PDA

View Full Version : Kohjinsha Laptop UMPC User Thread

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6

undiscern
05-06-2007, 01:29 PM
I hope we have enough mass to start this dedicated thread for Kohjinsha (KJS)UMPC users.

Lets discuss issues on KJS here ok. and hopefully we can help each other. Or perhaps identify similar Bug where collectively we can negotiate with PA mart.

Ok, let me get the ball rolling:

Any one getting a good screen protector for your KJS?

Not yet collected mine, eagerly waiting for their call.

undiscern
05-06-2007, 02:44 PM
Found some screen protector for Samsung Q1 which has similar size as KJS.

http://www.expertshield.com/samsung-screen-protector-p-431.html

http://www.mobileplanet.com/p.aspx?i=139407

undiscern
05-06-2007, 09:15 PM
Just an update, I've placed an order for Expertshield screen protector. Quite cheap. US$12.95 + US$ 2.15 (S&H).

From review it looks like it is the same as Martin Field & Brando Workshop. Same supplier from Japan.

cueball1981
06-06-2007, 11:23 AM
mm that a total of 15us.. still a bit x... anyway i hold a kjs so u got a new member here

undiscern
06-06-2007, 03:39 PM
Welcome onboard! hope we can share our kjs issues here.

US$15 is considered cheap for a 7inch screen. U know how much martin field for pda cost right, S$24!

Anyway, there is a discount coupon which can be redeem. a discount of US$2.60 off total price. good deal! u can google for it or PM me for it. I dont know when it is valid till. as of yesterday, it still can be used.

undiscern
07-06-2007, 10:34 AM
Fri can collect kjs liao!will post review when ready. i'm gonna try installing vista on it.

PierceLee
07-06-2007, 12:04 PM
Daiso (IMM, Vivo, Plaza Singapula) sells some 7" and 8" screen protector. The dimensions are: 156mmx87mm, 176mmx100mm. Like all their items, it's just SG$2. Don't expect very good quality, of course, but it works anyway. I have a few pieces which I cut into smaller sizes for other stuffs (mp3/mp4 players, PMP).

undiscern
07-06-2007, 12:24 PM
Thanks PierceLee!

Thats cheap! But in this case, the screen protector is not just merely to prevent dust, it is also to prevent scratch marks as there will be plenty of scribbling on its touch screen. Hence a more heavy duty shield is needed. I never use this expertshield brand before. previously was using Brando which is very good. but too bad Brando doesnt offer bigger sizes.

Anyway, my screen protector has just been shipped from HK, should be getting it by this Sat.

sandra11
07-06-2007, 02:48 PM
Hi!

I am still considering if I should get the Kohjinsha notebook, can someone tell me how much it cost? I missed it during the pc show last week so didn't know the exact price. Thanks.

mosmos
07-06-2007, 03:10 PM
Hi!

I am still considering if I should get the Kohjinsha notebook, can someone tell me how much it cost? I missed it during the pc show last week so didn't know the exact price. Thanks.
JE MRT popular bookshop selling at $1199, white colour, 100gb.

Can use credit card to pay~ :)

sunkist
07-06-2007, 03:20 PM
any photos? :D

whatscooking
07-06-2007, 03:23 PM
The only reason that stops me from buying this little machine at the last minute is its laggy video performance. Try watching any video from Youtube and your know what I mean. What a disappointment.

sandra11
07-06-2007, 03:29 PM
JE MRT popular bookshop selling at $1199, white colour, 100gb.

Can use credit card to pay~ :)

I was reading through the forum and some said it is $1099 for the white one? the black one was $1049? Hhhmm... $100 diff wor...

sunkist
07-06-2007, 03:29 PM
does, how amny ram huh?

whatscooking
07-06-2007, 04:20 PM
Touch Screen calibration problem. Anyone?

http://mykohjinsha.blogspot.com/2007/05/my-kohjinsha-problems.html

undiscern
07-06-2007, 04:32 PM
1099 for white KJS is a typo i think. it is 1199.

Both model comes with 512MB ram. One single slot. so can only upgrade to 1GB ram, leaving the original 512mb ram redundant (or u can sell it lor). but the 1GB ram cost more than S$150. sigh...

SInce JE popular is selling, can use popular card for further discount? if can then Besta boh swee liao...

undiscern
07-06-2007, 04:35 PM
On the calibration problem, (http://mykohjinsha.blogspot.com/2007/05/my-kohjinsha-problems.html), :
<<UPDATE 6/6/2007: It would appear that the screen calibration problems are not batch problems but a manufacturing problem. I have found that doing a 25 point calibration reduces the problem, but does note cure it. I have also been told that this problem is not present on the SA1F00KS, but I have not been able to confirm this.>>

SA1F00KS is the black 40GB model that is selling in SG... :)

undiscern
07-06-2007, 04:40 PM
Anyway for those who intend to get the SAMSUNG Q1 screen protector from Expertshield, heres my order details fyi:

1 x Samsung Q1 Screen Protector US$12.95

Sub-Total: US$12.95
Discount Coupons:p388yc1: -US$2.60
Table Rate (Best Way): US$2.15
Total: US$12.50

A word of CAUTION: The website uses paypal (credit card) as payment mode. So, the exchange rate by Paypal SUCKS big time. But considering the discount coupon, its ok lah...Still way cheaper than a over priced Martin Field 3.5" screen protector. This is as good.

cueball1981
07-06-2007, 06:21 PM
m daiso.. and went to get a external usb case for my lightscribe drive.. but mm my window cant detected the device.. anyone using those external drive case(can be use for hdd too)

cueball1981
08-06-2007, 01:35 PM
** that a way to get better playback from youtube.. go to bio and change yr graphic memory to 254... u see quite an improvement in playback but how ever when testin with a 30mb rmvb file i dont get choppy platback but slowmotion during heavy scene

whatscooking
08-06-2007, 05:15 PM
Anyone selling the white 100GB Kohjinsha, please PM me ur price. Thanks.

undiscern
08-06-2007, 06:27 PM
254 for graphics does help alot and video viewing is acceptable.

Pirates of Carribean 2 trailer
Frame rate 25fps
Data rate 293kbps
Video sample size 12bit

cueball1981
08-06-2007, 07:01 PM
yup.. i just install the old starcraft on it.. and hey it play wells...

undiscern
08-06-2007, 07:07 PM
This KJS really gives a bang for the buck! Good buy!

undiscern
08-06-2007, 07:40 PM
Do not upgrade your media player to version 11, seems to make the video performance more sluggish.

cueball1981
08-06-2007, 09:18 PM
ha too late... but i use the classic player.. tink it work better.. so are u the one that planin to install vista on it?

chimpchimp
09-06-2007, 12:06 AM
m daiso.. and went to get a external usb case for my lightscribe drive.. but mm my window cant detected the device.. anyone using those external drive case(can be use for hdd too)
I got an external USB DVD-RW drive from Sim Lim Square for 109 dollars... Cheap.. Its frm Bizgram... MY kohji can recognise...

undiscern
09-06-2007, 12:26 AM
cueball1981,

Yup, i'm planning to, but have yet to get hold of vista os... u wanna try ;)

undiscern
09-06-2007, 01:35 AM
Ok. 1st Major issue:

Seems like the ethernet is not working. I connect the rj45 (lan) cable to the ethernet port....waited....no response. btw it is enabled.

Somehow, click here click there ... it starts to connect and aquiring network address for a good 2 minutes. Wah lah, connected.

Go to IE/firefox, type www.google.com on address, it does not load.

Disable the device and enable it again, no response. (usually for other pc or notebook, upon enabling it should start to aquire address).

Hmmm... time to visit the service center?

cueball1981
09-06-2007, 02:52 AM
u wanna try reboot it. i got my ightscribe workin

SleeplessInSingapore
09-06-2007, 04:06 AM
radeon_tan also got a kohjinsha...

jLow
09-06-2007, 06:03 PM
Wish to get this to play movies instead of buying a portable media player. Can this play DVD rips well?

whatscooking
09-06-2007, 09:12 PM
Anyone selling either the black 40gb or white 100gb, please PM me ur price. Thanks.

tt32003
09-06-2007, 09:48 PM
Tempted by this but then saw the news on the new $199 ultraportable from ASUS.
Supposed to be here in Sept.
Think will wait for that one to reach here first and see.

XP
09-06-2007, 09:59 PM
I almost bought a kohjinsha too, but I am holding out for a model refresh with a better processor before I plonk down my cash :)

dreant
09-06-2007, 10:08 PM
Anyone with a Kohjinsha:

I've been told that the unit does *not* support an external monitor as an extended desktop. Could someone with a unit kindly advise if this is true? Thanks.

tt32003
09-06-2007, 10:14 PM
Anyone with a Kohjinsha:

I've been told that the unit does *not* support an external monitor as an extended desktop. Could someone with a unit kindly advise if this is true? Thanks.

Was playing with one at popular JE today.
Thought I saw a monitor port.

undiscern
09-06-2007, 10:34 PM
It played DVD rip quite good. Do note thate by upping the graphics memory thru bios, you will have less RAM to work with. So if you set 240mb for Graphics, you are left with 260MB RAMS for normal usage.

I set graphics to 12mb and left with RAM of 500MB. Then i up the virtual memory to 1.5gb minimum, max 2gb. Video play improves tremendously, even during fast action scene.

So there you are, no need to buy 1GB RAM if you wanna save some $$$.

undiscern
09-06-2007, 10:36 PM
Anyone with a Kohjinsha:

http://www.pocketables.net/2007/02/review_kohjinsh.html
http://pocketables.typepad.com/photos/uncategorized/kohji_monitor.jpg

whatscooking
09-06-2007, 10:44 PM
Oh, just found out that it cannot run Vista :(

dreant
10-06-2007, 02:48 AM
I've been told that the unit does *not* support an external monitor as an extended desktop. Could someone with a unit kindly advise if this is true? Thanks.Yeah, I know it has a VGA out, and can support an external monitor - but what I'm asking is if it can support it as an *extended* display. (eg 'multimontior' setup, with the laptop as the main display, and the external monitor as a 2nd display...)

undiscern
10-06-2007, 09:32 AM
Oh, you meant BOTH external and laptop display are on.
Bro dreant,

Yes you are right, i tried togglinng the FN + screen output, it has 2 mode only ( compared to usual 3 mode laptop have). wats missing is the BOTH laptop and external display activated together.

Is this a hardware or software issue?

Perhaps the rational is that if you are standing and using it to make presentation, the screen would be too small to viewed from a distance anyway. so might as well do away with the 3rd mode.

PierceLee
10-06-2007, 11:10 AM
I think he meant not just both on, but with different contents being displayed. Basically extending the desktop over 2 displays, for example, you can have a presentation opened and moved to the secondary display, while the main display still shows the taskbar, system tray, start menu, etc. Dedicated ATI and nVidia chips can do that, but I don't think integrated graphics like in the KJS can do that (Intel chips can't either).

undiscern
10-06-2007, 12:18 PM
Sorrie ah....

I see, I dont think it can do that and I never used that function before on previous laptops.

Maybe i am a light user?

Anyway, this is a S$1049 laptop and i dont expect it to perform like a $3k laptop. my personal view though... As long as it serves wat it is designed for will do.

undiscern
10-06-2007, 12:25 PM
CAUTION:

Owners may wanna double check their keyboard ok. I noticed one of the key is loose and tilted, seems to me like a defect cos I pressed hard on it and it still looks tilted. But the key is working though.

So far 2 issues liao that need to be ironed out at the service center. Ethernet and keyboard.

Also, getting a screen protector is highly recommended if you inted to use the touch screen often.

undiscern
10-06-2007, 12:29 PM
I think US$199 is the starting price and if that is the case, it means the 4GB model! The higher capacity storage will cost much more as flash memory is still more expensive per GB compared to HDD.

Also, you need to factor in price of Windows OS.

Other factors, it is non-touch screen, battery life is almost half of KJS.

You add it all up, KJS is not such a bad deal after all...

michael_thm
10-06-2007, 03:03 PM
I think US$199 is the starting price and if that is the case, it means the 4GB model! The higher capacity storage will cost much more as flash memory is still more expensive per GB compared to HDD.

Also, you need to factor in price of Windows OS.

Other factors, it is non-touch screen, battery life is almost half of KJS.

You add it all up, KJS is not such a bad deal after all...

eeePC = poor battery life, underpower for multimedia(probably) entertainment. Lack of storage space as a desktop replacement.

KJS = good battery life, enuff storage but underpowered for multimedia.

So... now let's wait and see if the VIA NanoBook( 7" WVGA touch screen display, 1.2GHz VIA C7-M ULV processor, VIA VX700 chipset, 1GB DDR2 memory, 30GB HDD 802.11b/g wireless, Bluetooth, 4-in-1 media reader, two USB 2.0 ports and a DVI port. Can run linux, WinXP and Vista basic. The portable device measures 9.0" x 6.7" x 1.5" and weighs just 1.87 pounds. VIA says that the NanoBook can operate for up to 4.5 hours on its 4-cell battery.) can be the 1st ultraportable capable of being a minimal desktop replacement...

Coming 2nd half of 2007 with estimated price tag of USD600.

Hmmm... 2007 seems to be a good year for cheapos like me. hehe.

But the eeePC seems suitable for a "semi-PC" "overpowered PDA" usage which I am considering. 4GB hor can put OS, browser, productivity suite and the basics and yet have 3GB for data usage. But the 3hrs battery life compared to KJS and NanoBook sort of a turn off...

undiscern
10-06-2007, 03:37 PM
Nanobook specs looks yummy :)

Usually Singapore pricing will be higher than US. look at Samsung Q1, US priced at US$900 plus, Singapore's Samsung was selling S$1999. Are we so easily conned?

On the other hand, I am very surpirsed that KJS in Singapore is cheaper than KJS in Japan (even at KJS very own retail outlet sale, perhaps its their 10% tax)!

sunkist
10-06-2007, 04:45 PM
just went to PA mart at sls. 100gb need 1399.. i think he wanna chop me lo :D
look cool.

mosmos
10-06-2007, 06:32 PM
just went to PA mart at sls. 100gb need 1399.. i think he wanna chop me lo :D
look cool.
go popular bookshop~

they are selling 100gb at $1199 including gst and able to pay by credit card~

sunkist
10-06-2007, 07:45 PM
can Free installment bo?
paid 12 month.. 1 month 100 :)
good deal hor.

mosmos
10-06-2007, 07:55 PM
can Free installment bo?
paid 12 month.. 1 month 100 :)
good deal hor.
not very sure~

i don't think bookshop have such payment system~ :o

daytonaguy
10-06-2007, 07:56 PM
On the calibration problem, (http://mykohjinsha.blogspot.com/2007/05/my-kohjinsha-problems.html), :
<<UPDATE 6/6/2007: It would appear that the screen calibration problems are not batch problems but a manufacturing problem. I have found that doing a 25 point calibration reduces the problem, but does note cure it. I have also been told that this problem is not present on the SA1F00KS, but I have not been able to confirm this.>>

SA1F00KS is the black 40GB model that is selling in SG... :)

bump into this at the mentioned url...
Saturday, 9 June 2007
Bad News

We have just heard that Pocket PC Solutions have had to withdraw the Kohjinsha SA1F00KS from sale in Europe as there is an issue over the units CE and FCC certification. It would appear that the Kohjinsha does not yet have the necessary certificates for resale in this market. I will update this post as soon as I have more news on this sad situation.

How will this affect our unit?

daytonaguy
10-06-2007, 07:58 PM
It played DVD rip quite good. Do note thate by upping the graphics memory thru bios, you will have less RAM to work with. So if you set 240mb for Graphics, you are left with 260MB RAMS for normal usage.

I set graphics to 12mb and left with RAM of 500MB. Then i up the virtual memory to 1.5gb minimum, max 2gb. Video play improves tremendously, even during fast action scene.

So there you are, no need to buy 1GB RAM if you wanna save some $$$.

I'm no IT expert...can tell me how to change virtual memory?

Thanks and Best Regrads.

undiscern
10-06-2007, 11:08 PM
I'm no IT expert...can tell me how to change virtual memory?

Thanks and Best Regrads.
Assuming you already set the graphics at BIOS to 12 MB, leaving you with about 500mb RAM for usage...

Go to My Computer icon on desktop>Right Click>Properties>Advanced tab> Performance Settings>Advanced Tab>last item on Virtual Memory, click change.

Custom size. Min and max up to u. rule of thumb, at least 3 times your physical RAM size. so i set it to 1512Mb.

G4
11-06-2007, 12:33 AM
bump into this at the mentioned url...
Saturday, 9 June 2007
Bad News

We have just heard that Pocket PC Solutions have had to withdraw the Kohjinsha SA1F00KS from sale in Europe as there is an issue over the units CE and FCC certification. It would appear that the Kohjinsha does not yet have the necessary certificates for resale in this market. I will update this post as soon as I have more news on this sad situation.

How will this affect our unit?

this kohjisha model was initially for used in JPN, so CE and FCC maybe not apply there. so not really surprised after hearing this. but to get the necessary certification, may end up not cheap liao... but since it can sell here, should be ok :)

Vulpix
11-06-2007, 04:12 AM
not very sure~

i don't think bookshop have such payment system~ :o

Yeah no 12 months installment... Only PA Mart have installment package for POSB and OCBC.

Stupid Idiot
11-06-2007, 11:10 AM
Was thinking of getting one but a lot of people are saying that 500MHz is not fast enough to do anything~ Is that true~? :crazy:

undiscern
11-06-2007, 11:15 AM
Update on video playback.

Tried playing .avi file recorded from my fuji f30 digicam, very sluggish.

Some specs (graphics memory still set at 12mb only):

19mb file size
30fps
1134kbps

Ok, so it looks like it is good for playing divx/xvid avi files which has less than 1mbps.

Perhaps buyer should upload some movie files on their thumbdrive and test it out when viewing the display model to get a better feel.

PierceLee
11-06-2007, 11:24 AM
Anyone actually managed to upgrade the HDD? I saw a link, with step-by-step photos, on how to do so, but did anyone successfully do it? Also saw a post saying the 40GB is parallel ATA while 100GB is SATA, is that true? If it is possible to upgrade 40GB to 150GB (or whatever), then this looks like a better deal.

Anyone actually managed to upgrade the RAM? This one is easy, but just wanted to know what brand/model of 1GB DDR RAM is proven to work.

Vulpix
11-06-2007, 11:55 AM
Update on video playback.

Tried playing .avi file recorded from my fuji f30 digicam, very sluggish.

Some specs (graphics memory still set at 12mb only):

19mb file size
30fps
1134kbps

Ok, so it looks like it is good for playing divx/xvid avi files which has less than 1mbps.

Perhaps buyer should upload some movie files on their thumbdrive and test it out when viewing the display model to get a better feel.

Did you try increasing the virtual memory or increase the graphic card memory?

undiscern
11-06-2007, 12:44 PM
Did you try increasing the virtual memory or increase the graphic card memory?
Yes, i just tried increase the graphics to 244mb, virtual to 1512mb but effect is still same for my .avi clip (from digicam). very sluggish.

XP
11-06-2007, 12:45 PM
Was thinking of getting one but a lot of people are saying that 500MHz is not fast enough to do anything~ Is that true~? :crazy:

What do you want to do? 500mhz can do a lot of things:

1. Surf net
2. Check email
3. MSN
4. Word Processing/Excel/Powerpoint
5. Photo editing (use older version of photoshop. e.g ps7)
6. Play Starcraft
7. Watch Xvid video

XP
11-06-2007, 12:45 PM
Yes, i just tried increase the graphics to 244mb, virtual to 1512mb but effect is still same for my .avi clip (from digicam). very sluggish.

What encoding is it in?

BaLtO
11-06-2007, 12:50 PM
Ya 500 MHz can do much.

undiscern which decoding software or codec you using also?

AS1
11-06-2007, 01:31 PM
so basically if playing high quality video like H264 and high bitrate DVD, might be an issue.

Owners can try downloading the 1080p of Ultraviolet, http://www.apple.com/trailers/sony_pictures/ultraviolet/hd/ and see if smooth or not?

If not then may have some issues with high bitrate content.

Tested with the Acer $1.1k AMD 14.4" notebook my friend bought for Poly, definitely better performance with HD clips but the trade off is battery life and weight.

undiscern
11-06-2007, 01:38 PM
Ok. there are 2 video clips i played. One is the pirate of carribean 2 using DIVX codec. this played smoothly, even the fighting scene (on the water wheel scene). file size 700mb containing about 1/3 of the whole movie.

The other avi file is about 10mb, but raw avi file from my digicam. very very sluggish. its from Fujifilm F30, i dont know what kind of compression they used. the file i used is the raw one, right off from memory card.

Stupid Idiot
11-06-2007, 01:42 PM
I want to surf here (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/forumdisplay.php?f=16) when I am out, but Mr 951 told me that 500MHz cannot do anything~ :crazy:

1. Surf net
2. Check email
3. MSN
6. Play Starcraft
7. Watch Xvid video

undiscern
11-06-2007, 01:45 PM
so basically if playing high quality video like H264 and high bitrate DVD, might be an issue.

Owners can try downloading the 1080p of Ultraviolet, http://www.apple.com/trailers/sony_pictures/ultraviolet/hd/ and see if smooth or not?

If not then may have some issues with high bitrate content.

Tested with the Acer $1.1k AMD 14.4" notebook my friend bought for Poly, definitely better performance with HD clips but the trade off is battery life and weight.
Ok bro, will try that later, but from the system requirements, i think it will be very very bad:
http://www.apple.com/quicktime/guide/hd/recommendations.html

<H2>For 1920x1080 (1080p) video at 24 frames per second:</H2>QuickTime 7 for Windows:

3.0 Ghz Intel Pentium D (dual-core) or faster processor
At least 1GB of RAM
64MB or greater video card
Windows 2000 Service Pack 4 or XP Service Pack 2

whatscooking
11-06-2007, 04:03 PM
I think this model from Kohjinsha will be replaced by a newer model pretty soon since now almost all notebooks and UMPC preinstalled with Vista. Perhaps the next model that is capable to run Vista will not have video issue and is able to play simple 3D game. Battery life maybe shorter but at least you can do more things and it will not be obsolete that fast.

XP
11-06-2007, 04:52 PM
I want to surf here (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/forumdisplay.php?f=16) when I am out, but Mr 951 told me that 500MHz cannot do anything~ :crazy:

That one confirm no problem lah ~_~

michael_thm
11-06-2007, 05:19 PM

Who is Mr 951? If 500mhz cannot surf internet... then how I surf on a 100mhz Pentium last time? Internet got change so much ah?

BaLtO
11-06-2007, 05:23 PM

500 MHz hard to run vista.

But I wonder if they can bundle the win xp with the UMPC starting next year or not.
win xp is such a low requirement fine system for UMPC.

Stupid Idiot
11-06-2007, 05:24 PM
Mr 951 (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showpost.php?p=24059826&postcount=29)~ :crazy: Can I also use Office applications and listen to MP3s on this machine as well~? :s11: :crazy:

Who is Mr 951? If 500mhz cannot surf internet... then how I surf on a 100mhz Pentium last time? Internet got change so much ah?

BaLtO
11-06-2007, 05:30 PM
I play games on my 120 MHz last time also.
I also listen to songs, surf net, use icq, watch vcd.
Maybe 120 MHz can't watch dvd, but 500 MHz sure can.

I remember there's office 95 or office 97 last time that run fine and fast.

Office 2007 still can run, but minimum speed that's all.
http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/products/ha101668651033.aspx

michael_thm
11-06-2007, 06:09 PM
I play games on my 120 MHz last time also.
I also listen to songs, surf net, use icq, watch vcd.
Maybe 120 MHz can't watch dvd, but 500 MHz sure can.

I remember there's office 95 or office 97 last time that run fine and fast.

Office 2007 still can run, but minimum speed that's all.
http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/products/ha101668651033.aspx

Yes. Can be done. But...

I can feel the difference in performance when...

I overclocked my Cyrix 100mhz to 166mhz... Great big difference...

I overclocked my Celeron 300A to 504mhz... can feel difference...

I overclocked my P3-333mhz to 550mhz... can feel difference...

I overclocked my Duron 1Ghz to <forget what speed>... cannot feel any difference so nebber overclocked since then...

Thus from experience of "can feel a difference" benchmarking, there is good room for improvement in actual performance when we talking about 0.5Ghz CPU... meaning the performance is rather iffy even for common applications.... At 1Ghz onward, you practically feel no difference between a 1Ghz and a 3Ghz CPU( for day to day common applications)... So the sweet spot for a cheapo UMPC should be slightly above or below 1Ghz... but not 500mhz.

Nevertheless 500mhz is perfectly usable if you are not looking for optimum performance for day to day productivity and entertainment applications. Ya can use but can encounter situations where performance is sluggish probably.

xtrioxton
11-06-2007, 06:20 PM
this laptop can play dota?

daytonaguy
11-06-2007, 07:15 PM
Assuming you already set the graphics at BIOS to 12 MB, leaving you with about 500mb RAM for usage...

Go to My Computer icon on desktop>Right Click>Properties>Advanced tab> Performance Settings>Advanced Tab>last item on Virtual Memory, click change.

Custom size. Min and max up to u. rule of thumb, at least 3 times your physical RAM size. so i set it to 1512Mb.

Thanks for the information.

daytonaguy
11-06-2007, 07:25 PM
I think this model from Kohjinsha will be replaced by a newer model pretty soon since now almost all notebooks and UMPC preinstalled with Vista. Perhaps the next model that is capable to run Vista will not have video issue and is able to play simple 3D game. Battery life maybe shorter but at least you can do more things and it will not be obsolete that fast.
Well...maybe the price will be unattractive....can't get the best of both worlds.
:)

daytonaguy
11-06-2007, 07:30 PM
Anyone actually managed to upgrade the HDD? I saw a link, with step-by-step photos, on how to do so, but did anyone successfully do it? Also saw a post saying the 40GB is parallel ATA while 100GB is SATA, is that true? If it is possible to upgrade 40GB to 150GB (or whatever), then this looks like a better deal.

Anyone actually managed to upgrade the RAM? This one is easy, but just wanted to know what brand/model of 1GB DDR RAM is proven to work.

Don't mind giving me the link for the hdd upgrade...What's the diff between ATA and SATA...sorry I know it's a dumb question...

PierceLee
11-06-2007, 08:02 PM
Don't mind giving me the link for the hdd upgrade...What's the diff between ATA and SATA...sorry I know it's a dumb question...
undiscern posted this link in another thread:
http://www.umpcportal.com/modules/n...php?storyid=315

undiscern
11-06-2007, 08:08 PM
Ok, i've got my faulty key fixed pretty fast. ethernet problem seems to be my rj45 cable (acer laptop can detect connection but kjs cant.)...

For those who worry cannot surf to this site, worry not, in fact i'm using this kjs here at funan to post now...

software installed adobe pro 7, ms office 2003 pro... all good.

Sambuca78
11-06-2007, 09:26 PM
Ok. there are 2 video clips i played. One is the pirate of carribean 2 using DIVX codec. this played smoothly, even the fighting scene (on the water wheel scene). file size 700mb containing about 1/3 of the whole movie.

The other avi file is about 10mb, but raw avi file from my digicam. very very sluggish. its from Fujifilm F30, i dont know what kind of compression they used. the file i used is the raw one, right off from memory card.

are u playing the video off ur memory card? wat is ur memory card speed???

AS1
11-06-2007, 10:36 PM
A bit troublesome but can someone do a Youtube video of its performance like playing high quality video and usual games like DOTA? That way for those who dont own one can see just how it works.

XP
11-06-2007, 11:08 PM
A bit troublesome but can someone do a Youtube video of its performance like playing high quality video and usual games like DOTA? That way for those who dont own one can see just how it works.

There are such videos on youtube :)

AS1
11-06-2007, 11:27 PM
There are such videos on youtube :)
Unboxing, blogging, youtube video and Xvid videos?

How about playing a DVD movie? Apple 480/720/1080 HD trailer like Ultraviolet above or even Dota.

That way is possible for other people to recreate so can make better comments.

takuma
12-06-2007, 12:06 AM
just a quick question to those who have gotten this lovely UMPC. anyone gonna install Linux on it? :P

leoloe
12-06-2007, 03:17 AM
hey fellas , which popular have you spotted thats selling this umpc? i called up bras besar one and they dont have . any one got info? Thanks!

undiscern
12-06-2007, 02:11 PM
just a quick question to those who have gotten this lovely UMPC. anyone gonna install Linux on it? :PDriver for Linux can be found here (towards the end)
http://www.kohjinsha.com/support/driver.html

undiscern
12-06-2007, 02:12 PM
hey fellas , which popular have you spotted thats selling this umpc? i called up bras besar one and they dont have . any one got info? Thanks!
According to what i read from the post, it can be found at JE popular Besta counter.

takuma
12-06-2007, 02:25 PM
Driver for Linux can be found here (towards the end)
http://www.kohjinsha.com/support/driver.html
that means it is possible to install linux on it, and since linux footprint is much smaller than windows, wouldn't that leave more resources for other applications?

undiscern
12-06-2007, 02:32 PM
Update:

I've receieved the screen protector from Expertshield yesterday. I took a gamble and purchase the one for samsung q1. Yes, it fit quite well. The top and bottom of the screen are fitted very nicely, but the left and right portion has a very minute gap of 1mm each. Not because the screen protector is wrong size, its because the KJS screen is slightly larger than 7inch (left and right). The actual content display is 7 inch but KJS has provided left and right margin of about 1mm each (black, no display). The screen protector does cover the actual content.

BTW the screen protector is super clear and made in japan (sold in HK).

undiscern
12-06-2007, 03:33 PM
that means it is possible to install linux on it, and since linux footprint is much smaller than windows, wouldn't that leave more resources for other applications?
u can say tat ;)

undiscern
12-06-2007, 03:37 PM
Unboxing, blogging, youtube video and Xvid videos?

How about playing a DVD movie? Apple 480/720/1080 HD trailer like Ultraviolet above or even Dota.

That way is possible for other people to recreate so can make better comments.
I'll try to do tat over weekend.

Anyway, i think the cut off is between 200-300 kbps bit rate for video file. As i tried 354kbps file and it is slow with delay.

Prison break single episode file of 350mb size, 128kbps play smoothly.

xtrioxton
12-06-2007, 03:44 PM
can this device play dota?

michael_thm
12-06-2007, 06:04 PM
u can say tat ;)

So the guys already overcame the cannot install wifi issue with linux liao? Linux in VMware not counted hor.

lcpongkl
12-06-2007, 06:56 PM
anyone tried this umpc with m1 usb mobile broadband device ?

echorim
12-06-2007, 06:59 PM
I'll try to do tat over weekend.

Anyway, i think the cut off is between 200-300 kbps bit rate for video file. As i tried 354kbps file and it is slow with delay.

Prison break single episode file of 350mb size, 128kbps play smoothly.

wow
thats quite bad

etteneaj
12-06-2007, 07:21 PM

Hi leoloe - i've seen it Orchard MRT Station Popular Store (Besta counter) as well today. Can try it there, still selling $1199 (100GB - white) and I think it's $1049 (40GB - black).

huge357
12-06-2007, 07:22 PM
anyone tried this umpc with m1 usb mobile broadband device ?

Yes, it works on M1 Broadband just like on any other PC.

etteneaj
12-06-2007, 07:27 PM
Hey all...got some stupid questions to ask...

I'm still using dial-up currently (oh yes, damn slow but dirt cheap since I'm a light user). I intend to switch to wireless broadband since I got a UMPC now.

Anyone can suggest to me how do I go about signing up for a wireless broadband plan?

1. Singnet (mio plan sounds not bad since I'm a Singtel mobile user) or Starhub (they hv flexi-surf plan)? [I'm a light user who manage to survive with less than 13 hrs usage per mth.]

2. What device do I need to buy? Cable modem? Ethernet modem? Wireless router? Wireless card? [I'm looking at being able to surf internet from any point in my house using my UMPC and I also have a desktop PC as well.]

3. Any good promotions from either Singnet or Starhub that you heard of?

SerSiTiv
12-06-2007, 07:43 PM
Woo quite a few KJS users here... Been playing with it for a while it's quite good but some xVid tend to be choppy perhaps due to the encoding.

AS1
12-06-2007, 08:08 PM
Woo quite a few KJS users here... Been playing with it for a while it's quite good but some xVid tend to be choppy perhaps due to the encoding.
Not really the encoding, its more due to the processor speed.

Btw, anyone still remember what was the pitch used to sell the KJS during the last show?

SerSiTiv
12-06-2007, 08:27 PM
Not really the encoding, its more due to the processor speed.

Btw, anyone still remember what was the pitch used to sell the KJS during the last show?

It's the encoding, I have 2 files one plays fine and the other not so. I have to check the bit rate and let you know again. But yeah the processor is quite the slow but good enough for surfing and editing documents. Just love the size of this baby.

leoloe
12-06-2007, 09:54 PM
Hey all...got some stupid questions to ask...

I'm still using dial-up currently (oh yes, damn slow but dirt cheap since I'm a light user). I intend to switch to wireless broadband since I got a UMPC now.

Anyone can suggest to me how do I go about signing up for a wireless broadband plan?

1. Singnet (mio plan sounds not bad since I'm a Singtel mobile user) or Starhub (they hv flexi-surf plan)? [I'm a light user who manage to survive with less than 13 hrs usage per mth.]

2. What device do I need to buy? Cable modem? Ethernet modem? Wireless router? Wireless card? [I'm looking at being able to surf internet from any point in my house using my UMPC and I also have a desktop PC as well.]

3. Any good promotions from either Singnet or Starhub that you heard of?

Cheers! i got 1 for my company today. doing a test run on some programs. hehehehe

now for me to answer your questions. since you're a light user , might as well get the singtel broadband on mobile. get a 3g phone , or a 3.5g phone with hsdpa and link the phone up with your umpc with bluetooth (kohjinsha has bluetooth built in) i use nokia pc suite and their modem dialup . i get speeds similiar to that of the wireless@sg speed. if you can survive with 10GB downloads a month , the pla is $31.50 ontop of your singtel bill... i find it very useful... internet anywhere with that umpc

leoloe
12-06-2007, 10:10 PM
hey guys , what resolution do you use for your kjs? i use 800x480 and it looks the best for me , but windows keeps prompting me to change by clicking the pop up

undiscern
13-06-2007, 09:09 AM
800*480 the text will be sharp. U click on the popup and disable the warning will do.

occasionaly some windows popup will be so long that it can be viewed completely and cannot see the bottom buttons. just toggle FN+ESC key to temporary up the resolution in order to click the button. Then toggel back.

xtrioxton
13-06-2007, 09:44 AM
can this device play dota?

fre3dom85
13-06-2007, 10:34 AM
wtfreak.. dota Wahaha....

undiscern
13-06-2007, 10:44 AM
To use on screen keyboard (by microsoft),

START>RUN>Type osk>OK

An onscreen keyboard will pop-up. Convenient if we use it as Tablet mode (becos ours is not XP tablet, we need to find ways of inputing thru touch screen).

I'm looking for handwriting recognition software. so far found Penoffice by Phatware. For pocket pc user, u must be familiar with the Caliigrapher software famous for its award winning handwriting recognition input. Same engine is included in Penoffice. Go download v2.6 for trial of 30days.

http://www.phatware.com/penoffice/index.html

Other good to have software is the PhatPad v4.2 (something like WIndows Journal i think)

undiscern
13-06-2007, 10:47 AM
I enquired about purchasing additional power adapter (charger for KJS) from PA MArt, was told it will be more than S$100.

I'm thinking if can use power adapter from my other laptop.

KJS power rating is 19v, 2.63A
Charger 1(ibm): 16V, 3.6A
Charger 2 (Acer): 19V, 3.5A

I wonder if can use Charger 1 or not... Any opinion?

cueball1981
13-06-2007, 10:59 AM
for the handwriting function.. as long as u got office 2003 up u can activated the hand writing function.. works pretty gd.. excepte no chinese

etegration
13-06-2007, 12:18 PM

it should be $199 USD.

mosmos
13-06-2007, 12:28 PM
I enquired about purchasing additional power adapter (charger for KJS) from PA MArt, was told it will be more than S$100.

I'm thinking if can use power adapter from my other laptop.

KJS power rating is 19v, 2.63A
Charger 1(ibm): 16V, 3.6A
Charger 2 (Acer): 19V, 3.5A

I wonder if can use Charger 1 or not... Any opinion?

is the power plug of special type~?

if not, can just buy a generic one at $55 in sls or cyberactive.

BaLtO
13-06-2007, 12:29 PM
it should be $199 USD.

But still affordable, can get it as an alternative to bring it outdoors instead of my heavy and fat laptop.

ceecookie
13-06-2007, 02:44 PM
BTW,this UMPC is using a AMD processor series that is meant for embedded device,not for laptop usage.

PierceLee
13-06-2007, 02:48 PM
For handwriting recognition, has anyone tried sw from those writing pad (like PenPower Jr 小蒙恬)? I mean, just use their sw but write on the touchscreen LCD instead. Will it work?

lcpongkl
13-06-2007, 07:56 PM
Kohjinsha's K600 gets an Intel A100 and DMB TV (http://www.engadget.com/2007/06/13/kohjinshas-k600-gets-an-intel-a100-and-dmb-tv/)

daytonaguy
13-06-2007, 08:14 PM
Kohjinsha's K600 gets an Intel A100 and DMB TV (http://www.engadget.com/2007/06/13/kohjinshas-k600-gets-an-intel-a100-and-dmb-tv/)

So fast...that means have to sell my Black Kohji..
Wonder when available...

whatscooking
13-06-2007, 10:01 PM
I dont think PA mart will bring in this K600 so soon since they have to clear the existing SA1 model first. Wonder when we can get this new K600 locally. It is so tempting.

AS1
13-06-2007, 10:12 PM
It's the encoding, I have 2 files one plays fine and the other not so. I have to check the bit rate and let you know again. But yeah the processor is quite the slow but good enough for surfing and editing documents. Just love the size of this baby.
If the processor was fast enough, high video bitrates would be peanuts to it.

apparently from what i search, the best video playable are those optimized for Ipod video.

littleprincey
14-06-2007, 12:18 AM
http://aving.net/kr/news/default.asp?mode=read&c_num=49851&C_Code=02&mn_name=news

KJS 2nd generation laptop K600. Now with Intel instead of AMD.

G4
14-06-2007, 01:04 AM
http://aving.net/kr/news/default.asp?mode=read&c_num=49851&C_Code=02&mn_name=news

KJS 2nd generation laptop K600. Now with Intel instead of AMD.

bigger resolution and well... slightly faster cpu, but it is made for multimedia?

maxhurt
14-06-2007, 04:06 AM
wah..u all like..asking abit too much of these systems :o

waiting for the asus one to come..then see bang for buck value, getting for my sibling and also for hassle-free tag-along during hikes (as shown on a flash advert) :s13:

Radeon_Tan
14-06-2007, 07:26 AM
PA mart (sim lim sq) selling $999 (100gb)

but i bought $1199 from PA mart (funan) :mad:

whatscooking
14-06-2007, 08:43 AM
Has anyone checked with PA mart when is the arrival of the K600? I think the new K600 price will be hgher than the SA1 bcos of its Intel processor and DVT.

daytonaguy
14-06-2007, 09:51 AM

Wah...so fast price drop....I paid 1049 for the 40gb!!

XP
14-06-2007, 10:45 AM
I gonna buy the k600 :D Been holding out ever since i got wind that the new model is coming.

undiscern
14-06-2007, 11:16 AM
K600 looks good, but dont know about its battery life.

For those who already have the current model, dont be sad or disappointed...its so cheap anyway, hold on to it for 2 yrs, and by then much more fantastic model will be available. No matter k600 or this current kjs, both can perform similar task on the go too (maybe not for video)...

also, dont be disapponted over price drop, afterall we enjoy playing it for about 1 week liao right... IT stuff pricing keep droping one. not to worry... Last time my CF 64mb card cost S$250...

Buy it and dont look back at the latest price, it wont go up one cos its not a commodity or securities :P its for consumption...

XP
14-06-2007, 11:20 AM
Anyway, I am not too confident of seeing the K600 appearing in SG in the coming month. SG is always slow in bringing in new gadgets ~_~

daytonaguy
14-06-2007, 11:37 AM
K600 looks good, but dont know about its battery life.

For those who already have the current model, dont be sad or disappointed...its so cheap anyway, hold on to it for 2 yrs, and by then much more fantastic model will be available. No matter k600 or this current kjs, both can perform similar task on the go too (maybe not for video)...

also, dont be disapponted over price drop, afterall we enjoy playing it for about 1 week liao right... IT stuff pricing keep droping one. not to worry... Last time my CF 64mb card cost S$250...

Buy it and dont look back at the latest price, it wont go up one cos its not a commodity or securities :P its for consumption...
You are right man....btw any ideas where they sell the ram upgrade other than PA Mart?
The last time when I bought the kohji they told me it's 199 for the 1gb memory. Dont know whether by upgrading the memory will improve video or not?

whatscooking
14-06-2007, 12:04 PM
If anyone has info on the availability of the new K600, be it in US/Japan/Spore etc, please post it here. I need one. Thanks.

kokhong
14-06-2007, 12:17 PM

wah! price drop so much! what about the 40gb? price got drop?

undiscern
14-06-2007, 03:46 PM
You are right man....btw any ideas where they sell the ram upgrade other than PA Mart?
The last time when I bought the kohji they told me it's 199 for the 1gb memory. Dont know whether by upgrading the memory will improve video or not?
Good question!

I think for $199, PA Mart will upgrade to 1GB. Remember its UPGRADE, meaning they will TAKE BACK the 512mb Ram.

You can easily DIY (follow the KJS userguide), a quick price check on HWZ shows the DDR333 (2700) 1GB ram cost $175. You can easily sell your 512mb Ram to partially offset your 1GB purchase. this type of ram is more expensive...sigh....

AS1
14-06-2007, 03:58 PM
Good question!

I think for $199, PA Mart will upgrade to 1GB. Remember its UPGRADE, meaning they will TAKE BACK the 512mb Ram.

You can easily DIY (follow the KJS userguide), a quick price check on HWZ shows the DDR333 (2700) 1GB ram cost $175. You can easily sell your 512mb Ram to partially offset your 1GB purchase. this type of ram is more expensive...sigh....
The priceguide...havent used it in a very very long time. I rely more on my personal priceguide.

You can actually get 1GB DDR333 sodimm for $140 there from shops in SLS. 512mb is about $30-ish.

Alkamizt
14-06-2007, 04:43 PM
Good question!

RAM:
I upgraded mine to 1Gb Crucial PC2700 bought from Laser at Funan for S$136 about a week ago. That was the cheapest I can find then. Price of RAMs fluctuate like forex so u need to shop and monitor prices if you are a cheapo like me.

Screen Protector:
PA Mart claimed they were ordering screen protectors 2 weeks back, but I just bought a large 17" notebook screen protector for S$12 and cut it down to the exact size. Fits perfectly with plenty of left over for next 2 applications. Scratch-proof too.

Price:
Not sure if the 100gb really dropped to $999. Only a week back, one PA Mart guy at SLS was quoting $999 for the 40gb and was running some cock and bull story on how the additional $200 was because the white Kohjinsha has a 1.8"HDD. I verified on the net later that it has just a normal 2.5" HDD.

Essential software for Kohjinsha:
- (Free)On screen keyboard (thanks to tip in this forum): Put shortcut in task bar for quick access
- (Free)Daemon Tools Virtual CD driver to load .ISOs as CDROMs to install your software or playback those nasty multimedia titles that require a CDROM
- (Free)Evernote for taking ink notes and lots of other stuff, but must pay if you want handwriting and shape recognition to get Evernote Plus.

Wish list:
- Bios option to boot up from the PCMCIA CF card. Otherwise it is just a waste of space.

daytonaguy
14-06-2007, 05:20 PM
RAM:
I upgraded mine to 1Gb Crucial PC2700 bought from Laser at Funan for S$136 about a week ago. That was the cheapest I can find then. Price of RAMs fluctuate like forex so u need to shop and monitor prices if you are a cheapo like me.

Screen Protector:
PA Mart claimed they were ordering screen protectors 2 weeks back, but I just bought a large 17" notebook screen protector for S$12 and cut it down to the exact size. Fits perfectly with plenty of left over for next 2 applications. Scratch-proof too.

Price:
Not sure if the 100gb really dropped to $999. Only a week back, one PA Mart guy at SLS was quoting $999 for the 40gb and was running some cock and bull story on how the additional $200 was because the white Kohjinsha has a 1.8"HDD. I verified on the net later that it has just a normal 2.5" HDD.

- (Free)On screen keyboard (thanks to tip in this forum): Put shortcut in task bar for quick access
- (Free)Daemon Tools Virtual CD driver to load .ISOs as CDROMs to install your software or playback those nasty multimedia titles that require a CDROM
- (Free)Evernote for taking ink notes and lots of other stuff, but must pay if you want handwriting and shape recognition to get Evernote Plus.

Wish list:
- Bios option to boot up from the PCMCIA CF card. Otherwise it is just a waste of space.
BTW, is it difficult to apply the screen protector?

undiscern
14-06-2007, 06:03 PM
Do you guys think it is possible to overclock the processor thru software?

undiscern
14-06-2007, 06:10 PM
RAM:

Screen Protector:

Price:

Wish list:
Thanks for sharing some of the essential software!

I'm shopping for a nice case to carry around the kjs. the provided pouch is so so and not so secure as it as an open end which the kjs might slip out.

I notice that casing for Fujitsu P1610 fits our KJS nicely! Also, if you dont mind the slight extra length, Sony Vaio TX casing can also be used! But so expensive, sony showroom selling the grey casing for $84, but it give quite good protection.

Pls share here if u guys found any nice casing!

Alkamizt
14-06-2007, 09:12 PM
BTW, is it difficult to apply the screen protector?

It was quite easy, actually. Just need to soap down your hands and do it in a dust free place.

blueangels
14-06-2007, 10:31 PM
Bought my Kohjinsha (white 100GB) frm PA Mart Funan at $1250. I know I've overpaid, so i'm here to warn others who intend to buy this machine frm PA Mart. Price shown on brochure is $1199, so when I'm at the counter to pay, they said include GST is $1258, then after some bargain they said final $1250. In fact, I did questioned them abt the price shown on brochure, why it's not stated "price does not include GST", but they managed to run ard the bush, even told me the customer ahead of me also paid GST (quite a few ppl bought this machine while I'm there). Should I go bk and get back my $50?

daytonaguy
14-06-2007, 11:27 PM
It was quite easy, actually. Just need to soap down your hands and do it in a dust free place.
Thanks for the information.

SleeplessInSingapore
14-06-2007, 11:31 PM
Bought my Kohjinsha (white 100GB) frm PA Mart Funan at $1250. I know I've overpaid, so i'm here to warn others who intend to buy this machine frm PA Mart. Price shown on brochure is $1199, so when I'm at the counter to pay, they said include GST is $1258, then after some bargain they said final $1250. In fact, I did questioned them abt the price shown on brochure, why it's not stated "price does not include GST", but they managed to run ard the bush, even told me the customer ahead of me also paid GST (quite a few ppl bought this machine while I'm there). Should I go bk and get back my $50?actually all shops must put the price as after gst price unless they have permission from the gst controller...

Radeon_Tan
14-06-2007, 11:46 PM
Bought my Kohjinsha (white 100GB) frm PA Mart Funan at $1250. I know I've overpaid, so i'm here to warn others who intend to buy this machine frm PA Mart. Price shown on brochure is $1199, so when I'm at the counter to pay, they said include GST is $1258, then after some bargain they said final $1250. In fact, I did questioned them abt the price shown on brochure, why it's not stated "price does not include GST", but they managed to run ard the bush, even told me the customer ahead of me also paid GST (quite a few ppl bought this machine while I'm there). Should I go bk and get back my $50?

wa, like dat also can :s27:

i managed to persuade them to let me pay by credit card without the 2% surcharge :s13:

they con my colleague to pay $200+ for 1gb of ram and he let them keep the 512mb of ram

i bought my 1gb of ram at fuwall for $145
:D

Alkamizt
15-06-2007, 08:57 AM
Honestly speaking, a couple of years back, the same PA Mart at Funan did the exact same thing to me and tried to get me to pay GST on top of the price after I confirmed the sale. I just walked out of the place and never stepped into the shop for 2 years. I went back there to ask about RAM upgrade for the Kohjinsha and whatever accessories they may have and they quoted me $300 for the 1Mb upgrade. I just walked out and will not go back for another 2 years. No need to argue and get all worked up.

Shops under the same banner operate quite differently in different places. For example, there are at least 3 AAA shops in SLS and I can get different prices quoted for items from the 3 different shops.

The PA Mart down at SLS seem to be a bit more reasonable. The price for the Kohjinsha was $999 (40Gb) and $1199 (100Gb) INCLUSIVE of GST. Could have dropped by now. When purchasing big ticket items managed by sales people without a price tag, ALWAYS ask if the price is inclusive of GST, especially in places such as Funan and SLS where people work on sales commission.

caterham7
15-06-2007, 10:28 AM
if PA Mart is PERSONAL AUTOMATION MART PTE LTD, then they are GST registered
GST Registration Number: M20119290X
info from IRAS
https://mytax.iras.gov.sg/ESVWeb/default.aspx?target=GSTListingSearch

IRAS has very specific rules for price display
http://www.iras.gov.sg/ESVPortal/gst/gst_c.7.3_price+display+for+goods+and+services.asp

daytonaguy
15-06-2007, 10:30 AM
Honestly speaking, a couple of years back, the same PA Mart at Funan did the exact same thing to me and tried to get me to pay GST on top of the price after I confirmed the sale. I just walked out of the place and never stepped into the shop for 2 years. I went back there to ask about RAM upgrade for the Kohjinsha and whatever accessories they may have and they quoted me $300 for the 1Mb upgrade. I just walked out and will not go back for another 2 years. No need to argue and get all worked up.

Shops under the same banner operate quite differently in different places. For example, there are at least 3 AAA shops in SLS and I can get different prices quoted for items from the 3 different shops.

The PA Mart down at SLS seem to be a bit more reasonable. The price for the Kohjinsha was $999 (40Gb) and $1199 (100Gb) INCLUSIVE of GST. Could have dropped by now. When purchasing big ticket items managed by sales people without a price tag, ALWAYS ask if the price is inclusive of GST, especially in places such as Funan and SLS where people work on sales commission.
Well, I bought my 40gb kohji from PA SLS for $1049 2 weeks ago..that means kanna conned lah...

Alkamizt
15-06-2007, 02:09 PM
Well, I just went down to PA Mart in SLS this afternoon and apparently the prices are now S$1050 (40Gb) and S$1199 (100Gb) BEFORE GST. Apparently the S$999 incl GST deal is for PC Show. Strangely, when I was quoted the S$999 it was 3 days before PC Show. Demand must be pretty good for them to offer such prices now.

So perhaps the chap that mentioned he got the 100Gb for S$999 can furnish more details of how he accomplished this feat.

* Alkamizt

Alkamizt
15-06-2007, 02:32 PM
If anyone has info on the availability of the new K600 be it in US/Japan/Spore etc, please post it here. I need one. Thanks.

I don't think the K600 (http://www.engadget.com/2007/06/13/kohjinshas-k600-gets-an-intel-a100-and-dmb-tv/), in its given form, will ever come to Singapore. The weird attenna thing you see there is for T-DMB, which is the popular digital TV format used only in Korea and perhaps parts of Japan. Singapore currently only supports DVB-T (what you get from the cheap USB digital TV sticks, and also what is shown on TVMobile on buses. The industry is trying to standardize around DVB/H, a newer format, but there is still a long way to go. It is the same NTSC vs SECAM vs PAL wars all over again.

Of course, that doesn't stop Kohjinsha from pulling out or replacing the tuner for selling in other countries as other variants of the K600. But I would bet it would be at least 3 months before we can actually buy a newer model of the Kohjinsha in Singapore with local warranty. So if you can wait that long, do it. Otherwise, just get the current version. It is one of those revolutionary market changing products.

djchris
15-06-2007, 03:39 PM
Just curious...since the Kohjinsha is not a touch screen...how useful can the swivel lcd be?

And also, is this device useful for web development? Like web designs and programming... :)

AS1
15-06-2007, 03:57 PM
Just curious...since the Kohjinsha is not a touch screen...how useful can the swivel lcd be?

And also, is this device useful for web development? Like web designs and programming... :)
There is a touch screen version.

The swivel is pretty okay since can control the mouse using the side buttons. Also makes a convenient "TV" for trips.

absolutely not. The screen already so small and hdd so limited + slow processor and a host of other things.

For your usage, better to get the Acer AMD $1.1K 14" notebook.

djchris
15-06-2007, 04:00 PM
Hmm...web development don't need alot of memory and processing speed...

A concern would be the possibility of running adobe photoshop and macromedia flash.

14" too big liao. 12" or smaller best. I like to be portable coz I always meet up with clients.

daytonaguy
15-06-2007, 05:00 PM
RAM:

Screen Protector:

Price:

Wish list:
Well for the benefit of the people here,I went to PA mart SLS this afternoon and they say that the screen protector for the Kohji is in...cost 29 bucks....did not see the actual stuff..

whatscooking
15-06-2007, 06:07 PM
Better wait for the new model to arrive. No point buying something now that cannot run Vista and not able to run certain type of video format properly. Be patient.

blueangels
15-06-2007, 10:58 PM
if PA Mart is PERSONAL AUTOMATION MART PTE LTD, then they are GST registered
GST Registration Number: M20119290X
info from IRAS
https://mytax.iras.gov.sg/ESVWeb/default.aspx?target=GSTListingSearch

IRAS has very specific rules for price display
http://www.iras.gov.sg/ESVPortal/gst/gst_c.7.3_price+display+for+goods+and+services.asp

Thanks for the above info. I called Inland Revenue this morning and they said I can file a case regarding this matter.

Anyway, I went bk to PA Mart jst now and talked to the boss, showed him the iras GST rules, and managed to get back my "overpaid GST" :s12: , plus some goodies to "calm" me down. They said they made a mistake and will change the price list asap. They will be selling the unit at $1199 plus 5% GST frm tmr onwards. There was another KJS buyer at PA Mart as well, they wanted to charge him $1199 plus GST too. I told him abt my encounter and he managed to get the unit at $1199 (without paying the extra GST). I guess frm now on i'll be blacklisted by PA Mart, who cares, coz I wont buy anything frm this shop anymore in my life. :s13:

On my way home, saw Popular Tampines Mall selling KJS at $1199 (white 100GB), and $1050 for the 40GB black unit. So, whoever keen to get KJS, you know where to buy.....

OK, now talk about my KJS. Played a 500kbps movie with 16MB graphic memory, no prob at all.... my recommendation is to play all media using Media PLayer Classic.

Advice for those who are still considering whether to get KJS. If you needed a PC which is light and small (bcoz u need to travel a lot), to watch movie, MP3, emailling, light net surfing, light documents work (with office).... KJS will jst suite u. If you needed a PC to work all day long, especially requires a lot of typing, i suggest you to get a 14' Acer at abt the same price. Coz the keyboard size for KJS is smaller than standard, and small screen size is not healthy to be stared the whole day. If you are a heavy internet surfer, you might also find this irritating too bcoz certain webpage jst dun sit in nicely and required a lot of scrolling (left-right).

blueangels
15-06-2007, 11:00 PM
oh ya, before i forget. PA Mart Funan selling the 7' screen protector at abt $23-24. Can someone pls confirm this again.

SleeplessInSingapore
15-06-2007, 11:02 PM
Thanks for the above info. I called Inland Revenue this morning and they said I can file a case regarding this matter.

Anyway, I went bk to PA Mart jst now and talked to the boss, showed him the iras GST rules, and managed to get back my "overpaid GST" :s12: , plus some goodies to "calm" me down. They said they made a mistake and will change the price list asap. They will be selling the unit at $1199 plus 5% GST frm tmr onwards. There was another KJS buyer at PA Mart as well, they wanted to charge him $1199 plus GST too. I told him abt my encounter and he managed to get the unit at $1199 (without paying the extra GST). I guess frm now on i'll be blacklisted by PA Mart, who cares, coz I wont buy anything frm this shop anymore in my life. :s13:

On my way home, saw Popular Tampines Mall selling KJS at $1199 (white 100GB), and $1050 for the 40GB black unit. So, whoever keen to get KJS, you know where to buy.....

OK, now talk about my KJS. Played a 500kbps movie with 16MB graphic memory, no prob at all.... my recommendation is to play all media using Media PLayer Classic.

Advice for those who are still considering whether to get KJS. If you needed a PC which is light and small (bcoz u need to travel a lot), to watch movie, MP3, emailling, light net surfing, light documents work (with office).... KJS will jst suite u. If you needed a PC to work all day long, especially requires a lot of typing, i suggest you to get a 14' Acer at abt the same price. Coz the keyboard size for KJS is smaller than standard, and small screen size is not healthy to be stared the whole day. If you are a heavy internet surfer, you might also find this irritating too bcoz certain webpage jst dun sit in nicely and required a lot of scrolling (left-right).congrats to you~! :)

we consumers need to take these errant retailers to task!! :mad:

hardon2
15-06-2007, 11:38 PM
I don't understand why anyone would want to buy from a small shop in Sim Lim or Funan when they can buy product at the same price from a reputable dealer.

Small places like these are petty.

They purposely defy the law just to make small profits. When something goes wrong with your unit, and you need them to spend $30 or $40 (for labour, transport etc) in order to honour their warranty commitments - they'll argue and fight with you to see if they can avoid their repair obligations - because they simply don't care about their reputation.

It's clear from these postings that PA Mart has been baiting customers for years by not stating GST inclusive prices - maybe they justify it by saying they're not the only ones, but a dealer with integrity simply wouldn't do this!

Well Done PA Mart for getting away this rubbish for so long! Ha ha ha!

If it were me, even if it were more expensive, I'd buy the machine from Popular.because they have a reputation to protect when something goes wrong.
The fact that the Kohjinsha is CHEAPER at Popular makes the decision a no-brainer!

daytonaguy
16-06-2007, 09:56 AM
Better wait for the new model to arrive. No point buying something now that cannot run Vista and not able to run certain type of video format properly. Be patient.
Hi, in this era of technological advancement there is no end in the "waiting game".Be it PDAs, Mobile Phones, there are always some so called "cons" that's highlighted by not so satisfied consumers in other gadgets' forum.
The point is, identify your actual needs VS the price you are going to pay ( not get ALL the stuffs the machine can do as compared to those other machines ).
No hard feeling....just my 2 cents...

undiscern
16-06-2007, 10:43 AM
Ok guys,

I've uploaded a video playback demo on youtube:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BI0Gb1qiqLc

SOme infor on the file:
File played is Spider Man 3 trailer (courtesy of Stage6 Divx.com). Frame rate: 23fps, Data Rate: 179kbps, Video Sample Size: 24bit, Compression: DivX. Image size: 720*336 pixels.
Source: http://stage6.divx.com/user/fouredin/video/1170851/Spiderman-3-FINAL-Trailer---HD-720

It play as smooth on my 1.73G laptop as well as on KJS 500mhz.

I tried playing the higer bitrate file 506kpbs, and it suffers lagging video playback, although audip is smooth.:
http://stage6.divx.com/user/lolof/video/1165999/Pirates-of-the-Caribbean-At-World's-End---Teaser

So well, 200-300kpbs video is the limit i guess. Given the screen small size, at such Bitrate, it is more than sufficient.

dennisleu
16-06-2007, 11:08 AM
Hmm...web development don't need alot of memory and processing speed...

A concern would be the possibility of running adobe photoshop and macromedia flash.

14" too big liao. 12" or smaller best. I like to be portable coz I always meet up with clients.

I do not own one of these but I am very sure that adobe PS is too demanding for the kjs to handle. But there are quite a few lighter image editing s/w that does the same job, i am sure they work better on kjs.

eg Irfanview (http://www.download.com/IrfanView/3000-2192_4-10667331.html?tag=lst-0-10) and of cos the popular, powerful and yet free The GIMP (http://www.download.com/The-GIMP/3000-2192_4-10635470.html?tag=lst-0-4).

G4
16-06-2007, 12:40 PM
read from taiwan websites, playing divx files is ok, but not with rmvb files... btw, just curious, can this watch tv using usb tv tuner?

whatscooking
16-06-2007, 12:45 PM
According to this site, the new K600 comes with 1.3mega pixel webcam:

http://www.umpcportal.com/modules/news/article.php?storyid=694

Thats a big plus point.

undiscern
16-06-2007, 01:45 PM
read from taiwan websites, playing divx files is ok, but not with rmvb files... btw, just curious, can this watch tv using usb tv tuner?
Not yet tried rmvb, but I tried .rm files on Southpark single episode (http://www.mrtwig.net/) file size about 37mb, 22mins, 225kbps. Smooth on KJS.

I guess, its not the file type, but the data bit rate which affects the KJS video playback.

redwine
16-06-2007, 04:16 PM

Advice for those who are still considering whether to get KJS. If you needed a PC which is light and small (bcoz u need to travel a lot), to watch movie, MP3, emailling, light net surfing, light documents work (with office).... KJS will jst suite u. If you needed a PC to work all day long, especially requires a lot of typing, i suggest you to get a 14' Acer at abt the same price. Coz the keyboard size for KJS is smaller than standard, and small screen size is not healthy to be stared the whole day. If you are a heavy internet surfer, you might also find this irritating too bcoz certain webpage jst dun sit in nicely and required a lot of scrolling (left-right).

Hi blueangels, I was the guy that you spoke to about your additional GST payment. Thank you very much for alerting me to their unethical practice and save me from paying extra $60 to them.

Anyway, has anyone here tried to install the handwriting recognition software that comes with the Microsoft XP? I keep running into missing SKU111.CAB error. Any idea how I can resolve this problem since the o/s comes preinstall and I dont have the disk.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/306906

undiscern
16-06-2007, 05:41 PM
Hi blueangels, I was the guy that you spoke to about your additional GST payment. Thank you very much for alerting me to their unethical practice and save me from paying extra $60 to them.

Anyway, has anyone here tried to install the handwriting recognition software that comes with the Microsoft XP? I keep running into missing SKU111.CAB error. Any idea how I can resolve this problem since the o/s comes preinstall and I dont have the disk.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/306906
I'm using penoffice, very good recognition, even natural curvy writing also can recognize. u can download the latest 2.6 version for a 30 day trial. pocket pc user should be familiar with its calligrapher recognition function.

Radeon_Tan
16-06-2007, 05:43 PM
2 questions from your fellow user of this cute lappy:

a) how much the extra battery cost?

b) have u try to install windows vista home premium into this laptop?

undiscern
16-06-2007, 05:51 PM
2 questions from your fellow user of this cute lappy:

a) how much the extra battery cost?

b) have u try to install windows vista home premium into this laptop?
PA Mart price the charger at $100 plus, i would say the battery will be much more expensive. I dont see any point in getting an extra batt since it can last 4-5hrs of usage per charge. In case u worry about end of battery life, worry not, i give this model a useful life of 2yrs given the cheap price, so battery would last more than its useful life, after which can pass to young kids as toy.

As for vista, not yet get hold of legal copy yet... not cheap leh

Radeon_Tan
16-06-2007, 06:00 PM
dont know why - my battery drain very fast when i use wireless internet (SG@wireless (SG@wireless))now at 20% :mad:

the extra adaptor ish $80 + lar

undiscern
16-06-2007, 06:05 PM
Anyone wanna be commando to try out iRotate, a free licencse screen rotation software:
http://www.entechtaiwan.com/util/irotate.shtm

I've tried Pivot Pro on my acer laptop (before trying on KJS), and it screwed up the whole display after installation, screen resolution becomes very low and 4bit colour only! luckily uninstalling it restore it back to normal.

cueball1981
16-06-2007, 07:16 PM
u csn use the writing software build into office 2003 and above

daytonaguy
16-06-2007, 07:46 PM
Anybody here have any recommendation for Slim DVDrw for the Kohji..

daytonaguy
16-06-2007, 08:15 PM
I got an external USB DVD-RW drive from Sim Lim Square for 109 dollars... Cheap.. Its frm Bizgram... MY kohji can recognise...
You got the model number for the DVD-RW you bought?
Thanks.

AS1
16-06-2007, 10:12 PM
Anybody here have any recommendation for Slim DVDrw for the Kohji..
Cybermind Funan has a USB Sony G170-Ex DVDRW with Firewire for around the same price as well. Its the large one and not the slim one. last 2 pcs if i see clearly.

Radeon_Tan
16-06-2007, 10:15 PM
Me using this to pair with my mini-lappy:

http://aycu30.webshots.com/image/16829/2000744141574634636_rs.jpg

undiscern
16-06-2007, 11:21 PM
Seems like AMD Geode supports screen rotation. From the graphics display properties (AMD Geode) that there is such a function, but is grayed out.

daytonaguy
16-06-2007, 11:45 PM
Me using this to pair with my mini-lappy:

http://aycu30.webshots.com/image/16829/2000744141574634636_rs.jpg

Where you bought it? and how much?

Great Weekend!

kapo
17-06-2007, 12:10 AM
Any problems with big pdf files (hundreds of pages with pictures)? Using Adobe Acrobat or other program?

How about pics? it sluggish with typical jpeg size of a few megs?

Thanks.

redwine
17-06-2007, 12:24 AM
I'm using penoffice, very good recognition, even natural curvy writing also can recognize. u can download the latest 2.6 version for a 30 day trial. pocket pc user should be familiar with its calligrapher recognition function.
Ok thanks. I have downloaded it and it works great. Not sure if I will want to pay for it after the 30 days trial.

Incidentally, anyone reads Japanese here? Check out their website:

http://www.kohjinsha.com/index.html

Radeon_Tan
17-06-2007, 01:47 AM
Where you bought it? and how much?

Great Weekend!

south asia (funan) $189
with free sony memory card reader (17 in 1)

can redeem Transformer Movie pass (for 2 persons to watch)

Elvin_Chong
17-06-2007, 04:12 AM

This also happened to me when I brought my Sotec laptop from PA Mart (Funan) last year. They charge me 1099 for the laptop excluding GST and in the end had to pay 1149 for my laptop where others got theirs for 1099. :mad: :mad:

tt32003
17-06-2007, 09:15 AM
I don't understand why anyone would want to buy from a small shop in Sim Lim or Funan when they can buy product at the same price from a reputable dealer.

Small places like these are petty.

They purposely defy the law just to make small profits. When something goes wrong with your unit, and you need them to spend $30 or $40 (for labour, transport etc) in order to honour their warranty commitments - they'll argue and fight with you to see if they can avoid their repair obligations - because they simply don't care about their reputation.

It's clear from these postings that PA Mart has been baiting customers for years by not stating GST inclusive prices - maybe they justify it by saying they're not the only ones, but a dealer with integrity simply wouldn't do this!

Well Done PA Mart for getting away this rubbish for so long! Ha ha ha!

If it were me, even if it were more expensive, I'd buy the machine from Popular.because they have a reputation to protect when something goes wrong.
The fact that the Kohjinsha is CHEAPER at Popular makes the decision a no-brainer!

PA mart is actually the distributor. besta at popular is actually just a reseller.
Unless they parellel import.
if faulty think still need to go back to PA mart

daytonaguy
17-06-2007, 09:50 AM
south asia (funan) $189
with free sony memory card reader (17 in 1)

can redeem Transformer Movie pass (for 2 persons to watch)
Wow! Free movie pass to watch transformer...that's the movie I'm planning to bring my son to watch...wonder if the offer is still on...

undiscern
17-06-2007, 09:51 AM
I think PA Mart, Besta & Iknow digi hub are all from the same boss, each focusing different market segment.

Radeon_Tan
17-06-2007, 03:46 PM
Wow! Free movie pass to watch transformer...that's the movie I'm planning to bring my son to watch...wonder if the offer is still on...

still available lar
http://aycu03.webshots.com/image/19082/2004954571078769890_rs.jpg

hardon2
17-06-2007, 11:18 PM
PA Mart told me there were 3 companies bringing in the unit. Not just them

Can anyone confirm whether PA Mart is the distributor?

If it is, I won't be buying any more of these units.

undiscern
17-06-2007, 11:39 PM
Screen Rotation on KJS possible:

http://www.imagehosting.com/out.php/i790999_SA1Ftate.jpg

Its from Jap website on KJS, there are many goodies there:
http://pc.usy.jp/wiki/133.html

Instructions are in Jap (http://pc.usy.jp/wiki/133.html#cfc98e49) ...

縦画面化 † (http://pc.usy.jp/wiki/index.php?%B9%A9%BF%CD%BC%**%20SA1F#cfc98e49)

Raon Video Driver (http://www.raondigital.com/english/download/driver/view.asp?sid=11&page_no=1)からLXDPApp.dllを取り出す。
財布をセーフモードで起動
LXDPApp.dllを差し替える
画面のプロパティ[設定]タブ→[詳細設定]→[GeodeLX Setting]タブ→Screen Orientationから好きな角度を選択。
ポインタの縦画面対応はフリーウェアの”さかさまうす”がオススメです
縦画面画像 (http://pc.usy.jp/wiki/index.php?plugin=attach&pcmd=open&file=SA1F_tate.jpg&refer=%B9%A9%BF%CD%BC%**%20SA1F)

blueangels
18-06-2007, 02:21 AM
hi redwine, you are welcomed. Thanks for joining force with me, otherwise, i might not get back my money frm them.

Anyway, PA Mart (Funan) is the service center for KJS in Singapore (as stated in the warranty card in the box).

djchris
18-06-2007, 02:36 AM
I played with the Kohjinsha demo unit at PA Mart (Funan).

Very interesting piece.
Too bad it's a bit too small for any web developing... :(

undiscern
18-06-2007, 11:12 AM
Yes, its too small for long hrs of serious work, but it is good for urgent work wherever you are, say you are overseas, u cna bring along this small kjs for urgent task. Its still not gonna replace the 15"laptop or desktop.

djchris
18-06-2007, 11:19 AM
Hmm..I think I wait for price to drop first..

undiscern
18-06-2007, 12:45 PM
Screen Rotation on KJS possible:

http://www.imagehosting.com/out.php/i790999_SA1Ftate.jpg

Its from Jap website on KJS, there are many goodies there:
http://pc.usy.jp/wiki/133.html

Instructions are in Jap (http://pc.usy.jp/wiki/133.html#cfc98e49) ...

縦画面化 † (http://pc.usy.jp/wiki/index.php?%B9%A9%BF%CD%BC%**%20SA1F#cfc98e49)

Raon Video Driver (http://www.raondigital.com/english/download/driver/view.asp?sid=11&page_no=1)からLXDPApp.dllを取り出す。
財布をセーフモードで起動
LXDPApp.dllを差し替える
画面のプロパティ[設定]タブ→[詳細設定]→[GeodeLX Setting]タブ→Screen Orientationから好きな角度を選択。
ポインタの縦画面対応はフリーウェアの”さかさまうす”がオススメです
縦画面画像 (http://pc.usy.jp/wiki/index.php?plugin=attach&pcmd=open&file=SA1F_tate.jpg&refer=%B9%A9%BF%CD%BC%**%20SA1F)

I've done it.

If you go to desktop, right click (on wallpaper)> properties>Settings>Advanced>GeodeLX Settings

You will notice that the Screen Orientation functions are disabled. This is because the video driver(LXDPApp.dll) provided disable it. To enable it follow steps below:

1. Go to the above link to download the Raon video driver.
2. Unzip it and look for the file LXDPApp.dll to make sure it is there.
3. Reboot your kjs to SAFE MODE
4. Search your KJS for the file LXDPApp.dll, you will find 3 important returns showing the location of the original LXDPApp.dll that comes with your KJS (in prog>AMD, Win>system32)
5. Replace those original LXDPApp.dll with the one you downloaded from Raon.
6. Restart you KJS as per normal.

go to desktop, right click (on wallpaper)> properties>Settings>Advanced>GeodeLX Settings

Screen Rotation is enabled. :)

Becareful when rotating it as the resolution will change. play with it to get back the original landscape mode. You may need to tap the screen everytime you FN + ESC (Do not tap if it is not the resolution u want).

undiscern
18-06-2007, 01:08 PM
I've done it.

If you go to desktop, right click (on wallpaper)> properties>Settings>Advanced>GeodeLX Settings

You will notice that the Screen Orientation functions are disabled. This is because the video driver(LXDPApp.dll) provided disable it. To enable it follow steps below:

1. Go to the above link to download the Raon video driver.
2. Unzip it and look for the file LXDPApp.dll to make sure it is there.
3. Reboot your kjs to SAFE MODE
4. Search your KJS for the file LXDPApp.dll, you will find 3 important returns showing the location of the original LXDPApp.dll that comes with your KJS (in prog>AMD, Win>system32)
5. Replace those original LXDPApp.dll with the one you downloaded from Raon.
6. Restart you KJS as per normal.

go to desktop, right click (on wallpaper)> properties>Settings>Advanced>GeodeLX Settings

Screen Rotation is enabled. :)

Becareful when rotating it as the resolution will change. play with it to get back the original landscape mode. You may need to tap the screen everytime you FN + ESC (Do not tap if it is not the resolution u want).Ok, so now you have enabled the Screen Orientation.
Assuming you are on Landsacpe 800*480 mode,

To maintain sharp resolution, after you choose portrait, press the Enter key on your keyboard (equal to OK), do not click APPLY button. Then it will prompt you if you want to keep this setting, click YES.

You will notice the screen is sharp as it is still in its native display (480*800). Then it will exit to Display Properties (showing the resolution and colour bit), click CANCEL. It will maintain the sharpness. Do not choose OK or APPLY as it will make the image blur again (as it will change to non-native display).

To reverse to Landscape 800*480 mode, repeat the above. The key is the steps above in BOLD.

undiscern
18-06-2007, 01:39 PM
Landscape 800*480:

http://www.imagehosting.com/out.php/i791462_Landscape.JPG document.getElementById("imagecode").style.visibility="visible";

Portrait 480*800:
http://www.imagehosting.com/out.php/i791466_Portrait.JPG

etegration
18-06-2007, 11:04 PM
According to this site, the new K600 comes with 1.3mega pixel webcam:

http://www.umpcportal.com/modules/news/article.php?storyid=694

Thats a big plus point.

very interesting news!

Compact Flash slot...it's a plus plus plus!

jacjet
19-06-2007, 12:37 AM
If you are using Firefox browser, the "FullerScreen" add-on (Tools->Add-ons->Find Updates) will auto-hide the top Menu and Tabs bar for FULL screen web browsing.

Once "FullerScreen" is running, hit F11 to activate and then use Fn-Esc to cycle thru the screen modes to auto-hide it properly. This is really useful when surfing on that little screen.

djchris
19-06-2007, 09:37 AM
very interesting news!

Compact Flash slot...it's a plus plus plus!
Hmm..I don't think I need the webcam and cf slot though...the CPU up 100mhz?

daytonaguy
19-06-2007, 10:03 AM
If you are using Firefox browser, the "FullerScreen" add-on (Tools->Add-ons->Find Updates) will auto-hide the top Menu and Tabs bar for FULL screen web browsing.

Once "FullerScreen" is running, hit F11 to activate and then use Fn-Esc to cycle thru the screen modes to auto-hide it properly. This is really useful when surfing on that little screen.
Wonder anybody has the same issue....
When using firefox, I cant open the website " www.yahoo.com.sg"...it keeps on looping.
Everything Ok with Explorer and Opera.

daytonaguy
19-06-2007, 10:05 AM
Hmm..I don't think I need the webcam and cf slot though...the CPU up 100mhz?
With the webcam, +100hz Intel CPU and the TV thingy....wonder how much will the $$ be up

djchris
19-06-2007, 10:22 AM
If the price goes up alot, maybe can consider picking up the older version for cost savings. :D

daytonaguy
19-06-2007, 06:43 PM
With the webcam, +100hz Intel CPU and the TV thingy....wonder how much will the $$ be up
Quoted that the main battery last about 3hrs. and there is an extended battery as option.Wonder whether that means they are expecting the new model to deplete battery faster :s13:

daytonaguy
20-06-2007, 07:41 PM
Anybody bought the screen protector from PA mart.Wonder how's the quality?

hitchman
21-06-2007, 01:45 AM
I'm just curious if anyone has experience with the ACT software on the Kohjinsha. It runs fine on my Fujitsu P1120 but I'd like to hear from someone who is currently using it on a low power UMPC. Thanks

blueangels
23-06-2007, 02:28 AM
Anybody bought the screen protector from PA mart.Wonder how's the quality?

I got the said screen protector, quite nice quality.

cueball1981
23-06-2007, 11:10 AM
try the screen rotation patch.. non bad but be better if could link to the hardware button (marco)

undiscern
23-06-2007, 11:57 AM
try the screen rotation patch.. non bad but be better if could link to the hardware button (marco) Any good programmer around who could help to write an automation programme for this task ;)

cueball1981
23-06-2007, 12:03 PM
yup.. like marco it to a function button

whatscooking
23-06-2007, 09:14 PM
Latest news on the new Kohjinsha K600 / K601 that is capable of running Vista and a few new features that the existing SA1 does not have:

http://www.aving.net/usa/news/default.asp?mode=read&c_num=50782&C_Code=02

Hope it comes here in 1-2 months time. :)

Radeon_Tan
24-06-2007, 05:00 AM
i try to install Vista on the SAF model

the damn thing stuck at loading files for a long time, i gave up :mad:

daytonaguy
24-06-2007, 02:29 PM
Well. Kohjinsha is not a bad notebook...feel like trading off for a ultra portable with a slightly bigger screen...10.4" maybe... :) Any good recommendation for a good 10.4" notebook preferably with touchscreen...?

Thanks and Great Weekend!

Radeon_Tan
24-06-2007, 03:48 PM
me think the most important is the battery - how long can it last

try looking at Gigabyte incoming model, looks good but more ex.

daytonaguy
24-06-2007, 05:55 PM
me think the most important is the battery - how long can it last

try looking at Gigabyte incoming model, looks good but more ex.
True...most of the ultra portables have this weakness...Just like in the PDA Phones arena.
You have a fast and powerfull PDA with superb multimedia handling capabilities but the battery depletes at a faster rate than others with slower processors...

Healin
25-06-2007, 12:01 PM
Did anyone try Maple Story with the lappy? Can it run it without hipcups?

whatscooking
25-06-2007, 06:15 PM
Some pics on the size comparison between the new K600 and the existing SA1:

http://www.umpcportal.com/modules/news/article.php?storyid=717

So far, i dont see any article mentioning the 1.3 mega pixel webcam in the new K600. Wonder why.

blueangels
25-06-2007, 10:35 PM
System requirement for running Windows Vista is minimum 1GHz processor, but K600 only hv 600MHz.

I tried using KJS to run skype, no prob in making voice call (although the whole laptop shows significantly slower), but quite struggling for the laptop to run video conference. Then I found out tht min 1GHz processor is required to run video call.

BaLtO
25-06-2007, 10:51 PM
Cos next yr, I don't think they can include win xp tablet oem.
So they need to refresh with a vista version that can support tablet.
A bit problem ...

Radeon_Tan
26-06-2007, 04:06 AM
Win XP home is fine with me for an ultra portable

but dont know why the battery like 2hr plus only

BaLtO
26-06-2007, 09:48 AM
wifi takes up a lot of battery life also.

djchris
26-06-2007, 10:04 AM
Win XP home is fine with me for an ultra portable

but dont know why the battery like 2hr plus only
Which model, batt only 2hrs?

vaxvms
26-06-2007, 10:51 AM

1. Surf net
2. Check email
3. MSN
6. Play Starcraft
7. Watch Xvid video

just to check can I use ACDsee on this little machine?
my main function to buy is for backup storage for picture during travelling + can surf internet in hotel too
and think better option than epson P8000 :s12:

Singapura
26-06-2007, 11:25 AM
I got my hands on one of these last week and must say it looks very tempting. A few questions though, maybe you guys can help me out:

How fast are emulators like ZSnes running on this thing (if they run at all?)
How about MMORPG's?

It would be great to read e-books on, is the screen good enough for that?

Anyone who wants to sell his/hers, PM me, we can work something out ;)

BaLtO
26-06-2007, 11:54 AM
ZSnes should run ...

- CPU: Pentium II (or equivalent) 266MHz (500MHz recommended)

- RAM: 64MB of RAM (128MB recommended)

API: DirectX v8.0a or later must be installed

Video: any video card that supports DirectDraw (acceleration recommended)

Sound: any sound card that supports DirectSound (acceleration recommended)

MMORPG you must see the requirements of the game.

e-books, I wonder how good it can be viewed compared to a standard size tablet laptop

pker88
26-06-2007, 06:07 PM
anyone knows how much will be the via nanobook cost?
and when wil it be arrviing?

whatscooking
26-06-2007, 06:49 PM
The very first Kohjinsha K600 review with more than 20 interesting pics can be found here:

http://www.lazion.com/2510981
http://www.lazion.com/2510986

Click the words beside the arrow pointing down(left side of the page) and the pages will be expanded.

There are also two videos showing the K600 playing games and video.

Wonderful machine.

whatscooking
26-06-2007, 06:57 PM
Kohjinsha today announce the release of the new machine model "SH" in Japan (K600 in Korea).

www.kohjinsha.com

Coming to Singapore soon?

vaxvms
27-06-2007, 05:35 PM
Kohjinsha today announce the release of the new machine model "SH" in Japan (K600 in Korea).

www.kohjinsha.com

Coming to Singapore soon?

but will running vista too overload for this mini machine?

yash99
28-06-2007, 02:22 AM
but will running vista too overload for this mini machine?

YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

aliensg
28-06-2007, 10:41 AM
can this thing run linux? if install linux on it, would tablet still work?

vaxvms
28-06-2007, 11:52 PM
YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

maybe wait for more model to come.....
will get 1 for my travelling use.....basically act as a storage for my photo and internet browsing
ACDSEE or photoshop install should be no problem if 1GB ram is used rite?

Singapura
29-06-2007, 08:15 AM
The problem with waiting is that there always is a next model :s8:

allanyeo
29-06-2007, 09:45 PM

Bought my black KJS from Popular Orchard. I noticed the following build quality issues:

1. The Keyboard is not very responsive. You need to press harder than with a normal laptop keyboard. I always get missing characters.

2. The bezel of the LCD opening is not perfectly rectangular. If you observe carefully, the gap between the active area of the LCD and the bezel on the top left hand corner is bigger than at the bottom left corner.

3. When you rotate the screen to tablet mode, it is not perfectly flush with the side of the keyboards. You can see that the screen is slightly tilted; not perfectly 180 degrees turn.

4. The black KJS also has the touch screen calibration problem at the lower right corner.

Does anyone here has similar problems?

aliensg
29-06-2007, 10:01 PM
allan, how much is the kjs? can use popular discount card?

tt32003
29-06-2007, 10:02 PM
Btw does the 20% popular discount for members applied to this laptop ?
Too good to be true I know but no harm try asking.

allanyeo
29-06-2007, 10:32 PM
allan, how much is the kjs? can use popular discount card?

I bought it for $1050 inclusive of GST. I do not have a popular discount ard so I do not know if it is applicable.

wilsonchew93
29-06-2007, 11:50 PM
This is really tempting...

Is the price S$1050 (with GST) the model with 40GB HDD or 100GB HDD?

By the way, have you guys heard of the Malata Mini Notebook that cos RMB1980 (~SGD375)? It looks interesting.

csschong
30-06-2007, 03:21 AM
Hi all,

The Martin Fields Screen protector for KJS is available now at $39.... :)

kirin_kid
30-06-2007, 09:46 AM
I went to Popular Jurong east, asked the sale person:

a. No discount for Popular member.
b. No recover CD for this notebook, asked : What happen if the harddisk faulty?
Ans: change a new harddisk.
Q: How to get back the OS & device drivers?
Ans: Download from internet.
Q: Notebook no working now, How to download??

???????
Ans: Must send back to service center.

What s stupid answer!!!

daytonaguy
30-06-2007, 09:57 AM
Hi all,

Where is it selling?

Thanks and Best Regards.

allanyeo
30-06-2007, 10:14 AM

The salesperson apparetly has poor product knowledge.

I am using a KJS black color now. The hard disk is partition into C and D drive. The recovery data is hidden in D drive. There is an OS recovery mode in the user manual.

I bought the KJS together with a 7" sreen protector which cause $22.

Any KJS user here having the same build quality issues as mine which was posted earlier?

cueball1981
30-06-2007, 10:38 AM
mm i have the 40gb model. but how to use the recovery mode?? i dont have the menu.. but i have the winxpdisk tho.

knight_
30-06-2007, 11:10 AM
Does anyone know if Popular have the KJS available stock now? PA Mart have no stock and stock will only be coming in mid july.

allanyeo
30-06-2007, 12:06 PM
mm i have the 40gb model. but how to use the recovery mode?? i dont have the menu.. but i have the winxpdisk tho.

To recover OS press F4 after the splash screen.
Read and accept the End User License agreement.
Select Protect/Recovery
Click on Phoenix Firstware Recover Pro
Click Pick Backup Point and Select the restore points if you have created one.
Select Factory Restore Point and click Restore if you have not created a restore point previously.

These are taken from the KJS user manual.

daytonaguy
30-06-2007, 01:38 PM
Hi all,

Where is it sold?

daytonaguy
30-06-2007, 01:40 PM
Does anyone know if Popular have the KJS available stock now? PA Mart have no stock and stock will only be coming in mid july.
Huh?...so fast no stock? Maybe they bringing in the K600... :)

anch1ang
30-06-2007, 01:43 PM

By the way, have you guys heard of the Malata Mini Notebook that cos RMB1980 (~SGD375)? It looks interesting.any place sell this thing?

djchris
30-06-2007, 01:55 PM
How much disk space does the Malata have? It's running on flash memory right?

BaLtO
30-06-2007, 02:48 PM
http://cn.engadget.com/2007/04/28/only-250usd-malata-mini-notebook/

djchris
30-06-2007, 02:59 PM
I've visited that url before already.
My chinese not good, but it seems that the flash memory is pretty little.

BaLtO
30-06-2007, 03:06 PM
256 mb ram, but can upgrade to 1 gb ram
256 mb ram hmm ... quite okay.
Last time my computer runs on 40 mb ram.

undiscern
30-06-2007, 03:15 PM
To recover OS press F4 after the splash screen.
Read and accept the End User License agreement.
Select Protect/Recovery
Click on Phoenix Firstware Recover Pro
Click Pick Backup Point and Select the restore points if you have created one.
Select Factory Restore Point and click Restore if you have not created a restore point previously.

These are taken from the KJS user manual.
I've tried the recovery process before. It works fine.

Remember to restore only the OS drive; drive C. Like this, all your personal data in D are preserved. I did a factory restore and yes, its back to the original state when collected, but with D drive data in tact. no need to use the xp cd provided becos they have a factory image hard embeded liao. so save the need of having an external drive.