PDA

View Full Version : So MANY PRICE HIKES this year!

windwaver
05-06-2007, 10:33 AM
1) GST in July
2) NETS
3) Eggs, ducks, Kopi, everything we eat
4) ERP
5) Death rates form people jumping into moving trains
6) I think in time to come, underwear also going up

:s13: , all go up except my pocket.

louisoh
05-06-2007, 10:43 AM
As spoken by Chow Lun Fatt... 'WElcome to Singapore'

More good yrs ahead..

redtea
05-06-2007, 10:44 AM
No pain no gain.. :)

tequila_powered
05-06-2007, 10:49 AM

Thank you for reminding me to replace my moon-surface underwears this month before GST kicks in together with other stuff....

psycnaru
05-06-2007, 11:00 AM
I thought ERP went down because of school holidays?

so go and tak the road there. haha

Kiwi8
05-06-2007, 11:24 AM
More "good" years ahead folks!

icecold1967
05-06-2007, 12:09 PM
Sh*t, everything go up except my pay.. :s27:

Sofa_King
05-06-2007, 12:14 PM

MRT fares going up soon ... quite expensive scraping off dead meat from train tracks :s8:

kurokami
05-06-2007, 12:22 PM
You can add the following:

- Medical costs
- Sports Channel on cable (if Starbhub goes ahead with plans)
- Taxi fare and surcharge (if Ms Lim has her way)

satayxp
05-06-2007, 12:28 PM
First few yrs after GE is like that one.. broken promises, remember?

zeark
05-06-2007, 12:48 PM
The worse is yet to come. More to come. They have a long list yet to announce.

In Life, only two thing are for sure, DEATH and TAX.

Soulhacker
05-06-2007, 01:30 PM
Must think of it via the MIW way. Having price hike is good. If we are not having any price hike, then some million dollars man might actually be more worried. Or another million dollars man might tell you without the rise in cost of living, you would still be living in kampong or some fishing village.

cannotliao
05-06-2007, 02:06 PM
1) GST in July
2) NETS
4) ERP

:s13: , all go up except my pocket.must add in the New fee hikes at public hospitals and polyclinics.

kenloonglow
05-06-2007, 02:22 PM
Of cos lah, after increasing most of the Gxv.ppl salary/bonus, need to put back $ mah.
All public things we used sure follow wan, esp MRT/Bus, stamps, power/gas.
Soon public toilets also charge back $

When u think u have spare $, they will spent your $
When u think u have saving $, they will spent your $
So, u will never have spare $ and saving $
Then u all will work till u "RIx"...no more retirement.

icecold1967
05-06-2007, 02:26 PM
First few yrs after GE is like that one.. broken promises, remember?
Just don't understand why those 66.6% keep on get fooled by them.. :s11:

cannotliao
05-06-2007, 02:34 PM
Just don't understand why those 66.6% keep on get fooled by them.. :s11:because they believe without them spore will sink & all the women will become maids in other countries.

windwaver
05-06-2007, 02:42 PM
You can add the following:

- Medical costs
- Sports Channel on cable (if Starbhub goes ahead with plans)
- Taxi fare and surcharge (if Ms Lim has her way)

1) GST in July
2) NETS
4) ERP
7) Medical costs
8) Sports Channel on cable (if Starbhub goes ahead with plans)
9) Taxi fare and surcharge
10) Bubble tea also went up by $0.30 from $1 (cheapest), that's a 33% increase

:s31:

satayxp
05-06-2007, 02:42 PM

cos when GE time come, MIWs will use fear tactics and try to scare ppl ~

cannotliao
05-06-2007, 02:46 PM
cos when GE time come, MIWs will use fear tactics and try to scare ppl ~what i see the younger generation not buying that. only those older one will scare but these people all dying sooner..or later..

windwaver
05-06-2007, 02:56 PM
1) Stock up on things I need now, except fresh food as it will spoilt
2)Kick nets away from purchases
3)I don't eat ducks, don't drink coffee. But for others, eat at home or don't eat at food courts
4) i don'tdrive
5)None of my business
6)Don't wear lor!!!
7) I go polyclinic, free one
8) No cable at home
9)Take taxi less than 10 times a year
10) So long bubble tea shops, I rather make my very own.

How do you get FREE polyclinic consultations?

windwaver
05-06-2007, 05:11 PM
Anybody got anymore hikes can add on :s13:

kenloonglow
05-06-2007, 05:20 PM
mrt/bus
movie ticket
KTV
PUB bill
beer/hard liquor
cigarrette

icecold1967
05-06-2007, 05:28 PM
How come nobody mention ministers' payhike?? :D

windwaver
05-06-2007, 11:08 PM
How come nobody mention ministers' payhike?? :D

Cos that one is expected

cal127
05-06-2007, 11:22 PM
And only things that affect us directly applies :D

Alex99
06-06-2007, 02:24 AM
blood pressure

duotiga
06-06-2007, 08:11 AM
blood pressure

i say "stress" :s16:

fre3dom85
06-06-2007, 09:02 AM
haiz.........

icecold1967
06-06-2007, 10:04 AM
And only things that affect us directly applies :D
But that one affect us diretly.... higher minister pay, so need higher GST .... :D

louisoh
06-06-2007, 10:13 AM
Its amazing that they can suka suka increase their pay.... giv crap reason to say peg to the top earners in the private sector.... it's like the Singapore finance is their own piggy bank... when the number of zeros in the account drop.. they increase this increase that to sustain their fat pay cheques...

I bet alot of the younger generation forsee that our beloved men in white will be raising everything after the GE... how come ppl still voted for them ?... the old generation is blind or got brains the size of peas ?.... They time all these to perfection... really... giv it 1-2 more years... NO MORE increase.. coz nearing GE again... they'll giv it 1-2 yrs for the forgetful singaporeans to forget everything.. throw in some scare tactics and some sweets (in the form of some $ package) and 66.6 will vote for them again.... wtf man..

The_Editor
06-06-2007, 11:08 AM
Hello, PM said 2% increase in GST is to help the 'poor'. Didn't all Singaporeans receive S$1000 over the next 4 years with $200 to $400 a year to offset your cost of living, off your many many purchases 2%, here, there everywhere...

Isn't this measure enuff for you in case of the ungrateful and forgetful Singaporean?

The GST hike is good for everyone still stuck in this city of 6.5M Chinese, indians... we gotta move with the times, look for more comospolitan.

Its amazing that they can suka suka increase their pay.... giv crap reason to say peg to the top earners in the private sector.... it's like the Singapore finance is their own piggy bank... when the number of zeros in the account drop.. they increase this increase that to sustain their fat pay cheques...

abyang
06-06-2007, 11:22 AM
Hello, PM said 2% increase in GST is to help the 'poor'. Didn't all Singaporeans receive S$1000 over the next 4 years with $200 to $400 a year to offset your cost of living, off your many many purchases 2%, here, there everywhere...

Isn't this measure enuff for you in case of the ungrateful and forgetful Singaporean?

The GST hike is good for everyone still stuck in this city of 6.5M Chinese, indians... we gotta move with the times, look for more comospolitan.

He talk, you listen... He FART, you "Tar-lek"!!! :s13:

windwaver
06-06-2007, 04:13 PM
mrt/bus
movie ticket
KTV
PUB bill
beer/hard liquor
cigarrette

To add to these, the hike by most shops out there are not linear at all! Example, $1 bubble tea went up to $1.30 (normal mike tea with nothing, 33% increase). A more complex mike tea e.g shakes, went from $1.5 to $1.8 (tea with lots of stuff, 20% increase).

This is just MANY of the hikes by merchants out there. The reason for most hikes are like, mike powder went up, sugar went up, etc, etc. Why in this case, is the $1.5 milk (which contains more milk powder, sugar, etc) went up by a 20% compared to 33% for a simple mike tea?

To me, this is just SENSELESS increase. Merchants are taking this golden chance to just increase. I seriously think it's just a fatter pocket for the merchants. The rich gets richer.

Tuakong
06-06-2007, 05:14 PM
let's just say we are all doing community service here.....the GST hike is to help the poor.
Everything increase is also to help the poor ......to die faster! :D

- manufacturer pays gst to get raw materials to produce/manufacture their products.
- manufacuturer then sells products to distributors/middlemen who then pays gst
- these products then goes to retailers who also pays gst for the same products
- retailers sell these products to consumers like us who also pay gst

so, net-net, gahment receives multiple gsts for the same product.

Simple theory-True or not? :D

icecold1967
06-06-2007, 05:19 PM
let's just say we are all doing community service here.....the GST hike is to help the poor.
Everything increase is also to help the poor ......to die faster! :D
Aiyah.... 2% increase in GST....0.5% go help the poor, the other 1.5% goes help the minister....

boogeyman
06-06-2007, 05:35 PM
soon poverty will be eliminated from sg......1 way or another.

kenloonglow
06-06-2007, 06:49 PM
see...all this chain reactions cause by WHO ? let trace back....

kenloonglow
06-06-2007, 06:50 PM
so, when poor ppl not enough $...go rob ? snatch ?? then criminal increase also.

zeark
07-06-2007, 07:52 AM
Than need more police, more judges, more prison. Means job creation. Positive direction.

Only two things in life is for sure, DEATH and TAX!

superman
07-06-2007, 10:59 AM
After the latest price increase involving ducks, Singapore have ban poultry and eggs from Selangor. Get prepared for these increase soon.

kenloonglow
07-06-2007, 11:52 AM
Hurray, can increase eggs $ and duck/chicken $ again! They want to compete local chicken rice $ with western country chicken rice $ mah.

Good sign leh, economy growth, cost of living growth, rate growth...everythings growth...except your salary.

boogeyman
07-06-2007, 12:36 PM
so, when poor ppl not enough $...go rob ? snatch ?? then criminal increase also.

well either way they are dead right? no money no one want to hire. rob go jail, then house loan who pay? can't pay then flat and property seized...when come out of jail sleep where?

that's why.....poverty will be eliminated 1 way or another

boogeyman
07-06-2007, 12:37 PM
Hurray, can increase eggs $ and duck/chicken $ again! They want to compete local chicken rice $ with western country chicken rice $ mah.

Good sign leh, economy growth, cost of living growth, rate growth...everythings growth...except your salary.

suck blood from stone

suck soul from life

kenloonglow
07-06-2007, 08:15 PM
we poor ppl can start learning to eat "paper" or eat "air"

Alex99
08-06-2007, 01:20 AM
we poor ppl can start learning to eat "paper" or eat "air"
And we can start to eat ppl "28 weeks later".....lol..

johnsonheng
08-06-2007, 08:07 AM
when the manufacturing pay the gst, they can claim back the gst from the governement,
the are some scheme for there.
one of it is call the major export scheme.
they will only file the tax every 3 months.
for the products which they sell oversea, it is tax free.
and for those when they sell to local company
they will charge gst and will claim back from the government at every end of account period.
this is ongoing till it reach the user end , which is the consumer. that is us.
i dun think there is any net net add on gst.
unless they company they themselve did not claim the gst.
also in order to charge gst. the company themselve have to be gst registered.
if not they cannot charge gst.
in a lot of charges in those small shop.
they are not gst register. but they charge gst
those money are extra income to them...

OppsGal
08-06-2007, 09:21 AM
hmm... Eat paper? Maybe will increase the price too. Yesterday's news say eggs going to increase price due to bird flu and reduce eggs production.

fre3dom85
08-06-2007, 10:49 AM
ever since this garment take over, everything goes up... i am so sad and disappointed tat the garment is milking us like nobody business

kenloonglow
08-06-2007, 10:52 AM
Their motto "STAND UP SINkapoh", so all must UP UP UP

nakorius
08-06-2007, 11:03 AM
ever since this garment take over, everything goes up... i am so sad and disappointed tat the garment is milking us like nobody business
This is what you get when you have businessmen running the country.

And a mathematician PM to do the figures.

elmariachi
08-06-2007, 11:11 AM
Now i know why LG is promoting actively in Singapore 'Life is Good'. Lampa. :s11:

ah_cheng1882
08-06-2007, 10:05 PM
SINGAPORE: Singapore Post is raising its domestic postage rates for standard mail for two categories by one cent.

These are for letters of up to 20 grams and up to 40 grams.

The higher rates will come into effect next month.

SingPost says the move is necessary because of the increase in the Goods and Services Tax from five per cent to seven per cent.

Postage rates for all other categories will remain unchanged as SingPost plans to absorb the two per cent incremental increase in the GST rate.

From next month, the domestic postage rate for standard mail up to 20 grams will be revised from 25 cents to 26 cents.

For up to 40 grams, it will be revised from 31 cents to 32 cents. - CNA/yy
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/281110/1/.html

cslkelvin
08-06-2007, 10:34 PM
SINGAPORE: Singapore Post is raising its domestic postage rates for standard mail for two categories by one cent.

These are for letters of up to 20 grams and up to 40 grams.

The higher rates will come into effect next month.

SingPost says the move is necessary because of the increase in the Goods and Services Tax from five per cent to seven per cent.

Postage rates for all other categories will remain unchanged as SingPost plans to absorb the two per cent incremental increase in the GST rate.

From next month, the domestic postage rate for standard mail up to 20 grams will be revised from 25 cents to 26 cents.

For up to 40 grams, it will be revised from 31 cents to 32 cents. - CNA/yy
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/281110/1/.html

singapore still got use 1 cent meh? How to pay 32 or 26 cents? :s11:

icecold1967
08-06-2007, 10:39 PM
singapore still got use 1 cent meh? How to pay 32 or 26 cents? :s11:
They say can only sell you a set of 10 stamps.

OppsGal
08-06-2007, 11:30 PM
The news says that foreigners feel a slight pinch in their pocket with all the increase in property cost and the living cost but still ok because look to the better future... hmmm... wonder why never ask citizen instead?

kenloonglow
09-06-2007, 12:04 AM

The G-force would like to dedicate this song to all of u : "Oops! I did it again" :s12:

windwaver
11-06-2007, 11:36 AM
when the manufacturing pay the gst, they can claim back the gst from the governement,
the are some scheme for there.
one of it is call the major export scheme.
they will only file the tax every 3 months.
for the products which they sell oversea, it is tax free.
and for those when they sell to local company
they will charge gst and will claim back from the government at every end of account period.
this is ongoing till it reach the user end , which is the consumer. that is us.
i dun think there is any net net add on gst.
unless they company they themselve did not claim the gst.
also in order to charge gst. the company themselve have to be gst registered.
if not they cannot charge gst.
in a lot of charges in those small shop.
they are not gst register. but they charge gst
those money are extra income to them...

Yes, companies can claim GST. So those merchants are just using 'GST' as a chance to increase their prices, just look at the bubble tea example I've given.

windwaver
11-06-2007, 10:53 PM
Sports channel of starhub is also going up :s13: , this year really year of hikes.

jerryl
11-06-2007, 11:11 PM
Starhub start joined the Queue liao, so which is next?

kyma
11-06-2007, 11:38 PM
I think there is also a price hike this May but not many people affected or even noticed it. That is, the price adjustment for SingTel public phones from 3 minutes every 10 cents to only 2 minutes every 10 cents.

yeah82
11-06-2007, 11:53 PM
welcome to singapore

i am really doubtful how are the poors are going to cope with all these, WHERE ARE THE HELPS???????????????

Ferolare
12-06-2007, 03:16 AM
Write into the ST forum and complain about the gazillion hikes.

See if it gets published or not.

My 2 cen-oops 3 cents.

brandon1987
12-06-2007, 09:52 AM
I really really want to say WTF LA!

This increase, that increase. I'm going to curse all the rich people die of severe heart attack now ah!

All the poor people eat what sia like that! %&$%$&&%

Money face... all of them!

MaxWeber
12-06-2007, 09:59 AM
Write into the ST forum and complain about the gazillion hikes.

See if it gets published or not.

My 2 cen-oops 3 cents.

no need to complain la.. unless u change ur surname to LEE ..

Depends on how u think, think of the big picture, price hike is actually good for the survival of whole nation towards a better future.

think of individual... knnbccb... earn $1000, get $800 ($200 CPF), minus bus fees, utilities, grocery, cable TV, SCV, hp bill, broadband and geylang lor X ....... eat frog porridge, really no more left. Think have to learn electronic piano and book a place at AMK Hub tunnel.

redtea
12-06-2007, 10:02 AM
My 2 cen-oops 3 cents.your 2c subject to gst? will only start in july you know.. :)

cslkelvin
12-06-2007, 10:03 AM
no need to complain la.. unless u change ur surname to LEE ..

Depends on how u think, think of the big picture, price hike is actually good for the survival of whole nation towards a better future.

think of individual... knnbccb... earn $1000, get $800 ($200 CPF), minus bus fees, utilities, grocery, cable TV, SCV, hp bill, broadband and geylang lor X ....... eat frog porridge, really no more left. Think have to learn electronic piano and book a place at AMK Hub tunnel.

eh..earn $800 per month dun think can afford SCV, broadband or even hp bill.

kurokami
12-06-2007, 11:47 AM
Look at it this way: if they don't do it now, then when? We keeping hearing about how great the economy is, how rosy the future is. Meanwhile, stories about Temasek or GIC making new acquisitions overseas appear on a daily basis in the papers (even Singtel's troubled Optus is planning to buy into Australia's broadband business, despite Telstra's vehement protest that the Aussie government is selling the country's only broadband network to a foreign government).

Why do I get this awful feeling that once this round of price hikes/ministerial pay rise are over, we'll suddenly get a dose of reality in the press that, guess what, not everything's so rosy after all.

Not that those on the ground can already feel that.

Deimos
12-06-2007, 12:00 PM
"7" in mandrain sounds like "rise"

so rise rise rise lor.

maybe 2008 we all fa ? haha

sorry for this rather edmw -ish post ~

I am equally frustrated that everything also "7"

windwaver
21-06-2007, 11:19 PM
I think there is also a price hike this May but not many people affected or even noticed it. That is, the price adjustment for SingTel public phones from 3 minutes every 10 cents to only 2 minutes every 10 cents.

Retirement age hike, maybe going to 65 :s13:

leaving_footsteps
22-06-2007, 08:57 AM
I noticed they are doing this one after another.

Nice tactics I tell ye.

How many people are complaining about GST hike right now? Most are concerned about CPF changes now. Something will come up next and the CPF chnages will be 'forgotten'.

kenloonglow
22-06-2007, 03:01 PM
Soon they will give us all a MOONCAKE package to shut off all our mouth. And then, nobody complaint all these anymore. all "forgoten" again.

fre3dom85
22-06-2007, 04:42 PM
i'll remember for the rest of my life.. coz i am scorpio... i'm not going to forget bout all this

publiceducator
23-06-2007, 06:32 PM
You gonna see alot of pple not hanging SG flag this national day.

kyma
23-06-2007, 08:18 PM
I bet you will be wrong. There will not be much difference in the number.

nuttyJas
23-06-2007, 10:34 PM

u know u will b FINE if u not going to hang the SG flag :o

windwaver
25-06-2007, 10:16 AM

Dun think so. You'll be fine if you hang it INCORRECTLY, how can you be fined if you dun even hang?
:s22:

kenloonglow
25-06-2007, 02:23 PM
This week no new thing $$$ hike yet ?

kyma
25-06-2007, 02:33 PM
This week not yet. Be patient, coming next week everything will have a price hike of at least 2% till you may not tahan anymore. :s22:

fre3dom85
25-06-2007, 02:33 PM
wah how many u want man... garment giv me 200 is like a 'kind' rebate for the 1st month of all the rises... and the 2nd month they take everything back.. nothing i can say

publiceducator
25-06-2007, 03:30 PM

You predict I won't hang? :D

pizza hug
25-06-2007, 04:05 PM
aiyoh, you guys sto complaining lah, do something!

for example, there's a petition against starhub's unfair price hike at http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/starhub_price_hike/

at least someone taking up the issue with CASE and other govt agencies!

If not happy, raise the issue, petition, cancel your cable TV subscription, sell you car, downgrade your flat.....there are a lot of things we can do, besides complaining! :)

pizza hug
25-06-2007, 04:43 PM
http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/starhub_price_hike/

This is a letter by TOC writer Leong Sze Hian to the Straits Times

I REFER to StarHub’s announcement that it will increase cable TV subscriptions by between $4 for basic groups and $10 for sports content.

This is an increase of 17 to 67 per cent. The reason given was that ‘the price hike is a natural result of ongoing increases in prices of pay-TV content”, without any mention of the GST increase.

When I received my GST offset letter informing me that I will receive $200, I began to recall the things that I have had to pay more for in recent months.

Over the last 12 months or so, there have been media reports about increases or announced increases in electricity, taxi fares, development charge for non-landed residential sites, refuse collection fees, food courts upgrading and food prices, bus and MRT fares, one- and two-room HDB rental, university fees, Goods and Services Tax (GST), postage, property tax, registration fees for medicines, polyclinic fees, hospital fees, car park charges, Electronic Road Pricing (ERP), Nets charges, ElderShield premiums, removal of medical fees guidelines, plastic bags, hospitals means-testing, electronic share application fee, a second postage rates increase, and now cable TV, et cetera, in chronological order.

All these increases or announced increases are not even related to the impending GST increase, except for SingPost’s postage rates increase which is ’specifically to offset the GST hike’.

With the economy booming, resulting in increased revenue, profits, surpluses, possibly lower costs due to economies of scale, et cetera, why is it that prices can only go up but never lowered, or at least kept level?

With the assurance that government fees will be frozen for one year after the GST hike, I hope that particularly those fees for essential goods and services that are not in the ‘frozen list”, like electricity, taxi fares, ERP, bus and MRT fares, university fees, health-care costs, et cetera, will not continue to rise again soon.

Leong Sxx Hxx

Have you told your boss to up your salary recently?

kenloonglow
26-06-2007, 10:41 AM
stop spamming every-where in the forum lah...petition agaist slackhub? i rather petition against GST/Nets/CPF/age70 hike.

windwaver
03-07-2007, 04:56 PM
Oh well, how to stop hikes in coffee shops huh? Before GST increase price, after GST also increase price :s22: . My barley water turned from $0.80 to $1.20 :s31:

brandon1987
03-07-2007, 04:59 PM
Meh.... those coffeeshop stores, really cannot increase price. They brainless la. Only care about chopping customer's head nia.They deserve to go to hell, as simple as that.

I long for the last time's 60cent a cup of coffee.

Inix
03-07-2007, 05:01 PM
I believe we've seen nothing yet. The biggest hike will come is when the property boom starts to hit commercial rental of small businesses. When you're talking about rental of small retailers jumping 100%, there is little they can do besides increasing the selling price.

And worse, most of the money probably won't go to them, but go to the big property owners.. If the Government do not start releasing lands and take action to cool the property market, I reckon our inflation will probably start to rise quite a fair bit.

D69
03-07-2007, 05:11 PM
My mineral bottle and all soft drink cans in my office vending machine increase by 10 cents, i wanted to buy books in Popular increase by $1++, my bubble tea increase by 30cent to $1.50 from $1.20 my haircut increase by $2, my salary hopefully can increase by $700, tmr gtg for intervirew ><

nakorius
03-07-2007, 07:44 PM
the only thing that comes down in singapore...

Rain.

windwaver
04-07-2007, 10:15 AM
the only thing that comes down in singapore...

Rain.

AND SALARY.

windwaver
09-07-2007, 03:58 PM
It'll be good if we can keep this thread until 2011 :s13:

evets
09-07-2007, 10:56 PM
all these hikes will be soon forgotten in the next election as government fish out for goodies for the sillyporeans...haha

tequila_powered
10-07-2007, 09:00 AM
Bread gone up 5cents, which is more than 2%.

lzr1984
10-07-2007, 09:13 AM
LATEST INCREASES

CGH (from this month)

Class B2: Daily ward charge up from $48 to $49, daily treatment fee up from $15 to $16

Class C: No change to daily ward charge, daily treatment fee up from $10 to $11

A&E: Attendance fee up by $10 to $75

NUH (from May)

Class B2: Daily ward charge up from $50 to $52

Class C: Daily ward charge up from $25 to $27

superman
10-07-2007, 02:11 PM
We should feel happy, it seems like everyone from Hawker Centres to Hospitals increase prices is not due to GST so everyone actually absorb them even though overall the increase is more than 2%. :s13:

windwaver
10-07-2007, 02:43 PM
Every month I see this increase, that also increase but funny thing is more bus breakdowns leh. Just this month, today's only 10th, I got into 2 buses that broke down along the way. So much for world class :s13:

kenloonglow
10-07-2007, 04:38 PM
wow...so happy to see got things $$$ increase again :P

So, r all the PUBLIC things (postal, SP, hospital) increase finish ? Whats' next ...guess correct got prize. hahaha

kyma
10-07-2007, 10:57 PM
MRT and bus fares! What prize you wanna give me? :)

windwaver
12-07-2007, 07:55 PM
MRT and bus fares! What prize you wanna give me? :)

Another price increase as prize :s13:

windwaver
14-07-2007, 01:27 AM
:s12: :s12: :s12:

publiceducator
14-07-2007, 02:47 AM
Everything rise for http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showpost.php?p=24600530&postcount=4 .

Not happy then http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1402550 .

publiceducator
14-07-2007, 05:34 AM
One more: http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1587614

Alex99
15-07-2007, 02:02 AM
all these hikes will be soon forgotten in the next election as government fish out for goodies for the sillyporeans...haha
I suppose by then, the 6.5milllion target would have been met. Thus the 33%(or more) of current 4.5million would be peanuts to make a difference.

With the new support for them, i suppose theres no need for them to give goodies to "ungrateful" us anymore. Just look at what happen at hougang recently(no more free breakfasts). Because by then our numbers are insignificant.

publiceducator
15-07-2007, 02:15 AM
33% against elites who are already in power... lol.

The_Republic
15-07-2007, 02:16 AM
I suppose by then, the 6.5milllion target would have been met. Thus the 33%(or more) of current 4.5million would be peanuts to make a difference.

With the new support for them, i suppose theres no need for them to give goodies to "ungrateful" us anymore. Just look at what happen at hougang recently(no more free breakfasts). Because by then our numbers are insignificant.
Maybe the plan is to dump all the First Generation Foreign Talents at Potong Pasir and Hougang. PAP sure will win liao...lol.....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IOqGIbEHoMs

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_j0UCAgh9Es&mode=related&search=

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4KEjTt8s-c0

publiceducator
15-07-2007, 04:01 AM
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showpost.php?p=24610789&postcount=12

chriscel
15-07-2007, 01:26 PM
We should feel happy, it seems like everyone from Hawker Centres to Hospitals increase prices is not due to GST so everyone actually absorb them even though overall the increase is more than 2%. :s13:

What so happy about everyone is absorb it ? Why not the GOV absorb it ? We pay him 2 million to get this kind of result. It's a joke right ? Let pray and hope what he does is right...
The middle and higher class Singaporean are just yellow and chicken. comfortable with their lives. People like me at the below class have a fight for live everyday.

windwaver
16-07-2007, 11:50 AM

So no more 'free breakfast'? How are those poor people going to survive? :s8:

The_Republic
16-07-2007, 12:03 PM
So no more 'free breakfast'? How are those poor people going to survive? :s8:

Maybe the plan is to replace all the poor people with First Generation Foreign Talents at Potong Pasir and Hougang. PAP sure will win liao...lol.....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_j0U...=related&search (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_j0UCAgh9Es&mode=related&search)=

windwaver
23-07-2007, 11:46 AM
Maybe the plan is to replace all the poor people with First Generation Foreign Talents at Potong Pasir and Hougang. PAP sure will win liao...lol.....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_j0U...=related&search (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_j0UCAgh9Es&mode=related&search)=

As a matter of fact, it's doesn't matter who rules (none of my business anyway). All I want is a party that can make life easier staying in S'pore. It's crazy when both husband and wife NEEDs to work just to SURVIVE, not even talking about having kids.

eskimopalm
23-07-2007, 02:27 PM
Share with you my exp with Mcdonald while buying ice cream cone, happen a few weeks back.
Me: Two ice cream vanilla cone
Mac Gal: make ice creams
Me: there, one dollar
Mac Gal: ice cream qi ja le lei. (Ice cream price increase)
Mac Gal: Now $1.20
Me: I look at her, also lan lan pay. :o

The scenario like the one advertising on national TV. Everytime i see this ad, i will still laugh, togather with my wife.

LouiseBrown
23-07-2007, 09:36 PM
Juz checked Channelnewsasia forum.

Never knew dat IRAS pays e-payment collectors like AXN, SingPost commission for GST collected. Now GST go up from 5% to 7%, these agents enjoy 40% increase in commission revenue. Wonder why then is NETS raising charges??

http://forum.channelnewsasia.com/viewtopic.php?t=72365&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=70 (http://)

stingray21
23-07-2007, 10:43 PM
U guys can complain all u want. Remember, S'poreans have SHORT TERM MEMORIES. When the times come, all these prices raises will be forgive and forget. Thanks to the current 66% of YOU !!!

Starmaster
23-07-2007, 11:21 PM

u from the pap media group ? :s13:

D69
24-07-2007, 11:23 AM
waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa my $300 - $400 a year is alot man!!! Waaaaaaaaaaa next time I see PM LEE I will kneel in front of him and shed tears of gratitude for giving me this $$$ every year hor. I will get all my family to kiss his golden shoe too, Im too grateful for words!

Nvm that everything else is rising more than 2% and that $300-$400 lasted me for 1 month worth of increase nia, I totally adore PM Lee's Policy that we must keep ahead in competition! The 2% increase is nothing! I am willing to give 10% GST to PM Lee to fatten his gahmen coffers and Temasek Holdings Assets! Thats all matters!

Dun play play! We have the best government around in the world! We have the 100% corrupt free nepotism free government governance in the world! Nvm that PM Lee's Xiao Lee is just a 2LT! He can KPKB all he wants in SAF! Nvm that pple like us have to tahan long waiting for bus, taxi, not enough blood in the blood bank, my father dying at Causeway because our gahment officers dun dare to use CPR!

Its all our fault! The gahmen is always right and its true mah! Didnt it say so in our newspapers and TV? It must be mah hor?

Battousai02
24-07-2007, 11:42 AM

coz when election time, the one that make us suffer diam diam, then caring ones become frontline defenders for their party, after that..the one that make us suffer take power, and some of the caring ones remain unknown.

one= those incharge of their turf.

fbap9467
24-07-2007, 02:33 PM
1000 over 4 years = 250 a year average
2% of X = 250, means X=12,500

If your spend less than 12,500 a year on goods and services that attracts GST, the off set package is more than enough. If you spend more, you are worst off. 12,500 a year is roughly 1000 a month.

windwaver
24-07-2007, 02:55 PM
1000 over 4 years = 250 a year average
2% of X = 250, means X=12,500

If your spend less than 12,500 a year on goods and services that attracts GST, the off set package is more than enough. If you spend more, you are worst off. 12,500 a year is roughly 1000 a month.

In these days of rising cost, who spends only $1K a month? :s22: . That means spending $12K a year only! Food alone takes up more than $500 a month, not to mention transport, bills.

Unless you just eat the bare minimum, stay at home straight after work, dun go out during weekends. There's no way to just spend $12K a year :s22:

boogeyman
24-07-2007, 02:57 PM
i think it will be amazing if this forum can last for another few more years. soon internet cost and cost of running forum servers may go so high, that free forum service may be cut, and only paid subscribers can post.

kenloonglow
24-07-2007, 03:09 PM
66.6% this is your FUTURE: eat, work, sleep, eat, work, sleep till age 70. only stay home watch SG TV to support local show, no other entertainment.

$1k for single maybe can, got family, babies, childrens school...see u can spent < $1k

superman
24-07-2007, 03:18 PM
66.6% this is your FUTURE: eat, work, sleep, eat, work, sleep till age 70. only stay home watch SG TV to support local show, no other entertainment.

$1k for single maybe can, got family, babies, childrens school...see u can spent < $1k

U forget hospitalisation fee when u grow old. Tats the real killer.

publiceducator
24-07-2007, 03:29 PM

pple would rather die immediately :s16:

The_Republic
25-07-2007, 02:15 AM
How expensive Singapore can become.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_90PnKY14k8&mode=related&search=

michael2000
25-07-2007, 07:40 PM
How expensive Singapore can become.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_90PnKY14k8&mode=related&search=

The GST increase is about 1 month old.

Frankly how many of us are not fed up. Most of the times goods have increased not by 2% GST but much much more!

I used to pay $1.10 for a can drink. Now is $1.20 and some coffee stalls $140/$1.60

A bowl of noddles at $3.00 is $3.50

Not much has been heard from the govt about price hike nowadays. Why not a sound on the GST increase? For these few months, the low income pple maybe can tahan with the GST package but the miserable pay-out cannot last long really!

MyNameIsEarl
27-07-2007, 08:59 AM
For lunch at work, I eat 95cent buns (NTUC). Comes in pack of 6, can last 3 days. So that's 95cents for 3 days. And drink plain water. Literally I'm eating bread and water. In Singapore, can you imagine that.

thomas00
27-07-2007, 10:13 AM
The govt had given all the retailers and shop owners an excuse to increase their prices, and based on my observation, most took advantage of this opportunity. At the end of the day, workers and the man-on-the-street suffers.

The GST increase is about 1 month old.

Frankly how many of us are not fed up. Most of the times goods have increased not by 2% GST but much much more!

I used to pay $1.10 for a can drink. Now is $1.20 and some coffee stalls $140/$1.60

A bowl of noddles at $3.00 is $3.50

Not much has been heard from the govt about price hike nowadays. Why not a sound on the GST increase? For these few months, the low income pple maybe can tahan with the GST package but the miserable pay-out cannot last long really!

michael2000
30-07-2007, 11:40 AM
For lunch at work, I eat 95cent buns (NTUC). Comes in pack of 6, can last 3 days. So that's 95cents for 3 days. And drink plain water. Literally I'm eating bread and water. In Singapore, can you imagine that.

Is this the way we live! What is the point?

eskimopalm
31-07-2007, 11:44 AM

I have also learn hard and behave this way. In general, the economy is doing very well. hmmm. and i am still struck with the same pay. So when and if it take a downturn, i will still expect a retrench and dun expect any help from PAP. Till then, you will live off your means, so i choose the way 'suffer now, enjoy later', leave sillypore.

The govt had given all the retailers and shop owners an excuse to increase their prices, and based on my observation, most took advantage of this opportunity. At the end of the day, workers and the man-on-the-street suffers.

Retailers will yell its 'the market rate' mah. You increase i also increase. and Govt says its not a concern at all.

D69
31-07-2007, 12:19 PM

I buy bread (1.60; increase 5 cents liao) to make breakfast every day from mon to fri. Put Choc/banana butter on it can last me through lunch.

Go home either ta pao 3.50 or 4.00 from food court or cook mee + hotdog or egg. Spend $$$ on fruit, and milk, and my wife make barley water, cheap and good when put in fridge.

fre3dom85
31-07-2007, 01:52 PM
unfortunately elites don't recognize the problem.

kenloonglow
31-07-2007, 02:32 PM
Not just 2% up, bought a Coffe Bean cheese-cake for my wife ytd, increase from $4.7 to $5 now :(

Well, ytd saw the news of our public BUS start action liau. introduce million$ of "satelite display", "picturial tourist board"...then sure will use as excuse to raise the ...ahem...ahem...due to operational cost blah blah blah

Soulhacker
31-07-2007, 03:02 PM
unfortunately elites don't recognize the problem.

Aiyoh, what problem. The elite would even see this as a good thing rather than a problem. According to a certain MIW, he would be more worried if there is no increase of cost of living in the little red dot, as it would meant we would all be living in some backwater kampong catching fish rather than living in the first world world class extraordinary society that we are enjoying right now.

So if you were suffering under the same swiss standard of living that the elite are enjoying right now because of all this increase in cost of living, then sorry lor, must get out of their uncaring elite face and should blame ourselves for not being as elite as them lor. That is their kind of mindset, lah.

D69
31-07-2007, 03:08 PM
Aiyoh, what problem. The elite would even see this as a good thing rather than a problem. According to a certain MIW, he would be more worried if there is no increase of cost of living in the little red dot, as it would meant we would all be living in some backwater kampong catching fish rather than living in the first world world class extraordinary society that we are enjoying right now.

So if you were suffering under the same swiss standard of living that the elite are enjoying right now because of all this increase in cost of living, then sorry lor, must get out of their uncaring elite face and should blame ourselves for not being as elite as them lor. That is their kind of mindset, lah.

as any society matures, this is increasingly prevalent and the gap between the have and have nots will widen. Now the system seem to be ok, in actual fact to many pple esp those in the lower tier things are not so rosy and of cuz to us the system is f**Ked up, to those living the life of cuz it is natural not to feel our concerns (who cares anyway) until the foreseeable future when u have more widespread unrest, riots, election upsets.

to be honest, once lao lee passes on, dun be surprise PAP will be on a slippery road downwards and other parties rise up to help tackle the future problems of the rich poor gap divide. Right now, the system is still tight, the holes not so obvious, if you are patient, wait for a decade or two, you will be surprised how Singapore will be then.

chriscel
31-07-2007, 04:50 PM
I use to have breakfast in the morning before I go to work in Jurong East. The rice dumping in the NTUC store use to cost $1.20 in June and have rise to $1.60 in 01 July. That's a 33 % increase in price.

publiceducator
31-07-2007, 05:09 PM
as any society matures, this is increasingly prevalent and the gap between the have and have nots will widen. Now the system seem to be ok, in actual fact to many pple esp those in the lower tier things are not so rosy and of cuz to us the system is f**Ked up, to those living the life of cuz it is natural not to feel our concerns (who cares anyway) until the foreseeable future when u have more widespread unrest, riots, election upsets.

No need wait so long, can see liao.
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1673689&page=5&pp=15

ytd] saw the news of our public BUS start action liau. introduce million$ of "satelite display", "picturial tourist board"...then sure will use as excuse to raise the ...ahem...ahem...due to operational cost blah blah blah

Just bombard them with these lo:
1) Dirty buses, see link below:
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/viewPost3758.aspx
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/viewPost3870.aspx

2)Heartless driver, see link below:
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/viewPost4276.aspx
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/viewPost4311.aspx

3)More accidently, see link below:
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/viewPost3584.aspx
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/viewPost3566.aspx
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/viewPost4396.aspx

4)Bus schedule unreliable during peak hours, see link below:
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/viewPost3491.aspx

5)Careless SBS staff, see link below:
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/viewPost4419.aspx

6)Sardin Singaporean everyday, see link below:
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/viewPost3767.aspx
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/viewPost4013.aspx

7)Buses with problems, see link below:
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/viewPost3870.aspx
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/viewPost3710.aspx

8)Bus driver bullied, see link below:
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/viewPost4078.aspx

I'm sure ronlee85 would be the first to comprain 4 the majority. :s12:

Soulhacker
31-07-2007, 05:31 PM

to be honest, once lao lee passes on, dun be surprise PAP will be on a slippery road downwards and other parties rise up to help tackle the future problems of the rich poor gap divide. Right now, the system is still tight, the holes not so obvious, if you are patient, wait for a decade or two, you will be surprised how Singapore will be then.

Aiyah, don't worry. First of all, Sinkaporeans only dare to start a riot to fight over hello kitty, but they won’t dare to even stand quietly holding any sign to protest anything. Some mavericks only wear brown T-shirt to meet in MRT and see how many plain clothes had been deployed? 4 hooligans try to pull a stunt like that and see how many riot polices had been activated to ensure that riot and unrest would never happened here? Even during IMF time you have to protest within their box rather than out of their box, leh. Must had some faith with our Home Affair to control thing mah, you think they get pay rise for nothing one, meh?

Some more our leaders are after all the first world world class extraordinary kind of talents, the top brains that no other mediocre nations in this world could afford to have, sure can anticipate this kind of thing one. I won’t be surprised at all that the 666 would be continue to give our extraordinary leaders the mandate they needed to anyhow change this and change that in our system that, either it become impossible for any opposition party to take over, or if they did, it would be considered as a freak result and our top notch highly professional and efficient SAF lead by all the smart scholar generals would later start a coup to save us all from our mistake one.

For example if one day our extraordinary leaders want to claim it is very very important to give our PM more power like nominate who and who for what and what committee, you dare to say no? Even if you only voice your concern nia you would be slap with trying to spread conspiracy theory and might end up ganna sue until drop pant to Holland like some hooligan in the past. If you keep quiet and think you can just vote no, 80+ yesman against 2 hooligans trouble makers that need to be fixed, who win? Even if the votes were to be decided by people power, 666 for upgrading and more GDP growth against the 333 for more check & balance and good for nothing democracy, who win?

So don’t worry lah, our leaders all so extraordinary, our rich and elite all understand why welfare is dirty and our 666 all so farsighted and know what is best for our future, such as upgrading and progress package and such. With all of their combine effort in moving us head and leaving the nobody behind, we won’t end up becoming like one of those mediocre good for nothing nation one who always got protest and unrest, lah.

D69
31-07-2007, 11:10 PM
You can add another endless BUS PRICE INCREASE to the list for the umpteen time again

publiceducator
31-07-2007, 11:39 PM
more good years ahead!

publiceducator
01-08-2007, 09:05 PM
wooooooooohoooooooooooooooo!!! got watch news? hmm... who's going to commit suicide next.

daylight
01-08-2007, 10:30 PM
You can add another endless BUS PRICE INCREASE to the list for the umpteen time again

u r so correct.
your guess is early by 1 day only.

windwaver
02-10-2007, 10:38 AM
u r so correct.
your guess is early by 1 day only.

1st October 2007 marks another date for public transport hikes.

Public transport is considered expensive, taking into consideration that this is 'PUBLIC'. I know of a lot of peers who earns $2K+ a month and spends $150~$200 on transport alone (only bus and train, no cab at all).

How does spending 8~10% of your take home pay on 'PUBLIC' transport sound?

whytespot
02-10-2007, 10:41 AM
so much for children's day...

Inix
02-10-2007, 11:04 AM
1st October 2007 marks another date for public transport hikes.

Public transport is considered expensive, taking into consideration that this is 'PUBLIC'. I know of a lot of peers who earns $2K+ a month and spends $150~$200 on transport alone (only bus and train, no cab at all).

How does spending 8~10% of your take home pay on 'PUBLIC' transport sound?
My wife is one of those. But to be fair, this isn't so uniquely Singapore anyway.

windwaver
02-10-2007, 11:44 AM
My wife is one of those. But to be fair, this isn't so uniquely Singapore anyway.

I wouldn't say all but majority of the countries I know pretty much have a choice, i.e they can drive cheaply, cycle, walk, cab, train, bus, etc.

Not to mention public transport is actually a lose $$ business but since it's public, it's run with great fundings from govt.

kenloonglow
02-10-2007, 01:41 PM
look like "Private" transport now...all $$$ for funding their organisation.

eskimopalm
03-10-2007, 01:10 AM
for documenting purpose. All start 1st Oct

Electricity tariffs to go up
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stor.../301971/1/.html

Fare hike for public transport in October?
http://theonlinecitizen.com/2007/07/26/403/

windwaver
03-10-2007, 10:03 AM
look like "Private" transport now...all $$$ for funding their organisation.

I think this 'PUBLIC' mentality should seriously be changed. Since it's 'PUBLIC' in the 1st place (i.e. public housing, transport, etc), there should not be any elements of earning $$ out of it.

If not, dun call it 'PUBLIC'. Like what I've mentioned, even if 'PUBLIC' related services/infrastructure/etc does not earn or even lose $$, it should still be heavily funded for 'PUBLIC' sense ;), that's what it's supposed to achieve in the 1st place.

Ultimo_Urien
03-10-2007, 11:50 AM
From what I constantly hear in coffeeshops, those old uncles always comment that since LHL took over as our new PM the hikes began...although bitter sweets like NSS and ERS were distributed also, but you be the judge of things.:o

chriscel
04-10-2007, 01:11 PM
Kong Guan Dumpling (Pau) Mfr Pte Ltd seem to have increase 10 cent for all their product @ NTUC canteen,

Chicken Pau 60g from 70 cent to 80 cent
Chicken Pau 85g from 90 cent to $1
Vegetarian Char Siew Pau 60g from 60 cent to 70 cent.

Not more Pau for me in the morning. Better eat white bread and drink sky juice.

kenloonglow
04-10-2007, 02:01 PM
I think this 'PUBLIC' mentality should seriously be changed. Since it's 'PUBLIC' in the 1st place (i.e. public housing, transport, etc), there should not be any elements of earning $$ out of it.

If not, dun call it 'PUBLIC'. Like what I've mentioned, even if 'PUBLIC' related services/infrastructure/etc does not earn or even lose $$, it should still be heavily funded for 'PUBLIC' sense ;), that's what it's supposed to achieve in the 1st place.

Maybe put a "$" at the end of the PUBLIC => PUBLIC$ :o

kopi22
04-10-2007, 02:49 PM

"do you prefer 1 time increment of fare prices which cost alot, or do you prefer to spread the increment over the years, to allow easing out the impact of the hike?"

does this sounds familiar??

:D :D

kopi22
04-10-2007, 02:51 PM
Kong Guan Dumpling (Pau) Mfr Pte Ltd seem to have increase 10 cent for all their product @ NTUC canteen,

Chicken Pau 60g from 70 cent to 80 cent
Chicken Pau 85g from 90 cent to $1
Vegetarian Char Siew Pau 60g from 60 cent to 70 cent.

Not more Pau for me in the morning. Better eat white bread and drink sky juice.

bread prices also increasing b4 u know it manz..... haha

Inix
04-10-2007, 03:01 PM
I wouldn't say all but majority of the countries I know pretty much have a choice, i.e they can drive cheaply, cycle, walk, cab, train, bus, etc.

Not to mention public transport is actually a lose $$ business but since it's public, it's run with great fundings from govt.
So which country allows you to drive cheaply, cycle, walk, cab, train, bus, etc.? Cars are cheap in most part of the world but Petrol certainly isn't

Inix
04-10-2007, 03:02 PM
bread prices also increasing b4 u know it manz..... haha

I just realised yesterday that Old Chang Kee raised quite a few things again.. My favourite crab nugget went from $1.20 to $1.40 le.. When I asked the auntie.. she told me.. yah.. we made an "ADJUSTMENT" hahaha..

kenloonglow
04-10-2007, 03:06 PM
so all business increase price$, except our poor pocket, those who work for ppl...haizzzzz

Soulhacker
04-10-2007, 03:19 PM
Actually for me thing like Old Chang Kee is non-essential food items mah. So if they raise price too much at most don’t eat, won’t really hurt our living one.

But I recently heard from an 70+ Ah Pek who survive on less than S$400 a month that he really felt his living had been threaten because most essential items are all having a price hike of more than 2% over the last few months. Many can foods, which are essential items for poor man as cheap daily meals, have a hike from 40cents to S$1. According to the Ah Pek, even rice and soya sauce also had an a hike of more than 10%. A lot of fresh food items in the market are also having 10~20% increase in price. His cooking gas also rise by a whole S$5. He wasn’t even sure if he had enough $$$ to last him through the next month and all the govt care about elderly like him is whether they should get anality by the time he reach 85. My family seldom buy can food so I am not really sure about these price hike, but according to my mum, she do agree that a lot of food items are having at least 10% hike in price over the months since GST 7% keep in.

This is the kind of price hike that is going to hurt the living of a common folk, especially one who is poor. And can anyone still recall which MIW is the idiot claiming that how everything is in their control and the 2% GST hike won’t lead to inflation of price for peasants?

kenloonglow
04-10-2007, 03:34 PM
so, this year 2007 is the worst inflation in our living? next year still inflat again (at least I know the bus/train will)?

kenloonglow
04-10-2007, 03:35 PM
which MIW is the idiot claiming that how everything is n their control and the 2% GST hike won’t lead to inflation of price for peasants?

That'y they raise their salary fast fast b4 all this inflation come in

maxcava19
04-10-2007, 04:07 PM
so all business increase price$, except our poor pocket, those who work for ppl...haizzzzz
True enough..money not enough..having money like so fast finish liow.sucks..up up and away..GST!...

nasfieldjohn
04-10-2007, 04:24 PM
in this country everything goes up except your salary
thank the 66 yeah!

mryongtan
04-10-2007, 05:04 PM
just a thought, would anyone prefer "disinflation" ? And worry about loss of jobs ?

kyma
04-10-2007, 05:36 PM
I rather prefer deflation than disinflation. :)

kenloonglow
04-10-2007, 10:44 PM
if loss job, use your saving to survive with your saving on basis needs VS work, work, work, and survive with basis needs...which one to choose?

superman
05-10-2007, 09:38 AM
So which country allows you to drive cheaply, cycle, walk, cab, train, bus, etc.? Cars are cheap in most part of the world but Petrol certainly isn't

Malaysia.

At least most countries got cheap cars whereas we got Expensive Cars as well as expensive petrol.

Soulhacker
05-10-2007, 11:34 AM
Malaysia.

At least most countries got cheap cars whereas we got Expensive Cars as well as expensive petrol.

You forget the Expensive Raod Payment system aka ERP. My friend who recently got a car liao butt itchy of all area decided to just drive to CBD for fun. At the 1st gantry, he heard a beep sound and notice his $5 display now showing S$1.50. This is his first time driving to CBD and ganna ERP so he also not sure whether this display is telling him that S$1.50 had been deducted or his cash card is left with only S$1.50. So he quickly put in his 2nd S$5 cash card, at the 2nd gantry beep again and it was again showing S$1.50. He said he nearly scare until lao sai after he saw a 3rd gantry because at that time he only got 2 $5 cash card on him and both seem to be left with S$1.50 each. But luckily the 3rd gantry was not in operational so he immediately go top-up his cash card to S$50 after that.

broodlet
05-10-2007, 11:39 AM
You forget the Expensive Raod Payment system aka ERP. My friend who recently got a car liao butt itchy of all area decided to just drive to CBD for fun. At the 1st gantry, he heard a beep sound and notice his $5 display now showing S$1.50. This is his first time driving to CBD and ganna ERP so he also not sure whether this display is telling him that S$1.50 had been deducted or his cash card is left with only S$1.50. So he quickly put in his 2nd S$5 cash card, at the 2nd gantry beep again and it was again showing S$1.50. He said he nearly scare until lao sai after he saw a 3rd gantry because at that time he only got 2 $5 cash card on him and both seem to be left with S$1.50 each. But luckily the 3rd gantry was not in operational so he immediately go top-up his cash card to S$50 after that.hoho many good years ahead.. PAP ftw

Megadark
05-10-2007, 04:43 PM
You forget the Expensive Raod Payment system aka ERP. My friend who recently got a car liao butt itchy of all area decided to just drive to CBD for fun. At the 1st gantry, he heard a beep sound and notice his $5 display now showing S$1.50. This is his first time driving to CBD and ganna ERP so he also not sure whether this display is telling him that S$1.50 had been deducted or his cash card is left with only S$1.50. So he quickly put in his 2nd S$5 cash card, at the 2nd gantry beep again and it was again showing S$1.50. He said he nearly scare until lao sai after he saw a 3rd gantry because at that time he only got 2 $5 cash card on him and both seem to be left with S$1.50 each. But luckily the 3rd gantry was not in operational so he immediately go top-up his cash card to S$50 after that.
:s13: I have to agree that your friend's backside is itchy. :s13:

Vyzyl
06-10-2007, 09:15 AM
http://img222.imageshack.us/img222/5846/dsc02951nk8.jpg

Rogue
06-10-2007, 11:37 AM
Pricelist of coffeeshop

I remember the days when coffee is around 30 cents, cheap one can be even be 20 cents :s13: What frighten me the most is "the days" is only a few short decades ago.

michael2000
06-10-2007, 11:52 AM
Actually for me thing like Old Chang Kee is non-essential food items mah. So if they raise price too much at most don’t eat, won’t really hurt our living one.

But I recently heard from an 70+ Ah Pek who survive on less than S$400 a month that he really felt his living had been threaten because most essential items are all having a price hike of more than 2% over the last few months. Many can foods, which are essential items for poor man as cheap daily meals, have a hike from 40cents to S$1. According to the Ah Pek, even rice and soya sauce also had an a hike of more than 10%. A lot of fresh food items in the market are also having 10~20% increase in price. His cooking gas also rise by a whole S$5. He wasn’t even sure if he had enough $$$ to last him through the next month and all the govt care about elderly like him is whether they should get anality by the time he reach 85. My family seldom buy can food so I am not really sure about these price hike, but according to my mum, she do agree that a lot of food items are having at least 10% hike in price over the months since GST 7% keep in.

This is the kind of price hike that is going to hurt the living of a common folk, especially one who is poor. And can anyone still recall which MIW is the idiot claiming that how everything is in their control and the 2% GST hike won’t lead to inflation of price for peasants?

Click on the link below and u can see the price hikes

http://theonlinecitizen.com/2007/08/27/the-relentless-rising-cost-of-living-in-singapore/

By n large not only the Ah Pek was feeling the soar in prices everyone is suffering in agony. sorry the MIW excludes.

windwaver
08-10-2007, 11:13 PM
I just realised yesterday that Old Chang Kee raised quite a few things again.. My favourite crab nugget went from $1.20 to $1.40 le.. When I asked the auntie.. she told me.. yah.. we made an "ADJUSTMENT" hahaha..

Wah! What the CRAP :s13: :s13:

dredd
09-10-2007, 08:00 AM
i wonder what's gonna go up next...prices of newspaper perhaps? TV/Radio license fee?

silcosilva
09-10-2007, 08:08 AM
yup,recycled paper cost more than ordinary paper,claimed for in the effort to save the environment.so we pay more.
electricity and water will go up due to the upcoming F1 thingy.
even basic necceties like pen eraser will go up cause stocks from china are no longer being brought in in big bulks.we'll now get thailand and indonesia prducts,be prepared for sky-scraping prices.

kenloonglow
09-10-2007, 03:08 PM
next to increase -> their bonus :x

windwaver
10-10-2007, 12:49 PM
Probably the people who decides on all these increase isn't in the 'eat not full, dun die from being half hungry' group :D

kenloonglow
10-10-2007, 03:57 PM
2007 new slogan => "if dun raise $$$, the service will drop". wahaha

if dun raise their salary$, the multi-mio dollar man will leave
if dun raise the fare$, the service will drop

so, go tell your boss....if u dun raise your salary$, your service will drop :X

windwaver
10-10-2007, 10:06 PM
2007 new slogan => "if dun raise $$$, the service will drop". wahaha

if dun raise their salary$, the multi-mio dollar man will leave
if dun raise the fare$, the service will drop

so, go tell your boss....if u dun raise your salary$, your service will drop :X

:s13: most prob your boss will say 'nvm, I'll import more cheaper FTs' :s13:

windwaver
11-10-2007, 11:50 AM
Pump, keep this alive until 2011 :s13: :s13:

windwaver
14-10-2007, 04:59 PM
Pump, keep this alive until 2011

arianwen
14-10-2007, 05:51 PM
so many good years ahead. we will remember till the next election for the good times :)

windwaver
17-10-2007, 09:59 PM
so many good years ahead. we will remember till the next election for the good times :)

:D :s12: :s12:

rtkgamer
20-10-2007, 11:43 AM
i heard from my mum that ytd news said a loaf of bread is going to increase by 20cents, true?

publiceducator
20-10-2007, 01:01 PM
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/306678/1/.html

SINGAPORE : The price of flour has increased again, but this time it has gone up by thirty percent.

This is the biggest ever hike, according to industry watchers.

From January, it will cost 20 cents more to buy a loaf of bread.

Wholesalers said the price of other bread ingredients have been increasing. Some said they have no choice but to pass on some of the costs to consumers.

But local chain BreadTalk said it will hold off from raising prices for the time being.

Responding to queries, Prima Flour said the worldwide shortage of flour is due to bad weather affecting millet harvests in Canada and Australia. - CNA /ls

windwaver
20-10-2007, 09:35 PM
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/306678/1/.html

SINGAPORE : The price of flour has increased again, but this time it has gone up by thirty percent.

This is the biggest ever hike, according to industry watchers.

From January, it will cost 20 cents more to buy a loaf of bread.

Wholesalers said the price of other bread ingredients have been increasing. Some said they have no choice but to pass on some of the costs to consumers.

But local chain BreadTalk said it will hold off from raising prices for the time being.

Responding to queries, Prima Flour said the worldwide shortage of flour is due to bad weather affecting millet harvests in Canada and Australia. - CNA /ls

Shortage is temporary but our price increases are PERMANENT

nakorius
21-10-2007, 11:47 AM
Expect the price of noodles to go up as well.

Poor hawkers, must pay proper taxes or get investigated, cost of living sky rocketing but cannot increase prices as they will get investigated or complained against and all they want to do is like everyone else, have a better life. They are pretty scared now.

Soon there will be few hawkers and plenty of food courts only.

Sad.

windwaver
25-10-2007, 08:02 PM

Next time even hawker food is too expensive :s13:

nakorius
25-10-2007, 09:34 PM
Well read my signature

windwaver
30-10-2007, 11:31 PM

C41X1N
31-10-2007, 12:55 AM

Absolutely true, even 9monts later, the market flooded with wheat, even the rat will become fatty with abandon of wheat, they price of the final product wont go down also ~ even the wheat price drop ~

exxondus
31-10-2007, 11:29 AM
no wonder Singapore customer service sucks most of the time.

even HK can rise super fast and over take singapore in terms of ranking....cos salary no increase mah and still have competition from FTs

Mianhaeyo
31-10-2007, 12:14 PM
Ignoring the fact that pretty much everything is rising nowadays, the shortage of wheat started last year 2006 October, when the price started to rise sharply on the commodities Market. Without any correlation, the Gahment announced raise in GST the Next Month.

In July 2007, when some of the crops start to fail in summer in the US, the GST was implemented.

Techadd
31-10-2007, 04:26 PM
they did say "good times ahead" didn't they..? :s8:

cyberprotozoansg
31-10-2007, 05:08 PM
It is not easy to keep economy growth high and keep inflation down. Keeping inflation low can slow down the economy. Reading the news about Singaporean pay increase, I have the impression that it apply to only certain vocation and seems that top management will get highest % of increase, increase income gap. Not all sector will benefit form high GDP while inflation affects everyone.

Yeah good time ahead for some and not others :s8:

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/specialreport/news/269666_26/1/.html

moveyon
02-11-2007, 04:35 PM
no wonder Singapore customer service sucks most of the time.

even HK can rise super fast and over take singapore in terms of ranking....cos salary no increase mah and still have competition from FTs

what's so good abt HK?

windwaver
12-11-2007, 12:46 PM
Absolutely true, even 9monts later, the market flooded with wheat, even the rat will become fatty with abandon of wheat, they price of the final product wont go down also ~ even the wheat price drop ~

Up up and AWAY! :s13:

nannan82
12-11-2007, 01:11 PM
may be off topic... but.....

earlier tis year... ice kacang cost: $1.8
4 mth ago: $2.3
now: $2.5

wa lan......

and one think i notice... a bowl of mee still cost $2.5.... but the quantity.......... getting lesser....

wondering will GV cinema cash in on tis?? increasing popcorn price from $8.50 to??????

windwaver
12-11-2007, 06:23 PM
may be off topic... but.....

earlier tis year... ice kacang cost: $1.8
4 mth ago: $2.3
now: $2.5

wa lan......

and one think i notice... a bowl of mee still cost $2.5.... but the quantity.......... getting lesser....

wondering will GV cinema cash in on tis?? increasing popcorn price from $8.50 to??????

Nope, what you posted certainly isn't off topic considering it's a price hike too.

publiceducator
18-11-2007, 11:49 PM
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1784966

suntag881
19-11-2007, 07:40 AM
My neighborhood noodle store just upped the price from $2.5 to $2.7, a hefty 8% increase. It's like it's a popular and trendy thing to increase price. Look if everyone else is increasing prices, the hawkers' cost of living also go up right? so it's natural for them to make customers pay for the inflation.

windwaver
20-11-2007, 12:20 AM
My neighborhood noodle store just upped the price from $2.5 to $2.7, a hefty 8% increase. It's like it's a popular and trendy thing to increase price. Look if everyone else is increasing prices, the hawkers' cost of living also go up right? so it's natural for them to make customers pay for the inflation.

That's not so bad, check out luncheon meat's hike ($1.3 to $2.5 (small can somemore)) :s31:

windwaver
20-11-2007, 11:15 PM
Up up and away! :s12:

windwaver
02-12-2007, 09:41 PM

Think a family easily needs SGD$5~6K to sustain these days... :s12:

C41X1N
03-12-2007, 01:28 AM
friend said. not just flour goes up which increase the burden of the hawker...

but the rent they paid also went super high up.

therefore, 50cent is consider light increment ~ :(

windwaver
03-12-2007, 10:59 AM
We're now at the juncture where saving $0.01 makes a lot of sense, how much worse can it get? :s13:

ultimax
03-12-2007, 12:59 PM

U lucky, the noodle store i frequent up from $2.5 to $3.00

realmlord
03-12-2007, 02:43 PM
wont be suprise with the increment... my dad a hawker and he say that the cost for all type of noddle went up by 35~38%

Inix
03-12-2007, 03:27 PM
That's not so bad, check out luncheon meat's hike ($1.3 to $2.5 (small can somemore)) :s31:
There's now a joke in China going on about 猪八戒 (Zhu Ba Jie) telling his elder 孙悟空 (Sun Wu Kong), that his meat ( 猪八戒 ), is actually worth much more then 唐三章 (Tang San Zhang) as pork prices has risen 300% over 2 years AFAIK...

windwaver
05-12-2007, 08:51 PM
There's now a joke in China going on about 猪八戒 (Zhu Ba Jie) telling his elder 孙悟空 (Sun Wu Kong), that his meat ( 猪八戒 ), is actually worth much more then 唐三章 (Tang San Zhang) as pork prices has risen 300% over 2 years AFAIK...

:s13:, latest is the cab hikes. Lucky I don't take cabs, I walk mostly :s13:

nannan82
06-12-2007, 01:02 PM
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1794157

haha traffic fine also increase.. hahaha

windwaver
10-12-2007, 07:53 PM
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1794157

haha traffic fine also increase.. hahaha

:s13:, lucky I seldom drive too

Techno Pride
10-12-2007, 10:18 PM
Anyone who has taken Econs in JC will know this is simply economics. To reduce demand, simply raise prices.

Raise ERP, so thar drivers stop hogging major roads.
Raise taxi fares, so that there wont be a shortage of cabs.
Raise bus fares, so that buses and trains wont be packed to the brim.
Eliminate middle class from hospital subsidies (thus increasing prices), so that people stop falling sick all the time (?).

For some reason, making changes to the infrastructure is out of the question, that's why prices must be raised.

flooderx
11-12-2007, 06:34 AM
Cab Surcharge also raise. nothing new in singapore.

kenloonglow
12-12-2007, 11:35 AM
*clap hand! So now they solve the cab problem?

windwaver
23-01-2008, 10:42 AM
*clap hand! So now they solve the cab problem?

windwaver
05-03-2008, 12:37 AM
:s12::s12::s12:

KhunNimzo
05-03-2008, 08:18 PM
go to
ntuc super market on monday,and go on today again..same item,different price..damn..

windwaver
09-03-2008, 11:19 PM
go to
ntuc super market on monday,and go on today again..same item,different price..damn..

Not just that, I found another smaller supermarket near my place have much cheaper bread compared to NTUC! :eek:

Inix
10-03-2008, 12:38 AM
go to
Talk about NTUC bread, does anyone know what brand is NTUC's bread? Like NTUC's fishballs are actually made by DoDo. Does anyone know who is the actual manufacturer? From visual comparision, it sure looks like Bonjour though...

anfielder
10-03-2008, 09:29 AM
Talk about NTUC bread, does anyone know what brand is NTUC's bread? Like NTUC's fishballs are actually made by DoDo. Does anyone know who is the actual manufacturer? From visual comparision, it sure looks like Bonjour though...

hmm i always thought it was sunshine, but that's just a guess. definitely not gardenia though.

D69
10-03-2008, 09:34 AM
everyone is just following the herd. My boss here also just raised the school fees in our tuition center. we are told to tell parents," Due to rising rental fees, electricity hikes blah blah blah" same lies, works all the time. BTW our salaries didnt raise a cent

D69
10-03-2008, 09:41 AM

tats y our government smart. they make it a 4 year affair and they purposely wrap up the last election real quick, then quickly implement all these super unpopular schemes like CPF, ERP, price hikes everywhere so tat when the next election comes, most sillyporeans will have forgotten about it cuz they have got used to paying more and then they can campaign like they remember nothing.

Not like our blur BN counterparts, butt itchy during all these price hikes and bad news go and organize election, see la now 66.6% also dun have. Dun think our gahmen so powerful hor, after so much planning last election only got 66.6%. It could have been lesser for them or they may even lose a GRC if not for last min dirty politics like changing the GRC layout so that those likely to fall into opp hands places get absorbed into a larger GRC.

tats y i feel our mini-cheat-sters deserve their million dollar salaries la, in singapore context if u can manage to swindle and hoodwink so many pple for so long u deserve to rip us off la

windwaver
10-03-2008, 10:28 PM
everyone is just following the herd. My boss here also just raised the school fees in our tuition center. we are told to tell parents," Due to rising rental fees, electricity hikes blah blah blah" same lies, works all the time. BTW our salaries didnt raise a cent

What to do? In the end the rich get RICHER. I'm sure a ton of people are doing this, not just your boss.

kenloonglow
11-03-2008, 11:23 AM
Middle income suffer the most. haizzzzzz

ahwei86
11-03-2008, 03:21 PM
1) GST in July
2) NETS
4) ERP

:s13: , all go up except my pocket.

got. wages going down

Yorixz
11-03-2008, 05:33 PM
No Fear. Incease passive income through other means.

Yorixz
11-03-2008, 05:33 PM
Money is forever King.

homer123
13-03-2008, 08:28 AM
Time to join SDP prike hike protest instead of empth talk in this forum.

Event: Tak Boleh Tahan! Protest Rally
Date: 15 Mar 08, Saturday
Time: 2:00 pm
Place: Parliament House beside Singapore River
Attire: Red top
Contact us at: speakup@singaporedemocrat.org

Singapore Democrats
12 Mar 08

Tak boleh tahan! Loosely translated: "I can't take it anymore!" That's the theme for the protest rally this Saturday.

If you feel the way we do and you don't want to take it lying down anymore, put on a red T-shirt and join us at Parliament House by the Singapore River.

The prices of basic foodstuff like rice, cooking oil, bread, milk powder, sugar, etc have all shot up.

Bus, MRT and taxi fares have all gone up.

Fuel prices have skyrocketed.

The Government's raising of the GST to 7 percent and its setting up of ERP gantries all over the island have all contributed to the inflation rate that is at its highest in a quarter of a century.

The result is that the crushing burden on working folks gets even more unbearable.

Our elderly poor continue to break their backs just to eke out a miserable existence. Many cannot even afford three square meals, some even having to live off scraps on hawker centre tables.

The PAP's young, arrogant, and heartless ministers then tell them that they should forget about retiring.

What about our workers? They are made to work harder and longer, and for less pay. Many of them have to sign contracts that don't allow medical leave, no bonuses, and demand 72-hour-work weeks.

They have no unions to speak for them as the NTUC is headed by a PAP minister.

The problem is worsened by the indiscriminate taking in of foreign workers to compete with Singaporeans to suppress wages.

Despite all of this, the ministers brazenly help themselves to an 85 percent increase in salaries last year with the prime minister paying himself more than $300,000 a month!

The PAP is like a grotesque monkey on our backs, keeping Singaporeans bent and strangulated.

We know many of you are incensed. We know you cannot take this anymore. Tak boleh tahan!

As citizens you don't have to keep quiet. You can demonstrate your anger in a peaceful manner at Saturday's rally. If fact it is your duty to stand up and speak out.

At the same time, the Singapore Democrats are launching our Campaign Against Repression and Exploitation of Singaporeans 2008 (CARES '08).

The Tak Boleh Tahan! protest rally will kick-off the SDP CARES '08. As consumers of many of the Government's services, we have the right to demand fair prices, and to put a stop to the exploitative price hikes of the PAP Government.

There comes a time when we have to stop talking and start doing. Remember, we reap what we sow.

windwaver
05-04-2008, 07:09 PM
Keep this thread going till 2011! :D

windwaver
06-04-2008, 04:28 PM
Seems that something essential for basic life increases in price every few months. Think if thing goes on like that, even a degree working adult earning an average of $3K will be in povety too :eek:

Techno Pride
06-04-2008, 07:40 PM
Keep this thread going till 2011! :D

forget it la. Come 2011, it'll be the same story.

"Those people did great things for us 40 years ago, so cannot just kick them out like that. Don't forget your roots, don't be an ingrate" etc etc. I dunno if these people dumped their parents in old folks homes, coz you know, 40 yrs ago, parents also did great things.

erick_p
06-04-2008, 08:29 PM
I dunno if these people dumped their parents in old folks homes, coz you know, 40 yrs ago, parents also did great things.

What do you think is the solution to this problem? It seems the govt is being short sighted and just trying to make Singapore another HK. Why not plan for its own people before this big influx of expats? How can a local earning "local" salaries live properly with everything becoming so expensive!

windwaver
01-05-2008, 12:34 AM
Frankly, I feel like a miniority in my own country :s13:

Dumb_Terminal
01-05-2008, 12:54 AM
Frankly, I feel like a miniority in my own country :s13:
Lols.... :look:. Pls Open Ure wallet. and Look at that Pink ic.

Turn On the Radio..... tune In to a Local station's Broadcast....
Wait for the Last Programme & sing together the MARI KITA before u doze off tonite.

Wake Up tomorrow 1st may, Rush to ATM, to withDraww off the GST Ofset $$$.
[i think able to Rite, Good Luck :D]

kenloonglow
02-05-2008, 03:08 PM
Let guess what item increase after that "GST offset" :(

Illusionist_85
02-05-2008, 05:03 PM
gst:D:D

period

chilli2
02-05-2008, 05:41 PM
Charge for using ATM, they waited very long liao :)

Seller222
02-05-2008, 05:57 PM
Time to join SDP prike hike protest instead of empth talk in this forum.

Event: Tak Boleh Tahan! Protest Rally
Date: 15 Mar 08, Saturday
Time: 2:00 pm
Place: Parliament House beside Singapore River
Attire: Red top
Contact us at: speakup@singaporedemocrat.org

Singapore Democrats
12 Mar 08

Tak boleh tahan! Loosely translated: "I can't take it anymore!" That's the theme for the protest rally this Saturday.

If you feel the way we do and you don't want to take it lying down anymore, put on a red T-shirt and join us at Parliament House by the Singapore River.

The prices of basic foodstuff like rice, cooking oil, bread, milk powder, sugar, etc have all shot up.

Bus, MRT and taxi fares have all gone up.

Fuel prices have skyrocketed.

The Government's raising of the GST to 7 percent and its setting up of ERP gantries all over the island have all contributed to the inflation rate that is at its highest in a quarter of a century.

The result is that the crushing burden on working folks gets even more unbearable.

Our elderly poor continue to break their backs just to eke out a miserable existence. Many cannot even afford three square meals, some even having to live off scraps on hawker centre tables.

The PAP's young, arrogant, and heartless ministers then tell them that they should forget about retiring.

What about our workers? They are made to work harder and longer, and for less pay. Many of them have to sign contracts that don't allow medical leave, no bonuses, and demand 72-hour-work weeks.

They have no unions to speak for them as the NTUC is headed by a PAP minister.

The problem is worsened by the indiscriminate taking in of foreign workers to compete with Singaporeans to suppress wages.

Despite all of this, the ministers brazenly help themselves to an 85 percent increase in salaries last year with the prime minister paying himself more than $300,000 a month!

The PAP is like a grotesque monkey on our backs, keeping Singaporeans bent and strangulated.

We know many of you are incensed. We know you cannot take this anymore. Tak boleh tahan!

As citizens you don't have to keep quiet. You can demonstrate your anger in a peaceful manner at Saturday's rally. If fact it is your duty to stand up and speak out.

At the same time, the Singapore Democrats are launching our Campaign Against Repression and Exploitation of Singaporeans 2008 (CARES '08).

The Tak Boleh Tahan! protest rally will kick-off the SDP CARES '08. As consumers of many of the Government's services, we have the right to demand fair prices, and to put a stop to the exploitative price hikes of the PAP Government.

There comes a time when we have to stop talking and start doing. Remember, we reap what we sow.

I salute you for the courage

nannan82
16-05-2008, 12:38 AM
night rider bus service increase form $3 to $3.50

anfielder
16-05-2008, 12:51 AM
night rider bus service increase form $3 to $3.50

hmm. source?

nannan82
16-05-2008, 10:36 AM
source: bus_interchange_pilliar.com

anfielder
16-05-2008, 03:24 PM
source: bus_interchange_pilliar.com

thanx.. i'm not in sg atm so wouldn't have seen it.

windwaver
22-05-2008, 07:14 PM
Up up & AWAY!!! :s12::s13:

windwaver
09-10-2008, 11:39 PM
Up up & away!!!!! $4K a month is becoming difficult for a family :s13:

fi5hbone
10-10-2008, 08:27 AM
Anyone has the article which kept track of the various price hikes from 2007 till date?

The_Republic
10-10-2008, 11:24 AM
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1570470&page=7

MINISTER Mentor Lee Kuan Yew called for a sense of proportion yesterday, pointing out that the annual wage bill for ministers and all office holders is $46 million - or just 0.022 per cent of Singapore's total economic output.

It was an 'absurdity', he said, for Singaporeans to quarrel over whether ministers collectively should be paid $10 million or $20 million more, when an economy worth $210 billion was at stake

'The cure to all this talk is really a good dose of incompetent government,' he said in his first comments on impending salary increases for ministers and top civil servants. 'You get that alternative and you'll never put Singapore together again.'

Singaporeans' asset values would also disappear, he warned, adding that 'your apartment will be worth a fraction of what it is, your jobs will be in peril, your security will be at risk and our women will become maids in other people's countries'.

He said the present system of benchmarking ministers' pay to top private sector salaries was 'completely above board' and allowed the Government to recruit 'some of the very best' to lead the country

When it was put to him that people hoped for leaders who were willing to make sacrifices and who were not there for the money, he replied that these were 'admirable sentiments'. But he added that 'we live in the real world'.

His bottom line: if the Government could not pay competitive salaries, Singapore would not be able to compete and 'we're not going to live well'.

The_Republic
10-10-2008, 11:30 AM
Anyone has the article which kept track of the various price hikes from 2007 till date?

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1708031

windwaver
12-10-2008, 12:41 AM
I seem to hear a price increase at least every quarter :s13:

exxondus
12-10-2008, 08:39 PM

MINISTER Mentor Lee Kuan Yew called for a sense of proportion yesterday, pointing out that the annual wage bill for ministers and all office holders is $46 million - or just 0.022 per cent of Singapore's total economic output.

It was an 'absurdity', he said, for Singaporeans to quarrel over whether ministers collectively should be paid $10 million or $20 million more, when an economy worth $210 billion was at stake

'The cure to all this talk is really a good dose of incompetent government,' he said in his first comments on impending salary increases for ministers and top civil servants. 'You get that alternative and you'll never put Singapore together again.'

Singaporeans' asset values would also disappear, he warned, adding that 'your apartment will be worth a fraction of what it is, your jobs will be in peril, your security will be at risk and our women will become maids in other people's countries'.

He said the present system of benchmarking ministers' pay to top private sector salaries was 'completely above board' and allowed the Government to recruit 'some of the very best' to lead the country

When it was put to him that people hoped for leaders who were willing to make sacrifices and who were not there for the money, he replied that these were 'admirable sentiments'. But he added that 'we live in the real world'.

His bottom line: if the Government could not pay competitive salaries, Singapore would not be able to compete and 'we're not going to live well'.

actually he really has a sense. We do live in a real world whereby u need money to attract the top talents.

We def cannot afford another overlooked item such as mas salamet's escape...oops, the guy like still being paid and on the board hor? okok 4get i said that.....

but its really true.....thats why companies now affected by recession cant pay for the talent they require have to retrench and finally close down and then add to unemployment rate...thats why companies should spend more and pay willingly to ensure they don collapse cos no high pay = no talent = no competitiveness?

unfortunately,thats not how it works in the real world for common folks. You get paid to do more than what you are paid....

but what he say is really truee.......

windwaver
16-10-2008, 10:54 AM
I wish companies can think that way but very often, you get paid peanuts for all the things you do. Basically, there's no life in S'pore.

The_Republic
26-05-2009, 11:29 PM
Refresh for bad economic times

windwaver
29-05-2009, 03:30 PM
I wish companies can think that way but very often, you get paid peanuts for all the things you do. Basically, there's no life in S'pore.

This is true even more in economic crisis! :s16: