View Full Version : When will iPhone be sold in Singapore?
Da_Hamster
27-06-2007, 06:35 AM
Any estimates?
bangkern
27-06-2007, 08:53 AM
I doubt it.
cannotliao
27-06-2007, 09:10 AM
same like itunes store, wait long long.
gambit97
27-06-2007, 10:03 AM
don't get such as outdated phone.
looks good but without substance.
and it will be expensive.
- camera can only take photos but not video
- cannot copy, cut and paste text
- bluetooth no A2DP support
- mp3 cannot be used as ringtone
- no 3G
- no MMS
- no voice dialing
cannotliao
27-06-2007, 10:35 AM
iPeople are not going for tech, they are paying for life style.
Ysatis
27-06-2007, 12:49 PM
i thought the news said 29th june will be out ?
DigDub
27-06-2007, 12:51 PM
i thought the news said 29th june will be out ?
in usa. asia have to wait till at least 2008.
animeonegai
27-06-2007, 04:44 PM
it suxs.. i condemn it.. ya!
Ysatis
27-06-2007, 04:48 PM
in usa. asia have to wait till at least 2008.wah lan why so long
DigDub
27-06-2007, 06:54 PM
wah lan why so long
bcos apple exclusive deal with cingular to let them have it first.
publiceducator
27-06-2007, 10:47 PM
It's just an iPOD with phone functionality and superb touch screen, that's all!
nathetamine
27-06-2007, 11:18 PM
if now import into sg, will be able to use anot?
Evoluti0n11
28-06-2007, 12:11 AM
its locked onto AT&T network
UnforgivenVengeance
28-06-2007, 12:47 AM
And don't forget, the iPhone cannot change battery. :s27:
p9939068
29-06-2007, 02:50 AM
don't get such as outdated phone.
looks good but without substance.
and it will be expensive.
- camera can only take photos but not video
- cannot copy, cut and paste text
- bluetooth no A2DP support
- mp3 cannot be used as ringtone
- no 3G
- no MMS
- no voice dialing - camera can only take photos but not video: Wrong (according to an AT&T employee)
- cannot copy, cut and paste text: Wrong (iPhone to be released with basic MS Office capabilities, like downloading and reading MS Word from emails)
- bluetooth no A2DP support: Wrong. iPhone supports A2DP headsets. It's BT2.0, which include EDR
- mp3 cannot be used as ringtone: Right (but iPhone's market isn't for teenagers who use MP3s as ringtones)
- no 3G: Right - strong rumours says iPhone 2.0 will be released in asia very shortly after 1.0's asia-release. 2.0 will be 3G
- no MMS: Wrong (according to AT&T employee)
- no voice dialing: Never asked, but who uses voice dialing?
And don't forget, the iPhone cannot change battery. :s27:So, subscribe to iCare.
asia have to wait till at least 2008.In time for asia by 2008, not at least 2008. Hongkong and Taiwan may be the first 2 countries in asia to get it. Singapore will be close.
It's just an iPOD with phone functionality and superb touch screen, that's all!Well, "that's all" or not is all up to the subjective individual, isn't it? I have an Atom Life, and I think its just a mobile programming tool with phone functionality, mediocre audio/video playback, and lousy touchscreen.
DigDub
29-06-2007, 10:06 AM
- camera can only take photos but not video: Wrong (according to an AT&T employee)
- cannot copy, cut and paste text: Wrong (iPhone to be released with basic MS Office capabilities, like downloading and reading MS Word from emails)
- bluetooth no A2DP support: Wrong. iPhone supports A2DP headsets. It's BT2.0, which include EDR
- mp3 cannot be used as ringtone: Right (but iPhone's market isn't for teenagers who use MP3s as ringtones)
- no 3G: Right - strong rumours says iPhone 2.0 will be released in asia very shortly after 1.0's asia-release. 2.0 will be 3G
So, subscribe to iCare.
In time for asia by 2008, not at least 2008. Hongkong and Taiwan may be the first 2 countries in asia to get it. Singapore will be close.
Well, "that's all" or not is all up to the subjective individual, isn't it? I have an Atom Life, and I think its just a mobile programming tool with phone functionality, mediocre audio/video playback, and lousy touchscreen.
ok well, the typical 'apple decides what you should need' syndrome. iphone's main market probably is the teenagers, if ipods and the flashy interface are anything to go by. if the main market is the working adult/businessman, than probably 3g would be useful, but its not there. also voice dialing for driving adults (i.e. non-teenagers) would be useful as well. also, the ability to read and edit are different. so the reasonings are at best, contradicting. also i read that it takes quite a few steps to make a phone call, and there is no way to search the contact list except to scroll.
libertizer
29-06-2007, 10:35 AM
if iPhone ever launch in SG next year, it probably be:
1. tie exclusively to 1 of the telcos
2. bundled with very expensive voice/data plan: at least >60 bucks
3. Require iTune to transfer songs (100% likely)
4. Cost >1k with expensive plans
5. 3G (local telcos like to promote 3G hp, but doubt it be 3.5G)
6. Makes Steve Jobs laugh his arse off while counting money
halocast
29-06-2007, 10:42 AM
i am waiting for iphone 2 :D
already in the works rumour
DigDub
29-06-2007, 10:59 AM
if iPhone ever launch in SG next year, it probably be:
1. tie exclusively to 1 of the telcos
2. bundled with very expensive voice/data plan: at least >60 bucks
3. Require iTune to transfer songs (100% likely)
4. Cost >1k with expensive plans
5. 3G (local telcos like to promote 3G hp, but doubt it be 3.5G)
6. Makes Steve Jobs laugh his arse off while counting money
that won't happen, cos IDA does not allow phones sold locally to be locked to a telco. :D
libertizer
29-06-2007, 12:37 PM
ya, it wont be lock to the telco, but it can be exclusively sold by a particular telco. e.g SE blue Z610i is exclusively sold by Singtel only.
gambit97
29-06-2007, 03:15 PM
- camera can only take photos but not video: Wrong (according to an AT&T employee)
So, subscribe to iCare.
In time for asia by 2008, not at least 2008. Hongkong and Taiwan may be the first 2 countries in asia to get it. Singapore will be close.
Well, "that's all" or not is all up to the subjective individual, isn't it? I have an Atom Life, and I think its just a mobile programming tool with phone functionality, mediocre audio/video playback, and lousy touchscreen.
with bluetooth 2.0 doesn't mean it support a2dp. its in the software not hardware.but cnet and other site reviewed that there is no stereo bluetooth profile.
http://reviews.cnet.com/smart-phones/apple-iphone-4gb/4505-6452_7-32180293.html
http://www.engadgetmobile.com/2007/06/26/iphone-facts-from-the-first-reviews/
http://www.engadgetmobile.com/2007/06/27/iphones-missing-ichat-mms-etc-coming-via-software-updates/
:s11:
animeonegai
29-06-2007, 03:28 PM
in short, iphone is a phone that i will condemn.. end :D
p9939068
29-06-2007, 04:41 PM
About iPhone having MMS, i take that back - it doesn't. Granted, iPhone isn't for business, which is why I see myself keeping my atom life and flame. It is also not for teenagers, more for people who like gadgets and have some money to spare. Outside of phone functionality and all, it's a very cool gadget.
I don't think iPhone will be tied to a data plan in singapore (wireless@sg is everywhere), but if they do, it may be a good thing. singapore telco's data plans are outrageously expensive (i'm using the 3G unlimited data cube plan from singtel, and it costs almost 80. non-3g costs more than 90), so maybe this will bring the prices down abit.
Version 1 will never be 3G. If there's no exclusive deal with any local telcos, then it will certainly cost more than $1000, cus it'll be an all round contractless phone.
dredd
30-06-2007, 02:58 AM
pple here are queuing liao...
http://i184.photobucket.com/albums/x67/dredd75/DSC00263.jpg
http://i184.photobucket.com/albums/x67/dredd75/DSC00264.jpg
Haonan
30-06-2007, 03:09 AM
in short, iphone is a phone that i will condemn.. end :D
Haha, I stand by you also. Condemn all the way ahhhh. ^ ^
beamermx
17-07-2007, 01:11 AM
Condemn iPhone all you want, but I go with what Steve Jobs said one time when he first introduced the iPhone concept. As far as the current 'smartphones' goes, they ain't that smart. Too many menus and the interface is f**ked up. QWERTY keyboards on a phone? I mean, c'mon!
As far as phone brands are concerned, my last Nokia was a 6260. I hated it. The same Symbian interface. Forget Windows Mobile. The only glitches you hear and read about the iPhone is that because the networks in US is not really well-adapted to the iPhone's interface. Given that networks are constantly improving that will soon change. The iPhone is cutting edge technology. And if you notice (I bet you guys condemning it don't) for awhile phone companies don't see iPhone as a threat. But its patented touch screen technology alone is ahead of its time.
Apple is never really known for great hardware. I can safely and confidently say that. I read and experienced EVERYTHING Apple after I converted to Mac from Windows. Well almost. But its software and ideas are really way ahead of its time.
I experience hundreds of downtime of all my years using Windows from version 3.11 to XP. Mac OS X? Seldom. I mean, a computer is a computer. It will break down.
But as far as the iPhone is concerned. Some of you may condemn it. But the same people who are grumbling about Nokia are STILL the same one who run out to by every one of their new releases.
I say it once and I say it again in many forums. Apple innovates, Windows copies. Every other phone companies is now racing to match iPhone's interface.
CNET Review says:
The bottom line: Despite some important missing features, a slow data network, and call quality that doesn't always deliver, the Apple iPhone sets a new benchmark for an integrated cell phone and MP3 player.
publiceducator
17-07-2007, 02:23 AM
As far as the current 'smartphones' goes, they ain't that smart. Too many menus and the interface is f**ked up. QWERTY keyboards on a phone? I mean, c'mon!
Ever tried typing on a non iphone smartphone without qwerty keyboard? lol. I'd rather get a 'Too many menus and the interface is f**ked up' smart phone than a pseudo smart phone. Ever use WM5 before? interface f**ked up? lol. :yawn:
progene
17-07-2007, 04:14 PM
yah...who cares abt iphone...wait till it comes to our shore den compare ba.. each party can say their gd points or bad points...but wad's the point..all of us cannot used the phone yet...
cannotliao
17-07-2007, 05:12 PM
Condemn iPhone all you want, but I go with what Steve Jobs said one time when he first introduced the iPhone concept. As far as the current 'smartphones' goes, they ain't that smart. Too many menus and the interface is f**ked up. QWERTY keyboards on a phone? I mean, c'mon!
As far as phone brands are concerned, my last Nokia was a 6260. I hated it. The same Symbian interface. Forget Windows Mobile. The only glitches you hear and read about the iPhone is that because the networks in US is not really well-adapted to the iPhone's interface. Given that networks are constantly improving that will soon change. The iPhone is cutting edge technology. And if you notice (I bet you guys condemning it don't) for awhile phone companies don't see iPhone as a threat. But its patented touch screen technology alone is ahead of its time.
Apple is never really known for great hardware. I can safely and confidently say that. I read and experienced EVERYTHING Apple after I converted to Mac from Windows. Well almost. But its software and ideas are really way ahead of its time.
I experience hundreds of downtime of all my years using Windows from version 3.11 to XP. Mac OS X? Seldom. I mean, a computer is a computer. It will break down.
But as far as the iPhone is concerned. Some of you may condemn it. But the same people who are grumbling about Nokia are STILL the same one who run out to by every one of their new releases.
I say it once and I say it again in many forums. Apple innovates, Windows copies. Every other phone companies is now racing to match iPhone's interface.
CNET Review says:
The bottom line: Despite some important missing features, a slow data network, and call quality that doesn't always deliver, the Apple iPhone sets a new benchmark for an integrated cell phone and MP3 player.Join Date: Jul 2006 Posts: 1
he,she give his,her virgin post to iphone. :s34:
elementz
17-07-2007, 05:34 PM
he,she give his,her virgin post to iphone. :s34:
For Steve Jobs, its definitely worth the "sacrifice"...
publiceducator
18-07-2007, 02:27 PM
Facts of i-phone, technically inferior to Asian touch screen phones
The following are some of the facts summarised by Foxnews. Think before you buy this gadget which is not so technically advance compared to products from Asian phone makers like Samsung (a 7.2Mbps HSDPA phone F700 with touch screen and keyboard) or LG Prada which was the first touch screen phone.
—Most cell phone- and electronics-industry experts expect prices for the iPhone to drop significantly by Christmas.
—The iPhone has a 3.5-inch (measured diagonally) full-color LCD touchscreen. There is no physical keyboard; virtual number keypads or text keyboards pop up as required. Applications include MP3 and video playback, Apple's Safari Web browser, e-mail, text messaging, photo viewing, as well as cell-phone functions. It has a 2-megapixel digital camera, but does not as of now record video.
—Voice connectivity is via AT&T's GSM network. Internet connectivity is via AT&T's EDGE data network or local Wi-Fi hotspots; the initial versions of the iPhone will not connect to AT&T's faster HSDPA data network, though that will almost certainly be included in later versions. Bluetooth connectivity will link the iPhone to similarly enabled devices, but it is not clear if Internet access can be achieved this way. Nor is it clear whether some sort of Voice over Internet Protocol telephone service might be possible through the Safari Web browser.
—In a first for the cell-phone industry, the iPhone will not be activated in-store. Instead, each end user will need an online iTunes Store account to activate one of several AT&T service plans. Holders of existing AT&T wireless plans will be able to keep their old numbers, but will still need iTunes. The iPhone will not work, even as a music player, without cellular-service activation.
—The iPhone is compatible with iTunes running on Mac OS X 10.4.10, Windows XP Home or Professional with Service Pack 2 and all versions of Windows Vista except Windows Vista Home Basic. Connected PCs will need a USB 2.0
http://hdtvsg.blogspot.com/2007/06/facts-of-i-phone-technically-inferior.html#links
seowbin
18-07-2007, 03:13 PM
if me not wrong is early to mid year 2008
something like that.. 2nd quarter period
i remember i saw from my friend's friend blog.. who went apple to attachment before..
they have a presentation on this new product before it was lanuch..
jnaina
23-07-2007, 11:25 AM
Just got my iPhone into Singapore last week and it is fantastic!. Blows away N95 and makes all the other phone look like a cheap toy. this is indeed a revolutionary device and will definitely shake up the mobile world.
http://img340.imageshack.us/my.php?image=pic00162rx5.jpg
publiceducator
23-07-2007, 11:44 AM
the real iphone review http://www.thebestpageintheuniverse.net/c.cgi?u=iphone
elementz
23-07-2007, 11:48 AM
Just got my iPhone into Singapore last week and it is fantastic!. Blows away N95 and makes all the other phone look like a cheap toy. this is indeed a revolutionary device and will definitely shake up the mobile world.
http://img340.imageshack.us/my.php?image=pic00162rx5.jpg
I do not doubt that the built and fluidity of the software would probably beat N95.
But in terms of technologies/features .... think still a gap..
zephyrespen
07-09-2007, 06:32 PM
So, subscribe to iCare.
with the launch of itunes Wifi store and the new itunes software, customised software and be made and used on iphone
a itunes singapore store is slated for first half of 2008 with the asian launch... nokia music store is starting around then too here
jujubeans
12-09-2007, 08:33 PM
rike tat how?
can buy bo?
clkweb
13-09-2007, 04:02 PM
I just started using iPhone on M1 network this week and this device is simply amazing. To those guys criticizing the phone, wait until you get your hands on this phone. With all the good things you can say about it, there would not any time to say anything bad about it anymore.
Key features that I liked!
1. Even on direct sunlight, the clarity and visibility of the screen is great.
2. Great iPod features
3. Excellent user interface
4. Voice call quality is great
5. The software is damn fast. No other among the 30+ phones that I've used perform at this speed.
6. Internet browsing is a great experience
How I got this phone and unlocked it to work with M1.
1. Buy it on ebay for USD625 from a seller in US. 3 days after I bought it, apple dropped the price to USD399 for the 8GB model.
2. Paid USD55 for shipping.
3. Paid 7% GST to customs in Singapore Post brance in Paya Lebar! Yes, they held the phone so I cleared it from there.
4. Unlocked the iphone using http://iphone.unlock.no or http://www.freeiphoneunlock.com/unlock.
5. Happily using it in M1 network at the moment:)
If you can't wait and want to buy from Singapore....here is my suggestion
1. Grab it from ebay if you know how to find the trusted sellers..
2. Register to www.comgateway.com. This will enable you to purchase directly with the Apple online store in US ..that is http://store.apple.com
Hope this helps!
Cheers:)
lenenkie
13-09-2007, 09:30 PM
Wow I am very impressed with your resourcefulness and perserverance in getting the iPhone!
BTW i went to comgateway... i saw the following...
Singapore
All American Express Cardmembers may register by clicking the Registration tab on the menu bar above.
If you are a holder of a DBS or POSB Singapore MasterCard, you may apply to register by sending a SMS to DBS at 76060 with the following message:
com[SPACE]NRIC[SPACE]NAME
or call DBS at 1800 111 1111.
I smsed 76060 to no avail. I called up DBS, they told me they have NO SUCH SERVICE
So... is there another way to buy from apple store? The links are all good... I downloaded all the files required.. all i need is the phone now...
Will get my hands on one and update once i get the unlock
Cheers!
I just started using iPhone on M1 network this week and this device is simply amazing. To those guys criticizing the phone, wait until you get your hands on this phone. With all the good things you can say about it, there would not any time to say anything bad about it anymore.
Key features that I liked!
1. Even on direct sunlight, the clarity and visibility of the screen is great.
2. Great iPod features
3. Excellent user interface
4. Voice call quality is great
5. The software is damn fast. No other among the 30+ phones that I've used perform at this speed.
6. Internet browsing is a great experience
How I got this phone and unlocked it to work with M1.
1. Buy it on ebay for USD625 from a seller in US. 3 days after I bought it, apple dropped the price to USD399 for the 8GB model.
2. Paid USD55 for shipping.
3. Paid 7% GST to customs in Singapore Post brance in Paya Lebar! Yes, they held the phone so I cleared it from there.
4. Unlocked the iphone using http://iphone.unlock.no or http://www.freeiphoneunlock.com/unlock.
5. Happily using it in M1 network at the moment:)
If you can't wait and want to buy from Singapore....here is my suggestion
1. Grab it from ebay if you know how to find the trusted sellers..
2. Register to www.comgateway.com. This will enable you to purchase directly with the Apple online store in US ..that is http://store.apple.com
Hope this helps!
Cheers:)
lenenkie
14-09-2007, 10:22 AM
I just ordered my iphone last night through apple online store.
My fren will bring it back for me. I shipped it to his USA address.
USD 425. Everything in. Bring back maybe need to pay another 7% GST.
Will be unlocking it in Singapore
Stay tuned!
bennyb
14-09-2007, 11:08 AM
so vpost cannot?
comwhizcjscjs
14-09-2007, 11:26 AM
so vpost cannot?
why cannot use vpost? SG credit card they dun accept?
hemants
14-09-2007, 04:39 PM
So it is possible to buy the iphone from the US with the contract, get it here, and unlock the phone use it with any service provider here??
absolutcamper
14-09-2007, 05:29 PM
So it is possible to buy the iphone from the US with the contract, get it here, and unlock the phone use it with any service provider here??No, its impossible! Why would you think that?
http://homepage.mac.com/chong.kenneth/iph.jpg
master_audio
14-09-2007, 05:51 PM
Play with an iPhone and very impressed with the UI, but still I won't buy it. the camera phone just can't make it. Plus, no MMS support is a no no. And most importantly, I hate iTunes.
hemants
14-09-2007, 06:30 PM
No, its impossible! Why would you think that?
k thnks alot for responding...
do all the features work with singtel?
comwhizcjscjs
14-09-2007, 06:46 PM
No, its impossible! Why would you think that?
lol... now buy iphone still need plan?
publiceducator
14-09-2007, 06:50 PM
so vpost cannot?
why cannot use vpost? SG credit card they dun accept?
The last time I tried, they refused to process anything with a battery in it. Best to ask before ordering if you're going to use Vpost. :crazy:
- perfumes / colognes / eau de toilette / fragrance spray
- nail polish / nail polish remover
- spray / aerosol cans / compressed gas cylinders
- fuels / gasoline / gas torches
- lighters with fuel / lighter fluid
- turpentine / paint thinner
- lithium batteries / loose batteries
- lithium batteries contained or pack with equipment
- speakers
- alcohol products / beverages
- flammable / toxic contents products
- cellphones
https://www.vpost.com.sg/helpdesk/prohibitedItems_pop.html
lenenkie
19-09-2007, 04:40 PM
U can buy the phone online via apple.com/store.
Then u will need someone to bring it back from US. I am not sure if u can post it back. But according to the previous post, its possible to get it posted back
There are a few shipping companies which will let u register a "US address" with them, so tt when u order from apple, apple can send it to your "US address". This "US address" is actually the company which will ship it back to singapore for u for about 55 USD
If u get someone to bring back for u, then u will save 55 USD. Regarding the restricted item VPOST issue, there is a post in this thread in which a person collected his iphone from paya lebar post office... cause they detained the iphone there. He didnt face any problems.
My iphone has been delivered to my fren. I paid USD 425 - about Sing 650-700 (Damn cheap for a smart phone of this quality)
Once its back in Singapore, there is a PURE SOFTWARE UNLOCK available on the net now.
http://modmyiphone.com/wiki/index.php/IPhone_unlock_OS_X_Part_1 (mac)
or
http://iphone.unlock.no/ (windows)
Many pple have managed to unlock it and it has been shown to work on Singtel, M1, Starhub.
Hope this clears up some doubts.
Cheers~
Evoluti0n11
20-09-2007, 12:02 AM
very happy with my iphone now
thatone1
20-09-2007, 01:35 AM
The last time I tried, they refused to process anything with a battery in it. Best to ask before ordering if you're going to use Vpost. :crazy:
- speakers
- cellphones
https://www.vpost.com.sg/helpdesk/prohibitedItems_pop.html
yup publiceducator,
vpost don't allow anything with batteries... i bought some talking soft-toy the other time and i got rejected!
i was like... it's only a soft toy not a bomb right? i called them and they say it's the regulations..
so i guess it's the same for the iPhone to bring it to singapore.. .
and yup, clkweb confirmed my posts earlier that anything above SGD$400, even declared as gift will be subjected to SG GST of 7%.
cos it happened to me when i got some coach bags from eBay to be shipped to singapore too!
melvinchay
20-09-2007, 01:46 AM
cool. how many here are using e iphone. any bugs?
taikmata
20-09-2007, 06:39 AM
u can buy the iphone without any plan from at&t
activate it without at&t
and finally unlock it to use any sim..
wildpig8
20-09-2007, 09:13 AM
yup publiceducator,
vpost don't allow anything with batteries... i bought some talking soft-toy the other time and i got rejected!
i was like... it's only a soft toy not a bomb right? i called them and they say it's the regulations..
so i guess it's the same for the iPhone to bring it to singapore.. .
and yup, clkweb confirmed my posts earlier that anything above SGD$400, even declared as gift will be subjected to SG GST of 7%.
cos it happened to me when i got some coach bags from eBay to be shipped to singapore too!
Phew... I didn't know there are such regulations. So i am lucky or what that my iphone was shipped??? :s31: :s13: :D
VenomX2
20-09-2007, 10:29 AM
those that got the iPhone any issues when you need to charge the phone cause US has different power requirements right?
masuda
20-09-2007, 03:11 PM
singpaore selling liao lor, you can go mobileSQ or FunzSQ,both of them selling now hahah :)
peeInMyPantz
20-09-2007, 03:12 PM
singpaore selling liao lor, you can go mobileSQ or FunzSQ,both of them selling now hahah :)must be cut-throat price right?
peeInMyPantz
20-09-2007, 03:14 PM
- speakers
- cellphones
https://www.vpost.com.sg/helpdesk/prohibitedItems_pop.htmlweird... if you look at the vconcierge section... on products that u want them to buy.. they list cellphones.. haha
stanleyj
20-09-2007, 06:19 PM
those that got the iPhone any issues when you need to charge the phone cause US has different power requirements right?this phone is made with international perspective as is always with all apple products.
u can charge via usb or power adapter(similar or possibly the same as the one for ipods)
publiceducator
20-09-2007, 10:20 PM
weird... if you look at the vconcierge section... on products that u want them to buy.. they list cellphones.. haha
Ahemm... $. *cough*
Anyway, some are using Vpost.
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1719601&page=11
http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1729717
imo its better to use comgateway's service if you're eligible. Vpost is ex & long, more like poor pple's choice. :crazy:
Mobile_Crazy
20-09-2007, 10:27 PM
u can buy the iphone without any plan from at&t
activate it without at&t
and finally unlock it to use any sim..
how much??
Kaimaster
23-09-2007, 10:47 AM
how much??
Hey about S$650 + Shipping charges. You should sign up at vPOST USA (http://www.vpost.com.sg). Total Dmg > approx $800. (Don't buy at local stores, which i did!!!)
evoram
23-09-2007, 11:06 AM
very good price already.....
clkweb
27-09-2007, 07:18 AM
www.comgateway.com supports Visa and MC aside from AMEX. If you DO have AMEX, you can register straight from their website. If you DO NOT have, you can call them and they will send you a personal PIN via email so your Visa and MC can be used.
With the current price of $399 from US apple store, 5% charge by comgateway and delivery to Singapore, it would not take more than US$500 for anyone to get one. Though be prepared to pay the 7% GST when phone arrives here in SG.
The iPhone is truly a revolutionary device. Use it and you'll see!
And btw, I am selling an iPhone Sena case (croco tan texture) for just SGD 70.00 (retail price is US$ 42 + shipping + waiting):-). It's slightly used for 3 days. Now my iPhone is protected with BodyGuardz (www.nluproducts.com) so I won't be using this Sena case anymore. I originally got it from US as well. If anyone is interested, drop me a line at awek33@yahoo.com.sg
http://www.shoppingwords.com/crocotan.jpg
Cheers
dgeralds
29-09-2007, 10:49 PM
Today, 29 Sep 2007, I was in Mustafa. Was surprised when I saw 5 pieces of 8GB iphone being delivered. The delivery man brought in 5 pcs of iphone and I managed to see the price sold to Mustafa is S$890 each. But when I asked the Mustafa salesman how much is it and if it works in Singapore and the price is S$1250 and it does work in Singapore!!!! I wanted to talk to the delivery man hoping to get details and direct buy from him at lower price……… but the delivery man was talking to the Mustafa at great lengths and I had other appointments …so I rushed out. For those interested to buy or look, go to Mustafa basement and it is next to the toy section near the fax machines.
prayhard83
29-09-2007, 10:52 PM
Today, 29 Sep 2007, I was in Mustafa. Was surprised when I saw 5 pieces of 2GB iphone being delivered. The delivery man brought in 5 pcs of iphone and I managed to see the price sold to Mustafa is S$890 each. But when I asked the Mustafa salesman how much is it and if it works in Singapore and the price is S$1250 and it does work in Singapore!!!! I wanted to talk to the delivery man hoping to get details and direct buy from him at lower price……… but the delivery man was talking to the Mustafa at great lengths and I had other appointments …so I rushed out. For those interested to buy or look, go to Mustafa basement and it is next to the toy section near the fax machines.
2gb iphone??? are u sure its 2gb???
Beta_Tester
29-09-2007, 11:13 PM
2gb? only got 4gb n 8gb leh.
dgeralds
30-09-2007, 12:35 AM
oops.... its 8GB.
2gb? only got 4gb n 8gb leh.
makan007
30-09-2007, 02:19 PM
I spent S$711 in total for Iphone 8GB via VpostUSA. $1000 and abv is :s31:
makan007
30-09-2007, 02:46 PM
Hey, so you do the unlocking yourself?
Yes. I downloaded the files and tutorial from the internet. :)
heeddy
30-09-2007, 02:46 PM
fyi for those who are trying to get their iPhones from vpost or CGW.
WARNING!!!
Apple Online Store has started shipping out 8GB iPhones with firmware v1.1.1 preinstalled w.e.f. Sep 29.
So if you ordered , please go RETURN IT before it even ships out of USA to avoid yourself having a set with v1.1.1 when i gets to singapore..!
makan007
30-09-2007, 02:50 PM
fyi for those who are trying to get their iPhones from vpost or CGW.
WARNING!!!
Apple Online Store has started shipping out 8GB iPhones with firmware v1.1.1 preinstalled w.e.f. Sep 29.
So if you ordered , please go RETURN IT before it even ships out of USA to avoid yourself having a set with v1.1.1 when i gets to singapore..!
There is currently a guide to flash firmware from v1.1.1 to v1.0.2
Not sure whether it works.
prayhard83
30-09-2007, 06:55 PM
yes, u can downgrade the firmware (for brand new iphone with 1.1.1 firmware only) from 1.1.1 to 1.02 BUT the baseband is still 1.1.1 so, only AT&T sim card can be used at this moment.
edit: see this website for more details
-> http://iphone.fiveforty.net/wiki/index.php/Downgrade_from_1.1.1_to_1.0.2
slickk
01-10-2007, 01:45 PM
I spent S$711 in total for Iphone 8GB via VpostUSA. $1000 and abv is :s31:
u purchased it direct from apple online store thru VPOST? or from other online stores? thanks :)
Cyburo
01-10-2007, 02:37 PM
rumours seem to point to this month in SG
peeInMyPantz
01-10-2007, 04:28 PM
rumours seem to point to this month in SGwhere do u hear that rumour?
sfhuang
01-10-2007, 10:08 PM
Beware, those who have downgraded the firmware HAVE NOT, and I repeat, HAVE NOT managed to unlock those phones yet. :s16:
peeInMyPantz
01-10-2007, 10:15 PM
Beware, those who have downgraded the firmware HAVE NOT, and I repeat, HAVE NOT managed to unlock those phones yet. :s16:can, the latest update
http://gizmodo.com/gadgets/iphone/unbricked-iphones-now-fully-working-calls-included-updated-works-with-both-paid-software-unlock-and-turbosim-305253.php
since few hours ago.... but no free method yet
makan007
02-10-2007, 08:43 PM
u purchased it direct from apple online store thru VPOST? or from other online stores? thanks :)
I purchased from www.apple.com via VPOSTUSA.
zoejaewon
04-10-2007, 02:53 PM
Me too...less than 700sgd, coz Singpost didn't send my iphone to ICA so i dun need to pay for the GST..lucky..my friend at USA help me to buy. crack myself.. it's really a waste to buy at 1000+.
stanleyj
04-10-2007, 03:28 PM
rumours seem to point to this month in SGunlikely......EU not even settled.....
already said it would be 2008.....and possibly a 3G phone....version 2.0
alvino77
05-10-2007, 05:00 PM
exactly EU's market a lot bigger than ours. they will be getting it 1st before we do.
rumours rumours... ppl like to anyhow read and comment. what makes SG the 1st out of USA to get it launch? we don't even have itunes store to complement with it.
if there are news of itunes store for SG, then launch chance will be higher.
rumours haizzz use ur brainnnnnn
chewpc
06-10-2007, 03:11 AM
I purchased from www.apple.com via VPOSTUSA.
May I know which method you use to unlock?
jazzman80
06-10-2007, 10:46 AM
if my friend from USA send it over by shipping,do i still need to pay for the GST?
citrus00
06-10-2007, 07:30 PM
there's news that in NOV they will launch the iphone in Europe.
so maybe another 2-3 mths?
cheldan
12-10-2007, 01:06 PM
there's news that in NOV they will launch the iphone in Europe.
so maybe another 2-3 mths?
9th Nov - Germany and UK.
nextofkin
12-10-2007, 01:19 PM
i highly doubt they will ever release it in SG anytime soon. Look at other major countries.. what makes you think apple will pick SG rather than other countries (say, Australia?)...
gomobile
12-10-2007, 01:21 PM
it's a long difficult wait!!!!!!!! i think i'll just buy a US version. :(
gomobile
12-10-2007, 01:21 PM
I think even the whole south east asia is a small market......
peeInMyPantz
12-10-2007, 02:47 PM
yeah... countries that have strict rules about unlocking... will probably be the last to get it
Beta_Tester
12-10-2007, 03:05 PM
some guy say it maybe launch here next month.. he doing some preorder if you have notice. i will just order one if indeed they launch it here.
tycosiao
12-10-2007, 03:05 PM
when singapore has it the entire asia pacific will have it, South east asia is a small market but Asia isnt a small market.
apple is now having a lawsuit by americans for unlocking the iphones, the link is here.
http://www.macworld.com/news/2007/10/11/ihponesuit/index.php
peeInMyPantz
12-10-2007, 03:14 PM
when singapore has it the entire asia pacific will have it, South east asia is a small market but Asia isnt a small market.
apple is now having a lawsuit by americans for unlocking the iphones, the link is here.
http://www.macworld.com/news/2007/10/11/ihponesuit/index.phpi know... but highly unlikely.. and that lawsuit only applies to US
cydus21
12-10-2007, 08:38 PM
i highly doubt they will ever release it in SG anytime soon. Look at other major countries.. what makes you think apple will pick SG rather than other countries (say, Australia?)...
i am in aussie now.. AU$765 8GB unlock u want? haha..
Kelvin0217
12-10-2007, 10:04 PM
If you have "Stuff" magazine Sep'07 issue, turn to pg 32, it says iPhone is due in Dec'07. Don't know whether is it true. :s8:
ernestlee
13-10-2007, 02:54 AM
If you have "Stuff" magazine Sep'07 issue, turn to pg 32, it says iPhone is due in Dec'07. Don't know whether is it true. :s8:
Hmmm... You might be right. I got an email from RecordTv.com promoting the undermentioned,
"Invite Friend - Win an iPhone!
Win an iPhone with us in this contest! 1 iPhone will be given to the user with the most number of invites and friends who have responded and joining RecordTV.
Contest ends 30th November 2007, so Invite your friends now! Invite your friends using the "Invite a Friend!" link on the top right of your screen once you login!
Contest for legal Singapore residents only. Terms and Conditions apply.
Number of distinct friends invited 0
Number of distinct friends responded and joined RecordTV 0
Number of days left in Contest 47 days left "
Correct me if I am wrong, if they are going to give away an iPhone, it had to be an unlocked version to be used legally in Singapore right?
disappearingact
13-10-2007, 09:02 AM
sgmobile.com lists it as 'upcoming' maybe we'll see them really soon, eh?
peeInMyPantz
13-10-2007, 11:23 AM
don't you guys think that Apple would've made an announcement before it comes? Anyway... i still think Apple has other priorities before Singapore... e.g. Australia
siron
13-10-2007, 11:37 AM
Its a sad and long wait for the official iPhone to come in Singapore
peeInMyPantz
13-10-2007, 11:39 AM
Its a sad and long wait for the official iPhone to come in Singaporeif you get an iphone now.. you won't care about official launch anymore
fade_white
13-10-2007, 12:16 PM
true... but if its official, we can get support if something goes wrong... it's not that bad if the battery can be user-replacable... but they wun even look at it if it's an unlocked one much less fix them..
delson_tan
13-10-2007, 03:53 PM
true... but if its official, we can get support if something goes wrong... it's not that bad if the battery can be user-replacable... but they wun even look at it if it's an unlocked one much less fix them..Yea, what worries me is the charge cycle. Wonder how long the phone can hold charge efficiently with the built in battery. My SE phone of less than 1 year already can't hold charge very well. Maybe I'm just a heavy user that charges a lot. =:p
atreza
13-10-2007, 08:30 PM
true... but if its official, we can get support if something goes wrong... it's not that bad if the battery can be user-replacable... but they wun even look at it if it's an unlocked one much less fix them..
i think they will, just that u have to pay?
disappearingact
13-10-2007, 10:13 PM
local set already out?
http://www.sgmobile.com.sg/phone.asp?PID=244
it says '1-year limited warranty'
nastrox
13-10-2007, 10:31 PM
smsed the sales persons export set no warranty..lol...
Evoluti0n11
14-10-2007, 12:20 AM
this thread (http://deluxeforums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1738691&highlight=iphone) the TS said tat local set now pending for IDA approval.. will release b4 dec.. :o
marlerocks
14-10-2007, 12:24 AM
hmm, is buying iphone with no warranty considered not a good invvestment? now it cost around $900 for one without warranty, in 3 months time, iphone should be sold locally and it will cost around $700 with warranty.
the value of the iphone without warranty will be probably much lesser.
disappearingact
14-10-2007, 05:40 AM
hmm, is buying iphone with no warranty considered not a good invvestment? now it cost around $900 for one without warranty, in 3 months time, iphone should be sold locally and it will cost around $700 with warranty.
the value of the iphone without warranty will be probably much lesser. u think urself lor...wait for one month plus only... can u wait? at the end of one month plus, maybe it's not released u still have to buy export...or will u continue to wait??
siron
14-10-2007, 10:00 AM
u think urself lor...wait for one month plus only... can u wait? at the end of one month plus, maybe it's not released u still have to buy export...or will u continue to wait??
hahahyeah that the thing! The wait is killing!
This thread amuses me. How freaking ignorant can people get?
The iPhone will be sold in Singapore in 3 months time? Please, dream on. :s8:
Do some CSI about Apple, since most of you are windows users and probably have never touched an Apple OS X product before the iPhone, and Singapore's laws regarding locked phones before you go all gullible with that stupid iPhone MO thread. :s13:
evoram
14-10-2007, 10:36 AM
happy waiting
nastrox
14-10-2007, 11:18 AM
This thread amuses me. How freaking ignorant can people get?
The iPhone will be sold in Singapore in 3 months time? Please, dream on. :s8:
Do some CSI about Apple, since most of you are windows users and probably have never touched an Apple OS X product before the iPhone, and Singapore's laws regarding locked phones before you go all gullible with that stupid iPhone MO thread. :s13:
like what u said...according to apple official statement they will be launch in Asia at 2008
2008 has 12 months in it.
crazyaboutapple
14-10-2007, 12:02 PM
Actually i have throw a comment in that MO thread if one notice it.
While my source might be reliable, maybe the TS have his own source so can't comment further.
To me, if the person behind retailing and distribution for Singapore is not aware of "the waiting-for-IDA-approval" batch of iPhone, it's not going to happen in my point of view.
Want it, need it, get it, use it... :)
Red_ArSeNiC
15-10-2007, 01:16 AM
http://www.mobilesquare.com.sg/products/products_detail.asp?pid=600&cid=72
what is this? :s11:
tycosiao
15-10-2007, 01:29 AM
u think urself lor...wait for one month plus only... can u wait? at the end of one month plus, maybe it's not released u still have to buy export...or will u continue to wait??
shall see how it goes, apple is now being sued be californians because they locked the phone. should see what's the outcome. if apple lose it then of course the warranty wont be void and singaporeans can buy if apple wins, Happy waiting!
nastrox
15-10-2007, 01:30 AM
300 sets sold..wow..thats alot and the price increased back..zzz what the hell....
hymth
15-10-2007, 04:40 PM
Official announcement says June 2008 in Asia.
siron
15-10-2007, 07:01 PM
TOTO luck had shined on me finally! :) iphone !!! YOU ARE COMING!!! 20 sets? ahahha
crazyaboutapple
15-10-2007, 09:27 PM
TOTO luck had shined on me finally! :) iphone !!! YOU ARE COMING!!! 20 sets? ahahha
Buy Buy Buy! Vaja Vaja Vaja! =:p
peeInMyPantz
15-10-2007, 09:30 PM
the value of the iphone without warranty will be probably much lesser.when they sell it in singapore,,.. it will not be $700 i think...
the price in US now, at USD399 is equivalent to buy phone with x-years of contract plan
peeInMyPantz
15-10-2007, 09:31 PM
Buy Buy Buy! Vaja Vaja Vaja! =:pprobably one of the best looking case... but expensive...
siron
15-10-2007, 09:50 PM
heeee.... Will look at it!!!
delson_tan
17-10-2007, 11:37 AM
Just read that some other forumers who have friends in SingTel and StarHub already have the sets for playing liao. :D
The wait should be over soon. :)
daolevo
17-10-2007, 12:55 PM
I want to sell my iphone, I can't publish the details here is it? Where can I publish it?
Thanks
whottt
17-10-2007, 01:12 PM
I want to sell my iphone, I can't publish the details here is it? Where can I publish it?
Thanks
mobile phones bazaar..
mulderang
17-10-2007, 10:23 PM
anyway posting in taiwan now. iphone 8gb now selling at 'dirt cheap price of below 600 sing now' and apparently there is a one year international warranty. Good deal?? very very tempted now.
Beta_Tester
17-10-2007, 11:51 PM
anyway posting in taiwan now. iphone 8gb now selling at 'dirt cheap price of below 600 sing now' and apparently there is a one year international warranty. Good deal?? very very tempted now.
thats great.. maybe can help bros here buy?
daolevo
18-10-2007, 02:10 PM
Moderator's Note:
<Advertisement URL Edited out>
Please post your sales thread in HWZ's marketplace, and abide by the rules concerning that.
/Dan
delson_tan
18-10-2007, 02:51 PM
(Advertisement URL Edited out)Haha... Dumping your iPhone after hearing the official unlocked version is out.
Anyway, wrong place to post.
sfhuang
19-10-2007, 11:42 AM
If the price is that low, why are you even considering. Chiong liao. =:p
mulderang
21-10-2007, 09:25 PM
haha. scare IDA no pass lo. But anyway got contact in taiwan who can help me get even cheaper. waiting for it to be ship back
hemants
26-10-2007, 11:55 PM
i was wundering, what are the main reasons why one should not get the iPhone.
also, what are the main dis advantages of having an unlocked iPhone, rather than an official one.
whottt
27-10-2007, 12:05 AM
also, what are the main dis advantages of having an unlocked iPhone, rather than an official one.
warranty loh, and future software/hardware support
freestyler_cs
27-10-2007, 02:12 PM
just that no warranty assurance and if u screw anything and it bricks, there goes ur money. thats about all. and for updating firmware, u have to wait for h4cks to unlock. basically the diff of export.
mulderang
27-10-2007, 11:23 PM
anyway iphone from taiwan is not locked. but dunnoe why anyway
delson_tan
28-10-2007, 11:38 AM
Stop advertising your website...
See all your other posts can tell liao...
arie85
28-10-2007, 11:54 PM
any idea if the iphones released in the UK will be locked as well?
Evoluti0n11
29-10-2007, 12:00 AM
its the warranty only.. but if official comes out.. u still need to jailbreak to mod the iphone.. so if u ever send in ur phone for repair i tink the warranty might be voided.. i duno~~ :o
blaster1102
26-11-2007, 12:40 PM
anyone have any idea what i would face if i ask my friend in usa to buy back an iphone?
kitaeshi
26-11-2007, 12:46 PM
look real gd...if someone can MO n bring it here i tink u can sell a higher premium...but y no one is doing tat..lol
GamerXz
26-11-2007, 06:57 PM
anyone have any idea what i would face if i ask my friend in usa to buy back an iphone?U get an expensive ipod touch... All iphones sold in stores worldwide are 1.1.2 regardless of production weeks. Apple updated all their stocks to stop unlocking efforts. But there is hope as the Nordump of the new bootloader is out
harky
29-11-2007, 08:43 AM
Iphone no wifi?
harky
30-11-2007, 12:20 PM
upupupupupup
ru5tl3r
30-11-2007, 01:19 PM
Iphone no wifi?
there is wifi.....
harky
03-12-2007, 08:27 AM
but is not a 3G phone hor...
coma123
03-12-2007, 12:07 PM
if iphone does come to sg, it would probably be after australia which is suggested to be in may 2008.
taken from http://barinya.com/australia/iphone_australia/iphone_news_australia.htm
19 November 2007 With 3G carriers having the most popular, fastest and best coverage mobile networks in Australia the following announcement is a very good indicator that we may finally be seeing our very own Apple iPhone release date in Australia in May 2008! ...
peeInMyPantz
03-12-2007, 10:11 PM
if iphone does come to sg, it would probably be after australia which is suggested to be in may 2008.and looking at the price of legit unlocked iphone... i feel lucky that i shipped my iphone from US for S$650 .. legit unlocked phones when released here will probably be double to triple the price that i paid
hemants
06-12-2007, 11:30 AM
so if i get the official iPhone from here.. whenevr it releases and then i move to another country.... i will have to unlock it anywys?? to be able to use it there?
shinra
29-02-2008, 03:41 PM
so if i get the official iPhone from here.. whenevr it releases and then i move to another country.... i will have to unlock it anywys?? to be able to use it there?
"Official" approved phones for use in Singapore have to be approved by IDA. And under IDA policy, no locking of mobile phones to a particular telco is allowed.
Buzzz
29-02-2008, 03:51 PM
heard it will be official in June with Singtel
chewy87
29-02-2008, 04:03 PM
EH...y are u guys digging up an ancient thread???
Hmmm I think the issue is not whether it comes or not...
More like the market of iphone users is more or less covered, considering so many unlocked users here alrdy...
Besides, those currently unlocked, 'illegal' iphones of ours will be legal once again as long as any of the local carriers is inside the firmware update that comes out with the launch of the iphone locally. So not much of a difference...
NightFalcon8
29-02-2008, 04:19 PM
EH...y are u guys digging up an ancient thread???
Hmmm I think the issue is not whether it comes or not...
More like the market of iphone users is more or less covered, considering so many unlocked users here alrdy...
Besides, those currently unlocked, 'illegal' iphones of ours will be legal once again as long as any of the local carriers is inside the firmware update that comes out with the launch of the iphone locally. So not much of a difference...
Agree! Just get our iPhone's, admire this beautiful baby and use it. Forget about whether our local telcos will bring in or not. No point anticipating!
junkiepop
24-03-2008, 09:54 PM
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/336081/1/.html
Coming in Sept, by SingTel, ard S$690
peeInMyPantz
24-03-2008, 09:58 PM
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/336081/1/.html
Coming in Sept, by SingTel, ard S$690
that price is a speculation by retailers. I think it won't be that cheap.
HiStOrY MaKeR
27-03-2008, 11:53 AM
the iPhone Singtel is bringing 3G phone or 2.5G?
lawry83
27-03-2008, 11:59 AM
the iPhone Singtel is bringing 3G phone or 2.5G?
try calling 1626 and ask the singtel operators. seriously, no one knows. then again maybe the high level management might know.
everyone is speculating. from iphone coming to sg, to 3g iphone.
HiStOrY MaKeR
27-03-2008, 12:45 PM
try calling 1626 and ask the singtel operators. seriously, no one knows. then again maybe the high level management might know.
true true.
been seeing many rumors.
that depends whether a 3G model will be released this June.
kinggadget
02-04-2008, 12:49 PM
true true.
been seeing many rumors.
that depends whether a 3G model will be released this June.
hi there any samsung armani converts?
i have a personal set brand new from armani boutique here selling $988 in premium package set
www.armanisamsungphone.com
contact king.gadget@yahoo.com
thxz
tanhoi86
15-05-2008, 01:51 PM
It is no longer a rumor. It is a fact that Singtel is bring in the iphone.
The iphone here is referring to the the 3G iphone w/ Version2.0 software. (Singtel is not bring in the 2.5G iphone but the new iphone still have the option to turn off 3G function to save battery.)
The price stated is $690 i am guessing is with 2year contract with singtel.
Feel free to ask me any questions about the new 3G iphone.
boyfunsg
15-05-2008, 02:25 PM
My colleague's friend working at Apple Singapore, after the official announcement they can finally tell something more about iphone. She said they're preparing the website & confirmed out next month. I guess if signed up contact will get rebate like 100-200S$. If buy direct from Apple.com.sg we might pay the original price like 699-799S$. Just my personal specu
Boner
15-05-2008, 02:30 PM
The iphone here is referring to the the 3G iphone w/ Version2.0 software. (Singtel is not bring in the 2.5G iphone but the new iphone still have the option to turn off 3G function to save battery.)
Is the camera still 2 PX? and how about the capacity? 16GB or 32GB?
arcturuz
15-05-2008, 02:41 PM
My colleague's friend working at Apple Singapore, after the official announcement they can finally tell something more about iphone. She said they're preparing the website & confirmed out next month. I guess if signed up contact will get rebate like 100-200S$. If buy direct from Apple.com.sg we might pay the original price like 699-799S$. Just my personal specu
if the rebate is only like $100-$200, den why is singtel creating the hype over it's exclusive deal with apple.
if can just buy direct from Appl for slightly more w/o contract, what kinda bragging rights do singtel have in the first place.
allankoh11
15-05-2008, 07:18 PM
wow. if $690 with 2 yrs contract is abit expensive
PandaCat
15-05-2008, 09:19 PM
Hmm just have to wait for few more wks den can swap my n95 8GB to the apple 3G iphone. :D
Cant wait. =:p
AcId8uRn
20-05-2008, 03:27 PM
woot! if really really launch in june den when i come back from sydney for my hols i can grab one already. dun wanna get the australia model cos its gonna be locked to the network anyways. hope the ida ruling for iphone will mean i dun need to unlock it
Kwein
20-05-2008, 04:16 PM
unlock = warranty void? can confirm this? :D
PandaCat
20-05-2008, 04:32 PM
Hmm i believe they will be selling the unlock version as sooner or later both Starhub and M1 will also be selling it also as advertised. But i heard that the local SG version will only be out in august....... :s11:
ipwnj00
20-05-2008, 04:35 PM
definitely, 100% plus chop
toyshy
20-05-2008, 05:22 PM
Jailbreak also confirm warranty void.
Kwein
20-05-2008, 05:41 PM
crap iphone w/o jailbreak is just a phone no "i"
hyperous
24-05-2008, 12:52 AM
i think if you restore after jailbreak they won't be able to find out..
mackie8
14-07-2008, 12:02 PM
when will iphone reach SG?
NineNineNine
14-07-2008, 12:33 PM
Just restore to factory settings then warranty come back? So far with 1st gen that was possible in US.
Besides as you can see from the many 1st gen iPhone users in SG, warranty is not an issue.
infuser
14-07-2008, 01:11 PM
jailbreak wont void warrenty. just restore to a normal firmware then ok liao.. as for unlock i dunno whether the damage is reversible anot. Anyone wants to try? hah
toyshy
14-07-2008, 03:34 PM
jailbreak wont void warrenty.
Dont speak too early and mislead others. What apply to 1st Gen, does not mean it holds true for iPhone 3G. Even for 1st Gen, there has been cases where a full restore does not fully erase traces of jailbreaking.
At the end of the day, its a matter of whether Apple wanna 'shut one eye' or not.
P.S. mackie8, is there a need to dug out a 2 months old thread :P
markcwq
14-07-2008, 03:40 PM
when will iphone reach SG?
Today.
Besides as you can see from the many 1st gen iPhone users in SG, warranty is not an issue.
Warranty was important to me as I damaged my first iPhone. Nobody had the tools to repair it here. Had to buy a new replacement. There are many other cases in Singapore where warranty will save the users money to repair. And what toyshy says is true, totally agree. It has been stated long ago by Apple that jailbreaking will void the warranty. So if the jailbreak and unlock process damages or bricks your iPhone, don't expect Apple to do a free repair for you.
kimheng69
14-07-2008, 05:36 PM
It's common practice that people purchase from overseas with the standard warranty void. You just have to calculate for yourself what make sense for you.
It's all up to you what risk you are willingly to take.
i heard can advance booking for iphones now..
Where is it?
markcwq
14-07-2008, 07:20 PM
i heard can advance booking for iphones now..
Where is it?
http://home.singtel.com/iphone/
infuser
14-07-2008, 07:50 PM
Dont speak too early and mislead others. What apply to 1st Gen, does not mean it holds true for iPhone 3G. Even for 1st Gen, there has been cases where a full restore does not fully erase traces of jailbreaking.
At the end of the day, its a matter of whether Apple wanna 'shut one eye' or not.
P.S. mackie8, is there a need to dug out a 2 months old thread :P
I think u have jailbreaking confused with unlocking? 1 fools around with the software, 1 fools around with the hardware. if u do thing to the hardware then gd luck to you. if u screw the software all u do is a restore of the firmware.
markcwq
14-07-2008, 11:07 PM
For Apple's iPhone warranty, it applies to both. As long as you fool with the system and it screws up, be it hardware or software issue, the warranty will not cover you. After messing with the software, you might be lucky to be able to restore it a few times but you never know when your luck might run out. An example will be if the bootloader screws up.
toyshy
15-07-2008, 12:13 AM
I think u have jailbreaking confused with unlocking? 1 fools around with the software, 1 fools around with the hardware. if u do thing to the hardware then gd luck to you. if u screw the software all u do is a restore of the firmware.
No, I have not. Ever wonder why jailbreaking screwed up the wifi, bluetooth or EDGE on some iTouch?
An example will be if the bootloader screws up.
Number uno victim of ZiPhone, and yet its the most popular unlock/jailbreak method, if all the online poll is to be believed. That speaks volume, doesnt it?
infuser
15-07-2008, 11:10 AM
No, I have not. Ever wonder why jailbreaking screwed up the wifi, bluetooth or EDGE on some iTouch?
iTouch got edge? u mean iphone?
if its just the iTouch it will probably be ok AFTER u reset the firmware.
anyway we shouldn't talk about this, no point haha. This is a when will the iPhone be sold in singapore thread
toyshy
15-07-2008, 11:30 AM
iTouch got edge? u mean iphone?
Oops, sorry, in no minds there. Nope, referring to the iTouch there to illustrate my point, no EDGE.
if its just the iTouch it will probably be ok AFTER u reset the firmware.
Again, nope. Like how markcwq pointed out, you might just luck out. Some jailbreak method (not unlock) has reportedly cause loss of wifi, bluetooth to itouch, and most cases are unfixable. Not reversible via a restore.
infuser
15-07-2008, 02:27 PM
maybe they followed the wrong method then. anyway lets just focus on the iPhone lol
rnogwai
15-07-2008, 03:08 PM
Nowadays jailbreak all plug and play, where have so called wrong method.
Toyshy and markcwq trying to tell you not every restore will get the iPhone back to it's original state per se. And if Apple want to, there will be traces that a diagnostic test can dig out.
ostralek
15-07-2008, 04:35 PM
You can check out the rates for 3G iphone for 27 countries at http://i-phone-resource.blogspot.com
You can also check out the release dates for new releases there.
cheers.
cheldan
15-07-2008, 04:48 PM
Wow! ostralek... someone busy promoting ah...
detonate
15-07-2008, 05:05 PM
maybe they followed the wrong method then. anyway lets just focus on the iPhone lol
how's ur iphone? i heard ppl say the gps dun work very well for navigation?
i tell ur sis u buy iphone.. she say we r iphone crazy..
infuser
15-07-2008, 08:37 PM
the iphone is working great! GPS is ok for me, but i only tested it like in city area. on gps and see whether its accurate anot(WALKING). when i go to gold coast then can really see driving navigation. lol ya she complaining the camera sucks.
infuser
15-07-2008, 08:42 PM
Nowadays jailbreak all plug and play, where have so called wrong method.
Toyshy and markcwq trying to tell you not every restore will get the iPhone back to it's original state per se. And if Apple want to, there will be traces that a diagnostic test can dig out.
different people follow different sources. notice how the more it savvy people devices are less likely to fail. anyway, are'nt we veering off topic? lets just leave it at that.
i just found something guys go take a look
http://www.itwire.com/content/view/19419/1103/1/0/
read the part where it says :
Before we get into Geohot’s post, it’s also important to understand a bit of iPhone hacking history. In short, another hacker out there is known as Zibri, of ZiPhone fame.
Turns out he’s accused of either “stealing” or “borrowing” some iPhone Dev Team code and then creating the ZiPhone unlock tool, which some say can permanently disable the Wi-Fi or Bluetooth of your phone because of poor coding.
rnogwai
15-07-2008, 08:53 PM
Different sources? Only iPlus, iLiberty, ZiPhone and Pwnage available. Everyone say Ziphone most likely to fail, but it is the most popular method. Veer off topic meh? We are still talking about voiding warranty in Singapore ah =:p
As for your latest discovery, that is what toyshy and markcwq trying to tell you loh :D
infuser
15-07-2008, 09:04 PM
Different sources? Only iPlus, iLiberty, ZiPhone and Pwnage available. Everyone say Ziphone most likely to fail, but it is the most popular method. Veer off topic meh? We are still talking about voiding warranty in Singapore ah =:p
As for your latest discovery, that is what toyshy and markcwq trying to tell you loh :D
Popular don't mean its the best, can be the easiest to use? Hmm ok i see where they are coming from but what i was trying to say is also if u use iphone dev 1 it will be ok, if u use others then not everytime successful. maybe i didnt phrase it so well. Well lets just wait for the new pwnage tool to come out. im gonna sit on the fence n wait for ppl to go test first haha
rnogwai
15-07-2008, 09:09 PM
Actually hor, I also find that puzzling, how popular Ziphone is. I actually find iLiberty as easy to use loh, I guess it also depends on who release theirs first. I would not be surprise at all if Yiphone release first and become more widely use.
infuser
15-07-2008, 09:35 PM
apparently dev team will release pwnagetool 1second before yiphone haha
toyshy
15-07-2008, 09:52 PM
There is no indication anywhere, that ihazsupper.com is related to Dev-Team.
markcwq
15-07-2008, 10:10 PM
Haha. That's true, could just be a prank. But still hoping that when the counter stops, PwnageTool 2.0 will be released.
mossycheong
16-07-2008, 01:43 PM
8th August maybe
Gfr33d0m
17-07-2008, 01:26 AM
today went to apple service center to pick up some stuff
check with one of the staff on the date iphone come out in SG and was told it will be out on Sep.
and only singtel Hello shop will have them ( check with the singtel shop at tbp just now)
just share with everyone what info i got
h34rtbr34k
17-07-2008, 01:35 AM
today went to apple service center to pick up some stuff
check with one of the staff on the date iphone come out in SG and was told it will be out on Sep.
and only singtel Hello shop will have them ( check with the singtel shop at tbp just now)
just share with everyone what info i got
Don't bother to go and ask Apple Store people. They all have the same scripted answer. iPhone will come out on September and only Singtel will have them. Everytime ask everytime get the same answer.
Gfr33d0m
17-07-2008, 02:04 AM
Don't bother to go and ask Apple Store people. They all have the same scripted answer. iPhone will come out on September and only Singtel will have them. Everytime ask everytime get the same answer.
as in will they have the phone in their store or?
anyway just try to gather intel for ppl in here only
anyway i am a freq. visitor there as some staff know me
kimheng69
17-07-2008, 03:23 PM
This tpoics on the magic launch date actually attract 14 pages of comment.... WOW........
bulek1
29-07-2008, 11:26 PM
SG iPhone Launch - 22 August 2008
http://www.mobilewhack.com/3g-iphone-coming-in-20-more-countries-in-august/
deranged
30-07-2008, 01:23 PM
not likely.. officially not announced yet, and the apple website in singapore is not updated to show that date..
deranged
30-07-2008, 01:24 PM
oh, and apple people only said 22 countries, not 30..
SG iPhone Launch - 22 August 2008
http://www.mobilewhack.com/3g-iphone-coming-in-20-more-countries-in-august/
"Apple is going to release it in 20 more countries besides the initial 22."
the pic shows total of 50 countries. maybe i miss something that mention "Singapore" will be in one of the 20. :s13:
kukujun
30-07-2008, 02:21 PM
It's gonna be in SG in matter of weeks - no more than a month +/- few days, i'm sure.
But meanwhile, I'm already enjoying my 16GB Black iPhone 3G. I'm in Australia. It launched here about three weeks ago. But I couldn't get my hands on one till one week after the launch.
There are huge shortages in supply, and trust me, Singapore will go short of them as well - whether or not you already put a deposit for the phone with Singtel. And seeing how tens of thousands have placed deposits already with Singtel, thousands will still be disappointed.
I put a AUD$100 deposit with Optus here (owned by Singtel) a month before launch date, and still they also told me they ran out on the day itself.
Of course I got my deposit back but it's no guarantee that you'll get yours. They just give you priority in the queue. I went hours before opening, and still I missed out. There were just too few units to go around despite having paid a deposit and indicated I was gonna pick it up from that Optus store.
Almost everyday there are people queuing up outside the Apple Store here in Sydney to get the iPhone. So you can imagine.
Lucky me, I got mine from another telco after hearing that they just resupplied with about 15 iPhones. Just two hours after I bought, they ran out again. So I was pretty lucky. Didn't even have to queue.
So for those who do not have time to queue for hours from 4am in the morning in Singapore, you probably have to wait another month AFTER the launch date - if you're lucky - to get one. And knowing how Kiasu Singaporeans are, it's gonna be a lot more crazy. Too bad i'm not there to tease you guys. Kidding! :D
notanakin
12-08-2008, 12:04 PM
Some sources
http://www.reuters.com/article/marketsNews/idUSSFC00004520080812; (http://www.reuters.com/article/marketsNews/idUSSFC00004520080812)
http://www.forbes.com/afxnewslimited/feeds/afx/2008/08/11/afx5311712.html
claim that Singtel announced TODAY that iPhone will be available on 22 August. But nothing stated on Singtel websites that I could find.
Wryer
12-08-2008, 12:27 PM
Heh, I don't understand why people MUST have it like within a day when its launched. I mean, we can wait right? :s13: Why need to Q and wait until neck long long just to get a phone? Its not as if its limited edition with only a limited number of sets. I'm sure within 3 months stocks will be available for everyone. So just chill and wait for the prices...
jimmytango
12-08-2008, 12:38 PM
they really know how to tease people wif their products, building mass interest, really good marketing there
astro75
12-08-2008, 01:13 PM
Heh, I don't understand why people MUST have it like within a day when its launched. I mean, we can wait right? :s13: Why need to Q and wait until neck long long just to get a phone? Its not as if its limited edition with only a limited number of sets. I'm sure within 3 months stocks will be available for everyone. So just chill and wait for the prices...
This is call shiok:D.
Just image Japan had better phone,but the people there still Q up to get on hands the iphone..
dxtrmania
12-08-2008, 06:14 PM
its been confirmed! 22 august. iphone coming! i received the email from singtel!
the_gryffindor
12-08-2008, 06:21 PM
This is call shiok:D.
Just image Japan had better phone,but the people there still Q up to get on hands the iphone..
Those are pure apple fans. I believe they are not gonna use it as their primary phone. Those DCM phones are so integrated with their daily lives that it's crazy not to use one in japan.
ryouma
23-08-2008, 07:26 PM
any idea if the iPhone sold by singtel is restricted to that line you signed up for?
And if I intend to migrate overseas one fine day, would iphone be usable or is it locked for use in Singapore only?
DcF1337
23-08-2008, 07:35 PM
any idea if the iPhone sold by singtel is restricted to that line you signed up for?
And if I intend to migrate overseas one fine day, would iphone be usable or is it locked for use in Singapore only?
Nope. You can easily change SIM cards.
Depends lor. If you have autoroaming, it will work anywhere. If not, too bad. Go buy the local prepaid in that country.
ryouma
24-08-2008, 01:42 AM
Nope. You can easily change SIM cards.
Depends lor. If you have autoroaming, it will work anywhere. If not, too bad. Go buy the local prepaid in that country.
I mean if i do migrate.. say to the States, I'll be signing up on one of the Telcos there like AT&T. Now, would i be able to enjoy the full capacity of the iphone or would I be restricted (e.g. no 3G function)
This is worrying as in FAQs section, it's written:
Network
1) Will the SIM be locked to SingTel?
The handset will be preset to the SingTel Network. Phones not connected to the SingTel network will not be supported by SingTel.
2) Will my iPhone work with a StarHub or M1 SIM?
It may work but you may not enjoy the same iPhone experience as SingTel only supports iPhone 3G devices that are connected to SingTel’s network.
victorian07
24-08-2008, 02:13 AM
I mean if i do migrate.. say to the States, I'll be signing up on one of the Telcos there like AT&T. Now, would i be able to enjoy the full capacity of the iphone or would I be restricted (e.g. no 3G function)
This is worrying as in FAQs section, it's written:
Network
1) Will the SIM be locked to SingTel?
The handset will be preset to the SingTel Network. Phones not connected to the SingTel network will not be supported by SingTel.
2) Will my iPhone work with a StarHub or M1 SIM?
It may work but you may not enjoy the same iPhone experience as SingTel only supports iPhone 3G devices that are connected to SingTel’s network.
Singtel is just trying to hoodwink you. U can make full use of the phone's capability, Singtel or not, if you have a data plan with M1 or Starhub.
merrychristmas
26-03-2009, 03:33 PM
I heard M1 is going to have it too?
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.