PDA

View Full Version : DCS-2120 and homecamera.com

Pages : [1] 2

hangyong
21-05-2007, 06:39 PM
Guys,

there is a new website homecamera.com with can work with the DCS-2120.

check out the site.

I just obtained the beta firmware for DCS-2120 to do some testing with homecamera.com

realised that if there is an admin password on the DCS-2120, I will not be able to get authenticated with the homecamera.com server.

richneo
21-05-2007, 09:02 PM
password FOR DCS-2120 :admin
bro good effort for trying to help

but read carefully pls :s34:

hangyong
21-05-2007, 09:10 PM
anyway, homecamera.com is now on beta testing and those who wanna try can register at the same url.

By the way, it can be using ANY webcam connected to your PC, not only DCS-2120.

anyway, having some issues....

removed the admin password and its authenticating with the server correctly now... however, when I click on the image or video icons, it keeps telling me image not available or video not available...

richneo
21-05-2007, 09:17 PM
anyway, homecamera.com is now on beta testing and those who wanna try can register at the same url.

removed the admin password and its authenticating with the server correctly now... however, when I click on the image or video icons, it keeps telling me image not available or video not available...
bro ur camera resolution optimized for mobile or pc?

chaicka
21-05-2007, 09:41 PM

Sama Sama, same issue here...plus now streaming not functional yet, thus cannot stream video, juz still shots.

chaicka
21-05-2007, 09:47 PM
Some First Thought Queries I have:

1. How often does the DCS-2120 (wif custom HC firmware) 'dials' home to their server?

2. How does the scheduled recording liase wif the camera?

3. Is HomeCamera's servers time-sync'ed using NTP to any atomic time server? If not, what happens if the time is off, compared to the time on the IP Cam (in this case, DCS-2120 NTP'ed to a reliable ntp time source)?

liangtam
21-05-2007, 09:48 PM
I am oso on Homecam beta :D

Was an interesting idea, which allow ppl on the move to view home surrounding without the need of sophiscated 3G phone to stream video. Colour LCD with WAP access is good enough :)

BTW, here's my cammy on run.
http://gmeow.com

liangtam
21-05-2007, 09:49 PM
BTW, try 320x240 or below. Else it will show video unavailable.

chaicka
21-05-2007, 09:51 PM
I am oso on Homecam beta :D

Was an interesting idea, which allow ppl on the move to view home surrounding without the need of sophiscated 3G phone to stream video. Colour LCD with WAP access is good enough :)

BTW, here's my cammy on run.
Yoz, so u open up the ports and dyndns to it?
Without an admin password, it's so dangerous....thus i drop the idea until they can fix the admin acct password issue.

chaicka
21-05-2007, 09:55 PM
Feedbacks:

1. The time stamp font is not dynamic, whether the video is set to PC optimized or Mobile optimized, the time stamp font stays the same size, thus can be obstructing some views when set to Mobile optimized video.

2. HomeCamera website, when clicked on "Camera Archives" and selected one of the many cameras one may have set up, there is no way to go back to the camera selection menu ("Camera Archives" is no longer clickable). The only workaround is click on "Cameras Connected", then click "Camera Archives" again to get the selection menu.

liangtam
21-05-2007, 09:56 PM
Yup, port 80 and streaming ports only. :o

chaicka
21-05-2007, 09:59 PM
Yup, port 80 and streaming ports only. :o
Ur streaming not working, cannot see any image at all. But the main page of 2120 loads up.

shadowandy
21-05-2007, 10:13 PM
The HomeCamera unit uses Permodia – a patent-pending system which enables MMS-based access to any standard web camera connected to the Internet through a PC. Permodia is from M1’s Wireless Intellect Labs. Was created in Feb 2003.

liangtam
21-05-2007, 10:19 PM
Ur streaming not working, cannot see any image at all. But the main page of 2120 loads up.
Ya, realised it. Down for today.

chaicka
21-05-2007, 11:09 PM
Has anyone set up motion detection, and then loss the ability to access the http GUI after a period of time?

Need to power cycle the DCS-2120 to re-enable access.

hangyong
21-05-2007, 11:12 PM
bro ur camera resolution optimized for mobile or pc?

for PC lor....

richneo
21-05-2007, 11:13 PM
hmm a friend of mine emailed me this

a) Login to your camera -> click on Configure -> Click on Audio/Video
b) Set General to "Configure for computer viewing"
c) Change Frame Size to 320 x 240, Max frame rate to 5 and change Audio Settings to GSM-AMR 12.2

The first video you request after this will likely be half-blank. Subsequent videos will work fine.

You'll also notice better picture quality for still pictures.

Do let me know if you have any similar tips and tricks to contribute. :-)

chaicka
21-05-2007, 11:19 PM
Not sure if u guys are getting this.....I juz lost the camera again in the HomeCamera's My Cameras page, despite the DCS-2120 configuration page showing as connected to HomeCamera's server.

No admin password set at all.

Associated Logs:

May 21 23:10:37 IP_CAM[3075]: RTSP Server:Start one session, IP=192.168.xxx.xxx
May 21 23:10:51 IP_CAM[3075]: RTSP Server:Stop one session, IP=192.168.xxx.xxx
May 21 23:11:22 IP_CAM[3075]: RTSP Server:Start one session, IP=192.168.xxx.xxx
May 21 23:11:32 IP_CAM[3075]: RTSP Server:Stop one session, IP=192.168.xxx.xxx
May 21 23:13:11 IP_CAM[3075]: RTSP Server:Start one session, IP=192.168.xxx.xxx
May 21 23:13:32 IP_CAM[3075]: RTSP Server:Stop one session, IP=192.168.xxx.xxx
May 21 23:13:49 IP_CAM[3075]: RTSP Server:Start one session, IP=192.168.xxx.xxx
May 21 23:13:54 IP_CAM[3075]: RTSP Server:Stop one session, IP=192.168.xxx.xxx
May 21 23:14:16 urecorder[2997]: The max file size you set is too small
May 21 23:15:50 last message repeated 2 times
May 21 23:16:21 IP_CAM[3075]: RTSP Server:Start one session, IP=192.168.xxx.xxx
May 21 23:16:30 IP_CAM[3075]: RTSP Server:Stop one session, IP=192.168.xxx.xxx
May 21 23:26:28 IP_CAM[3075]: RTSP Server:Start one session, IP=192.168.xxx.xxx
May 21 23:26:30 IP_CAM[3075]: RTSP Server:Stop one session, IP=192.168.xxx.xxx

alanchia67
22-05-2007, 01:45 AM
for ntp, i'm using nets.org.sg at daily interval.

i've not encounter any camera lost yet.

as i am using 2wire, i've disable upnp (and also upnp portforwarding) and it still works correctly (and i dont need to portforward anything). wifi connection to 2wire is also very stable.

viewing image from mobile phone works too (a credit is reduced for each sms sent) when i send a sms to the destinated phone number with 'cam home' (where home is my camera name). unfortunately i dont get any video link with i send a 'video home' message to the same number.

so far, my pda phone browser works fine when i surf to the www.homecamera.com/mobile site. i can view both images and video.

have not tried motion sensing.

richneo
22-05-2007, 10:33 AM
yup i've tried viewing from http://www.homecamera.com/mobile as well both pics and video works.

pictures are displayed on my mobile direct but video, im prompted if i wanna retrieve then the video is downloaded to my video folder. im using 6280 btw

when i click click send video or picture to my mobile via the homecamera website, it works as well.

alanchia67
22-05-2007, 10:45 AM
pictures are displayed on my mobile direct but video, im prompted if i wanna retrieve then the video is downloaded to my video folder. im using 6280 btw

yeah it prompted me to download the video, and seems like no credit is deducted. perhaps it's using wap push thus no charge?

richneo
22-05-2007, 10:57 AM
yeah it prompted me to download the video, and seems like no credit is deducted. perhaps it's using wap push thus no charge?
hehe not sure leh now that you mentioned, i realise my credit was deducted as well hehe

alanchia67
22-05-2007, 11:02 AM
hmm, will try again and see is there any deduction. have tried several times before using sms method, so i may have counted wrongly.

side track abit, was reading the brochure it mentioned 'When used in conjunction with the email alert system, mobile users can now view a camera feed without a notebook PC and wireless hotspot. This live video feed can then be accessed through 3G cellular networks by compatible cell phones'.

has anyone manage to get this to work without using homecamera.com?

richneo
22-05-2007, 11:07 AM
brochure from where? inside the camera?

i think it means setting up port forwarding den access to your ip cam via mobile directly baz..

i cant do that yet cos there is no password assigned to my camera :s34:

alanchia67
22-05-2007, 11:12 AM
the pdf document found in the page here
http://www.dlink.com.sg/products/dlhome.asp?sec=0&pid=488

anyway, i think i got it working as you suggested. in the phone, you connect to rtsp://intranetip/live.sdp
this is as according to the configuration, network, advanced, rtsp info there.

but the brochure talks about email alert, so i'll have to configure a email server to send the alert to. will try out later tonight.

i dont intend to portforward this yet since there's no authentication being setup. hopefully it gets resolved soon.

chaicka
22-05-2007, 07:16 PM
for ntp, i'm using nets.org.sg at daily interval.

i've not encounter any camera lost yet.

as i am using 2wire, i've disable upnp (and also upnp portforwarding) and it still works correctly (and i dont need to portforward anything). wifi connection to 2wire is also very stable.

viewing image from mobile phone works too (a credit is reduced for each sms sent) when i send a sms to the destinated phone number with 'cam home' (where home is my camera name). unfortunately i dont get any video link with i send a 'video home' message to the same number.

so far, my pda phone browser works fine when i surf to the www.homecamera.com/mobile site. i can view both images and video.

have not tried motion sensing.
Juz confirm, the lost of camera from the homecamera.com site is due to motion detection.
Once I revert all the settings made to motion detection and the application menu in DCS-2120, it works fine now. No more camera go MIA from the site.

alanchia67
23-05-2007, 09:23 AM
chaicka, what's your motion detection setting for 'sensitivity' and 'percentage'? i cant get mine to work.

agitator
23-05-2007, 10:57 AM
Guys

Is this camera good? gg sl now to get a camera ?

thanks

hangyong
23-05-2007, 11:30 AM
Guys

thanks

of course its good!

shadowandy
23-05-2007, 11:41 AM
Guys

thanks

Actually there is a thread regarding DCS-2120 here (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1383800&highlight=DCS-2120)

agitator
23-05-2007, 03:17 PM
ok ^^

thanks will read ..

went Med... to buy that GUY not helpful so did not buy... went down to 03 - .. abit more expensive wanted to buy but no stock....

anyway is the configuration easy for remote access ?

Thanks!!

alanchia67
23-05-2007, 03:18 PM
yes very easy.

hangyong
23-05-2007, 03:30 PM
yes very easy.

provided that the person is not trying to circumvent the company network policy.... too many people simply die die must get it to work through company network.... and they cannot get it that the company block it for a reason....

liangtam
23-05-2007, 04:21 PM
hokay, lemme know if its up.

agitator
23-05-2007, 04:57 PM
provided that the person is not trying to circumvent the company network policy.... too many people simply die die must get it to work through company network.... and they cannot get it that the company block it for a reason....

Easy har !! for personal use not through company network^^..
If problem your GUYS help ^^ ok ?
Thanks!

shadowandy
23-05-2007, 05:04 PM

Yeap. It's up.

alanchia67
23-05-2007, 06:53 PM

yup it's up. but isnt it dangerous to leave everything exposed? i can see all your configuations.

i'd rather block port 80, and leave rtsp port opened for streaming purpose.

by the way, nice fonera you have.

liangtam
23-05-2007, 07:27 PM
LOL, its okay. Up just to show as demo. :)
That is, unless someone went to play with the config and bring it down. :alien:

steventay
23-05-2007, 08:42 PM
cool... fon router... i am also using it...

chaicka
23-05-2007, 10:01 PM
Feedbacks:

1. The time stamp font is not dynamic, whether the video is set to PC optimized or Mobile optimized, the time stamp font stays the same size, thus can be obstructing some views when set to Mobile optimized video.

2. HomeCamera website, when clicked on "Camera Archives" and selected one of the many cameras one may have set up, there is no way to go back to the camera selection menu ("Camera Archives" is no longer clickable). The only workaround is click on "Cameras Connected", then click "Camera Archives" again to get the selection menu.

3. Status | Home Camera Status | HomeCamera main server: "Camera Authentication Successfull", should be "Camera Authentication Successful" - spelling error.
http://img510.imageshack.us/img510/4912/homecamerr01vv0.png

4. Advanced | Network | WLAN configuration, the Pre-shared key should be masked (normally masked in almost all WLAN products I have tested or used before).
http://img518.imageshack.us/img518/5281/homecamerr02pk4.png

5. Tools | Application | Snapshot | Trigger - Motion detection, Send snapshot by - HTTP POST, Motion Detection send snapshot to HomeCamera.com feature is non-functional. Even set the sensitivity to highest, and percentage to lowest (ard 5), still does not trigger a snapshot to be send to HomeCamera.com. Or it does not show up in the archive folder on HomeCamera.com.

alanchia67
23-05-2007, 10:07 PM
i wonder did i configure wrongly. even when i set the ipcam to stream video only, when i open through rtsp protocol i still can hear audio. can someone else confirm?

and i noticed i need to punch firewall to rtsp and http ports if i want to access the video stream remotely. is it supposed to be this way?

richneo
23-05-2007, 10:10 PM
i wonder did i configure wrongly. even when i set the ipcam to stream video only, when i open through rtsp protocol i still can hear audio. can someone else confirm?
same

im going to email m1 to ask also

but none of u all reply me =(

alanchia67
23-05-2007, 10:22 PM
i think it's dlink firmware issue. because both from homecamera.com and rtsp can hear audio.

alanchia67
23-05-2007, 10:25 PM
same

hee.. all too busy playing so never read email (like me).

richneo
23-05-2007, 10:29 PM
hee.. all too busy playing so never read email (like me).

:s13: :D

chaicka
23-05-2007, 10:42 PM

Yet to test it since the admin password cannot be set, thus opening my connection wide to public. Too high a risk for me, due to my current infra setup.

and i noticed i need to punch firewall to rtsp and http ports if i want to access the video stream remotely. is it supposed to be this way?

Yes, the HomeCamera.com is not able to stream video at current. That's why on DCS-2120, the Status | Home Camera Status | HomeCamera streaming server, u see that it is disconnected.

Maybe next firmware and/or their backend upgrades to next development version of their application, then video streaming will work ba.

By the way, I juz confirmed that motion detection is not working...even set to 95 sensitivity, percentage to 5, still does not detect motion and send snapshot via HTTP POST to HomeCamera.com. Even tried with off the lights, then on the lights (since it's nite now), by right it should already trigger motion due to pixel change. But, nah, it's not working.

alanchia67
23-05-2007, 10:48 PM
when i said stream remotely, i'm actually refering to using (let's say qt client) and provide url (rtsp to my ipcam). it wont work unless i open both http and rtsp ports.

homecamera can do video streaming in future? coz when i read the faq/support, it's suppose to download the clip from the ipcam and upload to browser (hey.. it's like reverse proxy!!). sometimes my qt plugin can display it, sometimes it cant (from the hc website).

chaicka
23-05-2007, 10:48 PM
same

I juz replied u with an initial compiled list of findings.

chaicka
23-05-2007, 10:51 PM
when i said stream remotely, i'm actually refering to using (let's say qt client) and provide url (rtsp to my ipcam). it wont work unless i open both http and rtsp ports.

homecamera can do video streaming in future? coz when i read the faq/support, it's suppose to download the clip from the ipcam and upload to browser (hey.. it's like reverse proxy!!). sometimes my qt plugin can display it, sometimes it cant (from the hc website).
Based on my limited understanding from what is available:

The HC setup page did ask for Streaming Server Address: and Streaming Server Port: and thus, I am suspecting that in future, streaming from the cam to their streaming server then to ur mobile device would be possible, thus doing away the need to port forward/open port, which is the objective behind this solution - ease of setup for typical end user.

alanchia67
23-05-2007, 10:57 PM
ah.. that will be good!

chaicka
23-05-2007, 11:07 PM
The HomeCamera solution is definitely not ready for launch, least to start selling in the upcoming PC Show.

It seems there is many parts of the solution not working, least to say, privacy..."snapshots get send to wrong account/archive folder?"

:(

chaicka
23-05-2007, 11:09 PM
Feedbacks:

3. Status | Home Camera Status | HomeCamera main server: "Camera Authentication Successfull", should be "Camera Authentication Successful" - spelling error.

4. Advanced | Network | WLAN configuration, the Pre-shared key should be masked (normally masked in almost all WLAN products I have tested or used before).

5. Tools | Application | Snapshot | Trigger - Motion detection, Send snapshot by - HTTP POST, Motion Detection send snapshot to HomeCamera.com feature is non-functional. Even set the sensitivity to highest, and percentage to lowest (ard 5), still does not trigger a snapshot to be send to HomeCamera.com. Or it does not show up in the archive folder on HomeCamera.com.

6. Credit system seems to be faulty as well. Either extra credit is deduced when only 1 snapshot sent to mobile, or credit not deduced when snapshots are sent to mobile.

alanchia67
23-05-2007, 11:10 PM
hey, can anyone try like me, use quicktime rtsp to access the ipcam? the stream 'hangs' after couple of minutes.

alanchia67
23-05-2007, 11:13 PM
Feedbacks:

6. Credit system seems to be faulty as well. Either extra credit is deduced when only 1 snapshot sent to mobile, or credit not deduced when snapshots are sent to mobile.

i suspected that too, but i'm not sure. since you mentioned, it must be true. or it takes sometime to refresh the credit counter?

richneo
23-05-2007, 11:15 PM
lol the problems i've encountered is very bizarre

richneo
23-05-2007, 11:16 PM
i suspected that too, but i'm not sure. since you mentioned, it must be true. or it takes sometime to refresh the credit counter?
hehe my credit still remains 47 hehehe

alanchia67
23-05-2007, 11:21 PM

have added you in my buddy list.

chaicka
23-05-2007, 11:23 PM
Cannot be...coz I forwarded to mobile once only, until now, still 2 credit deduced.
The rest forwarded to email...shld not have credit deduction.

Going to try and add 950G to see if HC can really work with any IP Cam. :D

alanchia67
23-05-2007, 11:26 PM
likely wont work - but well, why stop the adventure spirit. :-p

liangtam
24-05-2007, 12:00 AM
950G got Homecam specific firmware??
1 credit is used for mobile activation. Apparently, it is possible that you dont even realise it as they did not state clearly.

The other one is for the "WAP Push" message.

Under what circumstances is the link sent to the phone, I've can't figure it out yet.

liangtam
24-05-2007, 12:06 AM
hey, can anyone try like me, use quicktime rtsp to access the ipcam? the stream 'hangs' after couple of minutes.
For the website, I got problem of "Video unavailable" before. However the video is there in the archive for some reason.

BTW, sorry ah, just now testing something. I add u in buddy list now.

varora
24-05-2007, 02:28 PM
Hi everyone.

My name's Varun - I work with the HomeCamera team.

Thanks for all your feedback - trust me, we're working on implementing the fixes you've identified. :-)

First, on your HomeCamera configuration page, please change permodia.wilabs.com to www.homecamera.com - we've migrated the DLink interface to HomeCamera onto the production environment (where bandwidth issues should be less of a problem...). You shouldn't see video timeouts after this. If you still do, please let us know...

Basically, what was happening was this: the video request would come through the server (at the ISP hosting environment) to our office network (where the proxy was running), then on to the camera, then the video back to our proxy, then uploaded to the server, and then downloaded to your browser. Too many hops, two of which were through our office network, which seems to always be under external attack and thus s-l-o-w... <sigh>...

Also:

1. The archives problem should now be fixed - this is a hugely embarassing error - thanks everyone for pointing this out. We've had to delete old archives to set this right.

2. Motion detection issues: we're investigating this. Might take some time.

3. Audio in the video clip: I'm afraid there's nothing we can do to remove this...

4. Video streaming: Chaicka, you're right. We do not support video streaming through HomeCamera right now but will at some point in the hopefully not-too-distant future.

5. Mobile credits: A credit is deducted whenever an image or video is pushed to your phone. If you access via the website, there's no deduction at all. Similarly, if you access via WAP Pull (e.g. by logging into http://www.homecamera.com/mobile), no credit will be deducted. The deduction is intended to account for our costs in sending the link to your phone. Do remember that while the d-link dcs2120 test is limited to Singapore for now (and other D-Link offices in SE Asia), we actually have HomeCamera cctv/webcam users worldwide. :-)

While on the subject of mobile credits, yes, a mobile credit is also deducted for mobile activation. HOWEVER, you do not really need to "activate" this - it's there just in case two users register with the same mobile number... in such a case, how do we know where to send the image / video? Basically, you can keep using the system without activating the mobile number.

6. Chaicka, again, you're right, we're not ready for release during the PC Show. We should hopefully be ready around end-June. Meanwhile, thankfully, the system is working well with webcams and cctv cams (except the archives problem, which, we think, is now fixed).

7. Liangtam: No homecamera firmware in the 950... at least not yet (anyone from DLink listening? <hint hint> ;-) )

8. Richard: thanks for all the direct feedback you've been sending me. Sincerely appreciated and please keep it coming.

Finally, everyone, please keep the comments coming. We want to take this service to the world - I'm sick and tired of seeing all the "buzzy" and newsworthy services coming out of Europe and the US... time for us to take something THERE for a change! :-) All your comments are deeply deeply appreciated. (And if you could link to www.homecamera.com through your blogs, it would mean a lot to us.)

Cheers,

- Varun (number-was-here-but-isn't-now...<grin>)

richneo
24-05-2007, 02:42 PM
wow hehehe now ur number is no longer a secret hehehe

cant see my cam now cos i'm not at home to change the server over to new one

alanchia67
24-05-2007, 02:50 PM
wow. thanks for the response. have changed the server immediately as i've opened port 80.

i also notice the video clip on homecamera is about 5sec long. isnt it supposed to be 10sec, and thus waiting time of up to 20sec for display?

varora
24-05-2007, 03:07 PM
Hi Alan.

If you change your video mode to "Configure for PC - 320x240 - max 5 frames - audio to gsm-amr 12.2", I think you'll find it closer to 10 seconds. :-)

The thing is, the video clip is limited to available usable memory in the camera - which happens to be around 100 KB (per our understanding). So the way it works is, the camera records until the 100 KB is filled up, and then sends it to the server. (This recording, btw, is only done on-demand i.e. the cam sits there in quiet contemplation of life until a user asks for the video clip... ). The functionality is different with a webcam and our client software running on a PC - there, we can control the exact duration we want, regardless of resolution.

Hope this helps. :-)

- V.

chaicka
24-05-2007, 07:27 PM
First of all, Varun (same name as one of my classmate), it is a bold and welcomed initiative that you have demonstrated by coming forward in the public, exposing urself to the open.

Secondly, pardon the bluntness how some of us (myself guilty as well) have shared information and feedbacks. But having seeing u taking these feedbacks with a positive attitude, it gives us as beta testers the moral boost we, beta testers needed (some companies juz cannot take negative feedbacks).

I believe, by having raw outright feedbacks on all the issues faced, it allows the manufacturers/solution providers a good view on all the problems and hurdles that they have to resolve and cross prior to launch. Convert that to real business sense, it means the product or solution is well tested, evaluated, bug fixed and proven to be ready for the mass audience at its official launch. This model, sad to say, have vanished from many companies' culture...and I am glad to see another company joining the good culture and business model which I have seen in D-Link (welcoming feedbacks however it comes with a positive attitude).

Keep up the good work, Varun. And hopefully, HomeCamera.com will not forsaken those who have contributed to its success (in the near future).

Though I may not be very influential, but I do dare to say my words do carry some weights around the circles I am in...HomeCamera.com, u will not be fighting the battle alone.

Last but not least, what if the credits run out during our testings (one of my major concern, thus not fully testing it out on the forwarding to mobile (3G) yet)?

Oh...I have masked ur number, and would suggest u do remove it in ur post as well. You are exposing urself to serious problems later - hackers, scripts are available to fish for phone numbers to send exploits, trojan, etc...so, protect urself.

Hi everyone.

My name's Varun - I work with the HomeCamera team.

Thanks for all your feedback - trust me, we're working on implementing the fixes you've identified. :-)

First, on your HomeCamera configuration page, please change permodia.wilabs.com to www.homecamera.com - we've migrated the DLink interface to HomeCamera onto the production environment (where bandwidth issues should be less of a problem...). You shouldn't see video timeouts after this. If you still do, please let us know...

Basically, what was happening was this: the video request would come through the server (at the ISP hosting environment) to our office network (where the proxy was running), then on to the camera, then the video back to our proxy, then uploaded to the server, and then downloaded to your browser. Too many hops, two of which were through our office network, which seems to always be under external attack and thus s-l-o-w... <sigh>...

Also:

1. The archives problem should now be fixed - this is a hugely embarassing error - thanks everyone for pointing this out. We've had to delete old archives to set this right.

2. Motion detection issues: we're investigating this. Might take some time.

3. Audio in the video clip: I'm afraid there's nothing we can do to remove this...

4. Video streaming: Chaicka, you're right. We do not support video streaming through HomeCamera right now but will at some point in the hopefully not-too-distant future.

5. Mobile credits: A credit is deducted whenever an image or video is pushed to your phone. If you access via the website, there's no deduction at all. Similarly, if you access via WAP Pull (e.g. by logging into http://www.homecamera.com/mobile), no credit will be deducted. The deduction is intended to account for our costs in sending the link to your phone. Do remember that while the d-link dcs2120 test is limited to Singapore for now (and other D-Link offices in SE Asia), we actually have HomeCamera cctv/webcam users worldwide. :-)

While on the subject of mobile credits, yes, a mobile credit is also deducted for mobile activation. HOWEVER, you do not really need to "activate" this - it's there just in case two users register with the same mobile number... in such a case, how do we know where to send the image / video? Basically, you can keep using the system without activating the mobile number.

6. Chaicka, again, you're right, we're not ready for release during the PC Show. We should hopefully be ready around end-June. Meanwhile, thankfully, the system is working well with webcams and cctv cams (except the archives problem, which, we think, is now fixed).

7. Liangtam: No homecamera firmware in the 950... at least not yet (anyone from DLink listening? <hint hint> ;-) )

8. Richard: thanks for all the direct feedback you've been sending me. Sincerely appreciated and please keep it coming.

Finally, everyone, please keep the comments coming. We want to take this service to the world - I'm sick and tired of seeing all the "buzzy" and newsworthy services coming out of Europe and the US... time for us to take something THERE for a change! :-) All your comments are deeply deeply appreciated. (And if you could link to www.homecamera.com through your blogs, it would mean a lot to us.)

Cheers,

- Varun (9XXX-XXXX)

chaicka
24-05-2007, 07:30 PM
Interesting.....

When I got home, and rebooted the DCS-2120 (without changing the settings yet, as I was unaware of the change until I visited this thread), the HC settings are all wiped clean, ready as new for configuration.

Was it becoz HomeCamera remotely issued a command pushed down to clear those settings upon reboot?

Juz want to clarify so that I know it's not a bug in the firmware (D-Link IP Cams some have this bug before, where settings dun get saved sometimes).

chaicka
24-05-2007, 07:45 PM
Feedbacks:

Deduction of credit for mobile activation, and for each image/video pushed to mobile phone.

7. Audio in the video clip.

HomeCamera.com is unable to fix this. Probably it's due to the firmware?

8. HomeCamera.com firmware for DCS-950G

9. Auto Recording on HomeCamera.com, unable to set start time in PM, end time in AM. Error message: Invalid start and end time specified (Eg. 06:30PM to 08:30AM). Bypass is to split the auto recording into 2 separate scheduled events (Eg. 06:30PM to 23:55PM, 00:00AM to 08:30AM).

10. Auto Recording on HomeCamera.com, to select 12 noon as start time, need to select 12:00AM. It should be 12:00PM. To select 12 midnight as start time, need to select 00:00AM.

It appears that the time selection menu is designed with a mix of 24hrs format and 12hrs format. Thus, result in confusion to both users as well as the system.

siandiao
24-05-2007, 11:04 PM
Hi, just got to test this. So far I've been testing out this product & service, it looks fine to me, just that as mentioned in the above, admin password must be blanked in order for DS-2120 to work. Perhaps that could be rectified?

Overall, quite good, but perhaps it can be made a lil more userfriendly :)

varora
24-05-2007, 11:11 PM
Chaicka, thanks for the advice on the mobile number - masked it. Too late for me to do the same on all my marketplace activity though... ;-)

Re the bluntness, I didn't find anything there that was remotely objectionable - please blast away. I debated with myself the wisdom (or lack thereof) of coming forward as I felt it might lead to people becoming more careful - it really doesn't matter. Like you said, the more forthcoming the feedback, the better the finished product. :-)

Thanks for supporting us - and please do continue to spread the word around.

As for mobile credits, PM me and they'll be added. As many as you guys need. :-) Do note that a 3G phone is NOT required for this service (that's actually one of the reasons we prefer the video clip route instead of video streams...)

Warmly,

- V.

First of all, Varun (same name as one of my classmate), it is a bold and welcomed initiative that you have demonstrated by coming forward in the public, exposing urself to the open.

Secondly, pardon the bluntness how some of us (myself guilty as well) have shared information and feedbacks. But having seeing u taking these feedbacks with a positive attitude, it gives us as beta testers the moral boost we, beta testers needed (some companies juz cannot take negative feedbacks).

<snip>

varora
25-05-2007, 09:23 AM
Chaicka,

forgot to respond to this. We do not have the ability to wipe your settings clean... ;-)

Will report to DLink. Interestingly enough, I had my settings wiped clean this morning too...

Best,

- V.

Interesting.....

When I got home, and rebooted the DCS-2120 (without changing the settings yet, as I was unaware of the change until I visited this thread), the HC settings are all wiped clean, ready as new for configuration.

Was it becoz HomeCamera remotely issued a command pushed down to clear those settings upon reboot?

alanchia67
25-05-2007, 05:25 PM
oh dear, mine was wiped clean today too. but i've already change to the www.homecamera.com server yesterday.

alanchia67
25-05-2007, 06:50 PM
suddenly my dcs-2120 cant authenticate/connect with homecamera. anyone experience same problem?

chaicka
25-05-2007, 07:12 PM
suddenly my dcs-2120 cant authenticate/connect with homecamera. anyone experience same problem?
Ya, juz checked and it is not connected.
I m outside now, cannot troubleshoot.

Looks like it went down after 1805hrs... :s11:

richneo
25-05-2007, 07:28 PM
mine also down

seems like varun's team is doing some maintainance to the serber

most teething issues should be solved before pc show if im not mistaken

chaicka
25-05-2007, 08:27 PM
With 5 outstanding issues out of the 9 I posted, well, they need really hardworking programmers working round the clock to resolve all these issues, to be in time.

richneo
25-05-2007, 08:35 PM
yes they are very hardworking

where do u find someone holding high post to reply tech support email?

thumbs up to the guys

richneo
25-05-2007, 09:52 PM
its up liaoz

hear say motion detect also works now

chaicka
25-05-2007, 10:20 PM
its up liaoz

hear say motion detect also works now
Yup, juz reached home.....juz now ard 2100hrs, it works...but now, all my credit used up....zero credit liaoz...goosh.

Found new issue too...will update the list later.

chaicka
25-05-2007, 10:23 PM
Feedbacks:

http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb94/chaicka/HomeCamErr01.png

Deduction of credit for mobile activation, and for each image/video pushed to mobile phone.

9. Auto Recording on HomeCamera.com, unable to set start time in PM, end time in AM. Error message: Invalid start and end time specified (Eg. 06:30PM to 08:30AM). Bypass is to split the auto recording into 2 separate scheduled events (Eg. 06:30PM to 23:55PM, 00:00AM to 08:30AM).

10. Auto Recording on HomeCamera.com, to select 12 noon as start time, need to select 12:00AM. It should be 12:00PM. To select 12 midnight as start time, need to select 00:00AM.

It appears that the time selection menu is designed with a mix of 24hrs format and 12hrs format. Thus, result in confusion to both users as well as the system.

11. Motion Detected Images & Notifications are not sent in proper sequence. Also, there is a lag. Sudden spur of 5 images, then 1 images, then 2 images.....no fixed pattern but just randomly send notifications to mobile in bulk, result in a lag.

12. Motion Detected Images are forwarded/downloaded with extension .jpeg instead of the common .jpg when accessed/downloaded using mobile phone via the notification sent to mobile phone.

richneo
25-05-2007, 10:37 PM
bro the spelling mistake oready resolved.

firmware for other camera should not be there if development for dcs-2120 is not finished

varora
26-05-2007, 05:22 PM
Chaicka, there's NO WAY we're going to be on time with all issues. There's a l-o-n-g cycle involved in firmware development and testing... :-(

We're hoping, though, that the system will at least be stable enough to be demonstrated by the time the PC Show comes around.

Will get your mobile credits situation fixed on Monday. :-)

Cheers,

- V.

With 5 outstanding issues out of the 9 I posted, well, they need really hardworking programmers working round the clock to resolve all these issues, to be in time.

chaicka
27-05-2007, 12:37 AM
Chaicka, there's NO WAY we're going to be on time with all issues. There's a l-o-n-g cycle involved in firmware development and testing... :-(

We're hoping, though, that the system will at least be stable enough to be demonstrated by the time the PC Show comes around.

Will get your mobile credits situation fixed on Monday. :-)

Cheers,

- V.
Yup, that is a good news...stability for demonstration during the PC Show.

I think most of which is already there, juz one or two more to be fix.

Now that motion detection is up, I will be testing out what are the optimal settings in order to have a good balance between security (motion detection does act as security detection of intrusion), yet not taxing on the amount of credits used, plus sufficient amt of recordings (snapshots & video) for legal prosecution or aid legal authorities in investigation should it be needed.

chaicka
27-05-2007, 12:39 AM
bro the spelling mistake oready resolved.

firmware for other camera should not be there if development for dcs-2120 is not finished
Let me know if there is a new firmware, so that I can conduct testing based on the latest available beta firmware.

richneo
27-05-2007, 08:51 AM
Let me know if there is a new firmware, so that I can conduct testing based on the latest available beta firmware.
bro im using the same firmware i sent u leh

im using both IE and FF and din noticed the spelling mistake in "successful"

chaicka
27-05-2007, 09:29 AM
bro im using the same firmware i sent u leh

im using both IE and FF and din noticed the spelling mistake in "successful"
u saw my screenshot rite....so, cannot me I blur blur see wrong.

alanchia67
27-05-2007, 10:06 AM
Now that motion detection is up, I will be testing out what are the optimal settings in order to have a good balance between security (motion detection does act as security detection of intrusion), yet not taxing on the amount of credits used, plus sufficient amt of recordings (snapshots & video) for legal prosecution or aid legal authorities in investigation should it be needed.

is motion detection up? i will try also.

richneo
27-05-2007, 10:27 AM
u saw my screenshot rite....so, cannot me I blur blur see wrong.
u still seeing weird stuff now?

http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb251/richneo/2120.jpg

BTW my motion detect cant work leh

alanchia67
27-05-2007, 03:32 PM
yeah, mine is spelt 'Successful' also. it's resolved.

chaicka
27-05-2007, 11:21 PM
u still seeing weird stuff now?

http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb251/richneo/2120.jpg

BTW my motion detect cant work leh
Strange. Was there a firmware push from remote?
Prior to the recent HC configuration wiped out clean, the authentication successful was still having a wrong spelling. But now, I dun see it anymore. It's correctly spell as 'Successful' now.

Strange...so weird.

chaicka
27-05-2007, 11:26 PM
is motion detection up? i will try also.
It was up on Friday night...coz gf came over and I was in class...then handphone alert non-stop, and found it's the motion detection which detected my gf opening the maindoor...:D

Sent her the photo, she got a shock...:s13:

But the sensitivity was set too high (due to previous testing, forgot to tune down) and end juz flooded and used up all the credits when my gf keep going around hunting for the camera, and thus, keep activating the motion detection.

Now, I think the motion detection dunno working or not, since I got no more credit left. Also, need to play around to find the best settings (will share wif HC so tat they can recommend their customers) for optimal security yet not choke up nor burn up all the credits, someone all customers would definitely need to know (else, complain non-stop that their credits burn out and HC is juz pulling a fast way to suck from consumers - juz a way to describe how customers will react if their credits burn out like mine within an hour).

chaicka
27-05-2007, 11:46 PM
All automated scheduled recordings as well as motion detection seems to have cease functional since 27th May 2007, 2100hrs.

No sure what happened...but everything for my account ceased to function, even the auto recordings.

Also, anyone able to get video working? Coz none of the video I tried works...

varora
28-05-2007, 07:07 AM
Welcome to beta-land. :sad:

As for the "successfull / successful" thing, yes, we fixed that. It didn't require a firmware update (which is why we could do it ourselves). The way this is done is, believe it or not, we set a cookie onto the camera to indicate status. This cookie was earlier misspelt - i forwarded your feedback to the development team and they tackled the cookie issue first as it was easiest... ;-)

All the other issues are going to take time to fix... <sigh>

And I'd remove the 950G from the list of open issues - we need to get the 2120 firmware RIGHT first, get it shipping, and then look at how we can add support for additional cameras (each of which is likely to have its own quirks... ;-) ).

Cheers,

- V.

All automated scheduled recordings as well as motion detection seems to have cease functional since 27th May 2007, 2100hrs.

No sure what happened...but everything for my account ceased to function, even the auto recordings.

Also, anyone able to get video working? Coz none of the video I tried works...

hangyong
28-05-2007, 09:06 AM
just wondering, is it a MUST that I set the camera to work on port 80?

I am running on another port number, and whenever I request for a picture or video, it will keep telling me image/video unavailable after the waiting prompt goes away.

hangyong
28-05-2007, 09:19 AM
also, is the auto-rec function at homecamera.com working?

I am unable to add a schedule to auto record.

The "add this auto recording setting" button returns "javascript:void(0)" when mouse hovers over it.

agitator
28-05-2007, 12:31 PM
got my dcs 2120 working now....

motion detector not working ?

can help me set up motion detection ?

using gmail account what should i fill in the email setting ?

thank U!

chaicka
28-05-2007, 03:43 PM
just wondering, is it a MUST that I set the camera to work on port 80?

I am running on another port number, and whenever I request for a picture or video, it will keep telling me image/video unavailable after the waiting prompt goes away.
It was working...and broke on Sunday after 2100hrs.
But now, it seems to be working again, since this morning 1025hrs.

Hmmm, finally the video part is working for me. Previously, unable to view any video, even if it's triggered by auto-rec, motion detection, etc. It's now working as at 15:50hrs.

If u wan, I can add u to my buddy list so that we can collaborate better on the testings, and cross referencing settings, behaviours, etc of the service.

Motion Detection seems broken still. It was working on Friday night. Afterwhich, I have not got it working since Sunday's outage. Will test if it's due to new settings not sensitive enuf.

chaicka
28-05-2007, 03:45 PM
also, is the auto-rec function at homecamera.com working?

I am unable to add a schedule to auto record.

The "add this auto recording setting" button returns "javascript:void(0)" when mouse hovers over it.

The button returns "javascript:void(0)" is correct. Juz click on it, and the bottom section will expand out, with heading "I want to:" ...then all the options to set the schedule for auto-recording.

I using both firefox and IE, both works fine. I have J2RE 1.5.0_10 installed.

chaicka
28-05-2007, 03:47 PM
Welcome to beta-land. :sad:

As for the "successfull / successful" thing, yes, we fixed that. It didn't require a firmware update (which is why we could do it ourselves). The way this is done is, believe it or not, we set a cookie onto the camera to indicate status. This cookie was earlier misspelt - i forwarded your feedback to the development team and they tackled the cookie issue first as it was easiest... ;-)

All the other issues are going to take time to fix... <sigh>

And I'd remove the 950G from the list of open issues - we need to get the 2120 firmware RIGHT first, get it shipping, and then look at how we can add support for additional cameras (each of which is likely to have its own quirks... ;-) ).

Cheers,

- V.
Sure...I will update the link, since it's a compilation of all the questions/issues raised in this thread.

chaicka
28-05-2007, 04:16 PM
Feedbacks:

11. Motion Detected Images & Notifications are not sent in proper sequence. Also, there is a lag. Sudden spur of 5 images, then 1 images, then 2 images.....no fixed pattern but just randomly send notifications to mobile in bulk, result in a lag.

12. Motion Detected Images are forwarded/downloaded with extension .jpeg instead of the common .jpg when accessed/downloaded using mobile phone via the notification sent to mobile phone.

hangyong
28-05-2007, 04:24 PM
now that yours is working, mine cannot connect and authenticate to server.

also, in my archives, I suddenly have 2 links, to the same camera, linking to the same files....

chaicka
28-05-2007, 04:33 PM
now that yours is working, mine cannot connect and authenticate to server.

also, in my archives, I suddenly have 2 links, to the same camera, linking to the same files....
I got an older camera name in the archive list, which I am unable to purge it off...
But at least, u saw mine, it's working. Now testing the motion detection...

I haven't gone into hard-core testing mode yet...if I do, I believe more things will break. Eg. ports I still left as default, admin acct still default, rtsp still default, access list still default....so on.

hangyong
28-05-2007, 04:34 PM
chaicka,

can let me know your audio/video settings under the advanced tab?

Below are my settings:

General:
Configure for computer viewing

Video Settings:
Color COLOR
Frame Size 640x480 (tried 320x240 also cannot work)
Power Line Freq 50Hz
Max Frame Rate 5
Key Frame Int 60

Video Quality Control
Fixed Bit rate 40kbps

White balance Auto

Audio Settings:
GSM-AMR bit rate 12.2kbps

It was working in the morning though, I was able to get image, but not video, and even if I press the add schedule, nothings shows up.

chaicka
28-05-2007, 04:37 PM
Here are my settings:

General:
Configure for computer viewing

Video Settings:
Color COLOR
Frame Size 320x240 (tried 320x240 also cannot work)
Power Line Freq 60Hz
Max Frame Rate 30
Key Frame Int 60

Video Quality Control
Fixed Quality Excellent

White balance Auto

Audio Settings:
GSM-AMR bit rate 12.2kbps

chaicka
28-05-2007, 04:47 PM
Motion Detection:

Sensitivity: 70%
Percentage: 5%

*Note: Percentage I have never been able to set pass 5% to have a decent monitoring of my main door, and still get it triggered when there is someone opening the door. Sensitivity, I have tested to 70% (from 90% downwards).

Should anyone get it working below 70%, let me know...I think I will stop motion detection testing for today. Need to rest, still sick.

Somehow, despite the good surrounding that helps easier motion detection for changes in pixel/color, as shown in the photo of my main door, 10% percentage setting still don't work well.

http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb94/chaicka/HomeCamMD01.png

hangyong
28-05-2007, 04:53 PM
ok, its is now authenticated, and I am able to set the auto record.

however, when I click on the image or video icon, it will tell me image/video unavailable.

BUT! its able to record the video and send it to my email (under auto rec)

richneo
28-05-2007, 04:54 PM
share cam with me leh >_<

chaicka
28-05-2007, 05:02 PM
share cam with me leh >_<
Done.

No one wanna share wif me...

chaicka
28-05-2007, 05:03 PM
ok, its is now authenticated, and I am able to set the auto record.

however, when I click on the image or video icon, it will tell me image/video unavailable.

BUT! its able to record the video and send it to my email (under auto rec)
Probably due to the port 80 thing. Not sure though. I didn't change that value,....yet.

Once I complete (if bugs are fixed) the basic tests, then I will move on to hardening tests, coz I am a very security conscious person...so security is of utmost importance for me.

Let's see if the basic stuffs can get pass or not first.

hangyong
28-05-2007, 05:03 PM
miracle.. its working... need a smoke now... knn.... got mroe questions when I am back

chaicka
28-05-2007, 05:05 PM
miracle.. its working... need a smoke now... knn.... got mroe questions when I am back
smoke break never jio hor....hahaha.

richneo
28-05-2007, 05:14 PM
Done.

i shared mine liaoz :s34:

hangyong
28-05-2007, 05:18 PM
ok, the image part is working now.... but the video is still not working... thats when I click on the icons on the HC webpage lah...

chaicka's camera I can see both video and image, and my settings and his are the same, except for the port number I guess...

hangyong
28-05-2007, 05:19 PM
and just when I am saying.... I am kicked out from the HC authentication again...

chaicka
28-05-2007, 05:57 PM
Juz to share more abt my entire setup. The IP Cams are in the LSZ (low security zone).

http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb94/chaicka/Network.png

chaicka
28-05-2007, 05:58 PM
and just when I am saying.... I am kicked out from the HC authentication again...
u using at home's broadband?
Hmmm, seems like ur cam keep getting kicked. Check the log. Post the log entries, I may be able to see what can be the cause.

alanchia67
28-05-2007, 06:29 PM
*sigh*, have to resetup HC config in my dlink camera - it got wiped out again.

alanchia67
28-05-2007, 06:32 PM
Done.

i more than willing to share mine. drop moi a pm ok?

richneo
28-05-2007, 07:46 PM
*sigh*, have to resetup HC config in my dlink camera - it got wiped out again.
hey my settings was lost for the 2nd time too

wonder if HC did a "reset" to our cams

richneo
28-05-2007, 08:09 PM
u using at home's broadband?
Hmmm, seems like ur cam keep getting kicked. Check the log. Post the log entries, I may be able to see what can be the cause.
bro ur credit added liaoz rite?

richneo
28-05-2007, 08:09 PM
i more than willing to share mine. drop moi a pm ok?
bro organise an outing leh :s34:

alanchia67
28-05-2007, 08:21 PM
offtopic.. so where this time? harbourfront or vivocity?

chaicka
28-05-2007, 08:36 PM
bro ur credit added liaoz rite?
Ya, juz checked and it's added.
Will do more testing later or these few days. Hope the motion detection wun go headwire and blast all credits again.

richneo
28-05-2007, 09:47 PM
heheh they are the same to me hehe but i tihnk wee woo is crowded rite?

varora
28-05-2007, 10:06 PM
hey my settings was lost for the 2nd time too

wonder if HC did a "reset" to our cams

Guys, we CAN'T do that kind of thing. ;-)

I think it's a bug in the firmware. Reporting it.

Cheers,

- V.

richneo
28-05-2007, 10:12 PM
Guys, we CAN'T do that kind of thing. ;-)

I think it's a bug in the firmware. Reporting it.

Cheers,

- V.
could it be HC's firmware? :s34:

din experience it before using HC firmware hehehe

chaicka
29-05-2007, 12:09 AM
So far, I encountered once (confirmed) where it was posted earlier on.
The 2nd incident where hangyong and richneo reported, I didn't experience it.

However, I did experience some weird behavior of the http GUI menu.
The network settings (partial - wireless portion) were wiped out in the displayed GUI, but I can still access the device which is solely connected via wireless, thus no impact.

Another weird behavior is that sometimes, when click around the http GUI menu, some settings may show as blank (cleared out), but when u click other menu and click back to the menu showing settings wiped, the settings will then appear again.

Rare occurrence but it does happen.

liangtam
29-05-2007, 12:19 AM
Outing :D

aptget
29-05-2007, 01:54 AM
i can;t get the client to work, downloaded and tried to add my camera and
it simply crashes....

using normal USB camera, XP home

varora
29-05-2007, 06:57 AM
aptget: I've PM'd you requesting additional information on this. Do reply. Thanks.

chaicka
29-05-2007, 10:53 AM
Is the service down or server under maintenance again?
Images/Videos are not recorded since this morning 0800hrs.

richneo
29-05-2007, 11:00 AM
yar i kena it as well..

richneo
29-05-2007, 11:08 AM
got an annoying problem

i set auto recording previously and due to unforeseen circumstances the camera is removed and replaced with another one

However, i kept receiving the error message below. I've already emailed support @hc that i cannot access the previous cam to remove the auto recording but to no avail.

"support@homecamera.com" to me
show details 10:55 am (11 minutes ago)

Your auto-record instructions for camera testcam on 29 May 2007 at 10:55:00, GMT+0800 could not be fulfilled. This can happen if the camera is not connected to the HomeCamera System.

To login to the service, please click www.homecamera.com/login/

If you have any questions, please visit us at www.homecamera.com/support/

-The HomeCamera Team
www.homecamera.com

PS: Please remember to add support@homecamera.com to your list of approved email senders.

hangyong
29-05-2007, 12:33 PM
my set's settings are totally wiped.

and I mean totally.
its like it did a factory reset on its own.

what happened was that it was running, and then suddenly, I cannot access it anymore.

Off the power, turn it on, and everything is lost.

Could the processor in the 2120 be so overworked that it simply gave up?

chaicka
29-05-2007, 02:26 PM
Feedbacks:

13. Lack of ability to remove previous camera(s) connected to HomeCamera but no longer exists (hardware replacement, camera rename, etc), in both the archive list as well as auto-recording list.

14. Intermittent self reset of settings in DCS-2120 to factory defaults, or partial cleared some of the settings such as HomeCamera settings, wireless network settings, etc.

richneo
29-05-2007, 02:29 PM
add in another 1 more

there is no way to turn off auto recording if the camera is no longer in service

as a result, you will receive alot of those email from HC telling u the cam is down

chaicka
29-05-2007, 02:30 PM
Image and Video remote viewing via HC site and Auto-Recording resumed since approximately 11:15hrs.
Looks like another round of maintenance on their server(s) and/or application(s).

chaicka
29-05-2007, 02:32 PM
add in another 1 more

there is no way to turn off auto recording if the camera is no longer in service

as a result, you will receive alot of those email from HC telling u the cam is down
Modified point 13 to include the removal of camera listing in both archive list as well as auto-recording should the camera be unavailable for various reasons (h/w replacement, camera name change, etc).

varora
30-05-2007, 12:16 PM
Yup, this one's being worked on.

richneo: we've manually removed your auto-rec setting (as we don't want you to have to wait until the "feature" is formally released). Anyone else with the same problem, please let me know. Sorry we overlooked this...

Cheers,

- V.

Modified point 13 to include the removal of camera listing in both archive list as well as auto-recording should the camera be unavailable for various reasons (h/w replacement, camera name change, etc).

varora
30-05-2007, 02:31 PM
BTW, the service has been unavailable the last 2-3 hours due to firewall migration. Should be completed shortly...

varora
31-05-2007, 07:59 AM
Anyone going to the PC Show? Would love to catch up with you guys...

alanchia67
31-05-2007, 08:28 AM
yes i'm going to pc show

chaicka
31-05-2007, 11:42 AM
Tis pc show only 1 floor, may or may not go as i hate overly crowded places or events. Unless there is something tat really attracts me to go...such as good worthy freebies...someone buying me nice lunch...Hahaha

liangtam
31-05-2007, 12:15 PM
Going later :)

varora
31-05-2007, 07:08 PM
Very very very VERY seriously overcrowded. No room in ANY aisle ANYWHERE to walk. Moms, Dads, grandparents, babies - the whole extended family out... absurd.

Very unpleasant experience.

The only saving grace was the nice D-Link stand. And the HomeCamera demo there. :-)

- V.

liangtam
31-05-2007, 07:28 PM
You forget to mention lack of oxygen. I wonder if got ppl will faint there.

Anyway :)
http://www.gmeow.com/homecamera.jpg

chaicka
31-05-2007, 11:06 PM
Luckily never go...Simply hated such crowds...dun understand why some pple can bring their babies there, their grannies there.....for wat?!

alanchia67
01-06-2007, 08:23 AM
i think i'll be there again today. after comparing leaflets, and checking online, i've decided to go ahead to buy something.

varora
01-06-2007, 10:18 AM
:-)

- V.

Anyway :)
http://www.gmeow.com/homecamera.jpg

alanchia67
01-06-2007, 11:53 AM
is homecamera service down again? i managed to get 'authentication successful' in the dlink camera, but i dont see my camera being listed in hc website.

varora
01-06-2007, 08:22 PM
The quickest way to ensure you get a reply is to mail support@homecamera.com - I've been on leave today, struggling to get WDS going with 2 apple extreme wifi routers and only just saw your note (whoever said networking is easy needs his head examined... and if anyone's successfully got wds working with 2 extremes, please please please PM me...).

A lot of these issues should be resolved next week... the guys have been working hard on the performance side.

Cheers,

- V.

is homecamera service down again? i managed to get 'authentication successful' in the dlink camera, but i dont see my camera being listed in hc website.

varora
01-06-2007, 08:24 PM
A new firmware version is in. :-)

We'll make this available on Monday - most likely we'll just put it up on our site for download (it'll be at www.homecamera.com/dlink - I'll post here when it's ready).

Really looking forward to trying this one out (no, we haven't tried it ourselves - it's fresh off the oven, literally... :) ).

- V.

chaicka
02-06-2007, 01:29 AM
It was down since 11:25am yesterday...as usual, it seems there is a daily trend of downtime of a few hours.

alanchia67
02-06-2007, 10:02 AM
A new firmware version is in. :-)

We'll make this available on Monday - most likely we'll just put it up on our site for download (it'll be at www.homecamera.com/dlink - I'll post here when it's ready).

Really looking forward to trying this one out (no, we haven't tried it ourselves - it's fresh off the oven, literally... :) ).

- V.

do keep us informed when it's ready.

Lucky123
02-06-2007, 12:37 PM
Can't even get my webcam to be connected to the server. Keep prompting the Connection failed even though nothing wrong with webcam, internet or login. Anything is amiss ? I am on Starhub behind a router. Any port forwarding required ? Will not try out my 3 DCS-2120 cam until i get the webcam prob. solved.

varora
03-06-2007, 07:48 AM
Are you entering your user ID as your full email address? The ID and password are both case-sensitive.

Either way, PM your user ID to me, please, and also the date and approximate last time you tried - I'll ask my tech colleagues to look through the logs and see if they can figure this out.

Also, are you running a personal firewall? If so, which brand? (pls include this in the PM).

Tks,

- V.

chaicka
03-06-2007, 07:52 PM
Feedbacks (based on DCS-2120 for HC custom firmware version 1.01):

http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb94/chaicka/HomeCamErr02.png

13. Lack of ability to remove previous camera(s) connected to HomeCamera but no longer exists (hardware replacement, camera rename, etc), in both the archive list as well as auto-recording list.

14. Intermittent self reset of settings in DCS-2120 to factory defaults, or partial cleared some of the settings such as HomeCamera settings, wireless network settings, etc.

15. Intermittent self hang with pinkish LED on DCS-2120. Requires power cycle the device to restore the device back to accessible and functional status.

chaicka
04-06-2007, 07:02 PM
varora,

Is the firmware available? Or can send to us?

chaicka
04-06-2007, 09:45 PM
HomeCamera.com MIA after the PC Show 2007?

varora
04-06-2007, 11:35 PM
varora,

Is the firmware available? Or can send to us?

Found a critical bug in the firmware - we're trying to get this sorted out...

Best,

- V.

chaicka
05-06-2007, 07:39 AM
I oso found a bug wif previous firmware...the DCS-2120 will intermittently become not accessible via http, pingable but juz not responding and it also dun connect to HC when this happens.

varora
06-06-2007, 11:48 AM
PRE-HomeCamera, did anyone here ever experience the DCS2120 just randomly becoming unavailable? Like, e.g., the blue blinking light gets replaced by magenta or something seemingly on its own? We're seeing a fair amount of this and we're wondering whether the HC firmware has anything to do with it or it's something inherent...

richneo
06-06-2007, 12:02 PM
i din encounter this :s34:

sounds like ur camera lost ip from the router... blue means camera has got ip and orange/red means the camera lost its ip

chaicka
06-06-2007, 12:14 PM
I am using static ip address, as per network diagram I posted, it's in the LSZ (Low Security Zone) which means, it is solely independent wif static ip and using external dns server, and the internet connection is constantly on, no downtime during those 2120-inaccessible incidents.

However, from the analysis of the recordings, it seems that it is somehow related to HC website. Whenever it becomes inaccessible, there is a long period of outage (no recordings) at HC before the inaccessibility.

Wondering if it's somehow tie to the availability of storage space on the site, or some polling, or watsoever.

BTW, this problem is new. It happened everyday since last thur/fri, and had to power cycle it. Yesterday and Today still ok. Have not power cycle it yet.

I bet it has to do wif HC site/server(s)...coz it seems to be very frequent during the period of PC Show. Will monitor for a few more days and see if it occurs again.

Oh, anyone can recommend a freeware syslog server so that I can use it to capture all the logs to narrow down the root cause?

alanchia67
06-06-2007, 01:31 PM
my camera is also static ip, and it occasionally get's no connection to hc website, even though it is still active and connectef. but of course, sometimes i cant even get into the camera's configuration page through browser.

the only way to revive the camera is through the 'magic' button (the power button that is).

varora
06-06-2007, 10:38 PM
Some of these problems could well be at our end - we're still actively developing the HomeCamera interface on the server side. Just so you have an idea of the scale of the development, what we're having to do is write an interface server that PRETENDS to be a PC client and connects to the main HomeCamera server whenever a 2120 connects to it. And unexpected behaviour by any of these cameras brings the whole thing down... (except for the wired camera bit, which, as someone rightly pointed out, was first developed many years ago, and we've had the opportunity to clean it up a fair bit...:-) ).

We're working on all these issues, guys. Hopefully we'll fix them all sooner rather than later. Meanwhile, the more problems you have, the more areas we know we need to fix. ;-)

- V.

varora
07-06-2007, 03:44 PM
To anyone who got SMS spammed this afternoon, our apologies. A server module went crazy - I'm told this has been fixed and cannot happen again...

Regards,

- Varun.

chaicka
09-06-2007, 11:05 PM
To anyone who got SMS spammed this afternoon, our apologies. A server module went crazy - I'm told this has been fixed and cannot happen again...

Regards,

- Varun.

I was spammed big time while being overseas....not only has my beta test mobile credits depicted, it has incurred vast amt of overseas cost (yet to be known, wait till my phone bills come)...wat surprised me was the fact that I have disabled all mobile alert available in the HC interface (website) prior to my overseas trip, thus not expecting anything to sms in mass.

Can help to replenish my HC mobile credits?

richneo
09-06-2007, 11:08 PM
I was spammed big time while being overseas....not only has my beta test mobile credits depicted, it has incurred vast amt of overseas cost (yet to be known, wait till my phone bills come)...wat surprised me was the fact that I have disabled all mobile alert available in the HC interface (website) prior to my overseas trip, thus not expecting anything to sms in mass.

Can help to replenish my HC mobile credits?
bro iirc receiving sms while overseas is free for all 3 providers in singapore

unless u reply them or access the data from the message

chaicka
09-06-2007, 11:15 PM
bro iirc receiving sms while overseas is free for all 3 providers in singapore

unless u reply them or access the data from the message
Not necessary it's free pal.
It is billed under airtime incurred, juz like someone leaving u a voice message while u are overseas, it is charged into the airtime.

richneo
09-06-2007, 11:26 PM
It is billed under airtime incurred, juz like someone leaving u a voice message while u are overseas, it is charged into the airtime.
hmmm so far i've not been charged for any of my sms received when im overseas

im using m1

liangtam
10-06-2007, 01:39 AM
Dunno which evil operater you're on
Receiving SMS does not cost money.

I use SingTel Pay as U Roam receive SMS overseas no charges.
The reason why voicemail is considered is because divertion of calls are also considered as if you're calling the other number you set instead

varora
10-06-2007, 11:14 PM

In general, Chaicka, there's no charge for receiving SMS when overseas. It is not charged to your airtime...

That said, yes, I'll ask my colleagues to replenish your mobile credits - sincere apologies for this. I got around 14 of those myself...

chaicka
12-06-2007, 11:41 PM
A new HomeCamera-specific firmware for DCS-2120 - RC4 is out:
http://www.homecamera.com/web/public/dl/dlink.zip

NOTE: DO NOT set password for the admin account when the camera is first setup for HomeCamera. However, password can be set for the admin account after the camera has been configured for HomeCamera (still pending testing to confirm if this is true).

alanchia67
12-06-2007, 11:48 PM
woa chaicka, you announce the firmware before varora.

richneo
12-06-2007, 11:49 PM
woa chaicka, you announce the firmware before varora.
hehe maybe varun emailed chaicka and he announced it first hehehe

chaicka
12-06-2007, 11:58 PM
Looks like the password for admin account issue has been partially fixed now. The password can be and must be set after the camera has been configured for HomeCamera. The "Home Camera Setup" must be configured and ensured it has successfully authenticated, then set the password for the admin account.

Juz tested and confirm this method works fine. Will continue to monitor if there is abnormalities such as lost of connection to HC, settings get reset/cleared, etc.

NOTE: DO NOT set password for the admin account when the camera is first setup for HomeCamera.

chaicka
15-06-2007, 11:56 PM
It seems Motion Detection is broken again.....has not been working for the past few days, since the new firmware flashed, or maybe even before that.

richneo
16-06-2007, 12:01 AM
from the beginning of homecamera till now, i never got my motion detect to work before

chaicka
16-06-2007, 12:25 PM
from the beginning of homecamera till now, i never got my motion detect to work before
Strange...mine worked in the past (not initial but later stage when closer to the PC Show), but now it's broken again.

chaicka
17-06-2007, 08:35 PM
Reverted to the previous 1.01 firmware and now Motion Detection is working again.
Confirmed the RC4 firmware got bugs...broke the motion detection.

richneo
17-06-2007, 08:44 PM
reverted back to dlink original f/w

everything works perfectly for days :s34:

varora
20-06-2007, 02:07 PM
When you say motion detection doesn't work, could you elaborate? I mean, does it not work AT ALL? Does it work sporadically? Does it cause other problems? It seems to be working in "lab conditions"...

Also, try this: set the maximum file size to under 300K. See if it works then...

Cheers.

chaicka
20-06-2007, 02:29 PM
When you say motion detection doesn't work, could you elaborate? I mean, does it not work AT ALL? Does it work sporadically? Does it cause other problems? It seems to be working in "lab conditions"...

Also, try this: set the maximum file size to under 300K. See if it works then...

Cheers.
Not sure what happened, but at certain day, it simply stop working anymore.
I did everything possible but still not working, until reverting to previous firmware and it started working again.

The RC4 was initially working fine for days...read thru the posts, and u shld be able to identify the dates of when it worked and when it started to fail.

alanchia67
24-06-2007, 10:01 AM
anymore news on the new firmware update? this thread seems to die off after the pc show.

hangyong
27-06-2007, 08:21 AM
I recently have some problems streaming the DCS2120 to my mobile phone.

Previously it was all ok.

Then suddenly realised that it could be the newfirmware from homecamera.

So changed back to the shipping firmware, and lo-and-behold.....

Its working now!

So homecamera.com might want to look into that.

But seriously.... everything died after the PC show.... sad....

bigheadache
01-07-2007, 08:07 PM
guys am wondering is anyone can help. I have a DCS-2120 on firmware v1.02 and I cannot see a stream on my Nokia N95 using Real Player streaming. I put in rtsp://my url/live.sdp and it always says invalid URL... it doesn't seem to like the url..?!

I hadn't heard of homecamera.com till I found this thread... I don't particularly need it, but I installed it after reading this thread, but I can't see how to add my DCS-2120...

where is this firmware that integrates homecamera.com into the DCS-2120?

But really, the main thing I would like to crack is why my N95 won't stream the live feed... !!??

alanchia67
01-07-2007, 09:35 PM
have you tried using a pc to test the live streaming? it could be forwarding issue.

bigheadache
01-07-2007, 09:51 PM
have you tried using a pc to test the live streaming? it could be forwarding issue.
I can access the camera via http:// on my pc, i.e. http://url

there is no need to put /live.sdp into the browser

I can't access it using rtsp:// on a pc, not sure how thats supposed to work, I thought it only worked on a mobile...

liangtam
01-07-2007, 11:27 PM
guys am wondering is anyone can help. I have a DCS-2120 on firmware v1.02 and I cannot see a stream on my Nokia N95 using Real Player streaming. I put in rtsp://my url/live.sdp and it always says invalid URL... it doesn't seem to like the url..?!

I hadn't heard of homecamera.com till I found this thread... I don't particularly need it, but I installed it after reading this thread, but I can't see how to add my DCS-2120...

where is this firmware that integrates homecamera.com into the DCS-2120?

But really, the main thing I would like to crack is why my N95 won't stream the live feed... !!??
You cannot append rtsp:// because not all player or browser will know the standards.
This is also similar to irc:// on a old browser.

You have to specify the port on the URL instead.

bigheadache
02-07-2007, 12:12 AM
never said I was using rtsp:// in the browser

and I am putting in the port too, eg rtsp://my URL or IP:7001/live.sdp in Real Player streaming links but it says invalid url etc

alanchia67
02-07-2007, 11:30 AM
what URL is that? if it says invalid URL, likely the URL cant be resolved. when you ping the fully qualified domain name in the URL, did it work?

hangyong
02-07-2007, 08:19 PM
this happens to me when I am using the homecamera.com firmware.

everything is working perfectly once I reverted back to v 1.00 (which is the shipping firmware).

where did you get the 1.02?

varora
03-07-2007, 12:50 PM
Sorry for my absence...

Will look into the streaming issue - that really is unacceptable.

Regards,

- V.

hangyong
03-07-2007, 04:46 PM
Sorry for my absence...

Will look into the streaming issue - that really is unacceptable.

Regards,

- V.

note that streaming to PC is ok... only to phones not ok

e.g. I use Quicktime on your firmware, its ok, but cannot if I use the phone to stream

varora
03-07-2007, 10:41 PM
hangyong, if you can stream to a PC, you should be able to stream to a phone, UNLESS the carrier is blocking your stream OR your phone is set up incorrectly. I'm assuming, here, that you're able to stream to a PC *outside* your home network. If what you've been able to do is stream to a PC *inside* your home network, and you're trying to use the same IP / dyndns settings from your phone, well, there are folks here much more experienced than I in the ways of network cameras who can tell you what's wrong... ;-)

Do clarify.

- V.

hangyong
03-07-2007, 11:13 PM
hangyong, if you can stream to a PC, you should be able to stream to a phone, UNLESS the carrier is blocking your stream OR your phone is set up incorrectly. I'm assuming, here, that you're able to stream to a PC *outside* your home network. If what you've been able to do is stream to a PC *inside* your home network, and you're trying to use the same IP / dyndns settings from your phone, well, there are folks here much more experienced than I in the ways of network cameras who can tell you what's wrong... ;-)

Do clarify.

- V.

when I say stream, I mean streaming from home to anywhere outside of my own LAN.

what you mentioned is correct technically, that if it can stream to a PC, it can stream to a phone, unless the provider is blocking the stream.

However, this is happeneing only on ver 1.01 of the firmware.

when I switch back to the shipping firmware ver1.00, everything works.

I kid you not.

I tried on SE K800i, and Dopod D810

varora
04-07-2007, 02:29 PM
However, this is happeneing only on ver 1.01 of the firmware. when I switch back to the shipping firmware ver1.00, everything works.

Have you tried streaming with the homecamera firmware? That's about the only bit *I* could help you with - though the other folks on this thread are certified D-Link Gurus (or they would be certified if D-Link offered such certification... ) :)

chaicka
06-07-2007, 07:31 AM
Have you tried streaming with the homecamera firmware? That's about the only bit *I* could help you with - though the other folks on this thread are certified D-Link Gurus (or they would be certified if D-Link offered such certification... ) :)
FYI: D-Link (i think) offers certification, but it's for its business partner only, not for public.

hangyong
06-07-2007, 01:41 PM

erm.. the v1.01 I am talking about is the version number that I see when I was using the homecamera firmware, not d-link's firmware v1.01.

I have no problems with d-link's firmware at all, only when I use homecamera's firmware.

varora
09-07-2007, 03:08 PM
right. we're on the job. :-)

- V.

varora
12-07-2007, 05:25 PM
So here's the thing: I took a bunch of cameras home (with different versions of the HC firmware and one with the default dlink firmware), setup NAT on my router, and could access the camera through QuickTime but simply can't get ANY sort of streaming access via my mobile phone, regardless of which version of firmware I use. It makes absolutely NO sense - if I can connect through QuickTime (using the M1 HSDPA dongle), it's LOGICAL that I should be able to connect through my phone (N95). I even tried the non-HomeCamera 2120 - exactly the same behaviour. Went across to colleagues in Engg - they can't figure this one out either...

Anyone here who's streaming using a 2120 through an M1 phone? Could you share your settings please? And also which phone you're using... (Better yet, if you could PM me the url to your camera and give me access for just a day, I can ensure my phone's set up right so we can move on to the next phase of determining why the HC-firmware doesn't let you stream to your phone...)

Thanks a bunch, guys.

- V.

richneo
12-07-2007, 05:33 PM
rtsp://58.185.24.134/live.sdp

varora
12-07-2007, 05:58 PM
Can you access this via your mobile phone? Which phone? Operator? Settings? Thanks...

EDIT: Okay so I can get to the "Loading" page on my phone. But it doesn't get beyond this - I waited for 2 minutes before giving up... Still no change on my camera though... Can't figure this out...

richneo
12-07-2007, 06:07 PM
was using nokia 6280 on rtsp://58.185.24.134/live.sdp without problems

but swapped to dopod last month cant access until i installed philips platform 4

using M1.. can M1 reimburse me on my data traffic? :s34:

varora
12-07-2007, 07:11 PM
using M1.. can M1 reimburse me on my data traffic? :s34:

Not TOO likely... ;-)

The 6280 doesn't use Real Player, does it? Either way, do you remember the settings?

Also, for the router NAT settings, all I need to open is 554 (UDP) and ports 80 and 8089 (TCP), right?

- V.

richneo
12-07-2007, 10:26 PM
yup my 6280 doesn't have realplayer

u nid to open RTSP port
RTP port for video
RTCP port for video
RTP port for audio
RTCP port for audio also

chaicka
12-07-2007, 11:56 PM
yup my 6280 doesn't have realplayer

u nid to open RTSP port
RTP port for video
RTCP port for video
RTP port for audio
RTCP port for audio also
Hmmm...and yet the engrg pple cannot figure tat these ports need to be forwarded? :)

varora
13-07-2007, 06:45 AM
Hmmm...and yet the engrg pple cannot figure tat these ports need to be forwarded? :)

Why would they? As far as they know, the ports must have been forwarded - else how's it that QuickTime can stream? Which continues to be somewhat confusing - how's it that quicktime can stream with only 80, 8089, and 554 forwarded, while RealPlayer cannot?

Cheers,

- V.

varora
13-07-2007, 02:57 PM
So... after opening ports 5556 through 5559, I tried again, and here's the outcome:

1. Nokia N95 - cannot stream at all, regardless of firmware version (default DLink firmware or RC4 firmware which was earlier linked to here). Real Player says "Loading" and then basically goes into a deep funk. This is being escalated to Nokia, but I'm not sure when and if they'll be able to do anything about it.

2. Nokia 6630 (yes, we still have one of these antiques lying around...) - same result

3. Nokia something-else (candy bar HSDPA phone with smaller screen, not sure if this has been officially released): streams successfully if Audio/Video settings on camera are set to "Mobile viewing mode", even with the RC4 HomeCamera firmware. If set to HomeCamera mode, it gives up ("insufficient bandwidth").

4. Sony Ericsson (model: ultra-thin-keys-so-its-impossible-to-type-and-what-were-they-thinking-with-this-unusable-design-in-a-sms-crazy-country): streams with Audio/Video settings set to HomeCamera OR mobile viewing (fills the screen if set to HomeCamera mode). So the problem doesn't appear to be with the HomeCamera firmware.

Hang Yong: There's no obvious conclusion from this. It works on some phones, doesn't on others. May I suggest that - if you have the time sometime - you try the new RC5 release (I'll be putting the link up here before the end of the day) and try streaming with A/V settings set to Mobile Viewing.

While I'm on the subject, RC5 has fixed the admin password issue BUT introduced a new one (the audio default is set to AAC - you'll need to change it back to GSM-AMR).

Regards,

- V.

varora
13-07-2007, 05:16 PM
New firmware:
http://www.homecamera.com/dlinkFirmware/

Remember to change audio to GSM-AMR. Password problem has been fixed. Feedback invited as always. I'm going to Taiwan to meet the D-Link engineers on Monday/Tuesday - will consolidate and present all feedback I receive before then. Thanks a whole bunch.

chaicka
14-07-2007, 11:39 AM
Can we have the "Device Info" page showing a different firmware version instead of always 1.01 which can be so misleading and confusing. Why not something like ver 1.01.rc5 or some sub-version to denote the different firmware we are testing?

chaicka
14-07-2007, 01:38 PM
Test Case 1:
Use N6280 to access video streaming at rtsp://58.185.24.134/live.sdp, it works perfectly fine.

Test Case 2:
Use N6280 to access video streaming at rstp://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/live.sdp (2120 wif HC's RC5 firmware), it does not work.

Using external port probe, it is found that port 554 responded, port 5556-5559 did not respond. Firewall confirmed open and working fine as switch to another application and configure to run on port 5556-5559 results in probe detecting the respond.

Test Case 3:
Use N6280 to access video streaming at rstp://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/live.sdp (2120 wif HC's RC4 firmware), it xxx work (still testing).

Test Case 4:
Use N6280 to access video streaming at rstp://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/live.sdp (2120 wif HC's 1.01 firmware), it xxx work (still testing).

Test Case 5:
Use N6280 to access video streaming at rstp://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/live.sdp (2120 wif D-Link original 1.00 firmware), it xxx work (still testing).

varora
17-07-2007, 08:37 AM
Meeting the engineering team in Taipei in the next - oh - 2.5 hours. Will make sure i highlight this page.

Cheers,

- V.

alanchia67
24-08-2007, 04:54 PM
sorry to dig this thread - anymore updates?

richneo
24-08-2007, 04:59 PM
sorry to dig this thread - anymore updates?
i think there is a latest firmware located at http://www.homecamera.com/dlinkFirmware/

solved all bugs i think

so far cant find any bug

alanchia67
24-08-2007, 05:03 PM
oh, so the firmware is final? because in the connection type i've set 'video only' but in homecamera.com i still can hear audio.

nissan2006
05-02-2008, 10:58 PM
i m using WM6 on my pda. when login to my dnshome page, it says to install activeX. how to install activeX into WM6?

alanchia67
05-02-2008, 11:18 PM
you cant run activex in pocket ie.

nissan2006
06-02-2008, 03:57 PM
you cant run activex in pocket ie.
so how to view using wifi on my pda phone?

liangtam
06-02-2008, 06:51 PM
so how to view using wifi on my pda phone?

View directly from the camera? Not possible.
Use homecamera function.

alanchia67
06-02-2008, 10:41 PM
actually can. use 3gp instead - this camera supports it. so you open the router port for 3gp (i cant remember), and you can view video stream directly from the camera on your pda.

chaicka
22-02-2008, 03:46 PM
Reference: http://hosted.verticalresponse.com/261903/82f53bc4a3/1228000302/63480d9169/

Dear HomeCamera subscriber,

We’re almost ready to go out of beta – I wanted to share our thoughts on pricing with you and seek your advice on the same. Some other interesting updates: we’re running a cool video contest on YouTube where you could win a wifi camera or an expenses-paid trip to Singapore; we’ve recently received good coverage on Sky News in the UK; and wifi cameras are now on sale on our site.

(But first, a quick clarification. Turns out some ISPs have seriously tight mail filtering policies; if you're STILL waiting for your welcome email, your ISP has probably blocked it. The welcome email is sent immediately when you register - your receipt of this email means your account has been setup and is ready for use. Login with your email address and the password you chose when signing up. And now, on with the update...)

From now through the end of March, we’re running a contest where we’re asking you, our users, to create videos that feature HomeCamera and to post them on YouTube. The grand prize winner will receive an expenses-paid trip to Singapore that includes your return flight and 4 nights’ hotel accommodation (Singapore-based users: if you win, we’ll work with you to pick a different destination…). In addition, each week, the creator of the top video will receive a free HomeCamera-enhanced D-Link DCS-2120 wifi camera (inclusive of DHL shipping worldwide). Create something unique, interesting, use humour… and who knows, YOU could be our winner. Contest details at http://www.homecamera.com/contest.shtml

I also wanted to mention that we’re now selling the HomeCamera-enhanced D-Link wifi camera on our site. This is an EXCELLENT solution for users who need to monitor a room or location that’s located at a distance from their PC. It also means you don’t need to leave your computer turned on all the time – this is a wifi camera which will connect using your home’s wifi network. All it needs is a power adapter (a dual-voltage adapter is included in the box along with “converters” for the US, Europe, Australia, and Asia). This camera is available at a special offer price of US$ 209.95, inclusive of DHL Express shipping worldwide. Payments are processed through PayPal for your convenience and safety – you do NOT need a PayPal account and can use your card just the same as you would on any other online site. More information on the camera, including the link to the order button, at http://www.homecamera.com/Needacamera.shtml
(There are a few countries we do not ship to – please ensure you read the relevant part on the site).

Before I get to the part on pricing, I mentioned that we received coverage on Sky News recently. The link to the video is here:
http://video.news.sky.com/skynews/video/?&videoSourceID=1304895&flashURL=/feeds/skynews/latest/flash/technofile_080207_1600.flv
We’re featured around 3-4 minutes into the video. And yes, that’s me talking about the service. :-)

And now, pricing. By the end of March 2008, we expect we will exit beta and go commercial. After a lot of internal debate (and a number of emails on the subject from users like yourself), it’s looking like the service will be priced at an ANNUAL fee of US$ 14.95. That’s right – that’s US$ 14.95 per YEAR – that’s like paying just over a dollar a month. In order to keep the price at this point, we will supplement subscription with advertising. As a beta user, you’ll be eligible for a special discount for a limited period – we’ll announce this special price just before we exit beta but I can promise you this: it’s LOW. We will also have a significantly scaled down version of the service (with, regrettably, more intrusive advertising) that will be available absolutely free. Thing is, we’ve worked hard on building this service and we want anyone and everyone to be able to use HomeCamera without having to worry about the cost involved. While I’m on the subject, I should mention that our pricing is not [yet] set in stone and we’re open to your suggestions.

In conclusion, once again, on behalf of the entire team at HomeCamera, my sincere thanks for using our service. If you have any comments, thoughts, suggestions, complaints, etc, please do write to me at Varun@homecamera.com

- Varun Arora
President, HomeCamera.com
Varun@homecamera.com

stanley789
12-03-2008, 01:13 AM
HI,

My new DCS-2120 cannot connect.
The blue light keeps blinking after reset a few times + factory setting, after plugging in the ethernet cable

What happened?

liangtam
12-03-2008, 01:27 AM
HI,

My new DCS-2120 cannot connect.
The blue light keeps blinking after reset a few times + factory setting, after plugging in the ethernet cable

What happened?

Updated f/w yet??
Hook a network cable to it, assign a static IP to ur PC, such as 192.168.0.2/255.255.255.0, then try access the IP cam lor.

stanley789
12-03-2008, 08:57 AM
f/w? May I know what is that?

I am not IT guy, please tell me more.

Sorry.

liangtam
12-03-2008, 02:16 PM
firmware...

stanley789
12-03-2008, 05:41 PM
firmware...

Oh Firmware,

I went down to D-Link Office in JE.
The engineer tested my Internet cam and said it working.

I really need help.
When I try to configure it according to the manual.
I am stuck at installing wizard, because no cam was detected, I tried hard reset also useless. I ring up their technical helpline, they said they dunno.

The technical helpline said it my Singtel MIO problem.
Anybody using DCS-2120 with Singtel MIO?
I am clueless.

liangtam
12-03-2008, 05:46 PM
Where u stay?
Copy down ur wireless SSID and encyption detail, see if any forumer will help u ba.
Else, go down their office ask them configure for you lor.

stanley789
15-03-2008, 07:44 PM
hi Liangtam,

Been doing OT lately, will try it later..Thanks

chaicka
24-04-2008, 12:37 AM
D-Link has just released firmware 1.04 in April, however, after upgrading to this new firmware, it seems the HomeCamera function is still there. Is there anyway to wipe clean and have only pure D-Link firmware?

validebag
31-05-2008, 08:07 PM
I have a connection problem with DCS-2120. I've installed Linksys WAG325N Wireless-N ADSL2+ Gateway and Zyxel Wireless-N PCI Adapter to my computer. When I try to monitor using ethernet cable, there is no problem with DCS-2120. However, when I deattach the cable and try to connect via WLAN, I couldn't monitor although I did all settings regarding DCS-2120 through Installation Wizard.When I check wireless connected client list through the console of Linksys, I don't see DCS-2120. Apart from that, I tried to change the router and the wireless PCI adapter to US Robotics' products which use 802.11g, but it didn't work again. I think the problem is related to DCS-2120. The firmware version of DCS-2120 is v1.03. I haven't tried v1.04 yet.

allanzzz
01-07-2008, 10:37 PM
izzit ok to buy this camera to monitor outside my flat corridor?

chaicka
01-07-2008, 10:51 PM
izzit ok to buy this camera to monitor outside my flat corridor?
You may want to check HDB regulations if survillence camera is allowed to be installed to monitor public area.

bluesteo
21-07-2008, 10:56 PM
thought of getting a DSC2120 and try out homecamera.com but heard from some friends that it is very buggy and cannot do live streaming. if cannot do live streaming then no point.

Is this true?

richneo
22-07-2008, 08:44 AM
Do port forwarding and stream direct from the camera. Homecamera is good if your firewall blocks in office and you don't mind viewing pictures or short clips instead of seeing live video.

cdo_saturday
01-09-2008, 10:28 AM
Sorry to thread-dig. Is homecamera working fine? My camera just got 'lost'. :(

siron
08-09-2008, 05:21 PM
I had it set up for my mac, but my DCS-2120 cannot be detached from the ethernet cable as once I do that it will lose signal. I had set up my SSID details in the setup page. Any idea how do I get the camera to work wireless?

Appreciate your help. Thanks!

cdo_saturday
10-09-2008, 01:08 PM
I had it set up for my mac, but my DCS-2120 cannot be detached from the ethernet cable as once I do that it will lose signal. I had set up my SSID details in the setup page. Any idea how do I get the camera to work wireless?

Appreciate your help. Thanks!

Just to be sure, do the SSID and Password which u entered in the 2120 correspond to the SSID and Password in your wireless router?

Reboot the wireless router, then reboot the 2120.

chaicka
13-09-2008, 09:17 AM
Siron, which firmware version is the 2120 running on?

You may want to upgrade the firmware. I did mine and the firmware is latest (v1.04M1) yet retain the HomeCamera functionality.

It is now very stable with wireless connection, no longer having the wireless connection lose effect which required me to power cycle it once every few months.

t®ouble
30-09-2008, 07:20 PM
I've signed up for homecamera but havent installed the firmware
I was just wondering though, anyone know of a way to embed the DCS-2120 into your own website?
I just cant seem to get the code working

steventay
06-02-2009, 09:56 AM
anyone still using this? is it really good?

cdo_saturday
06-02-2009, 10:00 AM
i'm still using it. my dcs-2120 is configured with motion detection to upload photos to homecamera.com and when triggered, i get photos sent to my email acc and I can jaga my kid at home :o

steventay
06-02-2009, 10:08 AM
how is it compare to below...

http://home.singtel.com/consumer/products/mobile/value_added_services/mobile_livecam_overview.asp

M1 also have similar thing..

cdo_saturday
06-02-2009, 10:16 AM
how is it compare to below...

http://home.singtel.com/consumer/products/mobile/value_added_services/mobile_livecam_overview.asp

M1 also have similar thing..

I can't compare because I've never used ST's before. I don't know how it actually works with the 3G sim card thingy. Perhaps later the experts here will be able to advise you.

what I like about the dcs-2120 is its ability to view the feeds as long as u have an internet connection (or mobile with 3gp) without having to subscribe to a telco (like ST's where you require a 3G sim card inserted into the cam). but hor, I can't view live from my office because office blocked the ports :( so i depend on homecamera's pictures.

Jimny
07-02-2009, 06:39 AM
how much is this camera ?

And where to buy ?

Thanks

phazer82
02-03-2009, 02:46 AM
Hi everybody.
I just bought an D-Link DCS 2120 IP Camera. I managed to set it up to my wireless network and I can access it via the IP Surveillance Monitor Program which came in the package.
I have one small problem though. I cannot seem to manage to set it up so it can send Screenshots triggered by the motion detection to my email account. I would like to use gmail for this, because it's free .

What I've setup in the camera's software for the SMTP is:

Sender e-mail adress:MyLogin@gmail.com

Primary email server
1st SMTP (mail) server:smtp.gmail.com
1st SMTP account name:MyLogin@gmail.com
1st SMTP password:***
1st recipient email address:MyLogin@gmail.com

I've also opened up the ports for SMTP in my Linksys WRT54GL Wireless Router.

Nevertheless, with these settings it doesn't send any snapshot to my e-mail account.
Can anyone help me in setting up the SMTP server or tell me where I am mistaking?

Thanks a lot in advance !!

steventay
02-03-2009, 11:49 AM
it might be yr smtp auth problem cos gmail use different as SSL i think..

if u are using Singnet ADSL, u can use singnet smtp... mail.singnet.com.sg

for starhub maxonline, u can try smtp.starhub.net.sg

phazer82
02-03-2009, 04:24 PM
First I thought so also. That's why I made an gmx account. That doesn't work as well. In the output log of the camera it says : Timeout while sending email.
The weird part is that it sends pictures via ftp, but I don't have an FTP account anywhere so I must use an e-mail account.

nissan2006
11-04-2009, 10:30 PM
selling 6 months old dcs 2120 wireless IP camera.