View Full Version : News: HUBSTATION
4xtemujin
26-07-2008, 11:58 AM
Not new set, about 2 years.
sAxman_Returns
26-07-2008, 12:05 PM
then bring down for servicing lor. if all these 2 years it's being placed in a "oven" without much ventilation, it's about time to die......for the PSU :D
ABuNeNe
26-07-2008, 06:46 PM
I got the token but what is the procedure like after registering? Will Starhub sent the HubStation over to my place? How long does it take and can I arrange the date?
sAxman_Returns
26-07-2008, 11:30 PM
ask the APNN to help you lor....:s22:
kevinawyong
28-07-2008, 08:24 AM
Hi All,
my hubstation playback has started to become jerky, skipping several seconds ahead. only happens during playback of recorded items. 'live' play is OK.
any ideas how to correct this ? anyone know how to do a disk optimisation ?
sAxman_Returns
28-07-2008, 11:39 AM
stop and re-play?
optimization = format.......all data will be gone....
kevinawyong
28-07-2008, 01:22 PM
Don't mind losing data. Just wanna to see programmes without jerkiness. any ideas ? stop and replay, power off, fast forward/rewind all no change...still jerky playback.
sAxman_Returns
28-07-2008, 05:51 PM
try optimization lor, if still cannot then send down for servicing bah.
kevinawyong
28-07-2008, 08:12 PM
How to start the optimisation ? what to press ?
liangtam
28-07-2008, 08:35 PM
Err, does the time on the 7segment goes off for time to time to become --:-- for short brief every few while?
kun1he2
28-07-2008, 11:07 PM
Err, does the time on the 7segment goes off for time to time to become --:-- for short brief every few while?
Yeap, it does on mine - not sure what's it doing whenever that happens... time sync perhaps?
liangtam
28-07-2008, 11:17 PM
Hmm, I wonder.
Still prefer the analog GI stb :D
sAxman_Returns
28-07-2008, 11:22 PM
dunno why you guys encountered so many problems one, my hubstation is going damn strong leh....
liangtam
28-07-2008, 11:36 PM
u mean u haven gone down hougang there yet meh?
ur other stuff rike tv spoil the old GI prolly still going strong :D
sAxman_Returns
29-07-2008, 01:21 AM
well, I exchanged my hubstation 3 or 4 times b4 I got this damn solid lasting onez.....anyway, warranty still got another 2 months :D coz they extended it for me hehe.....dunno why also....
sAxman_Returns
01-08-2008, 02:46 PM
now starhub buaytahan cheong hubstation price again. $88 lol!
anyway, for those who are keen to get the trial token, I have prepared 10, let me know once you can't even get one of them to work :D
http://signupnow.starhub.com/ors/campaign?key=4Kojon
tokens:
97307p2mq3
97306URKfZ
97305GZzeV
97304nqIaC
97303nMMWi
97302eM0Db
97301PPmCm
97300sAl3s
97299FR6gz
97298FfCKC
sAxman_Returns
04-08-2008, 06:55 PM
guys, please take one of the tokens hoh, dun PM me lar, bursting liaoz the mailbox.
liangtam
05-08-2008, 01:04 AM
Anyone wans invitation code?
muji4832
08-09-2008, 11:13 PM
Hi all , I'm using the broadband from the Hubstation and the speed is good @ around 10 Mbps. One problem is that many of the images are block. For example i can't view a picture on photobucket.com. Anyone knows wat happen to my Hubstation ?
4xtemujin
17-09-2008, 06:07 PM
I've just sent my Hubstation for repair at Thomson service centre, Hougang Avenue 3, because it couldn't power up.
They changed the PSU, $20 for the PSU and $45 for labour cost, total $65.
then bring down for servicing lor. if all these 2 years it's being placed in a "oven" without much ventilation, it's about time to die......for the PSU :D
liangtam
17-09-2008, 09:00 PM
PSU is cheap, so I suppose the main board and harddisk cost some $500?
sAxman_Returns
18-09-2008, 02:29 AM
like real, the whole set definately cost less than $100 by now.....imagine this product is such an old model from thomson.....
ahxing
08-10-2008, 10:24 PM
I don't why my hubstation station after awhile recording a show. The show would be in my playlist for awhile, then after a few days is gone. When my playlist is empty, i try to record then it prompt saying that the harddisk storage is full.. I was puzzled. Doing a reset again but the problem keeep on coming back... Anyone face the problem before?
sAxman_Returns
09-10-2008, 12:01 AM
time to send back for servicing liaoz lol....
luv_boa
10-10-2008, 12:11 PM
hi all ! can any1 teach me on how to drag the recorded show out from the hubstation?
eddy2099sg
10-10-2008, 12:17 PM
The only way you can copy the recorded show out of the hubstation is to plug a DVD Recorder between the hubstation and your tv and then play the show on your hubstation and record on your dvd recorder.
Starhub don't officially allow you to make copies of the shows because of the copyright issues.
alphaone
10-10-2008, 10:48 PM
Have installed hubstation and tune tv via RF, everything is fine except the audio. I notice that it is in Mono for all the TV channels. Have anyone experience this and solve this problem? Pse assist . Thanks.
sAxman_Returns
11-10-2008, 01:40 PM
maybe you need to make sure the connection for all cables are connected properly.....
win_man
11-10-2008, 02:39 PM
I've just sent my Hubstation for repair at Thomson service centre, Hougang Avenue 3, because it couldn't power up.
They changed the PSU, $20 for the PSU and $45 for labour cost, total $65.
yours is a purchased set right?
alphaone
11-10-2008, 03:46 PM
Have checked all connections. All correct. Tried and tested with the AV cables - receive stereo etc., - but not via the RF cable?? Any clue to what is happening? Looking forward to a solution. Thanks.
alphaone
12-10-2008, 12:53 PM
Have checked all connections. All correct. Tried and tested with the AV cables - receive stereo etc., - but not via the RF cable?? Any clue to what is happening? Looking forward to a solution. Thanks.
Can anyone assist? Thanks.:s11:
Paul Lee
13-11-2008, 10:56 AM
Hi guys
I have been happily using my hubstation since Aug 07 without any problems. Yesterday I got the dreaded 'upgrading in progress' symptoms.
From everything I read in HWZ, this signals a critical failures of the device (though it did manage to miraculously recovered once after roughly 1.5 hrs of attempts).
Is this a HDD failure?? Any idea how much is the repair/servicing cost??
I'm not sure if its worth repairing since it now cost less than $9 for a rental hubstation set. In either case, if the HDD is a goner, then the recorded program is probably unrecoverable (major bumper :( ) so I might as well just write off the hubstation since my warranty has ended.
sAxman_Returns
13-11-2008, 11:27 AM
that's just a normal upgrading process what?
manytree
13-11-2008, 11:28 AM
Hi guys
I have been happily using my hubstation since Aug 07 without any problems. Yesterday I got the dreaded 'upgrading in progress' symptoms.
From everything I read in HWZ, this signals a critical failures of the device (though it did manage to miraculously recovered once after roughly 1.5 hrs of attempts).
Is this a HDD failure?? Any idea how much is the repair/servicing cost??
I'm not sure if its worth repairing since it now cost less than $9 for a rental hubstation set. In either case, if the HDD is a goner, then the recorded program is probably unrecoverable (major bumper :( ) so I might as well just write off the hubstation since my warranty has ended.
How much is a new HubStation (without the 24 months contract) ?
Paul Lee
13-11-2008, 11:44 AM
that's just a normal upgrading process what?
How can it be normal when it runs from the 'upgrading in progress' to the white 'loading .. pls wait' box and repeats for more than an hour?? :s16:
Anyway I also confirmed with Starhub that there was no firmware upgrade recently. It is definitely not normal.
How much is a new HubStation (without the 24 months contract) ?
Its $8.56 rental per month. Starhub dun retail the hubstation anymore so its all rental now.
Anyway I called up Haw Wah Trading for an indicative range of the service and repair cost and this is what I was told. Servicing and repar: $45. Change HDD: $100. Change power supply: $20. So in the event that both the power supply and the HDD is fried, its $165 total.
If I choose to let them take a peek and access before deciding, its a $25 service charge. Not to mention the time and transport needed to bring the hubstation for service (leave + petrol + parking)
That's around 60% of what I initially paid for the hubstation back in Aug 07:eek: So I guess the decision is a no-brainer. Ditch the retail hubstation and just go andd grabbed a new rental set.
Typical of Starhub to hit you with a 24-month contract on a device with a 12 month warrenty that koked out around the 15-month time frame. Oh well.. :s27:
sAxman_Returns
13-11-2008, 11:51 AM
b4 you throw it away......you can consider giving it to me :s22:
anyway, hubstation HD rumored to be launched soon.....hold the handbrake bro.....opps...I forgot you can't use it for now.....
Paul Lee
13-11-2008, 12:39 PM
anyway, hubstation HD rumored to be launched soon.....hold the handbrake bro.....opps...I forgot you can't use it for now.....
Oh well.. not planning to throw it away for sure. I got a feeling someone may be able to repair it for cheaper. The problem is that even if that is the case, the moment I change to the rental set-top, I probably wont be able to use the set anymore since it wont be a 'registered' set.
Hubstation HD is not of a lot of use to me now. So no need to hold the handbrake for now.
kennyg1969
13-11-2008, 02:36 PM
15th Nov launch
sAxman_Returns
13-11-2008, 04:57 PM
Oh well.. not planning to throw it away for sure. I got a feeling someone may be able to repair it for cheaper. The problem is that even if that is the case, the moment I change to the rental set-top, I probably wont be able to use the set anymore since it wont be a 'registered' set.
Hubstation HD is not of a lot of use to me now. So no need to hold the handbrake for now.
you can still use it, but to retain all the programmes you registered with your SCV accounts, you have to pay for $8 content mapping fee....or more?! ???
anyway, dun need to hold handbrake liaoz, Hubstation HD is out already, i'm just feeling dissapointed that they didn't launch any free trial for existing users.....anyway, I will convert the current hubstation to my study room as a dedicated modem :D
manytree
13-11-2008, 05:03 PM
15th Nov launch
HubStation HD rental at $14 ($14.98 with GST) monthly for the main set.
Paul Lee
13-11-2008, 06:09 PM
I have a simple qn for you guys contemplating Hubstation HD. Why??
To record CH5 HD program?? Becos the rest of the HD offering on SCV are not exactly worth recording are they?? I mean Nat Geo, Discovery and History are amongst my favourite channels but I'm not exactly sure if they are worth recording in HD. 30 hours of HD recording dun sounds very much.
*shrug* I will stick to SD for now.
liangtam
13-11-2008, 09:16 PM
Please consider throwing to me also :D
(moi ish poor student)
So far my experience with the trial hubstation is bloated (cheapo) capacitor on the PSU
If u get reboots at times, it *might* be solved by soldering another one
Paul Lee
14-11-2008, 11:07 AM
lol.. who would have guess that a broken hubstation would be so much in demand..
The modem is still working so I will try to see if it can be used as a spare modem in my room.
iMbEst
15-11-2008, 04:46 PM
i ish wanting to sell away my hubstation for the HD version :D
shaw_ren
15-11-2008, 05:43 PM
HubStation HD rental at $14 ($14.98 with GST) monthly for the main set.
need to sign up any scv tv plan?if no need still can access the free 1M internet ?
liangtam
15-11-2008, 07:29 PM
of cos need subscribe cabletv paid channels la
iMbEst
15-11-2008, 07:43 PM
i think it's still possible to just rent the STB only :s22:
iMbEst
15-11-2008, 09:18 PM
of course more ex lar..waliew....
AlpineEscape
16-11-2008, 12:26 AM
take it easy lahhhh ...
manytree
16-11-2008, 11:11 AM
To record CH5 HD program?? Becos the rest of the HD offering on SCV are not exactly worth recording are they?? I mean Nat Geo, Discovery and History are amongst my favourite channels but I'm not exactly sure if they are worth recording in HD. 30 hours of HD recording dun sounds very much.
I am thinking about the HubStation HD too. But at $14.98 monthly, a bit difficult to "swallow". I am on the value pack with free rental of the Digital Set-top box.
confused
16-11-2008, 01:11 PM
I think just wait til HUBstation HD can be purchased first. ;)
iMbEst
16-11-2008, 05:30 PM
doubt it would happen. Maybe ask you to sign 24 months sexpensive contract then they give you for free.... :s22:
liangtam
16-11-2008, 05:38 PM
last time 24mth oso nid pay for the lousy hubstn nia
manytree
16-11-2008, 06:25 PM
last time 24mth oso nid pay for the lousy hubstn nia
lol :s13:....................I am waiting for this old plan..........then i can reduce my monthly subscription to $32(before GST) after buying the HubStation SD.:D
iMbEst
16-11-2008, 07:59 PM
what was the offer liaoz ah?
Lucky123
16-11-2008, 08:27 PM
Hmmm...thinking of d-registering my purchased Hubstation to rent this new HD set. Does anyone know if the free internet still works with the purchased hubstation if I de-register from the cable tv subscription ?
liangtam
16-11-2008, 08:30 PM
It should.
Anyway, Hubstn HD oso got internet mah
kun1he2
16-11-2008, 09:23 PM
Now wondering what to do with my hubstation which was purchased just slightly more than a year ago - and still on contract. Does this mean I have to keep in storeroom or sell away the old hubstation, then rent the hubstation hd?
Or will starhub come up with some trade-in or hubstation rental offset scheme to get previous buyers to upgrade?
liangtam
16-11-2008, 09:35 PM
those u buy is urs to keep forever liao
rental is gd n bad in some ways.
good:
lousy h/w they will need to change for u foc
bad:
pay money monthly
kun1he2
16-11-2008, 10:07 PM
lol :s13:....................I am waiting for this old plan..........then i can reduce my monthly subscription to $32(before GST) after buying the HubStation SD.:D
Starhub probably won't ever sell the hubstation sd... perhaps you might want to pick up a 2nd hand unit from one of the hubstation sd owners in hwz who may wish to sell off theirs to rent the hd hubstation?
I'm one such owner, currently waiting for the early adopters to feedback first... :)
iMbEst
16-11-2008, 10:28 PM
rent yours out lor :s22:
Paul Lee
17-11-2008, 10:17 AM
I am thinking about the HubStation HD too. But at $14.98 monthly, a bit difficult to "swallow". I am on the value pack with free rental of the Digital Set-top box.
Dun forget that you need to pay an additional $8.56 monthly service charge if you are using the Hubstation HD as an additional set-up box.
Paul Lee
17-11-2008, 10:23 AM
Are you sure you want to buy?? After all the problem we have with the SD set, I doubt that the HD set is any better.
Thinking back, I regretted buying the Hubstation in the first place cos even though y recent problem was the only one I ever had, it was still not cost effective.
Consider this, I bought the Hubstation for $304.95 and only got around 15 months out of it before it konked out on me. That's a whopping $20.33 a month (excluding the additional $8.56 that I had to pay for using it as an additional set)
Think of it the other way, the $304.95 could pay for 35 months of Hubstation rental.
Paul Lee
17-11-2008, 10:26 AM
Hmmm...thinking of d-registering my purchased Hubstation to rent this new HD set. Does anyone know if the free internet still works with the purchased hubstation if I de-register from the cable tv subscription ?
Good question. I will try it out and let you know.
Keep our fingers crossed :)
Paul Lee
17-11-2008, 10:40 AM
Now wondering what to do with my hubstation which was purchased just slightly more than a year ago - and still on contract. Does this mean I have to keep in storeroom or sell away the old hubstation, then rent the hubstation hd?
Or will starhub come up with some trade-in or hubstation rental offset scheme to get previous buyers to upgrade?
If you decide to subscribe to the new HD set, you still have the option of using your old set as an additional set. But again you will need to pay the additional $8.56 (on top of the HD rental) service for using your HD set as the additional set.
I will be very sceptical if Starhub comes up with a trade-in or rental rebate.
liangtam
17-11-2008, 10:43 AM
HD think not by thomson. Anyway, the SD set is probably due to power supply ba.
iMbEst
17-11-2008, 12:48 PM
Dun forget that you need to pay an additional $8.56 monthly service charge if you are using the Hubstation HD as an additional set-up box.
nope, the monthly rental already cost in the content mapping fee. Thus it cost the same be it acting as the main box or 2nd STB.... :s22:
HD think not by thomson. Anyway, the SD set is probably due to power supply ba.
it's by Thomson, confirmed by somebody who already got the set! :s22:
liangtam
17-11-2008, 01:39 PM
oo
gotch peekture?
iMbEst
17-11-2008, 02:17 PM
oo
gotch peekture?
www.hubstation.com.sg :s22:
or you can call 1633..... :s22:
Paul Lee
17-11-2008, 02:22 PM
nope, the monthly rental already cost in the content mapping fee. Thus it cost the same be it acting as the main box or 2nd STB.... :s22:
Nay. Its $14.98 when used as the main STB and $23.54 when used as an additional STB.
See the Press Release (http://www.starhub.com/portal/site/StarHub/menuitem.876159666306d8a8aa494b608324a5a0/?vgnextoid=99301840a0e3c010VgnVCM10000038425a0aRCRD&vgnextfmt=ItemCMId%3Ab67130588d39d110VgnVCM100000464114acRCRD)
( Note: Emphasis mine)
HubStation HD will be made available to StarHub TV customers on a rental basis, at $14 ($14.98 with GST) monthly for the main set-top box and $22 ($23.54 with GST) monthly for each additional set-top box. HubStation, which enables viewers to watch and record SD programmes, is also made available to StarHub TV customers on a rental basis, at $8 ($8.56 with GST) monthly for the main set-top box.
And just for you info, here's Starhub querky definition of an 'additional STB'. As long as you have more than one STB in the house, then the hubstation is considered as a 'additional STB'. In their definition, main STB means one and only one STB in the house. :s22:
kun1he2
19-11-2008, 01:03 AM
It's probably this Thomson model:
http://www.thomson.net/GlobalEnglish/Products/set-top-boxes/cable/8000series/Pages/default.aspx
eddy2099sg
19-11-2008, 06:43 AM
I believe the whole purpose of the hubstation SD or HD is not for the sole purpose of making a permanent copy of a show but rather allow you to record shows which are shown on hours where you are not home to watch or if you are watching something else at the same time. This way you don't miss anything.
The HD unit would allow you to store more shows because it has a bigger harddisk if you are recording in SD (160 hours against the 80 hours on the SD).
But with that said and done, I am still sticking with my SD box which I've bought since I already bought it and that SH has not provided any real incentive to upgrade. I guess I will only decide to go HD when the current box dies hopefully not any time soon.
sAxman_Returns
19-11-2008, 08:29 AM
Aiya, just sell off your hubstation and then start renting for the HD hubstation lor.... :s22:
commonjunk
19-11-2008, 09:34 AM
A stupid move by starhub, why renting again?
Previously they sold hubstation for <200$ but now renting hubstation HD for about 15$ a month (around 360$ X 24 month), i was thinking to sell my hubstation and buy hubstation HD but after talking to customer service i found that hubstation HD cost 15$ every month. I have free MIO TV box and i can watch HD 5 for free why i need hubstation HD for (unless i want to watch 3~4 HD channels?).
Starhub should offer counter offers to secure more customers from Singtel but seem like they have different strategy in their mind.
manytree
19-11-2008, 01:28 PM
The rental of HubStation SD & HD includes the free 1 Mbps BB. If this free 1 Mbps BB can be optional, the rental should be able to be reduced.
SH, this is my feedback and hope you are reading :s13:
hitme
19-11-2008, 02:33 PM
after u record the show in ur hubstation, anyway to copy this show to a sd card or thumb drive?
liangtam
19-11-2008, 02:38 PM
Your question asked many many times already leh. The answers also very obvious. Its a big fat **
kzonexx
19-11-2008, 04:35 PM
The SD hubstation when it was 1st out was close to $400 with 2 yrs contract.
& many had theirs spoilt in less than 2 yrs
Now the HD hubstation is $15/mth with NO contract. To me its considered cheap & no worries abt it breaking down.
A stupid move by starhub, why renting again?
Previously they sold hubstation for <200$ but now renting hubstation HD for about 15$ a month (around 360$ X 24 month), i was thinking to sell my hubstation and buy hubstation HD but after talking to customer service i found that hubstation HD cost 15$ every month. I have free MIO TV box and i can watch HD 5 for free why i need hubstation HD for (unless i want to watch 3~4 HD channels?).
Starhub should offer counter offers to secure more customers from Singtel but seem like they have different strategy in their mind.
commonjunk
19-11-2008, 04:49 PM
after u record the show in ur hubstation, anyway to copy this show to a sd card or thumb drive?
You can get an external HDD player and while playing entire show record and then copy out via DVD ;).
There is no way you can directly copy any data out of hubstation, even you can retrieve data from hubstation HDD, it will be encrypted.
hitme
19-11-2008, 05:03 PM
You can get an external HDD player and while playing entire show record and then copy out via DVD ;).
There is no way you can directly copy any data out of hubstation, even you can retrieve data from hubstation HDD, it will be encrypted.
i do have a dvd recorder. but i am lazy to finalise the disk everytime i finished recording.
plus, my new note book got no dvd player......
iMbEst
20-11-2008, 08:28 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/359136179.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
the modem performance from Hubstation HD :s22:
720p seems the most appealing to me with DVDO Edge further upscale it to 1080p.
the HD channels simply superb! and now I can record them!!!!
sAxman_Returns
20-11-2008, 08:38 PM
anybody knows how can I view teletext besides using the funny super low resolution TV out through RF?
commonjunk
20-11-2008, 09:49 PM
anybody knows how can I view teletext besides using the funny super low resolution TV out through RF?
If i am not wrong, you meed to have Antenna cable to view Teletext.
sAxman_Returns
20-11-2008, 10:06 PM
If i am not wrong, you meed to have Antenna cable to view Teletext.
dun need.....SCV cable is fine too. Currently I'm connecting the hubstationHD TV out to my TV RF input.
commonjunk
20-11-2008, 10:17 PM
dun need.....SCV cable is fine too. Currently I'm connecting the hubstationHD TV out to my TV RF input.
Sorry, i mean same.
liangtam
20-11-2008, 10:31 PM
Wa, u so fast got hubstrn HD liao ah?
kun1he2
20-11-2008, 11:55 PM
Any early adopters care to give a quick review on their hubstation hd, especially in comparison to the hubstation sd?
Paul Lee
22-11-2008, 07:39 PM
OK. I finally got the chance to try this and the result is YES!!
To recap, the Hubstation I purchased died on me (but the cable modem is working fine). I did not want to pay 60% (potential) of my purchase cost to repair so I opted to rent a new hubstaion set from Starhub. So with my purchased set is 'de-registered' and replaced with the rental hubstation.
I shifted the purchased set to my room, hooked it up and internet is fine. So yes, the free internet still works. :s12:
iMbEst
22-11-2008, 08:53 PM
Any early adopters care to give a quick review on their hubstation hd, especially in comparison to the hubstation sd?
what kind of review you want? it's just HD STB with DVR function and free internet lor, what else do you expect?
I find the HD recording a bit unstable....sometimes out of sudden got corrupted image one de.....
HD5 sound is crappily too loud......:s22:
Lucky123
23-11-2008, 12:42 AM
OK. I finally got the chance to try this and the result is YES!!
To recap, the Hubstation I purchased died on me (but the cable modem is working fine). I did not want to pay 60% (potential) of my purchase cost to repair so I opted to rent a new hubstaion set from Starhub. So with my purchased set is 'de-registered' and replaced with the rental hubstation.
I shifted the purchased set to my room, hooked it up and internet is fine. So yes, the free internet still works. :s12:
Hey thanks for the feedback ! :)
kun1he2
23-11-2008, 01:47 AM
what kind of review you want? it's just HD STB with DVR function and free internet lor, what else do you expect?
I find the HD recording a bit unstable....sometimes out of sudden got corrupted image one de.....
HD5 sound is crappily too loud......:s22:
Thanks, good to know about problems like the two issues you just mentioned.
Any comments/observation for:
- whether it runs much cooler than the hubstation sd? if yes, is the running temp now similar to pioneer/panasonic/etc hdd dvrs?
- user interface, any improvements?
iMbEst
23-11-2008, 09:21 AM
i never owned a DVR besides the original hubstation. As hubstationHD is not owned by me...I dun care if it would overburnt, as long as it doesn't catch fire.....hehe....the corrupted image...i dunno if you can find any HD DVR in the market leh.....those HDD/DVD recorder got HDMI input meh? 320GB is also probably the biggest HDD DVR liaoz....not sure about MioTV.
but yes, it does run cooler, probably because it's black color and with better casing. didn't open up the hubstation to observer.....but why do you want to care so much?
user interface is the same, but the remote control is sweet! I rike the small size remote!
anglp
25-11-2008, 10:43 PM
The modem on my hubstation SD suddenly decided it's time to retire... Comtemplating on renting a Hubstation HD, which is cheaper then subscribing to the cheapest maxonline (~$25). I'm just wondering if I can still use my purchased hubstation SD as additional set top box without incurring any additional charges...
liangtam
25-11-2008, 11:08 PM
u have to pay for content duplication
djsadist
26-11-2008, 01:32 AM
Can the Hubstation HD be exchange at starhub customer service with existing SD setup box? Intend to take e hubstation HD cos Maxonline contract finish next mth... Cut cost, use the free 1mbps internet... :D
liangtam
26-11-2008, 01:42 AM
can, as long as u are not giving them ur paid hubstn SD lor
then pay $$ every mth for rental.
eligible for digital voice oso
sAxman_Returns
26-11-2008, 12:35 PM
Can the Hubstation HD be exchange at starhub customer service with existing SD setup box? Intend to take e hubstation HD cos Maxonline contract finish next mth... Cut cost, use the free 1mbps internet... :D
dun think you can do it now.....:s22:
better call 1633.....most probably you still need to pay for the $30+ delivery charge....
desdino
30-11-2008, 08:16 PM
Hope to seek advise regarding the hubstation which i bought from SH.
Few weeks ago problems appeared and the set kept on auto rebooting after the msg"PLease wait upgrading in progress".....
Sent from repair which thomson charge me $65 to change power supply.
The set came back and within one hr same problems occurs. Send backed again and returned yesterday which the report claim everything is fine and no changed is done after running over night test at Thomson.
As expected, just now, the same old problems happened again.
My query is what should i do?
1) Can i request back my $65 from thomson since the pwr supply replaced cant solve the issues?
2) I was told if this happen again, might need to changed motherbd cost $120. Should I changed?
3) If i decided to rent a new set, how much per month and what i should do with my old set?
4) How to hooked it up to internet using "de-register"hubstation for free internet?
Btw, no more warranty for the hubstation.
Pls advise... tks...
liangtam
30-11-2008, 10:03 PM
Old set not working well throw to me, haha
U open up the set see they really changed the PSU not lor
If the set really works fine there(which is doubtful), then it can means signal weak at ur place.
change cable, isolator, splitter etc.
Paul Lee
01-12-2008, 10:44 AM
Hi all
I think I may have be too fast to prejudged that a 'deregistered' Hubstation can still be used as a spare modem for internet access.
I got a call from Starhub customer this morning (because I send a strong worded e-mail to them about the poor quality of their Hubstation) and discovered to my horror that the incompetent Customer Service officer at VivoCity did not deactive my retail set when I went to pick up a new rental Hubstation.
That may be the reason why the modem is still working.
So what I am going to do is to wait for my next bill cycle to confirm that my retail set is deregistered (ie.meaning no extra charges on top of my rental hubstation) before testing again.
Phoenix12
01-12-2008, 10:51 AM
Hi all
the incompetent Customer Service officer at VivoCity did not deactive my retail set when I went to pick up a new rental Hubstation.
I think you hit the nail on the head.
My experience with Customer Service at Vivo City is that they are as incompetent as if no training at all.
In future will go back to other outlets.
Paul Lee
01-12-2008, 10:54 AM
Hope to seek advise regarding the hubstation which i bought from SH.
Few weeks ago problems appeared and the set kept on auto rebooting after the msg"PLease wait upgrading in progress".....
Sent from repair which thomson charge me $65 to change power supply.
Frankly I do not understand why they are changing the power supply when it is obvious that the set can power on or else how could it go on auto rebooting?? For my case, my modem was working fine and when I asked the service centre (I called them up) how this can be the case, they were unable to reply me also. Maybe the more technically inclined bros can enlightened. You mean to tell me there is 2 separate power supply for the hubstation??
1) Can i request back my $65 from thomson since the pwr supply replaced cant solve the issues?
Doesn't the repair comes with some sort of warrenty or something?
2) I was told if this happen again, might need to changed motherbd cost $120. Should I changed?
Now this is unacceptable. As an authorised service centre, you mean to tell me that there have to trial-and-error to diagnose the set? That means they are probably not well trained enough to service the set in the first place. Proceed only if the service charge of $45 is waived. In fact, you should demand for it.
Anyway, this Haw Wah Trading Co is just a neighbour repair shop. Really sceptic how good they are to service the device in the first place. Bro desdino unfortunate experience is proof that my decision to write off my retail set was the right one after all.
Lucky123
01-12-2008, 11:05 AM
I think you hit the nail on the head.
My experience with Customer Service at Vivo City is that they are as incompetent as if no training at all.
In future will go back to other outlets.
True, very lousy service from them. It took them 3 weeks to cancel my TV subscription after returning all my stb. Calling the hotline officers kept telling me they did not receive any information from the branch for the cancellation for weeks.
sAxman_Returns
01-12-2008, 03:51 PM
i thought every repair comes with 3 months of additional warranty for that particular repaired part....:s22:
liangtam
01-12-2008, 05:01 PM
Frankly I do not understand why they are changing the power supply when it is obvious that the set can power on or else how could it go on auto rebooting?? For my case, my modem was working fine and when I asked the service centre (I called them up) how this can be the case, they were unable to reply me also. Maybe the more technically inclined bros can enlightened. You mean to tell me there is 2 separate power supply for the hubstation??
Read about the pentium 3 era mobo incident with bloated caps, and its widescale spillover effects yet?
Anyway, this Haw Wah Trading Co is just a neighbour repair shop. Really sceptic how good they are to service the device in the first place. Bro desdino unfortunate experience is proof that my decision to write off my retail set was the right one after all.
Please write it off n give me the set :D
Paul Lee
01-12-2008, 10:57 PM
Read about the pentium 3 era mobo incident with bloated caps, and its widescale spillover effects yet?
Ehh.. Nope. Pls enlighten further.
Please write it off n give me the set :D
Pray tell. What you are going to do with a busted set??
liangtam
01-12-2008, 11:11 PM
Ehh.. Nope. Pls enlighten further.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capacitor_plague
Pray tell. What you are going to do with a busted set??
Time to run the soldering iron hot :D
wherehouse
01-12-2008, 11:59 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capacitor_plague
Time to run the soldering iron hot :D
hand itchy again ar u... lolz.
Lucky123
07-12-2008, 12:14 PM
Called up the CS and they said that if you de-register from the TV subscription for your retail Hubstation, the free broadband service will be terminated too. :(
kun1he2
07-12-2008, 04:52 PM
I actually emailed Starhub to make sure that the free 1mbps broadband will be intact if I were to deregister - relevant portion extracted from their reply as follows:
-----
Thank you for your email.
The following are answer to your questions:
1a. Yes, you are able to playback previously recorded programmes in
its harddisk.
1b. Yes, you will still have continued access to free 1mbps internet.
1c. Yes, you can record all free-to-air channels.
2. Smart card need not to be returned. Customer have to leave it in
the HubStation.
kun1he2
07-12-2008, 04:54 PM
Anyway, guess the best is for someone who's actually deregistered his/her hubstation and still using it to confirm if the 1mbps internet is still functional.
Lucky123
07-12-2008, 05:15 PM
Anyway, guess the best is for someone who's actually deregistered his/her hubstation and still using it to confirm if the 1mbps internet is still functional.
Aiyah, I'll go de-register it and see how. Will update you guys! :)
sAxman_Returns
08-12-2008, 11:45 AM
I actually emailed Starhub to make sure that the free 1mbps broadband will be intact if I were to deregister - relevant portion extracted from their reply as follows:
-----
Thank you for your email.
The following are answer to your questions:
1a. Yes, you are able to playback previously recorded programmes in
its harddisk.
1b. Yes, you will still have continued access to free 1mbps internet.
1c. Yes, you can record all free-to-air channels.
2. Smart card need not to be returned. Customer have to leave it in
the HubStation.
i thought it's a known fact since long time ago?!
Lucky123
09-12-2008, 09:16 PM
KNN CS wanna smoke me ar :mad:. Extracted from Hubstation FAQ on Starhub website :
10. Can I continue to enjoy Free 1Mbps Broadband Internet Access even after I terminate my StarHub cable TV subscription?
Customers without a cable TV subscription can also enjoy the HubStation features, which includes Free 1Mbps Broadband Internet Access.
butterflychic
01-04-2009, 08:55 PM
Selling my 10 mths old hubstation @ $200
as upgrading to hd set-top box. still have 2 mths warranty left
for hubstation specification:
http://www.hubstation.com.sg/
contact me @9144 3011
Dark_Skye
01-05-2009, 03:23 AM
Hi all. Can the hubstation or hubstationHD still be purchased as a new set anywhere in Singapore? Thinking of signing up for the 50% promo but not allowed to change hubstation as main set.
sAxman_Returns
01-05-2009, 09:20 AM
never an item to be purchased......what 50% promo?
eddy2099sg
01-05-2009, 12:28 PM
He could be referring to the 50% off the Ruyi Hokkien Channel on Demand offer now but I am not sure.
ahxing
29-05-2009, 04:30 PM
Hi, I want to sell my Hubstation? What the best price to quote?
Thehim
29-05-2009, 04:38 PM
jia lat, starhub hubstation cmi liao.
emailed cust service@sh.com 4 days ago.
not a reply yet.
only a recipt by computer. nb.
GetFuzzy
29-05-2009, 09:35 PM
jia lat, starhub hubstation cmi liao.
emailed cust service@sh.com 4 days ago.
not a reply yet.
only a recipt by computer. nb.
What's the problem?
Thehim
30-05-2009, 08:45 AM
the hubstation is already a heat inducer thing.
and they want to sell it.
yandao87
02-06-2009, 01:28 PM
i have a problem sia.
i wish to rent the box just for the free internet, but then they say the rental of box has to come with cable tv subscribtion. is there anyway to work around this?
my cousin has a hubstation, can i get his and ask him to rent one himself? his is purchased.
Downloader
02-06-2009, 01:33 PM
Anybody else have their DCI62SHB (non-HD) setup acting up recently after the 7-days TV guide upgrade? Like...
Slower response. Switching between different function sometimes show noticable lag (blank screen) before the next screen load.
On mine, once few days ago when watching halfway suddenly show upgrading in process and then resetted itself even though it was already recently upgraded. Never had that before as all previous upgrades were manually initiated with on/off or at least not while I was watching. The most is seeing a msg to power on/off for upgrades.
Past few days I encountered a few times while navigating with the remote, the set-top auto reset without upgrading msg.
Anyhow, after the recent upgrades, TV guide while previously at times can see more than 3-days schedules, now can only show today schedule. Even today schedule only show current and next program???!!!
Yesterday I could not get into my any folders including My Playlist. The moment I click any folder, it will return to the current live channel.
Today, I power on/off few times but could not resolve issue 5 at all until I tried 1 last time and this time I see the upgrading process again. Thereafter I can go into my folders and watch the recorded shows.
Last time even while watching recorded show, I can still go to TV guide and the recorded show will keep on playing. However, now when I do that, the recorded show will stop and switch to live program.
Now issue 5 is still intermittent. When it happen, need to go Smart TV, select folder again and then can go into folders and select recorded shows.
Do I really have to optimize hard disk to fix the issues? Don't wish to lose my recorded shows but if it definately help for those who encountered similar problems, I guess I have no choice.
Appreciate any feedback.
yandao87
03-06-2009, 05:08 PM
yes it has really become much slower. and vod sometimes doesn't work. its like installing windows vista onto a pentium 2.perhaps during upgrading it screwed up?
kun1he2
03-06-2009, 10:54 PM
my cousin has a hubstation, can i get his and ask him to rent one himself? his is purchased.
Yes you can. I personally sold my old hubstation away to rent a hubstation HD... :)
btw, the hubstation HD seems to be better with the new green-themed firmware.
GetFuzzy
04-06-2009, 03:25 AM
Yes you can. I personally sold my old hubstation away to rent a hubstation HD... :)
The new green-themed firmware sux! Blue one was much better. :mad:
Downloader
04-06-2009, 03:28 AM
yes it has really become much slower. and vod sometimes doesn't work. its like installing windows vista onto a pentium 2.perhaps during upgrading it screwed up?
What about TV guide? Any problem with yours? Now I can only see current and next program schedules for today but nothing beyond that or the days after. Existing series recording schedules intact and working but not able to set new recording by shows since no TV guide to plan ahead.:s27:
noobiee
04-06-2009, 12:55 PM
the 1mb internet good or not?
will get dc oftenly?
i rent the hubstation because of the 1mb internet
liangtam
04-06-2009, 01:24 PM
the 1mb internet good or not?
will get dc oftenly?
i rent the hubstation because of the 1mb internet
good
*10 char*
noobiee
04-06-2009, 01:38 PM
how good? :s13:
yandao87
04-06-2009, 05:29 PM
haha hd cfm got better hardware inside. haha seiously i wonder why starhub stop retailling hubstations. they break down so easily, selling them would be better right. since 1 yr warranty very fast finish.
anyway what i intend to do is to pass a rented hubstation to somebody else, and continue using my own hubstation after exchanging the smartcard. you think it works? ie the rented hubstation got no cable tv..
this will save my trouble of dismantling all the cables and at the same time i continue to use my own hubstation..:o
yandao87
04-06-2009, 05:30 PM
What about TV guide? Any problem with yours? Now I can only see current and next program schedules for today but nothing beyond that or the days after. Existing series recording schedules intact and working but not able to set new recording by shows since no TV guide to plan ahead.:s27:
tv guide still ok.. i haven test yet. so far i only use today and tml.. haha. maybe u off and on again? or bring to the neighbour hood shop reset. haha. i think they're really unrealiable. tat time i brought my box back twice cos they forgot to upgradee the firmware after changing the harddisk inside and i cannnot boot.:o
yandao87
04-06-2009, 05:31 PM
how good? :s13:
good cos i use for almost one year and it never fails. not laggy at all for surfing net and check email and dl stuffs. but 1mbps reached easily if u are a downloaded of.. :D
NightWish_
05-06-2009, 09:35 AM
old hubstation also using the green firmware leh
Downloader
07-06-2009, 06:26 PM
My problem is resolved by calling SH to initiate the firmware upgrade again.
However, the green firmware still quite laggy compare to the old one and also the 7 days tv guide still doesn't work. Only get to see the usual 3 days.
Anyone can see the full 7 days tv guide?
kun1he2
07-06-2009, 10:11 PM
Yeah, the TV guide can be quite slow to load, or sometimes doesn't even seem to load at all - and that happens even for the 1-3 days guide. It seems more like a server-side overload issue rather than a firmware problem.
Downloader
09-06-2009, 07:16 AM
Spoke too soon. The problem returned after I had to restart hubstation when the modem was not receiving any ip. Everytime I restart it there will be a firmware upgrading msg. Wonder if this means its really receiving updates or just checking. Cos if it is, why would the manually initiated update by SH fixed the problem after I called them and the "auto" one screw it up again? Then the problem will never be fixed as sometimes need to restart or off it so the cycle will continue. Dun think is the server side issue cos when the TV guide is screwed up, so too are the other functions such as accessing my recorded shows cos the moment I select the folders, it will jump back out of the menu.
I strongly think SH is screwing up the older hubstation with the updates either by negligent or on purpose.
Downloader
09-06-2009, 07:53 PM
Tried calling SH ytd and today both time no answers. Notice there was a recorded msg regarding the issue and to power on/off. Seems like SH knows there are issues already as before this, tried many time on/off also no use but just tried again and it work again. Fingers cross.
Downloader
10-06-2009, 12:25 AM
Spoke too soon again and fingers crossed did not work. The problem came back within min. Tried a few time on/off no use except 1 time I get to see more than 2 schedules (current and next showing) in TV guide but it disappear when I switch to see another channel TV guide. :s11:
Mine is a purchased set at $199 promo and warranty due to expire next week. But I dun think is faulty cos the problem only happen after the green firmware upgrade.
Am I the only odd one having this problem?
binbeto
10-06-2009, 01:04 PM
Can't connect to Internet using hubstation thee few days.
Anyone else has this problem? (Free internet offer over?)
Direct connection to PC. Restart hubstation a few times to no avail. I checked the setting on the modem (usng smartTV menu). IP adressing is 0.0.0.0. Status is sending/receiving.
Downloader
10-06-2009, 02:10 PM
My hubstation couldn't get an IP address 2 days ago around 2am. Probably due to maintanence cos no amount of on/off worked and after 3hrs it could get an IP address on its own.
binbeto
10-06-2009, 02:38 PM
My hubstation couldn't get an IP address 2 days ago around 2am. Probably due to maintanence cos no amount of on/off worked and after 3hrs it could get an IP address on its own.
Thanks for the reply.. I guess I will just have to wait it out.
Downloader
11-06-2009, 02:50 AM
binbeto, I may be wrong and if u continue to have the same problem I suggest u seek further help like I did below for my reported problems in earlier posts.
I just sent my hubstation to Thomson Service Centre to fix them.
On the service form, they state format and restore to factory default. I asked the lady CS at the counter if it's the same as optimized hard disk but she said it's not as there's software (to me should be OS) residing on the hard disk and they need to open it up to fix (I assume they take out hard disk and clone from their copy). Anyway, I was able to test on the spot to make sure no more problems and so far back home, everything looks ok (fingers crossed again).
The following is the service centre details for the benefit of those who may need it:
Haw Wah Trading Co.
(Thomson Service Centre)
Blk6 Hougang Ave 3 #01-74
Singapore 530006
Tel: (65) 6280 8176
Fax: (65) 6280 8298
Mine is still under warranty so it's free. Otherwise, I was told if warranty expired, service charge is $40+ (can't remember exact figure) which probably does not include parts replacement costs.
binbeto
11-06-2009, 07:35 PM
binbeto, I may be wrong and if u continue to have the same problem I suggest u seek further help like I did below for my reported problems in earlier posts.
I just sent my hubstation to Thomson Service Centre to fix them.
On the service form, they state format and restore to factory default. I asked the lady CS at the counter if it's the same as optimized hard disk but she said it's not as there's software (to me should be OS) residing on the hard disk and they need to open it up to fix (I assume they take out hard disk and clone from their copy). Anyway, I was able to test on the spot to make sure no more problems and so far back home, everything looks ok (fingers crossed again).
The following is the service centre details for the benefit of those who may need it:
Haw Wah Trading Co.
(Thomson Service Centre)
Blk6 Hougang Ave 3 #01-74
Singapore 530006
Tel: (65) 6280 8176
Fax: (65) 6280 8298
Mine is still under warranty so it's free. Otherwise, I was told if warranty expired, service charge is $40+ (can't remember exact figure) which probably does not include parts replacement costs.
Thanks for the update. My HS is out of warranty for a very long time.
Got it when it is launched. Think paid quite a lot for it.
Send to repair twice (PSU spoilt, PSU + Network card spoilt). Pay out of own pocket. Funny thing is I didn't attempt to use the free internet until recently.
Modded to add in a 90mm fan after 2nd PSU repair. Fed up with it cos paying about 70 each time. Not to mention the tiem taken to send it in.
Running fine after 2nd PSU change. 6mths and counting..
liangtam
11-06-2009, 09:09 PM
I wan a spoilt set leh, anyone wan give away notch? :o
kitty
15-06-2009, 12:21 PM
Want to buy used HubStation.
Trade HD set-top box to HubStation.
Any bro selling or trade pls pm me.
Thanks!
GTK2003
15-06-2009, 01:22 PM
Thanks!
why? HD suppose to be better right?
glacieraze
15-06-2009, 02:56 PM
Thanks!
Your HD set-top box bought one or rent one?:s11:
kitty
15-06-2009, 05:23 PM
Hubstation for recording local channel.
HD set-top box is bought one.
spawnstar
15-06-2009, 07:53 PM
anybody have issue connecting the Hubstation to the router ? Used to be able to share the 1MB , now it does not work anymore since last week.
ystan79
15-06-2009, 08:11 PM
Hubstation for recording local channel.
HD set-top box is bought one.
Can the starhub (sim card like) card can switch between different types of set top box?
mbgeow
16-06-2009, 01:29 PM
anybody have issue connecting the Hubstation to the router ? Used to be able to share the 1MB , now it does not work anymore since last week.
like to ask you, will you find the 1mb internet slow ? does it have slowness when u watch scv channels??
liangtam
16-06-2009, 02:52 PM
like to ask you, will you find the 1mb internet slow ? does it have slowness when u watch scv channels??
no, no.
*10 char*
runes
16-06-2009, 03:29 PM
I've had problem too, can connect direct to laptop but not router.
Until today, it managed to work. DUnno why... but surely slow.
mbgeow
16-06-2009, 04:48 PM
so hubstation cant plug to router?
yandao87
17-06-2009, 02:26 PM
can plug to router. very easy can reach max speed plus very stable. thumb up man. i use for one yr le/
mbgeow
17-06-2009, 02:32 PM
Heard that hub station 1MB internet access going expired free only till end of dec 2009???
after that we have to pay?
jaiong2000
18-06-2009, 03:32 PM
use MOL 2mbps on MacOSX & Dell-Win, slow not responsive, laggy.
use Hubstation 1Mbps, both fast, responsive. youtube's un-interuptive.
daristan
19-06-2009, 07:13 AM
me no issue even today
one-third
20-06-2009, 10:04 AM
hey guys.i need your help on this.sorry if this may be out of the topic.
i'm interested to get a recording device for my tv shows, but i don't know whether i should get a dvd recorder (hdd included,any brand will do) or hubstation?
i understand that hubstation can record a live tv channel and watch another right?but hubstation recording feature is limited to channels on starhub tv right?and if i get a hubstation,means i can get digital voice phone line for free right?please correct me if i get my facts wrong.
so, have some of you guys use dvd recorder instead of hubstation?can i record a live tv channel (eg free-to-air chnls) and watch another (eg starhub cable tv or mio tv)?dvd recorders are very expensive for me.however,i want to know whether purchasing of dvd recorder or upgrading my digital stb to hubstation is more worth.
liangtam
20-06-2009, 04:05 PM
The hubstation internally has 2 tuner, hence you can record and watch diff channels.
Most outside recorder has 1. However, because your TV has 1 as well, 1+1 = 2. So you still can watch other FFA channels while recording the other one.
one-third
20-06-2009, 09:28 PM
The hubstation internally has 2 tuner, hence you can record and watch diff channels.
Most outside recorder has 1. However, because your TV has 1 as well, 1+1 = 2. So you still can watch other FFA channels while recording the other one.
sorry i'm a noob.
i don't know that tv also have a tuner inside.
if it's possible for me to record (eg mio tv chnl and then watch starhub tv), then it's fine with me.as long it works,then i'm happy.
i feel it's more worth to get a standalone dvd recorder,as i can record any channel i want and not limited to starhub tv channels only via hubstation.
liangtam
20-06-2009, 09:35 PM
sorry i'm a noob.
i don't know that tv also have a tuner inside.
if it's possible for me to record (eg mio tv chnl and then watch starhub tv), then it's fine with me.as long it works,then i'm happy.
i feel it's more worth to get a standalone dvd recorder,as i can record any channel i want and not limited to starhub tv channels only via hubstation.
If not how you get a video feed off from your tv? :look:
You can record normal FTA MediaCorp channels with the hubstation as well, but if you subscribe to both pay TV service, then you cant record mioTV's
win_man
25-06-2009, 10:58 PM
Those who were on the Refer-A-Friend one month Hubstation trial last year and still using Hubstation. Does your bill still reflect free digital set-top box of $4?
MadPrince
26-06-2009, 10:45 PM
Hey guys, I am wondering if i can rent a hubstation if i do not subscribe to starhub cable tv services? I am only interested in the free internet and thus i wonder if i could rent it without subscribing to starhub cable tv.
phuque99
26-06-2009, 10:46 PM
Hey guys, I am wondering if i can rent a hubstation if i do not subscribe to starhub cable tv services? I am only interested in the free internet and thus i wonder if i could rent it without subscribing to starhub cable tv.
call 1633 now.
confused
27-06-2009, 12:21 AM
no such thing! otherwise I would have rent the hubstation HD to record and watch HD5!
confused
27-06-2009, 12:23 AM
Hey guys, is it possible to jump to a particular point in your recorded shows using the remote. Heard that the new firmware allows this?
rogerfederer
27-06-2009, 02:33 AM
Hey guys, is it possible to jump to a particular point in your recorded shows using the remote. Heard that the new firmware allows this?
Yes you can. Just press the forward button. When you do so, a scroll will appear at the bottom; the yellow one says 'jump'. Just use the remote and press the time that you want to jump to.
win_man
27-06-2009, 11:00 AM
Those who were on the Refer-A-Friend one month Hubstation trial last year and still using Hubstation. Does your bill still reflect free digital set-top box of $4?
deskoh91
27-06-2009, 03:36 PM
I have been paying my rental monthly...
win_man
27-06-2009, 04:32 PM
I have been paying my rental monthly...
Does your bill reflect the words Hubstation and/or Digital Set-Top Box?
hypzon
11-07-2009, 05:24 PM
Yes you can. Just press the forward button. When you do so, a scroll will appear at the bottom; the yellow one says 'jump'. Just use the remote and press the time that you want to jump to.
My experience is using the left and right arrow buttons to forward or reverse in 5-min steps.
sHiErShAo83
15-07-2009, 11:57 AM
Hi all,
Just want to check, is it possible to transfer or copy out the local tv channel show that been recorded on the hubstation? If yes, what is the way to do it? Need advise on this. Thanks all.
kennyg1969
15-07-2009, 12:01 PM
Hi all,
Just want to check, is it possible to transfer or copy out the local tv channel show that been recorded on the hubstation? If yes, what is the way to do it? Need advise on this. Thanks all.
No way to do it.
sHiErShAo83
15-07-2009, 12:11 PM
No way to do it.
Ok. Thanks. That will used up the hdd of the hubstation.
jaiong2000
15-07-2009, 07:30 PM
only way, using video capture to record into PC, from $30+ for Easycap USB device that accepts you RCA output from hubstation.
hypzon
16-07-2009, 10:38 PM
I got Easycap for myself, but I get rubbish image when I hook it up. Not sure what the problem is.
Borrowed an old Leadtek Winfast USB II from a friend, and the video showed ok.
But seems it captures only 320x240, and the captured AVI looks like a poor cousin of what we can see on the TV itself. Any one knows if any other capture device/software can do better??
kun1he2
17-07-2009, 09:56 PM
For my case, I have a DVR connected to my hubstation hd.
So playback on hubstation -> record on DVR -> copy to DVD-R (or DVD-RAM) -> then to PC
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.