Tottenham - Liverpool 0 - 0

Last 5 away matches - Sunderland

Arsenal - Sunderland 3 - 1
Newcastle - Sunderland 3 - 2
Middlesbrough - Sunderland 0 - 2
Chelsea - Sunderland 2 - 0
Wigan - Sunderland 1 - 0

Past Matches

08.02.2003 Tottenham - Sunderland 4 - 1 (2 - 1)
10.11.2002 Sunderland - Tottenham 2 - 0 (0 - 0)
02.03.2002 Tottenham - Sunderland 2 - 1 (1 - 1)
19.09.2001 Sunderland - Tottenham 1 - 2 (0 - 1)

hope can tok them!!

hotspur_77
02-12-2005, 08:48 PM
Tottenham v Sunderland - Sat 3rd Dec

Last 5 home matches - Tottenham

Tottenham - West Ham 1 - 1
Tottenham - Arsenal 1 - 1
Tottenham - Everton 2 - 0
Tottenham - Fulham 1 - 0
Tottenham - Liverpool 0 - 0

Last 5 away matches - Sunderland

Arsenal - Sunderland 3 - 1
Newcastle - Sunderland 3 - 2
Middlesbrough - Sunderland 0 - 2
Chelsea - Sunderland 2 - 0
Wigan - Sunderland 1 - 0

Past Matches

08.02.2003 Tottenham - Sunderland 4 - 1 (2 - 1)
10.11.2002 Sunderland - Tottenham 2 - 0 (0 - 0)
02.03.2002 Tottenham - Sunderland 2 - 1 (1 - 1)
19.09.2001 Sunderland - Tottenham 1 - 2 (0 - 1)

hope can tok them!!
surprisingly spurs away form is better than home

tmc01grady
03-12-2005, 02:55 AM
surprisingly spurs away form is better than home

no leh.. we've got exactly 3 wins 3 draws and 1 defeat for both home and away.

hotspur_77
03-12-2005, 07:58 PM
no leh.. we've got exactly 3 wins 3 draws and 1 defeat for both home and away.
i mean last 5 hm vs last 5 away form...

tmc01grady
03-12-2005, 11:45 PM
1-1 now.. come on!

score 1 more can leapfrog the gunners!

tmc01grady
04-12-2005, 12:57 AM
well done. 3-2 to Spurs!

spurs leapfrog the gunners and got birmingham, pompey and the baggies coming up, so should be staying above them!

hotspur_77
04-12-2005, 01:10 AM
hoooray!!!although robbie missed a penalty but final score 3-2...we won!!!4th this week...

hotspur_77
13-12-2005, 05:57 AM
wooooo....spurs won 3 - 1 despite trailing 0 - 1 @ half-time... :s21:

Eric Ying
27-12-2005, 03:50 PM
me and the spurs go go marching on.....

victorian07
28-12-2005, 02:29 AM
no thread for spurs previously? kinda weird

hotspur_77
28-12-2005, 03:54 PM
no thread for spurs previously? kinda weird
sighz...dun have leh...even threadstarter also MIA leh =:p

victorian07
29-12-2005, 01:56 AM
hmm..abit sad then.. acty SG got quite a considerable Spurs fan base..

lol..maybe threadstarter now devote his full attn to houston rockets n boh chap spurs liao.

hotspur_77
29-12-2005, 08:17 PM
hmm..abit sad then.. acty SG got quite a considerable Spurs fan base..

lol..maybe threadstarter now devote his full attn to houston rockets n boh chap spurs liao.
ya...u may wanna join local spurs fan club...4gotten the webby liao...try google...

isorn
01-01-2006, 10:19 AM
There was a Spurs thread here a few years ago. Then a few kids, whom some of them are still around, came and acted childishly. In the end we just closed the thread and left.

We are now at http://www.spurs-sg.org .

Songbird
01-01-2006, 08:16 PM
Oh, what did they do ?

Anyhow, a great end to 2005 last night, finishing as the top club in London. (chelsea dont count) Carr must be cursing himself for deciding to move to that 'big club', Parker and Owen must be wondering WTF have they gotten themselves into and Souness must be only manager that plays Ameobi ahead of Luque.

triple888
02-01-2006, 02:04 PM
howdy folks
new to the forums but old suporter of spurs :s7:

tmc01grady
04-01-2006, 12:50 AM
yo hotspur_77, i do spend most of my time on the official spurs supporters club forum that Isorn mentioned above.

My nick is kev21.

victorian07, you are welcomed to join us there to chat about Spurs.

cheers.

triple888
09-01-2006, 01:15 PM
gutted....

spurs out of the two cups....
hopfully now they will concentrate on the league and get into europe

on a bright note.... rednose and his deers need a reply.... come on burton
know them out of the cup

victorian07
09-01-2006, 04:20 PM
rather unfortunate.

2-0 up then to throw it away.

no excuses.

triple888
12-01-2006, 07:07 PM
ok... v07 mate
any chance of spurs beating the king of europe?

Songbird
13-01-2006, 01:05 PM
if king and davids are back, maybe got abit chance. If not we will really need an off form gerrard and a super on form spurs to get any kind of result there. will take a draw now.

triple888
13-01-2006, 01:56 PM
sell/off load three players for 7.5 mil and trying to get one player for 8 mil?
ffs bad hindsight
i know jol trying to sell his predecessor's players but this is not the way to do it , not at such a cheap price... :s27:

btw songbird - spurs away - a draw is very slim chance
going to pools for a 1 nil score line in favour of the home side
(hopfully spurs prove me wrong this time)

hotspur_77
13-01-2006, 07:55 PM
sell/off load three players for 7.5 mil and trying to get one player for 8 mil?
ffs bad hindsight
i know jol trying to sell his predecessor's players but this is not the way to do it , not at such a cheap price... :s27:

btw songbird - spurs away - a draw is very slim chance
going to pools for a 1 nil score line in favour of the home side
(hopfully spurs prove me wrong this time)
wayne 4 8 mil??i thought 6??no pt getting defenders again...wat 4 buying many defenders & not playing them...hopefully spurs can really prove us wrong this time :o if really win,then spurs r very close 2 2nd & 3rd place liao...

PootPoot
28-02-2006, 12:01 PM
wah.. no ppl already..

this fixture found by fumofumo. tot be interesting for all the clubs in the race.

http://www.photovideoi.com/share/upload/2006/02/28/11/hmm.png

chryzh35
02-03-2006, 08:14 AM
We had towards the end of the match 5 spurs players in the England team.

I think spurs has done proud to England, what other top English teams have not been able to do, especially our neighbours.

Despite having a foreign coach spurs have invested heavily on local players and I think that in itself is an amazing achievement.

Mankul
21-04-2006, 11:10 PM
Spurs fans.. I've got a riddle for you...

What’s the difference between the squirrel and Spurs?

yourmother
21-04-2006, 11:25 PM
a squirrel has champions league experience and spurs don have. :s13:

Panzerf
21-04-2006, 11:29 PM
We had towards the end of the match 5 spurs players in the England team.

I think spurs has done proud to England, what other top English teams have not been able to do, especially our neighbours.

Despite having a foreign coach spurs have invested heavily on local players and I think that in itself is an amazing achievement.

yes but damn sad . Every year no europe to look to for so long...hope this season can but then again . the remaining fixtures look so tough with Liverpool waiting..

Kiwi8
21-04-2006, 11:42 PM

a squirrel has champions league experience and spurs don have. :s13:

:s22: :s22: :s22:

1920_me
22-04-2006, 12:59 AM
Perhaps u can ask what is similar between the squirrel and arsenal??

Panzerf
22-04-2006, 01:11 AM

What did the Kop thug said to the Old lady?

Songbird
22-04-2006, 10:47 AM
The year was 1991, Arsenal were dead certs for the League and FA cup double, but they had a little problem. Up against them in the FA Cup semi was their arch rivals Tottenham Hotspur, 11th in the league and facing the very threat of financial ruin if they fail to win the cup. Even the ardest of Spurs fan sitting in Wembley couldnt envisage anything less than an Arsenal victory.

Guess what happened ?

http://img231.imageshack.us/img231/2623/bbt198hi01up.th.jpg (http://img231.imageshack.us/my.php?image=bbt198hi01up.jpg)

Seaman making himself more foolish by even TRYING to save it.

http://img231.imageshack.us/img231/4338/36379473gazzasemi3008ag.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

tmc01grady
22-04-2006, 12:30 PM
http://www.mydigitalstory.net/2006-04-22-live-screening-mailer.jpg

waitforyou
23-04-2006, 08:47 PM

so what's the similarity?

triple888
24-04-2006, 03:49 PM

squirrel = henry's replacement

arsenal
26-04-2006, 04:52 AM
the squirrel is going to Paris !

Mankul
26-04-2006, 04:57 AM
'What are you doing on May 17th.......'

EmPtYsOuLz
26-04-2006, 04:58 AM

don't disgrace the other arsenal fans out there...
i think u deserved to get banned.

Mankul
26-04-2006, 05:01 AM
don't disgrace the other arsenal fans out there...
i think u deserved to get banned.

EmPtYsOuLz
26-04-2006, 05:02 AM

watching the CL league finals coz i'm an Arsenal supporter? :yawn:

Kiwi8
26-04-2006, 05:08 AM
U are just like United_Treble, only coming out in times of your club glory, and hiding in times of your club crisis. :s22:

Jermaine84
26-04-2006, 05:16 AM
sorri guys.. as an Arsenal fan we too condemn ppl like Mankul.. they dun reflect us..

Mankul
26-04-2006, 05:21 AM
sorri guys.. as an Arsenal fan we too condemn ppl like Mankul.. they dun reflect us..
then you're not a red blooded Arsenal fans cos arsenal fans in highbury would SING what I had typed... never been to highbury? ;-)

Jermaine84
26-04-2006, 05:26 AM
of cos not.. im jus a typical Arsenal in sg.. not every fan gone to Highbury before.. anyway u r jus an embarressment

vasilli07
23-01-2007, 02:39 PM
All Spurs fans gather here.

COME ON! YOU SPURS!

http://img181.imageshack.us/img181/9464/41234268spursbadge4mh.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Tottenham Hotspur Football Club are an English football club who play in the FA Premier League. The club is also known as Tottenham and Spurs, while their own fans also refer to them as the Lilywhites because of their traditional white shirts. Their home ground is White Hart Lane, Tottenham, London.

Tottenham were the first club in the 20th century to achieve the league and cup Double, winning both competitions in the 1960-61 season. In 1963, Spurs became the first British club to win a European trophy - the European Cup Winners' Cup.

The club enjoys a long-standing rivalry with near neighbours Arsenal, and matches between the two are known as the North London derbies. The club motto is Audere est Facere (lit: "To dare is to do") and their emblem is the cockerel and ball.

xOxMxGx
23-01-2007, 02:48 PM
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1163085&highlight=tottenham

yourmother
23-01-2007, 02:52 PM
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=297

ben0704
23-01-2007, 02:59 PM
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=297
what this for? lol. :s22:

yourmother
23-01-2007, 03:00 PM
what this for? lol. :s22:
:D :D :D

vasilli07
23-01-2007, 03:25 PM
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1163085&highlight=tottenham

That thread had been dead for almost 9 mths. :s11:

yellowsubmarine
23-01-2007, 10:18 PM
That thread had been dead for almost 9 mths. :s11:

This shows that.......

spykid
23-01-2007, 10:24 PM
You can ask Shebby Singh to join and gather in your forum as well.

Write an email to him to espn-sports.

yellowsubmarine
23-01-2007, 10:28 PM
You can ask Shebby Singh to join and gather in your forum as well.

Write an email to him to espn-sports.

Ohyah, how i can forget the ex Malaysia international! His commentary btw Sg vs Msia is seebay tokkong!

Can email Edwin Yeo as well.

yourmother
23-01-2007, 10:32 PM
This shows that.......
:s13: :s13: :s13:

vasilli07
23-01-2007, 10:34 PM
Jol Reluctantly Would Take Uefa Cup Bye
Tottenham boss Martin Jol has admitted that his side would benefit from receiving a bye in the Uefa Cup following Feyenoord's expulsion.

The Dutch club have been chucked out of the competition following crowd trouble in their Group Stage match with AS Nancy, but it leaves Spurs in a unique situation when they have no choice but to progress to the last 16 without kicking a ball.

The decision would see a loss of revenue for Spurs and would lessen any achievement they may have in the competition, but given their forthcoming fixture pile-up Jol is looking for the benefits.

"I would take a bye, I have to be honest," he said.

"We have so many matches that it could be a helping hand to leave this one out and give ourselves a bit more rest. That is an advantage. My chairman [Daniel Levy] thinks we should play in Europe, and he is right – it was a big tie against Feyenoord, and I hope we would get some compensation, but other people may think differently."

Rocha Has Spurs Medical
Ricardo Rocha has reportedly undergone a medical with Tottenham, who hope to wrap up the signing of the Portuguese defender in the next 48 hours.

The 28-year-old centre-back is expected to cost Spurs slightly in excess of the £3m they received for defender Callum Davenport, whom they sold to West Ham last week.

Rocha, who has been a key player for Benfica in recent years but has not had much international recognition, is believed to be on the verge of signing a two-and-a-half year deal with Martin Jol's side.

Following Davenport's sale and the continued injury problems suffered by Ledley King a defender was top of Jol's wanted list in January.

WhiteShadows
24-01-2007, 12:26 AM
Merged threads. :)

vasilli07
24-01-2007, 10:52 PM
Carling Cup Preview: Tottenham Hotspur-Arsenal

What: Spurs (9th EPL, 33 pts) v Arsenal (4th EPL, 45 pts), Carling Cup Semi-final, first leg
When: Wednesday, January 24th, 2007, kick-off 20:00 local (GMT)
Where: White Hart Lane, Tottenham, London N17

Chelsea Await

A showpiece final against Chelsea at Cardiff's superb Millennium Stadium is the prize that awaits one of these North London giants as they do battle over two legs in the Football League (Carling) Cup semi-final. The rivalry between Tottenham Hotspur and Arsenal fans is one of the most bitter in English football, and there is no doubt that the elation of the winners will be as exquisite as the despair of the losers when this tie is settled next week at the Emirates. Tonight, though, the first leg at White Hart Lane offers both sides the chance to strike a psychological blow and take a precious advantage to Ashburton Grove in a week's time.

Arsenal In The Ascendancy In North London

Since George Graham's Arsenal and his good friend Terry Venables' Spurs shared the Charity Shield in 1991, the Gunners as League Champions for the 10th time, Tottenham as as FA Cup winners for the 8th, the balance of North London football power has swung decisively in Arsenal's favour. Spurs have won only one major trophy since then - the League Cup in 1999, ironically under the management of Graham - while the Gunners have won the European Cup Winners' Cup, one League Cup, five FA Cups and three Premier League championships.

Spurs reached but lost the League Cup final of 2002, while Arsenal were runners-up in the Cup Winners' Cup (1995), Uefa Cup (2000), Champions League (2006), FA Cup (2001) and Premiership (1999, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2005).

Moreover, in head-to-head terms, Arsenal have lost just one of their last 23 games against Tottenham, home and away. And the Gunners are currently in the best unbeaten run that either team has enjoyed over the other. That run currently stands at 15 consecutive North London derbies without defeat for the Gunners. However, Spurs fans will point to the fact that they had a similarly undistinguished record against Chelsea until this season - when they broke the hoodoo with a 2-1 win over the back-to-back Premiership champions.

And despite Arsenal's good recent form, Spurs will be determined to make home advantage count in the first-leg of this semi-final. They will also be fired up to avenge their 3-0 defeat at the Emirates on 2nd December.

The Kids Are Alright

However, a key variable in the equation for this semi-final is Arsene Wenger's policy of using fringe and up-and-coming youth players to represent the club in the Carling Cup.

The Gunners have already beaten Premiership opposition at Everton and, in the last round, Liverpool with a very young side, and Wenger intends to continue with this policy for the short trip to Spurs.

"We want to repeat our previous performances we have had so far in this competition - if we can win at Everton and win at Liverpool, then we can win at Tottenham as well. Now it is down to the boys to prove that," he said in his programme notes ahead of the game against Manchester United.

"It will be a very special atmosphere, and we will be ready for it.

"Do not forget we were in the semi-finals last year and we feel our young players have improved since then."

Indeed, this will be Arsenal's third League Cup semi-final in four seasons using youngsters, and Wenger insists the young stars deserve to play in the last four having taken the club this far in the tournament.

He told Arsenal TV Online said: "They deserve it. They have earned the right. "It is very difficult to say 'Listen you are good enough to play at Liverpool, but you are not good enough to play at Tottenham'."

Jol's Challenge

Meanwhile, Tottenham's head coach Martin Jol says his players must show they have got what it takes to go from hopefuls to trophy winners.

"What do we want?" he asked. "Do we want to be potential winners?

"That is the only thing in football. The only thing I'm really proud of is that I was coach of the year, player of the year and won the cup in Holland. That is the only thing you think about.

"So we have to win something in our career, they have to win something. Otherwise you are sitting there in 35 or 40 years and there is nothing to come up with. The medals are not important, it's the memories that are important."

And Jol stresses that a game against a second choice Arsenal side is anything but a foregone conclusion.

"Their second team, or kids, or reserves, is probably as strong as any other Premiership side outside of the top four," he said.

"Julio Baptista was transferred for 20 million euros last year and he is playing for the kids.

"How many teams are there in England like Arsenal who can take a gamble and say 'okay, we don't play our best players and we still have a great chance of going for the Champions League and title'?

"We are in not in the position to lend our players out and do well. The only changes I can make are up front or in positions where I have two good players, like in left-back."

FORM GUIDE

Tottenham

20 January v Fulham (A) DREW 1-1 (Chimbonda) Prem
17 January v Cardiff (H) WON 4-0 (Lennon, Keane, Malbranque, Defoe) FA Cup
14 January v Newcastle (H) LOST 2-3 (Defoe, Berbatov) Prem
07 January v Cardiff (A) DREW 0-0 FA Cup
01 January v Portsmouth (A) DREW 1-1 (Malbranque) Prem
30 December v Liverpool (H) LOST 0-1 Prem

Arsenal

21 January v Man Utd (H) WON 2-1 (Van Persie, Henry) Prem
13 January v Blackburn (A) WON 2-0 (Toure, Henry) Prem
09 January v Liverpool (A) WON 6-3 ((Aliadiere, Baptista 4, Song) Carling Cup
06 January v Liverpool (A) WON 3-1 (Rosicky 2, Henry) FA Cup
02 January v Charlton (H) WON 4-0 (Henry pen, Hoyte, Van Persie 2 - 1 pen) Prem
30 December v Sheff Utd (A) LOST 0-1 Prem

THIS SEASON'S CARLING CUP TRAIL

Tottenham

20 December v Southend (H) WON 1-0 (Defoe) (aet)
08 November v Port Vale (H) WON 3-1 (Huddlestone 2, Defoe) (aet)
25 October v Milton Keynes Dons (A) WON 5-0 (Mido 2, Defoe 2, Keane)

Arsenal

09 January v Liverpool (A) WON 6-3 (Aliadiere, Baptista 4, Song)
08 November v Everton (A) WON 1-0 (Adebayor)
24 October v West Brom (A) WON 2-0 (Aliadiere 2 - 1 pen)

LEAGUE CUP FINAL APPEARANCES

Tottenham (5)

1971 v Aston Villa WON 2-0
1973 v Norwich City WON 1-0
1982 v Liverpool LOST 1-3 (aet)
1999 v Leicester WON 1-0
2002 v Blackburn LOST 1-2

Arsenal (5)

1968 v Leeds United LOST 0-1
1969 v Swindon Town LOST 1-3 (aet)
1987 v Liverpool WON 2-1
1988 v Luton Town LOST 2-3
1993 v Sheffield Wednesday WON 2-1

LEAGUE CUP SEMI-FINAL APPEARANCES
Tottenham 10 times
Arsenal 11 times

SPURS-ARSENAL HEAD-TO-HEAD IN THE LEAGUE CUP

20 Nov 1968 Semi-Final 1st Leg Arsenal 1 (Radford), Spurs 0
04 Dec 1968 Semi-Final 2nd Leg Spurs 1 (Greaves), Arsenal 1 (Radford)
04 Nov 1980 4th Round Spurs 1 (Ardiles), Arsenal 0
09 Nov 1983 3rd Round Spurs 1 (Hoddle pen), Arsenal 2 (C Nicholas, Woodcock)
08 Feb 1987 Semi-Final 1st Leg Arsenal 0, Spurs 1 (C Allen)
01 Mar 1987 Semi-Final 2nd Leg Spurs 1 (C Allen), Arsenal 2 (Anderson, Quinn)
04 Mar 1987 Semi-Final Replay Spurs 1 (C Allen), Arsenal 2 (Allinson, Rocastle)

TEAM NEWS

Tottenham

Midfielder Teemu Tainio misses out after failing to recover from an ankle injury sustained in the 1-1 draw with Fulham on Saturday. Captain Ledley King had a set-back in his recovery from a bruised foot and is also out. Jermaine Jenas (ankle), Mido (groin), Edgar Davids (illness/groin) and Paul Stalteri (hip) are back in training but may not be considered ready enough to be involved against the Gunners. But new signing Ricardo Rocha could make his Spurs debut.

Squad: Robinson, Cerny, Alnwick, Chimbonda, Lee, Dawson, Gardner, Assou-Ekotto, Zokora, Davids, Lennon, Keane, Berbatov, Defoe, Murphy, Ghaly, Malbranque, Huddlestone, Ziegler, Rocha.

Last starting XI (v Fulham): Robinson, Chimbonda, Dawson, Gardner, Young-Pyo Lee, Ghaly (Lennon 61), Tainio (Zokora 27), Huddlestone, Malbranque, Defoe (Keane 67), Berbatov. Subs Not Used: Cerny, Assou-Ekotto.

Arsenal: Theo Walcott is likely to return to the starting XI after having been rested against Manchester United on Sunday. Brazilian Julio Baptista will be aiming to build on his four goals against Liverpool, and French striker Jeremie Aliadiere, man-of-the-match at Anfield, is also in contention. But leading scorer Robin van Persie is sidelined for several weeks after fracturing a metatarsal bone in his foot while scoring the equaliser on Sunday.

Squad: Almunia, Hoyte, Toure, Djourou, Connolly, Traore, Walcott, Diaby, Denilson, Julio Baptista, Aliadiere, Poom, Merida, Lansbury, Randall, Adebayor, Senderos, Flamini.

Last starting XI (v Man Utd): Lehmann, Eboue (Hoyte 90), Toure, Senderos, Clichy, Hleb (Van Persie 67), Fabregas, Flamini (Julio Baptista 79), Rosicky, Adebayor, Henry. Subs Not Used: Almunia, Denilson.

vasilli07
25-01-2007, 01:01 PM
To sum up last nite performance, good in the 1st half, rubbish in the 2nd half. :slant:

vasilli07
25-01-2007, 01:10 PM
Martin Jol was left looking for excuses as the attention focused on him to explain his his Tottenham team failed to make the most of the superb start to the Carling Cup semi-final with Arsenal.

Spurs raced into a 2-0 lead in the opening 21 minutes of the first leg, but an injury to Dimitar Berbatov led to Jol changing his tactics and it led to Arsenal getting back into the game and turning their fortunes around with a brace from Julio Baptista levelling the scores.

Jol suggested his club struggled due to being tired as well as missing their impressive striker Berbatov, who opened the scoring before being forced to withdraw.

"I felt we started off very well, we kept the ball and pressurised them, we looked good and were 2-0 up," Jol told Sky Sports.

"Second half it was a different story, we dropped off too far that is true, on the other hand they played ever so well and put pressure on us.

"We got tired maybe because we have had a lot of games and they had six or seven fresh players, we didn't hold the ball up maybe because Berbatov was not there.

"The only way to win matches against Arsenal is to put them under pressure but second half they controlled the game."

vasilli07
25-01-2007, 01:13 PM
Spurs Tipped To Win Bale Race :)

Tottenham have been tipped by a national newspaper to win the race to sign Southampton's highly-rated teenager Gareth Bale in a deal worth an initial £8m.

The 17-year-old left-back had been expected to join Manchester United, but it has been claimed that the Championship club have been persuaded by the make-up of Spurs' offer while the player has now also agreed to make the move. However, he will initially return on loan before moving to London permanently in the summer.

The Welsh international would provide Martin Jol with the long-term solution to his left-back problem which has seen numerous players tried in the position before being moved on.

Arsenal had also been said to have been monitoring the player, but the investment looks to have been deemed to expensive for the Gunners, who forked out in the region of £12m for Theo Walcott from the same club last year.

Spurs Uefa Cup Fate Due On Thursday

Uefa have delayed until Thursday their decision over whether Tottenham will get a bye into the next round of the Uefa Cup following the decision last week to expel their opponents Feyenoord.

Spurs were due to face the Dutch side in Rotterdam on February 15 but it was decided the actions of Feyenoord's fans in the group stage should see them removed from the competition.

The Premiership side could be awarded a bye through to the last 16, or could face Wisla Krakow, who came fourth in Feyenoord's Group.

vasilli07
25-01-2007, 10:48 PM
Spurs handed bye into next round of UEFA Cup

Tottenham have been given a bye into the last 16 of the UEFA Cup, subject to a possible appeal by Feyenoord to the Court of Arbitration for Sport.

The Dutch club were kicked out of the tournament following crowd trouble earlier in the season against French side Nancy.

Spurs were due to travel to Rotterdam on February 15 but will now go straight through to the next round where they will play Braga or Parma.

A statement from UEFA read: 'Tottenham have received a bye into the UEFA Cup round of 16 following the exclusion of opponents Feyenoord from the competition.'

UEFA's other option was to order Spurs to play Wisla Krakow, who finished behind Feyenoord in the group stage.

While Spurs will lose revenue from gate receipts and television money, they gain prize money for getting closer to this season's final, in Glasgow.

Martin Jol's men also move a step closer to ending their eight-year wait for a trophy, the day after their hopes of reaching the Carling Cup final was dented by Julio Baptista earning Arsenal a 2-2 draw in the semi-final first leg at White Hart Lane.

It gives Jol's men more recovery time in their hectic schedule, although it offers a spare week for the Premiership clash against Everton which requires rescheduling.

Dutchman Jol had spoken earlier in the week about expecting compensation for missing out on the Feyenoord trip.

'My chairman thinks that if we want to play in Europe we should play in Europe,' said Jol. 'He's right because it was a big tie against Feyenoord and hopefully we'll get some compensation but other people may think differently.'

'The decision taken by UEFA is subject to a possible appeal by Feyenoord to the Court of Arbitration of Sport,' confirmed a statement on their official website.

Feyenoord are expected to take the matter to the CAS.

The Rotterdammers' financial director Onno Jacobs, speaking at a fans forum today, was asked what course of action the club would take if they were thrown out of the tournament.

He said: 'The chances of us taking the matter to CAS are high. This is based on the fact we don't feel we should be punished in this way. There is an overall feeling that the punishment is not justifiable.'

vasilli07
27-01-2007, 10:04 PM
Spurs midfielder Davids agrees deal with Ajax

AMSTERDAM, Jan 26 (Reuters) --Tottenham Hotspur's Dutch midfielder Edgar Davids has agreed an 18-month contract with Ajax Amsterdam, according to his lawyer Robert Geerlings.

However, Geerlings also told the weekly Voetbal International magazine the clubs still had to work out the details of the transfer before the window closes on Wednesday.

The 33-year-old Davids began his career at Ajax in 1991 and helped them win three league titles from 1994-96 plus the UEFA Cup in 1992 and the Champions League in 1995.

A year later he joined AC Milan before switching to Juventus, where he won three titles in 1998, 2002 and 2003, Barcelona and Inter Milan before moving to Spurs in 2005.

He has represented the Netherlands at four major finals and has played in four Champions League finals.

vasilli07
29-01-2007, 12:06 AM
Fergie admits Spurs have the edge in Bale race

Sir Alex Ferguson has conceded Tottenham are now in pole position to sign £10million-rated defender Gareth Bale.

The Southampton youngster has become one of the most sought-after players of the transfer window, with a host of Premiership clubs keen to secure his services.

Even though Bale is still only 17 and has made less than 30 senior appearances for the south coast outfit, both United and Tottenham have made concerted efforts to try and prise the Wales international away from St Mary's.

However, Ferguson has admitted United's preference to do a deal with Southampton heavily based on Bale's future progression could count against the Red Devils.

'Southampton said no to us because they are looking for more money, which they have every right to do,' he said.

'The bid we made for Gareth reflected his potential. There were a series of build-ups in it because we have to protect our own club's assets too.

'We offered an initial fee with add-ons depending on how many games he plays, international caps and so on.

'I am not exactly sure what Tottenham have offered more but they have offered more and that has put them in pole position at the moment.'

Ferguson has not given up hope of landing Bale and rejected completely the theory Spurs may have an extra advantage in any bidding way because coach Martin Jol can guarantee the youngster more first-team action.

The United boss points to his record in handing promising players opportunities as evidence to back up United's claims and insisted he is not frightened by the staggering sums now being spent on emerging talent.

'Anyone who guarantees a player first-team football every week is wrong,' he said.

'There are so many examples of young players being given a chance at this club, no-one could dispute the fact they will get opportunities. Maybe the boy himself would need to assess that.

'The fees don't frighten me, although it can sometimes frustrate me a little bit. When you are talking about signing young players with potential, you hope your decision-making and your assessment of the player is correct.

'You hope he won't be there for just one contract but for two or three. Then you get the longevity from that player, as we have done in the past with the likes of Roy Keane, Gary Pallister, Steve Bruce and Denis Irwin.

'That is the only way you can assess it.'

forbiddenfruit
04-02-2007, 03:20 AM
Under Martin Jol , SPurs lack the ambition and guts to think big..

I really hope he will be sacked , he is such a bland manager, looks bland, tactic bland. charisma bland - due to his poor EQ, we lost out Duyt to Liverpool, brought in a tall flop, berbe and doesnt have the ball to discard short defoe ...

sign... its 11 empty and fruitless season for long suffering spurs fans.

look at the rest of the london clubs.. chelsea and Arsenal... even west ham is making wave with good progress.

where are we.. 10 in the table.. out of league cup... zzzzzz...

sick as it might be,, its painful to be a spurs fan...

forbiddenfruit
04-02-2007, 03:23 AM
[/url]

LOSER FACE OF THE YEAR [url="http://soccernet.espn.go.com/players/manager?id=21&cc=5739"]http://soccernet-att.espn.go.com/images/jb2/jol_65.jpg (http://soccernet.espn.go.com/players/manager?id=21&cc=5739)

vasilli07
04-02-2007, 11:30 AM

I really hope he will be sacked , he is such a bland manager, looks bland, tactic bland. charisma bland - due to his poor EQ, we lost out Duyt to Liverpool, brought in a tall flop, berbe and doesnt have the ball to discard short defoe ...

look at the rest of the london clubs.. chelsea and Arsenal... even west ham is making wave with good progress.

I admit we were poor in the 2nd leg of the league cup. But give some credit to the team for making this far.

Are you sure West ham is making wave with good progress? If yes, are you saying you want spurs to be in the relegation zone rather than in mid-table?

How many spurs matches have you watch this season? Did you even see how Berbatov and Defoe play together?

And lastly, if you only want to be a glory hunter, pls support the top four teams.

ben0704
04-02-2007, 01:06 PM

without martin jol, can spurs finish 5th last season?

any player with ambitious and right mind will choose liverpool over spurs. don't blame martin jol.

although you been hiding inside a cave for some age now. you should check the league table to see where is west ham before you make the comment. wave with good progress? :s22:

kaseymunson
19-02-2007, 01:12 PM
A mediocre self-boasting team who claims to be good. True or false?

yourmother
19-02-2007, 01:27 PM
"Reports that I'd move to Tottenham are wide off the mark. If I had to leave Real, I'd choose to join another a big club. I don't regard Tottenham Hotspur as a big club."

-Robinho

One good season last year and they really though there is going to be a power shift in London. :s13:

Look at them this season, challenging in Europe and at the same time in the league and the cups etc, suddenly they show their true colour, and this is what we had to go through every season including last when we had crazy injuries crisis which no one talk about.

dle4e_2005
19-02-2007, 01:54 PM
"Reports that I'd move to Tottenham are wide off the mark. If I had to leave Real, I'd choose to join another a big club. I don't regard Tottenham Hotspur as a big club."

-Robinho

One good season last year and they really though there is going to be a power shift in London. :s13:

Look at them this season, challenging in Europe and at the same time in the league and the cups etc, suddenly they show their true colour, and this is what we had to go through every season including last when we had crazy injuries crisis which no one talk about.

Not to forget they have alot of English players too.

Songbird
19-02-2007, 11:17 PM
A mediocre self-boasting team who claims to be good. True or false?

Coming from a newcastle fan ? When was the last time you won ANYTHING ? Oh wait, the two bob intertoto which you won by beating the likes of world class teams such as real madrid and ac milan no ? HAHA.

do you have any knowledge or history of soccer pre 1992 ? Because anyone who does will not question that spurs > newcastle. Spurs are not top 4 material, and manu/pool/arsenal are all bigger than spurs. But newcastle ? Gimme a break. go take a look at your empty trophy cabinet. Finishing 2nd a couple of times dont count for shyt.

Songbird
19-02-2007, 11:19 PM

-Robinho

almost every club in the world will look small when compared to real madrid. arsenal is no exception.

yellowsubmarine
19-02-2007, 11:36 PM
Coming from a newcastle fan ? When was the last time you won ANYTHING ? Oh wait, the two bob intertoto which you won by beating the likes of world class teams such as real madrid and ac milan no ? HAHA.

do you have any knowledge or history of soccer pre 1992 ? Because anyone who does will not question that spurs > newcastle. Spurs are not top 4 material, and manu/pool/arsenal are all bigger than spurs. But newcastle ? Gimme a break. go take a look at your empty trophy cabinet. Finishing 2nd a couple of times dont count for shyt.

When did he start comparing Newcastle with spuds? A cup is still a cup. When was spuds' last cup?

http://orders.mkn.co.uk/mime/footballshirt/mugs/spurs.jpg

Oh wait a minute, are you gonna bring Rovers in as well? nonono... i dont think you are going too. Rovers are too small a club to be compared with the mighty spuds.

hiei02
19-02-2007, 11:42 PM
spurs is underachieving this season..

Songbird
19-02-2007, 11:47 PM
When did he start comparing Newcastle with spuds? A cup is still a cup. When was spuds' last cup?

http://orders.mkn.co.uk/mime/footballshirt/mugs/spurs.jpg

Oh wait a minute, are you gonna bring Rovers in as well? nonono... i dont think you are going too. Rovers are too small a club to be compared with the mighty spuds.

aww. the residential blackburn fan strikes with his trademark shrewdness and quick witted retort.

and it's just funny how you try to shrug off the obvious with sarcasm. :s13: :s13: :s13:

bring in rovers into the picture ? You sound as if it's not already recognized throughout that rovers are..nothing ? Ok maybe, a first generation chelsea with jack walker starring as a poorer abramovich.

Wryer
19-02-2007, 11:50 PM
Hey Songbird~ Haven seen your posts for a long long time. Need more Spurs fans around to add to the fun in this forum.

ciao.

yellowsubmarine
19-02-2007, 11:53 PM
spurs is underachieving this season..

Wrong dude, they over-achieved last season.

Before Songbird wanna rebuked, so did Rovers last season.

Songbird
19-02-2007, 11:57 PM
Hey Songbird~ Haven seen your posts for a long long time. Need more Spurs fans around to add to the fun in this forum.

ciao.

Yeah but im on here almost everyday, a couple of times i'm tempted to reply but i know it will just stir another pointless spurs vs arsenal/blackburn/newcastle debate, so i just click 'back' before my anger get the better of me. ;)

vasilli07
26-02-2007, 01:15 AM
We produced a performance of the season. Berbatov was tearing Bolton def apart. Even though we played with 10 men for nearly 50 mins, we always look like scoring. Cannot imagine if we had 11 men on... :s13:

Pred2
26-02-2007, 01:42 AM
another spurs fan reporting in. hi to those spurs fans who know me, esp. isorn n kev21 =)

hotspur_77
26-02-2007, 07:24 PM
hopefully spurs can make it 2 europe again :)

Pred2
05-03-2007, 02:19 AM
Great match!!! 'tho west ham din really deserved to lose, given their top notch display in the 1st half, spurs din deserved it either with their excellent 2nd half come-back. Excellent stuff!!!!

it's a shame if west ham really get relegated cos i feel they're much better compared to the rest of the relegation candidates, but the table doesn't lie and i sincerely hope the hammers can pick themselves up and strive for survival.

Tool18
05-03-2007, 02:27 AM
great match. berbatov = one of the top 10 buys of the season.

vasilli07
05-03-2007, 01:03 PM
They deny us a spot in CL last year but we won't deny them a spot in another CL(Championship league). :s7:

hotspur_77
06-03-2007, 10:26 PM
They deny us a spot in CL last year but we won't deny them a spot in another CL(Championship league). :s7:
lol... let the matter rest loh since we've pay them back 4 wat they did 2 us last season...our win over them is certainly the final nail on the coffin liao...dun think they can recover from this loss...

PrinCe_iL
07-03-2007, 07:25 PM
great match. berbatov = one of the top 10 buys of the season.

Excuse me, Berbatov top 10 buys of the season??? You must be kidding!

IMHO, he is the buy of the season!! Delicious player! Come to Liverpool!! :D :D :D

Eric Ying
07-03-2007, 07:28 PM
WEST Ham made spurs lost 25 million pound by beat us last season , this time we made them lost 40 million pound by send them out of the EPL ............ Song AH

a dish of revenge is best served cold

Excuse me, Berbatov top 10 buys of the season??? You must be kidding!

IMHO, he is the buy of the season!! Delicious player! Come to Liverpool!! :D :D :D

i agree he is a class player but sorry he is not going to Liverpool :)

PrinCe_iL
07-03-2007, 07:34 PM
What is this man? You are celebrating over other club's misfortune? But honestly speaking, with the way west ham players have been playing, i see West Ham to be well placed at the bottom of the EPL at the end of the season. :D :D :D

WEST Ham made spurs lost 25 million pound by beat us last season , this time we made them lost 40 million pound by send them out of the EPL ............ Song AH

a dish of revenge is best served cold

i agree he is a class player but sorry he is not going to Liverpool :)

foxtrot1985
08-03-2007, 12:46 AM
What is this man? You are celebrating over other club's misfortune?

It's called karma after West Ham fans celebrated our misfortune last season.

vasilli07
11-03-2007, 09:41 PM
With the results going our way, we could be on our way towards the doubles.

vasilli07
11-03-2007, 10:44 PM
Baffled by the substitutions Jol made...even though it's a draw, it is still a good result against the champions.

vasilli07
26-05-2007, 12:14 PM
Tottenham Complete Signing Of Gareth Bale

As expected, Spurs have completed the signing of Southampton's teenage left-back Gareth Bale.

Southampton said Spurs will make an immediate payment of £5 million for the Wales international, with further additional payments that could push the eventual fee up to £10 million.

Bale, 17, said: "I'm just excited to be coming to a massive club like Spurs. It's pushing forward and I want to be part of its future."

He had one year left on his Southampton contract, and Saints manager George Burley had urged him to see it out with the south-coast club.

But the defender with the reputation as a free-kick expert was also reportedly wanted by Premiership rivals Arsenal and Manchester United, so Spurs were under pressure to complete tyhe signing quickly.

Back in January, Tottenham had made a bid of some £10 million which Southampton accepted, but Bale was not inclined to move at that time.

However, Southampton's defeat by Derby County in the Championship play-off semi-finals last week meant that Premiership football next season was no longer an option if Bales remained a Saint.

The prospect of top-flight involvement with Tottenham - who will also be competing in the Uefa Cup - looks to have persuaded Bale to go now.

"I really want to play in the Premiership," he said. "That's very important to me and this is a fantastic opportunity. I've thought long and hard about it and feel the time is right to move on.

"I could have gone in January but I wanted to try and help Saints win promotion. I felt I owed them that and I didn't want to move mid-season.

"I wanted to keep my focus on learning and developing my game at a critical stage of the campaign."

Bale made his Saints debut as a 16-year-old in 2006, becoming the club's second youngest player. And he also became the youngest Welsh international when appearing against Trinidad & Tobago last May, setting up the Dragons' late winner.

During the 2006-07 season he became a regular fixture in both the Southampton and Wales teams.

Tottenham's sporting director, Damien Comolli, said: "We have been following Gareth for a long time now and have been very tenacious, so we are absolutely delighted to get him here.

"He's a player of great quality and, as we always say, our aim in each window is to improve the quality of the squad. He has the ideal combination to become a top, top player."

vasilli07
30-06-2007, 07:50 PM
SPUR-FECT MOVE FOR DARREN
Darren Bent underlined his desire to join us by admitting: "I always wanted to come to Tottenham."

The England international completed his move across London from Charlton on Friday and couldn’t wait to pull on a Spurs shirt.

Darren scored 15 goals last season as Charlton battled in vain to avoid relegation. That figure, including 13 league goals, came despite a two-month spell on the sidelines and took his tally to 31 in the top flight (37 in all competitions) in two seasons at the Valley.

What clearly impressed in negotiations was that the 23-year-old wanted to join us, a point he was only too happy to confirm. “In my heart of hearts I always wanted to come to Tottenham,” he said.

“Everyone wants to play at the top level and Tottenham have showed in the last couple of years that they are one of the best teams in Europe, so it’s the perfect place for me to continue my development.

“There are some fantastic players at the club. I’m looking to be part of a team and hopefully help us break into the top four.

“You only develop by training and playing with better players and I’m relishing that challenge. It’s something I can’t wait for.”

The icing on the cake for Darren was the chance to step back into the European arena – something he tasted very early in his career.

“I actually made my debut for Ipswich in the UEFA Cup,” said Darren, referring to his substitute appearance in a second round, second leg tie against Swedish side Helsingborgs aged just 17 back in 2001, a 3-1 win for Town.

“I’ve grown up a lot since then, I’m a better player and Europe will be a massive challenge.

“I’m looking forward to playing against different opposition from Europe, you can only judge yourself against the top clubs and playing in the UEFA Cup is an example of that."

http://i170.photobucket.com/albums/u247/vasilli07/5281-6.jpg

I thot that shirt is quite nice...

vasilli07
01-07-2007, 12:13 PM
Barcelona Got Henry On The Cheap, Says £16.5m Bent
Darren Bent refused to get upset by criticism of his inflated price-tag, particularly in the light of Thierry Henry costing less than him.

The former Charlton man chose to play it cool when quizzed about his price tag.

"To be fair I think Barca got Thierry on the cheap as I'd have put him in the £30million bracket," he told the BBC, who caught up with him on a rain-ravaged say at Wimbledon.

"It's surprising he went for so little money."

"It [my price tag] has nothing to do with me," he continued. "Charlton put the price tag on my head, I'm just grateful that Spurs took it.

"I was disappointed to leave Charlton - I had a great time there but I wish them all the best."

"I want play in Europe. And for me that was Tottenham."

Moving on to his Spurs career, he declared that he was ready to fight for a starting spots, against strikers such as Dimitar Berbatov, Robbie Keane, Mido and Jermain Defoe.

"They have several internationals there already, and as long as I can go there and fight the cause and help Tottenham get into the top bracket then I'll be delighted," he said.

"I think it's a bit unfair to talk about me and Berbatov because Robbie and Jermain were both fantastic last season.

"It's going to be difficult and I don't expect to walk into the team but I know the challenge and if I'm firing, Berbatov's firing and Robbie's firing and Jermain's firing, that can only be good for Tottenham."

THFCPM
05-07-2007, 04:38 PM
Kaboul has finally signed, it's on the official site. :s12:

ivanschitz27
06-07-2007, 05:28 PM
read about how spurs season 06-07 went at http://www.theurbanwire.com/stories/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=1269&Itemid=65

vasilli07
14-07-2007, 08:16 PM
Spurs To Land Yorkshire Rose
Tottenham's pursuit of the best young English talent is again taking them to Leeds United as they hope to land 17-year-old Danny Rose.

The youngster, who has previously been chased by Chelsea is on the verge of leaving his scholarship at Leeds United and follow in the footsteps of Paul Robinson and Aaron Lennon in making the switch to White Hart Lane.

Newcastle and Liverpool had also been keeping tabs on the highly-rated player, who has recently starred in England's youth sides.

Despite Leeds' financial disarray which has seen them crash from the Premiership to League One the Yorkshire club have continued to produce talented youngsters.

Last year two of Rose's team-mates Matthew Woods and Tommy Taiwo left for Chelsea, but the Blues look to have missed out on the latest talent from Elland Road, who can play as a wide man or a forward.

vasilli07
19-07-2007, 07:54 PM
Lowdowns on some of our youngsters by a fan

Just finished watching the second half of the St. Pats game, and was very impressed by the group of youngsters who saw some playing time.

Jamie O'Hara (20 yrs) looks and plays like a young Danny Murphy (i.e., back when he was an excellent prospect coming up at Liverpool). Central midfielder with fantastic vision, safe on the ball, not the type to go on a mazy run at the defense, but at the same time much more mobile than the likes of Carrick or Huddlestone. He's also got a wicked shot on him. First time I'd seen him play and I liked what I saw. Not sure if he'll get a look into the first team this season with all the talent ahead of him (Huddlestone in particular) but in the league cup, who knows?

Jacques Maghoma (19 yrs) looks like another exciting prospect. He was dynamic, fast, tricky, had a very nice touch and a good shot. I don't quite know how to describe it, but he gave me a similar feel to some of the African players we saw at the world cup - oozes talent and althleticism, yet goes down a little too easily and needs to complete more passes. I see him being given a shot in a year or two.

Phil Ifil (20 yrs) feels like he's been around forever, but he's still young and improving. He didn't play for very long, but when he came on, he looked excellent going forward, if a little suspect defending (although I have to say, less so than Gareth Bale). Delivered a couple of excellent crosses which on another day would have been assists. Still not sure about him, though. Talented, no doubt, but I'd still pick Stalteri or Lee as our backup for Chimbo.

Gareth Bale (18 yrs) definitely does not look his age, and already a brilliant footballer. Looked to still be finding his legs, and adapting to the new team, which is very normal. I'm convinced he'll be a fantastic signing for us, but at the same time I have to say that he's not ready to start for us yet. He'll play in the league cup and might force his way into contention by the end of the season (by which point he'll undoubtedly be helped by injuries). But he'll not be tearing things up immediately like Lennon or Giggs did - which is more of a function of his position, I think. E.g. if an 18 year old winger makes a mistake, it creates a failed attack, but if an 18 year old defender makes a mistake, we just might concede a goal (like we did 2 seasons ago every time Lee or Stalteri messed up).

Won't talk about Taarabt (18 yrs) too much, as I've already raved about him in another thread. The synopsis is that he will see a lot of action this season. Definitely in the league cup, and as a super sub when we're losing games in other competitions. If Lennon is out of the team for some reason or another, Jol needs to consider including Taarabt because he has the potential to be the focal point of our every attack.

I've also discussed Kaboul (21 yrs) in other threads - so I won't repeat myself (but I'm interested in what you guys think). Suffices to say that if he can slip into the premiership as effortlessly as he did in this past friendly, we have a winner on our hands. I'll expect him to have a few hiccups at the beginning (which is to be expected) but even so, I already feel more comfortable with him than with Gardner or even Rocha.

Barnard (23 yrs) wasn't on the field for too long and didn't have many opportunities. But he looks a little stronger than the last time I saw him play, and still as quick. But he's running out of time and with our current strikeforce, I don't expect to see too much of him this season.

Would have liked to have a look at Derviette (18 yrs), but I'm sure he'll get his chance soon. Still has a few years to go before he enters the first team equation.

Credit to Spur Forever from BigSoccer

the_ron
19-07-2007, 08:07 PM
Spurs have signed Danny Rose, the high rated England youth player who Chelsea were fined after being found guilty of tapping up

Rappelz
19-07-2007, 09:44 PM
not bad...
spurs has got some gd youngsters..

vasilli07
26-07-2007, 11:26 AM
Tottenham Confirm Rose Signing
Tottenham have confirmed that they've completed the signing of highly-rated teenager Danny Rose from Leeds United.

The England youth international follows in the footsteps of Paul Robinson and Aaron Lennon in coming through the impressive acadamy at Leeds United and ending up at White Hart Lane.

The 17-year-old midfielder, who has represented his country at various youth levels, did not make a first team appearance with Leeds United, who were relegated to League One last season.

Rose is believed to have impressed manager Martin Jol in the recent youth European Championships in Belgium when he played in all five games.

Just hope he is as really as good as he is in FM. :)

Eric Ying
10-08-2007, 09:10 PM
Full squad numbers list for season 2007-08

1 Paul Robinson
2 Pascal Chimbonda
3 Lee Young-Pyo
4 Didier Zokora
5 Younes Kaboul
6 Teemu Tainio
7 Paul Stalteri
8 Jermaine Jenas
9 Dimitar Berbatov
10 Robbie Keane
11 Mido
12 Radek Cerny
13 Danny Murphy
14 Hossam Ghaly
15 Steed Malbranque
16 Gareth Bale
17 Kevin Prince Boateng
18 Jermain Defoe
19 Adel Taarabt
20 Michael Dawson
21 Wayne Routledge
22 Tom Huddlestone
23 Darren Bent
24 Jamie O'Hara
25 Aaron Lennon
26 Ledley King
27 Ben Alnwick
28 Lee Barnard
29 Phil Ifil
30 Anthony Gardner
32 Benoit Assou-Ekotto
33 Ricardo Rocha
34 Andy Barcham
35 Dorian Dervite
36 Simon Dawkins
37 Danny Rose

vasilli07
10-08-2007, 10:06 PM
Why is Ghaly given a number? :s27:

ghimpheng
10-08-2007, 10:58 PM
Why is Ghaly given a number? :s27:

Martin Jol Decided to Give him a chance and let him stay in the current squad

vasilli07
11-08-2007, 11:43 AM
Prem Preview: Sunderland-Tottenham Hotspur
What: Premier League
Who: Sunderland v Tottenham
When: Saturday, 11th August, 2007, kick-off 12:45 local (BST)
Where: Stadium of Light, Sunderland.

It Is Back

Another summer has flown by and to our relief it is time for the Premiership once again and there is intrigue and expectation everywhere you look, especially at the match that kicks off the party, which is Sunderland’s match at home to Tottenham.

Great Expectations

Sunderland are back in the top flight after just one season down in the Championship, but the club is barely recognisable from the one that was humiliatingly relegated with a record low points tally.

The rise and rise of the Black Cats has been remarkable and has led to a wave optimism that has not been seen for a long time in this area of the North East. Having been relegated in such embarrassing circumstances they started last season in equally shoddy fashion, but after appointing Roy Keane as manager they never looked back and ended up lifting the title in May.

It was just the start of the surprises as the club’s new ownership, led by Irishman Niall Quinn has undertaken an ambitious spending spree this summer, which leaves Sunderland not hoping for a miraculous survival, but demanding safety at the very least.

Close to £30m has been spent on new players and it does not seem that the spending has stopped yet, but they are not the only club that has spent heavily this summer, which is partly way the new Premiership campaign should be even more interesting than ever.

Tottenham too have spent big, as they have done now for a few years, and they too have great expectations following on from successive fifth-placed finishes in the Premiership, which while being their best achievement for two decades is no longer deemed acceptable.

The North London club, in some quarters at least, are now deemed to have made the big four a five, but with there only being four Champions League places something has to give.

New Faces

Sunderland have spent a lot of money on a lot of players not many people know much about, which in many ways increases the pressure on the management to deliver on what they’ve signed away.

The biggest of all their signings has come this week in the shape of Scottish international goalkeeper Craig Gordon, who arrived for an initial £7m and should go straight into the team to face Spurs.

The other big money additions have been Kieran Richardson, who arrives from Manchester United’s substitute bench with lots of potential, and Michael Chopra, who has seen his price-tag rise ten-fold after failing to make the grade down the road at St James’ Park.

Egyptian striker Mido may yet also arrive from Saturday’s opponents, who boast an impressive forward line after their biggest signing of the summer in the form of England striker Darren Bent.

Bent, along with Dimitar Berbatov, Robbie Keane and Jermain Defoe are all available for the first match of the season so all eyes will be on Jol’s first team sheet.

Two of his other new additions Younes Kaboul and Kevin-Price Boateng should also be involved, but the exciting teenager Gareth Bale misses out through injury.

FORM GUIDE (All matches are friendlies)

Sunderland

Aug 04 v Juventus (H) DREW 1-1

Aug 01 v Rangers (A) DREW 3-3

Jul 30 v Cork City (A) DREW 1-1

Jul 28 v Bohemians (A) WON 1-0

Jul 21 v Scunthorpe (A) LOST 1-0

Jul 18 v Darlington (A) WON 2-0

Tottenham

Aug 04 v Torino (H) WON 2-0

Aug 01 v Leyton Orient (A) WON 4-2

Jul 28 v Orlando Pirates (A) WON 3-0

Jul 24 v Orlando Pirates (A) WON 2-1

Jul 21 v Kaizer Chiefs (A) WON 2-1

Jul 12 v St Patricks (A) WON 1-0

TEAM NEWS

Sunderland

(to follow)

Squad - to follow

Tottenham

Jol has his injury problems before the season has even started as skipper Ledley King is again on the sidelines and will be for a number of weeks, while winger Aaron Lennon is also missing having been out of action all summer. He is also missing all of his first three choices at left-back with new signing Bale joining Lee Young-Pyo and Benoit Assout-Ekotto in being unavailable. Ricardo Rocha is likely to play out of position to fill in.

Squad - to follow

PLAYERS TO WATCH

Sunderland - Kieran Richardson

It is often hard to break through the youth ranks at a massive team and make the grade, few manage to pull it off, while many end of slipping away into the oblivion of the lower leagues when they are finally sold off in their early twenties having suffered from the lack of first team football. Richardson will be hoping to have made his move early enough to prove he is good enough at the top. He is a player that has had much promise and even scored a brace on his England debut in what now seems a distant memory. However, he never had a long run in United’s first team and consequently has suffered, but he is still young and will be hungry to perform.

Tottenham - Younes Kaboul

It would be too easy to name Bent or any of Spurs’ other strikers, but in his first game in English football it will be more interesting to watch the performance of Kaboul. The French defender has arrived with little profile despite his £8m price-tag, but comes with great reviews from within French football following his good work with Bordeaux and France’s U21 side. With King injured he will get his chance to make his mark in the team from the outset. If injuries persist he could be a massively important player for Spurs this season.

PREDICTION

Opening matches to a league season are notoriously hard to predict as they are often cagey affairs and this one is no exception with its early start time for a TV audience. There will be many new players on show, but Tottenham will have bar far the more settled set of players with only Kaboul likely to start without any prior Premiership experience. This should give the Londoners the edge and they can pick up a massive early three points to send the jitters down the spines of Sunderland supporters right at the start of the campaign. 2-0 away win.

Source: Goal.com

My prediction: 2-1 to super spurs =:p

vasilli07
12-08-2007, 09:27 AM
Well...we lost the 1st game to a newly-promoted club...totally unacceptable if we wans a champion lge spot.

I hoped Martin Jol will ring some changes for the next game. Bring in Taarabt for over-rated Jenas and maybe Huddlestone for Tainio. Everton will be a tough opposition and for the next game, we must win no matter what... :s7:

ghimpheng
12-08-2007, 11:55 AM
Well...we lost the 1st game to a newly-promoted club...totally unacceptable if we wans a champion lge spot.

I hoped Martin Jol will ring some changes for the next game. Bring in Taarabt for over-rated Jenas and maybe Huddlestone for Tainio. Everton will be a tough opposition and for the next game, we must win no matter what... :s7:

would love to see Martin Jol Try Out 4-3-3

Bent Berbatov Keane

Malbraque Zokora Jenas

Bale Kaboul Dawson Chimbonda

or 4-4-2 with keane on the right

Bent Berbatov

Malbraque Zokora Jenas Keane

Bale Kaboul Dawson Chimbonda

wrxs204
12-08-2007, 10:24 PM
Spurs fan reporting in.....sad that we lost the game to sunderland, but hopefully we can bounce back & get 3 pts frm everton.

vasilli07
12-08-2007, 10:34 PM
Spurs fan reporting in.....sad that we lost the game to sunderland, but hopefully we can bounce back & get 3 pts frm everton.

Wrxs204, come here often and tok...we need more spurs fan...:o

hotspur_77
12-08-2007, 10:40 PM
i'm always here mah...juz that always @ hardware forums...

wrxs204
12-08-2007, 10:40 PM
been supporting them since epl started in 1992...am proud to say that I have stuck with them thru their ups & downs....hehe

vasilli07
12-08-2007, 11:00 PM
I have been supporting spurs when they have players like Linker and Gazza...hope to see more spurs fans when we have matches... =:p

P.S: hotspur_77, come here and chat lah...the spurs forum always very quiet... :o

wrxs204
14-08-2007, 02:52 PM
Spurs will be facing everton at WHL 2night. Hopefully, they will win this match so as to boost their morale. However, have to be cautious as they lost 2-0 in the last season.

Anyway, my prediction is that spurs will win 2-0

vasilli07
14-08-2007, 03:06 PM
Spurs will be facing everton at WHL 2night. Hopefully, they will win this match so as to boost their morale. However, have to be cautious as they lost 2-0 in the last season.

Anyway, my prediction is that spurs will win 2-0

Hmm...this is a must win game if we must to compete for a cl spot...2-1 to super spurs =:p

Pred2
14-08-2007, 11:03 PM
another longtime spurs fan reporting in :D

was really disappointed to see the lineup against sunderland and knew we are going to lose it with Anthony Gardner playing. No way were we going for a win with that kind of lineup, it really disturbed me that there wasnt any real wingers both in the starting lineup nor on the subs' bench.

let's hope Mr Jol wakes up his ideas and grow some bigger balls n play Taarabt in place of Malbranque or Tainio (who's done **** all too).

And please, no more Mr Gardner......

vasilli07
14-08-2007, 11:07 PM
another longtime spurs fan reporting in :D

was really disappointed to see the lineup against sunderland and knew we are going to lose it with Anthony Gardner playing. No way were we going for a win with that kind of lineup, it really disturbed me that there wasnt any real wingers both in the starting lineup nor on the subs' bench.

let's hope Mr Jol wakes up his ideas and grow some bigger balls n play Taarabt in place of Malbranque or Tainio (who's done **** all too).

And please, no more Mr Gardner......

Actually we have to play Garnder as Dawson is out...we don't have any central defenders unless shifting Chimbonda to central defence again...anyway, he did not do much wrong on sat and i certainly don't hope that will happen tonite...

Yup...from what i heard, Taarabt seems very good...

P.S: Pred2, also come here often lah... :)

vasilli07
14-08-2007, 11:10 PM
Tottenham Ready For Guti Move

Tottenham Hotspur could make an official approach to sign Guti from Real Madrid if the Spanish giants finally agree a deal to buy Arjen Robben from Chelsea.

The north London outfit have made their interest known and have been told that a deal could be on the cards if they remain patient.

Madrid boss, Bernd Schuster, is keen to mould his own Madrid team and has demanded that the creative side of the midfield be players that he wants.

The arrival of Wesley Sneijder will add pressure on Guti and if and when Robben joins, the 30-year-old could find himself playing another bit-part role at the club.

Tottenham have been long-time admirers of the Madrid playmaker and are desperate to add some flair to their midfield and would not put off by the €8m asking price.

Martin Jol also knows that Guti can operate on the left and that adaptability has proven to be an extra motivation to persevere with his enquiries.

Guti has been at Madrid for his entire career, after coming up through the club's youth ranks, but may fancy an adventure abroad before the end of his career.

The Premiership outfit would be capable of matching his wages and he could be assured of a regular starting place in the side at White Hart Lane.

I like him...thought 8 million maybe too much for a aging player...he will be a great playmaker for us provided he can do it consistantly...

vasilli07
14-08-2007, 11:12 PM
Boro Agree Mido Fee

Middlesbrough have confirmed that they have agreed a fee with Tottenham for the transfer of Egyptian striker Mido.

The 24-year-old was poised to join Premiership newcomers Birmingham City last month but the deal fell through at the last minute when the parties involved failed to agree on the length of the contract.

Sunderland and Fulham also expressed an interest in the former Roma man, but Middlesbrough have emerged as front-runners to secure his services, but the deal had stalled recently apparently over the asking price.

It seems as though this has now been cleared up as manager Gareth Southgate has confirmed that he is in agreement with Spurs and the player will undertake a medical imminently.

"We've agreed a fee with Tottenham and that's enabled us to have Mido up to see us and he's currently in the process of having a medical," Southgate told Boro's official website.

"Hopefully if everything goes well we'll have some news in the next 36 hours.

"All the talks have been very positive and I don't see the medical being too much of a problem for him."

Best of luck to him...

Pred2
15-08-2007, 01:10 AM
between Rocha and Gardner, i would choose the former anytime, anytime (provided dawson n king are unavailable, of cos). Gardner has consistently proven that he's not cut out for rigours and fast pace of EPL n yet, Martin Jol's insistence to use him is simply baffling everyone but himself.

Although i have to applaud Jol's policy on buying good youth players with potential, what good would it do to these players if they hardly get to play in every season? This will not only demoralise the young players, but will deter other youth players from joining Spurs in future. IMHO, some of the younger players can give some of the 1st-teamers a run for their money. Players like Jenas, Malbranque n Tainio seem to have a wildcard to play in every match, be it whether fit or otherwise. Anyone remembers when was the last time Jenas was dropped due to his consistent inconsistencies?

I just feel that Jol lacks the balls and assisted with an evenly gutless n useless No.2, Chris Hughton, i doubt we can even get a CL spot this season or the next few seasons to come. Call me a pessimist, but you need plenty of that to be a spurs fan these days. I just hope ENIC shares the same views as me and i'm quite sure i'm not alone in condemning how Jol n CH are stagnating our beloved Spurs.

Spurs need to be consistent in gaining points against clubs of lesser stature to at least have a shot at the CL spot, not to be playing cowards away from WHL against what, a team which just got promoted? Who cares if that team is managed by a menace in his playing days? That 3 points were there for the taking but alas, the team that Jol sent out might not even have a chance of winning against the Spurs Ladies Team.....

vasilli07
15-08-2007, 10:23 AM
Although i have to applaud Jol's policy on buying good youth players with potential, what good would it do to these players if they hardly get to play in every season? This will not only demoralise the young players, but will deter other youth players from joining Spurs in future. IMHO, some of the younger players can give some of the 1st-teamers a run for their money. Players like Jenas, Malbranque n Tainio seem to have a wildcard to play in every match, be it whether fit or otherwise. Anyone remembers when was the last time Jenas was dropped due to his consistent inconsistencies?

Yeah...Jenas is 1 of the most over-rated player in the Spurs team. Jol must drop(or even sell) him for maybe Huddlestone.

The whole Spurs team was horrible last nite. Malbranque was nearly ineffective on the right, yet played there for nearly the whole game. Bent was on the field, but i didn't notice him till his substitution. The def didn't deal with all the high balls well...in all, everything went all...

We already lost 2 games now...both games that we aren't suppose to lose. Looks like our cl spot is all but gone...

Other clubs fans must be laughing at us for spending 16 million on a striker who has yet to score in 2 games...

Spurs better wake up their idea...if not we could well be embroiled in the relegation battle instead of a uefa cup spot. :mad:

United_Treble
15-08-2007, 02:05 PM
overrated team, 2 defeats in 2 games, 1 against newly promoted sunderland, 1 against everton at home.
wonder why so many articles talking abt spurs being the most dominant strike force this season

vasilli07
15-08-2007, 02:07 PM
Jol Becomes Third Favourite For The Boot
What a differance two matches can make! After going into the season full of expectation and excitement, Tottenham manager Martin Jol now finds himself third favourite to be the first Premiership manager sacked this season after tonight's defeat at home to Everton.

The defeat left Spurs, who have finished fifth in the previous two campaigns, without a point after their opening two matches of the season and the pressure has been firmly lumped onto the shoulders of the likeable Dutchman, who is started his third full season as the club's manager.

Bookmakers William Hill have tonight released a statement saying: "Martin Jol has been slashed from 16/1 to 9/1third favourite by William Hill to be the first Premiership manager of the season to lose his job after their second league defeat of the fledgling campaign."

Spurs are now down to 66/1 to be relegated, but still remain the favourite to win the Premiership without the so-called 'Big Four'.

Moods change quickly in football it seems.

Our next 3 games is against Derby(H), Man U(A) and Fulham(A)...if we fail to get 6 or 7 points, then Jol gonna go...

wrxs204
15-08-2007, 02:47 PM
Very sad to see spurs going down so easily, and at home ground as well, which is suppose to be a fortress. But if bros here remember correctly, spurs also had a bad start at the beginning of last season (only won 1 in the 1st 6 games). However, they started to get their form back & went on a good run after that.

vasilli07
15-08-2007, 03:32 PM
Very sad to see spurs going down so easily, and at home ground as well, which is suppose to be a fortress. But if bros here remember correctly, spurs also had a bad start at the beginning of last season (only won 1 in the 1st 6 games). However, they started to get their form back & went on a good run after that.

But we cannot do that every year...if not, every year, we are just hoping for a uefa cup spot which is not good enough after spending so much money. :mad:

ghimpheng
15-08-2007, 07:07 PM
Defeat Derby Draw Man Utd Win Fulham

then his job will be safe

United_Treble
15-08-2007, 07:40 PM
Defeat Derby Draw Man Utd Win Fulham

then his job will be safehis job will be even safe if they beat manu

Pred2
15-08-2007, 08:03 PM
overrated team, 2 defeats in 2 games, 1 against newly promoted sunderland, 1 against everton at home.
wonder why so many articles talking abt spurs being the most dominant strike force this season
not sure if u understand this term "on paper". eg. "on paper", Louis Saha is also very much a 20-goal per season striker, but in reality, he should b the 20-games-out-and-having-fun-on-the-treatment-table kinda player. U get the drift?

Over-rated or not, it's not merely Spurs going around blowing their own trumpet, claiming they r uber strong n can steamroll past any Tom,Dick or Harry teams in the way. It's just the act of the media+some managers who overhype things to:
a) generate more "juicy" news which translate to higher readership = more sales
b) take the pressure off the managers n their teams to perform.

Say all u want against Spurs cos i've heard worst, but my love for Tottenham will not wane.

p/s: On a sidenote, i would love to see how you gonna react when the tables turned on ur beloved United and maybe in a few seasons of underperforming, i won't be surprised to see you abandoning the Red Devils for the Blues (or whichever team is leading the table). *shrugs*

Pred2
15-08-2007, 08:09 PM
We can rest assure that this run will continue each time Anthony "Titus Bramble" Gardner and Paul "I Give Last Minute Goals for Free" Staltieri feature in the starting lineup. Oh, and Jermaine "Confirmed in 1st Eleven" Jenas too.

Hopefully, Mr Jol wises up and throw Huddlestone, Taarabt, Kevin Prince Boateng into the starting lineup, then it will be the opposition which will b trembling, rather than the fans everytime they see the usual suspects in the midfield positions.

Every team now must be thanking their lucky stars if they see these bunch of jokers in the lineup and a win is like 75% in the bag.
1) Gardner
2) Staltieri
3) JJ
4) Malbranque
5) Zokora
6) Tainio

Pred2
15-08-2007, 08:36 PM
After their disappointing 3-1 home defeat against Everton Tottenham defender Anthony Gardner pleaded with the fans for patience, but admits they have to beat Derby to give the side belief that they can still qualify for the Champions League.

He said: "I can understand the fans' frustrations.

"Expectations are high and they are looking for us to do big things. We finished fifth last season and we have improved the team since then so we were expecting to make a strong start, but we haven't.

"I just hope the fans can be patient because we have the quality to turn this around. I train with the players every day and know how good they are and the quality of players we have bought in the summer.

"We just need a result to go our way. It may be early, but Saturday is a must-win game for us to lift our morale. The players are disappointed, just as the supporters are disappointed.

"But if we can beat Derby it will make everyone happy again and give us something to build on."

lol? Of all people, this clown has to be the spokesperson? and a IF we can beat Derby......oh wait, IF only applies if he plays? On wat basis can he speak for the team? Based on he's the team's topscorer right now?

vasilli07
15-08-2007, 10:08 PM
lol? Of all people, this clown has to be the spokesperson? and a IF we can beat Derby......oh wait, IF only applies if he plays? On wat basis can he speak for the team? Based on he's the team's topscorer right now?

I don't think we can blame him for playing...yes, he is a poor defender. But which central defenders are we left with? Maybe Dorian Dervitte could play...but he is in-experienced...

If we have to blame, it's Jol. He rather spend 16 million on an extra striker. What we really need is/are quality defender/s. If we could shore up our def, then we surely have a good chance of a cl spot.

I heard our spending is 2nd to Chelsea in the past 2-3 years. If chelsea can win the league twice by spending abit more than us, why can't we even secure yearly cl football?

Anyway, some players need to go...

1) Jenas
2) Stalteri
3) Gardner
4) Assou-Ekotto
5) Murphy
6) Ghaly
7) Routledge(maybe)

Lastly, we must win against derby...any other result, Jol's head will be chopped...

COME ON U SPURS...

ghimpheng
16-08-2007, 07:46 AM
Clearout List

1) Robinson
2) Staltieri
3) Tainio
4) Gardner
5)Jenas

all those stated above is a must in order to break top 4 or @ least don't play them first team

Pred2
16-08-2007, 10:28 AM
Clearout List

1) Robinson
2) Staltieri
3) Tainio
4) Gardner
5)Jenas

all those stated above is a must in order to break top 4 or @ least don't play them first team

6) Malbranque (not as effective as when he was at fulham)
7) zokora (hardly impressive in all the games he played so far)

vasilli07
16-08-2007, 10:38 AM

If you notice, it's Jol who makes them ineffective. He likes playing Lennon and Malbranque on the left when they are both more effective on the right. And after Jol 3 years in charge, have we solve our problem on our left midfield? No...

ghimpheng
16-08-2007, 11:12 AM

i tot Malbranque did okay

and Zokora quite a good passer and in charge of holding midfield so that others can push forward

Jenas and Robinson is surely over rated

i tot they got sign a keeper on loan can replace robinson

and Jenas replace by Murphy he is much better than Jenas

Kiwi8
16-08-2007, 01:33 PM
Haiz sad case for Tottenham. I thought they could do well after all those expensive buys. :o :o :o :o

rahul49
16-08-2007, 05:32 PM
I think what Spuds need is a quality playmaker in the mid field. Someone who can provide the killer passes to all the excellent forwards you have.

This season is the last chance for Jol to prove he can take this Spurs team any higher. Everton and Newcastle would be very close on your heals this season.

vasilli07
17-08-2007, 08:17 PM
Champions League? You're Having A Laugh!
TOTTENHAM HOTSPUR's woeful start to the season sees them lying sixteen places off the much-fancied fourth spot, with a goal difference of minus three. Their bad luck will soon dissipate and they will return towards the top half - but finishing fourth is a step too far, writes Christopher Spillane.

I've had the pleasure of sharing a train carriage with fans of Tottenham Hotspur twice. Both occasions occurred on Tuesday evenings, but one was in March and the other was in August. They had only two things in common: defeat and unseasonably bizarre weather.

The first occasion came following an epic FA Cup quarter-final tie against Chelsea where Tottenham blew an away lead of 3-1 to draw 3-3 and then lose the resulting home replay. The mood was one of disappointment but optimism. Spurs had sent a warning shot to the Premiership's elite, after it had taken Chelsea the best part of two games to beat them. Forget that Chelsea were suffering a mini injury crisis and that they had taken three points off them in the Premiership, Tottenham looked threatening, and as long as Martin Jol was shrewd in the transfer market in the summer, fourth place shouldn't be unimaginable.

The summer started and assertions and posturing about a top four finish gradually grew and rivalled the Tevez transfer saga and Fernando Torres' arrival on Merseyside. Martin Jol, Darren Bent, Ledley King among others appeared in the nationals waxing lyrical about bringing Champions League football to the blue and white side of North London.

Tottenham even a had an early season victory over Arsenal after managing to fight off top-flight interest in their star player Dimitar Berbatov, while Arsenal had a Thierry Henry-shaped vacancy up-front. Expectation gathered more pace with the arrival of four notable players in Gareth Bale, Darren Bent, Younes Kaboul and Kevin-Prince Boateng.

Then came the second occasion on which I shared a train with Tottenham fans post-match - Tuesday's 3-1 defeat by Everton. Before the game the mood was one of anticipation and expectancy. Three points were a must against a fellow top-eight team if Europe's elite are to head to White Hart Lane next season. After the game the atmosphere had descended into one of blame and incredulity. What a difference five months and over £30 million worth of new talent can make.

Accusatory fingers were pointing at Jermaine Jenas and his apparent lack of bite and energy in midfield, while disbelief was aimed at Jol's transfer dealings. The lack of an experienced enforcer to compete in midfield, and of a left winger with a left foot, was glaringly apparent. They were missing from the starting eleven, the bench, and even from the injury table. "Why had Jol added to an already menacing strike force at the princely sum of £16 million?" was the cry from scores of moody fans whose £50 ticket had brought them nothing but misery and a position at the foot of the table after two games.

Granted, Spurs are missing Aaron Lennon, Ledley King and Michael Dawson, while Kaboul came off early against Everton through injury. But if they are to enter the "gang of four," Jol needs more depth, quality and competition in his squad.

The odds on Martin Jol being the season's first managerial casualty have been slashed from 25-1 to 8-1, making him the third favourite to lose his position. Although talk of signing another youngster in Curtis Davies from West Brom may sway some into a cheeky punt, money would be better spent on predicting a top six finish for Tottenham rather than the sacking of a manager who has brought European football to N17 for two consecutive seasons.

A more calculated risk maybe tipping Everton to break into the top four, because David Moyes has crafted a fantastic team out of a good, but not fantastic, players. Blackburn could also challenge, with steady head Ryan Nelsen at the back and the useful addition of Roque Santa Cruz in attack.

Martin Jol has taught Tottenham how to crawl, but it seems that they are trying to run before they can walk, and defeats by the likes of Sunderland will be a handy reminder of this. Players of the calibre of Berbatov and King will see them knocking on the Champions League door. But until Jol signs an energetic midfield talisman in the mould of a Cesc Fabrégas, a Michael Essien, a Paul Scholes or a Steven Gerrard, they'll be knocking until they are sore in the head.

Christopher Spillane

Source: Goal.com

What he said is quite correct. Do we have any midfielders in that mould? Maybe Zokora or Tainio?

vasilli07
18-08-2007, 10:53 PM
What should i use to describe our 1st half performance? Vintage or breathtaking performance? :s13:

If Jenas can perform like this consistantly, we will have a stevie g in our side...=:p

Hope we can score another 2 so that our gd will at least be +1... :D

stevenliew
18-08-2007, 11:54 PM
I think vasili will have to tack bake his words abt jenas and malbranque liao....
both were inspiring tonite!!!

vasilli07
19-08-2007, 12:01 AM
I think vasili will have to tack bake his words abt jenas and malbranque liao....
both were inspiring tonite!!!

Haha...i only don't like Jenas as he cannot give this kinda of performance consistantly..as for Malbranque, his performance is affected by him playing on the left side and derby did not expose him as everton did in mid-week...:o

Anyway, great to see Taarabt being sub in, quite lively but must learn how to pass... :D

I will give super spurs 8 out of 10 for tonite performance... =:p

Next big test...the champs...MAN U...

wrxs204
19-08-2007, 12:20 AM
Great morale boosting win for spurs. 3 goals inside 13 mins. Hopefully, this is the start of their revival. COYS

Pred2
19-08-2007, 04:16 AM
What should i use to describe our 1st half performance? Vintage or breathtaking performance? :s13:

If Jenas can perform like this consistantly, we will have a stevie g in our side...=:p

Hope we can score another 2 so that our gd will at least be +1... :D
dun get ur hopes too high. if we cant even beat derby with style, then i cant bear to see what will happen in our next game. if u noticed, jenas tend to play better against uber weak oppositions.

vasilli07
19-08-2007, 03:59 PM
I kept an eye on the Reading game last nite as i bet on that game...I realised they have a player there who could solve our left midfield problem. He is Stephen Hunt, very hard-working and at times drive Reading midfield on at times, i would be more than happy to have him in the spurs team... :)

Rappelz
19-08-2007, 04:08 PM
I kept an eye on the Reading game last nite as i bet on that game...I realised they have a player there who could solve our left midfield problem. He is Stephen Hunt, very hard-working and at times drive Reading midfield on at times, i would be more than happy to have him in the spurs team... :)
yeah hardworking..
and he strikes fear in goalkeepers too i believe...

foxtrot1985
19-08-2007, 05:19 PM
I heard our spending is 2nd to Chelsea in the past 2-3 years. If chelsea can win the league twice by spending abit more than us, why can't we even secure yearly cl football?

If you look at net spending, then we're definitely not 2nd. Most of the players bought and then sold were sold at roughly the same price or a much higher price (e.g. Carrick and Mido)

spykid
19-08-2007, 05:21 PM
Who is this Tabarrat guy? I saw him play yesterday, style abit like Ronaldo :s13:

foxtrot1985
19-08-2007, 05:26 PM
Who is this Tabarrat guy? I saw him play yesterday, style abit like Ronaldo :s13:
Taarabt actually played last season when he came on as a sub at West Ham and at Chelsea.. He's got the skill but he's still quite raw and his crossing needs improvement

spykid
19-08-2007, 05:30 PM
Oh thought he was a new signing. Can see he's quite individual, but has very good outrageous potential. If nuture properly, can be quite a footballer in future.

jon_17
19-08-2007, 08:31 PM
Taarabt actually played last season when he came on as a sub at West Ham and at Chelsea.. He's got the skill but he's still quite raw and his crossing needs improvement
sounds abit like ronaldo

foxtrot1985
19-08-2007, 10:46 PM
To be more precise, Taarabt was on loan last season but now he's on a permanent deal.

vasilli07
20-08-2007, 06:37 PM
Jol Talks Of Whispers As Ramos Denies Spurs Approach
Martin Jol may have seen his team roar back to form with an emphatic 4-0 victory over Derby on Saturday - but the Spurs boss does not feel entirely secure as rumours of contact with Sevilla persist

Tottenham Hotspur manager Martin Jol has spoken of possible manoeuverings against him behind the scenes at White Hart Lane.

Despite the weekend's resounding win, Jol hinted that he could be 'stabbed in the back,' revealing: “I thought there were whispers last year - and there are whispers at any club all the time.

“I don’t know if I’m being undermined. I don’t think so but you never know.”

Bookmakers have made the Sevilla boss, Juande Ramos, 7-4 favourite to succeed under-pressure Jol at White Hart Lane.

The club insisted on Sunday night that they have not made an approach for Ramos yet, but their statement was not entirely reassuring for the Dutchman.

There were reports at the weekend that a delegation from Tottenham had met with Ramos at a Spanish hotel on Friday.

However, a Spurs spokeswoman said: “Our secretary John Alexander was there for a private meeting and we are not in negotiations with anybody to replace Martin at this current time.

“We are a club looking to finish in the top four and when results are as they have been, we would expect speculation.”

Meanwhile Ramos, 52, who masterminded Sevilla's stunning 5-3 victory over Real Madrid at the Bernabeu on Sunday night, has denied holding any talks with Spurs behind Jol’s back.

Ramos said: “I totally deny that I met with any Tottenham representative. Is there any evidence that demonstrates the contrary?

“It’s totally false. I was with one friend in two hotels and I’m only shown leaving and in my car.

“I didn’t speak to anyone about Tottenham or any other team.

“It’s true I was in the hotel as I went to see a friend who has nothing to do with football and who was in Seville on a visit. But there was no meeting about Tottenham.”

However, The Sun claims that Jol’s relationship with Spurs chairman Daniel Levy is at "an all-time low" following a series of clashes with sporting director Damien Comolli, a Levy appointment.

Jol's position was undermined by Spurs losing their first two matches of the season, though he surely went a long way towards repairing the damage with that stirring performance against struggling Derby.

The Dutchman has been ordered to finish in the top four after spending £39 million on new players this summer.

As well as Ramos, former Spurs striker Jurgen Klinsmann and ex-Real Madrid and Juventus boss Fabio Capello have also been linked with a possible appointment at White Hart Lane.

I like Jol coz he is the manager who lead us to our best premier lge finish...but his tactical knowledge is only average. Best eg, likes playing players out of position...

If we were to have a new manager, i would like Klinsmann to be the 1. He is one of my fav spurs player... =:p

cutter
20-08-2007, 07:59 PM
:s13::s22: what a joke.... like that SAF must be sacked after getting fewer points than Jol after the first 3 matches :o

hotspur_77
21-08-2007, 01:15 AM
big match coming up... hopefully can get something out of it...

vasilli07
22-08-2007, 10:30 AM
Jol Stays For Now, Given Top Four Ultimatum

Tottenham Hotspur chairman Daniel Levi has been told in no uncertain terms that he must deliver Champions League football after spending big this summer.

A clear-the-air meeting was held late this afternoon between Martin Jol and Daniel Levy, and message is clear: Jol stays for now, but must deliver Champions League football.

Following the meeting, Levy made it abundantly clear that the board would do what was needed to ensure that the team had the right coach to take the club forward.

After two fifth placed finishes and a very expensive summer, nothing less than a Champions League berth will suffice for the bosses, and that has been impressed on Jol.

"We have had two good, progressive seasons with fifth place finishes," said Levy. "I am an ambitious chairman, we are an ambitious club and we want Champions League football at White Hart Lane.

"We, the board, owe it to the club and the supporters to constantly assess our position and performance and to ensure that we have the ability to operate and compete at that level.

"We have made a massive investment in the squad and as a result we have the best squad of players this club has had for over 20 years and they are equally hungry for success and silverware.

"For that we need our management and coaching standards to be of the highest quality such that players can fulfil their potential and we can compete with the best.

"We have discussed all of these expectations with Martin and he has confirmed to me today that he feels he is equipped with a squad and a determination to take on that challenge."

The last statement implies that Jol has been given more time, but the ones preceeding it make it abundantly clear that he was given absolutely no guarantees.

Admitting that Levy had outlined the club's abitions, Jol said: "We had a full and frank conversation and I fully understand the ambitions of the club - they are the same as those of the supporters.

"He [Levy] has put a lot of hard work into this club and with the squad of players we have assembled, it is realistic that we should look to challenge for a top four position and I have assured him and the board that that is what I shall aim for."

That settles the issue for now, particularly with Sevilla having slammed the door shut for Juande Ramos, and the coach in no mood to give up on Champions League football either. However, bets have opened again on Martin Jol becoming the first casualty this season.

Spurs take on Manchester United on Sunday in what is a must win game for both teams - a game which will put at least one of the two sides in a very precarious position.

Hmm...it should be a realistic target for us given the money we spent and the time we had given to Marton Jol.

Kiwi8
22-08-2007, 10:37 AM
Jol Stays For Now, Given Top Four Ultimatum

Tottenham Hotspur chairman Daniel Levi has been told in no uncertain terms that he must deliver Champions League football after spending big this summer.

A clear-the-air meeting was held late this afternoon between Martin Jol and Daniel Levy, and message is clear: Jol stays for now, but must deliver Champions League football.

Following the meeting, Levy made it abundantly clear that the board would do what was needed to ensure that the team had the right coach to take the club forward.

After two fifth placed finishes and a very expensive summer, nothing less than a Champions League berth will suffice for the bosses, and that has been impressed on Jol.

"We have had two good, progressive seasons with fifth place finishes," said Levy. "I am an ambitious chairman, we are an ambitious club and we want Champions League football at White Hart Lane.

"We, the board, owe it to the club and the supporters to constantly assess our position and performance and to ensure that we have the ability to operate and compete at that level.

"We have made a massive investment in the squad and as a result we have the best squad of players this club has had for over 20 years and they are equally hungry for success and silverware.

"For that we need our management and coaching standards to be of the highest quality such that players can fulfil their potential and we can compete with the best.

"We have discussed all of these expectations with Martin and he has confirmed to me today that he feels he is equipped with a squad and a determination to take on that challenge."

The last statement implies that Jol has been given more time, but the ones preceeding it make it abundantly clear that he was given absolutely no guarantees.

Admitting that Levy had outlined the club's abitions, Jol said: "We had a full and frank conversation and I fully understand the ambitions of the club - they are the same as those of the supporters.

"He [Levy] has put a lot of hard work into this club and with the squad of players we have assembled, it is realistic that we should look to challenge for a top four position and I have assured him and the board that that is what I shall aim for."

That settles the issue for now, particularly with Sevilla having slammed the door shut for Juande Ramos, and the coach in no mood to give up on Champions League football either. However, bets have opened again on Martin Jol becoming the first casualty this season.

Spurs take on Manchester United on Sunday in what is a must win game for both teams - a game which will put at least one of the two sides in a very precarious position.

Hmm...it should be a realistic target for us given the money we spent and the time we had given to Marton Jol.
It doesn't seem a realistic target though. Is the board expecting to dislodge one of the Big Four with just