PDA

View Full Version : News: HUBSTATION

Pages : 1 [2] 3

megaweb
07-09-2007, 09:20 PM
cannot be, based on the thomson specs: http://www.thomson.net/EN/Home/MiniSites/BAP/Cable/ModelDetail.html?category=Standard%20Definition%20DVR&model=6000%20Series

the power consumption is only 35W max, even if you turn it on for 24/7, the maximum power consumption is only 25.2KWh which will only cost you $5.17 only nia.

35W inclusive harddisk ?

p2311967
07-09-2007, 10:28 PM
35W inclusive harddisk ?

Not to forget u when u watch the program, u switch on the TV, lights, sound system (if u did) and all those add up to more electricity bills. If your family member watchs the show while is was recording, it is a double. In the end, your bill sure shoot up high.

iMbEst
08-09-2007, 12:09 AM
siami double? you dun anyhow say lah. 35W max means 35W max, but I think I will get a power consumption meter to prove what Treble said is correct.

NightWish_
08-09-2007, 12:53 AM
ya loh. a small machine only how to use so much power. i think on your laptop 24/7 also cannot achieve that

iMbEst
08-09-2007, 12:56 AM
bad news for you guys......the HDD file system is UNKNOWN!!!!!

http://img509.imageshack.us/img509/9772/untitledmo5.png

liangtam
08-09-2007, 01:08 AM
Expected liao ma.
Quick, take peekture of internal component :D

iMbEst
08-09-2007, 02:34 AM
pictures all here: http://www.xtremeplace.com/yabbse/index.php?topic=47432.0 used my U600 3.2MP AF camera to take one.

NightWish_
08-09-2007, 03:57 AM
windows sucks are detect files systems.
try to boot from a linux live cd, it should automatically detect the file system

NightWish_
08-09-2007, 04:02 AM
oh btw, there isnt any seals that voids warranty right? maybe i'll open mine too

lenney
08-09-2007, 06:52 AM
Appliances normally use embedded OS with all the command locked @ normal user mode.

bad news for you guys......the HDD file system is UNKNOWN!!!!!

http://img509.imageshack.us/img509/9772/untitledmo5.png

iMbEst
08-09-2007, 08:42 AM
oh btw, there isnt any seals that voids warranty right? maybe i'll open mine too

mine doesn't come with the seal, but I saw many others has a white sticker at the back when I went down for servicing.

btw, both mac and windows can detect the hdd but can't read the files at all. is there a software that's able to detect what kind of file system it's using?

shadowandy
08-09-2007, 08:51 AM
Any close up pictures of jumper pins that has labels like J1 or J<number>? There should be a console access around.

p2311967
08-09-2007, 10:26 AM
siami double? you dun anyhow say lah. 35W max means 35W max, but I think I will get a power consumption meter to prove what Treble said is correct.

I mean record use power. Watch also use power. Double lor.

Btw, got 2 drives, where is the other one came from? :s11:

NightWish_
08-09-2007, 11:21 AM
mine doesn't come with the seal, but I saw many others has a white sticker at the back when I went down for servicing.

btw, both mac and windows can detect the hdd but can't read the files at all. is there a software that's able to detect what kind of file system it's using?

i checked mine also no visible seals. if tonite nothing to do then i'll explore. software wise, i dont know

Zerocool
08-09-2007, 06:42 PM
nopt sure if this works but you can try http://www.hope.co.nz/projects/fusion/
Its for Sti551X chips but maybe Sti510 can be used...Apparently they could be using "AV PES/TS" File System.

iMbEst
08-09-2007, 11:52 PM

already told you 35W max liao lah MKLJW can?

mine is X60, got hidden partition for the OS installation lah.

anyway, for some reason, i think my cable modem went kapok......it can't connect to the internet anymore....most probably it could be reset by itself.....192.168.100.1 is always the default gateway :( anybody know how to "reset back" and connect to starhub server?

Zerocool, thanks for the info, will only try out after I send the set in next week if I can't get the cable modem work.......sianz.....dunno what happened to the cable modem.

Any close up pictures of jumper pins that has labels like J1 or J<number>? There should be a console access around.

siami lan also boh lah..... :s22:
http://img529.imageshack.us/img529/381/spa0015sb4.jpg

Jimny
09-09-2007, 05:40 PM
i think i just open the cover and run .. think will be cooler

liangtam
09-09-2007, 07:03 PM

So a desktop has a 300W PSU will consume more than 300W when hdd writing la? Explode liao lor. Please understand the value 35W is the maximum it will take, it does not mean the actual usage with hdd writing may be 35W

thexenomorph
09-09-2007, 08:18 PM
Is the 1MB link come free with Hubstation sufficient to support online games like CNC3? Anyone tried PPstreams on it? Anyone get hubstation plan to cancel the Maxonline? Why or why not?

Thanks.

iMbEst
09-09-2007, 09:31 PM
diff people got diff reason. got people never used the free 1Mbps surflite, got people never signed up anything, got people cancel, got people use it as 2nd modem :D

p2311967
09-09-2007, 10:15 PM
So a desktop has a 300W PSU will consume more than 300W when hdd writing la? Explode liao lor. Please understand the value 35W is the maximum it will take, it does not mean the actual usage with hdd writing may be 35W

What I mean is during recording, the unit use up power, right?

During playback, the unit also uses power, right?

So, that's mean double usage and for sure, the electricity bill goes up la.

If only use digital box alone, you watch n that is. Did you watch again if not repeat? :yawn:

p2311967
09-09-2007, 10:17 PM
diff people got diff reason. got people never used the free 1Mbps surflite, got people never signed up anything, got people cancel, got people use it as 2nd modem :D

Me use it as a second modem for my laptop. Desktop use SNBB, save more trouble. =:p

iMbEst
10-09-2007, 12:33 AM

If only use digital box alone, you watch n that is. Did you watch again if not repeat? :yawn:

whatever sai you do, it's max 35Wph. even if you turn it on, the maximum power consumption per month is 25.2kWph, how much is this? go calculate yourself hoh.

if you think a few dollars of electricity will make u broke, please, go rent a house, dun rent a full HDB flat from the government lah, it's just too sexpensive to you menz.....

aucsl2006
10-09-2007, 09:15 AM
any lamp at house uses up at least 20W/h, 35W/h no big deal la bro.. unless, dun tell me you are using candle light :s13:

p2311967
10-09-2007, 11:35 AM
whatever sai you do, it's max 35Wph. even if you turn it on, the maximum power consumption per month is 25.2kWph, how much is this? go calculate yourself hoh.

if you think a few dollars of electricity will make u broke, please, go rent a house, dun rent a full HDB flat from the government lah, it's just too sexpensive to you menz.....

Sorry hor. You think rent a house is more cheaper than a flat? I paying less than $500 mthly for the whole 4 room flat and if u could rent a house like that, pls tell me, I sure a lot of ppl wanted to. Even add up utilites bills, never hit $600! :s13:

Treble
10-09-2007, 05:03 PM
then what's the big fuss about the electrical power consumption of this hubstation?

p2311967
10-09-2007, 05:19 PM
then what's the big fuss about the electrical power consumption of this hubstation?

Sone one say electrical bill went up after installing this machine. Then I say because he use more n iMbEst told me that no matter how, the total is that much, wouldn't exceed certain amt.

But one thing not to forget, apart from the hubstation usage, tv, light etc.. also put in consideration. Therefore, the bill also can went up easily.

Like my friend came over for a few days n my bills shoot up liao. Common sense mah, increase in usage, increase in bill. :)

Treble
10-09-2007, 07:57 PM
that's because you dunno how to use the power efficiently. who knows you went to turn on aircon lah, turn on this and that? the hubstation power consumption is really insignificant. as for the sudden hike in overall power consumption, it's your responsibility to keep it low what? hubstation dun give you any excuse to waste more electricity.

wiShfulStone
10-09-2007, 08:25 PM

Where got such thing one? :s22:

NightWish_
10-09-2007, 08:33 PM
he simply dont understand that electrical appliances will only use the max rating of the power supply

liangtam
11-09-2007, 12:30 AM
Sone one say electrical bill went up after installing this machine. Then I say because he use more n iMbEst told me that no matter how, the total is that much, wouldn't exceed certain amt.

But one thing not to forget, apart from the hubstation usage, tv, light etc.. also put in consideration. Therefore, the bill also can went up easily.

Like my friend came over for a few days n my bills shoot up liao. Common sense mah, increase in usage, increase in bill. :)
Please understand 35W maximum ish 35 watt maximum, the hubstation will not eat anymore power than 35W, unless the specs sheet is lying.

If you run every function of the hubstation, 100% CPU processing, hdd read/write at same time etc, the chances of eating 35W is there. If it is left idling, chances of the unit eating 50% of 35W will not happen!!

It like a desktop with a 300W PSU, nobody would be so dumb to go and hook up 4 hdd, 4 dvd writers to overload the rating and cause it to explode, same thing goes for hubstation as well. The maximum consumption in designing is never to exceed 35W

Also, nobody says turning on lights and aircon is necessity, thus save money.

p2311967
11-09-2007, 11:55 AM
Please understand 35W maximum ish 35 watt maximum, the hubstation will not eat anymore power than 35W, unless the specs sheet is lying.

If you run every function of the hubstation, 100% CPU processing, hdd read/write at same time etc, the chances of eating 35W is there. If it is left idling, chances of the unit eating 50% of 35W will not happen!!

It like a desktop with a 300W PSU, nobody would be so dumb to go and hook up 4 hdd, 4 dvd writers to overload the rating and cause it to explode, same thing goes for hubstation as well. The maximum consumption in designing is never to exceed 35W

Also, nobody says turning on lights and aircon is necessity, thus save money.

So playing back of recorded show no need to on TV??? TV no need power n no need to pay more $? Even lights not on, TV power comsumption also quite high.

Btw,, from start to end, I keep mention double usage of hubstation n tv which cause the bill went up but u all blame me on only hubstation can't do much on the bill but missed the TV part. So, will the bill went up or down?

Lights might be needed during night time, so, what you say? Unless you want to spoilt your eyes, I got nothing to say. Don't wish to argue with you all so much. :s27: That person who got his bill went up, not my problem n $. :s13:

p2311967
11-09-2007, 11:56 AM
he simply dont understand that electrical appliances will only use the max rating of the power supply

I understand but u never read what I typed. Hubstation no need other device to help in display? Very good, teach me how. :s27:

liangtam
11-09-2007, 12:01 PM
Well, with the older analog/digital STB, you also turn on and watch some amount of time on the TV. With the new hubstation, you also turn on and watch some amount of time on TV + do some recording. So in that sense, how much extra is generated? Not alot afterall!

If really want to talk about and save energy consumption. Might as well not buy a TV nor subscribe.

iMbEst
12-09-2007, 12:44 AM

wah, if I'm your english teacher hoh, I will recommend you to go for Singlish competition, i think still lose one lol! :s22:

you're the one that's not having common sense. you got serious mathes problem....

what is DOUBLE ? i can use my kkj to bet with you, no matter what, your bill won't be double with hubstation. you dare to bet or not? :s22:

clouette
12-09-2007, 12:50 AM

has anyone tried to play WOW and Maple Story smoothly thru the Hubstation?

My main reason to choose a internet service. Thanks.

NightWish_
12-09-2007, 01:18 AM
I understand but u never read what I typed. Hubstation no need other device to help in display? Very good, teach me how. :s27:

its either you type wrongly, or you have a problem expressing yourself. because everyone else here understands your msg the way i did

iMbEst
14-09-2007, 12:44 AM
can't stand the heat running overnight.....unless you have the case opened up.....think I may want to turn the fan around to suck air out of the box and see if it improves....the way they design the ventilation is like "ovening" the box.....

http://img341.imageshack.us/img341/1066/untitledvr6.jpg

urbanturban
14-09-2007, 07:29 AM
Actually can set the machine to standby. It will wake up and record even if it is on standby mode.

Treble
14-09-2007, 12:18 PM
standby will not make it cooler at all! especially when your cable modem is running!

rAcEr
14-09-2007, 12:35 PM
Actually can set the machine to standby. It will wake up and record even if it is on standby mode.

are u sure about this? from what i understand this is not true...

urbanturban
14-09-2007, 02:11 PM
are u sure about this? from what i understand this is not true...

I don't use the internet from the smartTV as I have Maxonline separately.
I always put the machine on standby... it seemed cooler. I always set the machine to record a few days ahead of time and it just records it according to schedule.

I did not notice whether it switches itself on or not at the scheduled time.

Last time, i leave my machine on the whole time, thinking it will not record if i put on standby. Then after 2 months, the hard disk was fried. Thankfully, Starhub replaced/repaired it.

Zerocool
14-09-2007, 03:19 PM
can't stand the heat running overnight.....unless you have the case opened up.....think I may want to turn the fan around to suck air out of the box and see if it improves....the way they design the ventilation is like "ovening" the box.....

maybe can check the heat source and mod a plastic cover with fan in place of the original cover to cool off specific area? If need to RMA just replace with original cover. Want to get this hubstation but the heat is really making me think twice....

megaweb
14-09-2007, 03:28 PM
Yes it will record the scheduled program in standby mode but somehow it stops recording program when there is a update. So turn the hardware off and on to update, after update it will record again in standby mode.

trigoz
14-09-2007, 04:14 PM
Anyone managed to retrieve the recorded the programmes from the HDD yet? Btw viedo files are recorded under which format?
TIA

Treble
14-09-2007, 06:05 PM
I don't use the internet from the smartTV as I have Maxonline separately.
I always put the machine on standby... it seemed cooler. I always set the machine to record a few days ahead of time and it just records it according to schedule.

I did not notice whether it switches itself on or not at the scheduled time.

Last time, i leave my machine on the whole time, thinking it will not record if i put on standby. Then after 2 months, the hard disk was fried. Thankfully, Starhub replaced/repaired it.

the "turn on" "turn off" mode is only for the UI lah. the moment you turn on the power switch, the HDD will boot liao lor. So it doesn't matter if it's standby or fully on, the schedule will not be affected.

iMbEst
20-09-2007, 11:31 PM
is the HDD really storing the OS? I doubt so leh, if not how can those digital box boot by itself?

let me try out and let you guys know about it. Currently I pull out the HDD power cable to reduce unnecessary power wastage for the hubstation :D Now I can happily turn on the hubstation for 24 hours liao. without worrying about heat hehe...

kinsamanka
26-09-2007, 03:36 PM

Can you please tell me what is part number for the STi chip that is located above the hd on the upper right. It is the chip that is partly covered by the ide cable on your photo.

Thanks!

Treble
26-09-2007, 05:57 PM
there is only 1 STi chip, i opened mine too, yes, that's the right one!

converse2010
26-09-2007, 06:29 PM
Hey guys, wondering if this Hub Station offer better quality of video compared to the normal Digital setup box ?

liangtam
26-09-2007, 09:49 PM
Hey guys, wondering if this Hub Station offer better quality of video compared to the normal Digital setup box ?
Theres component output, don't think its available on the normal D-STB

converse2010
26-09-2007, 10:10 PM
yar component output, so the picture quality will be better ?

liangtam
26-09-2007, 10:15 PM
yar component output, so the picture quality will be better ?
Definitely better than the normal RCA input la

converse2010
26-09-2007, 11:43 PM
Definitely better than the normal RCA input la
Okayy thanks :)

iMbEst
27-09-2007, 12:06 AM
go down to starhub shop and see it yourself lor

justjohnnygamer
05-10-2007, 03:13 AM
Earlier when I called for people to join my testing team, that included HubStation users. However some people have been hesitatant to join as they don't want to expose their MSN contact details. I have some good news. I can provide you with instructions on how you can still join my speedtesting team, still use MSN, and still not leak any sensitive info...

0. Sign up for a new MSN account here:
http://www.hotmail.com/
Put in fake information. DO NOT PUT IN ANY SENSITIVE INFORMATION.

1. Download and install Messenger Plus! Live from here:
http://www.msgpluslive.net/
This is just one feature that Messenger Plus! Live is capable of
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Messenger_Plus!_Live
Multiple instances

It allows the user to to open multiple instances of the Messenger Client on the same computer so one can sign into more than one account at once. This feature is also known as messenger polygamy.[1]

2. Sign into your new MSN account using Messenger Plus! Live.

3. Send me a PM and tell me that you would like to join the speedtesting team(no more MaxOnline Express $59.92/month 6Mbps/256Kbps users please) and then wait for me to PM you back with details. Try this direct link here:
Send a private message to justjohnnygamer (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/private.php?do=newpm&u=270798)

iMbEst
06-10-2007, 01:29 AM
you're a damn hardcore guy who is pressing starhub very much lol! If i'm their shareholder, I will not be happy about what you did hehe....

good job! and keep it up! You have my support here :D

justjohnnygamer
06-10-2007, 02:20 AM
you're a damn hardcore guy who is pressing starhub very much lol! If i'm their shareholder, I will not be happy about what you did hehe....

good job! and keep it up! You have my support here :D
When you have many vocal critics, it can be hard to see that you still have supporters. Thanks for your show of support, it is real encouraging. Though there is still hard work to be done.... I'm still in need of a few more HubStation users to help me speedtest. Please consider joining my speedtesting team by sending me a PM here:
Send a private message to justjohnnygamer (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/private.php?do=newpm&u=270798)

If you concerned about being anonymous, read my post above.

Toons
07-10-2007, 09:52 PM
Thinking of getting this hubstation for my room on top of the digital setup box in my living room. Was told that i need to pay $8+ every month for duplication of service or something. Else the hubstation will not be activated and cannot even record those 'free to air' channels like 5, 8, U.

I don't need to watch SCV in my room, just want to use the hubstation as a hdd recorder for free to air channels. Any idea if it is true? Sounds really wierd that i need to pay to use it to record free to air channels when i already bought it.

liangtam
07-10-2007, 10:53 PM
You don't have to duplicate access to your current subscription, but I dunno if u can still get it at a promo price then.

calvin_
08-10-2007, 12:10 AM
When you have many vocal critics, it can be hard to see that you still have supporters. Thanks for your show of support, it is real encouraging. Though there is still hard work to be done.... I'm still in need of a few more HubStation users to help me speedtest. Please consider joining my speedtesting team by sending me a PM here:

If you concerned about being anonymous, read my post above.
please leh, you always have my support.

and the support of many others. just we never say only.

Toons
08-10-2007, 08:49 AM
You don't have to duplicate access to your current subscription, but I dunno if u can still get it at a promo price then.

Thats what i thought too, but the customer service officer claimed that if i do not pay that $8+ every month, the hubstation will not be activated and can't even record free to air channels ... and that sounds unfair.

Treble
08-10-2007, 12:35 PM
didn't you get the name of the joker? shall ask them to retrain that person....

iMbEst
14-10-2007, 11:13 AM
Thats what i thought too, but the customer service officer claimed that if i do not pay that $8+ every month, the hubstation will not be activated and can't even record free to air channels ... and that sounds unfair.

if you scared this scared that, buy the 2nd hand one lor. :s22:

meemohsah
16-10-2007, 06:06 PM
hi need help here.. am thinking of getting hubsation and install it to my tv and computer on my own.. but not sure how complicated/easy it is? Is it juz as easy as taking the cable and plugging into the correct ports, or muz i do some further configuration on my tv and computer after attaching the physical cables? is it like a plug-and-play kind of device?

if it's really complicated, i'll pay for installation, but i juz wanna make sure first, in case the guy juz comes to my place and charge me more than 30 bucks to plug in the cables!

can anyone help? thanks so much in advance..

kun1he2
16-10-2007, 10:28 PM
hi need help here.. am thinking of getting hubsation and install it to my tv and computer on my own.. but not sure how complicated/easy it is? Is it juz as easy as taking the cable and plugging into the correct ports, or muz i do some further configuration on my tv and computer after attaching the physical cables? is it like a plug-and-play kind of device?

if it's really complicated, i'll pay for installation, but i juz wanna make sure first, in case the guy juz comes to my place and charge me more than 30 bucks to plug in the cables!

If you previously owned a cable modem, it simply takes it's place.
For video/audio cabling, it is quite straightforward - no worries there.

liangtam
16-10-2007, 11:24 PM

You can pay me less for transportation, I do for chiu :P

Otherwise, you can do yourself, just need to hook cable to correct place and press a few button on your TV remote and PC.

Treble
17-10-2007, 12:36 PM

DIY first lor, if cannot make it then call them down to fix for you lor, but remember to post here so that we can laugh at you hoh :s13:

meemohsah
17-10-2007, 12:47 PM
thanks, so i guess it's not that chim after all? mine's a totally new subscription, with no existing modems or whatsoever. hopefully won't have too much problems doing this on my own, thanks!

meemohsah
17-10-2007, 12:50 PM
DIY first lor, if cannot make it then call them down to fix for you lor, but remember to post here so that we can laugh at you hoh :s13:

dun laugh at me lah.. i'm not savvy about such things at all.. will try to DIY lor.. =:p

hotlink
22-10-2007, 05:02 PM
Boss... what IP you get when using free 1m from Hubstation?

can I connect AP to it for wireless surfing?

liangtam
22-10-2007, 05:37 PM
can I connect AP to it for wireless surfing?
Why not? It is just a physical medium for communication.

Treble
22-10-2007, 06:17 PM
it doesn't matter one lor, as long as you connect a router to it, you can do anything, limited to your hardware capability only hehe...

eCooks
24-10-2007, 06:09 AM
The Chip is STi5100KUC. Some more info: The USB port is for future use for connecting external harddisk. Its in openTV roadmap. I also believe that the disk is formatted as UDF. Can some Linux Guru check this out and let us know.

eCooks
24-10-2007, 06:17 AM
Remember to optimize your Hubstation harddisk once in a few months to prevent hanging during auto upgrade. This will save you a service call or a trip to the service center. if you notice any delay in playback response or jerking you need to optimise. When you optimize the disk, you will lose all recordings.

wuga98
24-10-2007, 09:16 AM
i am thinking about getting a hub station and would like to ask a few clarification question to people here that have this; Can the ethernet connection be connected to a TV and use that to surf the web? and how about watching movies from some of the internet sites eg. pay per movie etc? And it is possible to donwload these movies and record them into the HDD, i am afraid that the lag may just be too great to enjoy any movie over the internet?. TIA.

eCooks
24-10-2007, 09:52 AM
The internet connection is pretty much independent of the cable TV / recording functions. You cannot websurf using TV nor record Internet movies. In fact you cannot record even the PPV or Demand TV movies.

Treble
24-10-2007, 12:46 PM
i am thinking about getting a hub station and would like to ask a few clarification question to people here that have this; Can the ethernet connection be connected to a TV and use that to surf the web? and how about watching movies from some of the internet sites eg. pay per movie etc? And it is possible to donwload these movies and record them into the HDD, i am afraid that the lag may just be too great to enjoy any movie over the internet?. TIA.

that is just a modem, can you use it to surf net?

still must have a PC/Mac to do the job mah. It doesn't come with a built-in browser, even it does, I dun think you can surf a lot of the site.

eCooks, the file system is not linux based. I think bro iMbEst has tried it, it doesn't work. btw, how to optimize the HDD? never seen such option. Kena once yesterday, my box just hang during recording, there were some minor upgrade I think, i think if I didn't turn it on, it won't happen. luckily the show is shown again at a later time, manage to record it again, for my wife, if not sure kena chopped into pieces lol!

wuga98
24-10-2007, 02:48 PM
thanks for the comments, i have seen tv that has ethernet port and i suspect some of them have a build-in media center of some sort eg. some CE based stuff correct, it's like one of those step down PC OS for consumer electronics.

and the TV is just a big monitor ?? And will the CE OS have an IE to do streaming, am not sure.

that is just a modem, can you use it to surf net?

still must have a PC/Mac to do the job mah. It doesn't come with a built-in browser, even it does, I dun think you can surf a lot of the site.

eCooks, the file system is not linux based. I think bro iMbEst has tried it, it doesn't work. btw, how to optimize the HDD? never seen such option. Kena once yesterday, my box just hang during recording, there were some minor upgrade I think, i think if I didn't turn it on, it won't happen. luckily the show is shown again at a later time, manage to record it again, for my wife, if not sure kena chopped into pieces lol!

tangsp
24-10-2007, 05:29 PM
Hi Bro/Sis,

I am also thinking of getting the hubstation, cos need to hook up a webcam to monitor my maid who is looking after my 3mth old daughter.... has anyone tried it yet? Also any recommendation on the webcam available...

I am currently using SNBB volume base jetpack, but because I will be shifting place in about half year time, so do not wish to have any plan/contract so that I won't incure a relocation cost... thus the hubstation does look attractive...

:) Thank you... any help/comment would be appreciated :)

Cheers :s12:

eCooks
24-10-2007, 06:40 PM
Treble,
The disk optimize is under smartTV settings. It will ask for PIN. the default pin is six zeros. the DVR will then reboot and reload.

NightWish_
24-10-2007, 06:45 PM
Hi Bro/Sis,

I am also thinking of getting the hubstation, cos need to hook up a webcam to monitor my maid who is looking after my 3mth old daughter.... has anyone tried it yet? Also any recommendation on the webcam available...

I am currently using SNBB volume base jetpack, but because I will be shifting place in about half year time, so do not wish to have any plan/contract so that I won't incure a relocation cost... thus the hubstation does look attractive...

:) Thank you... any help/comment would be appreciated :)

Cheers :s12:

using webcam shouldnt be a problem.
webcam wise im not sure which is good because there are so many on the marker

eCooks
24-10-2007, 06:53 PM
I believe UDF is OS neutral. Linux has more flexible UDF tools than Windows for looking at hard disks formatted as UDF.
Bro iMbEst, Please enlighten us!

One more thing to discover: Key sequence to do a factory reset. It is something like press and hold one or two buttons while powering up. Use: can bootup the system from the memory when your DVR gets stuck in Loading screen forever.

liangtam
24-10-2007, 07:13 PM
Not sure if ports are blocked. Maybe you can try DCS2120 + HomeCamera ba. However, it probably would not be cheap as compared to a PC + webcam.

sAxman_Returns
25-10-2007, 02:16 AM
thanks for the comments, i have seen tv that has ethernet port and i suspect some of them have a build-in media center of some sort eg. some CE based stuff correct, it's like one of those step down PC OS for consumer electronics.

and the TV is just a big monitor ?? And will the CE OS have an IE to do streaming, am not sure.

CE based is still Windows embedded OS, which is still windows. :s22: Thus you can't live without Windows/Linux for web browsing. Which model of TV you saw that comes with Ethernet port? My thinkpad does come with a dunno what OS based kind of browser, stored in the HDD. However, it will not be practical coz you can't run certain thing that required plug-ins in the future.

brother eCooks, what are the keys to do the factory reset?

btw, have you guys tried connecting your hubstation at other places? Do you still get the same SCV subscription etc?

Zerocool
26-10-2007, 05:32 PM
i suspect hubstation can support up to 500GB of HDD based on the chip used. There should be some built in formatting capabilities too. Let me get a hubstation tomorrow to test it up. If my guess it right maybe we can upgrade the disk, extract the program and even use a SATA HDD on it. Will keep you guys posted.....

Treble
26-10-2007, 05:43 PM
i saw the specs b4, only support up to 320GB nia.

dun think you can "upgrade" it as it's controlled at maxtor if i'm not wrong. The moment you change to a new HDD, your SMART TV function will be gone.

Maybe somebody else can try plugging in a fresh HDD to see if it works.....SATA is not possible, unless you get an IDE -> SATA converter.

Zerocool
26-10-2007, 11:10 PM
i saw the specs b4, only support up to 320GB nia.

dun think you can "upgrade" it as it's controlled at maxtor if i'm not wrong. The moment you change to a new HDD, your SMART TV function will be gone.

Maybe somebody else can try plugging in a fresh HDD to see if it works.....SATA is not possible, unless you get an IDE -> SATA converter.
exactly what i'm trying to do... from sata->ide using convector.

btw where you see the spec? care to share? i know STi510X series processor can deal with up to 500GB this is how i come up with the figure.

As for the maxtor part i do not get it, it is mfg by Thomson and the harddisk is from seagate where does maxtor comes in? if you have more info care to share? If cannot post in public pm is also fine.

Will update the project status again...

sAxman_Returns
26-10-2007, 11:15 PM
dude, check out my thread in xtremeplace lah. Maxtor is under seagate what?

xyz890
28-10-2007, 10:01 AM
any info the usb port now for any use?

The Chip is STi5100KUC. Some more info: The USB port is for future use for connecting external harddisk. Its in openTV roadmap. I also believe that the disk is formatted as UDF. Can some Linux Guru check this out and let us know.

sAxman_Returns
28-10-2007, 10:42 AM
the USB port is disabled. It can be used as a power source at this moment :D

xyz890
28-10-2007, 05:50 PM
anyone try to transfer to DVD recorder? intend to buy a simple DVD recorder for transfer some good TV show.
:s11:

life_line
28-10-2007, 11:33 PM
anyone try to transfer to DVD recorder? intend to buy a simple DVD recorder for transfer some good TV show.
:s11:

i use sony VRD-MC5 cost $299, more convenient for my hc1 camcorder. pls note that usb on VRD-MC5 cannot download stuff from your computer.

http://www.sony.com.sg/product/vrd-mc5/sku/vrd-mc5++et2?site=hp_en_SG_i

you can copy out to any external dvd recorder.

eCooks
29-10-2007, 10:30 AM
Stx5100 info

http://img149.imageshack.us/my.php?image=20061018104524734ho5.jpg

tangsp
29-10-2007, 03:24 PM
Thank you :)

xyz890
29-10-2007, 08:15 PM
Just bought a DVD recorder from HWzone. Gd price and no problem to record from hubstation.
Using DVD ram disk.

i use sony VRD-MC5 cost $299, more convenient for my hc1 camcorder. pls note that usb on VRD-MC5 cannot download stuff from your computer.

http://www.sony.com.sg/product/vrd-mc5/sku/vrd-mc5++et2?site=hp_en_SG_i

you can copy out to any external dvd recorder.

sAxman_Returns
29-10-2007, 10:43 PM
bro xyz890, how do you record? just take the output from hubstation is it?

Zerocool
30-10-2007, 01:15 AM
hmm i just throw a 40GB old HDD into hubstation, If you connect a normal harddisk to hubstation, it will still boot showing the message: "some problem with harddisk please format it"

I only managed to get it recongise after pressing a combi of codes in the front panel (forget what i did, trying hard to recall). apparently SH reserve some space for the 'live' tv feature and the rest for recording.The HDD is used my the hubstation for live TV, showing zero free space for the recording.(40gb too small)

Tried formatting the disk but it fails (could be the size issue) After restart forget the combi..

Trying to remember the code and will try to throw in another bigger drive (>160GB) to test....

Hopefully this will move one step closer to upgrading the HDD.....

sAxman_Returns
30-10-2007, 01:49 AM
what you used to format? it's not FAT system u know?

Zerocool
30-10-2007, 04:52 PM
ya i know its not FAT..duh....

Hubstation have a build in formatting function(named "optimize hdd")It will format the drive. Just need to low level format the drive to prepare it for hubstation....

xyz890
30-10-2007, 05:48 PM
I believe hubstation harddisk at least have 2 partition. one for os, another for data. Maybe can try to use Acronis image to clone the harddisk.

hmm i just throw a 40GB old HDD into hubstation, If you connect a normal harddisk to hubstation, it will still boot showing the message: "some problem with harddisk please format it"

I only managed to get it recongise after pressing a combi of codes in the front panel (forget what i did, trying hard to recall). apparently SH reserve some space for the 'live' tv feature and the rest for recording.The HDD is used my the hubstation for live TV, showing zero free space for the recording.(40gb too small)

Tried formatting the disk but it fails (could be the size issue) After restart forget the combi..

Trying to remember the code and will try to throw in another bigger drive (>160GB) to test....

Hopefully this will move one step closer to upgrading the HDD.....

xyz890
30-10-2007, 05:49 PM
From Hubstation output to DVD input.

bro xyz890, how do you record? just take the output from hubstation is it?

Zerocool
30-10-2007, 06:42 PM
I believe hubstation harddisk at least have 2 partition. one for os, another for data. Maybe can try to use Acronis image to clone the harddisk.

i think cloning method may work (need a 160gb hdd to try) But i think there isn't OS stored in the HDD as i can boot up with a blank HDD all settings still stays.

sAxman_Returns
30-10-2007, 09:38 PM
any PC based method will not work lah. aiyo.

As for the Optimization way, you just plug in a blank HDD and see can work or not lor. I actually have a spare 80GB, maybe will try out later hehe...

Zerocool
30-10-2007, 10:42 PM
any PC based method will not work lah. aiyo.

As for the Optimization way, you just plug in a blank HDD and see can work or not lor. I actually have a spare 80GB, maybe will try out later hehe...

i'm not talking about high level pc kinda method, i am talking about low level cloning if you get what i mean. In fact when i do sector dump of the harddisk i can see the content. Anyway tried the optimization method using a 40GB harddisk it does not work normally. (only get it to work once when i press some buttons combi on the front panel which i am trying very hard to recall).

Anyone technically inclined and wants to work on hubstation? Maybe can talk via pm and we can see how to work on it further.

Currently making some progress in trying to access the maintainer's menu...

eCooks
30-10-2007, 11:59 PM
Disk cloning using Acronis has been recommended in a Dutch forum for upgrading the harddisk. Also read that the format may be UDF. the problem is most Win. UDF readers only point to the cdrom drive. Linux UDF tools may be able to access UDF Harddisk. I gather that the only other Win tools is a software called disk drive tune up.
Zerocool, keep the good work on maintenence access key sequence goin. I read that for another thomson dvr model in the UK the reset code was to press and hold the two right most buttons while powering up. this forces the dvr to boot from the ROM resident firmware.

sAxman_Returns
31-10-2007, 12:06 AM
i'm not talking about high level pc kinda method, i am talking about low level cloning if you get what i mean. In fact when i do sector dump of the harddisk i can see the content. Anyway tried the optimization method using a 40GB harddisk it does not work normally. (only get it to work once when i press some buttons combi on the front panel which i am trying very hard to recall).

Anyone technically inclined and wants to work on hubstation? Maybe can talk via pm and we can see how to work on it further.

Currently making some progress in trying to access the maintainer's menu...

where did you get the code from and how come you can forget one? never write down?

it's okay to discuss openly here lah, Thomson is not going to sue you anyway....starhub can't be bothered as they dun own the machines, only the card.

Zerocool
31-10-2007, 12:06 AM
Disk cloning using Acronis has been recommended in a Dutch forum for upgrading the harddisk. Also read that the format may be UDF. the problem is most Win. UDF readers only point to the cdrom drive. Linux UDF tools may be able to access UDF Harddisk. I gather that the only other Win tools is a software called disk drive tune up.
Zerocool, keep the good work on maintenence access key sequence goin. I read that for another thomson dvr model in the UK the reset code was to press and hold the two right most buttons while powering up. this forces the dvr to boot from the ROM resident firmware.
ecook where can i get a copy of that? tried many tools but cannot view content(only low level can see content) Hope to get this tool to try...Anyway the PSU is the one that is generating all the heat, i've tap the HDD power and mount a exhaust fan drawing out air and 24/7 only a bit warm to touch...

xyz890
31-10-2007, 12:25 AM
http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/download/trueimage/

trail copy but can work like full version

ecook where can i get a copy of that? tried many tools but cannot view content(only low level can see content) Hope to get this tool to try...Anyway the PSU is the one that is generating all the heat, i've tap the HDD power and mount a exhaust fan drawing out air and 24/7 only a bit warm to touch...

sAxman_Returns
31-10-2007, 12:30 AM
Zerocool, what do you meant by "low level" can see the content? dun quite catch the ball.....what low level method you used?

iMbEst
31-10-2007, 12:32 AM
wah, you all never read my thread in xtremeplace? all these I tried liao lah, but stopped at the last part about trying 1 software which I can't recalled hehe....

just open up the cover will do, dun need additional fan, you're creating trouble as the fan will accumulate dust.....

Zerocool
31-10-2007, 01:03 AM
wah, you all never read my thread in xtremeplace? all these I tried liao lah, but stopped at the last part about trying 1 software which I can't recalled hehe....

just open up the cover will do, dun need additional fan, you're creating trouble as the fan will accumulate dust.....

ok address all questions @ once

cannot open cover leh dangerous ppl hand itchy touch the pus area then gone case liao.... the fan is to draw air out so dust should not be a concern since there is another fan darwing out air on the other side ba... anyway happy with the cool box (even hdd is not hot)

the code is not some number lar its some button combi on front panel thats why can forget (since i try to many combi)

Low level means you query the HDD directly, for example if you use disk dump you can actually look at the data by sector and open it using programs liked hexworkshop, from there can tell you a lot of story like signature etc etc...

imbest you tried all the methods liao? can link me to the thread? cos i search xtremeplace there's only 1 thread on hubstation but not much details on the work done etc..

iMbEst
31-10-2007, 01:19 AM
nope, I stopped for quite sometime, coz didn't have time to continue liao.

if you did read my thread, somebody suggested the very last method which I haven't tried.

siegeholler
21-11-2007, 12:37 PM
anyone here using component cables with the hubstation? is the quality of picture much better than composite?

liangtam
21-11-2007, 05:05 PM
anyone here using component cables with the hubstation? is the quality of picture much better than composite?
Everyone knows using composite input, got some artifacts already what. Since VCD days. Of course component better.

Treble
21-11-2007, 08:19 PM
everyone ? lol siegeholler is one of a very typical person that does not know lor. I believe there are many people who doesn't know too.

daristan
25-11-2007, 06:14 AM
does this hub station used alot of electricity even in standby, and get hot easily

sAxman_Returns
25-11-2007, 09:22 AM
get hot easily YES. But in standby, it uses almost the same power as power on at the beginning, after a while, the HDD will be turned off.

urbanturban
25-11-2007, 12:34 PM
Last weekend, send in for repair again. Another f***ing problem with the hard disk. 2nd time. Luckily still withing warranty. This thing has very poor quality. Or i have arse luck.

iMbEst
25-11-2007, 01:50 PM
luck bah....i dun have any problem even I recorded quite a lot of show though....

trigoz
25-11-2007, 02:25 PM
luck bah....i dun have any problem even I recorded quite a lot of show though....

Hi iMbEst, any luck of extracting the recorded programs to date?

daristan
25-11-2007, 02:28 PM
they should use 2.5" HD

trigoz
25-11-2007, 02:42 PM
they should use 2.5" HD

Do agree which will simply result in a smaller Hubstation Unit although it will add cost.

iMbEst
25-11-2007, 02:45 PM
Hi iMbEst, any luck of extracting the recorded programs to date?

my power adapter for the IDE->USB adapter burnt lah, need to buy a new one b4 trying out again. so far the HDD still got quite a lot of space, so not urgent lar hehe......busy shopping for TV now.....

trigoz
25-11-2007, 02:48 PM
my power adapter for the IDE->USB adapter burnt lah, need to buy a new one b4 trying out again. so far the HDD still got quite a lot of space, so not urgent lar hehe......busy shopping for TV now.....

Oh really huh? Guess you are extracting "Hot" videos indeed. hahahah

Sure do let us know on you efforts to extract the videos. If you could do it, then its a really a great buy afterall. :)

cheers buddy!

weeguy
25-11-2007, 05:15 PM
After reading through 25 pages of this thread in one go, there are a few questions in my mind about the Hubstation. I'm currently not a subscriber of cable tv and my internet connection is under snbb. I intend to purchase the Hubstation from SH but not sign up for the 2 year contract. Eventually, I just wish to use it as a dvr for free-to-air channels and utilize the internet connection.

Given my situation,
1) Firstly, is it even possible to do so?
2) Do I need to pay monthly subscription fees? (since I don't intend to subscribe to any of the paid channels)
3) If I were to purchase a hubstation second hand, am I able to just plug and play at my place? Does SH need to be informed of the handover, since I theoretically have no records in SH?

sAxman_Returns
25-11-2007, 05:38 PM
just buy and plug, that's all.

the only thing you need to be sure is, having a digital SCV point. Analogue one will not work. This could cost $30 :D

buy new one? you must be crazy, this thing doesn't worth more than $350....

andmic04
26-11-2007, 01:39 PM
Last weekend, send in for repair again. Another f***ing problem with the hard disk. 2nd time. Luckily still withing warranty. This thing has very poor quality. Or i have arse luck.

Face the similar problem last week, after powerup, the hubstation hanged. call up starhub...and demand the technical pple to come down to look at the problem for free cos bought for less than 3 months. the tech ppl tryin ways to reset the H/W from resetting the system to default setting, but to no avail. lastly, he pressed some button on the remote after powering up the system. it go to the setup page which needed the password before allowing to format the harddisk. i ask if that could be disclosed but the tech ppl was reluctantly to do so.
Conclusion.... the problem lie with the harddrive. This system not very reliable.

megaweb
26-11-2007, 05:51 PM
Treble,
The disk optimize is under smartTV settings. It will ask for PIN. the default pin is six zeros. the DVR will then reboot and reload.
Thanks for the info.

sAxman_Returns
26-11-2007, 11:38 PM
maybe you guys want to try operating it with the case open?

liangtam
26-11-2007, 11:57 PM
maybe you guys want to try operating it with the case open?
That would be unsightly, while dust flies in. Altho it probably can help in heat dissipation

iMbEst
27-11-2007, 12:57 AM
lol, put inside a drawer lor, with a transperant glass in front :D seriously the design is really koyak, in terms of ventilation....

urbanturban
27-11-2007, 04:48 PM
I agree heat dissipation is the culprit. The unit is probably designed for a cooler climate. i now switch the thing off unless i want to record or watch TV. very inconvenient.

Treble
27-11-2007, 06:21 PM
i only turn it on when I need it, or need to pre-schedule recording.

Now it's quite shoik, imagine yesterday I only started watching Heroes at 10.30 and almost finish the show at 11pm :D cut all the crappy ads....

open up and run lor, or cut a big hole at the cover :D

antivirus02
04-12-2007, 12:35 AM
If the hubstation wakes up from standby mode to do recording, will it goes back into standby mode after recording? Possibly to set it to standby mode automatically according to time?

NightWish_
04-12-2007, 07:10 AM
mine records while in standby mode

sAxman_Returns
04-12-2007, 07:39 AM
the "on" mode is only triggering the video/audio output only lar.

megaweb
04-12-2007, 09:01 AM
Face the similar problem last week, after powerup, the hubstation hanged. call up starhub...and demand the technical pple to come down to look at the problem for free cos bought for less than 3 months. the tech ppl tryin ways to reset the H/W from resetting the system to default setting, but to no avail. lastly, he pressed some button on the remote after powering up the system. it go to the setup page which needed the password before allowing to format the harddisk. i ask if that could be disclosed but the tech ppl was reluctantly to do so.
Conclusion.... the problem lie with the harddrive. This system not very reliable.

If I am not wrong, he was doing HD optimization which is similar to formating HD. This feature will wipe out all your recorded programmes.

There is an option for optimize HD and code is 6 zeros.

My last visit to Thomson Service Centre and the lady at the counter advised me to do HD optimization if it starts up slowly or behave strangely. Else it will hang.

Just wondering why you are not charge for technician to visit your place for servicing Hubstation. I was asked to pay $50++ previously.

andmic04
10-12-2007, 05:10 PM
If I am not wrong, he was doing HD optimization which is similar to formating HD. This feature will wipe out all your recorded programmes.

There is an option for optimize HD and code is 6 zeros.

My last visit to Thomson Service Centre and the lady at the counter advised me to do HD optimization if it starts up slowly or behave strangely. Else it will hang.

Just wondering why you are not charge for technician to visit your place for servicing Hubstation. I was asked to pay $50++ previously.

I believe that most of you here if not all hubstation users agrees that the harddrive that come with this 120gb suppose to allow us to store tons of video. just image if i will need to do a optimisation every fortnight or on a monthly basis.it will wipe out all ur data information. to me, it simply don't make any sense.

for my case, i seldom use it and only have a couple of video in it and this harddrive problem
occur. of course i am furious and initially they still want 2 charge me for the fee. quite upset with the hubstation performance.

iMbEst
10-12-2007, 09:15 PM
get it replaced with a 160GB HDD lor. mine is working perfectly alright :D

kun1he2
10-12-2007, 11:21 PM
get it replaced with a 160GB HDD lor. mine is working perfectly alright :D

Hmm, do you get full access to all 160GB?

antivirus02
11-12-2007, 12:16 AM
Does the Cable modem status LED ever light up?

The manual states that "Orange LED will be lighted up if Cable Modem is online successfully".

I'm able to get to Internet via the Ethernet port on the hubstation, but the Cable modem status LED never lights up. Is it normal?

sAxman_Returns
11-12-2007, 12:48 AM
yup normal. why care if it works? you need those LED to work b4 you can start using it meh? Mine only light up during boot up, that's all. So far the hubstation never fail me b4, not even hang....

i think 160GB is the same as 120GB.....maybe 120GB no more in production liaoz. 160GB could be the more stable option.

rAcEr
19-12-2007, 08:08 PM
do u guys get the problem of frequent software updates on the hubstation? i find it a nuisance especially when I got it at 9pm one night, and then three hours later it auto-updated itself again.

its a hassle because it interferes with my viewing for a couple of minutes!

Treble
20-12-2007, 10:32 AM
i think the more annoying part is the flashing of upgrade notice across your TV while watching them lol.

rAcEr
20-12-2007, 11:44 AM
i can understand if it patches like once in 3 months...but to patch twice in the same day, 3 hours of each other? that's just poor patch management on starhub's end.

daristan
20-12-2007, 11:44 AM
hi , wanted to get the hubstation soon, after my cable modem contract, but wanted to find put whether using the Componet cable connection has any BIG difference in display compare to AV cable and RF cable, as my existng 2 set componet connection had been use up by my wii and DVD player.

rAcEr
20-12-2007, 11:57 AM
Component much better than AV / RF cable imho

sAxman_Returns
20-12-2007, 12:00 PM
not "much" but noticable difference. component, although not digital, has a much cleaner and clearer signal. less noise mah.

jingwei
21-12-2007, 07:20 PM
yup normal. why care if it works? you need those LED to work b4 you can start using it meh? Mine only light up during boot up, that's all. So far the hubstation never fail me b4, not even hang....

i think 160GB is the same as 120GB.....maybe 120GB no more in production liaoz. 160GB could be the more stable option.

Currently for hubstation,u get 120GB or 160GB? If we replace the hard disk ourselves with a higher storage,will the SmartTV software still be there?cause i see the spec for the hubstation,it can support up to 320GB. anyway to extract the recorded videos?

iMbEst
21-12-2007, 11:24 PM
you can't just replace the HDD coz you need to have the encrypted firmware installed first.

I dun have the time to try out the video extraction yet :D

trigoz
23-12-2007, 03:03 PM
you can't just replace the HDD coz you need to have the encrypted firmware installed first.

I dun have the time to try out the video extraction yet :D

Bro, did you managed to "rip" the recorded programs from the hubstation? If so, how did u managed to extract it. thks

JuveZzZ
23-12-2007, 03:06 PM
how to check the capacity of the HDD in my hub station ?

siegeholler
23-12-2007, 03:19 PM
go to DVR info then HDD

iMbEst
23-12-2007, 09:16 PM
Bro, did you managed to "rip" the recorded programs from the hubstation? If so, how did u managed to extract it. thks

no luck yet, coz my IDE->USB power adapter burnt. just got a brand new set and now I got no time to play with it. Maybe X'mas time?

jingwei
29-12-2007, 01:04 PM
no luck yet, coz my IDE->USB power adapter burnt. just got a brand new set and now I got no time to play with it. Maybe X'mas time?

Where did you get the encryted firmware from? what is the max hard disk space this recorder can take?

shaitee
02-01-2008, 02:57 PM

I recently got one of these from my girl friend as she has decided to move in with me. I unplug out my old box and plug in this new box. I switched the SIM card from my old box to the new box too. But apparently, after power on, the msg on SIM card validation is always there.

Anyway to solve this?

lancerevo34
02-01-2008, 03:07 PM

I recently got one of these from my girl friend as she has decided to move in with me. I unplug out my old box and plug in this new box. I switched the SIM card from my old box to the new box too. But apparently, after power on, the msg on SIM card validation is always there.

Anyway to solve this?

the card goes together with the box. i was told the box only recognise that very sim card. at 1st i thought of juz switching the card itself w/o bring over the box but then it cant be done keekee:D

trigoz
02-01-2008, 04:26 PM
So it means the HubStation Boxes are Locked Units... :s31:

liangtam
02-01-2008, 05:05 PM
The card cannot be switched as it contains detail of the existing STB and customer detail - channel subscribed.

liangtam
02-01-2008, 05:07 PM
So it means the HubStation Boxes are Locked Units... :s31:

Even the widely distributed motorola cable modem can also be considered locked units, if by what you're thinking, lol.

sAxman_Returns
02-01-2008, 06:08 PM
you can switch around, provided both are hubstations :D

just give starhub a call for the activation will do, ask them to transfer your existing subscription to the new box. 2nd box needs to pay.

If not you can still view all the free-to-air mediacorp channels (remember to pay the stupid TV license) and 4 free channels.

jwang27
08-01-2008, 01:54 PM
exactly what i'm trying to do... from sata->ide using convector.

btw where you see the spec? care to share? i know STi510X series processor can deal with up to 500GB this is how i come up with the figure.

As for the maxtor part i do not get it, it is mfg by Thomson and the harddisk is from seagate where does maxtor comes in? if you have more info care to share? If cannot post in public pm is also fine.

Will update the project status again...

Hi All,

Need advoce if you manage to upgarde the 160GB harddisk to a higher capacity yet?

Thank you.
:s12:

iMbEst
08-01-2008, 07:53 PM
impossible, all HDD must be installed with firmware b4 it can work with hubstation.

anyway, just got my HDD exchanged and upgraded to the latest firmware: 1.23B <<-- note that this is not the STB firmware but the HDD firmware.

I blown my hubstation and thought the whole PSU was gone.....but to my surprise the set still can't boot up after servicing.....which make me wonder why they changed my HDD.....

decided to take out the fuse and take a look, guess what? 3A fuse!!!! replaced it with a 13A made in england fuse and it's working fine now, guess I have to grab a 3A fuse......what a good way to protect the hubstation :D

sailasoh
22-01-2008, 06:21 PM
Is anyone else facing this problem?
Shows I've input into the Recording Schedule sometimes lose their names after a power-off. The name of the show is shown as "No Name"; time and channel still there and the show is recorded and playable...just no name. Problem started abt 2 weeks ago.

sAxman_Returns
22-01-2008, 07:04 PM
never encountered such thing leh, maybe i seldom record lol!

what's your firmware version?

sailasoh
22-01-2008, 10:45 PM
Firmware is ver 1.23.
The device also likes to reboot itself every now and then, sometimes when I'm pressing the remote, sometimes when I'm just watching live TV. I always thought this was quite common.

sAxman_Returns
22-01-2008, 11:41 PM
sounds like an overheated problem.

If it's still under warranty, try bringing it down for servicing. if not you shall start opening up the cover....

megaweb
23-01-2008, 09:01 AM
Is there any way to extract the movies out beside DVD recorder ?

I have a few nice food programmes to share with my family, friends and colleagues.

urbanturban
23-01-2008, 01:35 PM
impossible, all HDD must be installed with firmware b4 it can work with hubstation.

anyway, just got my HDD exchanged and upgraded to the latest firmware: 1.23B <<-- note that this is not the STB firmware but the HDD firmware.

I blown my hubstation and thought the whole PSU was gone.....but to my surprise the set still can't boot up after servicing.....which make me wonder why they changed my HDD.....

decided to take out the fuse and take a look, guess what? 3A fuse!!!! replaced it with a 13A made in england fuse and it's working fine now, guess I have to grab a 3A fuse......what a good way to protect the hubstation :D

- Can explain to non-techies like me on how to change this fuse? Thanks.

sAxman_Returns
23-01-2008, 06:04 PM
the power fuse lar, at the power cable lor. just like any other normal electronic device mah.

spell
24-01-2008, 12:43 PM
Is there any way to extract the movies out beside DVD recorder ?

I have a few nice food programmes to share with my family, friends and colleagues.

If you are talking about directly extracting out the movies, I guess no plausible way to do it at the moment.

Otherwise you can do it the hard way by using the hubstation output to a pc tv card or gfx with vivo, & record from there.

sAxman_Returns
24-01-2008, 01:04 PM
like that only got video but no sound!

megaweb
24-01-2008, 02:29 PM
If you are talking about directly extracting out the movies, I guess no plausible way to do it at the moment.

Otherwise you can do it the hard way by using the hubstation output to a pc tv card or gfx with vivo, & record from there.

Thanks. Maybe invest a cheap DVD recorder w/o HD. Any one can recommend ?

spell
24-01-2008, 05:17 PM
like that only got video but no sound!

opps forget about the sound part. then use the normal RF output to connect to tv card, or another dvd recorder lor.

sAxman_Returns
24-01-2008, 07:18 PM
opps forget about the sound part. then use the normal RF output to connect to tv card, or another dvd recorder lor.

then you lose the original sound, if it happen to be dolby digital 5.1, you can only get 2.1.

aiyoyo
29-01-2008, 10:39 AM
In the Smart TV settings, it is possible to set the 'Jump interval' to a preferred number of minutes. This is useful when playing back the recording to skip the advertisements, instead of fast forward at 2x till 64x.

But, which key combinaton on the remote to press to do the actual instant jump? The manual does not say so.

sAxman_Returns
29-01-2008, 01:21 PM
there is no input for the "interval jump" leh....

megaweb
29-01-2008, 02:43 PM
Playback issue

Anyone encounter any audio and video sync issue when forward 8x during playback a recorded channel ?

sAxman_Returns
30-01-2008, 01:22 AM
nope....never had such problem. but my hubstation's cover is removed hehe....

enzomatrix
09-03-2008, 11:28 PM
I cant even power up the set.. it keep giving me the tick tick sound and I see the red led from the back with the label digital sound. For the front leds none lit up. what wrong?

sAxman_Returns
09-03-2008, 11:33 PM
i bought a laptop cooler for it. monitoring it's temperature with cover now :D

enzomatrix, seems like the HDD is not working, bring down to thomson service center lor.

enzomatrix
09-03-2008, 11:44 PM
it happens a few days ago sometime after a while it work sometime it simply doesnt work awww crap warrenty over -.-low morale $$$$

sAxman_Returns
10-03-2008, 12:21 AM
is your HDD almost full? it will tend to give this kind of problem one.

liangtam
10-03-2008, 12:57 AM
Any hubstation to give away?

sAxman_Returns
10-03-2008, 02:19 AM

you must be kidding....:s22::s22::s22::s22:

even got also won't have your chance lar....

liangtam
10-03-2008, 02:22 AM
you must be kidding....:s22:

even got also won't have your chance lar....

Haha, I guess so :)

megaweb
10-03-2008, 08:29 AM
Anyone try this DVR recorder for hubstation ?

http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/priceguide/newsview.php?id=2499&s=1

Thanks.

enzomatrix
10-03-2008, 12:03 PM
is your HDD almost full? it will tend to give this kind of problem one.

always empty

pcchuat
10-03-2008, 12:46 PM

Going to sell away mine .. want to buy...

liangtam
10-03-2008, 01:17 PM

I ish still a student reh, eben cough up for 3 basic group plan oso habe problem :o

sAxman_Returns
10-03-2008, 01:19 PM

still under warranty? how much you letting go? how old?

pcchuat
10-03-2008, 02:29 PM
still under warranty? how much you letting go? how old?

warranty expired on 29-06-2008 and whats ur offer. Thank you

sAxman_Returns
10-03-2008, 07:20 PM
warranty expired on 29-06-2008 and whats ur offer. Thank you

maybe you go open a thread now and let people bid lor. I need to think about it coz it's expiring soon, unless you just got a replacement from Thomson, then different story.

pcchuat
11-03-2008, 09:43 AM
maybe you go open a thread now and let people bid lor. I need to think about it coz it's expiring soon, unless you just got a replacement from Thomson, then different story.

Ya. i am going to send my current hubstation to Thomson to service. Yest i change to normal digital setup box no problem of distroted picture. but still monitoring the condition. hope i send and they will 1 to 1 replacement and i could sell u :yawn:

Soomp!
11-03-2008, 01:11 PM
-_-'' warrantly expiring already...

i am quoting 250 hard cash for it.

interested please call/sms 98807183

sAxman_Returns
11-03-2008, 01:36 PM
i'm just thinking if I need a 2nd modem hehe.....or maybe buy for the other house....

liangtam
11-03-2008, 01:40 PM
i'm just thinking if I need a 2nd modem hehe.....or maybe buy for the other house....

How many house do u habe?? :s22:

pcchuat
11-03-2008, 03:28 PM
-_-'' warrantly expiring already...

i am quoting 250 hard cash for it.

interested please call/sms 98807183

will consider your offer, will let u know by next monday to sell or not thanks

Soomp!
11-03-2008, 03:30 PM
will consider your offer, will let u know by next monday to sell or not thanks

u can just sms me or drop me an email at

le.guang.toh@citi.com

where do u live? ..

my contract expiring already.. so i thinking of downgrading..

im so fret on singnet.. i 2 days cannot connect to the internet !! they said send engineer down tml 2-4pm! damnnn

pcchuat
11-03-2008, 04:16 PM
u can just sms me or drop me an email at

le.guang.toh@citi.com

where do u live? ..

my contract expiring already.. so i thinking of downgrading..

im so fret on singnet.. i 2 days cannot connect to the internet !! they said send engineer down tml 2-4pm! damnnn

i stay in jurong work in orchard. This hubstation got free 1mps broadband and stable speed no disconnection.

let us know this few days thanks
:yawn::yawn::yawn:

sAxman_Returns
11-03-2008, 08:22 PM
How many house do u habe?? :s22:

1 main one for 元配, others for mistresses......:s22:

tan8888
12-03-2008, 11:11 AM
Just bought the Hubstation during IT Show last weekend. and would like to ask some questions:

1. The modem LED is not lite up when use internet (access internet no problem), is it normal?
2. What is the usage of USB port?
3. Thought Component cable is better, and went to bought a new component cable and plug in, however, notice the color is brighter, but the picture is not smooth, like a lot of noice. Used back the composite cable, and the picture/image is smooth (but not as brighter)
Anything wrong with my component output or hubstation? or any setting to fix this?

Thanks

eddy2099sg
12-03-2008, 11:52 AM
Just bought the Hubstation during IT Show last weekend. and would like to ask some questions:

1. The modem LED is not lite up when use internet (access internet no problem), is it normal?
2. What is the usage of USB port?
3. Thought Component cable is better, and went to bought a new component cable and plug in, however, notice the color is brighter, but the picture is not smooth, like a lot of noice. Used back the composite cable, and the picture/image is smooth (but not as brighter)
Anything wrong with my component output or hubstation? or any setting to fix this?

Thanks

1. Yes, the modem LED will only light up when it makes the initial connection when you on the unit.

2. The manual say that the USB port is to be used to connect to the USB cable modem in the Hubstation if you do not have the Network Card on your computer where you will use the RJ45 cable.

Not sure about the component cable since I am still using RCA.

siegeholler
12-03-2008, 11:54 AM
hmm im using component cables with the hubstation. works great

perhaps the problem lies with the cable?

Soomp!
12-03-2008, 12:37 PM
i stay in jurong work in orchard. This hubstation got free 1mps broadband and stable speed no disconnection.

let us know this few days thanks
:yawn::yawn::yawn:

thats quite near to my hse.. i live in fajar - bt panjang.

hmm..... let me know if u are selling ur hubstation, if not i intending to get 1 from starhub already..

my contract expiring

pcchuat
12-03-2008, 10:12 PM
i reserved 4 u already.

sAxman_Returns
12-03-2008, 10:33 PM
so what's the deal price? $250?

magix
12-03-2008, 10:34 PM
It's being awhile since hubstation has release. Is this product stable?

Question here is can i still use the hubstation to view and record Mediacorp program after terminating Cable TV service?

eddy2099sg
13-03-2008, 06:59 AM
Well, I've got my Hubstation in Feb 08 and it still is working without problem. I think the earlier problem was the ventiliation issue where the harddisk over-heats but it can be minimized with a fan or to place the unit in a well ventiliated area. There is a built-in fan inside anyways. I also put the Hubstation on standby when I am not using it or when I am not watching tv so that at least the harddisk can rest a little.

Yes, you should be able to view and record mediacorp programs after you terminate Cable TV since those are free channels. They do allow people to buy the hubstation without signing up for a contract.

sAxman_Returns
13-03-2008, 08:07 AM
not just mediacorp, they also give at least 4 free channels for you to watch too! :D

the laptop cooler definately is one of the best cooling solution to it. Heat does destroy electronic stuff....

Soomp!
13-03-2008, 12:53 PM
so what's the deal price? $250?

he told me someone offered him more.

dunno if i wanna get from him, cause warrantly expiring.

wait it break down i jia lat! :s22::s22:

but perhaps i talk to him first....

sAxman_Returns
13-03-2008, 12:58 PM
i think it's worth $180 only nia....coz I bought mine for $320 only, brand new, without contracts, just 2nd hand but unopened lor. But it broke down on the spot, so wasted a trip down to exchange a brand new set :D

wait a little longer lar, i heard starhub is coming out some great promotion coz they want to push more sales for this thomson machines.....

tan8888
13-03-2008, 01:56 PM
hmm im using component cables with the hubstation. works great

perhaps the problem lies with the cable?

yes, you are right, it was cable problem, i exchange to new component cable, it work fine now. Thanks

Soomp!
13-03-2008, 02:51 PM
i think it's worth $180 only nia....coz I bought mine for $320 only, brand new, without contracts, just 2nd hand but unopened lor. But it broke down on the spot, so wasted a trip down to exchange a brand new set :D

wait a little longer lar, i heard starhub is coming out some great promotion coz they want to push more sales for this thomson machines.....

Perhaps i will just wait for their new promo eh? :)

im trying to search online for a hubstation brand new but i hardly can find.

u got any good lobang can recommend me ?.

sAxman_Returns
13-03-2008, 06:12 PM
nowadays nobody sell brand new anymore liao lar, they started appreciate the value of this HOT BABE....

but I dunno why some people just couldn't enjoy it. Its PQ is more superior than the tiny digital STB. But the HD STB has the best PQ, i heard, but haven't seen it myself yet.

kebinu
16-03-2008, 09:10 AM
Promo? Nice, i will be waiting too.

I'm using MOL surflite + cable TV currently. Both are out of contract. aha

Soomp!
16-03-2008, 12:35 PM
Promo? Nice, i will be waiting too.

I'm using MOL surflite + cable TV currently. Both are out of contract. aha

aha..

i just signed up for singnet 8mbps with acer laptop/desktop..

10 bucks more than currently what im paying for 3.5mbps.

and my old pc just went haywired..

so just nice.. :D

pcchuat sold his hubstation for 250! dunno who is the fortunate one who got it .. ahha..

sushimonster
18-03-2008, 04:49 PM
I have a Hubstation bought on 23 Aug 07. If you are interested, please PM me your offer.

homedriver
05-04-2008, 02:21 PM
So who can confirm HubStation or HD STB has better PQ, seems like now got promotion and thinking to get one of them.

What's the feature difference betweens these 2, HD STB just for HD content while hubstation can surf & free local call & record, am I right?

sAxman_Returns
06-04-2008, 12:04 AM
I happened to bypass the starhub roadshow @ suntec, free internet access will be extended for another year :D as expected!

but the price dropped below $200 for 24 months contract liaoz....

actually the HD STB should be able to provide free internet connection one, dunno why starhub never opened up for that.

diff is, 1 is PVR, another one is not but comes with HD support.

liangtam
06-04-2008, 03:44 AM
Because they nvr intended for that what.
Might as well say why not activate 1Mbps connection on all normal digital STB?

Its more of like promo

eddy2099sg
06-04-2008, 04:54 AM
I happened to bypass the starhub roadshow @ suntec, free internet access will be extended for another year :D as expected!

Is the free internet extended to existing Hubstation user or only to those who purchased the new hubstation at this current roadshow ? Cos I see the promo for the roadshow did state that the free internet is up to 31st Dec 2009 but the hubstation page shows as 31st Dec 2008. I guess we need to wait till the end of the year to find out.

NightWish_
06-04-2008, 05:04 AM
why the price drop so much huh.
we early birds buy so expensive.. very bo hua

sAxman_Returns
06-04-2008, 05:04 PM
i asked the promoters there, they told me it's for all hubstation users, that includes the smart TV users too.

price dropped so much? early adopters finance the mass market, sounds familiar? :D with the free internet access, you already earned at least $15-20/month already u know? still want to complain.....

daristan
06-04-2008, 05:18 PM
Is the free internet extended to existing Hubstation user or only to those who purchased the new hubstation at this current roadshow ? Cos I see the promo for the roadshow did state that the free internet is up to 31st Dec 2009 but the hubstation page shows as 31st Dec 2008. I guess we need to wait till the end of the year to find out.

i call up starhub today casue i bought the hubstation at 1jan08, at 1st they mention until 31dec08 then i mention the roadshow and she put me on hold for quite a while, then she told me will apply for existing hubstation user too. so we ought to celebrate this:s41::s17::s36::bandit:

eddy2099sg
06-04-2008, 05:23 PM
Cool! That is definitely great news. :) Thanks for the confirmation.

sAxman_Returns
06-04-2008, 05:28 PM
aiya, i already knew that would happened liao....they did it for free IDD to Malaysia, free Digital Voice for MaxOnline user, and so many other free thing. The moment they take it back, they will lose more.....for sure I won't pay any single cent for Starhub's overpriced broadband services one.... :D

trigoz
06-04-2008, 11:49 PM
aiya, i already knew that would happened liao....they did it for free IDD to Malaysia, free Digital Voice for MaxOnline user, and so many other free thing. The moment they take it back, they will lose more.....for sure I won't pay any single cent for Starhub's overpriced broadband services one.... :D

Hahha very true, infact per second billing/free incoming call was StarHub "pull factors" which saw a large number of mobile users going over to the SH. Till to date, when you say free incoming calls. straight away they think of StarHub only...

sAxman_Returns
07-04-2008, 12:36 AM
no lor, mua change to M1 quite sometime ago liao....incoming free and much cheaper than starhub! :s22:

megaweb
07-04-2008, 08:21 AM
Now I am using the free 1 M plan from Hubstation, so far so good. Good to know if they are extending the free service

iMbEst
07-04-2008, 01:12 PM
actually 1Mbps is quite good for heavy downloading too. 1 day easily 8GB or more hehe.....

eddy2099sg
07-04-2008, 01:16 PM
Yeah, the 1mbps is pretty good. As long as you do not need to do a lot of simultaneous downloads, it is good enough. Since there is no time charge, if I have to download some huge files, I could just set to download at night and it be ready for me the next day.

I am glad that Starhub decides to extend the free surflite plan.

Gamerz_Paradise
07-04-2008, 03:12 PM
Just curious.. can anyone provide the ping of the Starhub line on this to the DNS or any website? i really interested to know how stable the line is..

Soomp!
07-04-2008, 08:59 PM
wau lau ehh, now then announce..

iMbEst
07-04-2008, 09:56 PM
wau lau ehh, now then announce..

now only April nia....you so fast jumped ship liaoz?:s22:

eddy2099sg
09-04-2008, 11:52 AM
Just curious.. can anyone provide the ping of the Starhub line on this to the DNS or any website? i really interested to know how stable the line is..

Well, let's see

Target Name: www.starhub.com
IP: 203.116.221.31
Date/Time: 4/9/2008 11:46:09 AM

1 0 ms [192.168.1.1]
2 10 ms cm1.beta16.maxonline.com.sg [116.86.xx.xx]
3 11 ms [172.20.16.65]
4 16 ms [172.26.16.5]
5 10 ms [172.20.8.125]
6 18 ms [203.117.163.121]
7 13 ms vlan907-cat6ts2-rsm1.starhub.net.sg [203.118.3.196]
8 11 ms [203.118.3.26]

Target Name: www.download.com
IP: 216.239.122.225
Date/Time: 4/9/2008 11:47:15 AM

1 0 ms [192.168.1.1]
2 30 ms cm1.beta16.maxonline.com.sg [116.86.xx.xx]
3 10 ms [172.20.16.65]
4 11 ms [172.26.16.5]
5 12 ms [172.20.8.233]
6 11 ms [203.116.164.33]
7 20 ms [203.118.3.228]
8 230 ms POS3-0-0.GW4.SJC7.ALTER.NET [157.130.211.153]
9 232 ms 0.so-6-0-0.XL1.SJC7.ALTER.NET [152.63.48.242]
10 228 ms 0.so-6-0-0.BR1.SJC7.ALTER.NET [152.63.48.249]
11 229 ms uu-gw.sffca.ip.att.net [192.205.32.73]
12 259 ms tbr2.sffca.ip.att.net [12.123.12.29]
13 257 ms cr1.sffca.ip.att.net [12.122.19.97]
14 258 ms cr1.la2ca.ip.att.net [12.122.3.122]
15 259 ms [12.122.19.178]
16 260 ms tbr1.dlstx.ip.att.net [12.122.10.49]
17 260 ms [12.122.100.49]
18 264 ms [12.87.121.22]
19 258 ms c18-gdl-xw-lb.cnet.com [216.239.122.225]

Target Name: www.hardwarezone.com
IP: 202.79.222.13
Date/Time: 4/9/2008 11:50:23 AM

1 0 ms [192.168.1.1]
2 35 ms cm1.beta16.maxonline.com.sg [116.86.xx.xx]
3 11 ms [172.20.16.65]
4 12 ms [172.26.16.5]
5 9 ms [172.20.8.125]
6 11 ms [203.116.97.21]
7 16 ms [203.117.161.170]
8 13 ms [202.79.210.186]
9 14 ms web1.hardwarezone.com [202.79.222.13]

Target Name: www.centos.org
IP: 72.232.194.162
Date/Time: 4/9/2008 11:52:13 AM

1 0 ms [192.168.1.1]
2 12 ms cm1.beta16.maxonline.com.sg [116.86.xx.xx]
3 9 ms [172.20.16.65]
4 12 ms [172.26.16.5]
5 25 ms [172.20.8.133]
6 47 ms [203.118.3.228]
7 335 ms POS3-0-0.GW4.SJC7.ALTER.NET [157.130.211.153]
8 369 ms 0.so-6-0-0.XL1.SJC7.ALTER.NET [152.63.48.242]
9 377 ms 0.so-6-0-0.BR1.SJC7.ALTER.NET [152.63.48.249]
10 360 ms oc192-7-1-0.edge6.SanJose1.Level3.net [4.68.63.141]
11 356 ms vlan79.csw2.SanJose1.Level3.net [4.68.18.126]
12 328 ms ae-93-93.ebr3.SanJose1.Level3.net [4.69.134.237]
13 297 ms ae-2.ebr3.LosAngeles1.Level3.net [4.69.132.10]
14 267 ms ae-73-73.csw2.LosAngeles1.Level3.net [4.69.137.38]
15 237 ms ae-72-72.ebr2.LosAngeles1.Level3.net [4.69.137.21]
16 272 ms ae-3.ebr3.Dallas1.Level3.net [4.69.132.78]
17 269 ms ae-73-73.csw2.Dallas1.Level3.net [4.69.136.158]
18 270 ms ae-22-79.car2.Dallas1.Level3.net [4.68.19.68]
19 271 ms DATABANK-HO.car2.Dallas1.Level3.net [4.71.170.2]
20 270 ms 63.164.96.databank.com [63.164.96.62]
21 271 ms lt-pod1a.lt.com [63.164.96.230]
22 * []
23 271 ms 162.194.232.72.static.reverse.ltdomains.com [72.232.194.162]

icearmour
16-06-2008, 05:11 PM
Well, let's see

lookin for a hubstation...somebody sell...:)..

sAxman_Returns
24-06-2008, 05:57 PM
the USB is disabled, so you can use it to power a laptop cooler to cool it :D

GTK2003
25-06-2008, 12:48 AM
) savings on settop box rental.
if i'm not wrong analogue rental is $2 and digital is $4. so you can save everymonth with hubstation.

eh..need to pay rental for hubstation, right??

megaweb
25-06-2008, 09:05 AM
Flaws of hubstation:
e) sometimes after fast forwarding or rewind, there are lip missync or quite blocky. but not really big issure. rarely happens nowadays. just pause and wait for the thing to load properly then can le. machiam like computer lag.

I realise if I playback the recorded programme and fast forward 8x, the audio will out of sync with the video. Then rewind back other than 8x, problem resolve. Not sure other hubstation user experience this issue.

damn sad i lost so many of mine very nice recorded shows... not once but twice
hee .. I got Ryan DVR HD recorder to record my fav channels.

sAxman_Returns
25-06-2008, 02:52 PM
) eh..need to pay rental for hubstation, right??
Need to pay content mapping fee of $8 if it's not your first box.

I realise if I playback the recorded programme and fast forward 8x, the audio will out of sync with the video. Then rewind back other than 8x, problem resolve. Not sure other hubstation user experience this issue.

not just out of sync, if it's dual channels sound, both will come out lol! I have to stop it, play again and forward it to the original spot then I can get back what I want. 8x is nothing, I always use 32x :s22:

yandao87
25-06-2008, 08:48 PM
) savings on settop box rental.
if i'm not wrong analogue rental is $2 and digital is $4. so you can save everymonth with hubstation.

eh..need to pay rental for hubstation, right??

first box dun need... extra box i don't know. i only have a single hubstation. no extra boxes:yawn:

hee .. I got Ryan DVR HD recorder to record my fav channels.

hey same problem here!! 8x causes the problem. in fact anything beyond 8x causes that to happen at times. but after the 2nd repair i had, this thing don't really happen as frequently as before. :s12:

wah got hubsation still buy hd recorder.. where to find money,,..

not just out of sync, if it's dual channels sound, both will come out lol! I have to stop it, play again and forward it to the original spot then I can get back what I want. 8x is nothing, I always use 32x .

yeah so this confirms that the hubstation records dual channel sounds??

yandao87
25-06-2008, 08:49 PM
the USB is disabled, so you can use it to power a laptop cooler to cool it :D

disabled meaning?? :s11:
cannot use?

sAxman_Returns
25-06-2008, 10:51 PM
disabled meaning?? :s11:
cannot use?

only the USB power is functioning.

yandao87
26-06-2008, 02:59 PM
only the USB power is functioning.

woah. can put usb hub and put multiple fans? :s12: hubstation is really HOT!!
but put too much fan draw more power also create more heat. :s27:

sAxman_Returns
15-07-2008, 02:06 PM
HubStation Warranty
Will there be warranty for the HubStation?
The limited warranty for the HubStation is valid for the first 12 months beginning from the date of installation or purchase. Should you require any servicing of the HubStation, you may call our Customer Care at 1633 if you are a Digital Cable, MaxOnline or Digital Voice Postpaid customer to schedule for a service call. For other customers, please call 1900-911-9110 (chargeable at $0.30 per minute, before GST). You may also bring the HubStation to Thomson service centre at the following address:

Thomson c/o Haw Wah Trading Co.
Block 6, Hougang Avenue 3, #01-74, Singapore 530006

Operating hours:
Mondays to Fridays: 10am till 4.30pm
Saturdays: 10am to 12pm
Closed on Sundays and public holidays

However, warranty does not cover the HubStation remote control and accessories

their service hotline: 62808176

but I just realize starhub is the one keeping track of your warranty status.....

4xtemujin
26-07-2008, 11:28 AM
I'm getting intermittent power with my Hubstation. One minute everything is fine and the next, it powers off and only whizzing sound.

Anyone having this problems ?

megaweb
26-07-2008, 11:44 AM
I'm getting intermittent power with my Hubstation. One minute everything is fine and the next, it powers off and only whizzing sound.

new set ? No, I dun have this problem.

sAxman_Returns
26-07-2008, 11:50 AM

just send in for exchange for a new set lor.