying at higher rate.
For example, I have outstanding 9 months contract with Singtel, paying $79 for the 10Mbps. If I recontract with Mio Home, got to recontract 30 months, but I am paying only $59. This work out to be more than $200 savings for 9 months (including fixed line cost). And I kind of save on the recontract, cos the binding period is only 21 months (30 months - 9 months) for me. If I take the Miohome 8Mbps, I save more than $300 dollars.
Downside is that I need to stay on with Singtel for another 30 months.
So for those who have less than 1 year outstanding contract, and paying higher Singnet BB fee, this is a good deal if you dont mind staying on for another 30 months.
RedSuns85
11-11-2008, 04:18 PM
For all those using MIO, has all the issue regarading drop connections and stability been ironed out ?
Arthurasr
11-11-2008, 09:46 PM
Sat's plan is different from the usual. It is Mio TV + SNBB + home line. Therefore no S$100 discount.
The usual MIO plan is ST Mobile + SNBB = home line. This one got S$100.
But just call 18005556000 to clarify lah.
Yup I'm aware. I looked at the new Sat plan and wasn't really interested.
I think Singtel used the $100 off to rack up subscriber numbers, once done it was scrapped, like now.
jezzmatezz
11-11-2008, 10:52 PM
oh crap!
just enquired the other day and the hello shop staff told me of the additional 100 dollar voucher if u sign up.
Didnt know it was just a promotional period.
Hopefully sitex the offer something good.
Guys with mio plan. may i please check with u... How is the 2wire modem?
heard from several other forums that when it comes to BT its a major problem.
is it true
speeding_bullet
15-11-2008, 02:59 PM
oh crap!
just enquired the other day and the hello shop staff told me of the additional 100 dollar voucher if u sign up.
is it true
Wa lao why they remove the $100 discount! :s27:
tom&jerry
16-11-2008, 07:32 AM
oh crap!
is it true
illegal pirate sexposed!
albertchng
16-11-2008, 10:04 AM
is it true
Is TRUE if you do not practice self moderation, to strike a balance between all apps.
fatsonado
16-11-2008, 11:14 AM
How much is the actual price of home connect device that enable me to wireless connect mio to the set top box? Thks for any assistance. I gt mio plan $39.90 prmo + the 24 ch (19.90).
guynextdoor
16-11-2008, 11:05 PM
Hey guys, I've been using Mio for quite a few months without problems. However, recently I've been getting intermittent disconnections quite often. Do any pros have any idea whats the problem? I'm using the 2701HGV-E with 5.29.135.16 btw. Any help would be much appreciated ;)
albertchng
17-11-2008, 01:55 AM
Hey guys, I've been using Mio for quite a few months without problems. However, recently I've been getting intermittent disconnections quite often. Do any pros have any idea whats the problem? I'm using the 2701HGV-E with 5.29.135.16 btw. Any help would be much appreciated ;)
Create your own thread lah, dont hijack other's!
guynextdoor
17-11-2008, 08:34 PM
Create your own thread lah, dont hijack other's!
Well, it is the Official Singtel Generation MIO Thread right? I'm using MIO as well. I don't see what's wrong with posting my problem here so that other MIO users can help out if possible. That said, I don't have any intention of hijacking this thread at all if it came across as that, so I'll just ask around in the main forum then.
TowkayTan
01-12-2008, 05:54 PM
hey can someone enlighten me on this :
when i select a phone from singtelshop.com and click recontract; at the bottom of the popup shows this "additional $100 off applies to existing customers who completed 12-21 months contract."
I thought 100 dollar off is only applicable after 21 months? (besides mio plan subscribers). How come after 12 months can get 100 dollar off liao? So those who sign up after 21 mths shortchanged?
Hanwudi
02-12-2008, 09:50 AM
hey can someone enlighten me on this :
when i select a phone from singtelshop.com and click recontract; at the bottom of the popup shows this "additional $100 off applies to existing customers who completed 12-21 months contract."
I thought 100 dollar off is only applicable after 21 months? (besides mio plan subscribers). How come after 12 months can get 100 dollar off liao? So those who sign up after 21 mths shortchanged?
really? i wasted few months liao. damn.
TowkayTan
02-12-2008, 07:22 PM
i ask already 12 - 21 mths meaning 12 mth or 21 mth depending on the type of your contracts.
Mio: 12 mth $100 off
others: 21mth $100 off
Sorry for the confusion.
Hanwudi
03-12-2008, 09:43 AM
i ask already 12 - 21 mths meaning 12 mth or 21 mth depending on the type of your contracts.
Mio: 12 mth $100 off
others: 21mth $100 off
Sorry for the confusion.
oic, thanks:)
Carova.
03-12-2008, 10:06 PM
mio tv that comes free under mio plan enable us to watch what/how many channels?
i wanted to sign up for mio plan ( mobile / Home tel / Internet ) only but its bundled with mio Tv.
so, any restriction on watching channels or its free to view?
newplayer
14-12-2008, 01:44 AM
mio tv that comes free under mio plan enable us to watch what/how many channels?
i wanted to sign up for mio plan ( mobile / Home tel / Internet ) only but its bundled with mio Tv.
so, any restriction on watching channels or its free to view?
dun sign up for MIO coz its sucks and its only free 1 movie per mnth,their mio tv movie quite alot are old movies. and olso the internet realli sucks to the core,when u restart ur modem its take ages to reconnect back and very lag if u playing games like 2D or 3D games
mygoodlife
14-12-2008, 01:53 PM
Anyone has taken up hp upgrade for MIO Plan? If yes, when you did that, did your whole MIO Plan get recontracted for another 24 months?
I will be doing my hp upgrade soon and when I checked up with MIO sales support, they said that 24 months recontract for MIO plan applies. Is it true? I thought we only serve 24 months contract for mobile line only, but the 12 months contract for MIO Plan remains?
mlwang
14-12-2008, 03:39 PM
Just got my Mio TV set up under my recontracted Mio Home Plan for 3MB.
The modem boot up is normal as per my previous Singtel BB, did not detect any difference.'
Comparing with Starhub Hubstation, here is my initial impression of Singtel BB and Mio TVSTB.
Pros:
Program guide much easier to use than hubstation, DVR recording is a breeze, the Hubstation DVR function is a nightmare, many layers of menu to go in. For Mio TV, select the program, and press record once to record for that period, another time for series.
Mio TV STB supports HD5 free of charge, Starhub HD box need to pay monthly subscription.
HD movies on Mio TV STB looks good on my 720p Plasma, using HDMI cable.
Unlimited Video on Demand movies, same day DVD release, I find the movies are sufficient enough to keep me entertained for the moment.
Comparable Picture quality on Mio TV compared with normal RF.
Free selected matches of Italy A series soccer match for the previous week, not need to pay.
Cons:
Modem and STB are separate equipment, need to on 2 separate equipments.
Need to on and stablise modem first before turning on Mio STB, on else firmware of STB will be lost, and have to download the firmware again, takes about 15 mins, so newbies must be careful, or else long wait.
Boot of up Mio TV a bit slow, takes about 3 minutes.
Screen formating is not auto detection on the STB, have to trial and error on the screen formating of HD movie, does not seems to fit my 16:9 settings on my Panasonic Plasma, have to use 4:3 Full to fill my TV screen. This is a scaler issue on the STB.
Conclusion:
Though Mio TV STB is not perfect, the unlimited movies under Mio Home provides a good selection for existing Singnet users. The Mio Home includes free fixed line, which really entice those who do not want to give up their fixed line with Singtel. Overall, I am contended that I have made the switch, free unlimited movies, decent BB speed, free fixed line, DVR (paid 3 months, 9 months free), this package meets my need. Hope that future firmware patches of Singtel Mio TV STB will fix the slow starup and screen formating issue.
juelim
14-12-2008, 11:56 PM
Hi Guys,
I am currently a SNBB subscriber with an existing 2WIRE wireless modem/router.
If I were to switch to the MIO plan, can the new wireles modem/router augment the existing one? i.e. one will be in my bedroom while the other can be in the living room. Since the mio-voice VOIP will require my phones to be connected to the modem/router, it will be good if the modems can co-exist in different locations of my house.
Can someone advise?
P/S: I was told by the Singtel staff that I can opt to keep my analog fixed line under this MIO package and choose not to use the VOIP one, albeit I will have to pay for the utilisation charges, which is insignificant. That might help in my case, but does anyone has bad experiences with the VOIP?
liangtam
15-12-2008, 01:41 AM
Mio TV STB supports HD5 free of charge, Starhub HD box need to pay monthly subscription.
There is monthly subscription. It is probably waived for ur plan a year or two.
mygoodlife
15-12-2008, 04:36 PM
Nobody did the hp upgrade for MIO Plan? If yes, please help clarify my enquiry on the recontract issue. Thanks
Anyone has taken up hp upgrade for MIO Plan? If yes, when you did that, did your whole MIO Plan get recontracted for another 24 months?
I will be doing my hp upgrade soon and when I checked up with MIO sales support, they said that 24 months recontract for MIO plan applies. Is it true? I thought we only serve 24 months contract for mobile line only, but the 12 months contract for MIO Plan remains?
expression
15-12-2008, 07:38 PM
My mio box just died... power light blinking and the rest no lights :(
Need a replacement
lovely_ru
17-12-2008, 09:18 PM
I just call in to SCO then they said that i have to wait till next yr jun then can change my phone. I sign my phone plan last yr dec and it is a 30mths plan. so i would like to check if it's true tat i can only change after 1 and a half yr cos when i sign-up for my plan the officer mention tat i would be able to change my hand-set in a yr time. So i am a bit confuse, i would like to ask how long is the correct time that i can change my phone:s11:
if anything info you would like to tell me email me at teomanru2003@yahoo.com.sg
phuque99
17-12-2008, 09:43 PM
Its in the contract that you signed.
coolfire
17-12-2008, 10:16 PM
The modem boot up is normal as per my previous Singtel BB, did not detect any difference.'
Comparing with Starhub Hubstation, here is my initial impression of Singtel BB and Mio TVSTB.
Pros:
Program guide much easier to use than hubstation, DVR recording is a breeze, the Hubstation DVR function is a nightmare, many layers of menu to go in. For Mio TV, select the program, and press record once to record for that period, another time for series.
Unlimited Video on Demand movies, same day DVD release, I find the movies are sufficient enough to keep me entertained for the moment.
Free selected matches of Italy A series soccer match for the previous week, not need to pay.
Cons:
Need to on and stablise modem first before turning on Mio STB, on else firmware of STB will be lost, and have to download the firmware again, takes about 15 mins, so newbies must be careful, or else long wait.
Screen formating is not auto detection on the STB, have to trial and error on the screen formating of HD movie, does not seems to fit my 16:9 settings on my Panasonic Plasma, have to use 4:3 Full to fill my TV screen. This is a scaler issue on the STB.
Conclusion:
Though Mio TV STB is not perfect, the unlimited movies under Mio Home provides a good selection for existing Singnet users. The Mio Home includes free fixed line, which really entice those who do not want to give up their fixed line with Singtel. Overall, I am contended that I have made the switch, free unlimited movies, decent BB speed, free fixed line, DVR (paid 3 months, 9 months free), this package meets my need. Hope that future firmware patches of Singtel Mio TV STB will fix the slow starup and screen formating issue.
WOW... Thanks for the fair, unbiased review of your Mio plan. I'm planning to re-contract my 10mbps snbb & upgrade to the mio one. Appreciate it lots! ;)
chunlianghere
17-12-2008, 10:40 PM
Pros:
Cons:
Conclusion:
er..can i hav a screenshot of the bill of your mioHome? cos i wan to know whether is there a need to pay tat $25 per 3mths if change to mioHome.
thanks.
marjay
18-12-2008, 12:33 AM
i am not sure what are the unlimited movie refer to.
gibass
18-12-2008, 01:49 AM
Unlimited movies refers to any title under the section Video On Demand.
gibs
boiboi86
18-12-2008, 02:30 AM
there is no additional charge of $25 per 3 months for the fixed line
Francis85
18-12-2008, 06:11 AM
Unlimited movies refers to any title under the section Video On Demand.
gibs
You sure........ and not those under FREE FOR THE MONTH............ better to call and ask, or else go in liao ask u pay you thought free and bill come you will suffer............
outer92
18-12-2008, 07:01 AM
You sure........ and not those under FREE FOR THE MONTH............ better to call and ask, or else go in liao ask u pay you thought free and bill come you will suffer............
Unlimited movies not those from free for the month . can choose any title under the section Video On Demand.
lovely_ru
18-12-2008, 10:36 AM
Its in the contract that you signed.
so you mean i can only change upgrade my handphone next yr june:s11:
OR should i just try and clarify again?
Anyone meet the same problem as me?
PM or email me plz.
teomanru2003@yahoo.com.sg
gibass
18-12-2008, 11:56 AM
For MIO TV, if you only got Singnet Broadband, you're only entitled to 2 free VOD titles per month. However, if you got MIO HOME, you'll get all the VOD for free. Be careful though, you're still charged for On Demand Channels, which is a different thing. Just be careful when you're buying titles :s13:
Free for the month is free for anyone. You can watch it a million times and still won't be charged for them.
BTW: Something caught my eye while reading the terms and conditions of the Unlimited VOD Titles, they said that it is up to them to decide whether your free VOD usage is legitimate or not, in the case in which is excessive. lol.
gibs
icequeenz
18-12-2008, 05:55 PM
I just call in to SCO then they said that i have to wait till next yr jun then can change my phone. I sign my phone plan last yr dec and it is a 30mths plan. so i would like to check if it's true tat i can only change after 1 and a half yr cos when i sign-up for my plan the officer mention tat i would be able to change my hand-set in a yr time. So i am a bit confuse, i would like to ask how long is the correct time that i can change my phone:s11:
if anything info you would like to tell me email me at teomanru2003@yahoo.com.sg
30mth plan MIO plan right? I have the same one.....the actual thing is that u can only up your phone 1year before your contract end.
coolfire
18-12-2008, 10:46 PM
WOW... Thanks for the fair, unbiased review of your Mio plan. I'm planning to re-contract my 10mbps snbb & upgrade to the mio one. Appreciate it lots! ;)
Just an update...
Took the plunge & upgraded my extg 10mbps snbb to mio home/tv (add 9.95/mth) earlier today. Got the 3-in-1 deal plus wireless for mio tv. Installation on 27 Dec 08. ;)
lovely_ru
19-12-2008, 12:43 AM
30mth plan MIO plan right? I have the same one.....the actual thing is that u can only up your phone 1year before your contract end.
oh..izzit.sad man.did you call in and ask?
cus tat wasn't wat the officer told me when i sign up for my plan:(
i tot i could change my phone now..:(
anyway,
icequeenz
19-12-2008, 10:38 AM
no didn't call.
Read this in Mio Plan FAQs:
Are there any special handset offers with this mio Plan?
Yes. You are able to get a CI2 handset price even when you have a minimum 12 months balance contract for your existing mobile line.
But anyway their officers always blur abt whats going on one lar. I signed my plan at last yr's xmas road show outside takashimaya...irked me that I seemed to know more abt their products than the sales themselves. o.O
aiyoyo
19-12-2008, 11:06 AM
I also under 30 month contract for Mio Plan, as I had downgraded my SNBB speed early.
I can only re-contract Mio Plan at 18th month, ie when contract has 12 months left.
For normal Mio Plan contract of 24 months, can re-contract every 12 months.
One attraction of Mio Plan is that we can buy mobile phone at promotion price during each Mio Plan re-contract.
chunlianghere
19-12-2008, 12:30 PM
I also under 30 month contract for Mio Plan, as I had downgraded my SNBB speed early.
I can only re-contract Mio Plan at 18th month, ie when contract has 12 months left.
For normal Mio Plan contract of 24 months, can re-contract every 12 months.
One attraction of Mio Plan is that we can buy mobile phone at promotion price during each Mio Plan re-contract.
emm...where is the promotion price of mobile? last time i like saw it. but now donno go where liao.
oh ya..so now my mobile contract already pass 1 year ler, so can recontract plan n get phone? thanks.
aiyoyo
19-12-2008, 12:46 PM
emm...where is the promotion price of mobile? last time i like saw it. but now donno go where liao.
oh ya..so now my mobile contract already pass 1 year ler, so can recontract plan n get phone? thanks.
http://home.singtel.com/mio/mio_plan_faqs.html
For mobile phone promotion prices, see the newspaper adverts.
mlwang
19-12-2008, 01:03 PM
Just an update...
Took the plunge & upgraded my extg 10mbps snbb to mio home/tv (add 9.95/mth) earlier today. Got the 3-in-1 deal plus wireless for mio tv. Installation on 27 Dec 08. ;)
Glad that my review helps u made the decision :) Make sure you test all the Mio TV and your telephone line during the installation, make a call in and call your home line usng a mobile.
I have slight issue with my fixed line after the installation, can call out, cannot call in, waiting for the technician to come and check today.
For others, the unlimited movies are those under Video On Demand, you can find the list of movies from Singtel Mio TV website.
Well, the clause say that Singtel has a right to limit the number of movies if the users watch excessively, think they want to prevent commercial users from exploiting from these freebies, eg coffee shops or Karaoke lounge.
But each day only 24 hours, assuming each movie takes 2 hr, if you watch the movies 24 hrs non stop, 360 movies per month, however it will burn a hole on your electricity bill too. So I think normal users should not worry too much about this clause, dont think we will breach it.
chunlianghere
19-12-2008, 05:41 PM
some qns to ask..
err..lets say i wan to sign up mioHome, than my current mobile plan is eligible for 12mths upgrade. but becos of my broadband, i'm eligible for 30mths mio contract(which i check through *1626 sms). so can i get tat "annual phone upgrade" when i sign up?
thanks.
coolfire
19-12-2008, 05:46 PM
Glad that my review helps u made the decision :) Make sure you test all the Mio TV and your telephone line during the installation, make a call in and call your home line usng a mobile.
I have slight issue with my fixed line after the installation, can call out, cannot call in, waiting for the technician to come and check today.
For others, the unlimited movies are those under Video On Demand, you can find the list of movies from Singtel Mio TV website.
Well, the clause say that Singtel has a right to limit the number of movies if the users watch excessively, think they want to prevent commercial users from exploiting from these freebies, eg coffee shops or Karaoke lounge.
But each day only 24 hours, assuming each movie takes 2 hr, if you watch the movies 24 hrs non stop, 360 movies per month, however it will burn a hole on your electricity bill too. So I think normal users should not worry too much about this clause, dont think we will breach it.
Thank you very much for your invaluable advice, mate! Will take extra care & make sure i will check my incoming & outgoing calls & channels (not forgetting my BB connection!)
Cheers! :D
lovely_ru
20-12-2008, 12:14 AM
some qns to ask..
err..lets say i wan to sign up mioHome, than my current mobile plan is eligible for 12mths upgrade. but becos of my broadband, i'm eligible for 30mths mio contract(which i check through *1626 sms). so can i get tat "annual phone upgrade" when i sign up?
thanks.
If i am not wrong you will hav to wait for the 18mths for the upgrade of handset cos you hav to hav a minimum of 12mths b4 you can change ur phone. Check the posts above to understand more:D
icequeenz
20-12-2008, 12:49 AM
doesn't matter 24mth or 30mth contracts.
What stinktel mean by "annual phone upgrade" is actually "phone upgrade at advertised prices 1 year before your contract ends".
Which is also sometimes interpreted as "waiver off $100 handset upgrade charge", because in usual cases upgrading your 24mth mobile contract at 12th mth will incur $100 on top of advertised handset price.
simple?
chunlianghere
20-12-2008, 07:05 AM
oh ok..thanks!
err..under mio plan FAQ, i hav to "purchase a handset". so tat handset is wit a plan is it? is it the same when i sign up for mioHome?
aiyoyo
20-12-2008, 12:44 PM
oh ok..thanks!
err..under mio plan FAQ, i hav to "purchase a handset". so tat handset is wit a plan is it? is it the same when i sign up for mioHome?
mioHome does not include mobile phone plan, as it is mio TV + SingNet BroadBand + SingTel Fixed Line.
mioPlan is the one that includes mobile phone plan.
mlwang
20-12-2008, 01:12 PM
hmm Saw the ad on Miohome today, under Mio TV the "Unlimited Video Demand" has changed to "Biggest selection of blockbuster movies", wonder what is the difference.
chunlianghere
20-12-2008, 05:19 PM
mioHome does not include mobile phone plan, as it is mio TV + SingNet BroadBand + SingTel Fixed Line.
mioPlan is the one that includes mobile phone plan.
ok..thanks for the doubt. actually i mean tat the priviledges for mobile or mobile plan.
example like for mio plan, got to purchase a phone, which i tink i can get any CI2 handset price + recontract..is it rite? n also can get phone every year wit CI2 price.
but mioHome can only get phone every year wit CI2 price only..also wit discount price plan.
hmm Saw the ad on Miohome today, under Mio TV the "Unlimited Video Demand" has changed to "Biggest selection of blockbuster movies", wonder what is the difference.
hmm..mayb i tink there r difference. cos "Unlimited Video Demand" is watchin it unlimited. but "Biggest selection of blockbuster movies" is there r many movies which is out on same day DVD release, also stil popular! :s13:
fatsonado
22-12-2008, 07:49 PM
Juz like to seek clarification. There is a HD movie under video on demand right? Are they free or not? Thanks for all advise.
killerer
23-12-2008, 11:06 PM
Hi everyone. Im thinking of going mio as well but a few questions needed first.
* can the 2wire router be configured to connect with a 'router configured as an Access Point' via Wireless Distribution System? I dun want to run cat5e cables.
* my router comes with a print server built in. u think i can still use this if the router is configured as an AP?
* Thanks all.
liangtam
24-12-2008, 12:02 AM
* can the 2wire router be configured to connect with a 'router configured as an Access Point' via Wireless Distribution System? I dun want to run cat5e cables.
No
*10 char*
killerer
24-12-2008, 09:12 AM
any other way to do this? i want to make use of the print server for home AND use mio...
kaisoon
26-12-2008, 06:03 PM
I experienced loud buzzing noise with Mio modem Loopback with my Dect Phone.
It is currently connected by loopback where my Dect phone can be accessed from any telephone point in my house instead of the direct telephone port of the MIO modem.
If use the Dect phone at the direct loop, it is very voice quality is very clear without buzzing background.
Any guys experienced the same problem?
Francis85
26-12-2008, 06:15 PM
I experienced loud buzzing noise with Mio modem Loopback with my Dect Phone.
It is currently connected by loopback where my Dect phone can be accessed from any telephone point in my house instead of the direct telephone port of the MIO modem.
If use the Dect phone at the direct loop, it is very voice quality is very clear without buzzing background.
Any guys experienced the same problem?
Microfilter looping.........
kaisoon
26-12-2008, 06:25 PM
Microfilter looping.........
I've already placed microfilter at the telephone wall sockets, same for the Mio modem socket.
How to overcome that the looping?
coolfire
28-12-2008, 11:34 AM
Just an update. Installation was carried out yesterday afternoon. Everything seems fine so far (touch wood)...
Just wondering whether or not to change my tv cables to hdmi one... =:p
killerer
29-12-2008, 08:18 AM
any1 here try to connect 2wire to wifi print server? any special configurations?
caspia
29-12-2008, 02:56 PM
all the video on demand (including the HD ones) shows are on 4:3 aspect ratio....
however, the HD channels like hd5, equatorial hd, voomhd are in widescreen format.
does anyone here face the same problem as me?
tried calling the technical helpline, they are clueless and cant offer any valid explanations
my screen settings is at 1080i....would appreciate your comments
yellowsubmarine
29-12-2008, 11:52 PM
Juz like to seek clarification. There is a HD movie under video on demand right? Are they free or not? Thanks for all advise.
Just installed Miotv last Saturday. I got a similar question too.
Those On-Demand-Channels (http://mio.singtel.com/miotv/channels-on-demand_rent-a-pack.asp) like Mei Ah, Picturebox, Pix Triller etc.. i have the word "Purchased" on the channel name under the Menu section.
So does that mean i can watch all of them and i don't need to pay extra to watch them?
mlwang
02-01-2009, 04:58 PM
Just installed Miotv last Saturday. I got a similar question too.
Those On-Demand-Channels (http://mio.singtel.com/miotv/channels-on-demand_rent-a-pack.asp) like Mei Ah, Picturebox, Pix Triller etc.. i have the word "Purchased" on the channel name under the Menu section.
So does that mean i can watch all of them and i don't need to pay extra to watch them?
The free items are the movies under Video On Demand, think the ones that you mentioned above are not free.
mlwang
02-01-2009, 05:00 PM
all the video on demand (including the HD ones) shows are on 4:3 aspect ratio....
however, the HD channels like hd5, equatorial hd, voomhd are in widescreen format.
does anyone here face the same problem as me?
tried calling the technical helpline, they are clueless and cant offer any valid explanations
my screen settings is at 1080i....would appreciate your comments
I use the feature "Stretch" in the mio TV menu to overcome the issue. Think the formating of the STB is a bit weird, hope it will be resolved with SW patch later.
mlwang
02-01-2009, 05:04 PM
Just an update. Installation was carried out yesterday afternoon. Everything seems fine so far (touch wood)...
Just wondering whether or not to change my tv cables to hdmi one... =:p
Change to HDMI cable if you are using HD TV, you will appreciate the good picture quality.
I can see the difference between my picture via RF and HDMI on the same channel content.
The HDMI cable via Mio TV looks sharper and more rich in color.
For cheap HDMI cables, check out www.monoprice.com, cheap and good, bought the cables and HDMI switch from them, so far so good. I am now looking for optical out cable to connect from Mio TV to my amplifer, so that I can have 5.1 surround sound when I watch HD5 and movies :)
mlwang
03-01-2009, 09:22 AM
Anyone noticed this? Wall E is featured on the Mio TV webpage for VID, but not available on the actual Mio TV yet? Same for The Hulk.
coolfire
04-01-2009, 02:00 PM
Change to HDMI cable if you are using HD TV, you will appreciate the good picture quality.
I can see the difference between my picture via RF and HDMI on the same channel content.
For cheap HDMI cables, check out www.monoprice.com, cheap and good, bought the cables and HDMI switch from them, so far so good. I am now looking for optical out cable to connect from Mio TV to my amplifer, so that I can have 5.1 surround sound when I watch HD5 and movies :)
Thanks for the advice, dude!:s12:
forgottened
16-01-2009, 11:40 PM
both wall e n thehulk avaliable for me..
at least i saw it in video on demand page on my mio tv
gumzgumz
23-01-2009, 03:56 PM
Hey guys, i live in the east and quite frustrated with starhub's turtle speed. Decided to try singtel and signed up for the basic mio plan. Also drafted a to-do checklist when the installing man comes on 31st Jan 2009
Fixed Line:
test outgoing calls
test incoming calls and check for difference in ringing tone
check number of rings before line gets cut off
Off/On mio box and repeat checksBroadband:
My setup is currently a cabled desktop to the mio box and a laptop accessing the web wirelessly.
Obtain the router model for portfowarding
Obtain the router url to set wireless security. (Is it WAP?)
Navigate to speedtest.net to check d/l and u/l speeds
Test fixed line call quality when connected to the net
Off/On computer and repeat checks
Off/On mio box and repeat checksAny comments on my checklist? As i'm a first-time SNBB user i'm not sure if any dial-up before connecting to the internet and proxy setup needs to be done. Any comments are greatly appreciated!!!
liangtam
23-01-2009, 08:57 PM
Theres nothing to be done.
The installer will handle everything. Well, you can always check the speed on the spot if you wan, tho they will probably do it first.
I'm sure this has been answered before but this thread is too long, and i'm not sure what exactly to search for. So apologies in advance!
I subcscribed to Mio Home (TV, Fixed Line + Broadband) during the December promo. I was told that I'd be given unlimited access to certain videos (or was it channels), provided I did not watch them excessively.
What channels/videos are those exactly? I've been surfing arnd the menus, and see there are "Free for the month" videos, which are obviously free. Other videos like movies have a price displayed, so I assume you have to pay.
Can anyone explain what exactly is "Free" as part of the promo, and what's a useful, working definition of non-excessive use?
Thanks!
mlwang
25-01-2009, 12:14 PM
The unlimited Free access is to the "Video On Demand" movies.
You can find the movies under the menu "Video On Demand". Dont think the channels are free.
Ignore the price for the movies under the Video On Demand, selecting the movie will say that you need to pay, but the amount will be rebated at end of billing cycle (confirmed as I saw rebates in my latest bills).
The excessive part is up to Singtel interpretation and our defence. One day got 24 hrs, and assuming you sleep 8 hrs per day, you are left with 16 hours, and assuming you do nothing but to watch movies for the 16 hours, max is 8-10 movies per day. But who has time for that?
I think if you are working, max is 2 movies per day, not working, then 4 movies per day, which means 60 -120 movies per month, which personally I think is reasonable.
My personal experience is 2 movies per week, dont have that much time to watch anyway.
hey thanks for your help! very helpful! really appreciate it!
When does the promo end? Or is it on "till further notice"?
The unlimited Free access is to the "Video On Demand" movies.
You can find the movies under the menu "Video On Demand". Dont think the channels are free.
Ignore the price for the movies under the Video On Demand, selecting the movie will say that you need to pay, but the amount will be rebated at end of billing cycle (confirmed as I saw rebates in my latest bills).
The excessive part is up to Singtel interpretation and our defence. One day got 24 hrs, and assuming you sleep 8 hrs per day, you are left with 16 hours, and assuming you do nothing but to watch movies for the 16 hours, max is 8-10 movies per day. But who has time for that?
I think if you are working, max is 2 movies per day, not working, then 4 movies per day, which means 60 -120 movies per month, which personally I think is reasonable.
My personal experience is 2 movies per week, dont have that much time to watch anyway.
mlwang
26-01-2009, 12:30 PM
the unlimited VOD is only applicable to those who sign up during the promo period, it ended before xmas.
Once u signed up, it is going to be valid for your contract term with Singtel.
For me, it is going to be free 30 mths of unlimited VOD movies access.
Take a look at the service agreement that you signed with Singtel, must see "Unlimited VOD".
If not very sure, suggest calling MioTV hotline to check
the unlimited VOD is only applicable to those who sign up during the promo period, it ended before xmas.
Once u signed up, it is going to be valid for your contract term with Singtel.
For me, it is going to be free 30 mths of unlimited VOD movies access.
Take a look at the service agreement that you signed with Singtel, must see "Unlimited VOD".
If not very sure, suggest calling MioTV hotline to check
just checked and it's there in my contract for 24 mths.
ok thanks for clarifying!
gumzgumz
04-02-2009, 04:25 PM
i just signed up for mio plan basic (55.80/mth) few days back and here is my review based on my own experience:
Broadband
for someone who lives in the east and who has been with starhub for many years, i find this switch to be a good decision. i used to get RUBBISH d/l speeds even on its MOL ultimate (slow) plan. my downloads now are very much faster. the only gripe is that the savings i get may not turn out to be worthwhile after all since mio does not offer freebies during signup. which means to say that if you factor in the stuff u get when u sign for MOL or SNBB separately, you may end up with a better deal.
Mobile
for ppl who have corporate lines, this again may not translate into many dollar savings since ione plus is around 22/mth with discount
Fixed Line
ok this is where i think most of my cost savings come from. now there is no need to pay the rental from singtel for analougue fixed line. u get to enjoy unlimited local outgoing and incoming voice calls. flaw is that modem needs to be turned on 24/7, so no electricity means no phone calls. a dect phone is also required if u dun already own one. however monthly electricity consumption bill is low. some threads i have read with regards to mio voice have users complaining of 'echo', for me, i just had to turn down my handset volume.
So far have not experienced any problems. though installation was prompt, Installing man was not thorough. Had to self-test bb speeds and ask for the router homepage and decryption key. So i would not give the service high marks.
SpaceMonkey
17-02-2009, 11:58 PM
my dad also jumped from 3mbps to MIO basic plan (fixed line, mobile and 8mbpsBB) last year and so far i am happy with the speed.
before signing up with 3mbps SNBB 3 years ago, i was with starhub since the day they had their broadband trial. starhub was crawling like a green turtle for me so i decided to jump to SNBB. no complain. just that the MIO box always reset itself when i BT heavily.
steve dino
18-02-2009, 08:57 AM
I think you have to pay for VOD. However On Demand Channel is Free,
It's actually the other way around. Just checked my contract and it says "Video on Demand". :)
steve dino
19-02-2009, 08:31 AM
It's actually the other way around. Just checked my contract and it says "Video on Demand". :)
**** ! I was given the wrong info at hello store. THat why i upgrade my SNBB and not MIO Home plan. I need to call them liao :s11:
Carbuncle
24-02-2009, 01:34 AM
Hi everyone,
I subscribed to the Mio Plan sometime back in 2007. Will I be entitled to a $100 discount off the handset prices when I recontract and get a new phone? Does that happen every 12 months?
SpInErGy
24-02-2009, 04:05 AM
Sorry about this...
How to configure miotv to 1080i?
osmond19
24-02-2009, 12:21 PM
this website is from US? Where to get cheap HDMI locally? Juz wonder what is category 2 of HDMI cable? Can we use that?
mlwang
24-02-2009, 12:24 PM
Sorry about this...
How to configure miotv to 1080i?
Press menu, go under General settings, u will find something like screen settings.
If you off the power of the Mio TV, you have to repeat the steps again. The STB default is 4:3 Standard Definition.
mlwang
24-02-2009, 12:26 PM
this website is from US? Where to get cheap HDMI locally? Juz wonder what is category 2 of HDMI cable? Can we use that?
Indeed website if from US, can use Vpost or search under forum if some one is doing a MO.
Category 2 explanation from the website
Be ready for what the future has in store with our Monoprice HDMI 1.3a, Category 2 certified cables. These cables have been designed to meet the high bandwidth performance standards set by HDMI 1.3a and has passed stringent Category 2 testing. Monoprice cables are constructed to the highest quality with full triple layer shielding from end to end, strong, solid wire welds and the highest quality materials including high purity copper, gold plated connectors and tin plated conduits.
Basically for HDMI 1.3a, the latest standard that support deep color. I am using these cables though my TV does not support HDMI 1.3a, no issue.
mlwang
24-02-2009, 12:31 PM
**** ! I was given the wrong info at hello store. THat why i upgrade my SNBB and not MIO Home plan. I need to call them liao :s11:
Too bad the free video on demand promo has ended. Now is 1 year free 2x super saver pack, which I feel is more attractive than free VOD, I called up to try to change, but MioTV does not allow.
For your case, dont think Singnet will allow you to switch from SNBB to Mio Home Plan.
Depending on how desperate you want the Mio TV, You can try to explain your situation, you wanted Mio Home Plan, but was misled by the staff. Asked to speak to their manager if they don't allow you to change. If that failed, write in to complain that they lousy staff (quote the date, branch) had given you the wrong information and you are now stiucked with SNBB.
Hanwudi
25-02-2009, 07:45 AM
singtel is more keen on mio home then snbb.
I got a HDMI cable from Ebay Singapore for abt $15:
http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/NEW-HDMI-Cable-1-5metres-PS3-BLU-RAY-LCD-TV_W0QQitemZ310123518812QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_216?hash=item310123518812&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1240%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318
I think it works fine, and the specs look OK. But maybe there's a reason why it's cheaper? No complaints about qualit-it's still better than component-but am curious.
Indeed website if from US, can use Vpost or search under forum if some one is doing a MO.
Category 2 explanation from the website
Be ready for what the future has in store with our Monoprice HDMI 1.3a, Category 2 certified cables. These cables have been designed to meet the high bandwidth performance standards set by HDMI 1.3a and has passed stringent Category 2 testing. Monoprice cables are constructed to the highest quality with full triple layer shielding from end to end, strong, solid wire welds and the highest quality materials including high purity copper, gold plated connectors and tin plated conduits.
Basically for HDMI 1.3a, the latest standard that support deep color. I am using these cables though my TV does not support HDMI 1.3a, no issue.
singtel is more keen on mio home then snbb.
Not true. I have called up and was told that those on SNBB (whether you just signup or re-contract) and wanted to convert to MIO TV/plan now, minimum must fulfill 12 months contact before they allow you to convert to MIO.
Hanwudi
26-02-2009, 09:20 AM
Not true. I have called up and was told that those on SNBB (whether you just signup or re-contract) and wanted to convert to MIO TV/plan now, minimum must fulfill 12 months contact before they allow you to convert to MIO.
When i sign up for snbb at hello shop last month. they kept selling the mio home which i decline. while waiting for the activation of my snbb, sintel call me again to ask me switch to mio home.
so i think for the forumer above who was misled, can try request to switch to mio home.
steve dino
26-02-2009, 03:00 PM
Just upgraded to MIO Home and was given 2 VOD movies per month for 24 month & 1 year MIO TV super saver pack x2.
Question: I intend to use HDMI cable. Do i need to remove the compoennt and audio cable ?
Just upgraded to MIO Home and was given 2 VOD movies per month for 24 month & 1 year MIO TV super saver pack x2.
Question: I intend to use HDMI cable. Do i need to remove the compoennt and audio cable ?
You probably already figured this out. The answer is yes. The HDMI takes care of both video and audio.
Chua Hang Yang
13-03-2009, 05:34 PM
hi,
Would like to seek some advise from the experts here on SnigTel MIO bundle plan.
I am currently paying about $69/month for my MIO Basic Plan ( SNBB 3Mbps / mobile / fixed line ). Just now drop by a Singtel shop and was told I am eligible to re-contract my plan. They told me the “current promotion” is $55.8/month with the same exact package. That works out to be about $13 / momth in “saving”.
Just like to check if anyone also currently on MIO Basic Plan and looking forward to re-contract ? Is there any other better alternatives / plan to recommend ? ( if I am not interested in those VOD / Mio Home / Mio TV stuffs ).
Thanks in advance for any advise.
rogze79
13-03-2009, 11:39 PM
hi,
Would like to seek some advise from the experts here on SnigTel MIO bundle plan.
I am currently paying about $69/month for my MIO Basic Plan ( SNBB 3Mbps / mobile / fixed line ). Just now drop by a Singtel shop and was told I am eligible to re-contract my plan. They told me the “current promotion” is $55.8/month with the same exact package. That works out to be about $13 / momth in “saving”.
Just like to check if anyone also currently on MIO Basic Plan and looking forward to re-contract ? Is there any other better alternatives / plan to recommend ? ( if I am not interested in those VOD / Mio Home / Mio TV stuffs ).
Thanks in advance for any advise.
Hey Hang Yang..
I am in the same situation as u.
this is my plan.
1)starhub starters pack at 23.54
2) hubstation rental of 8.56
3) subtotal 32.10
4) another mobile line 26.00
5) total 58.10
I have cable tv, free 1 mb internet from the hubstation, free homeline( got the Voice enabled modem, and mobile line.)
Anyone has better alternatives? I;m open to lower costs..
anyone on Mio Home plan ?
regarding the aztech plug thingy.
mio modem > aztech plug.
Mio STB > aztech plug.
it works that way right.
so if i set the mio modem as bridge connect to my DIR-655. and still follow the abv connection. will it still works?
now too late already , the sales line close. for the plug it cost $50? any monthly extra fee or anything? or just a 1 time fee
I've tried to ask the tech guy over the phone. he dont know what is bridge mode.
danzodanzo
14-03-2009, 01:36 AM
Note if you want HD hubstation, it's $14.90/mth instead of the SD hubstation of $8.56/mth.
Hey Hang Yang..
this is my plan.
3) subtotal 32.10
5) total 58.10
I have cable tv, free 1 mb internet from the hubstation, free homeline( got the Voice enabled modem, and mobile line.)
Chua Hang Yang
17-03-2009, 09:49 PM
Hey Hang Yang..
this is my plan.
3) subtotal 32.10
5) total 58.10
hi, Rogze79
Thanks for sharing the info.:):):)
I was thinking of sticking back to Singtel.:s12:
Current Rate: 21651 kbs 1022 kbs
Max Rate: 22033 kbs 1132 kbs
Current Connection:
Current Noise Margin: 9.6 dB 11.6 dB
Current Attenuation: 12.4 dB 2.6 dB
Current Output Power: 16.7 dBm 11.3 dBm
is this ok?
rogze79
21-03-2009, 04:53 PM
hi, Rogze79
Thanks for sharing the info.:):):)
I was thinking of sticking back to Singtel.:s12:
hmm....what do u think of the mio plan at 55.80 ? 3 months free and $100 phone voucher ?
sounds good ? effective ard $48.80
got the starhub starters pack with setup box at under $22/month
total ard $70!
gumzgumz
23-03-2009, 10:38 AM
mio plan like bo hua liao....after SNBB slash price to 23/mth
MGeaR356
23-03-2009, 12:23 PM
hmm....what do u think of the mio plan at 55.80 ? 3 months free and $100 phone voucher ?
got the starhub starters pack with setup box at under $22/month
total ard $70!
bro where do u see this promotion?
mio plan at 55.80 ? 3 months free and $100 phone voucher ?
xianzshi
23-03-2009, 01:38 PM
Uh, just installed mio home, but it only appears that the phone in my room are able to use, the rest of the phone (not cordless phone) doesnt seem to work! any expert can help? =)
Your existing phone wiring in the house (existing sockets in the house) will not work.
All phones now must be, in some way, connected to the Mio box.
xianzshi
23-03-2009, 01:51 PM
thats the only way? the technician only advice using those "father-son" phone does it really help?
Yes that's the only way. All phones must be connected to the Mio Box.
Here's how the connection goes
Old phone line (ADSL) --> Mio Box --> Digital Phone lines --> Telephone.
As you can see, the old phone line now only serves as a ADSL line. It no longer carries the analog phone signal.
The multiple handset solution is the most convenient solution. They usually come with 2 or 3 handsets (with individual chanrgers) which use only 1 base-set. The base-set is connected to the Mio box, and the other sets can be placed at other parts of the house. Such phones cost about $100-$150 (two or 3 handsets).
The other option is to rewire your existing phone lines, and connect them to the Mio Box. If you can't do this yourself, you'll have to get a technician down. It'll cost as much as the previous solution, if not more.
xianzshi
23-03-2009, 03:20 PM
Yes that's the only way. All phones must be connected to the Mio Box.
Here's how the connection goes
Old phone line (ADSL) --> Mio Box --> Digital Phone lines --> Telephone.
As you can see, the old phone line now only serves as a ADSL line. It no longer carries the analog phone signal.
The multiple handset solution is the most convenient solution. They usually come with 2 or 3 handsets (with individual chanrgers) which use only 1 base-set. The base-set is connected to the Mio box, and the other sets can be placed at other parts of the house. Such phones cost about $100-$150 (two or 3 handsets).
The other option is to rewire your existing phone lines, and connect them to the Mio Box. If you can't do this yourself, you'll have to get a technician down. It'll cost as much as the previous solution, if not more.
oh gosh, thank you so much. but i encounter another prob, is that the mio box once in a while will restart on its own! and it willc ut off when i'm on the phone, why is this happening? should i call the technicians to replace another noe?
Hi! This is definitely not normal. I've had my Mio Box for about 2.5 months now and it's never restarted itself before. It's been on 24hrs non-stop.
So give Singtel a call.
andyqkw
24-03-2009, 03:16 PM
mio plan like bo hua liao....after SNBB slash price to 23/mth
Relax bro, i'm currently paying $69.29 for the Basic User plan and the sad thing is that i'm tied up for 30 months.
Contract ending next year Oct... :s27:
Now SingTel come up with this mio Home plan and after some calculation, seems like more worth to convert to this plan and keep a standalone mobile line.
Might convert after contract ends or wait for the launch of the new broadband network due next year to see how things work out first.
sptan3
24-03-2009, 04:07 PM
my dad also jumped from 3mbps to MIO basic plan (fixed line, mobile and 8mbpsBB) last year and so far i am happy with the speed.
before signing up with 3mbps SNBB 3 years ago, i was with starhub since the day they had their broadband trial. starhub was crawling like a green turtle for me so i decided to jump to SNBB. no complain. just that the MIO box always reset itself when i BT heavily.
SAF medical unit never use herbal healing, please seperate your crest! :s13:
gumzgumz
24-03-2009, 06:00 PM
Relax bro, i'm currently paying $69.29 for the Basic User plan and the sad thing is that i'm tied up for 30 months.
Contract ending next year Oct... :s27:
Now SingTel come up with this mio Home plan and after some calculation, seems like more worth to convert to this plan and keep a standalone mobile line.
Might convert after contract ends or wait for the launch of the new broadband network due next year to see how things work out first.
wah liew....aku jus sign up nia....singtel never even offer to at least upgrade BB speed for the mio plan basic package....like tt might as well sign up separately...
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.