PDA

View Full Version : starhub cabletv and maxonline (tv point problem)

donaldleeboy94
08-07-2007, 11:41 AM
now, attracted to the cabletv promo that entitles a free samsung 19" LCD TV, i decided to sign up for 24 mths. i thought that it would be good so that my mother and sis can watch it in their room too, which led to the decision to install one more tv point in her room.

and that's where all the problem starts. initally, the tv point in my living room is on a splitter which is being utilised by my tv in the living room, and my cable modem. yes, my dear starhub cable modem for internet access (maxonline). the technicians came to install 1 more tv point in my mother's room while obviously since im not available from monday to saturday, i can't be at home to supervise all this.

and the technicians try to slack or dunno wat happen, the 2nd tv point is actually split from the first point. so.. when i came home on thursday nite, i saw the splitter in my living room, 1 for the tv, another for the 2nd tv point which the wire is pulled all the way into my mother's room.
my dear cable modem internet is left alone now, it's disconnected, how liddat? cannot use internet? same company somemore.

nvm, i called up starhub and asked, the operator who claims to be known as "Lily" says that i cannot add another splitter because that would make the signal become very weak. true, i agree, so i asked her what's the solution. and her solution is to install another tv point for the cable modem.

now, how can this be happening!? initially im using 1 tv point for both tv and internet using a splitter. now i need to add 1 more? 1 tv point in the living room for tv, 1 in my mother's room for tv also, and 1 more for my internet. so i'm thinking, what the hell? so i got furious and asked why installation of 2 additional tv point just to have another tv point for watching tv wasn't mentioned if i'm using starhub's internet. and she insist that's the only solution, another $140.

cannot liddat mah! what nonsense is dis!? AND THEN IT SUDDENLY OCCURED TO ME. i told her, "ok, since the solution is to have another tv point installed, how are u going to do it? split it again from the main?" which is what is happening the the 2nd tv point (splitted from the main). she says no, it's not going to split from the tv point in my living room. IF SO, initially, why did they split the 2nd tv point from there!?? no sense right? the only reason i can think of is they are too lazy to do it the correct way and just splitted it from the one in my living room.

only up to this point she realises that it's NOT SUPPOSED to be done this way, any additional tv point should not be splitted from the one in my living room. she promised to give me a call after checking it with the technicians that came to my house and install the 2nd tv point, it was thursday nite 5th july, today is 8th july and i'm still waiting for Lily's call from starhub.

any of u guys here can give me some opinions?

yuri2
08-07-2007, 12:12 PM
This is the normal way that the cable point is being split by installers bcoz they used only 2-way spliiters.
If you want, you can run the cable yourself. That way, you don't have to kpkb about how they run the splits. You can buy and put a 4way splitter at the entrance your house and split 2 cables from there while you still have your original tv and modem.
There are many ways to split a cable. But however you split, you always lose signal.

donaldleeboy94
08-07-2007, 12:16 PM
yes i know, but they shuld pull it from the outside and not from the inside right? maybe they are'nt even aware i'm using maxonline, then they really haven't asked themselves why there is a starhub's splitter there.

anyway, i forget to mention that i'm currently taking out the cable connecting from the 2nd tv point to use the internet, which means my mother's room cannot watch anything, it's just a DISCONNECTED TV POINT there.

yuri2
08-07-2007, 12:31 PM
yes i know, but they shuld pull it from the outside and not from the inside right? maybe they are'nt even aware i'm using maxonline, then they really haven't asked themselves why there is a starhub's splitter there.

anyway, i forget to mention that i'm currently taking out the cable connecting from the 2nd tv point to use the internet, which means my mother's room cannot watch anything, it's just a DISCONNECTED TV POINT there.
No, they can't pull a second point from outside. Each block of apartment is only assigned one port. This is bcoz the drop split from a vertical big fat cable has been calculated to split fixed number of units at each floor. If your floor has say 10 units, then at that floor they have enough ports to split for 10 units and no extra.

When you split, you can only split from that your unit assigned port. Otherwise, every apartment will want their own multiple ports.

valkyrie_xx02
09-07-2007, 04:33 PM
when the techicians come down how much did you pay them? From what i know installation of new cable points are done by starhub approved contractors, not starhub technicians.

A new cable mounted on the wall will cost abt $139. Meaning that they will tap signal from either the main point in the living room or the box outside your unit.

What the technicians have done for u is not point installation.

hammee
09-07-2007, 05:50 PM
Not sure what you did but my main point is split into 3. 1 living room den the other goes into my ultity room den split into 1 bedroom and 1 Maxonline still running fine.

Fanzhen
10-07-2007, 06:48 PM
Replaced my analog to digital boxset last week. Connect both the tv & broadband using 2 way splitters from main & having problem since then. Signal distortion on TV once using the broadband. Technician replied is the splitter problem & ask me to get a new one. Wasted $12 but problem still persist. Called up today & still waiting for their call.....

nannan82
10-07-2007, 07:30 PM
i got the same distortion problem..... they also say it the splitter problem... wat splitter is the good one????? anyway... to pay 139 is a total waste of money.... u can jolly well do it yrself..... which my dad do when he learn abt the price.. haha damn it.. and i alway tot it a diff tv point altogether... not splitt from main...

Fanzhen
10-07-2007, 10:57 PM
i got the same distortion problem..... they also say it the splitter problem... wat splitter is the good one????? anyway... to pay 139 is a total waste of money.... u can jolly well do it yrself..... which my dad do when he learn abt the price.. haha damn it.. and i alway tot it a diff tv point altogether... not splitt from main...
May I know how u actually solve the problem?

nannan82
10-07-2007, 11:31 PM
distortion problem not solve yet bro.... was planning to get a better splitter..... right now using signal booster as suggest by forumer here.... much better.... but den... still got a bit distort... but once in a while ....

liangtam
11-07-2007, 12:45 AM
The Regal splitter provided by Starhub is of decent quality, if its not. Get one.

Fanzhen
11-07-2007, 05:15 AM
The Regal splitter provided by Starhub is of decent quality, if its not. Get one.
I replaced the previous Regal splitter(made in China) to the current one(made in Japan) still having the same problem. Dont think is splitter issue. The only solution is to switch sbb since no more contract with starhub.

donaldleeboy94
13-07-2007, 07:30 PM
I replaced the previous Regal splitter(made in China) to the current one(made in Japan) still having the same problem. Dont think is splitter issue. The only solution is to switch sbb since no more contract with starhub.
and i hope starhub really see dis thread and know the issue, anyway the girl haven called me, i'm getting a splitter and see how it goes later.

donaldleeboy94
13-07-2007, 07:31 PM
yes. switch to SNBB. starhub u heard dat?

pcchuat
14-03-2008, 12:50 PM
So anyone solve the picture distrot problem, recent i encounter call starhub and told me lots of crap say i should not split the cable and others and i told them if i pay for additional point will it solve. the starhub customer guy say yes like not happy then i told him can starhub give me a letter to assure, he got angry and say got 1 year warranty. i dont quarrel with him tell him send tech and check my signal and see what he say. Fark that starhub customer service guy

kebinu
16-03-2008, 09:16 AM
I got my 2nd and 3rd SCV point (i think from scv also) at ~$111. ~$50/point or something.

They did have wires from my main (living room box) then extend to outside, to room 1, then to room 2. But they are all covered with casing which sort of blend in with the wall though. Only like 2cm of the wire are exposed at 1 bend which is perfectly ok to me. (Since i'm living in 1 old flat, 20+ years liao)

In room 1 and 2, i will see a scv box like the one in the main living room.

If you want picture up, just let me know.

btw, this is how the wired are "pulled". If you have exposed wires all the way and use a splitter, that is definitely wrong la. I can DIY in 5 minutes without tech skill too.

liangtam
16-03-2008, 11:54 AM
if they charge $50 per point, definitely not from starhub authorised contractor.
Unless they give u a copy of the work order.

baku00
26-04-2008, 11:07 AM
anyone knows where can i get a good signal splitter ?

just got the starhub digital cable box

damn thing goes mad when i start dling stuff on my com damn it

liangtam
26-04-2008, 01:32 PM
The default splitter...

baku00
26-04-2008, 03:34 PM
anyone knows where can i get a good signal splitter ?

just got the starhub digital cable box

damn thing goes mad when i start dling stuff on my com damn it
I found a solution hope it can help some of you out there

i open the wall tv point and removed the default regal tv-fm splitter (my old splitter was connected to this thingy) , i then replaced it with my old regal splitter, after that every thing was good signal went good for both my modem and and digital cable box.

basically open the wall tv point, remove the TV FM splitter, replace with a dual tv splitter.

I tried as i tot that stupid tv fm splitter might affect my signal somehow.

just my 2 cents worth hope it helps some of you our there

liangtam
26-04-2008, 03:39 PM
That one ish a isolator.
Anyway, most ppl dun use it, so remove ish better :)

fate_xin
27-04-2008, 09:34 PM
juz changed the spitter to a japan brand. not distortion now when i serve the net for my tv

Fanzhen
28-04-2008, 05:55 AM

i open the wall tv point and removed the default regal tv-fm splitter (my old splitter was connected to this thingy) , i then replaced it with my old regal splitter, after that every thing was good signal went good for both my modem and and digital cable box.

basically open the wall tv point, remove the TV FM splitter, replace with a dual tv splitter.

If using dual tv splitter, how to connect FM to the mini hifi?

Success
28-09-2008, 02:05 AM

Fantastic. Thanks a lot.

I was using a splitter for cable and MOL

Recently been getting very bad signal, fuzzy images on cable.

I got new splitter, changed cables, all don't work.

Then I open the wall tv point box, bypass the FM/TV isolator and connect my splitter directly.

Signal is fantastic now. Image is VERY much clearer. (it's as though I change to a "monster cable" for my SCV and my internet connection is also faster now.) You guys should try.

Dunno what's the FM isolator for. I never use it and think most of us don't. My hifi also don't need the FM point to receive radio signals.

jujube
28-09-2008, 06:48 PM
good tip/// ill try it!

ihavemanywonders
14-04-2009, 02:10 AM
hey, those of you who doesn't have a cabletv/ maxonline contract, pm me. (: