View Full Version : Starhub Hubstation
sAxman_Returns
14-06-2008, 03:52 AM
My house also.
so how? any outcome? I just back from overseas. going to kpkb to Starhub liao.
megaweb
14-06-2008, 07:07 AM
Just tested my hubstation 1 M broadband @ speedtest.net ... WOW
http://www.speedtest.net/result/283743508.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
ironman4672
14-06-2008, 08:36 AM
1Mbps? it looks like 17Mbps speed le....:eek::eek::eek::eek:
NightWish_
14-06-2008, 09:02 AM
dont haolian speed here. just keep it to yourself. later tio patch u lose
jermx9
19-06-2008, 12:58 PM
Can i Link my MOL Express to my Hubstation ?
i use a Linksys WRT54G
Motorola SBV5120i
please advise
sAxman_Returns
19-06-2008, 01:40 PM
dont haolian speed here. just keep it to yourself. later tio patch u lose
there is nothing to lose what? :s22: even at 2Mbps, it's more than enough for me, I dun operate a pirates hub though....
jermx9
22-06-2008, 04:10 PM
Can i Link my MOL Express to my Hubstation ?
i use a Linksys WRT54G
Motorola SBV5120i
please advise
HELLO !
SOMEONE REPLY ??
sAxman_Returns
22-06-2008, 04:22 PM
HELLO !
SOMEONE REPLY ??
please call starhub yourself :s22:
enriqueyang
22-06-2008, 04:50 PM
starhub recorded advice on the phone would be: "if u experience any connection please disconnect ur router and plug straight to the modem (in this case hubstation)
but u can try it urself again though, it should work like a charm without any problem, unless u have done some tuning or adjusting ur router setting before...
YorYor
22-06-2008, 07:21 PM
HELLO !
SOMEONE REPLY ??
That's a really polite way of asking for help.
Queenstownguy
24-07-2008, 09:26 PM
Has anyone experienced problem with the remote control? Certain buttons when pressed multiple times will make channel jump. Usually jump to 4 or 5. Damn annoying.
Happens in the Guide mode and when watching current show (after rewinding first).
Ask the service centre in hougang and they say this kind of thing happen one. Software problem. Cannot help it ... Is this a common remote control problem? Any fixes?
sAxman_Returns
24-07-2008, 09:36 PM
control got no warranty one lor.... :s22:
liangtam
24-07-2008, 10:09 PM
so how? any outcome? I just back from overseas. going to kpkb to Starhub liao.
called them yet?
Actually, I do realise its not just ch55 n 56.
Other channels that I got no signal include: Animal Planet, Discovery, AXN, Hallmark and .......
Queenstownguy
24-07-2008, 10:49 PM
control got no warranty one lor.... :s22:
Yeah lor. Damn frustrating. Too cheap to buy new one, but everytime jump channel means real-time recording gone. Wonder if this is common problem or just mine.
liangtam
24-07-2008, 11:12 PM
The gd thing is, remote cost $32.10 no matter buy the normal sized digital stb remote or the fat one with qwerty keyboard.
Queenstownguy
24-07-2008, 11:35 PM
The gd thing is, remote cost $32.10 no matter buy the normal sized digital stb remote or the fat one with qwerty keyboard.
Considering. Just want to confirm not a common bug. Skali buy another one also the same, then ai wan.
sAxman_Returns
25-07-2008, 12:03 AM
called them yet?
Actually, I do realise its not just ch55 n 56.
Other channels that I got no signal include: Animal Planet, Discovery, AXN, Hallmark and .......
mine got no problem liaoz, the AF connection wasn't tight enough hehe...screw it lar...
liangtam
25-07-2008, 12:13 AM
keep the remote away for a day lor, if no problem riao buy new remote.
screw tight riao.
sAxman_Returns
25-07-2008, 09:26 AM
so now can receive everything already?
enriqueyang
25-07-2008, 09:45 AM
starhub finally change my family tier to the new add on channel at last.. but did anyone experience that nat geo wild channel not working?
liangtam
25-07-2008, 04:34 PM
so now can receive everything already?
nope. cant
I notice mosaic mode Animax is listed wrongly.
sAxman_Returns
25-07-2008, 04:51 PM
think you better call starhub to find out how to resolve it.
richneo
25-07-2008, 05:57 PM
nope. cant
I notice mosaic mode Animax is listed wrongly.
i got some channels that suddenly say i did not subscribe but sometimes it have..
Remember
02-08-2008, 01:11 AM
Hi guys, got a question.
On my hub station I'm getting 5500+kb/s whereas for my maxonline express 8mbps I'm only getting 10500+kb/s on speedtest.net
Is my express way below speed?
Tried it day and night and I still only manage 10k+kb/s.
It's plug direct to the modem and without router.
liangtam
02-08-2008, 01:35 AM
Express ish 8000 reh.
U sure u no see wrong not?
sailasoh
06-08-2008, 03:11 PM
Has any one tried using the HubStation in another location, meaning another address? Assuming I leave the smart card inside, will I still get to watch/record stuff like I do in my original location?
(Will be renovating flat for 2 months, thinking of moving the HubStation to my in-laws' place so that we can still watch cable TV while staying there.)
FireHobbit
06-08-2008, 03:29 PM
as long the subcription is go where the cable box and card goes...
FireHobbit
06-08-2008, 03:32 PM
who interested to get free one month trial of hubstation and all channels on ultimate grp...
http://signupnow.starhub.com/ors/campaign?key=4Kojon
tokens:
97969AmJRr
97970oAaEr
97972HgN4i
97973l7jIu
97974L9kl9
97975ENdCu
sAxman_Returns
06-08-2008, 03:33 PM
i got some channels that suddenly say i did not subscribe but sometimes it have..
check your cable connection, sometimes ish losen de neh....:s22:
Escobar
06-08-2008, 03:44 PM
i have a question guys
currently i am a subscriber of starhub cable tele and one of the chic from starhub contacted me saying that they will come over to fix the hubstation on friday.
if let say i want to swap from the current one to hub ststion, how much do i have to pay? are there any cost i need to come up with?
sAxman_Returns
06-08-2008, 03:56 PM
i think it's still free, coz it's like an additional thing they connect for you for free. The content mapping is done at the SIM card, so as long as the SIM card is not under your name, and within that 1 month, you're fine :D
liangtam
06-08-2008, 04:03 PM
There will not be content mapping for trial. the hubstn will seperate n get ultimate pack for a month then nid return liao
Can choose to pay 88 if hubber n wan tie 24mth, 197 if no existing service n wan tie 24mth, OR 600 with a change of 80cent for no contract.
Has any one tried using the HubStation in another location, meaning another address? Assuming I leave the smart card inside, will I still get to watch/record stuff like I do in my original location?
(Will be renovating flat for 2 months, thinking of moving the HubStation to my in-laws' place so that we can still watch cable TV while staying there.)
Tried and tested, it works with digital STB, so I presume it will work with hubstation as well.
sAxman_Returns
06-08-2008, 04:33 PM
aiya, just buy 2nd hand lar.......
faruk55
06-08-2008, 05:15 PM
y don't the trial HS comes with Fashion TV huh? :P
Escobar
06-08-2008, 05:52 PM
wow they're much faster than my snbb. i think im gonna terminate when i get my hubstation this friday lol
sAxman_Returns
06-08-2008, 06:14 PM
well, that's only the results for pinging SG only. The max BT I can hit is only about 256KB/s which translate to 2Mbps......for recent activities.
liangtam
06-08-2008, 06:50 PM
I can max out my 6mbit wor
leech from japan users, which starhub have routing to their shareholder
liangtam
06-08-2008, 06:51 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/305558217.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
sAxman_Returns
06-08-2008, 11:48 PM
i only got this nia.....
http://www.speedtest.net/result/305661645.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
liangtam
07-08-2008, 02:18 AM
Seems all hubstn users get diff cap?
eddy2099sg
07-08-2008, 09:24 AM
Seems all hubstn users get diff cap?
Well, I don't think that different hubstation has different caps but rather different areas have different number of users which share the big green pipe. The more people tapping on the pipe or the heavier the usage of the users, the lower the speed for each residual user.
I stay in an old housing estate where most of my neighbours are oldies and probably use the internet for emails and very basic stuffs. I doubt my 60 to 80 year old neighbours would do BT or something like that.
liangtam
07-08-2008, 11:46 AM
Not really, because the cap in speed is maintained throughout the whole time, which is more of a case where a value is tagged to the particular cpe.
My area is old housing estate also
FireHobbit
08-08-2008, 10:50 AM
let see what i get later when I get my hubstation
FireHobbit
08-08-2008, 12:21 PM
they just installed... i am going to try it out..
kennyboy
08-08-2008, 01:13 PM
no special price after 1 month...still need to pay 100+ with 2 yrs contract.
think use one month and return liao....must not be seduced. :D
Escobar
08-08-2008, 01:15 PM
just got mine!
here's my speed
http://www.speedtest.net/result/306391736.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
liangtam
08-08-2008, 01:27 PM
wa, diff cap
FireHobbit
08-08-2008, 01:29 PM
wow.. not bad.. now my box got prob... Smart card prob...
Escobar
08-08-2008, 01:30 PM
is it possible to tweak the 'modem or router"?
my BT d/l like quite slow ley
sAxman_Returns
08-08-2008, 01:40 PM
is it possible to tweak the 'modem or router"?
my BT d/l like quite slow ley
your seeder slow of course slow lor.
My BT already exceed 350KB/s liaoz......
Lust, Caution Bluray 1080p + HD audio woohoo!
sAxman_Returns
08-08-2008, 02:24 PM
i can't stop laughing when I see this......
http://forums.keeptouch.net/showthread.php?p=2023325
Escobar
08-08-2008, 02:28 PM
your seeder slow of course slow lor.
My BT already exceed 350KB/s liaoz......
Lust, Caution Bluray 1080p + HD audio woohoo!
cant be ley. my SNBB 3mbps can hit 350mbps but starhub free broadband hit only 200 :(
Escobar
08-08-2008, 02:30 PM
Mlm
Hahahhahah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
sAxman_Returns
08-08-2008, 02:48 PM
cant be ley. my SNBB 3mbps can hit 350mbps but starhub free broadband hit only 200 :(
you must get the best seeder to stress test its capability? try your luck on lust.caution.bluray :D
as for MLM, I am surprised still got frogs under the well dunno the difference between referral programmes vs MLM. And I am also surprised that got people so gianpengz want to refer like crazy....lol!
liangtam
08-08-2008, 03:20 PM
The smart card hor, take out, use non-scratch cloth or tissue wipe.
Escobar
08-08-2008, 03:43 PM
you must get the best seeder to stress test its capability? try your luck on lust.caution.bluray :D
as for MLM, I am surprised still got frogs under the well dunno the difference between referral programmes vs MLM. And I am also surprised that got people so gianpengz want to refer like crazy....lol!
hahahaha!!!
welcome to the color filled world of the 21st century. hahaha!!!
MLM.. joke of the day. hAhaHA!!!!
Escobar
08-08-2008, 03:44 PM
btw whats lust.caution.bluray ?
sAxman_Returns
08-08-2008, 04:23 PM
lust caution you dunno?
bluray you dunno?
Escobar
08-08-2008, 11:20 PM
oh haha i thought its a website that named lust caution bluray. went google to search got no avail. haha
anyway whats your setting for your BT? im download "The colbert report" and speed is like crawling 15kb/s
http://www.mininova.org/tor/1671814
sAxman_Returns
09-08-2008, 02:04 AM
no specific setting. just that seeders for lust caution extracted from bluray with full HD support is damn huge.....so I can stress test its capability.....
FireHobbit
10-08-2008, 02:14 PM
what is the download spped now u getting? i get the most is 20kpbs
sAxman_Returns
10-08-2008, 09:31 PM
sunday sure slow one lar.
liangtam
10-08-2008, 09:59 PM
ytd stb restarted 3 times, anyone else got tis problem?
richneo
10-08-2008, 10:04 PM
ytd stb restarted 3 times, anyone else got tis problem?
dunno heheeh cos i switch off my hub hub whenever i not watching hehe
could it be overheating?
liangtam
10-08-2008, 10:24 PM
Nope, after 3 times fine le..
sAxman_Returns
10-08-2008, 10:31 PM
maybe just firmware upgrade lar.
raylimkk
12-08-2008, 12:39 PM
Hi, I intend to get a new HS @ the promotional price $197 w 2 yrs contract, but understand that we need to pay mthly $8 for mapping but I dun need mapping cause I only 1 2 use the free internet at another rm.. Unless I get the retail price @600 then dun need pay. Why SH so inflexible. Can't they just disable the mapping? Anyway wat the price for 2nd hand set and where can get? Thks :s22:
faruk55
12-08-2008, 01:25 PM
so saxman.. can we get the trial again or is it only once u can apply ?
sat will be my last day..
YorYor
12-08-2008, 01:29 PM
What mapping? That's strange, I don't have to pay that... traded my analog box in when I bought this. Or is it for a second/Xth digital box because you have existing set-top boxes already?
As for second hand, try checking the garage section, though not many are selling. I for one am a perfectly happy user of the free broadband.
sAxman_Returns
12-08-2008, 01:40 PM
raylimkk, I think you can tell starhub not to map anything to it, then you can have it for internet use, remember to remove the HDD (sell it if you want) to save you some electricity.
faruk55, dun get what you mean deneh.....can sexplain a bit?
luv_boa
12-08-2008, 02:15 PM
i got it today for the trial. Functions good, tempted me lol but too bad i just sign a 2yr contract a few mths ago. starhub won't let me get it at 200 dollars. so 1 mth later, bb to HS :)
sAxman_Returns
12-08-2008, 02:19 PM
1 month later use another family member's name to sign up again lor. then keep on rotating...you will have free SCV forever!!! :s22:
now lesson learnt right? never ever sign up for any contract! I happily jump ship l ike nobody business......
YorYor
12-08-2008, 02:24 PM
Would they track by NRIC/residential address? I don't think SH so stupid... ;p
sAxman_Returns
12-08-2008, 02:29 PM
let them track lor............... :s22:
liangtam
12-08-2008, 02:30 PM
Would they track by NRIC/residential address? I don't think SH so stupid... ;p
Yar, if like this they would be cleared of refurb hubstn liao.
raylimkk
12-08-2008, 02:49 PM
raylimkk, I think you can tell starhub not to map anything to it, then you can have it for internet use, remember to remove the HDD (sell it if you want) to save you some electricity.
I tried that on rd show last Sunday but they said must pay cause I am using the same hse cable point therefore automatically can watch same SCV prog as current box. Dun understand why can't disable or unmap it, just as u suggested. At present already hav 2 boxes and plus this HS then too costly leh : $4 + $12 + $8mapping = $24 dun mind paying for the 2 boxes cause I watch SCV but HS mainly for surfing in other rm not watching also must pay then I will not consider to buy n sign 2 yrs contract . sianzz think better sw to MIOTV liao.
They told me to pay at retail price $600 just to get free surfing ... must be SEOW!!!!
richneo
12-08-2008, 03:17 PM
i got it today for the trial. Functions good, tempted me lol but too bad i just sign a 2yr contract a few mths ago. starhub won't let me get it at 200 dollars. so 1 mth later, bb to HS :)
im also under contract leh.
they let me sign up for the hubstation 2 year contract concurrently
im still considering whether to get it at $19X or not
sAxman_Returns
12-08-2008, 03:41 PM
I tried that on rd show last Sunday but they said must pay cause I am using the same hse cable point therefore automatically can watch same SCV prog as current box. Dun understand why can't disable or unmap it, just as u suggested. At present already hav 2 boxes and plus this HS then too costly leh : $4 + $12 + $8mapping = $24 dun mind paying for the 2 boxes cause I watch SCV but HS mainly for surfing in other rm not watching also must pay then I will not consider to buy n sign 2 yrs contract . sianzz think better sw to MIOTV liao.
They told me to pay at retail price $600 just to get free surfing ... must be SEOW!!!!
aiya, there is no such thing. When I bought my hubstation last time, I can choose to map content to it or not. As this is my first box, I opt to map, but I dun need to pay.
If you have a wireless router at home, why not just replace one of your STB and save yourself one of the content mapping fee?
You dun ask those roadshow ginna lar, they are only keen to sign people up with contracts. I still remember first time I called in, they told me get new mobile line and port number from M1 must sign 2 years contract, in the end I kbkp in their CS through email, the corporate sales called in and apologize....
faruk55
12-08-2008, 03:53 PM
what i am saying is that.. i used your code to get the trial HS for a month right.. now this sat will be the last day..
so can I use your code if that is available to have the trial version again? will that be possible? or they limit one per one house address ?
faruk55
12-08-2008, 03:55 PM
at least i can use my HD STB to be used for my parents room when I can re-trial again.. hehe :P
YorYor
12-08-2008, 04:19 PM
Yeah, like saxman said, return one of your STBs then. Use the hubstation, and connect a wireless router to it or pull one long cable to your room. Settled!
The good thing about hubstation is the recording... really. Sometimes really not free to watch a watch/serial, just record and watch it during weekends when all other programs are crap.
sAxman_Returns
12-08-2008, 04:22 PM
what i am saying is that.. i used your code to get the trial HS for a month right.. now this sat will be the last day..
so can I use your code if that is available to have the trial version again? will that be possible? or they limit one per one house address ?
just pick another token and try your luck again lor....
please report the procedures to return back, if you dun return properly i think they will whack you deep deep onez deneh....
luv_boa
12-08-2008, 04:26 PM
im also under contract leh.
they let me sign up for the hubstation 2 year contract concurrently
im still considering whether to get it at $19X or not
concurrently? means adding another 2 yrs onto ur current contract? then what abt ur existing stb ? the rental consider as the 2nd stb charges ?
faruk55
12-08-2008, 04:33 PM
so any tokens left? :P
sAxman_Returns
12-08-2008, 05:02 PM
98212F05av 98211PGVsH 98210QgNMz
98209bZCH2 98208VP00T 98207wHD3Q
98206vD2EB 98205mmWpu
good luck my friend :D
nonpartisannationalist
12-08-2008, 09:05 PM
I connect RCA cables to a TV tuner and then via USB to my laptop. I can transfer out the stuff I recorded on my HS that way. But still limited to real time.
How I wish the USB port at the back of the HS allowed us to just connect the HS to our PC like an external HDD...
CrUeL
12-08-2008, 09:28 PM
any termination fee for this?
so after 1 month can just terminate without any charges?
sAxman_Returns
12-08-2008, 10:13 PM
nonpartisannationalist, that makes no difference compared to exporting stuff 2 DVD recorder....but RCA? :s22:
liangtam
12-08-2008, 10:21 PM
He's gonna lose pic quality like this.
faruk55
13-08-2008, 11:51 AM
98212F05av 98211PGVsH 98210QgNMz
98209bZCH2 98208VP00T 98207wHD3Q
98206vD2EB 98205mmWpu
good luck my friend :D
Thank you for accepting our offer. We will contact you within 3 working days.
well.. only one token worked.. the rest all used up...
let's see what SH calls in to say... hopefully they don't deny my application... :P
cross my fingers now
sAxman_Returns
13-08-2008, 12:03 PM
i will have to stop providing token for the moment, too busy with work.....a lot of guys could easily provide too. I will be back......
blowblow
13-08-2008, 12:25 PM
98217hYRPd
98218nGSWT
98219Hx205
98220GHVqB
98221izrRn
5 more tokens 1st. Create a few more later
win_man
13-08-2008, 12:29 PM
just had my HS installation done.. all went well.. Channel jumping is cool and just nice for EPL this weekend :D
WaYne900
13-08-2008, 12:32 PM
woo hoo.. thx.. they coming to my place to install this sat. song!1 can watch all the channels
faruk55
13-08-2008, 01:16 PM
mine just expiring this sat.. not a good time.. :P
hopefully i will receive a good news..
djcoolmax
13-08-2008, 01:49 PM
Thank you for accepting our offer. We will contact you within 3 working days.
well.. only one token worked.. the rest all used up...
let's see what SH calls in to say... hopefully they don't deny my application... :P
cross my fingers now
called me 8+ nite to confirm installation.... mine installed +3 days after confirmation.
Access to ALL channels!! wooot!
faruk55
13-08-2008, 02:03 PM
haha,, but mine is like I am already on the trial for one month...
trying to re-trial again :)
chehjin
13-08-2008, 02:26 PM
hmm
i sign up liao leh...last week..until now still no call from there?
the number is private?
WaYne900
13-08-2008, 02:44 PM
yes the number they called is private
kennyboy
13-08-2008, 02:57 PM
There will not be content mapping for trial. the hubstn will seperate n get ultimate pack for a month then nid return liao
Can choose to pay 88 if hubber n wan tie 24mth, 197 if no existing service n wan tie 24mth, OR 600 with a change of 80cent for no contract.
check again....so if currently on scv but no contract, hubber will have discount? 88 only?
chehjin
13-08-2008, 03:24 PM
yes the number they called is private
they always call funny funny time leh..
:(
sAxman_Returns
13-08-2008, 03:24 PM
check again....so if currently on scv but no contract, hubber will have discount? 88 only?
by being a hubber, you're already losing so much to them...$88 is too ex nia.....:s22:
anyway, the remote sometimes not very responsive or over responsive...dunno is it due to the weak batteries :(
faruk55
13-08-2008, 03:48 PM
yes.. experience that too.. but they gave a new set of batteries...
liangtam
13-08-2008, 04:13 PM
got over responsive meh? that would be good.
The battery cover felt easily broken tho.
sAxman_Returns
13-08-2008, 04:22 PM
good ? i dun want to ch 2 become ch 222 leh.....
liangtam
13-08-2008, 04:47 PM
so far no have leh.. just nice.
The only thing is hubstn lagging and not responsive, u keep press then really 222, lol.
Still prefer the normal digital stb remote.
Tmr ish must return riao, they still haben call in.
faruk55
13-08-2008, 04:50 PM
really? the CSR told me they will call 3 days before the expiry date... well.. so you wanna wait for them or you call them.. as in being pro-active abt it..?
yes.. it does happen on the channel 2 becomes 222 (e.g)
sAxman_Returns
13-08-2008, 05:06 PM
i think i played with the normal digital STB remote b4, yah, much better built, but without recording function nia....
liangtam
13-08-2008, 05:13 PM
i think i played with the normal digital STB remote b4, yah, much better built, but without recording function nia....
They should just squeese the two rows in the normal remote.
The qwerty behind is really useless.
Think I better call in later.
sAxman_Returns
13-08-2008, 05:44 PM
QWERTY is for you to send sms or chat one lar, where got useless?
liangtam
13-08-2008, 05:51 PM
The number infront can be used to input text also
faruk55
13-08-2008, 05:55 PM
The number infront can be used to input text also
update us after calling them...
goin' home now!
kennyboy
13-08-2008, 07:07 PM
by being a hubber, you're already losing so much to them...$88 is too ex nia.....:s22:
anyway, the remote sometimes not very responsive or over responsive...dunno is it due to the weak batteries :(
never ask u lah.... :)
sAxman_Returns
13-08-2008, 07:21 PM
never ask u lah.... :)
so?! :s22:
sAxman_Returns
13-08-2008, 11:19 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/308597098.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
damn jialat, i started to suspect speedtest.net is just crap.......
raylimkk
13-08-2008, 11:46 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/308601546.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Currently I hav 3 services of SH so mean I am a hubber right n I can purchase the HS @ $88 with 2 yr contract right?
faruk55
14-08-2008, 09:08 AM
so any news on liangtam and his trial HS?
It's due for me in 2 days and no SH CS has called me yet for re-collection..
liangtam
14-08-2008, 12:17 PM
They ish will ask delivery dept call back
lausbond
14-08-2008, 12:35 PM
More token numbers:
97091cdmHK
97088A31ZT
97089bGqbF
Enjoy
tancc79
14-08-2008, 01:06 PM
Hi, more token for all :>
98298upml4
98293YAZV7
98288jWnms
98283n6N2D
98278VitzK
98273tCVOV
98252qILfF
faruk55
14-08-2008, 02:12 PM
so far no one called me regarding the re-trial i have applied with a new token...
djcoolmax
14-08-2008, 02:36 PM
so far no one called me regarding the re-trial i have applied with a new token...
when did you register? for me... they took about 3-4 days.
richneo
14-08-2008, 02:37 PM
they called me within that day i sign up with the trial key
confused
14-08-2008, 02:48 PM
Look thru terms and conditions, looks like the referrer also get to benefit with one month free subscription too.
win win for both. ;)
If only they charge lower price for trial users after trial over, then it will be so much better.
faruk55
14-08-2008, 03:36 PM
when did you register? for me... they took about 3-4 days.
the trial I am having now, they called within the same day. But the current re-trial, I sent the application yesterday.. :P
ironman4672
15-08-2008, 12:13 AM
the trial I am having now, they called within the same day. But the current re-trial, I sent the application yesterday.. :P
can try twice one meh???;);););)
faruk55
15-08-2008, 10:44 AM
no idea.. no harm tring out.. (test water)
confused
15-08-2008, 01:39 PM
i think they already rejected your re-trial already lar. no 2nd time for the same household address.
sAxman_Returns
15-08-2008, 10:28 PM
http://img374.imageshack.us/img374/6610/73096655cm6ww7.png
:s22: :s22: :s22:
sianzjitpuah......
WaYne900
16-08-2008, 11:22 AM
they just came today to fix up the hub station.. 1 month free sport channel.. can watch EPL. LOL
FireHobbit
17-08-2008, 12:21 AM
shoik right... is a good trial
faruk55
18-08-2008, 07:56 AM
so my re-trial rejected eh? it's ok...
But the problem is, SH didn't call me up yet.. as my date due was on Sat 16th... I think I will call them up today to confirm for the collection... I don't want being a fool paying for the channels..
WaYne900
18-08-2008, 09:24 AM
so if they nv call up to collect it back, we need to pay for the charges??
eddy2099sg
18-08-2008, 10:00 AM
I think they are hoping that with the trial that those who took it would continue using and thus start paying for the fees and thus they would probably expect to come to your door to pick it up. Of course if you no longer want to use the hubstation, you can carry the hubstation back to the Customer service office and stop the trial. It be easier that way.
sAxman_Returns
18-08-2008, 10:33 AM
i didn't know they are supposed to collect back. all the while I thought you need to send it back yourself? collection is chargable deneh....
faruk55
18-08-2008, 11:32 AM
What I was informed by the CSR was that the SH dude will come down to collect the HS and it is free of charge when my trial was activated.
So I will make a call later to confirm when they will come down to collect. I do not want to pay extra for the channels which I didn't subscribe.
Will update here later after calling them at lunch time..
faruk55
18-08-2008, 03:48 PM
called them... they informed me that the relevant party will call me... :P
faruk55
18-08-2008, 04:34 PM
the SH CSR called... they will be collecting this wed...
I think you have to call them.. or else no one will call you to arrange to pick it up..
And I am gonna miss the HS dearly... been a good servant in recording good programs..
liangtam
18-08-2008, 04:38 PM
i onli miss the surflite n free channels :D
WaYne900
18-08-2008, 05:04 PM
I think you have to call them.. or else no one will call you to arrange to pick it up..
And I am gonna miss the HS dearly... been a good servant in recording good programs..
u can consider getting the hs lor. ahhaa
tobiko
18-08-2008, 05:07 PM
hi, how can i check the hdd size for the HS?
WaYne900
18-08-2008, 05:11 PM
hi, how can i check the hdd size for the HS?
it is not size right??
i was told i can record up to 60hrs.
tobiko
18-08-2008, 05:13 PM
it is not size right??
i was told i can record up to 60hrs.
they told me 80hrs. :o
WaYne900
18-08-2008, 05:32 PM
as usual.
all the different information
sAxman_Returns
18-08-2008, 05:43 PM
all new machines (since 1 yr ago) comes with 160GB. that's enough to house > 80hr 576i recordings :)
older machines (smartTV only comes with 120GB HDD)
faruk55
18-08-2008, 05:48 PM
it's 80hrs of recording.. not 60hrs..
richneo
18-08-2008, 05:51 PM
they called me automatically yesterdae.
the person on the phone ask me not to sign up for it citing that new promo will be out this thur
BUT HS will be on rental basis liaoz
sAxman_Returns
19-08-2008, 12:27 AM
must see how much first......that's bad......i doubt the response will be good even if it's on rental basis.....unless they pump the internet speed to the next level :s22:
mm...any one hve any problem with the hubstation they install so far??
liangtam
19-08-2008, 10:08 PM
Generally, you should not be facing any problems.
Maybe except reboots if you got a refurb sets
win_man
19-08-2008, 10:41 PM
http://img374.imageshack.us/img374/6610/73096655cm6ww7.png
:s22: :s22: :s22:
sianzjitpuah......
can copy out from HS????
enriqueyang
20-08-2008, 12:49 AM
u mean the video file? so far as i know cannot.. =(
sAxman_Returns
20-08-2008, 08:23 AM
can copy out from HS????
that one ish surflite....
can copy out if you're on ext2 FS if i'm not wrong :D
enriqueyang
20-08-2008, 10:29 AM
ext2 fs? what's that?
richneo
20-08-2008, 10:42 AM
a form of linux file system
enriqueyang
20-08-2008, 10:45 AM
u know how to do that? teach me how to install linux? and go ard extracting file? =p
faruk55
20-08-2008, 11:38 AM
installing linux is very very straightforward...
you could try to install Linux Ubuntu 8.0.4 into your windows as a program file and you will be running linux in no time..
perhaps try n connect the HDD into ur PC and see whether you can see that recorded programs
amazone
25-08-2008, 02:10 PM
Hi anybody tred using the broadband connection from the hubstation? I find it wierd while downloadin from the same source the rest of the hardware using the same. My connection from the hubstation is much better then my MaxOnline Premium. Anybody tried?
chinnian
25-08-2008, 02:22 PM
some of you mentioned that using the HubStation to surf net (even when it's in standby mode) draws too much power?
is there any figures of the diff between using it to surf compared to using the MOL motorola modem?
i'm thinking of terminating my MOL Express and switct to using Hubstaion for surfing.
sAxman_Returns
25-08-2008, 03:14 PM
hubstation itself is not drawing much power lar, it's the HDD that's drawing more power than the unit itself. :s22:
chinnian
25-08-2008, 03:30 PM
hubstation itself is not drawing much power lar, it's the HDD that's drawing more power than the unit itself. :s22:
thanks, does it mean that if i'm not recording or when it's in standby, it'll draw less power?
sAxman_Returns
25-08-2008, 05:58 PM
the HDD is always on recording mode whenever you turn it on, That's how you get the smarTV features. when you turn it off and let it run on standby, it will take a little time to shut down the HDD.
if I dun remember wrongly, it draws below 40W max, and 17W min.
kawaiiboi
12-09-2008, 10:44 AM
They SH never call me but when i call them they return to say need to pay 32.10 for collection WTF!
richneo
12-09-2008, 10:54 AM
they bill me the ultimate package even after i returned them the hubstation last month
and they charge me for additional set top box too!!!
kawaiiboi
12-09-2008, 11:03 AM
they also charged me but i call back KBKB dunno what tricks they are up next.. seems like now adays they got lots of hidden terms and conditions!
faruk55
12-09-2008, 11:13 AM
they are supposed to offset the bill on the next billnig cycle. I am currently waiting for my bill. Let's see what's the bill like.
kawaiiboi
12-09-2008, 12:38 PM
they are supposed to offset the bill on the next billnig cycle. I am currently waiting for my bill. Let's see what's the bill like.
BTW your hubstation collected FOC or u return yourself?
trigoz
13-09-2008, 02:20 PM
Well i faced the same problem as well. After going through the bills with all the off-set figures, i noticed that i will be charged more than what i used to pay.
Called the Customer Service and was advised they will do the necessary changes the next billing and was told to hold the payment. See how its goes.
Guess after the Free Trail is NOT FREE!:s8:
richneo
13-09-2008, 02:49 PM
same scenario as u
in fact i was billed 100 over dollars twice
last month and this month they also asked me to hold my payments
Desmond_
13-09-2008, 03:35 PM
cannot buy hubstation set only?
confused
13-09-2008, 07:45 PM
Cannot at this present time. Maybe later if have promo again.
win_man
13-09-2008, 08:56 PM
i just continued my hubstation rental after the trial since it was a brand new set. i was told those rental/used sets have the label and a hole behind the remote control?
FireHobbit
13-09-2008, 09:32 PM
the trial make me very gian but today collect back le..
dexterr
14-09-2008, 03:07 AM
the person offer me dunno what plan 4 basic group plus rental of one box 22 per mth.
what the guy offer you ?
imp0ssibled
14-09-2008, 12:15 PM
wanna ask what is the usb 2.0 port in the hubstation for? can it be used for transfering the recorded shows in the hubstation to a pc hdd via thumbdrive?
richneo
14-09-2008, 12:24 PM
wanna ask what is the usb 2.0 port in the hubstation for? can it be used for transfering the recorded shows in the hubstation to a pc hdd via thumbdrive?
same as ur nick
impossible
liangtam
14-09-2008, 12:24 PM
Aiyo, mentioned few times le, usb port do nothing. Only can supply power for your laptop cooler
imp0ssibled
14-09-2008, 12:41 PM
ok thx......
eddy2099sg
15-09-2008, 06:57 AM
Actually if you read the manual, the USB Port is actually the interface to the USB based interface of the cable modem. Most of us would have built-in LAN on our computer now so the USB port is redundant.
aliensg
15-09-2008, 10:55 AM
the person offer me dunno what plan 4 basic group plus rental of one box 22 per mth.
what the guy offer you ?
isn't that a pretty good price? 4 basic group already 28+gst, is the box normal stb or hubstation? is this a hidden/private promo, cannot find on website...
sAxman_Returns
15-09-2008, 02:18 PM
any recommendation for the laptop cooler? mine is dying i think.... :(
dexterr
15-09-2008, 07:47 PM
isn't that a pretty good price? 4 basic group already 28+gst, is the box normal stb or hubstation? is this a hidden/private promo, cannot find on website...
i use the hubstation trial token. then after that they offer me this pakage lor. for 4 mths contract. then i try try. but the free internet speed very lousy. downloan 800+kb on speedtest. upload 250kb.
sAxman_Returns
16-09-2008, 01:17 AM
well, 1Mbps actually good enough for me to hoot all the full HD H.264 stuff.....1 show easily 12GB~30GB one....
win_man
16-09-2008, 08:35 AM
i use the hubstation trial token. then after that they offer me this pakage lor. for 4 mths contract. then i try try. but the free internet speed very lousy. downloan 800+kb on speedtest. upload 250kb.
what 4 month contract did they offer you?
dexterr
17-09-2008, 01:16 AM
next time read all the post lehhh bro.
what the guy offer you ?
renrub
17-09-2008, 04:34 PM
same lei... duno whether to take on anot
dexterr
18-09-2008, 12:28 AM
the d/l speed is fking slow =/
my living room 10mb singnet very very fast =x
dexterr
18-09-2008, 12:32 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/324902702.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
chercm
20-09-2008, 05:06 PM
i am so happy with my hubstation
seems that there is an SCV + MOL promotion at 32 bucks a month .. cheap .. bo .. ??
outer92
16-12-2008, 12:13 AM
anyone know how to reformat hdd from hubstation?
iMbEst
16-12-2008, 08:49 AM
i never tried.....why not you call starhub?
Lucky123
16-12-2008, 08:48 PM
anyone know how to reformat hdd from hubstation?
Go to Smart TV settings and select Optimize Hardisk.
outer92
16-12-2008, 10:16 PM
if hubstaton hdd spoil, can change hdd by myself?
phuque99
16-12-2008, 10:28 PM
Have you checked with 1633 yet?
gilaboyfjs
16-12-2008, 10:58 PM
i think most likely they'll ask u bring back to them for repair or exchange.
win_man
21-02-2009, 10:14 PM
Does the starhub bill reflect your hubstation subscription and monthly fee details of $8? Cos mine shows $4 digital STB and its free waiver for many months liao. :s13:
sAxman_Returns
21-02-2009, 11:20 PM
gianpengz spotted :s22:
er who lai de?
vee4044
08-03-2009, 02:01 PM
I tot e hubstation box is for rental only, need to return wen contract ended. can sell meh ?????????
liangtam
08-03-2009, 02:17 PM
for those who bought the hubstn earlier on
wlng81
15-03-2009, 09:52 AM
Has anyone tried connecting a cable modem (its MAC ID has been removed from the Starhub system) to the digital set-top box to watch Demand TV?
Wanted to use this method to subscribe to the Hokkien channel for my dad yesterday but the CSO told me that the subscription would not go through...
Any advise, bros?
liangtam
15-03-2009, 01:54 PM
Flexisurf free think no access to vod materials, u can always try connect, no harm doing so.
wlng81
15-03-2009, 03:25 PM
Thanks Liangtam for your kind advice! ^_^
But $6.42 per month... Kind of heartache if we do not get to watch the channel eventually.... Haha.
lovefoolx
15-03-2009, 07:53 PM
got a privately mailed promotion. CTV50
3 basic group at 12.84sgd
ch55, vv drama at 4.28sgd
normal digital setup box at 2.14sgd. but i changed to hubstation HD and HD add on.
total, 40.66sgd. :P
wlng81
16-03-2009, 04:14 PM
normal digital setup box at 2.14sgd. but i changed to hubstation HD and HD add on.
Sounds great :)
How many months do you need to sign up to enjoy this offer?
Is this only for new subscriber?
SpinFire
16-03-2009, 04:17 PM
Good deal, how did you get it the promo?
My CableTV contract has expired long ago, looking for a promotion for 3 basic groups + Sports. Anyone can offer?
liangtam
16-03-2009, 11:01 PM
My CableTV contract has expired long ago, looking for a promotion for 3 basic groups + Sports. Anyone can offer?
ctv NO recontract offers de...
u wait wait wait oso no habe
very true :s13:
aloysius_xavier
17-03-2009, 10:58 AM
true... what i did was cancel my subscription and signup again under another person's name under the same household :)
sheila
25-03-2009, 01:26 PM
I've got a hubstation to sell.
A german friend of mine purchased it somewhere in Januray 2008 when he was here.
He has went back to Germany and Im stuck with his hubstation to sell.
If anyone interested in buying, PM me.
cygnus1977
30-03-2009, 10:14 AM
previously i remember seeing the free 1mbps is ongoing with no expiry, so i thot e hubstation is a gd investment.
now tat i bought, they say free 1mbps is until end of 2009.
hopefully can extend....the free 1mbps
kun1he2
31-03-2009, 12:31 AM
They always have an expiry date which had been extended each year. So it is actually a good investment if you don't need high bandwidth, my hubstation literally paid for itself - except that it came with a long contract period.
Same for free calls for Digital Voice, and probably also free incoming for their mobile plans.
... likewise for Singtel, mobile plans with free incoming is now stated as till 31 Dec 2010.
In general, when anyone offers anything for free, there's usually a caveat to remove it.
WhiteFox
31-03-2009, 01:26 AM
Sounds great :)
How many months do you need to sign up to enjoy this offer?
Is this only for new subscriber?
PM sent, let me know :)
aptget
01-05-2009, 11:52 AM
if i can't record and retrieve the show from HDD
then how do I record and save the show into my com ?
external recorder ? what brand should I be looking at ?
eddy2099sg
01-05-2009, 12:17 PM
Well, any brand would do. I am using a Panasonic DVD Recorder and it works great. This is my set up
Hubstation --> DVD Recorder --> TV
This way, you can record any shows from the hubstation to your dvd disk which you can play on the computer.
If you want to bypass the DVD stage, I believe Bizgram does sell external harddisk box which allows you to record directly to harddisk in a format which you can view directly on the pc but as I have not tried them before, I do not know the quality.
The only thing is if you are using the RCA or any higher end connections, you cannot record the Video on Demand shows.
liangtam
01-05-2009, 01:52 PM
u mean hubstn? u still nid a video capture or tv card with input function
Innocast
03-05-2009, 08:03 AM
i like the remote control of hubstation very much.....
can use it to control my tv and dvd player............:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:
enriqueyang
03-05-2009, 03:44 PM
which remote? hubstation normal of hubstation hd?
Innocast
03-05-2009, 03:51 PM
which remote? hubstation normal of hubstation hd?
hubstation normal one la...........:s22::s22::s22::s22:
enriqueyang
03-05-2009, 04:20 PM
can meh? i didnt know leh... how u configure and all one? O.o and ur tv and dvd player is what brand?
Innocast
03-05-2009, 04:31 PM
can meh? i didnt know leh... how u configure and all one? O.o and ur tv and dvd player is what brand?
u dun know? wols..........no need to configure at all... the controller has button to switch between tv, hubstation and dvd player.........and it can be on any brand...........:s22::s22::s22::s22::s22:
enriqueyang
03-05-2009, 04:50 PM
which button!!!
liangtam
03-05-2009, 04:53 PM
the new hubstn SD remote is it?
Innocast
03-05-2009, 04:57 PM
which button!!!
u shout for what la!!!! cannot see even ur eye is stamped or ur one does not have la!!!! u raise ur voice loud loud also no use one uncle!!!! :s27::s27::s27::s27::s27::s27:
GetFuzzy
03-05-2009, 09:32 PM
Hmmmmm.. Did you guys get a new or old hubstation remote controller? Mine is an old one. lol
enriqueyang
03-05-2009, 11:40 PM
i must be having the old one.. sorry innocast.. abit too excited when hearing that the remote can control tv...
eddy2099sg
04-05-2009, 05:35 AM
I think for the remote controller to work, the tv must be compatible and probably not all tv brands are compatible to the thomson hubstation.
Innocast
04-05-2009, 06:37 AM
I think for the remote controller to work, the tv must be compatible and probably not all tv brands are compatible to the thomson hubstation.
nah.... it is between the controller and the tv and dvd player only.......nothing to do with the box....
it works for all brand......the controller, just like the universal controller u bought outside...........;);););)
eddy2099sg
04-05-2009, 08:12 AM
Did not know they supply universal controllers. In any case, it did not work with my Samsung tv or dvd player, just worked with my hubstation.
Incidentally, now SH is doing the beta testing for the 7 days tv guide on the hubstation up from the 3 days.
fullerms
04-05-2009, 06:42 PM
u dun know? wols..........no need to configure at all... the controller has button to switch between tv, hubstation and dvd player.........and it can be on any brand...........:s22::s22::s22::s22::s22:
First time even I am hearing this. I got my hubstation last year, and the remote is the thick fat one which flips open to reveal a qwerty keyboard. Is this the same?
Bro, can you get a picture of your remote and highlight the button in question?
leinad
04-05-2009, 07:18 PM
First time even I am hearing this. I got my hubstation last year, and the remote is the thick fat one which flips open to reveal a qwerty keyboard. Is this the same?
Bro, can you get a picture of your remote and highlight the button in question?
The newer remote is much smaller and easier to handle. I didn't really like the big fat one.. It's clunky and really uncomfortable.
It's this remote:
http://i40.tinypic.com/2vcztdh.jpg
And yes, I have a Hubstation, not a Hubstation HD.
EDIT: You might be able to see the 3 buttons on top. TV, Starhub and DVD... They are white in colour, and the Starhub button is the SH logo. You will have to program the TV button to your TV, and the DVD button to your DVD Player/recorder. But once programmed, it generally works, with some functions only available on the normal TV remote (eg, Teletext).
/Dan
Innocast
04-05-2009, 08:06 PM
The newer remote is much smaller and easier to handle. I didn't really like the big fat one.. It's clunky and really uncomfortable.
It's this remote:
EDIT: You might be able to see the 3 buttons on top. TV, Starhub and DVD... They are white in colour, and the Starhub button is the SH logo. You will have to program the TV button to your TV, and the DVD button to your DVD Player/recorder. But once programmed, it generally works, with some functions only available on the normal TV remote (eg, Teletext).
/Dan
yup, this is exactly the one i have..... very nice to use... now i save on two remotes.... for both my dvd and tv......cool........
win_man
04-05-2009, 08:14 PM
the new remote still have the qwerty keyboard?
leinad
04-05-2009, 09:12 PM
Nope.. But I personally don't like the Qwerty on the SH remote... It's not very nice to type with, though it is faster than using the on-screen keyboard.
Then again, I don't really use the keyboard that often.
/Dan
Innocast
04-05-2009, 09:20 PM
dun have.........
sAxman_Returns
04-05-2009, 10:59 PM
qwerty keyboard is kinda useless unless you're using it to send SMS......
today the whole interface become so green....from blue....
Innocast
04-05-2009, 11:21 PM
qwerty keyboard is kinda useless unless you're using it to send SMS......
today the whole interface become so green....from blue....
wah... seems like it is same for all...mine also become green since yesterday nite.........ugly sia........and very hard to see..........:s22::s22::s22::s22::s22:
eddy2099sg
05-05-2009, 08:02 AM
The green interface allows you to record up to 7 days of the program guide instead of 3 days.
chinnian
05-05-2009, 11:15 AM
you mean non-HD HubStation now also comes with the universal remote?
i'm gonna check if they allow for exchange using the old chunky one, if not i'm gonna go buy it.
It's this remote:
/Dan
GetFuzzy
05-05-2009, 05:57 PM
WTF! Why did they give me an old remote control? It's so big and ugly, and comes with dents and scratches. WTF! The new one looks so much better. wtf wtf wtf
enriqueyang
05-05-2009, 06:10 PM
i have the big fat ugly remote... when u get the hubstation, they ought to give u brand new remote what.. how can they give u an old one..
liangtam
05-05-2009, 06:27 PM
the new remotes only come slightly after the free 1mth hubstn trial
leinad
05-05-2009, 06:34 PM
Shall we feedback? My dad's complaining he cannot read the text on green... and I tend to agree - it makes text really difficult to read.
/Dan
enriqueyang
05-05-2009, 07:52 PM
they should give up option to "customise and choose color of our interface"...
Innocast
05-05-2009, 08:40 PM
WTF! Why did they give me an old remote control? It's so big and ugly, and comes with dents and scratches. WTF! The new one looks so much better. wtf wtf wtf
i just subscribed last week, i got the new one!!! and my box is a brand new set :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:
ceecookie
05-05-2009, 08:43 PM
Shall we feedback? My dad's complaining he cannot read the text on green... and I tend to agree - it makes text really difficult to read.
/Dan
I have no issue, but what i do like is the vista aero-like background for the beta display :s13:
chinnian
06-05-2009, 12:40 AM
You can bring it to StarHub Customer Service Ctr to exchange for the new universal remote. No charge.
You can ask them to give you a copy of the remote manual too. I just changed mine.
burnout
07-05-2009, 06:45 PM
After the change to green interface, i sometimes cannot pause or rewind what's showing, the so-called "Live TV". i have to switch to another channel, but that means losing what's buffered.
anyone experience this on their HubStation?
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.