PDA

View Full Version : Starhub Maxmobile Unlimited (/w Huawei E270) Review

Pages : 1 [2] 3

hangy2k
13-09-2007, 10:38 PM
anyone encounter difficulty get into friendster website using Maxmobile? i need to refresh many time before can load friendster website.. :s11:

edwin21
13-09-2007, 11:20 PM
just to check, is maxmobile using internal ip or public ip?

magix
14-09-2007, 10:57 AM
Internal IP. 10.x.x.x

magix
14-09-2007, 11:10 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/184388506.png
Over all the speed sometimes are quite good except timeout once awhile during surfing.

croc1977
15-09-2007, 11:32 AM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/184654983.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

my test..only unpack today since comex

can i use this as BT download?

VickyToh
15-09-2007, 12:23 PM
my test..only unpack today since comex

can i use this as BT download?
Trust me.... I've tested.... its a joke... but real sad thing is that the so-called 7.2Mbps Starhub Maxmobile is unable to let you BT smoothly at even 30kbps almost all of the time....

A 512Kbps Singnet ADSL could easilly beat MM's BT download speed anytime!!!!

SH MM for BT is far too slow..... cos SH capped it at very low.....can't even support MSN Live Messenger's Video Call properly too..... BroadBand Huh? Nay, it should be called "NarrowBand" instead.....

herm06
15-09-2007, 12:57 PM
Hi I'm thinking of getting an O2 XDA Zinc and subscribing to Maxmobile unlimited to have internet on the go. Being a SHMOL customer, I can get the modem for free + free 3 mths + 50% off for 21 mths.

Using the zinc, is the modem still required? Any advice on whether zinc + maxmobile would be a good idea?

Still very green to the technology, looking fwd to replies, thanks :)

FireHobbit
15-09-2007, 01:29 PM
seem like i am still on the 2g network..

Clock
15-09-2007, 02:33 PM
guys... i got problem.

Borrowed my friend's huawei modem. Plug into my laptop and the thing was detected as a CDROM.

It does not auto detect and install itself. Any help ?

OS is XP.

FireHobbit
15-09-2007, 03:25 PM
guys... i got problem.

Borrowed my friend's huawei modem. Plug into my laptop and the thing was detected as a CDROM.

It does not auto detect and install itself. Any help ?

OS is XP.

Mine also detect as CDrom but auto play after that.. maybe u wan to try unstall and install again.. or use the new firmware that is posted.. :s12: :s12:

liangtam
15-09-2007, 05:08 PM
Install using the setup installer from the Starhub folder inside the "CD Rom" drive.
Follow which, restart PC if Windows does not establish the link to modem.

Do use the 2 input USB connector for the purpose of installing.

FireHobbit
15-09-2007, 08:39 PM
New firmware is here :

http://www.starhub.com/online/maxmobile/downloads/E270Update_11.306.02.zip

tekster
16-09-2007, 02:01 AM
New firmware is here :

http://www.starhub.com/online/maxmobile/downloads/E270Update_11.306.02.zip

what does it update?

Xpermediatech
16-09-2007, 08:09 AM
Anyone giving up their SHMaxmobile...i willing to continue the contract based on trust pls PM me....

jteo03
16-09-2007, 08:26 AM
i'm using on my nokia e61i and notebook.
speedwise on notebook seems faster than my maxonline. at times it hangs on me though
anyway i sign up during the comex show, v.gd deal!
if u ave out, per mth u pay $18+.

FireHobbit
16-09-2007, 11:17 AM
what does it update?

3.3 Improvement in the previous version
V100R001B306D02SP00C00, based on Qualcomm release M7200BSKCBADZD3110,.this
version also solve some issues as below :
1) Solve the issue that dashboard can’t auto install on Toshiba S100 and M300.

3.4 New features
1) The firmware is based on Qualcomm commercial release M7200BSKCBADZD3110.
2) Disable the function of voice call.

3.5 Known limitations and issues
:s12: :s12:

jteo03
16-09-2007, 11:30 AM
forget to mention
my notebook dun seem to hv the 'safety remove' feature for the huawei modem

Alexter
16-09-2007, 11:35 AM
1. the waiver is something that has to be done, no questions asked - cos it's such an obvious mistake. guess it's kinda logical that they have to wait for the next bill cycle to reflect the waiver cos they can't manually adjust the bill. come to think abt it, there won't be much integrity in the bill if it can be manually amended, right?

2. SH doesn't charge recurring pymt deduction failure fees, so no worries there! maybe u can suspend your credit card (tell dbs u misplaced it and then call them after 9 sept to say u've found ur card) so that dbs won't charge u for failed deduction either? hmm..

3. i'm sure if u really need to subscribe for a new SH service, u can always call 1633 and ask for exceptional handling cos after all it is their billing mistake..

just my 2 cents worth.. no hard feelings! :s13:

well for his $62k case, because it over his credit card limit. so small problem.
i give a eg, if SH mistake his bill to $6k, and that is within his credit limit.
the bank will pay the SH, and charge into his credit bill which he had to pay off by mth end.

and the SH will not refund back the mistake in full, they will waive it in the next bills.
which mean, they will take the $6k as a prepaid and will deduct the monthly charges from there. hence if the monthly charge is $70(full price), it will take 7 yrs. unless he cancel the contract then they will refund the amount in 2-3months.

If he got no $6k to pay off the credit bill, there will be interest charges, will SH bear that?

hope those who think that he is make a mountain out of a mole hill, think again.

magix
16-09-2007, 11:36 AM
Oh Thanks for the firmware URL. My version is 11.306.01.00.00 when starhub new firmware is 11.306.02.00.00 dun know wanna take the risk to upgrade.

miltongoh
16-09-2007, 11:52 AM
well for his $62k case, because it over his credit card limit. so small problem.
i give a eg, if SH mistake his bill to $6k, and that is within his credit limit.
the bank will pay the SH, and charge into his credit bill which he had to pay off by mth end.

and the SH will not refund back the mistake in full, they will waive it in the next bills.
which mean, they will take the $6k as a prepaid and will deduct the monthly charges from there. hence if the monthly charge is $70(full price), it will take 7 yrs. unless he cancel the contract then they will refund the amount in 2-3months.

If he got no $6 to pay off the credit bill, there will be interest charges, will SH bear that?

hope those who think that he is make a mountain out of a mole hill, think again.

Yeah! That's the usual procedure from SH when they last charge me more than what I used. I guess it is the normal practice for all telcos and even service providers? Else, they have to write you a cheque to refund?

But $6K is not a small amount in general, there might be exception at times. :D

Alexter
16-09-2007, 11:57 AM
Yeah! That's the usual procedure from SH when they last charge me more than what I used. I guess it is the normal practice for all telcos and even service providers? Else, they have to write you a cheque to refund?

But $6K is not a small amount in general, there might be exception at times. :D

well for thr $62k case, if they going to do a exception i think the manager should had called back ASAP. and help him with the situation.
but had they do that?
or $62k too small of an amount?

miltongoh
16-09-2007, 12:02 PM
well for thr $62k case, if they going to do a exception i think the manager should had called back ASAP. and help him with the situation.
but had they do that?
or $62k too small of an amount?

That would really depend on how SH handle this situation. It is not within the reached of any 3rd party de mah. :D

kennyboy
16-09-2007, 12:50 PM
Anyone giving up their SHMaxmobile...i willing to continue the contract based on trust pls PM me....

trust? hehehhehe

there ain't no trust here my friend.... :s8:

littleprincey
16-09-2007, 02:23 PM
You cannot transfer the contract. SH MM people who signed up for it = pwned by SH

I do not like how Starhub charges for its products.

Instead of lowering the price, they gave free 3 months.

When you sign up for free 3 months, maybe they give free 6 months.

When you sign up for free 6 months promotions, they give free 12 months.

Enough said, I am canceling all my Starhub products in the future.

They do not treat loyal customers with deserved respect

At least Singtel BOM can offer free 2 months to customers who signed up before the offer.

Starhub literally tell you straight in the face "YOU ARE PWNED"

FireHobbit
16-09-2007, 05:58 PM
Oh Thanks for the firmware URL. My version is 11.306.01.00.00 when starhub new firmware is 11.306.02.00.00 dun know wanna take the risk to upgrade.]

From comex is the 11.306.01.00.00, the upgrade seem to make it more stable..

U can try :s12:

liangtam
16-09-2007, 06:09 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/184926609.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
Can get constant 400kilobyte per second downloading from Asiasoft server.

bigfoot
16-09-2007, 06:46 PM
after seeing all the reports by the brothers/sisters here, i am still undecided whether to take up the starhub maxmobile offer. It currently stands at free 3 months and the next 21 months 50% off. i am not a heavy user. just need a decent internet connection for my laptop as and when i need it. for singtel and M1, i am worried i may exceed the 5G and 10G restriction. Somehow i feel starhub is the truly unlimited. but feedback tell me the connection is not reliable.... hmm...

liangtam
16-09-2007, 06:56 PM
Connection ish roughly reliable actually, unless you're talking about the speeds.
I believe 50% is only for existing MOL users

WestGuy
16-09-2007, 08:25 PM
I'm really loving this service.

Has not disappointed me whether at home or in my office.

Best of all, i can easily download files hosted on Rapidshare.com

http://www.speedtest.net/result/184945223.png

forumics.net
16-09-2007, 10:58 PM
You cannot transfer the contract. SH MM people who signed up for it = pwned by SH

I do not like how Starhub charges for its products.

Instead of lowering the price, they gave free 3 months.

When you sign up for free 3 months, maybe they give free 6 months.

When you sign up for free 6 months promotions, they give free 12 months.

Enough said, I am canceling all my Starhub products in the future.

They do not treat loyal customers with deserved respect

At least Singtel BOM can offer free 2 months to customers who signed up before the offer.

Starhub literally tell you straight in the face "YOU ARE PWNED"

i bought my hp a year ago, when i first bought it, it was $800. i had agreed to the purchase price of $800 and accepted the price upon purchase, there was no gun held to my head upon purchase and i decided to purchase it out of my own interests.

1 mth after purchase, the hp price dropped to $500. soon after, it became $200 and now it is a free phone.

i decided not to call nokia and make a fuss cause...
NOKIA literally tell you straight in the face "YOU ARE PWNED"

laihuattan
17-09-2007, 01:33 AM
For the StarHub CS team, it's case-closed. They will waive off (Cr) the amount in the next billing cycle. Note that they are unable to do anything to the current billing cycle. Any credit/waiver/auto-deduct-termination will only take effect in the next billing cycle, as usual.

So what will happen on the 9th Sep is: the SH system will still attempt to charge 62k to my credit card account. DBS will decline the transaction. Then a duction failure fee will be incurred in my next SH bill, and the outstanding 62k from the current bill will be brought forward to the next bill, where they will credit back the wrongfully charged amount to offset the peanuty per-KB data charges. Then I'll have to call 1633 again to ask for transfer-failure fee waiver.

In addition, as their system is going to show that my payment lapses, I will not be able to subscribe a new service from SH next month till the 2-month worth of charges are paid, eventually.

Just the thought of the above is making me sleepy. Probably should play some game now. Warhawk, anyone?You should talk to the manager and ask them to compensate you 6 months FREE for the stress and time you have gone through. I feel you've been wrongly billed and the person who flamed you is either working for SH or a ____ who thinks that 65,000 is 65 cts. Don't know what to say about him....

4xtemujin
23-09-2007, 07:43 AM
I've been using the Huawei E270 for nearly a week and there are no disconnection so far. I'm getting 3 signal bar HSPA/HSUPA.

From my experience, the E270 is not that hot after 15 minutes and it's about the same level of being hot like my laptop.

I was able to surf HWZ using my laptop while travelling on my company bus.

When I first connected, I was surprised by the speed of the connection. Surfing speed was as fast as Maxonline Ultimate. However, after a while, it starts to have intermitten problem. I got my first disconnection in less than 30 minutes after using. Experienced a few disconnection after that.

Huawei E270.

It is very portable and light. The major problem (maybe not to you guys) is that it gets hot very fast. After 15 minutes, it gets very hot - uncomfortable just to touch.

FireHobbit
23-09-2007, 11:27 AM
I've been using the Huawei E270 for nearly a week and there are no disconnection so far. I'm getting 3 signal bar HSPA/HSUPA.

From my experience, the E270 is not that hot after 15 minutes and it's about the same level of being hot like my laptop.

I was able to surf HWZ using my laptop while travelling on my company bus.

just curious have u upgrade to the new firmware? guess u location is not bad too..

happy surfing. have u tried p2p?http://www.comicguide.net/images/smilies/lolrot.gif

TonyLee
23-09-2007, 11:32 AM
I dunno why ISP must still offer limited plans of mobile BB. It is just not feasible nor workable pricing formula to user at all. Say you surf one site and it has lightweight contents, so your download payload is light. Next round when you go to the same site visited is upgraded with heavyweight contents, your download payload is higher. A user has no control over payload.

FireHobbit
23-09-2007, 11:40 AM
I think is to control their bandwidth so as to not let user be doing like main core residential broadband where u on 24 hours to streaming video, song or download u fav P2P all night long..

forumics.net
23-09-2007, 01:18 PM
You should talk to the manager and ask them to compensate you 6 months FREE for the stress and time you have gone through. I feel you've been wrongly billed and the person who flamed you is either working for SH or a ____ who thinks that 65,000 is 65 cts. Don't know what to say about him....
maybe YOU think that 65k is 65 cents, for a numerical error in the bill which will be rectified in the next bill and thus no payment is needed, you want 6 mths free?

why don't you just ask for lifetime free subscription instead?

4xtemujin
04-10-2007, 08:05 PM
Maybe there're many people joining Maxmobile as I find that the download of webpage is also lagging.

Sometimes, I am also unable to access the internet especially around 2100 hrs.

Anyone experience it ?

justjohnnygamer
04-10-2007, 08:16 PM
Maybe there're many people joining Maxmobile as I find that the download of webpage is also lagging.

Sometimes, I am also unable to access the internet especially around 2100 hrs.

Anyone experience it ?
As a MaxMobile user why don't you join me in my speedtesting effort. Send me a PM, direct link here:
Send a private message to justjohnnygamer (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/private.php?do=newpm&u=270798)

naxchua
05-10-2007, 12:08 AM
As a MaxMobile user why don't you join me in my speedtesting effort. Send me a PM, direct link here:
Send a private message to justjohnnygamer (http://forums.hardwarezone.com/private.php?do=newpm&u=270798)

hey bro, i m sorry... my msn is very sensitive, hence I did not add u into my MSN... hope u understand... cos sometime my msn may post certain sensitive info...

justjohnnygamer
05-10-2007, 02:07 AM
hey bro, i m sorry... my msn is very sensitive, hence I did not add u into my MSN... hope u understand... cos sometime my msn may post certain sensitive info...This I can understand... In fact other people have said the same thing to me... If this is the only thing that is stopping you from joining my speedtesting team then I have some very good news for both of us.... I can provide you with instructions on how you can still join my speedtesting team, still use MSN, and still not leak any sensitive info...

0. Sign up for a new MSN account here:
http://www.hotmail.com/
Put in fake information. DO NOT PUT IN ANY SENSITIVE INFORMATION.

1. Download and install Messenger Plus! Live from here:
http://www.msgpluslive.net/
This is just one feature that Messenger Plus! Live is capable of
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Messenger_Plus!_Live
Multiple instances

It allows the user to to open multiple instances of the Messenger Client on the same computer so one can sign into more than one account at once. This feature is also known as messenger polygamy.[1]

2. Sign into your new MSN account using Messenger Plus! Live.

3. Send me a PM and tell me that you would like to join the speedtesting team(no more MaxOnline Express $59.92/month 6Mbps/256Kbps users please) and then wait for me to PM you back with details. Try this direct link here:

I look forward to seeing your PM :D

liangtam
05-10-2007, 02:13 AM
I just read ur PM again and notice it is only written halfway reh, wheres the instruction to do speedtest with ur server??? My MSN is always listed on my siggy :)

justjohnnygamer
05-10-2007, 02:19 AM
I just read ur PM again and notice it is only written halfway reh, wheres the instruction to do speedtest with ur server??? My MSN is always listed on my siggy :)
I sent a full PM(I just checked). However PMs are very limited, only 1,000 characters so I have to be brief, which is hard for me to do(I'm sure you can tell by the long posts).

As for siggys, I always turn off both avatars and signatures on all forums I visit. To me they look unprofessional, ugly, and just clutters the screen. Plus I'm more interested in reading the post, rather than a signature.

liangtam
05-10-2007, 02:22 AM
liangtam@hotmail.com
It applies throughout :)

Now I think you should not have 1000 char restriction to tell me the exact instruction ba??

Aloof_guy
05-10-2007, 09:09 AM
Max Online Express. The most basic one..

Area: Bishan Landed

My StarHub Results. Can someone post a similar format of results for Singtel and Pacnet? Thanks

9AM

http://www.speedtest.net/result/190060982.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

2PM

http://www.speedtest.net/result/189508399.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

6.30PM

http://www.speedtest.net/result/188919140.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

10PM

http://www.speedtest.net/result/187914443.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

tankee531
05-10-2007, 10:11 AM
@Aloof_guy

what plan are you on?

test done at same place?

war3craft2003
05-10-2007, 01:00 PM
I have no problem getting 400-500 Kps between 7-9pm by my Singtel BBOM 512kps plan using my Hauwei E220.

cscs3
05-10-2007, 07:39 PM
My StarHub Results. Can someone post a similar format of results for Singtel and Pacnet? Thanks

9AM

http://www.speedtest.net/result/190060982.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

2PM

http://www.speedtest.net/result/189508399.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

6.30PM

http://www.speedtest.net/result/188919140.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

10PM

http://www.speedtest.net/result/187914443.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

Signet 512K is going to be faster than this, anytime! Get cheated by Starhub again!
Starhub is never serious in providing service even on maxonline.

cscs3
05-10-2007, 07:49 PM
i bought my hp a year ago, when i first bought it, it was $800. i had agreed to the purchase price of $800 and accepted the price upon purchase, there was no gun held to my head upon purchase and i decided to purchase it out of my own interests.

1 mth after purchase, the hp price dropped to $500. soon after, it became $200 and now it is a free phone.

i decided not to call nokia and make a fuss cause...
NOKIA literally tell you straight in the face "YOU ARE PWNED"

Price for electronics product is dropping everyday. That is expected especially for phone price that is heavry supported by sub price plan.

Rule to remember is if you do not need it. Do not get the latest as you will be the PWNED. You $ is going to help others to get the same product at cheaper price as you help the maker to make back their investment faster.

Aloof_guy
05-10-2007, 11:28 PM
posted my plan. maxonline express. can someone post a singnet and pacnet speed test similar to the format of mine above.

haowee
06-10-2007, 10:02 PM
how can we get the huawei E270 to automatically connect?
Currently I can only make the program auto run, then I need to click the "connect" button in order to connect.

Any automatic way?

4xtemujin
07-10-2007, 12:34 PM
This thread is for Maxmobile and not Maxonline.

liangtam
07-10-2007, 01:51 PM
how can we get the huawei E270 to automatically connect?
Currently I can only make the program auto run, then I need to click the "connect" button in order to connect.

Any automatic way?
Yes, very simple actually.

Open IE, Go internet options, connection tab. Select always dial my default connection.

The next time u open IE and surf another website, it will tell you to connect, click on save password and connect automatically to make that happen.

mcalel
07-10-2007, 03:30 PM
How to share this with my other computer using my desktop connecting to a swtich hub?

liangtam
07-10-2007, 03:57 PM
How to share this with my other computer using my desktop connecting to a swtich hub?
Windows ICS.

mcalel
07-10-2007, 09:14 PM
How do i set it? thanks

jastan
08-10-2007, 03:41 PM
Anyone had use to play online games while outside?

calvin_
08-10-2007, 07:13 PM
Anyone had use to play online games while outside?
i think maybe might be a bit laggy.

FireHobbit
11-10-2007, 08:16 AM
haha.. I am back....

seem like i use to download the firmware from starhub site

the download speed is not that fantastic at all

sighxxx

miltongoh
11-10-2007, 05:55 PM
i think maybe might be a bit laggy.

I think will be super lag, haha! The upload speed for mine even with full connection is around 15KB/s upload, i don't whether it is just me or what. Haha!

cscs3
11-10-2007, 08:39 PM
I think will be super lag, haha! The upload speed for mine even with full connection is around 15KB/s upload, i don't whether it is just me or what. Haha!

when they come to our for demo. Is around this speed also. They blame it to PC problem.

FireHobbit
12-10-2007, 02:12 PM
the network seem the speed is quite not stable... fluctuate a lot

Chaka0210
18-10-2007, 10:29 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/193859657.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

starhub maxmobile unlimited

hesperus
18-10-2007, 11:24 PM
anybody got problems using MaxMobile to access Friendster? It keeps giving me the error of the Page Can't Be Displayed.. Using my home Maxonline, it doesn't gives me such problems..

FireHobbit
19-10-2007, 08:06 PM
anybody got problems using MaxMobile to access Friendster? It keeps giving me the error of the Page Can't Be Displayed.. Using my home Maxonline, it doesn't gives me such problems..

me too... :s12: :s12:

gundamz
19-10-2007, 11:41 PM
if i sign up for maxonline flexisurf, can i still get the 50% discount for the maxmobile unlimited plan?

miltongoh
19-10-2007, 11:43 PM
no problem going to friendster.com but hor, when i try to upload something to my server hor, it will just jam and d/c liao. lol! the upload speed sometimes only 5-6KB/s but upon 30 seconds of uploading, it just d/c liao.

rykel
20-10-2007, 02:10 AM
Hi all,

I am on MaxMobile, and Azureus ALWAYS have “Firewalled” in the status bar.

I called the Customer Service twice and asked if Starhub is speed throttling the connection, and two times the fellows said no. However, one of them asked for my SIM card number and offered to put me on some static IP and VPN, which I rejected, of course.

Is there a webadmin page for this modem where I can release the firewall?

Also, I have turned on Encryption and my seeds are all above 500 from ThePirateBay.org, but my speed stays around 50KB/s max. Only once or twice has it reached 200KB/s .

How fast should I be expecting for the 7.2MBps MaxMobile service? (I know that the max D/L for a 512kbps plan is 60KB/s)

What is the experience of others who are also using BT on MM?

p/s. My speedtest.net (SG) result is WORSE than most of you, take a look....

http://www.speedtest.net/result/194209578.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

liangtam
20-10-2007, 03:13 AM
Please note that Maxmobile does not offer u a IP address fully for your own use, and instead, it is behind a NAT for all customer. Maxmobile was never meant for hosting anyway.

richneo
20-10-2007, 08:13 AM
not sure about singtel's mobile broadband but for m1, they are offering public ip

FireHobbit
20-10-2007, 09:29 AM
Hey pal, great to see your exp but may we also know your area or signal level? did u previously use the same configuration and software on maxonline?

Hi all,

I am on MaxMobile, and Azureus ALWAYS have “Firewalled” in the status bar.

I called the Customer Service twice and asked if Starhub is speed throttling the connection, and two times the fellows said no. However, one of them asked for my SIM card number and offered to put me on some static IP and VPN, which I rejected, of course.

Is there a webadmin page for this modem where I can release the firewall?

Also, I have turned on Encryption and my seeds are all above 500 from ThePirateBay.org, but my speed stays around 50KB/s max. Only once or twice has it reached 200KB/s .

How fast should I be expecting for the 7.2MBps MaxMobile service? (I know that the max D/L for a 512kbps plan is 60KB/s)

What is the experience of others who are also using BT on MM?

p/s. My speedtest.net (SG) result is WORSE than most of you, take a look....

http://www.speedtest.net/result/194209578.png (http://www.speedtest.net)
http://img40.imageshack.us/img40/3444/crazy1no.gifhttp://img40.imageshack.us/img40/3444/crazy1no.gif

FireHobbit
27-10-2007, 10:48 AM
any user still want to share their experience....

rykel
27-10-2007, 01:08 PM
Hey pal, great to see your exp but may we also know your area or signal level? did u previously use the same configuration and software on maxonline?

http://img40.imageshack.us/img40/3444/crazy1no.gifhttp://img40.imageshack.us/img40/3444/crazy1no.gif

I am in the MacPherson area and the best signal I have is a WCDMA one. I have not used the same config and software on MO before, but I do have M1 broadband and that has NEVER been "firewalled".

:s12:

dUk33d
28-10-2007, 12:24 PM
can someone using starhub maxmobile do a ping to www.poems.com.sg? pls let me know your latency on

http://forums.hardwarezone.com/showthread.php?t=1764857

FireHobbit
05-11-2007, 05:22 PM
i will try and let ya know....

FireHobbit
11-11-2007, 07:14 PM
the ping is slright for maxmobile...http://jumi.lut.fi/~junousia/hymiot/think/vaikeapaatos.gif

Plutonian
12-11-2007, 02:05 AM
M1 s|_|cks like sh|t!
always on 2.5G!!
living at the top floor and on a small hill top and still getting lousy connection
2.5G surfing net will make u cry ahhh

wstang
10-01-2008, 12:29 AM
I'm planning to take up the MaxMobile with the intention of using it on both my iPhone and notebook. I'm currently already a Starhub phone subscriber, and would like to add this dataplan to my existing mobile plan. I have a couple of doubts though, and the folks at the Starhub shops don't seem to be able to answer my queries:
- I was told by the shop attendants that MaxMobile only works for 3.5G phones. However, I've heard that it works also on iPhone, which is basically an EDGE (or 2.5G) phone. Which is true?
- Coupled with MultiSIM, I would be able to use MaxMobile on both my iPhone and notebook at the same time without having to keep swapping in and out the SIM cards. Correct?
- If I sign on a MaxMobile plan for 2 years, ontop of my existing mobile plan, rather to have a new SIM card for a seperate Dataplan, I should still be eligible for the Huawei modem? Again, the shop attendant mentioned that the Huawei modem only comes when you apply for a new SIM card. To me, this doesn't make sense since in either case, I'm signing up for a years contract, and paying the same monthly fees. Can someone please shed some light on this?

Thanks.

WestGuy
10-01-2008, 12:36 AM
I'm planning to take up the MaxMobile with the intention of using it on both my iPhone and notebook. I'm currently already a Starhub phone subscriber, and would like to add this dataplan to my existing mobile plan. I have a couple of doubts though, and the folks at the Starhub shops don't seem to be able to answer my queries:
- I was told by the shop attendants that MaxMobile only works for 3.5G phones. However, I've heard that it works also on iPhone, which is basically an EDGE (or 2.5G) phone. Which is true?
- Coupled with MultiSIM, I would be able to use MaxMobile on both my iPhone and notebook at the same time without having to keep swapping in and out the SIM cards. Correct?
- If I sign on a MaxMobile plan for 2 years, ontop of my existing mobile plan, rather to have a new SIM card for a seperate Dataplan, I should still be eligible for the Huawei modem? Again, the shop attendant mentioned that the Huawei modem only comes when you apply for a new SIM card. To me, this doesn't make sense since in either case, I'm signing up for a years contract, and paying the same monthly fees. Can someone please shed some light on this?

Thanks.

It will work on your iPhone, but only at GPRS speeds... i.e. really really slow

benedict888
10-01-2008, 12:47 AM
It will work on your iPhone, but only at GPRS speeds... i.e. really really slow

mm.. ya lo..
i think iPhone cant even surf at EDGE speed.. cos afaik sg telcos dont support E

GPRS can cry

FireHobbit
13-01-2008, 10:31 AM
EDGE is suported by Starhub.. U can use on u iphone..

u need some setting to get u going.. http://e.deviantart.com/emoticons/w/w00t.gif

Deimos
13-01-2008, 12:57 PM
a newbie question, will the reception be good if I am using it on jurong island ?

starhub phone reception is the worst among the big 3 on jurong island

thinking of subscribing to SH mac mobile but need to have feedback on the coverage on the god forsakken island

techmatic
13-01-2008, 01:09 PM
a newbie question, will the reception be good if I am using it on jurong island ?

starhub phone reception is the worst among the big 3 on jurong island

thinking of subscribing to SH mac mobile but need to have feedback on the coverage on the god forsakken islandIf Starhub's Reception for Jurong Island is bad, I guess it's going to be about as bad with MaxMobile as it utilises 3.5G Networks, similar to Mobile Phones.

Deimos
13-01-2008, 01:13 PM
crivens... I was thinking to use it with my laptop, so perhaps it is not a good idea.

FireHobbit
13-01-2008, 05:27 PM
why not u try to see if u can have a fren who have a 3.5g phone to test out the network there using his phone.. that way easier to know whether the network is how...

Deimos
14-01-2008, 04:08 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/221969840.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

signed on liao, now testing in orchard area. decent speed, tomolo test on island . *keeping fingers crossed*

miltongoh
14-01-2008, 04:18 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/221969840.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

signed on liao, now testing in orchard area. decent speed, tomolo test on island . *keeping fingers crossed*

The speed seems reasonable. Well, what about loading of overseas website?

ah_fu
14-01-2008, 10:27 PM
anyone has asked SH to change the IP=> 10.XXX to public IP?
is the coverage and D/L speed faster?

ah_fu
18-01-2008, 02:31 PM
no one tried to change private IP to public IP address?

liangtam
18-01-2008, 03:06 PM
no one tried to change private IP to public IP address?

You cannot change it in the first place.
Unless Starhub assigns you one.

Deimos
21-01-2008, 11:44 AM
The speed seems reasonable. Well, what about loading of overseas website?

no chance to test, I having problems with the modem now, can connect to starhub but page not found :s16:

FireHobbit
21-01-2008, 03:46 PM
how is it now? starhub got prob earlier on.. http://webpages.charter.net/kylegdb/smilies/21.gif

radon
21-01-2008, 03:52 PM
no chance to test, I having problems with the modem now, can connect to starhub but page not found :s16:

same here. experiencing the same prob. Can connect but can't get IP add.

ipaq4444
23-01-2008, 12:47 PM
quick question, do you all have any software that allow you to keep track of the download speed for a particular time of the day?

I knoe the maxmobil come with one but it does not state the time. This will be good for ppl comparing between maxmobil and maxonline

Blackant
24-01-2008, 10:04 AM
Thinking of getting the promotion with maxonline.
Anyone can give a report on which area has the bad reception?

Places like Ang Mo Kio and Toa Payoh...

Thanks.

FireHobbit
26-01-2008, 10:40 AM
I only tried at Toa Payoh near the Library area.. not bad.. stable and fast when I use so far... http://forum.allsiemens.com/images/smiles/icon_blahblah.gif

Deimos
26-01-2008, 02:05 PM
how is it now? starhub got prob earlier on.. http://webpages.charter.net/kylegdb/smilies/21.gif

ok it seems that the surfing problem I encountered at SLS and jurong island is due to starhub. got me worried for a while

so far the surfing experience is ok. pretty fast even at jurong island

I am satisfied at the time being, but the modem tends to get a bit hot. and sometimes I can smell abit of burnt smell haha

FireHobbit
26-01-2008, 04:39 PM
the signal in Jurong Island is how many bar? hspda?

Blackant
26-01-2008, 10:01 PM
Just got the maxmobile, so far so good.
Not very fast, but enough for normal surfing and emailing. :)

kchinbeng
01-02-2008, 03:27 PM
Just want to ask some Q cos just got the max mobile unlimited. Is it normal cos every now and there there will be disconnection. And this max mobile is dial up? Sorry newbie on the block.:yawn:

zIpdIsK
01-02-2008, 03:43 PM
Yups. it's a ppp dial up. =]

FireHobbit
01-02-2008, 05:52 PM
i guess not...

the disconnection is not really often..

kchinbeng
01-02-2008, 08:51 PM
i guess not...

the disconnection is not really often..

Mine just started using for about 30min kenna cut off 4 times :s22:
By the way the moden is there any software to upgrade?

yxyxx8
02-02-2008, 12:42 AM
recently these few days. i kept being kena dc for alot of times.

ceecookie
02-02-2008, 12:44 AM
is the modem Made-In-China?

liangtam
02-02-2008, 12:58 AM

Huawei is a china company leh, so why not?

FireHobbit
02-02-2008, 10:24 AM
Huawei is china company but product may be assembled else well...

Deimos
02-02-2008, 06:32 PM
the signal in Jurong Island is how many bar? hspda?

most of the time HSPA

signal strength abt 50% , this is in an enclousre with rather thick walls

3bars , good enuff for me for surfing.

ceecookie
02-02-2008, 11:15 PM
well,u cant really expect quality for products Made-In-China:D

liangtam
02-02-2008, 11:25 PM

HuaWei is an exception.
BTW, you also cant expect quality products from some SG company.

cpuer
02-02-2008, 11:37 PM
Dont pray pray with huawei:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Huawei

FireHobbit
03-02-2008, 01:23 AM
huawei is seriously not bad..

cscs3
03-02-2008, 07:52 AM

Actually China do produce some very good quality product. It really depend on which company you are referring too.

If you see made in Singapore. Then you may find it is as bad!

cscs3
03-02-2008, 07:52 AM
huawei is seriously not bad..

Is a join ventual company with technology from Cisco.

FireHobbit
03-02-2008, 06:42 PM
can trust ba... http://www.xs4all.nl/~ernstmul/images/msnbonus/baloon.gif

wterng
03-02-2008, 10:51 PM
I am using Maxmobile and I find it sometimes unstable.

When I first signed up for MaxMobile, my connection is quite consistent. A week ago, I started to encounter few problems:

a) Many times I can connected to HSPA/WCDMA but no traffic. Usually I test connection by pinging well known IP - Eg. Singtel DNS. Sometimes I need to connect and disconnect few times in order to get connection.

b) Sometimes the authentication doesn't work. Try redialing for many times but it can't get through the authentication. Signal is excellent.

FireHobbit
06-02-2008, 03:22 PM
some conecction prob lately..

FireHobbit
16-02-2008, 01:19 AM
seem like stable alot now le... anyone facing prob so far?http://img168.imageshack.us/img168/605/post108621154881434ly5.gif

miltongoh
16-02-2008, 01:23 AM
It seems fine now, for now. :D

Zerocool
23-02-2008, 03:01 PM
any1 faces the problem that all traffic stops when u download 4GB of data? I need to manually reconnect for every 4 GB of download.

FireHobbit
23-02-2008, 04:06 PM
seem like smtime it will re connect... after some data transfer

miltongoh
23-02-2008, 05:30 PM
any1 faces the problem that all traffic stops when u download 4GB of data? I need to manually reconnect for every 4 GB of download.

I never notice about the 4GB download of data, rather you might want to check if it the usage for a long period? or a specific period? :D

djsadist
23-02-2008, 11:39 PM
Now sign up MaxMobile worth it... Free first 6 months subscription...

FireHobbit
24-02-2008, 12:59 AM
mus be starhub maxonline cutomers for the deal?

haowee
26-02-2008, 11:43 PM

i got a similar problem, i using on my desktop.
And when this happen, I need to restart the com.
because "Insufficient resources to complete the request service"...

anyone with solution?
Help...

Phycomaticz
28-02-2008, 07:41 PM
Hey there. That connection probz issue maybe bcoz you never set your internet explorer properly. I've kinda having the same prob.... like friendster cant access "it will prompt access timeout", youtube problemz, watch movies online probz...

Till i do this...( it werk for me ) hope it helps...

Open Internet exp....
Click on ToolS......
Click Internet Option.........
Click on Connection......
DOUBLE click on the starhub.......

Then

http://i245.photobucket.com/albums/gg46/MAYDAYBROTHERS/starhubproblemmo.jpg

Click on OK.
CLICK on APPLY........
Close Internet Exp....
Open Back internet Exp....

Wallah... Done....

Juz Follow the steps.;)

FireHobbit
02-03-2008, 08:17 PM
hope pc show got good deals for thsoe wan to subc

FireHobbit
08-03-2008, 06:20 AM
haha... the deals got free smasung player...

reimina
08-03-2008, 03:45 PM

Most electronic stuff Made in China leh. Do you have a choice? Btw, don't look down on Huawei. They are seeking to buy 3Com. =:p

Deavenger
09-03-2008, 12:59 AM
a quick qn is the speed of the Starhub able to reach 7.2mb only with the huawei modem? COs i will be using it with my Fujitsu U1010 which has a Sim card slot. will the Speed be as good? currently using M1 broadband and it really sucks at times. willing to pay the penalty to M1 Since starhub giving 6 months free.

is starhub offer at it show good?? or have you seen better??

FireHobbit
09-03-2008, 01:04 AM
the full speed of 7.2 is not gettable de...

liangtam
09-03-2008, 01:22 AM
7.2Mbps is theory, cannot reach one. Having used SH MaxMobile before when it was first out, can hit 4.6Mbps for local sites.

Most inbuild modem in laptop can only support 3.6Mbps(again in theory) only, means use the E270 for MM better.

Deavenger
09-03-2008, 01:57 AM
so issit advisable to change from m1 to starhub..

i think my fujitsu u1010 is hspda...

FireHobbit
09-03-2008, 11:51 AM
yuppy i will supprt u change to starhub...

Zerocool
09-03-2008, 08:24 PM
I never notice about the 4GB download of data, rather you might want to check if it the usage for a long period? or a specific period? :D

Not the problem with the usage over time because i can get connected for 30+hours and still can work. The problem arise when you either upload for download 4GB of data. As long as you hit the 4GB mark it will stop all connection(even though the utility shows connected) and u need to disconnect/reconnect for it to work again.

I tried to download a big file from the internet (around 300mb+) a few times as well as tried uploading big files to my ftp server and as long as it shows data transferred 4GB, all activity stops.

Can the rest test it out to see if i'm the only 1 facing the problem?

avault1810
16-03-2008, 04:33 AM
Anyone knows if the Maxmobile will work with the Macbook Air? Any known compatibility issues?
I'm getting a MBA soon and currently on the M1 Vodafone BB which SUCKS big time. Hence I want to switch to Singtel / Starhub.

Thanks!

FireHobbit
16-03-2008, 12:37 PM
the modem that is given with starhub is e hua wei e270 and there are drivers avaliable for mac.. This combi is great..

avault1810
16-03-2008, 06:28 PM
the modem that is given with starhub is e hua wei e270 and there are drivers avaliable for mac.. This combi is great..

Thanks for the help man, appreciate it!

FireHobbit
16-03-2008, 07:58 PM
No prob..

The solution to share this maxmobile via my N82 is out.. like a wlan hotspot...

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=1900340

cscs3
16-03-2008, 08:56 PM
a quick qn is the speed of the Starhub able to reach 7.2mb only with the huawei modem? COs i will be using it with my Fujitsu U1010 which has a Sim card slot. will the Speed be as good? currently using M1 broadband and it really sucks at times. willing to pay the penalty to M1 Since starhub giving 6 months free.

is starhub offer at it show good?? or have you seen better??

Quick answer to you is NO. At most you get is less than 1M. In most case you get no signal or at GPRS speed only.

So get Starhub only if you know the location you want to use it has coverage.

liangtam
16-03-2008, 09:04 PM
Quick answer to you is NO. At most you get is less than 1M. In most case you get no signal or at GPRS speed only.

So get Starhub only if you know the location you want to use it has coverage.

LOL, now bashing starfug...
The reception is not as bad as u would have thought.

FireHobbit
16-03-2008, 09:28 PM
the coverage is pretty not bad.. me travel recently on my n82 and surf when in train or bus and so far only one place no 3g signal is harbourfront cheers store..

kenkoart
20-03-2008, 02:26 PM
Hi there :)

Any of you have tried using the Hua Wei modem overseas? I'll be going Syney this weekend and am wondering if I can still connect to my Maxmobile wireless :D

Kenko

liangtam
20-03-2008, 03:14 PM
If u dun mind paying an arm and a leg for the bill, that is :)

novatliz
20-03-2008, 05:47 PM
i've seen someone connected their huawei modem to their laptop using a L shape usb thingy. no more danggling cable.

any idea which shop selling it?

cscs3
20-03-2008, 06:17 PM
7.2Mbps is theory, cannot reach one. Having used SH MaxMobile before when it was first out, can hit 4.6Mbps for local sites.

Most inbuild modem in laptop can only support 3.6Mbps(again in theory) only, means use the E270 for MM better.

No worry. It hardly able to reach 1M. So on 3.6M in build modem is more than enough.

cscs3
20-03-2008, 06:19 PM
LOL, now bashing starfug...
The reception is not as bad as u would have thought.

If you are in City area - yes. But not in remote location.
those who use their 3G phone will know.

liangtam
20-03-2008, 07:12 PM
No worry. It hardly able to reach 1M. So on 3.6M in build modem is more than enough.

Wrong. 3.6Mbps base can hit roughly <1.8Mbps
7.2Mbps base can hit 4.5Mbps without an issue

Use 3.6Mbps eq, loss in BOTH ul and dl speed.

liangtam
20-03-2008, 07:13 PM
If you are in City area - yes. But not in remote location.
those who use their 3G phone will know.

Tested in orchard area, can hit 3.4Mbps without issue.

FireHobbit
20-03-2008, 07:55 PM
so far no issues even is listening to streaming music on my n82.. as streaming music radio need a constant connection and maxmobile is able to achieve that.. http://forum.allsiemens.com/images/smiles/icon_blahblah.gif

miltongoh
20-03-2008, 10:55 PM
i've seen someone connected their huawei modem to their laptop using a L shape usb thingy. no more danggling cable.

any idea which shop selling it?

that one come with the modem de mah. I have used it before when I subscribed to M1 bb using the Huawei modem.

enhanzed
21-03-2008, 07:56 AM
anyone know how much is an extra data sim card ?

cscs3
21-03-2008, 12:56 PM
Tested in orchard area, can hit 3.4Mbps without issue.

Sure, still in City area ! Starhub HQ is near by anyway!

cscs3
21-03-2008, 12:59 PM
Wrong. 3.6Mbps base can hit roughly <1.8Mbps
7.2Mbps base can hit 4.5Mbps without an issue

Use 3.6Mbps eq, loss in BOTH ul and dl speed.

The only different with E270 and USB modem/those in the laptop is the HSUPDA which give up a faser upload speed of close to 2M. Most other modem already has firmware to upgrade for support of 7.2M max download.

There is no different in dl speed. Google around to find more information.

cscs3
21-03-2008, 01:01 PM
so far no issues even is listening to streaming music on my n82.. as streaming music radio need a constant connection and maxmobile is able to achieve that.. http://forum.allsiemens.com/images/smiles/icon_blahblah.gif

Thats not a issue. My friend on Signet 512K plan also did that on his Nokia phone without problem.

FireHobbit
23-03-2008, 01:06 AM
today tried at cck suddenly change to EDGE connections.. lol

seem stable and can use can le.. no lag...http://friendsforever.foren-city.de/images/smiles/a084.gif

roo7
24-03-2008, 09:41 AM
who's facing issue accessing to friendster with MaxMobile ?

After few mths of usage, friendster is 1 site that always offline for me,.

FireHobbit
24-03-2008, 02:14 PM
so far on my phone no prob.. But at home on my laptop will always show done.. Sianx

enhanzed
24-03-2008, 05:06 PM
i on/off have problems with friendster..just keep refreshing can liow

enhanzed
24-03-2008, 05:11 PM
location pandan road 3 bar HSUPA (whats the diff between HSUPA and HSPA ) ?

http://www.speedtest.net/result/250211835.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

FireHobbit
24-03-2008, 07:49 PM
intially should be wcdma then it will switch

hsupa is upload faster...

HappyLee
09-04-2008, 11:15 PM
I just got this Huawei thing from starhub, the model's 170 i think then i plug into desktop then they say cannot connect to the remote computer or something like that, what to do ah !

tankee531
10-04-2008, 09:57 AM
have you installed the connection software that is in the E170?

10-04-2008, 11:22 PM
currently on M1 BB .. reception in outside city sucks big time.

Tell me .. how is Starhub or Singtel in Sciencepark 3 area and other western region .. outside city?

FireHobbit
11-04-2008, 12:07 PM
i am from western area.. me stay jur west.. me tried in places like ntu, nus, near clementi nus prata house, west coast park.. all is great and steady.. both on my n82 and laptop...

alwayschampion
11-04-2008, 12:14 PM
i am from western area.. me stay jur west.. me tried in places like ntu, nus, near clementi nus prata house, west coast park.. all is great and steady.. both on my n82 and laptop...

Hi may I know whats your average speed that you are getting most of the time ?

FireHobbit
12-04-2008, 10:45 AM
300 to ard 450KB/s

tankee531
15-04-2008, 05:57 PM
today my E270 maxmobile is not behaving. connection keeps dropping to WCDMA with no effective throughput. xian ah!

cscs3
15-04-2008, 09:01 PM
currently on M1 BB .. reception in outside city sucks big time.

Tell me .. how is Starhub or Singtel in Sciencepark 3 area and other western region .. outside city?

Forget about Sciencepark with Starhub. Go Singtel.

cscs3
15-04-2008, 09:02 PM
today my E270 maxmobile is not behaving. connection keeps dropping to WCDMA with no effective throughput. xian ah!

Standard feature come with Starhub.

enriqueyang
19-04-2008, 08:35 PM
anyone using maxmobile in toa payoh area? how's the reception? is there any blind spot? oh oh especially near the macdonald near the braddell mrt, how's the reception there?

FireHobbit
20-04-2008, 06:02 PM
today seem terrible connection...

africatwin
21-04-2008, 12:42 AM

I always stay in nus to do my work after sending my wife there to study in the evening, used to get 460.5kbps now getting 115.2 kbps nia. Damn it. Singtel still very steady at 3.6mbps and always faster than starhub but both plan equpment used is totally different.
I always access maxmobile from woodlands too and the same thing happen, even when i am at my home , bishan, I can no longer see that my speed is at 460.5kbps.

enriqueyang
21-04-2008, 01:34 AM
so is it worth getting it for torrenting? lolx

MPH
22-04-2008, 10:19 AM
What is the average speed of maxmobile ?

FireHobbit
22-04-2008, 01:20 PM
now is ard 200 to 300kps

FireHobbit
04-05-2008, 01:04 AM
seem like given the free bundle... more poeple will cross over to share iur maxmobile bandwidth

ironman4672
04-05-2008, 01:52 AM
singtel is better....;);););)

WestGuy
04-05-2008, 02:45 AM
No complaints about Starhub Maxmobile so far. Works well for me in many areas.

The only mobile broadband operator with truly unlimited surfing.

Readings from 8 mths ago
http://www.speedtest.net/result/187620281.png

Readings now.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/267010895.png

Pretty consistent for me, as you can see.

I don't think either of the other 2 operators can offer such speeds

P.S. I'm normally a red umbrella guy, but in terms of mobile broadband, i have to side with the green umbrella. :)

raijinshou
04-05-2008, 06:01 PM
Nice speed compared to M1. Dont get M1: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?p=29834172#post29834172
http://www.speedtest.net/result/267203301.png
On 2 Mbps, but u see the result...

saragota
04-05-2008, 08:08 PM
Thinking of subscribing to this maxmobile, How the usage when travelling in MRT underground? What are the hardware that they give?

liangtam
04-05-2008, 08:14 PM
Theres only 2.5G in mrt underground, so there's only GPRS speed for you.

saragota
04-05-2008, 08:27 PM
Theres only 2.5G in mrt underground, so there's only GPRS speed for you.

OH, so the speed cap at 2.5G? bandwidth limit to

FireHobbit
05-05-2008, 12:58 AM
all three telco in tunner for mrt is 2.5g don have 3g or 3.5g

saragota
05-05-2008, 03:50 PM
Thnk for all the info

FireHobbit
11-05-2008, 01:46 PM
the three telco don have coverage for 3g singal there...

4xtemujin
11-05-2008, 01:56 PM
Right now, the only underground MRT station that has 3G repeaters is Changi Airport MRT station.

HTH.

FireHobbit
11-05-2008, 01:58 PM
hope starhub will look into imprioving its network... if not will loose all its customer...

FireHobbit
11-05-2008, 02:02 PM
http://www.speedtest.net/result/269933351.png (http://www.speedtest.net)

WestGuy
13-05-2008, 10:49 AM
No complaints about Starhub Maxmobile so far. Works well for me in many areas.

The only mobile broadband operator with truly unlimited surfing.

Readings from 8 mths ago
http://www.speedtest.net/result/187620281.png

Readings now.
http://www.speedtest.net/result/267010895.png

Pretty consistent for me, as you can see.

I don't think either of the other 2 operators can offer such speeds

P.S. I'm normally a red umbrella guy, but in terms of mobile broadband, i have to side with the green umbrella. :)

Speedtest at Harbourfront area.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/270649986.png

Seriously, for those who are undecided to sign up with a service provider for mobile broadband, the answer is pretty clear

FireHobbit
13-05-2008, 07:33 PM
why no multisim for starhub...

liangtam
13-05-2008, 07:48 PM
why no multisim for starhub...

Like this everyone dupe the SIM then can give to friend liao

FireHobbit
13-05-2008, 08:24 PM
one in phone on in laptop

roo7
13-05-2008, 10:13 PM
Laptop can connect to the internet using the phone as a modem. Tried with P1 but P1 only 3G and not HSDPA.

liangtam
14-05-2008, 12:33 AM
one in phone on in laptop

Correct, thats what every customer who have the needs, want.

However, if both can online at the same time, that is also equivalent to starhub losing 1 maxmobile subscription. Since its unlimited.

dao
14-05-2008, 07:38 AM
i think there is multi-sim for vas but not data plan.

FireHobbit
14-05-2008, 01:59 PM
don have... i check on their website..

defn
14-05-2008, 09:15 PM
Right now, the only underground MRT station that has 3G repeaters is Changi Airport MRT station.

HTH.
Hey guys, planning to get this SH Maxmobile since they giving the free mdoem now. Just a few questions:

1) If no 3G reception, will kick into GPRS/EDGE mode right?

2) Will skype/MSN VOIP and SSH connections work on this?

Thanks!

n95crazy
14-05-2008, 09:55 PM
BT on maxmobile is better than using your default internet connection... try it!!!

FireHobbit
14-05-2008, 10:53 PM
the line will kick into edge or gprs...

for my n82... it will change to edge then gprs... if not 3g signal..

the above software can work on Maxmobile

defn
14-05-2008, 11:03 PM
the line will kick into edge or gprs...

for my n82... it will change to edge then gprs... if not 3g signal..

the above software can work on Maxmobile
Thanks for the help Frodo :)

Think I will be going down to SH tmr to get. EDGE/GPRS good enough for me underground as long as can maintain connectivity.

cal3135
15-05-2008, 07:11 AM
been happy using this maxunlimited w N95 .. Only unhappy recently HW E270 not stable, always connection reset.. :( will likely go SH checkup..

FireHobbit
15-05-2008, 09:17 AM
reset? what OS u using?

cal3135
15-05-2008, 10:12 AM
reset? what OS u using?

using it on window XP,, having CONNECTION RESET problems on n off on both laptop n desktop,,, but stable when using N95...

updated HW E270 firmware,, same same,,, my guess is hardware :s22::s22:

will need go over SH see can change a recon set...

n95crazy
15-05-2008, 10:16 AM
Thanks for the help Frodo :)

Think I will be going down to SH tmr to get. EDGE/GPRS good enough for me underground as long as can maintain connectivity.

careful, area from tiong baru to tanjong pagar will have int. no connection 1....
everywhere else is fine though

FireHobbit
17-05-2008, 01:17 AM
as in the tunnel have no signal?

guess need alot of cusomter here to feedback to starhub to have better singal in tunnel...

let all call in to complain

kennyboy
17-05-2008, 11:32 AM
as in the tunnel have no signal?

guess need alot of cusomter here to feedback to starhub to have better singal in tunnel...

let all call in to complain
it's the same for all 3 telcos iirc. Don't expect too much lah....

FireHobbit
17-05-2008, 11:49 AM
I do admit Singtel have the best coverage in tunnel...

FireHobbit
30-05-2008, 06:25 PM
now seem like starhub is upgrading its hspa network... http://smileyonline.free.fr/images/gif/bravo/vignette/thumbnails/1036535672_gif.gif

SpringBizkit
01-06-2008, 04:17 AM
Hey guys!!
New on here, but need some help really bad. i'm sooo confused.

I have StarHub Prepaid phone card, and i just bought an Iphone. I was wondering where to go, Starhub's Post-Paid or Singtel's Post-paid?

I want to use the GPRS/Edge network of either company's, but i don't know which company.

I am around Bukit Timah area, Orchard area, and Bukit Merah area most of the time.

I know the cellphone plans are approx the same between the 2 companies.

their cellphone GPRS plans are

StarHub: 5$ for 2GB, 11$ for 10GB, and 74$ for Unlimited

Singtel: 3$ for 2GB, 10$ for 10GB, and 20$ for 50GB

I do not have a house internet line as i live in a student hostel and cannot get my own.

I do not know which of the 2 to go for, Which has better speeds in the listed areas and which prices would be good. i'm totally lost.
which would u guys go for? help please?

P.s. I plan to keep my GPRS on here n' there, not all the time as it'll kill my Iphone battery really fast.

davsmiths
01-06-2008, 08:48 AM
Starhub has the MaxMobile Surflite promotion.

http://www.starhub.com/portal/site/Online/menuitem.ae3b1bc0f1b2f876da055b608324a5a0/?vgnextoid=a84231f41b16c010VgnVCM10000038425a0aRCRD&vgnextfmt=ItemCMId%3Abd23aac8967a9110VgnVCM100000464114acRCRD

not bad a deal!

ironman4672
01-06-2008, 08:59 AM
Starhub has the MaxMobile Surflite promotion.

http://www.starhub.com/portal/site/Online/menuitem.ae3b1bc0f1b2f876da055b608324a5a0/?vgnextoid=a84231f41b16c010VgnVCM10000038425a0aRCRD&vgnextfmt=ItemCMId%3Abd23aac8967a9110VgnVCM100000464114acRCRD

not bad a deal!

yup, good deal but need to tie up with starhub for 2 years sia.... quite long..... but may consider to sign up for my desktop.....;);););)

ironman4672
01-06-2008, 09:01 AM
can anyone comment abt the speed for maxmobile surflite during both peak and off peak hrs? and the speed for bt? ;););)

sadboy
01-06-2008, 09:41 AM
Speed is getting a little bit slow since SH offer this service FOC to their MOL users. But overall is still better then M1. BT also not that fast and It showing some drop in the speed also.

I notice at home my SH Maxmobile is very unstable. I get dead connection on and off (for those who use M1 bb before will know). In my office i get pretty good speed and stable connections.

FireHobbit
01-06-2008, 11:06 AM
how is the connection as in siganl level?

ironman4672
01-06-2008, 11:28 AM
Speed is getting a little bit slow since SH offer this service FOC to their MOL users. But overall is still better then M1. BT also not that fast and It showing some drop in the speed also.

I notice at home my SH Maxmobile is very unstable. I get dead connection on and off (for those who use M1 bb before will know). In my office i get pretty good speed and stable connections.

i see.. lucky i didn't subscribe to maxmobile... think i stick to my singtel bbom better...haha... my speed is ok... and stable....;););)

FireHobbit
01-06-2008, 11:30 AM
singtel like now aday a bit on off also...

SpringBizkit
01-06-2008, 01:51 PM
So which one should i go for? i don't have the maxmobile on the laptop/pc or anything, just going in totally fresh, and wanting to get the GPRS/edge on my cellphone only.

Still unsure whether to get Singtel or Starhub for my services.

help?

liangtam
01-06-2008, 02:07 PM
So which one should i go for? i don't have the maxmobile on the laptop/pc or anything, just going in totally fresh, and wanting to get the GPRS/edge on my cellphone only.

Still unsure whether to get Singtel or Starhub for my services.

help?

You may wan check the pricing again. hopefully u dun get thousand dollar(or cap of $90+) bills.

SpringBizkit
01-06-2008, 04:23 PM
Hey guys!!

I have StarHub Prepaid phone card, and i just bought an Iphone. I was wondering where to go, Starhub's Post-Paid or Singtel's Post-paid?

I want to use the GPRS/Edge network of either company's, but i don't know which company.

I am around Bukit Timah area, Orchard area, and Bukit Merah area most of the time.

I do not have a house internet line as i live in a student hostel and cannot get my own.

I do not know which of the 2 to go for, Which has better speeds in the listed areas and which prices would be good. i'm totally lost.

P.s. I plan to keep my GPRS on here n' there, not all the time as it'll kill my Iphone battery really fast.

FireHobbit
01-06-2008, 04:45 PM
haha.. i feel that starhub plan is still good...

balzebub
06-06-2008, 01:23 AM
Hmm guys how is Starhub Maxmobile's 7.2mb/s plan now? Stable or not? whats the speed like in the paya lebar area?

Just moved to a rental place so don't feel like getting a non-mobile broadband service.

Since Starhub now got the 6mths free promo thought of getting it?

How ah? Speed fast enough for online games like Age of Conan & WoW and Skype calls?

ironman4672
06-06-2008, 03:14 AM
singtel like now aday a bit on off also...

yes this is true, previously it is ok... but now it slows down significantly started from 8.30pm onwards to 1am.....:s27::s27::s27::s27:

ironman4672
06-06-2008, 03:16 AM
Hmm guys how is Starhub Maxmobile's 7.2mb/s plan now? Stable or not? whats the speed like in the paya lebar area?

Just moved to a rental place so don't feel like getting a non-mobile broadband service.

Since Starhub now got the 6mths free promo thought of getting it?

How ah? Speed fast enough for online games like Age of Conan & WoW and Skype calls?

interested to know the speed for maxmobile as well... wants to get one more mobile broadband for my new desktop, considering either to get 1.8Mbps singtel bbom or 2Mbps starhub maxmobile.....;);););)

ironman4672
06-06-2008, 03:18 AM
Hey guys!!

get the starhub prepaid card..... and top up the $28 for $100 value....;););)

enhanzed
06-06-2008, 09:42 AM
anyone having problems with friendster? need to keep reloading b4 can get in

roo7
06-06-2008, 10:18 AM
I cant load friendster with firefox when i'm on the starhub bb. IE works.

FireHobbit
07-06-2008, 12:47 PM
i tried in town can.. but in wst side also friendster cannot load

FireHobbit
08-06-2008, 03:21 PM
StarHub to Expand and Upgrade 3.5G Mobile Network to Deliver Unparalleled Mobile Surfing Experience and Improved Indoor and Outdoor Coverage

Appoints Huawei Technologies to enhance mobile network to High Speed Packet Access Plus (HSPA+) by 2Q-2009

Singapore, 22 May 2008 – StarHub today appointed Huawei Technologies to expand and upgrade its current nation-wide 3.5G mobile broadband network to HSPA+ by 2Q-2009. This means that StarHub’s mobile network will soon be able to offer better overall mobile coverage island-wide indoors and outdoors, and support even larger volumes of data traffic than current offerings in the market.

StarHub’s upgrade reflects the operator's overall strategy to provide an unparalleled mobile broadband experience that can deliver better surfing experience, higher resolution on streamed mobile content and improved interactivity.

"Since our 3.5G launch in 2007, we have seen a dramatic 23-fold increase to our mobile data traffic as more and more mobile customers surf the Internet wirelessly, and access our mobile TV content including Barclays Premier League (BPL), CNN ‘Live’ and CNBC ‘Live’ and the upcoming Euro 2008 tournament," said Mr David Storrie, Head of StarHub’s Integrated Network Engineering. "With this Huawei appointment, we are looking at further investing in our mobile network to future-proof it as we prepare to meet the growing demands for our mobile broadband services while continuing to build our mobile content portfolio over the next 12 months."

HSPA+ will boost StarHub's current mobile broadband speed 1.5 times to 21Mbps (from the current 14.4Mbps) on the downlink, and over five times its uplink capability to 11Mbps (currently 1.9Mbps). In addition, StarHub plans to expand its mobile base station capacity to at least 3,500 base stations in support of its 1.8 million mobile customers.

With this complete IP-based mobile enhancement, StarHub is set to remain in pole position both in terms of mobile broadband speeds and in the depth of its mobile content.

"We are delighted that StarHub has demonstrated strong trust and confidence towards Huawei with this mobile network expansion and upgrade contract, which is set to further strengthen the strategic partnership between both companies," said Mr Victor Wang, President of Huawei Asia Pacific. "With our innovative technologies and abundant experience on next generation mobile network deployment worldwide, we are confident to build a world-class mobile network for StarHub in Singapore."

The network expansion and upgrade is part of StarHub’s S$200 million enhancement of its 3G/3.5G network to support higher downlink and uplink speeds. To complement this upgrade, StarHub is re-engineering its backhaul infrastructure and international links to enhance its current high-speed fixed and mobile broadband throughputs.

Since August 2007, StarHub has architected its mobile broadband network to operate at speeds of up to 14.4Mbps downlink (which is almost four times as fast as other competitors in the market) and up to 1.9Mbps on the uplink (a clear five times faster than other operators). Currently, StarHub mobile customers can experience speeds up to 7.2Mbps downlink and 1.9Mbps uplink.

Knight_Rider
08-06-2008, 05:54 PM
Current is 14.4Mbps?

Will be good if can cancel Maxonline and replace it with maxmobile.

Singtel also use Huawei so ST and SH share infrastructure?

FireHobbit
08-06-2008, 06:02 PM
singtel like using ericsson infrature...

Knight_Rider
08-06-2008, 06:19 PM
Oh same as mobile and up to 42Mbps for Singtel. Not bad

FireHobbit
08-06-2008, 06:23 PM
m1 not sure using which brand infrature..

Knight_Rider
08-06-2008, 06:38 PM
m1 not sure using which brand infrature..

My mistake M1 also use Huawei so SH and M1 share infrastructure?

http://www.huawei.com/news/view.do?id=5487&cid=42

http://www.huawei.com/news/view.do?id=5497&cid=42

FireHobbit
08-06-2008, 08:47 PM
but is like starhub seem better... thou both company use the same company product

lxXXxl
12-06-2008, 03:12 PM
Wanna check, has anyone hit the 45 kilobytes/s mark for uploads using maxmobile and huawei e270? And how's reception in Jurong West Extension area? a fren says it's not very good....

enriqueyang
12-06-2008, 07:06 PM
hi can i ask is it worth it to sign the 7mb plan now? i think free 6 months, plus free registration i think...

each month 72 bucks is a little ex, but anyone here has experience using 2mb one? is it good enough and what's the speed like?

miltongoh
13-06-2008, 01:12 AM
hi can i ask is it worth it to sign the 7mb plan now? i think free 6 months, plus free registration i think...

each month 72 bucks is a little ex, but anyone here has experience using 2mb one? is it good enough and what's the speed like?

Just saw got $19.36/month plan @ 2Mbps. unlimited usage too.

enhanzed
14-06-2008, 08:18 PM
anyone having problems going to viwawa website using Starhub 7.2mbps ?

FireHobbit
15-06-2008, 12:05 AM
jurong west area seem bad... but u guys need to feedback

mistersoh
15-06-2008, 10:07 PM
Just saw got $19.36/month plan @ 2Mbps. unlimited usage too.

Ya loh.. i dunoe to get the starhub or the singtel which is $17.42 per month.. :s11:

n95crazy
16-06-2008, 09:27 AM
jurong west area seem bad... but u guys need to feedback

no problems for me

ironman4672
16-06-2008, 10:26 AM
Ya loh.. i dunoe to get the starhub or the singtel which is $17.42 per month.. :s11:

join starhub pls.... singtel network is jamming especially at nite....;););)

gibson7
16-06-2008, 03:01 PM

but the singnet one is capped at 50gb data rite, SH is unlimited correct?

roo7
16-06-2008, 06:00 PM
I did some "maths" and I think it's hard to exceed 50GB a month. It's like having 1.6GB of traffic every single day, that's like 2 x 1-CD DVD release a day :)

I'm using Starhub 7.2 and I'm using my mobile BB only during office hours. I hitting almost 2GB a mth.

ironman4672
16-06-2008, 06:12 PM
I did some "maths" and I think it's hard to exceed 50GB a month. It's like having 1.6GB of traffic every single day, that's like 2 x 1-CD DVD release a day :)

I'm using Starhub 7.2 and I'm using my mobile BB only during office hours. I hitting almost 2GB a mth.

depends i am on 512kbps plan... just few days only upgraded to 1Mbps plan... i can hit 50GB not prob...

http://i58.photobucket.com/albums/g260/kindaichi81/BBOM-1.png

mistersoh
16-06-2008, 10:22 PM
join starhub pls.... singtel network is jamming especially at nite....;););)

haha.. then singtel users will not jam so much ?

but with now it is 2Mbps, does that mean hit 50GB sooner ?

roo7
16-06-2008, 10:48 PM
depends i am on 512kbps plan... just few days only upgraded to 1Mbps plan... i can hit 50GB not prob...

http://i58.photobucket.com/albums/g260/kindaichi81/BBOM-1.png

Wow, that's hard core usage.

strangerjun
16-06-2008, 11:08 PM
erm... what is local data usage? Dun get what it means...

kokoki888
16-06-2008, 11:11 PM
Wow, that's hard core usage.

where to view data usage record?

gibson7
16-06-2008, 11:44 PM
erm... what is local data usage? Dun get what it means...

when the connection is established within singapore.

like your HP, sin use and roaming is different. ;)