PDA

View Full Version : $20 Cloning Tools (USB 2.0 to SATA/IDE)

Diavonex
27-04-2007, 03:31 PM
Bought this from Chamoxa (Funan)

http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/4209/dsc07067os8.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img242.imageshack.us/img242/2425/dsc07075ru0.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

cnt
27-04-2007, 03:35 PM
how it works? :s42:

zcampbell
27-04-2007, 03:41 PM
The built quality is what u pay for.

twist_shout
27-04-2007, 03:42 PM
hmmm it looks more a a normal ide to usb adapter to me.for connecting HDD and Optical drives for external use.

Diavonex
27-04-2007, 03:44 PM
Connect your hard disk (without casing) to the 3-in-One head and run you cloning software.

You can connect it to 2.5" IDE, 3.5" IDE and SATA hard disk.

http://img176.imageshack.us/img176/9914/dsc07080de8.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Diavonex
27-04-2007, 03:50 PM
hmmm it looks more a a normal ide to usb adapter to me.for connecting HDD and Optical drives for external use.

Yes, you can also connect a CD/DVD-ROM to it.

Diavonex
27-04-2007, 03:52 PM
The built quality is what u pay for.

You'll be surprise, the quality is pretty good.

cnt
27-04-2007, 03:59 PM
do they hv internal ver? for connecting ide hdd to sata port? :s42:

ginseng1
27-04-2007, 04:02 PM
Hmm price still remain at $20. Same as late last year when I came across this device.

I bought the IDE version instead at $10 as I didn't have any SATA device back then.

This is very useful and convenient especially when you are helping friends / relatives to retrieve their data from their HDD.

MacClipper
27-04-2007, 04:04 PM
The power adapter is already worth $20.
can you see and post the bridge chipset too?

I tested one from their SLS branch here,
http://forums.vr-zone.com/showthread.php?t=143880

11qwerty
27-04-2007, 04:20 PM
Bought this from Chamoxa (Funan)

http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/4209/dsc07067os8.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

i also saw it>>last week but at funan
can let us know i works well or not

thanks

if good maybe getting one>toooo

Diavonex
27-04-2007, 04:52 PM
Hmm price still remain at $20. Same as late last year when I came across this device.

I bought the IDE version instead at $10 as I didn't have any SATA device back then.

This is very useful and convenient especially when you are helping friends / relatives to retrieve their data from their HDD.

The IDE version is still selling for $10.

The power supply is worth more than $10.

Diavonex
27-04-2007, 04:56 PM
can you see and post the bridge chipset too?....

The stupid sticker is covering the chipset; I'm also very keen to know what chipset they are using. From the shape and size, it looks like a Genesys.

Will have to break the casing to remove the sticker; will probably do it later.

Diavonex
27-04-2007, 05:06 PM
It's actually a milti-purpose device:

For cloning, backup, recover crashed hard drives and connecting to CD/DVD-ROM.

MacClipper
27-04-2007, 06:04 PM
The stupid sticker is covering the chipset; I'm also very keen to know what chipset they are using. From the shape and size, it looks like a Genesys.

Will have to break the casing to remove the sticker; will probably do it later.

Yup, to eyeball the chipset, have to do that most of the time. Pls post the bridge model no. too.

If you can, kindly try a 16x DVD burn using Nero CDSpeed to see how capable this adapter is, thx.

11qwerty
27-04-2007, 06:05 PM
ok>>>see sls got or not>>>maybe getting one
there

MacClipper
27-04-2007, 06:07 PM
erm btw, no need to 'break' the casing, just carefully undoing the plastic clasps with a flat jeweller's screwdriver or penknife will do.

Diavonex
27-04-2007, 07:11 PM
Base on the vendor ID, and product ID, it's a JMicron

http://img170.imageshack.us/img170/4769/20070427190645jc1.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img145.imageshack.us/img145/364/20070427191444ch0.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

MacClipper
27-04-2007, 07:32 PM
JMicron also has a few models/revisions, just open it and eyeball it lah.

wait a minute, your 2nd pic just loaded - seems to be even newer JM20338 chipset!

maxhurt
27-04-2007, 07:34 PM
wah..another alternative to big drive enclosures. Might just be getting this instead..quick and handy tool. Do they have firewire version also?

MacClipper
27-04-2007, 07:39 PM
http://www.jmicron.com/JM20337.html
JM20337
Hi-Speed USB to SATA & PATA Combo Bridge

product brief

Overview
The JM20337 is single chip solution to bridge between USB 2.0, SATA and ATA/ATAPI-based mass storage device. It provides the capability to translate USB 2.0 mass storage commands to serial ATA and ATA/ATAPI communication protocol. The USB adheres to the Mass Storage Class Bulk-Only Transport Specification, and supports dual LUN operation, which could connect to two ATA/ATAPI devices or one ATA/ATAPI device associated with one SATA device. The embedded command parser supports both ATA and ATAPI command set with LBA48 bit addressing capability.

Feature
Compliance
• Compliance with Gen1i, and Gen1m of Serial ATA II Electrical Specification 1.0
• Compliance with USB 2.0 (Hi-Speed) electrical specification
• Compliance with USB Mass Storage Class Bulk-Only Transport Specification

Overall
• Support SATA spread-spectrum transmitter
• Support SATA II Asynchronous Signal Recovery (Hot Plug) feature
• Support 480Mbps High Speed (HS) and 12Mbps Full Speed USB operation
• Support ATA/ATAPI Ultra DMA Mode
• Support ATA/ATAPI PACKET command feature set
• Support ATA/ATAPI LBA48 bit addressing mode
• Support dual LUN (Logic Unit Number) with automatically master/slave enumeration
• Support 12MHz external crystal
• Single-power 3.3V power supply
• 0.18um CMOS technology and 64-pin LQFP ASSP package

Software
• Support operation system :
• Microsoft Windows 98
• Microsoft Windows ME, 2000, XP, 2003, Media Center, and later
• Mac OS 9.22 and above

http://www.jmicron.com/JM20338.html
JM20338
Hi-Speed USB & SATA Combo to PATA Bridge

product brief

Overview
The JM20338 is single chip solution to bridge between USB 2.0, SATA and ATA/ATAPI-based mass storage device. It provides the capability to translate USB 2.0 mass storage and SATA protocols to ATA/ATAPI commands. The USB adheres to the Mass Storage Class Bulk-Only Transport Specification, and supports dual LUN operation. The embedded command parser supports both ATA and ATAPI command set with LBA48 bit addressing capability.

Feature
Compliance
• Serial ATA 1.0 Specification compliant

Overall
• Automatic Serial ATA 3.0/1.5 Gbps speed negotiation
• ATA/ATAPI PIO mode 0 to 4
• ATA/ATAPI Ultra DMA of transfer rate 16.7, 25, 33, 48, 66, 100, 133, and 150MB/s.
• ATA/ATAPI LBA48 addressing mode associated with 2-byte sector count
• Support Serial ATA hot-plug
• Ultra low power consumption
• Work for both AC and DC couple between the transmitter and the receiver
• Provide specified OOB signal detection and transmission
• Support Spread Spectrum Clocking to reduce EMI
• Support 20MHz, 25MHz, 30MHz or 40MHz Reference Clock
• Support Partial/Slumber power management
• Provide adjustable TX signal amplitude and pre-emphasis level
• Master/Slave support

Software
• Support operation system :
• Microsoft Windows 98
• Microsoft Windows ME, 2000, XP, 2003, Media Center, and later
• Mac OS 9.22 and above

Diavonex
27-04-2007, 08:13 PM
MacClipper,

You beat me to it; useful info.

PornStar
27-04-2007, 08:50 PM
Best $20 I've spent in a really long time. :D

MacClipper
27-04-2007, 08:52 PM
Come on guys, do a 16x dvd burn and see how capable this new chipset is leh.

cscs3
27-04-2007, 08:55 PM
You'll be surprise, the quality is pretty good.

Yes, is very good.

Diavonex
27-04-2007, 09:11 PM
Good power adapter too 12V/5V DC 2A

http://img142.imageshack.us/img142/6780/dsc07066uu8.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

alvin316
27-04-2007, 09:35 PM
How does the crashed hdd recovery function works? Need software or just this product will do?

Diavonex
27-04-2007, 09:38 PM
How does the crashed hdd recovery function works? Need software or just this product will do?

You need recovery software.

alvin316
27-04-2007, 10:06 PM
ic thnx for the info good buy none the less.

ckling
27-04-2007, 10:22 PM
sim lim chamoxa have or not?

Diavonex
27-04-2007, 10:34 PM
You can call Chamoxa (SLS)

Tel: 6339 7002

It's call USB 2.0 to SATA/IDE Device.

Metaphysics
27-04-2007, 10:38 PM
LOUSY!

mine got ESATA and USB connection to the computer

this one only usb!

Diavonex
27-04-2007, 10:42 PM
LOUSY!

this one only usb!

$20 also????

Metaphysics
27-04-2007, 10:46 PM
ok......

but still lousy
this product has been out there for sooooooooo long liao

they should change it to another model with usb and ESATA and maybe sell it at $25

Sp1der
27-04-2007, 10:51 PM
LOUSY!

this one only usb!

post a pic :s7:

Metaphysics
27-04-2007, 11:55 PM
the SLS 5th floor has it
forgot the shop name

it's 40 bucks!!!!!

do not get fool by it
it has IDE input connectors only for USB

if you use SATA HDD or DVD both the USB and ESATA works

trigoz
28-04-2007, 02:20 AM
the SLS 5th floor has it
forgot the shop name

it's 40 bucks!!!!!

do not get fool by it
it has IDE input connectors only for USB

if you use SATA HDD or DVD both the USB and ESATA works

BizGram also has similar tools too but selling at $30. Guess wat they charge me 5% GST although it was advertised only $30. :s27:

http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/img/data/priceguide/pgnews/2007/2002/File/bizgram1bb.jpg

Diavonex
28-04-2007, 09:49 AM
Challenger is also selling $30.

lxXXxl
28-04-2007, 11:49 AM
bought the JM20337 version at chamoxa SLS, paid $22 for it, ****ty.....

junkai21
28-04-2007, 12:06 PM
my experience with these converters are when u are using 3.5" HDD. Sometimes the power unit supply not enough power for the HDD. Resulting the harddisk couldn't start/ taktak sound.

MacClipper
28-04-2007, 12:08 PM
my experience with these converters are when u are using 3.5" HDD. Sometimes the power unit supply not enough power for the HDD. Resulting the harddisk couldn't start/ taktak sound.
That's true, hey Diavonex what's the rating for the bundled power adapter?

The CMX SLS JM20337version is rated at 2A for both 5V and 12V lines.

Diavonex
28-04-2007, 12:21 PM
Same 5V and 12V 2A

http://img256.imageshack.us/img256/5894/dsc07084gd2.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Diavonex
28-04-2007, 04:04 PM
Did a backup from laptop to 3.5" drive using the adapter supplied.

Power supply feels okay.

http://img82.imageshack.us/img82/1265/dsc07092lo4.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

quekky
28-04-2007, 04:35 PM
i had 2 of the older ide-to-usb (no sata) converter from chamoxa funan last time. both power supply died after a few months, but the converter still works

going to get this next week (for sata), hope it doesnt fail on me again

MacClipper
28-04-2007, 04:58 PM
wah quekky, u so poor thing, I had one which lasted well more than a year - was still working nicely but just swapped it for something else with another forummer recently.

Sen
28-04-2007, 10:43 PM
Same here, crashed & burned. I dun trust the build.

i had 2 of the older ide-to-usb (no sata) converter from chamoxa funan last time. both power supply died after a few months, but the converter still works

going to get this next week (for sata), hope it doesnt fail on me again

MacClipper
28-04-2007, 10:50 PM
Same here, crashed & burned. I dun trust the build.
Hey Sen and quekky, how about posting the brand/model of those lousy KIA adapters so we can all siam them?

Sen
28-04-2007, 10:56 PM
Already thrown away liao, Mac. The build is really lousy one.

MacClipper
28-04-2007, 11:18 PM
OK np, guess u see also sianz.

Hmm, forgot to ask how the long the wty is for such items.

universe
28-04-2007, 11:22 PM
BizGram also has similar tools too but selling at $30. Guess wat they charge me 5% GST although it was advertised only $30. :s27:

http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/img/data/priceguide/pgnews/2007/2002/File/bizgram1bb.jpg
u first time buying things in singapore???
most places advertised without GST, besides, it's stated in the advertisement that local GST tax applicable

devilcup
28-04-2007, 11:46 PM
good device for repair pc :)

junkai21
29-04-2007, 01:16 AM
P/S. Just checked my 3 year old PSU that came with the converter i bought. It's a IDE to USB only. It's rated 1.5A. So i guess yours is better because yours is a 2A

quekky
29-04-2007, 10:54 AM
Hey Sen and quekky, how about posting the brand/model of those lousy KIA adapters so we can all siam them?
http://s12.photobucket.com/albums/a220/quekky/Test%20Shots/ide-usb%20power%20supply/

fuse is blown, 250V 3A

the last pic was not in the package. It's a normal psu and i use it to power the hdd/dvdrw since it does not need a mobo to power up(the green cable is already connected internally)

Diavonex
29-04-2007, 11:07 AM
OK np, guess u see also sianz.

Hmm, forgot to ask how the long the wty is for such items.

The lady at Chamoxa told me 7 days one-to-one; after 7 days you can throw it away.

You can't expect too much for $20.

Diavonex
29-04-2007, 11:16 AM
most places advertised without GST, besides, it's stated in the advertisement that local GST tax applicable

Not true, most places advertise without charging GST.

Sambuca78
29-04-2007, 11:32 AM
Already thrown away liao, Mac. The build is really lousy one.

Ya... actually i been using this USB to IDE since its first started (IIRC, ard mid 2004). The power supply is really lousy, burnt a few liao...

Please take note, for cloning (Norton Ghost) in dos not all convertors are able to work.

Like i mentioned in the other thread, it all depend on the combination of Convertor Chipset, Dos Driver and USB Chipset in the MB. :)

Diavonex
29-04-2007, 11:50 AM
I've tested a 2.5" and 3.5" IDE drive with Acronis; it works.

I think the new chipset is better.

SNAG
29-04-2007, 05:19 PM
I've got one from Chamoxa Funan today, and they still got quite a few left (ard 20+ pieces).

Now to figure out what to do with this.. heh.

MacClipper
29-04-2007, 05:23 PM
Now to figure out what to do with this.. heh.

How about doing a 16x - 20x dvd burn anybody?

MacClipper
29-04-2007, 05:25 PM
http://s12.photobucket.com/albums/a220/quekky/Test%20Shots/ide-usb%20power%20supply/

fuse is blown, 250V 3A

the last pic was not in the package. It's a normal psu and i use it to power the hdd/dvdrw since it does not need a mobo to power up(the green cable is already connected internally)
thx, nice shots quekky.

SNAG
29-04-2007, 05:47 PM
How about doing a 16x - 20x dvd burn anybody?

I'll try it out with my internal Benq burner.. Just tell me what I need to do to measure burning speeds or anything.

MacClipper
29-04-2007, 05:49 PM
Nero CDSpeed (freeware), see the 1st post,
http://forums.vr-zone.com/showthread.php?t=143880

TanKianW
29-04-2007, 05:56 PM
Might get one for standby at home. 20bucks full set is dirt cheap.....I better get it fast.

Diavonex
29-04-2007, 06:36 PM
The USB 2.0 to IDE (2.5" and 3.5") is also good value for money. Only $10.

ckling
29-04-2007, 06:39 PM
how is the warranty like?

Diavonex
29-04-2007, 06:47 PM
how is the warranty like?

7 days one-to-one; after that you're on your own.

MacClipper
29-04-2007, 10:54 PM
The USB 2.0 to IDE (2.5" and 3.5") is also good value for money. Only $10.
Any bundled power supply with this one?

Diavonex
29-04-2007, 10:57 PM
Any bundled power supply with this one?

Power suppy included.

Probably using an older chipset.

MacClipper
29-04-2007, 11:27 PM
thx, not bad value esp. for those who need to replace their KIA power supply.

11qwerty
30-04-2007, 01:22 AM
seen like very good>>>>>
i think going to get one
as sls >>seen there isn't any
need to go funan

Diavonex
02-05-2007, 02:20 PM
This is how the $10 set looks like:

http://img133.imageshack.us/img133/4629/dsc07093zr4.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

plmokn
02-05-2007, 08:53 PM
i got mine today...den i plug it into my IDE 3.5" hdd
den i didnt hear the hdd running...and also ...i cannot detect the hdd...

Desmond_
02-05-2007, 09:08 PM
still selling ar? Quite cheap...

Diavonex
02-05-2007, 09:11 PM
i got mine today...den i plug it into my IDE 3.5" hdd
den i didnt hear the hdd running...and also ...i cannot detect the hdd...

1. Connect device to hard disk

2. Connect power supply to dard disk

3. Turn ON power supply

4. Plug USB cable into computer

5. Computer will detect hard disk

Diavonex
02-05-2007, 09:13 PM

Go for the $20 package; the chipset and power adapter is better.

plmokn
02-05-2007, 09:23 PM
still canot detect...need to install anything??...hdd running liao...but cannot detect...the hdd having an OS in it..does it matter?

plmokn
02-05-2007, 09:24 PM
lols...mine was the last piece...

Diavonex
02-05-2007, 09:28 PM
still canot detect...need to install anything??...hdd running liao...but cannot detect...the hdd having an OS in it..does it matter?

1. Leave it on for a little while more

2. Try another USB port

3. Make sure hard disk set to Master

Diavonex
02-05-2007, 09:29 PM
lols...mine was the last piece...

I saw new stock at Funan this morning.

plmokn
02-05-2007, 09:42 PM
lols..i should have go to funan..i tried with H42L den can work ...but canot detect hdd...

alvin316
02-05-2007, 10:37 PM
Could it be a harddisk problem? I had a similar problem with a faulty harddisk when plucking in to the usb tried using the ide also couldnt access the drive.

plmokn
02-05-2007, 11:32 PM
Could it be a harddisk problem? I had a similar problem with a faulty harddisk when plucking in to the usb tried using the ide also couldnt access the drive.
i have tried a spoilt and new hdd...the both is IDE...den the new hdd bought less than a mth...use less than a week...

theres a light indicator of the IDE usb cable..a red light...if light up means wad??...den after a while it goes off..den no light liao...if at the start my com can detect a new device...den meaning its not USB IDE cable problem??

DigitalMan
02-05-2007, 11:57 PM
i have tried a spoilt and new hdd...the both is IDE...den the new hdd bought less than a mth...use less than a week...

theres a light indicator of the IDE usb cable..a red light...if light up means wad??...den after a while it goes off..den no light liao...if at the start my com can detect a new device...den meaning its not USB IDE cable problem??

normally LED light up=read/write in progress. When u first plug in, you will see a detect new device thingy.

HolySleepy
03-05-2007, 11:27 AM
This is how the $10 set looks like:

http://img133.imageshack.us/img133/4629/dsc07093zr4.jpg (http://imageshack.us)Yea bought mine at SLS which is of that pattern seen in this pic... exactly the same not as nice as the TS ones - nicer converter and packaging. But mine is USB 2.0 to SATA/IDE, at 22dollars. Left only 2 more when i bought it that time.

Diavonex
03-05-2007, 11:44 AM
Please be very careful when you connect device to hard disk.

Pressure must be applied horizontally; if you tilt device pins will break.

redline15
03-05-2007, 02:35 PM
friend and i just picked up one as well at Chamoxa Funan as well. we got the USB2 to SATA/IDE for $20. The USB2 to IDE is going for $10. Laser is selling the latter for $15.

plmokn
03-05-2007, 06:17 PM
if the hdd inside got install OS...can also boot up??...

when i plug in...normally got sth pop out...for u to choose to open , to play with wmp...etc...how to make tt...mine not poping out..

sim3
03-05-2007, 07:37 PM
SLS Chamoxa is selling @ $22 and the device is different from what u get at Chamoxa Fuanan... the adapter casing also in black color cant see the chip set at all..

which shop in SLS is selling the set that get from Chamoxa Fuanan??

DigitalMan
03-05-2007, 07:37 PM
if the hdd inside got install OS...can also boot up??...

when i plug in...normally got sth pop out...for u to choose to open , to play with wmp...etc...how to make tt...mine not poping out..

I assume u have a PC/laptop, then u try to plug in a HDD using the IDE/USB cable. No, the hdd will not boot up, it will just be detected as a storage device.

Unless of coz, u set your PC/Laptop BIOS to boot from USB, and then u restart your PC/laptop with everything plugged in.

hope this is clear enuff.

suakukia
03-05-2007, 08:36 PM
ahh... i need this. but too lazy to go SLS. :D

plmokn
03-05-2007, 11:54 PM
I assume u have a PC/laptop, then u try to plug in a HDD using the IDE/USB cable. No, the hdd will not boot up, it will just be detected as a storage device.

Unless of coz, u set your PC/Laptop BIOS to boot from USB, and then u restart your PC/laptop with everything plugged in.

hope this is clear enuff.
ya..i got it...er...actually wad i meant was tt...i cant see anything or storage device for a 3.5"(with OS )...den cannot click open to use...power running...detects it....den no icon to click...i tried with 2.5( without OS)..den can work...detected and stroage device icon shown in my computer..

so from wad u have type...i guess OS in it does not affect the reading from hdd right?:)

trigoz
04-05-2007, 12:52 AM
ya..i got it...er...actually wad i meant was tt...i cant see anything or storage device for a 3.5"(with OS )...den cannot click open to use...power running...detects it....den no icon to click...i tried with 2.5( without OS)..den can work...detected and stroage device icon shown in my computer..

so from wad u have type...i guess OS in it does not affect the reading from hdd right?:)

Nope it should at all... It should detect as a thumbdrive..

Elfen85
06-05-2007, 10:59 AM
any info on 12 v rating of the power supply provided..

maxhurt
12-05-2007, 03:56 AM
wah did i get the wrong thing? arghhhh..i just bought the one from SLS Chamoxa, $22 bargain $20 :s13: I see the first post and pic suddenly noticed its different! Anyone can verify whether there is any difference between the 2? Like maybe older chip or what. Stupid me i thought both chamoxa same thing so i just grabbed it hahah. Didnt rmmbr how the TS pic looks like.

kevin78
12-05-2007, 04:24 AM
Nope it should at all... It should detect as a thumbdrive..
jus to add on it should detect as a storage device wif the os in it.

Diavonex
12-05-2007, 08:08 AM
any info on 12 v rating of the power supply provided..

http://img295.imageshack.us/img295/4958/dsc07070ca3.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Diavonex
12-05-2007, 08:13 AM
wah did i get the wrong thing? arghhhh..i just bought the one from SLS Chamoxa, $22 bargain $20 :s13: I see the first post and pic suddenly noticed its different! Anyone can verify whether there is any difference between the 2? Like maybe older chip or what. Stupid me i thought both chamoxa same thing so i just grabbed it hahah. Didnt rmmbr how the TS pic looks like.

Check Vendor & Product ID and Google

http://img512.imageshack.us/img512/56/14223007av4.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

xprophetx
12-05-2007, 08:21 AM
y not try this device instead:

http://www.scythe.co.jp/images/kama/kamacone/scups-1000-300fu.jpg

the amt spent to buy inferior quality can buy one quality one lo

cheong79
12-05-2007, 09:23 AM

Your Picture cannot tell a thousand words, can u briefly explain how and how?

Thanks.

jittery
12-05-2007, 12:27 PM

hey, its required by law to post $$ included with GST! stated on IRAS website, go get ur money back!

i was cheated that time oso, called CASE and they said shops cant even post $$ and state that GST is not inclusive. I got my money back after going back to the shop and kpkb again..

NOTE that this is only applicable to printed prices.

DUN BE CHEATED, KNOW UR RIGHTS!

i posted this in edmw 2 mths back.

ckling
12-05-2007, 06:18 PM
just now i bought one at DAT, $20 dollar, and come with 6 months warranty.

xprophetx
12-05-2007, 07:17 PM
Your Picture cannot tell a thousand words, can u briefly explain how and how?

Thanks.

read it up:
http://www.madshrimps.be/?action=getarticle&articID=476
http://www.crazypc.com/products/9545.html

Rakushun
12-05-2007, 07:54 PM

which shop is selling? how much?

Diavonex
12-05-2007, 11:30 PM
It's selling for US$29.90 in the states.

http://www.scythe-usa.com/product/acc/013/scupc1000.html

maxhurt
13-05-2007, 12:33 AM
lol..anyway the one from sls chamoxa looks like a poorer build than funan's. It works anyway..but can't detect bootable medium. Plugged in an ide drive containing winxp but to no avail. Have yet to test optical disc read/write, the main reason i bought this. Overall the one from funan is a good buy for $20, went today and checked it out. The sls one may even break the ide pins if not inserted carefully.

Diavonex
13-05-2007, 11:04 AM
The $10 pack from Chamoxa works well too.

Can Image and Clone using 2.5" and 3.5" drive.

sim3
13-05-2007, 11:39 AM

went SLS yest and they no more stock liao. went BELL and saw tt they selling for $28 but different packaging...

ckling
13-05-2007, 11:45 AM
DAT also have

sim3
13-05-2007, 11:51 AM
how much huh?

Diavonex
13-05-2007, 12:11 PM
You can get it at Chamoxa (Funan)

USB to IDE - $10

USB to IDE/SATA - $20

No point getting those US$29.90 type.

siao_gamer
13-05-2007, 12:34 PM
still hav stock? muz go and take a look

Diavonex
13-05-2007, 12:39 PM
Plenty......

ipaq4444
14-05-2007, 11:17 AM
anyone just bought the set from chamox within 7 days?

can i tobang to exchange my power adpt which has just fail on me?

MacClipper
14-05-2007, 11:48 AM

wah scary, which set is that - $10 or $20 type? So fast failed liao...

Diavonex
14-05-2007, 12:13 PM

Did it fail while powering 3.5" drive or CD/DVD-ROM?

Diavonex
14-05-2007, 12:14 PM
wah scary, which set is that - $10 or $20 type? So fast failed liao...

I bought the $10 set for spare.

ipaq4444
14-05-2007, 04:59 PM
the $20 set psu fail very easily.

maxhurt
16-05-2007, 05:47 AM
The sls chamoxa $22 set, the power adapter is not our 3-pin or 2-pin. Anyway i have spare adapter so i just used that. Just thought i'd report on cd/dvd-writing. Works alright for ide optical drive..both on Linux and Windows XP without any installing/downloading of drivers. Let's not talk about speed, coz there's only 480Mbits/s u can expect for 100% best case scenario :s13: I only want it coz sometimes my desktop is busy doing things and i only have my notebook to spare, which is hopeless for writing optical discs especially DVD-RAM. Since i have a good LG lying around might as well use it. Reliability is the important thing..well, no benchmarks yet. Burnt an ISO with verify data enabled, and it was successful. Burnt movie, success also. Burnt DVD-RAM, went fine.

ProjectMayhem
16-05-2007, 11:59 AM
Can connect to 3.5" IDE HDD? Need external power device to power it up right?

ckling
16-05-2007, 12:10 PM
both ans YES

pashLey
16-05-2007, 12:19 PM
wah...that time i buy for my company for $45! i think its the same... has sata and ide connector.
does funan still have stock?

ipaq4444
16-05-2007, 01:32 PM
The sls chamoxa $22 set, the power adapter is not our 3-pin or 2-pin. Anyway i have spare adapter so i just used that. Just thought i'd report on cd/dvd-writing. Works alright for ide optical drive..both on Linux and Windows XP without any installing/downloading of drivers. Let's not talk about speed, coz there's only 480Mbits/s u can expect for 100% best case scenario :s13: I only want it coz sometimes my desktop is busy doing things and i only have my notebook to spare, which is hopeless for writing optical discs especially DVD-RAM. Since i have a good LG lying around might as well use it. Reliability is the important thing..well, no benchmarks yet. Burnt an ISO with verify data enabled, and it was successful. Burnt movie, success also. Burnt DVD-RAM, went fine.

the power adpt is the three pin type, but the power cable is the china type. so change the power cable to our normal type will do.

anyone who brought it recently? can tobang to get the power adpt changed?

weiyang76
16-05-2007, 02:35 PM
i'm just so unlucky. previously bought one for my 2.5" HDD, doesn't work. went to laser exchange twice yet still incompatible.

Diavonex
16-05-2007, 02:51 PM

http://img177.imageshack.us/img177/9070/dsc07071dr9.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img511.imageshack.us/img511/5728/dsc07092pe7.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img329.imageshack.us/img329/3222/dsc07093lh8.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

Diavonex
16-05-2007, 02:57 PM
i'm just so unlucky. previously bought one for my 2.5" HDD, doesn't work. went to laser exchange twice yet still incompatible.

Problem may be your hard disk.

Try another hard disk.

Plug it to another computer.

yi_shiang
16-05-2007, 06:45 PM
lol..anyway the one from sls chamoxa looks like a poorer build than funan's. It works anyway..but can't detect bootable medium. Plugged in an ide drive containing winxp but to no avail. Have yet to test optical disc read/write, the main reason i bought this. Overall the one from funan is a good buy for $20, went today and checked it out. The sls one may even break the ide pins if not inserted carefully.

bought the cheap model sometime ago, i plug it to my ide hdd, did not notice I missed the 2 pin, then there it went. the hdd and the converter died at the same time.

prostcode
16-05-2007, 10:19 PM
Went to Funan's Challenger today and saw different makes of this. Didn't went to Chamoxa though.

Kiwi8
16-05-2007, 10:44 PM
Hmm... this device is good!

Diavonex
16-05-2007, 11:16 PM
Went to Funan's Challenger today and saw different makes of this. Didn't went to Chamoxa though.

The USB to SATA/IDE is selling for $30 at Challenger.

maxhurt
16-05-2007, 11:43 PM
yeah my bad..it's the cable i was talking abou then, just switched it but im lucky i have spare, others may not. wonder why so many price differences if it's exactly the same thing..Noticed it at Bizgram also iirc, or was it Fuwell.

Cloudiax
17-05-2007, 12:01 AM
This seems like an essential tool for me.

Is Chamoxa still selling?

kinalvin
17-05-2007, 12:22 AM
This seems like an essential tool for me.

Is Chamoxa still selling?
Yup, just got 1 yesterday, Very very useful tool i must say. & works like a charm for me.

boonkeng
17-05-2007, 10:27 PM
Nth appears in my computer after i plug this into my 3.5inch hdd. but i'm able to do a diagnostics for the hdd. in device manager, the hdd model is shown. why nth is shown on my computer

Cloudiax
17-05-2007, 10:36 PM
Yup, just got 1 yesterday, Very very useful tool i must say. & works like a charm for me.$20? Anyone knows if Chamoxa at Funan sells it?

I am very tempted to get one. :D

RtOaNn
18-05-2007, 12:06 AM
I'm gonna hoot one too..hee.

Isopropyl
18-05-2007, 07:51 PM
$20? Anyone knows if Chamoxa at Funan sells it?

I am very tempted to get one. :D
got one from chamoxa sls. cost $22bucks. $2 more i can live with it.

tkdguru
18-05-2007, 08:43 PM
i got 1 too last tue

Kiwi8
09-06-2007, 12:02 PM
Price update, now Chamoxa Funan is selling it at $25 liao.

ipaq4444
19-06-2007, 10:58 AM
me selling my one for $21. anyone. brand new bought last tue

Kiwi8
26-07-2007, 09:02 PM
Anyone still using this? Are u able to use this for the 2.5" harddisk portion of the connector?

sunsetbay
26-07-2007, 09:16 PM
Nth appears in my computer after i plug this into my 3.5inch hdd. but i'm able to do a diagnostics for the hdd. in device manager, the hdd model is shown. why nth is shown on my computer

r u using IDE HDD? hv u set the jumper to master? :s22:

Diavonex
26-07-2007, 09:51 PM
Anyone still using this? Are u able to use this for the 2.5" harddisk portion of the connector?

2.5" IDE

http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g116/ohvictor/DSC07070Small-1.jpg

2.5" SATA

http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g116/ohvictor/DSC07071Small.jpg

Kiwi8
26-07-2007, 09:56 PM
2.5" IDE

http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g116/ohvictor/DSC07070Small-1.jpg

2.5" SATA

http://i54.photobucket.com/albums/g116/ohvictor/DSC07071Small.jpg
Yeah thanks. But I wasn't able to get the 2.5" IDE harddisk recognised. I think it's due to power problem but I can't add more power to the device since 2.5" IDE harddisk has no connector for power. :o

Diavonex
26-07-2007, 09:59 PM
If you are using it on the desktop, use the back USB port.

Kiwi8
26-07-2007, 11:00 PM
If you are using it on the desktop, use the back USB port.
Tried liao, still cannot. :o

1_Fang
30-07-2007, 10:02 PM
Since everyone mention this is good.
Can someone benchmark it with HD Bench
http://www.hdbench.net/software/hdbench/index.html

bizcon
30-07-2007, 10:42 PM
I just bought 1.

SATA OK!

3.5" IDE Partial :
1 abit faulty HDD can detect and see drive.
1 fully working condition HDD shows USB Storage with no drive. Disk Manager cannot even see the HDD. Tested on 2 HDD of the same type of PC. Still cannot see HDD and Drive letter.

This thing got compatibilty issue?? or got capacity limitation?? should not be right.....

Diavonex
30-07-2007, 10:46 PM
ON power to hard disk before plugging in USB.

bizcon
30-07-2007, 11:02 PM
yeah.....done that......

Tried SATA okie. Tried 2 HDD from Acer PC...cannot.

Inititally I thought the IDE convertor got problem. So test on my spare (abit faulty) HDD. No problem. Can detect and see drive.

So now donno why the 2 acer PC HDD cannot detect.... *confused*

SquallLH
29-11-2007, 01:57 AM
am late to the game.

Any suggestions on where to get for the best build quality and what's the current price for this device?

StrawHatLuffy
09-12-2007, 01:09 AM
Hmmm, sorry to raise the thread from the ashes. My PC just died and I could probably use one of this to transfer all my old files back to my working PC.

Are they still selling the thing?

Thanks.

v0dka
09-12-2007, 01:21 AM
Hmmm, sorry to raise the thread from the ashes. My PC just died and I could probably use one of this to transfer all my old files back to my working PC.

Are they still selling the thing?

Thanks.

u can try chamoxa. they might still have stocks.

Diavonex
09-12-2007, 01:23 AM
It's now selling $25.00 at Chamoxa (Funan).

ah_sing
30-12-2007, 11:33 PM
hi pple,

like to ask a q...

I am using a mac, do you think it would be possible if I buy this cable and plug it into my desktop PC 3.5" harddisk n it will appear as a storage in my mac book?

pls advice

also ani ideas which level is the chamoxa located ?

Thank you pple:)

Diavonex
30-12-2007, 11:39 PM
Chamoxa (Funan) #05-10/11

Chamoxa (SLS) #05-27 #06-13 / 36/ 37

ah_sing
30-12-2007, 11:48 PM
Thank you very much any idea of the current price ?

:)

buaysaikum
18-07-2008, 04:58 PM
not digging this thread for fun, but anyone bought this recently? still avail at chamoxa?

tigerwoods
26-07-2008, 11:55 PM
i got the one made by Vantec at Laser $25 other shops $39, works great n better build.

http://www.vantecusa.com/front/product/pro_list/61

buaysaikum
27-07-2008, 12:28 AM
i got the one made by Vantec at Laser $25 other shops $39, works great n better build.

wow! will check it out tomorrow.

thanks!

sil96verman
27-07-2008, 01:26 AM
may i ask wich is the best cloning software for HDD backup?

thank u

sil96verman
27-07-2008, 12:51 PM
anyone?

:yawn:

tigerwoods
27-07-2008, 01:04 PM

thank u

Acronis clone software is the best now

I use it to clone my HP2133 with my above vantec cables connect to my dvdwriter.

Boot up from HP recovery disk also can work with vantec cables connect to my dvdwriter.

decipherx
27-07-2008, 01:06 PM

thank u

not sure...
but i'm been using acronis true image...works great. :D

TiOnGSquare
27-07-2008, 02:58 PM
i also have a set with me, its useful, esp those days when im working as a it techician

TiOnGSquare
27-07-2008, 03:00 PM
not sure...
but i'm been using acronis true image...works great. :D

2nd that, juz a qns do u koe how to make the program works such tat the hdd that stores those backup is full, it can auto delete everything including the full backup and incremental and recreate a full backup and everythign starts again with incremental?

supergmail
27-07-2008, 05:31 PM
for those whose adpt have spolit. what are you doing with the convertor?

yauchong
27-07-2008, 06:41 PM
for those whose adpt have spolit. what are you doing with the convertor?
use pc power lor... :D

MacClipper
01-08-2008, 12:56 AM

Pls bench and post your Vantec adapter performance cos this 2006 review seems to have it maxxed out at a poor 15-20MB/s,
http://techgage.com/article/vantec_sataide_to_usb_adapter

Any idea on the period of wty?

odtt84
12-12-2008, 09:02 PM
Hi Guys, any idea where to get one of this now? Thanks.

supergmail
13-12-2008, 12:15 PM
think there is a website call giga bytes or something that is selling for only $20. think you might need to search the fourms.

evq
13-12-2008, 12:22 PM
my power adaptor just died on me when I am about to use it on my internal optical drv to install program into my new netbook. damned

lyfeforce
13-12-2008, 12:37 PM
You can try Chamoxa, both at Funan and SLS.

zheng
20-03-2009, 03:40 PM
You can try Chamoxa, both at Funan and SLS.

are they still selling?

ly1968
20-03-2009, 05:17 PM
SLS yes i think $29 at chamoxa

derekliu
20-03-2009, 05:54 PM
if i buy a new comp with new HDD, then i wanna transfer stuff from my old hdd to my new system. Its possible with this convertor right??

ly1968
20-03-2009, 08:02 PM
Yes it act as an ext drive

zheng
20-03-2009, 09:21 PM
SLS yes i think $29 at chamoxa

i just went Funa Chamoxa selling 35$ @ discount 31$.... went home plug in all the cable den my sata hdd... turn power on.... Bang!... heard this sound... den see see look look the LED never lit up... tot my power point spoil... so change location plug in again nothing happen... den i realize that "Bang!" i guess the AC adapter chao ta liao.... @#%$%$# if any happen to my hdd i gonna screw the shop upside down.....

zheng
20-03-2009, 09:32 PM
it seem like their ac adapter spoil easily... ?

ly1968
20-03-2009, 09:57 PM
i just went Funa Chamoxa selling 35$ @ discount 31$.... went home plug in all the cable den my sata hdd... turn power on.... Bang!... heard this sound... den see see look look the LED never lit up... tot my power point spoil... so change location plug in again nothing happen... den i realize that "Bang!" i guess the AC adapter chao ta liao.... @#%$%$# if any happen to my hdd i gonna screw the shop upside down.....

:eek: so jia lak u better send back to them 2moro,gd luck bro

sunsetbay
21-03-2009, 12:01 AM
it seem like their ac adapter spoil easily... ?

ya, i spoilt two already~ :s27:

coyote
21-03-2009, 12:18 AM
Mostly made in China...

sarius
04-04-2009, 02:51 PM
Hi guys.

Any idea if they sell the converter WITHOUT the psu?

If yes, how much and where can I buy it?

If no, I'm most willing to sell the PSU to anyone who wants it.

Or is there anyone who's willing to sell me the converter without the psu?

Thanks muchos and cheers!

sarius
04-04-2009, 10:07 PM
If I buy the cable with the psu, is there anyone willing to buy the psu from me for $5? :s12:

ly1968
04-04-2009, 10:12 PM
U need the pwr adapter to run 3.5 hdd & CD/DVD ROM,so why r u selling it ?

sarius
04-04-2009, 11:35 PM
will be using my casing's psu:)

ly1968
04-04-2009, 11:46 PM
Oic liao kai