XxDrAg0nxX
24-03-2007, 07:48 PM
Hi guys,

I am looking to get a gaming mouse pad, and have narrowed it down to these two:

1) Everglide Titan
http://www.gamesreviewer.co.uk/hardware/getReviewImage.aspx?HID=6&IO=1

2) Razer Exactmat
http://www.techimo.com/images/img2/articles/exactmat.jpg

As I have no experience with these stuff, please advise which would be better.
No idea about the advantages of a cloth type pad, only know that it can roll?

If you have anything better in mind please let me know :)

ER
24-03-2007, 08:57 PM
Barracude. :)

Tchaikovsky_
24-03-2007, 09:16 PM
exact mat...
so far so good :)

XxDrAg0nxX
24-03-2007, 10:01 PM
I was told the baracuda coatings can wear off right?
Theres no online shop selling it anyway :p no time to go down...

noinimod
24-03-2007, 10:40 PM
pls. func
exactmat is garbage. the surface is not prime for moving your mouse smoothly cos of the aluminium.

version10
24-03-2007, 10:52 PM
baracuda juggernaut :D

XxDrAg0nxX
24-03-2007, 11:00 PM
noinimod: But i thought the exactmat is an alu sheet sandwitched between 2 layers of platic, whose both surfaces are of different textures?

version10: That jaggernaut is like a floor mat man :p

XxDrAg0nxX
25-03-2007, 01:47 AM
I just read a few more reviews on the exactmat, i am quite sure its textured plastics on both sides.

hanlsn
25-03-2007, 02:12 AM
Exact mat is anodized aluminium surface... it has been said many times if some asshole one to argue please take pen knife and scrap the anodized layer off...

FYI. I recommand X-Ray Thunder 8/9 and fUnc 1030 ( Both are IDENTICAL those in denial please get a life )

fUnc suffer from wear easily if not maintain properly unlike Aluminium pads like Exactmat , Glass mats like ICEMAT just wont suffer from wear and tear because of its hardness ( it is tampered class btw ) is not that fragile but it wont survive a fall from a average table top

Bracudda is what i call repoducing the same pad surface over with many different names the only one that is particularly eye catching the bx bauxite just like its Exactmat counter part is it made of anodized aluminium but it suffer alot because of the "grit" surface it uses it wears out ur mouse feet extremely fast due to it "extra" roughness when compared to it nearest counterpart the exactmat.

So what pad do i own?

Barrcuda BX_Bauxite
Barrcuda Frosted Edge
Icemat ( Before it broke it a freak accident )
X-ray Thunder 8
Razer Mantis Speed
Func 1030
Everglide titan

So how would i grade the pads

1. Xray/Func
2. Exactmat ( i still hate the sound it makes when u run ur mouse across it )
3. Mantis / Titan
4. Icemat ( Too expensive for the kind of performance it allows it didnt even support laser mices till later revisions just like the func 1030 , is one of those pads that is overrate because of its price ... like a Ipod photo **** for sound quality but pricing wise $.$ )
5. BX-Bauxite ( Not worth ur mouse feet wear )
6. Frosted Edge and Similar ( Essentially a piece of colored plastic file cover with grips that fall of unless treated with extreme care )

hanlsn
25-03-2007, 02:17 AM
Cloth pads tend to "sink" ur mouse feet in causing excessive grip but allow excellent control but once u get use to it is had to change around between Cloth and Plastic ... Because cloth pad usually causes users to increase their sens to compensate for "extra grip".

Cloth pads can be washed and they come quite cheap compared to their solid counterparts.

hanlsn
25-03-2007, 02:21 AM
noinimod: But i thought the exactmat is an alu sheet sandwitched between 2 layers of platic, whose both surfaces are of different textures?

version10: That jaggernaut is like a floor mat man :p
The reviews are done by retards thats all i can say... the surfaces are anodized on...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anodising

Y2Jacky
25-03-2007, 02:24 AM
Exactmat ( i still hate the sound it makes when u run ur mouse across it )

Brudder, where got sound one?

Razer eXactMat... Have been using it for 1 year now. Still no problems with it.

There's 2 surfaces, one smooth and the other rough for speed and control respectively.

Plus the wrist rest.... IMHO, BEST!!!

hanlsn
25-03-2007, 02:37 AM
How many pad have you tried? And can u ask dennis about his farking razer mouse why " mouse feet " all pre-scratched?

hanlsn
25-03-2007, 02:40 AM
BTW the wrist rest is not for everyone some people use mouse like frying noodles one how is the rest gonna help?

hwmook
25-03-2007, 05:14 AM
Brudder, where got sound one?

Razer eXactMat... Have been using it for 1 year now. Still no problems with it.

There's 2 surfaces, one smooth and the other rough for speed and control respectively.

Plus the wrist rest.... IMHO, BEST!!!

1. confirm got a bit of sound cos the surface is hard.

2. My exactmat already wear down until can see the aluminium already.

3. My first exactmat doesn't come with wrist rest. My second one came with it and the first thing i did was to remove it cos my brother and i both hate it, it prop up the hand too high for comfort, make the damn wrist tired.

willietan86
25-03-2007, 08:44 AM
BATTLE PAD PRO

radioshack
25-03-2007, 08:54 AM
func 1030 is good...the rough surface is just nice

Desaturated
25-03-2007, 09:36 AM
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v291/devil259/everglide_ricochet.jpg
yes old sch, but good :)

Raytrace
25-03-2007, 10:02 AM
been using my func1030 for a few years already. the centre has become shiny from use(worn down) but still works well(as far as i can tell).

thaddeus
25-03-2007, 10:24 AM
been using my func1030 for a few years already. the centre has become shiny from use(worn down) but still works well(as far as i can tell).
you're using the smooth surface right?
mine's like that too.

i swapped over to the rough surface, and it still looks as good as new over the years.

the way i maintain my mousepad is this.
1. wash under running water with soap.
2. let dry
3. apply guitar polish, and rub until dry.

after doing this, you will see that your mouse will slide across the surface with a slight push!

for those who say battlepad and barracuda lite,
pls try your hands on more expensive pads,
you will really feel the difference.
from experience, the battelpad likes to collect dust.
especially on the mouse feet.

SPEED
25-03-2007, 11:17 AM
i apply johnson lemon wax to my mousepad
so its damm smooth and not wear out hehe...

hanlsn
25-03-2007, 12:30 PM
U see the thing about "wood" wax is that it doesnt last long... I use my dads car wax and it last long it also prevents dust build up.

BattlePad and Barracuda like i said are all just File covers... ( U know those Big fat ring files the cover ) is the identical surface u touch you know already... SAME

Plastic pad wearing out is normal... U if want something that doesnt wear out got for ICEMAT (It last forever) or Cheap Cloth Mat ( When u think is screwed up just change it doesnt cost that much )

hanlsn
25-03-2007, 12:34 PM
The thing about that is no matter how much u polish it , it will nvr feel like new. Try a new Func1030 and ur worn out "polished" version u will find the polished version damn smooth and not the way the func was design to be. Personally people like us dun mind but Mouse pad maintenance when involving waxing and polishing increase "Speed" decreasing "Control"

A good run of water and soap with new and fresh smooth mouse feet keep ur pad healthy

PC_Dreamer
25-03-2007, 12:39 PM
I prefer juggernaut over exactmat. Exactmat wears off and eats up the feet too easily, imho.

thaddeus
25-03-2007, 12:41 PM
U see the thing about "wood" wax is that it doesnt last long... I use my dads car wax and it last long it also prevents dust build up.

BattlePad and Barracuda like i said are all just File covers... ( U know those Big fat ring files the cover ) is the identical surface u touch you know already... SAME

Plastic pad wearing out is normal... U if want something that doesnt wear out got for ICEMAT (It last forever) or Cheap Cloth Mat ( When u think is screwed up just change it doesnt cost that much )
yeah. wood "wax" isnt the best, but it's good.
i haven tried car wax yet though, so i cant say.

but yes, no matter how you polish, it will never be like new,
close to new, but not new.

thaddeus
25-03-2007, 12:43 PM
I prefer juggernaut over exactmat. Exactmat wears off and eats up the feet too easily, imho.
for me, razer products are more form than function.

there are better products out there for the price IMO.

skweam
25-03-2007, 12:49 PM
Exact mat is anodized aluminium surface... it has been said many times if some asshole one to argue please take pen knife and scrap the anodized layer off...

FYI. I recommand X-Ray Thunder 8/9 and fUnc 1030 ( Both are IDENTICAL those in denial please get a life )

fUnc suffer from wear easily if not maintain properly unlike Aluminium pads like Exactmat , Glass mats like ICEMAT just wont suffer from wear and tear because of its hardness ( it is tampered class btw ) is not that fragile but it wont survive a fall from a average table top

Bracudda is what i call repoducing the same pad surface over with many different names the only one that is particularly eye catching the bx bauxite just like its Exactmat counter part is it made of anodized aluminium but it suffer alot because of the "grit" surface it uses it wears out ur mouse feet extremely fast due to it "extra" roughness when compared to it nearest counterpart the exactmat.

So what pad do i own?

Barrcuda BX_Bauxite
Barrcuda Frosted Edge
Icemat ( Before it broke it a freak accident )
X-ray Thunder 8
Razer Mantis Speed
Func 1030
Everglide titan

So how would i grade the pads

1. Xray/Func
2. Exactmat ( i still hate the sound it makes when u run ur mouse across it )
3. Mantis / Titan
4. Icemat ( Too expensive for the kind of performance it allows it didnt even support laser mices till later revisions just like the func 1030 , is one of those pads that is overrate because of its price ... like a Ipod photo **** for sound quality but pricing wise $.$ )
5. BX-Bauxite ( Not worth ur mouse feet wear )
6. Frosted Edge and Similar ( Essentially a piece of colored plastic file cover with grips that fall of unless treated with extreme care )func1030 does not support lazer! NOOOOOOOOOOO even the roadie side? damndamndamn

hanlsn
25-03-2007, 01:08 PM
Func1030 Black pad has its limitations but the newer revisions have no problem

reddevil0728
25-03-2007, 01:17 PM
FUNC 1030 :)

thaddeus
25-03-2007, 01:19 PM
Func1030 Black pad has its limitations but the newer revisions have no problem
how do you know the revision of your func?

i'm using a black original func 1030 with my G5, and it works PERFECTLY fine.

Gaminator
25-03-2007, 01:58 PM
Having used Barracuda Bauxite, SteelPad S&S, Corepad......and even the Creative X-Fi freebie one :o, I can recommend the Steelpad and Corepad. Corepad's my first rubber/cloth combo and I like the feel of it. Seems to get on well with my Razer CH, same goes with the Steelpad S&S. :s7:

XxDrAg0nxX
25-03-2007, 02:07 PM
Wow, the stats now is Titan and Exactmat almost equal support + an extra contender Func :p

Btw, is there any online shops in Singapore selling the Func?
Been searching for 2 days no avail :(

hanlsn
25-03-2007, 02:35 PM
U can read the FAQ on the Func1030 black is on the website the tracking is screwed up @ low dpi for laser they even offered a refund or exchange to different base pad in the US IIRC

hanlsn
25-03-2007, 02:41 PM
Steelpad S&S has some what really "fragile" feel plastic is the kind of plastic that when up tap against it u hear a "TOK" sound. Meaning that the S&S pad uses harder than normal "mouse pad variety plastic" which is more hard wearing but the only complain i have on it is the grip of the pad is sound kind of rubber dots "sprayed" all over. after long use they tend to wear out.

S&S is a very light and portable pad and it is a must have for LanParty chiongster the surface is rougher than ur average func but this is definitely not a lesser pad in any sense

S&S spray on Grip picture below
http://www.tweaknews.net/reviews/steelss/img/7SpS&S8a.jpg

BTW i owned a S&S too it got ****ing stolen @ a lanshop -.-" , I have tried the Xtrac Pads too but now like no longer selling haha sad

http://www.tweaknews.net/reviews/steelss/img/10SpS&S009.jpg
(http://www.tweaknews.net/reviews/steelss/img/10SpS&S009.jpg)

XxDrAg0nxX
25-03-2007, 02:50 PM
Oh, and does anyone who use the Everglide titan have any comments to share?
Like does it accumulate dirt fast?
or the sides wearing out?
or warping when rolled,
or shrinking when washed?

Its under consideration cos it looks so squishy and comfortable :D

hanlsn
25-03-2007, 02:55 PM
"The 1030 Archetype has the same surfaces as the surface1030, namely one with the R value of 10 and another with the R value of 30. Since the surface is black there might be some compatibility issues with some laser mice."

is not actually revision la i put it wrongly laser mouse has issues with black mouse pad according to the old func1030 FAQ but it has been removed now...

For laser mouse they recommended other colors for optimal performance that is one of the reasons i didnt hop over to a G5. But IIRC the problems only occurred with lower DPI and laser owner with black pads were recommended to set a dpi of over 800 IIRC

hanlsn
25-03-2007, 02:56 PM
Oh, and does anyone who use the Everglide titan have any comments to share?
Like does it accumulate dirt fast?
or the sides wearing out?
or warping when rolled,
or shrinking when washed?

Its under consideration cos it looks so squishy and comfortable :D The squishyness adds grip because ur "mouse feet" sinks in ,it is a double edge sword

1. Dirt just wash with cold water and some soap
2. DUHZ ...
3. It is meant to be rolled
4. No...

xboxer
25-03-2007, 02:58 PM
Just get any of the Func models can liao. It is really quite good.

Don't get Razer exactmat. It sucks. Even the cloth one(Dun kn wat you call that) also not worth it since it is an everglide OEM and it is much cheaper.

skweam
25-03-2007, 03:03 PM
Wow, the stats now is Titan and Exactmat almost equal support + an extra contender Func :p

Btw, is there any online shops in Singapore selling the Func?
Been searching for 2 days no avail :(func is never a contender, its a champ :D

hansln: mine is archetype, still using mx310 and its perfect ah....archetype is ok rite wid laser? wad problems u face?

thaddeus: HEY, gonna give my func a bath AHAHAHH thanks to u. heh. my metal casing dented sia ):

hanlsn
25-03-2007, 03:09 PM
The most common misunderstanding for pads is that smooth side is faster is seldom the case rough side give less surface area between feet and pad therefore is faster ( however varies pad to pad like barracuda the rough side is sand paper )

IMO for fUnc surface 1030... Speed = Rough , Control ( actually Balanced ) = Smooth

hanlsn
25-03-2007, 03:11 PM
func is never a contender, its a champ :D

hansln: mine is archetype, still using mx310 and its perfect ah....archetype is ok rite wid laser? wad problems u face?

thaddeus: HEY, gonna give my func a bath AHAHAHH thanks to u. heh. my metal casing dented sia ):
I tried laser mouse on black pad before i didn't really feel any in precision @ all honestly but i saw alot of bad feedback from MX1000 users on Func black and Func industries themselves recognized the problem i guess the new laser mice dun have problem?

xboxer
25-03-2007, 03:14 PM
I recommend rough side for precision shooting games. If use smooth side, acceleration is fast but braking power is not very good. So it means can overshoot target if you can't brake on time....

XxDrAg0nxX
25-03-2007, 03:28 PM
I thought Laser mice are the ones that can get higher DPI and be used on more surfaces as compared to optical?

How come some of you are saying that lasers are the ones having problems on the black surfaces?

Y2Jacky
25-03-2007, 03:35 PM
1. confirm got a bit of sound cos the surface is hard.

2. My exactmat already wear down until can see the aluminium already.

3. My first exactmat doesn't come with wrist rest. My second one came with it and the first thing i did was to remove it cos my brother and i both hate it, it prop up the hand too high for comfort, make the damn wrist tired.

Well, let's just say we have our own opinions. I having no problems with eXactmat at all and it hasn't deterioriated at all since the day i bought it.

thaddeus
25-03-2007, 04:09 PM
i've experienced no tracing problems whatsoever on my black pad eh.
i use a 2000dpi mode.

maybe i've gotten used to it.

the thing about func is that,
they specialise in gaming mats only,
unlike many companies which try to do this and that.
though it is more popular than thunderpad, it is still less heard of than razer for example.
so IMO, this is the brand to buy.

thaddeus
25-03-2007, 04:13 PM
func is never a contender, its a champ :D

mx310 isnt a laser mouse what.

haha. all the best. enjoy your "revived" func after that.

thaddeus
25-03-2007, 04:15 PM
"The 1030 Archetype has the same surfaces as the surface1030, namely one with the R value of 10 and another with the R value of 30. Since the surface is black there might be some compatibility issues with some laser mice."

is not actually revision la i put it wrongly laser mouse has issues with black mouse pad according to the old func1030 FAQ but it has been removed now...

For laser mouse they recommended other colors for optimal performance that is one of the reasons i didnt hop over to a G5. But IIRC the problems only occurred with lower DPI and laser owner with black pads were recommended to set a dpi of over 800 IIRC
by saying this, means that your mousepad shouldnt be coloured at all should it.
meaning more than one colour.

since there is a tracking difference between the other colours and black,
shouldnt there be a problem with a transition of the laser from colour to colour???

Steven00
25-03-2007, 04:31 PM
Looks like it between board and cloth.
Each its own, but i prefer cloth it can be rolled up and carried around.
I also like the way the mat stick to the table or uneven surface, example. Bench.
It gives a comfortable feeling to the palm and provide some cushioning.

Regards,
Steven

hanlsn
25-03-2007, 04:58 PM
Nither have i experience problems before with the G5 but the moaners were MX1000 owners not G5, i guess the problem was both ways sensor and pad Func admitted the problem but i dun feel it @ all ( but i haven actually tested it with a MX1000 so i cant comment much )

There are alot of gaming mat brands

Steelpad
Icemat
Xtrac
Func
Everglide
Xray pad

All of them offer grade gaming grade pads but the only 2 outstanding ones for me is the fUnc 1030 and X Ray Thunder 8/9

Xray can be pruchased from CRC and Func1030 from most SLS and funan gaming peripheral retailers , barracuda is a local company and well its cheap file covers with rubber grips but calling it gaming grade is madness ( excluding the BX bauxite which happens to be rather good and underrated compared to its other counterparts like baracudda lite and frosted edge )

hanlsn
25-03-2007, 05:03 PM
If u wanna get cloth mouse pads the only leading brand in the world is Xtrac , they were the pioneers and i bought one from the OLD cathay cineleisure lanshop retailer outlet but now no more i have no idea where to buy anymore which is quite sad ... they are a class above the rest they had the comfort of cloth pads and the performance and usability of a solid plastic pad.

Best of both worlds

http://www.xtracpads.com/hybrid.htm

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&DEPA=0&Description=xtrac&x=0&y=0

XxDrAg0nxX
25-03-2007, 10:18 PM
I just took a look at the Brracuda Juggernaut one of you guys mentioned.

Holy **** its huge!

Looks pratical though, cos the squishy part is now extended to the keyboard left hand.

Anyone with experience with this one?

Kingurii
25-03-2007, 10:30 PM
Bought razer eXactmat + pro v1.6 at $56 bucks during IT show ... so far so good

Dun no abt other brands :P

XxDrAg0nxX
26-03-2007, 04:21 AM
wow that was a good deal.

hanlsn
26-03-2007, 08:17 AM
I just took a look at the Brracuda Juggernaut one of you guys mentioned.

Holy **** its huge!

Looks pratical though, cos the squishy part is now extended to the keyboard left hand.

Anyone with experience with this one?
Is a floor mat...

hanlsn
26-03-2007, 08:19 AM
I getting another Mantis speed today with my CNC3 kane edition ( PreLaunch edition ) @ lido .... CHIONG arrrr CNC3

et3rnity84
26-03-2007, 09:09 AM
steelpad 5L series! but its a lil steep in price =D

XxDrAg0nxX
26-03-2007, 12:18 PM
But this floor mat looks interesting le, seems like the newest revision has a stiching around the edge?

speedknight
26-03-2007, 12:50 PM
actually is using the sdame as everglide titian razer mantis control its about the same one ^^ simliar mouse pad by everglide branded under razer..
iirc everglide is razer subsidary

XxDrAg0nxX
26-03-2007, 04:48 PM
Wow, learnt something new. Never knew everglide belonged to razer...

How about the stuff on the Baracuda Juggernaut? From what I understand its in house developed by Barracuda?

What I worry about the cloth type is the sides wearing out, but it seems the barracuda juggernaut has stitching around the sides?

et3rnity84
26-03-2007, 05:04 PM
ji tao no 1 cared bout my suggested mousepad LOL =X

noinimod
26-03-2007, 05:57 PM
just get yourself a func, tried and tested.
to all the people who says exactmat is so good, please name other mousepads you have used (func or any worthy competitor), or else there is no real comparison made.

i came from using a func1030 (old sch), and then an exactmat. worse purchase of my life, read multiple reviews and even got positive feedback from HWZ so i went ahead.. used it for 2 odd weeks, found the surface really rough, thought it was my feet with the problem. changed my feet and still the same old crap.

bought a func archetype, and it was pure heaven

XxDrAg0nxX
26-03-2007, 06:27 PM
ji tao no 1 cared bout my suggested mousepad LOL =X
Probably cos it quite uncommon, not very popular?

Its rather expensive though :p

et3rnity84
26-03-2007, 07:00 PM
yea =D special ma lol

XxDrAg0nxX
26-03-2007, 07:40 PM
it is?

It doesnt really look that special... looks like one of those free ones they give away.
Espically with that ugly looking logo at the corner :D

Btw, no one with experience with the Barracuda Juggernaut?

hanlsn
26-03-2007, 07:45 PM
just get yourself a func, tried and tested.
to all the people who says exactmat is so good, please name other mousepads you have used (func or any worthy competitor), or else there is no real comparison made.

i came from using a func1030 (old sch), and then an exactmat. worse purchase of my life, read multiple reviews and even got positive feedback from HWZ so i went ahead.. used it for 2 odd weeks, found the surface really rough, thought it was my feet with the problem. changed my feet and still the same old crap.

bought a func archetype, and it was pure heaven
VERY BIAS VIEW... considering the fact the the pads are made of different materials IMHO i think exact mat is the best Aluminium pad currently in the market...

wiShfulStone
26-03-2007, 08:14 PM
My exactmat after one year already worn out(surface on the speed side almost totally smooth. Control side becoming like speed side..

et3rnity84
26-03-2007, 09:05 PM
it is?

It doesnt really look that special... looks like one of those free ones they give away.
Espically with that ugly looking logo at the corner :D

Btw, no one with experience with the Barracuda Juggernaut?

wow u ji tao flame my mousepad.. mei li mao. nvm :)

hanlsn
26-03-2007, 09:19 PM
trust me anodize aluminium will surely outlast ur func soft plastic pad ... FUNC is not even hard plastic like S&S ... i dunno why people become KuKu after encountering func... trust me is not the most durable pad... surely not as durable as the exactmat for arguement sake...

hanlsn
26-03-2007, 09:20 PM
"FYI" the hard part of the func is the center piece between the two surfaces just in case some nutter want to dispute the facts

XxDrAg0nxX
26-03-2007, 11:28 PM
trust me anodize aluminium will surely outlast ur func soft plastic pad ... FUNC is not even hard plastic like S&S ... i dunno why people become KuKu after encountering func... trust me is not the most durable pad... surely not as durable as the exactmat for arguement sake...
I believe what most of them are trying to say is that the func's surface feels better as compared to the exactmat, not which is more durable.

noinimod
26-03-2007, 11:54 PM
LOL. dragon speaks the truth.

who gives a **** which mat lasts longer if it doesnt FEEL BETTER WHEN YOU USE IT.
hanlsn, you need to learn to read, i've never said func was durable.

XxDrAg0nxX
27-03-2007, 01:04 AM
but as far as i know, adonizing got many classes too, class 1, 2, 3 etc, where class 3 is the hardest "hard adonized" HA. and the process actually opens pores in the metal for the colour to seep in?

Thus my logic is, IF the surface is actually scraping off, it probably means the alu used is quite pure, not hardened what so ever, thus its so soft that it actually scrapes off the surface when soft plastic from the mouse feet brushes against it?

Actually I dont see how u guys actually scrape the surface till so jia lat.
Do you actually press down on the mouse so hard while dragging it across?
or do u lift it up and bang down the mouse everytime you do a 360 degree turn?

Sever
27-03-2007, 01:12 AM
http://www.techfreaks.org/media/everglide/giganta.JPG

imho, everglide giganta...

the best for control and long lasting...

using it for the past 4 yrs.... lol...

to bad cant find it anymore...

still looking for another one...

regards...

Dj_SkyE
27-03-2007, 01:30 AM
barracuda.........

skweam
27-03-2007, 01:50 AM
mx310 isnt a laser mouse what.

haha. all the best. enjoy your "revived" func after that.yeah i noe lah mx310 is optical hhaa. but thinking of moving to LAZER YEAH YEAH. btw, wad soap should i use? dettol? or smelly no more? or johnson baby bath? xD ahhahahha

radioshack
27-03-2007, 09:05 AM
just get a func 1030...u may not get used to the rough side @ first, but after sometime, u will feel the surface texture is just right like cloth woven.

I got a exactmat before i got my func 1030..and didn't really like it. The rough side was way too rough

hanlsn
27-03-2007, 09:28 AM
Two school of thoughts...

Razer = hard , durable and roughness for control ( the hardness and roughness actually add Feet killing friction and noise as u move ur mouse which is one of the reason why i dislike the the exactmat but some people are blatantly saying how inferior the exactmat is... to the func i think those people are plain bias )

Func = Soft , not as durable and roughness not for control but for reduced surface area between pad and feet therefore is speed

As i have said the Exactmat and BX-Bauxite are the only aluminium pad in singapore that have high popularity and take up rate and IMHO Exactmat is the better aluminium pad by far...

For arguement sake like i have said before and am saying again i believe that X-ray thunder 8/9 and Func1030 is still the best out there but exactmat is not that far off...

The entire surfaces are too different to be compared directly i have all of um and i know... And no two surfaces are alike among all the different brands so get what u like best

htkm1
27-03-2007, 12:35 PM
Agree with hanlsn on the two type of mouse pads. Prefer Func. I also like the SteelPad 5L, a hybrid of cloth and plastic.

et3rnity84
27-03-2007, 12:39 PM
finally my mousepad has a supporter.... that dragon still flame my pad..

QingZi
27-03-2007, 01:57 PM
http://www.techfreaks.org/media/everglide/giganta.JPG

imho, everglide giganta...

the best for control and long lasting...

using it for the past 4 yrs.... lol...

to bad cant find it anymore...

still looking for another one...

regards...
tis is used as a cup holder to prevent the water frm spilling onto my computer table

QingZi
27-03-2007, 02:00 PM
i would suggest func but its too small for my liking. it depends on if u r a high sensitivity user or a low sensitivty user. i myself using razer copperhead and mantis. it works perfectly (well mantis is designed for copperhead anyway). the surface is slightly rougher but my high sensi copperhead made up for it. i used it extremely often and so far it has not shown a slightlest bit of wearing out. but i do not recommend mantis if u r not using razer products. get the steelpad s&s. its gd

Sever
27-03-2007, 03:34 PM
tis is used as a cup holder to prevent the water frm spilling onto my computer table

you must have a very large cup....
lol....

XxDrAg0nxX
27-03-2007, 08:44 PM
Wouldnt the cup slide here and there?

skweam
30-03-2007, 12:02 AM
at the end of the day, for gamers : 10% hardware - 90% skill :D

lyk13
31-03-2007, 10:24 AM
Are there still any mousepads with the dimensions similar to the old Icemat? I've been using an icemat with a battle pad pro on top of it for years, probably due to optical not seemingly doing well on Icemat. I just bought a G5, thought I could use the icemat but same issue happened. Wanted to get new gaming mousepads but currently, the pads are super huge...I dun have that much space lehz...=(

eslayer1990
31-03-2007, 10:42 AM
woo im using mantis very biggg and very shiok ar..

fengzhi
31-03-2007, 12:28 PM
nw still selling the barracuda juggernaut? i like cos can cover my ugly table which is full of marker stains n scratches

Steven00
31-03-2007, 12:47 PM
http://i169.photobucket.com/albums/u211/Steven00_photos/P1020639.jpg

http://i169.photobucket.com/albums/u211/Steven00_photos/P1020641.jpg

http://i169.photobucket.com/albums/u211/Steven00_photos/P1020643.jpg

Introducing The MiniMat Edition, it is a new cut down size of the trademark Fibertek™ MonsterMats, suitable for users that require a high quality gaming pad but have a restricted desktop space.

The package is about A4 Size Paper, so can roughly picture how big is the mini mat.

SRP - $13.90
Availablilty - Coming Soon to Stores in SLS

XxDrAg0nxX
31-03-2007, 01:21 PM
Wah Piang, u buy icemat as a base? Got a lot of money to throw hor?

Y dont u just get a piece of glass and put on the table? it will be a fraction of the cost.

Hell you could probably cover your whole table.

lyk13
31-03-2007, 03:33 PM
Wah Piang, u buy icemat as a base? Got a lot of money to throw hor?

Y dont u just get a piece of glass and put on the table? it will be a fraction of the cost.

Hell you could probably cover your whole table.
Eh, I bought the icemat THEN realise it can't work with my mouse like 5 years ago...or even 6 years. Then being lazy and stuck with school, can't be bothered lor. Anyway, my icemat is the ultra old version...not even with the big i thing.

Steven: Thanks!

XxDrAg0nxX
31-03-2007, 03:42 PM
LOL, get the juggernaut, I finally went with that. both wrists are quite happy now :)

as long as your table is at least 90cm, you can use it already.

hanlsn
29-04-2007, 04:54 PM
Interesting.... i have seen people cutting it into 3 ... and use as 3 pads... Save money -.-"

playst
29-04-2007, 04:56 PM
There are some more mouse pad below which you can take a look. =:p

http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1568319

XxDrAg0nxX
29-04-2007, 07:45 PM
Interesting.... i have seen people cutting it into 3 ... and use as 3 pads... Save money -.-"
Hwa lan, so cheapskate ah... :D

anyway the one I got was the new version, the sides were sewn together with thread to prevent peeling i believe.

and thats provided they have 3 mice :p

Aloof_guy
29-04-2007, 09:10 PM
barracuda coating wears out SO EASILY.. worst gampad ever.

thaddeus
29-04-2007, 09:47 PM
There are some more mouse pad below which you can take a look. =:p

shameless fool. :s8:

darkmatt
29-04-2007, 09:57 PM
SUPPORT RAZER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

erad1cate
30-04-2007, 01:56 AM
STEELPAD 5L MAN! WOOT! :s22:

arch1984
30-04-2007, 08:42 AM
Anyway it is really personal which one u like ba. Using exact mat now. Used to it le. Quite satisfied with it. Maybe coz i nv tried others ba. However do note that the mouse feet wears easily. Need to replace once in a while.

Bieffe
26-01-2008, 01:45 AM
http://www.virtual-hideout.net/articles/performance_mousepad_roundup/print.htm
Good mouse pad also means it wear the mouse legs super fast...my baracuda lite eats the shoes alive!