PDA

View Full Version : mio TV

chuppachop
20-07-2007, 07:20 PM
mio TV official site:

www.singtel.com.sg/miotv (http://www.singtel.com.sg/miotv)

Press release:

http://home.singtel.com/news_centre/news_releases/2007_07_20.asp

commonjunk
20-07-2007, 07:23 PM
mio TV official site:

Press release:

http://home.singtel.com/news_centre/news_releases/2007_07_20.aspMy starhub contract is over, let see if they give any promo :).

confused
20-07-2007, 10:47 PM
mio TV official site:

Press release:

http://home.singtel.com/news_centre/news_releases/2007_07_20.asp

Stupid mio tv website down, give me error!

something
20-07-2007, 11:00 PM
HTTP/1.1 500 Server Error

=========================

is hot!... :s13:

andyqkw
20-07-2007, 11:32 PM
No problem here, can access the website.

confused
20-07-2007, 11:40 PM
I still cannot access...

eD|t|0n
20-07-2007, 11:50 PM
me too le....haiz :s27:

confused
21-07-2007, 01:21 AM
Ok, now 1 am can access.

In my POV, sadly, Starhub wins this round.

Not enuff channel packs and individual channels too ex, need to pay extra for DVR features per MONTH, and mio plan users only get a 5% discount.

Cannot FIGHT in the mass market like that. Only appeals to niche customers, like dat, don't think MioTV can survive for long in this present configuration.

viv4080
21-07-2007, 06:40 AM
Take a quick glance at the mio TV website.

At least, they offer to carry HD5 as a free channel, unlike the Starhub which cannot come to terms with doing it.

Starhub should realise that if and when they carry the free HD5 channel, they are not doing a favor for Mediacorp, but doing a favor to all their HD STB subscribers.

Will study mio TV package further and comment later.

s7460597
21-07-2007, 08:50 AM
At first glance ST is more flexible with their plans. SH also charge subscription for the DVR ? IIRC it's about $5 something right?

jeffong
21-07-2007, 11:16 AM
At first glance ST is more flexible with their plans. SH also charge subscription for the DVR ? IIRC it's about $5 something right?

Starhub has removed that surcharge since April this year at least according to their recent press release about the new Hubstation box. My main complaint is that Singtel forces you to have a residential line connection before they can provide this service. So for those Starhub customers who are already on Digital Voice, there is no incentive for them to jump ship and inccur additional $8.75 monthly charge for no added benefit. Further more, there is a $60 odd dollar surcharge to activate that stupid phone line.

Bernie7
21-07-2007, 11:38 AM
HD5 is not really free. You'd have to subscribe at least $16/mth worth of channels to keep the modem & stb, won't you?

But still it's better than SH which boh chap HD5.

jeffong
21-07-2007, 11:47 AM
Clarified with the MIO people already. There is no free rental of the ADSL modem as reported in the Straits Times. You would have to buy it for $60 odd dollars. Only the rental of the set-top is free.

iMbEst
21-07-2007, 01:30 PM
but what's the requirement for the bandwidth? must sign up together with MIO broadband too?

just saw the advertisement on TV :D

starhub dun carry HD5 leh....sianz....

s7460597
21-07-2007, 01:53 PM
starhub also quiet on their HD implementation. have to wait and see. what they have on their side are the channels they have tied up long ago. ST will need time to add content.

alanchia67
21-07-2007, 03:57 PM
but what's the requirement for the bandwidth? must sign up together with MIO broadband too?

just saw the advertisement on TV :D

starhub dun carry HD5 leh....sianz....

there's no requirement - so long you have singtel line (either home line or dsl enabled). only if you are already singnet 25Mbps user than you'll need to subscribe another line.

cutepooh
21-07-2007, 04:04 PM
it is so inconvenient to use phone lines, esp we have no phone lines in our homes and laying casing and trunking all over our pl is going to run hell in our home. Furthermore, channels are not very extensive but starhub really needs to come out with more HD channels...
anyway,i think running on phone lines using buffer rate will definitely be slower and jittery compared to cable...IMO

alanchia67
21-07-2007, 04:11 PM
no, those on iptv trial can testify the quality is good. and hd channels are fantastic.

iMbEst
22-07-2007, 01:12 AM
there's no requirement - so long you have singtel line (either home line or dsl enabled). only if you are already singnet 25Mbps user than you'll need to subscribe another line.

that means if I haven't activated my phone line, can just pay them to activate DSL and use MIO TV right? then next time if I want to get ADSL for broadband must get a 2nd line? If MIO broadband then can share the same line?

Has MDA come out the TV license for this already?

What's the output for the set up box? HDMI?

jeffong
22-07-2007, 07:35 AM
that means if I haven't activated my phone line, can just pay them to activate DSL and use MIO TV right? then next time if I want to get ADSL for broadband must get a 2nd line? If MIO broadband then can share the same line?

Has MDA come out the TV license for this already?

What's the output for the set up box? HDMI?

This is based on the assumption that you are a non-Singtel residential line customer at the moment. Singtel will charge you $53.20 to activate the phone line. On top of this, they will charge you a monthly $8.75 for this phone line as well. MioTV will require you to buy the ADSL modem from them for $64.20 and will also charge you a further $53.50 for installation charges. Rental of the set-top is free unless you want the PVR features which will then incurr you a further $10.70 monthly rental. Add on top of this the minimum $15 charges for the viewing channels. At the end of this, you do the math and decide if it's worth spending so much on a service with not much compelling content now.

I'd rather wait till they drop that stupid phone line charge requirement (absolutely useless for me since I'm already on Starhub Digital Voice) and come out with a set-top that incorporates the ADSL modem inside.

kyc72
22-07-2007, 10:03 AM
woah... the prices is like... SH basic offering is much more better then them. Think the selling point for ST is the ON-Demend services like someone wanna watch spidermen he can watch it(provided the DVD is release). if this is the case i rather go Rent the dvd from shop cost around 2.50 perday as compare to ST 7.95 per movie. so they are charging us for bandwidth plus ripping off the dvd into their server and ofcuz abit on the copyright things. i have not use this service so cannot compare the quality of the video output. but how well can a online stream can be (using old copper lines)

alanchia67
22-07-2007, 10:13 AM
that's why singtel's strategy is the mio plan - combine all singtel bills (home line, mobile, broadband) into one, and the mio tv will be 5% off (on top off mio plan discount).

it doesnt make sense for someone to get mio tv if not already on snbb at current pricing.

alanchia67
22-07-2007, 10:15 AM
i have not use this service so cannot compare the quality of the video output. but how well can a online stream can be (using old copper lines)

quality is good as the compression is H.264 thus HD content remains good. coupled with hdmi output. the bandwidth in dsl is sufficient.

iMbEst
22-07-2007, 12:23 PM
This is based on the assumption that you are a non-Singtel residential line customer at the moment. Singtel will charge you $53.20 to activate the phone line. On top of this, they will charge you a monthly $8.75 for this phone line as well. MioTV will require you to buy the ADSL modem from them for $64.20 and will also charge you a further $53.50 for installation charges. Rental of the set-top is free unless you want the PVR features which will then incurr you a further $10.70 monthly rental. Add on top of this the minimum $15 charges for the viewing channels. At the end of this, you do the math and decide if it's worth spending so much on a service with not much compelling content now.

I'd rather wait till they drop that stupid phone line charge requirement (absolutely useless for me since I'm already on Starhub Digital Voice) and come out with a set-top that incorporates the ADSL modem inside.

never mind, wait for corporate offer :D sure waive this waive that onez..... :s22:

Twinsen
22-07-2007, 01:22 PM
Just a thought. If I do not have a phone point near my tv and I dont not want trunking to run all over my house as everything of mine is conceal, is there a wireless solution to miotv?

iMbEst
22-07-2007, 01:40 PM
i think the homeplug 200Mbps model can do the job :D

something
22-07-2007, 02:37 PM
i'm using 3mbps snbb, do i need another tel line for mio tv? is 2700hg a ADSL2+ modem? if using same line, will slow mine download speed?

thanks

alanchia67
22-07-2007, 05:52 PM
i think the homeplug 200Mbps model can do the job :D

yup, for the singtel iptv trial indeed we are supplied the homeplug av (200Mbps).

cybertech
22-07-2007, 09:19 PM
Glance thru' their channels and to me only CH50 Mei Ah Movies Channel (Asia)
interest me, claim to show the movie same time as in the cinema and in
Cantonese :s31: Will wait and see....

s7460597
22-07-2007, 09:28 PM

Same here. Also considering the Cantonese drama channel.

Vin
22-07-2007, 11:46 PM
quality is good as the compression is H.264 thus HD content remains good. coupled with hdmi output. the bandwidth in dsl is sufficient.

Went down to Hello! shop today and played with the MIO TV setup.
Set top box was connected to a 32" LCD TV using HDMI at 1080i.

- SD contents (Ch5, Ch8, Suria, CNA etc...) video quality was rather disappointing. MPEG blocks artefacts was pretty visible.
- HD contents video quality was good but on the Voom HD the picture and sound was not in sync.
- All video streaming was smooth. No jerky motion.
- No visible difference in quality between live and recorded video content.
- One more thing, the Remote Control looks rather ugly IMO.

alanchia67
22-07-2007, 11:50 PM
when i was on singtel iptv trial, the sd channels were very clear - same as my dvb-t quality.

the remote control issue can be overcome with a 3rd party remote. for example, my logitech (harmony) controls the motorola stb very well (with all my other av equipment).

wind79
23-07-2007, 12:02 AM
when i was on singtel iptv trial, the sd channels were very clear - same as my dvb-t quality.

the remote control issue can be overcome with a 3rd party remote. for example, my logitech (harmony) controls the motorola stb very well (with all my other av equipment).
Any idea if IPTV trial users get to have special rates or promotional price?
I mean we do already have the box and the homeplugs all connected.

Vin
23-07-2007, 12:04 AM

Sorry that I didn't mention. I was comparing it to analog signal. Of course analog signal will not have MPEG block artefact but what I've seen on the MIO TV was worst than expected. Even DVD video MPEG block artefact is not that obvious.

iMbEst
23-07-2007, 12:10 AM
uhm.....has MDA came out the TV license for IPTV? if not maybe I will give up the idea of USB tuner and go into this, at least got $9.167 per month to finance this IPTV mah.

alanchia67
23-07-2007, 12:40 AM
as iptv isnt really 'tuning' and you arent operating a radio device, dont think MDA will have a tv license for mio tv.

iMbEst
23-07-2007, 12:48 AM
i heard they are in the midst of drafting the TV license thingy.....at least i can finally siam the stupid TV license thingy liao! lol! portable USB tuner is debatable, so I may not want to use it.

muhammad007
23-07-2007, 11:59 AM
Channels like Zee tv are outdated. The dramas shown are at least 2 years old or more!

commonjunk
23-07-2007, 12:19 PM
Not many chinese channels :(.
Not good for my family :s27:.

saberlancer
23-07-2007, 12:30 PM
No Discovery or National Geo= out for me..

andyqkw
23-07-2007, 02:34 PM
Same here, only the Mei Ah Movie channel interest me.

But let's say that if I only subscribe to that channel, I still need to pay $16.05/mth right?

commonjunk
23-07-2007, 02:46 PM
No Discovery or National Geo= out for me..Agreed, both are my fav channels (including Animal planet).

jeffong
23-07-2007, 04:58 PM
Same here. Also considering the Cantonese drama channel.

This is provided you like watching ATV serials. No chance of getting TVB ones as they are locked up with Starhub.

jeffong
23-07-2007, 05:03 PM
Same here, only the Mei Ah Movie channel interest me.

But let's say that if I only subscribe to that channel, I still need to pay $16.05/mth right?

If you take a look at the programme guide for the Mei Ah channel, you will notice that a lot of it is yesteryear kind of shows like the whole gamut of Chow Sin Tse slapstick comedies. IMO, the only channel worth subscribing is VoomHD as its content is original and not available elsewhere but it may not meet everyone's taste. As for the so-called day and date Sony movie releases, I might as well rent it for $5 and still have the option to rip it out as an ISO and keep it for future watching. Why pay $7 to $10 bucks for 24 hour viewing especially when it's not shown in HighDef.

longpiao
23-07-2007, 05:39 PM
To succeed, mio TV must have adult channels showing non-stop prawn for $4 a month.

commonjunk
23-07-2007, 06:06 PM
To succeed, mio TV must have adult channels showing non-stop prawn for $4 a month.bahhhh, u are killing me.
Dream on, some one kick longpiao and wake him up from his dream.

andyqkw
23-07-2007, 10:03 PM
Just let the poor kid live in his dream...

iMbEst
23-07-2007, 10:39 PM
If you take a look at the programme guide for the Mei Ah channel, you will notice that a lot of it is yesteryear kind of shows like the whole gamut of Chow Sin Tse slapstick comedies. IMO, the only channel worth subscribing is VoomHD as its content is original and not available elsewhere but it may not meet everyone's taste. As for the so-called day and date Sony movie releases, I might as well rent it for $5 and still have the option to rip it out as an ISO and keep it for future watching. Why pay $7 to $10 bucks for 24 hour viewing especially when it's not shown in HighDef.

wah....ISO!!!! mata mata!!!!! :s22:

WestGuy
23-07-2007, 11:42 PM
Any idea if IPTV trial users get to have special rates or promotional price?
I mean we do already have the box and the homeplugs all connected.

No. Been waiting ages for the 1 mth free preview while my STB is collecting dust :s7:

MotoModder
24-07-2007, 06:34 PM
My broadband line is only 1mb, will it be upgraded to support the IPTV??
If I torrent and watch TV at the same time, will it lag?
What plugs are there behind the set-top box?

Jas007
24-07-2007, 06:44 PM
no EPL ... no mio ...
no History Channel (btw it rocks !!!) no mio
no Discovery, no NG ... no mio ...

$16.05/mth ... when ad was kinda misleading ...
posted as if you need nt pay if you no watch ..
no mio ... only got mummy-o !!! :D

Vin
25-07-2007, 08:35 AM
My broadband line is only 1mb, will it be upgraded to support the IPTV??
If I torrent and watch TV at the same time, will it lag?
What plugs are there behind the set-top box?

Got this info from the Hello! Shop -
Your broadband will still stay at 1Mbps even though MIO TV set top box uses much higher download speed of 18Mbps.

In your case it should not have any lag while surfing and watching MIO TV at the same time since the bandwidth is more than sufficient to support MIO TV and 1Mbps broadband.

MotoModder
25-07-2007, 05:08 PM
So the MIO TV uses a 'different' line lah...
I thought I could have higher broadband speed, don't want le...

iMbEst
25-07-2007, 11:55 PM

I believe you can hack it setup box and enjoy 18MBbps :D

Vin
26-07-2007, 08:32 AM

Yup, it multiplex on the same telephone line. That's is why for current 25Mpbs SNBB users, they will need to install another telephone line to stay at 25Mbps.

jeffong
26-07-2007, 11:48 AM
Yup, it multiplex on the same telephone line. That's is why for current 25Mpbs SNBB users, they will need to install another telephone line to stay at 25Mbps.

I'm more interested to know if there is a way to export out the recorded HD files on the set-top box. This way I can dump them on my NAS and playback using my MediaPlayer box.

megaweb
26-07-2007, 04:07 PM
I believe you can hack it setup box and enjoy 18MBbps :D
I doubt so. The bandwidth is limited by the login ID profile.

MotoModder
26-07-2007, 05:13 PM
If can hack, then I want...
BTW is there a S-Video plug on the Set-top box?
If got then I can connect it to my PC and record for free hehehe...

something
26-07-2007, 07:03 PM
If can hack, then I want...
BTW is there a S-Video plug on the Set-top box?
If got then I can connect it to my PC and record for free hehehe...
http://mio.singtel.com/miotv/i/about_connection2.gif
http://mio.singtel.com/miotv/about_getting-started.asp

iMbEst
27-07-2007, 12:52 AM
how to use HDMI only for video and SPDIF for audio? would it work? boh optical out ah?

how to share the IPTV with homeplug?

MotoModder
27-07-2007, 02:36 PM
Can I connect the set-top box to my router??

iMbEst
29-07-2007, 01:28 AM
anybody knows what's the TV license needed for IPTV? or it's still license free as of now?

MotoModder
29-07-2007, 01:18 PM
IPTV need no license because it goes through internet....

iMbEst
29-07-2007, 01:44 PM
are you sure? but how come SCV needs license? it goes through cable what?

what I meant is the MDA TV license leh, most people paid because they have a TV tuner in their TV.

I got a projector without tuner, but if I were to subscribe to SCV, i need to pay TV license, so you sure this IPTV doesn't require MDA TV license?

prince123456
30-07-2007, 11:05 AM
yes.. i also wondering ...

cable channels go through cables.. .no tuning involved.

how come must pay tv licence .'

Not Fair .. if MIO tv no need pay licence .. and SCV cable must pay..

prince123456
30-07-2007, 11:10 AM
quoted from www.mda.gov.sg (http://www.mda.gov.sg/)

Public Licences

Residential TV LicenceA TV Licence is required if you operate or have, on any premise owned or occupied by you, TV sets or any equipment that is capable of receiving broadcasting services. The TV Licence is valid for a calendar year, from 1 January to 31 December and is renewable on a yearly basis thereafter. The annual licence fee is S$110.

MotoModder
30-07-2007, 06:39 PM
MIO TV is like a higher quality youtube as they go through internet...
Since youtube no need license, then why MIO TV need leh??

Treble
30-07-2007, 08:07 PM
i think MDA is still in the midst of finalizing the TV license. If they can't find as vague as possible to define it, they may just simply put this clause:
"Mio TV device also follow the same residential license."

hahahaha! and I will look down and laugh at the person in charge in MDA!

MotoModder
31-07-2007, 07:46 PM
Wah if really need license then it will be pointless....
Rather watch the free streaming online, my 1mb line also can play online tv smoothly lol....

iMbEst
01-08-2007, 12:02 AM
it makes no difference for people who already own a TV.

I do not own any TV yet so it would impact me.......coz 1 household only need to pay 1 TV license.

If dun need to pay at all, at least $9+ can be used to finance the Mio TV mah. so 1 month become $7+ only nia....cheap cheap + HD!

praveenkreddy
16-08-2007, 11:13 AM
Hi all,
I have subscribed for Mio Tv and it was installed on 11 Aug, & subscribed for the ZEE TV, funny part is Drams in ZEE TV are in MALAY DIALOG, and the stuff which they are showing is almost 3 to 5 Months old, which was already telecasted on Starhub ZEE TV, i have called the customer service couple of times and the Customer service officer's there are not aware of this, and they ask me to change the audio language and ask me to switch off the setup box and on which is all scrap and there is no change, if there is any song or any other stuff it will change back to HINDI, as i dont know the Malay there is no point of this channel, now i am ending up paying for starhub & Mio TV,

One good thing is quality of the Channel 5 HD is Very good, and the DVR feature is excellent, any comments are welcome, thanks for reading my review.

This what MIO TV SITE displays which is not correct
General entertainment channel from Zee, subtitled in Behasa Melayu. Soap dramas,sitcoms, movies.

chuppachop
16-08-2007, 12:12 PM
Hi all,
I have subscribed for Mio Tv and it was installed on 11 Aug, & subscribed for the ZEE TV, funny part is Drams in ZEE TV are in MALAY DIALOG, and the stuff which they are showing is almost 3 to 5 Months old, which was already telecasted on Starhub ZEE TV, i have called the customer service couple of times and the Customer service officer's there are not aware of this, and they ask me to change the audio language and ask me to switch off the setup box and on which is all scrap and there is no change, if there is any song or any other stuff it will change back to HINDI, as i dont know the Malay there is no point of this channel, now i am ending up paying for starhub & Mio TV,

MIO's ZEE Channel is the malaysia feed that is supplied to M'sia ASTRO......hence the Malay subts/language.

iMbEst
20-08-2007, 12:25 AM
Wah if really need license then it will be pointless....
Rather watch the free streaming online, my 1mb line also can play online tv smoothly lol....

hey dude, mind sharing where to get the "online TV" via streaming? I think this one is not really covered under MDA license leh.

LemonT
20-08-2007, 11:31 AM
Anyone find the MIO TV user interface extremely user-unfriendly? Compare to the Starhub UI, MIO i find very confusing especially the paying channels. Have to click a lot to get to the programs I want to watch whereas for Starhub it is just a press of a channel selection button.

Having a hard time teaching my mum to access MIO channels. :s13:

jchoong
20-08-2007, 06:16 PM
Isn't it just a matter of pressing the number buttons to get the subscribed channel? For instance press "50" for the Ah Mei channel. It is when you need to go to the Video On Demand (VOD) channels that it gets a bit tricky. Took me a while to subscribe to one of the monthly package. The VOD channels/selections are far superior to StarHub's.

One complaint I have is that the User Manual is totally inadequate; leaves a lot to be desired! Had to learn most everything thru trial-and-error. I am sure there are lots more to discover/learn

Another advantage over StarHub is that you can record 2 channels at the same time.

Overall I am happy with Mio TV.

alanchia67
21-08-2007, 10:16 AM
the help menu in miotv is self explanatory.

Treble
22-08-2007, 12:44 PM
just curious, what do you use the homeplug for? just to share network connection? I thought can share audio and video through the homeplug one...

decham
05-09-2007, 07:24 PM
Hi

I'm MIO TV subscriper, since the first day, sometimes there is some lag in TV program and just hang up there for 3-4 s. anybody face the same probleM?

alanchia67
05-09-2007, 09:53 PM
just curious, what do you use the homeplug for? just to share network connection? I thought can share audio and video through the homeplug one...

it's to facilitate connecting the miotv stb to the modem/router without using network cable - especially if the stb and modem/router are far away.

alanchia67
05-09-2007, 09:54 PM
Hi

I'm MIO TV subscriper, since the first day, sometimes there is some lag in TV program and just hang up there for 3-4 s. anybody face the same probleM?

you mean the tv program hang, or the EPG? have not experienced tv program hang. likely there's line noise in the dsl line. please post the line statistics for confirmation.

decham
05-09-2007, 11:13 PM

Is TV channel hang (Channel U, 8, Chanel 8 HD), movie not ruuning smoothly.
contact service engr and have a check, he said connectivity output no problem.
But the problem still there, because not always hang ( maybe 4-8 time /day) , so he said he can do nothing.

Treble
06-09-2007, 08:38 AM
change a new set lor.

alanchia67
06-09-2007, 10:08 AM
i still think there's a line problem somewhere, decham. can post the line statistics to verify?

decham
07-09-2007, 07:04 PM
i don't know how to get the line statisctic as i'm not using Singtel internet. Theline connection only for MIO TV and phone line. I'using starhub maxonline.
Pls advice how to get the statistic ..

alanchia67
07-09-2007, 07:25 PM
can try connect a lan cable to the 2wire modem to a pc/laptop with ethernet port. see does the pc obtain a ip address from the 2wire as router.

if works, i'll provide you url to get line stats.

decham
07-09-2007, 08:24 PM
From laptop local connection area i can find that there are transmission//////

oho
12-09-2007, 12:00 AM
Does the mio STB include the ADSL 2+ modem?
I look at their charges for 1 STB installation and they do not mention a modem cost.
Are they assuming I am already using my own ADSL 2+ modem for my SNBB and therefore did not include this charge?
In an earlier post someone mentioned that ADSL 2+ modem need to pay. Someone tell me otherwise.
Anyone can help.
My current ADSL is not a 2+ model.
Tks.

GMacintosh
13-09-2007, 09:46 AM

Is TV channel hang (Channel U, 8, Chanel 8 HD), movie not ruuning smoothly.
contact service engr and have a check, he said connectivity output no problem.
But the problem still there, because not always hang ( maybe 4-8 time /day) , so he said he can do nothing.

decham,
i have quite the same problems... momentary freezes, and also start up screen fuzzy sometimes... after 2 weeks, i gave up... and their tech guys stood me up on 2 saturdays... arranged for them to trouble shoot and then no-show for 2 saturdays.

calls to their helplines resulted in waste of time waiting (so much for dedicated hotlines!)... when i talked to their people, they do not even know the system well... i had to direct them to see their own website for info!

but the last straw was the no-shows... after the 1st time, lots of apologies... after 2nd time, i simply had enough, terminate... and they have the cheek to send me a bill! made complains demanding they take everything back and remove every single charge...

i belive the limitations of the adsl line are there.... and i am quite convinced that cable would be a better bet....

cheers.

GMacintosh
13-09-2007, 09:49 AM
Does the mio STB include the ADSL 2+ modem?
I look at their charges for 1 STB installation and they do not mention a modem cost.
Are they assuming I am already using my own ADSL 2+ modem for my SNBB and therefore did not include this charge?
In an earlier post someone mentioned that ADSL 2+ modem need to pay. Someone tell me otherwise.
Anyone can help.
My current ADSL is not a 2+ model.
Tks.

...if you only sign mioTV, they'll include the SNBB 1.5Mbps line and the adsl modem... and if you also have SNBB, there's a slight discount to mioTV subscription...

alanchia67
13-09-2007, 10:26 AM
you need ADSL2+ modem as the digital tv needs a bandwidth of about 12Mbps. ADSL modem is up to 8Mbps only.

andyqkw
13-09-2007, 10:56 AM
...if you only sign mioTV, they'll include the SNBB 1.5Mbps line and the adsl modem... and if you also have SNBB, there's a slight discount to mioTV subscription...
Is that so, how come I didn't know about that :s11:

What discount are we given?

andyqkw
13-09-2007, 11:06 AM
For those on mio TV plan connecting via HDMI cable.

Do you get a no signal error when you resume the mio TV box from standby mode and after a short while the mio TV screen appears but halved with a large patch of purplish flickering image on top cos' mine does...

Have to power off and on the mio TV box for it to work fine again.

GMacintosh
13-09-2007, 12:42 PM
Is that so, how come I didn't know about that :s11:

What discount are we given?

if u have SNBB (with mio plan) and sign mioTV, think there's a 15% discount off mioTV subscription... i'm assuming if just SNBB (non mio plan) can probably justify for some % also... can check with customer service...

GMacintosh
13-09-2007, 12:46 PM

Do you get a no signal error when you resume the mio TV box from standby mode and after a short while the mio TV screen appears but halved with a large patch of purplish flickering image on top cos' mine does...

that's the fuzzy image i mentioned i had also... u can reboot the stb by pressing the power button (on stb) for a few seconds...

after 1 week (think they did some troubleshooting at their end too) the incidents were reduced... but the screen freeze still happen once in a while...

btw, was told not to off-and-on the set more than 2 times, otherwise got to wait 24hrs before signal will resume... not sure how true this is...

andyqkw
13-09-2007, 03:22 PM
if u have SNBB (with mio plan) and sign mioTV, think there's a 15% discount off mioTV subscription... i'm assuming if just SNBB (non mio plan) can probably justify for some % also... can check with customer service...
From what I know, it's only for those on mio plan, not applicable to those on SNBB only.

andyqkw
13-09-2007, 03:28 PM
that's the fuzzy image i mentioned i had also... u can reboot the stb by pressing the power button (on stb) for a few seconds...
That's what I did, press and hold the power button for a few seconds till the 3 led in front light up and then let go.

Hope they rectify this problem soon or else it defeats the purpose of so called digital entertainment via HDMI cable cos' read on TechOne HDTV (http://hdtvsg.blogspot.com/) that the SingTel technicial actually asking to use the component cable instead of HDMI cable...

GMacintosh
14-09-2007, 09:34 AM
That's what I did, press and hold the power button for a few seconds till the 3 led in front light up and then let go.

Hope they rectify this problem soon or else it defeats the purpose of so called digital entertainment via HDMI cable cos' read on TechOne HDTV (http://hdtvsg.blogspot.com/) that the SingTel technicial actually asking to use the component cable instead of HDMI cable...

agree with you, andyqkw... it would be quite a 'waste' if they can't get past the technical issues...
when the tech guy did the 1st stb replacement and saw the fuzzy images and screen freezes, he did suggest using component but i insisted using the hdmi which i bought specially for the box...
hope you'll get to enjoy steady, smooth HD service soon....

andyqkw
14-09-2007, 11:38 AM
Thanks, gonna give tham a call this weekend.

In the mean time, keeping my fingers crossed... And if they still can't get this issue fixed soon, "bo bian" will have to show them my middle finger then (just kidding)...

chuppachop
20-09-2007, 09:52 AM
from iptv-news.com

SingTel nominates Ruckus Wireless as the standard for in-home Wi-Fi distribution of its “mio TV” IPTV service

September 19, 2007 – Ruckus Wireless has announced that Singapore Telecom (SingTel) has chosen its Ruckus MediaFlex Smart Wi-Fi system to enable in-home wireless distribution of the operator’s “mio TV” IPTV service.

SingTel has reportedly decided to standardise on the Ruckus MediaFlex 802.11g Smart Wi-Fi system, and is providing the system to installers and offering it as an option to connect televisions throughout the home to the IPTV service.

“SingTel is yet another proof point that Smart Wi-Fi is the right technology at the right time,” commented Selina Lo, President and CEO of Ruckus Wireless. “Given its population density, Singapore is one of the most challenging Wi-Fi environments where conventional technology wasn’t enough. We continue to see demand for a new class of Wi-Fi that delivers dependable operation, predictable performance and extended range.”

According to SingTel, the Ruckus MediaFlex system was chosen as it cuts installation times in half while offering the same quality of service, and is also more aesthetically pleasing for subscribers. The telco reportedly plans to ultimately move to a self-install, Do-It-Yourself model where subscribers can visit retail outlets to purchase the service and equipment.

SingTel is the market share leader for broadband services in Singapore, with over 380,000 subscribers.

maungmaung
21-09-2007, 09:20 AM

I have the same problem and now I never put my mio box to standby mode. That solve the problem for now.

fiery_dragon89
21-09-2007, 10:39 AM
anyone can post all the numbers here for MioTV? for example the number to call if you want to cancel the MioTV, the number to call if you wanna call the service man down to repair?

VickyToh
21-09-2007, 03:54 PM
you need ADSL2+ modem as the digital tv needs a bandwidth of about 12Mbps. ADSL modem is up to 8Mbps only.
Yeah.... ADSL2+ modem is needed for Mio TV.. that's alright....

But why is it that we must Only Use Singtel Supplied ADSL2+ Modem???

Why can't any other ADSL2+ modem, for instance those from Linksys (ADSL2+ modem/Router) be used instead??

Afterall, users have no problems at all using other ADSL2+ modem to connect to Singtel's ADSL Broadband services too... Why is Mio TV exceptional then??

If its some sort of setting issues, Singtel should published those setting and made them available to potential users.... What's so much secret to keep?

Singtel is simply wasting User's Hard Earned Money - Requiring user to Buy an extra modem from Singtel and throw away users existing ADSL2+ modem.... That's not too right man!!!!! I protest!!!!!!

maungmaung
21-09-2007, 09:33 PM
Yeah.... ADSL2+ modem is needed for Mio TV.. that's alright....

But why is it that we must Only Use Singtel Supplied ADSL2+ Modem???

Why can't any other ADSL2+ modem, for instance those from Linksys (ADSL2+ modem/Router) be used instead??

Afterall, users have no problems at all using other ADSL2+ modem to connect to Singtel's ADSL Broadband services too... Why is Mio TV exceptional then??

If its some sort of setting issues, Singtel should published those setting and made them available to potential users.... What's so much secret to keep?

Singtel is simply wasting User's Hard Earned Money - Requiring user to Buy an extra modem from Singtel and throw away users existing ADSL2+ modem.... That's not too right man!!!!! I protest!!!!!!

its not like you dont have a choice
:D . If you dont like it, just dont use it. Singtel is not forcing you to get Mio TV :s13: :s13:

VickyToh
22-09-2007, 07:09 PM
its not like you dont have a choice
:D . If you dont like it, just dont use it. Singtel is not forcing you to get Mio TV :s13: :s13:
Was that your own opinion or Singtel's Corporate Policy ??????

The point here is..... Singtel should be more transparent in its hardware requirement rather than the "Want then you come, Don't want then go away" kind of attitude...... very negative....

To the consumer and any other layman, ADSL2+ modem is an ADSL2+ modem.... what's so special about Singtel's ADSL2+ modem????? afterall Singtel also got theirs from ADSL2+ modem supplier....

Unless to say, Singtel is also trying to push for their modem sales, and then profiting from such sales... by volumes......

maungmaung
23-09-2007, 12:21 AM
Was that your own opinion or Singtel's Corporate Policy ??????

The point here is..... Singtel should be more transparent in its hardware requirement rather than the "Want then you come, Don't want then go away" kind of attitude...... very negative....

To the consumer and any other layman, ADSL2+ modem is an ADSL2+ modem.... what's so special about Singtel's ADSL2+ modem????? afterall Singtel also got theirs from ADSL2+ modem supplier....

Unless to say, Singtel is also trying to push for their modem sales, and then profiting from such sales... by volumes......

Well I think singtel is trying to force customers to get mio plan at the same time with mio TV but its not working as this wish. I am sure they willl change their policy very soon.

VickyToh
24-09-2007, 02:29 PM
Well I think singtel is trying to force customers to get mio plan at the same time with mio TV but its not working as this wish. I am sure they willl change their policy very soon.
Yes, Singtel got to do something about such "Silly" policy very soon.... by end of this year perhaps? Especially if their initial pre-set sales target is not met by Dec...

I'm sure most other potential MioTV subscribers are now still "on-hold" - wait till Singtel Bundle MioTV with a Free Ethernet Modems & Waiver its Nonsense Connection Fee.... or until one day Singtel anounces that any other ADSL2+ modem can also be used.....hence don't need to spent another extra $50/- plus $$$$$ in which I believe is absolutely unnecessary.

Btw, any MioTV subscribers out there ever tried connecting and setting up MioTV STB to a Non-Singtel Provided ADSL2+ modems?

maungmaung
24-09-2007, 05:57 PM
As a singtel Mio TV user, I will just suggest that its better not to get this service if you do not have mio plan at least for now. They still need to solve lots of issues and so far the contents are also not promising. As for mio plan users, its not so expensive to test out this service. :)

xoozlez
27-09-2007, 12:55 AM
Hi guys, I jus signed up for Mio TV and own a Viewsonic VX2245 monitor. Just wonder how does the Mio TV able to hook it up to a LCD monitor?

Treble
27-09-2007, 09:56 AM
HDMI -> VGA?

alanchia67
27-09-2007, 10:01 AM
he posted the same in ibnc thread. response is there.

maungmaung
02-10-2007, 04:00 PM
Mio has added more VOD channels. Film Factory and Fox movies. 20 movies par channel and update every month. So with Pix and Pix thriller, we have around 80 movies every month to watch. I am gonna need to spend more money! :D :D

andyqkw
03-10-2007, 02:39 PM
Subscribed to Mei Ah Movie on Demand and sad to say that the Death Note 2 show is incomplete. Show ends at 1hr 28mins while the actual show length is 1hr 41mins with the most exciting part of the show missing...

alanchia67
03-10-2007, 03:58 PM
Subscribed to Mei Ah Movie on Demand and sad to say that the Death Note 2 show is incomplete. Show ends at 1hr 28mins while the actual show length is 1hr 41mins with the most exciting part of the show missing...

is that so??

maungmaung
03-10-2007, 08:15 PM
Andy,

did you complaint to singtel about that?

alanchia67
03-10-2007, 10:56 PM
not really singtel's fault but mei ah's. but good to provide feedback.

ultraman1976
04-10-2007, 11:44 AM
Is that means we can use the MIO box to watch HD CH5 free ? Anyone tried? :s11:

maungmaung
04-10-2007, 12:11 PM
HD5 is free but you will need to pay Mio monthly fees

alanchia67
04-10-2007, 12:13 PM
current promo for 6mth, no fees to pay (aka free stb etc). you only need to pay for the channels you subscribe, or if you want DVR feature in the stb.

in that sense, HD5 is free.

alanchia67
04-10-2007, 12:14 PM
Is that means we can use the MIO box to watch HD CH5 free ? Anyone tried? :s11:

have been using the miotv stb since the technical trial to receive HD5.

andyqkw
05-10-2007, 03:22 PM
Andy,

did you complaint to singtel about that?
Hi there, sorry for late reply.

Did not complain to SingTel about this issue as i've actually borrowed the DVD from a friend and watch it instead. Anyway, from what i've realised, it's not just 18mins missing from SingTel mio TV but a whopping 40plus mins, after the 1hr 28mins mark...

maungmaung
05-10-2007, 04:50 PM
wow the missing part is alot.

Anyway they should make user able to rate or review the movies and channels they offered. So that we know which movie is good and which is not.

jchoong
06-10-2007, 09:44 AM
I have been subscribing to MIO TV for more than a month now and happy with it. Bottom line - Video on Demand (VOD) are great, particularly the Series. I also subscribe to the Ah Mei movie channel - terrible channel, very, very old movies. As a result I very seldom watch this channel; sad thing is that I already signed up for 1 year on this channel.

It is very easy to sign up for a channel or VOD - can do it on-line on the screen. However if you want to terminate any channels - you have to call up Singtel, and that is a big hassle. I think they do this on purpose so as to discourage one to terminate subscriptions.

The VOD channels, particularly the Series, are renewed on a monthly basis. Wish they could improve on the numbering of the episodes; it is very confusing now.

Overall, happy with MIO TV - reliable, flexible, and good VOD content.

alanchia67
06-10-2007, 10:24 PM
i agree on mei ah (ch 50) during trial/preview when i watch it.

you could have chosen mei ah on-demand.
http://mio.singtel.com/miotv/channels-on-demand_rent-a-pack.asp

the selection not too bad (some old some new).

jmilo
07-10-2007, 12:39 AM
when apply for mio tv, is the hdmi cable provided?
anyone using the wireless approach from modem to set-top box? any problems if i opt for wireless approach? thanks!

jchoong
07-10-2007, 11:29 AM
My MIO TV setup is with the wireless modems. Great technology indeed and very reliable too.

ginseng1
07-10-2007, 05:03 PM
have been using the miotv stb since the technical trial to receive HD5.

Any difference in quality to your naked eyes?

So far, are all the contents on HD5 really HD?

I'm gettign mine installed next week and will be using their homeplugs. No more wall powerpoint socket for the homeplug and will have to make do with it on the extension plug. Hope there is no performance degrade.

My friend staying at Orchard road and MIO TV is not supported there. Strange, thought that as long as there's a ADSL activated phone line, the household should be able to receive MIO TV.

andyqkw
07-10-2007, 05:10 PM
when apply for mio tv, is the hdmi cable provided?
anyone using the wireless approach from modem to set-top box? any problems if i opt for wireless approach? thanks!
No, the HDMI is not provided. You gotta purchase one yourself.

alanchia67
07-10-2007, 07:13 PM
Any difference in quality to your naked eyes?

So far, are all the contents on HD5 really HD?

most programmes are upconverted thus no difference. some local programmes are originally shot in HD and thus you can see difference. for example the recent president challenge 2007 - belief me, you can see every single wrinkle/marks on the faces and necks in HD5, comparing to 'smoothed out' look in normal Ch5.

alanchia67
07-10-2007, 07:17 PM

the miotv requires about 12Mbps bandwidth. there are currently 3 ways to connect the stb to the 2wire router:
1) Using direct LAN cable connection
2) Using Homeplug as bridge
3) Using Rukus wireless bridge (using wifi)

I take that you are choosing option 3? I've not tried this option, but personally i feel wifi is wifi - it is subjected to environmental issues (like walls, interference from neighbouring wifi, etc).

jmilo
08-10-2007, 12:19 AM
the miotv requires about 12Mbps bandwidth. there are currently 3 ways to connect the stb to the 2wire router:
1) Using direct LAN cable connection
2) Using Homeplug as bridge
3) Using Rukus wireless bridge (using wifi)

I take that you are choosing option 3? I've not tried this option, but personally i feel wifi is wifi - it is subjected to environmental issues (like walls, interference from neighbouring wifi, etc).

yes...planning to use option 3...

alanchia67
08-10-2007, 12:34 AM
why not take homeplug, it's more resilient to environmental issues - of course assuming the power line is clean and no surge protector to interfere operation.

jmilo
08-10-2007, 12:36 AM
why not take homeplug, it's more resilient to environmental issues - of course assuming the power line is clean and no surge protector to interfere operation.

will the homeplug be provided during installation? if so, what model? and how much?
thanks!

alanchia67
08-10-2007, 12:43 AM
did you request for homeplugs? the model should be aztech hl108e. not sure about the price, but from other discussion, the promo is $53.50 for the pair.

jmilo
08-10-2007, 12:49 AM
did you request for homeplugs? the model should be aztech hl108e. not sure about the price, but from other discussion, the promo is $53.50 for the pair.

still thinking whether to get mio tv or not...anyway, thanks for your help!

alanchia67
08-10-2007, 01:02 AM
still thinking whether to get mio tv or not...anyway, thanks for your help!

are you invited for the miotv promo? this is a 6-mth contract with no minimum billing. if you dont take the stb DVR feature, you only pay the homeplug at promo price. was told in the other discussion, the homeplug is yours to keep after the 6 mth if you dont intend to continue to subscribe to miotv - just return the stb.

xoozlez
11-10-2007, 07:35 PM
I kept getting this message on my screen after MioTv is power on. "Unable to display over HDMI cable. The television does not support HDCP" . FYI... I own a viewsonic vx2245wm monitor and had bought a DVI-D to HDMI converter.

Btw... will it be a good suggestion to purchase a VGA to RCA cable? Sighz I hope I need not buy a TV for this case... :(

alanchia67
11-10-2007, 07:49 PM
the warning means vx2245wm is not hdcp (High-bandwidth Digital Content Protection) compliant. due to monitors are designed to be connect to pc, which rarely has built-in tuners, hdcp support is absent.

there is no vga to rca cable conversion using pin mapping - you'll need a transcoder box.

xoozlez
11-10-2007, 09:12 PM
hi alan... you know of any transcoder box that can recommend? i go goggle and found this brand Neoya http://www.x2vga.com/product that sells the transcoder u mention... dunno can work ornot. hehe

alanchia67
11-10-2007, 09:47 PM
xoozlez, why not tell us what you trying to achieve (beside using the transcoder).

xoozlez
12-10-2007, 09:48 AM
hi alan... i jus hope to continue use my current monitor to view the mio instead of buying a new one.
so im trying all sort of ways to achieve that... :)

xoozlez
12-10-2007, 03:22 PM
hmm feel like trying out with VGA to Component Video Cables... i guess im jus desperate liao. haha :p

otake1982
11-11-2007, 01:41 AM
will the Mio tv interrupt or affect my singnet BB speed?

maungmaung
11-11-2007, 07:36 AM
Technically it shouldnt affect because the bandwidth is limited for each usage.

alanchia67
11-11-2007, 08:28 AM
hmm feel like trying out with VGA to Component Video Cables... i guess im jus desperate liao. haha :p

there's no VGA to Component cable by mapping the pins, you'll need a transcoder.

alanchia67
11-11-2007, 08:29 AM
will the Mio tv interrupt or affect my singnet BB speed?

miotv has it's dedicated bandwidth of about 12Mbps thus your snbb experience remains unchanged.

otake1982
11-11-2007, 02:44 PM
miotv has it's dedicated bandwidth of about 12Mbps thus your snbb experience remains unchanged.
Thanks.

was told that i was selected for the promo yesterday morning and i signed for the Mei Ah movies channel to try it out.

fitzz82
13-11-2007, 08:52 AM
anyone using the alcatel modem for m|oTV?
wat configurations do u set?

VickyToh
13-11-2007, 10:00 AM

And anyone ever tried using Linksys ADSL2+ Home Gateway connecting to MIO TV too?

alanchia67
13-11-2007, 10:07 AM
only 2 modems are supported by singtel for miotv. either speedtouch (certain models) and 2wire due to the way the lan port being bridged to a separate virtual circuit for miotv.

if you want miotv, but dont need snbb, perhaps any adsl2+ modem will work.

Treble
13-11-2007, 12:45 PM
do you guys have any idea how to force the output to be 576i for all the mediacorp channels? the internal scaler for mio box seems yucky....

alanchia67
13-11-2007, 01:38 PM
do you guys have any idea how to force the output to be 576i for all the mediacorp channels? the internal scaler for mio box seems yucky....

connect via component, that's the simplest isnt it?

fitzz82
13-11-2007, 02:55 PM

sorry, i mean the thomson modem, anyway i have it fixed.

Treble
13-11-2007, 03:49 PM
connect via component, that's the simplest isnt it?

i meant under which menu settings can it be forced to output 576i. Trying to play around but always get the 1080i (4:3 output with 2 bars at the sides).

alanchia67
13-11-2007, 04:25 PM
i dont see any option to force to 576i. i belief if you use component cable to connect it should be in 576i.

Treble
13-11-2007, 05:36 PM
component is up to 1080i, I dun think the mio box is smart enough to switch output automatically between HD and SD, as the final output on the TV for SD program always have the 2 bars at the side, it should be 1080i instead of 576i. furthermore, the PQ is very lousy as the TV may not do any scaling at all.

mastersync
14-11-2007, 07:54 AM
Starhub came today and setup the box for the MioTV trial, it went flawlessly.

First thought was ****ty channels, where's the damn sports ? and the HD was pretty good.

I was wondering, I signed up for PIX channel and granted that I'm on MioTV trial, would I be charged per month or after the 6 month.

If I'm charged then I'm returning the damn box.

alanchia67
14-11-2007, 10:38 AM

i am confused. starhub setup your miotv box? or your mean singtel?

Treble
14-11-2007, 12:24 PM
IPTV will never be as stable compared to cable, and I think DVB-T is more stable than IPTV if the reception is OK.....

so how? impossible to output 576i right? everything already upscaled to lousy PQ 1080i already....sianz....

alanchia67
14-11-2007, 02:49 PM
IPTV will never be as stable compared to cable, and I think DVB-T is more stable than IPTV if the reception is OK.....

i think iptv will be about the same in terms of stability when compared to cable. of course being based on DSL technology, iptv will have it's own set of issues/problems related to DSL. go to internet bandwidth and networking clinic forum for detailed discussion on this.

iptv has advantages over cable tv and dvb-t - for example multi-channel record/viewing.

maungmaung
15-11-2007, 12:35 PM

First thought was ****ty channels, where's the damn sports ? and the HD was pretty good.

I was wondering, I signed up for PIX channel and granted that I'm on MioTV trial, would I be charged per month or after the 6 month.

What do you mean by MioTV trial? I thought trial period is over now.

otake1982
15-11-2007, 03:25 PM

power. starhub doing singtel's machines too now?

alanchia67
15-11-2007, 03:37 PM
What do you mean by MioTV trial? I thought trial period is over now.

indeed trial period is over, but miotv currently has a promo whereby there's no need to pay for 6mths (if no additional channel/vod subscribed).

otake1982
15-11-2007, 03:46 PM
indeed trial period is over, but miotv currently has a promo whereby there's no need to pay for 6mths (if no additional channel/vod subscribed).
u may wanna check w the sales person who told u this. i just signed for the promo as well.

most sales persons (at least 2 told me the same thing) will tell u for this first 6 months, "the minimum charge of $16++ is waived/will not apply"

by this they mean there will not be a minimum charge of $16++ per month, meaning if u choose only one channel, like i did, e.g. costing $12++, u will not need to pay $16++, but just bill as incurred.

but after the 6 mths, even if u subscribe to a $7 channel, u will still need to pay $16++ per month. like cab fare's minimum charge.

alanchia67
15-11-2007, 04:09 PM
yup that's what i meant. if never subscribe extra channel/vod you get zero bill.

maungmaung
15-11-2007, 07:38 PM
for me no need to worry about min charge because mine is always above that since i get Mio. :D

Sing tel were hoping by doing that they will get more customer and also ppl will subscribe to some channels eventually. But they didnt know most ppl are cheap. :s13:

Altec
23-12-2007, 06:47 PM
Anyone tried recording MioTV using a DVD recorder?

If the output from the STB is connected to a DVD recorder, the DVD recorder should be able to record the TV programme right?

alanchia67
23-12-2007, 10:20 PM
if the dvd recorder can accept av-in, it should work.

baiyun
22-11-2008, 10:53 AM
depends on what u recording to the dvd recorder....free to air channels is ok...
but but....video on demand and those season pass shows cannot record...
at i tried on mine and it can't......

if anyone manages to record...to dvd recorder or to pc...do tell how it can be done..

oho
23-11-2008, 02:49 AM
Anyone tried recording MioTV using a DVD recorder?

If the output from the STB is connected to a DVD recorder, the DVD recorder should be able to record the TV programme right?

The miotv stbox is such that if its HDMI output is used to watch TV, then cannot record from its other output.
Therefore, if HDMI of STBox is connected to LCD TV, then even when Yellow-red-white output of STBox is connected to DVD recorder, it cannot record.

Either (1) connect recorder to TV output (TV must be on) or (2) record from STBox Y_R_W output and then connect recorder out to TV (don't use HDMI of STBox).

I can record all the channels (e.g. sony entertainment BBC, football serie A, Mei ah, etc) this way, but not VODemand channels (it says copyright protected); Season pass I have not tried, but baiyun (see last post) says cannot.

ahboyboi
06-12-2008, 11:14 PM
hey guys.. i m wondering if the mio box can support this lcd monitor anot..
http://www.samsung.com/us/consumer/detail/detail.do?group=computersperipherals&type=monitors&subtype=lcd&model_cd=LS24KIEEFV/XAA

which i will be using it for my computer and mio tv..

kennyboy
07-12-2008, 03:33 AM
hey guys.. i m wondering if the mio box can support this lcd monitor anot..

which i will be using it for my computer and mio tv..
it will...got hdmi in.

jchoong
07-12-2008, 10:27 AM
Mio TV is 1080i, not 1080p

ahboyboi
07-12-2008, 11:11 AM
hmm.. whats the diff huh??
but lyk tt can play full HD anot ah?

kennyboy
07-12-2008, 04:47 PM
hmm.. whats the diff huh??
but lyk tt can play full HD anot ah?
there are no HD broadcast channels in FullHD....no bandwidth to support such video.

ahboyboi
07-12-2008, 10:39 PM
okok thanks thanks.. i forget already.. lol..

domnlee
08-01-2009, 07:44 AM
depends on what u recording to the dvd recorder....free to air channels is ok...
but but....video on demand and those season pass shows cannot record...
at i tried on mine and it can't......

if anyone manages to record...to dvd recorder or to pc...do tell how it can be done..

can record VOD and Season Pass with DVD Recorder, just put this device in between STB and DVD Recorder.
http://www.xdimax.com/grex/images/product_grex.jpg
http://www.xdimax.com/grex/grex.html

chuppachop
09-01-2009, 09:53 AM
there are no HD broadcast channels in FullHD....no bandwidth to support such video.

1080p VOD just being introuduced in US:

http://www.dishnetwork.com/turbohd/learnmore/default.aspx

http://www.directv.com/DTVAPP/global/contentPageNR.jsp?assetId=3720002

on the same note, the number of HD channels in/on Asia/SCV/Singtel is still pathethic:

http://www.dishnetwork.com/turbohd/programming/default.aspx

http://www.directv.com/DTVAPP/global/contentPageNR.jsp?assetId=3420002

novatliz
11-01-2009, 10:09 PM
does mio tv plan come with hdmi cable?

jchoong
13-01-2009, 01:23 PM
Nope, when I subscribed more than a year ago.

vuzuuu
13-01-2009, 04:53 PM
Just got my MIO TV last week. Quite satisfied with the HD 5(channel 9) picture quality. Singtel offering me 1st month free with all the basic channels and two movies on demand.
The following three months with 50% discount and 2 movies on demand free.

Am thinking to switch to Supersaver plan.
Wondering is there any other promotion after the Chinese New Year? Thanks.

Hanwudi
26-01-2009, 01:17 AM
hi, just got my MioTV, my TV is connected to STB using componenet cable. I can watch mio program with stereo sound.

When watching HD proggram on HD5 how do i get the 5.1 channel sound to my HTS? My HTIB has 1 HDMI port, 1 optical and 1 pair (red-white) RCA audio-in

Hope someone can advice on how to connect the MioTv STB to HTS.

TIA.

alanchia67
26-01-2009, 02:08 AM
use optical.

oho
26-01-2009, 02:19 AM
hi, just got my MioTV, my TV is connected to STB using componenet cable. I can watch mio program with stereo sound.

When watching HD proggram on HD5 how do i get the 5.1 channel sound to my HTS? My HTIB has 1 HDMI port, 1 optical and 1 pair (red-white) RCA audio-in

Hope someone can advice on how to connect the MioTv STB to HTS.

TIA.

Connect MioTV optical out (which has 5.1 channel) to yr HTS optical in.
HDMI of MioTV to LCD TV HDMI in.
Switch off sound on yr LCD TV.
Switch HTS to setting (eg DVD) which will amplify/decode 5.1channel.

Hanwudi
26-01-2009, 01:25 PM
oh thanks! Looks like I need to get an optical cable first. Haven't seen one b4, roughly how much it costs?

Another question. The optical port at HTS is normally a input or output?

alanchia67
27-01-2009, 12:26 AM

read your manual.

oho
27-01-2009, 01:25 AM
oh thanks! Looks like I need to get an optical cable first. Haven't seen one b4, roughly how much it costs?

Optical cable: $14--$30 depending on quality, length and where you buy it.
DIY shops, HN, Best, and computer shops about $25.
HDB shops selling electrical cable,connectors etc--$14 to $25.

Hanwudi
27-01-2009, 03:23 AM
I searched for the optical audio cable and found the type toslink to toslink. Is that the correct cable to get?
http://www.monoprice.com/products/subdepartment.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10229

alanchia67
27-01-2009, 10:06 PM
if the receptical looks squarish, yes it's toslink.

Hanwudi
28-01-2009, 06:46 PM
Many thanks for the advice... now i have a better idea of what to get.
kong xi fa cai!

audiovideo
23-03-2009, 09:38 AM
any Mio TV channels worth subscribing?
gone through the Mio channel list ...not very interesting leh.
Only Mei Ah Moivies seems ok.

Actually the purpose of subscribing is to use the setop box (with homeplug) for mainly free to air channels for another room to avoid drilling hole through the wall. :o

tushar310
23-03-2009, 11:16 PM
^ i watch lot of Free Videos on Demand.

there are some HD channels u can watch.. and some music channels also.
depends on your preference..

what do u like to see?

Hanwudi
24-03-2009, 08:00 AM
subscribe for DVR. also watch the HD5 and VOD can liao. no more time for other stuff.

rexus
28-03-2009, 10:06 PM
I am using optical out of the miotv connected to my HTS. I notice that whenever i watch HD 5, there is a slight pause in the sound ever 10-20secs. anyone experience this? Non HD channel appears to be ok.

cybercom8
28-03-2009, 10:53 PM
I am using optical out of the miotv connected to my HTS. I notice that whenever i watch HD 5, there is a slight pause in the sound ever 10-20secs. anyone experience this? Non HD channel appears to be ok.

i am using hdmi cable and faced similar problems. sometimes, the sound will disappear for a while and then come back within seconds or sometimes as long as minutes #$@!!%$%^&&*&

i am using their dvr services and sometimes rewind back to the same spot where audio was lost, can hear the audio then, dunno if this is due to their bandwidth problem. anyone can shed some light?

thanks

Hanwudi
29-03-2009, 08:22 PM
i am using optical out but i don't face problem of delay sound. no problem with hd5 too.

But after using the optical cable i cannot change the sound mode to cinema/theatre/music/etc etc. is this normal?

rexus
15-04-2009, 08:51 PM
i am using optical out but i don't face problem of delay sound. no problem with hd5 too.

But after using the optical cable i cannot change the sound mode to cinema/theatre/music/etc etc. is this normal?

it can be your HTS's limitation. i do not have such issue.

The pausing of sound is getting into me. Can't enjoy the 5.1 at all. Is it the mio box problem?

audiovideo
27-04-2009, 10:38 AM
does the modem come free with Mio TV subscription?

LocalGod
17-08-2009, 04:15 PM
anyone able to plug mioTV to LCD monitor's anlog RGB port successfully?

I tried a lot of cables and monitor and somehow it either gives me green screen or a blackout screen.

Hanwudi
18-08-2009, 09:40 AM
analog can meh? u mean the 15-pin VGA port. i think only HDMI or S-video can.

winguy
27-08-2009, 12:00 AM
hi
new to mio tv ( mio home actually).

sometimes when watching mio tv , there'll be pauses and have to wait several seconds before it goes back to normal.. like it is buffering

is this normal? mio tv set top box connected to modem via supplied powerline plugs, but 1 of the powerline adapters is not connected to wall socket directly. I have yet to try if connecting this powerline adapter to wall socket solves the problem

iceshiel
29-08-2009, 04:44 PM
my mioTV cannot record TV. this is despite me following the instructions in the guide. why is that so?

CheapoKia
29-08-2009, 07:52 PM
hi
new to mio tv ( mio home actually).

sometimes when watching mio tv , there'll be pauses and have to wait several seconds before it goes back to normal.. like it is buffering

is this normal? mio tv set top box connected to modem via supplied powerline plugs, but 1 of the powerline adapters is not connected to wall socket directly. I have yet to try if connecting this powerline adapter to wall socket solves the problem

Try, direct power plug into wall socket should work. If persist call mio hotline to get svc person down to your hse and check.

CheapoKia
29-08-2009, 07:54 PM
my mioTV cannot record TV. this is despite me following the instructions in the guide. why is that so?

Is your mio box a DVR or normal? If normal cannot record, if DVR than call hotline for step by step guidance.

NineNineNine
15-09-2009, 12:04 PM
I am about to sign up for Mio tv just for the Champions League. Matches are normally at 3.45am so being able to record is a must.

Earlier there was a post that said Mio TV can record to DVR if you don't use HDMI. Above post said cannot unless you subscribe to Mio DVR.

So can record or not? Mio users without the Mio DVR pls respond.