View Full Version : those using mio 2wire 2700hgv-2 modem please come in
simcher
05-06-2007, 06:30 PM
when you are not using your internet, when all your pcs are off nothing is using the bandwidth... does you Internet LED(the last one at the bottom) blink non stop? for me... it is blinking like crazy.... like as if there is activity... and i noticed my internet throughput have been reduced a great bit... i tried restarting the modem... but it still persist.... any solution?
ChickenRiceCrews
05-06-2007, 06:36 PM
yes my oso blink like crazy
felime
05-06-2007, 06:52 PM
mine oso blink like crazy.
Desaturated
05-06-2007, 08:02 PM
mine also keep blinking
simcher
05-06-2007, 08:13 PM
last time don't have this problem... it's very irritating now... hate this modem... i wonder if any modem is good... really feel like replacing.. it is giving my brother's laptop wireless alot of problem too... used to be using 2wire 1800hg... no problem... now using this modem... my bro's laptop couldn't connect always...
li9ht5peed
05-06-2007, 09:11 PM
The bottom LED for Internet only blinks when I am accessing the internet. Otherwise it just stays lit if there is no internet activity. This is the best modem I ever used. In contrast, my previous ST585 was crap. When ST585 gets disconnected from internet, it does not know how to auto-reconnect, but 2700HGV-2 does that automatically.
simcher
05-06-2007, 09:15 PM
The bottom LED for Internet only blinks when I am accessing the internet. Otherwise it just stays lit if there is no internet activity. This is the best modem I ever used. In contrast, my previous ST585 was crap. When ST585 gets disconnected from internet, it does not know how to auto-reconnect, but 2700HGV-2 does that automatically.
it seems your is normal... mine is blinkly madly since 2 days ago... i wonder what is wrong.... argh hate this modem.!
felime
05-06-2007, 09:19 PM
mine starting blinking since last week... duno wats happening these days with singtel.
simcher
05-06-2007, 09:21 PM
can you check your modem setting... what is your VPI and VCI?
anch1ang
05-06-2007, 09:27 PM
Along the way is oke,
only today I notice it's blinking.... haiz!
simcher
05-06-2007, 09:34 PM
seems like... i'm not the only one... it's very irritating... and i feel like data throughput is rather slower than usual.... argh!
Johnatton
05-06-2007, 11:11 PM
I have the same problem, and I haven't been able to log into MSN ever since two weeks back. I've been getting along by using the browser based messegner. My internet light blinks frantically even though I'm not using it too. My VPI and VCI are 0 and 100 respectively. Can you help me? TYVM.
simcher
06-06-2007, 08:34 PM
no idea johnatton... have you tried using the msn troubleshooter to check the connection?
bradputt
07-06-2007, 12:10 AM
i got a feeling that the modem is communicating with the singnet server even you are not downloading anything
felime
07-06-2007, 12:13 AM
tonite my modem disconnect twice.
outer92
07-06-2007, 07:12 PM
me too blink like crazy
07-06-2007, 07:34 PM
mine also blink blink, but dounch care as long can surf internet when im using can riaoz
HKSHONDA
07-06-2007, 07:44 PM
tat modem actually is communicate with singtel due to the residental line. cos we using so called digital telephone line tat y always blink. btw.. do anyone here know how to set port for tat
currently i wanna use Utorrent software using mio 2wire modem as TS mention with windows firewall. but i cant get the correct port or open port for utorrent. the downl0@d always stated unable to find port la, connection speed extremely slow 1kb to 7kb nia =.=
anyone can help here?
ice888
07-06-2007, 10:03 PM
another user here facing this problem. it did not happen before.
outer92
07-06-2007, 10:10 PM
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y87/outer95/Clipboard01-3.jpg
interguy
07-06-2007, 10:29 PM
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y87/outer95/Clipboard01-3.jpg
I am very confused now. Blinking means internet activities or internet problem?
My modem keep blinking all day n night long!
simcher
07-06-2007, 10:30 PM
so anyone wants to call up Singnet and enquire? too lazy to call up singnet as they are mostly useless....
tinker58
07-06-2007, 10:36 PM
Any adverse effect on bandwidth due to this blinking ?
simcher
07-06-2007, 10:36 PM
since the singnet helpdesk is not closed... maybe someone wants to call? but i doubt it works because i tried last time and they said mine is already on digital line(i'm on mio plan) so they can't detect any signal on their side....
outer92
07-06-2007, 10:50 PM
so anyone wants to call up Singnet and enquire? too lazy to call up singnet as they are mostly useless....
yes! agree with you ,singnet Technical Support mostly useless,
my 2wire modem blinking like siao but my connecting no problem and mio voice no problem at all.
simcher
07-06-2007, 11:00 PM
just called up help desk... they deny the led blinking problem... say blinking is normal... and i'm only getting a throughput of 5mbps(i am on 10mbps) from ftp.singnet.com.sg for 3 days already... they arranged a line check for me on next coming tuesday from 9-11am... :)
ChickenRiceCrews
07-06-2007, 11:45 PM
then it means all our internet has problems since our internet LED keep blink like siao?
simcher
08-06-2007, 12:22 AM
i suggest you guys use the singnet ftp to test out...
open up your command prompt
type in ftp, press enter
type in "open ftp.singnet.com.sg", press enter
type in "anonymous" as username, password is empty...
type in "cd/speedtest/download", press enter
type "hash" and "bin" , press enter
type "get 10meg", press enter
post your result here... mine is only 547.47kb/s average (i am on 10mbps which usually gets me around 1020 kb/s)
simcher
08-06-2007, 09:17 AM
i just checked my ip address trying to find the host name... and guess what i found? look below...
Details of 116.xx.xxx.59
IP Address : 116.xx.xxx.59
Host Name : bb116-xx-xxx-59.singnet.com.sg
how come i am in africa? wtf?
anch1ang
08-06-2007, 09:34 AM
may singnet take over the whole block from African ISP.
try to query from http://wq.apnic.net/apnic-bin/whois.pl post the result :)
simcher
08-06-2007, 11:04 AM
inetnum: 116.14.0.0 - 116.15.255.255
netname: SINGNET-SG
descr: SingNet Pte Ltd
descr: 2 Stirling Road
descr: #03-00 Queenstown Exchange
descr: Singapore 148943
admin-c: SH9-AP
tech-c: SH9-AP
remarks: -+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-++-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+
remarks: This object can only be updated by APNIC hostmasters.
remarks: To update this object, please contact APNIC
remarks: hostmasters and include your organisation's account
remarks: name in the subject line.
remarks: -+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-++-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+
changed: hm-changed@apnic.net 20070327
mnt-by: APNIC-HM
mnt-lower: MAINT-SG-SINGNET
source: APNIC
person: SingNet Hostmaster
address: SingNet Engineering & Operations
address: 2 Stirling Road
address: #03-00 Queenstown Exchange
address: Singapore 148943
phone: +65 7845922
fax-no: +65 4753273
e-mail: hostmaster@singnet.com.sg
nic-hdl: SH9-AP
notify: hostmaster@singnet.com.sg
mnt-by: MAINT-SG-SINGNET
changed: hostmaster@singnet.com.sg 20000921
source: APNIC
burboy
08-06-2007, 12:07 PM
i am using the same modem too.. though i dun experience as much prb as you guys. here is something that might interests those who are experience prb with this particular modem.
http://www.singnet.com.sg/smartwizard/
i myself have not tried using the program but i will be trying tonight.
The prb i face with this modem is auto disconnection but not really often. might say once a month but luckily is not while i am playing my dota. lolz
There was once i cant host dota game - lancraft. Need to restart the modem to resolve the problem. This just happened once 2 days ago.
But on the overall i am quite satisfied with 2Wire modem than A*catel or A*etech (not sure if i can mention the brand name like tt so i put *)
burboy
09-06-2007, 02:03 PM
i am a 10Mb user.
here are the results:
Download
http://img40.imagevenue.com/loc767/th_69032_download_speed_122_767lo.jpg (http://img40.imagevenue.com/img.php?image=69032_download_speed_122_767lo.jpg)
Upload
http://img140.imagevenue.com/loc570/th_69031_upload_speed_122_570lo.JPG (http://img140.imagevenue.com/img.php?image=69031_upload_speed_122_570lo.JPG)
confused
09-06-2007, 03:10 PM
may singnet take over the whole block from African ISP.
try to query from http://wq.apnic.net/apnic-bin/whois.pl post the result :)
Should get Singnet to take block from USA ISP. Cos we can than access many content not avail outside USA.
li9ht5peed
10-06-2007, 10:45 AM
can you check your modem setting... what is your VPI and VCI?
These are my settings. My internet LED blinks only when I am using the internet. The primary and secondary server settings are required to allow Wii to connect to internet properly via Ethernet (I don't like wireless).
VPI: 0
VCI: 35
primary server: 165.21.83.88
secondary server: 165.21.100.88
I also use Singtel's proxy server under IE7. This is the only way for me to access certain US websites such as godaddy.com.
proxy.singnet.com.sg:8080
BradenHeat
10-06-2007, 01:41 PM
No internet usage...no blinking..just light nia....
I think you folks might wana replace the routers back from singnet?
jufryras
11-06-2007, 12:36 AM
Mine Also blinking continusly..Dont know why.... only notice it lately....Is there anybody with an answer to this mysterious blinking?
amoeba
11-06-2007, 09:45 AM
hmmm.... my case more jialat. when the internet led is blinking (like crazy) everything works fine. when it stops blinking (kept lighted), internet & house phone line go dead. has been like that for the past 3 or 4 days. everytime need to power off & on again b4 things can work.
called up singtel & they'll get someone to come check. sigh....
shanex88
11-06-2007, 10:52 AM
hmmm.... my case more jialat. when the internet led is blinking (like crazy) everything works fine. when it stops blinking (kept lighted), internet & house phone line go dead. has been like that for the past 3 or 4 days. everytime need to power off & on again b4 things can work.
called up singtel & they'll get someone to come check. sigh....
Hi, I am also facing this problem. Very annoying when you game halfway then the internet light stop blinking and you get dc. Let me know the result of the check ok? ty.
amoeba
11-06-2007, 11:12 AM
Hi, I am also facing this problem. Very annoying when you game halfway then the internet light stop blinking and you get dc. Let me know the result of the check ok? ty.
ok, will update here once singtel has done the check later this week. i suspect its the mio/2wire modem issue coz when this happens the I can't access http://gateway.2wire.net. everything just seem to hang....
when surfing internet, I can still reset but its really annoying when I have urgent things to call home when I'm outside & the line is dead.
when did yrs started behaving like this?
BradenHeat
11-06-2007, 12:01 PM
Are you using wireless?
Did you properly put filters between phones?
Even if the router is in your room ....the rest of the phones need filter.
Lastly......make sure your phones are working.....i hope my guess is wrong that spoiled phone makes bad connection
ifmsg
11-06-2007, 01:50 PM
Hi All,
Singnet MIO was installed on 10th June 07, Sunday 2 pm. Phone went dead in the morning. Cos they changing it to digital line. 1 Technician came, fixed up MIO box. Internet connection OK.. use LAN on 1 PC and wireless on Laptop and another PC, all connection all OK. Technician called up Singtel and reported my phone line can call out but no incoming ringtone. Technician left and told me that Singtel will rectify the problem. True enough, 5 mins later a call came in ringing and I told them OK. And another 10 mins later another person from Singtel called in to make sure all OK. and another 15 mins later another person from Singtel called in to make sure all OK. Wha not bad for Singtel Customer Service.
An Executive Officer told me that other tel socket outlet in my house will be rendered useless cos it is on digital line. Calls can only be used thru the MIO box (built-in micro filter). So no power no call. Analog phone can still be used on the MIO box. Already tested. But if needed more phones pls be advised to use DECT phone.
ALL PCs OFF and Internet lite still blinking... but able to connect and surf still OK.. Later will report the upload and download speed.
outer92
11-06-2007, 06:34 PM
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y87/outer95/voip.jpg
simcher
11-06-2007, 07:40 PM
i tried disabling the VOIP... but it's still the same....
shanex88
11-06-2007, 07:46 PM
Are you using wireless?
Did you properly put filters between phones?
Even if the router is in your room ....the rest of the phones need filter.
Lastly......make sure your phones are working.....i hope my guess is wrong that spoiled phone makes bad connection
my Mio already up about 3 months liao but no problem till like 2 weeks ago. I not using wireless i using wired and it just random the modem sort of like hang. just like amoeba say cannot go into 2wire console... need to off and on power to reset.
BradenHeat
11-06-2007, 07:56 PM
my Mio already up about 3 months liao but no problem till like 2 weeks ago. I not using wireless i using wired and it just random the modem sort of like hang. just like amoeba say cannot go into 2wire console... need to off and on power to reset.Well..seems like a fautly router.
Guys...its best to get another set......dont listen to their explainations.
Request them to go over your house and exchange a new one and test.......
shanex88
11-06-2007, 08:03 PM
any1 have any idea why my connection channel is interleaved instead of fast? This interleaved also start like 2 weeks ago... below is my dsl connection detail.
DSL Connection Details
DSL Line (Wire Pair):Line 1 (inner pair)
Protocol:G.DMT2+ Annex A
Downstream Rate:13997 kbps
Upstream Rate:939 kbps
Channel:Interleaved
Current Noise Margin:23.5 dB (Downstream) 9.0 dB (Upstream)
Current Attenuation:13.6 dB (Downstream) 4.3 dB (Upstream)
Current Output Power:17.7 dBm (Downstream) 11.3 dBm (Upstream)
DSLAM Vendor Information:Country: {0xFF} Vendor: {GSPN} Specific: {0x1000}PVC Info:0/100
simcher
11-06-2007, 09:45 PM
mine is also the same... it's interleaved... it's very disturbing to me... because i ain't fast at all for a 10mbps!!
DSL Line (Wire Pair): Line 1 (inner pair)
Protocol: G.DMT2+ Annex A
Downstream Rate: 13997 kbps
Upstream Rate: 924 kbps
Channel: Interleaved
Current Noise Margin: 23.9 dB (Downstream) 9.5 dB (Upstream)
Current Attenuation: 8.7 dB (Downstream) 0.0 dB (Upstream)
Current Output Power: 11.7 dBm (Downstream) 11.4 dBm (Upstream)
DSLAM Vendor Information: Country: {0xFF} Vendor: {GSPN} Specific: {0x1000}
PVC Info: 0/100
simcher
11-06-2007, 09:46 PM
calling for amoeba... how is your line check?
amoeba
12-06-2007, 10:16 AM
calling for amoeba... how is your line check?
Singtel will be coming tomorrow. will update here after that...
capo22
12-06-2007, 12:52 PM
Hi all,
Hav been working as a singtel installer for a month plus so i thought i might help out a bit here.
1) The intermittant flashing is quite normal as sometimes the mio box needs to communicate with the singnet backend servers(eg retrieve DNS info) or the line pple are conducting some tests on ur block or neighbouring areas. Maybe u could try moving the mio box to another tel point in the hse to see if the flashing still occurs.
2) Slow speeds can be due to a variety of reasons such as proxies, firewalls, performance of the computer etc. One way to confirm your speed would be to use the yellow ethernet cable to test the speed. The wireless for the mio box is not exactly one of the best around but the wired connection seldom fails. U can test the ftp speed at www.singnet.com -> help -> technical support -> help tools -> ftp(Use only ie to access cos active x must be enabled)
3) Another way to test ur dsl connection would be to go to the router's home page(http://gateway.2wire.net/) and click on diagnostics. On the diagnostics page go click on test. After that wait for abt 5 to 10 mins for the test to complete. If everything stays up most prob there's nothing wrong wif the router and its 90% confirm to be a line fault
Although i'm indirectly working for singtel i must stress that i do not support some of the practices that they do. Anyway its not really convenient for mi to say what these are but i really hope what i posted here can be of some help. Feel free to post qns n i will try my best to answer them.
amoeba
12-06-2007, 03:17 PM
capo22,
wanna check with u. can a line problem cause the router to hang? what i mean by router hang is that all internet & phone lines r dead & i can't access the router's console (http://gateway.2wire.net). need to power off & on to have it working again.
BradenHeat
12-06-2007, 05:16 PM
Hi all,
Hav been working as a singtel installer for a month plus so i thought i might help out a bit here.
1) The intermittant flashing is quite normal as sometimes the mio box needs to communicate with the singnet backend servers(eg retrieve DNS info) or the line pple are conducting some tests on ur block or neighbouring areas. Maybe u could try moving the mio box to another tel point in the hse to see if the flashing still occurs.
2) Slow speeds can be due to a variety of reasons such as proxies, firewalls, performance of the computer etc. One way to confirm your speed would be to use the yellow ethernet cable to test the speed. The wireless for the mio box is not exactly one of the best around but the wired connection seldom fails. U can test the ftp speed at www.singnet.com (http://www.singnet.com) -> help -> technical support -> help tools -> ftp(Use only ie to access cos active x must be enabled)
3) Another way to test ur dsl connection would be to go to the router's home page(http://gateway.2wire.net/) and click on diagnostics. On the diagnostics page go click on test. After that wait for abt 5 to 10 mins for the test to complete. If everything stays up most prob there's nothing wrong wif the router and its 90% confirm to be a line fault
Although i'm indirectly working for singtel i must stress that i do not support some of the practices that they do. Anyway its not really convenient for mi to say what these are but i really hope what i posted here can be of some help. Feel free to post qns n i will try my best to answer them.Might wana forgo points 1 and 2....practically shanex88 and amoeba are tech savvy, aint your average joe like me :sad:
I think might be point 3 or the strongest hint would be of the router's problem.
P.S you folks try to update the router's firmware?
simcher
12-06-2007, 06:17 PM
guys... singnet ppl came... 2 person actually... first one in the morning... didn't solve the problem... the light is blinking... i accept it... but the connection is hovering between 5-8mbps(i am using 10mbps) and sometimes it hit 10mbps... but it's only like once in 1 hour... he called up the exchange side... they changed my ADSL profile... and my channel is back to fast, problem persist... he went off without fixing the problem.
afternoon another guy came... who happens to be my dad's colleague... he tested my line... signal is good everything is fine... but still it's intermittant... sometimes fast sometimes crawl to 100kb/s download.. at times 1000+kb/s... very unstable... he went down my block to change the hardware of the phone line (mux he said) and it still giving me the same problem... tomorrow he will be coming here to do a direct line for me to monitor and change another modem... sucks... now my connection is damn slow... upload is crawling as well...
simcher
12-06-2007, 07:44 PM
latest update.... i just finished a line check today... everything seems fine... now my modem DSL led blink.. and after connection... it shows me this... i am on 10mbps... but i'm getting 3500kbps! OMG!
Downstream Rate: 3500 kbps
Upstream Rate: 1032 kbps
Channel: Fast
Current Noise Margin: 31.0 dB (Downstream) 6.2 dB (Upstream)
Current Attenuation: 8.2 dB (Downstream) 0.5 dB (Upstream)
Current Output Power: -4.3 dBm (Downstream) 11.3 dBm (Upstream)
PVC Info: 0/1001
BradenHeat
12-06-2007, 07:53 PM
latest update.... i just finished a line check today... everything seems fine... now my modem DSL led blink.. and after connection... it shows me this... i am on 10mbps... but i'm getting 3500kbps! OMG!
PVC Info: 0/1001At least now you know whats the fault mah..
side track...your housing how old liao?
capo22
12-06-2007, 08:13 PM
capo22,
wanna check with u. can a line problem cause the router to hang? what i mean by router hang is that all internet & phone lines r dead & i can't access the router's console (http://gateway.2wire.net). need to power off & on to have it working again.Well, first of all are u on the mio plan? And also what model router u using?
capo22
12-06-2007, 08:18 PM
Well, i'm surprised u can access the internet at all. Your line definately has problems. Ur downstream rate confirms that. If the technician told u ur line is fine obviously he's bs u.
liangtam
12-06-2007, 08:26 PM
Well, i'm surprised u can access the internet at all. Your line definately has problems. Ur downstream rate confirms that. If the technician told u ur line is fine obviously he's bs u.
Theres nothing wrong with his line statistics from pure view. You need to understand Noise Margain is SNR and is also in fact signal quality, higher = better.
The only thing is, the value too high
outer92
12-06-2007, 08:54 PM
mio user 3mbps
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y87/outer95/BroadbandLinkDetails.jpg
ChickenRiceCrews
12-06-2007, 09:02 PM
eh why sometimes i reboot my router the internet LED does not show up and when i try to surf i got a BroadBand link not avaible
simcher
12-06-2007, 10:17 PM
my signal is definately off the scale... and i'm very pissed off right now... paying for 10mbps... getting 3mbps for 1 week + already... and how long more is this going to go on? i really want to ask for compensation.
shanex88
12-06-2007, 10:53 PM
chill bro. I make my appointment for next wed liao... damn long. hope the tech can solve my interleaved problem and also the random modem hang problem.
simcher
12-06-2007, 11:07 PM
chill bro. I make my appointment for next wed liao... damn long. hope the tech can solve my interleaved problem and also the random modem hang problem.
they put you under the interleaved profile... call up help desk and demand them to change your profile to fast channel... that's what the lineman did today and it went to fast immediately...
tinker58
13-06-2007, 07:56 AM
PVC should be 0/100.
Backlash
13-06-2007, 11:42 AM
For those guys out there having the Blinking Internet LED issues.... Here is a not so bad news for you. I just went to Malifax to RMA my 2Wire 2700HVG-2.
Upon reaching the servicing center, they gave me a 1 to 1 exchange with no question ask.
The technicial who attend to me told me that the RMA 2Wire that i got just got a Firmware Upgrade and it might solve this Blinking Led and D/C issue .
Will post more updates once I get my system online again !
Cheers
lalalalalala
13-06-2007, 11:46 AM
i jus got my mio box recently, the internet light also blink like siao but others all ok lei... then the tech guy who came say the adsl light solid can liao... but nvr mention aniting about the internet light
capo22
13-06-2007, 11:47 AM
Theres nothing wrong with his line statistics from pure view. You need to understand Noise Margain is SNR and is also in fact signal quality, higher = better.
The only thing is, the value too highAiyoh im nt talking abt his line stats lah. If i so noob hw to survive on the job. Lol. What i mean by line fault might be due to things like faulty jumpering at the cabinet. Its like u're tapping on the wrong line u see. Tats y i said i was surprised.
simcher
13-06-2007, 01:39 PM
For those guys out there having the Blinking Internet LED issues.... Here is a not so bad news for you. I just went to Malifax to RMA my 2Wire 2700HVG-2.
Upon reaching the servicing center, they gave me a 1 to 1 exchange with no question ask.
The technicial who attend to me told me that the RMA 2Wire that i got just got a Firmware Upgrade and it might solve this Blinking Led and D/C issue .
Will post more updates once I get my system online again !
Cheers
any idea how to upgrade the firmware?
liangtam
13-06-2007, 01:40 PM
Tapping on wrong wire ish another matter riao.
Which company u work under?? VRn**, Mali*** ???
Backlash
13-06-2007, 02:11 PM
any idea how to upgrade the firmware?
I can't answer your question. All I can say is that you should just RMA your 2Wire if it is giving your problems.
BTW, just a little insigh on this issue. The MIO Sale line advisors mention something abt the VoIP being the likely cause of all this D/C issue.
Suggestion from him was to switch my VoIp back to an analogue line. ( By pass the Mio box ). But the one diaadvantage is that there will be no free out-going call, all out-going call will be charge as normal home line. But the good thing out of this is that I m still not required to pay the 3 month telephone line charges of $25.
So I guess it is a "I Win Some, Singnet Win Some" situation.
Will post more updates on the new MIO Box tonight. ( Without VoIP )
amoeba
13-06-2007, 02:45 PM
update:
singtel person came & swapped a modem. He mentioned that their observation is that the hanging & disconnection is a firmware issue. However, I do believe singtel has changed something on their end. if not, I don't understand why the modem can work for the past 2 mths without problems. And yes, I also observed that the rapidly blinking internet led only started not long ago.
To shanex88, once they swap a modem for u, the disconnection will go away (I m observing this now). After the swap, the DSL channel shows Fast instead of Interleaved.
To simcher: The replaced modem still has rapidly blinking internet led. So, doesn't address yr problem.
capo22
13-06-2007, 03:32 PM
Tapping on wrong wire ish another matter riao.
Which company u work under?? VRn**, Mali*** ???One of the four under mali***...
shanex88
13-06-2007, 03:42 PM
thnx for the update amoeba. keep us posted if the modem hang problem is gone. cheers
burboy
13-06-2007, 03:49 PM
my internet light also have been blinking like mad... even with the computer off... but i thought that is normal... i do not feel thats its slow or faulty...
amoeba
13-06-2007, 03:57 PM
thnx for the update amoeba. keep us posted if the modem hang problem is gone. cheers
ya, will update here if the modem hang problem persists. mine hang daily for the past 4 or 5 days, sometimes 2 times a day. it shouldn't take too long to find out if the problem isn't solved... =:p
shanex88
13-06-2007, 04:25 PM
they put you under the interleaved profile... call up help desk and demand them to change your profile to fast channel... that's what the lineman did today and it went to fast immediately...
i called the internet technical support and told them and the tech staff do not know what i am talking about and ask me use the remote assist to show her what it is... Then they say they could not change it and ask me to refer to the modem vendor -.-
simcher
13-06-2007, 05:27 PM
Guys another lineman came over... changed to a brand new modem... and everything works fine... he also upgraded the modem firmware... and i actually asked for a copy of it to let you guy upgrade yourself(if you dare) i will try to give detailed instruction on how to upgrade the firmware... DO IT AT YOUR OWN RISK.
1) Make sure you knows your MIO settings(eg. username, password, and your mio voice password if you have) and unzip the content of the content i posted here. http://download.yousendit.com/C3DCD15E092BA521
2) Make sure you have Firefox(the upgrade can only be used on firefox browsers)
3) Launch Firefox and go to the address 192.168.1.254/upgrade
4) Click Continue
5) Click on Browse, select the file from the location you unzipped to(singtel-moip_reinstall_voice_5291173_GA.2sp)
6) Click Upgrade.
The whole process takes about 7-10mins. after it is upgraded successfully it will reboot the modem... after which you have to do your adsl settings again.
confused
13-06-2007, 07:22 PM
I can't answer your question. All I can say is that you should just RMA your 2Wire if it is giving your problems.
BTW, just a little insigh on this issue. The MIO Sale line advisors mention something abt the VoIP being the likely cause of all this D/C issue.
Suggestion from him was to switch my VoIp back to an analogue line. ( By pass the Mio box ). But the one diaadvantage is that there will be no free out-going call, all out-going call will be charge as normal home line. But the good thing out of this is that I m still not required to pay the 3 month telephone line charges of $25.
So I guess it is a "I Win Some, Singnet Win Some" situation.
Will post more updates on the new MIO Box tonight. ( Without VoIP )
Really? I didn't know that you opt for this option and not required to pay the 3month telephone line charge.
Why don't Singtel just forget about forcing people to use VoIP and just charge a std price package for analogue home line etc.
Backlash
13-06-2007, 09:53 PM
Some Update on my MIO Encounter :
I have been running my New MIO Box for the past hours and I have yet to observe any adverse reaction.
So it is so far so good for me.
And my telephone line have been reverted back to the analogue line as promise by the Singtel Sale Staff. The linesman came in and perform some checks and certified that everything is up and running.
So to all the Bros out there having an issue with MIO, now you have an alternative solution. Convert your VoIP back to an analogue line.
Cheers
With monitor my progress till tomorrow and do a final update.
Signing off . . .
amoeba
14-06-2007, 02:25 AM
Guys another lineman came over... changed to a brand new modem... and everything works fine... he also upgraded the modem firmware... and i actually asked for a copy of it to let you guy upgrade yourself(if you dare) i will try to give detailed instruction on how to upgrade the firmware... DO IT AT YOUR OWN RISK.
1) Make sure you knows your MIO settings(eg. username, password, and your mio voice password if you have) and unzip the content of the content i posted here. http://download.yousendit.com/C3DCD15E092BA521
2) Make sure you have Firefox(the upgrade can only be used on firefox browsers)
3) Launch Firefox and go to the address 192.168.1.254/upgrade
4) Click Continue
5) Click on Browse, select the file from the location you unzipped to(singtel-moip_reinstall_voice_5291173_GA.2sp)
6) Click Upgrade.
The whole process takes about 7-10mins. after it is upgraded successfully it will reboot the modem... after which you have to do your adsl settings again.
simcher: does it solve the rapid blinking led problem?
ChickenRiceCrews
14-06-2007, 03:26 AM
sian i just dced and my dsl is blinking like siao just now
Backlash
14-06-2007, 07:13 AM
Here is another round of Updates from my MIO Encounter :
I have left the router running for abt 12 Hours now. Nothing abnormal have been observed. I suppose the new firmware in the 2Wire does solve the DC issue.
So cheers to all the bros out there ...
Pls get your 2Wire change if you can, No point suffering in silence. Ultimately you are paying for services and they should provide you with it.
ChickenRiceCrews
14-06-2007, 07:34 AM
i 4got all my settings liao how?
simcher
14-06-2007, 08:38 AM
simcher: does it solve the rapid blinking led problem?
apparently it doesn't... but it's working fine now... surprisingly..
simcher
14-06-2007, 08:45 AM
i suggest all bros who are having dc problem to try upgrading the firmware as it is more stable... but do it at your own risk...
guesswho80
14-06-2007, 11:23 AM
Hi guys,
My modem also got blinking at the internet point but not v fast blinking. So far it works well for me. Last time, I cannot receive incoming calls but now can because I will tend to switch off my modem when I go sleep, so I believe it can perform better. Maybe you all can try switch off ur MIO modem when u sleep and the next morning switch on again.
amoeba
14-06-2007, 11:24 AM
i suggest all bros who are having dc problem to try upgrading the firmware as it is more stable... but do it at your own risk...
better just call singtel & have them come over to swap the modem. save all the trouble of having to do ourselves. besides, I don't remember they gave us the password for MIO voice.
simcher
14-06-2007, 01:22 PM
better just call singtel & have them come over to swap the modem. save all the trouble of having to do ourselves. besides, I don't remember they gave us the password for MIO voice.
yes they do... it's posted to you via mail. i recieved mine via mail... :)
lalalalalala
14-06-2007, 08:58 PM
Hi guys,
My modem also got blinking at the internet point but not v fast blinking. So far it works well for me. Last time, I cannot receive incoming calls but now can because I will tend to switch off my modem when I go sleep, so I believe it can perform better. Maybe you all can try switch off ur MIO modem when u sleep and the next morning switch on again.but wad if when i slp got emergency call??? summore i scared off and on again might affect the adsl link...
RenZero
14-06-2007, 09:32 PM
My profile also suddenly from fast become interleaved... how to change back?
lalalalalala
14-06-2007, 10:23 PM
i don tink can change back the sever at singtel chnge de i tink
amoeba
14-06-2007, 10:24 PM
yes they do... it's posted to you via mail. i recieved mine via mail... :)
yo, which letter? I still have the whole stack of letters singtel sent to me. is the one that says "Please note your mio ID(s) below (You will need this when the installer configures the service for you). Then have "mio Home Phone No" & "System ID"? Is System ID the password?
Thx.
amoeba
14-06-2007, 10:24 PM
kanasai... my DSL channel has changed from Fast to Interleaved again. argh!!!!!
tkdguru
14-06-2007, 10:34 PM
so is the upgrade of firmware gd r bad
simcher
14-06-2007, 10:58 PM
yo, which letter? I still have the whole stack of letters singtel sent to me. is the one that says "Please note your mio ID(s) below (You will need this when the installer configures the service for you). Then have "mio Home Phone No" & "System ID"? Is System ID the password?
Thx.
yes that is correct, there you have it. that's the info you need :)
simcher
14-06-2007, 10:58 PM
so is the upgrade of firmware gd r bad
it's good... it solved my slow internet problem...
simcher
14-06-2007, 10:59 PM
kanasai... my DSL channel has changed from Fast to Interleaved again. argh!!!!!
my dad called up their manager yesterday... and the manager explain that interleaved is slower but more stable... you will never get disconnected... fast is faster but will drop occasionally... i wonder what rubbish he talking about -_-
shanex88
15-06-2007, 12:12 AM
seem like many bro channel changed to interleaved too... hope they will revert back to fast... with interleaved my upload will be slower.
tkdguru
15-06-2007, 05:47 AM
i see my channel link is still under the fast, it will change to interleaved if i upgrade?
amoeba
15-06-2007, 09:15 AM
i see my channel link is still under the fast, it will change to interleaved if i upgrade?
I think it'll interleave whenever it likes, not something that we can control. :o
when I 1st got my modem, it was on Fast, then later when it gave problems, it became interleaved. a few days ago, they swapped my modem & again it was on fast. Barely 2 days later, it is on interleaved again. :s8:
mm zai cho simi lj...
RenZero
15-06-2007, 10:04 AM
The problem is, I am paying for 25Mbps plan.. in fast channel profile, my line speed is 24xxxkbps according to my modem. now in terleaved, i am still paying 25mbps but now the line reads as 13xxxkbps....
RenZero
15-06-2007, 10:05 AM
also, in interleved mode, i realised that the ping rate to speedtest.net used to be 20ms or lesser.. now is like 60-70ms :s27: :s27:
tkdguru
15-06-2007, 04:58 PM
ok i jus upgraded it, well everything went smoothly, n it's still in fast mode
Backlash
15-06-2007, 09:03 PM
Updates again : I think the firmware upgrade in the 2Wire Modem does not really help.
My Modem hanged twice since I RMA it. I m starting to suspect that it is the ISP that is giving the problem and not the Modem.
Any suggestion on this ?
tkdguru
15-06-2007, 09:27 PM
like how did it hang?
Backlash
15-06-2007, 09:45 PM
Well ... when our modem is connected to the internet, the internet LED will blink non-stop....( this is when our modem is working fine )
When my modem hangs, the internet led will jut stop blinking and it will be fully lighted up !
lalalalalala
15-06-2007, 10:05 PM
Well ... when our modem is connected to the internet, the internet LED will blink non-stop....( this is when our modem is working fine )
When my modem hangs, the internet led will jut stop blinking and it will be fully lighted up !oh.. so when hang the thing cannot blink liao la... ok.. then i hope mine blink forever liao =X although its quite irritating to look at =X
tkdguru
15-06-2007, 10:32 PM
hmm its been brinking for a looooong time. how often does urs stop bringking
lalalalalala
16-06-2007, 01:32 AM
haven stop before?
DevilChris
16-06-2007, 01:57 AM
my 2wire modem hang very often too at least once a day, anyone have solution to it? I tried posting the problem on 2wire website they ask me to contact ISP.
takuyazzz
16-06-2007, 11:01 AM
guys, OT a bit...if i sign up for mio plan, do i get any discount for the handphone purchase?
Marill
16-06-2007, 08:59 PM
maybe Singtel is port scanning your PCs?
lalalalalala
16-06-2007, 11:57 PM
guys, OT a bit...if i sign up for mio plan, do i get any discount for the handphone purchase?not sure.. but i signed up on mothers day.. got a free k610 and some vouchers and stuff =/
Backlash
17-06-2007, 02:16 PM
My modem hanging is random. Average abt twice a day. Will be switching back to my old ADSL to determine the root cost of the problem. This is ensure that it is the Modem problem and not the line.
tkdguru
17-06-2007, 10:16 PM
eh me modem no hang yet
cloudbp
17-06-2007, 10:59 PM
mine hanging until i sianz
simcher
18-06-2007, 10:42 AM
for those of you having problem... call singnet helpdesk and complain? it's much better than whining here... and nothing will be done... nothing will be solved... call them... complain and say you want a line check... they will tell you you have to pay $20... then you can screw them up and tell them you pay money for the service... the service like ****... send them down to check still need to pay? say you refuse to pay it... you want to waived.
felime
18-06-2007, 12:36 PM
finally the internet led no more blinking like crazy. it's back to normal since this morning.
saha-med
18-06-2007, 02:33 PM
for those of you having problem... call singnet helpdesk and complain? it's much better than whining here... and nothing will be done... nothing will be solved... call them... complain and say you want a line check... they will tell you you have to pay $20... then you can screw them up and tell them you pay money for the service... the service like ****... send them down to check still need to pay? say you refuse to pay it... you want to waived.
i would do that but internet line is under my aunt's name, so i dunno if i can talk in her behalf. My aunt doesnt no much about the router and stuff...
lalalalalala
18-06-2007, 04:47 PM
finally the internet led no more blinking like crazy. it's back to normal since this morning.
mine also not blinking like siao already leh.. y ar??? izzit my modem going to spoil???
felime
18-06-2007, 06:11 PM
mine also not blinking like siao already leh.. y ar??? izzit my modem going to spoil???
duno reh. as long everything is smooth then ok liao.
jufryras
18-06-2007, 08:47 PM
Found out my internet d/c quite frequent and decided to call Mio Technical Support this morning. Told them about the frequent d/c and also told them about the internet blinking issue which i noticed lately. They told me that they have to sent their technician to take a look at my problem. Technician is coming this coming Sunday to check.
To my suprise, when i came back home from work, notice that the modem blinking problem had went back to normal (Not blinking that fast as per previously reported). Just as to double confirm, i disconnect all the Network cable from the modem and the internet internet light stop blinking where no activity to the internet. Hmmmmm.... i wonder what had singtel done..??? Will monitor closely till this weekend and see whether to cansel the singtel technician appointment.
saha-med
18-06-2007, 09:51 PM
according to the user guide ah...
Internet Light
Off -->The gateway has been unable to detect a DSL signal.
DSL signal detected; the gateway is attempting to train.
Blinking green (fast) -->The gateway is attempting to establish a connection to your
broadband service(s).
Solid red --> The gateway cannot connect to your broadband service.
so apparently i think the modem is INCOMPATIBLE with our adsl/voice line.
lalalalalala
19-06-2007, 01:17 AM
since u all like that say means its the singtel side do something liao... you all the connection is on fast or ineterleaved?
Y_Shun
19-06-2007, 10:20 AM
Mine is on FAST
BradenHeat
19-06-2007, 10:37 AM
People still having problems....please just send the 2wire back and RMA......rather than comparing the line here.:)
amoeba
19-06-2007, 11:12 AM
People still having problems....please just send the 2wire back and RMA......rather than comparing the line here.:)
Agree completely. Just call Singtel down to check or swap the modem. c whether the situation improves.
jufryras
19-06-2007, 11:34 AM
since u all like that say means its the singtel side do something liao... you all the connection is on fast or ineterleaved?
Mine FAST.... Everything seem to be normal after i call yesterday??
saha-med
19-06-2007, 02:18 PM
Agree completely. Just call Singtel down to check or swap the modem. c whether the situation improves.
can i ask them to swap my 2wire for the speedtouch one?
lalalalalala
19-06-2007, 02:49 PM
so now confirm the light no more blink like siao rite???
BradenHeat
19-06-2007, 03:19 PM
can i ask them to swap my 2wire for the speedtouch one?Haha.....just ask them down and test..
If it fails again...tell them to come down again lor....
The again..
You get the point.....that way they'll sure to swap for a better model
amoeba
19-06-2007, 05:08 PM
can i ask them to swap my 2wire for the speedtouch one?
u can ask but whether they give or not is another issue la. :o :s13:
jufryras
19-06-2007, 09:12 PM
so now confirm the light no more blink like siao rite???
For me now it never blink like siao...then no more d/c since the day i call singtel...but yet still having an appointment with singtel Technician this coming Sunday....Don;t know whether want to cancel it or not..?? :s11: :s11:
Y_Shun
19-06-2007, 09:36 PM
around 2-4, my singnet went down! DSL light keeps blinking, INTERNET light don't even light up
takuyazzz
20-06-2007, 12:22 AM
can i just request for them to give me a normal ethernet modem so i can use my out router? going down to sign up this weekend leh...but see the problem with this modem i a bit sians...
lalalalalala
20-06-2007, 01:47 AM
can i just request for them to give me a normal ethernet modem so i can use my out router? going down to sign up this weekend leh...but see the problem with this modem i a bit sians...don tink can cux this is voip modem... unless ur router got voip capabilities?
cpuer
20-06-2007, 09:15 AM
can i just request for them to give me a normal ethernet modem so i can use my out router? going down to sign up this weekend leh...but see the problem with this modem i a bit sians...
Doubt they are this flexible. Most probably you will end up changing it to a bridge modem and use your own router. This is provided you don't need their voip service.
felime
21-06-2007, 10:44 AM
this morning.. the internet led blinking like siao start again.. anyone encountered the same thing also?
takuyazzz
21-06-2007, 01:24 PM
think i'll go for the MOL express w/o contract first until mio stabilises..
lalalalalala
21-06-2007, 04:41 PM
this morning.. the internet led blinking like siao start again.. anyone encountered the same thing also?ya... mine also blinking like siao
darth_rufio
21-06-2007, 06:04 PM
Is it a good idea to change the 2wire to a normal ethernet modem then connect it to a dgl-4300 router? is the download speed will become faster specially bt?
lalalalalala
21-06-2007, 07:41 PM
Is it a good idea to change the 2wire to a normal ethernet modem then connect it to a dgl-4300 router? is the download speed will become faster specially bt?u under mio??? if under mio i don tink can cux ur 2wire 2700hg v2 is a voip modem and if u change ur modem to a normal ethernet modem it will not have voip capabilities and u cannot use ur house phone... also i getting quite good speeds for my bt on my 2wire modem...
tkdguru
21-06-2007, 09:17 PM
so for now, can any butties find any modem with voip capabilities, im sure there r many out there
darth_rufio
21-06-2007, 09:23 PM
I'm not under MIO.. I just want a faster bt and no lag gaming.
jufryras
22-06-2007, 12:17 AM
The problem start again for me!..Now the internet light start blinking again like siao!!, Today the internet d/c 3 to 4 times... and 2 times have to hardreset the modem!! SiannZZZZ !! Have to wait till Sunday where the technician coming over to check!!!
thiamhui
22-06-2007, 08:22 AM
I'm having problem when the INTERNET LED stops blinking. Called the mio hotline yesterday and they will replace the modem tomorrow morning. =:p
If I remember correctly, my modem hang issue started from 3 June 2007. It's like a weekly thing in the beginning. This week get worse. Hanged daily.
Backlash
22-06-2007, 09:10 AM
Updates : I have swoop my modem back to my old Prolink 9000w and since the swoop, there has not been a single d/c.
Conclusion : 2Wire Product Sucks
tparry
22-06-2007, 09:23 AM
OMG I should have read this thread earlier!
My modem started hanging since June 1st 02:30am (the first 6 weeks it was fine). I think it hung 6 (or 12?) times over the next 2 days. I had to unplug/plug the power back in just to get it working again.
A week later I had the modem replaced, but the phone had a problem, so they replaced it with a 3rd modem. It started hanging the second after the technician left! Another week later (monday), and I got a 4th modem. This morning it hung again for the first time after 3 1/2 days ARGHHHH!!!!
Ive replaced my network cables, my network card, unplugged my phone - it still hangs.
I disabled the telephone which seemed to make it hang less often.
I even disconnected all my computers and it still hangs...
Sometimes the modem hangs when I pick up the telephone too.
I have the most simplest setup. Only 1 telephone and modem port, and no wireless.
I ended up recording down the times it hangs for me. I wonder if other people with modem hanging problems are hanging at the same time....
20070610 02:28
20070611 00:00
20070611 12:30
20070611 21:28
20070611 23:37
20070612 11:28
20070612 16:52
20070614 23:00
20070615 23:14
20070616 11:29
20070617 10:34
20070617 18:59
20070618 10:15 (then got my 4th modem 3pm)
20070622 08:20
Oh, and my Internet light flashes like crazy. Even faster on this 4th modem. Weird...
tparry
22-06-2007, 09:40 AM
My Channel was FAST when I got the modem installed, then on June 1st when I was having the HANGING problems (and lower speeds), I noticed my channel was now interleaved. When I got the modem replaced a week later, I told the technician about it, and he switched me back to FAST (at the MUX or something). Since then, my channel has been on FAST.
My modem hangs regardless of what channel, and regardless of old or new firmware.
This HANGING problem is pissing me off!!!
tparry
22-06-2007, 10:27 AM
my dad called up their manager yesterday... and the manager explain that interleaved is slower but more stable... you will never get disconnected... fast is faster but will drop occasionally... i wonder what rubbish he talking about -_-
Well they were right about 1 thing: Interleaved is slower!
17-04-2007:
Upstream Rate: 1068 kbps
Down: Transferred 1 file totaling 476.84 MB in 5 minutes 54 seconds (1,378.23 KBps)
Up: Transferred 1 file totaling 9.54 MB in 1 minutes 31 seconds (106.57 KBps)
02-06-2007:
Upstream Rate: 932 kbps
Channel: Interleaved
Transferred 1 file totaling 476.84 MB in 8 minutes 8 seconds (1,000.39 KBps)
Transferred 1 file totaling 9.54 MB in 1 minutes 45 seconds (93.45 KBps)
If theres 1 thing ive learnt from ISPs, its keep a record of everything! They lie through their teeth and deny everything.
It seems as if EVERYONE was switched from FAST to INTERLEAVED at the beginning of June - they are cheating us! Call them up, complain about your speed, and they will switch you back. Dont let these a*sholes get away with it!
amoeba
22-06-2007, 03:22 PM
My 2wire modem hang just now. 1st occurrence after they swapped it last week.
will call them if it happens again.
lalalalalala
22-06-2007, 05:21 PM
mine blinking like siao but nvr hang =/... jufyras.. mayb u can ask ur technitian when he comes over on sunday about the blinking thingy
tparry
22-06-2007, 07:21 PM
After my 4th modem hung this morning, I called helpdesk (1800-555-6000) and they told me a technician will call me. They never did though....
After my 4th modem hung, and after finding out im not the only one, is it right to say that the problem isnt with our modems?
By the sounds of things, all of us started having these hang problems since the first week of June.
Lets start a list to see if we can narrow it down to location:
tparry: Tampines St72 (hanging since June 1st, 02:30am)
aomoeba:
DevilChris
22-06-2007, 07:55 PM
Hi bros may i know if all those channel at FAST, do u all have mio voice? I know is dumb question as its mio, wanted to know cos my frenz called mio hotline they told him Channel cannot anyhow change cos of the Digital voice, :s11:
After my 4th modem hung this morning, I called helpdesk (1800-555-6000) and they told me a technician will call me. They never did though....
After my 4th modem hung, and after finding out im not the only one, is it right to say that the problem isnt with our modems?
By the sounds of things, all of us started having these hang problems since the first week of June.
Lets start a list to see if we can narrow it down to location:
tparry: Tampines St72 (hanging since June 1st, 02:30am)
aomoeba:
:s31: i staying at tampines St72 with the same hang problem but forgot when is the first time it hung.
kimyong
22-06-2007, 11:23 PM
DSL Connection Details
Upstream Rate: 1044 kbps
Current Noise Margin: 31.0 dB (Downstream) 7.0 dB (Upstream)
Current Attenuation: 18.5 dB (Downstream) 4.2 dB (Upstream)
Current Output Power: 3.2 dBm (Downstream) 11.5 dBm (Upstream)
Never had any issue with the modem since installation in end Mar07 at SengKang.
Maybe becos I did not switch to Digital Line for my mio plan. :s13:
lalalalalala
22-06-2007, 11:50 PM
DSL Connection Details
Upstream Rate: 1044 kbps
Current Noise Margin: 31.0 dB (Downstream) 7.0 dB (Upstream)
Current Attenuation: 18.5 dB (Downstream) 4.2 dB (Upstream)
Current Output Power: 3.2 dBm (Downstream) 11.5 dBm (Upstream)
Never had any issue with the modem since installation in end Mar07 at SengKang.
Maybe becos I did not switch to Digital Line for my mio plan. :s13:like that means u bundle internet and hp line only la???
RenZero
23-06-2007, 02:47 PM
Just got the lineman come down and did line check... also change the profile from Interleaved to fast. less than 5 mins job for singnet backend ppl.
The linesman kpkb said that this is wasting his time to come down... why the call center ppl dun tell the backend to change.
Seems like both sections never communicates.. i complaint about this profile issue since 2 weeks ago till the callcenter manager level and they cant solve this simple 5 mins issue until the linesman came down and make a call direct to the backend for this request.
Something wrong with their Process. :s27:
Now in my setting in fast profile, my ping rate to local server is now 8-9ms previously on Interleaved profile, the ping rate was 25-30ms
lalalalalala
23-06-2007, 04:42 PM
Just got the lineman come down and did line check... also change the profile from Interleaved to fast. less than 5 mins job for singnet backend ppl.
The linesman kpkb said that this is wasting his time to come down... why the call center ppl dun tell the backend to change.
Seems like both sections never communicates.. i complaint about this profile issue since 2 weeks ago till the callcenter manager level and they cant solve this simple 5 mins issue until the linesman came down and make a call direct to the backend for this request.
Something wrong with their Process. :s27:
Now in my setting in fast profile, my ping rate to local server is now 8-9ms previously on Interleaved profile, the ping rate was 25-30mswhere u ping??? i'm on fast but i getting pings from 40-50 at speedtest.net
RenZero
23-06-2007, 05:20 PM
where u ping??? i'm on fast but i getting pings from 40-50 at speedtest.net
I got 20-25ms on speednet. I ping on singnet server
Y_Shun
23-06-2007, 06:24 PM
my ping hundreds over =.=
javahuat
24-06-2007, 11:11 AM
Oh, I'm also facing the "fast blinking internet led" and the frequent hanging of modem. I previously thought that it is because i just reformat my computer. Damm this modem.
Come, let do a consolidated list of ppl who have this problem, then and now! Then we can shoot singtel!
kimyong
24-06-2007, 03:06 PM
like that means u bundle internet and hp line only la???
When you sign up for mio, make sure you tell them to keep your analouge line. When they come for installation, make sure you remind them again.
Analouge line means no free in/out calls, only free in calls. Out calls are charged as per normal. but the $100 per year for analouge line is in the package. Phone is still available during blackout.
street
24-06-2007, 06:14 PM
When you sign up for mio, make sure you tell them to keep your analouge line. When they come for installation, make sure you remind them again.
Analouge line means no free in/out calls, only free in calls. Out calls are charged as per normal. but the $100 per year for analouge line is in the package. Phone is still available during blackout.
Bro, did you use the digital phone line at all?
tparry
24-06-2007, 06:24 PM
I searched this whole thread and gathered a list of people with modem hang problems.
Can people please list your location so we can determine if these problems are location specific?
Thanks in advance.
tparry: Tampines St72 (hanging since 1st June, 02:30am)
DevilChris: Tampines St72
amoeba:
javahuat:
jufryras:
thiamhui: (hanging since 3rd June)
Backlash:
cloudbp:
shanex88:
(add your name on the list if you are experiencing modem hang problems)
thiamhui
24-06-2007, 08:39 PM
I searched this whole thread and gathered a list of people with modem hang problems.
Can people please list your location so we can determine if these problems are location specific?
Thanks in advance.
amoeba:
javahuat:
jufryras:
thiamhui: Choa Chu Kang Cres (hanging since 3rd June)
Backlash:
cloudbp:
shanex88:
simcher
24-06-2007, 09:35 PM
by using a analog phone line... you are defeating the purpose of having a mio... i might as well get the broadband service itself... -_-
liangtam
24-06-2007, 09:48 PM
Now you can get to talk more without much issue from the mio box!
Read here (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1650779) :D
tparry
25-06-2007, 12:31 AM
Thanks in advance.
shanex88: Simei
amoeba: Hougang
jufryras: Punggol
Backlash:
cloudbp:
javahuat:
expression
25-06-2007, 10:39 AM
guys, i'm having this freaking "problem" lately...
initially the internet light blink when there's activity unlike now the light keeps on blinking like crazy even when i'm not connected to the router.
i checked the 2wire even logs and there are activities capture every seconds!!!
try here: http://192.168.1.254/management
password is the brand of your router =:p
look for Even log under Troubleshooting
see below... i'm not sure wat it means but i'm sure its due to the constant blinking light on the internet
Type Date/Time Event Description
INF 2007-06-25T10:37:40+08:00 fw,fwmon: src=121.45.201.116 dst=192.168.1.67 ipprot=17 sport=30604 dport=55555 Session Matches User Pinhole, Packet Passed
INF 2007-06-25T10:37:40+08:00 fw,fwmon: src=192.168.1.67 dst=121.45.201.116 ipprot=1 icmp_type=3 icmp_code=3 ICMP Dest Unreachable, session terminated
INF 2007-06-25T10:37:40+08:00 fw,fwmon: src=82.43.92.15 dst=192.168.1.67 ipprot=17 sport=37355 dport=55555 Session Matches User Pinhole, Packet Passed
INF 2007-06-25T10:37:40+08:00 fw,fwmon: src=192.168.1.67 dst=82.43.92.15 ipprot=1 icmp_type=3 icmp_code=3 ICMP Dest Unreachable, session terminated
INF 2007-06-25T10:37:42+08:00 fw,fwmon: src=142.103.201.2 dst=192.168.1.67 ipprot=6 sport=29137 dport=55555 Session Matches User Pinhole, Packet Passed
INF 2007-06-25T10:37:42+08:00 fw,fwmon: src=142.103.201.2 dst=192.168.1.67 ipprot=6 sport=29139 dport=55555 Session Matches User Pinhole, Packet Passed
INF 2007-06-25T10:37:44+08:00 fw,fwmon: src=88.156.79.132 dst=192.168.1.67 ipprot=17 sport=43333 dport=55555 Session Matches User Pinhole, Packet Passed
INF 2007-06-25T10:37:44+08:00 fw,fwmon: src=142.103.201.2 dst=192.168.1.67 ipprot=6 sport=29141 dport=55555 Session Matches User Pinhole, Packet Passed
INF 2007-06-25T10:37:44+08:00 fw,fwmon: src=192.168.1.67 dst=88.156.79.132 ipprot=1 icmp_type=3 icmp_code=3 ICMP Dest Unreachable, session terminated
INF 2007-06-25T10:37:44+08:00 fw,fwmon: src=83.29.163.63 dst=192.168.1.67 ipprot=6 sport=49345 dport=55555 Session Matches User Pinhole, Packet Passed
expression
25-06-2007, 10:46 AM
i have spoken with the MIO technical helpdesk, as usual, wasted my time telling me its normal and bla bla bla... they cant even explain the logs and ask me to contact the modem supplier
last nite i damn frustrated because my dsl kept disconnected. the helpdesk said i only got disconnected ONCE last nite and ask me to call them again when this happen again. :s27:
and i also notice the internet light will stop blinking when my router is in a "hang state". when it hung, i cant even connect to the router using wired or wireless and not to mention the phone not working too. this happen recently like once a week. i have to restart my router when this happen. im not sure is it due to the blinking thingy... :s11:
thiamhui
25-06-2007, 12:33 PM
i have spoken with the MIO technical helpdesk, as usual, wasted my time telling me its normal and bla bla bla... they cant even explain the logs and ask me to contact the modem supplier
last nite i damn frustrated because my dsl kept disconnected. the helpdesk said i only got disconnected ONCE last nite and ask me to call them again when this happen again. :s27:
and i also notice the internet light will stop blinking when my router is in a "hang state". when it hung, i cant even connect to the router using wired or wireless and not to mention the phone not working too. this happen recently like once a week. i have to restart my router when this happen. im not sure is it due to the blinking thingy... :s11:
Knowing that the pple at the technical helpdesk can't help much. I try e-mail to them from http://home.singtel.com/customer_service/cust_serv_emailus.asp
Equally bad. Took them 3 days to reply, exactly as stated according to their system's auto reply e-mail.
Same answer as what you got. According to their log, I'm having connection. Ask me to check this check that.
I replied that e-mail and attached the log which I got from http://myad1.singnet.com.sg/singnet_myaccount/detailurl?command=FROMSUMMARY&type=MAIN. Currently I got 11 sessions for this month. I got to TEACH them on how to read the log. If my connection is perfect, I should have only 1 session per month.
Still waiting for their reply. They should reply by tomorrow. Cos based on their standard, they can only reply on the 3rd working day after they receive the e-mail. Or they might call back and ask for fun when everything is over.
Anyway, I got the same problem as you got. My modem was replaced on Saturday morning. So far so good.
saha-med
25-06-2007, 12:48 PM
hey guys can u tell me how to delete all my configurations on my router.. i want to start from new and set it up for singet bb access again
tparry
25-06-2007, 04:17 PM
Thanks in advance.
tparry: Tampines St72 (hanging since 31st May, 02:30am)
javahuat: Hougang ave 3
Backlash:
cloudbp:
expression:
tparry
25-06-2007, 04:22 PM
hey guys can u tell me how to delete all my configurations on my router.. i want to start from new and set it up for singet bb access again
You reset to factory defaults.
http://192.168.1.254/mdc
The password is '2wire'
Troubleshooting > Resets
Then click 'RESET' to factory state
Warning: You'll have to re-enter your username/password to connect back to the internet, and you'll also have to setup your telephone again.
Its easy to setup the phone, but you'll need the password (you can call 1800-555-6000 and they'll give it to you)
tparry
25-06-2007, 04:28 PM
Anyway, I got the same problem as you got. My modem was replaced on Saturday morning. So far so good.
Im on my forth modem now. It was replaced on 18th June. between 3-4pm.
Its still hanging:
20070623 12:27
20070624 23:43
20070625 15:57 (30 secs into a conversation on the phone)
I did call SingNet the other day. They called me back 2 days later to say they cant replace my modem anymore. They said its not my modem, its their problem and they are looking into it.
expression
25-06-2007, 05:18 PM
Thanks in advance.
Backlash:
cloudbp:
expression:
Seng Kang Compassvale Lane
saha-med
25-06-2007, 08:06 PM
You reset to factory defaults.
http://192.168.1.254/mdc
The password is '2wire'
Troubleshooting > Resets
Then click 'RESET' to factory state
Warning: You'll have to re-enter your username/password to connect back to the internet, and you'll also have to setup your telephone again.
Its easy to setup the phone, but you'll need the password (you can call 1800-555-6000 and they'll give it to you)
im not using mio, so no need to setup phone right???
tparry
25-06-2007, 08:35 PM
im not using mio, so no need to setup phone right???
Then whats this doing in the 'mio 2wire 2700hgv-2 modem' thread? :s22:
DevilChris
25-06-2007, 08:38 PM
Im on my forth modem now. It was replaced on 18th June. between 3-4pm.
Its still hanging:
20070623 12:27
20070624 23:43
20070625 15:57 (30 secs into a conversation on the phone)
I did call SingNet the other day. They called me back 2 days later to say they cant replace my modem anymore. They said its not my modem, its their problem and they are looking into it.
finally they doing something rather then blaming on the line and modem
lalalalalala
25-06-2007, 09:45 PM
i got feeling u ask them replace modem they give u another persons faulty one...
tparry
25-06-2007, 09:59 PM
Thanks in advance.
Friend1: Tampines St33
wisco: Tampines Central 1 (near Library)
Friend2: Hougang ave 7 (Rio Vista)
expression: Seng Kang Compassvale Lane
Backlash:
cloudbp:
CoolNerd
26-06-2007, 02:37 AM
i dun really have a hanging or d/c prob...
but i upgraded from 3mb to 10mb... when i was using 3mb.... my speedtest.net was abt 2++mb.... wic was pretty close so it was ok.... but after upgrading, it registers at 3mb!!! not much of a change yet paying a lot more....
the funny thing is...when i went into the settings in the router.... it states
Connection Speed:
• Incoming: 13997 kbps
• Outgoing: 1044 kbps
wic should i believe?
tparry
26-06-2007, 02:43 AM
i dun really have a hanging or d/c prob...
but i upgraded from 3mb to 10mb... when i was using 3mb.... my speedtest.net was abt 2++mb.... wic was pretty close so it was ok.... but after upgrading, it registers at 3mb!!! not much of a change yet paying a lot more....
the funny thing is...when i went into the settings in the router.... it states
Connection Speed:
wic should i believe?
Thats good connection speed. If thats the speed your modem is connecting at, then you should be able to get that speed. If not, its something wrong on SingNets side.
Have you tried a speed test from SingNets FTP site?
connect to: ftp.singnet.com.sg
change to: /speedtest/download/
Transferred 1 file totaling 9.54 MB in 7.56 seconds (1,321.46 KBps)
change to: /speedtest/upload/
Transferred 1 file totaling 9.54 MB in 1 minutes 33 seconds (104.18 KBps)
CoolNerd
26-06-2007, 04:20 AM
using singnet ftp speedtest:
10mb received in 30.02secs 333.16kb/s
using speedtest.net:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/145390602.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
it ranges from that to 3000kb/s
but when i go into http://192.168.1.254, the router states:
Connection Speed:
shouldnt the speedtest be around 10mb/s then?
Thats good connection speed. If thats the speed your modem is connecting at, then you should be able to get that speed. If not, its something wrong on SingNets side.
Have you tried a speed test from SingNets FTP site?
connect to: ftp.singnet.com.sg
change to: /speedtest/download/
Transferred 1 file totaling 9.54 MB in 7.56 seconds (1,321.46 KBps)
change to: /speedtest/upload/
Transferred 1 file totaling 9.54 MB in 1 minutes 33 seconds (104.18 KBps)
wisco
26-06-2007, 09:57 AM
mine hangs very often this month,,,,, i live in tampines....
MIO SUCKS...
tparry
26-06-2007, 10:16 AM
using singnet ftp speedtest:
10mb received in 30.02secs 333.16kb/s
using speedtest.net:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/145390602.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
it ranges from that to 3000kb/s
but when i go into http://192.168.1.254, the router states:
Connection Speed:
shouldnt the speedtest be around 10mb/s then?
Yeah I think SingNet still have you configured for 3MBit on their side. Call them and they should be able to fix it pretty quickly id imagine.
Heres my 10MBit speedtest:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/145342027.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
thiamhui
26-06-2007, 10:40 AM
My new mio box hanged for the first time last night at 23:36:05 while I was sleeping with PC switched off.
I think we should get SingTel to give us free "Call Forward" service so that we won't miss any important incoming calls. We can't be checking the "Internet" LED to ensure that the line is working.
saha-med
26-06-2007, 10:53 AM
u mean when modem hangs u dont recieve call either... luckily i didnt choose mio
tparry
26-06-2007, 10:57 AM
u mean when modem hangs u dont recieve call either... luckily i didnt choose mio
Correct, when the modem hangs, you cant login to it with the browser, and you cant make/receive calls.
You have to unplug the power just to get it working again.
Oh, and I knew his new modem would eventually start hanging again :P
wisco
26-06-2007, 11:38 AM
Correct, when the modem hangs, you cant login to it with the browser, and you cant make/receive calls.
You have to unplug the power just to get it working again.
Oh, and I knew his new modem would eventually start hanging again :P
I so fed up now, have to power off/on at least 5-10 times a day....and of course MIO voice wont work also dont know... missed many calls...
Called them, they will come to upgrade the firmware,,, what the hack, I can do it myself, but they dont allow..
tparry
26-06-2007, 11:42 AM
I so fed up now, have to power off/on at least 5-10 times a day....and of course MIO voice wont work also dont know... missed many calls...
Called them, they will come to upgrade the firmware,,, what the hack, I can do it myself, but they dont allow..
Ive had the old firmware and the new firmware. Waste of time, it will still hang.
If the firmware isnt newer than 5.29.117.3 (what I have now), then its a waste of time.
BTW what street in Tampines do you live at? I hope its near me, then maybe theres a hardware issue.
street
26-06-2007, 12:29 PM
Today is my MIO day. Upgrade from BB1500
Phone line cut off already. Now waiting MIO guy to come.
Hope everything is fine.....
wisco
26-06-2007, 12:36 PM
Ive had the old firmware and the new firmware. Waste of time, it will still hang.
If the firmware isnt newer than 5.29.117.3 (what I have now), then its a waste of time.
BTW what street in Tampines do you live at? I hope its near me, then maybe theres a hardware issue.
Central 1, near Library
CoolNerd
26-06-2007, 01:38 PM
my bad..... i was using wireless to measure .... when i wired it to the modem it shows abt 10mb...
the helpdesk asked me to play around with the wireless channels.... i did and it really helped so from a slow 1mb..it went up to 5mb for wireless....still hoping to get 10mb with wireless...not sure if tat's possible....
to do the speedtest from singnet... here is the step by step version as via the helpdesk...
at command prompt:
ftp ftp.singnet.com.sg
speedtest
speedtest05
bin
hash
cd speedtest/download
ls
get 1meg
then take a look at the speed.........
Yeah I think SingNet still have you configured for 3MBit on their side. Call them and they should be able to fix it pretty quickly id imagine.
Heres my 10MBit speedtest:
street
26-06-2007, 03:39 PM
This is what my connection speed from my notebook (wireless).
Is it possible to get around 10MBit with wireless connection?
http://www.speedtest.net/result/145620729.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
street
26-06-2007, 03:52 PM
Think no more wireless for me :D
http://www.speedtest.net/result/145624121.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
thiamhui
26-06-2007, 04:39 PM
KNS... My modem hanged itself again... Always happen when I'm not using it... Just called the mio hotline and they will get someone to check the line...
Can all those who are having modem problems call the mio hotline and flood them with appointments???
expression
26-06-2007, 05:30 PM
KNS... My modem hanged itself again... Always happen when I'm not using it... Just called the mio hotline and they will get someone to check the line...
Can all those who are having modem problems call the mio hotline and flood them with appointments???
ok will call when it hangs again... it hung last nite but the hotline closed at 12 midnight
shanex88
26-06-2007, 07:16 PM
Heard from a source who work in singtel that the culprit is at their backend... One of their router/switch is broadcasting alot of traffic thus causing the modem to hang. They are fixing the problem now... hopefully will be solved soon.
tparry
26-06-2007, 07:48 PM
Heard from a source who work in singtel that the culprit is at their backend... One of their router/switch is broadcasting alot of traffic thus causing the modem to hang. They are fixing the problem now... hopefully will be solved soon.
Gee, and its only been happening for FOUR weeks!
Talk about speed and efficiency...
Its been almost 28hrs since my modem last hung, so maybe they've fixed mine (fingers crossed).
swng63
26-06-2007, 08:21 PM
finally they doing something rather then blaming on the line and modem
I just called the hotline to complain that my modem hangs many times over the last few weeks. Singtel said they would send someone down to check the "line". If they know it is their backend problem, why bother to send someone down? A waste of everybody's time! Looks like Singtel still cannot get their act together months after the Mio service was launched.
We all know all the stupid problems when they first launched the Mio service. Installers they engage not knowing how to install, foreign ringing tone, phone rining for 10 sec before it got cut off, etc. And they said they tested it thoroughly for 3 months before the launch.
Don't make my toes laugh, please. We are more sophisticated users than Singtel make us out to be.
Frankly, I am sick and tired of the service and wished I had not signed up for it.
tparry
26-06-2007, 08:38 PM
I just called the hotline to complain that my modem hangs many times over the last few weeks. Singtel said they would send someone down to check the "line". If they know it is their backend problem, why bother to send someone down? A waste of everybody's time! Looks like Singtel still cannot get their act together months after the Mio service was launched.
We all know all the stupid problems when they first launched the Mio service. Installers they engage not knowing how to install, foreign ringing tone, phone rining for 10 sec before it got cut off, etc. And they said they tested it thoroughly for 3 months before the launch.
Don't make my toes laugh, please. We are more sophisticated users than Singtel make us out to be.
Frankly, I am sick and tired of the service and wished I had not signed up for it.
Ive been with StarHub before too, and their CS isnt any better.
The fact is, the SingNet divisions dont communicate with each other. And secondly, they are not allowed to admit that the problem is at their side (because then you could ask for compensation). Its no different with StarHub.
anathema
26-06-2007, 08:49 PM
kaoz.. my stinknet bb 3mbps contract ending end of this month.. then i planning to get mio, cuz my hp contract can upgrade liao.. now i read this thread i dunno what to do sia.. fug.. if the mio box keep fugging hanging then internet and home phone gone fug.. what the fug...:s27:
tparry
26-06-2007, 08:50 PM
That would also explain why they switched alot of peoples channels from FAST to Interleaved (it reduced peoples speeds).
Why should we suffer when they over-subscribe and dont upgrade their infrastructure to handle the extra load.... :s27:
anathema
26-06-2007, 08:54 PM
anyone living in bedok south area using stinknet mio? any experiences? gd or bad also can.. hopefully gd cuz i thinking of getting mio..
tparry
26-06-2007, 10:41 PM
My modem hung again at 10.33pm. I guess its not fixed yet :(
swng63
26-06-2007, 10:56 PM
Ive been with StarHub before too, and their CS isnt any better.
The fact is, the SingNet divisions dont communicate with each other. And secondly, they are not allowed to admit that the problem is at their side (because then you could ask for compensation). Its no different with StarHub.
Sounds like the service providers all want the money. Quality of service can take a back seat.
I have also heard that the StingNet divisions are not communicating well. Well, that is their problem, not mine. When I make a subscription and pay for their service, they jolly well provide one that works, if not ALL the time at least MOST of the time.
Today my wife was out to run an errand in the afternoon leaving my son at home. She tried calling home and couldn't get through. That stupid modem hung again. What happens when there is an emergency? My wife can't call in and my son can't call out! It makes my blood boil just thinking how lousy a service Mio is. Doesn't SingTel need to have some guaranteed level of service? 99% up time??
Has anybody tried terminating their contract or asked for a partial refund?
liangtam
26-06-2007, 11:15 PM
Your son dosn't have a mobile phone??
Can try alternative for those on mio Voice.
simcher
26-06-2007, 11:22 PM
my most dreaded situation happened... my modem hang twice... once 2 day ago... once today... i seems like... we are all having the same problem... wow mio really sucks... should complain to IDA liao or was it MDA? =/ must let them know their stupid services sucks... and we are NOT HAPPY... and the most amazing thing is... the exchange and me... is just 50m apart(cable length) i'm living on the 2nd floor... the singnet exchange in sengkang is BELOW ME... directly below me... only 50m... and i'm having the same freaking problem? ****.
tparry
26-06-2007, 11:37 PM
Sounds like the service providers all want the money. Quality of service can take a back seat.
I have also heard that the StingNet divisions are not communicating well. Well, that is their problem, not mine. When I make a subscription and pay for their service, they jolly well provide one that works, if not ALL the time at least MOST of the time.
Today my wife was out to run an errand in the afternoon leaving my son at home. She tried calling home and couldn't get through. That stupid modem hung again. What happens when there is an emergency? My wife can't call in and my son can't call out! It makes my blood boil just thinking how lousy a service Mio is. Doesn't SingTel need to have some guaranteed level of service? 99% up time??
Has anybody tried terminating their contract or asked for a partial refund?
No, I dont want to terminate. Mine never hung for the first 6 weeks and im happy with my speeds. I just want the problem fixed ASAP!
You should demand to speak to someone higher up, and ask them to supply you with a complimentary mobile phone/account until they rectify your problem. Or get them to reimburse you in some way. If we all called up and did that, they surely would fix the problem sooner.
Still, I think some bad publicity like a story in the paper would be far more effective :P
tparry
26-06-2007, 11:45 PM
Thanks in advance.
cloudbp: Tampines St23 (since last mth?)
Backlash:
Getting alot of people with hang problems at Tampines! Isnt the major exchange at Telepark or something?
swng63
26-06-2007, 11:48 PM
Thanks in advance.
swng63: Choa Chu Kang Drive
Backlash:
swng63
27-06-2007, 12:00 AM
No, I dont want to terminate. Mine never hung for the first 6 weeks and im happy with my speeds. I just want the problem fixed ASAP!
You should demand to speak to someone higher up, and ask them to supply you with a complimentary mobile phone/account until they rectify your problem. Or get them to reimburse you in some way. If we all called up and did that, they surely would fix the problem sooner.
Still, I think some bad publicity like a story in the paper would be far more effective :P
Talk to someone higher up? I tried that months ago when the service was first launched but never got to speak to any one of authority! Writing to the papers is a good idea. But you will end up hearing things like they have thoroughly tested the system, blah, blah, blah . . . If you ask me, whoever gave the approval for launching the service ought to be shot! SingTel, if you are following this thread which I believe you are, stop telling us cock-and-bull stories and work a little harder to get the system running properly again.
tparry
27-06-2007, 12:19 AM
Its good to keep a record of everything.
Every d/c and hang problem that you have, everytime you called up SingNet, and the lame excuses they gave you, and all the times they failed to call you back.
If we can get enough people putting their name down on the list, maybe it will be enough evidence to shove down SingNets throat to make them do something about it.
First step is getting them to admit its a problem on their side.
Second step is to keep hounding them until they fix it.
People have to keep calling them. Dont just put up with it, complain on the forum, and hope they will do something about it soon. Because obviously its not working so far.
4 weeks of this crap is a joke. Its no wonder Singapores CS is like so far down the list compared to the rest of the world.
anathema
27-06-2007, 02:09 AM
Thanks in advance.
swng63: Choa Chu Kang Drive
Backlash:
are those who are getting problems with the mio service all using mio voice?
tparry
27-06-2007, 02:44 AM
are those who are getting problems with the mio service all using mio voice?
As far as I know its only people with MIO 2700HGV-2 modems.
My modem hangs even with the telephone disabled, but it appears to last longer between hangs.
tparry
27-06-2007, 03:47 AM
Sometimes when I dial a number, I get a weird long beep and it never connects.
And just now, I hung up the phone and the modem instantly reset....
So buggy.
javahuat
27-06-2007, 08:14 AM
We are like using a beta/trial service, they should pay us as service tester!!!
jufryras
27-06-2007, 08:20 AM
I had a singtel technician came down on Sunday. They explain to me that they had to upgrade the Modem Firmware and this will lessen the internet disconnection problem... Guess What, Monday my Modem Hangs once..... Tuesday Hangs twice..... Its getting worst.....
I called back the Mio service and F*$@ them,
They say that they have to now change the modem...?? will it have any difference??
I told them that now i want my Phone line to be put back to anolog...Don;t want my home phone line to get disrupted by the stoopid unstable internet connection...worst the modem hangs and everything can't be use....have to do a hard reset on the modem.!! Hopefully Singtel do something fast!!
cpuer
27-06-2007, 08:49 AM
Last night News 938 has CASE and an Singtel man called Peter Heng answering some queries from one customer called "Narish". Peter sounded like a robot with all the preprogrammed answers. He claimed that the percentage of users affected is very small and there's no compensation for Narish as this is not an industry practice. Looks like you guys need to have more patience with MIO. :)
jufryras
27-06-2007, 09:46 AM
My plan is that to put my phone line back to analog...then use other modem router and check does it have a lot of disconnection? If yes it means it is the Singtel Backend having problem...If not then it should be the 2 wire Modem is lousy!
swng63
27-06-2007, 09:56 AM
My plan is that to put my phone line back to analog...then use other modem router and check does it have a lot of disconnection? If yes it means it is the Singtel Backend having problem...If not then it should be the 2 wire Modem is lousy!
I signed up for Mio service end of January this year. After the initial problems were fixed, the service was running without any problem. That was for a good couple of months until a few weeks ago when the modem started hanging for no apparent reason. With so many of us having the same problem starting about the same time, I suspect something is done at Singtel's side, resulting in the hanging of the modem. For example, there may be a software upgrade that is incompatible with the software in the modem, etc.
tparry
27-06-2007, 09:56 AM
jufryras: No, its their standard delay tactics. They already know it wont help, because the rest of us has also been through the same process.
cpuer: 4 weeks isnt patient enough? Its not rocket science, they shouldve fixed it a long time ago. And I dont believe its only a small %. I believe its only users affected in certain areas, and from the amount of people that have responded to my MSN and another forum thread, theres heaps of people complaining of hang problems and constant disconnects. They are just sticking to their number 1 policy. DENY DENY DENY.
swng63
27-06-2007, 10:07 AM
I had a singtel technician came down on Sunday. They explain to me that they had to upgrade the Modem Firmware and this will lessen the internet disconnection problem... Guess What, Monday my Modem Hangs once..... Tuesday Hangs twice..... Its getting worst.....
I called back the Mio service and F*$@ them,
They say that they have to now change the modem...?? will it have any difference??
I told them that now i want my Phone line to be put back to anolog...Don;t want my home phone line to get disrupted by the stoopid unstable internet connection...worst the modem hangs and everything can't be use....have to do a hard reset on the modem.!! Hopefully Singtel do something fast!!
Trust me, I feel like doing the same to whoever picks up the call. But bear in mind that the poor fellow at the SingTel end is just a customer service officer, whose name might not appear anywhere in the SingTel Almighty Organization Chart. But most of the time when I call, I am so pissed that I first apologize to the person, saying something like "I know it is not your fault, but the service is really utter rubbish, a piece of sh*t, etc. ... Please feedback to your management. . .. " That poor fellow must be handling dozens of such calls everyday so be understanding lah. I wish the SingTel management would answer such calls so that we can let them have a piece of our mind.
tparry
27-06-2007, 10:14 AM
Lets all call them everytime the modem hangs. With the flood of calls to helpdesk, they should realise the problem is alot bigger than they claim it is.
swng63
27-06-2007, 10:34 AM
Lets all call them everytime the modem hangs. With the flood of calls to helpdesk, they should realise the problem is alot bigger than they claim it is.
I am quite sure they are having a flood of calls, maybe not as much as in the initial months when the service was launched but could still be significant. I remember having to wait for about 20 mins on the line to talk to someone back in January. Yesterday, it was about 10 mins around 7 pm.
But seriously, what do you expect them to say? Same old story lah. They would just say that they would send someone down to CHECK THE LINE. In January, I told them not to come. I have already made an appointment for some one to come to my place this time round but I am wondering if I should cancel it. I am quite sure it is not the line and I am hoping that the person can upgrade the software/firmware in the modem. But since the modem is connected to their network, can't any software/firmware upgrade be carried out remotely? If this person is not going to be of much help, why let him come? It will just add to SingTel's operational cost and guess who is going to pay for that? Two more days to the appointment, let me sit on it a little more and decide if I should just cancel the appointment and simply pray hard that the modem hanging problem will miraculously go away, like those other Mio service problems in those early days.
thiamhui
27-06-2007, 10:56 AM
I am quite sure they are having a flood of calls, maybe not as much as in the initial months when the service was launched but could still be significant. I remember having to wait for about 20 mins on the line to talk to someone back in January. Yesterday, it was about 10 mins around 7 pm.
But seriously, what do you expect them to say? Same old story lah. They would just say that they would send someone down to CHECK THE LINE. In January, I told them not to come. I have already made an appointment for some one to come to my place this time round but I am wondering if I should cancel it. I am quite sure it is not the line and I am hoping that the person can upgrade the software/firmware in the modem. But since the modem is connected to their network, can't any software/firmware upgrade be carried out remotely? If this person is not going to be of much help, why let him come? It will just add to SingTel's operational cost and guess who is going to pay for that? Two more days to the appointment, let me sit on it a little more and decide if I should just cancel the appointment and simply pray hard that the modem hanging problem will miraculously go away, like those other Mio service problems in those early days.
Can let us know the result after your line check? My appointment is on Saturday late afternoon.
If your result is ok, chances is that mine will be ok too.
Btw, when does your modem normally hang? My modem hang when I'm not using it. Something is not right here...
Details of the modem hang date/time are as followed :-
(From https://myad1.singnet.com.sg/singnet_myaccount/mya_useridsubmit.jsp?option=ConsumerBroadband)
04/06/2007 07:33:30 - In office
06/06/2007 22:03:25 - Not browsing/calling
17/06/2007 15:54:02 - Wondering around CCK
20/06/2007 04:04:28 - Sleeping
21/06/2007 02:47:24 - Sleeping
21/06/2007 16:58:16 - In office
21/06/2007 22:40:33 - Not browsing/calling
(Modem replaced on 23/06/2007)
25/06/2007 23:36:05 - Sleeping
SingNet Connection Usage Summary last updated: 26-Jun-07 01:28:07.
swng63
27-06-2007, 11:05 AM
Can let us know the result after your line check? My appointment is on Saturday late afternoon.
If your result is ok, chances is that mine will be ok too.
Btw, when does your modem normally hang? My modem hang when I'm not using it. Something is not right here...
Can, no problem. But only if I decide to let them come. I am quite certain there is no line problem since so many of us have the same problem. If it is a line problem, the service will be down longer. For example, there will be no connection at all or intermittent connections. But right now, the connection seems to be good most of the time, when the modem is not hung.
Yes, my modem hangs most of the time when we are not connected or using the phone. It only hung on me once when I was connected.
The data communication between the modem and the SingTel backend might be causing the modem to hang.
tparry
27-06-2007, 11:09 AM
They send someone down to delay you, in the hopes that it will fix itself in the meantime. Its always taken me 4-7 days to get a technician down each time....
The last time they told me they had to send down a specialist, and theres not many of them, and the next appointment was in 7 days time... when he turned up, it was some old guy who looked as if he'd never used a computer before. He didnt listen to a word I said. He just enabled my telephone again and said it was all fixed. I made him replace the modem again, but too bad it still hangs.
thiamhui: Trust me, its a waste of time. You'll see...
Next time you speak to helpdesk, let them know that you know about all their problems, because others have been complaining of the same thing on "hardwarezone". They know that word well.
And none of your hang times coincide with mine.
swng63
27-06-2007, 11:24 AM
They send someone down to delay you, in the hopes that it will fix itself in the meantime. Its always taken me 4-7 days to get a technician down each time....
The last time they told me they had to send down a specialist, and theres not many of them, and the next appointment was in 7 days time... when he turned up, it was some old guy who looked as if he'd never used a computer before. He didnt listen to a word I said. He just enabled my telephone again and said it was all fixed. I made him replace the modem again, but too bad it still hangs.
thiamhui: Trust me, its a waste of time. You'll see...
Next time you speak to helpdesk, let them know that you know about all their problems, because others have been complaining of the same thing on "hardwarezone". They know that word well.
And none of your hang times coincide with mine.
BTW, how do you guys know when exactly your modem hangs? Did you get the information from the modem itself? I forgot the URL for accessing/configuring the modem.
tparry
27-06-2007, 11:29 AM
Im testing my modem by making phone calls. Sometimes when I call my own SingTel mobile phone, I get a long beep (like I rejected the call), or it says 'the singtel customer is not available'.
Other times the call will drop out, but that only happens to me when im on the phone with SingNet support (they probably cut me off on purpose...).
tparry
27-06-2007, 11:30 AM
BTW, how do you guys know when exactly your modem hangs? Did you get the information from the modem itself? I forgot the URL for accessing/configuring the modem.
I personally write mine down on a piece of paper each time.
Connection Usage Utility:
http://myad1.singnet.com.sg/singnet_myaccount/mya_userlogin.jsp?option=ConsumerBroadband
swng63
27-06-2007, 11:37 AM
I personally write mine down on a piece of paper each time.
Connection Usage Utility:
http://myad1.singnet.com.sg/singnet_myaccount/mya_userlogin.jsp?option=ConsumerBroadband
So, it may not be the exact time when the modem hangs then, but rather the time when you noticed that the modem is hung.
tparry
27-06-2007, 11:41 AM
1 N.A. 16/06/2007 13:37:31 17/06/2007 10:40:00 21:2 21:2
2 N.A. 17/06/2007 10:42:43 17/06/2007 19:01:20 8:19 29:21
3 N.A. 17/06/2007 19:01:31 18/06/2007 10:17:10 15:16 44:37
4 N.A. 18/06/2007 10:17:13 18/06/2007 14:26:46 4:10 48:46
5 N.A. 18/06/2007 14:26:16 18/06/2007 14:50:35 0:24 49:11
6 N.A. 18/06/2007 14:51:08 22/06/2007 08:25:51 89:35 138:46
7 N.A. 22/06/2007 08:52:49 22/06/2007 08:58:13 0:5 138:51
8 N.A. 22/06/2007 08:58:48 23/06/2007 12:33:58 27:35 166:26
9 N.A. 23/06/2007 14:26:31 23/06/2007 15:59:24 1:33 167:59
10 N.A. 23/06/2007 15:59:54 23/06/2007 16:24:10 0:24 168:23
11 N.A. 23/06/2007 16:24:41 23/06/2007 16:25:06 0:1 168:24
12 N.A. 23/06/2007 16:25:37 23/06/2007 16:27:35 0:2 168:26
13 N.A. 23/06/2007 16:27:37 23/06/2007 16:51:17 0:24 168:49
14 N.A. 23/06/2007 17:13:41 23/06/2007 22:23:27 5:10 173:59
15 N.A. 23/06/2007 22:24:02 24/06/2007 23:45:32 25:22 199:21
16 N.A. 24/06/2007 23:45:34 25/06/2007 16:01:15 16:16 215:37
17 N.A. 25/06/2007 16:01:19 26/06/2007 22:36:56 30:36 246:13
18 N.A. 26/06/2007 22:36:58 27/06/2007 03:41:46 5:5 251:18
NOTE: Some of the short ones is me manually reseting due to the modems ports not forwarding properly, and reseting to factory default
Oh, and it just hung 5 mins ago while I was typing this....
Im guessing its because I just spent 10 mins making phonecalls to my own phone.
tparry
27-06-2007, 11:44 AM
So, it may not be the exact time when the modem hangs then, but rather the time when you noticed that the modem is hung.
Nah im running mIRC which is using a 60 second timer to check my connection status.
So I know what time it hung when I wasnt around.
I work from home, so most of the time im sitting at the computer when it hangs.
22:34:39 * Disconnected (last night)
03:40:29 * Disconnected
11:33:50 * Disconnected
And my modem just hung again for no reason... 11:49
And again at 13:24...
thiamhui
27-06-2007, 12:11 PM
I just make up my mind to give up on the digital line. Just made another call to mio hotline to terminate the free VAS. Don't want to give them any chance to bill me exact.
Luckily the mobile line got free incoming calls.
tparry
27-06-2007, 02:06 PM
I just make up my mind to give up on the digital line. Just made another call to mio hotline to terminate the free VAS. Don't want to give them any chance to bill me exact.
Luckily the mobile line got free incoming calls.
I think i'll have to do the same thing.
I just called 1800-555-6000 (Mio helpdesk), and after waiting for 10 minutes, the call was dropped.... Ive had enough man...
tparry
27-06-2007, 02:26 PM
I finally got through to Mio support.
I told him my entire problem again, and reminded him that alot of other people on HWZ are complaining about the same problem, having their lines checked, firmwares upgraded, modems changed etc.
I asked him to check on the progress of my problem.
He got back to me and said he wants to send someone down to change my modem again!
That would mean a 5th modem. What a joke man...
I told him unless its a different modem or newer firmware, im not letting him change the modem again. Not to mention the appointment isnt until 4th July!!!
Anyway, he eventually changed his story and said the technician will come down to check the exchange. He will call me again later with an appointment. I requested he sends 'Din' down, since hes a really good technician thats been here to get it working properly when I first installed it.
They are doing nothing but using delay tactics. It pisses me off.
thiamhui
27-06-2007, 02:59 PM
According to the joker at the mio hotline, only 20% of the mio customers are having problems...
I'm going to join that 80%... Not that my mio plan is working well... It's just that I have give up on SingTel...
tparry
27-06-2007, 05:27 PM
According to the joker at the mio hotline, only 20% of the mio customers are having problems...
I'm going to join that 80%... Not that my mio plan is working well... It's just that I have give up on SingTel...
ONLY 20%?!?! Thats quite ALOT. Id consider that a serious business problem...
Sanjiv from helpdesk just called me back. I managed to get an appointment on monday. So they've managed to shut me up for another 5 days. Nothing but a waste of mine and their time.
javahuat
27-06-2007, 09:40 PM
Every 10 Mio user, there are 2 ppl that call the service center to indicate that the service cannot work, 3 that are fed up and stop calling, 4 that did not realise that their service are down as they are busy with work. AND 1 who is a satisfied customer, who is also a singnet employee!
simcher
27-06-2007, 09:49 PM
omg! 20% is hell of a whole lot! it's too much! we expect less than 5%!
swng63
28-06-2007, 09:35 AM
Every 10 Mio user, there are 2 ppl that call the service center to indicate that the service cannot work, 3 that are fed up and stop calling, 4 that did not realise that their service are down as they are busy with work. AND 1 who is a satisfied customer, who is also a singnet employee!
Haha, I like this one. I agree with you totally.
SingTel is a bloody joke if you ask me. Deplorable service. Tell me, who on earth would roll out a service having:
1. A ring tone that is totally different from that Singaporeans are used to. One that sounded like our engaged tone! I have got people calling me who hung up thinking the line was engaged.
2. An incoming call that rings for only about 10 seconds before being cut off.
Whoever tested the system clearly did not put very much thoughts into it. And they say they have tested the system thoroughly!!! You don't need an expert to say such features are not acceptable. Anyway, thank goodness they have since fixed those. But instead of leaving a working system alone, they must be meddling with it yet again. I can't help but wonder if SingTel really knows what they are doing. Now the modems are hanging!!! What will they think of next???? Mind you, this is not a hifi set, a TV set, even a PC where hanging is arguably tolerable. This is a TELEPHONE system and people do use it for EMERGENCY purposes!!!!!! And how often do you see your hifi or TV hanging? NEVER!!! So there is no reason for the Telephone system, which is by far MUCH MUCH MORE IMPORTANT, to fail. Wake up your idea SingTel. We are all PISSED.
expression
28-06-2007, 10:32 AM
we should get someone from the higher level in SinTel to read this forum... i'm quite pissed with their services as well. i wanna terminate my MIO if not because of the 2-year contract
javahuat
28-06-2007, 10:59 AM
we should get someone from the higher level in SinTel to read this forum... i'm quite pissed with their services as well. i wanna terminate my MIO if not because of the 2-year contract
Everytime the technician come to your house, show him this forum.
Streetwise
28-06-2007, 11:19 AM
Well, u can terminate ur contract...u just need to pay the penalty.
Taken from Singtel website, terms and conditions:
Termination of mio Plan
8.1 The Customer may request to terminate the mio Plan by calling SingTel Mobile Customer Service Hotline, 1800 555 6000 to specify which of the Service(s) that the Customer wishes to terminate.
8.2 If the Customer terminates one or more of the Services, the Customer will no longer be eligible for the Mio Plan. The Customer’s Mio Plan will be automatically terminated in such an event.
8.3 Where the Customer terminates the Mio Plan or where the Customer becomes ineligible to continue the Mio Plan resulting in automatic termination, the Customer shall be liable for all outstanding and applicable fees and charges pertaining to the Mio Plan, including premature termination charges.
8.4 There will be no termination charges if Customer cancels the Mio Plan before all the Services are activated. The Customer will however be liable to pay a cancellation charge, being 3 months’ charges for the Mio Plan that Customer signs up for and an additional charge.
8.5 For the avoidance of doubt, termination of the Mio Plan does not result in automatic termination of all Services save for such Services expressly requested by the Customer to be terminated. Any remaining Services including the supplementary SingTel Mobile lines of the Customer will be charged at prevailing prices/rates at the time of termination of the Mio Plan.
expression
28-06-2007, 11:51 AM
Everytime the technician come to your house, show him this forum.
haha... that will be a nice idea
i don wan the tech to come over as i dont think they can solve this issue
teemie
28-06-2007, 02:59 PM
hey, so i'm not the only one facing modem crash problems?
mine's been crashing at least 2-3 times per day, sometimes more. I've had 2 months of trouble free mio service until 31 May when it started crashing. At the same time, I noticed that the modem's internet light keeps flashing.
singtel technician claimed that the flashing is because they're trying to keep track of the modem, blah blah... i'm wondering if that keeping track is what's actually causing the modem to crash out?
Seems like the dsl line is actually flooded with broadcast/multicast data that the modem cannot handle.
anyone has any solid leads on this?
tim.
teemie
28-06-2007, 03:01 PM
can i check if it's only mio voice users that are affected?
i'm thinking of converting back to analogue line, but i'm wondering if the router will still crash out?
I'm on the Fast and not Interleaved channel interestingly.
tim
DSL Connection Details
Downstream Rate: 13996 kbps
Upstream Rate: 1048 kbps
Current Noise Margin: 21.2 dB (Downstream) 6.5 dB (Upstream)
Current Attenuation: 14.8 dB (Downstream) 5.6 dB (Upstream)
Current Output Power: 17.9 dBm (Downstream) 11.5 dBm (Upstream)
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.