PDA

View Full Version : Singnet - Frequent Disconnection Problem

digitalguy
04-03-2007, 10:54 PM
Hi guys,

Have you guys encountered frequent disconnect problem ( singnet ) before? How did you solve it?

Lately i could not browse at all.. every now and then modem is getting disconnected. I am using Prolink 8000 usb modem and also noticed that my fixed line phone has lots of noise ( actually this noise problem happend only after singnet tech came to my house and "fixed" something to address frequent disconnect problem - not yet solved :( ).

thanks in advance : )

The_Showstoppa
05-03-2007, 01:24 AM
yeah... im having the same problem (but phone line is ok). every f***ing link i click i kenna dced! wtf? damn pissed off man... after checking out some of the threads here, i see many others facing the same problem. i thought singnet was the better service provider? looks like i was wrong..... even the tech come also like no use... anyone have a solution for this problem? maybe recommend changing the modem or what?

slmn4a
05-03-2007, 05:01 AM
Fixed line got noise, I think you need microfilter. Not sure abt Prolink 8000, whether it has built in microfilter that maybe the cause of the disconnection

crazyliao
05-03-2007, 11:19 AM
I am facing the same probelm, DC and noise in the fixed line phone... i had microfilter with the fixed line phone liao, and is new phone some more.

Which part of Singapore are you located. me in Jurong East!!

AS1
05-03-2007, 11:27 AM
Hi guys,

Have you guys encountered frequent disconnect problem ( singnet ) before? How did you solve it?

Lately i could not browse at all.. every now and then modem is getting disconnected. I am using Prolink 8000 usb modem and also noticed that my fixed line phone has lots of noise ( actually this noise problem happend only after singnet tech came to my house and "fixed" something to address frequent disconnect problem - not yet solved :( ).

thanks in advance : )
connecting using USB or Ethernet cable?

Rasputin99
05-03-2007, 11:32 AM
hey that is really weird, I too live in the West and have got lots of noise not only for the modem that disconnects but the landline as well.

In the end a singtel cable man came and put a hole in the wall to connect another wall outlet, then he said cannot do and I had to wait a couple of days for another man.

The other guy patch from outside another line, (lucky that our phone line is the 4 wire type, he connect the other 2 wires). So the line more or less is OK, but occasionally there is alot of noise on the line. I thought that it had to do with the stormy weather at the end of last year and the beginning of this year.

Then I had to patch the hole in the wall that was made by the first singtel man. Though I have not found the paint to repaint the patch yet.

crazyliao
06-03-2007, 09:00 AM
Did you guys pay $20 to the singtel technician when they came down?? The CSO keep saying if is not the line problem, we will have to pay $20 to the technician!!!

digitalguy
08-03-2007, 06:58 PM
Fixed line got noise, I think you need microfilter. Not sure abt Prolink 8000, whether it has built in microfilter that maybe the cause of the disconnectionprolink modem comes with microfilter and i tried with microfilter - result: no use same problem

digitalguy
08-03-2007, 06:59 PM
connecting using USB or Ethernet cable?USB modem

it is an USB modem

digitalguy
08-03-2007, 07:00 PM
I am facing the same probelm, DC and noise in the fixed line phone... i had microfilter with the fixed line phone liao, and is new phone some more.

Which part of Singapore are you located. me in Jurong East!!east side, tampines

alanchia67
08-03-2007, 09:25 PM
USB modem

it is an USB modem

a usb modem is hard to perform line diagnostics if i'm not wrong. if you can borrow a ethernet modem/router perhaps we can see are there problems in the line from the line statistics.

slmn4a
09-03-2007, 02:28 AM
prolink modem comes with microfilter and i tried with microfilter - result: no use same problem

Try change the modem. If same result, call the helpdesk. I think they can do troubleshooting on the spot.

anewbie
12-07-2007, 11:59 PM
HI,

May I know how the problem was eventually solved?

-anewbie

nathetamine
13-07-2007, 09:56 AM
same problem, i using my own d-link modem.

my adsl light suddenly goes off, den after awhile den it reconnects back.. happens abt once a week

jas1701
13-07-2007, 09:59 AM
I’m located in east side, so far no disconnection problem.

Hobbit6003
13-07-2007, 10:37 AM
Me too, I'm rather pissed with the 2Wire wireless modem that comes with the package. In my 3 hours of logging on every night, I get disconnected 5-6 times, and everytime my browser will flash this message asking me to reboot system....

My wife who is at home everyday, complains to me about the same thing too.

Sheesh......

anewbie
13-07-2007, 06:19 PM
I got this problem called singnet 8 to 9 times, linemen checked 6 times, still happening from time to time.

Hobbit6003
13-07-2007, 11:38 PM
Sheesh....It's probably more reliable connecting to the linksys modem through a cable....

anewbie
15-07-2007, 05:30 PM
singnet called me said will rewire for me if problem persists.........

ktyandkyc
15-07-2007, 07:12 PM
im using prolink hurrican 8000 ethernet modem, and also facing the same problem.. how do u guys get the singnet guys to check?

im keep getting dc from surfing, but not from MSN, weird.

IONSOON
15-07-2007, 07:21 PM
me using linksys WAG325N, also encounter tis problem, out of no wher, will auto DC one. same it goes when i use my old modem SPeedtouch one. getting beri fed up liao. the worst is want to connect back, must see the line whether got "temper" one. during may, call down the lineman and he said nth wrong wif the line.

axisv
15-07-2007, 07:40 PM
hehehe... from Tampines. I have only encounter that problem once, after getting SingTel linesman down for 2 times. Think they fixed it, never have that problem again. :s12:

popdod
16-07-2007, 12:33 AM
Staying at novena and using thomson 536 modem and the connection is terrible.
It will disconnect every once or twice a day.

With or without microfilter doesn't help much.

Getting very upset with singnet services.

:s8: :o :s8:

blackslayer
16-07-2007, 01:18 AM
Did you guys pay $20 to the singtel technician when they came down?? The CSO keep saying if is not the line problem, we will have to pay $20 to the technician!!!
Don't worry. u don need to pay for it most of the time unless u meet that guy who is greedy for money. When one of the technician came down.. when he was about to go off..i just took out 20 dollars to pay him as like what u said the CSo said needa pay if it is not our line problem. Then the technician just said " no need la" i just write report due to line problem so do not need to pay" lol. so good. i don know hw to thanks him man..

blackslayer
16-07-2007, 01:19 AM
Me too, I'm rather pissed with the 2Wire wireless modem that comes with the package. In my 3 hours of logging on every night, I get disconnected 5-6 times, and everytime my browser will flash this message asking me to reboot system....

My wife who is at home everyday, complains to me about the same thing too.

Sheesh......
Is it that bad? nth has happened to me since i change from 2wire 1800 to 2wire 2700. pretty good at simpang bedok area..

liangtam
16-07-2007, 01:49 AM

:s8: :o :s8:
You can check the data errors as well as line stats information from the web interface of the ST536, same goes for most other available modems.

Knowing how well the condition of your line can help you argue with SingTel linesman better.
Also, can try testing by asking for a loop cable to the dp to see the difference of line stats caused by internal home wiring.

mullen26
16-07-2007, 02:52 AM
me too, i'm having the same problem. it's really suck.

hoobastalib
16-07-2007, 09:12 PM
well i've sent an email to singnet regarding this.. a very angry email... even refering them to this post to tell them tat im not the only one with the problem. I'll see what smart answer they'll give me cos i believe i countered whateva they wanted me to address.. hmph!

Hobbit6003
16-07-2007, 10:47 PM
It is getting from bad to worst these 2 days....the drop lines are getting as frequent as every other opening of links or refresh....and for example this page, i've got to refresh twice and it took nearly 1 min to fully load, and zi'm on the 10Mbps plan!!!

This is my speed:

http://www.pbase.com/image/82323979.jpg

glacieraze
16-07-2007, 11:46 PM
Changed to a linksys am300 adsl2+ modem, got it 2nd hand from e-bay.
Then plug in the WRT54G V5 with lastest firmware and work wonders.

In games like rakion, I can see more ppl ms or rather almost all, previously with the stupid speedtouch 585 modem, with so many stupid security function which make the connection stinks and only could detect a few player ms.

Living in the west, no dc, if got dc also due to the router cuz on too long and downloaded too many things that actually hang the router.

glacieraze
16-07-2007, 11:48 PM
Btw I am on Singnet 10Mbps
here my speed, seem pretty normal

http://www.speedtest.net/result/155475357.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

djchris
16-07-2007, 11:52 PM
I'm on singnet, living in the east.

Wireless router gets dc every now and then. Den I must off and on the router to reconnect. :(

Hobbit6003
17-07-2007, 12:36 AM
I've disconnected my 2Wire, and reverted back to my Linksys ADSL2 modem and connect directly via ethernet cable, and here's what I got:

http://www.pbase.com/image/82327346.jpg

I've been connected for the past hour or so, and it is fast without any DC.

Can I safey conclude that there's something abt the 2Wire? I've got 3 computers (1 Macbook Pro, 1 Powerbook G4, 1 Intel iMac) connected, and the frequent DC is experienced with all 3 of the computers, so it shouldn't be any of the comp's fault la.

If that's the case, I think I'm gonna get another wireless router tomorrow....

anewbie
17-07-2007, 05:28 PM
To all,

hope this will help you speed up the trouble-shooting process.

1. when you call singnet hotline, always get the name of the staff, so next time you call you can ask the same staff to help, or refer to what he/she had done. Ask a manager to help you if you can.

2. check if anything starting from outside phone socket to your computer is faulty, find a replacement of each component to see if it works fine. e.g. use a notebook computer to connect (exclude any computer drivers, wireless network card problems), use a second-hand modem to check (exclude modem problem), use a second micro-filter to check (exclude micro-filter problem)

3. if calling a few times does not solve the problem, you can talk to the manager and ask for a refund (I asked for two months refund and they gave me), when you do that, they know the problem must be solved otherwise you are surfing for free.

digitalguy
17-07-2007, 10:55 PM
hi guys,

my problem is still not resolved yet, even though two times the techician visited and did something. now i feel better, but not very much frequent

hoobastalib
21-07-2007, 02:18 PM
update:
yes finally singtel replied my email and admitted that someting was wrong with their line.. and send a technician over to check the lines from their place to my place.. even to my house.. with the $20 fee waived. Finally got back the speed which I had always gotten and no more frequent disconnection. I guess sometimes sending angry emails help! haha...

Swordsman
21-07-2007, 04:12 PM
seems like both starhub and singnet internet connection got problem.. pay so much, give this kind of service. :s27:

Hobbit6003
21-07-2007, 04:28 PM
Well, as for mine, since my ADSL modem connected via cable can consistently clock DL speed of 11000+kb/s, I'm pretty sure my line is alright.

So, when I called up Singnet up, they told me to play around with switching channels on the 2Wire. However, that too, didn't help with the slow speed and the frequent droppd line.

Frustrated, I went to buy the Airport Extreme, a wireless router and connected that up to my Linksys modem. It has already been 3 days, and the connection speed is equal to that of a wired connection, and so far no DC!

2Wire sucks big time for me....

popdod
21-07-2007, 09:48 PM

This morning, the technician come over...and duno what he done...with some
metering device and a laptop....

and Voila!
Now surfing no more DC!!!

Happy customer now.

:D :s13: :D

anewbie
30-07-2007, 12:28 PM
newest update from me is, the last technician came and fixed the problem. ok, with only 1 to 3 disconnections per day sometimes. Better than past 3 months.

anewbie
30-07-2007, 04:23 PM
problem came back again just now, keep disconnecting.............
I should switch to starhub............

starhub users, any plan to recommend?

Hobbit6003
30-07-2007, 04:31 PM
problem came back again just now, keep disconnecting.............
I should switch to starhub............

starhub users, any plan to recommend?

Are you using their 2Wire modem? Me too, was getting disconnected extremely frequent. Called their hotline and was advised to switch channel, and it didn't work. Then they did a line check and told me it is ok, perhaps the occasional noisy line.

Finally, I gave up and changed my wireless modem and base station, and till today, I've got no disconnection and the speed is as fast as wired!

Just ditch the bloody 2Wire and see la.

Gondon72
30-07-2007, 04:47 PM
newest update from me is, the last technician came and fixed the problem. ok, with only 1 to 3 disconnections per day sometimes. Better than past 3 months.

Try using another modem to test it. If the problem is still there, call the lines man to come and check again. if it is not the problem inside your house, you doesnt needs to pay anything.

I did this for almost 6 months. keep calling them and in the end they send the engineers down also.

*well i did this because i cant played wow 2 yrs ago using scv...21K ms is too much :D

anewbie
31-07-2007, 11:41 AM
yes. I tried troubleshooting with another modem, if you read the whole thread you noticed I gave this tips in a previous post.

you really have patience, 6 months ???
I now waiting for their refund, after I receive it I will switch to starhub.

xprophetx
31-07-2007, 08:19 PM
hmm i not e only one had this prob; i keep dcing every few mins very frequently, i dont really download alot of stuff other den play online game, i was damn pissed, even change a modem but problem still persist, btw i livin in toa payoh

hongjoo
18-08-2007, 11:50 AM
i cancelled my singtel n signup with starhub...

tech010101
18-08-2007, 12:24 PM
I found SingTel customer service have one problem!

Many of their contractor/installer do not know how to troubleshoot! Few of my friends jumping up and down becuase of their line/router problem never solve for more than 1 week!

End up one group of installer from "DAWN communication" attend the service, and problem solve instantly!

But before that installer from 2WIRE own distributor "Malifax" came to their house and never solve the problem, what the FXXX!

liangtam
18-08-2007, 03:49 PM
Must depend on which staff attend, cos some might be part timers.

xprophetx
18-08-2007, 07:33 PM
my line keep droppin today just purely playin mmpog

o.o123
18-08-2007, 08:53 PM
i bleddy disconnect anytime, sumtime get 5-10, sumtime when modem happy let me hab my internet wholeday, sumetime 1 full day no internet, i live in bukit panjang :(

p51mustang
18-08-2007, 09:20 PM
I am on Singnet 10Mbps since April 07 after my Pacnet contract ends. Got no dc problems whatsoever since day 1. Am using a 3Com adsl router & staying in Hougang area, Lucky me, I guess. :s13:

liangtam
18-08-2007, 09:39 PM
I am on Singnet 10Mbps since April 07 after my Pacnet contract ends. Got no dc problems whatsoever since day 1. Am using a 3Com adsl router & staying in Hougang area, Lucky me, I guess. :s13:
Depends lor, if your 3com adsl router does not sync in ADSL2+ rate, then the chances of line tolerance is more.

Hobbit6003
18-08-2007, 09:47 PM

I think it is not about luck, but your modem....:)

mfbatzap
18-08-2007, 11:31 PM
hey my line keeps disconnecting during thunderstorms le! sometimes every now and then it gets disconnected toO! damn dulan! will they help me fix the prob i'm using 3rd party router?

heehee01
19-08-2007, 02:57 AM
Intermittent connection due to:
modem/router- can only test by changing to another one lo...
PCs - has seen cases whereby problem with PC's power supply causing non-constant power to LAN port or usb port on motherboard....
line issue - get SN tech to come and test the line. IMPT is to ask for the line readings to see if within specs. Then take down the readings(eg. noise-to-signal ratio etc). Call helpdesk and ask for the recommended readings. From this you can determine your next course of action....

The most problematic cases are those due to weather-
Most of our HDBs when built ten or twenty years ago do not have internet availability concern in their planning. Internet access is more sensitive than DEL line(Telephone). However, don think any department has sent ppl to 'refurnish' or maintain our HDBs' cabinet conditions(cabinet are the termination point for every block/area). This is not SN's responsibility alone, as this may belong to the HDB.....
This can help to explain why west(older estates) side more prone to such problems than east(newer estates).
Perhaps we can start a poll to see how many ppl living in condos vs HDBs having such intermittent issue....This will give us a clearer picture rather than blindly blaming the ISPs.....

heehee01
19-08-2007, 03:03 AM
Just to add on, for folks to further isolate problem, can try to download software like pingplotter which can ping an IP address constantly and plot it out in a pictorial graph....
Run a ping to
(a)your router IP address
(b)any local website public IP

If you can see pings to (b) drop, then maybe contact helpdesk..
If pings to (a) drop, then it is your PC or router, no point in wasting time with the ISP involve in this case.

For all my comments it is purely on my own personal opinions....

xprophetx
19-08-2007, 02:44 PM
Here is my result from pingplotter:

http://img355.imageshack.us/img355/2143/resultoe7.jpg

my intermittent connection as in the ADSL line is just suddenly blinking n after 10secs or so it become solid green; i try do scan for viruses n spywares/adwares also no good result modem n filter changed do everything i can but the problem still persist; n i just shoot another email to them hopin they can come down to my place to do a line check

simcher
20-08-2007, 09:55 PM
it looks like your telephone line have alot of interference... i think the singtel man have to come and check?

anewbie
29-09-2007, 11:34 PM
latest update, recently I figured out what might the reason behind frequent disconnection.
It's in the phone line circuit downstair, but Singtel / Singnet is reluctant to replace it.

Hobbit6003
29-09-2007, 11:59 PM
latest update, recently I figured out what might the reason behind frequent disconnection.
It's in the phone line circuit downstair, but Singtel / Singnet is reluctant to replace it.

How did u arrive at this conclusion?

GiveMeAnything
30-09-2007, 02:56 AM

Yeah, the last time their technician came to my flat he also said something about the replacing something downstair.

Although, before that, I had to complain all the way to the Manager of the customer support before anything was done.

Their hotline system doesn't rectify anything and the problem keeps coming back.

When you give feedback to them just remain courteous and if problem not solved just keep asking for the next person in charge until you reach the higher rank...

Always take the support personnel name down for reference.

anewbie
30-09-2007, 11:15 PM
I found out because the phone line was dead for 3 4 times this year. Everytime the phone line was repaired back to normal, the surfing was supreme smooth, no disconnection. Then slowly problems came back.

Like that, very sian, really need to complain until CEO before they willing to do something?

anewbie
18-10-2007, 08:56 AM
Problem solved. No more disconnection.

This is after 6 months of nightmares, calling Singnet support more than 15 times, calling Sintel support more than 5 times, linesmen came down to check more than 8 times.

Do you want to go through that? It's better to subscribe to PacNet ok? Moreover they care about your privacy, kekekeke....

b3ckham88
18-10-2007, 10:31 AM
to people facing disconnection, work with your isp to monitor your network, either do a direct connection if you are connected to your LAN to see if it is your LAN that causes this problem, if you are using adsl or something, if you are connecting a phone on your internet connection line, make sure you have a microfilter on, or else everytime there's a phone call, you would face intermittent connection.
try isolating the connection if you can afford not to surf the net for some period, plug the line only to your networking device without your computer being connected to it and check with your ISP whether if on their record you still face disconnection, if yes, get them to do a line check because there's only 2 possibilities, either their line is having problem, or your networking device is having problem.remember as said above, even when doing isolation, dont attach a phone to the line when doing isolation.

ongbenghui
18-10-2007, 10:48 AM
Problem solved. No more disconnection.

So, what was the problem ?

anewbie
19-10-2007, 05:13 PM
to people facing disconnection, work with your isp to monitor your network, either do a direct connection if you are connected to your LAN to see if it is your LAN that causes this problem, if you are using adsl or something, if you are connecting a phone on your internet connection line, make sure you have a microfilter on, or else everytime there's a phone call, you would face intermittent connection.
try isolating the connection if you can afford not to surf the net for some period, plug the line only to your networking device without your computer being connected to it and check with your ISP whether if on their record you still face disconnection, if yes, get them to do a line check because there's only 2 possibilities, either their line is having problem, or your networking device is having problem.remember as said above, even when doing isolation, dont attach a phone to the line when doing isolation.
LOL. Theoretically the problem can be solved in this way. But you missed the fact that there are lousy ISPs with lousy technical support.

Francis85
21-10-2007, 03:48 PM
Which part of singapore u stay at east side linesman very lousy west side better sometimes if linesman come down call them check DP re-punch DP lines pair then check your phone sockets sometimes it is your sockets rusty.....

liangtam
21-10-2007, 03:50 PM
Which part of singapore u stay at east side linesman very lousy west side better sometimes if linesman come down call them check DP re-punch DP lines pair then check your phone sockets sometimes it is your sockets rusty.....
Chiu work indirectly for them?

Francis85
21-10-2007, 03:51 PM
no dun ask so much ok.

liangtam
21-10-2007, 03:54 PM
no dun ask so much ok.
Why not? You sound like you work for malifax.

Francis85
21-10-2007, 03:59 PM
no i dun work for them, who the heel is malifax, i know that they dun do loopback for users but give them microfilter loopback.....

Sapphy
21-10-2007, 07:26 PM

Not rusty, some is corrode.

Francis85
23-10-2007, 06:55 AM
Not rusty, some is corrode.

no wonder next time linesman come down tell him to change the sockets for ya and and the modem readings again if u are using 2WIRE

anewbie
01-06-2008, 02:18 PM
This issue is finally solved!

I called up Linksys support, and they advised me to change DSL modulation settings.
And now no more intermittent disconnection.

I can't believe a 15mins call to Linksys can solve a 1-year long problem.
But 50 calls to Singnet can't, they are a bunch of morons.

liangtam
01-06-2008, 02:42 PM
Not surprising ma, you're using a 3rd party modem

Kamikazee
01-06-2008, 03:12 PM
how to check whether the line is dropping connection?

nuky8181
08-06-2008, 12:15 AM
Hi there,

I am facing some disconnection problem. I am using prolink9000B with Linksys WRT54GL.

I am not sure where the problem is. Is it my router setting or is it the router or is the problem with singnet.

Anyone can tell me how you set your router?

liangtam
08-06-2008, 12:17 AM
And what sort of it are u referring here?

oyebto
08-06-2008, 12:29 AM
This issue is finally solved!

I called up Linksys support, and they advised me to change DSL modulation settings.
And now no more intermittent disconnection.

I can't believe a 15mins call to Linksys can solve a 1-year long problem.
But 50 calls to Singnet can't, they are a bunch of morons.
u cant expect the singtel ppl to noe how ur attached router works mah.. give them a break dude.

nuky8181
08-06-2008, 02:26 AM
I just went thru all the setting. Think the only relevant one is the image below

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v204/nuky8181/1.jpg

Should I set it to Connect on Demand or Keep Alive?

reddeviljam
08-06-2008, 02:56 AM
Im have connection problem while using the Wireless on SNBB (2700HGV-2 Gateway).
I have reset the modem and it work for awhile when the problem comes back. So i tried using the Driect (Wired) connection it working very fine (even my download n sufing of net). But once i used the wireless i will have problem sufing the net n even downloading things on singnet site. It will sometime load the page fast n sometime load really slow even sometime can't even load the page.... Anyone know what is the problem.
And on the Modem Page it show
Connection Speed:
• Incoming: 20015 kbps
• Outgoing: 1021 kbps
Is it Accuracy?

Please help. Thanks

guards80
08-06-2008, 11:22 AM
anybody Frequent Disconnection on 10.30am?

reddeviljam
08-06-2008, 12:42 PM
My 2700hgv is giving me problem. It always DC. But when i go for wired it is ok... wat will be the problem.... any 1 can help.. thankss

liangtam
08-06-2008, 02:51 PM
wireless disconnection, most of the problem lies on the wireless adapter instead

anewbie
08-06-2008, 03:34 PM
Here's my settings:

Encapsulation: RFC 2516 PPPoE
Multiplexing: LLC
Qos Type: UBR
Virtual Circuit: 0 VPI, 100 VCI
DSL Modulation: G.dmt
Keep Alive: Redial Period 30 seconds

Hope this will help to solve disconnection due to DSL status drops, this can't solve problem due to wireless connection drops.

u cant expect the singtel ppl to noe how ur attached router works mah.. give them a break dude.

The setting options are more or less the same for all modems/router modems
If they don't know how they tell people to setup the connection?

liangtam
08-06-2008, 03:44 PM
Here's my settings:

Hope this will help to solve disconnection due to DSL status drops, this can't solve problem due to wireless connection drops.

You don't expect them to tell you that when their script does not have ur modem steps to even tell you right? Which is as I have mentioned earlier, you're using a 3rd party modem. If you have figure out, u shld choose ST536 for that support instead.

reddeviljam
08-06-2008, 04:51 PM
wireless disconnection, most of the problem lies on the wireless adapter instead

i tried using other wireless y there is no problem.. i dun think is my adapter problem.

liangtam
08-06-2008, 04:55 PM
i tried using other wireless y there is no problem.. i dun think is my adapter problem.

do u have a spare?

reddeviljam
08-06-2008, 05:00 PM
do u have a spare?

wat thing spare?
Im having SNBB and Cable at home..

liangtam
08-06-2008, 07:56 PM
wat thing spare?
Im having SNBB and Cable at home..

Spare wireless adapter.

anewbie
11-06-2008, 01:00 AM
You don't expect them to tell you that when their script does not have ur modem steps to even tell you right? Which is as I have mentioned earlier, you're using a 3rd party modem. If you have figure out, u shld choose ST536 for that support instead.

What is 3rd party modem? 2nd party modem?
Singnet never recommended me any modem, they just gave me one for free and it went spoilt so I bought a new one.

If their service only supports a limited list of modems, then they should give me a list. When I called up their user support to solve the disconnection issue, I did tell them my modem model, but they never mentioned to me the modem is not supported. I'm just an ordinary internet user, I don't know what is ST536.

You can't defend them, they just sux.

liangtam
11-06-2008, 02:51 AM
Come on, a list of modems supported by them are on their website. Besides, when u do get a 3rd party modem, it is of course ur responsibilities to seek help from 3rd party manufacturer when SingNet dosn't/cant support it. Now, they did try to offer you some information you nid to set ur AM300 right?

anewbie
11-06-2008, 10:05 PM
Then Singnet not telling people the list or how to find it when they sign up expect everyone can find out on his own. And besides I pay them money, so it's whose responsibility? 3rd party manufacturer is not obliged to help me. It was not the modem that was not working, it was the connection. I called Linksys cheated them the modem was spoilt and requested RMA, only then they helped me to troubleshoot.

liangtam
11-06-2008, 10:22 PM
You just explained yourself. When you buy a modem, all support issues are handled by the modem manufacturer actually. which is why Linksys is supposed to help u in this case.

Why does ISP supplies only a limited amount of modem? It is because they cannot handle the vast amount of modem on market which have different ways to do configuration, also it ensures seamless integration/compatibility.

anewbie
12-06-2008, 10:13 PM
You didn't get the point.

Only the ISP knows which DSL settings are correct. How could a modem company possibily knows if you should choose "PPPoE" or "PPPoA". This depends on whether your ISP supports it. Every ISP has different settings. Any modem can be configured with the settings. Linksys is not supposed to help me, but they did help me.

liangtam
12-06-2008, 10:23 PM
You didn't get the point.

Only the ISP knows which DSL settings are correct. How could a modem company possibily knows if you should choose "PPPoE" or "PPPoA". This depends on whether your ISP supports it. Every ISP has different settings. Any modem can be configured with the settings. Linksys is not supposed to help me, but they did help me.

If by what you claim only ISP knows which settings are correct, can ISP direct u to buy the model they recommend and not support/allow 3rd party modem? This shld be understood by you in its simplest form.(Naturally, both PPPoE and PPPoA is supposed to work, so I don't know about the settings you claim)

If you buy things not supported, that is to say, you're on your own!!

Linksys is not supposed to help me, but they did help me.
I called Linksys cheated them the modem was spoilt and requested RMA, only then they helped me to troubleshoot.
Hmm, I wonder.

anewbie
13-06-2008, 09:36 PM
Don't be so obstinate la.

Singnet only support a limited list of modems, and leave it to users to configure on their own if their modems fall outside of the supported list. Isn't this saying Singnet sux?

I don't see the difficulty of giving support to users using 3rd party modems. The way to configure modems is universal. DSL settings used on a typical modem can in principle be ported to others. Singnet had failed to provide me the information I need, and wasted me one year time.

liangtam
13-06-2008, 10:51 PM
Ok la, dun argue with u liao.
If u insist it that way, so be it.

Anyway, I see ur losing out in above setting...

sometimesticklish
25-10-2008, 12:04 PM
Here's my settings:

Hi Anewbie,

I'm using a Linksys WAG200G. Like you the free modem that Singnet gave me when I signed up with them stopped working. So I went to buy my own modem.

In the past year there have been 2 instances when I was unable to connect up to singnet. Both cases it was due to the settings. NOT the phone wire and not modem hardware problem (as claimed by the singnet guys). They even had the cheek to tell me to recontract and get their "compatible" modem. This is outright monopoly. As an internet provider they should let you know the connection settings. Once my contract ends I'm jumping ship.

Anyway thanks Anewbie for posting your settings up. It solved my connection problem. You're a saviour! :s12:

lasnoblur
03-01-2009, 04:15 PM
stinknet just stinks .

everytime i play match online, it fcking dc make me lose/ or my whole team lose.

That stinky net. knn 1.

albertchng
03-01-2009, 09:11 PM
stinknet just stinks .

everytime i play match online, it fcking dc make me lose/ or my whole team lose.

That stinky net. knn 1.

really stink? if stink, dont use lah!

chao sotong!

Carova.
03-01-2009, 09:13 PM
singnet user for yrs. bo taiji........ yay

albertchng
03-01-2009, 09:19 PM
i also using since singtel magix era... so far i am happy.

dont freaking understand some sotongs can blur until cannot tell the different between line dc, wireless dc & game server dc.

Francis85
03-01-2009, 09:32 PM
Singnet user for years liao....... no problems here also....... Unless is their side problems.......

stalker878
03-01-2009, 09:55 PM
I am kinda of familar with the singnet settings after meddling enough with the modem to solve the disconnecting issue..

finally solved it.. in the end i decided to set my adsl modulation to adsl instead of adsl2 or 2+, then no more disconnections/out of sync liao.. apparently i don't need adsl2/2+ since my connection is only 3mbps..

PS. if you need any of the settings pls PM me yah..

supergmail
05-01-2009, 09:54 PM
i am using shiro modem cum router, change to adsl setting instead of adsl2/2+ and i cannot even connect to the dsl side.

however when i connect the modem to a microfilter instead of directly to the socket, i am able to connect to the dsl side for about 30min but still get disconnected in the end.

can anyone explanied why?

chunlianghere
05-01-2009, 11:02 PM
i am using shiro modem cum router, change to adsl setting instead of adsl2/2+ and i cannot even connect to the dsl side.

however when i connect the modem to a microfilter instead of directly to the socket, i am able to connect to the dsl side for about 30min but still get disconnected in the end.

can anyone explanied why?
yr microfilter is single type or splitter type?

mayb the line abit happy wit "feeding" it wit microfilter, tats y can let u use 30mins..:s13::s13::s13:

albertchng
06-01-2009, 06:47 AM
yr microfilter is single type or splitter type?

mayb the line abit happy wit "feeding" it wit microfilter, tats y can let u use 30mins..:s13::s13::s13:

bro i like your answer!

supergmail
06-01-2009, 11:46 AM
single type. dun joke me lar. lol

chunlianghere
06-01-2009, 01:08 PM
mayb is becos the line inside contains too much noise. so this filter somehow removes abit, thus u can connect awhile.

stalker878
07-01-2009, 11:32 AM
cannot be as bad as mine.. line attenuation is at 30 for me leh..
after changing it back to adsl settings, then i can get better SNR margin.. not it will always dsl out of sync after every new minutes..

btw i thought dsl filter is to filter interference from the phone? thought its:

phone port -> dsl filter -> phone
while modem should be phone port -> modem

unless its a 2 port filter..

Humster
07-01-2009, 12:01 PM
(>....>

Uh... Pacnet ppl complain, Starhub ppl complain, Singnet ppl complain, hell, some one from M1 also complain about either the

1) Lag

2) Unable to connect to sites

3) Disonnections

Somehow are these related?

Since, in the end of the day, all get their BW from the same source?

chunlianghere
07-01-2009, 01:32 PM
cannot be as bad as mine.. line attenuation is at 30 for me leh..
after changing it back to adsl settings, then i can get better SNR margin.. not it will always dsl out of sync after every new minutes..

btw i thought dsl filter is to filter interference from the phone? thought its:

phone port -> dsl filter -> phone
while modem should be phone port -> modem

unless its a 2 port filter..

adsl2+ up to 24Mbps
adsl(G.DMT) up to 12Mbps

so its up to u if u wan to make the setting to be adsl or adsl2+. note tat normal adsl is up to 8Mbps, only adsl(G.DMT) is to 12Mbps. thus adsl2+ require a better quality line than adsl.

since singnet wan 8Mbps user to use adsl2+, jus use lor..unless u hav no money to change your hse phone line.

but one thing y 8Mbps use adsl2+ is i tink becos of mioTV? tink it is..

yup..microfilter is to use for hse phone. modem no need to use microfilter. y supergmail use is jus to play wit it..:s13:

(>....>

Uh... Pacnet ppl complain, Starhub ppl complain, Singnet ppl complain, hell, some one from M1 also complain about either the

1) Lag

2) Unable to connect to sites

3) Disonnections

Somehow are these related?

Since, in the end of the day, all get their BW from the same source?

i knw singtel hav mulitple route to many countries. this also make me wonder if starhub n m1 use the same or different?