PDA

View Full Version : those using mio 2wire 2700hgv-2 modem please come in

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

Fish_I_Am
27-08-2007, 02:12 PM
hey anyone know how to configure this modem to connect wif nintendo DS? coz last time when i change WEP open to WEP shared it can connect liao.. now suddenly cannot T_T

jmilo
04-09-2007, 02:28 PM
just a question...i just had my snbb (mio voice) installed last weekend....so far, so good...except for the internet led which always blinks nonstop even if pc is off...would appreciate any updates on this?

also called up mio technical support...they said the internet led non stop blinking is normal...is this true? thanks!

expression
04-09-2007, 03:05 PM
the blinking light its a known issue... by telling u is normal i feel its just an excuse for them. initially when i just had my MIO box installed, i dont remember seeing the Internet lights were blinking even when my laptop were not connected

crayon_shinchan
17-09-2007, 12:28 AM
anyone having this problem
out of sudden can't connect to wireless

kikapoo
21-09-2007, 02:41 PM
does anyone still have the link / the files to the latest firmware?

btw I'm using the 2Wire 2700Hg-V on the 5mbps plan, its ok that I use the firmware file right?

josephtan_89
26-10-2007, 10:54 PM
i got a solution to most of your problems..
besides re-flashing your router...
there is another way of resetting the router..

this only applies for the 2wire 2700hgv-2 router..

wad i did was to use another activation key and manually resetted everything...
previously..i was not able to change any of the encapsulating settings..llc vcc or stuff like that..

so i used the activation key and voila...

now my wireless power setting is at the max..10 that is..

the activation key is
5225-2374-WG62-22AS-BJ7P

of course...u'll need data on your mio voice password...broadband password...etc..

well..
the rest u gotta figure out yourself ya..

alanchia67
26-10-2007, 11:02 PM
so i used the activation key and voila...

now my wireless power setting is at the max..10 that is..

the activation key is
5225-2374-WG62-22AS-BJ7P

400mW (setting @ 10) is not allowed for home use. please be careful. 200mW (setting @ 6) is the highest legal for home use. i belief even buffalo is also 200mW.

josephtan_89
27-10-2007, 03:25 PM
legal??
wad do u mean??
wad if my setting is at 10...
wad will happen???

liangtam
27-10-2007, 03:29 PM
legal??
wad do u mean??
wad if my setting is at 10...
wad will happen???
iDA might come after u for exceeding legal limitation in power output for wifi device lor.

josephtan_89
28-10-2007, 08:59 PM
like this also will kena ar...lol
better be carefull..will keep that in mind./..
thnx

alanchia67
28-10-2007, 09:06 PM
be a good neighbour, dont spray your wifi unnecessarily.

DJ_LuV
29-10-2007, 09:39 AM
wa... This one better be careful... Don't anyhow anyhow. Lol

WestGuy
29-10-2007, 11:29 AM
Hmm, pardon my ignorance, but there's no way IDA will know if you were to set it at Level 10 right?

Well, sounds good, coz the furthermost room in my flat isnt getting very good reception.

alanchia67
29-10-2007, 01:20 PM
well, if IDA have been tipped - they can easily do a neighborhood wireless sniff.

liangtam
29-10-2007, 11:27 PM
well, if IDA have been tipped - they can easily do a neighborhood wireless sniff.
It would be good if they drive around and catch. Worse is those that boost xmit instead of using amp making noise increase in air only.

WestGuy
29-10-2007, 11:47 PM
What are the rammifications of boosting the power to 10?
Health hazards?

But does it help to boost the reception of those blind spots?

tkdguru
30-10-2007, 07:39 AM
it will toast the modem:s13:

alanchia67
30-10-2007, 09:28 AM
What are the rammifications of boosting the power to 10?
Health hazards?

But does it help to boost the reception of those blind spots?

being high power, it can should louder to the wifi devices in blind spots. but not necessarily it can hear the soft whispers from them.

liangtam
30-10-2007, 08:14 PM
it will toast the modem:s13:
No rah. Else many 2Wire will be in junkyard, or given to me :)

Francis85
04-11-2007, 12:32 PM
just a question...i just had my snbb (mio voice) installed last weekend....so far, so good...except for the internet led which always blinks nonstop even if pc is off...would appreciate any updates on this?

also called up mio technical support...they said the internet led non stop blinking is normal...is this true? thanks!

It is normal lah, internet is suppose to move and also the DSL is not suppose to blink.

playplay
10-11-2007, 11:26 AM
Anyone having same firmware as me?

http://img252.imageshack.us/img252/4147/27firmwarecx0.th.jpg (http://img252.imageshack.us/my.php?image=27firmwarecx0.jpg)

Anyone knows MDC default password? Singnet technical staff came to flash my modem to this new firmware and MDC page was locked with password. Consulted Singnet, they played ping pong with me claiming they do not know the password and only Malifax knows. Contacted Malifax, they claimed only singnet knows. Show them what Singnet have claimed and they changed their phrase saying Only Malifax knows and they have never revealed the default password ever since the start of their firmware.

Told them since start, there wasn't a password set on MDC, only when this firmware came in, then it was locked.

Anyone knows the default password?

alanchia67
10-11-2007, 11:33 AM
my previous 2wire was upgraded to the eval firmware too. but i dont like it as every reboot will bring the wifi power setting to '10'. legal home use in SG should be '6'.

the default mdc password has always been '2wire'.

User Name
10-11-2007, 11:37 AM
nothing given free by sinklag is good lol

alanchia67
10-11-2007, 11:40 AM
nothing given free by sinklag is good lol

this is 'evaluation' firmware, so may have some issues to work out. why you so against singnet?

alvin81
25-11-2007, 05:37 AM
Need some help here. My 2700HGV-2 was fine a few days ago. But today, I plugged in the ethernet cable (connected to the router) to my laptop and the ethernet LED didn't light up. I also could not use the internet although my laptop is turned on. I've checked all the settings on my laptop. I even used another laptop to test.

Can someone please help me with this issue?

kevin5k
25-11-2007, 07:07 AM
Need some help here. My 2700HGV-2 was fine a few days ago. But today, I plugged in the ethernet cable (connected to the router) to my laptop and the ethernet LED didn't light up. I also could not use the internet although my laptop is turned on. I've checked all the settings on my laptop. I even used another laptop to test.

Can someone please help me with this issue?

Hi there...can u try various ethernet ports and see if u can get the ethernet light to be on?If not, try with another computer to see if u can replicate the same problem.

If not, it means ur thing is due for RMA (i.e exchange).

kevin5k
25-11-2007, 07:09 AM
ok, then please tell me why my 2wire demand i disable the PVC search before it allow me to disable routing to turn it into bridge mode. Unless you are using a special version of the firmware else i am pretty sure disabling of PVC search is a requirement, not choice.

Hi guys,there is a special mode in MDC (i.e Management and Diagnostic Console) that TRULY disables routing and set your 2700 to bridged mode. It's under Network --> Configure. Rgds

kevin5k
25-11-2007, 07:12 AM
i forgotten already, thats why im asking here. what i remembered was after he setup my modem for me, he wrote some key onto the letter, and told me that key was for ??? usage. so im afraid if i flashed the firmware, and if i didnt have this key, i wont be able to continue using the modem. :s27:

Zhiwei_86, is that code 20-digit or 10-digit long?

kevin5k
25-11-2007, 07:15 AM
Btw guys, I've heard of reports that a new firmware will be out for the 2700HGV in early 2008. Pls chk with Singnet if they support it before updating your 2700.

kevin5k
25-11-2007, 07:25 AM
Now, the SingTel lady says that the firmware has been upgraded. I guess she meant that the firmware in the modem has been upgraded. This I guess should have happened remotely since the modem is connected to the network. Anyway, I am not complaining if the modem is not hanging. Hopefully it stays this way for a long long time.

From my workplace @some ISP elsewhere in the world, it seems that the firmware updates occur in batches and this is pre-configured @the PSTN exchanges. U'll know if your 2700 is updating firmware if the Power Light is Flashing Red.

My take on the 2700, it's more than enuf for normal users but insufficient more advanced users who may want a hardware firewall behind the 2700 or do VPN...

*Note: Pls dun ask me what ISP am I working for.. :s16:

alvin81
25-11-2007, 12:42 PM
Hi there...can u try various ethernet ports and see if u can get the ethernet light to be on?If not, try with another computer to see if u can replicate the same problem.

If not, it means ur thing is due for RMA (i.e exchange).

Yup... I tried on all the 4 ports and tried 3 other ethernet cables. I also used 1 more other laptop to try. I even reset the router to factory default and reconfigured it. Restarted it many times. All these failed.

I am now using a USB wireless adaptor on my laptop to access the internet and its quite slow.

kevin5k
25-11-2007, 05:24 PM
Yup... I tried on all the 4 ports and tried 3 other ethernet cables. I also used 1 more other laptop to try. I even reset the router to factory default and reconfigured it. Restarted it many times. All these failed.

I am now using a USB wireless adaptor on my laptop to access the internet and its quite slow.

Callup ur ISP...they'll most probably go thru the same dianostics as i did b4 they issue an RMA 4 u

lolipop
30-11-2007, 01:20 PM
Hello pple....

I signed up singnet, and got this intergrated 2wire 2700 liao....

but then hor... how come theres no documentation that comes with the box?... not even a setup guide?... only have 1 CD to install some software on windows... is that enuf oredi?...

can any kind souls point me to where i can learn more abt using the 2wire?... just fyi, I know abt networking stuffs one la... so hope to find info on configuration of 2wire...

alanchia67
30-11-2007, 01:22 PM
go to 2wire support site - it has alot of information on how to configure your 2wire 2700hg.

leogeo
05-12-2007, 10:52 AM
i just got a 2wire 2700 hgv modem coz my mum signed up for miotv.

i only have 1 computer at home and have forwarded port for my uTorrent using the guide here (http://www.portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/2wire/2700HG-V2/Utorrent.htm)

however, when i run the port test on uTorrent, it says the port is still not open?

i am confused.

when i run the "test" on utorrent, my ip add is diff from the one listed on the website above ie 192.168.1.254

could tt be the reason why?

bOaRd
05-12-2007, 02:47 PM
can anyone post the file for the latest firmware again ? the previous link was down.. thanks

DenKoh
05-12-2007, 05:08 PM
I signed up for Mio plan with 6 months free mioTV.
Installation is tomorrow

Can advice what I should look out for?

Thanks

BTW : how to turn off the wireless manually?
I am thinking of bridging the 2wire modem to my Linksys n-router

hq83
05-12-2007, 05:13 PM
there is a option to off the wireless..

anthony.phua
05-12-2007, 08:47 PM
Hi. Not sure if anyone encountered the same problem before.

I upgraded from a 3.5MB plan to a 6MB Plan. Got the 2Wire 2700HGV-2 Modem as well.

Whenever I power on the modem and test using speedtest.net, I get a download speed of 100-200 kbps only. I need to power off and power on the modem again to get the full download speed of 6MB.

I've asked Singnet to reset the line and exchanged the modem for a brand new one but I still face the same issue.

Surprisingly, I don't have this issue at all using my old 2Wire 1800HG Modem.

Anyone has any advise for me?

Thanks.

rainyrhythm
09-12-2007, 09:55 AM
After i changed to mio-plan, i can't port-forward my internet anymore...
I mean I can set the port-forwarding on the settings, but it doesn't work..
Wonder if singtel blocks all the incoming ports..

Does anyone have a solution? Do I have to bridge the 2700 as well?

** EDIT:
Sorry, this is because of my forgetfullness, on my server forgot to adjust the gateway to the new router ip. It works fine now.

rainyrhythm
09-12-2007, 10:51 AM
may i know if any users experience the modem being very noisy? got a loud weezing sound... is it normal?

i don't hear anything from my 2700 modem..

outer92
09-12-2007, 10:54 AM
may i know if any users experience the modem being very noisy? got a loud weezing sound... is it normal?

dont hear any sound come from 2wire mio modem

forevervincent21
09-12-2007, 02:16 PM
are these details normal for snbb 3mbps plan?

DSL Connection Details
DSL Line (Wire Pair): Line 1 (inner pair)
Protocol: G.DMT2+ Annex A
Downstream Rate: 21998 kbps
Upstream Rate: 1021 kbps
Channel: Interleaved
Current Noise Margin: 11.6 dB (Downstream) 9.0 dB (Upstream)
Current Attenuation: 6.5 dB (Downstream) 1.9 dB (Upstream)
Current Output Power: 16.6 dBm (Downstream) 10.9 dBm (Upstream)
DSLAM Vendor Information: Country: {0xB5} Vendor: {BDCM} Specific: {0x8462}
PVC Info: 0/100

liangtam
09-12-2007, 02:33 PM
Yes
*10 char*

forevervincent21
09-12-2007, 02:47 PM
Yes
*10 char*

thank you~ my main concern was the noise margin.. higher the better or otherwise?

outer92
09-12-2007, 09:44 PM
Can someone share the latest singnet 2wire firmware ?

what is your 2wire mio modem firmware now?

danxiaogui86
10-12-2007, 01:10 AM
anyone know what the latest firmware?

danxiaogui86
10-12-2007, 01:11 AM
mine is 117.3

outer92
10-12-2007, 06:59 AM

the latest firmware now 5.29.117.3 for mio

pm me your email address for firmware

hangyong
10-12-2007, 09:38 AM
the latest firmware now 5.29.117.3 for mio

pm me your email address for firmware

whats new in the new version?

DenKoh
10-12-2007, 09:55 AM
Got my Mio running for a week+. Switch from Starhub

Mio voice is clear on my end. But some of my friends complained about slight interference on their end when talking to me

Broadband is much better than maxonline. Consistent. I am staying in an apartment. So no more lagging during peak hours

Happy with it

selleron
10-12-2007, 02:05 PM
Can anyone please post their 6MBps details?

I'm only getting this:
Downstream Rate: 13999 kbps

Thank you.

liangtam
10-12-2007, 02:16 PM
Can anyone please post their 6MBps details?

I'm only getting this:

Thank you.

13999 > 6000.
Does this ans ur qn??

poorguy
10-12-2007, 04:05 PM
after recontract for around a mth my old 2wire think have die, and body can help me recover it?

i do a speedtest on speedtest.net and singnet help tools, the d/l only 1-2mbps but upload is 1mbps, im under 10mbps plan.
the modem incoming and outgoing speed look fine over 10k and over 1k out and in.
do a factory restore still the same.

1-2week back there power trip in my BLK, i think this have cause it.
1+year back due to thunderstorm and my 1st wire die luckly still have warranty, so i think this time is due to the power trip.

simcher
11-12-2007, 05:38 PM
warranty for 2wire is 2 years as according to singnet helpdesk :D bring it in for warranty!

orochris
16-12-2007, 12:33 PM
hi guys i am having some problem with 2700 on utorrent.the network icon is always red and cant go green,erm what shld i do?and i am using wireless not direct connection.

icequeenz
16-12-2007, 04:44 PM
hi guys i am having some problem with 2700 on utorrent.the network icon is always red and cant go green,erm what shld i do?and i am using wireless not direct connection.

did you open/forward the port? like shown on this page (http://www.portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/2wire/2700HG-V2/Utorrent.htm).
if you don't know ur ip address, just type HOMEPORTAL in the address bar.

borkbork
01-01-2008, 09:02 PM
im using 2700hgv2 as well on sgnet 10mbps plan. i recently found out that even though i forwarded port in order to host games, my pc is not shown in my home network, only the 2 wireless ( another pc and laptop ) is shown. thus its as good as i din forward port. i can still access internet. morever i cannot access homeportal anymore,i went in thru gateway.2wire.net.

L_Lboy
08-01-2008, 11:20 PM
hi all, i'm using the 2wire modem which comes with the mio subscription. i have no problems surfing wired.. but i canot seem to surf wireless..

downloading is ok but uploading got problem.. do speedtest it will hang at the upload part..

Can anyone help me??

nobrain1
09-01-2008, 12:05 AM
mines on 3Mbps....is this correct?

Connection Speed:
• Incoming: 20860 kbps
• Outgoing: 1022 kbps

liangtam
09-01-2008, 12:27 AM

Connection Speed:

20 > 3 Mbps.
Does this also answer your question??

max007007
09-01-2008, 07:52 PM

Connection Speed:
free upgrade in speed?

leogeo
10-01-2008, 05:05 PM

Connection Speed:
• Outgoing: 1022 kbpswow

more like on 20Mbps?

ktee
10-01-2008, 05:27 PM

Connection Speed:

This is not correct. The incoming shld be 2860 or 2086 cos of your typo. :D

alanchia67
10-01-2008, 05:37 PM

Connection Speed:

you on 3Mbps plan, but are you on miotv plan too?

BurgerLim
11-01-2008, 02:21 PM
Hi, just switched...

1st netspeed test is like
11700 kpbs download
775 kbps upload

is this good? i am on 10mbps plan.. look like others has better upload / download.. :(

alice9
11-01-2008, 09:08 PM
same wor... torrent test was 255kb/s.... but DL from site not so stable lei... 1st day using alot of stunts... telephone cannot use den reboot modem got dc like mad... thursday IT ppl from singnet come and check... bloody sian zzzzzzzzz

luv_boa
26-01-2008, 01:57 AM
hi . i just got this modem . snbb alone . just want to ask that i dun need to use the smartfix to install this modem ? juz plug in ethernet. and go straight to the status page?

BurgerLim
26-01-2008, 09:25 AM
think so... there is no need to install "smartfix"
just browse thru the gateway web page will do.. wireless is standard.. all setting could be done thru the gateway

HTH

luv_boa
26-01-2008, 12:01 PM
wats the gateway web page ar ? cos all along i using linksys. i feel that linksys more user friendly

ralliart12
26-01-2008, 01:50 PM
wats the gateway web page ar ? cos all along i using linksys. i feel that linksys more user friendly

Try typing this in your browser:

http://home/

luv_boa
27-01-2008, 12:32 AM
why i cant find internet access control ? wanna control internet access

warlock72
27-01-2008, 08:40 PM
bro...u working sub level company or with ,malifax ,vrents?avanzare?alpha?

luv_boa
27-01-2008, 10:49 PM
upupup . any1 can teach me hw to find the internet acess control ? i cant find it

liangtam
27-01-2008, 10:55 PM
bro...u working sub level company or with ,malifax ,vrents?avanzare?alpha?

You sound like u work in one of the company as well. So who do u represent :s11:

technoglitz87
27-01-2008, 11:29 PM
i'm supposed to be on 3mbps mio plan, jus went speedtest.net and found it to be capped at 1.5mbps..

what's up with that? and does static ip work with this 2700ghv? [set on my device settings, not 2wire page]

Tradingeyes
28-01-2008, 08:03 AM
You sound like u work in one of the company as well. So who do u represent :s11:

interested in working with 2WIRE modems?

liangtam
28-01-2008, 05:57 PM
interested in working with 2WIRE modems?

Sry, dun get u :s11:

luv_boa
28-01-2008, 07:50 PM
any1 can help me abt internet acess control for this modem ?

alanchia67
28-01-2008, 07:56 PM
any1 can help me abt internet acess control for this modem ?

what 'internet access control' you refering?

luv_boa
28-01-2008, 09:20 PM
controlling each computer internet timing.

alanchia67
28-01-2008, 09:37 PM
controlling each computer internet timing.

is there one? havent seen it.

Tradingeyes
28-01-2008, 10:24 PM
Sry, dun get u :s11:
as in do you wish to work in 2WIRE service centre full time?

liangtam
28-01-2008, 10:31 PM
as in do you wish to work in 2WIRE service centre full time?

I ish still a full time student reh.
Eben if u habe job offering, oso cannot take :o

luv_boa
28-01-2008, 10:52 PM
cos my linksys gateway have it

liangtam
28-01-2008, 11:21 PM
cos my linksys gateway have it

Then u replace the 2Wire and put back/pair with the linksys lor :o

lazarus213
19-02-2008, 07:20 PM
I can never connect to 2wire.gateway.net. I've been trying for the past few weeks with no luck. Does anyone have the same problem? Is the site down or is something wrong with my connection?

My concern is that I need to fix my portforwarding to the correct IP address. I had fixed my portforwarding, but then I turned off my router, and when I switched it back on found out that the IP address had changed so my portforwarding settings were affected. I noticed because my downloads slowed considerably.

Also, may I ask how to change the password of my wireless? I don't think Singtel left the manual for the router with me...so I'm at a loss at the moment and don't know how to change my WEP key.

Thanks in advance for the advice!

renfred89
19-02-2008, 09:01 PM
there's no such website as 2wire.gateway.net.

I presume you are referring to the gateway summary of your modem. Type in: 192.168.1.254 in your address bar to access gateway summary page in your modem.

Changing of password of wireless connection could be done in gateway summary page.
Enter gateway summary page, click on connection status, go to home network, then click on wireless settings. Under this tab, your could select the option of using custom pass. Key in your pass and your wireless pass is changed.

liangtam
20-02-2008, 01:07 AM
its gateway.2wire.net . but why use domain resolve when this can be problematic at times. refer to renfred89 post on the IP.

PS: If it still does not load, pls restart the device.

max007007
20-02-2008, 09:04 AM
my 2wire show connection speed at 22mbps but i did a speedtest only to have 3mbps+ .
Which one is the correct one?
I am on the 10mbps plan.

alanchia67
20-02-2008, 09:49 AM
I can never connect to 2wire.gateway.net. I've been trying for the past few weeks with no luck.

in your browser, is there a proxy configuration? i suspect you do. if my assumption is correct, either you remove the proxy setting, or enter the 2wire domain to bypass the proxy.

alanchia67
20-02-2008, 09:49 AM
my 2wire show connection speed at 22mbps but i did a speedtest only to have 3mbps+ .
Which one is the correct one?
I am on the 10mbps plan.

speedtest to which site? local singapore? how are you connected to the 2wire, wireless or wired?

babylon78
20-02-2008, 10:11 AM
there are different result when u do speedtest using wired and wireless..

my 10m using wired can get full 10m result but when I use wireless I can get 5-6m result..

but when I download bt using wireless I can get up to 10m(1000kb/sec).... so weird

max007007
20-02-2008, 10:17 AM
speedtest to which site? local singapore? how are you connected to the 2wire, wireless or wired?
speedtest singapore. connected to 2wire using lan cable.

lazarus213
20-02-2008, 08:31 PM
oh sorry about that, yes, i meant gateway.2wire.net. It doesn't work, and neither does the IP address the renfred gave.

The thing is, I do restart my device all the time, since I always turn off my router when I go to bed.

Any suggestions on what I can do?

Also, Renfred, how do I go to the gateway summary page? is that the gateway.2wire.net that doesn't work for me?

Thanks again for the help! Don't know what to do now...

liangtam
21-02-2008, 01:11 AM
The 2Wire is known not to load its web interface when it dosn't wan to, so restart it then try to access immediately.
Make sure to remove proxy settings(if any) from ur browser.

red_viper
21-02-2008, 08:08 PM
I did something through the homeportal/mdc as recommended by HardCORE. I wanted to let the 2wire modem be bridged and I can use my linksys router. I managed to get conections through the router but I got my phone lines light out with no voice connections. I am on mio plan. Now I cannot get connected to the modem at all!

E_DEAD
21-02-2008, 09:48 PM
any encounter unable to config forwarding @ 2wire modem (2700HGV-2)

i try on my utorrent software under speed guide - Port Forwarding test

i got this msg

Error! Port 59999 does not appear to be open.

Please see www.portforward.com (http://www.portforward.com/english/applications/port_forwarding/Utor/Utorindex.htm) for more information about how to map a port.

Please make absolutely sure that PeerGuardian2 or Protowall is allowing utorrent.com (72.20.34.145) in either of those programs. Those of you using ipfilter.dat should make sure the list does not include the website's IP. After making sure of this, re-run this test by refreshing the page (F5).

Anyone encounter ????
and i call singnet they refer me to 2wire vendor then after config also cant e 2wire vendor if like tat i also cant help you <---

sianz_person
23-02-2008, 12:16 PM
the 2wire modem sucks. sometimes the internet will become very slow after a few days and need to restart the modem. and it also likes to drop the adsl line randomly, and sometimes the adsl syncs at ridiculous speeds like 512kbps....

liangtam
23-02-2008, 12:56 PM
the 2wire modem sucks. sometimes the internet will become very slow after a few days and need to restart the modem. and it also likes to drop the adsl line randomly, and sometimes the adsl syncs at ridiculous speeds like 512kbps....

Any angry/frustrated 2Wires to gibe me?? :o

alanchia67
23-02-2008, 01:15 PM

unfortunately i feel 2wire is a great product, no d/c for weeks - connection and speed stable too. i using it for miovoice, miotv, no complains.

icyrooker2
23-02-2008, 05:38 PM
i nvr even on my miotv before...

alanchia67
23-02-2008, 07:15 PM

sounds like line problem, not 2wire problem.

hwzone_sg
23-02-2008, 08:09 PM
unfortunately i feel 2wire is a great product, no d/c for weeks - connection and speed stable too. i using it for miovoice, miotv, no complains.

I second that. Had it on 24/7 for the past 10months and no issues. But Singtel did some kind of upgrade to the mio voice server recently on the 19th February and problems now start arising to the service :s22:

E_DEAD
23-02-2008, 11:43 PM
ya i also this so 2wire modem SUCK can port forwarding call up singtel refer me to 2wire after config also same can forward ine end say sorry i cant help me ... lan lan

today i bought a dlink router also can bridge to 2wire modem trying for hours also cant .... =(

any one manage to bridge 2wire modem with DIR 655 Router ?

leinad
23-02-2008, 11:45 PM
ya i also this so 2wire modem SUCK can port forwarding call up singtel refer me to 2wire after config also same can forward ine end say sorry i cant help me ... lan lan

today i bought a dlink router also can bridge to 2wire modem trying for hours also cant .... =(

any one manage to bridge 2wire modem with DIR 655 Router ?

I think this thread has some mentions of the bridging steps. :)

Take note the VPI/VCI is actually 0/100 and not 0/35.

/Dan

E_DEAD
24-02-2008, 12:08 AM
I think this thread has some mentions of the bridging steps. :)

Take note the VPI/VCI is actually 0/100 and not 0/35.

/Dan

-_- 0/35 i keep on using la so i go home i try 0/100 see how haha

singnet svc also cant guide me

but using bridge 2wire stable a not ?

E_DEAD
24-02-2008, 12:36 AM
eh i have another question if i bridge 2wire with dlink do i need to set 2wire to dmz mode ?

liangtam
24-02-2008, 01:14 AM
eh i have another question if i bridge 2wire with dlink do i need to set 2wire to dmz mode ?

No
*10 char*

Tradingeyes
24-02-2008, 03:26 AM
Obviously ALANCHIA & LIANGTAM are the very few who compliment 2WIRE modems, where a thousand or more others complain about it according to statistics.

Question is: Why is that so?

lazarus213
24-02-2008, 09:02 AM
Tried everything and nothing works. If I were to call Singnet, would they go down to help me?

Liangtam, how do you restart the router besides just turning it off and then back on again? Because like I mentioned, I always turn it off, turn it on and try to access gateway.2wire.net but can never connect.

RipperJack
24-02-2008, 11:05 AM
any encounter unable to config forwarding @ 2wire modem (2700HGV-2)

i try on my utorrent software under speed guide - Port Forwarding test

i got this msg

Error! Port 59999 does not appear to be open.

Please see www.portforward.com (http://www.portforward.com/english/applications/port_forwarding/Utor/Utorindex.htm) for more information about how to map a port.

Please make absolutely sure that PeerGuardian2 or Protowall is allowing utorrent.com (72.20.34.145) in either of those programs. Those of you using ipfilter.dat should make sure the list does not include the website's IP. After making sure of this, re-run this test by refreshing the page (F5).

Anyone encounter ????
and i call singnet they refer me to 2wire vendor then after config also cant e 2wire vendor if like tat i also cant help you <---
same thing happened to me. :mad:

suddenly cannot portforwarding. it used to have no problem. then after a recent spates of d/cs, now suddenly portfowarding failed. i tried at least 10 other ports, all didn't work. :mad:

so is 2wire fault or singnet fault?

liangtam
24-02-2008, 12:27 PM
Obviously ALANCHIA & LIANGTAM are the very few who compliment 2WIRE modems, where a thousand or more others complain about it according to statistics.

Question is: Why is that so?

I dunch habe a 2Wire at all. Since you claim it's bad, Any to gibe me?? :o

liangtam
24-02-2008, 12:27 PM

suddenly cannot portforwarding. it used to have no problem. then after a recent spates of d/cs, now suddenly portfowarding failed. i tried at least 10 other ports, all didn't work. :mad:

READ other threads, it all by the green tick.

RipperJack
24-02-2008, 01:09 PM
READ other threads, it all by the green tick.
green tick but download speed still sucks badly means wat? :s11:

E_DEAD
24-02-2008, 04:48 PM

SAME loh i i tot this e 2wire fault then i go buy need router to bridge it in e end is e same !

cloudbp
24-02-2008, 05:11 PM
eer can anyone help???

Troubleshooting – DSL Diagnostics
General Information
Downstream Rate Cap: 14000 kbps
Downstream Atten. at 300kHz: 13.5 dB
Uncancelled Echo: 10.3 dB Suspicious - check phone filters and alarm
VCXO Frequency Offset: 11.3 ppm Ok
Final Rx Gain: 0.1 dB Ok
Impulse Noise Comp. Tones: 0 Ok
Excessive Impulse Noise: 0 Ok
Impulse noise protection: 0.00
Delay of latency path: 0.03 ms

the values used to be negative
last time there seems to be no problems to anything i do e.g. play dota
but ever since i have this, i do face alot of disconnection

alanchia67
24-02-2008, 06:26 PM
cloudbp, yours is obviously line noise problem. have you checked microfilter installation for all phones connected to the same dsl enabled line?

liangtam
24-02-2008, 07:11 PM
green tick but download speed still sucks badly means wat? :s11:

ripper ish dunch noes meh, btimah hill ish depend on peer seed rate one :o

cloudbp
25-02-2008, 12:02 AM
checked all possiblities.... even ask the tech to chance the filter check phone line but still like tt

pyretic
25-02-2008, 12:27 PM
seems like... i'm not the only one... it's very irritating... and i feel like data throughput is rather slower than usual.... argh!

yea me too

RipperJack
26-02-2008, 07:38 AM
ripper ish dunch noes meh, btimah hill ish depend on peer seed rate one :o
u think i first time climb hill ah? :s22:
how can be so coincidental suddenly all the new torrents i try have bad seed and peer rate while in the past all so power?

this utorrent thingy is really bad. dunno if using other client might solve the problem. let me try.

valerievendetta
26-02-2008, 10:25 AM
u think i first time climb hill ah? :s22:
how can be so coincidental suddenly all the new torrents i try have bad seed and peer rate while in the past all so power?

this utorrent thingy is really bad. dunno if using other client might solve the problem. let me try.

uTorrent is one of the best out there, uses least resources. Not sure why you're getting so low speeds, my lowest is about 20-30kbps and i'm on mio and 2wire too. Speeds depend more on torrent source, seeding and leeching, than the client.

But miovoice is really a headache. Had that last year, had SO MANY problems. Frequent d/c during games, slow speeds.. after a week switched back to analogue line with mio plan and everything works like a charm now. (: No problems with portforwarding too, can host dota and use uTorrent.

cloudbp
26-02-2008, 03:13 PM
eer can anyone help???

Troubleshooting – DSL Diagnostics
General Information
Downstream Rate Cap: 14000 kbps
Downstream Atten. at 300kHz: 13.5 dB
Uncancelled Echo: 10.3 dB Suspicious - check phone filters and alarm
VCXO Frequency Offset: 11.3 ppm Ok
Final Rx Gain: 0.1 dB Ok
Impulse Noise Comp. Tones: 0 Ok
Excessive Impulse Noise: 0 Ok
Impulse noise protection: 0.00
Delay of latency path: 0.03 ms

the values used to be negative
last time there seems to be no problems to anything i do e.g. play dota
but ever since i have this, i do face alot of disconnection

mine is fix today... by the tech. Reason signal crosstalk =.=

alanchia67
26-02-2008, 03:19 PM
please post your current stats.

RipperJack
28-02-2008, 08:09 AM
uTorrent is one of the best out there, uses least resources. Not sure why you're getting so low speeds, my lowest is about 20-30kbps and i'm on mio and 2wire too. Speeds depend more on torrent source, seeding and leeching, than the client.

But miovoice is really a headache. Had that last year, had SO MANY problems. Frequent d/c during games, slow speeds.. after a week switched back to analogue line with mio plan and everything works like a charm now. (: No problems with portforwarding too, can host dota and use uTorrent.
yes, i concur. that's y i switched from bc to ut. blazing speeds.

but since last few weeks, the portforwarding starts to fail and i still can't figure out why :(

lemme try using both bc and ut to do the same torrent. see got any difference :D

confused
05-03-2008, 04:55 PM
Hi people, I am gonna to subscribe to MIO plan and wondering if I only want to use MIO TV, can I disable the internet broadband function of the 2wire 2700HGV and use my other 2wire modem for internet access?

Thanks for answering

renfred89
05-03-2008, 06:12 PM
No. Its not possible to have 2 modems connecting to the internet individually. You need to use one modem to configure it for mio plan. For mio tv wise, u can only use one modem for internet and mio tv. If u want to use 2 modems, u need to bridge them.

Its is also not possible to disable the internet function of modem for mio tv. Mio tv uses internet to work

die_sg
06-03-2008, 11:25 AM
same here...2wire from singnet got problem with utorrent.

previously, can portforward..now cant...

BurgerLim
09-03-2008, 01:49 AM
Currently with the tryon mio (6months) notice if watch VOD or HD5 (not exactly sure for HD5), surfing suffer.. let alone downloading.. i am on 10m plan but it seems the phoneline bandwidth is reaching its limit.. (i saw somewhere its at abt ~25mbps max while VOD will easily need 10mbps.. )..

to me mio with singnet BB is a big no no... :P

liangtam
09-03-2008, 02:06 AM
Line sync rates?

BurgerLim
09-03-2008, 02:44 AM
Hi, there... is this? the install tech.. told mine is on tip top rate for a 10m plan...
Downstream Rate: 21650 kbps
Current Noise Margin: 8.7 dB (Downstream) 8.3 dB (Upstream)
Current Attenuation: 15.5 dB (Downstream) 7.0 dB (Upstream)
Current Output Power: 16.7 dBm (Downstream) 12.0 dBm (Upstream)

liangtam
09-03-2008, 02:49 AM
B/w shld be enough, NM quite low.
If can ask them change away from interleave mode even better.

speedjak
09-03-2008, 10:46 AM
Been using Singnet for the past month (previously SH Ultimate) and smooth sailing so far. Everything works right out of the box. I don't even need to forward any ports to BT.

I don't have MioTv though. Maybe that's the problem?

BurgerLim
09-03-2008, 10:49 PM
B/w shld be enough, NM quite low.
If can ask them change away from interleave mode even better.

Hi hi, whats that interleave mode for? change to progressive or something?
how to apply the change? thanks in advance.

tested today again whenever watching hd5 (sunday night movie.. ) can stop / forget of any download act liao.. haha.. the modem was so busy :D (light blinking all the way..)

hq83
09-03-2008, 11:33 PM
Hi hi, whats that interleave mode for? change to progressive or something?
how to apply the change? thanks in advance.

tested today again whenever watching hd5 (sunday night movie.. ) can stop / forget of any download act liao.. haha.. the modem was so busy :D (light blinking all the way..)
just call them and they will change for u already.
have change mine a few days after installation..

Francis85
10-03-2008, 07:14 AM
No. Its not possible to have 2 modems connecting to the internet individually. You need to use one modem to configure it for mio plan. For mio tv wise, u can only use one modem for internet and mio tv. If u want to use 2 modems, u need to bridge them.

Its is also not possible to disable the internet function of modem for mio tv. Mio tv uses internet to work

who said de..... no internet also can work as long as the line is sync and the tv profile is up at singnet side.....

hagenuk
15-03-2008, 09:31 AM
Hi, there... is this? the install tech.. told mine is on tip top rate for a 10m plan...

Hey friend,

I'm also just subscribed to SN 10mps unlimited plan, but is downsteam is slower than your ? How come ?
This is what I get from my 2Wire:
DSL Connection Details
Upstream Rate: 1022 kbps
Current Noise Margin: 9.9 dB (Downstream) 6.8 dB (Upstream)
Current Attenuation: 7.3 dB (Downstream) 0.0 dB (Upstream)
Current Output Power: 12.8 dBm (Downstream) 11.0 dBm (Upstream)

alanchia67
15-03-2008, 11:12 AM
Hey friend,

I'm also just subscribed to SN 10mps unlimited plan, but is downsteam is slower than your ? How come ?

burgerlim has miotv, that's why downstream is >10Mbps. but anyhow, usable for internet is still within 10Mbps. the extra bandwidth is to support miotv.

ForThePride
15-03-2008, 10:57 PM
I'm using the 2wire 2700HGV-2 modem also. been using it since last year. Recenlty though when i play WoW on a private server it just disconnects randomly. When i say disconnect i mean that the internet light will just suddenly go off and there's no internet connection on any com. I play WoW on my laptop which is wireless and my desktop is connected using the cable directly to the modem. It somethimes disconnects when i'm playing Counter strike on steam also.

Can anyone figure out what's wrong?

lostboi
16-03-2008, 04:01 AM
whats the other channel they will change to? whats the difference?

BurgerLim
16-03-2008, 03:44 PM
Hey friend,

This is what I get from my 2Wire:
DSL Connection Details
Upstream Rate: 1022 kbps
Current Noise Margin: 9.9 dB (Downstream) 6.8 dB (Upstream)
Current Attenuation: 7.3 dB (Downstream) 0.0 dB (Upstream)
Current Output Power: 12.8 dBm (Downstream) 11.0 dBm (Upstream)

burgerlim has miotv, that's why downstream is >10Mbps. but anyhow, usable for internet is still within 10Mbps. the extra bandwidth is to support miotv.
Hi, there,
Ya i think so. its due to mio TV...but the installer told me.. mine line was among the cleanest.. tip top.. but these days (since last week) it seems i keep getting connection reset.

You mean the modem? or are you saying mio TV should have no effect (whatsoever) to us?

maxijer
16-03-2008, 06:18 PM
Just subscribed a 8mo Singnet, and I wonder how to disable the firewall included in 2wire 2700 HGV ??
Any mean to turn off this firewall ?

liangtam
16-03-2008, 06:24 PM
Firewall cannot off, off liao cannot route.

maxijer
16-03-2008, 08:54 PM
Firewall cannot off, off liao cannot route.

Thx, good too know.... Hopefully, i've got my own modem.... Netgear powa
!!!

lostboi
16-03-2008, 10:29 PM
my internet connection keeps disconnecting and going into "limited connectivity"...anything wrong with my settings? or is the 2700hgv lousy?

liangtam
17-03-2008, 12:45 AM
you must have set the wrong key into the config.

lostboi
17-03-2008, 12:50 AM
you must have set the wrong key into the config.
like how? care to enlighten?

outer92
17-03-2008, 12:54 AM
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y87/outer95/Clipboard01.jpg

lostboi
17-03-2008, 01:00 AM
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y87/outer95/Clipboard01.jpg
no la..i specify my own wep keys i nvr used the default keys

can connect n surf..just that after awhile will dc ..dunno why...

outer92
17-03-2008, 01:04 AM

your wireless adapter d/c or your 2wire modem d/c?

lostboi
17-03-2008, 01:23 AM
your wireless adapter d/c or your 2wire modem d/c?
mmm i not sure...new com n new 2wire...
maybe i wire up n external adapter n try

ralliart12
17-03-2008, 01:44 AM
mmm i not sure...

Maybe when u encounter your next d/c, see whether the internet LED indicator of your 2wire is still lit or not...

lostboi
17-03-2008, 01:46 AM
Maybe when u encounter your next d/c, see whether the internet LED indicator of your 2wire is still lit or not...
yes still blinking....

leinad
17-03-2008, 10:29 AM
Which hotline did you all call to switch the DSL channel from Interleaved to Fast?

I called 1609 twice, and the SNBB hotline, and nobody was able to help.

/Dan

UptheToon
17-03-2008, 11:45 AM
the singnet 2wire modem. especially the HGV-2 very problematic.
Alot of people complain, about dc and limited connectivity. I think you borrow from your friend a linksys, aztech modem temporary use and see. if still dc alot than ur phone line problem or their fault. If not its ur 2wire modem.

I recommend u change ur router. don't rely on 2wire too much. sure to let u down.

nasfieldjohn
17-03-2008, 12:05 PM

got try with any key. will it reject?
tested with WPA with any key, doesnt reject...

sHiErShAo83
17-03-2008, 02:40 PM
Hi all,

I have a question. wire2700 modem have wireless connection but I want to use Wireless-N router. How should I connect it? Is it possible to connect? Let me know. Thanks all.

cpuer
17-03-2008, 02:56 PM
Hi all,

I have a question. wire2700 modem have wireless connection but I want to use Wireless-N router. How should I connect it? Is it possible to connect? Let me know. Thanks all.

2wire is an 11g gw, so, no Draft N for you.

sHiErShAo83
17-03-2008, 03:02 PM
I will buy another router wireless-N router. So am I able to cconnect the wireless-N router to wire2700 modem?

evisionary
17-03-2008, 03:29 PM

how did you get the "Current Noise Margin" reading? What tools he uses?

danxiaogui86
17-03-2008, 03:38 PM
2wire is an 11g gw, so, no Draft N for you.

He wanna use a wireless n router can what... what u mean by no draft n...

just set to bridge mode and use the n router to dial to the internet. :D

sHiErShAo83
17-03-2008, 03:59 PM
Hi danxiaogui,

Is chim man. I dunno where to set. You using wireless-n too now?

cpuer
17-03-2008, 08:18 PM
He wanna use a wireless n router can what... what u mean by no draft n...

just set to bridge mode and use the n router to dial to the internet. :D

aiyah, sorry sorry, blur liao.

nasfieldjohn
17-03-2008, 08:25 PM
anyway to boost the signal?
i have a computer in a room that has no signal;too many walls?
will it be expensive?

Hollud
17-03-2008, 08:43 PM
anyway to boost the signal?
i have a computer in a room that has no signal;too many walls?
will it be expensive?
There is a setting within the 2700HGV-2 that allows you to throttle the wireless power. You can find it within the Wireless Setting page.

For myself, I stay in a 3+1 (3 bedroom, 1 study) Executive apartment in Serangoon North. A setting of 3 is enough to cover the entire area.

evisionary
18-03-2008, 12:42 AM
Is my noice margin of 21.6 dB consider bad? Anything I can do to improve it?

Current Noise Margin: 21.6 dB (Downstream) 6.6 dB (Upstream)
Current Attenuation: 21.9 dB (Downstream) 16.5 dB (Upstream)

lostboi
18-03-2008, 01:07 PM
the singnet 2wire modem. especially the HGV-2 very problematic.
Alot of people complain, about dc and limited connectivity. I think you borrow from your friend a linksys, aztech modem temporary use and see. if still dc alot than ur phone line problem or their fault. If not its ur 2wire modem.

I recommend u change ur router. don't rely on 2wire too much. sure to let u down.

i also think so...what router cum modem is good and reliable in the market now? 3com? Zxyel?

got try with any key. will it reject?
tested with WPA with any key, doesnt reject...

havent tried that before..think i will look into that...i think it will reject cos if not by now i can see many "unkown" pple connected to my network liao hahah

nasfieldjohn
18-03-2008, 03:07 PM
i also think so...what router cum modem is good and reliable in the market now? 3com? Zxyel?

havent tried that before..think i will look into that...i think it will reject cos if not by now i can see many "unkown" pple connected to my network liao hahah

how to see people connected to your 2wire router?
the web interface screen?

newbie here :)

danxiaogui86
18-03-2008, 04:54 PM
Hi danxiaogui,

Is chim man. I dunno where to set. You using wireless-n too now?

Use b4, but one of my laptop 2200bg wireless lan got problem with my dlink 655 end up use back 2wire.. just set ur 2wire to bridge mode (U search around, many thread on this). and config ur router and ur good to go.

lostboi
18-03-2008, 05:52 PM
how to see people connected to your 2wire router?
the web interface screen?

newbie here :)
yeah the web interface lor..

ngaiadam
18-03-2008, 08:53 PM
anyone can help/tell me the MDC (Management and Diagnostic Console) password of this 2wire 2700hgv-2 gateway?

open IE/FF
type: http://home/xslt

many many thanks!

outer92
18-03-2008, 09:54 PM
anyone can help/tell me the MDC (Management and Diagnostic Console) password of this 2wire 2700hgv-2 gateway?

open IE/FF
type: http://home/xslt

many many thanks!

password :2wire

Ian
18-03-2008, 10:35 PM
On Singnet 8Mpbs with 2Wire 2700HGV-2
So far happy with it; no issue so far:D

Direct connection
Never use Wireless at the moment

Would like to know
What can i do to enhanced the connection;)

Have spare Linksys WRT54G wireless router though

ngaiadam
18-03-2008, 10:46 PM

thk bro but however the password doesn't work on my 2wire leh, I recently apply this BB 10M, call customer service and they are not able to hep... wtf! so do know is there any other password available? i'v try to search over the internet but no answer available.... sianz

nasfieldjohn
19-03-2008, 01:50 PM
There is a setting within the 2700HGV-2 that allows you to throttle the wireless power. You can find it within the Wireless Setting page.

For myself, I stay in a 3+1 (3 bedroom, 1 study) Executive apartment in Serangoon North. A setting of 3 is enough to cover the entire area.

my modem default setting is 6, thats highest?

nasfieldjohn
19-03-2008, 01:51 PM
yeah the web interface lor..

firewall settings?

otacon
19-03-2008, 01:54 PM
can do port-forwarding when using 2wire bo?

liangtam
19-03-2008, 01:58 PM
can do port-forwarding when using 2wire bo?

http://i32.tinypic.com/5lzaf5.jpg

Kevin10
19-03-2008, 02:53 PM
Bros,

I will be changing to SNBB tonite. Juz to check , as my main PC will be connected thru cable , the other PC is on wireless. Is there any configuration i need to change ? Previously on MOL thru wireless router. As this modem dun hav any instruction manual , juz come wif the smartwizard only. Please advice. Thanks

leinad
19-03-2008, 03:56 PM
Bros,

I will be changing to SNBB tonite. Juz to check , as my main PC will be connected thru cable , the other PC is on wireless. Is there any configuration i need to change ? Previously on MOL thru wireless router. As this modem dun hav any instruction manual , juz come wif the smartwizard only. Please advice. Thanks

Just set it up accordingly. Plug your main PC in, and then set up the wireless parameters, from SSID to encryption, and connect the other PC in.

You do not need to use the smartwizard.

/Dan

Kevin10
19-03-2008, 04:06 PM
Just set it up accordingly. Plug your main PC in, and then set up the wireless parameters, from SSID to encryption, and connect the other PC in.

You do not need to use the smartwizard.

/Dan

bRO , u mean plug and play ? Cos I dun have the installation cd for the modem leh.

ngaiadam
19-03-2008, 04:20 PM
No one know the 2wire MDC password?
I've tried 2wire; password; pa88word; wireless...etc but unable to work.

Help me please...

runtime
19-03-2008, 04:43 PM

Is it possible to change the password for this? I tried searching buy could not find anywhere to change. Thank in advance.

outer92
19-03-2008, 07:23 PM

Is it possible to change the password for this? I tried searching buy could not find anywhere to change. Thank in advance.

Thank you for contacting 2Wire Customer Support. The following is intended to answer your inquiry:

The password for the MDC is refereed to as the "system password" which the Homeportal has you create when it is first used. If you cannot remember it or simply do not know it you should see a "I can't remember my password" link. This should provide a hint. If that doesn't help there should be a "I still can't remember my password" link which will allow you to reset the password. The "system key" it refers to is on the bottom of the Homeportal itself. It is a 10-digit key inside [square brackets] (EX: [1234567890])

If this response has not answered your question or resolved your issue you may visit our support Website at http://support.2wire.com or reply to this email.

SSnag
19-03-2008, 07:28 PM
No one know the 2wire MDC password?
I've tried 2wire; password; pa88word; wireless...etc but unable to work.

Help me please...

1stly, why do u need to access it?
there are some technicians here...maybe u can seek their help

steventay
19-03-2008, 07:36 PM
my modem default setting is 6, thats highest?

higher better... i use it in 3 floor.. modem at level 2... very good..

Kevin10
19-03-2008, 08:53 PM
Juz hav my 10mbps SNBB setup.

DSL Connection Details
Current Noise Margin: 24.9 dB (Downstream) 8.1 dB (Upstream)
Current Attenuation: 14.7 dB (Downstream) 5.5 dB (Upstream)
Current Output Power: 16.6 dBm (Downstream) 11.9 dBm (Upstream)

http://www.speedtest.net/result/248317372.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Is this ok ?

otacon
19-03-2008, 09:14 PM
http://i32.tinypic.com/5lzaf5.jpg

can guide me thru, me noob in this. i wanna do port-forward for utorrent, can help?

runtime
19-03-2008, 09:35 PM
Thank you for contacting 2Wire Customer Support. The following is intended to answer your inquiry:

The password for the MDC is refereed to as the "system password" which the Homeportal has you create when it is first used. If you cannot remember it or simply do not know it you should see a "I can't remember my password" link. This should provide a hint. If that doesn't help there should be a "I still can't remember my password" link which will allow you to reset the password. The "system key" it refers to is on the bottom of the Homeportal itself. It is a 10-digit key inside [square brackets] (EX: [1234567890])

If this response has not answered your question or resolved your issue you may visit our support Website at http://support.2wire.com or reply to this email.

I think this is referring to this (http://192.168.1.254) and not (http:192.168.1.254/mdc)... I tried to set the password at 192.168.1.254 and when i tried to access the mdc page, it is still not the changed password but rather 2wire as the password.

1stly, why do u need to access it?
there are some technicians here...maybe u can seek their help

Hi, actually I am trying to change the password for access to this site. I was thinking if anyone managed to get into the network, they will be able to access to mdc site and change everything.

outer92
19-03-2008, 10:43 PM
I think this is referring to this (http://192.168.1.254) and not (http:192.168.1.254/mdc)... I tried to set the password at 192.168.1.254 and when i tried to access the mdc page, it is still not the changed password but rather 2wire as the password.

default password to MDC : 2wire, if you cant log in to MDC PAGE , you have try to do password resetting .the only way to log in to MDC. this is what i do . if not i cant help you.

2wire link (http://support.2wire.com/cgi-bin/twowire.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_sid=zqhKV4_i&p_lva=225&p_li=&p_faqid=1325&p_created=1098134189&p_sp=cF9zcmNoPTEmcF9zb3J0X2J5PSZwX2dyaWRzb3J0PSZwX3Jvd19jbnQ9NDkmcF9wcm9kcz0wJnBfY2F0cz0wJnBfcHY9JnBfY3Y9JnBfc2VhcmNoX3R5cGU9YW5zd2Vycy5zZWFyY2hfbmwmcF9wYWdlPTEmcF9zZWFyY2hfdGV4dD1NYW5hZ2VtZW50IGFuZCBEaWFnbm9zdGljIENvbnNvbGUgUEFTU1dPUkQ*&p_search_text=Management%20and%20Diagnostic%20Console%20PASSWORD)

runtime
20-03-2008, 09:54 AM
default password to MDC : 2wire, if you cant log in to MDC PAGE , you have try to do password resetting .the only way to log in to MDC. this is what i do . if not i cant help you.

2wire link (http://support.2wire.com/cgi-bin/twowire.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_sid=zqhKV4_i&p_lva=225&p_li=&p_faqid=1325&p_created=1098134189&p_sp=cF9zcmNoPTEmcF9zb3J0X2J5PSZwX2dyaWRzb3J0PSZwX3Jvd19jbnQ9NDkmcF9wcm9kcz0wJnBfY2F0cz0wJnBfcHY9JnBfY3Y9JnBfc2VhcmNoX3R5cGU9YW5zd2Vycy5zZWFyY2hfbmwmcF9wYWdlPTEmcF9zZWFyY2hfdGV4dD1NYW5hZ2VtZW50IGFuZCBEaWFnbm9zdGljIENvbnNvbGUgUEFTU1dPUkQ*&p_search_text=Management%20and%20Diagnostic%20Console%20PASSWORD)

Hi outer92,

hmm, from the link, it seems that the homePortal site(singtel logo) and MDC site share the same password. Is yours sharing the same password as in setting the system password also change the password at MDC main login page?

My problem is when i set the system password in homeportal, I am only prompt of the password when I want to change any configuration in homeportal and not in MDC.

Actually I am able to access the MDC site using the password as 2wire.... the problem for me is that I wish to change the password for the MDC site (2wire to something else). Cuz although I have set the password at homeportal site, accessing MDC password is still 2wire. Going inside to change the setting does not need the password that I have set.

For the link you gave, the screenshots I see is when I am in homeportal and not in MDC.

liangtam
20-03-2008, 01:52 PM
Don't think can change tho.

runtime
21-03-2008, 12:20 AM
Don't think can change tho.

wow... then anyone who get into our network is able to anyhow change the setting?

liangtam
21-03-2008, 12:24 AM
That is provided someone DOES actually connect in the LAN segment.

runtime
21-03-2008, 12:45 PM
That is provided someone DOES actually connect in the LAN segment.

Thats mean a very good wireless security must be in place.

btw, I am using the 2wire 2701HGV-E and there is this port labelled as "BroadBand" that looks like any other RJ45 port. Does anyone knows what is this port for?
I tried searching the 2wire website and it does not give anything.

1 more thing, I checked the 2wire website and it say the model have web remote access. But I dun seems to be able to find it. Is it disabled by Singnet customise firmware???

Sorry for so many questions asked.

liangtam
21-03-2008, 01:14 PM
Gotch peekture?
Function shld be disabled.

HoGnix
21-03-2008, 01:17 PM
btw, I am using the 2wire 2701HGV-E and there is this port labelled as "BroadBand" that looks like any other RJ45 port. Does anyone knows what is this port for?

From the specification on 2wire site, it state that this 2701HGV-E is ADSL/Ethernet brodband, so it means this port might be a WAN port like normal router ethernet WAN port. if so, it can be used on Cable connection like Starhub. but I doubt whether this function is implented or not, like My 2700HG, there is a USB 2.0 host port on it, but it is disabled ( for future upgrade).

runtime
21-03-2008, 01:30 PM
Gotch peekture?
Function shld be disabled.

Sorry dun have a camera with me now. But the port is between the port for the DSL line and the 4 lan port and labelled just as "Broadband".

For the remote function, I found it here (http://www.2wire.com/pages/pdfs/5100-000562-000-003_2W_2000Gtwy.pdf) on page 3. And it seems to have a delicated tab for the function. I guessed singnet firmware really disabled it.

From the specification on 2wire site, it state that this 2701HGV-E is ADSL/Ethernet brodband, so it means this port might be a WAN port like normal router ethernet WAN port. if so, it can be used on Cable connection like Starhub. but I doubt whether this function is implented or not, like My 2700HG, there is a USB 2.0 host port on it, but it is disabled ( for future upgrade).

That what I thought of. Was wondering if have Singnet and Starhub, will it add like a load balancer? haha.... I was trying out to connect the "broadband" port to 1 of my switch and it was light up meaning it can be connected.

Hollud
21-03-2008, 01:57 PM
1 more thing, I checked the 2wire website and it say the model have web remote access. But I dun seems to be able to find it. Is it disabled by Singnet customise firmware???

Well, most functions are software controlled, so you could say that SingNet has "turned off" the Remote Access function. However, since this is a device targeted at the consumer market, you could say that not many users will actually use Remote Access (would you?). The 2Wire concept was meant at helping people get on the Web quickly and safely.

If you're looking for a solution that allows you 101 ports to be opened, or a customisable firewall that can intelligently detect the applications you need to run, then you're probably better off setting the 2700-HGV2 to Bridge mode and getting your own router.

lostboi
21-03-2008, 02:04 PM
i just tried calling singnet helpdesk attempting to change the channel from interleaved to fast..but the helpdesk personal have no idea what i am talking about..how do u guys go ahead to do that?

NY__cheesepie
21-03-2008, 03:07 PM
i just tried calling singnet helpdesk attempting to change the channel from interleaved to fast..but the helpdesk personal have no idea what i am talking about..how do u guys go ahead to do that?

why from interleaved to fast, wats the diff?

Hollud
21-03-2008, 03:11 PM
why from interleaved to fast, wats the diff?

To quote Wikipedia:

ADSL supports two modes of transport: fast channel and interleaved channel. Fast channel is preferred for streaming multimedia, where an occasional dropped bit is acceptable, but lags are less so. Interleaved channel works better for file transfers, where transmission errors are impermissible, even though resending packets may increase latency.

Basically, I believe you're able to see what type of DSL channel you are using (in this case, Interleaved should be the choice). However, I do not believe you are able to change it. The settings in the router indicate that such choices will be made by either the modem or the service provider.

outer92
21-03-2008, 03:16 PM

you cant change it, you have to call MALIFAX 62875033 to do it for you.

Francis85
21-03-2008, 08:57 PM
Thats mean a very good wireless security must be in place.

The broadband port is for those living in condo where by they use rj45 in replacement of their rj11 also use for DSL signal...... just like rj11.

die_sg
22-03-2008, 02:17 PM
How to off the router features on the 2wire ... i wanna add switches instead...

SSnag
22-03-2008, 10:54 PM
The broadband port is for those living in condo where by they use rj45 in replacement of their rj11 also use for DSL signal...... just like rj11.

dear technican, sounds very chim, can u elaborate further?

Alphas
23-03-2008, 12:36 AM
it simply means instead of using the normal rj11 tel, some houses uses rj45 as normal tel lines

How to enable realtime bandwidth monitor
http://img179.imageshack.us/img179/9682/onlinemonitorep9.jpg
type
http://192.168.1.254/xslt?PAGE=M01

Quick way to add port forwarding
http://192.168.1.254/xslt?PAGE=J13

SSnag
23-03-2008, 12:56 AM
it simply means instead of using the normal rj11 tel, some houses uses rj45 as normal tel lines

thats cool....i have seem rj11 jack to rj45 socket
rj45 cable jack to modem to transmit adsl signal is new

lostboi
23-03-2008, 01:48 PM
just wanna try out whats the difference..

SSnag
23-03-2008, 09:26 PM
http://www.2wire.com/index.php?p=106

its listed as an interface so its like the WAN port of any router
nothing to do with simi condo, simi rj45, simi adsl

nasfieldjohn
24-03-2008, 09:35 AM
higher better... i use it in 3 floor.. modem at level 2... very good..

2wire modem doesn't allow any setting higher than 6

Saber1985
27-03-2008, 09:11 PM
if u think 2wire 2700hgv-2 is bad... wait til u get 2701HGV-E.:s16::s16::s16:

danxiaogui86
27-03-2008, 09:48 PM
if u think 2wire 2700hgv-2 is bad... wait til u get 2701HGV-E.:s16::s16::s16:

explain more?

Francis85
27-03-2008, 09:53 PM
explain more?

There is some problems with the firmware.....

otacon
27-03-2008, 10:48 PM
There is some problems with the firmware.....

maybe that is y i cannot test my upload speed at www.speedtest.net

Alphas
29-03-2008, 11:45 AM
did anyone noticed that the wireless light will go into suspend when there is a period of inactivity. this causes my notebook unable to connect to the router, how to disable the wireless suspend mode

chengsun
29-03-2008, 05:06 PM
anyone encounter such problem. when i used with my pc, throua usb wireless card, no problem. but if i used with my dell lappy, the 2wire will lose connection with internet, while wireless connection remains.

Xtreme_Funktions
29-03-2008, 07:20 PM
anyone 2wire has this problem which is when wireless connection tries to connect, the 2wire doesnt give out any ip address to the wireless device..

it happen to my psp and laptop.. any help would be appreciated :D

ralliart12
29-03-2008, 07:51 PM
Is there anywhere in the 2Wire console to see how much data I downloaded and uploaded over the past week or so?

liangtam
30-03-2008, 12:49 AM
Is there anywhere in the 2Wire console to see how much data I downloaded and uploaded over the past week or so?

http://myad1.singnet.com.sg/singnet_myaccount/mya_userlogin.jsp?option=ConsumerBroadband

eNd
31-03-2008, 01:18 AM
hi bro....may i know where to download the installation for this modem?i lost my cd sia....now cannot install it! :s31: thanks in advance!

Francis85
31-03-2008, 06:18 AM
hi bro....may i know where to download the installation for this modem?i lost my cd sia....now cannot install it! :s31: thanks in advance!

huh lost your cd also can install mah juz go to 192.168.1.254 in your internet browser unless u are using USB.....

liangtam
31-03-2008, 08:53 AM
Ish no nid disc one.
CD ish can throw...

fongwk8
31-03-2008, 12:12 PM
Haha.. Ya... As long as you connect via LAN.. It will be just plug in, and you're ready to surf the net. Unless you're using USB.. Then totally different story liao lo...

eNd
31-03-2008, 04:02 PM
oh okok thanks!just fixed it liao! :D

mrkmt06
12-04-2008, 01:46 AM
Hi all

in our home, MIO 2wire 2700HGV-2 from singtel can be connected with other Vista OS laptop, but for my laptop (ACER TravelMate 290)can't be in wireless. Can connect with cable and can also to other unsecure router in wireless. What is the problem......

Any body who faces like me , now can solve or not. pls kindly send me the root cause

Tks

idiort
12-04-2008, 03:08 AM
my acer traavelmate laptop can lehz...

idiort
12-04-2008, 03:09 AM
also 290 series.. but reception sucks in the room,but all my other laptop and pc in tat room connection also low

Hollud
12-04-2008, 08:29 AM
Hi all

in our home, MIO 2wire 2700HGV-2 from singtel can be connected with other Vista OS laptop, but for my laptop (ACER TravelMate 290)can't be in wireless. Can connect with cable and can also to other unsecure router in wireless. What is the problem......

Any body who faces like me , now can solve or not. pls kindly send me the root cause

Tks

If you can connect to unsecured routers, it means that you just entered the wrong password for your MIO box. You are aware that the default password for the MIO box is the serial number on the side, right?

Hollud
12-04-2008, 08:31 AM
also 290 series.. but reception sucks in the room,but all my other laptop and pc in tat room connection also low
You can boost the wireless power through the settings in the router configuration page. Although that, in itself, is just one generic solution.

There are many environmental factors to consider. Like what wireless cards your computers are using, position of modem, so on and so forth. Perhaps you could provide a description of your set-up so that the best solution can be recommended to you.

Nickel
30-04-2008, 08:47 PM
anyone knows what to do if ur 2wire spoitls?

outer92
01-05-2008, 05:28 AM
anyone knows what to do if ur 2wire spoitls?
if your 2wire modem spoilt, they will change new set for you.

2wire service centre

Malifax Technologies (S) Pte Ltd
76 Playfair Road, #06-03 LHK2 Building, Singapore 367996

Phone (65) 6383 3833

zonefree2000
01-05-2008, 09:56 AM
if i got a 2wire from AT& T (USA) , can i upgrade the firmware to be used with Singtel ?

PoorFook
01-05-2008, 10:04 AM
some help guys. 15 years old here.

I'm currently on the mIo plan, 3 MBPS.

my max d/l speed is 400 KB/S

while my upload speed is maximum only 40kb/s.

is 40kb/s the maximum ?

and im using 2700HGV-2.

and yeah, i tried on both rapidshare uploading and BT.

aaur4man
01-05-2008, 11:52 AM
in theory max u can go is 43.75, but there's always signal losee, only matter of big or small. applies so cable bb too. 40k/s is pretty much what u can do.

400k/s is already 3.2mbps :)

blue_line
03-05-2008, 01:40 PM
i keep having this problem recently.. anybody can help??

i am unable to surf the net too.. but when i connect my psp to wireless i am able to surf the net..

http://img206.imageshack.us/img206/4508/singnetproblemdo3.jpg

zlazla
16-05-2008, 04:50 AM
After I changed the configs for the modem to be bridged, i cant connect to the internet. there was no internet light on the modem. And the modem sort of restarts until i changed the configs back to normal den would i have internet access (which means the modem is not bridged).

Now I can't log in to mdc anymore after i tried to bridge the modem.. i use "2wire" as the password and it shows " an unknown error has occurred". What's wrong?

Anyone can help?

zhong88
16-05-2008, 08:53 AM
hi guys...

my modem keep blinking the DSL light... it never stop blinking... i was using the internet on wed nite.. but come thurs.. the modem juz cannot work.. i dunno y...

need help on this.. called the operator.. and they said that the modem could be spoilt.. have any bro encountered this prob before???

thanks

liangtam
16-05-2008, 10:37 AM
modem blinking dsl led, means line fault liao...

zlazla
18-05-2008, 02:07 AM
Anyone knows why I cant access the MDC website?
I used "2wire" as password but "unknown error has ocurred".
Has anyone experienced the same thing?
I really need help. Thanx alot.

Nazar78
23-05-2008, 01:54 AM
Hi all, with this MIO 2wire 2700HGV-2, I'm getting around 700kbps on wi-fi G lan transfer, thats abt 87.5kb/s. Desktop is ms vista ultimate x64 sp1 (wired 1gbps) and laptop is ms xp mce x86 sp2 (wifi 54mbps).

Is this normal? It hurts to share few GBs of file across wlan. Also hdtv over wifi g makes da movie buffers frequently.

I'm asking because the difference is huge compared to performance over internet. As shown in the pics below, I'm getting at least average 1mb/s (singnet 10mbps) on most local connections and torrents
Can any one help to advise? Thanks, much appreciated...

http://www.speedtest.net/result/274643189.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

http://img108.imageshack.us/img108/6899/35998244oe2.th.jpg (http://img108.imageshack.us/my.php?image=35998244oe2.jpg)

Hollud
25-05-2008, 07:40 AM
Hi all, with this MIO 2wire 2700HGV-2, I'm getting around 700kbps on wi-fi G lan transfer, thats abt 87.5kb/s. Desktop is ms vista ultimate x64 sp1 (wired 1gbps) and laptop is ms xp mce x86 sp2 (wifi 54mbps).

Is this normal? It hurts to share few GBs of file across wlan. Also hdtv over wifi g makes da movie buffers frequently.

I'm asking because the difference is huge compared to performance over internet. As shown in the pics below, I'm getting at least average 1mb/s (singnet 10mbps) on most local connections and torrents
Can any one help to advise? Thanks, much appreciated...

Well, for the file transfers, the fastest speed you're going to get is as fast as the slowest device on your network. Why not connect your laptop to the router direct to experience faster transfer speeds? Or investing in a portable storage medium to make file transfers easier?

Well, by right, there isn't enough bandwidth available in 802.11g to support HD streaming. You will need an 802.11n router, which works, but is still in its draft stage. Even though there are a flood of 802.11n products on the market now, they are all based on the draft specification. Manufacturers like 2WIRE will probably wait until the specification is finalised before transition its product line to the new specs.

cloudbp
25-05-2008, 11:30 AM
i keep having this problem recently.. anybody can help??

i am unable to surf the net too.. but when i connect my psp to wireless i am able to surf the net..

http://img206.imageshack.us/img206/4508/singnetproblemdo3.jpg

check your default gateway...
got this problem b4

cloudbp
25-05-2008, 11:30 AM
Anyone knows why I cant access the MDC website?
I used "2wire" as password but "unknown error has ocurred".
Has anyone experienced the same thing?
I really need help. Thanx alot.

try home/mdc

cloudbp
25-05-2008, 11:31 AM
if i got a 2wire from AT& T (USA) , can i upgrade the firmware to be used with Singtel ?

better not :P

Hollud
25-05-2008, 04:31 PM
Only if you can find the firmware.

Do bear in mind that the wireless settings are custom for each specific country. What you use in the States and what you use here may have different wireless frequencies altogether.

liangtam
25-05-2008, 05:55 PM
The thing is this, even if you find the firmware, HOW are u going to flash it???

hq83
25-05-2008, 06:18 PM
The thing is this, even if you find the firmware, HOW are u going to flash it???
i tink theres a page to flash firmware..?\
the other day i saw the page...

hq83
25-05-2008, 06:21 PM
http://img139.imageshack.us/img139/5808/fw1xs1.jpg
http://img522.imageshack.us/img522/1562/fw2mw0.jpg