View Full Version : Starhub Hubstation
Ramaswamy
28-07-2007, 11:59 AM
What is the Pro's and con's of Starhub hubstation. It looks cheaper for 1 Mbits surfing. Any other pro's and con's?
Hub Station details (http://www.hubstation.com.sg)
megaweb
28-07-2007, 12:44 PM
It is not cheap, it is FREE.
:D
So far so good. Can skype with relatives oversea.
tally17
28-07-2007, 10:31 PM
Just got the hubstation today. Went to buy a wireless modem too not realising that there was a offer to buy a Dlink 300 router for $54. I bought a buffalo wireless G125 at about $70 bucks cos the salesperson said it was good (I'm such loser right listen to salesperson cos orginally wanted to buy dlink). Came back to set it up and it worked perfectly.
Fun time playing with the recording functions. And the connection speed is much faster than my SSNB 512 plan. Will be terminating SSNB tomorrow already.
Spent $400 over today, hubstation plus wireless but thought the savings from terminating the SSNB even if free surflite ends Dec08, it is still worth it.
Hope it's useful info.
richneo
28-07-2007, 10:40 PM
Just got the hubstation today. Went to buy a wireless modem too not realising that there was a offer to buy a Dlink 300 router for $54. I bought a buffalo wireless G125 at about $70 bucks cos the salesperson said it was good (I'm such loser right listen to salesperson cos orginally wanted to buy dlink). Came back to set it up and it worked perfectly.
Fun time playing with the recording functions. And the connection speed is much faster than my SSNB 512 plan. Will be terminating SSNB tomorrow already.
Spent $400 over today, hubstation plus wireless but thought the savings from terminating the SSNB even if free surflite ends Dec08, it is still worth it.
Hope it's useful info.
oh u mean dir-300 ?
din see it in sls thou
Ramaswamy
28-07-2007, 10:46 PM
Thanks guys. I do not subscribe to Cable TV. It looks good for me but bit expensive $600 initial expense.
tally17
28-07-2007, 11:17 PM
They only the Dir-300 selling it at offer price at SLS Copernicus Interactive and Challenger Funan.
If anyone needs it, I'll post you the voucher. I won't be using it anyway. PM me.
only_lonely
28-07-2007, 11:24 PM
so i have the cable tv non-contract..
i purchase hubstation ~$290...then i got free home fixed line and 1MBps internet unlimited?
so i can terminate my MOL which is cost me $60?
richneo
28-07-2007, 11:25 PM
They only the Dir-300 selling it at offer price at SLS Copernicus Interactive and Challenger Funan.
If anyone needs it, I'll post you the voucher. I won't be using it anyway. PM me.
no terms and condition tagged to the voucher?
richneo
28-07-2007, 11:26 PM
so i have the cable tv non-contract..
i purchase hubstation ~$290...then i got free home fixed line and 1MBps internet unlimited?
so i can terminate my MOL which is cost me $60?
u have to buy additional IAD and a monthly subscription in order to get the home "fixed" line
only_lonely
28-07-2007, 11:30 PM
u have to buy additional IAD and a monthly subscription in order to get the home "fixed" line
how much it cost?
richneo
28-07-2007, 11:32 PM
how much it cost?
http://www.starhub.com
tally17
29-07-2007, 12:20 AM
no terms and condition tagged to the voucher?
Read the voucher but can't find anything about terms and conditions.
muilick
29-07-2007, 01:02 AM
Sorry. What is IAD?
megaweb
29-07-2007, 10:50 AM
Sorry. What is IAD?
What is IAD?
IAD stand for Integrated Access Device. IAD is a small box that connects your voice from an analog signal to digital signal. To use IAD, you must have an analog phone which is will be connected to your IAD.
For IAD to Hubstation setup will be
Starhub Cable > Hubstation > *IAD > Telehpone
* you can connect PC to IAD for Internet Connection
or
Starhub Cable > Hubstation > *Broadband Router > IAD > Telehpone
* you can connect PC to Broadband Router for Internet Connection
megaweb
29-07-2007, 10:57 AM
Thanks guys. I do not subscribe to Cable TV. It looks good for me but bit expensive $600 initial expense.
Hubstation is good for people who wanna watch SH channels as well as free 1M Internet connection, good enough for surfing.
nannan82
29-07-2007, 01:54 PM
wanna ask.... i have the dvr from starhub... is it hubstation????? my remote got the internet function but i cant get it to start?
muilick
29-07-2007, 03:40 PM
Hubstation is good for people who wanna watch SH channels as well as free 1M Internet connection, good enough for surfing.
Many thanks with the elaboration. The speed sometimes may go down to 0.3 Mbps. Think hard to terminate my MOL ( 12 Mbps ) which costs me $70 per month? The contract ends mid-August.
iMbEst
30-07-2007, 01:22 AM
how much is the basic subscription for SCV cable?
think it's good for people who are already subscribing to SCV services.
BurgerLim
30-07-2007, 11:35 AM
Hi, Many thanks for all the info.
my SH contract ending this aug.. (both to SCV+MOL) so seriously looking at this offer...
Since mostly only surf during weekend.. paying 60+ for 12mbps seems overkill for me.
But with hubstation.. will one lose the hubber bonus?
furnaces1984
30-07-2007, 11:38 AM
wanna ask.... i have the dvr from starhub... is it hubstation????? my remote got the internet function but i cant get it to start?DVR set-top box is the hubstation actually.
Just bought it last week, but the damm thing spoiled twice during a week. First set spoiled withing a day, keep rebooting. Then theye replace a new set for me.
The second set, spoiled after 4 days, can not boot up at all.
Return to them and cancel the whole thing. Seem like the box itself is not reliable. I read a thread about this issue when they launch the "Smart TV", but was thinking it has been more than a year. But still the same problem.
Anyone have the same issue.
megaweb
30-07-2007, 01:47 PM
Just bought it last week, but the damm thing spoiled twice during a week. First set spoiled withing a day, keep rebooting. Then theye replace a new set for me.
Return to them and cancel the whole thing. Seem like the box itself is not reliable. I read a thread about this issue when they launch the "Smart TV", but was thinking it has been more than a year. But still the same problem.
Hmm .. you must be very unlucky to get 2 faulty sets.
mrkiasu
30-07-2007, 02:19 PM
I was like you, my first set up lorry 18 hours after i bring it home. I bring it to the service center at hougang ave 3.
the uncle there say need to change motherboad. better to go starhub and do a 1-1 exchange within 7 days. The exchange was easy and hussle free.
Second set is working fine so far for the past 4 days, I dont dare to switch it off liao. put a small portable fan blowing at it all day. I put it to record the shows i miss while i am at work.
The 1 mbps internet speed is ok, dont bother BT with it, its too slow. just check email, surf. I got another ADSL 512k line, its much faster.
One thing I also notice, the box run very hot...
xyz890
30-07-2007, 05:14 PM
Besides hubstation, any other harddisk recorder can be used for schedule recording?
HowardQ
30-07-2007, 06:51 PM
Has anyone been succesful in surf internet through wireless router connected to the hubstation?
I have tried a couple of times, seems the wireless router can not obtain the ipaddress of the hubstation.
If you have make it working, appreciate if you could share the details.
Thanks
mrkiasu
30-07-2007, 07:30 PM
what router you using ? just plug in the lan cable to the WAN port on the router. the router has to do the DHCP. The hubstation will has its IP number.
I have been using it with a wireless router since day 1. dont ask me the brand of router i am using, its all the same to me.
Has anyone been succesful in surf internet through wireless router connected to the hubstation?
I have tried a couple of times, seems the wireless router can not obtain the ipaddress of the hubstation.
Thanks
HowardQ
30-07-2007, 07:32 PM
Thanks, it is good to hear that it is working for you.
I am using the linksys wirless router ...the free gift from starhub.
richneo
30-07-2007, 07:41 PM
Thanks
switch off the power of the hubstation and turn it on again when u connect router to it
Treble
30-07-2007, 08:10 PM
how come 1Mbps can be slower than 512kbps? really cannot BT at all??? damn sad leh....
Hi, Many thanks for all the info.
my SH contract ending this aug.. (both to SCV+MOL) so seriously looking at this offer...
Since mostly only surf during weekend.. paying 60+ for 12mbps seems overkill for me.
But with hubstation.. will one lose the hubber bonus?
what kind of hubber bonus can be more than your $60 burning hole/month? 1 year is $720 hoh.
powertan
30-07-2007, 08:12 PM
can this hubstation boardband use to download movie from internet. I affraid too slow. Currently i am using Singnet BB 3Mbps.
iMbEst
30-07-2007, 08:46 PM
download movie? i thought illegal? lol
richneo
30-07-2007, 08:47 PM
can this hubstation boardband use to download movie from internet. I affraid too slow. Currently i am using Singnet BB 3Mbps.
not slow enuff for u to be caught if u are downloading anything illegal :s34:
powertan
30-07-2007, 08:53 PM
sorry should not put it as download. Should using it for watching the ppstream. have anyone try it
Porkbone
30-07-2007, 09:40 PM
can anyone really explain why is this package so expensive?
they did not explain all in detail at the website ><
i got SCV and MOL running at home both already over contract
richneo
30-07-2007, 09:42 PM
expensive as in $285 (excl gst) or around $600 without the 24 months contract?
at $285 i find it cheap
xyz890
30-07-2007, 09:45 PM
very expensive, min $34+ for 24months.
expensive as in $285 (excl gst) or around $600 without the 24 months contract?
at $285 i find it cheap
richneo
30-07-2007, 09:51 PM
very expensive, min $34+ for 24months.
im already paying more than that monthly for my cable tv mah so it makes no diff to me other den paying the 1 time $285 + GST if i wan DVR and free internet
antilecture
30-07-2007, 11:22 PM
the DVR works 100X better than my samsung DVD recorder. user interface is responsive and easy to use. recording quality is no difference from live TV.
image quality from the component output is disappointing .. although color is significantly better than composite output, the image is blurry at corners. i have to use composite still.
i haven't tried turning it off.. it makes me scared to do so after reading some users' feedback.. will it die just after an instance of power failure?
free internet is idle for surfing. speedtest turns out 970Kbps down and 246Kbps up. haven't tried BT or PPStream (who needs PPstream while you have SCV and DVR??)
most likely going to terminate MOL when the contract ends and save $60 a month.
iMbEst
30-07-2007, 11:56 PM
er....antilecture, you using normal CRT or high resolution flat screen (LCD/Plasma)?
undiscern
31-07-2007, 08:26 AM
Can the video recorded on hdd be transfered out to external storage?
megaweb
31-07-2007, 09:25 AM
Hubstation is not expensive as it is not only a Digital Box, it can record channels. It has 120 gig harddisk to record 60 hrs of channels. In additional, it comes with 1 M broadband free. If you are not heavy user and may record some channels, you should consider this service. Overall I believe it is much cheaper compare to SCV and MOL.
megaweb
31-07-2007, 09:27 AM
Can the video recorded on hdd be transfered out to external storage?
So far no one has the solution to extract the movies from the harddisk.
pcchuat
31-07-2007, 09:35 AM
anyone experience loud vibrating sound from the DVR setup box. i suspect the power supply transformer.
please share and help
thanks
twosix
31-07-2007, 10:40 AM
This hubstation is actually the same old DVR, but with more services now. Is this correct?
Besides super hot, is the bug that "does not record the whole show" fix?
pcchuat
31-07-2007, 11:37 AM
This hubstation is actually the same old DVR, but with more services now. Is this correct?
Besides super hot, is the bug that "does not record the whole show" fix?
recording whole show is no problem....i now encounter not only the dvr is superhot, it now got high frequency vibrating sound on and off..happen during the night i have to turn off the set before sleeping...
overall rating: good for me. easy to record and free 1 m broadband fast enough for light surfing but not for gaming.
Eric Ying
31-07-2007, 01:14 PM
it this Starhub Hubstation HD ready ? =:p
pcchuat
31-07-2007, 01:18 PM
it this Starhub Hubstation HD ready ? =:p
No...u need to pay HD setup box from Starhub if u want HD
Nightmares
31-07-2007, 03:10 PM
recording whole show is no problem....i now encounter not only the dvr is superhot, it now got high frequency vibrating sound on and off..happen during the night i have to turn off the set before sleeping...
overall rating: good for me. easy to record and free 1 m broadband fast enough for light surfing but not for gaming.
the speed is slow for xbox live gaming?
iMbEst
01-08-2007, 12:09 AM
No...u need to pay HD setup box from Starhub if u want HD
but if you use HD set up box, this thing will be useless already right? can still record in HD meh? can still have free internet access meh?
HowardQ
01-08-2007, 06:29 AM
I also agree, this is a good value if you only need light surfing, the only thing is that too bad we need fork out additional for the telephone module, or else it would be a great value!
HowardQ
01-08-2007, 06:30 AM
I also agree, this is a good value if you only need light surfing, the only thing is that too bad we need fork out additional for the telephone module, or else it would be a greater value!
antilecture
01-08-2007, 11:20 AM
CRT .......
BurgerLim
01-08-2007, 11:40 AM
Those who terminated their MOL with hubstation think will lose hubber bonus as well right?
Treble
01-08-2007, 12:58 PM
what is "hubber bonus" about? attractive? :s11:
pLayb0y
01-08-2007, 12:59 PM
the DVR works 100X better than my samsung DVD recorder. user interface is responsive and easy to use. recording quality is no difference from live TV.
image quality from the component output is disappointing .. although color is significantly better than composite output, the image is blurry at corners. i have to use composite still.
i haven't tried turning it off.. it makes me scared to do so after reading some users' feedback.. will it die just after an instance of power failure?
free internet is idle for surfing. speedtest turns out 970Kbps down and 246Kbps up. haven't tried BT or PPStream (who needs PPstream while you have SCV and DVR??)
most likely going to terminate MOL when the contract ends and save $60 a month.
i think that it might be your feed. mine's sharp at the corners.
i'm using a LCD tv btw, are you still using CRT?
BurgerLim
01-08-2007, 01:30 PM
what is "hubber bonus" about? attractive? :s11:
its about the disc when u signed up for all 3 services (hp, Cable and MOL)...
Mobile_Crazy
01-08-2007, 02:47 PM
what's the offer now for the hubstation?? btw what's starhub latest cable tv promo??
Treble
01-08-2007, 07:52 PM
its about the disc when u signed up for all 3 services (hp, Cable and MOL)...
but if you just use hubstation, would you pay even lower price to starhub?
gundamz
01-08-2007, 08:23 PM
what if this hubstation spoil after a year? will starhub repair for free?
from what i see:
Free SurfLite1000 valid till 31 December 2008, relevant devices required for internet connectivity.
ahgohgoh
03-08-2007, 06:52 PM
how does this thing work? i read that you can use it for two tvs? anybody do that?
both tv must watch same channels or what?
pLayb0y
03-08-2007, 09:55 PM
i believe that is only for recording, you cannot have 2 tvs but you can watch 1 channel but record another
liangtam
03-08-2007, 10:48 PM
If you don't mind watch same channel on both TV then put a splitter lor, haha....
enriqueyang
05-08-2007, 10:03 AM
the usb port behind, what's it use for?
can i transfer my program out from my hubstation through USB port?
fattyboi
05-08-2007, 11:27 AM
the usb port behind, what's it use for?
can i transfer my program out from my hubstation through USB port?I don't think so.
I think it's for future capability to connect to its cable modem function via USB port.
enriqueyang
05-08-2007, 11:41 AM
i think someone should try hacking into the hubstation hha, as in find ways to accesss the hdd.. =p
liangtam
05-08-2007, 12:36 PM
i think someone should try hacking into the hubstation hha, as in find ways to accesss the hdd.. =p
You open the box surely can access the hdd.
prawncrackyourballs
08-08-2007, 04:54 PM
isit buy the hubstation surely get the dlink voucher 1???, cause i no router
n my pc also no wireless card planning to get a wireless usb adaptor(CHEAPO 1), any 1 know of any compatibility issues to take note??
:s22:
commonjunk
08-08-2007, 05:02 PM
If Hubstation get very hot, will it burn?
I wanted to buy it but looking at few ppl facing superhot issue i am thinking to hold for a while.
megaweb
08-08-2007, 05:19 PM
isit buy the hubstation surely get the dlink voucher 1???, cause i no router
n my pc also no wireless card planning to get a wireless usb adaptor(CHEAPO 1), any 1 know of any compatibility issues to take note??
:s22:
For 1 PC or Laptop connection, no need to use a router. Just use a RJ45 straight through cable connect from your PC/Laptop to the hubstation. Set your LAN connection > TCP/IP with auto ip address.
prawncrackyourballs
08-08-2007, 07:39 PM
For 1 PC or Laptop connection, no need to use a router. Just use a RJ45 straight through cable connect from your PC/Laptop to the hubstation. Set your LAN connection > TCP/IP with auto ip address.
can't man my pc damn far away frm the scv port.... n my bro goinng to get laptop so i need the router
win_man
09-08-2007, 12:04 AM
is this device by THOMSON just like the Smart TV?
liangtam
09-08-2007, 12:20 AM
is this device by THOMSON just like the Smart TV?
Yes
*10 char*
trigoz
09-08-2007, 12:27 AM
Yes
*10 char*
Also the device comes with only 1 year warranty too... Not sure whether there is any extended warranty from Thomson for the said device...
My office building don't supply the signal to us, becuase MCST said starhub cable is not within our zone!
iMbEst
10-08-2007, 09:05 PM
is hubstation a digital box? but those digital ch needs to pay additional $$$? the quality is better right? would the analogue ch converted to digital onez?
saj282
12-08-2007, 12:25 AM
is hubstation a digital box? but those digital ch needs to pay additional $$$? the quality is better right? would the analogue ch converted to digital onez?
The HubStation works like a digital set-top box (STB) on top its other functions.
The cost of use of digital channels apply similarly regardless you are using a digital set-top box or HubStation, but the following 4 International channels will be given free:
1) Deutsche Welle (Ch 45)
2) KBS World (Ch 100)
3) Australia Network (Ch 96) and
4) TVRI (Ch 31)
You should notice better video quality (compared to normal digital STB) if you connect it to your TV via the 3-wire component video outputs.
Sorry don't quite understand your last question.. I find the video quality of those "analogue" channels better than when I was using the old analogue STB.
There are some short-falls of the HubStation I would like to share:
1) It takes longer time to startup compared to my previous digital STB. My guess is that due to the many functions HubStation offers, there more things to be initialized during bootup.
2) It gets pretty hot after a short while.
3) To get the Internet access to work, I need to turn on my (wireless) router 1st before starting up the HubStation.
iMbEst
12-08-2007, 01:24 AM
how's the performance of the 1Mbps?
enriqueyang
12-08-2007, 01:38 AM
quick good for surfing and watch online content, but of course there's limit to downloading speed, but overall its good...
saj282
12-08-2007, 10:32 AM
quick good for surfing and watch online content, but of course there's limit to downloading speed, but overall its good...
Agreed. Though only 1Mbps, the D/L performance speed is pretty consistent IMHO.
It is really value-for-money.. there is a great promo for EPL fans going on now -- buy HubStation for $304.95 (incl GST) and get $10.70 disc off Sports Group subscription for 12 months.
iMbEst
12-08-2007, 10:47 AM
so what's the minimum amount needed for 24 months subscription? $24 b4 GST?
What's the cheapest 1Mbps internet charges in town? I actually need the internet connection but not the SCV (but my girl loves it very much). Will be good if can have the SCV in place hehe....
I saw MIO 1Mbps also need $30.52 for 24 months contract WTF??!!!! Pacnet is even more dissapointing!!!!
btw, how does that "control live TV" work? do you need to record it before hand? or by just pressing a button, it will record by itself automatically? How's the quality of the recording?
does this hubstation doing any upscaling? coz using LCD to watch this SD content is damn jialat one leh...the images all koyak one. :(
since it is a dual tuner device, can it do PIP with single component connection?
saj282
12-08-2007, 12:34 PM
so what's the minimum amount needed for 24 months subscription? $24 b4 GST?
What's the cheapest 1Mbps internet charges in town? I actually need the internet connection but not the SCV (but my girl loves it very much). Will be good if can have the SCV in place hehe....
I saw MIO 1Mbps also need $30.52 for 24 months contract WTF??!!!! Pacnet is even more dissapointing!!!!
btw, how does that "control live TV" work? do you need to record it before hand? or by just pressing a button, it will record by itself automatically? How's the quality of the recording?
does this hubstation doing any upscaling? coz using LCD to watch this SD content is damn jialat one leh...the images all koyak one. :(
since it is a dual tuner device, can it do PIP with single component connection?
Not sure abt the plans various ISP are offering.. you can check 'em out over the net.
The recording control is really simple, just browse thru the programme directory and choose those that you want to record. The selection can be done using programme name instead of keying the show timings or codes.. so it's just literally arrow keys and pressing of the OK button.
For my case, the recorded quality is very good -- no difference from live broadcast.
No upscaling. The video signal is fixed at 576i@50Hz. Your TV or AV receiver should do the de-interlacing and scaling.
I don't think PIP is supported on the HubStation. PIP can be done on your TV (if it has that feature) but you'll need to feed the TV with 2 video inputs, with one of them from HubStation of course.
Hope this helps.
slaam
12-08-2007, 12:35 PM
arggh can't move the recorded files off the HDD? disappointed.. anyone knows a DVR that can do that?
iMbEst
12-08-2007, 12:40 PM
arggh can't move the recorded files off the HDD? disappointed.. anyone knows a DVR that can do that?
that's to prevent piracy mah. But I think you can try taking out the HDD and access the files :D I was thinking if it's possible to replace the 120GB HDD to a bigger HDD, DIY of course....
sgdeals
12-08-2007, 04:05 PM
i have the reboot problem.....do i bring down to thomson and do a one to one swap???
just go there and swap for a new set? or they give a refurbished set?
anyone knowS?
One Question: How many kb/s while downloading with this 1m broadband.
Speedtest.net results are not needed. The thing ppl want to know here is how many kb/s that's all.
If you fellas are receiving consistent stable bandwith while downloading then i believe it's a good alternative to replace MOL for lite surfers.
Would really like to know the consistent kb/s speeds that hubstation members r getting, Both wireless and wired plz. Thanks.
iMbEst
16-09-2007, 01:14 AM
i have the reboot problem.....do i bring down to thomson and do a one to one swap???
just go there and swap for a new set? or they give a refurbished set?
anyone knowS?
they only exchange with you a new set if they can't repair the set.
no refurbished set i guess, coz they simply scrap it or return back to thomson.
buaysaikum
16-09-2007, 10:42 AM
I don't really need the 12Mbps MOL i'm subscribing to, 1Mbps should suffice.
But by terminating the MOL i'm giving up quite some perks and hubber discounts
1) Digital Voice - $9.80 + $7 (variable usage)
2) PV100 (2 lines) - $7.20
3) Cable TV - $9.20
total ~ $33/mth
the hubstation itself costs $304 (stating current promo), the DVR i dun think i using, the only shows i pause and rewind are JAVs.. haha
MOL 6Mbps costs $57/mth after hubber discount (assuming no 2 years plan discount, but they often bundle freebies along with 10% discount)
so if i go for hub stn package i need more than a year to break even. gain about $272 after 2 years....
but bear in mind, i'm also forgoing other goodies that is bundled with MOL 2 yrs plan, sometimes Xbox, sometimes ipod nanos, sometimes nokia phones.... (not laptop lar coz thats for MOL ultimate), which can easily cost $200 - $300...
in the end not much diff in terms of net asset position after 2 years... diff is the 1Mbps and 6 Mbps speed..
iMbEst
16-09-2007, 11:52 AM
Digital voice, can always get somebody else to subscribe to you, there are tons of people with MOL who doesn't require digital voice. But still, it's a VoIP, many many cheaper one....
what is PV100 huh?
if you're already paying so much to starhub, it may not be good offer at all. But for people like me who doesn't have anything to start with, it's really a good deal! :D
4xtemujin
16-09-2007, 12:13 PM
PV100 - power value 100, SH handphone subscription plan, 100 minutes free.
liangtam
16-09-2007, 01:26 PM
Just for the internet conn, 600/15 = $40. Not that cheap.
If buy hubstation w/o contract and 1Mbps complimentary dosn't extend beyond Dec 2008
iMbEst
16-09-2007, 01:38 PM
PV100 - power value 100, SH handphone subscription plan, 100 minutes free.
i'm jumping ship to M1 liao lor, nothing can beat corporate rates :D
my hubstation cost me $320. So $320/16 = $20/month only. Got it in August. not to mention the savings for a DVR + digital box :D but I haven't started my subscription with cable service yet.
steamywoks
16-09-2007, 03:48 PM
Starhub Hubstation from Thomson, Singtel miotv box from Motorola.
Adv of mio box is presence of HDMI output for high def broadcast. But it needs a modem ie 2wire to feed signals into it. The hubstation is all in one box, modem and set top built in, but needs another box for voice call and high def broadcast. In total, 3 boxes for starhub vs 2 boxes for Singtel. One day, there will be a all in one box for miotv without the need of the modem.
NightWish_
16-09-2007, 04:48 PM
but miotv channels are rubbish
iMbEst
17-09-2007, 12:05 AM
Starhub Hubstation from Thomson, Singtel miotv box from Motorola.
Adv of mio box is presence of HDMI output for high def broadcast. But it needs a modem ie 2wire to feed signals into it. The hubstation is all in one box, modem and set top built in, but needs another box for voice call and high def broadcast. In total, 3 boxes for starhub vs 2 boxes for Singtel. One day, there will be a all in one box for miotv without the need of the modem.
hubstation is not HD box mah, so you can't really compare. I think thomson already have HD DVR used in US already. How's the quality of HD recording in Mio Box?
steamywoks
19-09-2007, 02:25 AM
hubstation is not HD box mah, so you can't really compare. I think thomson already have HD DVR used in US already. How's the quality of HD recording in Mio Box?
HD recording on MioTV harddisk is exactly what u would get if u watch live. There is no losses in pic quality or sound. I was also pleasantly surprised to learn this when I recorded programme from Voom, a HD channel.
I hope Mediacorp will launch all channels in HD but still keep the existing just like what they did to Ch 5. HD 5 is same as Ch 5 but is in HD. Programmes made in HD will be really HD in HD5. Otherwise, the broadcast is upscale.
High Def and Standard Def broadcast are like heaven and hell, miles apart and so different esp in picture quality. Sound is also 5.1 but I still using TV speakers, so not much impact for me. HD is what TV should be.
steamywoks
19-09-2007, 02:36 AM
but miotv channels are rubbish
Not quite. Singtel should not replicate what Starhub offers. There is a market for Miotv.
Singtel Miotv and Mediacorp are close partners now, as Mediacorp CEO was once from Singtel. So both are like a big family, anything good will benefit both mutually. Also notice Sony has also joined in, just go to Sony Gallery and u will see them market miotv. Not forgetting u get a Sony Bravia V 32 inch when u sign up for a 10 MB singnet plan. Also remember how they use sony products when they publicise for High Definition in Channel 5. Watch News 5 Tonight and u will see a Sony LCD TV beside the newsreader.
MioTV has many video on demand titles made by Sony Entertainment.
So with 3 big entities, Singtel, Sony and Mediacorp, Starhub could be in for a tough fight ahead. Being a pioneer in pay tv just not guarantee eternity in market share. Subscribers base for starhub may be big now, but MioTV is a much better platform and fairer in pricing.
karlie
19-09-2007, 08:11 PM
Not quite. Singtel should not replicate what Starhub offers. There is a market for Miotv.
So with 3 big entities, Singtel, Sony and Mediacorp, Starhub could be in for a tough fight ahead. Being a pioneer in pay tv just not guarantee eternity in market share. Subscribers base for starhub may be big now, but MioTV is a much better platform and fairer in pricing.
Could, but is not yet.
First there are no programs on MIOTV (unlike you like crap just because it is HD)
Second there are no programs on MIOTV (unlike you like crap just because it is HD)
Until then...
iMbEst
19-09-2007, 08:33 PM
YES, mIOtv is solely for the HD gianz......a bit too early as an early adopter especially when there is no much sexciting programmes around.......if you subscribe it now, you're really financing the next wave of early adopters when they have more programmes in the pipelines....
steamywoks
20-09-2007, 12:17 AM
There is never a right time, subscribe later and somehow pple will start to say should wait later. If u want it, it doesn't matter what critics have to say. Just go get it !
iMbEst
20-09-2007, 12:32 AM
then must see if you really want it for the sake of wanting it lor.....well, it's yet another subjective question....
iMbEst
20-09-2007, 11:20 PM
ok guys, I itchy hand again thought the modem can work without the HDD.
so i plugged out the HDD power and turn on the hubstation, alright, it works....:D
the next thing I'm going to do is to split the modem out from the hubstation, the HDD is simply taking too much power liao. have yet to connect it to my projector and see if the Smartv can work without HDD....
trigoz
21-09-2007, 01:09 AM
ok guys, I itchy hand again thought the modem can work without the HDD.
so i plugged out the HDD power and turn on the hubstation, alright, it works....:D
the next thing I'm going to do is to split the modem out from the hubstation, the HDD is simply taking too much power liao. have yet to connect it to my projector and see if the Smartv can work without HDD....
IMbest,
You are really the best indeed. Do post you updates. Also any update on the ability to extract the recorded programs yet? TIA!
iMbEst
21-09-2007, 01:16 AM
that one need a lot of time lah, maybe this weekend I will try to extract some recorded stuff hehe....i want to change the fan first.
Maybe I shall extend the HDD power connector out and give it a switch. turn it on only when I need the DVR function hehe...
iMbEst
21-09-2007, 02:17 AM
ALRIGHT MAN, just now I hand itchy went to remove the SIM card, and u know what? the modem still work.
That means the modem is not an integrated part. what to do next?
find a power source for the modem itself, just for surflite1000 hehe....save electricity lah, no point powering up the whole hubstation just to surfnet mah.
trigoz
23-09-2007, 11:20 PM
ALRIGHT MAN, just now I hand itchy went to remove the SIM card, and u know what? the modem still work.
find a power source for the modem itself, just for surflite1000 hehe....save electricity lah, no point powering up the whole hubstation just to surfnet mah.
You mean the subscriber card which you need to insert to authenticate the legitimate user? Cool man...
Do post any updates on the ability to extract the recorded movies file too.
andmic04
26-09-2007, 02:46 PM
My maxonline contract had just ended, abit tempted to jump over to this hubstation promo( can watch scv programme and surf web for a smaller fee compare with my current subcription @ $58) that come with this complementary 1Mbps broadband service. But saw this small clause that mentioned this internet svc will ended at the end of dec2008. had anyone that took up this
offer recently checked with starhub if it mean by then, we will not have access to this service. anyone...any comment.....?
enriqueyang
26-09-2007, 04:01 PM
i have took up this service and its great, currently im a hubber myself the internet wise if u just use it for pure surfing and din watch much video online or downloading stuff.. i think should be ok... even watching youtube u can also use those utube videoaccelerator to help, if not just open a few window and allow them to load then later come back then whack everything.. till dec 2008 tt's like quite worth it already, comon we have about 14 months of free internet... if u count from now on...
hope this helps...
Treble
26-09-2007, 05:56 PM
why scared? if they dun give free, jump ship again lor, you got nothing to lose, but starhub has a huge market share to lose :D
arvind2568
01-10-2007, 01:23 PM
Can the hubstation be connected through a switch to my desktop and laptop?
I tried connecting both and only one of them works. Both Desktop and Laptop can't access the internet at the same time. Is there some configuration required?
megaweb
01-10-2007, 01:42 PM
I tried connecting both and only one of them works. Both Desktop and Laptop can't access the internet at the same time. Is there some configuration required?
Cannot. You need to use a Broadband Router with multiple ports switch.
Treble
01-10-2007, 02:06 PM
you need a router to assign all the IPs.....
arvind2568
02-10-2007, 06:01 PM
Any recommendation for a router that will work with hubstation? I just need 1 LAN Input with 2 LAN Outputs.
Marketplace has a lot of WiFi/Wireless/ADSL/DSL routers but can't find a LAN Router.
Thks.
Treble
02-10-2007, 06:07 PM
any cheap router + 4 port switch + wifi access point (if you need any) will do the job.
get 2nd hand from marketplace lor. dun get ADSL wifi router, those are all in 1, can only work with a telephone line hehe....
richneo
02-10-2007, 07:12 PM
Any recommendation for a router that will work with hubstation? I just need 1 LAN Input with 2 LAN Outputs.
Marketplace has a lot of WiFi/Wireless/ADSL/DSL routers but can't find a LAN Router.
Thks.
i tot starhub got mail out the voucher for dir-300 for existing hubstation users to buy it at $59 or get a voucher to buy dir-300 when u newly sign up for hubstation?
Dslayer
02-10-2007, 08:25 PM
Howard,
You got the HubS working with your linksys?
Thanks
Dslayer
02-10-2007, 08:28 PM
iMbest,
great job!
Do you have pics of the dismantled parts that you can share?
Will be following your footsteps soon if it is proven to work properly.
1 qns is ,
Since there is only 1 coaxial cable input, how do you intend to separate the Cable TV and the Modem side?
liangtam
02-10-2007, 08:47 PM
Think the demand for the modem will be more than the Hubstation, LOL.
iMbEst
02-10-2007, 09:19 PM
iMbest,
great job!
Do you have pics of the dismantled parts that you can share?
Will be following your footsteps soon if it is proven to work properly.
1 qns is ,
Since there is only 1 coaxial cable input, how do you intend to separate the Cable TV and the Modem side?
you just need a T10 trox with a hole at the center. and be careful when you dismantle it.
the internal part of the modem has coaxial connectors, so you can easily plug it out, but I haven't plugged it out myself yet, and you may need a converter for it, which is easily available.
this hubstation is taking too much electricity. The modem shall be separated! :D
Dslayer
02-10-2007, 10:28 PM
true,
but i guess any other modem with a similar MACID would also be able to surf as well.
Think the demand for the modem will be more than the Hubstation, LOL.
Dslayer
02-10-2007, 10:31 PM
A picture of the Hubstation dissassembled would be good for all of us here if you can provide one.
rgrds
you just need a T10 trox with a hole at the center. and be careful when you dismantle it.
the internal part of the modem has coaxial connectors, so you can easily plug it out, but I haven't plugged it out myself yet, and you may need a converter for it, which is easily available.
this hubstation is taking too much electricity. The modem shall be separated! :D
iMbEst
02-10-2007, 10:39 PM
already posted long time ago....
http://www.xtremeplace.com/yabbse/index.php?topic=47432.0
chercm
03-10-2007, 06:35 AM
already posted long time ago....
http://www.xtremeplace.com/yabbse/index.php?topic=47432.0
http://img408.imageshack.us/img408/2691/spa0011kq9.jpg
http://img529.imageshack.us/img529/381/spa0015sb4.jpg
http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/9527/spa0018mc0.jpg
Dslayer
03-10-2007, 06:36 PM
Thank You!
kimlau
05-10-2007, 09:55 PM
Juz got the hubstation, am questioning about electricity consumption, and the box is still hot in standby mode. Its silly not to provide on/off mode to smartTV....recording is always on, please correct me if I am wrong.
Internet speed is good... average download speed encountered is 15kbs.
in extreme need to find a way to separate the modem. please elaborate.
thanks
iMbEst
06-10-2007, 01:26 AM
15KB/s is sai lah. I'm getting 110-120KB/s max for peak throughput. But somebody got a magix box which starhub forgot to "turn off" hehe.....
I did a small check on the modem yesterday, it's not easy to separate the modem, there is a wire which is hard-soldered to the motherboard......may need to do some testing before I do any further dismantle. But first of all, I need to get a SCV point to RCA converter, any idea where to buy it?
Just bought a power meter from UK, will measure the exact power consumption of this HOT babe.....:D
justjohnnygamer
06-10-2007, 02:28 AM
Attention HubStation users. I'm after a few more HubStation users to join my speedtesting team. However some people have been hesitatant to join as they don't want to expose their MSN contact details. I have some good news. I can provide you with instructions on how you can still join my speedtesting team, still use MSN, and still not leak any sensitive info...
0. Sign up for a new MSN account here:
http://www.hotmail.com/
Put in fake information. DO NOT PUT IN ANY SENSITIVE INFORMATION.
1. Download and install Messenger Plus! Live from here:
http://www.msgpluslive.net/
This is just one feature that Messenger Plus! Live is capable of
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Messenger_Plus!_Live
Multiple instances
It allows the user to to open multiple instances of the Messenger Client on the same computer so one can sign into more than one account at once. This feature is also known as messenger polygamy.[1]
2. Sign into your new MSN account using Messenger Plus! Live.
3. Send me a PM and tell me that you would like to join the speedtesting team(no more MaxOnline Express $59.92/month 6Mbps/256Kbps users please) and then wait for me to PM you back with details. Try this direct link here:
Send a private message to justjohnnygamer (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/private.php?do=newpm&u=270798)
Toons
07-10-2007, 09:50 PM
Thinking of getting this hubstation for my room on top of the digital setup box in my living room. Was told that i need to pay $8+ every month for duplication of service or something. Else the hubstation will not be activated and cannot even record those 'free to air' channels like 5, 8, U.
I don't need to watch SCV in my room, just want to use the hubstation as a hdd recorder for free to air channels. Any idea if it is true? Sounds really wierd that i need to pay to use it to record free to air channels when i already bought it.
Treble
08-10-2007, 12:30 PM
$8+ is content mapping, but free-to-air channels and 4 other free SCV channels are there for you to use, together with the free surflite1000 broadband.
anyway, my friend told me it cost $6+ for the electricity if you turn it on for 24 hours......you could probably save 10-15% of it if you put it in standby......
towtan
09-10-2007, 12:07 PM
Thinking of getting this hubstation for my room on top of the digital setup box in my living room. Was told that i need to pay $8+ every month for duplication of service or something. Else the hubstation will not be activated and cannot even record those 'free to air' channels like 5, 8, U.
I don't need to watch SCV in my room, just want to use the hubstation as a hdd recorder for free to air channels. Any idea if it is true? Sounds really wierd that i need to pay to use it to record free to air channels when i already bought it.It would be better off for you to buy a digital recorder for recording of free to air TV programmes.
iMbEst
09-10-2007, 10:07 PM
this one got dual tuner, normal louya DVR dun have :D
Toons
10-10-2007, 08:56 AM
It would be better off for you to buy a digital recorder for recording of free to air TV programmes.
Yea. I went down to the hubshop to clarify the whole thing and was told that the hubstation needs a cable tv subscription to work. Without a valid cable tv subscription, you can't even watch free to air channels via the hubstation. So in my case, if i don't want to pay the $8+, then i cannot use the hubstation to record even free to air channels. :(
So if ever i stop my cable tv subscription, the hubstation will become a white elephant ...
Not sure about the internet though since someone did mention that the modem is separate or something.
Treble
10-10-2007, 12:40 PM
Yea. I went down to the hubshop to clarify the whole thing and was told that the hubstation needs a cable tv subscription to work. Without a valid cable tv subscription, you can't even watch free to air channels via the hubstation. So in my case, if i don't want to pay the $8+, then i cannot use the hubstation to record even free to air channels. :(
So if ever i stop my cable tv subscription, the hubstation will become a white elephant ...
Not sure about the internet though since someone did mention that the modem is separate or something.
which guy you talked to? he ought to be slapped up down left right.
So many hubstation owner without cable TV subscriptions are using it happily, starhub even throw in 4 free channels on top of the free-to-air channels. :s22:
iMbEst
14-10-2007, 11:12 AM
I don't need to watch SCV in my room, just want to use the hubstation as a hdd recorder for free to air channels. Any idea if it is true? Sounds really wierd that i need to pay to use it to record free to air channels when i already bought it.
I have been using my hubstation for months without any subscription, even when I registered by new cable TV subscription, they dun even have the record of my hubstation :s22: There are 4 free channels + free-to-air channels + free internet whenever you have a hubstation.
Anyway, some new findings on power consumption of this babe....
http://www.xtremeplace.com/yabbse/index.php?topic=47432.0;all
enriqueyang
15-10-2007, 11:25 PM
well all the more reason they should upgrade their bandwidth since more and more people got hubstation to share the bandwidth and perhaps allow those with hub club member with higher bandwidth for their hubstation... perhaps 2mb, 3mb?
Treble
16-10-2007, 12:41 PM
pay for it,then you will have it :D
enriqueyang
16-10-2007, 01:35 PM
pay for it,then you will have it :D
lol i already have mol premium, its a matter of them having to show some loyalty reward and appreciation to us the hub club member and etc man...
1mb is wayyyyyy to slow...
Treble
16-10-2007, 05:11 PM
unfortunately, you're financing the hubstation users... :D
but if you're already on MOL, your hubstation will be able to tap the high speed too, if i'm not wrong, somebody posted b4.
enriqueyang
16-10-2007, 05:27 PM
can meh? i test dl already its less than 1mb.... sian...
Treble
16-10-2007, 06:01 PM
go complain them lah. got 1 guy even canceled his MOL yet manage to use his hubstation at super high speed.....
enriqueyang
16-10-2007, 06:05 PM
hhhhhha
i wont wana cancel mol
since im alrady hub club member
evtime i call them up they come check my modemn, cable etc.. then check their distribution point
and it get better, but then recently it got worse again....
perhaps i think its best i upgrade to MOL ultimate.. so that i can use uncapped version...
liangtam
16-10-2007, 11:46 PM
Hubstation 1Mbps conn ish free ma, complimentary serbice.
Treble
17-10-2007, 12:37 PM
MOL ultimate? you download porn ah? why waste so much $$$ on free broadband?
largeresource
17-10-2007, 01:08 PM
NO HDTV recording and HDTV support
in future if they support HDTV
need to BUY AGAIN!
lionelow
17-10-2007, 01:17 PM
Just took the free hubstation offer and will come on saturday.
I will guess that they will again have free HDTV hubstation when HDTV get popular.
ngsoonle
17-10-2007, 01:55 PM
Question:Can recorded programs be exported out of the hard disk?
Power consumption so huge?
enriqueyang
17-10-2007, 02:13 PM
Just took the free hubstation offer and will come on saturday.
I will guess that they will again have free HDTV hubstation when HDTV get popular.
lololol well there's hdtv with recoder available in the market already if im not wrong, just a matter of them releasing more hdtv channel to be more worthwhile for anyone to get hd set top box or hd "hub station"
enriqueyang
17-10-2007, 02:20 PM
MOL ultimate? you download porn ah? why waste so much $$$ on free broadband?
not porn, becos dun watch porn lolx just that i play alot of games and use internet very heavily, somemore times that by 3 or 4 becos of my other family at home using internet as well
iMbEst
18-10-2007, 09:12 PM
online game needs so much bandwidth one meh?
enriqueyang
18-10-2007, 10:18 PM
hmmm some game need high speed connection and low ping which starhub seems to be unable to do so..
liangtam
18-10-2007, 10:20 PM
hmmm some game need high speed connection and low ping which starhub seems to be unable to do so..
Some only lor, which is like less than 5, 10% of all the games available?? B/w ish not that impt, but latency ish.
Treble
19-10-2007, 12:27 PM
I am playing KartRider, with BT running at the background at 90% of my bandwidth, no problem leh.
enriqueyang
19-10-2007, 12:52 PM
I am playing KartRider, with BT running at the background at 90% of my bandwidth, no problem leh.
ur connection how much u get for BT? and which line u using? the free internet from hubstation?
Treble
19-10-2007, 01:59 PM
yes, free 1Mbps one.
Connection for BT behind was running at 80-90KB/s. maybe I will try again tonight when it hit > 110KB/s.
cyentze
22-11-2007, 06:47 PM
Wondering if I buy the HubStation from someone (not Starhub), will I need to get Starhub to do anything to activate it ? Is it ok (legal) ? As in will Starhub penalise me and the seller ?
liangtam
22-11-2007, 06:54 PM
No rly any penalties or whatsoever. It should be already pre-activated to watch free channels and internet. However, buying 2nd hand will depend on the condition as per agreed and how well the seller maintained.
Treble
22-11-2007, 07:01 PM
if you want to buy 2nd hand, buy the unopened one or the really koyak one, so you can exchange for a brand new set! lol!
I got an unopened set, but it spoiled on the spot, so I actually got a brand new set as replacement :D seller paid my damage of $30.....
daristan
24-11-2007, 04:12 PM
hi, today came across this Hubstation found it maybe what i need &ni interested to get the starhub cable TV promotion to get the set at $305
http://www.starhub.com/portal/site/HubVillage/menuitem.8314480120af77b7eaaf3b608324a5a0/?vgnextoid=e2fd1840a0e3c010VgnVCM10000038425a0aRCRD&vgnextfmt=ItemCMId%3A92522a7e3e1e3110VgnVCM100000464114acRCRD
however i need to verify is the free 1Mbps broadband access is 24/7 as i cannot find any info on SurfLite1000 plan
is it good enough for wii or Xbox live game? although most of the time will be surfing for me.
so from my calculation 3 basic group and digital voice should be around $36.68 right?
for next 24 months
presently i using the Maxonline Premium with free digital voice which contract end 23rd dec07, so if i swap to this do i need to pay any activation fess or installation fees or other charges?. thanks
buaysaikum
24-11-2007, 05:03 PM
the hubstn can just sell away?
not much use for it leh... but if i sell away then the admin procedures how?
will be getting the hub stn on 30th
steamywoks
25-11-2007, 12:11 AM
i am considering signing up for Hubstation, anyone using the hubstation to record free to air programmes could answer my query:
How many programmes can the hubstation record at any one time?
MioTV I am now using can record 2 programmes which are running at the same time on 2 channels. I then have to tune in to either channel to watch TV. This is due to bandwidth limitations on mio.
Does HS allow user to select prog to record from a on screen TV guide? Do I have to select channel, time start and time end for the recording?
For Mio, there is on screen TV guide and recording can be initiated by selecting the prog without having to input the start and end time.
iMbEst
25-11-2007, 10:19 AM
the hubstn can just sell away?
not much use for it leh... but if i sell away then the admin procedures how?
will be getting the hub stn on 30th
how much you want to let go? no admin procedures needed. I got mine just like that. thinking of getting it for my ln-laws.
hubstation is using a very simple EPG GUI only. But it's very easy to use. MioTV is some embedded customized GUI.
MioTV can record as many as possible subject to bandwidth limitation. SCV is using cable, so tuner is needed for each recording. Hubstation has 2 tuners, 1 for you to do schedule recording, 1 for you to do real time FF BW Pause etc.
You can specific the time or just pick the programme you want to record, subject to the availability of EPG. But sometimes I find that there is some slight synchronization problem with the time of hubstation vs the broadcast timing, nevertheless, it's not a serious issue. The only thing I hate is....no matter what, you need to plug in to the cable point in order to use the hubstation....
buaysaikum
27-11-2007, 12:13 PM
how much you want to let go? no admin procedures needed. I got mine just like that. thinking of getting it for my ln-laws.
hubstation is using a very simple EPG GUI only. But it's very easy to use. MioTV is some embedded customized GUI.
MioTV can record as many as possible subject to bandwidth limitation. SCV is using cable, so tuner is needed for each recording. Hubstation has 2 tuners, 1 for you to do schedule recording, 1 for you to do real time FF BW Pause etc.
You can specific the time or just pick the programme you want to record, subject to the availability of EPG. But sometimes I find that there is some slight synchronization problem with the time of hubstation vs the broadcast timing, nevertheless, it's not a serious issue. The only thing I hate is....no matter what, you need to plug in to the cable point in order to use the hubstation....
how much is it worth? looking for a fair deal....
but its linked to my cable TV account rite? like that if i sell away and use the original digital set top box then i have to pay $12 every mth for the 2nd decoder? or do i call SH up to disconnect the hubstn?
Treble
27-11-2007, 12:38 PM
if you attached your SCV account to the hubstation, you need to call in to disconnect it, unless you dun mind the seller share your SCV subscriptions :D
yah, I think you need to pay the content mapping fee if you do not own any digital box, but i think you can subscribe to a digital channel to get a new digital box for free.
as for how much would it worth, it depends on the demand vs supply. There are people who let go at $200+, I got mine for $300+, some naive buyers paid $400+ or $500+ for it. Fair or not, subject to individuals.
alxchn13
21-03-2008, 01:48 PM
IMbest: Hi, just wanna check if you have tried changing the harddisk? 120gb is really small... Thx-in--adv!
iMbEst
22-03-2008, 01:17 AM
alamak, cannot just change HDD like that one de neh.....coz there are OS loaded inside if i'm not wrong.
From my observation, regardless of the hdd you install. 50+ mins is the limit they set for recording programmes, the rest would be used for real time recording. I think it's capped at 13hr+ and then it will wrap around liaoz.
NightWish_
22-03-2008, 01:41 AM
whats the code to optimise the HDD for hubstation again?
i lost the previous thread of hubstation
Reborn
22-03-2008, 08:48 AM
What do you mean by it will wrap around? 13hr+ is refering to what? 50+ mins? so few?
alamak, cannot just change HDD like that one de neh.....coz there are OS loaded inside if i'm not wrong.
From my observation, regardless of the hdd you install. 50+ mins is the limit they set for recording programmes, the rest would be used for real time recording. I think it's capped at 13hr+ and then it will wrap around liaoz.
Reborn
22-03-2008, 08:49 AM
default is 000000 if i'm not wrong.
whats the code to optimise the HDD for hubstation again?
i lost the previous thread of hubstation
eddy2099sg
22-03-2008, 09:46 AM
That is not my experience. For LiveTV, it would record up to 2 hours then loopback so you will always have a max of 2 hours which you can rewind to provided you do not change the channel. Once you change the channel, it will start from the beginning.
I do not think there is a 50 minutes limit to recording programmes because generally most shows are longer than that. I record shows were are over 2 hours long and also set to record by time for 4 to 6 hours block with no problem.
Personally the 60 hours is good enough for me because I do go watch the show I record and delete them after I do. If you need a personal store then maybe getting a DVD recorder to record the shows which were saved in the Hubstation would be the way to go.
iMbEst
23-03-2008, 01:13 AM
That is not my experience. For LiveTV, it would record up to 2 hours then loopback so you will always have a max of 2 hours which you can rewind to provided you do not change the channel. Once you change the channel, it will start from the beginning.
I do not think there is a 50 minutes limit to recording programmes because generally most shows are longer than that. I record shows were are over 2 hours long and also set to record by time for 4 to 6 hours block with no problem.
Personally the 60 hours is good enough for me because I do go watch the show I record and delete them after I do. If you need a personal store then maybe getting a DVD recorder to record the shows which were saved in the Hubstation would be the way to go.
sorry, i meant 50+hr....not mins hehe....
enriqueyang
13-04-2008, 09:38 AM
what do u all mean by optimise and all? meaning video shrink to small size, so can record longer? does image quality drop as well?
chuppachop
13-04-2008, 02:06 PM
what do u all mean by optimise and all? meaning video shrink to small size, so can record longer? does image quality drop as well?
optimise mean re-format, all your recordings wil be wiped out.
perform it only when u have problem with the hard disk where picture freezes on-and-off.
bungleboy
13-04-2008, 07:50 PM
yes, free 1Mbps one.
Connection for BT behind was running at 80-90KB/s. maybe I will try again tonight when it hit > 110KB/s.
May I know what setting for the port forwarding are you using to acheive this BT speed?
Thanks!
daristan
13-04-2008, 09:50 PM
Anybody know the code for hubstation for my Universal Remote?
iMbEst
14-04-2008, 12:17 AM
Anybody know the code for hubstation for my Universal Remote?
siami code?! can't your universal remote learnt from the original control?
Success
06-05-2008, 01:46 PM
Can someone give a step by step guide to copy the programmes you recorded in the Hubstation?
Thanks.
Success
06-05-2008, 02:33 PM
Found the answer.
Page 11
http://cabletv2.starhub.com/CustomerCare/HubStatnOnline.pdf
sAxman_Returns
09-05-2008, 01:25 PM
those who bought recently at $300+ with 24 months contract can all go bang wall.......$197 without contract now...:s22:
cwongwh
09-05-2008, 02:40 PM
wait first...gonna drop to $97 soon :s13:
joanlee
09-05-2008, 02:43 PM
those who bought recently at $300+ with 24 months contract can all go bang wall.......$197 without contract now...:s22:
It's $197 with 24 months contract ah
hotnyh
09-05-2008, 03:22 PM
When Starhub first launched the Hubstation, they promised that they would soon implement a "Record by Series" function. There is even a screen shot on their Hubstation website that shows this feature on screen but there has still been no implementation of this service. When I wrote in to ask if they would ever release this feature, this is the reply I got-
Thank you for your e-mail.
We sincerely apologise for our late reply.
With regard to your query, we seek to explain that we have since
forwarded your feedback to the relevant department and they are
looking into this and will take into consideration for future
implementations.
If you have any questions on our StarHub Digital Cable and MaxOnline
services, please email to this address or fax in to 6725 1603.
What a load of crap.....
sAxman_Returns
09-05-2008, 06:37 PM
It's $197 with 24 months contract ah
still bangz.....:s13:
at 197 with a contract that need to pay 24 a month for the basic tier .. seems expensive right
eddy2099sg
10-05-2008, 08:32 AM
at 197 with a contract that need to pay 24 a month for the basic tier .. seems expensive right
Well, it would depend. If you do not want or do not already have Cabletv then it probably is not worth paying for the $24/mth for the cabletv subscription.
However if you are already a subscriber then it does not cost you anything more than what you are already paying.
Don't go for the hubstation just because of the free 1mbps broadband if you do not want cabletv.
sAxman_Returns
10-05-2008, 10:13 AM
Well, it would depend. If you do not want or do not already have Cabletv then it probably is not worth paying for the $24/mth for the cabletv subscription.
However if you are already a subscriber then it does not cost you anything more than what you are already paying.
Don't go for the hubstation just because of the free 1mbps broadband if you do not want cabletv.
nope, if I already have cable TV subscription so what? Once I'm on contract, I can't jump out of it anytime I want :s22: until 24 months later min......:s22:
slang
10-05-2008, 11:00 PM
for hubstation vs DVD-recorder, which will u guys go for?
I wish to record tv program and also watch another channel in fact...and this can b done by the hubstation.
Can a dvd recorder do this?
I am actually more keen on a dvd-recorder with dvd-rw/R/HDD 80GB as it offers me to watch the recorded show in another room using a dvd player.
is getting a splitter a solution?if yes, we would need additional cables to hook them all up?
please help...thanks!!
enriqueyang
10-05-2008, 11:28 PM
someone need to hack the hubstation and docode it in order to allow us to swap for bigger size hdd for recording.. i doubt we can just replace the hdd rite?
sAxman_Returns
11-05-2008, 03:29 AM
I wish to record tv program and also watch another channel in fact...and this can b done by the hubstation.
I am actually more keen on a dvd-recorder with dvd-rw/R/HDD 80GB as it offers me to watch the recorded show in another room using a dvd player.
is getting a splitter a solution?if yes, we would need additional cables to hook them all up?
please help...thanks!!
the only diff between the 2 is......
You can't get things out from hubstation in physical copy......that's all :s22:
eddy2099sg
11-05-2008, 07:30 AM
nope, if I already have cable TV subscription so what? Once I'm on contract, I can't jump out of it anytime I want :s22: until 24 months later min......:s22:
Well, it should not be 24 months later because 24 months means you just got into the cable tv subscription contract :s13:
But I get what you said. In my case, I was lucky as my contract ended a while ago but my MOL Express contract had 2 more months to go at that time but I decided to go with the Hubstation anyways to see if the 1mbps is good enough for me. On the day the MOL Express contract ended, I called up SH to cancel it and go exclusively on Hubstation.
Can't really find much difference with the 1mbps or the 8mbps from the MOL.
eddy2099sg
11-05-2008, 08:31 AM
please help...thanks!!
Well, the Hubstation comes with 2 tuners so that is why it allows you to watch one show and record another in the background. A Dvd Recorder plugged to the cable box would only allow you to record the current show you are watching.
You can use a spilter on the cable set up box but it would simply replicate the same show you watch on the main tv, it will not allow you to watch two shows.
The solution would be to pay the additional $8+ a month to rent a second set up box which you can hook up to your dvd player.
What I have is one hubstation + one dvd recorder. I would have the hubstation record shows which I cannot watch because I am out at work or if the clashes with another show or I am sleeping at that time. Then I will record what I can watch to the dvd recorder.
The only way you can make a permanent copy of the show in the hubstation would be to play it in real time then record it to your dvd recorder.
slang
11-05-2008, 11:45 AM
Thanks eddy2099sg for the explanation...dint know it is so complicated...
getting additional setup box or hubstation+dvd recorder is not the way to go for me as I have limited space
for those boxes...
seems like the whole thing is pretty screwed up here...
anyway thanks again!
sAxman_Returns
11-05-2008, 12:20 PM
i can't be bothered, just go with the hubstation will never go wrong. more than 50hr of recording space, waliew, you want to keep so many hr of recorded show meh?
watch liao, delete lor. or wait til it has not enough space the delete lor.
confused
11-05-2008, 03:32 PM
Does anyone know what's the maximum hours of recording you can do at BEST quality?
Thanks.
Find the 120GB HDD rather limiting.
sAxman_Returns
11-05-2008, 03:36 PM
Does anyone know what's the maximum hours of recording you can do at BEST quality?
Thanks.
Find the 120GB HDD rather limiting.
it's a 160GB min, but only 120GB is used for recording. 55hr if i'm not wrong :D
eddy2099sg
11-05-2008, 04:36 PM
The Hubstation does not allow you to change quality, there is only the default which is probably best. 2gb per hour.
In any case, if there are any shows you think is worthwhile you keep, you can hook the hubstation to your dvd recorder and then record while you watch the show. Once it is recorded on your dvd recorder, just delete it off your hubstation. Those you think is not worthwhile recording, you can delete it.
daristan
24-05-2008, 10:31 AM
i want to transfer my children VCD to hubstation, think there is one type of cable that 1 side the the yellow, red and white while the other side is the input for normal TV, but this type of cable hard to find, anybody knows where to get? and the price?
megaweb
24-05-2008, 10:51 AM
i want to transfer my children VCD to hubstation, think there is one type of cable that 1 side the the yellow, red and white while the other side is the input for normal TV, but this type of cable hard to find, anybody knows where to get? and the price?
Hubstation is a DVR which recording programmes from SH only and not external input.
eddy2099sg
24-05-2008, 10:56 AM
The only input for the Hubstation is the Cable Connection. It does not allow you to transfer from other sources as it does not have a dvd drive or the likes.
What you would need is not a hubstation but a Harddisk based DVD Recorder.
ngweimin
27-05-2008, 10:44 AM
If I'm using Hubstation, can I not use the Hubstation as the cable modem and use a seperate cable modem for Internet access? Anyone tried this before?
liangtam
27-05-2008, 11:25 AM
If I'm using Hubstation, can I not use the Hubstation as the cable modem and use a seperate cable modem for Internet access? Anyone tried this before?
Of cos ish.......
cannot lah
sAxman_Returns
27-05-2008, 12:17 PM
@ 2Mbps somemore v:Dv
eddy2099sg
27-05-2008, 01:50 PM
Well, if you have a separate paid plan like the Surflite or the MOL plans, you can of course not use the Hubstation cable modem.
However, you cannot move the free 1mbps surflite from the hubstation to an external modem. There is really no need to do so unless you need the paid versions of the cable modem.
If you are worried about not getting any internet access when you put the hubstation on standby mode, you do not have to worry, as long as it is on, the modem is on.
Using one hubstation would reduce the number of devices you need to power and save some electricity and you do not need a spilter for that too.
tualobang
27-05-2008, 11:46 PM
hi,
wonder if hubstation can stream video recorded to a pc?
i.e. i record a show on hubstation, and view the program via pc via home network
sAxman_Returns
28-05-2008, 12:17 AM
hi,
wonder if hubstation can stream video recorded to a pc?
i.e. i record a show on hubstation, and view the program via pc via home network
nope, coz the only video output from hubstation is only component, s-viceo etc. Just like a normal DVD player.
eddy2099sg
28-05-2008, 05:56 AM
Although the hubstation comes with the Cable TV and Cable Modem components, they are basically distinct components in the player and does not integrated together. That means what is recorded via Cable TV can only be viewed through the hubstation. It does offer 3 outputs, RCA, RF and Composite. You can use them simultaneously.
Basically, what I did was to attach the hubstation to my DVD Recorder via the RCA cable then from the DVD to my TV. If you could use the various connections provided by the Hubstation to your TV Card on your PC if you have one. Alternatively, you can buy one of those harddisk based DVD Recorder like those sold by Bizgram http://www.bizgram.com/retailhwzpromo.htm . Bottom left. You can connect it to the hubstation so you can record from the hubstation the show and then connect it to one of your pc so that you can view the show on your pc or via your network.
sAxman_Returns
28-05-2008, 11:32 PM
dunno why websites still lagging......
http://www.speedtest.net/result/276967039.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/276964434.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/276965083.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/276965640.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
sAxman_Returns
28-05-2008, 11:32 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/276963647.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
eddy2099sg
29-05-2008, 04:46 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/277091602.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/277092207.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/277092603.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
eddy2099sg
29-05-2008, 04:48 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/277093135.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://www.speedtest.net/result/277093666.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
sAxman_Returns
29-05-2008, 07:39 AM
eddy2099sg, you using hubstation?
eddy2099sg
29-05-2008, 07:59 AM
Yes, I am using the hubstation only. Gave up my MOL Express in April 08 since I do not need the speed.
Christmas3
29-05-2008, 09:11 AM
I hv a linksys310 wireless modem connected to the hubstation and setup on my laptop. Sometimes it shows that it is searching for IP address and sometimes though says connected on my laptop but I still can't seem to surf the internet. Anybody can help?
eddy2099sg
29-05-2008, 10:31 AM
I hv a linksys310 wireless modem connected to the hubstation and setup on my laptop. Sometimes it shows that it is searching for IP address and sometimes though says connected on my laptop but I still can't seem to surf the internet. Anybody can help?
I am not familiar with the Linksys 310 but the Hubstation already comes incorporated with a Cable Modem and thus you do not need another modem.
If however when you refer to the linksys, you are referring to a wireless router then that fine. However if the Linksys 310 is a wireless network adapter then you need to get a wireless router because the hubstation does not have built-in wireless facility.
I am using an old WRT54G Router but I had the same problem with you. The problem appears to be with the router rather than the modem itself. When I plug my computer directly to the hubstation everything works.
I had to upgrade the firmware of the router to get it working. I am not sure if that would work for you.
Christmas3
29-05-2008, 11:34 AM
I am not familiar with the Linksys 310 but the Hubstation already comes incorporated with a Cable Modem and thus you do not need another modem.
If however when you refer to the linksys, you are referring to a wireless router then that fine. However if the Linksys 310 is a wireless network adapter then you need to get a wireless router because the hubstation does not have built-in wireless facility.
I am using an old WRT54G Router but I had the same problem with you. The problem appears to be with the router rather than the modem itself. When I plug my computer directly to the hubstation everything works.
I had to upgrade the firmware of the router to get it working. I am not sure if that would work for you.
Yeah sorry mine's a wireless router. I will try to update the firmware and see if it helps. Thks!
sAxman_Returns
29-05-2008, 12:17 PM
how did you achieve this crazy speed with hubstation?!!! i thought max only 2Mbps?
eddy2099sg
29-05-2008, 12:38 PM
I really go no idea, all I know was that about 2 weeks ago, my download rates via speedtest and actual download speed actually went up quite a lot. That happened when I accidentally switched off my hubstation instead of my fan at the main switch.
By right, the free surflite from the hubstation is supposed to be max at 1mbps and the paid surflite is 2mbps.
In any case, I am definitely not complaining. Last night on the tv, I did see the message to do an off/on restart of my hubstation but I did not want to go through that as it may bring my speed back to normal ;)
sAxman_Returns
29-05-2008, 06:45 PM
haha, but sooner or later, you will be forced to turn it off one. :s22:
liangtam
29-05-2008, 06:58 PM
Since you're getting more than what you're paying for, of cos no complains lah...
No need to manually on off one. They will force ur device to reboot from their side..
enriqueyang
29-05-2008, 07:11 PM
haha, but sooner or later, you will be forced to turn it off one. :s22:
force? hha, btw they should give hubstation at least 2mbps...
and mayb option to mayb "upgrade" to higherbandwidth.... at mayb 5 or 6 at mayb 20 bucks top up lolx
enriqueyang
29-05-2008, 07:15 PM
do u guys realise, recently starhub is farking slow again... last time hubstation can hit the rate of 100k without any problem... now it drops to 60+ only...
the mol is worse... =.=
eddy2099sg
29-05-2008, 10:32 PM
SH got a Surflite 2mbps paid plan and the Hubstation has the 1mbps free plan. So if they upgrade the hubstation to 2mbps officially, they will shooting their own foot.
Anyways, I am not paying anything for my internet access so I cannot complain. I am happy with what I got.
enriqueyang
29-05-2008, 11:50 PM
SH got a Surflite 2mbps paid plan and the Hubstation has the 1mbps free plan. So if they upgrade the hubstation to 2mbps officially, they will shooting their own foot.
Anyways, I am not paying anything for my internet access so I cannot complain. I am happy with what I got.
they wont shoot their own foot, those who purchase hubstation pay for it leh...
hwzbee
30-05-2008, 12:58 AM
I just got my Hubstation today. Like what everyone says, its freaking hot. Any suggestion on which laptop cooler that is quiet and low power usage to connect to the USB port behind? Any with a on/off switch so can switch off when not needed (so no need to pull out usb or switch off main plug).
eddy2099sg
30-05-2008, 08:16 AM
they wont shoot their own foot, those who purchase hubstation pay for it leh...
Well, if you work on the numbers you see they will shoot their own foot.
The Surflite 2mbps cost $29.96 /mth while the Hubstation cost $197.95 (one time) with free surflite 1mbps till 31 Dec 2009 (24 month contract).
For the Surflite 2mbps , you will need to pay $29.96 x 24 = $719.04
With the Hubstation, you will be enjoying free internet till 31 Dec 2009 or roughly 18 months of free internet so for the 24 months contract you only need to pay for 6 months internet or $29.96 x 6 = $179.76 . This makes your total cost for your hubstation + 24 months surflite for $197.95 + $179.76 = $377.71 . Saving $341.33 if you opt for the hubstation instead of just the surflite 2mbps. In the end, you have a video recorder too.
If they offer 2mbps surflite for the hubstation for free, based on the calculation do you think that anyone would sign up for the Paid 2mbps surflite ?
sAxman_Returns
30-05-2008, 10:35 AM
eddy, they aren't. The purpose to launch Surflite at such a high price is to force people to buy and clear their hubstation stocks :D I am eagerly waiting for their HD DVR STB to come.....with free 2Mbps broadband of course! The current HD STB already have the modem built in, just that they never turned it on.....
liangtam
30-05-2008, 03:47 PM
Its all marketing. All the digital STB oso got ethernet port for such purpose.
sAxman_Returns
30-05-2008, 05:48 PM
yup, in other words, if they want to push you to buy a specific model, they will just grant you free internet access which adds $0 to them.....
enriqueyang
30-05-2008, 09:06 PM
lol okok, but do we have any thread here comparing those unlimted "mobile" broadband?
as in do a shootout between starhub, m1 and singtel, as in lets say which provider is faster or faster in certain area....
im thinking of getting maxmobile 2mb as it is so cheap, but im attracted to 7.2mb plan itself, has free 6 six months... lolx
is it really that good for maxmobile 7.2?
zhangjm
31-05-2008, 11:48 AM
Wah... today my free 1Mbs kee siao... hit over 200KBps consistently for a few times!!!
http://www.kianming.com/gallery2/d/9164-2/1Mbs.jpg
enriqueyang
31-05-2008, 11:53 AM
lol which area u stay then? usually i know that those who stay in non hdb building get higher bandwidth, as they are sharing with lesser people...
zhangjm
31-05-2008, 12:46 PM
I stay HDB clementi. never seen it hit so high before since I purchased it last year... hehe
ngweimin
31-05-2008, 01:14 PM
Anyone using the component video output for the Hubstation? I bought a component cable from Play Asia but when I hook it up to my TV there's only sound but no picture. Already checked the cables are plugged correctly and the TV is set to receive component video. Anyone else have the same problem? The normal composite video works fine though.
enriqueyang
31-05-2008, 01:30 PM
Anyone using the component video output for the Hubstation? I bought a component cable from Play Asia but when I hook it up to my TV there's only sound but no picture. Already checked the cables are plugged correctly and the TV is set to receive component video. Anyone else have the same problem? The normal composite video works fine though.
did u plug in audio cable seperately? or do u insert them in the right holes for both tv and hubstation???
ngweimin
31-05-2008, 01:35 PM
Already check the cables are correctly connected. I'm using component for my PS3 too so I know I definitely plugged it in correctly. Tried another component input on my TV but the same thing. Looks like the cable's faulty.
enriqueyang
31-05-2008, 01:39 PM
erm u need to plug into normal composite sound to ur tv...
ngweimin
31-05-2008, 02:23 PM
Yes I know. Sound inputs have no diff between composite and component.
sAxman_Returns
31-05-2008, 02:28 PM
Wah... today my free 1Mbs kee siao... hit over 200KBps consistently for a few times!!!
http://www.kianming.com/gallery2/d/9164-2/1Mbs.jpg
aiyo, very wols. it's > 2Mbps at my side since weeks ago lor......
depending on your seeders too....:s22:
so what are you downloading huh? Never put encryptions? :s22:
zhangjm
31-05-2008, 05:38 PM
what's wols?
I download all kinda stuff... some not convenient to say here also la. :P seeders is not the problem leh, but previously, the highest I ever hit with BT was prolly like 50kbs+. maybe they making some backbone changes... dunno why suddenly shoot so high... free gets even better!
encryption of course enable liao la! :P
Disincarnate
31-05-2008, 09:11 PM
does it do wireless?
sAxman_Returns
01-06-2008, 01:55 AM
what's wols?
I download all kinda stuff... some not convenient to say here also la. :P seeders is not the problem leh, but previously, the highest I ever hit with BT was prolly like 50kbs+. maybe they making some backbone changes... dunno why suddenly shoot so high... free gets even better!
encryption of course enable liao la! :P
wols = slow, not stating the speed but your action :s22:
er...my download speed is always quite full speed one, 110KB/s-125KB/s, never hit 128KB/s b4. But for the past few weeks, i have been hitting 250 or higher sometimes......not just BT, but even downloading apple movie quicktime trailers were damn fast......
Disincarnate, it's just a modem, not even a router, not to mention wireless...:s22:
YorYor
01-06-2008, 05:42 AM
Either some network guy made a mistake or StarHub is relaxing certain restrictions.
I was updating my Ubuntu from NUS repository and it was hitting 1MB download per sec.
That's 8Mbps... fantastic.
fattyboi
02-06-2008, 03:31 PM
Either some network guy made a mistake or StarHub is relaxing certain restrictions.
I was updating my Ubuntu from NUS repository and it was hitting 1MB download per sec.
That's 8Mbps... fantastic.
I am also hitting very fantastic speed for my Hubstation. Downloading from websites like Microsoft can hit about 2000+kb/sec.
Anyway, this is the Speedtest.net result for my Hubstation:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/278723767.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
sAxman_Returns
02-06-2008, 11:45 PM
I am also hitting very fantastic speed for my Hubstation. Downloading from websites like Microsoft can hit about 2000+kb/sec.
Anyway, this is the Speedtest.net result for my Hubstation:
http://www.speedtest.net/result/278723767.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
were you on MOL b4 using hubstation?
fattyboi
03-06-2008, 03:48 PM
were you on MOL b4 using hubstation?
Yes, but I haven't been using MOL since March 2006. So I guess the fantastic speed of my Hubstation is not related to my previous MOL connection.
sAxman_Returns
03-06-2008, 05:11 PM
dunno leh, seems like those who had super high speed used to have MOL connection. I didn't subscribe to any MOL, so only 2Mbps nia.
YorYor
03-06-2008, 06:07 PM
Try downloading something from the NUS repository.
I believe it's something to do with adding/relaxing the peering links they have all with the other networks.
Whatever the reason is, it can only be good for us. I don't think Hubstations are getting 2Mbps for non-boosted connections. I don't get 2mbps from fast overseas mirrors (like Heanet in Ireland).
sAxman_Returns
08-06-2008, 09:44 PM
anybody encountered ch 55 & 56 having signal problem? I got no problem for 255 and 256, dunno why 55 and 56 just can't receive signal anymore :(
ngweimin
11-06-2008, 01:12 AM
Does anyone have problems getting the component output of the hubstation to work? I've tried 2 different sets of cables and it doesn't display images but there is sound. I verified that the problem is not with my TV as I hooked up my PS3 via component to my TV. Anyone has the same problem?
liangtam
11-06-2008, 02:47 AM
anybody encountered ch 55 & 56 having signal problem? I got no problem for 255 and 256, dunno why 55 and 56 just can't receive signal anymore :(
My house also.
55, 56, 255, 256 all ok for me.
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.