PDA

View Full Version : those using mio 2wire 2700hgv-2 modem please come in

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

teemie
28-06-2007, 03:15 PM
oh, and I'm using both a UPS and Surge Protector for both the power line and the DSL line, so it's definitely not any power spikes or current irregularities in my home, as the technical helpdesk suggested. they're full of nonsense.

By the way, I noticed one more problem with the 2700hgv modem, not sure if anyone noticed it here. it's got to do with routing (technical):

for example:
1. I have computers running on IP 192.168.0.1 and 192.168.0.2
2. I have a friend from America with IP 18.7.22.83
3. My Singnet IP is 219.74.74.74
4. My modem/router forwards ports 80 on my public IP (219.74.74.74) to 192.168.0.1 port 80.

A. I request for 219.74.74.74:80 from 18.7.22.83. Success.
(simplified routing: 18.7.22.83 -> 219.74.74.74:80 -> 192.168.0.1:80)

B. I request for 192.168.0.1:80 from 192.168.0.2. Success.
(simplified routing: 192.168.0.2 -> 192.168.0.1:80)

C. I request for 219.74.74.74:80 from 192.168.0.2. Failure.
(simplified routing: 192.168.0.2 -> 219.74.74.74:80 -> traffic blocked)

does any of you have this problem too? no one at 2wire/singnet understands what i'm trying to say. i'm wondering if it's just a config issue (but i really can't find anything). and it's quite irritating for me at least, as i've to change the preset DynDNS hostname in my programs to internal private IPs everytime i am at home.

tim

street
28-06-2007, 03:21 PM
I am using a dect phone.

My ringtone is the same (in/out) after shifted from analog to digital.

No different at all.

expression
28-06-2007, 03:47 PM
hey, so i'm not the only one facing modem crash problems?

mine's been crashing at least 2-3 times per day, sometimes more. I've had 2 months of trouble free mio service until 31 May when it started crashing. At the same time, I noticed that the modem's internet light keeps flashing.

singtel technician claimed that the flashing is because they're trying to keep track of the modem, blah blah... i'm wondering if that keeping track is what's actually causing the modem to crash out?

Seems like the dsl line is actually flooded with broadcast/multicast data that the modem cannot handle.

anyone has any solid leads on this?

tim.

u are definately not alone...

Try this... close all your browser/IM/downloads make sure no internet activities

Go to http://192.168.1.254/management, go to Event Logs under Troubleshooting. Password to this page is 2wire

clear the logs, wait for a few seconds, refresh the log page and see if there's any activities captured?

i'm not sure wat it means but i'm sure its due to the constant blinking light on the internet and it might be causing our router to hang??

if u call SingNet tech support they will tell u its normal... :s27:

amoeba
28-06-2007, 03:54 PM
my modem (with new firmware) was replaced a few weeks back. Since then, it hang for a handful or times. I hate it when it hangs & I have urgent matters to call home.

teemie
28-06-2007, 04:17 PM
right now as a test, i've swapped back to my previous adsl1+ modem (dang, only 6+Mbit/s downstream) to see if it's more stable.

but problem is that i've no home phone now. do you know how i can enable call forwarding on the mio voice?

javahuat
28-06-2007, 04:53 PM
New firmware (5.29.117.3) starting from today also. This is my connection status

DSL Connection Details
DSL Line (Wire Pair): Line 1 (inner pair)
Protocol: G.DMT2+ Annex A
Downstream Rate: 3500 kbps
Upstream Rate: 1040 kbps
Channel: Fast
Current Noise Margin: 31.0 dB (Downstream) 7.5 dB (Upstream)
Current Attenuation: 10.1 dB (Downstream) 2.7 dB (Upstream)
Current Output Power: 0.0 dBm (Downstream) 11.3 dBm (Upstream)
DSLAM Vendor Information: Country: {0xFF} Vendor: {GSPN} Specific: {0x1000}
PVC Info: 0/100

liangtam
28-06-2007, 05:16 PM
Everytime the technician come to your house, show him this forum.
Everytime they came, you show them - they can do nothing. Not their scope of job. Duhz.
Its will be hard to get the correct person to read this forum though, if thats what you are interested to achieve. And to fix something, as another matter altogether.

liangtam
28-06-2007, 05:19 PM
right now as a test, i've swapped back to my previous adsl1+ modem (dang, only 6+Mbit/s downstream) to see if it's more stable.

but problem is that i've no home phone now. do you know how i can enable call forwarding on the mio voice?
You can buy a external SIP adapter or use softphone software to make call instead.
Take a read at my thread 'mio Voice without mio Box'.

Accessing HTTPd on local site by external IP does not work on some business and consumer brand models because of absence of loopback feature or due to security issues.

blackslayer
28-06-2007, 05:35 PM
Mine keeps blibking too but pose no problems for me though. mine seldom disconnect maybe one or twice every 6 mths?

thiamhui
28-06-2007, 06:31 PM
Let's check on the setting of the modem.

Under Voice Network,
For Step 2: Set Up Phone Lines, there is this "Ntwk Call Feature". Is it on or off???
For Step 3: Match each Phone to a Line, there is this "Service Outage Detect ". Is it enabled or disabled???

I don't know what the above 2 options are for. But I have turn on the "Ntwk Call Feature" and enable the "Service Outage Detect ".

The modem has yet to hang after making these changes...

teemie
28-06-2007, 06:44 PM
You can buy a external SIP adapter or use softphone software to make call instead.
Take a read at my thread 'mio Voice without mio Box'.

Accessing HTTPd on local site by external IP does not work on some business and consumer brand models because of absence of loopback feature or due to security issues.

Actually I do have the PAP2T, and was experimenting with it. Couldn't get it to work previously, but I will check out your thread. I'm also a pfingo user, and the PAP2T does not connect calls to pfingo either.

What do you mean by "HTTPd" in this context?

Looks like i'm not able to access their internal 10.161.0.0/16 network while i'm using this netgear router - i wonder how the two networks (private / public) are bridged/routed...

tparry
28-06-2007, 06:49 PM
New firmware (5.29.117.3) starting from today also. This is my connection status

DSL Connection Details
Upstream Rate: 1040 kbps
Current Attenuation: 10.1 dB (Downstream) 2.7 dB (Upstream)
Current Output Power: 0.0 dBm (Downstream) 11.3 dBm (Upstream)

Well bad news for you, its the same firmware version ive had on all 4 of my modems. It wont be long before it will start playing up. Use the phone a few times, youll have it hanging and reseting in no time LOL

tparry
28-06-2007, 07:03 PM
oh, and I'm using both a UPS and Surge Protector for both the power line and the DSL line, so it's definitely not any power spikes or current irregularities in my home, as the technical helpdesk suggested. they're full of nonsense.

By the way, I noticed one more problem with the 2700hgv modem, not sure if anyone noticed it here. it's got to do with routing (technical):

for example:
1. I have computers running on IP 192.168.0.1 and 192.168.0.2
2. I have a friend from America with IP 18.7.22.83
3. My Singnet IP is 219.74.74.74
4. My modem/router forwards ports 80 on my public IP (219.74.74.74) to 192.168.0.1 port 80.

A. I request for 219.74.74.74:80 from 18.7.22.83. Success.
(simplified routing: 18.7.22.83 -> 219.74.74.74:80 -> 192.168.0.1:80)

B. I request for 192.168.0.1:80 from 192.168.0.2. Success.
(simplified routing: 192.168.0.2 -> 192.168.0.1:80)

C. I request for 219.74.74.74:80 from 192.168.0.2. Failure.
(simplified routing: 192.168.0.2 -> 219.74.74.74:80 -> traffic blocked)

does any of you have this problem too? no one at 2wire/singnet understands what i'm trying to say. i'm wondering if it's just a config issue (but i really can't find anything). and it's quite irritating for me at least, as i've to change the preset DynDNS hostname in my programs to internal private IPs everytime i am at home.

tim

I had the same problem. My previous router worked fine with my website on my LAN (loopback worked).
But on this 2700 modem, I have to bypass local addresses, as it doesnt loopback on WAN IPs.

You can go into IE or Firefox and tell it to bypass local addresses.
You can also edit your c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts file and manually configure the IP/hostname too.

Heres my hosts file:

192.168.1.1 localhost xxxxxx-web.servegame.com

if I open my browser to http://xxxxxxx-web.servegame.com/ it connects directly to my webserver and doesnt go out through the router.

liangtam
28-06-2007, 07:27 PM
Actually I do have the PAP2T, and was experimenting with it. Couldn't get it to work previously, but I will check out your thread. I'm also a pfingo user, and the PAP2T does not connect calls to pfingo either.

What do you mean by "HTTPd" in this context?

Looks like i'm not able to access their internal 10.161.0.0/16 network while i'm using this netgear router - i wonder how the two networks (private / public) are bridged/routed...
HTTP daemon lor, you hosting on port 80 right? The 2Wire dosn't support IP loopback.

Try with PAP2T, let us know! Disable the SLG if any

teemie
28-06-2007, 08:02 PM
HTTP daemon lor, you hosting on port 80 right? The 2Wire dosn't support IP loopback.

Try with PAP2T, let us know! Disable the SLG if any

Oh, didn't know you were referring to that post. I thought a local loopback would be a standard feature (probably cos my previous routers all had the feature).

will try the PAP2T soon. what's "SLG"? edit: ALG you mean?

so far I can only access 10.161.0.0/24 only if connected via the mio box.

tim

teemie
28-06-2007, 11:48 PM
thinking of trying to forward my SIP ports to the PAP2T to try it out... BUT.

how come I can't find the PAP2T device on the mio box firewall config/summary page?? This is one thing I hate about the mio box. they over simplify stuff and it just doesn't work. They tried to make it simple by forwarding to a mac address rather than a static IP address... but it's just so inconvenient, slow, and weird cases like this happen!

tim

liangtam
29-06-2007, 12:05 AM
will try the PAP2T soon. what's "SLG"? edit: ALG you mean?

Oops, ya, ALG. I made a typo. :o

Try not to let traffic pass thru the mio box in gateway mode when you're testing, its a wonder if you can get the connection for required service like VoIP straight.

RenZero
29-06-2007, 10:06 AM
For those who still having internet led on MIO box blinking like crazy problem. The issue probably on the digital voice.
Previously, i posted about the channel profile changed from fast to interleaved, it seems that interleaved channel profile is a must to run digital voice correctly.
When the backend switch back the channel profile back to fast (as i requested conversion of my phone line back to analog...) the digital voice will not work correctly anymore. everytime incoming call once the call is picked up, will automatic disconnect.

After running my phone on the normal analog line and disable the digital voice config on the modem also seeing that the channel profile has changed to fast, the modem led stay stagnant and will only blink if there's internet traffic.

swng63
29-06-2007, 10:56 AM
Can let us know the result after your line check? My appointment is on Saturday late afternoon.

If your result is ok, chances is that mine will be ok too.

OK, the service person just came and left. There is nothing he can do, as we expected. He merely checked the signal strength, filled up a form and left. He said that I am not the only one experiencing the problem of a hanging modem. That we all know! He suggested that I go back to using the analog line. I will wait a while to see if that is necessary. If the modem continues to hang, I would probably have no choice but to go back to the analog line.

Looks like we will have to live with the hanging modem problem until SingTel decides to fix the problem. We have no choice, we are at their mercy.

burboy
29-06-2007, 11:03 AM
I am not sure why recently my connection is suffering from auto disconnection. I always have to "reboot" my modem to reinstate the connection back to normal.
Arghhh anyone else facing this problem???

thiamhui
29-06-2007, 11:08 AM
OK, the service person just came and left. There is nothing he can do, as we expected. He merely checked the signal strength, filled up a form and left. He said that I am not the only one experiencing the problem of a hanging modem. That we all know! He suggested that I go back to using the analog line. I will wait a while to see if that is necessary. If the modem continues to hang, I would probably have no choice but to go back to the analog line.

Looks like we will have to live with the hanging modem problem until SingTel decides to fix the problem. We have no choice, we are at their mercy.
Oh... Maybe I should cancel my appointment tomorrow... Don't wish to waste anymore time...

Anyway, I did some changes to the modem setting... And it has not hang for the last 36 hours... Will continue to monitor...

oAkEn86
29-06-2007, 12:20 PM
Line 1 (inner pair)
Protocol: G.DMT2 Annex A
Downstream Rate: 3499 kbps
Upstream Rate: 588 kbps
Current Noise Margin: 14.7 dB (Downstream) 7.1 dB (Upstream)
Current Attenuation: 25.1 dB (Downstream) 35.7 dB (Upstream)
Current Output Power: 17.7 dBm (Downstream) 7.8 dBm (Upstream)

Hi, juz got my mio set up.. the noise margin seem a bit weird. any comments? or modifications required?

tparry
29-06-2007, 02:27 PM
I am not sure why recently my connection is suffering from auto disconnection. I always have to "reboot" my modem to reinstate the connection back to normal.
Arghhh anyone else facing this problem???

Yeah, alot of us have been facing modem hang problems since 31st May (Im sure SingNet knew what they did on that date for it to change).

Can people please list your location so we can determine if these problems are location specific?
Thanks in advance.

tparry: Tampines St72 (hanging since 31st May, 02:30am)
DevilChris: Tampines St72
Backlash: Tampines St42
Friend1: Tampines St33
cloudbp: Tampines St23 (since last mth?)
wisco: Tampines Central 1 (near Library)
shanex88: Simei
amoeba: Hougang
javahuat: Hougang ave 3
Friend2: Hougang ave 7 (Rio Vista)
jufryras: Punggol
thiamhui: Choa Chu Kang Cres (hanging since 3rd June)
expression: Seng Kang Compassvale Lane
swng63: Choa Chu Kang Drive
burboy:

(add your name on the list if you are experiencing modem hang problems)

tparry
29-06-2007, 02:57 PM
Last night I found my micro-filter from my previous 1.5MBit plan (with the homeplus 511e modem).
After my 2700HGV-2 modem hung for about the 5th time yesterday, I decided to change the 2wire micro-filter with my old one. And so far my modem hasnt hung once (since 11.55pm).

If anyone else is desperate enough, it might be worth trying to switch your micro-filter to test.

wisco
29-06-2007, 03:04 PM
Last night I found my micro-filter from my previous 1.5MBit plan (with the homeplus 511e modem).
After my 2700HGV-2 modem hung for about the 5th time yesterday, I decided to change the 2wire micro-filter with my old one. And so far my modem hasnt hung once (since 11.55pm).

If anyone else is desperate enough, it might be worth trying to switch your micro-filter to test.

They came to my house upgraded the firmware already.. not sure if it helps as I m still in the office...

I might consider changing the micro filter if it still hangs..

Not sure what is going on, i only experience this problem this month. In the past I had a few cases on mio voice where we can't dial out or receive but not on internet...

tparry
29-06-2007, 03:21 PM
They came to my house upgraded the firmware already.. not sure if it helps as I m still in the office...

I might consider changing the micro filter if it still hangs..

Not sure what is going on, i only experience this problem this month. In the past I had a few cases on mio voice where we can't dial out or receive but not on internet...

Yeah mine was problem free for 6 weeks, then alot of hang problems from 31st May.
It would be hard to believe its the micro-filter, since alot of other people started experiencing the same problems that week.
But my only explanation for that is maybe the telephone lines had a power spike, and some microfilters got spoilt by it (whats inside a micro-filter anyway?).

Anyway, all I can do is just wait and see if it happens again. Until it does, I can only speculate.

Edit: After seeing whats inside a micro-filter, its not hard to imagine that maybe the modem gets spiked by a discharging capacitor.

It feels like these 2Wire micro-filters have nothing in them (must be cheap), so it might be worth buying a better quality one.

http://www.adslnation.com/support/filters.php

thiamhui
29-06-2007, 04:43 PM

Err... I don't have any micro-filter for my setup...

A direct line from wall to mio box's line in... From mio box's tel out, I connect to my PC's modem card (mio can support fax function) and then from the modem card to my phone...

I think micro-filter is needed only if you are still using the analogue phone...

Please correct me if I'm wrong...

tparry
29-06-2007, 05:02 PM
Yeah I was thinking of unplugging mine to test. I only have it plugged in just in case theres any unpredictable crap on my line. If anything, this 2wire micro-filter is causing more problems than its solving.

What a Microfilter does
A microfilter performs two main tasks. First, it prevents high frequency noise from appearing at the telephone and potentially decreasing voice quality. Second, it prevents the telephone equipment from interfering with the modem by preventing harmonics, overtones and changes in impedance caused by the telephone equipment.

danxiaogui86
29-06-2007, 05:22 PM
anyone set 2wire 2700hvg to bridge mode? i set mine but my all my LED still up. no ideas wat wrong.

danxiaogui86
29-06-2007, 06:27 PM
may i know what firmware is the miobox those who manage to brigde it?

tparry
30-06-2007, 01:04 AM
Its been 25hrs since I switched my 2wire micro-filter with my old one from my previous plan/modem.
It still hasnt hung! Not sure if thats just lucky, or my problem is fixed.
I did manage to use the telephone a few times today too, so thats been amazing.

expression
30-06-2007, 01:28 AM
Its been 25hrs since I switched my 2wire micro-filter with my old one from my previous plan/modem.
It still hasnt hung! Not sure if thats just lucky, or my problem is fixed.
I did manage to use the telephone a few times today too, so thats been amazing.
is your internet light still blinking like crazy even though u are not downloading or surfing?

tparry
30-06-2007, 01:53 AM
is your internet light still blinking like crazy even though u are not downloading or surfing?

Well this is my forth modem, and I notice my ethernet light is on almost the whole time, and my internet light flashes heaps faster (even when im not doing anything).

The ethernet and internet blinking doesnt seem to make any sense. Whether I have activity on the internet or lan, the blinking doesnt really indicate much.

Backlash
30-06-2007, 09:50 AM
The problem does not lies with the telephone line. As far as i can tell, the data path ( Telephone line ) for most of us in the forum are working fine.

That means that the 2 Wire Modem is unstable. I have swap back to my old "B" band wireless ADSL Router since 2 weeks ago.

It has been working fine since then.

tkdguru
30-06-2007, 01:59 PM
erm is it me r jus that there aren't any complaints from pasir ris

tparry
30-06-2007, 02:36 PM
Mine hasnt hung for the past 38hrs.
But im not precisely sure what stopped it from hanging.
I did change the modem to bridged modem briefly then back again.
I also clicked the 'upgrade' in the firewall section.
And I also changed my micro-filter.

Whatever it is, I have a feeling my modem isnt going to hang anymore.

thiamhui
30-06-2007, 05:06 PM
The mio guy just visited my place... He just installed a micro-filter... Because my setup previously don't have one...

But even if don't have any micro-filter, the modem has not hang for the pass 72 hours...

Hmm...

tparry
30-06-2007, 05:40 PM
The mio guy just visited my place... He just installed a micro-filter... Because my setup previously don't have one...

But even if don't have any micro-filter, the modem has not hang for the pass 72 hours...

Hmm...

Yeah sad news for me...
My modem just hung for the first time in 41 1/2 hrs!
My problem isnt fixed.

I just unplugged my micro-filter to see if theres any difference.

Did he do anything else? Upgrade your firmware? Replace your modem? Check the exchange?

danxiaogui86
30-06-2007, 05:41 PM
Mine hasnt hung for the past 38hrs.
But im not precisely sure what stopped it from hanging.
I did change the modem to bridged modem briefly then back again.
I also clicked the 'upgrade' in the firewall section.
And I also changed my micro-filter.

Whatever it is, I have a feeling my modem isnt going to hang anymore.

Hello when u bridged the modem. does all ur LED still up?

tparry
30-06-2007, 05:51 PM
Hello when u bridged the modem. does all ur LED still up?

Sorry, I dont recall. I didnt do it for long, because I didnt bother plugging in my router, and you cant do PPPoE when in bridged mode. Hence why I changed it back soon after.

If my computer wasnt running web/game services right now, I could easily test it for you.

danxiaogui86
30-06-2007, 06:02 PM
hrm. may i know wat step did u do to make it into a bridge? cuz i follow 2wire step but after i connect my dir 655. my 2wire wireless still can detect. which mean i'm running double NAT.

wisco
30-06-2007, 07:47 PM
They came to my house yesterday, upgraded the firmware and rearrange the mocrofilter...
This morning worked fine for a few hours, this afternoon back to sq one...

Modem hangs, MIO voice not working...

KNNCCB... Really suck...

thiamhui
30-06-2007, 08:36 PM
Yeah sad news for me...
My modem just hung for the first time in 41 1/2 hrs!
My problem isnt fixed.

I just unplugged my micro-filter to see if theres any difference.

Did he do anything else? Upgrade your firmware? Replace your modem? Check the exchange?
Hahah... What can I say??? My modem just hang again when I went out for dinner...

My modem was replaced with new firmware exactly one week again...

Just called and chit-chat with the guy (Richard) who came in this afternoon... He believed that the exchange side is having problem... Because my DSL light is still on which means that the phone line is ok...

Will be working with him to try to solve this issue... Or anyone out there can help???

Did anyone try connecting to the modem when the modem is in hanged state??? I can cannot connect through LAN port... How about wireless???

Hope to see the line status when the modem is in hanged condition.

DSL Connection Details
Upstream Rate: 1052 kbps
Current Attenuation: 17.1 dB (Downstream) 4.5 dB (Upstream)
Current Output Power: -1.3 dBm (Downstream) 11.3 dBm (Upstream)

tparry
30-06-2007, 08:50 PM
Just called and chit-chat with the guy (Richard) who came in this afternoon... He believed that the exchange side is having problem... Because my DSL light is still on which means that the phone line is ok...

Huh? Wheres the logic in that?
After your modem hangs, you can unplug all ethernet cables, telephone AND incoming telephone line. Nothing changes. The ethernet/DSL/internet lights will still stay on.

I got someone coming down on monday 11am. I really dont know what to do with them.
They are totally useless and clueless....

thiamhui
30-06-2007, 09:33 PM
After your modem hangs, you can unplug all ethernet cables, telephone AND incoming telephone line. Nothing changes. The ethernet/DSL/internet lights will still stay on.

I got someone coming down on monday 11am. I really dont know what to do with them.
They are totally useless and clueless....Well... Maybe when the DSL line got disconnected before the modem hang, the DSL light might blink non-stop??? :P

wisco
30-06-2007, 10:35 PM

They are totally useless and clueless....

I just re powered 5 times tonight, look like upgrading firmware is useless.....

I dont know what to do now except to call them again on Monday... BTW, very hard to get through the call...

tkdguru
30-06-2007, 11:27 PM
i think i am really damm lucky

expression
01-07-2007, 10:09 AM
Did anyone try connecting to the modem when the modem is in hanged state??? I can cannot connect through LAN port... How about wireless???

when your router in hang state, u cannot connect via wireless nor wired... must restart

swng63
01-07-2007, 05:37 PM
My modem hung twice today, yet AGAIN. Enough is enough. I tried calling the hotline and gave up after waiting for 15 minutes; don't feel like wasting any more time with Singtel. When I am able to get in touch with someone of authority in SingTel, I am going to demand them to tell me when the system would be stable. If they can't tell me when, I am going to ask them to terminate my contract WITHOUT any penalty and to restore my analog line without charge. This is an ABSOLUTELY RUBBISH service they are providing and it should NOT be acceptable to anyone at all. Whole load of rubbish.

MadKnight
01-07-2007, 06:34 PM
If the internet light keep brinking without doing anthing. very fast that kind without doing anthing your line may genarate a lot of error or simple team line may be not so good but still able to access to intenret that kind. the symptom may like it may disconnect ramdomly modem will hang when surfing internet halfway. if lucky the modem will retain the line and connect back. do a check at you modem line statues.

ngbc
01-07-2007, 06:41 PM
Dial for help: Subscribers who have queries about Generation mio can contact SingTel’s corporate communications manager Tricia Lee at 6838 3065 or email tricialee@singtel.com

Source: CNA (http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/269270/1/.html)

wisco
01-07-2007, 07:19 PM
My modem hung twice today, yet AGAIN. Enough is enough. I tried calling the hotline and gave up after waiting for 15 minutes; don't feel like wasting any more time with Singtel. When I am able to get in touch with someone of authority in SingTel, I am going to demand them to tell me when the system would be stable. If they can't tell me when, I am going to ask them to terminate my contract WITHOUT any penalty and to restore my analog line without charge. This is an ABSOLUTELY RUBBISH service they are providing and it should NOT be acceptable to anyone at all. Whole load of rubbish.

I might try to do the same as u, terminate the contract...

Last time it took me more than 20 min to connect the call....

MadKnight
01-07-2007, 07:29 PM
Dial for help: Subscribers who have queries about Generation mio can contact SingTel’s corporate communications manager Tricia Lee at 6838 3065 or email tricialee@singtel.com

Source: CNA (http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/269270/1/.html)
i think this number will be very hot sia

tparry
01-07-2007, 08:25 PM
With my old micro-filter: My connection lasted 40+ hrs before a hang
Without any micro-filter: My connection lasted 24+ hrs before a hang
With the 2wire micro-filter: My connection hung after 1hr....

Those are my last 3 tests in order.
Im back to using no microfilter.

wisco
01-07-2007, 08:44 PM

According to the CNA report, only 1% of 10,000 subscribers got problem..why am I so lucky, tio 4D never tio, but tio this... Is Singnet under report? And start blaming wiring, better than expected demand and kind of BS...Is 10,000 better than expected???? I tot is lower than expected..

wisco
01-07-2007, 08:54 PM

I dont use any microfilter since day 1. My only mio voice is from the modem... working fine till recently..

Singnet guy came still saying that I should leave the modem stand upright rather than laying flat... what BS.. the modem is design to position in both ways...

mumbaki
01-07-2007, 09:51 PM
i have been experiencing "broadband link is currently not available" intermittently!! everytime i browse, i sure have this, then have to wait a bit... anyone tried to call singtel and ask for change to their unit to another...

http://img296.imageshack.us/my.php?image=snbb10mbpsmx8.jpg

expression
01-07-2007, 10:19 PM
I dont use any microfilter since day 1. My only mio voice is from the modem... working fine till recently..

Singnet guy came still saying that I should leave the modem stand upright rather than laying flat... what BS.. the modem is design to position in both ways...

haha... that guy really funny to say that...

anyway i dont use any microfilter since day 1 as well and i dont think thats the cause of modem hanging. so far mine has been ok. hang maybe once a week. but the Internet light still blinking for any unknown reason

expression
01-07-2007, 10:22 PM
i have been experiencing "broadband link is currently not available" intermittently!! everytime i browse, i sure have this, then have to wait a bit... anyone tried to call singtel and ask for change to their unit to another...

http://img296.imageshack.us/my.php?image=snbb10mbpsmx8.jpg

i do encounter this problem... sometimes its so frequent and everytime it happens i have to wait till the dsl connection is back and restart my browser. dam frustrating

teemie
02-07-2007, 01:17 AM

i'm going direct from the wall, into a surge protector, into the modem... it's still hanging.

so it's not a surge, it's not a faulty micro-filter, it's nothing with the line... it must either be the dslam or the modem...

tim.

teemie
02-07-2007, 01:25 AM
actually, I was initially suspecting a DDoS attack -- are all the affected people running DynDNS?

tim.

tparry
02-07-2007, 02:58 AM
According to the CNA report, only 1% of 10,000 subscribers got problem..why am I so lucky, tio 4D never tio, but tio this... Is Singnet under report? And start blaming wiring, better than expected demand and kind of BS...Is 10,000 better than expected???? I tot is lower than expected..

They can easily manipulate statistics to make it look like a much smaller problem.
1% is BS. Thats only 100 people out of 10,000.
Ive listed 15 people from this thread alone. Theres got to be ALOT more than 1%.
Such liars!

PS - Using my old filter, or using no filter lasts ALOT longer than using the 2wire micro-filter.

I got a technician coming at 11am this morning. I have no idea what to say to him.
Ive run out of things to test. The problem is on SingNets side.

teemie
02-07-2007, 05:07 PM
They can easily manipulate statistics to make it look like a much smaller problem.
1% is BS. Thats only 100 people out of 10,000.
Ive listed 15 people from this thread alone. Theres got to be ALOT more than 1%.
Such liars!

PS - Using my old filter, or using no filter lasts ALOT longer than using the 2wire micro-filter.

I got a technician coming at 11am this morning. I have no idea what to say to him.
Ive run out of things to test. The problem is on SingNets side.

I doubt it's the filter issue... the micro-filter is just an audio crossover network that splits your phone line into two frequency ranges, above 3kHz (DSL) and below 3kHz (Phone). These networks are very simple and cheap to build... and they probably can't go very wrong with it...

Perhaps the other mio uses didn't realise that it's a problem for the modem to hang... or perhaps it's only the few of us that are really affected?

Technician just came by today, couldn't do anything and I understand.

tkdguru
02-07-2007, 08:32 PM
damm, u guys still stuck with those problems. hmm, u got a spare modem? u can use the spare modem while in the meantime i'll have a trial with ur modem

wisco
02-07-2007, 09:56 PM
FARK... hang again twice tonight......i have enough....

jufryras
02-07-2007, 11:56 PM
I had my digital Voice change to Analog ... Now no more using the 2Wire 2700HGV-2 Modem....Even 1st appointment sintel upgrade firmware, 2nd appointment change the 2wire to a new modem, the hang of the internet is still happening(Have to hard reset the router). As not the Voice already using analod, i can use my old modem Effiecient Speedstream 5260 with my WRV200 linksys router. Now the internet connection is much stable...I will monitor should there be any internet disconnection of any modem hang and update it here.

javahuat
03-07-2007, 12:29 AM
I had my digital Voice change to Analog ... Now no more using the 2Wire 2700HGV-2 Modem....Even 1st appointment sintel upgrade firmware, 2nd appointment change the 2wire to a new modem, the hang of the internet is still happening(Have to hard reset the router). As not the Voice already using analod, i can use my old modem Effiecient Speedstream 5260 with my WRV200 linksys router. Now the internet connection is much stable...I will monitor should there be any internet disconnection of any modem hang and update it here.
Hope that it work fine for you!

tparry
03-07-2007, 11:54 AM
I had a technician visit yesterday. After I told him ive already had 4 modems, he said theres nothing he can do for me. He knows as well as I do that the problem is on SingNets side. He appologised and said it might be fixed in a week.

Im not using any micro-filter, and my modem is alot more stable. I havent had any hanging for the past 24hrs, and using the phone is ok too (although the phone line still is buggy).

Sometimes when I dial a number, I get a long beep (like a busy signal?). But when I press redial, it gets through. And sometimes it will playback a message saying the customer couldnt be contacted.

mediacis
03-07-2007, 04:01 PM
Just got my installation done last week. I am getting fluctuating wireless signal strength.

Both laptops are about 3 meters from the modem and are stationary. The signal can range from 'Excellent' to 'Low'. I have tried channel 1, 6 and 11.

When I was using a DLink wireless router at the same location, the wireless signal strength is constant and 'Excellent' most of the time.

Anyone of you experiencing this and have advise?

Thanks.

tparry
03-07-2007, 05:29 PM
my modem hung again, 5pm today.
It lasts around 24hrs+ without the 2wire micro-filter installed.
Everyone else still having heaps of hang problems? Been quiet in here lately.

thiamhui
03-07-2007, 07:22 PM
my modem hung again, 5pm today.
It lasts around 24hrs+ without the 2wire micro-filter installed.
Everyone else still having heaps of hang problems? Been quiet in here lately.My modem also hanged again today... Last around 60hrs+ with 2Wire micro-filter installed...
Did a lot of test when the modem is down... LAN ports not working... Wireless not working... USB port also not working... Basically, nothing is working... Only managed to kill the "Phone 1" Led which was initially lighted up...
Going to call mio hotline again... See what they want to do next...

thiamhui
03-07-2007, 07:53 PM
Ok... Just had a talk with the guy at mio hotline...

He claims that SingTel will do a server update tonight... And hopefully, they will solve the modem hang problem...

Who got the e-mail address of IDA, SingTel's Customer Service and press??? It's time to do something BIG...

simcher
03-07-2007, 08:02 PM
my modem so far... hang for 4 times already... everytime hang in 2 days... wtf... damn sianz.

simcher
03-07-2007, 08:03 PM
Ok... Just had a talk with the guy at mio hotline...

He claims that SingTel will do a server update tonight... And hopefully, they will solve the modem hang problem...

Who got the e-mail address of IDA, SingTel's Customer Service and press??? It's time to do something BIG...
this is what i found on ida.sg...

For technical assistance on Singapore Infocomm Portal, please email contact_sginfocomm@portalcity.com.sg.

For Industry portal, please email contact_isg@portalcity.com.sg.

For Talent Portal, please email manpower@ida.gov.sg.

mrbean008
03-07-2007, 08:10 PM
from Jalan Teck WHye...

MIO voice is totally like unuseable internet wireless signals are ok.. juz that loading of website is lack and slow at times

jufryras
03-07-2007, 08:33 PM
Hope that it work fine for you!

For now no disconnection or modem hang for the past 1 day... Good sign...and from the Speedstream modem, it is not blinking continuosly unlike the modem of 2 wire... When i'm using the internet than it started to blink. Now find the internet i much smoother and faster.

Will give updates again!

liangtam
03-07-2007, 08:45 PM
Any spares 2Wire to give or loan me test?? :D

outer92
03-07-2007, 08:50 PM
For now no disconnection or modem hang for the past 1 day... Good sign...and from the Speedstream modem, it is not blinking continuosly unlike the modem of 2 wire... When i'm using the internet than it started to blink. Now find the internet i much smoother and faster.

Will give updates again!

me too! technician visit yesterday and do software upgrade , so far so good , past 20 hour ,no modem hang but blinking still like crazy.

shanex88
03-07-2007, 08:57 PM
So far so good for me... 3 days no hang already. and the internet led wont blink unless i access then internet...

BradenHeat
03-07-2007, 09:14 PM
Any spares 2Wire to give or loan me test?? :Dalamark....relac lar bro.....

You lend me your gaming router i ish happy to give up my 2wire :crazy:

School very stress hor :s22:

jufryras
03-07-2007, 11:37 PM
Any spares 2Wire to give or loan me test?? :D

I'm thinking of selling my new 2Wire Router... Anybody interested?? :s13:

teemie
03-07-2007, 11:59 PM
So far so good for me... 3 days no hang already. and the internet led wont blink unless i access then internet...
you using mio voice (digital) or analogue line?

javahuat
04-07-2007, 12:03 AM
Hmm, I'm still facing problem leh, just an hour ago only, maybe ppl in hougang can reflect to me whether they are facing the same problem as me.

teemie
04-07-2007, 12:57 AM
Hmm, I'm still facing problem leh, just an hour ago only, maybe ppl in hougang can reflect to me whether they are facing the same problem as me.

Same, mine just hung at around 0020hrs or so? i'm trying my best to contact people in singtel to get the problem resolved... looks like they're equally perplexed internally as well, but that's just my guess.

tim.

thiamhui
04-07-2007, 06:19 AM
Can all of you check your modem today???

I noticed that the blinking frequency for the Internet LED has reduced a lot this morning... Did you all noticed that same thing???

Maybe they really did a server update...

I just reboot the modem this morning... To have a better result to see if they really solve our problem...

outer92
04-07-2007, 06:42 AM
me too! technician visit yesterday and do software upgrade , so far so good , past 20 hour ,no modem hang but blinking still like crazy.

past 1day 6 hour , still look good, no hang and internet led blinking stop.

expression
04-07-2007, 07:21 AM
My router internet light still blinks but slightly lessor than before... and my internet connection disconnected few minutes ago

Restarted the router... still seeing the internet light blinks less frequent and i'm still getting quite a number of unknown activities in the log :(

http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r31/kelvinckm/Misc/event-log.gif

thiamhui
04-07-2007, 08:02 AM
I'm thinking of selling my new 2Wire Router... Anybody interested?? :s13:How much you plan to sell it??? Maybe I can share my digital line with my parents since I don't use it on weekdays... =:p

javahuat
04-07-2007, 09:16 AM
Can all of you check your modem today???

I noticed that the blinking frequency for the Internet LED has reduced a lot this morning... Did you all noticed that same thing???

Maybe they really did a server update...

I just reboot the modem this morning... To have a better result to see if they really solve our problem...

My modem internet led has also reduced since morning. Hope they really solve the problem

felime
04-07-2007, 10:13 AM
the modem internet led has stop blinking since this morning at my side.

thiamhui
04-07-2007, 11:03 AM
the modem internet led has stop blinking since this morning at my side.Err... Is the Internet LED suppose to blink when we are not using??? Mine still blinks a bit... Some stop blinking... Which one is working correctly??? Confused now... :s11:

shanex88
04-07-2007, 11:41 AM
you using mio voice (digital) or analogue line?

I'm using mio voice. cheers

javahuat
04-07-2007, 12:10 PM
Err... Is the Internet LED suppose to blink when we are not using??? Mine still blinks a bit... Some stop blinking... Which one is working correctly??? Confused now... :s11:
When I just subscribe, only when I use the internet, then the led will blink. Then the led begin to blink even when I'm not using the net, which is followed by the frequent hanging of the modem. Hence I deduce that if your led is not blinking, you are on the right track. Correct me if I'm wrong

thiamhui
04-07-2007, 12:18 PM
When I just subscribe, only when I use the internet, then the led will blink. Then the led begin to blink even when I'm not using the net, which is followed by the frequent hanging of the modem. Hence I deduce that if your led is not blinking, you are on the right track. Correct me if I'm wrongOh... My Internet LED has been blinking like crazy since day 1... But no modem hang problem for the first month...

Modem hang problem start during early June... Internet LED continue to blink as day 1...

Currently the LED is still blinking, but at a very slow rate...

So I'm wondering if I'm back on track or not... Guess I will have to monitor to see if the modem will hang or not and ignore the Internet LED... =:p

javahuat
04-07-2007, 12:34 PM
Oh... My Internet LED has been blinking like crazy since day 1... But no modem hang problem for the first month...

Modem hang problem start during early June... Internet LED continue to blink as day 1...

Currently the LED is still blinking, but at a very slow rate...

So I'm wondering if I'm back on track or not... Guess I will have to monitor to see if the modem will hang or not and ignore the Internet LED... =:p
Not too sure myself too! You are not alone!

expression
04-07-2007, 01:10 PM
SingTel should have an official words or explanation on why many of our router internet LED is blinking like crazy, disconnection and router hang... i'm sure they are aware of this. when ask their technical helpdesk why, they will tell u its normal for the line to get disconnected once in a while and blinking is normal too... WTF! :mad:

thiamhui
04-07-2007, 01:20 PM
SingTel should have an official words or explanation on why many of our router internet LED is blinking like crazy, disconnection and router hang... i'm sure they are aware of this. when ask their technical helpdesk why, they will tell u its normal for the line to get disconnected once in a while and blinking is normal too... WTF! :mad:Luckily SingTel is not running an airline...

They are going to say that "It's normal for the airplane to crash once in a while and breakdown is normal too."

Now we all understand the level of service SingTel is able to provide...

expression
04-07-2007, 01:28 PM
Luckily SingTel is not running an airline...

They are going to say that "It's normal for the airplane to crash once in a while and breakdown is normal too."

so for those who wanna sign up to MIO, PLEASE THINK TWICE
unless u dont mind going through those frustration moments that we have been going through :)

I will definately switch to their competitors if i have the chance... Freaking 2 years contract!

amoeba
04-07-2007, 01:32 PM
nabe, my modem hung 2 times yesterday.

RenZero
04-07-2007, 03:33 PM
No more crazy blinking and disconnection for me for 2 weeks already since I switched back my tel line from Mio voice back to analoque

outer92
04-07-2007, 04:02 PM
past 1day 6 hour , still look good, no hang and internet led blinking stop.

past 1 day 14 hour , everything back to normal , no more blinking like hell. good sign, still use mio voice :s12:

jufryras
04-07-2007, 07:20 PM
Err... Is the Internet LED suppose to blink when we are not using??? Mine still blinks a bit... Some stop blinking... Which one is working correctly??? Confused now... :s11:

An ideal case, the internet led will only blink when you are accessing the internet ... If no pcs is accessing the internet then it should not be blinking ..

jufryras
04-07-2007, 07:30 PM
How much you plan to sell it??? Maybe I can share my digital line with my parents since I don't use it on weekdays... =:p

PM me your offer

reimina
04-07-2007, 08:17 PM
Luckily SingTel is not running an airline...

If you can stand Windoze crashing every time or Windoze is not responding. Why is it that you can't stand MIO crashing? No life is lost. :s8:

lalalalalala
04-07-2007, 09:00 PM
mine also stop blinking like siao.. only a constant flicker or 2 =/

javahuat
04-07-2007, 09:33 PM
Mine seems a bit weird, the link will stay there constant for a while, like hang for 1 plus sec, then blink, then constant.

simcher
04-07-2007, 09:50 PM
my internet led also stop blinking like crazy now... it seems to be fine now... i hope -____-

swng63
04-07-2007, 10:16 PM
If you can stand Windoze crashing every time or Windoze is not responding. Why is it that you can't stand MIO crashing? No life is lost. :s8:

Microsoft is a monopoly, we don't have much of a choice. However, we have Starhub, M1 and Pacific Internet to turn to for Internet services.

Mio voice, which is a telephone line, may be used for emergency purposes. If you have a heart attack, you won't be using your email to call for an ambulance, would you? You would most likely try to call using your home phone, especially if you don't have a mobile phone. If the modem for Mio voice hangs and you do not know how to reset it, you are as good as dead!

expression
04-07-2007, 10:25 PM

bad comparison :s13:

liangtam
04-07-2007, 10:51 PM
Microsoft is a monopoly, we don't have much of a choice. However, we have Starhub, M1 and Pacific Internet to turn to for Internet services.

Mio voice, which is a telephone line, may be used for emergency purposes. If you have a heart attack, you won't be using your email to call for an ambulance, would you? You would most likely try to call using your home phone, especially if you don't have a mobile phone. If the modem for Mio voice hangs and you do not know how to reset it, you are as good as dead!
VoIP is not always a means for emergency purposes what. Almost every VoIP provider will tell you that. The technology is good, however cannot be relied.

Like business, must diversify.

shanex88
04-07-2007, 11:07 PM
hey... for you guys whose modem used to hang and now the internet led stop blinking rapidly, can you check you upload speed? mine seem to drop to half when i test with speedtest.net... i try sending files to my fren also the same result. Used to get around 900kb/s now like 400+kb/s only.. argh

expression
04-07-2007, 11:24 PM
hey... for you guys whose modem used to hang and now the internet led stop blinking rapidly, can you check you upload speed? mine seem to drop to half when i test with speedtest.net... i try sending files to my fren also the same result. Used to get around 900kb/s now like 400+kb/s only.. argh

post your speed here?
mine is 3mbps plan... how abt yrs?

http://www.speedtest.net/result/149679063.png

shanex88
04-07-2007, 11:57 PM
i'm on 10mb plan..

http://www.speedtest.net/result/149693134.png (http://www.speedtest.net/)

teemie
05-07-2007, 12:41 AM
i'm on 10m and my upstream/downstream speeds are quite normal.

anyway, i've heard from the singtel tech side and apparently they've managed to find the problem, and implemented a solution yesterday... so there shouldn't be any more crashing.

mine's stable for the last 26 hours. what about yours?

tim

expression
05-07-2007, 12:46 AM
i'm on 10m and my upstream/downstream speeds are quite normal.

anyway, i've heard from the singtel tech side and apparently they've managed to find the problem, and implemented a solution yesterday... so there shouldn't be any more crashing.

mine's stable for the last 26 hours. what about yours?

tim

your internet light still blinks?

any idea wat problem they found out?

thiamhui
05-07-2007, 08:04 AM
If you can stand Windoze crashing every time or Windoze is not responding. Why is it that you can't stand MIO crashing? No life is lost. :s8:My Windoze seldom crash one... Even if it crash, it will show me the blue screen of death or nothing moves... And it won't crash when I'm not using it... Lastly, there is no contract and no monthly payment...

mio is different... I'm paying every month... And it crash silently when I'm not using it... I won't know that it has crashed until I go check the modem or when someone call me HP and tell me my line is forever engaged...

Guess you are not one of those mio's victim...

teemie
05-07-2007, 09:12 AM
your internet light still blinks?

any idea wat problem they found out?

it blinks but much lesser. i'm clueless about the problem... but just glad my modem has been up for 34 hrs now. the longest since it began crashing...

javahuat
05-07-2007, 10:48 AM
Ya, Seems a bit lesser, but not by half, used to be ard the area of 350

http://www.speedtest.net/result/149941849.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

expression
05-07-2007, 11:07 AM
For 3Mbps plan, the upload should be 1Mbps instead? correct me if i'm wrong...

javahuat
05-07-2007, 11:36 AM
For 3Mbps plan, the upload should be 1Mbps instead? correct me if i'm wrong...
Should be 386kbps

thiamhui
05-07-2007, 08:10 PM
Should be 386kbpsAccess Plan Download Speed Upload Speed
SingNet BroadBand 25Mbps Up to 25Mbps Up to 1Mbps
SingNet BroadBand 10Mbps Up to 10Mbps Up to 1Mbps
SingNet BroadBand 5000kbps Up to 5000kbps Up to 512kbps
SingNet BroadBand 3500kbps Up to 3500kbps Up to 350kbps
SingNet BroadBand 3000kbps Up to 3000kbps Up to 350kbps
SingNet BroadBand 1000kbps Up to 1000kbps Up to 256kbps

http://www.speedtest.net/result/150061388.png

lalalalalala
05-07-2007, 09:21 PM
Access Plan Download Speed Upload Speed
SingNet BroadBand 25Mbps Up to 25Mbps Up to 1Mbps
SingNet BroadBand 10Mbps Up to 10Mbps Up to 1Mbps
SingNet BroadBand 5000kbps Up to 5000kbps Up to 512kbps
SingNet BroadBand 3500kbps Up to 3500kbps Up to 350kbps
SingNet BroadBand 3000kbps Up to 3000kbps Up to 350kbps
SingNet BroadBand 1000kbps Up to 1000kbps Up to 256kbps

http://www.speedtest.net/result/150061388.pngmio users is 3M or 3.5M??

thiamhui
05-07-2007, 09:40 PM
mio users is 3M or 3.5M??mio is 3Mbps, 10Mbps or 25Mbps...

expression
05-07-2007, 10:05 PM
my router page shows this:

Connection Speed:
• Incoming: 3501 kbps
• Outgoing: 1004 kbps

does it means that my download is 3.5Mbps and upload is 1Mbps??

teemie
05-07-2007, 10:16 PM
my router page shows this:

Connection Speed:
• Incoming: 3501 kbps
• Outgoing: 1004 kbps

does it means that my download is 3.5Mbps and upload is 1Mbps??
that's the cap that's set on the dsl link (owned by SingTel). SingNet can further cap that on their end via IP address. they're two different entities from what i know.

tim.

expression
05-07-2007, 10:19 PM
that's the cap that's set on the dsl link (owned by SingTel). SingNet can further cap that on their end via IP address. they're two different entities from what i know.

tim.

ic... thanks for the clarification

jufryras
05-07-2007, 11:15 PM
Just an update from the time change from digital to analog voice line and change my modem not to use the 2wire modem. Since Monday, there is no modem hang, no disconnection, no internet speed lag... Quite stable for now.

tparry
06-07-2007, 03:51 AM
Good news from me.
My internet just went down at 2.00am.
I couldnt connect again until 2.25am.

When it came back online, my internet light isnt flashing off as much as it used to.

So mabye the problem has been fixed, and no more hangs? Fingers crossed!

outer92
06-07-2007, 05:03 AM
Good news from me.
My internet just went down at 2.00am.
I couldnt connect again until 2.25am.

When it came back online, my internet light isnt flashing off as much as it used to.

So mabye the problem has been fixed, and no more hangs? Fingers crossed!

yes! the problem has been fix, same to me, 3 day , my 2wire modem no more hang and no blinking anymore.

burboy
06-07-2007, 02:19 PM
Pissed of with having to reset my modem daily, i called singnet. The technician came to my place yesterday. He did a line check, and upgraded my 2wire modem firmware. Hope everything is okie now.

So far so good. did not have to power off & on again... Hope this last...

tparry
06-07-2007, 11:10 PM
Pissed of with having to reset my modem daily, i called singnet. The technician came to my place yesterday. He did a line check, and upgraded my 2wire modem firmware. Hope everything is okie now.

So far so good. did not have to power off & on again... Hope this last...

Well it appears it may have been fixed on their network at 2am this morning.
There was nothing wrong with your modem, but its good to have the latest firmware anyway.

shanex88
07-07-2007, 04:39 AM
everything seem ok now...

http://www.speedtest.net/result/150827630.png (http://www.speedtest.net/)

burboy
07-07-2007, 05:20 AM
After upgrading my fireware to 5.29.117.3, i have not face any problem. Just hope it will stay that way.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/150847509.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

teemie
07-07-2007, 05:02 PM
Well it appears it may have been fixed on their network at 2am this morning.
There was nothing wrong with your modem, but its good to have the latest firmware anyway.
i had some outage around 1.30am to about 2.30am as well, but that was singnet outage i believe, nothing to do with mio voice, as that was still useable. led me to conclude that singnet may have been down, and it wasn't a modem fault...

Uptime for mio has been about 4 days now i think. quite happy with it

teemie
07-07-2007, 05:05 PM
i had some outage around 1.30am to about 2.30am as well, but that was singnet outage i believe, nothing to do with mio voice, as that was still useable. led me to conclude that singnet may have been down, and it wasn't a modem fault...

Uptime for mio has been about 4 days now i think. quite happy with it
actually even now, i'm having problems accessing several internet sites from the states... and for those US sites i can access, they are terribly slow. makes me wonder if there's some problem with the global routes with SingNet.

(don't talk abt sites like microsoft.com, google.com etc that have local/non-US mirrors)

thiamhui
07-07-2007, 10:25 PM
Now that the modem hang issue is over, I will like to check with all 2Wire user to see if you have modem auto reboot issue...

All the 2Wire modems that I have used so far got this problem... Happened once in a while... It just auto reboot...

Does anyone face this problem too???

sacredsoul
07-07-2007, 10:45 PM
Now that the modem hang issue is over, I will like to check with all 2Wire user to see if you have modem auto reboot issue...

All the 2Wire modems that I have used so far got this problem... Happened once in a while... It just auto reboot...

Does anyone face this problem too???

Yea me. It happens like once every month. I thought maybe its a loose wire. Apparently not. Very irritating when I am in a dota game and it reboots.

interguy
08-07-2007, 02:17 AM
After updating my firmware and line checked by Singnet technician, my modem seldom hangs but phone call unable to call out or call in still remain frequently.

I have friends who will call me up every hour, so I know it happens. Some of you may not be aware of it.

outer92
08-07-2007, 02:34 AM
After updating my firmware and line checked by Singnet technician, my modem seldom hangs but phone call unable to call out or call in still remain frequently.

I have friends who will call me up every hour, so I know it happens. Some of you may not be aware of it.
i dont have any problem after i upgrade software, eveything back to normal. mio voice can call out or call in.

interguy
08-07-2007, 02:53 AM
i dont have any problem after i upgrade software, eveything back to normal. mio voice can call out or call in.
I think you are very lucky. I received calls from my friends during weekend. If I received their calls on my mobile phone and they told me that party not available when they call my house phone.

I checked the modem and it is ok as I am still able to send emails, internet surfing. But I am unable to make a call. Sigh!!!

outer92
08-07-2007, 08:38 AM
I think you are very lucky. I received calls from my friends during weekend. If I received their calls on my mobile phone and they told me that party not available when they call my house phone.

I checked the modem and it is ok as I am still able to send emails, internet surfing. But I am unable to make a call. Sigh!!!
try to reboot your modem and try again

interguy
08-07-2007, 09:28 AM
try to reboot your modem and try again
I did that but it didn't work. After a while, it function again. I guess I have to live with it till Singnet change a new model modem.

thiamhui
08-07-2007, 02:46 PM
I did that but it didn't work. After a while, it function again. I guess I have to live with it till Singnet change a new model modem.Give up lah... Use your HP for all incoming calls...

That's what I do now... I got everyone to call my HP because my mio was down for almost the whole of last month... Modem hanging issue...

Must make full use of the free incoming calls...

leogeo
08-07-2007, 04:34 PM
i am gonna get this modem/router soon

but i need a wireless usb adaptor for my other comp. or is a pci card better?

budget: low (below $60?)

if so, wat brand/model shud i get?

cpuer
08-07-2007, 05:50 PM
i am gonna get this modem/router soon

but i need a wireless usb adaptor for my other comp. or is a pci card better?

budget: low (below $60?)

if so, wat brand/model shud i get?
If the router and the comp is one wall away, maybe can consider the Planex pci card for about $35.

http://www.planex.net/product/wireless/gw-ds54gr.htm

It's one of the cheapest pci wireless card that has an external antenna.

Why I said one wall is that lately my comp that is 2 walls away are having weak signal and sometimes dc from the router. Where next to it my nb that uses atheros wifi chip is rock solid without any dc. I have tried to update to the latest driver also dint seems to help. So I gathered this card is not that good with 2 walls and above. Anyway, it is OT already.

:)

Terminatron
08-07-2007, 07:06 PM
a question: i'm currently using this 2wire in bridge-mode with my DIR-655. I've disabled the hardware firewall in the 2wire, and port forwarded in my router for p2p. however, is it necessary to port forwar in the 2wire too?

danxiaogui86
08-07-2007, 08:35 PM
a question: i'm currently using this 2wire in bridge-mode with my DIR-655. I've disabled the hardware firewall in the 2wire, and port forwarded in my router for p2p. however, is it necessary to port forwar in the 2wire too?

Nice one bro. using same as u. which LED on ur 2wire is light up? Mine Power, Ethernet, phone 1 and 2 and DSL are all led up. other is down. did u manual disabled the wireless?

danxiaogui86
08-07-2007, 08:49 PM

on a side note. once u in bridge mode. all firewall routing capability is gone. why do u need to disable any firewall? hehe.

qwerty8890
09-07-2007, 12:10 AM
Since u all hv so many problems on and off with this mio. Hv u ever try to make complaint to CASE or "telecom head orginazation"? U hv paid 4 the things and u r not able to enjoy it all the times. I believe u hv the right to enjoy something that u hv paid 4.

I know ppl will say no use wan lar. U nv try u nv know. Anyway, u hv nothing to lose by writing emails to them. When everybody writes email to them (CASE or whoever), they will then know there is such a problem and maybe singtel hv to wake up their idea and solve the problem or prevent future problems to happen.

boonchunt@hotmail.com
09-07-2007, 03:05 AM
i heard that MIO really jialak.... but nv thought it is SO SO SO jialak.... so what're we going to do? My housing only has singtel, should I go for singtel broadband instead of singtel mio plan?

cpuer
09-07-2007, 08:34 AM
i heard that MIO really jialak.... but nv thought it is SO SO SO jialak.... so what're we going to do? My housing only has singtel, should I go for singtel broadband instead of singtel mio plan?
Just get the regular BB first lor. The next contract renewal then consider MIO.

tparry
09-07-2007, 08:49 AM
Well my connection has been flawless since there was maintenance a few days ago. No hangs, and my light flashing is normal too.

I presume everyone elses is fixed too?

swng63
09-07-2007, 11:02 AM
My modem has not hung since a week ago (1 July 2007). When it last hung a week ago, I got so pissied I wrote to SingTel to request that they cancel the Mio service WITHOUT ANY PENALTY and to reconnect my analog line WITHOUT ANY CHARGES. I thought that is fair because we are paying for a service that should work and not HANG every now and then. To me, a modem that hangs ever so often is SIMPLY UNACCEPTABLE.

Just a few minutes ago, I got a call from SingTel which frankly is a pleasant surprise. The SingTel person promised to send a technician down this coming Friday to upgrade the firmware of the modem. Hopefully they don't mess things up again. She even left me her telephone number to call in case I faced more Mio problems. Now, this is what I call service. I hope SingTel is doing this not just because I threatened to cancel the Mio plan but in a bid to provide more acceptable service.

If you guys out there has problems with Mio, I suggest you call up or write in to complain and threaten to cancel. SingTel should not make us pay any penalty when they provide a service that doesn't work.

burboy
09-07-2007, 01:11 PM
So far so good after they upgraded the firmware. should not face any problem after they upgrade.

swng63
09-07-2007, 02:10 PM
So far so good after they upgraded the firmware. should not face any problem after they upgrade.

Now, the SingTel lady says that the firmware has been upgraded. I guess she meant that the firmware in the modem has been upgraded. This I guess should have happened remotely since the modem is connected to the network. Anyway, I am not complaining if the modem is not hanging. Hopefully it stays this way for a long long time.

Terminatron
09-07-2007, 04:09 PM
Nice one bro. using same as u. which LED on ur 2wire is light up? Mine Power, Ethernet, phone 1 and 2 and DSL are all led up. other is down. did u manual disabled the wireless?
mine is power, ethernet, internet, dsl.

qwerty8890
11-07-2007, 10:19 AM
My modem has not hung since a week ago (1 July 2007). When it last hung a week ago, I got so pissied I wrote to SingTel to request that they cancel the Mio service WITHOUT ANY PENALTY and to reconnect my analog line WITHOUT ANY CHARGES. I thought that is fair because we are paying for a service that should work and not HANG every now and then. To me, a modem that hangs ever so often is SIMPLY UNACCEPTABLE.

Just a few minutes ago, I got a call from SingTel which frankly is a pleasant surprise. The SingTel person promised to send a technician down this coming Friday to upgrade the firmware of the modem. Hopefully they don't mess things up again. She even left me her telephone number to call in case I faced more Mio problems. Now, this is what I call service. I hope SingTel is doing this not just because I threatened to cancel the Mio plan but in a bid to provide more acceptable service.

If you guys out there has problems with Mio, I suggest you call up or write in to complain and threaten to cancel. SingTel should not make us pay any penalty when they provide a service that doesn't work.Thats a good one. You nv try you nv know what will happen. But i totally agreed with you that paying for a service that should work and not HANG every now and then. A modem that hangs ever so often is SIMPLY UNACCEPTABLE. It just like you get a service from someone and they just sit on it after you hv paid them. But hopefully, everythings gets back to normal for mioer.

andyqkw
11-07-2007, 11:04 AM
SingNet should post the lastest firmware online on their website for users who are facing problems to download and update themselves to avoid all those hassle of ppl complaining or sending ppl down just to take a look.

swng63
12-07-2007, 09:45 AM
Unfortunately my modem hung again yesterday after not hanging for more than a week. There are also problems associated with sending and receiving emails over the last few days.

ifmsg
13-07-2007, 12:14 PM
Upgraded to MIO on June 17.. until now no Modem disconnect.. maybe previously I was on Jetpack (512k with stable connection) without contract so decided to upgrade to MIO.. Technician came that day, without me switching on the PC, he used his PDA to configure the modem for me.. I told technician the phone went dead in the morning, he told me singtel is changing phone line to digital line. Once he configured my modem, he call Singtel about the phone line.. Singtel CSO called me three times to confirm my phone line is working.. Not bad service from Singtel.. Ethernet and internet lite still blinking, cos PC though off LAN wire is still connected to modem. Internet lite blink maybe phone is digital line.

So far so good.. able to stream on line TV, youtube, of cos some sites including Yahoo can be a pain in the neck.. with slow connection. I was able to download 9dragon at 320 ~ 360 kbps..(700+ Mb) without dc.

Using twin DECT phone cos need 2 phones here and there.. voice ok very clear..

Conclusion -- very happy with MIO.. (even started reading forum how bad MIO is since Jan 07).. My brother staying in SIMEI have converted from Stahhub to MIO.. installed on 3rd July.. ALL OK..

expression
13-07-2007, 01:10 PM
Upgraded to MIO on June 17.. until now no Modem disconnect.. maybe previously I was on Jetpack (512k with stable connection) without contract so decided to upgrade to MIO.. Technician came that day, without me switching on the PC, he used his PDA to configure the modem for me.. I told technician the phone went dead in the morning, he told me singtel is changing phone line to digital line. Once he configured my modem, he call Singtel about the phone line.. Singtel CSO called me three times to confirm my phone line is working.. Not bad service from Singtel.. Ethernet and internet lite still blinking, cos PC though off LAN wire is still connected to modem. Internet lite blink maybe phone is digital line.

So far so good.. able to stream on line TV, youtube, of cos some sites including Yahoo can be a pain in the neck.. with slow connection. I was able to download 9dragon at 320 ~ 360 kbps..(700+ Mb) without dc.

Using twin DECT phone cos need 2 phones here and there.. voice ok very clear..

Conclusion -- very happy with MIO.. (even started reading forum how bad MIO is since Jan 07).. My brother staying in SIMEI have converted from Stahhub to MIO.. installed on 3rd July.. ALL OK..

glad that u do not have any problems like we do... btw, the internet blinking is not because u are on digital line.

tkdguru
13-07-2007, 02:35 PM
ah glad to hear another user without any problems

danxiaogui86
13-07-2007, 08:47 PM
mine is power, ethernet, internet, dsl.

IF ur internet on ur miobox is led up. u simply running double NAT. not in bridge mode at all.

interguy
18-07-2007, 08:01 PM
OMG, my good days are over! After the Mio technician updated the firmware last tuesday, I had good phone, internet for one whole week. Now, My modem hangs again! Sigh!

Thinking of calling Mio technical Helpdesk again! Sigh!

simcher
18-07-2007, 11:48 PM
OMG, my good days are over! After the Mio technician updated the firmware last tuesday, I had good phone, internet for one whole week. Now, My modem hangs again! Sigh!

Thinking of calling Mio technical Helpdesk again! Sigh!
wah problem come back again? i also noticed my internet led is blinking non stop also lol

lalalalalala
21-07-2007, 12:01 AM
wah problem come back again? i also noticed my internet led is blinking non stop also lolhuh??? blink like crazy or wad??? mine only from time to time blink abit here and there lei...

expression
21-07-2007, 02:30 AM
huh??? blink like crazy or wad??? mine only from time to time blink abit here and there lei...

mine used to blink like crazy... but now its blinking on and off or slowly
so far no hang no dc though

interguy
21-07-2007, 09:58 AM
wah problem come back again? i also noticed my internet led is blinking non stop also lol
The modem hangs and I have on/off the modem again. My modem internet led has been blinking non stop (slowly) all this while but the mio technician did not say anything wrong with it.

I will wait till the modem hangs again before calling mio helpdesk again.

javahuat
21-07-2007, 01:35 PM
Wish you good luck. Now I have no problem with the mio. As good as my old connection!

lalalalalala
22-07-2007, 10:17 PM
that day at around 1am my dsl link lost i tink... suddenly dc, all leds off only power led solid then dsl led flashin.. need to restart modem.. =/

CyBeR_CoP
24-07-2007, 02:33 AM
please post your firmware version here

Model: 2700HGV-2 Gateway
Hardware Version: 2700-100657-005
Software Version: 5.29.117.3

having no problems. internet LED blinks when there is activity

pker88
24-07-2007, 04:27 AM
hope tthis trend stays as long as it could so ppls who wnna opt for mio will see good or not lor
even i am interested now just hope it more improved in this MIo broadband to have not DC

lalalalalala
24-07-2007, 06:54 PM

lingkiin
24-07-2007, 09:02 PM
After i upgraded the firmware.

Current Software: 5.29.117.3

Franzz
24-07-2007, 11:13 PM
I'm thinking of getting Mio.

Well it seems that ST is still now sorting out problems right? How is the situation currently? Worth the moolah?

pker88
24-07-2007, 11:29 PM
maybe someone or who on mio plan mind to post your speed test resutls here for us to see
and let us know got any issue like disconnections?
beside the usual mio digital voice got echo issues

liangtam
24-07-2007, 11:38 PM
mio bb performance is the same as those singnet user not on mio.

teemie
25-07-2007, 09:57 AM
well, how's everyone's mio? since my last post (sorry i can't remember when), i've been having no problems at all.

well, in the same time stretch, there was once that I got DC and my IP address changed, but no reboot of modem required. (it automatically reconnected).

cheers

danxiaogui86
25-07-2007, 03:44 PM
anyone know where can obtain the latest firmware for miobox?

interguy
25-07-2007, 05:14 PM
simply call the mio tech hotline?

outer92
25-07-2007, 07:02 PM
anyone know where can obtain the latest firmware for miobox?
i have the latest firmware for miobox 5.29.117.3

danxiaogui86
25-07-2007, 07:37 PM
i have the latest firmware for miobox 5.29.117.3

How do u know it latest? where can i get it? cuz my mio box say i have latest even though it 5.29.111.1

outer92
25-07-2007, 07:54 PM
How do u know it latest? where can i get it? cuz my mio box say i have latest even though it 5.29.111.1

singnet engineer upgrade my mio box to latest firmware. my old firmware same as you

danxiaogui86
25-07-2007, 07:59 PM
singnet engineer upgrade my mio box to latest firmware. my old firmware same as you

Possible to do a upgrade myself or got to call singnet engineer to come down?

outer92
25-07-2007, 08:21 PM
Possible to do a upgrade myself or got to call singnet engineer to come down?
can! if you know how to upgrade firmware

liangtam
25-07-2007, 08:34 PM
Thot need get f/w from Malifax or tech staff.

danxiaogui86
25-07-2007, 09:37 PM
Hrm does 2wire have update firmware option? else can guide me along?

shanex88
25-07-2007, 11:20 PM
Mio is pretty stable now after they fix the modem hang problem... The modem been on for 2 weeks already without dc. cheers!

expression
25-07-2007, 11:58 PM
Hrm does 2wire have update firmware option? else can guide me along?

u will find the answer in google :)

simcher
26-07-2007, 12:09 AM
This is for all those people who wants to upgrade their firmware, follow the instruction below.
I do not bare any responsiblity if you somehow or rather bricked your modem because you fail to follow instruction.

1) Make sure you knows your MIO settings(eg. username, password, and your mio voice password if you have) and unzip the content to somewhere you like.

UPGRADE FILE : http://download.yousendit.com/7FC07CC84919643E

2) Make sure you have Firefox(the upgrade can only be used on firefox browsers)

3) Launch Firefox and go to the address 192.168.1.254/upgrade

4) Click Continue

5) Click on Browse, select the file from the location you unzipped to(singtel-moip_reinstall_voice_5291173_GA.2sp)

6) Click Upgrade.

The whole process takes about 7-10mins. after it is upgraded successfully it will reboot the modem... after which you have to do your adsl settings again.

danxiaogui86
26-07-2007, 12:11 AM
Firefox? IE cannot?

expression
26-07-2007, 12:26 AM

http://www.speedtest.net/result/160087415.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

hwz_zx
26-07-2007, 12:34 AM
thks simcher will give it a try tml n hopefully it works for me :)
save the trouble for getting singnet's tech to come down =:p

danxiaogui86
26-07-2007, 12:58 AM
thks simcher will give it a try tml n hopefully it works for me :)
save the trouble for getting singnet's tech to come down =:p

let me know if u suceed :)

simcher
26-07-2007, 08:54 AM
Firefox? IE cannot?
IE cannot be used. it won't upgrade on IE, i do not know what will happen to it.

danxiaogui86
26-07-2007, 12:55 PM
IE cannot be used. it won't upgrade on IE, i do not know what will happen to it.

Okay, may i know where u get the firmware from? is it the latest?

hwz_zx
26-07-2007, 06:07 PM
2700HGV-2 Gateway• Software: 5.29.117.3
thks simcher again :s22:
let me know if u suceed :)

danxiaogui86
26-07-2007, 06:30 PM

Nice. I just email malifax. latest firmware is this. any sign of improvement?

hwz_zx
26-07-2007, 06:33 PM
i will observe the spd and connection stated for a few days n post if i encountered any problems :)

btw can the upgrade file be deleted after upgrade?? :s11:

edited :
yes u will nd to enter the password and id aft the upgrade.. aft that it should work fine :)

danxiaogui86
26-07-2007, 06:33 PM

Do u need to enter the key code for 2wire?

danxiaogui86
26-07-2007, 06:50 PM
done success too ^^

NT
26-07-2007, 10:43 PM

http://www.speedtest.net/result/160087415.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

on MIO since Sunday.......
& connection been fine so far using same fw ver......

most speedtests d/l speed with ZoneAlarm on hover ard 2957kb/s under 3MB plan

expression
26-07-2007, 11:11 PM
on MIO since Sunday.......
& connection been fine so far using same fw ver......

most speedtests d/l speed with ZoneAlarm on hover ard 2957kb/s under 3MB plan

wats your upload speed? i think mine is kinda slow

NT
27-07-2007, 12:20 AM
wats your upload speed? i think mine is kinda slow

vary quite a lot..... fr 250kb/s +/- to 350kb/s....

Xeniel
28-07-2007, 10:31 AM
Damn, i think i bricked mine :( Only have 2 solid green light on DSL and Power :(

Is it really bricked?

hwz_zx
28-07-2007, 10:51 AM
Damn, i think i bricked mine :( Only have 2 solid green light on DSL and Power :(

Is it really bricked?go to http://gateway.2wire.net/
click on Internet Connect/Disconnect
den type in ur id and pw, u should get ur internet led green after a while.

hope tis help :)

Xeniel
28-07-2007, 12:23 PM
go to http://gateway.2wire.net/
click on Internet Connect/Disconnect
den type in ur id and pw, u should get ur internet led green after a while.

hope tis help :)
Hah thanks!

I realised all the settings are empty after flashing, that's why can't connect. So what i did was connect using a LAN and input the settings and it's finally working, Phew! Flashing firmwares never fail to make me all nervous :o

hwz_zx
28-07-2007, 12:25 PM
Hah thanks!

I realised all the settings are empty after flashing, that's why can't connect. So what i did was connect using a LAN and input the settings and it's finally working, Phew! Flashing firmwares never fail to make me all nervous :oWelcome! =:p

felime
28-07-2007, 05:12 PM
Successfully updated the firmware.

by the way, the ATM PVC Search suppose to be enabled or disabled?

outer92
28-07-2007, 05:18 PM
Successfully updated the firmware.

by the way, the ATM PVC Search suppose to be enabled or disabled?

ATM PVC disable

felime
28-07-2007, 05:28 PM
the ATM PVC disable

thanks outer92.

another thing to confirm,

the ATM Encapsulation: Bridged LLC

VPI: 0 VCI: 100

The above correct?

and the firewall monitor is no longer available after the upgrade, the only thing left is just the basic firewall settings and another thing is when u click the upgrade link from the main page it will bring you back to the default page 192.168.1.254

is this normal?

outer92
28-07-2007, 05:32 PM
thanks outer92.

another thing to confirm,

the ATM Encapsulation: Bridged LLC

VPI: 0 VCI: 100

The above correct?

and the firewall monitor is no longer available after the upgrade, the only thing left is just the basic firewall settings and another thing is when u click the upgrade link from the main page it will bring you back to the default page 192.168.1.254

is this normal?what you mention above is the correct setting you have to install firewall monitor from upgrade option

felime
28-07-2007, 05:34 PM
what you mention above is the correct setting

thanks for the speedy reply.

felime
29-07-2007, 12:28 AM
what you mention above is the correct setting you have to install firewall monitor from upgrade option

i've tried to click on the upgrade option link which was at the system summary page but like i mentioned previously, it brings me back to the default page 192.168.1.254

any idea why?

Weddguy82
29-07-2007, 09:13 AM
I need bro advise..

I sign up singnet plan with the free lenova pc with the 2 wire modem.

After 5 months, the internet light at the modem is not on. I called singnet, they ask mi to go malifax for 1 to 1 exchange. ****..Still have to take leave and go down since they operate only on office hours. Went there, no question asked. Jus changed and I left.

After 2 months, spoilt again. Fedup. I made a fuss with the singnet operator, and they arranged Malifax staff to come my hse and do it FOC.

Guess wad, less than 2 weeks, the new modem is spoilt again. With the same problem. Internet light at the modem is not on again. Pissed..

Quality sux. Tink I rather buy 1 modem outside then make a replacement. Wasting my time and usage. Any advise wad modem to buy which is similar to the 2 wire, but better quality??

liangtam
29-07-2007, 10:59 AM
Many ppl 2Wire still working well after few months leh. Any chances that your AC source at home is not clean?

simcher
30-07-2007, 11:20 PM
my old 2 wire 1800hg still working after more than 2 years of usage before i changed to the mio 2700 HGV-2... i don't think 2wire spoilt that easily...

echoz
05-08-2007, 04:29 AM
anyone still have the firmware file? yousendit says the file has expired..

outer92
05-08-2007, 06:39 AM
anyone still have the firmware file? yousendit says the file has expired..
pm your email to me.

tnemgarf
05-08-2007, 11:25 AM
my pc cant shutdown when the 2wire modem is on; it will only restart.. anyone got this problem?

Y_Shun
05-08-2007, 12:15 PM
Btw must we go for the firmware upgrade for the modem?

Upgrade and no upgrade got what difference?

echoz
05-08-2007, 04:24 PM
after upgrading the firmware... somehow my bit torrent downloads have stop killing the modem's dsl sync. will check more...

DJ_LuV
09-08-2007, 11:11 PM
whoa...how brothers of mio? I read through so many pages of this thread....started from desperation and frustration..suddenly last few pages seems like everyone's prob have been solved? =D Still using mio voice with it?

I'm still looking into whether to get mio....really quite worth it in terms of price.....=P

endokid
13-08-2007, 09:43 PM
guys... need some serious help. i'm on vista home premium on dell inspiron notebook. the technician just installed the mio box today buy we can't get the note book to hook up wireless. i can get the inspiron hooked up via cable AND i can get another notebook hooked up (xp) via wireless. anyone has the same problem or know the solution? no kidding, i was on the phone with dell and singnet for 6 HOURS!! and they can't solve the problem!! can u share your settings with me if u're on mio+vista as well? thanks! any help is appreciated!

roadspeeder1
13-08-2007, 09:56 PM
I need bro advise..

I sign up singnet plan with the free lenova pc with the 2 wire modem.

After 5 months, the internet light at the modem is not on. I called singnet, they ask mi to go malifax for 1 to 1 exchange. ****..Still have to take leave and go down since they operate only on office hours. Went there, no question asked. Jus changed and I left.

After 2 months, spoilt again. Fedup. I made a fuss with the singnet operator, and they arranged Malifax staff to come my hse and do it FOC.

Guess wad, less than 2 weeks, the new modem is spoilt again. With the same problem. Internet light at the modem is not on again. Pissed..

Quality sux. Tink I rather buy 1 modem outside then make a replacement. Wasting my time and usage. Any advise wad modem to buy which is similar to the 2 wire, but better quality??

me got the same lousy mio modem. find this damn leh chay thing very troublesome to setup too and worst of all signal FXXX low compared to my Netgear asdl2 router. after wasting my time troubleshooting, connecting and disconnecting i got very pissed off and switch back to my netgear asdl modem again, thereafter my mio has been eating dust in store room untill now.

lalalalalala
14-08-2007, 02:34 AM
me got the same lousy mio modem. find this damn leh chay thing very troublesome to setup too and worst of all signal FXXX low compared to my Netgear asdl2 router. after wasting my time troubleshooting, connecting and disconnecting i got very pissed off and switch back to my netgear asdl modem again, thereafter my mio has been eating dust in store room untill now.

then ur mio voice???

zhiwei_86
18-08-2007, 01:31 PM
anyone can pm me the 2wire f/w pls

tech010101
18-08-2007, 02:23 PM
guys... need some serious help. i'm on vista home premium on dell inspiron notebook. the technician just installed the mio box today buy we can't get the note book to hook up wireless. i can get the inspiron hooked up via cable AND i can get another notebook hooked up (xp) via wireless. anyone has the same problem or know the solution? no kidding, i was on the phone with dell and singnet for 6 HOURS!! and they can't solve the problem!! can u share your settings with me if u're on mio+vista as well? thanks! any help is appreciated!
Did your problem solve? I have firend with the same fault but problem solve after that.

zhiwei_86
18-08-2007, 02:52 PM
anyone knows whats the key that is written in the letter that came along with the modem? i remembered the technician who installed my modem (SNBB only) gave me a letter, telling me some keys written on the letter for the modem. ive lost the letter. is the key required for firmware update? :s11:

lalalalalala
18-08-2007, 03:00 PM
anyone knows whats the key that is written in the letter that came along with the modem? i remembered the technician who installed my modem (SNBB only) gave me a letter, telling me some keys written on the letter for the modem. ive lost the letter. is the key required for firmware update? :s11:u mean the key to access the modem setings page???

zhiwei_86
18-08-2007, 03:05 PM
i forgotten already, thats why im asking here. what i remembered was after he setup my modem for me, he wrote some key onto the letter, and told me that key was for ??? usage. so im afraid if i flashed the firmware, and if i didnt have this key, i wont be able to continue using the modem. :s27:

DarkSensation
21-08-2007, 01:24 AM
Hey guys. I just got the package for boardband yesterday and was given 2Wire 2700HGV-2 Modem. When i install the configuration from smartfix it says i can't configure my wireless as i am either short of a wireless card or wireless adaptor...

I mean ain't this bitch a integrated wireless modem itself? Why do i still need to get either wireless card or wireless adaptor ar?

In the modem package i only got:

1 AC Adaptor
4 Microfilter
1 Usb Cable
1 UTP Cable
1 RJ-11 Cable

Thats all!!!! I don't even have what key mentioned by Zhiwei_86, any paper or instructions booket from the package la.....

loathed
21-08-2007, 02:23 AM
Hey guys. I just got the package for boardband yesterday and was given 2Wire 2700HGV-2 Modem. When i install the configuration from smartfix it says i can't configure my wireless as i am either short of a wireless card or wireless adaptor...

I mean ain't this bitch a integrated wireless modem itself? Why do i still need to get either wireless card or wireless adaptor ar?

In the modem package i only got:

1 AC Adaptor
4 Microfilter
1 Usb Cable
1 UTP Cable
1 RJ-11 Cable

Thats all!!!! I don't even have what key mentioned by Zhiwei_86, any paper or instructions booket from the package la.....

i dont really understand what youre trying to say. but this is what im guessing...

you said you couldnt configure your wireless as youre either short of a wireless card or adapter...what has a wireless or adapter got to do with the modem? yes, the modem is a integrated wireless modem, however you will still need either a wireless card/adapter for which PC/laptop you want to sure wirelessly from. if your PC/laptop which you want to surf wirelessly on doesnt have an wireless card/adapter, you still cant surf, even if your modem is an integrated wireless one.

on another note, i just got my modem today, will install later in the day.

Raytrace
21-08-2007, 11:59 AM
the singtel guy just came by today with my 2700hgv-2. all very chop chop. Came, installed, configured, left.

so far so good. Then again, I was using SNBB10Mbps without problems before I switched to MIO so not much difference. hehe
http://www.speedtest.net/result/173988551.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

loathed
21-08-2007, 03:05 PM
the singtel guy just came by today with my 2700hgv-2. all very chop chop. Came, installed, configured, left.

so far so good. Then again, I was using SNBB10Mbps without problems before I switched to MIO so not much difference. hehe
http://www.speedtest.net/result/173988551.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

when the guy installed or when you installed, did you plug in the modem and everything first or did you put in the CD first and install from there?

Raytrace
21-08-2007, 03:17 PM
when the guy installed or when you installed, did you plug in the modem and everything first or did you put in the CD first and install from there?
there's a CD? lol.

because i already had the old 2wire there from my SNBB10Mbps, he just replaced the modem and used back the old adapter and everything. then connect via ethernet and go to homeportal and done.

no CD necessary.

loathed
21-08-2007, 04:42 PM
there's a CD? lol.

because i already had the old 2wire there from my SNBB10Mbps, he just replaced the modem and used back the old adapter and everything. then connect via ethernet and go to homeportal and done.

no CD necessary.

think maybe is because your computer was already installed with the 2WIRE modem thing, thats why no need.

HardCORE
21-08-2007, 06:59 PM
Just signed up to SNBB 10M plan and got this modem/router.

Cannot seem to put this 2WIRE 2700HGV-2 into bridge mode so that I can use my dedicated router. The instructions elsewhere dont seem to work.

Called 2WIRE tech support, and the CSO gave me some crap story like "the modem supports bridge mode, but we cannot tell you how to active it because we do not support the modem in this mode. previously some people switched it to bridge mode then the whole modem got corrupted".

So I gave up and bought an Aztech 600E(C) which is a piece of crap (cant even connect!), going to swap it with a 600EU or other modem right now.

Raytrace
21-08-2007, 08:36 PM
think maybe is because your computer was already installed with the 2WIRE modem thing, thats why no need.

Maybe... but I don't see the need for a CD of any kind. Just like any other router, the 'software', or in this case, firmware, is already inside the router. just plug via ethernet and access via http://homeportal/. The only reason i think you would need a CD is if you are connecting the 2wire to your computer by USB.

Just signed up to SNBB 10M plan and got this modem/router.

Cannot seem to put this 2WIRE 2700HGV-2 into bridge mode so that I can use my dedicated router. The instructions elsewhere dont seem to work.

Called 2WIRE tech support, and the CSO gave me some crap story like "the modem supports bridge mode, but we cannot tell you how to active it because we do not support the modem in this mode. previously some people switched it to bridge mode then the whole modem got corrupted".

So I gave up and bought an Aztech 600E(C) which is a piece of crap (cant even connect!), going to swap it with a 600EU or other modem right now.

Can't put into bridge mode? you sure?
these are the steps i took:

First plug the 2wire directly to computer.

- Browse to http://homeportal/mdc (Password:2wire)
- Click on Configure under Broadband Link
- Enter VPI 0 and VCI 100 (some guides incorrectly put the VCI as 35)
- Click on Disable PVC Search
- Set Connection Type to Direct IP
- Click Submit/Save
- Click on Configure Services under Advanced
- Uncheck Enable Routing
- Click Submit

Then plug the dedicated router between the 2wire and computer (hope you get what i mean). And set up the dedicated router as per normal.

And I also disabled the 2wire wireless because even if switch to bridge mode, the wireless is still active for some reason.

HardCORE
21-08-2007, 09:07 PM
Can't put into bridge mode? you sure?
these are the steps i took:

First plug the 2wire directly to computer.

- Browse to http://homeportal/mdc (Password:2wire)
- Click on Configure under Broadband Link
- Enter VPI 0 and VCI 100 (some guides incorrectly put the VCI as 35)
- Click on Disable PVC Search
- Set Connection Type to Direct IP
- Click Submit/Save
- Click on Configure Services under Advanced
- Uncheck Enable Routing
- Click Submit

Then plug the dedicated router between the 2wire and computer (hope you get what i mean). And set up the dedicated router as per normal.

And I also disabled the 2wire wireless because even if switch to bridge mode, the wireless is still active for some reason.

Ya I took the same steps. It doesnt work for mine, for some reason the PPPoE dialer cannot get connected. Tried with both WRT54GL (DD-WRT) as PPPoE client and also PC with Vista's PPPoE dialer.

I got my modem only about 2 weeks ago, so it could be a newer firmware.

kitoshizc
22-08-2007, 09:14 AM
Well, for me I got this modem 3 days ago and when the person came and install he did not check everything properly and he left. The DSL Light kept blinking even until now. I cant use the phone or surf the net. Called technical support and they always say will get back to me but always didnt.
Modem spoilt?

hwmook
22-08-2007, 09:55 AM

I don't mean to laugh but you are obviously quite new to networking. You don't need to install anything to use a router/modem like the 2wire. you just need to connect the ethernet cable and key in the gateway IP address to go into the modem settings to configure it and that's it. Nothing is installed at all. The purpose of the CD is to help those people who doesn't know anything to setup their modem.

hwmook
22-08-2007, 09:57 AM
Well, for me I got this modem 3 days ago and when the person came and install he did not check everything properly and he left. The DSL Light kept blinking even until now. I cant use the phone or surf the net. Called technical support and they always say will get back to me but always didnt.
Modem spoilt?

You can't use the phone at all? if it is so then obviously something is wrong with your phone line, get it fixed.

hwmook
22-08-2007, 09:59 AM
Ya I took the same steps. It doesnt work for mine, for some reason the PPPoE dialer cannot get connected. Tried with both WRT54GL (DD-WRT) as PPPoE client and also PC with Vista's PPPoE dialer.

I got my modem only about 2 weeks ago, so it could be a newer firmware.

If it doesn't work then your settings must be wrong. Did you check whether the VCI is set to 100 because i remember the original value is 35 and once you disable the PVC search, the modem is unable to search for the correct VCI of 100 so you won't be able to dial in no matter what.

hwmook
22-08-2007, 10:03 AM
i forgotten already, thats why im asking here. what i remembered was after he setup my modem for me, he wrote some key onto the letter, and told me that key was for ??? usage. so im afraid if i flashed the firmware, and if i didnt have this key, i wont be able to continue using the modem. :s27:

if you don't even know what key it is then how can other people help you. I only know there is a WEP key which should be on a sticker on the modem itself, maybe that's what on the letter. you only need that if you reset the modem and want to set it up again using wireless means else you can always connect using a cable and key in all the settings.

liangtam
22-08-2007, 01:10 PM
Disable PVC search is unnecessary. It does not prevent you from working the 2wire into bridge mode.

kitoshizc
23-08-2007, 11:11 PM
mine works now.. turned out to be line problem. the installers were lousy though. left wires unconnected and I tot it was not working.

HardCORE
24-08-2007, 02:29 AM
If it doesn't work then your settings must be wrong. Did you check whether the VCI is set to 100 because i remember the original value is 35 and once you disable the PVC search, the modem is unable to search for the correct VCI of 100 so you won't be able to dial in no matter what.

Checked and it still didnt work. Got a Linksys AM300 now which works great with bridge mode! And better still, it also works in PPPoA half-bridge mode! I could never get the 2wire to work in PPPoA mode.

hwmook
24-08-2007, 03:23 AM
Disable PVC search is unnecessary. It does not prevent you from working the 2wire into bridge mode.

ok, then please tell me why my 2wire demand i disable the PVC search before it allow me to disable routing to turn it into bridge mode. Unless you are using a special version of the firmware else i am pretty sure disabling of PVC search is a requirement, not choice.

liangtam
24-08-2007, 11:23 AM
ok, then please tell me why my 2wire demand i disable the PVC search before it allow me to disable routing to turn it into bridge mode. Unless you are using a special version of the firmware else i am pretty sure disabling of PVC search is a requirement, not choice.
I cant confirm this, return back the HGV set orly.