View Full Version : Official Singtel Generation MIO Thread
whiteviper
27-05-2009, 09:10 AM
Hi all
I m a noob in IT stuff, would like to get some advice, preferably the most cost saving method.
I am moving into my new hse in 2 mths time; currently using singnet broadband contract expiring Jun 2010.
Q: Do i need to relocate the broadband to the new hse and incurred the relocation fee?
Q: I actually do not need a phone line except for broadband usage, heard abt mio voice with SNBB package, can't find much info on the web, will this helps to save cost?
Thanks for the help.
liangtam
27-05-2009, 09:27 AM
Hi all
I m a noob in IT stuff, would like to get some advice, preferably the most cost saving method.
I am moving into my new hse in 2 mths time; currently using singnet broadband contract expiring Jun 2010.
Q: Do i need to relocate the broadband to the new hse and incurred the relocation fee?
Yes!
Q: I actually do not need a phone line except for broadband usage, heard abt mio voice with SNBB package, can't find much info on the web, will this helps to save cost?
http://home.singtel.com/mio/mio_home.html
Thanks for the help.
See above...
whiteviper
27-05-2009, 10:00 AM
See above...
I dun watch TV, is this plan still worth it?
Why not email them (http://welcome.singtel.com/customer_service/cust_serv_emailus.asp) to ask if still can signup for Mio PLAN (http://home.singtel.com/mio/mio_plan.html)? And when they called you back, you can possiblily ask for relocation waiver by having the installation scheduled after you moved !
slowstatic
27-05-2009, 01:43 PM
Is 2Wire the only router modem that can support Mio voice ?
one-third
09-06-2009, 12:21 PM
First of all, I apologize if I'm in the wrong thread. I wish to expand my home network. However,I'm not sure whether my planned set up will work.So I need your advice guys.
I'm currently on 8mbps mio plan with mio tv, and 2 PC and 1 notebook. I understand that mio box is a router+wireless access point+modem (please correct me if i'm wrong).
I know that I can get a wireless router or installing wireless cards on my PCs to connect to my existing network but I don't want to use wireless as it's not stable for me.
I'm thinking of expanding my home network via Power over Ethernet(PoE) -- powerline networking for stability. However, I'm not sure which new networking device I should purchase [eg. switch, 2nd mio box (use it as router mode only) or Linksys Powerline AV Network Kit PLK300 (http://www-sg.linksys.com/servlet/Satellite?c=L_Product_C2&childpagename=SG%2FLayout&cid=1175248802580&pagename=Linksys%2FCommon%2FVisitorWrapper&lid=0258084869B01).]My mio box and DECT phone is in my room now and I will like to shift it to the living room.I'll like to use my existing mio box for my mio tv and possibly another PC in the living room in the near future. Using the homeplug that I own right now, I will plug one of them to my mio box and the other in my room which will either be switch/2nd mio box (router only)/linksys powerline adaptor.
I'm sorry if my entry is very long and complicated to you guys. Definitely the linksys powerline adaptor kit will work, but I'm not sure whether 2nd mio box (router mode only) or a switch is essential for my setup.I'm hopeful for your reply.Thank you.
mingj
30-06-2009, 11:13 AM
I read in this thread that in order to use the existing analog phone circuit, the mio box would be required to do a loop back for the digital line to be "converted" to connect to existing analog line.. I am looking at connecting 4 different phone socket point..Its my understanding if the telephone circuit is MIO friendly.. the echo effects would be minimized.
What is a MIO Friendly Telephone circuit ? How should it be wired? what should i do that would maximized clarity?
As currently i am considering re-wiring my phones line in my house during renovation. I would be able to make it mio friendly. I am looking at
mauz20
20-07-2009, 04:08 PM
hi,
just wondering. for miotv, is surround sound only supported via optical cable? i used to use optical cable and got surround sound.
but when i moved exclusively to hdmi, i don't get surround sound. my avr only says "stereo" or dolby plII, which means that it's stereo being processed as surround.
thanks!
evildan
01-09-2009, 05:57 PM
Hi guys, i just sign up 15M plan.
With the Miobox (2Wire 2701HGV), i'm able to get 17.68Mbps/0.85Mbps (www.speedtest.net)
Then i switch to a very old ADSL modem+router Aztech DSL305EW, i'm getting only 6.69Mpbs/0.77Mbps..
I wanna replace the Miobox with other ADSL modem+router due to personal preference on the interface/firewall. What are the things to lookout in buying a modem to get the maximum broadband speed?
Thanks for the advice.
aaur4man
01-09-2009, 08:00 PM
look at reviews to see if what u want to buy is not accused of low sync rate.
VoodooKing
01-09-2009, 09:12 PM
Hi guys, i just sign up 15M plan.
With the Miobox (2Wire 2701HGV), i'm able to get 17.68Mbps/0.85Mbps (www.speedtest.net)
Then i switch to a very old ADSL modem+router Aztech DSL305EW, i'm getting only 6.69Mpbs/0.77Mbps..
I wanna replace the Miobox with other ADSL modem+router due to personal preference on the interface/firewall. What are the things to lookout in buying a modem to get the maximum broadband speed?
Thanks for the advice.
Does your MIO plan include free Digital Voice for your home? If so, it would be best to utilize it. Anyway I find the interface/firewall pretty comprehensive and easy to use.
ohmygod1986
01-09-2009, 10:32 PM
Actually the 2wire not as bad as you think lah ...
Got firewall got wifi ...
But its personal :s13:
evildan
02-09-2009, 01:59 AM
Does your MIO plan include free Digital Voice for your home? If so, it would be best to utilize it. Anyway I find the interface/firewall pretty comprehensive and easy to use.
Nope, no free Digital voice.. but you are right, the interface/firewall is quite comprehensive after exploring further.. able to port forward quite easily..
However i find it pretty weird that anyone can just access 192.168.1.254 and view/modify the changes.. i've set a System password but still, anyone on the network can view those settings..i think one can Disconnect the internet without system password?
Also, the inactive computer/devices which were connected to the 2wire in the past, will retain its device name & mac address on the local device page.. i can't get rid of it.. i have an entry of the Singnet Technician guy's laptop name.. no big issue but would like very much to clear it :P
Anyway, i intend keep the 2wire for some time :) i'm enjoying the speed and ease of use.. really so much of a difference between this and Starhub.. i'm able to watch youtube in HQ with ease in peak hour.. :s13:
I still hope to find a suitable router modem in par with the 2wire modem router just in case .. :s8:
I just sign up Mio Home 6mpbs on road show yesterday..
- $49.90/mth for 24mth
- Free 2Wire 2701HGV (They claimed to be fiber optic wireless modem but i went to 2wire webbie it is not?)
- Aztech 108E Cordless Home Plug @ $5.35/mth for 12 mth
- Free Mio TV unlimited 15 movies
- Free Digital Incoming and Outgoing call.
- Free 2 month Soccer pack
- Free 1 month for all Broadcast / On Demand Channel
Anyone can confirm is the 2Wire 2701HGV is fiber optic ready?
seeyourhead_jiejie
27-10-2009, 12:14 PM
- $49.90/mth for 24mth
- Free 2Wire 2701HGV (They claimed to be fiber optic wireless modem but i went to 2wire webbie it is not?)
was discuss sometime ago.
i think juz a "converter" to convert fibre to ethernet then connect to the 2wire modem.
was discuss sometime ago.
i think juz a "converter" to convert fibre to ethernet then connect to the 2wire modem.
Then is not fiber optic wireless modem at all... kenan conned liao... the actual model is 2701-HGVE for fiber optic :(
seeyourhead_jiejie
27-10-2009, 12:43 PM
did a search and got this
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=33475369&postcount=38
what they give should b HGV-E..
got a WAN port.
from the spec, 2701HGV got no WAN port.
http://www.2wire.com/index.php?p=106
did a search and got this
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=33475369&postcount=38
what they give should b HGV-E..
got a WAN port.
from the spec, 2701HGV got no WAN port.
http://www.2wire.com/index.php?p=106
think have to wait till the product come then have a conclusion... will update again when singtel come for installation
liangtam
28-10-2009, 12:05 AM
No. All units distributed here are 2701HGV-E
And fibre has absolutely nothing in relation here.
Freakerzz
28-10-2009, 08:39 PM
2701 hgv-e modem can support FTTH...its just a firmware upgrade for ST part...the gateway interface will change and u can used FTTH thru the wan port
liangtam
28-10-2009, 08:43 PM
Any router also can FTTH mah
sim3 must have been confused
Any router also can FTTH mah
sim3 must have been confused
2701 hgv-e modem can support FTTH...its just a firmware upgrade for ST part...the gateway interface will change and u can used FTTH thru the wan port
so the wan port will go into our computer? currently the wan port will not be in use rite?
liangtam
28-10-2009, 08:54 PM
No, the WAN port is to hook to the broadband source. i.e. modem, ONT
Because the 2Wire is an ADSL2+ aio gateway, the WAN port was never utilized, save for some MetroE/ftth trials earlier.
networked
13-12-2009, 09:15 AM
- $49.90/mth for 24mth
I think there is not more free incoming/outgoing for home lines?
Its just 15 %? whats V019 anyway.?
15% off v019 calls on Home Line & First Mobile Line
seeyourhead_jiejie
13-12-2009, 11:46 AM
I think there is not more free incoming/outgoing for home lines?
Its just 15 %? whats V019 anyway.?
15% off v019 calls on Home Line & First Mobile Line
homeline always have free incoming call.
free outgoing calls only come with mio voice(digital voice)
the default package for mio home come with analog voice. u need to top up i tink $3 for mio voice.
morpheouss
15-12-2009, 02:58 PM
Not sure if other user has the same experience...
Sad to say I m disappointed over the MIO package.
1) 2wire modem screw up at time and it disconnects the broadband service and voice totally.
Always have to make calls to tech hotline to reset their server and restart my modem.
2) Mio voice has static disruptions
I'm at 22nd month of 3mb Mio and is eligible for a recontract.
I called Singtel Mio to check on a 6 or 8 mb line upgrade... They have a 8 mb... they can help recontract but have to go down to hello shop to sign the contract ... Fine...
Recently Online Singtel shop has a promotion which I wanted to take that phone and recontract the whole package.Customer hotline says that I can't because I am bundled under MIO. I have to purchase it at hello shop and Hello Shop charges a $150 extra for the same model! !@#$
When verifying with Singtel hotline,I was put on hold and transfered to numberous dept, eventually all said that my mio plan is cheap and I m not eligible for any online transaction. (Singtel offers $55 for the same plan now which I am paying $69.. Really cheaper??) One dept even told me to wait till contract ends... (Why offer recontract options at 21mth? Spoil my Xmas shopping mood entirely). I wonder which fine print of the t/c states this condition...
Imo, my contract is ending and I am recontracting for another 2 years, which makes me no difference from new user, but seems like MIO plan does not take care of existing subscribers. Worst off, no online transactions at all.... What digital service is this?
Just sharing my experience for new users who intend to take up Mio Plan...
Once bitten twice shy... Twice bitten... bye bye...
networked
15-12-2009, 04:04 PM
Not sure if other user has the same experience...
Sad to say I m disappointed over the MIO package.
1) 2wire modem screw up at time and it disconnects the broadband service and voice totally.
Always have to make calls to tech hotline to reset their server and restart my modem.
2) Mio voice has static disruptions
I'm at 22nd month of 3mb Mio and is eligible for a recontract.
I called Singtel Mio to check on a 6 or 8 mb line upgrade... They have a 8 mb... they can help recontract but have to go down to hello shop to sign the contract ... Fine...
Recently Online Singtel shop has a promotion which I wanted to take that phone and recontract the whole package.Customer hotline says that I can't because I am bundled under MIO. I have to purchase it at hello shop and Hello Shop charges a $150 extra for the same model! !@#$
When verifying with Singtel hotline,I was put on hold and transfered to numberous dept, eventually all said that my mio plan is cheap and I m not eligible for any online transaction. (Singtel offers $55 for the same plan now which I am paying $69.. Really cheaper??) One dept even told me to wait till contract ends... (Why offer recontract options at 21mth? Spoil my Xmas shopping mood entirely). I wonder which fine print of the t/c states this condition...
Imo, my contract is ending and I am recontracting for another 2 years, which makes me no difference from new user, but seems like MIO plan does not take care of existing subscribers. Worst off, no online transactions at all.... What digital service is this?
Just sharing my experience for new users who intend to take up Mio Plan...
Once bitten twice shy... Twice bitten... bye bye...
wow. Why are u paying extra when u need purchase at shop and without delivery. Really makes no sense.
If you are adding mio voice for the home line, it shld be analoge which doesn't link with the modem. There shld n't be interuptions ? this is whats explained to me at shop.
jittery
15-12-2009, 05:05 PM
Actually the 2wire not as bad as you think lah ...
Got firewall got wifi ...
But its personal :s13:
dun think it is good at all..the wireless is so slow..
ziggyy
15-12-2009, 05:58 PM
Just found this thread, signing up for the EPL early bird special and need to clarify some stuff. I trust HWZ more than the CSOs....
1. Getting the wireless option for another $5.35/month, was told by the CSO that only need to pay 12 months and thats it. True?
2. Had Mio TV installed for the free football frenzy sometime back (returned it already). At that time, the installer said that I need the wireless modem else my other wireless devices can't be used. Now with this Home Connect thing, will it solve that problem?
I had alot issues with that problem then. Cannot surf the internet when the tv was on. Connection was modem - wire - STB - TV and then when I need the net, it was modem-router-wireless-laptop.
3. Based on the flyers, the package suppose to come with a free modem. Can I then use that modem for Mio TV and connect my old connection somewhere in the house? Able to use the internet and tv at the same time?
Thanks.
newcell
15-12-2009, 07:01 PM
Best get an appt and arrange a visit by ST mio paranormal tech to check everything.
Mine (net,tv and voice) swee swee after the visit.:)
VoodooKing
15-12-2009, 07:59 PM
dun think it is good at all..the wireless is so slow..
Sounds like a problem on your end and not Singnet. If I have a 2wire modem and able to surf wirelessly on my laptop as fast as my PC, then there can't possibly be anything wrong.
I'm going to bet that your 2 Wire modem is not secured and other people are tapping on your wireless network and surfing internet at your expense.
morpheouss
16-12-2009, 01:21 PM
wow. Why are u paying extra when u need purchase at shop and without delivery. Really makes no sense.
If you are adding mio voice for the home line, it shld be analoge which doesn't link with the modem. There shld n't be interuptions ? this is whats explained to me at shop.
Exactly... I refuse to buy the phone at the shop and guess i will be exiting Mio/singtel for good.
Mio Voice is a digital line. thus connected to the 2wire modem. That explains the reason why when the service/modem screws up, broadband and phone lines are both down together.
lonerer
17-12-2009, 10:01 PM
I want to sign up for the football package. As I am on 10Mbps plan and have been advised to get a second line (which will be free). However, I do not want a new cable trunking to go all over the house.
If I were to just lay the new line cable to the kitchen (nearest to the main door) and use the wireless setup (there will be a wall between the kitchen and the living room and the TV is at the other end), will the performance suffer?
The ST ppl cannot help me nor do they allow their technican to just turn up and assess my place first. If I reject their proposal on where to lay the new line, I have to pay the $200+ penalty.
Anyone here has the same setup as my proposal?
berrykin
29-12-2009, 09:30 PM
I would like to know.... for MIO TV.... wireless is better or on telephone line is better??
I heard if go wirelessly, monthly there is an additional of ard $5 to be added to the bill for 1 yr.. after which the wireless thingy will be yours...
I am on Maxonline thus i dun know anything... FYI i just subscribe to MioTV only..
tinker58
30-12-2009, 11:05 AM
Berrykin
I would definitely recommend wired LAN connection between your modem and the STB (setup box) for better stability and performance. U only need the homeplug (wrongly mistaken as wireless, it is not. Wireless homeplug only applies to RUCKUS) when your TV and the STB are at different locations.
If that is the case and u are not keen with LAN cabling thru surface trunking running all over your house, then homeplug aka powerline is the alternative. But homplug has got it's many issues. Stability is not guraranteed due to the fact that transmission is sent thru your internal electrical cabling. U will encounter video freeze/skip if your electrical cabling is having leakage issues due to shoddy workmanship.
Another issue is the homeplug should be connected direct to your electrical wall socket. Sharing it with a extn power strip will create issue with mioTV. Yes it will work for a few dys or weeks but eventually problems will arise.
Another alternative is the RUCKUS HOMEPLUG which is 100% wireless provided they offer u that. But i doubt it. Singtel will offer u the Comtrend homeplug.
Decide wisely or u will not be able to enjoy mioTV.
elmobarney
08-01-2010, 05:20 PM
I hope some experts could help me. My existing configuration:
Study Room (home network)
- Dlink dir655 router connects to
- Desktop
- NAS
- laptop
- tel socket is available here
Living Room
- TV
- BluRay
- tel socket is available here
Plan
- to setup MIO Home (TV, internet, home fixed line); i.e. MIO STB in living room (TV) and MIO modem in study room to provide internet to my desktop which has no wireless (no intent to purchase).
- to connect bluray to NAS and internet
MIO comtrend powerline may provide some connectivity but bluray to NAS/internet? Also question of any firewall in MIO modem?
Appreciate if anyone has elegant and cost effective solution.
liangtam
09-01-2010, 01:57 AM
by default, singtel will provide wiring from the modem to mioTV stb
elmobarney
09-01-2010, 10:43 AM
by default, singtel will provide wiring from the modem to mioTV stb
Thanks. This I know.
Wonder if I should
@study room: <tel socket> -- <MIO modem> -- <homeplug>
|
-- <desktop>
|
-- <NAS>
|
-- <laptop>
@living room: <homeplug> -- <switch> -- <MIO STB>
|
-- <bluray>
If I play bluray, I should not be playing MIO STB and vice versa. Does MIO STB still eats up bandwidth if not used (standby)?
Any other alternative?
Freakerzz
10-01-2010, 11:05 PM
I want to sign up for the football package. As I am on 10Mbps plan and have been advised to get a second line (which will be free). However, I do not want a new cable trunking to go all over the house.
If I were to just lay the new line cable to the kitchen (nearest to the main door) and use the wireless setup (there will be a wall between the kitchen and the living room and the TV is at the other end), will the performance suffer?
The ST ppl cannot help me nor do they allow their technican to just turn up and assess my place first. If I reject their proposal on where to lay the new line, I have to pay the $200+ penalty.
Anyone here has the same setup as my proposal?
Possible
New line from outside to ur designated location which is the kitchen.The modem for the miotv plus the additonal homeplug at the new phone point and hope its near a power plug .No issues but drilling might be needed and trunking to your designated area for the new line.
iLuvApple
12-01-2010, 01:49 AM
My new white 2Wire modenm has a much smaller wireless range, can barely detect any signal at the bedroom. Anyway to resolve this?
Start up time also longer than my old silver color 2Wire modem. Took nearly 5 mins. My Macbk Pro / Fujitsu lappy bookup liow still got time to make one cuppa.
I stayed in a 5 rm flat and was advised by the singnet installer to place the white 2Wire modem next to the MIO setup box/tv in the living rm.
Old silver 2Wire used to be at the living rm too and on the floor, hidden behind a desk.
Can I connect both the modems (white & silver) to work concurrently? Singnet insisted that only the white one would work and i risked mixing up the connection if I put both modems to use.
I am a 10mph subscriber and recently re contracted. Basically, with the new white 2Wire modem i have a smaller range as compared to the old silver 2Wire modem. I have asked dat my wireless frequency channel and signal be boost up by Malifax.
Is getting another router the only way out?
iLuvApple
12-01-2010, 07:04 PM
Can i use the silver 2Wire modem as a repeater? If can, how shld i go abt it.
Francis85
13-01-2010, 07:27 AM
I read in this thread that in order to use the existing analog phone circuit, the mio box would be required to do a loop back for the digital line to be "converted" to connect to existing analog line.. I am looking at connecting 4 different phone socket point..Its my understanding if the telephone circuit is MIO friendly.. the echo effects would be minimized.
What is a MIO Friendly Telephone circuit ? How should it be wired? what should i do that would maximized clarity?
As currently i am considering re-wiring my phones line in my house during renovation. I would be able to make it mio friendly. I am looking at
Sorry singtel do not support loopback anymore........ now all direct point already.......
thepasarmalamshop
22-02-2010, 11:48 PM
Guys,
Need some advise.
Currently i am using Starhub Broadband + Digital Voice + Starhub TV.
I am on the verge on Signing MioHome plan tomorrow (10Mbps BB, Mio Voice and Mio TV). however i am pretty skeptial on the performance of the Mio Voice and Mio TV. One of my friends keep complaining that the Mio TV hang very often and he is on the analog line he cant comment on the Mio Voice. Then again , could be that he is staying in those old HDB flats when copper wires are old...
My questions:
1) How is the performance of Mio TV and Voice?
2) Is it better to use Anolog Line than Voice?
Thanks
sai2000
24-02-2010, 11:01 AM
Hi bros,
I been researching all around on comments for Mio Home, but can't get an answer:
I'm currently on Starhub cable TV, Singnet Boardband, residential line from Singtel,
thinking of putting all the services to Mio Home.
Will the service hang or have any problem, if all mio tv, bb and phone are used together at the same time?
(2 services or 3 services together)
Thanks in advance.
ZenZeZ
24-02-2010, 12:55 PM
Hi bros,
I been researching all around on comments for Mio Home, but can't get an answer:
I'm currently on Starhub cable TV, Singnet Boardband, residential line from Singtel,
thinking of putting all the services to Mio Home.
Will the service hang or have any problem, if all mio tv, bb and phone are used together at the same time?
(2 services or 3 services together)
Thanks in advance.
I think you will experience some slowdown. I've friends which are using the bundled package and some of them are complaining to me. Not confirm though.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.