View Full Version : Jackie Chan set for The Shinjuku Incident
Jerry007
23-07-2007, 01:24 PM
Info from comingsoon.net:
Jackie Chan will produce and star in The Shinjuku Incident, a Japan-set immigrant drama to be directed by Derek Yee Tung-sing, reports Variety.
The film will be produced by Chan's JCE group and represented in international markets by Emperor Motion Pictures. Filming, to start before the end of the year, will include Tokyo and likely also take in Chinese locations.
According to Solon So, Chan's partner in JCE, the budget will be "bigger than 'The Myth'," which JCE also produced at a cost of $15 million. " 'Shinjuku Incident' will be Jackie's next film after 'The Forbidden Kingdom'," So said.
While plot details are under wraps, the movie will be set in the 1990s and feature lives of Chinese immigrants in Tokyo.
spielberg
16-03-2008, 02:57 PM
When will it be released? I'm certain it would be interesting than The Myth!
Jackie won't look like Japanese, geez!!!
Jerry007
22-02-2009, 09:28 AM
Saw the trailer last night with Slumdog Millionaire. Looks like a great movie with lotsa angst without the usual Jackie Chan humour.
Info from comingsoon.net:
Jackie Chan will produce and star in The Shinjuku Incident, a Japan-set immigrant drama to be directed by Derek Yee Tung-sing, reports Variety.
While plot details are under wraps, the movie will be set in the 1990s and feature lives of Chinese immigrants in Tokyo.
obviously he will be acting as chinese right? wiki abt "The Shinjuku Incident" lah...
Jerry007
25-02-2009, 09:36 PM
http://moviexclusive.com/review/shinjukuincident/poster.jpg
Synopsis from movieXclusive.com:
Synopsis:
The Chinese migrant communities in Tokyo live shadowy lives. The Japanese neither acknowledge nor welcome them. They are shunned by the mainstream society, hounded by the yakuza, and go about their days under fear of being discovered and repatriated.
It is an alien world for Steelhead, an honest, hardworking tractor repairman from Heilongjian in northern China. Steelhead had decided to take the perilous journey to Tokyo after he lost contact with his girlfriend, who had arrived in the city earlier.
Trying to exist in the underbelly of Tokyo long enough to find Xiu Xiu, Steelhead has come to realize the migrants had to stand united if they wanted to go about their lives without fear of oppression by not only the Japanese underworld but also Chinese gangs.
In his search of a decent living, Steelhead unwittingly finds himself pit against the Japanese yakuza. Ironically he also discovers that Xiu Xiu has adopted a Japanese identity and married Eguchi, an ambitious up and coming yakuza chief.
Steelhead wins the respect of his friends by establishing a base for them and forms an uneasy alliance with Eguchi. When he helps Eguchi dispose of a rival, he is given the control of Shinjuku’s night establishments. But, uninterested in living a gangster’s life, Steelhead finds a new love and takes the chance to start a tractor repair business outside Tokyo. However, his peace is shortlived when word gets to him that his former compatriots were now being used by Eguchi to front the yakuza’s drug business.
Steelhead feels responsible for this turn of events and feels obligated to bring Eguchi down. He also has to bear in mind that if he goes after Eguchi, he would be destroying the newfound life of the woman he once loved. In any case, can one simple Chinese migrant take on the yakuza alone?
Movie opens April 2.
Movie Website (http://shinjukuincident.emp.hk/en_main.html)
Jerry007
23-03-2009, 03:49 AM
Movie opening next week!
lloop9
23-03-2009, 08:50 AM
Sounds interesting. But a Yakuza boss let a China man run his biz in Tokyo? :D
Anyway, I hope it has lots of action, but Jackie quite old liao rite? :o
Jerry007
31-03-2009, 01:04 AM
Movie opens on Thursday!
rarenick
31-03-2009, 09:02 PM
watch liao please update.
i see the trailer like not exciting... no fighting action
Da_Face
31-03-2009, 11:45 PM
MDA website says this version screened here is the Edited Version Passed Without Cuts
http://www.mda.gov.sg/wms.www/resources_monthlylist.aspx
watheheow
Jerry007
01-04-2009, 06:25 AM
The review is up at movieXclusive.com! Read it HERE (http://moviexclusive.com/review/shinjukuincident/shinjukuincident.html).
ParrotGal
01-04-2009, 12:03 PM
Jackie Chan. Hope its a good movie. :) I like his shows.
reimina
01-04-2009, 06:24 PM
Don't be clown lah. He is not acting as Japanese! Next time comment with your brain.
reimina
01-04-2009, 06:25 PM
Sounds interesting. But a Yakuza boss let a China man run his biz in Tokyo? :D
Anyway, I hope it has lots of action, but Jackie quite old liao rite? :o
You're right. It sounds too good to be true. :s13:
Jerry007
01-04-2009, 09:54 PM
Don't be clown lah. He is not acting as Japanese! Next time comment with your brain.
The clown is gone. Pls dun resurrect it. :D
Da_Face
02-04-2009, 11:52 PM
If my original plan had gone through, I would've probably watched this late last month during the Hong Kong International Film Festival with all the fanfare of this Derek Yee movie being one of two opening films of the festival. And I guess we all know how the the filmmakers decided to plough ahead with its release despite the Chinese censors not given its blessing yet, thereby effectively shutting it off the screens in China, but I reckon never off its streets given the relatively rampant piracy situation.
Continues at http://anutshellreview.blogspot.com/2009/04/shinjuku-incident-xin-su-shi-jian.html
galliano
03-04-2009, 01:15 AM
This is one movie I gonna catch. Its kinda odd that Jacky Chan practically has not fight scenes .. thus making it more enthralling to find out what the hype is all about.
lian_yisi
03-04-2009, 12:29 PM
Watched it ytd. not so bad. but everyone (jackie chan, daniel wu) died in the end. no happy ending T.T
Jerry007
03-04-2009, 12:33 PM
Watched it ytd. not so bad. but everyone (jackie chan, daniel wu) xxx in the end. no happy ending T.T
Aiyo. Pls spare a thought for those watching the movie and alert them before they read your spoiler lah. :s27:
ipodmp3
03-04-2009, 03:33 PM
HAHA....nvm la......it's ok.
MatrixFanatic
03-04-2009, 08:37 PM
Thanks for the farking spoiler.:(
secret_boy
03-04-2009, 09:27 PM
juz caught it today...for me i tink is soso lor.....ending is abit sad oso....dunno whether the jackie's ex(oso the japanese boss's wife) got die or not...
darkdevil
03-04-2009, 10:30 PM
Aiyo. Pls spare a thought for those watching the movie and alert them before they read your spoiler lah. :s27:
totally agree..
TrueBeliever_jh
03-04-2009, 11:07 PM
watched it.. maybe i know too much spoilers.. the movie got not much of a kick.. lolz
i can see lotsa scenes got censored.. or its meant to be that way?
Da_Face
03-04-2009, 11:29 PM
watched it.. maybe i know too much spoilers.. the movie got not much of a kick.. lolz
i can see lotsa scenes got censored.. or its meant to be that way?
The version shown here is the edited version
engshing
03-04-2009, 11:53 PM
just watched it today, not bad!
too bad jacky chan is a noob in this movie, no flashy moves from him if not sure can pwn all the japanese yakuza. the director shld have made jacky into a more fearsome character but then in the show he is really too naiive. jacky chan seems to have a hard time overturning his goody good shoes image. if the character make him into a badass char, the movie will be really awesome. the part where jacky cried after daniel wu got his hands chopped is quite good! must give him some credit. daniel wu is also very brilliant in his acting in this show. actually the rest of the actors are very good!
croc1977
04-04-2009, 12:04 AM
i m use original voice..
got some cantoese...2 bad jackie and daniel speak mandrain...
Mclairs83
04-04-2009, 02:06 AM
thanks for all the spoilers.
amerika
04-04-2009, 03:39 AM
no need to watch liao. thanks for the major spoiler
huggingfire3
07-04-2009, 09:24 AM
WARNING !!! :SPOILERS BELOW !@@@@@@@@@@@@@@2
SEE THIS?!! WARNING!
jackie chan came to japan as an illegal immegrant . he found some of his fellow village men and stayed , worked and ate together . jackie chan then met a girl who owns a bar and they fell in love .
jackie then also met his EX girlfriend (the 1 back in china) and realised she already has a husband which is eguchi, one of the yakuza heads ! he was sad and went with ah jie (daniel wu) to have sex with prostitutes.
then he confessed to ah jie that he lost his IC and documents of china when he was fleeing to japan . he then decided he is gonna be a Permanent resident of japan .
one day .....ah jie was selling chestnuts then his friend who was using the rigged betting machine nided to use toilet then he pass to ah jie to take care of it then the yakuza ppl found out that this machine have been rigged then they caught ah jie in action .
ahjie's hand was chopped off and cooked in the chestnuts wok .
ahjie went devastated and had signs of turning into another person .
this is when jackie chan action came in.
jackie chan met eguchi after saving his life once at the yakuza bar .eguchi then offered him whatever he wants to kill 2 men , togawa and munishari .
jackie chan then asked for a permanent resident document and also the whole of taiwan's gambling den and yakuza bars .
they both agreed and jackie chan went on to kill both of them and gets what they want in return .
nakishijima (Eguchi's man) then hand over the documents of yakuza bar and gambling den to jackie chan and his chinese men .
nakishijima was not pleased and said to jackie chan '' i despise u china pigs! ''
jackie chan ignored him and they left .
wa hand pain liao , i skip through to the final part ba .
the final part is where every1 went berserk , just trying to protect their own needs , one of the fellow china men , hong kong boy went berserk and stabbed jacky chan in his stomach and sliced another of his friend's throat leaving him bleeding and dead .
and also the nakashijima which betrayed Eguchi brought one whole group of gang to kill all the chinese people and Eguchi .
jackie was facing 2 sides of trouble , his own fellow chinese men and the yakuza which were coming for him .
he and the police (oops forgotten about him , jacky once saved his life and now this policemen wants to catch Eguchi) fled for life but through out the whole thing jacky was injured by bullets and parangs everywhere .
he ran the OKUBUTO station and got chased by another group of yakuza .
he was on the verge of death when police arrived and shot all the yakuza to death .
jackie chan fled into the sewage and died there , he passed a thumbdrive of dont know what to the policemen .
THE END
`~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~``
Jerry007
07-04-2009, 05:55 PM
WARNING !!! :SPOILERS BELOW !@@@@@@@@@@@@@@2
SEE THIS?!! WARNING!
I find it rather strange that you went to such lengths to tell us about what happens in the movie. Maybe you should tell us what you feel about the movie instead of telling us the plot. No point watching the movie if every one knows the plot right? :s8:
ArtURtlE
07-04-2009, 09:35 PM
just watched this movie tonight...i thought it was pretty good...very different from Jackie Chan's mainstream movies which i thought made it stand out...in fact i prefer this flick to his other recent films...its a very big departure from the rest...storyline had a few loop holes but the graphic scenes and general plot made up for it :P
Overall : 4.3/5
Swordsman
07-04-2009, 11:45 PM
actually plot is quite common, about greed, money, lust for power..
ArtURtlE
07-04-2009, 11:51 PM
actually plot is quite common, about greed, money, lust for power..
errr based on today's context, out of 10 movies 9 contain greed money and lust...nothing out of the world...at least shinjuku managed to pull it off in a different environment visually
kettler
09-04-2009, 03:18 PM
watch it over at genting wib family ....................
so so oni ............. storyline ish predictable ......
chop pple here n there ...............
gib it a 3 out of 5 stars
:yawn::yawn::yawn:
AJ_Style
12-04-2009, 08:10 PM
this thread full of spoilers purposely one? :(
saysuzu
13-04-2009, 08:52 AM
haha bump for spoilers..
Jerry007
13-06-2009, 07:40 PM
The HK R3 DVD and Blu-ray will be released on July 8.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.