PDA

View Full Version : Official Singtel Generation MIO Thread

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

danxiaogui86
14-01-2007, 02:29 PM
Anyone sign up for this already?

simranjitsandhu
14-01-2007, 03:13 PM
Heard its a flop , only about 15 people sign up for this in singapore.

danxiaogui86
14-01-2007, 03:14 PM

Are u sure? Any links on your information? cuz i went down to westmall hello shop and need to wait 2hrs. haha.

ab_cat
14-01-2007, 03:22 PM
I quite interested but not all hp can support the voip yet, btw, the snbb speed min is 3Mbps or 1.5Mbps cos I nvr see got such plan in SNBB webby leh..

danxiaogui86
14-01-2007, 03:24 PM
I quite interested but not all hp can support the voip yet, btw, the snbb speed min is 3Mbps or 1.5Mbps cos I nvr see got such plan in SNBB webby leh..

Min is 3mbps.

alanchia67
14-01-2007, 03:33 PM

where you hear this from? NLNT.

danxiaogui86
14-01-2007, 03:42 PM

To be able to support Voip, ur handphone must have Wifi.

Chasepack
14-01-2007, 03:44 PM
the MIO box is a 2wire modem right?

is there a way where i can use both my current modem cum router with the 2wire concurrently?

i'm pretty darn sure a Linksys modem cum router works better than the 2wire offering...

kopicow
14-01-2007, 03:45 PM
not interested. no difference and it is a 2wire modem

furyoo
14-01-2007, 03:48 PM
Very sad. I recontracted to SNBB1500 a few weeks before this deal came out. IMO this is a great all in one deal.

andromeda2000
14-01-2007, 03:53 PM
still under sh contract...

danxiaogui86
14-01-2007, 04:01 PM
u can use the 2wire wireless modem act as a bridge and use other router of ur choice.

ab_cat
14-01-2007, 04:31 PM
Very sad. I recontracted to SNBB1500 a few weeks before this deal came out. IMO this is a great all in one deal.
u try read the FAQ there, I think they won't charge the termination or wat de if i'm not wrong..
danxiaogui86 u mean u r on 3mbps plan? SNBB web like dun have leh.. lolx so mio the least must have 3mbps rite dun have 1500 hor?

furyoo
14-01-2007, 04:49 PM
You can only take it up if you have less than 12 months on your current plan I think.

danxiaogui86
14-01-2007, 04:56 PM
but is it worth it? cuz u sign up this u dun get any freebie like macbook etc.

outer92
14-01-2007, 05:14 PM
the MIO box is a 2wire modem right?

is there a way where i can use both my current modem cum router with the 2wire concurrently?

i'm pretty darn sure a Linksys modem cum router works better than the 2wire offering...

Yes, 2WIRE 2700HGV MODEM from mio plan

ah_cheng1882
14-01-2007, 05:14 PM
source?

if not, dun talk rubbish here. looking at ur nick, i think its crap

alanchia67
14-01-2007, 05:20 PM
Yes, 2WIRE 2700HGV MODEM from mio plan

you received yours? cool! but this box cant future proof for ftth.

outer92
14-01-2007, 05:21 PM

take note

all mio plan come with SNBB 3Mbps/ iOne Plus or iTwo Value /mio voice ( not include mio mobile $15)

danxiaogui86
14-01-2007, 05:22 PM
you received yours? 2700HG-V doesnt have the phone port for VoIP right?

From the specs, HGV have 2 lines port. But one main concern is to enjoy the voice over ip, al telephone must be connected to ur modem. which mean more wireless need to be done. it a very hassle things. why can't they just connect it to the phone socket?

outer92
14-01-2007, 05:27 PM
you received yours? cool! but this box cant future proof for ftth.

my installation date ON 26/01/2006 come together with 2wire 2700HGV MODEM

alanchia67
14-01-2007, 05:29 PM
From the specs, HGV have 2 lines port. But one main concern is to enjoy the voice over ip, al telephone must be connected to ur modem. which mean more wireless need to be done. it a very hassle things. why can't they just connect it to the phone socket?

yeah i know it has 2 lines port... you quoted faster than i can edit.

anyway, you can connect a dect base station to the port so that you can have cordless phone facility right? that's what the faq suggested.

danxiaogui86
14-01-2007, 05:37 PM
yeah i know it has 2 lines port... you quoted faster than i can edit.

anyway, you can connect a dect base station to the port so that you can have cordless phone facility right? that's what the faq suggested.

I mean all my home phones (total 4) are connected to the phone socket. but to be able to use all 4. all need to connect to the modem. but the modem is in my room. mean need to route the cable to connect to my modem? why can't they connect it to the home phone socket?

shamuslee
14-01-2007, 05:39 PM
me house is considering sign up anot. good anot ar the service?

alanchia67
14-01-2007, 05:44 PM
me house is considering sign up anot. good anot ar the service?

what existing singtel plans you have? you're considering mio plan, mio voice or mio mobile?

furyoo
14-01-2007, 05:47 PM
I mean all my home phones (total 4) are connected to the phone socket. but to be able to use all 4. all need to connect to the modem. but the modem is in my room. mean need to route the cable to connect to my modem? why can't they connect it to the home phone socket?
That's the impression I got too. Needless to say, during black outs your fixed line won't work either.

alanchia67
14-01-2007, 05:50 PM
in my case, i have 2 phone lines (w/ 2 different numbers). when i convert later this year, only one line will be voip enabled, leaving the other line to keep the dial-tone.

danxiaogui86
14-01-2007, 05:51 PM
That's the impression I got too. Needless to say, during black outs your fixed line won't work either.

yup. but one things is my hse have 4 phone and the modem have only 2 phone point.

martinweng
14-01-2007, 07:04 PM
Anybody here can answer a few of my mIo questions?

i) For ur home phone (6XXXXXXX) they say its unlimited calls bcoz of VoIP. So does that mean that i must switch on the mIO box at all times to use my home phones? or my home phone is only unlimited usage when i have my mIO box switched on at all times.

ii) for the handphone right, the contract is independent of the mio box? i understand that i can have unlimited talktime when my handphone is near the mio box? but if i nv on the mio box, my free incoming calls and 500 sms all are independent like normal handphone contracts right..

iii) for the mio box, they say its all wireless, but wad if i wan to connect my PC to the mio box through cable? is it possible?

thanks for reading and if u can answer my queries :D

hangyong
14-01-2007, 09:15 PM
yup. but one things is my hse have 4 phone and the modem have only 2 phone point.

time to change to DECT phone

ginseng1
14-01-2007, 09:36 PM
Don't understand the rationale for contracts to be less than 12 months to switch over to MIO. For this to be a success, Singtel should just waive this requirement.

danxiaogui86
14-01-2007, 09:39 PM

Why? can explain abit more? hehe. any models is good inparticular?

redno
14-01-2007, 09:51 PM

If the black out is out to your block or so.. your phoneline will still work.. unless the blackout is a region which affect the telephone exchange... otherwise yr phone will work as per normal.. the normal phone line carry power.

furyoo
14-01-2007, 09:56 PM
Err, but if it's a Mio fixed line through the mio box, then you need the power to call out. I wouldn't trade an analog fixed line for that.

comex_1
14-01-2007, 10:41 PM

There is radiation issue( health concern)about the DECK phone, when you are on talking with the hand set, the radiation you exposed is about equivalent to the use of handphone, But beside the hand set, your DECK phone base station is act like a small radio tramsmitter, it emit radio signal 24HR a day,regardless you use the phone or not.

StanII
14-01-2007, 10:52 PM
Anybody here can answer a few of my mIo questions?

i) For ur home phone (6XXXXXXX) they say its unlimited calls bcoz of VoIP. So does that mean that i must switch on the mIO box at all times to use my home phones? or my home phone is only unlimited usage when i have my mIO box switched on at all times.

ii) for the handphone right, the contract is independent of the mio box? i understand that i can have unlimited talktime when my handphone is near the mio box? but if i nv on the mio box, my free incoming calls and 500 sms all are independent like normal handphone contracts right..

iii) for the mio box, they say its all wireless, but wad if i wan to connect my PC to the mio box through cable? is it possible?

thanks for reading and if u can answer my queries :D
i) ok, hopefully i can help.. cos i went to sign up ytd after 2 and 1/2 hours of waiting, to have unlimited calling for residential phone, the phone must b connected to ur mio box and the box must b on if u wanna use the phone, and in case of a blackout, no house fone for u also.. tt's the only downside now..

ii) as for hp, u'll only have unlimited talktime provided u have wifi on ur fone and the contract is with the mio plan, but if u sign up mio plan u can upgrade yur phones every 12 months and need not pay the xtra $100 dollars to the current price of a 2 yr signing..means it's waived.. =)

if ur hp got no wifi, then as per nomal lo..

iii) the mio box has 4 ports in it, it's a modem cum wireless router..

outer92
14-01-2007, 10:58 PM
i) ok, hopefully i can help.. cos i went to sign up ytd after 2 and 1/2 hours of waiting, to have unlimited calling for residential phone, the phone must b connected to ur mio box and the box must b on if u wanna use the phone, and in case of a blackout, no house fone for u also.. tt's the only downside now..

ii) as for hp, u'll only have unlimited talktime provided u have wifi on ur fone and the contract is with the mio plan, but if u sign up mio plan u can upgrade yur phones every 12 months and need not pay the xtra $100 dollars to the current price of a 2 yr signing..means it's waived.. =)

Pls take note: all mio plan not include mio mobile $15 (wifi internet call)

luv_boa
14-01-2007, 11:01 PM
so means if i sign up dis ... connect the phone to the mio box.. my hse line unlimited calls to any numbers? den as for hp .. ish onli unlimited talk time to onli hse issit ?

reimina
14-01-2007, 11:19 PM
so means if i sign up dis ... connect the phone to the mio box.. my hse line unlimited calls to any numbers? den as for hp .. ish onli unlimited talk time to onli hse issit ?

You need to learn how to spell before you start asking questions here. Your English is horrible! Something wrong with your keyboard? :s22:

StanII
14-01-2007, 11:24 PM
You need to learn how to spell before you start asking questions here. Your English is horrible! Something wrong with your keyboard? :s22:
haha, it's ok wad.. understandable at least.. it's normal sms or msn language la..

StanII
14-01-2007, 11:26 PM
Pls take note: all mio plan not include mio mobile $15 (wifi internet call)
kk thanks for informing me... was not too sure about this also.. cos i nv sign up for mio mobile..

martinweng
14-01-2007, 11:41 PM

so mIo box must 100% be on at all times?

what if my residential home got 4 phone telephones? how would it work then?

only the 1 connected to the box can use? the others?

StanII
14-01-2007, 11:45 PM
so mIo box must 100% be on at all times?
yeaps, in order for ur to have residential phone lo.. =)

shamuslee
15-01-2007, 12:15 AM
what existing singtel plans you have? you're considering mio plan, mio voice or mio mobile?
mio plan

10chars

hanlsn
15-01-2007, 12:19 AM
can u imagine if u modem spoil?

Walt
15-01-2007, 12:24 AM
do i need to subscribe to a singtel land line to use this service? If so, i guess the charges to lease the land line is not included in MIO, rite?

not subscribed to a land line currently. think the charges abt $9 a month. kinda adds to my mio plan.

felime
15-01-2007, 12:38 AM
do i need to subscribe to a singtel land line to use this service? If so, i guess the charges to lease the land line is not included in MIO, rite?

i called the MIO Hotline few days ago and they told me whether u have or dun have singtel analogue fixed line still can sign up and once u sign up for MIO Plan ur digital fixed line price already bundled in the MIO Plans as 1 Price together with ur Singnet & Singtel Mobile so u don't need to pay for quarterly rental fee cos your Direct Exchange Line Socket will be for access only. unless u want to subscribe / keep ur Singtel Analogue line to make analogue calls through ur direct exchange line sockets then have to pay for quarterly rental fee.

StanII
15-01-2007, 12:42 AM
lol, then got owned liao.. better have warranty..

Walt
15-01-2007, 12:55 AM
i called the MIO Hotline few days ago and they told me whether u have or dun have singtel analogue fixed line still can sign up and once u sign up for MIO Plan ur digital fixed line price already bundled in the MIO Plans as 1 Price together with ur Singnet & Singtel Mobile so u don't need to pay for quarterly rental fee cos your Direct Exchange Line Socket will be for access only. unless u want to subscribe / keep ur Singtel Analogue line to make analogue calls through ur direct exchange line sockets then have to pay for quarterly rental fee.

oic...so all i need is to have the socket for land line connection? that one i still have.

felime did you ask abt startup admin charges etc etc? or just register, get the box and pay $68 per month for the mio plan?

outer92
15-01-2007, 12:56 AM

mio box 2wire 2700HGV modem come with two year warranty by the manufacturer

felime
15-01-2007, 12:59 AM
oic...so all i need is to have the socket for land line connection? that one i still have.

felime did you ask abt startup admin charges etc etc? or just register, get the box and pay $68 per month for the mio plan?

yes u only need the direct exchange line socket and if u don't have that direct exchange line socket then they will install for you but need to pay $52.50 for wiring that socket.

they told me that if u sign up during the launch period, there won't be any registration fee, mio box installation fee and no admin charges until further notice. This means u only pay based on the MIO Plans u sign up. The waiver for these fees are only applicable for sign up with MIO PLANS.

tkboy85
15-01-2007, 07:45 AM
Haha...then imagine your modem spoil, or cannot get a decent signal, so the dsl light(or whatever it is now) keeps blinking. Then how to call tech support? Use mobile phone ah(for those who never keep the analog line)? :D

kokitty
15-01-2007, 08:14 AM
Am wondering if anyone here is having the same enquries as i'm having now. Let's say i sign a 24mth mio plan contract, and after 12mths when i do a handphone upgrade with $100 waiver. With initally 12 mths more to go on my mio plan contract, Does it mean that the contract will be restarted at 24mths? (essentially upgrading of HP = auto renewing mio plan contract). Or does it mean that my mio plan still at 12mths but the One Plus value portion (handphone part) gets extended only?

Reason i'm asking is cos i've spoken to 2 CSOs on the phone and was told that only the handphone portion gets extended but my frd spoke to another CSO and was told a different story. For those who've already signed up... how does the TOS that you've signed with singtel looks like? Are all the terms and conditions regarding upgrades and renewal of contracts stated clearly?

hq83
15-01-2007, 08:43 AM
Am wondering if anyone here is having the same enquries as i'm having now. Let's say i sign a 24mth mio plan contract, and after 12mths when i do a handphone upgrade with $100 waiver. With initally 12 mths more to go on my mio plan contract, Does it mean that the contract will be restarted at 24mths? (essentially upgrading of HP = auto renewing mio plan contract). Or does it mean that my mio plan still at 12mths but the One Plus value portion (handphone part) gets extended only?

Reason i'm asking is cos i've spoken to 2 CSOs on the phone and was told that only the handphone portion gets extended but my frd spoke to another CSO and was told a different story. For those who've already signed up... how does the TOS that you've signed with singtel looks like? Are all the terms and conditions regarding upgrades and renewal of contracts stated clearly?
i spoke to the same CSO(at different time) and he himself give me 2 different answer..
1) the whole contract will be renew when u buy a handphone after 12mths
2) only the mobile contract will be renew..

dragon8228
15-01-2007, 08:58 AM
contact them this is a 2 and a half year contract and this makes your home line, your mobile, internet all under contract now my home line also no contract :s27: and now my singtel mobile line under contract if want still need a new number

kao
15-01-2007, 09:42 AM
Questions about mio mobile. From what I read it's not the normal phone. It is using VoIP. This means that you require internet (wifi) if you are outside. It seems to me that you need to acquire such a phone in the first place if you don't have one. In addition not everywhere is wifi-connected yet.

But I'm still consdering since the savings are not bad but have to consider the mio mobile since it's out of the norm. The fixed line is already there and broadband is nothing new.

Does anyone knows more about how mio mobile works in terms of phones (need to pay ?) etc. That will be good.

I just check their mio websites. They only support a few models.
http://home.singtel.com/mio/mio_mobile_wifi.html

Anyone knows how much for these. Lol router + a wifi phone is not cheap.

kokitty
15-01-2007, 10:10 AM
i spoke to the same CSO(at different time) and he himself give me 2 different answer..

Faintz :o I wish Singtel would have anticipated such potential questions from customers and educated the CSOs with answers. Really wonder how the MIO contract looks like and if everything is written black and white there.

nofearck
15-01-2007, 10:58 AM
I called a CSO, he even told me muz pay for the mio box? Is it true???

felime
15-01-2007, 11:06 AM
I called a CSO, he even told me muz pay for the mio box? Is it true???

the cso told me that if u sign up for MIO Voice only then u need to pay for the MIO Box as stated in this MIO Voice Site: http://home.singtel.com/mio/mio_voice_plans.html

and if u sign for the MIO Plans which include Singnet, Singtel Mobile & Fixed Line then u don't need to pay for the MIO Box cos it's given free as part of the bundle.

nofearck
15-01-2007, 11:14 AM
the cso told me that if u sign up for MIO Voice only then u need to pay for the MIO Box as stated in this MIO Voice Site: http://home.singtel.com/mio/mio_voice_plans.html

and if u sign for the MIO Plans which include Singnet, Singtel Mobile & Fixed Line then u don't need to pay for the MIO Box cos it's given free as part of the bundle.
ok... thankz for the clarification..

shiyuan
15-01-2007, 12:46 PM
Hi all, After reading all, i guess its not just 15 pple took the mio plan.

I took the 148/mth plan. installation date on 23/01.

But what pissed me off is that until now, my mobile line is still not activated.

Also, Waiting time at hello! shop is horrible

danxiaogui86
15-01-2007, 01:11 PM

But what pissed me off is that until now, my mobile line is still not activated.

25mbps one? i'm getting the 1st plan + top up 15 dollar for 10mbps.

StanII
15-01-2007, 01:19 PM

yea, the waiting time is very very bad.. cos only 3 counters can do mio-plan sign up.. quite poor management of counters.. and my ticket was startin with 7xxx.. those 5xxx signing up hp.. tons of them.. i waited 3 hours until over the shop hours then finish.. zz

when u signed up? my installation date on 24th.. i sign on sat.. =/

StanII
15-01-2007, 01:21 PM
2) wah.. if tt's the case rite, then after 12 months, i buy another hp then my plan reset back to another 24 months and not add another 24 months to my existing 12 months? lidat gd leh?

shiyuan
15-01-2007, 04:21 PM
i sign on the 10/01. i think its a wednesday. now i think i gonna call them up can change the date to 22/01.

yea, the waiting time is very very bad.. cos only 3 counters can do mio-plan sign up.. quite poor management of counters.. and my ticket was startin with 7xxx.. those 5xxx signing up hp.. tons of them.. i waited 3 hours until over the shop hours then finish.. zz

when u signed up? my installation date on 24th.. i sign on sat.. =/

danxiaogui86
15-01-2007, 04:28 PM
i sign on the 10/01. i think its a wednesday. now i think i gonna call them up can change the date to 22/01.

haha. i guess if i go sign now my installation date will be push more backwards.

distindra
15-01-2007, 04:40 PM
how to sign up when u need under 12 months for the broadband contract
i still got 2 years more
everyone just sign up for broadband how they expect people to sign this?

danxiaogui86
15-01-2007, 04:50 PM
how to sign up when u need under 12 months for the broadband contract
i still got 2 years more
everyone just sign up for broadband how they expect people to sign this?

Nah, they not targeting at u. cuz u still got quite some time contract with them so no pt to target u. they trying to retain customers who left 12 mths and get new customers. fighting with starhub i guess.

kao
15-01-2007, 05:03 PM
I think some people are not getting the correct info. You can bundle your existing contract. For example if you have fixed line + SNBB, so you just need to get their mio mobile to get the bundled pricing. The minimum for mio BB is 3mbps.

funnycow
15-01-2007, 05:09 PM
modem spoil... everything gg? xD

lobo76
15-01-2007, 05:17 PM
as an outsider, i have to admit it sounds complicated just figuring out if i am eligible for the plan...

kokitty
15-01-2007, 05:55 PM

Question : When you signed up for the new mobile line, were you entitled to a handset at singtel discounted prices??

StanII
15-01-2007, 08:20 PM
Question : When you signed up for the new mobile line, were you entitled to a handset at singtel discounted prices??
yes.. cos my dad's mobile contract was up, then he upgraded his plan to iTwoplus and bought a handset at the discounted price of $180 deducted from the original phone price..

my bro took the phone, instead of paying $368 for SE w850i, he paid $188 only.. hope this can ans ur qns.. =)

kokitty
15-01-2007, 08:32 PM
yes.. cos my dad's mobile contract was up, then he upgraded his plan to iTwoplus and bought a handset at the discounted price of $180 deducted from the original phone price..

my bro took the phone, instead of paying $368 for SE w850i, he paid $188 only.. hope this can ans ur qns.. =)

Thanks for the answer. Now i have one less question abt the MIO plan :)
Don't want to call the CSOs for any clarifications anymore since they're very prone to giving differing answers. Anyway i can only upgrade next month so i'll just wait patiently for the initial difficulties to be ironed out.

felime
15-01-2007, 10:30 PM
Here's an All In One Information for everyone to take note about MIO Plan which i have gathered from my calls to MIO Hotline 1800 555 6000 and spoken to different CSO's.

With this information, everyone can get a clearer view about MIO Plan.

Customer A:

For NEW Customer who don't have any of Singtel Services. You can sign up for any MIO Plan.
At the moment registration fee, mio installation fee, mio box are waived during this launch promo until further notice. However there will be a 24 months contract tied to your MIO Plan comprises of Singtel Fixed Line, Singtel Mobile & Singnet.

Customer B:

For Existing Singtel Customer whose contract is less than 12 months for all / any of your Singtel Services, you are eligible to sign up for any of Mio Plans. At the moment registration fee, mio installation fee, mio box are waived during this launch promo until further notice. However there will be a 30 months contract tied to your MIO Plan comprises of Singtel Fixed Line, Singtel Mobile & Singnet.

Customer C:

For Existing Singtel Customer whose contract is less than 3 months for all / any of your Singtel Services, you are eligible to sign up for any of Mio Plans. At the moment registration fee, mio installation fee, mio box are waived during this launch promo until further notice. However there will be a 24 months contract tied to your MIO Plan comprises of Singtel Fixed Line, Singtel Mobile & Singnet.

Below additional informations are applicable for Customer A, B, C:

If your house don't have telephone socket or have telephone socket but no singtel analogue fixed line. Singtel will provide telephone wiring with the socket and turn on the access for you and u will have to pay $52.50 for a 1 time charge. And for those who already have the current telephone socket & Singtel Analogue fixed line you don't have to pay for telephone wiring with the socket and your Singtel Analogue Fixed line will be automatically converted to MIO Voice as part of MIO Plan bundle and you can port your existing Singtel Fixed Line Number at no extra charge or you can opt to use a new MIO Voice Number that starts with 6600 / 6611. With the MIO Plan there is no quarterly rental fee for your telephone line. Also take note that once your Singtel Analogue fixed line has been converted to MIO Voice as part of MIO Plan bundle , you cannot make any calls using the telephone socket instead u can only make calls through the MIO Box.

However you can have the option of retaining your Singtel Analogue fixed line so that you can make calls in the event of blackout or when your MIO Box turn faulty and your Singtel Fixed Line Number cannot be the same number u have ported over to your MIO Voice (if u have chosen to port your existing Singtel Fixed Line Number), hence u will be given a New Singtel Fixed Line Number and there will be a quarterly rental fee of $26.25 and if u choose not to retain your Singtel Analogue fixed line and just let it convert to MIO voice as part of MIO Plan bundle, there will not be any quarterly rental fee.

What premiums will you get when you sign up for MIO Plan?

You will be entitled to purchase a new mobile handset at promotional price based on iOne Plus / iTWO Value / iTWO Plus mobile handset price and you will be given a FREE MIO Box.

To purchase new mobile handset at promotional price for NEW MIO Plan sign ups, your contract with Singtel Mobile must be less than 3 months or no contract with Singtel Mobile.

When can you upgrade your mobile handset after you have sign up with MIO Plan?

As a MIO plan customer, you can upgrade your mobile phone every 12 months* and enjoy a waiver of $100 handset upgrade surcharge. *This is applicable to those with 24 months contract only.

For those with a 30 months contract, you can upgrade your mobile phone after the 18 months.

Will you be able to sign up for Singnet Freebies / any Singnet Promotions in future?

No, As long as you are under MIO Plan, you cannot sign up for any Singnet Freebies from Singnet.

Why cannot sign up for Singnet Freebies / any Singnet Promotions in future?

This is because the MIO Price plan bundle you are enjoying has been discounted.

distindra
15-01-2007, 10:32 PM
ya i got house line, mobile and singnet
problem is my singnet contract still 1 yer 11 months
cannot change to mio
if change to mio i save 15 dollars

danxiaogui86
15-01-2007, 10:34 PM
ya i got house line, mobile and singnet
problem is my singnet contract still 1 yer 11 months
cannot change to mio
if change to mio i save 15 dollars

u can't compare lidat. what abt the freebie when u sign up? hehe.

Raytrace
15-01-2007, 10:56 PM
me too.. i have to wait til august before i can sign up mio plan...

my mobile contract is less than 12 months left but my singnet 10mbps i signed up only last august so have to wait. also the cso warned me not to upgrade my mobile contract until august otherwise have to wait more again.

another thing i found out is that if you are currently on a iTwo Plus mobile plan, you can downgrade to a lower plan when you sign up the mio plan and the downgrade fee will be waived.

luv_boa
16-01-2007, 12:52 AM
ok i will go learn but besides that .. my question has nt been answer plz plz help

koko123
16-01-2007, 08:47 AM

U also need to pay Connection and Wiring charge total 84 for MIO Voice Plan .
Tis is waive for 3 in 1 MIo Plan

martinweng
16-01-2007, 09:34 AM
Here's an All In One Information for everyone to take note about MIO Plan which i have gathered from my calls to MIO Hotline 1800 555 6000 and spoken to different CSO's.

Customer A:

For NEW Customer who don't have any of Singtel Services. You can sign up for any MIO Plan.
At the moment registration fee, mio installation fee, mio box are waived during this launch promo until further notice. However there will be a 24 months contract tied to your MIO Plan comprises of Singtel Fixed Line, Singtel Mobile & Singnet.

Customer B:

For Existing Singtel Customer whose contract is less than 12 months for all / any of your Singtel Services, you are eligible to sign up for any of Mio Plans. At the moment registration fee, mio installation fee, mio box are waived during this launch promo until further notice. However there will be a 30 months contract tied to your MIO Plan comprises of Singtel Fixed Line, Singtel Mobile & Singnet.

Customer C:

For Existing Singtel Customer whose contract is less than 3 months for all / any of your Singtel Services, you are eligible to sign up for any of Mio Plans. At the moment registration fee, mio installation fee, mio box are waived during this launch promo until further notice. However there will be a 24 months contract tied to your MIO Plan comprises of Singtel Fixed Line, Singtel Mobile & Singnet.

If your house don't have telephone socket or have telephone socket but no singtel analogue fixed line. Singtel will provide telephone wiring with the socket and turn on the access for you and u will have to pay $52.50 for a 1 time charge. And for those who already have the current telephone socket & Singtel Analogue fixed line you don't have to pay for telephone wiring with the socket and your Singtel Analogue Fixed line will be automatically converted to MIO Voice as part of MIO Plan bundle and you can port your existing Singtel Fixed Line Number at no extra charge or you can opt to use a new MIO Voice Number that starts with 6600 / 6611. With the MIO Plan there is no quarterly rental fee for your telephone line. Also take note that once your Singtel Analogue fixed line has been converted to MIO Voice as part of MIO Plan bundle , you cannot make any calls using the telephone socket instead u can only make calls through the MIO Box.

However you can have the option of retaining your Singtel Analogue fixed line so that you can make calls in the event of blackout or when your MIO Box turn faulty and your Singtel Fixed Line Number cannot be the same number u have ported over to your MIO Voice (if u have chosen to port your existing Singtel Fixed Line Number), hence u will be given a New Singtel Fixed Line Number and there will be a quarterly rental fee of $26.25 and if u choose not to retain your Singtel Analogue fixed line and just let it convert to MIO voice as part of MIO Plan bundle, there will not be any quarterly rental fee.

You will be entitled to purchase a new mobile handset at promotional price based on iOne Plus / iTWO Value / iTWO Plus mobile handset price and you will be given a FREE MIO Box.

To purchase new mobile handset at promotional price for NEW MIO Plan sign ups, your contract with Singtel Mobile must be less than 3 months or no contract with Singtel Mobile.

As a MIO plan customer, you can upgrade your mobile phone every 12 months* and enjoy a waiver of $100 handset upgrade surcharge. *This is applicable to those with 24 months contract only.

For those with a 30 months contract, you can upgrade your mobile phone after the 18 months.

Will you be able to sign up for Singnet Freebies / any Singnet Promotions in future?

No, As long as you are under MIO Plan, you cannot sign up for any Singnet Freebies from Singnet.

if my singtel hp contract ran out, but singnet 1500kbps contract left around 6-7 months, am i customer B or C?

so basically to retain the analogue fixed line, its juz like having another telephone line?

retaining telephone line equals

line 1: analogue line (61234567)
line 2: mio voice (66001234)

while the mio voice is bundled with the mio plan, u need to pay for analogue line @ $26+ every 3 months?

den the purpose of keeping analogue line is bcoz of the fear of blackout/modem spoil?

tkboy85
16-01-2007, 09:37 AM
if my singtel hp contract ran out, but singnet 1500kbps contract left around 6-7 months, am i customer B or C?
Shld be Customer B. Cos' either internet or mobile left <= 12mths, must sign 30mths contract. 24mths is only for BOTH internet and mobile <=3mths.

cscs3
16-01-2007, 09:51 AM

so basically to retain the analogue fixed line, its juz like having another telephone line?

while the mio voice is bundled with the mio plan, u need to pay for analogue line @ $26+ every 3 months?

den the purpose of keeping analogue line is bcoz of the fear of blackout/modem spoil?

Also, you need to power on the modem 24 hours in order for the mio voice to work (same as SCV cable modem). If there is a power failure, your phone line is gone!

martinweng
16-01-2007, 10:12 AM
Also, you need to power on the modem 24 hours in order for the mio voice to work (same as SCV cable modem). If there is a power failure, your phone line is gone!

ya so i was asking...if i keep analogue line just for emergency uses, there will still be $26+ per 3 months even if i dun even use it (backup purposes)?

cscs3
16-01-2007, 10:51 AM
ya so i was asking...if i keep analogue line just for emergency uses, there will still be $26+ per 3 months even if i dun even use it (backup purposes)?

Sure, as you are using 2 plan !
But I think this new plan will likely to make Starhub continue to give their digital voice line free after end of this year!

lobo76
16-01-2007, 12:33 PM

did u ask: "so? hubber plan also have discounted prices (5%-15%), they still sign up for freebies leh. Can feedback to your mgtm?"

felime
16-01-2007, 01:40 PM

Your category will be in Customer B.

And you do not need to pay quarterly rental fee for your analogue line cos your telephone line will be on MIO Voice part of MIO Plan bundle and u can only make calls through your MIO box.

If u want to keep your Singtel analogue line just in case MIO Box turn faulty or power supply off, then you have to pay the quarterly rental fee.

felime
16-01-2007, 01:42 PM
did u ask: "so? hubber plan also have discounted prices (5%-15%), they still sign up for freebies leh. Can feedback to your mgtm?"

feedback to mgtm? i don't work for them.
I only gather whatever information i get from different CSO's and consolidate them altogether.

The reason why they told me cannot sign up for any further singnet freebies / promotions in future is because the MIO Plan bundle is already on discounted price and I did highlight to the CSO's about StarHub Hubbers Benefit and they say that my point has been noted and they will send the feedback to their management.

Sapphyre
16-01-2007, 09:45 PM

Customer A:

Customer B:

Customer C:

Thanks for taking the time break down the details and costing!

ah_cheng1882
16-01-2007, 09:59 PM
great guide!

ah_cheng1882
16-01-2007, 10:00 PM
one question i got

e residential line (ie normal analogue) line is under my dad's name

can i get e $68 MIO plan under my name but continue with the analogue line under my dad?

xplor3r
16-01-2007, 10:14 PM
From what felime wrote, i am suppose to be under Customer B.
cos my Singnet bb is due for recontract by March this year, not my singtel mobile plan.
However when I called up Singtel to find out about the Plan, I was told that I am not eligible!!??

Is felime right or the customer service personel for singtel right??

felime
16-01-2007, 10:25 PM
From what felime wrote, i am suppose to be under Customer B.
cos my Singnet bb is due for recontract by March this year, not my singtel mobile plan.
However when I called up Singtel to find out about the Plan, I was told that I am not eligible!!??

Is felime right or the customer service personel for singtel right??

from the information i gather from different Singtel MIO CSO's this is what they told me previously. if your singtel mobile contract is more than 12 months & your singnet contract is less than 12 months then you cannot bundle it together.

Because to enjoy MIO Plan, all your 3 Singtel Services (Fixed Line, Mobile, Internet) contract must be less than 12 months in order to be entitled for the MIO Plan 30 months contract.

StanII
17-01-2007, 12:32 AM
one question i got

e residential line (ie normal analogue) line is under my dad's name

can i get e $68 MIO plan under my name but continue with the analogue line under my dad?
i'm afraid cannot, cos for mio plan( the 3 in 1 one), all 3 services have to b under 1 customer's name.. and if transfer ownership, must transfer all.. maybe u can have ur dad go down with u to transfer ownership or take his ic along just like what i did with my mum's ic, i transferred both my broadband and residential phone to my dad's name and sign up the mio plan...

kao
17-01-2007, 07:06 AM
Wow everyone so excited about this. But Singtel still haven't launched the pay TV package yet. Heard that it will be later this year. Do you think the then existing mio plan can add the new service in ?

ah_cheng1882
17-01-2007, 08:26 AM
but e analogue line isn't part of the MIO plan?

cos MIO plan has VOIP line, mobile and internet....

i'm afraid cannot, cos for mio plan( the 3 in 1 one), all 3 services have to b under 1 customer's name.. and if transfer ownership, must transfer all.. maybe u can have ur dad go down with u to transfer ownership or take his ic along just like what i did with my mum's ic, i transferred both my broadband and residential phone to my dad's name and sign up the mio plan...

StanII
17-01-2007, 12:03 PM

cos MIO plan has VOIP line, mobile and internet....u can also keep the analog line at ur home currently, means u'll have 2 numbers at home in future.. lidat means paying more xtra cost ma? u'll have ur exisiting residential no. plus a new digital no.

the only downside is when no electricity no phone, u still got ur hp ma. just a suggestion.. sry for the misinterpretion(dunno hw to spell =/)

hwmook
17-01-2007, 12:26 PM

cos MIO plan has VOIP line, mobile and internet....

VOIP mean its data line and not analogue line. so your phone need to be plug into the 2wire box else cannot be used. if you connect to the phone line without the 2wire box, it cannot be used.

carmen23
17-01-2007, 12:56 PM
wa.. a bit scary ler.. if modem down,, everythin down ar.. dono if the modem can last 2 yrs ma?

Bolivar
17-01-2007, 03:35 PM
Those who are w/o any contract better wait till Singnet rolls out fiber connection later this year. MIO box is the same with 2wire 2700HG modem except its VOIP enabled. A better MIO box (VADSL modem) should be available when the new service rolls out. And i expect better price plan later this year once it is launched. Those who juz signed up SNBB like me can prepare to bang wall soon!

nofearck
17-01-2007, 03:41 PM
Those who are w/o any contract better wait till Singnet rolls out fiber connection later this year. MIO box is the same with 2wire 2700HG modem except its VOIP enabled. A better MIO box (VADSL modem) should be available when the new service rolls out. And i expect better price plan later this year once it is launched. Those who juz signed up SNBB like me can prepare to bang wall soon!
wad fibre connection? when it will be launching? soon?

Bolivar
17-01-2007, 03:51 PM
I got no idea when, but Singtel said it will counter MOL 100mbps domination in the local broadband market by rolling out FTTH connection later this year. When the connection is available to public, i guess MIO box would be obsolete by then. Everyone will be forced to changed new vADSL modem to keep up with the new ultra high speed.

felime
17-01-2007, 05:00 PM
*REVISED & UPDATED - 17th January 2007

Customer A:

To enjoy MIO Plan, your 3 Singtel Services (Fixed Line, Internet, Mobile) need to be registered under the same Singapore NRIC name & number

Customer B:

To enjoy MIO Plan, your 3 Singtel Services (Fixed Line, Internet, Mobile) need to be registered under the same Singapore NRIC name & number

Customer C:

**LATEST! Enquiry made to Singtel MIO Hotline 1800 555 6000

So how will my contract be calculated after upgrading my mobile handset every 12 months?

After you have perform a mobile handset upgrade every 12 months, you will be issued a 24 months Singtel Mobile contract that will run concurrently with your MIO Plan contract. Example show below.

MIO Plan contract balance: 12 months
Singtel Mobile Contract after mobile handset upgrade: 24 months

Both MIO Plan contract & Singtel Mobile Contract after mobile handset upgrade will run concurrently.

radish
17-01-2007, 05:04 PM
wow comprehensive!

daylight
17-01-2007, 05:14 PM
very confusing for me to read all that.
can i just have a plan upgrade frm my current 1.5MB to 3.0MB plan just like the fat green pipe.

StanII
17-01-2007, 06:36 PM
very confusing for me to read all that.
can i just have a plan upgrade frm my current 1.5MB to 3.0MB plan just like the fat green pipe.
the 3.0MB plan is only exclusive to mio plan customers now.. unless u sign up mio plan.. u'll have choices of 5.0MB or 10.0MB currently being offered now..

hwmook
17-01-2007, 11:47 PM
wa.. a bit scary ler.. if modem down,, everythin down ar.. dono if the modem can last 2 yrs ma?

What is everything? only your BB and home line wah. pls don't tell me you don't have a handphone......

danxiaogui86
17-01-2007, 11:53 PM
What is everything? only your BB and home line wah. pls don't tell me you don't have a handphone......

Precisely. everyone own a handphone now.

luv_boa
18-01-2007, 12:29 AM
later ppl hp also no batt leh or spoil leh

ov2rey
18-01-2007, 12:44 AM
my installation date ON 26/01/2006 come together with 2wire 2700HGV MODEMmodem information

http://www.2wire.com/?p=106

cstrive
18-01-2007, 02:11 AM
just signed up yesterday for the 68 dollars one ... installation on the 27 ...
wah liew, should have read here first before signing up ...
so the modem must be on every now and then to use the phone ... isn't it very troublesome and not very "electric bill friendly" ...

yes ... the Mio box can use a splitter to more phone ports or not ah ?

i nv really asked them ... damn blur lah ...

anyway, went compass point yesterday and the queue time is < 20 mins.

ieast
18-01-2007, 02:50 AM
If sign up for mio plan and currently have no existing contract with singtel, can buy a hp at discounted price like a new subscriber on mobile plan only?

koko123
18-01-2007, 06:45 AM
so the modem must be on every now and then to use the phone ... isn't it very troublesome and not very "electric bill friendly" ...

If i not wrong , the electric usage is abt $2 or 2 plus est 4 the 24 hr ON of Mio Box MONTHLY . The MIO Box is also like a normal router cum modem .

hwmook
18-01-2007, 07:05 AM
later ppl hp also no batt leh or spoil leh

if you are so unlucky then even got analogue line also will spoil. stop being so paranoid. For the past decade, my house only got blackout twice and its only for a few hours. The possibility is so low in itself already so why worry so much.

hwmook
18-01-2007, 07:07 AM

I never off my modem, its on for a year with no downtime.....

andyqkw
18-01-2007, 11:22 AM
Noticed that SingTel is not offering anything attractive for those on individual SNBB plan after they've introduced the Generation MIO. Only free moden which I have a few at home collecting dust (all thanks to SingNet lousy freebies)

Current contract with them ending soon and don't seem worth it to recontract leh, thinking of converting to the Generation MIO plan but not eligible due to H/P contract...

Bolivar
18-01-2007, 11:33 AM
Noticed that SingTel is not offering anything attractive for those on individual SNBB plan after they've introduced the Generation MIO. Only free moden which I have a few at home collecting dust (all thanks to SingNet lousy freebies)

Current contract with them ending soon and don't seem worth it to recontract leh, thinking of converting to the Generation MIO plan but not eligible due to H/P contract...
I guessed thay want all ppl to jump to MIO to counter Starhub's Hubclub domination. Do the maths, Hubclub better or MIO's plan?

andyqkw
18-01-2007, 12:12 PM
I guessed thay want all ppl to jump to MIO to counter Starhub's Hubclub domination. Do the maths, Hubclub better or MIO's plan?
Now the problem is I wanna jump ship they don't let me due to my H/P contract being more than 12 mths left...

Get to save roughly $900.00 over the 30 mths contract if I sign up for this Generation MIO plan.

nofearck
18-01-2007, 01:04 PM

Juz called up CSO, if retain analoge, dun need to pay quarterly charge, juz need to pay usage. Cos the quarterly rental fee is included inside the mio plan.

nofearck
18-01-2007, 03:38 PM

the $180 deduction is due to the upgrade to a high end plan itwoplus.. not becos of mio bundle.. it states promotiona; price means juz the prices at Hello!shop

StanII
18-01-2007, 04:06 PM

when i sign up de time i went to ask the person who was serving me, can use splitter then can use multi phones, he said he dunno but i can try.. o.o

nofearck
18-01-2007, 05:14 PM
when i sign up de time i went to ask the person who was serving me, can use splitter then can use multi phones, he said he dunno but i can try.. o.o
the CSO told me the Mio box can only plug in at most 2 phone line..

tkboy85
18-01-2007, 07:12 PM
He probably meant the mio box only have 2 output for phone lines. But you can try putting a splitter and see if you still can call out/receive calls. Logically speaking shld be able to.

roadspeeder1
18-01-2007, 07:38 PM
*REVISED & UPDATED - 17th January 2007

Customer A:

Customer B:

Customer C:

**LATEST! Enquiry made to Singtel MIO Hotline 1800 555 6000

So how will my contract be calculated after upgrading my mobile handset every 12 months?

After you have perform a mobile handset upgrade every 12 months, you will be issued a 24 months Singtel Mobile contract that will run concurrently with your MIO Plan contract. Example show below.

MIO Plan contract balance: 12 months
Singtel Mobile Contract after mobile handset upgrade: 24 months

Both MIO Plan contract & Singtel Mobile Contract after mobile handset upgrade will run concurrently.

:s22: dont know who come out such a complicated "meow" plan... can't be bother to read them. just not interested, not attractive to me, still considering to jump boat if there are better offer by starhub.

comex_1
18-01-2007, 10:36 PM
He probably meant the mio box only have 2 output for phone lines.

The MIO box has two telephone port, but one is used to connect the ADSL line, so the Voip line only has one connection port.

StanII
18-01-2007, 10:55 PM

The MIO box has two telephone port, but one is used to connect the ADSL line, so the Voip line only has one connection port.
hmm.. hopefully a spliiter can work in the Voip line port.. then can have at least 2 phones at home instead of 1 only.. =/

alanchia67
18-01-2007, 11:01 PM
no, reading the 2wire specs, there is one port for dsl line, and 2 ports for voip.

outer92
18-01-2007, 11:38 PM

MIO box 2WIRE 2700HGV have two voip port
click here see spec (http://www.2wire.com/?p=106)

comex_1
19-01-2007, 06:40 PM
MIO box 2WIRE 2700HGV have two voip port
click here see spec (http://www.2wire.com/?p=106)

From the installation document picture of the 2700HGV, it looks like only has one VOIP telephone port.
Could be one port, two voip line.

patrickcheah
19-01-2007, 07:02 PM
Before I sign up for this MIO thingy,

Some tech stuff to clarify if any of you guys know, cos it's difficult to get thru to the Singtel Tech Support 1610 and Malifax Tech Supp 62875033 too.

I believe the MIO box is a customise 2Wire 2700HGV for Singtel. Maybe some of you with 2wire experience can clarify better since I'm with Singnet 10Mbps using ST585.

1. Can I use my own AP or Wifi Extender instead of the 2wire built in one?
2. How's the security features on 2wire wifi? WPA or WPA2 support?
3. Can I do MAC filtering?
4. Firewall - can I do port forwarding? Since I got server at home.
5. Any of you guys, have experiece with Digital Voice (VOIP) with hse alarm and home control systems, will it work thru VOIP? i.e. Currently I can control my hse A/C, heater & lights thru anologue lines. Dial-in to control hse.

ah_cheng1882
19-01-2007, 09:56 PM
does tat mean that if the current analogue fixed line is under my father's name, i cant sign up?

also, can i choose to retain e fixed line number?

im asking bcos most prob my dad wont be willing to get involved in this thing, so i'd like to sign up under my name and also not change e current analogue fixed line number....

anyone can help?

jeRrRKKKK
19-01-2007, 10:01 PM
:s22: dont know who come out such a complicated "meow" plan... can't be bother to read them. just not interested, not attractive to me, still considering to jump boat if there are better offer by starhub.
this also means that if you sign up for meow, you won't be able to enjoy recontracting internet subscription to get freebies... yucks

hwmook
19-01-2007, 10:04 PM
does tat mean that if the current analogue fixed line is under my father's name, i cant sign up?

also, can i choose to retain e fixed line number?

im asking bcos most prob my dad wont be willing to get involved in this thing, so i'd like to sign up under my name and also not change e current analogue fixed line number....

anyone can help?

the home line need to be under your name for you to sign up for the 3 in 1 plan.

the VOIP number will be the same as the analogue line number it replaced.

hwmook
19-01-2007, 10:06 PM
Before I sign up for this MIO thingy,

Some tech stuff to clarify if any of you guys know, cos it's difficult to get thru to the Singtel Tech Support 1610 and Malifax Tech Supp 62875033 too.

I believe the MIO box is a customise 2Wire 2700HGV for Singtel. Maybe some of you with 2wire experience can clarify better since I'm with Singnet 10Mbps using ST585.

1. Can I use my own AP or Wifi Extender instead of the 2wire built in one?
2. How's the security features on 2wire wifi? WPA or WPA2 support?
3. Can I do MAC filtering?
4. Firewall - can I do port forwarding? Since I got server at home.
5. Any of you guys, have experiece with Digital Voice (VOIP) with hse alarm and home control systems, will it work thru VOIP? i.e. Currently I can control my hse A/C, heater & lights thru anologue lines. Dial-in to control hse.

for your questions 1-4, you just need to get your own router to connect to the 2wire and all your problems are solved. For question 5, i am not sure how your current system work so its not possible for me to comment.

ah_cheng1882
19-01-2007, 10:37 PM
thanks!..............

the home line need to be under your name for you to sign up for the 3 in 1 plan.

the VOIP number will be the same as the analogue line number it replaced.

bizcon
19-01-2007, 11:26 PM
Some technical qns:

1) This thing got unlimited local calls? Fax also can?? chargeable??

2) If I sign up MIO voice with a new registed fixed line. Currently, I also have a 1.5m BB line riding on my DAD normal analoge line. Can I use my SNBB userid on the MIO box on the new registed line??
Technically, should be a problem right??

ScorpFire
19-01-2007, 11:35 PM
Well i have a 512kbps bb and a analogue line and a Ioneplus. Tis mio plan really impresses me and very keen to sing up (mainly coz of the 3mbps Int). Anybody wanna give me advice on wheather i shuld or shuld not sign up And what are the disadvantages this MIO plan have over my current subscriptions? Please no starhub-singnet comparison...

ScorpFire
20-01-2007, 05:11 PM
BTW the MIO bb uses a DSL line rite? And if i get the Plan for the savvy user i will atomatically be a subscriber of miovoice rite to have unlimited local calls.. And also will i get the miobox free??

quakytan
20-01-2007, 06:05 PM
Can I check, if i were to sign up for the $68 mio plan does it come with voip on my hp via wireless connection? or is this a VAS needingto pay?
Will there be another voip number for the hp?

outer92
20-01-2007, 06:35 PM
Can I check, if i were to sign up for the $68 mio plan does it come with voip on my hp via wireless connection? or is this a VAS needingto pay?
Will there be another voip number for the hp?

no! all mio plan not incude mio mobile (have to pay another $15/-)

StanII
20-01-2007, 09:49 PM
Well i have a 512kbps bb and a analogue line and a Ioneplus. Tis mio plan really impresses me and very keen to sing up (mainly coz of the 3mbps Int). Anybody wanna give me advice on wheather i shuld or shuld not sign up And what are the disadvantages this MIO plan have over my current subscriptions? Please no starhub-singnet comparison...one big disadvantage is u would mind is, mio box not powered on, = no residential phone..(VoIP) u can still choose to keep ur current analog line at an extra cost..

signing up for mio plan main idea is about saving money on ur monthly bills, u can consider signing up as it does save u money every month, and miobox is free if u sign up the mio plan now.. no installation fee or wad.. and u can also upgrade ur handset every 12 months at the stated prices for new phones with 2 yr signing.. means u get $100 wavied.. and there are no other freebies such as free com, tv or wad.. tt's abt it ba.. hope this helps..

redno
20-01-2007, 11:40 PM
one big disadvantage is u would mind is, mio box not powered on, = no residential phone..(VoIP) u can still choose to keep ur current analog line at an extra cost..

signing up for mio plan main idea is about saving money on ur monthly bills, u can consider signing up as it does save u money every month, and miobox is free if u sign up the mio plan now.. no installation fee or wad.. and u can also upgrade ur handset every 12 months at the stated prices for new phones with 2 yr signing.. means u get $100 wavied.. and there are no other freebies such as free com, tv or wad.. tt's abt it ba.. hope this helps..

You are right.. when there is no power, the phone will not work...

With the analog phone, it will work if the power failure did not affect the telephone exchange.

msbk019
21-01-2007, 02:09 AM
FYI all new sign ups with SNBB, they will now issue the new 2WIRE 2700HGV. This is to cater to those ppl who want to upgrade to MIO plan in the future. SingTel is pushing real hard on MIO now.

StanII
21-01-2007, 02:43 AM
FYI all new sign ups with SNBB, they will now issue the new 2WIRE 2700HGV. This is to cater to those ppl who want to upgrade to MIO plan in the future. SingTel is pushing real hard on MIO now.
hmm tt's gd wad.. customers get a better modem liao..singtel making mio their head in the BB part liao.. cos they hope more ppl will sign up ba.. given the amount of money u save every month from seperate bills.. anyway i heard 2wire is quite troublesome to configure? or it's firewall is a hassle? i'm not too sure cos i'm still waiting for mine to arrive on the 24th..

StanII
21-01-2007, 02:44 AM
You are right.. when there is no power, the phone will not work...

With the analog phone, it will work if the power failure did not affect the telephone exchange.
anyway not much diff to mi also, cos nowadays alot of ppl got mobile phones le.. so got or dun have house phone doesn't matter too much also..

Dracula83
21-01-2007, 02:53 AM
hmm tt's gd wad.. customers get a better modem liao..singtel making mio their head in the BB part liao.. cos they hope more ppl will sign up ba.. given the amount of money u save every month from seperate bills.. anyway i heard 2wire is quite troublesome to configure? or it's firewall is a hassle? i'm not too sure cos i'm still waiting for mine to arrive on the 24th..

2wire is easy to install for the BB. the hassle is the firewall. it has an inbuild one... so u have to release the port for some applications to work. For me i install at ppl house only take me 10mins to install the BB. but this MIO thingy its more as a hassle for an installer coz we have to call the hotline to get ur MIO system ID.

So far installed 10 MIO's already... The worst is i have to wait at customer place for 2 hrs coz of some backend problems.

StanII
21-01-2007, 03:38 AM
2wire is easy to install for the BB. the hassle is the firewall. it has an inbuild one... so u have to release the port for some applications to work. For me i install at ppl house only take me 10mins to install the BB. but this MIO thingy its more as a hassle for an installer coz we have to call the hotline to get ur MIO system ID.

So far installed 10 MIO's already... The worst is i have to wait at customer place for 2 hrs coz of some backend problems.
ohh u work for singtel ah? icic.. erm.. cos i heard from my friend tt some net he cnt when he uses his 2wire modem and when he changed back his old one, everything went bak to norm.. lidat sure a hassle if i were to release ports 1 by 1..

hwmook
21-01-2007, 09:28 AM
ohh u work for singtel ah? icic.. erm.. cos i heard from my friend tt some net he cnt when he uses his 2wire modem and when he changed back his old one, everything went bak to norm.. lidat sure a hassle if i were to release ports 1 by 1..

ALL routers require you to forward ports. if you don't want to do so then just enable the DMZ mode or set it to bridge mode. Its all about simple configuration.

bizcon
21-01-2007, 11:55 AM

Are they giving away for the 12mths plan?? They state need to top up for wireless version.

hwmook
21-01-2007, 11:59 AM
Are they giving away for the 12mths plan?? They state need to top up for wireless version.

then you don't get it for the 12months plan. only those who getting the wireless will get it.

bizcon
21-01-2007, 12:10 PM
I still thought of recontract my SNBB and use the 2wire when I wish to sign up a new fixed line with MIO voice.

ScorpFire
21-01-2007, 07:10 PM
Ok if i sing up for the mioplan(currently have a fixed line) , until the service activation date i can my old analogue line rite???

reimina
21-01-2007, 11:05 PM
Don't know who came out with this kind of complicated plans! Bloody hell. If you choose to retain you fixed line, you have to pay $8.75/month plus One-Time Activation Charge of $52.20 in addition to your MIO plan charges? :s22:

StanII
21-01-2007, 11:28 PM
Don't know who came out with this kind of complicated plans! Bloody hell. If you choose to retain you fixed line, you have to pay $8.75/month plus One-Time Activation Charge of $52.20 in addition to your MIO plan charges? :s22:
not sure of activation charge, was nt told of any charges when i signed up..

reimina
21-01-2007, 11:38 PM
not sure of activation charge, was nt told of any charges when i signed up..

Is the fixed line under your name?

StanII
24-01-2007, 03:10 PM
under my dad's name but i did all the proceedings for him, mio box came le.. jus dunno wad is the 2wire modem homepage only.. no installation fee..

ongzihao
27-01-2007, 02:30 AM
Ok if i sing up for the mioplan(currently have a fixed line) , until the service activation date i can my old analogue line rite???
Yes. Unless you still opt to pay for the fix analog line.

ongzihao
27-01-2007, 02:31 AM
under my dad's name but i did all the proceedings for him, mio box came le.. jus dunno wad is the 2wire modem homepage only.. no installation fee..
By default, if I understand you correctly, 192.168.1.254

ongzihao
27-01-2007, 02:59 AM
Somethings to take note before signup for MIO: (These are what I heard/gather/experienced)
1. All LINES have to go OUT from the MIO BOX itself
2. All Wall Sockets will be disabled unless you continue to pay for the analog service
3. The MIO Box is a router/modem/phone socket
4. Your phone is made thru the Box itself, without power, no calls.
5. To use other routers, you can let it go into DMZ mode.
6. You have to specify the provided systemID at voice setup within the configuration page to make calls
7. The UI is at 192.168.1.254 by default
8. Please remember to set system password as the technician would not do it for you
9. For some reason inbound on port 80 has some problems. So those webserving on this router beware.
10. When signup for the plan, it is said to be a must to get a phone with it.
11. The plan comes with certain VAS, please check MIO website. For my case, I cancelled my Autoroam and saved another $10 monthly for my mobile in this the $98 Mio Plan.
12. To sign up for the plan, check your eligibility via phone.
13. Ensure that if you are signing up for the all-in-1 plan, the account has to be under your name.
14. If any of the account holders are not present for transfer of ownership, you have to bring their physical IC along and a letter of authorization.
15. Do note there is some age limitations for getting discount on supplmentary lines.
16. There is only one phone port on the Mio Box. It will come with some splitters and microfilters (4)
17. There is no QoS, Port Prority and stuff on this router.
18. All existing contracts below some amount of months from expiry will be waived from penaty to sign up for this plan.
19. If your MIO Plan comes with ITwoplus, you will enjoy another amount of discount on phones. E.g. a further $120 off a N80. ($390)
20. You can sign up any other classic etc lines as your supplimentary lines for 50% discount. Like the transfer of ownership of the other services (e.g. fixed line, broadband), all these will have to be charged under one bill into our account.

mchandra11
27-01-2007, 09:57 AM
I signed up for MIO weeks ago. The installation date is today. Yesterday night SingTel call me to postphone the installation. Has anyone encounter such a problem? I am going to lodge a complain.

ScorpFire
27-01-2007, 11:28 AM
As of now, installation delays are common. Due to being launch period.. many ppl are signing up so there shuld be a delay. But go ahead and complain.

To send a complain via e-mail, go to http://home.singtel.com/customer_service/cust_serv_emailus.asp

StanII
27-01-2007, 12:24 PM
Somethings to take note before signup for MIO: (These are what I heard/gather/experienced)
1. All LINES have to go OUT from the MIO BOX itself
2. All Wall Sockets will be disabled unless you continue to pay for the analog service
3. The MIO Box is a router/modem/phone socket
4. Your phone is made thru the Box itself, without power, no calls.
5. To use other routers, you can let it go into DMZ mode.
6. You have to specify the provided systemID at voice setup within the configuration page to make calls
7. The UI is at 192.168.1.254 by default
8. Please remember to set system password as the technician would not do it for you
9. For some reason inbound on port 80 has some problems. So those webserving on this router beware.
10. When signup for the plan, it is said to be a must to get a phone with it.
11. The plan comes with certain VAS, please check MIO website. For my case, I cancelled my Autoroam and saved another $10 monthly for my mobile in this the $98 Mio Plan.
12. To sign up for the plan, check your eligibility via phone.
13. Ensure that if you are signing up for the all-in-1 plan, the account has to be under your name.
14. If any of the account holders are not present for transfer of ownership, you have to bring their physical IC along and a letter of authorization.
15. Do note there is some age limitations for getting discount on supplmentary lines.
16. There is only one phone port on the Mio Box. It will come with some splitters and microfilters (4)
17. There is no QoS, Port Prority and stuff on this router.
18. All existing contracts below some amount of months from expiry will be waived from penaty to sign up for this plan.
19. If your MIO Plan comes with ITwoplus, you will enjoy another amount of discount on phones. E.g. a further $120 off a N80. ($390)
20. You can sign up any other classic etc lines as your supplimentary lines for 50% discount. Like the transfer of ownership of the other services (e.g. fixed line, broadband), all these will have to be charged under one bill into our account.
2.) wall sockets can still be used for VoIP.

MrBean007
27-01-2007, 03:05 PM
They got bundle any VAS during ur signup..?

isit 68 all the way..? as long as u dun over use the mobile line?

if so quick signup ltr starhub come out with digital voice + cabletv + Maxonline + mobile at a nice price then ki hong gan liao

can i ask my family members to signup for my behalf..?

ongzihao
27-01-2007, 04:00 PM
2.) wall sockets can still be used for VoIP.
I dont get what you mean, can you further elaborate pls? Tks.

ongzihao
27-01-2007, 04:02 PM
They got bundle any VAS during ur signup..?

isit 68 all the way..? as long as u dun over use the mobile line?

if so quick signup ltr starhub come out with digital voice + cabletv + Maxonline + mobile at a nice price then ki hong gan liao

can i ask my family members to signup for my behalf..?

Yes. For my $98 plan,
mobile comes with autoroam, free incoming, callerid etc.
home line comes with 3 way calling (call waiting etc), caller id, etc.
I can only recall so much, more details you can check the website.

The only variable comes from the mobile line and home line if you make ovs calls etc.

hwmook
27-01-2007, 04:37 PM
I dont get what you mean, can you further elaborate pls? Tks.

all your wall sockets came from 1 main line, you just need to plug the main line to the MIO box then all wall sockets can still be used.

danxiaogui86
27-01-2007, 04:43 PM
how do u know which one is ur main line?

Modem is my room. if not main line mean my modem cannot be in my room liao.

outer92
27-01-2007, 04:43 PM
I signed up for MIO weeks ago. The installation date is today. Yesterday night SingTel call me to postphone the installation. Has anyone encounter such a problem? I am going to lodge a complain.

same to me, installation date is yesterday , CSO singtel have call me on thurday night to postphone to next week saturday
:s27:

hwmook
27-01-2007, 05:51 PM

main line most likely in living room....you have got some relaying of phone line to do. Else just get a DECT phone. :s22:

Igene
27-01-2007, 05:54 PM
Think I will sign up this year end ah. Now still with MOL. End end time both mobile and internet contract ending. What I like is don't have to pay for analogue phone service rental.
Can save a bit I think.

kao
27-01-2007, 06:07 PM
Actually I don't think it is wise to get mio currently. One of the mio service Mobile uses wifi. You need to pay 300 at least for the wifi phone. And you don't have much choices (2-3 models) currently too. If you can wait you should wait till Singtel offers the 4th mio service which is the payTV. By that time I'm sure more models and more areas will be covered in wifi. By that time I'm sure the BB prices will also drop a little.

ScorpFire
27-01-2007, 08:05 PM
Yeah thats the advice the promoter gave me too, WAIT

StanII
27-01-2007, 09:34 PM
Actually I don't think it is wise to get mio currently. One of the mio service Mobile uses wifi. You need to pay 300 at least for the wifi phone. And you don't have much choices (2-3 models) currently too. If you can wait you should wait till Singtel offers the 4th mio service which is the payTV. By that time I'm sure more models and more areas will be covered in wifi. By that time I'm sure the BB prices will also drop a little.
u dun necessarily need to use wifi, tt's for mio mobile which enables u to have unlimited calls on ur mobile phone when u're near the mio box, if such.. ur hp plan unlimited incoming rite? + ur residential phone which is mio voice have unlimited calling ritE? so y do u even care abt the wifi in the first place? correct me if im wrong.

Dracula83
27-01-2007, 10:47 PM
u dun necessarily need to use wifi, tt's for mio mobile which enables u to have unlimited calls on ur mobile phone when u're near the mio box, if such.. ur hp plan unlimited incoming rite? + ur residential phone which is mio voice have unlimited calling ritE? so y do u even care abt the wifi in the first place? correct me if im wrong.

ur mobile need to be wifi capable... then u use the wifi and the internet phone that is installed in ur hp to do the call out. So far in the market there's like 3 wifi handphones thats supported by singnet/singtel

danxiaogui86
27-01-2007, 11:30 PM
main line most likely in living room....you have got some relaying of phone line to do. Else just get a DECT phone. :s22:

Haha, anyway, do u know if possible to use the 2wire as a normal modem while getting a d-link 4300 as a wireless router. i call the cso, all give me bull**** answer.

hwmook
28-01-2007, 01:54 AM
ur mobile need to be wifi capable... then u use the wifi and the internet phone that is installed in ur hp to do the call out. So far in the market there's like 3 wifi handphones thats supported by singnet/singtel

nobody ask you to use the HP with Wifi right? Use your damn home phone lah. :s22:

hwmook
28-01-2007, 01:55 AM
Haha, anyway, do u know if possible to use the 2wire as a normal modem while getting a d-link 4300 as a wireless router. i call the cso, all give me bull**** answer.

It should be similar to my current 2wire modem which is possible to set to bridge mode.

danxiaogui86
28-01-2007, 11:57 AM
It should be similar to my current 2wire modem which is possible to set to bridge mode.

Hrm, Reason for doing so is becuz the 2wire does not support upnp and Qos.

hwmook
28-01-2007, 11:59 AM

i am using Dlink DI-634m connected to my 2wire.

danxiaogui86
28-01-2007, 12:35 PM
i am using Dlink DI-634m connected to my 2wire.

how was it? is it better then the 2wire? i quite concern tat if i set my 2wire to bridge mode. then will the voip be gone.

interguy
28-01-2007, 03:21 PM
nobody ask you to use the HP with Wifi right? Use your damn home phone lah. :s22:
Not right leh. If somebody using his home phone, how? The HP wif wifi still come in handy mah.

danxiaogui86
28-01-2007, 05:16 PM
Not right leh. If somebody using his home phone, how? The HP wif wifi still come in handy mah.

To each of his own lar.

hwmook
28-01-2007, 05:48 PM

my house phone nobody use de. Free incoming calls, all use handphones already.

swng63
28-01-2007, 10:32 PM
I have a very bad experience with the Mio Plan. I wished I had read this thread earlier; that would have solved some of my problems.

I signed up for the Mio Plan on 17 Jan and had the Mio box installed on the 24 Jan.

I have two phones connected to two different sockets in the flat.
Days before the installation, there is no dial tone on my Sanyo cordless phone. I thought it was out of order and actually spent time looking for a new cordless phone. Thank goodness I didn't buy a new one because the cordless phone is not spoilt. It is most likely SingTel doing something to the line of which I am not informed of!

On the installation day, I was told by the installer that I am supposed to received SingTel's service letter. The service letter containing the passwords did not arrived until 3 says later, on 27 Jan!

Anyway, after the Mio Box installation, the installer demonstrated that there was broadband connection and that I was able to receive one incoming call and when I picked up the phone, I could hear a dial tone. BTW, the installer connected the Sanyo cordless phone to the microfilter (not to the Mio box). I was also instructed by the installer to connect the microfilter between each phone in the house and its respective wall socket. The Mio Box package came with 4 microfilters. However, shortly after he left, there was no dial tone to both my phones.

Needless to say, I called up SingTel immediately. The operator tried calling my home number and told me that she hears only an "ENGAGED" tone and that something is probably not right with the telephone line. She told me that the earliest appointment for fixing the problem was on 1 Feb, which is 8 days later. That made me real mad. On the day of installation I lose my phone connection and I had to wait 8 days to get it fixed. I demanded to talk to someone of higher authority and she said that somebody would call me back. I waited till noon the next day and nobody called me back. I made another call and was told that my service date has been changed to 31 Jan and nobody told me that. Again I was told somebody would call me back but didn't hear from them until Sunday, 28 Jan.

Early this morning (Sun), I decided to connect the Sanyo phone to the VoIP port on the Mio box and I got the dial tone! Why didn't the installer make this connection for me and why didn't the SingTel operator check to see if I have connected the phone to the Mio Box. Oh, by the way, when you call me number, you will not hear the old Singapore ring tone. You will hear instead a new dialling tone which goes "too, too, (pause), too, too (pause) . . .. If you hear such a dialling tone, you will probably think you got the wrong number, right? Even the SingTel operator herself mistake this new dial tone for an engaged tone!

So, do you think all the problems are solved now now that I have broadband connection and my home phone line up? No!!!

1) What about my other phone in the room? I no longer can use it.
2) Forget about the strange dialling tone, after five "too, too" sounds, it gets cut off. You better start running fast, otherwise you will never reach you phone in time to pick it up. Mind you I live in a HDB flat. If you live in a house, good luck, you better be able to run 100 metres in under 11 sec to pick up your phone.

I am totally pissed with the service SingTel is provding. I don't think I have been so unhappy with any product I purchased or service I used in my entire 40 odd years of life.
I wonder if the postponed installation dates that I read about on this thread have anything to do with all these problems I am facing. I have wasted many many hours trying to figure out what is wrong with my cordless phone, trying to buy a new cordless phone, wondering why there is no dial tone upon installation of the Mio Box, calling the Mio hotline (which is not easy to get through), trying to configure the Mio Box. I hope SingTel will get their act together; I can't believe such a big service provider cannot get such a simple act together.

Dracula83
28-01-2007, 10:59 PM
1) What about my other phone in the room? I no longer can use it.

At ur modem, there will be a splitter with the labels P1 n P2. plug another splitter(the one without any label) in P1. Then one hole goes to the phone the other plug it to the 'Phone' label in ur microfilter. Cross ur fingers that ur other phones in the house ring. If it cant means ur house wiring is not in paralel. U have to use a DECT phone.

2) Forget about the strange dialling tone, after five "too, too" sounds, it gets cut off. You better start running fast, otherwise you will never reach you phone in time to pick it up. Mind you I live in a HDB flat. If you live in a house, good luck, you better be able to run 100 metres in under 11 sec to pick up your phone.

5 "too too"? I've never encounter tat before in all my installations.

swng63
29-01-2007, 12:21 AM
At ur modem, there will be a splitter with the labels P1 n P2. plug another splitter(the one without any label) in P1. Then one hole goes to the phone the other plug it to the 'Phone' label in ur microfilter. Cross ur fingers that ur other phones in the house ring. If it cant means ur house wiring is not in paralel. U have to use a DECT phone..

Thanks for your instructions. Tried that and it works. How come the person who came to install my Mio Box simply connect the phone to the microfilter? I wished you are working for SingTel and helping them to sort out their problems.

[QUOTE=Dracula83]5 "too too"? I've never encounter tat before in all my installations

Ok, not five but six "too, too" ringing/alerting tones. I was thinking of leaving my number here for you to call but I don't want others to be calling my number just to try it out. If I don't pick up the phone in time, I get an SMS from 1389 informing me that I have a missed call. To be fair, the SingTel guy who called today said it is possible for callers of my number to hear the old ringing tone but I have to call SingTel again to cancel some value added services!

Is it too much to ask for my old home phone to work as before and to have broadband connection? I hope there are less frustrated folks out there than me.

Dracula83
29-01-2007, 01:53 AM
Thanks for your instructions. Tried that and it works. How come the person who came to install my Mio Box simply connect the phone to the microfilter? I wished you are working for SingTel and helping them to sort out their problems.

I am an installer :s13:
Juz tat some installer hates wasting time and juz do the minimal juz to catch up with their late appointments. :s12: Coz once u sign the report $$ is in already :D

ongzihao
29-01-2007, 06:17 AM
For those who have experienced problems with their initial installations, please do not blame Singtel generally. I just wish to voice this out to be fair to everyone. You sign up with Singtel but the installer (for my case), comes from VRNET. So I can only blame VRNET for lousy service, the technician promise to call me back with regards to providing me the system id (voice setup) and configuring it to work with my linksys, but failed to do so. In the end, I did everything myself. They (the installer company) even messup their appointment time and came on some other day which I did not agreed to.

ongzihao
29-01-2007, 06:18 AM

If all the lines is the same number, the main line is any line you choose to install your modem. There is physically no difference from what I understand.

ongzihao
29-01-2007, 06:20 AM
all your wall sockets came from 1 main line, you just need to plug the main line to the MIO box then all wall sockets can still be used.
I assume you mean rewiring the sockets connection it to the outlet of miobox. Then it is correct.

ongzihao
29-01-2007, 06:22 AM
Yes. I did so just because it does not have qos/port priority/upnp and etc. So just set it to DMZ mode and then use your current router. Anyway the firewall for Miobox has some problem... reason which I am too lazy to find out, so use my own router instead.

swng63
29-01-2007, 08:40 AM
I am an installer :s13:
Juz tat some installer hates wasting time and juz do the minimal juz to catch up with their late appointments. :s12: Coz once u sign the report $$ is in already :D

Hey, your connection instructions doesn't work fully. It allows the second phone connected to a second wall socket to have a dial tone. But when making an incoming call to my number, both phones do not ring. So, I have gone back to just connecting one phone to the Mio Box. So, my problems with the Mio system are still not solved.

Outstanding problems:

1) Not possible to use a second phone with a second wall socket.
2) The strange "foreign" ring tone which goes on for only 6 "rings" which is too short for an average person to respond to a phone call in time.

swng63
29-01-2007, 08:46 AM
For those who have experienced problems with their initial installations, please do not blame Singtel generally. I just wish to voice this out to be fair to everyone. You sign up with Singtel but the installer (for my case), comes from VRNET. So I can only blame VRNET for lousy service, the technician promise to call me back with regards to providing me the system id (voice setup) and configuring it to work with my linksys, but failed to do so. In the end, I did everything myself. They (the installer company) even messup their appointment time and came on some other day which I did not agreed to.

I signed the contract with SingTel; I didn't sign any contract with the installer. It is SingTel's responsibility to manage its subcontractors; not ours.

If SingTel didn't mess up, how do you explain the following:

1. Service letters that came 3 days after installation date
2. Installer that made the "wrong" connections. If "wrong", how come the phone worked when he tested it before he left?
3. How come SingTel operator mistook the new ring tone to be "engaged" tone?
4. How come she did not verify if I have connected the phone to the Mio box?

I have had enough; I am a totally dissatisfied customer.

And you should be thankful you are a tech savvy person; not everyone is like you.

tinker58
29-01-2007, 09:22 AM
Hey, your connection instructions doesn't work fully. It allows the second phone connected to a second wall socket to have a dial tone. But when making an incoming call to my number, both phones do not ring. So, I have gone back to just connecting one phone to the Mio Box. So, my problems with the Mio system are still not solved.

Outstanding problems:

2) The strange "foreign" ring tone which goes on for only 6 "rings" which is too short for an average person to respond to a phone call in time.

I think u need to make another apt with singtel to check out yr internal cabling. If all yr telephone points are connected in parellel it should work. Maybe some points in yr hse are connected in series while some are in parallel. It could also be the server at singtel's side that's having problems. The only way to know is to do a thorough check by singtel technician by making another apt with them.

I highly suspect it's yr internal cabling configuration that's not compatible.

tinker58
29-01-2007, 09:28 AM

Agreed it's VrNet fault for providing poor MIO service. But singtel should also be held accountable as it's their supplier. Bad service by supplier to customer also reflects badly on the promoter aka singtel

hwmook
29-01-2007, 09:32 AM
Yes. I did so just because it does not have qos/port priority/upnp and etc. So just set it to DMZ mode and then use your current router. Anyway the firewall for Miobox has some problem... reason which I am too lazy to find out, so use my own router instead.

Setting it on DMZ mode is still not good enough IMO. you should set it to bridge mode for your router to take over everything.

hwmook
29-01-2007, 09:34 AM
I assume you mean rewiring the sockets connection it to the outlet of miobox. Then it is correct.

that's what i mean. dig out the line and connect it. Done, everything swee swee.

ongzihao
29-01-2007, 10:04 AM
Setting it on DMZ mode is still not good enough IMO. you should set it to bridge mode for your router to take over everything.

Well, where is this bridge mode you are talking about? I see nothing of it in my machine.

ongzihao
29-01-2007, 10:06 AM

Outstanding problems:

I did not catch your problem. Could you try to elaborate your configuration?

ongzihao
29-01-2007, 10:08 AM
Agreed it's VrNet fault for providing poor MIO service. But singtel should also be held accountable as it's their supplier. Bad service by supplier to customer also reflects badly on the promoter aka singtel
Yap. It is already reflecting badly. I shot 3 complains to them already. But I am clear about whose fault and who to target to resolve the fault (I work from top-down, Singtel to Vrnet).

ongzihao
29-01-2007, 10:13 AM
I signed the contract with SingTel; I didn't sign any contract with the installer. It is SingTel's responsibility to manage its subcontractors; not ours.

If SingTel didn't mess up, how do you explain the following:

1. Service letters that came 3 days after installation date
2. Installer that made the "wrong" connections. If "wrong", how come the phone worked when he tested it before he left?
3. How come SingTel operator mistook the new ring tone to be "engaged" tone?
4. How come she did not verify if I have connected the phone to the Mio box?

I have had enough; I am a totally dissatisfied customer.

And you should be thankful you are a tech savvy person; not everyone is like you.

1. You can get the system id (which is the password to mio voice, user id is your home number 6xxxxxxx) from the mio hotline easily. Thus service letter is not as important. But of course, not many knows that.
For your problem 2 - 4, I dont quite understand what they are and thus I can't really tell you whose fault it is and what solutions to take. But anyway, my warning is only sign the service agreement when all is checked to be working. Without the paper signed, they have to come back again to get it fixed.

swng63
29-01-2007, 10:18 AM
I did not catch your problem. Could you try to elaborate your configuration?

Connect first mircofilter to first wall socket. Connect the Mio Box to DSL port of this first mircofilter. Connect the P1/P2 splitter to phone port of Mio Box. Connect the normal splitter to P1 port of the P1/P2 splitter. Connect my cordless SANYO phone to one of the ports of the normal splitter. Connect the other port of the normal splitter to the phone port of the first mircrofilter.

Connect second microfilter to second wall socket. Connect corded phone to the phone port of this second microfilter.

With the above configuration, I can hear the dial tones on both phones. But when I call my own number using my mobile phone, none of the home phones rang.

I am quite sure it will work if I connect the corded phone to the second port of the normal spiltter, but to do that I will have to run a new cable from the living room to the bedroom where the second wall socket is.

It will be good if you can help. Thanks in advance.

swng63
29-01-2007, 11:32 AM
1. You can get the system id (which is the password to mio voice, user id is your home number 6xxxxxxx) from the mio hotline easily. Thus service letter is not as important. But of course, not many knows that.
For your problem 2 - 4, I dont quite understand what they are and thus I can't really tell you whose fault it is and what solutions to take. But anyway, my warning is only sign the service agreement when all is checked to be working. Without the paper signed, they have to come back again to get it fixed.

If you had read my long complaint posting, you probably know what I meant in points 2- 4.

2. When installer came, he connected my phone to the phone port of the microfilter, not to the phone port of the Mio Box. But when he did that, he was able to demonstrate that his connection worked (i.e. I was able to receive an incoming call and to make an outgoing call). But shortly after that, I lost the dial tone on my phone because the phone should be connected to the Mio box. So, SingTel must have done something on their end after the installer demonstrated that the phone works when connect to the Microfilter and not the Mio Box. And how am I supposed to know that the phone is to be connected to the Mio Box subsequently? When I called SingTel to tell them that I am unable to hear the dial tone and to receive any incoming call after the installer left, they walked me through the voice configuration. I told them specifically that the phone is connected to the microfilter but they didn't even tell me to connect it to the Mio Box.

3. If you call my old telephone number, you now hear a new alert tone which is very different from the old alert tone. When the SingTel person heard this new alert tone, she told me she heard an "ENGAGED" tone. If SingTel people cannot tell a new alert tone from an engaged tone, how on earth is anyone on the street going to know this is the new alert tone. When they call my number, they prorbably hang up before I answer the phone!

4. As I mentioned above, when the SingTel person walked me through the voice configuration, she should have checked that my phone is connected to the Mio Box and not directly to the microfilter. In the first place, why did the installer connect the phone to the microfilter? And amazingly, how did it work then? And shortly after that, it didn't? There is no user installation guide or user guide that came with the Mio Box (I know they are available on the internet but at least tell me so). Very very poor service. FULL STOP.

I have written two complaint e-mails to SingTel and I hope the right people are reading them. They can't possibly roll out a service like that without the proper testing, installation, education, etc. What is the point of spending $3million in nice glossy advertisement when they can't simply get it right the first time? They should spend more time and money gettting their subcontractors and their service people up to speed with their own product.

ongzihao
29-01-2007, 12:12 PM
Ok. I give up drawing it in Words. I try my best to describe it to the best details.
Here the stories goes:

Part I of the story
============
1. I have 2 wall sockets, both to the same source outside the house. (under the same line)
2. At one wall socket (no mio box), I have a microfilter with 2 phones and 1 fax attached.

Part II of the story (some might not be of relevance to those not using another router)
=============
3. At the other wall socket, I have a microfilter.
4. The miobox is connected to the modem port of the microfilter I am having (I am using the old one I have, not the one they are giving me)
5. My miobox is set to DMZ mode and there I connect my router to Lan Port 1. I have also disabled DHCP by choosing manual settings under the HomeNetwork tab.
6. My router is then connected to other computers in my Home LAN.
7. Before I disconnect my RJ45 Lan Cable from PC to miobox, I configure under the voice settings Line 1 to be active, and set the UserID and Password (system ID they called it) and lastly the "ringtone" to Type C. (I find type C still acceptable). Next I connect my RJ45 from PC to router and thus not able to see the Mixbox user interface any more. (primary reason why I configure it first before disconnecting from miobox). Last, pls check that PHONE 1 LED on miobox is lighted up.
8. At the Miobox, phone port (behind the box), I connected the P1/P2 splitter.
9. Since I am using Line1 only, I connect my normal splitter to P1, please note, connecting anything to P2, DO NOT WORK.
10. From one of the port of the normal splitter, I connect my cordless phone.
11. At the remaining one port of the normal spliter, I connect a telephone cord (given in the packate) from it to the microfilter's telephone port (the one which I connect to the wall socket and where I connect my miobox at its modem port). This is to "tunnel" the call to the other sockets in your home.

Past III: The Testing:
===============
1. All phones has dial tones.
2. Used my mobile to call and all phones, fax rang
3. However, it rang 10s before its cut off and a sms sent to my mobile to notify the miss call.
4. I have tried all the other "ring tones" under the voice settings, and does not help it lengthening this 10 seconds. The only fix is via firmware from what I understand.

swng63
29-01-2007, 01:19 PM
Ok. I give up drawing it in Words. I try my best to describe it to the best details.
Here the stories goes:

Part I of the story
============
1. I have 2 wall sockets, both to the same source outside the house. (under the same line)
2. At one wall socket (no mio box), I have a microfilter with 2 phones and 1 fax attached.

Part II of the story (some might not be of relevance to those not using another router)
=============
3. At the other wall socket, I have a microfilter.
4. The miobox is connected to the modem port of the microfilter I am having (I am using the old one I have, not the one they are giving me)
5. My miobox is set to DMZ mode and there I connect my router to Lan Port 1. I have also disabled DHCP by choosing manual settings under the HomeNetwork tab.
6. My router is then connected to other computers in my Home LAN.
7. Before I disconnect my RJ45 Lan Cable from PC to miobox, I configure under the voice settings Line 1 to be active, and set the UserID and Password (system ID they called it) and lastly the "ringtone" to Type C. (I find type C still acceptable). Next I connect my RJ45 from PC to router and thus not able to see the Mixbox user interface any more. (primary reason why I configure it first before disconnecting from miobox). Last, pls check that PHONE 1 LED on miobox is lighted up.
8. At the Miobox, phone port (behind the box), I connected the P1/P2 splitter.
9. Since I am using Line1 only, I connect my normal splitter to P1, please note, connecting anything to P2, DO NOT WORK.
10. From one of the port of the normal splitter, I connect my cordless phone.
11. At the remaining one port of the normal spliter, I connect a telephone cord (given in the packate) from it to the microfilter's telephone port (the one which I connect to the wall socket and where I connect my miobox at its modem port). This is to "tunnel" the call to the other sockets in your home.

Past III: The Testing:
===============
1. All phones has dial tones.
2. Used my mobile to call and all phones, fax rang
3. However, it rang 10s before its cut off and a sms sent to my mobile to notify the miss call.
4. I have tried all the other "ring tones" under the voice settings, and does not help it lengthening this 10 seconds. The only fix is via firmware from what I understand.

Your configuration (your Part II) is pretty much like what I do with the Mio Box as suggested by Dracular83, an installer of the Mio box. But I get only the dial tones on the phones, the phones just do not ring during an incoming call.

I will give it a try again tonight when I get back home. I have wasted too much time trying to figure out how this whole system should be configured and how it should work.

BTW, what kind of alert (ringing) tone do you hear when you call your home number. Is it the alert tone in the past or new new alert tone, the "too, too <pause>, too, too, <pause> ..." (like those in some foreign countries)? And is the 10 second alerting period (about 6 too too) long enough for you to get to your phone?

ongzihao
29-01-2007, 01:20 PM
If you had read my long complaint posting, you probably know what I meant in points 2- 4.

2. When installer came, he connected my phone to the phone port of the microfilter, not to the phone port of the Mio Box. But when he did that, he was able to demonstrate that his connection worked (i.e. I was able to receive an incoming call and to make an outgoing call). But shortly after that, I lost the dial tone on my phone because the phone should be connected to the Mio box. So, SingTel must have done something on their end after the installer demonstrated that the phone works when connect to the Microfilter and not the Mio Box. And how am I supposed to know that the phone is to be connected to the Mio Box subsequently? When I called SingTel to tell them that I am unable to hear the dial tone and to receive any incoming call after the installer left, they walked me through the voice configuration. I told them specifically that the phone is connected to the microfilter but they didn't even tell me to connect it to the Mio Box.

3. If you call my old telephone number, you now hear a new alert tone which is very different from the old alert tone. When the SingTel person heard this new alert tone, she told me she heard an "ENGAGED" tone. If SingTel people cannot tell a new alert tone from an engaged tone, how on earth is anyone on the street going to know this is the new alert tone. When they call my number, they prorbably hang up before I answer the phone!

4. As I mentioned above, when the SingTel person walked me through the voice configuration, she should have checked that my phone is connected to the Mio Box and not directly to the microfilter. In the first place, why did the installer connect the phone to the microfilter? And amazingly, how did it work then? And shortly after that, it didn't? There is no user installation guide or user guide that came with the Mio Box (I know they are available on the internet but at least tell me so). Very very poor service. FULL STOP.

I have written two complaint e-mails to SingTel and I hope the right people are reading them. They can't possibly roll out a service like that without the proper testing, installation, education, etc. What is the point of spending $3million in nice glossy advertisement when they can't simply get it right the first time? They should spend more time and money gettting their subcontractors and their service people up to speed with their own product.

Sadly, some of these kids that is doing the installation has no basic idea what is going on. I hope VRnet can do something about it. Shortage of manpower doesn't mean they can find any people to do the job.

Anyway back to your point 2 to 4, basically, it worked at the beginning but not later because they will always call to cut off your analog line after they configure everything. Now, if you are using the miobox, it is so called "digitized" and due to the fact that the installer plug it to the wrong place (not at your miobox), it didn't work.

Connect first mircofilter to first wall socket. Connect the Mio Box to DSL port of this first mircofilter. Connect the P1/P2 splitter to phone port of Mio Box. Connect the normal splitter to P1 port of the P1/P2 splitter. Connect my cordless SANYO phone to one of the ports of the normal splitter. Connect the other port of the normal splitter to the phone port of the first mircrofilter.

Connect second microfilter to second wall socket. Connect corded phone to the phone port of this second microfilter.

With the above configuration, I can hear the dial tones on both phones. But when I call my own number using my mobile phone, none of the home phones rang.

I am quite sure it will work if I connect the corded phone to the second port of the normal spiltter, but to do that I will have to run a new cable from the living room to the bedroom where the second wall socket is.

It will be good if you can help. Thanks in advance.

Your connections are similar to mine if I understand it correctly. Maybe it will be good if you can tell me the voice settings under the miobox. And about your 2nd wall socket, is it tapped from the same source? (meaning is it of the same number as that of the other socket?) Hmm, well without looking at miobox configuration, it should be somewhat similar to my physical connection of the devices, apart from the diff that I never use their microfilters at all. I suspects its the settings at this moment.

ongzihao
29-01-2007, 01:32 PM
Your configuration (your Part II) is pretty much like what I do with the Mio Box as suggested by Dracular83, an installer of the Mio box. But I get only the dial tones on the phones, the phones just do not ring during an incoming call.

I will give it a try again tonight when I get back home. I have wasted too much time trying to figure out how this whole system should be configured and how it should work.

BTW, what kind of alert (ringing) tone do you hear when you call your home number. Is it the alert tone in the past or new new alert tone, the "too, too <pause>, too, too, <pause> ..." (like those in some foreign countries)? And is the 10 second alerting period (about 6 too too) long enough for you to get to your phone?

You mean the tone you hear at the house phone or over your mobile phone?
Yes, the 10s alearting period is very short. I am writing in to see if there is any way to resolve this.

hwmook
29-01-2007, 01:52 PM
Well, where is this bridge mode you are talking about? I see nothing of it in my machine.

set the connection type from PPPoE to Direct IP, disable the PVC search. You need to get into the management and diagnostic console and under "my services" you will be able to see an option to disable routing and set it into bridge mode. This is how to do it for the old 2wire modem, i am not sure how would it affect the Mio Box though, you can try it and see whether your phone still work.

play with it if you got time and update here. :)

hwmook
29-01-2007, 01:53 PM
Yes, the 10s alearting period is very short. I am writing in to see if there is any way to resolve this.

the 10s alert is a bit ridiculous IMO. at least should be 20-30s.

swng63
29-01-2007, 02:04 PM

Hey, I am referring to the alert tone you hear on your mobile phone when you use your mobile phone to call your home phone. The ringing/alert tone played by your home telephones will alway remain the same no matter what network you connect them to. The tone is built into the phones. However, that is not the case with the alert tone you get from the telecommunication network. You will hear whatever the telcomm n/w plays to you. I believe you are hearing the "strange" alert tone that I am getting when I call my home number since the alert period is the same, about 10 sec.

ongzihao
29-01-2007, 03:21 PM
You are correct. It sounds like ovs call! Lol. Hmm wonder that can be fixed too. People might thought I am diverting my calls from home to somewhere ovs... Think the 10s and the tone should be looked into.

ongzihao
29-01-2007, 04:18 PM
set the connection type from PPPoE to Direct IP, disable the PVC search. You need to get into the management and diagnostic console and under "my services" you will be able to see an option to disable routing and set it into bridge mode. This is how to do it for the old 2wire modem, i am not sure how would it affect the Mio Box though, you can try it and see whether your phone still work.

play with it if you got time and update here. :)

Dont see most of these in the UI of Miobox.

mrpolo
29-01-2007, 09:26 PM
Hey Guys.

Got some questions..

Since the mio box need to be power on 24 hrs at all times, is it electric bill frenly? Am contemplating signing up. But my mum has some hesitations since hearing about the need to be on 24/7...

Also, if we retain the analogue line, do we have to pay the monthly for it? Will it be charged extra?

For eg i thinking of taking the 83/mth plan. 100mins, 10Mbps.....

So will the monthly bill be more than 83 if retain the analogue?

Thanks all~

StanII
29-01-2007, 10:26 PM
if u choose to retain it then of course, existing charges will still apply.

mrpolo
29-01-2007, 10:35 PM
ah. i seem to write wrongly.

the question is, the analogue got monthly charge or pay as u use thingy?

ongzihao
29-01-2007, 11:51 PM
Hey Guys.

Got some questions..

Since the mio box need to be power on 24 hrs at all times, is it electric bill frenly? Am contemplating signing up. But my mum has some hesitations since hearing about the need to be on 24/7...

Also, if we retain the analogue line, do we have to pay the monthly for it? Will it be charged extra?

For eg i thinking of taking the 83/mth plan. 100mins, 10Mbps.....

So will the monthly bill be more than 83 if retain the analogue?

Thanks all~

I remember is monthly of about $8. (If i remember correctly to retain analog)
2 ways to think about the issue of powering the MIObox.
1. If you are saving at least $50 bucks per month(in my case), the electric is negligible.
2. If still you wish to find out how much it is to use it 24hrs, check the power rating and multiply by 24(per day). Then multiply by the cost per KWh. (Trust me, its small amount only).

reimina
29-01-2007, 11:53 PM
Electrical charges? Potential fire hazard? =:p

Dracula83
30-01-2007, 12:41 AM

Outstanding problems:

Like i said b4. If ur house wiring for the phone is in parallel tat method works. If it doesnt get a DECT phone.

hwmook
30-01-2007, 01:04 AM
ah. i seem to write wrongly.

the question is, the analogue got monthly charge or pay as u use thingy?

you need to pay $25.20 per quarterly and need to pay for every usage.

pls tell your mother that leaving the MIO box on for 24/7 a month use less electricity than you would when you boil 1 kettle of water using an electric kettle. It doesn't even cost a dollar in electricity bill to keep the Mio box online 24/7.

I personally find it insane for people to be so paranoid about leaving the Mio box on for 24/7. My 2wire modem is on for 24/7 for more than a year already. it doesn't even get a single second off.

outer92
30-01-2007, 01:27 AM
Electrical charges? Potential fire hazard? =:p

Will powering up mio box at all times consume a lot of electricity?

mio box is a low-power device, so it consumes very minimal electricity. Typical power consumption is below 13 watts, which will cost less than $2 per month (estimation calculated from SP Services).

ongzihao
30-01-2007, 02:03 AM
Will powering up mio box at all times consume a lot of electricity?

mio box is a low-power device, so it consumes very minimal electricity. Typical power consumption is below 13 watts, which will cost less than $2 per month (estimation calculated from SP Services).

Yeah, just a few $ at most per month. Fire harzards are just myths parent try to come up with for their kids to forsake anything they deem as funny lol.

ongzihao
30-01-2007, 02:05 AM
you need to pay $25.20 per quarterly and need to pay for every usage.

pls tell your mother that leaving the MIO box on for 24/7 a month use less electricity than you would when you boil 1 kettle of water using an electric kettle. It doesn't even cost a dollar in electricity bill to keep the Mio box online 24/7.

I personally find it insane for people to be so paranoid about leaving the Mio box on for 24/7. My 2wire modem is on for 24/7 for more than a year already. it doesn't even get a single second off.
Same here. Mine is up for 4 years. The adsl2 modem + computer and its devices like printer,scanner etc + router + many more. Haha.

ongzihao
30-01-2007, 02:07 AM
Like i said b4. If ur house wiring for the phone is in parallel tat method works. If it doesnt get a DECT phone.
Yeah it worked in my case and mine is parallel. But if its the same line, shouldn't it be parallel at a certain point? Hmmm.

tinker58
30-01-2007, 07:52 AM
Yeah it worked in my case and mine is parallel. But if its the same line, shouldn't it be parallel at a certain point? Hmmm.

That is not true for all cases. Some inhouse cabling done by wiring contractors combined both parellel and series method. The sad part of it is that when the jointings are done NOT through socket points but half way in between inside cornices. If that is the case the only way out is by laying new inhouse cabling.

As i had mentioned in my earlier post swng63 need to make an apt with singtel to confirmed that.

30-01-2007, 02:18 PM
I am thinking of signing up, and have a couple of questions (have been receiving inconsistent answers from promoters/helpline).

1) Can I continue to use non-singtel discounted IDD services (e.g. 1511, etc) with mio voice?

2) Is there anyway to retain the analog service without paying the $25/quarter fee? One of the promoters said that I only need to pay for usage, which is inconsistent with what others said so far.

ongzihao
30-01-2007, 04:08 PM
That is not true for all cases. Some inhouse cabling done by wiring contractors combined both parellel and series method. The sad part of it is that when the jointings are done NOT through socket points but half way in between inside cornices. If that is the case the only way out is by laying new inhouse cabling.

As i had mentioned in my earlier post swng63 need to make an apt with singtel to confirmed that.
Yeah, get what you mean. I did my own wiring right from outside the house. Haha.

ongzihao
30-01-2007, 06:53 PM
Found something interesting to share. If you are donwloading on many connections e.g. BT, phone calls might not get in. Any1 tried this?

pclinux
30-01-2007, 07:09 PM
I am thinking of signing up, and have a couple of questions (have been receiving inconsistent answers from promoters/helpline).

1) Can I continue to use non-singtel discounted IDD services (e.g. 1511, etc) with mio voice?

2) Is there anyway to retain the analog service without paying the $25/quarter fee? One of the promoters said that I only need to pay for usage, which is inconsistent with what others said so far.

Don't believe what they say verbally. You can believe when they state it in black & white.

a_peter
30-01-2007, 11:50 PM
Hi, Just wonder has any brother installed the MIO box (2wire 2700HGV) with a pair of HomePlug Ethernet Adapters? example: Aztech HL105E or Aztech HL105EW? How is the surfing, downloading and big File sharing-- any slow down effect?

Thanks for all advice.

Hanwudi
31-01-2007, 02:43 AM

1) Yes.

2) Pay as you use. Monthly charge already inclusive in MIO plan.

nofearck
31-01-2007, 04:59 PM
Guys, do i need to get a wireless card for my com?

swng63
31-01-2007, 05:20 PM
Guys, do i need to get a wireless card for my com?

Yes, you do. I got a PCI card. But people are telling me the USB version is better. You might want to find out if that is true before buying it. I have a laptop placed on the table and my desktop on the floor beneath my table. The laptop reading shows that the wireless connection is excellent while the desktop with the PCI card shows only low. The table is made of thin ply wood and shouldn't have shielded the RF signals. So, the only conclusion is that the PCI card is not so good a transceiver. I bought it thinking that it might be better because it has a short antenna that can be rotated. But even if the signal strength is low, there is still connection. Basically, it still works for me.

swng63
31-01-2007, 05:22 PM
You are correct. It sounds like ovs call! Lol. Hmm wonder that can be fixed too. People might thought I am diverting my calls from home to somewhere ovs... Think the 10s and the tone should be looked into.

Now, my phone rings much longer than the earlier 10 seconds. However, I still hear the strange foreign ringing tone. But I guess I can live with that. At least now the system is more acceptable, to me at least. Looks like to enable your home phone to ring longer than the 10-sec, you might have to deactivate the Value Added Services, one of which is to send a caller ID notification to your mobile if nobody picks up the home phone. I don't know what the other services are though.

ongzihao
01-02-2007, 07:03 AM
Now, my phone rings much longer than the earlier 10 seconds. However, I still hear the strange foreign ringing tone. But I guess I can live with that. At least now the system is more acceptable, to me at least. Looks like to enable your home phone to ring longer than the 10-sec, you might have to deactivate the Value Added Services, one of which is to send a caller ID notification to your mobile if nobody picks up the home phone. I don't know what the other services are though.

Yap, this is the service that give the problem. Sadly, I love to have it but... it is so SHORT.
I can live with the foreign ringing tone. Soon everyone will get used to it, just hope my frens and relatives wont hang up thinking I have divert the call overseas. Haha.

But do take note that if you are downloading alot of stuff using p2p software, meaning you have many connections made thru your router, you might not have your phone ringing when some1 calls.

megaweb
01-02-2007, 11:54 AM
any idea can I set my mio voice via a IAD ? What is the mio voice settings ?

SIP proxy ip address ? Can I use it in Wireless@SG environment ?

thermal
01-02-2007, 01:35 PM
I still find that now is not the right time to apply for MIO sevices because singnet still have a lot of problems with BB services.

pker88
02-02-2007, 01:41 AM
anyone on mio voice
got this echo like voice when u speaks?
its feels like mio voice is not tuned right yet
sounds like a lags when u speaks to it mio voice

caltex88
02-02-2007, 11:04 AM
so many terms and condition sia....tink better stick with green pipe

nofearck
02-02-2007, 01:42 PM
hey guys, the installer juz came and installed the Mio modem and shortly after he left i cant make calls in and out liao.. anyione can help?

StanII
02-02-2007, 02:20 PM
anyone on mio voice
got this echo like voice when u speaks?
its feels like mio voice is not tuned right yet
sounds like a lags when u speaks to it mio voice
recently noticed this prob too, people who are speaking to me when i'm on my mio voice phone, they hear echos of themselves speaking.. but it's not very obvious..

ongzihao
02-02-2007, 02:22 PM
hey guys, the installer juz came and installed the Mio modem and shortly after he left i cant make calls in and out liao.. anyione can help?

Did he test it for you and you verify it working? Any dial tone? Is the system ID(password) under your voice settings UI empty? At the voice settings UI, did it state the phone Line1 working?

pker88
02-02-2007, 02:37 PM
recently noticed this prob too, people who are speaking to me when i'm on my mio voice phone, they hear echos of themselves speaking.. but it's not very obvious..

my fiends side the effect is REAL bad lor
i feels like lag or echo flying around when i speaks
quite bad lor
i already told my friend to call them to fix it soon
u r paying for this kind of service rofl

when the tech came to fix for him his MIO on the morning is work fine for the surfing
but after he go back and my friend off it
and come back at nite from work and ON it his IE crashed and kept on crashing even reset PC
and only firefox works surfing
i was like ROFL its not suppose to be

nofearck
02-02-2007, 02:43 PM
Did he test it for you and you verify it working? Any dial tone? Is the system ID(password) under your voice settings UI empty? At the voice settings UI, did it state the phone Line1 working?
ya.. juz now tested can.. but after he left den cannot liao... got dial tone.. but when u press numbers, its like still the same tone like when u nv put down other phone properly.. ya.. got ID inside and it states line 1 working oso...

metamorph8
02-02-2007, 05:09 PM
heheh, liddat all our refridgerators will be on fire already...

switched on 24/7/365.

metamorph8
02-02-2007, 05:11 PM
Found something interesting to share. If you are donwloading on many connections e.g. BT, phone calls might not get in. Any1 tried this?
really?

anyone got this too?

pker88
02-02-2007, 06:09 PM
wow DL soo many can lags ite MIO voice?
maybe singtel got too many mio users now
they need to tweak their broadband again

tinker58
02-02-2007, 06:19 PM
ya.. juz now tested can.. but after he left den cannot liao... got dial tone.. but when u press numbers, its like still the same tone like when u nv put down other phone properly.. ya.. got ID inside and it states line 1 working oso...

The 'dial tone' u hear is probably not "MIO" dial tone. MIO dial tone is different from the normal dial tone that u usually hear. What u can do is power off the modem and wait for a few secs. Power on the modem and wait again for at least 5mins. Try listening now to the dial tone.
If it's different from the dial tone that u heard before the powering off and on the modem then u should be able to make outgoing and incoming calls.

If not u have to go the modem gateway page 192.168.1.254/mdc. Password 2wire. Select link manager and make sure all are "UP". If not u have to reconfigure yr modem again with the system ID that singnet gave u.

ongzihao
03-02-2007, 01:42 AM

Try restarting the miobox and check if the status of line 1 is working. The line1 light is supposed to be lighted up and green. (not blinking). Pls check all connections. And if you are able to tell your current configuration, it will be great. (as in how all the devices are connected).

ongzihao
03-02-2007, 01:44 AM
really?

anyone got this too?

Yes. I email the malifax support team. But they were saying voice has priority over other data. However, I doubt so. When my BT goes up to as much as 200 connections, phones cant get in. But well, I can still live with it coz I dont BT much.

ongzihao
03-02-2007, 01:45 AM
wow DL soo many can lags ite MIO voice?
maybe singtel got too many mio users now
they need to tweak their broadband again
Its the hardware (miobox) itself.